Puck Soup - Free Agent Cookout
Episode Date: July 7, 2016Greg and Dave break down the big NHL free-agent signings, including the worst moves and love for the Lightning. Plus, the new lockout is almost here; Milan Lucic is legendary; Margot Robbie turns us d...own; becoming hot-take guys; Dustin Brown has a sad; Sean Avery is garbage but Greg has a weird story about him; Hollywood is recycling too much; ranking the top 8 foods to eat at a summer BBQ; and listener mail!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to whatever you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo!
Who's Sports Puck Daddy blog?
You feel like our
intro is a little too can't
I'm Greg Brescenti of Yahoo's
Puckraber
I'm Dave Lozo of
Ice Sports and the comeback and many other websites
and where are we?
You're in Puck Soup. Traffic and weather together
on The 6 is coming up also Ryan
Seekras is going to join us on the phone to talk about
the new season of Idol
Breaking news Hillary Clinton is in town
this week and traffic will be closed off all along 6th Avenue
here in New York City
Well ironically I didn't get that email
Oh, boy, yo, yo, yo, yo, yo, yo, yo, y'i.
What, was that Trumpy, our little trumpet friend?
Oh, I know.
Really, her signature, Sigfile had a Jimmy Buffett lyric.
Whoa.
Time to yell at my producer.
Hey, producer, producer, producer, producer.
Oh, Jordan is down the line as Sally from Montau.
Sally, what's going on?
What are you wearing, baby?
Oh, hey now.
We got Darrys from Rego Park.
Darius, how are you, Dars?
I'm so excited to call
Puck soup
John Mattingly
Okay back after this
Can I feed the whole show?
Can we just like
That was the whole show
Have a nice time everybody
Good night
Your free agency happened since we last at a puck soup
But more importantly
There was bigger news
Which is that there's going to be another lockout
Oh I thought you were going to tell them the sad news
That we found out yesterday
What was that?
The Margot Robbie
news. Oh, yeah, well, let's get that out of the way first.
Yeah. Mago Robbie, unfortunately, can't fit in a Puck Soup interview in her suicide squad.
Nope. Junkets. I've never been more devastated to open an email. You seriously were devastated.
I had to talk you off the ledge a little bit for that. Because I emailed their publicist in like April or May, didn't hear back as expected. And then I set a follow up on yesterday, Tuesday.
And I got like one of those like, I'm out of the office bouncebacks. And I was like, I'm never going to hear from her. And then 15 minutes later, it was like, hey,
thanks for the inquiry, but we just can't really work it in.
But if anything comes clear in her schedule, we'll see what we can do.
And you were like, I liked it so much better when you were out of the office.
It was just, yeah, you know, like there was still hope.
Is that like a Schrodinger's box thing where it's like, if you don't look into the email, you never know if you've been rejected.
Exactly.
And then we were just rejected.
Yeah.
I tried to cheer Lozo up by saying that John Hamm has a movie coming out this fall that looks pretty funny.
And maybe he'll do the show.
I don't care.
But I don't think he necessarily sees the, yeah, I was thinking it'd be like a swap of star power,
but you, I think, see it more as Margot Robbie isn't going to be on the podcast, and you're sad about that.
I think it would have been John Ham.
Does he play hockey, John Ham?
No, he's a blues fan.
It cares.
When I talk about David Backus and Troy Brower leaving the fold, Kevin Shatt and Kirk status going forward, all sorts of things.
As a bald man, I can't be around the guy who has hair that good.
It's too traumatic for me to stare at that and just, like, think about what could.
have been if like the genetic dice fell a different way.
But Margot Robbie...
We're not selling Brill cream.
We're selling memories.
We're selling Christmas with your family.
By the way, Jeb Blund tweeted a screenshot of a Margotabie story just as we were starting this.
And it's, it might be the worst piece of writing I've ever seen.
It's like the opening to it.
It's like the very beginning of the story where it's like, you know, he set up Margot
Robbie.
Right, right.
Here, I'll read it to you real quick.
Go ahead, please.
This is Dave Lozo's Margo Rabi Corner.
This is as close as we're going to get to having her on the show.
But it's like a big drop cap A.
America is so far gone.
We have to go to Australia to find a girl next door.
Oh, Jesus.
In case you missed it, her name is Margot Robbie.
She is 26 and beautiful.
Not in that otherworldly catwalk way, but yes, she is that way.
She is.
But in a minor knock-around key, a blue mood, a slow dance.
What?
She is blonde, but dark at the roots.
She is tall, but only with the help of certain shoes.
she can be sexy and composed even while naked
but only in character
as I said she is from Australia
that's my favorite part
he's like calling back to the thing he wrote 40 words ago
to understand her you should think about what that means
Australia is America 50 years ago
sunny and slow a throwback
sunny and slow yeah this is a screenshot
I don't know what it's from
I hope it's real I could be getting Vince Scullied right now
I'm like reading a fake
I like that it's like it's like they did
a control F on Kylie Minogue
from a story about 25 years ago.
Australia is America
50 years ago.
And she was fantastic doing
locomotion, no,
Leonardo DiCaprio in the Wolf of Wall Street.
So Margo, if you come on this podcast,
we won't treat you that way.
We just want to talk about you playing hockey.
I'll give away the plan that I have now.
Since we can't get her through official channels,
what I'm going to do...
Uh-oh, is this going to be a can-app situation?
No, it's not going to be like Celtic Pride.
So I'm into it.
I'm going to go to a Rangers game
and I'm going to somehow find a way to sit next to her.
Yeah.
And I'm not going to do it formally because obviously that would be going, I would hate to go above board on publicists considering we have to work with them going forward.
You don't want to go over the top.
So I'll do the trick that I've always talked about doing in the hockey locker room, although this time I'll actually use a microphone.
You're going to snap her with the towel?
No.
I am going to use a burrito.
And what I've often wanted to do with hockey players.
Wait, what does that mean?
Don't just say that.
They'll move on to something else.
What does he use a burrito mean?
What I've always wanted to do with a hockey player is sit down with a hockey player
on one-on-one interview.
And instead of using a microphone or recorder, just use a burrito wrapped in foil and have the top
ripped open so it's clearly a burrito and just see what the reaction is.
Oh, you're not going to hide a mic in there?
No.
But at some point, at some point take a bite out of it during the interview while I'm interviewing
like Chris Kreider.
How far would you get into that Margarabbing interview before MSG security tossed you out?
I don't know.
But in that case, I would put the mic.
microphone in the burrito and just be like so a great game huh just kind of slowly move it over the
ringers are a great mix of speed size and people from all over the world much like a burrito is a mix
of all different great things as well right say did you you look like the kind of person who
might have played hockey growing up in australia am i right am i somewhere uh anywhere on the dartboard
there's always next year we'll get her next year so the even worse news is that there's
going to be a lockout oh for sure yeah so because the agents are usually the canary
in the coal mine for this. And almost every big time contract we've seen signed in the last
couple weeks has been built in with a lot of bonus money, bonus money that's guaranteed.
That's buyout protected a la David Clarkson, but also rollback protected a la the next lockout.
Yes. It's just, I mean, it was going to happen anyway, but like it took to this point to figure
out what was going to cause it. And now we know. Yeah. And it's the, it's the Stephen Stamcoe deal.
Like you see these numbers and you realize that this is going to be much more.
of an 05 lockout than it is going to be a, what was it, a 2012 lockout?
Do you think it's going to be a full season?
I don't know if it's going to be a full season, but it's going to be one of those things
where the owners are going to be crying poverty again because, you know, we have too much
money to spend it. We spend too much of it.
And it's going to be like, we got to go and roll back your salaries now and reset the dial.
It's going to be one of those.
And, like, meanwhile, like the NBA has given out, like $9 million a year contracts to like ninth men.
It is un-fucking believable how much, like, like, Dwayne Wade, as we do this
podcast was in negotiations with
Denver, right,
to sign a two-year
$50 million contract.
Oh, really?
It's that much.
I saw $2.40 from Miami.
Well, it's $2.40 from Miami.
There are guys who are signing
contracts I've literally never heard of
that are signing for like $114 million.
Because the cap went insanely high this year,
so all these, like, mediocre dudes are getting
to get paid, and it's just like.
Yeah.
And, okay, I might to look this up before the show,
but this is like the prep work that we do.
Okay.
In, oh my God.
Hold on.
on. This is actually better than I thought
it was going to be. Oh. Okay. So what was
the NHL salary cap coming out
of lockout in 0506? It was probably
like 42? Okay, it was.
Drumroll, please.
Please. As I slide through here. Oh, this is the wrong
Wikipedia page. Just keep tapping. My arms
are going to be tired as shit
by the time you find this. It's actually lower. Okay.
It was $39 million. Oh, all right. So
I was in the ballpark. Went to 44,
then to 50 the first year. So two years
then it was at 50. What do you think the
NBA salary cap was in 0506.
0506.
I'm going to say it was probably $80 million.
$58 million.
Really?
And look where it is now compared to the NHO.
Wow.
Right.
So whenever you want to tell me about record revenues,
Gary Betman's good at what he does, blah, blah, blah, blah.
I feel like this is a pretty good indicator of how one league is doing compared to how
another league is doing.
But isn't the Gary Betman praise just based on like where hockey was?
which was a small market Canadian sport,
and then they grew it into a multiple billion dollar sport
by figuring out,
people want to sit in a stadium and watch hockey games?
That's the thing, too,
is they figured out like this great way
to shake more money out of fans with the outdoor games,
and still it's just like the cap isn't moving,
the Canadian dollar and stuff.
It's funny because it's basically the same thing they used to do,
which is the way that you used to make honey,
honey, the way you used to make money, honey,
and the NHL Shughey was that you would just,
You would create a new hockey sweater every year for your team.
Like, that's how the Buffalo...
I think the Buffalo Sabres would be bankrupt right now.
We're it not for the five or six-year stretch
where they had a different jersey design each year.
But then they figured out, wait a second.
You play hockey at a baseball stadium.
And then you could sell a different jersey for the teams also?
No matter how ugly they are, someone's going to buy them.
Make this one look like one from the 1930s.
Boy, the Avalanche Red Wings ones were the worst.
But the idea is, like, okay, if we...
We had, again, this is like somebody from my hellbag was like, who's a better general manager,
Mark Bergervan or Harambe, the dead gorilla?
And so, like, I kind of thought about it, and Harambe would probably be having a better offseason.
But, like, the point is, is like, okay, everyone's like Gary Betman did this, did this, did this.
If we had a dead gorilla doing all the same stuff the last 10 years, like, what would be different?
Like, there's still be a TV deal.
There'd be a new one in Canada a couple years ago.
Everything would be pretty much the same, right?
It would be the same.
Dead gorilla wouldn't acknowledge the concussion effects for his player.
Right, he'd be like, ugh.
Woody?
That's my gorilla impression.
The dead gorilla would?
Now, is this gorilla being manipulated?
