PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - TPSP Opening Day YAY: Kevin Durant makes his home debut for Phoenix Suns, Arizona Diamondbacks Lose on Opening Day
Episode Date: March 31, 2023The day Valley basketball fans have been waiting for finally arrived, Kevin Durant made his home debut for the Phoenix Suns. Despite a rocky start, KD and Devin Booker balled out to secure the win ove...r the Minnesota Timberwolves. Opening Day was yesterday… YAY! The best time of year is finally here, BASEBALL IS BACK! The Arizona Diamondbacks opened the season against the Los Angeles Dodgers.Join Makayla Perkins and Shawn DePaz for another episode of THE Phoenix Sports Podcast!0:00 - Intro7:20 - Kevin Durant at home!26:20 - Looking at the Suns schedule31:30 - BASEBALL IS BACK38:40 - Derek Hall providing updates47:50 - Reviewing the actual gameWATCH YOUR FAVORITE TEAMS HERE: www.fubotv.com/phnxBUY TICKETS HERE: https://gametime.hnyj8s.net/c/3442941...SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsportsManscaped: Get 20% Off and Free Shipping with our code PHNXBets at Manscaped.com.Circle K: Text code “PHNX” to 31310 to win a $500 gas card! Limit one entry per person—limit of one entry per phone number. The offer is valid for Arizona residents only. Must be able to verify the place of residence. This contest is administered at the discretion of the Grand Canyon Division of Circle K Stores. Circle K Store Inc. is a part of Alimentation Couche-Tard. You must be 18 years of age or older to win. For questions about this contest or our stores, text ”CARE” to 31310.OGeez!: Learn more about OGeez! at https://ogeezbrands.com//. Must be 21 years or older to purchase.Four Peaks: Drink, eat, find, and experience Four Peaks at https://www.fourpeaks.com/. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly.Mor Furniture: Save big on the best furniture in the Valley when you head to https://morfurniture.com!Roman: Go to https://ro.co/PHNX today to get 20% off your entire first order.When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Happy Friday, everybody.
Welcome into the Phoenix Sports podcast.
It's a girl.
DJ Mackey Pete.
It's Neil Berkins and the one and only, Sean DePaz.
Welcome into the Phoenix Sports podcast.
Don't forget to hit that like button, subscribe or every good to podcast,
and leave us a five-star review.
Happy, happy, happy, happy, happy.
Are you happy?
Happy opening day.
That was yesterday.
It's opening week.
It's actually we're going to celebrate it all month long because baseball is back.
And I love baseball.
And it's the only sport that I care about.
I'm just kidding.
I care about all of them.
Well,
no.
I love baseball.
Baseball is the best.
Oh,
thank you,
Elizabeth.
My shirt is amazing.
It's the only sport I care about,
she says,
is wearing a t-shirt of another sport.
Yeah,
I lied.
I'm the biggest Suns fan on the planet.
And I am so happy that we're talking about the suns today and Kevin Durant.
It's an off-white collab with Abercrombie.
So no big deal.
Boogie.
It's a fancy shirt.
I wear off white.
Thank you, Elizabeth.
I appreciate it.
Go sons now and forever.
I hope you're all having a wonderful Friday.
Hello to our fan in the chat.
Charles, Daniel, Elizabeth, scroll up for me.
Wario is here.
Wauigi.
Ryan.
Hi, everybody.
I'm in a really weird mood.
Shout out, Daniel for the donuts.
Yes, thank you, Daniel for the donuts.
Daniel sent the office donuts.
And then he also sent me and Sean some special donuts.
that we enjoyed before the show as our show prep.
So thank you very much, Daniel.
We're super excited to be announcing that we are partnering with BetMGM.
Let's get into it.
We announced this earlier this week, but this is our first show since partnering with BetMGM.
So we are super freaking amped.
And if you want to hang out with us this weekend, you can do so tomorrow by going to the BetMGM sportsbook in Glendale for our final four.
watch party. All the fun starts at 2 p.m. I am super stoked. We have already been out to the sports
book to film our announcement video and it is so sick in there. It's so nice. It's unreal.
It's beautiful. The bar has wireless chargers like built into the bar top. So you just lay your phone.
Me and Totri were just blown away by it. Yeah. Maybe we're simple, but it was awesome.
It is really cool. It's very high tech. They've got so many screens for you to watch whatever game
you want to watch. And of course, your bets will always be in check because you can watch the
ticker roll by at the bottom.
And there's really no better place to watch sports.
So come hang out with us tomorrow.
Fun starts at 2 p.m.
out in Glendale at the MGM Bet's sports book.
And if you haven't signed up for BetMGM yet,
you can do so by using our promo code PHNX.
And you will get $200 in bonus bets on your first wager with BetMGM.
Here's how it works.
You just have to download the BetMGM app and sign up using promo code PHNX.
Place a pregame money line wager in the MGM.
amount of at least $10 on any market at standard odds price.
They'll receive $200 in bonus bets instantly, regardless of the outcome of your wager.
Just make sure you use that promo code pHNX when you sign up.
Like I said, don't forget to come out to the watch party tomorrow at 2 p.m.
to watch the final four.
And if you register and place your first bet with promo code PHNX when you're there,
you'll receive a PHNX shirt too.
So, I mean, hello.
A win-win.
We know what's in Glendale.
We wouldn't make you all.
way out there if it wasn't worth it. It's a vibe out there.
Exactly. So very excited about all of that.
Shane's going to do a disclaimer now.
Disclam, 21 plus to wager. Visit betmGM.com for terms and conditions.
U.S. promotional offers not available in Washington, D.C., Nevada, New York, New York.
Gambling problem, call 1-800-800-Gambler. Colorado, D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana,
Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, West Virginia, Wyoming.
Call 877-8-8-Hope-N-N-Y or text, Hope-N-6-6-6-6-6-6-7-Eusus.
1-800-5-22-470-4-70-Cansas Nevada
1-800-3-2-7-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-1-7-1-7-1-7 for confidential health
Michigan.
Oh, my God, that was amazing.
Full disclosure, I was not done live, but if it was, that would be hilarious.
Shane's a speed talker.
I guess many of you did not know that.
He has a very good talent for it.
Before we get into talking to Kevin Durant,
also want to give a shout-out to our friends at Four Peaks.
We were just there this past week for final last Friday, Wednesday,
Last Wednesday.
Last Wednesday.
Yep.
What day of the week is it?
We were there for last Wednesday and it was so much fun to see some of you guys out there.
Charles was there.
So thanks for coming out to Fort Peaks, Charles.
I got to eat my chicken tendies, which I'm always stoked about.
I had my date with Craig where we split some tendies and a French dip.
You got the French dip too, didn't you?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Shit's incredible there.
It's so good.
The tendies are awesome.
But like, you know, we're there at least like once a month.
Sometimes you got to venture out.
Their whole menu goes crazy.
Yeah.
It's everything on there is delicious.
Oh, they also make pretty good beer.
Yeah.
On top of having the most amazing beer in the state of Arizona.
So thank you to our friends at FourPeaks for hosting us.
We are super excited to be doing a few other things with them in this coming month.
So keep your eyes out for that.
But one of the things we're going to be doing that I'm the most excited about is our NFL draft party.
Obviously, it's going to be a big draft for the cards.
And the Cardinals suck.
Oh, the Cardinals do suck, by the way.
They're not good at football.
Where is it coming from?
That's kind of a running bit now.
usually it's we do it when bow's sitting right there and we take shots at him but oh now it's just a running
bit to remind everybody the cardinals not good they do have the third pick in the draft it's a big
opportunity for the cards so obviously you're going to have to come watch what they do with that
third overall pick during the NFL draft watch party on april 27th it will be at the four peaks
eight street pub and if you're going to drink a beer you must be 21 years or older and you must
drink it responsibly okay wow that was a lot of words yeah you did you did you did
well. Thank you. Let's speak about some more words.
