PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - PHNX D-backs Post Series: D-backs win series vs the reigning champs
Episode Date: June 2, 2022On this episode, Derek and Makayla are discussing the D-backs first series win at Chase Field against the Atlanta Braves since 2017, their success in the month of May, and not being so confident about... the upcoming series vs the Pirates. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hello and welcome to another edition of the PHNX Debaks podcast.
My name is Derek Montia, occasionally known as the mayor of PHNX,
and I'm here with Michaela Perkins, occasionally known as, I don't know,
deputy mayor slash communication director.
Communication director.
We're giving her a lot of titles.
She wears a lot of hats around here.
Of course, we thank you guys so much for joining us.
This show is brought to you by the fine folks at the Draft King Sportsbook app.
Go download the Draft King Sportsbook app.
get down on the NBA finals action.
And as a new customer, you can bet, make any $5 bet on the NBA.
And you will get $150 in free bets instantly.
We thank you guys so much for joining us.
Arizona Diamondbacks lose the final game of their three game series with the Atlanta Braves by
quite a big margin, six to nothing.
Not as bad as the Rockies, though.
Not as, hey, this is a positive show.
That's a good way to look at it.
I think we're just going to ignore that game.
It was actually a two series game.
The Diamondbacks swept Braves.
like it. In two games. I mean, if that's how you want to look at it, that's fun. I'm not going to ignore
what happened, but I will say that the Diamondbacks did win the series against the Braves,
and that's big, because that's the first time they've won a series against Atlanta at Chase Field since
2017. It's like the Cubs, right? It was really weird that they hadn't won a series. Still haven't
won a series at Chase Field against the Cubs since like 2015, but there was lots of positives, weird
altercations with the umpires the comeback victory i have some thoughts to share about that yeah she really does i'm
really excited to talk about that the the biggest thing here is that the arizona diembacks walk away with the two one
series victory uh they wrapped up may nicely which we'll talk about uh shortly but uh yesterday's comeback
win was a whole lot of fun cooper hummel gets his first uh walk off hit ever in his career little league
uh anything coop he's a great guy by the way uh we're going to actually have cooper
on the show here probably on Sunday.
Breaking news.
Breaking news.
Yeah, exciting, exciting news.
But a big part of yesterday's comeback win.
I felt like yesterday's win was the kind of win that makes you once again believe that this
team can win at any time.
I felt that today when they were down two to nothing, two to nothing seemed like, seemed
like nothing.
It seemed like an effortless comeback for this team and what they've been able to do this season.
Yeah, absolutely.
I 100% agree.
I think it was especially important for them to win this series.
coming off the series sweep from the Dodgers.
So the fact that they were able to beat the Braves in the series
and take two of three was huge.
But also like you said, you know,
yesterday's game really is a testament that this team is competitive.
They can, they're not,
they're not ever completely out of it unless they're like down 14 to nothing.
They were to the Dodgers.
Unless they played the Dodgers, unless they play the Dodgers.
Actually, you know what?
I like that.
Unless they play the Dodgers, this team is competitive.
There you go.
They really do have a chance to win.
Like, they keep themselves in the games.
And, you know, I really thought yesterday was a testament to that.
And seeing Kupke at his first ever, ever, ever, ever walk off was really cool.
His interview during the postgame show was awesome.
He was so excited.
He was literally shaking.
You could hear him.
You could see him shaking visibly on the post game show.
So super happy for Kube.
Overall, the first two games of the series, I was really impressed by, especially
Zach Galland's performance out on the mound.
So I'm happy.
I'm happy.
And you're not lying, by the way.
Two and nine.
against the Dodgers this season.
But without that, they are 23 and 18.
So not bad at all if you take away that.
And that includes today's loss.
So.
Not bad at all, Derek Montia.
I am not, you know, and that's the weirdest thing about this team
is it kind of bounces back and forth between who they are.
If we're going to see them slide back into the losing ways of 2021.
And I feel like we're kind of safely out of feeling like this team.
is the same team as last year.
Yeah.
