Puck Soup - Chris #2 of Anti-Flag
Episode Date: January 26, 2017Greg and Dave welcome Pittsburgh Penguins fan Chris Barker, a.k.a. Chris #2, from the punk band Anti-Flag to talk Mario Lemieux, how hockey is punk rock, his sneaky plans to get punk music at NHL game...s and what art is going to look like under the Trump administration. Plus, we rank the NHL All-Star Game skills competitions, discuss our new book "The 100 Greatest Players In NHL History (and other stuff)," finally review ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STORY, discuss the finer points of Limp Bizkit, debate the best donuts and food combinations and offer our take on NHL entertainment. Sponsored by Seat Geek!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seatkeek, the smartest way to find hockey tickets this season or any season.
I use it all the time because there is nothing like watching live hockey inside the arena,
munching on the popcorn, dropping some of it in your beer, drinking beer corn,
as you watch the swift skaters kicking up ice shards around the boards and under the glass.
And with Seekkeek, it has never been easier to get the guaranteed seats you want for a great value.
Like I said, I use the app because you always get the best deal on every ticket,
because Seekkeek price compares for you by searching multiple ticket sites.
They can vary depending on where you shop,
but Seek will always find you the lowest available price.
I love it.
Use it all the time.
Plus, every ticket you buy on Seekek is back by their 100% guarantee,
so you can shop for tickets on Seekek with confidence.
Best of all, if you are a listener to Puck Soup,
you can get $20 off your first Seat Geek purchase.
What you do, download the Seat Geek app, go to the Settings tab,
click add a promo code.
Enter the promo code, S-O-U-P, that spells soup.
and seek equal send you $20 after you've made your first purchase.
Once again, Seeky Gap, Settings tab, add a promo code,
and then enter the promo code S-O-U-P.
That spells soup.
It's in the title of the very program you're listening to,
and seek-E-K will send you $20 back after you've made your first purchase.
Download the Seeky Gap today and enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary.
To what if you commute, we also cover movies, TV shows,
It's in tune.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nonsense.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Log.
And I'm Dave Lozo of Unstoppable Voter Fraud.
And you're in Puck Soup.
The 100 greatest players in NHL history and other stuff is not,
simply the title of our book, it's a way of life.
I mean, people call the Bible the good book.
I feel like we're going to change that.
This is the great book.
It's the great book.
If you haven't heard, me and Lozo and our good friend, Down Goes Brown, aka Sean
Micendoo.
Mikindu.
Mikindu.
He's a do.
He's an ooh.
Have written of tome in record time called the 100 Greatest Plains.
players in NHL history and other stuff, an arbitrary collection of arbitrary lists.
You are finding it on your Amazon.com, your iTunes, it's going to be on your Nook soon.
It's going to be on your Nook.
I did it all for the Nook.
Come on, the Nook.
Come on, so you can read the book.
Where are you on Limp Biscuit, by the way?
Because I actually, there are, I don't know if you want to call them guilty pleasures or whatever,
but you throw on Roland or you throw on Nookie in a rotation on some random serious channel.
I'm probably rocking out to it in the car.
I won't pretend I didn't enjoy limp biscuit songs at the time they were out.
I can't sit here and be like, duh, it was terrible.
Oh my God, that's such an embarrassing thing.
You loved it.
I did it all for the nookie.
Come on.
Come on.
In a lot of ways, Fred Durst is like Gary Bettman.
He's the head of the thing that you kind of like, but wish he wasn't the face of it.
You kind of wish there was maybe somebody else doing things that would be a lot better.
But you're not sure because it's always been him.
Like a chump
I did it all for the revenue
The revenue
So you can get on TV
It's all in P.M. McGuire's ass
Pia McGuire's ass
He put my tender
Salary cap in a blender
And still I surrender
No wait, isn't that
Isn't that three doors down?
Nope, that was
That was
My Tender
Yeah
And he quotes the song
in Nookie. I think it's Nookie.
She put my tender,
Hardenna Blender, and still a surrender, like a chomp.
Oh, yeah. Yeah, that's right.
I don't know why my friend, my friend Drissa
like Chuck D. There.
Chuck Dinsmore?
Chuck Dinsmore, the NHL partner.
Base, how low can you go?
Death Row! What a brother knows!
I get Limp Bizget confused with like three other bands
from that's from that time.
And one of them is the band that
he kind of like promoted a little bit
and got them on the map, I think.
They had that song.
They did, like, I'd do it.
I'm on the out.
Who, like, Stained was it?
Stained.
Yeah.
Like, all those bands.
Like, there's that band.
Stained was an interesting one because if memory serves, the lead singer looked like Duff Goldman,
the guy who made the cakes in Baltimore, the big fat guy with the beard.
Who the hell is Duff Goldman?
See, that's, you, you tried to reference the show Chopped before we came on the air,
and it occurred to me you had no fucking idea what's on the food network.
No, because.
He's the ace of cakes.
I base it on the episode of Futurama where Bender becomes a chef and doesn't know how to cook.
And there's like a, there's like a really weird, like Asian guy who screams things and stuff.
Is that like the same show?
No, no.
So anyway, Portly guy with a beard and he would always be like sitting in a chair.
It seemed like he, Stain was like a very, it seemed like someone saw Nirvana's unplugged and said,
oh, we could just do that?
We could just sit in chairs and wear sweaters and shit, not have to do anything?
Would you consider staying one of the top 100 bands of all time?
Oh, right.
We have a bookout.
So the 100 greatest players in NHL history and other stuff is our list.
There's a lot of lists in the book, but this one, the main gist of it is that it's our list of the top 100 players.
And it's ranked.
And it's ranked.
Unlike the NHL, which is just going to dump a lump of players on you Friday.
We took the time.
We took the time for you.
To rank.
For you.
The people.
For you.
The people.
So we, but the thing that I wanted to do with the list, and maybe you agree is like.
I do.
Thank you.
I really feel like all of the centennial stuff is being completely disingenuous with the fact that the athletes today and the game today and everything else today is exponentially better than the Clapper era.
The Gump Worsley era.
The Gump Worsley-Lan is on our list, but that's just because we kind of like the name, I think.
It's a good name.
Newsie.
Honestly, if his name was Newsy Sundeen, he'd probably be on our list.
Let's be fair.
Plus, I'm a huge fan of that Christian Bale musical about New Zealand's life.
Yeah, that was good.
They all sing and dance and they all wear those paper boy hats.
Yeah, that's great.
The thing about the list is, the NHL's list, is clearly it's just a way to get you to tune in on a Friday, help the ratings, promote players and stuff.
And again, we keep coming back to this where we think there's only going to be six guys on the current list.
But maybe there won't be, but maybe there will be.
Right.
I'm okay with not having a ton of current guys on the list if you just want to come.
the guys from their era versus guys from their era.
Because you're right.
Like Alex Ovechkin, as we may have brought up for about 45 minutes, one show,
would travel back in time and murder everybody if he played hockey.
He'd have 100 goals by the end of the first period of his first game.
But like, I'm okay if you're just like,
Matt Sundeen compared to the guys in his era was very good but not great.
So let's not put him on the list, even though he would travel back in time
and he would hand New Zealand as lunch.
But again, if you're doing this as a promotional vehicle,
and today of Gennie Malkin pulls out of the All-Star game.
He's like, oh, I got a lower body injury all of a sudden.
I don't even know I played like 21 minutes last night.
Right.
And I'm going to miss the all-star game.
Does that mean he's not going to be on the list because that's insane to me?
He's, I wrote about this today.
His career is not over yet.
He's 30 or 30-1.
Malkin?
Yeah.
If you look at his career next to say Peter Forsberg, he's done more in his time than
Forsberg did.
And Forgeberg is going to be on the list.
Please.
He's never been on a fucking potion stamp, obviously.
Forzburg all day.
Oh, please.
Like, anybody mails anything today anyway.
That's bullshit.
We mail it in every week.
But I'm bummed.
Thank you, everybody.
But Malkin should be on the list.
But him pulling out makes me wonder if he's not going to be on the list.
So, wait.
So then, do you disagree?
Because, spoiler warning, Malkin is 53rd on our list, and Foresburg is 41st.
Do you disagree with that?
Well, on my list, I think I had Malkin one spot ahead of Forgeberg.
Okay.
Are you okay with the way it shook out with me and down goes brown?
You guys are Forgeberg apologists.
You guys hate the Russians.
I'm like me, which is a big fan of the Russians.
Is that the one that you're most pissed off about as far as like the list itself?
I'm not really pissed off about anything.
I wish that Sid could be higher, but I don't.
Sid in our list, by the way, is 16.
And that's probably the highest you're going to find him on a lot of lists unless someone.
I don't think he's top 10, but I think he might be top 13.
I think you can make a case for him being in the top 10.
Yeah.
It's just tough.
It's like because guys' careers aren't over.
yet. Like when his, that's what I mean, like, when Malkins' career is over, it's probably
going to be top 30. When Crosby's is over, he's probably going to be top five.
McDavid, McDavid, when his career is over, is probably going to be top 10.
Right. So, what do you do at this point?
I wish that the guys, like, like, I mean, Leflore, bossy, like, there's a few of the guys
that made their bones in the 80s and, like, the late 70s.
You hate the 80s.
I don't, I mean, I hate a lot of things about the 80s.
I hated jelly bracelets.
About a hot tub time machine. That takes place.
I hated the 1980s parts of Totsub Time Machine.
I like the part where they're in the hot tub now, and then Chevy Chase is just like there.
But then when they go back in time, I'm like, nah, man.
It's such an underrated idea where they go back in time and they get somebody at the bar to bet on the John Elway Cleveland Brown's game.
And then like the squirrel shows up and fucks up the game and they lose all their money.
Right.
Like that's, I mean, I'm sorry.
That's just a very, I haven't seen the sequel.
That's an underrated.
I haven't seen the sequel either.
I have a problem with the guys in the 80s who,
collected goals left in the night. It makes me think of like when people bring up like
the mash finale and they're like 300 million people watch the finale of mash. I'm like there
were three networks and PBS. There was fuck all to do. But again, this is like this is like
comparing Malkin to like sloppy Johansson or whoever played in 1926. A sloppy Johansson
sir. Slopi Johansson. He was the first suite to fire a slap shot. Look it up people. It's on
Wikipedia. But like you compare eras. Like you compare
Matches finale to like I don't know the fucking finale of
Taxi. You compare you compare
Mike Bossy to guys in it. Like Mike
Mike Bossy was insane when he played. Like Mike Bossy if he played his whole career
probably would have caught Gretzky and goals. Like that's how good he was.
I didn't mean to throw shade at Mike Bossy. It's mainly
throwing shade at Gila Fleur.
Right, it's hard. It's hard because like again this is like
this is almost like our boss Jonah Carey
pumping up Tim Raines like who he didn't really get to watch
a ton of as a kid. But
you're just going by numbers and stuff.
So, I don't know.
There's arguments for and against.
I understand that.
I guess the one I was sort of surprised by how high he was on our list was Curry at 49.
Yeah.
I always think of him as a product of Gretzky, but at the same time, like, as I think you pointed out in your write-up,
he also had a pretty damn good output, you know, when Gretzky was gone.
So his numbers, like, his numbers, the first two years, Gretzky left, his numbers were exactly the same.
better.
Yeah.
And I was happy to see Belfour make the list pretty high.
You know, the thing about, again, the thing about the list I like the most is that we're not
shying away from the modern guys.
I hate the idea that, like, you can't look at Eric Carlson or you can't look at Duncan
Keith and say they're exponentially better than some defensemen from the 1940s who never
handled the puck.
Eric Carlson won't be on the NHL's list.
No.
I will walk to Los Angeles if he's the NHLIN.
Who do you think the sixth?
So we've gotten this before, but let's do it again here.
Sid OV
Sid OV
It's going to be Taves
Taves Cain
Sure
Will it be Malkin?
I don't know
Wait
We're forgetting somebody
No no we're not
Who are forgetting
Goleys
Carrey Price
Oh
Carrey Price
Is the Patrick Kane
version of goaltenders
Where
We had this idea
That they've been super awesome
Their whole entire careers
Like Carrie Price
Has been really good
His last three years
He just kind of became
Carrey Price recently
like Patrick Kane was better
younger than Price was younger
but Price was always very good
Here is the original headline
And I don't really know how anyone could have misread this
When the headline is six current players
named NHL's 100 greatest players list
Yeah, I don't know how you could have missed that
I don't want to miss that all right
Fake news
The speculation at the time was Crosby
Taves
Kane
And then
Oh, Yager
That's who we're missing
Because he's not in the All-Streft team
but he's going to be there
So Crosby, Taves, Cain, Ovi, Yager, and then, according to Nick Kiprios, there's even some talk about maybe Drew Doughty, Duncan Keith, or is Dachara being on the list.
O'Hara's not going to be there, but he's on our list and he should be on the list, which means it could be either Keith or Doughty.
It's in L.A., so you'd imagine to be Doughty.
Can you imagine putting a guy in a top 100 team because the All-Star game half of the fall in his city where he plays?
I'm sorry, you are someone who covers the National Hockey League?
Number 81, Anjicopatar, number 88, Jeff Carter.
And number one, Luke Robatat.
There you go, baby.
Okay, so my six would be Ovechkin, Crosby, Yager, Aginla, Chara, and...
If I had to only pick six, I would say...
Again, I've had this conversation on this podcast like six times and the other one, like four times.
Duncan Keith is a more important better player at his position compared to Patrick Kane and Jonathan Taves over the course of his career.
So he would probably be my sixth.
All right.
No goalies.
We're proud of our list.
You know, the thing that makes me the happiest is that the people have read the book and thank you everybody who's bought it so far.
If you haven't bought it, it's cheap.
It's only $5.99.
It's an e-book.
So, like, and it's a good read and a quick read.
The thing I've been very happy about is we've gotten a lot of notes from people that are like, hey, I wanted to hate your list.
straight away, but then I read it, and it's actually really good.
Like, it's a, I think we did a good, it's the best list.
