PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - TPSP: Spring Cleaning - Are Devin Booker and the Phoenix Suns still on track? Will Zac Gallen shine as Opening Day Starter?
Episode Date: March 24, 2023Devin Booker and the Phoenix Suns lose yet again to a team they should have beaten, is the team still in a good place or is it time for fans to hit the panic button? Clayton Keller is set to make hist...ory for the Arizona Coyotes. Bobby Hurley gets a two year extension to continue as head coach for the Arizona State Sun Devils, was this the right move? Why does Zac Gallen look so bad on the mound for the Arizona Diamondbacks and what does losing Carson Kelly to injury mean for the team?PLUS… the World Baseball Classic is over but it was AMAZING… except for having to watch Merrill Kelly pitch in the finals.Join Makayla Perkins and Shawn DePaz for another episode of THE Phoenix Sports Podcast!0:00 - Intro6:30 - Are the Suns ok?16:50 - Bobby Hurley extension20:00 - What should his goals be for ASU?26:20 - OPENING DAY IS CLOSE36:05 - Pitch clock thoughts?43:00 - Clayton Keller... HEISADAWGWATCH YOUR FAVORITE TEAMS HERE: www.fubotv.com/phnxBUY TICKETS HERE: https://gametime.hnyj8s.net/c/3442941...SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube: https://bit.ly/phnx_youtubeALL THINGS PHNX: http://linktr.ee/phnxsportsPHNX: Our next PHNX Tee Party at Dobson Ranch is LIVE!Join us on Friday, March 24th for a night of golf, food, drinks, contests, prizes, and more. Come hang with the PHNX crew, fellow Suns’ fans and Diehards as we watch KD, Booker, and the Suns battle in the final stretch of the season as they take on De'Aaron Fox, Domantas Sabonis, and the Sacramento Kings.Checkout the PHNX Tee Party at Dobson Ranch Eventbrite to reserve your spot today. And Diehards, check Discord for your exclusive discount link!Manscaped: Get 20% Off and Free Shipping with our code PHNXBets at Manscaped.com.Circle K: Text code “PHNX” to 31310 to win a $500 gas card! Limit one entry per person—limit of one entry per phone number. The offer is valid for Arizona residents only. Must be able to verify the place of residence. This contest is administered at the discretion of the Grand Canyon Division of Circle K Stores. Circle K Store Inc. is a part of Alimentation Couche-Tard. You must be 18 years of age or older to win. For questions about this contest or our stores, text ”CARE” to 31310.OGeez!: Learn more about OGeez! at https://ogeezbrands.com//. Must be 21 years or older to purchase.Four Peaks: Drink, eat, find, and experience Four Peaks at https://www.fourpeaks.com/. Must be 21+. Enjoy responsibly.Bad Birdie: Use code “PHNXSPORTS_15” for 15% off your next order https://glnk.io/7qnq/phnx-sportsMor Furniture: Save big on the best furniture in the Valley when you head to https://morfurniture.com!Roman: Go to https://ro.co/PHNX today to get 20% off your entire first order.When you shop through links in the description, we may earn affiliate commissions. Copyright Disclaimer under section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome in to the Phoenix Sports Podcast.
Happy Friday, everybody.
It's me.
It's a girl.
DJ Mackey.
I'm the Caleb Berkins and the one and only, Sean Paws.
Don't forget to hit that like button,
subscribe wherever you get your podcast,
and leave us a five-stop review.
Happy Friday, everybody.
I'm super excited because today is our tea party event out at Dobson Ranch Golf Course,
and I cannot wait to smack some golf balls.
I'm very jealous that I can't go.
There's a coyote's game tonight.
You can't.
But you have fun for me.
No, sadly.
But you should be there because it's going to be a vibe.
The last one was so much fun.
I mean, I'll go anywhere that you're giving me free food, to be quite honest.
So you're going to send me somewhere fun that also has free food.
So let me write the hell up.
It's true.
You can go if you haven't bought your tickets.
You can get your tickets at the golf course slash party.
So no worries if you don't have them already.
We're going to have a ton of fun stuff out there.
All of our partners will be there.
There's going to be food from Mountain Mikes and Chop Shop, allegedly, which I am so excited for because last time it was fire.
And our friends, Four Peaks are also going to be out there.
Obviously, it is presented by Four Peaks, which I'm excited for because I don't think there's literally anything better than sitting on a golf course and drinking a hazy IPA.
No, I wholeheartedly agree.
Like, just being outside in nice weather with a beer and not just any beer.
I mean, you're a hazy person.
I love a nice wow when I'm outside.
Wow.
week. But like golf, baseball and beer, it all just fits together. Yeah, it's all just like meant to be.
It's like peanut butter and jelly, you know? But our friends at Four Peaks, they are hosting a NFL
draft party on April 27th. The cards, listen, they've got a new coach, a new GM. They have the third
pick in the draft. It's a big opportunity for the cards. And the best place to watch this
pivotal moment is going to be at the Four Peaks, 8th Street Pub on April 27th. Don't miss out on this.
it's going to be an electric factory, according to sources.
According to sources.
If you're going to drink that for Peaks beer, you must be 21 years or older to enjoy responsibly.
Also, I want to give a quick shout out to our friends at Burrito Express for bringing burritos to the office this week.
I am obsessed with Brito Express and the burritos and their green dipping sauce.
As we all know, I posted on Twitter about how much salsa is necessary for a large breakfast burrito because I needed to vindicate myself because everyone in this freaking office makes fun.
of me for putting four salsas on my burrito.
Listen. But I need four salsas. Like there should be a dollop of salsa per bite on a burrito.
And it needs at least four to accomplish that mission because the Brito Express burritos burritos are
ginormous and they're delicious. Okay, I realize the source of my problem with you. And it's
not that you use too much salsa. I don't have an, I don't really have an issue with you wanting
to douse your burrito and salsa. My issue is that they give two sauces per burrito. And if you're
out here taken four, then someone's going to get going to get cheated out of some
Snews you lose.
Go get your salsa.
Like if there's no salsa left when I go get my burrito, like, fair play.
