PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - TPSP: E-Lectric: Arizona Diamondbacks sign Eduardo Rodriguez, Phoenix Suns exit NBA In-Season Tournament

Episode Date: December 8, 2023

After a slow start to free agency, Mike Hazen and the Arizona Diamondbacks finally made a move. LHP Eduardo Rodriguez is coming to the desert as the newest addition to the starting rotation. What does... this move mean for the Snakes and how does this help the D-backs postseason chances? Are there any other moves on the horizon? The Phoenix Suns were bounced from the NBA In-Season tournament by the Los Angeles Lakers following a game full of turnovers and a controversial call by the referees. Kevin Durant also suffered an ankle injury to make things worse. At this point in the season, what have we learnt about the Suns and is there any hope on the horizon? PLUS what is the latest on the Arizona Coyotes arena situation?Join Makayla Perkins for THE Phoenix Sports Podcast!0:00 Intro4:15 Coyotes new arena?19:00 D-backs sign ERod30:00 What's next for the Snakes38:40 Suns eliminated from In-Season Tournament50:00 Suns depth issuesAn ALLCITY Network ProductionSUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsportsPHNX Events: Get your tickets to Suns Takeovers, Coyotes & Suns Watch Parties at BetMGM, and MORE here: https://www.eventbrite.com/o/phnx-560...Desert Financial Credit Union: Open a free checking account online with Desert Financial Credit Union and get $200 in bonuses https://www.desertfinancial.com/200Hero Bread: Get 10% off your first order of Hero Bread at https://www.hero.co/ by using code PHNXEmpire: Schedule a free in-home estimate with Empire Today! All listeners can receive a $350 OFF discount when they use the promo code PHNX. Restrictions apply. See https://empiretoday.com/phnx for details.Gila River Resorts & Casinos: Sign up for Gila River Resorts & Casinos $1,000,000 Big Red’s Showdown! Stay in the game and get rewards; it’s that easy! https://www.gilamilliondollarshowdown...Arizona’s Family Sports: Watch Suns games on Arizona’s Family Sports! Visit https://www.azfamily.com/ and click “SUNS GAMES” for listing information for your area.Fubo: WATCH YOUR FAVORITE TEAMS: https://www.fubotv.com/phnxOGeez!: OGeez! is not your average cannabis-infused gummy. Head on over to https://www.ogeezbrands.com to find out where you can purchase. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly.Gametime: Download the Gametime app, create an account, and use code PHNX for $20 off your first purchase.WYNK Seltzer + THC: Go to https://drinkwynk.com/ and use promo code “PHNX” for 50% off. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly.When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:10 everybody welcome into the phoenix sports podcast you know me it's you girl i'm michaela perkins joined by the one the only damon on the mac that's your new yo yo that's your new producer nickname um you're gonna have to bubble in this show so i'm just giving you a heads up now you have to be prepared for to bubble in oh yeah he's here bubble damon everyone um thank you so much for tuning in we'd like to give a huge shout out, of course, to our friends at OGs Brands, the official sponsor of Flavoring Fridays. OGs is not your average cannabis infused gummy. They absolutely not get out of the park when it comes to flavor and the effects of their
Starting point is 00:00:51 gummies are a total slam duck to. Head on over to OGsbrands.com to see their full lineup and find where you can purchase. It's a Friday. There's so many good vibes happening. I'm super excited for this weekend. And are you going to be taking a trip down to Tucson to see our friends take on the Wisconsin Badgers by chance? I may.
Starting point is 00:01:15 You may do that. You may. I've been telling people, this is my Super Bowl for all the pain and suffering that Wisconsin's caused me in my childhood. Yeah, the UA Wildcats in the Wisconsin Badgers do not get along. That is for sure. That is going to be such a good game. I will definitely be tuning in.
Starting point is 00:01:35 biggest UVA fan in the world right here. Big as UVA in the world in the world right here. I'm a trader. What can I say? If you guys didn't know, we are having a little sale right now on our diehard memberships. If you head on over to go p.hnx.com, you can sign up to be a diehard right now. Our diehard memberships are on sale for $20 off. This is the one and only time this year.
Starting point is 00:01:58 We are going to be doing a diehard membership sale. So if you haven't signed up to be a member yet, you have to do it now. There's no better time to sign up. There's tons of great benefits. You get access to our diehard only Discord, 20% off merch year round, as well as discounts on all of our events, which we've got one coming up in January. That's going to be super fun. You got a free t-shirt.
Starting point is 00:02:17 There's so many reasons to sign up. So go ahead and head on over right now and become a member for just 59. Nine-a-nan. What a steal. I'm excited about all of the new diehards we're adding. We actually have a ton more, which is great. Like, let's just get the fam going, you know? I'm sorry.
Starting point is 00:02:34 I'm sorry, Charles. He's upset at me for joining the U of A bandwagon. Listen, when a team's good, they're good. And U of A is the best team in the country. I don't know if you all know that, but they are number one. Elizabeth understands me. This is why Mack is Queen, yes. To all of my ASU people out there, I'll always be a sun devil.
Starting point is 00:02:54 But, you know, can you blame me for wanting to support a good basketball team? And sometimes a good joke is a good joke. Yeah, yeah. Because it really, really rubs people here. It really, it really pisses people in the office off. I think everybody here is either a Sun Devil or a wildcat. Like, I don't think we have anyone that went to a different college. So the battle lines have been drawn in the office.
Starting point is 00:03:18 I have decided to defect to the enemy sign. And if you know, Michaela, she wants to piss as many people off as possible. I'm honestly just doing it at this point just to get people upset. So don't take anything I say seriously. I just like to be petty and have fun. but there is one thing that you can take seriously, and that is the fact that the Arizona Coyotes, they are zeroing in on some land to build a new arena, which is great news because we have heard literally nothing from this team about what this arena is going to be like for the most part
Starting point is 00:03:53 this entire season, which makes me upset, which makes the fans upset. It makes the director of the NHLPA upset. And so finally, we're getting a little bit of rumblings about where the coyotes might be playing hockey. The coyotes president and CEO Javier Gutierrez told Craig Morgan, aka Ph.N.X. Sports on Tuesday that the team is expected to announce its chosen arena site by the end of this calendar year or shortly after, which it is December 8th, 2023 of our Lord and Savior. So that means we are quickly approaching the end of this calendar year or shortly thereafter. And there has been a ton of speculation about where the coyotes are going to go. A lot of people have been thinking that the Northwest Mesa side is kind of where this team is going to be, which they have been linked to.
Starting point is 00:04:47 The team did sign a letter of intent in August, according to sources, for a site in Northwest Mesa. However, the latest information, according to our very own Craig Moore, Morgan has the team not in Mesa, not in Chandler, not in Gilbert, not in Tempe. Because the residents of Tempe don't want the coyotes. But in northeast Phoenix. And Craig, I feel like is a little kind of behind the scenes. Oh, yes, this is the map. Yeah, this is the map of where the alleged site would be.
