PHNX Arizona Diamondbacks Podcast - Xander Bogaerts is the newest member of the San Diego Padres, leaving Boston Red Sox fans stunned
Episode Date: December 8, 2022The rich somehow inexplicably get richer as the San Diego Padres land free agent shortstop Xander Bogaerts with an 11-year, $280 million deal. So what about that other guy they have at shortstop until... 2034? Also, the D-backs escape the Rule 5 Draft unscathed…for now. Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome in to another edition of two dads and a dude, formerly known as, you know, the PHNX debacks podcast right here on PHNX.
My name is Derek Montia, occasionally known as one of the dads.
This one is one of the dads next to me, a future dad.
The one and only Faj, Jacob.
Yeah, no.
No, I'm waiting to M.
No.
The.
No.
I flicked Derek's earlobe before we went live.
Yeah, now I'm all thrown off.
This guy is the MVP.
It's Sean DePaz.
He's good at everything.
It's annoying.
Hey, it's what I do.
Welcome in guys.
I'm not good at everything.
I'm not good at everything.
You're not good at being a fan because you have a very realistic opinion as a Red Sox fan on losing.
Former Red Sox fan.
Former Red Sox fan.
The Red Sox did in fact lose their number one priority, according to them.
Zander Bogartz is the newest San Diego Padre, which we are not happy about because now that son of a bitch from this division.
We're still good.
I'm kind of happy about it, though.
Why are you happy about it?
Because the San Diego Padres are just, just terrible at giving out contracts.
Where do they get this money from?
Jacob.
Does it matter if they're terrible at giving out contracts when they win the next four World Series?
Will they though?
No, probably not.
No.
They probably won't win one.
All I'm saying is they've got better and I'm not sure you can say that about the Dodgers so far.
Where do they get this money from?
But did the Dodgers need to get better?
The Dodgers can roll out of bed.
Like just this morning I was doing some stuff.
with the All-City guys over in San Diego.
Jesse was like, yeah, the Dodgers, they just roll out of bed.
They give Drew Smiley $15 million a year, and he'll just, you know, be a side young.
But they have one ring to show for it.
So that's also true.
And the Padres have zero.
Also true.
But now they got better.
This show is a championship caliber show.
It's also brought to you by the fine folks of the Drafting Sportsbook app, America's top-rated sportsbook app.
Of course, we are talking about an 11-year, $280 million-dollar deal.
11 year, $280 million.
But why?
But why, Jacob?
But why?
I don't know.
He's 30 years old.
41-year-old Dander Bogart, so this doesn't sound exciting to you?
Not even a little bit.
Not even a little bit.
11 years of a 30-year-old.
Here's my thing is it's very reminiscent of we didn't get the thing we want.
It's like Black Friday shopping.
Like they sold out of the 65-inch high sense TV, right?
But you still bought a blend.
that you didn't need
that wasn't even on sale.
That's what this feels like.
There is no way
in hell
the San Diego Padres
organization is profitable
at this point.
Charles Woodall Pike says
the Padres must have an underground
vault of pure diamonds
buried under the ruins of Qualcomm.
Yes, I'm convinced.
There's no way they're profitable.
There's no way they're profitable.
I don't think they're trying to be.
Look, that's not the only...
Most teams aren't.
That's not the only conspiracy theory
we're going to discuss on the show,
but it might be the best one.
Yeah, I just don't understand
What does this mean for the two guys
That they are paying currently a Brinks truck load of money to
What does this mean for Fernando Tatish Jr.?
Who's their current shorts out? And I mean again, even if you wanted to move Bogart's
Well, are you moving him to third? I mean it it means that they don't trust
Fernando Tatis to not do pets or dumb shit like like a motorcycle
Yeah, it kind of seems like he
might have spoiled his relationship with that franchise a little bit,
which I feel like it's not something you see happen to this extent
in baseball as much as you do other sports.
But I'm kind of getting the feeling
that they're kind of just like, I'm over this guy.
They were ready to make him like the face of the franchise
and then he heard himself doing something he shouldn't have been doing.
And then he got to spend it for PDs.
You know who isn't over Fernando Tatees Jr.?
Oh, no, definitely not. Definitely not.
I'm not over Fernando Tassiz Jr. either.
I'm not sure was a sex symbol.
He's a very attractive man.
Here's the thing.
He also...
He looks great in pants.
He also could have been a huge addition to this team that made it fairly far in the playoffs, right?
I couldn't imagine not being salty after being a Padre after we lost, thinking about how that man should have been a part of this.
You know what I mean?
But also what's very funny is the Padres will pay $63 million combined next season to their three shortstops.
Three shortstop.
Three shortstop.
This is why it makes what the Diamondbacks are doing or not doing, I guess, so much more impressive.
Because being in the same division at the Dodgers drives people fucking crazy.
Like, this is clearly what this is.
It's just we have to be better than the Dodgers.
Yes.
