PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - TPSP: Check Up
Episode Date: January 27, 2023Sean Payton had his first interview with the Michael Bidwill and the Arizona Cardinals yesterday but he left without a job. How concerned should Cards fans be? After winning four straight games, the P...hoenix Suns lost to the Dallas Mavericks in a nail biter after. Despite the loss, are the Suns on the right track? The Arizona State Sun Devils dropped a game to the Washington Huskies and have now lost three straight games, is their season over? The MLB Pipeline Top 100 Prospect list was released and the Arizona Diamondbacks are WELL represented.Join Makayla Perkins and Shawn DePaz for another episode of THE Phoenix Sports Podcast!0:00 - Intro1:30 - It's Friday!5:30 - Temperature Check + Sean Payton in the Valley!10:30 - Is it concerning Payton left without the job?13:40 - Sean Payton's twitter fingers16:50 - Only 4 openings for NFL Head Coaching positions left21:20 - Phoenix Suns, what happened?26:24 - Mat Ishbia taking over30:45 - ASU Men's Basketball, sad41:00 - D-Backs have 4 top 100 prospects in MLB Pipeline's44:20 - Corbin Caroll NL Rookie of the Year betting favorite51:22 - Shoutout Mike HazenGametime: BUY TICKETS HERE: https://gametime.hnyj8s.net/c/3442941...SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsportsDraftKings: Download the DraftKings Sportsbook app now (https://bit.ly/3Jl1dMX), use promo code PHNX and make your first deposit of FIVE DOLLARS and get TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS in FREE BETS INSTANTLY!Gambling Problem? Call 877-8-HOPENY/text HOPENY (467369) (NY),If you or someone you know has a gambling problem, crisiscounseling and referral services can be accessed by calling 1-800-GAMBLER (1-800-426-2537) (IL/IN/LA/MD/MI/NJ/PA/TN/WV/WY), 1-800-NEXT STEP (AZ), 1-800-522-4700 (CO/KS/NH), 888-789-7777/visitccpg.org (CT), 1-800-BETS OFF (IA), visit OPGR.org (OR), or 1-888-532-3500 (VA). 21+ (18+ NH/WY). Physically present in AZ/CO/CT/IL/IN/IA/KS/LA(select parishes)/MD/MI /NJ/NY/PA/TN/VA/WV/WY only. VOID IN OH/ONT. Eligibility restrictions apply. Free bets: Valid 1 per new customer. Min. $5 deposit. Min $5 bet. $200 issued as free bets that expire 7 days (168 hours) after being awarded. See terms at sportsbook.draftkings.com/footballterms. No Sweat: Valid 1 offer per customer per day of NFL 2023 Wild Card Round. Opt in req each day. First bet must lose after opting in. NFL bets only. Paid as one (1) free bet based on amount of initial losing bet. Max $10 free bet awarded.Free bets expire 7 days (168 hours) after being awarded. See terms at sportsbook.draftkings.com/footballterms.OGeez!: Enter the “Flavoring Life” sweepstakes. One winner will receive 3 bags of OGeez, an OGeez! Hat, a PHNX shirt of your choice, and a PHNX annual membership. Sign up at gophnx.com or visit https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FA.... Must be 21 years or older to purchase.Underdog Fantasy: Sign up for Underdog Fantasy today! Go to the link https://play.underdogfantasy.com/p-phnx and use promo code “PHNX” to receive a deposit match up to $100Bad Birdie: Use code “PHNX_SPORTS15” for 15% off your next order https://glnk.io/7qnq/phnx-sportsMor Furniture: Save up to 50% all through the holidays! Check out https://morfurniture.comChitown Cornhole: Go check out their website chitowncornhole.com and make sure to follow them on Instagram @chitowncustomcornholeboardsWhen you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Happy Friday, everybody.
Were you going to say happy birthday?
I know.
It's somebody's birthday, not yet at least.
It's somebody's birthday.
Welcome to the Phoenix Sports Podcast, presented by the Japanese Sportsbook app,
America's top-rated sportsbook app.
Don't forget to hit that like button, subscribe, wherever you get your podcast,
especially on Spotify.
And don't forget to leave us a five-star review.
It's me, it's a girl, it's DJ Mikey P.
Wei-Wa-W-W-W-W.
And Sean to pause.
We got Bubble Shane behind the Mac.
Bubble Shane will make an appearance.
Bubble Shane will, won't?
He will.
Also, happy birthday.
Mozart.
It was somebody's birthday.
You were right.
Thank you guys for waiting.
Oh, my God.
Sorry for the delay.
You can all blame Brandon Spano, our CEO.
If you go ahead and tweet him and make sure he knows that he made us late.
I'm sure he'd love to see it all over Twitter.
Oh, my God.
it's Friday. We finally made it to the week. And it's been a crazy week. It has been.
It's actually been a decent amount. And not all of it's been negative for the first time in a while.
It's nice. We actually get some positive stuff to talk about. Are we actually on a little bit of an
upswing? A little bit. Although I guess two of the teams, three of the teams, four of the teams that we're
talking about all lost the most recent game that they've played. Okay. So maybe not. But it's still,
it's generally good stuff. So we'll take it as well.
Take it. It's Mama Chris's birthday weekend. This is major. Breaking news. Happy birthday weekend.
Happy birthday week. Happy birthday month. You deserve the whole month. You do deserve the whole month. Absolutely. I agree with that.
The best way I can recommend celebrating is by going to four peaks and crack and open a cold one.
Celebrate every birthday like this is your 21st.
So I don't know if I agree with that. I don't remember my 21st birthday. And I would like to remember my birthday.
What was my 21st birthday?
Mine was in Nashville with my mom and it was electric, but I don't remember any of it.
Oh, I was in Buffalo, New York, Chippewa Street.
But if you want to crack a cold one, you got to do it with Four Peaks, either at their brewery in Tempe on 8th Street or at home because you can get four peaks wherever you get your groceries.
And they just came out with two new beers, the recreational juice dank IPA, as well as the super juicy IPA.
And I have had both.
I can confirm that they are both incredible.
And you're an IPA lady, aren't you?
I am.
I'm a huge IPA girl.
I'm from the microbrewery capital of the world, which is the state of Colorado.
And I love IPAs.
And these are top, top, top notch.
My palate is very refined.
So tell me when I, like, believe me when I tell you that these are some good IPAs.
My palette is very refined.
Trust me.
But it's also almost Super Bowl.
And beer and Super Bowl, kind of like besties, you know, hand in hand, they go well together.
So with the Super Bowl around the corner, you can enjoy a nice cold four peaks of beverage during the big game.
Like I said, they're available wherever you get your groceries.
Also want to give a big shout out to Burrito Express.
They hooked us up this week and brought into burritos for the office.
And oh, my loud, it's so good.
Yep.
And you still have time to enter the PHNX Sundevils Burrito Express giveaway.
Yes.
tweet at PHNX underscore Sundevils at Burrito EXP, your favorite Arizona athlete and your favorite
burrito flavor.
You have a chance to win a $25 gift card.
Who doesn't want free burritos?
Are you kidding me?
$25 worth of burritos?
Oh, that's the good stuff.