Kevin Durant.
I don't know what that was. Also, we're not speaking about words. We're speaking words.
Whatever.
It's the same thing. I told you guys I was really excited.
Kevin Durant's made of words. The name is made of words.
Yeah. Our names words? Yeah. Yeah. Names are words.
They're not now. What else would they be? They're proper names, I guess. But they're words.
Yeah, I suppose.
Kevin Durant made his debut as a Phoenix Sun. And it was electric. It was an electric. It was an
Electric Factory. It was actually a little bit of a struggle, but it was still really cool. I was like,
what? It was still really, really cool seeing Katie play for the Suns at home because we've never seen
that before. The games he played were on the road. So it was cool to see Katie in the Suns Jersey at home.
I still haven't gotten used to it. I probably never will at this point. The fact that it still hasn't
hit me and this is like now a thing is kind of scary. But they did beat the Timberwolves who they played
with Kevin Durant making his home opener and it wasn't um it wasn't his best game it wasn't his best
game that's a good way to put it it was not his best game um he had been missing for the past 20
days he had a 20 day span of you say that like we like we didn't know where he was yeah he's missing
he was on a bill carton um he was out for the last 20 days with an ankle sprain and he did in that time period
missed a total of 10 games.
So I think a lot of what we saw was nerves for playing in front of the home crowd for the first time, dusting off some of the cobwebs from the injury, trying to get into a flow with the team.
It wasn't the best, but it was still cool to watch him in New Jersey.
He did finish the night with only 16 points, eight rebounds, and four assists.
He shot 27% from field goal range.
And the other games that he played for the Suns, he was in the 60, the high 60s to 70s.
So it's definitely an off night to say the least.
Yeah.
I mean, I mean, A, you don't necessarily know how healthy he was.
And ankles are, ankle springs are a tough thing to come back from.
And B, you kind of left out the most important part.
They still won with Kevin Durant being wildly inefficient.
Yeah.
This is getting back to what I was talking about last week when I went on my rant telling everyone to calm the down.
Because like we're seeing even with KD, not even playing that well.
the Sons are much better with him on the court.
Obviously, they still have a guy named Devin Booker,
who is the best shooting guard in basketball.
But, like, yeah, the fact that the Sons can beat a team that's been playing very well.
The Timber Wows have kind of started to figure it out late in the season,
and they beat that team with their best player not playing well.
It's just the presence of KD that means a lot on the court,
and then obviously off the court as far as just the excitement around this team is concerned.
Completely off topic.
I have some breaking news.
Hunter Dickinson is in the transfer portal.
Oh, no.
Oh, oh no.
That's a guy who said he was going to drop 20 and blow out ASU earlier in the year when he played for Michigan and then did not do either of those things.
And then had to go to the NIT.
Back on track.
Yes.
Even though he didn't score until five minutes into the second quarter, there was still such an undeniable value that Katie provides and is obviously one of the reasons that the sons traded for him in the first place is like when Katie is on the court, defenses have to account for that.
Um, you know, they can't focus as much of their efforts on Devin Booker as they have this whole season.
Like they have to figure out how to defend Katie and Devin Booker.
And so it allows the sons to play more of like a two man game with Chris Paul and Dandre
Aitin because then, you know, they're not as being heavily focused on.
And as long as DA and CP3 can play effectively, which they did against the Timberwolves,
it kind of allows them more space on the court.
So I think obviously that's one of the things that makes Katie so valuable to this team.
is obviously the top five player in the NBA,
but also when you add him to the mix
and defenses have to account for that,
it allows for other people to step up
and be more of offensive threats
as we saw with CP3 and DA.
Yeah, 100%.
I mean, you hit it right on the head.
Just like I said,
the presence of Kevin Durant makes everyone's life a little easier.
And he's been playing this game for a long time.
Even if he's not scoring,
there's a certain amount of leadership
and experience that he can provide
and just like the calmness
that I feel like he brings everywhere.
Like he's a very even keeled guy,
at least when he's not on his phone.
Like, I feel like that provides a lot of value and it just kind of,
it fits the vibe.
So like, yeah, I feel like I can't say it enough.
Kevin Durant, even if he could score no points,
he's still going to provide value to this team.
Yeah, absolutely.
I do want to say, though,
I think a lot of what we saw against the Timberwolves
was what I was the most concerned about
and what I brought up on last week's show
is I was worried about how long it was going to take for the sons to adjust with having Katie
on the team and just develop that team chemistry.
And a lot of the people in the comments were like, oh, it's Katie.
He can fit in anywhere.
It's not that big of a deal.
And I agree for the most part.
Like Katie is very versatile and adaptable and it is easier to slot him in into a new team than
it would be like some of the other superstars that are out there in the NBA.
But I still just think that there is inevitable part of having to redeveloping.
your team chemistry when you add someone into the mix that hasn't been playing with you all year long,
like regardless of who it is. Like it makes it a lot easier that it is KD. But like if the adjustment's
not for KD, then it's going to be for the other players on the team. Like it's going to be Devin
Bucker adjusting or DA adjusting or D.A adjusting or CP3 adjusting or whoever else. And I think that's
just kind of natural. And I do feel like there were some not glaring signs of that. But like I think
there was a little bit of that in in the game that you saw with how they were trying to figure out how to
gel yeah but
Kevin this is this is
his fourth game with the suns they've won all four
and in the first three he scored 23 20 and
37 points and devon booker also
got his like I I am not
really concerned about the chemistry issues
or anything like that like you they've demonstrated
already that they can play very effective basketball
immediately with Kevin Durant and obviously
this timber was probably the best team that he has
played in the with the sun so far
so and with two
pretty good defense well one pretty good
defensive big man and carlin
towns.
But like, I'm not, I'm just not concerned about it.
Like I said, coming back from an ankle injury is very tough.
And I mean, I'm not too sure that there were nerves necessarily, but there's obviously
playing in front of your new home fans for the first time.
Like, that's a big moment.
I think we'll be fine.
I think you'll see Kevin Durant back to normal.
I think even injured Kevin Durant.
He's not going to have many of these games where he's shooting 27% from the field.
Yeah.
I think it'll be fine.
Yeah.
I mean, it's definitely not as big of a deal as it would be if it were someone else.
But I still think they need to figure some stuff out.
This could be.
This could be Dallas.
This could be Dallas.
And holy shames.
The wheels have fallen off that wagon so hard.
Well, if there ever were wheels on that wagon.
I don't know.
They fell so far in the standings.
And Kyrie and Luca do not.
I don't know.
I mean, it doesn't sound like Lucas enjoying himself.
No.
Playing the sport anymore.
Luca's not having a good time, which I don't care about.
Like fuck Luca.
Bye.
He's a hope.
Retired, man.
Like, retire at this point.
I don't care what you do with yourself.
Um,
so it could be worse.
We could be the Dallas Mavericks and we are not the Dallas Mavericks.
But, um, if Kevin Durant does play the rest of the regular season for the suns,
which fingers crossed, he does.
Nothing else happens.
Um, he will have 10 more games under his belt before the playoffs start.
When will you learn?
I know.
I'm sorry.
I'm sorry.
I'm sorry.
Um, I knocked.
