Puck Soup - Dan Pashman
Episode Date: December 15, 2016Greg and Dave welcome Dan Pashman, host of The Sporkful podcast and You're Eating It Wrong on Cooking Channel, to talk about hockey arena eats, the New Jersey Devils, Nassau Coliseum, when attending g...ames turns dangerous, the history of pork roll and the right way to eat pizza and ice. That, plus our mixed feelings on the Columbus Blue Jackets, the Eastern and Western Conference playoff races, how the Blackhawks can win again, what to do with the Avalanche, Westworld (spoilers), Price Is Right games and Dave creates some Christian rock anthems.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seat Geek, the first place that I go to check for tickets to games or concerts, concerts, including the Radio City Music Hall Christmas Spectacular, which by the way, in case you've never been to it, is great. If you've been to it, then you know it's always great because the show never changes. That said, people always want to see it. And that means that tickets go pretty quickly, which is why I went to Seat Geek and, you know, it's always great because the show never changes. That said, people always want to see it. And that's said, people always want to seekeek. And that tickets go pretty quickly. And that means that. And that's why I went to Seat geek, and
I was so happy that I did because they do all the price comparison for you by searching a multiple ticket sites and then ensuring that you get the best possible deal.
They do all the work.
They save you time and they save you money.
They save me money because I was looking at some tickets in other places that were like, oh boy, I love my daughter, but not that much.
But then I went to seek geek and found the right amount of money that I want to spend on my loved ones.
And that's why seat geek's great.
And here's the best part about Seekek
Speaking of loved ones,
all of you Puck Soup listeners,
you get a $20 rebate off your first Seekek
purchase. Here's what you do.
To get your $20 back,
you need to download the free Seekek app
on your phone,
you go to the settings tab.
You click add a promo code.
You enter the promo code,
S-O-U-P, that spells soup,
and then Seekkeek will send you
$20 bucks
after you've made your first ticket purchase.
Download the free SeekyK app, enter the promo code soup,
search out tickets for your loved ones
and the appropriate price that you think they deserve
based on your love for them,
and order them today.
Enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute,
but we also cover us.
Movies, TV shows, it's in tools.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Blog.
And I'm Dave Lozo of two fantasy football teams that are in the semifinals, baby.
Yeah.
Where are we?
You're in Puck Soup.
Right.
And I'm back from Hawaii.
Yeah, you're all tan and shit.
I managed not to get burned, which as a fair-skinned Irish boy is always a challenge.
But I met the challenge, mostly because it was cloudy in Hawaii.
Because you were in the hotel room for two straight weeks, baby.
Yeah.
I had a really fun time.
As I mentioned on Twitter, I was really impressed and surprised by how much hockey there was in Hawaii.
They get so many Canadians and so many Ducks fans and so many Kings fans that hockey is a
de facto thing that you find on the air in a lot of the bars. Yeah, I was very happy to see that.
Poor Ruby. Ruby's just like, give me a fucking two-week break from hockey, please, Greg.
Come on. It's funny. I was telling us- Do we got to watch this Ducks game again?
No, I didn't watch much hockey. I followed, I followed the news on Puck Daddy because I wanted
because I'm a megalomaniac. I wanted to make sure that my writers were doing their jobs.
Get your shit together, Josh. Yeah. But I actually, she deleted Twitter off her phone.
Oh, it must have been so nice.
And I think it was the best decision that she made.
I moved Twitter to the last page of apps on my phone, which is the best I could do.
And I stayed off it for the most part.
And I didn't tweet because I knew Leahy had like money on whether or not I was going to tweet.
And I didn't tweet.
But I might have checked it down again.
I didn't check politics.
I'm going to quit smoking.
I'm not going to throw the cigarettes away.
I'm just going to put him on a really high shelf in the house.
I saw it more like maybe
Twitter on the last page of your phone
is like nicotine gum
That's like how it is
How many pages do you have on your phone though
That's like four
Oh wow
You have to get all the way to the fourth one
Yeah that's where I stick here
I'm gonna look at it right now for you
What's on the fourth page of my phone?
Not not uh
I have three
All right ready so last page of my phone
The free Apple apps that come with the phone
That I'm never using
Find my iPhone
I books
My bank
Venmo
Did it do anything to the Terry?
you though. It did. Not
seeing it on my
first screen
definitely deterred me from using it and I felt
I felt better about life having not
checked it as much as I usually do.
Yeah, it's nice. You know? I haven't done that
in like a year. I was at a wedding in like the
Dominican Republic and there was no like real good Wi-Fi
so it was just no reason to ever check Twitter and by
like day two of it I was just like
it was like
it's akin to it I deleted candy
crush off my phone, a game I hated
once I got to a certain level. It just
It brought me anger and sadness, and then I believed a candy crush in this weight.
And then like the same thing with Twitter by day two is just beautiful.
It's just beautiful.
Smooth sailing.
The one thing I want to talk about from the trip is something that happened in our last day there, which is, look, I know that we live in a dangerous world.
And I know that we all want to be deputized and help out in some small way to keep this world safe.
But don't be this woman.
Ruby and I were waiting for a plane in the air.
airport in Maui. We had our bags with us. It was bad weather in California where our connecting
flight was, and we wanted to make sure that we were going to be able to get home. So we got
aggressive and we stood in line at the ticket counter behind these people. These people? No,
no. Hawaiian is Greg? We're roughly eight feet away from where our bags are. And so we're waiting,
we had to wait for like an hour for someone to show up to the ticket counter.
Finally, Ruby's like, I'm going to piece out and sit down for a little bit.
So she goes back to the bag and sits down.
And then she gets up again and goes to another part of the waiting area to see what's going on.
And finally, you know, the ticket person shows up.
We get the whole thing rectified.
We're okay.
We go back to where our bags are.
And this lovely lady who, if you, I went to the Golden Girls puppet show, I'd say,
she looks like the puppet version of Estelle Getty.
See, I was going to guess her age over under 50.
I was going to say over.
She leans over to me and Ruby, and she's like,
you know, it's funny, but I was going to turn your bags in to the TSA because you weren't here.
And we're like, that's not funny.
That would have been a real hassle.
Most times when people start a sentence with, you know what's funny?
Yeah.
It's usually not.
And we said to her, we're like, why would you do that?
Like, you knew where we were, right?
You could see us.
You could see us the entire time.
Ruby's like, I came back here and sat next to you at some point with these bags.
I just, I just didn't know.
You weren't here.
So I thought maybe the bags were unattended.
So I was going to turn of his day.
Are they funny?
Is she like Chris Collinsworth's mom because she's laughing at everything she's saying while she's talking?
because I think that's an inherited trait.
And so occasionally in situations that are already stressful, flying is stressful for me,
trying to figure out if we're going to get home is stressful for me.
Your boy can pop off a little bit.
And so after I heard for the second time, isn't that funny?
I was going to turn your bags into the TSA and delay your entire travel home because I'm a neurotic drunk who couldn't figure out that you were five feet behind me?
She was tanked.
My reaction was
Ha ha ha ha!
Yes!
That is funny!
You're a very funny lady!
Oh, I thought you would have gotten her face and been like, you know what's funny?
Me.
I'm hilarious.
And that point that was like, that was the record scratch moment where everybody that was
sitting in this very tiny waiting area just sort of like peered over at us.
I left and just went to take a piss or something instead.
So moral of the story is just look behind you before you call T.
say on someone's bags while you were away i had an encounter with a with a podcast listener that i don't
think i told you about no you didn't so the sunday you were first gone the giants played the
steelers my buddy mike was like you want to go to this bar we usually go to to watch games like once
or twice a year and i'm like i don't like to go outside for giants games i don't want to interact
with anybody during one of those but i was like all right fine it's a four o'clock game and we're
sitting in the we're sitting at a table and at the table next to us there's like two stealer fans and
like a guy in a giant's jersey and I'm like
let's just see how this goes.
Are you wearing any gear?
No, I'm just wearing like a t-shirt.
You don't seem like a geared up guy.
No.
I actually just bought gloves because I'm going to the game on Sunday
because it's going to be super cold and they have like a little blue on them.
Like that's going to be my idea.
That's going to be my endorsement of the Giants.
Mark.
So there's a play late in the giant Steelers game where
Will Ty has a pass coming to him sort of but not really.
It's like so far, it's an Eli pass.
It's so far over his head.
It's way past him.
And a dude on the Steelers just lights him up.
It's the defenseless receiver, ball knot in the area, total unnecessary roughness penalty.
They throw a flag.
And I'm like, okay, this is good.
Giants need this.
This is the only way Eli can move the ball is by throwing the ball so far over people's heads
that they cause illegal penalties.
And they pick up the flag.
And like, I have my first real moment at the bar where I'm like extend my hands towards
the TV.
I'm like, what the fuck?
Why do they pick that up?
And a guy behind me goes, bro, that's not a penalty.
And it's the guy in the Giants jersey.
And I'm like, I'm like, how is that not a penalty?
He's like, the ball's in the vicinity.
I'm like, the ball's in the vicinity.
He was looking down field that where the ball had already gone to when he got hit.
That's how far past it.
He's like, he can't hit him though.
He's like, I'm like, he can't hit him.
That's why they threw the, I don't, it makes no sense.
Bro, I'm a Giants fan.
Okay, otherwise, I wouldn't say that.
I'm a Giants fan.
I want that to be a penalty, but it's not.
So he doesn't know you're a Giants fan at this point.
I think he probably does based on like, we were there.
But so like, I'm just like, I'm like, he's still yelling at me.
And I'm like, he's, he's like, he's like, he's like, he's like, he's like behind my back.
And I'm like, doing the like shut the fuck up thing with my hands.
And so a couple minutes later, a guy gets up and comes over to me.
And he's like, are you Dave Lozo?
And I'm like, I'm like, I'm like, I don't know he's with this guy at that point.
I'm like, yeah, he's like, oh, dude, I read your stuff and I listen to your podcast and I think it's great.
And I'm like, oh, it's awesome.
He's like, sorry about my friend.
And I'm like, oh, you're sitting with this guy.
And he's like, and like, I'm like, and he's, oh, no, he was sorry about my friend who's the guy in the Heinz Ward jersey.
And I know, he's, he seems like a nice guy. And I point right at the guy in like the straight hand.
I'm like, it's that guy who's bothering me. But then like you started talking about, he was like, he was telling me about the Chicago Blackhawks thing I wrote where I was like, fuck the Blackhawks. He's like, they actually got me into being a hockey fan.
I'm like, oh, so you're a Blackhawks fan? I'm like, no, I'm a devil's fan. I'm like, wait.
So you watch the best team in hockey for the past six years and then you pick the devils? He's like, yeah, yeah, I know.
was nice and it was fine. There was no like physical violence or anything, but like,
I met a fan. There you go. He likes the podcast. I believe his name was Ben.
Well, shout out to Ben. And he tweeted at me after he left the bar that his friend was still
mad about our interaction. So it was, it was, it was fun. It was a good little Sunday.
I had, I actually was at a bar in D.C. after taking Vivian back, back, back down there after
Thanksgiving during Jets Patriots. And I was not wearing any Jets gear, obviously.
why would I?
Why would I put myself
Don't identify yourself in public like that?
I guess alternatively I could just wear
a giant flashing sign that says asshole
all the time on a Sunday.
You should be happy about the Niners outcome by the way.
Your quarterback let a nice little comeback
against a really, really bad team, but still that's what you want.
If you're your quarterback of the future,
you'd rather win that game than lose it, I think.
Patriots fan sitting next to me
at this bar in D.C.
We're both waiting for like a train or whatever
and we're watching the game.
And Jets are coming close.
Like there's a call, I think, that goes against them
late in the game.
And Patriots fans very happy about this.
And he's, he's, he's, he's, he's, he's like a sense of palpable relief over Patriots fan, which is like, you know, when the richest guy you know says, I can't find that $20 bill.
And at some point, like, he's literally like, just venting at this point about how this call almost get it went against them.
And what a relief it is that it didn't.
And I just finally turned him and said, like, can't you just let us have this?
We have nothing else.
He's like, are you a Jets fan?
Which, in that tone of voice, that's like, what do you have three dicks?
You know, it's like, what a freak you are.
And you have six testicles?
Yeah.
And so we had a nice, we ended up having a nice conversation about the various paths of our two franchises.
And I managed to do it without going down the inflate gate or a spy gate or any gate road.
Yeah.
And it was nice finding that common ground.
But I think it was because he knew I was in a place of pity.
I was in a place of a masculation.
He was a magnanimous patriots fan.
Wow, that's how he found one of those.
Yeah, this guy with this guy, he's just, I was like,
well, the ball's in the air.
So it's past interference then, right?
No, no, no, no, it's already past him.
Well, it's already passed him.
It's a late hit.
No, no, no, no.
It was a circular argument.
I was thinking about fan psyche a lot lately
because I was really hoping that the blue jackets would have crashed and burned
while I was on my honeymoon.
No, they're going to win the Stanley Cup.
It probably are.
But at some, like, at what point,
and maybe the answer is winning the cup, I don't know.
But, like, right now, Blue Jackets fans,
as we're doing the podcast, they're 18, 5, and 4,
they've won seven in a row.
They have a goal differential of plus 33,
which is absurd.
Even if you take away the 10-0 win,
plus 23 is still pretty good.
It's absurd.
Like, at this point,
They have this sort of, they have their backs up against everybody.
People come to praise the team.
We've not praised them enough.
They're in a constant search for credit.
I think it's because people like us were like, oh, this is,
do not worship the false God and then they wind up winning a bunch of games.
They're still not good.