Well, and is it, at least, I imagine, has been like this at times, right?
Yeah, I mean, like the team that it is changes, but it is a lot of it's not right now.
It's we got to be better than the Yankees.
But then you still have the raise upsetting the Apple cart by doing it cheap and showing
everybody that they can still win the division.
Can we throw shade?
We can throw shade.
You want to throw some shade?
I just feel like this is a segment
worthy of throwing shade.
I don't really have anybody just throw shade at.
I mean, we can just throw shade on everything
that's involved in this entire process?
Yeah, I think we can.
Do we have the, do we go?
Yeah, we've got it.
I just was trying to buy her some time
to find the music.
Let's throw some shade.
Why not?
Jesse's going to be so mad.
He's not here for this.
What are you doing?
San Diego Padres.
What are you doing?
I mean, what are you doing?
What's the game plan here?
I don't.
This is not about the San Diego Padres for me at this point.
Okay.
I am throwing shade on the one and only Arizona Diamondbacks because of this shit.
Wow.
Why?
What the fuck are you doing?
Involving yourself in a process that ended in a $280 million contract.
Driving the price up.
What the fuck?
Yeah, they're doing that.
That was a massive W.
They got a division of rival to spend...
That is not shade to be throwing.
I'll agree with that shade.
I don't know either.
And also they need to send the money.
How are you getting married?
They were not doing something.
They were serious contenders,
according to multiple sources.
Until they probably saw what the Padre's offer?
What were they offering?
11 years to...
Not 11 years, 280 million?
Well, obviously that's what you said.
What were they offering?
I don't know.
You don't have that kind of money.
You are poor.
Whoa.
Whoa.
Whoa.
Whoa.
Poverty franchise, I'll take poor.
Come on, that's a bit much.
That's, yeah, he's right, though.
What were you doing?
All I'm saying is...
Why were you even in Tiffany's?
You know what I mean?
Like, I get it.
You wanted to go in and check stuff out and pretend like you could afford that, but you couldn't afford that.
Oh, fuck you, Totry.
Anyway, that's a whole other thing.
All I'm saying is the Red Sox offered him, what, six years, $160 million?
I'm guessing that is more of the ballpards of the Arizona Diamond Vats were in.
Okay, you don't even have that much.
I'm just saying it's a lot better than what the Padres did is not if you're throwing that money anybody other than Zach Gallen at this moment in time yeah
Who do you do you want to throw shade at the Red Sox for letting him go considering he was their quote unquote number one priority
I want to throw shade of the Boston Red Sox because Mookie Bet should still be a Boston Red Sox stop fucking this up
Stop following what are we doing what are we doing? You're supposed to be one of those like one of those franchis
They're bigger than the Padres, bigger than the down.
You're supposed to be one of those franchises.
And you keep fucking this shit out because you don't want to spend money,
but you got all this money for a fucking soccer team?
What are we doing?
You got Fenway racing?
Go fuck yourself.
Pay for your baseball team.
That's all they care about over there is the baseball team.
Go fuck yourself.
I'm so annoyed with it.
That being said, I'm glad they didn't spend this kind of money on Senator Bogart.
That shit would have been ridiculous.
Yeah, it's a shit ton of money.
But he's not the only one that's mad.
Let's take a look at some of these tweets that we have.
Because there are some mad.
at Red Sox fans.
You know people are mad when they're just dropping reds,
when it's just stuff like this.
I mean, what do we got?
Thanks for everything, Zander Bogartz.
The Red Sox owners can fuck off.
Thank you, Bill Simmons.
He's right on.
He's not worth that much money.
I love you, Zander.
I do.
I think you're a great player.
You're not worth that much money.
But is it?
Wait, hold on.
That's that we're not throwing shade at Zander Bogartz.
Because he got fucking paid and it doesn't matter who pays him.
No, sure.
He got paid.
I mean, if someone's going to pay me $300 million,
I'm out of here right now.
You're not going to pay $300 million?
We keep doing this.
I don't know if you're joking or not.
The only franchise you could have made the argument that he was worth that much money to
was the Boston Red Sox because he has added value beyond his what he does on the field.
It's similar to Aaron Judge.
Right.
It's like it's more valuable to that franchise technically than it should be to another franchise.
He doesn't even fit the Diamondbacks timeline.
That was another issue.
Well, if you get it for 11 years, he doesn't even fit this timeline in the slightest.
No.
No.
See, you're throwing shade at the Diamondbacks being just instigators here.
I'm just sold for not even doing anything.
They didn't even do it.
Let me get over a soapbox here for a second.
I'm just so effing tired of this organization just being like, oh, wait, we actually did things the right way and we have this plethora of prospects.
Yeah.
Oh, no, no, we're going to go spend all of this money on something we don't need and that doesn't fit anything that we're doing.
But they didn't spend that money.
They didn't say they wanted to.
But they wanted to.
He's saying there's no way they want.