We did a good job on the categories, and we did a good job on the ranking, and I think
that people will read it and be like, I don't necessarily agree with some of this shit,
but you guys reasoned it out, and this is probably around where I would expect this person
to be.
See, our problem, though, is that our list is too perfect.
And here's why, is think about how the Twitter works.
Think about how the social media's work.
When does something get passed around nonstop?
It's when people fucking hate it.
Yeah.
It's when people are like this fucking, look at this thing this idiot wrote.
And then they link to it and it gets clicks.
And no one at your place cares how you get the clicks.
The clicks are there.
If we could have just like fucked it up a little bit more,
like gone like the Skip Bayless hot take route.
Like number one, Yardier-Yager.
For example, Mick Kern of NHL Network Radio put out his top 100 list.
Who's Mick Kern?
Yeah, Mick Kern is a host on,
on Sirius XM NHL Network
Radio. He's got a cool name.
And he put,
you'll love this.
Oh, no, I won't.
Mark Messier 5th
amongst all players ever.
So he went Or Howe-Gretzky-Lamue
He went Gretsky or How Lemieux
Messier, Brodor,
then Bellevaux Harvey,
Wa-Lidstrom.
I think you can make a case for Messier at 5.
He put, I don't think you can make a case
of Messier at 5 at all.
He's like Jonathan Tave's leadership
with like actual fucking hockey skill over richard over any goalie like again that goes back to the
whole montreal thing where like dudes on the canadians were just sweeping up cups left and right and
messier had to win his without gretsky twice i don't know it's not what i would maybe do but he put
neatermyer above larry robinson and bork all right oh that's fucking stupid i was right i was trying
to find just find that little thread to pull slide in there and say it's fucking stupid that's fucking
stupid. Are you upset? Because I'm going to name
a couple... You know why we didn't even make...
Yes, you did. He made her list. I was going to ask you about one guy that made his list
that didn't make ours. Brendan Shanahan. How did you feel about him not making a list?
He was close. He was close. Yeah, he was real close.
There was definitely...
There was definitely... Sean said something over email. We were talking about it because
like we were debating our bottom of our list.
And Sean said, Brendan Shanahan would be pissed off if he was
on the list and Darrell Sittler wasn't.
So I think at that point I was like, well, if that's...
If that's going to be the tiebreaker.
Right.
Or than Shatahanan feels like Darrell Sittler is better than him.
Let's not put Shathan there.
Who's the guy that if, when they announced this full list,
who's the guy that if he's not on the NHL list, you're like,
you just stamp it invalid?
He just, you go invalid.
It's going to be more about the guys that are on it than off of it.
Like, if they're, again, if Malkin's not on that list.
Like, I really do wonder.
What's the biggest crime, though?
Thornton or Malkin?
Gingla is going to be the bigger crime.
O'GINLA is probably the biggest crime.
Thornton, I think to me, is a bigger crime than Malkin.
At least you can say with Malkin, it's like, well, let's wait and see what he turns out to be.
But Thornton's got a longer work history.
I think I would rather have Malkin than Thornton on the list.
Because Thornton, again, he gets too much shit for playoff failure and all that stuff.
But he doesn't produce actually as well.
And the part of it's because he's a playmaker.
Whenever you see a dude who's a playmaker who doesn't have as many points in the postseason as he does in the regular season,
you know, you can only tee up guys for who we're not going to score so often.
Like, he's a playmaker.
He needs a guy on the other end to finish.
Malkins won a Kant Smyth.
He's a beast in the playoffs,
beast in their regular season.
What about Charra?
With those guys.
Charra to me, is Charra a lot?
I think a Ginnla's a lock.
I think Charra's close to being a lock.
Dominant defenseman.
Again, his greatest sin is playing in the Lidsstrom era
and the Pronger era.
He's the best non...
Who would you rather have him or Pronger Pronger?
I'd rather have Charer.
I disagree.
I think Charra is the best non-Listram.
Proger does much more for me as a skis.
Gator than Chara does.
Oh, yeah, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, that's, you're being, you're being, it's not high biased.
Yes.
Oh, the tall guy, you're absolutely right.
Well, that's just one guy is, is a, is a, is a, is a, is a, is a, is a giraffe and the other guy's a fucking brachiosaurus.
Yeah, to be fair.
Limer.
Pretty long.
Just be limber.
I don't know.
Again, I always feel like when it comes down to this shit like this, like pronger, not that you're
like this, but between like pronger and chara, whenever it's between like a dude who's
not Canadian and a dude who is Canadian,
somehow the Canadian guy gets the edge all the time
because he's a leader or some bullshit like that.
Like fucking Charra's won a cup, he's gone to a cup final.
He's still fucking pretty decent at 39 or whatever he is now.
Number nine on the NHL list is actually Paul Henderson.
That's amazing.
Wait, Paul Henderson, the guy does Leif's TV.
Henny tweets?
What else?
Give me some more bullshit on this dude's list.
I can't.
We can't spend the whole show dealing with,
the fact that he has...
Who's 69 on his list?
Norm Olman.
We can't spend the entire show talking about how Adam Oates is ranked ahead of Eric Lindross.
What?
We can't spend the whole show talking about how Boom Boom, Boom, Jeffri-on is at number 95.
What?
Behind Rajal Bear.
Come on.
Wait, wait, hold on.
Let me just think of one player who I feel like he would underrate.
Go ahead.
I just do it.
All right.
Dominic Haschik
Dominic Haschik is number 11
which I think is actually right around
where we have them too
So that's not the guy that you gotta worry about
The guy you gotta worry about is the fact that
Yari Curry is ahead of Alex Ovechkin
Oh my God
Oh my God oh my God oh my God
Oh and also in his honorable mentions
He puts
He is a Harry Curry ahead of Alexerick
Patrick Marlowe
He has Yari Curry ahead of Alex Ovechkin
Yeah
Alex
We're not going to spend
too much time of this. Buy her book. You're going to love it. But listen. Don't buy this guy's book.
I swear to God, if you, if there is anything that you learn coming out of this naval gazing
bullshit that is the centennial this year, it's this. It is so fucking hard to score goals now.
It is so hard to score goals now. It is so, I'm going to do one more time. It is so hard to
score goals now. Look at the goals per game now versus every other era in the national
hockey league. With the goalies now versus every other era.
Look at the defense, the systems, the shop blocking, the travel, everything you want to look at.
And then look at what Alex Ovechkin has done in his career.
And if you can look at all that shit and then look at that guy's stats and say, oh, fucking Yuri Curry's better.
Pack in a pack of the fucking tents.
Get out of town.
Mikey.
Dog.
Number 14 on your list.
Number 14 on the McCurn.
This, Mikey.
I made Dennis Potvin.
Holy shit, I'm sorry.
That one has even planned.
Dog.
This Dennis Potvin's got a bad bacteria compared to some other guys.
Dennis Potvin.
A brief history of defense when he's ranked ahead of.
Dennis Potvin's ranked ahead of Eddie Shore.
He's ranked ahead of Ray Bork, Larry Robinson, and Scott Neidermier.
Oh my God.
To quote the great Matthew Perry.
Oh, no, that's not Matthew.
Matthew Perry.
Oh, I think you were doing Janice.
No.
But that's my point.
That goes back to what I was saying.
If we put out an intentionally shitty list, more people would fucking talk about it.
Yeah, we just spent a fucking ten minutes talking about this shitty list.
Right, right.
God damn it.
You're right.
We were too good.
We were too good.
Oh, by the way, we're bearing the lead.
The end of the book, and this is really, if you enjoyed, I told this to Ruby when we thought of this idea.
Remember at the end of the 40-year-old virgin, how it ends with the age of Aquarius?
Yeah, and it's absurd, but yet wonderful, and maybe the most memorable thing in that movie outside of breast feeling like bags with sand.
Yeah, I don't remember too much about that movie, to be perfectly honest.
Right, except for that end.
Lozo came up with the idea, and this is all Lozo.
It's actually the, when I pitch this idea to you, I believe, we talked about it in the press box that night.
This is all based on a misunderstanding of what we were trying to do.
Right.
Which was like, here's what we're going to do.
We're going to do a top 100 list, and he goes, and we're going to have other lists as well in there.
So I thought he wanted for the Centennial 100 lists of top 100 things besides the top 100 players.
So I'm like, all right, sex names.
What names sound like sex stuff in the NHL?
Oh, Doug Brown.
So the end of the book is Our Age of Aquarius.
It is Dave Lozo's list of the 100 names that sound like sex things in the National Hockey League.
It's worth the price of the book itself.
Yeah, it's not like the first part of the book where there's actually,
An explanation.
Yeah, there's no like,
Yeah.
There's no like number 31.
Yeah.
Dickey Moore.
Yeah, that's right.
Exactly.
His name sounds like more dick.
Number 32, Cummy Burton.
His name is Cummy.
That's right.
His name is Cummy.
So that's the book.
Buy it now.
It's available on Amazon.
It's going to be able to be able to get it wherever books are sold.
Thank you to everybody who's bought the book so far.
It's doing really well.
Here's what we should do, too.
We should do that trick that podcast to where if you buy the book and leave a five-star review,
we'll read your review on the podcast.
That's a great point.
Next week, it's going to be the all great review show.
Five stars.
Actually, you probably have to say nice things, too, on that to be good.
Say whatever you want to go.
Hey, listen, let's get to our guest.
When we get back from our guest, we will...
Well, I was just burped, actually.
Sorry about that.
Very professional.
And not professional, because if I did it loud into the mic, it would have been very sort of Howard Stern.
It sounded like you were farting in a way.
No, I didn't.
In my ears, I know, obviously it didn't, but it was like...
All of this is the reason my dad can't be a podcaster, by the way.
Because he's gassy?
He's very gassy.
And the problem here, I'll tell you something about Bob Wosinski, by the way, just turned 70.
It's happy birthday, dad.
Oh, that's sad because he was 69 for a full year.
My dad has horrible.
Yeah, okay, horrible gas.
He's old.
He should have gas.
Yeah, but he's always kind of had it.
But the problem is that he would burp so much.
This is a true story.
He nearly split his pants?
No, no, no, no.
He would burp so much that, you know, if you just burp so much, it's like,
you know, whatever, right?
My dad for whatever reason,
maybe to amuse himself,
because he's a very funny man.
Sure.
When he would burp, he goes,
Yup.
Every time.
So he's like one of those people
that can burp the alphabet?
He might, but I can't do that.
I don't know if he can or if he just ended at yupp,
but every time he burps,
it's like,
I went out to hogs and heifers.
I'm like, yep.
And it's disgusting.
It's the thing from Mad Max, it sounds like.
Yeah, it's disgusting.
And, but yeah, point is that I wasted a good one.
Anyway, who's our guest to get that?
Chris Barker is.
Chris Barker.
Yes, he's from Anti-Flagg, which is a punk band from Petsburg.
So for those people that are always complaining about why, why don't you do more teams other than the Rangers?
Because you're based in New York and get everybody from New York on the show.
People say that.
Who?
Some people say.
Yeah. Who else? He's known as Chris number two. Okay. He's a bassist and
And we get into some really good stuff. We get into the penguins. We get into a lot of different subjects
Obviously as a punk band we get into a little bit of politics including we're punks. He's got political thoughts.
He does have political thoughts. A lot of them. Really interesting conversations. A couple good rabbit
holes went down with Chris and for the cross. I don't know why I have to say his name of the Pittsburgh accident.
Chris
Chris
Went to Permanis
Talked about Mario
Talked about Rob Rossi
Talked about flour
Got on the phone
Called up my agent
Anyway here's Chris
From Anti-Flag
We'll get back after this
Chris Barker is from Anti-Flag
And he is known as Chris number two
Why
There are two Chrises in the band
And I joined later
After you murdered the first man
No no he's still alive
He just is walking dead
He's
He's quiet.
He's arguably the most handsome member, but keeps to himself.
So people assume he's dead.
But no, he still lives.
Handsome brooding.
My guess was something along the lines of defecation.
Yeah, no, no, no.
And that's like one of the things, too, because it's like, we're a punk band.
You know, I rolled my eyes when I said that.
But like, so it's like, oh, number two, you know.
He takes the biggest dumps in the band.
There's just two of us.
So why is being a punk band at Pajarative?
Well, just because when people say it like that, they think that, you know, G.G. Allen and they think of...
Yeah, exactly.
Yeah, so we look at punk very differently, not as a musical genre, but as an idealism and a sense of living with empathy and caring about more than just yourself.
So I tell me more about that. That sounds crazy.
Caring about more than just yourself.
Yeah, exactly.
Like other people?
See, that's why I consider myself a pop band.
We're like a little boy band, is what I think of that says.
So in that sense, there is a, there's room for some parity whenever it comes to the word punk.
Did that, did that part of punk ever go away?
Or has it just, was it just pushed to the background because punk was co-opted by pop?
Yeah.
So it's cyclical.
I mean, it's just like everything, you know, where it begins as a kind of countercultural movement that,
was really activist. And then you had what happened in the like with the West Coast with like black flag and and and, uh, uh, circle jerks and things like that. And the media said like, oh, they're angry and they're hurting each other. And so because of that, people came to the shows angry and to hurt people. And so like it became this self-fulfilling prophecy of that versus it being like, no, we were just looking for a way to be ourselves and we couldn't be ourselves at home because mom and dad didn't like us. We couldn't be ourselves at school because,
you know, jocks didn't like us. And then now, you know, we found this place and then all of a sudden
becomes co-opted. So that happens generationally over and over again. But I think at its core,
there's always somebody who's young who finds this want to create art that, again, has empathy
or just a greater vision than just saying, like, I want to be a rock star. You know, like, a lot of
people pick up an instrument and think that immediately. But there's a lot of us that pick it up and say, like, I want to just be, I want to have friends. I don't have any friends. Like, how do I get friends? And so that's where it comes from, you know, like. What is the punk scene like in Pittsburgh? So it's, it's ever evolving because the city's ever evolving. I mean, the city was when we started the band, it was at its probably lowest point. It was right after the steel mills had left. And that really politicized the town. And I think that that's why we are a political band as we are, because we had,
aunts and uncles and, you know, my grandparents and my mom came over on a boat from Italy
for work. And then all of a sudden that work was gone. So it's a different experience to live
through, you know, Pittsburgh in its dark ages when it's still called a steel town and there hasn't
been steel there for how long, you know. So now with the resurgence of the hospitals and the
universities and now we have Google and Apple and all these cool things that are happening that are
gentrifying our town beautifully in some places and really screwing it up on other places.
