Puck Soup - Halloween Spooktacular!
Episode Date: October 27, 2016It's the Puck Soup Halloween Spooktacular, as Greg and Dave assign trick-or-treat costumes to NHL players and play "yummy in my tummy or only for a dummy" with classic Halloween candy. Plus, a look at... early season surprises in the NHL; Dave is all-in on the Edmonton Oilers; why the Maple Leafs are a wonderful kind of bad; Greg rants about the poor NBCSN game analysis; why the Rangers are quite good; why the Pacific Division is not very good; TV shows that have longevity but we don't know who actually watches them; David S. Pumpkins vs. Black Jeopardy; and if the Zodiac killer was obsessed with candy.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seat Geek, the first place I go to check for tickets to any game or concert.
I've got the Seatheek app on my phone, and I'd used it the other day, Dave Lozo, to find out what the tickets looked like for when Connor McDavid comes to New Jersey to play against my devils.
You know why?
Why?
It's not just Connor McDavid Day.
What else?
It's Taylor Hall Day against the Evanton Oilers.
Well, every day is Taylor Hall Day in Jersey now.
He's fun.
Every day is Taylor Ham Day, New Jersey, or porkrollers.
He's on a pork roll to start the season, Greg.
Seat Geek is designed to make your life easier as a sports fan.
It does all the price comparison for you by searching multiple ticket sites and ensuring that you get the best possible deal.
It saves you time.
It saves you money.
I love looking at all of the rankings and ratings that they have for the different ticket offers for games and figuring out what's the best deal for me.
Best of all for Seatkeek, our listeners get a $20 remate off their first Seat Geek purchase.
to get your $20 rebate on tickets,
you download the free Seek app,
you go to the Settings tab,
you click add a promo,
you enter the promo code S-O-U-P.
That spells soup.
It does not spell soap.
No.
Despite what some of our listeners might think,
it spells soup, S-O-U-P,
and then Seek-Eak will send you a $20-dollar rebate
if you've made your first ticket purchase.
Download the free Seek-E-C-G app
and enter the promo code Soup, S-U-U-P,
today.
and enjoy the show.
of Yahoo's Puck Daddy blog.
I'm Grave Boozo
of various
websites including Vice.
And welcome to
the Buck Soup
Halloween's
Booktacular podcast.
Wah ha ha!
Eddie.
Eddie, where is my
heaven, Eddie?
Eddie, you have to give me.
I'm an old man.
Fuck Carloff.
He's a hag.
I thought you were doing coming to America
or Eddie Murphy Raw.
Fuck you, Eddie.
Mr. Fuck you, man.
I was doing Bella Legosi from Ed Wood.
Yeah, it's Halloween.
It's the time for a speech.
Because you're good at the music now.
It's kind of freaking me out a little bit.
I'm not a fan of spooky noises.
Unless the spooky noise is this.
Which is the kind of thing that we should play more on this show.
if we were actually a real radio show.
I mean, yeah, instead of two guys with laptops,
holding them up to the microphones.
It's not really.
Dude, I think that's exactly the theater of the mind
that was created by the greats, like Wolfman Jack.
You don't see Francesa doing that on his show.
Dog, put up the microphone.
Hold on.
The only thing he's lifting up is a bottle of Diet Coke.
A scary story where I'm out of Diet Coke.
As far as the eye could see.
Princess, spooky Halloween tales.
Dog.
There was a horseman.
The four horsemen of the Bacalyps are actually the four horsemen of Aqueduct back after this.
He's riding through town, Mikey.
Didn't even have a head.
How can he see where he's gone without a head, Mikey?
Dog, one time.
The New York Giants lost Bill.
And they had a Ray Hanley.
Dog, it was terrifying.
Over under on body count for Freddie Kueger, Mikey.
79, according to the New York Daily News.
dog he only kills about 14's a movie maybe four maybe 14
give me the under
a lot of murders
were you a jason guy or a freddie guy
I'd never really been to har or either guy
horror movies like I remember like nightmare
and umstreet scaring me as a kid like there is
I didn't see the original um Friday to 13th until I was like older
and like I was so young that like the idea of like
being murdered before you're about to have sex wasn't I was like
I was like eight I'm like what are they gonna do
just hang out and lay in the bed and talk and then I got older.
I was like, that's probably the worst time to get murdered is right before you have sex.
But like Freddie, yeah, Freddy Kruger, the idea of like falling asleep and like waking up with a knife through your chest or like finger blades through your chest, that scared me a little bit.
All horror is to me what's relatable to you, right?
So like, Poltergeist when I was a kid was the scariest movie I could imagine because I lived in the suburbs.
Freddy Kruger is extraordinarily scary to me.
One, because I was a kid, killed kids.
And you sleep.
Everybody sleeps.
I sleep.
And he was also in the suburbs.
Like, Jason never bothered me because I only went to camp once as a kid.
And the scariest thing I saw there was the early 20s counselor's penises in the shower because I was about 10 at the time.
Is that what happens?
Yeah, it did at this camp.
Thanks, Dad's Union.
You know, it's funny.
On the Ask a Clean Person podcast, one of the many podcasts I do at this point, Jolie Kerr talked about like how there was a lot of weird nakedness there at her camp situation too.
I've never gone to camp ever
And now I'm like I'm pretty sure I'm glad I never I don't want to go to camp in general
I don't want to sleep at a fucking tent and like canoe
Well I mean that's that the nakedness is not in fairness
It's on my parents for having sent me to that Penn State camp but like
Oh no listen even now that's a camp on Long Island
It was the camp on Long Island
And I remember that like we played it was a fun camp
Like we played with horseshoe crabs and there's a lot of volleyball and archery and stuff
And then when it was time to shower like all
of the prepubescent boys would be in like one shower and then like there'd be an early 20s
counselor coming in with his hog really yeah and it was very awkward for for me at least see like i'm
picturing like a modern day horror story like an hl horror story where the players gather on and they go
and then there was rad co-gudis who terrorized the entire league and no one could stop him
they made him watch educational videos and it didn't help and he caused men
Many brain injuries before he was finally suspended four games.
Mr. Mr. What happened to Rafi Torres?
No one ever saw him again.
There were rumors he was in Carolina.
But no one ever saw him again.
He was stalking people outside of a chick-fil-a.
Throwing elbows into people waiting out of line.
But who knows if that's true?
His name was Brian Marchmont.
He had a stick for a hand instead of a hook.
But he used it like a hook.
Like, imagine going to like a hearing in person and it's like, boy, I'm glad to be here.
I'm glad to finally be safe from all the elbows.
I know I threw him, but I don't want it.
And then you walk getting Chris Pronger's there and it's like, dun, dun, da.
That was my thing on always with like the player safety.
Like, there have been people that have been kind of bitter about the idea that Pronger is involved and Peros is involved.
But like, that's who you want involved in players.
Like, you think, you think they should balance it up by having Paul Korea in there too and being like, well, what about the little guy?
They didn't hire like a criminal to catch Al Capone
Elliot Ness got that job because he was good at what he did
But they hire hackers to catch hackers in modern society, sir
You watch too many CBS television shows
And black hat with...
Yeah, black hat, the scor-if you have a problem, you hire the scorpions
They seem like they know a thing or two about the dark arts of hacking
The Rock?
No, no, it's a CBS show from Canada
It's on like Friday night.
No one, you've never seen it
You know what always makes me feel?
weird when I meet someone that watches Blue Bloods.
What's blue? Oh, the Tom Selleck.
The Tom Selleck, Donnie Wahlberg, cop show.
It's been on forever.
It has.
And, like, I was thinking about this the other day because I was talking about divorce on HBO.
And the fact that-
Oh, the show.
Yeah, the show.
I think you meant you were on a show on HBO talking about divorce.
I was like, good for you.
The Sarah Jessica Parker show.
And, like, it's not a very good show yet.
Probably won't be.
But Thomas Hayden Church is really funny on it.
And my entry point to Thomas Hayden Church was Sideways, which is my favorite
movies.
Oh, Wings.
That's what I'm talking about.
Never watched Wings.
Wings was always a show to me that someone would be like, like you're about to say, I loved
Wings.
And I was like, I don't understand.
Like, Wings was never a thing that I sought out, cared about, wanted to watch.
Tim Daly seemed like it was like a piece of rice cake walking into a room being like,
hello, I'm doing.
Hey!
I have nothing interesting to say.
Yeah.
But that's like, there's no way if you watch that show now, it's probably as good.
but like, for what it wasn't, I mean, you got young Thomas Hayden Church, young Tony Shaloobe.
Yeah.
Stephen Weber, Tim Daly, Crystal Bernard.
Why do I know everybody on that show?
But there's some, yeah, well, because they had it.
It was one of those shows that had a really, like, news radio.
I was going to say, it's news radio ask in that.
Like, it was great, but, like, people don't, like, well, it wasn't funny.
Like, Seinfeld.
It was pretty good.
But, like, news radio, like, those shows had, like, this really large group of alumni
that came out and did other things.
And that's probably what people are probably remember.
But, like, there are always shows that are on that I look at.
And I'm like, this is so not a part of my life experience that I don't, it almost seems alien to me.
It almost seems like a completely different culture than the one I'm in if people really like watching that show like Blue Bloods.
Do you know the show's supernatural?
Yeah, that's, that's different.
That's like a, that's like a genre show.
But like it's been on for 11 seasons.
And I think maybe one person I follow on Twitter has ever mentioned it ever.
Like no one ever like, like, like SNL.
Like take like SNL.
I for years would never see anyone be like, oh, you got to see this scound.
And then like this past week with the Black Jeopardy sketch, which was just fucking amazing.
Yeah.
And then David S. Pumpkins, which was not as good.
But yet for some reason.
Stay tuned to everybody.
Listener mail for that debate.
Decided that was the greatest thing ever.
But like, I've never seen it be like, oh, my God.
Do you see what happened tonight on Supernatural?
And like, I leave it on the background sometimes when I'm home.
And it's just like, hey, we got to, hey, Dean, we got to kill the vampire.
Vampires aren't real.
And then like a vampire kills like a guy working in a bank.
Oh, vampires are real.
Like it's every episode is like I don't like there are 11 seasons in so 11 seasons 20 episodes 200 episodes total there aren't that many fictional murder ghost demons to kill I come back to the idea that that there are going to always be genre shows and cult shows that are on that maybe you don't want oh sorry like like supernatural I'm sure there are people at look to buffy and we're like why was why this show on for as long as it is but it was a great show like Galactica like all this like a bunch of sci-fi channel shit but like then there are other shows you're other shows
shows that are on the big four networks
that are on for a long time
and you're like, who watches
Madam Secretary?
It's all the, like, whenever I watch football,
okay, so like you watch football on Fox.
