Puck Soup - Go Home 2017, You're Drunk
Episode Date: December 29, 2017Greg and Dave podcast live at the pub for this end of 2017 edition, with year-end superlatives in hockey, movies, music, books, podcasts and general failures. Plus, rants about Zac Rinaldo's suspensio...n, Robin Lehner's Buffalo conspiracy theories, the evil of Panera, the evil genius of Bill Belichick, Rachel Ray, predictions for 2018 and a rather ridiculous bit involving the dad from "Diff'rent Strokes."
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
BucSoup.
I'm Greg Wichenski of ESPN.
I'm Dave Lozo, a mouthful of chicken and bacon.
And you're in Buck Soup, and we are in the Triple Crown Pub.
away from home. The studio is closed for Christmas
week, so we are here. You're going to hear a lot of
classic vinyl songs
in the background playing.
This is what happens when you do a live show
in a live setting.
Anything that could happen. Any song could come on
in the next two hours. It could be
I don't know. Another song by the doors.
Two live crew.
Yes, that's right. We don't know. Why not?
That's a really Christmasy kind of a song.
Oh, I'm so hungry.
The people who subscribe to the Patreon, I've no doubt heard shows from here.
We do a lot of mailbags here.
Oh, yeah, it's true.
We haven't really done actual show sitting here.
Yeah, but we have definitely done mailbags here.
I wanted to start the show because you're in the middle of a passionate lament about Panera.
I don't like Panera.
Why not?
First of all, it's a really intimidating order.
You go there and you're like, oh, the barbecue chicken.
can wrap. I like one of those. You're like, would you like the large or the small?
I don't know. I just want the one that costs $899.
That I assume is a regular size. Well, here's how it works.
If you get the small, it's okay, but the two is the big, and I'm just like,
just give me the biggest one. For the, for the wraps, do they use different size
tortillas, or is it the amount of shit you get inside of it? I've always wondered about that.
I think it's the size of the tortilla. Because if you get the regular one, it's not really big.
And they told me to get the big one. And it's like two of them.
And it kind of adds up to a meal.
But the thing that drives me nuts is the coffee.
Coffee, yeah.
You're going to Dunkin' Donuts, you're like, let me get a large coffee.
They hand you a large coffee.
Starbucks, here's your Venti.
At Panera, they just give you a cup.
And you've got to go get your own coffee like a stooge, which is fine.
But you know what Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts don't ask for when they serve you
their coffee is a tip?
Panera is like, would you like to tip your server?
What server?
They gave me a plastic cup and took my money.
I've got to think about a tip situation now?
I don't get it.
You know where you get your own coffee?
Convenience stores.
That's where you get your own coffee.
That means Panera is more akin to a Wawa
than it is to say, a La Madeline.
By the way, La Mada...
Wawa, they give you the coffee, don't they?
You get your own coffee at Wawa.
Oh, right, it's a little machine thing.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
La Madeline was always one of my favorite places
because Rachel Ray on one of her old shows
was one of those, like...
It was like if Anthony Bourdain was a really annoying woman
with manhands.
and so she did a travelogue show
and she went to Washington, D.C. once
and, like, you know, when you see these shows,
what do you want out of them?
You want to know, like, the local places
to check out when you travel, right?
And so one of the places she goes to is La Madeline,
which is a chain of chains.
Like, there's a La Madeline in the mall.
Wait, I don't even know what a La Madeline is.
Yeah, there's one here in the city, too.
Like, they're all over.
Is it just coffee?
What is it?
It's like a coffee place.
Like a Panera, but like a high-end French pastry panera.
I've never heard.
of it. But she's, but she, it's a chain is the point. Well, so when you go see these places,
when you watch Rachel Ray, you want to go, okay, check out Ben's Chili Bowl for the best chili.
But like, and she's like, I'm going to Pizzeria Uno. Yeah. She's like in the deep dish.
When you're in New York, you've got to check out Manhattan Sabaro. There's a place called Pret-a-Manger.
Apparently has some really good sandwiches. Pre-made sandwiches. The first time I ever had
Pratt was in London for the Olympics. I don't think I've ever gone in there.
never had it before, and it was, it was part of that overall London thing that is now here
where, like, they don't, like, they don't have delis in London.
Like, all their sandwiches are pre-made.
You buy, you buy the little plastic triangle, the sandwiches in it, and then you, that's
what you get.
Like, almost like, you know how, like, when you go to a gas station here and they have
pre-made sandwiches that nobody touches because who's going to eat a shrimp scampy sandwich
at a gas station?
That's what, that's London?
That's all London, yeah.
So what do they do with their cold cuts in the meantime before it gets on the, like, so what if I
I go to the store and I'm like, I want it to get a half pound a hand?
I can't do that.
We're going to have to take it off the sandwiches.
I like a bloody roll of bloody tailor ham with a size Swiss, a quarter pound Swiss, or whatever, a metric pound, whatever you bloody call it over here.
Sorry, love, I only go on a sandwich.
Yeah, I'm going to need a half pound of ham.
Gordon, go over to the sandwiches and take them apart.
Disassemble them. Give this man his ham.
Wash off the tomato.
Make sure there's no tomato juice on the turkey.
Otherwise, Gregory's going to have a...
He's going to throw up all over the place.
Fucking connoption.
We'll be in Bonnie.
Yeah.
Barney?
You're drinking.
Boney Rubble.
Trubbo!
Hey, did we talk about Oceans 8 on the last episode?
I forget.
Yeah.
Yeah, we had David on.
Oh, that's right.
Yeah, he were talking about it.
All right.
I suppose we should talk about hockey.
One of the other reasons we wanted to start the show now is because we were both
fired up about the Zachronola suspension.
Well, actually, I was, and you were like, I don't want to talk about it.
And then all of a sudden, like, Greg was like, he was like a plane on the runway that
was about to take off.
and we were like, hold on, let's get the microphone out.
By the way, Bowie's on.
Zach Rado got six games for a sucker punch, basically.
For his fifth suspension in six seasons.
So one thing is that the NHL, for whatever reason,
always has a real heart on about sucker punches and punches.
It's never as bad as like a stick foul or an elbow or anything like that.
So that's one reason why it didn't shock me if the suspension was lower than the 10 games you probably should have gotten.
I think you said the punch is worse, so why wouldn't it have been?
No, it's not worse.
Oh.
No, no.
Remember, like, we've seen suspensions, we've seen plays involving a sucker punch where there wasn't even a suspension.
Like, they're, for whatever reason, and I'm sure it's because they have a bunch of guys who've gotten fights that are running them in the Department of Player's Safety.
Like, they don't consider a punch to be as bad as, like, stick to the face or anything like that.
But, like, if you're George Paros, you're a guy who fought.
You honor the code, capital T, capital C, the code.
Zach Rinaldo just punching a guy who's not looking at him, I feel like that.
violates the code, doesn't it?
It does.
Wouldn't that upset him more than it would like Stefan Kintal?
Stefan Kintel is not a fighter with the noble fighting background?
But it's still, I think, viewed as more of like a hockey play than a stick to the face
or a cross-check to the head.
I know it's a stupid, it's all stupid nuance.
It's no fucking sense.
There you go.
This is the player safety talk I want to have.
It's stupid.
no nuance. Thank you. Here's the reason I didn't really want to talk about it, but now you're
making me talk about it. The thing that pisses me off about the Zach Ronaldo's suspension is this.
Everybody takes the run at Ronaldo, and they're all making the same joke. Forn made it. Demetian
Philipovic made it. He's got blank amount of goals in his career, but he's been suspended blank
number of games. Get him out of the league. I'm like, but he's not paid to score goals. Like,
that's not his job. He's a fourth line.
or play six minutes of nights.
What would you say he's paid to do?
To throw his body around, to punch people in the face,
to intimidate people, to agitate people.
Agitate.
Right.
But that's the amazing part, too,
is like the hit on McKinnon was perfectly good and nice and fine.
Good hit.
And Gerard, I mean, I don't know much about Sam Gerard.
I know that Sam Gerard in the movie The Fugitive
was kind of a hot-headed, tough guy who would do anything,
but this guy, Sam Girard, he's like a sweet or something, isn't he?
He's a gentle soul probably.
He probably has, like, a pet little, like, you know,
toy dog and he plays with.
He's not going to fight Zach Rinaldo.
Yep. And if you're Zach Rinaldo,
I'm going to get punched by every Zach Rinaldo,
Zach Smith, Zach Wild, Zach Morris,
until I get punched by Dr. Richard Campbell.
I'm going to fight every overpaid,
under talented Arizona Coyote
that John Chacon has signed in the last three years.
Whether it's Anthony Duclare,
whether it's Max Domey, whether it's...
But Zach Rinaldo is a fighter, right? Technically, he's a guy fights?
Yeah, he's a fighter. Yeah.
Shouldn't you be less shit scared
about getting punched in the face
that you have to immediately punch a guy when it comes over to you.
Like, if you're a fighter and a guy comes over,
there's always that moment of like, hey, we want to go?
You want to do this?
And then you're like, yeah, let's do it.
And he's after all.
I was like, oh, my God, I don't want to get hit?
And he hit a guy right away.
And in the sense that it's a wispy rookie defenseman, you know, like, you know.
No, I get what you're saying.
But here's the thing.
It's insane.
Like I said, the X amount of goals,
X amount of games is spent it.
It's fucking nonsense because it's not his job to score goals.
If he's scored a goal, it's by accident.
But it reveals how, like, what he is, is a complete thug who needs to get suspended.
Ah, an excellent point, which brings me to my actual point here, which is, why is it on the
Department of Player's Safety to get this guy out of the league?
Like, why do we look to George Peros and them, they'd be, like, give him 50 games?
Why isn't it on the teams?
Galaxy brain me.
Galaxy brain me.
The teams that constantly employ this man and others of his ilk to not employ them anymore.
Like, why does, like, every GM that's...
ever paid Zach Rinaldo not get called out as much as the Department of
Player's Safety does in a situation like this. To me, that's the crux of the problem.
I made a joke about John Chacon, I think.
Is it fidget spinner or Nintendo Switch?
It had to do with him being so angry about a long suspension that he sent an angry Bitmoji
text.
I went with a Bitmoji reference that.
But you agree with me, right, essentially?
But he's only been paid by the Flyers.
the coyotes, right? And the Bruins.
Oh, right, the Bruins. Yeah, baby. Don't forget about that.
That amazing trade. But in the case of the Flyers and the Bruins, like, there are those
franchises that, like, value toughness and we need to be tough and grind.