And the sauce is so good, you'll steal it, apparently.
Somebody.
Someone that's convinced that I'm the one that stole all the salsa.
But I swear on everything that is holy, I did not steal any of that sauce.
I actually believe you.
Like I said, I actually believe you.
Oh, thanks, guys.
I think it's somebody else.
Vindicated.
Also, if you go to Barreto Express and you buy a $25 gift card, you get a free burrito.
Did you know that?
Wow, I did not know that.
So lots of free burritos are happening.
All right.
Let's get in to our temperature check.
We need to go to the doctor.
and get a little checkup, Sean, because...
Open what I even say?
Ain't got to get to us.
Yeah, our time to just, like, fully out of our mouth.
Yeah, we need to check up on many things happening in sports.
We're all over the place.
We're hot, we're cold, we have a fever, and then we got a terrible.
It's interesting.
Like we said at the beginning of the show, minor upswing, maybe not.
So let's break it down.
I think we need to start with Sean Payton.
because obviously Mr. Payton was in the Malley yesterday.
He was interviewing with the Arizona Cardinals.
And I don't know about you, Sean,
but I feel like a overwhelming sense of belief
that he actually made it to Arizona
and an actual interview took place.
Oh, same.
Because I have said before,
I had a feeling that everything was going to kind of fall through
and they were just going to end up with Vance Joseph.
And for a minute there, it was not,
it didn't seem all that certain
that Sean Peyton was even going to,
They were even going to get an interview done at any point.
But they did.
And I think if you're a Cardinals fan, you have to be at least lately optimistic.
Yeah.
Right?
Because even if it doesn't get hired, I think it's big for a franchise that is, in a lot of ways,
been a little bit of a joke, especially over the last year to show that they are at least
trying to do the right thing and making like some kind of respectable decisions.
So like I said, even if he doesn't end up getting the job, I think it's a good sign that he at least was in the building.
Yeah.
Adam Damari in the comments asking
Does anyone know if he is still in the valley?
My guess is that he's not
He doesn't really have a lot of reason to stay here
He lives in LA full time
Which is conveniently just like an hour and a half flight
Maybe lost depending on the wind speed away
So
I was gonna make fun of you but your brother is a pilot
Right? My brother's a pilot
So you know what you're talking about
So I don't believe that he's still here
But he did spend a lot of time here
First of all, he spent at least roughly seven hours at the practice facility in Tempe
with Michael Bidwell and Monty Austin Fort and whoever else they deemed worthy of being at that
meeting.
The media was all over this and kind of creepily, in my opinion, I felt like there was some mild
stocking going on.
It was very paparazzi-ish.
It was very paparazzi-ish.
Cam Cox and many other media members were just camped outside of the facility all
a day waiting for this.
And they caught the moment that Sean Payton and Michael Bidwell exited the facility.
They got in the same car.
I'm assuming Bidwell was either going to drop him off at the airport or at whatever accommodations he was staying at.
This is obviously after the seven hour meeting that they had.
Peyton was there from 9 a.m. to like almost 4 p.m., which is a really long time to be in an interview, in my opinion.
I obviously don't have any experience being a head coach.
But I feel like that's a long time.
Oh, as somebody who has been the head coach in the NFL, it is pretty long.
long interview I can confirm.
And I'm trying not to get too excited
about it. I'm trying not to get
ahead of myself, but I feel like I
want to read into this and take it as
a positive sign that this was so
long and of an ordeal. Yeah. First
off, I'm just surprised that Bidwell drives
his own car. To be honest, like that was what I
took away from this. I was like, oh. I was in a helicopter.
I feel like he kind of got, like... What kind
of car is that, though? It looks like it's from...
Is it a Tesla? Tron. I think it's a lucid.
Oh. I'm pretty sure. It's a rich person's car,
But I'm still surprised that he is driving his own car.
And also, surprise is not like a, I don't know, Ferrari or something crazy.
Kind of disappointed.
He didn't break out the helicopter.
Not going to lie.
But I mean, yeah, like you were saying, it's definitely encouraging he was there that long.
It's kind of like a first date, right?
Like, you go out with somebody and if it's not good, you know, you're together.
You get out of there.
But if it's good, yeah.
I got to go to the bathroom.
I'll see you later.
You keep finding different things to do to kind of extend the date and spend time with
someone that you're clearly viving with.
So hopefully that was the case here.
Hopefully this is a sign that they were clearly having good conversations and good enough
that they kept feeling the need to keep talking.
Yeah,
Michael, hold on.
Have you ever done that?
Have you ever gone to the bathroom and they just left?
Gone to the bathroom during the day and just left?
I plead the fifth.
Oh, no.
I mean, I trust that the guy deserved it, but damn.
Listen, when you know, you know, right?
Like there's there's graceful ways to exit the situation.
I would argue that.
It is a tried and trusty method.
I would argue,
well,
I mean,
graceful for you maybe.
Graceful for the other party.
Damn.
I can never.
I don't,
well,
I haven't been on that bad of a day,
but I don't know if I have that in me to dip on.
So I would definitely,
I think I would go like the fake phone call route or something like that.
Oh,
I've definitely done that.
Yeah,
like I don't know if I could just up and leave somebody like that.
Yes,
absolutely.
Especially as a guy,
because then I'm going to be leaving her with the bill.
And it's just,
yeah,
It's definitely more acceptable for girls to do with him.
It was for guys.
But yes, I am relieved that he was here and an interview did take place.
Like you were saying before, like there was a lot of doubt even happening if it would happen.
The rumor mill has been working 24-7 overtime on this.
Like, at first it was confirmed he's definitely with the Broncos.
And I was like, no, he's definitely going back to Fox.
And it's like, okay, can we just like take a breath?
Like, I don't think anyone knows for sure what's going to happen.
Yeah.
Yeah.
So I'm glad that it did happen and that Michael Bedwell is doing what he said he would do when he had that press conference.
after they fired Cliff Kingsbury is that they were going to cast a wide net.
They were going to do their due diligence.
They were going to do everything in their power to make sure the next person that takes over is the right person.
I still am in the boat that Sean Payton is hands down, bar none, the best person to take over for this job.
And so I'm glad that he was here and that they got the interview done.
I do have to ask, though, do you think it's concerning at all that he left without the job?
Because some people were expecting the announcement at any time yesterday that like it was a done deal and that he was going to
going to be the next high coach of the Cardinals.
No, I mean, I still think you have to do your due diligence and have those conversations
without Sean Payton in the room, like afterwards, your thoughts.
I mean, especially with the new GM, just kind of making sure that you're both on the same page
about that.
Plus, they still have not interviewed D'Amico Ryan's and going back to what I was kind of
talking about earlier with this team actually making like respectful or respectable
decisions and stuff like that.
This is a sign to me that they're still doing their due diligence.
They want to make sure that they gain interviews with everybody before they make this
decision because I mean last thing you want to happen is you make this decision now and you come
to find out that D'Amico Ryan's wherever he ends up is the next great head coach and you didn't
even give him an interview. Yeah, absolutely. So I don't have a problem with it at all. It would have
been awesome if he got the job. Like I wouldn't have been upset about it. You would have been mad?