Starting point is 00:05:21 So if you are from Phoenix, you are familiar with this, this is north of the 101, all the way like on the north north side of Scottsdale by the desert ridge like a shopping area shopping mall um that's the 101 right there that is circled there's like a little off ramp that's like not complete and then that big parcel of land like right north of that little circle is where allegedly the coyotes are interested in purchasing this land now this land is privately owned so if the coyotes purchase it from the owner they do not have to worry about a public vote because the land does not belong to the public. It belongs to someone who owns it privately.
Starting point is 00:06:00 So the coyotes would basically be able to avoid the entire ordeal of having a city have to vote on whether or not they want the arena to be built there, which was the entire issue with Tempe in case anyone forgot. But Craig took a little trip out to this site. He's like, I feel like Craig is a investigative reporter. And he is going to get the tea no matter where he has to go, where he has to drive. and Craig Morgan took his happy little butt right on up the 101 and took this video for us so you can see what this little piece of land looks like it is barren and desert
Starting point is 00:06:35 because we live in Arizona duh but I don't know about you Damon but that looks like a pretty nice wide open space for a hockey rita yeah maybe a little entertainment district maybe a little hotel maybe a little condos yeah who knows why not I mean the desert ridge outdoor like marketplace shopping mall was like right over there.
Starting point is 00:06:55 So maybe we can kind of just like get a whole nice big entertainment district happening. Make a little compound. Yeah, the coyotes can have a little compound. Obviously, this is not centrally located to say the least. It is very, very north and very, very east, which for our friends out in Glendale and anyone in the southwest part of the valley, I'm very sorry. This is a very far drive for you. this is why I was so irritated with the city of Tempe and the people that lived there who shot
Starting point is 00:07:28 the Irina deal down because the site that the coyotes had picked out in Tempe, the dump, which is still a dump and they have done nothing with, was extremely centrally located. It was basically like the middle point for all of the Phoenix suburbs and it was going to be perfect. Well, we all know that that didn't work out. That's not happening. So the coyotes have been in panic mode trying to find another place to go. And my hope was it was going to be something. a little bit more central than wherever this piece of land is.
Starting point is 00:07:57 I think this is still, like, I feel like this is just Glendale, but like the other side of Phoenix, you know? Like Glendale's out to the west, and then like this is like north east, as far northeast as you can probably get. So to me, this is just like Glendale East, which is a bummer. But it is what it is. Like the coyotes, they, I would rather have the coyotes here than not have the coyotes here at all. So if they are going to have to pick a piece of land in northeast Scottsdale to stay here,
Starting point is 00:08:28 then that's fine. It's convenient for me because I just have to hop on the 51 and then take my little happy butt down there off of the 101 and I'm there. It's closer to me, so that is great. But I definitely feel for the fans that are in Glendale that are in Gilbert and Chandler and like in the southern part of the city. So I mean, I don't really know if it's, going to be the best thing for the coyotes. I wish that time people would have worked out, but bygones are bygones, we've got to let it go. It's obviously not happening.
Starting point is 00:08:59 Let me know in the comments how you feel about this supposed coyotes arena site. I think Phoenix has always obviously been an option for the coyotes. And so I guess it's still considered Phoenix, not Scottsdale. But it'll be interesting to see if that's what happens. I know that I mentioned earlier that the NHLPA was not very happy with the coyotes. and that is because in November, their executive director, Marty Walsh, came out and said that he was really disappointed by the lack of progress that he's seen from the coyotes. He said, quote, I was hoping that we would be further along right now and what they're doing to and what they're going to do next. When we met with them, I went there at the end of the season.
Starting point is 00:09:40 They had promised they were going to work on some stuff. Right now, it's just speculation. There's nothing concrete. And I'd love to see more action. Yes, executive director, Mr. Marty Walsh. I also would like to see more action. So I think obviously I can't confirm, but it feels like the coyotes kind of got a little bit of a kick in the butt
Starting point is 00:09:57 from either the NHLPA or the league. I was like, hey, we haven't heard anything. Like, you guys have plans? Do you want to stay in the state? Are you going to build an arena? Are you not going to build an arena? And even though the league never gave the coyotes a firm deadline, that was like, we need to know by X state
Starting point is 00:10:13 when you are going to announce where your arena is going to be. We've all known that like they can't stay. at Mold Arena forever. It's a 3,500 seat arena. Like the NHL teams are not supposed to be playing in this arena. So I feel like the fans have always wanted to like have, see some actions, get some fire under their butts. But everything has been happening behind closed doors. Apparently the original timeline was that the arena would get announced kind of by the All Star break. But I don't think that that's a good idea. I think we need to know. way sooner than then. But according to sources, this new arena site will allow the coyotes to remain close to the
Starting point is 00:10:56 same construction timeline if the Tempe site had been approved because the Tempe site was a dump and they would have had to take eight months to clean up the dump before they could even break ground on any new construction. Obviously, that fell through and we are still within that eight month window of where they would be cleaning up this dump if the arena had passed. So if they can't if the coyotes can buy this land and get this thing started, they are technically still on the same timeline that they had originally proposed when they wanted to build an arena in Tempe, which is great because we don't want the team to have to exercise the option that they have with Molot Arena. Like the faster that they can get into this arena, the better because I'm so tired of other teams having reasons to dunk on the coyotes. I think it's stupid.
Starting point is 00:11:40 And if you know, you know that I put all my chips in on the table, all the coyotes take. here on Twitter a couple of months ago. So I really would have been upset if the coyotes had left the state. But either way, it seems like there seems to be a fire under their butt now. They seem to be making progress on finding a new site to play, which is great because I don't want the coyotes to leave. I don't think anybody in the state of Arizona wants the coyotes to leave besides maybe the older population in Tempe.
Starting point is 00:12:11 No shade. No tea, no shade. Think about the traffic, Michaela. Yeah. Oh, God. Could you just imagine? Yeah, the 101 is already kind of a disaster. So if you add the traffic that the coyotes are going to add to that, like, section of the 101,
Starting point is 00:12:26 it's going to be a little bit of a disaster. But honestly, like, you can't go anywhere in Phoenix without having it be a disaster, like a traffic disaster. Like, from the hours of 6.30 a.m. until 9 a.m., all the highways are disaster. and then from like 2 p.m. until 6 p.m., the highways are disaster. And so anywhere you put an arena on any of the highway off of any of the highways in Arizona, it's just going to be a cluster F. Like there's no way to avoid that. It was going to be a cluster F in Tempe.