I knocked.
on what everybody, but he'll have 10 more games under his belt before the playoffs start,
which I think is nice to have that cushion because we didn't know for sure last time we did
the show when Katie was coming back. We were still at the re-evaluation standpoint. Actually,
we broke the news that he was going to be supposed to be coming back this week. And I mean,
they're playing all playoff teams except for one for the remainder of the season as the standings
currently stand. Obviously, they got San Antonio, which is not a playoff team. But everybody else
obviously may have heard of them, the Denver Nuggets tonight. And then they go Oklahoma City,
who has been playing really well in San Antonio. And then Denver again. And then those guys,
Los Angeles Lakers, and then the Clippers, all decent teams. Very tough schedule to finish out
the year for sure. But I think that's nice to kind of see. Even though it's a tough schedule,
I think I like that because it gives us an
idea of what the playoffs are going to look like and how the sons are going to stack up against
the teams that they're inevitably going to be facing in the playoffs. Um, so I'm kind of happy
that they get to do that and they, um, have Kevin Durant back for that because I would be
bricking it if we went into the playoffs and Katie hadn't returned and we were going up against
pick a team besides the nuggets because I think the nuggets are frauds. Um, I would have been scared
because I wouldn't have known what to expect, but this kind of makes me less scared because I, at least
we can see it before it matters.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And I like the,
I like the fact that it's hard opponents.
It is,
I feel like that kind of thing galvanizes a team.
Yeah.
So I'm excited.
I mean,
they play twice against the nuggets,
but like Oklahoma City,
the Lakers,
those are very winnable games while still being playoff teams.
Yeah.
Actually,
are the Lakers currently in a playoff spot?
I don't remember off the top of my head,
but I think they're in a plan with the,
the Thunder,
I believe,
because the maps dropped below.
Yeah, so, yeah, they have, can I push the Lakers?
The Lakers are nine right now, yeah.
Can I push this agenda?
What's the agenda?
We need us, the Royal We, collectively need the Mavericks to get the eighth seed.
Yes.
So they can shit pump the Denver Nuggets.
That would be really fun.
And so we can be like, hey, Nuggets.
Is Luca your daddy too?
Are we siblings now?
It would make it a lot better.
Yeah, I mean, like I love SGA.
I don't really need O'KC to be in the playoffs.
Y'all can.
Not this year.
Not this year.
They're not ready yet.
Although I will say, as much as I would love to see that,
I would love to see the Pelicans sweep the Denver Nuggets
because I think that would happen.
Yeah, that would be electric.
They did.
Didn't the Pels beat the Nugs last night?
Yes, they did.
By a lot of points.
By a lot of points.
Without Yolkich, I believe.
Yes.
Still.
If only Jamal Murray was healthy.
I'm just kidding.
That's the ruddy joke in this office.
All right.
I, what was I saying?
Oh, yes, the end of the season.
Happy that Katie is going to be there.
And I think that's too when we'll get to see the pick your poison type of defense
that the teams are going to have to run when you are playing against Kevin Durant,
Devin Booker, CP3, and DeAndre 8.
And like, I just, that's a monster for to try to figure out how to defend.
Like, that's not fun.
I wouldn't want to defend that team if I were the, anyone playing the suns.
No, neither would I.
And then when you get to the playoffs, Chris Paul is still alive, man.
Like he's not, he's not fucking completely useless.
Yeah.
And if he's your fourth best player, he can cause you problems too.
He's your fifth best player with Josh Akogi right now.
That's probably true.
My God.
Josh Akogi, dog.
He's a monster.
Yeah, you want to talk about a guy who wants it more than anybody wants anything,
Josh Akogi.
Yeah.
But yeah, I, I'm just, I'm excited.
This team is going to be deadly.
Yes, this team is going to be deadly.
And I'm excited to see how they're going to be stacking up against.
some bigger teams as the season comes to a close.
They do play the Nuggets tonight, which I am so
freaking excited for. Have we gotten the
injury report for that yet? They're not playing the Nuggets.
They're playing the Dukets.
Dukets?
Oh, are they? Is Yokish
ducking?
No, no, no. Yeah, I don't think Yoguch or Murray
are going to play. Oh, they're ducking now.
Put them on a milk carton.
MVP doesn't want to play the Sons. What happened?
We got an event against the Nuggies coming up
soon. We do. Yeah. They should be fully healthy.
do have a takeover coming up, which sold out in like hours, by the way, when the suns take on the nuggets for the last time this season.
I'm so, are you serious?
They're not going to play.
Yeah.
How many points do you think Yokic and Murray are worth on that team?
Like going against the suns?
I'm like going to spread?
Yeah.
Seven.
Okay.
The sons are favored by 10 and a half on that MGM.
I last I checked at least.
Okay.
Well, I was hoping it would be a little bit more than that, but.
That's a lot of points for a team that's still a one.
seed. Yeah, I don't know. I just think the nuggets are the biggest frauds ever. And like, I know I'm
going to get canceled by everyone in Denver for saying that. But like, it's true. I'm sorry. I just
don't, I'm not scared of the nuggets at all. As much I love talking shit. I don't think they're
fraud. I just don't think there are a, a force to be reckoned within the playoffs. Yeah. I like,
they have won a lot of games. They're the one seed for a reason. Nicola Yokic is,
Yokic and Murray ruled out scared. True. I love that. They're good for reasons.
But that reason is Nicola Yokic.
And my biggest problem with Nicky Yolkich is, I feel like I said this before, is just that he is not, like, I'm not worried about him like taking over a playoff game and dropping 40 on you, like a guy like Janice could or a guy like KD or Devin Booker could.
Yeah.
I just, yeah, he doesn't have that kind of game where he's going to take over and like demoralize you like that.
And so, yeah, like John, John Paul Edward Adio said, they're not a typical one C.
They have a different vibe to them.
This isn't the warriors of old type thing.
Yeah.
And I don't really think they're that playoff tested either.
Like I know they've made the playoffs a couple times in the past few years,
but they haven't had their full roster with them when they've done it.
And there's plenty of teams, like especially in this West,
there's plenty of teams that would,
that it's going to be a big matchup playoffs.
Like if you get the,
this team gets the wrong team like the Pelicans.
The Pelons is a nightmare for the Nuggets.
Yeah.
I don't.
Brandon,
Brandon is the most slept on superstar in the NBA right now.
I is unbelievable.
Yeah, I would agree.
The nuggets in general are something.
The nuggets went healthy.
That roster is fucking ridiculous, man.
When they're fully healthy.
The pelicans, yes.
It's a big if because they're not usually healthy.
Zion's getting re-evaluated.
Exactly.
I think y'all forgot, not y'all, but y'all, the royal y'all.
I think y'all forgot that Zion is really good at the sport.
Yeah, he's good.
He's really, really good.
And if he is healthy, I would love to see him versus Yokin.
Yeah, absolutely.
So looking back on Katie's first game as a son in Phoenix at the home at his home opener,
just him, right?
It's his home opener.
Are you concerned at all?
Or was that just a fluke?
Yeah.
I mean,
I don't even want to call it a fluke.
Like it,
I mean,
yeah,
it was,
I just don't think,
yeah,
you're not going to see this again.
Yeah.
You're not going to see a 27% shooting percentage performance from Katie.
Katie again.
No.
I'm not worried about it at all.
He rightfully belongs.
I wasn't worried about it when he was hurt.
Yeah,
I wasn't either.
I definitely don't think it's any cause for concern for sons fans.
Like nobody.
should be pressing the panic button in any sense of the world term. It's going to be fine. I think it was
just a little bit of a fluke from Katie. And they still won, even though Katie only shot 27% from
field goal range. So not the end of the world. I do love what this team looks like, though,
with him on the court. Like it just is, it's just a monster team. Like you just look at that and you're
like, holy shit. Like that is the Phoenix Suns. And that's kind of crazy to think about.
Question. Petty Queen. Would you rather see the Nuggets get swept in the first round?
or meet them if it were to line up in that way in the conference finals and sweep them there.