It's the principle.
You're not left with this organization.
There is no way that they were going to spend the kind of money that the Padres just did on this man.
I just want to believe that they were a double agent working against the Padres.
I don't care if that's reality.
I just want to believe that.
But if you really want to get mad, do you want to revisit the Goldschmidt trade for a second?
I'm just saying here, you want to be mad at the organization.
I have a question.
Is it worse to...
Sure, because he didn't even pay that much?
No, no, no, no.
Is it worse to lose a guy like they did, like Xander Bogart's walking away to another team that's going to pay.
him more or is it worse for them to actively trade him away to try to get something for him
knowing that they're not even in the race knowing that no matter what if he hits free agency
they are not going to pay him the amount of money that other teams are going to pay him what is worse
it's it's it's it's letting your franchise guy walk yeah yeah that is laying yeah we're on the same
page there i'm just saying i'm tired of the habitual decisions to be something that this organization is
not.
They didn't make the decision, though.
I will say, like, yeah, as far as the Red Sox are concerned with Xander Bogart, it's
like, that is definitely worse.
It's tough for them because they truly believe that they could resign him in the offseason,
so you can't trade a guy like that.
It's not like the Paul Goldman situation where they knew he probably wasn't going to resign.
Like, they really thought that X was going to be coming back.
So you can't, it's a lot tougher to trade that guy in that situation.
But it is definitely worse.
You have nothing to show for it.
Yeah, you have nothing to show.
Well, especially now that none of those pieces paid out.
Well, it shows you just failed at.
keeping him, right?
Yeah.
Like, that's what, that's the other thing, too, is, is trading him away.
You kind of knew, you admitted, you admitted ahead of time.
We're not going to be in the running.
But they failed with the book.
The Moogie Betts trade.
They absolutely failed.
I'd like to respond to I am the Larry here.
He says Zips projected the DEVX to win 84 games next year.
Bobgarts would have been a five, four or five upgrade at shortstop.
I understand that.
But I am at the point in my fandom where I am okay waiting for their pieces that they have to come up.
I do not want to overpay for a guy.
that's going to be good for three years, not fit the timeline,
and then all of a sudden you take a step back
because you were just impatient in the process.
Here's the thing, though, what he says is absolutely the truth.
Sure, it is true.
The Dodgers look vulnerable for the first time in like a decade, right?
This is a good year to go for the division,
and that's not just the debacks.
I feel that's the reason why the Padres are doing everything they can
to grab anybody they can.
The Giants, they can bring in, and the Giants too.
Right, absolutely.
it's seeing that they finally are losing,
the Dodgers are finally losing more than they're gaining.
Sure.
And that goes for the Rule 5 draft,
which we will bring in White Hot Jesse from San Diego.
White Hot Thunderstead.
A little bit more about that.
He just walked into.
No, he doesn't know the Buzz saw that he's about walking.
White Hot Thunder stick.
But of course, hey, hey,
for failing to bring in your number one priority,
the Boston Red Sox gets our OG's performance to forget.
That's right.
We're giving it to the entire.
franchise for, honestly, this could go to the San Diego Padres for paying so much money as well.
But the Red Sox are starting a decade to forget.
Yeah, the Red Sox are not in a good position right now.
Let me tell you.
But we got Kenley Jensen.
They did get Kenley Janssen.
And who else did you get the Japanese pitcher, right?
Yeah, right there's so.
He's a hitter.
Oh, he's a hitter.
Yeah, what was the stupid figure that I gave you the other day?
It was like 40 strikeouts like 500 at Bats.
It was something ridiculous.
This motherfucker's going to be itchy, real.
Like, turn me up for it.
Doesn't matter, though, because we don't have a shortstop now.
So they don't have a short stop now.
It's tough.
Masataka Yoshita.
Did you say your Devex fan, Sean?
He is.
Well, when the Red Sox keep doing dumb shit like this, it's kind of hard to be rude for that franchise.
They keep pissing me off.
They did give me three rings in my lifetime, but they keep pissing me off.
If there was any show that needed OGs, it's this one right now.
Of course.
Make sure to grab yourself some.
We're not necessarily above that.
either, but we need some Indicas to bring this, bring this all.
I'm good now.
I got it all out.
I need the sleepy time stuff so I can get this absolute poverty franchise.
It is the Boston Rocks right now.
Well, it'll help you.
It'll help you.
We told you.
Help you forget games.
It'll help you forget nights like last night between the coyotes and the sun.
Sheesh.
We're happening a
issue basketball game though.
That was nine and one.
Don't want to forget that one.
One, let's go.
Also, you can find OGs for yourself for any occasion at your local dispens
dispensary must be 21 years or older to enjoy.
And also make sure that you give the gift of beer this holiday season from our friends
at Four Peaks Brewing Company.
They still have some of their holiday December Advent calendar boxes left.
The beer today was wild.
What was the Harry Day?