On Fox, it's like, I see like the commercial for like
Batman, Arkham Danger, whatever the hell the name
of the season is. And I'm just like, I've heard people
talk about that. Oh, do you mean Gotham? Is that what the name
of the show is? Yeah, whatever. It's not Batman.
Shitty Batman TV show. But again, you're
talking about a genre show.
Yeah. Well, what I mean? Every
show is a genre show. Madam Secretary is a
political drama genre. Everything's got a
genre. Let me give you a good example.
But like everything on CBS, every time I see a commercial
for Kevin Can Wait, I just
Kevin Can Wait. Kevin Can Wait.
Kevin Can Wait, Big Bang. Now the new Joel McHale
thing. Let me give you a great example of that.
Okay. There's a show on ABC.
It's called Last Man Standing.
I don't know what that is. I've never heard of it.
That show has been on the air
okay? Since
2011.
What? Is it a reality show or is it?
No. It's a half hour
situation comedy.
It's a comedy. I thought it was starring
Tim Allen. No, it's
not. Fuck off. Tim Allen
has not been on TV the past five years. A married
father of three tries to maintain
his manliness in a world increasingly
dominated by women. Wait a second. No, yeah,
that's last man standing, even though that's
also the complete description of
home improvement as well. Now, the only reason
I know this show exists is because one night
Ruby and I were drinking, shocker.
And we came across
last man standing on ABC and we said listen neither of us knew this show existed but we're
gonna hang with it and the only way we're gonna change the channel is if one of us laughs like
legitimately laughs it's a joke in the show try this with any show you've never seen before by
the way ladies and gentlemen it's a hell of a challenge we got 16 minutes in that's how I
watched two two straight episodes of girls one time we got 16 minutes in I laughed at something
that was, I think, vaguely racist.
And then I turned to Ruby and she goes, yeah, I can
say that's funny. I'll admit that's funny.
And then we just changed the channel after that.
Because wasn't Last Man Standing a movie with Bruce Willis
from like 15 years ago?
Yeah, that was a movie in which Bruce Willis was a married father of three
and he's trying to maintain his manliness
in a world dominated by women because I think it was around
the time of suffrage.
Look at this. This is a real goddamn show.
Look at all the seasons.
Oh, my God.
Who's the last man standing of the National Hockey League amongst teams?
Who's the team that you always forget,
Um, Winnipeg, probably.
Well, what, that's, that's recency bias.
No, because like, for years, whenever, so, like, you work in hockey and you got to do,
like, team previews or league previews, Washington was always the last team on the list
alphabetically.
And now Winnipeg pops up there.
And there's still times when, like, I don't know if anyone can relate to this, but you
can probably can, but, like, there's times when it's like, you're doing power rankings.
You're doing one thing from each team.
And you get to the point where you're like, you count up the things you have and it's
29 and you're like, fuck, what team did I forget?
Right.
And it's always Winnipeg.
I always forget, like, Dustin Bufflin or something.
The last man standing for me is Columbus,
only because, not because I will ever forget
that the Lumbus Blue Jackets exist because obviously they do.
But I always forget where they are in the world.
I always forget that they're in the metropolitan division
despite being west of Pittsburgh.
I always forget that that's the same place Ohio State plays.
I always lose sight of that.
Because, like, I was there in Columbus for a full week
and right down the road is where they play.
And I always lose track of how that's like a major city
with like a college town.
So it's more college town.
But like I always forget Winnipeg.
I'm always.
And you probably forgot them this season too
because they suck so far.
Molly Ephraim,
who are these 113 episodes?
I'm not like being facetious.
I've never heard of the show.
It's kind of like the kind of thing
that you'd expect to see on like TGIF back in the day.
Yeah, that's what it feels like.
But it's like one of those TGIF.
Like that was the other thing too is that like you had those TGIF and must see
TV shows that were on forever, but no one watched like suddenly Susan and shit like that.
That's how wings gets lost.
They were only there because they get the runoff from like the better rated shows like Friends
and Seinfeld.
Do you see the promotional poster for Last Man Standing?
It's Tim Allen and a fucking deer.
And he has a look on his face of like, huh?
What?
And the deer is just like, deer.
This is, I think it's a deer.
Maybe it's an elk.
Oh, man.
That means the actual posters on subways around town are like, yes, deer.
See, I've heard of that show.
All right, hockey time.
We are a couple weeks into the season.
Actually, we're officially two weeks into the season starting today, I believe.
I think it was a two-week mark of the season.
And briefly, your division leaders are the Pittsburgh Penguins, Montreal Canadiens, Minnesota Wild, and Evanton Oilers.
One might say the Eastern Conference is going according to plan.
One might say the Western Conference is bad shit at the moment.
Yeah, I don't even think Minnesota is that good.
Like, I watched Minnesota play in Jersey last week, and I thought they were.
were just very, I don't know, like they were just very vanilla and boring and then again,
you play the devils, you always look that way.
But Edmonton, I am pot committed.
I am all in on Edmonton.
Edmonton's making the playoffs this year.
I have a feeling they might too, only because the Pacific is not good.
Oh, it's dog shit.
Yeah, right.
I mean, you don't know what LA is going to end up looking like by the time Quick gets back
and the ducks are bad.
The ducks are just a bad team.
Arizona's just.
And Arizona is a, I mean.
Luke Shen should not be playing as many, paring his.
him with a chit he should not be doing that like that that you're killing that kid so don't do that
do they do they crash like they've still got another year of crash and burning them I think they have to
yeah and then they'll end up with Lolenpatrick or someone like that right and then but like I I I just
hope that this this season doesn't reflect poorly on the boy genius well it doesn't but I mean people
did seem to think that Arizona was going to be better than this people thought you know oh you know
they drafted someone who's in age already they got goal of gossip and
ski they blah blah all they trade it they're just not good they're just not a good like domi and du clara
haven't done shit this year that's a surprise for me but like i think they'll finish ahead of vancouver
back to edmonton the two things that that i worry about with edmonton is even though the um edmonton's son
today said that uh cam talbot is better than braden holtby in their check mark breakdown
of the oilers capitals game the oilers media group is i don't know anybody watches that team on
that's the problem with ed with them being good now is that those guys
Oh, fire alarm.
Fire alarm.
Uh-huh.
Yes?
Oh, fifth floor.
We're way ahead of that.
Anyways.
So.
Uh-huh.
Okay, currently investigating.
Boy, this is now the spooky Halloween show.
You might hear our fire.
Greg and Dave burned alive while doing a podcast.
That's how hot the oilers are.
They set off the fire alarm on five.
Yes.
I worry about Cam Talbot because I'm not a believer.
even though the ed...
Oh, I was going to say that about the Evanton media.
The fact that the Edmonton media...
Are you serious?
That the Edmonton media has always kind of been in the tank for the team
and now they're going to be like insufferably in the tank.
They're in the tank for the team when like Matt Hendricks runs fucking Erica Branson from behind.
I think that's a great thing.
They weren't in the tank for Taylor Hall and I'm telling you, I've seen three Taylor Hall games live.
The dude is Ovechkin-esque where like when he has the puck,
like every shift he'll do something amazing.
Like he doesn't play like Ovechkin.
but like when he's out there, you know it.
You're like, who made that?
Oh, that was Taylor Hall.
And they ran this dude out of town.
Yeah.
It's on place for 60-something goals this year.
That brings me to my second point about Evanston, and I wonder about this.
There's no question that Taylor Hall was part of a toxic environment.
Not of his making, but he was a part of it because they never won, right?
Right.
So you get him out of there.
You bring in Luchich, who obviously has a different pedigree.
Born winner.
Born winner.
Connor's not been there for all of the bullshit.
Drysiddle's not been there for all the bullshit.
When the worm turns on this team and they start losing.
I don't think it's going to happen.
You think they're going to go like wire to wire?
I think they might be a hundred point team.
I really do.
I feel like I may have underestimated Connor McDavid
and underestimated how much better the defense is.
Not that it's good, but just how much better it is.
Stabilized.
Right.
It's just like Cam Talbot's not going to throw up a 946 this year or whatever.
But in that division with that forward group and a little bit better D,
I just
I'm on Connor McDavid
Hart Trophy winner
He very well could be
You don't believe in Vancouver
Not the same
You're hilarious
San Jose will make the playoffs
For sure
Edmonton's going to make the playoffs
And who's the third team in that division
I guess you think L.A. maintains
until they get quickback
They won three in a row
Without him
They'll just lock it down
And play two one hockey for a long time
They'll be, it's the thing is like they're like Calgary.
Again, there's going to be six teams in the Central that have more points in the third place team in the Pacific.
Edmonton and L.A. and San Jose are my three, my three teams.
Edmonton, L.A., San Jose. I could see that.
Not in that order necessarily, but I could see that.
Because I really firmly believe after having seen them a couple times that the ducks aren't making them playoffs.
Yeah, I've seen them once. They're just, they're disorganized and they're slow.
Gibson played real well. And they're missing their best defensemen.
They are.
Well, yes, they are.
Right.
And they're going to trade Camp Fowler at some point.
Ah, yes, but I'm bum.
Hempus Linnholm is just, it's, again, I don't want to keep going over the same ground,
but there's something wrong with the sports league where no one is giving Hampas Linholm a bunch of money
when the ducks are absolutely screwed.
As far as it being Old Boy Network, nobody gives an offer sheet kind of stuff.
And I understand maybe Linholm doesn't want to go in any these places.
I'm sure maybe there's been like back channel stuff.
But, I mean, what kind of a league is this where, like, he was like 15th or 16th and NARS voting
last year. He's one of the best defensemen in the league. Everyone needs defensemen.
And again, teams have their own cap issues and picks. It just drives me nuts.
You worried about Chicago?
I mean, the Cubs, obviously. They're one of my, I abandoned my prediction of them making a Stanley Cup final.
Oh, yeah. So you wrote a piece about picks you've abandoned and one of them is that...
They're just not that good. Hold on. You picked them to win the Cup? No, to lose to Pittsburgh.
Oh, you picked them for the Cup final. Yeah. Oh, Jesus. I forgot about that.
Like, I get rid of that pick too. I have totally, like, I thought the West, at this point, I feel like
the East is the better conference finally after 11 years and Chicago I thought would take advantage of
being in the but they just don't I mean a lot of it's how unbelievably bad the PK is which is I don't know
how it's this bad but something's off there with the rookies and how they're using Brian Campbell
and at some point like Cory Crawford's even strength say percentage won't be 978 yeah so they're gonna
they're gonna they're gonna correct there once the power play correct so Campbell I figured it was gonna
snugly into the Johnny O'Doia spot yeah which is what they missed last year like I thought I thought
But now all of a sudden it's like
he's playing wing in practice and shit.