Like I shouldn't wait five hours seeing my burrito.
But the issue is that there will be because no one else is out here taking four sauces.
I am unapologetic.
Geez, if I could speak in my salsa consumption.
And I think a minimum four is what you need to eat a burrito express burrito.
So thank you to our friends over at BE.
They also have some new NIL athletes.
Elijah Badger and
softball star
Sean's favorite player
Jasmine Hill have received their
NIA deals from Burrito Express
in the form of cash clothes and of course
burritos. So congratulations to Barreto Express
for signing those amazing athletes.
All right, Sean, we got a lot to talk about.
Before we get into it, let's say hi to everyone in the comments.
Connor, Boosty, Elizabeth Ernesto
Brendan. Hello, everyone. Thank you so much
for joining us.
We're about to do some spring
cleaning and that involves our temperature check. We need to get this underway because there's a lot
to talk about going on in Arizona sports right now. And we just got to run through it. We just got to,
you know, gather everything up, clean it out, make some room for good things and just, you know,
spring clean. It's tight. It's spring, right? Yeah. Out with the old and with the new.
Out with the old. Sometimes, you know, you're keeping the new, but you're just bruising it up.
Yeah, just making a little bit. The time's the thing. Nicer. Yeah. Just polishing it a little bit.
All right, let's start with the Phoenix Suns.
It hasn't been going great.
No, not, not exactly.
We're missing some key pieces to this roster.
Obviously, a DA has been out with an injury.
KD. has been out with an injury.
I still haven't gotten used to saying that KD is a Phoenix Sun, by the way.
I mean, we haven't seen him play much for the Phoenix.
That's fair.
They've lost five of their last six.
They lost to the Thunder and the Lakers most recently.
Okay.
They lost of the Thunder and the Lakers most recently.
And those both were very winnable games, like very winnable games.
It hurts watching them lose to teams like those two.
But I just like, I don't want to get too discouraged because I feel like now's not the time to get discouraged.
No, it's certainly not.
And, yeah, as I tried to say, well,
I'll get on my soapbox a minute, but like, you look at the suns.
Yeah, I'm with you.
I don't think there's a reason to be concerned quite yet.
You look at the West, the standings.
They're still right in the mix of everything.
So there's nothing that would be concerned.
I believe they're fifth in the Western Conference standings right now.
Yeah, we have the Western Conference standings available if Shane wants to put them up for us.
Keep going what you're saying, though, Sean.
No, just, yeah, fourth in the standings right now.
The worst toss ever, by the way.
Well, you were distracted.
Anyways.
You asked the question.
You didn't say, can we get a graphic?
Well, I mean, I did say we have the Western Conference standings.
And then Max said, I believe we have the graphic.
Anyways, the suns are currently fourth in the Western Conference standings right in the mix of everything.
And I mean, like, we talk about the West all the time with all the parody that it has.
As long as you make the playoffs, I'm not really concerned.
Yeah.
And they're not going to miss the playoffs.
No.
So don't be concerned.
Yeah.
I mean, looking at the Western conference standings, the Nuggets and the Gris and the Kings are all good teams.
We all know how we feel about the Nuggets being frauds, but they're up there.
Look at you guys.
Look at this.
The Sons are fourth in the Western Conference.
Okay.
Like, I know watching them lose games, especially as many as they have lost recently and to teams like the Lakers and the freaking thunder sucks.
I get it.
But look, like everyone needs to calm down.
Like I know that we're all a little bit.
anxious because
KD is not playing and we never want to
see the player that we
hemorrhage players for
not playing for our team
and I know it's not great to
CDA hurt and all this stuff
but I just don't it's not time to freak out
yet like they are still going to make the playoffs
they're going to get KD back soonish
I think we have like what a week and a couple days left
Thursday he'll be re-evaluated yeah next Thursday he's going to get
re-evaluated and they never
the sun's never made it seem like it was time to
about his injury because like it's it didn't seem that bad like they um i think james jones was the one
that said if the playoffs started tomorrow and we really need a katy to play he would play so they're
just being extra cautious with katy to make sure that nothing worse happens and that he's 100
percent before he comes back um so seeing where they are in the standings knowing that this team
isn't at their full strength i'm not ready to check out of the stuns yet like i think everyone that's
doomed to day panicking is a little premature yeah i mean i
wholeheartedly agree. Can I get on my soapbox yet?
Yeah, go for it. Okay. Unleash Sean.
Unleash him. Put him on your soapbox, Sean. Let's hear it.
If you're one of these losers that's on the internet tweeting, oh, the sun suck.
And I am thinking of specific people and you know who you are. Put your goddamn phone down.
Like, what are we talking about? Look at what the roster that is currently on the court.
I said it right before the show. They're playing with a team that is essentially if you traded away Cam Johnson and McHale Bridges for T-D.
J Warren and oh no excuse me mcale bridges cam johnson and d a who's been out the last two
two games um for t j warren they have nobody on the team right now like i love devon booker but
he's not going to carry an entire team like through the west they've lost five of the last six
sure they've fallen one game in the standings like everyone's losing they have tiebreakers over the
warriors and the clippers already why are we concerned like i don't i just don't it makes no sense to me
And there's every fan base is like this.
So I'm not going to single out Sun fans.
But there's so many Sun's fans who just get apocalyptic as soon as the first sign of trouble shows.
Like they don't have a top five player in the NBA out right now.
Like what?
How are we going to?
And then those same fans are going to get on the internet and start complaining about how the refs are screwing them out of games.
In the same breath that they're talking about how the sun suck.
Like it's one or the other.
Russ are screwing you or the team is trash.
The reality is it's probably not really either.
They just are missing their best player.
And over the last two games, two of their best players.
Like, what are we talking about?
And we just look at the standings.
They're still going to host a playoff series as it stands right now.
What is the problem?
And look at the teams in front of them.
Are you threatened by the Denver Nuggets?
I know that they're top seed in the West, but I don't give a shit.
They're not a playoff team.
They haven't done shit in the playoffs.
Nicolioch hasn't done shit in the playoffs.
