PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - TPSP: Arizona Sports New Years Resolutions
Episode Date: December 30, 2023The Arizona Cardinals have a huge decision to make in the offseason in their quarterback room. The Phoenix Suns have a LOT of changes they need to make in order to reach the ultimate goal every fan in... the Valley has for Devin Booker and his squad. The Arizona Diamondbacks did the unthinkable last season by making it to the World Series, what should be the expectation for next season? There should be one and only one resolution for the Arizona Coyotes in 2024 and it is pretty obvious.Join Makayla Perkins for THE Phoenix Sports Podcast!0:00 Intro1:20 Arizona takes down Oklahoma7:15 Bradley Beal playing tonight for the Phoenix Suns11:00 They gotta figure it out14:45 Does Kevin Durant want to leave?25:30 The Arizona Coyotes need AN ARENA29:00 Could there be an ownership change?37:20 Hollywood Brown out for season39:55 Kyler Murray through 6 games55:00 The D-backs need to make the playoffs again1:01:00 Diamondbacks need a DHAn ALLCITY Network ProductionSUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsportsPHNX Events: Get your tickets to Suns Takeovers, Coyotes & Suns Watch Parties at BetMGM, and MORE here: https://www.eventbrite.com/o/phnx-560...Desert Financial Credit Union: Open a free checking account online with Desert Financial Credit Union and get $200 in bonuses https://www.desertfinancial.com/200Empire: Schedule a free in-home estimate with Empire Today! All listeners can receive a $350 OFF discount when they use the promo code PHNX. Restrictions apply. See https://empiretoday.com/phnx for details.Gila River Resorts & Casinos: Sign up for Gila River Resorts & Casinos $1,000,000 Big Red’s Showdown! Stay in the game and get rewards; it’s that easy! https://www.gilamilliondollarshowdown...Arizona’s Family Sports: Watch Suns games on Arizona’s Family Sports! Visit https://www.azfamily.com/ and click “SUNS GAMES” for listing information for your area.Fubo: WATCH YOUR FAVORITE TEAMS: https://www.fubotv.com/phnxOGeez!: OGeez! is not your average cannabis-infused gummy. Head on over to https://www.ogeezbrands.com to find out where you can purchase. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly.Gametime: Download the Gametime app, create an account, and use code PHNX for $20 off your first purchase.WYNK Seltzer + THC: Go to https://drinkwynk.com/ and use promo code “PHNX” for 50% off. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly.BetMGM: Download the BetMGM app and sign-up using bonus code PHNX! (betmgm.com/phnx).Swing for the Fences: https://promo.betmgm.com/en/promo/spo...3-Ball Challenge: https://promo.betmgm.com/en/promo/3ba...Place your first bet offer and receive up to $1000 back in Bonus Bets if it loses with BetMGM. Again, make sure you use bonus code PHNX!Gambling problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER CO, DC, IL, IN, KS, LA, MD, MS, NJ, OH, PA, TN, VA, WV, WY Call 877-8-HOPENY or text HOPENY (467369) (NY) Call 1-800-327-5050 (MA) 21+ to wager. Please Gamble Responsibly. Call 1-800-NEXT-STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (NV), 1-800-BETS-OFF (IA), 1-800-270-7117 for confidential help (MI), 1-800-981-0023 (PR). In partnership with Kansas Crossing Casino and Hotel.Visit BetMGM.com for Terms & Conditions. US promotional offers not available in DC, Kansas, Nevada, New York, or Ontario.When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Happy Friday.
Welcome into the Phoenix Sports podcast.
It's not just any Friday.
It is Flavoring Friday.
Brought to you by our friends at OG's Brands.
Shout out to OGs Brands, the official sponsor of Flavoring Fridays.
OGs is not your average cannabis-infused gummy.
They absolutely knock it out of the park when it comes to flavor.
And the effects of their gummies are a total slam dunk too.
Head on over to OGsBrands.com to see their full.
lineup including their two newest gummies what we'll talk about that later and find out where you
can purchase want to give a quick shout out because the the boss man's in the room i was going to do
this later but now i think i have to do this now because i'm just like being stared at by the
paul bullsall buckman um got to give a shout out to the here's own wildcats the alamo bowl
champs taken down the oklahoma sooner boomer sooner who what even is a sooner what the heck what the fuck is
a sooner.
Stupid mascot.
Anyways, the Wildcats are the Alamo Bowl champs.
I don't necessarily think it was an upset because the Wildcats were 14 and the
Sooners were 12.
But either way, you absolutely love to see it.
The Wildcats are reping for the Pack 12.
Pack 10.
Pack 2.
Big down now.
I have an answer.
A Sooner is a name given to settlers who entered the unassigned lands in what is now the state
of Oklahoma.
Great.
Sooner later.
Thank you for the information, even though we,
So basically they're colonizers, right?
The colonizers, the Oklahoma colonizers, going down, courtesy of the Arizona Wildcats.
We all know that there is an ongoing joke that I don't need to talk about here.
They're down for life.
I'm just kidding.
Super happy for the Wildcats, though.
Are you happy with yourself?
I do enjoy myself.
Do you sleep well at night?
Yeah, I do.
I lay my head down in night.
Knock out.
This is my first show.
as a 27-year-old.
I hate that.
Oh, my God.
I'm so old.
Oh, no.
Last week, big thank you to Anthony and Derek, by the way, for filling in for me while I was
gone celebrating my 27th birthday.
Had a wonderful birthday.
Also, want to give a shout out to the TPSP squad in the chat.
They got me a wonderful birthday gift, which I was going to bring with me.
And then I totally forgot this morning as I was racing out the door.
And then also to Connor for his birthday gift as well.
You guys are so sweet.
I don't know what I didn't deserve you.
I'm honored and super, super grateful.
I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas as well, by the way, or whatever you celebrate.
You had a wonderful holiday season, Hanukkah, Kwanza, Christmas.
Did you have a nice Christmas fage?
Yeah, I did.
We went up and visited my in-laws in Washington.
So Hadley's first Christmas was a success.
There you go.
Was it a white Christmas?
No, it was just rainy.
No, just rainy.
It was like 42 and rainy on Christmas or something like that.
Did Hadley get everything she wanted from Santa?
It's really hard to tell what she wants because she can't speak English.
but I got a lot of like da, da, da, da, da, da, da.
So I assume it went well.
Good.
I love that.
That's great.
I'm glad that went well for Hallie.
We are going to be talking about some New Year's resolutions on the pod because, boy, do I have some thoughts, a laundry list of things of New Year's resolutions for the teams here in the Valley.
But before we get into that, make sure you head on over to go phnx.com and sign up to be a diehard.
There are a ton of great membership benefits.
including access to our members-only Discord,
content that is just for the diehards,
discount on merch 20% at all times,
discount on events.
And speaking of events,
we have a takeover on the horizon.
Come hang out with us on January 16, 15th,
one of those somewhere in there.
I should know that.
Aren't you supposed to work with the events really closely?
It's a game against the Kings.
It's in January.
I think it's the 15.
Jacob's going to look it up.
Yes, just going to do it.
Do my research for me.
I should know this, but I don't.
But we are going to be taking over the footprint center altogether.
Tickets are available on our website on the events tab.
If you're a diehard, you get 20% off those tickets.
It's going to be a blast.
We're going to do a pre-game meetup.
We're going to go to the game.
We're going to hang out, do all the fun stuff.
So head on over and grab your tickets to our takeover before they sell out, which they are selling out quickly, by the way.
15th.
16.
Dang.
Oh, it was new one of those.