We're gonna Bernie style to make these noises?
Well, yeah, I mean, you can't have a dead gorilla, like, signing off on things.
So you have to kind of have, like, Bill Daly prop them up and, like, put sunglasses on them and stuff.
And their dead girl is just, and they're just like, Bill Dilley's like, the dead gorilla says we're going to give it all to NBC.
Really?
That's kind of stupid.
Nope.
No, sorry.
Oh, oh, dead gorilla.
we feel like Quebec City would be perfect for an expunge on team.
Doug Guerrilla says it's Vegas.
Sorry.
The girl is like at the all-star at the awards in Vegas and he's like dancing with like Bill Daly,
propping him out.
Look how alive he is.
And finally, someone who gets cheered giving out the cup.
Your point about Bergen-Van is solid, though, because since we last, the last time we had a puck soup
was the day of the Sub-Ban trade.
And since then, two other things have happened for Mark Bergevan and.
the Montreal Canadiens.
The first is the news
that he tried to sign
Milan Luchich
to come play from Montreal
which is
like the most
I've been
taxing my brain trying to think of a
scenario in which the arch
enemy, the single
it's like the Joker joining the Justice League.
There, we have a comic book writer on the show today.
Like that's the thing that he, the only thing I
could think of is like in what in what
alternate universe, would that locker room
accept Milan Luchich as one of the wrong? Why? Because Dalwice isn't there anymore,
so there won't be a murder during training camp? Well, I mean, they sign Radulov,
and they have Weber. And that's the second thing.
Right. The Alex Radulov signing for a year
in $5.75 million. Now, I got to admit
that I am someone who is extraordinarily
gullible and easily swayed.
Oh, look at my kids. Look at my kids. I'm a change man. I did.
I was on that conference call with Radulov, and he did the whole thing where it's like,
well, what's so different about you this time, curfew breaker?
And he's like, well, I had this son.
And now I live for him.
And like a single tier roll down my cheek.
And like meanwhile, I'm like reading the quotes on Twitter, like doing the jerk off my hand.
Like, yeah, okay, buddy.
Because, you know, anyone, if you have a kid, you can't possibly stay out late and miss curfew and get drunk and be irresponsible.
Well, I mean, exhibit A over here, sir, but, you know, I felt like, you know, for a second, I'm like, you know, maybe this is like, this is, life does change.
when you have a little one and all of a sudden you realize that that kid's going to grow up to one day read the internet and realize oh oh my daddy was a horrible man my daddy once stayed out late in Arizona my dad's coach checked the hotel key code somehow illegally to know he wasn't in his room like what did he even do that was so bad he just stayed out and got got drunk with uh it was with one of the castitens with just yeah one of the cistery i mean well i mean we assume if it was the ccestitans
probably also involved gun running.
Yeah, those Castitsen brothers had kind of a run there for a while.
The Castitsen brothers would have been perfect for like a smoking, a smoking aces, a sequel.
The Costitson brothers.
I don't mind it too.
I don't mind that signing.
I just, I don't know.
Like, everyone's so convinced about how good it's going to be.
But, like, he hasn't played in the NHL in four years.
He's 30 years old now, which isn't old or anything.
But, I mean, like, he's been out of the league for a long time.
It's one year.
You don't know what it's going to be.
It's one.
It's one.
Right.
It's seven.
Oh, right.
And, like.
And, like, you know, you make a mistake and you send him off to Gulag after that.
It's got more of a chance to.
Semen never had a chance to work out.
Bradilov can work out.
He could be a 55, 60-point guy next year, for sure.
But the rest of it's just like a...
And I don't even really so much mind Luchich.
Like, Luchich is like a re-like...
Okay.
Okay, let's talk about this for a second.
On July 1st, you're always going to overpay for Franz Nielsen, Milan, Luchichich, blah, blah.
But, like, you want to overpay for guys who are at least going to give you like three or four years
of value and then like Franz
Leosso turns 37, 38 is not going to look at
like I'm okay with Luchich
because he's going to put up numbers on that team
same thing with Franz Nielsen but like
David Bacchus
in what world is that ever
going to be worth $6 million a year?
It's redundant it's a
it's a pretty
so the Bruins sign Bacchus
for five years
it's a good fit between like
reputational player and reputation
of team totally blue collar
it's all it is yeah guy works sorry
he's a leader you can see him
down on the ducks. Good in the rooms. Good in the room. He'll rescue puppies and
bring them to the locker room and show them that don't step on the logo. Like, you know what I mean?
Like, it's just like, right. And he's, he had his worst year in forever last year and he looks like
there's the mileage. I mean, the only, in the short term, the first thought I had was that they
look at the penguins who they have to beat and they say, we need three good lines. How do we get
slower? And how do we make our team even slower than it already is?
Who are like, now we have someone to play against Benino.
Like, they have three good lot, three good centers now.
Or they feel like Backus is legitimately a reason why they could trade Craichy.
I think, I think they're going to use him on the wing.
I think he's going to be a top six right wing.
I don't think he's going to use him.
Oh, so he's going to be Luchich.
Because they still have Ryan Spoon.
Is that what it is?
The thought is that he's going to be Luchich?
Probably.
Minus the snob. Well, I guess he has some of the snarl.
I mean, he did once murder Duncan Keith, was it?
Who is? Remember that hit in the playoffs?
Wakey, wakey.
Well, it was, he got murdered. Oh, he got murdered. Oh, sorry. There you go. I got my murders.
No, he got, yeah, he was the murder, the murdered. He was the killer.
Not the killer. Right. The killie. Yeah, he's done some stuff. Yeah, he's, he's a total American born.
Yeah. And, and, you know, I was stunned that someone gave him five years, but I guess that's the issue in St. Louis and why he's not back there.
But let me talk, let's talk about Looch for a second, because one of the most fascinating things that happened during free agency.
was the recasting of Milan Lucchiche as Mark Messier.
As this guy who is like the fucking Genesis project from Star Trek
where you fire him into a dead planet
and all of a sudden it becomes bountiful with life and vegetation,
like he's going to go to Edmonton and they're like,
you know what,
they were a really easy team to play against,
but now they're going to be hard to play against.
And like,
they didn't have any leadership in the locker,
but now he's going to go in there and chew bubble gum and kick ass
and now he's all out of bubble gum.
Remember how like he was really out of shape that one year?
maybe it was a lockout year where they came back and like he was clearly winded after 20 seconds of shifts.
Like I mean, now that he's paid and set for the rest of his career.
But it doesn't it seem like we are revisiting the bullshit narratives of Boston Bruins' championships passed.
Like, yeah, he was an important player on that team.
And yeah, he's a real good power forward.
And I think he should do fine there.
He'll score 25.30 goals.
Maybe he can't hang with Connor, who knows, but he's good to have on the team.
And he's probably good in that room too.
But my God, like, we went from hating the Oilers for trading one of the top five left wings in hockey for a guy who might be a second-line defenseman at best to over-praising them for adding the, for some.
And then on top of it, my God, like, on top of it, the fucking fable writing that goes on now because Lucchich, the first thing he says is, I'm going to.
in there for McDavid. So now all the Oilers
can be like, there it is! The McDavid effect!
Everybody's going to come to Edmonton.
We're going to have to close our borders.
There's going to be so many people that want to come and play
for the Oilers now. We're going to have to overpay
everybody to come here now. It's going to be great.
That's going to be that scene in World War Z where the zombies
try to overrun the walls in Jerusalem.
That's all the NHL players rushing
to play with Connor. We're going to have to pour lava
on them to keep them out.
Is that a real scene from the movie?
Well, they rush the wall, but they don't have lava
in Jerusalem. Oh, what are you saying?
Jerusalem doesn't have lava?
What was that?
I'm saying it was a sheriff's star.
It was a sheriff star.
You could find it in Microsoft clip art.
That was some of the best tweets I ever saw was the pictures from Schinders list where it's like,
why did Hitler deputize all these people?
There was some good, there's some good Donald Trump.
For those listening like two months later, it's a reference that Trump's about where he
put the star of David on the Hillary podcast.
For Greg and Dave started talking about the Holocaust was kind of out of nowhere, huh?
This is going to be our last podcast probably until August.
I just realized that people do listen at different times.
So, you know, as much as our pop culture references are pretty dated, as I make that Rathakan reference from 84 before.
You know, I, you know, we occasionally have to probably spell it out there.
But did you, I mean, you seem to be a fan of the signing, though, the Lucci signing, even with the money.
As far as, like, you can be a fan of, like, bad July 1st signings, like, I think it's fine.
Like, he's young enough where you'll get enough out of that contract before.
And here's the other thing, too.
the lockouts coming.
So like what all these bad contracts, particularly now that are going to go beyond 2020,
the owners will find a way to fucking void it or get out of it.
You're right. Yeah.
And so like it's like the Shea Weber trade.
Everyone's like, oh man, if you retire, it's all going to fall on Nashville's wallet,
but they'll figure out something during the next lot of the year.
And the cap recapture would hurt Nashville.
Nashville.
But don't you think that like, it's funny, like whenever somebody does something that doesn't
seem to make sense vis-a-vis league rules.
Sometimes you're like, oh, well, it's Dale Talon with the fax machine.
Like, he clearly just is screwed up.
Right.
But then you see, like, David Poil, who's literally been a GM in this league since
maybe when I was born, he was a GM in this league.
Oh, yeah, just in general, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Don't you kind of feel like those guys know a little bit more than we do as far as what's
coming down the pike?
Oh, like, in terms of, like, the next CBA?
Oh, sure.
Or like when Lou didn't give up one of the number one picks for Colchuk.
You're just kind of like, boy, that's a, why would you not give up that pick and draft Stefan Mattoe?
And then you're like, oh, a couple years later.
Oh, because he kind of knew the things.
Because they know what's common.
Rescind the penalty.
Like, seriously, if you're the predators, you would be terrified of Shea Weber retiring in that trade.
That's like one part of the trade where you're like, but like they have to know.
Right.
The next CBA.
Everyone gets one.
Amnesty Recapture.
Exclusion, according to section four,
subset three of the
David Poil rule
here to four
forthwith in the adjudication
of the Macinations.
I hereby say we are no longer
on the hook for that Weber contract.
Why is that Dave Poil? Oh, because of the Poil
Amendment. The Poil Amendment says clearly
that if you rob the Montreal Canadiens
in a trade, you are allowed
to get away from the recapture penalty
due to the contract. It'll be like this.
It'll be like, here's the rule. If you
sign them to the contract, you're on the hook,
but if it's an offer sheet that you match
then according to sub
that that'll be the poiler rule.
Yeah.
My grandfather, you win on that.
Come back four years later,
yelled us about the whole Trump Holocaust thing
and then this thing too,
if we're right or wrong.
Like when you're watching this in reruns,
like old friends episodes.
All right.
A couple things before we give
oh, that's interesting.
A couple things before we give
a thing happened?
I'll tell you later.
