Puck Soup - Gary Bettman, Hall of Famer

Episode Date: June 29, 2018

Greg and Dave debate the merits of Gary Bettman as a Hockey Hall of Famer, from the timing to whether or not he's actually earned it. Plus, the rest of the Hall of Fame class and various snubs, the J...ohn Tavares sweepstakes, free agency preview, the Penguins and Jack Johnson, the Demolition Man Taco Bell and much more! 

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by A Quiet Place. If they hear you, they hunt you. Emily Blunt and John Cresensky star in the terrifyingly suspenseful thriller, A Quiet Place. New today on Digital, held by critics as the scariest and most innovative movie of the year. Get A Quiet Place Now on Voodoo two weeks before Blu-ray, rated PG-13 from Pound Mount Pictures, and directed by Jim from the Office. Yeah, that's it. I wasn't sure.
Starting point is 00:00:31 I wasn't sure if that was, that was like a bit or something. No, it really wasn't. You said a quiet place, so I thought we were being sponsored by the Florida Panthers Home Arena. Zing. Enjoy the show. Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute. But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
Starting point is 00:00:55 It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet. Hey everybody. It's your good pal, Dave. My last name's Lozo. My phone name is Dave Lozo. And if I sound like shit or shittier than usual, it's because while I was in Dallas, I caught a cold from my lift driver who took me from the airport to the hotel on Thursday and told me as he was coughing and sneezing that he was sick. And I said, thanks for coming into work today because I was annoyed that I had to sit in this box with him for 30 minutes. And he goes, don't worry about it.
Starting point is 00:01:31 It's not like we're going to swap. spit because that's how he thinks colds are transferred and now I have a cold. And I'm Greg Wyshinsky of ESPN and you're in Puck Soup. He thinks I had to tongue him down in order to get a cold, Greg. That's how he thinks, like, I had to like lick his face. And he didn't seem to understand that sneezing into the car 11 times was going to get me sick. And it did. My favorite thing that happened as far as Uber's or lifts the entire weekend was our Uber
Starting point is 00:01:58 from a restaurant to the brewery that we went to in Deep Ellum. Chris Peters from ESPN, the prospects writer that you hopefully all paid to read an insider, bonded with our Uber driver. First about the Uber driver had a University of Texas license plate. So we were talking about hookum horns. A little long horn. Yeah. And I'm like, you know, everybody's like, I went to this school. I went to this school.
Starting point is 00:02:24 I'm like, I went to Maryland who, of course, beat Texas in week one last year and forced them to fire their coach and everything else. and but Chris and our Uber driver bonded over the mutual murder and violence in Texas and Chicago he's like he's like yeah we got history of guns there was a guy who murdered somebody but it got off and whatever and then Chris is like can I tell you about Al Capone Al Capone baby so it was it was a really interesting bonding experience the best was when my driver when he sneezed like for the 33rd time in the car it was right outside the hotel like we had done a full ride, he copped and sneezed the whole time. And he sneezes for the 33rd time
Starting point is 00:03:04 right outside the hotel and he goes, don't worry about that one. That was allergies. Like, what? How do you know? Like, you told me you were sick 30 minutes ago. How do you know? Do you have like an internal mechanism that tells you what sneezes allergies and what's the common cold? The lift drivers, like, all right, so that'll be $35 to you
Starting point is 00:03:26 and 10 for your friend. You look to your right. And it's a green glob voiced by T.J. Miller. Oh, God. And the other story, too, is the driver that took us to the profit bar for the live show. Totally submarine to see. Oh, did we talk about that? I guess we didn't, because if we, if we would have, it would have been on the live show. It would have been at the Patreon or like that. But, but so, so we pull up to the profit bar and there's a sign our front that says because we got moved to the bigger room and we got dropped off outside of the smaller room. And thank you. Thank you again for all of you people who came to the show. You sold so many tickets. We got moved to a larger room. And so she's like, well, we have to go to the back of the building. That's what the sign says. So I don't know if she went through a wormhole or something because it felt like she went up to the next light, made a left, then made another left and dropped us off behind the building.
Starting point is 00:04:10 But it turned out she left us like seven blocks from the actual profit bar. And we had to like cross a street that was like a highway off ramp. So we're kind of like just we're playing like frogger in a way, trying to have to get murdered as we walk back on like a 99 degree day too, by the way. Or a day in Dallas, as it's known. Or a day here today. I think we brought Dallas back with us. I think we talked about on the Patreon because we also mentioned the fact that her business that she was pitching to us is liquid seeds. Seeds!
Starting point is 00:04:34 Right, where you drink a Capri-Sun pouch of liquid seeds every morning, like cumin or whatever, sunflower seeds in cumin. You drink the bag of liquid seeds and we're like, does it work? She's like, my husband says he's got all sorts of energy now. I'm like, have you ever heard of the placebo effect? But no, I didn't say that. No, instead you just like baited her into a situation where you could reference seed, money. Yeah, that's the, I engaged in... Which is why you dropped this off seven blocks from the play. Yeah, just to let you know
Starting point is 00:05:01 my level of engagement with other humans, I engage in a full conversation of at least three or four minutes just to get to a point where I could be like... So you're saying it's like seed money. That was the whole point. She was like, yeah, I haven't heard that before. Like, it's maybe the single most narcissistic thing I've ever done in a life of narcissism to engage in a conversation with another human being long enough. Just put them on the hook long enough because I could reel them into the joke boat. Just keep steering the conversation back towards it's a cost? How much is it cost?
Starting point is 00:05:31 Do you make a lot of cash? Because you don't want to say money because that's going to be in the punchline. So you're trying to use different words. Yeah, right. That is the God on his truth that I used words that were not money to set up the joke about money. It would have been great if at some point she was like, yeah, I fucking get it. You seed money. Ha, ha, ha.
Starting point is 00:05:49 You're the 19th person I've had in the car today. You're the 14th person to make the joke. Thank you, sir. Here, here you are. You're at your location, 10 blocks away from the bar. Enjoy your walk. Long story short, we bought three boxes. So if you want to take either mine or lozo seed.
Starting point is 00:06:05 You now sponsors the show. Oh, Jesus. You walked into it. You didn't even know what's coming. Oh, there is again. Oh, man. I'm already sick. By the way, so should we consider Stephen Johns getting a new contract from the Dallas
Starting point is 00:06:21 Stars, a part of it. the puck soup bump or B, an offense to our friendship now at Stephen Johns that he didn't announce it on the show. Oh, it's definitely. I talk to the Stars. It feels like both. And by that
Starting point is 00:06:38 I mean Tom, their PR guy. Old Cleveland Tom. Old Cleveland Tom. And he said that he couldn't say anything about it on our show because he hadn't actually gone to the Star's offices and physically signed the contract. Whatever. Whatever. Tom. Yeah, because you know Jim Nills like
Starting point is 00:06:54 I heard you mentioned this at a live show on a podcast that's not out yet. I know, right? Well, then again, we're yanking the offer. But there were people in the room that probably would have tweeted it if we had said it. That's fine. That's fine. But just the next, so when Jamie Ben's next contract goes down, we can get that first, maybe? There it is.
Starting point is 00:07:10 Okay, that's the last joke I ever make about Jamie Bennett. That's right. You definitely in this situation. In this game of jokes, you got last licks. Yeah, last licks in. It did. That's what she said. He, so I don't care.
Starting point is 00:07:23 I mean, I'll consider it. puck soup bump because honestly you know him not revealing his contract is worth it for him telling the Golden Tate's story and finding out that one of the past times at Notre Dame is to have the drunk Olympics where you drink beer out of ice cube trays with your straw. Yeah, I just, you're just basically saying, I feel like vomiting today. Yeah. Let's let's drink
Starting point is 00:07:42 beer out of ice cube trays. The only thing I could think of it when he told that story was that the Chicago Blackhawks were playing an outdoor game at Notre Dame next year. Who are they playing against? Boston. Oh, of course. Because you know, if it's Irish, Oh, top of the morning to you, lads. You want to go watch Brad Marchand? And Patrice Bergeron. That sounds Irishish, I guess.
Starting point is 00:08:03 Oh, it's Riley Nash. I know, he's not going to be there anymore. Townie. Boston. Dunkin' Donuts. Look at this touchdown, Jesus. Not a dame. Not a...
Starting point is 00:08:15 Nauta. Nauta. Nodda. Nodda. Nodame. Well, I say that Joe Thaisman was the best quarterback in the history of Notre Dame. man i could feel the flam building up in my mouth sucks remember rocket ismail rahib isma now here's the reason i bring that up because he had a brother named missile
Starting point is 00:08:33 remember that cadre ismail was with the syracuse yeah orange men he got like the second nickname yeah yeah's younger right it was like a rocket richard and pocket the pocket rocket on ray richard bullet richard yeah bow and arrow richard how does that happen well i mean they just well i mean they rocket rocket made sense because like it was like alliteration and then they were just like, what's this guy? It's like, what's another word for rocket? Is there anything that starts with a cue that also means rocket? Boom, boom, boom, Jeffriand, loud noises.
Starting point is 00:09:02 Bang, bang, Jeffrion. The boom, boom, boom, boom, Jeffrion. The Russian rocket, Pabell Burray and the Soviet, the Soviet scud. Yeah. Valerie Burry. Yeah, we're not good with nicknames as a culture anymore. Like, Rocket, rocket is mouth. I was like, Rocket is now.
Starting point is 00:09:21 How about missile is... He was the missile, though. He wasn't missile. He wasn't missile Ismail. That's right. Who, uh... Who, uh, who made you upset that didn't make the Hall of Fame? And was it Sergey Zuboff?
Starting point is 00:09:35 I just don't. I mean, who was it again? It was Brodor, Marty San Luis, Willie O'Re. Willi O'Ree and Gary Bettman going in together, of course. We'll get to that in a second. It was Willie O'Reary, Marty Bordor, Marty San Luis, Alexander Yakosh.
Starting point is 00:09:51 Some rushing guy from the summit series, of course. And Gary Bettman and then Jenna Hefford. And Jenna Hufford is a great choice. One year before Haley Wickenhizer gets in, like, first ballot, what have you. Yeah. I mean, I don't know. Like, Marty St. Louis probably is a Hall of Famer based on the standards they've set. But, like, I don't really consider him to be a Hall of Famer.
Starting point is 00:10:12 Like, I get it. You won a Hart trophy. You want two scoring titles. But, like, that's okay. You had two good seasons. Two great seasons. He's definitely one of those guys that wouldn't be in my Hall of Fame. I understand why he's in this one.
Starting point is 00:10:22 Exactly. I really, for me, it was out, like, I thought Alpherton was getting in this year, but the, I looked at the, the next two classes, and there isn't a whole lot of, like, marquee names in either of the next two years. And then three years and now, obviously, the Siddins are up, which will be really interesting. I mean, they're, they're going to get in just because they're a pair. Like, if you look at their numbers compared to, like, Patrick Eliash, they're the same. Right.
Starting point is 00:10:45 Or maybe worse. Eliash and basically all of the lightning are up next year. La Cavalier. Brad Richards, Dan Boyle, I'll say this, of the three guys that are up next year, I think Dan Boyle's actually got the best case. Boy, if he goes in before Sergei Zuboff, I will burn down the Hall of Fame. Hey, I might be with you on that, but like I was sort of stunned by how low the overall totals for Vinnie were.
Starting point is 00:11:11 Like, Vinny, I think, is the biggest star of the three. Yeah, but he's not a Hall of Famer. But he's not. Neither is Brad Richards. No. But Dan Boyle comes the closest probably of those three. I mean, Dan Boyle's kind of got like that Marty San Luis defense version. Like, he never wanted to gnarst or anything.
Starting point is 00:11:25 But, like, you know, he's a little guy. Scrappy. Underdog. Yeah. He was never drafted. He pulled himself up from his bootstraps and became a man. And I think you tweeted it that there hasn't been a defenseman in the Hall of Fame since, like, 2013. Last, I think three years now, there hasn't been a defenseman.
Starting point is 00:11:44 Oh, okay, three. I think it's three. I think the last one who got in was. Houseley, yeah. So, Jesus. And also, God forbid, they put in more than one rush in a year. There's never been more than one Russian in a draft class either. I also don't get how they do that one.
Starting point is 00:11:59 We're like, okay, we're going to put somebody off the board in. And it's like some dude, of course it's some dude from the Canada Russia's. Of course, it's from the fucking Summit series. It has to be because that's the greatest. Because it always has to involve Canada somehow. Although I do like the, I do like the fact that this guy gets in because of the Summit series and all of Canada gets their dick knocking the dirt because Paul fucking Henderson's not in the Hall of Fame. That does
Starting point is 00:12:20 make me happy. There's too many. There's too many everyone. It's like everyone thinks everyone deserves to be in the Hall of Fame, except Sergey Zuboff is the only person who actually deserves it. As someone noted, if we're going to put somebody in the Hall of Fame for scoring one goal, might as well be Jason Arnett. Right. I just don't, I don't get how
Starting point is 00:12:38 I don't know. I know. Like Alpherson and who else? There's another guy who was kind of on the board, too, that didn't get in. That's like Alfie-esque. Not St. Louis. shit, like some, you know, 400 goal score type guy. Well, there's Kachachuk, there's Ronek, there's... Oh, maybe it was Ronick. Yeah, there's a few other...
Starting point is 00:12:57 Here's the thing, though, like, you have to remember this about the Hall of Fame. It's a business. It's not owned by the NHL, despite what people think of this Betman thing. It's a business. But it's voted on by, like, NHL people, though. It's voted on by a consortium of a selection committee of people from all over who apparently none of the, like, 16 or 17 people that gave Gary Betman votes were like, hey, that's a bad idea. But that's fine.
