PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - The MLB postseason continues to provide plenty of excitement in the Division Series round
Episode Date: October 12, 2022Underdogs prevailing and comeback walk-off wins filled the first day of the Division Series round for the MLB Postseason with drama and fun. Meanwhile, the D-backs are trying to join the fun by possib...ly moving on from Madison Bumgarner in 2023.BUY D-BACKS TICKETS HERE: https://gametime.hnyj8s.net/c/3442941/1410622/10874 SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsports DraftKings: Download the DraftKings Sportsbook app now (https://bit.ly/3Jl1dMX), use promo code PHNX and make your first deposit of FIVE DOLLARS and get TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS in FREE BETS INSTANTLY! For every leg you add you can boost your winnings up to ONE HUNDRED percent!If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, crisiscounseling and referral services can be accessed by calling 1-800-GAMBLER (1-800-426-2537) (IL/IN/MI/NJ/PA/WV/WY), 1-800-NEXT STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (CO/NH), 888-789-7777/visit http://ccpg.org/chat (CT), 1-800-BETS OFF (IA), 1-877-770-STOP (7867) (LA), 877-8-HOPENY/text HOPENY (467369) (NY), visitOPGR.org (OR), call/text TN REDLINE 1-800-889-9789 (TN), or 1-888-532-3500 (VA).21+ (18+ WY). Physically present in AZ/CO/CT/IL/IN/IA/LA/MI/NJ/NY/PA/TN/VA/WV/WY only. Min. $5 deposit required. Eligibility restrictions apply. See http://draftkings.com/sportsbook for details.OGeez!: Enter the “Flavoring Life” sweepstakes. One winner will receive 3 bags of OGeez, an OGeez! Hat, a PHNX shirt of your choice, and a PHNX annual membership. Sign up at gophnx.com or visit https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfIplqDYsxYeiotn5Zc6hRahaX0a5qG99eHVzkhOlGZDRdgUA/viewform. Must be 21 years or older to purchase.Four Peaks: Enter to win the “Toast of the Month” sweepstakes to win a $50 Four Peaks gift card, a PHNX shirt of your choice, and a PHNX annual membership. Go to goPHNX.Com or visit https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfOabxo8KQxOWwn9wTilMBuTMAJdrL0CaH9lzfuJqgKN9vfSg/viewform Must be 21 or older. Enjoy responsibly. Bad Birdie: use code “PHNXSPORTS” to take 15% off your next Bad Birdie order! https://glnk.io/7qnq/phnx-sportsMor Furniture: Sit in the same seats we do! Check out https://morfurniture.comUnderdog Fantasy: Sign up for Underdog Fantasy today! Go to the link https://play.underdogfantasy.com/p-phnx and use promo code “PHNX” to receive a deposit match up to $100Liquid Death: Get free shipping on all water and merch at https://LiquidDeath.com/PHNX FOCO: FOCO has you covered with the best Arizona Merchandise. Head on over to foco.com. For all non pre-sale items use the promo code “PHNX” for 10% offWhen you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hello and welcome back to another edition of the PHNX DBAX podcast.
And someone's got a birthday.
I wonder.
Of course, welcome on in.
My name is Derek Montia, occasionally known as the mayor of PHNX.
This guy next to me is the birthday boy, occasionally known as my vice mayor, the one and only
Thunderstick, Jesse, birthday boy, Friedman.
Derek, I feel like since it's my mom.
birthday, I should have the cooler party hat.
But apparently this party hat that I found in like some obscure cabinet that I haven't looked
in in years, I don't know if it matches up with what you got going on over there.
So I came legit for your birthday.
Here you go, buddy.
This is for you.
I'm making a mess of my, making a mess of my office.
But of course, this show is brought you by the fine folks at the Draft King Sportsbook app.
