Puck Soup - Jay Baruchel
Episode Date: September 1, 2017Greg and Dave are back for Season 2 (or probably 3) of Puck Soup! Featuring a wide-ranging interview with actor/director Jay Baruchel about the Montreal Canadiens, "Game Of Thrones," dental care, hock...ey fighting and his new film "Goon: Last Of The Enforcers!" Plus we discuss the future of John Tavares, Shane Doan retiring, big contracts for Leon Draisaitl and Carey Price, and a listener mailbag featuring summer movies and bad general managers.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo's Fuck Daddy blog and Oath presentation.
I'm Dave Lozo.
So here's where I work.
Lots of the last two months.
There's a lot of pivoting to video, as it were.
So, I still do stuff for Vice Sports.
Like, there was a tweet that said Vice Sports did it cease operations.
That wasn't true.
Yeah.
I mean, I believe the tweet was more like you were pivoting to video.
No, that first tweet had the word cease and operations in it.
Oh, yeah.
And I kind of thought that was what it was for a couple days.
Okay.
So that's not true.
All right.
Although I still don't know my role's going to be there yet.
So that's kind of, kind of see what's going to happen there.
The comeback
That might change a little bit too
I don't know yet
Still figuring that out
It's September so I don't know yet
Are you gonna come back to it?
Might do more
I'll rally around
Whatever ideas to come back
Now you don't write about
Game of Thrones
Yes I do every time
Or friends both
But I mean like you don't write about
Those episodes
Or professional wrestling
So there's no room
Atoprocks for you
Yeah uprocks
That's long before July
Uprox was like
You gotta go
You did write an article for The Athletic.
That's exciting.
The athletic.
I feel like that whole thing happened since the last time we did the show.
The athletic?
Yeah, pretty much.
A lot's changed.
Now you have to pay to read Myrtle and there are Nazis.
There's a lot of change.
There's a lot of Nazis.
Oh, by the way, you're in Puck Soup.
This is the official beginning of season two of the show,
although I kind of considered to be sort of issue zero of our comic book run.
insofar as like the vast majority of sort of summer and review stuff is going to happen on our live show in Toronto, which is coming up September 7th.
If you don't have tickets, best go to the secondary market because they're sold out.
Yeah, I think it was like there was like five tickets left as of yesterday.
So about the time you hear this, there probably won't be any left.
Right.
So the whole point of this episode was to kind of like pim tickets for it now.
Yeah, we were like, we're like, we should probably pin tickets for the show and then it wound up selling out.
So thank you everybody who's in a comment.
It's going to be a really fun time.
The aforementioned athletic will be represented by Stretch himself, James Myrtle.
Chris Johnston of Sportsnet will be there as well.
There's going to be a Leaf-centric panel to begin the show that I think might involve Steve Dangle.
I'm not sure.
I don't know.
They might just be Steve Dangle doing all of his characters.
I would pay to see that.
That's worth the price of admission.
Hey, I think Mitch Martin is not going to be good.
Hey, shut up, HACI.
I think Mitch Martin is going to be great.
I don't know.
His name is Mitch.
I want to ask questions about the Dangle Navy.
Now, is he an admiral?
Because he runs the Navy, right?
Or is there some, what's the highest ranking naval thing?
I don't know.
But as someone who lives in Chelsea hearing the word dangle Navy is sort of, I live close enough to the water and I live in Chelsea where that takes on a completely different connotation.
Well, if you're part of the dangle Navy and you're running around going, I love seaman.
Thank you, well, thank you.
Thank you.
Literal joke guy.
I'm a dangle seaman.
Welcome back.
It's been a long summer.
Oh, is that what you were doing with your joke?
Oh, Jesus.
What did you think I was doing with my joke?
I don't know. I don't listen too closely when you're doing your bits.
So, yeah, thank you for everybody who's bought tickets.
It's going to be really fun time.
We hope to bring this stupid podcast to other cities as the summer and the season.
Well, the summer's done.
As the season progresses.
Oh, one place we don't work for anymore.
Nerdist.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah.
We should probably talk about that.
I forgot about that.
So you're going to be listening to the show on the usual places and in the usual places, but probably not on nerdist.com.
because we are not with nerdists anymore.
Won't be our thing anymore.
We're going to have a new logo.
Yeah, so shut the fuck up about the logo.