Starting point is 00:13:19 You have to remember that, like, for the purposes of the Hall of Fame, they want to have a marquee name every year. I think the only year that I can remember where they didn't have at least one guy where people in Ontario were going to be like, wow, this is awesome. Let's make time to go see this with Cicorelli. There was that year where Cicorelli made it at nobody else. And it was really weird because, like, people like, okay, I don't give a shit about the Hall of Fame this year. The Hall of Fame was like, all right, here are all the people that you want to watch. Is Andrew truck got in yet? Yeah, Andy Truck got in last year.
Starting point is 00:13:44 Yeah, but they had Marty Brunner. But that's what I'm saying. I think you hold Alfredson. because you know if you put him in next year, maybe even by himself, that becomes the Ontario story. And then now everybody's coming to the Hall of Fame to celebrate Alfie's career. I think it's a little bit of that. I don't know if that's why they're holding off on Ronick either besides the fact that he shouldn't be in the Hall of Fame. But maybe that's it too.
Starting point is 00:14:08 It's like you put him in. He's a big marquee name. Is he? He kind of is. Listen, you and I feel a certain way about him. I feel like we represent the masses. I completely agree. You're the voice of the little man.
Starting point is 00:14:18 But you're not representing the people squeezing into their Roanick jerseys in Chicago who would be going up to Toronto. Oh, come on. You've been to fucking Chicago. You know exactly what I'm talking about. I mean, I was just three, I mean, three days in doubt. I'll get the beef sandwich with jardineer on top of the deep dish. Wrap the deep dish around the beef with the jargoner and I'll put it down my gullet. Did you get the bacon flights at the bar who you were at on Saturday?
Starting point is 00:14:45 No, but I tasted your bacon flight. Oh, man. Yeah. I still think about that. My heart did not really start working again until like Tuesday. Your heart did not. Almost not go on. That's also why I'm sick.
Starting point is 00:14:53 I destroyed my body all day Thursday too with no food and nothing but beer. We should talk about the bacon flight, though. So at this brewery, what was the name of the brewery? It was like deadhead, I think, right? Brain Dead brewery. Brain dead or something like that. So they had a flight of beer that paired with a flight of bacon. Right.
Starting point is 00:15:08 Duck bacon. It was duck bacon. Like pork belly bacon. There was two other bacon. Four bacon's four bacon's four bacon. beers. All due respect this place because, and by the way, the NHL draft for those who don't know is sort of like last day of school. It very much has that vibe. It's a really fun event to cover and an event, a fun event to attend. And that was never more apparent than we
Starting point is 00:15:31 were at that brewery because you had like me and the ESPN people, the NHL.com table, you were sitting with Leahy and Scotty Waz and them. You had a whole other table of people from Carolina. It was like this beautiful sort of like cafeteria. feel like but not but not but not in a mean girl sense where everybody started fighting like it was sort of just all these people kind of there and drinking together and intermingling it was a beautiful thing mike russo showed up with his youthful ward uh oh yeah yeah yeah yeah there's a couple other people like at that table yeah it was a really fun time but but the thing i wanted to say is this is the first brewery i've ever been to where if you're ordering a flight of beer they won't let you
Starting point is 00:16:11 pick the beer well i mean i get it that's a little it is a little hoity toady to do that but No, it's not. It's a very simple thing. If you have a menu of fucking 20 beers and I want to sample them. They're selected to go with the bacon that they're putting on front of the thing. You can get a flight of anything you want, but when you do the bacon flights, there's an artisan beer connoisseur back there. You can't. You're wrong.
Starting point is 00:16:36 I tried to order a flight of beer of different beers and I was picking them off the menu and they're like, no, the flights are just these beers. But with bacon. No, not with bacon. Oh, even like a separate flight alone? Oh, that's stupid. Thank you. That's my point. I was the first place I've been to where it's like, I'll try this stout, this IP, and they're like, actually, the flights of beer are free determined.
Starting point is 00:16:55 And I'm like, first of all, by who? Fuck you. Yeah. Second of all, when you do that, that tells me the four beers in that flight are dog shit. They are shit you can't move. They are shit that you were just like, we have too much of it. Let's give it to the idiots. That was me.
Starting point is 00:17:10 I definitely took it. The IPA on the far left was gross. I'm not an IPA. I don't want to trash. I had some really good beer there. Oh, yeah. Not in flights. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:17:20 But the idea that you can't like, I mean, there's two different issues. If it's a situation where you're ordering a bacon flight and chef boyardier or whatever the fuck in the back is like, no. I have pre-selected these such and beers to taste good with the duck bacon. That's fine. If it's like, I want a flight and you're like, this is only the four beers you can get in a flight. I'm like, then why do you make them little? Who gives a shit? I know.
Starting point is 00:17:42 I didn't realize. That kind of makes me feel a little less or a little more. bad about making fun of Sean Leahy being unable to order his bacon flight in less than seven minutes. Can I get the four buck of sprites instead? That's what I told him to get. I was like, dude, it was like something out of who's on first. He was just like, can I change my flights? They're like, no.
Starting point is 00:18:04 He's like, all right, can I just, you know, get rid of the flights and order a separate beer? No, the beer comes with the flights. Wait, what? No, the flights of bacon, right. Can I change my flights? Yeah, absolutely. Every layer line has an app now that you can use. I said, no, I don't mean, can I alter my flights?
Starting point is 00:18:18 You should have seen it. It's unbelievable. Did I mention Leahy is the only person I've ever met in the last 10 years that doesn't use his phone to check in for his flight? Did I mention on the show? Why would he not? Dude, I set a timer on my phone, so my alarm goes off, so I know when they check in. Me and Ruby and him were all trying to catch a plane out of where the hell were away. I forget where we're DC maybe or something like that.
Starting point is 00:18:39 And like, we were going to the gate and Ruby and I had our phones out. And he's like, wait, what's this? I'm like, it's security. I didn't check in yet. I'm like, why? So he gets a paper ticket everywhere he goes? He had to run back down to this fucking computer screens, start punching away. So he just forgot?
Starting point is 00:18:56 He just, what do you think? No, he just doesn't use his phone to check in. But like, wouldn't he automatically just go to the ticket machine when he got there? Hey, I'll see you guys later. He thought that we were going there. Do you follow? Oh, you're all walking to the counter? He was following us because he thought that we were also living in 1985.
Starting point is 00:19:11 There are some inventions out there that aren't really useful. It's just, you know, a redundant that you don't need. Oh, my God. Placing your phone on that thing and just walking straight to the security. Pressing a bunch of buttons so you don't have to go to the place with the bad computer screens and put in 17 for credit cards and search your name and your flag. Yes, this is an innovation I can get behind. Sean Leahy is an onion, man.
Starting point is 00:19:33 I peel back layers and I just find new things that just I can't figure out every day. I got to do a lot of things when I get there. I got to go down to the computers and get my checks and then write a bunch of checks for my rent and utilities. Oh, God. God love. He, we love you. You know that. So, yeah, so Daniel Offertson.
Starting point is 00:19:50 So Daniel Offitson probably next year. And then, you know, you have this entire group of people that'd be. So Zubov's one. Ronex another. There's actually only two players, I'd say, where there's a real sort of like movement behind them right now, which is Zuboff, where it's building every year. And he's going to get in eventually. I don't know. Much to my chagrin.
Starting point is 00:20:09 And Theo Fleury. I think there's a lot of people that think that Theo Florey should be in the Hall of Fame. He's probably for the same. reason that fucking Marty's in the San Luis in the Hall of Fame the little mighty might
Starting point is 00:20:18 He's just a little fella Yeah I don't know man I just I don't need him in the hall But I mean I think there's a lot of people That think he should be there
Starting point is 00:20:26 My cause is Doug Wilson Like Doug Wilson There should be no reason Why that guy is not In the Hall of Fame based on his playing career I don't know I gotta look into that
Starting point is 00:20:34 Yeah he's got the numbers He's got the He's got all the shit He's a really good candidate But he's he's a really good candidate But he'll be like 24 years I think Without him being
Starting point is 00:20:42 In the Hall of Fame This is that's like Almost double the Mark Howe waiting period, so I'm pretty sure he's not getting it. I don't know. Probably Rogie Vashon suddenly became a Hall of Famer last year. Yeah, did Doug Wilson ever score a significant goal in a Summit series game? Because that
Starting point is 00:20:54 would seriously improve his chances. No, but I think he watched it on TV. And he could probably tell a good story about that at his induction ceremony. All right, Willie O'Ree gets in, which we have to be very happy about because they didn't fuck it up like they did it with Pat Burns, where they're just dicking around for years until he dies, and they're like,
Starting point is 00:21:10 oh shit, we forgot! And then they he gets in the Hall of Fame. Yeah, that's good. They finally got around. It only took 57 years after we retired. It only took Willie Reeve showing up for every single event in the history of the National Hockey League for about 25 years. They had to go to Vegas and throw those goddamn Tron drummers for a fucking week just to get in. It took too much.
Starting point is 00:21:28 It only took every black player in the NHL for the last 15 years posing for pictures of Willie O'Re and being like, this guy's the reason I'm playing for the hockey hall fame to be like, you know what? Builder. A builder has been seen by us. Let's take two photos. One of us smiling and one of us looking at the camera like, what the fuck? Yeah.
Starting point is 00:21:43 It only took Willie Rewriting, I'm sorry, telling a story to the Players Tribune two years ago where he's talking about how he endured people throwing cotton balls at him is something that happened to him while he played. And yet serving as a symbol of inspiration to a generation of young black players for the Hall of Finn to be like, you know what? I think maybe him now. Why not? He's 80 years old. Do you have a problem with there not being transparency, by the way, in the voting? Of course. But why, though?
Starting point is 00:22:11 Because, like, it is a private club at the end of the day. Like, it's a private club at the end of the day. Well, it's a private club that wants the public to go there and spend money on it. Right, but I don't think the public want to know how they're deciding these things. The public at no point has been like, you should, you should tell us how this happens. I think the media cares, but I don't think the public cares. I think the public cares when they're leaving out dudes and putting in dudes that don't belong there. They want to know how that decision gets made.
Starting point is 00:22:34 I agree to that to a point. I think there is probably a difference between, like, releasing the vote totals and then, and then also, but also having a cone of silence. How about what if they, how about if they release the vote totals, but not assign them to certain people? So, I would, Bob McKenzie's not getting harassed on Twitter for a month or so. I don't want to know the vote totals. I don't care. What I want is there to be somebody who can speak on behalf of the selection committee to give us some insight as to why things don't happen. Why don't just do the votes?
Starting point is 00:22:59 Really? Really? You don't want to know that? Like, you're not a curious sort like I am. You don't want to see the totals and how it was broken down? But it's that, that's less important to me than, then, like, if they release the vote totals with no explanation, you'd be better with that than no vote totals but explanation? No, I mean, like, I'd like to know how overwhelmingly
Starting point is 00:23:17 Gary Bettman was voted into the Hall of Fame. Like, was it like a slight? Did he just get over the percentage bar? Like, was it unanimous? Like, that's the stuff I want to know. Let's talk about that. Like, I want to see year by year, like how a guy like Rogie Bichon doesn't get in and suddenly one year he has everything.
Starting point is 00:23:32 Like, I love to know year by year. It's so fucking strange, right? Now, the only thing I know about that, that happening is because there's turnover in the selection committee. So it could be a situation where a guy gets. That's like 14 votes every year, 14 votes every year. And then the two fuckers that are like, he once bang my wife, you know, like they leave. And then like some other guy, let's just say a delightful little bald sprite, goes,
Starting point is 00:23:56 Bar-Bup, Rapegayvich, Bar-Ga-Bachshan, bat up the best goalie, but-up-pup. I feel like it's more of a Darren Pang thing. Like, Darren would vote for the short goalie from the 70s. Did you know Pierre McGuire was added to the Hall of Fame selection of him in this year? I know. And yet somehow Sergei Zubov didn't get in. But up a penguin. But up, but up, but a penguin, but up, but up, but doesn't he probably hate Sergey Zubov?
Starting point is 00:24:14 Wait, was he a penguin? Sergey Zubov. Yeah, I thought so. But so was Gonshar. Maybe he was like, but up up Gonshar. Maybe he just gets his Zubops and Gonshar's confused. Who else? They added somebody else, too.
Starting point is 00:24:25 Was it Bob? Was it Bob McKenzie? Maybe he's been there for, he's been there already. So anyway, so Betman gets in. You and I were talking before we went into this, this, this beautifully temperatured room about you. So you think there's actually. a case to be made for Gary Betman not being in the Hall of Fame? Because I think that's fucking insane. I see, I think it's fucking insane that it's just this slam dunk thing that no one's really
Starting point is 00:24:48 even considering. It's just like he's like Andrew Chuck in a way where he's just kind of had the same job forever. And so it's just like, is he good at the job or not? And people just automatically say, yes, he's growing the game, 400 million, the 4 billion and all this stuff. And it's like, well, what, don't you feel like he's left stuff on the table in terms of growth and money and all that stuff? Like, I don't know. It just seems weird to me that he's a slam dunk from growing the game, quote, unquote. I get that. I get that. I understand what you're saying, and I think that there's absolutely criticism to be made about why, what? A lot of criticism.
Starting point is 00:25:19 About the NHL's growth. And one, the main problem I have is what you said was could it be even bigger, not for the way it's been managed. And I think that you point to NBC and the fact that we had playoff games on the fucking golf channel this year. There's that. There's expansion. Like, some of it's worked. Some of it really hasn't. No.