America's top rated sports book app.
we thank you guys for joining us and of course everybody wish jesse a very wonderful happy birthday
of course the MLB gave you quite the present right they had a pretty fun day for the first day
of postseason n lDS and a lDS play it was uh quite quite few exciting games with uh our
guys the mariners probably being on the on the receiving end of the worst part of the day
Yeah, I had a tweet queued up from our PHNX D-Bax account, you know, about the Mariners being undefeated in the postseason and all this stuff.
And then Robbie Ray came into pitch.
And things didn't go.
Things didn't go so great for Robbie Ray last night.
Yeah, this is one of the one of the more painful spying on our exes moments that we could possibly have on the show.
Robbie Ray did not make Diamondbacks fans proud in that game yesterday.
granted, Yordon Alvarez is a very, very good hitter.
But that was a rough, a rough moment.
He's a beast.
Yorda Alvarez's walk-off home run is the first postseason,
first and post-season history with a team trailing by multiple runs ever, ever.
The fourth time ever done, the other three times that it was done,
the team was trailing by one run.
This is the first time we've ever had a walk-off of this magnitude.
in the postseason. So it was a historic moment. And honestly, the Mariners looked like they were
cruising through most of that game. So it was definitely a meltdown by the bullpen that the
Arizona Diamondbacks fans can very much relate to, right? Justin Verlander was not very good for
the Astros yesterday. And unfortunately, neither was the bullpen for the Mariners.
No, it really wasn't. And I have a good friend who's a extreme
Mariners fan, a diehard
Mariners fan, and I was sort of picking
his brain about what he might
have wanted to see Scott Service do in the
ninth inning.
He basically said, like, not that,
but didn't necessarily have
a clear-cut, clear-cut
alternative.
The Mariners'
bullpen is sort of taken
some twists and turns throughout
the year. Paul Seawald has
really good numbers. That guy
that was pitching in the ninth inning before
Robbie Wright entered the game, had a really
good season. I think like a 2-670 RA, something like that, a bunch of strikeouts, very few walks,
opponent batting average of like a buck 50. But Paul Seawald has given up a lot of home runs.
He's given up 10 home runs this year in about 60 innings, which is a pretty high rate.
But granted, you know, also has given up a lot of home runs this year is Robbie Ray, which is
sort of always been a thing for him. Even in the best years that Robbie Ray has had, he is a little
bit home run prone. And we often see that, you know, for power.
arms, you know, guys who throw a lot of fastballs aren't afraid to throw their fastball up in the
zone, which is a big pitch for Robbie. Sometimes it's going to get hit. And this wasn't a fastball
up in the zone. It was down in the zone, but it seemed like Yordaun Alvarez, that was the exact
pitch that he was looking for. And he surely did not miss it. That was an absolute missile,
an absolute no doubt home run for sure. It was two fastballs and both of them were relatively
down the middle of the plate. I think that the idea here is that Robbie Ray, who has been struggling as of late, you know, coming in out of the bullpen might not be the best idea considering he doesn't do that, right? It seemed definitely like a risky move. I understand statistically, the matchup. I understand why they were trying to rely on Ray in that moment. But I just, I don't really blame Robbie Ray too much. Like, not everybody is Randy Johnson coming into the, you know,
World Series, right?
Like you just can't expect everybody that's a starting pitcher to be able to do that.
Yeah, it's a tough thing.
It's absolutely a tough thing.
And Robbie Ray hasn't pitched that well in general for the Mariners of late.
He was not good in that game in Toronto.
The Mariners went on to win that game.
But they were trailing 8 to 1 at one point in that game in Toronto for a reason.
Robbie Ray did not have a good outing for the Mariners in that game against
Toronto. And if you even look at his last start of the regular season, Robbie Ray was not good
in that outing either. So I think there are some justified questions about, you know, is this really
a guy that you should be putting in arguably the biggest spot in a game like that against the best
hitter that the Astros have? I don't know. And also there's the fact that Yordaun Avarez doesn't have
extreme left-right splits anyway. So there's a case to be made that maybe Paul Seewald is going to be
just as effective as Robbie Ray would be in that spot.
So somebody,
another stat that stuck out to me,
Derek,
apparently that home run from Yordon Alvarez added 91%
to the win probability in that game for Houston.