It's a different place for young people who are finding art.
But when we found it, it was definitely blue collar still and it was definitely about
this idea of we saw jobs get shipped away in order to receive cheap labor.
And we wanted to combat that.
And there was a lot of nationalism because of that.
Like when people get pushed up against the wall,
And so our reaction to that was to call ourselves Santa Feather.
Right.
And like you said, now it's cyclical.
Yeah.
I mean, unfortunately, nationalism of a different kind is sort of made a resurgence and pushing.
I'm wearing like a swishy jacket and I don't know if you can hear it.
So I'm taking it up.
Oh, it sounds good.
It sounds like everyone's getting undressed now.
Let me just unzip my pants here.
How did you first let the light of hockey into your heart?
Well, Mary Lemieux.
I mean, so I was born in 81 and he came to town in 84.
and then I got a hockey stick.
Total bandwagoner.
Yeah, exactly.
At this point I'd be remiss if I didn't point out that, you know,
the Devils had integrity and didn't tank the year Mario's drafted.
And the penguins said, fuck it, we want them.
And they just tanked and tanked and tanked and tanked some more.
I believe they played a few games, Lozo, without any skates.
They just walked around in their socks in the hopes that they lose.
What would be great about that a little bit of anger that you have inside you is if they, like, hit it.
They don't kid.
They don't hide.
I know.
Like, if anyone walked around town going like, no, man, we really tried.
No, it is common knowledge that the penguins take.
It's like Toronto now.
10 years.
Billing anyone's going to carry the Toronto tank like that.
Exactly.
Nobody's better.
That's the thing I love about it.
Like, when all that tanking angst was going on about these teams, like Buffalo and Toronto
and, well, the Oilers didn't really tank.
The race to the bottom.
The race of the bottom.
Yeah, the Oilers didn't really tank.
It was adept.
But they were all like, oh, this is so deplorable.
I can't believe this is happening.
And I'm like, at the same.
on the other side of their mouth, it's like, thank God Mario
saved the penguins.
Gloria's organization is allowed to thrive.
I'm like, where do you think he came from?
How did that happen?
Well, I don't want to talk about that.
Let's focus on Sidney Crosby, what he's doing today.
There's two sides to that, though.
A lot of that argument comes from teams
who were close to the playoff picture
and were getting bumped out
because they were throwing those games
to teams ahead of them.
And so, like, you know, I know that in that year,
like, penguins needed wins.
And so you mark the calendar.
You're like, okay, here we go.
Yeah, we got a couple, you know.
And so, yeah, it goes both ways.
And there's an argument that says it's bad for hockey, but I think ultimately horrible
franchise is becoming good again is good for hockey.
Yeah.
That's how it happened.
Like, Buffalo being good again will be good for hockey.
Look, there is, I don't, in the interest of full disclosure, I don't care much about any
other sport, but I do pay attention to them.
There is no other league with as much parity as the National Hockey League.
And teams that can be bad can win eventually.
And I think that we're getting into a dark period
where you're getting teams that are winning too much currently.
Chicago.
Yeah, Chicago.
And the one that I enjoy as well is on that list too.
No, no, that's okay when it's your team now.
Yeah.
Lozo actually got called out by a listener this past week about Chicago bias.
Yeah.
I'm still trying to figure out what it is.
Oh, it's just fuck them.
Yeah.
It's basically the beginning and the end of it.
You're our guest.
I don't want to do 20 minutes on the Blackhawks and why I can't say the Blackhawks.
But basically just fuck them is the overall overarching.
Give me top two reasons why you dislike the franchise.
They're at a point.
Or the team at now.
They're at a point where they shouldn't be good anymore.
Every time they win a cup, they sell everything off.
Yeah.
Like that's that, like we should be on the downside.
And yet they're still winning the West.
Yeah.
It's like, what are the Florida Marlins actually did it right?
right every year yeah yeah and and just the whole like i'm tired of hearing about what a genius
stan boorman is tired of hearing about how this guy who has to like blow up his team every three
years is a genius so by that same yeah yeah thanks for that that's what i was hoping to get
that's that's reason too but what i will say about that is i what i enjoy about the black hawks
and them selling everything off is that it does create this belief that it can
happen. And so you see other teams
trying to do it and you're like, you can't do that.
You just can't do that. The only
team that other than Chicago that could do
that kind of change over on the fly
was Detroit. Yeah. Like the Red Wings
during that run would
have a pretty good base of players
and they'd have a really high payroll, but as players
would go, they'd kind of reload. But they kept
that big three and I think that that's
the same big three that
Chicago has. That's the thing. You got the
Trinity of Kane, Taves,
Keith, and then you could probably argue
Crawford as well. Yeah. And you could
argue the coach. And it's the
same thing with the Detroit. You know what I mean?
Pittsburgh has Malk and Crosby-Latang.
The problem was, was your
GM kept fucking it up
after they won the cup in 2009.
Where's he now? Oh yeah, that's right. Yeah, he's
doing a great job.
We don't have a fourth line either.
Yeah, exactly. I just assumed
you. But he's
doubling down on Bo Bennett.
Boy, fucking Bo Bennett. Let me tell
you about Bo Bennett.
A guy who I've always heard about in Pittsburgh, like, oh, he's a high draft pick.
He's got potential.
He's going to be great.
I've watched him play like 20 games this year.
Like, he should not be in the NHL.
My favorite thing that Bo Bennett ever did was his letter to the Pittsburgh fans when he left, which was, you know, a thing.
And it went through thanks for my time.
And it ended with, I didn't break my thumbs writing this.
And I was like, well, at least you know how.
He's honest.
How injurious that career was.
No, it's like, good for Bo.
I mean, whatever.
I mean, yeah.
But you're right, though.
Like, essentially, like, when the penguins would try to scratch and claw and get back to the cup.
And then, like, it was a perpetual.
After the host of trade, it was a perpetual search for, like, the next.
Sid's Winger.
You had that Ponticorovsky.
Yeah.
Oh, gosh.
He had all these guys.
And it was just disaster.
And it wound up being two kids.
Sheary and Ross to come up.
Who could skate.
And could skate.
And Sid's just like, don't fuck it up.
And they didn't.
No.
And it worked out right.
And it's not like the fucking Rob Brown model wasn't there for them to look at with Mary Lemieux.
You know what I mean?
I'm like, just get someone who drives to the net and they're the same player.
You know, like obviously Mary is much bigger and it was a much different game.
But at its core, they're trying to do the same thing.
They're playmakers and they're looking, you know, Mario put in 40 off of Rob Brown's shin pads.
You know what I mean?
Like that can happen.
And that's what's happening with Shiri.
Like, they're throwing things at the net and they're.
buzzing around and it's bouncing in.
So as a Mario fanboy, you know,
the centennial list is coming out
or has come out. It's right around the time when it's
coming out when we're doing this interview.
You put him ahead of Gretzky?
No, I mean, you just can't.
Oh, wow, you're too rational as a
fan. You can take the boy out of Pittsburgh.
Yeah, things change.
So the reality of it is
is that I'm a hockey fan first.
And that
comes from me playing as much as I do.
Oh, so you've played the game, quote, unquote.
So there you go.
We have to respect everything you say.
And so I just can't, I can't get out of that, you know, just maybe if he stayed healthy, maybe we could have that conversation.
Right.
But he didn't.
The back.
The Hodgkins?
He didn't.
He was a fantastic thing to watch.
It was insane to watch.
And, you know, I was nine years old when they won the first cup.
And they, I've watched on TV when they let off all the black and gold balloons.
And one of the gold balloons landed in my front yard deflated later.
And I thought, I'm going to play for the Stanley Club.
there's still, it's been bestowed upon me, here it is, you know.
I didn't.
I quit playing hockey at 17 and joined a punk band and here I am.
Who's your other guy on the team besides Mario?
Those cup teams.
Yeah, so, I mean, obviously, everybody loved Yama Yager,
and he was the one that I kind of identified the most with
because I was young and I would like daydream about like,
oh, man, you could be 17 to like make it.
Like, you're so close.
And you know, you're hair out.
Exactly, yeah.
And I had a mullet.
I had the whole thing.
Yeah, yeah, for sure.
Well, you were a young man in Pittsburgh.
Yeah, yeah.
Please forward us that picture for like.
Oh, yeah, yeah, absolutely.
Yeah, yeah.
Oh, my God.
Done.
I'm not afraid of it.
But my favorite player, aside from Mary Lemieux, was Sergey Federov.
And so very early on, I was like all around the league.
And it just became like, who did I connect with, you know, with what they were doing?
And he had cool white skates before anybody else.
And, like, there was, like, there was cool shit that he was doing.
Yeah.
So, um, he was a rock star.
He was a rock star.
That was why my favorite thing about the Eisenman Federov aesthetic, which was that
Eisenman was always the stoic one and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and, and,
the leader of the team and the good Canadian boy. And then, you know, he's like, you know, then,
He was a snot-nosed kid who was probably trying to fuck everything that moved.
And like, but again, when you're 11, like, that's cool as hell.
The guy you want to be in the tandem.
Nobody wants to be the dad in the group.
Federer was my guy, though, too.
So can I tell you, aside from my mullet, another embarrassing story is that I would, when I was that young, I loved Sergey Federer.
And I wanted to honor him.
So I took the number 19 because I thought I was being cool by.
honoring him and switching around. Meanwhile, I didn't even put it together.
That was taking everybody else.
And so people were like, why are you 19? You love that. I was like, no, man.
That's like you're going to be like, I ordered it by sleeping without a corner coat.
I did what I could as a huge Federo fan.
That would be tight, though. I'd be done with that.
Let me ask you about two uncomfortable moments as a penguin's fan.
The first being, what did you feel when Yager was traded?
Was it time to go? Was it a necessity?
Or were you sad that that couldn't continue?
you? Well, I was, like everybody else, I was let down by him. I felt like the deal was fair. And, you know, my little knowledge of the whole ending, uh, inner workings of that. The financial deal. Yeah. I thought that trade wasn't fair. Yeah. I thought, I thought that financially they were working to keep him as best they could, but they couldn't keep him. I mean, the team was going down, you know. And so he did, he did the right thing now looking back and I'm like, I don't boo him when he comes to town. People still boo him. It's just so stupid. It's so stupid. It's so. It's so.
bizarre that that still happens at this point in his career.
It should be viewed it as like you guys gave the world a gift where Yager can now play in every city before he dies.
Yeah, go get them.
Provided they have the right tax code.
So I will say that as far as Yager's concerned, I thought his KHL deal was genius.
Like, oh, God, yeah.
Well, I mean, it's genius, but as a hockey fan, like now that there's been all this reconsideration of Yager's place in history vis-a-vis his point totals.
Okay, yeah, yeah.
The idea that he left for the KHL for what was a three years.
years it was just breaks your heart like that that's he'd be a lot higher like who
even knows how close he did but what if what if what if he blows out his knee in game one of
that season in the end of the show and he's never the same for the next seven years so what
did they say like he has to score like 70 points for the next 50 years to catch gretsky
so it's just it's just impossible even if you play those three years it's still
impossible he keeps on saying he's playing till 50 so let him I you know do whatever you
want yeah a team in Vegas means the possibility existed
My thing is this, why has nobody shut him down every two games?
Oh, you just to give him fresh for later in the same.
I think it's just because he's...
He's got too much pride.
They can't say that to him?
I think he's just in such good shape that, like, you don't see it during...
But he disappears in the playoffs because he burns out.
But during the regular season, you don't see it.
You know what I mean?
Like, in the regular season, like, think about it, this year, he started off pretty slow,
but I think his last like 20, 25 games, he's been doing really well.
Of course, yeah.
In your mind, you're saying to yourself, I can't bench my third best forward 20 times.
I know, but if your team is, is, if you were the Florida Panthers last year, and you were on the pace that you were on.
They had time to do it.
They had time to do it.
And like, all you had to look at was the eight other teams that he burned out in the playoffs for.
And be like, you know what, man?
I get it.
You're still going to get paid.
Right.
Just take a seat.
I do love the idea of him being like hockey's Howard Stern.
We only works on Fridays now.
I'm serious.
He's reached that point in his career.
He's allowed to say whatever.
He's grandfathered in to like calling people's interrogatory.
things that you're like he used to be like say whatever he wants to say yeah yeah yeah is there you can't
change grandpa at this point so you're not going all right and then how did you feel uh you know
considering your punk background about the penguins nearly leaving or leveraging another city to
stay so our entire town every sports team in our town has pillaged Pittsburgh so in the pirates case
appropriate. Yeah. Yeah. Yeah. There you go. Hey.
There you think of that. Good job.
Thanks, everybody. That's why you're on that side of the table.
I'm going to go kill myself.
I'm going to slide over here.
I don't get too close to this fire.
What is the deal with for many, brothers?
Frazier's on a sandwich?
So they were the third team to do it.
So everybody just accepted that they were going to
screw the town. You know, it was just
like, oh, so we're going to get a casino.
and that's what we're going to do.
Like, I guess so.
Can we look at, oh, Detroit, that worked?
Yeah, that was good, right?
Detroit's doing great, right?
No.
Like, all these other places that have sold a part of the town to build another part of the town.
It doesn't work that way.
Let me ask you this.
You're a hockey fan.
Yeah.
You're very political.
Yeah.
What would you do if your favorite team was much like the New England Patriots where you got Tom Brady,
hugging Donald Trump?
Yeah.
You got Donald Trump kissing the owner.
What would that be like for you if it was,
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Penguins and Mario the Musa.
Burkle's a big, a big lib, I think.
Yeah, so, yeah.
Hypothetically, of course.
He's Canadian, so I'm saying.
So can you separate the love of game?
Right.
Between the impending doom that they have.