And Arizona, I think, was just desperate to fill out the roster. So they found the guy who
makes, like, 400 in the H.L and, like, 800 in the NHL's there. Like, let's just sign this guy.
Well, I wouldn't put it past the notion that that's also a Rick Tocket signing.
Right? I mean, that seems like a Rick Tocket signing, right? Like a, we need to get some muscle here
to protect the boys.
Kind of thing, right?
Yeah.
Yeah.
We're going to be the Glendale bullies.
Sacramento's going to get 20 goals and 19 games spent it this year and show everybody how good he is.
I don't know.
My outrage for player safety stuff has waned over the years.
I have, like, enough outrage in me for, like, one of these per year.
But don't you think it's misplaced?
No.
There's always been talk.
Not a lot of it because there's no, there's not enough support for it.
But the idea that teams and coaches and general managers should suffer some consequence financially
if a guy gets suspended multiple times.
That was going back to the old Jesse Bollary's suspensions.
They do it for diving.
I don't know why they wouldn't do it for the hitting, I guess, if you want to look at it like that.
Like if you dive, what is it, four times you get caught, then the coach gets like a $2,000 fine or whatever.
Ooh, look out.
Yeah.
So you should, yeah, follow that thread all the way to the idea that GMs and coaches
should be fine for the actions of the players they employ and deploy.
I know I'm making too much sense, so you don't want to agree necessarily,
but I'll just go ahead and say that you agree with me.
But until that time, wouldn't it be nice if the player safety department was like...
And the thing too was like the...
Wouldn't it be nice if Zach got ten games?
Vissinette on Twitter, Paul Vissinette, was basically saying that the reason why he punched him
is because he thought Gerard was coming over to fight him.
And I think that probably is what was in Rinaldo's fucking meathead
brain for sure. Yeah. Yeah. But
player safety in the video was like, no,
we're not buying that. That's
not a reason to fight somebody.
You need to, as the aggressor,
you need to make sure the other guys are willing
combatant. And he didn't, and the NFL was like,
that's a terrible, terrible excuse.
But only six games, though.
Yeah. I just don't know how they come to that
number. It's because Sam Gerard's eye
didn't cave in or his brain.
Right. It was a significant injury,
which is always the thing that affects the most change.
See also Mitchell, Commitory, and the icing rule.
why Tori Mitchell
Because remember when he broke his leg
Like that's when they finally started to think about
No touch and stuff like that
That was the other guy, the defenseman
What's his name?
Not Andre Sakara
The Carolina defenseman
Who went to the board
His famous staff
Oh, Pickingette
Yoni Picking-in' it
Yeah, yeah, yeah
I thought he was the one that
It's probably a string of them
But the point is that something catastrophic
Has to happen for the NHL to figure it out
By the way, I just realized
It turned down the sound on the music
So you're not going to get the Guardian
of the Galaxy experience
that we were intending for you here.
It might pick up a little bit on it.
It's going to like,
everyone's going to like listen to the podcast
and like a day later.
They're going to be like walking around
like humming like David Bowie.
They're going to be like,
Dad,
you have to listen to this podcast.
You'll love it.
This is how we,
just as we just have me drawing the over 50 crowd
is we just sit next to a classic rock radio station.
No one over 50 is listening to this podcast
of references to the 1980s.
It's all,
it's all hip young kids.
It's all the millennials that love us.
And who doesn't love avocado toast?
I'm all right.
Still never tried it.
All right.
So Rinaldo gets six.
That was kind of a pisser.
Anything else happened in the last week?
Because we have some year-review stuff that we want to get to,
but I'm sure there's other stuff to talk about.
Chris Kreider has a blood clot.
Yeah.
Another player with a blood clot mysteriously in the NHL.
I know.
That seems to happen a lot.
I don't know what the blood clot percentages for humans that aren't athletes,
but it seems like a lot of hockey dudes get blood clots.
Yeah.
And there's not a lot of drug testing.
It was also, it's also, it's also really, there's no drug testing.
And it's also really, what I found interesting,
I was talking to the Rangers about it this morning.
And, like, they said that, like, his,
symptoms were consistent with that of a blood clot so they knew exactly what it was.
So it's kind of like they know they're on, you know, they're on call here.
They know what to look for.
But wait, when did they say they were aware of it?
But like before the game or?
No, after he left it to the first period.
Oh.
Yeah.
I mean, like in baseball, remember like David Cohn had the blood clot?
Yeah.
Like, who else in baseball?
Not a lot.
It's such a hockey thing.
It is.
It is.
I don't know.
Please like my blood clot.
Hockey has the best blood clots.
Hashtag.
Oh, I know what we have to talk about.
What we got to talk about?
Robin Lainer claiming that there's a vast conspiracy to undermine the Buffalo Sabres in the city of Buffalo in sports.
I was writing football this morning, so I never clicked on it.
What was his conspiracy?
So basically, Robin Lainer, so the Islanders tie the game last night with like a, Josh Bailey scores with like a minute nine left in regulation.
Buffalo's up to one.
They continue to play until around like a 38 second mark.
And then Toronto calls down and says, hey, stop play.
We think you have a poll year.
know it. Yeah. He made what
look like the save of the year with his glove.
Oh, but across the goal line. And then it crossed the goal line
in his glove. So they stopped play,
they review it. The Islanders tie the game.
Goes overtime. Barzell scores
as Barzell is wont to do.
And the islanders win. Was it definitely in the net?
Yeah, it's completely. Yeah. It was in it.
You could see it in his glove over the line.
It was not a dicey call.
It was not some 50-50 proposition.
It wasn't like the Kelvin Benjamin catch against a Patriots
where they overturned it. Oh. Oh, does he go to that?
Oh, because of Buffalo. Oh, yes. Yes.
Robin Lainer on Wednesday night evoked the Kelvin Benjamin non-touchdown.
That's awesome.
He said it must be something in the water in Buffalo.
He claimed it was, you know, a very good.
The comparison was there between the two plays and the robbery that occurred.
But they occurred.
They gave Robin Leonard the catch, though.
They said he caught it.
Yes, he did say they caught it.
So he goes on to say that this is the best part.
He says that Toronto, meaning the war room, meaning the NHL,
predetermined the goal.
He said they knew it was a goal the minute it left Bailey's stick, basically, and claimed this vast conspiracy.
Because apparently there was another situation earlier in the year where the Buffalo thought they scored against Kerry Price.
The goal was taken away on video review, on goal interference.
Look, when you're 7, 20, and 9, I mean, really, are these three points going to matter?
I'm glad that you bought that up because that was another part of the conspiracy.
Oh, but, oh, really?
There's more to this.
It was that the Islanders are a playoff team, and Buffalo is not, and hence the Islanders are obviously going to get the,
the call. Okay, so you're telling me, like, Coley Campbell, sitting around and probably a pair of
sweatpants, telling people about how Grady was in 1973, has already predetermined that whoever's in the top
eight right now is going to win any close game ever. You know, people don't know this, but the Sabres
were very rough with my son Gregory. And I've been looking to get him for years and years and years
and tell them, you know, you gave my boy the what for, and I tried to tell Stephen, welcome, you know,
call more penalties on those. Call more penalties on those.
on those fuckers, but they never did.
And so I had to make sure that they got there,
they got the what for many, many moons later.
So, yeah, there was a vast conspiracy.
The goal was predetermined.
God, I am never at the right games, man.
I'm always at the post games where it's just boring-ass quotes
and there's just nothing to talk about.
I'm never there when Robin Leonard.
I remember being a devil's game with Ottawa,
where Robin Leonard, like, they blew the game.
He was so calm. He was just like, yeah, I've got to be better.
What's amazing about this situation is the fact that
the cigarette smoking man on the X-Files
for real
and there was an episode called I believe it was
musings of a cigarette-smoking man
and one of the
grand conspiracies that he had with his
group of stone cutters or whatever
was that they were the ones that kept
the Buffalo Bills from winning the Super Bowl
so there's precedent for
like there being some government conspiratorial
situation involving the city of Buffalo
that Robin Lanner unknowingly tapped into
now I would buy that there was a conspiracy
to keep the bill from winning the Super Bowl, because that's insane.
They go four times in a row, and every loss gets worse and worse.
But the Buffalo Sabres.
Okay.
Come on.
Come on.
I know what you're saying.
Come on.
I know what you're saying.
But the Brett Hall foot in the crease, the music city miracle.
Like, there's all of these things that have happened to the city of Buffalo in sports over the years.
That there's a sect.
There's a sect of Buffalo fans that do actually believe that there's a vast conspiracy to keep their city down.
Okay.
So where does it jumping off the roof of a van and flying through a folding table?
Where does that land?
And how does that help?
Is that a coping mechanism for the people?
It's a coping mechanism.
If you light yourself on fire and jump off through a table
while having, after seven shots of fireball, that's how you cope.
Okay, so the movie Bruce Almighty, where Bruce wins everything and becomes God and that takes place in Buffalo.
Right.
Is that commentary on the curse, the only way for a Buffalo sports team to win.
It's to literally become God because God.
Because God has smited you.
Wow.
Yeah.
Man, this is deep stuff.
I know. So Robin Lennar,
NHL,
uh,
uh,
NHL controversy,
conspiracy against Buffalo is my,
probably my favorite thing
of the week.
It just happened.
That's incredible.
So we got Robin Lennar,
we got Chris Kreider,
blood is clotting.
We have Zachronaldos.
Brain isn't working.
Anything else?
I think we needed to get to you
before we do our lists or not.
I can't think of anything else.
It was really,
uh, big,
and pressing.
I guess Elliot Friedman reported that
Chris LaTang might get traded.
Would you do that deal if you were the penguins?
Would you get that contract off your books?
I would.
You know why?
Why?
I'm scared shit.
list of that guy's health.
I just, damn,
there's something going on there.
You're never going to get,
you're never going to get fair value
if that's like the added,
you just,
you,
there it is.
Um,
no,
trade Crystal Tang,
trade them to the leaps.
Get back me lander.
If you could,
if you could wipe out Crystal Tang's cap bit and then get our
Eric Carlson,
you do it in a millisecond,
won't you?
For just a year and a half?
No.
Oh, you mean like,
in perpetuity?
like trade and trade and sign.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah, of course I'd have ever cross.
Although, we keep waiting for Eric Carlson and turning around.
And again, we've been saying this since October.
He's playing with two, or he's playing with one and three quarters feet.
And I keep seeing him get dragged by guys on the rush.
Like, he's not the same guy he was.
So if you're worried about Chris LaTang,
aren't you worried about Eric Carlson?
It's because you hate Canadians?
Yeah, because I hate Canadians more than Swedes.
Also, uh...