They presumably went from having a 9% chance to win the game with two on,
two out to having,
of course, a 100% chance of winning the game after that hit.
And I believe that was the highest win probability added of any,
single at bat in
major league history in the postseason.
So just a remarkable feat
all the way around from
Jordan Alvarez.
Well, yeah, especially considering
it was the first time in history that a walk-off
of multiple runs has ended
a game like that.
Yeah, it makes sense.
But also, Jesse,
we had a discussion yesterday about
home field advantage and I was just wondering
if your opinion may have
changed after watching that game.
I mean, the Phillies, the Phillies held on, right?
The Phillies held on in Atlanta.
That one got close, though.
That was an exciting game as well.
That one did get close.
But all the other home teams, you are correct.
All the other home teams did win yesterday.
So I guess that sort of works against my theory a little bit.
Well, and the Yankees kind of won a back and forth game, I guess you could say,
against the Guardians.
That one seemed pretty close at times.
obviously this Astros walkoff was a huge comeback for Houston.
So, you know, there's something to be said about, you know, home field advantage.
But the Phillies, you know, we discussed yesterday the potential of just kind of being on that role and coming in versus having a layoff.
So I don't know.
This is a this, this is just a fun October already.
I'm really excited about the way that these series have gone.
And I know we became a Mariners stand.
account, right? And it's not over. It's not over. Let's take a look at what we got here going on.
Of course, the Dodgers won against the Padres. That's the one series we didn't address. But,
yeah, I think that there's still some excitement to be had here. I don't know if these first,
you know, game one victories mean a death sentence for the team that's down. But, you know,
there are some cases here that I think, especially the Phillies, winning that first game over the Braves
is going to make things very interesting there.
Yeah, that's definitely, I think, the most compelling series,
just given how well the Phillies have played so far in the postseason,
they really look like a force to be reckoned with.
And there's also the fact, as we've discussed in the past,
that the Atlanta Braves won the World Series last year.
And it is very, very rare to see teams go back to back in the World Series.
So the Braves are going to have a rough go.
It's obviously hard winning a World Series in general,
much less doing it or even more so doing it in back-to-back years.
But yeah, looking at those other three series, Derek, I'll be honest.
The higher seed seems pretty highly favored in my mind in each of those series.
The San Diego Padres in particular, they were four and 15 against the Dodgers in the regular season.
And oh and one, of course, to start the playoffs.
And I think I saw yesterday that the Padres have lost 24 of their last 29 games
against the Los Angeles Dodgers overall.
It sort of feels like no matter how many trades the Padres make,
no matter how much money they spend in free agency
or what kind of ridiculous extensions they hand out,
the Dodgers have just been head and shoulders,
the better team over the last few years,
and it's sort of hard to see that changing anytime soon.
And what does that say for the Diamondbacks?
You know, like how...
I don't know.
It literally is like one of those things where, you know,
the Diamondbacks, Rockies, or some of these, some of the rest of us in the NL West,
are, we're going to have to catch a down year, you know, for the Dodgers, where they just so
happened to not be perfection as a baseball team.
Because, holy shit, man, the Dodgers, they seem to just be able to rest a lot of guys
last month without giving anybody too much time off.
And, you know, they just seem to be on the exact role.
And unfortunately, it looks like we could be headed, you know, down,
down the road to a Dodgers Yankees
World Series, which even though those are
probably the two most popular
teams in baseball, it
still seems very unappealing, I think,
to the rest of us that aren't
either a Yankees fan.
I will say
I have to acknowledge
there would be something about
having the Dodgers in the Yankees in the
World Series. Just, I mean,
they are the two most popular
teams in the sport, probably.
You've got
New York City in Los Angeles, right?
Like two of the biggest cities in the country represented in the World Series.
There's sort of something to be said for that for baseball as a whole.
There would be a lot of eyes on the World Series if something like that happened.
I don't personally think that's going to happen, though.
I have some questions about the Yankees in particular.
