Puck Soup - Ilya Bryzgalov
Episode Date: June 10, 2017Ilya Bryzgalov, former NHL goalie and The Players' Tribune correspondent, joins us to talk about the universe, bears, Peter Laviolette, Greg's impression of him and the relationship between Russia and... USA. Plus, Greg and Dave discuss the Stanley Cup Final, P.K. Subban's antics, a stirring round of "Does Sidney Crosby like...?", Dennis K. Morgan, angry Penguins fans, new coaches for Florida and Buffalo, a tribute to Adam West and reader mail! Sponsored by Seat Geek and Blue Apron.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Owning a home is full of surprises.
Some wonderful, some?
Not so much.
And when something breaks, it can feel like the whole day unravels.
That's why homeserve exists.
For as little as $4.99 a month, you'll always have someone to call.
A trusted professional ready to help.
Bringing peace of mind to 4.5 million homeowners nationwide.
For plans starting at just $4.99 a month, go to homeserve.com.
That's homeserv.com.
Not available everywhere.
Most plans range between $499 to $11.99 a month your first year.
Terms apply on covered repairs.
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seat Geek.
You know, buying tickets to sports and concerts can be complicated,
but there's a better, simpler way to buy with Seat Geek,
the smartest, easiest way to get tickets to live events.
I know if you've been trying to angle your way to one of these Stanley Cup final games
that we've been covering for the last, what it seems like, year and a half in Pittsburgh and Nashville,
you've probably used Seekek to find the tickets for these events
because it's the seamless mobile experience.
You can buy and sell tickets in just two taps
and help you find the best seats at the best prices fully guaranteed.
I know when all of this nonsense in the cup final ends and it's time to relax and have summertime fun,
baseball tickets will be acquired by yours truly via the Seeky app because it saves you time,
it saves you money by searching multiple ticket sites to compare prices and find amazing deals.
You get the most bang for your buck because Seeky grades every ticket based on value
to help you immediately identify the best seats to fit your budget, plus every purchase.
is fully guaranteed so you can shopper tickets on Seekek with confidence.
You should make it your go-to app for finding the best deals on every type of ticket
from sports to concerts to comedy to theater.
And if you're selling tickets, well, you know, if you're somebody in Nashville,
you're probably buying your third mansion based on the money you've made selling cup finals tickets
and just going off to some bar on Broadway to watch it instead.
We probably have more fun anyway.
Here's the deal.
If you're a Puck Soup listener, you can get $20 off your first Seekiekeek purchase.
Download the Seekek app, enter the promo code
S-O-U-P, that spells Soup,
and you can get $20 off your first Seek-K purchase.
The promo code again is soup, $20 off your first Seekkeek purchase,
download the app, enter the promo code,
$20 bucks off, and you're in business,
and enjoy the show.
Now entering Nurdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary,
To what if you commute?
We also cover movies, TV shows,
eats and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet.
Puck Soup.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy blog.
I'm Dave Lozo.
I'm welcome.
You're in Puck Soup.
Buddy, we were supposed to tape this a day ago,
but I was informed by you
that you were sick A.
on Friday.
Yeah, man.
Like, I totally forgot, too.
Like, I knew, like, the day before we were, like, let's do this in the morning.
And I was like, okay.
And then, like, I fell asleep at, like, 12.30.
I woke up at, like, 11, which sounds like I slept 11 hours.
But, like, I probably slept, like, two and a half of those actual hours because I kept waking up to, like, like, hawk augi into my toilet or because, like, my throat.
And then at, like, at, like, 7 a.m.
They started doing construction outside my window.
So, like, I couldn't sleep through that.
I was in bed all day yesterday, except for like maybe 45 minutes.
It was terrible.
A lot of people thought that there was no reason for us not to do a show with you out.
I would just have to find somebody in Pittsburgh that could side deeply and hate hockey, is what they told me.
Wait, hold on one second.
Whoever said that can go F themselves.
And B, it's probably true.
You probably could have done that.
Nobody would have noticed.
This is really fantastic.
I always wondered what it would be like to do a podcast with Gwyneth Paltrow in the first 10 minutes of contagion.
Wow, that's the meanest thing you've ever said to me.
All right, listen, we should probably open with what everybody in, not only in hockey, but in the sports world, is talking about, the rivalry between Sidney Crosby and P.K. Suban, aka the loan marketable thing from this series.
There's been other stuff.
Yeah, I guess you're right.
pretty much it.
Yeah.
Well, let's start with a basic question that I'm pretty sure we probably agree on.
Sid totally should have gotten a second minor penalty for roughing on that play, right?
Where he's on top of Suban and Suvan and Suvann has the UFC ankle lock on him and whatever.
Yeah, the UFC ankle lock.
We're fucking Sid squeezing his arm between his legs so he can't get out.
Yeah, sure.
But yeah, it's either got to be two and nothing or four and two.
Like there's no way you wind up even strength there.
But at that point, it didn't matter.
The game was over anyway.
I got the 2-0.
You knew Pecorane was
Roberto Blanco, and he was going to have a terrible
game, and the game was over, and
probably the series is over now, so who cares?
Nothing's...
Yeah, sidebar, this series is basically
Boston, Vancouver.
The hockey
is okay, but not
great, and at times, pretty
bad, but the ancillary
stuff is all amazing,
like, more compelling than any other final we've
had since Vancouver and Boston.
Like, you have the home team winning
every game, but you have
Pecker-Renna as Roberto Luongo, but
he's the road goalie. He doesn't have home-wise
advantage, so it's not even like
he can play bad in all the road games and still
win, so at some point he has to play good at home
or in Pittsburgh, I should
say, and like all the other stuff
like is just
it's like, it's like the store brand
version of it. Like, Pittsburgh, like,
Boston Vancouver was awesome.
Boss of Vancouver, like, they scored
eight goals on Luongo, and here
they scored like four on Renee, like
In Boston, Vancouver, like, Brad Marchand was just, like, jabbing whichever Sedeen it was.
Who cares? It doesn't even matter.
And here it's just, like, you know, Crosby gently knocking Sue Bans' head against the ice.
Like, everything about the Boston Vancouver series was better.
But this series is, like, the games are more, like, they're blowouts, but, like, except for game five,
like, they're, like, slow blowouts where, like, it eventually gets to that point.
Except for game five, where five minutes in you were just like, oh, Peca, come on, man, you're killing me.
Yeah, but on top of that, you're.
also had an amazing
I'm not here to pump your tires
moment in the Vancouver-Boston
series, which was very much about, like,
you know, the rivalry between two
players and how they play and one
goalie's dogma is the true
way of playing, and the other goalie's dogma
is bullshit. And here it's like,
he said my breath was bad, man. I don't know.
And, you know, it also is pretty funny now that you think about it,
like, of all the dudes to talk shit
during a Stanley Cup final, Roberto Luongo
after he gave up like 11 goals on 19 shots,
I know.
Comes back in Game 5.
He's like, yeah, man.
I would have been dead.
Like, what?
Really?
I saw you get beat like six times from just inside the blue line two days ago.
Who are you fucking shit to on Boston, you jackass?
But yeah.
Also, zero chance that Pittsburgh burns down its own city if they lose a game of seven.
Zero chance.
They just won last year.
They have no reason to burn down their city.
I mean, listen.
Okay, let me rephrase that.
There are a lot of reasons to burn Pittsburgh down.
It's a lot of reasons to burn Pittsburgh down.
Like when you're waiting 20 minutes for a cab at two in the afternoon.
side of an hotel.
I just need a cab.
When you order a salad and they put fries on it,
like that's,
you know,
there are certain things that,
reasons why you'd want to burn Pittsburgh down.
Dude,
I don't know,
man,
Pittsburgh,
based on that,
I know you didn't see it
because I just told you about it,
but like based on the way,
the way Pittsburgh people reacted to the most harmless fucking
tweet ever by a Predator's employee,
I feel like they have the potential to lash out for no reason whatsoever.
If they lose game seven,
like three to two.
Let's rock it out.
Sandy Weaver is a,
a, let's see here on her bio
marketing manager.
She does the bread's Twitter, basically.
Oh, she does the bread's Twitter.
It's interesting the way she phrases it.
She says at Pred's NHL controller.
Like she's Chris Pratt in Jurassic World
and she's taming the Twitter feed.
Whatever like people come to her mention,
she just like holds her hand over the screen
to like kind of calm the tweet down.
Easy, easy, easy.
And like,
Vincent Donofrio rolls over to her screen and is just like, why do you just go crazy on Twitter and kill everybody?
She's like, no.
And we should put lasers on the heads of this Twitter.
Let the military have them.
I forgot that.
I kind of side with Vincent DiNafrio on that plan.
I'm like, if you have dinosaurs that can kill, why not put lasers on their heads if you had the technology?
That just only makes sense.
Yeah.
You know, you know who you just became Paul Reiser and aliens?
You don't weaponize animals because at the end, the animals will always turn on you, obviously.
That was like 40 years ago.
We've built in better controls and better lasers at that point.
No, I'm on team Donofrio.
Just because DeNafrio was in, he was heavier and fatter and not as good looking as Chris Pratt.
Everyone was in the Chris Pratt.
That's bullshit, man.
Danofrio had ideas.
So essentially you're saying the problem isn't the message, it's the messenger.
If they had gotten like, you know, Zach Efron to deliver the message, then lasers on dinosaurs would have gone over much better.
better than a fat Vince Darnaprio.
If it was Chris Pine versus Chris Pratt,
it's a battle.
It's a battle to decide who's right.
Whose heart will be won?
Lasers or non-lasers.
I'm on, I would go to fucking war for Jim Kirk.
So I think you're right on that one.
I think you might have something there.
Sandy Weaver said on her Twitter feed on June 8th,
I shall say one more thing.
I cannot wait to see how hashtag Smashville.
See, that's great.
When you're the controller of the Twitter feed, you have to stay on brand.
Yeah.
Takes care of Crosby on Sunday.
Disgusting show of hockey by number 87.
Takes care of.
Takes care of cause many people in a city and other neutral observers to then see, first of all, I thought it was funny that like people got mad and then like added the Preds Twitter account.
The fuck that have her fired, even though she's the one that controls the Preds Twitter account.
Like, she's like, hold on.
She becomes Matt Damon in the first.
departed, she's investigating herself.
Basically.
Like, people
adding the NHL, like, oh man,
this is a real nice message to send.
She said,
takes care of.
Like, I cannot believe how
like, we throw around triggered and
snowflake ironically all the time now.
Like, that's the most
snowflake,
like,
laced set of tweets,
like the replies to that tweet,
the quotes,
the quote tweets to that tweet
to the person who's screencapped it.
Like, you're really getting someone
fired over takes care of.
Like, Jesus God, man.
Look, two things.
First of all, if somebody associated with the predators says
Smashville has to take care of Sidney Crosby,
the first thought I have is hitting him with a fish,
which would be hilarious.
I mean, come on, let's be honest.
Hitting Cindy C. C. C. C. C.
actually, what happens now is because they need to find the use for Dennis C. Morgan.
They just lock him in a cage with Dennis C. Morgan,
and then Dennis C. Morgan and Cindy C. C. C.C. Morgan and Cindy C.
Fight to the death. Like, that's what they do now.
All right. Sidebar number 15 already in this show.
show. I should address the fact that Dennis K. Morgan tweeted me yesterday. Did you see this?
I see anything yesterday, really.
Dennis K. Morgan tweeted me. What did you do? This is the thing. Like, I've assumed that when
Dennis K. Morgan would tweet me, that it would have, you know, something to do saliently with,
like, whatever. But it didn't. So Dennis K. Morgan,
tweeted me and said, I tweeted about that Jesus let Crosby take the wheel sign that that person
had professionally made at Game 5.
Oh, yes.
And I correctly identified it as something that cost a lot and was completely devoid of humor
because it is.
I don't even understand what the, I mean, I understand the joke that it's a Carrie Underwood
song, but I don't know what take the, he has, he has the wheel.
He's the captain.
I'm the captain now.
He's the captain.
He has the wheel.
Wait, that's a character.
Underwood song.
That was just a thing people said about.
Jesus when life is going bad.
That's like a song.
No, it is a carry underwood song,
and clearly you've never been to a karaoke bar in North Carolina.
I mean, not recently.
Actually, I think before he cheats is probably the preferred
karaoke, carry underwood song in a bar in North Carolina.
Right, but it's, so anyway.
So it's not a good sign.
I'm with you on that.
So Dennis K. Morgan took exception to that.
Dennis K. Morgan.
Was it his sign?
No, I don't know.
No, he writes this.
My tweet said, this sign probably cost a lot and is completely devoid of humor.
Dennis K. Morgan writes, it appears you can't count.
Sounds like two things to me, but I'm resisting the urge to stoop to your level and call you names like you did me.
What is that?
What's that mean?
I don't even, the first part of that response doesn't seem to apply to the thing I wrote.
No, he's saying because you have like an and in there.
It's like two, there's two things you don't like.
You know what I mean?
Like, he's not seeing that as a compound English term thing, whatever.
You know what I mean?
Here's the question.
If I'm getting heat from Dennis K. Morgan, and by the way, again, thankfully the K is there,
so I know it's not some other Dennis Morgan of Nashville coming at me.
If I get heat from the Dennis K.
Morgan, is that mean I'm an A-lister?
Wait, what did you write back to him?
I just wrote Blessed.
I can't.
I cannot, listen, I know that this guy is going probably through some sort of personal hell
in the sense that no one has given a flying catfish shit about him for the last month
as they all geek out over Martina McBride singing the National Anthem of Predators games.
So I wasn't going to just pile on.
I would prefer to pile on in the safe space of our podcast.