Okay.
January 16th is our takeover. Be there at B Square. If you haven't gone to a takeover yet,
I definitely recommend it. It's super fun. Also want to give a quick shout out to our friends at
Burrito Express, the best burritos in all of the land. They are a huge supporter of ASU Athletics,
which you always love to see. They have multiple locations throughout the valley. And boy,
are there burritos bangin. I'm a big, big fan of the breakfast Supreme. But anything you get
from Brito Express is guaranteed to be delicious as long as you also get at least four
salsas to also put on your burrito. I do a, I do like half of a salsa container per bite.
So I need a lot of salsa. And half per half per bite is way more than you let on in terms of how
many you take. Because you're saying like I use four, you're like, I use say five, right? Yeah.
Yeah. If you're using a half of container per bite, you're using at least seven. I need a good,
I need a good salsa to burrito ratio. And I figured.
out how to get that. No, it's delicious.
Half a container that you can't taste the burrito
anymore. But the good thing is, is the people
at Burrito Express, don't judge me for it. And
they won't judge you for it either. If you also a
salsa fanatic like me, grab a burrito
and follow Burrito Express on Twitter at
burrito EXP.
Jacob, are you a big resolutions guy?
I try to be.
You try to be. Okay. How does one
try to be? Like, you set your resolutions.
Well, I'm like, yeah, like, this year,
I should, like, I should make some
resolutions, but then I'm like, man.
Dang. I didn't think, I think you would, I thought you would have been like a really good stick to it resolution guy because I'm a stick to a resolution girl. I love New Year's resolutions. Last year, I completed every single one that I set out for myself. What were they? Um, they were a bunch actually. They were in different categories. I wanted to save a certain amount of money. I wanted to, you know, go to church every week. All these different kinds of categories and stuff knocked out of the park. Crushed it. I hit all of my New Year's resolutions.
Proud. Thank you.
I have some resolutions, not only for myself, but I have some resolutions for the teams in the valley.
So why don't we talk about it?
Because there's a lot of things happening with our beloved Arizona sports teams.
And we need to break it down.
So let's start with the Phoenix Suns because we have some breaking suns news.
Bradley Beale is ready to go.
We will be getting Bradley Beale's return tonight.
He will be taking the court to play with Kevin.
Durant and Devin Booker.
Only the third game, by the way.
This is only the third game.
We will see the big three playing together so far this season.
We are 30 games into the season.
And this is just the third time we will be watching the big three all together on the court.
I think it totals up to like 24 total minutes.
We're playing time of something like that of all of them together, which is honestly, like it's 30 games into the season and they've only played together like 24-ish minutes.
That's not great.
definitely not living up to the expectations that any of us had for them.
But it'll be nice to see them together on the court again because there's so much money invested in this point.
We might as well watch them play together, right?
I mean, so my resolution for the Phoenix Suns is to win a championship next this season, which I know.
Is that a resolution?
I know.
I know you're looking at me like I'm crazy because they are not doing well.
If we take a look at the standings, actually, they're not doing group file at all.
Like I said, they are 15 and 15 currently, and they are sitting at 10th in the Western Conference.
I never thought I would hate mediocrity so much.
The Sons are sitting at 500.
They are behind the Rockets, the Lakers, the Pels, the Mavs, the Kings, the Clippers.
It just hasn't been a good season for the Phoenix Suns.
And I know that you know that because we all have had to suffer through this together.
But listen, coming into this season, the expectations for this team were so high.
And sitting at 15 and 15 through 30 games in the season has not met or come close to any of the expectations that any of us had for this team.
They have taken all of their poker chips and pushed them all the way into the middle of the table.
Like they are all in.
I don't really necessarily know how you.
you could be more all in than the Phoenix Suns are right now.
They traded away two young Keystone players for this organization,
Mikhail Bridges and Cam Johnson, to get Kevin Durant here.
They traded away their number one overall pick,
Dianne,
to get another player on the court that was supposed to help them that has been injured all season.
They have gone so far in.
Like, there's no turning back.
Like, they have pushed their chips all in the table.
They are in money-wise.
They are in future and pick-wise.
is like they have leveraged the future of this organization on this roster.
This one,
the one that we haven't seen play basketball together.
They have leveraged their future on.
And my resolution for them is to figure it the fuck out and win a championship.
Like this is the year.
This is the window.
This is what we have all been waiting for.
And as much as I have been pushing the panic button for the past week and a half,
and we'll talk about some of the things that have happened,
Katie, I'm looking at you.
It's not too late.
And I know you might think that I'm crazy for thinking that it's not too late,
but I genuinely don't think it's too late.
I think we are rapidly approaching the too late realm.
And Bradley Beale coming back tonight is great,
which is I think ahead of schedule.
I think the last we heard from the team,
he was going to be re-evaluated close to like the January 1st mark.
So a couple days ahead of time,
ahead of the timeline of when they were going to potentially look at reactivating
Bradley Beal.
so great that he's back early.
We definitely are rapidly approaching the, holy shit.
It's too late realm, but we haven't gotten there yet.
I don't think it's too late, but they have to figure it out fast.
And I mean so fast it will make your head spin because time is running out.
The clock is counting down.
They have to do it.
They have to do it this year.
Their chips are all in.
They have gone.
What if I told you there's still more games left than they've played?
And I know that.
I know that there is.
I know that we're still 52.
52 games left.
I can't do math.
We still have 52 games left.
I know, people.
I know.
I haven't seen anything encouraging out of this team.
The turnovers are still a huge issue.
The fourth quarter collapses are a huge issue.
I think there's a big question mark with their head coach.
There has been a lot of things that have happened breakdowns on defense that weren't
supposed to be happening with under this head coach.
So there's a lot of things that they need to figure out.
And I know that we still have a 52 games to figure that out.
But the fact that we are 30 games into the season and we've seen the big three play together for all of two games is concerning.
There's a lot of intangibles that still needs to get worked out that we haven't seen worked out.
And I have been, I'm not going to lie to you guys, doomsday prepping a little bit.
I've been building my shelter, collecting all of my non-perishable grains, getting ready to enter.
my bomb shelter end of the world.
You're very descriptive on this, which makes me think that you might actually have one.
I don't.
I'm not actually a doomsday prepper.
I know people who are, but I'm not personally in Tuesday proper.
But that is how invested I am on the Sun's team because they have gone all in.
This is it.
Like they haven't leveraged everything for this season, this roster, and they have to win a
championship.
And that is my New Year's resolution for them because we have been waiting long enough.
We have been teased with a finals appearance in the last.
last three seasons, playoffs appearances. We have been teased hardcore. They've been edging us.
Now it's time to deliver because I am ready for it. I am ready to see a championship in this valley.
I can't look at Jacob. I'm saying that. And we have they have to deliver. They have to. They have
gone all in and it's time to figure it the fuck out and get on the court and show us that they are the
team that they said they were going to be. I don't know what else to tell you. They have to do it.
the one in the comments saying that Nerkich is way better than Aiton.
I don't know if I would say way better.
Better for sure.
There was a moment at the beginning of the season where I was like, oh, boy, his son's messed up because he looked terrible.
But he's figured it out.
Eric Gordon has stepped up in a way that has been nice.
His last couple games have been awesome.
Grace and Allen has had some shining moments.
So, you know, I know that we were talking about other people needing to step up in the absence of your injured players and how you're benched.
depth and the people that are sitting on your bench need to do more than what they have been doing
this season. And I think we're starting to see a little bit of that, which is nice.