I'm not sure if they're necessarily going to hold up long term in the postseason.
And on the Dodgers side, I think tonight's matchup is actually very interesting in that game.
You've got you Darvish for San Diego, who's been very, very good for them,
former Dodger, of course.
And then on the other side, you've got Clayton Kershaw,
who has a very long, well-documented history of not pitching particularly well in the postseason.
So the Padres have an opportunity to really build some momentum in this series
and at least give themselves a hope of having a shot in this series if they're able to win tonight.
If not Derek down 2-0, it would be a major uppercise.
hill battle for them at that point. Yeah, I agree with you on that. But here's the thing is I,
I'd like to speak it into existence, as Michael said. I would like to just maybe curse it into
existence. Maybe I want to go get money on it just to make sure that it doesn't happen. Because
if I put my money on it, it's not going to happen. But we're not letting Robbie Ray off the hook,
Jesse, because Robbie Ray is getting ROG's performance to forget this week. That's what's happening.
Yeah.
It's not only a performance to forget in the playoffs,
but it's an all-time performance to forget.
I don't even blame Robbie Ray, right?
I don't.
I just don't think it was a good idea.
That's my opinion.
I don't think it was a good managerial move.
But I'm also not very familiar with the bullpen for the Mariners,
and I don't know exactly how good or bad it was.
Yeah, the Mariners bullpen early in the season was.
was actually quite good.
And it sounds like it sort of tailed off a little bit toward the end of the year.
And so I think that was sort of the biggest question mark for them going into the playoffs
is how well the bullpen would be able to hold up.
And you can see, I mean, if Scott's service is putting in Robbie Ray in a spot like that,
it probably goes to show maybe he's not super confident with what he has going on at the back end of that bullpen.
Are we having some Wi-Fi issues?
Sorry, my internet's scrapping out on me, Jesse.
I apologize.
This is really something.
We love the remote shows where me and Derek are at home and at the mercy of the internet that we have in our respective homes.
So I'm going to go ahead.
Are you back with us, Derek?
Can you hear us?
I think I'm back with it.
I think I can hear you guys now.
I apologize for that.
Well, I don't apologize.
I didn't see the internet.
you guys you guys just being me in this particular situation i suppose but yes the internet is not
your fault i guess we can't no we can't blame you too much for that right i i i have no control
over it but uh no no do you guys don't want me to reboot the router i'll never come back i'll be
gone forever um but uh i do i do want to give a shout out to our friends uh at o g's uh if if of course
if you want to celebrate your birthday properly.
I know Jesse's not going to do this,
and that's to each their own, right?
But you can celebrate your birthday with your friends at OGs.
They have a wonderful variety of flavors and doses of their edibles.
They are Arizona's top selling edible.
Of course, they've launched their sleep edition gummy that we've been talking about quite a bit.
It's now flavoring your dreams with a two to one THC to CBN ratio.
CBN being a compound that specifically helps me fall asleep and stay asleep.
And that's my endorsement there is because the sleep edition gummy got me back on track with their aqua berry flavor. It's delicious.
We highly recommend you check out our friends at OGs online at OGsbrands.com or on Instagram at OGs brands.
You can also find their products at your local dispensary must be 21 years or older to purchase and enjoy responsibly.
And also, speaking of enjoying responsibly, enjoy the Four Peaks haunted brewery tours responsibly, not like Saul who ran through it screaming.
this spooky season,
go to Four Peaks Brewery Tours
Monday through Wednesday.
You can get up one tour,
two tours per night.
That's 7 p.m. and 8.30 p.m.
And of course,
we've got some pretty cool stuff
in the works with our friends at Four Peeks,
but enjoy spooky season
with a beer in your hand
over at the 8th Street pub.
Must be 21 years or older to enjoy
and enjoy responsibly.
Jesse,
her Bob Nightingale.
The Arizona Diamondbacks
are reportedly looking to move on from Madison Bumgarner next season,
to the surprise of nobody.
Yeah, that's fair.
