Puck Soup - Charlotte Wilder
Episode Date: May 25, 2017Greg and Dave welcome Charlotte Wilder of SB Nation to talk about the Nashville Predators in the Stanley Cup Final, Boston as a hockey town, when Patriots fans attacked her, America's Test Kitchen, ho...rse racing and "is this a sport?" Plus, our Stanley Cup Final picks, Ryan Getzlaf's dirty mouth, the P.K. Subban hate, Ottawa's empty seats and reader mail that includes pizza, MVPs and which sports franchise we would curse.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to whatever you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, eats and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nonsense.
Book 2.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky with Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Blog.
I'm Dave, and I still think we need to redo the intro at some point, but we'll figure it out.
And you're in Puck Soup, and you're in a place of furious anger at the Ottawa Senators.
Why?
Because I'll just.
Yeah, we had the whole thing set up, a gigantic Stanley Cup final preview edition, really getting into the ends and outs of it.
But we're taking the show on Wednesday.
There's a game 7 on Thursday.
So much like your enjoyment, Canada's reputation, sellouts, Ottawa's ruin.
something else.
Your will to live.
Your will to live.
Your will to live. Your ability to focus
on a hockey game for more.
Seriously, like, I am on a point now where I'm watching an Ottawa
Senators game and, like, I will have changed
the channel to the Major League Baseball Network and not have
realized that I'd done it. I'm sitting there and I'm watching the
MLB network, and I'm like, wait, is it an intermission?
Then I go back. It's like, no, there's still 11, 14
to go in the first period.
Guy Bouchet actually said in an
in-game interview with Pierre
McGuire during game six.
He deserves that. He deserves all those
interviews.
He actually said.
He earned those.
He actually said, like, Pierre's like,
but-a-p-p-p-pah, what did you do differently?
Bat-pap-pah-pah-pah-a.
And Bouchet's like, well, you know,
in the first 10 minutes the previous two games,
you really came out really, really hard.
And this time we did not.
I'm like, but the thing is this thing?
You're at home.
Who doesn't try in the first 10 minutes on home ice?
Well, they didn't try in the first two minutes,
the game four.
Game four was on home ice.
No, it's just a dumb.
Pierre has, or Pierre,
Guy Bouchet has answered this question,
So let's see. First round, six games, second round, six games, 12, an hour at 18.
18 games, he has mentioned, probably on off days too.
At the end of the first period, he wants to be zero, zero.
He says it all the time.
So whenever you ask him about the first 10 minutes, you can just look at the scoreboard and know how he feels.
Is it zero zero?
He's happy.
That's it.
Like, ask something else, Pierre.
I miss Brian Bouchet, by the way.
Oh, he wasn't he great?
Isn't he exponentially better?
He does the Pierre thing a little bit because, like, I guess you're limited to what
you can ask these guys in the bench.
But, like, I'm going to miss the.
Kenny Aubur, Joe McAuletti, Brian Boucher,
they're so pleasant.
Guy Boucher, by the way, had one of my favorite quotes of the postseason so far.
He's had a lot of it.
About Craig Anderson.
Yeah, I saw this one last night.
Gee.
In getting to know Craig Anderson this year,
what was the moment for you when you really realized that you had
what you had in him as a goalie?
And then Gie Boucher says,
oh, last summer, I'll be honest with you.
if I didn't have a number one goalie,
I didn't want the job.
I've lived it for quite a few years,
and it's hell when you don't have it,
because everything you do turns to darkness.
Everything you do turns to darkness.
Now read that quote back
and change number one goaltender to love.
Last summer, I'll be honest with you.
If I didn't have love, I didn't want the job.
I've lived it for quite a few years,
and it's hell
when you don't have love.
See?
Because everything you do turns to darkness.
Okay, first of all, A, you're taking the fucking job.
You wanted to get back in the NHL.
You didn't care if it was Craig Anderson, Mike Condon.
Who is the goalie?
Oh, an old trash can.
Okay, well, I don't want to be in Switzerland anymore.
Also, also, what a sub-tweet of Duane Rollison.
It took you to the conference goddamn finals game seven.
You dragged your ass there and lost one nothing in game seven.
You fucking ungrateful son of a bitch.
But what a beautiful moment
of complete ego by an NHL coach.
I know.
Who is like, everything I do is genius.
Everything I do is beautiful.
I kiss things they turn to gold.
And then the fucking goalie fucking ruins it all the time.
It all turns to darkness.
If I do not have the darkness, I would have won Stanley Cup twice.
That must have been really difficult for Patrick Wa as a coach.
Everything I do is genius.
But the goalie is terrible.
He turns into darkness.
But I am also a goalie.
So, oh.
What do you think, by the way, as we do the show, the rumor is that Kyle Dubus, the Wunderkin from the Toronto Maple Leafs was interviewing with the Colorado Avalanche.
I assume it's to be the GM with Joe Sackick getting kicked upstairs would be the plan.
Well, yeah, obviously, Joe Sackick has proven over and over now that he's not the guy for that job.
But, I mean, it's an interesting situation because people seem to forget, Lou Lamarillo was a really bad GM his last 10 years in Jersey.
You want to go through all the contracts.
I don't have them all in front of me, but he's bad.
at that. He's old. He's old.
You should have been out of the game years ago.
And you have Kyle Dubus as like the Waiting in the Wings guy.
So at this point, maybe it's an interview where Kyle Dubus is like, hey, you know,
just, you know, people want me. You might want to think about bumping me up.
Adrian Dater had some interesting information about Kyle Dubus.
You want to hear it.
Oh, no. What's moving on? Here comes, ready?
Let's talk about something else.
This is about the fact that the, that Kyle Dubus,
um, here we go.
I've talked to a couple of other people in hockey.
in hockey management circles to get their take on Dubus.
Dator, by the way, if you don't know,
is a guy who writes about the avalanche.
One said he didn't know that much about him
and couldn't offer much,
but another who will remain unidentified.
Joe Sackick.
Dubus isn't ready to be a full-time head GM in the NHL
and would be a bad hire by the abs.
Ready?
Quote, as soon as Lou got to Toronto,
he spent a couple weeks with Dubus
and basically banished him.
him to the island.
Long?
No, basically saying that he
worked with him and then
thought that he wasn't ready
and wasn't prepared. But to me that's like...
Well, it's fine if he's not ready.
He's just first year in the front office.
To me, like, if you're a young
forward-thinking executive
and Lou LaMarillo banishes you to the island,
which again, sounds like he's a fucking mythical
creature from Lost. Like the Ray Leota movie
where he gets sent to the island? That's right.
Kyle Dubis is in no escape.
No escape.
He asked to fashion weapons at a sticks.
No, but like, but that would to me would be an endorsement.
Like, I like the fact that the 72-year-old GM who couldn't figure out how to issue a contract that was cap-compliant doesn't think that you are, you know, a company man.
By the way, great Boston accents coming up with our guest Charlotte Wilder today.
Charlotte.
Maybe not a lot of hockey talk.
But great Boston accents, and she's great.
So do stay tuned.
But, like, Lou Lamarillo gave Ryan Klo how many years and how many millions of dollars after coming off of his 19th concussion?
To me, that quote to me reads like Lou Lamarillo is threatened by Kyle Dubas.
That's how I read it.
Also, the way it worked out in Toronto is that Mark Hunter of the Hunter Brothers is now apparently ahead in the queue to replace Lou ahead of Dubus, which of course is also, you know.
That's a dumb idea.
Era, Hunter, violence, brutality, old school, era, you, calculators, numbers, Muppet, don't like it.
Are you saying error or error?
Era.
My Lulamarillo is my fucking Mayor Quimby, you know that?
No, but like when you say that word, it's like it could be either error or like the error.
As if like the Lou Bot is malfunctioning.
Yeah, that's what I thought you were doing.
Error.
Error, error.
Mark Hunter's taking over.
Error, error.
That's how I read it.
But I mean, John Chaka, I mean, Kyle Dubus was the GM of the whatever junior hockey team thing.
The Sioux Saint Marie Graham's.
And that team was good, wasn't it?
Yeah, it was.
You used the whole analytics corcourcy piece.
He created an analytics department with the leaves.
He created it.
And now, I mean, again, Austin Matthews is a big reason why they're really good now and all that stuff.
But I don't know.
I'd like to know who the, to me, it's almost better to be an unknown.
Would you take that abs job?
I would.
No.
Oh, I think they've got some pieces.
Oh, no.
No, no, no.
I mean, provided Carl Soderberg, it's taken to the expansion draft.
Oh, I wait.
Oh, God, I wait.
I don't, that's not, but that's not the job for you.
No?
Think about it.
Like, Joe Sackick is still there, so you have to answer to him.
What?
The coach is not your coach.
Oh, yeah, that's the issue because now you have, like,
he has beloved player status.
Yeah.
So he's not going anywhere.
Like, at least Brendan Chanahanham is never a leaf.
What team that was outside of the playoffs, like significantly outside of the playoffs,
would you want to be the GM of?
Arizona's got some stuff.
Um, not Vancouver.
Vancouver's probably the only job I would want less than the Colorado job.
Vancouver's a mess right now.
Plus, I don't, that, I wouldn't want to work for that owner.
Like way out, way out of the islanders.
Like way out of the playoffs you're talking about.
I mean, Carolina would probably be the choice, but it's almost unfair because they seem like they should have been a playoff team this year.
If things had gone better with the goaltending.
Boy, I cannot wait for the first year of Scott Darling, where I either talk shit every day on Twitter about how good Scott Darling is or I go, what do you mean?
I never said he was better than Courtney Walker.
But like seriously, though, like that, I mean, Dallas is probably the answer because then you actually give up the draft pick to get Scott Darling.
And then you actually go and try to get some veteran defensemen instead of believing that the kids that you've been waiting on for two years are going to develop into defensemen.
Yeah, like, Dallas situation is not good either.
But then also like, you also are a genius because Ken Hitchcock is that's the only place he wants to work.
So you'll have him as your coach.
Yeah, but I don't want him as my coach.
I do for at least two years before the bloom comes off the fucking rose.
Adjacent Spets a contract.
The yellow rose of Texas.
Oh, God.
You're going to have all this dead cap space because you're buying out one of your goalies.
By the way, you know, for all of the talk about how terrible, like, Shea Weber should feel right now about the way Nashville's gone, how bad do you think, how bad should Jason Spezza feel?
That's the guy who picked Dallas over Nashville.
He picked Dallas.
He could have been a predator.
That's right.
He borked the trade because he didn't want to go to play in Nashville, and then he went and played in Dallas.
Yeah, but I mean, if he's there instead of Ryan Johansson, they're not as good.
So that's not like the same thing.
Like, literally, this is 11.
months after Mark Bergervan was like, you know what we need?
We need a guy like Shea Weber on the back end to muscle us up and
toughen us up and I've got to get P.K. Suban's attitude and talent out of town.
All right.
Oh, that's so great.
Let's get right to it.
The Predators are, of course, the team we can talk about.
Ottawa and Pittsburgh Game 7 is the night of when you are hopefully listening to this
podcast.
We'll do our picks later based on what might happen.
But Nashville dispatches of the horrible, hurtful,
Anaheim Ducks in six
games, thus earning
more rest ahead of the final
round, which is a really novel
fucking concept for Randy Carlisle
apparently. They earned it. It's amazing
how two teams played on the same day
with a chance to end their series.
Yeah. And one team didn't do it. One team
did, and the team that didn't do it feels like they got
wrong. No, yeah. It's better to just be a
giant piss baby about the schedule
than actually, you know, win a
game six and not have to play
a game seven. And really they lost because
John Gibson got hurt.
Jonathan Bernier was fucking atrocious in that game six.
So that's not,
the schedule is not why you lost.
Poor Jonathan.
Oh, I mean.
I think they kept the wrong goalie personally.
Freddie Anderson probably wins that game.
Actually, it was pretty funny because every team had that leaf they got rid of.
That could have been there.
They'd get Dionneuf.
You got Jonathan Bernier.
Yeah, Phil Kessel.
But Nashville, I think, is Toronto guy free.
Right?
There's no old Toronto guys on that team, right?
So, yeah, but still Nashville's,
I feel like
we'll do predictions later
but fuck that Ryan Johansson
injury sucks
sucks so bad
and I don't know how
I mean great
you have Callie Callie Yoncrow
and then Cisncrow and then Cisnc
and then Cisncrow and what he did
but like Colton Sizzins
like he's not going to shoot
on Jonathan Bernier for a game
during the come final
he's only going to get Craig Anderson
or Matt Murray
like how are they going to score
but it's great
I'm just really happy for him
I'm really really happy for Nashville
that this happens
And the thing about it too is that like their window is so fucking open
Mm-hmm.
Like their entire core is really young.
I mean, Paca's old, but they have already Soros to kind of be their their understudy.
Well, I mean, he's been really busy funding the liberals to take down Trump.
That's right.
With fake Twitter bots.
You see Soros.
Yeah, yeah.
That's the guy they're talking about when you see that, right?
They are, yeah.
Because he's a backup goal.
He's got time to do that sort of thing.
And he makes a good amount of money, so, you know, good for him.
That team's really doing a lot of good stuff.
Well, he also had to fund that assassination in D.C.
of that guy who was leaking all that stuff to WikiLeaks, according to Sean Hannity.
Boy, that guy's a fucking psycho.
Who, Hannity?
Tweeting through it.
Oh, it's great, though, but he's tweeting through it.
He's losing his mind, and it's the best.