Why are you leaving nerdist?
said no one.
Well, I'll tell you why.
When we came to nerdists, we came for one reason.
Huge fans of Talking Dead.
And we said to ourselves,
what could we possibly do to get on the show,
perhaps sit next to Reda and talk about Negan?
Who's Redda?
Exactly.
So she's going to be on the show of one.
point so don't be mean.
She was on,
Farks and Rec.
Unreadable or whatever her Twitter name is.
I always see.
No, we went to,
we went to NERDIS because Jonah Carey
went to NERDIS to create
a NERDIS sports vertical.
And then
Jonah, as Jonah
is wont to do, got bored
or whatever, decided to
start hanging out with Justin Trudeau.
Yeah, suddenly a world famous
politicians is best for him.
Yeah, two worst things that happened to us with Jonah
at Nurtis was
him befriending Justin Trudeau and Tim Raines getting into the Hall of Fame.
And now this guy is just off in his own world.
Just, you know.
He's just doing his own thing.
Getting into Twitter fights with Bill Simmons.
Stealing his ideas.
So Jonah left and then we were off on our own island.
So that was one reason is that, you know, the guy who bought us there and said, hey, hey,
there's going to be nerd of sports.
And guess what?
There were no dirt of sports anymore.
And so then the other reason is that not to open up a can.
of whoop-ass, but
getting the...
Remember how that we had ads on the show
and sometimes you'd be like, why are there ads in the show?
And be like, well, because, you know,
we put a lot of work into the show and it's good to get
something back for it. And
the something back for it wasn't necessarily what we thought it was going to be
based on the situation with nerdist.
Or the frequency.
Like, I don't mind the actual amount.
It's just having to
scratch and claw.
Yeah.
42 emails to get someone to respond to the situation.
It was never enjoyable.
You know how sometimes you have a jar of something that you get from Trader Joe,
say some like cranberry chutney, and you simply can't open it,
and you're banging on it with a spoon, and you're banging on your counter with it,
and you're asking your wife, oh, you're like, my hands are slightly wet.
This must be why I can't open this jar,
and then she tries to open it, and she can't open it either.
And you finally get it open somehow.
This is the most unrelatable white person story you've ever told about cranberry.
Barry Chutney from Trader Joe's.
Well, that's basically us trying to get some of the dough that we had back to us.
So we're not with Nerdist anymore for various and some of your reasons, but that's okay.
You're going to be able to get the show in the usual places.
The exact same way.
Plus, some more stuff.
Some more stuff soon, which will announce soon.
And then, like, the other cool thing is that Nerdist, and thank you for this Nerdist,
allowed us to bring over all the subscribers that we had to future ventures.
Yeah, like, Nerdist was great except for the part where they paid us.
or the lack there of.
Which is like, don't get me wrong.
Hey, I love you guys.
I love seeing how much you love the podcast.
I love, you know, the live show at Union Hall is great to meet people and have fun and interact.
But, I mean, I'm doing this for the money.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, anybody who gets into podcasting is obviously doing it for the money.
It's like, it's just like finance, professional sports.
Right.
Venture capital.
Right.
Right there.
Right there with it.
Yeah.
When I was playing the power ball to try to win that half a million, half a billion dollars,
this is to myself.
the first thing I'm going to do if I win is start a podcast because obviously...
Well, you need that much, yeah.
With the amount of money that it takes to start a one.
Because the only good podcasts are done inside of biodomes.
And we want to build our own self-sustaining podcast, Biodome.
That reminds me of episode three of Biodom the podcast.
Remember that one where William Atherton's trying to tell Pauly Shore what not to do?
And Stephen Baldwin's like, no, we should totally do that, dude.
And he was just like, hey, buddy.
Oh.
Let's do a mineral ad read in the middle of the biodome.
Notice was wheezing the juice, buddy.
You were putting their head under the thing.
Weezing the juice.
You don't wheeze the juice.
Boy, I'm glad we're back here making 1993 movie references.
Well, listen, everything old on MTV is new again.
Did you know they're bringing back Unplugged?
I saw a tweet about that one.
But, like, what are they going to unplug?
Like, Demi Lovato?
Well, that's the thing.
Like, the first guest that unplugged is Sean Mendez,
who I believe plays acoustic guitar anyway.
I don't know who that is.
Oh, yeah.