A couple things before we give Steve Eisenman
a lap dance.
Because that's got to happen, obviously, for all the things the lightning event.
Let's go with the team you were most disappointed in on July 1.
Oh, man.
Disappointed in.
Disappointed in.
Either through inaction or action or what have you.
St. Louis, a little bit.
Oh, that's a good choice.
A little bit?
Florida is just weird.
I don't understand what Florida is doing.
Because, like, Tampa, everyone's like Tampa in Florida did a great job.
And I'm looking at like Tampa's contracts.
And it's like Stamcoast at 8.5, you know, headman at a really good price.
And then I look at Florida and I'm like, Vincent Trochecks, he may never score 20 goals again.
Like Riley Smith at $5 million a year, it's like, every contract they signed from Eckblad to Trochek to Smith, you look at it and they could be totally fine contracts.
But they're just like not necessary at the moment.
Like, why are you rushing to do these deals?
There's so many deals at Florida, like, Yandel.
It's too much.
Too much.
But I get it.
I get why you're doing that because you lose Brian Campbell.
You need a guy who can move the puck.
Thin market, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
I just, I don't get what the...
It just seems like they're paying a premium to re-sign their own guys when they don't need to.
They don't need to quite yet.
And then...
Because you don't know if it works yet.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, Ekblad works.
You had to do that because there's always a chance.
of an offer sheet there.
Yeah, I'm getting a little tired of hearing about offer sheets.
I'd never come.
It's like the last three summers.
I know.
Look out for the offer sheet.
I know.
That's because we had that Jacob Truba tease last week.
Wow.
What a shock.
That didn't come to fruition.
But it was just the rumor I heard.
Sometimes rumors don't come to.
Fucker.
Why don't we do that?
Why don't we become those people?
Like, just start making up shit.
Oh, I've long wanted to do that.
Like, wouldn't life be so much easier if you could
just like swallow your your professionalism and your pride and be Larry Brooks.
Right.
Just, well, I know.
Larry knows stuff.
But Larry also puts out bullshit.
I'm trying to think of an example.
I feel like he's generally...
You're talking about a step below Larry Brooks,
where there is no redeeming reporting value.
Like, at least Larry will throw out a little bit of a, of a, of a NHLPA scoop here and there.
You're talking about guys that just simply, like, spew rumors.
Just like, like, one day, if I just were to go on Twitter and be like,
sources tell me the Rangers in the Blues are discussing a Kevin Shatt and Kirk deal.
Yeah.
And then like it never happens.
Would you rather be that or would you rather be a an irredeemable hot takest?
Because I've thought about both.
Like I've, you know, at the height of Eklund's powers, I thought to myself, how exciting would it be to have an audience just by just putting out whatever bullshit you want that has maybe a grain of salt on top of a grain of sand of truth?
Well, I feel like the hot take is pays better.
I think so, too.
Like, you ain't getting on TV as a rumor monger that doesn't have rumors come true.
Right.
But if I go on TV and say, I think LeBron really did great in winning that championship.
But until he wins back-to-back ones in Cleveland, clearly not in the top 10 of all time.
And, like, you see Skip Bayless's contract to go to Fox?
Yeah.
And just say dumb shit on TV for five years.
I would do.
I would sell my soul in a.
second for half that.
Dave,
what do you think
about the Kevin Durant
contract?
You know what?
I think he,
you know,
he spent nine years
in that organization
and he really wanted
to just go somewhere
and win a title.
I don't blame him.
No, no,
no.
How do you feel about it?
Oh, he's a loser
and a traitor
and he's a bad person
and he disown the entire city of a.
But you know,
what's interesting about,
about ESPN now is like,
so cowherd's gone
and Whitlock's gone.
Yeah.
And Bayliss is gone.
You still have screaming A.
Yeah.
But like,
do they have,
like, what do they do they do now?
Do they start creating their own new strain of bailesses?
Or does the coverage on that network go back to a place where I could watch it
and then not want to throw up in my hands and then wash my face with the throw up in the hopes that my eyes will burn out?
It's never going to be the 90s again, man.
You see, that's where you're wrong, friend, because I was just listening to the gin blossoms on the radio.
And I got to tell you, man, that music is timeless.
If they come into the county fair, I'm their first row.
But Your Gras is like doing highlights and he's like,
what Eddie Vedder is to Pearl Jam?
Connor McDavid is to the Evanton Oilers.
By the way, speaking of ESPN, like,
I have to admit with Oberman on last week,
there are a few moments on this podcast that made me happier
than to see the joy of life sucked out of him
when I made my Wally Absorbine Joiner reference to Chris Burn.
That one winded me too.
That was rough.
Oh, God, it was great.
Like like, like, like, like, like,
25 years of Olberman having to hear that bullshit from Chris Berman was just like going back.
I didn't know they grew up together until we talked to him.
I had no idea.
So he's been listening to that shit for like five decades.
Oh, it was great.
It was the best.
Jeff Trash Bagwell.
Nope.
I got to workshop this.
What else do you do?
Jeff Ziploc Bagwell.
Jeff Bagmanwell.
No, I can't put it in between the entire last name.
Let's go back.
Let's go back.
Paper or plastic bagwell.
No, too long.
Jeff Grocery clerk bags.
Well, no, there's no less in there.
And, like, Oberman's like, how about, I don't know, Jeff Barf Bagwell, leave me alone.
Oh, that was what would be perfect?
That was the perfect overall response.
And then Dan Patrick's like, sorry, there's somebody talking.
I was about to sign this deal with NBC for $11 billion.
I have perfect hair, and I'm going to go do whatever I want.
I am inviting Jerome Bettis to my wedding, which is true.
And it's one of the things that made me want to never be friends with athletes.
The idea that, like, you would one day read, oh, yeah, and fucking Greg had, you know.
Mike Pelosi was out the way.
Cory Schneider was his best man.
I'm just like, and then you'd be like, that's kind of weird.
Like, I know he's a devil's fan, but, like, that's a little bit close to athletes, then you should probably be.
Like, you should become one of those, like, if you ever become, like, a super duper billionaire and, like, you can just, like, pay people to do stuff, you just pay, like, the devils to come to your wedding and, like, be in your ushers and stuff.
It's funny you should say that because I did blogs of balls one year in Toronto.
It's actually where me and Ruby got together.
Yeah, I was there.
And, oh, that's right.
Were you there?
Were you on the panel?
I was there.
There was like 25 people on the panel.
Saddam.
It's like five.
You and Barry and the curtain blog boys and everybody else.
There's no, yeah, Barry.
Yeah, the curtain block boys.
And Elliot Freedman.
Clashing up the place.
And Elliot just like telling actual interesting stories while the rest of us start.
But were you there for the session with Thusio?
Oh, it's like Tiki Barber.
Yeah.
Because that was the thing.
Like if you could rent out athletes to come and do, like go bowl.
Their big thing was like, you can go bowling with like Tiki Barber.
Like, oh man, I've always wanted a slow dance with Browning Nagel at my prom.
How much for that?
It was like the weirdest like like hoaring out of athletes I've ever seen ever.
And I don't think it doesn't exist anymore.
I don't know.
Thuseo.
Yeah, I had an interesting request.
I was hoping you guys to be able to fulfill.
Oh yeah, please go ahead.
I'd like to go bowling with Jared bowl.
Hi, this is Dave. I'm calling from New Jersey.
How much would it cost?
This is kind of weird to get Claudevillegrane to give me a massage.
Like nothing nude, but I was a huge fan in the 90s.
And just like my shoulders, 40 bucks. What do you say?
Yeah, I was wondering, how much would it cost to smoke cash with Nash?
Steve or Rick?
Probably Rick, knowing my budget.
Yeah.
How much for both, though?
Is it like a package deal?
Is it like 40 for one, 90 for the other, and like combined?
We do it for 100 because I'm a rich crazy guy and I want to do weird stuff with athletes.
That would be the greatest.
Like, all right, how about the crash line?
How much would it cost to get the crash line to paint my garage?
But for real, though, for real though.
Like, if it costs me, like, say, $45 an hour, I would hire Sean Bradley to come to Wegmans with me.
I need that oatmeal on the top shelf, Sean.
Sean there's a balloon up near the roof that my kid wants
Could you do me a solid
It's like um sir we can't we can't have him do that
You keep calling and have him do that
It's actually really embarrassing for him and his family
He's actually a really smart businessman and he's a very he's like
How much
I've got the money to make this happen
You know what
It's not my fault that I'm so tall
Wait there we go
And you're like I'm sorry Sean
But a satellite flew in front of
your face as you were speaking and I couldn't hear you.
So here's a, here's a Lawrence Taylor's Thusio page.
Oh, this is, so Thusio still is a thing.
The Thusio exists, but the website's not really in a spot where you can like click
through it and find like, but it's like Lawrence Taylor, um, $25,000 for an appearance,
which I don't know what that entails.
Yeah.
$4,000 for a tweet.
For a tweet.
Lawrence Taylor will tweet something for you for $4,000?
I'm guessing like he'd just be like, hey, Wachinsky.
at Wachinsky,
great,
you're a great guy or whatever,
and then, like,
you would give him $4,000 for that.
So the tweet is now the new
athlete will lead,
celebrity will leave your
answering machine message for you.
Like that Phil Hartman thing,
you ever hear that?
Like, it's like that.
Only this is, like, way fucking sad.
Wow.
That's incredible.
Like, Lawrence Taylor, man,
how much money did you blow
on cocaine in the 80s
where you're completely out of money?
Like, I'm saying this,
but you're kidding me,
I would tweet something for somebody
for $4.
If you have $4 and you PayPal to me,
I will tweet,
things about you that are really nice.
My biggest disappointing team was
the Red Wings, only because at the draft...
Oh yeah, we were talking about that. I forgot about we were talking to hockey.
At the draft, they cleared the decks to try to
sign Stamcoast and then didn't even talk
to him. Yeah, they kind of got...
Like, that was really kind of sad.
Kenny Holland had a weird...
Well, yeah, and I'm sorry, like the Red Wings, I know
where they are right now as a team. Like, they're young
and whatever, but like,
the Steve-Ot-Thomas Vannick signings for that team
are, you know, they're terrible.
And like, you know, because here's the thing, right?
If you replace those words with, what would be the, what would be the, the comparison to Steve
odd at this point?
If you compare, if you replace those words with, um, a garbage can't someone's head on fire.
Zen and Konopka and Jonathan Chichu, you'd be real disappointed, right?
Yeah.
Well, guess what?
They basically sign Zen and Konopka.
No, no, no, no.
And Jonathan Chichu.
Everyone's like Rattle off or Radulov.
We got to get it.
We got to get like a pronunciation.
guide for some of these NHL players like Likis and Litchki, but like Radjoloff, everyone's like,
oh, he's Semin.
Like, Vanik is Semin.
He's, he's, he's, he's not, he's not going to be worth.
He's in that, he's, he's, he's a loss.