I say that because, like you said,
they bounced back so nicely from the four-game sweep.
That's something that I wanted to see out of them.
I was, again, there's kind of been like these little tests.
They failed the test against the Dodgers to see if they could back up
that first kind of series win that they had where they went two and one against the Dodgers.
But, you know, they've been swept now into four-game series by the Dodgers
and got put back in their place as far as the National League West is concerned.
The fact, though, that they've been able to bounce back from those games and still rattle off some wins.
In this case, a big series win against a team that they haven't, not only haven't been able to do that against since 2017, but let's give respect where respect is due.
It's the reigning champs, right?
It's good to beat the reigning champs, even if they're not the same team that they were last season.
Yeah, absolutely.
Anytime you beat the raining chance, you'll absolutely take it.
I will say to you another thing that I was happy with was aside from today, but I feel like I'm just, like I said,
at the beginning of the show.
I'm just ignoring that today happened.
It was only a two-game series,
and that's what I'm focusing on.
Aside from the day,
the bullpen looked really,
really good in those first two games,
too, which I was really happy with.
I think the bullpen is starting to level out a little bit,
which is good.
Did you know that, Derek, I have a question for you.
Did you know that there is someone named Paul Fry?
There is a guy named Paul Fry.
He was just recalled today.
I missed that because I looked up at the TV
and I saw Frye on the mouse.
And I was like, who's that?
Guys, new shirt idea?
Instead of beer, we can have a fry.
Can we have both of them on the same shirt?
Fry some beer?
It writes itself.
It's a buddy comedy waiting to happen.
Really it is.
But besides today, again, I'm not even concluding today in my conversation.
I was really happy with a bullpen too.
So there are some really good things to be happy about.
And like you said, whenever you beat the raining champ, it's always a good day.
So I'll take it.
It's always a good day.
I mean, and again, even if they didn't,
win today. They still walk away with the series win. And that's important. And that's one thing
the Diamondbacks have been able to do. This is their, uh, the now their seventh series
win of the year. They now have more series wins than losses. And, uh, the, you know, again,
you got to take, take, they have more series wins than losses. That's, yes. That is all I care
about. There are, there are seven, they have seven series wins and six series losses. So I will take.
Yeah, exactly. We'll take whatever we can get with this team. You know what I won't take,
though? I lied to you and I'm really sorry. I was going to say,
I said I was going to be positive.
I'm not to be really not happy.
No, I want to hear it.
I'm not happy about the way you just touched Derek.
That was, it was very.
I was looking at his watch.
I don't think anybody saw or maybe they did.
Anyway, you know who I really don't like and I'm ready?
You know how Gamos thing is like put get the limo ready or something like that?
We need a version of that.
Okay.
So we need to think of that because I'm ready to put Umberto Castellanos in the limo.
I'm done.
I'm done.
I've seen enough.
Well, I've seen enough.
I know he's the fifth arm in the rotation and it's not that important, but I'm done.
We need to figure it out.
We need somebody else in that spot.
We need to find a different pitcher.
No more.
Umberto,
I'm sorry.
Thank you for your services.
Please get in the limo and exit stage left.
I am so tired of your pitching.
She's horrible.
She's the decision maker around here.
Do you not agree?
No,
I mean,
I think I definitely think Umberto Castiano is a long reliever.
I think he could be a valuable piece of the bullpen.
Put that boy back in the bullpen.
I don't think he is a starting pitcher.
And I would,
you know,
I would like to see somebody with,
you know, a little bit more longevity.
Like the rotation seems so good at times and the other pieces of it are working.
You know, even Zach Davies has been better than we expected him to be considering the year that he came, you know, off of with the Cubs.
And let's be honest, personal issues that he's experienced that have made him look very bad publicly, right?
So there's a lot that he's going through.
And, you know, as a member of the starting rotation, he has had value.
But it does feel like at times they're still searching for that fifth arm.
It's not Uberto. I'm so sorry,
Umberto, I know you're not even listening to this
and you probably don't care about my opinion.
He's a huge fan of the show, by the way.
So you're breaking his heart.