We're all dead in four years anyway, so.
Yes and no.
So, for example, we used to go to a building all the time called
Consul Energy Center. And Consul was one of the worst frackers in our state. And they were decimating
parts of rural Pennsylvania and really screwing over a lot of families. And eventually through like,
when we could have another podcast about, you know, the oil industry and what it's done to
America just by by having fracking lower the price of oil and what that's done to the Middle East
and what that's done for the rest of us. But specifically talking about Pittsburgh and Pennsylvania,
and what it's done, I feel dirty just going into the building.
You know what I mean?
And so there's this sense like, well, man, like, do you turn it off?
Do you separate it completely?
And eventually what I found was much like what I've done my entire life, I'll use my vocation
to try to explain to people why we should care about more than just ourselves.
And at the same time, recognize that we need to do things that make us feel happy.
healthy and you can have fun. You can have fun in the world. Like we're not robots. And so
that's kind of how we live our life. That's why we do things like the Warp Tour with the band where
there's corporate sponsored tours and we find ourselves in a place that might be uncomfortable,
but there's going to be a set of ears there that has never heard what we're doing. So we're
going to take that opportunity. So I will try it and I will knock it at the same time.
So is it almost, is it harder now as an adult to be a sports fan compared to it as a
Oh, absolutely. Is there a moment? Is there a moment?
that you could remember as a sports fan where you were just like, oh, fuck, these guys are
fucking killing the world or something like that.
Well, we had an interesting, like, just conversation in the lobby prefacing all this stuff
and, you know, talking about, you know, the military and how the NFL is essentially the military.
You know, it's a big commercial for the Army every time.
Yeah, and not only that, just the way they're recruiting kids, the way they're not caring about
them post their life in the field, so to speak, you know, there's another pun for you.
You guys are on fire
So in that sense
Yeah I mean there's a lot of reasons to turn it off and I get why a lot of people are
I think it's funny that
We live in a world where people are turning it off because Colin Kaepernick is
I know trying to like help people out
You know so it's like there's a lot of reasons on both sides to turn it off
And it's funny like I the Kaepernick thing was interesting because I feel like the reaction to it
Had a very strong undercurrent of we're going to prove that this guy is the reason that viewership
down. And that is going to make sure that everyone keeps their fucking mouth shut.
My favorite thing was the like the day it happened into like day three or whatever. The narrative was
why does he do it this way? Why does he do something else? Why doesn't he put his money where
his mouth is? And then once it comes out what he's done with his money, everyone's just like,
then it becomes something else. Yeah, we're ignoring that that's how we started and that's what we were
Yeah, and so for me.
As if there's a way where he could do it where everybody would be like, oh, that's great.
Of course.
That's the perfect.
I was going to suggest that.
And let me be the first to say as three white males sitting around a table in the dark together.
We don't know.
Steve's here too.
There's four of us.
Well, Steve's out of the table.
Yeah.
So it's three white dudes and then a white dude sitting in a chair looking at the other white dudes.
We don't know.
We don't have the ability to put our.
ourselves in the shoes of what it's like to be in African American in America in 2017.
We can't do it.
No matter how much we communicate and we share with each other, it's impossible to have full
empathy for that situation.
So on some level, you have to let things breathe and be and see where the dust settles
and form your opinion once that happens.
Should sports be apolitical, though?
I mean, like, as an artist, there is a clear, there's clearly a part of you that
believes in escapism. There's clearly a part of you that believes that, you know, I mean, obviously,
if you're going to an anti-flag show, you know what you're going to get. But there's also,
you know, entertainment for escapism. And, you know, if you go to see a Harry Potter movie, you don't
expect Harry to be up there and be like, and that's why. To be fair, though, I would want to
go to the Hunger Games and the Hunger Games are completely political. Yeah, yeah, yeah. So I guess
the question is, is like, you know, is there an argument to be made for the apolitical
nature of sports and for people to be like, yeah, I don't like there's peanut butter and my chocolate
that that's happening with politics and sports.
My argument is once you play the national anthem before the game, it's already political.
So there's a couple notes on that.
One, our shows, even though they are political, are escapism because we're escaping the status quo.
And so a lot of times a lot of those kids feel uncomfortable, you know, like up front at the last
three shows, we've had this young, young transgendered man.
And I know how tough life has been post Donald Trump election and just the fear of that community.
And they're at the show and they feel okay.
And I'm like, well, here's an hour.
Like feel okay for this hour.
Like we did our job today, you know.
It's not for me to politicize them one way or another and say vote this way or do not, don't do this.
But we're just creating a small window of opportunity where being yourself is okay.
So when you go to the football game, they play the national anthem, and then you go and you spend your money on this thing.
And then you go and you do, you know, you're doing this with your kid and you're exposing your, you know, your loved one to this.
Like all of those are political decisions, whether you like it or not.
So it's impossible to make sports a political.
That doesn't mean that there's not a lot of times when I've seen sports do the right thing.
You know, the, the, the, um, the, um, the, um, the world hockey organization, uh, did a thing with, uh, transgender, uh, people.
Yeah.
They, like, set out a new outline of guidelines.
It's a bit dated.
I think that they could have done a little bit more work with actual transgendered communities to find out a better way to represent some of this stuff.
But, you know, like, I passed it on to a few friends that I know that are transgender and they're like,
hey, man, and no other sports leagues trying to do that.
Like, that's really cool.
So it wasn't offensive and it's okay, you know.
To speak to that, actually, you know, Brad Marshan from the Bruins did an interview this week talking about how he'd be okay with a gay teammate.
Yeah.
And he's like the 15th or 16th guy to come and say, I'd be right with a gay teammate.
And this time it struck me that, you know what?
I think we are understanding that the athletes in these locker rooms are going to be okay with that.
mostly because they already are with gay teammates.
It's just that we don't know it.
And they've been dealing with this through all their lives and they're mature about it,
whenever.
But when I read his comments, I'm like, and this might just be a horrible bias towards the great city of Boston.
I'm thinking to myself, you know what?
He'll be fine with it.
I don't know if fans are fine with it.
That's my concern.
My concern is no longer is this guy going to be allowed in the locker room, is the media going to make a big deal of it.
My concern is what are the repercussions going to be when somebody comes out?
anywhere further in progressing the rights of other people without making people uncomfortable.
Yeah. So that's just where we're at. You know what I mean? And I think that the election of
Donald Trump and what you see happening with sports in general, with NFL and the way we're
talking about it and just this conversation as it is, like that's all a result of there's something
stewing underneath everything where people want to want to be themselves in all of these outlets that
they're working in.
So they should be free to be.
I'm thinking, oh, good.
The problem is going to be, it's not going to be the player.
It's not going to be the teammates.
Like you look at Michael Sam in the NFL.
Yeah.
Everyone's like, come on in, hang out in the locker room.
You're a person like everybody else.
And then there's all the outside stuff where people come into the locker room and ask questions about it.
And you have...
Is it a distraction?
Yeah.
And you have like assholes like Tony Dungee on TV saying things like, you know, it's a distraction,
blah, blah, blah, blah.
And that fuels other people.
They come to games.
They yell shit.
And it ends up being this thing.
where it's not the culture of the sport,
it's just society at large.
So I get why you would not want to make yourself a target for that.
Of course, of course.
Yeah, absolutely.
And there was a basketball player, too, who came out.
But it was towards the end of his career.
I can't, I can't remember.
Oh, the tall guy.
Yeah.
No, I didn't mean that he's a center, right?
Yeah, John.
He spoke at the DNC.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That cat.
Guys, what are you going to say about him?
I'm sorry, I can't remember.
Jason Collins.
Thank you.
Oh, right.
Jason Collins for Renette. It was in there somewhere.
So based on that, you know, there's lessons to be learned from that. And some say it was kind of a smart thing to do. He knew that, you know, his time was ending. And he just wanted to say like, hey, by the way, you did this in your entire career, you know. But then you can go back to Magic Johnson and things like that. Like people pushing boundaries all the time. And, yeah, I just don't think we, we make progress as a society without making some people uncomfortable. And I'm okay with that.
And to that point, I've been trying to think how art is going to react to Trump.
Yeah.
I mean, assuming it's four years, I don't think we get there.
Nobody seems to.
It was probably like prop bets in Vegas.
Then it's like, how will art react to Pence?
Yeah.
But, you know, I think back to the 80s and I think back to the reaction to Reagan and, you know,
writing that was especially, I mean, graphic novels and comics was very much in this place
where it was sort of raging against the totalitarianism.
and Reagan himself
and I was thinking to myself
like what is the art's reaction
going to be to Trump?
What do you think arts reaction is going to be to Trump?
So far it's Lena Dunham rapping.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
I'm very anti what's happening so far.
But it's also, I hope it gets better.
But it's also the B and C street bands
refusing to play the inauguration.
So I heard an interesting thing
about that B street band thing
where they were booked to play the inauguration
no matter what.
And so they're kind of like,
we didn't do it for him.
Like, we were supposed to play.
So, poor B Street.
Oh, man.
I bet they'd get a call from Bruce.
Yeah, exactly.
Hello?
Hey, man, what's going on, brother?
Bruce?
Oh, my God.
This is the first time we've ever spoken
in the 20 years
we've been doing this cover band.
Hey, man, I hadn't right Thunder Road
for you to go play fucking Trumps in the otheration.
Is anyone going to call three doors down?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
This is Matchbox 20.
Yeah, you're heroes.
You're making us look bad.
It's going to be actually the lead singer of two doors down.
be the band that they've been covering.
That's great.
That's great.
What will arts reaction be?
You know, I can't speak to what anyone else will do.
You know, I know what we will do.
And I know what we did under eight years of a Clinton and eight years of a Bush and eight years of an Obama.
And we wrote songs that were trying to advocate for social justice around the globe.
So, you know, like Obama didn't get a free pass from us.
You know, we, we have three records that we put out during his administration that talk about drone strikes in the Middle East.
And they talk about the failure to capitalize on his momentum with his health care plan.
Interesting.
So you're saying you're not Saturday Live then.
Yeah.
And yeah, exactly.
And I mean, so in that sense, I, you know, immediately now because of the, the.
the fervor of people in Donald Trump's world, especially on the internet,
the second you say, like, we need to be careful for these reasons.
Somebody comes and says, well, Hillary wouldn't have done a better job.
And I said, well, I'd probably agree with you.
I would have said the same thing to her.
And, like, like, people think that our reaction to what's happening is immediate.
And in music, it's not.
Like, we put out a record.
And the record was, like, a form of protest.
test in itself, we, we, um, use like distressed and burnt flags inside this LP, like we pressed
it in there and we were auctioning them off for charity.
It just so happened that Trump won the election.
But that record was manufactured under the, uh, the guys and the influence that we believe
that Hillary Clinton was going to be president because you don't turn them around in
a day.
Like that's not how it works.
I have an idea.
Make 10,000 records tomorrow.
Like, that's not how that happens.
You have to make a song about P at some point.
Yeah, exactly.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Please.
We're going to cover that
Dave Chappelle
R. Kelly
All right
two things about hockey
First of all
Speaking of punk
The punk aesthetic in hockey
Yeah
I've always been in the mind
That as hockey fans
It's better to not be
ESPN's darlings
It's better to be the sport people find
It's better to be the sport
That when you go to any town
in the U.S., you kind of
to find someone to talk to about hockey in most places or ask for it to be on TV.
Is there a certain punk aesthetic to hockey?
Absolutely.
It's the punk of sport, except for in Canada.
Right.
It is pop.
Yeah, it is fucking Bieber.
It's so funny because, you know, as a, as a, you know, a band, like we've got a drop pucks, not bombs shirt.
You know what I mean?
Like, we bring it into our world, you know?
And we'll go to Canada and the kids will come and be like, man, those are the jocks of
beat me up and I'm like well where I live it's football
player sorry
like it's not the same
so the punk kids in Canada hate the hockey players
because you're the jocks that stuff them in lockers
holy shit I never put that together
it's the opposite they're the cool guys you know
and all the hockey kids in high school were like oh I love you man
you're like a soccer kid but better
exactly yeah yeah and so
we have this really strange thing we're like
I guarantee you that in the crowd someone's got
Crosby or Limu Jersey on tonight
and they they wear it with pride
and they crowd surf and they
point right at me every time and I'm like, I see you. But it comes back to what you're saying. Like,
it's not, there's not a lot of us. You know, like, there's not as many of us as there are people that
gather on the TV every Sunday. So it's a, it's a badge of honor for sure. And I've always said that
that hockey is the most punk rock sport. It's the most punk rock arena. There's more, you know,
like the St. Louis Blues are using an anti-flag song when every time they take a penalty,
the chorus is kill, kill, kill.
that's awesome
you know the Montreal
Canadians play an Anzvite bike song
you know almost every game so like
there's there's
that wouldn't happen
and you know like they're playing
renegade by sticks
for the Steelers you know what I mean
like we're not getting the same love you know
so
it definitely is the most
countercultural
and it's I mean listen
in some ways hockey sold out
to
and compromising itself for general audience
in some ways, but in some ways...
Laser puck.
Well, yeah, I mean, yeah, we've done some real dumb shit.
But, like, in other ways...
It's just we shit.
I didn't think it wasn't my idea.
This is a hockey as a whole.
Come on.
But we've also never gone
that extra step and, like,
outright banned fighting.
Yeah, you know, because that would be the smart thing.
Like, you look at wrestling, right?
Like, wrestling stopped chair shots
and stopped pile drivers and shit because...
And stopped blood on, on television unless it happens
accidentally.
They had that moment in the 90s when it was the attitude error and everybody was bleeding all over the place.
And then they're like, but we'll never get, you know, snuggle fabric softener to advertise on raw if we don't clean this shit up.
And they completely did.
Yeah.
But hockey's never really gone that extra step to completely clean up, which I always thought was kind of a punk rock aesthetic.
Yeah.
And I agree.
I think that there is a, even in that idea of holding on to tradition, like that's like a.
punk rock thing. You know what I mean? Like like like you're like no this is the way we operate.