Also, the idea that, like, they should do this trade
because they won the cup last year,
I was insane,
because they got so many breaks last year.
They won all these coin flips.
They assassinated Alex Ovechkin.
They had Ian Cole play 27 minutes a night.
Yeah, yeah.
That's a winning formula is to have Ian Cole and...
I mean, they got rid of Brian Dumolin.
Not Brian Dumlin.
They got rid of Brian Dumlin.
Like, they don't have...
Wait, did they get rid of Brian?
No, not Brian Dumlin.
Good time with the other guy.
The other guy in Vancouver,
not Brian Dumlin.
The guy nobody thought was going to be good.
Who is it going to be?
Hold on. It's going to come to me.
Come on. It's going to come to me.
Brian Dumlin is very much still.
Yeah, Brian Dumlin's still there.
A penguin.
It's the guy, I remember Dave Damashek talking to me at the League of League's draft about this guy.
Pooia!
He's doing well in Vancouver.
You're not going to win the cup without Crystal Tang.
You need Crystal Tang to win the cup.
You can't trade.
What are you going to trade for?
You don't need Crystal Tan to win the Cup.
They won a cup without him last year.
It's insane.
So what you're saying is that when the Black Hawk won the Cup, no team ever needs a good goal anymore
because they won it without Tienie Niel.
and his 905 you know everybody has you know mark rippin one of super bowl against who
buffalo bills oh shit or was it the buffalo bills yeah probably was it all comes full circle
yeah Doug williams won an 88 against the rockos yeah mark ripin can i just say that from a football
perspective for a second like i i hate bill bellichick and i hate the patriots oh don't say but
but oh no i love i love this whole borg assimilation thing this guy has done for fucking forever
i love how it gets in the heads of the steelers yeah like like james
Harrison might play 12 sacks. Like that poundcy press conference yesterday where he's like
holding court with the media and he just like is throwing, like he threw Harrison under a bus. Then
there was another bus coming so he picked him up and threw him under that plus. The whole team.
The whole team was just like, oh, he was trying to quit. Did you hear the story about like when they were
in linebacker meetings and James Harrison would sit in a chair and snore loudly so everybody can hear him?
Oh man. Like James Harrison want to know part of that. And you know, like he's not going to tell them
plays or signals or stuff, but like you know that somehow he's going to do something in the AFC title game.
You know it.
And the other thing, too, about him is that, like, he's a higher class of criminal than they usually go for.
It's usually, like, the Jets cut their second string long snapper.
Then all of a sudden the Patriots are like, we need a second string long snapper.
And he ends up in New England just to fucking bring his playbook there.
To be fair, he's in terms of a class of criminal, Aaron Hernandez, you're not going to really.
I'm not going to compare to James Harrison and say he's worse than Aaron Hernandez.
When they sign these guys, clearly to get their information about their teams, is it like the movie Erase?
where Vanessa Williams is desperately trying to copy information onto a floppy disk before the bad guys get in.
Like, is someone, are these guys like staples or whatever, like making copies of their playbook quickly before?
So James Harrison's Vanessa Williams.
In this scenario, yeah.
And Mike Tomlin's a guy that blows his brains out at the end.
Yes.
And so Bill Belichick is Arnold Schwarzenegger.
And who's James Cobb?
Here, let me put my hood up for a second.
Come with me if you want to live.
There.
There is my Bill Belichick as.
Arnold Schwarzenegger impression.
That's one of the last good Arnold movies.
Last Good Arnold movie.
I didn't see the one where his kid was a zombie.
There was a movie where he played the dad.
What?
There was a movie.
All right.
Hang on.
I'll get the name of it.
You are not the zombie.
Come with me if you want to.
Undead live.
It was like a little girl's name.
It was a movie where he was a dad and his kid was a zombie.
Hang on.
It was called Maggie.
Never heard of it.
The Last Good Schwarzenegger movie.
and not Terminator Genesis
No
sabotage I didn't see
Escape plan I didn't see
It was bad
It was bad
Oh yeah
Sylvester Stallone
They got to break
Like Sebastian Stallone plays like a prison
Breakout expert guy
And Donofrio's in it
Collateral damage
Oh yeah
No that's the one where like he's a regular guy
That one wasn't good
There was like a bombing somewhere
After his family
He's killed by a terrorist act of firefight
Oh yeah
That's not good
He like goes to like somewhere in South America
That was 2002
Yeah that's a lot of
long time ago. The sixth day wasn't good. That was
2000. End of days.
1999. He fights
the devil who's Gabriel Byrne. Oh, yeah.
Like Robin Tunney is like
the just chosen one
or something. For a spoiler for a movie that is
now 18 or 19 years old,
I got to say this. It's one of my favorite things ever.
The whole point of the movie is that
1999 is the year in which
the devil comes back.
Yeah, 2000.
Do you remember the gist of this?
Howie comes back?
They know why they know it's 99, 1999.
Why?
They find out that all this time, 666 has been upside down.
I'm fucking serious.
And they find out that it's supposed to be 999.
That's the whole premise of the movie.
That was the pitch in the room.
666.
And they just turned the page upside down.
They were like, you can't get Arnold in this, can't be?
Oh, yeah, absolutely.
By the way, speaking of the movies,
when are you going to stop fighting on the internet about Star Wars?
Shane Black's like,
is that a shame black?
No, it's not a shame black movie.
What am I...
Are we gonna cover this in the mailbag, the Last Jedi thing?
Well, you never said if you wanted to or not,
because that question involves a lot of spoilers that I don't care about.
I'll say this.
Because I feel like there's, like, dudes who are, like,
doing, like, tweet threads about why Star Wars wasn't good,
and then you find it, and then you do your own tweet thread,
where you quote tweet the tweet thread,
and it becomes this endless back and forth of telling you.
I don't find it.
I mean, it ends up in my feet, but, like, briefly,
we'll talk, we'll do some spoiler discussion,
maybe, The Last Jedi in the Mailbag,
just so people know what they're getting into.
but like, I said it this week, and I reiterate it,
I feel like I'm in a fucking alternate reality.
See, but I saw a movie that I absolutely loved that I haven't stopped thinking of.
On Rotten Tomatoes, though, like, and people hate it.
The viewer score is like in the 40s.
Did you read about that, though?
Oh, is it Russian bots?
It was 4chan and the vast right-wing conspiracy bringing the score of the movie down
because they have, because it's about girls and black kids making the universe better.
So you're like Eric Garland, but for Star Wars, where if anyone doesn't like Star Wars,
they're a 4chan bot instead of a Russian movie.
Yeah, I mean, let's try, let's play a little game theory here for a second.
No, listen, I really, I really love the movie, and I just don't understand.
Like, there seems like there's different levels of complaint about it.
Like, I get the idea that it sags in the middle a little bit, but I think that if you look at what it's trying to accomplish, the side trip to the casino planet makes total sense.
There's a side trip to a casino planet?
Yeah, there is.
How much space poker is played in this movie?
There's no, it's not like Casino Royale.
I was going to say, that's not picturing.
I'm like, Ray's like, oh, I'll stay.
Yeah.
I'll double down.
And, yeah, and the girl says to Finn, she's like, she's like, why are you so happy?
He's like, I just saw his tell.
Glepglorp bleeds from his eye whenever he has a good hand.
And that's how they won the force.
I bet the force.
But like, the people who have a problem with the Luke stuff are, it's just not, it's just not, like, I don't know if you've ever experienced this, but like, I unabashed.
love that movie. I love everything it attempted. And it's one of these things where it's not only
just, like, disagreeing with people about the premise of a film, but it's also fundamentally
disagreeing with the premise of being a Star Wars fan. Because like... Oh, here we go. No, because, like,
here's the thing. The Force Awakens comes out. People are like, oh, this is awesome. And then a
month later, like, I fucking hate this. And we're like, it's a total retread of a new hope. Oh, that
wasn't a month later. That was when it came out. Okay, fine. That wasn't like a retroactive dislike.
But like, like, that happens, right? So then... But it was kind of, it was based of the same
movie. There was a couple of tweaks.
Okay, but, be that as it may.
Sure. Like, why do you care so much that other people don't like it?
Because, because the basic premise was, we don't like this retread thing, do something new.
Force Awakens, okay, yeah, yeah. Yeah, and so Ryan Johnson does something completely new.
Not only subverts all of the shit in the Force Awakens from the movie you, quote, unquote, didn't
like, but then creates something wholly original and exciting and takes old characters and makes them do
interesting things
and reinvents the whole damn thing.
There's not a big fucking planet
destroying planet or anything.
It's just a very simple story.
And then people were like,
I wanted it to be different, but not this way.
It's just like, fuck you, what the fuck do you want?
See, I think the first time
when people were like, oh, this is the same thing,
I don't want to see the same thing over again.
I don't think those are the same people that are mad now
that they don't like what the new thing is.
I think those are probably the people that liked
the Force Awakens.
The other problem I have with it, maybe we get into this discussion more on the mailbag, is like,
everything, every decision that movie made can be defended within canon and can be defended within the,
the behaviors of the characters and other movies and stuff.
And like, I guess what makes me mental is I see people throwing out these complaints and being like, yeah, like, Luke would never exile himself.
We talked about the slash show, except for the fact that every Jedi did that, you know, or in shit like that.
And it just, I can't, you know I don't suffer fools.
and I see many a fool trying to disparage this great film.
You are making yourself suffer, is what you're doing.
And hate leads to suffering.
Seriously?
Suffering leads to being on Twitter too long and neglecting your family.
When's the next movie out next year?
No, next movie is like two years from now.
Next year is the Han Solo movie that they're conspicuously hiding from people.
Who's the new Han Solo?
Is that dude from Hale Caesar, Aiden, Ekin, Black, Bibibu...
I've seen that movie. I don't remember.
But Donald Glover plays Landau Calerician.
You saw him.
Hell Caesar?
He's the cowboy guy who has to learn that line.
Oh, the guy who flips off the horses and everything?
Yeah.
Not flips off the horse for his middle fingers.
Like, he does a flip off the horse.
But if it twer so simple.
Yeah.
But if it twer...
That guy's Han Solo.
That guy's Han Solo.
I don't get it.
Okay, so how come in, like, Captain America or, like, Iron Man?
They can do, like, a 10-minute scene where, like, Robert Downey's
21 years old?
Why can they just do that with Harrison Ford and make him, like, look young for the whole movie?
Maybe that's why they're hiding it from people is that's what they're in the process
is doing.
I also don't get how in those movies.
they can make Robert Downey look like he's 19 again for like 10 minutes,
but they can't make Captain America blowing a door off a thing look realistic.