It was called Sirius Black.
Nice, nice.
And it was like a bourbon barrel.
It was so good.
Love a good bourbon age beer.
Well, see, you could get down on that.
And again, as Sean pointed out yesterday, now you're eight days behind.
and that just means that you have eight beers to drink when you immediately crack into the pack.
Go get it right now.
$55.
Enjoy specialty beers, tall boys, bourbon aged stouts and more purchase at their A Street
pub in Tempe.
And also, if you don't go down there, still get their Four Peaks beer, wherever you get your
local beer.
Must be 21 years or older to enjoy.
We had our first Rule 5 draft in two years because obviously everything that's happened,
and they put it off, but we have some information coming to us from our Rule 5 drafts specialists.
Specialist.
Specialist.
I know how to say words.
I promise.
But of course, joining us from San Diego, just in time to see me have a hard time talking.
It's the one and only white hot Jesse Friedman.
Can I say he looks like a stud today?
Oh, man.
A white hot stud?
Yeah, white hot.
Yeah, you know, we lost the blazer.
We lost the blazer because there is nobody here at the winter meetings anymore.
I square. We've still got like the nice signage. Maybe I can, you know, you can kind of see
around. Oh, there it is. Yeah. There'll be winter meetings. So the signage is still here,
but there are zero people, essentially. So I didn't, I didn't feel the need to up the wardrobe
quite as much today. But yeah, we've got a nice little, nice little support coat. So we're making,
we're making it work. I think everybody's too embarrassed for the San Diego Padres that they were like,
yeah, we can't do this anymore. What's more crowd of the winter meetings were the shortstop position in
San Diego.
Yeah, I mean, so Hacian Kim, probably going to move to second base, right?
I think Xander Bogartz is probably going to play shortstop.
And I think Fernando Tatis is probably going to be an outfielder.
That's kind of how I have things lined up in my head.
The Padres have experimented with Tatis a little bit in the outfield in the past, and he's
incredibly athletic, and I think he'll probably be fine out there.
So, yeah, positionally, I think it does kind of work for the Padres.
but as you guys have been discussing,
$11 years, $280 million,
that's a good $100 million north
of what most people were expecting.
It's an insane, insane market right now
for short stops around the game.
Do the projects have a first baseman?
Yeah, Jake Cronenworth.
Yeah, Jake Cronenworth is first base, yeah.
But what does this do for the market, Jesse, speaking of which?
Like, does this kind of make the remaining free
agents out there just start to salivate at the potential contracts that like teams that still have
money left to burn are willing to pay out i mean dand v swanson is probably the happiest man on earth
right now yeah right he's he's not if you know if bogarts gets 280 then you know swanson who's younger
isn't going to get like 150 or something right like at this point you're probably looking at 200 million
dollars for a guy who frankly i mean as much as diamondbacks fans are are disheartened about the player
that Danes B. Swanson has become, he wasn't actually that great for his first few years in the
big leagues. He didn't seem like a well above average shortstop. He seemed like kind of a league
average sort of a guy. But because of how good he was in his walkier, he's probably going to run
his way into a $200 million contract, which still pales in comparison to what the Padres just gave
Zander Bogart's. But yeah, I mean, the market is just insane right now. It's way higher than really
what anyone anticipated. Does anybody remember Shelby Miller?
Of course we remember fucking Shelby Miller.
Jacob's been very negative today, Jesse.
He was on a whole thing about Xander Bogart's
and the Diamondbacks even being in on it.
So I want to get your feelings on this.
He feels like if Zander Bogart's got this much money from the Padres,
what the hell were the D-backs even doing talking to him?
Well, I mean, they're driving up the price, right?
That's what we said, yes, that's what we said.
Yeah, maybe.
You just know that the Diamondbacks were right there
it, you know, 10 years, 250, but they weren't quite really to go any higher.
Jacobs has to be split.
All right, we're going to go 11-280 and finish it.
No, I don't believe any of that.
I don't think the Arizona Diamondbacks, frankly, were ever a serious suitor for Zander Bogarts.
I think that if Bogarts have been willing to take, you know, maybe six years, 120 million
or something like that, you know, if the market didn't play out the way that maybe Scott
Boris and Bogart's anticipated, I think the diamondbacks would have
tried to be opportunistic and swoop in there and maybe make a move.
The other thing I could have seen is, is, you know, a deal similar to what Carlos Correa did
with the twins.
You know, if the market isn't really panning out, maybe you take a short term, like high
average annual value sort of a deal and try to like reestablish your value.
I could maybe have seen the diamondbacks doing something like that.
But yeah, I mean, honestly, I'd be somewhat surprised if the diamondbacks offered even half
of what the San Diego Padres ultimately gave standard.
Bogarts. I don't think they were seriously
in the conversation here.
All this talk about
Zandiego, by the way, the chat is
infuriating me because that's going to be such a good
T-shirt. Yeah, Prater. It is such a good T-shirt.