Not concerned about them.
The Memphis Grizzlies, their players are out in clubs posting guns on Instagram.
I'm not concerned about them.
And the Sacramento Kings are the Sacramento motherfucking kings.
What are we talking about?
Like, sure, the NBA is the NBA.
It's hard.
You're going to face adversity.
But stop fucking sounding all the alarms like the world is ending when they are missing two of the three best players.
R-E-L-A-X.
Relax.
R-E-L-A-X.
That's all I got.
That's all I got.
I'm off my soapbox.
Oh my God.
That was hilarious.
Thank you, Sean.
I'm just getting annoyed.
I feel like there were a lot of sayings in there that we can like hashtag and use and make a thing on Twitter because you just went off.
Connor's fired up.
Light the beam.
Like the beam.
Making like the beam all they want.
They're not going to do shit in the playoffs.
Yeah.
Listen, I agree with everything you said.
and then some.
I just like everyone just needs to take a collective breath.
Like we just need to.
Deep breathe.
It's going to be okay.
We're going to get KD back.
The sons are going to be fine.
I will say though,
I think the only thing that's a little sucky about this time is I was a little bit worried
about the adjustment period of adding KD to this roster and the time that they needed
to play together to kind of figure out their cohesiveness as like a unit.
And I was hoping that the sons would have this time.
now, which their games are like not non-consequential, but like we know that the sons are making
the playoffs. Like it would have been nice to have this time now to have the sons kind of figure out
their team chemistry and gel together before we hit the playoffs. And so now I think the only really
concern that I have is like they're going to have to figure that out with a much smaller window and
with their backs up against being in the playoffs, which is never really ideal. I mean, we saw what happened
to the Warriors when they added all those superstars and they had to figure out their team chemistry
and they sucked until they figured it out. So.
I don't know if I'm just being a little cautious because I just don't want to get my heartbroken,
but I am a little bit worried.
If I had to pick something to be worried about now, it would just be the fact that they have
to figure out their team chemistry with their backs up against a wall.
Yeah, don't get me wrong.
There's plenty of reason to be concerned about the Suns, and there's plenty of teams in the West
that can give them trouble.
But if you're looking at this last six games and, like, that's the reason you're panicking,
you're not paying any attention.
They don't have their best player, and they also don't have any bench depth.
I don't know what you would expect from a team like that.
Like, sons could easily get bounced,
can be fully healthy and get bounced in the first round.
I'm not saying that at all.
But what I'm saying is if you're one of the people
that are sounding the alarms based off what you've seen since KD's been hurt,
that makes no sense to me because he's going to be back.
And the team is, I don't know.
Like when you have a top five player in the NBA,
playing for your team, you get a lot better.
So I'm just not like these, these losses are not what's making me
concerned about this son's team.
Plenty of other stuff, but it's not this losing streak that's wrong.
Yeah, absolutely.
David in the comment saying Katie will mix faster.
I definitely think if anyone can mix faster, it is Katie surely due to his experience of
being on so many different teams and the fact that he's just a top five player.
But it's not just adding KD they have to account for.
It's also losing McAle and Cam and some of their bench steps.
And so it's not just the factor of adding KD that worries me.
It's also the other factors that they have to account for.
I think Katie is brilliant on defense, but I do think the Sun's defense as a whole has kind of taken a dive.
And so just trying to account for some of these things is what I'm just hoping that the Suns have time to work out the kinks for before we hit the playoffs.
But based off of what we've seen from the Suns recently, I don't think there is any reason to hit the panic button.
And yet I think, you know, once Katie comes back and we have time to evaluate the team for what it is, I don't.
what it should be on paper, I think then we can kind of decide where to go to from there.
Yeah, 100%.
But time will tell.
They do play the Kings tonight and I'm a little nervous about that one.
Yeah.
I mean, they'll probably get their ass kick because the Kings are a good team.
But they play in Sacramento, man.
Sacramento, like, I'm not worried about no team from Sacramento.
Yeah.
If you're nervous about this game like I am, it might help to take an OGs before you watch it.
OGs are the best scratch-made team.
THC gummies in the state of Arizona because they're made in Arizona.
And they also just taste incredible.
The orange creamicle is my favorite, but they also have so many other great flavors.
They also recently released their aqua berry flavor, which is their dream addition.
So you can get a good night's sleep.
You might not want to take that one before the sun's game because you'll miss the sun's game
because you are passed out, either on your couch or in your bed.
But they also have their new, their brand new, strawberries and cream, happy balance gummies,
which is a CBD and a THC gummy, which I think is.
perfect for watching the sun's game tonight.
Hopefully it will help lift your spirits a little bit if things don't go the sun's way.
You can check out their new strawberries and cream, Happy Balanced Gummys, live on the shelves
of your favorite dispensary.
As always, you can also check out OGsbrands.com.
You must be 21 years or older to enjoy.
OGs are also going to be out at our tea party event tonight handing out some non-medicated
samples.
So make sure you check them out, head over to their tent and pick up some of their non-medicated
gummy so you can see for yourself how amazing they taste because they truly are the best
tasting gummies I've ever had.
They really are.
Bar none. All right.
Staying on the topic of basketball, we got some good news for the Sun Devils this week.
Bobby Hurley signed an extension for the devs.
He had one season left on his previous deal and he will now be under contract with the
Sun Devils through the 2025-26 season.
And despite what other people may say, I think this is a great move for the Sun-Divisels.
Nevels and I'm really happy that we get Bobby Hurley in the Valley for longer.
There were reports that other teams were trying to snag him up and he made it clear that he
is very happy and dedicated to staying with the devs.
And so I'm stoked that Bobby Fing Hurley is sticking around.
Yeah, same.
I mean, I don't know how you can't.
I don't understand why you wouldn't be.
The man just got this team to the tournament and had one of like the biggest wins in ASU
basketball history that went over McHell, the win at McHale.
over a top 10 University of Arizona team.
Like, it was awesome.
And I think he's a great coach.
He's a guy that clearly wants to be here.
Yeah.
And I think that is key.
Like, you got to want to be where you're at.
Yeah.