Like I said on Twitter this morning, when the, someone's, when Media Matters said,
here are Sean Hannity's advertisers, it was that moment in which you find the weakness of the end boss on a video game,
and all of a sudden the end boss starts, like, spinning around shooting fireballs because he doesn't know what else to do?
Like, that's what happened to Sean Hannity this week.
It's like the one thing, the one thing after all these years that made him go,
that was Bill O'Reilly, too, this thing.
Most of his advertisers went, suddenly, like, they snap and they just start going on Twitter.
When O'Reilly got fired, then all of a sudden there's proof of concept that you can get them through their advertisers.
That's how we're going to get taken down to it.
And then he's like, oh, you guys don't go after Colbert for the cockle, the cocker thing.
And they're like, nope, that's because he's comedian.
And you are on the news channel, you dumbass.
He made the incest joke.
Oh, no.
Sean.
What are we talking about again?
We were talking about the National Predators.
P.K. Suban is going to play for a Stanley Cup, as you said earlier this week.
It is one of the greatest jokes in NHL history that he gets to play for the Cup the season after the Weber trade.
And you didn't spell out the punchline, but I'll spell it out here.
The sole justification of the Shea Weber trade was the immediate future.
And in the immediate future, Shea Weber was eliminated in the first round of the play.
playoffs and P.K. Sub-Bahn's going to play for the cop.
Eliminated in the first round on a team that couldn't score goals or move the puck.
And now Nashville, cut through Chicago, they cut through Anaheim.
And here's the most beautiful part about it. Here's the most beautiful part about our sweet.
The beautiful part, I'm going to do the sad part.
The most beautiful part about our sweet prince, P.K., is that he is basically become Jonathan Taves.
Oh, don't insult him like that. How dare you?
Well, I mean, in the sense that neither of them should be one of the top ones
or players in all time.
No, I mean, in the sense that he is the guy who, you know, in a perfect world,
is putting up Eric Carlson numbers in the playoffs,
but instead is playing a shutdown defensive role
and doing it remarkably well.
You look at what he's done against Tarasenko,
waited against Kane, waited against Getslap.
It is that he's been extraordinary in that role.
And just think about why you,
trade P.K. Suban. Well, you trade him
because of ego. You treat him because of
whatever the hell was going on to that
room where they decided to put the
captaincy on Patchy Ready instead of on Suvan.
There was also the Eric Crosson type thing where he wasn't
a good defender in his own zone. Right.
Freelands. Oh, exactly. And now look at him.
He's a shut down fucking defenseman
and helping his team get to the
final. Here's the sad part.
Oh, what's the sad part, Rainy face?
Is that Nashville's in the Stanley Cup final.
They've been there since
yesterday or two days ago. Cup final
starts the first,
sorry, June 1st, the first day?
It's like a final, whatever it is.
It's Monday.
Memorial Day.
It's not June 1st.
No, whatever it is.
We've got time.
And there's a lot of off days during the country.
There's a lot of two-day situations.
And at the Stanley Cup final,
all the national media, Canada, America,
they come down, they cover it,
and they have a great all-time doing it.
You are going to read a lot of stories,
the first of which, we've already read,
Nashville.
Is it a hockey town?
I don't know if it's a hockey town.
I'll be honest.
I was the same as anybody else,
like Nashville expansion team playing in the Sunbelt.
And I remember the first time I realized
they were probably a pretty good hockey town.
It was 2009 or 08.
They were playing the Red Wings.
They were at home.
I think Hachick was in net.
And they scored like two goals in 12 seconds on Hashick and knocked them out.
I think it was the year the Red Wings won at all.
So it was 08 because Osgood came in and took them to a cup.
But like in that moment,
and those two goals, I think it was Jason Arnaut scored the second goal.
I ripped it off the crossbar from like 100 feet out.
I have never heard a building so loud through my TV
than I did at that moment,
which I get, doesn't mean it's a hockey town,
but I was like, oh, these people get it, they're into it.
So that's one thing you're going to get a ton of,
is this a hockey town?
The second thing, and I'm telling you right now,
if you read this from anybody,
follow them on Twitter,
don't read their stuff ever again.
If you see P.K. Suban referenced as a number four defenseman,
just close the story,
just delete that person from your following on your Twitter
because I get it.
He doesn't play as many minutes as Yosi.
Yose is the guy who was there for a long time.
P.K. Suban is shutting down people and playing monster minutes
against tough competition, and he's still winning the
five-on-five shot of ten battle. He's a number one
He's a top pairing. He's one of the five best defensemen in the world.
Just because Mike Babcock doesn't pick him to be one of the top six
defensemen on Canada, doesn't mean he's not one of one.
Oh, you mean that Steve Simmons tweet from today.
That guy too.
In which Steve Simmons mentioned that...
Why does everybody out the shit on P.
That Suban would not be currently.
one of the top six defensemen
selected by
Babcock and
Ken Holland for Team Canada.
First thing is
that's an amazing comment to make
in a year when the NHL's not going
to the fucking Olympics, so it's the
material. And also set the bar in a
weirder spot. Oh yeah, you think he's the number one
defenseman? He wouldn't be one of the top six on
Canada. Yeah. And then...
But he was on the Sochi Olympic
team. Ryan Gosling's not that handsome. He's not
one of the six handsome most handsome people in the world.
He didn't have to be one of the top.
All he got to do is be one of the top eight.
That's all.
Like, why is that the bar?
Why is that?
Like, I understand, like, I understand how you can come up with the argument of,
well, he's a second pairing guy, because, like, you'll look at the minutes and you'll
see the way the minutes are distributed, and I can see how you could maybe come to that
conclusion.
But then somebody will come to you and say, hey, he's playing super tough minutes.
He's out there against the top competition.
It's weird.
He's not on the first powerplay unit.
The Preds power play is weird.
It upsets me.
another thing. But to set
to be like, well, yeah, P.K.
Sue Mann's not one of the top six defensemen on
Team Canada. Like, how is that the
bar for you, man? Who gives a shit?
Like, why would you use that as a way
to judge a guy if he's good or not at his
Oh, my God. He's a defenseman.
There's only eight spots.
When, like, Drew got left off
and there's like fucking
14 spots for
a forward. Like suddenly
Claudeau-Juru's not good? Yeah, no one's ever like,
you know, I'd have a lot more.
respect for Claudeau had he been selected by
Mike Babcock. Like was Stephen
Stamcoast not good when he didn't go to the Olympics that
one time? Are you out of your mind?
It's just, and it's just, and you had the thing
with fucking Ken Campbell on Twitter the other day
too. The Ken Campbell thing, real quick,
I wrote a story about shaming
a bunch of Canadian writers for basically saying
Nashville was never going to be a hockey town.
They were wrong then.
They were wronger now.
And Ken Campbell called it a minor league town.
He got a minor league hockey town.
Like, my problem with it was like,
Yeah, you could have said that the franchise was in trouble when they were going to get sold, the ball silly, and he was going to move them to Hamilton.
You could say they had a bad lease or whatever.
But, like, you had to double down and shit all over a town that had roughly a decade of proof of concept.
Five of those years spent outside the playoffs.
Like, it takes patience.
Here's my thing.
You got to give it some time to see if it'll take root.
You got to give it some time.
And the thing about Nashville, that's the best.
And the same thing happened to Washington and the same thing happened in Tampa.
They had to figure out what they needed to do to connect with their fans.
And so in Nashville's case, they stopped being a team in Nashville and became Nashville's team.
They embraced the country music thing.
They embraced the, they put a fucking piano keys on their jerseys.
Like, it took a while to figure it out.
Now they figured it out.
and you have writers in Calgary like Eric Francis saying,
why can't we be more like Nashville?
Like, it just, you needed to patience, you needed to take time.
If you buried Nashville as a hockey city in 08 or 09,
it's because you are short-sighted,
also because you're Canadian,
and desire us to bury a Sun Belt team
to make your fucking cities look better.
Okay.
I am completely 100% fine with anybody in 2008
that said it wasn't going to work.
Fine with that.
I don't think that was a hot take.
The city or the franchise?
The team would not be there.
The team would fold or move somewhere else.
But is that an indictment of the city or an indictment of how shitty it was run?
Whatever way you want to go.
If that was your take at that point, that's fine to me.
I disagree.
I'm because, fuck, everyone's going to have a take they get wrong.
That's fine.
I just find it so weird that still in 2017, the heels are still so dug in that people are like, oh, yeah.
Ken Campbell, like, double down in 2017 of not being a hockey town.
That's the thing is like for, I would say as recently is four or five years ago, I 100% compared Crystal Tagnan
and Mark Andre Bergeron on a regular basis because I thought he was just a power played maestro and I thought
he was just weak in his own end. He treated the puck like a hand grenade. He got muscleed out of the way in front of that all the time.
He's not that guy anymore. And even though I think he's gotten better since my analysis, it was still pretty bad analysis.
So if you were ever to bring that up, I wouldn't be like, oh, way to cherry pick my opinion.
Like, no, that was actually my opinion, and that was actually Ken Campbell's opinion.
That's not cherry picking.
Right.
So to me, at that point when someone's like, hey, remember that time?
You said this was a minor league town?
You'd be like, yeah, yeah, that's on me.
I missed that one.
Myrtle corrected himself a year after he buried Nashville.
Yeah.
That's all you got to do.
There's nothing having a bad take.
And just saying, hey, I was wrong.
Just, oh, yeah.
And you know what you say?
In this case, I'm happy to be wrong.
I'm happy that there is another city in this league that is.
is fired up for hockey that makes money,
which is very important to Canadian writers,
that an American city makes money,
so they're not on the welfare dole
for your big money franchises.
Isn't that important?
Just say, I'm happy to be wrong.
But let me speak for a moment about what makes a hockey town.
I like to bury one concept.
There's a notion that...
This is going to be a devil's fan-ruded thing, isn't it?
Well, maybe.
There's a notion from guys like Ken Campbell
that if you don't draw fans during your losing seasons,
that means you're not a hockey town.
As I pointed out.
That's all sports, dude.
Remember the Baltimore Orioles?
That is all sports.
Nobody showed up for their games until like three or four years ago.
That is all sports.
And also, the Chicago Blackhawks were drawing 12,000 fans before they drafted Taves and Kane.
John McDonough took over and they became a hockey town.
Also, why is it contingent on sports fans to pay for a bad?
product.
Like, if you are a fan of the Fast and Furious movies and you heard this last one was
horseshit, like, why is it a-
They would still go?
Why is it okay to just wait for Netflix?
Like, instead of paying fucking 40 bucks to the movie theater.
Right.
Like, I'll just wait until they're good again.
Like, why?
I've never understood the argument.
If you were a real fan, you would pay to be disappointed.
I also just like how a day after this argument, or maybe the same day, Ottawa couldn't
sell out game six of its elimination game on home eyes, which, again, you want to defend your
team as not being boring. Tickets are expensive for the conference finals, but that's also an
indictment of not wanting to drive all the way out there to watch.
But here's the thing, though, Dave, they don't have to be that expensive.
Wait, wait, why?
Well, if you used our friends at Sea Geek, for example, they're the smartest way to find hockey
tickets this postseason or any regular season.
And there's nothing like sitting behind the glass of the biggest match was the year.
And with Seekek, it's never been easier to get the guaranteed seats you want for great value.
If you're looking for playoff tickets and you're like, my God, these things are astronomical.
That man in that car outside the arena is asking for thousands of dollars for these tickets.
Well, why not hop on Seekek and see what your fellow fans are selling?
It's by far the easiest way we found to buy hockey tickets.
We could be anywhere with just a few taps.
You can instantly find seats for this weekend or any game this season.
With Seekek, you always get the best deal on every ticket because Seekiekeek,
Price compares for you by searching multiple ticket sites.
Prices can vary where you shop, but C-Keekeek will always find the lowest available price.
Plus every ticket you buy on C-Keekeek, be it a hockey game, the baseball game, a concert, what have you,
is backed by their 100% guarantee so you can shop for tickets on C-Kkeek with confidence.
Best of all, Puck Soup listeners get a $20 rebate off their first C-Kkeek purchase.
Wait, so you're saying that, like, if there's a ticket available for game one of the Stanley Cup final in Ottawa for $45.
Right. Because that's how much to go for.
In theory, it would only be $25 with this rebate.
Thanks to us. Thanks to us.
Think of us when you're maybe going to an Ottawa game or staying home from an
Ottawa game. To get your $20 rebate on tickets, you download the Seekek app.
You go to the Settings tab. You click add a promo code.
Enter the promo code S-O-U-P. That spells Soup.
And Seekek will send you $20 after you've made your first ticket purchase.
Download the Seekek app today.
Enter the promo code soup.
and get your money with Seekykeek.
So, like, let's say 15 years from now,
the coyotes have won three cups and four years.
They pack the building.
And someone digs up a thing I wrote in 2016
about how no one goes to coyotes games.
I'm not going to be like,
where did cherry pick my opinion?
Like, no, yeah, I thought, I didn't think it would work.
I think it's completely reasonable to say that Glendale
is never going to work.
I truly believe that in 2008,
if you were judging Nashville as a market
based on how shitty that team was,
was and not acknowledging the economic considerations.
That place is boomed for the last decade.
It is a boomed town.
Well, the last decade.
Right.
Which is right when they wrote the beginning of that.
But shit changes.
Right, but I can totally fine with somebody not expecting that change or not believing that change is going to happen.
I think it's dumb as shit.
Because you could have said the same thing about any number of places.
And in the case of Nashville, it was just the wrong take.
What about sunrise?
In Nashville, sunrise?
You think sunrise is a situation that?
it's going to eventually collapse on itself.
