PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - The Diamondbacks continue to roll, taking three out of four against the Reds
Episode Date: August 28, 2023On the back of excellent starting pitching, the Arizona Diamondbacks were able to take three out of four against the Cincinnati Reds at Chase Field, winning their fifth series in a row. We recap the s...eries, answer your Mailbag Monday questions, and take a look ahead at the upcoming matchup with the Los Angeles Dodgers.An ALLCITY Network ProductionSUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsports PHNX Events: Get your tickets to D-backs Takeovers, Knockout Nights & Suns Watch Parties at BetMGM, and MORE here: https://www.eventbrite.com/o/phnx-56002330273 WIN MONEY THROUGH SPLASH SPORTS: https://www.splashsports.com/phnx Head to https://factormeals.com/phnxdbacks50 and use code phnxdbacks50 to get 50% off.Go to https://saturdayneon.com and use code PHNX for 10% off your order today. Free shipping for orders over $200!Gametime: Download the Gametime app, create an account, and use code PHNX for $20 off your first purchase.Pins & Aces: Check out https://pinsandaces.com and use code PHNX to receive 15% off your first order and get free shipping.Circle K: Text PHNX to 31310 to join the Circle K SMS subscriber club and get BOGO 32 oz Polar Pops! Head to https://www.circlek.com/store-locator to find Circle Ks near you!OGeez!: Score 25% off a bag of your favorite OGeez! Fruits of Creams. Go to https://theflowershopusa.com, add a bag of OGeez! to your cart, enter promo code “PHNX” and pickup at a local The Flower Shop dispensary.Four Peaks: Follow them on social @fourpeaksbrew & @fourpeakspub! Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly. When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hello and welcome in to another edition of the PHNX DVax podcast right on PHN.
My name is Derek Montia.
Of course, I am your mayor of PHNX in about three days.
Once again, this man was going to just...
Totally a little bit right there.
Yeah, he went.
That's why he's Mr. Electric.
It's the only Jean de Paz.
Jesse Friedman will be joining us shortly from Los Angeles, where he will be covering
this very, very big series the Diamondbacks have against the Los Angeles Dodgers.
And I don't mean to overhype that because at this point, the Dodgers aren't even in our, in our, in our, in our eyesight.
I mean, it's, it's, it's, depending on how you're looking at the rest of this year, it's either not relevant at all or it's, it's like every series is important.
So they all.
It is.
But in terms of like all the other opponents that they face, like most of them are either are like in this wild card race.
Arguably, it's their toughest week because they take on the Los Angeles Dodgers followed by a series back here at home with the Baltimore Orioles.
which are a very hot baseball game.
But in the meantime, you can make sure to follow Jesse
for all of his adventures in Los Angeles.
And in the meantime, we will have him on later to preview that series.
But we want to talk about this enormous win
for the Arizona Diamondbacks over the Cincinnati Reds.
They did not pull off the sweep,
but they got as close to it as you humanly could.
I don't want to talk about Saturday's game too much,
but I do want to say this,
even though things went completely off the rails for this team
and they blew a game that they honestly should have won,
I can't help but appreciate their ability to fight back late in that
when they were down in extra innings and tie it again.
I really thought that they were sunk.
And of course, that amazing ball game ends on a bach,
which is just awful.
But anyway, we won't talk about that one.
We will talk about, of course, how good the Arizona Diamondbacks pitching staff
was in this one. And when I say pitching staff, of course, I mean the starters. The starting
pitchers were just absolutely fantastic for this team. Merrill Kelly, seven innings pitched,
one hit, no runs, no walks, 12 strikeouts, had to leave the game due to hamstring cramping.
Otherwise, that might have been eight innings, nine innings, who knows. Brandon fought five
and a third, three hits, two earn runs, one walk, five strikeouts. He probably could have gone
longer, too. He probably could have gone longer. And that was a big bit of a topic for debate as well,
Davey's the guy we really worried about five innings pitch five hits one earned run take you
walks five K I'll take it I mean the diamond backs take it they did end up losing his start
yeah because of him necessarily I'll take it that's all you can ask for him was that davy's start
is that he is not the reason the team loses yeah and then slade five and two thirds three hits one
earn run zero walks five case definitely take that do we have a pitching staff I think we might
have a pitching staff. I'm not ready to
I'm not quite ready to say
that Zach Davies is like
rounding out this pitching staff but
brother there's outside of him
you throw any of the other four starters out
I'm feeling good about the debatch chances in that game
at least from a pitching standpoint. Four earned
runs from four starts
three walks
in four stars yeah and those are
four starts that don't include oh yeah and you don't
lose that gallon like
like it literally is
if there was if this
if something's going to go
on the pitching staff it's going to be in one of those more than likely i mean at least based on how
fath been pitching one of those last two games there and it yeah it didn't really at least again
from a starting pitching perspective so they keep doing that then the team becomes like they become
a much harder team to beat because there's no there's no game in which you can you can rely on
the pitching staff or at least the starting pitching staff shooting the bet at this point and i think
the other thing here is that lovolo knows that he can go he doesn't want to he probably should try
to refrain from doing it, but he can turn a Slade Chaconi or a, and Jesse makes sure, because
Tori's calling him Chaconi, right?
I don't care what baseball reference says.
We're putting the chut in there.
Baseball reference is unofficial anyways.
Yeah, they just take a guess at it.
Yeah, they say themselves unofficial.
But let me tell you, if they have to turn to a bullpen game, I don't think Tori's going
to shy away from doing so, but hopefully he won't need to with the numbers these guys
are going to put out.
Yeah, and I mean, again, this is all about the postseason, right?
And you look at these guys.
Merrill Kelly, I mean, again, he obviously had the cramping issue, but he probably is going further.
I mean, he's definitely going further in that game.
He went out there to pitch that last inning, or that eighth inning, I guess.
So there's that.
Then there's, you look at, fuck, I kind of lost my train of thought there.
Oh, they're going to like, they're going to let these guys go further into games.
Like, like, fought is going to get to go further into games.
Absolutely.
Obviously, like, if you're in the postseason and.
And like they're going to, they're not worried about pitch count.
Yeah.
Whereas like, especially with the fought start, right?
Like he probably could have gone further in that game.
Well, and there's, there's other things, too, to take into consideration.
Like a lot of times it's not as much the pitch count as much as Torrey wanting to refrain from.
Matchups and through the, well, them going through the lineup of third time.
Usually that can be a big reason why.
But we've all seen how that can backfire in the postseason.
We've seen how that can backfire with Tori.
I mean, that straight up almost happened.
But yeah.
In the postseason specifically, there was going to be.
going to be there is no worrying about pitch count or or arms or anything like if you're the guy
or the guy you're going out there and you're going to pitch until you can't anymore and so that's
kind of encouraging right like if your concern is the performance of the bullpen you're probably
not going to have to rely on them as much in the postseason assuming these starters keep performing
the way they are and some of these starters might end up coming out of the bullpen instead right
like a slade you're probably not getting a slade start in the post season yeah um probably
Hopefully not getting a Zach Davies start in the postseason.
Those guys become great weapons out of a bullpen, though,
if they end up getting used in that way in a post season.
Absolutely.
And I mean, at this point, I hate to be negative or already saying,
like, the Diamondbacks aren't going to go very far,
but you're right.
Like, at least as far as the matchups that they need to worry about here initially
as a wildcard team is a three-game series, right?
So, like, your three-game, your pitchers in that series is going to be
Zach Gallen, Merrill Kelly, and Brandon Fott?
Or do you put Brandon Fott in the middle there?
that you have Merrill Kelly perhaps to go.
Yeah.
It depends on what happens in game one, right?
Right.
I mean, yeah, definitely.
That's a big point.
We're definitely getting a little of rehearsals.
Yeah, we are getting ahead of ourselves.
Before we get on to playoffs and wildcard talk,
let's take a look at the numbers for this series
because the Arizona Diamondbacks, once again,
that's starting pitching ERA.
Big reason, big reason why they won this series.