There's a certain class of goal scorers that become just bad players.
He's very Danny Heatley.
Jonathan Chichu.
Semin was like that.
I mean, and again, like I know, I know that like bringing up Simon as a bad player is going to kick
the hornets nest of analytics people but like that's kind of like he vanics in that class of guys who
used to be on top of the world 40 goal guys that aren't there anymore he just and we'll never get
back there like he's just a lot of mileage he was never like a sniper he was more like a you know
find the quiet spot in front of that guy he's yeah it's just not gonna this the signing i like
least by the way because i just don't like this guy as a player and maybe i'll get proved wrong
now that he's going to be playing with like kater and and and thornton is michael baudiker like
Like four years, $16 million for Bodker.
I never really liked this game.
Did the NHO void that deal, by the way?
Why?
Because it was like too front-loaded.
I thought I saw that tweet yesterday.
This is this kind of show prep that we do
or in the middle of our
Bodker, you know, I don't see anything.
I thought I saw a General Fanager tweet
where they were like that the contract was voided
because like it didn't fit the percentages
that it's supposed to be in terms of like a multi-year deal.
That's kind of fun.
Let me see.
Can you go to general?
Hang on, folks.
This is a professional.
broadcast where we're totally prepared for all this sort of stuff i didn't like that one um but you know
for the most part like here here's the thing that happened on july one like there was a little bit of
crazy but there was also a lot of things that made some sense and also i'm really happy that
there was that much much action because as a guy who's been on the trade deadline show on sports
that before when there was fuck all happening that was bad this year um like
At least there was stuff going on.
Like, you didn't, you didn't, we were watching TSN here, me and Leahy during it.
And, and they only got to the, to the fourth level of panel, the Bruce Arthur, Steve Simmons panel, like, three times, maybe.
The grinder, the grinder line.
The Grindr line had, the Bruce, and not to say their fourth line, well, one of them is the fourth line.
Not to say that, like, it was Bruce Farber and Simmons.
But, like, the rest of the time, they were spending it with Duthy and then the trade breakers and then whatever that other one is.
the Ray Ferraro, Pierre-Miguire panel, or whatever the hell it is.
Right.
They didn't get to that fourth one a lot, and then John Scott came on a few times.
So there was a lot of action.
But you seem like you found the thing you were looking.
Well, his original deal had to just be reworked because it violated the 35% very
variable.
But they fixed it.
It's fine.
The thing that I hate the most about free agency is every single big contract sucks
to people, whether it's Bacchus, Luch, Nielsen.
But every, like, Jonathan Marsh is so a contract.
It's like, wow.
Great value.
Yeah.
Like Michael Bauer, Michael, Michael Grabner, Nathan Gerby.
Yeah.
Like all these guys like that.
Like Teddy Purcell.
Oh my God.
Those are the best deals of the day.
Those guys are not going to make the difference from one way or the other.
You know, like they're good to have.
They're positive players, but it's just everybody, like Thomas Vanek.
Oh, my God.
Like Thomas Vanek, the hockey player, hasn't changed.
It's just his contract has.
He's still the same dude that's in steep decline, but it's like they see that price in there.
They're just like, oh, man, that could totally be worth it.
I love that deal.
People love the idea of like a bargain.
more than just overpaying for the guy that's going to actually do stuff and not be worth it.
Try me nuts.
All right.
Steve Eisenman, quick story.
One year at the All-Star game, I want to say it was or the draft.
I forget which one it is.
Probably the draft.
I was out at dinner with Scotty Waz and Leahy and a few people.
Waz hosts a really good podcast.
You should check out.
I called the Face Off Hockey Show.
And we were in this restaurant.
And we were blessed with something that a table of boys
always hopes for it, a restaurant, which is
naked waitresses.
This is close.
The single hottest waitress
maybe in the city.
And she came over to our table,
she took our drink orders,
and we were so excited.
We were like, this is great.
Of course.
To grace these out of shape,
thugly nerds with your presence.
It's just great.
It was the only time that we saw her that evening.
Another wait-her took over for her
and bought us her drinks
and then facilitated the rest of our visit at this restaurant.
And it became apparent why later in the evening
as we looked over to a table across the way,
saw our beautiful young lass at the pub,
serving another table, and at the head of that table,
Stephen F. Iserman.
Wow.
And we said to ourselves, selves, we are not Steve Iserman.
And this is underlined and underscored,
an exclamation pointed now.
So, like, my question is,
what's Eiserman doing in a red robin?
He's a wealthy man.
Well, you know, bottomless fries, Dave.
I mean, you know.
Steve Eisman waits out Stephen Stamcoast,
praise upon the idea that he wants to stay in Tampa,
gets him at 8.5 through 2024,
re-signs Victor Hedman,
under $8.75 million through 2025 million through 2025.
barely more than neckblad, by the way.
Yeah, Vaseleski 3.5 million through 2020.
Kind of a weird.
Kind of a weird deal.
Bies out, Matt Carl.
Well, it's the deal saying that they don't want to pay Ben Bishop.
I get it.
It's just still.
It's a little too much.
But it's still good.
I cannot believe he pulled off all this stuff.
Especially the headman one.
Like, when last you and I met, like, you know,
Stamco's deal was going to be like the lighthouse.
You know, it's going to guide the ships in.
He's the captain.
And everybody will take less.
And usually we're all like, that's horse shit.
But this time, it wasn't.
Like, he just got, he just got everyone to fall in line behind him.
He just really did.
Like, it's one thing where Stamco signs were 8-5 and, like, say you're Kuturoff and you're
like, buddy, I don't deserve more than 8-5, but I deserve, I deserve seven.
I'm awesome.
And then, like, Hedman's like, no, we should all take less.
And then Kuturoff's, like, probably like, okay, we should all take less.
Like, it's just an amazing trickle-down effect that's going to happen now there where,
like, they're probably going to, the only bad thing Eisenman's done the last couple
years is Ryan Callahan.
Who's Callahan?
That's going to cost them for.
And Fulupil.
Bula.
To go back to your pronunciation
rant before.
It came in a little bit high too.
But like, um...
He does stuff.
Well, I mean, Carl was a mistake, but that's a mistake that you can take care of.
Yeah.
Actually, wow.
Eisenman's a really bad Gia.
No, he's not even breaking.
And the thing about this, this lightning thing that's amazing is that like, it's not
like Kevin Durant going on in the Warriors where like you have to win 74 games next year and
the championship for it to be a success.
Like, the lightning can literally wait until 2,000.
2022 to win a cup and it's still within their window they got time now it's crazy like they're
gonna lose one of their forwards to the expansion draft or to like some sort of wake to get something
from them like in a trade or something but like if they lose cologne after next year because of it
that's that's fine there's nothing wrong with that so praise the c v i'serman all right coming up on the show
we're going to talk about dustin brown you wanted to talk about what you had something in your
craw too that you wanted to talk about oh uh human garbage can shawne
Human garbage can show on Avery.
And also your listener mail and also the top eight things to eat at a barbecue and or a cookout.
Which we had to specify before because when I...
Instead of you, we should say consume.
Yeah.
Because I originally pitched this list and you thought it was like the top eight things that you can barbecue.
I was confused.
Beef.
Chicken.
Right.
I was confused.
Wait, is a steak beef?
I was both confused and really wanted to go to one of your cookouts because I was like,
If he's got eight different forms of food that you can eat at a barbecue,
like I'm totally going to go to this place.
This is awesome.
We'll be right back.
Well, the bad news is that the guest that we were going to have on the show today
got stuck in horrific traffic on the GW bridge.
They couldn't make it today.
But we're going to have them on later.
We don't want to give away.
We'll have them on again.
The good news is that Dave Lozo, through his amazing Sherlock Lake snooping abilities,
has been able to figure out the mystery of the Margot Robbie paragraph
from the first segment of the show.
I magically Googled Vanity Fair and Margarabi
when I found the story.
Sir, you Yahoo did I believe?
Oh, sorry, I binged it.
Is that a Yahoo property?
I think we're still partners with Bing.
Yeah, sure.
I don't know there's still a Yahoo search thing.
Of course.
Great company, invest.
So that Margarabi story, as you probably all know
now, is from Vanity Fair.
It's a Vanity Fair.
And it was written by Rich Cohen, who co-created
the atrocious HBO show Vinyl.
Right.
and has written some very purple prose.
Do you have any more purple prose about Margo Robbie?
I'll just scan through it.
There's a lot of we in this.
Like a lot of like we're together.
Like we get it.
You're writing about her.
Yeah.
Some quotes.
Yeah.
A few weeks later, she was famous, period, in Australia.
He seems to be very infatuated with the fact that she's Australian.
Yeah.
You know, and that's fine.
I guess.
She's also a pretty good actress.
Although, what the hell was she doing in a Tarzan movie?
Yeah, I'm never going to see that.
It seems like that's one of those movies where they gave a lot of money to some people to be above the title.
No, it's not that.
It's bullshit that, like, I'm in that movie the whole time, and they, like, take my head off and they put Scars Gar's head on my ripped mussely bottom.
Right.
Right.
Like, I worked out eight hours a day for six months for that role, and apparently my acting wasn't good enough.
But, like, you know, it's cool to see my ripped muscley body.
muscular back carrying Margo around, but it's just, you know, I'm not getting paid for it. It's just
bullshit. That movie is interesting to me because it's not a Tarzan origin story where he's like
Lord Greystoke and he's dropped off in the jungle. Like he's already been Tarzan and then he goes
back to civilization, but has to somehow go back to being Tarzan. It's one of those man versus
whatever stories. It's also one of those things where it doesn't make a lick of goddamn sense why
why they keep on bringing back these old cereal, old cereals like and try to make them,
you know, like, no one gave a shit about the Lone Ranger.
They put a bird on Johnny Depp's head and no one gave a shit about the Lone Ranger.
I like that movie.
It was a terrible movie.
I liked it.
I don't know why.
And then no one's going to give a shit about Tarzan.
No one gave a shit about John Carter from Mars.
Like, we, I feel like we're coming to the end of like a decade-long stretch of just, like, recycling stuff.
And we're eventually going to get to like this new golden era of movies where new stuff will happen.
But what new stuff?
You see, I was just thinking about that the other day.
I don't know.
Whenever they try something new, it fails miserably.
Jupiter ascending could have been a universe, right?
But no one wanted to go see it.
Well, that was bad.
That was a really bad movie.
But here's the thing that's going to happen.
Just like we have Star Wars movies now, again, God bless.
Yeah, great.
You know what's going to be the next thing?
Like 10 years from now?
Um, what?
Harry Potter.
Oh, fuck off.
No.
But these are going to be the Harry Potter movies that really adhere to the vision of J.K.
Rowling in the books.
Harold Potter in the Midlife Crisis.
No.
It's going to be one of two things.
It'll be a reimagining of the original Potter books,
or it's going to be catching up with Harry and his kids some years down the line.
New boy wizards.
Harold Potter.
