Puck Soup - Any Day Now
Episode Date: July 22, 2025Sean and Ryan talk about the slow trade market, RFA signings, and more. Sponsored by Raycon (buyraycon.com/puck) and Mint Mobile (mintmobile.com/puck)...
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I'm Ryan Lambert from Elite Prospects.
I am Sean McIndew from The Athletic.
And it's any day now, folks.
The trades are coming.
Believe me.
It's happening.
You don't have to worry about it.
Not only is there going to be trades, there's going to be a million trades that they're all going to involve the biggest stars on the planet.
Every single one.
You're going to have so many trades.
You won't know what to do with them.
One of these days.
There's so much cap space.
They would be crazy not to make a huge amount of trade.
Well, okay.
Let's talk about the one trade that did happen in the last week.
The big, big trade, Dakota, Joshua to the Toronto Maple Leafs for a fourth round pick in 2028.
Can you fucking believe it, folks?
They fucking did it.
Yeah.
Yeah, this is what happens when you let a $12 million player walk, and now you've got lots of cap room.
You spend a quarter of that on.
a fourth liner.
It's pretty good.
I don't know.
Like, I'm not mad at Dakota Joshua and all that.
Is he,
you know.
Is he good?
Yeah, he's fine.
Is he $3 million a year good?
Or are we just?
Well, you know, that gets into the whole thing of like,
remember I was saying a few weeks ago,
but it's like we're just not allowed.
Or we shouldn't be like, oh my God,
I can't believe this guy costs $8 million.
If you have $15 million in cap space,
he can cost anything.
It doesn't matter.
if your roster's full
and, you know, like,
is he a $3 million player?
Probably not.
Is he a $3 million player
and the Leafs have,
let's see here,
$3 million in cap space right now?
Yeah, sure, fine.
That's fine.
If they have money, you know.
Yeah.
It's really,
okay, I was going to save this for later,
but let's just do it now.
What do you think was the last contract signed
for not the last contract signed for not the last,
league minimum or like an entry level deal.
Oh, man.
This isn't easy.
Yeah.
Okay.
Some of those guys are still out there.
Was it Eelers?
No, it was Joe Valeno got 900K on a one-year deal from Montreal.
And that was on July 16th.
Before that, it was Bowen Byram.
You know, they took,
but that's that's like him
whatever
like staying with the team that
is going to train him in a couple of weeks
allegedly.
But before that, the last guy who went from one team to another
got more than a million dollars
and multiple years is Nick Elers
on the third.
It feels like almost three weeks ago.
Yeah.
Is that not crazy?
Tough days in the hockey content world.
Now look, I'm not sitting here and saying
teams should be falling all over themselves
to have signed like Jack Roslavik,
MacGras, like Victor Oliveson.
Those are like the three guys that are still out there
and like, you know,
we're fairly productive last year.
You know, with all due respect to Yol Kivirontah, right?
But that's it.
Like, there's not really anybody like that
all these teams that have whatever, what is it, right now it is 12 teams have more than 10 million
dollars in cap space, right? And that's before signing their own RFAs, blah, blah, blah.
But it's 12 teams have that much. You couldn't, if you wanted to, you could not spend that
money on the guys that are left out there. You just couldn't do it. Or are you going to give
Matt Griswick $6 million? So like I, from that point,
view, I kind of get where NHLGMs are coming from.
The cap exploded, and they kind of looked around going, do I like sign Jakab-Verrana?
Is that what I do?
Which makes sense, except then they said, well, because there's not that many free agents,
we've got to get creative on the trade front.
Which great job circling us back to the Dakota Joshua thing.
Yeah, that was apparently...
Perfectly fine player, maybe a little overpaid.
But I think definitely overpaid.
Yeah, okay, sure.
I agree.
But I'm just saying like if you're the Leafs, you can just go, oh, okay, that's fine.
What do I care?
He does have, I believe, two years left on his deal.
So it's not like they're locking in.
Right.
For a long time.
Right.
And that created a situation where the Canucks now have like $3.3 million in cap space.
And they're going, is that enough to re-sign Jack Roslovick?
Or to sign Jack Roslovick?
And it's like, probably it is.
I don't know.
Maybe it isn't.
But you're the ones that got yourself to that point.
Whatever.
The Canucks are that.
It's amazing.
Amazing.
All these GMs who can figure these contracts out in two hours on July 1st.
That's right.
Lose that ability somehow.
Well, I think what they're probably all trying to do is Jack Roslivk's going,
I should get like three million four, three, three and a half, four million bucks somewhere in there.
And they're all going, how's two and a half sound?
Which I don't understand if you all have 15 million in cap space that you can't spend.
Like, how is just for example, New Jersey or, or, uh, or the predators not just going, here's four million dollars.
What do we give a shit?
We have $10 million in cap space.
Anyway.
Uh, the funny thing about the Canucks, this is.
from a Sakeros and Price out there in Vancouver,
uh,
the other,
or maybe about a week ago now.
The owner has long wanted a Vanderkane.
The owner asked the Canucks to get him when he was available.
So that's why they got him.
Awesome.
That's great.
I mean,
that rocks.
If there's one owner that I know fans trust their judgment,
it's definitely in Vancouver.
That's right.
Um,
okay.
So one trade.
that we maybe have an idea
could happen in the next week or three.
Also, maybe not.
You never know, I suppose.
But Yeager Shinikov from the
Columbus Blue Jackets has apparently
requested a trade.
It's 24 years old.
He...
Good player, I think we can all agree,
but at times a frustrating player.
Not always healthy.
Seems to
not be able to
consistently get ice time, that kind of thing.
Yeah.
Had a very weird year last year.
Yes.
I did not realize how strange his season was until I was reading Portsy's piece this week about the, I guess, his second piece on the request, because at first it was like a trade request and then there was a follow up from the agent saying, this is not going to work.
Right.
move him quickly.
So I'm just going to read you his NHL games played by year.
Coming out of the post-COVID year, here we go.
62, then 30, then 53, then 30.
Yeah.
That's not enough games in my opinion.
It is not first overall, first round pick.
He was the first round pick, yep.
Buy the blue jackets four years ago.
21 overall.
He's only 23 years.
years old.
He's 24.
He's 20.
Okay.
So last year was his age, 23 season.
Yes.
He starts the year on the first line.
Mm-hmm.
He plays well, has like 15 points in 20, something, 22 games.
Yeah.
Something like that.
Yep.
And then his back takes him out of the lineup.
Right.
He missed it.
he there's and I mean you there's there are no good injuries but you don't want to have a back
injury in the that's exactly right as soon as I saw oh it was his better you know or was reminded
I guess is a better way to put it um that it was his back that held him out of the lineup for like
50 games I was like oh that's a problem that is bad fucking news because we've you know we've
we've we've seen this with other players and we know how it goes and it was kind of the same way
with him.
It's going to be rehab.
Well, no, he's going to do this.
He's going to do that.
And then eventually he has a procedure done and comes back at the end of the year and plays
like a handful of games, seven or eight games and just does nothing.
Nine games, one assist, a minus eight rating averaging 1242 a night, it says here.
Yeah.
And then is a healthy scratch down the stretch.
As they're so, you know, so often you look at a guy like this and you go, oh, is he a first
liner?
Is he a death guy?
Is he not in NHL or at all?
Well, he was all of those things last year.
Right.
And now he wants out because his agent says of Dean Evanson.
Right.
In that story that you referenced, one of the things that I thought was so funny was
he's like, the coach doesn't tell him anything.
