Puck Soup - Amanda Stein
Episode Date: April 20, 2017Greg and Dave welcome Amanda Stein, Montreal Canadiens reporter and radio host, for a wide-ranging talk about the Habs' language challenges, P.K. Subban controversies, USA vs. Canada, her career path,... Dave's lack of love for 'Parks and Rec' and Amanda's lifelong fear of mascots. Plus, the media protects its own on Calgary Flames controversy; the Stanley Cup Playoffs; the 'Dart Guy' for other NHL teams; Jack Eichel might get Bylsma fired; sex disrupts a tennis match, and what sporting events are best for sex; Dave didn't totally hate SUICIDE SQUAD; and listener mail on everything from steak dinners to rom-coms.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Wait, Dave Lozo, what are you doing in my bed?
Your bed is just so comfortable.
I don't want to get out of it.
You know, there's a reason for that.
You and I must be the same body type because this is a Helix mattress.
You know, you're unique.
You don't walk like everybody else, talk like everybody else, or sleep like everybody else.
So why is your mattress one size fits all?
Did you mind that I slept nude?
Is it okay?
Go to Helixleep.com and answer a few simple questions,
and they'll run a 3D biomechanical model of your body through the purpose.
proprietary algorithms they develop with the help of the world's leading ergonomics and
biomechanics experts.
The result, can you run my back?
The most comfortable mattress you've ever slept on.
In fact, customers report a 30% improvement in overall sleep quality.
It's the best.
Your mattress arrives at your door in about a week and shipping is completely free.
I want to be the big spruce.
And here's the deal.
If you get a Helix mattress, you have 100 nights to try it out.
And if you don't love it, they'll pick it up for free.
and give you a full refund on that mattress, no questions asked.
I'll give you a full something else on this mattress,
if you know what I'm saying, Greg.
Go to helixleep.com slash puck soup and get $50 off your order.
That's helixleep.com slash puck soup.
Helixleep.com slash puck soup.
Get yourself a mattress tailored to your needs.
And sweetheart, Dave Lozo, make sure you enjoy the show.
I already enjoyed the show.
Now entering
Nerdist.com
Sticks and hits and goals
and saves and slapshots and goons
We've got sportly commentary
To what if you'll commute
We also cover movies, TV shows
It's and tunes
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense
Oh too
Hey you know like
I was thinking about Chris Hardwick the other day
And like thinking just like
The fucking guy.
The problem with this fucking guy is that like he's like do more shows, right?
Like, can you not host one show on television?
Like, is it possible to do that?
I know.
Like, Jesus.
You got a game show that's like Planko.
He's got like talking dead, talking smack, talking.
Fucking.
Fucking.
Talking friends.
Talking scrubs.
Talk to the hand.
Do more.
I mean, like not for nothing.
Whose line is it anyway called that wants the show at the points back?
I mean, come on.
I know.
Jesus.
I think the problem with Chris is that.
like he's just dumb like you know if you don't rip Chris Hardwick I totally will like it's
he's the stupidest guy out there you know like does he I mean does he even have a brain
I don't think he does no I mean I mean how does he how does he do it do what he did how to put out
that out think of that through well the cool thing is that like you know we can speak candidly
about Chris our boss without like worrying about the audio getting out because like it's before
the show and mics aren't hot we control we control everything control everything yeah
he'll never know what we said I mean if they did get out I mean it'd be a really big
embarrassment, but like we probably have to own it and at least like step up and say like, hey, we said
this about it.
No, no, no, no.
Like basically what will happen is like people will just offend us.
People will just say, well, you know what?
I don't see what the big deal is.
Why would you do that to your fellow, your fellow podcaster?
So we'd be fine.
Can imagine like most of the people in like the entertainment media probably won't like
write about it because it's not a huge story.
Right.
To people on the Nirtis network like trashing their boss or whatever.
Right.
Because like, you know, in the day and age that we exist in, like say if we're to happen in hockey,
like a nurse or do it to a player, it wouldn't be a big deal.
Right now.
Even though like all announcers never say anything bad.
That's a good point.
Yeah, you just ignore it.
Anyways.
All right.
Let's start the show.
All right.
Uh, three, two, one.
Hey, uh, I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy blog.
And I'm Dave Lhose who loves Chris Hardwick and never say anything bad about him.
And you're in Puck Soup.
Now, Dave, at a huge embarrassment this week in the world of hockey as a live mic caught the caustic comments of people that are broadcasting a Calgary Flames playoff game.
ripping apart Dougie Hamilton and calling him stupid,
questioning if he has a brain.
It is confirmed he does not.
Someone saying he's stupid as fuck or stupid as shit.
I forget exactly what the terminology was.
Either way.
And the reason I wanted to bring this up,
first of all,
because we would never do anything like that
irresponsibly like talk about somebody off mic like that.
I've never said anything negative about anybody ever in my whole life.
That'd be a huge embarrassment.
but I am absolutely like I took copious amounts of shit for writing about this and that's fine
people were saying oh you you're through all good people out of the bus now I just mentioned who
broadcast the game but the thing that I wanted to talk about is I wrote about it Nesson wrote about it
because Dougie Hamilton used to play in Boston yeah they never said anything bad about Dougie
while he was there never did never and then awful announcing wrote about it because it involved an
announcer. And I mean, they're kind of awful. I felt like those announcers on that game, even
though we don't know if they're the ones that said it. They were the ones who spent the whole game
when there was an interference call that overturned a goal for the flames where they spent
five minutes reviewing it. And they said after review, there was goaltender interference,
therefore there's no goal. And then the announcers who may not be the ones who were talking
about, oh yeah, well, they probably were. But they weren't confirmed to be doing it. But they spent
the next 30 minutes of the game wondering why Glenn Goldson didn't challenge for interference when
they had already reviewed and determined interference.
Those were the people calling, potentially calling Doug Yehammell, that's stupid.
I think my issue with it, and the reason I wanted to mention on the show this week,
is if you wanted a better example of the old boys, protectionist bullshit hockey media,
look no further.
If this had happened in New York, were two guys doing a Mets game nationally,
Didn't that happen?
Or a few guys doing the Mets game nationally.
Didn't Keith once get caught on an open mic?
Might have been.
That was Howie Rose.
Howie Rose got caught talking shit about the Mets one year.
Talking shit about the Mets.
And it became a huge story, right?
During an Islander game, I want to say.
Hold on, you talk.
No, no, no.
It was during an Islander game and then it became a thing.
But like, listen, if a few guys were talking about Matt Harvey,
and they were like, you know, Matt Harvey is the dumbest motherfucker on the planet.
Like, Matt Harvey could not be dumber.
He does dumb things.
He's a big dumb, he's so dumb.
If you won't talk about how dumb he is, I'll talk about how dumb he is.
Do you know where that story ends up?
On the front page of the Daily News.
There was not a single thing written about this in the Calgary Herald, in the Calgary Sun, by any Calgary media.
It wasn't mentioned on Calgary Radio.
And every time I reached out and said, if you want to clarify who actually said this, send me an email.
Send me an email.
I asked for comment from other people.
Send me an email.
Didn't get one because no one wanted to go on record about it.
Well, then again, Calgary's not really a hockey town, so they probably don't care about that sort of stuff there.
Imagine that shit happening somewhere else where it's not a bunch of, oh, gotta protect my friend.
You know, I don't want to throw them under the bus there.
You know, we used to play hockey on the pun.
Imagine this happened in Chicago.
Canadian Sean Leahy.
Imagine this happened in New York.
Imagine this happened in a place where the media wasn't just a bunch of handholding.
Let's grab a brew after the game.
And, you know, talk about the old days together.
Bullshit.
It's just bullshit.
I am flabbergasted that this wasn't a story.
It's weird.
I'm not going to lie to it.
Now, hold on.
I'm really happy it wasn't a story because if you wanted to read about it, you had to come to our blog.
There was one place.
I saw the numbers.
Oh, boy.
But it also speaks to the fact that how shitty announcing is these days where like no one ever says anything critical about their own dudes.
And like people are starving to actually hear honest stuff about their own players from their announcers, like as opposed to just being like, like say for instance, I don't know.
Canadians Rangers game four
Let's just say hypothetically
Rick Nash is going 30 miles an hour down the wing
And he jumps and knees carry price in the head
And gets called for interference
Like you're a Ranger fan
You're upset about that
Because it's a good scoring chance
And then the puck got put in the net
You're like that sucks
But I mean Rick Nash didn't get pushed
He ran over the goal
He didn't change his
His trajectory towards the goal
No it was like one of those like leaping knees
You might see in like an MMA fight
And you're like well all right
I saw the replay that's bad
And then you have I don't know
like an MSG employee go on Twitter and say Carrie Price Dove.
Like, let's just say like it's a, like maybe even like a former ranger.
Yeah, like a former ranger, maybe he even played goalie.
So like he would, he would know what it's like to get hit that hard while you're trying to play the puck on a shot.
And then you just call him like he hit him so fucking hard in the head with his knee.
Yeah.
And Rick Nash is he's a 220 pound, 10 pound guy.
You're going to go down.
The thing I always love about this stuff like with this Calgary story this week is, is, you know, the immediate reaction from people who is, well,
If it were you that got caught.
And by the way,
Lowe and I would never get caught talking shit about anybody like Chris Hardwick.
I mean, no.
Like, I love Chris.
I've always said that.
I've never said a bad thing about Chris Hardwick and all those shows.
They're all great.
If you got caught, what would you do?
And I'm like,
if I got caught on a hot mic
trashing a player,
I would probably own it.
I mean,
like, I would step up and say it was me.
But instead,
you don't have to when the rest of the media just protects you from anything.
But like it's not an issue when like you're just, you have like a hockey podcast and you just talk about hockey and like you don't really work for the flames or the NHL like then it's different.
But like if you work like say you work for the national hockey league and you're doing a radio show and you're just like boy the fucking referees in that Boston game were terrible and you get caught like you're you're probably going to get in trouble.
But if we sit here and go boy the fucking referees in the Boston auto game were fucking dog shit like no one's like Chris Hardwick the greatest boss ever who we've never said anything bad about would probably be like that's great content.
Listen, I want to congratulate the Calgary Media and congratulate the broadcasting partner that had these announcers, you know, employed.
The shakedowns started the night this happened where people who were posting the audio were getting direct messages from people in the Calgary Media saying, take it down, you're embarrassing us, you know, think about your colleagues.
Also, it's not even a deal.
They did an amazing job burying it. They really did an amazing job burying it.
It's not even like they were like on the hot mic going, boy, I think, Doug.
Hamilton's committed murder.
Yeah.
Like they were just like he was fucking stupid.
Sometimes people are stupid and they do stupid things like take dumb penalties that cost
your teams.
Playoff games.
There's nothing wrong with.
It's just a weird.
It's a weird business now that like teams all own their,
their TV and their radio and you can't really.
Well, it's also a weird business where like criticism of other media has become
so verboten where it becomes, it becomes like a, you know, I've been taking a task
in professional hockey writers association meetings for, you know, speaking out of turn.
or criticizing a peer.
And like, all we do all day is criticize people at their job.
Like, that's what we're paid to criticize people at their job.
When I say damn Balsma should be fired by the sabres because the sabers aren't good,
that's me criticizing a guy for doing a job that I'm not even sure I could fucking do.
Right?
So, so, like, the idea, thank you.
That's very sweet of you.
But, like, the idea that we shouldn't criticize each other for dumb shit is insane.
I call each other out for dumb shit.
Like like it's it is it is it's not calling out it's just reporting what he said
That's exactly right too it's it's transcribing what was said again like you didn't say anything
I mean like if you're Dougie Hamilton you don't want to be called stupid but like he's he's not having a great
series like it's again like the but again it goes back to the whole thing where if you work for the
flames you have like a you know you have a check that sort of comes through that you don't want to lose your job
i got i got people in media i got people in the city that won't talk to me anymore that work in media and that's fine by me
Because if you're a giant thin-skinned piss baby
Who can't handle criticism of your work
When all you do all fucking day is criticize other people
Then that's fine
We don't have to talk
It's cool
He doesn't want to talk to anyway
Larry Brooks
Oh
Larry Brooks will never speak to me again
Because I call him a hypocrite
For
You know saying
You know
Putting out some concussion stuff
And then like two weeks later
Being like
The Rangers need to knuckle up
And really protect our players more
It's like, come on, dude.
At least wait until the fucking seasons change.
Yeah, that's not good.
Yeah.
That's not a good.
There's a lot of guys that don't.
And that's fine by me, because like, if you can't, you know, if we, all we do is dish it out and we can't take it, then what's the point?
And listen, I am pretending that I'm not thin-skinned, but I'm thin-skinned about stuff like, I write something and then someone doesn't really get what I'm trying to say.
And then it bugs me because it means that I communicated it poorly.
So I'm more self-loathing, but then I lash out of people.
Or when someone's like, this is the worst fucking thing ever.
And you're just like, I didn't write this.
Beat the goddamn byline.
All right.
There's that too.
That would annoy you.
But like, again, I come back to this.
It's like our job is to criticize people.
When we get criticized or called out for our mistakes, then we circle the wagons and ignore whatever happened.
It makes media look bad.
Yeah.
But again, I go back to the whole thing where like, yeah, they were kind of calling Dougie dumb as a person.
But there's a way worse things to get caught saying about, like, let's say hypothetically, you were just like not aware that the mics were on.
you were like, boy, my wife is pissing me off lately.
Like, yeah, you're going to get some, you're going to get some shit for that.
But if you're just an announcer talking about how a player's not doing smart things, like, that just shows you where we are in terms of, again, we've had this conversation, too, about how sports are covered these days and how everyone's just super nice, super friendly, always want to defend the players they love in the locker room and all that sort of stuff.
And that's where we are now where we get to the point where a guy just says a guy's playing stupidly.
Like, yeah, you can, you can infer that he was talking about Dougie as a person as well.
And that's not great.
But the fact that we can get to the point where you can just say a guy took a dumb penalty that cost his team the game and played stupidly.
Somehow that is a thing that could potentially cost you your job.
Well, and that's a thing that you have to like really work hard to prevent from getting out there.
Yeah.
You know what I mean?
Like it's so benign.
You're right.
That's the essential part of it too, is that it's so benign to then treat it like it is some sort of, you know, like grabbed by the pussy moment for the hockey media.
Like literally our president was caught up.
microphone admitting to sexual assault and he became president and in hockey if you call a dumb player dumb it's like
Oh man it's mad man you're never gonna work in this business again like what world is this? This business is so jack
But again I think it's also the divide between broadcast and print to be honest with you too
Like broadcast is is is a very is that that is that is that is that is that is that is that is that is that is
That is the blue wall of silence as far as protecting each other and getting each other's backs think writers are a little bit a little bit more snippy
But also writers are still there but they're becoming that way too in terms of like you know CSN? I
People write for CSN.com, NESN, they write for team websites.
Like, it's weird.