Ooh.
Oh, the petty queen of me says I just want to get them.
I just want to watch them get swept in first.
It would be fun to sweep them.
But I would,
I would love to see them get their ass kicked immediately.
Yes.
Just immediately like take the wind out of their sales.
They can't even talk shit to anyone because they just get knocked out of the playoffs right away.
Like I kind of just want to see them just get bounced.
Yeah.
And I was talking to solve about this earlier.
It's very similar to the ASUU of A situation.
We're like if if they and the sons both get bounced in the first round, the difference is that one of you is a one seed.
Like you're not going to be able to tell us shit regardless.
Because one of one of you one of the teams traded for one of the best players of all time.
Yeah.
One of the teams hedged.
The other team thinks that they have the greatest player of all time.
They have one of the greatest players of all time, I think.
Yeah, that's fair.
But still.
I would rather watch the Nuggets get bounced to the first round, though.
I think that would be so funny.
It would be quite fun.
Just imagine the bragging rights we'd have over the Nuggets.
Oh, God, I love it.
Okay, so we're not worried about Katie.
I think someone in the comments saying he just rushed shots.
And he said that too in his post-game press conference.
He said I felt like I was rushing, especially in the first quarter.
One of my favorite things from that game was when Monty told him that greatness doesn't shake its head.
Put that on a T-shirt.
like paint that on a wall
put it in the locker room I loved it
everyone's like it's courting no I loved
I loved when someone asked KD if he felt like he was
cursed and he just laughed he's like look at my life
I'm cursed I leave and my life is pretty damn good
yeah Katie's fucking awesome man I love him
I just love that moment between him and Monty though
because obviously Katie was showing a little bit of
visible visible frustration with his performance
and I would be frustrated too if I was him obviously
he knew the importance of that moment he knew that
sons fans were chomping at the bit to see him play basketball at home and he had kind of
missed out on some of that momentum with his injury. So I think he knew the importance of that moment
and you could see you could see that he was frustrated. And I just love that Monty being the coach
that Monty is was like it's fine. Just greatness like doesn't shake its head like keep your head up.
I just like I don't know Monty that well obviously. I don't know him personally. I just know him
from the interactions as a media member. But I just think like he knows how to coach.
men and I think when you have someone like KD like I would be I don't know that I'm not in his
position but what would you say to a superstar that moment like he's a top five basketball
player like yeah I wouldn't know how to handle that situation and be like bro why are you sucking
like let's go well I would know not to do that but yeah I mean yeah I mean I mean
Chen Paul Edward Adios is just hitting it on the head like Moni's just a very clearly just like
emotionally intelligent guy I mean I guess his relationship with DA over the summer could
throw that in a question a little bit but like he is clearly a very like
cerebral like just it seems like his mind's always working he's always thinking um and i feel like
that's perfect for this kind of team yeah absolutely um i i wouldn't know how to coach kevin durian
so i'm glad we have monti williams because monta williams does know how to coach kevin d'rae um okay so
before we move on to some baseball talk um i know you kind of mentioned already but the schedule
as the rest of the season goes nuggets tonight then the thunder then the spurs nuggets again
lakers clippers so one two three four five six out of those six games how
How many are you penciling in for a win?
Let's just win six straight games in the year.
They should beat every team that's on that schedule.
I mean, the Nuggets, obviously that second Nuggets game is a bigger question because
they'll be healthy.
I'm so mad with them.
But there's no reason you should lose to a Yokitch-Less Nuggets team.
There's no reason you should lose to OKC, no reason that you should lose to San Antonio,
no reason you should lose to the Lakers.
The Clippers are also tough if they're playing everybody.
But it's a, it's the last game of the season right before the playoffs.
If at that point the seeds are locked up, then I doubt they would play Kauai and PG.
So that one is a question for me.
I think the clippers scare me.
I'm not going to lie.
It scares me a little bit.
But I'll be fair.
I'll go five for six.
Okay.
That was my answer.
Now it's going to seem like I'm unoriginal.
We can share answers.
Who where is the loss coming from for you?
Either the clippers of the Nuggets on April 6.
The second Nuggets game or the last game in this.
season depending on I got some news also we need the grids to start to win also these next couple
games because if we get to that next nuggets game and they've already locked up the one seed there's no
reason it's there either yeah but I'm on grizzle they're only three games back so I think it should
be okay come on grizzle I'm going five or six and I'd be happy with that I think that's a great
way to end the season I think it's good to see how this is going to play out for the sons
for the head into the playoffs so love to see it hopefully they just curb stomped the nuggets
I'm so sad that they're ducking those little chickens.
After all that shit, they talked for Embed ducking.
Now they're ducking the suns.
I know.
Oh my gosh.
We should go over to Footport Center and put up missing signs for Yokic like they did for Embed.
That would be good.
And just troll the nuggets.
Oh, Boossey's making a good point, though.
Yeah, P&NX squad will be there.
The Nuggets don't stand a chance in that game.
Six for six.
Also, if they go six for six, that'll be a nine-game winning street going to the playoffs.
Wouldn't hate it.
Yeah.
I think that's enough to make anyone shaking their boots.
Just a wee bit.
Shaking in my boots.
There's a snake in my boot.
Daniel's saying,
Mac,
please don't ever be a live coach.
Don't worry.
I have no intention of being a life coach.
I'm really bad with other people's emotions.
Like I,
when someone starts crying around me,
I like walk up.
I like don't know what to do with myself.
So I will not be a coach.
I don't think you have to worry about Katie
crying on the court,
but fair.
Very true.
Chicken nuggets.
Yes.
Everyone in the comments saying chicken nuggets.
Dog on the nuggets.
We encourage.
all of that behavior in this show.
All right.
Before we talk about some baseball,
let's give a shout out to our friends,
Mountain Mikes,
who brought in some pizza this week for the office.
I could cry every time they bring in pizza
because I always forget to feed myself.
And so when I don't have to think about it
and someone else feeds me,
it's the best day of my life.
I know what you're asking.
Sean, are you Mountain Mike?
I am not Mountain Mike.
That's Mike.
No.
That was a Michael.
That was a really good.
Also,
Mike Luke eating del taco cheese burgers at 10 a.m.
this morning, by the way.
Weird.
Like,
morning pizza?
Like,
you got some leftover pizza on the fridge?
Completely acceptable.
Getting del taco at 10 a.m.
is,
should be,
you should be thrown in federal prison.
Yeah,
but del,
del taco at 10 a.m.
is crazy.
Del taco cheeseburger at 10 a.
m.
It's insane.
Yeah,
no,
that should be a federal offense.
What's not a federal offense is eating
Montmike's pizza.
That's a fact.
You'll get a medal from the president for eating Mountain Mikes.
Their pepperoni pizza is my absolute favorite.
Big Mountain Mikes girl.
So thank you for bringing pizza to the office this week.
You can head over to Mountain Mikes Pizza.com or to their Mesa Chandler or Tucson locations to place your next order.
And if you sign up to be a diehard, you get a $50 pizza voucher when you sign up.
So pretty good deal there.
It's a smart financial decision.
Jan Paul Edward Daydeo saying, I offer weed.
You know who else offers weed?
O. G's brands.
The best.
Stop by your local dispensary and pick up some OGs brands, gummies.
They are the best THC scratch made gummies in the state of Arizona because they're made here in Arizona.
I never in my life have had a better tasting gummy.
The orange creptical flavor is to die for.
But they also have their Aquaberry Sleep Edition gummies, which is a CBN and THC gummy to help you fall asleep and stay asleep in the
Aquaberry is delicious, depending on how this game goes tonight, which I'm assuming it will go in the sun's favor.