Yeah, oh, I hate it.
I hate it. That is good.
I just, Jacob keeps getting pumped with the logic about it.
Like, they weren't that close to the deal, and they weren't that
suitors to his contenders, and Jacob's still upset.
Yeah. The debats were even mentioned in the same sentence
as Andrew Bogartz. Yeah.
I mean, I don't have a problem with
them checking in, right? And
And I think it was almost inevitable that the diamondbacks were going to do that.
I mean, Mike Hazen was the Boston Red Sox farm director as Zander Bogart was getting close to
majors.
There's a lot of connections there.
So it almost feels like any time there's a big name, you know, free agent from the Boston Red Sox that has ties to Mike Hazen and Amiel Saaday and some of the other front office people.
Of course, the diamondbacks are going to go in and check in on, you know, what the market is like.
But yeah, I mean, just because there was a report that they were one of the suitors,
I think it might have been slightly oversold how serious the Arizona Diamondbacks were,
given how much money Zander Bogarts wound up actually getting in the end.
All right, shifting gears a bit.
Rule 5 draft happened last night.
The Arizona Diamondbacks were in danger of losing one of their top prospects,
and instead they lose nobody in the Rule 5 draft.
They come out unscathed.
What are your thoughts on that?
and honestly on the Rule 5 draft in general.
Only 15 players were selected.
Most teams either had a full roster or passed.
And a lot of players were taken from both the Boston Red Sox
and the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Yeah, I mentioned this in my 60-second recap from last night just briefly.
But basically what happened is the Arizona Diamondbacks were told.
They had heard a rumor internally.
I don't believe it was out in the public,
but they had heard a rumor internally.
Dominic Canzone was going to be selected first overall in the Rule 5 draft.
And so they went in there yesterday.
They walked into that room sort of expecting the Dominic Canzone would be taken first overall.
And then not only was he not taken first overall, but he wasn't taken at all, right?
The Diamondbacks still come away with Dominic Canzone in the minor league system when all is said it done.
But yeah, being in that room yesterday, as the Rule 5 draft was happening, it was honestly just like a great baseball moment.
you know, you've just got this room utterly packed with people.
I mean, this room was absolutely packed to the brim with people in a situation where,
let's face it, like guys taking in the Rule 5 draft don't necessarily pan out in the big leagues,
right?
Like they're usually like 4A sort of players where you never really know what you're going to get.
But at the winter meetings, like everyone is a baseball nut.
And so we're going to pack that room, you know, to the brim and basically force the fire marshal
to start kicking people out, which I heard of.
apparently happened yesterday. Just because, you know, everyone's a baseball not around here and even
events like the Rule 5 draft, you know, have a significant sway with the baseball community.
So it was a fun thing to be a part of. I was looking back on the DeBacks history with the Rule 5
draft and there was only one name that really stood out to me in all these years of them acquiring
Rule 5 draft picks. And it was Joe Patterson back in 2010. Joe Patterson had a really, really good
year for them during that run in 2011.
He appeared in 62 games, had a 2.91
ERA, and an
ERA plus of 137,
and then he absolutely fell off the map
the next year.
He pitched 11 games the next year
and his baseball career was over.
But yeah, it's interesting
to look back historically. Like you
said, we tend to think that the guys were losing
or the guys were gaining might have
this impact. And
so far in the Diamondbacks history,
at least, it doesn't really appear like there has been much of that.
Yeah, the other name that comes to mind is actually not from the major league phase of the Rule 5 draft,
but the minor league phase.
That's where the Arizona Diamondbacks got Tyler Gilbert from.
I believe they selected him from the Los Angeles Dodgers minor league system.
Yeah, the minor league phase, the debacks did actually make a couple of moves in the minor league phase yesterday.
I don't remember the names off the top of my head.
The minor league phase doesn't tend to necessarily make a huge impact at the end of the day.
But we have seen it work in the past.
And Tyler Gilbert is certainly an example of that as a guy who's still in the Arizona Diamondbacks organization today.
So I guess moving forward, Jesse, not only are you coming back to us.
I imagine you're coming back to us.
I don't know for sure if that's happening.
Okay, well.
Yeah, so we'll think about it.
We'll discuss that off air.
Hopefully Jacob hasn't broken your chair.
He keeps doing this, Jesse.
And I don't like it.
I don't like this at all.
Oh, no, he can take your seat.
No.
Oh, wow.
There's even dissension.
It'll go from two dads and a dude to two dudes and a dad.
Yeah, that's all right.
I'm okay with that.
That works.
It does work.
Two dudes and dad discuss feedbacks.
I guess my rant today got me kicked off.
I mean, you've got to be careful around here is all I'm saying.
Of course, Jesse, do you think that the Diamondbacks, I know my Kaysen talked about having a couple of a bullet still in their gun?
Do you think we still see a deal?
kind of happen here, maybe not free agency?