Like, I don't know how that works.
Like, Michael Douglas can be 21 years old again,
but they can't make a guy flying around.
Well, that's easy.
You feed a guy stem cells, you deage him for 30 years,
but you can't feed a door stem cells and blow it off.
I mean, obviously.
That's just science.
I just think you need to block out the haters and the losers,
and you need to just enjoy your work, enjoy your movies,
and not worry about.
For those of you who are...
Randoms.
Randoms.
Even tangentially interested in my online behavior, and my behavior as a writer.
That's everybody right here.
I have a real flaw in my game, which is that I am endlessly convinced that I can change the minds of people.
Oh, that's true.
Through my rhetoric and my ideas.
Oh, wow.
That's crazy.
And so this Last Jedi thing has really tapped into this neuroses, because I really do believe that if given the time and the right,
a PowerPoint presentation.
I could change some minds here.
That's insane. What's insane is that you live all day online and you see how
dugging people are over the stupidest shit and you feel like you can sway them on
massive things they believe their entire lives.
Yeah, it's true.
You're going to go nuts.
Well, let's just sit to me.
Star Wars is my favorite thing ever. It is a religion for me.
So I feel like I'm having theological discussions online.
I saw you were like, I think a new hope is better than empire, which is fine if you think
that.
Like, it's more than just a movie.
It is.
It's cinematic magic.
It's just a movie.
No.
It's just a movie.
It's just an entertaining movie.
It makes you feel things that Empire never could.
It's like you're in love at two women.
And you're describing them as though they were women.
And you're describing like, oh.
She's deeper than the other one.
I'm like Charlie Sheen and Platoon.
I'm born of two fathers, Wilm Defoe and Tom Berring.
And also, I believe that aliens are causing global warming.
The movie with Paul Reiser?
Do you remember, you ever see The Arrival?
Oh, dude, it's been on nonstop.
It's been on nonstop.
I was watching it the other day, and it's like, it's so bad.
The dude who did The Arrival also did, um, pitch black and The Chronicles of Riddick.
These are a number of movies that I could never say are any good.
Oh, fuck if I don't watch them.
I do leave on the pitch black movie for a little while.
The arrival is so good.
The arrival's, the arrival's really bad.
It's good, though.
But like, I watched it.
Like at the end where the kid becomes, like, traitor.
His legs get bent back and he hops away.
like a little grass off her?
Well, no, before that one,
like, he's like,
Charlie, hit the button
or whatever the kid's name is,
hit the button, damn it!
And the kid just like staring at him
and then he walks and opens a door
and lets like Ron-Shan seems like the kind of actor
where if you named another character Charlie,
he would overrule it
because it'd be confusing.
I'm going to call him Chuck.
I'm going to call him Charlie too.
So then you tell Charlie to hit the button.
He can't be Charlie.
Why?
I'm Charlie.
No, but your character's name is Ben.
Right, but in real life I'm Charlie.
It's too much for me.
I'm coked up right now.
Okay.
We'll name him Emilio.
No, no, that's not going to be a thing we can do either.
I guess you never saw a little film called Men at Work, winning Tiger Blood.
That's a good movie.
That's an excellent movie.
All right, so you get into your interviews, though?
Let's do our lists.
All right, we created some lists for you in case you couldn't tell.
We're at a pub having Guinness, so there's probably not going to be a guess.
A Guinness, the only guess is going to be intoxication.
Do you want to do one hockey thing than one hop-wolder thing?
Yeah, so what do we have?
We have a total of seven hockey?
100 things.
And seven pop culture things.
Sure.
Eight, maybe.
I don't know.
Okay.
Where do you want to start?
What was your favorite hockey thing of the year?
We were just talking about it.
Category 1.
Favorite hockey thing of the year?
Was everything that happened from the moment that Matt Niskin and Alex Obedchkin
hit out, Kit Crosby after that play until the next game.
Whether it was the idea that this was a coordinated hit.
Oh, right.
Whether it was Rob Rossi's video, that was like a W.W.E.
style video about it.
Like those two days.
were the best two days in the playoffs last year.
Wow, I forgot about that.
That's a great choice.
And I just, I can't, like, the press conference were,
sir, answer my question, sir.
Yins know it happened behind closed doors.
Yins know it was a conspiracy theory.
Like a play that happened at 100 miles an hour
was this coordinated plan to assassinate Sidney Crosby.
Like, I, that was my favorite part of the playoffs.
Favorite part of the year.
Yins know you saw Matt Niskin and blink twice and stamp his foot.
That's a sitting-in-law vetchkin to take him out.
Man, like, if you haven't seen that play,
player, you forgot to go back and watch it, and then in your head, imagine seeing that and thinking
it was planned, it was choreographed.
My favorite hockey thing in 2017 was the rise of Smashville.
Spending the time I did in Nashville for the conference final and the Stanley Cup final
and seeing every single Canadian that ever shit on that town and being like, being like,
oh, they should totally go to Hamilton.
Not Jim Ball Selly by the team.
They are never going to see.
Seeing every single one of them.
at fucking Cades or some bullshit country bar on Broadway being like,
oh my God, friends.
Yeah, wow.
Or wearing a cowboy hat and trying to smash a car with a sledgehammer or any other
bullshit they didn't.
It war in my fucking heart to see that place.
It's good hockey town.
It's a good hockey town.
And the same should happen.
We went to Florida for the draft.
Oh, you know, sunrise shouldn't have a chance.
Ah, he should be in Quebec City.
Wow.
You cut, smash cut to the afternoon at the pool before the
draft. They should have three teams here.
Oh, God, here you know there, Martini.
It was fantastic to be here. Well, to be fair.
Florida shouldn't have a team anywhere. No, they should be anywhere.
That's a bad. That's a bad team.
But Nashville, the rise of Smashville and the
awesomeness of those fans and
the fact that now, I mean, I'm predicting
in my ESPN column this week
that they get a stadium series game
in 2020.
20? Oh, man.
Well, I mean, well, I'm sorry, 2019, I should say.
Not 20. 20 is the lockout.
Not 18, because we already have.
New Year's Day, 2020?
No, it won't be New Year's Day because
the Music City Bowl is in the 29th,
and then you have to...
Oh, State... Okay.
And then you have to make room for the Titans,
because no one's fucking driving two and a half hours
to watch the team at the University of Tennessee.
Tampa Nashville?
No.
Come on, buddy.
I think...
I mean, listen, the obvious choice is the Blackhawks.
Hopefully they don't do it.
I'll tell you what my choice would be, though.
Who would be?
Because it harkens back to one of the earliest rivalries for the Predators,
the Red Wings.
Do you know where the Red Wings and Predators used to play?
And that was before the Blackhawks fans all invaded,
like the Red Wings fans, the people Detroit fucking,
I mean, Nashville fucking hated.
They had that one great playoff series, like 09 or 2010?
I'd go Red Wings, Predators at Nissan Stadium,
book it for 2019.
And that's based on how not only the success of the team,
but also how fucking crazy rabid the fans are
and how much of a party it'll be.
I really do feel like you could probably replace predators in that story
with Vegas if you really wanted to.
You're thinking about it, were you?
No.
I think Vegas will get like an awesome.
All-Star game.
No, I just in terms of, like, the story, the hockey town, Canadian people not liking it.
Oh, no, I think the Canadian people really like the idea of Las Vegas all the way through.
Yeah?
Yeah.
They're like, let me think about this for a second.
Where's the fucking place I can go that's like Glendale?
Except there's like booze and gambling and broads.
Oh, I know.
Wait, why is it Pierre LeBron?
Why are you doing Fairler Run?
Pierre LeBron instantly would love natural.
This impression is not necessarily in a real life.
Scottie.
Scotty.
Scottie.
Hey, sportsbook.
Oh my God.
Do pop culture next?
Do I do the hockey?
We want to do a hockey?
No, let's do you want to do very or do you want to do all the hockey?
Let's just go.
Let's do pop culture.
Sure.
Here's the thing that I could not believe was a thing.
The thing you could not believe was a thing in 2017.
I do a little Googling because it's 2000s.
It's pop culture.
Like every 36 hours is a new thing.
The fucking Wendy's Nuggets kid.
Should never have been a thing.
Ever.
He needs his nugs.
So this was the guy who wanted how many retweets to get nuggets?
It's like 100.
thousand or something? I think it was like, oh, it was like a million's. I think it was like,
yeah, that's a good question. Whatever it was. Fuck you. Go, they're 99 cents,
you asshole. Like, go fucking get your own nuggets. And then Ellen got involved, they got
him the nuggets and then got him the retweets. It's a classic, it's a classic millennial
tale of asking for a handout.
Classic. For a minimal amount of effort. For no effort. He just, he tweeted
something. It was like, can I get some retweets for some nuggets? For some nuggets. You're,
there's no way you can't afford.
Nuggets.
Fuck you.
The thing I couldn't believe was a thing in 2017.
I hate Twitter.
I got to, listen, I'm not good with money.
This is the thing that you need to know about me.
I just don't.
By the way, when are you going to pay me back to $5 grand for the thing?
That's true.
I got that.
I don't, I don't, here I'm doing air quotes, pay bills a lot.
But, and I don't, I don't have any investments either.
Like, I don't, I don't really understand the stock market or whatever.
How's your 401K doing?
It's, I had that.
But, I mean, I don't, like, own, like, own stock.
You don't have a portfolio.
Yeah, I don't, like, I didn't buy, like, Yahoo stock or whatever.
That's, that's probably smart.
No, it was probably dumb because it made, it jumped in price when oath became a thing.
Did it really?
Yeah, I got a lot of friends that are looking pretty good right now.
But, like, here's the thing.
That, all that established, I could neither tell you what the fuck Bitcoin is or how to get a Bitcoin.
Apparently it's bad to you.
Or where you spend a Bitcoin.
All I know is that there was a part of the last month in which people.
made tens of billions of dollars for owning the Bitcoin.
But then it went away.
And then it went away.
It crashed again.
But those people probably cashed out because they knew about the Bitcoin.
And I don't know anything about it.
When I think of Bitcoin, I think of like something MarioGrabbaers in a Mario Brothers game.
See, I think I think of Bitcoin as the currency in John Wick.
Like that's how John Wick pays for like body cleanup and drinks.
Just like, here's a Bitcoin.
Right.
I don't understand it at all.
And it's not like, it's not like other fads where you'd go to like a, uh, uh, uh, uh,
You know, like a coffee shop in your town, and they'd have a sign in the window and says,
this is a pokey stop.
Like, I knew what a fucking pokey stop was.
But like, I've yet to see a coffee shop.
