Puck Soup - Dimitri Filipovic
Episode Date: March 23, 2017Greg and Dave welcome Sportsnet hockey analytics smartypants Dimitri Filipovic for a chat about the warring factions of stat nerds, his work with an NHL team, what numbers we should trust, the media's... ignorance and whether you can sell hockey with math. Plus,the boys debate the Olympics and the NHL; look at the Vezina Trophy field, and ponder the merits of Corey Crawford as a franchise goalie; give a March Mute-This tournament update; play a round of 'London Tube Stop, U.K. Crime Series or Sexual Slang'; and answer your listener mail about 'Lethal Weapon' vs. the 'Ocean's' movies, Subway sandwiches, peanut butter on hamburgers, how we shower and the merits of jellybeans. Sponsored by Seat Geek and Blue Apron!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seekek, the smartest way to find hockey tickets this season or postseason.
There is nothing like being behind the glass of the biggest matchups of the year.
And with Seekek, it's never been easier to get the guaranteed seats you want for a great value.
If your team is out of the playoff picture, you're going to want to find the best deals on remaining tickets for home games.
If your team is blessed with being a playoff team, you're going to want to find tickets because they're going to be hard to find for the playoffs.
This is why I have the Ckeek.
app on my phone. It's by far the easiest way I've found to buy hockey tickets. I could be
anywhere. It was just a few taps. I can instantly find seats for this weekend or any game
this season. The thing I love about Seekek is you always get the best deal in every ticket
because they price compare for you by searching multiple tickets sites. Prices can vary depending
on where you shop, but Seekek will always find you the lowest available price. They get you
more bang for your buck. Plus, every ticket you buy on Seekek is back by their 100% guarantee
so you can shop for tickets on Seek Yeek with confidence.
Best of all for you guys is that Puck Soup listeners get a $20 rebate off their first Seekykeek purchase.
Here's what you do.
Download the Seekek app.
Go to the Settings tab.
Click add a promo code.
Enter the promo code S-O-U-P.
That spells soup.
And Seek will send you $20 after you've made your first ticket purchase.
Again, download the app, settings tab.
Click add a promo code.
Enter the promo code, soup, as in Puck Soup.
and Seek will send you $20 after you've made your first ticket purchase.
You're going to need this for the playoffs, people, to find the best ticket prices and the best ticket deals and also tickets.
Download the Seekieck app today.
Enter the promo code soup and get $20 back.
And now enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly cards.
commentary to whatever you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet.
I'm Greg Wushinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Blog.
And I'm Dave, and I don't know.
I'm going to Vegas this weekend.
I like that.
High energy reaction, folks.
You're in Puck Soup.
You may be in a fire alarm in a few moments.
according to the announcement.
Which is part of our new segment,
Fire Takes.
Brought to you by the New York Fire Department.
It's part of our new segment
called Fleeing a Burning Building.
Today's fire take,
Cam Talbot deserves the Vezina.
Whoa!
Waka, waka, whoa!
I have a hot take.
LeBron isn't a boring leader,
but Tim Tebow is a boring leader.
Josee Bautista is not the kind of guy
I want on my team.
I want to Mark Trumbo.
My favorite thing about Skip Bayless these days
is the Richard Deich thing
where he's tweeting out the ratings for other shows
in relation to the Fox Sports One show.
I disagree.
It's the worst bit going.
It's a horrible bit because it lacks context
and it's completely trolling.
But what he puts like,
like today's was Fox Sports
like the Skip Baylor's show had like
59,000 viewers and fucking like
gun smoke had like 250,000.
Like we know why.
It's because old retired fucks in Oklahoma
are watching gun smoke.
But still, it's funny though.
It's funny.
It was part of the first time.
In a plus minus kind of
If you did that every day after a guy signed a four-year $27 million contract to point out how somebody has more goals or assist or points or touchdowns, I would fucking kill you by day four.
It's enough.
We get it.
No one's about what, but he's got a contract.
Skip Bayliss does not give a fuck that gun smoke or fucking.
SpongeBob.
That's the other one he uses a lot.
SpongeBob.
Like, Skip Malas could give three wet farts into the wind about those ratings.
He's getting paid either way.
And like, I just, uh, it's just so.
I see it retweeted once a week
and I just I get it. No one's
watching Skip Bayliss. It's great. It's great
that no one's watching him. It's like Donald Trump
jokes. Like, I hate Donald Trump, but at the same
time, I don't care how often Donald Trump
made fun of Obama golfing. I don't care.
I get it. I understand the hypocrisy.
Don't need to see it every day.
So hockey, Greg.
Patrick the Starfish is a born leader, but
LeBron isn't a born leader.
Stephen A. Smith's a ratings leader.
Skip Bayliss is
I'll say one thing about Trump
Okay
I don't like the man at all
As you know
I think everybody in this podcast
Knows for me and Dave Stan on the president
But I will say this
Right on his dick
From a pure
Stop
From the ask
The only reason I could see somebody voting for him
Is sort of a wish fulfillment thing
Like I wish that
That I could be this guy
Who can get away with everything in life
And grab him by the you know what
And do everything and be rich
And not actually be rich
But pretend you're rich
by putting gold lame on everything.
Like, I could see a wish fulfillment reason why you'd want to be in this guy's camp.
I also see a reason why you would be in an actual camp if you're not the right color or gay.
But that's a few years down the line.
That's actually like two weeks away.
I will say this.
The Washington Capitals held Russian Heritage Night this week.
If Donald Trump, after eight years of Barack Obama not attending an NHL game,
if Donald Trump attended an NHL game in his first two months,
months in office and it was Russian Heritage Night at the Washington Capitals, given the current
context, there would be a 0.000000,000, 17 more zeros times three more zeros, one increase in respect
for the man for his ability to troll if he had done that.
So is he trolling Obama?
Is he trolling America?
He's trolling America and his enemies.
by at the height of the Russian investigation, being the president who showed up at a hockey game, Washington on Russian Heritage Night, despite being the guy who was elected because of the Russians.
Yeah, I would enjoy that. I would hope that T.J. O'Shee would strangle him to death with an American flag while Alex Ovechkin sang the Russian National Anthem over it.
17,000 zeros and then a one if after the game he posed with Ovechkin while Ovechkin wore a MAGA hat.
I would just throw Twitter away at that point.
How do you think he feels about Trump?
Because he's such a Putin guy.
Like Putin, you know, Trump's Putin's guy.
Ovechkans are a rich white dude who plays it.
He's a from Russia.
He likes Trump.
There's no way he doesn't like it.
You're probably right.
Yeah.
There's no if Sanjew.
That's why you never want to peel back the layers of the onion and find out how these guys really feel about.
politics because you'd be so upset. Like every time somebody gets so upset when somebody makes
like an off-color joke on Twitter, times that by a billion when you actually realize what these
people think about. Like, oh my God, it would just be, it would just be endless. Because like,
you would get it from like your political follows, you would get it from your sports follows,
and it would just never, ever. And like, any time Ovechkin did something, it would just be like,
oh, God. It's fine. It's okay. I'm sorry about Trump. I could see your despondent now.
No, I'm just thinking about how the season's not over there. Talk about.
politics.
It's the longest season.
It's just so long.
Well, the World Cup of hockey
probably made it seem even longer.
There's still two weeks to go in this season.
The thing about the length of the season, obviously,
is that you always have to be concerned about, you know,
the players getting enough rest and stuff.
And that's why, you know,
the quality of competition in the NHL is completely disrupted in a negative way
when there's an Olympic break, according to Gary Bettman this week.
Right.
Of all the things,
Another thing, too, I don't get this as well before we do the Olympics.
In baseball, they do the World Baseball Classic every year.
Why don't we do the World Cup every year?
Why is that not a...
Why is it not on the table?
Why is that not a thing?
It took the World Baseball Classic like eight, nine years to get to the point now
where people actually care about it.
If you do the World Cup every four years, or even every two years,
like, no one's ever going to give a shit about it, ever.
People are going to forget about it for a year or three.
Why not just do it every year?
Well, I think they want to make it like an actual...
It's not.
It's not the Olympics, Gary.
They're trying to make it an actual...
World Cup type thing.
Who cares?
What would mean a World Cup type?
Play it every year.
What baseball?
World Baseball classic.
It's got a W and a C in there.
It's basically a World Cup, only it's a classic cup.
And they do it every year and like it's just,
and you get more people into it if you do it yearly.
You do, if you make it this fucking every four years thing and don't let them go play in the Olympics,
like no one's going to give a shit about it.
No one's ever going to care.
I just don't get how hockey does stuff, man.
It's just so perplexing to me.
I know.
Listen, the latest.
Olympic stuff this week is pretty amazing.
You have Renee Fasal saying that if the NHL doesn't come to Korea, they can't just go to China,
negotiations will be much different.
To which I say that unless the IOC decides to blow up its Olympic tournament and tries
something completely different, you're basically going to have the best hockey league in the world with a 18-month
spread of time
to shit all over the Olympics
and call it an inferior tournament.
This is why you need an HL players.
This is what happens
if you don't meet our demands.
If you don't change the tournament
to like four on four or something,
like it's totally gonna bomb.
It's gonna bomb.
No one's gonna give a shit.
Yeah.
You're right?
So this idea that they can dig their heels in
and be like,
and then the other part of it too,
that's hilarious is that like they're basically saying
well, you know,
if you don't go to South Korea,
because you don't want to do this anymore,
then you won't be able to go to China
despite, you know, not wanting to do this anymore.
Right, like if you don't eat your meat.
You can't have your pudding.
Can't have your pudding if you don't eat your meat.
Yeah, they're going to go.
This is the same thing.
I think they're going to go to it.
It's a negotiation play.
That's the thing, too, is like, I'm just so exhausted by this every day.
Like yesterday or two days ago, somebody was like, breaking.
Gary Betman says low level of interest in sending players.
Yeah, breaking.
That wasn't the news before that.
Wow.
Thanks for the breaking news that you got a quote from when Gary Betman was in your town and you put it on Twitter and said breaking.
It's the same thing you did.
It's the same thing they do for every negotiation where they want to dick the players over.
Yeah.
And this is just a different version of that.
But that said, like, and I think you and I disagree on this.
Like, I completely see their side.
Like, the NHL is completely in the right on a lot of this stuff because they don't get any benefit from it.
They send their assets to the Olympics.
What does the NBA guys?
and then all their guys.
Well, first of all, it's in the summer.
So it's the offseason.
Well, then for injury purposes, I guess I understand it.
Yeah.
You have an injury risk.
But besides that, what else?
Well, I think that they, I think the NBA and the NHL should both get benefit for having
their players there.
I think in both cases, it increases the level of visibility for the Olympics in the winter,
even more so than the summer because the summer, I mean, basketball in the summer
Olympics, you can say is more like a naval gazing, stargazing kind of thing, right?
Like, there's enough in the summer Olympics that make you really want to watch it.
But in the winter, hockey's one of the top three sports.
Like, hockey is a reason you tune in to watch it, right, along with figure skating and maybe, like, skiing if people fall.
There's probably more watchable winter events, more popular events in winter.
If it's an argument about winter versus summer Olympics is a no-brainer.
I mean, winter Olympics are better.
Yeah, but in summer, though, what else was there besides basketball?
Track and field.
Who won gold?
Name a gold medal winner in two events from the track and field that just happened.
You same boat.
and Mo Farrow or whatever that guy's name
but track and field swimming
gymnastics like basketball you can argue
is going to be like your number three
your number four sport at the most
right so in the winter it's you can argue
it's figure skating in hockey and everything else
so I get their argument but again
like I'm on the NHL side
in the sense that like they should
be able to profit from
the Olympics they should be able to sell
Olympic themed shit in the NHL store
but like what's different between now and four years ago
like are they asking for more is the Iowa
giving them less?
They asked for more than there was a leadership change in the IOC,
and then they got a lot less, like nothing.
And now they're just trying to build up to the previous levels.
So I get what they're saying, but I also agree with you that I think it's a negotiating employee.
And ultimately, I agree with the players, which is that it's important to go for the growth of the sport
and because it's the best hockey you could watch for that period of time,
I mean, completely selfishly.
I just don't get why we don't hear about this with the NBA before every summer Olympics.
There's ever like a negotiation where like Michael Silver or David Stern is like, not Michael, is that Michael Silver?
Michael Silver? Michael Silver is 9002-0.
Adam Silver.
Yeah.
Who's Michael Silver.
Michael Silver is 902-O-O-N-O-W.