Like this is how we do it. I don't care. I don't care if someone was more successful doing it
that way. We're going to do it this way. That's that's kind of cool. I like out by the way
Discover ads. Those aren't those aren't punk rock. Discover card. Yeah. So here's my question.
We had a really long we had like a like a super boozy New York thing this afternoon.
Yeah yeah. Well we had lunch at the vegan restaurant with our new management and our labor
And wow.
Yeah, it was great.
They're pumping your tires for a hour.
Yeah, exactly.
And the first part of the conversation was talking about sports arenas being named by, you know,
City Field and yeah, yeah, yeah.
Does anyone walk out and go, you know what?
My bank is the wrong bank.
I know.
Like, is it a specific thing where the ego of the company or the want to have the brand be as visible
as possible?
Is that what drives it?
Is there somebody behind the boardroom who's like, I've got the money, put my name on the fucking field?
It's funny you should say that because the only time that that naming rights or whatever has ever affected me was when I was a kid, growing up in Jersey, and the name of the arena was the Brennan Burn Arena.
And as a kid, I had no fucking idea who Brennan Byrne was.
Brenner was a governor.
And like, I still don't know anything about this guy except for the fact his arena was shitty.
It was a fucking terrible arena.
I ain't voted for him.
All I think about this guy is like, you're the guy.
guy, do you like stairs
because there's way too many fucking stairs to my
seats in that arena?
That's amazing. Or like Enron field
remember when Enron? Yeah, I know. What's terrible.
They were like, hang on, we're going to be Minutemate Park now.
Fix it. Yeah. Everybody likes
juice. It's easier to change it to Exxon.
Even more than stadium naming rights,
I think that your question is better
served for college bowl games.
Oh, yeah. Like at what point does gallery
furniture sit ourselves, boys? This is worth it.
We're going to take on IKEA by naming
The Point City of Bowl, the gallery furnisher.com.
In this same conversation, I had a friend who just had a baby.
Actually, to go back to our friend Steve here, he's in Steve's band.
The Bank of America Child?
Does that what happened?
So they weren't sure what to name their baby.
And I said, let's put it on the internet.
High's bitter.
And it'll probably be like free business cards.com, baby.
It's always the worst thing where somebody in their family is like, guys, this is going to be big for us.
We need to have a bowl game.
We need to own a baby, you know.
What's your son's name?
It's Adam.
Full name?
Adam and Eve.
Now, speaking to music, though, in hockey,
we didn't even get to the most hockey thing that you guys have been involved in,
which is fucking music was on NHL7.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
The best part was I was reading an interview where I found that,
and it's the most heartfelt emotional interview.
It's about how you had a relationship end after 17 years,
arguments in the band, and the guys like,
hey, I heard you had a song in a video game, too.
Like, how did he work that in during the interview?
I think our transition was a lot better than that transition.
That's so great. That's so great.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So, um, going back to that, right?
In that really dark period, we got the game again.
And it was like, like, we have everything is a discussion in our world.
And Pat, our drummer is, says nay to all things, especially video games because the video games train kids for wars.
Right.
So like any sort of like endorsement or like.
Something like that.
Always gets vetted heavily or thrown out the window immediately.
Unlike us who will take money from literally anybody to switch to this podcast.
But Pat, they're offering a lot of money to be the official song of Call of Duty 6 ISIS Kill Shot.
Is that a no?
Yeah.
So a hard no.
So whenever it came back in, I was like, you don't get to take this from me.
He's like, you know, I, you know, the EA.
history of game is in me
and I don't care if it trained me
for war. They're using
our damn song. Oh man. And so we've been
in the game like three or four times. Yeah, and it's around like
2003 where it was that that paradigm shift from like
to like actual music in the game. I'm guessing it's probably when like
Xbox or whatever came out or like
PS4 or whatever. But like
I think back in the day and it's just like to think about it an anti-flag
song in a game, but back in the day it was like
do do do do do do do do do.
And then it turned into like,
and then it became rock.
Loz and I have joked about how completely guitar-driven all NHL music is.
And how on NHL network, whenever they go to break or come back from break,
it was all that stealing guitar.
And how, like, they probably don't even have the CNN.
Someone just died music.
And we'll continue more in life of Gordy how.
Yeah.
The interesting thing about that, let's have another really great story.
The Pittsburgh Penguins music director hates anti-flag.
Why?
Just doesn't like our band, probably likes sticks and retigates.
So you've never done the anthem at PPP?
No, no, no, have not done the anthem, but we...
It's my flag doing the anthem.
We always have to find ways...
Does they bring out the flag bearers?
And here is anti-flag.
And now that you say it out loud, that makes sense.
We have to find ways to usurp him.
And so one of the ways that we did was I gave my friend, who is a graphics guy there,
instrumentals of our records.
And so the music director couldn't tell that it was us.
It was just the instrumentals.
So like for a while, like the Dan Bowsma show was all like anti-Buyvesma song.
And I was like, yeah, I got you, you motherfucker.
That's amazing.
Yeah, yeah.
So we beat him.
We beat him.
And I have the sign, you know, thanks for all the music, Chris, Dan.
You know, like that's the puck.
Yeah.
All right.
Chris, before we go, what are your expectations for the penguins this season?
Are we looking at back-to-back repeating Stanley Cup champions in the Steel City?
I have to say yes.
That's correct.
Yeah.
I think that they're built to win.
I think that the capitals modeled their world after the penguins this year and they're going to be tough to beat.
those are the two teams that I would see coming out of the East.
I think that the Columbus Blue Jackets are going to fall harder than anything.
You're going to get some tweets now.
I know.
Bring it on.
Here's my current working theory about the playoffs in the East.
I think the caps can win the Cup,
but I think the only way they can win the Cup is if they don't play you.
I think they need someone to take care of you and take you out of the equation.
I agree.
The first time the Devils won in 95, it was because they didn't have to play the Rangers.
I think that if it's Ovechkin and it's,
and be holding it down in a Penn's Cap series in both of their heads.
Yeah, forget about it.
He fell apart in that series.
Yeah, no, the penguins are going to beat the Capitol 10 to 10 times.
The only way they're going to win the cup is if they don't have to play the penguins.
And that means they need to rely on like the Rangers or Columbus to take you out.
Yeah, and I think Columbus is going to make the playoffs for sure.
But I think that they're going to have a spell here.
Like, they're going to get knocked off of the horse that they're on.
But for the betterment of hockey, wouldn't it behoove you to root for the
Blue Jackets in a series against the Penguins, because that would all of a sudden boost them up
and solidify their fan base?
Absolutely not.
Their fan base is solidified.
They won 15 straight.
Yeah.
It's like, listen, man.
Wouldn't it be better if your team lost?
Yeah.
Well, first off that, second off, coming from Pittsburgh, seeing what the pirates have been
able to do just by being better than 500 and like it filled the stadium.
Like, they're going to be okay.
Like, they're selling out games now for the first time ever.
They won their Stanley Cup.
They won 15 straight or 16.
change straight or whatever, you know.
Here's how the penguins lose.
The second half of the season, Matt Murray struggles.
Mark Andre Fleury takes over and he's your starting goalie in the playoffs.
He wins the first round.
You're like, he's our guy again.
Yeah.
And then he shits his pants.
I don't think he makes it that far.
You don't think so?
I think that he's on the block.
They're holding it close to the vest, but I think he's on the block.
I think they trade him in the summer.
I don't think they're because it's just so hard.
I think they need the insurance policy there.
The salary cap to you create a problem.
You don't need to create.
I feel like if they continue the way they have
over this last week where they lost some games.
Noletang is the worst thing for you guys.
If there is an ebb and flow to their season that isn't consistent,
they can lose games.
They're okay with not winning the division.
I think that they know at this point in that locker room
that the seasons as long as it is and that they can still win a cup
without winning the division.
But I think that there's a, there's a,
someone's going to need a goalie,
and they're going to come knocking hard.
And,
and,
uh,
uh,
I wouldn't be surprised if he's gone.
Well,
I think you're forgetting one simple fact,
which is,
uh,
he is Sid's friend.
Yeah.
This ain't fucking Colby Armstrong back.
Sid's friend stay on Sid's team.
We skate together sometimes in the morning.
He's a really cool dude.
Yeah.
He's got a great.
He's a great player.
He's a few times.
Yeah.
Have you met any of the penguins that,
um,
so here's a,
this is a funny story.
One of our other usurping of the
The Penguins music director is
The TV station, Root Sports
This guy's like the fucking dean and a college movie
It's just like being thwarted by the punks at every year
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
So he, we give them music for a lot of their shows
that they do around the Penguins
Or like they cut to a commercial break
They'll play like a little stippet of whatever
And so they invited us to their thing
that they get from the Penguins for being their TV sponsor,
which is like practice and meet players from the team.
And so we are in there watching practice,
and it's me and Pat and Chris, the other guitar player, Chris won.
And Chris is a big hockey fan.
And so he's enjoying it with me.
Pat, as I mentioned earlier, cramagin hates all things.
This is somehow training kids for war.
doing.
Sure enough, the players
come up. Chris Lattang comes up.
We're meeting him, shaking hands.
They give us a really nice introduction.
These guys are a rock band.
They tour the world. They yada, yada, yada.
And he's like, oh, super cool. Shakes my hand.
Shakes Chris's hand. He goes, hey, man.
We were hanging out the other night.
And Pat's like, what?
Like, no, I don't know you at all.
What are you talking about?
He's like, yeah, man, at the restaurant.
And Pat owns a restaurant with
some guys in the city.
And they were giving Chris Latang a tour of the restaurant before it was open because they're like all buds and stuff.
And so he was hanging out with Chris Latang the night before.
A, didn't call me.
B didn't know it.
C.
Like, front's on the guy right in front of him.
He's just like, sorry, who are you?
What do you do?
And I was like, dude, you're making me look bad.
Oh, you mean Christopher Lattacks?
Oh, that's just it.
He's a big Pierre McGuire guy.
Yeah.
It was a proper name.
Yeah, so I was like, man, next time you're hanging out with whoever, let me know.
And interestingly enough, he's got like, he gets updates for the restaurant and how it's doing.
You could see who spent the most money.
And it'll be like, oh, your boy Sid was in tonight.
He did very, everyone was hungry, I guess.
That's amazing.
Amazingly humbling to know that someone can see how much money I spend.
Like Greg Wichenski's note, Sidney Crosby.
Whoa, Greg.
Believe it or not, they're only spending like,
couple hundred bucks on their meal you know so I thought I was like man I've spent
that on a meal before this is bullshit Greg 12% tip which is getting
all right Chris Barker working people find your stuff saw some stuff saw some stuff
stuff here yeah I mean anti hyphen flag dot com and then all the socials that exist
were there it's okay you don't need to see it I'd rather I'd rather you write me
on Twitter if you have a nice rink or know of an ice rink and we're on tour and in your
city I want to play I bring my
with me everywhere.
Wow.
I get in the cars of crazy kids and we go to ranks all the time.
What's your Twitter?
At Chris Dose.
All right.
So there you go.
So if you are someone who wants to play a little record beer league with Chris from
anti-flag, reach out to him.
And if you know any players, you're hanging out with them and Chris is in town.
Yeah.
I get you into the show for free.
I do that all the time.
I trade it.
I'm a traitor.
Quinn pro quo.
Yeah.
Claris.
That's the only thing I want to sell.
I came on here to sell, not a record, not a T-shirt.
Get me on the ice, damn it.
Your availability.
Ice time.
Pick up hockey.
Perfect.
Thank you, Chris.
Thank you.
Thanks to Chris number two.
Dose.
The awkwardly named number two.
Number two.
And thanks, by the way, to everybody.
We didn't say this in the first part of the show.
Thanks to everybody who listened to the Pock Pwinter Confessional podcast last week and had such
nice things to say about it.
Obviously, when Lozo and I do something like that, we don't really know how it's going to go.
And, like, not to back pat or anything here, but, like, I feel good about the way we handled it.
And I think the response indicates that we handle it in a pretty respectful way.
And so, so yeah, thanks for everybody who checked it out.
Thanks, actually, seriously, like, thanks for checking it out beyond the title of the podcast
because I know that a lot of people were probably turned off by the title of the podcast.
I know one person who was turned off and was annoyed.
I was annoyed by that.
Who?
I don't want to say any names, but I got a snarky comment four seconds after I tweeted it.
It's moderately annoyed.
All right.
So keep that one in my back pocket for a retaliate.
comment if that person ever does anything
I feel is not.
So you're going to keep in your back pocket
as a potential revenge that someone didn't listen
to our podcast? It's not that they don't listen.
It's that it was
reactionary and uncalled for.
Yeah, and it wasn't like disrespect for anything.
It was just annoying. I was just very annoyed.
The NHL All-Star game is this weekend,
which means that the NHL skills
competition is this weekend, which means
that Dave and I are now going to spend
a little time ranking
the skills competition.
Now, this is going to be a little bit tough because, as you know, they took away the prop comedy funny hat breakaway challenge and replaced it with the Honda NHL 4-Lion Challenge TM, which is a thing in which they're going to shoot.
It's like SCO, but they're going to shoot pucks from the blue line, the red line, the other blue line, and the goal line trying to get the puck into little areas in the net, maybe the five hole.
and I think this is going to be one of the two things.
It's either going to be super crazy fun as we see guys like roof pucks from across the ice
or it's going to be mininets.
It's going to be watching the most talented men on the planet with a hockey stick in their hand
defeated by trying to get a puck in a little space.
First of all, I want to commend the National Hockey League,
a league that probably has a secret cocaine problem having a four-line challenge
in its All-Star Skills Competition.
In fairness, it's not a secret problem.
They actually came out and said that they have a cocaine problem,
and they were going to try to test for it, remember?
So maybe that's why guys are dropping out.
They're like, the four-line challenge.
I can't do that.
I don't do that.
Replacing the four-line challenge is the two-bump battle.
Grab your keys, everybody.
We're going to have players.
We're going to combine billiards and hockey
and have guys try to put eight balls into the net
from the other side of the ring.
First up,
Drew Dowdy.
Oh, we're going to give everybody a pickax and they're going to go to Center Ice.