Starting point is 00:12:55 It's going to be a cluster F off the 101. But that's just because there's so many people in Arizona and they're already, like, the roadways are already shitty. So sorry to everyone that lives in the northeast section of the valley. if this arena site obviously goes through, you're going to have a nice little traffic nightmare to deal with whenever the coyotes are at home. But it'll be worth it because you get to go watch the coyotes play.
Starting point is 00:13:18 And that particular area is near the ice den, which is where the coyotes practice. It's near Paradise Valley and kind of like the wealthier part of Phoenix, which is where a lot of their season ticket holders are, where a lot of their fan base is because obviously hockey is a little bit more economically appealing to the wealthy. So they're closer to their fan base in that aspect. So I guess it's a win for them in that regard.
Starting point is 00:13:47 Apparently a lot of their season ticket holders are over there. But like Daniel said in the comments, the 101 is probably the lesser of two evils. I definitely agree. The 202 is very central highway system. That would be a nightmare. So it is only affecting the small corner up there. Sorry everyone that lives over there. But hey, you get to watch the counties play hockey.
Starting point is 00:14:07 that is great. I'm excited. I hope that they do move quickly and they announce where they're going to be and they purchase land. There's still a small issue of the tax abatements that the team is hoping for, which is going to be an issue because then that brings in a bunch of red tape and a bunch of Lauren Coobies of the world and unions and whatever. So that's going to be interesting to see how they navigate that. But either way, I just want the coyotes to act quickly. Purchase a piece of land, announce where they're going to be so we can finally put the relocation, rumors to rest and everyone in Houston in Kansas City and Quebec can suck it, okay? Coyotes are not coming to your sad little cities. They're staying in Arizona. I said what I said. You know what else
Starting point is 00:14:51 is great about Arizona? Burrito Express is here. Oh my God, the best burritos in the valley are made at Burrito Express. They've got multiple locations throughout the valley on like the coyotes who don't have any except for Intembee. Their customer service is always. on point. Their food is always delicious. They are big supporters of ASU athletics, which, hey, I can't relate. But we love that for them. So head on over to your local Marine Alex Perez. Why are you laughing? Because even like, I'm obviously a U of A guy, but even when I do my burrito express ad reads on bets, I am like, they support ASU athletes. We appreciate them for that. And you're literally a ASU grad and you're like, can't relate. Can't relate. I'm kidding, you guys. It's just bit. Don't come from me. Don't cancel me.
Starting point is 00:15:39 Sun Devil for life. Thank you so much for Brito Express for being great partners. Your burritos are to die for. I ingest at least eight salsas per burrito. So your salsas are obviously really good too. You can grab a burrito and follow Burrito Express on Twitter
Starting point is 00:15:54 at Burrito EXP. They also are great they have a great Twitter account. Shout out to the person that manages their Twitter account because they constantly come to my defense whenever I'm in a Twitter beef, which honestly having a burrito company come to your defense and Twitter beefs is iconic. I'm pretty sure it's Angel.
Starting point is 00:16:14 Yeah, no, it's Angel. Yeah, Angel is just constantly having my back and fighting for me and, like, taking my side no matter what. And I think it's so funny that a burrito company is involved in Twitter beef and taking my side. Yeah, a rider dies on Twitter. I'm telling you what. Also, I want to give a shout out to Shady Ray's. The future's so bright for the coyotes.
Starting point is 00:16:33 You're going to have to wear some sunglasses when you're talking about them. They built sunglasses that are built to last. They have premium polarized shades. They are an independent sunglasses company with a world-class product. They are just as good as any of the high-end designer expense of sunglasses. They've got durable frames, extremely clear optics for all of your outdoor adventures. Shady rays offer the most insane protection in all of eyewear. Every pair of sunglasses is backed by lost and broken replacements.
Starting point is 00:17:00 If you lose or break your pair, even on day one, they told us they will send you a brand new pair. No questions asked. They have your back long after you purchase. You can shop the entire collection at their brand new location at Kirling Commons, a full stop shot for all things, Shady Ray's. And if you don't love your Shady Rays, you can exchange them for a new pair or return them for free within 30 days. There's no risk when you shop. Their team always has your back.
Starting point is 00:17:22 And exclusively for our listener, Shady Raise is giving out their best. You love the season. Go to Shadyrays.com and use code P.HNX for 50% off two or more pairs of Polaroys sunglasses. is try yourself the shades that are rated five stars by over 250,000 people. Max Arnie is in the comments. I love to see it. Hey, Connor. Hey, Charles.
Starting point is 00:17:44 Hey, Elizabeth. Hello, Kenny. He doesn't go to many. Kenny says he doesn't go to many Yotes games, but you will see him at footprint or chase. That's fair, honestly. I can understand that you wouldn't go to many coyotes games, especially now. Considering tickets are very expensive at Molod Arena. There's our diving vacs.
Starting point is 00:18:02 Guys, we have baseball stuff to talk about. Max is just standing outside of the studio and it's really throwing me off. And I wish you would just leave. He's being disruptive and careless, which is Max's ML. I know. You guys, it is December and we have baseball stuff to talk about, which makes my heart so happy because baseball is my absolute favorite thing in the whole world. And despite the Diamond Max convincing that everybody pretty much, that Mike Hazen was sleeping through the free agent period.
Starting point is 00:18:36 They did a move. They did something. During winter meetings, Diamondbacks decided to acquire left-handed pitcher Eduardo Rodriguez. He was a free agent, but he was previously with the Detroit Tigers. And they inked him to a four-year, 80 million dollar contract that has a vesting fifth-year option, which can push the contract to about a $99 million contract total value. And there are some additional incentives on the way as every contract normally has.
Starting point is 00:19:07 So what are we getting in this South Paw? Go ahead and throw up his stat graphic for me, Damon. In the 2023 season, Eduardo went 13 and 9 with a 3.3 ERA. He pitched 152 and 2 thirds innings. He recorded a 1.15 whip. He averaged about eight strikeouts, per nine innings and he walked 2.8 batters per nine innings. Pretty good stats if you ask me.
Starting point is 00:19:41 I think obviously he is going to be the third pitcher in the rotation behind Zach Gallen and Merrill Kelly. The I mean, I think the Diamondbacks just needed help in their rotation like desperately bad. despite having just great performances from Zach Kelly, Marrow, Zach Kelly, I just combined the two. There's a new person on the time max. Despite having great performances from both Zach Allen and Merrill Kelly all season long,
Starting point is 00:20:11 the two pitchers, despite having some struggles along the way, they combined for a 3.39 ERA across 64 starts. The overall rotation ranked 21st in the main. last season, even having Merrill Kelly and Zach Gallen, they overall rotation posted a 4.67 ERA. So obviously the two consistent pitchers were the only two that really did anything helpful. The other three, well, I guess there were a multitude of just besides not just not the other three. But the entire starting rotation obviously needed help is what I'm trying to say.