In fact, I just found the quote.
During the season, he didn't tell him anything.
Chinas said he didn't talk to Eveson about anything the whole season.
He just always said the assistant coaches would tell him everything.
You'd think in 365 days it didn't change anything, but you think it's going to change now?
I don't think so.
Some coaches like players, some coaches like other players.
Dean Eveson then declines comment to the athletic
and then through a team spokesman he's like
Oh, we actually did talk.
So don't worry about it.
Yeah.
I'm not worried.
The lines of communication are open and they will continue to be open, it says.
Yeah, that's always great.
We always love when the boss is like, look, my door is open.
Got something to say to me.
You come on in.
Well, to me it's just the funny thing of like one guy says,
this guy literally didn't say anything to me all year.
The other guy says, we talked, don't sweat it.
And it's like, neither is especially reassuring to me.
But the practical upshot is he doesn't want to play for Columbus anymore,
says the coach is the reason why I don't think they're firing the coach.
No.
And I don't think they really want to trade a 24-year-old,
but also because of all this injury history and the fact that he can't stay in the lineup,
even when he is healthy apparently.
I find it difficult to agree with the, the agent's assertion that, quote,
any team in the NHL would say he's a top six player.
Yeah.
Any team?
Because I can think of one right off the top of my head that he plays for that doesn't like that.
I called up the Panthers just to check.
Yeah.
And I was like, we're just going to do.
Yeah.
I said, we're just going to do word association.
I'm going to say a player's name.
You just say what pops.
And they were like, top six.
Absolutely.
If he doesn't, if Eveson doesn't like him, why not trade him?
Why hold him?
What's the reason?
It's the best solution.
Chinna wants to play in the NHL.
He wants to win.
He wants to help his team.
He wants to try his best.
But if the coach doesn't like him, how can he do that?
I think that's a fair question.
But also, I'd love to see this guy play more than 62 games a season, you know?
And that was three, four years ago now.
So, yeah, the fact that he's played only 83 over.
the last two seasons is, I would say, worrying.
I don't see what you're going to get.
Nothing.
Again, it's the back, and the thing with the back injury, the guy I always think of, obviously,
you can go further back and talk about, like, the Mike Bossies and Tim Kurz and that,
who had, like, their careers ruined by, but that, that was so long ago.
I don't think it has much to do with today.
it's more the like I think a Jason Spetson.
Sure.
Just like he had whole seasons almost gone because he just couldn't get his back right.
But then he did get it right.
And he played a very long career and was productive.
And, you know, it...
Yeah, really good player.
He got it fixed.
But, oh, it was an ordeal.
And, yeah, at 23rd.
that's not great.
Yeah, and, you know, he's signed for next year,
$2.1 million, you know, cheaper than Dakota Joshua.
I'd take the flyer on it if I was, whatever, Utah,
but I wouldn't give up anything for him
because I'm not going to trade something meaningful
for a guy who might not be in my lineup.
And if he is in my lineup, maybe can't play in the top six.
So what's that mean?
Seventh round pick, fifth.
like stop me when I hit fifth round pick well round pick I prospect like you know I think what it
almost is is you try to find another team that's got a guy like this sure and then you just swap
problems and you hope that the change of scenery thing has and to that point I think a lot of the
the trade rumors we're seeing now are just like
Oh, we should give you our problem and we'll take your problem if it's, you know, 8% cheaper.
You know, so these are in Googling stuff as I do every weekend for my, for my column.
I just like saw a bunch of names coming up over and over again.
We'll blank trade for blank.
And there were three names that came up.
Jordan Kairu, Eric Carlson, Nazim Khadri.
And I
Reading the
Reading the tea leaves or however you want to say
With cadre it does feel like a bit of wishful thinking
On the part of all the teams that are like
Could blank trade for Nazan Khadry
It feels like wishful thinking that the flames would want to
Give up on him
Because it's not like
They have the fourth most cap space
And the fifth most cap space in the league right now
So like they're not exactly like
Oh we're going to get this guy out of the
you know, whatever.
They don't have to do that if they don't want to.
And also he has a full no move.
So there's that as well.
And it's,
and the flames are such a frustrating team.
Mm-hmm.
From the outside.
And maybe their fans would say the same.
I don't know.
Because they're like right there.
They're too good to sell,
but barely.
That's exactly right.
What did they miss the playoffs?
by, were they the tiebreaker team last year?
Did they miss it by like two points or something?
I can't remember.
It wasn't by much.
Yeah.
It were.
But that was from them overperforming and getting, look, I think Dustin Wolf is awesome.
I don't know if he's going to do what he did last season again this season.
He was unbelievable for a huge stretch of last year.
But he's also a young guy.
Like, he's a young goal.
That's right.
This isn't, you know, the 32-year-old backup got hot.
this is, you know, he could be.
No, I totally agree.
Obviously, yeah.
The thing with Cadre is he's, he's a lot older than you probably think.
Like, 33, 34.
He's got four years left.
Yeah.
So this is the story.
I mean, if.
He'll be 35 on October 6th and he's got four years left at 7 million.
Full no move right now becomes a partial no trade next summer.
Woof.
And, you know, doesn't...
Maybe I'm just guessing here,
but doesn't strike me as a guy who would
refuse to waive a no move
in the right situation.
Yeah, you're here in Toronto
mentioned with him a lot.
I can see why they...
Before Tavares came, like, before Tavares resigned,
yeah.
And, and Nick Waugh and, like,
that would have made a lot of sense to me.
I would have been fully onboard.
with that. I don't know that it makes
sense now. Maybe
it still does because that lets
you bump Tavares off to the side, but
eh,
the least had the cast space to do something
like this up until a few days
ago. Right. That's exactly right.
They would have to get
like $4 million off their books
to make it work. Now, I
see what Max Domi makes.
And I go, well, that gets you most of the way there.
You know? But like, do
the flame, or the flames like, oh, yeah,
just give us a first round pick that'll probably be like
22nd overall. And yeah,
we'll take Max Domey for a couple of years.
And even if they say that, the Leafs go,
all right. So here's the thing with our first round picks.
How does 2037 sound to you?
That's exactly right. Yeah.
So it's very difficult to see.
But again,
Cadry to Toronto isn't the only cadre rumor out there.
Cadry to Philadelphia, you know, pick a team.
People are like, yeah, I could see him going there.
you know, and maybe.
I don't, like you said,
if the flames come to him and go,
you want to go to a team that is probably better than us?
At his age, he's probably going, yeah, again,
35 by the time the season starts.
I just don't know who's signing up for four years of that.
That's all.
Eric Carlson's another guy that's kind of in the same, like,
oh yeah, it makes total sense that Pittsburgh would try to trade him.
Right?
but like who's like
even if they
a couple of a couple of million bucks
or half the remaining contract
I believe they can get him up to
or down to like five million against the cap
something like that
who's who's like jumping through hoops
I think Eric Carlson is still a very good hockey player
with some obvious deficiencies to his game
is that fair to say?
Mm-hmm. Yep.
Who's like oh I can't
wait to get two more years of Eric Carlson locked in.
See, to me, this is one of those where I just don't see it during the season.
Sorry, during the off season.
You get a month into the season.
Yeah, yeah.
And he's having another one of those Eric Carlson years.
All right.
Now maybe I can talk myself into it.
But in July, almost August, when I've got my defense,
blue line already.
Like, if Kyle Dubas can pull it off, good for him.
But I don't, I don't see how.
Yeah.
And again, like, he's still a good player.
People act like he, you know, he can't play in the league anymore.