No, I would not have been mad. But I am not at all. I'm not mad that he doesn't have it yet.
I completely agree. Like I don't think it's concerning where people should be like freaking out that
he didn't get a job offer right then and there because aside from also wanting to do their
due diligence, there's also the extra layer of like, this isn't like a normal head coach candidate.
Like there's still a trade that needs to take place that needs to be agreed upon between the
Saints and the Cardinals. And who knows how much negotiating that's going to take. I also think
it would not be in the Cardinals best interest to trade that number three overall pick. And the Cardinals
still have some pieces to move around potentially in order to get maybe a first round pick that's
like lower in the draft, maybe in like the 20s. So I don't think that it's a bad thing at all. And I
I think there's so many complexities to this to getting Sean Payton to actually come here that, like, it was going to take more than the very long seven hours.
Granted, they were long seven hours, but it was going to take longer than the seven hours to get him here.
Because, again, he's not just a normal head coach candidate.
Like, there still has to be the complexity of dealing with the Saints to get him here.
And I mean, Chris makes a good point that both parties need the review period because Sean Payton also has a massive decision to make, too.
There's a reason he stepped away from coaching.
He has a very comfy job.
He gets to live in L.A., make a lot of money being on TV.
So it's a big decision for him, too.
So I'm sure it's not a decision that he's trying to rush into either.
So it's no reason to be alarmed.
Maybe if the interview was like an hour, two hours and he didn't have, like, okay, then maybe a little more reason to be concerned.
But with an interview that long, I don't, I don't think you can be concerned quite yet.
Yeah, absolutely.
Thunder in the comments saying Saints would have to get reasonable with their end of the deal too.
I definitely agree because if the Saints are asking for the third overall pick, I think that's a no.
as much as I want Sean Payton here
and trust me I really want him here
because I think he is the guy that can get this
ship turned in the right direction
I'm not willing to sacrifice that third
overall pick for it but
a lot of this has to do with leverage
and there was something that came out yesterday
that kind of in my opinion has to do with leverage as well
a member of the media
tweeted out that Sean Payton
was
what was it was not happy
he was concerned by
the ownership
group in charge of the Broncos just because obviously Peyton has interviewed with the Broncos once
there was a second interview scheduled but then it got delayed and the reasoning behind it getting delayed
are all kind of fuzzy. So this media member was just trying to, I guess, maybe provide some
context as to what the issue with the Broncos might be. And he came up with the concept that
potentially there is some not ideal factors surrounding the ownership group and the potential power
struggle that would ensue.
And maybe like not even 20 minutes after this interview had wrapped up and we saw Sean
Peyton exiting with Michael Bedwell, did he tweet zero truth to this?
We had a great visit and at Broncos ownership was fantastic.
It kind of rubbed Cardinals fans the wrong way because like why are you tweeting about
the Broncos immediately after you just wrapped an interview with the Cardinals?
I get Sean Payton maybe wanted to clear the air and to make sure that like the Broncos were aware
that like this, there's no truth to this or.
or if there was truth to this,
maybe he's trying to save face because the leverage in this situation is super important.
And if, you know, anyone outside of the Saints organization knows that, like,
maybe Sean Payton isn't as desirable as all of these other organizations think he is.
And, like, he doesn't have as many options.
Then obviously the demand is going to go down.
Like, if no one's competing for him as a head coach, then, like, why would anyone sacrifice the third overall pick for him?
Because it's not going to take that much to get him here, you know?
Yeah.
So I think maybe some of it was, like, saving.
little bit of face to try to like make sure that like a the broncos weren't alarmed by like whatever
is going on with sean payton in his delayed second interview and then b to like also maybe keep up the
interest and you know make sure that like there as many teams as possible are interested as getting
sean payton there so that the competition and the demand is like through the roof basically yeah i mean
we talked about a little bit before the show just i definitely could see a scenario which his agent
like you know he's in this this this interview for seven hours probably not spending a whole lot of time on
his phone gets out his agent's probably like hey we got some i don't want to say damage control that
sounds a little bit dramatic but you know a small fire to put out um because yeah like you said if
that tweet also mentioned the fact that you know the panthers job was gone and the broncos job
which was the other big one um for him was apparently didn't look well so what is what is the only
other option the texans who i mean if you're in the cardinals you have to be thinking that your job is
way better yeah champagne certainly loses a lot of leverage in that situation so um
It can. And also, like, even if that's not what it is.
I'm, I don't think it doesn't benefit Sean Payton at all to have these with these rumors out here that he has a problem with another team's ownership.
Like, I don't think that helps him.
It doesn't help the NFL.
It doesn't help the problem.
Like, it doesn't really help anybody.
So it could have just been that too.
But I'm, yeah, I'm not concerned about it at all.
Quickly wrapping up this combo about the cards.
So obviously, yesterday we learned that day.
Dan Quinn is for sure going back to Dallas.
Frank Rick was hired as the next head coach of the Panthers.
The first domino has definitely fallen.
I guess you could technically say too if you count Dan Quinn,
officially going back to Dallas.
There's only four openings left total in the NFL.
Arizona, obviously, Denver, Houston, and Indy are the other three teams at
Celina head coach.
And if you look at the candidates that we have left specifically for Arizona,
they've interviewed Van Gogh, Brian Flores,
D'Amico Ryan's is still potentially on the table,
although he has delayed his interview until after the 49ers are no longer in the playoffs,
and then Giro Ebro.
So out of those candidates left,
and considering that there's not a lot of openings and not a lot of candidates that I think fit this,
I hope that we get an answer soon about Sean Payton,
because if not, I really want the Cardinals to go all in on getting Temeco Ryan's here.
No, on the same way.
Yeah, because I think out of the ones that we have left,
I think Tomego Rines is the best option on the table.
and then after that, probably Flores and then Vince Joseph is a last resort.
Yeah, and you're in kind of a situation, an interesting situation now because now that that first domino was fallen,
especially with the Domech O'Brien situation where it seems like it might not be,
there might not be an interview until after the 49ers are done with this season,
whether it's this weekend or three weekends from now.
Yeah, that's a long time to wait.
Yeah, exactly.
You're kind of playing a game of chicken.
Do you want to wait for that Domingo Ryan's interview and then have,
Sean Payton stolen from you essentially and then Domingo Ryan go somewhere else and now you're
kind of caught with your pants down. So it's definitely a tricky situation for ownership and
Monty. But I am with you. I'm all the way. If it's not Sean Peyton, I'm all the way on
Domingo Ryan's. I've expressed my discontent, I suppose, with Brian Flores and Vance Joseph.
Yeah, me too. I think if it's not Sean Peyton, D'Amico,
your eyes the clear the clear best head coach candidate for any team but especially the cardinals yeah
absolutely i don't know about you sean but yesterday i was watching the drafting sports book app like a hawk
yeah uh while the sean pain thing was going down because his odds to be the next head coach of the
arizona cardinals went from plus 1,000 to plus 350 in like the course of like an hour um and it was
crazy to watch happen but there are so many things that you can bet on on the draft king sports book
app, including the NFL, player props, team props, all that fun stuff.
And considering that the conference championship games are this weekend, there's really no
better time to get in on the action at the Jack King Sportsbook app.