But in the weird off chance that it doesn't, I will be taking an aqua berry gummy and knocking out.
So I don't have to remember anything about this performance tonight.
The Sleep Edition gummies are live and active.
So make sure you head to your local dispenser and check out OGsbrands.com.
You must be 21 years or older to enjoy.
I have bad news for you.
The aqua bear is going to help you stay asleep.
It's not going to wipe your memory.
You're still gonna remember that loss.
A girl can dream.
Yeah, fair enough.
You can dream.
Maybe I can sleep long enough.
Yeah, sleep long enough to forget.
I mean, you could take one.
If the things are going bad at first half,
take one at half time so you could sleep through.
Just knock out.
The second half.
You don't got to worry about it.
There you go.
All right.
Sean, I don't know if you do this.
Baseball's back.
We're back, baby.
We're so fucking back.
We're back.
We're so back.
Oh, we're so back.
We have a lot to talk about because yesterday was opening day.
It was.
So do we want to talk about it?
about the do we want to go happy or sad first what do you want to do let's get let's stay happy
let's stay happy okay we'll stay happy first and then we'll talk about the sad things after um
yesterday it was media day at chase field and they decided to let us there let us go um we got
to do a bunch of cool stuff it was Sean's first time on a field of a major league baseball was it was a
dream come true not even joking it was literally my little boy Sean um dreams were
made whole made whole they were answered um we got to go into the clubhouse which was really cool
i've been there a couple times so it wasn't that cool for me but sean was loving it i was
we're down the field catel marty's shoes yes he has a lot by the way and you see his shoes last
night the gold the yellow cleats with the gold protector oh she was could tell marty i think we need
to have a talk because my guy you do not need that many shoes yes he does higher wall of his locker
he had shoes spilling out of his locker lining the wall his cubby was filled with shoes like there
were shoes. He has more shoes than me.
Listen, first off, that's saying something. He's making a lot of money.
If I made that kind of money, I'd have even more shoes.
Secondly, he plays 162 games
a year. And thirdly,
half the shoes were like sneakers and trainers
and then half of them were cleats. So...
It was a lot. It was a lot. It was a lot of shoes.
But it was really cool. They also
let us try a bunch of the new food
that is coming to Chase Field this year.
And I'm pretty sure Sean and I both died and went
to heaven. It was another great day
for me because I didn't have to think about how I was going to feed myself.
It was so. It was
so good. Like there were so many things for to try. We had two different kinds of nachos.
The pork nachos to die for it. My favorite thing. And they come in a little mini helmet.
They had like seven different types of hot dogs. One of them had a parogi on it.
Hard to eat, but delicious nonetheless. Yes. There was just so much. What was your favorite thing that you try?
I mean, I feel like we might have the same answer here. The bow bow, bow, bun, crispy chicken sandwich was, I don't know if that's your answer. But that was my favorite. The shit was ridiculous. Yeah. It was like, you.
literally a bow bun, which like, so soft and like, it was such an interesting texture.
And then a fried chicken sandwich coated in this like Thai chili type sauce.
It was unbelievable.
Wait.
Were the bell buns the buns?
Yes.
Or was it inside of the bow bun?
They were the buns.
Wow.
It was crazy.
It was really good.
It was unbelievable.
It was my first time ever having a bow one actually.
It was my second favorite thing.
I think my first favorite thing was the carnitas.
Yeah, those were very good.
I also really loved.
I know you weren't a huge fan of them.
I loved the, the, the,
The, I'm not putting a dollar in the jar for this, by the way.
The Bean Town burger or Bean Town hot dog.
It's the versus hot dog for when the Red Sox are in town.
Had baked beans, bacon, and onions on it.
On a hot dog?
Shit in me?
Like, what more could you ask for?
This shit was delicious.
Yeah, it was just electric.
I still will ride or die with my nachos.
I still can't get the taste of the olive out of my mouth.
I'll say that.
That was disgusting.
The Greek fries were not it.
The Greek fries would have been delicious if there was
no olives on them.
Greek fries are elite.
But olives are disgusting.
Yeah.
I'm not an olives guy.
You can pick around them.
I had a very visceral reaction.
But when I was trying, like you, I'm assuming you can order them without the olives, but they
have the olives on them.
I wanted to give it a true try.
And it's, uh, I regretted it.
By the way, the progey dog is for the guardian.
So if you want it, you have to go when the guardians are in time.
Yes.
Yeah.
They're bringing back the away dog.
Also check slack.
Shane.
That TPSP.
I have something for you to put up on the screen for everyone's enjoyment.
The away dogs are back
So they will be doing a special hot dog
For every away series
That is based off of whatever team is playing
And there's a big Polish population
In Cleveland I guess
Is what we were told yesterday
There's a lot of parogis in Buffalo as well
It's like it's a very big Midwestern
Staple
Yeah so they will be doing that for the series
Against the Guardians
It was good
I just think it was hard to eat
You know?
Yeah
Yeah
I think in theory you need to eat
eat the parogi, like take the parogis off and then eat the hot dog.
Because the hot dog was still good.
It had like brown mustard on it and stuff.
It was really good.
Yeah.
To answer your question, Charles, I did reclaim the bullpen cart.
Here I am.
I saw this outside and I was like, Derek, you had to get a picture of me in the bullpen cart.
Notice how it's roped off.
Yeah, I definitely broke some rules.
He just said, I need it.
I definitely broke some rules getting a picture.
I was just like, I'm not involved in this.
just rule breaking credential oh sorry it's fine nobody can use that they can get in um but yeah so
i did reclaim a bullpen cart i'm so glad i got that picture you will be seeing that carts a lot
that picture a lot because um i will be needing it to usher some of these pictures off of the mound
this season because good god almighty
oh i need to start with zapp galen yeah last night if it was any indication of our pitching staff
this year. That cart is going to get a lot of use.
I mean, there were some positives.
Yes. We saw someone hit 100 with their first pitch out of the pen.
Yes.
But that was about where the positives ended.
But before we get into that, thank you so much to the Diamondbacks for having us out
at Media Day yesterday. It was so fun.
So in the comments saying the Ranger Dog looked really good.
I didn't get the chance to eat that because I was eating too much and I was going to throw up.
It was really good. I had that one.
Chili cheese and fritos, right?
Yeah, chili cheese, fritos.
And onions.
And onions.
Yeah.
What more could you ask for?
It was delicious.
I'm going to have to go every single time someone's in town just so I can get the hot dog.
Yeah, for sure.
Do they do it for every single?
Every single opponent.
I mean, the thing is a lot of them have already had them, right?
Like there's been versus dogs for L.A. and San Diego already.
But with the new schedule format, you get in a lot of AL teams in town for the first time.
What's the MERS dog?
Like the, I don't know what the Mereders dog is.
It's probably going to have seafood on it.
That would be cool.
A little crab.
I'll look.
One thing that we did learn yesterday, though, that I do want to talk about before we move on to the actual game was Derek Hall took some time to talk with us, which, by the way, Derek Hall is so cool.
So kind.
Complementing me multiple times in my clothes.
Yeah, he was super a big fan of Sean's clothes, which was awesome.
Gonzo was there, too, and Gonzo was like 11 out of 10 human being.
Yeah.
And then Baxter, International Sex symbol Baxter wearing his Speedo.
Yes, yeah.
Just the Diamond Mac's front office is amazing.
Thank you for being so awesome.
Gonzo was just like chatting it up with us.
He was doing his little Van and White presentation of the hot dogs and the
giveaways.
He was killing it,
by the way.
He told me that he was watching Van White YouTube videos the night before,
trying to figure out how to get his like hand placements right.
He did look at your job.
He killed it.
Gonzo is amazing.
Adair call is great too.