He has to know he's Dennis K.
Morgan, first of all, I didn't know who Martina
McBride was, honest to God. They were like,
I saw Judd Tilly tweeted it. He's like, is this
breaking news? It's Martina McBride singing it.
And I thought it was like an actress.
I didn't know if that was a country singer.
But the point is, he's a guy in
Nashville. Like, okay, like
what is the equivalent of this?
Like, he sings the anthem
at Predators games in a town
known for country music. Like, he
has to know, like, he's just kind of like
like, okay, how about
this? In Jersey, people probably
don't know this, but there's a cover band called The Nerds, right? You know the Nerds. Oh, the
nerds, yeah, New Jersey's biggest party band. Right. They're basically a cover band. They play, like,
all the Shore bars in the summer, and, like, they're super popular, right? But, like, let's say
you're the nerds, and then suddenly all the bars that you used to play were like, sorry,
we're going to go with Bruce Springsteen and Bon Jovi. And the nerds getting super duper
mad because, like, hey, what the heck, man, we're the nerds. Like, yeah, but you're not
Bruce and Bon Jovi in New Jersey. It's the same thing in Nashville. Like, why is this guy not
understanding his place in the hierarchy of country music and singers in that town.
I don't get it.
Instead of somebody trying to sound like, you know, Blake Shelton, they actually get
Blake Shelton.
Yes.
And the guy who sounds like Blake Shelton is like, fuck that guy.
It's like you're Dennis K. Morgan.
Like, you sing 20 games a year and then you do your day job.
Like, you should just be totally happy any time you get to sing the anthem there.
I just, I don't understand Dennis K. Morgan at all.
Dennis, yeah, I think that
That is not okay Morgan apparently.
Not okay Morgan.
Oh my God.
Now, this is great because this will differentiate between Dennis K. Morgan and any other
Dennis K. Morgan that might be in Nashville if we make him Dennis O.K. Morgan.
You're completely right. That's a great move for him.
I got an idea.
I don't know.
I got an idea.
We should have on Dennis K. Morgan, but the other Dennis K. Morgan to talk about whatever the other guy does.
He could be a garbage man.
It could be a cop.
He could be anything.
and just be like, so what's your day like?
You know, I get up early and then I throw some garbage in the back of the truck
and then, you know, I go home.
All right, thanks for being on, Dennis.
Great job.
I always love those stories.
Like, George Bush is a dentist here at Aurora, Illinois,
but he goes by George W. Bush, which has made this month a little awkward for him,
says the local newscast from October 2000.
Oh, Dennis, Dennis, buddy.
And I don't know how much people get paid to do the anthem,
but, like, he basically threw away.
like side income next season because
I mean I guess they could invite him
back but he was kind of a dick in that
story where he was just like
why they're going to use carry underwood
Does Dennis K. Morgan get booed
if he came back to sing the anthem next year?
That's the question.
No, probably not because I can't imagine anybody in Nashville
booing anywhere in the vicinity
of the anthem.
But still though.
I say yes. I say yes.
I say if they bring him out
like for game one of the season like the opening game
They'll probably have some, like, superstar or, like, big-name person.
But, like, the second home game, they bring him out.
Maybe he won't be booing, but they'll be, like, low rumbling.
Like, oh, this fucking guy.
Yeah.
All right.
Well, Dennis K. Morgan can eat it.
And you know what you can eat, Dave Lozo?
Blue Apron!
Blue Apron makes incredible home cooking easy and accessible by delivering seasonal recipes
with step-by-step instructions and pre-portioned ingredients right to your door,
all for less than $10 a meal.
Springtime is a great time.
Hit the reset.
and retackle personal goals.
Summertime is a time for awesome eating.
You can customize your recipes based on your preferences
and select a delivery option that's right for you.
Plus there's no weekly commitment.
You only get deliveries when you want them.
I love it.
A box of ingredients comes to your house
and then you have the Zen mental reset of cooking
using those ingredients.
That's what I'm talking about.
Yeah, yeah.
You said awesome eating.
I think you were talking about Mark Eat in the defense.
So I was looking that up.
Sorry.
available in June, buddy. You always like when we get to this part. I love it.
How about some warm smoked trout and asparagus salad with fingerling potatoes and garlic croutons?
How about spiced zucchini anceladas with creamy lime and tomato rice? How about elote-style vegetable tostattas with summer squash, Poblano peppers, and cilantro rice?
Better Spanish accent than Justin Bieber, may I say?
peach honey glazed chicken with mashed sweet potatoes, collared greens, and Thai basil.
Here's what you do.
You go check out the menu on their website.
You can get your first three meals free with free shipping, no less, by going to
blue apron.com slash puck soup.
You love how good it feels and taste to create incredible home cooking with Blue Apron.
That's blueapron.com slash puck soup.
Do check it out.
It's a fun deal.
And like we've said before, it beats going to the supermarket and buying a bunch of,
bunch of shit that you never actually use.
And then, oh, look, it's Black Tarragon in my fridge some weeks later.
You don't want that.
Blue Apron.com.
Black Tarragon?
Because it went bad, Lozo.
Like, it just, it went from being fresh to, like, being rotten.
It sounds like a Netflix show I'd never heard of before.
Like, Black Tarragon.
It's set in a prison, of course.
And then, like, you know, there's, there's, there's, there's, there's, there's, there's,
like a great acting or something.
I don't know.
Black, Terragon.
Is Orphan Black?
Does that take place in a prison?
Someone tweeted about that this morning.
I never watch it.
No, Orphan Black is this show about clones,
where Tatiana Malsi plays all the clones on the show.
I watched the first couple of seasons.
It was great.
And then, much like most of the other genre shows I've seen,
Koff X-Files, it got so far up its own ass and its mythology
that it just became not good.
Oh, like the leftover.
so.
Sure.
Sounds about right.
Can you say that the leftovers got so caught up in its own mythology
when it didn't actually reveal anything per se?
Yeah, I think it actually got away from its own mythology
where for the last hour, 16 minutes of the show,
they gave me a love story.
Will Nora and Kevin get together?
Kevin can die and come back to life whatever he wants.
Why are we not exploring that more?
Oh, no, here is a...
Ooh, did Nora tell the truth at the end?
gives a shit. Who fucking cares.
Like, give a shit.
Did I read it right where they introduced a machine
that could send her to where all the
disappeared people went to?
And they used Marklin Baker, the star of
the 1980s sitcom Perfect Strangers,
in order to do this, to get her
on board. So they have this machine.
Oh, gosh. Dude, we'll be it
for two hours.
Cousin Lally,
you made a machine, Cousin Lally.
Here's the point. For
fucking three years on the show and seven
years on the show's time, which they cover
on the show, here's Nora Durst.
I miss my kids. I want to see my kids. I want to be with my kids.
And then someone's like, well, here's your chance to be with your kids.
And she's like, I want to be with my kids. I'm going to get this machine and go.
And then the very last scene is like, well, what did you do when you saw your kids?
Well, I saw them and I was like, eh, they seem happy.
So I kind of left.
What?
So it's literally a deuce ex Machia now that they introduced in like the last two shows of the series.
Like it's a machine that fixes everything.
And people were like, well, maybe she didn't actually go through the machine and she made up that story for Kevin at the end.
Well, first of all, she did that.
She's an asshole.
Just fucking tell him you didn't go in the machine.
Like, why would she lie about that as a him, of all people?
Like, they've shared everything together at this point.
Like, what's the point of lying there unless you're the writer of the show and you want to make it mysterious?
Like, fuck you.
Let's move on.
Seriously.
No, I'm old.
It kind of reminds me of watching an amazing film about space exploration that cost a billion dollars, and it's so.
cool.
And then at the end, it's about the story
of a father and a daughter and a bookcase.
And like, I'm fine with that. I'm fine with like, you know, the heart of
the story, it's like a relationship thing, but like no one
watching the leftovers gave a shit if Nora and Kevin
got together at the end. I don't know why anyone thought
that was a thing. But I don't know, I guess, I guess me and me and my
people that don't like the show, don't have good taste
or whatever. All right. Whatever.
Much like Christopher Nolan's
inception, I will now jump back a layer. We're going from the snow fort back to the hotel room
where Justin Gordon Leibbitt's on the ceiling.
Where Jake Taylor is asleep? Right. Sandy Weaver.
Sandy Weaver, the problem with the Sandy Weaver thing is this. It is another example in our culture
of people smelling a little blood in the water and then diving in, like,
like sharks and trying to see if they can affect change through their fake outrage.
I mean, that's essentially what it is, right?
Over and over and over, every fucking day on Twitter, it's the same thing over and over again.
Like, this is the perfect example of fake outrage.
Like, good outrage is like when, say, I don't know, a hockey writer says something
to the effect of, man, I don't think Japanese people should ever win an auto race in America.
Like, that's good outrage.
Like, there's no getting around that.
This is someone who works for offense being mad that Sidney Crosby was bouncing P.K. Suvats head off the ice and going,
man, I can't wait until Smashville gives him what for.
And someone was like, what for?
Oh, my God, are you advocating violence against Sidney Crosby?
Then someone sees that and is like, oh, my God, yeah, this person's endorsing violence against.
And someone else is like, let's get her fired.
Because she wrote, takes care of Sidney Crosby.
Oh, God.
And again, if it's not someone hitting it with a fish, it's someone threatening him with a broken
beer bottle. And honestly, he's got a lot of gear on. He's
basically Batman. Like, unless you shank him in the
side, like Talia Al Ghul did in The Dark Night Rises, you're not
getting him with the broken beer bottle. Wait, wait, hang on.
I don't think she ever actually took the name Al Ghul. Are you just
assuming that, that, like, because she was raised by him,
that, like, she was... Oh, dude.
I don't know. I don't think so. She's his daughter.
She was dumped there by, by him.
In the prison.
Yeah, no, but she was raised by
by Tom Hardy.
Tom Hardy wasn't Razal Ghul.
No, but she was Razal Ghul's daughter.
Like blood daughter.
But do you think she still had his name, though?
I don't think so.
Yeah, that was the whole point of it.
She was avenging her father's death.
I think legally she changed her name to avoid...
She was offending her father's death through an intricate plan in which
she sleeps with her father's killer in a mansion during a blackout
and rises to power and local government
and then helps facilitate the construction of a nuclear weapon.
It was a pretty long game.
Yeah, but there's no way she was going by the name Al-Gul at that point.
Like there's no way she applied for the job and was like,
hey, what's your name?
Tali Al-Gul.
And, like, Christian Bell was like,
hmm, Al-Gul, I know that name from somewhere.
Huh.
I won't want to be able to.
I believe she was going by Talia Ogould,
uh, Irish Jew.
And no one noticed.
It's actually Talia Ogaul.
It's different.
It's just, it's interesting.
Yes, Talia Aguul.
She was descended from an owl and an animated film, I believe, yes.
Now listen, that's what it's based on.
I'm not saying, I'm not saying that when she was in fucking Gotham, that she was going by Talia O'Gul, because she wasn't even going by Talia in Gotham.
She was going by some other bullshit name that they referred to her until the end of the movie.
But the problem is, is that I read the spoilers and knew she was Talia the whole time.
Wait, her name wasn't Talia in the movie?
No, it was something, oh, fuck.
I can't believe I have to fucking IMDB this with you, motherfucker.
That movie sucks so bad.
I don't remember any of it.
All right, Dark Night Rises.
Her name was like, Rachel.
No, her name was.
Selena?
No, that's Catwoman.
No, that was Selena Kyle.
Her name was, hang on.
Almost there.
Miranda.
Miranda.
Her name was Miranda throughout the whole movie,
and then at the end, we find out she's Talia Aguold.
So no, it's not as, her name wasn't Talia Al-Guld the whole movie.
It was at the end.
because she was fucking Raza Gould's daughter.
And, by the way, you know what, movie?
If you're really trying to keep that fucking fact away that she's not working for the enemy,
don't put her in fucking ceremonial garb before the big reveal.
She's walking around in a goddamn bathroom looking like fucking Razal Ghul,
and then we're supposed to ignore that.
What are they doing, conditioning her for some sort of volcano sacrifice?
No, she's clearly part of them.
Well, if she's being held hostage, she needs like a change of clothes.
That's probably what they have laying around.
Like, hey, put on the ceremonial garb, you know, no big deal.
She's clearly part of the League of Shadows.
All right, let's go back from the hallway fight back to the van falling into the river in our Rocky Inception, which is to say, P.K. and Crosby, do you think Sid cares about any of this?
Do you think it annoys him that there's somebody trying to take a little bit out of him?
And like, has it at all been effective the list?
By the way, if I may pause for another second.
I asked Showtime for the clip yesterday.
They wouldn't give me the clip.
I was watching that Showtime NHL show, which, by the way, no one knew existed.
So I was trying to do him a solid.
And instead, I had to do the transcript of the Crosby-Suban Fuck You Fest that happened
out entering game three.
And by the way, I love Sidney Crosby on so many levels.
I'm going to add another level to it now.
The way that that man wraps his beautiful lips around, you fucking idiot, is actually poetry.
It's legit poetry the way he says it.
Wait, there's a thing on Showtime about the Stanley Cup final?
All right, listen.
Is that true?
Yeah, there's an all-access show.
It's like they're 24-7, but it's on Showtime.
And they ran the clip of Sid and Sue Ban yesterday.
I tried to get it for Puck Daddy, but then they wouldn't give me the clip.
And the reason they didn't give me a clip is they said,
We don't like to send out clips to have profanity.
And I'm thinking to myself, the only reason anyone would watch this fucking show is for the profanity.
Like, wouldn't you want to let people know this profanity on the show?