Starting point is 00:25:39 I think it's, dude, that's, you see, that's where I disagree. If you want to say that it hasn't worked, you have to define that as, as to what you're referring to, because if you're saying the coyotes suck and they, and they're probably going to move, that's one aspect of it. If you're saying Austin Matthews was inspired to play hockey because there was a hockey team in his fucking town. Well, that's another thing. And no, you can't sigh about that. The expansion of the NHL into non-traditional markets has, it's a fucking demonstrative. fact right now that the NHL's decision to do that has inspired
Starting point is 00:26:14 a couple of generations of players to pick up the game in these places. They're all getting drafted now. That is to Betman's credit. But my counterpoint is that what commissioner that showed up in 1993 would not have been like we need to expand? Do you think like no other commissioner would have expanded? Is it possible that the
Starting point is 00:26:29 other commissioner might have expanded to actual markets that are better for hockey? I appreciate what you're saying, but I think that this is the argument this is the argument I can't get down with. I can get down with the idea of like another commissioner would have made the NHL even more successful by not doing some of the things that
Starting point is 00:26:45 Vettman has done. I can't get down with the idea of like all of these things would have happened with anybody at the helm. Because I think that's a really short changing the work that this guy has done behind the scenes to make this shit happen. To find the right owners in certain situations. He found Jeff Vinnick. He found a bunch of other guys.
Starting point is 00:27:01 That's true. Galasano and fucking Boots Del Biazio without question. But I really don't, I don't buy this idea. idea that like replacement commissioner X would have expanded to the places that the NHL did or would have been the steward that Betman's bit did has been in Sunbelt expansion. I don't buy that for a fucking second. I would, I think that whatever other commissioner you put in there, you could say at worse would have done as good a job.
Starting point is 00:27:25 He pushed for that expansion, for the benefit of the television contract, it ended up being a thing where by putting these teams in certain cities, he helped develop more players in the U.S. and interest in different places. I completely give him credit for that. You cannot take that away from it. But what other, what other commissioner wanted? But you keep on saying that. Like, what other guy?
Starting point is 00:27:45 Because he doesn't leave. Who fucking Brian Burke? Anyone. Like, anyone who showed up when there were, this was, and right before he got the job, expansion was starting to happen. That's true. Anaheim, it was Ottawa. Those four, those, San Jose.
Starting point is 00:27:59 He did Atlanta. Didn't work. In Florida. Nashville. Florida Panthers. Like, it's like right down, it's middling is what I would say. Like the coyotes, obviously, we should. we should say it was a relocation and
Starting point is 00:28:11 not an expansion. The coyotes were in a relocation. Yeah, and like the league, that was such a bad city that they've been propping it up now for how many years. Dallas is relocation. Dallas is, Dallas Carolina. I mean, like, it's just kind of like, it's okay. Like, it's not, it's not great. They're not. What will be better for the league to have those teams in
Starting point is 00:28:29 fucking Hamilton and Saskatoon? What's wrong with having a team in Quebec? Where would a team be better, Quebec or in Sunrise? In Sunrise, because you are going to a new market in Sunrise, in Sunrise rather than reestablishing NHL fans on a Canadian market. That's always been my argument against Canadian expansion.
Starting point is 00:28:46 Went back to Winnipeg. Sure. So why can't you go back to Quebec? Because what's the point? You went back to Winnipeg because it didn't work in Atlanta. Wait, what? They went back to Winnipeg because it didn't work in Atlanta. Right.
Starting point is 00:28:58 So why not go back to Quebec when it doesn't work in Sunrise? Because I think you could put that team in Houston and do better for the league. Okay, so why don't put the team in Houston? The point is that Sunrise has clearly not worked, but he's a guy who digs his heels. it and doesn't want to admit he's wrong. But when you say it hasn't worked,
Starting point is 00:29:13 they have an owner and they have an owner. And they have, who's not looking to sell, and they have an arena deal that is, and a deal with the county where they're not bleeding money. This is what it keeps coming back to it, Gary Betman, is it's not about growing the game. It's about can he line rich people's pockets
Starting point is 00:29:29 with more money? That's his job. Right. It's not to grow the game. He's not looking to grow the game. He didn't move a team to Arizona for Austin Matthews's emergency. He just wants to make rich people a little bit richer. Listen, I hate that I have to be in this fucking position to defend this guy, this little shit weasel.
Starting point is 00:29:42 But like, you should do the introduction for him. I hate Gary Betman, this little shit weasel, but let me tell you, you did good. The only reason I'm saying is a shit weasel now is because the CTE stuff, which I can't fucking wrap my brain around. We'll get to that in a second. There's that. His job is to make people money. But the idea that like the head of a league that lives and dies on the amount of revenue generated from customers is somehow not dedicated to expect. fan in the consumer base is
Starting point is 00:30:10 Astonide. He's a businessman. Yeah, but that's how you expand the consumer base is by making new fans, by going places and creating new hockey fans. The idea that he's not trying to grow the game is fucking insane. Also, he's not creating
Starting point is 00:30:24 new fans at the same rate the other leagues are, so Yeah, but that's a hockey problem. I read that same thing this week too about him. And he's hockey. He's been hockey for 25 years. And no one's been able to figure out how to sell hockey to places where there is at ice. Because only one person has tried. That's the point. He's the only person that's ever tried it and no own the owners are just happy to get the money that they get for him now so they'd
Starting point is 00:30:42 ever want to try anything outside the box i would i would i would probably that he's made better progress than anybody's come before him well i mean and and again you could be like well commissioner x would be doing better but we don't know who that person is and we don't know what they would have done done no but like what what commissioner would not have been like hey let's benefit from the huge cable tv boon and and and streaming and all this sort of all these different avenues that's where you're right he's he's done a shitty job on that he went he went he went for a big contract with mcc and completely at a time when every other major American sport is on multiple networks. In some cases, like four of them.
Starting point is 00:31:13 Like the NHL cast a lot with one. And cast a lot with one that, frankly, hasn't done a very good job in covering the game in the totality of coverage. Like if you're NBC and you're planting your flag on the NHL, why the fuck don't you have a weekly show where you're just talking about the NHL? Why is the only coverage outside the games before and after the games? I don't know, Greg. I mean, when I watch a hockey game, when it's over, I really like to see a car show.
Starting point is 00:31:36 Well, actually, Dave, what I like to do is when I watch a hockey game, I like to watch another half an hour of people talking about the thing I just watched. Really? Oh, it's great. See, I like car shows. I like golf shows. I like poker. You know, I don't need all this hockey on my hockey network. For what it's worth, nothing better than when the NHL coverage gets done and Sports Jeopardy comes on.
Starting point is 00:31:55 I'm down with that. To be fair, I did not realize Dan Patrick was on NBCSN until I started watching hockey. Swear to God, I didn't know. One day I was sitting there and I was like, oh, there's Dan Patrick. Oh, he's got like one of those Mike Francesa TV radio shows. It's great to be. walk into a bar at like 11.30 at night and you look up one of the TVs and it's that fucking car
Starting point is 00:32:10 auction show and you're like, oh, that's where the hockey game was. Oh yeah, that was where Bruins' lightning was. Wasn't it? Listen, I I don't think I don't think you can make a case that he doesn't belong in the Hall of Fame as a builder. He absolutely does. Other
Starting point is 00:32:26 league presidents are in, they, you know, whether they deserve it or not, John Ziegler certainly doesn't fucking deserve to be in, but Betben for 25, whatever it's been years. has built the game. He's helped expand the reach of the NHL. He's made new hockey fans.
Starting point is 00:32:43 He's made it global. Is it to serve the purpose? Aren't the Olympics global? And he put them in the Olympics and fought to keep them there until it became untenable. Yeah, fought to keep them. Oh, come on, man. He didn't use the Olympics as a bargaining chip for the CBA.
Starting point is 00:32:58 You got to take a step back and look at what this guy actually did. He's the reason they're in the Olympics. They're not in the Olympics anywhere. But he was the reason they were there. But then he took them out because he wanted to get, extend the CBA. He used it as a leverage chip. Yeah. That's all he cares about is money. That's his bottom line. That's fine. But it's totally fine. But it was also the owners that didn't want to be there. They didn't want to shut down the season anymore if there wasn't something there for them.
Starting point is 00:33:18 Right. So instead of putting Gary Benman in the Hall of Fame, why don't we just put every owner that he's ever represented into the Hall of Fame at the same time? They're going to be there anyway. Because, Jeremy Jacobs. You just, I mean, I know, I saw it last year. I just, I don't know, man. Like, when you have three lockouts when you're running the league, if you're going to be the guy that's supposed to grow the game, like, imagine where the league would be today. if there was no lockout in 95 no lock no full season lockout no four or five no half so like imagine
Starting point is 00:33:42 how much more money would be in everyone's pockets with that not occurring I think you can ding him for the the TV deal I think you could ding him for the way the league was marketed I'll still say that I think the worst the worst stretch of his career outside of the canceled season was in the 1990s when the neutral zone trap
Starting point is 00:33:58 had sucked all of the excitement and offense out of the game and the NHL was putting fucking Peter Forsberg in commercials being like watch the rip-roar and offensive excitement of NHL hockey at a time at a time when the NFL MMA
Starting point is 00:34:14 and professional wrestling was making money hand over fist selling violence. Now you could say now in 2018 you should be Falcon selling it in the 1990s that's what we're selling we were selling something that didn't exist aka offense and hockey rather than
Starting point is 00:34:29 selling the more physical aspects of it well the other thing too is that if you look at the NFL when the offense goes away, they just, they take one off season, they figure it out, they're like, hey, cornerbacks can't touch receivers for like 15 yards, and now we have 42, 35 games again. Right, yeah. And hockey, in like, 94, we were all like, this is garbage, what is this shit?
Starting point is 00:34:50 It took them 11 years to get rid of the red line. Like, that's not a forward-thinking hockey guy. That's a guy that just wants to make money for owners. Betman doesn't make the rules. I mean, it- So what does he do then that makes them in the Hall of Fame then? Like, if he's just representing owners and he's not really doing anything himself, he's only doing things for others. Why is he in the hallfam? We just talked about this.
Starting point is 00:35:08 Expansion, the direction of the NHL turning into a multi-billion dollar industry. Owners ideas, right. You know, everything. Also his stewardship. Again, like, are you seeing he's just, he's been just a pedestrian for 25 years? You're not going to give him any credit. You're not going to give him credit for coming into the NHL and looking around on Bill Wurts''s yacht and being like,
Starting point is 00:35:25 you drunk, you drunk fucks. Let's actually organize this and try to move forward together. Or, you know, all the other shit he's done behind the scenes as far as making this going from the goddamn joke that it, was the old boys network that it was into something has a modicum of professionalism? I'm just going by what everyone says. He represents the owners. He doesn't do his own thing.
Starting point is 00:35:43 So if anything that's ever happened, that's good or bad, then should be placed on somebody else. He represents the owners, but over time, he gained, he wanted a salary cap in 95. You couldn't get it because none of the... We'll get it out in a second. None of the owners... None of the owners were willing to support it.
Starting point is 00:35:59 Like, to go to the mattresses for it. Then, you know, eventually people died and teams got sold and whatever. And now he's got an entire little Gary's army of owners that all support it so he's able to get what he wanted later on. They canceled the season for a salary cap, man. Cancelled season is a huge black mark on it on his record. The salary cap, it's debatable.
Starting point is 00:36:16 You and I both don't like it. I think the NHL will be much better under a luxury tax than the salary cap. Oh, for sure. But it is what it is. Let's get to the crux of the debate. Because I think most people agree that there is a case that he should be in the Hall of Fame. You're the exception. I don't think I'm the exception, man.
Starting point is 00:36:34 I think it's pretty split. I'm just like, like, it's like you and Don Fear. That's pretty much it. No, like, it's just weird to me how it's not as though people are like, but I get it. People are like hands down, deserves to be in, no question about it. Like that's the no question about it. There's no question about it.
Starting point is 00:36:50 That's weird to me. There's no question. Like he's like the Dave Andrew Chuck of commissioners where he just kind of hung around for a long time and some good stuff happened around him. He is the Haley Wickenheyes room of commissioners. He is a slam dunk first ballot Hall of Famer. Man, I got to go back and read some old puck daddy, Gary Betman articles just to, just to, oh, look out. What you'll find is what exactly what I'm saying.
Starting point is 00:37:11 Like, there was a time when I blamed him for everything. I came to understand that he's not to blame for everything, such as like, you know what? I hate about Gary Betman to puck over the glass rule. That's the fucking Gary Betman. That's the competition committee and the GMs. Like, that's not his fault that you don't like the puck over the glass rule. But everyone has to approve it. Yeah, but Gary Bettman doesn't approve it.
Starting point is 00:37:31 But the owners do. Right. And he represents the owner. My God. See, I feel like it's like a shell game where it's like the bad things the owners do are Gary Bettman. The good things that have happened, he told the owners to do it. Like, it's, eh. Do you know, you know, Gary Bettman preserved playoff overtime?
Starting point is 00:37:46 What do you mean? Preserved. Like not making it fucking three on three or a shootout or anything. Oh, wow. He did the super obvious thing that you never change. Every single thing that he does that's good. It's like, well, you know, anybody would have done a homeless man off the street in 1992, who still the commissioner today would have totally done the same thing.
Starting point is 00:38:01 Like, is there. Yeah, probably. Let's get to the baseline here. least for that one. Is there anything that he's done that you can give him credit for besides giving you a paycheck at NHL.com for a few years? Did he technically, was the one who signed it? I forget if it was him or if it was somebody else.
Starting point is 00:38:16 Let's see. Like literally anything. The website sucks. Let's say you're in the selection committee room and, you know, Bob McKenzie turns to you and say, Dave, what's one thing that we can talk about that's positive for? How about this? If Gary Bettman was a hockey player, whose career would you say it most close? mostly mirrors because it's not a Hall of Fame player
Starting point is 00:38:35 whoever you're going to pick. It's some dude who kind of had some up and down years, middaling it best. And you're going to put that guy in the Hall of Fame because he just did it for a long time. So you're going to say, who's the player that's in the Hall of Fame? In the Hall of Fame. No, just the player. The head up and down years. He's like, he's like John Madden
Starting point is 00:38:51 basically. You know, he's Alexander O'Betchkin. Oh, my God. All right, look, I also want to say this to anyone who's listening who are part of the body snatchers that are working throughout this area. I don't want to be snatched. I'm basically one of the greatest goal scores in the NHL history. I like when he said no one cares about Cap Geek, and he disparaged Matthew West's website before Matthew West died.