And I don't know so much about that relief pitching ERA.
But, yeah, we have here 25 to 20, 36 hits,
28. Cincinnati Reds,
they made a lot of mistakes in this
series. I mean, their youth really showed
and the Diamondbacks, I think,
did an excellent job at taking advantage
of it. Maybe not in all
instances like they should, but they did do a
good job of taking advantage of it in
many of these instances. So, this
has been fairly
impressive for me.
And honestly, that starting pitching
ERA for me is something that's
just kind of wild. Like the
Diamondbacks in a four-game series put up a 1.57 ERA against one of, you know, the better offensive teams in baseball.
Yeah, you know, it is, I mean, it feels very much like them kind of playing the baseball that they were playing at the beginning of the season, like them being aggressive and chaotic and taking advantage of other teams making mistakes and them not being the ones making mistakes.
Right.
But I think, you know, as we're rounding into the postseason here, like this is starting to become kind of what the idea.
people have had about this team like all and although that wasn't the case during like the losing
streak i think the bullpen's the weak point you have solid starters you have a lot of of of
capable offensive weapons it's just a matter of them all putting it together like it's just a matter
of how much the bullpen is going to have to be relied on because you can't really rely on them all
that much no this this was atrocious yeah so it's like i mean we we joke about it we throw up the
bullpen may mean we do all of that stuff but it really felt like the bullpen was active
working against the team at times.
Again, so frustrating because during the dark times,
that's just how I'm going to refer to that month and a half,
the dark times. Like, the bullpen
wasn't bad. It wasn't the problem.
So, like, it's so frustrating to, again,
and it kind of was the theme of the season. I think,
just all put it together at once. It become very tough
to beat. But I think, I think
the reality of what the bullpen is, is much
closer to what you've been seeing of them recently
than what you saw of them during the dark times. It's just
not the best bullpen.
It's not the worst, but it's not the best.
They outstole bases, though. They stole bases, though.
They stole more bases than the race.
Eat your hard alley, Daly Cruz.
That's right. You got to get on base to steal them.
Well, and speaking of that, I mean, obviously, we have the Corbyn Carroll milestone here,
where Corbyn Carroll becomes the fourth rookie in Major League Baseball history with 20 home runs and 40 stolen bases.
I believe only one of them has not one rookie of the year.
Well, he came second.
And that's right.
And there's only one guy to do it since 1977.
And his name, Mike Trout.
Michael Trout.
Michael Trout.
Not a bad guy to be associated with.
but Corbyn Carroll did put both Ellie De La Cruz and Matt McLean in their place as far as this whole rookie of the year to pay.
I mean, I feel like they kind of put themselves in their place.
They really did.
They sucked.
Let's talk about it.
Let's talk about it because Ellie, Ellie De La Cruz is getting all of the hype for a throw, a throw when this man went one for 16.
One for 16.
Let's focus on the throw for a second.
One for 16.
Like people are always talking, are talking about this throw.
Oh, he threw it 99.7 miles per hour or whatever it is.
First off, he was out by like eight feet.
Any shortstop in baseball gets Corby and Carroll out there.
You want to know why?
Because they might not be throwing it as fast,
but I bet you they throw it with the home plate,
not five feet up the third baseline
and has Corby and Carroll running into the shins of the catcher.
Like, the throw in and of itself is impressive
because it's going damn near 100 miles per hour.
But like, ah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Any shortstop makes that point.
Clay. Corbyn Carroll, six for 12, one home run.
Pretty good.
Two triples, one double, five walks.
And then one of those triple.
Two strikeouts, two for two on stolen bases.
Zero errors.
Ellie De LaCruz, one error.
Matt McLean, two errors.
Three for 18 for Matt McLean.
One homer.
No walks.
Seven strikeouts.
He also had a stolen base.
So Ellie De LaGroes.
Elie De La De La Cruz also struck out seven times.
So I don't know.
I think that we can,
Damon, I think you can put your efforts elsewhere for now.
I think there's other guys you need to maybe take out.
Matt McClain is really good.
Yeah.
But he's also terrible at defense apparently.
Well, let's take a look at how good Matt McClain and Corbyn Carroll are, shall we?
Because we have a little comparison graphic for those two gentlemen.
And, of course, advantage Corbyn Carroll once again.
This is a bar for Brian that he tweeted.
L.A. won the battle with the throw, but Corman's going to win the F war.
Ha!
Look at that.
Fantastic.
And he does.
He does win the F4.
4.9 to 3.3.
40 stolen bases to Matt McLean's pathetic 14.
22 home runs to a poultry 16 for Matt McLean.
You're starting from the bottom up.
It is, I feel like,
I'm going in the wrong direction.
I'm going in the wrong direction.
I'm going to acknowledge that Matt McLean has 113 less plate appearances.
Sure.
Because he's not as good of a player and he doesn't play as much as Corby Carroll does.
Okay, yeah, yeah, we can go with that.
Is that fine?
Talk to him, Derek.
I'm trying.
I'm trying.
Talk your shit.
No, but honestly, it seems like there's always another guy.
And that's one thing that we've been saying since the James Outman days is there's
always another guy.
I'm sure Outman's name is still being thrown around with his performance since the All-Star
break and such too.
The biggest thing here is that Corby and Carroll continues to do it.
He continues to do it consistently.
He even had that slump.
I know we're all very well aware.
We all asked what the hell was wrong with Corbyn Carroll during that period of time.
But Corbyn Carroll hitting his way out of it lately because he's been very good.
I really like to see what the MVP race was if he didn't go through that slump.
Because now it's Mooky's award apparently.
Well, I mean, Mookie did take over as the NL favorite for the MVP award.
And I'm sure that's going to continue to change.
But just like the rookie of the year thing is going to continue to change.
I don't think it is.
I don't mean change.
I mean, there'll probably be another guy that pops back up here.
We'll probably get James Outman's name thrown back up here around.
We'll probably get a couple of other guys.
Alvarez?
That's the only one that hasn't really been thrown into it.
Yeah, like the Mets guys have not really been thrown into this conversation as much as they probably should be.
Should they?
I mean.
I guess, yeah, because rookie of the year isn't the same as like an MVP where the performance of the team really should impact what you think of the play.
When I say should be thrown into it, I mean, in the same sense that Ellie and Matt McLean should be thrown into it in the sense that nobody should be.
But if we're putting people in it, then maybe they probably should be in that.
Maybe Senga, but I don't know about Alvarez.
I've just heard good things.
I haven't really looked at his numbers.
And Senga's also 30.
Yeah.
So how do you feel about that?
How do you feel about that?
Like him and Masataka Yoshita.
Like, because Masataka Yoshita has gone on record and said that he doesn't want
rookie the year because he's not a rookie.
Yeah.
Because he's played professional ball in Asia for whoever.
How do you feel about that?
Like it's, it's something I feel.
And the rookie of the year versus newcomer of the year, I guess.
We were, we were discussing the rookie of the year MVP combo that Corby
Carol might potentially be a candidate for.
And of course, Ichiro is the other person that gets brought up.
And Ichiro was like 28, 29 years old.
Yeah, it is kind of funny how he can be rookie the year and also have like the most hits in professional
baseball history.
It's like, okay, you're counting all of these hits from Japan, but also even working the year,
which I don't really have a problem with.
Like, I love itchiro.
It just has to be one or the other.
Yeah, it can't be a rookie if you've played professional sport in a different country just
because you're new.
If you want to call it new cover the year, like I'm fine with that.
That's what they do in like the PAC 12 of RIP.
Like they call it the newcomer the year
instead of freshman of the year.
Or no,
I think they have both,
don't that.
But yeah,
I don't know.
Yeah.
I'm with you.
I'm with you.
Regardless,
the point of this whole conversation is
Corby Carroll.
He's your rookie of the year.
But let's take a look at the wildcard standings
because things continue to heat up
for the Arizona Diamondbacks
as far as this goes.
They continue to put some distance between them
and the teams that they need to put distance between.