Make sure that you download the Jack King Sportsbook app now.
Use promo code PHNX when you sign up.
They have so many great things happening on the app right now, including stepped up same
game parlays.
Like I mentioned, some fun props that are happening.
You've got to get, especially I have to get on before Super Bowl props come out because
those are so fun to bet on.
I love betting on the color of the Gatorade.
How long the anthem goes over and around anthem time.
So fun.
I'm a huge fan of the number of the first touchdown score.
Oh, okay.
There you go.
By far my favorite that I won last year is who does the NFL or the Super Bowl MVP think first?
Is it religion, family, family, teammates?
Oh, that's a good one.
And I bet on religion because I was like, it's going to be Cooper Cup.
Yeah.
And it was.
I will say Chris Tableton is singing the anthem this year and he can sing.
Listen, not a country guy, but Tennessee whiskey.
Yeah, and he loves to do those runs.
So I would definitely take the over on whatever they set the Anthem Time app because Chris
Tableton is going to milk it and he's going to do it justice.
She knows with country music.
But if you want to get in on all this fun action, especially for the conference championship weekend,
download the Jackie Sportsbook app.
Now there are only a few more shots to win big on the playoffs with Jacking Sportsbook,
the official sports betting partner of the NFL counting down to Super Bowl 57.
New customers can bet just $5 and get $200 in free bets.
Incidentally, eligibility restrictions apply.
See show notes for details, but don't forget, use promo code PHS and X when you sign up.
Hey, Mac.
Yeah.
It's Bubbleshing.
Bubbleshing.
The Good Witch?
No, he's back.
Quick update on the drafting sportsbook app.
Sean Peyton, plus 140.
For Cardinals?
Yeah, he was plus 150 this morning, went down to plus 140.
Wow.
Favorite his floor is at minus 12.
these last. Wow.
Wow. Okay. Hey, those
odds makers know what they're doing. They don't move for no reason.
That's all I'm saying. Yeah, absolutely. It'll be interesting to see what
happens. That's for sure.
Oh, Sean, we got to talk about the Phoenix Suns.
Oh, I was way more excited about talking about the Phoenix Suns 24 hours ago.
I know. Me too. Me too. Me too. Um, so everything appeared to be going well for the
suns up until last night. Everything was going well for the Suns up until last night.
They had won four straight. They were looking for their fifth win over the Mav.
and it was actually looking pretty well.
Unfortunately, you never want to see a player go down with injury.
And Luca went down in the first quarter with a weird ankle, something or other.
Yeah, he stepped in somebody's shoes.
And he did not come back.
So we're playing the Dallas Mads without Luca for the entire game.
And the first half was pretty good.
It was pretty competitive.
The sons were right in there.
DA, it was D.A's first game back.
He was popping off.
He had nine rebounds in the first quarter.
I thought he was going to go, like, absolutely nuclear.
But instead, Spencer,
Benwitty turned into Michael Jordan and crazy on the sun.
Yeah, Spencer didn't mean absolutely turned into Michael Jordan last night.
It was kind of crazy to see.
No one could figure out how to guard him, which was very disappointing.
But the wheels kind of started to fall off the wagon after the suns came out at half time.
DA ended up going six for 20 and he missed that huge rebound at the end of the game.
That could have really helped the sons tie it up.
It was not great.
It was not great.
It wasn't horrible.
Just not great.
No.
Despite the sun's loss to the Mavs,
do you still have faith that they can keep themselves in it long enough
to get some of their pieces back?
Yeah, yeah.
I mean, you saw just kind of the injection of life
they got just from Cam coming back.
I mean, once you get D-Book back,
and obviously you have D-A-back,
Chris Paul is healthy right now.
Like, if this team is full-string,
and I know we're going to talk about it in a second,
they aren't able to get some trade moves done at the trade deadline.
This team is very legit.
And honestly, like, if they don't, if they can, if you told me right now that they will not have to play the Mavericks during the playoffs, I have, I think this team can make another deep run.
The problem is that it literally doesn't see.
You could put me, Shane and Totry in Mav's jerseys and we turn into three of the greatest players of all time playing against the sons.
It's just that team just has the number.
I know they talked about a little bit on the Suns Post game show last night.
The Suns are not.
The Suns are not the kind of team that beats the Mavs.
They're not physical enough to beat the MAVs, stuff like that.
So as long as they don't have to play them, this is still a, I think, a threat to win an NBA championship.
Yeah.
Or at least make a deep run of the playoffs.
But if they have to play the MAVs, which is who they are kind of competing with for in spots.
And if they end up in that like four or five situation, it's a little scary for sure.
I don't know.
I don't know what it is about the Dallas Mavs, but can we just for the love of God figure out how to beat them like convincingly?
it makes me so mad every time we play the Mavs.
I freaking hate it.
And the crazy thing about the Mavs is if they're not playing with Sons,
the whole narrative about them is,
oh, Luca has no help.
Like, Luca's doing everything.
And then they play the Sons,
Luca gets hurt in the first quarter.
And then, like I said,
Spencer Dynwinny turns into the greatest basketball player in the history of man.
And I took that personally.
Literally.
Yeah.
So it was definitely a bummer to watch them loose to the Mavs last night.
But I'm also not ready to count them out.
I still think that they can show up and show out when they,
When it comes to, what is it when push comes to shove?
Yeah, when push comes to shove, I think that it's going to be okay.
We scrub up a little bit on the comments for me, Shane.
You guys have sounded off on some of this stuff.
Albert Gillespie saying he was aggravated.
It was brutal.
Ooh, I am so sorry about that.
A lot of anti-Aton people in the comments,
checkered life saying trade Aiton.
Jan Paul, Edward Dios, saying,
De De Dios.
Whatever.
Aiton is something else.
Oh, you're going to start calling me Sean Paz?
Come on now.
Come on now.
Don't do that.
I just said, I don't care about your name.
Yeah, so I don't know if I'm ready to kick him out of the triplets,
but it is definitely frustrating to not see him produce at the level that you would hope he would be producing at.
Again, he did just come back from some sickness issues.
But, yeah, it was just messy.
It was messy, messy, messy.
And it's not something that you really want to see from the suns at this point.
But you also have to be realistic about where this team is at.
and with what they are facing,
it's very much an uphill battle.
It has not been easy for the suns at all this year.
I love John Paul Edward Adios' comment.
J.K.K. is going to be a player coach and get a triple double.
It seems that way.
It seems like you can put an old man in that jersey.
I'll still ball.
Yeah.
Chris making a good point saying the NBA in general is the mess this year.
Totally agree.
It will be down to the wire for the playoff picture.
It's like impossible to try to predict what's going to happen this season
because the window is wide open.
Yeah.
