Puck Soup - Connor McDavid
Episode Date: June 23, 2017Greg talks with NHL MVP Connor McDavid about video games, weirdos hugging him, junk food and much more. Plus, Greg and Dave break down the Vegas Golden Knights and the expansion draft, review the NH...L Awards, talk about the new Adidas jerseys, cover Dave Tippett's departure, debate Marian Hossa's retirement, celebrate a potential rules change, talk about the merits of stoner comedies, NBA offseason vs. NHL offseason and answer reader mail. Sponsored by Seat Geek and Audible!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seekek.
You know, buying tickets to sports and concerts and comedians can be complicated.
But there is a better, simpler way to buy them with Seek.
It's the smartest, easiest way to get tickets to live events.
The seamless mobile experience that you have with Seekek allows you to buy and sell tickets in just two taps.
They can help you find the best seats at the best prices and it's fully guaranteed.
I know this summer I'm going to be using Seekiekeek to find out.
myself some New York Mets tickets at affordable prices, and they will be affordable because the
Mets suck.
I got a C-Gy cap on my phone.
It's by far the easiest way I found to shop for tickets.
It saves you time.
It saves you money by searching multiple ticket sites to compare prices and finding amazing
deals, and you get the most bang for your buck because Ciki grades each ticket based
on value to help you immediately identify the best seats that fit your budget.
Plus, every purchase is fully getting.
guaranteed so you can shop for tickets on Z-Kkeek with confidence.
And here's a deal.
For Puck Soup listeners,
if you can get 20 bucks off your first C-Keekeek purchase,
just download the C-KKK app and enter the promo code S-O-U-P.
That's Pelt Soup.
That's promo code Soup for a $20 rebate off your first C-Kkeek purchase.
Download the app, promo code Soup.
Get it now and enjoy the show.
Now entering.
Nurtist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and nonsense.
Puck Soup.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Blog.
I'm Dave Lazo, Wadderstaff.
And you're in Puck Soup, and I'm in Chicago.
in Las Vegas, and we are doing another remote show, as is our want during the NHL offseason
and postseason.
I'm here for the scintillating NHL draft, otherwise known as the day we all pretend to know
junior players.
I honestly forgot.
I forgot the award show was yesterday, which was Wednesday.
I forgot the draft was tomorrow.
I knew the NBA draft was tomorrow because all of the NBA news the last two days has been
super interesting and awesome.
Like, imagine the NHL offseason where we all sat around and wondered if
Sidney Crosby was going to go somewhere else while he was still in his prime and super
awesome every two years.
That'd be amazing.
So you're saying, this is once again visiting a concept from the previous episode.
The super teams concept is more of things that we need of here in the NHL to spice up our,
because here's the interesting thing.
I remember being at the draft one year, and Brian Burke was talking, we were talking about
like why there aren't more interesting trades, you know? And he's just like, because we have to
sign everybody forever. And as long as you sign someone for eight years, there isn't going to
be trades at the trade deadline. There ain't going to be trades at the draft. It's boring.
Wait, what's boring? The signing or the not, or the, is he saying trading guys is
boring? Or it's just boring because there's nobody left to trade. Because here's a thing,
like in theory, right, we should be talking about bad teams or middling teams. Or middling teams.
looking to trade guys on long-term contracts, and it hardly ever happens.
You know, the Jordan Eberley trade happened today, and that guy has, what, two years left,
I think it's $6 million.
Like, you know, he'll resign, we assume, with the founders, but by no means is that, like,
a guy in the midst of an eight-year contract being traded.
The one thing that the NBA and the NHL do have in common, though, is this idea that, you know,
the bad contract, the future money on your cap is basically what runs the show.
Like, you know, the Lakers make all those moves in anticipation of signing free agents.
You know, the Oilers make the Eberley trade in anticipation of signing dry saddle and making sure no one can offer shoot them.
That's kind of the boring part is that, you know, we've become a Cap Geek Society.
We've become a Cap Geek League.
And the days of being able to call up, you know, your local sports talk station for that five minutes to talk about hockey and be like, I'd like to propose a trade.
Patrick Kane for blah, blah, blah.
You can't do it anymore because it's all about what the numbers are.
Yeah, God forbid the NHL set up the CBA and the contracts where it's fun for the fans.
Look, with the NHL, there's two problems.
One is you can't go short term in the NHL because the NHL is a contact sport that's very violent,
and one day someone can just elbow you in the head or go need a knee and you're done.
So you want to be able to have seven years of guaranteed money if he can.
But what you need is, like whatever, like let's say Connor McDavid, and he will,
he will sign an eight-year, $85 million deal.
He needs an opt-out clause in year four,
where it's up to him where he's just like
gonna see the lay of the land that three year four
like LeBron had where he's like
he signed a two year dealer wherever it was
with an opt-out for the first year
or see now you're getting into
you know what assessment has said the same thing
now you're getting into the territory of
the fact that these are indentured servants
any player under the age of 27
is an indentured servant
and they are shackled to their team
and they can't go anywhere
now there's a good
the positive
this positive way to look at that
is that
being shackled to a team in a place where people don't want to play, let's say, in a struggling market.
Like, that's a good thing for the league because those teams can keep superstar young players, you know, for a good eight or nine years until they're allowed to leave.
The bad thing is that it makes life really boring, as Brian Brooke once told us.
Super boring.
And like, and that's how teams that are good staying in power longer is they draft well.
really well and then they lock up their dudes for long periods of time and that's how you have three champions in 10 years because they have Malkin, Crosby, Kane, Taves, Keith and whatever the other team, you know, Keith or Dowdy, like that they have all the superstar guys and all the other good guys are spread out too far where they can't do anything.
They do until they do until those players have a mysterious disease that causes them to leave hockey during their year where they make a million dollars against the, oh, what's all right?
about that later.
Yeah.
Let's talk about it later.
Don't,
don't get there yet.
We'll never get off it.
Let's talk about the Vegas Gold Knights.
That's the thing that people want to talk about.
And I'll ask you straight away, Dave Loso.
They're fucking terrible.
They're terrible, Greg.
How can you possibly think otherwise?
They're a bad team where they left,
they left too many assets on the table that were flippable or better than what they
took,
and they didn't get enough bribery picks back for a lot of those situations.
They got plenty of bribery.
They did not.
They got two first round picks.
This team has 12 picks in the first two rounds over the next three years.
That's all the, the next three years is the plan.
That's what Bill Foley said.
They could have got more.
They still could have got more.
A very impressive fellow that Bill Foley, I spoke to him a couple times in Vegas.
He's the kind of guy where you're like, you're like, oh my God, there's a reason why you have made so much money.
And I bet your dick is like three times bigger than mine, probably as well.
Is his dick that big, though?
I don't know, man.
You've got a big dick.
You're a little more.
You think it could be the other way where he's got a little bit of a shrinking turtle,
and that's why he's so successful to compensate.
Like a redneck driving a giant truck, but instead he's a white guy with a, you know,
could spend $500 billion on a team.
I mean, he forgot the order in which he was supposed to read off the names last night.
So I don't know.
In fairness, he was, he's so rich that he could just make up his own order.
I think that's what's beautiful.
That's, again, like I said the other day, like the thing that I love so,
much about Bill Foley, is that he spent $500 million of a team. And then he said, all right, cool,
we're going to name it the Black Knights. And they're like, but you can't because someone has
a trademark on it. He's like, yes, I can. I just paid $500 million for a hockey team. I could name
whatever we want. I could name it the flying assholes if I wanted to. You're like, sorry.
Yeah, he sounds really smart, Greg. He sounds like a really smart guy. You got me. They have 12,
they have 12 picks in the first three rounds of the next three years. He set, he set the course and
said, we're going to make the playoffs within three years.
And so that's what they did.
I know what you're saying.
Like, you're disappointed that they didn't make some of the picks that we thought they
were going to make for bigger names or more interesting names.
They kind of whisked out in some cases and just, you know, sacrifice the better player
to then just try to get a draft pick.
I get that.
But, again, you honestly don't think they're going to be competitive?
How do you think this team is going to be competitive?
How?
Okay.
Give me their, give me, well, I mean, they're still going to flip some dudes.
They've got a ton of D men right now still, but give me, give me that top six forward
group and give me their top four D and tell me how that team's making the playoffs.
If their D next year is Mathat, Garrison.
Oh my God, Garrison's done, man.
Shea Theodore, Nate Schmidt, Stoner, and then, you know, like Merrill or Miller or, you know, whatever.
It's a good group.
it's not.
It's certainly not.
They're,
now,
no,
listen, I think they're,
I mean,
listen,
they're great in goal.
He's,
he's going to,
if we know nothing of Mark
Andre Fleury,
it's that he can win a regular season game.
I think they've,
they're going to be,
they're going to be a solid defensive group.
And I,
and I,
and I completely agree with you that when
you're going into next season
and your top line is
Mikhail Grabowski,
David Peron,
and Pierre Edward Belmar.
Yeah,
that's a problem.
I don't think they're going to be able to score many goals.
And that ultimately will probably be their undoing.
But as far as them being a competitive team,
dude, you compare this roster to the dog shit,
the predators and the blue jackets and all those teams had when they came into the league.
There's no comparison.
Yes, I agree.
If you compare them to two of the worst rosters ever put together in the history of hockey.
I mean, if you compare them to the 92-93 senators, this looks great.
It's not.
Hold on.
I will not let you.
You besmirched the good name of Troy Millett, sir.
Peter Sodorkowitz.
Yeah, okay, fine.
Flurry's better than Peter Sodorkowitz.
And that's another thing, too,
is like, why is everybody so sure
Flurry's going to be good?
Like, this is totally based on him
getting hot for a month in the playoffs.
Like, he was relegated to the bench.
He was a 908 goaltender on the Penguins.
What's it going to be on this team?
He's fine in the regular season.
Based on when?
It's like two years ago he was.
I'm going to read you,
just for shits and giggles.
The top 10 scorers on the
2000-2001 blue jackets
or do you want to attempt to name them?
How many of these top 10 scores in the team
can you name? Oh God, outside of Rick Nash.
I can't name anybody.
Okay, Rick Nash wasn't even on that team.
He wasn't?
No, he wasn't.