Okay.
Sean Mendez could be like the left guard of the San Diego Chargers,
Los Angeles Chargers.
I have no idea.
Sean Mendez is a skinny Canadian kid.
So, A, there's no way he's going to be the left guard in the San Diego Chargers.
Give me a Sean Mendez song.
Give me a lyric.
Give me something.
I probably know.
Holding me back.
Nope.
No idea what that is.
I heard a really good theory on one of the Ringer podcast that he was sort of the universe's balancing of the equation with Justin Bieber.
Like he's a clean-cut Canadian kid who was a vine star versus being a YouTube star like Bieber was.
and he's like the anti-Beber.
Like he's sort of like Agent Cooper and Dark Cooper on Twin Peaks,
where Bieber is the Dark Cooper,
and your eyes are glazing over because you don't watch Twin Peaks.
Fucking Twin Peaks we're doing now.
We're doing Twin Peaks, we're doing Biodone.
Because Twin Peaks was in the 90s.
It came back, too.
Everything's coming back.
TRL's coming back.
Quantum Leap is not back yet.
Two months we've been off.
Come back, still no Quantum Leap.
Scott Bacula is just hanging out at like the third best NCIS show.
Bring back freaking quantum leap.
Scott Bacula, third string quarterback for a division one double-A football team.
at this point, I imagine.
Not even back on quantum leave.
Kathy Ireland carried that team, though.
Let's be honest.
Kathy Ireland's field goal kicking was the reason why they were able to build confidence towards the end of the scene.
Major League started a very short-lived subgenre of goofy-ass sports comedies.
Necessary Roughness was in that.
Necessary Roughness was before that.
No, I think Necessary Roughness was in the aftermath of Major League, but I'll look it up right now.
Oh, I think you meant the Bacula major league movie.
No.
No, no, no, no.
He's part three.
He was in part three?
He was the manager.
Necessary off this 1991, major league.
Major League, the first one was like 88 or 89.
89.
Yeah.
Yeah, so Major League and then two years later, so that Major League becomes a hit,
and then some executive is like,
we need a football one.
Was there a basketball one?
The one would be Goldberg, where she coaches the Knicks.
Is that the same?
Eddie?
Well, there was also the sixth man where,
Sean Wayans,
was Marlon Wayans the ghost
or was Sean Wayans the ghost
that was helping Marlon Wayans?
One of the two.
I think Marlon Wayans must have been a ghost.
He seems more,
more ghosty.
I don't remember that movie at all.
That was the one where the ghosts,
like one of the Wayans would shoot the,
or was Kadeem Hardison the other guy?
Oh, Jesus, there we go again.
What's the little bow wow?
Hang on, I give you one thing at a time.
Oh, you're thinking of flubber.
Flubber, that's...
The sixth man.
had Marlon Wayans and Cadeem Hardison.
Marlon Wayans was the basketball player
and Cadeem Hardison was the ghost
that would make the ball go into the basket
with his ghost powers.
Wait, what year did that movie come out?
That movie came out in 1997.
What year did the Sixth Sense come out?
Because I'm wondering,
is the Sixth Man a playoff of The Sixth Sense
where there's a ghost doing stuff for somebody?
Is that the...
The Sixth Sense came out in 1999,
so the Sixth Sense is after the Sixth Sense.
is after the sixth man.
So Sean Milan was sitting in the theater thinking himself,
he stole it.
Wouldn't it be a great twist of both these guys were ghosts?
And he's like, wait a second, I got it.
Wow.
Yeah.
That would have been funny if that was actually the Wayne's bit there.
What were we talking about?
John Tavares.
Of course.
Okay, so anyway, thank you to notice for the opportunity to the show there.
It was great, and Katie Levine is the best,
and bigger and brighter things and yada, yada, yada.
So for those asking.
and none of you were. Nobody cares.
John Tavares was in the news. A radio station of Montreal said that he had turned down
what we'll call Carrie Price Money, an eight-year deal with an AAV of $10.5 million.
That report refuted by Arthur Staples, who has me blocked on Twitter, so I had to literally
take his URL from Twitter and then paste it into another browser and then open it there
where I'm not signed into Twitter that then see the news.
Oh, you don't log out, then just go to the account?
No, because I always forget what my Twitter password is.
change it very frequently.
Do you really?
Yeah.