Wait, that was David Silver.
Who is Michael Silver?
Michael Silver. That's not Ron Silver from the great movie, The Arrival.
Oh, and also Ron Silver from the great movie Time Cop, in which he meets himself and then touches himself and then they become a giant blob.
Right.
He's the bad dude.
Michael Silver is, of course, an American sports writer and television channels who worked at Yahoo and Sports Illustrated.
He wrote the book.
He wrote the book about the...
The thing with the guys?
The thing with the guys.
Didn't he read a book?
Yeah, he wrote...
Oh, no, I'm thinking of something else.
But he's a sports writer.
That's what you're thinking of.
The point is, I don't hear those guys in the media for months before the Summer Olympics bitching about how they're not getting enough.
They just go.
They just know it's good and they just go and it's not a problem ever.
And again, I understand the whole in-season, not in-season thing, but overall, like, there's never ever any resistance from the NBA about going.
I think my problem with the Olympic debate is that it is a very nuanced argument.
It's a really interesting debate.
There's valor on both sides of the debate as far as who's in the right and who's in the wrong.
But it boils down in so many people's minds to just more F-U, Betman, you effing suck, you ruin our effing sport.
He's earned that.
He's earned, he's earned, the fans have earned the right to wonder if he's ever telling the truth and to automatically think he's doing something stupid and fucking things up.
So I'm totally fine with that.
From our standpoint, there may not be any next steps.
Remember, this is February.
There's no baseball.
There's no football.
It's just us in basketball and we just disappear.
We don't get content from the NHL for the, we don't get content for the NHL network.
Oh, whoa.
are the NHL network ratings
and that's two and a half week
period of time that they don't get
content for the NHL network. We'll have to throw
on a few more top 10
shows and such.
There has never been
a person who sees the big picture less than
Gary Betten. We don't get any content for our
social media platforms in NHL.com.
Why did we do it five times?
So he's negotiating for gifts.
We don't get any gifts on the NHL Twitter.
Why did we do it five times?
Probably because we took
a special pill. Well, it seemed like a good idea at the time, but we've been unable to quantify
any benefit from it. So again, like that last line, we haven't been able to quantify any benefit
from it. I agree with that, but then also feel like it's horseshit. I agree that there is no
actual palpable benefit you could point at and say the NHL is better for having gone to the
Olympics. And yet at the same time, I feel like he's not saying this if the Olympics are in Vancouver.
because he didn't say this in the Olympics for in Vancouver.
Yeah, he's full of shit.
Again, I'm fine with people hearing that and just saying he's full of shit and not wanting to have a nuanced argument
because all this is negotiating in the media and negotiating in the public and that's all it is.
And eventually they'll just go.
Well, listen.
I still say they're going to go.
I don't know.
I don't know what is.
And it taints.
It ruins it too because.
It ruins what?
Him bishing for six months and then giving in and saying, all right, fine, they can go.
like you think about that as the Olympics
you're just like I don't want to think about Gary Bettman during the Olympics
I want to just watch the Olympics like when I go to Vegas I'm deleting Twitter for my
phone doing slack from my phone I'm not going to think about the outside world forever
the Olympics are like that for the NHL because again as our guest Dimitri will
tell you hockey's great the NHL blows the Olympics are just hockey and so you can
forget about that but no you got to have Gary Bettman just be like well we need to get
content for the social media like shut the fuck up
just let him go
these fucking owners too
fucking Melnick
oh yeah
Eugene Melnick
Eugene Melnick saying
that he would let Eric Carlson
go to the Olympics
if he was a Canadian
which by the way
I kind of love that
I kind of love the idea
that that is
you're so Canadian
that you wouldn't
that's that you're so honest
about being that Canadian
like could you imagine
if like the situation
was like he was like
Kyle Turris
you can go play in the Olympics
sorry Eric
you can't go
yeah because you'd
hurt our chances
that would have
good
I love that
Oh my God, that'd be so great.
I love the people that run this league.
Ted Leones is being like, Alex, I really respect everything that you do for us.
But TJ's going to go, but you can't go.
I'm sorry.
And like the NHL sets it up, but they only send like their worst goalies.
Sorry, Auntie Niemie and Cari Lattin are the only two goalies for Finland.
Jim, I was like, go ahead, go.
Yeah, but Brofsky, we decided there's a rule that doesn't allow players that played for,
the flyers and the blue jackets to go.
And also, I guess this means that Russia's goalie is Sergey piece of shit off.
So, uh, sorry.
Sorry.
Sorry.
So, Semyon, you're going to represent Russia.
I just had surgery.
I don't care.
Get out there, get out there and pop your stitches, buddy.
God, that'd be beautiful.
This is the league.
This is the league that we watch and talk about and write about.
This is the league that we watch and talk about the guardians of hockey.
The league of Shad does.
Lead of Shat Doze.
I was born in the Shat Doze.
You were really adopted it.
I was born going the World Championships.
Not during the Olympics.
I didn't see any benefit for me to do that.
What lovely, lovely ice.
Speaking of lovely ice, in the dry ice in which this product comes in,
Blue Apron!
Here's the deal with...
So, Christi...
This is you with blue apron, ladies and gentlemen.
It is a product that I hardly endorse
because the thing I don't like doing
is going to the grocery store
and overspending on high-end items
to make gourmet meals
because, quite frankly,
I always sometimes not end up using them.
Plus, like, you buy other shit
you don't need...
You buy, like, two Entemence cakes
because they look good.
Right.
A crumb cake.
And then what would be the other one?
Because obviously one's a crumb cake.
Oh, an angel's food.
Okay.
Here's the thing with Blue Apron that I love is that you pick the meals you want,
and for less than $10 a meal, Blue Apron delivers easy-to-follow seasonal recipes,
along with pre-portioned ingredients right to your door.
Literally gives you exactly the amount of paprika you'd need,
so as you don't have to read a recipe and be like, oh, my God, where's my paprika?
You'll have it in front of you.
No more overspending at restaurants or high-grosser stores with Blue Apron.
You can prepare delicious memorable meals yourself in under 40.
minutes. Not to mention Blue Apron has partnered with over 150 local farms, fisheries, and ranchers
across the U.S. to ensure that all their ingredients are of the highest quality. And because Blue Apron ships the exact amount of ingredients required, they're reducing food waste. Hey, that's good. You can feel good about that, too. You always love when I tell you about the big meals available from Blue Apron. What do we got? We got salmon paccata with Orzo and broccoli.
Oh, I love salmon. I'm a big salmon guy. I was a bear in my past life. True story.
I'm very afraid of you right now.
I'm like, my past life looks at you and runs as far as I can, maybe get inside spaceship, leave Earth to make sure I don't get chased by former lozo bear.
Pork chops and miso butter with bok choy and marinated apple.
That to me sounds like the meeting of East Meese West a little bit, a little pork chop and apple and miso butter and bok choy.
You know?
We can change.
We can come together.
I don't know why I did that because that's a Russian versus an American movie.
If I can cook, you can cook.
Vegetable chili and baked sweet potatoes with crispy tortilla strips
and spicy shrimp, coconut curry with cabbage and rice.
Here's what you need to do.
Check out this week's menu and get your first three meals free with free shipping
by going to blue apron.com slash puck soup.
You will love how good it feels tastes to create incredible home-cooked meals with Blue Apron.
I love it too.
It's blue apron.com slash puck soup.
three meals free with free shipping
but going to blue apron.com slash puck soup.
Blue Apron, a better way to cook.
Let's cook up something on the Vesina Trope we thing real quick
before we get to our guest.
You and I had a really serious debate before this show.
We almost came to blows over the idea
that Cam Talbot might be fourth right now in the Vesina race.
You always do this.
You always debate one thing off the mic and then you come out.
Okay, I'll just say it.
I think he could be top three, but I don't know who he kicks out.
Yeah, like it's Bobrovsky.
It's Dubnick.
Now, do you think Bobrovsky's moved ahead of Dubbik?
Pryce as well?
Based on how the wild have struggled.
Do you think he's moved ahead of him?
Remember, it's the GMs that vote for this.
Not the brightest bulbs in the world.
Sergey Bobrovsky's Russian.
Devin Dubnik is...
Is not.
Neither is Braden Holby or Carrie Price.
That would be the most amazing GM thing of all time
that just leave Sergey Robowski off completely.
Right.
It's just not his time yet.
Yeah, Captain Talbot's not a Vezono finalist.
He's got a very good season.
He's just not...
No, he's had an exceptional season.
There...
No one has faced more high danger shot attempts than Camtel, but he has made a porous...
High danger would be a really good James Franco, Seth Rogen movie.
Where they're weeds...
They sell weed by skydiving into countries.
And that's how they avoid the border.
Pull your suit, man!
What the fuck?
Drop that fucking bong!
shoot man all right is that James Franco or Seth Rogen because I don't know much fun to do
you would have to do a James Franco but how do you do a James Franco he's like a chameleon he's like a
you just do spring breakers I feel like you just talk like did you just do the the pineapple express
voice are we best I can't I can't and I can't do spring breakers that's basically
McConaughey I've never seen spring break all right all right all right what's a plot of that like
the teen it's hot hot teen yeah you would love it it's hot teen girls that uh Rob Banks and
or like rip off people are just
do robberies or shit.
And he's like their
pimp overlord type guy.
They were like hot milk.
Ask all your teens about it.
They'll tell you how good it is.
I don't know, man.
Going back to that the teen chat,
anything I thought teens were into,
like Demi Lovato.
They were like,
fuck Demi Lovato.
Dude, no one knows what teens like.
They don't,
you just don't.
I know what teens like.
We put Camtelbeth forth,
but I agree with you.
I don't know if you can...
The two clear finalists are Dubnick
based on the entire body of work,
although he stumbled late,
and Bobrovsky,
who's been amazingly all the way through,
and really is, you know,
top three goalies in the league maybe,
based on the last few years,
if he's healthy.
But then I think Holphee's going to be
sort of your carryover,
defending champ legacy pick.
And it's going to...
The problem with any NHL award
is that you've got to make,
the harder the case is to make,
the less likely that player
is going to win the award or be a finalist.
And in Cam Talbot's case,
you have the work rate in the number of games, obviously,
but you have to do some heavy lifting to kind of show, you know,
a 922 save percentage of 232.
It's really good, but maybe not as good as the other finalists,
and you've got to do a little bit more heavy lifting
to show how good he is.
Yeah, I mean...
Who wins it in your eyes?
I think Dubnick still wins it?
Like, I do think the whole Russian-Canadian thing
is going to be a thing, but six shutouts,
Doobnik only has five.
Oh, I know.
You were really taxing.
It's a good thing you're not a general manager
or else you'd have a real conundrum on your hands.
Oh, if I was a general manager,
I just would have voted for the Canadian guy 20 minutes ago
and just went out on my day.
The other thing that's interesting about it
is the geographic thing, right?
Because you have two Eastern Conference guys
that are potential finalists,
and then you have one in the West and Dubnick,
and how is the West going to break?
Well, I mean, I wonder how many of those guys
remember Bob being in the West
and being like, yeah, he is good.
Scott Darling is going to win it.
Now, let's talk about Scott Darling.
Let's talk about my boy, Scott Darling.
Yeah, let's talk about future Vegas Golden Knight starting goaltender, Scott Darling.
It's going to be.
Sure.
By the way, guys with better state percentages than Corey Crawford this year are Scott Darling and Auntie.
Corey Crawford, one of the best co-lies in the world, quote-unquote.
Do you think Cory Crawford's counterfeit?
Because I used to think that a little bit, but I don't think so anymore.
He's John Quick.
He's another version of John Quick.
But John Quick's not counterfeit.
wait, what does counterfeit mean?
I thought counterfeit mean like...
Like fake?
Yeah, like he's not as good as everybody thinks he says.
Yeah, but John Quick's not as good as everybody thinks he is because he got overpaid
and because he had the nerve to be really good in the playoffs.
He was never, no, there's nothing to do with the contract.
You think he's just a product of that system?
Yes.
You don't think he actually won a cup by being that good.
Well, for two months he was good in the playoffs for sure.
So how is Jonathan Quick any different than Tim Thomas?
Explain that to me.
Because Tim Thomas won two?
Okay, okay, great, but
But to me, like, Tim Thomas
played him back, Tim Thomas played him back
of two parts of the Trinity.
He played him back of Bergeron and Zadano Chara
and he played in Julian's system.
So how come he is seen, why,
because he does more flipping and flopping?