Yeah.
I can see that.
And if it doesn't, I'll be the first to be like, well, I didn't think it was going to work.
I agree.
Let's both say it now.
We don't think Sunrise is a good hockey market.
No.
Okay.
I think Seattle needs a team.
Me too.
Because I've been there once for three days and I got a real good feel like in the city.
They would support it.
I truly believe Glendale and Sunrise are bad.
Now, Phoenix is good.
If you can move the team back to a downtown arena in Phoenix, that's better.
And I also think Raleigh is really good.
I just think that that team has been, is, is, is, for shit.
Yeah, like, Raleigh could be like a Chicago situation where once they start winning again.
Or a Nashville situation where all of a sudden you find a way to, like,
the Nashville was, tap into the NASCAR thing.
We're racing to the cup.
The Charlotte Checkers are the, they're the minor league affiliate for the, for the, right, for the hurricanes?
Yeah, for the hurricanes, yeah.
So they've already got the checker flag.
They already got the associates.
Are you saying they should change their name?
They should switch names.
Instead of celebrating a, one.
weather event that murders people, maybe they should celebrate a sport people like.
Or how about celebrating smoking?
Because it's tobacco.
The Carolina tars with a Z.
The Carolina coughs.
Carolina nicotine's with a Z.
Carolina emphysemas.
With Z.
Yeah, with Z.
It's got to be hip and cool for millennials.
No, no, no.
Actually, Z is for us.
That's cool for our age.
Cool for millennials is when you just take out the E and you have Tumblr.
Right.
So it's like an app.
Grindr.
Yeah.
It's got to be an app.
So it'd be like the Carolina.
Carolina smokers, but it's like, there it is.
K-R-S.
Yeah, there's no E.
And it's weird, too, because like we add E-in front of everything because of the internet, eBay, all that stuff.
But we take that E out at the end of other words.
Dave Lowe's, as Jerry Seinfelds.
What's the deal with the millennials?
We're putting it E in?
We're taking an E-out?
Where does the ego?
I don't know.
Ego?
Ego.
You know who's got an ego.
Ego.
Ego.
With their avocado toast and their houses and their.
and their napkins.
What's the deal?
What is the deal with avocado toast?
Is it an avocado?
Is it toast?
If I put an avocado on a toaster,
will it become an avocado toast?
I don't know.
John Chaco walking around,
walking around the building.
What's the deal with tanking?
Are we going for it?
Are we actually in a tank?
What's the deal?
Shane Don's wearing a C.
What doesn't he wear a C?
When we get back,
we're going to talk about Ryan Gatslap and also players safe.
But real quick, your thoughts on the MTCs in Ottawa.
It's not a good hockey market, but I'm also fine that they don't go to the game.
Mismanaged team.
Not too.
Poorly placed arena.
Not too.
And a franchise that has not figured out how to grow its fan base.
And I think a downtown arena does that.
But I just feel like the argument that you hear a lot about places that don't draw is really true here.
they just aren't enough fans.
Like, if there were enough fans, they'd throw it.
Right.
But there aren't enough fans.
That's the problem.
Yep.
Anaheim, too.
Anaheim kind of got off with the whole traffic thing.
Like, oh, it's too hard to get there.
Right.
I mean.
That's because a lot of us have driven in California.
You're like, yeah, actually, you know what?
I mean, I've tried to get to L.A.X.
I know how hard.
Seriously.
Like, I've taken two-hour car rides from the airport to my hotel.
And I understand.
But at the same time, like.
Like, if Ottawa had said there was a blizzard, I would have been like, oh, of course.
So, I mean, I've been to Canada when there's been snow.
And how are you going to get to the game?
You don't even have fucking, you can't even move your car.
It's like everyone in Anaheim or California wants to make it seem like they're shooting la-la land every goddamn day on the freeway, so you can't get the game.
It's like, no, you can get to the game.
Come on.
Even the weekend game that they played there was a little bit empty too.
But again, it's just, that's what the markets are.
And tickets are expensive and no one has any money in this economy.
So I get it.
But it doesn't mean we can't make a joke on.
Also, going back real quick, what was the thing you said on Twitter?
you were like, is this a ploy by Melnickton?
Oh, yeah.
I wasn't saying it was a ploy.
I was wondering if their owner in a twisted major league kind of way was, was, yeah, was like sort
of a thing where it was like, I hate this fucking song.
Look at these empty seats, you know, we need to be in a downtown arena, pronto, or else this is
going to be trouble.
Like, or was he super embarrassed that there were empty seats?
I don't know.
I feel like, I feel like when you're trying to angle for an arena,
like showing that you can't draw at the place that's nowhere near the city is actually kind of beneficial.
That's the only thing I was saying.
I don't think it's beneficial in the conference finals when it's game six.
I think it's beneficial first round, regular season.
Otherwise, so you think there's like a big thing in the locker room with like pieces of you peel.
Of you can pieces of them.
Yes, absolutely.
The way I see it, we got to win 16 games.
And like his dongs hanging out right now because they've won, they've won 11.
Actually, no.
Bobby Ryan, reporting for a news, sir.
You might skate like Ryan, but you.
You shoot like shit.
Chris Neal goes to his ex-girlfriend's place,
but it turns out she's actually hanging out with her boyfriend,
and one of the guests at the party goes,
Ottawa, there's still a team here.
And she goes, oh, so do you make a lot of money?
Well, it depends on how good you are.
How good are you?
Chris Neal says, I make the league minimum.
Don't do that.
What, Dion?
Don't drink the rum.
It's Joe's rum.
What?
There's four fans.
in the stands and all the pucks he'd get and stopped, they think they're going to go in.
What do you mean too high?
I thought it was too high.
What is too high mean?
No, no, too hard.
All right, here's our new friend Charlotte Wilder to talk about everything but hockey.
We'll be back.
Charlotte Wilder is a staff writer at SB Nation, and as we begin the podcast, Dave and I were
learning about her journey to journalism.
Yes.
The most dangerous road.
The most dangerous perilous road.
If any kids are listening, turn back now while you still can't.
A highway paved with broken dream.
Either turn the car around or just drive it into the nearest tree, you see.
Get out and walk home.
I'm not turning this into fucking Richard Deich podcast here, but like I do believe that there is more opportunity now for, like, young writers to get into the business if they know how to do multiple things that aren't writing.
Like, that's my belief.
Like, I think I'm outdated.
What do you know, old white man?
What do you know about that?
I know that like...
All right, dice.
I know.
I know.
I know that like if you're able to...
It's so much easier now if you're young and just got out of college and have a huge student loan debt to go out there and make $6 an hour, right?
Yeah.
No, but that's a job.
But that's a job.
Like if you know how to podcast and do video shit and everything, like I feel like there's opportunity there.
I feel like I have two years before someone younger and smarter than I am takes my job.
Well, I feel the...
I feel the same.
I operate on a very, you know, I am on borrowed time already.
Oh, we all are.
My fear is always that it's going to be some technology that I don't know.
Like, you know, Pete Blackburn on, like, I feel like Pete knows a lot of shit that I don't know as far as, like, stuff.
And, like, he's going to be, he's like, I just published something on blick-blap.
And everybody's reading it now.
And it's got 40,000 thumb wiggles.
And I'm just like, I don't know how to do any of these things.
And no one's going to care about blogs.
Pete's 44 years old.
He's like, does it?
He just looks crazy for his age.
He's like the little woman from the orphan,
or the hell of the movie is.
Was it the orphanage?
Annie?
Not Annie.
No, I don't mean Annie, nor the Jamie Fox Rebig.
He's in the curious case of Benjamin Button.
Mm-hmm.
Aging backwards.
The only, that's what you think?
The orphanage movie?
No, no, it wasn't that movie.
It was a movie about a little, like, demon orphan that winds up being.
Damien.
No, not he, was he, was he an orphan?
Did they pick him up at her?
No, he was born with a six, six, six.
No, this was about an orphan that wound up being a young pope.
An evil woman instead
Like an evil small woman
The Golden Girls
Benjamin Button by the way
Is the only David Fincher movie I don't like
I fully acknowledge this now
In thinking about his films recently
I haven't seen it
Because I haven't seen anything
Oh no
You're one of those huh
No I'm well I try
Yeah but I fail
So yeah I am one of those
What's the last movie you've seen in theaters?
Oh
Wow
Wait
Oh Johnwick too
Oh okay
That's recent and awesome.
So I went with a few of my guy friends, and we came out of the theater, and they were like, oh, it was fucking sick, man.
Like, he just, like, killed people and, like, do you see when you put it, like, that head through the pencil?
And I was like, literally, I was like, that was two hours of someone going around to the silencer and putting it right up someone's temple and shooting them.
And they were like, you know, it was sick.
And I was like, there wasn't, there wasn't even any, like, good sex scenes.
And they were like, he is in love with the memory of his wife.
And I was like.
And I was like, guys, I'm out.
ready yet. He's not ready yet. No, I'm
don't pressure him into a relationship when he's still
getting the murder out of his system. I, that
movie was not for me, but I
appreciated
Keanu. It's, it is that it is kind of interesting
though that like he finally found a role where he can be
an action star which is what he's always wanted to be
and pretty much asexual
which is also yeah, like good for him. I'm, I'm proud of him
and he gets to have a dog so like whatever.
Because like honestly he didn't give a fuck about
Sandra Bullock. He wanted to save that bus
It just happened that they were ended up together
He didn't even come back for the sequel
Like he just did not care about the woman
He just wanted to save the bus
He's like look I just want to use
Writing Implements as weapons
And now I finally have a franchise where I can do that
I think about that a lot like when movies end
How long is that relationship last
Like obviously they made a sequel so Keanu and Sandra Bullock broke up
But how long do you think it took for them to get sick of each other
Do you mean in like so in like movie world
In like their world that's real I'd say a month
I thought about that actually because speed true
To cruise control was on
a couple months ago and
Jason Patrick's with her at this point
and she's like
you know the life of a cop wasn't
what I was into or whatever and I was like
at what point is that? I know like that's usually like
10 years in like she turns on the TV
and she sees them saving a fucking
other bus
and she's like
we were supposed to go to dinner
and like is that how it works
like she couldn't handle the hero's life
no I think about that a lot too where like the happy ending
is that they get together and I'm like
ooh
right
right
We all know how that goes.
The best example of that is actually knocked up.
You see knocked up?
Yeah.
Okay.
So that knocked up, like, there is absolutely no way to spite the presence of a child that
Catherine Hegel and Stavirman should ever be together.
No.
You know the relationship is doomed.
They tack on this sort of Apatauian happy ending.
And you're like, no, this is bullshit.
This is not a happy ending.
The happy ending would have been like, I'm going to go smoke weed and see you some
Charles' support if I get a job.
And then that would be the happiest ending ever.
This was not a happy ending.
Right.
This is a sad ending.
You know where it's coming next.
Speaking of sad endings, our journalism careers.
Where do you think they're going?
We were exploring your journey to,
abridged version to get to sports trading.
How did you do it?
Tell us your entire background up until right now.
Okay, well, I was born in Concord, Massachusetts.
My first grade teacher was...
How can you have an accent?
My parents aren't from Boston.
Oh, okay.
Yeah, they moved there from...
They grew up in Baltimore, New York, so...
Did you try to, like, fit in and say things like wicked pisser,
but it never came out as cool as your friends?
Yeah, I had one friend in seventh grade who called me Shalett.
Shalett.
Shalit.
Oh, God.
Your name is the worst name to ever have in Massachusetts.
Oh, Shalad.
Oh, God.
Dude, you're going to the B's game with Shalett?
Yeah, so I was down on Jolette, right?
And Tommy, I swear to God, he walks by.
Shalit, I swear.
It's like, it's a dark side.
Why is there no Ben Affleck, Matt Damon movie that's set in Boston that has a character named Charlotte?
That would be the best thing ever.
I know.
Matt and Ben, if you're listening, I am available.
My favorite Boston accent story is when I worked at, I was at Boston.com at the globe.
And my editor, Roberto, who's the most wonderful man in the world, he had a really thick Boston accent.
And one day he turns around and he goes, oh, my God, Bahab is on fire.
And we were all like, what?
What? And he was like, Bahá'Haba's on fire. And we were like, oh, my God. Oh, there's a fire in Maine. Bar Harbors on fire. And so we got it engraved on a pint glass for him. And that was, that was a good, we had a good crew. Did you write sports up there?
No. So I started at, I had my own blog, which was silly, but fun. And then got a job at America's Test Kitchen, Cooks Illustrated magazine. And I ran their blogs and, like, web videos. And my coworkers now found the videos and turned them.
into gifts. America's Test Kitchen is
that skinny older gentleman
with the bowtie. Yeah, although Chris Kimball
but he's gone now. Gone like dead?
No, no, no. He's still with us.
Wow. But he started his
own company and there's like a bunch of legal
Holy shit, so it's like top gear
where those guys all got
and then they started their own thing. Oh, there's like, you can read about this.
It's like dramatic. Wow. It's very exciting.
Did you ever watch America's Test Kitchen? No.
Watch Top Gear though. I get that reference.
So America's Test Kitchen was on PBS
and it was sort of like
a smarter, less obnoxious version of like Alton Brown stuff, basically.
What would be the way I would describe it?
I totally get that reference to it.
Basically, they claim that if you follow their instructions perfectly, you can't
fuck up their recipes.
Right.
Which as someone who worked there, I appreciate and respect.
And as someone who's fucked up the recipes, I'm not totally sure I agree with.
What would be like a recipe fuck up for you?