They're still not a very good team.
But see, that's my point.
So when do we acknowledge that they're good?
Will we ever?
Or are they destined to be the anomaly this year?
Because as Lambert pointed out this week on Puck Daddy,
like there are certain metrics that have come back to Earth,
but they're still winning.
Right.
Like their power play is no longer going in a 30% trip.
Right.
But they're still winning, you know?
I just feel like it's a weird relationship now
because like I've always been a very big supporter
of the Columbus Blue Jackets as a franchise.
I right now should be overjoyed that they are doing as well as they are.
But I also like being right, and I also don't like their coach.
So the scales are sort of unbalanced right now in my ego versus their success, my disdain for certain aspects of their franchise versus my unending hope that that franchise does well.
I'm having a hard time sussing out what to do.
I don't care if they're good or bad.
I just don't think they're
they're not an 18, 5.
Like remember when the Rangers were 18, 5, and 4
or whatever, and now they can't score goals?
Hold on. It wasn't.
They're going to come back to Earth.
You do care if they're good or bad.
Like, you hope, don't you hope that Columbus does well
that we get a beachhead in that city?
That's a fucking town that if you can get
a successful team there rolling for a couple of years straight,
rivalry with the penguins,
I feel like it's a college town that's going to really,
like we could see a Nashville situation there.
We could see a fan base.
growing up around that team if they're real good and real fun.
Don't care.
Just don't.
Not even as an American?
Not even as someone who could...
As an American.
Who doesn't want to lose a team to Quebec one day?
Like, I despise John Tortorella, and it's not like I want him to lose there or anything.
I can see that.
But, I mean, they're not, they're not, like, fun.
You know what I mean?
They're blue collar.
That blue collar.
Which is a fancy way of saying grit, which is a fancy.
way of saying not that good.
You know what the real issue is,
it feels like the playoffs are set in the East
and Tampa's nine points out.
Yeah, that is a real issue.
Like Tampa has, like Tampa's,
like Tampa's weak spots,
like the soft targets are probably Philly and Columbus.
Maybe Ottawa.
Oh no, wait, what am I talking about?
There are four points out of the fucking,
there are four points behind Boston.
Yeah, there are nine points out of the wild car,
but there are only four points out between Boston or Ottawa.
And that's, but your points,
your points made,
which is that the only thing that could be in flux right now
is the Atlantic second and third spots.
Because Montreal is not going anywhere barring a carry price injury.
And then you've got Ottawa where you're like, they're hanging in,
and now Guy Boucher is getting a little crazy.
I think Columbus is better than Ottawa.
You know what I mean?
Yeah, but I mean Ottawa and Boston are the two shaky apples in the tree
because you have Tampa and you have Florida.
and in Detroit still within striking distance.
Well, okay, and the Leafs, who obviously are...
Yeah, there's six points out.
And also now...
It's weird, the system here.
Let me, let me, I'm gonna put...
You know, we love making predictions of the show.
Let me put this prediction out here right now.
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
Buffalo finishes third in the Atlantic.
Michael wins the heart.
What do you think about that?
I think that's possible.
That's possible, right?
Because, okay, so 34 points, 29 games,
28 points, 28 games.
they've been doing much better.
It's all about their goaltending.
If Robin Leonard continues to suck.
But the premise of what you said is correct.
And it actually kind of syncs up with the Thanksgiving thing,
which is that the teams that are in playoff position around Thanksgiving
are the ones that usually make it.
I think the devils that might have been in play out position around Thanksgiving,
but they're not going to make it.
They're not good enough to make it.
They're nine points out.
Yeah, they're nine points out.
I mean, they don't have a hell a lot to play catch up with.
They got just smoked the other night for the Rangers.
Like probably one, like Tampa can probably catch one of those two teams.
That's the thing is.
If you say Buffalo gets in, like, how is Tampa?
But I'm saying like the Flyers, I mean, the Flyers have been obscene lately,
but I don't think they're going to have a huge drop off.
In fact, I think they're just going to get better as they solidify their defense.
And the capitals aren't going anywhere.
The Columbus isn't a points bank to still be in there.
The Rangers aren't going anywhere in Pittsburgh's Pittsburgh.
So what you're looking at, to go back to your original point is correct,
which is that Ottawa and Boston are vulnerable.
Tampa, Florida, Detroit, Toronto, Buffalo are the ones that are chasing them.
And we'll see.
Yeah.
I don't think Boston's as vulnerable as you.
I think they're two good five-on-five.
Well, yeah.
And also, like, Ottawa's got a negative eight goal differential right now.
And Ottawa's, yeah, like, do you think any of these five teams in the Metro don't make the playoffs at this point or no?
So you're saying five from the Metro?
No, do you think?
one of those five teams fades out of it.
Like I think...
Well, I mean, I hope Columbus does.
I want to be smart and I hate their coach.
Did we just talk about this?
You have a whole entire like season-ending podcast dedicated to you
just dancing on the Columbus Blue Jackets grave.
Suck it, Brandon Sade.
Well, here's the thing.
Like, if you want to talk about teams that go on absurd runs,
like, yeah.
Like, I don't think the flyers are going to miss,
but there's always a chance that the pendulum swings the other way
they go in a losing streak.
And the Carolina Hurricanes are a funny team.
And I know a lot of people had them in the playoffs for the season.
I don't think they're going to do it.
But that's, you talk about streaky-ass teams historically.
Like, all it takes is like two weeks of Cam Ward going into fuck-you mode.
And all of a sudden, they're like in sniffing distance of a playoff spot.
He doesn't, has he ever had two weeks of fuck-you mode in the last three years?
Cam Ward is, is much like Mike Smith, a bad goalie who all of a sudden becomes dominant for two weeks.
and then you're teased by it,
and then he falls apart
and gives up seven goals
in two straight games.
I think he already had.
He was at like 918
when he came to the garden
a couple weeks ago,
and I feel like he gave up
a shit ton of goals to Vancouver last night
and he hasn't been good.
Here, I'm gonna look at,
what do you think he's say percentage is right now?
Cam Ward?
Cam Ward.
9-09?
Wow, I was going to say 907.
Well, really?
I think he's been really shitty lately.
He's at, oh, fuck me.
915.
But anyway,
7 plus 9 is like 16.
I was going to say that you won the ability to go up on stage with Drew Carrey because you were closer.
I was too low.
Neither of us went over, though.
915, wow, I thought he's a little lower.
Which price in game could you win?
Like, we've talked about what our favorites are, but which one could you win the most?
Oh, like, once I got up on stage?
Yeah.
Because I have a thought on that.
There's one really hard one that I feel like this kind of new that I could never do.
Because it's the one where you lose money as time keep going.
Yeah, well, you have to keep running back and forth and smack in the button.
Anything that involves that.
Athletics I'm not going to do well in.
But it's like athletics plus like you have to know the prices of like the six things that go on the four.
I'd never be able to like I would I would suck at that one.
I can make the put.
I can't make the put.
I could for sure make the put.
But I could, but to that end I could roll the dice.
I think I could find a way to roll a dice where I get either a six or a one.
And once you do that, you're gold.
But like which of the games are skill base?
Because like a lot of them you're just calling out.
Like the one where it's like the piggy bank, the VCR.
and like the car and you've got what's zero to nine it's they're either skill based which involve
running or golf or dice or plinko roll the dice take a chance or their common sense base
where you got to basically know to tell to tell that stupid red fucking cellophane thing to stop
in a certain range of money because that's how much your trip costs like like that one I feel like
I think I would suck at that one. That one seems harder. That's one that seems easy on TV, but it would be hard. The one I think I would be good at is where they give you $6 and you have to guess the number and if you're like two over or two over, you have to give Drew two bucks back. I think I could win that one. Yeah. I don't know for sure. That's one I want to try. That's the one that's the hardest that I think I could do. Yeah. The game I would get depressed if I had to do it is the one with the piggy bank where it's like the classic one where it's like the front end of the of the, what appears to be a Cadillac. Yeah, I know from like 1970.
Yeah, I would hate that one because I always feel like I'd pick like the three numbers in the piggy bank straight away and then get screwed
I like the one where you punch the little things and you pull out the dollar values
That's a good one I would like to do that one
Which one would you want to do?
Besides Plinko, which one would you want to do?
By the way, Chris Hardwick nerdist Overlord doing a large Plinko game it looks like on
Oh, fuck, is you the host?
I got to delete that tweet
Oh, I totally shit talking about.
that show on Twitter like last week.
What tweet, Dave?
The tweet that has been deleted
by Katie when she received
the audio to this podcast.
Thank you, Katie.
Which game would I,
which game would I, what, would I rock
the most? Would you want to do the most?
Would I want to do the most? Besides Plinko, because
Plinko's obviously the best one. You're just dropping chips in
and winning cash.
I mean, like,
I don't know, like, I
feel like anyone that involves me
knowing, like, like, how you get Plinko chips?
Like, oh, you know which one I would want to do?
Were you reach into that stupid ass bag and pull out the things?
Oh, yeah, like the X or the green.
Yeah.
Yeah, and then you win.
Put, put my future as a price is right contestant in the hands of the pricing gods.
I would do the one where you have a car and you have to keep taking cards out of a deck.
And you can take an eight out, it's worth 800 bucks.
And you have to get within like a certain price range of the car and you just keep pulling out like kings and twos and fours.
Like, that seems entertaining to me.
I would enjoy that game if I won or lost, I think.
Chris Hardwick, that show is going to be a hit.
That's an absolute genius, unique show.
And I never said anything bad on it on Twitter.
Our guest on this episode of Puck Soup,
but I think you're going to like him as Dan Pashman.
He is the host of the Sporkful podcast about food
and does a segment on the cooking channel called You're Eating It Wrong.
I think it's called that.
It might have been something I've been told once in a while.
That's actually a video I've seen on.
That's a different thing.
It's a wide-ranging conversation with Dan about devil's fandom, hockey fandom,
Taylor Ham.
Old school fandom, the history of Taylor Ham versus Porkroll.
If you're a Taylor-Ham person, he may sway you.
I'm going to tell you right now.
Also, if someone puts ice in your drink, get ready to get your fucking mind-blown.
Yeah, well, it's Hockey podcast, so if we have ice.
Oh, you see Margarabi is going to be in a new movie where she plays Tanya Harding?
No, I did not see that.
She's going to be in another movie where she plays Harley Quinn.
with Cat Woman and Poison Ivy.
God, we need new movies.
It's going to be great.
We've seen Rogue One.
We'll be talking about Rogue One after we talk to Dan.
Dan Pashman is the creator and host of the WNYC podcast, The Sporkful.
But I first discovered Dan and let Dan into my life, Dave Lozo.
When I saw him on the Cooking Channel, Cooking Channel, Cooking Network.
Food Network?
It's Food Network.
It's Food Network Cooking Channel.
Right.
Yeah.
Now, as you know, I watch a lot of cooking channel because that's the channel that's got the Tiffany Amber Theison cooking show on it.
Oh, she has a cooking show?
You didn't know this?
We didn't talk about this?
I met her at a cooking event here in the city.
Oh, I saw the picture.
Right.
And so she has a cooking show.
It's my guiltiest pleasure of cooking shows because basically it's a milphy Tiffany Amber Theison.
It's like Kelly Kapowski's cooking stuff for you.
It's like Kelly Kapowski in her milfiz.
and she invites all of her friends from back in the day over to eat.
And like she looks amazing.
But they like she had Matthew Lillard on from Scream.
And he looked like the old man from Poltergeist too.
Like he's like all the actors look like hot garbage.
Like Mark Paul Gossilar showed up recently.
He still looks like.
He looked like Brent Burns.
He had like this giant bushy beard and shit.
That's for his baseball show.
Sure, why not?
But like...
Should we say hi to Dan at some point?
But like my point is is that so I'm watching the Tiffany Amber Theeson show and then
like the commercial comes on and then inevitably Dan's segment comes on during the commercial
and Dan's segment is you're eating it wrong and...
Allegedly.
Well, okay.
I mean it's up for debate.
But like it's great because he takes a food item and then he shows you...
Okay, in deference to you, it shows you a different way to eat it.
Not a better way to eat it, but maybe a different way to eat it.
Hi, Dan.
Hey, guys.
Thank you for having me.
You were just bathing.
He was actually in the bathroom the whole time we were doing it.
That's not true at all.
Now, when I told Lozo you were going to be on the show, I described to him or maybe even showed him.
Oh, I watched the video.
Yeah, the pizza segment.
And the pizza segment for those who haven't seen it is Dan reinvents.
how you are to eat a pizza,
not only an inside out method
so you get the full force of the cheese and the sauce
instead of just getting the crust,
but I believe there's also one in which you
rip the crust off the pizza
and then slide it in quite suggestively
into the middle of the pizza
and then wrap the pizza around it,
so now you're eating the crust and the pizza
rather than eating all of the sauce and cheese
and leaving you with a sauceless, cheeseless crust?
Yeah, I mean, that one I can see.
You were high.
Quite possibly.
I mean, that's where a lot of my work comes from.
But, you know, a lot of pizzas, the crust isn't that good, right?
We all know that.
Right.
And a lot of people don't eat the crust, which is fine, but it seems like a missed opportunity.
It's kind of wasteful, too.
And so I was like, what could you do with this to make it taste better?
And it's like, what is most crappy pizza crust?
problem with it. Most of the time, it's dry and flavorless. So how could you make it moist and
flavorful? Combine it with the pizza, right? So I was like, what if we just rip it off and lay it?
I mean, I never thought of it as being quite so suggestive, Greg. Craig sees sex in it.