Because his numbers were so much better
than Jonathan Quicks.
So you think Cory Crawford is Jonathan Quicks?
Yes, he's very much like Jonathan Quick.
I think I'd rather have Corey Crawford than Jonathan Quig,
but Corey Crawford is very much
I mean, you want to compare Scott Darling's numbers in Chicago next to Corey Crawford's
and tell me Scott Darling wouldn't have won cups if he was the number one?
To dollars to donuts.
Donuts being Scott Darling, dollars being Cory Crawford.
Oh, my two favorite things, fried dough and money.
You expose Cory Crawford if you could?
I don't think you can, by the, I'm probably sure he's got a no move, but would you expose
Cory Crawford?
Yeah, for sure.
Oh, without even thinking about it, I would.
Wow, and keep Scott Darling.
And keep Scott Darling.
Keep the plug-in journeyman.
In 15 years, when people talk about Corey Crawford's two cups,
no one's going to remember that Scott Darling won the first round for them
when Corey Crawford was puking on himself against the predators.
And then Corey Crawford came in.
It was fine the last three rounds.
But elite goaltenders don't need their backup to come in and win a series for them
because they can't make a save against Mike Fisher.
It just doesn't happen.
He's also 32.
I didn't realize Cory Crawford was that old.
It took a while for him to get the job.
Yeah, yeah.
He waited in the wings forever.
I guess the
Tim Thomas argument
might be
the Scott Darling argument
though
like Darling
I think is a
is a product of his
background in some ways
people see him a certain way
because of the way he came up
he wasn't like
preordained elite goalie kind of guy
but that neither was Thomas
you're talking yourself into it now
I like it
I like Darling a lot
I think he's going to be a great
when the Golden Knights
meet the Blackhawks in the playoffs
next year it's going to be really
fascinating to see Darling versus Crawford
in the first round
I honestly
if there's one thing I can't wait for
that this time next year is going to be the Las Vegas Golden.
What are they again?
Yeah, Las Vegas Golden Knights.
Just the Vegas Golden Knights.
When they're mathematically eliminated with a month to go.
When you're out in Vegas, are you going to do some intel on what they're thinking about hockey?
Well, I'm staying at George McPhee's house.
So I'm assuming he probably locks down his computers.
So I'm going to try and hack in and just see what the draft strategy is.
Dave.
Darren, Darren, Elm or Thomas Vanek, which one?
Oh, my God.
I cannot wait.
I cannot wait to see the results of that expansion draft.
That team is going to be so fucking hard.
That's going to be great.
It's going to be so fucking bad.
I promise to get a whoever they take first.
If there's a way to say who they took first, I'll get that jersey.
That's my vow on the show.
Yeah, that's another part of it, too.
They're not going to have like a first pick if they do it in secret and it's just the one team.
With the first pick, boo!
I know, I love you too.
You're going to want to hear this.
With him?
Valteri Philpola.
No, you can't have to protect him, actually, I think.
That's not a good one.
Trevor Van Reimsdyke, Chicago Blackhawks.
Actually, I think Darling's contract expires, so he's not even going to be a guy.
Yeah, he's just going to be UFA.
They're just to sign him straight away.
Four years, 32 million.
Next can't tell.
By the way, my answer is Sergey Barowski, because he's going to have the most wins.
And that's always what the Vesina and voters look at first, because they're stupid.
Before we get to a...
our guest, Demetri Filipovich, of the PDO cast and Sportsnet, a real smart dude who has some
smart things to say about analytics and stuff. You're going to enjoy it. Good hair. We have to do,
oh, God, impeccable hair. It's funny. He didn't know, he didn't know what George Lucas looked like in
the 1970s. Because you'll hear this story in the interview, he throws in the, he throws in a little
nugget that he got into analytics during his second year at university, right? While the Canucks were
playing the Bruins for this. He's like, he's like seven years old. He's like a kid. He's like a
child. Like a prodigy, though. Yeah. I love the, I wish that. I wish that.
my theory about him was true that he got into analytics to try to, like, his life's mission was to try to
figure out how the fuck Boston beat Vancouver in that playoff series.
Right.
Like, I wish that was the thing.
Like, it just became his obsession in life.
Like, fucking Foxmolder trying to prove why UFOs exist because the sister got about to be.
Like, I wanted that to be the origin story.
Like Ryan Reynolds with the board.
Like, how did this, this rat who took human form who beat the shit into my swede and his team win the cup and we burned our city down?
now like five years later he's gonna be a heart finalist okay no it's all starting to click in
oh yeah yeah we don't know if we've done his show since the brad marshand uh heart thing happened but like
it it i guarantee you the way that hockey writers think is you you have to reach a certain standard in
life before you can win an award or be a finalist for the award and the brad marchand can play with
sidney crosby at the world cup was the thing he had to pass so he passed that test oh you think
oh you think he's gonna be in the top three i think burns is going to win the norris and then
And then Marchand's going to be the top three for the heart.
I really do.
But, like, I feel like that goes against hockey writer things where they'll just say Crosby carried him.
Like, Crosby's, he was a product of Crosby to Olympics.
No, but he could.
But hockey writers have seen, there are the, the highways around with broken players.
There's so many guys who tried to play with Cid and couldn't, that to see somebody who could play with Cid automatically elevates you.
For fuck's sake.
Again, they couldn't play with Cid.
Remember that?
Like, that was a big thing.
Yeah.
Yeah, there was a whole thing.
Castle couldn't play with him.
Like, it takes a certain special guy to play with him, and I think he'll get that love.
Real quick, tournament of hockey commentators, March, mute this.
Rolls on.
The second round is, I feel like the first round, we had more blowouts than I thought.
Yeah, we had some pretty big blowouts in the first round.
The voting was taking place in the Puck Soup podcast, Twitter.
It is all of the hockey commentators.
You wish you could mute, March, mute this.
Real quick, second round matchup.
Pierre McGuire versus Eddie O
an interesting matchup in the sense
that they hate each other.
Yeah.
This is like in the NCAA
tournament getting a second round matchup of like
Duke and Carolina.
Michigan State.
Just two fucking teams that hate each other.
Semifinal, Don Cherry
versus Barry Melrose.
Yeah, American Don Cherry versus Don Cherry.
Yeah, it's a good rivalry matchup.
A lot of good rivalries in the second round.
Over in the other side of the bracket,
Mike Milbury, who really thratched the old guy who fills in for Liam.
I got to say, I feel like the seating committee did a really good job
seeding these things.
Because people were like Stigerwald at 14.
Well, he didn't show up.
Milbury will face off against Jeff O'Neill, who beat Darren Drager in an upset, a 10-7 upset.
I'm surprised by that.
And then Jack Edwards against Jeremy Ronek, which might be the most compelling second-round
matchup, yeah.
That's the CBS primetime game.
Slipping out on Saturday. That's gonna be the good one. Who do you give odds on that one? I mean Edwards was a sixth seed, Ronek a three seed.
See, I underestimated the hate for Butchie, so I maybe I'm misreading it like I feel like Ronick should win that in a walk, but I don't know. I don't hate Jack Edwards as much as people. I don't either. I think it really depends on who catches wind of our of our bracket.
Like all of a sudden Montreal realizes we're doing this. I have a pretty good chance that Ronek makes that gets upset in that
That's like a round.
It seemed like Pittsburgh Twitter was all over and still Stygi.
Stygi just never, he was out of it.
It was like a game that started with like a 20-0 run and they just never caught up.
So will it be Pierre versus Milbury in the final?
Or will we have a momentous upset like Duke being beaten by whoever beat them?
South Carolina.
Broke your brackets, I bet.
Dude, I had the most amazing first two days of the tournament I've had in years.
And on Saturday, every game went against it.
Any upset I had didn't happen, and every upset I didn't have happened.
Notre Dame, Villanova, all these fucking teams.
I was in London this weekend because Ruby surprised me with a birthday trip.
And I could tell you as a point of fact, which I didn't realize, you know how sometimes you can travel the world and see American sporting events while you're traveling abroad?
Because I'll just be on television.
Oh, boy, they don't give a shit about NCAA basketball.
Oh, no.
No one does.
You couldn't find it.
The second Villanova lost, I was like, I don't really care about it.
When we come back, though, a special quiz I've created for Dave Lozo.
I know you love when I gave Lozo quizzes that may have something to do with Jolly Oat England and Lich to City.
Lichchester City, you bugger.
All right, here's Dimitri Filipovich.
Dmiti Filipovich is a writer and a podcaster for Sportsnet in Canada.
A consumer of tacos.
You may know him from such podcasts as the PDO cast in which I appeared this week.
And you may also know him as that really smart guy.
guy on Twitter that you read to find out why your opinions are incorrect.
Oh, Tyler Dello? He's Tyler Della?
I didn't say the guy on Twitter who tells you why your opinions are incorrect.
I said he's the guy that you read.
Is he the guy with the charts, with the circles and the stuff?
Different genres of intellectual hockey Twitter people that dabble in numbers.
There's the people that you read from afar as they spout off amazingly
smart things and you don't want to interact with them because you don't want to seem dumb.
And I think Dimitri fits into that square.
Wait, because he's afraid that he's dumb?
No, no, you don't interact with him because you're afraid that you're dumb.
You're not smart enough to talk to Dimitri.
I interact with Dimitri.
I'm not saying you.
I mean, the collective you as fans.
Oh, because they're so dumb.
You're saying fans are dumb?
Yes.
Jesus, Greg.
What an intro.
Then there are the analytics people like Delo who will tell you why you're dumb.
And I would put Ryan,
Park Daddy's own Ryan Lambert
on that too.
He will tell you why you're dumb.
Oh,
every day.
I get texts out of just randomly
during the course of my day.
That tells me why I'm stupid.
You taste the music stuck.
Music movies,
close.
You didn't get the new...
Why idiotocity is a documentary
more and more as we can be wasting
your time eating that hot dog
when you could be listening
to run the jewels.
So that's another one.
And then you have the people
who literally know
too much about hockey
so they need to pour,
their knowledge is pouring
out of their ears, like the poster
for the Terry Gillian movie Brazil
to the point where they have to make charts.
Oh, Cam Sharon. I love that guy.
They have to be... Works for the Leafs now, right? He doesn't exist
anymore. Oh, he doesn't? That's the fourth
kind of analytics person, which is the person
who used to exist. Should I be writing this down? The person
who used to exist, but they no longer exist
because they get hired by teams. Now they're ghosts.
They're literally like just ghosts.
They visit you at night. Oh, and like
they just spend all their time in this encased
thing. So they're basically just ghosts in a
shell. That's right. They're ghosts in a shell,
Right. And you're like, and they're like, oh, I'm the ghost of analytics past. You're like, Vic Ferrari, what are you doing in my bedroom?
Vic Ferrari. That was, that was the, that's, that was Jim Corssey's name when he went on car message boards, right?
That's how that works.
That's been 2.35 and we haven't actually had anything to say from Dimitri.
He actually left. He walked out at minute one.
I'm admiring this masterpiece. Am I allowed to speak? I didn't want to get.
Do you think everything we said is accurate?
I guess so. I'll take your word for it.
You stop listening at like the 42nd.
You are such a part of this community.
Tell us why.
Tell us if it's difficult to be surrounded by so many people that are constantly arguing.
It's so frustrating.
It's like counterproductive.
Like has anyone ever benefited from any of these crazy deranged arguments that happen online?
Like I don't.
I mean, I think that much like religious scholars, it's a quest for truth.
It's a quest for enlightenment and a quest for truth, but at the end of the day, everybody is so heels dug in in their own ideology that you can never find that enlightenment.
Enough about politics, though.
I'm thinking of a guy like Neil Greenberg, who's a writer for the Washington Post now, who I think is one of these guys that doesn't have a lot of fans in the analytics community because of the things that he believes in, but yet is also.
a guy who has gotten work, and there are people who read him and believe in his stuff.
And it's always fascinated me that it's not homogenous.
You know, there are certain aspects of analytics that people believe in, but at the end of the day, everybody believes that their path to enlightenment is the true one.
Have you ever been on the receding end of a Steve Birch?
Oh, yes.
Storm?
Yes.
Not a long time, but I have.
That's a great example.
That's a guy who really believes his voodoo is the deadliest.
and his kung fu is a deadliest as well.
And his voodoo kung fu is a deadliest.
I find his explanations to be head spinning.
I need dramamine when I get done reading some of his Twitter rings.
He has like a special thing that he made up, right?
The decourse.
The decoursecy, yes.