We have no freaking clue.
who what's going to happen this year because there's so much parody this year, which you actually
kind of love to see. Yeah, that's why even when things weren't going while, I was still like,
the West, you get past the top three in the West and it's so wide open. I think there was like,
one before there was like four points separating the four and 10 seed. Like it was something
ridiculous like that. But one thing we do have to talk about, though, that's actually really
exciting and something that is going in their favor. It is official that Matt Ishbia will be able to
take over this team before the trade deadline. It's going to be.
tight. It's going to be there's going to be some crazy deadlines happening. Maybe some all nighters
pulled, but it will happen. And I cannot tell you, Sean, how relieved I am that the old owner is
out of the way and Ishbio will in fact have control over the trades before the trade deadline because I was
really getting starting to get nervous. And I would not have put it past Starver in the slightest to kind of
screw this team over on his way out. And I am just so glad that that is one less barrier that we have
to worry about because I think the sun's fingers crossed are really going to make us happy this
time around at the trade deadline and do something big that will help this team in the playoffs.
Yeah.
Call me crazy, but I have a good feeling about it.
And I think Matt Isbiyah is going to want to show his commitment to this team and doing whatever
it takes to win.
And he has a perfect opportunity to do it now by being in control of this team before the
trade deadline.
Yeah, definitely exciting, positive news.
It'll be interesting to see once he does take over how fast things happens because the whole
concern has been Sarver signing off on trades, but there's nothing stopping James Jones
and this organization from working on trades up until that point. So it will be interesting to see if
they have something kind of like locked and loaded for when HBO does officially take control.
But I mean, yeah, this was, I think everyone's, everyone had clinched up a little bit.
They got a little nervous once they, once the reports came out that Sarver could be a little bit of
interference. And like Charles says, it's nice to finally see the light at the end of that
Sarver tunnel. So hopefully this is, you know, it was, it was getting a little dark there in
Sun's Nation for a little bit. But hopefully we're starting to move back in the right direction.
And hopefully, you know, this is something that Lindsay has talked about before is kind of the bad
karma of the Sarva situation, which I mean, I'm not like a huge karma person.
Oh, I am. If it does exist, the bad karma of the Sarva situation, hopefully it swings back in
the other direction once Isbio takes over and it can give the sons that push that they've been
saying the last two years.
Yeah, obviously one other chapter that we need to close
is the J. Crowder chapter.
You kind of mentioned how the son's struggle physically
against the Mavs.
And one thing that I kind of thought was interesting
is last night in the post game press conference,
someone asked Chris Paul about Jay Crowder
and Chris Paul was like, I miss Jay Crowder.
I miss having him out on the court.
And I think the physicality that Jay Crowder can provide,
especially in the paint and it kind of goes critical situations
when you need someone that you can rely on to be physical,
I think that showed last night.
And it kind of just makes me a little sad
because it makes me wonder, like, what if, like, what if we could have, you know,
made things with Jay, like, smooth things over and had him contribute this season.
If it would have made any difference in last night's game or in any of the game so far the season,
obviously, you know, we can play the what if game until we're blue in the face.
But, you know, hearing Chris Paul say that and then kind of seeing how they stacked it
against the Mavs physically, it kind of just made me wonder like, hmm, like, huh.
Yeah.
Could we have really used Jay?
Like, it kind of seems like it.
I mean, I think that's one thing that kind of got, I mean, obviously the Jay thing has been a big story all year.
I mean, in general, Jay, and honestly, Javelle McGee, like losing two guys that were that were big energy kind of like vibe guys on that team.
It, that's not an easy thing for a team to just recover from, especially when you have all the stuff that happened on over the off season leading up to the season with D.A. and Monty.
There was just a lot of like kind of just bad vibes, a loss of good vibes.
It was, it was tough.
So, you know, it made it take, took them a little while, like I think kind of get back to.
where they are. But once they're healthy, once Ishbia's here, I think it is, it is full steam ahead,
brighter days for the Phoenix sun. Yeah, absolutely. I definitely agree. Um, K.R. Gordon,
Gordon in the comments saying what's to take on the pain here all day with bidwell. Click the
timestamps. Rewind it, baby. Check it out. Rewind it. We talked about this at length. And I think you'll
like what we have to say. So click the time stamps, rewind. You will see what we had to say.
And then catch back up with us and watch us live. Um,
But yeah, hopefully everything is back on track for the suns and we can kind of take a deep breath after this trade deadline and things will be back to where we want them to be.
Unfortunately, I cannot say the same thing about ASU basketball.
Shooter.
Boo.
They lost their third street game last night in a heartbreaking OT loss to the Washington Huskies.
And I don't want to bag on them too much because I am a notoriously noted non-believer in Sun Devil.
athletics because every time they get my hopes up, they just crush it. And I've been kind of
not wanting to get my hopes up. But coming into last night's matchup, they were obviously
the better team on paper. And it just did not translate onto the court. I will give them props for
fighting their way back into it, especially late. And then forcing the game to go into overtime,
Austin Nunez, electric factory. Like, he's got that dog in him for sure.
He's a dog. But I just don't have anything. He's the only dog. Yeah. I just
don't have any faith. I'm kind of checked out, Sean, to be honest.
I mean, I'll fucking pump the brakes, checked out. They've lost three games.
They're still top five in the conference. Like, it's not, they're not dead yet. Like,
it's not over. You don't think it's over? No, no. They lost three games in a row. Sure.
Two of those games were against two teams, two very good teams. One of them specifically was UCLA,
who is one of the best teams in the country. Yes.
Listen, they have won a lot of games up to this point.
Obviously, you're not trying to lose three games in a row,
but they have won enough to give themselves that little bit of cushion.
After this, they're playing teams that they should beat.
Washington is all going up to the PNW, playing that zone is always tough for teams.
There was no fans in the stands.
Yeah, no, but it's not necessarily about the atmosphere.
It's more just weird things happen in Seattle.
Like, weird things happen in Washington.
It was 9 p.m. Arizona 10 there.
No, we had this conversation.
Yeah, we are very dumb.
Listen.
That's not the problem.
The problem is the energy.
They can't come out flat as a team that is supposed to be as good as they're supposed to be.
There has always been something that has separated ASU from competing at an elite level, whether it's the intangibles.
I mean, talent.
Whether it's dumb ass mistakes that happen, whether I don't, like, there's always, always been a barrier to ASU competing at an elite level.
And I know you guys are looking at me like I'm insane.
But what do they have to show for anything in the past?
No, no, no, no, you're not, definitely not insane.
They haven't competed at an elite level.
This is not, this is not UCLA or Arizona.
They don't have that kind of talent.
That's, I don't like anyone sitting here pretending that they are on those teams levels.
It's just frustrating when you have games like last night that they should have won.
Like, let's be honest, they should have won that game.
Yeah.
And they didn't.
No, I mean, they should have.
Yeah.
A, this is college basketball.
You lose games.
And I do think there was a little bit of a, I do.
think the two games prior to that just kind of put this team in a bad space.
Hopefully they can get right against Washington State this weekend.
They better.
If they don't, it's season over.
Yeah, we are now in a situation where, like I said, I'm not, I'm not concerned.
I'm not at a point yet where it's like Armageddon, everything is going wrong, run it all down.
But if they lose this game in Washington State, it's getting a lot closer.
Like you're at now at a point where they were, I think they were, they were pretty firmly in a tournament spot.
They've lost three straight games and now they are that are clinging on for your dear life,
if not having to fight their way back into the tournament now.
It definitely not an ideal situation, but I don't think everything is going wrong.
We've seen, we've seen, we've seen this team play good basketball before.