What are you worried that Russian hackers are going to come?
Someone tried to hack into my Instagram.
I got a note from Instagram saying, did you try to log in from like Ponderosa, California?
I'm like at last, at last check, no.
What do you think they were going to do?
Do you think they were going to, like, just post a bunch of dick pictures and delete all your old stuff?
That's what I would have done.
That's what I would have.
That was the first thought that crossed my mind.
Why?
Was that your plan?
I mean, it wouldn't have been my dick.
You had a nice tan.
Were you in?
No, no.
I would have just grabbed like, like, I would, I sort of Google Dick.
and then posted all the stuff from Google.
Oh, and you posted posters of that Richard Nixon movie over and over again on my Instagram.
Anyways.
I was just thinking of the nice guys.
So Tavares.
The guy looks up, he sees Nixon.
He's under water.
He's like, no!
Buh!
So he didn't turn down the Kerry Price money.
Arthur Staple.
Allegedly.
Refuted that.
I believe, I mean, his sources say no, so I'll go with his sources.
But the issue that Staple hits on and the issue that Bidi Gallowf hit on this week as well about John DeVaris, this.
It's not about the money.
It's about where this team is going to be playing hockey around year five of this contract, four or five of this contract.
Yeah.
Is it going to be in Brooklyn?
Is it going to be in Nassau Coliseum?
Is it going to be next to Belmont Park racetrack?
Is it going to be in Quebec City?
Kansas City, Missouri.
John Tavares shows up in Kansas City.
He gets to hang out with Alex Gordon.
Can we talk about how the fact...
Sal Perez.
I know how important Tavares is.
of the Islanders. He is their franchise player
and he is a, he is a,
I can't say star player to make
my next point, but he's an amazing player.
He's a star here. He's a franchise player. He's a star
here. Does he sell a ticket? Yes.
You think he sells a ticket? Oh, you mean like
on the road? No, I mean here. That's what I mean
like John Tavares. I
still think that. I know
that, but, Andrews fans love ones. Yeah, but don't you
think that those Islander fans are coming regardless?
Ooh. I mean, if they sign them, sure.
But don't you think those Islander fans
Don't you think those Islander fans are
Are watching the game regardless
But the more Islanders fans would watch the game
If the team was good
Like I don't think that he sells tickets
Oh if if
But I think that he is
If they lose Tavares
Yeah
I think he is a way to become a better team
Which is what sells tickets
Oh if they matter what they do
If they lose Tavares, the free agency
If they trade them at the deadline
Because they're out of it
And they're not going to sign them
it'll destroy them.
Like people, like that tendons will drop, ratings will drop.
No one's going to want to watch that team anymore.
A drop from what though?
It can still get worse.
I don't think so.
I think there's a baseline of Islander fans
when you go to those games no matter what
because they're Islanders fans.
I don't think John Tavares is your best bet
for trying to become a winning team.
You know, having that guy there,
not spending your life trying to get
that John Tavares type player to build around.
But I think the idea that he is
essential to them
maintaining their gait is a little bit
I don't think there's five guys in this league
that actually sell a ticket. All right, let's see.
John Tavares' first year in the NHL was what?
0809?
What was his first year?
Okay, 2010-11.
I mean, of course, different aren't.
Yeah, Mikey?
Dog.
By the way, 2010-11.
I did catch the Mike and the Mad Dog
30 for 30 over the summer, and
I apologize to anybody out,
of the New York metropolitan area that watched it
because it became very clear to me very
quickly that it was 30 for 30
colon you had to be there.
Yeah, I was going to say everyone sort of said the same thing.
It's like a Yankee Met World Series.
Like nobody outside of New York gives a shit.
In the bubble, in the Gotham bubble,
it is amazing. And it was very fun to look back at WFAN,
but to somebody from the outside being like,
these guys reinvented radio and the only thing they did was
maybe get Mike Piazza here at some point.
Right.
Like that was the big turning point of the whole show.
was, Mikey, we might have gotten Mike Fatsy here at some point.
I remember the first time we got,
dog, I remember the first time we got P.M. McGuire on the talk ranges.
Okay, ready?
Yeah.
2010-11.
Attendance was down to 11,059.
Okay.
Pretty bad.
And 14-15 was the last time they were in NASA, right?
Yeah, I believe so.