I mean, I'm not going to, you guys can make the jokes if you want.
I don't really understand.
I mean, the joke of the decorsi is that, you know, he had this entire thing
where he was trying to tell everyone how Jake Muzon is better at hockey than Drew Doughty
because he was better in this one metric he made up.
Hmm.
I believe that Jake Meuseon's probably better than Drew Doughty
because I just don't think Drew Doughty's that good.
Yeah, I know.
You're a bit of a Drew Doughty hater.
Fuck, Drew Doughty.
Yeah, I know.
Are we a lot to swear on this, right?
Oh, fucking A, right.
Fuck, yeah, man.
Well, actually, we had a request to my listener.
She's like, can you do a clean podcast this week?
So that went out the window.
That went out of a window a while ago.
Oh, it was this week, too?
She's been in there before.
Oh.
Remember that episode?
We did totally nude as a response to that to sort of like,
we didn't tell anybody,
but three episodes ago it was totally new.
That was the, who was our guest that week, three weeks ago?
So, Johnson McGinley?
He was new to.
Is there a certain pressure on people within the community to come up with their own gimmick and then name it?
Like, you know, obviously we all harken back to Korsi and Fenwick.
Is there a certain competition to come up with your own acronyms to feel important?
For sure.
And I think that there's people out there much smarter than myself, you know, the data program.
is data scientists that put all this stuff together and come up with all these formulas that
I personally can't do myself and I never pretend to. So I instead, I still think there's a
value in just interpreting the data that's out there and that other people present to you. And
I think that's what I try to do. Like I'm never going to come. You're never going to see the
Filipovic metric unless it's something stupid and made up. What could it stand for? The
Philpovich metric is first in line in person.
We gotta get a hockey term in there at some point.
Corsi.
There it is, and that tells you which team has the best.
The C stands for Corsi.
Predictive.
Philipovich, the C stands for Corsi.
There we go.
There it is.
I guess I lied.
We just made it up.
It's for filling up the net.
The Philip.
Right.
It's, oh, no.
Obviously, it's Philip Foresburg over.
Come on.
We're waiting.
Vanick.
In Corses.
which is probably not true.
I'm sure Vanek's probably good.
How do you deal with a guy like Vanek?
Look at that shift into it.
This is why you're a podcast.
Is like the streakiest guy.
Tell me.
You're a great statistician.
Thomas Vanek is a pretty streaky player.
How do you deal with a streaky player like Thomas Vanek?
Do you, do you, is he a guy that you trust or a guy that you don't trust as an analytics guy?
trust him to do what like
deliver a child
make a drop pass on a breakaway
yes
there's plenty of guys like that where
I think that there's a value for them on your team
they're probably not going to be the guy you're building your team around
and playing on the first line and featuring him
but I think if he's a complimentary player for you
playing on your third line and occasionally in the power play
like there's plenty of value in that so
one of the first times that I remember analytics
Stop. Why are you laughing?
I like when you go on a yarn.
You just spin a yarn about back in 1993,
when I was a devil's fan,
let me tell you about analytics back then.
There was a guy by the name of Neil Broughton
playing for the Minnesota,
and it's just, okay, let's see where this goes.
It's more of an Andy Rooney.
Do you ever notice?
He always gets stuck with a shopping cart
with the wiggly wheel.
No.
Is Steve Ott that wiggly wheel, Dimitri?
Yes.
One of the first times,
I remember analytics colliding with hockey analysis was a guy who I would consider in that streaky,
you forgive the sins overall class, which was Alex Semen,
where there would be times when Alex Semen would just fucking disappear from the face of the earth,
go back to his home planet.
But there would always be the argument that, no, no, no,
you have to understand what this guy does even when he's not producing.
And I always thought he was one of the first guys in the analytics era that people point to and say,
No, no, no, no, no. You're wrong about this guy.
Stop throwing around the word enigmatic, you assholes.
I think even more than what a guy like Semin was producing,
what he was contributing when he wasn't necessarily scoring goals
and setting up other goals is that we tend to get too focused on, like,
recency bias and focusing on what happened in the last game or in the last couple games,
and you kind of need to look at this stuff as a totality.
So I think that with Semin, it's like what he does overall is worth it,
regardless of whether he has a five-game stretch where he looks like he doesn't care and he isn't trying.
There's always like one or two guys for me that are always good analytics, bad to watch.
And like Keith Yandel was that guy for me.
Keith Yandel, watching him for a year and a half in New York was just an absolute neutral zone, defensive zone turnover machine.
And he could skate.
He always make up for his mistakes because he was a good skater.
And so you see Florida give him seven years.
And I just think to myself how his legs are going to go over the next seven years and how he's going to get exposed over that time.
Like, do you, do you, I know you guys hate the eye test.
Yeah.
But, no, I, I, I agree with you there.
And I think that also, you weren't wrong to critique that signing.
Like, I would be very reticent of giving anyone approaching 30, that kind of term.
Right, right, right.
That's, that's, I always get asked, I know we're going to talk about the Sloan conference and, and what happened there a few weeks ago.
Fucking spoilers, Demetri. Jesus.
But one of the big topics that always comes up with, when I do interviews like this is what's the next thing we can improve on in hockey and hockey and ice.
and what's the next wave?
And I think it's something that we've been working on for a while,
but GMs still struggle with it so badly, and it's aging curves.
Like, just understanding that a guy is probably going to peak
when he's, like, 24, 25 years old,
rather than 30, 32, and when we have thought years ago.
And it's like, we just do this stuff time and time again,
where you see this guy that signs in seven-year-a-deal
when he's 28 and two years in, he falls off completely,
and people are wondering, well, what happened?
What's wrong with Dustin Brown?
I don't know.
I don't get it.
It's weird, though, because I feel like a time.
they know it based on how they'll take like Nikita Kutra off they know like all right let's just
give him the smallest possible deal we know and then second that contract ends you think okay
now they can get him for less but then you're right then they got then you have like brent and burns
yeah i love brent burns i don't know if i love that contract no no that's going to be a tough one
right like but like i get it to you from the standpoint of you have to pay with the market
forces you to pay because if brem burns gets the up the market if you're the sharks and dug
Wilson, you can't let him walk out the door.
Yeah.
Well, and that's the thing.
I think the majority of these long-term contracts that we see are very much short-term
thinking.
You have to pay the freight for the extra four years, you know, on a deal, but you know that your
window to win is in three years, and that player is still going to be productive.
Except for Ryan Kessler.
I don't understand what that was happening there.
Like, that window wasn't open for more than 20 minutes.
You mean 2016-17 Selkie winner, Ryan Kessler?
Oh, my God.
The Kessler Renaissance that's happening?
sir. Yeah, he's fantastic.
Before we get you far down the road, how
the hell did you get into this?
How'd you get smart? Tell us how to be smart.
Tell us about your brain. When did I see the light?
Around like 2011, I was still,
I think I was like first or second year university
and I was living in Vancouver and the Canucks made their cup run
and everyone locally was very excited about the team.
So you're like, how did we lose to these piece of shit blockheads?
Yeah. I have to find out. I have to get into the
numbers and find out.
I was still kind of skeptical at a time, but I met and started hanging out with the guys
like Cam Chiron and Thomas Drans, who were doing kind of like the analytics OGs, really
trying to get this stuff out there.
And I was still kind of skeptical.
And then the Kings swept the Canucks in the first round the next year as an eighth seed.
And the only person that called it was Thomas Drans, who wrote this long preview before
the series, highlighting how the Kings were doing at 5-on-5 after they acquired Jeff Carter.
and they were just dominating the shot metrics
and I remember at the time
it seemed like a crazy thing and no one else was
buying it and then the Kings went on
to win the cup and
at that point I was like maybe there's some
logic to this stuff and then that's... So you see
Lozo. Drance is like Scorsese
he's the first guy that got a movie made
and then like Sharon's like
Spielberg right
Dimitri is George Lucas because he
looks like fucking George Lucas did in the
seven days
that's that's what George Lucas
used to look like in the 70s.
That's my...
That's beard and hair profile.
Yeah.
And so this is where they all...
This is the beginnings of the analytics movement.
And they were all in the West Coast.
This reminds me of a topic I always see on Twitter with analytics people.
It's show your work.
Yeah.
Is there...
Are there certain people in the analytics world now that you feel like maybe those snake oil people?
Are there people in the analytics community who jump to the back of the math book and then
copy the answers to every odd question?
And then just scribble a bunch of...
shit on top of them to make it look like they did work like maybe someone on this podcast
did to get through math in high school.
Are you guys familiar with the name Mike Kelly?
Yes.
The CSN stats guy?
Oh, the 106.7 guy.
So I've really toned down my internet arguments and getting too riled up with people's
comments regardless of how stupid they are.
What's that like?
Mike Kelly is one dude that I just, every time he says anything.
And you know what?
He's reached this elite stratosphere of analyst where
sometimes I'm unsure of my opinion, but then I look and just completely disagree with everything he said.
And I'm like, oh, maybe I was on the right track.
Like, maybe I'm Montas on the here because he's actually been completely wrong on every single thing he's ever said.
In terms of hockey, I don't know him personally.
I'm sure he's a nice guy.
No, but it's interesting because, I mean, the analytics movement has been framed as the fact check on journalists and especially calmness for a long time.
and as a guy who is a columnist,
I know that there are people
who are completely full of shit, Steve Simmons,
and then there are ones that aren't.
And it's interesting that you point out, Lozo,
that in the analyst community
that there are also people
who are selling a false bill of goods.
But is that just simply
not knowing how to read the numbers
or choosing to,
and I say this as an American,
believe their own set of facts?
I think sometimes it's tough,
like if you want to get a story out there
and you have a bunch of numbers.
Like sometimes you, it's very tempting
to just cherry pick numbers
that support what you want to say
even if that's not necessarily
the actually, factually, the correct thing to do.
And I think that's where people sometimes get into trouble.
What do you think of John Chaka?
Because I've heard some things
where people don't necessarily know
what his, I guess, again,
to show your work stuff.
GM of the Arizona Coyotes for the uninitiated.
Yes.
For those that don't follow.
For those who don't.
Not an HL teams.
For those in Quebec.
who simply know that team has fuck versus anything else.
Well, by all accounts, he's a super bright guy,
but, I mean, he is one of those guys where you can't really check any of the work
just because he comes from the Stathleads company
where they're like this proprietary data tracking company,
and no one has access to their information.
So it's like you can't tell whether all they're really selling a snake well
or whether there's anything to this.
But based on this season, you have to just pretty much decide
that this is going to total.
snake oil. Come on. Come on.
I've been told that the panthers struggles and the coyote struggles are direct results of
analytics being. I can't. The Panthers, I feel like it's less analytics. I think it's more
just, like you give a bunch of people a bunch of money after one good season. Yeah.
Like it's just human nature maybe to let down a little bit. And at the same time, the goaltending,
it's just, there's so many factors to it, but it's not just because they went out and said,
hey, analytics are good, and now they're bad.
That's not how it works.
They made a deal with the devil's.
Yeah.
For one year to lose to the island, there's the first round the worst deal of all time.
Well, I mean, they did make a deal with the devils, the Savard deal.
Now, you bring up the Panthers, and that's an interesting one.
That's obviously where our good friend Thomas Drance is plying his trade.
You worked for a team.
I don't know if you're allowed to talk about it or not.
No, we can't get into any details.
Right.
You worked for a team.
Yes.
How did you feel looking around and,
seeing
everybody get it
it's like
fucking being in
Seattle
during the 90s
and all the
bands get a
record contract
yeah
and you know
I mean
there's probably
someone out there
that ended up
being mud honey
and didn't get
any record
contract but like
but what did
you feel about
the whole
analytics thing
blowing up
or you guys
became like
the sexy hires
for these teams
where they were like
in Toronto's case
literally announcing
a new department
yes
of analytics
did you feel like
some of these teams were disingenuous. They were just doing it for
appearances, or did you feel like everybody had earned their keep and they're getting
their chance to make a difference? Yes. I mean, obviously I'm biased here because it would
benefit my career, but I think every team should be doing what the Leafs are doing,
because a lot of these teams try to just hire one guy just so they can send out a press release
or maybe appease whatever guilty conscience they might have about doing their job and
then all of a sudden it's like, well, we have an analytics guy. That must mean we've
conquered the analytics market and that just not how it works. Like, no one in
right mind would tell you that they know everything and they can do everything themselves.
And if they are, you should be very skeptical of what that person actually is trying to sell
to you.