And I just, I know a lot of people have problems with him.
And sure, he might, he's not the best coach in the country.
But he is a very good basketball coach.
And I think this extension is just, it's good.
It was good to get rid of all of the, the, what's the word I'm looking for?
Like, doubt surrounding the program, I guess.
Because after the season ended, obviously, there was the article that was released
at saying you should be fired.
And there was, once some of the jobs opened up out east, some people thought he might be looking at,
like any of the jobs, right?
And this kind of felt like, here you go.
Yeah.
Here's these two years.
We're committed to you for right now.
The fans can shut up about it.
and we could just focus on trying to build this program into something that I think a lot of people think it can be, which is more than it has been.
At the very least, I'm not going to sit here and pretend it's going to be a perennial top 10 team.
But there's no reason this team can't be a ranked team year in a year out.
And I think that's what Bobby is working towards.
And this extension goes a long way and kind of giving him the reassurance that at least Ray is behind him.
I'm not going to say that Michael Crow is behind him.
But at the very least the athletic department is behind them.
Yeah, absolutely. I mean, it's not like Bobby Holy hasn't done anything to deserve this extension.
This was his eighth season with the Sun Devils, and they finished the season 23 and 13, and they made it to their third tournament appearance under Bobby Hurley's reign.
And it was their fourth time in the last six seasons that Hurley had led ASU to a 20 plus win season.
So obviously, it's not like this extension was undeserved on paper.
He's done a lot to turn this program around and to do his best to ensure that the talent comes.
coming through will help lead the Sun Devils to some solid victories.
There's been a lot that has happened under Hurley that has been some just like
absolute bookmarked career like upsets or games or victories.
And I think making it to the tournament three times and eight years is
definitely nothing to shake a fist at.
So I'm excited for Hurley.
I'm glad that he's staying here.
Obviously he's a players coach and the players enjoy playing with him.
Um, we did get some news this week that a couple of players have.
entered the transfer portal most recently as of today or yesterday DJ Horn um yeah today it was official
yeah today it was official that he's entered the transfer portal which i think is the biggest loss
for the sun devil's DJ is extremely talented um and showed it during the tournament um and then they
also are losing jamaia neal and enoch yeah um out of those players who are you the most sad to see go and
is this cause for concern for you um i don't i mean i'm personally i mean obviously dj is
a big loss, but I think once he he celebrated senior night at DFA early this year,
kind of started getting the feeling that he might be going. So I don't know, I've had,
I've had more time to kind of sit with that. So I'm not like upset or surprised by it.
The Jemaya knew one hurts to me because I think we've talked about a little bit on Sun Devils.
He had an opportunity to be a big piece for the team next year. And he started showing how
talented he was late in the season in the Pactal tournament in the two games they played in the NCAA
tournament. So I thought he could, he had the opportunity to take a big step in terms of how good
he is and also the role he has. So that loss hurts a little bit. But the other ones, like,
Enoch, I'm not surprised by. He got essentially no playing time last year with Warren Washington
and Duke Brennan playing in front of him. And hard to see where he would have got playing time
next year, especially if Warren decides to return. And like I said, DJ, I had a feeling was coming.
So the Jamiya one hurts for me. Yeah, absolutely.
it'll be interesting to see how the Sun Devils kind of adjust to some of those losses.
A lot of the roster, though, was expected to return.
A couple of people did some projected starting lineups on Twitter that kind of made me happy.
It's exciting to kind of see what I think one of the things that hurt, not necessarily hurt,
but was to ASU's disadvantage this year, was the fact that there were so many new players on this roster.
I think they had, what, three returning players from last year?
Only one returning starter.
One returning starter.
Yeah.
And then, I mean, technically, Jemaiah, Luther, we're on the roster.
They had a lot more.
They had like four or five returning, but only three people that played.
Yeah.
So I think it'll be exciting to see how they can build even further with the returning players that they are slated to have next season.
The one question I do have, though, and I know this might not be the best time to ask it.
So don't shoot me.
Don't kill the messenger.
But I just like as much as I love Bobby Hurley and obviously I am a sun devil.
So I'm a smidgin biased.
And I love watching this team make the tournament.
It's not as though they've made any deep runs in the tournament.
And I just like I just want to know when we've had enough of watching them just make it to the tournament.
Like when is that not going to be enough for us anymore?
2025, 2026.
I think now he has to take another step.
Like, you can't, like, I don't think just making the first four is going to be enough.
If that's all he can achieve.
Like, he's going to at least have to win, like, a round of 64 game at some point.
Yeah.
I mean, it's hard to say because, you know, everything's got to be in context.
So it's hard to know exactly.
Like, obviously, you look at what's happened the last few years.
And on paper, it's not great.
But, I mean, there's pretty valid excuses for why Bobby was not able to do as much with this program as people would have hoped between.
COVID between DFA being a giant trash heap, like a variety of things. So, but I do think, yeah,
like mediocrity is not going to, is not going to suffice forever. He's going to have to do something.
But I don't know. I think he can. Like I don't, I don't think there's any reason to doubt that he can.
I just give him the opportunity, which they now have. And I, I think he can do it eventually.
I mean, all signs point to the right direction, right? It's not like they're giving an extension to someone who
has regressed the program in any way.
Like the program has taken steps forward under Bobby Hurley.
Obviously, this is why they gave him the extension.
But I just want to see the program take even more steps now.
Like to be fully honest, like I'm tired of just making the tournament at this point.
Like I really want to see them go further than, um, where they have made it in the
tournament as of the past eight seasons with Hurley.
So, um, I'm just excited that he'll get the chance to do that because it's not like I
don't think he can lead this team to first.
in the tournament.
I just want to see it happening sooner rather than later.
But ASU basketball season is over.
So they will have lots of time to relax, hit the golf course maybe.
Yeah.
And if they do hit the course, they better be doing it in some bad birdie gear
because it is the best, most stylish golf gear in the entire world.
They've got everything you might need to look stylish on the course or wherever.
Honestly, I've seen people wearing bad birdie golf polos in like meetings at work.