It's like, I, you know, I don't think it's his fault that the penguins are bad.
He's not helping necessarily.
But I think, I think in the right situation, Eric Carlson can help.
But what does that cost you to acquire him?
can help a good team, I should say.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I don't know.
What would you do if you're, if you're dubes?
Would you like,
I fucking trade them for sure.
But for like, would you even ask for anything?
Or would it be like a take his contract he's yours?
No, I mean, what do they care about the cat?
Like the cab space, there aren't many teams in the league that the cap space matters less to.
Mm-hmm.
Right?
So, like, am I not, am I not calling, like, Detroit or Seattle or somebody and going, like,
this guy can help you, you think you want to be in the playoff mix.
This guy can help you get there if you use him right or whatever.
And does it cause, again, does it cost you a B prospect, like a second round pick, that kind of thing?
It's tough to say because, like, the trade market has been so weird, you know?
Let me put it this way.
The last time a defenseman of any real note got traded was the Kianne Miller deal.
And what did Kiannuih Miller get?
It was a first, a second, and a guy that Carolina didn't really think could play for them this year.
A defensive prospect.
So does Carlson, given the money situation in his age,
and the no move clause,
does he cost you a second and a B prospect?
A first in a B prospect?
I don't know what the answer.
See, I don't, I don't think he does.
I think he costs you next to nothing
if you're willing to take even a good chunk of that off.
Well, that's what I'm saying, though.
Like, if you're getting them at full freight, that's one thing.
But you have to pay the penguins to eat $5 million or whatever the number is on the cap.
I mean, you would think, except by eating $5 million on the cap,
the penguins save $5 million on the cap and clear.
Yeah.
It probably just makes sense for them to hold on to him.
Yeah.
Certainly if somebody calls and says, you know, here's an offer,
then you're all ears.
But even as the guy who's like, everybody should make more trades.
I don't know, man.
I don't know if I see it here.
Yeah, again, it does feel like a little bit of wishful thinking, like on Penguins fans' part at this point, though.
Oh, Carlson is still good.
We could trade them for something.
Well, I mean, maybe, but you might not like what that something is, I guess is my point.
Yeah.
And then the last one here is Cairo because the Blues have under a million dollars in cap space.
They're one of the few teams that are pretty close to being capped out.
we've all apparently decided Kyra doesn't have it.
I don't know what that's based on.
He, like, he had a down year, and so he sucks forever, I guess.
That's right.
And by the way, by down year, he scored 36 fucking goals last year.
I don't, when he was on the ice, the blues scored 65% of the fucking goals.
We're mad at this guy?
We got to get this guy out of town.
He had 70 points.
He's head between 67 and.
75 points four years in a row.
Yeah. I don't know.
I don't know where this comes from.
And I'm sure a blues fan will educate me on this that like he didn't back check one time or something.
But and like I'm, look, I'm not saying like this is a perfect player or anything like that.
But like the number of 27 year old guys with term who scored 60 something goals in the last two years has to be a pretty short fucking list.
So, but is this a case of.
of they've got to, you know, they're moving the guy because he's a bum.
Or is it a case of, for once, a team recognizing that if we want to make significant changes,
we've actually got to move somebody of value.
Like, you can't sit there and, like, you know, the blues have not been in the playoff.
The blues haven't been a meaningful team in terms of being cup contenders.
you could probably argue since they won,
but certainly the last few years.
Is this a team saying, yeah, I mean,
most teams in this situation,
because they're also not bottoming out
and getting high picks.
So they're stuck in the middle,
and when a team's stuck in the middle,
you say, well, we got to do something to get out of here,
but you're not doing that by then saying,
so here's two fourth liners and AAA guy.
Yeah, for sure.
in the HL and we'll move them,
that's not going to move the needles.
So is this them saying...
So I'm looking at their depth chart here.
And basically what I think the argument would be is Jimmy Snuggaroo is more valuable to them than Kyru is.
This is a guy who's played, I think, zero regular season NHL games, maybe one or two, right?
Like, and they're just like, yep, lock it in.
says he re-played seven and he went one three four in seven games.
Okay, great.
Perfect.
But I think that would be their argument is like this guy's expensive and he's 27 and he's valuable.
There would be a line of teams around the block for Jordan Kairu even if you didn't eat money, right?
Again, if 12 teams have 10 plus million in cap space and Jordan Kairu,
like eight and change,
this is a very easy fucking problem to solve, you know?
But what are you giving back for Jordan Kairu?
Because the Blues are one of the few teams,
again, to circle back to what the UFA market looks like.
If Kairu were a free agent,
teams would be like, here's Nick Eeler's money.
You know, no problem from us.
This is great, you know?
When it's him or Jack,
Rosavik are your two options on the wing?
Okay, you know, I think I'll take Jordan Kairu, even if it's at a higher price.
But what is that?
It must cost a billion assets to get Jordan Kairu, right?
It would be a big move.
Yeah.
And I would think it would have to be for a defenseman who's like NHL capable to, right?
So like, does it do we just go?
Jordan Kairu to Buffalo for Bow and Byram?
Well, not so fast.
Jordan,
or Jordan Kairu has a full no trade clause for the main deal.
That's what I was going to ask.
Okay, here we go.
Frank Saravali recently listed the following teams as being in the market for a player of
Kairu's caliber.
Washington, Detroit, Toronto, Calgary, Vancouver, the Rangers, the Devils, the Wild,
the Crack and the Kings.
sure okay so you just named like half the league great yeah yeah and and left some teams off because
I mean again this is a mid-20s guy who scores 30 goals every year mm-hmm I guess my point is
whatever I don't know so so let me we'll end on this okay do you think the blues actually
want to trade him or is this a case of like hey we'll we'll throw the sign out by the highway
we'll put the phone number and we'll see
Whatever happens, yeah.
And either, you know, somebody gives us a great offer or maybe this just even brings someone in and we do something smaller.
Is this Doug Armstrong kind of playing the game or, I mean, it's not, you know, it's not no harm, no foul when you're one of your, you're not quite franchise player, but one of your best players is hearing their name out there.
But I don't know that they're motivated sellers here.
I tend to agree with that.
And the only thing that gives me like a little bit of pause about like them being motivated to sell is that they have less than a million in cap space.
Right.
Which they're done.
Like they don't have anybody left to resign or anything like that.
Although they do have to kind of look to the future a little bit with like Holloway needs a new contract after next season.
And so does Broberg if, you know, if we're just doing the math on that.
but yeah, I don't, I don't know.
Like, as you say, are the blues like all that good?
Not really.
You know, they added few suitor and they made the Logan Mayu trade that everybody was like,
oh, maybe they shouldn't have done that.
And that's their summer so far.
So I don't know who you move to like fix whatever you think is wrong with the blues.
but if it's me, unless I'm getting a blowaway offer to your point, I'm not, I'm not really thinking about it.
Unless, again, it's a defenseman who can really, and you know what, I say that I forgot, Tori Krug is an LTIR guy the second the season starts.
So they have way more cap space than what I was just saying.
So we can even take that consideration off the board.
And that means, I don't know what the answer is.
I guess this is probably just putting a line in the water and seeing what bites.
And the other fun dynamic here is Doug Armstrong has got the literal ticking clock on his time as a GM because we got the succession plan.
Is this the last season of Doug Armstrong as GM?
Wow.
Man, where is the time, though?
That felt like it was yesterday.
Well, it was last summer and he had it was a two-year succession plan with.
Alex Steen.
I don't know when the exact handover is.