It's like, are you going to pay with cash, credit, Apple Pay, or Bitcoin?
But I think Bitcoin.
So I don't understand it myself.
I think you pay for it with like computer stuff.
Like, I think you pay for, you pay for internet stuff.
So if I had technology stuff.
Oh, you're using it to buy technology stuff?
I thought you were saying that, like, if I had four old mouses and an iPod that I
I could, it's a half of Bitcoin.
Yeah.
You can use that to get yourself a new microphone
of half of Bitcoin.
I don't know either.
I can make Bitcoin jokes,
but if someone says,
what's a Bitcoin, I don't know.
All of our listeners between the age of 17 and, like, 25,
are all laughing their asses up
because we're old and we don't know what the fuck Bitcoin is.
You're swimming around on their bitcoins like Ebenezer Scrooge.
That's right.
Oh, humbug.
Bitcoin humbug.
Mr. Scrooge, can I have a...
Go to the hospital?
No, Tuddy, Tim.
Assuming it made Bitcoin.
Spare of Bitcoin, sir?
I worked half of me bloody bitcoins.
So I don't understand Bitcoin.
I'm sure I'll understand it when real paper money is no longer worth anything.
And, like, Elon Musk has the Bitcoin,
and he is now the president of the universe because of the bitcoins he has.
Sorry, I'd love to put you on the new SpaceX rocket to the moon, but we only take Bitcoin.
Please, sir.
I have an Atari 2,600 and some old USB cable.
I bought some of these coins from Chucky Cheese.
I use them on the ski bowl.
Could I get on your plane, sir?
Bitcoin.
All right.
What is the dumbest controversy of 2017 in hockey?
We're going to have the same one, I bet.
Not even looking at your sheet.
Yep.
Listerine.
Oh, no, that's not mine at all.
The Sidney Crosby, P.K. Suban, like, as fun as the murder attempt of Sidney Crosby was,
hearing this Listerine thing about Sidney Crosby having bad breath and P.
P.C. Suvant saying it was Listerine, and then he came to the rink with Listerine.
And then people got mad about the Listerine joke,
and then P.K. Subban wasn't allowed to talk at one point during the postseason at the end of it because of it.
Fuck, that one was it like. I hated that one.
Didn't like that one at all.
And then people came to Sid, they're like, and whenever you have to ask Sid something stupid,
people always apologize to him before they ask him.
They're like, sorry we have to ask the question, but, you know,
it's sort of our job to do so after P.K. Suban says such a controversial thing.
Was your conversation with him last game?
about bad breath.
And then it's like,
he say that?
And they're like,
yes, he did.
Oh, God.
Seriously.
I'm just here to play hockey.
You know, I agree with that.
No, my dumbest controversy is
Connor McDavid makes turnover.
Oh, yeah.
When the entirety of the Edmonton Oilers
is burning to the ground
in a fire started by Peter Scheirelli's
ineptitude as an executive,
of Hello Ryan Strom.
The Edmonton Media, or at least one member of the Edmonton Media,
decided to turn his ire towards the amount of turnovers being generated
by the greatest player in the world who will win the scoring title
despite having had an extraordinarily slow start to the season.
See, that one got washed away by Chris Russell scoring it through his own net
like two days later.
But that one was extremely stupid,
where one season after Connor McDavid and Camtowell,
but carry the Oilers to a game in the Stanley Cup final.
You know what the problem around here is?
It's Connor McDames.
Yeah, I don't want it to be washed over.
I want people to remember in perpetuity,
the monument that is this podcast of the year 2017,
that remember that a beat writer for the Evanton Oilers
called out the best player in the world for his turnovers,
despite the rest of the team being hot dog shit.
The Justin Boren controversy was pretty stupid, too.
There was a lot kind of Mark Spectre to focus.
controversy this year. Chris Russell.
Okay, that'll be my entry.
Anything Mark Spector did in the last two months.
Chris Russell, Justin Boren, not being able to score goals like Connor McDavid,
and then also Connor McDavid, giving up the puck too much.
All right.
To the other team, mind you.
Not like assist-wise.
My favorite failure in pop culture.
Ah, here we go.
The juicerow.
That was definitely a choice for me.
$400 to have a machine squeeze a bag of fruit juice into a thing,
when you can just do it with your hands.
Now, juicerro or juicerro?
Oh, I've been saying it is juicerro.
It could be either way, but I don't know.
Jucero.
Jucero.
Jucero.
No one's going to be fucking talking about it after this year anyway.
Yeah.
My favorite failure in pop culture of 2017 was Katie Perry's last album.
Oh, did it not do well?
What was it named?
I don't know.
What about Taylor Swift's last album?
Ah, that's just it.
That's what's so beautiful about Katie Perry's album failing so hard.
Uh-huh.
Like, it's a constant competition between her and Taylor Swift.
right? So her album comes out. She does a bunch of songs that are political and how she's upset
that Hillary didn't win. And then the album tanks and music's horrible. No, no, it's because of sexism.
And also she did that try-hard song called Swish Swish where the entire video is like her and a bunch
of internet memes dancing on a basketball court. Wait, what, which memes? Come on.
Remember the dancing, the dancing guy does the like the, the shark dance?
No, there's a bunch of, don't trouble yourself with it. I barely know Bitcoin. I don't know what's going on.
The song tanked, the album tanked.
And then the ultimate salt in the womb.
Wom.
Wound.
You don't want soft air?
That's not a good place for soft.
The ultimate salt in the wound.
Did you pass the salt?
Taylor Swift has an even bigger disaster than Katie Perry.
So normally the world would be focused on the abject failure of this album that she put out.
But instead, we're all focused on how bad the Taylor Swift album did and was.
And so she can't even fail right.
She failed in a way where even her failure was overshadowed.
Right.
And the best part about all of this is because she failed,
not only is she an American Idol judge, I think, now,
but her next album is going to have to be a much older Katie Perry
strapping on the boob cannons and shooting whipped cream again in videos.
Yeah, I'm all for that, man.
All right.
There you go.
That's all good for me.
Worst decision.
Again, I feel like one that we should have.
I think it should overlap, but I don't know.
Not going to the Olympics.
No, that is not mine, but go ahead.
It's just stupid.
I mean, there's not a lot to say.
It's just a really stupid decision where I'm already...
Also, too, all of us writers should have gotten together and decided when we were going to start writing our
what the roster would look like stories.
I saw a couple out today.
Like, I'm not ready to do it yet.
Yeah, I'm doing mine like the first week in January.
Yeah, I thought like February, maybe I threw it out.
But now it's...
But yeah, I just...
Lots of the athletic.
They got to get ahead of the curve.
I hate, I hate, like, hearing about, like, you know, world juniors now because, like, that makes me think of the Olympics.
and like the women are going to start revving up soon.
And that makes me think,
it just,
the whole thing makes me sad.
And like,
the U.S.
team would have been good.
They would have been really good.
Austin Matthews,
Jack Eichel,
Dylan Larkin,
Gosses-Ber,
Hallyabuck.
Nick Buxt that would have been like the fourth center.
Yep.
And then all the,
all the holdovers from the other team.
Yeah,
like,
like Jack Johnson.
Phil Kessel.
Oh,
Kessel.
Yeah,
Kessel's skiing around and,
could you imagine,
I think this has not been talked about enough.
There was a better than good chance
that Phil Kessel and Austin Matthews could have been on the same line
on a team USA. Can you imagine that shit?
Oh, God.
Toronto would be drowned and come.
It would just be,
he'd need scuba gear to get around Toronto.
Would it be drowned and come or would it be like drowned in
whatever the opposite of cum is?
Bile?
Because, yeah, what's the opposite of cut?
Is it pee?
Oh, I know what it is.
It's hot dogs.
Fucking Steve Simmons.
He would be drowning hot dogs.
Steve Simmons would break some story during that.
Oh, I saw him out.
eating late at 2 a.m. before the game.
B.
B. Well, it hopes that he doesn't
convince us to
eat hard dogs all the time.
The athletic didn't put out a Johnny Bauer story
fast enough for me. Biddley.
The athletic refuses to talk about
Phil Kester's hot dog addiction.
What about loudly. I'm screaming.
Buh, in a restaurant.
The worst decision of 2017
from a hockey perspective were all
the teams that made shitty choices
at the expansion draft. There weren't a lot of them.
A lot of teams did a very
responsible thing, and in a lot of cases, they
They made it out okay.
But Florida.
Minnesota Wild giving up Alex Tuck
to make sure that Eric Huala was taken
and to protect Matt Dumba
is fucking dumb as shit.
Tuck's going to be great.
And then, of course, the one you referenced,
Florida creating Riley Smith
to ensure that Florida took Jonathan Marcoso
who shouldn't have been exposed anyway.
Like I wrote about this yesterday.
Like Dale Tallen destroyed a team
out of spite.
Out of complete spite.
Oh, you think it's an inside job.
Well, I mean, he was just so mad
that like nerds built the team.
He was like, I don't know what nerds doing their nerd stuff.
I'm going to get rid of all these guys.
Like, no GM has ever done that.
Some people don't want the nerds to succeed.
Some people just want to watch the whirlbone.
I'll take another Guinness.
Okay.
Thank you.
Where are we at now?
We are on the book.
The book you'll claim to have read in 2017.
What happened by Hillary Clinton?
Oh, nice.
I'm never going to read that.
Much like Bitcoin, I don't really know what's in it.
I don't even know what it's made of, but I'm going to make jokes about it.
That's great, because I also went political.
Tonasi Coates, We Were Eight Years in Power, his book about Barack Obama.
It was one that I'll, because I claim to have read every Tonahassee's book, but I've never actually read any of them.
I only read his Black Panther comic.
All right, let's work on it then.
Hey, hey, did you read that book by the Coats book?
Oh, yeah.
It was a collection of his columns about Obama and really made me think really hard about, you know,
glory days of that presidency and how we maybe didn't appreciate all the good that Obama did.
Yeah, I thought it was like really good commentary that shined light on what's going on today.
Yeah.
Also, that awesome fight at Wakanda where Black Panther took on Kilmonger and...
Yeah.
Yeah, like he was, he was, I thought that also was a allegory for today's world.
I also want to thank Phil Simmons for having Taunahasi Coats on, so I'll never refer to him as Tenishi ever again.
I didn't realize there was an E sound. There's so many online people who's in the names I don't know how to say.
Like, um, uh, I was the other day.
Eric, Eric Garland.
Albert, you know, Albert, Berneco.
Yeah.
How do you say that?
Burn.
I don't know.
Yeah, see.
Like, it's just, I see the name.
I know the name.