Starting point is 00:20:54 And this is definitely going to help them. He is a left-handed pitcher, which is great because we needed a left-handed pitcher desperately. The last one we had, God, damn. And sent off into retirement a little bit early, even though he was still collecting a check, a big one, for that matter. I'm just excited that they got some help. I think this is going to be huge for the debacks to have a really great, consistent third arm in their starting rotation. him. The only downside is that he can be a little bit injury prone. He had a ruptured poley tendon, gross. Earlier in the 2023 season, he got off to a super fantastic start. He had
Starting point is 00:21:36 that ruptured tendon. It took him a little bit after recovering for about a month to kind of get back up to where he was. So as long as he can avoid rupturing any more tendons, I don't know why that's so gross. I think it's great. I think it's a great move. It's a great value. He was ranked I think 11th out of 50 on a lot of like the top 50 free agent lists. So great value. I think the Diamondbacks were smart in trying to get a third arm from free agency instead of trading for one because I am so scared that the Diamondbacks are going to potentially shoot themselves on the foot by giving away a piece that they shouldn't in a trade.
Starting point is 00:22:17 And so I'm super happy that we obviously acquired him from free agency and not. through trade. But it's great that they have a left-hander in the starting rotation that is not named Madison von Garner. And I'm just stoked that we don't have to just figure out how to relieve Zach Gallen and Merrill Kelly from basically carrying a majority of the workload. And it's going to be great to see what he can provide to the starting rotation. What were your thoughts when he came over, Damon? I think, I mean, so obviously Merrill Kelly, Zach Gowan, you probably have two of the 15 best pitchers in baseball last year. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:22:54 After that, it was just a group of just really, really bad. It was just, it's that meme in Jurassic Park where he takes his glasses off. Jeff Goldblum and he's looking at the pile of shit. Yeah. Yeah, that's basically what the rest of the rotation was for most of the year. Yeah. Breinin fought stepped up in the playoffs, like what we see from him. Definitely a fourth or fifth guy, though.
Starting point is 00:23:14 And I think there's a lot of potential there for sure. But it was nice to get a nice, steady middle of the rotation guy. who can help spell some innings for us, not, you know, be Zach Davies or Mad Bum. Essentially, just it's nice to have someone who's not named Madison Bumgarner or Davies. Yeah, or Zach Davies, for sure. My God. If I had to watch either of them pitch for much longer, I was going to lose my mind. Zach Davies was terrible.
Starting point is 00:23:41 So I agree. I'm just super stoked that the Diamondbacks got another solid arm. Hopefully they're not done, and we'll talk about that in a little bit. Zona, Tucson 93. Zona. This was a fantastic move. I agree. I think it's great value.
Starting point is 00:23:56 I don't think they overpaid, which is another huge thing about this. That made me so happy because if you know the Diamondbacks, they like to overpay pitchers. Zach Allen, Madison Bumgarner, looking at you. I mean, not Zach Ellen. What, Zach Rinky? Zach Grinky, Madison Bumgarner, looking at you. So I'm glad that they didn't overpay. I think they paid him the perfect amount of money for what he's worth.
Starting point is 00:24:17 He is 30. So he is a little bit on the older side. He's close to Merrill's age. But like I said, I think he was one of the best left-handers available. They needed the left-handed pitcher, and they got one who happens to be pretty good. So as long as he can avoid injury, I think this is a great, great, great pickup. But that's not my favorite thing about him. You know what my favorite thing is about Mr. Rodriguez?
Starting point is 00:24:41 He is a petty king. And let me show you why. when he was with the Tigers, other tweet in a couple years ago, the Tigers were reportedly supposed to trade him to none other than the Los Angeles Dodgers back in August of this season. And Eduardo Rodriguez just so happened to have a 10-team, no trade clause. And guess who was on that list? The Los Angeles motherfucking Dodgers.
Starting point is 00:25:11 So guess what he did? He said, you know what? No. I'm not going there. And when the media asked him, you know, why did you not want to go to the Dodgers? Like, they're such a good team. He was like, I don't really want to move my family there. It's really far away from the like the Midwest slash East Coast where all my family is located.
Starting point is 00:25:29 It just really wasn't for me. And then in the off season, he decides to sign with the Diamondbacks, who's like a five-hour drive away from the Dodgers. So clearly, location was not the issue. But you know what was the issue? The World Series between the Red Sox and the Dodgers, because he used to pitch for, he was a pitcher for the Red Sox when the Red Sox were playing the Dodgers in the World Series. And our friend Gambo had a funny little tweet that went out. He said one thing I think everyone will like about Eduardo Rodriguez is that he very much dislikes the Dodgers. That was the main reason for vetoing the trade to L.A. at the deadline.
Starting point is 00:26:09 It goes back to the 2018 World Series when he was with Boston. and he simply did not want to play for them. He's just like me. Eduardo Rodriguez, I love you. I love you so much. Welcome to Arizona. You are a diving back through and through. The fact that you said, fuck the Dodgers.
Starting point is 00:26:28 I'm not going to play there. Literally just out of spite and the fact that you don't like them from the 2018 World Series, Petty King. I love you. I am so obsessed with you already and you haven't even thrown a pitch
Starting point is 00:26:42 in a Diamondbacks uniform, but I don't care because the enemy of my enemy is my friend. And even though I fucking hate the Red Sox too, I think it is iconic that he did not want to go play for the Dodgers. And now you're in an Arizona Diamondbacks uniform and I stand. As soon as that team shot opens, I'm going down there and I'm getting it in a one of me for Arkansas jersey solely for the fact that he vetoed a trade to the Dodgers who back in August were looking pretty damn good. And he was like, you know what?
Starting point is 00:27:11 no I don't want to go play for him I'm not going to go to a team that has the potential to the world series go to the world series and I guess it was a good thing he didn't because you know who got swept the Dodgers and you know who they got swept by in the playoffs the Arizona Diamondbacks so Eduardo Rodriguez welcome to the Valley baby I think it is so iconic that is so iconic that you did not want to go there I'm obsessed with that entire storyline okay that was my I hate LA rant for the day it's iconic are you kidding there's not a lot of baseball players that turned down the Dodgers yes I'm sorry Yeah, that's what I'm saying, especially, okay, the tigers, although they were better this year, the Tigers were not going to make it to a World Series. The Dodgers had a pretty damn good chance. So not only did he turn down the chance of making it to a World Series, if all things had went well, the Dodgers would probably pay him a heck of a lot more money than we can afford. So just iconic moves all around. I don't know many athletes that take a, that turn down an opportunity to play for a championship,
Starting point is 00:28:08 just because I don't like the organization. Which I can't blame him because who likes the Dodgers besides Dodgers fans. He really, this is real hater energy. Yeah, I love it. I know. And the thing is, is me and you probably are the two biggest hater energy people in this office. In the world.