Like, what is the thing that would trip you up in an America's Test Kitchen recipe?
I just, like, don't care about exact measurements at all.
That's a problem in a recipe.
Yeah, exactly, right?
So I'm like, oh, we'll just wing it.
Like five sticks of butter, who cares?
And then it's like, oh, my arteries are clogged.
That is legitimately, you know, I try to cook as well as I can.
But I know my limitations because there are people born that had that intrinsic ability, almost a mutant gene, to be able to freelance in a recipe.
And to taste something and be like, you know what this needs?
Saffron.
You're like, whatever.
And then there are people like me that are just like,
the baking soda look like flour?
I don't know.
And that's me.
Yeah.
And I can, we get, we get Blue Apron.
Okay.
Proud sponsor this podcast.
No, not this week, so we shouldn't mention them.
Well, I still do.
And I can follow the recipe, but I get a lot of cooking stress.
I, I can't, I don't get that stress cooking because I don't, I don't care enough.
And I'll just like, and I grew up cooking with my family, so I, like, I'm a pretty good cook, but so I get to the
recipes and I'm like I know better than this and then I'll like completely like burn everything and I'm like
oh maybe I didn't but so you're like I'm gonna kick it up a notch I'm like a little cocky about it I think yeah I had the same
issue like last night I ordered um a chicken parm sandwich from an Italian place and then I got there and it was
an eggplant parm sandwich and I was like you screwed up the recipe I asked for a chicken parm sandwich and so they
had to make a new one and so I got a chicken parm sandwich that's fantastic did you get anything off the
the bill over that or no uh just just 15 minutes off my life
as I sat there.
What is something you could actually, like, if tasked, if...
Dave, what can you...
Yeah, what can you cook?
See, this is the thing I don't get about America's test kitchen is what's the difference
between an America's test kitchen recipe and, like, any other recipe.
You just follow the directions and you cook it and you make it.
Marketing.
Yeah.
No, I mean, they'll have, like, hacks where they'll, like, this is the perfect chocolate chip
cookie because we did this weird thing to it that makes it better than others.
And sometimes that's true.
They seed it.
Yeah.
But anyway, so when I worked there, um, I...
I would, it was mostly bloggy stuff.
And then every once in a while they'd send me to like some remote, not remote, but, you know, looking for some obscure recipe.
Like we went around looking for, what was it, the specific kind of pork shoulder in like in, or this.
Like Borneo?
No, no, in America.
Oh, so Norke.
Yeah.
Right.
So when they sent you looking for it, do they like give you a place to go or were you just like driving with a map lost like on the side of the road?
Has anyone seen the pork shoulder?
I was told there would be pork here.
Man, this is a pie stand.
There's no pork shoulder here.
No, I would go with this.
Do you have any pork shoulder?
Honey, it's 2 a.m. in the morning and this is a farmhouse.
I'm like, help me, please.
No, I would go at this coworker who is an actual chef,
and so, like, we were looking for this sandwich,
a whole cake sandwich.
Fun name.
It is a fun name.
And it's like between, it's pork shoulder slow-cooked
between two kind of pancakes almost.
Like cornmeal?
Yeah, yeah.
And so we end up in, you know, two hours outside of Nashville in the hills of Tennessee
where there's a preacher who also owns this barbecue place.
And he's showing us how he smokes these things for 24 hours.
Because the commandment says thou shalt and they'll kill people.
That's not animals you can kill and make pork shoulders out of them.
Right.
He's like, yeah, I'll counsel people around the fire.
That was a chairblacks.
No, that's fine.
But so that was a fun thing that we did.
But from there, I went to the Boston Globe, well, Boston.com.
And I wasn't really doing sports.
I would do sort of tangentially sports, but they kind of let me do whatever I wanted, which is great.
What do you think of the Boston sports culture?
Do you hate Bill Simmons?
Yes or no.
No.
If no, why?
No, I mean, so Boston, I have a, I don't.
I love it.
I love the city.
I think that the fans are deeply awful a lot of the times.
Say passionate in place of stupid.
No.
Call them passionate.
No, I'm not going to do that because, I mean, I was at the mercy of a lot of them.
Right.
Those sports talk radio call in.
And then they like turn their, they turn their people on you.
And that feels that made me sad almost.
When you say they turn their people on you, do you mean like,
Like specifically you?
Or really, why?
What had it happened there?
Oh, you don't know this.
We do your research on it.
This was, Craig.
This was bad.
Well, so let me...
I like to go into these things blind.
Basically, this is kind of part of how I got into sports.
From Boston.com, I went to USA Today for the win.
And then FTW.
And then SB Nation hired me from there.
And so I've only been doing sports for like a year and three months, I guess.
if you're counting.
It feels like a nine years.
Yeah, but in sports writer years.
Oh, God, I've aged.
Like, now I drink way too much whiskey and like only listen to Springsteen and like,
wait, hold on.
Is that supposed to be in?
Why are you looking at me as you say that?
But honestly, like your love of The Bachelor and Bachelorette kind of oddly fit with sports writing,
which we'll get to in a moment.
I didn't watch the only reason I started, I haven't watched The Bachelor before I was
sports writer.
The reason I started watching The Bachelor and writing about it is because I thought it was so funny.
that Aaron Rogers' brother was on it.
And also it's the, and you can attest this.
Like there's a weird thing where a lot of sports writers watch the Bachelor of Bachelor
Reference Sundays.
There is.
You go on Twitter at any Monday night.
Twitter's an echo chamber.
I wouldn't say it's a lot.
I would say it's enough.
It's the bane of my existence.
So wait, all right.
I like made this bed and now I have to write recaps in it.
You wrote the recap of when, what was his name, Aaron Rogers wrote?
Jordan.
Yeah.
Jordan Rogers on the show.
And now you're in prison into writing re-daps?
Because you're good at it.
Yeah.
Which is why Dave and I always tell everybody who listens, don't ever be good at anything.
Don't be good at stuff because then you have to keep doing it.
Just be mediocre at average and you can pick anything you want to do.
Especially in this profession.
Oh, God.
You can edit your own photos?
Well, all right, then.
What a talent.
Can I get more money?
Oh, no.
Okay, so if you could pick, you can go back to America's Test Kitchen.
exclusively Bachelor, Bachelorette content, or sports.
The rest of your career, you want to pick one.
Oh, sports.
No, no, no.
Yeah, no, because the thing is that, like, I've been a sports fan.
I've followed sports.
I wasn't, like, die-hard about it, really.
And I think that's why I've been able to do some of the stories I've been able to do,
because I can look at things where I'm like, wait, I didn't know we did it this way.
Why do we do it this way?
And then everyone's like, well, because we've always done it this way.
And I'm like, well, this is really silly.
And because I didn't know that, I'll see it in that way.
But for me, like writing about food, I got so bored.
Like, nothing happens.
It comes and it's on the plate and you're like, cool chicken, you know?
Like, great.
Love the sauce.
But with sports, it can be as much about sports as you want it to be because it touches all these different aspects.
Not to get, like, earnest on you guys.
Right.
I think food is so dangerously close to being over.
Like, we've reached a saturation point.
It's over.
It's over.
Greg Wischinski.
You know how, like, when TV shows struggle, like, cousin Oliver comes on the Brady Bunch or whatever?
Like, now we're at a point where it's like, what the fuck do you do with a donut?
Right.
And now we're just fucking around.
Now we're in a unicorn food.
I want to blow my brains out.
Unicorn food, exactly.
Right.
It's a donut with pork cracklins and an Eagles tally and I light it on fire.
Are we just going to gloss over the cousin Oliver Brady Bunch?
reference that he went to for a TV show.
Oh, God, because you're such a
fucking millennial lozo.
This is like a two broke girls when they brought in the third
broke girl.
That's the reference you want to go with.
That probably happened.
It definitely happened.
They're like a million broke girls.
They just rotate through them.
Oh, man.
It's like all the snows on three scumperies.
I'm the broken girl.
One broken girl.
One broken girl.
Broke girl averse.
We just passed the only part of the bachelor.
I got to watch the Bachelor
bachelor's because Ruby digs it.
But like, I'm not kind of like
it too. There it is. There it is. There. Okay.
But the best part is the beginning when
all the people get out of the limo and they have to
like gimmick up their stuff.
Oh my God, I know. To really make a first impression. What would you do?
What would I do? Yeah, if you had to impress someone
getting out of a limo. Wait, what does that mean
gimmick up your stuff? What do you had to do? Like, so when they
got out of a limo. Like one guy had a marching band,
Jojo last season or two, whatever,
got out of. She had a unicorn
head on. You have to get down to
the basics. He has no idea.
A limousine is a long car
And then there's people in the back of the long car
The Bachelor and or Bachelorette is standing there
When it drives up to the house
Okay
The people get out of the car and they're making their first impression
And they have like a minute
They have a minute to like meet her or him
To want to smooch them
Right and so they have to make a first impression
So some people come out in costumes
Some people come out and do a talent
Like they, you know, gymnastics or some shit
Okay
This guy had a marching band
Like that's what it is
And that is the episode
It's like showing up to a first date trying to look like the biggest ass hat possible.
Well, you want to look like an ass.
Yeah.
Well, you want to be remembered.
Oh, so it could be good.
It's like, it's like there's no bad publicity thing.
I would, I would see all these guys get out of the limo and just like punch them all in the face.
What would I do?
What would be my thing?
I would get totally naked.
I would just cut right to the end of it.
I'd be like, this is what you're going to get.
Okay?
Soak it in.
You got 48 more seconds.
If you're into it, great.
If not, then I'll just take off and go on another.
Like, seriously.
No, I'll do the same thing I used to do when I was dating.
I'll go up and be extraordinarily humble and nice and compliment her in her outfit.
And then just be her friend the rest of the time.
Just talk to her about the guy she likes.
Hey, what's up?
Do you need a shoulder to cry on?
Right here.
Sorry, Randy was an asshole again.
That's right.
That's right.
And then the rest of the show will be stewing in the corner while Randy's like banging her.
and just be like, why is it Randy?
Why is it Ever Greg?
Put on my Smith's album.
Yeah.
So, yeah, Bachelor.
But it's fun, though.
It is fun.
But you hate watching.
No, yeah, a little, a lot.
I do.
But it's fun to make fun of, and people seem to enjoy when I do that.
And everyone wants to ask you now if something's sports.
Is this sports?
Yeah, I did that to myself.
It's one of the second.
the questions you get about is this sports?
Oh, a lot of stuff.
Is The Bachelor's sports?
My whole thing when I started writing about it, I was like, this is clearly sports.
Like, this is a competition, and it's like not scripted, but it's not not scripted in the way
there are these storylines that, I mean, it's basically WWE, actually.
But it sort of struck me as this is a competition and very American, and there's something,
and they always tie it into the NFL somehow.
Do they?
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, they played football with a bunch of ravens.
Yeah.
And they'll like...
Wait, how do they train the birds to do?
Football.
They went...
Ravens can do that?
There's always some sort of sport component.
Like, they went to Wrigley Field.
They went, they were on Sports Nation for USPN when Jordan was on it.
Now Jordan worked for USBN.
Also, fun fact, Jordan followed me when I started doing these things because I said,
like Jordan, if you're out there, send me a smoke signal or something.
So he follows me on Twitter.
I wrote that in one of the recaps.
He follows me on Twitter.
sends me a DM with a bunch of smoke and fire emojis.
And I was like, oh, hello.
And he was like keeping hard on me, like love the recaps.
And I was like, cool.
Like I'd love to interview you some time.
And then he never responded.
And then at the end of the season, he put up a bunch of these Instagrams of him and Jojo together.
And he captioned, the woman he ended up with.
The titular.
And they were so.
And they were so.
Horrible word to use because of Jojo.
But go ahead.
They were so corny.
These captions.
And it reminded me of when Russell Wilson did the,
oh, the baby thing.
No, the Sierra caption where he just like Googled Beautiful Woman.
Oh, yeah.
So I put, I put Jordan's captions into Google search.
And it turned out that a lot of them were like pretty much lifted from inspirational posters.
And so I wrote this blog post and the headline was Jordan Rogers Post Bachelorette Instagrams will make you want to barf.
And then I went to message him and be like, hey, dude, if you ever want to.
And he had unfollowed me.
Well, in fairness.
But now he's a job with ESPN.
He should have never taken that picture of JoJo hanging from that tree branch and wrote,
Hang in there, the little kitten.
Did he?
No, he didn't.
Is hockey a sport?
Yes.
Is it, though?
Yes, hockey's a sport.
I feel like The Bachelor is more of a sport.
It's more on the up and up, you know?
No, sports can be dying.
Oh, I hope sports die.
Wouldn't that be great?
No, I like sports.
I think I would rather, let's trade jobs for the next, well, I guess hockey season.
over next two weeks. I'll do Bachelor, you do Stanley Cup playoffs.
Okay, great. Oh, yes. Oh, you on the Bachelor is so weird. It's worth the present.
You have love of hockey in your heart. Yes, I do. I went to, so this small school
where the only sport we were really good at was hockey. No shit. Yeah. Not field.
What? Ice hockey. Oh, yeah, yeah. Okay. Because I hear a liberal art school, you know,
just make assumptions. Right. No, it was, and so, and a bunch of my friends are on the hockey team and
So I'd go watch and it was fun and cold.
And I don't know.
I think it's a very beautiful sport.
It's very graceful.
It's very graceful.
It is.
I kind of, you know what's funny?
Like, I completely agree with you.
It's just that the NHL inherently can't be graceful.
Like, you watch the Olympics.
So you watch four on four hockey or three on three hockey.