The defense was still there last night.
It was an annoyingly low-scoring game for most of it.
Yes.
I'm not concerned, but not.
wrong. I love this team. This is probably one of my
favorite Sun Devils that we've had in a really
long time. Like they're fun to watch
at moments. Like, the guys
are really great guys. Like,
I love this roster.
And I think Bobby's done a really good job of putting this roster
together and getting the right pieces
here. Now it's
just those intangibles and getting
all those pieces to gel and not doing dumb shit.
And Mike Estrada
in the comments saying, coaching,
I was just about to ask you, Sean,
if they don't make the tournament this,
year. Is this the last time we see Bobby Hurley
as the head coach of the Sun Devils? Yeah, it's hard
to see a situation in which
they don't make the tournament and he
doesn't get fired. I don't know
what he would, like, I
think the only situation once that happens is that
they clearly get snubbed from the tournament.
Like they should have been in the tournament and
the voters are just like, ah, nah, fuck y'all.
Maybe not.
Which is not going to happen. I don't think. I think that
the worst, or the
I think the worst that's going to happen in that regard
is that they are a bubble team because they deserve to be
a bubble team and then they just fall on the wrong side.
Yeah, no, I think they need to make the tournament.
I think they need to make an impact in the Pactwell tournament and then at least be in March
Madness.
Here's my whole thing, though, is everyone says coaching.
And while I don't disagree, like, clearly something is wrong, but I wish it was something
so clear and obvious.
Like, I wish, you know, you could see a problem with the rotations.
I wish you could see discourse among the players with Bobby Hurley.
But it's not.
the only thing that happens is the same damn thing every year where you start hot and then you just fizzle out.
And I know that's probably adjustments and whatever, but it's not something obvious.
And it's just it's.
And I think the frustrating thing about this team too is, you know, they get flak for taking bad shots a lot, which they definitely do.
But there's also times where they take good shots and they just don't fall.
Like this team is in a lot of ways pretty inept offensively.
They don't know how to use their big man.
No, they don't.
But also at times Warren.
Warren doesn't know how to use his body.
how to use the big man.
Ward all just know how to use himself.
So it's, I think everyone, honestly,
literally everybody on this team,
probably with the exception of Austin Nunez.
Like he's, I think, doing just about all he can
for a freshman putting in the situation that he can.
Everybody needs to step up.
Even Des had a career high in points last night,
but still shot well below 50%.
Like it was not an efficient shooting night.
DJ Horn, who was supposed to be your second best score
on this team, has disappeared for the last few games.
It has been he essentially got his not roster spot, but like it'll be interesting to see if he still has a starting starting spot this weekend because he did not, he played one minute in the second half and overtime.
Austin Union has got a lot of playing time in favor of him.
It is tough.
Everyone needs to step up a little bit.
So it's easy to blame Hurley and definitely some of the blame belongs on Hurley, but these players also aren't doing getting the job done either.
Yeah.
It's just frustrating because I keep feeling like they like make a feeling like.
couple like progress and then they hit a brick wall and I just want everything to click like
it feels like some things will click but not everything's clicking. I'm like if we could just get
everything to click this would be amazing but they just can't get everything to click so and and I mean
like Shane said it would be it would be better if it was something that you could just be like
all right that's what's going wrong but it's not it seems like every single game it's something
slightly different and they lose or or they make games that they should be winning by a lot more
closer for like different reasons every single time.
Yeah.
So it's definitely frustrating.
But like I said,
we have seen this offense.
We've seen this team and what they are capable of.
Like when they blew out Oregon,
these are two wins that have not aged that well,
but wins over Creighton, Michigan,
who were both supposed to be good teams at the time.
Like we have seen them be a good team,
which is why it is so much more frustrating.
And I feel like last night was a microcosm of that.
Yeah. They were not good.
But at the end, you know, they, well, they were very good at the beginning.
They had a 12 point lead at the very beginning.
and they went 12-0-0 run to start the game.
And then I went away for a few minutes.
I came back and they were losing by like 10.
You're not allowed to leave anymore.
I had no idea what was going on.
Turn the game back on, Mary.
Turn it on, Mary.
Yeah, and then they fought back.
Austin Union has hit three of the biggest free throws
that he will probably ever hit in his entire life.
Yeah.
And they gave you hope.
They were back.
And they're like, it's no way.
There is no way they come out flat in overtime after what their freshmen just did for that.
And they sure is hell did.
So it's incredibly.
frustrating, but you got to take some
solace in the fact that you've seen this team be good and you know
that they can be. And now they are in a stretch of their schedule where they have
a lot of teams that they should be able to beat. So hopefully they can kind of get back on
the right track. Fingers crossed.
Travis Young and AZ Cards Nerd 11. Check out
our timestamps in our description. You can go back and catch
all of our stuff on the Sean Payton, Michael
Bidwell, Brian Flores, head coach stuff.
Underdog Fantasy.
Park Park.
Owoo.
Rough, rough.
Barkty bark, bark, bark, bark.
Underdog Fantasy, Sean.
Yeah, it is.
It's electric.
Boogie, boogie.
Let's go, Mac.
Let's fucking go.
Let's go.
We had a twin moment.
I literally love that.
That just happened on air.
But it's amazing.
We talk about it every week.
You know, year-long fantasy did not end well for us.
We're more daily fantasy people and the best place to play daily fantasy is the
underdog fantasy app.
you can do a couple different things.
You can either play, you know, you can do like a daily fantasy draft.
You get a couple friends together, draft players and win money on that.
You can do it on the NFL.
You can do it on the NBA.
You could draft six players with no positional limits, make some money.
Or you can do the pick-in games where you find higher and lowers for your favorite
or least favorite players and decide whether or not they're going to go higher or lower on different totals.
It's a great way to make money.
It's a very fun way to make money.
I'm very interested to see what happens in the NFL playoffs.
Give me the hire on every single Chiefs receivers receiving yards
because the Bengals secondary is cooked
and Eli Apple been talking all this shit
and he's about to get his ass beat by these, by Patrick Mahomes,
Andy reading these receivers, at least I hope so.
Oh, I'm so sorry.
I'm speaking into existence.
Thank you.
But it's really easy to get started on the Underdog Fantasy app.
All you have to do is go to underdog fantasy.com
or download the app, sign up with promo code.
P-H-N-X, an underdog will match your first deposit up to 100 bones.
And in case you didn't know, the exchange rate is one-to-one.
So 100 bones equals 100 U.S. dollars.
So bark-bark, underdog fantasy, get in it.
All right.
Let's round out this temperature check with my favorite thing to talk about.
Baseball.
It's all positive here, baby.
It's all positive on this side.
Baseball season is right around the corner.
And I'm so excited.
I can, like, hear the ball popping in the gloves.
Like, I can smell.
the pine towel.
I literally just got
the fresh cut grass.
You are speaking my language.
The crisp morning.
Oh, baby.
I cannot wait.
Pitchers and captures are poor in like roughly two and a half-ish weeks.
And I am freaking ready for baseball season.
You will never hear me not excited about baseball coming back.
But you know what gets me even more excited for baseball season?
What's that?
When the MLB Pipelines top 100 prospect list comes out.