Mac is Weil in right now. When am I ever not Weilin? The things that come out of my mouth, I don't
know why I have a podcast. So we are starting to see a little bit of them starting to figure it out.
There are things that need to be fixed still for sure. And they need to be fixed fast because
the rest of the league is starting to notice. And we've been put on blast by quite a few.
few people around the league about what's happening here in Phoenix. Most recently, we have had
some drama surrounding Kevin Durant and some people taking notice about the fact that Kevin
Durant might not be happy here in Arizona. Here are some tweets from some people around the basketball
world. Brandon Jennings said, quote, they're cursed man. He don't deserve this in reference to
Kevin Durant and why he should leave the sons. Terrence Ross saying,
dog they was fine before they traded for him what's the problem um yeah so people are noticing that
things aren't going well here in phoenix people are speculating if kevin durant wants to leave
if he wants to stay if he's unhappy with the team if they're going to do anything to improve
this situation and it's not great i'm going to tell you that right now as soon as
woe started blowing up our spot about the fact that kevin durant was unhappy in phoenix
on Christmas Day, no less.
Thanks for absolutely ruining my Christmas.
I started hitting the panic button.
That's when I was like, okay, I'm going to start
doomsday prepping.
I need my non-percial grains in my bomb shelter.
Because the last thing you ever want to hear is a superstar player being
unhappy on the team that he is currently playing on after they have
pretty much fire sailed to get him here and other pieces here.
So you definitely don't ever want to hear that.
I'm also really tired of being compared to the Brooklyn Nets, like Brooklyn Nets 2.0.
I definitely understand why it's happening and I see the similarities.
So I get why that comparison is being made, but I'm tired of it.
I'm really tired of it.
And so it's time to figure this out.
It's time to squash the rumors, the speculation.
It's time to put it all to bed.
I need the big three to go out there and I need them to be the big three that we all were expecting
them to be at the beginning of the year and get things on the right track so that we can
stop speculating on if we made me, and I mean, we as in the front office of the Sons,
made bad choices with the roster.
So we'll see how that goes.
I'm interested to see how they do tonight.
I know that probably it's going to damper my expectations because this is only the third time
that they've all played together.
But I think tonight will probably be an indication on how they have gelled together so far this season.
Shams, good old Shams, had some things to say about the discontent, I guess you would call it here in Phoenix.
And so this is what Shams had to say.
Everyone has been upset about the losing.
That happens across the league.
When you're losing games, you're going to be upset.
And whether it's teammates, players, coaches, team officials, they've all been upset throughout the organization about being 500, being a 500 team.
And from my understanding, they haven't seen anything abnormal, anything extreme that's different other than just normal.
frustration, normal being, you know, being upset from Kevin Durant.
And last night, clearly his, his, you know, his, he was dedicated to the task at hand with
that triple double career, uh, high tying 16 assists for him last night.
At the end of the day, the sons, they know they need to get healthy.
They do need to start winning games.
And that's, yeah, they need to start winning games quickly.
Um, according to Shams, it's nothing more in regards to Kevin Durant than like the normal
frustration of not winning games.
So take that for what you will.
It doesn't seem like Katie is discontent with anything other than the fact that they're losing.
So I guess that makes me feel a little bit better because it's not like there's a problem with, you know, his teammates that we've heard of in the locker room with head coach, anything like that.
And obviously nobody enjoys losing.
Duh.
They're professional basketball players.
They're professional sports organization.
I'm sure Matt Ishby is not happy.
I'm sure Frank Vogel's not happy.
I'm sure every single one of those players is not happy.
all of the fans are not happy.
Like nobody likes losing and nobody, including myself, expected this son's team to be at
500 30 games into the season.
So obviously there's going to be some frustrations and I get it.
I just don't want to give anyone else a reason to start questioning the sons or talking bad
about us or whatever it is because we came into the season so hot.
So they need to start winning like sham said and they need to start winning fast and they need
to start figuring out their glaring issues on the court like the turnovers in the fourth quarter collapses.
quickly. But I am glad to see that there are bright spots that I've been happening,
like Nirkich stepping up, Eric Gordon getting better, Grace and Allen going off every now and then.
So I think I think I'm going to pause on the bomb shelter construction briefly.
And I'll report back to you on when I start that restart the bomb shelter reconstruction after
tonight if I restart it. Obviously there's going to be questions about snowballing.
If this is going to continue to affect the team, is this going to be.
be a perpetual problem and
Devin Booker was asked about if he's concerned
about this potentially being a reoccurring
snowballing issue and this is what you had to say.
No.
You know, we should have to get it together.
And, you know, that's on me,
as some coach, that's on Katie, Eric,
all the leaders that we have in here to make sure
that we're more prepared when we come play.
Devin Booker is not worried about it snowballing.
He obviously named names when he said
these are the people who it is on to turn.
turn the vibe around this organization around, the losing around.
They definitely need to step up and they need leaders, which is why hearing about Kevin
Durant being so unhappy is not great because you don't want somebody like Kevin Durant in your
locker room, in a bad mood, pissed off constantly, like not stepping up to be the leader that
we all need him to be in these situations, which I'm not saying that he's doing that by any stretch
of the imagination.
I don't imagine that he is.
Obviously, where there's smoke, there's fire.
So there's definitely discontentment with Kevin Durant and the Sons, which I'm not.
Again, I understand because they're losing and nobody likes losing.
But I just don't want to see the snowball and to continue to get worse because that is the absolute last thing that we need right now.
I need them to be leaders and I need them to come in every day, ready to work with a good attitude, which I'm sure that they are.
But in order for my New Year's resolution for the Suns to come true, which is winning a championship, they have to turn it around quickly.
And it needs to start two night against the Charlotte Hornets who are coming off back-to-back games that the one pointed out.
Um, and Bradley Biel is back tonight.
So I think that, uh, the best New Year's resolution, the, the best New Year's gift they can give us tonight is to win spectacularly, not just win by like a little bit, but like, go out there, punch the Hornets in the mouth, which really shouldn't be that difficult to do.
It's the hornets. Um, and show everyone that it's going to be okay. Like, they need to start silencing the doubters and the haters and they need to do it quickly. So my New Year's resolution for the Suns is win a championship because duh, that's why we're here. That's why we're all here. That's what we're all expecting.
And that is my goal for the suns.
So fingers crossed, that one comes to fruition.
If you want to see the sun's in action, if you want to spend some money and watch the
sons play basketball, which I highly recommend you do, because why not, right?
Like, you've got to support the sons.
We don't want the fans to get apathetic.
That is the last thing we need is an apathetic fan base.
So don't give up on the suns yet.
If you are constructing a doomsday shelter like me, maybe put it on pause and go to a son's game.
And then maybe you'll feel better and stop building a bomb shelter.
You can do it by heading over to Game Time, the best ticketing app.
Game Time is going to be like, how are we anywhere close to relation of a Bob Shelter?
You know what?
Like, just go with it, okay?
It's in my analogy for the Phoenix Suns.
Grab your tickets over on the Game Time Act.
They are the fastest growing ticking app in the country for a reason because you can get
the best last minute deals on tickets.
And our Game Time Game of the Week is not tonight's game, which it probably should have been,
but I decided to make this the game before I knew Bradley Biel was coming back.
But you can still go to the game tonight and get your tickets on game time and watch the big three play together.
But our game time game of the week is the Magic at the Sons on New Year's Eve because this is a New Year's Eve,
new year's-ish themed podcast.
And I wanted to go along with the theme, okay?
So grab your tickets to watch The Magic at Sons for as low as $22.
That is a great prize for family fun.