So it's not like you have to be a golf guru to wear Bad Birdie.
They just dropped six new polos, three new quarter zips, and two new hats.
They also have ladies gear.
It's just the best for anyone who wants to look good.
You can use promo code at PHNX Sports underscore 15 for 15% off your next order at badbritygolf.com.
Again, that's PHNX Sports underscore 15 for 15% off your next order at bad birdie golf.com.
I'm sure a lot of people are going to be rocking the bad birdie at our tea party event tonight, too.
I bet you Shane's going to be rocking the bad birdie at tea party tonight because he's rocking the bad birdie right now.
It's bubble Shane.
Howle cute.
Do you want to model your bad birdie golf pole for us, Shane?
I'm modeling it right now.
Yeah, just flexing on them.
Oh.
Is that the Jaguar?
Excuse me.
Oh, yeah, there it is.
Oh, my God.
Okay.
Thank you.
Do you see the definition?
Oh, sorry.
I gotta go.
Oh my gosh, what a dork.
That's bubble shane for you.
Wait, is that just bubble Shane that's a dork or is it normal Shane?
Just bubble Shane.
Yeah, normal Shane, it's fine.
All right, let's talk some baseball because it is just around the corner.
Opening day is almost here.
And I'm so excited.
Just around the corner.
This time next week, we will have, this time next week, Zach Gallon will be 1-0.
The Dodgers will be 0-1.
Hot take.
And baseball will be fully.
underway. Yes, Zach Gellon has officially been named the opening day starter as of a couple
hours ago, which honestly should not come a surprise to anybody who pays attention to the Diamondbacks.
If you thought it was going to be a certain someone that rhymes with baddest of Mum Gardner,
you have not been paying attention to the Diamondbacks. Although it is very sad that he is not
the opening day started because he's getting paid as though he should be the opening day starter.
his salary is more than like seven of the players combined on the team.
But, you know, alas, we do not have to suffer through Madison Bumgarner pitching on opening day because we have seen how that goes.
And it normally does not work for the paper of the time it backs.
I'm a little nervous.
So I'm not going to lie because Zach Allen has struggled a little bit in spring training.
Boy, has he.
He has an 8.44 ERA.
obviously he's only pitched in three games though so 10.2 innings pitched yeah in 10 innings he's posted
in 8.44 a R a 3rd and a 2.16 whip eesh um tough hasn't been the best spring for gallon no
are we worried nah nah no I mean spring training like you don't ever really fully know what
pitcher's mindset is like they're not going into spring training trying to win baseball games
necessarily they're trying to work on different things yeah and and also
So Carson Kelly was injured.
So he's playing with a variety of different catchers and stuff like that.
And, you know, there's, especially when it comes to like that pitcher-catcher battery,
like there's chemistry matters there a lot, especially the catcher knowing the pitcher.
And like I said, you don't really know what the goal of a pitcher is in spring training.
So I'm not going to be concerned until I see him struggle in the regular season because spring training only means so much to me.
Yeah, absolutely.
I don't want to read too much into spring training either.
I think that's a very fair stance to take.
Like you said, spring training isn't for winning games.
Spring training is for working on pitches, on locations, on grips, on anything and everything,
a pitcher might need to kind of figure out his pitch arsenal.
A lot of the times pitchers will go out and just throw one type of pitch, the entire outing.
I mean, the daughters have a kid out there who hasn't swung the battle spring training because he has a broken hand.
Like, and they clearly are not out here trying to win baseball games.
It's not what this is about.
Yeah, no. Winning baseball games is not the priority in spring training.
So I don't want to read too much into that.
And I don't think there's really any other option to go with anyways.
But someone asked if this is a contract here for Zach Gallen.
I don't.
I'll find out.
I think, yes, yes, it is.
He signed a one-year contract, I think, to avoid arbitration.
Yeah?
Yeah, he signed a one-year contract to avoid arbitration.
That was what my gut instinct was, but I wasn't 100% sure.
So I do believe this is a contract year for him, which...
I mean, that could go one of two ways.
Yeah, but hopefully it goes the right way.
Like, I mean, there's plenty of examples of pitch of guys who go crazy and they're in contract years.
So hopefully that's the case for Zach.
I mean, he set the bar very high last year.
Like, so do I necessarily?
certainly expect him to pitch exactly that well.
Not necessarily, but I don't, there's no reason he still can't be a bona fide ace.
And that, that is what I expect from him.
I'm, I don't think there's any reason not to because like I said, spring training doesn't
mean anything to me.
Yeah.
Um, actually he's going to be a free agent in 2026.
So, um, I don't know about his like restrictions or unrestrictions, but either way, we need a big
outing.
We need a big, a big year from, uh, Zach Allen, regardless of whether he's under
contractor not he's kind of going to be the anchor to this rotation obviously he's the ace
or i guess what you would consider an ace uh if you had to name one he is an ace he just finished
top five and he's i young he is very good and he needs to be very good because the
team backs rotation makes me nervous um anything correlated to pitching in the diamond backs makes me nervous
um i'm confident in like three out of the five pitchers i in the rotation i'm confident in well
like two and a half you want to name names I'm confident in Merrill Kelly and and
Zach Gallen I feel pretty good about dray Jameson if he becomes the fifth
starter I have no confidence in Madison no garner obviously and I have a little like
Zach Davies could like be okay I'm not expecting him to be out here like going crazy
but I think he could be like a serviceable number three in the rotation so that's my
hope at least. Although Merrill Kelly
did not look too great. I'm just about to say
I'm not sure where that confidence in Merrill Kelly
is coming from because I don't know if you watched the world
baseball classic or not, but it did not go
well for Mario Kelly
in either of his two outings.
He pitched for the USA against
Colombia and then he pitched for the USA
against Japan in the final and
we all know how that went unfortunately
What is? He also
at a sub eight or no
sub eight. What's the opposite
of sub? A higher than eight
ERA in the World Baseball Classic, not great.
Yeah, not great.
Upwards of eight.
Upwards of eight, something like that.
Yeah, it wasn't, I felt really bad for Meryl.