I'm glad that's what you took from it. It's open to your interpretation. This is in the time
after I've just spent 15 minutes watching Tiffany and Berthieson. I've got a lot of my mind.
Yeah, I can imagine. I'm more of a pizza traditionalist, so like I'm watching that video and I
I felt like John Lithgow and Footloose where I'm watching you like do all these like suggestive things with the pizza.
Like there's one where you took one slice of one type of pizza, put the cheese of another slice on top of that one.
It was like a double decker.
Like a sandwich.
Like a comma sutra menager-a-tois thing.
But in fairness, like, like Sabaro has that.
Like Sabaro has the pizza that's like- What do I care about what Sabaro does?
That's your go-to example here.
Yeah.
Listen, if Sabaro doesn't give you a receipt, then you.
You get your meal for me.
I've always wondered what the fuck that.
You ever see that?
That, like, that's, like, a giant sign at the front of every Sabarro.
And I'm like, what, like, middle manager, like, 15, 20 years ago is, like, we have to stop the storage of no receipt giving?
And we're going to, we're going to.
I'm tired of all the complaints.
That's right.
Yeah.
And who needs a receipt?
You guys don't start giving receipts.
Like, how many people are like, oh, I left Sabaro and I forgot to get a receipt?
You see, that's got to be a thing where there's so many of them in travel places, like malls.
Right.
train stations and shit. People on expense accounts. Right, expense accounts and they're like,
they're like, you know, I never got a receipt and then they're calling corporate and like, can you
look in your database of pizza customers and call up this receipt for me or else I'm never
going to get that 495 back for that pepperoni slice. Whoa, big spender. 495 at Tsubaro. I mean, for God
sake. There's still people in the city that go to Sabaro and like they pat, they actually
walk past dollar pizza stores to get to the Sabaro in New York City. I actually have my
my friend Adam, who happens to be a huge hockey fan as well.
And he's a very nice guy, kind of shy and soft-spoken.
And in his college days, he was dating a woman, went out for a couple of dates, decided
that he didn't like her, or at least didn't want to continue seeing her.
But he didn't have the heart to break it off with her.
He just was, you know, he's not good at delivering bad news.
And he did, so he said, what can I do to extricate myself from this relationship?
So he invited her out on a date.
and he took her to Sabarro
for their date
she never called again
wow
I'm trying to think
where the shittiest place
I've ever taken the date was
we're never going to get
Sabaro to sponsor the podcast
ever
I remember the only
I don't think I've ever taken anybody
on a shitty date
like to like a Sabaro
but I do remember when I was
in maybe middle school
like I was trying to impress a girl
by giving her chocolates
and I gave her a brick of Andy's candies
You know the mint
Like with the green layer
In between the two chocolate layers
I went to like food town
I'm like what kind of
And it wasn't like Valentine's Day
So you couldn't get her like a heart or anything
I'm like what kind of chocolate could I get her?
I don't know
My mom likes Andy's candies
Why don't I just get her a brick andy's candies
It was like a big box
It was like the green
It was like a green brick
But with little tiny
chocolates inside. I would take that, to be honest. I would consider that to be a wonderful gift
if somebody gave you. And what we're learning from that story, really, Greg, is that from a very
young age you wanted to marry your mom. Pretty much. That's exactly right. I gave her the
Andy's... Somebody else finally noticed this. I gave her Andy's candies. I said, how much money is you
put in your tuna fish? And then I asked her if she could iron my pants. And then we never spoke
again. It was like a Sabaro thing. So that's the key to pulling yourself out of a bad situation.
Sabarro or turn her into your mother.
Oh, I was going to say, make a comment about putting mayo in someone's tuna because that's a little,
that's a little suggestive.
Speaking of suggestive.
Dan, how did you get into doing the sporkful?
Do you consider yourself a food expert or just a food, a lover of food?
Yeah, more a lover.
My background's in radio.
That was, I spent years doing news radio, talk radio, news talk radio.
I was at Air America Radio in the early days there.
and PR and Sirius X-M.
Were you there with Marin?
I produced Marin's show.
Shut up!
Yeah, yeah.
How was that?
It was a lot of fun.
Boy, he must have been a mess back then.
Yeah, I mean, you know, yeah.
Yeah, he is a character.
I mean, he is the person you hear on his show is who he really is.
But, I mean, it was, you know, it was a morning show, and I was the first one there.
I had to get to work at one or two o'clock in the morning.
You know, he would come in at four in the morning.
And it was intense.
Those hours were intense.
But like the early days of America,
as much as that place crashed and burned,
it was a progressive talk radio network,
people who haven't heard of it.
Al Frank,
and Janine Garofalo,
Rachel Maddow, Liz Winstead.
Robert Downey Jr.,
Bill Gibson.
There was a helicopter.
Yeah, there's a helicopter.
I'm just saying all those people worked there,
and not that they were all my best friends,
but at all.
But it was like an amazing group of people.
Like I learned so much working there.
It was like my first real job in radio.
And then I worked at NPR and other places and a couple of the shows that I was especially passionate about working on, including Maron's show, got canceled at a time when I felt like they were just sort of just getting warmed up.
And I started to get tired of that happening.
And around that time, like it's like seven or eight years ago, a lot of friends of mine on radio were starting podcasts.
They were like, you should start a podcast.
And I figured at least if I had my own podcast, then no one could cancel it besides me.
And so I started the sporkful.
I had never done anything in food.
before. It was just sort of I came up with a sort of a short list of like, okay, what podcast
could I possibly pretend to be qualified to host? And the sportful was sort of the only good
idea that I had. And the initial concept was like, I'm just going to pick one food, each
episode and just obsess about it in ridiculous detail. Like the second episode or first episode
ever, we did like 20 minutes talking about ice cubes. And the service area of volume ratio
of ice cubes, like how fast you want your ice to melt, how much ice in relation to the liquid.
And so it was like this sort of OCD approach to eating.
And that was seven years ago.
So over the years it's evolved.
And now we still do that to some extent, but it's sort of more about kind of people and culture.
Does your pot dealer come to Hoboken?
We did do a show on edibles in which I got Chad Abramrad from Radio Lab way too high.
And he doesn't want to do that show.
He doesn't want to do a follow up with me.
It's like drunk history, but stone food history.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
If you have a, if you're pouring yourself a drink on the rocks, let's say you're drawing like a scotch in the rocks.
How many ice cubes?
I'm saying three.
I was going to say three.
Is that the right answer?
Is that what you discovered in your studies?
I like to say on the sporkful, I like to quote the old Latin phrase,
de gustabus nonas disputandum.
In matters of taste, there can be no dispute.
Why are you translating that for us?
We obviously know what that means.
It's for your listeners.
I know that you guys know what it means.
That's why you have a tattooed on your arm, Dave.
In matters of taste, there can be no dispute.
So there's some things that are like matters of objective truth in food,
and there's some things that are a matter of taste.
And exactly how much ice you want in your scotch
is really to me a matter of taste.
Right.
But I think that it's important.
I think not enough people put thought into exactly how much ice they want,
how watery they want it to get, how cold they want it to get.
And then to think about, okay, what is the size and shape of ice cube
that's going to help me to achieve my goal?
Oh, the shape matters too.
Sure, because it's all about surface area to volume ratio.
It's like my dad has those things that make giant ice balls that he thinks is so great.
You think it's the greatest thing ever to throw a giant ice ball in his maker's mark.
And meanwhile, it's literally like you have to like angle your mouth between the circumference of this of a hoff.
Yeah.
And the side of the glass to try to get the liquid.
But the ball is the lowest surface area to volume ratio, which is why the baller sphere has become trendy.
But I agree.
It's very uncomfortable on your face.
You like the stone?
You know, that stone you keep in your face.
I got little stones that you could put in there.
That's an interesting.
I like it watered down a little bit.
Right.
Yeah.
Like as it melts, it almost becomes easier to drink.
I have a completely different approach when it comes to it because I'm an ice chewer.
So when I put, I know, you just grimace, right?
It's like, it's like I just put foil on your fillings over here.
It's like a warm drink and cold.
Like I didn't see it like chew an ice when you've had a soda.
But the ice, right.
Well, it's the same principle.
Like the ice then becomes another treat because you've basically marinated the ice in whatever
beverage you're drinking.
And so it's like eating olives with a martini for me.
It's like throughout the drink, I'm throwing a little ice in my mouth.
I've got whatever it is, whiskey or soda or whatever on the ice cube.
And now I've got two things.
I'm drinking something and I'm kind of eating something.
But I also have an oral fixation.
So I think that's part of the problem.
I had to pass the fire until I was 24.
We're really getting into some big issues here, Greg.
We're really making some good progress today.
This has been a great session.
What size and shape ice cube do you prefer?
Just your normal rectangle.
I don't need novelty.
although I have to
lately our
freezer has been not working well
which is what happens when you're in New York
and you only make one trip to Trader Joe's
every month and then you shove everything you
possibly could in a freezer to kill your ice
machine so we've been buying ice from
Dwayne Reed and so that's not
the rectangle that's like the little circle guys
the perfect ice
Is it a circle like with a whole board through the center
Yeah
Those melt very quickly
Right right through that
Yes
Like a pizza crust through
pizza slice.
Right.
But the best,
my favorite ice
of all time was when,
and you don't really get
it in a lot of places anymore,
but like White Castle used to do
that like little tiny ice
nuggets.
Don't worry about the light going on.
We tell I hear everybody's good.
This suddenly has got very intimate.
The little tiny ice nuggets
where it's almost like it is,
it's like pouring soda
into frozen sand almost.
And then you have like
a slushy effect happen.
Right.
I'm talking about? Yeah, yeah. Well, the reason why I ask you, Greg, is because I wonder if you'd ever considered using crushed ice in some way. It melts very quickly, which could be a concern, but perhaps if you were to, do you want your scotch chilled?
Yes. Okay. So what if you were to put one normal ice cube in, pour some scotch in, drink most of the scotch, then remove the remnants or at that point maybe the single ice cube has melted a good amount, then add some crushed ice with the sort of remnant.
of scotch that are sitting at the bottom of the glass,
mix that around, and then you have crushed ice to chew on.
Lozo, I hate to say this, but I think I've been eating ice wrong.
I cannot believe how much you two have thought about ice in your life.
All this time.
What are you doing with your life, Lozo?
Yeah.
I'm sitting there, I'm just like, oh, do I have ice cubes or not?
I don't.
I better put some water in there.
Oh, and they're all frozen together.
I simply can't take the time to chisel one off that ice ball in my freezer.
Like, seriously, like, next time I have, like, a drink,
I'm going to be, like, standing over my ice cube train.
and like frozen paralyzed for like five minutes
like what would what would Greg and Dan do?
Yeah.
Speaking of like fine you curled up in a ball
in the corner of your kitchen.
Speaking of ice,
you know,
on Puck Soup,
we're always trying to bring in as many different voices
as we possibly can
as far as hockey fandom,
which is why Dan's the devil's fans.
Speaking of ice.
Is that the first time in this show's history
that you segued from ice cubes to hockey ice?
It might have been actually.
That was impressive.
Segwers were like,
oh, that's really interesting.
You know, speaking of how does it bone, pancreatic cancer.
So you and I were actually at the same parade in 1995, the parking lot parade.
Yeah, I thought I recognized you.
That was, I mean, I've been to a handful of victory parades in my life, and that one was certainly unlike any other, right?
It was something that came to help define the franchise in the sense that all of the other people in my life that weren't at,
fans are constantly reminding me that when we finally won the Stanley Cup, we held our parade
in the fucking parking lot.
That's not what I remember from it.
I remember being there, and Claude Lemieux was not the most attractive man in the planet.
Claude Lemieux, if you took Harvey Keitel and then poured lime juice in his face for about
an hour.
That was the first time I realized, like, every hockey player has a super hot wife.
Yeah.
That was the first time, like, Sean Chambers was rolling by in a car, and I'm like, oh, my God,
Sean Chambers.
Like, how are all these guys doing?
And I was like, man, I should have played hockey.
Lozo screams to Sean Tamers' wife.
Your husband's rating on NHL 94 is the worst.
I get Stefan Rishay, but I don't understand why you have one.
Seriously, he's got like a 40 agility.
Seriously, like 16-year-old me or whatever it was, it was just like,
who really?
Also, yeah, great, congratulations.
I went into this down.
Now, was the 95 parade the one where they,
what the Stanley Cup in in a helicopter or was that
I don't know yeah I think I would remember that yeah as I recall
the Stanley Cup was on display in a hotel lobby nearby
and soon after they won but when it was still on display there I went to see
REM in the city and me and my brother and Chris Hobson and on the way back we were
like well it'll be late at night you know we'll stop on the
driving back to Jersey, we'll stop to see the Stanley Cup,
because if it's one in the morning, there'll be no one there.
We get there, we park, and the line was out the door of the hotel.
Wow.
And, you know, to this day, I regret it because it's like I was,
what the hell that I have to be?
I had nothing to do.
You know, like, I'm never going to wait in the line like that again to see the Stanley Cup.
I've got, like, kids and other things, you know,
weighing down my existence.
That was a hell of time.
Let's talk about your issues, that.
I forgot about the fact that, you know, people for, I think,
remember the parking lot celebration
but it legit
and I don't think they did this all three times
it legit was a parade like it was a
guys in convertibles
driving around
an access road
an access road
to then go to the stage
and have like a little dance party up there
I think the helicopter was a thing
I think in 95 they had a helicopter
it was one either 95 or 2000
there was definitely a helicopter
I want to say it was 95
because I didn't go to the parade at 2000 or anything
in 2003 but like 95 I think there was like
I remember because it was so far
away and then they put it.