And it could be beautiful.
Yeah.
Scoring plays can legitimately be beautiful.
Yeah.
The problem is that we have a league where the only way they know how to win is just beat the shit out of each other.
And score goals by putting the biggest guy in the team in front of the goalie and having him just bump the goalie and the puck goes in off his dick.
And it's just like, that's just how it plays out.
Why has that, why has it become that way?
Oh, my God.
How much time do we have?
I think it's because they believe that's the only way to play.
Like, you look at the Anaheim Ducks, right, this playoff run.
And they were just a brutal team that tried to injure people.
And, you know, you couldn't skate three strides that have a stick in your groin.
And that's how you win with that group, according to their coach and the team's going.
But the ducks got there because they built their team to beat the kings,
and now they don't have to beat the kings anymore because the kings suck.
I think overall, the same people have been in charge of hockey forever,
and it's all about toughness and being tough.
Right, right.
Like, what was the game we just, it was this time the, it was this time?
Was it the Predators clinching game?
Yeah.
Yeah, with BX at the end?
Yeah, but like not even that.
Like, it was this amazing game.
This guy who never scores goals has a hat trick to win the game.
It's just amazing thing.
The Predators in the Cup final for the first time.
They throw it back to NBC and Jeremy Ronex.
Like, this is just an example of how this is a,
toughest sport. Greatest players. They're so
tough. And I'm like, fuck you.
You fucking lazy-ass,
shitty analyst. I had a different fuck-you.
I had a different fuck-you on that one, which is that he
said, he watched the handshake line.
And he goes like this. He goes like, they're like,
no other athletes have this much
like integrity. And we just
watch six games of guys just taking
cheap shots. One guy called
a referee a cock-sucker.
It's just like, the whole thing was
this. And even the worst example
of sportsmanship you can possibly imagine.
One of the best things in hockey is when you're at home, you're clinching a series, the crowd's going nuts.
The game's over in the last 10 seconds.
You can just kind of stay handle behind your net.
The clock runs out.
And Kevin BX is out there, like fucking guys in the fate.
Not fucking guys in the face.
I was like, wow, I should have watched this.
And Ryan gets that's like, dude.
Yeah.
But like he goes over there and creates a whistle like five seconds ago.
So the crowd's got to like sit there and they lose the countdown.
Like shit like that bothers me too.
You, uh, you're getting into the, the predators?
Yeah.
You're getting into the whole, uh, Smashville.
hockey tonk.
Smashville.
We got to talk about that, too, by the way.
Smashville?
Like, yeah.
Because smashing to me means two things.
One is sex.
And one is shitting.
Smash?
Wait, hold on a second.
I've never heard smashing is shitting.
First of all, go to Urban Dictionary.
That's where I learned everything the kids say.
Okay.
All right.
And so.
Dave wrote that entry, though.
No, that was.
Dave made that up.
No, I read that.
I was DJL 1970.
No, but like.
Smash. I'd smash for the Interimdictionary.
That's you, you use, you take a shit and you lead it like a little road.
Then you take a huge shit and make a little village out of it.
Can I just stop you guys for a second?
Sometimes, sometimes when like I'll be talking to friends about my job.
They're like, oh, so sports, like, what, like, is it just like dudes like making like poop jokes?
And I'll be like, yeah.
I'm like, no, literally, like, I'll talk to like my girlfriend.
So what's like your office?
What's your office like?
And I'm like, oh, it's exactly what you think it is.
So, yeah, getting the sports kids.
Yeah, you're like...
I mean, I have a blast.
It's really fun, but...
But, like, why is it smashville?
Like, can we go back to Urban...
So is it just simply because it was defined by a redictionary?
This is a...
Taking a smash is a code word for taking a...
You've said to one of your buddies,
I got to go take a smash.
Literally, that's how we described it when we're out in groups.
I'll be right back.
Have you ever heard this before?
Because I certainly have...
No, I haven't, but I kind of like it.
Oh, I heard it from Pete Blackburn.
So I must be cool.
That's why you don't know it.
Oh, man.
Well, that's in his, it's on his Yibble profile.
Wait, is this like a Boston thing?
Oh, that sounds very Bostonian.
That's what I'm worried about.
The first time I heard a true story is 15 years ago, we were all in a mall food court waiting for people to come out of the bathroom, take a nine-hour road trip from Ohio back to New Jersey after a wedding.
And my friend's girlfriend was in the bathroom for quite a long time.
So we figured that's kind of what she was doing.
But we were all antsy if we wanted to go.
And this one guy in our group was just like, Jerry, what's Kelly doing in there?
a smash? And like literally it's stuck with us for 15 years where that's what we, that's how
we described. So maybe it's just my group of friends. And this is in no way a comment on the
Catherine McPhee show on NBC and it's quality. What's the Catherine McPhee show? Oh, wow. Thank you.
I'm just going all deep hub culture here. That's all I'm trying to do. So you why, so you
so you don't like it. I don't like it. I would just like it explained to me as to why it is
because it rhymes with Nashville. And it's hockey and they hit each other. It's literally that.
Why not Lashville then? They lashville then.
They lash each other.
Yeah.
Because I don't know if that's really a deep south reference you want to dread for your marketing campaign.
Tashville.
Oh, I would go there.
That's Denver.
Oh, yeah.
Listen, it's a cute name.
What are we talking about?
We're talking about the Predators fan, what have you.
It's pooping sports.
Let me think about that.
I'll get back to you.
Athletic activity.
Yeah, no, I think it is, actually.
There is a clear winner.
Yeah, I have a whole checklist.
I just want to die
Is wanting to die
Is wanting to die sports?
Yes
If you are either a sports fan or a sports writer
and you don't want to die
You're like doing it wrong
Yeah
What isn't sports then?
Is that an easier question?
Man-splaining things
Is man spreading a sport?
No
No
It's not what isn't sports
That's too easy
There were a few things
I thought of recently
that are like super oh my favorite not sports is being hung over on Amtrak that's the least sports
is that not a sport no it's not it's just the eighth millionth circle of hell I was recently I was recently
really hung over on a train and then after the Kentucky Derby really really really hung over on an airplane
and I forgot how much being hung over and moving sucks not good no it was really bad I found that
every time I've been hung over on an Amtrak, the person in front of me inexplicably decides to put their seat back.
Yeah.
Oh, my God.
Like, it's like a moth to a flame.
Except I put my seat back.
Well, it's fine.
You're hung over.
Right.
You went to the Kentucky Jeremy.
I flew to Seattle a couple weeks ago.
Nobody in the middle seat.
But in front of me was like a little five-year-old kid.
I'm like, oh, beautiful.
The five-year-old kid put his seat back.
He's five years old.
He doesn't need the room.
Oh, that's rude.
Mom, I'm on a spaceship.
I'm just sitting there like, I'm like, how do I, how do I do this?
What was your Kentucky Derby experience?
Like, was it the first time you had ever been to the Derby?
Yeah, it was.
It was nuts.
It was absurd.
I got there and didn't totally know what I was going to write or how it was going to work out.
So I was very nervous.
And it was really cool, though.
Like, I went to the Barnes Stable Brown Gala, which every famous person ever was at.
and I ended up like hanging out with Aaron Rogers and a bunch of the Packers and Patriots.
And yeah, it's weird because they talked to me.
Did they like know who you were and what you were doing?
Yeah, I told that.
Well, Aaron was standing like, there were a bunch of them.
They had this table on sort of a riser.
And Aaron was standing over by himself, kind of.
Classic loner, Aaron Rogers.
He was just, like, having a good time, like, kind of talking to people.
but then watching, I think Boys to Men was performing
or it was Travis Tritt or like somebody.
I get those two mixed up all the time, sure.
No, no, no.
I know it was both of them performing.
I don't know which one was on when he was there at first.
Oh, it was Travis Trit because he, yeah, anyway.
Because he had the beard.
Yeah.
Right.
Yeah.
Right.
No, because he was doing a cover of Ben Harper song, which I thought was.
That was bizarre.
Yeah, but so I just went over to him and I was like, hey, Aaron.
He was like, hey.
I was like, how you doing?
we just talked for a while and I put some of this in the article, but
he was really nice and I said, you know, he's like, what do you basically like, who the
fuck are you?
Like, why is this?
Who are you rolling up on?
Right, like, why is this woman talking to me?
And I was like, oh, I'm writing about this.
And then I, like, I talked to.
And you're like, your brother who you don't speak to.
Right.
I was like, he doesn't.
I was like, your brother doesn't like me either.
I so badly wanted to say that.
But I didn't.
And then I talked to Randall Cobb about how people suck on Twitter when they're mean to you.
And I talked to Jimmy Garapolo about how he lives in Foxborough.
He lives in Foxborough?
Yeah.
I've been to Foxborough and I don't quite get that.
I was like, dude, what are you doing, man?
Because I told him I was from Boston and he was like, oh, I don't know.
I found it on Craigslist.
I don't know.
I started living at this creepy motel and like, I don't know.
He goes, well, it's cool now.
He goes, well, it's close to work.
And I was like, oh, sweet.
Oh, my God.
No, but it was, it was, I watched Tom Brady's chair, like, spontaneously collapse underneath him.
And it was just weird because you're walking.
I would walk around and Bodie, I, like, bump into Bodie Miller and his wife.
And then, like, I hit Jay Gruden by accident as I walked by.
And Ricky Fowler standing there.
And, like, Jeff Bridgett, it was really like you take an acid while you're reading us weekly.
when you when you when you when you talk to these people are you just throwing caution to the wind and being like I ain't ever going to be in this spot again or like because I don't I feel like those none of these people really give a shit are you wearing a credential the whole time or are you just like a regular person that they don't know what you're doing or I tell them I was like I'm I'm a writer I'm writing about this um yeah I for me I feel like there's a lot of um I take sort of the integrity aspect of it as seriously as I can.
Because if I'm going to be in, like, God willing, if I'm in this job for any sort of amount of time.
Oh, you want to get out.
No, I don't.
I really, really love what I do.
And in getting to talk to these people who do this, like, I find that if you talk to athletes as a, not like you're out to get them, and B, not like you're just so enamored.
You can't believe you're talking to a family.
If you talk to them as people, they generally like that because it's so rare that people.
that people always want something from that.
I try to do that, but then I end up
not even addressing the fact
that they're athletes. And I feel
like there's probably a part
of them that's more comfortable talking about
what they do than talking about anything we're
discussing. But I also don't want to bring it up
because I don't want to scare them away.
Yeah. I find it to be a really delicate
dance. It is. It definitely is.
And I think that the sports
writers and athletes always have this weird
tension where, you know, who needs
whom, when,
I think it's different for different people.
I think that athletes can now control their own stories a lot better.
Courtesy of the Players Tribune.
Well, I don't know.
Sure, but I also...
I know a guy who ghost writes the Players Tribune, by the way.
Wow.
Yeah, it's...
If he could talk to his younger self, would he still take that job?
I know what you're saying.
Am I really writing this thing for this athlete?
Well, I guess...
No, we're just doing the Players' Tribune, a cliche.
We're doing bits.
No, he told me that, like, you know, it's heavy lifting.
It's like when, you know, when you were with NHL.com and had to recraft that word fucking salad, those guys used to give you for blogs.
But the thing I wonder is, because I feel like you probably haven't dealt with too many hockey players, right?
You do the real sports.
You don't do the fringe ones.
I'd like to talk to hockey players.
I haven't, though.
But I feel like hockey players are way more robotic than other athletes.
They're programmed.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Really?
Why?
I mean, I think it's just, it's the culture of hockey.
Nobody ever wants to stand out from the team.
All that sort of stuff.
Think of this way.
Think of this way.
The single most charismatic player in hockey is P.K. Subant.
That's because he is, well, he's himself,
but also because he knows essentially that he's a brand.
He sells stuff with his logo on it.
He signed with, like, CAA, I think, or some agency.
Like, everybody in every other sports got something to sell.
They have to be personable.
Nobody in hockey's got anything to sell because there's no money in endorsements.
They're selling sticks to other hockey players.
He don't have to be charismatic to fucking do that.
He's at the whole of a stick.
I guess to me, like the most interesting sports writing comes from when athletes do feel comfortable with you and do feel like you're not going to fuck them over.
And so they open up to you or you can tell a story differently because they're willing to trust you on that.
And so that's why I went like if I see like talking to these guys, I wasn't going to just go up as some, you know, random woman and try to get secrets out of them.
I was like, hey, I'm like I'm writing about this.
So that'd be a good idea for a blog, though.
Like, I'm the random woman trying to get secrets out of people.
It's really slimy.
Yeah.
Do you think Tom Brady's ever going to talk to you again now that you've let the world know that he's too fat to sit in a chair?
No.
I don't think he is.
I don't think.
No.
I probably damaged that relationship.
Tom, if you're out there, I'm sorry.
What?
It's the off season.
He's carrying a little extra weight.
It's fine.
It was the chair's fault.
Right.
It's the chair's fault.
It's a poorly design.
It's a fucking chair's fault, Dave.
that he's a fucking guy.
You think Tom Brady...
You think anomaly is going to fall out of a chair?
Tom Brady takes such good care of his body.
He's a vegan.
So he isn't really...
We're going to change chair technology.
So Tommy doesn't have to crush one again.
No, let's not do the WEEI thing.
My biggest fans.
We never got into that.
So I probably know this, but I forgot.
Why do they hate you again?
Oh, I wrote the article called The Patriots Have a Trump
Oh, that's right. You did. They did the Trump thing. Yeah, that was me. The Trump thing. And so they hate you for pointing out the truth.