Like, John Rosen's the L.A. Kings guy for L.A.Kings.com.
Like, I feel like he's, he's not, he's not, like, on Twitter going, Dustin Brown can't
fucking skate anymore.
He sucks.
But, like, he's at least honest about, like, he doesn't really fluff the players.
No, he doesn't.
He's a good ombudsman a little bit of the team.
Yeah, he's almost like his, even though he's in their employ.
Yeah.
Which was sort of the path that was blazed by, um, what's his face who founded that position for
them. I forget his name.
Rich Hammond.
Yeah, Rich Hammond, yeah.
Rich Hammond was sort of the same tone.
And that's, again, that's a credit to the Kings.
Because the Kings get it.
They get it in social media and they get it in that job that what fans really want are an
acknowledgement that it's a team employee, but at least a certain level of on the outside looking
in perspective.
I think fans want a reflection of what they're seeing, like shown to them.
Like when your team sucks, you don't want a dude being like, yeah, but.
Hey, man.
We've got four points in our last six games.
And before that, we only had three points in our pre.
Like, you want to, if your team sucks, you want to, not revel in that, but like, you want to, you want to, you want to, you want to, you want to, you want to, you want to, you want to, you don't want to be life.
You don't want, you know, finesse.
You don't want, I think fans want, nobody does.
I think fans want, I think fans want a goofy guy who in the most dire times can acknowledge how dire it is.
Like, you know, like, like last night, the Rangers won two to one.
and you're a Ranger fan, you're happy about that,
but you, in your heart, know Nick Holden's fucking terrible.
Like, you don't want to be hearing about how great Nick Holden play last night
when he was, he played that two-on-one as bad as I've ever seen, but he played a two-on-one.
And he fell down.
Yeah. Admittedly, he was in a tough spot because the two-on-one began while he was probably
looking to get to the bench for a change and he was high in his own.
But, like, Andrew Shaw walks around them for a breakaway that Lunkwist stops.
Like, even as a Ranger fan, you're like, I get it.
Nick Holden stinks.
Our blue line stinks.
Like, you don't want to be told, well, the blue line's really fighting hard out there.
and they're really doing their best to minimize, like,
no, we get it.
Our blue line sucks,
but we won because of Lunkwist.
Like, that's what I think fans want.
They don't want to get bullshitted unless, like, you know,
there are some fans, I guess, they're like that.
They would love to get bullshit.
They always want to be taller teams great.
Sunshine lollipops, unicorns.
We call them leaf fans today.
Carrie Price is a diver.
The leaves, by the way, the leaves.
How many years is the honeymoon?
Three?
What?
What?
You mean, like, after they missed the playoffs next year?
Oh, wow.
What do you mean, honeymoon?
Oh, man.
How funny would that be, though?
That would be bitter to swallow.
You know what's not bitter to swallow?
What is it, Greg?
Blue Apron.
Oh, my God.
It's so not bitter.
It's delicious.
A presenting sponsor of this very Puck Soup podcast, Blue Apron,
not all ingredients are created equal, Dave Lozo.
Did you know that?
Of course I knew that.
You know why I know that.
Why?
Explain to them the Blue Apron philosophy.
Let me tell you this right now.
Fresh, high quality ingredients make a real difference.
So it's important to know where your food comes from.
Thankfully, for less than $10 a meal, Blue Apron delivers delicious quality of food,
courtesy of over 150 local farms, fisheries, and rancher.
across the US. We talked about this before on the show. You go to the supermarket, you buy a bunch
of stuff. You're like, I'm going to cook for myself this week. And then what happens? You look in
the fridge a couple weeks later, and that arugula you bought is now the black goo that makes the
venom costume for Spider-Man. It's disgusting, and you don't even want it. So the great thing about
Blue Apron is this. They send you the ingredients that you need to make fresh and delicious meals.
And I know that one of these things, I use it. It is a lifesaver because I don't eat out all the time. And
I also don't eat garbage all the time.
So you're like, you're like Jamie Bennett away.
Yeah.
Is what you're saying when it comes to food.
And it's like 40 to 50 minutes to cook this stuff.
And then there's a certain zen quality to cooking for yourself too.
Here are the meals we're talking about for April.
Ready?
Spinach and fresh mozzarella pizza with olives, bell peppers, and ricotta salata.
Sweet and sour, salmon with bok choy, carrot, and ginger fried rice.
Parmesan crusted chicken with creamy fetichini and roasted broccoli.
roasting broccoli
roasting broccoli
I was thinking about that sketch
the other day
for some reason
I don't because I believe
somebody on another podcast
talked about how
they had a broccoli
salad go bad
and so like for the rest of the day
I was just walking around
going like chopin broccoli
and that was I believe
on that show
like that was not the 10 to 1 sketch
like that that sketch is so weird
that you would expect it to be the last sketch
on but I think it was actually not
what's the 10 oh the 10 to 1 sketch
yeah like 10 minutes to 1
where they put on all the weird and surreal
like astronaut Jones shit.
Wait, so the chopin broccoli.
That was just him about the piano doing the thing.
A lady, she went downtown.
She brought some broccoli.
Chopin broccoli.
Baby broccoli and Fontina Paninis with hard-boiled egg and arugula salad.
Check out this week's menu and get your first three meals free.
Three meals free with free shipping, no less, by going to blue apron.com slash puck soup.
You'll love how good it feels and taste to create incredible home-cooked meals with Blue Apron.
That's blue apron.com slash puck soup.
Playoff time, bud.
What's surprised you so far?
We're doing the show on Wednesday.
A lot of stuff could be done by tomorrow.
No, the wild they're going to win game for it tonight, so that's fine.
We'll just assume they win because they're the better team.
Overall, that's been a weird playoff because we've had the possibility of a bunch of sweeps.
We also had some amazing, like, overtime, crazy, upset kind of stuff happening, too.
The series I am the absolute most wrong about, even though I pick Minnesota to win that series.
I just think Minnesota's played well, but Jake Allen, I can't prove it, but I think he took some sort of like a magic elixir.
Yeah, like something like they give the, like the thing that they gave Captain America to make him Captain America.
The super soldier serum.
Yeah, I think he might have gotten a super gold tennis here.
So he was a scrawny little kid from Brooklyn and then they gave him the serum and then he became Jake, Jake Allen.
He just talks about Brooklyn all the fucking time.
We'll stop mentioning how he's from Brooklyn.
Hey, yo, after the game, let's get a Coney Island dog.
So this is your biggest problem with Captain American.
It's so annoying.
How often they fucking bring out Brooklyn in the movies.
We get it.
You're from Brooklyn.
He's not even from like Brooklyn now where you always want to be like, well, I live in Brooklyn.
Like he's from like the 1940s Brooklyn.
But, hey, I'm from Brooklyn.
I bought this reclaimed diver's helmet that someone turned into a lamp.
That's Morgasburg.
This shin tattoo of a squid is actually representative of the farm to table seafood restaurant.
I'm trying to open in the Williamsburg area.
All right, Steve, we get it.
Steve, why are wearing a bow tie?
Oh, it looks good on me.
Why are you only wearing a bow tie?
Oh, because that's what we're doing now.
Because when I ride my unicycle, it won't catch in the spokes.
Fucking Steve Rogers.
Trader to this fucking country.
I hate him so much.
Being a Brooklyn hipster in your eyes is worse than joining Hydra.
It's pretty apparent.
No, no.
If Steve Rogers was 2017 Captain America and he was that guy and he fucking betrayed fucking Iron Man.
But blah, blah, blah.
That series, I feel like Minnesota's played really well.
they've just lost, but like the fucking flames
flames have let me down. You thought the flames
are going to be in that series? I thought they were going to win that series. I think
I picked them to win that series. That's just
your residual Randy Carlisle
hate coming through.
The ducks are a demonstrably better team than the flames.
And the other thing about the flames I'll say is that
I didn't think anybody thought that Brian Elliott
would turn back into a pumpkin.
Dude, I have never, like the first two games, it was more
like, you know, bad penalties and, you know,
constantly, they were playing really well a five-on-five.
And then they come home, they're fucking
throttling Antime. And, and
man, that Brian Elliott throw up on himself.
Like, Jesus, God.
Like, I know he's always, like, there's always that potential for him to do that.
But, I mean, like, and it was weird how, like, the, and again, this is the thing about announcers where, like, they're just like, boy, Shea Theodore is really coming on strongly?
Is he, or is he just shooting 60-foot wrist shots that are just going by a guy that can't catch anymore?
Like, is he really playing that well?
But, man, Brian Elliott just, that's the one, like, that's the one.
Like, there's other series I'm wrong about, for sure.
I forget what, like, Toronto's winning, obviously.
Well, I was, I was wrong about Minnesota.
I had them win in the West.
So that's a big, big whiff on my part.
But again, my thought on Jake Allen was that he was Mark Andre Fleury,
that he was going to be kick ass in the regular season
and then turned back into that guy.
It was a flake in the postseason.
But, you know, I wrote about it this week.
And it's fascinating to see how the coaching changed,
but more importantly, Bredor becoming his goalie coach, made him.
And, you know, there's, but there's, like, precedent for it.
Like, you think about Dubnick and how he was a journeyman
and he was kind of a shitty goalie.
And then he hooks up with Sean.
Burke and Sean Burke's like hey I'm tall you're tall let me tell you how to be tall as a goalie
And like brodore takes over Jake Allen he's like hey
I look like this and you look look like this and we both don't like flop around and shit we're just positional
I'll teach you how to play goalie and then like he becomes better it's like you find the right guy to unlock you and then all of a sudden things work out nicely
Same thing with Holpe like hope he went from working with Olaf Colzig who
Fucked them all up and then he and then he got Mitch corn there in DC and he became a Vesna guy
Yeah, but the other thing too that seemed to happen for all three of those goalie
is suddenly the teams in front of them were way better as well.
Like he went from shitty Edmonton to possession dominant Minnesota that first year and,
you know,
the caps have gotten better over the years.
Like it just,
I don't know.
I never once,
if you ever talk to somebody from New Jersey,
the devils about Marty Rodar,
the term teacher never ever showed.
It was more like,
I'm going to play 77 games.
Fuck you and your 23 year old ass.
I'm going to fucking play all the games this year.
He was never really like an educator.
Like he wasn't like showing Scott Clements in the ropes.
No, like I don't buy.
No, but that's different.
That's like, that's like, you know, the Broadway star not teaching the understudy the part because they don't want to be taken over by some younger, cheaper version.
Like, now Bredor is like, I'm fat, I'm fat and happy working as an executive.
And I'll teach this young man what I know because I know, I know that, you know, Jeff Reese isn't going to rise up and take my job.
But that's the thing is, like, he's Marty Bredor.
Like, he was never going to lose his job in Jersey if he just, like, pitched in and told Mike Dunham a little bit about the ropes.
Like Mike Dunham wasn't going to take over and make 60 starts in 2002.
Like, come on.
Hey, Marty, what do you think I should do?
I don't know, Craig Billington.
Maybe, like, let pucks buy you.
Like, let a lot of pucks by you.
A little secret that Sean Burke told me before he left New Jersey was,
you have to give up five goals in your first start of the season every year.
It's a thing we do around here.
So what do you think about my glove hand, Marty?
I don't know, Kevin Weeks.
Maybe don't wear a glove.
Here's what you do.
You wear a lot of rings on your hand.
And it makes your hand stronger.
Yeah, it's harder to get the glove up in time.
But like, it'll make your wrist quicker as a season moves out on you play more.
Don't even use your arms?
That's pretty much the new way.
Don't you want to do the new way like me?
Look, and just drop your stick before every shot.
Nashville, as we do this podcast, is up 3-0 over the Hawks.
That's surprising, even though I picked Nashville to win.
Both of us did, and we have received deserved kudos for such a bold prediction.
That's not how Twitter works.
Twitter tells you took Minnesota to beat St. Louis.
Twitter doesn't say congratulations on Nashville.
Twitter wants to tell you the GFY, is the kid said.
Do you think the playoffs can make stars?
Because my contention is that Philip Forsberg entering these playoffs is not a star.
Yeah, you don't like Philip Ford.
No, it's not that I don't like him.
It's just that I think that at this point.
He's always your go-to example as a guy who's not a star.
He's a perfect example.
He's a fantastic player who hasn't broken through yet.
He plays in Nashville.
Star players that play in Nashville.
The NHL really.
Peter Forrestberg.
P.K. Suban.
P.
Boy, give me, give me that P.K. Subat in the second round of Montreal out in the first.
Just give me that, just give me that piece of content I can write that day about how the Montreal Canadiens lost the trade.
Even if it's tongue and cheek, just let me go for 1,500 words about that.
Oh, so bad.
You must feel good about Chicago being almost out, though, because, like, you hate Chicago.
Go fuck yourself, Chicago.
That's how I feel.
And I'm proud to say it.
Boy, that comeback in game three was splendid.
It was, and it was amazing because everything.
had set up the way we thought it would for the Blackhawks in game three where they take the two
nothing lead and it's like oh okay the old pros are figuring it out they're wearing them down
with their smarts and their experience they have craftiness no less than three of the top 100 players
in the history of hockey on this team and boy they're showing it I mean how how is a team with
three of the top 100 players to ever play the game and three of six active on the list or five
whatever it was and and Kevin Fiala's burying you yeah the predators have none none players in that
list. Zero. Zero. Somehow, well, I mean,
Shea Weber at some point will retroactively
become one of the greatest players when Montreal wins
the cup in his final year when he's 41 years old.
And P.K. Suban Jr. is playing 22 minutes
as an 18-year-old. Oilers and sharks.
Actually, that's impossible. It was a fugly game.
That's a weird old series.
Probably going to get rung up for
ringing a Chris Tierney's bell.
For ringing the bells. Yeah. Yeah, you don't do that.
A lot of cock shots in the playoffs
this year. We talked about that last week. Like, for some
reason as this regular season winds down the
playoff start, Dick Schatz
become this comment like Luchich was doing it
went to, was it to, uh, as though
was a char. I believe Dick Schatz was a Hall of
Famer for the 57 Leafs, by the way.
Dick Schatz was actually how I got through college
as a, as a, as a filmmaker.
No, it was a filmmaker, not me. I'm not making any money on that.
I thought it was like when you take the board of
shots, I thought it was like you
line them up on somebody's, no?
Somebody sent me a weird tweet. It was a, there was
old tweet from March about how somebody wanted to send us like the Puck Soup account to
Trump Dick and I didn't respond to that because I don't what does that mean I don't know but
then somebody like then like the it was like Trump dick from a place called like send you a dick
com or something and then like the send you a dick dot com Twitter account I guess like search
its name and then replied to that really old tweet that was like we got a special hockey
dick too I'm like I am not the audience for is it like a picture or is it a physical I'm not
clicking that link I'm in public when I'm seeing this
I can't be at Starbucks and that.
Like sometimes I'll be on Twitter and like like Rob Rossi tweeted something from his account last night.