Here we go, ready?
From 10 to 1.
Kevin Adams, with the Y for Kevin,
Bruce Gardner,
Darren Quint,
Jamie Heward,
Serge Auban,
David Voibb you know I hate this name so much I always got this this name in hockey cards
David Voibbreni what brought remember he's got the V and the Y
What Bernie is that how you say it I've heard I haven't heard his name said out loud in 20 years so
I'm guessing that's honestly a name when I was when I was like collecting cards or starting to
write about hockey like I just got chicken shit and just didn't need I didn't even try to say it
um Tyler Wright Steve Heinz Ebson Knutson
And Jeff Sanderson, of course, is their leading score of a 30 goal man on the 2000-2001 Blue Jackets.
Yes, this team is, how many points did that Blue Jackets team finish with?
Oh, they were a juggernaut.
71 points, fifth in the Central Division.
See, like, that's pretty much right about where I would imagine this team getting to is like 70 points.
Dude, they legit, they had 71 points in their first season, and then they had 57 in their second season.
They regressed from being an expansion team to a second year team.
Oh, the blue jackets are beautiful.
Like, okay, like this team, like it was going to be bad no matter what.
I understand that.
But there's just certain decisions that I just don't, like, I don't get why you think,
not you, but like George McPhee thinks Clayton Stoner slash Shathier is better than either Vatinin or Josh Manson.
I don't get that.
He's, he managed, it's weird because, like, he managed to fleece, like, the islanders for a first-round pick to take on Grabowski's contract.
The stars are like, you want to take Cody Eakin?
What did he do last year?
He'll wait at 12 points.
What's his salary?
He's got a $4 million cap it.
Now, we'd be willing to give you, and, like, George, he's like, nope, I'll take him free of charge.
Just give me Cody.
Really?
We won't throw in something to get this up.
Nope, nope, nope.
Like, I don't understand why you.
You take Cody Eakin and don't get anything on top of that.
And you take, for instance, like the Oilers.
Like, Griffin Reinhart, like, come on, man.
Like, why? Why Griffin?
Like, are you going to turn him into a winning defenseman on the worst team in hockey next year?
No.
The only thing I don't get that pick, by the way.
Alexei Emelin?
Like, what's he going to do there?
You couldn't even skate in Montreal.
That's to flip him.
They're going to flip that guy.
I think so, but what are you going to get for Alexei Emelon?
Lucas, I agree.
I, like, the Anaheim situation honestly baffles me.
It's baffling.
Unless it's a situation where they really love Theodore, and they're like, he's young, he's somebody you can build around.
You put him and Nate Schmidt on your D, and assuming they don't trade Nate Schmidt,
because that somehow became a thing today with the Leafs looking at him.
And you have some players to build around, and then you're not paying them a lot of money.
But I don't know.
Like, I guess the thing that we're both kind of saying, although I'm, I'm willing.
to give McPhee and the Golden Knights a little bit more credit than you are,
is that they had the chance to put Daniel Craig in the chair
and hit him in the balls with the big rope,
and instead they just kind of like poured lemon juice on his cuts.
And I don't quite understand when you can hold the entire league ransom
why you don't do that.
Like he was basically like, yeah, he was a bad guy in a movie and he was like,
if you did not give me what I want, I will detonate this bomb only in the,
certain places, not all over the
U.S. I'm going to maybe
let, like I love Oscar
Lindberg, I think he's fine.
Why? Why do you take him over
so many other valuable assets that
you could get for now or for
flipping? Like Oscar Lindberg could turn out to be
a fine, maybe, even second
line center, but you've got
Auntie Ranta for a million bucks. Like you can take him
and flip him for so much.
Michael Grabbner scored 27 goals for a million
It's weird. It's clear that
there is a different, there is a separation between
public perception of the goaltending market and what it actually is. They only took three
goalies. And that to me tells you that there isn't a market for the draft Antirontah and
then flip them someplace thing. The musical chairs have stopped. People have their goalies
outside of the flyers where I really thought they were going to draft Marazic and then ship
them there. But apparently that didn't happen. I do like your idea, though, of super criminal
threatening a city. If my demands aren't met, I will detonate this bomb in the middle of
of the city. We are not meeting your demand, sir.
Okay, well,
I'm going to leave this
garbage bag with
a, what of those styro...
I bought some chicken breasts, and
the chicken juices are in the styrofoam.
It's really stinky, and I'm going to
leave that on a very populated block.
It's basically the difference in she,
when we thought the Golden Knights were going to do what they actually did.
I have kidnapped your daughter.
I'm going to tell you right now that I have a very specific
set of skills that can get her back.
All right, fine, you can have her back.
That's fine.
I mean, I took her to Starbucks and got her a unicorn frape.
It wasn't Venty, though, because I'm a tough guy.
I got her, I got her a tall because I'm a villain.
I don't know.
It's just like, like, for instance, the devils.
I wouldn't have taken John Merrill because I think he's bad.
I would have taken, I would have taken, uh, I would have taken, uh, Beau Bennett.
But that's just like, that's, that's just apples and oranges.
Like, there's just, like, I don't get Eric Howla.
Like, I don't get why you have.
have the ability to poach Eric Stahl.
You're telling me you can't flip Eric Stahl.
You can't, like, Sammy Vattonan,
you could have flipped him for a first round pick.
Eric Stahl, I don't know, maybe, maybe not.
But I'd rather have whatever I can get for Eric Stahl than,
and I like Eric Halle, but I just, I don't know.
The only thing I can think of is that he doesn't want to upset the apple cart,
pissed off the old boys network.
Because there's no other logical reason why you don't end up with a defense of
Sammy Vatton and Matt Dumbah and like all of the other
players that he could have taken but then laid off.
I don't know.
It speaks to that whole thing with these GMs where they're just, they all want to be
fishing buddies.
Nobody wants to sign each other's RFAs.
It's all a big jerk off, the big giant circle jerk.
And to go back to the premise of this show, it makes hockey boring.
David Schlemco for a fifth.
Like, why not just keep David Schlemco at that point if all you can get is a fifth round
pick for him?
He's got good numbers, good contracts.
Like, why is he one of the guys you're a fourth?
flipping. I don't, and why is it only for that?
Which, which again, you know, true to form, Mark Bergevan will now trade Alex
Colchenyuk for a broken N64 because we go from one great trade to one shittastic trade
in Montreal. That's, that's the tradition there. I'm going to give you a chance to run the
table on the top 10 scores on the 2000-2001 Minnesota Wild, sir. Give me any name,
and if you get it, you can continue.
Oh, Christ, 2000, 2001.
Minnesota Wild.
Mm-hmm.
Jonathan Coyvoo.
Okay, you're out already.
I probably would have started with the second highest score, Marion Gabbrick.
But I'll begin at 10.
Oh, right, Ryan Gavey.
Aaron Gavee.
Stacey Roest?
Oh, oh, R-O-U-S-T.
Hey, who did you say?
I made up a name completely.
It's not a real person.
Oh, because it sounded like you said, Auntie Lexan, because that was close.
That he was number eight.
Then Jimmy Dowd of Brick New Jersey, Darby Hendrickson, Philippe Cuba, West Walls, Lubamir Sakeras, marrying Gaprik.
That's not a real person.
Lubamir Sikara?
That's the name you give when the cops pull you over.
You don't have any ID?
No.
What's your name?
Lubamir Sikara.
And then number one of the list, of course, is a guy who to this day probably tells people in bars all
over wherever the hell he lives, probably Boston,
that he was the leading
scorer the year Marion Gabrick came
of the league. Scott Pellarin, former devil.
Scott Pellarren. He's the guy
that signed my scorer program
back when I was a kid. It's the only signed score of
I ever got was Scott Pellering. That's so cool.
Scott Pelloran probably should write a book
called I finished three points ahead
of Marion Gabburik. And in fact, if he did
write a book, Dave Lozo,
maybe you could find
that book on audible.com.
Wow, that's a smooth.
That's a smooth segue.
That's one of your smoothest ones.
No one saw that coming.
Yeah, no one saw that coming.
A wonderful sponsor here on Puck Soup.
Audible has just launched its first ever binge listening event.
It's all about binging these days, Dave, Loz.
So binging shows and binging food when you're sad.
You're invited to binge on the great listens and big savings with their biggest sale ever.
Enjoy all the benefits of Gold Audible membership, Celebrity.
rated Audible books, new podcasts and audio shows, exclusive content, and more.
Join now and get a year of Audible for just 99 bucks and a $50 savings since
Audible's annual membership retails for $149.95.
This is a cool deal.
And I know as a guy who plans to lube himself, Lubamir Sekaris himself up with some
sunsandlish and sit by a pool for the majority of the summer, I'm going to be getting some
Audible books to listen to for sure.
So hop on this binge listening event.
The sale end July 6th.
Learn more at audible.com slash binge, B-I-N-G-E.
That's audible.com slash binge.
Right.
Before we move on, before we move on, give me your points.
Give me your points prediction for Vegas right now.
All right.
Let me see this real quick.
Someone asked me about it the other day and I said that I really can't give you a
points prediction until I actually look at what the standings look like.
last year and it's really too it's really too like I understand they're going to they're
going to add some pieces and flip some guys but still like right now how do you feel about this
team right now based on who I think will still be there and and you know the rookies and the
whole thing and what have you um I'm gonna go I'm gonna go with okay the devil's at 70 last year
I'm gonna go with and I need to get to 94 to make the playoffs oh my god I'm gonna see
I'm going to set the over under at at 75 and I'll take the over and I'll say 82 points.
So you're in the points.
So you're saying 82 points.
What?
So you're saying 82 points.
You can't set the overrunner at 75 and then say 80.
That's like the easiest Vegas bet.
I'm going to say the giants are going to beat the bucks by two.
I'm going to set the line there and they won by 14.
Listen, as a prognosticator and as a pundit, I'm trying to set it up where if I'm right about the over 75, I can claim victory.
And if I hit the 82, I'm fucking genius.
Okay, that's what I'm trying to accomplish here.
Wow.
I think 75 is a good over under number.
I'm going to take the under and say low 70s, 72, 73, right around there.
I don't know about you.