But he took some time to talk to us about everything that's going on with the team and
the stadium and this upcoming season.
And he did say something that I thought was super interesting that I think
you guys are going to want to hear. So here is Derrick Hall. We're still talking to interested
areas outside of Chase Field, all within Maricopa County. But we're also accelerating a lot of
our talks with the municipalities to find out how we can all partner in that city, county,
state. So advance those discussions as much as possible and see if we can come to an agreement on
staying here long term. How did the attendance of the World Baseball class to kind of inspire and, in fact,
your decisions? It was great. I mean, you know, also the feet
We get from fans.
They have memories here.
That's the only ballpark they've ever known.
I love it.
I like tradition.
But WBC was very special here.
I mean, that was as loud.
That 48,000 crowd that we had, USA, Mexico was as loud here as the 2017 wildcard game when Archie
Bradley hit that trip.
I mean, just wow, but it was that way the entire time.
We heard from all the restaurants and local businesses the lift they got from World Baseball Classic
and the fact that, you know, there was so much energy, it definitely made this place feel special.
place feels special and we know we can do that.
We can do that all the time, especially with the winning product.
So we might have the world baseball classic to thank for pushing the diamond backs in the
direction of figuring out their long-term stadium solution.
Yeah, for sure.
Yeah, he had mentioned that.
Well, another thing he had mentioned is that if they decide that Chase Field is the option,
they're willing to put in hundreds of millions of dollars to improve the stadium.
Yeah.
He had talked about how it was ranked near the bottom of the league.
It was.
But like he said it was a little unfair because it's the fourth oldest ballpark in the
National League. Like it's, you know, and it's in the desert. No one else has to deal with these
kind of elements. But it is, it is really nice to hear that we should have some kind of closure on,
because I mean, we've been going through this with the coyotes. Like the uncertainty about
the future of a team, obviously all the haters from outside of Arizona always are going to talk
about the team moving to fucking Henderson or whatever it is. Like to know that we are going to have
some closure on what the future for this team is as far as where they're going to play is really encouraging.
Yeah, he said within the next couple of months.
month. So it should, you'd have to assume at some point this summer, we're going to have an answer
on whether or not they're moving somewhere else in Maricopa County or they're going to renovate
the stadium. But it is good to hear that he, they did the team does sound committed to staying here,
at least in Maricopa County. Yeah, they are definitely exploring all their options, whether that's
renovating chase field or going somewhere within the county. He said that he was talking to a couple of
different municipalities is about the potential of building a stadium for them.
Scott's Dale moving near talking stick. Yes. It's been a popular option, I guess.
option. Yes. So I'm glad that, and I never thought that was going to be not the case,
but I'm glad that they are exploring all avenues. I do think it would be great if they could
say, personally, in my opinion, if they could stay in Chase Field. I love having the sports teams
in the downtown of the city of where they reside. I hate having to drive out to Glendale
for Cardinals games and I hated it for coyotes games as well. So my inclinational,
my first inclination is just to have the team stay where they are.
They do need to renovate Chase Field for sure.
We were talking about this yesterday when we were at the ballpark.
I don't think it's a bad ballpark.
Like I've been to state different ballparks now.
It's definitely not like a high-tech ballpark like Petco is.
And you can tell that it's definitely on like the older side.
But it's really not that bad.
I think it's a great ballpark.
There's definitely renovations that need to be made.
But like the bones are good.
Yeah.
I've been to 11 MLB.
stadiums and like, sure, it's probably the least nice of them because all the other ones are newer.
But like a lot of stadiums don't have any character.
And I just, I don't know.
I love, I like Chase Field.
I have obviously somewhat of an emotional attachment to it now.
But it clearly needs renovations.
But look at Footprint Center.
Derek talked about this last night.
You took what was previously a pretty shitty building and you made it seem really nice through renovations.
There's no reason they can't do that at Chase Field.
Yeah.
My whole thing is that it's, yeah, it's not bad.
It's not like run down, but it's boring.
Yeah, but renovations can fix that.
But they've done renovations and it's not, they don't do anything to give it character.
It just needs character.
Yeah, but I think, I think footprint had, well, kind of set the tone because I think
footprint was given a lot of character through its renovations.
But, I mean, the problem with it is that like a lot of new ballparks don't have any character.
I don't think Yankee Stadium or City Field has.
any character and that's why they're my two least
my two least favorite stadiums
in baseball that I've been to so far.
Same thing with like Nationals Park.
Like it's not there's not a whole lot of character in a new stadiums.
I just think the location
and the history
is valuable like Derek Holland
mentioned this is probably the this is the only
stadium that is hope that has won a ring in Phoenix.
Like a lot of
Arizona sports fans, it's the only place they've ever
seen a team win. And I think
there's value in that.
I would love to see them stay at Chase.
With the Cardinals in Glendale, the Coyotes knock on wood in Tempe, the Sun's downtown,
I just don't want to have to drive another location to watch a game.
Like I don't want the Diamondbacks to move to Scottsdale and then we have one team in it like it just,
it's ridiculous.
Like I wish all the teams were in downtown Phoenix, but obviously I'm not going to get that wish.
But just like having to think of, okay, I have to go to Scottsdale for a D-Bax game.
I have to go to Tempe for a Coyote's game.
I have to go to Glendale for a Cardinals game.
I have to go to Phoenix for a Sun's game.
Like I don't want to do like.
I agree with you.
I like everything being in one spot, which is why I know it's not really ever possible,
but I would have loved to see the coyotes play at Footprint personally.
Yeah, I would have loved the coyotes to be in downtown Phoenix.
Yeah.
And Max saying that's obviously he'd want them to play a year at Salt River and start over on Chasefield.
I would probably take a few years at Salt River if that was the option.
But another thing that I didn't mention is building a stadium just a couple blocks over from Chase Field
and tearing down some of that warehouse area.
That's a little south, I believe, of Chase Field.
Yeah.
which if Chase Field is not the option would definitely be my second my second preferred option because I again, I think there's so much value in having your arena in a major metropolitan area and not in the suburbs.
And I'm also selfish.
We work downtown.
It's nice to be able to walk to the stadium.
It's.
Yeah.
I just would like it to stay there.
And also like I for whatever reason just getting nervous about like brand new stadiums because I've seen brand new stadiums.
Like I was in SoFi.
I've been to SoFi for the Cardinals.
LA Rams game that we would all like to forget two years ago.
And I'm not the big,
I wasn't the biggest fan of SOFI.
Like it didn't have any character.
Like it felt like a like a futuristic like clean,
boring bland just like high tech arena and or stadium.
And I just didn't like it.
Like it didn't have any character to it.
And it just felt so like run of the mill generic.
Like I did not like so five.
And you look at some of the new stadiums that they have in baseball.
Like I think my,
the Marlins part.
I've not heard good things about in terms of like the inside atmosphere.
It's very warehousey.
And it's just when you're building a giant things like this, like it's, it's kind of hard
to keep it from being an airport hanger or airplane hanger.
But like Texas's new stadium looks beautiful.
You just got you, you'd have to hope that they make the right decisions there.
But that is definitely a crapshoot.
And again, outside of that, you look at what the coyote was going through.
Like the process of trying to get a new stadium built is not an easy one.
And so do you really want to go through that again?
I don't really.
Yeah.
When I go to a baseball park, I want history.
Like going to the Boston Red Sox Fenway was unbelievable.
It's best park in baseball.
Like I loved it and I hate the Red Sox with everything in my soul.
And the funny thing is that stadium is a piece of shit.
Yeah.
It has nothing nice about it.
I would prefer that over anything else because like when like history and baseball go hand in hand for me.
And so like I've been to Petco Park and honestly I did not like Petco Park either because it just felt too new.