It's time. It's done. I've seen enough. I'm sorry. I've seen enough.
Josh said get the bullpen cart ready.
And I think that's an excellent use of the bullpen cart.
That's exactly how we wish we should be using it.
On track bullpen cart. This isn't even a free promo.
I need you to come pick our boy up.
You need to get him off the mound and take him back to the bullpen.
Nobody's using it for anything else.
We can totally use it to do that.
It's not in use.
I need you to come pick up Umberto and take the bullpen car and get him out of here because I'm done.
I've had it watching that man pitch on the starting mouth.
You know, I will say that there have been times where the starting rotation has looked better.
Even Humberto has looked better than, you know, kind of what we expected to see.
He pitches to contact and it just not always successful.
The Diamondbacks were able to overcome, you know, his rough start in that comeback win.
So that was nice to see.
Weren't able to overcome today Madison Bumgarner going out.
Mad bum gave the Diamondbacks what he's going to give the Diamondbacks.
I mean, that's exactly what he's going to do.
He's going to keep him in the game, but he's, you know, those early numbers of him putting up, you know,
scoreless out of scoreless outings.
I don't think is going to be what we're going to see out of Madison,
bumgarner as the season goes on.
He's looking a little tired to me.
Like when I see him out there, he looks like he's like half asleep.
Like I feel like he's like lost.
And I know he's not a very energetic person to begin with.
Like he's very mellow, like calm, like doesn't speak.
a lot like it's just very like a person but when he's out there I'm like
hello Madison the man moonlights is a cowboy what do you think you think he actually
gets eight hours of sleep at night Madison Bumgarder falls asleep for 45
minutes a day while resting against the doorway standing up oh my god
Derek I literally say I have a theory that Madison Bungarner is sleep standing up
because it's not a theory it's a practical that's a practical logical
conclusion
He's asleep standing and so does Madison.
Yeah, right.
Like he probably watches his horses while he's standing up, not sleeping.
45 minutes.
He's like, I feel like he's like, one eye open.
Like I know that he, I never liked the contract that the Diamond X came in to begin with because I thought it was way too much money for a way old player.
And I feel like that's playing out before our eyes because I really do feel like he's obviously way past his prime in my opinion.
And I really feel like he's lost the Madison bumgarner that like we revere.
And he just looks tired.
Like he looks like he just.
And the bigger thing here is.
is that the Arizona Diamondbacks have made it part of their franchise history of giving
pitchers who are past their prime a whole lot of money to come here and play.
The problem is is that in our history, in our DNA, that's how we won a World Series.
And it's not to say Randy Johnson was past his prime or Kurt Schilling was past his prime,
but that was the gamble they were taking when they brought those guys over at that point in their
career.
I remember how they basically, the upheaval of the entire organization when they brought Kurt
Schilling in, right?
So it's like part of the thing that has worked for them before,
has been bringing in an older pitcher that was, you know, a superstar in this league.
Right.
That could still, you know, but like you said, it doesn't, it doesn't work.
And honestly, it's the reason why we should give them a little credit for not going out and doing
a whole lot in free agency this year because some of the free agency moves that we wanted to
make, at least me personally, like Eduardo Escobar, he's not doing great with the Mets.
And throwing the amount of money that they would have thrown at him in order to bring him back,
you know, might not, would not have been worth it compared to what they're able to do right now.
even though they're having struggles at third base,
and that's a whole other thing.
But the one thing they didn't struggle with today,
even in the loss,
was the umpires.
Actually,
there was a very lovely,
there was a very lovely umpire incident today
where home plate umpire Alex Tosi left his mic on
while he was greeting one of the Mets or Braves players,
Adam Duval at the plate.
And you could hear him like,
obviously Adam DuBall had asked him like,
how are you doing?
And he's like,
good,
and hearing the home plate umpire talk about having a good hair day.
But what wasn't such a pleasant umpire experience or exchange was what happened in game one,
which we talked about a bit.
But hey,
let's for fun on the post series wrap up.
We'll revisit this fun altercation that caused Tori Lavallo to get tossed out of the game.