Way to know your market.
Way to read the room showtime.
Wait, hold on.
We don't want to alien any hockey fans with the F word.
All right.
So Sid Chollett totally should have gotten another penalty.
Also, he's going to win the Kahn Smyth if they win the cup because he was absolutely fucking bonkers in game five.
But I want to dive a little bit deeper on Sidney Crosby today with you, Dave Lozo.
I want to learn a little bit more about Sid.
Oh, great.
I've constructed one of our patented Puck Soup quizzes.
Oh, God.
And it's more of an open-ended question.
It's more of like an essay test, I'd say, than a quiz.
And we can both participate because there are no right answers.
There's just an exchange of ideas.
And the quiz is called, does Sidney Crosby like dot, dot, dot.
I'll name a few things in life, and you tell me whether or not you think Sidney Crosby actually likes them.
Okay.
All right.
Does Sidney Crosby like P.K. Suban?
I know what your answer is to this.
Does Sidney Crosby like P.K. Suban?
Like if P.K. Suban was like, hey, I'm going to go get a bite to eat.
You want to come with me? Would Sidney Crosby ever say yes?
Right. Or if Sidney Crosby is vacationing at his cabin in Kola Harbor,
and P.K. Suban lands his private plane and comes walking out dressed like
you know, the Joker,
would they have lunch together at Sydney's cabin?
No, I'll say no.
I don't think it means he doesn't like him.
I just feel like they're incompatible people
where they're both, like they both realize each guy's like a nice person and fine,
but they just don't want to hang out together probably at all.
I think he likes him because Sid's a dirty player and also because they're both Canadian
and also because like I think Sid at the,
I think Sid knows that, like, warrior to warrior, that if P.K. was on the penguins, they'd be fucking boys.
Like, he likes, he would like to have that element on the penguins.
Do the dirty work so I don't have to.
The Chris Pronger theory.
So I would say that Sidney Crosby likes P.K. Subban.
Oh, yeah.
Like, he would totally take him as a teammate.
But, like, they definitely would not, like, go to, they would go to the club together.
Like, they're, actually, I can't even picture Sidney Crosby out of club, to be honest.
I just don't think they would be like buddies.
Hey, listen, buddy.
Don't get ahead of yourself on the quiz.
Does Sidney Crosby, like, Matt Murray?
Oh, wow.
I know, right?
This is the question that's been vexing me for the entire week
because, like, when people were asking Sid, like, in the locker room,
hey, what do you think about Matt Murray's bounceback ability?
Seems like he's a real big game player, this kid.
You know, Sid's like, yeah, goalies can do.
do that. I'm just like, oh, man.
Wow. Really? You said that.
I mean, he didn't say it
in that sort of a way,
but he didn't necessarily put
Murray in particular over.
It was very sort of a generic,
yeah, you know, goalies are resilient
creatures, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And I said to myself, oh, he must
fucking hate this.
You know what? In Sidney Crosby's defense,
Matt Murray made like two tough saves throughout the
entire duration of Game 5.
Like, if I was in net, I probably could have led
them to a 6-4 win in that game.
Like, Matt Murray did nothing.
But here's what I'm picturing.
I'm picturing the episode of Friends where
Ross is, like, trying to undermine
I forget who it is.
I forget the actual people. But it's a thing
where to undermine somebody
who's like going out with somebody new, you say
their name wrong. So like Rachel's dating Joshua.
So you just said to Rachel like, oh, how's
everything going with you and Jack? And you, oh, you mean Joshua?
And he's like, oh, whatever.
Like, that's what he does with Mark Andre Fleury.
You walked up to Matt Murray and goes, hey, great game flower.
And he goes, my name is Matt.
I'm going to say no.
I'm going to say he does not like Matt Murray.
I think he is resentful of what Matt Murray has done to is BFF.
I think he fucking hates Matt Murray.
I think he looks at what Matt Murray does and says, you know,
replacement level goalie could do this behind our team.
And I think he's super bitter at the way that his boy got done dirty.
His boy carried them for two rounds, had one bad game,
and then was fucking poled.
for basically for
Sullivan's guy.
I think he, I think he,
I don't think he likes Matt Murray much at all.
And I especially don't think he likes his dumb hair.
You know, Sid's a very good looking dude.
He's got some style to him.
And Matt Murray's got that giant fucking,
he looks like fucking Blanca from Street Fighter
with that goddamn hair.
And I don't like it either.
So I don't think Sid likes it.
Wow.
I have literally never until right now
thought for four seconds about Matt Murray's hair.
And you have already assigned him
a street fighter character
that it most
I can't
You can't not see it
You can't not see it
You can't not see it
Does Sidney Crosby like UFC
He referenced UFC
He said we got putting a
Ah shock's on a UFC ankle hold
What do you think
Do you think Sidney Crosby actually likes ultimate fighting?
Yeah
I feel like any dude who's like
Under the age of 30
And like sports likes UFC
That's an easy yes for me
I'd go a
far to say that not only does he like UFC,
I'd say there's probably a 73% chance
that he has participated in an illegal fight club
at some point in his life.
He just, he keeps inviting Matt Murray
so he can wail on him.
Matt, it's fun, it's fun.
It's a guy's club.
It's no big deal.
Right, I thought we were going to go to a club.
We are a club, buddy.
Don't worry about it.
I feel like they're throwing something,
well, maybe not beautiful, but, you know,
somewhat attractive that has nice hair.
Wait, wait, does Matt Murray have nice hair or bad hair?
He has spectacular hair, but he has the hair of like a vine star.
Like, it's big and poofy, and he kind of like slicks it back, almost like a helmet.
Does Cindy Crosby like...
There's no more fun.
But you do what I was talking about, you little shit.
Like somebody from one of those talkies.
He's got hair like a guy in a talkie.
Does Cindy Crosby like music?
Yeah, but it's all bad.
Like, whatever the last five songs are on his, on his, you know,
do people have iPad iPod shuffles?
It's that slow as this?
They're all songs you would not want to listen to, I bet.
I think the last song on Sidney Crosby's playlist is POD's alive.
How's that going in?
I know POD.
I'm still alive.
I feel alive.
Like, Cindy Crosby likes all of the music, all the musical acts at the NHL Awards.
That's, that's all right.
It's ex- ambassadors, and he's like, fucking yes, I love these guys.
Ah, really, Sid?
No piss break for Sid.
Ex-ambassadors is on.
Does Sidney Crosby like Pierre McGuire?
I'm going to say yes.
Yeah, I'm going to say yes, too, because, like, who in life doesn't like somebody who has dedicated their own?
lives to putting you over.
Best player of all time.
Go have fun out
fun out there.
Like I would fucking...
Well, there's that.
But I feel like he also loves Pierre
because Pierre loves hockey
as much as Sid loves hockey.
I feel like they have that connection.
Like all the stuff that annoys us about Pierre,
I bet you Sid loves it.
That's a really good point, actually.
Like, I think he respects anybody who loves the game,
but then also loves him.
So I think those two things combined means
that he definitely likes Pierre McGuire.
How about this? What does Pierre Lovemore?
Sid or assistant coaches?
All right.
Let's look, can I, can I throw a little bomb in that?
Can I throw a grenade in that?
And I question?
Yeah.
Does Pierre McGuire like Sidney Crosby, assistant coaches, or his own Stanley Cup ring more?
It's fucking shameful that he has a fucking stand.
It devalues it.
It devalues it for everybody else.
That's the correct answer, by the way.
Does Sidney Crosby?
like Nathan McKinnon.
Oh, so your, your theory, I think I've heard this, is that Nathan McKinnon's, like, honing in on his Cole Harboredist.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah, they do commercials together because they're both from Coal Harbor.
The sign outside of Cole Harbor is like, it says, Sidney Crosby grew up in Cole Harbor, with, and then way at the bottom of Nathan McKinnon.
Speaking of commercials, has the NHL retired to Taylor Swift bad blood commercial?
Because I like that commercial, and I feel like it went away.
and now I'm getting like double the, you know,
uh,
E-S-P-O-S-I commercials.
Like,
I don't want those commercials.
Yeah,
I'm going to,
I'm going to go ahead and assume it's one of two things.
One,
they had to pay for the rights for a particular amount of time,
and then they had to retire the commercial rolls.
They had to foot another bill.
Or B,
uh,
Katie Perry's people stepped up,
paid the NHL to kill the commercial and continue their feud.
Fucking Katie Perry versus Taylor Swift.
That's a tough one, man.
Like,
I don't,
I don't,
I don't know who I side.
about that. I was thinking about that. I side with Taylor Swift
a million times because Katie Perry has now become this sort of self-important artist
and trying to make statements with her music. And I'm not trying to say shut up and play
the hits, but at least you can channel that through something that sounds like California
girls or some of your other songs. Like her music blows. Yeah, her music blows now because she's
big message artist. And also, I am, listen, I'm a guy who roots of the villain, okay? Let's just
put that out there. And fucking Taylor Swift is Machiavillian in her, in her nastiness. She's brilliant.
She's fucking brilliant. She's built a career on, she's built a career on writing songs about
relationships she, she ruined.
But like, but there's a thing too. All right. So first of all, Katie Perry apparently can't have
socially conscious music. Real nice, Craig. Real nice. Thank you. Thank you.
and like Taylor Swift's breakup songs,
but they're all just like, they're all like
surfaced. Like there's nothing, there's
nothing deep, there's nothing emotional
in there. It's just like, you know,
you know, come, I was
just listening to the new
Spotify stuff before we started talking.
And like all of her, like,
it's just very surfacy. There's no real,
there's no real, like, you know,
I feel like she doesn't put her emotions into it.
I feel like she's totally a
producer studio creative thing.
Right, but it's, it's,
Perry.
Oh, she's
authentic.
Katie Perry is authentic.
She's,
she's what?
She's also hot, too.
I like Katie Perry.
She is very hot.
So is Taylor Swift,
and I'll say this also about Taylor Swift.
She's basically a stat from interview with the vampire.
She just goes from person to person sucking their essence,
and then repurposing it for her music.
I have to respect that.
And also, the way that she trolls Katie Perry is, like,
on a level of stone cold and Vince McMahon.
Wait, hold on the,
The cops are coming to a rescue for that awful thing.
Does Sydney...
We have two more.
Does Sidney Crosby Lake Hawaiian pizza?
Yes, he has to.
First of all, I did not know that I was a Canadian guy.
He invented that until I saw the obituary yesterday.
Yeah.
It all made sense.
I was like, okay.
Now I get it.
Yes, Sam Panopoulos is a Canadian,
a Canadian man who invented Hawaiian pizza, according to the BBC,
a dish so divisive it led to a presidential outburst this year, is what it said.
Yeah, because otherwise our president would not have an outburst otherwise.
Yeah, whatever.
According to Sam, Sam spoke to the BBC in February.
He said about Hawaiian pizza and pineapple, we just put it on, just for the fun of it,
see how it was going to taste.
We were young in the business, and we were doing a lot of experiments.
So I want to know, there's got to be something out there of the pizzas that didn't work
versus the Hawaiian pizza that's it.
It's like pineapple and cat and cat.
Like he was ahead of his time because like now people put peeps on pizza and people are like,
oh, whatever, do what you want?
Like, no, you don't put marshmallows on pizza, you sick fuck?
It's pizza.
Like, oh, what about mayo?
Oh, no, you're not dipping your pizza in mayo.
Why would you ever, like, this guy Sam was probably like doing all this shit like 50 years ago.
And he's like, wait, I put marshmallows on pizza.
So where's my credit?
By the way, the correct answer is that he doesn't like Hawaiian pizza
because the only thing he eats are bags of nutrients given to him by his father.
You're like portraitating him in like a Tiger Woods thing where like his dad is like grinding
to become a superstar?
Like, I don't know if I...
The best example of that, by the way, before Tiger Woods stole that whole meme,
uh, my, my go-to example was always, remember Greg Jeffries of the Mets?
Oh, yeah.
That Greg Jeffries was, yeah, he was a guy that was basically hatched from an egg in his father's
like basement and then given a wiffle ball bat and told to swing it underwater in their pool
until his swing got good.
Well, that worked out for like a year.
Finally, and this harkens back to something you tried to get to earlier in this quiz,
does Sidney Crosby like sex?
Does he like sex?
Yeah, does he like sex?
Any kind of sex.
Does he like making, the act of love making?
Does he like any kind of sex?
See, like, I need kind of sex.
I'm going to say, see, I feel like you wrote this question because you have, like, a setup and a joke, so I'm just going to answer it.
I don't.
No.
This is what I'm talking about.
Like, you always think that I have some sort of ulterior motive.
This is an exploration of a topic, I think, are listeners, would be very interested in figuring out for themselves.
Does Sidney Crosby like sex?
See, like, I think the obvious answer is yes, but I feel like you're going to do a bit where, like, he's having sex.
He's just laying there.
but he's like checking out like, you know, scouting reports on his iPad the whole entire time.
Like, he's just, man, our breakout is just horseshit.
I've got to come back deeper into the zone to help out our deep.
I'm going to come.
Oh, man, look at this.
Matt Murray is just not playing there.
Finished.
Okay, please leave.
Like, that's not what he's doing.
He's, he's, he's, he's, he's, here's the real question.
Is Sidney Crosby good at sex?
I think Sidney Crosby would be great at sex because I think much like faceoffs,
he would apply himself and get better at it.
And I think there's no question that if he wanted to be great at sex, he could be great at sex.
No, the answer for me was, I don't think at this point in his life that Sid cares about sex,
but I think he's really happy to watch Chris Kunitz have sex.
Like, he would be very cool.
I knew it.
I knew there's something there.