As someone who can't talk specifically, can you talk about resistance to things you wanted to do there
in a general?
I mean, there's just a...
Or non-resistance.
Maybe people were like, wow, this is a great idea.
You should run the team and you were like, thanks.
Either way, either way.
Now, still the GEOCent team.
That sounds great.
No, it's not like that at all, actually.
Um, it's, it's, there's a lot of resistance and it's a lot of just indifference, really, which is kind of the worst part.
It's like when your parents tell you they're not mad, they're disappointed.
It's kind of like that.
It's like, I'd much rather the person actually look at my work and be like, I completely disagree, but this is why.
And then they actually have some sort of argument to show that they've really thought about it.
Whereas a lot of times, it's kind of like you just look at a piece of paper and then you just kind of just like shredded.
And that's the extent of the analytics department.
You're explaining stuff like, sir, that's actually a decimal point.
That's not a period.
That ends a sentence.
That's just a decimal point between a whole number and a fraction of a number at the end.
That's what that means.
And they're just like, get out of here.
What did you think of that situation where that dude in Montreal got turfed for apparently, like, voicing his opinion about the Suban trade?
I mean, in your experience, is that something that would have happened if you had really vehemently stood up and said, I don't agree with this thing?
And you said, it's the wrong person.
Sorry.
I got like a little thing coming over here.
I think, I mean, it depends.
right, like, you have to approach this stuff tactfully,
just with any job.
Like, you can't really go up to your boss
and just tell them they're an idiot
to don't they know anything.
And I think that if you do that,
you probably are going to get fired
for most of your gigs.
So you have to,
sometimes you have to pick your battles.
Obviously, that was a pretty big one.
And it would have been pretty tough
to sleep a night if I was like
cashing checks from that team.
And I was like, you know what?
You're right, boss.
Let's do this thing.
Share ever shoots the puck really hard.
We were talking on,
On the PDO cast, the Demetri's podcast, about how much I'm afraid of Montreal winning the cup this year.
How so?
Why is that?
If they win the cup after making the Suban trade and like how do you undo that not?
Like how do you make the counter argument to the Sue ban trade was unsuccessful?
Oh, by the way, the Havs won the cup and Shay Weber played 27 minutes a night.
Oh, and he won the consmite.
And they beat the Preds in four.
P.K.
P.K. Subband's like minus 11.
No, no. That's just it.
Sue ban's a minus seven when the Preds was in the first round.
Like, that would be the narrative.
Yeah.
That's my...
To go back to what you said before, like, I legitimately worry...
Listen, the analytics movement's going to be fine.
I think it's past a sniff test.
I think it's, you know, it's well understood that it's that these things can be, you know,
if not necessarily predictive, at least tell us why things happened.
Right.
Why are the king so bad even though?
Well, hold on.
Oh, you were doing.
Are you doing rent?
I want to go off on a rent.
No, no, no.
I'm not going to run.
I'm just saying that I do worry, though, that, you know, it's going to be a tougher hill to climb.
The more times we see a John Chaka fuck up or not find success or the more times that we see the team that makes the really bad illogical trade get short-term results from it.
Even if at the time of the Sub-Ban trade, we all said, it's going to be.
fine for the next couple of years until there's a steep drop off in Weber's game.
Right.
I do get worried about that. And so I'm actively rooting against the success of Montreal because
I don't want them to have the high ground in this argument.
Well, we see that on a smaller scale now with the Oilers where there's like all this
rewriting of history of what's happened over the past however many years. It's like, well,
Adam Larson's here. And for all the people that thought getting rid of Taylor Hall was a mistake,
this team is winning. And it's like, people struggle like keeping too.
two thoughts in their mind at the same times.
And I was like, the Oilers can be good because of other things.
And also, they'd probably be better if they had Taylor Hall instead of Adam Larson.
Right.
Both those things can be true.
And also, what I consider to be the real X factor, Connor McDavid being drafted.
I didn't know.
I didn't know he was part of that package for Taylor Hall.
Yeah, it's like, it's like when they look at the way they built that team and everything
else, it's just like, yeah, but you literally have the best, arguably the best player
in the world.
It's like the movie Moneyball where they don't talk about the pitching and they just
focus on like Mike Magnanti.
and Ricardo Rincon.
But that's going to be the Evanston Euler story
in like 10 years.
It's going to be like Adam Larson skating around
and like he blocked one puck to save one game in front of the net.
It's like that's why they went on that run.
It's like how do you think the oilers got better this year, huh?
You think it is more moxie or maybe deleting Taylor Hall up in that locker room?
I'm like, I'm going to probably guess that has something to do with David playing hockey.
The Taylor Hall locker room thing too.
Like I never knew that was a thing until they started winning this year.
It was the Taylor Hall locker room cancer problem.
That's why they were
But it's like that in every sport, right?
As soon as the guys out of the door
there's all of a sudden this like
revisionist smear campaign about why it went wrong
It's like, yeah.
Do you think stats are marketable to hockey fans?
Like stats are clearly marketable to baseball fans
because you have a lot of people
with a lot of time in their hands
that love breaking down numbers
and talking about things.
Also, I think baseball's always been
a very stats-obsessed sport.
Also, I think fantasy baseball lends itself
to really diving deep into the stats.
Do you think stats are a marketable
thing in hockey. I hope so. Otherwise, I should be looking for other job opportunities. Can you make
stats fun? I feel like that's the problem with stats sometimes. People don't have fun with them.
They get real mad if you're ever. Yeah. I think stuff we can do better for sure is sort of providing
context and like relevant examples in terms of like comparing players. Like I think that's something a
casual fan can get behind when like you tell them like, well, this is how these two players compare
for this reason. It's like it's a pretty simple way.
way to go. Another thing is, I think we just got to scrap stuff like
Corsi and P.O. and Fenwick and not necessarily the stuff. Those are the ones. Those are
the ones I understand. But no, the names because I think you instantly see
people's eyes just glaze over as soon as you say that, but they're the same people that have
been listening to player interviews saying we need to get pucks on net for 40 years. It's like
those are the two same things. So what can we call them? Like, we can call them like...
I think just call them shot attempts or just shots. Oh, shit. So you agree with the NHL.
Oh. Yeah. But I think I think, I think,
I think we should call choracy, like shot attempts, should just be called shots.
Not chat.
Not shats.
Not shats.
Like, yeah, like, if we have fun, like, shats on, and we can have, like, specific ones that are blocks.
So we can say shats on chest.
Right.
Ones that get all the way through, shats down the drain.
Like, and we can, I'm just saying, like, you want to keep the fresh for the kids.
For a very niche audience.
Yes.
For those, that Cleveland expansion team.
He led the team in shats.
Right on the ice.
SACs.
Go back to that.
Like, what did you, how did you, to go back to the garage band example, I mean, when the NHL adopted, adopted analytics, it had to seem like maybe, maybe the party was over, huh?
Yeah.
Well, I think that, uh, on the topic of snake oil and, uh, and false profits, I think everything SAP does is probably a example.
Let's talk about that.
Because one of the biggest problems that the Atlantic, uh, analytics community had with SAP was the predictive model they claimed.
85% of playoffs series.
85% yeah, they had a thing where it was 85% of playoffs series.
They said they could predict.
Yeah.
And that was, you know, no matter what they were going to do as far as data collection
or how they were building these things within NHL.com and the new analytics pages and renaming
the stats, whatever, that was the thing that made people go, oh, fuck this.
Right.
That's going 13 out of 15 every year, right?
Right.
But that's the problem.
It's like human nature.
Like fans or consumers of the product want, like, certainty.
Like, they want to be told something.
as fact, as set in stone, and sports are anything but that.
Like, we're working with probabilities here where it's like you can increase your odds from
50 to 52%.
It's like, for someone working with a team, that's huge.
But for a fan, they might not, that might not capture the attention.
So you have to sometimes, like, kind of like a little bit of a Napoleon complex where
all of a sudden you start like overcompensating and trying to like convince them like,
oh, trust me, this is actually foolproof no matter what.
and you start making promises
as you actually can't keep
and then
by that point
the checks have already
cashed you don't care anymore
you've already got the SAP money
you're good man
it's just like who cares
I also think too the problem is
fans take their cues
from like media people
and like when Steve Simmons
people like that are
every other day
making some sort of joke about shit
like yeah like it's it's designed
to annoy you guys
I just realized like we're using
Dimitri to speak for all of the stats community
yes yeah we step
But we established at the beginning of the interview that, like, they're all deaf.
They're all warring tribes.
But, like, it reminds me, what, Katie Nolan was our first guest,
and, like, half of our questions were, as a woman.
Right.
And now we're doing this.
I mean, I can't believe you didn't go with the example of the puck bunny.
It's like, as a puck bunny.
As a puck bunny.
Yeah.
As a stats guy, I forget what the point was.
But the point was is that if more people were less dickish about it,
I feel like more common fans would probably be into it.
But at the same time, I understand where it comes from.
from like years of being sort of held down and people telling you that you're...
But like if you're Steve Simmons, you can do whatever you want.
You can write whatever you want.
You're not going to lose your job.
Like there's no benefit to being like the stats dick.
It kind of is though.
There is.
People click on his stuff because of what he says, right?
I think he'd be exposed by not having any sort of actual relevant opinions if he had
tried to like not stir stuff up.
That's why I call him Hot Stowe Simmons.
I think the prickishness of, of analytics guys, though, is one of the appealing parts of it.
Like I know that we're saying that,
They have to be more nuanced and try to make it more accessible to people.
But, like, I read Delo because Delo was a prick to people that I wanted to see taken down a notch.
Right.
And there's something beautiful about that.
Like, I don't ever want the edge to be taken off of analytics in the sense that, like, they're the check and balance on people that are talking nonsense.
There's no more terrifying thing in life than when you tweet something.
And then five minutes later, Tyler retweeted it.
And you had to wait that minute to see if he was going to say it was good or bad.
You're like, you're like, hmm.
I was just like, oh, shit.
It's like, oh, God, what did I say about Alex Seven now?
Either I just reinvented the wheel or I'm going to be taken to the fucking woodshed.
Like one time in a power rankings, I threw in a line that just said, like, Taylor Hall is minus 42 in his last 38 games.
Just a complete throwaway line.
And he savage that for like seven tweets in a row.
And I'm like, buddy, it's a power rankings.
You know what the best, I mean, like, it's, sometimes it's tough being, like, publicly just scoring like that.
But it was even better when he was still working for the Oilers because I'd get, like, 4 a.m. emails from him.
that were just like, I'm assuming booze filled, just tirade,
but stuff that you could never actually go with publicly.
So he's just like, I can't believe you just said this on this radio hit.
I'm like, you were listening?
What?
Like, nothing escapes that guy.
All right.
Real briefly, real briefly.
What's your favorite thing about hockey in a general sense?
I mean, I know there's an intellectual approach to hockey,
but is there a side?
Do you have a side of your brain that is, is the candy,
and sweets and unicorns and rainbow side.
Like, can you read a hockey story that's flowery?
Can you appreciate a narrative and not have to...
Do you like Greg's work? Yes or no?
That's bullshit.
I dabble in analytics.
I try to be as smart as I can.
I'm not very good at math.
But, like, is there a part of you that needs that sort of, like, you know...
Crosby Nutshot.
Yeah, I was that.
Was that a Greg?
That allows you to pause moonlight and enjoy a Transformers moving out again.
Absolutely.
And honestly, like, the reason why I got into this is because I think the sport of hockey and by nature is incredibly captivating and fascinating and exciting.
And that's why I get mad at everything the NHL does because they seem to just be going out of their way to not just let it spread its wings and flourish.
Like, hockey is an amazing sport, but the NHL is a league is absolutely atrocious at everything they do in terms of marketing and letting their players succeed and having any sort of modicum of fun.
And so that's where I'm at.
Like, I love hockey.
I hate the NHL.
I think that's where a lot of people are, to be honest with you.
By the way, the way you started, I thought we were going to get like a good, like,
Herb Brooks, two-minute speech about the greatest of hockey and it ended with, and that's why I hate the NHL.
Hey, Dimitri, where can people find your stuff?
Just follow me at Dim Filipovich on Twitter.
I'm on, I'm on Sportsnet.
I do podcast articles there.
Sometimes I'm on this little niche podcast, Merrick versus Wishingski, I've been on a few times there.
I'm not a familiar one.
You never heard of it.
Puck soup?
Yeah, that's a good one.
Oh, that's the logo with the toilet, right?