You can also get lower level tickets for as low as 98.
bucks. Under $100
for lower level tickets is absolutely insane.
I'm assuming that the big three
will be playing together on New Year's Eve
as well.
Literally knock on wood.
You did not just speak that
into Mac.
Mac, if somebody rolls
their ankle tonight. Okay, don't even
put it in the universe. The big three are going to be playing together
on New Year's Eve as well. So head on over to game
and grab your tickets for that game
because it is a New Year's theme podcast and you
can watch the Sun's play for the last time
in the year 2023.
by getting your tickets over at GameTime. Download the GameTime app, creating an account,
and use promo code P-H-N-X for $20 off your first purchase. Terms apply. Again, create an account
and redeem code P-HN-X for $20 off. Download GameTime today. Last-minute tickets, lowest price is
guaranteed. Connor's saying is Game Time is going to start selling bomb shelters.
Honestly, like, in the world we live in, it wouldn't be the worst-best idea. Like, maybe Game Time
will build the bomb shelters and then sell tickets to get into the bomb shelters.
Okay, I'm done.
I'm done, I'm done, I'm done.
Stop laughing at me.
I'm literally just sitting here.
Okay, yeah, I'm just sitting here.
The Phoenix Sun's future is dim, but it could be bright.
And if it's bright, you're going to want your Shady rays.
Oh my God, thank you for that, by the way.
That was a perfect time to put that up.
I love how you knew where I was going with that.
Shady rays are the...
You have the rundown.
Oh, okay.
I didn't know.
You had the rundown.
Shady rays are premium polarized sunglasses that are high quality.
They compete with any designer name-level brand.
Name brand sunglasses.
You know them.
Shady rays are better than them.
Shady rays are also great for the community.
Shady rays are building play sets for pediatric cancer patients to provide young adults with MS,
the outdoor adventure of a lifetime.
Shady rays is making an impact in your community and others like it now.
and for years to come.
You can support their initiative to build play sets for pediatric cancer patients by shopping Shady
Rays.
You can find their entire collection at their brand new location in Kierland Commons in Scottsdale,
a full stop shop for all things Shady Rays.
And if you don't love your Shady Rays, you can exchange them for a new pair or return them
for free within 30 days.
There's no risk when you shop.
Their team always has you back.
And exclusively for our listeners, Shady Rays is giving their best deal of the season.
Go to ShadyRays.com and use promo code P HNX for 50%.
off to or more pairs of polarized sunglasses. Try for yourself, self, the shades rated five stars
by over 250,000 people. Everyone's saying stay polarized. I did. I did. I said it. Thank you
to Shady Rays. And thank you for that amazing community impacts. All right. Moving on to the Arizona
Coyotes. I think this one is pretty obvious and everyone knows what I'm about to say what my New
Year's resolution for the Coyotes is. So let's just all stay together. My New Year's resolution for
the Arizona Coyotes.
is to get a
arena for
fuck's sake. Please
please just get an arena
get it at a site, announce where it is
and get this arena deal
done. My New Year's resolution
for the coyotes is to get a
freaking hockey arena
for the love of God.
Obviously the last update that we got
surrounding this whole arena debacle
is that there is a
rumored site of where
the coyotes are looking now.
is a privately owned piece of land north of the 101 in North Scottsdale.
The X marks the spot here on this little beautiful map.
It is close to that Desert Ridge Shopping Center.
This is the last that we've heard.
It is obviously a rumor.
The team has not confirmed, but we have on good authority that since this is a privately
owned piece of land, it would be pretty easy for the coyotes to execute getting a deal
for this land done.
Craig Morgan, our very own Craig Morgan, gave us an update in November via Twitter,
X, whatever.
And he said, per Coyote's president, Javier Gutierrez, the next arena announcement comes.
It will be to announce the actual choice of an arena site, not another potential site.
The team is hoping to announce by the end of the calendar year, L.O.L.
stray into first quarter.
Craig Morgan didn't actually tweet L.O.L.
I just added that there because I'm commenting on the.
fact that we have 30, 31, two more days.
Two more days left in 2020.
It is the 29th.
So if you count today.
Two and a half.
Yeah, two and a half.
Two and a half more days left in 2020.
And the coyotes have not announced their arena yet.
So I'm assuming that it will be coming into the first quarter of next year, which puts it in January, February, or March.
I am not going to lie to you guys.
I am extremely disappointed that they haven't announced it yet.
I don't know what the holdup is or why they haven't decided to announce it yet because
time's a ticking.
I actually have a watch to do this.
This was not what I was planning.
But times a ticking, coyotes.
Your time is running out rapidly.
And the longer you wait to announce an arena deal, the more people say it's time to relocate.
And I'm tired.
I don't know about the rest of you guys, but I'm tired of the Houston.
in Kansas City, let's move the coronies chatter that has been perpetually plaguing this team for the last,
however long the coyotes have been in existence.
So I'm kind of pissed off that they haven't announced an arena site yet.
It is nice to know, thanks to Craig Morgan.
However, though, when they do make an announcement, it will be the announcement.
It won't be like another proposal.
It won't be like, well, maybe this is what's going to happen.
It's going to be it.
When that announcement comes, obviously is still up in the air.
we were supposed to happen now and I'm mad that it hasn't,
but hopefully the first quarter of next year
we'll have something a little bit more finalized.
However, let's just say, let's just play devil's advocate for a second.
If this current ownership group can't for the life of them figure it out,
which is not that much of a stretch at this point because what the hell is going on
with the Arizona Coyotes, if they can't get it figured out, what comes next?
are hockey reporters around all city.
So shout out to CHTO, PHLY, DNVR, and of course, PHNX got together to write a roundtable
article, which you can now read over on go phnX.com answering the most burning questions in
the NHL.
Obviously, one of those questions was what will happen to the coyotes if a deal cannot get done.
Craig Morgan answered, and this is what he had to say.
It was a great answer, by the way.
and all of the answers from all the other cities were very insightful too.
So in the event that this current ownership group can't get a deal done, Craig said,
the next opportunity will likely be the last for the Morello ownership group.
Either they secure an arena by the end of the NHL season or the league could force a sale.
I still think the league would pursue a local buyer over relocation.
I don't think owners will pass on the mega expansion price,
but that new group would have to have a ironclad arena deal in place so the open-ended
mollet contract is not extended beyond reason.
A couple things here in what Craig had to say.
I don't know if he's saying that the deadline to announce this has been extended to the end
of the NHL season, which I think the end of the NHL season goes into the second quarter,
so that kind of like extends the first quarter a little bit.
But it sounds like they have to get this figured out this year.
And we all knew that.
Like that's not a surprise.
They have to have this figured out.
There has been some speculation that the coyotes are looking to extend the
mullet or deal already because they are in currently in your two of three of that contract,
two of three of that contract.
So they are starting to poke around at the potential of extending that agreement with mullet.
I mean,
they don't have another option.
Like if they do announce an arena and it takes longer to build than we were all thinking
that they have to play at mullet.
So I guess knocking on that door now isn't necessarily.
necessarily a huge red flag.
But the other thing that I wanted to tap into is the fact that the NHL is still doing everything
that they can to keep the coyotes in Arizona for a multitude of reasons.
One of them being the fact that if they moved the coyotes to a city, that would take
away the expansion fee that would come into play if a team expanded there instead of relocated
there.
And in case you were wondering, the Arizona coyotes are currently estimated to be.
be worth $675 million.
They are the most affordable team in the NHL, if you were curious.
It really worth less than Shoahe Otomi.
Anyways.
Yes, the Arizona Coyotes are worth less than Chohei Otani.