You know, he goes to real sports in Toronto behind the velvet rope, and there's somebody who's interested in him.
And then, like, Chris gets to have it, like a little wing mad action.
I feel like that would be the most
fulfilling thing for Sid.
Now, Koonitz is probably married,
and this is just a joke, by the way,
but helping out a teammate,
let's say, in a general sense,
would be the thing that I think makes Sid happy.
Or going on the Chris Koonitz thing,
maybe Sidney Crosby is super awesome at sex,
but he's having a really hard time
finding someone who he can play with,
who is just as good working with him at the sex.
So he's like trying out all these different people,
and like, you know, it's like the supermodel,
supermodel, supermodel, and it's like, no, it's not working.
And then, like, he just finds, like, you know,
like, you're an average girl in Cole Harbor.
And, like, that's perfect.
That's exactly what he wants.
I mean, you're just like, they bring in a supermodel from Atlanta.
She's there for a year, you know.
And, like, all he needed was just, like, somebody that he could connect with on a mental level,
not on a physical level, and that's what made it so great.
That's a lesson for your kids out there.
Sid, we made this amazingly bold move.
We picked up the supermodel from a little bit of a little bit of a little bit of
Toronto. She cost a lot of money.
Ah, give her, give her to Gino.
But, Sid, she's for you.
Ah, Gino could probably use her. It's cool.
I'm in a committed relationship
right now, and I really don't feel like doing anything else
besides. Oh, who's that?
Connor Shiri. Oh, who's that?
So, yeah, you can play
with Gino. It's cool. Oh, hey,
what's your name? Jake.
Jake, what?
Gensel.
Oh, well.
Sidney Crosby, pleasure to meet you.
How about Jake Gensel in game four?
I mean, I have never seen Sidney Crosby
T.F somebody for so many tapping goals
that the guy completely screwed up.
Like, Jake Gensel had three one-timers from point-blank range
and he missed, and then Crosby had the second breakaway
where the puck sat in the crease.
Gensel was like, yeah, I've scored all my goals already.
So I can't.
Yeah, it's awesome.
Yeah, Kansmite winner.
All right, listen, we have an amazing guest.
This is as bizarre an interview as you would imagine
it is.
It's going to
and there.
It's a big.
It's a bear.
Elia Bridge
Goloff is our
guest on Puck Soup
this week.
I had a chance to sit down
with Bridge
in Nashville.
He was here
for the Players
Tribune.
Do check out his
stuff on the
Players Tribune.
It's great.
And check out
the players
tribune in general
because I think
most of the time
they do a really
good job.
There was a
mic bossy piece
that was pretty
good this week.
You know,
they do a good
job.
But this is a conversation.
You got to hear it.
What was your
take on
on Bridge?
It's sort of a preview
for the people as far as what...
I'll preview for the people
as to what to expect from Bridge Ghaloff.
First of all, the Mike Bossy thing,
he writes a letter to his younger self.
Don't know if the player's tribunes
ever done that before.
Got to look into that.
I'll tell you
for his...
I'll tell you right now,
for the first, I believe,
18 to 20 minutes of the interview,
you will laugh
at everything he says.
Like, he's just...
Like, he has, like, that, I always think of Bernie Mac as, like, somebody who, like, is just funny with everything they say.
Like, no matter what he says, it's going to be funny.
Right.
Like, like, like, like, like, fucking, in Ocean's 11 when he's trying to get, when he's, he's trying to get, like, a, like, a van.
And he's, he's getting it from a guy named Bobby Denham, right?
Yes.
Yes.
And he goes, denim, dead him, like a gene.
Right.
It's funny.
And, like, it's not like, it's not like, it's not like you're laughing at Bridges's accent or, like, him not saying smart.
He just has, like, a way about him.
That's really funny.
And you're going to laugh for 20 minutes.
And then for the rest of it, you're going to be like, oh, man, I didn't realize.
I didn't realize Bris was like that politically.
Oh, man.
All right.
No spoilers.
We do get into the USA Russia relationship.
And he said some very interesting things.
And maybe your boy could have been a little bit more prepared at times to deal with the geopolitical conversation.
Followed all the fun stuff.
But give it to listen and tell us what you think.
And we'll be right back.
Eli Brzegalov, this is an honor.
We've been a fan of yours for so damn long.
We've been a fan of yours since the...
It's just hockey.
Creating the universe.
Creating the universe.
The guy create the universe.
You have your friends.
The first thing I want to ask you is now that you're a member of the hockey media,
do you have a new appreciation for all of the stuff that we did?
Do you hate us last now?
Actually, yeah, I do some work for the Players Tribune.
I never hate you guys, basically.
So I don't like when I was.
was communicate with the media when I was a player on professional questions.
That's what pissed me off most.
What would be an unprofessional question?
When they make the statements on something, on my game, maybe on a team game,
but without any explanation and any proof, just make the statement or create the statement
or create there some situation, like they were, they can prove it and can back up,
or it's just some setup, you know, like, for example, I was sleep in a meeting, you know,
like, I never slept in a meeting, you know, like, it's just, and they start make out of this big deal.
It's not even there was a true, you know, that's what pissed me off.
I said, like, guys, how you can come out with this information?
It's because you played in Philly.
you ask me why I don't like it yet
and try to explain you why
you know like
what do you think in Nashville so far
and the atmosphere here and how crazy it is
you know
city changed a lot
you know the compare when I play
city is growing
building
lots of new buildings you know
atmosphere is it's great
I'm a
I didn't be outside yet
I think, I can imagine before the game was going to happen here, you know.
Lots of people, lots of probably some, somebody said they're expecting the huge concert, you know.
I bet it's going to be great after.
What I noticed about Nashville that I didn't realize was how many bachelorette parties there are.
I was out on Broadway last night, and it seemed like every woman getting married in a 50-mile radius is here before they get married with their bachelorette party.
Have you seen any of them?
You know, we
During the day, we was on
Broadway,
we,
with the Players Tribune again,
we shoot some
episodes.
And I didn't ask if they,
for the Bachelor party.
But I see lots of young ladies,
you know, like,
and I don't know
it's the weather or it's just a style
of them, but they doesn't
have much clothes.
They do not.
You know?
Shorts is,
show like so short, I don't know, maybe they doesn't have to put someone to dry.
He's very hot.
I mean, it could be it.
Yeah, but, you know, like, it's so sedusive, you know, like, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, okay, that's the nickname.
Okay, during the night, yeah, we had a nice dinner and watching the Pirates of Caribbean, you know.
How was it?
I'm a family guy.
I try to stay away from the oldest trouble.
You saw the new Pirates of the Caribbean?
Yes.
How is it?
Amazing.
It's good.
I like the movie, all the movies, you know.
You're a big favorite.
Do you have a favorite movie series?
Are you a superhero movie guy?
Do you like Spider-Man and Batman and Marvel movies and stuff or no?
I like all these movies, but, you know, like, uh, you know, like, uh, you have a favorite movie series, you know, like, uh,
difference between Russians and Americans, for example, in America you create those heroes, you know, with the technologies or there's some injections shot with the steroids, you know. You always blame Russians on steroids, but if in the movies you're watching the movies here in the United States.
Captain America literally was created by steroids. Yeah. In Russia, we have different. In Russia, we was naturally born heroes.
but I still like those movies
How do you feel about Pecorene
getting all that grief in this series so far
You talked to him yesterday, right?
Yeah, there is no surprise
He seems like in a good mood
Oh, in a good mood
Do you always get too much blame
I guess I'm trying to ask you?
Always, right?
Yeah, like who else you can blame?
Right. It's unfair, though.
It is. It is.
He knows if he play poorly, and you don't have to remind him again.
Right.
You know, can't imagine how much pressure he has on his shoulders.
And, you know, he needs to just eliminate the small mistakes, and he will be fine.
It kind of goes back to what you said before, though, like, the media doesn't know shit about gold hunting.
Like, we don't know anything about gold time.
We look at a goalie, we look at the numbers, we see he gave up four goals on 28 shots.
But, like, we have no concept.
Even those of us who have played hockey probably have not been goaltenders.
And yes, you probably write again because goal-to-goal different.
Yeah.
You know, it's sometimes, like, I remember, yeah, we play in Nashville, and Jiggy.
Jiggy played a game.
And Nashville only got, like, we got, like, we outshot them, like, I don't know, 40,
15 something like that
and he gave up three goals
but look by the
starts you can say what the hell
he did in the net in the whole game
but every single of this shot was
a 2-1-3-on-1
breakaways you know the quality
of the scoring chance
you might see yeah you know this is
what's the important
or you can have like a
40 night
or 40 shot night
but all this shot was by period
Limiton from the boards, blue line, when you can see this.
Oh, what an amazing game he played.
Really?
He got no trouble.
He sees everything shots from the board.
And sometimes they put some NHL, like, shot from the, like, from the red line.
He dumped it.
Oh, okay.
And then shit heads and like me around my keyboard going.
He stood on his head.
He faced 60 shots.
Excuse me.
It's fine.
You're allowed to be sick.
Yeah.
What do you do when you're sick?
What's your remedy?
Is there some Russian remedy that you take when you have a cold?
Sauna.
Sauna.
What is it?
Yeah, sauna.
Salmon?
Salmon?
No, sauna.
Banya.
Banya.
Banya.
Sauna.
You know, like sauna when you go in...
Oh, like a sauna?
Yeah.
So you go to the sauna, you take a steam.
Yeah.
S-A-U-N-A-A- Yeah, yeah.
You take a steam.
Yes.
That's a week away.
We take a steam.
Okay.
Steam room is different.
Than a sauna.
Sauna is different.
You know, steam room is when there's a...
Intensity.
It release the water steam.
Yeah.
Sound is different.
It's dry.
So you go dry sauna.
Yeah.
And when you're sick, this is, you sweat out.
Yeah, if you have no fever.
You sweat it out.
Yeah.
If you have no fever, you get so hot.
And after you jump in the cold water, get back to the sun again, get hit up again.
They tell you to only spend about 10 or 15 minutes in the sauna.
If I sometimes spend 40 minutes in the sauna, I like to feel really lightheaded.
It depends on the temperature.
And again, what kind of sound in that?
If it's like a steam room, yeah, you can sit 40 minutes.
For example, if it's going to be Russian called Russian Banya,
you can sit out there for 40 minutes.
Do you like a hot tub?
Even the ambulance is not going to help you out.
Do you like a hot tub too?
You know what I did for the first time when I was in New Zealand was the hot springs.
So I've never been in a natural hot spring before.
You ever been in one of those?
No, I bet it's amazing.
It's amazing.
And it's like, it smells like sulfur.
It's supposed to make your skin feel good.
It's supposed to re-energize you naturally.
Natural spring, because, yeah, it's lots of minerals inside, you know.
Like, it's good for the skin, good for the body, you know.
Let's talk about space.
You brought it up before.
Yeah, what do you want to know?
Do you, well, I want to know if you, do you think we're ever going to colonize Mars?
No.
Why not?
Absolutely.
Because of money?
It's not because of the money.
We've got no new technologies.
Eventually we'll have the technologies.
We're always getting better technologies.
Do you think we're always going to be stuck here?
Do you think we're going to be living someplace else one day?
We're stuck here.
And we've got to take care of our planet.
That's the problem.
The problem is we're stuck here and we don't take care of the planet.
Because by Einstein rules, Einstein rules.
Nothing can move faster in the speed of light.
Right.
Okay, if you even
Take the, for example,
you see the soul
Yes, the salt shaker here, yes.
It's light, right?
Yes.
If you start
moving this soul
With the higher and higher
And higher and higher speed
It became more heavy
And heavy and heavier object
Right.
Because, and for moving
Even faster and faster
This object
You need to move
more and twice more energy than it creates more mass.
There is no such a...
There is no...
Propulsion.
Energy to move this.
You know, that's why we can move with the speed of life.
Right.
Nothing's speed.
So even if we were able to cryophrase our bodies for a long space voyage,
we still wouldn't have enough power to power a spacecraft to an inhabitable planet.
Yes, yes.
That's why a lot of people believe...
Because it's supposed to be...
Can you imagine a huge...
a huge ship
to travel for interstellar.
Right.
Can you imagine how much energy
you need to move
that spaceship?
Right. Because the ship is going to keep on
getting more masses. You can move slowly
like five miles like a snail,
but you can fly forever.
That's why I think the key is wormholes, my friend.
If we were able to fold the galaxy
unto itself and find a way to go
through the wormhole to another part of the gull.
We have no idea. It's just a tear.
about the warm black holes.
It is a theory.
But they have no idea what is it in reality.
That's true.
You talked about...
And how we can, like, yeah, it's just a theory and thinking.
And we don't know about space anything.
Can I ask you a question about extraterrestrials?
Yeah.
My theory is that we may not have been visited by inhabitants of other planets,
but rather interdimensional beings that live in a different dimension.
Do you, more of a, we've been visited by visitors of other planets, or we haven't been visited at all?
Oh, you're just cursing right now, or what?
Do you think that space aliens have visited the Earth?
I think so. If we exist, what do you think?
This humongous, big universe, there is no life?
No. No, of course there's life. Yes.
How you know I'm not an alien?
I've had my thoughts, but I'm pretty sure that you're.
not because, you know, if we go, I mean, listen, if Americans go around calling every Russian we meet aliens, you know, what are we going to do? It's a very rude thing to say. I think we have, I don't know if I necessarily buy that the government has, like, talked to an alien, but I feel like there has to be some exploration. I don't know if they're coming from another planet. They might just be like coming from a different dimension, a different earth maybe, like in another reality. Yeah, there was a dimension, different dimensions. I'm pretty sure. Yeah. And I don't feel. I don't feel. I don't feel.