Starting point is 00:28:24 Yeah, that's why we work. That's why we get along so well. It might be a Michaela Damon, Eduardo Rodriguez, like a club. Yeah. Just we're going to make a club. Eduardo, you don't know that this is happening, but you're going to be in mine and Damon's club. And it's literally just the fuck L.A.
Starting point is 00:28:39 club. And that's all we do. that's all we talk about and that's all we live for. So welcome to the club, friend. You petty king, I love you. The Diamondbacks are doing something that they haven't done before, though, and that is spend a lot of money collectively across the board and not just on one player. So the Diamondbacks are currently on the hook for $134 million in salary commitments for the
Starting point is 00:29:05 2024 campaign. That barely beats their all-time record. their all-time high payroll record of $131 million back in 2018. Ken Kendrick is opened up the money bags. Daddy Kenny was like, here you go. Let's spend some money this season. And the best part about it is I don't think they're done yet because the dialects have been linked to another picture, Lucas Gialito,
Starting point is 00:29:31 Seth Lugo, Justin Turner. I don't know how I feel about that. I'm a petty queen and I don't like Justin Turner. And. But with Justin Turner, I have to say, Think about how mad it would make Dodgers fans. Yeah. Well, the Dodgers fans are already so mad about the whole Eduardo Rodriguez thing.
Starting point is 00:29:47 I googled his name. And like 80 different Dodger fan club articles popped up about like, why didn't he not want to come to the Dodgers? Why did he want to sign with a diamond bag? So they're already in a tizzy. Because he has some class. Yeah. Yeah, because he's not a sellout.
Starting point is 00:30:04 And he doesn't sell his soul to the devil, Satan, aka the Dodgers. He decided, you know what? I'm going to keep my soul. I don't want to sell it to Satan. So I guess if Justin Turner coming here makes Dodgers fans even more mad than fine, I'll bite the bullet. As long as the end goal is making Dodgers fans mad, I will accept. That is the only condition.
Starting point is 00:30:24 And the other person that they're linked to, which makes me extra super excited, is J.D. Martinez, friend of the program, Mr. Martinez, has been here and has worn a Diamondback's jersey in the past. I do believe he was on that 2018 roster that is now currently getting outspent by the diamondbacks. I would love nothing more than to see J.D. Martinez come back here. I think he's still got it. I think he'd be a fantastic DH option. And I think out of all of the things that the diamondbacks still need, because let's go through the list, they need at least one more bullpen pitcher. I think that they should prioritize getting at least one more starting pitcher, because
Starting point is 00:30:58 if you're going to let Brandon Fott start in this rotation, you definitely need one more. You need one more pitcher. So I think they need one more starting pitcher. I think they need one more bullpen piece. They definitely need a power bat. And I know that they got a third baseman, but no offense, Eugenio. I'm not necessarily stoked. I hope you proved me wrong. He's going to be stable. He's going to be stable third baseman, which is great because that position has had a lot of instability. Why don't you like Soros? I think there were better options available. He's pretty consistent. This is what I'll say about him. Yeah, the consistency is what I was saying, is like he is a consistent third baseman.
Starting point is 00:31:37 He is just, you know, steady. And they need some steadiness at that position because they haven't had a lot of stability at third base in a long time. Since 2018 or since 2017, Eugenio Suarez has over 80 RBI every year except for the shortened season, except for one year where he got 79.
Starting point is 00:31:56 So if he's batting in 80 runs for us this year, I'll be happy. Yeah, I'll take it for sure. But I also think they need a power bat. So power bat starting pitcher, another bullpen. piece anything else yeah yeah one more pitching depth backup catcher designated hitter and then maybe an outfielder yeah backup catcher and outfielder is a pretty low on my list I
Starting point is 00:32:18 think another starting pitcher power bat bullpen piece in that order um so I don't know how I feel about Lucas Golito because he struggled a little bit at the end of the season there but I don't think the diamond backs are going to be like big time spenders like I don't see them going after some of the bigger names on the market just because I think even though Daddy Kenny has been like, here you go, here's some money. I don't think he's going to be like, blank check, have fun, spend whatever you want. I do think there is a limit to the money that he is choosing to spend. And I think we're kind of getting close to that limit. So if we pick up J.D. Martinez, for example, I think that's going to definitely take away some of the options that we would have at the starting
Starting point is 00:32:58 pitching position or a bullpen piece, which is fine with me because if you're going to, talk about another pitcher, it's obviously going to be your fourth or fifth one. So I don't think you need to go out and get the biggest name ever to have a fourth or fifth pitcher. I think you've got three incredible starting pitchers. And so I don't think you spend that money on a starting pitcher. You definitely need one, but you don't need an incredible one. So I think I would rather them spend money on like a JD Martinez or Justin Turner to get some help in their lineup because I think they still need it. So it'll be interesting to see what they do. New report as of like a couple hours ago that they're interested in Jorge Soler as well.
Starting point is 00:33:34 Ooh, I like that. I like that a lot. That would be good. That would be good. I definitely like that too. I would prefer him over just internet. Anyways. I'm just hobby that the Diobax are doing something,
Starting point is 00:33:48 and they're doing something that is smart. They're not shooting themselves off. They're not cutting their nose off to despite their face or shooting themselves in the foot by overspending on older players or trading away key pieces to get bigger names here. I am so steadfast and I believe so hard in Mike Hazen and his timeline and his vision for this team. And I think this offseason is proving that he's still in control. He still knows what he's doing.
Starting point is 00:34:13 And I'm really happy with it they're doing. Do you agree, Damon? Yeah. I think, I mean, they have obviously a good core in place and a lot of players locked up on decent salaries. So I just think that it's good that they're showing that they're serious about spending and wanting to win at a high level. level. They have a lot of room for adding into the salary cap and they have been doing it thus far. So just let's get these last couple of pieces. I do think that they're, I think Ken is probably just like, all right, let's take it easy, you know. I think he'll sign one more big guy. Like J.D.
Starting point is 00:34:46 Martinez or. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. I think that's that that's max. Yeah. After that, it's pretty much over. Yeah. I think the, I think Kenny's got room for one more and then you're like, all right, we're done. Okay. There's my pocketbooks a little bit too much. Um, so I'm excited to see what they do. My preference is that they spend that last big player on a bat and not a pitcher, but we'll see what happens. We'll see. Want to give it another shout out to our friends at OGs because they have of course the sponsor of the show, a sponsor of Flavoring Fridays, but they're also just a fantastic partner in general. And if you are in the market for some amazing THC or CBD infused gummies, OGs has got to be the gummy of your choice. They are so delicious. They are scratch made right here
Starting point is 00:35:27 in Arizona, which I don't know about you, but I prefer to support local and OGs is as local as it gets. They have incredibly flavored gum, incredible, incredibly favorite flavored gummies. I'm having trouble speaking English today. The strawberries and cream, happy balance, which is a blend of THC and CBD are my absolute favorite to go to. I also love their three milligram mini gummy options because they just give you like that little nice buzz that you might need to get through the end of the long week. But the orange cream sickle, Stitiva Gummies are always a great fallback option. Wherever you're at in your journey, you can always add OGs along with you.