I still don't understand how the Diamondbacks
had such a good weekend and the Cubs are still up by half a game.
That was wild to me.
But they were up a half a game after Thursday, I believe, due to the,
they had the, you know, the downbacks didn't play.
And then they won.
And then the Reds also won.
They're doubleheaders.
So that's how things kind of switched around there.
But this is looking nice.
This is looking very nice.
And the better thing about this is after the Marlins,
which aren't featured here on this list, is the Padres.
No, no, no.
After the Marlins is the Padres, who I believe now are eight back.
And at one point,
before the Diamondbacks played the Padres,
I think there were one game separating them
and the Padres and that final wild card spot.
So now things are looking good, guys.
Things are looking good for this team.
I mean, I feel like this is, again,
as we get closer to playoffs,
like things start to shake out,
and I think you're ultimately going to get
the six best teams in the playoffs of the National League.
And I think, like, I was just talking about this
with one of Max intern Savannah,
who's a Giants fan.
She's from the Bay Area.
And I was like, the Giants don't make any sense.
They're not that good of a team.
Like, the roster's not that good.
They shouldn't be that good.
Their batting lineup is terrible.
It doesn't make sense.
And it's not like they have a Siong candidate either.
Like, it's not like they're pitching steps.
Yeah, but it's not like they have any.
Logan Webb is there.
It doesn't really make it in a whole lot of sense.
That's why they're playing that.
Well, I think ultimately you're getting like the Reds.
I think were over before when they got that shot in the arm from,
from Ellie and they,
they were obviously really hot.
But like, I think ultimately you're getting the sixth best team.
Or let me take that bad.
you're getting three division champions and then the three next best teams because I don't know that the brewers are one of the six best teams but that's just how this works fair enough uh but joining us right now by the way to talk about this Arizona diamond back series with the reds just a little bit is the one and only jesse freeman Jesse are you here Jesse
big blurry Jesse I think I'm here am I here here uh Jesse what were your thoughts on the starting pitching in the series for the diamondbacks against the reds uh they seem to be pretty damn good
Yeah, it was incredible, right?
I mean, everyone going into this series was concerned because the Diamondbacks are playing their biggest series of the year.
And they didn't line up Zach Gallen to pitch the finale of the series.
It seemed like a missed opportunity going in.
And you look back now, I mean, I think Diamondbacks starting pitchers combined for 23 innings in this series.
And they allow to combine four earned runs.
There's literally one earned run per game on average.
That'll play.
That'll play in the biggest series of the year.
The Diamondbacks were, you know, they were able to take care of business against the Reds.
And, you know, that was their biggest series of the year.
And, you know, things are only going to get more and more importance down the stretch.
But to this to date, that is, you know, I mean, this weekend was huge for them.
They got big offense when they needed it, which is something that we haven't really seen them be able to do at times.
We've seen them lose a lot of close games and not be able to get that big hit.
But it felt like in the series, they were able to, you know,
kind of convert some Reds mistakes into some big innings as far as offensive numbers go.
Lourdes had a huge solo home run on Sunday that tied it in the seventh.
And the offense, of course, you know, got those runs across in the 8th.
Even in the loss, I felt like it was fairly impressive that they were able to muster up enough runs there at the end of the game in extra innings to tie it up after the Reds had gone up by, I think it was three runs.
And so this team just offensively feels like they are getting things back on track.
Yeah, on some level, you feel like you could have had a sweep here, right?
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
I don't know if the Diamondbacks really, I don't think they really deserve to win that game
because, I mean, they scored three runs against Alexis Diaz and in the bottom of the 10th
and all of those runs were unearned.
Matt McLean, as you guys talked about earlier, did not showcase the best defense at second base
in this series.
the Diamondbacks were able to take advantage of that.
It was a winnable game.
It was an extremely winnable game when all was said and done.
Of course, Paul Seawald, you know, had an opportunity to close that game
and, you know, just win a clean nine inning game over the Cincinnati Reds.
I wasn't able to pull that off.
But, but yeah, you know, you'll take three wins out of four for sure,
even if you, you know, definitely had a chance to win that fourth game.
Well, we want to thank everybody for being here in the PHNX Sports YouTube channel right now.
If you haven't subscribed to the channel yet, make sure to do so right now.
Sign up for notifications.
That way you don't miss whenever we go live.
Leave us a thumbs up just to let Jesse know you appreciate him being here.
And most importantly, if you're listening on the audio podcasting side, subscribe over there,
leave us a review so that way we get that feedback.
We have a very interesting list that is dropping on go phnx.com about the top 25 Arizona athletes.
So we are going to be very angry about a lot of it.
sure there's going to be a lot of debating.
There's going to be mostly Damon getting angry about Tucson athletes not being ranked higher.
I know that's what's coming.
I know that's coming.
But make sure to keep your eyes peeled for that.
We also have some more discussion in regards to that this week right here on this show.
But if you haven't signed up yet over at go phnx.com for a diehardt's membership, what are you
waiting for?
Do it today.
Join the pHNX family.
Get that membership.
You will get a free piece of merchandise from the phtonx locker.com, including that
incredible snake shirt that Jesse is wearing right now on this show. I mean, he's not really
wearing it, but we haven't positioned under him very cleverly. There he goes. He's that perfect.
But we also have all sorts of wonderful deals going on right now. It is our countdown to kickoff
for the 2324 season, all T-shirts and hats on sale for $24, including the Snake Bat tea. Go get that
snake bat, go get that snake bat tea right now or sign up for that diehard membership today and get
yourself a free piece of merchandise from the PHNX Locker.com. Also, you get yourself a free
Mount Mike's gift certificate for $50. Get a Dobson Ranch Ranch Ranch card and so much more,
including Jesse's newsletter full count. You get access to all of our, all of our content. You get
access to our members-only Discord lounge and so much more. So join us today over here. Become a diehard
member. Jesse, taking a look ahead at this series with the Dodgers, I don't want to make it out
like it's critical because I feel like, and this is something somebody said the other day,
we are in a different division now. We are in the wild card division. And that's what we are focusing
on because the Dodgers have been playing such good baseball that they have just ran away with the
NL West. And really with a double-digit lead, I don't feel like it's even healthy for us
to try to say we can catch the Dodgers or even focus on that at this point. But still a three-game
series with the Dodgers, very important and a very difficult week for the Diamondbacks overall
that kicks off with this series.
Yeah, our Dodgers and Orioles, right?
Yeah.
We did our power rankings a few days ago.
I think we had the Dodgers second and the Orioles third.
So you're basically playing, you know,
two of potentially the top three teams in baseball right now this week.
So, yeah, every game matters for this Diamondbacks team down the stretch.
You don't necessarily want to think of it as like every game is a must-win game.
But it sort of feels that way.
It sort of feels like every –
Every game is a must-win game at this point.
So, yeah, this is going to be a...
Sorry about that, Jesse.
We have a little bit of delay, so excuse me,
if I talk over Jesse like that.
But this team, 80 and 49, Jesse,
just really impressive what they've been able to do this season.
Yeah, people coming into the year were like,
oh, the Dodgers won't be that good, right?
The Padres were sort of like the trendy team.
That's the team that a lot of people are picking to,
win the NOS division. Of course, I was not one of those people. I never would have made that
prediction. I absolutely did make that prediction. But yeah, you can see the Dodgers have, I mean,
in some ways they are, they're not as good of a team as they. I see here. They're starting
in this year, this year is 4.48, which is very high for this Dodgers team. I want to say that
would be the highest they've had in a very long time. But when you've got Mookie bets and you've got
Freddie Freeman.
I mean, those two guys right now, along with Ronald Acuna, probably the best three
position players in baseball right now.
Those three, the Dodgers have two of them.
So, yeah, I mean, when you have a team OPS of almost 800, you know, when your bullpen
is above average, not great, but above average.
And the Dodgers continue to play good defense as well as you see there with their 29
defensive run saved.
That ranks in the top half of the league.