This makes me so absurdly upset.
Like Zach Allen's like what did he do?
What did he do?
What are you going to do tough guy?
You're literally the umpire of the game and you're trying to charge them out.
like are you seriously kidding me i love tori lebelle getting all of his face right here as he should
and you can go off tory and you can see he doesn't he doesn't say one word to tory after he tossed him
when he walked up and approached him yeah he has nothing to say look at tory had all the things that he's like
and another thing you parked your car too goddamn close to my car in the parking lot tell him he parked
this car too close to mine tell him he parked it right but no tory uh i can't wait for the lip reading
video that's going to come out of this. We need it. But I will say that the weird thing. What's his name?
Do you know his name? It's Libca, John Libca. Yeah, John Lipka, you're on my shit list.
Yep, you're, there's, it's a growing shit list.
The one thing I can't get over here is like just what, like right there in this video, what?
So, Zach Allen what? What did he do there? Like, what did he do there to cause the umpire to come out there?
And my other question here is, what did Jose Herrera hear the umpire say or do to jump in front of
like that. Jose Herrera is a young
catcher. I mean, maybe that's it.
Maybe it's like youthful, inexperience.
And he just wanted to try. I don't think that's it at all because I think if the
umpire was saying something to Zach that like didn't upset Jose and he was just like
trying to be like, okay, like, hey, like stop complaining about like all.
Like whatever.
That's enough or something like that.
Yeah, just like something that like wasn't very combative.
I don't think Jose would have reacted that way.
But I think because Jose reacted that way, whatever he was saying was enough to piss Jose
enough off or off that he was like, bro.
Or at least a red flag enough for them to be like, oh shit, I need to make sure to stop this before it goes too far.
Losing your starting pitcher, as we saw the last time an umpire decided to just like man up and, you know, like just have that same Debo energy from Friday.
Like that's my bike punk, that kind of energy towards a player.
It's, you know, it's a big loss.
Not only could it have cost the Diamondbacks that game, then it's a bullpen game.
And then you have the bullpen tax for the rest of the series.
there's there's a cascading effect when they do something like that like tossa
starting pitcher early in the game there's serious like things that will happen from that
even when like the first umpire altercation happened to madison bumgarner the next day when
you heard the umpire apologize madison don't apologize to me like apologize the pitchers will come
after me because it all screws with them but okay two things here i have a theory i think the
MLB umpires union got together and was like we are going to mess with the diamondbacks this year
for whatever reason we have decided to target the diamondbacks and we were going to have the most fuckery happen when we're playing the diamondbacks and it's going to be a great show everyone's going to love it second thing is i now never in my life did i know the names of um of baseball umpires besides joe west that was the only umpire name i knew now i know too and now they're both on my shit list like you have to be doing your job so egregiously that i know your name as an umpire like how unprofessional completely
completely unprofessional that man was to try to charge like,
I don't know he wasn't like charging the man,
but like to go after Zach Gallen and have his catcher have to stand up to
separate them.
Are you kidding me?
You're there to officiate the game.
You're not there to make the game about yourself.
You're not there to like have a pissing contest,
a contest with the picture that's on the mound.
Get back behind the plate.
Shut up and do your job.
If the pitcher is complaining about balls and strikes,
it's probably because you're not calling them right.
So maybe be a little bit like reflective of yourself and say,
okay, you know, maybe I need to fix my strikestone a little bit.
Like, how unprofessional.
I'm sorry, but that was ridiculous and good for Toy Lavello.
I'm glad Troy Lavello stuck up for his team because it shows that he has his teams back.
And I don't care that he got ejected because that was worth getting ejected for
because that umpire is so dumb, so unprofessional and has officially been added to my shitless.
I'm coming for you.
She's not joking.
She's coming for you.
But two things, uh, to build on her two things.
One, I'm very proud of the fact that I get to egg people on by using the umpire that makes a mistake's name in tweets quite often just to make sure everybody knows exactly who it was.
I just want to make sure you remember once again that name was John Libca.
That name again was John Libca.
And you're right.