Right.
I know they are.
Right.
Yeah.
That's the internet.
Sean Gently.
Sean Gensely into that good night is his name.
Yeah.
That's right.
All right.
So that's the books that we would have claimed to read.
The player you feel best for in 2017.
You're going to like this one.
Uh-huh.
Taylor Hall.
Damn right.
That's a great choice.
Because in theory, even though the Metro is insane,
he's headed towards the playoffs for the first time.
The Oilers, after the last season, dominating without him,
are now not going to the playoffs.
And also, the Oilers are now in a thing where every fan's, like,
how did we let all these guys get away,
where we could have used them to score goals and such?
As opposed to last year, and it was like,
Taylor Hall couldn't pass a boating license test.
That's why we lost, and he's gone now.
Yeah.
Really?
Really?
Taylor Hall would have had Connor McDavid and a flop house spending billions of dollars
and illegal poker games.
Like, it's just nonsense.
God, I love fans.
The player I feel best for in 2017, Josh Bailey.
You talk about a guy who's been through it, like on some shitty-ass Islanders teams,
a guy that was always like the guy who was never going to achieve anything.
And now he's a better-than-point-per-game player.
I mean, he's an aberration.
probably. But like, to look at the scoring leaders and see like,
that's weird. Nikita Kutrov, Steven Stamco's and Josh Bailey is like...
Like John Tavares is like six spots below Josh Bailey.
Just like, I feel good for him because you know what?
Probably a lot of room on that refrigerator and now you can clip that NHL.com stats page each day
and just tape it on there every single day.
All right, so when he finishes the year with like 98 points, where does he sign next summer for way too much money and then disappoint the rest of the way?
Long Island.
Are you kidding me?
Like Tavares is...
Well, they're going to pay for both of them.
Because Savares is going to be like...
Is Savaris leaving?
They're like, hey,
hey, John, got you into that arena you've been asking for.
Yeah, but you don't got me a Josh Bailey.
Oh, God.
But we were thinking we got opposed to him.
Not this time, baby.
Then they signed...
I don't know why I'm suddenly doing dusty roads for John Tavares.
Yeah, it sounds like Elvis.
I'll tell you what, baby.
You want the Canadian dream.
John DeVaris here.
You better give me a Josh Bailey on my wing, baby.
Thank you very much.
Now that you sound, Andrews Lee.
I got to leave now.
I'm going to go.
Or Josh Bailey, whatever his name is.
Back to my home planet.
Best TV show, no one appreciates.
You know, you know the answer.
Go ahead.
You know the answer.
I don't.
Young Pope.
Oh, that's a great.
The Young Pope is going to come back for season two.
Do you still feel that way, though?
Because as we talked about, Jude Law is not going to be on it.
That's what I mean is like if the show is more popular and did better,
I feel like they would have brought back all the original cast.
They'd probably cost a lot of money.
Now they can't.
That first season was so weird and good and fun and smart.
and it was just,
it was just so good.
Now it's going to be,
who was the old lady on the show, I forget?
Oh, Diane Keaton and a kangaroo will be back.
I'd watch that for another season,
to be honest.
If the kangaroo becomes the new pope,
I'm into that.
Best TV show, nobody appreciates 90-day fiancé.
They just completed another season.
It's starting to get more appreciated.
I see it trending on Sundays now,
but honestly...
It's only season 7, isn't it?
It's the single greatest show on television,
and I love it so much.
It's been on forever.
And honestly, the funniest thing
that I read on a weekly basis
is the 90-day-day-fiancee Reddit
where people are trolling
all of the social media feeds
of the people that are on the show
and compiling conspiracy theories
and Photoshop contests and shit
about it's twisted as shit
but it's my favorite
that sounds insane
90-day fans
and also like where else is a giant fat
guy who pretends to be rich
but then meets a Thai woman
and then America
yeah but that's what I'm saying
how is he going to get on reality television
he's not he's not going to be on
Floridaama Coast or whatever
he's going to be on
United Fiance.
Do the rich guys, do people get paid for their appearance on the show?
I think they have to, yeah.
Right, because otherwise, like, if you're, like, a rich guy and you want to, like, you know,
pick up, like, a 21-year-old girl from Thailand, you can just go do that.
Rare is...
Rare is the time when the producers in that show have to step in, but they had to do it this time
because this woman met a guy from, I think it was the Dominican Republic, and, like,
they had a huge fight, and he left, and she had to disclose that during their team,
taping, like, during the 90 days
to see if he was going to stick around and get married.
They got married. The producers
didn't know it. Wait, they secretly got married
after they met, but no one on the show knew it.
Right, including her kids.
It was great. It's the best show on television.
I love it. I love it so much.
The player I feel worse for,
Yarmier Yager.
Because of the injuries for having to play in Calgary.
A, because it's over. He can just tell.
He's finally breaking down.
He's not, he's producing kind of what he always has,
but now he's breaking. And yeah, like, again,
he's probably not going to go to the play.
playoffs. That makes me sad. And he's not going to break Gordy's record either, probably.
He's not good enough to even go to the All-Star game this year for fun. It's just, I just, I guess.
He wasn't even on the ballot, I don't think. I think the NHL didn't want him to, if I wouldn't have gone anyway.
Oh, right, because, well, yeah, like, he probably wasn't going to be a captain in that conference, or in that division.
But you can't even, like, now it's on, yeah, now it's, I hate the All-Star game. It's so, the worst TV show everybody appreciates.
This is us. I'm sure there's a lot of people out there that really like this show. I just, I just,
can't do it, man. Every time I look at it, an ad for it, I'm like, I feel like it's going to make
me cry and I don't want to cry at this bullshit. It's cry porn. I want to, it's cry porn. Yeah,
yeah, I want to save my tears for shit that I really want to cry about. Like Star Wars. Like Star Wars.
And then, like, also the dude from Heroes, Milo Vendamiglia. Milo Yontopoulos? The guy.
No, not the Nazi. The other guy. The guy who played the brother on heroes. So anyways, he's on this
show, and the whole point is that, like, he dies of it? Like, they know he died. I don't know what the
fuck. Everyone sad and dying has, like, a problem or, you know, whatever. Like, isn't like Mandy
Moore's child dead or something? Isn't that, like, part of the sadness? I don't know.
Dan Rosen of NHL.com loves that show. I'm sure he does. He loves it. I'm not even kidding.
Like, we were at the garden one night, and we were sitting, like, the press box in the garden,
and all the way at the other side of the rink is where the celebrities sit. So you can see
Anne Borell from all far away. It's bright yellow hair. Yeah, hair, yeah.
Meanwhile, some guy from This Is Us was like two seats away, and he's like, oh, that's Blurz and Big Mir.
And I'm like, what?
He's like, from This Is Us.
They didn't put him on the scoreboard.
He wasn't listed on the celebrity sheet.
He could spot him from across the way.
Yeah.
People love This Is Us.
Look, if I wanted to watch a show that's going to make me feel abjectly miserable with occasional bouts of joy, I'd watch the Walking Dead still, and I don't.
So I just don't need it on my life.
All right.
That's fair.
The worst Gary Betman moment of 2017.
Now, this is really the worst moment for him as a person.
pose for me. I love this moment.
It was when his boy lost the election
in Calgary. Oh, yeah.
I really enjoyed that.
I don't do politics. We don't get into politics.
And then they were on the wrong side of history, as it were.
And now they're like passive-aggressively
trying to get the guy to Nenshi to work with
the guy. It's just great. I love it.
I love watching Gary Bentman Lewis.
My predictions column this week. I predict Calgary gets that in
arena, but they're going to go there on mended knee.
They're dumbest shit if they leave that market.
That's like a top 15 market.
going to leave it. They have no choice.
Their balls are in a vice. Their short hairs are in a
vice. A tweezer. A tweezer. A tweezer machine.
A tweezers machine. By an evil genius.
The pubulator.
Dr. Robotnik, I've created the tweezer machine.
The mayor's got the owner's pubs in there. Like, what are you going to do now?
All right, we'll pay for it.
Stephen King's, the tweezerator.
She realized I'm yelling about pubs in a restaurant.
The worst Gary Betman in the moment, of course, was taking all of the goodwill that was built
up in his battle against the IOC
and then
pissing it all away by clearly
making the Olympics a CBA
bargaining chip. Farganing chip.
Even a guy like me who
backed the NHL's
decision not to go to the Olympics.
Yeah, it was bad. It was bad PR.
The minute you, all of a sudden
they're like, but maybe if the players decide
to blah blah, blah, blah, we can give him the...
Just shut the fuck. You know, come on.
Like, way to piss it away, man.
Yeah. Go for it.
All right.
I think I had more.
I think you read more. I don't.
I feel like I bring you out on Ronaldo in Star Wars.
I feel like you burned out of gas.
You didn't.
I'm full of gas.
What was the most fun you had at the movies this year?
I saw your answer.
It's the same.
It's the Ragnar.
It was super fun, right?
From the first scene where he's spinning on the chain and he's like, hold on a second,
and he turns around, like from the beginning to the end of that movie.
Kate Blanchett, everybody.
The low-key scenes were banner's regular banner and he's everything.
That movie was just Goldblum.
It's just, wait, the melting stick.
We're not going to use the melting stick.
for that's a minor infraction.
We're not going to...
Everything.
Everything was great.
Everything was great.
And it just goes to show that, like, the best way to reinvigorate a property that's a little bit more abundant is to go in a completely different direction and make it funny and subvert your expectations like the Last Jedi.
Oh, is the Last Jedi funny?
That's very funny, but people are complaining about the humor.
See, I haven't seen a complaint about that.
Yeah.
All the complaint I see is like about character stuff.
The humor is very modern.
Like, the movie begins with a thing where...
Where Finn's like, I'm going to force my way.
No, no.
And Ray is...
Podameron's talking to our favorite character, General Hux,
played by Domal D'Liesin, the Ginger.
Felicia Rashad's General Hux the Moon?
No.
And the whole bit is that, like,
he is trying to talk to Hux
from his X-Wing to the Star Destroyer,
but he keeps on pretending that he's on hold.
And so Hux goes into these long, like, soliloquies
about how he's evil.
I will destroy the rebels and blow you out of the sky!
And then there's like silence and she's like, yes, I'm holding her hucks.
See, it's really funny.
But then people had a problem with that humor being so not Star Warsy,
aka funny.
Okay, but for that joke, is there like a Verizon thing on like the walkie talking?
No, there's not.
So it's like weird.
And he does it like three times.
So it's the rule of three, too.
It's really funny.