And there are DVax players all.
Not one.
Not two.
not three but four in the top 100 and three of them in the top 15 oh my good golly miss molly um i'm super excited
about this listen like if you haven't gotten on the diver backs train now is the time get on
it's running over baby this team is about to be so good they were already like mildly competitive
last year, stick with me.
But they're going to be super competitive this year.
There's no stick with me.
They were mildly competitive last year.
They didn't make the playoffs last year.
But they didn't make the playoffs last year.
They were at least they were closer than they've been a while.
They're on the right track.
Like the amount of talent that debuted last year that's going to be on the roster this
year.
And then look at this talent in the farm system.
You guys, look at it.
Second overall.
11th overall.
15th overall.
Fifty-ninth overall.
Like fire me up.
Yeah.
I am so excited about this team and the future that this team has.
Like,
I just cannot wait to watch it.
I think this year is going to be even better than last year was.
And that's saying something because last year was pretty dang good.
And if they can fix their bullpen and their bullpen can keep their shit together for long enough to not blow any more games, like, we're going to be in like some playoff races.
You guys.
Listen, I feel like Copernicus.
He was the one that said the sun was at the center of the solar system, right?
And everyone was looking around him and be like, you're crazy.
This is a heliocentric.
No, no.
Yeah.
No, no, no.
It is heliocentric.
they were saying it's geocentric.
Earth is in the middle.
Why are we doing a science lesson right now?
Let me land.
I feel like Copernicus because he was saying that the sun was at the sun of the universe
and everyone was looking at him like he was a crazy and he was a heretic.
And I'm in the same way.
I've been on this D-back train.
I said last year, I said when the Cardinals were in the middle of their run,
I said when the suns were in the playoffs, the whole time,
you know who the next team is to win a ring.
It's the Arizona Diamondbacks.
And they keep on trucking in the right direction.
While all these teams keep on dealing with all this bullshit and all this turmoil, the debacks are just stay in the course.
Chugga chugga choo-choo-in-al-a-chooing along.
And these young kids are at the center of it.
Like it is why this team is so much fun.
It is why I fell in love with this team.
I was lamenting to Totri and Emma last night.
Lamenting.
Wow.
Okay, I feel like I use a lot of big words sometimes.
It's just what I do.
But like I was I was lamenting to them last night.
I was like, you know, all of the teams that I care about, I was a little frustrated after the Sun Devils loss.
All of the teams I care about suck.
They suck.
They always let me down.
And I grew up a Red Sox fan.
And they were the only team at one.
Wait, let me finish.
They were the only team at one.
And then I gave it up to become a D-BACS fan.
And they don't win.
But now is their time.
They're here.
They're coming for you, whether you like it or not.
I've been saying.
And now the world was going to recognize.
You're better.
I cannot wait.
Corbyn.
Corden Carol, odds on favorite right now on the drafting sportsbook app to win the NL rookie
the year.
Rookie of the year, Corbyn Carol.
Do it now.
You heard it here first.
Before Corbyn Barrow starts burning the MLB alive,
burning ML be alive and the odds become minus odds
because he's going to be the best player in baseball.
Maybe the greatest model time.
Mike Trout who,
Babe Ruth, who.
I don't know why I said who after already saying their full name.
That didn't make a whole lot of sense.
As you can tell,
I am very juiced for the Arizona Diamondbacks in their young prospect.
The PH and X8A Betts podcast called the correct ALMV,
or AL Rookie of the year last year.
Oh.
Well,
they didn't shamed it.
Because I said, who did I say?
Bobby what?
I did say Bobby what, yeah.
Called it last year.
Right in Corby.
Let's go.
Corman, Ricky V.
Get in on.
Yeah, absolutely love to see it.
I'm super excited about this fucking baseball season.
I think they're on the precipice of greatness.
I don't necessarily think that this is the year.
Yeah, they're not one in a World Series ring this year.
But we are knocking on the door step.
And that's not the saying.
Knock it on the door.
We're on the doorstep.
No, but people make that mistake way too often.
You're knocking on the doorstep.
And it's funny because you're just smack in the ground.
Because last night, Shane was like, I'm going to go put a burrito on their door.
And we're like, don't you mean doorstep?
Yeah, dollar in the Red Sox, Sean.
No, but I said.
I'm going to start keeping track.
Charles Wadall Pike, you're in charge of taking a tally.
From this point forward, however many times he says the bills or the Red Sox or the Sabres,
you have to take a tally on the show.
Or Syracuse.
You're going to have to find a new host then because I'm going to be on the street begging for money.
But I know I had said previously that I was waiting for the Red Sox D-Backs series to decide what my fandom was.
I am, I think I'm at the point.
I have sworn off the narcotic.
I am an Arizona Diamondbacks fan.
Nice.
The Red Sox, I will root for them when they are, as long as it doesn't interfere with the debacks, but I am in Arizona.
We absolutely love to hear it.
We used to scroll up a little bit for me.
Shame, poor favor.
Bear down cats saying if it wasn't for the bullpen, we'd be in a playoff hunt.
Absolutely.
They would have made the playoffs last year if their bullpen saved half of the games.
the bullpen are bats were enough.
I a thousand percent agree.
I think that's something that I get frustrated about when I talk about
Damabucks last season is like they were overlooked,
A, because of their record and B,
because of the fact they didn't really have any big name talent on their roster.
But like their record was what it was because the bullpen blew it,
like blew it for them time and time and time and time again.
And if you remove the factor of the bullpen losses out of it,
they are absolutely a playoff team and their bats were enough.
But nobody's talking about that because the bullpen shitted on everything and
ruined it all.
So I definitely agree if they can figure that out.
They're going to be such a good team.
Also, Barrydown Katz saying he's dues for both Debex and Wildcats baseball.
He sounds like my kind of person.
A baseball person is the best kind of person.
I love baseball, but what you all know about ASU softball?
That's what I'm here for.
Softball season, baby.
Doosh, doosh, do, do, do, watch out.
I know I know Sky Harbor was all concerned about their airport situation with the the new coyotes arena.
Club Farrington is what you got to worry about.
Oh my gosh.
They are there are flight.
There is a danger to the planes club Farrington.
All right.
Roll it back in.
Playoffs would be nice first.
Yes.
Definitely don't want to put the card before the horse.
It obviously would be great.
Shout out Charles for the $10.
super chat. Oh, is that real? Yeah. He's going to cover my first few. What do you mean? Is it real?
You're going to cover my first few fines. Um, the Red Sox, Bill's Buffalo, Syracuse finds.
Wow. I appreciate that. Wow. Charles. I'm going to try really hard not to say anymore.
True friend of the program. For my sanity, let's hope he knocks it off because I'm going to strangle him every time he talks about.
Okay. Pedro. Shout out Bill's legend, Von Miller. Pedro saying bullpin was responsible for about 20 games.
We lost last season. I think it was actually more than that. Um, if I remember correctly, it was like in the 30s.
I think three guys were responsible for like 20 games.
Yes.
Like I think like Malanson and two other guys,
I can't remember who were responsible for like blowing 20 games.
Literally if the bullpen had had saved was just average,
league average they would have made the playoffs last year.
Yeah, absolutely.