Like Tori's energy, when you talk about the umpire's energy, Tori's energy there was you're going like he knew from the minute he ran out there.
because I was there at that game.
That man sprinted.
And I haven't seen Tori Lavolo move that fast in the entire time.
He's been here as a manager.
But that man sprinted out there saying every four-letter word you can imagine.
And he knew he was going to get thrown out of that game.
But like the energy he had, like the how he was emphasizing and how mad he was.
Yeah, he was.
You know, I've rarely seen him like that.
I mean, even when he does come out and question a call and approach an umpire,
he tends to have a bit calmer of approach than that.
Yeah, he wasn't having it.
And like, again, that's the kind of stuff that makes people start tweeting to us that they needed to extend Tori last night.
And I don't disagree with you.
But of course, we appreciate you guys, not only for watching, but for checking out our website over at go-PhNX.com.
If you haven't signed up to become a member already, I have no idea what you're waiting for.
You should try us out.
We cover all the Valley Sports.
I'm not sure if you've heard, and you get a membership that not only can you get an annual membership that will get you a free t-shirt over at the PHNX Locker.com.
It will unlock all the wonderful content from our writers here at PHNX,
as well as members-only discounts over at the PHNX locker,
and access to our members-only Discord,
which we were having a blast with during last night's game.
It was fun to chat with everybody and to kind of be there as a family during the Diamondbacks comeback.
That was a lot of fun.
You can also get the month-to-month option, which will still get you access to all of those membership perks,
except the free T-shirt, but you will get your first month for just 50.
cents if you do go the month to month. So regardless of which option you choose,
join the PHNX family. Join us over here. We're having a lot of fun and we need you to be here.
Diamondbacks not only are going to be a fun team to watch this summer, but they're offering a
pretty damn good deal. And again, this isn't part of our promotion package in any way,
shape or form. But right now they're given three months during the summer for $99 for a ticket package.
Go on and support this team. This team is a lot of fun to watch. I think the one thing like we talked
about when we started the show is this team has not, they don't go away. They fight back. They fight hard.
Even when they're down, they're able to come back. And they had a pretty good May. And May has
been a pretty bad month for this team historically. They actually come out on top over 500 in the
month of May. They went 15 and 14 this month. Their first winning May since 2017. So there's a lot of good
things going back to that 2017 season. And pretty sure you guys remember what happened.
year. So the debacks went five and 24 in 2021, 11 and 17 in 2019, and 8 and 19 in 2018.
So it's a good month. And again, they've been playing that that's even with them losing those
sweeps to the Dodgers. Yeah, absolutely. I mean, this season has been leaps and bounds so
much better than last season. I actually enjoy watching Diamondbacks games this year, which is
something I could not say last year. You couldn't pay me.
to watch that.
I don't understand how it would be fun.
Like I had to get paid and I had to be there because it was part of my job.
But like I don't understand how it would be fun because as a fan,
like do I want to see them below a lead and lose or do I want to see them,
you know, give up six runs in the first inning and not come back and then lose the game by like 10 to nothing?
Right.
Like that seemed to be the two formulas for last season.
And that's not fun when you have to watch that for 162 games.
Right.
We've never seen the team be as bad as they were last year.
And that's it's just.
hard to make you want to, even if you have nothing to do.
I'd rather watch a movie I've seen before than see this team lose in a three-hour baseball
game last year. Yeah, for sure. So hearing those numbers and knowing that they are
having a way better May than they had last year and even the last two, three years all
way back to 2017, it's really cool for them too. And even in May, the D-Bax had 39 home runs,
which was second most in the National League and tied for fourth-most overall. They tied with the
Astros. So the bats woke up.
which is cool to see because I know at the beginning of the season,
you and I were both like,
holy shit,
we're the bats.
Somebody put the diaper bags on a milk carton because they went missing.
And the home runs too.
Like last year they had 18 home runs in the month of May versus 39 this year.
And it feels like that because last year the long ball just abandoned them all together.