We'll get to the awards in a second, but in a general sense, I really enjoyed watching the.
expansion draft. I thought it was fun. I don't need to hear from George McPhee quite as often as we
heard from him during the expansion draft. Like, I mean, save that shit for the scrums afterwards.
But it was, I thought it was just, it was fun. Like, it was just fun to see a new thing be created.
And it was fun to have those guys walk out in those jerseys. And, you know, Mark Andre Fleury
was, like, super happy just because he might be on some narcotic. But like, it was just,
it was cool. It was cool to see history be made like that. Because we've never had.
an expansion team come into this league during like the social media era.
And so it was really, I thought it was fun.
I thought it was a fun time.
Yeah, I didn't watch.
I was watching baseball and checking Twitter.
You're not going to get me to sit through two hours of Joe Mangelo jokes.
I'm sorry, it just wasn't going to happen.
So I'm glad you enjoyed it.
You weren't alone.
According to the NHL,
oh no.
2.31 million viewers watched the NHL awards.
Now, that's a pretty great, that's a pretty great number for NBCSN.
Except it's the combined viewership between NBCSN, Sportsnet, and TVA.
2.31 million viewers in the entirety of North America watched the NHL Awards last night.
It's just a bad show.
Like, here's what I don't get.
Like, I understand that it's probably because of maybe money or whatever,
but it seems weird to me that, like, Joe Mangelo, and, like, I watch part of it.
Like, you know, I feel like hosting is not his thing, and he was fine in the very, like,
the Crosby
Betman
gag.
He was fine.
But no one's tuning in for him.
Why would you have Jay Baruchel?
Why would you have Jay Baruchel there to give out an award
when he's like a very funny guy?
Like he's,
he's not stand up,
but he does just for laughs.
Like he's,
he's,
that's his thing.
Like,
why would you not enlist the more famous popular?
Like if Joe Mangelo was taking off a shirt,
like every woman on my Twitter timeline wanted him to do,
I would get it.
I'd be like,
sure.
But I just,
I'm not going to tune in for that.
That's the formula, though.
Have Joe Mangela or even anybody from Magic Mike.
Kevin Nash hosts a show and go and do a strip tease for the ladies.
And then for the gentlemen, pair crazy old NHLers with beautiful young women wearing dresses so they can all comment on their gams.
You know what they need?
They need to have the, they need to have their gams.
Boy, you've been on the road.
You're drunk right now.
You're doing the hangout tonight.
You've already started pre-gaming, aren't you?
You know what I'm reverencing, right, from the award show?
I'm not exaggerating when I say I watched like 45 seconds.
On the award show last night,
Ali Raceman presented with Marcel Dion.
Oh, I saw the tweets.
And Ali Raceman said,
it's so fun to be up here with somebody as old and wonderful as you or something.
And then he said,
and it's so good to be up here with,
look at those legs.
No.
Yes, he did.
Is she an adult?
Is she like a...
She's in her early 20s and he is well above 60.
It was like grandpa being like, I'm going to make a coin appear behind your ear also.
Look at those stems.
Back in my day, you'd be a flapper.
And I would be in your club pouring you some moonshine.
But he...
So to dispel a theory out there from some people, it wasn't scripted.
Okay?
It was very much an ad lib.
In the script, he does, he's supposed to actually reference her name so people who know who know who she is.
But instead he's just like, and it's great to be up here with you, luscious long legs that go all the way up.
So he instantly got a boner the second he started reading the telepropter.
He just couldn't.
Oh, Marcel.
So that's what I think the form.
is have somebody from Magic Mike
host and strip and then have
just decrepit old
Hall of Famers up there with
beautiful women.
You need someone to come in and do
the Kimmel Chris Rock thing at the Oscars
and actually make the cutting jokes
that fans want to hear.
You know what I mean?
Like you can't have...
Like the NHL always wants to find the middle ground
on the entertainment where like it's fun
but it's not offensive.
Not offensive.
I'm not saying you have to go up there
and make fun of people personally.
But you need to be able to rip on the NHL for the offside reviews not working.
You just can't be like, oh, you're sitting in the back there.
What are you, a Philadelphia flyer?
Come on, come on, man.
Just like for two hours, just absorb jokes at your own expense.
Like be self-deprecating.
I guess not self-deprecating, but have a sense of humor about yourself for two hours.
And more people in 2.3 million in all of North America.
Ladies and gentlemen, joining us now,
pop star Selena Gomez,
and Phil Esposito,
Hockey Hall of Fame.
Oh, Tuts, look at that heinie.
The Frank J. Selke Award is for the best defensive
forward in the National Hockey League.
I don't want to be too forward, Selena,
but I have no defense for your beauty.
Come on.
I don't know.
We're here to present the heart trophy for
You got my hot thuts.
Look at those gams.
Speaking of organs that pump blood,
guess what's happening now?
By the way, the ultimate
perfect cherry on the Sunday
about that whole Marcel Dion thing,
they were presenting the Lady Bing
for gentlemanly play. I shit
you not. That was the award.
How did Ali Rae Span handle it? Was she like, cool,
or did she seem uncomfortable?
She smiled the whole time. The really, the fuck
part about it was that she was just in the news the other day
for having like a TSA agent comment on her
like arms and how she
he didn't think he was she was muscular
enough to be a gymnast and she went on this rant on Twitter
about like you know body image
and stuff and here's some
old fuckwad from
you know the 1980s
commenting on her legs and so
yeah I'm in the top 100
but you're in the top 10 for
the ladies I've
stood next to or something
And, you know, of course, it says it's the NHO, like the, the, she, she smiled through it.
The crowd, of course, was like, there was a brief sort of like, Lori Povich, the crowd sound.
And then there was, like, whistling at her.
And that really was, it just was a terrible, terrible thing, but not scripted for the, for the record.
Before we get to our, our guest, let's talk about them new threads, them new jerseys.
You and I, I'm an admitted devil's fan, you're a lapsed Devils fan.
Are you in the camp that says they ruined everything by taking the stripes off the waist?
Some of them look pretty much the same.
Like the Predators one looks bad.
And the ones that have like the weird collars don't look good.
But otherwise, like I have no real strong.
Like it's weird that the Ducks jersey still looks the same.
Like you have this one-time opportunity to like redo some of the worst ones.
and it's all just like minor tweaks
and obviously they're doing that
they're getting rid of the piping to make room for ads
we all know that
but the Vegas ones
I love the Vegas
road jerseys
the home ones are so dreary man
like they're just not
they're not they don't stand out to me
a couple things
I talked to the Adidas people
and their mindset
for some of these changes was they went to the teams
they're like
what do you like best about your jerseys
and so the devil said we like our
logo and we like our shoulder pads.
And then they said, okay, we're going to get
rid of everything else, basically.
So all people really care about are these two things that you like.
They went to Nashville and said, what do you like
about your jerseys? They're like,
them's gold jerseys. Everybody likes gold.
And they're like, yeah, we'll just gear in of all the other shit and it'll
just be gold. And so that's kind of the mindset
behind it. Was they're trying to accentuate the things
that the teams thought were the most valuable
parts of their jerseys? Was it successful?
In Nashville's case, fuck no.
Those are horrible.
Like for all to talk about the devil's jerseys looking like their practice jerseys,
those Nashville jerseys, they look like a template you give a child at a restaurant,
and then they draw a better jersey with crayons over that template.
Like, it's so plain and terrible.
It's not good.
Like, most of the ones people are freaking out about, they're freaking out about it because it's the moment, it's on Twitter,
and like 10 games into next season, like, we're all going to forget about it.
We're not going to think twice about it.
we're just going to be like, oh, yeah, blah, blah, blah, it's New Jersey's.
And they're going to be just part of the, like, there was, it's like, it's like the division
names, the new division names, they came out, whatever it was at this point, four years ago,
when we were all like, Metropolitan, and now it's just part of the, it's part of the lexicon.
You'll forget about it.
I'm torn on the, on the Vegas jerseys, because I like a lot of it.
Like, I'm an admitted mark for the logo.
I think the logo is awesome.
And I found out that our big dick friend, Bill Foley, or extraordinarily little dick friend,
We haven't really determined it yet.
I'm going to say a big dick.
He invented the logo.
Like, it was in his mind.
He's the guy who came up with the concept of it.
I think it's really cool.
Oh, wait, wait, wait, hold on.
When you say he invented the logo,
I'm picturing it more like he was in the room with like some young person who knows how to draw.
And he was just like, give me a blood with the bronze and a mad.
And the guy was like, oh, fuck, what is this guy talking about?
And then he made it happen.
And now Bill Bowley is taking credit.
Did he maybe.
say it sprung forth from his brain.
I'm not saying that he sat down with a fucking paint set and,
and like,
you know,
just slathered it on a wall in his office and a fit of genius.
And the Adidas people walked in and he's on the ground just naked,
like quivering.
And they're like,
what's up,
Mr. Foley?
What's wrong?
He's like,
I made this.
It's got to be the logo.
It just came to me as if,
as if in a vision.
I just said,
this is what I think looks cool.
And somebody drew it for him.
Yeah,
that's what it was.
Like,
I'm picturing like Donald Trump telling people like, you know, I actually coined the phrase Oval Office.
No, no, you didn't.
What are you talking about?
I actually invented the jersey.
Oh, I don't know.
Like Arizona looks good.
Many people are saying it's the best logo in sports.
I don't know.
Many people say it.
Many people are telling me it's the best logo.
Like the Boston Bruins uniforms.
Like I'm looking at them right now.
I can't really see anything different.
I'm looking at it right now.
There's some that look completely the same.
On the Vegas thing, love the logo, love these sparkly gold.
Like, you have to, the fact that the NHL decided that they couldn't do a gambling motif for the team name or anything else was sort of shitty.
Like, I still kind of hate the idea that we couldn't call this team the blackjack or something, right?
So the idea that there at least is some Vegas element on there, the little glittery gold is makes me happy.
And it really pops with the rest of the Belgium flag.
Now, the color of the jersey is sort of problematic because I swear to Christ, I did not know it was gray until I got there.
I was under the impression this jersey was green until about two hours before they actually released it.
I don't know about you.
Yes.
Am I colorblind?
Is it possible?
Maybe.
I thought it was green.
I thought it was green.