Starting point is 00:36:05 I highly recommend them. They are delicious and effective. They are just a slam dunk all around to learn more about OGs G's Gummies and where you can find them, head on over to OGsBrand. Also, thank you to Healer River, who is one of our newer partners here at PHNX. At Healer River Resorts and Casinos, no one does it better. They offer an authentic and immersive experience with a lot of, an unprecedented level amount of entertainment and excitement that you won't find anywhere else in the desert.
Starting point is 00:36:32 They just set a high bar. Their state of the art gaming floor has over 800 slot machines, 15 blackjack tables, live table games, not to mention Arizona's largest casino sports book. Shout out to BetMJMJP Sportsbook at the Healer River Wild Horse Pass Casino. They have all types of great entertainment and you just got to check it out and you have to go. You have to see it to believe it. They also do concerts down at the Wild Horse Pass casino. I am going to one tonight.
Starting point is 00:36:59 I am super excited. My friends at Healer River hooked me up with tickets. So make sure you're following me on social media because I'll be posting updates from the concert. If you haven't been to a concert yet, you have to check it out. I went to one last year, actually, with the same friend that I'm going to with tonight's concert. And every time we go, it's just such a fun experience. They've got dining options on site.
Starting point is 00:37:19 They've got bars on site. You can gamble before a concert. You can gamble after a concert. It's just so much fun. There's really no better place to catch a concert in Arizona. then at the Wild Horse Pass casino and hotel you do you at Healer River resorts and casinos visit play at heila.com for more details all right there in two weeks for the Cardinals home watch party at the top golf swing suite for 49ers Cardinals yes meet us out there at Healer if you don't have plans yet absolutely it's at the top golf swing seat you can swing a golf club and watch football it's like every guy's fantasy you know who doesn't want to do that so If you don't have plans yet for the Cardinals 49ers game, go check out our watch party.
Starting point is 00:38:02 All right. We got to end this on an interesting note. Phoenix Suns. Ah. It's so frustrating. I wish I had better things to say, but I don't. So we're just going to get into it. The Phoenix Suns lost to the Lakers in semifinals for the NBA in season tournament.
Starting point is 00:38:23 And it was a game. It was a, I mean, it was like competitive in the fact. that they were close for the most part outside of the first half. They were trading blows. It was a heavy hitter, heavyweight title championship type of game. But the Sons just couldn't get it done and they shot themselves in the foot along the way. And here is the stats of that game. And I'll show you what I'm talking about here in a second.
Starting point is 00:38:51 The turnovers. The turnovers, the turnovers, the turnovers. If you see, the Sons decided to turn the ball over 22. times compared to the Lakers who just turned the ball over 10 times. And that is basically what determined the outcome of this game. We'll talk about the controversial calls in a second, but the Sons wound up taking 27 fewer shots than Los Angeles because they committed 22 turnovers as a team and they gave up 21 offensive rebounds. And when you are playing the Lakers, you can't do that. So regardless of what happens with the refs or a controversial
Starting point is 00:39:27 call are not when you are shooting less and you are turning over more you're just not going to win a basketball game that is kind of just a simple math and they didn't they lost to the lakers and they are not going to biggest for the in-season tournament and even though they decided to turn the ball over a bunch and didn't necessarily play their best basketball the referees did not really help either uh there were two controversial calls i won't really talk about the first one because it's been confirmed that that was the correct call. And there was a rule that stated something about under two minutes in a game, whatever, we're not even going to get into it.
Starting point is 00:40:06 The thing that we are going to talk about, though, is the fact that there was 11 seconds left in the game. And Kevin Durant scored to bring the sons within two points. So it was a one score game. The Lakers inbounded the ball to Austin Reeves. And rather than foul right away, Phoenix was going to try to play like the steel or like the eight second violation card. Reeves decided to stumble a little bit
Starting point is 00:40:31 and he bumped the ball from Booker and then chaos kind of broke loose Booker Adjurant swarmed him Reeves lost control of the ball there was a loose ball and it looked like Grayson Allen was about to recover it then LeBron James
Starting point is 00:40:48 started losing his mind trying to get a timeout called and they called the timeout the ref sure did but they called a timeout without seeing, I guess, that Reeves did not have control of the ball when LeBron James was losing his mind trying to get a timeout called. And if you didn't know, the team has to have control of a ball for a timeout to be called by that team.
Starting point is 00:41:19 It was frustrating because that could have changed the outcome of the game for sure. If they didn't get a timeout there, there's a chance that the sun score and tie the game or even hit a three and win the game. And it just, it didn't work out that way because the lay timeout, as Lojo Phoenix likes to call him, decided to do what LeBron James does best and leverage his, in my opinion, stature in the game to get a timeout called. even though when you watch it live, there's no evidence that Reeves had the ball in control when LeBron James was calling the timeout. Like it's an impossible if you're watching it live to determine for sure that he has the ball in control. It definitely should have been a turnover and a game time bucket for Phoenix. Like that's just what it is.
Starting point is 00:42:11 But instead, LA got their timeout and they made one of two free throws and the sons were out of it at that point. It was a critical call. a critical call in the final seconds of a one possession game for something that matters, because this just wasn't like a regular, like, season game. This was an in-season tournament game at Determine who was going to make it to the next stage of the in-season tournament. And the league officials totally botched it. Totally botched it.
Starting point is 00:42:39 You know what's interesting about that play looking back on it is Reeves is totally trying to foul bait there because he thinks that they're going to like intentionally foul. So he throws his body into Booker and that's how he loses the ball. Yeah. Obviously a no call from the refs there, and it was the correct decision. Yeah. I mean, the game had been physical the whole game, so you can't decide to call it at that moment when that's how they had been playing all game. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:43:01 And I think from my perspective, that's good officiating. Yeah. It's like Reeves is trying to draw a foul. You are not giving him the benefit of the doubt there. And then meanwhile, you have some other guy on the other side of the court who can't do such basic things as determine whether possession is had when he calls for a timeout. Yes. It's like the two just, it's the two drastic differences in officiating on the same officiating crew. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:43:26 At the same moment. Do you think if it wasn't LeBron trying to call a time out, they wouldn't have given it to him? Yeah, probably. I mean, I think it's definitely like LeBron stature, like you said, gives him a little bit of benefit of the doubt there. Right. That's what I'm saying. The NBA officiating released a report that said that was the right call because after going through instant replay and frame by frame, according to the least, league. He did have a little bit of control with the ball against his leg or some shit. I don't know. I think
Starting point is 00:43:54 that's bullshit. I think when unless like if you're watching a live, which you are, there's no way to make that call. There's not. Like they can only say that that was the right call because they have slow mo frame by frame replay. But when you're in the game and that's happening live, you can't make that call. Like you can't. I'm sorry, but that's just egregious. The last two minute report said that it was the correct decision. I just don't agree with it. I don't agree with it either. Because the only reason is, they said it was a right decision was because they got to go back, watch it, go frame by frame and see that there was one frame within that replay where he had his hand on the ball, like, against his leg or something. But having your hand on the ball doesn't mean that you have possession.