I couldn't even see the cup from where I was,
but I'm pretty sure there was a helicopter.
But like, as Devils fans, your existence
is somewhat defined by being
the spunky little brother
to the Rangers, right? So it's like
when the Rangers won,
the parade was held where they used to honor
like fucking astronauts.
Right. When the Devils won
they held the parade at a place
where I probably played
Frisbee. Right. Right.
The Canyon of Heroes features
John Glenn.
Right.
I don't even know who else would they be there.
Buzz Aldrin.
Luis Soho.
Steve Larmer.
Like, what?
Pick a different...
There's a lot of roads in New York.
It actually was like a ticker tape parade, I think, in 94.
And that was well after ticker tape was no longer even used.
Right.
People just like use it to dump their garbage up in New York City Street.
Get rid of those documents, Carol.
This is the perfect time to do a little corporate espionage.
But I feel like, I feel like, I mean, I think you're right, Greg, about that sort of like what it means to be a devil's fan.
But in that sense, I think, feel like like it's the perfect team.
It fits perfectly with New Jersey.
Right.
Because that's what, you know, so much of being from New Jersey is about being from this place that's kind of like most of its identity, most of, most New Jersey culture is stuff that spilled over from New York City, New York or from Philadelphia.
Frank Sinatra technically went the other way.
But I see what you're saying.
I feel like New York steals all our stuff, the Statue of Liberty, Frank Sinatra.
Right.
But I get what you're saying.
That's actually a good point.
That is where our real life inferiority complexes come from is because we look over and see New York and we're just like, we're just not bad.
They tried to steal Joe Piscopo and then they gave him back pretty quickly.
The giants, the jets.
They claim all these things that aren't theirs to make themselves.
Actually, wait, we are the most awesome state.
What are we talking about here?
Yeah.
Bookers!
Delete that, Katie.
They all come.
They all come to our beaches.
That's for sure.
Our fucking beaches, our casino.
That's right.
Well, not anymore.
I mean, our casinos are no longer the novelty they used to be.
Yeah, but they're the ones that have the best.
But you were making a point before.
Well, no, just that like that because New Jersey doesn't have much that we can truly call our own, we have intense pride in the things that we can call our own.
It's true.
Not, I mean, I've always.
And the devils are one of those things.
I can really agree with that.
And I've always, you know, they sort of got.
there eventually the idea of connecting the team to the state.
They were like Jersey's team or Devil's Army or whatever.
But like I think part of the problem with being a sports fan in Jersey is that you do have, like if you're a sports fan in Chicago, right?
And you're going to high school and you're a hockey fan.
Everybody there is a Blackhawks fan.
Right.
Because if you're a Detroit fan, you're probably in private school by now because you got your ass kick so much.
But like as a kid growing up in Jersey, like, my locker would be next to a Ranger fan.
And I can't be like, hey, double game last night because it was probably we beat the Rangers, you know?
So it was a very, it was both an odd feeling in the sense that there was no cohesion in the, in the populace as far as supporting one team.
But at the same time, it was the best feeling because every game, every night had stakes because the next day you'd go to school and you're either going to be real happy or I'm going to be.
be real sad, you're going to talk shit
or get shit talk to you. And that was always a very
interesting dynamic. What was the ratio of your guys' schools?
Like, Rangers to Devils? I would say it was probably
50-50. I dated
I dated two Rangers fans
including one.
How progressive of you.
Thank you.
All I'm saying is I got a lot of friends that are Rangers fans.
I don't identify as a devil fan, Greg.
I'm cool with that, babe. I'm cool
with that. I went through a little
Ranger phase if you know what I'm saying yeah no and then your dad put down
it laid down a lawn we had to meet in moonlight rendezvous right you would like meet
it like I on their games so no no no one no whatever our parents wouldn't understand
then we both I took poison and then she took poison but my poison wasn't real but then hers
wasn't then I took the poison too and then John McLean became a Ranger and that was what it was
and that was all over both I dated a Ranger fan and we went to prom together and it was when
both teams it was 95 was both teams was both teams
in the playoffs and we were both listening to the games on like a little transistor radio next to the
the door of the place where the prom was to find out what the scores were that night did you go to prom in
like 1965 there was a transistor radio yeah you had my my grandpa's transistor radio is the thing I had
did you gun down the old man I was like 80-20 at my school was a ton of ranger fans there's no devil
fans at my school it was very every morning when the in 94 when the rangers beat the devils
I came in after the Devils won game 5 and they went up 3-2
and talked all the shit in the world
that you could ever talk to anybody
and then they lost game 7 the night of my prom that year
and I wanted to die
Oh, I wanted to die after that too
I was very very... I mean your prom I hated the theme
I don't think we had a theme I think it was just awkward teens
trying to not get pregnant
Our theme was definitely boys to men's end of the road
it most certainly was
would you have your prom?
We had our prom at a
at a
like a dining hall
kind of promy
wedding facility
in I think it was Old Bridge
but infamous for being a place
where either the week
I was saying I'm gonna get
either the weekend before
or the weekend after
a girl had a baby
in the bathroom of that joint
like during her
prom.
Really?
Yes.
That's a nice night.
Yeah.
She had to pay.
It wasn't her plus one.
So she had to pay the...
I was going to say, yeah.
It's like, yeah, you got...
That's expensive.
It was not...
I mean, I went to prom twice.
I went to prom as a senior
and then I went with someone
after I went to college.
Oh, you were one of those.
What's the term?
Sexual predator?
Yeah.
Well, they need someone.
And they needed someone to buy them booze.
So, no, that was fine.
Mr. Wischinski, can we get some more mad dog?
Call me Mr. W.
Kids.
We're all in orange.
I got to get to the blue.
Is that all right?
Let me tell you girls about something called Boones Farm.
Yeah, were you a Mad Dog or a Boones guy?
Boones.
I was Mad Dog.
I was Boones, too.
Strawberry Hill.
Did your stomach ever feel right after drinking Boones?
That stuff would just do a number on me.
The thing I drank and.
college that really,
I, to this day, find just,
I don't understand its existence.
And I'll drink, as lozzo knows, pretty much anything.
I hate gold shlogger.
Remember when gold shlogger came out and, like, you were like,
it's got pieces of gold in.
And I'm like, whoa, we're like, royalty now.
Is that like around the same time that gold dust was a character in WWE?
I feel like that was a whole.
He just like flaked his hair off at the end of the movie match.
It was like Gold Schlager Gold Tust and Trump's Taj Mahal all came into existence around the same time.
Our obsession with Gold Lamee.
Yeah.
But I never like Gold Slager.
I liked it.
It was like cinnamony, right?
Yeah, it was way.
And I'm not, I like cinnamon.
I like red, I like red hots and shit like that.
Aftershock?
After shock.
But Goldslogger just, I was literally.
Yeah, I definitely gotten drunk off of a half a bottle of Goldschlager at some point.
Wow.
What did your shit look like after that?
It was glorious.
It looked like a goddamn disco ball.
It was like Zeus himself took a dump on my bowl.
He got up off the bowl and fucking Lara Croft dove in and tried to find the treasure.
Jesus.
There's imagery.
This dump is worth $2.99 to Glenn Beck on the cash for gold market.
All right.
Now, one of the things I wanted to talk about with you here, Dan,
is something we've not really we've not really we touched on it a little bit on the show but not all the way which is arena food what is your what is your preferred combination of of treats to have now one of the things that we've talked about in the show is the miracle that are the tiny hot dogs on a skewer at madison square garden msg has got bad arena it's got what there's one place in msg by the bridge by where he and i sit for for games where they have like it's why would you say like 12 cocktail weanies on a stick they're just like yeah like it's it's at
But, like, it's weird.
It's like a combination, like, pizza, hot dog weenie stand.
Yeah.
Because, like, when you're hungry, you're like, I got to get some pizza and some hot dog we eat.
Right.
Which, by the way, if I have the opportunity to go to a place in an arena that is, it's the same principle that I have, where I don't like go into combination Taco Bell pizza huts or combination Taco Bells.
Oh, disagree.
Because I, oh, what do you have to disagree about?
Taco Bell is Taco Bell, whether it's next to a KFC or next to a church.
It is, especially a KFC, because I'm convinced those are KFC workers that are true.
trained on KFC stuff because you've got to know more about KFC shit than you do Taco Bell.
Oh, they can't know two things?
No.
No, your expertise is either in chicken or it's in horrible Mexican fast food.
But by that logic, shouldn't you never eat any of the food at an arena?
That's what I was saying.
I was getting to that point before someone...
I think you put you on checkmate and now you're scrambling.
No, I'm not checkmate at all.
I am fully out of checks and mates.
My point is that if I have a chance to go anywhere in the arena that isn't the full-service
Aramark, hot dogs
and chicken tenders and popcorn.
If there's like a dog house,
if there's just a hot dog place.
You want people who specialize
in a thing because you have this idea
that they're going to know what they're doing better.
Yeah, I want someone whose full knowledge base
is simply the thing I want to get
versus I got to know how to make
a nacho cheese chalupa
with no tomato, and I got to know
how to make a pepperoni pizza.
But like they're not making it.
It's like frozen ass food
that they're just dropping on the grill.
I got to agree with Lozo on this one.
Sorry, Greg.
He's not like Emerald Lagosys back there,
like creating like all these different flavors.
It's like, wait, were you trained
or how to defrost this product?
Wait, these hot dogs,
how did you get them out of the package, okay?
What is your expertise for making these chicken tenders from me?
Well, I studied at French laundry in 10 years
and I apprenticed the palm.
Greg goes to Devils games,
and he's like, excuse me, these chicken tenders were delicious.
Can I speak to this chef?
You thank him for what he did.
Just some guy in the back.
Leave you alone, Greg.
Stop it.
Like, didn't I see you at the beer stand last time?
Yeah.
How do you know to do both?
Find a man that can do both.
All right.
Ideal arena food combination.
Well, the first thing I will say is that if I'm at any kind of sporting event,
I'm always going to be putting thought into alcohol and food in relation to each other.
All right.
This is what you need, because I am a, I put a lot of thought into buzz management.
You know, you've got to think about, like, how drunk to...
Not to nurture it?
Well, you're right.
Like, you want to get to a certain level of intoxication or buzz.
Right.
And then you want to be able to ride that feeling for as long as possible.
And then bring yourself down in a way that's not going to have long-term repercussions.
I like where he's going with this.
Yeah, it's kind of like keeping a roaring fire going.
Right.
That's right.
Right.
Now, look, at our age, there's fewer nights we're going to go for the, you know, for the top of the mountain.
Right.
and falling off the cliff the next day.
It's more about just like getting up to a nice pleasant plateau and elevation where you can see the hills.
At least base camp somewhere on the mountains.
Exactly.
And having a nice stroll up there.
And so to me, the key to that is about knowing when to drink and when to eat.
Because if you get them out of order or do too much of one or the other, that is when you get into trouble.
Tell us the secrets.
I got to know this.
First of all, drink first.
Oh, that's interesting because the often thing you hear is that you've got to create a base.
I think, look, if you have a very empty stomach or if you have a low tolerance, you know, don't go in there and drink, you know, a handful of a handle of whiskey.
Luckily for me, I have neither.
Right, right.
But, yeah, like, I would drink at least a half a beer before I start eating.
A half a beer to a full beer before I start eating because that's going to get you right up to where you want to be, buzzwise, quickly, right?
Then you come in with the food, and that will allow you to plateau.
Are there certain foods that are better or worse for this situation?
Well, greasier foods and doughier foods will soak up alcohol and will slow its absorption into your bloodstream.
Fuck those foods.
They're out.
Well, you want those foods.
You just want them in moderation.
Right.
So you're saying maybe eat a rum cake.
Or a slice of pizza or a hot dog, you know, something that's high in fat.
you know, cheese and meat and whatever, the greasy foods.
But you don't want them, too much of them will not only hurt your buzz,
but they'll make you feel like just gross and tired, you know.
When I start to feel that way, that's when I'll put the food aside.
And if I'm really, if it's an emergency and suddenly all of a sudden my buzz is in free fall,
that is when you switch to liquor because the liquor will cut right through the food in your stomach
and get you back.
Wait, so no base of food, beer first, then liquor.
Wow.
The whole beer before liquor thing, I think is bullshit.
But it rhymes.
I know.
I always start with beer because you want to ease your way in and the empty stomach and you get up to a nice buzz.
And then it's about going back and forth between food and drink in a way that allows you to have your meal and enjoy it and to have your drinks and enjoy them.
But, you know, if you feel yourself feeling too full and weighed down, you put the food aside, you go to liquor.
If you feel yourself feeling too drunk, then that's when you put the booze aside for a minute and you go to food.
and you want to kind of go back and forth
and then so you start with alcohol
and you end with food
you want to end with food
because if you, it's that food
that you end the night with
and that's where you want that's,
you know, if you finish with a slice of pizza
or something, that's the best way
to ward off a hangover
because that will absorb
all the alcohol that still,
once alcohol is in your bloodstream
there's nothing that will cure
but time.
There's a lot of myths out there
about like coffee or this food
that's not true.
I,
leachis, I,
well, okay, that's the one.
That's the one.
Right.
But if you just put some more food in your stomach, then that will help to soak up whatever alcohol is in your stomach.
And it will slow the alcohol's absorption into your bloodstream.
And that will help ward off a hangover.
Well, I mean, I think this is great advice because it justifies me getting slices of pizza at 2.30 in the morning here in the city.
That's right.