I think so even the government knows something about this.
No.
Extraterestials, living beings or whatever to say.
And it probably scares the shit out of them.
But they're looking, they're watching.
I'm pretty sure.
Somebody look over us.
You mentioned Humangas Big, and it makes me think of you on 24-7,
which makes me remember that you played for La Violet.
Has he changed since you played for him?
Do you think he's a different guy now?
Did you like playing for him?
what do you think the person
who's like
he's probably 50 something years old
can he change
this depends on your experience
if you've been humbled by something
in life
like gang fired
maybe that's like Tororella changed
he used to be
come on he changed a little bit
he used to be a gigantic asshole
and now he's just a smaller asshole
I think that
what can really change the people
it's not like firing from the job
Right.
It's something what's changed his life dramatically.
It's maybe connecting with the, it's probably with the life and death.
Yeah, as you get older.
You stare into the abyss of your own mortality.
When you just fire, okay, like a year later they hired you again.
Yeah.
Yeah, maybe you said, oh, I'm not going to do that again.
And you still like, you know, people, very rarely change when they got 50.
and 40, like after the 30 years old.
So, do you think he's different?
I don't think so.
Nice, same guy.
Did you like playing for him?
At least, at least he's not given the answer about who's playing tonight, you know?
He's changed, you know?
No matter how many times he was going to ask.
Did you like playing for him?
Was he right?
We have difficult and tough relationships, I would say that way.
Yeah.
It happens, right?
He has some, he has some one view on a hockey.
I have some different view on a hockey.
Because it's America, he has a right for this.
I have a right to have my view on a hockey.
Yes.
Is it free country, right?
It is free.
The government cannot make a law that restricts your speech on how you feel about hockey.
That's why I'm saying that.
How do you feel about America right now?
It's a weird time for us in Russia, I feel like.
I feel like we've made Russia the big bad again, but I also feel like our president is...
America, it's...
But all the thing is going on after the Trump elections,
they exaggerating everything.
About Russia.
And about Russia, yeah.
It's like, you can't even imagine how silly America look
in front of the whole world, how they look at this situation.
Do you mean who we elected?
No.
You mean how we're trying to Russia?
Like all this, like, oh, they was interfered.
this fancy bears was choose our president
he was connected to the Russian KGB or whatever
it's so silly
if you drop the ball
Democrats just accept it
regroup and try to win another elections
don't blame to someone you know
it's a worst thing it shows the weakness
of the people when they start blame
someone
on your losses
It's what people have said, which is that they need to inspire people rather than simply trying to find the reason why they lost the election.
Yeah, I know. You lost, okay. It's like, we lost. We got some four years to regroup. We've got to find the reasons why we lost.
Not sitting and crying and saying like, oh, we lost because of the Russian hackers. Russia get involved. I'm pretty sure they're not involved.
They, they hacked us. They very much hacked us. I don't know how much.
I don't know how deep it goes, but the thing is, though, Brig.
You know, hold on.
We interfere in everybody else's elections.
Oh, exactly.
Right, so it happened to us this one time, and now we're all really pissed off about it.
What's the name of the A&B?
No, no, no, like.
National NSA.
Oh, the NSA, yeah.
They look, they listen, watching everyone around the world.
Even if it's Russian, have a right.
do that. Do
United States have a right to do that?
When I was in Sochi cover in the Olympics,
I made sure that I walked around my
hotel room naked at all times because I just assumed
I was being filmed. I wanted to give them a show.
You know, like, it's
a double standards.
If you doing
illegal stuff, if you interfere
with the elections in a different country,
if it's somebody
interfered with the election in your country,
you don't have to
complain. Right. Because if
have a right to do that, other countries have a right to do that too.
Yeah.
Oh, hold on.
What are you talking about?
Ah, United States exception nation?
Right.
Except, yeah, we do that a lot.
But it sounds like, you know what sounds like, you know?
Yeah.
One man already said, like, long time ago, we exception nation.
So you're saying we look kind of foolish right now.
It is.
It's just, you know.
That's never good.
look, it's look silly, you know, be honest, you know, like, it's just, because...
But do you like Trump? Do you like Trump?
You know, I like his ideas.
Yeah.
You know, it's, I'm understanding, you know, it's, they got to understand all the, all
the Republicans. They got some majority right now in the Congress, in the Senate, and president.
They better unite it and do something bad, do something good for the country.
You have the chance and now you got to.
Do something good for country and you take this White House, Congress and Senate for the long time.
If they're not going to do something right now very well for the country, they're going to lose it for long.
Yeah.
Because right now, yeah, country in the crisis.
Huge debt.
Big unemployment.
Country is divided.
Try to unify the country first.
Bring some, yeah.
He say right things, you know, like we should bring the...
all these factories back you know yeah we should hire the more people yeah we start we gotta stop worry
about what's the behind the borders you know it's not our business we don't have to interfere with
that do you um does it make you mental that we're so obsessed with politics in this country
like it seems like you mean you can't go anywhere without it being we're fuck we're doing it here on a
podcast you know yeah like i don't care about politics here i don't think so yeah people more
obsessed with the politics than in Russia.
Yeah. Really? Yeah.
You don't talk about it there.
Yeah. Here is a, if you're watching TV, for example, I don't watch it like CNN, Fox News
and all this channel, and I don't think so. I don't hear people talk about politics.
Yeah. Like in Russia for me. Do you think that we can be friends? I don't mean me and you.
I feel like we're friends already. I mean our countries.
It is. Like at the end of Rocky 4 when Rocky said that we can, we can change, we can all
When they realized that in a United States government to try to change the Russian government and Russian people and Russian mentality and Russian culture, I think they get along.
And lots of troubles will be eliminated in the world.
Because this is the big problem, for example, with the Middle East.
When you try to bring the democracy to the Middle East,
first of all, you got to ask these people if they want that democracy.
If they're ready for that democracy, no.
And why we try to give them that?
They absolutely doesn't want that.
That's why they start fighting against it.
Do you think our countries have more in common than we think?
You love our movies, like you said before?
Yes.
I think, you know, like, we have lots of common things.
Yeah.
But, and you got to respect the opinions of the different people here in the United States.
For example, why the United States is a government don't respect the opinions of the different country.
It's a good example with this.
For example, they have some problem with the, you know, with the gays and lesbians, insin-a-law.
Sorry, no, you've got to respect that.
Why are you not trying to change that in Saudi Arabia?
Yeah.
Oh, we're very selective.
Yeah.
Oh, we are very, very selective.
You see my point?
Yeah.
Well, it's like the thing came out.
We were protesting the election results in some country,
but we never, ever, ever, ever address the elections in Saudi Arabia.
Yeah.
And it makes us look bad.
Yeah.
Because it makes us look very hypocritical.
That's why you got, like, you got to understand, like,
this is the
country
it's an independent country
they have their own history
they have their own rules
even like I said
they want to change the government in Russia
they wants to Putin left the country
they changed like the same regime here
which would be tough because he wins every election with 99% of the vote
just think about
just think about
they succeed
it became a revolution like in the 1917.
It's only the way the cow changed.
Right.
Do you know how many nuclear weapons in the country?
Yeah, a lot.
And can you imagine...
If it became destabilized, what would happen?
Disability.
All kinds of different peoples with all kinds of different mentality
start control that?
Not only one.
You're saying that you'd end up.
with a North Korea of Russia.
You know, there'd be somebody in those new Russian states.
Maybe, I don't know some gangsters are going to be in control of the sum of it.
Another than going to be government control, you know, like when you divide, you know,
the country, when there's no control.
Yeah.
And say, like, oh, my God, I always hate, for example, the Europe or America, and, like, boom.
We don't want that.
Exactly.
Like, why are you pushing it?
What are you asking me?
I'm not part of the government bridge.
No, we're just, you know, we're just talking.
Why are they pushing?
What are they thinking?
I think when it comes to Putin, they feel like, I mean, I think that they fear his strength in some ways.
I think they get worried about what the ultimate goals for his regime are.
I don't think they like human rights violations.
I think they feel threatened by it.
But like you said, it all comes down to also the acquisition of natural resources across the planet
and the fact that you have two countries vying for them.
You know, like you guys are going after oil and gas
and we're going after oil and gas.
That's what it all comes down to eventually, right?
Trying to divide up the world to see which one of our countries
gets the most stuff along with China.
And we came back again to our previous conversation.
If you have that right, why Russia doesn't have that right?
Well, it's a great question because we don't have it.
We shouldn't have that right.
We feel like we always do.
But if you're doing that...
Because we think we know best.
Yeah.
If you do in that,
actually other countries have the opportunity to do that too.
See, as an American, it's always fascinated me what...
It's kind of like when you...
When you look at the earth from the moon,
rather than looking at the moon from the earth.
Like, I have a hard time as an American
putting myself in the shoes of a Russian
and then seeing what you see in the U.S.
Right?
Because there's a sort of indoctrination
when you're an American to look at Russia as the enemy.
It's because of the propaganda.
Do you see us the same way?
Do you see us as the enemy?
Like, does someone in Russia see the U.S.?
You got to understand.
In United States propaganda.
And in Russia, they have some propaganda about United States.
Same thing because the United States have a propaganda
about Russia and Soviet Union in the past.
Is it the same type of propaganda, though?
You know, yeah, it's a brainwashed people.
Right.
Simply just brainwashed.
They doesn't know anything.
They have no clue.
You know, for example,
I have a great conversation with one of my friends.
He said, like, when I was in the school, they tell us, like, when you, in Soviet Union,
you just walk to do school and go home, kids, like, and you're sitting home, you do nothing.
I said, like, what are you talking about?
We have some free education, free medicine.
I can go play hockey.
Government provide me the free eyes, free equipment, free trips.
I can do whatever
If I want to play ping pong, same thing
Yeah
So I don't know that
Obviously you're not
Because they never tell you that
Yeah
Because of the machine
Propaganda machine
It's not tells you to bright sides
They only tells you the dark side
So the bottom line here I think
Is that you think that there is a
Propaganda problem here in the States
Where we might have a war view of Russia
Because of the information that works at
Anything else that's accurate?
I don't think so in goes that deep because, like, for example, this propaganda goes for the because of the, some organization needs more money, more budget from the Congress.
This is my view, you know, because if you look at how the United States and Russia cooperate, for example, in Syria, there is no incidents out there.
They're flying planes, warships, like out there.
There is no incident.
They just get along fine.
Right.
You know?
But when they get back here, they look, talking, talking, talking, talking.
I'm sure the same way over there, too, yeah.
Yeah, create some atmosphere.
It's a, we in front of the huge disaster.
You know, oh, and we need some more money.
Congress signed the bill, you know, we need some more money.
Are you talking about the military industrial complex?
Yes.
I agree.
High five on that one, buddy.
because that's the big issue here.
There always has to be a way to fund that.
Okay.
For example, it's even my...
This is my thinking, you know, like NATO organization.
Yeah.
For example, I'm a president of the United States.
Even if it's Putin, wants to take over
Baltic, Baltics country, you know, like half a euro,
United States will do nothing.
You don't think we'll do anything?
No.
Why not?
We love a good world.
We don't have a world war.
Used to, yes.
We don't have the appetite anymore?
Put yourself as a president of the United States.
Okay.
President of Prashinsky.
You sit down and say, like, okay, for example,
some of the country, Russian Federation took the half a year.
Should we act?
You have some old advisors that said, like,
they have
so many
weapons
nuclear weapons
because many of them
is going to be landed
in our territory
and destroy our country
but like you said though I mean like at the end of the day
are we ready
what you're ready is to sacrifice
your citizens
your kids
like United States citizens
kids family wives
you know senior citizens
to protect
some of the European countries
existence of the United States
you're not because
if it's going to be
not going to be
a real threat for your own
country you're not going to be
act
now in theory you're right
which is why we don't have a draft
because nobody actually wants
their own kids to go to war they want someone else's kids to go to war
there is not going to be war
and the minute and the
minute something happens on the homeland, we all freak out.
But that said, like, it goes back to what you said earlier, which is that if there's money
to be made in a war, we're probably going to go to war.
No, no, there's a difference right now.
You're not going to make any money.
It's going to be threat existence.
Same thing in the United States is a country itself, because there is nothing going to be left.
Nobody going to make any money.
Same thing in Russia, because these two countries can destroy whole.
I'm saying it would be the end of the world.
End of the world.
End of the world.
Exactly.
Armaged.
Yes.
Because they have the ability.
They have some, these rockets and enough nuclear bombs to destroy all world.
Russia and the United States, only two countries.
This is my point.
You know, there's nobody can make the money.
Right.
That's why, you know, like I said, like, it's not just to, you know, take the money more from the budget.
Right.
So there you go.
I think we've come to some level of understanding
about a place of the world.
It's my view.
You know, I didn't see it's right.
You know, like, I'm a mistake.
We all know you've got your shit together.
So now we respect that view.
Let's end on a couple of lighter questions.
Can you give me the three scariest bears in your world?
The three bears you fear most.
White bear.
Because he's a biggest, polar bear.
Yeah, yeah, biggest.
Yeah.
that'd be the one you would
more than a grizzly more than a black bear
second of all is a
probably
Russian bear
brown bear
and third one
brisly bear me
is it brisly bear
was it true that you wouldn't
you didn't want to go to winnipeg
because they didn't have any parks
you know
we just lost
the game
yeah it was a playoff game right or something
yes we're out of the playoff
and they come out of the playoff
with this kind of question to me right away with the coyotes and they were maybe going to relocate
yeah we were swept by the detroit you know and they come up right away with this kind of person
are you going to the winnipeg I was so pissed off I was so upset you know like I didn't have a good
game you know like I'm like basically I don't care you know like you said you wouldn't go
because they'd have any parks it's one of the greatest things I've ever heard is
Four bastards up there just want their team back and you're like,
I'm never going to play in your city because you have no.