I would assume it's the moment the season ends,
but,
and obviously,
Steen is heavily involved in what they're doing now.
Yeah, he asked him.
And he's sitting there going,
I hate that,
George Kairu so much.
Oh, I can't stand that guy.
Yeah, that's it.
We figured it out.
We cracked the code.
All it says here,
I'm looking at the Associated Press report
on the succession plan.
All it says here,
is he will take over the team in 2026.
The move also came with Armstrong getting a three-year extension
as president of hockey operations through 2029.
Interesting.
And does it say, does he get a raise when he takes over the Leafs next summer?
Or is that?
That's right.
They just love guys coming from the blues.
You don't even have to change the color of your tie.
That's what they love to say.
There it is.
All right.
Why don't we take a break and we'll be right back to talk about some other news.
And we're going to play a game as well just to kill a little bit of time.
Be right back.
This week's episode is brought to you by Mint Mobile.
You know what doesn't belong in your epic summer plans getting burned by your old wireless bill?
While you're planning beach trips, barbecues, and three-day weekends, your wireless bill should be the last thing holding you back.
That's why should consider making the switch to Mint Mobile.
With Mint, you get the cut.
coverage and speed you're used to, but for way less money.
And for a limited time, MintMobil is offering three months of unlimited premium wireless
service for $15 a month.
So while your friends are sweating over data overages and surprise charges, you'll be
chilling, literally, and financially.
Say goodbye to those overpriced wireless plans and their jaw-dropping monthly bills and
unexpected overages.
MintMobile is here to rescue you.
You use your own phone, any Mint Mobile plan, you bring your phone number, all your existing contacts, all of that is seamless.
Just ditch the overpriced wireless.
And you get the three months of unlimited service for Mint Mobile for just $15 a month.
Take a look at what you're paying now.
I know I've done it.
And then you look at what Mint Mobile would be.
You weigh those options.
Not always necessarily a tough decision.
if you like to save money,
Mint Mobile is an option.
You should be looking at it.
I'm looking at it right now as we speak.
This year, skip breaking a sweat and breaking the bank.
Get this new customer offer
and your three-month unlimited wireless plan
for just $15 a month at mintmobile.com slash puck.
That's mintmobile.com slash puck.
Up front payment of $45 required equivalent to $15
a month. Limited time, new customer offer for first three months only.
Speeds may slow above 35 gigs on an unlimited plan. Taxes and fees extras, see Mint
Mobile for details. This week's episode, Puck Soup is brought to you by Racon and folks, who doesn't
like it when something you already liked comes back better than ever. They just made a
Superman movie that was good for the first time in like 40 years or something like that.
They just did a sequel to the 28 Days and Weeks Later movies, 28,
years later. Also pretty good.
I would reserve judgment on
the remake of Akira Kurosawa's
high and low, but
Denzel Washington, Spike Lee, that's a winning
combo, you know what I mean?
And it's not just the movies.
Raycon wants to get in on the fun, too.
This July, guess who's back and better
than ever? It's Raycon's fan favorite
everyday earbuds classic, now
with active noise cancellation.
They didn't have the active noise cancellation
before. Now they do. It was really
the only thing they were missing.
I have mine.
I wear them.
You know me.
I say it all the time.
I wear them anytime I'm walking the dog, going for a walk myself, going to the gym, that kind of thing.
The Raycons are with me.
They're better than ever.
What's not to like, you know?
So that means they're adding that active noise cancellation to the eight hours of playtime,
32-hour battery life, all that kind of stuff that already makes them so good.
They have audio quality that is comparable with the premium brands out there,
the higher-price brands.
So why pay the higher price, I guess, is what I'm asking you.
And look, you don't have to take my word for it.
You can go look up.
They have tens of thousands of five-star reviews on all those kind of review sites.
And again, you don't have to listen to me.
You go, uh, RL, this guy doesn't know what he's talking about.
Could tens of thousands of people have gotten it all wrong as well?
I don't think so, folks.
Like I say, I use them every single day.
They keep delivering for me.
No reason to change it up.
That's as far as I'm concerned.
So if all that sounds good to you, here's what you're going to want to do.
You go to buy raycon.com slash puck to get 20% off those fan favorite everyday earbud classics right now.
Raycon is offering 20% off their everyday earbud classics.
That's buyraycon.com slash puck sponsored by Raycon.
All right, we're back, and we kind of teased it earlier with a few players that signed big contracts in the last few days.
but those were players who had arbitration hearings coming up, basically.
Lucas Dostel and Drew Hellison signed with the Ducks to avoid arbitration last week,
and also the jet signed Morgan Barron and Gabe Volardi in the last little while here as well.
So let me ask you this, the Dostle contract.
What did you think of that?
Kind of the same thing I think with every goaltender contract,
which is, oh, that's a little more years than I would have liked.
What?
I don't know, man.
6.5, he was real good last year.
He's been real good for a few years now.
Obviously, the Ducks figure they've got their goalie of the, you know,
locked in for the rebuild.
How many goaltenders do you think last year had a cap hit?
of 6.5 or higher.
It's got to be single digits.
I'm going to say seven.
You're very close.
Six.
And that includes Kerry Price.
Brobowski, Vasilevsky, Hellebuck, Surokan, Swamen.
That's it.
That's the whole list.
Yep.
Gibson, Markstrom, Bittington are the guys below that.
Who, you know, based on cap percentage when they signed and everything would be higher deals as well.
So it's not, like, I guess I get it because it's easy to look at this and say,
he's been good so far, he's young, you don't fully know what you're getting,
even as it applies to goalies.
Maybe you try to go three years and, you know, this.
But then you're sitting there going, yeah, and if we do three years and he's what we think he is,
we look like idiots because he costs a fortune in three years.
Right.
I get it.
I see, goal tenders are so hard to predict that I think I see tremendous volatility in every goalie deal.
I would say that in all the volatility, I see a pretty fair balance of risk on both sides on this one.
Yeah, I think I think that's about right.
I just looked it up over the last three seasons,
and he has certainly not played as many games
as a lot of the guys ahead of him on this list.
But he's played 117 games,
and he is 20th in the league among all goalies
over a three-year span in goals saved above expected.
And that's on a dog-shit defensive team,
that we can all agree the duck's not a good defensive team, right?
And so he...
We better agree because that's been the jubes.
John Gibson's story for the last four years.
Well, for sure, but I'm going to scroll down and see if I can find John Gibson's name.
10.4 saved above expected over the same period.
And a similar number of games played.
He's played like 16 or so extra games.
So he's dramatically outperformed Gibson in a, let's say, 1B style role.
And the guy's ahead of him, Freddie and.
Anderson, Jordan Binnington, Logan Thompson, Joe Wohl, Joey DeCord, McKenzie Blackwood,
a lot of guys that you would say, yeah, that's a good goalie, sure.
And then all the guys above the guys I just mentioned are like, oh, this guy's been an
All-Star a couple of times, that kind of thing on a huge like Jeremy Swamondon-style deal,
etc.
Except with one, maybe two exceptions.
Sam Montaubo and Anthony Stolars are also in there for some reason.
and Stu Skinner, which is funny.
But again, this is a guy who clearly is a starting goalie in the NHL.
And with the cap changing, as it has, I don't think, again, 6.5 is maybe more like 5 used to be.
Right?
And so I think that all checks out for me.
This is a good goalie.
But I really, I'm curious, like, are the ducks not just at the point where it's like, okay, you're going to like make the play?
now, though, right?