The thing, too, with the home jersey, and I don't know this, but if you look at the jersey and then, like, picture, like, picture.
like the stands at the Army Navy game.
Like I feel like this jersey is kind of like,
it feels like military-ish in a way, you know?
And obviously that's his big thing.
But while that look, I think, works for like a member of the U.S. Army.
Yeah.
Like I don't think it's, it doesn't work for a city that's built on bright lights and fun and excitement.
It's just very, and someone, people keep tweeting at me like, oh, don't forget the white gloves.
Are they wearing white gloves?
gloves with the whole jersey?
They're going to probably wear gold gloves.
That was the talk from Foley while we were there.
White gloves might have been good with that.
I would have liked to have seen that, but whatever.
It's fine.
All right.
Enough about gloves, sir.
We have breaking news.
And that breaking news is Dave Tippett, the head coach of the Arizona Coyotes,
has been, well, not fired.
but like mutually agreed upon termination, I guess.
Well, I mean, I think technically he's fired because he has a contract that's going to run through like 2021 that he's still going to get paid for.
So I think that's technically a firing.
He was someone that new owner and, well, not new owner, but like new majority owner, Andrew Barroway,
would like to sincerely thank for all of his hard work and the many contributions that he made to the organization.
He's a man of high character and he's grateful.
for his leadership.
I imagine part of the high character is not wanting to watch all of the veterans on your team
dispersed across the league because your owner doesn't want to pay them.
All right.
Okay.
Here's the thing.
He's upset, apparently, according to Craig Morgan of, I want to Fox Sports, Arizona.
There you go.
That's the one.
That's right.
He's not happy, Dave Tippett.
with the way Shane Dohn was handled.
Now, I remember when that all went down,
like Bob McKenzie, he was like,
Shane Done, not coming back, or somebody was like that.
And then it was Sarah McClellan had the story.
It was like, here's what went down with Shane Done and ownership.
And I was like, ooh, got to click on this.
And what happened was ownership was like,
hey, Shane Done, what's up?
He's like, nothing's hanging out with my horses.
What's going on?
Hey, you want to get together at the local restaurant
and have a little sit down?
Sounds great.
And they sat down and they said, Shane, thank you for everything, but we're not going to bring you back next season.
And everybody was like, oh, my God, I can't believe our ownership handled this.
So they went to the...
What are they supposed to do?
They went to the desert, they went to the desert cafe.
And they said that she don't...
Sorry, but we don't want to pay you to be a...
You had six calls last year.
Six.
A slow-footed relic on our fast-moving young team.
I don't I just don't I don't get why like I can see as a coach you're like man we traded our number one goalie we didn't get anything back like okay even though Mike Smith sucks fine I can see if you like you have so many good young forwards in your system that like it's time man let's see what they got
Shane Dole's 40 he had six goals last year they reportedly tried to trade into the penguins the penguins were like yeah we're trying to win a cup here so we're all stocked up
on bad forwards next.
They're like, you know what?
We went through this with the Ginla.
I don't think we need to do it again.
Yeah, yeah.
Exactly.
We don't want a worse version of what Jerome McGinla was three years ago.
We're good.
We're fine.
Thanks.
So I can get the creative differences between like maybe he doesn't want to take orders
from a 28-year-old stats guy.
Okay, fine.
But the Shane Dome part of it seems like I'm just, I think he was yelling out stuff
on the way out the door.
And also the vending machines suck.
They're not good.
and Shane Donne needs to be back here.
Yeah, that's it.
All right, Dave.
Enjoy your contract for the next three years.
Yeah, I think we should probably fire Tip it.
Why, John?
He doesn't even want to play Switch with me.
Like, I have Splatoon.
I have Zelda Breath of the Win.
I have arms.
I have so many cool games.
He doesn't want to play with me.
I was like, Dave, I have this really great idea
for a great way to keep our players
active when they're away from the rink.
Oh, what is it?
Like a workout program or something?
Have you heard of fidget spinners?
No, I haven't actually.
What are they?
And then he showed them to fidget spinners,
and they said, yeah, I'm out.
I can't do this anymore.
The only part of the Done thing that does bother me
is that, like, you know,
like if you knew that you didn't want him back,
maybe do a bit of a more emphatic
victory lap than they did for him.
You know, there was always the notion he could come back.
And, like, that's a, I mean, in fairness,
it's a fucking dude that's been there since the Winnipeg days.
That's fair.
But, I mean, what about Patrick Eliosch?
That was like a last-minute thing.
They were like, oh, yeah, by the way, Patrick Eliosch is done.
Here's one more game for him to play at home, and that was it.
And then he lingered around last year.
Yeah.
So, and Patrick Eliosh actually, you know, won stuff and was.
I think it's entirely possible that the devils were so incompetent.
They forgot he was under contract.
I don't rule that out.
Wait,
Lou signed him for how long at his age?
Oh, Jesus.
All right, fine.
Put him out of the last game.
It wasn't even the last game, right?
It was just warm-ups now that I say that, right?
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, exactly.
All right, so no Tippett, no Done, no Mike Smith.
Who would coach this team?
Like, with that owner that has clearly, you know,
kind of gone rogue.
Here's my, this is one of my favorite, like, all these tweets like tonight about the coyotes are hilarious to me because like the coyotes.
The tweet is on the eve of, from Craig Morgan again, on the eve of the NHL draft, the coyotes have no coach, no captain, no president CEO, no starting goalie, no number one center, no president of hockey ops.
And I'm sitting there and I'm like, wow, man, I guess they're going to be bad again.
Like, you know what I mean?
It's not like it's not like you're the penguins and this is happening, that the coyotes, like.
all the more reason to bet that over with the Vegas Golden Knights, my friend.
Oh, you think they're going to just rack up like nine or like nine or ten free points if they play them five times?
I am saying that when you schedule the, when you schedule the Arizona Coyotes as your first home game ever,
it is the closest you can get to a hockey team scheduling Appalachian State in week one in Division 1 and a NCAA schedule.
The coyotes are up six nothing after one period
It's like oh god
When does the real schedule start
This sucks
All right listen
It's time to get to our guest
Our guest of course being
Now listen
We have a very strict rule in this show
Or we had one at least
Before I fucked it up
Of no active players
Right
It wasn't really a strict rule
It was sort of a guideline
Yeah
But like
when the player is Connor McDavid of the Edmondson Oilers,
the reigning heart trophy winner,
you know,
best player in the world,
if it were it not for Sidney Crosby.
Like,
it's not as if we said,
we're going to bend the rules for,
I don't know,
like,
who'd be the example of a shitty player
that we would want to bend the rules for?
Anybody on the Vegas Golden Knights?
How about that?
So Connor McDavid sat down with us.
He has, of course,
the cover boy for EA Sports NHL 18.
He is an actual sports gamer, as you'll hear.
And much to the fascination and appreciation of my co-host, we did in fact discuss the fact that
Connor McDavid is now most famous, not for anything hockey related, but for being the
guy who gets awkwardly hugged at the airport.
Yeah, I think the overall lesson here is stop touching Carter McDavid.
Just, like, he's a human being, and maybe he doesn't want to hug strangers, which is fine.
By the way, do you think we get the retweet?
I've noticed the last two weeks we have not gotten the guest to retweet from both Bob McKenzie and Ilya bridgegalov, which I'm offended by.
I'm offended by Bob McKenzie because he has a massive following.
And he's active on Twitter.
Yelia, Briggs is not super active, so it's like, all right, like, like Bob.
I mean, I assume the Players Tribune has been running that Twitter feed for the last several years.
Oh, man.
So if they've seen any of my tweets involving letters to your younger self, there's no way we're getting that retweet.
That's not me then.
They're like, hey, listen, I know you're an intern, but we really need you to craft a tweet about bears.
Okay.
Bears are very scary.
Look at me.
I'm standing by bears.
There.
Done and done.
It's probably the same person that runs the Iron Sheiks Twitter account.
Just changing voices every like 20 minutes.
All right.
Here is Khan of McDavid.
Enjoy it.
Kind of McDavid, you're a gamer, yes?
Yeah, a little bit, yeah.
I play NHL.
I don't play Call of Duty.
When I think a gamer, I think of Call of Duty.
I think of the Final Fantasy stuff.
Yeah, I like that stuff.
Yeah, I love playing the sports games.
I love playing the sports games.
love playing the NHL games, they're playing FIFA.
A little bit of Madden here and there, but...
Did you get into soccer through FIFA?
Yeah.
Yeah, it's the story of, like, everybody played FIFA.
Like, I know some people were born into being soccer fans
by simply playing FIFA.
Yeah, yeah.
Well, it kind of became big on our team when we played FIFA this year
and started paying more attention.
Yeah.
Just through that.
Who's your country?
I like watching the Spanish League.
I kind of followed a little.
along with the German League just because Leon loves it so much.
And, you know, kind of just pay attention to Bayern and Dortmund and whenever those teams are playing.
But when you play FIFA, who's your team?
Real.
But, I mean, that's everyone's team.
But it was, anytime you play FIFA, it's Real v. Barcelona or Real versus Bayern or, you know, it's pretty much just those three.
And who's your team on NHL?
We never really play, pick your team.
We always play random.
So you do two randoms.
And then if you don't like those two, then your last one you have to stick with.
So that's kind of how we play.
So what was your first NHL game?
I'm trying to think here.
My best memory of my first NHL game would have been the 2002 NHL game that was played on the computer.
Whoa.
Me and my brother would play that all the time.
We loved that one.
And then kind of after that, we got a little GameCube.
And then we used to play on the GameCube all the time and kind of just stuck with it as years of
involved. You were saying before before we started this that they took out the backdoor glitch that
used to exploit people with goal. What was that about? Yeah, well back, I would play with my buddies and
every single game would end 10, 9, 11, 7. Like, there's just so high scoring because the back
door goal went in every time. I was good at it, so I thought I was very good at NHL. And then
next year the game comes out and you could have a wide open net and the goal would still make the save.
So, you know, for a little bit there, I went through a little bit of a ball, but, you know,
I think my game's back.
Is there anything to being really good at hockey in real life
and being really good at a video game?
Are they scurbitly different things?
I would say zero, yeah.