I didn't mean to offend the people.
You know, I just was so upset, so pissed on.
All right.
Finally, I know that our listeners will never forgive me
if I don't get you to judge my impression
of you that I do on our show.
I do your voice.
Did you like to hear it?
Yeah.
I will never play in Vinipack because there are no parks.
It's perfect, right?
It's like looking into a mirror.
Excuse me
No that was actually
Yeah
Oh you tried to see
That was yeah
That was your voice that I just
Yeah that was me doing you
Oh I'm sorry maybe I thought you're clearing your throat
Yeah
Eli Brechalloff when you're not
Working for the players
What are you doing?
I try to take care of my family
Taking care of your kids
Yeah
Coach my son
Yeah
You know
Take care of the house
To get my family wife
Well, you've brought us hours of endless joy existing in this world.
So thank you for everything you've done and continue to do.
Your playostrid and stuff is hilarious.
Your stuff of the All-Star game is really funny.
Okay, thank you.
It's really, really good.
Yeah, we tried a little bit, loosen up the league.
Well, that was the thing.
Like, at the end of the day, and this is something we've always done on the blog and on the podcast.
Like, the NHL needs to loosen up.
And, like, you kept it loose, and that was the best.
I hope people like it.
Because it's all I do, it's for the people.
Do you the best.
All right, Ilya Brejah, ladies and gentlemen.
Now, I hope that he did stick around through the geopolitical conversations at the end where I, you know,
I had a feeling that people would think I was going to whip out and not have him judge the impression.
But he judged the impression.
And he kind of knows sold it.
I thought he'd be more impressed with how accurate it is.
I don't know. I feel like if I ever did Christopher Walker in front of Christopher Walker, I don't think he would enjoy it.
Nobody wants that.
Christopher Walker would be like, have you ever heard of a gentleman by the name of Jay Moore?
Dave, your voice, I've heard it a million times better than this.
All right. Real quick, let's put it.
Oh, by the way, thanks to Bridge Ghaloff in the player's reunion again for setting that up, but it is a dream.
my dream has always been to have him on a podcast, and here he is on ours.
So I hope people dug it.
So real quick, before we get back into the hockey stuff, thank you everybody for buying tickets to the Monday, June 26th, Puck Soup Live podcast at Union Hall.
Sold out in the course of two days, Dave Lozo.
Hey, what's up?
Sorry.
That's fine.
Sold out in two days.
So thank you to everybody who is coming.
we're going to have some special guests, some people that you like, some new people to the podcast,
and it's going to be a really fun time.
So thanks to everybody.
It'll be a nice kiss off to the summer.
It's the first Puck Soup end of schools out for summer podcast spectacular.
Yeah, less than three weeks, too.
Today's the 10th.
We're doing the 26th.
Yeah, I've got to start figuring out what the fuck we're doing.
Yeah, I better start getting healthy because I feel like coughing on a stage for two hours probably isn't going to be.
what the people want.
Oh, nope.
It says here, the sub-title
here on the Union Hall website is
Celebrate the Death of Dave Lozo
live on stage.
It's going to be fantastic.
I'll just do the whole thing from a coffin.
Just knock on it whenever you need me to come out
and do a Patrick Line impression.
I'll be fine.
If you do it in a coffin, sir,
you have to come out and do a Bella Legosi impression.
Eddie.
Eddie, where is my head to win, Eddie?
Hello, I need my NyQuil.
I'll port to the show.
my people hunted like an animal um so uh so all right so shan lehi and alitama right now if you're listening to this
that's he had a fucking he had a fucking yes we forgot to mention lehi's been behind me the entire time
we've been doing the show he's waving because we're on the on the radio and uh but he's fine
i got i got him he was out drinking until like like like three o'clock in the morning last night
I got him a sausage egg and cheese
cheeser from Starbucks and he's doing fine now
so everything's cool.
Wait, wait, wait, Lehi was off the 3 in the morning last night.
Layi, put up how many fingers you were out
until last night. He's got
like 6th. Oh my God. Yeah, 3.
He's out to 3 o'clock last night.
I can't get that guy that came out for one beer after a Ranger
playoff game. I got to get on the train, Lozo.
All right, fine. 3 a.m.
Fucking Leahy.
Do I tell the story about how he almost got into a fight here?
With Leahy?
No, no, no, no.
I'm not going to reveal any of the names, but I'll simply say this.
We were at Tutsi's one night.
I think I said this on the other podcast, but I'll tell it again.
We were at Tutsis one night, and a bunch of bros were trying to glom onto our table
because we were on the roof deck of this bar,
and they were trying to glom onto our table by plying us with buckets of beer.
Sure.
And one member of our party decided he didn't want one of the beers that was being offered.
and
and so
and so
the gentleman
Brodush
let's call him
from
from Pittsburgh
who's there
visiting
for the game
Brodush then
turns to my friend
and says
come on
don't be a pansy
have a beer
to which
my friend goes
and let's see
if you can guess
which friend it is
Dave Lozo
did you just call me
a pansy
and
and this
rather tall gentleman, then basically threatened to kick this guy's ass for calling him a pansy for not having one of the beers he bought us.
Wait, there was an actual throwdown?
There was almost, it came frighteningly close to that if the guy, if dude bro wasn't, if douche bro didn't sulk away from our table.
I think it actually would have gotten to it.
Our friend was not having it, sir.
You want to hear a good similar story about somebody offering beers and stuff going sideways?
Please do.
2009 Stanley Cup final.
We are in the hotel bar at the Marriott, the Renaissance Center in Detroit.
And at this point of the series, it is two games to none in favor of Detroit.
Detroit won the first two games.
And we go back to the hotel and the bar is closed.
It's a hotel bar.
so it shuts down at like midnight, and we're like, shit, man, I really want a beer.
And there was this brother and sister who had come from Pittsburgh to Detroit,
and they brought downstairs with them a case of like Natty Light in a backpack,
and it was like, we'll take you.
And so in our group is my friend Brad,
who is the son of the GM of the Detroit Red Wings, Ken Holland.
Whoa.
These two Pittsburgh people don't know this.
and they spent the hour and a half
because we had no choice
because they were our only source of beer
ripping every move Ken Holland had made
for about five years
like this
this jackass sign this guy
this guy overpaid for this guy
and like Brad like a professional just sat there
and just took it, didn't reveal who he was
for a full hour while we sat there and drank
beers like the second he walked away he was like
that's the hardest thing I've ever done in my life
it's funny
that's good
All right, so listen,
the,
um,
uh,
all right,
uh,
on this series real quick,
uh,
before we get to other stuff that's not the Stanley Cup final.
I was,
I was at the end of game five,
the penguins have just,
just beaten the living shit out of the Predators.
And I said to myself,
if there's a way to award the cup tonight and just cut to the chase,
let's do it.
Because like,
even if the Predators win game six,
which is occurring 48 hours from we do this podcast,
they're not winning in Pittsburgh in a game 7.
Like Pecker-René can't win there.
Well, yeah, that is kind of a problem.
The bigger problem is if Ryan Ellis can't play.
If Ryan Ellis is done for the series, they're not going to win game six.
I don't know what his status is for game six at this point.
But yeah, like it just really, again, it feels like Boston, Vancouver where, like,
even if Pecker-Renay tosses a 31-save shutout in game six,
you have no confidence in him.
And also in game five, I wouldn't classify anything.
the goals he allowed is bad goals.
But at the same time, it's like, you know,
buddy, you got to, you got to make a save, man.
Like, you need to kind of get your glove
in front of something. But here's a thing.
But what do you do? I think it's okay.
I think it's okay to expect him to stop something
like the first goal. Like, I know it's on the power play, whatever.
But like, when it's clear that the reason
they won game for, where they were leaky
as shit on defense was
because of him, like, making
spectacular saves. Like, it's
a reasonable expectation
that your goalie could do that for another game.
game. But he can't in Pittsburgh for whatever reason.
But here's the thing, though. What do you do?
Like, you can't go to Saros.
You can't bank on him to win two games.
And, like, if Saros had come in in game five and tossed a shutout for two periods
and the Predators lost three, two, then okay, maybe.
But you could just tell. The second he came in the game, this is a guy who really
hasn't played at all in the playoffs, the pace of the game was too quick for him on the
fourth goal. He just was not ready to move across. He was not ready for that.
Not ready for prime time.
You cannot, you can't, as bad as Renee has been in Pittsburgh.
Like, Elaine Vigno, I'll say it to the day I die, should have put in Corey Schneider for game seven.
I don't care how good Luongo was in Holmanette series.
All signs pointed to Longo imploding.
And again, he didn't really have a terrible game seven, but you should have gone to Schneider.
You can't, you're stuck.
You're boxed in.
You have to use Pecker Renee.
It sucks because he's probably going to be the reason why you don't win the series one way.
But like you said, though, like it's different because he's actually the guy that could,
in theory give you a chance to win.
Like the other guy can't give you a chance to win.
Yeah, it's a tough one.
I do hope that, I mean, listen,
all the Pittsburgh fans out that they get so pissed baby
about the way that Nashville has been treated in this series by the media,
like, let it be known at this point.
I don't care.
I'm rooting for her.
I mean, I'm rooting for Pittsburgh to win game six because I miss my wife and dog.
And also I'm out of clean underwear.
So now I'm sniff testing and recycling.
But also, like, I'm,
okay if we go to game seven because I said penguins in seven anyway so I'll look like a genius.
I don't have a rooting interest in this series at this point.
Maybe I did in game three because everybody who was here in Nashville wanted to feel what that
party was like and didn't want to see a sweep necessarily.
But like that's the, I can say honestly, the game three is the only game personally
where I was pulling for Nashville.
I mean if the series ends Sunday, that's a really nice day to end the series because
then like I can kind of, you know, I'm not, I'm not like,
on vacation the second the series ends or anything,
but, like, I just, I wouldn't mind starting a new
week with no more hockey to watch.
I'm totally fine at Pittsburgh wins game six, but
they're not gonna. They're just not.
I know.
Like, they're gonna, they're gonna,
it's gonna be just like the Ottawa series where they steamroll
Ottawa in game five, game six,
the Predators at home fighting for their lives.
They'll scrape out a win, and then
game seven will be a toss-up, and Pittsburgh
will probably win when Pecker-Rine gets beat from
three-quarters of the rink by Ron Hainzy
shot.
Ron Hainesie scored.
Rod Hainesi, God's sakes.
I know.
Oh, my God.
Do you consider this at the end of the day?
Let's say the Predators don't win.
Do you consider this at the end of the day a giant what-if series because Johansen got hurt in the previous round?
Does it change things?
Does it change things measurably if Forsberg, Johansson, and Arvetson are still a line coming into the series?
Well, I don't think if Ryan Johansson's playing the first two games, pecker.
Rennet is suddenly good in those two games.
You know what I mean?
Like the Predators held them without a shot for 37 minutes without Ryan Johanssen.
Like if Ryan Johansson's there, do they even do that?
Like, do things still fall in the place the same way?
Then you have games three and four where Nick Padino doesn't play,
where like the center depth kind of gets offset a little bit,
and they roll them at home.
And then you lose game five by seven or six, whatever, that of being.
I don't know if Ryan Johansson would have made that big of a difference in the series
unless it was the power play.
But then again, on the power play,
for whatever reason,
they refused to move the puck below the circles.
They just want to one-time it from just outside the dots
with, you know, Echholm or Ellis or Yossi.
So I don't know.
Like, I understand why you would say that,
but I don't know if he really would have made that big a difference
at this point of the series.
I also understand, like, when that subject comes up,
Penguins fans are like, Yon's no, Crystal Tang's not been there.
I'm like, yeah, Yon's know that.
Youins know you made the cup final without Chris LaTang,
and youans know that the Predators made the conference final
on the strength of Peca Rene in the first round,
and then the strength of their one line that was doing fucking great.
I'm not saying they were a one-line team,
but I'm saying that line just tore it up until Johansson got hurt.
So it's a different equation for both teams.
I think that maybe they find a way to win one of those games in Pittsburgh,
or at least have a line you could put out there
and be confident that they can respond offensively
to a Pittsburgh burst of offense
because right now it's just like
if you're Pittsburgh and you suck
and you need somebody to step up in game five
you have no less than three options
you have Sizzline, you have Kesslin Malkin.
If you're Nashville, you don't have that.
And you did have that at one point
with that Johansen line
and now you don't have it anymore.
Philip Foresburg's been bad.
He's not been good.
I feel like he's been kind of...
Hold on. Hold on. That's not true. That's not true.
He's been good if you look
at the underlying numbers. He's been really good, actually.
But he hasn't put any goals on the board
outside of the empty netter, and that's been the real issue.
I feel like he's kind of, whatever
he's getting off shots, like it's his little
draw and snap it
shot that never gets on net.
You know what I mean? Like, he's coming down the right wing, he pulled
it close to his body, and then he tries to snap it
through the D man's legs, and then it goes, like,
off the glass. Like, he keeps doing that.
And again, again, like,
underlying numbers are great over the course of 82 games,
but in a seven-game series, like,
again, like, somehow, Gini Malkin has
lost the grip on the conspite while he has three goals,
three goals in the Stanley Cup final at five games.
So at some point you have to put the puck in the net if you're Philip Forsberg.
If Freddie Goddrow is putting three pucks in the net,
you've got to put in one at some point.
Game six would be a nice time to start if you're the Predators.
It would be, guys.
All right, moving on.
Boeh, blah, blah, blah.