You get the coach, you make the Chris Crider trade, you're locking in all your, all your
youngish guys for the next few years.
But what's interesting is, and I wrote about this this weekend, the number of guys
the ducks have signed beyond not this coming season, but the one after that, the 26, 27th season,
is like five right now.
And so they're in a really interesting spot where, for me, I'm going,
if this doesn't work
like the next two years
they don't make the playoffs or whatever
you can totally reset this roster
the guys that are signed beyond
next or beyond the 26-27 season
Michael Granland for one more year
Troy Terry for three more
Frank Vitrano for one more
Drew Helleson for one more
or I'm sorry nope not even Drew Helleson
no they have no defense been signed
be on 26, 27.
And now Dostle.
And that's it.
So three forwards and a goalie, and that's it.
You can reset the entire roster, basically.
And that doesn't get into, like, Mason McTavish and a couple other, like, RFA style,
Cutter-Gotier, Leo Carlson, who will sign big extensions.
But you can reset a huge part of this team two years from now.
I just don't know if they don't make the playoffs,
whether Pat Verbeek is the guy who's doing that.
Mm-hmm.
So really interesting team the ducks these days.
That's all.
I don't have any other big.
I guess my real thing is I don't think they're going to make the playoffs the next two years,
barring some sort of a seismic change.
I feel like this year would be obviously a stretch.
I don't feel like two years is.
They would need some of the kids to take a step for sure.
Yeah.
But this is the thing.
I look at this blue line.
I'm going to just read you the guys on their blue line.
tell me how excited you are about what the future holds.
Olin Zellweger, Pavlmanchikov, Jackson, Lecombe, you're like, oh, okay, yeah, I can see that
being good in two years.
Drew Hellison, who's like, fine, that's fine.
And then Radco Gudus and Jacob Truba.
Now, neither of those guys are signed beyond this season, but they, that's three guys
that need to take a step and two guys where it's like, I don't think they have it anymore.
Not that I think, or, uh, Goudis sucks or anything, but like, you know,
if he's your second highest paid defenseman, that feels like a problem.
Yeah.
Yes.
There is a ways to go.
Weird division, though.
You got to give them that.
You got to give them that they are in the weirdest division in hockey.
If you had to bet, for how many years do you, would you feel comfortable betting that the kings are the best team in California?
Regular season standings, like, only.
Uh, two more.
So this year, yeah, this year feels pretty confident and then even next year you think.
Well, not so much because I think San Jose is going to take like a huge step or anything, or Anaheim for that matter.
But I just, I just look at this King's roster and I'm like, this is a weird fucking thing.
And the way that's what I'm, like I, you could talk me into next season being like as in not this coming season, but 26, 27 being the year that,
Adrian Kempi, Anse Kopitar, Andre Kuzmanko, all set to leave the, or, you know, their contracts are expiring.
Let's put it that way.
And if you don't, so you, A, right away are going like, well, we need Quentin Byfield to, like, be the guy.
Right then and there.
And I think he can be.
I think he's a really good player.
But Drew Dowdy's only got two more years.
And then this, you want to talk about.
blue lines, funny blue lines,
Dowdy, Mikey Anderson,
Cody, C,
C, Brian Dumlin, Joel Edminson, Kyle Burroughs,
maybe Brant Clark,
depending on how you feel about
the development curve
on Brand Clark.
That is a strange blue line.
Are the Kings a playoff team next year?
There's a real...
Okay, I think we talked about this on a recent episode.
I can't remember if it was a mailbag or what.
But I was looking back
at like what what Ken Holland said when they hired him.
And he just kept going, this was a hundred and five point team last year.
This is a good team.
Good team, 105 points.
This is a good team.
I don't want to screw it up.
They had 105 points last year.
How many of those points were because of, uh, because of a Darcy Kemper at age 34 or whatever,
going absolutely ape shit for three months?
Yeah, a guy who was a salary dump.
Mm-hmm.
922 last year, the year before that 890.
I got to think there's a middle ground there that he's going to find and it's going to
105 points is going to be tough to reach.
In my opinion, guys generally do not go 922 two years in a row.
Is that true?
At age 35.
I'm going to say this.
I bet there is a scene over the last five years.
years, there is a single digit, I have no way of looking this up, but there is a single digit number
of goalies who have gone 920 something two years in a row. Because even to the drop from 922 to
915, 915 would still be great, obviously, but that's substantial in terms of the number of
games it wins and loses you. Five, six games, and there goes 10, 12 points.
And suddenly that 105 point team, 95.
point team.
93 point team.
It's not nothing.
So I, to your point,
there's totally a very believable
scenario where the Kings are
not in the playoffs next year for me.
Darcy Kemper at age 35 gets hurt.
Who's their backup?
Anton Forsberg.
Uh-oh.
Especially behind that defense.
Cody C.C., Brian Dumlin, Joel Edmondson.
Good luck out there.
I like their forward group.
for next year for the California swap.
You, so this is the thing.
I don't think the ducks or the sharks can make that kind of a step forward.
Maybe they can.
Yeah, but you're getting, you're getting both of them in this bet.
Yeah.
No, I get what you're saying.
I could see it going either way.
I'll put it that way.
It's way less of a sure thing that the Kings make the playoffs than I think a lot of people would, uh, accept.
And somewhat relatedly.
the Gabe Valardi contract.
He's working out great in Winnipeg.
Yeah.
Good deal by Winnipeg.
Yep.
Good deal for him too.
Like, I don't think this is a massive discount,
especially given where he was.
Six or seven and a half, we should say.
Yeah.
Good deal for both sides.
And again, when you're the Jets, it's...
You're a jet all the way.
Don't do that. Don't do that.
As soon as I said it, I was like,
huh?
Damn it.
Keeping players is not a guarantee.
We just saw it, right?
So you can lock in a guy who's maybe not a star,
but a real good player.
Do it.
Yeah, undeniably a top six guy.
And, you know, if you want to be, I'd say even.
I mean, he's not a Chinikov top six, but he's like,
who is, you know?
But that leaves the following players.
I don't really have much else to say about Valar.
He's a really good player.
on a very good team.
But these are the remaining players that have their arbitrations,
TBD.
Connor Timmons, Arvid Soderblum, Jaden Struble, Maxim Cipulco,
Capocco, Nick Robertson, Dylan Sandberg.
That's the whole list.
Fascinating.
Yeah.
What a class of RFAs.
This is the thing.
When everybody has cab space, you can just go whatever.
It doesn't really matter what we give Bowen Byram, does it?
And it doesn't.
So there you have it, you know?
Like, it really is that simple to me.
I'm not losing my mind about anything that, like, basically I kind of feel like none of these guys could get a number that I'm like, whoa, maybe Samberg.
But that's about it.
That's about it.
But Kako is maybe the one that I'm vaguely interested to see where that goes.
But...
Yeah, I get it.
I feel like we get this every year.
There's, you know, even if it goes to arbitration, there's always guys who you're like,
well, the upside is this, but the number.
And then the arbitrator just picks a number in the middle and you go, yeah, sure.
Right.
Yeah, that's kind of where I see it as well.
It's just like the arbitrator will pick the middle number and everyone will go,
All right.
We'll see in two years, one year, whatever it is.
And you can't get too worked up about it.
Okay, hey, speaking of the Winnipeg Jets,
Blake Wheeler has officially retired from the sport of hockey,
says here.
Not really a surprise in and of itself,
but what is interesting is this now leaves just two former Winnipeg Thrashers,
Atlanta Thrashers in the league.