That is the worst part of the whole Star Wars thing is every single like partnership
ad I have to see for it for like a car, a chocolate bar, a fucking condom, the Star Wars
It's so weird when Ray is training with Luke and she's like,
like, the force is classic like a Mercedes-Benz.
I've got the drive to force my way into this Mercedes-Benz at a low, low price of $2.99 a month.
Po, aren't you listening to me, man?
I'm sorry, man, I couldn't hear over these space rice Krispies.
Wink at the camera.
Can you hear me now?
Can you hear me now?
I'm coming up over the Verizon, and I can.
now hear you well. Hi, I'm Poe Dameron for Verizon.
You'll never escape the first-order
Superstar Destroyer presented by Bridgestone.
And the Chicago Blackhawks are on board the flights.
They're on the ice planet. We're going to play some outdoor hockey on the
Hawth Planet. It's good. It's going to be good for the league. We're going to grow the
brand and blah, blah, blah, blah. Oh, yeah, and then two of them get stranded,
and Jonathan Taves has a slice of him and Patrick Kane to stay warm. And he's like,
I thought these things smelled bad on the outside.
Wait, so we both did the movie one.
Oh, favorite Puck suit moment.
Yeah.
Now, we could have gotten deep cut, but I'm just going to go with the basic thing.
Yeah, go ahead.
Live show in Brooklyn.
Oh, Slamcode?
Shlamco.
If you weren't there, it's hard to explain how confident, I believe, Chris was.
His name was Chris.
Where we were all kind of joking around.
Nobody knew the devils.
And he was just like, I got this.
Yeah.
And he says Schlemco.
And to feel the room slowly come to the realization that David Schlemko was not on that team.
Waves of recognition.
Just like kind of like gurgling and then laughter and then the whole room burst out.
Gurgling is a good word.
Gargling.
It was like Francesca.
It was like,
dog is not on the team.
Like that was by,
that's as hard as maybe I've laughed outside of like the,
the Bucky and Steve Rogers living in Brooklyn as lovers idea.
My favorite Puck Suit moment
Well, as an episode
The realization of people
That are Puck Bunny episode
That was actually in January
It actually was a 2017 episode
Wasn't the exploitive garbage
That they thought it was gonna be
Yeah, but some people didn't listen
And I just assumed it was
Yeah, but a lot of people did listen
And like the compliments we got for handling it
In a responsible way really made me happy
Because I thought it was a good episode
But the thing that made me laugh the most by far
Was when you lost your shit
when you realized that the villain in Justice League was named Steppenwolf.
Oh, my God, his name is Steppenwolf!
And then you lost your shit a second time when I told you that he was a minion of Darkside,
and he did that bit where he started singing Mr. Brightside as Mr. Darkside.
Coming out in my cage, and I'm stepping all over the place, because I'm a bloody wolf who's got to have it all.
I think about that moment. Maybe daily?
I did think about Steppenwolf for like a week after that episode, where I would just be sitting in silence on the train,
and I would just start laughing about stepping wall.
Where you were like, you were like,
I'm going to step all over you.
That was by far run away.
We can't possibly stop him.
He's got two big feet.
He's a stepping wall.
It was the moment in which he said,
he said,
you said,
the moment you said,
oh,
Mr. Dark Side,
well,
Mr. Brightside.
Well,
Mr. Dark side.
He just couldn't get past him.
Oh,
oh,
oh, okay,
so pop culture,
we have two left here.
The Baby Driver Award for Worst Movie Ever Goes to.
I wanted to make a girl on the train.
I realized that I came out in 2016 because that movie is worst,
but the worst movie I saw this year was Baby Driver.
Baby Driver.
I actually, when I was looking around for some of the pop...
I'll take another one, please.
Thank you.
All right.
I did a Google for like 2017 pop culture, best of worst up.
And I found this one paragraph of you, a baby driver
from a woman who I have to meet and marry now
because it was so much more negative than even I've ever been about it.
that it brought joy into my heart.
It was just, she pointed out everything I pointed out,
plus the fact that like the relationship
between the idiot guy and the waitress was so stupid, of course.
She's like, oh, it's great.
Ansel Elgort, more like facile anal war.
And Lozzo's like, I gotta meet you, baby.
Wait, hold on, we go to my history.
It's probably up there recently.
The Baby Driver Award for the worst movie ever for me
to tie into my favorite puck suit moment was Justice League.
Justice League was so bad in hindsight,
especially after seeing The Last Jedi
and realizing that you can actually take chances
with the property and make it good.
I can't believe you went to go,
you had to know that was going to be bad.
Justice League was attack of the clones.
It was fucking terrible.
And the thing that I discovered this morning
as I was looking at the success
or lack thereof of certain films this year,
do you realize that as of right now,
Justice League has made less money than Hancock?
Hancock is the, thank you.
Hancock is the best or worst best movie ever.
It's at that point where you and Gentile were talking about it,
where eventually it turns.
But it's still as a whole okay enough.
It's a great premise.
Yes.
Not the best execution,
but Gentile and I were talking about movies
that start off really, really great
and then take a turn for the worst
about maybe like three quarters of the way through.
And for me, that's interstellar,
which I was watching again last night
on like FX or something.
I just feel like that would be the best example for me.
That movie goes off the rails for me
once we get into the whole, you know,
I was in space goes,
that kind of bullshit.
The worst movie that has a best problem,
premise is the purge. The purge is an insanely good premise. That's a really good premise. You're
right. And it's just fucking Ethan Hawk and Famca Johnson sitting around a house fighting off
faceless intruders. They could have done so much. I know. They could have made her
dark phoenix or had her kill people with her, her scissor legs, like in Golden Eye.
And the people coming there could have killed Ethan Hawk because of his involvement in
boyhood. Right. Exactly. They could have been like, you fucking wasted seven years of your
life for this movie? Taddle back in time and killed him during one of the earlier segments of
Boyhood. Oh my God. Boyhood. Yeah, Justice League for me was that. And then finally,
favorite podcast that's not puck soup or biscuits or ESPN and ice.
See, so here's, I was talking to Custance about this because like all the podcasts that I liked in 2017 kind of stopped.
There was Gentile and Lambert.
I was going to stick to sports.
Didn't stick the sports just come back?
They did a two-hour episode with all Star Wars spoilers.
I'm not listening to that.
Oh, sorry.
They may as well not exist.
Sweeter, there are new dating stories in Star Wars.
Katie Nolan just got her podcast back.
That was my one, that was my one for the year, by the way.
No, you would do it again?
I feel like I stepped on a little bit.
I kind of trampled a little bit.
You want to do it yet?
That's what I went for the year.
And it's only getting three beers in.
Yeah, like Katie Nolan's Garbage Time podcast.
That's coming back, though.
Yeah, like, courtesy of ESPN.
It just came back.
It just came back.
But I don't want to listen.
Like, Katie's podcast is kind of more, it's like Mark Maritz.
We're like, I want to know who the guest is before I sit down and listen to it.
And it's like, it was, former Indians, DH or somebody.
I don't know who it was.
I don't want to listen to that.
Yeah, man.
Remember that crate place on the corner of La Brea and.
Sorry.
I found the review. It's from Caitlin Tiffany of The Verge. It says,
Baby Driver is a boring movie about a boring boy experiencing a boring conflict between his vague desire to be, quote, good,
and his more pointed desire to not get murdered by Kevin Spacey.
His love interest is so idiotic and outdated an archetype that I briefly thought I was being pranked.
It just goes on and on. The film is set in Atlanta, the epicenter of modern hip-hop,
yet it features an over-hyped soundtrack of New York Rock and California Pop.
Oh, it's just a great paragraph. You've got to go find it. It's so good.
but like I don't know
I listen to Marion depending on the guest
Now what is this Kevin
I watched it the other day
And Christopher Plummer
Is the guy who's trying to pull off the heist
So I'm quite not quite sure what exactly she's referring to here
How is that not an SNL sketch by the way
Where they just superimpose his face
Until like the end of
Or have him be
Just like digitally put him in like in the Oscars
Like when they put Billy Crystal in all these movies
Like they should just have a sketcher
It's like Christopher Plummer
And like usual suspects
Capax
You can put 22 year old Robert Downey and stuff
You can age down Christopher Plummer so he matches the age of whatever the Kevin Spacey movie was.
People got mad at me on Twitter, I was like, I love the ref.
They were like, oh, you love a Kevin Spacey movie.
Oh, God.
Like, I get it.
I get what you're saying, but he's so good in the ref, though.
The ref is really funny.
Dennis Leary's, I want to fucking, I want to hit her Lloyd.
The mom's supposed to be sweet and nice.
Your husband ain't dead, lady.
He's hiding.
Yep.
What are your podcast?
You know what I get you for Christmas Mother?
Across.
So you can climb up onto it and nail yourself to it.
They're not coosins.
They're not, they're not, no, they're not, they're not, they're not coosens or gookens?
Yeah, one of them calls them lamb coosins.
They're not coosins, they're guikens.
Right, that's a brilliant movie.
Right, in the beginning when they're having that therapy session and they're at the therapist,
and Judy Davis was talking about the dream she had.
And the waiter comes up to me and he says, don't eat the penis, it's just garnish.
What does that mean?
By the way, Beattie Wong spent more time.
the nine he's playing a psychiatrist and actual psychiatrist.
He's a psychiatrist and everything he's in.
Yeah, or a priest.
Like an Oz.
Remember the show Oz on HBO?
That's more like a, that's a psychiatrist for religion.
Psychiatrist, priest, or a guy who makes dinosaurs.
Those are the three roles of Beattie Wong throughout his career.
Rewarding male mediocrity becomes very dangerous over time.
This year should have made that clear enough.
Caitlin Tiffany, Caitlin Tiffany.
It's at Dave Lozo on Twitter.
Yeah, find me on Twitter.
Let's hang out.
Let's talk baby drive.
What was your podcast the year, by the way?
You said all the ones you liked went away, but what was the one that you liked?
Like, Marin's the only one I picked up this year that, like, Irwin-Glorie Ryan had the Girl Friday podcast, but she's doing a crooked one that hasn't started yet.
So, like, there's all these podcasts that are in limbo.
So, like, Marin, depending on the guest.
Like, the last Marry one I heard was the James Reichel one.
So, I need a podcast.
I recommend me some podcasts.
The one I would say is when you'll never listen to.
Something to wrestle with Bruce Pritchard.
The Star Wars Wrestling Podcast.
Something to wrestle with Bruce Pritchard is a.
The last two episodes, one is...
What's it called?
Something to wrestle with Bruce Richards.
Oh, something to wrestle with.
It's a wrestling podcast.
I've talked about it on the show before.