Real quick, I do have to acknowledge Charles Woodall Pikes comment that,
yes, I will be celebrating my birthday by getting extra protein at salad and go.
And I will be eating it in my sick Toyota Ravre 4.
It goes full circle.
No, Jesse.
And I've invited Tori Lavello to join me, but I haven't gotten her response yet.
But yes, to what you were saying about Madison Bumgarner.
Bob Nightingale did release an article today that had a little bit of information about Mad Bum in it.
It wasn't anything too earth-shattering.
He basically just said that the Diamondbacks are hoping he performs better so that they can trade him,
which is sort of an interesting perspective to have, right?
And you kind of expect that the debacks, obviously they want him to.
to perform better, but you'd think maybe they'd be interested in having him stick around,
particularly given the fact that he's going to be making so much money that it's going to be
hard to move him no matter how well he performs.
I mean, he would really have to turn things around in order to, you know, in order to become
a valuable trade asset.
Nice.
Michael also owns a Ravre four.
No, no.
I knew Michael was one of my favorite people in the chat.
So that only accentuates that point.
But anyway, yes, interesting what Bob had to say. Not necessarily surprising. The debacks
would certainly like to get out from under the cloud of that contract if they could possibly find a way.
I still don't think there's really any chance that they don't have to eat at least part of that deal in making a move, though.
So we'll see how it turns out.
That's also what Bob said. Bob also said in quite the scathing comment that barring,
a dramatic turnaround, it will go down as the D-BAC's worst free agent signing in franchise history,
paying him $85 million over five years.
That's a hot take.
That is a hot take.
Thank you.
You want to throw Russell Ortiz up there again?
Don't make me bring up Russell Ortiz again, right?
The man had 65 walks and 46 strikeouts.
Those numbers are forever ingrained in my head.
Russ Ortiz's first year in Arizona.
It was really, it was, it was really quite something.
But yeah, I, I don't, I don't know.
It's, it's pretty close between Madbub and Yasmani Tomas.
Tomas did hit 31 home runs one year.
I still don't think he was that good that season necessarily.
Like from a, from a wins above replacement standpoint,
I'm not sure if he was even a one war player that year,
just because he was such a, you know, a liability on defense.
And he didn't really get on base very much.
So he didn't really give you a whole lot else.
but on the flip side, Yasmani Tomas was sent down to the miners for multiple seasons.
The debacks just sort of decided they would rather have him there than have him in the big leagues,
regardless of how much money he was making.
So it's pretty close.
Jacob's causing all sorts of trouble in the chat right now.
I see that.
I see that.
And he's right.
Madbom threw a no-hitter, but he's not right about how he spelled it.
In other interesting D-BACs news from Bob,
Giants third baseman Evan Longoria wants to return for one final season,
but it sounds like the Giants have no plan to pick up his $13 million option
and will instead pay a $5 million buyout.
The only teams Longoria would consider playing for are the Giants,
who obviously don't want them,
the Tampa Bay Rays, and the Arizona Diamondbacks.
It's interesting.
It's a very odd list, to be honest.
It's a little bit all over the place.
I agree with that 100%.
But Mike Hazen had some comments about the payroll and how they would add to the roster next season.
And I don't know.
Do we have that video, Jacob?
I don't think we do.
Okay.
That looked like a no.
That looked like a no.
But you were there for those comments.
So what were your thoughts on what Mike Hazen had to say?
Yeah.
Also, I'll give a.
quick forewarning here that I'm getting the poor internet signal right now. So you just sort of
start talking over me if at some point I get out. But yeah, Mike Hazen basically said he was asked
about, you know, do you guys have the ability to do what you need to do this off season with
the current payroll? Or is this a point where you go to Ken and you say here, we're getting
close, you know, what can you do to kind of get us a little bit further and get us where we want
to go this next season. Mike gave a pretty typical response sort of something like what you'd expect.