That is true.
However, the last two expansion teams that came into the market, Vegas and Seattle,
Vegas had a $500 million expansion fee, which is split up among the owners.
And Seattle had $600 million.
And the NHL is looking to expand so that there are all.
are in the future at some point, 30 teams in America, like specifically America.
There are obviously the Canadian teams that contribute to the overall total,
but their goal is to have 30 teams solely in America alone.
The next city is rumored to be Atlanta.
A lot of speculation has-
Go Thrashers.
Go Thrashers.
Yeah, I mean, Atlanta has had an NHL team in the past.
So it makes sense that they would have another one there.
They have the three other sports, so they're just missing hockey.
And the rumors around Atlanta getting a team have really started to pick up.
And current market value places an expansion fee for a new hockey team somewhere between $750 million and a billion dollars, which is crazy.
But obviously, since we're all mathematicians here, $750 million and a billion dollars far exceeds the value as the two.
team of the Arizona Coyotes has as a whole. So there's no way that the league would ever want to
relocate the Coyotes instead of having an expansion team in a city because if they relocated the
coyotes to Atlanta, that would take away the $750 million to a billion dollar expansion fee.
There's no way the owners would be down for that, even though their teams have to play in a
small college hockey arena with a satellite locker room environment. Like they would take that
over losing out on $750 million.
I guarantee that right now.
So the odds are still in the coyotes favor for them staying in Arizona because Gary
Betman wants him here.
He's always said that he loves Phoenix as a market for the coyotes and he doesn't want to
give up Phoenix as a hockey market.
They don't want to lose out on the expansion fees.
And there is still potential for the current ownership group to figure this out.
There have been rumblings that it is coming, but we obviously haven't seen anything concrete.
and in the event that this current ownership group, for whatever reason, can't figure it out,
they can force the sale hopefully to someone in the valley who will keep them here in the valley.
I think that would be really the only option because, like I said,
they don't want to take that expansion fee away from anybody.
So we'll see what happens.
We're literally in the Gary Bettman studio right now.
We are.
This is the Gary Bettman studio.
We are in the commish studio named after Uncle Gary Bettman, who was kept the coyotes so graciously in Arizona.
But I will say I am tired of not having an answer.
It is well past time for the coyotes to announce what their plans are.
I hope that they would have had more of a fire under their ass to get it figured out by now because I'm sure they're also tired of hearing all of the relocation rumors that have just been hounding this organization.
So it's go time, coyotes.
I'm tired of it.
Figure it out my resolution for you is to get an arena deal done and get it done fast.
So that's on you.
We'll see what happens.
I want to give a shout out to our friends at OGs.
I know I mentioned at the top of the show that they have two.
new gummies and I got to talk about them right now. They have launched two new products on the market,
a natural vegan gummy that is their new product made with live rosin and RSO oil.
The OGs, the naturals and the big OGs. They like I said, have a natural vegan gummy that is made
with that RSO and live rosin. It is available in a sweet clementine flavor. That sounds delicious.
And they have also introduced the big OGs, a gummy that is a mega version of the Raspberry Orange RSO.
It is one of their company's most popular products, and it is perforated into 10 slices, each that are 10 milligrams, each for a total of 100 milligrams of THC.
Do not eat that entire thing in one sitting.
Don't do that.
That would be terrible.
But if you are looking for a mega gummy, they've got.
it and it is 100 milligrams of THC divided into 10 slices, only eat one slice at a time for the love
of God.
Just like fresh-squeezed juice, the live rosin is created through a pressing process.
It's the highest quality harvested cannabis in frozen and ultimately pressed to extract
the all-natural live rosin oil.
To hear more and to learn more about OG's gummies and where you can find them, head on over
to OGsbrands.com.
I also want to give a shout out to our brand new partner, some burrows.
They are a family owned and operated in Arizona's most loved Mexican restaurant.
They've got so many great options for you to try.
They've got platters.
They've got chimichangas.
They've got homemade tequitos.
They've got chips.
Fresh quack.
Anything that you could possibly want in a Mexican restaurant.
They've got it with locations throughout the valley and Flagstaff.
You're never far from delicious, time-tested Sonoran-style recipes that have been lovingly prepared since 1986.
You can check out their newest locations in Goodyear, Peoria, and off the I-17.
You can visit some boroughs.com to find one near you.
Or if you have a big party coming up, you can let some burrows cater your holiday fiestas.
Big or small, you can order online or find one near you by visiting some burrows.
Seasons, evenings with some burrows.
You absolutely love to see it.
Seasons greetings, season eatings.
I see what you did there, some burrows.
All right.
Was it like Marcos or was it Max?
It's probably Max.
Max loves to make dad jokes.
All right.
Let's talk about this.
the Arizona
Cardinals.
I was supposed to say
coyotes again.
Arizona Cardinals.
We also have some
breaking Arizona Cardinals
news that they
announced earlier
today that they have
placed wide receiver
Hollywood Brown on a
season ending injured
reserve list.
We all know that
he's been battling
with this heel injury
for the past couple
weeks.
He was trying to fight through it.
We saw him out
on the field every
now and then trying to
play.
But unfortunately,
the ultimate decision
has been made to put him
on the IR,
which will effectively
end his season
with the
Arizona Cardinals. Not a shock. We all kind of saw that coming. He's been struggling.
This whole season with injuries, definitely a bummer because I don't think we really truly got
to see Hollywood develop during his time here with the Cardinals, specifically with Kyler
Murray. Obviously, they had a connection before playing together on the Cardinals that never really
got to come to fruition here, which is never great, kind of like the Zach Ertz and the JJ Watt contract.
all of those players have had some injury-riddled time here in Arizona
that we never really got to see their full potential blossom and come to fruition.
As far as his future is concerned with the team,
I heard Monta Austin for on the radio this morning talking about how they appreciate
how Hollywood has handled this whole situation,
the fact that he has tried to get out there,
and he hasn't just done what a lot of players have passed have done just thrown in the towel.
However, they do will have some decisions to make
regarding his future here with Arizona,
my personal opinion based off
of nothing other than what I've seen
and what I've heard is just that this will probably
be the last time. Hollywood Brown
will be on the Cardinals roster.
I think that they will probably be moving on
from him in the off season. So
that's kind of a bummer.
Another thing that didn't work out in the Cardinals'
favor, another signing that we were
all so excited for. I know that they picked him up
during the draft.
But just a bummer that that didn't work out.
I feel like that is another on the
list of contracts of Cardinals players in the recent history we can add to who were supposed
to come here and do awesome. And unfortunately, could not happen, whether that through B injury
or the fact that they didn't have a quarterback, a quarterback one throwing to them. So see ya,
Hollywood. Thanks for your time. I don't know what else to say about that. However, we have to talk
about Kyler Murray because Kyler Murray has now played six games this season with the Arizona
Cardinals. Why do I keep doing that? Why do I keep wanting to call?
in the coyotes, whatever.
Kyler has played six games with the Cardinal so far this season, and let's take a look at
what he's done.
I'm interested to see what you guys think, because I will tell you what I think in a minute,
but this are his season stats through six games.
He has a little over 1,300 passing yards.
He has six touchdowns and also four interceptions for a 62% completion percentage.
His yards per carry are 6.3 with a QVR of.
81.9. He's also rushed for 187 yards with three rushing touchdowns. So looking at this stat
sheet as a whole, it's not bad. It's really not bad by any stretch of the imagination.
This is a pretty decent showing through six games coming off a major, major knee injury.
So I don't really know what else I can say other than this is good. I don't think it's not bad.