They're up to 15-3 a game.
And now in Brooklyn are down to 13 a game.
But you don't know where the arena is going to be.
You know, the capacity is going to be.
Imagine if they lose Tavares.
They were what?
In 2012, 13, 13, they were up to 15?
1415 they were up to it.
In 1450 they were up to it?
That's the highest they were in a very, very long time.
So they made the playoffs for the first time since 2007 in 2013.
Right.
Without Tavarist, they're never going to get back to the playoffs.
Okay, but that's my point is that a winning team is more important than John Tavares insofar as attendance.
They're the same thing.
John Tavares is going to be why they're a winning team.
If they lose John Tavares, they're going to be a bad team for years.
So let's put a fine point on it.
Do you think that their arena situation is going to have enough clarity by the time that they have to sign him to a contract where they can keep him?
Because if it's about the Belmont thing.
I say no way.
I don't think.
I think the worst part about this if you're an Hounders fan is that your nightmare in the last several years,
after you finally put up the dream catchers and got over the whole Mike Milbury thing,
your new nightmare is where the team's going to play.
You waited years for the lighthouse thing to happen.
You waited years for the NASA Coliseum renovation to happen.
Brooklyn happened and then it wound up being a shit sandwich.
Now you're talking about another arena in the New York metropolitan area at Belmont Park,
built by the Rangers owner.
Let's talk about that for a second.
So now the future of your franchise in many ways is contingent on yet another land deal.
And land deals and arena deals have not worked out for the founders in the last.
decade.
Two things.
Would you say
the land deal
arena deal is
contingent on
John Tavaris
more than
the other way
around?
No, for the
very reason
I said before.
The New York
Islanders franchise
is bigger
than one guy.
And I refuse
Why?
What makes you
say that?
What is he
done?
What were
they before
John Tavaris got
there?
Okay.
You can say
that the
Washington
Cap, that
Ovechkin
was bigger
than the
Capitals in
Ovechkin's
early years.
The capitals
are bigger
than Ovechkin
now.
Sidney
Crosby,
Conor McDavid,
Austin Matthews to a certain extent
these are guys that are right now
maybe bigger than their teams
some dog should attendance numbers over the years
but Tavares is not bigger than the Islanders
the Islanders are a franchise that is
you know
they're going to live and die based on their success
on the ice and you can make the argument that their success
in the ice is contingent on him being there
or not but I
but I don't think that
you know if John Tavares isn't there the arena doesn't get built
is bullshit
because you know what here's
here's the amazing part John Tavaris is
There are 41 times.
You know, is there more than John Tavares?
About Cic.
Fucking WWE.
Where are the penguins right now, if not for their star players that show up and turn the team into a winning franchise?
If Mario, Lameo and Cindy Cosby is assigning a level of import to John Tavares that he's Sidney Crosby?
In terms of how successful the franchise.
I mean, he's not Sidney Crosby or Mario Lameu, but in terms of what he means to the specific franchise, it's close.
What are they without John Tavares?
They're nothing.
They're a terrible team for the
They're a team that makes the playoffs
Three times since 2008
Guts as far as a second round maybe
Oh wait, that's exactly what they are with John Tavaris
Right, so imagine if they don't have John Tavaris
How much worse it's going to be
Yeah, then they get someone else in the draft
Shitty teams rebound
Like yeah, yeah just
They'll get their Miko Hecher
And go from there
And here's another thing too
I understand Arthur spoke to somebody
And said, well was it contract terms
that were rejected again?
Give me the dog.
Give me the number.
Eight years, 84 million?
Yeah.
And the Islander said that's not true.
So what do you think is more likely to be true?
Okay.
That the Islanders offered him a contract and he said no,
or it's September 1st and they haven't offered him anything yet.
That it's September 1st and they haven't offered him anything yet.
No.
There's no way.
They haven't offered him a contract yet.
Come on.
If the notion's been put out by his camp that the determining factor on this contract is
whether or not this Brooklyn thing is fucked
and whether or not they're moving to Belmont Park
then I think that they know
there's no reason to put numbers out to him
unless that stuff is more settled.
There's no way. They've at least tried once.
You can't have your star player
for the second he becomes eligible for a new contract
be like, eh, all right,
we'll get around to it at some point.
Or is the real story
that he hasn't rejected it? That it's just
there. Because that could be it too
if you want to parse language. That could be it too.