By the way,
I have an article coming up on go phtnx.com about that and about how important the home runs
have been to this team because it's been.
a key part of how they've not only been able to stay in games, but these comebacks and everything
else. And Charles Woodall Pike in our comment says I pretty much tapped out in June last year.
It's June now. I'm actually interested. And this year, a lot of people put them at what, winning 65, 66 games,
understandably. And, you know, obviously they didn't do much to improve on paper. And they didn't do much to
be better than this team last year. I just still don't think people, again, when talking about giving credit,
I don't think people give credit for all of the bad that they experienced around this time last year.
I mean, four out of their five starting pitchers were down and injured and not available.
So it's like these are things that people don't factor in.
And this team isn't exactly overachieving for what we thought they would be two years ago.
But I think they're overachieving based on like where that bar was set last year.
Oh, yeah.
Do you want to know something really sad?
It took them until July 7th.
Yeah.
to win 25 games last year.
July 7.
That's like a whole other month in a week of, you know,
baseball from where we're at right now.
And like,
and this was that stretch too,
like May and June.
Like after that,
they were still a bad baseball team.
Yeah.
But they were just kind of.
Yeah.
They was like your typical mediocre bad baseball team.
Yeah.
They were historically bad over this stretch last year.
And, you know,
again,
it also made it much easier to not pay attention to them
because the sons went.
much deeper into the playoff run last year, obviously, making the championship.
They were still forgotten about it. Yeah, they were. It was easy to forget about them.
I mean, God, I swear at times when I was at Chase Field, I could hear the cheers coming from the
footprint center. But yeah, I mean, it is really great to see. Obviously, they have improved from
last year, which is so like, oh my gosh, what a relief that they have gotten better.
And like I've been saying this whole season so far, this to me is a very much a wait-and-see season.
So for what this team has been constructed to be there doing very much.
Well, actually, to be completely honest, they're doing a little bit better than what I thought they were going to do.
So it's a win in my book.
I'm happy with this team right now.
Like they have done a little bit better than I thought they were going to do for like how they were constructed and their roster was put together.
So I'll take it.
I've talked a lot about how the expectations have changed throughout this season.
And that's kind of like what you're saying, the wait and see thing.
Like when of these tests, there'll be a road trip, there'll be a series against the Dodgers.
you kind of want to see like, all right, well, this kind of seems like a tough, you know, test for this team.
At times, they've completely shit the bed, obviously, with the Dodgers series.
Like, I like the fact that LaVolo says, I don't want to take any moral victories away from, like, staying close in those games.
And that's something I've been guilty of saying about them because I'm like, well, except for the two blowouts,
like they were one or two runs back in every game.
So they hung with the Dodgers.
Well, did they or did the Dodgers just do enough constantly to beat the Diamondbacks throughout those two, fours?
game series, right? So it's like you can take away the moral victories as much as you want,
but realistically, those tests are a reminder of once again, like I said, where they're at in the
NOS still. But I mean, shit, it's a long season and nobody expected the Braves to do what they did
last year. So really what it comes down to is the team coming together, believing in themselves,
and playing baseball at a certain high level. And we've seen them capable of that, but they just
don't do it consistently. Yeah. Yeah. I mean, the bats are awake.
like we were hoping they would be.
The bats are awake.
The starting pitching is fumbling a little bit,
but for the most part,
they're holding it together the best they can.
So if we can get Umberto on a bullpen car and drive him back to the bullpen.
I think the starting pitching is going to,
I think,
I mean,
I think that they are going to continue to be good.
The bats are awake.
The defensive areas need to stop.
Ketal Marte,
I'm looking at you.
If I see you commit one more error,
one more.
I'm done.
I'm just kidding.
But yeah,
I mean, overall,
I think,
You know, we think they're doing pretty well.
And I think there are some things they could still clean up and improve on.
But aside from the occasional defensive errors and a horrible pitching performance from
Huberto, I'm pretty happy.
Pretty happy.
Huberto, go to the local dispensary, get her some OGs, gummies, and maybe she'll change
her mind.
She's a big fan, as you should be to.
Not Humberto, you have baseball to play.