He said the diamondbacks haven't had any payroll conversations yet. And he also said he wasn't really
concerned about it. He said that no matter what that number is, whatever number the diamondbacks
have in the budget to spend on the payroll for next year, he said, you know, we can do a good job no matter
what that number is. So he said he wasn't fixated on it and didn't seem overly concerned.
Of course, that's sort of how you have to respond as a GM, right? Like you,
You can't go on record and say that, you know, you're put off by the little,
what little budget you have to work with, right?
So I don't know if that necessarily tells us a whole lot.
But yeah, I don't know if Evan Longoria would be a guy that Debacks would be looking to
spend that money on anyway.
As far as I can tell, he doesn't have any ties to the valley.
He's not from Arizona or anything.
So maybe it's the spring training convenience.
I'm not really sure what's going on there.
Arizona is a pretty desirable place to live, I suppose.
Madison Bumgarner certainly thought so.
I'm not sure if anyone else wants to play six months of summer baseball in the valley,
but Longoria wasn't bad this year for the Giants, right?
He hit 244, but he had a 767 OPS.
He had a 114 OPS plus.
So he had some decent numbers for the Giants this year.
So I don't know if there's a fit here, but it's sort of interesting.
the debacks don't have a whole lot of depth at third base,
so maybe this is something they look at.
Michael says he lives here,
and Freeland says he's too old.
So, yeah, no, I mean,
whatever.
I don't know if I disagree with,
I don't know if I disagree with the too old comment,
but I will say this.
Make sure to check out Jesse's writings over at go phtnx.com.
He will be covering everything that the Arizona Diamondbacks have going on
as far as free agency goes,
and all the moves that they're going to make,
going forward.
And I will tell you you can get an annual membership right now.
With the annual membership, you'll get yourself a free t-shirt like this Seth
Cervasa shirt that has no affiliation to any particular player at all that's in existence,
or any shirt over at the PHNX locker that you choose or you can get a month-to-month membership.
You'll get your first month for just 50 cents.
And regardless of your membership stash, you will get members-only access to our Discord,
members-only discounts over at the PHNX Locker, and members-only invites to some of our
events that we'll be having going forward. So make sure to sign up for a membership. If you're here
right now watching a struggle with our internet on the PHNX YouTube channel, please make sure to
subscribe. Also, leave a thumbs up and also sign up for notifications. That way you don't miss one
of our shows or any of the other shows go live. Also, if you're listening right now in your
favorite audio podcasting app, make sure to subscribe to us there and leave us a five-star review if you
haven't done so already. A big shout out to our friends at Moore Furniture who are, they still have
like a picture of me at all the more furniture locations,
saying that I cannot buy any more office chairs.
So I have to treat this one that I have now much nicer than I used to,
but make sure to get down on More Furniture's fall sale over at morefurniture.com.
They'll hook you up, spruce up your house, get yourself, you know, ready for not only all
the sporting events that are coming this, this winter, this fall, but, you know,
the Super Bowl's right around the corner.
So you need to have the digs ready for that.
Jesse hates when I talk about football at all.
And so I'm going to tie as much as I can back to football on his birthday, just as a special present for him.
But, Jesse, there has been talk.
I like this tweet that came out that kind of pointed out how some of the best pitchers in the game aren't necessarily treated equally.
Alana Rizzo tweeted, I realized that I'm closer to the Dodgers based on the time I spent covering them.
I do find it interesting, however, that Scher and Verlander don't seem to experience the same perceived negative.
narrative about lack of postseason success as Clayton Kershaw discuss and yeah i don't know i think
first of all justin verlander has experienced success so i don't know if it's fair to necessarily say
he hasn't he just has a lengthy career and based on the length of his career he you know has the
opportunity for for things not to go well for him at times but he still has quite the resume when it
comes to the postseason max sure's or however i kind of can see where she's coming from with
this. It was only the second time that a pitcher has given up four homers and seven runs in the same
postseason game. And he's only done that one time during his regular season career. So it was one
of his worst starts ever, basically, and it was in a postseason game. So I don't know. I think I
kind of agree with what they're saying. But Michael McDermott pointed out that they both do have much
better postseason resumes than Kershaw.