Starting point is 00:39:12 I thought that was a great thing, too, as a commissioner to do. That was good for the league. Shitty stats on the website now. That's great, too. Don't you feel it's weird that this guy's been in a gig for 25 years? Because other people can literally point to things and say, hey, this is a good thing the NHL did, but you can't point to one thing that he did that you liked?
Starting point is 00:39:31 Give me some things that you think are good that he did. Expansion. Again, there's no commissioner in the world who would not have expanded the league from 24 to 30 teams. Global games. Global games? Yeah, games that are played in like Helsinki and China and things, the Olympics. Wait. So you think like those preseason games that get played in fucking like Sweden?
Starting point is 00:39:54 I think that's doing. You think that does stuff for the league? Besides line the pockets of the owners, think that's growing the game? You think there's people in Sweden who didn't watch hockey before you? You brought an NHL preseason game over there? I think it brings the product to them. It's not a good product, though. It's like the games in China.
Starting point is 00:40:09 They're giving them Vancouver, L.A. Outdoor, the outdoor games, hiring John Collins. Oh, you caught yourself. And then he let John Collins leave. Right. But he hired John Collins. Let's say John Collins is the NHL. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:40:23 Let's say John Collins became the commissioner after the third lockout that Gary Betman engineered, the third one. Would the NHL be better off with got John Collins run on the show, Gary Betman. Oh, I think John Collins would have been a great commissioner. Okay. But that doesn't mean
Starting point is 00:40:36 that Gary Betman didn't accomplish or I think he accomplished and shouldn't be in the Hall of Fame. All right, give you some more stuff. I cut you off there. I kind of laughed at the European preseason games in Helsinki and stuff. He rescued Canadian franchises from ruin.
Starting point is 00:40:48 Why? By removing them and bringing them. By giving them financial support when they needed it. Okay. I mean, Eugene Melwick might not own the Ottawa senators today working off for the efforts of Gary Betman.
Starting point is 00:40:59 I feel like I can just have you keep listing positive things to make my point for me. But no, that's fair. That's a fair one for sure. I think for all of the, of the shitty owners that have been you know, fucking you know, the fucking criminals, there have also been really good people that he's found
Starting point is 00:41:13 to own teams like Vinnick. Yeah, but like his percentage of criminals to owners is too high. You know? Like the NFL is garbage, but like, like the NFL, for instance, has the same like concussion like CT problems that the NHL has, but without the lockouts. Take, take
Starting point is 00:41:29 the, the object failure of the coyotes out of the equation. Did you support him when Blackberry boy tried to steal the team through the courts? Oh, what's his name? Balsilli. Yeah, when Balsilli tried to steal the coyotes and move him to Hamilton through the courts.
Starting point is 00:41:45 I mean, I don't know, I really don't think there's a good person in that argument. He just got, like, one dude trying to swoop and what he wants. He was out like $12 million in salary. The team went bankrupt. Even Wayne Gretzky hates fucking carry that in that. I'm like, that should be enough for me.
Starting point is 00:42:02 He took his money to come back as a fucking 100-year ambassador or whatever the fuck he was. I don't know. Like, the fact that he's so dug in on Arizona is weird, yet, like, he didn't really fight for Atlanta. I don't know. Again, like, those are decisions. But he didn't look for Atlanta because there was no arena.
Starting point is 00:42:18 Yeah. And the arena deal was bad in the ownership. Nobody wanted to own the team. Like for growing the game, wouldn't a team in Atlanta be very, very good for anything? They've tried twice. It didn't work. Yeah, but like when you have these dufuses running the team, that are apparently now going to run Carolina.
Starting point is 00:42:33 I'm really sorry for you guys in Raleigh, man. But it might work out. They made a good trade. Hey, listen, in fairness, Don Waddell is everybody's source. So he's... Is he? Is he that guy? Come on.
Starting point is 00:42:43 I don't know. I have no sources. I have no idea of the sources are. I just noticed somebody spent a day with the Carolina Hurricanes management. Okay, but where do you come down on the whole, the fact that, like, he's still denying concussion. It's the worst thing ever. Right.
Starting point is 00:42:56 Shouldn't that be enough? The Gary, Gary Betman's shit ranking goes, canceling a season. a full fucking season and then denial of CTE Like those are two really bad things Right which gets us to the point I was trying to make before Before we got into the Have Greg defend a person
Starting point is 00:43:11 He doesn't want to defend athon Then don't defend them Which is that which is that The record speaks for its set Which is that Baked in perpetuity Putting beyond the ballot And then into the Hall of Fame
Starting point is 00:43:25 It's cost certainty People will buy tickets left and right It's also the timing of it That's what I was going to say. I don't mind that he's getting in while he has the job. It's just, why not let Willioree have the year as the building? It's not even that. That's what bothers me.
Starting point is 00:43:39 What bothers me is this. Why do players, why do we wait a few years before inducting players into the Hall of Fame? It's because with a little bit of hindsight and a little bit of insight and a little bit of, let's create a little distance between his career and his retirement and look at him within the context of everything. you are able to then properly evaluate somebody. Also, distance creates a little bit of affinity, I think. You know? It's like... Yeah, like you look back at stuff usually.
Starting point is 00:44:13 Like Chris Pronger goes into the Hall of Fame, right? And it's like... You're still playing, but whatever. But you know what I mean? He was on a contract. And it's like, when he played, it was like, oh, what a scumbag. Remember when he stomped on that guy with his skate? Wait, hold on.
Starting point is 00:44:28 You're not going to tell me that the argument for putting Gary Betman in. is that we would all forget about all the shit things he did three years. No, no, no, no, no, I'm not saying that at all. I'm saying that when Chris Pronger went in, it was like, oh, what a sturdy hockey man. Sturdy. He did whatever it took to win.
Starting point is 00:44:43 Elbows flying, skates a stumping. I'd take Chris Pronger on the team the minute he. You know, that was sort of the thing. And so, like, I don't think that anybody is going to forget the shit that Batman's done. But I will say that right now, again, we will go back to what happened in Dallas. He stepped out on the stuff. stage to do a memorial service for the humble Broncos. They didn't, they weren't, they weren't. They were not, but they booed because the minute
Starting point is 00:45:09 you see that face in front of a crowd of people, you boo the man. So to put him in now, where there is a divisiveness to this guy that wouldn't necessarily be there maybe as much three years after he's retired, where we're not counting down the days and the bonus money that may or may not be coming to players anymore because he told the GMs not or the owners not to give out bonus money anymore but ahead of the lockouts. Four lockouts he's going to be it.
Starting point is 00:45:37 That's what I'm saying is we're kind of out of the day to another work stoppage. Why put him in now? Like it makes no fucking sense to put him in out, except somebody on Twitter, I forget who it was. I'm sorry to steal this idea. Hit me before we did the show today.
Starting point is 00:45:49 He's like, do you think they put Betman in before like the lawsuit settled on the concussion stuff just so they can have them in there already? and it won't be like... Would it be better to go the other way? Like once he's finally admitted and he's doing something to help the players,
Starting point is 00:46:05 wouldn't that be the time to do it? I don't know. Or maybe after a second canceled the season? Like, is it more advantageous for them to get him in now before all this shit goes down to the next few years? Yeah, I mean, like three lockouts, four lockouts. Like, once you get to like two... Two lost seasons.
Starting point is 00:46:21 It doesn't matter. Yeah, you know, like you're kind of that guy anyway. Well, it should be said that. I mean... I thought about health. I thought maybe like he's sick or something. we didn't know that yeah he he claimed he was stunned by the the call like he wasn't expecting he fucking should have been yeah we we fucking were wait i think you have the wrong number you
Starting point is 00:46:40 looking for looking for john collins no this is gary batman two tees i'm gonna be at the hall of fame anyway you can't have a what in the hall of fame wait do they do the wait i don't even know i never i never covered a hall of fame event is that in front of like fans or is that just like rich hockey people it's it's some fans but mostly in the room for that actual ceremony is mostly just like... So he's not going to get booed? I can't imagine he would. Okay, I wasn't sure.
Starting point is 00:47:05 But I just... It's like, yeah, I don't care that he has his job still when he's getting in. It's not that. It's just doing it the same year as Willie O'Ree kind of sucks. Like, wait a year. Or do it a year before, Will you Reed? Nothing reinforces the divisiveness of Gary Betman and the fact that, like, they put in
Starting point is 00:47:19 one of the best goalies in the history of hockey and the first black player in NHL history and all of the conversation is about Gary Betman. Right, because, Because nobody, like, okay, so they put in some Russian dude from the 70s that no one thought about. Like, okay, blah, blah, blah. Hey, scored a goal in the Summit series.
Starting point is 00:47:36 But do Gary Bettman just out of the blue like this? I don't know, man. I just, I don't know. Well, you shoot your shot. And speaking of which, today's episode of Puck's is sponsored by Shooter. Boy. On Thursdays, Ryan Philippi, who, by the way, is demonstrably great. I disagree. I think he's a bad actor.
Starting point is 00:47:59 How dare you? Cruel intentions. 54. He's good. He's really good in McGruber. In McGrubor? He's fantastic. He's very, very good in McGruber. I am a Ryan Filby fan. He returns as, get ready for this,
Starting point is 00:48:13 Bob Lee's swagger. And they hit... Wasn't that your nickname in high school? No, it was actually Little Dick Lozo. Oh, so you don't have Big Dick Energy, as it were? Christ, I fucking thought... Your reaction to Big Dick Energy is my reaction to the Galaxy Brain. It is the same reaction.
Starting point is 00:48:29 No, it was just because, like, there are these things on the internet that happened, and I try not to figure out what they are. Like, it took me, like, three months to have someone actually tell me what an in-cell is. I don't want to know stuff sometimes. And I saw a tweet. It was, like, a reply to a reply to someone I don't follow. So I, like, went back up the thread, and it was, like, B, D., in parentheses, Wong, E. And I was trying to figure out what it was.
Starting point is 00:48:49 And earlier today, I saw a B.D. Wong story about Jurassic Park. So I thought, like, maybe, like, B.D. Wong was dying or something. And then, like, later today, someone in my timeline, I was, like, like, I'm a girl, but I have big dick energy. And I was like, oh, no. Yeah. But here's the beautiful thing about, about big dick energy. What is it?
Starting point is 00:49:05 Are you just, like, tired from lugging and around? Did I legit just say that in 2018? I'm exhausted. I'm a big dick energy. The meme has, the meme is, is in light speed. It's a meme or is just like a thing from a TV show or something? No, it's a thing from an article. But we've gone through which actors and whoever has it to now, which women have it,
Starting point is 00:49:24 to now we're in the best part of it, which is like, which Wendy's menu items have big dick energy. And it's like, yes, that's what I need. I need the buzz feedification of it is the thing I need. Oh, my God. Name six types of tacos and we'll tell you if you have big dick energy. But what is it? Is it just confidence?
Starting point is 00:49:42 Is that all it is? So why don't you say confidence? It's not having it. It's a quiet, it's like Chris Evans. There, it's the best way I could describe would be Chris Evans. He's famous. I assume everyone who's famous has big energy. He's a low-key, kind of unassuming guy.
Starting point is 00:49:56 And you just look at him and you're like, Yeah. Ron Howard probably has big dick Who cares? All famous people are super confident That's why they're famous Or maybe the other thing comes first You must have big Ben down there
Starting point is 00:50:06 To make Willow Boy, the way you came in there And really handled solo You must be packing my friend narrator, he was packing Bobbly Swagger in the USA Original Drama shooter Ryan Filp be a big dick energy
Starting point is 00:50:23 I'd probably say so Was who was he with Reese Witherspoon, right? For a long time? Well, in the movie, I don't know about real life. I never know who's sucking up in real life, ever. In the new season, Bob Lee Swagger confronts conspiracy and corruption as he struggles to find out the truth about his father's murder. Most like The Flash.
Starting point is 00:50:41 From executive producers Mark Wahlberg, Little Dick Energy, and Stephen Levinson comes the exciting new season of Shooter. All new episode Thursday at 10 Eastern 9 Central only on USA Network, where what's well Welcome, Dave Lozo? Suits. Characters. By the way, you know those commercials where it's like a couple watching TV and you only see it from the TV perspective and like one person wants to watch one thing? It's like a, it's on fire ad.
Starting point is 00:51:08 There's one commercial where she wants to watch suits and they have a scene of suits on. And it was so corny that I thought it was like a fake suits bit. Like, how dare you come into this courtroom and talk to me? But it was like real dialogue from the show. And then the guy's like, I want to watch what I want to watch. And he puts on soccer. And I was like, oh, this is the worst fucking couple of all times. Soccer!
Starting point is 00:51:28 We want to come over and watch suits? No, no, we're good. How about soccer? Oh, we can't be your friends anymore if all you watch is suits and soccer. Please stop. John Tavares held court this week. I wonder what that was like. So, yeah, some people were like, oh, he's definitely not going to go back to the Islanders.
Starting point is 00:51:47 I'm like, who among us wouldn't want to get our dick sucked for like two days straight in a beautiful agent's office? Yeah. And have the teams come in and tell you what a beautiful. beautiful boy you are. Like, what a great time. I'd love that. Oh, you mean metaphorically. Yeah, I mean, metaphorically. I think you meant literally. Yeah, I mean, two days straight and then one of them's from like Boston. I mean, I don't think like literally that's what you'd want. Yeah, that's a good point. That's probably a lot of chafing. Taste like chowder. God, so many semen jokes today on the show. They're all coming from you, basically. I'm usually the guy that's making the seed.