It's not bad.
It's definitely not.
Especially with the weapons that he has.
Yeah.
It's Hollywood being out.
Yeah.
Whether or not Hollywood makes an impact, we don't know, obviously.
But like Michael Wilson has been on a pretty much a rookie downturn.
He's had Trey McBride and Greg Dorge.
Yeah.
It's all he's had.
Totally.
Totally agree.
If you look at the picture as a whole, there's a lot to take into account, like Jacob said.
This roster is one that is being reconstructed.
So there hasn't been a lot of talent or weapons for Kyler Murray.
He's had to adapt to a new head coach and a new offensive coordinator and learn
an entirely new offensive system, which I think he's done a good job of.
I definitely think Drew Petsing has done a better job than Cliff Kingsbury did at a play
calling on the offense.
That's a little bit of an understatement.
But another thing that you have to take into consideration when looking at these stats,
also the biggest glaring factor in the fact that he's coming off a major injury with a
torn ACL.
All of that being taken into consideration, I don't.
don't know. I don't know if it's enough to have a thousand percent confidence in Kyler being QB1
considering the depth of QB talent in this upcoming draft, which is probably the worst thing
that I can say because I have said this time and time again, I don't want any questions
surrounding what the future of this position holds. And Kyler has done just enough for there to still
be questions about whether or not he can be the future of this organization.
as their QB1, which sucks.
I wish he would have gone out there and either completely stunk it up
or just rocked all of our socks off and defied all of the odds
with all of the lack of weapons that he has and whatever else.
And none of that has happened.
There have been some great, great moments,
and there have been some not-so-great moments.
And I think there is a huge question mark
surrounding what the Cardinals are going to do.
And so, therefore, my New Year's resolution for the Arizona Cardinals
is answer the question of what are you doing with QB1
and go in a solid direction and stick to that direction
and either move on from Kyler completely
or let everybody know that you have complete faith in Kyler
and you are going to rebuild all of his weapons
and his arsenal in the offseason and through the draft.
Which way they go?
I don't know.
There's only two games left in the season
and I don't know if those two games
are going to make me bank or break for Kyler
because I think we've kind of seen enough at this point.
So I'm interested to see how Kyler
does in the last two games.
Like I said, it's been good.
It hasn't been great, which is not where we want to be because we want to have
these definitive answers.
So there aren't a bunch of things left in the air as a season comes to a close.
If we want to take a look at the projected NFL draft order, we can do that.
Right now, the Bears have the first overall pick in this upcoming 2024 NFL draft.
No shocker there.
They somehow managed to be worse than the Cardinals who were missing.
their starting quarterback.
The Cardinals have the second overall pick,
the commanders falling in the third slot,
with the Patriots, Giants, Chargers,
Titans,
Bears, Jets, and Falcons coming after them,
respectively.
So obviously, it's not going to be the first overall pick
because they don't think they can out-suck the bears at this point.
But the second overall pick is definitely nothing to shake a finger at,
especially when you have what you would assume
be a number one locked-in quarterback going to the Bears,
because that, holy shit, they need a quarterback.
So I'm assuming that Caleb Williams is going to be going first overall to the Bears.
And then what comes after that is going to be interesting because there is a star wide receiver that is coming up in this NFL draft that the Cardinals could easily take with their second overall pick.
And if they do, I think that obviously will be a clear indication that they have committed to Kyler Murray and rebuilding his arsenal.
With the Cardinals having that second overall picked, here is also what they have for projection.
picks in this upcoming draft in the later rounds as well.
Again, this is projected.
This is not the final draft order.
They do have two first round picks, number two overall and number 16 overall,
courtesy of the Texans.
And then they have only one second round pick and then three third round picks.
And then it just kind of goes on from there.
So having one, two, three, four, five, six picks in the first three rounds is definitely a big deal and nothing to shake a finger at.
they can definitely do a lot of damage in this draft because this draft is stacked in a lot of different
positional categories.
So like I said, if they do decide to commit to Kyler Murray as QB1, they can definitely do some damage in the wide receiver room, in the running back room,
and kind of rebuild that arsenal around Kyler, get him some maybe more alignment.
So it'll be interesting to see which direction they go, but they need to pick one and they need to stick to it.
I think it'll be kind of crazy if they move on from Kyler at this,
considering that they've had a carousel of quarterbacks in the draft that have just not been the franchise quarterback, I think, is fair to say.
Obviously, Josh Rosen was terrible.
And Kyler Murray, I don't, I'm not ready to call him a franchise quarterback yet.
So if they do draft a quarterback in this draft, which it would be the draft to do so because this quarterback room and the draft is stacked.
Um, it'll, it'll definitely be the answer that we're all looking for.
I think they have obviously time to make that decision because the draft is when it's going to have to be made.
So we'll see what they do.
But, uh, my personal preference, oh my God, I'm scared to say it.
Should I not?
I don't feel like I should say it.
Do it.
People are going to be so mad at me.
Um, I think it's time to move on.
Um, I just, I don't think, I don't think Kyler has what the Cardinals are looking for at this point.
I don't have faith in Kyler being a quarterback that can get this team more than 10 wins in a season.
Like, can I commentally say Kyler Murray will get this team seven to nine wins in a season?
Sure.
For sure.
Like I think that that is a reasonable expectation of Kyler that he can win seven to nine games in a season.
Definitely.
Am I happy with only winning seven to nine games in a season?
No.
I would love to be in the upper echelon of teams that are winning 11 to like 15 games in a season.
And I just don't think that we can do that with Kyler.
Obviously, like I said, there are still question marks and a lot of other positions on the team.
But I think we can do better at the quarterback position.
And I'm really sorry to say, but I'm concerned with Kyler's ability to stay in a pocket and be a pocket quarterback.
He has wheels and I think that's great.
But I don't think that the way that the league plays football and you've seen it with other teams who have quarterbacks that are similar to
The Broncos.
You need a quarterback that has a little bit more height
that can get the ball out faster.
That's one thing that Kyler just,
I can't stand watching is how long Kyler holds onto the football most times.
So I just, I don't,
I don't think that Kyler is the quarterback.
Are you sold on either of the guys that are in the draft?
Are you sold on either Drake mayor or Caleb Williams?
Because I think both of those guys are best.
Really?
Yeah, I don't think they're good.
Who?
Hot take.
I think Caleb Williams is awesome.
I have full faith in him.
I think he's fully soft.
Okay.
Full on crying in his mom's arms after a regular season.
I mean, dude, be better.
So here's the thing about college, right?
A guy like Caleb Williams should not lose four games.
I don't care who his team is.
If he's as good as everybody says he is, that team isn't losing four games.
Yeah.
The defense was atrocious.
Sure, they put up a lot of points.
It's college.
If he's really the real deal, he's going to go out.
there and he's basically going to win every single game.
Yeah.
Like, if he's really that guy, like, I don't know.
And here's the thing.
Like, I typically am not the guy that's going to come after somebody and say,
oh, my God, he's soft for crying at his mom's arms or whatever.
Yeah.
But after TCU lost in the national championship last year, he literally on Twitter made
fun of Max Duggan for crying after his last college game.
And then goes into a regular season game that didn't really mean anything because,
because they had already lost their college football and cried.
Yeah.
Like, yeah, that's fair.
Come on.
That's fair.
I mean, like Daniel's son, he can't control the defense.
He didn't look good.
He looked lost at times.
Like, he would, don't get me wrong.
He's very, very good, but I think he's the best.
Yeah.
I mean, that's fair.
I just like, I think, call me jaded, but I just don't think,
this sounds so mean.