It's the NHL Crack Rock Challenge.
Yo, Dickton.
I might have one more.
Why is it going to be at top of the pyramid there?
I was just thinking how if you were to say that there's potentially better possible skills to use that aren't really possible to use,
Right.
That might be a golden straw man argument.
Thank you.
Wow.
Golden straw.
That's bad.
Yeah.
Yeah.
All right, that's it.
We can delete that part.
That one wasn't good.
That was fine.
It was, I mean, it was like putting a cat turret on top of a Sunday instead of a cherry, but it's all right.
Still a Sunday.
Still counts.
All right.
So we don't know how the four-line challenge is going to turn out.
It won't be good.
But we're going to predict how it is.
It's going to be just guys missing.
It's going to be like the slam-done contest when like a dude fucks up for, like,
like four attempts and then dunks it and you're just like well and yeah or okay let's look fuck it let's
rank them what's the worst the worst skills competition the fucking relay thing is stupid it's not even a
question that's the that's the gatorade n hl skills challenge relay tm and it takes fucking forever
it's like it's the worst is what it's just like all right you have patrick kane from the sharp
angle one time and then you have fucking john tavares from like the the middle angle and then you
have like shee weber at the blue line wow shee weber can one time a puck from the
blue line over a six inch board?
Holy shit.
How is this guy not one on Norris?
This is the greatest event ever.
That happens.
And then it's like, oh, the fucking putting the little pucks in the net thing.
That's where it always goes wrong.
Because when you fuck that one up, you fuck it up for like 10 minutes.
It's not like when you fuck up the stick handling part of the mini nets are the death of
the skills competition.
But I would go one step further.
And I agree with you, that's the worst.
That's the worst skills competition.
It kind of depresses me when like they lose the puck trying to bring it through the
the pylons.
They gotta go get it.
Yeah,
because it's like,
that's to me,
like the most,
that's like the basic skills thing
that you got,
you figure these guys,
they're just going for speed.
Like,
they don't have to worry about
keeping the puck on their stuff.
You're just going for speed.
Then you see one of them lose it.
You're like,
oh, ah,
heesh.
It's like,
it's like,
your whole gig is your ability
to juggle.
And then you,
you fucking drop something.
You're like,
I don't know if I want to watch the,
don't use the fire.
Like,
whatever you need to,
I know you're going to use fire later.
Just don't,
It's like watching Ian McKellon do like Shakespeare on stage and go,
Line!
Whoa, no.
Oh, little Hobbit.
Aye.
Aye.
Line.
Gandalf needs dialogue.
You shall not...
Line?
Pass.
Pass.
It's not good.
My favorite Ian McKellen moment, by the way, is in the first X-Men movie.
And it's, well, it's the first meeting between.
him and Xavier
and it's way in the beginning
and they're having that
the great Charles Xavier
Magneto like
tete-a-tet about like
what should
wherever mutants fit in the world
humans are good
yeah I think they're bad
I think they're bad right
and it's it's that moment
where like
eight more movies
it's exactly what you try to do
with that comedy pyramid
we just built
like Charles Xavier is like
he's like
good people
Eric we should save all the good people
and then like
Magneto's like literally walking away
and he's like
fucking 50 feet away
he goes it's all world Charles
not theirs
it just keeps walking
Like the little pissy argument that this guy
These guys have been having for like 60 years
Comes down to him being like
I got the last word in motherfucker
Kind of like like Darth Vader
In a recent movie that came out
We're gonna talk about
Oh yeah we're definitely gonna talk about that
Okay bad lines if you want to talk about bad lines
While someone's walking away
Oh yes
Yeah we did you that
What was the line it was it was
Don't choke on your aspirations
Noble
Person whatever the fuck his name was
Half my theory
There was like 20 people
in my theater half the fucking theater laughed out
out of them. It was so fucking great.
Um, uh, movie.
Okay, we'll get into it. All right, where are we?
What's next?
Gatorade NHL Skills Challenge Relay is ranked last.
What's your next one?
So, I put the four-line challenge next on my particular because I just, I feel like it could
go either way. It's an unknown, but I'm, I'm, I'm, I'm, I'm, I'm, the four
above it, I'm more confident in enjoying than this one, so.
You, you think the four-line challenge is less entertaining than fastest skater.
Less? Yeah.
Why?
Because it's fun watching dudes skate really fast.
Is it, though?
Yeah.
Why?
Because it's like watching anything.
It's like watching you saying Bolt go fast.
But they don't race against each other, though.
Right.
That's why it sucks.
I mean, you can't, though.
You can't have them race against each other because it's the guy on the inside is going to win every time.
Exactly.
That's the point.
Imagine if fast a skater was roller derby.
Imagine it was three guys on the line at the same time, and they all start at the same time.
And much like hockey,
You're physically trying to get ahead of the other guy so you can be in front and have the fastest time.
So what you're saying is is that your favorite part of NASCAR is when they crash.
My favorite part of the NHL skills competition is when players at high speeds are trying to knock each other off their skates and then shattering their legs in an exhibition skills competition.
Yes.
Greg Wyshinsky, colon, let's see Connor McDavid tear up his legs.
Wachinsky, colon, not enough violence in this skills competition for me.
Oh, there you go.
What if it was like it was like Gladiator where Russell.
Crows fighting all the dudes and it's like we just put a couple of tigers on the ice for the for the skills competition
Well, that's what you'd have to remember Dave Loss.
You can probably find tigers in China, but you have to be careful because of the bochers there
You know, I just like to play in the skills competition
I just want to go out there and do my best at the skills and you know actually it was my my girlfriend at the time who invented tigers on the ice during the
during any skills competition, but I just want to go out there and do okay.
I told Gary, Commissioner Batman, I said, Commissioner Batman,
what if we play, and hear me out, what if we play All-Star game on Uranus?
And he got very offended by this idea until he realized I talk about planets for I am a cosmonaut.
My great-grandfather was an astrophysicist, and he, uh, he, uh,
At a telescope and he just wanted to do a very good job with a telescope and wanted to see the planets and
He saw uranus and
He was the first person to have anal sex
So he just wants to go out there and be a good after the first
You thought I was going with a planet joke and I slept the anus the first person
Is the ancient Greece? Well, I mean, that's a good point. There has to be two people I guess for that to
Well, yeah
All right, I'll give you the four line challenge
then then then then fastest skater is that the next one on the list no you really like the fastest skater more than any human should i don't like anything on here my next one's the hardest shot one because the hardest shot one is it's like all right by the way i mean listen i know that you want to you know go as quickly as you can through this full title oscar myer n-h-l hardest shot t m my hardest shot as a first name it's b o r i and g
My hardest shot has a second name.
It's please fucking kill me now.
All the shots look the same.
Like it's not, but the naked eye,
you can't appreciate Shea Weber's shooting 105
compared to a guy shooting 98.
Yes, but to the eye that has brains.
It's one of my top three favorite Simpsons lines of all time.
To the naked eye, no, but to the eye that has brains.
That would actually add to it,
is if you covered up the board,
and it was like Price is Right and you had two like fans have to try to guess the which ones the faster shot
Right I like that like you're just like all right I'm gonna say
You bring out you bring out Drew Carey he's in LA right they fucking do prices right now
Of they do they do because like oh 107 and it's like oh that was awesome because it was 107
It's not awesome because we saw it can we put hardest shot as the second worst now that you mention it
I'm okay with that okay second worst is hardest shot and then and then the four line challenge and then fast a skater
That's where I have fastest skater.
All right.
And so what is the most exciting skills competition?
Is it NHL accurate?
Sorry.
Draft Kings, NHL accuracy shooting TM?
Draft Kings.
Or discover NHL shootout TM.
By the way, for those who don't know, the National Hockey League is an investor in draft
Kings.
That's an important point you may want to know when talking about gambling, Las Vegas, regulation
on all of these things.
Not gambling.
It's a skill game.
Oh, that's right.
Yeah, a skill game.
Unlike banging on teams, which apparently isn't a skill.
Not like randomly picking
fucking numbers in a lottery.
It's not gambling either.
That's a skill game, too.
Again, it's easier to pick the winner of a fucking game
than who's going to be the person
who does the thing in the game
that's going to win it for the team.
I don't understand how that's not a skill.
It's the breakaway one.
I love watching a bunch of dudes
take a bunch of breakaways in a row on goalies.
Because that's the only one where
everyone's involved
and everyone's trying.
You mean like goalies are involved?
Goleys are involved.
Goleys are involved.
Let's say there's got to be a team that just has
Vobrovsky, Holby.
If you're a guy...
On the Metro Division team.
No, I'm just trying to think of, like, say you're a fan of a team,
and the only guy you have there is your goalie.
Oh, you mean being a devil's sand forever?
Right.
It's like Martan Brodor is like not...
No, what was a good one they used to have?
It was the one...
It was probably back in the 90s or the early aughts
where it was like a two-on-oh.
The two-shoaders and then the goal had to...
Yeah.
And the goal had to, like, kind of deal with it.
That might have been the one...
I could be wrong, but like,
that might have been where D.P.H.
Ripped his grind.
Like, that was the thing.
Like, it was the Atlanta All-Star game
where DiPi-Pi-Roe got hurt,
and that's why they stopped doing
a bunch of goalie shit.
The goalies were getting hurt.
Yeah, HL so stupid.
Remember when they started doing, like,
the breakaway challenge?
They'd have, like, some, like, random college goalie
or, like, some dude off the street be the goalie.
And then these dumb asses would make great saves.
Like, O'Betchkin would juggle the puck
three times on a stick, spin five times, smack it,
and then some guy gloves it.
Just like, come on, man.
Come on.
I'm fucking, dude, if they, if they ever said lozo,
put on the pads and go out there and just let out of a betcha can score.
I'm doing everything I can to get myself in a gift for all eternity with an unbelievable glove save.
I don't care.
But that's just, like we talked about the first segment of the show, why bad lists get more attention than good lists.
Like, if he shot the puck like that, five spins and then, you know, slap it with a stick,
and then you try to make the save, but your pants fell down.
Oh.
That's history.
It hits me square in the throat and I go down and I'm kicking it on the ice and holding my hands around my throat.
You rip off your mask and you put your hands in your head, you go,
ay, aye, aye.
Like, that's history right there.
We need, like, the hockey version of the Nazi punch that everyone can just share and set music to that I do.
What is your favorite Nazi punch?
By the way, that's, what's his name?
Richard Sherman is it?
Spencer.
Spencer.
Richard Sherman is the corner.
Jesus Christ.
Unbelievable.
So anyways.
He actually hit, Richard Sherman hits people when they're not looking.
He hits hit when he's out.
Richard Spencer, all right Nazi.
What was your favorite video that was done?
for that? I really
like the rage against the machine one at first, and then I
saw the Whitney Houston
and I will always love you one.
It's the Whitney Houston one. I've watched that one
probably a hundred times. It's only on Facebook, too.
There's no Twitter account for the guy who made
that one. I wanted to share it on Twitter, but it was just
I don't want to steal it, so I just shared
the Facebook link. I've seen a few that are still
great, that are finding new ways to do it.
My favorite gift, by the way, is somebody
put the Sonic rings from Sonic the Hedgehog
falling out of him when he got hit. And then the
one that I really loved was somebody synced up
Crowley Ray J. E. J. Epson's Call Me Maybe.
Oh, I didn't see that one. Oh, it's great.
Oh, I got to see that one. And it's a
punch. I just met you.
It's great.
By the way, do you like the music for the All-Star Game?
Oh, I do. I think it's fine. I wrote about
this week on Puck Daddy. Like,
there's a dude named Steve Mayer
who's now the head of the entertainment
stuff for the NHL. Like, he
came in. He's not necessarily the new
John Collins, but he's kind of doing the
John Collins stuff. And like,
I give him credit, man, because, so for those I don't know, so it's John Legend, John Hamm, Robin Thick on the Top 100 show on Friday night, Robin Thick doing, you know, a memorial for his dad.
But then over the weekend, we've got Carly Rie Jepson singing the Canadian anthem, I think.
Fifth Harmony singing the American anthem, I think, or performing or some shit.
Sure.
Nick Jonas is doing between period shit.
Right.
Like, I could give a shit about the last two.
I put like their big names.
But they're big names.
And that's the point.
Like, I talked to mayor this week and he said something that really stuck with me, which is like, I had a bunch.
He's like, I had a bunch of people coming up to me and being like, you know, the NBA All-Star game has this and you guys have this.
And I'm like, you're right.
Like, why can't we have this?
And like, say what you will about Fifth Harmony.
They've got like five million Twitter followers.
Like, it's crazy.
Like, people will tune into the NHL.
All-Star game to watch them sing the National Anthem.
And there's nothing wrong with that.
And listen, the idea of, if you listen to this podcast, you know that one of the things that
Lozo and I believe in wholeheartedly is that Pearl Jam is the best musical artists of all time.
Close.
We got to expand the tent.
Like, this podcast, our writing, it's very much in the vein of trying to get more people
to like hockey.
Oh, no, no, hold on.
Time out.
I want nobody to watch hockey.
Come on.
That's my goal is to get people to watch better things.
things in the NHL. We do this show and we have people on and it's bringing new viewpoints in and new
voices in. You don't mean that. Oh, I don't mind talking about hockey. That's what I'm talking about.
I feel like people shouldn't have to watch it. That's fine. But like the idea is that like, you know,
someone who may not necessarily watch hockey will tune in and watch Fifth Harmony and then they'll be
like, oh, or Snoop Dogg. Like Snoop's going to be like a presence on the skills competition.
Oh, dude, tell me he's going to get everybody baked.
I'm like, I already being big.
Come on now.
I want that.
So all that stuff's fine.
I'm happy that I guess what I'm trying to say is that as much as the hives performing at the NHL All-Star game and playing during the player intros is maybe one of my top five NHL moments ever.
I don't even remember when the hell that happened.
Dude, they played.
It was, I think it was Atlanta All-Star game.
Yeah.
They played like Tick-Tick-Bomb or something.
Oh.
They played that for the intros?
Yeah, they were on a stage hung above the ice.