Like like Seabra Keith
Chalmersen Campbell is your top four I thought was great
and then Van Riemsdikes hurt
Chicago is not...
There's something funky about him.
There's just, yeah, like it feels like like
I hate to give Ryan Lambert any credit
but he pointed something out that last year
they got as far as they did mostly
because Patrick King was 100
and whatever point player.
And Panarin was playing with him
and they were like watching a Stegosaurus
and a triceratops together
rampaging through the Jurassic Park.
It would be like if diarrhea planet had a Tyrannosaurus Rex the singer for a whole year.
But no, he's right.
But they're not going to be that good again because Patrick Kane's not going to be that good again.
They're not going to have that same magic.
And they're probably going to settle in and just be, you know, instead of diarrhea planet, they'll be more like a neutral.
Neutral.
Milk hotel.
They'll be neutral.
Yeah.
I don't know.
A wild card team.
I can see that.
Take it in the teeth.
Like a puck to Ben Bishop from the St. Louis Blues again, probably in the playoffs.
Like a stick to Jeff Carter's mouth because Duck and Keith was sad that one time.
Hockey players are the toughest players in the world.
All right.
I'm going to go to the Atlantic now.
Do you believe in the Detroit Red Wings?
Was that a pick you revised or no?
No.
I still think they're not going to be very good.
I still think they're not either, but I got to admit that the goal tendings been really, really good so far.
Really, really good.
They had those stretches too last year.
Four and O at home, one and two on the road, plus seven goal differential.
The game they played in New York against the Rangers, they got absolutely housed.
but Jimmy Howard was nuts that night
they can't win those games
I don't know what they're looking at possession-wise
but like they're I just
I may revise but not yet
Do you like a fun bad team like Toronto
or at the end of the day or they just did just a bad
like you don't like want to watch a bad team
No they're so watchable they're like it's like watching
it's like watching a worst version of team North America
where like they're just fast and a bunch of crap happens
and like I'd rather watch like what would you rather watch right now
Toronto or
that team that you like
that plays in NARC.
Oh, you're the devils?
Well, the thing about Toronto being a
fun bad team,
it's actually the perfect
combination for me as someone who never
wants to see the Leafs win.
It's super entertaining to watch and play,
but they never actually win anything.
If we can maintain this for the next
20 years,
like, that'd be the best.
38-year-old Lostin Matthews has got
1,800 points in his career,
and he's yet to taste that.
The playoffs.
Yeah.
Yeah, it would be, you know.
Like, the Maple Leafs are like that movie.
Like, Cobblechuk.
Pre-Devils.
And then he'll go back to Arizona to play at home.
Right.
And win a cup, yeah, exactly.
Like, what's an example of a movie that you know isn't good?
Yeah.
But it's fun.
You'll always watch it when it's on.
Oh, fuck.
There's so many of them.
Like a movie where, like, here, I'll give you one that I was thinking about recently.
Rocky Horror is a terrible movie, but I watch it for the songs because the songs are fun.
and the musical pieces are fun.
But the movies,
like they tried to remake that movie
for Fox,
but they forgot one basic thing,
which is everybody shows
about midnight drunk
and throw shit at the screen
because it's a giant boring movie
outside of the songs in Tim Curry.
Susan Sarandon walking around the bra.
It's pretty vintage.
Ranger fans.
Come on the show.
We'll talk about your bra in 1972.
That's exactly what you want, right?
This is exactly my Margaravi didn't come on.
Fucking lech.
Just bring you right here and be like,
So tell me something.
Why is Bernie Sanders such a bad candidate?
And what's up with your bra in 1973?
Hey, where you going?
Susan?
Susan, come back.
It's a really good podcast.
So tell us a bit about Bernie's trade policy.
And also did Barry Blaswick able to keep it down with those boobies around?
And also it was Bulldorm really that good of a movie, Susan.
I mean, come on.
It was kind of long.
It was probably like 40 minutes.
It was like a Judd-Avitton movie.
It was okay, but it was like 35 minutes too long.
What's your movie?
that's shitty but you watch it
because you're entertained by it.
Oh wait, actually, the real answer,
to be honest with you.
Can't be porn.
Swordfish.
Oh, yeah, right.
That's like a real face-off.
Face off's a good movie.
I'll fight back on you.
I'll fight back on you on that one.
Swordfish is like a shitty version of face-off.
Face-off is like that-knit escape,
that prison escape where he's like,
I'm sorry, I didn't have sex with your wife.
Then like a guy who's had his brain melted for an hour
and suddenly kill everybody.
And then Tommy Lee Jones goes,
I don't care.
Oh wait, that was a different movie.
Face Off.
Next time you watch Face Off,
watch the prison break scene, right?
And then it gets to the end,
and he's in the middle of the fucking ocean
on like a freighter or whatever.
And there's helicopters,
there's people with guns,
and Nicholas Cage jumps into the goddamn ocean
and they just cut to the next scene.
How does he get away?
There's helicopter.
He's in the middle of the ocean.
He can't hold his breath for two hours.
There's a very good swimmer.
It's a bad movie, but it's fun.
Very good swimmer.
Yeah, but there's a scene in Swordfish
where Hugh Jackman is hacking into the NSA with a gun to his head while being blown.
That's 15 minutes into the movie.
Oh, yeah, I forgot about that scene.
But to be fair, though, like whenever you apply for a job in the computer world,
that is how they test you.
I mean, that's kind of basic stuff.
Name, social security number, gun to the head blow job on the job testing.
That's just how it works in that industry.
That's right.
You have to get, yeah.
Well, people know that.
That's why people go into IT.
That's right.
I mean, it's that and, you know, some quality vacation, some pennies, and gun to the head blow job hacking.
Right.
Like, why do you think whenever you call IT and you're like, hey, my computer's messed up?
They don't get there for like 20 minutes and they tell you to just try and restart your computer because what do you think they're doing down there?
Nobody knows this sort of stuff.
This is the kind of things people don't know.
That's why we have this podcast.
It would have been much more badass if Hugh Jack and walk into that room and looked at Travolta with that bad hairpiece and was like, look, I really want to hack into the NSA supercomputer for you.
but here my here's what I need
I need that guy's gun
hold on hold on here we go again
uh huh
this is a fire alarm
fire director speaking
uh huh
it's a false alarm
everybody
we won't burn alive today
we won't burn alive today
in an ironic Halloween episode
Twiz.
I know.
Well, actually,
this room is pretty
looks like it's pretty
fireproof.
I think it'd be like
in Night of the Comet
where the girls
were in like the lead-based room
and then...
Night of the Comet.
The whole world turned into dust
or zombies and they were fine
because they were inside of the room.
That movie freaked me out as a kid.
Oh,
the zombies in that movie
were really scary.
No, but like,
oh, no.
There were zombies?
I thought like the world was just
dissolved.
Everyone turned to sand, right?
But they were also like
these radiation zombies.
You're talking about the two girls,
right?
Like the two Valley girls?
No.
The one I remember was like there was like a high school party at a house and like the fact that they were in a room with like the air conditioner in the wall.
So like none of it got into the room.
Oh, this is a different flick then.
I think I'm thinking of a different movie.
Yeah, the night of the comet was two valley girls and like most of the world had turned to like dust.
But then they were like, the military was like radiation zombies.
But they were valley girls and it was really funny.
Were the valley girls zombies?
We're like, oh my God.
I got to like eat your brains.
Oh, gross.
Oh my God.
His hair was all greasy.
Got to go to the mall.
Yeah, so Toronto can stay fun and bad for as long as they want.
Yep.
And then over in the metro, Flyers have been middling, to my surprise.
Also surprised to see Elliot Friedman float the idea that the kings were sniffing around Steve Mason.
I figured the Flyers were pretty happy with their goaltending duo going forward.
And Neuvert's better.
You can get something for Steve Mason.
Who's their backup?
They got stole ours.
Where are we at that team?
And I guess let's talk about real quick the fact that the analytics community.
God bless them.
Set the bar so low for both Shea Weber and the New York Rangers that the fact that both are just doing what they normally do is seen as a surprise.
Oh, the Rangers are way better than.
You think the Rangers, I think the Rangers are just at what they did.
They look faster, yeah, but I mean, the results are whatever.
They're crushing teams at five on five.
They never do that.
Like last year when they were whatever, 17, 4 and 2.
You're saying they're a much better possession team.
They're much better.
It's weird because, like, there's no way a team that uses Nick Holden and Adam Klandening as
Alphen as that, but then again, Dan Girardi missed half the games.
He missed half the games.
So let's see how we do now where Dan Girardi's.
He's only played in three of the six games.
But like they're just so, they're so fast.
I feel like at some point it's going to even out.
And I feel like there's still a 95-ish point team, like a third place.
I thought they were a playoff team too.
And you did too.
Yeah.
But a lot of people didn't.
But like, I don't think they're going to be like 110 point.
Like, I mean, I don't know.
It's weird how good.
they are at five on five.
Like, they played Arizona the other day, and Arizona was rested, motivated.
Rangers had just played in D.C. the night before.
Yeah.
And, like, the game was...
They beat the shit out of Detroit.
And, like you said, Howard, save a day.
Hummeled Detroit.
And the Arizona game, it wasn't like that the Rangers were lost side.
But, like, when you play the second half of a back-to-back, you usually look pretty worn out
by the third period, and they weren't.
They got a goal early.
I still worry about that blue line, though.
Why aren't there any good defensemen?
It seems like every team we talk about, we're like, oh, they've got, like, three good
defense and then that's it. Why aren't they're more better defensemen? Why aren't we growing
defensemen? Why can't America make defensemen anymore? Let me tell you, okay? Okay? When I'm
president, everyone's going to be a really good defenseman. Okay? They're going to defend the wall.
They're going to defend our borders. They're going to defend our boys overseas. Let me tell you.
You know who makes defensemen now? Jaina. Jina makes defensemen. Not under Trump.
not under Trump
did you see his Hollywood
Walk of Fame star
I got the sledge hammered
he has a Hollywood Walk of Fame star
Of course he was on the apprentice
Yeah but I mean
This fucking
Man has a Hollywood Walk of Fame
The black guy's famous
Does Jeff Probes have one
Anyone that's ever hosted
A reality show gets one
Does Todd Chrissley have one yet
Todd Christie has one
Patimalochmi has one
No yeah
His Hollywood Walkie Famst
Star was broken
I don't know
You know what they found inside of it
His tact returns
Who knew
But I'm bumch
Thank you very much
Election Day
two weeks, folks.
There it is.
Get out and vote.
Get out and their vote.
Well, let me ask you this.
Are you surprised at Carolina's as bad as they are?
I am.
I thought Carolina, I thought Cam Ward would suck,
but I didn't think they would be at the point where they're, you know,
giving up four goals a game.