And I didn't like it.
Like I know I'm in the minority in that opinion.
Everyone loves Pecco, but I personally did not like it because I like stadiums like Fenway.
I like Bush in St. Louis.
I will tell you right now, I like Dodger Stadium.
The best park in all of baseball is PNC Park in Pittsburgh.
And they did it perfectly.
It is new.
It is modern, but it still feels like a baseball stadium.
Yeah.
They have like the brick.
They have the like the spiral stairs in the outfield.
Like it's looking over the water.
Like it's a beautiful stadium.
It's the best in baseball.
And obviously it's a lot different when you're building one with a roof.
It's a lot harder to get that vibe.
But Max saying the twins did it.
Obviously the Rangers just did it.
Like there's ways you can execute it well.
But I hope we don't have to get there.
I would rather than just renovate.
I would rather them just renovate Chase.
I think it's,
I love Chase.
Like I don't see you necessarily the problems with it.
Like I,
it reminds me of course in a lot of way on the interior with like they exposed like steel beams and stuff like that.
So if they can just like fix the roof like fix the leaks so things aren't leaking on people
anymore like get it to like a really good operational standard and then renovate the inside and like make it kind of like cool on the inside. I think that's fine. But I just I don't want to see them leave and I would rather them stay at Chase and just like make Chase a little bit cooler. But yeah, it's just my opinion. All right. Let's get into the game because there was an actual real baseball game yesterday that had actual real consequences for the team. It wasn't the best. Debacks lost to the Dodgers eight to two and Zach Allen.
did not make it very far.
The bullpen did not look great.
The bats were not swinging.
They were at first.
Or they were swinging and missing, but they weren't making any contact.
Yeah, thanks a lot, Kyle Lewis.
Oh, can I say something real quick?
Yeah.
DFA of Longoria.
Already.
Yes.
Wow.
Those were the first words on the,
my first words in the deback show yesterday.
He played one game.
That's one too many.
Why is he starting over Josh Rojas?
He's not good at baseball anymore.
The lineup when it came out,
we were leaving media day together
and we were like shocked by the lineup.
It was some interesting calls.
Not quite sure why
Alex Thomas or Josh Rojas wasn't playing yesterday.
It was just bizarre lineup.
And I get that it's like there's
there's explanations for all the choices, right?
I mean,
Kyle Lewis had a terrific spring.
You know,
the fact that they were playing a lefty,
all of those things.
And so obviously in hindsight,
hindsight is 2020,
but I,
it's still
it does not it didn't give me any
instill any confidence in the team
for me. Yeah.
It's only the first game so I'm not
going to. We have tonight's
lineup by the way. Oh, before
we do that though I just wanted to
make sure that nobody feels like we're
dogging on the team game one of
game one of the season.
Obviously it's against the Dodgers
so that's already an uphill battle that you're fighting.
It just wasn't the best start to the season
but I'm not ready to dog on them and count them down and out.
And I say that because I was on Twitter last night and Twitter was a hellscape.
Yeah.
D-Bex fans turned on each other.
It was a full-blown meltdown on Twitter last night.
And I just want to make sure that we're not melting down because there's no reason to melt down quite yet.
And let's not turn this into a vitriol situation on the internet because it's just not necessary.
Like it's the first game in the season.
It was the Dodgers.
Against the Dodgers.
The part that was upsetting for me is that they held mooky bets hitless.
Freeman didn't have a great game and they still lost.
Like you were getting beat by the bottom of the lineup.
Outman went yard.
Like that is the part that was most concerning to me.
But I mean,
Zach Allen still had,
he gave him five runs,
but he sounded seven strikeouts.
Like he was making people,
he was making people miss.
Can we talk about James Outman?
What about him?
He has the worst name in baseball.
Well,
he has the worst name and out baseball when he's batting.
The best name is out in baseball when he's playing in center field.
Yeah.
It's just,
It's like Homer Bailey.
Like you can't be a pitcher and be named Homer Bailey.
Or ball four.
It's a great one too.
But yeah.
So I don't want to dog on them too soon.
I know that I feel like this happens every year.
Like they need at least like another two weeks to get there like to get back in the swing of things.
It's the first game.
Like you can't take anything from this.
Yeah.
At all.
You saw a guy hit 100 out of the pen, which was awesome because it's been a minute since we've seen that.
Yeah.
I think you saw two different relievers.
not give up a run in their in their limited outings one guy pitching inning one guy pitched two
thirds I believe um but yeah man just like if you're if you're if you're wanted to burn it down
already are we lax relax relax relax yeah relax relax relax for sure I also thought it was really weird
that corbin carroll was not in the leadoff position someone in the comments saying uh you might
have to scroll up a little bit Carol lead off for the next decade don't ever move him Sean please
tell me that Corby Carroll is leading off tonight betting leadoff
for your Arizona Diamondbacks.
Third baseman,
Josh Rojas.
Oh, my gosh.
You thought I was going to have in Lungoria?
Oh, my gosh.
Got you.
You thought I was going to have in Liguria.
We got Rojas,
Marte, Gary L. Jr.,
Seawak, Corby and Carroll,
batting fifth,
Gabby Moreno, batting six,
Jake McCarthy, 7,
Alec Thomas, in center fuel
where he belongs,
betting eight,
and closing up the lineup
at shortstop,
Eraldo Podomo.
Okay.
So no Nick Ahmed,
no Longoria,
no Kyle Lewis
in today's lineup,
and Corby and Carroll getting back.
Bumped up to that fifth spot.
So bizarre.
I like this lineup a lot more.
I have no problem.
Sit on the bench.
I have no problem with Rojas.
I mean,
they did.
This is all this is such a young lineup.
Good.
Literally old man on the bench.
That is my adage for the rest of the season.
Put the old man on the bench.
Great band name.
Old man on the bench.
I want to be positive for a second.
Cotell Marte is back, baby.
And by back,
I mean,
and then he didn't hit five home runs yesterday.
He did contribute though,
which is nice.
Beat out.
It was an error.
technically, but he beat out an infield single.
You don't see him do that last year.
He got out because he was trying to stretch a double.
Obviously, I ended up being the wrong call, but you don't see him do that last year.
You can tell he's healthy and playing with effort.
And that was one of the biggest criticisms of him last year, especially after all the money he had gotten.
Yeah.
It looks like, obviously it's one game, but it looks like he's playing with a new energy or the energy that he used to be playing with.
And that is so reassuring to me because, I can tell Marteis should be the best player on this team,
offensively at least.
He should be the best player on this team.
And to see him play like he is a good BuzzPill player again is really reassuring.
Yeah.
Hopefully it wasn't just last day and that is something that he can sustain for the rest of the season.
I do wish Corvin was in that lead up spot.
I still don't understand the reasoning for that.
But I'm glad that the old men are not playing.
Like these guys, these guys need a chance to develop.
And if we're going to put them on the bench and let old man Evan LaGoria start over here,
like why?
Like the old men were brought in to be.
leaders in the locker room like Evan was supposed to be like let them sit on the bench.
I mean, he started over Josh Rojas, who is not like, it's not like he's a rookie.
He's been doing this for a couple of years now.
Right.
I know.
But in general, I agree with you.
Like that Roja are specifically Evan LaGoria, his role should not.
He should be a utility guy.
Yes.
Who's providing leadership from the dug out.
Like once every three, four games.
I don't want to see him started.
Yes, absolutely.
I a thousand percent agree.