And now it's a business expense.
No, Dan, it might be the beard, but I think I'm ready to accept you as my lord and savior with all this advice.
I appreciate that.
Thanks.
Yeah.
When you came in here, I was like, this is the pizza villain, the guy that's,
destroying pizza for the children.
And now I'm like, I want to go to games with him
and let him monitor my food and alcohol intake.
There you go. Inside-out pizza fold, Lozo.
I'm telling you cheese and sauce directly on your tongue.
Is there anything arena-related that we eat wrong?
Do we eat nachos right?
I would not often get arena nachos because to me,
the cheese sauce, they do it with it.
It sucks.
It's just so gross.
And I don't trust the freshness of any ingredient you might get on a nacho
at an arena either.
Right, right.
I mean, you know, sometimes the jalapeno is the,
get on it, as lame as they are, like, it's hard to find something spicy or sort of tart or acidic or
sharp in flavor in classic arena of food. And so those things can be a nice contrast, the jalapenos.
Yeah. So, you know, look, if you're the monopoly man, you can throw money around, maybe you get some
nachos with extra jalapenos on top and you can put some jalapenos in your hot dog or something
like that. See, it's interesting you bring that up because I feel like that's one big problem in our society
right now, which is, you know, and it's affected food too, which is that everybody wants to be everything for
everybody, right? We, we, in a consumer and capitalism, we all have to make sure that no one
gets too offended and no one gets too hurt. And I think it's affected food in the sense that even
when you go to a place that should in fact be spicy, I'm thinking like a Thai food place.
A lot of times you get the Thai food, it's not that spicy because they're afraid of making it
too spicy for someone and then they're going to complain. And so now I feel like in every
facet of food, it's contingent on on you to find a spice level for it because they've made it
very sort of vanilla. I don't know. The gist of what you're saying, I think is true, but I don't
know that it's quite that they're afraid you will complain. I think that spice is so personal
and subjective and what is spicy to one person is not spicy to another. And if you have,
if you are someone who grew up in a culture that involves a lot of spicy food and you were eating
chili peppers at age three,
And even actually, in fact, we know now from research that your palate begins to form in utero.
So if your mom was eating spicy food while you were in utero, it will make you more comfortable eating spicy food from a very young age.
This makes so much sense.
That's why I have such a predilection for Virginia Slims and fondue.
But so put yourself in the position of like someone who's running a Thai restaurant.
It's not that they're afraid to complain.
It's that when you say I want it spicy.
Their first thought is, this guy doesn't know what spicy is.
I had that when I was at the, I went back and visited the University of Maryland to see a friend.
And it was when the Nets were in the NBA final against the Spurs, I think it was.
And we went to a bar called the Fay, I think it was called by Maryland.
And we ordered these wings.
And then they have different levels of wings, spiciness.
And we're like, give us the really spicy.
And we're like, you can handle the really spicy.
I'm like, of course we can handle really spicy.
Of course.
So, bring out the wings.
And me and my friend Kevin both take a bite.
And it is literally like someone just shoved hot oil and a blowtorch in our mouths and just sparked it up.
And we're literally dying.
And we look over by the kitchen.
And the entire kitchen staff is in the,
the doorway of the kitchen. Like one of those situations where all you see is the heads and like
little hands on the doorway as they all peer over each other to see what's happening. And
laughter ensues as they see the sweats and the fire. Right. So. But it's an interesting thing,
you know, so I wouldn't necessarily chalk it up to like sort of political correctness run amok.
I think it's more a matter of like cultural differences and the fact that spice is so personal.
Like a friend of mine, my friend Anne, who's the producer of this Borkful podcast, she,
she's white, she's married to an Indian guy,
she's very into Indian food.
She cooks Indian food at home,
like she's learning all the great Indian food dishes from her mother-in-law.
So she's very knowledgeable about the food,
and she loves her spice,
and she can eat hot Indian food with, you know,
anyone from her husband's family.
But when she goes into an Indian restaurant without him,
if she says, I want it spicy.
They're like, sure.
Right.
Yeah, right.
Sure, lady, whatever you can.
Right, they don't take her seriously.
When she's with him, she gets it a little spicier.
And she's learned how to ask for it in Hindi now.
And she said that that helps also because it shows that she's for real.
But, you know, so, so yeah, I think that spice level is an interesting one.
One of the things I wanted to touch on hockey-wise with you was something you bought up at an email which thought was interesting, which is the inherent danger of attending games has decreased.
And I agree with that.
Again, this is like we talk about our childhood experiences.
all time in the show and the fact that like if you grow up watching a certain product from the
NHL that involves fighting and bloodshed today's product kind of feels a little bit watered down by
comparison and and I and I feel like one thing that doesn't get talked about enough is the arena
atmosphere itself especially here on the east coast has changed dramatically over the years
too where as a kid if you saw a fight in the stands that say a devil's flyers game well that's
a devil's flyers run up guys get pulled down they get thrown in the little jail
cell somewhere in the bowels of the meadowlands and then it's just how it works now if you see a
fight in the stands it's like a rarity it's kind of freaky to see it now because you you just don't
expect to see it at all yeah no that's true and i i mean i have mixed feelings about that that change i
mean uh to rewind like one of my formative sports experiences in my life was going to see the boston
Celtics play in Boston Garden, the old Boston Garden. My mom grew up in Boston. She grew up as a
Celtics fan. So when I was a kid, my parents took us. We saw the Celtics, we saw two games.
Two years ago, we went one Celtics Bulls, one Celtics Knicks. Celtics Bulls, Larry Bird
versus Michael Jordan, double overtime in Boston Garden. And I'll never forget that.
And by every modern metric, Boston Garden was a dump.
I mean, there were poles blocking your view.
The seats were minuscule and on top of each other.
The row in front of you had the back pressed up against your knees.
There was no air conditioning in Boston Garden.
Oh, my God.
I mean, forget concessions, lines for the bathroom.
I mean, you couldn't move in there.
It was basically a big high school gym.
But because it was so compressed,
everyone on top of each other and everyone on top of the court, you have this energy of an intensity
in that building when something exciting is happening that is contagious and is just so concentrated.
And it's, I mean, it's a simple, I mean, it's a factor which for like emotions are
contagious. This has been studied. And the more of the people are spread out, the, the harder
it is for the, for emotions to spread from one person or the next. And arenas now have so many,
there's more rows, there's more aisles, there's more.
more space. There's the luxury boxes. The upper deck is God knows how high. The buildings are
two or three times as large. And everyone is so spread out and so far from the action that you don't
have that, that intensity is so much harder to generate just by the sheer size of it. On top of that,
because of the cost of going and because of the fact that most of the seats now are owned by
companies, a lot of people who are going to the games are going. It's a social outing for them.
They're not going because they care about the team. And so not only are they going to not get in a
fight. They're not even really cheering. They're like going to show up late and leave early and
they're just going to drink a few drinks on the corporate account. This was especially something
I was thinking about because I went to one of the, I live out on Long Island now, near where my
wife grew up and I went to one of the playoff games at NASA Coliseum, the last playoff
games from last year against the caps. Yeah. And it was just like a neighbor had extra tickets.
And I was like, you know, I made me think of Boston Garden. I was like this, NASA
Coliseum was really the last of a, you.
It's the last old arena.
You know, we have Fenway and Wrigley Field in baseball.
Outside of that, none of these old buildings exist anymore.
So I felt like this was my chance to see, you know, to see a game in an atmosphere similar to what I remember from Boston Garden.
And in that sense, it delivered.
I mean, NASA Coliseum, I mean, like, you cannot.
It was not.
You can't go to the bathroom during the period because there's so few bathrooms.
You won't get back in time for the next period.
You know, the concessions forget about it.
The whole corridor is like.
like a high school Jim Carter.
It's not big enough
for all the people.
But in the arena,
when the game is being played
the intensity.
Wrapped attention.
Right.
And every seat filled
and everyone pressed up
against everyone else.
That's the good part of it.
The bad part of it is
these are playoff game tickets
and I think I paid
100 bucks for my seats,
which by today's standards
is a bargain.
You don't get people there
on corporate accounts.
The people there
are way more into the game.
They're much bigger Islanders fans than those guys, you know, who from whatever company.
But it's rowdy.
Yeah.
You know, and after the game, when the Islanders won, let's just say the Islanders fans were not gracious in victory.
Okay.
I saw one Islanders fan throw a lit cigarette at a Capitals fan in the parking lot.
I heard people yelling racial slurs.
I saw more than one fight or near fight breakout during and after the game.
You know, it was like, it was.
It was like being a kid again.
Yeah, I mean, there's something to it
I mean like that was the sort of
Live or Die attitude you'd find
at a devil's game in the playoffs
or a rivalry game
I think Flyers fans
Maybe see that a few times a year
You still get into football games
Like every Monday morning
You'll see three fight videos
From like the NFL Sunday games
That still happens a lot there
What the fuck's happening
Well I don't know if that should
In Buffalo by the way
Where now they're every time
Buffalo seems to have adopted a culture
Where now it's like ECW
Where they just put each other through tables
You go 20 years of the playoffs
You start
You start doing things.
You start finding ways to entertain yourself.
I don't know football is, I think it's more, I would suspect, I don't know that football is all that.
Maybe in place like Buffalo, but like I think most, all the new stadiums are pretty corporate in football.
And maybe you see more fights because there's four times as many people in a stadium.
So you have four times as, there's four times as much chance of a single fight breaking out.
But do you, my theory, my pet theory has always been that experiencing hockey in that environment and experiencing that brand of hockey.
imprinted on me as a hockey fan
in a way where I'm never going to not want to
watch the sport. And I've often
wondered that the fans that came to this
sport in the last 15 years,
maybe through maybe an expansion team, for example,
like, do they have the same experience as me?
Do they live and die with the sport
in the same way that I did?
And I don't know if they did.
I don't know if their experience, their entry point
of the game is the same as mine.
I think it is. So with the game last night,
the Rangers Blackhawks game,
there were two dudes sitting to the left
like in the press box in MSG
like if you're all the way to the left
there's like fans and like the cheapest seats
basically in the whole building
and like these two guys
one dude was in a Black Hawk's jersey
and a Cubs hat
and the other guy was in like a Rangers jersey
a Messier jersey
and a Cubs hat
but like they were really
super duper going at each other
and like it was one of those situations
where I couldn't tell if they were just like
messing around or like if like
the third period came and it was 5-1
somebody was going to get
thrown off of the balcony and killed.
But, like, they were super duper into every single play.
And, like, that's how I used to be as a kid, where, like, I grew out of it because I'd
work in this stupid business and pay attention to this stupid league too closely.
But, like, if you're a fan, I feel like if you're in Nashville, Chicago, New York, wherever,
like, the Chicago dude, he was a little annoying after a while.
But, like, every rush out bites, come on, come on, come on, boys, come on, let's do it.
Like, that's how fans, I think, still are.
Like I think, and they were, they were youngish.
The Bacock's fan guy was youngish.
The Ranger guy was a little bit older, but like they were, it was fucking game 31.
But I will say, like, I don't want to, I don't, I think there's like a correlation but not necessarily causation.
You know, like the fact that there's less violence in the stands and less violence on the ice.
To me, it's, to me the thing that has, I think the thing that has made the games less intense and less exciting to watch in person is the fact that the arenas are so much.
much bigger and everyone is spread out and you're so much farther from the action. I think what has
made the, what has taken out the violence from the stands, it's sort of a feedback loop of the violence
from the ice and the violence from the stands and the sort of the inherent danger of going to the game
is the price of the tickets and who buys them. I think those are kind of, those are somewhat related,
but like I will say, like speaking now as a father, like I would be much more likely to, like,
I'm not going to take my daughter to a hockey game
if I'm guaranteed that there's going to be three fights breaking out
how am I going to explain that to my daughter?
She's like, what the hell's going on?
Put your left up, honey.
This is life.
You know, and like, to be honest,
I would take my daughter, my daughter's six.
I haven't bought her a game yet,
but when I do, it's going to be a matinee
and we're going to sit down low.
Right.
It can't be like a ranger flyer.
It can't be like, my buddy took his daughter
to a Giants, like preseasoned, like Ravens game
because he just wanted to take it.
Yeah.
He's not bringing her to a cowlice game.
It's going to be like devils like.
like,
like, devil's,
well,
devil's,
like devil's wild?
Right.
Or Devils Canucks,
which you think would be
the most tame game ever.
Meanwhile,
like two guys got like carted off.
Yeah.
It all takes of one flashpoint moment.
But yeah,
I mean,
I've long thought that like when I take her,
I'm not going to take her to the cheap seats,
you know,
and now that Devil's games,
you know.
So maybe the thing that imprinted
so powerfully on you as a kid,
Greg,
was not exactly the thing that you thought it was.
Because you don't want to share,
that you don't want to share some part
of your child's at hockey experience
with your daughter
you want her to have a different experience
in some ways.
Yeah.
The doctor makes a good point.
He's really got your mind picked.
No, but I mean, no, he's right.
But I mean, but in the sense
that I want to show my daughter
that I'm more successful than my father was
and don't have to pay $10 to sit
in the last row of the Meadowlands
and walk up literally 50,000 steps
to get there.
But I bet, you know, the last row
of the old Meadowlands Arena,
the last row of the old Meadowlands Arena was probably the equivalent of the first row of the upper deck in the Prudential Center.
It could be. I don't know, man. That metal lands, you walk up the upper deck of the Meadowlands,
and you are expecting to see the gates to heaven by the time you get up to your last seat.
It was a hell of a climb.
That's how a giant stadium feels to me more than the old Brendan Byrne.