I think they played a little bit above their heads last year,
but I also think this is a start that may indicate they read their own press clippings
before the season.
Who's the worst team in the league right now who you had the highest expectations for?
Who's the team that's letting you down?
Well, I mean, with the caveat that it's injury.
based, it's Buffalo.
Yeah.
But like, you know, you lose Eichol and you lost, who else did they lose?
Recently.
Ristellian?
He's there.
No, he's there.
There was some other guy I lost, too.
Maybe I was O'Reilly or something like that for like a second.
They were down three key guys.
Yeah.
Ocpozo?
They're the team that you were hoping was going to make.
They're kind of the team that you were hoping was going to make the leap.
Yeah.
Team I can't figure out is Ottawa because they're not good and they give up way too much,
too much on D
but at the same time
they've got it
this is why I wanted to pick this guy in the fantasy
draft but I didn't get him
Craig Anderson is going to face
a metric ton of...
There's going to be like Costco containers
of shots this guy's going to face this year
shot shot shot shot shot
and he's going to have these games
where he'll give up like you know
four goals on 16 shots
and then it's the other guy coming in
and they're going to be nights when he makes
51 saves and they win the game
two to one.
Like, that's just how it's going to be for him.
It's like taking a quarterback on a team that's always losing in the fantasy football league.
He's kind of Matt Stafford a little bit in the sense that he has games where he blows up and plays extraordinarily well.
And he has games where he, like Matt Stafford this past weekend, did nothing.
Yeah, I thought he was going to light up the Redskins the past weekend.
Oh, are we doing this again?
For God's six, another fire thing?
Today's, today's guess is the fire safety inspector.
Uh-huh.
Oh, they shut down the elevators in four.
That's important information.
I was not walking down the stairs.
I don't even know where the stairs are in this place.
I probably should know that with all the fires that seem to be happening on five.
This is a common thing at the NHL.
We used to have like a once a week thing where, but can I have your attention, please?
Can I have your attention, please?
And the building was never on fire, but we always had to walk down 16 flights of stairs.
Just one time.
Why can't the building be on fire?
That's all I'm saying.
Can I have your attention, please?
Can I have your attention, please?
This is not the commissioner, but with the three members of the NHL.
staff who make the most come to the commissioner's office for Richette.
We're just going to maybe reallocate some of the assets and put out a fire of a different
kind.
By the way, you see the people that have gotten fired so far this season from jobs in the
NHL?
Try me nuts.
What do you mean?
Like actually the NHL NHL?
Like people of our ilk.
Oh, oh, like writers, yeah.
Like Carpey got likeo yesterday.
Yeah.
Rich Carp.
Carponello, yeah.
He got let go.
Eric Marin from the devil's got let go
and Jim Sarnie before the season or the Rangers.
And it's just, I don't get how the layoffs happen
either a week into the season
or a week before the season.
Like, you know your staff.
Like, give people time to get another job.
And like, I would understand if like bad people
got laid off like me.
You would be like, oh, fuck that guy.
That guy never asked any good questions in the scrums.
But like, Carpey's been doing it forever.
Eric was really good at what he.
Sorni was fantastic.
Like, there are certain people when you do this job
who they take,
go over a scrum and maybe they ask three questions in a row
and there's like one guy who does it
who's just the fucking worst. Yeah. I think you probably
know who I'm talking about. But like Sernie
you just be like Serni just go ahead. He's like
oh you know on that second goal on did you want
like you just like yep that's the question I want and like these
people all get laid off and now you
you're basically doomed to be unemployed for the whole season
because your job is hockey. It's interesting that you bring
that up because like
I have a very
I'm very passionate about this sport
and this league
and I want it to do well
and one of the reasons I wanted it to do well is very selfish.
You want to make money.
I want to make money.
Sure.
But it's not just me.
Like, I want my staff to be employed.
I want you to be employed.
I want all the people that I've interacted with over the last several years to continue to have a chance to work inside of hockey.
And also, for there to be more opportunity.
So I do come at it from a selfish place sometimes.
And I'm like, hey, NHL, maybe don't do this because it's a bad idea and it's going to push fans away.
Maybe do this.
Like when I say that, it's because I want hockey to grow.
I want to be better.
And it's always funny to me when there's pushback from the NHL about shit like that,
like the John Scott thing last year.
Or like just having a cap geek thing that's part of the NHL.
Like that would be better for the NHL and make more money.
You could hire more people.
And I just,
they're just so myopic and they're so conservative and they're so scared about,
about,
I don't know what the hell they're scared about half the time.
But when I get passionate about this shit,
it's because I want hockey.
I know that there is an opportunity for hockey to be really big.
And especially now that we've got this giant title wave of a young player is kind of crashing over us right now.
They're crashing over into another country that we're never going to be.
Well, right, that's fair enough.
And then when we have the one good guy in Nashville, he's already had his NBC game.
So he better make the playoffs spreads.
But you know what I mean?
So that's my hope.
That's my hope is that.
That's why I push for it because I don't want good people to lose their jobs because of hockey.
Or good people to not cover hockey.
anymore because someone else of the chain got laid off and now they're the
third NFL writer. Yeah. But like it
figure it out in June. Figure it out in July. Like give people time to get
on their feet. Like if you do it because like right now everyone else who has a
team or a website or whatever they're pretty much all set. Like who was it from
Tampa that got laid off the guy covers the lightning. Eric Erlinson. Right. Like he got
laid off towards the end of the season which is an ideal. But that was because of the
merger. The merger from the tape. Yeah. Right. But like still
that's the time you want it to happen
I'll never forget this
I worked for the NHL a long time ago
I was in Europe
I was in Germany with the San Jose
Sharks and I was like filing some story
about Tomas Grice
Yeah I'm very erie
And I type up the story
I drop in an email email it to my boss
It bounces back and I'm like
Oh fuck did I type in his email around
I go back I type in it again
Bounces back again
So I have to call from friggin Germany
I'm like hey I'm trying to email you guys
Oh he doesn't work here anymore
He just gets security
Just took him out like 10 minutes
ago. And this is like, I'm at a pre-season
game. Wow. Where, for the NHL
and, like, when you get laid off
then, like, I'm just saying, like, you know, if you're going to
lay me off, let me know in June. Did you, uh, pitch your
Gristory to Der Spiegel instead?
Vener,
Viener, Viener,
Goaltender, Vener Mac.
So, de Floss, this is a wonderful
story that Thomas Christ
of the German League.
I'meignoctender.com.
Yeah, Ra, I'meingeongoldender.
I say I'm behind Antine Emi and Anteiro Niedemaki out here.
He was so sad.
He was so sad.
They played a game in Germany against Mannheim.
He didn't get to play.
He was so sad.
Manheim steamroller, the Christmas.
Where, where, where, where, where, where, where, where.
I watched a commercial later day on TV.
I had the sound down.
I saw what looked like the most incredible heavy metal concert that I've ever seen.
And then it wound up being a Manhattan Steamroller.
concert for like Newark
like coming to Newark
and it looked like it looked like
fucking kiss
like it had like fire pots and shit going on in the background
it would be Manheim Steamroller
they're the bands that like set themselves on fire
the guys that set themselves on fire on stage right like those crazy
dudes are the Christmas band
or is that the Trans Siberian
Orchestra one of the two
Trans Siberian orchestras
Oh what's Manheim Steamroller
I think Manheim
Cameron Manheim Steamwell
we made that joke last year
I'll just keep making it
All right
Speaking of holidays
It's Halloween
This is of course
The Puck Soup Halloween Sputacular
Halloween's been an interesting thing
In the NHL Dave
For a couple years
It was around 2012
When
At the height of social media
Ignorance
Instagram had arrived
Twitter was thriving
Instagram
And NHL players decided it would be a smart idea to start Instagramming their costumes.
Now, you might remember in 2009 the first warning sign to NHL players to not wear blackface on Halloween.
That was when Adam Burrish and Patrick Kane attended a Halloween party as Dennis Rodman and Scotty Pippen.
And Patrick Sharp was Phil Jackson.
And it didn't go over very well.
then you had Rafi Torres who was a member of the then Phoenix Coyotes who went to a
Halloween swore as a JZ in Blackface and that didn't go over very well either and then in 2012
I think we hit our tipping point where Tyler Bozac of the Toronto Maple Leafs went to a
Halloween party dressed as Michael Jackson in Blackface which was weird because you didn't even
have to do it for that costume at the time didn't need it yeah
And then Bozak said that's a tribute to one of my favorite artists for anyone saying it's racist is crazy.
And that, of course, didn't go over very well either.
So, yeah, that kind of changed things, I think, for the NHL players and costuming.
I think here in 2016, we've gotten away from anything that's sort of interesting into Austin Matthews dressing as Ken Bone, the OSHA's dressing in cute, matching outfits.
What are the OSHAs do?
I saw Ken Bowen.
The Incredibles maybe or something.
I don't know.
But I think we're now at a point where all these guys know that...
It's going to be out there.
Yeah, I saw a fun one.
I forget who it was.
I want to say it was the Penguins where the players and their girlfriends and wives
dressed like Mario Kart people and they were on like scooters.
That's really cute.
But again, we're never seeing anything interesting ever again because of these idiots that
happened in the last seven years.
That said...
That's an insult to a friend of the show.
Sidney Asiason and Matt Martin who pulled off that you saw what they did right what did they do
oh you're you're you're doing a bit no oh I forget I saw some reference she she did Harley Quinn and
he was the Joker he was the Joker right and like it was it was like she really like she's she's
blonde and she's very pretty so she basically looks like Margot Robbie and it's it's insane
and like Matt Martin I got to admit really good job too really pulled off that tough
Jared Letto costume by having damage written backwards on your forehead no like he's got
the teeth, he's got the makeup, he's got, like, I'm telling you, I'm pretty sure she probably
did most of the work on that, but like, it was, it was, it was, it was best costume I've seen
so far. I, I figure Matt Martin's a bit of a blank palette.
Wow. Now, here's the thing. The great thing about Halloween, of course, is trick-or-treating,
and the great thing about trick-or-treating is that everybody around your neighborhood has
different costumes. So we thought about costumes, and we thought about the National
Hockey League, and we thought to ourselves, there are certain things that
costumes tell you about the people that wear them.
For example, P.K. Suvan.
America's sweetheart, now that Canada forsook him.
The star of Nashville.
He's the kind of kid who designs his own Optimus Prime costume that lights up and shoots flames
and actually transforms into a drivable truck when he can towards his body.
He's a bit of a tryhard.
You know what I'm saying, Lozo?
I hear what you're saying. I get it. I'm with you.
I'm with you. A bit of a tryhard.
See, like, I went a different way with the gag because, like, yours required.
a lot of thinking. You did, didn't it? And I'm so
not into that. Like, thinking is hard.