Yeah. And then I told, I got into it with the hosts on Twitter and may or may not. Of Nommel and Callahan?
Oh, right. Oh, wait. And that's what they, Sully and Sal. They sent their flying monkeys after you. Yeah. Yeah. And it got pretty ugly. But it was also. How ugly did it get?
Like personal insult or like intrusion into personal life?
Intrusion into personal life.
And into my families.
Oh, that's really scary.
And I don't really want to get into it because I like, I don't want them to start doing it again.
But yeah, when your mom calls you because there's some shit going on, that's...
Oh, they like called her to get her to talk on the radio?
They didn't call her.
They're the fans that they sent after me.
No.
Found my parents.
What kind of fucking psychopath does that?
And let me guess the radio guys are like, that's not our phone.
fault.
And then there was more stuff later that I also don't want to get into because I really
don't want to like bait it.
But it was a very eye-opening experience.
And maybe I'll write about this someday.
Maybe I'll get into the detail someday.
But it's, I could know.
I was pretty sure I was happy with the piece.
Like I, there are some things I would have done differently, I think.
But like overall, I really did stand by it.
But when you're hearing or seeing over it, like, you can turn Twitter off and you can turn off your email.
But it's still, at a certain point, you have to wade back in and, like, sort through all the shit, right?
And if you see it enough, you start to internalize it even as you're like, wait, no, these people are not, like, I should not be listening to this.
But, like, you see it enough.
There isn't going to be a march of 10,000 people.
This is a specific group of people, and they're just psychotic.
Yeah.
And there are enough.
And what was weird, though, is that the culture in Boston, you know, this is a second.
I can most listen to radio show in the area.
And like a bunch of my friends who live there still listen to it.
And so I was getting these text messages, you know, like five weeks out where they're like, wow, they're still really.
Still.
Yeah.
And so like I went into, I was home a few weeks ago.
My parents and I went to, you know, the restaurant that catered their wedding, this place in Wallfam that we've been going to forever.
And Richie, the chef who's one of my, like, he's so great.
I love Richie.
And he's wonderful.
and he comes out and he goes, ah, the lightning rod.
And I was like, oh, my parents are sitting there like, it's our girl.
It's incredible.
Yeah, yeah.
Wow.
I can't, I can't, listen, I get angry a lot at shit I read, mostly at stupidity.
But at no point in my life was that I ever like, I'm going to fucking call Charles Crouthammer's ram model, let her know a thing or two about what her son wrote about Democrats.
I mean, you know what it is?
I realize this.
It's that when you come at a group of people, even if you're not actually coming at them,
especially in Boston, it's very tribal, it's very defensive.
If you say something bad about a team that someone loves, you're talking about them.
This is a huge part of their identity to the point where they're like, don't like fuck you for coming at me or thinking you know something.
So like I get it and I see it and it makes me sit.
This particular case made me sad because I was like, I'm on your side.
guys like I'm from here.
Yeah.
I'm not trying to.
It was a reported piece.
But don't they, aren't they aware, like, of how much Trump and Bob crap hang out?
Like, essentially the piece was like, hey, we all love this team and their reputation's going to shit.
And they should probably be aware of that.
Like, it comes from that place.
It's not as if you're just shitting all over them.
Right.
And I never said in the piece really how I felt.
I mean, you could infer, I guess.
But even I wasn't totally sure.
And that's why I didn't put it in because, you know, I was.
upset when Trump read the letter from Belichick.
And at the same time, like, I'm still watching them.
And they take the field.
And I'm like, oh, I really fucking love this team.
I hate that.
Like, I can't help it.
Well, if it makes you feel better, you should always remember that twice in Super Bowl,
they lost to the Giants.
And they didn't achieve their ultimate goal because Eli Manning is a better quarterback.
You're right.
I'm sorry.
That has been proven twice on the day of the state.
There it is.
Do you think it was a specific Patriots thing?
Because I feel like that fan base at this point is so circle the wagons because the Deflate Gate and the criticism is the franchise and everything else.
Yeah, no, they double down.
And even I, you know, before a lot of the Trump stuff, you know, during deflategate it was like, oh, fuck the NFL, blah.
But then you reach a point where you're like, oh, man, I'm doing this, aren't I?
And you can sort of take a step back.
But yeah, I mean, they're, they're, everybody hates them.
Right.
You know, like, they're used to having a bad reputation.
And so it's not, I understand that desire to defend even more.
And I also understand that feeling of like, well, we're, like, it's us against the world.
And that, what, that's what that mentality breeds, I think.
Also, if your name was Chuck Wilder, you wouldn't have caught as much shit for sure.
No, absolutely.
And when they tried to say it wasn't a woman thing.
And I was like, oh, really?
Look at my mentions.
Yeah.
Like, I literally would spend.
And I don't know, 30% of my week making Tom Brady jokes and Trump jokes and writing stuff on uprocks and like maybe like two people would come to my mentions a week and just be like, Tom isn't a cheetah.
Trump, the Giants like, it was just no one's, no one's, it has an active campaign to destroy it.
No.
And they also used to.
They used to drag me when I worked at boss.com too.
So it was, I think it was personal.
How has it been for you at SB Nation as far as all that shit now?
Like, I imagine it's a different cast of characters than you dealt with it.
Boston.com, has it gotten better or worse as far as your interactions on social and stuff like that?
Well, so that piece was when I was at SB Nation.
Right, yeah.
Yeah.
I feel really lucky, honestly, in that most of my interactions online are positive.
You know, you'll get some more on being like, go back to the kitchen.
And I'm like, Dave, make yourself a sandwich.
I meant to test it.
Right, right.
So maybe that's maybe I'm reading it wrong.
Maybe I'm the asshole.
No, I mean, like, I feel really lucky.
I think that I get it way less bad than I've seen some other women have to deal with, you know, especially when you're, I don't know.
I generally have a good time online.
I'm trying not to have opinions online because I think that only gets you into trouble.
But it's been, except with that, with the exception of that, it's generally pretty.
Is reading your mention sports?
Yeah, because you need a helmet and padding.
It definitely feels like sports
Every once in a while
Like I generally don't try to sort of bait it
But every once in a while
If someone comes at me with a particularly good insult
Like swiping back
My best
My best one that I'm still like really proud of
Was during the whole Pats thing
And this was before I eventually just stopped
Acknowledging it whatsoever
Which I probably should have done from the beginning
But I got pissed and told people to go fuck themselves on Twitter
So one person came at me and was like
Oh Snowflake go back to your safe space
And I quote tweeted it, and I said, I tried, but your mom wasn't home.
And that felt better than anything I've ever done in my entire life.
Every once in a while, you've got to drop a mom joke in a quote tweet.
You have to.
It's like that first day in prison.
Yeah, it's like cracking my knuckles everyone's in my head.
If you make a mom joke in prison, that time you get to kill them.
I was at a Caps game in college when they were at the old Capp Center.
And we were all wearing devil's shit, some Devils fans and Devils, I think, beat the caps or whatever.
walking back to our car
and this Caves fan
comes up to me and
my buddy and he just starts
like talking shit and he's like
fuck you, fucking Jersey, fuck
fucking shit, you're fucking piece of shit,
fuck you, blah, blah, blah.
And then he's like
going into us and I'm not sure why
like there's two of us. Right. He like spits
at us and shit and we're about
to go and then I notice
and there's this entire
gaggle of Capitol
fans that are walking maybe
about 10 feet away from us
at the same pace we are
obviously he has broken away from the herd
and he is harassing us
trying to get us to do something so the rest of these fucking guys can come at us
but the point of the story is that
we did not engage
and and in your
amongst
to go back to your own catharsis
we're walking away he goes back to his
boys and he goes
where you going? I'm like
going home to fuck your mother
Whoa.
Get in the car.
Go, go, go, go.
Faster in my life
than that point.
We're like, go, go, go.
There's traffic.
The game let out.
That's right.
Actually, what I want to have happen
is have, like, one guy from the group
come over and go,
actually his mom has terminal cancer.
Oh, God.
He's really sensitive.
I've thought about that as a way
at a few situations before.
Like when someone's being like,
you know what?
You know, who sucks your mom?
My mom does suck because she has throat cancer
to say we can get food.
But then I thought to myself,
the next day my mom's getting throat cancer.
Like, there's no way you can do that.
Karma will.
Yeah, I felt a little, I was like, oh, I hope that wasn't, like, sexist and awful, but also, like.
Mix it up and say your dad next time.
That's fine.
I think I need to start.
I need to start doing that.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Last thing here.
Yes.
If you could make, because this has been extraordinarily hockey-centric.
If you could- Yeah, we can do, do you want me to, like, talk about it?
I want to know what you think as, as someone who likes hockey, but acknowledges that.
has its issues, what would make it better?
Like, what would make it more appealing?
What would get a friend of yours that's like hockey, ew, to like it?
Hockey, ew.
Hockey, ew.
I think, honestly, I would be, like, go to a live game.
Yeah.
I would say, like, I...
There's nothing like it.
No.
It's so much fun.
It's electric.
It's, um, it, I really do think it's a beautiful game.
And I wonder if there's any way to make that translate better to TV.
I don't know.
Do you think it was like four on four instead of five on five?
which is faster and less guni would you watch it or do you like the gooniness of it you're from
fucking yeah yeah give me a good scar fight is boston a hockey town you think yeah yeah i do
is it just a hockey town now that the bruin's are like no i mean growing up growing up i think
that i was equally as aware i feel like there was a bit of a once the pads started getting really
good and the socks i mean like growing up when i was younger we sucked at everything
It's a religion, though.
Oh, yeah.
That's difference.
But I do think that Bruins, the Bruins, like, have a really faithful following.
Like, if you're a Bruins fan, like, it's a bees, dude, you know, like, you're...
Charlie, you got to get out to a game, Shalmers.
Charlie, you go to the Gatton?
I'm going to get so roasted.
This is a bad accent.
Well, no, it's fine.
I mean, you're already number one in Boston.
Yeah, right.
So, I mean, there's only one place you can go.
Yeah, I would
I don't know what, yeah, what do you think?
The live game experience is important
and then making it better on TV is important
but the problem with that is that like
it takes a complete reinvention of the game.
I don't know if we've talked a lot about like how I would change hockey on TV
but I would make it a thing where
you actually change perspective on the camera during the game.
Like instead of having one big swinging camera
in the movie ice, like you have to somehow
make it so and maybe you use drones, I don't know what the fuck,
but you got to make it where you can
That's what we mean is a drone and mouth funny
Lightning Crosby's bad.
Game 7 to the Stanley Cup final
and a guy's on the breakaway
and a fucking drone falls on him
and they blow the whistle
well we'll do with a face off
in the offensive zone
I mean it's all we can do
and player safety is like
well that drone didn't mean to hit him
it wasn't that hard
right but we need that
we need like robot drones
on the race
to kind of capture the speed of it better
because it doesn't transfer
and listen it's the only sport
on television
we're at certain points
during the action, you can't see
the thing, whether it's
the ball or the buck. You just don't, you can't see it.
You imagine in, like, in basketball, if there
was, like, a part of the court where the guy's making a three-point
shot, and you can't see the guy
or the ball? You don't see the baseball when it's
in the air on fly-balls? You don't see the football when it's
passed downfield. Yeah, there's sometimes
in football that's a guy. You can lose sight of the... You can see
the ball on a grounder, though. On a
grounder, yeah. But, I mean, like, you
said all the time. Not all the time.
Well, in baseball, you really want the camera to swing
dramatically towards the sky and search for the ball.
Well, it does see that.
It just takes a second to, do you watch baseball?
Greg, do you know what baseball is?
I'm a Mets fan.
Oh, my God, Dave.
Greg doesn't know what baseball is.
This is so embarrassing.
I can't wait to tweet out that Greg doesn't know what baseball is.
Fake Mets fan.
Fake news.
How are you guys feeling about the Stanley Cup playoffs and potentially finals and everything?
Tell me some hockey stuff.
I hope it's Nashville and Pittsburgh.
Everybody hopes is National Pittsburgh.
I don't want to watch six more Ottawa games.
I'll fucking die.
I feel like the playoffs have been really...
They've been kind of not great.
No, I think they've been pretty interesting.
There's been a lack of game sevens.
There's been a lack of...
We got a game seven, right?
Tomorrow?
Yeah.
As we tape, yes.
Yes.
But like the...
I feel like...
I feel like there's been enough weird shit where it's been all right.
Like the National Anthem singer thing.
Oh, yeah.
The Get Slap thing.
There's been a lot of things lately where I'm like,
okay, these are okay storylines.
The Gatslaught thing is great.
It's getting in Crosby, Crosby and the concussion bullshit.
God, it'd be so, if Nashville wins.
It'd be the greatest thing ever.
But it's going to suck because every Canadian writer that's going to descend on,
it's going to be like, does Nashville deserve this team?
Is Nashville really a hockey city?
No, they're all into it.
I wrote about it this week.
This is the template now for a Canadian writer writing about Nashville.
Go to a diner.
Talk to a waitress.
Talk about the predators.
Use that in the lead.
Talk about the predators in the context of the local lexicon.
You know, this team was struggling, but y'all know they're going away now.
And then pivot to how hot is this team?
Hotter than the hot chicken.
Yeah, right.
Exactly.
And then pivot to how great Nashville is as a hockey team.
Like, it's the same template for every story.
Favorite dive bar in the world is in Nashville.
Really?
Yeah, it's this place called the Springwater.
And it's like, behind a McDonald's, it's hard to find.
And it's, but you go in and it's just like...