Coaching.
Bob Boogner apparently going to the, Bob Boehner.
Sorry.
Bob Boehner.
I was never so disappointed as a kid until I found out how he pronounced his name.
Oh, it was so disappointing.
Bob Boehner.
Bobby Boehner.
Going to the Florida Panthers.
That's Bob McKenzie's other off-season nickname.
It's Bobby Margarita.
And then Bobby Bonner.
You don't hear about that in other podcasts.
Yeah, and he hasn't changed his Twitter handle to Bob Boner, typically.
That's kind of on the down low, I think.
Bob Boner.
has put in his time, man.
He was the coach of the Spitz, and he was an assistant in Columbus,
and an assistant, I guess, in San Jose or whatever.
But, like, he's a very highly regarded on the way up kind of coach.
And an interesting one, because I think we all assume that Florida was waiting for Phil Housley
to come available after this playoff series here.
I think they still are, though, aren't they?
Like, they've interviewed Boner.
I'm just like I call it Boner.
They've already interviewed Boner.
According to the other Bob Boner, Bob McKenzie,
they've offered Bob Boner.
And they're saying that, where is it,
barring any last minute hiccups, Florida and Bob Boner
are closing in on a deal for him to be the Panthers new coach.
But I don't understand.
Boy, the Panthers are such a weird team.
So they wait the entire postseason.
They want Phil Housley.
They're dying for Phil Housley.
Literally, Phil Housley's season might end 36 hours.
All right, let's just go with Bobby Boner.
Wait, you've waited this whole time for Phil Hous?
Nah.
All right, you really blew, the Boner guy really blew us away.
Vinny Viola's like, hey, what's with this guy making us wait, huh?
And they're like, Vinny, like, he's literally the assistant coach of the Nashville Predators.
They're playing in the Stanley Cup final.
Hey, nobody makes a Vinny Viola wait.
And then they hire.
Bobby Boner, you know what they call him Bobby Boner, right?
He doesn't get the Bobby Bona reference.
Oh.
His press conference is going to be a leather jacket with Boner in end quotes on the back of it.
You're part of the team now, baby.
No, here's what they're going to do.
On that back, like, fake me hang up where it has, like, all the Panthers logos and, like, a sponsor.
You know, it's going to be like Cialis or Viagra.
Oh, Synergy, baby.
We got some synergy here for Bobby Bona over here.
It's why I'm the owner, babe.
Come on.
It's the Florida Panthers, man.
Cialis is a top-shelf liquor.
It's going to be Wands-Dick-Pills.
And Pills is going to have a Z at the end.
Bonds-Dick-Pills.
So Bobby Boder is going to Florida.
By the way, not a bad choice,
and I think he'll probably help Eckblad a little bit down there,
give him some stage advice.
That means that the Buffalo opening is now up to Housley,
And then potentially two of Jason Botterill's boys from Petsburgh,
Rick Tocket and Jacques Martin.
Ugh, man.
Jacques Martan.
Now here's the problem.
Recycle that name.
Rick Tockett and Jacques Martan, I don't believe, ever played for the Buffalo Sabres,
but Phil Housley did.
And as we know, there's nothing Terry Begoula likes more than an alumni, an alumnus.
Okay, okay.
So Thomas Vanek, what did he get in trouble for while he was in Buffalo?
He was lazy.
Oh, no, no, no.
The off-ice thing?
The off-ice situation with Thomas Vanek.
Well, the gambling thing?
And now you're going to bring in Rick Tockett to that town to stand behind the bench?
Like, are you fucking serious?
Like, really?
You mean, somebody who actually ran a gambling ring?
Like, he's going to move, he's going to move his family up there,
like go in on that guy's territory, there's going to be like a bookie war in Buffalo,
and no one's going to know who's behind it.
And like Rick Tocke, it's like the puppet master.
Yeah.
It's like, like we can't have any drug users on our team.
Oh, but we'll hire a dealer for the, uh, for a head coach.
We're a little skeptical about having gambling on the NHL.com website in Vegas.
I don't know if we can have anybody betting on the Vegas team of great ladies and gentlemen,
welcome Rick Tocke to the Buffalo area.
Like, really?
Uh, one more thing.
I don't know if you saw there's like, this will probably.
happen the minute you hear this podcast, but there's rumors flying around that the Blackhawks are going to make some kind of a significant deal.
Steve Al Britton from KMBC reports that looks like they are sending Marcus Kruger to Las Vegas,
but that's not the magnitude of the deal that people are waiting for.
Do you think they're going to try to try to push a Seabrook on somebody for like draft picks or whatever?
I mean, that was the first thing.
The first thing I thought of was Seabrook to Toronto, but I don't think Toronto should do that because Toronto is,
a team on the rise and that's not the thing you really want at this point is a 33-year-old
defense man. How old is Brent Seabrook at this point? Why is my voice getting really high when I do that?
Oh my old is Brett Seabrook at this point.
Seabrook is, to answer your question, is 32. 32. Yeah. He's got a ton of money left that's,
he's not worth. That's, that's, I mean, if you get him and you can get them to retain some salary,
Yeah, yes, but
Yeah, I don't know
I don't get why
Here's the thing
He signed through
2024
Why are NHL teams so reluctant
To like, you know
Backstab their old boy
The old boys network
With offer sheets
But they're so happy to like
Let Stan Bowman off the hook
Every off season
When he's completely stuck with the salary cap
Like why?
Isn't that
Help him?
Isn't that amazing?
Like it really is amazing
Like people
people are more than willing to just be like, you know, go to the Blackhawks rummage sale and take that armoire off their hands.
But God forbid they make an offer on their Mustang.
It's so insane.
My fantasy baseball league is more cut through when people have like a follow.
I mean, I'm not since the fourth grade.
All right.
Listen, let's get to some reader mail because I'm sure there's some horse shit.
have to do here in Nashville at some point.
Yeah, what time is practice start?
I don't know.
You don't care.
Nobody really.
Everybody's here just to go party tonight because the CMA festival's happening and it's
going to be like bonkers.
No kidding.
Wait, like the NHL gave you like a ticket to like one of those things they do all the time.
Like when you're on the road.
The NHL's not giving me jack and shit.
The only time I've ever got to an NHL event is when nobody else wanted to go and
they're like, hey, we're having a New Year's Eve party.
Do you think you'd want to come?
That's the only time I get to go.
they're like the dude from fun is singing and nobody cared about it so do you want to come to the thing
I'm like yeah I'll come to the thing
all right
Megan wants to know imagine if you're part of the justice league
do you accept that Wonder Woman is and always will be the best of all of you
I've not seen it yet I'm saving it to see with Ruby
I'm very happy that it's doing well I'm happy that the DC cinematic universe has finally found a movie worth a shit
um do you accept that Wonder Woman it is and always will be the best of all of you
I don't know, man.
I still feel like Superman probably is stronger than Wonder Woman.
I don't know.
I don't get why Superman needs anybody else in the Justice League.
He's fucking Superman.
He can melt them all of his eyes.
I don't get it.
Yeah, I guess what it comes down to.
Like, I fully respect Wonder Woman.
She's very powerful, and I feel very good that she's having her moment in popular culture right now.
That said, Superman can literally fly around the world in a reverse.
first time.
So good luck with all that.
Like if you're ranking them by their power, it's probably Superman 1, Wonder Woman 2,
the Flash 3, Aquaman 4, and then Batman 5, right?
Like, I mean, that's the hierarchy of the power.
Like, Batman, if you want it.
The Treasury Secretary at the Justice League where he's like, can I get you guys some
more funding for the...
Actually, if you really want it, if you really wanted to be,
true about it. Like he would be like
Q in the in the Bond movies.
Like he'd be the guy who makes cool gadgets for all the
other superheroes. Exactly.
That's a good point. By the way, you're missing, you're missing Green
Lantern and I can only imagine it's because you know
that all they need, all the
Legion of Doom would need is Sidney Crosby
to slash off his finger where the magic
ring is on it.
Then he's literally powerless.
By the way, you know what movie isn't holding up anymore
for me is Deadpool. I feel like
Deadpool, I'm like
the 19th viewing. It's not as good.
Yeah, it's funny.
I was watching it last night, and, like, I still respect it.
And there's still things in that movie that make me laugh really hard that I might have missed maybe the first 15 times I've seen it.
Like, when he stabs Francis with the sword on the bridge, and then Colossus walks up behind him, and he reaches out and touches Colossus' metal crank.
And he says, he goes, Dad.
There's so many bad lines.
Like, he says things like, what the shit?
Like, who says that?
like I'm gonna get to Chimmy Chongas
What the fuck does that mean?
Like there's so many like lines in that movie
Like there's like like every line T.J. Miller has is great.
With T.J. Miller when like
Typhographic map of Utah.
Yeah.
No, but the part that really gets me is when Ryan Reynolds first meets his girlfriend
and like she takes the card and puts it in his mouth.
And T.J. Miller goes,
did she just put a gift card in your mouth?
Like that kills me.
But like you're saying like Ryan Reynolds has so many corny lines in that movie
that like no cool good guy who is supposed to be cool would have.
It's just, I don't know.
By the way, I was pretty, I was pretty broken up about T.J. Miller leaving Silicon Valley, a show that I like.
And then I was like, why would you want to leave?
And then this, a recent episode was, the plot was literally, we have nothing for T.J. Miller's character to do.
So we're just going to have him float through the episode trying to do new things.
It's just like, oh, I get it now.
If you're T.J. Miller and you read, oh, what's my character up to?
Oh, yeah, you're just, it's all these.
other characters commenting about how you don't have
a plot line.
Yeah.
To be fair, to be fair, though,
like, that show is basically turned
into entourage where
I don't really care if
the guy sells his algorithm
or creates a new internet.
Like, it's very much,
like, I didn't see
the last episode. The last one I saw was where
Gavin gets on the plane is like,
you can have the, you can have the whatever,
and it's all very sad, and I'm like,
you ever watch Veep? Like, no one on
Veep, like, like, on Veep,
Selena Meyer wants her library, but like, no one cares if she gets it or not.
Like, it's just like, it's an avenue for jokes.
On Silicon Valley, it's just every episode, it's like, is he going to do this?
And, like, I don't, it's become Siliconterage Valley, and I fucking hate it.
Oh, that's a great call.
And by the way, Veep is a great example of a show that has morphed and changed
and become a new thing knowing that it had to in order to remain fresh.
And yet somehow logically keeping all of the characters within the same orbit,
And then Silicon, and you're right, because Silicon Valley has essentially become, oh man, Turtle, this sucks, man.
We're going to have to sell the mansion.
Finney, hold on.
I sold the tequila distillery.
We're back in business.
Like, oh, my God.
And, like, it's still good.
It's still good TV, but it's just, I completely get why TJ Miller at this point is probably like, yeah, I'm going to go do something else.
Yeah, I'm not watching Silicon Valley because of the off chance that Sasha Gray shows up.
I'm watching it because I'm literally entertained by.
by the characters and Kumail's hilarious and
and like it's, it's, like,
there's still a reason to watch it. It's not, it's not of the
entourage level of, I'm just going to turn this on
for a half an hour and see pretty things and check
my brain. Like, it's still pretty funny, but it's clearly
not, it's clearly, they've clearly gotten to a point
where they have to invent reasons for, for them
to still be in that dumb house or
whatever. Although, it would be a very
funny, self-aware thing if they brought
in Sasha Gray next season. How fun
that would be?
All right. It'd be hilarious.
J.R. Marlow wants to
If you could start the NHL from scratch, what would it look like?
How many teams, how many games, playoff format, yada, yada, yada.
We don't have to do all these things.
But how many teams would, if you could start the NHL today, what would be the number of teams?
I don't want you to tell me which markets because that gets into a whole other thing.
But like how many teams would be the ideal NHL for you?
24 teams, 65 games season, 16 teams in the playoffs.
One place 16, two plays 15, so on and so forth.
That's how it.
I could get behind that.
I can get behind that.
I think I might go 70 games.
I think we might have about 12 games I don't give a shit about.
But 70 games.
And that playoff format might actually work out all right.
But as long as there is, you know, and I think that what you're saying is that that format would also do the most important thing for me about the NHL playoffs, which is, well, one, keep it at 16 teams.
But two, protect your top seats.
Make the regular season worth something.
If one plays 16, chances are 16's dog shit.
And again, for the second year in a row, it looks as though Pittsburgh, Washington will be the Stanley Cup final that half out of the second round.
And I hate that.
So doing it one 16, like, yeah, it sucks if you're the Rangers and you win the president's trophy and you have to go to San Jose for the first round.
But whatever, you're playing the 16th best team in the league.
So it all evens off.
John Wu wants to know if the Olympics introduced three-on-three hockey, who would you have for Canada, USA, Russia, Sweden, Finland.
I'm going to take this question, which is essentially cast the 1967-Sarniest thing as the cast of Always Sunny,
and turn it into something different, which is, A, would three-on-three hockey work in the Olympics, and B, which country would be the best at it?
Well, I mean, first of all, we can't even fucking get five-on-five hockey in the Olympics, so why are we doing three-on-three at this point?
I'd like to get five-on-five there.
Like the summer games has five on five and three on three basketball.
We have nothing.
Well, I guess not nothing.
They'll be five on five.
I just won't be the end of time.
We have a bunch of guys Americans that have been playing in the Swiss elite league
for the last seven years.
They're going to be in the Olympics.
Wait, what was the question again?
If the Olympics introduced three-on-three hockey, which country would be the best at it?
I would probably say, I'd say Sweden.
Yeah, I think I would say Sweden, too.
I feel like Canada's goaltenders.
Like, when's the last time of Canadian?