Starting point is 00:52:20 Well, you're sick. Yeah. I'm off my game. So rank, rank them for me right now. We're down to the final six. Nashville, no way. Vegas went bankrupt. Yeah, what happened to Vegas? Vegas wasn't, Vegas didn't want them. I'm assuming they're just saving their money for Bobby Ryan and Eric Crosson. Yeah, probably. It's got to be what it is. So we've got, we've got, San Jose or the Islanders. Dallas, Boston, San Jose, Toronto, the Islanders. I don't see Toronto. Who am I missing? Tampa? Tampa, right. There you go. Thank you. Okay. So the last one's probably
Starting point is 00:52:55 Dallas. Dallas. The quotes coming out from the Dallas people after the meeting were very much like, just happy he took the meeting. It was so cool to be in the same room as John Tavares. Oh my God. He's so ripped. I didn't realize how strong he was.
Starting point is 00:53:13 He shook his hand and it was like, oh my God, he's like a rock star. That meeting went something like this. Hello, John. Good to meet you. So I understand you have no taxes. That's very true. Okay, thanks. Wait, hold on.
Starting point is 00:53:26 Someone's already wearing number 91 on your team, yeah. That's the problem in Tampa as well. Oh, yeah, that's right. That is the problem there. I think Boston probably has a worse shot than Dallas, because at least Dallas has, like, I don't know, man. Tell me why, because I think Boston's actually a really interesting. I'm just, I was, I was doing, like,
Starting point is 00:53:42 I was trying to write a big, like, thing about all 31 teams, and I got to the Atlantic Division. And, like, remember last year before last year? We kind of thought Boston wasn't going to be that good. Like, we thought, like, maybe, like, Tampa for sure. Toronto was on the rise, but I wonder if Boston's really not that good, and they just kind of had a hundred-point season because they share a division with, like, Ottawa, like, all these terrible teams in the Atlantic Buffalo. But why, though? I think... I don't know if they're as good as people think they might be. But aren't they going to be good, though? Because, like, they've got, they've got a really good mix of like, so they have the Bergeron line. Bergeron's not, not 25 anymore. But the line is great.
Starting point is 00:54:19 It was great last year. They have Debrosk. They've got, they've got, they've got McAvoy and the defense. Like, they've seen. It seems like the right mix of... Chara's not getting any younger. Vets and young players. Charra's 40 plus. Bergeron's probably like 38 years old in terms of like how much his body has been through during his career. Rand Warshan, perfectly awesome and great. Still has a lot of good years left.
Starting point is 00:54:41 They have a really good young group of guys, but I just don't know if that's where you want. Like I think San Jose is just set up better for the future. Dallas kind of... They intrigued me because... Younger... Younger stars. The only American team in the Northeast they talked to. Oh, also the Islanders were there for some reason.
Starting point is 00:54:58 Oh, except for the Islanders. The only other team in the Northeast, right. Weird. And it intrigues me because it seems like a pretty easy move. Move? Yeah, I mean, like, Kriachi's got a ton of value. Like, you could probably ship him up to fucking Edmonton. Does he have a ton of value?
Starting point is 00:55:14 I think so. I think he's got value. I think he's a first or second line center on most teams in this league. I don't know. for sure he hasn't been that great since that contract he's good he's I don't know if he's a first line center on an elite team on an elite team no but on on a team that needs a first line center probably so we're just setting them though so I don't know but like you could but you can find a a taker for him and then what you're going to have to do is probably package something with
Starting point is 00:55:38 bacchus to get him out off your cap oh yeah back is too yeah so once you do that then you got all the taveris room that you need yeah but then but right but that's the thing too is like I think with San Jose and even the islanders too and even Dallas they they can be like come here join the team while like tampa has to be like come join the team and john tovar's is like doing the math he's like wait so who you getting rid of i like i like your team but if i come there what are you going to have to take off to get me there there i mean the first thing you do is trade tyler johnson which is fine because you could do that he's he's got a no trade that kicks in so you could do you could do that but he's does he what's his contract he's it's five million a year
Starting point is 00:56:13 for the next like three or four years yeah and then maybe you find a way to lamarillo calahan Oh my God I thought I solved all their problems Until someone he was like Yeah he had shoulder surgery So you can't buy him out That's such bullshit Like if you can play the entire postseason
Starting point is 00:56:30 With your injury I can buy you out after the season The first time I ever heard about that was I think Chris Drury Remember when the Rangers Wanted to buy out jury And it was like Brad Richards too
Starting point is 00:56:38 Oh or was it Richards Like you can't buy out of a player That's injured Yeah Like which I Like I feel like if your injury Is gonna heal by like August What a fucking screwed you are
Starting point is 00:56:46 Like you know the guys The guy's hurt And you're like You're like oh hey Hey, how's it going, guys? Guys, legs in a cast. He's like in one of those police systems in the hospital bed. You're like, hey, it's your buyout, sign it.
Starting point is 00:56:57 Come on. If you're good enough, you're going to get signed anyway. Like, you're going to, there's a guy in baseball, catcher. I forget his name. Wilson oramos, maybe? Was it Benito Santiago? Oh, ever Benito Santiago throw him with that stance with the leg laps? He would throw from his knees.
Starting point is 00:57:10 I tried to do that. Guess what I couldn't do. Throw from my knees. But like pitchers and catchers, guys who were hurt sometimes get two-year deals where the first year is like, just rehab, but you're fine. Like, if you're good enough, you're going to get signed. Ryan Callahan is stupid that way. If Ryan Callahan's back, actually I don't know when he's back, but Ryan Callahan sucks.
Starting point is 00:57:24 He makes too much money. Him and Dan Girardi. I had a whole plan where they bought him out and they saved $5 million against the cat this year. And somebody was just like, yeah, they can't buy it. That was the thing, though, with Tampa is like, if you get him in and you can fit him in this year, you know, next year, like, fucking half the team is free agents. I mean, almost the entire defense outside of Hedman, basically. But then they have to resign, but they have to resign Kucheroff next year. Yeah, but maybe Tavares sees that and is like, well, I don't want to be on a cup, you know, contending team for one season and then I don't know what's going to happen.
Starting point is 00:57:53 Right. Team gets float up. Like, San Jose's got all these dudes locked in for a long time. That's the thing. Yeah, I mean. It's either San Jose or the Islanders, I think. It sounds like they're playing a little grab-ass with Pavelsky, by the way, based on the Tavares thing. Like, Couture is apparently coming back for eight. They've got Burns and Glassix signed for a long term.
Starting point is 00:58:10 They're going to have a cane signed for, I guess, what was it? Seven? Seven years, yeah. Pavellsky's, like, old, though. He's not old, but, like, we will. We always think of Pavelsky is young, but he's in his early 30s. He's like 34. So it's like one of these deals where I'm sure he's now, in Doug Wilson's eyes, he's graduated into, you know how like Joe and Patrick would just come back for like maybe a little bit and for a lot less?
Starting point is 00:58:31 You're old now. Do that. Well, Joe was getting one year, $8 million, three years, $21 million. He was getting decent paychecks. And Joe's, and Pavelsky's like, fuck you, man. I'm worth a lot of money. And Doug Wilson's like, hey, you know what's great? Living here.
Starting point is 00:58:45 You know what's not living elsewhere. like fuck you've got me right like once you get to a certain age like that's the thing i would tell john tvaris is like you don't want to become joe thornton where like you get comfortable and lazy in your 30s with your family and you can't move your family as easily john tavares doesn't have i think he doesn't have that's what i said that's what i said when the whole thing started with santa zay's it's just have joe thornton go visit tvaris be like you never grow old it's always beautiful dave pollock is the only guy that talks to you you're basically it's it's it's dave pollock and kevin kerry that's it's it two guys guys
Starting point is 00:59:17 talk to you that's it and there's no there's no there's no there's no media this thing about Toronto too right Tavares is like do they have golf just like boy do they no they don't they don't have golf golf has you jever do you ever think about sitting a golf ball over the golden gate bridge friend he's like he's like hey so if you play for Lou Lamarillo you can't shave right he's like right and like he just starts stroking Joe Thornt starts stroking his beard wow that sounds that sounds constricting Joe Thornton reaches up and and and takes down a tree branch and just starts eating it.
Starting point is 00:59:47 What are you doing? It's made of candy, John. Everything here is made of candy. There is no life I know to compare with your San Jose Amation. We don't really win in the playoffs ever, but still it's nice. It plays for vacation. Thomas Hurtle walks out, umpa, lumpa, dope-de-do. I've got a winger to play with you.
Starting point is 01:00:17 like I just think San Jose works so good for him man because like think about all the stuff that happens out there like the hilarious Toma Tomasuredl like working out in the pool with the old ladies like that's a John Tavares he would go do that Doug Wilson's pitch is the holiday sweater video they shot right like you can wear a goofy holiday sweater all year round out here no one cares oh man the Bay Area for a rich person too has got a that's an expensive place to live I guess but oh it's yeah it's it's like outside of Vancouver like the most expensive place to live in North America, but like, he's beat. It's so nice. It's so nice. I love going out there when they were in the playoffs every year. Oh, man, they should have bring, they should bring in all the Silicon Valley people.
Starting point is 01:00:59 They should bring in fucking. Yeah, that's what he needs. Elon Musk giving a fucking presentation for why he should live in San Jose. Oh, hey. Sorry. Who are you? I'm George Lucas. Welcome to the Silicon Valley, where I believe you know, ILM makes magic in movies,
Starting point is 01:01:16 and we would make magic. You would make magic for the sharks. Like, George, Earbings was magic. John, me and George made a video for you to kind of show you what it would be like to be out here. I know that Kyle Dubis one was like this cool Toronto video with like special effects. Here, show our video.
Starting point is 01:01:30 And it's just like a John Tavares superimposed and a car flying in space. Stanley Cup in the back of the car. That could be you, man. I don't know what Elon Musk sounds like. Thanks, George. That was really impressive. I just don't know really what I'm going to do.
Starting point is 01:01:46 Choose your passenger will. Oh, what? Yoda puppet! This is the past. So Moshiro just hops in the back of John Tavares and starts guiding him around. Oh, your fear. It controls you. I don't know why Yoda's Italian when I do Yoda.
Starting point is 01:02:03 Your fear is a very good thing, but you must control it. My wife, she knows the force. And Lamerillo shows up and he's like, So, young Tavis, your faith in your friends is yours. um he walks back into the c a room like all the other all the other gms are murdered but the sword and he's just like oh you've killed the gmlings excellent now he's now he's now he's now he's mr burns and tamaris is like all right lou i'll go wait i'll go ten over eight with you unlimited power He's going to the Islanders, right? We didn't, we didn't do it. We took it.
Starting point is 01:02:42 Dallas we talked about. Boston. Islanders, uh, Tampa. Toronto's interesting. So Toronto, do you think he would do that thing they talked about?
Starting point is 01:02:51 Like really, really high priced first year and then, and then come back for eight the next summer? Or is that a risky scheme? I mean, it's risky. He's had knee problems in the past. He had the injury in the Olympics back when Gary Bettman let everybody go to the Olympics.
Starting point is 01:03:05 So maybe he's not necessarily looking to risk it for a year. I also just, I don't know, like he comes across as a guy that doesn't want to be in front of the media all the time. And if he goes to Toronto, like, he's going to have to fucking do that shit every Steve Simmons in his locker. Damien Cox has locker every fucking day. Like, I think he likes probably the anonymity and the fact that they have a veteran leadership corps in San Jose more than the fact that, like, Toronto, he's going to have to be the mentor and the leader and all that shit. So between that and the cap situation. I feel, I feel you on that. Like, that's one of the reasons why I never thought he'd want to go there.
Starting point is 01:03:35 But maybe there's two reasons why I don't think he'll go there, which means he'll probably sign there. One is the media market and who wants that sort of pressure. Two, there's a long story to history of guys not wanting to play from Mike Babcock. That too. Yeah. I mean, that is a fucking fact. Like, that was the rap on him in Detroit. And people in Detroit be like, no, that's not true.
Starting point is 01:03:55 And yet no one went to play with him. Like, Parisian city were like, we'll go play in Minnesota. Yeah. Like fucking, you know, Joel Quedmel is not having heart to hearts with Patrick Cain in the summertime. time to keep him happy. Like, there's a reason why he has to go in Arizona and Nick Austin Matthews. Chicago was literally like, Brad Richards, it's like, I'll play here for a million dollars. Hey, Brad, I think we could probably use you on the second center position. All right. Back-cock. What a tour to force you're having with Chicago today. I love my.
Starting point is 01:04:24 Go words, drunk on a boat. Joel Quinville sounds nothing like that, but, but fucking Joe, Quimville is definitely Dennis Arena, without question. He does kind of sound like a Chicago guy. I remember thinking the first time I heard Joel Quinville talk. I thought he was was a Chicago guy. When he went to Chicago, I was like, oh, it's a perfect good for the Chicago guy. It's like that team has him sounding like he's a Chicago guy. And when John Taves does French media, it fucking blows my mind when I hear him talk French. It's crazy, right?
Starting point is 01:04:46 He's like, the least French-sounding guy ever. And he's just like, bonjour, jean-ma-peze. So, Joel, what do you think the keys are for the old season? Getting Brent Seabrook off the books. Going to Genos. Getting some fucking deep dish. Now I'm doing, I can't do any voices today. My nose is so fucking stuffed.