Tick-Tick-T-Bomb is actually good for the Richard Spencer.
Anybody wants to make that.
And they just played the song while the player-inches are going on.
And they played during the entire intro.
So it's like,
Dan, no, no, ladies gentlemen, from New York Islanders.
Alexei Oshin.
And it was just the coolest fucking thing.
That's what they should do for the intros is the fucking Mad Max guitar guy,
have him just fucking jamming.
He was you saying to have the doof?
Was that his name?
He was called the doof, I believe.
I wonder what was the point of that guy anyway, just because he looked cool, right?
That's the only reason he was there.
Yeah.
I tried to rationalize it where he was like a drummer boy for like old time war people to keep them in like sync.
But like really that's not what he was doing there.
He was just jamming out on his fucking good time.
And that's fine.
You know why?
Because you know that's what's his face?
Who was the big bad in that movie?
Oh, Voldemort?
No.
Morton Joe.
You know Morton Joe's up there.
You know, Morton Joe's up there, and he's getting bored.
You know, he's drank all his breast milk.
He's, he's bored.
He's trying to figure out what to do.
And he's just like, he's just like,
when we send our caravan out, I want to have a gimp with a flame guitar.
And what are you going to do?
Are you going to defy a Morton Joe?
It'll be great.
A great sketch would be like if there was like an audition to become the musical person for the war caravan.
And it's like a guy comes in like with a tuba and you're like, no, no, no, no.
It's just not going to work.
You're not going to be able to hold the tubus.
Oh, man.
Katie Rich gets suspended by S&L, and now look who steps immediately in with these ideas.
Let me guess.
It's Kevin Spacey as Christopher Walken auditioning for the doof.
Hello.
A Martin Joe, a huge fan of the work you do here with the water and the milk.
I'm going to play a tune on my piano.
Can we strap it to a truck?
And I'll play as you do murders in the desert.
Yeah, she got fucked Katie Rich.
I'm mad about that.
Christian Slater, take two.
I'd love to go play the bass for you.
Jesus Christ.
What's the lazier sketch on SNL?
The auditions or a game show?
I have not watched this.
I don't even know what the SNL auditions are.
What's the Star Wars auditions?
Do they do that a lot?
They do that.
They've done that Star Wars or Editions thing probably about 15 times
a different shit.
Whenever they have anybody
who can do impressions come on.
I always liked,
I like the Jeopardy ones.
They're kind of overdone.
Black Jeopardy was so good.
Black Jeopardy.
That's the last one I saw.
See,
yeah,
that's a plank in the Puck's Soup platform.
Black Jeopardy is the sketch
that should endure
and not David S. Pumpkins.
Yeah, seriously.
We can't do this.
What else?
Wait, wait, what's your thing?
What's your number one?
The shootout.
The breakaway thing?
Yeah.
So the official list,
you and I have come together.
Come together.
We're all about
writing lists together now,
apparently on the show. Gatorade
NHL Skills Challenge Relay.
Oscar Meyer, NHL Hardest Shot,
Honda NHL 4-Line Challenge,
Bridgest Skater,
Draft King's NHL accuracy shooting,
Discover NHL shootout.
Oh, accuracy's two.
Oh, you were doing it in reverse order, right?
Accuracy is good too because like either a dude clips
four out of four or four out of five or like
it's really sad and uncomfortable for 30 seconds
because he can't hit anything.
Like the NHL relay thing is bad because it's,
or the, yeah, the relay thing is bad because like,
when you can't hit the little target, it goes on forever.
When you're like Jeremy Roanick and you're, not Jeremy Roanick, he hits him all.
But a guy who can't hit him all for like 30 seconds, you just watch him get frustrated and you see the guys making the passes,
trying to like make the perfect soft pass to hit him in the right way.
I love it.
I love that one.
But the breakaway one is still the best one because it gets the goalies involved and I like goalies.
I like goalies too, and I feel like it sucks that they're just mannequins the entire time.
Anyways, All-Star Game Weekend, it'll be fun, L.A.
I'll be there.
By the way, if you're in L.A. and you're hearing this before Saturday,
Big wangs in downtown L.A.
will be where the...
I'm not going.
I know.
I was doing a big wang joke.
Puck suit.
Oh, Jesus Christ.
Oh, my God.
Oh, no.
No.
Dickie Moore.
Because he's more...
More dicky.
He's got more dicky.
Did you see that Twitter comment?
I posted somebody was like,
hey, Biscuits is a great podcast with Sean and Dave.
And somebody replied, it's like, yeah, it's just like Puck Soup,
except Dave doesn't talk about his penis in every episode.
I did see that, actually.
It's not every episode
I didn't talk about it the last two I don't think
It's not worth talking about any
The last two episodes
All right
Now is the time on Puck Soup when we
Dance
When we read your correspondence
It's the listener mail
Listener mail
Listener mail
Listen to this
We've got some listener mail
Wow
Mail
That's basically like a letterman rip off
But whatever
Michael Chandler wants to know
What two foods
Should always be eaten together
Conversely, which should never be eaten together?
Hot dogs and beans.
Should always be eaten together?
I mean, like, if you're going to chop them up and put them on a plate, yeah.
But, like, I don't know.
I saw that question coming over.
That's a complicated question.
I'm going to say right now, I know that there are fans of steak fries,
stock frets to our friends overseas.
If you're giving me a steak, you'd best be giving me some mashed potatoes next to that steak
to sop up the juices.
Boy, it sounds gross when you say it like that.
It sounds erotic.
It's like you say moist.
Moist.
Moist.
Oh, and which should never be eaten together?
Obviously, chocolate chip cookies and fish.
Oh, fish and chips is probably my answer.
Oh, for what you go together?
Oh, I've been at fish and chips in a long time.
Oh, man.
There's a place.
My friends in D.C. will know this place.
There's a place in Alexandria called Amens, which is the best fish and chips place
have ever had because as you also know from listening this podcast big fan of condiments and that's a
fish and chips place that gives you many condiments to dunk your shit in two things you should never
fucking mix ever pizza and ranch sauce people that dip their pizza and ranch should be sent to prison
let's let's let's put a fine point on this though there's no there's no hold on hold on
hear me hear me out hear me out hear me out i'm calling the police right now are you talking about
dipping the pizza part in ranch
You can't put the crust in ranch
That's literally just fucking dough
You can't put dough in ranch
It's delicious
It's delicious bread
That should not be tainted
With the garbage sauce that is ranch
You and I disagree on that
But that's all right
I have a problem with people
Who dip like their pizza in ranch
There's um
You ever go to Penn State and hang out there
No
There's a place that sells a thing called
I didn't know where you're going with that
No
No there's this is this is good dipping
There's no bad dipping here
Okay.
I've got the name of the place, but they sell a thing called pokey sticks,
which are just basically like cheesy bread things.
Okay.
You can dip those into, like, you can dip cheesy bread, I feel like, into ranch if you want.
But like an actual slice of pizza is inhuman and should not be done.
What's the best type of donut?
Jelly.
Ask Holden McComb.
Donut holes.
Oh.
And therefore timbits.
Donuts count.
Oh, oh, wait.
I'm sorry.
Donate holes and therefore timbets donut count.
Get it?
Oh.
He actually wrote,
Ha ha, get it.
So what's the best kind of donut?
You say jelly?
Jelly.
That's a weird choice, man.
Of all the donuts and all the land,
you're going to say jelly donuts the best.
I'm not a big fan of donuts with cream, like Boston cream.
Ah, ERA.
My favorite donut is a Boston cream.
Well, I say that you should not have cream inside your donut.
It is gross.
Jack, it's me, it's me, Jackie.
Jackie doing the Natalie Portman and I'm freshen from the movie, Jackie.
I also like Boston cream.
Is that how she talks?
That's how she talks to the movie the entire time.
I've been doing that impression for Ruby,
basically every time we see anything involving Natalie Portman,
but now I've debuted on the show.
Has anybody had a more post-childhood star career than Natalie Portman?
I was green am a medal in the movie Star Wars, Jack,
and now I am the first lady of the United States.
See, I'm going to say that impression is Miss Swan from Mad TV,
as opposed to Natalie Portman.
I haven't seen that movie, so it's probably accurate.
Jackie Onassis
I'm doing a
Jackie Union Anastis impression
Miss Swan
He's looking like a man
See different
Maybe it's like a little Mike Tyson too in there
Oh God
Hey how are you doing
Hello
Daniel OLL
Oh Daniel
Sorry OL
Sorry Daniel
What are your thoughts on Star Wars
The Last Jedi
And will it be about Yomir Yager
Um
Yager is the last Jedi
But I will say
Of course
As many people are pointing out
That Jedi can in fact be plural
It's like fish.
It's a fine title, although I disagree with one part of it, which is that it doesn't fit the word count naming convention of previous second installments.
Empire strikes back, attack of the clones.
It should be the last of the Jedi.
The last of Jedi, the last Jedi, huh?
Maybe.
Could be like that.
Rogue One, sir.
You finally saw it.
It wasn't good.
It's not a good movie.
Wasn't good.
Not as good as Force Awakens?
I would say it's the first movie that is worse than one of the prequels.
I would say it's worse.
It's better than the first two, and it's worse than Sith.
Okay.
It's not good.
Now, the one good part that I'm happy to hear that we agree on
and that other people for some reason decided to, like, sweep under the rug,
is the notion that the first, you know, 30 minutes of that movie are just straight up boring.
See, you're already backtracked.
You already said on Twitter the first half of it was bad.
I said the first third of it was boring.
I said half.
No, now you've upped it to half because you're trying to prove a point.
I said the first third.
And your whole thing was like, how can the first third be bad?
I didn't like a thing.
Hold on.
Keep talking.
Hey, I just had this great meal.
You know, the corn was fantastic.
The roast chicken perfection.
Wasn't a huge fan of the green beans.
You didn't like the green beans.
You hated the whole thing.
If the green beans made up half of the plate.
It wasn't half.
It wasn't half.
The third of the movie is kind of boring.
but what specifically didn't you like about it?
The characters.
Okay, so like you said, the first half of the movie is an absolute fucking slog.
It's just setting up and explaining and setting up and explaining.
Without tension.
There's one scene of tension in the beginning.
Yeah.
And then there's one scene of tension where Diego Luna's character is doing some espionage shit.
But that's it.
So.
It's a weird movie, too, in that it feels rushed because of how they're introducing everybody,
and it feels endless at the same time.
Again, the first half of the movie is just expository talking about what this means, who this person is, what they do.
And I get it because you have to introduce all these new characters.
But at the same time, this is a universe that was created 40 fucking years ago that everybody knows.
There's no need to take that long to get it.
I know how this movie is going to end.
I understand what's going to happen at the very end of the movie.
You don't need all this buildup and explanation and all, like, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
It was just the hour and 20 minute mark, I'm like, I'm looking down my row and I'm like, I leave right now if I didn't want to see the last 20 minutes, because I know the last 20 minutes are going to be awesome.
And they were pretty good.
It wasn't worth sitting through the first half of that movie for her.
Right.
But it was pretty good.
They were, the last 20 minutes of the flick are great.
And I think that's, it's one of those movies that leaves you, leaves you're feeling pretty good about life.
And you feel like you got your money's worth in the last 20 minutes, especially in maybe the last three minutes.
And then I think people had a better feeling about the movie as a whole because of that.
So the criticisms of it that I thought were fair was the whole fucking slow first act and even into the second act.
The dialogue was really corny at times.
Like it was like George Lucas-esque bad.
This was the part where I was in the theater and I'm like, okay, I got to start jotting this down.
There's of course the part where Darth Vader tells the guy, whatever is fucking name.
name is or synchronic whatever don't choke on your aspiration after we did the throat choke thing
to him my theater groan laughed at that like it was a bill mar joke from fucking real-time's monologue
it was so fucking bad people people groaned but okay fine Darth Vader wants a fire a zinger I didn't
think the fan service was too bad like I understand like C3PO shows up for no reason but like it's
not and having the doctor and that other dude from the can'tina show up on Jada was fun was fun
it was okay like it wasn't as though like they just had like the Darth Vader
scene is the one scene where you're just like,
nearly need this.
The worst example of fan service in any
Star Wars movie was fucking Boba Fett
showing up in the special edition
during that horrible Jabba the Hutt scene
outside the Millennium Falcon
in the special edition of a New Hope.
All the special editions are still in. Yeah, we're like
Han steps on Jabba's tail and then like the scene
ends literally with Boba Fett fucking looking at the
camera and being like, hey everybody, it's
me, Boba Fett. Like that's
the bar where fan service is set
for me. So anything that's not that, it's fine.
by me. Okay, the CGI stuff
because they had to bring back Captain
Admiral...
Oh, Graham off Tarkin, yeah.
It was weird.
It wasn't... I had no problem
with it. It was weird. Because, like,
his weird dead eyes and, like,
the way he talks, like, it was
like, people kept saying CGI,
what it was, the same thing with Lay at the end.
It wasn't really, like, bad CGI
because, like, there's the stuff in all the
fucking Avenger movies where they bring out, like,
young Michael Douglas, and like, somehow
that looks really good. Right. This, I understand.
guy's been dead forever but it was more like watching like imagine going to see
a daniel de louis in an a blinkin movie only it was like hall of president's a
blanket that's what every scene with that guy was like it was like a hall of president's
like robot i think it was weird and it was distracting it was they get they get away with it because
peter cushing essentially has dead eyes like he i mean i don't fuck i'm sorry that it came out
completely wrong he does have dead eyes now but he also had dead eyes when he was alive and um
the point is is that like i think you get away with doing a cg i
to that character because it kind of looked like him enough.
People said...
It wasn't super, super bad.
It wasn't.
And people said it reminded them a Polar Express.
And I'm like, it ain't that bad.
No, no, it's not that bad.
And I understand.
You have to have him in the movie.
I understand that.
Okay, that's one thing.
Here's some other notes I took.
Hope.
Anytime someone said the word hope in the movie, I wanted to fucking vomit.
Rebellions are built on hope.
Fuck you.
And they got rid of the cheesiest rebellion line from the, that was in the trailers.