Did you see that?
No.
It was like it was like from that upgerve thing.
Yeah, I think he's working on.
And it was like check this out.
And it was like a big like, you know, like a preview of the link.
And it was like two giant breasts with like a woman's forearm over them.
And I'm like sitting there on Fresh Row and I'm like, you know, it's funny.
I want to click on it.
I think I mentioned this on the podcast before.
But like I still follow Taylor Stevens, the porn star that was sitting behind the Kings bench.
Or was Pete the Boar?
Was Pete the Boar? Yeah, I think Pete Deboor had the boobs next.
Oh, right. Well, they're the Devils Kings.
Yeah, yeah.
And so I still follow her on Twitter.
And, like, occasionally I'll just be like at like a coffee shop and all of a sudden
strung through Twitter and just like boobs the size of Macy's Day balloon floats, you know, just like on the screen.
And then I say I should really unfollow her of them.
Like, but then again.
I did the same thing with someone else on Twitter.
Somebody was like replying to like an old friend's tweet and we had this debate about who was worse, Rachel or Ross.
And I was like, this girl's funny.
I'm gonna follow her.
And the next day it was like, here's a link to my Instagram thing.
And I click her Instagram thing.
And it's like her ass cheeks.
I'm like, oh, is that what you do for a living?
I'm gonna unfa.
No, I'm just gonna maybe I'll stick around.
Actually, this is actually not that bad.
Montreal and the Rangers, we kind of cover with our guest, Amanda Stein today.
So we'll talk about that a bit later.
Ottawa and Boston.
Eric Carlson's rocking and fucking rolling in this series.
And it's been fun to watch.
Is he blocking enough shots, though, though, though, is he playing with enough jam
behind his own goal line?
jam. But I fucking passed on my
coffee. Yeah, he's insane.
He's so good that I actually, I mean,
I think the world's a more interesting place when
Boston advances out of this series,
but I'm willing to go
with E.K. on this a little bit
longer. To be fair, I really
want to hear more about Charlie McAvoy's
shift totals during game. Or shit totals.
Or shit totals. You got a good
snake before the game. It was
S-shaped. Also, I
wanted to see NBC scrum a little bit with an
Ottawa, Montreal semi-final, by the way.
Don't you?
A little bit.
Like, I either want the best possible matchups in round two or just complete chaos.
I just, I want NBC to lose its business.
Coming up on HGTV International, Montreal against Ottawa.
Literally getting outrated by the 150th rerun of a Shark Tank episode on CNBC.
So the second round matchup at this point could be Montreal versus Ottawa.
It could be Toronto and the Penguins, which would be rock and roll.
Toronto, Pittsburgh.
It could be Anaheim, Edmonton
and Nashville, St. Louis.
NBC might lose Chicago, New York, and Washington.
Hey, don't worry about an NBC.
We're also not going to the Olympics.
Maybe it's like in the CBA where if the NHL doesn't send those three big markets
to the second round, they have to go to the Olympics.
There's like a clause that kicks in.
You owe us.
It's like one of those bonus clauses for the NBC people.
Oh, I love it.
Pittsburgh and Columbus
Columbus won game four because John
Totorella said
I don't want to hear that
I wanted them to hear that crappy music in the locker room
fucking doofus he is
Hey coach you're gonna make any changes
If you're down 3O
You're getting kind of manhandled to your
No I want to hear music
Like I
Poor Zach Wrenski though
That puck's in the face
Did you think that play should have been whistled by the way?
Oh yeah
I don't think so
Absolutely that's a no brainer
Every single time it happens
If a puck gets a guy in the face
If he goes down and doesn't move, that's an instant whistle every time in the weekend.
I completely disagree.
I think they made the right call.
I think they made the right call because maybe five seconds after he got hit, he actually got up.
He was on his way up to try to go to the bench.
It was like seven, eight.
And I hate to say, but okay, but I hate to say.
Even if it's five, you blow it dead.
I hate to say this, we got to be like soccer sometimes.
You got to sell that.
Don't be getting up and try to go to the bench on a play where you can get.
He sold it for five.
He didn't have to sell it.
Don't get up.
You didn't have to.
If he stays down for 10 seconds, guess what's,
happening? They're blowing a damn whistle. No, 10 seconds is when
they scored. He was down. Ten seconds after he hit
the face. If he stays down for eight seconds,
they're going to blow the whistle. He got up to early. They weren't
because the reason they didn't blow it was because the penguins
were tick-tack-towing it behind the goal lining.
It was out in front of rust. He fanned on it. They did
it again while Rewanski was still down and then he put it
in the second time. That's why they didn't blow the whistle.
Are professionals. They're amazing.
I think they're looking at that play
and saying to themselves he probably bladed, like
McFoly. And so
you know, it's entirely possible that he's
trying to pull a fast one over. So like it was
like a light cut when it happened and then he went to
the locker room and then John Torto went back there and beat
the shit out of him. Right. We got to make this
look good. Yeah, we got to make, yeah, no one's going to
buy this. I thought that was a really
shitty call and I kind of fucked that because
it could be too too now. It could, it was a critical
call but I think they got it right.
Finally, Capitals Leif's
so torn in this one because
I am caught up in the enthusiasm
and the fun of the Leafs.
The Chicago Cubs of Hockey
an easy sell for an American fan.
But at the same time, as I said many times,
want the capitals to win more than anything just to stop this nonsense.
I don't want to have to write the same damn story for the seventh or eighth straight year.
Like, it's, and it's, and now I've already, it's not even a thing where I've not written this story before.
They already lost to an eighth seed.
Like, I've already done this before with this team.
Well, here's what we're going to do is we're going to do what the Hollywood does now.
We're going to reboot the story.
New characters.
Instead of Alex Semen, we got T.J. O'She as the new guy in the 1-8 match.
Because that's off.
I guess it would be, uh, no, no, I mean, yeah, as far as production.
and stuff like Kuznetsoff is like bringing in the rock and the Fast and Furious
Family of yeah I mean that all that other upset was was like that was a John Erskine team now we have a Brooks orpick team
So it's completely a better model of slow
Easily easily easily the easy to buy player a really annoying thing is is just
So it's three three late in game two and cuz that's off gets the puck on his stick
Waits out Freddie Anderson he goes down he rockets it off the crossbar like two minutes to go that
me is not choking. Like you made a great play at the crossbar. It's the five on three and the power
play after that where the caps are just like dicking around. Like you know when they scored that
third goal they thought it was over because that's up buries it for a bad angle. They're like it's over.
I know we just got them talking about like criticizing people on their jobs and shit. But honestly,
I don't know if there's a thing in hockey that I find more unforgivable than a two minute five on
three power play that doesn't result in a goal. Or they get one shot on the two minutes?
They got a few shots.
I mean, they had some chances, but it was just like, you're up 3-1 in a game.
You have a chance to put the fucking dagger in them.
You're about to put the Wolverine claws through their heads, like Logan.
But then you didn't.
And then it's like, and then of course they come back because, as we know, a two-go-lead in the NHL, the most dangerous lead to the hole.
So I really, I faulted him for that.
Ovechkin played 14 fucking minutes in that game, too.
Like, what did Barry Trots do it's, he's getting out-coached?
But, like, I...
Well, listen.
Listen, we all know why, and do you think the Leafs are going to win?
I guess the next game's tonight.
Yeah, they'll be.
You think they win that series?
You think the Caps come back?
Well, I thought the Caps are going to win in five and the games would be close.
And all three games have been close, obviously.
That's the difference between this series, the Nashville series, and in some ways the Minnesota series,
that, you know, the Leafs are really good, but not, like, beyond the Capitals.
Like, it's been pretty even with the Leaves playing better with them in stretches.
Here's my prediction.
The Wild have been better than the.
blues and somehow they're getting swept.
This has been pretty even. But I think
what's going to happen is like I thought for game three
what happened to Edmonton in game four.
Like at some point like the capsules just roll them.
Like there'll be one of those just one game maybe where
because like I thought it would happen in game three and when it got the 3 one
I was like another great prediction by Dave Lozo.
They're going to win this game seven to one and because it's your first
it's a lot of those guys it's their first game at home and you know playing at home
is different than playing on the road and it didn't happen that game.
I still think it's going to happen.
in game four. Caps will win five nothing, but it'll be two, two, and then Toronto win game
fucking five in D.C. because fucking goddamn caps. As you know, the reason why Toronto is winning
is because they have the unofficial fan mascot of the 2017 Stanley Cup playoffs, DART guy.
Oh yeah, and Sidney Asiason, you see that? Nobody knew Sidney Asiason was with Matt Martin.
With Matt Martin, I know. Everyone was like, who's the hot chick with Dark Guy?
Once in future Puck Soup guest, Cindy Isison. Yeah. Dark Guy, for those who don't know,
is a rotund gentleman from Ontario
who drove down for games
one and two, I believe, in Washington,
D.C. He painted his
beard blue. He shaved a Stanley
Cup and a leaf into his head.
And now he's mayor of Toronto.
Congratulations to a dart guy.
And he became known as dark guy
because he had an unlit
cigarette dangling from his lip.
Which apparently they called darts in Canada.
Which they called darts in Canada. I know.
I wasn't really entirely aware of that.
Everybody's supposed to pretend that they did know
that. Oh, is that true? Yeah, that's the truth. Yeah, I mean, obviously we all know that they call
darts in Canada. That's why everybody who commented on dark guy was like, oh yeah, of course,
because he's got that cigarette in his mouth, you know, a dart. So I thought he was just like a
professional dart player from Toronto who loved to just go down and watch his team play in D.C. He's a
dark guy. Dark guy. That's a bullseye, folks. So he, uh, crickets, crickets for that,
Joe. So get it. Darts. So he, so he is now the unofficial mascot of the NHHL
playoffs but he's not alone as far as fans who you know are synonymous with things in their
mouth or things coming out of their mouth in fact a lot of fan bases have their own dark guy
it's just they haven't been discovered right like people think like the guy in dallas is that is the
the the guy was that hashtag on his fucking sign again the guy who sits behind the net sign guy i guess
yeah sure he's signed guy i forget with it it's like stand up hashtag i don't know whatever
Fuck the stars.
Who cares?
It's not in the playoffs.
Like, for example,
Montreal Canadiens.
Who's their guy?
Yeah, everyone knows
like Montreal Canadians,
but they don't know,
they think Upie,
which apparently terrifies.
Terrifies Amanda on this show.
But yeah,
like they have,
so they have dark guy in,
in Toronto and Montreal,
they have lit dark guy
who got there around the same time
as Michelle Tarian
and he just like sits there in the crowd
with his lit cigarette and it's allowed
because it's Montreal.
Yeah, no one smokes.
No one says anything.
The New York Rangers have rolled dollars into a cigar guy.
You know, like an old cartoon of someone from Tammany Hall just rolled a roll of like $100
bills lit on fire and is kind of dangling from his mouth.
I mean, as he sits in his suit in the 100s.
As he sits on his hands and doesn't cheer or do anything or say anything.
Philadelphia Flyers said cheese steak guy probably, right?
Well, you would think it's cheese steak guy because it's Philly and cheese steak and that's, you know,
it's a joke.
Get it.
Cheastay guy.
But actually, Philly guy is just a guy that has his teeth hanging out of his mouth because he got into a fight during the intermission with a Ranger fan wearing a Peter Pruka jersey.
And they just got into it about who was stupider.
And then he came back to his seat and he's got a couple teeth on the side of his mouth.
His teeth are like on his lip.
Yeah, it's like it's like one or two teeth like right on the corner of the mouth because you should see the other guy.
Okay.
But that's it.
That's what the Philly guy is.
The Washington Capitals have inevitable disappointment guy where there's a quivering on his lip.
at all times as he watches overtime.
I mean, Ted Leonis.
Oh, hey now.
Yes.
Hey now.
Boom, baby.
What's going on?
Do you hear that?
No, I thought I heard a weird sound.
I was trying to, no, I was trying to go around the lights.
What did you hear?
No, I thought I heard like a moaning, like a, like a, like the tennis sex thing this one.
We'll get to that in the later.
The Nashville Predators, of course, have hot chicken guy.
Yeah.
It's a guy who is sweating profusely as he eats.
The molten.
magma that they consider to be
it's a trick they play on people
that come to Nashville to eat this
hot bullshit and and
whoa you're saying it's not good it's terrible
oh no way it's hot spicy chicken how can it be
bad because it's painful like it's like an
eating challenge like you need to drink up
like a quart of milk after you're done it's terrible
oh so I get to have chicken and milk
I like those two things
St. Louis of course is Kenny G.
long saxophone guy just a
long Kenny G. saxophone hanging
off his lip because it is after all the blues
And of course Dallas has death penalty guy because in Texas they still put people to death.
And the guy just comes there with one of those old-timey little metal things like they put on your head like in the green mile.
And he just sits there and they're just like classic Dallas, Texas guy, classic fan.
Could be innocent, could be guilty, who knows?
Doesn't matter.
He's got the spaghetti strainer on his head.
He's a big fan and everybody loves him as he paints his face.
The LA Kings have rails of cocaine guy.
It's just a guy with just lines of coke on his lip.
And he plays on the second or third line sometimes.
Management's looking for raising the cancel his contract
as soon as he crosses the border.
Carolina, you know what the Carolina guy is.
Who's that?
Carolina is the unsold ticket guy who just has four
unsold tickets in the corner of his mouth
that he couldn't get rid of for the game.
The Blackhawks, of course, a pacifier guy
who's always so upset that their team gets disappointed
even though they get handed every outdoor game
and get three guys in the top 100 list
and are treated the kings.
There was nothing worse than Mark Lazarus,
mentions on Twitter and by Coxlews.
Like, he quote tweets them
and it's like, should we fire Gwenville?
What fuck is wrong with you people?
And finally, Florida, of course,
is drool guy, an 85-year-old
former New Yorker who moved to Florida
and got a free ticket because he owns a driver's license.
And he just goes in the building to cool off
for a few hours.
Just likes the AC inside the arena.
That's all he's there for.
Amanda Stein is our good friend from TSN 690
and she joins us on Puck Soup
to talk about great many things when we get back
Jack Eichel and
Suicide Squad
And sex
And sex
Where can you have sex
During sporting events
In this world
Stay tuned
Amanda Stein is having a good laugh
Because Lozo and I
Is share a microphone
Whilst she has her own
It's very cute
Well I think cute would be one word for it
Yeah I don't think she thinks it's cute
I think she thinks it's sad
She's laughing at it
You're sitting so close together
It's very intimate
She's a radio pro
She's the
the HAB's beat reporter for TSN 690 in Montreal and and most likely when you're on the radio it doesn't you don't have two other people in the room intimately sharing the same microphone like no yeah maybe you should yeah maybe that would make for a more intimate interview no we have about five microphones in our studio so this would never occur but that's okay that's okay I do enjoy this very intimate are you sure it never looks like to you guys are in some sort of a virtual
Trinity Hazing the entire time they're speaking online.