Do you, well, I put it on the outline.
You put it on the list.
I would not have, I feel like I would have gotten one of them.
Kane for sure.
No, see, I'm the other way.
I feel like to me, Zach Bogosian is like an Atlanta thrasher.
Yeah.
And Evander Kane, it just, I, he was of course drafted by them.
But do you remember Evander Kane doing anything as a thrasher other than the Matt Cook fight?
No.
Okay, well, you took the ball out of my hands on that.
Yeah.
But again, this is like saying, do you remember any Orson Welles movie where he plays Charles Foster Kane that isn't Citizen Kane?
Yeah, I remember the one thing he did that was insanely good.
Yeah, yeah.
But the thing about Zach Bogosian is this is an all-time great stat.
he is one half of the
defensive pairing with the biggest disparity in age
between the two players of all time.
Okay.
Chris Chelios.
I looked it up one time, like 15 minutes together
when Begozhen was a rookie and Cheleosos was like 47 years old.
I love that.
And Begogian then absorbed his soul and became...
Because Zach Bogosian, you know, there's some guys
where you're like, oh, that guy, like, Nazim Katry can't be 33.
Right.
He's still 24.
Zach Bogosian was 18 when he came in in the league and then 37 for the next 20 years.
Absolutely.
Like just, yeah.
So that's all I guess I have to say about the Thrashers.
We're getting close to the end of it here.
Let me ask you this.
Do you think they will announce another Atlanta team before the last
Rasher retires, who I'm assuming is going to be of Vanderkain because of his age, mostly.
I feel like, yeah, I feel like Kane still got a few years left.
So I'll say yes, I think they do.
That rocks.
I hope Kane hangs around long enough that they sign him on like a one-day contract.
He announces his retirement with the Atlanta so-and-so's, you know.
They'll probably be the Georgia so-and-so's just to get away from the whole Atlanta Association.
You know.
Yeah.
That'll be my guess.
Oh, yeah.
That'll trick everyone.
No problem.
And then we had one other retirement.
Yaroslav Halak.
Now, he hadn't played in a couple years, so it's a little different.
But, yeah, Yarra Halak.
I'm going to say the greatest one B goalie of all time.
Yeah.
I mean, I, I,
I would have said backup, but he probably did have, let me look.
Don't know, don't look, don't look.
Okay.
I have, so, okay.
All right.
But yeah.
How many, how many seasons do you think he played more than 50 games out of the 17 he was in the NHL?
Okay.
More than 50.
Are there any?
There are four.
Four, okay.
That's.
I'm not like, okay, 14, 15 with the island, you know, whatever.
Like, yeah.
There were just a couple of times where the guy he was platooning with got hurt or something,
or he got hot at the right time, and they just stuck with him.
Never played more than 59, then 57, 54, 52, and then seven, or, I'm sorry,
three more seasons where he played 40 or more, and then the other 10 years of his career,
he played less than 40.
I think that's a 1B to, you know, all day.
basically.
He occasionally rose to the level where they needed him to play kind of a lot.
But other than that, we're all set, you know?
But he was the, like, in a way, he was the perfect backup.
Because I don't know that, like, you know, the old thing about the most popular guy in
every town is the backup quarterback.
And there's a little bit of that with hockey goalies.
But, like, I don't know that anyone was ever, like,
demanding that Yaroslav Halak get the start.
Right.
But whenever your starter had anything, you know, whether it was injury or a slump or
you were really happy if you had Alak as option two.
In the advanced stats era, how many goalies do you think have more goals saved above expected
than Yaroslav Halak?
Oh, man.
I'll say he's top 20.
Oh, yeah.
He's comfortably top 20.
Really?
comfortably.
The guys down in like 1920,
like about half of what Halak had
in terms of G-Sax.
So how many are above him?
Okay, so I'll say 10.
He is seventh.
Not bad.
The only guys ahead of him.
U.C. Soros, Freddie Anderson,
Elia Sorokin, Igor Shisterkin,
Connor Hallibuck, Henrik Lundquist.
That's it.
Ahead of Gibson, ahead of Bobrovsky, ahead of quick.
Again, Anthony Solars being this high is crazy.
Corey Crawford, Corey Schneider, Semion Varlamov, Cam Talbot,
Jonas Hiller, Carrie Price, Darcy Kemper, Roberto Luongo, Anti-Ranta.
That's your top 20, and he is seventh among all those goalies.
92.15 goals saved above expected.
this guy is fucking unbelievably good.
It's that simple.
Can you name the teams he played for?
And he played for one, two, three, four, five, six, seven.
No, I can't because I, I, when they, there was a tweet about his retirement.
I don't remember who put it out if it was a news thing or if it was the alumni's,
but they listed like the team logos.
And I was like,
so Montreal, obviously.
I know he played for Washington after that.
He did.
Because, of course, that was his...
He played 12 games for the Capers.
Yeah, because the year that he stole the playoffs
from the Caps was his most memorable.
Boston?
The Islanders, you mentioned.
Yep.
I feel like he played for the Blues.
Correct.
So you've named, in addition to Washington,
and you've named all of the teams.
He played 90 or more games for the only two remaining.
He played 25 and 17.
And you know what?
I'm hitting the bank button right here.
I'm taking my five right answers.
I'm getting it.
I have no recollection of him playing 17 for Vancouver a couple of years or 20, in 21, 22.
Okay.
But he did.
But I do remember him playing 25 for the Rangers in 22, 23.
Wow.
And that was the last time, the last team he played for.
Wouldn't have gotten those and I'll be honest.
I wouldn't have gotten the Islanders if you hadn't.
said it previously.
Although when you did, that does make sense.
Yeah, like I,
177 games on the island.
Good career.
581 games.
7th in the advanced stats here in G-Sax.
Only really asked to like, you know,
pick up a huge workload about half the time.
What a career for this guy.
Awesome.
One, two Jennings trophies I'm looking at now.
That checks out for me, yeah.
That's...
Played in an All-Star game?
Was 6th in Vesna voting one year?
I played in an All-Star game, dude.
Well, for goalies, if you never played in an All-Star game as a goalie,
you're right about that.
You couldn't stop traffic.
Bring an eight of these guys to every All-Star weekend.
Nevertheless, but for, again, for a guy who only played like 50-something games four times,
Getting to an All-Star game's pretty cool, in my opinion.
Anyway, one more piece of big news this week, and really only big to me.
I guess we'll see how Sean feels about it.
Porter Martone, the Flyers' sixth overall pick in this past draft, commits to Michigan State.
Michigan State.
Do you have any thoughts on this at all?
Nope.
Okay.
Was this unexpected?
Was it?
So, okay.
Michigan State was in the running for Gavin McKenna.
It was down to them in Penn State.
Gavin McKenna chooses Penn State.
Porter Martona, a guy that everybody thinks is going to be a very good player.
Obviously, the Flyers picked him sixth overall.
And there was talk that he might go the college route, but it was up in the air.
And I think what happened is Penn
State losing out on McKenna, had a bunch of NIL money to give out and a roster spot because
Isaac Howard unexpected, not maybe unexpectedly, but after saying he would be back for one more
year, got traded by the Lightning to get to the Oilers and sign with the Oilers last week,
two weeks ago, whenever that was.
And so they had a roster spot, a scholarship and NIL money all open up kind of at a date
that you wouldn't usually expect that maybe.
And so they were like,
Porter Martone, come on down.
I don't know, you know,
they haven't said that he's getting NIL money or anything.
I'm just assuming.