So, yeah, they're basically, you know, pretty deep.
decent at everything except on offense they are spectacular they are you know a top four offense
in baseball um and yeah i mean i mean i must do that's it's amazing what having you know two of the best
players in the game on your team can can do for your lineup uh those two have a combined ops of over 1,000
this year by the way uh and mooky bets is now the betting odds favorite for national league MVP by
the way surpassing ronald a cunia junior which was a bet i told you all
to take not too long ago and I hope you did because the field is just too wide open.
And me and Sean said you guys we laughed in your face.
He told me I was idiot.
They did it on the show.
They did it privately after the show.
We did it amongst each other when you weren't a present.
Yeah, when I wasn't even here they were like, what a dumbass.
And I was like, Derek's the biggest idiot.
I know.
How the turntables have turned.
How the turn tables have turned.
Well, Jesse, you will be in Los Angeles covering the series.
so we again think did he leave?
He bounced.
Hopefully his house isn't burning down.
Yeah,
I need to do a dress guy.
Like we talk about me worrying about Jesse.
I am not going to sleep a night
knowing that he didn't change that goddamn battery
in that smoke detector.
What are we doing here?
What are we doing here?
But like I said, of course,
check your smoke detectors.
Check your smoke detectors, folks.
That's the most important thing here.
Most importantly,
though, of course, like I said,
Mookie Betts,
now the betting odds favorite
for National League MVP.
You know where you can get down
on this kind of action?
What's that?
It's on the BETMGM Sportsbook, of course.
Get down on the BETMGM app.
Nerfie Fridays.
We celebrate.
We all hail the Nerfie Friday.
All you got to be is an existing
bet MGM sports user
and you can get down on the Nerfie Friday.
What's a Nerfie? No run,
first inning bet.
All you got to do is opt into the promotion
and place a no run first inning bet
on any major league baseball.
game.
Hit last Friday I guess.
That's by betting no.
That's right on will there be a run in the first inning market?
If your bet loses but only one run is scored during the first inning, you will receive
a bonus bet back equaling your stake up to whatever designated amount that bet MGM puts up
right now.
Sometimes it's $25, but they've been bumping it up to 50.
So available only on Fridays, make sure to not miss that out.
If you haven't done so yet, sign up for bet MGM and use bonus code PHNX.
There's a few different offers depending on where you live, but for our Arizona audience,
place your first bet offer and receive up to $1,000 back in bonus bets.
Check out the show notes for full details.
And now listen to Shane, talk about the disclaimer.
1-800 gambler, Colorado, D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana,
Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, New Jersey, Ohio,
call 8778, Hope & Y, or text Hope & Y, 467-369 New York.
Call 1-800-3-270-50-Massachusetts.
21 plus to wager. Please gamble responsibly. Call 1-800 Next Step, Arizona, 1-800-2-2-2-470-7-0-0-1-7-0-1-7.
1-800-1-1-7-1-1-7 for confidential help, Michigan.
1-81-0-0-3, Puerto Rico, in partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.
Visit betmGM.com for terms and conditions. U.S. promotional offers not available in D.C.,
New York or Ontario.
Well, patio season is almost here.
I'm not going to say it's here today because it's 115 degrees out.
But luckily, if you go to illegal peats, you can either sit on the patio, or you can sit inside
where there's lovely air conditioning.
But regardless, you're going to have yourself a great time over there.
Illegal Pizza is the place to go for margaritas year-round here in Arizona,
as strong as you can find in the state.
And they also have just some amazing food, irresistible drinks, mouth-watering food,
everything you need to relax and enjoy yourself.
Have a great meal.
They have a full menu for bowls, tacos, and burritos, nachos, salads.
They have a full bar with custom cocktails and so much more.
Of course, Illegal Pizza is your go-to spot.
Stop by for happy hour, 3 p.m. to 8 p.m. every day.
all 12 locations.
Illegal Pete's the go-to spot for burritos, buddies, and beers for 28 years now.
And speaking of buddies, you guys are buddies.
True.
And, of course, it's Monday.
We know what we do on Monday, but you know what we do all the time.
This guy loves it because every month, right?
Every month on this show, Black History.
Oh, yeah.
Every month on this show, Women's History Month.
Every month on the show, Black Women's History Month.
Where's Latino, Latina History Month?
Every month on this show is Latino.
Latina?
Well, I mean,
Latin kind of just
gets it together, right?
It's Latino.
Yeah, okay.
But we celebrate everybody
every month on this show.
Every week on this show is Shark Week.
Every day on this show,
Earth Day, because we recycle.
But on Mondays, we go to the mailbag.
Let's go.
Always something interesting in my mailbox.
I'm trying to get to everything in my mix.
We go out.
All right.
Let's go.
What do we got?
First question.
First question comes from Gabriel,
boldest bronze on Twitter.
Gabriel says,
Now that we're back, what's the ceiling and floor of this team record wise?
Wow.
I mean, I think as far as what your expectations for this team are concerned,
the ceiling should be 90 wins.
Yeah, 31 games left.
They're at 69.
So that would be 21.
That'd be winning the majority of their games left.
Yeah, so I guess the ceiling is technically,
the ceiling is 162.
Yeah.
Obviously, they're not to do that.
I think he means from this point.
going forward well that's what I'm saying like the the the the record yeah I get so yeah I guess
the feeling technically speaking is 31 and oh yeah um and the floor is oh and 31 but we can't
expect that we can't either of those are realistic it's like asking them to sweep the reds they
tried to do it they couldn't they couldn't hold it um but yeah I feel like 90 with like
can they go can they go 21 and 10 can they hit I I'm 90 wins I I I
think that based on what they have left on their schedule, it's going to be difficult.
But when you're asking me what like the absolute best that they can do would be, I would say 90 wins.
Yeah.
Because of course, like I said, they have, I think two series left with the Colorado Rockies.
I know they have one series with the White Sox.
And?
And then they have one series.
They have two series.
Oh, one four game series with the Mets who are absolutely have to have given up.
And of course, a three game series with that poverty franchise known.
as the New York Yankees.
Bums. Did I say that right?
Bums.
Bums.
A lot of them.
Bums.
By the way, did you see what went low, low said in the Rays?
Do you see what happened in the Rays Yankees series?
No, what happened?
There was, the bench was cleared twice because they kept hitting Yankee, or they kept
the Yankees kept hitting Rays.
And in their defense, they all suck at baseball, so it probably wasn't on purpose.
But they kept hitting Rays.
Rani O'Rez Arena got pissed.
And so the bench was cleared once he got hit.
and then he obviously they separated and then a rosarina stole second and stole third and then the pitcher they both stayed in the game started talking shit to errosurina again bench just cleared afterwards they asked low about it and they were like well that's just a team that's just a bottom of the standings they're just trying to find anything they're just spark we're in contention so we can't concern ourselves what they're doing and i'm like damn fucking straight got bombs got so that's a series they should be able to win um getting back to the actual question floor floor i think it's i think you flip it i mean we've seen them we saw them
in the dark times being the worst team in baseball.
Yeah, I think I don't think you can expect them, again,
can't expect them to lose 31 straight games,
but I think the ceiling, if things get bad fat,
or the floor, if things get bad fast again,
would be about the opposite for them to go 10 and 21.
Yeah, no, I agree with that.
I agree.
I think anything, I mean, they're at how many wins right now?
69.
Nice.
They, I think 10 wins or less is an absolute.
Oh, my God, yeah.
If they lose, if they win less than 10 games,
Tori needs to lose his job.
Yeah, I mean, that's...
Especially, because, like, going into a...
You're in a playoff spot right now.
If you choke that away in that drastic of fashion,
like, that's how managers lose their jobs.
Right, right.
So there's your ceiling and floor.
I guess those reverse records, 21 and 10, 10, 21.
What else we got?
Michael, I love this question.
Michael Rokicke asks, if you can only keep one in free agency,
do you keep Lordeus Gouriel or Tommy fam?
Yikes.
Why, right?
I mean, recency bias is obviously.