It sounds terrible.
I just don't think quarterbacks with the stature that Kyler Marie has have, like,
long-term future success in the league.
Like, I think all of the pieces have to fall into place and luck.
And, like, the defense has to be, like, everything has to be clicking with that team.
And all the pieces have to fall into place in order for them to be successful,
which is what I think you saw with the Seahawks when they won that Super Bowl.
The one Super Bowl that they won, by the way, that they haven't been able to replicate
because for whatever reason.
But I just, I don't think that you can have long-term sustainable success with a quarterback like
Kyler Murray.
Like, you'll get flashes of it.
you might get lucky and have a season where you go on a great run and you make it deep into the playoffs or whatever.
But I think it's because of the team that is built around him, despite the quarterback that they win.
It's not because of the quarterback that they win, if that makes sense.
If you look at his track record and his numbers through this point in his career, like, they're pretty ridiculous.
Like, if you look at his full body of work, like, he dealt with Cliff Kingsbury and still had some of the most insane numbers through his first four or five years.
Like it's, it's, I think it's so hard to judge on this season because, A, like I said, he's got no weapons.
Yeah.
And B, he had no preseason to train.
Like, he was learning the offense, sure, but it's one thing to study it a million times and it's another to actually put it into practice.
Like, I don't think that we've seen anything that we need to see at this point.
Like, the chance to draft Marvin Harrison Jr., who could quite possibly be a top three wide receiver for the next 10 to 15 years.
He is your next Larry Fitzgerald.
Yeah.
If everything pans out.
Like that's a statement.
That's what I'm saying.
Like, and it's just one of those like,
I understand wanting to go with the flashy, like get rid of the quarterback,
get a new guy in here.
But that changed like somebody said in the chat, it changes nothing.
Yeah.
Like it, the rest of the team is still going to suck.
Yeah.
That is true.
The rest of the team is going to suck.
So I understand the argument for wanting to keep Kyler.
I think I might just be jaded because I don't think,
that type of quarterback is going to be what the Cardinals need to have long-term sustainable success.
But that's just my opinion.
And you can disagree with me.
That is totally fine.
So I am excited to see how Kyler does the last two games of the season.
I think that will maybe help or hurt his case and hopefully provide the direction that this team needs because I think right now they're kind of stuck in the in-between.
And hopefully the last two games of the season will kind of provide some clarity because I think there is a huge question mark as to which direction they should go.
and that kind of sucks because I would prefer there to not be any confusion around that.
So we shall see.
Healer River, guys, this is the craziest thing ever.
I never win anything, okay?
I'm talking like raffles, giveaways, whatever.
I never win, okay?
I have the worst luck ever.
I'm the least luckiest person on the face of the planet.
But I think I've turned over a new leaf because at our staff holiday party,
I was the one that won the overnight stay,
a Healer River Resorts and Casinos, Wild Horse Pass.
So I get to go with one of my best friends and stay at the casino and their hotel.
And I'm so excited because I've obviously been to Healer River Resorts, hotels and casinos in the past, specifically Wild Horse Pass.
I've gotten for a concert, which if you haven't been to the casino for a concert yet, you have to go.
It is so much fun.
Their venue is amazing.
And you get to do dinner before, gambling after, whatever.
It is so great.
but now I get to stay in their hotel
which I've never done before and I'm just
shocked that I actually won something
because I'm the least luckiest person
on the face of the planet.
So Wild Horse Pass, I will be
seeing you soon. Staying overnight with my
BFF Carl, Carl, Carly,
Carl, her name's Carly.
I'm super excited for it. I can't believe I won it.
And I'm just excited to be a part of the
amazing, immersive state of the art
hotel and casino that is Wild Horse Pass.
all of their hotels and casinos though are on the same level of incredible they have state-of-the-art gaming floors
which have over 800 slot machines 15 blackjack tables and live table games not to mention they are
arizona's large they have large Arizona's largest casino sports book which is awesome definitely
will be going over a weekend so we can pop in there and probably bet on some games their dining is
also super upscale they have a incredible steakhouses anything that you could want they've got it
You can experience an all-new type of experience with their Santana Mountain location.
Head on over to Healer River Resorts and Casinos and let them show you what next level is all about.
I'm excited to experience that when I stay overnight at Wild Horse Pass.
You do you at Healer River Resorts and Casinos.
Visit play at Heela.com for more details.
I'm, yeah, spot A.
We'll see.
Hopefully.
I don't know what kind of trouble we're going to get into when we're there.
But I'm excited to spend the night.
what?
I just like that
you're like,
I'm going to get into trouble.
Like what are you going to just like break their machines?
No,
trouble like fun trouble.
Like,
you know,
what kind of games are we going to lose a bunch of money on?
I'm just kidding.
That kind of trouble.
The respectable trouble.
There's no trouble.
Yeah,
no trouble here.
Excited for that,
though,
so shout out to our friends at Healer River.
All right,
we'll round out the show
with my last resolution
for the Arizona Diamondbacks.
My resolution
for the Arizona Diamondbacks.
It's pleased for the love of God.
Just make it back to the playoffs and prove to everybody that this year was not a fluke.
Diamondbacks are the reigning National League champions, period.
And everyone, including myself, was not expecting that.
That was a little crazy to say the least.
So my resolution for the Diamondbacks is to show everybody that this is a sustainable thing.
and it wasn't just a once in a lifetime shooting star.
Oh my God.
How did they do it experience of watching them win the National League?
And to prove everybody wrong and go back to the playoffs and punch everybody in the mouth once again.
Preferably against the Dodgers.
I would love to see that happen.
Oh my God.
The Diamondbacks beating the Dodgers two years in a row in the playoffs,
especially after adding everything that they've added and all the money that they've spent.
Speaking of the Dodgers would be incredible.
and I would love nothing more than to watch the Diamondbacks make it back to the playoffs
because they're already being disrespected.
The odds makers specifically have decided to just rain on our parade
and post the postseason odds up on their sites.
And the latest one for the Dinna Vaxx is not pretty.
In case you are wondering where to look, go ahead and just like all the way at the bottom.
All the way at the bottom.
Just drop your eyesight down to the very last row.
And you will see the odds that they have given the Arizona Diamondbacks for various situations.
For the Diamondbacks to win the World Series, they have them at plus 3,500.
In comparison to the Dodgers who have a plus 375 odds of making it to the World Series.
This, of course, being the team that just made it to the World Series, swept the Dodgers.
And for some reason, they've decided to give the Dodgers better odds,
not for some reason.
I know why they gave Dodgers good odds.
But I think it's a little bit unfair to have the Dodgers at plus 375.
And then the Diamondbacks to 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 teams below that.
But behind, it's not even really like it's.
Yeah, it's behind the Mets, the Cardinals, the twins, the Mariners.
Yes.
What are we doing?
What are we doing?
What, literally what are we doing?
And then their odds to win the National League again are at plus 1,600 compared to the
Rogers, who are the favorites to win the National League at plus 200.
The Braves are second behind that at plus 375, with the Phillies coming in third at plus
550, the Mets, and then the Cardinals, and then the Diamondbacks.
Like, uh, did you guys watch what we watch?
I'm confused.
Well, apparently not because according to everybody, this was the least watch World Series.
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
Um, I am shook to my core that this is what they've decided to go with and have
disrespected the reigning National League champions who, in my opinion, have done nothing but
improve on the roster that they've already have and instill faith in people that they have made
the adjustments that they need to to continue winning. Like they, Mike Hazen and the Diamondbacks
have done exactly what they've needed to do this offseason to fix some of the holes in their
roster and to get better and to be more competitive, at least on paper. I mean, I know anything can
happen in the season of 162 games.