That one were generous.
So it's like, she's like, what do you say about all these charges that
have been levied against you.
Then Generalis was like,
this is her rebellion, right?
I'll rebel.
Like, fuck.
Also, she's,
she's not that good in the movie either.
No.
Felicity.
Well,
here's a problem.
It's,
it's a,
humorless.
It's very humorless.
It's a humorless,
like, first hour.
It's not fun.
And the only thing that's funny
is a robot,
the, the Alintudan Tudor robot.
I wanted to fucking throw that robot.
But it was funny, though.
He had a couple of moments.
The scene,
the scene where he's,
he's like,
were you trying to,
you weren't trying to kill me,
were you?
when he's shooting at the robot and shit.
Yeah.
That's funny.
There's a couple of good lines it had, but like, but otherwise.
See, that's, and that's essentially why I don't get people putting this on, on a pedestal because like Force Awakens was better.
Funny shit.
Yeah.
This was maybe like, this had higher aspirations to be a more serious movie, like trying to be more empirey, let's say, than a new hope.
But at the end of the day, it's all about the execution.
And there is no disputing that Force Awakens is a more entertaining movie top to bottom than this thing is.
Right.
And there's way more goofy fan service than that, too.
The one fan thing that I, this is something I haven't seen anybody say, but it annoys me because I'm just a person who gets in the way by stupid shit.
The very end, when Darth Vader boards the ship, that's not how Darth Vader moves.
He was moving like a fucking nimble, thin ninja guy.
He's always younger now.
I understand.
You can't get the same guy to play the guy from 40 years ago, but like it should be a more lumbering type of guy.
But that's, okay.
By the way, the thing about the joke, the, the, the, the, the prequel's cast Hayden Christensen as,
Anakin. And it became apparent that Vader was at one point this whiny little bitch boy
who was just like always complaining about not getting his way and he wanted to be the most
powerful guy around because he was sad about his mom or whatever. Like that did, that had ripples
to how you viewed the character later on. Like when, when Vader would be pissy in a new hope
and would be like, you know, like, he's like, Lord Vader, the forest is just an old religion.
And he's like, well, don't underestimate the power of force, you son of a bitch.
Like, he can't, you could, you could, I couldn't help but think of the petulant little boy inside of that, that suit.
And when he did that, I'm like, oh, of course, Hayden Christensen would think that's the most badass thing you can do is making the joke about don't choke on your aspirations.
Like, I could literally see Hayden Christensen, like, smiling to himself being like, I really made a funny.
But, like, my feeling on that is, is that once, once he told her, told him that Padme died, that end.
him. Then he should have been something completely different.
Okay, I'll sum up the rest of my problems.
Real quick, the magical blind guy.
I mean, that's just, I don't know if that's a trope for what it was, but it was like,
also, I know we got to end this show at some point, but how many times do they land a ship
somewhere and say, you stay here, we're going to go.
And then, of course, the people get off the ship and do stuff and save people, like,
twice you're going to do that?
That's a Star Wars trope.
Anakin, stay inside the fighter.
Don't leave and then fucking Anakin's like
What do these buttons do?
Okay, also the stormtroopers suits
Apparently not only are they useless against
Blasters and rocks from Ewox
A blind man swinging a stick at them
Is enough to knock them unconscious
Okay, sure
The speech she gives on the fucking thing
On the way of the scaffolding planet
Whatever the fuck it's called
Four seconds earlier, Diego Luna
I'm assuming rallied them to go on that
And then like five minutes later she's like
Oh I think it's Tom Langeve's speech
Dear soldiers
All right, whatever that's fine
two things one minor one big when she's climbing up the tower of of discs or whatever to get their plans
she gets to the very top of it and she has to pull herself through what apparently is when i go back to
the movie galaxy quest when they're running through the ship to get down to the thing to stop the ship from blowing up
and there's choppers there and sigoni we were like why are these here and tim allans like well this
was how it was in the show well this was a really poorly written episode why are there choppers at the top of the
fucking disc place that she has to
kind of slide through in a dramatic fashion
you're telling me in this
with this technology they built technology that allows
you to blow up a fucking planet they don't have
air vents inside there yeah it would have been better
if it was a big a big diehard
fan blade right
where she's got a sticker her her AK 47
inside the fan blade and then crawl through
that's just me being by the way I think
Felicity Jones actually mentioned this when she
hosted us and L but it is it is amazing like
the movie gets all these these
cookies and stuff for like having
a female lead and giving you know making giving her agency and all those other stuff and at the end of the movie what's it about it's about a woman going through a filing cabinet and then emailing somebody also the end of the movie too where Diego luna shows up and saves a day oh that's horrible oh spoilers but the worst part the thing that the thing that the thing that's the thing that's the thing that's the thing that's part the thing that the thing that's star blows up a planet in four seconds but in this
movie it takes like an hour for the planet to fall apart i think it's pretty i mean i don't i know
dramatic purposes so they can hug on the fucking beach like the end of the no
deep impact movie it's either because they didn't have the laser powered up high enough why or it's
because they haven't figured out how to make the these were still remember this was still in the
testing phases but how long after bader boards the ship and gets lea does he blow up all they're
on like 45 minutes they figured it out in that 45 minute yeah there was a flange
a flange loose and then they fixed it and then they had the full power of the fully armed and
operational battle station. And I also don't buy the
bullshit thing where fucking Tame Usalani couldn't
have killed himself so they wouldn't have built the ship.
His fucking rationale where he's like, oh, if I killed
myself, somebody else would have built it. What do you
mean? They came to your planet to kidnap
you to bring you back because you're the only person who could
do it. What's his rationale? They would have done it anyway.
If they would have done it anyway, they wouldn't have hunted
you down and killed your wife to get you to build it.
I get that. Makes no sense. I get that.
His life is better spent
finding a way to subvert their plans than it
is simply just delaying their plans.
And it's not even like you can you can guarantee
Don't worry. I'm going to put a little booby trap in there.
That's super duper impossibly hard to get to unless a fucking Jedi, which doesn't exist at this point anymore, comes along and fires the perfect laser.
How does he know what's going to happen?
I do love the idea that Mads Mikulsin, like, you know, commits suicides and he can't build it.
And there's like some guy who's like, you know, this debt star that you're looking at here.
Not saying it's going to be a quick job, but I'm saying like I'm bringing in maybe about 20, 30 percent less than this Mads guy could have given it to you.
Oh, he's got all these flaws here in the plan.
You know, you want me to, I got to cover that up with a lot of dry wall.
That's going to take a little time, you know?
This guy, I don't even know what this guy, this Fugats is doing.
This guy left a big hole.
You get a photon torpedo up this whole cabloy.
All the place goes up.
It goes right up the wazoo.
I got a cousin named Vito, lives over, Hoboken,
to clean up this whole thing, can fix that hole no problem, no more cablooing or nothing.
Also, her crying when she sees the hologram.
You should have saved that for when he died.
You didn't need to have that emotional reaction at that point.
You know what I mean?
Like that's this nitpicky shit.
It's a rebellion.
All rebel.
All hope is built on rebellions.
All right, Diego.
Calm down.
Seriously, the slow motion blowing up on the planet really fucking drove me.
Because it was just totally dumb because it looks cool and it's dramatic and just like Yoda fighting fucking...
Last question real quick.
We'll end on a hockey one.
Jay Sarkar wants to know Red Wings Tank or make a push to ensure the playoffs
continues.
They can't tank.
They don't have a tankable team.
They're too many young guys.
They don't have a tankable team.
Can't take Zellerberg's contracts.
Yeah, and the goaltender that you turn to
to tank has actually been all right.
Yeah, right.
Jimmy Howard's at like 9.30 something.
Yeah, and the other kid who came up is for
when Marazick blew up, it's been fine too.
He's got it together.
He's all right.
So it's like, what do you do?
You can't trade any of your young guys.
The one trading Steve Ott for a fifth isn't tanking.
The real interesting one's Tampa.
Because, well, they're not going to be fine.
They're not going to be fine. They're not going to make the playoffs.
Oh, it sounds like a bet, my friend.
Dude, they're...
Impossible.
They're four games.
They're four points out as we do this show with the Liefs having four games in hand.
They're not making the playoffs.
They'll catch somebody in that.
All right.
I'll put something on it.
What do you want to put on it?
Let's put a spicy pizza pie on it.
A nice of pie.
All right, spicy pizza pie on Tampa.
Listen, I want Tampa to make the playoffs.
more than anything.
I want them to win the cup
because I like John Cooper.
And I like the idea of Michael
Heaton raising the cup.
It's like, you want to get nuts?
Come on.
Let's get nuts.
But I think they're too far out.
And I think the real question about the lightning is,
what do you do with Bish?
Bish, please.
Well, let's say they are eight points out
at the deadline.
The thing is, but that's the thing, though,
if you're eight points out of the deadlines,
because Ben Bishop's not playing well,
so how do you trade Ben Bish is?
of them. Yeah, his stock's not going to be
where you want it to be, but
at the same time, you're going to
lose them.
Speaking of trades, we should have dedicated
the whole show to the Blockbuster trade of the 2016-17
season yesterday. Tommy Wingles
to Ottawa. Whoa.
Tommy Wingles was one of those guys that, like, you know.
This league is great. Tom, if
we weren't paid to cover hockey
and like three weeks
from now, people were like, hey,
what teams Tommy Wingles on? You're just going to be like,
sharks. Why? Why do you ask?
Where else would he be?
He's been there forever.
Tommy Wingles.
Tommy Wingles.
Right.
It's easy to remember.
No, actually, he's, it's, it's like,
Derek, if I didn't, if I didn't have to, like, spend all my time around the Rangers,
I would totally forget where Derek Brassar is going right.
100%.
Right.
This fucking league.
Precisely.
It's like when Travis Zajak eventually leaves the devils at some point, God willing.
And someone's like.
Set him free.
Someone's like, so the devil centers are, I'm like, well, yeah, Pabelsaka,
who never really turned out the way we want him to.
And then Zajak, you're like, wait, would Zajax?
You're like, wait, with Zajax on Winnipeg now, I'm just like, no, he's not.
He's been there three years, Greg.
He won the Selke there in 1920.
Don't you remember that season?
Oh, right.
I forgot about that.
So Tampa's got the bishop who they're going to have to trade or also going to lose him for nothing.
And then other than that, I mean, like, Fupola's the interesting one, but he's got kind of a...
Fipula.
Filippa.
Filippa.
Filupula is the interesting one, but he's got some no-move protection.
But, I mean, they got him for $5 million next year, too.
And I think that, like, they'd probably like to take that off their cap.
Their expansion draft situation, I think, kind of sucks, too, because Callahan, they can't expose.
Yeah.
I forget exactly what it is forward-wise, but I think Colorn might be a guy they could potentially lose in the thing.
But after what they did in the offseason, there's no way.
If there are four points out in mid-February, they're not trading anything.
That's why Steve Badgman gets paid the big bucks.
All right.
Once again, ladies and gentlemen, thanks to you for joining and listening to us again.
The book, oh, thanks to Chris number two, Chris Barker from the United States.
flag for coming on and talking about politics and penguins.
Go follow them on Twitter.
Politics and penguins, by that way, it would be an amazing store.
What would they sell there?
They would sell refrigerators and Nixon biographies.
It would be like penguin dolls with like Donald Trump haircuts.
Oh God, Jesus.
The 100 Greatest Players in NHL History and other stuff, an arbitrary collection,
Arbitrary List is available on Kindle, Ibooks, everywhere.
Ebooks are sold, written by myself, Lozo, and Down Goes Brown.
buy it today. It's great stuff. Real cheap, too.
$5.99. You'll love it.
And thanks to everybody listening.
I'll be at the All-Star Weekend. So if you want to check out All-Star
stuff, check out Puck Daddy for coverage
from me, Leahy, Cooper, and
Jen Neal. And
we'll have just a ton of fun while
we're out there. And if you're at, in L.A.
Come to meet up at Big Wangs on Saturday night.
You can find myself from Puck Daddy. You can find me on Twitter
at Wichinsky. My other book is
Take Your Eye off the puck. But buy this one,
it's probably better and also cheaper. And here's
Dave Lozo.
Greg Wischinski
At Wichinsky
December 16th
2016
First hour of hashtag Rogue 1
is a slog though
It's like they keep forgetting
Empire as a classic for being
Grim exclamation point
Dark cut with humor
parentheses Yoda comma banter
So it's a two hour movie
First hour was a slog
Therefore by rule
You forget about the intermission
It's like three hour of me
Fake news from Greg Wichensky
Oh come on
A third
I believe a two-hour film is one fact, and a two-hour film is the alternative effect.
Thank you very much.
I want to close by defending Katie Rich of S&L because she did not tell a Baron Trump joke.
She told a Donald and Melania joke that had Baron Trump's name in it.
People always get mad about that shit.
They say it's a blank joke when that's not what the joke is.
It was an eight-word joke that contained his name, so people laughed at it, and they saw his name in it.
They thought she was making fun of him.
No, the joke is about his shitty fucking ass.
asshole parents. So she should not be fired. She writes jokes for a living. It's very sad that
SNL, a place where they do jokes for a living would not understand that and back her. And I am
not very happy about that. Even though I'm not an SNL fan, I just think Katie Rich is funny. And I thought
her joke was, that her joke was fine. You didn't even watch, you don't even watch this show.
We saw her, by the way. Yeah, she did the weekend update sports thing with Katie Nolan at the
comedy thing. And she was super fucking funny. So I followed her on Twitter and she's still funny.
So I will defend her and that particular joke until the end of time.
I completely agree.
I'm glad that you're standing up for free speech and comedy.
However, if you do support our president, I want you to know that I, too, support our president.
And the best way to show your support to our president is buying the 100 greatest players in NHL history and other stuff, written by avowed patriots, Greg Wyshinsky, Dave Lozo, but also Canadian.
And honestly, if you just want me and Lozo to write books going forward, the best thing to do, buy the best thing to do, buy the.
this book, fund our president's plan to build that wall and keep the Canadians out.
There it is.
Yup.
Thanks, everybody.
See ya.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