Obviously, that was not the performance that you wanted in the World Baseball Classic Finals.
But I will say it was really cool to watch the WBC.
There was a lot of controversy on the Internet about the WBC, thanks to a certain sports company.
But I think it's awesome.
I think it's cool watching your favorite play.
players band together to play for a country. And I think everyone takes it really seriously. Like,
I know it's not the Olympics or whatever else you might want to compare it to, but all those
players out there playing in the WBC were like ride or die for their country and they took it
very seriously. It was like an honor for them. And it was cool to see the passion for it. I was there
for the Mexico versus USA game. Holy crap. Like that entire stadium was full. I haven't seen
Chase Field packed like that since 2017 wild cards. So it was really cool to see.
to witness and also just watching
Team USA. I'm definitely
bummed that they lost because Team USA
for me was like the Avengers. Like,
how do you have those people on
that roster and you still lose
like what? I mean, at least they made
it out of the group stages. Look at you,
Dominican Republic.
But you talk about the Avengers. Yeah, the Avengers.
That's the Avengers. That is
that, but yeah, that shit is
Los Avengers. Like, it should be
ridiculous. Los Avengeros.
Yeah, but like they
they should have been better.
But yeah, I mean, the weakness with the U.S. team was always the pitching,
and that obviously reared its head in the championship game with Merrill Kelly.
Yes, and sure did.
One in a third, three hits, two earn runs, two locks, and one strikeout.
A homer.
It was not good.
And it was like the biggest moment of his entire baseball career.
So I really felt bad for Merrill.
But in general, yeah, the world baseball classic is awesome.
I mean, even Connor McDavid in his post game after the coyotes game the other night,
he started talking about, he was like, did you guys see show?
Joe Hey versus Mike Trout.
Yeah.
Oh my God.
Talk about a storybook ending.
Shohei Otani versus Mike Trout in the final out of the world baseball classic.
Like, unbelievable.
I don't know if you saw the stat.
And however many at-bats Mike Trout has had in his career, like I think it's upwards of
2000.
He's only 26 times in his career has he swung and missed three times in that bat.
And Shohay Otani made him do that in the biggest game of his career.
Yeah.
Which also is a testament to the fact that Shoah O'Otani is like,
baseball player in the history of man. It's ridiculous.
I just can't even, like, I can't even sit here and think about what
Shohei Otane is for long enough because I'll start freaking out.
Yeah, no. It's,
the fact that we get to like watch this human, which sometimes I don't even think
as human play baseball. It's just so cool.
Yeah. And Con is making the, imagine if you put Trout and Otani on the same team, how good
that team would be. Oh my God. Oh, wait. Oh, wait. Oh, my God. But yeah,
that was one of the coolest moments I've ever seen in sports, to be quite honest.
Like, it was, it was awesome. And when you got people in other sports,
talking about it. Like, I don't want to get all worked up again because I can easily, but like
all sports are meaningless. None of it means anything. So to sit here and be like, world baseball
class, it doesn't mean anything. It only means something if the player, if it means something to
the players. And it clearly did. So like, what are we talking about? Like, it was, it was awesome.
Connor McDavid wants to see it back in hockey. I want to see it back in hockey. I love international
sports. It's awesome. When you get people playing for the, like it always, because you can't
choose where you're from. Yeah. Like, it, it,
means well i mean the base the rules in the world baseball baseball classic are a little weak or a little weird
but like they're still like i can't just be like i'm playing for netherlands now like there has to be
some kind of connection but baseball is the weakest of rules but like in hockey specifically
basketball soccer whatever like you can't choose where you're from it means something different
than a team that drafted you or a team that you signed with last year all of a sudden being in the
posties like it's different yeah and it's it's awesome i so thoroughly enjoyed it i wish it happened
every year. But then it might lose a little bit with Luster if it happened every year. Yeah, absolutely. See y'all
in 2027. The World Baseball Classic was amazing. It was so sick. And anyone who says otherwise, they have a
bad opinion. You were a loser. Get off the internet. Get off the internet. Put your, hashtag put your
phone down. Like Sean said. Somebody in the comments ask us thoughts on the pitch clock. Great question
because I love it. Love, love, love, love entirely. There was a
like clear difference in games that have a pitch clock in games that don't when I was there watching the world baseball classic like it was you're watching four hour games the difference was staggering and it you could feel it like I was sitting there and I was like and I'm a baseball purist you guys like I'm the type of girl that sits behind home plate with my scorebook and with my earbuds and listening to the radio broadcast like okay this is what we're talking about here so um the fact that even I was sitting there and I'm like oh my God like can we
like get on with this like can this speed this up a little bit like it's crazy how much of a difference
it made and you could feel it like I was sitting there like okay this is dragging on a little bit too
long like there's the the pitcher is taking too long the batter needs to stay in the box and stop
scratching his nuts like just like there was so much happening that did not need to be happening
that I was like this is what a pitch clock is for and at first I was a little apprehensive about it
I'm not going to lie because I am a baseball pierce and I'm like this is the greatest game in the
world. The rules haven't changed because it is the greatest game in the world. Just let them go out
there and do what they need to do. And I don't care how long it takes. But now that I have been
exposed to what it is like when we have a pitch clock, I'm kind of like the biggest fan of it ever.
I'm right there with you. I'm still of the mindset that it shouldn't be used in the postseason because
the postseason baseball should be the purest form of the sport possible. And like those games should
take as long as they need to. But I'm not going to die on that hill. Like as it's the pitch clock is
amazing. There's no reason games need to take four hours. And the reality is they will take four
hours if they need to take four hours. Like if there's a bunch of runs, then fine. You'll be,
you'll be sitting there for a long time. But what you won't have is a four hour two nothing game.
Yeah. Like that's not going to happen. Because it shouldn't happen. And I'm happy about it.
Yeah. So big fan of the pitch clock, it does actually speed the game up, which I'm in favor for.
As much as I love baseball and as much as much as it appears as I am, I would like to do some other
things with my day and my time and sit there for four hours.
hours and watch baseball.
But I'm excited for baseball season as a whole.
I think this is going to be a great year for the Diamondbacks.