But this is,
I believe this now makes like three or four first round picks
up front for the Spartans next year.
And it's kind of an arms race in the Big Ten.
All of a sudden,
because there's a lot going on at college.
hockey these days with the house settlement and all that kind of stuff.
But again, it's just a kind of another option that, or like another route that guys can take
where they go to, what you call it, like development camp at the end of June, early July.
And their teams go, I don't think you're making the roster big dog.
Like, you're not a professional hockey player yet.
And at that point, they go, well, then I'll do.
just go play one year in college, make 100 grand, 400 grand, whatever the number ends up being.
And then try again next year, you know.
So I think that's the implication is that now CHL teams have to be wary of players going to college like in July, basically.
And especially, so the house settlement, do you know what the house settlement is?
I do not.
Okay.
So there's the not to get all the way into it, but it's a new rule that basically allows to, right now NCAA team, or last year, I should say, and for as far back as I know of, NCAA teams could offer a total of 18 scholarships to players.
And you'll note that, you know, there are 20 guys that are playing for you every night.
And probably another 5, 6, 7, 8 who are not playing for you every night, but are maybe.
coming into the lineup as needed, with injuries, and that kind of thing.
Under the House settlement, which gets into revenue sharing and all this kind of thing.
But what it effectively does for NCAA rosters is you can have 26 guys on your roster, and that's it.
And not every team has to opt into the House settlement.
BU, for example, did not opt into the House settlement, so they only have 18 scholarships to get.
give out versus 26, a maximum of 26 at Michigan State, Michigan, BC, like places that
opt in and our big money schools will probably fully fund all 26, right?
And so that gives them the ability to leave a little bit of wiggle room come July 10, whatever,
and go, oh, you, you didn't, your team told you you're probably not making the NHL roster.
like to come play for us. Here's a bit of money. Here's a full scholarship. Like it gives teams more
flexibility to do that, which again, I think is maybe not good for the CHL. Does that all make
sense? Yeah. Yeah. Okay. Well, great. So that's it. I'm the Big Ten is going to be the conference
to watch in college hockey this year now, though. A lot of first round picks. A lot of teams beef. Michigan
just added a goalie from, I think, Brampton of the OHL, like yesterday.
And so that also makes the Big Ten a more competitive conference.
Lots going on.
This is going to be a very exciting season of college hockey.
And again, like we're going to really see, you know,
how good the upper levels of the OHL are in comparison to guys who were 22, 23, 24 years old, you know?
So there you go.
We have a quiz here to wrap up the show.
show today. This got tweeted out. I don't I don't even know who tweeted it out quite frankly. I didn't
rightly see who posted it. But somebody put together a list of every franchise's last 50 goal
score most recent, I guess is a better way to put it. Okay. And there is some truly wild
stuff on this list. There are to start off this quiz, Sean, there are one, two, three, four,
five, six, seven franchises that have never had a 50 goal score.
Can you name them?
So, or how many can you name, I guess is a better?
Seattle.
Correct.
Utah, are we counting them as?
Utah is annoyingly on this list being counted as different from Arizona.
But that's how the NHL wants to play it.
I can only abide by their rules.
Vegas has not.
Correct.
I don't think Columbus.
Rick Nash never got 50, did he?
I think Rick Nash's career high is 41.
Yeah, he got the Rocket Richard with 41 that one year.
Minnesota, Gabrick never got to 50 for them, I don't think.
Yep.
I'm just kind of going down the expansion teams now.
Nashville would be there?
Nashville is correct, yep.
And I'm, what, one away?
Yes, there is one team remaining.
And I've done all the 2000s expansion.
So Panthers had Burray, the senators have had the lightning of head, ducks would have had.
Have the New Jersey Devils ever had a 50 goal score?
That is the 17th.
Not even Hall of Famer Patrick Eliasch?
Not in yet, thankfully.
Okay.
Next question on this is there are a bunch of teams that haven't had a 50 goal score in the salary cap era.
I'm just going to count really quickly.
One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, eleven teams have had a 50 goal score, but not in the cap era.
Okay.
How many can you name?
One of them right off the bat that is a weird one is Montreal.
That is correct.
Montreal, I believe, has not had a 40 goal scorer since like Vince Dampoos in the mid-90s.
It's crazy.
So 50 was in the 89-90 season.
Do you know who had it?
That's Nasland.
No.
Stefan Rishi.
Correct.
Okay.
This guy's so fucking good, folks.
It's unbelievable.
Who else has not done it?
a while. I just said, I would assume Anaheim, because Korea was gone by then.
Nope. No?
Oh, Corey Perry. Yeah, of course.
Corey Perry, of course, had had that in 2010-11.
Okay, I'm going to start going through teams of my head.
St. Louis, I don't think.
St. Louis is correct. Brett Hall and Brendan Shanahan both did it in 93-94.
Yeah, okay.
The Flames.
Ginla was before the cap.
Nope.
He did it in 0708.
He did it.
And by the way, I apologize to Rick Nash.
He did have won 42 goal season in 1415.
So show some respect.
One of my favorite players ever.
I love Rick Nash.
All right.
Now I'm doing a bite of it.
Leifes have done at Lightning.
The Senators had Heatley.
Mm-hmm.
The Red Wings.
Are they one of the...
Correct.
Yeah.
I'll give you one of them.
It's two guys in the same season, also 93-94.
One of them is Sergei Fedorov.
Yeah.
Who's the other?
Was that the Ray Shepard here?
It was the Ray Shepard.
This guy's unbelievable.
Just like the classic, he might be the shadiest of all the shady 50 goal scores.
Like, there's one on this list that's like egregious.
Okay.
That is not in the cap era.
The sabres are also there.
Yeah, La Fontaine and McGilney in 92, 93.
Bruins would be fine with Pastor Neck.
Oh, yeah, and the Panthers had Reinhardt.
Okay, so that covers the Atlantic.
I feel like the Capitals have probably done it.
I don't think so.
I have no recollection of this.
Ovechkin tops out at 49 most years.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah, he's hit 49 15 times, but he's never.
ever hit 50.
Yeah, it's good.
I just can't finish.
Hurricanes must be there.
No.
Did Eric Stahl in the first year?
Eric Stahl, I believe, had 45 that first year.
So then the hurricanes are good?
No, the hurricanes are, they don't have a 50 goal score in the capier.
Yeah, so they're good, okay.
So who is it?
And I'll give you the hint.
He played for the Hartford Whalers and not the Carolina Hurricanes.
Is it Ron Francis?
No.
Oh,
Pat for beak?
Nope.
Okay.
What was the next hand?
This is the 81, 82 season.
Oh, God, that was, they had a bunch of weird guy.
There was like Blaine Stoughton and there was a mic.
How does he do it, folks?
Is that it?
Is that it?
Blaine Stoughton is the answer.
Yes.
That's right.
Yikes.
Okay.
And that is, that was the guy where I was like, that's the egregious.
Like, huh?
How's that guy the last 50 goals?
score for his team.
Yeah, that's a, that is a, that is a good one.
Okay.
The Islanders probably don't have one.
Correct.
Who was their last guy?
Give me a decade.
Early 90s.
Much like a lot of these are the early 90s.
So is this, did Turgeon get to 50?
Yep, that's right.
Okay.
Penguins are fine.
the flyers would have nobody, I don't think.
That's correct.
Who was the last guy?
They go to Leclair?
Mm-hmm.
And do we say the Rangers, have the Rangers, did Panarin get to?
Panarin, I don't think, did.
Are the Rangers?