But my God, are you joking me right now?
Like, let's, I mean, the disrespect is crazy, you guys.
It's crazy.
And I think it's super fair to be like, what are we doing here?
Because I don't think they've done anything to deserve it.
Like, they have our fresh off a World Series appearance.
They're the reigning nationally champions.
They have made adjustments to their roster that have been exactly what they've needed to do
in order to get better, I'm flabbergasted, to say the least.
I am shooketh that that is what the overall opinion of the Diamondbacks is because I think
it's wrong. And like Daniel said, we can be the underdogs again. Bring it. Yeah, I mean,
if we want to be the underdogs for the rest of our lives, that's fine with me because I love the
reaction of people when the underdogs come out on top. And obviously, the Diamondbacks are going
to have to do that again this year. I was just talking about.
some of the additions that they made obviously we all know of them by now i haven't had a chance to
talk about lord escariel junior getting re-signed which lord hallelujah i am so happy that they decided to
bring lord escrowel back i think that was definitely the right call to make i think they would have had
another huge gap to fill both in terms of what he provides offensively and defensively if they
didn't bring him back and now that's not something that they had to worry about because that um is
obviously filled with him being out there in the outfield and a batter in the lineup that they
need. So super stoked about bringing Lordis Griel Jr. back. They obviously already have their
additional pitcher in the rotation in Eduardo Rodriguez. And then Oswez Suarez is at third base.
So they needed a third baseman. They got a third baseman. They needed another starting pitcher.
They got another starting pitcher. They needed to have someone like Lordis who can play in the
outfield in right field and also be a bat for them and they got it, which to me leaves only
one other major signing left and that is the DH, which Mycazen is aware that they need to do
something at DH. But before we hear from Mikeazen, let's take a look at their projected lineups
for this upcoming year. Would you like against righties or lefties? I got both. Surprise me.
Let's go. Let's go. This is a more common. You're typically going to face more righties than our lefties.
So let's go with that first.
Here is their projected lineup against right-handed pitchers.
You've got Corbyn Carroll leading off, Catelle Marte playing second in the two-hole with Gabriel Moreno at Catcher.
Batting third, batting fourth.
I feel like I'm going to do my best Chuck Drago impersonation and do the lineups.
There's one of time backs right now.
Batting four.
No, just kidding.
I'm not going to do that.
You guys are going to hate me.
Batting cleanup, though.
Christian Walker playing first base.
Lordis Griel in the five hole after that.
And then he'll be in the outfield.
And then you have Suarez playing third base,
Alec Thomas in Center, Pavin Smith as a DH.
I hate that.
I hate that so much.
And then Geraldo Pardomo playing shortstop and batting ninth.
Not a bad lineup when you're looking at it.
I like it a lot.
The lefty lineup is kind of similar, a little bit different.
You'll have Cattel leading off.
Most likely, obviously.
This is just a scenario.
Corbyn Carroll batting second.
Gabby's still at catcher, Christian at first,
Lordus and the left field,
Suarez playing DH.
Then you've got Emmanuel Rivera at third base,
Jake McCarthy in right field,
and then Geraldo at shortstop still.
So a little bit different,
but for the most part,
so you got their big names in that lineup,
they need a DH.
If you've seen anything in that projected lineup,
if anything stood out to you,
it should have been the fact that they desperately,
desperately need a D.A.
The payment shifts was a starter
on opening,
Okay. You're going to make me have hives. I, you guys, I am not a pet of Pave and Smith girly.
I am praying for a D.H. And not that type of, I'm praying for a D.H. So we don't have to watch
Paven Smith play that position because I don't think you should. And if looking at those
lineups told you anything, it's not that they still need a D.H. And that is definitely on the table.
I think they've got some room to bring in a big one. And here is the list of available options for
the Diamondbacks with Jorge Salar being probably the most likely option. And I wouldn't mind that at all. I think J.D. Martinez is my favorite option out of all of these. Obviously, he has history with the team. He's familiar face to the fans in the Valley. And he's really good. Rees Hoskins, Justin Turner, Jock Peterson, Brandon Belt, Tommy Fam, which we've all seen him in that position for the Diamondbacks before. Adam Duval and then Carlos Santana. Out of all of those options by far,
away. I love J.D. Martinez. I'm impartial. I'm partial. I'm partial to J.D. Martinez.
We all know why in his history here in the valley. Jorge Siller would be kind of great.
He's a big bat, a big bat. He's a big bat. He's big bat and a big man. So I wouldn't hate that
either, but J.D. is my favorite in that situation. I think that they'll add a DH for sure.
Looking at that lineup, that is the biggest statement they need. That is what they should be
spending money on. And according to Mike Kaysen, this is what he has to say about
making that addition.
Yeah, we're still looking to add
distant player to the lineup. Now that we
have Florida and Korea
else, I'm not so sure that
it has to be right-handed. I think we have
more flexibility in to how this
we come together. If we had
if we had done
you know another back in a different
day, maybe it would have been
more right-handed, but I think now
we have flexibility to be
if we're going to add more to the office to do it
either ready or left.
So that's super encouraging.
The fact that they're aware that they need to bring in a DH and that they're also aware that they don't need to necessarily bring in a right-handed DH because they have re-signed Gueriel and then Swara is also as a right-handed batter.
So they could bring in a left-handed batter, which would also be great to add to the lineup.
But the fact that Mike Hazen is doing what Mike Hazen does best and analyzing this from all aspects and also letting us know that the Diamondbacks aren't done and they're aware of the fact that they are, you know, wanting to add someone else to the lineup specifically.
a bat is great. So lots of encouraging things. And I think with the addition of a DH and potentially
just some smaller additions to the bullpen and potentially just another maybe like longer
lever guy that they could potentially slot in as a starter if they needed it to would be great.
But definitely adding a DH. And I think with the additions that they've made this offseason
and the potential that they are going to add more, I don't know how you don't have faith.
in the Diamondbacks moving forward.
Like they did the impossible last season and now they have more pieces and have fixed more
things in this off season.
So to me,
all signs point to the Diamondbacks making me back to the postseason.
And my New Year's resolution for them is to do just that thing and also maybe potentially
punch the Dodgers in the mouth while they're doing it.
That would make my heart so happy.
So ending the resolution list on a high note because obviously the Diamondbacks are the
talk of the town as they should be because they deserve to be because they just made it to a world
series. So lots of good things on the horizon for the diamondbacks. I kind of just want baseball
season to start, which were close by the way. The end of February, mid-February is when pitchers
and catches report. And then we'll get into the spring training season, which I'm super stoked about.
But either way, just excited to have baseball back and excited for the Diamondbacks.
Those are my New Year's resolutions for the teams. Feel for you to tweet at me at Michaela E. Perkins,
your resolutions for the Arizona sports teams as well.
I hope you all have had some time to think of your own personal New Year's resolutions
because I think there's nothing better than goal setting.
And I'm a big goal setter.
I've already thought of mine, which I will hopefully be able to execute this upcoming year.
Jacob, hopefully you can actually follow through on some New Year's resolutions this time around.
Fingers crossed.
But thank you all so much for joining us on this episode of the Phoenix Sports Podcast,
Cogs, Connor, CWP, Daniel, Elizabeth, Mama, Groundhog Mama, I see you.
All you guys, thank you so much for tuning in.
I hope you all have a wonderful and safe emphasis on safe New Year's, and we will see you in 2024.
Bye.