But yeah, yeah, you were, you had to really have good vision to appreciate the level's group.
Or healthy fucking lungs.
Which my dad sort of had.
You're going to make it up here before the start of the first period there, Dad?
Just, we're E and F, row 25.
Dan, in the remaining time that we have here with you,
and you've been very gracious with your time.
I understand on a recent episode of the Sporkful,
you covered the hot-button issue of Taylor Ham and Pork Roll.
This is a huge issue for New Jersey folks, as you guys know.
Yeah, we did.
We did a whole big, deep dive on this food.
It was an episode we put us on.
much time and effort into this show. And I do think it's a really good episode, even if you
don't give a shit about New Jersey. But it's basically about this food called Taylor. It's called
Taylorham in some parts of the state and pork roll in other parts of the state.
The incorrect parts of the state. But it's the same food. It just goes about different names.
And it's basically a processed meat. You slice it up and a slice is like a flat circle, like a
slice of bologna. And usually fried up in a griddle in the classic way in New Jersey to have it as an
egg and cheese sandwich.
And so we did a show about, first of all, like looking into why does it have two different
names and different parts of the state?
Turns out the history of the feud goes back like, excuse me, like 150 years.
And then sort of asked the question, like, why?
What's a stupid statement you learned.
No, it's not stupid because what we learned in the episode was that it's like we were saying
earlier about the devils.
This is a food that was invented in New Jersey.
in Trenton that still to this day is made in Trenton.
People may not know.
You don't think of New Jersey as like part of the Rust Belt, but Trenton is part of the Rust Belt, really.
And Trenton is like other parts of the Rust Belt has been, has basically been hollowed out in the last few decades.
And Pork Roll is one of the last few things that is still made in the city of Trenton.
You call it pork roll.
I did. Sorry.
It's a generic term.
Although I grew up in Taylor Ham Country.
Okay, cool.
But, you know, so it's like the, so.
why do people in New Jersey care so much about this food and why can't they stop fighting about it?
And sort of get, it gets very much to the core of New Jersey as being this place that's sort of simultaneously, very prideful and protective of its identity and also sort of very constantly combative and at each other's throats.
Two reactions. First of all, I agree with Lozo. You know, the great state of Massachusetts has something like the Boston Tea Party and our legacy is an argument over meat.
And also, I definitely am going to look forward to at some point in the next four years,
our Supreme Leader Trump telling us all that he managed to keep the Taylor Ham factory in Trenton
and all those jobs from going to Mexico.
The best ham.
A lot of people are telling me it's the best pork roll.
They would be making chorizo right now if it wasn't for what I did.
Oh, chorizo.
Oh, wait, wait.
So can you reveal the yard?
Do you want to keep it as like a teaser for a potential episode watch?
Well, I hope people will check out the episode anyway.
Like, it's got an interview with comedian named Chris Getherd, who is a real famous podcasting guy.
So you're right.
So he's in the show, and he tells some great stories about Taylor Ham and all that.
So you should listen to it anyway.
But basically, the history of the feud is that there are two companies.
So the food was invented by a guy named John Taylor, 150 years ago, and he called it Taylor Ham.
Then a little 10 years later or so, a guy named George Washington Case came along.
That's amazing because he could have called it John Ham, and that would have really altered the course of his time.
I know, right.
And there actually are a lot of people who argue about this that are mad men.
Yo!
Thank you for listening, everybody.
So John Taylor created Taylorham.
Right.
Then George Washington case created case brand pork roll, which was very similar, but just slightly different.
And then the U.S. government passed.
Getting massive amounts of sot-eye from George Washington Carver.
Then the government passed.
The federal government had a law that said, it was sort of like the.
truth in advertising when you name your food law or something.
And they said, Taylor, Ham, you can't call it ham anymore because it doesn't fit our definition
of ham.
You've got to change the name.
So Taylor Ham, Taylor sued case and said, we invented this food.
You, so we should be able to call ours pork roll, but even though you came up with the term
pork roll, you shouldn't be able to call it that anymore.
I went to court.
So even the initial fight 150 years ago was over the name, Taylor ham versus pork roll.
But Taylor lost that because it was found that pork roll is a generic term.
Everyone can use it.
So now there's Taylor, Porkroll, and Kay's Porkroll.
And those two companies are still both based in Trenton.
They're still owned by the same families after 150 years.
They still have a very intense rivalry and sort of like are very secretive about their processes.
Taylor would not talk to us at all for the episode.
They wouldn't even return our phone calls.
I did get on the phone with like the sixth generation descendant from George Washington case.
and talk to him on the phone, but they wouldn't let, you can't get into their factory.
They won't show you anything about how they do it.
So it's like this very intense rivalry.
This has got some sort of Willy Wonka connotations.
Yes, yes, it's like Willy Wonka, but lots of meat.
No, it feels like left twicks and right twicks where you're making the same shit, you assholes.
Why are you fighting with each other?
Just combined forces.
I actually did a taste test.
They're not exactly the same.
What?
Taylor is saltier.
Case is.
is a little bit less salty, less salty, and a little fattier.
Like us.
It's all I know is like if you're someone who actually is willing to apply the term pork
roll to anything you're eating, you deserve what you get.
He sold me, I think, on the pork roll.
I think I want to start calling a pork roll based on his story.
John Ham Taylor was turning in his grave.
Chris Gether's argument was, yes, pork roll is the generic.
term, but like, you know, you can call a Kleenex a Kleenex. You can call a Xerox a Xerox.
Taylor is the preeminent company. They invented the food. So that was his argument, you know, but I'm, I'll plead journalism on this one.
Also, whenever I hear the word pork roll, I just think of like a Kaiser-old made of pork, like a piece of pork that you slice in half.
And it almost becomes like that donut burger. Still sounds good, though. I'm hungry.
All right. Dan Pashman, where can people find your stuff?
Well, you can check out the Sporkful podcast wherever you're listening to this podcast, and you're eating it wrong is at cooking channel TV.com slash wrong.
And he has an eggnog show. He has his pin tweet that I want to listen to.
Oh, yeah. It's about a Puerto Rican type variation on eggnog called Kokito. It's really amazingly delicious.
I want it. I want to try it. Thank you, Dan.
Thanks, guys.
Thanks to Dan Pashman for coming on the podcast and teaching Dave and I about many things.
It's Taylor Hamstil, though, I think I've decided.
Are you now going to maybe open your heart and mind to the different ways to eat pizza?
Because you were, that was like when we had Dan on and I showed you that video, I thought you were just going to burn the witch.
I mean, to be fair, he's got a family.
Otherwise, otherwise, I would probably have done something.
Like, seriously, like I really did feel like John Lithgowan footloose, like watching his beautiful children pizza be forced to do unholy things together.
When there's one way that God wants you to eat pizza, he wants you to hold it, fold it, and put it.
in your mouth. Simple. I believe that was actually in the Bible.
Thoth. Thou shalt hold it and fold it. Thou shall holdeth. Holdeth, foldeth. It's like an old school
input in thy mouth. Like a biblical rapper. Hold it. Doth fold it. Doth fold it. Doth scold it. If you
emboldened it. Thank you. Wow. What up. Have you ever thought about renting yourself out to
to Christian revival camps and youth camps maybe as a cool Christian rapper?
I once spent a post game in New Jersey after the devil's game writing up in the press box
and there was a religious, it was like David Puddy's radio stations on Seinfeld.
It was all Jesus Rock for 35 minutes after the game.
I could write the lyrics to Jesus Rock.
It's like Cartman on South Park when he became Faith Plus One.
It seems really easy to do.
My worst feeling is when it comes to Christian Rock is like when you're in a,
As I was in Hawaii, when you're in a strange place and you're actually listening to the radio because you don't have satellite,
and you come across the station and you hear like a killer riff like, whittan-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-h.
Like, oh, shit, this is going to rock.
And this is that you hear, in Christ, we, I'm just like, fuck.
Come on, man, that's sounded like.
That's whenever you drive through Pennsylvania and whenever we would drive to Penn State in college to go visit our buddy, like you would, there was like, there were six stations.
Five of them played Jesus Rock and one played Bruce Springsteen.
That's all there was once you got a certain distance out there.
You're like, I thought that was ugly kid Joe.
It was Jesus Marion Joe.
And I love everything about G's.
G's.
Everything about G.
See, that's great because then you could sell that to craft.
Seriously.
And just change it to cheese.
I just wrote a top 10 Christian rock kit in four seconds.
That's the easiest gig in the world.
Like a weird out parody Jesus guy.
That's what I'll be.
Pick a song.
Name one.
Faith the Moore's epic.
You wanted God, but you got Jesus.
What is God?
It's God.
What is God?
Third-eye blinds jumper.
I wish you would step back from that ledge, Moses, and hold up the command.
That's just so easy.
Blind Melon.
all I can say
Noah it's going to rain
better get the animals
off the plane
this is just so easy
off the plane
the music video just has animals in it
I just want someone to say to me
Noah
make the animals two by two
There's a Dave Matthews band song, Save Me, which could just be Save Me.
Sometimes you don't got to overthink them.
Like Pearl Jam's alive.
You just tweak it a little bit for the resurrection.
Oh, you got one.
I don't have one.
I think you're trying to get one out and you couldn't do it.
I don't.
Because I thought there was, I was going to do something on blood in the water, but then it just went in a bad place.
All right.
Listen, Alan Thick died.
The segue that is.
Are you kidding me?
I just did six Jesus parody song.
So Alan Thick died.
Alan Thick died and, you know, there was a time in my life before I really understood the ins and outs of hockey, like, stories that I thought Alan Thick, I thought it was utterly hilarious at the level of celebrity that followed the national hockey.
and attended the awards was Alan Thick.
But I got to admit that in looking back at his life and then also learning a bit more about
him, you know, and getting into hockey media, it's pretty fucking cool.
Alan Thick was that much into hockey.
In the sense that, like, as we all now know, Robin Thick was being babysat by Wayne Gratzky
when Gratzky got called to say he was being traded.
And that, like, Alan Thick, like, no joke legitimately laid the foundation.
for the fucking Gretzky trade by like introducing him to Bruce Mcnaul and like being like, hey, I'm coming to L.A.
You're going to do pretty good here.
And like, and like it's crazy to think that, you know, the dad from growing pains is a pivotal person in the history of hockey.
Right.
But he kind of is.
Can you imagine if like one of the nerds from Big Bank theory got Crosby traded to Nashville or something?
Like that's what would be like?
I think, I think Cindy Crosby should cut.
Really?
I think you're on the spectrum.
So, I
was kind of bummed.
I mean, obviously the biggest bummers that he's like playing hockey with this kid when he goes.
But like, it was really interesting to look back at like Alan Thick's life in hockey.
Like he did a fucking music video with the, with the Rangers.
And he was like, there was all those all-star photos of him from like, I think it was like the 88
All-Star game maybe where he was out there with like Gordy.
And he performed at the 88 Hall-Star game.
He was a guy.
who did all the celebrity stuff.
So I want to say that I take it back
that when I used to make fun of Alan Thick
for being, like, famous for hockey,
like, he's the opposite of the kind of celebrity
that shows up at the initial awards now
where they just sort of, like, dip their,
like, David Boreannis.
Like, congratulations to your fucking Flyers fan.
But, like, come on.
Like, Alan Thick was a guy
whose life was, in some ways,
defined by his hockey fandom,
and I really appreciate that.
I didn't know he was Canadian until last.
night. You feel kind of bad about that?
I couldn't figure out why everyone was like, oh,
and then I saw all the photos, and I was just like, holy
crazy, this guy got to, like, he wasn't
like on the ice for like a Tim Robbins, Susan
Sarandon celebrity game at the garden
nobody watched with Dennis fucking Leary.
Like, he was out there with like the fucking all-stars
for like my childhood. Yeah. I had no
idea. I also love, the other thing about
Ellen Thick that I loved was the fact
that, like, on top of being like
a TV dad and being like a TV
personality, it was on like match game
and, you know. He was on a match game? Yeah, but yeah.
back in the 70s.
I never saw a
Mexican episode
with Alan Thick.
And then he
Blank a doodle do.
And then he...
Sorry, I just had to do that.
I said Bippy.
But he
wrote the theme
he wrote the theme songs
to growing pains,
different strokes,
which I think is
one of the best
theme songs of all time.
Everybody's got
a special
kind of story.
Everybody
finds
a way to shine
It don't matter what you got
Not a lot
So what?
Exactly
Oh man
Yeah, it's kind of sad
But he also wrote
Facts of Life
Oh, he did the Faus was gonna say
Yeah
If he did the different strokes
He must have done Facts of Lague
Pretty much every theme song
That sounded like
The different strokes
Pretty much every theme song
To every TV show
I watched that syndication
When I was 10
When I got home from school
I'm like Fox
But it's like you find out
That this guy
That you had one impression
Of all of a sudden
It's like
Responsible for like
Like you said, like 30% of your childhood
Like, you literally should have been the commissioner
of the NHL instead of Gary Batman.
He did more for hockey than Gary Betman did in like a week
than Gary Batman's done in like 20 years.
It's like finding like that, you know, like,
oh, Dr. Dre produced that song too?
Like I found out.
No, it's more than that.
Like Dr. Dre produced like the Mary Jay Blige song
that let's get it.
Let's keep it percolate in song.
I'm just like, wait a second.
He'd, really?
Wait, like who's like a TV dad now?
I don't even know.
I feel like no shows.
Well, sitcoms have changed.
It would be like...
Anthony Anderson's a TV dad now.
I'm blackish.
Oh, yeah.