Tommy fam. I mean, you can't even say that really
because Lordas had a big home run yesterday. He had a huge
home run. But I mean, Tommy Fam
the hitting streak and
just everything that kind of has sparked
since then it's like the problem
with Lordus is I don't think
that the Diamondbacks are willing and I said
this before. They're not going to be
willing to pay Lordis. Yeah.
As much as another team is willing to pay
Lordish just based on the fact he was an all
star this year and put up good numbers
during a stretch, which is what Lordis does
kind of throughout his career.
been kind of a streaky hitter where he has these really good stretches and then he has really
bad ones and then it evens out to be some pretty decent numbers but depending on which version of
him you watched you are going to have a completely different opinion lordis is vibes guy like alice
says right here lordis is lord absolutely but i mean i mean you need leadership fam is a different kind of vibes
guy yeah he brings a different not a vibe not a vibe not a vibe but he brings a real i don't know if
you call that a vibe but let's be real and tommy fam thank god he's on our team great player great but we're
seriously going to sit here and act like that dude doesn't seem like a like kind of like a total
dickhead i feel like i feel like i feel like he no i feel like he this is like probably the coolest
guy in the club i feel like Tommy fam is the kind of guy who just goes like you saw that i i was texting
y'all about the post game i was texting you at least about the post game press conference he had
the other day or an interview i had with jody on the field and it was like the fun like it just
it sounded like he had just learned his teammates names like he was calling everybody by the
first name and he was like our pitcher merrill and and and and and
Tell Marte and it was so like it was so weird and I loved it like it was just like he showed up and
he's like he wants the rest of the team to like him he doesn't give a shit about nobody else
else has had the organization but he wants he's here for it listen I mean like you were saying
if we're including the the financials of this I think Tommy fam was a much more realistic target
especially with some of our other goals in the offseason like you'd like to save that money
and again
Lordus is a rather streaky player
Elizabeth says FAM's vibe
scare me, that's what we want
Yeah, that's exactly what we want
I think there's a spot for both of those
guys on your team
You need a guy like fam and a guy like Lourdes
But what I guess I'm saying is
What hurts your team more to not have on your team
How is, wait, but the problem is
Catell's already a vibes guy
Yeah?
Yeah, well my...
Cotel's vibes are good
My thing about Tommy FAM
is that like
he's not that good.
Like what he's doing now is kind of an outlier.
I mean,
you look at his career,
like he's a solid.
I don't want,
I don't want to say that he's not that good.
He's a solid player.
But he's like kind of outperforming,
especially at this age of his,
he's 35 years old.
Like he's doing more than I think you could have reasonably expected from him
based on what you,
what you've seen from him the rest of his career.
And to be fair,
he's a journeyman for a reason.
And Lordus Gurriel has more defensive runs saved this year than I would even have imagined.
He's a surprisingly good defense.
But he's not, but he is, right?
Yeah.
So he makes some good plays, but then there are times seeing him in left field.
On Saturday when that ball went like an inch over his glove and you were like, oh, that was,
that was like probably should have been a catch.
Yeah, right.
Right.
Right.
Yeah, yeah.
I had a good view.
I was in left field and I was like, I don't know how he didn't catch.
Yeah, right, right.
Yeah.
And he's a very tall guy.
So you would think if he just jumped a little bit.
But then he made a good play later in the game.
Right.
And that's kind of what you'll get out of them.
So I think if we're just doing baseball player for baseball.
12 player, I'd rather have Loris Gurriel, but I think when you consider the money, you're
probably getting Tommy fan for a whole lot cheaper.
That's a good point.
I'm family with Lordus, so I think I have to decide with Lordus as well.
But I'd say the same thing he said.
What else we get?
Kevin Lundberg says, if the playoffs started today, which pitchers are you wanting on the
roster?
Starters and relievers.
Well, I will say right now that the majority of the starters that are all the majority of the starters
that are on the roster right now are the guys I want there.
I will say that maybe Ryan Nelson deserves to, you know, have another chance.
Yeah, I would, yeah.
You know, but for the most part, after this series, I'm riding high on this particular roster.
And of course, you know, especially with Zach Davies and Slade, it's a matter of what are they going to do in their next start, right?
I still, it's still too small of a sample size, but I will say that right now this team doesn't have a lot of options as far as,
as far as this goes.
What's the most recent on Tommy Henry?
Tommy Henry sounds like he's going to be done for the year.
So he's going to be shut down for the year.
We're still awaiting to see if Trey Jameson can potentially come back.
Dre avoided Tommy John surgery and everything sounds very positive about Dre coming back.
I think Dre, if he was at 100%, would be an absolute, you know, great addition to the bullpen.
I've said it like 50 times that I think he would win this team playoff game, but obviously.
it's all depending on it becomes
but how's it.
Tori would it be
if he was like
Zach Davies is our number three
starter in the playoffs
over Brandon fought
if he was like
we're going with the experienced guy
that would be the most Tory shit ever
it would be on a certain
token I almost wouldn't
mind it too much
if if fought and
and Slate are both available
and it's just like
if we can get those good three innings
that we get from Zach Davies sometimes
off rip
like go for it because I would much rather
an opener kind of deal. I would much rather have
Zach Davies come in the game on a clean slate
at the beginning and figure out real
fast if he's going to be dog shit that day
than because the options
for like he's going to be on the roster. He's either
starting or coming out of the bullpen. I would much rather
like I don't want a situation where
Miguel Castro was loaded the bases and it's like oh
here comes Zach Davies. Like I would much rather Zach Davies
start and have a short leash and let these
other younger guys who are probably
mentally better suited to come out of the pen
if I had to guess
I think that would probably be a better setup
assuming you have to use them
especially after hearing Zach Gallin talk about
like the one thing that was kind of important
to him at the All-Star game about starting
was the fact he got to keep his routine
To be fair
I mean that's that Zach Davis has sucked all year
so you're not going to stay here and pretend the routine
has been like yeah it's like I also got to do
with getting his routine
counterpoint
Brandon Fawts us
savage. Brandon Bond is a savage, but also
this is a kid who at the beginning, the first half of the season, we're talking about how
flustered he seemed. Postseason is a pretty big deal.
Especially, you know, if you're going to, I don't know,
Citizen Bank Park or what does it call? That's what they play at, right? Citizens Bank.
I think so. Yeah, or, or, or, or, Riggly in the postseason. That's going to be,
that's going to be tough. Yeah. I would rather, I would, you know, I might take the veteran
experience. And again,
The least for all three of these guys at the bottom of the rotation, I think is going to be incredibly short, obviously.
Like, it's you fuck up.
One of the other two is coming in.
I think is how it ultimately should operate.
So it almost doesn't matter who is the starter there.
I just think Zach Davies has the smallest opportunity to really fuck this up for the Diamondbacks if he starts as opposed to coming out of the bullpen.
That's just me.
You know who's on my postseason roster?
Ryan fucking Thompson.
The guy is a beast.
Stud.
He must be protected at all costs.
Seawald who?
No, let's not go that far.
Ryan Thompson, absolutely made the entire organization look good in that finale game there.
But yeah, that's still going to be interesting.
I mean, there's a couple of guys that I'm growing weary of myself.
And, you know, Miguel Castro hasn't been super reliable.
That's the hard part about answering.
Justin Martinez, another guy.
Like, yeah, there's just.
The bullpen just everybody's kind of been unreliable.
I mean, Paul Seawald and right now, Ryan Thompson and Paul Seawald are in, for sure.
Yeah, Ginkle, I think.
And Ginkle.
And Kevin Ginkle, that's your 7-89 potential.
You have, presumably, I'm just going to say for ease, the sake of these, I guess, like
Soconi or Chaconi or Bryce Jarvis.
Like those and and Fah are in the pen.
Maybe it's Davies, whatever.
So you maybe have the really, maybe Dway Jameson's back.
So then there's, that's another guy you might be able to.