Starting point is 00:44:32 Yeah, exactly. And I'm like, even though that like it ended up being the right call according to your frame by frame replay, what I'm saying is, it's like it wasn't the right call in the moment because it was too controversial. It was not Stentonstone. It wasn't concrete. To the naked eye without replay, it didn't look like he had control. And you have to go based off of that. And if they had been watching it and it hadn't been LeBron James trying to create a kerfuffle and call for a timeout, I don't think they would have called it. And then we wouldn't be all sitting here upset because it wouldn't have been called a timeout and it shouldn't have been. And I think that the only reason that they're saying that was the right call is now because
Starting point is 00:45:05 they can go back and watch it frame by frame and find one frame where it looks like he might have control over it. So it's just frustrating like this. I mean, I could go on for hours about LeBron James, but I'm not going to because we don't have that much time. in the comment saying he's getting what he wants. Yeah, I mean, LeBron gets what LeBron wants. So just unfortunate that that's kind of what the game came down to. Obviously, the Sons could have avoided being in that position if they hadn't turned the ball over 22 times, if they had shot better, if, you know, X, Y, and Z. Like a game should never come down to one play in this instance. And the Sons definitely did it to themselves. So I'm not trying to make excuses for the Sons because
Starting point is 00:45:45 they definitely did not play their best basketball by far. Um, but I'm also saying that the reps need to do better in these types of high leverage situations for games that matter. I think those two things can exist at the same time, don't you? The sun should have played better and the ref shouldn't have fucked that call up. The sons aren't very good. No. Like they're just not playing good basketball.
Starting point is 00:46:05 They have a hand. I mean, they have a, you can name all the good players off the top of your head. Like there needs to be guys to step up a little bit more. Eric Gordon needs to play better. Yeah. Nirkage needs to be more consistent. Uh, I mean, you're paying like i've been talking about this last couple of days you're paying essentially
Starting point is 00:46:22 six players yeah you're paying durant booker beale grace and allen eric lordin urchin uce of nircich no one else on the team is is like making like a significant amount of money yeah so you need those six guys to be your core and to perform consistently and you're not getting that no it's frustrating for sure um there's definitely flaws in the team outside of just like a poor refereeing decision oh yeah for sure and i think it's fair to say that they shot themselves in the foot and they and play their best basketball and the refs fucked them over. They shouldn't have been in that position, but they were and the refs didn't help. So we'll just leave it at that.
Starting point is 00:46:56 We weren't the only ones that were upset about it, though. There were some tweets going around the internet. Mikhail Bridges chimed in and said, what was that? There was another tweet from someone that you wouldn't expect. You can go ahead and throw it on the screen if you wouldn't mind. Do you have it? Possibly? Nope.
Starting point is 00:47:12 Okay. Never mind. Damon. This is your first? No, no. It's okay. I'll just tell you what it's. was Skip Bayless tweeted and said the suns just got screwed. Yeah, they did. Never thought I would be
Starting point is 00:47:24 agreeing with Skip Bayless of all people, which it was funny because then Nurkich quote tweeted and said, never thought this MF or would be right. L.O.L. Yeah, I think that was how everybody in Phoenix felt trying to somehow reason agreeing with Skip Baylis for once in our lifetime. So we weren't the only ones that were upset about it. The whole internet was on fire. Literally like seconds after the game ended, Devin Booker took a screenshot of that play and put it on his Instagram story with like the thinking emoji. Like he wasted no time getting to the internet and saying like, what the heck was that? Everyone was upset about it and I think rightfully so. I think it was a bullshit call.
Starting point is 00:48:02 And it kind of screwed the suns and now we don't get to watch the suns in the in season tournament, which is also a bummer. I have thoughts on the in season tournament, which I don't know if today is the best day to go through all of them. So we can save that for another show. but the Sons will no longer be playing for the in-season tournament title, which it is what it is. There are a lot of good teams that aren't playing for that title. So take that for what you will. I don't know if you guys put a lot of stock into it. I'm not going to make the biggest deal out of it because I don't think the Sons would have won the tournament anyways,
Starting point is 00:48:32 because like David said, the Sons are not a good basketball team right now, which when you have Devin Bucker and Kevin Durant on a team, I would never expect myself to say that. but that is what is happening. This is what Devin Booker had to say after the game and loss of Lakers. You know, we're not asking for favoritism, just a fair chance. And even before the game and the pregame huddles as a team, we come in and be like, we understand what type of game it's going to be. Just keep playing all the way through it.
Starting point is 00:49:02 We continue to play uphill battle the whole time and, you know, to watch it unfold like that stuff. They came into the game knowing that this is going to be the type of game that they're going to get. And that's definitely the game that they got. And I mean, Booker said it. Like, they're not asking for favoritism. They're just asking for a fair chance.
Starting point is 00:49:20 I don't think the reps were fair to the sons. But also, like I said before, the sons didn't help themselves or do themselves any favors by the type of basketball that they were playing that game. It's frustrating. The refs sucking is like a tale is oldest time. I don't think we're ever going to get a game where we're like, wow, the refs did a really great job tonight. So you win some, you lose some. The Sons are just disappointing overall as a basketball team so far. And like I said, I don't even think they would have made it very far or won the in season tournament anyways because the basketball they're playing is just not it.
Starting point is 00:49:54 And to add insult to injury, literally, the things just got worse for the Sons because Katie has a spring ankle now. He has already been ruled out for tonight's game against the Sacramento Kings. Sons can't catch a break, man. Bradley Bale's still out. Devin Booker has been in and out with injury all season long. is injured with an ankle injury now. I just am starting to get really disheartened. I said on last week's podcast, I wasn't going to push the panic button yet.