So, like, I kind of, I kind of,
it's probably like more on the nose. Like, yours are good.
Yours are way more thoughtful. So, like, mine,
I didn't go with the player off the bat.
Oh, you did. Stefan Kintel.
Stefan Kintel of the Department of Player's Safety.
The head of the Department of Player's Safety.
I had him dress up as the, uh, the captain
of the police in Hot Fuzz because neither guy ever
sees a crime happen.
And they let everyone get away with everything.
See, we're almost on the same page more than you think.
John Tavares of the New York Islanders is that kid who wears the refrigerator box as a costume.
And when you ask him what it is, he tells you, I'm a boat.
In sort of that indignant, exhausted way that says, don't you know, I'm a boat?
Okay, so Drew Dowdy.
Yes, Drew Dowdy of the Los Angeles Kings.
Los Angeles Kings' Enfencemen.
Donuts is his nickname, yeah.
Is it donuts?
It still is, I believe.
He used to be a fat kid.
He didn't like him.
He's a thick man.
So I was thinking, less is a one-off costume.
He's that guy that wears the same costume every year
and never ever wins the costume contest
and then one year everyone felt bad for him because he's been wearing the same costume forever
and they gave him the best costume of the year award
What that costume is can be anything you want it to be
A vampire Superman
Congratulations to Drew Dowdy
Zombie Mechanic again
He's way better than Eric Carlson
who was dressed up as Thor in the authentic costume
He actually had Mulhinder the hands
hammer like shipped in from Valhalla.
It's a hammer literally with like a fingerprint thing that doesn't let anybody else pick it up.
But that wasn't enough.
Apparently that wasn't good enough for people.
Except provision.
Brad Marshand is that guy in your neighborhood who dressed like the puppet from Saw and just kind of like silently rides around on a tricycle staring uncomfortably at people the whole night.
Doesn't actually go for candy or anything.
Just kind of wants to freak you out a little bit.
Just just like you're like, wow, he's been there the whole time.
Yeah.
Why is he smiling at me?
Why is he on a tricycle?
Wow, his eyes just move like that side to side.
That's so weird.
Why is Saw misspelled in that tattoo on his hip?
No regrets.
All right, everyone remembers the great movie starring Linao DiCaprio called Catch Me If You Can.
Oh, absolutely.
I thought you were going to say blood diamonds.
Yeah, but yeah.
Blood diamonds.
Pretty good too, yeah.
That movie sucked.
Jennifer Connolly forever.
In that movie, he played the legendary criminal Frank Abagnale who was known for forging checks,
stealing checks and doing that sort of thing.
And stealing hearts from Pan Am stewardesses as well.
So it only made sense that Brian Callahan would dress up as a guy who's been stealing paychecks for years and years and years and years and getting away with it Scott Free without any sort of repercussions.
Thank you.
That's very good.
Thank you very much.
Jerome McGinla is that kid that dresses up at Halloween like a Navi from Avatar, a relic of the recent past that hasn't come around to nostalgic relevance again.
I hope we're other people are laughing at this
As for usual with our bits
It really doesn't matter
Just dead silence on the other end of the microphone
So we don't do it in front of a live studio audience
Is this bit over yet?
We did a fucking
35 minute Mike and the Mad Dog bit
To preview the season
This is like a
This is like the being in the
Like drowning and then getting a gasp of air
before descending back to the depths again.
All right, this one's a little bit of a thinker.
This is a brother's sister costume situation
where Phil Kessel and Amanda Kessel
one year after the other
dress up as Ghostbusters.
And everyone loved Phil Kessel's costume.
Everyone thought it was great.
It was the original.
It was so much better.
And even though Amanda Kessel's costume
is new and updated and better
and has a lot more going on with it,
people say it's a bad costume
but they don't want to see
and everyone just thinks that it's ruining Phil Kessel's costume.
That makes you think.
A lot of social political commentary here on Foxwood.
Ken Hitchcock is that weird guy in your neighborhood
who dresses like Captain Kangaroo every year,
and he won't fill your bag unless he can tell you a story
about the siege of Vicksburg.
And then you find out all he's given you is a salt lick in a jar of leeches.
You know, he dresses up like Captain Kangaroo.
He's not, he just puts on a hooded sweatshirt and he's like, hey, kids.
And they're like, who are you?
He's like, I'm Captain Kangaroo.
We're like, we have absolutely no idea.
The serial guy?
He's like, no, I was a, he was a Civil War veteran.
Captain Kangaroo, he fought for the north.
Oh, boy.
Yeah.
All right, Chris Neal.
Oh, Jesus.
Ottawa Senators.
Yeah.
Dresses up as James Bond.
Oh, yeah.
Because it's really amazing that both actually still exist in the world today in
2016.
One's 007 because it's his name and the other is 007 because that's how many points he gets every year.
Corey Schneider of the New Jersey Devils is that kid that dresses like Scott Farkas from a Christmas story.
Because the options for Ginger's are limited to Scott Farkas, Ron Weasley, or Ariel, the Little Moved.
Oh, God.
Did you like have to decide which red-headed player you were going to go with on that one?
It was either him or Cody Eakin.
Oh, yeah, Cody Eakin.
Who is the other one I'm missing?
always think of the Siddines.
They're not like pure red,
but they're gingery.
They're gingery.
They got a little ginger thing going on.
Henrik Sedeen, pure red,
the new Christian rock album from Sweden.
It's actually like an axe body spray.
Pure red.
Sh!
If Hedric Siddine uses his body spray,
does Daniel smell good?
Let's get weird.
The Siddines.
Because that time, Tyler Sagan,
said they were,
Jamie Ben.
All right, my last one of us, too.
All right, my last one of us, too.
It's not the best one.
I probably should have saved one of the other ones.
This one's not the best one.
But Yarmir Yager.
Oh, I'm glad we got a Yager in there.
Is the evil queen from Snow White because he doesn't age and he, I believe,
sleeps with a lot of people because that's what the queen does in Snow White, right?
Doesn't she sleep with, like, kings and stuff to get their power?
Oh, I mean like, Melifficent?
Or do you mean the Queen from Snow White?
I was thinking like the Queen, like the Charlize Theron.
Doesn't she get her youth from like, like, like, the sex?
Oh, you mean from like Snow White and the Huntsman?
That's the only snow that I care about.
Yeah. Oh yeah, because who cares about the Oscar, you know, nominated cartoon from the back in the day.
It was a good movie. That's actually pretty, first one was actually pretty good. But like, isn't that, I may have gotten the plot wrong. I thought Charlie's Theron would like show up in town. There'd be like a single king and she'd be like, hey, you want to get married and then like they'd have sex on their marriage night. And then like she'd like suck the life. Is that like not that movie? Is that a different movie? I like enough. I like the part where Yomri Yager stands before the mirror. Mirror and he says, hey, where can I go with no taxes to pay?
my queen
you want to go to sunrise
or Texas
mirror mirror on the wall
18 year old models
I want them all are the best of all
blackmail me
I don't think so
sorry I got to
sorry I'm gonna pay you ho
Mike Smith is the kid
who
of course of the Arizona Coyotes
Mike Smith is that kid who dresses like Captain Jack Sparrow.
A guy who was hugely popular and charming for a while.
Oversayed is welcome and now has to go.
No, seriously, please go.
We're begging you, please go.
Stop stealing our money.
Go.
And finally, get the hell out of here.
Of course, what neighborhood isn't complete with Pierre McGuire is that of NBC Sports is,
he's that dad who sits at the end of his driveway and incessantly comments on the history and context of
every costume he sees.
That's Finn McMissle from the Pixar movie Cars too, Edso.
Not to be confused with Doc Hudson from the original cars,
who was played by the Lake Ray Paul Newman,
who you might remember from Cool Hand Luke
in Florida Apache the Bronx.
Edso.
Doc and Eddie.
And scene.
That was fun.
Yeah, Halloween excitement.
Can't wait to see who gets mad about what?
Oh, everybody's going to be mad about everything.
Dave, there was an outdoor game that was held
since the last puck soup and nobody cared about it.
Oh, right.
I forgot about that.
Dude, literally on whatever day it was Saturday or Sunday,
there were people all of a sudden in my timeline,
it was like,
Tameu Salaunni has four points.
Will he get more?
And I'm like, what?
Are these all like delayed tweets that people had scheduled?
It's like,
what is this?
Like an RSS feed that stopped like seven years ago
and all of a sudden spit out all these stories.
And then like it dawned on me.
I was like, wait, Nick Katsunika,
Arpon Basu.
All these people are out of it.
Oh my, no.
tweeting how much the 50-50 is again.
Oh, no.
There's an outdoor game in Canada.
No!
Who won again?
Edmonton won.
Yeah, Adminton won. Yeah, Adores.
At this point, like, I feel like there's actually...
It's kind of like going to a W.W.E.
Paperview.
There's more juice for the nostalgia matches than there are for the actual main event.
Like, I feel like more people cared about Gretzky and Messier and Solani
playing in that game on whatever day it was versus the actual
outdoor game the next day.
It wasn't on TV down here, was it?
Was it NBC? NBC Sports?
This game? No, I don't think so.
I think it was. No, no, it was on NHL network, actually.
It was the first time it wasn't on NBC Sports.
So they had an outdoor game starring the new superstar of the league, Connor
McDavid, who I believe set up one of the goals on a really nice play.
They could have had them, introduced him to society down here, and instead they chose to
what was it going on that day? That was a Saturday, Sunday, Sunday game?
They probably had some stupid ass flyers game.
It was the first, no, they didn't have anything on it.
It was the first outdoor game that was only on an HL network and had both a Canadian play-by-play and color commentator,
and they just borrowed the booth from Canada too.
They didn't commit a single resource to that game.
I'm not going to go down this NBC hole again, but like, two things.
First of all, it is fucking bonkers that they don't have Connor McDavid or Austin Matthews on.
You're doing the Trump at all.
I'm making an okay symbol with my hand.
It is maddening.
It is doing your audience a disservice.
And they're going to find them.
They're going to find those games.
Even if the teams are terrible, they're going to find those games.
Second of all, listen.
Preach.
We've talked about Jeremy Roanick on this show before.
We've talked about Mike Mellivray on the show before.
But I said it last night, and I'll reiterate it here,
that San Jose Sharks beat the Anaheim Ducks in overtime last night.
Mark Edward Vlasic scored.
the best goal he'll ever score
where he did an end-to-end rush
and outraced other players
and did a Bobby Orr flop in front of the goal.
Wait, can I guess who was on the ice for the ducks?
And scored the goal and won the game.
Biazza.
And you had an entire game of drama
and Getslaaf got hurt
and Gibson played well but not well enough to...
It was a really fun game.
And then what happened?