Starting point is 01:05:00 Oh, poor bait. We could do. He could do it was probably late here if you tried. I don't understand how that bacon flight. work now I can't do it it's all it's all like in the throat and the nose it's just it's just so bad today um so uh oh yeah so anyway like so the babcock things i mean the fucking nobody wanted to play for him in detroit yeah after he left all the veterans were like goodbye like nick lister probably plays two more years if someone else is yeah and he's currently feuding with a 20 year old so i mean like things are going great it sounds
Starting point is 01:05:29 like you on twitter but like you know what i mean like like like that that to me is It's a part of the equation that you can. Unless he had like the best time with him at the Olympics. I don't know. But like I just feel like the Babcock thing is a thing. Well, then again, Mike. Backcock had a fourth line at the Olympics too. Yeah, who would you rather hang out with?
Starting point is 01:05:46 Patrice Bergeron for fucking seven years or Mike Babcock for seven years. Or Stephen Stamcoast for seven years. Or Joe Thornton for a couple. Yeah, right. You know? It's like, it's a, that's like the James Neal situation where he turned down Vegas to go somewhere else for like one more year and a few more million bucks. Like, what would you rather have five years in Vegas or six years in Buffalo?
Starting point is 01:06:02 Yeah, I know. Or Vancouver. But we think he's, He's going into the Islanders, right? Like, at the end of the day. Here's where I'm at. I think he was 90%, I'm going to stay with the Islanders,
Starting point is 01:06:13 but let me hear this thing out. Probably at the end of this thing, he's probably bound to 80%. Like, I'm sure there's somebody who was like, gave him a pitch and he's just blown away by it. It's either the Ironers of the sharks for sure. But like, you know,
Starting point is 01:06:23 I think Toronto's my stalking horse. I think there's still a chance, despite everything we just said. Like, I think the fact that he held court out in L.A. for four days tells me he doesn't want to come back. I think he's looking for a reason to leave. And if San Jose, Doug Wilson, gives him the reason he wants to hear,
Starting point is 01:06:39 I think he leaves. Like, it just, like, Steve, everyone's like, oh, Steve would stepcoast did this, and he came back. Yeah, he came back to a fucking cup contender for the next four or five years. He came back with a team with Victor Hedman
Starting point is 01:06:48 and Nikita Kuthoroff on the roster. With an arena. With a GM that's been there for, like, again, like, I don't understand a Lou Amarillo, a 75-year-old man that's won three-playoff series in 15 years is some, like, bargaining chip to come back and, like,
Starting point is 01:07:01 make things happen there. Like, he's not. but man it's just the whole the whole not wanting to move your shit and stuff that really I think he goes to San Jose I'm gonna say he stays on the aisle I think he does it I think he's because like again he's not married right doesn't have kids he's not weighed down by by responsibilities to them so he's he's free to basically set up his life anywhere he wants right now and San Jose is a really good place to do it isn't it though it's so great I had the best Chinese food meal ever had in San Jose which is a random place to have it I
Starting point is 01:07:33 Listen, the sharks making the cup final that year was one of the greatest times I've had covering a cup final just because of like, you know, we would be in Pittsburgh and it's just like, okay, French fries and salad, whatever. I think that town suits him. Counting down the days until I get back and be like, I'm driving through these beautiful valleys of shit and going to San Francisco and having prime rib with the curtain blog boys and just like it was the greatest. It was the greatest. I try to think. Wait, where's their practice facility? I've been to it a million times.
Starting point is 01:08:00 It's not that far out of the way, right? It's not. Yeah. It's down the highway a little bit. It's like right by the football stadium for the college team. But like, again, it's like when I was there and I was covering the cup final, I'm like, oh, I get it now. I understand why Marlow and Thornton were just dicks about never whined to be traded. I just think the arena is set up here.
Starting point is 01:08:16 He doesn't like it. You can go. Well, that's it too. I mean, like the Belmont thing is just there's so much of Brooklyn thing. I mean, just going for a long out of Brooklyn for a shit. There's just so much uncertainty. Like you could, like you said, the sharks can go to Tavares and be like, we have a goalie, we have two defensemen. We have all these forwards.
Starting point is 01:08:32 The honors go to him and be, era, we have Matt Bousel. I know. And see the thing, too, is like, John Tavares was on the island forever and Brooklyn forever on this really sweet contract. And they fucked up, they fucked up the team every year. So, like, I was going to go back there and get, like, almost double what he was making? And it's like, you have to assume that Lou and Trots are going to be able to do the thing, right? But it's just no guarantees that they could do the thing.
Starting point is 01:08:54 Like Lou, Lou bringing in Roman Polack and fucking all these fucking, like, Leo Comarabs for fucking for toughness. Like, you don't, you would rather have. Doug Wilson and Pete DeBore as your combo as opposed to Barry Trots and Lou Lambert. The sharks have been in the play. I look back at it. The entirety of John Tavares' career in the NHL, they've missed the playoffs once during that. You know how many times the Islanders have missed all but two years, three years?
Starting point is 01:09:20 Two years. Two years. They beat Florida that one year. Right. He's played 24 games in the playoffs. And it's not even though they're on the verge of being a great team again. I mean, listen, they've got a lot of things going. in their direction without question.
Starting point is 01:09:33 I think they've got a second line. I know that we should on Lou. I think Lou will be able to manage that team better than fucking Garth could. Oh, I mean. There you go. Okay, the Betman argument all over again. It's close. Replacement GMX could have done better than Garth Snow.
Starting point is 01:09:47 I agree. Yeah. I don't know if Lou is the... Lou's more like replacement GMZ. I don't know if he's X. But yeah. ERA, that's why I get all my hockey gossip on GMZ. God.
Starting point is 01:10:02 Era John Chaker was seen at a Magic the Gathering game in Glendale. I can't breathe. My nose is so stuffed. I feel like if I laugh, I'm going to like hawk flam all over the microphone. Excellent. There's an image for you. But where would you go? You would go to San Jose, right?
Starting point is 01:10:18 I mean, I'd go to San Jose looking stuff, but I think he stays on the island. I think he... He would need to get guilted so hard about leaving. Like, oh, man, we had this all arena set up for you. You know, oh, we made these moves. Like, every part of the roster at San Jose, maybe except for, like, the Barzal situation. Yeah. better.
Starting point is 01:10:34 All right, a couple more things here. Jack Johnson to the penguin. Who first reported that? No, it was Mark Madden. Jack Johnson, five years, $18 million. I spent the entire morning trying to figure out which penguin told him that it happened. You think it was? Probably Sid.
Starting point is 01:10:53 I think so? It might have been. You think Sid's a Mark Madden guy, huh? I think I think they probably have a relationship. I don't know. I just wanted to give you a tip. You've been so good to me. Play a lot of ex- ambassadors.
Starting point is 01:11:03 praising me on the radio and that the hardship open. and things. My friend Jack, I know from Shattuck, St. Mary, is going to probably come to the penguins. How is he from there, too? Oh, that's him and, him and Sid, are close. They were buds at Shattuck. Yeah. Well, it's actually the perfect storm.
Starting point is 01:11:18 You have a friend of Sid and a former hurricane. My favorite Jim Rutherford thing ever. He was a hurricane? Remember, they drafted him third overall in Sid's draft year. And then they traded him to L.A. when he wouldn't leave Michigan to play for the hurricanes. I don't remember his time. Carolina at all? He never played there.
Starting point is 01:11:37 Oh. Yeah. He was at Michigan. He refused to leave Michigan to play for Carolina. Oh, okay. And so they traded him to L.A. for Tim Gleason. And at the time, Rutherford was like, we want to get a guy who could actually play in the league instead of someone were just waiting for. You know, here's a word. Now he's waited 13 years or whatever. And they came back around again. Here we go. But it was like that time, that time when Rutherford was the GM of the Hurricanes where it was like, you know, everybody's like, oh, what will Carolina do in the off season? Will they go and sign X, Y, Z? He's like, I've bought back Chad LaRose for the third straight time. Oh, there's a name.
Starting point is 01:12:13 That's like calling out Oda B. McDowell when we're doing baseball names. Chadler Rose. It was like always X hurricanes coming back to play for the team. Chadler Rose on the wing. I've been Chad. Wow, that's really good. So, listen, I people. I don't get it, man.
Starting point is 01:12:34 People have dropped a metric ton of shit on the signing. It's bad. I agree that on the surface it's bad, but I will bring this caveat forward. Oh, man. You are the devil's advocate of devil's advocate. I'm an optimist to the point where my wife recently said, that's the thing I hate most about you. Oh, yeah. This is insufferable, all this happiness.
Starting point is 01:12:55 Sergei Gonchar is a great coach. Sergey Gonchar has turned defensemen that have gone to Pittsburgh who were not good, Justin Schultz. Jack and others. Yeah, right. Into pretty good defensemen. So the idea that Jack Johnson goes there and is under the tutelage of a defenseman whisperer is pretty great. You just did a Pierre McGuire. Under the tutelage of Sergey Gonshire.
Starting point is 01:13:21 Jack Johnson's Shaq. St. Mary's parents, his parents bankrupted him. Oh my God, this is like a Pierre McGuire like created in the lab like story. Shattuck St. Mary's tutelage, Sergey Gonshire. Oh, yeah. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:13:31 Oh, yeah. probably not one of the guys he would reference. Michigan. Oh, yeah. By the way, the University of Michigan. So, but like, but like, under the guidance of Red Barrenson. Don't, don't, isn't there something to be said for the fact that this guy's been through personal hell in the last few years and maybe he's just going to get a fresh start with some
Starting point is 01:13:44 cash infusion, by the way? I don't think so. I don't think he's a little bit of money. Hey, guess what? You can stop eating ramen because of your parents now. We're going to give you some free agent money. Yeah. I mean, that could be a thing, but it's not like he was ever great, you know?
Starting point is 01:13:57 No. And then, like, his parents were like, I don't, I don't, I mean, like, I just feel like he's the kind of guy you could have gotten for like two and six, not like five and 16. Is that the number? Yeah, but he's a friend of SIDS, though. Like five years. I know. Compensate him properly. Sid, we're already paying so many people on the roster so much money.
Starting point is 01:14:19 Here's where there's. I know he's, you know, Shattuck product, you know. Shattuck product. But the other part of that deal, too, is they clear the space by. trading shirry and hunwick to buffalo and everyone's like wow only a fourth round pick for those guys yeah that's a dump and a half by the way buffalo got anything out of that it's the weirdest thing this year this this last couple days like people saw the brian russ contract and you're like oh fuck that guy he's a product of sid i'm like no no no friends no but connor shirry is a product of sid like
Starting point is 01:14:45 like how many how many of kind of probably connor shirry had a pretty rough year last year because he wasn't playing with sid and the year before he was great when he was riding shotgun on sid's line and plus mad hunwick is yeah he's whatever yeah i don't have any ill will towards Matt Hunwick, but like, everyone's like, wow, all that for a fourth, like, that feels like fair. That feels like fair compensation for that. Yeah. Happens.
Starting point is 01:15:04 But like when you clear room, you think like you're going to do something impactful and huge, like, oh, man, are they going to figure out a way to get John DeVarx? The thing. The thing that has to go right, the thing that has to go right for them next year is that Brousard needs to be Broussard. Because that's, that was such a big deal and it didn't work. Yeah, it didn't go well. That they need him to be the third line guy.
Starting point is 01:15:23 Well, if they trade Kessel, that frees up on. I still don't need to trade in Kessel. They shouldn't. I mean, they shouldn't. I don't know. I feel like when there's, there's, there's that much smoke. Like, I don't know. You know where I think you should go? New Jersey. Vegas. I think everybody should go to Vegas. There was all that Luchy talk this morning. I'm like, you know, who should? He should go to Vegas. Because they have all the cap space. Plus, they have, like, the dead contracts that they can ship out for actual money. Like, they have so much space. Like, why are you not in L.A.? George McPhee? You should be wooing John Tavares. Like, again, Vegas is another great spot for him, too. It's, like, out in the middle of nowhere. John DeVarge is not going to be tempted by the casinos. I wish that Vegas lived up to its reputation of being like the rogue element in the NHL
Starting point is 01:16:05 and just started fucking offer shooting people left and right. George is like we've got all the draft picks that we need for the next two, three years are coming for you. And you're fucking all these. What are you going to do when Bill Foley brings his offer sheets down on you, brother? Let me tell you something, Gene. I got cap room I got picks I got a lot of good players
Starting point is 01:16:30 And I can sign and bring over here What you're gonna do about it Oh yeah Freakote A man Bill Foley I body slam The Clive Volcroft I could definitely get you
Starting point is 01:16:46 Nikita Kutrov JVR By the way Kutraff has one year left I don't want to misrepresent that Cam Ward to the Blackhawks probably. I feel like every move this offseason
Starting point is 01:16:59 has been a referendum on Scott Darling. And my belief that Scott Darling is going to be really good in Carolina because we get Bill Peters to leave. By the way, I completely forgot that Bill Peters was a coach in Calgary when they dug you out when the train went down.
Starting point is 01:17:13 Oh, and it's the first thing I heard from Carolina people were like, you know who hates Bill Peters? Noah Hannafin and Elias Linholm. I would imagine. I feel like everyone in that team probably hated him because like, I mean, I feel like the,
Starting point is 01:17:24 whole Eddie Lack thing was like a mirror into like what he was like. Right. Completely fucking surered him to the media for like 10 minutes. Like I feel like he was probably a little bit of a hot tempered kneebag in the locker. But it was pretty funny because it was like, Elias Linholm probably is like walks into the fucking, you know, gets on the phone with Brad for Living. He's like, I hate this. I don't like Bill Peters. Okay.
Starting point is 01:17:42 Well, I guess we'll just have to find someone else to play with Johnny Goodrow and Sean Monaghan. Yeah. I love this. No, when I say hate is the best. There's a thin line between love and hate as they say. And I can maybe come over to that. But now, now Cam Ward is going to leave. Carolina and go where Scott Darling was.
Starting point is 01:17:56 So all these things are going to happen next year where only I and like four people that want to taunt me on Twitter are going to care about like how Cam Ward does, how Scott Darling does. It's going to be bad. How do you feel about the Panarin situation? I don't think we talked about that. I understand why he probably wants to leave because he probably doesn't want to play for John Torterella for the rest of his life. It sounds like he wants to play in a big city.