It's a clear hole because it's not like prospects of the hole.
You clearly have some great young players.
Listen, man, I think this team can make the playoffs this year.
They're not going to win the division because they have the potential for sure.
They're a wild card game.
If you're not on the debacks train,
And if you've checked out for the past like 10 to 5 to 10 years, listen, I don't blame you.
I also would have checked out too.
But now is it time to check back in, check into the DeVax Hotel, ring the bell in the lobby, get the doorman to get your bags inside.
I'll come out.
I was a bellman.
I'll come out in my little hat, which I didn't wear.
Get all the way in and checked into this team because I'm telling you it's going to be an electric factory.
You are not going to want to miss the rise of this greatness.
I think Chris had a comment earlier in the show saying that like they're also just like great young people to like associate your team with.
Like they have so much potential like talent-wise, but also just like humanity-wise.
Like they're just great human beings.
And it's like impossible not to cheer for them or their success, which I definitely agree.
There's a bunch of lovable new guys too.
Like we talk about the young guys too.
Someone had mentioned earlier in the chat.
Gabby Moreno technically is not a prospect anymore.
So that's why he wasn't included in this list.
But I mean, you got a guy that Shane O was familiar with up from Seattle.
obviously Gabby and you get
Lordus Guriel
who I loved as a player
in playing in AAA
Bisons, I'm not going to mention
what city they were based in.
Evan Longoria. He's a great little guy that's likeable.
A star. I mean, not plays like a star.
Kyle Lewis can be the most
slept on pickup of the offseason
if he can somehow get that need.
Yeah, yeah. He showed so much potential
with the Mariners. He was the rookie of the year.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, and this is a team that was desperate for right-handed outfield help because they had a bunch of left.
I was stoked about the Kyle Lewis.
Yeah, yeah.
And it just kind of got, I feel like it swept under the rug a little bit because of the big trade with the Blue Jays.
But that's a very big pickup.
And obviously the injury proneness, but, you know.
Yeah.
And I mean, Pedro says the Longoria signing is so underappreciated.
Even if he's not a contributor, we talk about all these young guys.
Having a veteran who is one and a bunch of different places like him could be invaluable.
Yeah, because you think about the veterans that you have, like bad bum.
What is he doing besides being?
a rodeo clown on the free time. Like he's not providing any value. And also you have a
Sy Young candidate in Zach Gallen as a pitcher. Yes. And like the team, the team is good, man.
They have, they have the pieces. There's a few holes. The team is good. Watch out. Start posting
pictures in D-Back stuff now because no one's going to believe that you were a D-Bax fan. You don't
want to be called out as a bandwagon fan. Because as far as the rest of the world's concerned,
D-BACs fans don't even exist. So if you start posting about your D-Backs fandom after they are
make the playoffs.
They're going to call you a bandwagoner.
Get on or get on.
Baby, like Chris says,
she lives on the train.
She is the DVax Hype train.
So, you know,
be like Chris.
Just get on the Dax Hype train now because it's got to be worth it.
I promise you that.
Chris is the conductor of the Dax hype train.
Also really,
really quickly,
I just want to give a shout out to Mike Hazen.
Like,
he has taken so much unnecessary heat.
And I have never,
ever once wavered from my belief in Mike Hazen
as general manager.
And I just hope a lot,
well,
I hope for a lot of things.
But I really want this to work out
just so anyone to ever
doubted Mike Kaysen can never doubt him again because I've said he has been the man to lead
this team to success for forever and I'm really excited to see that coming to fruition.
How many days until pictures and catchers?
Like two and a half ish weeks.
So like 15, you know what I'm saying?
Something or other.
You cannot wait, man.
Oh, me either.
I also can't wait to take an OGs and get this weekend started.
Oh, geez.
OGs.
You guys, I love talking about OGs, mostly because they make me very happy.
relaxed and honestly I can tell you now that I have tried their strawberries and cream
CBD THC balanced gummy it is hidden it is doing everything I needed to do it is so good and if
you haven't tried it yet you have to go try it it is available now wherever you get your
wherever you go to your dispensary at it is so good I think honestly strawberries and cream is
now my new number one it has dethroned orange cream sickle which is wild because I've been
on the orange cream sickle train you have been the beginning of time
conductor of the of the orange group of training so go out to your local dispensary go find some oGs i highly
recommend the strawberries and cream CBD slash THC one to one ratio uh they call it the happy balance for a
reason you guys it'll make you happy but if you are looking for something else maybe a microdose
they have three milligram options so you can dip your toe in the water they also have sleep gummies
if you are looking for something to help you sleep there's so many options there's so many things
to choose from when you comes to oGs so had your local dispensary and pick them up as always you
must be 21 years or older to enjoy.
I don't think any of you, oh, bubble chain.
I need bubble chain for a second as a beautiful display because we're also going to be talking
about the bad birdie.
If you're going to hit the golf course this weekend, which is finally warming up, thank
God.
It's been so freaking cold in Arizona.
If not this weekend next weekend.
Yeah, it's been freezing in Arizona.
But now it's finally warming up.
It's also almost waste management Phoenix open time.
Oh, you're right.
And if you want to look good out on the course with all the other crazy drunk people at
waste management open, go get some.
bad birdie. Like bad birdie is the best looking golf gear that you could possibly buy. And when you
use promo code a pH NX underscore sports 15, you get 15% off your entire order and who doesn't
love to save money and also look good at the same time. And also party at the waste management
Phoenix Open and get drunk at 6 a. Yeah. I mean, there's a, you know, there's a lot of fits and stuff
at the, wow. Whoa. Waste management Phoenix open. So if you want to stand out, oh, wow, look,
I look not as good as I normally do.
You look much better.
My hat looks really nice, but everything else.
But if you want to stand out at the waist manager feeding the open, you got to get in your bad birdie.
And you know, you mentioned it was cold.
They got hoodies and quarters of them.
If you're one of those people that likes to get out there real early, even in the winner,
bad birdies got it for you.
Pedro saying this is my kind of podcast.
Welcome to the madness, Pedro.
We're here every Friday at 1230, sometimes 1245 if your CEO interrupts to your workday.
This was awesome.
Thank you guys so much for tuning in.
That's a great show.
It was.
I had fun.
This is a vibe.
Everyone in the comments were all the best.
That's what I got really.
I know.
Yeah.
This is the best way to start the weekend.
If you missed any part of the show, you can use our time stance to go back and
rewatch or you can listen to this audio version wherever you get your podcast on Apple, Spotify,
Android, Google, whatever you want.
We got it out there for you.
Me, I will play the podcast for you.
I will sing it to you.
Welcome to the Phoenix Sports Podcast, the musical.
Yes, the musical. But make sure when you do listen to this on an audio format, you give us a five-star review. It really, really, really helps us out more than you can possibly know. Don't forget to hit that like button and subscribe to our YouTube channel. I hope you guys all have a wonderful weekend. Thank you again so much for watching and commenting Charles Wittell Pike, Chris, Pedro, J.N, Paul, Edios. Thank you.
Bear Down Cats. You guys are all the best. Thank you so much for tuning in. Don't forget. We'll see you next Friday at 1230 right here. Bye.