Harry's like the headmaster at Hogwarts.
Harold Potter and the lower back pain.
Harold Potter and the stuck in middle management.
Harold Potter and the dissatisfaction of a midlife crisis.
Like, I mean, come on, man.
Like, seriously.
like we just
Hey you want to see a magic trick
I can make this beer
Turn into a 16 ounce
I hate you dad
I'm a fucking magic man
I'll fucking wave this one and send you back
to your room young lady
Yeah that's what I want to watch in a movie
Go back to your room
You Randy Tart
You're lucky your mother's not here to see this
Because I accidentally killed her when I was drunk
With my magic
Look I'm only gonna say this once
Yeah
a fucking wizard.
You can't keep your room clean and you're a wizard.
Like, there's, literally you could just say,
expecto clean orus, and the room is fixed.
Why don't you do it?
Clean orris, that sounds like that.
Can't find the clean oris in the book.
It's only a rumor.
It works.
The thing, too, that I've noticed is, like,
I don't know if this was, like, a thing in the 70s and the 80s,
but, like, I feel like we don't get a lot of new movies or,
new things because all the same actors work with all the same writer directors and everything like cluny's
always going to be in a solderberg thing like tarantino's got his same guys and like everything else is
just like a superhero remake reboot well it's just that that that's part of the thing is like there's new
the new things are going to be extensions of the marvel universe until once again as i said about
harold potter there's going to be like a new iron man in like 10 years
it's going to be like just a new Iron Man
they're just going to be like we're going to reboot Iron Man
with Zach Efron
It's so weird that he won't even need the suit
Because he's that chiseled
He works out a lot
You want to talk about a dude that worked out
Works out too much
Like I feel like he's he's working out too much
And he's not picking his movies as closely
He's not judging the movies as well as he could be
But like it's weird too that like
We're in an age where there's like all superhero movies
And like
Technically Ben Affleck has played both Superman and Batman
in his career. Chris Evans has played
the Human Torch and Captain America
yeah. Like there's, there has
to be, we have to like get more fresh ideas
where it's just like, I got an idea,
what is it? The superhero movie.
Who can we get to play it?
How about that guy who was in that
superhero movie, you know, six?
All right. Like, at least
like Harold Potter's putting out that Swiss Army
man where he plays a dead guy who farts the whole time.
Well, Harold Potter at least has tried to be
have a career as an actor.
Yeah, like I get it. And the problem is that
like you get a guy like Chris Hemsworth that tries to do the same thing.
Like he was in a movie, a Ron Howard movie where they're fighting a giant whale.
And it was like based on Moby Dick.
And it made about as much money as this podcast will.
And like, $10 million?
Oh my God.
Good for you, Chris.
I watched Black Hat for the first time the other day.
Wasn't that the other Hemsworth or was that Chris?
Oh, it was Chris.
That was Chris.
Chris Hemsworth is not.
I always thought it was great how like British people could just slide into the American
accent like super easily like Chris Hemsworth's fighting it with like everywhere he says in the movie
yeah it's like it's like I just got them watching uh the first season at daredevil on Netflix
because I'm way behind the curve on that and Charlie Cox the guy who was on boardwalk empire
uh thank you he's like Irish or whatever and like he's supposed to be grew up in hell's kitchen
and also he does not sound like Joe Mullen he sounds like an Irish guy trying not to sound Irish
some it's just too hard for something like I was again I was watching a movie for the
time I'd never heard of it. It's called
Dark Blue, where, like,
it takes place like four days before
the Rodney King verdicts. Oh, wow.
And I'd never heard of it, never heard of it.
And Brendan Gleason plays, like, the head of the
LAPD, and he's fighting it.
Every word he says is a little bit mixed mold, and then
English, and then, no, not anymore. And now it's back again.
And go kill that. I mean, go kill that. It's just so,
it's just hard. Not everybody
has the flawless ability to do an accent like I do,
so I don't want to judge anybody.
Captain, what's the best way to go find the perp?
Oh, you're going to take La Brea.
Oh, throw some cups on him and throw them into the goddamn brig.
It's not a brig.
We're not going to ship.
Throw him in jail, you mean, right?
The saddest part of that movie is when he was looking up with that tree and that zombie blood got into his eye.
He told his family to leave and I'm going to cry right now.
He was like, I want to kill the Colon and Federal.
He killed the priest and a child.
God, Bruges is such the greatest movie.
This is a really good hockey podcast.
We got to do.
Dustin Brown did a.
did a conference call because he is the deposed captain of the Los Angeles Kings.
You're fired.
And he said a lot of things in this conference call.
And he said, for example, Brown said, this is from Josh Cooper's story, Brown said he understood the decision he respected it,
but didn't appreciate how news of this choice leaked to the media while he was going over particulars with the Kings on the leadership transition.
I'm pretty sure my wife and my friends don't have people's numbers to leak it, and they wouldn't leak it.
It was just disappointing how it all unfolded from my perspective.
We were kind of going through the process of figuring it out, and it wasn't like a 15-minute meeting, and that was it.
I probably talked to Dean Lombardi for like 20 minutes, to two hours, five or six times.
It's like, what, 12 hours?
Jesus Christ.
It was a process, and it leaked kind of in the middle of that process, and quite honestly, I thought that it should have been addressed then, and it was pretty awkward.
and stressful for about two to three weeks.
Dustin Brown is going to be an amazing member of the Las Vegas Black Knights, by the way.
He's going to be a leader for that team.
I mean, he is going to get plucked in that expansion draft quicker than you can say Dustin
Brown, former captain.
Him and Matt Moulson are the two guys.
I would bet lots of money on being on that Vegas team when it happens just because of
the situation, the teams, the contracts.
Right.
But like, I kind of, do you feel bad for him?
Like, here's the thing.
Like, Dustin Brown has been the captain of that team forever.
But if you asked a hundred Los Angeles who the captain of the kings are, was, most of them would probably say...
The who?
Doug Christie.
They have a hockey.
They would probably say Drew Doudy.
And before that, they might have said Mike Richards.
Right.
You know?
But, like, I get the one part I got was...
Now they would probably say Angie Colbertar.
What you say?
Now they probably say I don't say Colbertar because he is a captain.
But, like, at the point he means...
made where he's like, it would be one thing if like
the team got together and was like
this guy shouldn't be captain anymore, he'd be like
okay, I get it, but like the fact that like management
just fucking because they've had two shitty years
in a row, like let's change the captain.
Like I can kind of see his point.
The thing about Dustin Brown that I've always
found really fascinating by the way is that
like, and you heard this not only on the download
but also kind of inferred by his teammates.
Like he's never been one of the boys.
Like it's hard for me to imagine a captain
of a team not being one of the boys.
boys, but he's not.
He's like, he's like a dad.
He's like a husband.
Like he doesn't hang with, with that, which again, at the end of the day is probably to
his benefit, considering what the Kings went.
Come on, Dustin.
We're going to the border.
Don't look in the trunk.
Yeah.
That's the other thing, too, is like Dustin Brown's wondering how things leak out in the LA
Kings organization.
Really?
Like, that's the one thing I would know for sure.
Like, oh, yeah.
Look at that.
Sources tell the post that he had.
75 pounds of meth in his car.
And then, like, it turns out, it's just baby formula for the kids.
That's all it is.
Sources tell the post that he actually burned his contract at the border in front of the border guards, saying, meth is more important to me than my contract.
Two years removed from the whole loyalty thing.
Oh, I'm just loyal to a fault.
But that's so, it's not a surprise.
But, but how, I mean, what do you do that?
Like, wouldn't you just, like, he's got a no trade of 10 teams.
Like, wouldn't you just throw that in the trash and be like, I got to get out of here now?
Because where's he going to go?
I'm so not important.
Like, wherever he goes, he's probably going to be there for one year before he goes to Vegas.
Like, they're kind of just stuck.
They're stuck with him for a year.
That was the other thing.
Like, first segment we talked about that.
We talked about the July 1st stuff.
That was the other thing, too.
Like, the jockeying for Vegas was interesting.
Like, Darren Helms' contract to me is a Vegas contract.
Like, he has got a five-year deal.
And there ain't no way that they need him on a five-year term.
But you know who might?
Vegas.
for a speedy penalty killer.
Yeah, like, I feel like every goalie's going to Vegas.
There's a lot of bait in the hook.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But, like, Darren Howl.
I, like, I saw, like, one of our questions, I don't know if we're going to do it or not.
We shouldn't do it.
But one question was like, it was just like, when are you going to do an expansion draft?
And, like, I did one three weeks ago, but they were telling you to do one.
But it's like, if you do one now, like, you're just one ducks trade away from having to do a new one again.
Like, you don't know what's going to be.
Like, the lay in the land come, like, the end of June is, of course,
going to be Greg Wischinski is the greatest lay in the land.
But I'm bummed.
Hey, all right.
But, like, there's going to be dudes signs, traded, hurt, bought out.
I love thinking about Vegas, going to Vegas next week.
Interviewing for the GM job.
Don't tell anybody.
That's an exclusive to the Puck Suit podcast.
But, like, Dustin Brown's going to be of Las Vegas general.
Las Vegas.
And Black Knight.
But I also, I also thought, I'll fully admit that I got this one wrong.
I thought that James Reimer signing with the Panthers was...
So he could be dangled, but I think it's...
Luongo didn't have a no move. He has a no trade.
But...
I was...
Me and Yost were going back and forth on Twitter about this.
Let's say next year, Luongo has the same year he already had this year.
And there's no secret thing where he's like, I'm going to retire soon or whatever.
And he's just...
He should have been a Bezina finalist history.
He should have.
He's a president of final...
He's still pretty damn good.
Right.
Let's say he has like a 928.
Panthers get to the conference.
finals with Roberto Luongo.
How do you not protect Luongo going into the next year when you've signed all these dudes
this summer to sort of like go for it now?
Yeah.
You're going to like, you're going to let him leave.
At the very least, you bait the hook with Rimer in the hopes that someone else doesn't get
taken too, especially on the blue line.
Well, I mean, there's only going to be two always drafted, right?
Right.
That's the way it works.
Maybe like that, yeah.
But like if you, if you leave, like I think they would probably gamble, I guess, now that I
thought about it is they would probably protect Rimer and say, I dare you to take
Luongo in that contract and they wouldn't do it.
That's kind of what I think they would do.
You wanted to talk about how Sean Avery is a piece of shit.
Great.
I mean, he's the height of comedy.
He's a comedic genius where he woke up one day and said,
I have an idea for a bit.
I'm going to go walk around New York and wake up homeless people and ask them for the time.
Because the joke is, as a homeless person, they don't really have much in the way of property,
don't have a watch.
And they're asleep.
So even if they do have a watch, they're going to be all groggy and homeless.
and not know what time it is.
And on top of all that,
I'm going to put it on Snapchat,
help the brand,
help the social media world
as Sean Avery
at the expense of laughing
at homeless people.
I also read somewhere.