I do.
I kind of feel like I'm being interrogated by the good cop, bad cop here.
What's the deal with Montreal?
You mean good cop bon cop, bon cop.
Bon cop.
Yeah, I know French movies.
Good cop, bon cop.
It's a great movie.
Yeah, it's a hockey movie.
It's a, it's a French and English movie.
It's a bilingual movie that did extremely well up in Montreal.
Wait, wouldn't it be good cop, mal cop?
No.
Because it's good cop, bad cop.
And good cop, bon cop.
cop is the same thing, isn't it?
Good cop, good cop.
Was that what it's called?
I remember not.
Yeah, you two aren't making too much sense here.
Take it from me as the French speaker in this interview.
I feel like you're screwing the words up.
The American remake was really tough.
It was Good Cop Bon Bon, and it was just a cop eating bonbons on his couch the entire time and not solving any crimes.
But I really enjoyed it.
Now I'm confused.
Now I feel like I've failed already.
You are bilingual yourself.
You have more languages than French in English, or do you have?
No, just to French and English, born and raised on both languages.
Bon cop, bad cop.
There you go.
So you two.
Good cop, bad cop.
No, it was no, C, so Bon, so Bon Cop, bad cop.
Yeah, there we go.
The sequel was Good Cop Bon Cop, where both of them were good because the bad cop learned the errors in his ways.
It didn't do as bad.
It was like really bad.
There's a sequel, though.
There is a sequel, that is true.
He's interrogating a guy.
But I think there's just a two.
He's interrogating a guy.
He's like, all right, well, you know, if you're not going to tell me, I guess I'm going to have to bring him in.
The other guy comes in, hello, how's it going?
Would you like some tea or coffee?
Tim Hortons, perhaps.
Who are these people in this movie?
Patrick Heuard?
Colm Fiori.
Calm Fiori was the villain in The Chronicles of Riddick.
He was the Lord of the Underverse or whatever.
Lord Marshall of the Underverse, if you know.
Lucy Lollier, Saragin Labras.
Is Colm Fiori supposed to be like a polite Calm Fury?
Is that like a made-up stage name?
He's telling you what he can do?
He's like, calm fury.
That's actually a name of a new
Vin Diesel movie where he plays Riddick is Chronicles Riddick.
Calm Fury.
You better watch out because I'm calm right now,
but if you mess with my family,
it's going to be Fury.
Open up the coronas, boys.
Did you watch, did you see Fast and Furiate,
Fated the Furious yet?
Are you like, are you an,
hold on, you an anti-Fasten the Furious movies guy?
I'm anti-Bad movie.
guys, so I haven't seen those movies.
You haven't seen any of them?
I've seen parts of probably all of them, but I've never been able to get through more than
10, 15 minutes.
They're good though.
Like, they got better.
No.
It went from being like a point break rip.
You're outnumbered on this one.
Well, you agree?
They're not good.
Yeah, of course.
I haven't even seen a single second and I know they're not good.
Do you like car stunts?
No.
Then they're, that's not your fucking movie then.
I'm still allowed to have an opinion on it and it's not good.
They're, they're real good.
The whole, set it off as a point break rip off.
then there was a bunch of fast car movies
and then like around Fast 5
it shifted where now all of a sudden
they're all like,
we're secret agents now working for the American government
or whatever.
Is that your only voice?
Oh Amanda, I have so many more
so many more to offer you.
That was actually Sean Leahy.
He was doing there.
Oh no, have you ever heard my Leahy impression?
No, I haven't.
Okay.
Ask me a question about what I'm meeting right now.
Sean, what do you got in front of you there?
We got a bag of traumatic.
That's very good.
That asks me what the temperature of the room is.
She's Sean, what's the temperature in the shirt?
It's freezing.
Like, I like it.
But by Sean Leahy's also my Donald Trump impression, which is why I get confusing.
To get back to your French language, we've always been fascinated by the media dynamic in Montreal and how you possibly, how it all works.
Because like the coach has to do the French language media first.
Can you be successful in Montreal as an athlete if you aren't catering to the French-speaking community?
Yeah, you have to be really good.
I mean, that's it.
Talent trumps everything.
If you can perform, if you can bring a Stanley Cup.
I mean, you know, look at P.K. Suban, for example, he was, I mean, a lot of people didn't like him,
but there were a lot of people who did love him and he didn't necessarily speak the language all that well.
He tried.
He made an effort.
but because talent always trumps everything in Montreal.
And love Trump's hate, as we know here in the States.
That's right, exactly.
So it's all full circle.
So I think that if you're a player who can perform,
you can get away with not speaking French.
Now, if you're a player who is expected to perform
and then doesn't speak French and aren't performing,
then you sort of get into that murky water.
But, you know, I mean, that's easy for me to say on the English side, right?
Like keep in mind, like I am part of the English
contingent of the media. So my my direct association to the idea of you know
French and how important that is is different than someone who's a
Francophone who was born and born and raised in Quebec and only spoken only spoke
French. We were talking about this before the show like I I completely I never
understood it but now I completely understand the importance of the French
language media and and players and everybody at least making the effort to reach
out to out the community. The one thing where I
pause on is the fact that because of this restriction, whether it's official or unofficial,
there's basically six guys that could be coach. Correct. And most of them have been coached already.
Yeah, well, we're already recycling. We just recycled twice in a row, right? So two guys there. That's the one thing.
And then when people talk about like, oh, what's wrong with the haves? What? Yeah, what? 1990. I'm like,
well, it's because like there's like literally six guys that they can hire to be the coach. But again,
I think it's the same idea that if you brought in some like when when Mike Babcock was available, for
example. Like everyone's like, well, he doesn't speak French. Like how could he? But then I was like,
well, he's Mike Babcock. So it's again, it's the same thing applies to the players as it does to the
coach on our side. Now I know like management side and ownership wise, you know, they're really
dialed into the fact that the coach especially speaks to the fan base. He's the person who
speaks to the fan base all the time and they need to be able to communicate that. Now, you know,
subtitles are one thing. But keep in mind, we work in Montreal.
So I work in Montreal, which is a really small part of Quebec, all things considered, though it is heavily populated.
Outside of Montreal, there are thousands and thousands of people who don't speak a lick of English.
Right.
That, I think, is something that even myself living there forget, especially when this argument comes up.
I'm like, well, you know, there's like one player or two player.
But then there are people who don't understand any English whatsoever.
But they're buying tickets and they're buying tickets and they're fans and they've been fans for years.
years and years and they want the success of the team,
but they want to be able to, it's a way
to relate to the players. It's a way
to relate to the coach to the team.
It's to be able to understand what they're saying.
But now I'm completely hung up on Mike Babcock
being the Habs coach and be like, you know,
I was like, jeal jeané,
you know,
Tué la croissant
of Che Weber.
Let me say puckers.
Suffley.
Puckor Factor.
Grit.
GEM.
Here's what I don't get, though.
I was like a, I'm a Giants fan.
Yeah.
I've,
I've watched Ben McAdoo's press conferences,
maybe never.
Like,
the whole thing about the coach speaking to the fans,
like as a fan of football,
I generally don't care what the coach says.
Like,
I just watch the games and I enjoy the games.
The team wins,
the team loses,
and that's pretty much it.
So I don't understand the idea of,
you need a coach that speaks to,
like, I can't imagine a fan somewhere being like,
man, we lost three, two tonight.
I'm not going to be able to internalize this game.
Until I hear,
Until I hear four minutes of cliches from a coach or the language I speak.
I don't understand that part of it.
Isn't it more catering to the, like, to me it's more of the function of the media.
It's like the media serves as a function of your marketing department.
They're the ones that get the word out there.
They write about you.
They publicize you.
And you have to cater to those reporters and those newspapers and those media outlets by my making it bilingual.
In Montreal, yeah, I mean, because again, like it is part of your fan base.
And I totally agree with you.
Like, keep in mind, like, I don't believe that it's, you know,
a coach should have to speak French in any capacity.
I don't believe that.
But I'm trying to understand just as much as you guys are why that would be the case for them.
And of course, I'm closer to the situation living there and trying to, you know, figure it out.
But there's literally.
People do listen to like Michel Tarien and and Claude Julian.
They listen to those press.
They're live and they repeat them.
And, you know, I work for TSN 690 and we air them live and then we replay the entire press conference.
Like people, the way people consume the media in Montreal, the sports media, or rather the hockey media, is unlike anything, I believe, in any other community in North America.
There's only one other team that tried to hire a coach that sounded like their fan base and it was the New York Islanders.
Yeah, you're like, coach, what do you think about the game tonight?
Oh, you know, this freaking guy over here?
What the fuck, right?
Like, this guy can't even fucking play.
You know what I'm saying?
The way I see it is, is if a coach came there and spoke English, the fans would still.
go to games. They still watch the games. Yeah, I agree.
But the networks that have French
speaking, they would be the ones. I think they're the
ones that would be the most hurt by it. So they're the ones that
probably cry. And I get it, but I
think for a fan... Like I said, I don't necessarily
agree with it. I always believe in
you know, picking the best guy
available for the job, just the same way as in the
draft. I don't really necessarily subscribe to
picking by a position that you need.
I say, take the best
player available. I believe that same thing
with the coach, but this is just a long
standing thing with them. And
I don't know if it's also worth it for them to veer off that track.
Once your owner says, we need a coach that speaks French and English, you've boxed yourself into a hole then.
And so I don't know if they want to deal with the backlash of going with a guy.
But, you know, they were able to fire their guy for another French-speaking guy in getting Claude Julien and everything's worked out just fine and no one's talking about it and they gave him a five-year deal.
I love when Giante was the captain.
and like he made the attempt.
And he's just like, I don't know anything about your language or culture,
but je,
I'm just sweet Montreal.
And everybody's like, yeah.
Wow.
But so, okay, so on that thing.
So that was, that was one of the years at the beginning when they had their like introduction, right?
And so that was sort of the, je suis, Morayat,
I'm just free Brian Gianta.
And each player came out individually and was like,
I'm Brian Gianta, I'm sorry, Carrie Price.
And then Andre Kastitsen was on the team at the team.
time and he gets past the
jesui hungover
no no
just sweet arms dealers
even
even
yeah
jezsue mafia
he goes
he goes
Andre Kostitsen
didn't even
it was
amazing
it's like the NFL
introductions
you
yeah
it was so funny
like
but even
even the smallest
effort of saying
je sui
sort of caters
to that
fan base
and they
appreciate
they appreciate effort
you know
you don't have to be
Perfect.
I feel like he's good enough where he can just be like, just sweet F you.
Yeah.
But I think it's also expected, right?
Like he came in there with that sort of reputation and whatever.
Anything above I'm a curfew breaking miscreant is going to be treated as if he's like a saint.
The difference with Radulov, though, is that he spent his junior career playing in Quebec City.
So he already had a bit of a base knowledge.
I mean, I don't know how much of it he still retains.
But, you know, sometimes he'll be like, bonjour, merci, you know.
But even things as like,
Bonjour and Mercii, again, are really appreciated.
But him, it's a bit different because he did have that time playing in Quebec City.
You mentioned PK before.
Where is the city on PK?
Because it's, I literally, I was like my trigger word.
We've been, we've been experiencing this thing from Edmonton.
The tree.
No, no, no, no.
We've been experiencing this thing in Edmonton this year, which is really weird,
which is this odd sort of like grave dancing on Taylor Hall.
Yeah.
Where the team's all of a sudden really good.
Hall's not there.
There is absolutely no correlation.
between the two. I think they would have been a playoff team with him there.
Whether, you know, whether, whether, whether, whether, you know, maybe it helped that they had a
better defense, but ultimately it's Camtale but that made that defense work. But there's been like
this odd sort of like, we made the playoffs or beat the sharks. F.U. Taylor Hall vibe. And it's so
weird because like all Taylor Hall won it was to be a part of this thing. And in P.K.'s
case is the same thing. Like, he always wanted to be in Montreal. He loved being in Montreal. He loved
being a half. Yeah. And and I, and where is the, where is the mindset right now vis-a-vis that trade
and him, is there a certain like, hey, we want the worst for this guy to make ourselves feel better?
Or is P.K. always going to be treated as a saint.
I think he'll, you know, well, it depends what part of the fan base that you're talking about, right?
Because there are people who did not like PK. at all.
He really, like, it was split down the middle.
And then there were those who really loved him.
And so for me, it kind of, it's hard to say.
It's hard to say because it really depends on the person.
So the way I see it, people are really happy that Montreal are in the playoffs.
And they're seeing the best of Shea Weber now.
So when you see the best of Shea Weber, you don't see as much, you don't hear as much about P.K. Suban.
Now, there are some people who sometimes be like, well, NHL 16 or whatever stupid video game it is predicted that the Canadians and predators will meet.
And then they want P.K. to win the cup as like a fuck you to the city, right?
I'm allowed to say that?
That was really big for me.
That was very cool for me, you guys.
That was really cool.
That's interesting.
You want to say it again in French so everyone gets it?
Tabernac.
Hey.
My introduction to that was reading Ken Dryden's book,
and I kept on seeing that word over and over again.
I finally asked, my grandfather lived in Montreal for a long time,
I finally asked him like, what does this mean?
He's like, yeah, yeah.
And if you really want it, like, if you really want things to, like,
you go, estienne, tavernac.
Oof.
Yeah.
So when you say like, hey, the Mormon tabernacle choir is coming at that.
That's what it's after, actually.
Is it really?
Tabernacle, yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's the top of a church, right?
Or something like that.
Yeah.
But like I thought tabernacle was fuck off.
Yeah, it is.
But like that, like I know that the origin of it comes from.
Like most like most egliness in life it originated in the church.
Yeah.
Wow.
Yeah, exactly.
The Mormon tabernacle choir.
So yeah.
So yeah.
And fuck yourself.
But, but, but, but, but,
It's so hard to tour in Canada.
We just want to make beautiful news.
We can't put your name on the marquee.
But you know, the K.S.
Word is a curse word in our place.
But, you know, the P.K. thing, I just sort of have this vision of him winning the Stanley Cup and then bringing it back to the children's hospital and like hosting his own parade.
Because that would legit be the most Peké thing.
And I love Peket Suban because he just does.
whatever the fuck he wants.
And I love that about him because I kind of feel a little of myself in that to not the same
degree because we don't make the same salary and can't afford to make the same mistakes or,
you know, challenge authority.
But I think that that would be incredible.
So you want to see the kids cry because the Montreal Canadiens lost.
No.
See, this is different because the kids in the hospital.
So I've been to the hospital alongside P.K.
I visited with him, which is a remarkable thing to do.
And it really is.
It's, you're speechless.
You're speechless the way they respond to him.
And I know that those kids would be just delighted.
They don't, they have Predators stuff up in there now.
They have Predators stuff up in there.
So P.K. scores the game winning goal, game seven in overtime.
I'm telling you.
I'm not saying everybody, but I know that those.