Yes, right.
And real briefly, because we mentioned it, but never actually talked about it,
what's it like getting paid to appear on an analytics panel?
Oh, you get paid for that?
Oh, I didn't know that.
I didn't get paid personally.
Oh, yeah.
But people paid to come and watch.
Oh, you mean people get paid to?
Oh, I'm sorry.
Other people benefited from my greatness is what I'm kind of.
What's it like had people pay to listen to you at an analytics conference?
It was an interesting experience.
Yeah?
I mean, I personally wouldn't have paid to watch myself talk about.
So groupies then?
Yeah, it turns out hockey analytics, it doesn't lend itself to a lot of female fans, unfortunately.
No, no, you sure?
Yeah.
A lot of dudes buy me drinks at bars and stuff, and they're like, oh, I've seen you on TV, but unfortunately with the ladies, it's not.
No one asking about your possession right after you?
Mm-hmm.
Your high danger shots, as it were.
How about your D-D-R-R-T?
Wow, we're getting into some really interesting territory now.
You want to carry it in tonight later?
I really hope no one listens to this much.
Hucks in deep.
All right, everybody.
Thanks, Dimitri.
Thanks to Dimitri Filipovich for stopping by.
Very excited to have him here in the city, albeit briefly, and learn a thing or two about math.
Yeah, we talked tacos.
We talked to pizza.
I don't remember if we talked about that darn.
We didn't talk about it on the evening.
We tried to give them some food tips.
The problem with coming to New York and being like, where is the best pizza is the answer is everywhere but also nowhere.
Yeah.
Is that the League of Shadows that are everywhere in nowhere?
Yeah.
But it's like even the like replacement level pizza in New York is still better than anything you're going to get elsewhere.
In fact, when I was in London, we passed by a place called New York Flip.
New York Flip.
It's got a New York pizza that you could eat and you flip.
You've foote, not flip, fold.
New York fold.
Right.
You take the pizza and you fold it.
You turn it in.
You turn it in and fold it.
After you're done washing your Premier League footy, you'll get a slice.
One brief thing about London, which I loved, even though I had the stomach flu the last like two days.
Which, by the way, when you have the stomach flu and you try to soldier on because your wife's booked you a steak dinner, maybe it's sometimes better not to order the Bernays.
So, I.
There's a game show network in London,
and I found one of the most amazing things I've ever seen.
So one of the things they love in the UK,
and a lot of other places in Europe is watching darts.
Oh, I know.
Yeah.
Love watching darts.
I found a show in anybody who's from the UK or is familiar with it
will probably be nodding their head right now.
It's called Bullseye.
Okay?
Wait, is it just like, is it like poker on ESPN here?
Is it like a TV show about it?
It's a game show.
Oh, it's a game show.
Where you are working in a team of two,
one person is answering questions
and then the other person
is literally playing darts
to try to like win stuff
during the show
so it's like you answer a tribute question
like like which character on horses
round here used to say
bugger off this jolly good
shit show blah blah
and then John boy
and then that's correct and then like someone throws a dart
to try to win a prize oh okay
oh I was picturing them throwing darts
yeah it was like a night
you from your head
It's an hour-long show from like the 1970s and 80s.
They used to show it on Sunday after Sunday afternoons, but the best part about it is that at the end, all of the stuff you've won, which by the way is shit.
It's like a foosball table and then like an exercise bike and then like 20 pounds or some shit, like 200 pounds or some shit.
You can then give all that up to then actually play a proper game of darts where you have to beat like whatever the house score is.
And then you win like the grand prize, which I think the episode I watched was like a trip to bear.
Badoes. And it was amazing.
Does anybody ever not go for the time?
They all go for it. It's great. And then some of them get it and some of them don't.
Wait, so is the game we're going to play now or I have to throw dark this stuff?
No. The game that we're going to play, this game show is something I'm really excited about.
If anyone's a dedicated Puck Soup listener, if you're listening to this fucking nonsense, you probably are.
I'm ready.
You know that most of our games involve sort of a multiple choice.
And that's why on today's episode of Puck Soup, we are playing a game, in honor of Dave Lozo, a failed Anglophile,
who can't pronounce things and tries to pretend he knows a lot of shit about London and the UK, but really doesn't.
We are playing a game called London Tube Stop, UK Crime Series, or sexual slang.
London Tube Stop.
Is it a crime series?
UK Crime Series.
Or sexual slang.
Or sexual slang.
Each of these things I'm about to read is either a stop on the London Underground.
I can just picture you just like, Ruby, can we just hang on one second here?
I just want to write down the name of this tube stop.
A UK crime series, a television series that appeared at some point on television of the UK, not necessarily BBC, but in the UK.
I'll come back to bed in a second.
I'm writing down the names of shows that I'm looking up on IMDV.
I'll be there in a minute.
Or sexual slang, courtesy of our friends at Urban Dictionary.
Which means that it's one person who decided to make a joke.
Right.
It's always.
No one says this in England.
All right.
here we go.
All right.
London Tube Stop, UK crime series or sexual slang.
First up, we have Budgie.
All right.
There's no way that's a crime series.
I say Tube Stop.
Budgie is a crime series.
No, it's not.
Broadcast on the ITV network between 1971 and 1972.
Each episode was a complete story, usually depicting Budgie's involvement in some
hairbrain scheme to make money, usually somewhere on the wrong side of legality.
So that's one wrong.
I don't believe you.
I'm Googling this.
B-U-D-G-Y?
B-D-G-Y.
G-I-E, but-G-G-E, like what they would call a bird in like Australia or something.
Oh, yeah, that is, that's what comes up.
All right, number two, munting.
Tube Stop, UK crime series or sexual slang?
Sexual slang.
Correct.
To munt is to find and dig up a semi-decomposed corpse.
One person then goes down on said corpse whilst the other jumps on the dead person's stomach,
causing the juices to be forced from all orifices.
These are then drank by the person orally connected to the corpse.
Munting.
That's a real thing.
People do that all the time.
Sure.
One for two.
Porridge.
Professor Munting.
P-O-R-R-I-D-G-E.
Porridge.
I don't want that to be sexual slang, so I'm not going to guess that it's sexual slang.
I'm going to say two-stop.
Porridge is a crime series.
It stars Ronnie Baker and Richard Beckinsale as two inmates at the fictional H-N-P-Slaid in Cumberland.
Doing porridge is British slang.
for serving a prison sentence,
porridge once being
the traditional breakfast
in UK prisons.
Okay.
One for three.
That makes sense.
Mud Shoot.
I'm just going to say
tube stock because it hasn't been
an answer yet.
Correct.
Mud shoot is a tube stop.
I forget what line it is.
I don't know if it's on Piccadilly
or Bakerloo.
It's just a big dirt road.
Is that what you're telling me?
All right.
Number five, barking.
This isn't the SATs.
You don't have to take it this seriously.
I do.
I got about at least 500 here.
Tube stop.
That's correct.
Barking is the last line on the two-stop.
And the only reason I know this is because when we were taking the train from Heathrow to London,
Ruby saw a dog on the floor of the subway, and she turned to me and said,
do you think he's going to barking?
Oh, God.
Which is a great joke.
Good one, Ruby.
Parkins Patch.
P.A.R.K. I. I.an apostrophe, yes.
Crime series.
Correct. Parkins Patch features PC Moss Parkin.
played the lead
role of a police constable
in the North York Moors.
So what am I at this point?
You have four of six.
Doing quite well.
Doing quite well.
It's good.
Right?
Right is rain.
Cockfosters.
Tube stop.
That's correct.
Cockfosters is the last line
on a tube stop.
So when you're waiting for the train,
you get to hear, you know,
Piccadilly line train to Cockfosters.
What percentage of stops on the tube are actually fucking dirty-ass names?
I couldn't live there.
I'll tell you about mud chute.
I, for a moment, thought that mud shoot was a joke being played on tourists.
Like, it doesn't actually exist.
It's just like, you know, it would be a right go to, like, must shoot.
And then people would be like, where's your mud shoot?
And then it would be like, it's on the tube.
Monroe Transfer.
Crime series.
Six.
Come on!
Monroe transfers when one person sticks a tube in their ass and then sticks it in someone else's ass and shits in their ass according to Irvin Dictionary.
But do you like how I tied tube into the answer?
I get it.
Yeah.
So four for seven.
Wait, is that right?
Five for eight.
Five for eight.
Yeah.
So the poor Monroe person, where that is, I had that named after them.
Chalk Farm.
Is it chalk like, like chocolate or chocolate?
Chalk Lake like you'd write on a blackboard.
Okay. Chalk farm.
Chalk farm.
All right.
That's that, yeah.
Because if that's a sex thing, that's going to involve, like, putting chalk in animals' butts or something.
That can't be what it is.
Or it could be like a dried substance if you think about it.
Yeah.
Crime drama.
Tube stop.
It's interesting.
You knew that it wasn't a sex thing because I was advocating for you to take it to answer as a sex thing.
But you didn't.
So, yeah, you got it wrong.
That's my point.
Everything in England sounds like a sex thing.
thing.
Chalk farm.
Finally,
Ball Coosy.
B-A-L-C-U-Z-I.
So like a
Coozy, put your balls in?
Ball-Cozy.
Crime drama.
That's correct.
Detective John Ball-Cozy.
No, it's not a...
Oh, man.
Ball-Cozy, get in here.
Definitely sex slang.
You place your nuts in a bowl of warm, warm water,
and then have a girl, put a straw into the bowl
and blow bubble.
under your balls.
Rubber Ducky is optional, of course,
according to urban dictionary.com.
Balcozy is a sex act.
500, sir.
5.
600.
What?
Oh, no, right.
The last one.
Yeah, five out of ten.
So how do you feel about your knowledge of sex slang,
London Tube Stops,
and or UK crime series?
Probably not as good as you did before we started doing this exercise.
But like, like, how long do you do the ball coozy thing before you move on to other stuff?
How long do you do it before it tickles?
Right.
Like, before it outright.
tickles. Because like, I mean, at some point
you have to be like, all right, that's, like, because, I mean,
it's the whole process. You got to get water. You got to go out
and buy straws. Nobody just has straws in their house.
You know, you know? I always
like to have straws in the house. I always
like to have Bendy straws in the house. You never
know when you might, you know, need one.
Well, you have a kid. So you
should probably drink stuff out of straw. It's funny.
Like, I'm so irresponsible as a parent
that I just, I literally
have my kid drink out of coffee mugs.
Huh. Because like, I know she
has a handle. So I know she,
She'll be able to hold it.
But then, like, if she drops it, it's a giant mess, right?
Then you got to go buy a new coffee mug.
It's pretty dumb.
But, like, it's what I do.
Balcozy.
See if it was spelled C-O-O-O-Z-I.
I would have instantly said sex thing.
The Balcozy.
It was too obvious to be a sex thing.
As we do this show, the playoff races are solidifying.
Kind of boring down the stretch.
I mean, there's some...
Listen, there's a couple of different ways to look at it.
It's boring in the sense that the bubbles are kind of...
Kind of popping left and right as we speak.
It's just the second wild card in the east.
Yeah, and then also, yeah, and the kings have kind of fallen off.
But, I mean, obviously, it's a super exciting race for not only top of the league, but top of the east,
which is going to make, you know, a lot of, I mean, you know,
it could be a situation where you either have to play Pittsburgh or Washington of the first round or not,
if you're Columbus.
This Columbus Renaissance, eight and two in their last ten games,
I think I didn't see coming.
How to admit?
Well, because they're not good, so you never would expect a team that's not that good.
They are obviously a good team.
Are they?
Aren't they?
They're okay.
Hold on, Blue Jackets, schedule.
Let me just, because if I'm correct.
If my calculations are correct, Marty.
And I usually am.
Not really usually, but sometimes I am.
Let me just get through all those Ws in the middle of the season, all those Ls afterwards.
Right, so they've beaten their last four wins are against teams that aren't in the playoffs.
The last five, last seven.
The only playoff team they've been in March is Minnesota.
You're trying to tell me the devils aren't.
They beat the devils three times.
Devils three times in Buffalo once.
They actually lost.
Oh, yeah, they blew the game against Buffalo.
Philly, Florida, and the Islanders.
They've beaten one playoff team in March.
They're the most smoke and mirrors team of all time.
Maybe not of all time.
Calgary, it was a real smoke.
So you still expect them they're going to be in the two-three series.
Do you think they could beat Pittsburgh in the first round
if Pittsburgh is still diminished?