Charles saying old man on the bench is a better album name in my.
opinion. Albert wants to put it on a t-shirt. Let's go. Old men on the bench. That's going to be our
saying for the year. Hopefully we see a little bit of a better performance tonight. Babe in the comments,
hi, hey, babe. I'm sorry. That was weird. Baby the comments saying that is it just me or do the
dive-of-axal lose every opening day? It feels like at this point. It does feel like they lose a lot on
opening day. Do we know the last time they won an opening day? I do not off the top of my head.
We have to look that up. If you're in the comments and you like to research,
things. If Mack is still here, Mac Huff, research won the last time the dive of X
went on opening day was. I know Mac likes to do that shit. But yes, it does feel like
they lose on opening day a lot. So, like, I feel like we should just lower expectations.
Like, and also, can we stop opening against the Dodgers? Like, why? I don't think you got a
lower expectations. It was one fucking game. They're going to, they're fine. I'm tired of
opening up against the Dodgers, though. Like, give us someone to open up, besides the Dodgers for
for fuck's sake. Like, I'm tired of that. Agreed. Um, lead off from the bench, Jan Paul says. That's
Also true.
So yeah, did they win on opening day last year?
Elizabeth said last year.
I don't know.
I thought they lost.
I don't remember.
Oh, I can't remember now.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, of course.
Of course.
Whoa.
I was there.
I was going to say, you don't have an excuse.
I was watching a coyote's game at that point.
I'm sorry, guys.
My head's all over the place.
I was there for that game.
Oh, my God.
Yes, they did do that on opening day, beer day.
Wow.
I can't believe I forgot that.
That was a huge miss.
Leah's wearing her Sethservat shirt.
I know.
She's literally wearing her stuff beer shirt today.
geez.
Sethserva.
All right, dingus, my bad, everybody.
They did win last year.
And that was electric, by the way.
That was a much better opening day.
I would have rather have had something like that than what happened yesterday.
I was just a bummer.
Of course you would.
A bummer to start the season, which we kind of knew.
Like, even Derek Hall during Media Day yesterday was like, we know that this opening stretch is going to suck.
Like, we play the Dodgers and the Padre.
It's like, we're aware that this is not going to be great.
So, yeah, it was nice to have Derek Hall.
recognize that.
But at the same time, like, I'm so tired of being
non-competitive against the Dodgers and the Padres.
It was one game.
I know.
The Padres got their shit rock by the worst team in the division yesterday.
But I just want to walk into an opening day if we're playing the Dodgers and be like,
oh, we got this in the bag.
Like, I want to be able to be at the top of the NL West,
slugging it out with the Dodgers and the Padres,
telling them to shove it where the sun don't shine.
Like, and I just don't, I don't have that bravado because I just don't have that confidence
yet, which I know we'll take time.
But it's okay.
It's going to be fine.
It's going to be fine.
So it will.
Boosie said 3-3 in their last six years on opening day
Lost three years in the row prior to Beer Day
Last year.
So it was a streak of losing.
Yeah, I lost three prior to the six years.
Oh, got it, got it.
They're 4 and 11.
Hey, they got a one around day for the debacks.
Jets.
14 and 11.
14 and 11, yeah.
Wow.
Okay, well, I'm not ready to press the panic button yet.
I do like the lineup tonight better than the lineup that was yesterday.
I think we both agree on that, right?
Yes, 100%.
So hopefully today will be a little bit different.
I just want to see the young guys do their thing.
Like all of the rookies and the younger guys,
and I'm grouping in Josh Rojas with that conversation.
And Catelle-Marte,
I consider one of the younger guys,
obviously not a baby back,
but not a grandpa like Evan Longoria or Madison and Baumgartner
or whoever else is agent on that roster.
Mertr's older than Bumgarner,
which I learned yesterday.
No way, really?
Yeah.
Oh, my gosh.
Madison Bumgarner feels like a 90-year-old man to me.
He's on 31.
What? That's fucking crazy.
If you would have said 45, I'd have been like, yeah, that sounds right.
Yeah.
Wow.
That's crazy.
But yeah, so let's let's let the young kids play, you know?
Let the young kids do their thing.
Am I crazy for saying that?
No, not at all.
All right.
Well, hopefully tonight will go better.
Make sure to follow Pach and X Diamondbacks on Twitter to keep up to date with all things going on this season.
Everyone's being so nice about my sun's shirt.
Thanks, guys.
I'm just going to like model it for a second while you get ready for your manscape to read.
I'm really obsessed with it too
It's an off-white collab
So yeah you mentioned that already
You ever see
When guys like you know
They go up to bat
You ever see like a couple years ago
It happened to the Blue Jays I think
I forget who it was
He went up to bat and he had like a mustache
And the next day at bat he came
The mustache was just gone
Like he had just shaved it off
You never you don't you don't know what I'm talking about
No I do remember yeah
Yeah that happens sometimes
Yeah they go into the deck out
Maybe if you know some guys are struggling
They need to get back in the day
dugout and pull out their manscape, just trim the beard off, you know, because everybody knows
Manscape for what they do below the belt, but they got plenty of stuff above the neck as well.
They got their new beard hedger pro kit.
Maybe that's what Evan Longoria can do.
He can shave his beer while.
He's sitting on the bench where he belongs or at home where he belongs.
You had a great career, man.
Anyways, I have a public service announcement.
Manscape now has beard products
And it's going even further with their brand new
Weed Wacker 2.0
Tell the world the leaders in below the ways grooming
Are traveling north of the north of your South Pole
With their revolutionary grooming products
The new weed whacker 2.0
And their new beard line confirms that they will have
All the best tools for your hygiene toolbox
Time for you to upgrade your game by going to manscape.com
And using our code PHNX bets
For 20% off plus free shipping
manscaped
they're the goats
unlike Evan Ligoria
Unlike Evan Lungoria
Poor guy
Everyone in the comments
I shook that mad bum is 31
Connor saying 31
That's it
We scroll up a little bit
How is he only 31
Daniel saying
Yeah aging like milk
Aging like milk for real
Babe saying do we have any hope
In Buck Garder being productive
This year didn't realize he was 31
No not a single shred of hope
I believe it when I see it
No confidence
No hope.
I will be surprised if Madbub finishes the season and the rotation.
I, for one, am very pro put Madbub in the bullpen,
but his contract and probably the front office disagree with me.
I think they're probably paying him too much to put him in the bullpen
and would not want to swallow that pride of putting him there,
considering how much they're paying him.
But I don't have any confidence that this is going to be a good year for him.
I think he probably should have retired three seasons ago.
Yeah, we'll see.
It's a new year.
it's a new year anything's possible
I'll believe it when I see it
yeah
but I still have hope
for the Diamondbacks as a whole
it is going to be okay Dvex fans
it is not time to panic quite yet
hopefully tonight provides a little bit
more excitement and
maybe a win maybe a dub
we'll see on the horizon with all those young guys in the lineup
it would be nice to see for sure
to bounce back after that
absolute dud of a game yesterday
I'm excited to watch it though are you gonna watch
Are you later?
Oh, yeah, of course.
I'll have it on during the coyotes game before.
Love to hear it.
All right, guys.
That's our show for the week.
Thank you all so much for tuning in.
Jan, Charles, Daniel, Babe, Connor, Boosty, Aaron, Chris, Rubin, Albert, Ryan, I think I said,
Ryan.
All yeah.
Xavier, all you guys.
Thank you guys so much for tuning in.
You guys are the absolute best.
Don't forget if you want to go watch the final four tomorrow.
You can do so by coming out to the BetMGM sports book out in Glendale and hang out with us.
the fun starts at 2 p.m.
We will be watching the game.
You can get some free PHNX merch when you place your first bet.
There's going to be food and drink specials, all that fun stuff.
We'll all be there.
So come hang out with us.
And we hope you guys have a wonderful, amazing weekend.
And we'll see you next Friday at 1230.
Bye.