They cut back to the studio.
and Catherine Tappen, God bless her,
turns to Jeremy Roneck,
a paid analyst,
a man whose job it is
to lend you insight
about what you just saw.
And the thing, she's like,
JR, what did you come away with
from that game that we just saw,
that intense overtime game that we just saw?
You know, this amazing game we just saw?
Well, I think we came away
knowing that the San Jose Sharks
really don't like,
the ducks. There's a lot of
animosity there and I imagine
that that animosity is going to continue
in the rest of their meetings this season.
I'm paraphrasing
but that's fucking it.
Think about
that for a second. Was it a particularly
violent contest? It wasn't
necessarily but
they're rivals.
We know this.
Yes. And the idea that
your insight into this game
was they don't
don't like each other.
That's what you've, you had an entire period and a brief overtime to formulate a thought
about the game that you could say on the air and say, here, people that are actually
watching this network, here is the insight I will bestow upon you that is generated from
my years as a professional athlete, followed by years inexplicably as an analyst on this
network and your insight in that moment with that time to prepare is boy these two California
teams just don't like each other so you're like this is the part where I would come on the
microphone and add something but yeah he's he's he's not good at what he does he's he's like that's
kind of thing you can do or say when you really aren't paying attention to the game you don't
really have anything interesting to add you just be like they're rivals they're rival's they're
All right. Thanks a lot, Jerry. J.R.
Yeah.
Tune in tomorrow when the Kings and Sharks will play. Oh, they're rivals too.
They don't like each other.
Why is... This happens more on NBC than it happens than any other network where it seems like they come back from a break or they come back from an intermission.
And like the first question asked, it almost seems like they didn't anticipate it.
And then it becomes like answering a really bad quiz question or an oral exam.
Like who asked, what do you mean, who asked the question?
It doesn't matter. Like, they'll ask Milbury.
Like, they'll come back from intermission.
And it'll be like a rip-roaring period of hockey.
They come back to Milbury and they'll be like,
Mike, what do you think the key of the period was?
They wanted it more, I guess, or something.
Like, they had no idea the cameras we're going to start rolling.
Yeah, like, it's a surprise.
Like, you thought he was just sitting there just shooting a shit,
having a fucking beer and watching the game.
Like, it would be actually better if they just had that thought process of like,
well, let's just talk around like we're having a beer.
But like, if you say stupid stuff, get him drunk.
Maybe that's the key.
Well, that's the key.
We talked about that with Pito last week,
the idea that they should make it more casual.
But yeah, that just struck me as like,
I'm not trying to shit all over Ronick
and I've come to
to, I talked to somebody
during the Stanley Cup final about Roanick
and I came to this place about him.
It's not that he sucks at his job,
it's that he sucks at that job.
And there's a way to use him
that's better than that job.
That's his job, though.
But he shouldn't be in that role.
He shouldn't be an analyst.
He shouldn't be anything.
He should be chatting up with people.
He should be sitting around a table
with a bunch of ex-jocks like Brett Holland,
whoever, and just talking and talking about shit.
So you like the thing when like at the Winter Classic
he's interviewing like some crazy fan
in the fan.
medium between J.R. professional goofball and J.R. Analyst, and it's J.R. X. Jock, talking with
other X jocks and not trying to analyze anything. I'm okay with that. That's what, that's the
sweet spot we're trying to get to. I don't want any of that. I want none of that. Right. Before we get
to a special Halloween segment on Puck Soup, let's do some listener mail. Oh yeah, what do you got for me? What do you
got on the old mail bag? The old sack of mail. Kelly Schroeder wants to know if you go to a game where
you aren't cheering for either team,
do you wear something from the team you do support?
This could be applicable to any sport, I guess.
So in other words, if I'm going to a Washington, like,
Rangers game, do you're wearing a Devils jersey?
I don't think you should.
I don't think you should, but I think the answer is I probably do.
Like, do what you want, but like...
Do you be the Flyers guy at the Devils Rangers game?
I feel like you're just looking to be a dick.
You are.
Like, if you, like, if I were to go to, like, a Dallas.
Eagles game in a
Eli Manning jersey
If somebody threw a beer at me
I'd be like yeah
I probably yeah
But at the same token
The Giants Rams game in England was awesome
Because like it was a bunch of Brits
We're like I got a chance to wear me
My Case Keenham jersey
And someone's like I'm wearing me Brock Osweiler jersey
You know they're not even playing
I bought over the Tottenham Sports Authority
It's quite dashing
And that's cool
Because it's like a bunch of British people
Who don't get to watch football
I guess they get to watch another game this week
But like
That's a will say, not Eli Manning.
I got to wear me Drew Breeze.
Saints ain't playing, but I want to support my squad.
But over at the NFL store on Pitching Quiggum.
Chershire.
I think that's cool.
What is that over there?
Ryan Fitzpatrick Jones.
Are you having a laugh?
Are you having a laugh with that?
Got my name is Brock Osweil anyway.
Is that a quarterback?
No, I think the actual answer, I mean, I'm wearing the jersey just to be a dick, but the actual answer, like, now that I am the proud owner of a team North America, Connor David jersey, like, I think the real answer is if you're going to a Devil's Rangers game and you're a Flyers fan, don't be a dick and wear the Flyers jersey, wear an international hockey jersey instead.
Team USA, TNA, Latvia, if you have one.
But like, I don't-
Assuming you played for Latvia, probably.
But you can't wear the jersey and then act surprise when like every time.
time you get up to go to the bathroom.
People tell you to go after yourself and kill yourself.
What's up with these fans? Why are these fans all over me?
I'm just trying to watch the game, bro.
In my devil's jersey that says flyers suck 69 on the back.
What? Why can't I wear that to a Ranger flyer game?
These Pittsburgh fans are frigging terrible.
Where are my Flyers jersey in this Pittsburgh Blue Jackets game?
It says Sidney Swallows.
And that happened to be my, my,
aunt. She was a porn star. I don't get it.
I got me Sam Bradford, Josio, but the
Leicester City Sports Authority.
Smashing.
So Joe Jackson
wants to know at work, I said I had a cleaning lady
and my co-workers all scoffed as it was
as if it was some elite privilege.
I think it's no different than a lawn service or a cell phone bill.
Am I out of touch? No, Joe, you're completely on point.
Having a cleaning lady is not by any
means you being elite.
No. I think normal people have cleaning ladies like
me. And
And so it is.
Do you have a new one?
Yes.
Any, any stories?
No, no.
Everything is fine.
Everything's great.
Although the other day, we tried to make some groundies and we noticed that we
were out of vanilla extract and I was wondering that maybe.
It had been.
These maids come over and you start chugging the vanilla extract when you're not around.
Every time.
You know, you just can't.
It's just, it's an addiction.
You got to get her help.
Seema wants to know.
Pick Steve Eisenman's single greatest accomplishment in the last year.
Your options include
Jonathan Drewann,
Stephen Stamcoast,
Victor Headman,
or Nikita Kuthorov.
Drewan.
Yeah,
Stamcoz, I don't think,
is Iserman.
I think Stamcoast.
Stamcoast is more about
the opportunities available to him.
Headman is just smart.
I would rank
Headman second as far as
like accomplishments go.
And like Kuthorov's
just because the NHL is a mafia
and you can do that
to your best player,
one of your best players
and not pay him.
Staring down the barrel
of Drew Ann
and the holdout
and holding tight.
And not only that,
But, like, you know, the greatest accomplishments in life are the ones that other people ape.
And you can see the, you can see the Drewann fingerprints all over the Jacob Truba situation.
I know. Poor Jacob Trubas is like, why couldn't you trade him?
Yeah. I don't want to get out of here.
Ryan wants to know what's the best half of a bagel.
Now, this is interesting because the bagels that we had this weekend had all the stuff on the bottom and not a lot on the top.
So the question that becomes, do you want the stuff or do you want the poof?
Oh, my bagels have stuff all over them.
I never have a half of a seeded bagel.
If I have like an everything bagel, it's everything all over the rabbit.
Yeah, in theory it is.
But I mean, if the choice is the part that doesn't have what I asked for on it or the part that has, I'm going to go part that has every time.
That's weird.
I've never seen a bagel like that before.
Zoe Weinstein wants to know, how do you keep up the motivation to do something that isn't a job, used to be a fun project and now has deadlines?
Wait, is this about this podcast?
This is about this podcast.
Zoe.
Speaking of which, seek geek, no.
coming coming next week um you know it's that's life man it's life but i think here i'll tell you i'll tell you a trick
that i used scotch yeah scotch next question um but not only scotch but i wrote my first book with
scotch and jazz music i listen to jazz i think you find music can be a real motivator if you can find
the right one and i actually use different my entire day is like a soundtrack like if i'm writing
i can't have words i just have instrumentals so i'll listen to like explosions
in the sky or like stuff like that.
If I'm editing, I need words.
I need like something that's really like gonna get my ass in gear.
Wow.
What?
You don't listen to music at all when you write?
I mean, I never like put that much thought into it.
When you're right, you just, you have the sounds of women screaming.
Well, like murder or porn?
Like from the mansend of murders.
It's just in the background, just shrieking.
I don't know why I would have that.
That's a weird joke.
No, I would say.
I don't really have
because like it depends on my mood
like if I feel like I've written at home
or worked at home for too many days in a row
like I'll force myself to go to like Starbucks
like sometimes I'll listen to
Jack Johnson or
a screaming baby
that's been standing there waiting for the mom's coffee
for 20 minutes or like I don't know
like sometimes I'll just listen to like a Spotify mix
sometimes I'll have TV on the background
sometimes it'll be like a band
but like in terms of like
the love and the lust of
going out of it. Like, I don't know what that happens. I think to everything, everything you love
will die someday. That's all I'll say. Wow. Thanks for reading. Thanks for listening.
You just got to find new ways to motivate yourself. Keep it fresh. Five years from now, Dan O'Brien
wants to know what changes in teams are there. Seattle expansion, someone moves to Quebec, rather,
32 teams, 31. Seattle, if you didn't hear this week, the doors are a little bit more open because
it looks like it's just going to be private money behind the arena. So they say. I fully,
I don't believe them. I fully intend there to be.
be, that there will be an expansion team in Seattle.
Look, they can't have it at 31
teams. Right, there's Seattle's the next
thing. Yeah, Seattle's the next thing. And as far
as Quebec, it all depends if one of these other teams
fails. Right. If Arizona fails
or the calendar somehow have to go someplace
because they're, ice-melting.
Quebec's gonna get... Polar ice cap. Yeah, not for nothing.
Now that you bring
that up. It drives me nuts how
like, that's
reported as a thing. And the players
essentially have now been on the record
saying it's a thing because they're like, hey, it was
that a good answer for you, PR guy?
They're admitting it's a thing.
Franz Nielsen bails.