I know some very good hockey players who can't even play the game.
I know some guys who can't even skate that are unbelievable like the game,
so I think it kind of goes both ways.
Who's the best video game guy on the team as far as NHL goes?
I play a lot with Mercy, a little bit with tricidal.
I'll kind of just stick with the young guys in terms of video games.
The older guys with dads don't love coming over.
play in the NHL so we kind of just stick with the young guys and I would say between us three
we're pretty even but I definitely win more than I lose yeah so is this just biting the time
on the road or is it like stress really for like what is it it's more just been right home and you know
it's minus 40 outside in Edmonton you don't want to go outside and come over and just kind of
hang out you know in the living room and play NHL play FIFA play whatever you're making
a lot of sense to me because the last guy I talked to that was a big gamer was line A.
And it makes sense. So when you're in Winnipeg, what else are you going to do?
He's going to stay on and watch plays in the games.
That's cool.
Are you happy with your ratings on these games?
I was reading an article in the journal from like 2015 where they were asking you about your ratings.
You seem pretty happy with them then.
You can openly complain to these guys now if you don't like them.
What is your grape?
Where can they make you better, Connor?
I'm pretty happy with it.
I definitely have no complaints that's for sure
it's good to know
alright I'm going to ask you some general questions now
does your mascot scare you
because your mascot scares the shit out of me every time I see it
I mean I can't say yeah I mean I
I like the mascot I think
he's a little misunderstood I'm not sure
he's definitely a little bit misunderstood
how is he misunderstood is he gentle
People question what he is or maybe why he's, or there's mascot,
but I guess the same could be said for Carlton, like, why is he the mascot of the Leaf?
Well, because kids want to hug him, but no kids are scared, actively scared of your mascot.
I guess, yeah, that's definitely fair, but no, he seems to be doing a good job,
but I think people are warming up to him.
Who do you think owns more Team North America Shwagney, or you?
I have a lot of leftover stuff, but I definitely,
I definitely don't wear it.
Do you wear it around?
I have the hat in my bag right now.
I definitely don't wear it.
I got a lot saved out there.
I have two hats and a jersey and a shirt.
What was the coolest logo of all time?
It was so sick.
It was so sick.
That jersey was awesome.
Yeah.
Do you think the fact that the jersey looks so awesome was one of the reasons why you guys played so well?
Because you were just a bunch of badasses out there?
You know what?
I think for Adidas, I'll say yeah.
I sponsored it, so 100%.
That was the reason we were so good.
What did you think of that unveiling yesterday, by the way?
That was pretty...
Yeah, it was cool.
I was there for a little bit.
Watch Russell Peters for a bit.
Russell Peters was great because it was literally the worst audience
he could possibly have any...
And he did the best he could with it.
That's what I've been saying.
Everyone's saying he was so bad.
I was just saying I think he was just appealing to the wrong crowd.
A bunch of, no offense, but needy guys that are just there to see the jersey.
you don't really want to hear how marketing guys too you're just media marketing guys are humorless
i think my favorite part was on russell peter has finally just decided to like pull the cue cards
up pull the cute cards up but then also just pull the shoot and start making ISIS jokes which was
yeah i think i laughed at that point i didn't see any ice his joke what do you think of the
gold night's jerseys i like them they're uh they're pretty interesting i think they'll be cool
Were you a jersey geek growing up or were you more of a geek growing up?
I loved jerseys.
I think my favorite jersey for the longest time had been kind of the original six teams.
I think that's pretty much everyone.
I like the Leafs.
I love Chicago's jerseys.
So it was cool yesterday to kind of see all the new stuff.
Do you put Detroit over Chicago or Chicago over Detroit in the Jersey ranking?
I would say I like Chicago's.
Detroit's is pretty beautiful.
But Chicago's, I love the range.
as well, their uniforms are pretty cool.
Let me ask you this.
I've always said that the Liberty Head,
third jersey, they used to have a Statue Liberty
Head on it, if you know what I'm talking about? I thought
that was kind of their sickest jersey. The dark blue one.
I like that one, yeah.
I grew up with Devils fans, so I can't
really compliment the Rangers actively.
We're getting all the random teams.
We had someone in here today saying that
they're a huge Islanders fan,
and now we have a Devils fan.
I haven't really heard of those two teams in a while
as being a fan.
Well, it is sort of, I mean, I feel extraordinarily old when I look at, like,
we were talking about the Stanley Cup odds me and you the other day
about the fact that the Oilers are sort of favored to be a contender,
and then you look at the bottom, and it's like the three teams from my youth
that want everything to try Colorado and Jersey.
I'm just like, I'm really old now.
It's all come full circle.
They all suck now.
Yeah, I mean, it's how hockey works, I guess.
We had a good year, and do we deserve to be the Stanley Cup contender
right away, I'm not too sure, but it really means nothing
until you start the year and you start playing.
So I guess it's a nice little thing,
but the team that is the top contend to win Stanley Cup
in June right after the season doesn't really mean anything.
Yeah. Are you ever like, come on, lay off it,
let us be under the radar for like another year?
Yeah, I guess, but that's not what it's going to be, I think.
media and fans are going to be all over us.
And that's the way we kind of want it.
I think we expect that from ourselves.
Do you have a food, guilty pleasure?
And I have to like have a strict diet.
Like, what's the thing that kills you?
It's Taco Bell for me, full disclosure.
Any Italian, I love pasta, pizza.
We were at Carbone last night, and I mean,
I'm usually trying not to eat too many carbs
because it's not great for me,
but, you know, I have carb-loaded last night for sure.
Do you get like two weeks in the summer where you can eat like me?
I try not to go too crazy, but there's definitely times where you're not too worried about it.
I guess finally, so what's with all these people hugging you in awkward pictures now?
This seems to be most of your life is now taken up by weirdos in airports hugging you
and then you're looking really uncomfortable about it.
Well, that story is pretty stupid.
I was walking into the security line.
I'm walking in the security line.
And I actually had already walked past them.
And then they said, hey, Colin, we got a picture.
So I was like, okay, sure.
Sure enough, they come up to me, start hugging me.
Both of them.
Both of them were hugging me.
And sure enough, there was someone that had their phone ready to take the picture.
And they're like, can we get a picture now?
and I'm like, okay, sure.
They had already turned around.
We were ready for the picture and took the picture before I had even realized what was going on.
This whole thing happened about seven seconds, and then I was out of there.
Ten seconds later, you would have had a brilliant smile on your face and looking extraordinarily
and really comfortable.
Well, I was with all my teammates, and they thought it was the funniest thing ever,
what just happened.
So we had a good laugh about it kind of through the whole airport, but definitely a weird looking picture.
To let it be known, though, you're free and clear for her airport hugs and photos, though.
You're not cool with it?
Is there no hugging rule maybe?
No, maybe I'll be a little bit more conservative, but, you know, kind of is what it is now.
I guess last thing on the Jersey front, I forgot to ask you, what do you think of the new threads for the Oilers?
Yeah, it's cool.
Kind of a different shade of orange, different shade of blue.
I assume you like it.
Well, Connor, we thank you for your time.
We look forward to a potential speech for you tonight, which we talked about yesterday,
and how you hate the idea of potentially giving a speech.
Do you have notes yet?
I've thought of a few things to say.
I think it mostly would be very quick and very brief,
and you're not going to get some long-winded moving speech, I don't think.
You just have to say Adidas and E.A. sports and your agent,
and that's honestly all you have to do.
I'll forget the family.
The teammates, just Adidas.
Adidas is your family now, Connor.
You know that, right?
Oh, I have one last question.
I forgot to ask you.
You were in a commercial with a penguin playing a video game.
What the hell was that?
What was that?
Um, you also asked him.
I mean, he was in this commercial, too.
Are your brother?
Yeah.
And, uh, but it's for CIBC and they're kind of, their, their whole branding is around
this penguin.
And, um, you know, it was a lot of fun looking back on it.
Was it a puppet?
It's actually really cool.
It's a mechanical penguin suit with someone in it.
Shut up.
Yeah.
So it's a mechanical penguin suit that's like so real, like, to the point.
point when you're talking to it in the commercial, you legit think you're talking to this penguin.
It's like, you actually forget it's not a penguin.
Did you get to meet the person inside the suit?
Yeah, of course.
Did they not break character the entire time?
No, of course.
We did a commercial one time in the middle of the summer.
I want to say it was 35 degrees outside in the Toronto humidity, and this poor person was in the suit the whole day.
It was insane.
But the head pops off and the arms come off, so you cool down a little bit.
But there's someone who actually controls it on the side,
and they have a comedian who is the voice,
and he controls the eyes and the beak.
So every time he wants to talk, he moves the beak and he speaks,
and then the penguin has to react to what he's saying.
It's actually really, really cool.
This sounds way more complicated than I ever envisioned it was going to be.
It's really, really, really cool.
All right, Connor McDavid, the EA Sports Cover Boy.
What do you think of your photo, by the way?
Do you wish that dry saddle was on there awkwardly hugging you at an airport to really round out the photo?
I'll stick with this one.
I like this one.
Brilliant.
Thank you so much for your time, sir.
Thank you.
Our thanks to Connor McDavid for joining us here on the podcast.
You can buy NHL 18 with Connor McDavid on the cover.
And you could revel in the fact that the entirety of Toronto was celibated.
at the idea that it was going to be Austin Matthews, Mitch Marner, and Willie Neelander on the cover
of the video game, and it wound up being Connor McDavid instead, which makes me so happy.
I mean, like, who else is it going to be?
Like, what did it?
Like, it's just, what a thing to get mad about?
Well, it's not to get mad about it.
It's just, like, it's beautiful.
The hubris is so beautiful and crystalline to think that the world revolves around Toronto
so much that not only.
only are you going to get Austin Matthews in the cover, but his henchman.
It's so beautiful.
Those poor, poor delusional bastards.
Like Brian Boyle is going to be on the cover.
Brian Boyle will not be on the cover of NHL 18.
He will be on the cover of Super Mario Odyssey.
Clearly.
Why?
He's got it.
He's got swarthy features in a mustache, sir.
That's all I'm saying.
That's Irish profiling, sir.
Yeah, all right.
Marion Hosa was in the news this week.