I'm so excited for Diamondbacks fans to finally have like people to cheer for,
a team to cheer for a reason to cheer because I do think that they are going to be competitive.
And I'm hoping they can at least sniff the outskirts of a wild card berth.
So excited for the D-BACs and for baseball season.
Breaking news.
Oh, God.
Kevin Durant is expected to return.
Wednesday against the Timberwolves barring any setback.
We're back, baby.
We're back, baby.
Let's go.
Oh, my God.
He's going to get the work, dude.
You just made my day with that news.
He's going to get cat the work.
Katie, yep, Wednesday versus the Timberwolves.
Ooh, baby.
Inject it.
Let's go.
I'm very excited to finally see our investment.
That sounds horrible, like talking like a person like an investor.
Never mind.
That does sound terrible.
I'm excited to see Katie.
finally do what we're all big Katie could do when we gave up
sweet baby Michaela Cam
that's exciting oh my gosh Wednesday
wait when our takeover is not on Wednesday
dang it um that's gonna be
super exciting um Xavier Javier is in our comments
just popping off against
By this part he's right
If Katie's back there's not an excuse like that's what I was saying
I mean what he was saying earlier this comment this comment gets me hot
y'all got a super team no excuse not to win the chip this year
can can sun's haters just
get it one way or the other. Does the roster suck ass and need help or is it a super team?
Yeah.
Which one is it? Like, I've heard both sides and it makes me so mad.
Since when are two, since when do two players constitute a super team? Like, because no one,
Chris Paul is 80 years old and.
Oh, Drew just broke the news to me. Oh, diddy. Breaking news. Yeah. Um, and Chris Paul is 80
years old and DeAndre Aiton is wildly inconsistent. So Kevin Durant, who's been, who's played here
for a total of like 30 seconds and Devin Booker.
is a super team now.
Fucking relax.
I do agree though that with KD.
But I agree that there's not an excuse.
There's no excuse not to win a championship.
Like I'll agree with that part.
Yeah, absolutely.
He's saying that I expect an NBA championship.
So do we.
I think so do we.
It's championship or bust.
Like you don't do what the sons did and give up what you gave up to not win a championship.
Is this not weird old behavior though?
Being another fan being like, I expect you to win a championship.
Yeah, no.
That is weird of behavior for sure.
Of course.
There's always weird a behavior.
We're not saying that it's not.
But yeah, no, I mean, I think we expect a championship too.
Like, come on.
Like, sons, like you just leveraged a lot to make sure that you got one of the best players in the NBA in a roster.
Like, it's championship or bust, baby.
There's no excuses.
Like, we got to do it.
Connor agreeing, we all do.
Yeah, we literally all expect them.
Sly in the comment saying, don't let them warm up before the game.
Yeah, listen, we need to make sure the court is dry.
There's nothing that could possibly happen.
We might as well just bubble wrap, Kate.
while he's warming up at this point.
I've heard you say that a bunch of times.
Not pertaining to Katie.
To the other players, yes.
But I am willing to apply my bubble wrap method to Katie this time around because
Lordy, he needs it.
That's exciting.
I'm excited.
Oh, my God.
Yay.
That just made my day.
I love,
love seeing Katie in a Suns jersey.
It's still,
like I said before,
it still hasn't sunk in any of the player from Suns, but it's fine.
It will hit me at some point.
Oh, there it is.
He's a LeBron Lakers fan.
Okay.
That makes sense.
I was like,
why are you telling us to show you.
respect.
Okay.
Okay.
Respect our Lakers fans, guys.
Respect them.
I have a hard time respecting someone I can't see,
considering they're not anywhere near the top of the Western Conference leaderboard.
So sorry.
I'll keep looking for you, Laker, but you're down there at the bottom.
So enjoy the view from the bottom.
Lakers fans.
To be fair to the Lakers, they also, LeBron also isn't playing.
Just saying.
So LeBron played last year.
They still sucked last year.
That part's true.
The bottom of the Western Conference is only two and a half games.
But it's not.
I mean,
No, no, no, no, no, no, no.
We don't got to talk about it.
We don't got to talk about it.
We're ahead of the Lakers.
That's all I care about.
Sorry, I was just trying to show them respect.
Ritu peck.
Yeah, we don't care.
We don't care about the Lakers.
What is that, Stephen A. Smith?
Listen, we don't care.
We do not care.
We don't.
The sounds are better than Lakers.
That's all I care about.
I, um.
I hate the Lakers and I hate LeBron more than I hate a lot of things.
There's no reason to hate LeBron.
LeBron haters are weirdos.
I love LeBron James.
No.
All right.
Let's wrap this show up because we have some history in the making happening right before our eyes with the Arizona Coyotes and Clayton Keller.
Sean, tell the good people what they need to know about why they should be paying attention to the Arizona Coyotes.
Because he's a dog.
He's a dog.
He's chasing history.
He's currently chasing the coyotes franchise record for points in a single season.
Obviously currently tied in second with the legend Shane Joan.
Donne and Jeremy Ronick.
But he's chasing Keith Kachuk up there with 86 points.
I mean, what this guy has been doing recently is effing insane.
He's third in the NHL in points since February 1st behind.
I don't know if you've heard of him.
Connor McDavid.
I forget who the other player is at top of my head.
But one of them is Connor McDavid.
He's maybe the greatest hockey player of all time.
What he's doing is ridiculous.
He's been on absolute fire.
And he makes the players around him better.
Like you look at what happening on the coyote's first line between Barrett Hayton and Nick Schmaltz.
Like it's, it's unbelievable.
And he's going to, he has the opportunity to go down as one of, if not the greatest coyotes in history.
And you're seeing it right now.
Like it's a team that has been fighting for the first overall draft pick, kind of.
And for them to have an 80 point score, which barring something drastic happening, he will be.
It's unbelievable.
Like it's so hard to believe that the coyotes have.
a guy of this caliber playing on this team.
Yeah.
Set a personal, like, record for assist in a season this year.
Um, and obviously his best season points wise ever.
Like, it's, it's incredible watching him every night.