Is it like a speakeasy in the back of the tunnels?
Yeah.
It's a ball pit where Charlotte just brings a bunch of beer and it sits by herself.
Okay, you guys, fine.
I took shots in a ball pit.
What are you going to do?
No, and you like, you go in and there's a pool table and it's like dingy and awesome.
And then in the back room there's this, they're always jazz.
And it's, it's...
Oh, you lost me there.
Maybe country.
This is country I can deal with a Russian nesting ball.
It was something.
What was it?
I don't know.
I was pretty drunk.
It was actually Metallica.
It was either Boy of Semen or Travis Tritch.
She's not sure.
I guess finally, what do you think about all the country music stars that are back in the Predators?
I think that's kind of fun.
Yeah.
I mean, I like country.
I think anytime, I don't know, I think that the trope of like the person from the town that the person from the thing that the town is known for, getting behind the old sports team is really funny.
where I'm like, Dirk's Bentley, like, do you care?
I think he cares, but like, I'm not sure Trisha Yearwood cares.
Right, okay.
Yeah, he definitely cares.
Maybe Dirk's was a bad.
Like, Dirk's and Luke Bryan care.
They have cared for a while.
And Carrie Underwood cares because she's obviously married to the team captain.
Right.
Yeah.
But I do think it's a lot of these people probably see it as sort of like, oh, branding synergy.
Yeah.
The Tampa Bay Lightning went to the final in, like, 2004, and like Hulk Hogan started showing up at the
games because he's just from that area.
Right.
It's like, yeah.
If someone,
now, if they,
if they, like,
double down and write songs
about the Predators,
I will be all for that.
Oh, did you see the Predators hype video
that some fans put out?
No.
Oh, it's not good.
I haven't seen it.
Really? Is it, what kind of bad?
Like,
it's,
it's,
the choreography,
it's weird.
It's like,
it's like a song that really doesn't have any words to it.
There's like four words in the whole song.
It's like a minute and a half,
and it's just a bunch of dudes
wearing Predators stuff.
dancing. It's just not
It's not fun. It's not
surreal. It takes itself too seriously.
For me, if you want to have like a fight song,
you'd have like a silly song. You're like,
hey, we're the Predators and we're here to say
the Stanley Cup is coming our way.
But like this, this was a little too.
Yeah, I'm a song writer.
Hey, we're the Predators.
Dang-Danguer to say. Or something right, right, right, something twangy.
We love the Stanley Cup. It's
coming our way. Now we're on
fucking whose line. We're just doing a hookah.
Who's the Ottawa celebrity?
Oh my God.
God.
Is there an Ottawa story?
Well, I like to watch their predators.
I watch them every day.
I like to drink from the Stanley Cup.
Because hockey I do play.
If it's a ho-down from Ho's Line, you always have to kind of word-sallet it a little
bit to make the lyrics work.
That's the way it works.
Have you ever been on Whose Line?
No, I can't say that I have.
Do you know?
Are you speaking from experience?
I just know.
I speak from experience.
Greg's like, listen, when you're on Who's Line is it anywhere.
I watched the British version of it when it was on Comedy Central.
and then I watch the Dr. Carey version of it.
So I know a thing or two about...
When Greg says he's watching...
Televice.
He's actually really watching Old Hues Lines in his basement.
Oh, I'm watching Old Huss Lines is on my TV.
I'm watching it until I have to get up and pee.
See, he's like a little bit too good to have not his practice.
He was working out.
Oh, wait.
That's why he was late to it.
It's me, Wayne Brady.
Oh, my God, Wayne Brady.
It's you all the whole time.
That's me.
I'm the co-host of Puck Sue.
Wow, big reveal.
Charlotte Wilder, where can people find your stuff?
You can find my stuff on SBNation.com.
This is a sports website.
Slash Charlotte Rules.
I'm on Twitter at The Wilder Things, which you can follow at your own peril because it's bad.
Tweets are bad.
Never tweet, but I do, anyway.
Her brand is bad tweets and.
things being sports.
My brand is bad tweets and then people just saying Charlotte after I tweet that.
I'm like, what?
That is my name here.
Without question, a mark of something brilliant having been around.
It's really just.
Shallet Warnet.
Shalbert.
Have I ever of a Charlotte Hornet sign?
Oh my God.
Oh my God.
Okay.
Here, sorry.
I'm going to take a breath.
And no, so the thing I want more than anything in the entire world is a Charlotte Hornet starter jacket.
Oh, you think.
Oh, that's a lot.
Got to be old ones.
Yeah, and there's one I've had my eye on.
And I'll tweet about it sometimes, hoping that, like, some creep cares enough to, like, buy it and mail it to, well, I don't.
Like a wish list?
Well, no.
So I stopped doing that because I realized that it was really, like, kind of fucked up.
But I'm debating whether or not to spend $100 on a Charlotte Hornets.
Well, I don't know.
I pay the shipping and handling, and we just get dinner.
Is that what's coming?
No, yeah.
Well, so I realized I was setting myself up for that.
And then I was like, oh, fuck, no.
And then as my mom, I was like, hey, mom, for my birthday, will you get me this?
And she just texts me back.
She says, I don't think you need that.
Wow.
Did you ever think about reaching out to, like, Mugsy Bogsie Bokes?
Also, I had a Mugsy Bokes jersey, or I stole it from someone in college.
So there.
Was it Mugsy Bouges?
No, I wish.
But then I gave it back.
I gave the jersey back to the person that it belonged to.
What's wrong with you?
I don't know.
I've since lost all morals and any sense of decency.
So I would have kept it today.
Here's what you do.
What?
You pitch it to Spencer or whoever you're like your boss for pitching stuff for the SB Nation and say,
I'm going to buy this and wear it out and then write about it.
So this way it's...
Oh, yeah.
No, I've already tried to expense it.
And Elena was like, you need to reevaluate everything that you just said to me.
And I was like, yeah, no, no, no, no, get it.
My name is Charlotte.
Yeah, I was like, no, no, see, Elena.
It's like, it's sport.
And she was like, you're fired.
What if I was to drive a Maserati for two years?
It's sort of an enterprise piece.
Right.
Or you get a Charlotte Checkers jersey and walk around holding checkers and say, I'm Charlotte Checkers.
Jesus.
Oh, wow.
I don't think, Dave.
Wait, hold on.
There's more sports teams there.
Hold on.
We need to go.
Charlotte, thank you so much for being on the show.
You're the best.
It's been a pleasure.
You guys are the best.
Thank you.
And if anybody wants to send her a starter jacket from the Charlotte Hornets,
reach out.
In a non-creepy way.
Send it to Dave's apartment.
We'll be the intermediary here to protect her.
But if it fits me, I'm keeping it.
Oh, fuck.
Sorry.
Thanks to Charlotte Wilder for joining us.
That Trump story harassment stuff was a little harrowing.
Yeah, I wasn't aware of how they went after, like, not one after, I guess, went after, yeah, went after, like, her family.
Like, that's a weird thing.
We introduced her to Tim Hines when she left, and then she went to the elevator, and I went back to Tim.
and yeah
Tim's from Boston
Yeah Tim didn't know who she was
When Chief of her
I met her
I mentioned Tim
I'm like
I'm like hey remember that
Patriots or Trump's team
story on SB Nation
yeah
I'm like yeah
she wrote it
and um
did you ever see Dr.
Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
Oh did he get Matt
his expression
definitely changed
and he actually said
No no no no I think it's that
I just think he's a Patriots guy
and he's just like
he's like
I wish he could have told me that
before you know
I would not have shaking her hand.
I would not have shaking that woman's hand.
It was a much different experience.
We had Katie Nolan from Boston here when he was chasing her down to do content for you.
Hey, you know, you're normally, if you're not doing nothing, you can come by and do some videos.
Why?
Why wouldn't you shake her in?
You don't fuck with Tommy.
Ryan Getslap was fine.
This is a little bit old, but we want to bring it up anyway because we didn't talk about it.
$10,000 for calling a referee a cock sucker and not getting suspended.
for it despite Andrew Shaw
getting suspended a year ago
for using a gay slur
in a game
both of them
are only punished because they got caught on camera
by the way which is one of the biggest problems
I have with all of this by the way
all of this exists in every game
but we're only going to worry about it
to quote unquote clean up the ice
when it gets caught on camera
like that kind of seems a little
counterproductive
like maybe maybe guys are going to skate around
with their gloves over their mouths being like
that's how they get around it.
So you're telling me that like whenever a catcher goes out to the man
and talk to a picture, they're just shouting gaislers at each other all.
They're all going to be, you know,
an assistant, a defensive coordinator
in the NFL and put the big plastic sheet over their mouths.
Oh, by way, in baseball, that's what happens.
Sometimes the catcher will go over the mouth.
I was unaware of this in baseball.
Does the camera follow them or does the ball there?
Actually, there's a thing called the hidden ball trick.
So that's probably what guy you can,
I did that in college.
The, um, the, sorry, what, the, so, oh, sorry.
Did, uh, did you feel like he should be suspended?
Yeah, you should have got the same exact thing as I did your shot?
Once you set precedent, it's precedent.
Like, I understand how that word might seem like vague, like, like the F word or the F-A word is a little more on the nose.
And I feel like if you're referencing sucking cock, I can see how you could maybe be like,
trust me everyone who replied to me with a duck's fucking avatar on Twitter was like everybody
can suck cock right like thanks thanks lady thanks thanks thanks gene duck 62 for explaining to me
what goes on with penises and mouths like that 69 says like i i like that word i don't know it's
it's it's it's it's it's it's i think it could be a context thing but i feel like when you shout it in
that way at another dude that's that's what you're going for so in that case you should definitely
get the Andrew Shaw treatment.
Here's my problem.
If you found it to be offensive enough,
we're going to fine them $10,000 for it.
Yeah, exactly.
And not 2,500, which is the norm for like on sportsmen like shit.
But the max, you clearly felt it crossed the line
into a territory that is not becoming
of the National Hockey League,
a territory that could be offensive
to a segment of your fan population.
One assumes that's your gay fans.
So I don't honestly I don't I think when Colin Campbell levied that I don't think he considered the the homophobic nature of the word
But why would you hit him with a $10,000 fine?
Because it was a curse word that was saw saw on a song but you could say you could say anything
That's that's the thing is like if he if he got caught saying mouthing motherfucker
He would not be fine I don't know no he wouldn't be fine on camera it's because it's that word
But that that's what I keep that's what I keep going back to those because if it's that word then you would treat it the same as the Andrew
Shaw word. Correct. That's my problem with it, is that there was clearly something about that
word that necessitated a fine. If that word was offensive to that point where it necessitated
a fine, then it means it's in the same ilk as the word that Shaw used that earned him a
suspension. I think if he shouts it at a player, it might be different because he shouted at a referee,
I think, is the difference. Which is insane. Right. Andrew Shaw was just kind of screaming in the
penalty box. But let's be honest here. Like, at the end of the day, at the
you hit on this just earlier. At the end of the day, this comes back to the same thing as
when player safety decides to punt on a punishment because it's a bunch of old school people
and they're looking at a thing and they're just like, why would we suspend them? That's just the way it is.
And I think that word is probably bandied about the NHL offices and probably bandied about by Colin Campbell himself.
Right. I don't know if it's bandied about it. Honestly, I do think it's a word where
like I'm not saying I go around saying it every day or anything but it's like a word where like
like we talked about this with the Andrew Shaw thing like like definitely like when I was younger
I would say things like if somebody would like run out of a bar and people want to go home I'd be like
don't be gay right and then you realize what you're saying right I think this is word is I think
this word is it is almost the exact same thing and that's why it sucks so bad is because
not to use that word again but but again what Andrew Shaw had had happened like that word is
his word is very on the nose.
You know what it means.
You know what he was saying.
And the next day or whatever it was,
like he apologized.
He was remorseful.
He realized his mistake.
And that was because the NHL made him realize his mistake.
Right.
And here the NHL,
this is the part that sucks.
It's not that he doesn't miss a game.
Like, yeah,
it sucks for that sort of situation.
But the part that is really bad is Brian gets off.
Then after the game gets to sort of give the boys will be boys apology.
As if,
because like in his mind,
that word is the same thing as saying,
asshole or motherfucker.
Right.
And I get why he would think that.
But that's when you can have.
And the thing is like, like, Patrick Burke works for the NHL.
He's, he, he, he came up with you can play.
And I understand it's two different departments and they're probably not talking to each other about it.
But that's where you can have someone there step up and be like, no, here's, here's why that's the same thing.
And here's why he needs to know that.
And that didn't happen.
That's the worst part for me.
I mean, my, my problem is the same kind of thing where I feel like a guy who has probably used that word in an email subject is the one who is determining what defines should be.
Yeah.
How he's still employed at the NHL is beyond me.
You've had some beef with player safety lately, yeah.
I mean, the Tommy Wingles hit needs to be a game.
Right.
That's the most obvious.
It's seven fucking nothing.
And he's trying to hit a guy in the head.
And player safety is just like, well, he didn't hit him in the head that hard.
Yeah.
At some point, you need to change the name of the department
from something besides player safety,
because you apparently are not in the business of making things safer for players.
And we're only a couple of years removed.
when I remember James Neal got a suspension
for just running around trying
to injure somebody. Because he need Bradmore
Shannon the head intentionally. No, it was
in that Penguins
Flyers series back when he was
with the Penguins. Remember he didn't actually
hurt anybody? He just tried to hurt
like two people as much as he could. That was the shiny area though,
wasn't it? Yeah, it was the shanty era. Yeah, like now
it's just player safety, just
again, and going back to Getslaff, another reason
too where I think he didn't get suspended is because
Andrew Shaw sucks at hockey and Ryan Getson.