Canadian goaltender and the Olympics had to have a tough game.
Remember that game against Latvia where Carrie Price was the goalie?
They were tied 1-1 with like eight minutes to go and he made like three saves.
And it was like, oh, it's a barn murder.
Like any Canadian goalie that had to play three-on-three and push across and get crazy would probably explode.
I don't know if you know this, but Sweden's probable goaltender has played behind a real shitty defense for most of his career.
So he's probably used to three-on-three hockey at this point.
Oh my God. How about that?
Like last week I think that came out that Henrik Wonkiss was hurt with a with a, with a,
with an ACL injury, with a knee injury that he suffered during the world?
It's like,
and like people are trying to tell me that wasn't because William Nealander jumped on him.
Jumped on him, yeah.
They were like, no, he had that earlier.
Well, okay, if he had it earlier, then he definitely shouldn't have jumped on him then.
Like, he fucking, oh my God, but he's fine for the regular season, so nobody cares.
Uh-huh.
Yeah, sure, he's fine for the regular season.
You know where that came from.
Error, Willie, when you guys win the gold medal, jump on Hendrick,
injure him, hurt him.
The Rangers are a wild-caught team.
The Leafs must get him.
in era.
Well, I say that we will defeat the ranges in the first round.
Who have that, well, actually, who's their backup goalie now,
now that Antony Emmy is going to be on?
Erranti, Rante, I mean?
Yeah.
I don't know.
Yeah, who cares.
What else?
What else we got in the bag here?
The Danley Cup wants, oh, this is Dan Straditch.
After P.K. threatened to DDT. Cid, which hockey player would make a great
wrestler, athletic and a good interview?
Hmm.
Well, I mean, P.K. would obviously make a pretty good wrestler, I think,
as a charismatic heel.
Oh, Chara.
Like, Chara has to be the answer.
Like, Chara is sort of charismatic, but also really fucking scary.
Like, he'd be a monster heel, Zadano Chara.
No, best heel would be Kevin BX.X.
Why is that?
Can he be Chris Jericho?
Because he's not that good.
He runs his mouth all the time.
He hits people from behind when they're not looking.
Like, he's the perfect wrestling heel.
I assume that still happens in wrestling, where, like, a guy thinks of
behind the guy with his wheelchair.
Like, that's Kevin B. Exeter to a T.
Like, he'll probably, like, fighting somebody.
And then, like, the referee gets in the way, and then he throws a chief shot
and the crowd booze him.
And he braces his arms, like, yeah, bring it.
Like, that's Kevin Biazza.
He throws a bag of salt or whatever in the guy's eyes,
and the referee turns around.
He's just, I don't know.
It fell from the ceiling.
It's me.
And then, like, NHL player safety, he's like,
nah, it's fine. He can do that.
I didn't see anything.
Adam Knight wants to know, can we ban all cross
checks, like not after the third cross-check,
all cross-checks, they are dumb and injurious.
But they're also, like,
you say yes, but I mean, they're part
of the game. Yeah,
they're penalties. If you call them as penalties, sure.
Like, you know what?
You would have to,
you would have to reprogram the entirety of hockey
if you got rid of cross-checks.
Oh, fucking, they're all robots anyway.
You should take one-off season to get that fucking programmed
into their chips. They could figure that out in two-s.
What bothers me almost as much as cross-checks
are the lacrosse wax, the one-hand on
stick whacking?
Like, why is that okay?
Like, people are like, oh, he's only got one hand on the stick.
Yeah, but he's a 210-pound man.
Here's what I always tell people that say that's not a big deal.
Go outside and find a 210-pound guy and give him a hockey stick and have that guy chase
you around and whack you with it up the street with one hand and tell me that doesn't
hurt or affect you.
It's stupid.
Like, call that.
You shouldn't be able to do that.
Yeah, you know what I'll always love?
And this just shows you how dumb, fucking dumb.
hockey is, like,
when people get
slashed on their gloves, or on their wrists
or whatever, and they drop their gloves,
and they're like, ah, to draw a penalty,
people are always like, man, act with some class.
I'm like, okay, but what about the dude
who just slashed the other dude across the hands
with his stick illegally?
That's, oh, it's part of the game.
But the guy trying to get a call for it is the asshole.
I get to see an argument in sports
that contain the word class.
Sassy in it, that was a good argument.
So there you go.
All right, finally, to bring it full circle to our P.K. and Crosby conversation from the start of the podcast,
what color Listerine do you all use?
Asked Isaac Villalobos.
What was the question?
What color what?
Listerine do you all use?
Do you use Listerine?
Do you use any kind of mouthwash?
Yeah, but I don't use Listerine because it burns too much.
I use, like, the crest, like, enamel strengthening stuff, which is blue.
So it's like the color is like regular Listerine.
The answer for me is what is going to be scope green.
And I agree with you on Listerine.
Like it burns like fucking shit.
Like it's putting napalb in your mouth.
And fresh breath isn't worth it.
I'll just chew a piece of gum after I brush my teeth if I really want that kind of level of fresh breath.
And I'm pretty sure a dentist once told me like Listerine isn't that great for you.
Like it's, I forget what's in there.
But like the burning that like you feel in your mouth, that you're like, oh, it's good.
I can feel it burning is actually.
not good, I think, somehow. I don't know.
I got to look at that D later, but I'm checking
the secret cholera. And for the
record, it's a fucking horrible chaser
with Jen. Just horrible.
It's not even worth
a comp. Finally,
on the show, this happened
during the show today. We have to
report that on the one-year
anniversary of
me and Lozo killing Gordy Howe
by doing this podcast on the day of his death,
RIP,
Adam West,
TV's Batman has died during the podcast.
Yeah, that's crazy.
Did you like Batman 66?
I never watched it.
I mean, I'm not 60 years old, so I never watched a TV show.
But, like, he was always funny and stuff, like, where, like, he basically, like, played himself.
Like, he played, like, he was always on family guy, I want to say.
Adam West was the same.
Yeah, he was on family guy a lot.
Yeah.
Like, Adam West seemed like he had a pretty good sense of humor about the whole, like, he was always.
Batman and tights thing and the cornyness of it
later on when he did stuff. So
I want to say he was on married with children
at one point too.
He might have been.
Glenn Weldon
from Pop Culture Happy Hour on NPR
wrote a really good book called The Cape Crusade.
I recommend it. It's about all of the
iterations of Batman and Batman and pop culture
and everything else. I find it to be a miracle
that that Batman show worked.
And it did. And yeah,
got stupid except for me. It was always stupid, but it got really bad at some point. But like,
the idea of this ponchy older guy running around in this like dime store Batman costume and,
and all of this wackiness is happening around him, fucking Burgess Meredith is the penguin and
Caesar Ameri refusing to shave off his mustache and putting Joker makeup over it and shit,
like, you needed someone to kind of be the ringmaster of that circus. And like he was
perfect at that. Like his straight-laced
kind of like,
you know, serious take on the character,
making even the most absurd shit
sound credible
is a really amazing comedic performance
and I've always respected that.
Plus he ran around carrying a bomb
over his head.
That was going to go off
and refused to throw it anywhere
where people were, for they
would die from the bomb. And it was one of the more
virtuous moments in the history of Batman.
how about 1960s
Batman was just like a regular middle age guy
wasn't in shape and then like
2017 Batman is HGH Fuel
Ben Affleck
who was like doing
pull-ups in his wet
basement or whatever like
how about how that character's evolved over the
I also like the
yeah I also like the fact that like the Batman
that generations of people knew
had like dad bod
and then like the minute they brought him back to the movies
he had to have a rubber suit
with abs on the rubber suit
Yeah.
I also remember, like, when Michael Keaton became the movie Batman in the 80s,
I remember, like, Adam West being mad about it for some reason.
Like, he didn't get a cameo or he wasn't considered for the movie or something,
and I thought that was kind of weird.
But, I don't know.
It's like Dennis K. Morgan not being considered for the anthems during the Cup final.
Like, funny.
We got Michael Keaton over here, man.
Have you seen Mr. Mom in Nightshick?
They're great movies.
Man, everybody always talks.
about how like, oh, you got to get the guy from
gung-ho just play Batman. What about
Dennis K. Morgan?
That's what you should do
is cast Dennis K. Morgan in every movie
that's coming up. It's like, oh man, they're making a new
Spider-Man movie. Gotta be Dennis
K. Morgan, right?
He's perfect for that.
Ego
is great, isn't it? Oh, man.
Jesus Christ.
All right, we should probably end this.
Man, why you got to get
Benedict Cumberbatch to play Dr. Strange, man.
Dennis K. Morgan right here.
I'm fucking strange.
I know magic.
My voices, man.
When I sing that fucking anthem, it's magic.
I could be Dr. Strange.
You've got the same James Bond now for 15 years.
That's right, baby.
Dennis K. Morgan, at your service.
Your Majesty's Secret Service.
Oh, boy.
I got ripped ab just like, what's his face?
What's the guy's name again?
His Batman?
Or Bond?
Who's the new Bond guy?
You mean Daniel Craig?
Daniel Craig, yeah.
By the way, Larry Cake is better than any James Bond movie.
You should be fucking wrong.
Are you kidding me?
Layer Cake is outstanding movies.
Skyfall and Casino Royale are both better than Layer Cake.
Yeah, I love that.
My favorite Bond movie is the one where he fucks the girl and then he saves the day.
That's a great movie.
Listen, we don't have time.
We don't have time to get into this.
They're all the same.
It doesn't matter what you do.
the bad guy has got a plot
and then James Bond at some point
has sex with a woman
and then later on he finds the bad guy
and the bad guy gets it.
I don't understand how they made the same movie
for six decades.
Y'all gonna pay you too
to come to your stadium
and play the Joshua tree in its entirety.
What about having people come
and see Dennis K. Morgan
sing the anthem 20 times?
Like that would be just as good.
Like you guys always sell out
for the fucking A listers
and Dennis K. Morgan's right here.
Y'all welcome to the layer K.
son.
Michael B. Jordan's going to play Apollo Creed's
son. God damn it, son. I even got an audition
for that shit, not Dennis K. Morgan.
Dennis K. Morgan, Michael B. Jordan. Same, same deal.
A nice guy sequel. You know who's a really nice
guy? Ben, C. Morgan.
I'm going to cast you with
Travis Trit. No, no, y'all. Y'all
can't do that to me.
All right, let's get out of here.
I'm Greg B.S.I.S.E.S. Thanks
to everybody who's read all the
nonsense that we've written about.
Dennis K. Morgan, catfish on the
ice, the scene outside of
Game 3, the Capitals fan
at Game 5, who
turned his carded and became a Penguins
fan until they trade Ovechkin,
and so on and so forth.
All of the nonsense that I've given
you that you've consumed and
appreciated, I
thank you so much for it. It's been, like I said,
hockey perspective, maybe not the best
series, but to the answery
bullshit perspective. It's all
been really good.
But okay, so thank you to
Ilya Brejohn from the Players Tribune for that.
Buy my book, take your eye off the puck.
Buy our book, The 100 Greatest Players in NHL history and other stuff.
Thanks to everybody who sold out the live show.
It's honestly like fucking great.
Like we didn't, we've never done this before.
So we had no idea how it would be.
And it would be that we probably should have gotten a bigger room.
But we're going to have a hell of a show and it's going to be a good time.
But that's all for here.
I'm in Nashville.
Dave is coughing in his bedroom.
Hopefully the show sounded all right.
And here's Sicki Mick Sikerson himself, Dave Lozo, to take you home.
I'll take you home, but I saw somebody ask this on Twitter.
But even if you're not at the live show, it's looking to be like a regular podcast.
You can download and listen to.
It's not like if you're not at the show, you won't hear it.
It's just going to be a live recording of live people in the room.
So don't worry.
You will hear it.
But for the people that bought tickets, like there's probably going to be a little bit that we do that's not going to be.
on the podcast just so like there's value in purchasing a ticket to our live show.
But like for the glut of it, like the guests and stuff will be a podcast you can listen to.
The Q&A might not be.
Yeah, we might do it.
Yeah, our town hall meeting where they take us to task like like congressmen who didn't vote for the healthcare bill or something.
They're going to just like, you know, episode six, Dave said that the third best defenseman on the ducks was Sammy Vatt.
And I disagree completely.
And I want to just say, like you probably won't hear that because.
I'll kill that guy you ask that question, so I don't want to go to Joe.
Hey, Dave and Great, big fan.
Thanks for doing this.
Listen, I had an idea for a podcast.
Boo!
Hold on, hear me out.
Hear me out.
Do you have any phone numbers of any of the players that I could call?
It's called fuck soup.
But it has nothing to do with hockey.
I just fuck different kinds of soup.
And I'm like, oh, this is a creepy texture.
It feels better than that tomato soup.
What do you think, guys?
Did you ever notice that you're...
logo looks like a toilet.
Yeah. No, you're the first
person. And by the way,
I'm assuming Ruby's going to be there. If we get that
question. I'm in negotiations with
Ruby Edmondson, my
dear wife, that she may or may not
actually appear on stage.
I will walk the microphone
to her in the audience if we get that question, so
she can finally stand up for her work.
She's the best.
And she may or may not come on stage
to talk.
I was talking to her last line.
and we were talking about this, and she goes,
she goes, I'll come on stage as long as this during the soup part
and not the puck part.
I'm like, all right, fair enough.
Okay, great.
All right, say goodbye to the people.
We've gone on for too long.
All right, see you.
Bye.
Bye.
Oh, my sweet, my sweet, my sweet angel.
My sweet, sweet, sweet angel.
Bye, everybody.
That was only 20% joking.
Now leavingnerdist.com.
Thank you.