If Pittsburgh doesn't have Laetang, all bets are off.
Right.
If they have Latang and...
The French for the Tang.
The French for the Tang.
Yeah.
That's what the French astronauts would eat when they would go in the space or drink.
But yeah, as long as they have Latang, I think they'll be fine.
Toronto, as we do this show, 81 points.
The Islander 78 to Tampa Bay is 77.
Tampa, the Lightning Assents, is it still going on?
Or do you believe that maybe their window is closing?
The problem is that they only have...
They have a couple games against...
Boston left, but that's starting to look like that ship's going to sailor five points back.
They do have a game in hand.
So, I mean, in theory, they're still in business.
But, yeah, that one game left against Toronto is it trying to catch the team they're playing.
And they don't have any against the Islanders.
Toronto is just so shitty defensively.
I feel like they're so susceptible to, like, losing seven of their last 10.
Like, they just give up so many shots and so many grade A chances.
But I think Tampa, they don't have enough players.
Like, they just have too many guys out.
but I think it's between Toronto and Tampa.
I don't think the islanders are going to do it.
Yeah, their third defenseman right now is like Roman Hammerlick, right?
It's not, yeah.
Yeah, well, Jason Garrison is the modern-day Roman-Han.
Which of those three teams do you want in?
Because I go back and forth as to whether I want Toronto in,
knowing that they're just going to get shellacked.
Oh, I want Toronto in.
I want Toronto.
The Toronto Caps will be a fun-ass first-round series.
But Tampa Caps would be, too, like a returning stamp coat or whatever.
And like, okay, personal preference, I'd like Tampa to go on a run.
I love going to Tampa.
I love covering games in Tampa.
Tampa is super fun.
Ah, the Tiki bar.
The Tiki bar, exactly.
So, like, there's something to be said for being completely selfish about rooting for teams.
At this point, by the way, notice who your favorite hockey writers are actively rooting for in the playoffs
because it's usually the teams that they want to spend some time, i.e., everybody becomes a giant cheerleader for Chicago.
Right.
Chicago, again, if the Stanley Cup finalist, Chicago, Montreal every year, none of us would complain about it.
Right, exactly.
Although I would imagine Nashville now as part of that equation too.
I think a lot of people who went to Nashville, maybe for the All-Star game or whatever,
never really spent a lot of time there all like, yeah, I'd love to go back to Nashville.
Just no cross-country flights.
And in general, I don't want to have to cross the border four times.
Yeah.
But everybody's, everybody giving Winnipeg terrible advice on their goaltending all year.
Don't make a trade.
I mean, Pavlik's right there in your HL team.
Just maybe give him another chance.
Maybe he's better now.
Tampa. Do we ever tell the story about Gentilly in Tampa when he was
Sean Gentile of the Pittsburgh Post Gazette when we were at post game and John Cooper was at the bar?
No, go ahead.
And he was there with like his family, like his mom and dad were there.
I do remember that, yeah.
And he went to the jukebox and played Chelsea Dagger like six times in a row.
Yes, he did. It was great.
And we just sat there and like watched their reactions to it.
It was fantastic.
And like, to be fair, we were 12 years all the time.
So we can't really blame us for being immature.
But yeah, that's, that's the fun stuff about going out after games is.
is messing with parents of coaches
or in town to root for their child.
Exactly.
By the way,
the single greatest jukebox thing
for those who don't know
that happens on the road
is when you're on the road
with Pierre LeBron.
He does one thing all the time,
which is he somehow finds on the jukebox
we are the world
and plays it and sings it.
We are the world, Cam.
We are the children,
Cam.
And then one time,
we were covering the cup final in
LA, we went to a bar, and I don't even know
how the fuck he did this. This is some
prestige shit as far as, like, the magic
he pulled. He found the hands
across America theme on a
jukebox. Oh, was that at the
beach bar? That was in the beach bar? Yeah.
Because I don't remember that, I don't
remember that jukebox being the kind that you can just
go in there and, like, find old stuff. I thought it was
like a flip through it, what kind of one?
Yeah, and he said, like, how, yeah, and what CD would the
Hands Across America theme be on? Now, that's
what I call charity songs.
So the jock
Jock donations
Oh, it's a theme song from Red Noseday
So, okay, if I had
Dollars to Donuts
Why do we keep on saying that? What the fuck is that even mean?
What does that even mean dollars of donuts?
Did you hear that in England a lot?
No, I heard a lot in England, though.
From Bangers to Mash
I would think I'd like to see Lichester City
get back in.
Again, I come back to the British
game shows. It's the greatest thing ever because like
Bar Cousy. You could you could watch
the chase in
in the UK and there are like
questions about geography and whatever
and you're like yeah I could totally be on this show
and then you get to the one that's like
In the first season
of the crown
versus a squirrel, who
played Delilah's mother?
What was the name of the third guest on the
seventh episode of Forty Towers? Yeah and I
said to myself this is a horseshit question but then I think
okay but in the US it would be like
you know what what chicken chain did crows kramer obsessed with on signfield
exactly what is penny rogers roasted all right dollars to donuts
washington pittsburgh columbus the current standings is how it'll finish what say you
yeah i think so okay yeah yeah yeah montreal ottawa boston
which means we'll get montreal and the rangers in the first round yeah who wins that series
Not asking for an official pick here.
I know we've yet to do that.
I think Montreal would win that series.
I don't think the Rangers defense is good enough.
But I think whoever wins that series
goes to the conference finals.
I'll say that.
You think whoever wins Montreal?
Oh, just because of the Atlantic Pass?
Because of the second.
The fucking set of in the East is so stupid this year.
We're the sixth best team
and the seventh best team
are going to play each other in the first round.
You might be right.
And then you think Toronto gets in,
or you want Toronto win,
or you think they get in?
That's two separate questions.
And that's dollars and donuts right there
Oh, I'm gonna
I'm gonna
Do you ever put like Boston cream
Inside of a dollar bill?
Wait
Is that Mike Babcock or Buffalo bill?
Oh wait no
Mike Babcock is
Do you ever put Boston cream
Instead of a dollar bill?
And this is
Do you ever put dollar
Boston cream inside of a dollar bill?
That's also fucking Edgar
The bug from
Men of Love
Give me donuts
in water.
All right, Toronto's got Columbus right now.
Because don't have sugar, I just realized.
Jersey, Buffalo, Florida, Detroit, Buffalo.
Toronto's probably got to get to how many.
I say 9 and 7, Mikey.
Dog, 10 games left.
Gotta win 5.
Give me the least.
92 points.
I'm going to say the Islanders get in
just because it's going to ruin everybody's fun.
And they're really good at that.
They're really good at...
Like, they've got a very tough road,
but I feel like they'll get in
just because it would be the least thing,
the least thing we want to see happen
and to see them against the fucking capitals.
You know, just who gives a shit?
I don't want to see...
Somebody brought that up today,
whether it was Kekeleinen or there was some players,
somebody asked about the format.
They were like,
I don't want to see the same teams every year
in the first two rounds.
And this way, if, like, Toronto gets in and plays the caps.
That's a whole fresh new series
that I haven't seen in, like, ever.
That's just it.
Toronto and the caps, though,
is such the argument for the old.
format, isn't it?
Like, that's the kind of weird
matchup you'd see in the 1-V-8
that you don't see anymore.
So now you're saying,
so now the opinion is that we're ODing
on rivalry matchups?
It's too, it's, I mean, there's that.
There's the fault in the fact
that one of the three best teams in the NHL
is going to get knocked out in the first round.
There's nothing good about this format.
And it was just straight,
one, four, two, three, no crossovers.
Even then, it's stupid.
I was, I honestly God,
love the idea of realignment.
at first. And now that I've seen it for like four years, that's stupid.
Yeah, thanks, Detroit.
Chicago's going to win the West.
Fucking Kenny.
Minnesota's going to finish second.
St. Louis and Nashville jockeying for third.
And if you are in that position, you probably want to finish third and get Bruce Boudreau in a seven-game series versus playing the Blackhawks in the first round, no?
Yeah, I guess.
Keep in mind that Jonathan Taves isn't on Minnesota, and he is, after all, one of the greatest players of all time.
Yeah, I'd rather play Minnesota.
I feel like Minnesota's finally...
Like, Minnesota's having that thing
that I thought Columbus would have happened to it.
Where are you?
They would just finally...
They're getting little wibbley.
And like, I would rather, yeah, Nashville.
If Nashville plays Minnesota, they'll be Nashville.
I think St. Louis plays Minnesota, they'll be Minnesota.
San Jose, Edmonton, Anaheim, and Edmonton kind of jockeying for home ice.
Calgary and that mix, too, they might jump up.
I mean, obviously, Edmonton, Calgary is a matchup you want in the first round.
That'd be a really fun series.
So Calgary would play
So Calgary's going to get
You get San Jose, Anaheim, and Calgary, Edmonton
That's what you want, right?
Right off the hop?
I kind of want to see Edmonton beat Anaheim.
I want to see like a new young fast team come in and just
You want a young fast team to beat Randy Carlis.
Yeah, I want all that.
Like I don't want to see San Jose play.
Again, it's about new matchups.
I don't want to see Kevin BX a sucking wind as Connor McDavid
wheels him in the offensive zone.
Oh, if that series happens, Kevin B.XA will probably
intentionally hurt.
You're probably right.
Slash him in the dick or something.
Fucking Jaxa.
And then everybody's like,
Edmuchy's just right here.
Like, what are you talking about?
Lucci just literally probably served time in prison overseas
and we don't know about it.
If anyone's going to prevent that, it's going to be me on Luch.
There's your look at the playhouse.
And the time we have remaining on the podcast,
it's time for our favorite segment,
which is, of course, your listener mail.
I mean, it's not Lozo's favorite segment.
He always bitches about how poor the questions are every week, to be honest with you.
What are the five best ever left-handed shooting players to actually guest star on a TV show?
I don't know.
I don't know.
Take all the Marvel movies and recast every role with an player in the Eastern Conference whose name starts with an M.
If we had to do those answers, we'd never start recording.
We'd be like out in the bullpen, like, all right.
Um, Thor.
It has to be an Eastern conference guy?
Ah.
Yeah, I'm ready.
Get past that.
All right, Mitch Marner for Ant, man.
Oh, that's what it is.
Our listeners are all stones.
Now I get it.
Now it's cool.
All right.
F. Mary Kill. Blue Jackets, fans, Penguins, fans, and Sabres fans.
These are, this is from Ignore the Corsi.
Oh, who must love this episode.
Holy shit.
This is obviously a question that deals with my problems online and not necessarily
yours, but if I had to say it, I would, I would marry, oh, I'd marry Sabres fans because it can only get
better.
I would kill, I would kill Blue Jacket's Sands because I have a feeling they're just angry.
They're just angry.
They're never not going to be angry.
It would end in, it would end in somebody getting killed.
And I would, and I would, I would bang Penguins fans because maybe I catch them on one of those good days.
Yeah, they have good times and bad times.
Peaks and valleys.
Yeah, I'm going to marry Penguins fans
because that's going to be good for years.
Bang Sabers fans, because of the same sort of thing,
it would be a good hate bang because there's like a lot of,
you know, a lot of anger there.
Yeah, and then, yeah, Blue Jackets fans, throw them.
Plus, you know, banging Sabers fans.
I mean, anything you do is going to be above expectation, right?
If you have, as long as you don't go wide right.
Well, no, like, I'll show up and I'll show up.
See, the thing is, like, even if I show up and I'm not what they want,
They'll pretend I am and say that that's what they want it all along.
No, no, no, no.
Oh, Iko McDavid.
You see Leinen wants us to know that people in certain regions of Finland...
Don't repeat this on the air.
People are going to throw up on those.
Put mayonnaise on pizza, not just dipping, but as a topping.
And he wants to know if this is blasphemy.
So, like, mayonnaise in place of sauce?
Doesn't matter.
He said topping.
And I think that...
Tock.
You see, we need to have a little bit more definition.
in here.
Like, is it, is it a replacement sauce like buffalo sauces on a buffalo chicken pizza?
Or is it dollops of mayonnaise like you would get mozzarella cheese on a pizza?
Like a white slice where you get the, yeah, yeah, it doesn't matter.
I'm going to throw up either way if we keep talking about this.
Yeah, well, just to make sure that you do.
Chubbs wants to know.
I was at a place they had advertised peanut butter on their hamburgers.
I refuse to try it.
Your take?
You know, there's a part of me, you know where I think peanut butter would be good?