Now, I'm just saying, deliver them to her.
But the rest of you, go stop by your local dispensary and grab some amazing scratch
made THC Gmies from our friends at OGs.
They are amazing.
They have a wide variety of flavors and dosages.
The doses are the important thing, right?
You want to go 10 milligrams, which is their normal dose, or if you want to try something
much lighter that might not be so heavy for a first-time user, you can go with their
microdose as well, three milligrams.
And they also have a-
Microdose.
Sorry, I just, I have to plug the microdose.
Oh, my God.
I'm obsessed.
I get it because some people, again, it's,
The people laugh at this because they really think it's like, like,
I never sound like more like Hunter S. Thompson.
When I'm like, once you bought the ticket, you take the ride.
But once you buy the ticket, you take the ride, right?
So you got to know what ride you're taking and make sure you know that you can't
untake it.
I never want to get off.
But definitely the micro, the micro dose is the way to go for you to try out.
And they have not only a variety of flavors like blackberries and cream and watermelon,
but they also have a variety of strains.
They have an uplifting sativa, chill indicas.
They even have hybrids as well.
So if you're interested in trying the amazingly delicious variety of flavors that OG's brands has to offer, go to OGsbrands.com.
That's OGEEZBrands.com to find OGs near you.
I love OGs, absolutely.
And I love looking at the upcoming schedule for the Arizona Diamondbacks.
Well, I mean, we only, we got, again, we won the series against Atlanta.
We got the Pittsburgh Pirates.
I was really excited about playing the Pirates.
And now, Michaela, not so much.
Not so much after seeing what they've done to the Dodgers.
Honestly, the Dodgers are, we talked about it yesterday.
They're terrible against teams from the state of Pennsylvania.
But for some reason, we were kind of licking our chops a little bit at this upcoming series with the pirates,
followed by the Cincinnati Reds after that, and then a series with the Phillies after that.
So pretty long road trip.
And the Reds again.
And then the Reds again.
At home.
Then the Twins.
And they don't really have anybody that should,
give them too much trouble until we see the Padres on June 20th in San Diego.
So we got the tigers and then the Rockies.
And I just say somebody commented that they should win 80% of their series until September.
And I was like, well, that's just because that's when they see the Dodgers next.
But remember, this Pirates team, they gave the Padres a hard time.
They beat the Rockies in a three game series.
and they have won this series already against the Dodgers.
I feel like they heard me.
I feel like they heard me.
They heard me talking crap.
Yeah.
Okay.
Because I was on the,
I was on our show,
on this show.
And I was like,
we're going to steamroll the pirates and the Reds.
If they don't sweet that series,
I'm going to be so disappointed.
And the pirates are like,
you know what?
And I took that personally.
How dare you?
They're like,
we're going to be the Dodgers.
We're going to get hot at the right moment.
And we're going to come in there.
We're going to crap stomp the debacks.
And we're going to do it all in spite of Michaela Perkins.
And now I'm scared.
Now I'm worried.
That's the thing.
Charles says the AZ sports vibe gives me terrible feelings about this road trip because it feels like a trap.
It's always a trap.
Everything is a trap.
Welcome to be in Arizona Sportsman.
We can never relax.
No, and we can never have nice things either.
We know that.
But we do have a nice thing in Cattel Marte, who extended his hitting streak to 14 games today.
And he is our draft king's king of this series, four for six in this series, had a bunch of walks,
two RBI, two runs scored, and again, reach that, oh, it's career, that's my fault because I sent that
wrong, but it's now a career high, 14 game hitting streak.
So, Cotel Marte, take a bow, because he has been incredible for this team.
He's back to being what this team needed to be.
Unfortunately, he was the only guy kind of getting on base and doing things today, but a big
part of this offense and just a huge reason why this team, you know,
signed him is because he's been one of the most consistent batters on this team.
And he seems to be back to that.
Hi, Katel. Welcome back. We missed you.
Oh, we missed you so much, Katel.
Thank you so much for returning.
He has the-
Stop making dumb defensive errors.