Do you still think a trade is going to go down?
Yeah, it sounds like the majority of the D-BACs conversations here at the winter meetings
were regarding the trade market, not free agency.
And yeah, Mike Hazen did say he was asked, you know,
do you feel you move the ball past the 50-yard line in some of these trade conversations?
And he said, yes, like we have a good idea of like these specific players that are on the table.
and what we feel we might have to make a decision on.
I think those were his exact words.
So it doesn't necessarily sound like the Diamondbacks are sold on any offer that is on the table right now.
It kind of sounds like they have a pretty good idea of where the offer sit,
but I don't know if they're at a point where they're getting close to accepting any of those.
I think there's probably still some more movement that needs to happen on that front.
And yeah, we haven't really seen any trades across all of baseball.
I think there was a deal for a Tigers reliever yesterday, but outside of that, it's been all free agent signings here at the winter meetings.
And Mike Hazen isn't surprised by that.
He said that, you know, you kind of need the free agent market to play out before four teams will really look to the trade market more aggressively.
So, yeah, I still think it's, you know, I would still say it's probably likely that the Diamondbacks move one of the outfielder's.
I am sure that these trade discussions that Hazen is talking about,
I'm quite sure they have something to do with that group of young outfielders,
but it doesn't sound like anything's close at this point.
So we might be waiting here for a while for any movement on that front.
You know what Mike Hazen did say?
He did say Jesse was the best-dressed media member this week.
Impossible.
Yeah, he did say Jesse was the best-dressed media member.
I was with Bob Knight and Gale walking around that place.
There's no way.
Well, it wasn't, so to clarify, this wasn't like, you know, he wasn't comparing me with every single media member at the winter meetings.
I mean, that's like thousands of people.
This was as we were walking into the GM suite.
And, you know, it's me and Steve Gilbert and Nick McCorough and Jack Summers and Zach Buchanan.
But out of the five, I did receive a compliment of being the best dress, which I still take very seriously.
I mean, this is Mike Hazen we're talking about.
he's a classy guy.
He was sporting.
He hates my shirts.
He had like kind of like a like a powder blue blazer yesterday.
Oh, I've seen that one.
That one's pretty elite.
Yeah.
Yeah, we were kind of messing around with him about it afterwards because I don't think
I've ever seen Mike Hazen wear a blazer that isn't that one.
Like I'm pretty sure that's like the only one that he owns.
Yeah.
And he acknowledged, he was like, it is nice.
It is nice.
But he acknowledged like, yeah, anytime I'm out and like need to wear a blazer, this is pretty much.
Hold on. Hold on.
Weren't you in a dark blue blazer all fucking week long?
I mean, this feels like somebody in a glass house throwing stones a little bit.
I will say, Jesse, you're a better person than I am because if I would have just told everyone that he was talking about me amongst every media member.
You're like, I was just five of us.
That's fair.
But I want to take the credit.
Hey, we'll get back here.
And of course, make sure to get Jesse's wonderful articles over at GoPHN.
com that are mostly unlocked, as of course, you all know. Jesse, thank you so much for joining
us. And like I said, I don't, they give me bunny ears and stuff at the end of the show. I don't like
it. So hurry up and get back here. If you let me come back, I will come. All right. Well, we'll see.
We'll discuss things. It's not going to be at the same rate, though. So the contracts.
He's not getting a Bogart's contract. Oh, man. We've got to definitely negotiate now. I mean,
the market might be through the roof for Jesse Friedman at this point. All right, sir, thank you so much.
See you soon.
All right.
See you guys.
See, Jesse.
I will say that P.HNX.
Sun Devils is putting in a pretty big offer for Jesse Friedman.
I will say Jesse has a very projectable frame.
I know he's probably your number one priority.
What the hell?
Make sure you focus on your number one priority.
How much are you willing to give for Jesse?
I don't like this discussion.
I mean, you're not.
I don't know.
No, I'm not matching a deal like that.
He's a very projectable frame.
I guess in the meantime, go read Jesse's article about the debacks
until he's stolen away by these monsters.
stolen. That's how free agency works. Just pay more.
I hate it here so much. But of course,
you need a rebound and box out. Get yourself a
PHNX diehards membership over
at go phnx.com. That
diehards membership will get you a free
hat shirt every year.
Not to mention 20% off over
at the phnx locker.com.
Also get yourself some wonderful
access to the DBAX diehards
Discord lounge and all the Discord loungees.
Best place to be in Arizona sports fan.
And of course,
we got what else? Events?
discounts everything.
We got discounts with our partners.
Amazing events.
Like a new amazing event.
What's the new amazing event?
Would you like me to tell you?
Yeah, please do.
Okay, I'll tell you right now.
So we're going to have an event called the Tea Party.
Let's go.
T-E.
I can't wear my Victorian outfit.
I mean, you could, Jacob.
You could wear whatever.