Slough is their best player, and they were going into a game five at that point, so you don't want to
take him off the ice.
That's whatever they say.
That's part of it.
It's the same thing with Tommy Wingles and Scott Wilson.
Scott Wilson, Sydney Crosby, Tommy Wingles gets a game.
You would never hear an argument about, oh, he didn't hit him that hard in the head.
He would get a game instantly.
And that's just, that's just, that's just, player safety.
When Colin Campbell ran it, it was the Wheel of Justice.
I think there was some hockey blog that created that.
I don't know who it was.
I have to look at it.
I probably bar down.
I think he might have done it.
First?
Yeah, first.
Oh, yeah.
They invented it.
And then Shani came in.
It was just like, Pierre Mark Bouchard, you're going to get 10 games for trying to lift a stick and missing.
And now we're back to Koli Times again, where the one suspension that happened, the Matt
Calvert suspension wasn't going to happen until the entire hockey girl was like, what are you fucking insane?
Matt Calvert tried to mug a guy in the same situation where the game was over and he just wanted to hurt a guy.
Coley Time sounds like the worst Canadian version of good times, by the way.
Coley Time is actually what I call it when I go to get my prostate.
All right.
get to the mailbag uh picks sir let's say it's the predators and penguins what do you got
uh i think the predators beat ottawa i think they beat ottawa in six i'll i'll say they win it
at home because i love the idea of of the giant silver spatoon being skated around bridgestone arena
and everybody'd be like i'll tell you this ottawa wins game seven just give her a cross on the cons smite
now win or lose he'll win the consmite for sure there's no one on otta or on nashville that'll get it
We're gonna.
Peckerene.
No, he's, he's the leader for the award.
He was, he's not, he wasn't good in the third round.
He wasn't that good, but I mean, it's not as if he,
you think Eric Carlson's going to win it as a losing player?
100%.
Holy shit, I would be stunned if that happened.
If Pecker René was Peca Labouchard from Quebec, he would have the inside track,
but now we have two guys that aren't Canadian, and who do you like more?
Sweden or Finland?
I think the Swedes might have the inside track with the Canadian voters.
I don't know, the Swedes just won Worlds.
Oh, good point.
Mm-hmm.
Oh, yeah, it's another thing we didn't really talk about
because we got to wrap this up quick.
But, boy, Sweden really celebrates that exhibition tournament
win like nobody else, huh?
Yeah, gold helmets, swimming fountains.
Boy, way to win that exhibition tournament that nobody cares about you.
We're going to get that in a second.
But I say predators over Ottawa and six.
I say penguins over predators and seven.
Oh, that's serious.
I can't.
That fucking team has shown so much resiliency.
They're going to, they're getting healthier.
Like, Hornquist is going to be back,
uh, allegedly, and then Schultz is getting,
healthier. I just feel like at the end of the day, like, Nashville's great, but the penguins will find a way.
They just will. If they get past Ottawa, they're going to find a way. I don't know, man. Like,
Nashville and Pittsburgh are like, they're like Superman and Bizarro Superman, where one team has
super awesome centers. The other team is like down to nothing at center. One team has four super great
defensemen. The other team has, has a problem because Chad Ruehito can't play. So then it becomes
Matt Murray versus Pecorane.
Who do I like more in that matchup? I think I like
Matt Murray a little bit more at this point.
Yeah. Penguins and seven.
Who has Home Wice in that series?
Penguins do, right? Yeah, Hensai, Sarada
will have the... Penguins and seven.
Well, let's open up the Puck Soup mailbag for a couple things here.
Dugan wants to know, if they had a best referee award,
would more penalties be called, and what would they name it?
So you're saying if there was like a quota, like a cop with a speed trap for referees?
Yeah, yeah.
It's really funny.
If they pull over a guy.
What did I?
I wasn't doing anything.
You were hooking him a little bit there.
Oh, it's because the game's almost over and you're going to have the quote for your penalties, huh?
Oh, no, that last day of the month thing is a fallacy, sir.
That's not true at all.
We don't have any quotas to make.
I would say it would probably be, I know my, I mean, it would probably be like, okay, I'm going to say it's the Andy Van Hellman Award.
See, I was going to go Donko Harski D donut award.
Because you don't want to ever have a donut when it comes to the number of penalties on the scoreboard.
I don't know about if there should be a referee award, but we've mentioned on the podcast before.
the Lady Bing should be an award the referee's handout to players.
They would know better than anyone who is gentlemanly on the ice.
I like that.
And, yeah, but something has to happen, too, with the culture of refereeing,
where fucking Ryan Johansson murdering to Josh Manson at the end of that game
where they tied it and then I won it overtime.
Like, oh, my God, like, that's just...
Game management, my friend, playoffs are a different place.
Yeah.
Boy, I mean, you know it's a bad situation when, like, after game six in the Penguin series,
you're showing on NBC and you here, yeah.
You know what they should do?
Start calling some penalties.
I'm like, wait, you hit a guy with a shoe.
You took off your shoe and assaulted somebody with footwear.
This officiating is out of hand.
Call up penalties.
I'm like, oh, Jesus.
Like, yeah, how does a referee on the ice not see the Tommy?
Like, I get the one in game six where Kyle Turris went back and hit Crosby in the face a little bit there.
I'm going who it was.
But, like, that one was kind of subtle in the puck had just left the area.
How do you not see the Tommy Wingles forearm?
And you should be, that's all you should be looking for at that point when at 7-0 is attempted murders.
Like, let the boys play.
Fuck you.
No.
do your job.
My favorite thing in the world would have been
when Mike Hoffman squirted the water
bottle at Crosby in game six.
Did you see that when he was on the bench?
Oh, you know what?
I was watching that GIF.
I was watching it over and over again.
I couldn't fit because it was like,
yeah.
My thought was hitting it with the stick and they were like,
I couldn't see it was happening on the bench.
That's good to know.
He sprayed him with his water bottle
and my only hope would be,
and I know this has happened to Sid before,
but my only hope would be that
Sid starts smoking
and little balls well up on his back
like Gremlin
and then other Sidney Crosby's pop off of him.
Why isn't that a fine, by the way?
I didn't see if you got fine or not, to be honest.
I don't think he did.
The stick in the shoulder thing is funny.
Like, that's okay.
But you can't be like, all right, it's okay to now squirt guys with your water bottle from the bench.
Well, I mean, methad had to poke him with a stick because he's not going to use his thing.
Sorry.
Brady McIsaac wants to know when my girlfriend eats pizza, she eats the first slice completely normal.
Oh, yeah.
But all slices after, she takes off all the toppings, including the cheese.
That seems like don't buy it.
her pizza.
I saw it.
No.
Disagree.
No?
I go the other way.
Like, his question is, what do I do about this?
Eat the first piece naked.
No.
Well, I mean, you can do whatever you want when you have a dinner with your girlfriend,
but he's,
see, this isn't a bad thing.
You're splitting a pizza with somebody, right?
You're having four slices each.
Here you're splitting it with your girlfriend.
She has one regular slice, and then she takes off the cheese and toppings off the rest, right?
Right.
You know what that is for you?
What?
More cheese and toppings.
Marry her.
Marry her and have pizza every night.
Maddie that girl.
What is that?
That's why you got to be so rude.
Come on, you drink during the summer.
You've heard that fucking song.
Why you got to tick the cheese off?
I'm going to marry you anyway.
Kung Fu Kanuk wants to know.
Who are the worst players to win the Khan-Smife?
John McSabash.
Not in the playoff they won, but based on entire careers, Ward, Claude Lemieux, Bill Ranford.
Bill Ranford wasn't that bad.
Wait, what's the question?
Who won the cons might but didn't deserve it?
Yeah, who, no, who was the worst player to win one?
Oh.
Claude Lemieux.
He won with Colorado, right?
I won't know the Devils.
I'm looking at the list.
I'm seeing Roger Crozier, won the second one ever.
Wasn't he a running back for the Niners?
Or Austin Crozier, he was the guy in Seton Hall.
I would, I would, I would, J.S. Chaguerre, oh, like over there.
J.S. Shear is probably the answer.
Is J.S. Hold on. I think Jiggy had a better career than Cam Ward did.
Oh, right. Cam Ward. Yeah, that's probably the answer.
Or, or Justin Williams?
Who had a worst career? Justin Williams or Cam Ward.
Cam Ward. Yeah, that's not close. Cam Ward.
All right, so the answer is Cam Ward.
Short-handed news wants to know. The Double IHF Worlds were a great tournament with world-class players.
Look at Sweden or Canada. Why is the North American media so calm about it?
And I guess by calming means, why do we steadfastly ignore it?
Because we're watching the Stanley Cup playoffs.
We're watching the best league in the world and it's playoff tournament.
Why doesn't anybody watch the exhibition football tournament in Hungary during the NFL playoffs?
I don't understand because nobody cares.
No one cares.
It's your tournament.
It's Europe's tournament.
You guys have fun with it.
Go crazy.
Get in the hot tub with your uniform on and drink beer at the airport.
Go nuts.
Have fun.
Get drunk and not be able to get on the plane because TSA is afraid you're too drunk to get on the plane.
Go nuts.
Have a blast.
I don't care.
All right, two more.
Pablo Jesus wants to know Cheetos or Doritos.
Ooh.
How is this even an ooh?
Doritos all day, all night, baby.
I, okay.
Cool Ranch Doritos and a subway sandwich.
Are we talking to crunchy Cheetos?
Because that's my answer.
I love the crunchy Cheetos.
I think he's talking about peak Cheetos.
The puffies?
Oh, no, no.
Cheetos are the crunchy with Chester Cheetah.
Yeah.
No, you're thinking of cheesy poofs.
Yeah.
Have you had the hot, that flaming hot Cheetos?
I have.
And I still think that Peak Dorito is better than Peak Cheeto.
I go into Flaming Hot Cheetos knowing that in nine hours, I'm going to have the worst pain ever as I take a shit.
Still worth it.
Still, they taste that good going down that I'm willing to deal with the pain coming out.
Wow.
This is a podcast about hockey, folks.
As Charlotte mentioned, poo is something that you expect from sports writers.
That's sports.
We talk about poop, Bruce Springsteen, and a,
Apparently, whoever sings that, why I got to be so rude song.
Is that Sean Paul?
Who is it again?
Why are you going to take go poo?
No, it was, I forget the name of the band.
Magic, I think, was name of the band.
Gonna eat the Cheetos anyway.
And finally, our good friend, Dan Straight Edge, who has to get on every podcast.
Yeah, apparently.
If you could pick any sports team to go championship lists for 50 years, who would it be?
So you could wave your wand and make a thing.
team. Well, I mean, obviously, you know, based on our guest today, the Patriots would be number
one probably on my list. 50 years, though. I mean, like, I'm 39. I'm not going to make it to 90.
Like, I want to, I want to shorten, I don't want to, I don't want to ruin anybody else's
championship situation after I'm gone. You know what I mean? Like, if I say 50 years, what if I'm
dead at 70? Like, I've ruined 10 years of the Leafs. No, I like that. You kind of want to win now.
I do, too. I don't, I don't want Montreal to win the Cup as long as Shea Weber's there because
it's funnier and it lets me write more jokes about FK. Siouxvan being better. Patriots is
probably the answer. I'll say
Patriots. Winnipeg Jets
just because, you know, they'll have
I mean, that means that like every place they move
to in those 50 years
will also not win a cup. But see that now you're
inflicting pain on like, you know, Quebec
or Seattle, that's me. Like any team? Oh,
that's fucking easy. I'm sorry. Yankees?
Yankees, yeah. That's the only answer.
So I hated the Yankees back in the day when they were
winning a lot, but like now they're kind of entertaining and fun
to watch. I like the Yankee. Yeah, people dressing up
like judges coming to the game. They have the judges
chambers out in the outfit. It's hilarious.
But seriously, the Yankees.
Yeah?
Oh, yeah.
As someone who's had to live through this as a Mets fan.
Oh, man.
If I, let me put it this way.
If I could, if Biel's above himself appeared, he's like, hello, Greg.
I have a devil's bargain for you.
And I'll be like, all right.
Why is he Cajun?
Is the devil live in Louisiana?
What's the bargain?
Crawfish, a bucket of crawfish for you.
I would
If he gave me a devil's bargain
And I said
And he's like, he's like
I will make the Yankees
Uh, home
I'll make the
I'll make the
All right
He just says listen
I'll make the Yankees
A championship list for 50 years
But you have to agree
To make the Mets
Championship lists
For those same 50 years
Okay
I would take that bargain
Every day of the week
Again, this entire podcast
Has just accidentally
proved
that you would actually do that to your own team
because you hate another team that much.
I'm taking you with me.
All right, we got to wrap up.
Thanks to Charlotte for joining us.
I would say that was good Charlotte.
Yeah, she's a great Charlotte.
Follow her on Twitter and also on SB Nation.
And then, yeah, thanks for everyone for joining us.
We're going to probably do a live show, by the way, in New York,
so pay attention to the Twitter feed for that.
Yeah, we're figuring that way.
I'm Greg Wishing, Steve, Yvi Sports.
Follow me on Twitter at Wasinski.
You could read my book, take your eye off the puck.
You can read our book, 100 Greatest Players in HL History and other stuff.
Has them all on it.
That's Dave.
That's it.
Bye.
See you.
Good.
Bye.
Good show.
Good show.
Bye.
Be-boo-boo-boo-p-doo.