Kyle Okposo bails.
And like the islander people are just like, oh yeah, guys are really leaving because of where
the arena is and because of the, why is that not a viable, like you're playing on
shitty ice 41 times a year where you might have a better chance of being hurt and you
leave?
Like I was thought like Okposo made sense.
I thought Franz Nielsen leaving was weird.
And this kind of, I think, shed some light on it.
But like, I own their people are just like, oh, come on.
They're not going to leave.
This team's great.
This arena is great.
The thing I love most is guys that have covered the New York Rangers for the better part of their entire lives throwing shade at another team for ice conditions.
I know, right?
I mean, come on.
It's just, what was the question again?
Oh, the thing about five years from that.
Well, let's see.
Well, actually, the lockout is going to result in contraction to 24 teams.
So we're going to lose Arizona, Florida, Carolina, the Islanders, the Devils.
What other teams are we going to lose?
See, a lot of people don't know this, but back in the early 1980s when both the devils and the capitals were struggling.
This is true.
No, it ain't a bit.
It's true.
I feel like I have to preface it when I say something crazy.
True story.
True story, guys.
Have you heard about this?
The news today, the Washington Capitals.
Yeah, have you heard about this?
Yeah, yeah.
Headline says, Winston.
Was it a band guy's name, Winston Marcellus?
It was a, Branford, Marcelus.
It's going to be Washington Caval.
Tell your story.
Over here it says, look at it.
Poop toys for sale.
Is it a pool?
The card says moops.
The Devils and Capitals
discussed merging teams in the early 1980s
when both teams were struggling.
Oh, that would be an awesome thing
for the NHL to do.
Like merging, like if the devils and Islanders merge
and they called them the devils, obviously.
Where would they play?
Would they move to, like, a midpoint between?
We would absorb them.
We would absorb them like the Borg collective,
but we'd get Tavares.
Oh.
that's funny but that's a good idea
that's a great way to get rid of all these
Arizona like poor Oliver
I can't watch Oliver Recman Larson anymore
over there I feel bad
Yeah he's trapped
He's dying merging with Vegas
merging with Vegas
You got a nice little core to start there
Yeah so five years Shane Dohen will be playing for Vegas
In five years
Shane Dome will have missed the playoffs for an 11th straight year
And we'll still refuse to be traded at the deadline
I'm all about merging teams
versus contracting them
Julian finally wants to know
Halloween candy rank them
And Bankum
Well I'll do you one better Julian
We're going to play a little game here on Puck Soup to end the podcast today on our Halloween spookacular called
called Yummy in My Tummy or Only for a Dummy.
And it's a list of some of the more popular Halloween candies you may have found in your trick-or-treat bag as a youngster
or even today in a bowl at your office maybe.
You know, the bowl with that green hand that claps down on your hand, the one that you always see at Bedbath and Beyond,
but no one ever buys it because the sensor never works.
There's no way people that, the guy invented that is making any money off for that thing.
There's just no way.
So we're going to give you, I'm going to give you Dave Lozo a list of Halloween candy.
And you simply tell me, yummy in my tummy are only for a dummy.
Let's begin with one that I'm sure we're going to agree on.
Candy corn.
What's the puke option?
That's probably only for a dummy.
Yeah, that's only for a dummy.
Only for a dummy is, in my opinion, correct.
I know that there are parts of the country, as we saw recently on this map that came out that loved candy corn.
That's a year old map, too.
That's a weird thing how that's.
still floating around.
They love candy corn.
I've always hated candy corn.
I think it's disgusting.
It doesn't taste like anything.
Yeah.
To me it's like eating candle wax.
Yes.
It's like sugary candle wax.
Yeah.
Without any of it.
It's like all the,
it's all the bad things is about rotting your teeth with none of the benefits of like good flavor.
And if I wanted to eat sugary candle wax,
I have sugar.
I have fucking candles.
I would just make my own.
You know what it is?
It's the ironic nature of Twitter now where people will ironically like things and
someone's like, bro,
candy corn rules.
And it's just like.
No,
it's not.
No, it doesn't.
Yeah.
Sorry.
Oh yeah, like David S. Pumpkins. Let's touch on that real quick.
Listen.
Stupid bit funny.
Stupid though.
I am a huge fan of weird S&L.
I'm a fan of astronaut Jones.
I'm a fan of a number of sketches that were just bizarre, really fucking weird.
Like the one where Tracy Morgan.
Tracy Morgan.
I want to call him Tracy Jordan.
Where Tracy Morgan, the Britney Spears sketch where he's the guy that was on the end.
Yeah, and he's an astronaut and all it is, it's hard doing a bit.
And him like, yeah, yeah.
Uh-huh. Why don't you move that big space-ass-ass rounds, walk it? Yeah, that's, and it lasts like two, two minutes, like a minute, like a minute, maybe.
This was a four-and-a-half minute set up to have Tom Hanks and a jacket with pumpkin on.
It didn't do it for me, and I, and I hate feeling left out on life.
It's just, again, Twitter's ironic liking of things.
Yeah, but like. Plus, actually, people really liking it.
Like, weird, weird and funny is great. Like, think about too many cooks.
Oh, that was stupid.
That was amazing.
I wanted to fucking die four minutes into that stupid thing.
Too many cooks was your David S. Pumpkins.
before David S. Pumpkins came around.
David S. Pumpkins, I don't think is unfunny. I just thought it was like an okay average sketch.
I just found it to be really underwhelming and annoying.
Especially because Larry David did it funnier a few months earlier where he was that weird guy in the orange jacket during the FBI training.
I didn't see that.
Yeah, it was really funny, but it was the same promise pretty much.
But like Black Jeopardy was on the same episode and it was a six and a half minute.
Because like I'm, I have so lost my attention span.
I click on a video and I see six and a half minutes and I'm like, ugh.
that six and a half minutes flew by
where it was the most perfectly executed
like on the SNL Jeopardies have been there for years
where it's the same setup it's like here's the jeopardy
there's like one you know fish out of water and everyone like that's the object
of the joke and they set you up again
that's what it's going to be and they take you in a totally
different direction like the two straight men
but the two like people that play it straight are super funny
there's no like dead moments to set up the jokes it's all funny stuff
you know car tape and all that shit was so good
he comes over for the handshake,
he puts his hands up.
It's so perfectly executed
and they hammer you at the end
with the lives that matter joke.
It's a perfect six and a half minutes.
And all anyone could talk about the next day
was David,
and everyone on Twitter's name is now David has pumpkins.
And on top of that,
when that Black Jeopardy thing started,
you thought it was going to be
easy slam dunk jokes on Trump.
And it wound up subverting the whole thing.
It was one of the best sketches
I've ever seen on SNL.
And they slowly walk you back
to the fact that he is an asshole.
I feel like you're at the improv and you see like this brilliant observational comic in the vein of like Stephen Wright.
And then no one responds.
And then the next guy comes out and he's like, I'm going to fart a bunch of blinkloid 82 songs.
And then like it's all people talk about as they're leaving the club.
Ladies and gentlemen, carrot top two.
But what if you answered the door?
We're in a domino's uniform.
What if your jacket had pumpkins on it?
Waka, waka, waka.
All right.
Yomi and my tummy are only for a dummy butterfingers.
Ooh.
Yummy in the tummy.
I say yummy and the tummy is my favorite candy.
They stick in your teeth, though.
They do stick in your teeth, and they also make them now in giant cup form, too.
It's all great.
I agree with you, Bart Simpson.
Don't you dare lay a finger on my butter finger.
Milk duds.
Yummy and my tummy are only for a dummy.
What, you really pick some like borderline candy?
That's the whole point of the bits or anything.
About slam dunks?
It's about tough shots.
Yummy in my tummy.
I prefer whoppers.
Yeah.
But milk duds are only for a dummy.
You talk about sticking in your teeth.
This whole milk dudd thing is like, it feels like you're at a dentist office and they're
trying to take a mold of your tooth before it gets drilled.
I like milk duds.
I'm pro-milkbed.
Yeah.
Well, in the words of Herb Brooks, fuck them.
The 100 grand bar.
Oh, yummy and my tummy are only for a dummy.
Yummy in my tummy.
Oh, my God.
I used to eat those things nonstop.
I was a kid.
I actually have to look up what 100 grand bar is.
This is your list.
Yeah, I forgot what it was.
With the caramel inside the rice.
According to Wikipedia, no less than authority.
It used to be called the $100,000 bar.
Chocolate caramel, crisp rice.
Oh, that sounds pretty good.
I'll say yummy in my tummy.
Oh, really good.
Now we have a showdown category, sir.
Okay.
Three musketeers versus Milky Way.
Only one can be yummy in your tummy.
Three musketeers.
The answer is Milky Way.
That's incorrect.
Milky Way is yummy in my tummy.
The Milky Way is the Snickers bar if it didn't have everything in it.
It's now.
The other thing, too, about Milky Way is you could do it my dad.
dad does and put them in the freezer so you can
eat them almost like an ice cream treat as well.
Yeah, see, I'm very
anti-frozen candy bar. I don't get the point of it.
Don't get the point. I like the snick... You ever have like
Reese's peanut butter ice cream? Yes. That's awesome.
But like frozen candy bars,
get the fuck out of here. Everybody is
small chalk-based candy smarties.
Mm-hmm. Mm-hmm. Yeah, yummy in my
tummy are only for a dummy. Oh, I thought we were doing like
an either or thing. No. Oh, I thought we were in the lightning
around now. No, those are going to come up occasionally in this
this
the cachta game show
I'm gonna say
like we're talking
well first of all
you should explain
because there's Canadian
smarties
and there's like
American chalk based smarties
like in like a little
plastic roll
where you like slide it
to your mouth
yeah
almost like a cousin
to Pez
yummy in my tummy
I would say yummy
and my tummy
it's hard for me to say no
to candy
like candy's good
let's see if we'll say no
to this one
everybody's favorite
tiny mystery cube
dots
fuck a dot
oh no no no
the jelly
The jelly ones, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
What's the...
Only for a dummy.
Only for a dummy.
I would go...
I would go yummy in my tummy for, like, the green ones.
But, like, you're anti-milked because they get stuck on your teeth.
Oh, those get really stuck in.
Dots live there for wheat.
I would rather have gummies stuck in my teeth than chocolate cement or wherever the fuck a milk dud is.
I feel like you don't know what a milk dud is.
I do with that in before.
And I'll never have them been...
They're not teeth stickers.
They are.
We should have brought a box.
You're talking to wopers.
The milk dubs are
Our teeth stickers.
Woppers can get all in there too.
They're multing milk bowls.
Malted milk bowls.
Showdown round.
Yomi and my tummy are only for a dummy.
Miniature Rises,
Rees' miniatures,
or the big cups.