Really, that's what it comes down to.
Kershaw has had lots of opportunities,
and he's also had lots of failures, you could say.
I will acknowledge that, like, I don't think,
I don't think any of these three pitchers have been at their best during the postseason
necessarily.
Like, none of these guys, if you look at their postseason numbers,
you look at their regular season numbers,
all of them have been somewhat considerably worse in the playoffs,
although there's definitely a difference here.
Like Michael said, I still think Clayton Kershaw,
his numbers in the postseason,
are clearly worse than where Verlander and Scher's numbers are at.
Also, we just saw Max Scher, you know,
at the helm of a World Series winning team
just a couple of years ago.
So you also have to remember that Max Scher has had some success in the postseason.
Clayton Kershaw, this is a long storyline, right?
This has gone on for many, many years.
Clayton Kirshaws pitched in a lot of postseason games because he's a Los Angeles Dodger.
And the Dodgers have made the playoffs pretty much every season that Clayton Kershaw has been in the big leagues.
But yeah, Kershaw is the only guy of the three who has an ERA over four in the playoffs.
He has a 4.19 ERA.
It's actually kind of interesting.
Like at this point, Kershaw has basically pitched the equivalent of a full regular season of playoff baseball.
He's thrown 100 and he's 13 and 12 with a 4.
1-19 ERA and 189 innings.
And his peripheral numbers are honestly very good.
He has 207 strikeouts against 50 walks.
28 homers, maybe a little bit high for him.
But honestly, Clayton Kershaw has been pretty decent in the playoffs too overall.
And you also have to factor in that like in the playoffs,
you're pitching against better hitting in general than you are in the regular season.
So you're naturally going to expect guys' numbers in the playoffs to be a little bit worse.
So, yeah, all that to say, Kershaw's numbers are worse than the other two guys.
And none of them, frankly, have been at their very best in the postseason, I wouldn't say.
I am the Larry points out, Dave Robertson, the way he's handled Kershaw in the postseason.
He said before Kershaw keeps getting used out of the bullpen for some reason, and he doesn't pitch well when doing that.
Obviously, because he never does that unless it's the postseason, right?
It's like what we were talking about earlier with Robbie Ray.
You know, you can't utilize these guys all of a sudden.
I know mentally they might think that they can do it.
I know mentally they might think that it's no big deal for them to get ready and go out there and pitch on the mound the same way that they, you know, that they normally do.
But it is a completely different situation.
Don't even get me started on Malanson and non-save situations this season.
But that's just because I don't feel like being upset anymore.
Are we still talking about that?
I don't know.
I don't know why.
We shouldn't.
But of course, it's going to be interesting to see if he can kind of change, you know,
the perception about him in the postseason if the Dodgers do make a run to the World Series and possibly win it.
And I don't know why I had to put that out there.
That felt gross.
So I'm just going to keep it moving.
But, of course, we ask you guys to definitely check out our friends over at Underdog.
You can search in the app store or click the link in the show notes to find their app.
a variety of different games to play.
Our favorite being the pickums,
where you can pick higher or lower,
based on any given stats.
You can play during the postseason for baseball,
the football coming up,
all sorts of stuff, all sorts of stuff.
Of course, go down there, check out Underdog.
Use our promo code of PHNX,
and you will get up to $100 in your first deposit
and matched up to $100.
I'm glitching, but this isn't my internet connection.
This is just my brain.
use our promo code of PHNX and we will double your first deposit up to $100.
So make sure to do that on underdog fantasy today.
Get down on it today.
Bet on tonight's games and get yourself win some money like I did.
Don't even make me start bragging about that again.
Game time.
Place to buy your tickets.
That's where you need to go to get your tickets.
You almost need to purposefully procrastinate.
But like I said, you have no idea what's going on.
Do you know how many tickets for things I've bought in the month of February?
and I just now started realizing how much stuff lapped over.
I'm glad to be honest that rage against the machine canceled their concert.