How fucking deranged are you as a human being
where that is your idea to do?
Like, Sean Avery is a millionaire.
You can do whatever he wants.
I'm going to go wake up homeless people
and ask them what time it is.
I remember also reading a thing that said
that like he was
tired of people asking him what time it was in New York
like walking around the city
so this was also his response to that
are they homeless people asking him are they like
I don't revenge well I mean I think everybody's a homeless person to
Sean Avery like that's not Sean Avery
or Andy
Andy from Bravo
Andy Cohen there it is I just
I don't it's like I
someone someone tweeted at me the other day and said how do you
do you possibly still defend this piece of shit
based on what he did with these homeless people?
And like, I come back to this thing about Avery.
I'll defend him as a player to the end
because I think that he had value as a player
before he became kind of clownish towards the end.
And I'll defend him in the sex joke suspension
because that was ridiculous
that he got suspended for that.
It was fucking bad.
It was bad, but come on.
But come on.
It wasn't like he fucking came out of the fucking showers
had his coat on and it was just like hey you guys
put your cameras on because again
he thought of like a really funny idea he wanted to you
that was fucking stupid right it was stupid but at the
same time it's like when we when we all get
this is before the department of player's
safety stopped suspending people
yeah this is back when they were suspending a lot of people
the NHL that is
that was one of those things where you're like
oh my god this guy took his stick
and kabonged the other guy on the head like he was
captain fucking caveman
but he got less games than the guy who told
the sex joke and like that was
thing about it that I hated. Like, they gave
him, what was it, six games?
It ended up being six. It was like
indefinite and then they whatever appealed it or
got it down the same. And I know it was because
he's an asshole and I know it was because he needed
therapy, sure, but like, at the same time
it's like, come on. You already had a past and everything.
But like, again, like if,
like, dude, imagine if some dude went on a podcast
and said something about your fiancé.
I'd be really upset about it. What would you want to
have happened to that guy? I would take
care of my own. Like real
man. Greg vigilante would just go over there.
I would say, excuse me, sir, do you think we should, and I'll push up my glasses, step outside.
If you're running a sports league, you can't have your players going in front of the camera
and, like, referencing, you know, having sex with other players' girlfriends that you used to date.
Like, you can't do that.
And, like, and not only that, like, just, again, it's like the Rick Riley tweet from yesterday,
from Tuesday where he made the comment about Kate Upton.
Do you see that tweet?
Yeah, I did.
Like, everything about that joke is bad.
He said everything.
He said Kevin Durant going to the Golden State Warriors was like putting a third boob on Kate Upton.
Which is gross.
Which is gross.
Which I said, you know, a lot of people are very upset about Rick Riley and using this tweet as further evidence that he's garbage.
But I just think that this tweet reinforces the fact that he's never seen total recall.
There's no way anyone could have not seen total recall.
I think that's the thing is like the like the premise to the like that's the thing.
Like the Sean Avery premise and the Rick Riley premise.
Don't even make any fucking sense.
We're like, if Kate Upton gets naked in front of you and she has a third boob, you're like,
oh, get out.
Oh, what a mutant.
Don't touch me.
Yuck.
Ew.
Oh, geez.
More like Kate Upchuk.
Right.
And Sean Avery woke up one day and is like, oh, man, that guy's currently having sexual intercourse with a woman I've had sexual intercourse with.
I got a really funny idea for after the morning skate.
It's a pretty terrible thing.
If they had suspended him for that game for his own protection, that's fine.
It was the long-term suspension that I thought was a couple-old.
history, the Jason Blake's stuff.
Yeah, sure.
Oh, he's, he's a garbage.
He's like, he really needs help.
Right.
And, but the, like, the homeless thing is just so, it's demented.
It's beyond the pale.
But the, the problem I have with Avery when he played is, is, as far as, like, people
portraying him as garbage is this.
I didn't agree with the sloppy second suspension.
And I didn't agree with the NHL inventing a rule because he found a way to distract a
goal with his.
stick that wasn't covered in the rulebook.
And it takes them five years to enact any rule in this league, except for that one time
where they invented a rule in the rule book that said, oh, and by the way, you can't wave
your stick in front of the goal's eyes.
And it didn't result in a goal either.
It didn't.
It came out of the zone and came back in and he was.
It was genius.
Right.
No problem with that.
We've had a hundred years of pricks trying to figure out ways to get under people's
skins.
And not only is it the goalie he called fatsoe, but he found a way to do it.
and they had to invent a rule.
Totally.
I think that should be a thing.
It's like when you defend a basketball player trying to shoot and you put your hand in front of his eyes as he goes up.
Right.
That's just a way to defend the guy.
It's a way to get in his head.
Right.
Totally okay with him doing that to.
Yeah, I hated that too.
But he was a shitty, sick of a hockey player.
I've told this story on the other podcast, but I've not done it here.
And I feel like it's a new audience, so I'll tell it here.
Avery was going to write for us on Puck Daddy.
And he was going to write for us in the year in which he made the sloppy second
joke and we had his first column
it was going to be a deal where much like this
podcast it was going to be anything but
hockey and his first piece
for us for Buck Daddy was going to be a piece about
a band that he really liked and it was going to be a review of their album
and what it means to him and I read
the piece and it was fine he actually wrote it
it wasn't like as told to Greg Wischinski
like it was the thing that Avery wrote and it was
good this band was better than making fun of homeless
people on the internet so it is
ready to rock and roll and go
on our website
on like a Wednesday or whatever it was
and like and we were super excited
and it was going to be a thing that ran in the morning
and it was going to be one of those big splashes
Sean Avery writes for Puck Daddy
it's like holy shit this is the perfect marriage
between an asshole writing for a site I hate
you know and then so
Sean Avery
right
yes
so I'm actually driving to a Caps game
when I get a call
from somebody at Yahoo
and they're like did you hear the news
I'm like what
They're like, you remember that thing that Avery said earlier today about the sloppy seconds?
Like, yeah, man, it was huge.
Like, it's going to be so big to have this guy on our site tomorrow being that he's so notorious now.
They're like, yeah, they suspended him indefinitely for it.
And they're like, yeah, I go, shit.
So I go to the Caps game and I get on the phone and I call, I call, like, I send Avery a message, right?
I think I called him.
I send him a message.
I'm like, hey, like, this is really big news, you know.
And I kind of feel weird, like, your debut column being about a band
when the rest of the world is waiting for you to comment on this, and you haven't yet.
And so I was wondering if maybe you could just, like, spit a paragraph out about the suspension or whatever.
And then we can just kind of, like, tack it on the end or whatever.
And he wrote back and he's like, no, man, I'm cool.
So I go back to Yahoo, I'm like, yeah, Avery doesn't really want to talk about the gigantic newsbreaking suspension he just got.
So I don't know what we should do.
And they're like, well, we probably shouldn't run his column because it's dumb to do that when he's like in the news.
And we're going to look like a bunch of assholes running this music review by this guy who just got a suspension for saying it's another player in the league has his sloppy seconds.
Can't get enough soul asylum.
And so we held it.
And eventually, like, when he got done with the suspension, he's less like, yeah, I'm not into this gig anymore.
That was the only thing you ever did?
Yeah.
He never wrote another thing for us, and it never published.
Oh, really?
Because we felt so weird about publishing this thing at a time when he needed to, like, the whole bit was that he was going to get paid to write for us.
So, like, if you're going to pay it to write for us, you should write about the thing that is newsworthy, even if it's not the band.
So I still have that column somewhere in my email
We've never published it before
And we never published anything from him
Henceforth
Yeah so that was the sloppy seconds thing
Killed his career as a puck-duddy columnist
Was the story
That's fair
Yeah, right?
That's fair.
Exactly
So here's the thing
About this podcast
This episode of the podcast
Besides it being a free skate with me and Dave
It is happening in
July. It was going to be the last podcast until we reconvene in August for one, which means that
it's the summer. And being the summer, Lozo and I had decided to piece together a top eight list
for you, personal preferences, the top eight food items that you would consume at a cookout
and our barbecue. Got a list. His top eight, my top eight. We don't know what each other
wrote. There will probably be some crossover of some sort.
And here we go, ladies and gentlemen.
From your friends of Puck Soup,
hopefully you're playing along at home.
We'll give you a moment to compile your own top eight list.
Okay, there it was.
Okay, there you go.
Top eight foods at a barbecue slash cookout.
Number eight for me, Dave Lozo.
Barbecue chicken legs.
Like a drumstick.
Jesus.
So like if someone were to give you a barbecue chicken breast?
No.
No.
That's the best part of the chicken.
A drumette, something you could hold in your hands,
finger food.
I tend not to eat
barbecue chicken at a cookout
because I find it to be really dried out
on the grill most times
and most people don't know how to cook it
by continually lathering on the barbecue sauce
but where I to eat a piece of chicken
at a cook at it would be a drumstick
and that is my number eight.
Okay, my number eight's beer.
Any?
Now, specifically not your dad's root beer.
I'm a big fan of that beer.
You ever have that?
No, I have it.
The alcohol, it's root beer,
but it tastes like root beer,
but it's alcohol.
You know what I've been drinking?
Fantastic.
I've been drinking.
I've been drinking.
I've been drinking the spiked seltzer.
Have you had that yet?
No.
So it's a flavored seltzer, like orange lime, cranberry, and grapefruit are the flavors.
It's basically seltzer with vodka in it.
I was going to say it's like a vodka ton of it.
Yeah.
And it's like it's less filling than beer.
So a lot of like pretty people are drinking it.
See, like the thing about the root beer is you can't, you can't put down like eight of them at a barbecue.
You have to have like one or two.
They're super sweet, but they're like a really nice start to the day.
It's refreshing.
It's cold.
It's flavorful.
It's a good way to get your barbecue on.
It's like you're having a soda, but also having booze.
And also getting drunk outside.
Right.
And it doesn't have the stigma of a jack and coke.
Yeah.
You can't just like show up to a barbecue and everyone's having light beer and you're like,
what's the hardest thing you got in the fridge?
But you really crack the coat on this one.
Like, Spike Seltzer is essentially vodka tonic.
A spiked root beer is essentially, you know.
What you would make in college when you had no oxygen?
alcohol mixers. You just need to put something together
real quick. Number seven on my list is potato
salad. I am not a fan of
coleslaw, except if it's like the dry
kind that you get on a Permani Brothers sandwich
in Pittsburgh. I am not a fan
of macaroni salad. I find that to be
just a stupid food. It's always
watery. But a good
red-skinned potato salad
with a good mayo to potato ratio
with maybe some celery thrown in there really
hits the spot for me at a cookout.
I'm a little too hung over to do this part of the show
You're going to talk about mayo sitting out in the sun at a barbecue.
No, okay, granted.
It doesn't really jive very well with the...
I'm assuming that there's some covering here that we're not having this cookout, you know, in the fucking plains of the U.C.
United States.