The Reese's peanut butter.
Oh, the big cups.
Oh, yeah.
Versus miniatures?
First of all, this is, again,
we're going to bring Ryan Lambert back into the show.
I think I argue with him on Twitter
about this year ago.
They're the same thing.
When he's significantly larger.
Much like how a brecky
Akiosaurus is much larger than a velociraptor.
Are you one of those people that thinks that they're different flavors?
They taste different?
Yeah, they're not.
I think the flavor is more concentrated in a miniature.
And also, the miniature has an odd oil that seeps out because it's almost like the flavor can't be contained.
I like a miniature better.
Miniatures I could eat.
Also, you could eat more of them, which makes it a better candy.
What do you mean?
It's still the same volume of chocolate and peanut butter going into your stomach.
I'm thinking about the fact that in a miniatures come in a bag.
You're like popping them like popcorn.
The cups come in.
Yeah.
And then the cups can only get two in a package.
Yeah.
He sucks.
Old school.
Yeah.
But they're,
no way.
Bigger is better.
Bigger is better.
He says.
That's what she said.
You all got a hemmy in that big cup.
Raisins.
Yon me in my tummy are only for a dummy.
What are you fucking kidding?
Like a box of raisins, yeah.
Nature's candy.
Not raisinettes?
No, raisins.
If you put raisins in my bag on Halloween,
I will take your dog.
from you and you will never see her again.
That's disgusting in my tummy or whatever it was.
Despite your predilection for a canine slaughter, I would say raisins are probably
yummy in my tummy.
I'm going to slaughter, sneakers.
I'm going to take her in as my own and raise her.
Oh, okay.
It's the way of not eating raisins.
It's usually the ways of not eating healthy in any way possible.
I love a raisin.
Only a son with a lady on the cover, though, not anything else.
The sun-made lady?
Yeah, sun-made raisins.
Do you like to eat them in the sun?
Do you like to have a raisin?
I do.
I do like to.
I'll reference anything.
thing of pop culture, my friend.
Because you tripped me up because I was thinking island in the sun, but you were
thinking of raisin in the sun.
Blister in the sun, raisin in the sun,
and the sun, arisen in the sun, arisen in the sun,
blister in the sun, I would marry,
raisin in the sun, and I would kill island in the sun.
Yeah, I would do the same thing.
Mike and Ikes, yummy in your tummy, you're only for a dummy.
Yummy in my tummy.
I would say yummy in my tummy too, and not only because my friend Andrew is a
high-level executive with just-born candy.
What do they make?
I don't know.
Mike and Ike Nikes and Hot Tamales and Peeps.
The same company that makes Peeps makes Mike and Ix.
How about that shit?
I never know who like what candy is what.
They're like the outlaw rebel candy that hasn't been conquered by Hershey or Nestle yet, I think.
Oh yeah.
It's like the office is like Google.
It's all like people like it's like a beer on tap and everyone's like super cool.
I think it's more like traveling a chocolate factory wherever umpalumpas make a mic and Iics, I'm pretty sure.
They murder children.
Why do you think our micke d'ikes taste so good?
What do you get when you're eating and Ike?
I throw you down and beat you with your bike.
Final showdown round.
Tutsi roll pop versus blowpop.
Ugh.
Blow pop.
Blow pop.
And I understand that the blow pop, you have a very tiny window after you get the gum in your mouth for it to taste good and not turn to a rock.
But I like to taste better.
I'd rather do that than a tootsie roll.
I'm not a big tootsie roll guy.
Tootsie roll pops are really fun because of that commercial that we had when we were kids of the owl trying to lick the tootsie pop.
He was like, Mr. Owl, how many licks us take to get to the center of a tootsy pop?
Yeah, that owl fucked that kid over.
One, a two, crunch.
Yeah.
One, two, three.
Three.
Three.
Three.
But a blow pop's better because there is actually, I would put this in maybe like my top 40 tastes.
the crunchy combination of gum and candy shards that you get until the gum turns to brick, like you said.
It's pretty amazing.
When my mouth is bleeding and I'm spitting up blood when I brush my teeth later today, I want to have a bee from a blowpop.
It's pretty great.
Finally, this is the one you want on the list.
Peppermint Patty.
Yummy in my tummy are only for a dummy.
Well, I want it on the list.
So clearly, yummy in my tummy.
Let me ask you, in terms of those mini candy bars.
get.
Crackle or Mr. Goodbar?
Oh, from the Hershey's
minis?
Yeah, like the...
Crackle.
See, I got Mr. Goodbar.
I like the nuts.
I like a crackle.
Like these nuts.
But dark chocolate's my favorite.
And I would also say this
about pepperm and patty.
If we were to make this a showdown round,
which it's not.
No.
So based on its own merits,
I would say yummy in my tummy.
But we're we to make this a showdown round
between a pepperm patty and junior mints.
I would probably pick junior mints.
Ooh.
I know.
Wow, I know, really.
Now we've upped the ante.
Because they're the same, but they're not.
But they're not.
You have a snowy, creamy peppermint
versus a gooey,
Ugi-gooey, junior men.
You go junior mint.
I like the junior mint.
That goes against my peanut butter cup size thing
because one's a bigger version of the other,
but yeah, I think I'm a junior mint.
The last thing I'll ask you on this episode is
where do you stand on candy in popcorn
at the movie theater
What do you mean?
Like do you throw candy
in the popcorn ever?
Like when I throw Mike and Ix
Or like Junior Mints
Or any kind of chocolate in the popcorn?
You do that?
People do that.
I've never heard that before.
That's insane.
Yeah, I'm not a fan of either
But people do that.
Serial killers do that.
That's not a thing.
No one drops dots into their popcorn.
I'll never forget that scene in Zodiac
where Jillen Hall's like,
no, no, no, but look, look, look, look.
He put milk duds in this popcorn
while watching the movie.
If Zodiac had done that,
he would have been arrested two weeks
into his murderous break.
Somebody would have been like,
oh my God.
Fincher's such a genius.
Like, the way he used
hurdy-gurdy man
in that slow-mo scene
of the Zodiac Killer
pouring snow caps
into his popcorn.
And the hurdy-gurdy man.
I'm going to eat these snow caps
and popcorn
and then I'm going to kill your baby.
What?
That's so...
He's just like, he finds a soup
the couple out by the lake.
it's got a big bag of hers popcorn
and they're like oh how you doing sir
he just takes out a bag of
of Mike and Ikes and pours them into the hers back
oh my god we're gonna die
oh my god
it's the zodiac
it's the zodiac
you pigs at the SFPD
are like a bag of popcorn
without Hershey's kisses in it
useless
yeah like the zodiac letters were actually
just like different brands of candy
that they had to decipher and like
all right Reese's that's an R
peppermint palli it's a P
RP
What is this mean
Oh god
This is so hard to the cut
Robert Downey is like
You know he's all hopped up on sugar
Because he's addicted to candy
Ruffalo walks in
Guys guys guys guys
He called us nerds
Think about it
Peppermint Patsies
We're peppermine Patsies
Is that what he's saying?
Oh we're never going to find this guy
Then like Jake Jillon
All comes in
He's like, all these books were stolen from the candy library.
He has to work at the candy factory.
And then they go interview that guy at his job.
He's like, oh, I know what the problem is.
Yeah, no, I write with my left hand, but I eat candy with my right hand.
I mean, everybody knows that.
Oh, of course.
Willy Wonka in the Chocolate Factory.
My favorite book was Willie Wonka in the Chocolate Factory.
He knew that.
He knew that.
Crosses his legs and starts pop up.
snow caps in his mouth.
I just like these.
That's a nice watch you got there.
Yeah, it's a Hershey's watch from Hershey Park.
I went there a few years ago.
Did you tell somebody that you were going to kill all the kitties on Halloween after they came
off the bus?
I would never do that.
I love candy and I love kids.
That's disgusting.
That's right.
Will they walk in the chocolate factory?
All the kids in the book die.
It was my favorite book.
I told them that.
That's all on the record.
I'll told the other cops the same thing.
Oh, and if you're wondering about all the candy in the back of my car, that was from my nephew.
That wasn't mine.
Oh, spoilers for Zodiac, by the way.
Yeah, spoilers.
All right, that's a show for this week.
Thanks to nobody for coming on.
We just wanted to talk to you guys for a bit.
Oh, yeah, by the way, we're not having a guest today.
Case we're waiting for that pause.
We, uh, yeah, we, we haven't done one of these solo trips in a while.
Besides, I mean, what guest could we possibly have on the first annual Puck Soup Halloween
sputacular. Nobody. Nobody.
Probably somebody, but nobody, really.
No. I mean, I guess John C. McGinley would have been a good guess because he has a horror-based show.
A horror TV thing happening. Yeah. You can just listen to that interview again once this is over.
Yeah, go back and listen to that interview and pretend it's Halloween. Oh, boy. All right. Thanks to everybody
for listening. Thanks to Seek geek for sponsoring us again. Download that Seat Geek app.
Get a $20 rebate on your first purchase. It's the best. We wouldn't allow them to advertise in the show.
Were they not willing to advertise in the show?
You probably would let them do anything they wanted for money.
Thanks to Katie for putting this thing together.
And we'll see you guys next week.
And Dave Lozo is going to take you home.
I can finally tell the football story from last week.
This is a scary story.
You set your lineup for fantasy football.
You're playing against somebody who clearly forgot to set theirs.
And then you get a text five minutes after the lineups have locked.
And they insert someone into a lineup for someone who wasn't going to play that week.
and you say to them,
I don't think you should be able to do this.
And they're just like,
don't worry,
you're going to blow me out.
And I'm like,
okay.
And what happens?
The player who gets put into the lineup
gets six points,
and you lose by four.
And after that,
and after that,
you email the league and say,
hey,
maybe in the future,
we shouldn't be allowed to do this
because it's unfair.
And what does the commissioner say to me?
Maybe I should calm down.
He tells me, the calm one, that I should calm down.
And so I lost that week, and now I'm two and five, and I'm pissed off about it.
And apparently I'm the idiot, and I should have known that you could.
Oh, the excuse the excuse the commissioner gave was the person I was playing texted him in plenty of time,
plenty of time to fix the lineup.
But you tell me this, Greg Wysinski.
What phone can text?
at 1220, but can't get on a website to change their lineup himself.
That was sheep.
No.
There's a sheep.
Wait, wait, wait, hold on, hold on.
That works.
Oh, shit, I'm sorry.
I'm on the wrong one now.
We're now in animals.
Oh, shit.
Hold on here.
Suspense music.
Oh, this is that brannosaurus whale.
Sorry.
Actually, it's not a brunosaurus.
So, yeah.
Don't cheat in fantasy football.
be honest and set your own lineup, but don't rely on your commissioner to do it.