And it really is a question of like you look like a guy like Bryce Jarvis do you
Are you willing to time that's kind of a risk in the postseason? Yeah I mean
Do you go with a guy like this like obviously like Scott McDon't be in the roster but I'm saying like in a in a terms of who you turn to at any given point like are you going to go to that guy that you've seen have
Dominant stretches during the regular season although you've also seen him be really bad or are you gonna
Roll the dice really with a guy like Jarvis
like that's going to be kind of an approach question
that we're going to have to wait and see.
Yeah, interesting.
The bullpen is not an easy question.
No, because like you said, the biggest thing is, you know,
who makes it on the starting rotation
and then who might find their way into the bullpen,
especially when you're talking about that three-game series.
So we'll see what the nine-backs do.
But really, I think for me,
the impression that's been made on me by a couple of guys,
like even with Paul Seawald.
Like, let's be honest, Paul Seawald had, what,
nine games in a row without allowing a run and then things fell apart for him.
But even in those nine games, things got close to falling apart for Paul Seawald.
It wasn't like any of his saves for this team.
There's been one or two that were relatively stress-free.
But a lot of them have involved runners being on the base path and Seawalt kind of working through, you know,
I won't say not having his best stuff, but not necessarily going out there and being
completely dominant.
Yeah.
Oh, my God.
I just, there's a.
Paul Seawald is almost...
Paul Seawall is going to load the bases for Bryce Harper in the...
100%.
We are going to be in a situation where...
I don't like this.
This is not a...
This is not a mailbag.
It is 100% I don't want to talk about this.
Cody Bellinger or Bryce Harper are going to be at the plate with the bases loaded,
and Paul Seawald's going to have the ball on his hand.
That is going to be Paul Seawald or Miguel Castro.
One of those two things is going to happen with the bases loaded.
I'm going to feel much better about one of the other.
One of them is going to have us...
One of them is going to upset our stomach.
The other one is going to force it.
It's Miguel Castro.
In that situation, Tori needs to be gone.
I agree.
I feel like Damon needs to be on camera for the faces he's making right now because they're making me sick to my stomach.
Oh, my God.
It's the same way he looks at me in the ninth inning when they bring in Miguel Castro or they bring in Scott McGuff.
We're going to have to figure out a way to have Damon a part of that.
Yeah.
A part of the watch along said happening in the post.
We have to.
What else we got?
We got more mailbag Monday questions.
Ryan Hanley.
First, it's my birthday today.
Happy birthday, Ryan.
He wants to know who starts in a must-win game.
Zach Gallen or Merrill Kelly.
I did that kind of backwards.
Merrill Kelly or Zach Gallen.
It's Zach Allen.
It's Zach Allen.
Like, I get why you ask this question.
Does it matter if it's in home or on the road?
Most likely.
Yeah.
I like, I guess not most likely.
But there's obviously the chance that's on the road.
Because see, here's the thing.
Like you said, Zach Gallin's going in game one.
Yeah?
Zach Gallen wins.
Game two, they lose.
Yeah, Merrill Kelly.
maybe available, maybe waited to
yeah, honestly, I agree.
I think it would be pretty cool.
I think it would be pretty cool.
I think it might be smart to, you know,
throw,
maybe do that, that fought,
Cicone,
uh,
Davies thing in the game two,
whatever we decided to do with that third arm.
Yeah.
Um,
and then,
yeah,
you throw Merrill out there in game two,
especially,
or in game three or game one in the next series,
especially because he's the mainstay.
And if you do kind of a bullpen game in the game, too, you can somewhat reasonably rely on him giving your arms somewhat of a day off the next day because he's so efficient.
And again, it's the postseason.
So you, I'm barring like the cramp thing flaring back up.
You could probably, you feel pretty good about Jack Davies or about Merrill Kelly pitching into the ace probably.
Like, he should be able to accomplish that.
So I wouldn't mind that kind of.
It's such a weird thing that we're having this conversation.
and it's a real conversation because Merrill Kelly has been outstanding for this team this year.
Zach Gallen obviously has been outstanding.
Zach Gallen has been damn near unhittable at Chase Field, but Zach Gallen has had his ups and downs.
You've got to resign Zach Gallen too at some point.
You can't be telling Zach Gallon he's the number two.
Like at a certain point that stuff does matter.
And I think it would be far too detrimental to this team to insult Zach Davies.
If you went with Merrill Kelly all of a sudden.
Why do I keep saying Zach Day?
To insult Zach Gallen by having Merrill go one.
That's a good point.
I think that would be too disrespectful.
Yeah, I agree.
He did start the All-Star game, and he is currently your Syung betting favorites.
That's also true.
He's going to be fresh off of Tsai Young.
You're going to tell him he's not starting.
Yeah.
What else we got?
Drunk Pirate 24 on Twitter, which I love that name, Nate.
Nate Cleveland asks, first, I think we might be back.
We are back, Nate.
We can confirm.
I know.
We are back.
Second, can we change Martinez's nickname from J-Mart to Wild Thing?
That's something I've seen a lot on Twitter.
I don't know if, I don't know if Justin Martinez deserves a wild thing nickname yet.
I mean, I understand.
Is this a, yeah, is this a because he throws wild.
Yeah, like I don't, listen, I, I'm sorry, drunk pirate.
I don't mean this to be kind of any kind of insult.
But I think just calling a pitcher who throws triple digits and doesn't have control,
wild thing is lazy.
Like, of course.
Is it as lazy as calling someone
with the last name that starts with
Mart?
That's fair.
That's fair.
But I don't consider,
J. Mart.
Kmart.
I don't consider J.
Mart like a nickname.
It's just like a shortening of his name.
And the same like A-Rod is not.
I don't really consider A-Rod to be Alex Rodriguez's nickname.
It's just a shorthand.
It's my high school teammates used to call me demon.
Hmm.
Because D-E-M-O-N.
And I like that.
I was a big fan of that.
Yeah.
Like I had a,
I had a,
my chemistry teacher in high school,
call me E-D-P,
Eric DePaz.
My first name's Eric,
if you didn't know that.
Like,
I didn't really consider that a nickname.
It was just like,
I'm only calling you,
DDP.
Well,
I like EDP.
I like EDP.
Petey just calls me DEP.
That's got complications.
I'm not like,
that Eagles fan.
Oh, yeah.
He's gotten a lot of trouble.
Yeah.
I'm not sure that's what you want.
Yeah,
I know.
That's like,
it was a lot cooler in 2016 or 2015.
It is now.
Yeah, that's very true.
I'm sorry, Nate.
But like, I just,
I, you know,
it's not just like,
it's a lot of people
calling him but like everyone it's I feel like that's just a natural like he throws fast it
doesn't have control I feel like it's just naturally oh it's wild thing but he's more wild thing
than like any other that that's fair that that is fair like he is that's the best
he is like the textbook in the in the in the dictionary you look a wild thing it's literally
draw one oh three five feet off the plate like so I'm like I get it it's not a bad nickname
we also have Luis Frias who could also be called wild thing I just feel like we
gotta get more creative because there's so many people that can get called wild thing like we gotta
we got to get a little more like that's why I was a huge fan of giving him my mr. electric nickname
yeah because but he hasn't really been that electric it's yeah that's been that's very true as well
it's been electric it's more like a bolt of lightning you don't really know where it's gonna go or
when it's gonna show up but yeah there's electricity involved it could damage some shit though
it could fuck some shit up what else we got yeah next question comes from a z sports girl 224
I want to talk about Paul Seawall breaking anymore.
I thought I said that.
Did we break Paul Seawald on Saturday night?
Maybe I hope not.
I don't know.
Like I said, Paul Seawald, he hasn't been to a point where all of a sudden Saturday
night's performance was a surprise.
It just felt like things finally came to a head after he seemed to like kind of struggle a little
bit more to make that ninth inning lock down.
And then what happened?
But I mean, can you attribute it also to his use?
usage and how much the Diamondbacks have been calling on him as of late.
I mean, I know that's your job as a closer.
Yeah.