I'm not saying everybody.
But a lot of people would be.
I mean, like there are people who have honest to God given up on the Canadians and are now Predators fans.
Good for them.
So you have, like legitimately.
That's great.
He's sort of the midpoint.
Like all the Edmonton fans are like F.U.
Taylor Hall and all the Toronto fans are like, we love you, Phil Kessel.
We only hope for the best for you.
And then you have this mishmash of both of those.
Of both of those.
Exactly.
That's interesting.
That's actually a perfect way of putting it.
You have both of those things in our city, which makes it very confusing.
And I mean, when he came back to the city, it was like a P.K. Love Fest.
And, you know, I mean.
Was it, was it, was it for the media.
Was it like an old school, new school split as far as people that liked P.K.
And people that didn't.
Because I remember there being a lot of like ex players, especially on like the French language, like radio shows and stuff that were all very much like he puts himself ahead of the team and blah, blah, blah, blah.
Like you mean like the older people sort of?
Who was given in the most shit?
Well, I mean, behind the scenes, there were quite a few players that weren't super thrilled with the way he did things.
But I think it was really a management thing.
I really think it ultimately came down to management, just not liking the direction, maybe even not liking the attention that he was getting outside without the, you know, the Habs name on it.
You know, like the day they announced the captaincy or maybe it's like the day after they announced the captaincy.
He like had his $10 million pledge.
So, I mean, he did certain things that I can be like, I can see why someone would be like, fuck this guy.
Like, you know, like there's so many things.
There's always a part of me that pumps the brakes on PKK.
because it's so calculated.
Everything is so calculated.
Yeah, his heart's in the right place,
so you can't really give him too much shit for it.
But, like, you know, he signs with an agency.
Like, it's all very, very image cultivating and calculated.
But you know what?
It's like there's a thousand different ways you can try to brand yourself
and cultivate your image and not have your heart in the right place and not help kids.
Yeah, absolutely.
And not try to grow the game and everything else.
And like I'm willing to put up with a certain amount of ego if at the end of the day,
it's beneficial to the league, to the people, and everything else.
Yeah, and that I think is exactly who PK is.
And I mean, we're going to be having this debate, you know, in Montreal for years and years to come.
I can't wait.
All those.
I'm so excited to spend the rest of my career talking about this.
When Shea Weber's broken down in two years.
Yeah, then it's going to start flipping.
Well, yeah, but they'll just be talking about.
Like, why wasn't there a consensus on that trade?
Like, why didn't everybody just say, you know what?
It's, this is exactly what it is.
Short term, fine.
long term, not so good.
Like, why can't that just be the consensus?
Because people's hearts are so engaged in PK.
Like, that's like he, just the way that you were talking about him.
Like, he, he connected so well better than anyone I had ever seen, you know, I mean, I haven't been doing this all that.
I've been doing it for six years.
But still, he connected to people on an emotional level.
And you don't necessarily get that from hockey players because they're so, you know, dumb.
And programmed and robered.
and robotic and just annoying you know like they just like don't have that ability to really connect the way he did yeah yeah exactly so like a bunch of antichan skywalkers
yes exactly exactly exactly yes and i'm mine shay we're saying we're saying for hating christians shan hating christians i slotted them all but
women and the children but yeah that's that's p k i mean hockey's like sand it's coarse and it gets everywhere
sorry oh gosh oh boy oh boy let me let me
How did you get into it? You said six years. How did you get into this?
I was actually one of the really lucky people because I graduated.
Yeah, well, that, that, that, and when I graduated university, there's one English radio station that's sports related in Montreal.
And I applied for an internship. And I did a three-month internship on PJ Stock had a show at the time.
Diapers today.
That's a good one.
No, actually, he did release that commercial like while we.
were there while we were working together, which was hilarious.
For those who don't know.
Yeah, yeah, sorry.
It's an adult diaper commercial that he, that he was on like the dancing with the stars Canada,
which was like skating with the stars.
Yeah.
And he, yeah, and that's he released that commercial with his like little skating, figure skating
partner.
Right, because you don't want to shit your pants when you're.
No.
Ice dancing.
Especially if you're the woman and like, you know, they're throwing you up in the air.
You don't want extra coming down.
You don't want to end up looking like Augustus Gloop.
Exactly.
Oh, my God.
This is going on a weird turn.
But yeah.
So you got it.
So you were lucky.
Yes, I was lucky.
And so I applied for an internship.
And then after my internship, I think one of the, to be honest, one of the main, not main reasons, but one of the reasons that I end up getting hired, not only because I was good at what I did.
But also they were looking to branch out and have more women on the air.
At that point, they only had one woman at their station.
And so out of a group of seven of us that were interning at the same time, I was the only girl.
They hired me.
They were starting a new weekend morning show
and they asked me if I'd like to be the producer
and one of the co-hosts.
And all I knew at that point
was take every opportunity that comes to you.
And then four months later,
the girl, my friend Andy Bennett,
who works for CBC now,
she left.
She was on the drive show
and she also covered the Canadians
and they needed someone to do it.
And they sent me.
And that was sort of, that was it.
I didn't press record on my recorder,
my first day.
Didn't get anything.
It was the worst.
That is the word.
So would you?
You used to make up all the quotes?
I cried.
I cried.
What did a coach say?
He said that the players need to just be better.
Yeah, exactly.
I could have just like, I could have called you guys and like asking to do voices for me.
The power play needs to simplify things.
I, listen, I've been doing this for a long time.
I fucked up the other, a couple weeks ago.
I didn't do it all time.
I think the lightning were in town.
And I was talking to the lightning like during their playoff bush.
And I didn't realize it, but I used my iPhone as a recorder.
I didn't realize that.
I still had it hooked up.
Bluetooth to my headphones.
So it didn't pick up any of the audio because it was like just linked to my
headphones. So I like I sat there and talked to fucking headman for 20 minutes and
it got nothing out of it. It was terrible. Let me ask you about women in media
real quick. I was talking to my wife this morning and because she was mentioning
somebody who works with the Rangers that she knows that's like a like a sort of
like a hold the mic kind of host game. You know and then the Islanders have somebody
who does it. And it seems like so that's one ceiling now where women get to a
certain point. You can be on the air, but you need to only do this. And then you have a few that I've
broken through like Catherine Tappen and some of the NHL network hosts that now get to be the
person at the desk. But like, there's never been an analyst. I know. Is it because of the
ex-joc thing that you can only, you can only be an analyst if you're an ex-joc? Because I mean,
there's been maybe like Cassie Campbell. That's it. Right. The answer is obvious. The answer is obvious
is when you have people as good at the job as Jeremy Ronick.
Yeah. Like, who could possibly? I watch them for the first. I watch them for the first.
time on this trip.
It's rough.
You don't get what it's like down here.
Oh, no.
I didn't.
I did not like, I've heard the complaints.
I've always heard the complaints.
And I was like, okay, like how bad could it possibly be, right?
And then I turned it on while I was here in my hotel.
And, whew, it's not good.
It's not good.
It is not good.
My single favorite idiot U.S. hockey media moment recently was the Bruins were in a
playoff game or some like eight late season important game.
And they took a lead into the thing.
third period.
And like,
I think it was
Liam McHugh
asked Milbury.
They're like,
and this is just what
they have to do
who's the script.
Like Mike,
if you were going to go
into that Bruins locker
room, what would you
say to them right now?
Oh.
And now they always
asked this question
as like their last question
after before the end
of intermission,
right?
The Bruins were like 30,
and one
when leading after two periods.
What the fuck is
Mike Milbury
going to say to these guys
that they don't already.
Like,
what would you look?
Yeah, yeah.
Like, do you keep,
Do the thing that you've done 31 times.
Keep doing that thing that you do.
It's all just idiot.
It's just idiot questions.
I'm happy you saw it because I try to explain two concepts to my Canadian friends all the time.
One, how lucky you are to have the analysts and media that you have.
Yeah, we are.
And two, that it's really hard to find hockey even in like New York, going to a bar and find it.
Like, it's hard to find it.
Even last night I was trying to watch the late in the Edmonton game.
I couldn't find it.
I had to watch international house hunters instead.
which is fine.
I mean, it's six months about that.
Yeah, exactly.
That is true.
That is true.
I hadn't looked at the score,
but I still like to watch even though it was so out of hand.
But I legit,
I legit had to watch international house.
Two of the final score of that.
I've been to game now,
but they ended up getting the second house in Germany.
Exactly.
I mean, that's legit how I woke up this morning.
I was like, oh, okay.
Like, I definitely missed out this way.
But it's, you know.
But it's also good to like come away from the game at times, right?
because like from September to whenever the Canadians get kicked out of the playoffs,
like my life is pretty much controlled by their schedule, controlled by hockey.
It's like all I think about.
It's all I do.
So sometimes when I can't find it, yeah, it is.
And so sometimes when I can't find hockey on TV, you know, that's okay.
Yeah, welcome to America.
Welcome to America.
We don't have hockey on TV.
On Canadian broadcasts, this is a thing down here, whether it's like a devil's game and a national game,
when a guy has a chance to like shoot from like 30 feet out,
and he tries for the backdoor pass and it doesn't work.
Like the puck bounces over the guy's stick or whatever.
Is the Canadian analyst required by law like he is here to say that you have to shoot that?
No, but that's amazing.
It's just every time.
It's like, oh, over for Guznetsoff and he couldn't put it away.
Oh, Brett Connolly should have shot that.
Well, now you know because Gousenetov missed the park.
Yeah, but I guess like for me even like having watched some of the coverage here, it's like it's almost like they have these like go-to lines.
They do.
That they consistently go to on each different type of play.
So it's like they're regurgitating.
It's almost like they, well, a lot of them are former players who are used to just spewing
out the same cliches over and over again.
It almost seems like they take that into their.
It's like a crutch.
Yeah, of course it's a crutch.
Of course it's a crutch.
I just don't notice it like because like down here, Doc has been doing the Pittsburgh
Columbus series.
So I haven't watched that because I don't want to listen to Doc.
I'm not misidentified players for two hours.
And like you get like, you get like, you get like,
Dugby Crosby drives the bus for the penguins, but tonight we're in C-bus.
Oh, God, just fucking killed me.
To see the blue jackets.
Did you guys?
Did you guys?
Did you guys?
Oh, no.
She's.
Sid Bream.
The Ottawa Senators game the other day, uh, Pierre was, uh, interviewing Bobby
Ryan at the end.
Oh, I saw that.
It was amazing.
And so, and then he's like, he's like, by the way, Pierre, like Bobby Ryan from.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey.
Yeah, exactly.
You know, we shit on Pierre all the time, but like, I was so impressed that he took
the reps to task for that.
bullshit where Ryan didn't get
the matching minor when Riley Nash took the penalty
overtime. He's not a guy
to take a run at the referees but
like I'm like I was impressed. It was like
good for him. Yeah. He was wrong about that.
How is he possibly wrong?
Ryan him in the head. Because Riley Nash
was falling to the ice. That's why he got hit
in the head. Oh so he put himself in a prone position?
Yes. He's wrong. It should have been no penalty
to either guy. Right. That's the point. It was a bad
call. It was a bad call not to get Ryan. It was a worse call to even call
anything for that in overtime. Tiki-Tacky wasn't a scoring play.
The whole Bobby Ryan should have been on the ice thing was a bat take, but that's just me.
You also, you know, we were talking about USA and Canada.
You mentioned on the Twitters that our Netflix is better than your Netflix.
What did you mean by that?
Oh, you just have like better selection.
Do we?
Yes.
I thought it was the same like all over the place.
No, no, you would think, no it's not.
It's by country.
So different countries have different availability.
So we have like Daredevil and you have like Bon Cop good companies?
That is probably true.
Like my favorite TV show other than Friends, which is available in Canada on Netflix, is Parks and Recreation.
All right.
And that is not available on Netflix in Canada.
So I legitimately, I legitimately had to buy them all on iTunes.
Is Parks and Rec actually funny in French?
Oh, Jesus.
You're the worst.
You're the worst.
Don't you?
Can't you guys find comic around on the bad of the fact you both love friends, though?
Do you not like Parks and Recreation?
I mean, no.
Oh.
Okay.
But hold on.
Are you somebody who watched the first season like I did and they didn't watch any of it?
Yeah, that's what I usually do with bad shows.
See, but that's the thing.
No, but no, you got so much better.
It got so much better.
I made the same mistake.
The first season was like the worst version of the office.
I love the, I love the episode where Adam Scott looks into the camera like Jim Hopper did.
I love the scene where Amy Polars down like Steve Carrow.
It's the same fucking show.
It's the same show.
It's not the same show.
It's a mockumentary show with a dumb boss and like zany.
characters all around them that look into the camera.
Who's the dumb boss? There's no dumb boss.
Is it Amy Poller like a dumb and boss?
She's brilliant and amazing and a go-getter and she's like I see myself in her.
That's why I tell myself.
I'm like, yeah, I can do this even all these blogs.
But I really do.
I just want to say it like.
Will Arnett for a while.
Oh yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
That's true they.
That was really something.
She is.
Oh my.
I love Will Arnette.
Is there a problem?
I wouldn't mind.
You mean like sacks.
Being Amy Poehler in that case.
Oh, God.
Listen.
You've made a huge mistake.
But it's true.
I love him.
I love weird celebrities.
I proffer that the ensemble on Parks and Rec better than the ensemble on the office.
But.
Absolutely.
Michael Scott better than Amy Poehler.
Yes.
I would agree with that.
I would agree with that.
But again, like I think having a female lead also as like a female and in a tough industry like the one I'm in.
And for her, you know, Leslie Nope was in government.
And there are, I mean, I'm not as quirky and well, I probably am as quirky and weird as she is.
But I definitely see some parallels.
And I'm just like kind of a sap for that stuff.
I'm like, I'm like, what would Leslie do in this situation?
Losa, you don't like it because you're trying to defend the patriarchy.
You don't like to find a strong female.
Yeah.
All shows should just be all men, all the time.
Talking about chicks and their boobs and stuff.
That's why I say we were doing.
You said it many times.
Baby bro.
I've never seen.
never seen an episode of entourage.
Consider yourself blessed.
Oh, good.
Okay, that's the way to go there.
That's good.
That's good.
Okay.
Unless in Canada, it's Lantara.
No.
You're the worst.
Oh, my God.
It's more respectful.
Am I like your first French Canadian?
Not even French Canadian, but like French-speaking guests.
But yeah, so Netflix is just like so much better here, mainly because my favorite show is on it here and not back home.
Baby, bro.
You think you'd get me that cameo on Trail.
Oh, we got to get the from the from the.
From the studio
Yo, E, I got this new deal
Maple syrup, you want in on it?
Hey, don't joke about that, okay?
The RCMP, like, foiled a $20 million
They were smuggling of maple syrup across the border.
I swear!
It's a legitimate thing.
I can even show you on my phone.
They were storing it inside, like, moose corpses
to get it across them?