Like, I'm assuming there's, like, a tenting or a roof over a porch where the potato salad isn't in constant contact with the sun.
Look at you.
Look at you in your regal cookouts with tents.
tense and specially
barbecued season legs
I'm just like
showed up like a package of sausage
I'm just like cook this
I'm gonna eat it
All right what's number six for you
Or seven for you right
Number seven is sour patch kids
Sour Patch kids
What?
My barbecues are way better than yours buddy
Sour Patch kids are a fantastic little treat
To sort of like build you up towards
It's like an appetizer
You don't just show up at the barbecue
And be like give me a hot dog
You kind of want to have like a little snacks
Like you know your your chips or your dip or whatever
Sour Patch Kids should be at every single outdoor function,
whether it's a birthday party, whether it's a barbecue.
Delicious.
Yeah, I can only assume that we've had root beer and sour patch kids
that number six in your list will be a bouncy castle.
Like, hey.
Don't you judge my lifestyle, okay?
Number six on my list is a hot dog sandwich.
If I had to specify a hot dog for the sandwich,
I guess I'd probably, my favorite to cook,
because I think they're easy to cook,
is a ballpark frank, like a bun length ballpark prank.
I like Nathan's, but I sometimes find them to be a little bit garlicky for my tastes.
I'm not a fan of Nathan's fries.
I could eat pounds or pounds of them.
The hot dogs are a little too garlicky, right?
They're also just like, I don't like how they're prepared.
I don't like how they come off on a grill.
Like a hot dog off a grill has to be cooked in a certain way where it's not like crunchy.
You know what I mean like that?
You take that first bite and it's just like.
And all it, like when my dad cooks them and you have to, you actually have this like sheath of burnt that the dog is sitting in and you have to crack it open.
It's kind of, it always reminded me.
of the in Ghostbusters when the when the when the when the when the keymaster and the and the
gatekeeper are they they turn into like the the ashen statues of the gargoyles that they are
and they kind of bust out of it that's how my dad cooks the hot dog like inside the burnt
sheath is is is is is is is dana uh apparently and now in the new ghostbusters that's
going to be ruined for you because they probably won't do that well be a guy named don played by by
uh dennis weaver wow thank you here's my next one yes
the vegetable platter with blue cheese dip.
That's a solid shit.
Fuck, I did not have a vegetable platter on here, and that's a great choice.
Trying to eat healthy at the barbecue, right?
You want to, like, kid yourself into saying, like, oh, man, I've had, like, two burgers and, like, a bunch of chicken.
Well, you know what, if I dip this celery in blue cheese and then just pour it down my face, like, that's healthy.
Like, a little celery, little broccoli, some carrots.
Now, do you see celery and or wings occasionally as a delivery system for blue cheese?
because that's kind of how I treat them sometimes.
Yeah, I mean, well, see, I don't, I'm more of a dry wing guy.
Okay.
I see it as a delivery system for vegetables, depending on the piece of pizza.
If you get a little exotic, a little blue cheese, the buffalo pizza.
I just, I was in the Finger Lakes this weekend for July 4th, and thanks for everybody for having a, we had some really fun times up there with some people that we met at various places.
I had the worst pizza I've ever had, but it was only redeemed by, by the blue, by having a blue cheese dip for the crust.
I want to say it's called Mike's Pizza.
For the crust.
It was like a coating on it?
You can't make a crust.
No, no, no, no.
You actually dip it in.
Oh, for the crust.
Yeah, like, I think it's called like Mike's Pizza.
I want to say it was like Mike's or Michael's pizza.
Whatever it was.
It was like fucking ketchup and then like the mere suggestion of cheese.
And it was like, the Yelp reviews were all like, well, it's great food at like one in the morning.
I'm like, no, you know what?
Maybe it's the New York City bias in me.
But I've had good pizza at three in the morning, and this ain't it.
You're like Vincent Antonelli and My Blue Heaven, where you're like having the Italian.
And it's like, what is this ketchup?
What is this right?
That's not a line from the movie, but there's a scene that sort of like that.
It's like along those lines.
Number five for me is my first beer choice of two on the list.
And it is a beer that much like punking from Southern Tier, I'm a little saddened by it being available year-round.
But as far as summer brews go,
Bells Oberon,
top of the pops for me,
or at least number two on my list,
as far as beer is in number five of my list overall.
Bells Oberon is one of my favorite beers.
I don't know.
I don't know anything about that.
All right.
Well, then just move on in number five.
It's going to move on.
Miller Light Rules.
Where are we?
8, 7, 6, 5.
I mean, this is,
it's not at every cookout
that you're able to get this,
but when it's there, it's kind of great.
Marijuana.
Like, you have to have the one buddy
who's constantly into it
and just says you want to,
take a thing on this and you're just like, well, I haven't eaten yet and I really want to get my
appetite going.
So maybe you just put your lips on the pipe there and you just put a little inhale.
Maybe it's a joint, but you know, you're outdoors.
You're in a backyard.
I don't know if I've ever experienced that at a cookout, but I have been to cookouts where a lot of
the adults will be over in a corner of the yard and we're not allowed to go talk to them
for a little bit.
That's us.
Oh, I see.
Because like you're at the barbecue and you're just like, man, what are they going to put
the meat on the grill already.
And it's like, well, I know a way for us to get ourselves prepared for that.
And you're like, Snoochie Boochies.
You're like, all of a sudden I'm like Bill Maher on real time and I'm like making all kinds of marijuana jokes.
And I'm just like, I love this as much as I love Hillary and marijuana.
And there's like a laugh track.
And then like, it's a rarity.
It doesn't really happen all that much.
But what it does.
I would rather have that as opposed to vegetables.
Yeah, I can see that.
If it's, if you come to one of my cookouts, you're probably not going to get it.
You got to bring your own.
And then we'll see.
Yeah.
It's all crops in the end.
Number four for me.
Brots.
Brat worst on the grill.
Grill up that fatty old brat.
Oh, shit.
Throw some spicy mustard on top of it.
Throw it in a bun.
A Brought Worst sandwich is one of my favorite things in life.
And I would put that.
And you know, grilled onions and peppers if you like it.
If not, it's okay too.
But yeah.
And preferably like a spicier brat if you can get it.
That's a damn good thing to have it.
Number four.
All right.
Maybe I'll put that in.
Maybe I'll get rid of vort.
vegetables. Yeah, let's get rid of vegetables on mine and put Bratworths there.
You're literally editing your list on the fly now.
I mean, are you kicking vegetables out of the top eight?
Or do they move down to like number eight instead of the...
Or wherever the fuck Swedish fish was, do you put...
Sour Patch Kids, the SPK.
You dare...
I'd dare associate SPK with Swedish fish.
Jesus Christ.
That's inflammatory and libelous.
Of course it is.
So, yeah, vegetables.
I was insane to have vegetables on there to begin with it.
Right, you are.
So, like, my number four, as we move now to the four...
foods wings like i like buffalo boneless buffalo wings boneless buffalo boneless buffalo boneless is what i
would prefer okay at a barbecue you know i hate boneless wings i like i like i like uh i like the the
neanderthylic feeling of of chewing through flesh to then reach bone it's just too much work you know
i'm at a barbecue like i don't want to have to break the wing and then get inside there and suck
the yeah when i have a buffalo wing out with the bone in it's like winter i'm like god it's so much
toil here. I'm exhausted.
In a Dostkieski novel.
I don't understand that. What's the logic
behind if you love the taste of
Buffalo flavored chicken?
Why would you not want
that in a way where you don't
have to have a bone in the way? Why not just get
the boneless buffalo? Don't you? Because
seeing the pile of bones
afterwards is an indication
that you've conquered the food.
Like I love looking at that pile
of bones and like look at all those bones.
And then at the end you're like, you know what?
there's still some blue cheese left.
I'm going to use this bone with like a fucking
inch of meat on it to deliver
the rest of the blue cheese in my mouth.
Okay, so listeners, if you could superimpose
or Photoshop, Greg Wasinski,
onto the movie poster for the movie The Bone Collector
with Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie, that'd be great.
Or if you want, Photoshop me onto Bone Saw McGraw
from Spider-Man, the macho man Randy Savage,
where Bruce Campbell goes,
Everybody Ready!
And Randy Savage's lone line in the movie is
bone saw is ready.
He likes looking at the pile of wings, folks.
The pile of bones.
Number three on my list is a specific thing.
Guacamole, which is by far one of the greatest side dishes you can have.
And you might not like this.
A lot of people don't.
But the lime-flavored Tostitos, our friends at Tostitos.
I'm on board there.
Yeah, I dig that combination a lot.
Obviously, a little squirt of lime on guacamole makes it come alive, and you have lime in the chips.
So that's the number three is chips and guac with lime chips from our friends at Tostitos.
My mind is just processing that you just said squirt and come in the same, like, sentence just a second ago.
And I can't really think straight now.
This podcast is so gross.
My number three is just a hot dog, hot dog and mustard.
Yeah.
No ketchup.
On a bun, no.
Hot dog sandwich.
On a bun.
Well, I mean, it's redundant, but sure it's a hot dog sandwich.
No onions, no, you know, sourcrow.
Just a dog.
You're not a fan of the Chicago-style dog with a pickle.
and hot peppers and
now sausage is different
hot dog just give me the meat
give me the bun give me the ketchup
don't toast the bun
people like to do that
give me the soft bun the hot dog
and the sweet spicy mustard
I feel we only have two choices left
and it's getting exciting
and I think we might be both
heading to the same number one
but I'm not going to say what it is
you don't say anything either
number two on my list
number two on my list is the number one
beer on my list number two on my list
number one beer overall
and number three in my heart
Coorslight.
Shinerbach.
Shinerbach is a beer that if you live in,
if you've been to Austin,
you've probably consumed many of them.
I find it to be one of the best summer drinking beers is a Shinerbach.
You know,
give me it in a big old brown bottle with a yellow label on it
and I'll kick back and pretend to them.
I'm smelling barbecue through my nose and all that jive.
It's a dark beer, right?
Sure.
It's a little too dark.
Dark beer is it on hot days or tough.
But it's your list.
At a barbecue, you've picked alcohol to be your second favorite thing there.
which I think is a window into your addiction.
Just because you forgot alcohols should be that high in the list
because you've got all of Grandpa's magic eye medicine at number five.
That's actually what Harold Potter calls it
when he's trying to raise his granddaughter alone.
Number two, cheeseburger, America.
Bun, burger, one slice of cheese.
And you don't put the cheese, listen, everyone's got their own thing.
Take the burger off the grill, put it on the bun,
then you put the cheese on.
Don't melt my cheese on the burger.
I like the semi-cold, not entirely melted burger.
No, that's a good point.
Your cheese on the burger.
Don't, again, don't close the bun.
My dad puts the cheese on the burger on the grill, and inevitably you have the mere suggestion of cheese because it's already, like, melted off.
Right.
And it's a weird consistency.
I'm not a fan of that.