No, I'm probably going to have a baby like the day before this happened, so I probably won't be there.
If the baby isn't there, the baby's...
I don't hear about this goddamn kid.
Here you are.
Yeah, yeah.
Can we talk about that?
Jacob always brings up his kids.
Jacob always brings up his kids.
Every day, Jacob.
I just adopted a cat.
You don't hear me talking about it.
Well, actually, you do talk about it.
I don't talk about that much.
People want to know about my cat.
Anyway.
I was trying to give Jacob more.
This is exactly what we're talking about.
$45 per person for everyone, but $36 for you diehards.
$106 per foursome.
$120 for diehards.
Kids tend to underplay free.
And of course, we're having the Sun's Watch Party there.
So make sure to join us.
What did I do?
What happened?
It's a lot more than that there, Derek.
First of all, there's a free fucking kids clinic that we're putting on at the same time.
So you can drop off your little kiddos on the green.
They can do their thing while you go get chit-face and hit a couple drives.
What was the pause there?
He's like, one word on me.
I was talking to the right word.
And then you're also going to be able to watch the suns versus the Timberwolves all at the same time.
We actually have a basketball hoop out there that people will be able to chuck threes on and win prizes.
It's going to be lost up by saw.
Don't undersell shit again.
Are they going to lose by 30 again?
Whoa.
You know who didn't lose by a lot yesterday?
The Sun Devils.
Damn straight.
That's all I'm saying.
I need to throw that out there.
But of course, join us for this wonderful event.
We got golf towns, ready.
Golf Towns go.
Oh, geez, golf.
That way.
That way.
That way.
There we go.
And I'm going to break out the bad birdie.
We're going to be, it's going to be crazy.
And of course.
Be a D.
Debacks and Phajordes diehards member.
I can't see my computer screen when you put.
That's fine.
It's fine.
It's whatever.
But of course, you're watching us right now.
Make sure to subscribe to the PHNX Sports YouTube channel.
Sign up for notifications.
That way you don't miss whenever we go live.
If you're listening on your favorite audio podcasting app, please subscribe to us there.
Leave us a review.
We appreciate you for it.
And of course, we appreciate Saul for never letting us forget that we didn't plug the new event.
Speaking of which, by the way, really liberally that.
I know.
I know we're talking about golf balls, but MLB has a problem with their balls.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
They got a problem with their balls.
The fraud.
He's a fraud.
62 runs my ass.
They none of them counted.
Put an asterisk.
Keep them out of the ball.
Because he's a cheater.
Fuck them.
You know the Goli Lox balls were like 95% during the playoffs.
And that was like.
And they were only, but they were also only thought of Yankees 80s.
Sure.
So if you're not, if you're not familiar with what they're talking about, according to a new report from Meredith
with Wills, who is a Society for American Baseball Research Award-winning astrophysicist.
Damn.
She conducted a...
Smarter than me.
A little bit.
Low bar.
She analyzed more than 200 balls used in games during the 2022 season.
And apparently, according to her research, there were three balls, gentlemen.
Three balls used this season.
Which probably makes a lot of pictures that were complaining about it in the beginning of
the year.
Very happy that they were finally justified in the...
their accusations, but there was the dead ball, which was the lightest of all the balls at 114.58
grams.
There was the juiced ball, which was the heaviest at 117.2 grams.
Of course, this is just like, and then this comes along, the Goldilocks ball, which is just
right.
Just get your balls right.
It's just right.
It's just right.
The right balls at 115.46 grams.
Now, of course, this obviously begs the question, why.
Why were there three different balls?
Why were there three different balls implemented during the season?
Especially one that just was right.
And apparently, while the dead balls were used at the majority of baseball games,
the Goldilocks balls were only found at Yankees games and marquee events such as the postseason
or games where the ball had a commemorative stamp.
I could watch an entire baseball season where the Yankees are the only team in baseball
and they lose every single game.
I hate the Yankees more than I love baseball.
It is.
It fuels me.
And nothing, like, you know, we already knew that we're frauds because every single year they get to the postseason and Aaron Boone, who does not know how to manage a baseball team, specifically doesn't know how to manage a bullpen in the postseason.
It fucks it all up.
And then they get eliminated for the playoffs.
Shout out the Dodgers who also do the same thing.
But at least they have a single ring in the last 15 years.
Sure, Mickey Mouse.
Or what are we at?
In the last 10 years to the right home of all.
season. Not only do they have
a Little League baseball part that I could
hit home runs out of in right field. Now they're
juicing balls for their eight foot tall
500 pound linebacker
of an outfield that
apparently needs all that help. He can get to hit
62 home runs. You know what's funny about that?
And then in turn, then they had to pay him more money.
Which is kind of a hilarious cell phone,
I guess you can say. But
it takes me back to the steroid era,
Jacob. Did they make him in a factory?