It's...
I was missing it.
The last two podcasts, they'd done, they did.
It dropped.
One was on The Wrestler Edge.
Not from YouTube, but The Wrestler Edge.
Was he the Bear that kills Anthony Hawkins
and Anthony Bullock Baldwin in the movie?
That podcast was four hours and 20 minutes long.
The one I'm currently listening to now
on gold dust is over five hours long.
A five hour podcast about...
Gold dust. Gold dust.
A podcast, maybe longer than all of the Lord of the Rings movies combined.
And people complain when we do like two hours and four minutes?
Yeah, but it's great.
Because like I said, I don't know if I've...
I mean, I think I've talked about before, but like, the premise of it is basically
like this guy Bruce Perchard used to be a head writer and an underlingo Vince McMahon back
in like the 80s and the 90s is basically on trial.
with this guy from Alabama,
Conrad,
whatever the fuck.
Bain?
Bain. Conrad Bain.
Yeah.
Conrad Bain would be a good bit.
He adopts these two kids from Harlem.
Arnold, don't go to the store.
Listen, where are you,
I said, stay away from the bicycle store.
I don't trust, Gordon, jump.
I told you not to make milkshake jokes
around our Epidemic maid.
I will tell you what I am talking about.
Ah, Mindy Cohen.
It must be time for a facts of live crossover.
So Conrad puts them on trial, basically,
and is always calling out the shitty decisions that they made.
Like, for example, on this gold dust one,
they're like, he's like, he's like,
now you put, you made a gold dust character,
and all of a sudden the entire crowd starts chanting gay slurs.
Now, you didn't see this coming.
And then Bruce Pitch was like, no, no, he didn't see it.
He's androgynous.
He's an androgynous character.
We never really saw it coming.
You didn't know that having a guy in a gold body suit humping other wrestlers might have made the crowd chant gay slurs.
No, no, it wasn't our intention at all.
I mean, we just, he's androgynous, you know.
He just put him out there.
He's kind of a weirdo, you know?
You didn't know that having a wrestler say he wanted to get breast implants.
Might have created a situation where the crowd would start chanding gay slurs.
No, no, no, he's, he's obsessed with movies.
That's what Gold Dust is.
Yeah, so that's a pretty great podcast.
Is there an episode where Kimberly's Beliemic and, like, Conrad Bain helps you get help?
Say what?
Like, I, like, I just, you know.
I want to take it to a psychiatrist.
I'll help you out with your problems.
I want to go back now and put Bain's voice in every episode of different strokes.
It's all I want to do right now. I don't want to do anything else.
This red-headed child is Sam.
He's your own. Treat them as your own.
You, the Jackson's.
I forgot about Sam.
Oh, man.
Oh, Conrad Bain.
Why would a boy hide inside of a night ride a car?
I fear no groups
It turns out your girlfriend was Janet Jackson
I'm a surprise as you are with us
All right
All right
All right
All right well that's it for this episode of Puck Soup
Happy New Year everybody
That was our 2017 year and review
We gotta do the question of the week
Oh shit
We forgot about the question of the week
Oh shit
God damn it
We have two and a half beers
And look at us
We can't even we can't even
We can't even prioritize our
All right
The question of the week was
Give us one prediction
for 19 for I'm sorry for 19 for 1994
I predict Mike Keenan
would have quite an impact in his one year
in New York
my God
All right
Give us one prediction for 2018
Was the question
Not the fake KJG
Rights Lozo finds joy in something
Other than the NHL's mediocrity
As an organization
Yeah
You found joy in this bit we just did
Oh man my eyes are so
watery. There you go. So already that
prediction came through. Well, it's technically until
2017, so this will fade by
the years. Oh, my God.
The people
around this right now must think we're just absolutely insane.
WFOD says Jonathan Taves
goes four for four on the little nets
in the skills competition. I think we're
really going to do that dumb relay
again. I hate that thing. Oh, oh,
here's my all-star prediction. Yeah. This is what I want.
Connor McDavid scores a goal.
His goalie
leaves the net and goes down the ice and
celebrate, right? And when he gets down there, he like drops to a knee and pretends to hold the camera.
And then McDavid's two linemates hold his arms really tight. So they reenact the airport photo.
Oh, I like that a lot. I like that a lot.
No one tell McDavid about it. Just grab his arms really tight and hold them close.
I like that. And then Gujarra lights him on fire.
Because that's all he wants to do with the All-Star game. He'd light some shit on fire.
He's basically like, all right, how about if we just do that? But we just light everything on fire?
No, Johnny, it's an ice sport. We can't do that.
James Hogan writes, Stanco's brittle body crumbles, and so there's the rest of Tampa.
Wow.
They don't even make it to the Eastern Conference Finals.
Wow, that's a pretty bold prediction.
It's predicting an injury, any, any, who are they going to lose to?
Who's four out of seven in that division that they're going to lose to?
Boston?
No.
Montreal?
I think if they, I think they get to the conference final, but I think that there's a chance of somebody out of the Metro beats them.
You're Washington Capitals, so your Columbus Blue Jackets.
I don't think any team in that division's as good as, I think, if Tampa, like,
I'm just feeling that there's this theory that the metro is not as good as we think.
I think the central is a better division top to bottom.
I can't prove it.
I don't know.
I just, I don't know.
I mean, if your premise is that Winnipeg, Nashville and St. Louis are better than, say, the capitals, the devils, and Columbus?
Columbus, I think you could make that argument.
But then you get down to, like, Chicago.
Is Chicago better than the islanders or the Rangers?
No.
I don't know.
Maybe. I don't know.
It doesn't add up.
Something does add up.
Like Pittsburgh is in sixth.
Carolina's hanging around.
Michael Atkinson writes in,
the three Pete penguins
controversially accept
Mike Pence's invitation to the White House.
It's good.
It's really good.
Lundquist wins the Vezina
from Clark yet. No, that's not going to.
Nikolai Vincelli writes,
and Mark Bergervan tries to sell off some players to get a high pick
and the HABs make the playoffs by accident.
Jordo just straight up says the Knights win the Cup.
At this point?
Who said that, Ryan Lambert?
No, Jordo says that.
No, Ryan Lambert, I can't figure out what Lambert feels about the Knights
because I read his column about how his bit is like,
you know, he picks one team that's going to regress every year
and then bangs the drum until they do or don't.
Right.
And I know they're his regression team next year, but does he like them this year?
I can't quite figure it out.
How are they going to lose enough ground and miss the playoffs at this point?
No, they're definitely going to make the playoffs.
What are they?
Like 10 points clear?
Dude, they beat the ducks last night, and Kessler came back and they...
Eh, the ducks.
The ducks.
The devils beat the ducks.
How good could they be?
Oh, burn!
Jacob Bobro says,
Marion Hosa makes a comeback at the Blychef World Championships,
and Vegas makes the playoffs, and it refuses to sign to trade their business.
big stars.
Vegas is 10 points ahead of the 9th place,
Ducks.
You know, you gotta lose a lot
to lose 10 points in the standings.
Daniel McGrano, man, he knew.
He knew.
He's wired in, man.
That guy sees things.
Ryan Coley writes in,
Peter Shearrelli gets fired
in Edmonton takes over for Lou
in Toronto and trades.
Matthews for Louis Erickson.
How about Pat Clark?
The Women's Olympic Gold Medal game
won't be a matchup between USA and Canada.
I don't know how that could ever be a thing.
That's crits.
That seems impossible.
Brandon Kelly, Zach Rinaldo
scores the game winner for the Penguins
in overtime against the Preds in the cup final
this year. Nobody thought they could do it
again after trading Malkin for Ronaldo
straight up.
All right.
Oh, I'm exhausted.
All right, well, listen, those were some good predictions.
Thanks to everybody who wrote in.
Thanks to Lozo for remembering to do the bit.
Now, please, everybody, make sure that
If you're not signed up for the Patreon at patreon.com slash PuckSuit, you do so because we still have a mailbag to do.
And we're deep.
I'm deep.
I am on my third beer right now, and it's 3.30.
I mean, I'm toast.
I'm done.
Yep.
We've got some Crosby, Sill, Nash, and Young playing in the background.
It'd be amazing if we listen back at this and all of the music that's been playing syncs up perfectly with the discussions we're having from an emotional arc standpoint.
Like the David Ehrlich video.
for the movies of the year.
Right.
Yeah, that'd be great.
Yeah, that'd be great.
Yeah, let's stop it and go back and listen, I guarantee you.
It's going to be like some, some, like, somber song,
and we're going to be laughing about Conrad Bain.
We're listening to, I believe this, is this Pink Floyd?
This is, uh, money?
No.
Is this money?
Oh, wait, isn't money just the cat for this, sir?
It's a, blah, no.
Is this Tom?
Oh, no, this is, um.
Tom, no, come to the...
I don't know, what is it?
It is Floyd.
Are you short?
Oh, yeah, here it is.
Doon, do that one.
All right.
Yeah, whatever.
All right, listen, we love you guys.
Thank you so much for a great 2017 and an even bigger 2018.
Keep in mind that we have a live show coming up in Philly.
In the 12th, is it?
10th?
Tens?
I don't say the 10th.
Helium, it's a gas.
Ah.
Yeah.
Our Philly show is in.
in,
uh,
uh,
it's in Philly.
And it's also,
8 o'clock at the 10th,
I want to say.
It's 10, it's 8th.
Jesus Christ.
10 o'clock on the 8th?
It's 8 o'clock on the 10th.
8 o'clock on the 10th.
Tickets.
21 over show, 18 plus the parent.
Frank Saravelli of TSN will join us for sure.
There's a two thing minimum,
not a two drink minimum.
Yeah.
So if you don't drink,
you don't have to worry about.
And you're,
you damn know that we're playing a Philadelphia centric
round as Shlem Code.
Oh yeah.
Uh, at this,
at this show.
and it'll be a huge fun time.
So there you go.
Visit,
look for Helium Comedy Club in Philly,
and you can find the tickets and all that stuff.
Yeah, go to our Puck Soup Twitter.
It's the PIN tweet.
You'll see the link to it.
I think there's tickets available.
There's tickets available for sure.
Because we haven't really pushed it yet.
And, you know,
a thing we probably should have done
at the top of the show is at the bottom of the show.
And there's only two weeks before we do this actual show.
So that's good timing.
It's good timing by us.
All right, everybody.
We love you.
so much.
See, uh.
I'm Greg Grecian C.
Ispian.
All right,
bye.
Bye.
Bye.
Do, do, do, do, do, do, do.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tools.
It's your weekly bowl of Hockey and Nancet.
Um, Pooh.