And essentially, if you're a closer on a good team, like what happened with Felix Batista
with the, with the Orioles, you're going to get called on a lot, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
I mean, listen, I, yeah, it's tough because, like, I feel like I don't want to put too much
value into this, but the same time, I feel like there's such a sample size I have to, like,
kind of adjusting the, the idea of what success for a closing pitcher looks like when
it's an Arizona Diamondback closing pitcher.
Like it just,
nothing smooth here.
They're obviously going to,
so like,
of court,
yeah,
it's difficult and he doesn't make it easy.
Um,
by and large.
And obviously he's had a couple of,
of,
of,
of,
of,
of,
of,
of,
of,
of that has gone really bad.
Um,
but like,
uh,
it's so much better than what we had.
I,
I still trust Paul.
I trust Paul than literally anybody up,
any other pitcher that you were going to bring out of it.
No,
honestly,
you,
you,
you tell me,
it's the ninth inning of in a save situation of a world series game whatever it's zat yallon
meryl kelly and then paul seawald in terms of my trust level yeah like and so that's just going to be
what this is i don't really care like and i don't think anything Kevin ginkle play tennis
i'm putting Kevin gable fourth but i'm putting Paul seawald before him for sure like i trust
Kevin ginkle with my life i trust Paul seewell with my life too um like i i just that's going to be what
this is. So it's not going to, it might not be smooth. I still trust him and I don't think he's broken.
I don't know. Also, back to the wild, wild thing thing. Um, the wild thing. Um, I would really like to hope that
J-Martart just needs glasses. Like, like, because that would be that James Winston, you want to talk
about a wild thing? That's James Winston. Because I was like, he was, he was wild. It was all over
the place 30 and 30. And then it was like, oh, but he got LASIC. He's going to figure it out. He didn't
figure it out. But that would be incredible. Like if he, if it's just glasses and he gets
glasses, then, then while I'm all in.
He puts on Zach Gallin's goggles and figures out that he's the exact same prescription.
It's got to be the frames with the school cross-over middle.
No, that's fine.
We'll get them those.
But I'm just saying, like, like, he figures it out.
Actually, he does one of those like, oh, my God, let me see how Brian you are.
Let me put on your glasses.
He's like, oh, my God, I can actually see with these.
And it's, oh, maybe you actually need glasses.
Like every conversation I've ever had with anybody who's ever wanted to try my glasses.
Yeah.
Wow, it's really clear.
Yeah, it's because you have a stigmatism.
Go to the fucking eye doctor, you weirdo.
Yeah, he's not wrong.
I look better with glasses.
I think I look better with glasses.
But I think I look okay with glasses.
Like, everyone's just like, ah, I'm going to look weird.
No, you're not.
There's 8 million different kinds of glasses.
They can be a fashion statement in their own right.
Get your eyes checked.
There you go.
And fix your smoke detector.
Get your eyes checked.
Put batteries in your local elections.
And don't forget to drink water.
Okay.
What else we got, Damon?
Elizabeth wants to start a holy war here, knowing that Sean's on the show.
Yeah, I mean, I'm not answering.
What do you think Sean's answers?
I'm not answering this question.
What do you think?
I don't know.
It could really go anywhere.
Elizabeth asked, well, hold on.
Let's get the question out there for the audio listeners.
Elizabeth asks, which team has the worst fans?
Everyone knows what my answer is, so I'm going to eliminate them.
New York Yankees is the worst.
Damon and I have had this conversation a couple of times recently, and I get like, I'm also
going to kind of eliminate the Dodgers because, of course, it's the fucking dog.
Padres fans fucking suck.
They are the worst.
Padres fans are the worst.
A, they're dog shit people, as we learned with the whole time you fan experience the last weekend,
or two weeks ago, I guess.
And B, like, for what?
And this is not by any means an original tank.
This is something Damon's set up.
For what?
You all been dog shit your whole existence.
You don't have anything to show for it.
You got cool jerseys and you signed some good players who haven't really done jacked shit.
And you're going to talk all this shit just because you got jerseys that look like
highlighters threw up all over in, which I like.
And you brought the brown and gold.
Like cool, bro.
You haven't done anything.
You're worse than Dodgers fans in that regard.
At least they have that Mickey Mouse ring to show for it.
You don't have an accomplished shit.
Shut up.
Don't talk to me.
We're a more successful franchise than you are.
Go away.
Stop talking to me and stop talking about players.
You're all dog shit.
Go go to one of your other professional sports teams.
Oh, wait, you don't have any because your fan base is a joke.
I knew that was coming.
Go away.
Also, Yankees fans suck.
They're the worst.
Yeah.
They're the worst.
I'm going to go on a different direction.
and I'm going to say Marlins fans are the worst.
They don't deserve that.
What Marlins fans?
That's the point.
The Marlins have two World Series championships in comparison to these fucking Padres that he's
talking about that have zero.
And they still don't come out and still don't support their team.
I get it.
It's Miami.
There's cool shit to do.
I was going to say it's like a million things to do there.
I get it.
Then move the goddamn team because they don't deserve to have a team if they're not going to
come out and show love for the team.
Well,
you know, I will say this.
In their defense, City of Champions, they have, they've had like other successful teams since then.
So there's like, they do have two rings.
But like as far as Miami's concerned, they haven't, there's like the heat, even the, the, the Panthers have been more successful than they have been.
So called the fucking Arizona Diamondbacks, the Phoenix Diamondbacks tomorrow, they would still be the same team.
And that's the point I'm trying to make is they're still the same team.
About the Marlins is to be fair with those two rings, they sold off their entire team both times.
It's hard to get continuity with a phase when you get, you.
You win at all.
And then the ownership's like, well, we're not paying anybody.
But what's worse?
Overpaying guys like the goddamn Padres did to end up eight games back in the fucking
wild card or fucking get rid of these assholes and get guys that hit to 25% of the time
instead of 27% of the time and fucking succeed financially and on the field.
I don't get it.
But, yeah.
I like I'm saying, like the Marlins, they haven't been good in like 15 years.
They haven't really been worth shit.
They're good right now.
Barely.
Barely.
Their Sy Young pitcher, their defending Cy Young pitcher was dog shit for the first half of the year.
They had Derek Jeter show up, trade their best player in the last, like, 15 years to his former franchise.
Like, I wouldn't be that in on the team either.
They've changed their branding three times in the last decade.
We're both wrong.
We're both wrong.
Elise said it.
She said, let's be real.
It's Nuggets fans.
Oh, yeah.
Are we, oh, did I say baseball fans?
Did they just say fans?
No, he said fans, but I mean, she's right.
Like, let's, Bill Stealers fans really suck.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Fuck those guys.
Fuck those guys all the way.
What else we got?
We got one more question.
As we wrap things up, and it comes from the one and only Chris.
Chris asks, create the best outfield plus one for total players from any DBAX roster all time.
Four Alec Thomases.
Yeah.
Yeah, no.
I'm assuming we're not getting much done at the plate.
Yeah, I'm assuming we're talking both offensively and defensively.
I mean, are we building a team?
or we want like
this is like a historical all-star team
well because like how do you
I mean then Corbyn's got to be on it right
yes yeah in my opinion
Corbin's right field in my opinion
Gonzo's left field
Justin Upton Center
Steve Finley's center
maybe Justin Upton as the alternate
Are we getting guys at their peaks?
Yeah I think you go Adam Jones
Upton was a top five MVP
Oh Adam Jones shit
If we're getting peak Adam Jones
If we're getting peak Dbacks Adam Jones
You gotta go with Dbacks
Yeah I don't know
time here it would
Timula Castro.
Yeah, yeah.
We need to be on the base path.
I think yours is the right answer.
Yeah, that sounds.
Yeah, I mean, because that's the big, I mean, like, Alec Thomas, I want to be there.
I think Alec Thomas, when I look at a lot of the outfielders historically for this team,
is probably the one of the best defensive outfielders there.
But Steve Finley was fucking incredible as an outfielder.
Stephen Finley, Justin Upton, when he, like, gave an effort was awesome.