No, in these, like, giant barrels.
On a giant barrels.
And it was like $18 million.
Excuse me, sir.
Where are you taking all this maple syrup?
I'm not kidding.
I'm pretty sure that they're making a movie about it with Seth Rogen.
Really?
I swear.
I swear.
I'm pretty sure about that.
It sounds like a bit of a sticky situation.
Oh.
What, is there a problem?
You thought I was the worst.
Yeah.
I'm changing my mind.
That's right.
Because it's a maple Sierra food.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Maple nuts at the name of the movie?
Maple.
Maple.
Oh boy, here we go.
Let's see here.
Ciro de Rables is what it is in French.
Whoa.
How can you don't tweet in French?
How can you not like one of those people that's like tweet in English, tweet in French?
Why don't you take care of the people of Quebec, Amanda?
Because they have enough, they have like Renault Lavois taken care of that.
I definitely don't want to step on his toes.
That is the best tweet ever, by the way, Roberto Luongo, when he was like, it's weird how French Reno always beats American.
Yeah.
Every single story by 30 seconds.
That was hilarious.
That was a good tweet.
Always by 30 seconds.
Always gets him by like that one tweet.
How does he do it?
We were told by our good friend, Sean Leahy, who referenced earlier, that we needed to ask you about your unending fear of mascots.
See, I think it's a bit that's just taken over.
We're like, you're like, oh, mascots.
I mean, I know exactly where it comes from because when I was a kid, I went to go visit one of my sister.
at camp and there was a mascot
and it sort of like started
following me. What kind of mascot was it?
It was like a bear, I think.
I mean, she's at camp. Was it a real bear?
Maybe. Maybe you're afraid of actual bears.
Oh, damn. This is a good.
I'm not going to have to pay therapy this week.
How would Brise help her in this situation?
The key is to not go anywhere near camps,
parts, anywhere where there might be bears.
And you know, the thing is that
the real bears are scary, but maybe
be even scarier is person inside bear because they are essentially two entities you have a bear on
the outside and a person who loves bears on the inside don't even know what's happening i just want to
look right at or watch while you were doing that you're doing that yeah no wait no but wait i so
the bear was a plushy and the bear kept on it was like following me around you no it was like
coming for me it was like coming for me and i didn't like it and i was sort of like no no you know
how old are you at this point seven seven shut up okay
Thank you very much.
And so then, as I got older and I was in more therapy in my life, I realized that part of it is also the inability to verbally communicate.
I do have a slight fear of elderly people who can't verbally communicate.
You're both looking at me like I'm insane.
So wait a bit like old people that have lost the ability to speak.
Yeah, or like don't really understand what you're saying.
But when you were a kid and you had this bear incident, like were you too young to really like express get away from me?
Well, I was, yeah, but it was like, it was harassing me.
It was just like coming after me.
It's definitely French.
It was like just sort of chasing me around and I didn't like that at all.
Yeah.
So essentially it sort of started from there.
And it's this inability to communicate and they kind of smell bad sometimes.
But I think what we're trying to get at here is that you work in Montreal.
And I hate you.
That's the thing.
You work in a market with arguably the most beloved mascot in all of hockey.
I had to take an elevator with UPI about three weeks ago.
I thought it was horrible.
Wow.
Do you know the person inside the UPi costume?
Like, hey, what's up, Bob?
Like, can you just?
Even if I did.
No?
They are so in costume.
What are you?
No, but like after games.
Like, maybe like he's waiting for the train and you're just like, hey, great game tonight.
Well, I don't take the train.
Or whatever.
I was like, that's such a dick thing of me.
I'm like, I don't take public transport.
I would assume that the guy that does UPy is sort of like that.
Yeah, exactly.
Thank you.
I was assuming the guy who does UPy is sort of like a way.
mascot where like he just
What if it's like really one of my friends
like after all this?
I swear to God I have no idea
I know that there's three people who play UPi
sorry to we both looked at me like I can't
believe that there are three people to play
UP it's not just like one
but I do
I absolutely I just don't like
I don't like when they come near me
I don't like I just find that mascots
invade your personal space and I'm really
big on that. They're touchy. They're touchy and they like wave in your fate. I'm like, just get
away. Have you ever thought about, and I'm by no means, am I like a therapist here? No, it's okay. Go
for it. I've been in therapy for years and years and years. But have you ever thought about the
idea that if you wore... Not a chance, Greg. No, no, no, no. But you'd be able to see it
through their eyes. I don't want to see it through their eyes. It's a little thing called empathy.
I don't want, oh. I don't, I don't, I don't experience the mascot life for yourself. Why would I?
Also, walking around here.
Oh, Times Square.
Walking around here.
You guys make me come here.
You guys make me come here.
Some sort of sick joke.
We usually record live in Times Square.
Some sort of sick joke.
But I did see a dude who's dressed up as Mickey Mouse, but he was holding his head.
Less scary to me.
Probably more frightening to the kids.
More scary to me is definitely like, like there's a woman who dresses up like Hello Kitty in Times Square.
And for whatever reason, she wears her fucking mask maybe like three seconds out of
every minute. And the rest of time, she's like this little short woman holding the head of
Hello Kitty under her arm. I prefer that. I prefer that because if I could be like, excuse me,
could you please? They'll be like, yes, no. Also, no one here says like, thank you. Or when I say
sorry to someone, people just look at me like I'm crazy. Like I bumped into someone on the subway.
I don't have time for sorry. I was like, I was like sorry, sorry. And he's like certainly gave me
this look. Like, like who are you? Yeah. It's Manhattan. People expect three or four collisions
per day on the train or walking around. Yeah, I've been tossed around a few times. That's okay.
That's okay.
But the thing is, if you don't know who's inside the costume, like, that person could be, like, sitting next to you, like, the pregame.
That's fine.
They're not in, they're not in costume.
It's not the person that's on the inside.
If you, it's not that.
It's the opposite.
Yeah, exactly.
It's like the opposite.
It's a real humanity.
If we put Dave, if we put Dave inside of a costume, would you hit him more?
Yes.
I mean, because it's Dave and he would literally just spend the entire time terrorizing me.
Oh, he gets so handsy as a mascot.
I can't even.
But, like, specifically.
with me because he knows my
my hate
for a mascot. What if before game six
I went and rented a UPy costume and then
like showed up at MSG and just like sat down
on the press box in the seat next to you. Just
sat and say a word, just sat down, didn't wave on your face
just you know, watch the game. I would probably barf.
I'd probably throw up.
I'd probably throw it up. I'm going to bring that back.
I'll charge TSN with the dry cleaning bill.
Before you have to go to catch a flight
real quick. You think
you think we're ever getting another team
Quebec or do you I do I do think they're gonna get another team in Quebec
but I think it's gonna take a lot longer than than the fan base there really is
hoping for I feel like there's like there's like there's gonna be there's not there's
only like room for one more team at this point and I feel like it's like Seattle or I
think but I think I think Quebec's long been the backdoor relocation yes and I
agree and they're ready like they're a hundred percent right there's there they're
theater their theater who I guess I've been in New York a little
too long. Their arena is amazing. It's beautiful. It's high tech. It seats the, you know, the amount that NHL would want. And I do think that they could support it. But I mean, who am I? Like, what I mean? It's like, sure, I'd love to see that. Yeah. Really, that's what I asked. So my dad asks me. Who are you? How did you turn out this way? I come from a long line of like lawyers and all that.
I think you're going to say like your parents and grandparents were all mascots.
Oh, I'm rebelling against them.
I don't want your life, dad.
Yeah, exactly.
That's really where it comes from.
No, but I come from like a long line of like professionals and it's like all of a sudden like something happened.
And I'm a reporter.
Like I always tell people if Wayne Gretzky was sitting next to my father, he'd have no idea.
Wouldn't care.
Wouldn't.
Well, not that he wouldn't care.
He wouldn't even know.
For all he knows, that's the guy who's inside the UPy cost.
Amanda
I wanted you to have this
When you were old enough
Your T-shirt Canon Dad
I couldn't
Oh now that's terrible
You know what I do have
That's really cool
Is I have a signed game used
Wayne Gretzky
Stick
Which is pretty cool
Also signed by
Last Lab Truchiac
Are you sure it's real
Because Eli Manning
Does this thing
Where he
I know I know it's real
My grandfather
gave it to me
Before he passed away
That would be really sick of him
No
I'm God
Oh, my God.
That would be really...
One last practical joke.
Oh, no, that would be terrible.
But, yeah.
Oh, grandpa.
So many jokes from beyond the grave.
Got me again.
Shakes the fist at the sky.
Why, I ought to.
Amanda Stein, you're the best.
Where can people find your work?
You can find me on Twitter.
Amanda C-Stine.
C is just the letter C.
You can also use that same handle to find me on Instagram.
TSN690.ca, a bunch of our podcasts from our shows that we do.
and tune in to TSN 690 in Montreal and or online.
And you can hear me on the game broadcast.
I do the intermission reports.
I do the post game show, live from the locker room as well after games.
So I'm kind of all over the place.
You take calls?
Much like my life.
Yeah.
Oh, man.
Shock from Montreal.
You're next.
No, I mean.
Oh, P.K. Subman, I'll hang up and listen.
Oh, well, there is that.
There is that.
We have, like, elderly people, senile people.
like a lot of elderly people.
But these are the elderly people you like because they can speak.
Yeah, because they can like communicate.
And those are just the people working at the NHL.
No.
No.
Boom.
All right.
I just say one of, like, sometimes I'll be like, I'm just suffering from arthritis right now.
And your show really helps me get through the day.
And I don't know where to like laugh.
Oh my God.
I have arthritis too in my hand.
Amanda, you need to get out of here before America keeps doing this cheap.
Yeah. I'm turning into a terrible person.
I need to go back to Canada.
Thanks.
Thank you to Amanda Stein for joining us, getting insight into Les Albaton.
Merci beaucoup, Amanda Stein.
You are now qualified to coach the Habs.
I will coach the Habs.
Alex Galcagnac, you are on line, number four.
Number four.
Jack Eichol made some news as we were doing the show today.
His agent has denied this, but there is a report.
What did this say?
Siri just said, here's some news as we were doing the show today.
Siri just picked that up.
Oh, Sirius.
Brilliant.
His agent denies it, but Eichol reportedly, according to 550 WGR and Buffalo,
refuses to sign a contract extension this summer if Dan Baalzman is still the coach.
I believe it.
I believe it, too.
Coaches get run out of town by players all the time.
Especially by players that know that they're the franchise.
He's got the backing of ownership.
He's got the backing of Tim Murray.
He knows. Balsma is clearly, you know, hanging by a thread to begin with.
And I think Jack wants to, Jack wants to feel important. He looks over at Connor. He looks over at Austin.
They're both important. They're both in the playoffs. He's like, I want to feel important too.
All right, I got somebody fired.
Oh, so you're saying he's a big baby is what you're saying.
Well, listen, he was a pouty guy this year.
Mike Harrington wrote about that about, I know, about Eichl.
And the fact that, you know, he was kind of undermining Balsma this season a little bit.
you know he broods and he pouts in front of the media sometimes
but he's a he's a second year guy so i mean you give him kind of a break on that but like
why because he's showing emotions guy i hate this fucking industry man you get a guy who's
fucking first of all like most dudes who are 18 19 20 only don't do that like and they're
fucking boring and they're fucking dishwater fucking dull and here's my character and he's got
a superstar and he's brooding and saying things about fuck just fucking write it down like
fucking shut up but here's the thing a couple things about this first
First of all, I'm mad.
You remember when the Blackhawks got Denny Savard fired?
Remember when that young core decided they didn't want to be, have him be the coach anymore?
Remember when Herring Lundquist got John Tortorella fired?
It fucking happened.
Yeah, but he's a veteran, though.
I'll talk about when their younger players exert their will.
And the other thing is, how we, I know that you are clearly in Jack's corner here.
I love Jack.
How would you feel if this happens to Bilesman, if the Hatchet Falls and the next coach is Jack's former college coach, Dave Quinn from Boston University?
I don't know shit about college coach.
Okay, I know you don't know shit, but you know he went to BU.
Yeah.
And what if all of it's, Jack doesn't like Bilesma, Bilesma gets fired,
Jack's college coach gets hired.
How would you feel about that chain of events?
It'd be weird.
Like, if you're, if you're going to get a dude, like, like, like, right,
like the Blackhawks lopped off Denny Savard's head for fucking Joel Quinville.
Lundquist lopped off Tororello's head for Elaine Vigno.
But like, it's Elaine Vigno at least.
Like, if you're going to lop off a dude's head,
want to have a guy that's going to come in and actually be at least perceptively better or as good
as the coach you have. You're just going to go to like a, like, what if he's Dave Haxthall part
too? Dave Haxell's a fucking idiot. He's fucking scratching Shane Gosses-Barrick, because he's,
he's just learning and fucking throwing Andy McDonald out there for, or Andrew McDonald out there
for 20 minutes. Well, Andrew McDonald's an investment. But like, it's, yeah, just like my fucking
baseball cards. I should throw that in the way too. It doesn't mean.
Depends. You have that 80, 89 upper deck set, buddy? Factory sealed. I know I do. I think I
Ew. It's not factory sealed, though. I think I went in there to look for the Billy Ripkin thing.
No, no, no. That was a fleer, I believe. But I don't know. I wouldn't do it for a college coach.
All right. Who are the good college coaches in the NHL?
Oh, man. Are there any? A hacks stall is like one of the only ones. Is there no one else?
No, I think he's like one of the only, he might be the only end step of lay head coach.
You're all junior people, I guess. Yeah. Next players. Yeah. Maybe Dan Quinn's good. I don't know.
He's fine. I just, I just would have a problem with.
if Ikel work this behind the scenes and then his college coach gets the gig.
Because that's like a real caterer.
Like that's such a catering to your boy kind of deal.
Yeah.
It's like if Sid got Terry and fired and a fucking coach from Shattuck became the head coach of the Penguins.
Oh, Doc and Eddie, this great coach out of Shattuck, St. Mary's coach, Sidney Crosby for four years there.
And now he's going to be found the Penguins bench.
He's going to do a lot of great stuff.
And he's been really, uh, fuck you.
All right.
Let's talk about sex, baby.
Let's talk about you and me.
Let's talk about sex, me.
A tennis match at the Sarasota Open was delayed when the distinctive sounds, one might even call it a racket.
Hubba-Hubba.
Of a couple enjoying themselves began floating over the court.
Playing doubles.
I don't know if you could hear this yet.
Yeah, that's good.
So it gets going here.
We got some tennis.
And then it's like kind of quiet.
He was like talking.
You can kind of hear it in the background there like, like, uh?
Oh, yeah
And at this point
The tennis players are actually like looking around
Well, that is
The most bizarre situation
I don't know how to put this folks
But somebody's phone
Going off
It wasn't a phone
Yeah
That's why I would have thought too
I would assume that was a phone
You'd start laughing
Someone's having balcony sex
in Sarasota.