Starting point is 01:18:20 He was in Chicago. He was pretty happy. Then he goes to Columbus, which is a gas college town. Let's not be, let's not perpetrate. It's a fun place to be, but at L.A. or Chicago or New York. You spend your first couple years in Chicago. You went to Columbus. That's not great.
Starting point is 01:18:32 I love this fact that one of the places that he was rumored of wanted to go is Florida. And someone's like, what does Florida have that the Columbus doesn't have it? I think it was like Portsland who's like South Beach. Everything. Literally everything. I think it's sad. Listen, I think they knew that this was a possibility when they made the sod trade. You got to shoot your shot.
Starting point is 01:18:53 You got it. By the way, shooter, USA, no. You got to shoot your shot. And I think that making the deal was the, I'd make that deal a hundred times to get a player like Panarin. If he decides he doesn't want to be there, there's nothing you can do about it. But it's also, I hate the way hockey works where if a guy does not want to commit to you for eight years, one year before his contract's over. It's like this like huge crisis. We got to move.
Starting point is 01:19:14 We got to get rid of them. Well, maybe like let him play. Maybe you guys are awesome this year. And you do really well and then you keep them. And maybe that makes him want to stay. Or he's really good in your team. bad than trade him with the deadline. You get tons of stuff at the deadline for him. The whole like got to have him sign one year out thing.
Starting point is 01:19:28 It's just such a weird thing. Would you give up Colton Pereco if you're the blues for Padarin? No. You think he's too good? I just don't, I think he's really good and I don't know if they really have the depth, the depth to kind of trade from that part of their team. I know what I mean? Like what are they going to have down the right side besides Peter Angela? I want to see, I want to see one of those balls on the table kind of kind of fucking player-for-player deals are Panarin. You know what I mean? Like, I want to see that kind of thing. Well, yeah, they should probably find some other player that only has one year left that doesn't want to stay. Or, you know, go back to what I've always said. No.
Starting point is 01:20:03 The laundering of Artemmy Panarin. Back to Chicago? Next to Chicago. Along behold, come next year, Patrick Cain's back with Panarin, Taves with Sod, everybody's happy. We have a rule in my fantasy baseball league where once you trade someone to a team that you can't have that guy traded back to the team that traded you. Like, we figured that out a long time ago. like if the NHL lets that happen because when they trade Panarin back
Starting point is 01:20:27 they're going to get less than sod. So it's just this weird sort of there's too many NHL teams. It'd be funny if they got like the brinket like now stands like well I don't want to pay this guy now they trade him over for fucking Panarin and then they bring it goes to Columbus
Starting point is 01:20:40 at least he stays there for a couple years they train him back to Chicago for like Brent C Brooks dump money or something and you've turned a paperclip into our time of Panarin who knew what else what else any other free agents we got to work?
Starting point is 01:20:54 I forget, I don't think we did a show when we talked about Carlson. We didn't talk about John Carlson, I don't think, did we? Oh. Were you surprised by that? No, I thought there was a good chance you would stay, but that's a bad contract. I think it's a good contract for like the first four years.
Starting point is 01:21:09 Yeah, it's like every contract that gets signed at this point is like. I say that all the time. Like every contract is going to get shit on. Oshy. But like, your goal is to win a cup. And then you figure out the details afterwards. You're not thinking about fucking year five of a contract when you sign a guy.
Starting point is 01:21:23 No, I know, but like, it's different, though, when it's Chicago and they're, like, right at the start of their, you know, dynasty years or whatever. You think that the-you-think-washington was an anomaly. Right. Like, I feel like the caps kind of, no one thought the caps were going to win the cup this year. Nobody. The caps didn't think they were going to win the cup. He was fucking mailing it in from the beginning of the year.
Starting point is 01:21:39 You want it out. So to, like, now be like, we got to keep all these cup guys together. I don't know, man. I'd love to know. I'd love to climb into Trots's head and figure out exactly at what point did he realize that his extension was going to kick in. Oh, it's been because that's a lot. off scored in overtime against the penguins.
Starting point is 01:21:55 But he was just like, oh, fuck. No, it was, it wasn't that. It was when he kept seeing Cedric Pockett come over the board to play against Oxoveskin in the conference finals. He was like, oh, we got this. I'm hoping it was a situation where his agent had to call him at some point and be like, Barry, remember the contract we signed in 2014? Yeah, it was really not very lucrative because the caps don't like paying anybody.
Starting point is 01:22:14 Yeah. And the good thing is, is that once I win the cup this year, I'm going to get a sweet new deal. About that? Subsection 3.5 under future clause. is 300k what the fuck like do you think I guess John Croson would have gotten something like that
Starting point is 01:22:28 if he got to the market right I don't know because like we've talked about this Oh no he would have paid him So power play Ovechkin Baxter Kuzn because that's often fused That he wouldn't have ever done that again He'd have to go to Edmonton to get it
Starting point is 01:22:40 Yeah But like he would have gotten it That's probably what it came down to Do you want 888 here Or whatever it was 8 and 80 here Do you want 775 in Edmonton I've always like D.C. Yeah that's where my stuff is
Starting point is 01:22:52 stuff here, but you know what? I kind of like my place. I don't know. It's just, I, like, that the problem with the CBA right now is that, like, all the guys who were in their prime and in their early 20s get low-balled, and then the guys get to be, like, 29, 30 years old, and they all get overpaid. So, like, at least the money all balances out, but it's just such a weird situation where no one's like, hey, you're John Carlson.
Starting point is 01:23:14 Well, John Carlson's relatively young still, I guess. I don't know. He's in his prime. That's why the next four years of the contract are fine. Well, he's not really in his prime. He's a defenseman. It was almost the Norris candidate. Of course he's in his prime.
Starting point is 01:23:25 No, but like, your prime is not your late 20s. Real quick. Let's predict it because this will be out before July 1st. Where does Van Riemstike go? Jersey. I agree. I don't know why we both agree. He's like a left wing that's the last thing they need.
Starting point is 01:23:38 No, but like they need more, they need more offense. I was looking down the free agent list. They're all left wings. It's all like left wing guys that are available. That's why it's interesting. Like the Nash thing we didn't talk about. So Rick Nash probably ain't going to play this year because of the concussion stuff, which is really terrible.
Starting point is 01:23:51 But, like, you know, Boston anteed up to get him, I think, with the idea that he was still going to be there next year. And he's not. So now that opens up the possibility that they're going to have to go into business on Van Riemstike or Apache Ready or any number of guys. Who do the devils have behind Taylor Hall on the left side? On the left side? I mean, they have Palmary on the right side. They have he's here in the middle. They have Zajak in the middle.
Starting point is 01:24:13 Devils have a lot of money to spend. And I feel like they're kind of... I think the devils have a lot of money to spend, but they should spend it on D. But their Ds are all locked up. They don't really have like a, like they have Vatin and Severson. They should trade Severson. Oh, I agree. Here, talk for a second is.
Starting point is 01:24:28 What are you looking for? Oh, the left wings? Their depth chart. Because they traded for Patrick Maroon. Marcus Johansson, Blake Coleman, Miles Wood. Miles and Miles Wood. Oh, yeah. You can, I mean, you can move, I mean, I don't think you have to like not sign James Van
Starting point is 01:24:42 Reams like because you're worried about moving Blake Coleman. I actually like to see them bring back Maroon on the right side, but I don't know if they will. I think it was all right. He was okay. All right. Anyways. So, Javier. Stasney, I think he's nuts if he doesn't go back to Winnipeg, but I bet he goes to Montreal.
Starting point is 01:24:58 They just don't have the room. Like, they have to pay Jacob Truba. Like, I'm tired of hearing about how much those two love each other. I think he's got jersey potential, too. The real deal, James Neal. The role dull, James Null. I forgot. I predicted this.
Starting point is 01:25:14 I forgot where I said he was going to go. I think he's going to wind up going on, like, a bad team that has a lot of cap space. apparently he turned down five and 25 for Vegas which is insane to me that's a pretty fair offer for a guy that had like 40 points last year somebody's he's gonna go someplace where the center needs a wing uh i forgot i forgot what i said again you think i think i might have mentioned dallas
Starting point is 01:25:35 i think i might have predicted dallas i think it all depends on where john tovar like john tovar's probably isn't going to dallas but Carter huttons probably going to buffalo i mean i don't care where carter hutton goes he's either going to be cam talbot or he's going to be scott darling Oh, you mean he's going to get robbed by playing in front of a bad or behind a bad team? Carter Hutton, I don't know. There's like an 80 million colleagues available.
Starting point is 01:25:57 I like, let's just, we could keep going down this TSN list for three hours. I'd be like, Shane Prince. Dog. Carter Hutton. Mikey, where do you think Alexei Emelin ends up? Dog, is it Emmelin or Yemelin? Can we get a confirmation? We got, Mikey, we got a free agent for the Detroit Red Wings.
Starting point is 01:26:18 Xavier Well Xavier wallet Xavier wallet Xavier wallet Xavier wallet Um Wait I feel like we skipped over a bunch of good free agents
Starting point is 01:26:28 Are they thinking of like trade trade bait guys No I mean there's like Bozak and Like John Moore Kempney probably goes back to the caps Yeah Burnier You know
Starting point is 01:26:38 I was surprised Do Claire got Clipped by the Black Hawk So that was kind of an interesting move Yeah there's been weird Buyouts type things
Starting point is 01:26:46 and stuff like that. I'm trying to think of where. Like, I don't think Max Patrick Reddy gets traded. I feel like his value's too low at this point to get anything good for him. Carlson and Vegas. Ryan O'Reilly. I feel like Ryan O'Reilly's not going anywhere.
Starting point is 01:27:04 And who else? There's some other really good trade bake. I would Jeff Skinner. I think Jeff Skinner in St. Louis for Pittsburgh. But I think Pittsburgh has to move some money around to make that work, so they probably won't do that. Who are there? So what are the other free agents at the top of the board?
Starting point is 01:27:18 That's it. That told you. Tavares. A lot of guys have signed. Stasney. Stasney, Tavaris, Van Riemstike, Neil, Mike Green. Oh, Mike Green. That's who I was thinking of.
Starting point is 01:27:28 I mean, I'm hoping he stays in Detroit. I think it's a good spot for him. Oh, why? There's no point in having him there. Because they pay him money. I'll give him a third year, probably. I think Dallas. I like Mike Green and Dallas.
Starting point is 01:27:39 They can use somebody on the right side behind Klingham. I think you just like Dallas. I mean, I'm just, it's so funny because, like, of the salary cap all the teams that are capped out are good so there's no room for the good free agents so all the good free agents have to go to teams that are like non-playoff teams or like middling teams like the devils I think are an attractive spot
Starting point is 01:27:56 because they're a team on the rise and they have a ton of money but it's just they have too many good defense men signed the long-term contracts you're right too much d they got a lot of d in their hands they got that BDE on their hands they have Vatten and Severson they have Andy Green they have Will Butcher like they've got
Starting point is 01:28:14 they're pretty set unless they move somebody Does anybody want Damon Severson? I don't know. Ray Shiro's got that BDE. Why was that even an article? I was thinking about how stuff gets pitched. Like, hey, I got an idea for a story. What's it about?
Starting point is 01:28:29 Okay, you know how people with big dicks have like a different energy? No, I don't know that actually. What are you talking about? Then you have to explain your story and then write it. Are there like psychologists quoted in this thing? Like, man, I picked the wrong business to write about. Are you looking for the BDE? The idea.
Starting point is 01:28:46 The idea of Big Dick Energy BDE has exploded in this June of 2018, courtesy of several factors. Exploded. While exact origins remain unclear, the first mummerings of BDE appear to have happened on June 8th in a reference to the late Anthony Bourdain. So Anthony Borgane died and somebody was like, sure you're going to miss that big dick energy. New York Magazine's The Cut describes BDE as quiet confidence in ease with oneself that comes from knowing that you have an enormous penis and you know what to do with it. It's not cockiness. That's actually the perfect word for it. It's not a power trip.
Starting point is 01:29:20 It's the opposite. A healthy, satisfied, low-key way you feel about yourself. Some may call this, oh, he, she fucks vibe, but that is different. You can fuck but not have BDE. This is all very complicated. Well, like, shouldn't it be like, instead of saying women have big dick energy, shouldn't it be like tight vagina energy? Like, shouldn't it be their own thing?
Starting point is 01:29:41 No. They have confidence about it. Are you saying a woman can't say suck my dick? No, sure. can. Okay. You can have a woman can have a boner for sure. Right. But I just feel like, I have a boner for the Incredibles too, she said. Big Dick Energy is like a gendered thing. So I feel like that the ladies need. Oh, well, this is a very gender fluid society we live in Dave. That is true. I guess, I guess it's the energy, right? So like, so like the opposite of Big Dick Energy would be, for example,
Starting point is 01:30:05 a really loud guy who is always trying to prove people that he's right and is constantly like cursing and making an appropriate. Oh, no. Oh, no. Oh, no. I knew it. I knew I'd eventually be revealed. Low little weiner. S-W.S. Small weiner slough. Speaking of Big Dick Energy, I want to talk about you becoming a confirming reports guy today. I don't see, you mentioned, people mentioned this to me.
Starting point is 01:30:35 I don't listen to Biscuits. Yeah, no one does. It's for me and Sean. What was the problem with it? No, it wasn't like a Biscuits thing because like Sean last week or two weeks ago was talking about how he hates whatever he tweets out of story. and there's like a typo in it and people come to his mentions and go, um, did you mean to say that? And it's like, yeah, no, I didn't. It's a typo.