And let me begin this question about Marion Hosa by asking you whether or not you traffic in the conspiratorial side of the Marian Hosa situation or if you think it's just an unfortunate series of events.
Here's what I think.
All right, here we go.
Dave Losea, ladies and gentlemen.
Welcome to the new segment on the podcast called Here's what I think.
Sponsored by nobody at this point.
So if you ever want to sponsor it, go ahead.
First of all, I think it's really weird how so many people,
if you just mention how you're just like, man, the timing of this is pretty convenient for the Blackhawks.
You get all this, oh, whoa, whoa, bro.
You're being a little insensitive to Marion Hosey.
You think he's faking it?
Never said that.
I don't know where that.
Yeah, where does that lead come from?
The questioning of the timing to then he's faking an illness.
Like my, here's my, and it's just weird too because everyone is suddenly trusting of the word of the Chicago Blackhawks.
Like of all the organizations in the world.
Like I'm not trusting when like my deli is like, yeah, man, we got we got a great sale on cold cuts and I'm like, why?
What's wrong with the cold cut?
Like, I'm skeptical of everything.
So of course this, this is insane to not be.
skeptical about. Here's my thing. I feel like Marinoza 100% has a really shitty medical condition
that that makes it borderline impossible to play. And he played with it last year when he was making
$4 million. So my feeling is that he's making a business decision here, which is fine. It
helps the Blackcocks. It's good for him because it's a health situation. And I think if he was making
whatever his AAB is on his contract next year, he would probably play. That's how I feel it.
That's what I feel the situation is he was able to play last year with it.
I know it's getting worse than medicine makes it tougher and all that, but, which is fine.
Totally fine.
But not only did he play through it last year, he played in the fucking World Cup with it last year.
Like, it's clearly a problem.
And Joel Quenville talked about how horrible this condition is, how they've tried any number of different things to alleviate his pain and make it easier for him to play and everything else.
but he's played through it for years.
Until we get to the year that back in 2009,
when he signed this contract,
was clearly designed to be a year in which he stopped playing in the NHL,
and he's not going to play in the NHL again.
So, like, again, it's been references being conspiracy theories,
it's been references being cynicism and everything else.
Why do you think these guys sign these contracts?
Right.
Because they want to make a million dollars when they're,
Busting ass like never before in the offseason to get into game shape for what?
A fucking million?
No.
It's so they retire at that age.
That's the point.
It was the point with every other one of these contracts.
And now all of a sudden, because we like Marion Hosa and we want to believe in the valorous
warrior aesthetic of these athletes that he's not going to be that guy.
But he totally was that guy when he decided to sign this contract.
And lo and behold, he's now going to probably retire.
at the age which it looked like he was going to retire when he signed the deal.
So, I mean, it's crystal clear.
And it's also a credit to the Black Hawk's PR team because they got out in front of it.
They let Elliot report it.
You had a whole entire like overnight of people, you know, of course you should feel really bad for Marion Hosa because it does.
Like I'm sure he still wants the play.
But it's gotten to the point where the pain is not worth going through it for what he's going to get the next four years.
And that's fine.
but I mean there's no conspiracy
and the thing is too is like
the rule is stupid it's not
like to me like the Blackhawks
they're not doing anything wrong
Hold on define the rule
which rule you're talking about?
The recapture rule is stupid
Okay
Like when Shay Weber does this in five years
When he has like some sort of like inner ear infection
That means he can't play
Like whatever is they come up with
It's gonna be the same exact thing
It's gonna be like oh man look sure is convenient
That yeah well actually
By the time Shay Weber retires
They're gonna change the rule
in the next CBA
anyways. That's a bad example.
But, yeah, like, I think, like, I have no real negative thoughts about the situation.
Like, like, it's just because, like, and it's weird, too.
Like, if you ever say it's convenient that it happens now, people get really, like,
like, convenient's a bad thing.
Like, if someone's like, man, this parking spot right in front of the building is convenient.
Oh, what does that mean?
Convenient.
No, it's just, it works out really well for the Blackhawks because of the cab.
It works out really well for Marion Hosa because of.
But it's a bad thing that has convenient aspects to it.
It doesn't.
So they're still kind of fucked in the summer.
Like, he can only go on long-term injured reserve in game two of the regular season,
or the second day of the regular season, or whatever it is.
But they can't put him on in the summer.
So that cap space is there, unless, of course, he's no longer a Black Hawk,
which is kind of what the flyer is in.
ended up doing with Chris Pronger's cap space, which is why he went into the Hall of Fame as a coyote.
So, you know, Stan Bowman was talking about how these things are very difficult, and there's a lot of
machinations in the CBA, you're trying to figure out things, but to me, it's pretty, let me just
paint a picture for you.
Marion Hosa says that he can't play anymore, and conveniently his base salary, the salary he'll be
paid goes from $4 million to $1 million.
So if a team, I don't know, say needed a body to have on their cap to get to the salary
floor, and that team played, I don't know, in Glendale, let's just say.
Hypothetically.
They could then trade for Marion Hosa, only pay him a million dollars.
Fuck, maybe the Blackhawks are picking up some of that.
and that and his his 5.275 million dollars against the cap would linger on their cap and they would be on this on the on the on the at the floor so this is the path right here is is the idea that marion host is probably never going to play again um he is uh he has a 5.275 million dollar cap hit if he retired it would be 3.675 million dollars of dead space on the cap he's obviously not going to do that long term injured reserved traded to a team that will then use his his salary on their cap.
cap for the next several seasons and and or put them on long-term
reserve when it's no longer necessary to use that money towards their cap.
So there you go.
Problem solved.
It's fine.
Money gone.
Welcome.
Welcome to Jonathan Tave's wing, T.J. Yoshi.
I mean, if you can, I mean, the other thing, too, is like, I feel like if this
happened with a team where we all didn't universally hate them.
It wouldn't be as big a deal, too.
Like, like, let's say this.
was who's a really
a not, like the Minnesota wild.
Like,
if Ryan,
if Ryan Suter came down with rickets
and he couldn't play anymore.
You'd be like,
well,
it's fine.
Good luck to Minnesota.
I hope Minnesota gets help there,
but like Chicago,
we're also sick of Chicago
and everything about Chicago.
We're just like,
man,
every year they just spend the cap
and then they find a way out.
So people are mad about that.
It's such a classic heel move,
right?
It's like,
it's like they looked like they were going to be down
for the three count and all of a sudden they're footed on the ropes.
It's like we thought, oh, this is the time where they're really screwed.
Look, everybody on the team has a no move clause.
They can't do anything.
They're totally fucked.
What are they going to possibly do except nibble around the edges and sign Dan Gerard to a one-year,
one-million dollar contract?
And now they found, they found a way.
Life finds a way, as Jeff Goldblum said.
They found a way to get out from underhost's hit.
It's, I mean, it's fine.
And to go back to your other point, the cap recapture rule.
is so fucking terrible
and it's fucking terrible for two reasons.
One, because every contract that it affects
was a legal, approved by the NHL contract.
And the other thing that fucking sucks about it
is that it is the paramount example
of Gary Betman, piss boy retribution tantrum bullshit
where the GMs he worked with
made him look like a fucking idiot
because they made the wrong.
rules and then circumvented their own rules to give out these contracts.
And he decided to be a pissy little boy about it, create this recapture thing to retroactively
go after these contracts.
Now, the real issue, though, is that in true NHL fashion, it's attacking the very thing
that helped make the league a multi-billion dollar industry.
Are you telling me it's bad for business that the Chicago Blackhawks won three Stanley
Cups partially on the strength of the cap hits of Marion Hosa and Duncan Keith, which would not
fucking exist were it not for these contracts they signed that totally circumvented the cap.
Of course it was great for business.
So the idea that Betman went back and punished these teams for doing something that made
his league money is the epitome of the NHL.
It's a bad league, Greg.
Thank you, Dave.
It's a bad league.
can't argue with you on those points.
But seriously, honestly God, I think the heart of the reason why people are more mad than they would be about this than any other, like, pronger thing is because the Blackhawks have been really, really good for a long time.
And we've had to deal with Patrick Kane and hearing about how good Jonathan Taves is.
And we are tired of the Blackhawks.
We want something new, and they've now got a way to sustain themselves as a really good team with the, like you said, they're going to.
By the way, how many shows in a row are we going to do
where you try to slip in Dan Girardy and the Blackhawks?
I'm trying to gaslight the Blackhawks into doing this
just so I'll be proven right.
I'm hoping Stan Bowman is a dedicated...
Actually, there's a better chance that John McDonough is a dedicated
puck soup listener, I think, than Stan Bowman.
I think we're John McDonough's humor bracket.
Seems like a pretty jovial sort.
I know of people who listen to this podcast who enjoy our Stan Bowman
slash Chicago Blackhawks rants.
Just FYI.
But, okay, so it's a bad league except when they do good things.
Now, I, this is going to be really difficult.
Hold on.
What?
When?
This is going to be really difficult for me.
So just bear with me for a second.
Okay.
It's entirely possible that not only did the National Hockey League do a good thing
at their GM meetings here in Chicago, but it's entirely possible that the cadillist for
this good thing was in fact Colin Campbell.
Oh, did he get Gregory Campbell at front office job?
Congratulations, the Gregory Campbell, the new vice president of hockey operations.
Gregory Campbell, everybody.
Coley, uh, Coley, any news from the GM meetings?
Yeah, yeah, so, uh, so we renamed the Western Conference again, the Gregory Campbell Conference.
And the Eastern Conference, Coley? Oh, it's still the East.
Are you familiar with the Hart Trophy?
I am, I am, actually.
the Gregory Campbell
trophy now.
He inspires his
greatness through
his pain.
The heart
trophy is now,
it's a skater,
but he's got one leg broke.
So,
but he's out there
on the penalty kill
even still because his legs
broke.
And, you know,
it's a thing
where people are going to
look at and say
themselves,
I'd like to be
like gentleman
Gregory Campbell
Campbell on that trophy there.
Now listen,
they did a good thing.
And here's a good thing.