And it was an adult.
Only it wasn't.
It was a couple having sex
near the tennis arena.
And the best is if you go to like the minute 25 mark,
like the one of the players,
I think the guy is winning,
like he's getting ready to serve and he just goes,
it can't be that good.
It can't be that good, right?
But it got us thinking, like,
where can you possibly have sex
in a hockey rink if you're like two fans?
Even though I believe they discovered
that the two people banging in this video
where like just from a nearby
like condo or whatever.
Right, but it's close enough.
So I think that
you could have sex
on a golf course
during a PGA event.
Pretty much you probably find anywhere
to do it.
I think you could probably have sex
during,
well obviously during a marathon,
you know, clearly.
Yeah,
you can just go behind a car or something.
Could you have sex during
the World Series
depending on where it is?
Like Toronto, for example,
would be pretty...
Yeah, there was some fucking going on
on Toronto once
in the sky,
back when it was the skydome.
Pretty easy.
Yeah. Could you have sex during the Super Bowl? Yeah, upper deck. I saw people having sex at a Bon Jovi concert at football stadium. How? Where?
All the way up top level. She was bent over holding the CD was behind her. I've seen some video to that end at a stadium. But there's no real, like, concealed way to do it. Like we were talking before. I can't remember if somebody got arrested for banging at the Yankees out or the Yankee Stadium outdoor games or if it was peeing or if it was both. But like I don't know.
But, like, yeah, like, there's less places to hide in, like, a hockey arena.
Like, you have to, like, even if you're in a suite, like, there's still, like,
people, you can still see in the suites.
Like, like, in the sky dome, you're way up, you're way out in the outfield.
Like, you do it against the window.
Like, somebody might be like, who was that hands pressed up against?
Like, oh, but like in hockey, it's just, or basketball is against the same thing.
Like, the sweets you can see into them, too.
I guess, I guess the exhibitionist voyeuristic nature of, of it would be appealing to some people.
But I wouldn't want to have sex during a,
sporting event.
Maybe baseball.
What if you do the Bon Jovi position?
You can both watch and...
No, but I mean, like, I don't...
Like, a hockey game is exciting.
Why?
You just sound like sex wasn't.
You're like, well, hockey game's exciting.
Well, yeah, I don't need...
I don't need other stimulation while I'm at a hockey game.
I'll have sex after the hockey game.
Well, have you tried?
No, I haven't.
Well, then there you go.
Maybe it's...
Maybe it's fantastic.
Baseball has so many lulls.
Like, when the other team's hitting, I like, I would have sex every half
inning if I could...
Well, the other team's hitting.
I don't care.
Every half inning.
Yeah.
Listen, Greg, Greg the Machine-Mishinsky.
That's right, baby.
Ready to go every three outs.
And football, it'd be tough to get a rhythm.
To be honest with you.
Too many stops and starts.
Commercials after kickoffs.
No, I can fit it into a two-minute commercial break easily.
Plenty of time.
During, like, a review?
Oh, man, like a five-minute off-side review during a hockey game?
Oh, man.
If I tried to have sex during a PGA event, guaranteed the ball hits me.
Guaranteed that I'll be in some sort of a...
In the rough.
That's actually a really good premise for, like, a scene
in a movie or a TV show where like two people are banging in the woods and like a golf ball
or like ricochets off your ass and then like everybody runs over to market while you're like
mid-coitus you're just like nah no no no no no tennis ball get i'm sorry golf ball gets stuck in
your ass and you have to play it where it lies i see that's a little too adam sandlery movie thing
for me oh the ball got stuck can i can i can i can i finish before you before you hit the ball
Oh, shrugly, bongolik.
What else?
Like, the Octagon?
Boxing match.
Yeah, like, there's, you need it to be dark in there.
That's why the concert it works, because it's dark.
Like, the giant stadium is not going to be, like, dark during, like,
Do you remember what song it was when they were banging?
Um, we're halfway there.
It better be late lay your hands on me.
Take my balls and we'll make it.
Take my balls.
Please.
You finally saw Suicide Squad, what did you think?
It's bad.
I told you just like it's the worst superhero movie ever made.
But it's not, it's not worse than Batman versus Superman.
It is worse.
No.
It just, it's a little fun at least.
No, it's not.
Nothing about it is fun.
It just sits there.
Because here's the thing.
Like as bad as Jesse Eisenberg in your eyes was as Lex Luthor, there is absolutely nothing redeemable about Jared Lido's performance.
as a Joker in that movie. That movie just
fucking dies in the vine when he's
on screen. See, this goes back to
like my whole thing where like, I feel like Anson
Carter's terrible on TV. He's
really bad, says nothing good. But he's next to
Jeremy Roanick, so you don't notice it.
That's Joel Kinneman in this movie
where like everyone focuses on how bad Jared Letto
is and like Joel Kinneman is so fucking
miscast as like a tough army leader dude.
Yo, you guys are bad.
Hey, don't forget,
I could press a button at any time.
Yeah, you fucking said that like six times.
You're not going to do it.
You're not going to murder Will Smith.
Like Will Smith in the movie too, it's like, you're like, all right, Will, here's my direction for you.
Like, all right, what is it?
Be your usual charismatic self that you're in and every movie, but take it down 75%.
Why?
Why did you hire me to work on this?
Like, Margot Robbie, I don't understand why her accent comes and goes.
Do enjoy the outfit, though.
I'm not going to lie to you.
It's a good outfit.
It's a good.
It's good.
Good work by the costuming people.
I don't understand the bad guy is brother's sister thing.
Yeah, the enchantress.
Don't, don't weird CGI
she is. No Will Smith rap song at all.
Yeah, like, hey, I'm the enchantress.
Yo, check out her bod.
Here comes a squad.
Here comes a squad.
I don't get how the big monster thing
that shoots down all the helicopters
with its tentacles or whatever the fuck it's doing.
Like, I, so they're like,
here's what we're going to do.
We're going to go underground.
The crock's going to plant a bomb
and the bomb's going to blow up and that's going to be.
Okay, so you blow up the bomb under the guy's feet.
Oh, spoilers, by the way.
And he's not dead.
He's a fucking giant, like, demon monster.
Why would a bomb hurt a supernatural demon monster from the past?
Well, meanwhile, like, the fire dude's already, like, tried to melt a minute.
It didn't work, but the bomb is going to, like, okay, fine.
The enchantress fucking lady.
It's just, it's a horrible movie.
Like, it's one of the few movies that I saw, and I was like, it's so obvious that they,
they knew they had a giant turd burger, and then they tried to do everything they could to make
it better by, like, putting a bunch of fucking classic rock songs and, like, graphics on the screen.
and they introduced the characters three different times
and like they just couldn't they couldn't fix it
it was just terrible why do they keep introducing the characters
I don't get because it was poorly edited
I just I don't get how
on the fucking flashback to when like the Joker
and fucking Harley are swimming around
and like how are we still doing the Acme fucking you know
chemical bit in these movies like it was corny and Batman in 1992
I don't even really mind Jared Lido was weird
he was terrible but like I didn't
mind it. Like, I could have gotten past that.
It was just the plot, the story,
they spent 10 minutes in a bar bullshitting
at one point. That was fine. That's the best part of the movie.
Was it? When they just shot the shit.
Like, are they just interacted with each other?
There's no enchantress
doing, you know, twerking and making a demon
come out.
Like, there was nothing like that. It was just them
shooting the shit. It was great. And the ending is a rip off of ghostbusters.
Yes. Like, they're trying to destroy a city.
There's a woman who comes out. And like,
but like, instead of having like two other people, like, Rick
Moran has the Scorini Weaver become the dogs that you
break out of the shell at the end. She becomes a person
inside the shell you break out. It's the same fucking ending.
And Harley's like, cross the streams, pudding.
Only when she's not talking like that and she's talking like a normal person.
Like it was weird how that was, it was like L, um, what's her name?
Um, from the fucking shitty Avengers movie who has a Russian accent and does it.
Oh, uh, Elizabeth Olson.
Elizabeth Olson, but she's like, come back to Krakovia where, I don't know, maybe we can
hang out sometime. Wait, what? Where is she from?
What's the name of her country?
Where we find Crack Corvia on a map?
It's from the Tom Hanks movie
When he gets stuck in the terminal
Called the Terminal
Crakovia
I love you Iron Man
You are a great man
But I think Irish is my new accent
And I talk American now
And oh
That was like
That was Margot Robbie
Don't listen to this Margot
If you ever want to come on the show
Yeah please don't
You're the best
Yeah you are the best
Were you broken up
About the finale of girls this week
What the HBO's girls
Yeah
Oh, I think you meant like if there's a million more girls in the planet.
No, no, no, no.
The girls are still going to exist.
I mean, despite you trying to establish the patriarchy and you hate parks and rec because of it.
I remember watching the first season.
Like, I thought Leslie and Ope was like the incompetent boss.
I had the same experience as you.
I was trying to tell that to Amanda.
I saw the first season.
I didn't like it.
And Ruby said, you know, she would quote it.
Like, it's one of her favorite shows.
And like, I'm like, what did you like about that show?
She's like, when did you watch it?
And, like, first season, she's like, that is your problem.
It was kind of shitty.
They didn't know what they wanted to do.
the first season. So give it another
shot. I think you'd enjoy it.
Right. I'll just flip on season two, I guess.
And plus, yeah, you know, there's a good chance that several
those people will also be on the podcast at some point.
So, listen,
I love parks and wreck.
I love that episode where, oh, my God, Adam,
when you looked right into the camera when the thing happened around you,
that was just so good.
Yeah.
Once in future guest, Adam Scott.
Talk about your beard and big little lies.
What was the deal with that?
I thought he was wearing a beard because,
Spoiler, I thought he was going to be a bad guy.
But he's a
He's a full head of hair. That's the rule.
Oh, is that it?
You have to actually.
In that show, everyone was super good looking and had their hair.
That's why it was hard to figure out who the bad guy was going to be.
Right.
Like if, like, I don't know, like Tully Savalas rolled through and it was like, hey, we're with a spoon.
I'm your husband.
You'd be like, ah, murderer.
He did the murder.
They find a lollipop next to the bed, you know, when he did the deed.
This fucking world.
Cojack references are always good in 2017, by the way.
People know exactly who telly Sylvallis is.
He is looking at you, kid.
Does he say that?
I don't think he says that.
I think Billy B. Williams says that in Star Wars, doesn't he?
No?
No, that's Clark Gable in Casablanca.
I've made a deal with the empire to ensure that it would be...
There's going to be...
Donald Glover is the Young Lando in the Holland Solo movie, by the way.
What do you think about that?
Don't give a shit.
That didn't think you did.
Oh, there was some fucking post on Twitter
They were like, look how the trailers are exactly the same setup
As the new one
No, not the Han Solo one
What's the new Star Wars that's coming up?
The Last Jedi
I don't care about young Han Solo
I don't care about young Billy D
I don't care about Star Wars anymore
Hollywood has beaten the caring of Star Wars about
Adamie
Honey
How do you still care of this?
Because I love it, it's part of who I am
Why do you want to see these characters continue
Because I like the new characters and you don't
They're all the same
They're not the same
Well I mean a couple of words
One of them was the Stormtrooper.
One of them is Oscar Isaac.
That new movie with the Stormtrooper guy looks like it's going to be bad, even though it has all good actors in it.
I feel like I'm skeptical.
Oh, the John Boyagan movie?
The circle.
Oh, yeah, no.
And they're marketing it terribly.
It looks bad.
It looks like if it looked like if Google was Scientology, basically.
Right.
But no one, like, they're not marketing it that way.
Well, well.
And Tom Hanks plays a bad guy for the first time.
See, Splash.
When he ripped that point.
poor woman out of the ocean and tried to make her his his his slave yeah that was some
fucking bullshit but like I don't get how like I like the idea of Tom Hanks is a bad guy
like that's gonna be awesome Tom Hanks is a bad guy like I'm all for that but like if he's gonna be
like a you know corny tech bad guy I don't want to see you like he's basically gonna be
he's like Jesse Eisenberg yeah he's like Jesse Eisenberg and fucking Batman versus
Super and Steve Jobs is already a bad guy according to the movie Steve Jobs well you see you misunderstood
but what he was was a misunderstood genius oh was he
I thought he was a horrible dad
He made everybody feel miserable
He basically tortured his kid for 17 years
And said hey why don't you stick around
I'm gonna change your Walkman into an iPad
Yeah
Her iPhone
Tortured poor Seth Rowan
What do they call?
Give everybody credit the work on the project Steve
I don't want to
It didn't really work on the rocker
Fuck you man
Acknowledge the Apple 2 team
No
Acknowledge the Apple 2 team
No
And then and then Kate Winsett comes over
And she's like
But we are from Krakovia
You must acknowledge the Apple 2 team.
Hello.
Steve, why you give plausible deniability on your new black box?
Acknowledge the Apple 2 team.
In order for them to have that statue on the cover,
they had to have it commissioned many, many months beforehand.
You are never a candidate to be on cover of Time magazine.
Crakovia.
Acknowledge the Apple 2 team.
For the five people who saw Steve Jobs, they're dying right now.
They love it.
Seth Rogen, they basically walked down.
and he goes, all right, what are my lines for this movie?
You have four of them, and you just say one of them 17 times.
What is it?
Acknowledge the Apple 2 team, Steve.
It's not binary.
All right, fine, I didn't read the baby books.
You're having a girl, buy some pink shit.
He's so good and knocked up.
He's so damn good and knocked up.
All right.
Now is the time that we dive headfirst into the puck soup mailbag.
Chris wants to know what happens first.
Leaf fans throw a jurors.
he's on the ice again at the ACC or they raised their next Stanley Cup banner.
Oh, raise the banner.
You think they're going to win a cup before, you think they're going to win a cup?
The only thing.
Under the Babcock regime.
The only thing that could F up them winning the cup is the lockout.
Like if that's their year and then like the lockout happens to screw that up.
To put it in Jonah Carey terms, if they are the Montreal Canadian, I'm sorry, the Montreal Expos, rather of that, but without the relocation.
Well, I mean, yeah.
And then Toronto moves the Quebec and becomes the Quebec Air Yikes.
And then they don't win a cup there ever.
I agree. I think they're going to win a cup pretty soon.
Like, honestly, I was thinking about that too.
Like, think about it right now.
Like, let's say Chicago and Washington get knocked out.
Like, yeah, you still got Pittsburgh.
Like, there's going to be some weird-ass team that could win the cup.
Like, Edmonton could get to the cup final.
Nashville could get to the cup final.
Like, whoever wins the Rangers Canadian Series is going to go to the conference finals.
I think they're going to be Boston or Ottawa.
Let's say everything holds the way they are.
Like, the only team that I don't want to see win this,
there are only two teams that don't want to see win.
Anaheim and Pittsburgh.
Why don't Anaheim?
Because I've seen the win before.