And I don't know if this makes any sense to you.
but just close your eyes and picture it for a second.
Peanut butter on a turkey burger.
I feel like that would be good.
Not on beef, but on a turkey burger.
I'm more into the beef idea than the turkey burger idea.
Turkey burgers are hit or miss, man.
They're either home runs or the grossest thing you're ever going to eat.
And I feel like peanut butter doesn't go with that flavor,
but I think it might go with like a beef, hearty, like Angus burger maybe?
Beef noodle hardy.
It's Yoda and the, what's that fucking hand?
the Mako hands from the commercial?
No, who's the little
the little hand that makes the pasta?
Hamburger helper? Yeah, hamburger helper.
Thank you. Jesus.
The hand that makes the pasta.
Rebecca D. Mourne in the hand that makes the pasta.
Choking Matt McCoy to death.
I would...
Nice job. I would prefer peanut butter on turkey burger then
because if it's a shitty turkey burger,
then the peanut butter covers that up,
much like when I give me...
my dog pills, I put peanut butter on them.
No cheese, though. I don't think you can have beef, peanut butter, and cheese.
I barely understand fish and cheese together, yet I understand a filet of fish.
That's the weird part.
I don't think I've ever combined fish and cheese.
You ever had a flay of fish with cheese on it?
The idea of a fish sandwich from a fast food place makes me fomitous.
Okay, but this is, this will come back.
Somebody asked us about this, and I'm going to look at it real quick.
Oh, yeah.
Was it a rash or?
No, no, no.
Anna Tower wants to know.
feelings on subway overly bready trash or semi-competent healthier fast food
food overly I would go with semi-competent healthier fast food but does what do you say
of that by the way I haven't had subway in so long you neither have I there used to be a subway
and they closed it and they were going to open up a new sandwich place that was like a better
version of subway and I forget the quiz nose of it is no or jersey mics oh jersey mics
mics is good I actually like the best the best subs to me are and and those who are blessed
with them will understand Wegmans has the best subs they're great but I will say this about
Subway to go back to our previous question about, well, that we turn into a question about fish and cheese, because tangents.
They ask you whether you want cheese on a tuna sub at Subway.
And I always found that to be kind of off-putting.
Like, much like my campaign against tomatoes on sandwiches, like you should have to ask to get it on a sandwich.
It shouldn't just be placed there.
Yeah.
Cheese should be something you have to initiate for a tuna sandwich.
It shouldn't be a thing where they're like, do you want cheese on it?
Like it's so common that they just want to get it out of the way and ask you.
I don't know.
Are you a fucking maniac?
Like, well, who wants cheese on a tuna sandwich?
Who's getting a, why would you get a tuna sandwich?
But they ask you all the time.
Try it.
I'm going to go to answer the question.
I'm going to go bready, whatever.
Because I feel like if you're getting a sub, even if it's like a low fat turkey, whatever,
like you're still eating a shit ton of bread.
And as I learned from Scott Pilgrim, bread makes you fat.
Bread makes you fat?
Oh, God, that's such a great movie.
All right.
A couple more real quick.
What is the correct direction to face in the shower towards the shower header away?
Lots writing on this, says Jordan Little.
I'm scared.
Why is he asking us this?
Because he wants to know where to plunge the knife.
Do you face the door to your bathroom when you're in the shower?
When you shower, do you like to leave the front door unlocked or locked?
Oh, I see what he's saying.
Like, when you're in the shower and you're not washing a particular part of your body,
how do you just stand while the water's hitting you, I guess?
Because, like, you know, you turn around to hit certain parts.
I face the shower head, so the water drips down my face, so I feel like Triple H.
Wait, is that like, I don't know.
I don't know the reference, because I'm...
Because then he'll whip his hair back, like, when it's all wet.
Oh, I was thinking more like the Colorado Avalanche in that video where they just, like, look up and give meaningful looks.
Oh, you mean the Imagine Dragons video?
Right, where it looks like Gabe Lanniscag just shot his load in the sink.
He did.
That's where he put it.
where you put it um i i don't know i've never i've never really thought about it what do you i mean
thinking about your last shower a few days ago what do you what do you think you did when i
showered before st patrick's day i don't know i just i kind of i turn around while i'm in there
i don't really have it's not like sleeping where like i have a side like i just i don't know when
i'm at the gym i faced the wall unless i'm wearing my swim trunks
I think it might take bads
Nobody likes it
Aaron wants to know
Starburst jelly beans
Yummy in my tummy or only for a dummy
Um
Yummy yummy yummy
I'm gonna say yummy in my tummy
Only for a dummy in comparison with jelly belly though
Yeah any jelly beans are good
Yeah
Finally my kid wants
Like gets those goddamn jellybellies that like taste like skunk
It's like a game they play
Like you spin a wheel
And you either get like
You taste the color
And it's either like
This is either like
amazing licorice or a skunk.
It's like they sell those.
So it literally tastes like a skunk.
Yeah, they have one that tastes like, it's either like,
this either tastes like vanilla caramel or diaper or whatever.
Like that's serious.
And she loves it.
And then she.
But they just spit it out.
There's got to be a mess all over the place that thing.
It is.
It's a total mess.
It's a gross game.
And the way she plays it,
she's got it rigged real nice,
which she doesn't actually play it.
She'll spin and get a color and be like,
you try it.
finally the one question we were really excited about
lethal weapon series were the oceans movies according to kid michael
okay here's my take is
i think as a whole all four i even like the last one
the lethal weapon movies are better
but i'd rather watch the oceans movies that's how i feel
because like if you set like you could set the most beautiful
well shot well acted well written movie
and then do it three more times,
I would rather watch the mediocre one in Vegas
that involves a heist every single time.
Not that that's a mediocre movie,
but just I'm just saying that's my standard.
So I'd rather have three good Vegas movies
as opposed to four maybe a little bit better cop movies.
Height of their powers.
Best movie in the series,
Oceans is better than Leitha Weapon 2.
Yes.
Leth The Weapon 2 is great.
I don't know.
Oceans 11 is better.
as a flick, I think.
I feel like the first two lethal weapons are better than anything in the ocean.
I think the problem I have with the lethal weapon series is that, I mean, the Ocean's movies
have an interesting trajectory in the sense that, you know, the quality is sort of decreasing,
I would say.
Like, three is not, three is the, one with Renee Russo, that's not good with the cop killer bullets.
That's good.
I mean, it's good.
And then four is the not good one with the Jet Lee.
That was, I kind of like, I like that one better than three.
Three. Four had some high spots. But the weird thing about the Leto Up movies is the first one is a completely different tone than like the fourth one.
Yeah. The fourth one is basically like a family buddy cop movie and the first one's like crazy psycho cop.
Right. Martin Riggs may eat a bullet at some point in this movie. Will he kill himself or will he do that shoulder trick to get it in a straight jacket?
So it's a weird comparison because the first one's almost like in a completely different series than the other three.
And like, again, Ocean's 12 really brings down the value of the, of the trilogy.
Because Ocean's 12, from what I understand, they wrote it and shot it as like a...
On a plane on a cocktail, cocktail napkin.
No, no, no, no.
The thing I read was the whole theme of the movie is how hard it is to do a sequel.
And so they're doing a second heist.
And so the whole theme of the movie is about how hard it is to do a sequel if you're doing a great movie like Ocean's 11.
Meanwhile, with the weapon was like, we're just going to do a second good fucking awesome movie.
We're not going to try to be clever about it.
And bring post-goodfellas Joe Pesci on it.
Yes.
Yeah.
Which is genius.
Right.
They weren't like, oh, this is going to be so hard.
They just did a fucking good movie.
By the way, Jurassic World is also a movie about how hard it is to make a sequel.
And if you watch it through that prism, it's a really good movie.
I'm going to go to lethal weapon movies.
I think, I think top to bottom better movies.
Better?
Or you'd rather watch?
And I also, I would rather watch.
I really love those characters, man.
Like, I watched a lethal weapon movie.
It might have been three a couple of months ago.
Is it weirder to watch it now that you?
You know, Mel Gibson's a gigantic anti-Semitic racist, though.
No more than it is to watch Carl Reiner.
Oh, wait.
Just jokes.
Just jokes.
Carl Leiter is not a raging.
He's on Coden.
I know.
He's the best.
That was a joke.
No, I, listen, I think the Ocean's movies are fantastic.
You and I quote them a lot.
We love those movies.
Would I rather, I would rather not watch,
there's like 10 movies I'd rather watch than Oceans 11.
Ocean's 13 is something I've,
put on in the background ocean's 12
I'll watch
the guy
Frank dancing through the lasers
yeah and then Julia Robert shows up and I'm just like
yeah yeah and then you have to
you all then you have to suffer you have to suffer the whole
fucking ending with Catherine Zeta Jones
oh my god there's gonna be a fire alarm
wow they were testing for like an hour and 20 minutes
and we didn't even hear one
wow that's crazy
do you think we died and now we're in our
an hour are we the leftovers
That's a good question.
The whole Catherine's
that a Jones
and her father thing
at the end was stupid.
We have to step it through
that notion's 12.
Oh, yeah.
I would shut that off
before that part.
But to do three
heist movies in Vegas,
I think you can't do
13 without 12.
Like you couldn't do
back-to-back
Vegas heist movies.
Yeah, you have to have
to have the failure of 12
to do 13.
Right, right.
George Clooney and Brad Pitt
are like,
I'll come back and do it again,
sure.
Yeah.
Also, the other weird thing, too.
Oh, by the way,
we're ranting here.
But did you know,
do you know what Tofer Grace's
real name is.
No.
Christopher.
He calls himself
Tofer because his name is
Christopher.
So you use the last part of,
like if I changed my name to
Right.
Gorey.
Gorey.
And I was Vid.
I don't know how.
Vido sounds like a fucking member of the sex pistols.
Girl, I just,
I just won't rock a row.
Listen.
Tofer.
He calls himself tofer.
Bottom line for me on Lethal Weapon.
Movies are better.
and also they keep adding things that make them better.
Like Pesci and two.
Chris Rock.
René Russo and three.
Chris Rock and four.
That's great.
What do you get by the time you get Oceans 13?
You get the actor formerly known as Al Pacino.
Right.
Which apparently I read about that too.
They shot all his scenes in like a week to get a minute out real quick.
Once you, once you, there's, I love reading stuff like that.
Like something about a movie clicks from the place, like, oh, that's why it sucked.
I love your game, and I think it'd be perfect for our casino and Biloxi.
Oh, no, sir.
Shoneff belongs here in Las Vegas.
Not Biloxi.
Come on, you know what it is.
What is it?
Jackson?
Where games go to die.
Come on.
What was it?
Tallulah, Mississippi.
Now that I forget.
Tupelo?
Oh, I'm sorry.
A Tupelo casino.
That's where games go to die.
I'm only to do for him what I'm only do for him.
Set a placement, open a night.
My casino.
There's a lot of holes in that movie.
The whole movie is fucking horseshit.
I mean, it involves like bacteria and pumping smells into places and John Cheatel is evil can evil.
Yeah.
But I'll always put it on.
I'm telling you, if you were stealing shit in Las Vegas, you will get my two hours of attention every time.
Are you going to pull a heist this weekend?
Are you going to knock off?
really talk about.
Because on a fight night, the Bellagio, the Mirage and the MGM Grand and their vault,
their shared vault, despite being in completely different parts of the strip.
Wait, don't ruin the oceans.
With my geography.
All right, you got to go.
I got to go.
Thanks for listening to this episode of Puck Soup.
Thanks to Demetri Filipovich for joining us and being smart.
We'll try to be smart, too.
Thanks to him, thanks to his inspiration.
Did you ever know my math hero?
that's all
I got thanks
at Wichinsky
on Twitter
read me on Puck Daddy
listen to my other
podcast Merrick versus Wichinsky
by both of our books
the one I wrote with Lozo
the 100 greatest players
of all time
in NHL history and other stuff
and then also take your eye off the puck
at a watch hockey one over and look
and here's Lozo in the waning moments
where he has to run to a Rangers game
um
make sure make sure you tune in tomorrow
I got a good
I got a good thing based on our boss
Jonah carries.
Which place can they find it?
It's going to meet the comeback.
And basically, if you like player trade value rankings and you enjoy Twitter feuds and you like Jonah, you might enjoy this thing.
Jonah carry a Twitter feud.
Old boss.
Bitter asshole on Twitter.
Oh, shit.
It was a stolen.
Bye, everybody.
Now leavingnerdist.com.