No, the Rangers have a guy that you should be thinking.
Oh, Chris Craig.
Chris Craig.
Correct.
Yep.
All right. Central.
Did the Blackhawks have anyone get to 50?
Taves Wooden.
It's more of an assist guy.
I'll say the Blackhawks.
That's correct.
Who was the last guy?
Roanick in the 90s.
That's right.
92, 93, it says here.
Predators, we already,
Predators, Utah, we already did,
did St. Louis, did Minnesota.
Colorado must have, I think.
McKinnon.
Yeah, McKinnon is correct.
Yeah, of course.
23, 24 season.
Did Dallas have anybody?
I don't think Dallas has had anyone.
Correct.
Dallas didn't get there.
Their last guy, 93, 94, who was it?
So that would have been Madano.
Bingo.
And the Jets don't.
have anyone.
They do, because they include the thrashers.
Oh, so they get credit for a global trip?
Mm-hmm.
That's exactly right.
All right.
In much the same way, Carolina can claim Blaine Stoughton.
Yeah, makes sense.
The Winnipeg Jets can claim.
But Utah cannot claim.
Nope.
Different franchise.
Not the same guys.
The Jets are the Jets.
Well.
Okay, so we did,
have the Kings had anybody?
No.
Correct.
They would probably go back to Robita or Robitai.
Yep, that's right.
Oilers obviously have.
I think we're getting down to the nitty gritty.
Yeah, we're just oilers.
We did the Oilers.
We did the Flames.
We did the Ducks.
We did Seattle.
San Jose would have Chichu.
Correct.
And so that leaves Vancouver, who must be.
Vancouver did this.
I don't.
Siddines didn't.
Naslin-Bertuzi-era.
No, I'll say Vancouver's there.
And so who was the last guy for Vancouver?
Probably Bury.
Bingo.
All right.
Now, last little round here.
What teams haven't had one in the 2020s?
There are one, two,
uh, three, whatever.
We can skip it because we basically did every other team.
So these are teams that have, they've had somebody doing the cap era, but not in the 2020s.
Correct.
So San Jose, could we just said Chi Chi-Gi.
Yes, that's correct.
They wouldn't have had one since.
Calgary, we kind of said the, Ginnla did it.
Now I'm kind of forgetting who maybe had one, but Colorado's good, the Leafs are good.
Caps are good.
Like, Ovechkins had 50 in the.
Yeah, he must have, right?
Yeah, 21, 22.
He had 50.
Okay.
Has Pittsburgh had a 50?
Nope.
It would have been the last 50 guy for them.
Probably not, probably Malkin, right?
That's correct.
1112 was the last 50 goal season in Pittsburgh with Gino Malkin leading the way.
Austin's good.
The senators would be on this list.
Correct.
And you already said Danny Heatley.
You correctly identified Danny Heatley.
And I think that's, oh, Tampa.
No, Tampa had Braden Point a couple of years ago.
I totally forgot that.
Okay.
That's, are there any other teams?
You miss Corey Perry, but you would already set him anyway.
Okay.
Yep.
That's it.
We're all good.
So.
It's a fun list.
Yeah.
Again, a lot of, a lot of like, oh, yeah, I guess it makes.
sense Columbus never had a 50 goal guy. Yeah, sure. That checks out for me. A lot of, a lot of like,
wow, nobody from the dynasty Blackhawks did it. Wow, that's crazy. Oh, yeah, and like you said,
yeah, it makes sense. The Cedines would have never done it. But, yeah, all the most recent ones
were really funny. Like, they were just like, oh, yeah, dry sidled. He did it this year. Yep,
That's right.
So anyway.
It's the Montreal Canadiens one is the one that throws me off.
It's crazy.
Let me just look this one up because it's like, again, not even the 50 goals.
Because it is, it has been very hard to score 50 goals in the last X number of years.
But yeah, 40 goals in the, it's here's the full list of Montreal Canadiens.
Canadians since 1991 that have had a 40-goals season.
Brian Bellows, 91-92, Vincent Danfus 92-93, both had 40 on the nose.
So nobody has scored more than 40 goals for the Montreal Canadians in going on three
and a half decades.
That's crazy, man.
Step on up, Cole Coughfield. Help us out, buddy.
Any time you're ready, small goals, boy.
Oh, and apparently I just, I saw people posting about this.
Three years ago today was the Matthew Cichuk trade.
So you can do trades in late July.
It's legally allowed to happen.
But I guess we'll see.
Why don't you hit them with the plugs and we'll get out of here?
You can find me at The Athletic.
Not doing a podcast this week, but I'm still on the newsletter.
And I'm still doing articles.
including today I have
somebody asked me this question
and I went down the rabbit hole
and it was actually fun.
In 1986,
the NHL changed the first round
from five games to best of seven
and everybody went, yeah, of course, no problem.
But somebody asked me,
how does history change if it just stays best of five?
And I went down that rabbit hole
and it gets more interesting
than you would think.
Like I literally sat for two months with the question going,
eh,
and then finally one night last week I sat down,
I was like, I'm just going to look into this.
And, yeah, like once I realized that, like,
Mario Lemieux never wins a cup and becomes the, like,
can't win the big one star of all time,
I was like, I got to do this.
That is crazy.
It basically makes, yeah, put it this way.
Mario Lemieux can't win the big one.
And the Washington Capitals are playoff powerhouse.
So that gives you a sense of how weird things get.
I bet Bruce Boudreau grades out really well.
Yeah, he's an all-timer.
He obliterates Scotty Bowman's records.
And the other one, you just mentioned Matthew Kachuk.
The Panthers lose to the Bruins.
And everybody points at Bill Zito and says,
you just screwed up a great team.
What's this guy doing?
You got Paul Maurice, you got Matthew Kachuk, you've got, you know, you went from President's trophy to first round exit.
What a disaster the Panthers are.
Crazy.
It's very weird stuff.
What a world we live in.
Yep.
And then for me, you can head over to elite prospects.
Still plenty of, you know, post-draft stuff going on where, you know, we're breaking down prospects and that kind of thing.
I personally wrote about the ducks, as mentioned earlier.
And while we were recording this podcast,
my article breaking down, like, in more granular detail, all the Porter Martone stuff,
and what it means for Michigan State and the Big Ten and college hockey at large and all that
kind of stuff.
And the player, I suppose.
That's all in there, so you can check that out.
And I'm probably going to have more of a, like, a FAQ's thing about the house settlement,
like later this week, because we recently found out all the teams that.
are opting in or out, and I think it's going to have potentially, like, huge implications for
college hockey as a whole.
And so we'll, I'll try to break that down.
I don't know, maybe Thursday or Friday or something, TBD, but stay tuned for that.
Because I love writing about college hockey, so there's that.
And then head over to patreon.com slash puck soup, and you will be able to find all kinds of bonus
episodes including one from just yesterday featuring me and Sean and the other Sean and
Greg just talking about whatever no no no sports content at all just shooting the shit
having fun so we enjoyed doing that and uh again that's patreon.com slash puck soup uh I think we're
off for the next little while on the main show but that's where we're going to do mailbags all
summer long every week so uh if you're if you're missing the comment
for the next month or so here.
That's where you can find us.
So again, patreon.com slash poxsoup.
Sign up.
Support the show, all that kind of thing.
And in the meantime, thank you for listening.
I know there's not a lot going on this summer.
And, of course, the second we hang up this call,
it will be Sidney Crosby to the Avalanche.
So stay tuned.
Thanks so much, everyone.
Have a good one.
Bye-bye.