I want a newbie.
Or a team that hasn't won within the last 10 years.
So in a way you're rooting for the Rangers.
I'm assuming they'll have it in that series.
Boy, I'm like a fucking detective just pulling you right in and getting you to confess.
You're a regular co-jack.
Bald joke.
Oh, sorry.
Damn, bald bias.
Dan, Straight Edge wants to know you come home from a night out.
You are tipsy and starving.
Oh, so I come home at night.
What do you make yourself to eat?
eat. I'm a really big
breakfast at any point, guy. I don't know about you.
I can make a little
eggs at some point for myself, no matter
when. I like to have a little turkey and cheese
in the fridge. A little turkey. Oh, for a little Sammy.
Turkey and Swiss, turkey and cheddar.
Want some bread? That's what I like to do. But like, last
night after the game, before
my train, I walked by a food cart,
and I was like, it smells good.
I just, I had a slasted...
I want to get this. Bacon, chicken ranch pizza last night when I got
home. Compton got that, too. You got pizza.
Where did you guys get pizza at that hour? I got pizza from the
place near my my apartment.
Oh,
I thought you just walked outside.
No,
yeah,
I was trying to figure out.
Yeah, I was trying to figure out what you guys that pizza.
The, um,
the other answer besides,
like breakfast for dinner would be,
I'd make a thing I like to call Chinese mess,
which is,
this can be racist.
No.
It's,
uh,
I mean,
it's really oriental,
but,
um,
no,
it's like,
it's like,
it's like,
you take a bag of minute rice.
Okay.
And then you take,
uh,
like a sausage.
You know how Trader Joe's has like,
like,
like,
like, hot,
like,
Like hot and dewy sausage or whatever
Never been inside of Trader Joe's
You just take a frozen already cooked sausage
You throw it in a thing in a pan
Sizzle it up
Throw the rice in if you've had in the microwave
sizzle it up and then throw some soy sauce on it
And you got yourself Chinese mess
I do not trust myself to come home drunk and cook
And remember to turn the stove off
Like I'll pass out on the couch covered in sausage and rice
And then like my apartment's on fire
And then on the dog and the meme going
This is fine
So you're on the couch covered in Susan Rice
And the stove is just going
And they're just like, I don't think I'm going to make it here.
CK Gator 42 wants to know how many minutes should OVatch can be playing?
Like 16.
No.
Less?
More?
More?
16?
Like 17?
No fewer than 19.
Here's the problem with that criticism of trots.
They took four minor penalties in the third period of that game.
And everybody's like, well, you put him out short-handed.
Like, why?
No, but he wasn't playing too much in the first two periods.
That's the problem.
The problem is not his minutes in the third period.
I don't get the idea of like,
well you need to get him out there for short-handed.
I'm like, why?
Well, no.
This isn't playing the P.K.
Yeah, if he doesn't do it, he doesn't do it.
And then the other side of it's like, he gets, he gets wheeled on a play on the PK and they score a goal.
Then it's like, why the fuck do you have Alex Lovetchkin out there on the penalty kill?
You know what?
You know what I noticed?
Like, I know how Alex Wavichkin's not 22 anymore, but in game two, he came out of the penalty box for a breakaway and he got fucking run down by two guys who were like at the end of their shifts.
And it kind of happened again in game three.
No, that separation speed anymore.
Like, he's getting caught by it.
Game three was a little different, but game two, he's out of the box, fresh legs, and maybe he's hurt.
Who knows?
Vincent Fisher wants to know F. Mary Kill, original Twilight Zone X-Files Black Mirror.
You ever watch Black Mirror?
I don't know anything of Black.
Is that what Black Mirror is?
Yeah, it's an anthology.
Yeah.
I thought it was about a mirror that you just couldn't see out of because it was painted black.
I would kill Black Mirror just because it's got some really good episodes, but I don't love everything that it does.
I would marry the Twilight Zone because it's got a lot of really good episodes.
And I would F the X-Files because after about five seasons, the sex changed.
It's a Mimi Rogers and Robert Patrick.
Wait, that happened on that show?
Mulder left and Scully left.
And then it became like...
Did they?
They just kept going without those two?
Well, I don't remember.
I didn't really watch a lot of the like Mimi Rogers.
Robert Patrick
seasons
I love me to meet Rogers
sure I mean who doesn't
but like
for various obvious reasons
but like I just
I mean once the company left
I wasn't really into it
I think I do the same thing as you
except that swap the F and the Mary
I think I would F
Mary the X-iles
Like the Twilight Zone's too old for me to
like it's like to F
it's like 70
Oh you would F it
I'm sorry I got that wrong
Oh right yeah yeah
I appreciate your
I'm effing the Twilight Zone
Oh David come here
I have so many episodes to show you.
My naked body is the cookbook.
I'm into it. Let's do it.
You're the last man I wanted to have sex within. My glasses broke.
That's good news for both of us.
She keeps glancing out the window. There's a monster out there.
David, did you see that?
Shut up. I'm trying to concentrate.
The only monster on this plane is located squarely.
I won't finish that. I don't want to get that imagery in the people's.
Super Jets fan wants to know.
your guess question, aren't they all? Owners seem happy with the CBA. Will the next labor
stoppage be a player strike or an owner's lockout? It'll never be a player's strike. It'll
always be a lockout. Disagree. You think it's going to be a strike? I feel like the players
might be coming aware of how fuck they've gotten and the only way to tilt it back the other way
is to do the full year thing and if they're the ones doing it. The question is just will they
have the balls to do it because it seems like at some point during every lockout like they
just reach a breaking point.
They're just like fine.
But I think the owner,
I think a good sign that the owners love the CBA
is the fact that they were going to extend it
if they let them go to the Olympics.
And I feel like if you're,
again,
this is just me guessing because it's not like I talked to Donfear every time.
But the way the CBA set up now is players who are at their maximum
earning value don't get paid because of the way that, you know.
Escro works.
No,
because of like how you're under team ownership until you're 25.
Right.
And like all the numbers show.
Like once you get to be 26, 27,
you're on the down end of it.
So like once owners are like well now you're on the down end of it I can't pay you
So like guys like kind of McDavid will get paid our neck bottle to get paid but it's just everybody else is gonna get kind of Nikita Kutra house gonna get screwed
Like I just I really feel like that they have to hunker down and be like we need a new system
I would be I don't know if they will I would be fascinated by that I would be interested to see if it happens but I just don't think it will
I think there are too many
Competing like you just mentioned like just too many competing interests for the players
Yeah the player like the older players don't give a shit about the younger
And the top end guys of the younger players don't care about the role players.
Right.
I mean, I think it's really hard to get everybody on the same page on these issues, on those specific issues.
Like Don Feart should say that a memo.
It says, guys, squirrel away all the money you can for the next two years because we're going, we're going nuclear next time.
I think you can get everybody on the same page about the Olympics and the concept of escrow and things like that.
But a lot of the other stuff is going to be hard for everybody to line up and stay lined up.
Because, I mean, the ultimate thing about a strike is that you have to have commitment to it from everybody involved.
What are you saying hockey players aren't committed?
You're saying they're not tough, Greg?
Are you saying they're soft?
I think they're tougher than NFL players, according to Ron Cook of the Pittsburgh Post Gazette this week.
It's another part of the playoffs I fucking hate.
Whether it's fans getting on other fan bases for ticket prices or that one columnist who hasn't written about hockey all year.
Hockey players are a lot of runs of the media today.
Tom Ryan Cole wants to know, are there enough too few or too many teams that make the playoffs?
I say enough.
I'm a 16 team guy.
I don't want a playoff expansion.
I don't want any play in games or anything.
I like the way it is.
I would, yeah, I'm with you on the playing games.
16.
16, I think we're just used to it because it's always been 16 pretty much since we've been like alive.
But.
With 32 teams at some point.
Yeah, but like I like the idea of maybe going top eight and then just ordering them one through eight
no matter what the conference is.
So, like, you can have, like, Chicago play Toronto.
So you're saying go one through 16.
But, no.
But, like, I'm not necessarily against the idea of fewer teams,
because whatever jacks up the regular season makes it more interesting, I'm kind of for.
But I definitely don't want more.
I don't want the playing games.
No, neither do I.
I don't want those.
Hannah wants to know non-hockey question inspired by weird inflate movie options.
Oh, boy.
Best rom-com in history and or why aren't there any good new ones?
Well, there aren't any new good ones because they don't make bank.
Kate Leopold.
And Kate Leopold.
It involves time travel, Meg Ryan, and Hugh Jackman's good.
And Leop Schreiber is pretty funny in that movie, too.
I would...
Love Actually?
Well, no.
That's...
I can't even call it a rom-com because of all the shit that happens with Rickman and Emma Thompson.
Like, that's really sad.
And Laura Linney's situation's not really...
Not very rom-comy either.
It's not very comedy either, is it?
Why are they making any good ones?
Because all the money is going into sequels.
and established properties and they don't think there's a lot of money in rom-coms,
which is wrong.
There's a lot of money in rom-coms.
Is that true?
They don't really make,
I never notice.
I do feel like every movie that comes out now is a fucking action sequel.
It's either sequels or established properties or it's high concept from proven
filmmakers, like, for example, train wreck.
Like, Judd Abattel gets train wreck made, and they go with it because they think Amy
Schumer has got star quality because of the show.
It made a bunch of money.
It made some money, yeah, exactly.
It wasn't good, though.
Best rom-com of all time?
Yeah.
God, Jesus.
I mean...
I feel like there's one I'm forgetting.
Well, when Harry Met Sally is up there, I was never really in love with that.
Google, rom-com and see what comes up.
Because I feel like there's one that's always on that I feel like I watch, and I can't remember what it is.
Who are, like, the rom-com people?
Meg Ryan, Billy Crystal, Tom Hanks.
You got mail?
That kind of thing.
Hmm.
Boy, I'm really bad at typing.
I don't know.
We'll figure that out.
If you've got one of your favorite, tweet us your favorite roncoms.
Hashtag Puck Soup romcom and we'll figure it out.
There's some bad ones recently, like the one with the 50 Shades of Grey Lady who's in the one with the guy from Workolics.
How to Date a Man or whatever that was.
How to be single or something like that?
That's right.
Yeah.
It says the opposite of How to Data Man.
Finally, Thomas Rini wants to know, I like a good rib-eye, medium well.
What's your favorite steak from a steakhouse?
And what are your go-to sides?
You're going to a steakhouse.
What do you get in?
Steak?
I like anything bone-in.
Give me a bone-in steak.
Medium well is way too overcooked for me.
I like a rare steak, but I'll go medium-rare if needs to be.
Medium rare is my temperature of choice.
Give me some taters.
Mashed preferably with garlic in them?
My sides ran.
I feel like my sides or whatever my mood is that day.
Like I can go mushrooms.
I can go mac and cheese.
I like mushrooms on a steak.
Potatoes.
Some cream spinach.
I like all the sides.
I do like a cream spinach.
I like mashed potatoes or mandatory.
Some applewoods.
No, I'll also say this.
If you throw a little crust in that steak,
a garlic crust or some such,
now we're talking.
Now we're in business.
Crazy stupid love.
I like that movie a lot.
Oh, wait.
40 year old virgin yeah that's listed here too that's not a rom-com that's a comedy you that happens to have a
dude trying to have sex in it it's a rom-com he's romancing her they have a relationship for a good
two-thirds of the movie no but that's not like yeah it's a 40-year-old virgin is is my i would say
my favorite rom-com if we had to establish that it is a rom-com like this has as good as it gets listed
as a rom-com like i don't know about that krikineer's getting fucking shit kicked out of him and like
half the scenes like somebody's aren't really comedies you can't have a rom-com I've been
has like really harsh dramatic elements to it.
Well, like, that kind of, that's sort of the opposite of comedy, isn't it?
Yeah, right.
Like, like, terms of adornment can't be a rom-com because, like, Deborah Winger dies.
Oh, serendipity.
I like that movie, too.
That's a good movie.
Knocked up.
Wait, was Judd Apatow's sneaking rom-coms past me for the past decade?
I didn't recognize.
20-year-old version is definitely a rom-com.
I don't know.
I guess, I guess knocked up as a rom-com.
But even though Seth Rogen and Catherine Higel have no.
Chemical chemistry.
The proposal with Ryan Reynolds and Sandra Bullock right before they became like super-duper
stars. Hitch, I like Hitch, wedding finger.
Just Friends.
Comcom.
I hate that.
I hate Anna Farris.
I don't like her all.
I love Anna Farris.
I find her to be the least funny, funny person walking around.
I guess she's not coming on the podcast.
Anna Ferris is going to be on the show this week.
Anna.
So people we've alienated from the podcast today.
Anna Ferris, everybody on Parks and Rec and Will Arnett.
Most of Suicide Squad.
Yep.
Johnny is not that bad in that movie.
He's usually the worst person in every movie he's in he's actually boomering. He's good. They ripped off that scene from Die Hard where he drinks a beer
Just like how that the terrorist and diehard smash it reaches in and gets the candy
Well, he's waiting to in the hallway to ambush the cops
They just really ripped off that scene by having him drink the beer during the action scene
Yeah, I don't know if you knew but so a suicide's got a little a little referential to other films
As you pointed out before and they're making a sequel too
Of course made money because everybody's an idiot except for us
All right everybody. Thanks for listening to Puck Soup this week. I'm great
if Yahoo Sports, you can find my stuff in Yahoo Sports.
You can listen to my other podcast when it's actually happening, Merrick versus Wosinski,
and you could buy my book, Take Your Eye Off the Puck out of watch hockey by knowing where to look,
as well as the book that me and Lozo went down and goes Round Rout, which is the 100 Greatest Players in NHL History and other stuff.
It's an e-book.
You can get on Amazon.
Thanks to Amanda's time for joining us, and here is Dave Lozo.
Why has everybody on Twitter been adding us today about where all our podcasts are?
We're on the same day every week.
Everyone's like, where's your podcast?
Which is flattering, but...
It's nice that they want it.
Yeah, that is good.
That's a good sign, I guess.
I feel like I've ranted about everything.
I feel like all my Dennis Miller rants are already happening during the show.
Yeah, babe.
So I'm done.
I've got nothing else to say.
Thanks for listening.
You're like a seismologist trying to manage the San Andreas over here.
I feel like as Richard Simmons are doing in a way a little bit there.
Fabulous.
Fabulous.
Come on, ladies.
Sweat to these oldies.
They're like Hannibal
across in the Alps with a bunch of elephants.
Oh no, you're wrong. I was doing my
Andy. Dennis Miller's my Andy Rooney.
Is that what that is?
Do you ever get stuck with a shopping cart with Wiggly Wheel?
I hate it. Not a big fan of it.
I haven't seen a wheel this Wiggly
since the Axis of Evil was getting
something by the thing during the time period of the past.
Yeah, babe. I don't know.
All right. Thanks, everybody.
Yeah, whatever. Bye.
com.