Starting point is 00:50:26 I'm pushing the panic button now. This week, that game, that loss of the Lakers is the first time I reached for the panic button and wanted to press it. I'm just so disappointed. Like, it's so hard to get my hope so high. And I know that I shouldn't do this because this is like the anthem of Arizona sports fans everywhere. I was just so looking forward to this season. I thought this was it for the suns. I felt invincible going into the season. Like I know, you know, we have to go through a really hard Western
Starting point is 00:50:55 conference. The Nuggets are waiting for us. Like the Lakers were going to be better. Like I knew all of that was coming, but I still was so excited to watch this team. And I had such high hopes. I mean, how can you not when you look at the roster on paper? And to see how the season has played out is just so disheartening. Obviously, injuries are something that you can. can't really necessarily control outside of doing your best to just train and prepare your body to play in rigorous situations. But God, like the suns just can't catch a break. And, you know, even when you have people that are injured, like you have to have other people that step up in that time. And we haven't had other people step up in that time. So that also makes things worse because
Starting point is 00:51:38 obviously it's going to be hard to win games when you're missing Devin Booker and Bradley Beale on any given night but that shouldn't i mean i i just it's frustrating like i know that they've remained competitive and they're not like in the last half of the standings yet but it's just so so so frustrating and there's so many things that we haven't seen play out with the suns yet that we still have to see play out that i think timing wise is just not going to work in our favor the fact that our big three haven't played a minute of basketball together yet in the regular season is alarming. There's a lot of team chemistry that hasn't been built.
Starting point is 00:52:14 There's a lot of people that are sitting on the bench that haven't provided any support or help. Like Damon said, outside of the, I mean, even the six players that are getting paid big contracts, like they really haven't done a lot or enough to make me have confidence in this team. I don't think there's really that much of a next man up mentality that I've seen yet. I am concerned about their defense, which is a huge problem considering that we were sold,
Starting point is 00:52:40 uh, Vogel as being this defensive-minded guru. I'm trying. I'm sorry, guys. I'm trying not to be a negative Nancy, but it's really frustrating watching the Suns team. Um, a good place right now.
Starting point is 00:52:53 It's not. It's not. And the Suns aren't a good basketball team. Like, no matter which way you divide it, you chop it, you look it up, like they're not performing well.
Starting point is 00:53:00 They are definitely not the best team in the league. And they're not even the best close to being one of the best teams in the Western Conference. So, uh, I just, I don't really know what. else to say at this point i'm super frustrated um frank fogle talked to the media and uh this is what he
Starting point is 00:53:18 had to say not the bill video kevin's out tomorrow um yeah i'm spraying act is it did you realize how i mean he just planned through it like the same limp and no but he was limited yeah we were contemplated and taking him out he wasn't really moving that that great um you know, but we've had to finish two games in the last two weeks with a guy, trying to tough through, you know, an ankle sprain, you know, not at full strength. And credit him for being in there and made some big shots late, even on the bump ankle. So, you know, the guys, that was really tough. But the only two that will be out tomorrow.
Starting point is 00:54:00 Brickson Allen's out. Okay. Yeah, going straight. That happened during the game. Yep. Frank doesn't seem like whenever you get close to getting one guy back, something else happens and we still be short-handed. You can't worry about what you can't control.
Starting point is 00:54:17 Yeah, I think worse. Worry about what you can control. Obviously, I guess this is something the sons can't control. But like my mom said, hi, mom, you're only as good as your second team with all the injuries of strong fence is essential. That is for sure. And they don't have a strong bench.
Starting point is 00:54:32 So you're kind of seeing that catch up to the sons right now. And it's super frustrating. super disappointing and now Kevin Durant is out. For tonight's game, we don't have really much more of an update on if it's like a long-term thing or a short-term thing. We are getting close to the point where Bradley Biel can be re-evaluated. We're approaching that three-week deadline that the team originally set at where he can be re-evaluated and this is the latest that we have on Bradley Biel from Frank Vogel.
Starting point is 00:54:58 Full participant. We'll be going to go tomorrow? No, that's one. Just how good is that to note that he's at least. making progress it's very encouraging you know you look great out there today minor how dynamic he is as a basketball player and how good we're going to be when we get what we got with brad what are maybe the final steps that we need we want to see him uh he's a full participant in practice so i guess there's a light at the end of the tunnel there i don't know um
Starting point is 00:55:32 frank fogo said we're getting close to seeing how good this team can be uh I don't know if I believe that. But at least we've got some sort of positive news coming out on the injury front that Bradley Beale's practicing. He's a full participant. He's getting close. Our own Flex said that he's anticipating a return for Bradley Beale that's close to Christmas time. Obviously, that puts us at another two weeks out from that.
Starting point is 00:55:57 So I don't know what to tell you guys. I'm having a hard time coming up with anything positive to say about the suns right now. Hopefully things will get turned. around and I can say some better things next week, but I'm just super bummed. I don't really know what else to tell you guys. I'm sorry. I don't have anything nice to say. I don't know. It's super frustrating and discouraging to be in this position, but hopefully there's still a little bit of season left and the suns can kind of stop getting hurt and start working together and figuring it out. The game time, game in the week, if you want to go watch the suns is the
Starting point is 00:56:32 Sons against the Kings tonight. It is a low as $11 right now on the game time app. If you want to take your family out for some family fun and you're looking for an affordable thing to do, tickets are only $11. You won't get to watch Kevin Durant, but hopefully. On a Friday night, that's pretty nuts. Yeah, Friday night's game, why not? You know, take the kids out for 11 bucks. Go watch Devin Booker play basketball. It's never a bad thing to watch a basketball game, right? Right. the GameTime app is the fastest growing ticketing app in the country for a reason they have the absolute best ticket prices available they are so low it makes my headspin head on over to game time right now tickets also make a great holiday gift so if you're still present shopping and you want to
Starting point is 00:57:18 buy someone in your life a present grab some tickets there it's a great it's a great gift um you can snag the tickets without stress with game time download the game time app create an account use promo code phnx for $20 off your first purchase terms apply again create an account or Zeme code PHAX for $20 off. Download game time today. Last minute tickets, lowest prices guaranteed. Damon, Damon, Damon, Damon. That's a show.
Starting point is 00:57:41 Another one down. Whoop, who crushed it. Have you decided in this hour if you're going to go watch the U of A play the Badgers? Well, it depends on whether I get my ticket or not. Well, you can get your tickets on game time. I should have checked the game time app for that. I should have made that the game in the week.
Starting point is 00:57:56 I do think it's sold out, but I do bet that there's people reselling on game time because game time is reselling site yeah you might as well get your tickets or you can just sneak in the student section i don't condone that all right guys thank you so much for tuning into this episode of the phoenix sports podcast to everyone in the comments who've been writing it out with me all podcasts along you guys are the absolute best connor my mom zona tucson charles woodall pike you guys are all the best daniel elizabeth i don't think chris was here today i'm going to message I'm so sure about that. Thank you guys so much. Have a wonderful safe weekend and we'll see you next week. Bye.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.