They are tweaking
the off-sides.
coach's challenge review to none of the general managers want to dabble in the dark arts of
actually redefining this rule because offside is offside right so like some of the goals that are
bullshit that we've seen taken away because they're bang bang plays and you know whatever they don't
want to play around with the offside rule so how do you get rid of those nonsensical let's count
the pixels between the skate blade and the blue line kind of calls that make us all mental well
here's how you do it they're the proposal is
to get rid of the you lose a timeout mechanism and the offside coaches challenge it would stay there for the goal interference one, but they'd get rid of it for offside.
And so if you challenge an offside play or a goal for being offside and you're wrong, then you get a two minute delay a game penalty.
And that's that's the price of doing business now.
And I love this rule if they pass it because it gets us back to the primary reason we have offside.
and the coach's challenge, which is to get rid of the, to correct the egregious Matt Douchain
is in another town when he receives the puck over the blue line type plays, and not the little
tickey tacky, oh, looks like his skate might have been a half a millimeter off the ice.
You know, get rid of that bullshit, get the egregious ones, and I think this is a great way
to do it.
So I applaud the NHL for figuring it out.
It brings it back to the spirit of the rule.
It makes too much sense.
There's something wrong there.
It's too good of an idea.
Like there's something there we're not seeing.
Okay, okay.
So you challenge.
Here's what's going to happen.
Okay.
Oh, are you going to go right to the ultimate straw man argument for anything of these things,
which is, if it's game seven of the Stanley Cup final and somebody challenges something.
I'll then they lose the cup on a power play goal.
Oh, my God.
there's going to be hell to pay.
Yeah, even though there was no hell to pay, because there's no fucking rule in the NHL for the immediate play after the whistle.
Like Colton, Colton, Csons.
Colton Sizzins.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, that goal should count.
I know they're talking about that, too.
Like, that goal, even if the whistle blows, should M-Fing count.
I have some news for you, sir.
The praise of the NHL ends here.
They didn't really talk about that situation with the GM beatings.
Wait, wait, they're not.
They're not talking about that?
No, they didn't really talk about it today.
I thought that was a thing.
I thought David Poyle was going to go in there with his beautiful chestnut hair and get the job done.
Jim, Jim Nill said they didn't really talk about it.
They didn't really address it.
So, so yeah.
Sorry.
Well, my side thing's good, I guess.
That's something.
That'll really help.
All right.
Let's briefly touch on the draft and then we'll get to your questions.
The Devils, by the way, are not trading the pick.
At number one.
Do you know how I know this?
Are you sure?
I'm sure.
Do you want to know how I know this?
Because I was invited to meet the number one overall pick at a media event over the weekend in Jersey.
So it's like, I wrote back to the Devils and I'm like, well, unfortunately, I'm still in Chicago, but apparently you're going to have the number one overall pick.
So unless something dramatically changes.
And they get an offer, they can't refuse.
I'm pretty sure the devils are keeping number one.
In which case, again, I fully expected to be Nolan Patrick because that's super boring.
But I'm hoping it's Nico Hyshire because I think he's going to be a better player.
And I like the idea of there being a player on my favorite team that sounds like a character in Grand Theft Auto.
Wait, why is that a character in Grant?
Man, I don't think of video game references and your wrestling talk.
Every drug dealer, every drug dealer in Grand Theft Auto inevitably is named Nico.
So that's, yeah, that's all it means.
Like, I feel like that's, like, profiling of some sort, but I don't really know what Nico, what Nico pertains to in terms of like a country of origin.
But again, like, I'm someone who likes to read the tea leaves.
They traded for a Swiss guy.
Why do you do that to make the new Swiss guy feel more comfortable?
So he has Mirko Mueller now there to talk Swiss and talk about hot chocolate, hot chocolate,
or fucking neutrality.
Like, whatever they talk about,
he's going to have someone in the locker room to talk to.
They talk about that really sweet scene
at the end of Sherlock Holmes,
the Game of Shadows,
when Sherlock Holmes and Moriarty fall off of the building
at the convention.
Wreck and Back Falls, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
That's what they talk about.
You know, I was watching that movie as well
over the weekend in Vegas as background noise.
I don't know how that movie gets made
with that level of,
plotting.
Like it was, I felt,
didn't I mean like I
had it on this background noise and
and like I was
starting, my head was hurting because I wasn't
even paying attention to my head was hurting about all the shit
that was going on in that movie.
It's because they wanted to, they really wanted to
convey that Moriarty was this super
intricate evil genius and so they really
had to overdo it with everything he was
doing. Right.
Like there's just a lot of stuff there that like
the scene where he gets the hook
his shoulder and Jude Law's
fighting with the sniper guy.
Like there's, yeah, it's, like,
if you watch the first one, it's really good.
The first one's really good.
Every Guy Ritchie movie, since, like, Snatch
gets more Guy Ritchie with all the, like,
the scene where they fire the gigantic
gun mother running through the woods where there's, like,
the, like, it's, there's too much
of that. Like, I don't need to see the inside
of every chamber of every gun before it's
fired in the Guy Ritchie style. Like, just
just, like, sprinkle that
in there, and you're fine.
Yeah, and that's my issue with the film is that it's overly plotted and confusing.
And you know what?
If you really want to just make someone seem like a super genius, all you got to do is have them stitch up a cell phone in someone's tummy and then blow up the police precinct, just like the Joker did.
That's the super genius.
I just want my phone call.
Hi.
Hi.
Hi.
Yeah.
Yeah, so there's that.
Like I said, the draft is this weekend.
It's a chance for everybody to pretend they know who these players are.
It's always an exciting time.
And whatever.
Not me.
I didn't know he was Swiss.
You just told me 45 seconds ago.
No idea.
Oh, man.
Do you really believe that I would tell you my master's stroke?
I told you he was Swiss 45 minutes ago.
Oh, God.
Thank you.
All right.
Here we go.
We're time for some listener mail.
By the way, thank you.
advance to all the people that are going to come out to the live podcast on Monday.
This is the part where Dave starts freaking out because we actually haven't done any planning
for it.
But Union Hall.
I got it all set up in my mind already what we're going to do.
We're fine.
Don't worry.
Right.
Union Hall on Monday night, it's sold out.
If you want to look for a ticket, hit us on Twitter and go to the Reddit.
Dave and I actually have, well, I think all my slots are taken.
Are your slots taken, too?
We have, like, tickets.
I was thinking about that because.
because we have the 10 slots.
Right. I have five and you have five, right?
But we have two guests.
Yeah, I might have to, so we have four each then.
But I'm pretty sure I'm only using two of the slots for myself,
so I think if you want to use the other five, I think we're still fine.
Is this going to be like that episode of Silicon Valley where they have the invites to
beta test the algorithm?
And Dinesh is like, you know, if any of you need to get rid of yours, you know, I would be
willing to take them
because he has no friends.
Oh, that's the episode where
it looks like Piper's not going to work out,
and then at the end,
like something happens to keep them going.
I remember that episode.
Remember that episode of Silicon Valley
where Turtle comes in and he's like,
yo, Vinnie, I sold a tequila company.
We're back in business, buddy.
Then she's like, uh-oh, I think I ruined the Piper.
And then Richard comes in and goes,
guess who saved the Piper again?
Like, oh, man.
I guess, like, think about it.
The through line to that show is, are they going to make $25 million or $250 million?
Like, who fucking cares, man?
Just make you go out.
And then T.J. Miller walks in and he's like, you simpletons are ruining my incubator.
I'm going outside to smoke a bong with Shasha Gray under my parabola.
Oh, dude, did you see T.J. Miller's stand-up special?
I did not. I heard it. Is it not good, or is it good?
Oh, my God. I made it up until the peanut butter orgasm bit.
It was like 20 minutes in, I turned it off, and I was like, how is this so not funny?
He's on Silicon Valley, and then I went to the Silicon Valley IMD page and realized he's just an actor on the show.
He's not writing it.
I didn't know that until.
I didn't know it.
I swear to God, I'm not even like going to get in front of the guy because he's super funny on Silicon Valley, but the stand-up was just...
You know how when you're drunk and you have drunk ideas and you're like, we're going to open up a farm where all...
All we have is chickens, and we can pet the chickens, and you're like, bro, it's fucking mind-blowing.
We won't cook them.
We'll just pet him.
Yeah, oh, people will come.
Wake up the next day, and you're just like, that was fucking stupid.
No one's ever going to come to a chicken farm, except he did all the stuff he thought of when he was stoned on stage.
Wait until you see the peanut butter bit.
You're going to be like, there's no way that that bit should have ever got.
And I turned it off at that point.
Maybe he got funny.
And that's what you know about comedy, is that sometimes,
when you have stoners, they make something like Pineapple Express.
At other times when you have stoners, they make things like T.J. Miller stand-up or the last
several films of Kevin Smith.
So it's like...
Like, Seth Rogen thinks up stuff high and then edits sober.
Like, T.J. Miller thought up stuff high and edited high.
And he was like, no, man.
This thing about George Washington Carver's genius.
Like, oh, no, man.
It just...
No, you don't understand.
You don't understand.
it's the fucking apocalypse
and we're all in a house together
and like we're all
fucking ripping bongs and fucking
going fucking crazy and the fucking apocalypse
is outside
Danny McBride's like all right let's talk about
this tomorrow as well we'll workshop it
and we'll make it work so it's a little
it's a little more streamlined
like there's nobody
at TJ Miller's like
Danny McBride's like
you all you all know I'm going to be that fucking movie
if you make me the fucking master of the
fucking world at the end of it and fucking chant it
Channing my chinaman's on my fucking dog leash
And Jay's like, you know, I just
I just want to be the calm voice
The reason that the people watch and
Enjoy the movie through. I'm going to be the
I'm going to be the every man that has all the questions
About the religion
And Craig Robinson's like
Playing the organ, this is the end
Or is it really the beginning
Show me your panties, no, take off your panties
And I'm about this, how about like Michael Serra smacks Rihanna's ass?
Like, no, that's good sober or stone.
That's good.
That's a pretty good thing.
And we've dutifully avoided a James Franco impression.
All right, here's time for the reader mail portion of the podcast.
Alyssa Myers wants to know, what would be the least horrible mascot to watch sexy dance?
Least horrible?
To watch sexy dance?
Yeah, like you missed it on the NHL Awards.
Iceberg came out and did a fake striptease, magic mic style.