So, like, if I'm out your barbecue and yet treat me right, burger cheese off the grill.
Well, number one on my list was number two on your list.
The cheeseburger. That's where I thought we were both going.
Cheeseburger, give me a potato bun.
Give me lettuce.
Give me mayo.
Give me ketchup.
You can throw some onion on there if you want.
No tomato.
Tomato ruins a sandwich.
But a grilled cheeseburger, preferably rare, but you'd never get that at a cookout.
They're always going to be well done.
That's why you need the condiment.
So that would be number one for me is a cheeseburger.
And my number one, which I thought was going to be obvious, I thought we'd both have the same one.
Strippers.
No, no, no, no.
That's not really not my thing.
But I was just, you know, if you're going to have a good time
in a male and female, like, just get crazy.
I have just, you know, for everybody.
But no, no, no.
Number one, sausage and peppers.
Nice.
I am a, like, whenever I go to a tailgate, whenever I want to eat outside,
I need sausage.
Doesn't have to be peppers, doesn't have to be onions, it could be anything.
But if you have a sausage and peppers, while you're standing in a backyard,
dad's root beer in one hand, it's a good day.
And it's a great day.
And all I can think of now is how awful you must feel.
with your alternative number one, thinking about those poor strippers dying and the burning sun of my cookout.
No tenting, no porches, roofs, no nothing.
Like, ants under a magnifying glass, just boiling potato salad and frying strippers.
Although at my barbecue, we have, like, the little kitty pool that they dance in and they just, like, you know, throw the water up on themselves.
Come on.
You got to think of stuff.
Right, and that's where the jello wrestling happens later with blue.
Oh, boy.
You've been.
You know what goes on there.
So there you go.
All right.
Well, this is the time of the show in which we'd like to answer your listener, mail.
You guys are the best.
By the way, a big thanks to everybody who's left reviews on iTunes.
We got our stars back, buddy.
We're full five stars across the board or whatever it is.
Oh, what?
We, like, lost that sort of thing?
There was a couple of the reviews that weren't as glowing, and we were down to, like, four and a half.
But now we're five across the board.
So thanks, everybody for going iTunes and do that for us.
What the fuck, you bastards?
Dumocrat.
Dumocrat.
wants to know, is Jim Nill on crack thinking Eisenman's going to take back a goalie,
and what would it take to kill this conversation?
I mean...
I don't think he's going to trade Bishop anymore.
I don't think there's any reason to trade Bishop.
Yeah.
They're kind of all in for 1617 at this point.
Yeah.
Excuse me.
No, I think you're right.
And I think that as far as them taking a goalie back, I mean, that's just it.
Like, if there was going to be any deal with the Dallas Stars and involved them,
taking like Niemi back or whatever.
Like the stars are going to have to load up with a pick or something to make that happen.
Right.
On top of what they have to give up for Bishop, which is probably going to be in Akushkin to start.
If Niyemi had like one year left, yeah, but he's got two.
So you're going to have to go into next year with Niemie.
It's just, it's just that he messed up.
He should not have signed the Emmy.
Well, yeah.
And again, now, and making goaltending his hill to die on is kind of crazy too
in the sense that like he's defended it and defended it and defended it.
And at some point you're just like, all right, man.
I mean, I get it.
You had great regular season success and followed by a complete flame out.
They're the Lindross Flyers.
Like, they're going to be amazing up front in perpetuity.
And then it's always going to be like, well, I mean, you know, Sagan and Ben.
I'm sorry.
Ben would probably have his ring by now.
We're not for the fact that there's just a pile of wet garbage between the pipes behind him.
And the defense isn't really getting any better to.
Sorry.
I do like that hand-use pickup, by the way.
I think him and Klingberg will be pretty good together.
That is an amazing pickup at last year's trade deadline, but they didn't do it.
Trev R writes in, hey, Wachinsky, can you explain to Dave Lozo why being a 15-time WWE champion is legit despite the fact that it's a work?
Will you throw in shade at a 15-time WWE champion?
Oh, yeah, because John Sina's...
John Sina?
Wait, hold on.
Let me call up his Twitter right now.
John Sina.
Because, like, you know, like in your profile, it's like Greg Woshensky.
Oh, oh, you hate the fact that he puts that in his profile.
It says John Sina, the champ is here on Twitter, exclamation point, leader of WWE's C Nation.
Okay, sure.
And 15-time world champion.
You didn't win anything.
You're acting.
It's a role you play.
You didn't win anything.
We've talked about this on the podcast before, and I will say again, remember how we praised Artimmy Panarin for being a rookie who played well enough to stay on the top line?
If you're a 15-time world champion, that means that you performed well enough to be given that role 15 times.
So it is an honor to wear the belt 15 times.
Let me just look up George Clooney's profile and see how many times he mentioned stealing stuff in Las Vegas.
Knocked over the Mirage, the Blasio, and the MGM Grand in one night.
And also Willie Banks' place and like any other sort of crimes he took place in Europe and he was there.
Yeah.
Outwitted the gray fox or whatever he was in the same thing.
second movie. It just doesn't make any
a 15 time world champion.
Congratulations on your
world championship. We've gotten a couple
of these song I might as well read one. Justin
R.O. writes in, interviews
are good, but missing a blade runner
reference can probably get you kicked off
of nerdice. Now, the
reference last week was to
a calf skin
wallet. Oh, right. That apparently
was a blade runner reference
on the Keith Oberman episode.
And listen, I
As you know, I'm a bit of a cinephile.
I fancy myself a lover of good film.
I was a film minor at the University of Maryland,
that prestigious school that has turned out so many great filmmakers.
Oh, please tell me there's like video of you acting somewhere on the internet.
It was more of a film criticism.
Doing Shakespeare.
But I say this with no sense amount of irony or trying to, you know,
ruffle any feathers, but fuck Blade Runner.
Whoa.
Blade Runner is as pretentious as people say the 2001 is,
It is a movie remembered for art direction and production design more than anything else.
It is a movie with one great speech from Roy Batty.
It is a movie that launched a thousand Daryl Hannah cosplays.
And it's a movie that's remembered for a terrible version that was slightly better via the director's cut that eliminated the voiceover from Harrison Ford.
And mostly it's remembered as like a cool Harrison Ford movie.
but it's not a good movie
and I would go as far as
far as to say that
if given the Blade Runner
Blu-ray and the Prometheus
Blu-ray in front of me
I am probably watching Prometheus
before I watch a Blade Runner again
Blade Runner is infinitely overrated
and I never had any love for it in my heart
I have no real feelings at all about that movie
Right you shouldn't because it
Oh are you a replicant Dave?
Oh my God, replicants don't have feelings
Yeah
It was probably one of those movies that was great at the time
because it was kind of like groundbreaking.
Yeah, because it looks great.
Like it looks amazing
and the special effects are crazy good.
Whatever.
But I don't have any love for it.
Not at all.
Joe Pack, our good friend wants to know,
an F. Mary Kill.
We don't do many of these on the show.
Okay.
Supi Edition.
Brian Campbell, Colin Campbell, and Gregory Campbell.
Kill Colin Campbell.
Fuck Gregory Campbell.
Mary Brian Campbell.
I would...
No.
I think I agree with you.
Because Brian Campbell's problem.
Brian Campbell had that contract, right?
So he's set for life.
Like, I don't even know what Gregory Campbell's overall worth is.
And I'm thinking of myself, I need to be taken care of.
We'll be trophy husbands for sure.
Right.
And Gregory Campbell, the great thing about him is that he could probably go all night
because we've already seen him kill a penalty with a broken leg.
And he'd constantly mention that the whole time.
Right.
Like, do you know the garbage, Greg?
I can't.
My arm hurts.
Your arm hurts, huh?
Guess what I did when my leg was broken?
Right.
But in a one-nighter, like, he might be.
might cramp up, but it doesn't matter.
Like, he's just going to keep going.
He'll finish for you. He'll finish for you.
Absolutely. Absolutely.
But don't have him sign that picture of him
cramping up because he won't do it. Oh, really?
Oh, yeah, he doesn't sign pictures of the broken leg
penalty kill.
Masha, our good friend on Twitter, says, the whole
father's son and the same FMK thing
isn't going to make for an uncomfortable discussion at all.
Well, that's a good point.
And then you think of that.
Kenny Reischman wants to know what's worse, watching
Independence Day with Jeff Goldblum or
watching people build big walls
with Donald Trump.
What?
Yeah, we got to start screening
these a little better
before we start reading it.
Let me go to another
Independence Day 1.
Mr. Jones 1 wants to know
with ID2 in mind
what other
craptastic sequel
does the world need.
So it's got to be
a big blockbuster movie
that never had a sequel.
I mean,
they're making Avatar sequel,
so that takes that out of the equation.
Bad movie
needs a sequel.
Oh, I got it.
Armagedon 2.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah. I would watch that.
Right. And so Armageddon, too, Affleck is married to Live Tyler.
Sure.
There is some other. The moon starts falling.
Bruce Willis is still alive.
The moon comes out of orbit and then starts falling on us, which I think was the plot of another movie we invented on the show at one point.
The moon falls out of orbit, begins falling towards the earth in moon crash.
And it's up to Ben Affleck and whoever survived the first movie.
And also Bruce Willis is.
brother who's live Tyler's uncle who is played by
Bruce Willis.
Oh,
yes!
Michael Chickles?
No, you got it.
Right.
Bruce, like a, like, a balder, older Bruce Willis as his character's twin brother.
I'm in.
Oh, God.
I mean, I'm in.
Let's write it right now.
Tomorrow.
All right.
I got to go pee again.
All right.
I had a lot of coffee in the way here.
So I think I'm going to have to take a break.
No, it's fine.
We're going to end a show anyway.
Listen, you guys are the best.
you can keep up with us throughout the summer to the next episode,
which is going to happen in August,
and it's going to happen with me in Rio for the Olympics
as I go cover the Olympics for Yahoo and Dave here.
It'll be a long-distance education episode.
But PuckSoup podcast is the Twitter feed.
Go to iTunes, give all the good reviews to this show that you possibly can,
and we appreciate you downloading all the episodes in our first season.
Thank you.
I mean, I guess it's the first season, whatever.
The great news is the second.
We'll be another season of it because we have a sponsor, which is super fun.
All set.
Courtesy of our friends at Seakeek.
You can follow me on Twitter at Wichinsky.
You can read me at Puck Daddy.
I'm trying to make this brief from my boys' bladder dome burst.
Take your eye off the puck as the book.
You can get it on Amazon.com.
Currently number two on the Amazon rankings behind.
The Bible.
No?
Why off?
I mean, as far as hockey books go.
The Pittsburgh Penguin's Stanley Cup Quicky from the Tribune, The Tribune Review.
And just thanks.
Thanks for everybody for playing along and having fun with this stupid podcast.
Dave, anything you want to say before you go?
I'm going to go take a pee.
And I'm going to say, as always, folks, be lit.
Stay loyal.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