No, it takes me back to the, it takes me
back to the steroid era because I remember watching
on Sports Center one time, them do a
like deep dive conspiracy theory
into how if the balls were made
of leaner leather that they would go farther
and they brought in like a physicist to explain
distance and you know
how many balls fell on the warning track
that season and if they went a point two
percent farther distance that they would
go for home runs and like here we are
again back to the balls being
they're trying to save baseball again.
No, they're trying to say the New York Yankees
which they can't even do.
They can't even do. They can't even do.
They can't even do.
They're going to baseball.
MLB is one of the fastest rising brands in America.
Yeah, right behind.
Great value cream cheese.
What are we doing?
We have not discussed that on this show.
We have not discussed MLB being one of the top brands.
This is a false list.
It's got to be a false list.
Oh, I 100% believe, I 100% believe that they are not rising as fast as great value cream cheese.
Here's the thing.
How expensive is Philadelphia to cream cheese, especially when it compared at a Walmart?
I don't I don't I don't I don't cheat my dairy if we're talking dairy I'm getting I'm getting the name brand stuff
stuff like that sure for sure so who's like you people like you are dying out let me tell you about but anyway
that's only some things normally I'm pretty cheap but um unlike er judge who had to pay get paid all this money
after cheating for an entire baseball season fucking and also he's probably juicing let's be real he's probably juicing
no sources no sources just me and my hatred for the Yankees as the one and only source us us
Accusation.
At least my rant was like something that I felt strongly.
You're wild.
Were they wild though?
No,
not wild.
You were mad about a fictitious situation that no longer exists because they did not get
it money.
I was joking about the steroids part.
I don't know.
You don't need to qualify.
I don't get that.
There's a chance though.
I've not walked back my statement.
Do not walk back.
But I know,
but I was joking about that part.
The other parts I was not joking about.
Fuck me of Yankees and their fraudulent ass.
fraudulentness
Fuck him
English hard
I just
Ooh wee
I get so
I get so worked up
By my hatred for the New York Yankees
I cannot wait
There are two series
I'm looking forward to this year
It is the Red Sox series
Against the DBAX series
The Red Sox series
And the Yankees series
Because I can't wait to see
Just kind of what happens
The Dback series
And then to see the DBAs
Sweepaks
Sweep the New York Yankees
Because they are a poverty franchise
Who hasn't done shit
Ever fuck the
Fuck the New York Yankees
The throwing shade part.
The throwing shade was earlier.
You missed that.
I forgot that we were going to be talking about this.
Well, of course, we thank you guys for being here.
Make sure if you haven't done so already,
go throw some money over our Draft King's sports book.
Giving you our Draft King's pick of the week,
I am taking the Raiders to cover the spread over the Rams because they're terrible.
I'm also taking, I don't know, the over on points too,
because I think there's just going to be a shit ton of points scored in this game.
But you got anything?
You got any picks for tonight?
Sunday, 11 a.m., Buffalo Bills, New York Jets, bills minus 10.
It's my drafting sports pick of the week, because it always is.
It's the bills spread every time.
I love it.
Anyway, Sean gets on the mic on the coyote show for his pick of the week,
and everyone's just like, the bills.
Yeah, yeah, we know what this is.
The coyotes let us down, 8 to 3?
8 to 2.
Did they let you down?
If they let you down, your expectations were too high.
The 8 to 2 loss was better than the sun's loss.
Yeah, you're both terrible.
This whole season's.
the first overall pick, but they won't even do that because this Arizona, it's just, it's just,
draft lotteries are not our friend.
No.
Have I ever told you how much I hate the New York Yankees?
Earlier.
Yes.
We can't.
We can't let's let's try to have that on the play.
We'll just get this plane landed.
Derek, this is the place.
Yeah, let's get it down the ground.
Download the Draft King Sportsbook app.
Sign up with our code of PHNX and make some money.
Bet a place a $5 pregame money line bet on any NBA team to win.
I would tell you to bet on the sons, but that's obviously not a good idea lately.
and you will get $100 in free bets
if your team wins.
That's code PHNX only at the Drafking Sportsbook.
Minimum age and eligibility restrictions apply.
See show notes for details.
Of course, we thank you guys again for joining us
on behalf of these monsters next to me.
We always appreciate you.
You can follow us on Twitter.
I'm at cap underscore caveman with a K.
This guy's at Jacob underscore Franklin 4.
This guy's at Sean underscore DePaz.
Jesse is at Jesse and Friedman.
The show is at PHNX underscore DBAX.
but of course all roads lead to at PHNX underscore sports on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.
Thank you guys so much for joining us.
On behalf of Leah, Jesse, Jacob, by the way, it's not fair that someone that consumes as much marijuana as me gets replaced, his co-host replaced by someone with the exact same initials.
But I have not fucked that up much.
But anyway, on behalf of Jacob, Sean, all of us.
We thank you guys for joining us.
And remember, kids, baseball is fun.
But it's so much more fun when you get paid $280 million.