Starting point is 01:30:53 And like everyone points it out. And so this week we were just talking about how this time of year, people quote tweet all the breaking news and just add nothing to it. Like, check this out. Wow. Stuff like that. And then I remembered how people confirm the reports of people that don't need their reports confirmed. Like Bob McKenzie down. I would put you in the category as well as someone that doesn't need their information confirmed.
Starting point is 01:31:14 That's very sweet. So when I saw the Darren Dregor thing today, I was like... I confirmed a Darren Dregor report on Rick Nash because I was also working on the story, and he put the story out there before I had to, so I didn't really... But that's not... But you're not confirming it. You're just saying, I'm also on this text chain with the agent. Like, I...
Starting point is 01:31:29 Right, that's all it is. But, like, because when you say confirm... But you know what I mean, though? Like, I don't know how to handle that. Like, he's... As, as Darren first reported, should I say that? In that situation where you know you're on the thread with him and C.J., just be like, I've also been told.
Starting point is 01:31:43 As opposed... Because when you say confirm, I've had this argument with a question. Craig Custins, too. He's very much in the confirm camp. You're basically insinuating that Darren Dregor or whoever, their story is shaky. It's not, it's not maybe necessarily true. And now I'm telling you it is. Now, when you had this discussion with Craig, was it before or after he became part of the, hey, everybody, email out the story and put it on Twitter, Circle Drick, that is the athletic every morning. That's, that's the business model. It is, it is very self-satisfying that now it has become sort of an, I don't know if the, I don't know if we're all whispering
Starting point is 01:32:15 behind the athletics ear, but it has become an industry joke that every morning that everybody tweets out the same story and says the same shit about that story. Do you think, I wonder if we just notice it because we do the same thing like for jobs, I mean, like
Starting point is 01:32:31 I don't do like regular people because I was one billion percent people that aren't in the industry have noted the athletic circle jerk every morning. But like I get it. Like I get it from the standpoint they're pushing their stuff. You're trying to get people to subscribe, but completely understand it, but it is hilarious. But the thing I don't get is their headline style.
Starting point is 01:32:47 It's very much that whole, you know, Sidney Crosby farted and then he dot, dot, dotted. The only question I have about the athletic circle jerk every morning is, is it a race to see who can get to the adjective first? Incredible reporting by, preposterously fascinating reporting by. And it's like one of those things too. Intensely amazing reporting by. I just like, I have no problem with them doing it. It's just doing it every day because like then you have like Katie Strzbo. Wrang wrote a really good thing about Slava Voinoff.
Starting point is 01:33:17 And it's just one of those things where it's like if you use the same descriptors for the Slava Voinoff story, as you do for like the, you know, like the interview with Nico Goodrum. The Cam Ward trade room around that story. Right. And it's like, I don't know if that like if it loses its luster, if you're continuously doing it every day. And like people are just like, oh, we get it. Everything's great. I know this will inevitably lead to somebody being like, well, you're just bitter that they didn't hire you. One, no.
Starting point is 01:33:43 No. And two, do you honestly think that my ego could suffer through working under the banner of somebody else's name on it? Come on. Honestly. How much do you guys know about me? And also, everyone would hate me because I would get those emails where it's like, you got to tweet this out. I'd be like, ah, God. Again, like, I don't, my timeline is, I have more ARP and Basu my timeline than me.
Starting point is 01:34:04 How are we going to keep doing this? They do amazing work. I'm not trying to fucking disparage the work they do, but it is hilarious. It's just, it's just funny. Like, you need to space it out better because, like, if it's, if it's same, It seems like everybody just finished reading Craig Custin's story all at the same time, and then they all tweeted at the same time. Oh, wait, you mean, splendidiferous reporting by Craig Custin's. Like, right, I just, it waters down.
Starting point is 01:34:27 It's like the boy who cried, great content. You need to just kind of wait for the really good content. That is a turn of fucking phrase right there. My God. I can confirm that. You did, you did that with a head cold, that turn of phrase. I did swallow, like, a big wad of boogers earlier. Big wad.
Starting point is 01:34:42 And I'm the one they can come. Oh, my God. God. The question of the week here on Puck Soup was, of course, about the Hockey Hall of Fame voting. I have not seen any replies to that yet. Give us all your reasons why Gary Betman deserves to be in the Hall of Fame. Rogue Run writes, he was in the right place at the right time to be the first of something. If a bag of turds was the first commissioner of the NHL, it would have gotten voted. Oh, wait, it did.
Starting point is 01:35:07 So Rogue Run, I believe, is confirming your theory. It's like Mike Francesa. First got to be on Sports Talk Radio. He's not good at it. He was just the first guy to do it. A replacement bag of turds would have gotten to the Hall of Fame as well. Dude, I thought if there's one thing I always think about that I've read on like a team blog, it's the pension plan puppets potato versus Dave Nona's thing.
Starting point is 01:35:30 That was great. I think about that every time around this year. And then when Bettman got voted in, I was like, I wonder if you can do the potato versus Bettman post. Vicious Pibble writes in, his booing stats are out of this world. I doubt anyone will be able to catch him. D D-D-Durp writes in I was saying Boo
Starting point is 01:35:46 Buhary overdue for a Hall of Fame induction Chip Bothman writes in This is going to be a short segment Be tough writes in Number one, he bought a ticket And then said that's it Now you got into the Hall of Fame
Starting point is 01:36:02 Tim Jan's sexiest voice I'm kissing your lower back Should we do an entire Should we for the Patreon this summer Do Gary Betman recreates the entirety of a 50 Shades movie? Yes Gordon Aitraids since the residence Quebec City Nowhere to send the angry mob to find him
Starting point is 01:36:28 Oh God Cost certainty Cost certainty Alex Cooper says he's undefeated in lockouts That's a very good point and finally Ryan Reynolds probably not the real
Starting point is 01:36:42 Ryan Reynolds said he's helped catapult the NBA to New Heights and yes I meant to say the NBA but um
Starting point is 01:36:49 bum well this has been I know we say this sometimes when we get through these non-guest shows but this has been an extraordinarily
Starting point is 01:36:55 hockey-centric episode a lot of hockey stuff this time and not a lot of pop culture stuff you want to rail on the
Starting point is 01:37:01 on the Jedi shit no I've said my piece on that fucking bunch of crybaby the thing I railed against about the people that want to remake
Starting point is 01:37:10 the Last Jedi and also the people that put up the nailed the Martin Luther fucking doctorin of anti-Star Wars Twitter this week. Protestantism reference. Was the notion that because these movies have are sociopolitical,
Starting point is 01:37:26 especially Ryan Johnson's last one, The Last Jedi, which is dealing with classism and things like that. Do these fucking idiots not understand that George Lucas was inspired by the Vietnam War to write Star Wars? Like, the emperor is Nixon. The empire was inspired by Nixon. The third
Starting point is 01:37:42 movie has people who live in the jungle taking down the giant military industrial complex. Like, and then the prequels were, they were the Senate. They were inherently political. Everything that came
Starting point is 01:37:58 out of Anakin's mouth was parading George W. Bush. It's fucking nonsense to me that these movies are politically inert. I just love that someday I'm going to get you weaned off of it. I just love how bad you get from, like, some person with, like, 37 followers tweeting some dumb thing. Like, you just, I just want you to just look at it and be like, I'm better than that. And I'm not going to let it get under my skin.
Starting point is 01:38:17 And then I saw it, and you were like, let me just tell you what I feel about this, one slash three. And I'm like, oh, no. And I saw how old the tweet was and who was from. And it was just some nerdy. Yeah, for the record, if you haven't seen the tweet, it's like somebody printed up a graphic that was like the Declaration of Star Wars Independence or something. Like, man. Maybe not. Like, you're, like, I feel like if somebody tweets at you and is like, devil's,
Starting point is 01:38:38 suck. You're like, well, whatever. Our devil's rule. They won three cups. But if it's like a Star Wars thing, it just gets you so angry. Three cups and five conference titles, but we should talk about one non-hockey thing. Indiana Jones 5, don't make it. To celebrate the 25th anniversary
Starting point is 01:38:54 of the beloved Sylvester Stallone, Wesley Snipes, and Sandra Bullock's sci-fi action film Demolition Man. Yes. Warner Brothers is teaming up with a fast food chain to bring the Taco Bell of the future to Comic Con in San Diego. Oh, no way. The futuristic Taco Bell pop-up will be open from 6 p.m. to midnight nightly.
Starting point is 01:39:10 Will Dennis Learie be there? The food is free. No Comic-Con badge is required. The Taco Bell from the future will be at the pop-up. The pop-up is also tied to the return of Taco Bell's nacho fries. Oh, they got rid of those? I guess they did. You know, these things cycling and out. So the futuristic Taco Bell, the survivor of the franchise wars, is going to be at Comic-Con and San Diego.
Starting point is 01:39:33 Wait, but if I go down a manhole next to the Taco Bell, can I get like a fried rat burger? You probably could from Dennis Leary and his miscreants. Yeah. Yeah. Wow. That's awesome. Mm-hmm. But beware that John Spartan and the police might come through trying to apprehend the fugitive criminal known as Simon Phoenix.
Starting point is 01:39:54 See, I'm actually, I never thought about this, but in demolition man, there's no toilet paper. Mm-hmm. But there's Taco Bell. Right. You have to use the seashells. I don't know what seashell is going to get my butt clean after a Taco Bell meal. It's a conch shell. It's the largest seashell.
Starting point is 01:40:07 shell of the three. Do you shit in the shell? You can. It's too water. It's like a fucking great tortoise shell. You just have to keep hitting it and hitting it and hitting it. And get as much of whatever it is that you use to clean. Is it, what do you think the, they had
Starting point is 01:40:23 innovations of ass cleaning in the future? Like, I was assumed it was like a bidet, but maybe it's like... Well, maybe there's a bidet and like the shell. No. Is it the Jetsons where you press a button and all these robot arms come out with different devices? Remember around the Jetsons? Where, like, one is, like, got a scrub brush.
Starting point is 01:40:40 The one's got, like, a squirt bottle and shit. Like, George's getting a reach around from that one robot. He's just like, hey, just in the bathroom again, honey. Cleaning your ass, Mr. Jay. Why was Rosie the robot? Also, Harley Quinn, I just realized. Is that how she talked? I don't remember how she talked.
Starting point is 01:40:55 I'm really intrigued by the top of Elkx. I'm fixing the food of racoc cycle, Mr. Jay. Do you think we can do a live show from ComicCon? Is that possible? Can we arrange that just to go out there and have the Taco Bell? You know, if we had stayed at nerdist. Yeah. Probably good that we didn't.
Starting point is 01:41:06 anyways that's the show for this week thanks to nobody enjoy free agency I'll be up in Bristol with Emily on Sunday to do live ESPN stuff and I guess we'll do our thing at some point
Starting point is 01:41:20 yeah last iTunes free show of the season next week to put a bow around free agency and then after that will be weekly mailbags on the Patreon
Starting point is 01:41:33 two episode bonus episodes in the Patreon for July and August. We might do one more iTunes show at some point. Yeah, some stuff goes down. Enough stuff goes down. Sort of maybe a catch-up episode. Maybe like a short... But if you want to get your weekly Puck Soup content,
Starting point is 01:41:51 then head over to the Patreon. Patreon.com slash Puck Soup. Yeah. And sign up for the five bucks. Yeah, you do July and August. You get 10 bucks and you get... For 10 bucks, you'll get at least 12 things. And all the old stuff, too.
Starting point is 01:42:06 All the old stuff. And then probably when we get around to it, sitting down with Ruby and getting trunk and watching the double horse braada. Even though Bill Simmons did it this week. I like how I texted you about that. And right away, you're like, Ruby didn't know anything about it. I wasn't accusing Ruby. I was bad that we kept talking about it so much. The rewatchable's tweet landed.
Starting point is 01:42:23 And I turned to Ruby. I'm like, did you do this? And she's like, I knew of it. I had nothing to do with it. And then literally a minute later, I hear, ding. I look down and it's like, did you see this? this from you. Right, I was, I was as mad that we kept talking about it openly. We should have, like, I always think about that on Twitter. We like, you give away your story ideas and tweets. Like, I feel like we gave away that idea and someone, because ringer people probably listened to this podcast, right? They definitely do, but I don't think, I don't, we were, we were talking about doing a full commentary track. And like, and like you said, the chances that Simmons or, or Marley Rubin or somebody at the ringer had caught the Delaware Prada one of the three billion times. We saw it on HBO, what we went to bed and when we woke up, we were staying in Dallas. So like, that was pretty good.
Starting point is 01:43:07 But still, though, like, that's the ringer. Like, they're, they're LA-based. They can do any movie they want, and they pick the devil-worse product. I know. And listen, it's hard for us. We're just trying to make a buck. Neither one of us want to spend the rest of our lives making port wine reductions. I completely understand.
Starting point is 01:43:21 See, I'm blowing all the jokes straight. They're the ringer. They can spend $8 on your Alsburg cheese. You know, that's who they are. Yeah, they can have jerk off friends, steal phones and throw them around. That somehow, Anne Hathaway's the asshole in that scene. shitty friends. Why that ringtone?
Starting point is 01:43:37 Why couldn't they have... Why didn't they make the KT's tungstle song the ringtone? That would have better. Suddenly I... Suddenly I have bangs. And now I'm wearing nice clothes
Starting point is 01:43:46 and so I'm on the go. Dude, I cannot wait to do that movie. We'll do that movie in the summer plus other stuff. All right, everybody. Thanks for listening. I'm Greg Wosinski. You can find me at Wichinsky
Starting point is 01:43:56 on Twitter and on ESPN and he's Dave Lose. You can find me in the math room. Oh, and also read his Gary Bittman thing on Vice. It was really funny. It was okay. All right.
Starting point is 01:44:05 Thanks, everybody for listening. Thank you, everybody. Talk to you next week. Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute. We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes. It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nonsense. Book 2.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.