It's the longest active hitting streak or fourth-longest active hitting streak in baseball
behind Trey Turner, Paul Goldschmidt, sad face.
Don't even.
And Brendan Rogers from the Colorado, who I think might have not gotten a hit today,
but I'm not sure.
but it might be the third longest active streak.
He does have another chance though because there's, well, I guess it wouldn't be active.
The Rockies have a double header with the Marlins and I'm sure they don't want to see them again this afternoon after what they did this morning to them.
But at least that means the Diamondbacks aren't the worst team in the division, kiddos.
And that's, again, a good thing, right?
It is a good thing.
Unless you're Michaela, who likes both of the teams who are at the bottom.
Yeah, we don't talk about that.
Go, D-Back.
Yeah, go D-Back.
but go Cotel Marte, our Draft King of the series.
And just a reminder, if you haven't done so already,
make sure to go sign up for the Draft King's sportsbook,
just in time for the NBA finals.
Yes, I know, again, sad boy hours.
And then once we get past the NBA finals,
we can get back to Hot Girl Summer.
Hot Girl Summer! Let's go!
I mean, I don't know.
The Boston Celtics or the Golden State Warriors,
I don't care.
You shouldn't either.
Because as flying craps about either of those.
That's right.
I hope they both lose.
Yeah.
Can they both,
can they just?
I hope they both lose.
Can it be a vacated title like in wrestling?
Because I like that.
But new customers,
you don't have to like either team.
All you have to do is bet $5 on either one of them.
And you will get $150 in free bets instantly.
It doesn't even matter if they win.
If you're looking to turn a small bet into a big payday during the NBA finals,
you can get down with the same game parlayes.
Create your own parlay by combining multiple factors like who will win,
who will score the,
the amount assists, the amount of rebounds, all sorts of stuff.
The more legs you add, the more money you can win.
Just a reminder, a Draft King's customer placed a $5 same game parlay this season and won over $5,000.
So you never know when that could be you.
Download the Draft King Sportsbook app now.
Use our promo code of PHNX.
Make any $5 bet during the NBA finals and you will get $150 in free bets instantly.
That's promo code PHNX only at the Draft King's Sportsbook, an official sports betting partner of the
NBA. 21 and over only Arizona only gambling problem.
Dow 100.
100 next step.
New customers only minimum $5 deposit required.
Eligibility restrictions apply.
Cedrafking's dot com slash sports book for details.
That's all I got, Mac.
I mean, the diamond backs have an off day tomorrow, so I don't know what we're going
to do with ourselves.
Hopefully Cooper Hummel will join us and we'll have that interview for you on Sunday's show.
Hopefully he's not as nervous.
I don't want him to visibly shake during the interview.
Not with this guy.
Not with this guy.
But of course, we thank you guys.
You can follow us on Twitter.
I'm at Cap underscore Caveman with a K.
Michaela is at Michaela E Perkins, the show.
E for Electric.
E for Electric.
And also you can follow the show up PHNX underscore D-Backs,
but all roads lead to at PHNX underscore Sports,
which this one over here is responsible for
and does a fantastic job running it, by the way.
If you're listening to us right now
on your favorite audio podcasting app, please subscribe to us.
If you haven't done so already and leave us a five-star review,
then go over to the YouTube channel,
or if you're watching us there now,
subscribe to the PHNX Sports channel, sign up for notifications.
That way you don't miss any of the content coming out from us or any of the other beats when we go live.
You get a notification.
You can drop what you're doing.
Emergency pods, post series, all this kind of stuff.
Join us for everything going on.
Kyler is back for the Cardinals.
Make sure to check out the PHNX Cardinals to see what they have talking about over there as well.
So we appreciate you guys being members of the family.
Of course, go over to Draft King Sportsbook.
Use that code of PHNX.
Sign up at go PHNX.com for a members.
and get yourself some OGs gummies and they'll be your favorite thing just like this one over here.
But of course, we thank you guys so much for checking out the show.
On behalf of Michael and myself, we appreciate your time and remember kids.
Baseball is fun, but it's so much more fun when you beat the Braves.