You know?
So it would be like if the dude from modern family...
It's like if the dude from Malcolm in the middle ended up like making a seminal
dramatic show in which he played like a meth dealer.
No, no, no.
If we're going to parallel it to Alan Thick, it's got to be a TV dad who, like if the dad for
modern family arranged the Phil Kessel trade to Pittsburgh.
I see you're saying.
Right. And then like, and then like he, he also like wrote the lyrics to like, um,
come, come, come my lady, come my lady, you know my butterfly.
I thought that's what it has to be.
He organized the Phil Kessel trade to Pittsburgh and he wrote Butterfly.
Yeah. Yeah. Wow.
Like, because like Alan Thick was a songwriter and a singer and he arranged hockey trades and he was
a hockey fan. But like, like, I don't know if there's like a, oh, no, what's his name from
that show as a hockey dude?
Eric Stone Street's a hockey guy
So maybe he can be our new TV guy
Eric Stone Streets are the new Alan Thick
Yeah like if he's
I don't think he's playing hockey
But I mean maybe he goes to King's
Fun if he did
Yeah
Just saying
Not saying just saying
It's just saying
I'm just spitball on here
It's time for
Our favorite segment on the show
The one near the end
Where we eat pizza quietly
And don't talk into the microphone
It's when we open up
The big mail bag
What did you see in there?
I was sifting through.
Michael Bowman was funny.
He made fun of the lyrics to our theme song,
because my buddy makes fun of my buddy's song.
He says, like, I can never understand the lyrics.
And so to see that question.
What's the second line of the song?
I don't remember.
It's um...
Goals and saves and slap shots and bones.
We've got...
Spoiler commentary.
We've got sport.
Oh, Sportly commentary.
It's not spoiler commentary?
No.
I don't even know the lyrics for a fucking theme song.
Jeff, fucking record a new version of this time already.
People are asking questions.
Nova Hope wants to know.
Now that Westworld is finished,
it would be interested to see what Dave thinks of it.
Maybe he's continued to watch it to the bitter end.
You and I really disagree on Westworld a lot,
because you see it as a bad show that people, like, tolerated.
Yeah, that's what it is.
It's just a show you watch until the game of it.
Thrones comes back on HBO.
It's not...
A placeholder, if you will.
It's just...
Like, I get the hook.
There's fucking naked Fandy Newton for six minutes every episode, and there's robots
fucking people, and there's British people saying seemingly profound things that aren't
profound, but, like, the last episode where...
Was awesome.
No, what was it?
It was fucking stupid.
When they're going through the labs and murdering people...
But that's like any action movie can have fucking people murdering...
Oh, man.
...neless dudes with guns.
So good. It was the thing that they were building to the whole time, which is the robots rising up and killing their tormentors.
There's no way a TV show could have such a poorly masked reveal between Ed Harris and McPoyle.
And have you still...
No, that's not...
What?
You're going to give me the Mr. Robot defense that you were supposed to know the whole time?
Yeah, I'm going to give you the Mr. Robot defense that you're supposed to know the whole time.
And that, you know, the...
And I think this is the problem with what happened with M. Knight-Shamaun.
Like, everybody's like, oh, we totally knew in the village that they were in my...
modern times. I'm like, well, maybe you were supposed to know how ridiculous this all was.
That's not how anybody writes a big reveal thing. They don't, they don't want you to know.
You're supposed to leave a couple of like breadcrumbs, but not the whole fucking loaf.
I also, I also think it's unfair that like, you know, like when they're doing West, when,
let's say that they didn't intend it to be a reveal that, that the man of black was also
Jimmy.
Was it Jimmy?
Mick Poil.
McPoyle.
Right.
Like, whatever his name is.
Like, it's, it's, to me, it's always been unfurial.
fair that like they're in a room right in the show and you're like oh this is airtight man no one's
gonna know this shit until the end of the of the of the of the run they don't know at that point
that the show's gonna be a hit and that like reddit is going to be like you didn't need
taking taking scene by scene to figure out what's going on in the show I do hate that aspect of
tv now is like everyone's trying to guess stuff like like when I watch game of thrones I don't
watch like next week on game of Thrones I turn it off like I don't want to know I just want to put
it on and have a fresh you know on
altered start but like like Lambert like text me right away he's like he's like he's like
they lingered on the hat for too long and I was like oh fuck he's right like that's all took
he figured it out in six guys and and and Bernard being a robot again I figured that out in
four godd well that was pretty easy I mean once once you didn't actually see what
Arnold look like you knew that it was going to be no the second he had that conversation with
his wife on the on the video thing I was like this is just a setup to make me think he has a
family when he really does it it was just I don't know I just but the thing but the thing
about the last episode it's two
2016 and there's the scene where the dude is gonna fuck the the the the guy
robot the technician is gonna is gonna rape a robot right the guy from love actually
which I didn't figure out until after episode 10 I didn't realize that was the same guy that
Laura Linney wants to bang in in love actually that was the same guy that's I know he's
the guy with the amazing body he's beardy and like older now but like it's the same guy yeah he's
holding up pretty good super hot and love actually but he's like but he's like all right I'm
gonna go make love to this robot that's unconscious or whatever I don't even know how that
technically would be a crime or if it wasn't, but like he's like, he's one of the big questions that the show presents.
He's like, he's like, gonna start doing stuff to the robot.
Better put my headphones in so I can't hear anything happening behind me with the snake lady and the other technician.
And like, that's a fucking 1987 thing you do in his script where a guy puts on his walkman and you can't hear the crime going on behind him while he's doing his own thing.
And he turns around all surprised and goes, what?
Like that's fucking terrible.
That's terrible.
It is a callback to silence of the lambs where Jane Gumb puts on that.
Goodbye Horse's song while he tucks his
his weenie in between his legs
and he can't hear all the commotion happening at the
well with precious and the woman that's inside of it.
That's from 1992
that movie. Like that can't be
it wasn't maybe that long ago?
Like it's like that's it's you can't do that anymore
on a good show. You can't do that.
The thing that bothered me about the finale
and the reaction to it was that everybody was so
hung up on I oh we knew it was the man of black
the entire time that they didn't
no one gave credit to the fact that there was a giant surprise at the end of the show
with Anthony Hopkins getting off and him raising a robot army to murder the board.
Like, that's the biggest effing reveal and it all led to that,
but everybody's so hung up on,
I figured it out in episode one that no one gave the show credit for actually pulling the rug out from Andeya.
But I thought you knew, you just said you knew that was coming the whole time, the robot uprising.
Not that to that level.
he's going to like take everybody out a deep deep freeze you know by the way not for nothing
while we're talking about all the robots they pulled out of deep freeze don't the robots have
weird penises i admit i haven't seen a whole bunch in my time but like i feel like when the
whenever they cut to that room and they're all just standing there and they're like they're not
turned on i'm always like so is is mine weird or all the other ones weird like i need i need like
some sort of like outside like judgment on but here's the thing and this is why westworld's amazing
It's amazing.
It's not that the robots have weird penises.
It's that the artists that created the penises.
But are they, though?
Maybe they're normal, regular...
Maybe they're people that don't...
I've never seen another man naked,
and they're just trying to sculpt what they think a penis looks like.
Because I feel like all the naked lady robots.
I'm like, that's a naked lady.
Look, if I never saw a penis before, I would, like, put flames on the side of it.
Like, Optimus Prime.
Why is this robot?
Why does this cowboy's penis have wings?
Is that, can he move around with the penis?
Oh, what is that?
Oh, sorry, the sculptor put a bottle opener on the side of my penis.
Thought it would look be really practical.
Yeah, there's a steering wheel on the tip?
What does that do?
It keeps me balanced.
I don't understand.
Why does a white guy have an orange penis?
What does that sound?
Oh, every time I get an erection, it plays black hole sun.
My artist thought it was a really cool idea to do that to a penis.
Yeah, just playing songs on the fucking penis.
I know every episode.
Also, like, when Anthony Hopkins, like, the whole time I was watching the show, I was like,
Anthony Hopkins is really old.
Like, how are they going to keep them around for like five seasons?
And then at the end, I was like, yeah, that kind of adds up.
Yeah, it also adds up, his salary adds up too.
But like, the thing, too, is like with this show, it's like they can just bring him back as a
robot next season.
Like Anthony Hopkins made a secret Anthony Hopkins robot with an eye patch on his penis or something.
I was thinking about the same thing.
I thought he would come back as a robot.
I love this show.
and I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy it as much as I did.
The problem, too, is it's not the newsroom where I can hate watch it.
It's like in that worst, it's in that horrible level where I can't enjoy it and I can't hate watch it.
I'll probably watch season two, though.
I'm just talking a big game.
I'm trying to think we're that at it.
Gotham was like that for me.
I never could ever watch it.
I tried it and I hated it and I hated it and I hated it so much that I can't hate watch it because I just don't, I don't care enough to hate watch it.
You overhate it.
Yeah, I've overhated it.
I've never overshot something that I hate right.
Like, whoa, missed it.
You can't get down there.
I hate you so much.
Dave Vasheleck wants to know what the Chicago need to do in order to win the Stanley Cup.
So we both saw the Blackhawks this week against the Rangers.
They, well, listen, I'm not a big Trevor Van Rhemesdyke fan,
but I think that their top four defense as of right now is okay.
Maybe add another person of the blue line?
I think the big question for the Hawks is
where the young replacement player is going to be good enough
to not necessitate Stan Bowman making a bunch of deadline moves.
But they're going to not good.
They're probably going to have to add a forward and a defenseman,
but Hartman's been all right.
Schmaltz got sent down.
Yeah.
One goal in like 20 games or whatever.
I mean, bottom line is that, you know,
the Westside.
Hosa's gotten some sort of a stem cell injection,
and now he's great again.
and Nissimov and Panarin and Kane are great
Taves has been weird but he's been injured
I mean but beyond that
What do they have? They got Cory Crawford
Legitimately you can look at Corey Crawford and say right now
That he's one of the best goalies in the league
And he's one of the goalies that could be the difference in a series
Like he's that good this is right now
You can say that I'm not gonna say it
I'll say it
Let's Scott Darling is gonna bailing out again like he did against the Predators
The state of goaltending in the National Hockey League right now
is if you can't lose a series for your team,
then you are one of the best goals in hockey.
Like, that's where the bar is right now.
But he literally was going to lose the Predators series
when they won the Cup last.
And Scott Darling...
Everybody...
But, okay.
All right, fine.
If you want to go there, that's fine.
The totality of the Black Hawk's goal attending
is good enough to win a series.
Right.
Darling's good.
Scott Darling's got a better career say percentage
than Corey Crawford's.
Crawford's good.
Smaller sample size, but still,
I just...
I refuse to
He had a super-duper hot start this season
when the fucking Blackhawks couldn't kill a penalty
and he was awesome otherwise, but...
I mean, what you're trying to say is he was there when they needed him.
Cory Crawford, or Cam Ward's got a 9-15.
I don't really know.
Numbers. I'm not a big numbers guy, Greg.
I'm an eyeball gutman with my sports.
Tina Poole wants to know, will he Dejardin be fired?
How is he not after the Carolina game?
I was checking my phone and, like, Twitter all night
while I was writing in the press room to wait for like that up,
Like, Willie Desjardand's press conference is now done, and now we will bring out, and then he's fired.
Yeah.
Yeah.
He's gone.
Yeah.
No, it's...
Go get a cab somewhere.
I mean, unless they see no point in firing him because they just are going to, you know, the sinking ship is what they need.
Like, I don't, I don't know why he's not fired.
Oh, like, keep him on to, like, keep, like, he's like, like, he's like the drunken exon valise captain steering the ship into, like, icebergs.
Yeah, he's Joseph Hazelwood.
Wow.
Wow.
You remember the name.
I do remember the name.
Wow.
Yes.
He's Joseph Hazelwood and the sedans are oil-covered penguins.
Exactly right, Dave.
Except instead of washing him off, they're just holding their heads under the oil more.
Drown!
I remember Joseph Paisalwood.
You know why?
In Waterworld, which is not a part of Westworld, but Kevin Costner movie.
It could be at some point.
Who knows?
Samurai World.
One of the great touches in that movie was that the bad guys, the smokers, the Dennis Hopper guys, were, their home base was the Exxon Valdez, I think.
Was it the Exxon Beldez, I think?
a big tanker. I don't think it was the actual. It was the Exxon Valdez. Wow. Yeah. I got to go back and
I got to go back and study that film a little bit. Boyd, please do. I mean,
that's a very little essay on. Andrew wants to know, what do you make of Denver media calling
for the breakup of the Avs core? Dator wants Duchenne for Hamannick. Well, if you want Duchenne for
Hamannick, the Islanders would gladly give you Hamannick for Ducane, I believe. The Islanders are like,
remember how you wanted to be traded last year, Travis? Yes. But I also told you that I didn't
Well, we're going to go with the original request
and we're going to trade you for Matthew Schum.
I think the calls
to break up the abs core are because
they see the situation now with Bedner
as the coach and this team being
so spectacularly bad.
And they're like, well, if they weren't good
for Wa and they weren't good for this guy,
well, then it's obviously a problem
with the core. But he got there so late.
That's my problem with it. Like, I don't think
that, I think this season is a total mulligan.
Right. They didn't get a chance
to hire a coach from the
actual pool of coaches.
They had to hire, like, you know, the guy who was available because Waa left him high and dry.
And so I don't even know if, like, I, okay, I don't know what they should do.
Because to me, if you're saying the core is fucked up, then Joe Sackick's not the guy to fix it.