Like even when the coyotes are playing terribly, Clayton Keller does something special.
Yeah.
It's really cool to watch.
And I think, you know, even the talent that Clayton Keller is and has, that's not even
my favorite thing about him.
Like my favorite thing about Clayton Keller is the fact that he wants to be here.
The fact that he is this talented, this, like of a good player and he wants to stay in Arizona and wants to be a part of the future that this team is building just makes my little frozen heart so happy.
Like there are two sides of this coin, right?
You can have a player like Clayton Keller who's very talented and just knows how talented he is and is doing the work coming in, putting his head down, not complaining and wants to be a part of this team.
Or you can have a player like Jacob Trickren who is talented.
but also is a little bit of a butthead and puts up a fight anytime anyone asked him to be here in Arizona and wants to be traded and makes a stink about everything and then also eats raw hearts while he's at it.
Like there's two different players that you can have here.
Both of them are very talented.
But if you gave me a choice, I will pick Clayton Keller any day all day, which I know isn't saying a lot because obviously you want a player that wants to play for your team.
But it just makes me happy to know that we have someone like Clayton Keller who's as talented as he is wanting to be here and stay.
in Arizona.
Boostie's making the point.
He broke his damn leg last year.
He broke his leg last year and he came back and was having the best season of his career.
Like that's, it's incredible.
To do that, but also this record has been standing since the first season.
The first season the coyotes were the coyotes.
It's unbelievable.
It's ridiculous.
In a year like this.
He's amazing.
Coming off of a snapped leg, like shout out to freaking.
Unbelievable.
Clayton Keller.
So it is really cool to see him do it in a Kachina jersey as well.
well, but I'm just so happy to have someone like him playing for the coyotes and also wanting
to be here. Like, I know that sounds so silly and like, oh my God, that's like the easiest thing
to pick out. But like, it's true. Like you can have two players that are the same talent and
they could go two ways and I'm just glad he picked that way. And even if even if Clayton Keller didn't
want to be here, like you don't have to do what Chikrin did and get on a preseason conference
and tell everybody you don't want to be here. Like you can handle it better. But that's not
here nor there. Because as far as we can tell Clayton Keller does want to be here. And it's
If you're a coyote's fan, you should feel very lucky.
Yes, absolutely.
So, and when it comes to coyotes, you have to pick out things like this.
Like, you have to find the brightness.
I mean, even if this team was a playoff team, like, what he's doing is incredible.
It's, he's making franchise history.
And so it's ignore the context of where this, I mean, even if you ignore the context of where this team is, it's incredible.
But especially when you put in the context of how bad it is, it's so impressive.
He deserves to win the Masterschon Trophy for,
come back like for that's award for perseverance and I mean like we said coming from breaking your
leg and doing what he's doing this year is just incredible facts absolute facts all right I'm feeling
good I feel like we organized we cleans yeah we got some stuff together straightened up for spring
um we saved the best we did had read for last so I'm gonna just let Sean take this one away it's very
fitting um because like you said we were talking about spring cleaning um and I just want I just need to address
what's been happening in the chat Lebron James is the greatest basketball player of
all time if you agree if you disagree uh jordan is the phone down jordan is the goat is the best
is the goat of of of personal hygiene of of keeping yourself looking clean and tidy um both below
and above the belt um because like we said you know it's it's spring cleaning time and spring
and sprung and manscape's got you for all that um you know they already like i said they already
you know them for what they can do below the belt but now they've got stuff for the to keep your
face beautiful you know i got this facial hair
Shane's got, you know, maybe a top 10 mustache in the history of man.
And that's because of Manscaped.
Like, let's be honest.
And I still don't know if our promo code is correct.
So I'm going to tell you what is in front of my face.
Use code PHNX bets to get 20% off and free shipping at Manscape.
It is.
Cool.
At Madscaped.com.
Like I said, they have a new beer pressure.
Beer Hedger Pro kit.
So you can, you know, I got this goate.
And at one point, I shaved it because I did.
didn't really know Manscaped, and so I didn't know how to keep it, you know, nice and trimmed.
They got too long and ugly.
I didn't know what to do with it.
Wish I had Manscape back then, but I do now, and I'm looking cute.
Shane's looking cute.
And you can look cute too with Manscape.
Like I said, use code PH&X bets to get 20% off and free shipping at Manscape.com.
It's a damn shame.
We had this color segment because you were talking about scratching nuts earlier, and it was
the perfect segue, and I lost it.
I'm sorry.
I'm glad you focused on the things that I've been above the belt.
though and it makes it very much less awkward for me so well don't get me wrong
manscape is really awesome because you know sometimes you got scratchy nuts well
not even that keep keep keep them keep them preserved the crop preserve or ball deodorant yes
goes crazy yes no one likes because you know you go to the golf course and sometimes you see
balls that are just kind of laying around and there's like sometimes you find really nice
ones sometimes you find the ones that have been there too long and i don't want to be a range ball
yeah you don't want to be a range you want to be a pro v1 you want to be a pro v1 and manscape's got you
You got
Man skips
Keep your balls nice
So awkward
Thank you for that
It's only awkward
Because you make it awkward
Me and Shane and I
are just having a nice conversation
About balls
And you'd make it weird
All right
We're just gonna leave it at that
The golf balls
Thank you guys
So much for tuning
into this episode
Of the Phoenix Sports
Podcast
We hope you feel refreshed
And like you've got
Some spring cleaning done
As well
Make sure that you
Subscribe
but leave us a like and a five-star review.
If you're listening to this as a podcast,
it very much helps us out.
We hope to see you out at Dobson Ranch,
golf course.
I know Dano's going to be there.
I'm not sure if anyone else in our comments is going to be there,
but if you haven't gotten your tickets yet,
you can still come out to Dobson Ranch in Mesa and buy your tickets there
and join us for a great time.
There's going to be golf.
There's going to be contests.
There's going to be free food.
There's going to be free swag.
It is going to be so fun.
So we hope to see you there.
And as always, don't forget.
You'll catch us next Friday live at 1230.
Thanks, everyone. Bye.