Parolta was really good as well.
Yeah.
It would be, I think the last spot should be between Peralta and Finley.
If we were doing the show.
Upton, Luis Gonzalez, and Corvin should be automatic.
David Peralta is hard because I've never thought of him very much, like as much as what he was to this team.
And I think that's what hurts of him being a Dodger so much is like we call Gabby Moreno, Mr. Diamondback.
Yeah, but that was just like to say, if we were doing the show four years ago, David Peralta is Mr. Diamondback.
A thousand percent.
So, I mean, that's a, that's a hard one.
And I mean, honestly, Gabriel Ferrer said it too.
All-Star season, A.J. Pollock was an incredible player for this team as well.
Just, all these guys went to play for the Dodgers and broke my heart afterwards.
So, oh, I mean, what do you do?
J.D. Martinez, technically an outfielder.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And we're talking about that fourth outfielder spot.
But again, you're talking about outfielders, like in the concept, or that's what we were saying earlier.
You're like both defensively and at the plate.
So I'm trying to think of like,
but I mean,
the best player we had that way.
Are you,
are you upset if you got to stick J.D. Martinez in the field?
No, no, not at all.
Right field.
He'll be fine in right field.
Yeah, I don't,
I don't really know who you kick out in that situation,
but you guys want to hear something absolutely nuts.
That's always.
Offensive war leaders,
career leaders for the debacks.
Corbyn Carroll is 19th.
Hmm.
What?
Wow.
In his rookie season.
Is that sad or exciting?
Is it both?
The answer is yes.
The answer is yes.
Well, we appreciate you guys being here for Mailbag Monday.
Of course, as always, make sure to check out our friends at Circle K.
You know where Circle K is.
They're located all around the valley.
You can get them everywhere.
It is America's third stop.
And of course, they have a brand new free membership program called The Inner Circle.
And this is not a pro wrestling promo I'm doing.
This has nothing to do with Chris Jericho.
I am not going to sing.
Judas, but you can be part of the Inner Circle.
Join the Inner Circle for free by downloading the Circle K app today.
Terms and conditions apply at participating locations.
Visit CircleK.com for details.
And here's the thing, is the Inner Circle is going to get you 25 cents off per gallon for your first five Phillips.
Right now, gas is outrageously expensive everywhere.
Not only does Circle K have great prices on gas, but they're going to get you that extra 25 cents off per gallon for your first five Phillips.
That alone is worth joining the Inner Circle as well.
But you also get six free on a circle, every sixth free on a selection of Circle K product.
We've told you, don't sleep on those Circle K branded snacks.
They're awesome.
And right now, pizza, coffee, ice cold fountain drinks, every sixth one is free for you over at Circle K.
So join the Inner Circle today.
And you also have Sammy Guevara has your back.
That's a really, that's a wrestling reference.
I'm sorry on that one.
But speaking of other things that are enjoyable.
that might not be considered real sports,
check out the official golf apparel partner of PHNX in All-City.
Look, I'm not attacking golf.
It's a leisure sport.
All right, we all know it's a leisure sport.
And one place to get your leisure wear for a leisure sport like that is pins and aces.
Now, it's not just for golf.
It's for everybody.
You can wear these shirts, these incredible polo shirts all the time.
They make amazing polos, hats, golf bags,
and even our favorite thing ever, the beer sleeve,
which, again, not just for golf.
It just goes with me anywhere I need to go.
It allows you to store seven beards in there.
That's the perfect amount for Derek.
It is a family-owned golf and apparel business,
and of course we love our Pins and Aces gear.
Also make sure to check out if you're a fan of golf
and got very offended by the thing I just said a little while ago.
Our friends at Big Drive Energy, wherever you get your podcast.
Spencer and the boys got you taken care of when it comes to golf
and make sure to check out Pins and Aces.com
and use code PHNX to receive 15% off your first order,
and you will get free shipping.
That's pins and aces.com.
I need to ask a question.
Jose said that gas was almost $4 today, $393.
Buddy, where the fuck do you live?
Because I need to come get your gas.
My shit's like $4.40.
I paid $4.47 yesterday.
Yeah.
So we need to talk about this.
I'm coming to get gas wherever you're at.
Yeah.
For real.
Because even Circle K's got the cheapest gas on the block is expensive right now.
That's how gas works.
They can't control that.
That's still cheap though.
Yeah.
It's still cheaper than wherever you're getting your gas.
Also, don't miss out.
again on our countdown to kick off sale right now all t-shirts all hats $24 it's all the t-shirts buy all the
every single one you know that that we need to come up with a name for the for the snake raff around the
do we have names for the other ones well he's rattler the other one's rattleer the the logo like our
pod logo or the one around the bats the other the one around the bats the multiple bats is rattleer
yeah we need to yeah our podcast logo doesn't have a name either we need to get him yeah because coyote's
name there's cody i know i love him he's a good boy he's right to
there behind me. Again, another one of the shirts you can get on sale right now.
But we appreciate you guys stopping by. I can follow us on Twitter in the meantime. Not this one.
This one's USA. We don't sell this on our website. But we can, I got a closet full of RPHNX shirt.
So make sure to follow us on Twitter. I'm at cap underscore caveman with a cave.
When Marcus said he was trying to give us a super chat.
Oh, well. I don't know what it was supposed to be, but we appreciate the thought. It's the thought that counts.
Yeah, we love you, Marcus, anyway, regardless of you sent money in the super chat or not.
We love you more than you do some money.
Yeah.
What?
What?
What?
Uh, tweet to him and send him money at Sean underscore DePause.
Well, I mean, if you want to.
Yeah, whatever.
He's got a wish list on Amazon.
Don't send me money.
No, don't do it.
My Venmo's not Sean Dash DePaz.
I think it might just be at Sean DePaz.
Don't.
You're not giving out your cash at buddy.
Don't do that.
Don't cash at me at Sean DePaz.
Don't do that.
Our producer, of course, is the maniac behind the Mac.
It's Damon.
We are Damon's dogs.
Ro-R-R-R-R-R.
And he is at Damon Dogg.
At Sean DePaz.
My memo is definitely not at Sean DePaz.
You were just double checking.
No, I mean, I just, I just,
I mean, I just, I didn't want anybody to,
to, if they were, since it became like a thing.
You're a monster.
But imagine, I would have been a bigger monster
if someone Venmoed at Sean Dash to Paz
and they sent them money.
Because then not only a piece of shit,
but I don't even get the benefit of it.
Oh, yeah.
I just got to make sure they're not sending some stranger money.
Don't send me money either.
To be clear, do not send me money.
Do not send me money.
Definitely don't.
I don't, no, I want this to be very clear because I don't want this to be like a thing now.
We're like, oh, Sean was asked.
Do not send me money.
I do not send me money.
I will send it back.
I promise you.
Do not send me money.
I'm a cap underscore cave man with a cave.
What's your venue?
That's the same one.
And I won't be sending it back.
Okay.
He's the piece of shit.
Not me.
I really am.
I'm a stumbag, but I'm your step back.
If I send it back to you and then you send it back, I'm not sending it back the second time.
I'm not that good.
He's right.
I will not be singing Judas by the.
the way, Scott, I saw you asking that in there, but yeah, maybe Venmo me and then I'll send
you a cameo.
That's how Nashville works.
Yeah.
The whole singing Nashville, you Venmo the baby about 20 bucks.
They'll play you any song.
There you go.
Well, we'll do the same thing here if you want to talk about anything Diamondbacks related.
That's what Mailbag Monday is before.
Big enough super chat.
It's free.
It's free.
But again, our shows at PHNX underscore Devax on Twitter, all roads lead to at PHNX underscore
sports.
And that's on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.
We thank you guys so much for your money, for your time.
for your love.
And we appreciate you stopping by.
And, you know, like I said, baseball is fun.
Diamondbacks are fun.
Baseball is fun.
But remember, kids, it's so much more fun.
When you play meaningful games in September.
Let's go.