Because Joe Sackick's been at the helm for long enough where the blood's on his hands for what
this team looks like, in my opinion.
I mean, I get the argument for it, but when Eric Johnson's your best defenseman, like,
Travis Hamanick showing up isn't going to make a difference.
You know what I mean?
Even say Tyson Barry is their best defensemen.
They have nothing beyond behind that.
So what do you do?
Like you need a real legitimate puck-moving offensive top-four guy.
And Travis Hammondick, while his contract is super awesome and he's a very good player, that's not going to be the guy.
You don't do, like, again, Taylor Hall for Adam Larson isn't a good idea.
Like, you shouldn't do your own version of that trade.
But then again, like, I don't know.
Maybe the core is so fucked up at this point that maybe they have to break it up just because of
just to do it
And finally
Robert Walker wants to know
What do you think about video replay
For offside calls on a goal?
Love it
That's my invention
I invented that
I really did
True story
Did I tell you that story?
I've told you that story
Did you?
My buddy used to work in hockey ops
And I would text them all the time
And they'd be like
Why don't you guys review for off sides
Because but this was like
You know, Claude Drew's four feet offside
Or then the Dushane
Dushin against the predators or whatever
And he's just like
Well you know
If we review it
How do we do it for?
And I was like,
Puck goes in the zone illegally.
It doesn't matter if it takes 10 seconds
or it takes a minute and a half.
And like, I'm texting it.
And he's like reading it off to Mike Murphy
who's in the room.
And I'm like, well, what's Murph say?
And he's just like,
he thinks it's fucking stupid.
And of course,
what happens a year and a half later?
Yeah.
We're fucking reviewing for offside.
I hate it.
We actually are on different sides of here.
I was somebody who was in favor of it at first
because of how egregiously terrible
the Duchain play was.
I was like embarrassingly bad.
But you have to have it there for those occasions.
I get that like the Marihosa overturned sucks.
That's the problem with it is that it's the tickey,
human error.
He's offside.
I know that.
If a foul ball lands six inches foul and they call it fair,
you don't want that reviewed to have that overturned?
No, oh, I hate instant replay in baseball.
That's the one sport that needs it more than any because it's such a gigantic field.
You can't catch everything.
But it's also one of those situations where, you know,
I know it's kind of a straw man.
argument, but I'll make it anyway, which is like, in sports, where do you draw the line?
And in baseball, like, okay, so we're reviewing home runs and outs and plays of the plate
and fair or foul, why not strike three on a three-two pitch when the bases are loaded?
They should.
God, that's terrible, though.
Robot umpire.
You see the Eric Burns real sports thing?
Yeah, the robot umpires.
Like, that's fucking great.
Like, I don't know why they don't have that.
Yeah, just replace all the umphs with that dumb net that I had as a kid that's got a big
red square on it.
What was that?
The ball returned.
You ever have the ball return pitching net where you throw the, you throw like a wiffle ball at it and hits the net and bounces back out?
I wasn't a rich kid, Greg.
Sorry.
I'd take slap shots with a hockey ball off my friend's garage.
Jeeves, can you catch my fastball for a while?
Sir, I'm attending to the garden.
Well, priorities, Jeeves.
But like, offside has existed forever.
Stay on side.
Your goal will count every time.
That's all you're going to do.
Stay on side.
I'm just saying that I agree with the idea that in a sport that is offensively challenged,
for last night when every game had
a five goals swing in the third
period. So for our stupid game. Yeah, our stupid game with two to one between
two guys should be backup goals.
The
like, like, I just feel like
if we're, if,
it's like this. If we're looking at this sport
and we're like, oh, damn,
you know, make the nets bigger because we don't have
four goals a game. Like, how about we just like
count the goals that might be offside
instead instead of making draconian
changes of the game. We just go back to
guys fucking up as
linesmen. You
sound so, you're desperate, you sound
that you want goals so bad that you'd rather
have illegal goals than goals
scored on a bigger net? But how
many illegal goals do we have all the time
on plays where there's holding, on plays
where there's picks? Oh, well that's different.
That's a judgment call. A blue
line determines whether or not you're
offside. Hinky shit happens all the time.
Hinky. Yeah, hinky shit happens all the time.
What are you? The fucking guy from the fugitive now? You're starting
to drop hinky into the conversation?
It's hinky, boss.
Which guy in the...
The guy with the mustache who played Jay Leno
in the Letterman Leno movie.
Oh, Daniel Roebuck.
Is that what his name is?
That's his name.
It's hanky.
Well, what's hanky?
Wow, good pull.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
I associate that word with that and CIS, but I don't like to talk about that.
I want to get rid of every offside, downside, upside, upside, left side, right side,
until we award a goal to Dr.
Richard Campbell.
You're like 10 years away from being like, I don't care if you pick the puck up and
throw it in.
It should count.
I don't actually.
How about this?
I'm a proponent of kicked in goals.
Why don't we get rid of offside?
Why don't we just fucking like guys.
That's a conversation for another time because Dimitri Philotov from
Dimitri Philotov.
Nikita Filotov.
Nikita Filipovic from the PEO podcast.
I was on with him once and he made me a believer.
Much like Dan Pashman made you a believer about pork roll.
He made me think about it.
Yeah, Dmitri made me a believer in maybe offside getting.
rid of offside isn't isn't the devil's tools and I don't need to be as worried as I am that it
becomes a game in which it's five on four at all times the one guy hanging down and try to cherry pick
passes. It doesn't even make sense as a as a forward to cherry pick that close to the net because
if you take the pass like like two feet inside the blue line and turn and go like it's still going to
be a really good scoring chance but it's not like a speedy breakaway from the red line like you're
not going to that won't be a thing. Like the lines the lines will still be there to do
what they do to keep guys where they're supposed to be, but you just can, you can be a foot offside
and still have a count. But as long as offside is a thing, like guys, there was a goal in a
playoff game last year where a dude definitely got an advantage by going in the zone a little bit
quicker. He got the puck. He got a little more space. You got the shot off. But like, the Hosa play,
like, Hosa was like, I'm tired of this new rule. I don't know why we had this new rule. Offside
is not a new rule, Marion. You can't be offside in 1994. You can't be offside in 2016.
only now we're just catching the people doing it.
Forever and ever, amen.
Finally, we should acknowledge that by the time you hear the next puck soup,
there's a very good chance that Yomir Yager will have caught Mark Messier
for second all time in scoring.
As we do this podcast, Messier 1887, Yager 1883.
Oh, he won't catch him by then.
But there's a possibility he might.
Want to make a bet?
Should we make a bet somehow?
Yeah, I will bet you.
How many games do they play between now and three?
I don't know.
three. Oh wait, that's right. They suck now because they got rid of their good coach.
Nah, I'm not taking this bet.
Fucking, like, one, six and one since they...
But, like, it's funny, like, why do we even...
Why do we even... Like, we all know Yager is a superior player. We all know Yager would
have smoked him by 200 points by now if we're not for lockouts and him going to the
KHL. Like, why are you being entertaining this as being a milestone?
Well, I'm just going to spot him the points.
You're just going to give it to him. If Yager could... If Yager, like, it blew out of
a knee and never could play again, like, today, like, I'm just going to give him second
overall of all time anyway.
But in Jersey, last year he was in Jersey when he was, he would like literally tie like
Shanahan one day, Eisenman the next.
It was weird, but like he would always get asked the question.
You ever wonder what would happen if you didn't go to Russia?
And he's like, well, what if I'd stayed here and blew out my knee that season and never
played again?
Like in Russia, I'm assuming there's not a lot of hitting over there and he can just kind
do what he wants.
So he stayed healthy.
He, you know, he came over.
Like, I get what you're saying, like the lockouts and all that stuff.
But like you probably missed what, 300 NHL games?
I respect Yager because he's always been really.
honest, which I mean, in that case, I wish he would have been honest if it's been like, well, I would
have been dead anyway because I owed $10 million of these bookies. And I went to the KHL and make that
money and pay him off. They knew where I lived over here, so I had to go find a new residence
as well. Also, all the stem cells that I ate from those young Russian models while I was
in the KHL allowed me to. Oh, you were, we didn't talk about this. We can't do the whole show on
this, but like, you were gone when Solani Donald Trump happened. And he's the one guy. I
feel like would be more devastating.
Timu, for those who don't know, held up a sign.
Was it a sign on a finished paper saying?
No, no, no.
He was on the cover of, like, a finished version of, like, Harper's Bazaar or something
or good housekeeping.
And, like, it was a quote on the front of it.
And then someone translated it and it was just said, I'm happy Trump is the president.
And it was just like, like, the internet for, like, eight hours.
Like, you know how, like, for eight hours, like, four times a year, like, hockey stats
guys fight like Mark Specter?
Yeah.
Only this was, like, eight hours of, like, unified, like, sadness and anger.
at themselves in Salani.
It was so incredibly hilarious.
Well, I mean, his first goal celebration was
dedicated to the NRA,
so I imagine he probably does have a conservative streak in him.
He's like, I'm going to start shooting down pucks.
And the laws of the land of America.
I'm Tammu Salani.
ESPN.
Oh, I know.
But like Yager, I feel like would be just as...
And I feel like any rich, you know,
white dude has a pretty decent chance.
chance of being pro-Trump.
You've always been conservative fiscally and moderate socially.
Seriously, that's what it's always been.
But I just, I don't want to know.
Like part of me wants to see.
That's why your biggest lib was Andrew Ferrence.
Because he didn't make any money.
Is he the biggest one probably?
There has to be somebody bigger.
Sean Avery before he went.
Well, Hendrik Lundquist was totally for, you can play until he went over to Russia.
I was like, I don't know.
A lot of people say things they don't really mean
And then he came back over here
He was like, no, I totally mean it
Except when things are going tough
I'm dying and I'm dying to know how the Ovechkin
Trump dynamic works by the way
With Ovechkin being a giant Putin supporter
Oh Trump's gonna go to like 30 caps games a year now
Cheer him on sit in the box with Putin
cheering on Ovechkin
He's going to sit in a box with Putin watching Ovechkin
It's going to be like it's going to be like the
It's going to be like Rocky when he goes to Russia
and it's like the Bridget Nielsen sitting there with the whoever the fucking main soldier guy was watching the fight.
It's only going to be Putin and it's going to be Trump sitting by side by side and like Trump's going to be the Bridgetne Nielsen version.
Just like looking down and watching Ovechkin.
Ovechkin's going to wear a make America Great Again hat and it's going to be like Salani times a billion for all of us.
I'm going to see like a fucking photo of like Salani, Yager, Brady and Trump at some fucking like S.I event and I'm going to fucking kill myself.
I'm just going to just fucking just.
Just right then and there.
Actually, by the time we do our next show, the electoral college might not do their thing.
Oh, you just stop it.
All right.
Today's the 14th.
Listen, thanks to Dan Pashman.
Everybody check out this workful.
He's a great dude, and we had a really enlightening conversation.
And, uh...
I texted my friend Jeff, who does our theme song.
Oh, yeah.
What did he say?
He wrote back, fuck you and fuck that guy.
Oh.
you go mystery solve that is actually the second line of theme song six and blots and
slap shots and true fuck you and fuck that guy and fuck you too all right everybody uh great to be back
to doing the show sorry that I had to leave for a week to celebrate my my holy matrimony to
my wife in Hawaii and why and uh there you go check out the puck daddy blog on yahoo sports we've got a
really awesome fan poll that we did with a polling company that's coming up with a lot of interesting shit about how we watch the game and our opinions of the NHL as U.S. fans.
So check that out.
And also, our year interview has started.
Player of the year, Dave Lozo.
It's got to be like the calendar year, like from January.
Yeah, 2016, yeah.
That's Sid.
Sydney F. Crosby, followed by Patrick Cain, followed by.
Connor McDavid
Followed by Brent Burns
Followed by Phil Kessel
Wow Phil Kessel 5
Yeah
Patrick Liney I think was like six or seven
We take into account all the international stuff too
We got really fun categories coming up
Like fight of the year
And that's like a list of like three
Because I've been like three fights this year
But also at Wischinski
Oh and listen real quick
If you are someone who's not purchased my book
take your eye off the puck.
Here's the deal.
Order it or buy it
in the bookstore or from Amazon.
And if you are one of the first
200 people to send me
a photograph
or a copy of your receipt
to wish
W-Y-S-H hockeybook
at yahoo.com
Okay, send me a picture of your receipt
to wish hockey book at yahoo.
You get...
Are you trying to get people's credit card?
information?
No.
It's a good thing about
this pyramid scheme.
It's a good scam.
You get an audio chapter
of the book that I'm going to do
for you.
Chapter 14 in the future.
It's all about the future of hockey.
And a never-released episode
of my other podcast,
Merrick v. Wichinsky,
taped live in Toronto at Puck Talks
at the World Cup in September.
It's a really, really funny episode.
It's super vulgar and includes
more readings of the Phil Esposito book.
That's what I'm going to say.
Are you going to read that chapter
in the Espozito?
voice? No, I can't do the full chapter
in the escrow. But you get that
audio chapter of my book and
MVSW you've never heard before.
Wish Hockey Book at Yahoo.com.
Buy, take your eye off the puck. Send it there.
And you'll get
all this free nonsense.
And here is Dave Lozo.
Oh, we're done.
I kind of want to talk about
Rogue One, but I kind of want to get out of here.
We'll talk about Rogue One.
Yeah. It's on Rogue One. It's the reviews
that I had problems with, that
thought were weird. But, um, no, uh, have a good day, I guess. See ya.
Loyal and whatever.
Yeah, loyal and lit, whatever.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