Oh.
So the question is, which mascot would be?
be the least. Well, Bailey's
a lion, so he's virile just
by existing, right?
So, like, there's that.
Poor Mendez Stein. Was she watching
that? Oh, my God.
The Menaceeim's triggered.
I don't blame her, man.
I don't want, like, it's fun for me to, like,
tweet yuppie at her, but, like, I'd never send her, like,
yupe nudes.
That's too much, man. That's not good for
anybody. Oh, NHO,
what are you doing?
Casey wants to know, oh, you have an answer?
I figured I was just going to skip ahead.
I was going to say the St. Louis Blues Blue's bear.
That's like kind of jellyish in the middle.
That'd be...
Louis, Louis the Bear.
Louis the Bear.
Yeah.
Casey wants to know Best Carnival Ride, which is a topic that I find interesting because
I recently took my daughter to Six Flags for the first time and rode some of the lesser
a kid can go on them rides, which I would consider to be Carnival rides.
Do you have a favorite carnival ride?
Do you like rides at all?
I mean, carnival rides are always kind of...
Like, we're talking carnival.
We're not talking like six flags where they have like sweet roller coasters, right?
Like carnival rides.
Right.
I like anything that where you stick to the wall.
Like when any, any, whether you go inside the little flying saucer and you stick to the wall or if it's open air, you stick to the wall.
I love that.
That's, that's, man.
Like my stomach, my stomach doesn't handle that.
I like, I like the one that's, it's like a lesser version of that where you sit in like a thing and you like spin it.
You know what I mean?
Like you're sitting in like a round.
Oh, do you mean the tilt to whirl?
Is that the Tiltter World?
Are you sitting inside of like a giant peanut shell or whatever the fuck and like that you could spin it yourself?
You can spin it yourself.
Yeah.
The Tilt of Whirl I think is just spun by the machine itself, right?
I think there's a special thing for the one I'm thinking of.
Oh, fuck.
You're talking basically about like the T-cup ride at Disney World except it's.
Exactly.
Yeah.
Exactly.
Okay.
All right.
Well, I think we've reached a point of understanding.
Todd S wants to know best Chicago.
Chicago food, Chicago-style hot dog, deep-dish pizza, Italian beef juicy with sweet peppers and
mozzarella.
Italian beef juicy?
Is that what they call it?
I've heard of that.
I don't know what it is.
I don't know what the Italian beef juicy is.
It's deep-dish pizza in a walk because it is a unique, it's a unique item.
Can't get it this way anywhere else.
The Chicago-style hot dog, I respect it.
I had one today.
They're very tasty.
But honestly, I can go to a fucking fix-ins bar.
making myself anywhere.
But the Chicago deep dish pizza at Lou Maldives.
Exactly.
I mean, that's the jam.
Like when you people are in California doing your draft stuff are, you know,
all-star stuff and I'm at home and you tweet your garbage in and out photos, I'm like,
who cares?
But man, when you people are out there tweeting your deep dish, I'm mad and jealous online.
I want deep dish.
And Lou Maldonadis, oh, it's so good.
It's so good.
Marcus Hedlin wants to know with Alex Radulov's ridiculous asking price,
apparently $7 million a season for six years.
years. Will he end up in Vegas, Carolina, or the KHL? The answer, Marcus, I think, is that they're going to come to some level of understanding that he's not going to get the term he's looking for. I bet they, if Bergevan gets him to three years, it's a win. If he gets it to four years, not so much because he's 30.
How old is he now? 32? 30. He's 30. Oh, yes. I mean, seven's too much either way. Yeah, four and 24 seems fair for me. That's stuff. I just love I love the fucking stones on the guy.
who had a one-year show-me contract
because nobody wanted to pay him
because he couldn't keep a curfew
the last time he was in the NHL.
And he comes back and says,
well, I showed you,
give me a higher cap-hit than carry price
on the Montreal Canadiens.
Like the stones.
In his defense, it was a show-me contract
and he showed them,
so therefore he should be able to get more stuff this time.
That's the whole point of the show-me contract
is show-me.
And he was like, here you go.
I'm your best forward.
You're going to pay me.
So that's my first.
Puck follower.
Puck follower wants to know, fuck, merry, kill.
Food Fighters, Green Day, and the red hot chili peppers.
Kill the red hot chili peppers.
Fuck food fighters.
Mary Green Day.
That's an easy one.
Total layup.
Mm, disagree.
Let me guess.
You're going to kill Green Day, aren't you?
I am going to fuck the chili peppers because, honestly, come on.
Like, they're so energetic.
That's going to be a real wild night.
He's not talking about actually putting your penis inside Flee.
He's talking about the quality of their music.
And would you-
I just figured like Flee and like John Fashanti are like double teaming me
and Kitas is just dancing.
I look over.
I thought,
I think Will Ferrell is drinking off in the corner.
And it's Chad Smith.
Like it'd be a really wild scene.
I would,
I would kill.
Wait, hold on.
I don't want to say.
I would marry Green Day.
And I would kill the food fighters because I don't need them.
Really? Yeah, Nirvana exists.
But Green Day would be a good marital, would be a good spouse because, you know, the relationship starts and they're very braddy and it's full of, you know, dukey and whatever the fuck.
And then as life goes on, they mellow out and it's wake me up until September ends.
And yet also, you know, becoming more socially conscience.
Like American idiot.
They're talking about politics and such.
So I feel like the journey of maturity of Green Day.
to me speaks more to a long-term relationship than the foo fighters does.
Agreed.
Agreed.
But I just think the foo fighters have a better long-term collection of songs than the chili peppers.
Chili-peppers are still good.
I like them.
But of those three, they have to die.
I'm sorry, Anthony.
Dead.
All right.
That's about it.
Thanks, everybody, for listening.
Thanks to Connor McDavid.
Thanks to EA Sports for allowing us to speak to Cona McDavid.
Thanks to all of you for listening to this nonsense.
We will be back together in-person Monday at the live podcast.
Again, the majority of the show will be the podcast for that week.
And then there'll be a part of the show that it's just for the people that paid to see the show.
Because that's probably a good thing going forward to try to let the people have paid to see this shit feel special.
Right?
We'll have guests.
We'll play games.
It's going to be a good time.
And I'm Greg.
We should give you a sports.
Uh, read the Punk Daddy blog, uh, because I'm pretty much the only one writing on it anymore.
It's sounded like you forgot where you worked for a second.
You're like, um, fuck Daddy blog.
That's it.
That's what it's called.
Yeah, read it.
It's great.
Just you and Lambert hanging out talking about college hockey and, uh, yeah, it's great.
And whatever else Ryan likes, right?
So, hey, Ryan, what do you think about for a summer project?
Dinosaurs.
What?
an entire month of NHO teams as dinosaurs.
Oh, man, I don't know.
That doesn't seem like, that's what we're going to do.
It's a 50-50 vote, Greg, with the only two left.
Dinosaurs it is.
You know when you're really going to hate it?
Next year is three stars.
You have to do all the West Coast ones.
Oh, man.
I'm going to go jump in a volcano.
Here's Dave Lozo.
All right.
Well, since Greg has to go run out now, because he's actually going to go to that Chicago Blackhawks
an all-star meet-up thing
with all the listeners of the other podcast.
I will now read to you from my
fan fiction that is a Jurassic
Park Sherlock Holmes crossover.
Chapter 1.
No, I'm not going to do that.
I'm just going to stop talking so I can go.
Bye!
I knew from the footprint
that, of course, it had to be a
velociraptor.
But Holmes, that's impulsible.
It was a large dinosaur that was walking
through Derbyshire.
Elementary of my dear one.
Watson.
It's the Shia,
D. Watson.
Iron Man Sherlock Holmes crossover
where Tony Stark has to battle with Sherlock Holmes.
I'd watch that.
I'm still getting over the idea that we could have a
Sherlock Holmes' Jurassic Park crossover
in which Dr. Ian Malcolm and Sherlock Holmes
tried to solve a case.
Now you said there was going to be
a moriarty of some kind
that we would battle?
Well, no.
Moriarty is the T-Rex in this story that Charlie calls how to stop.
It's like, blah, hell, this T-Rex seems to understand how everything seems to work around here from a human brain perspective.
And then B.D. Wong walks in and goes, it's not just the T-Rex.
It's a whatever the hell is called in the last Jurassic Park movie.
What was it again?
A tigantosaurus or whatever? What was that thing?
Shit.
Oh, Jesus Christ.
It was a Dinoffriosaurus because he was the bad guy.
that made the dinosaurs
kill people and stuff
hang on it was a
I'm gonna hear it and be like
oh that's what it was
oh Jesus what it hold on
it was it was a giant
it was oh it was it there was a word for it
I remember there was like a special term
they made up for the hybrid thing
it was a
wait that movie had BD Wong
and Vincent Donofrio they could have done a sweet
ass law and order like criminal intent
SVU crossover thing
the Adominus
Corrects.
Thank you.
That's the thing.
All right.
I think we'll end the show on that note.
And yes, they could have totally done that.
It would have been amazing.
I watched on the plane on the way here to Chicago and SVU in which Elliot infiltrated a sex addict group to sniff out a serial rapist.
Yeah, the girl tries to do them in the laundry there.
Yeah, that's a good one.
That's a good episode.
It was pretty amazing.
They cut up, but they didn't show the best part of what it was.
would be, you know, which is, you know, I mean, I guess they, at one point, they show him talking about his sex addiction, but like, that'd be the most, be like, I don't know, sometimes I think about, you know, being like the partner of a really strong-willed woman and, uh, oh, wait, that's also the word, that's the one where Robert Patrick gets the van, right? Robert Patrick's the guy he's trying to, like, bust and stuff, but he ends up, like, just being, like, the bad influence to get Robert Patrick. No, no, this is, that's the one where Jeremy Irons is the, is the doctor in this one. That's the, that's the,
The big guest star.
I'm thinking of the Robert Patrick one.
You're, yeah.
Yeah, Jeremy Orange, he plays a doctor, and then he robs all the gold in Fort Knox.
It was pretty amazing.
Hunk.
Line.
Line.
And sinka.
All right.
We'll talk to you a Monday, and then also next week.
Bye.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