Give me my money back.
I've had too much stuff going on that month anyway,
and that's what happens when I buy tickets early.
Everything gets mixed up, Jesse.
I don't know what I'm doing anymore.
But if you wait until the last minute, you know, for sure you can go.
And you can save up to 60% on tickets when you buy tickets last minute.
It's a great day to be procrastinators.
You win with procrastinating.
But the best way to support us is by buying your tickets through the link in the description below.
I wanted to give a quick shout out, of course, to Jesse Friedman and his terrible internet.
I want to wish him a happy birthday.
Hey, you started this, Derek.
I did start it.
I got another one of these for you.
Let me see if I can get at the camera.
Ah, all right.
That one goes to a little.
Anyway, Jesse and I have been friends for quite a while.
I showed the emails, obviously, that he sent me or the DMs that he sent me.
But going back a little further, we dug up a little gem to show you guys of Jesse and his journalistic past.
Jacob, would you roll out beautiful footage.
Oh, no.
We've got a fan in the cage.
We're excited about that.
All right.
What's your name?
Where are you from?
What's your question for Patrick?
I am Jesse Friedman.
I'm from Chandler, Arizona.
And my question is, which other MLB pictures do you love to?
Do I what?
look up to.
Yeah, guys I've faced out this year with Kershaw and
and also with Wade Miley on this team, I mean guys also left-handers,
get to see how they pitch and these guys who have had some success over the last couple of years.
And I just think any time you go out and see these guys compete,
that's kind of the pitcher that you'd like to be.
Why?
Why? Your internet connection was terrible back then.
Yeah, yeah, apparently. My one shining moment. Yeah, I swear, I said the question very clearly, and it was absolutely just some sort of a glitch. I blame MLV.com or I don't know whose fault exactly that was. But yes, that was when I was maybe like 14 years old.
Michael says hasn't aged a bit, which I find a little bit off-putting.
But, you know, there you go.
That's, that's me back when I was in my, my teen years, doing, doing what I loved and having a very high-pitched, awkward sounding squeaky voice while I did it.
So you're all, you're all welcome for that.
Who would have thought it would have led to this, huh?
Who would have thought it would have led to all this, being a vice mayor of a digital media company?
Look at you.
I'm so proud of you.
Happy, happy, what, 18th birthday?
How old are you now, Jesse?
Let everybody close them if they can actually judge you.
I am turning 24, 24 today.
So we've all been watching and listening for long enough.
I'll just reveal it on the air.
There you go.
What is this?
That is in my plans, Jacob.
It's all part of the plan.
So, you guys, you guys, we're still in phase one.
but, you know, within the next couple years, we'll start making some headway.
Yeah, I agree with Ben.
You're a prodigy, Jesse, and I am lucky to call you my co-host.
I appreciate you being everything that you are right now, and it's incredible.
I don't agree with you impeaching anybody, though.
So let's throw that whole thing out of there.
I've heard the rumors circulating.
I know people are coming for my job.
And all I have to say is bring it, bring it, each and every one of you.
I'm ready for you all.
So that's just a precursor to what's coming soon.
Of course, we thank all of our sponsors.
I thank Jesse for having a birthday because this was wonderful.
I have an office to clean up now, and I know Jacob is thrilled that this didn't happen at the studio today.
Shout out to Aaron at my tire company for letting me borrow his truck and drive home and do this show while my car gets fixed.
But I thank you guys all for being here and spending your lunch with us.
Of course, we appreciate you.
You can follow us on Twitter.
I am at cap underscore caveman with a k. Jesse is at Jesse and Friedman.
Our show, the Mariners, sad Mariners stand account, I should say now, is at PHNX underscore
D-Backs, but of course all roads lead to at PHNX underscore sports on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.
Thank you guys again for joining us on behalf of the birthday boy, Jesse Friedman, Faj and myself.
We thank you guys so much for your time and remember kids.
Baseball is fun, but it's so much more fun when.
And Jesse Friedman is covering it.