Look at me. Like, I mean, look at this.
Words matter, Dave.
I just don't believe they haven't offered him.
Think about how awkward that is if, like, you know, you show up for training camp and Gart snows there and he's like, he's like, hey, John.
Hey, Garth.
Why do you wear the shoulder pads in the suit?
It's stupid.
You look dumb.
So, have you, you know, you know I'm a free agent at the end of this year, right?
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
You want to sign me?
Oh, sure, sure, sure.
You haven't offered my agent anything yet.
No, of course not.
We're just going to wait and see what the arena is like in like eight months.
And then we'll come to it then.
You see, the issue really for me with Garth Snow is that I can't imagine he's going to give John Severus a longer contract than he has.
Oh, wait, no, he has like a lifetime contract, doesn't he?
God, I fucking, I would give, like, anything for that.
Every passing year where he's not been fired lends more credence to your scoop.
That Garth Snow was given, like, what was it, what was it the contract?
Like 20 years?
I believe it was 10.
10 years?
With a slightly increasing dollar value of it every year, starting after they sold a team.
So it's not like they were going to fire him in 2008 and they couldn't do it.
But there's...
And then the man who has you blocked, he didn't confirm the actual 10 years,
but I believe he confirmed that it's multiple years that Juan gave him on the way out without citing the specific number.
But the number I was told was 10.
Did he CC Dave Lozo on that scoop?
Because obviously it was put out there by you.
No, I didn't get any.
I didn't get an H-T.
get an H.T. or like a clap or whatever.
All right. Before we get to Jay Barashall, our guest on the premiere of season two of Puck Soup.
Jay Baruchel.
Director of Goon, oh, wait, sorry, goon, colon, lastly enforcers.
I don't actually believe it's Goon, too.
Oh, it doesn't say Goon 2 in the poster.
Writer of Goon, trainer of dragons.
The dude that you loved, and this is the end.
The audience proxy in this is the end.
The dude with the giant maple leaf tattoo from
knocked up.
Your favorite thing on...
It wasn't a big tattoo
and knocked.
It was like over his heart
on his breast as it were.
Yeah.
Although he's sort of very slender.
I don't know if he necessarily has...
You know what he's in
that I watch whenever it's on,
which I...
It should not be as rewatchable as it is.
Is it the Sorcerer's Apprentice?
I've never seen that.
It's on FX.
It's on like FX or Spike all the time.
Yeah, like Nickl...
Here's my thing is like
I feel like anytime Alfred Malina is in a movie
it's watchable because like he's so good.
Is he the bad sorcerer in that movie?
He's the evil sorcerer whose name is like bad Dimo or something.
I don't even know what his character's name is.
I remember, listen, we love Jay as you'll hear on this podcast,
but I remember when that movie came out, I said to myself,
he seems a little long in the tooth for that role.
Like I figured the sorcerer's apprentice would be like Nick Cage and like a 13-year-old.
I don't know.
And I feel like that's part of the reason that movie didn't do well
is because Jay was like in his mid-20s when he was the sorcerer's apprentice.
Oh, look that.
Jay's 35.
Jay looks young.
Jay's got a young...
He's got a young comportment.
And when did that movie come out?
2000...
So he was, yeah, late 20s.
Also, not nearly enough Fantasia shit.
Like, the March of the Dancing Mops and Brooms.
Yeah, there's no Brooms.
There's no Brooms running around.
Don't call it the Sorcercercer's Apprentice
if you're not going to give me dancing Mops and Brooms.
That's every movie, though.
People are celebrating the movie Super Bad.
I don't remember liking Super Bad as much as everybody is on the 10-year anniversary of it.
Now, why is that?
It's...
I don't know.
It just feels like this really forced teen comedy starring people who are obviously 27 years old.
Like Emma Stone's like 50 in that movie.
Jonah Hill's like, Jonah Hill's like, Jonah Hill's like 102.
And like, I don't know.
It's just like the scene where they go to get beer from the, they put it in the frigging thing.
That was the thing I always bug me about the movie is like they put the beer inside of the detergent bottle.
Yeah, like I don't know how that was ever going to work.
Yeah, it's stupid.
But I liked, I liked, all the McLevin stuff was great.
Yeah, the McLeod.
With Hater and Rogan?
Like that, that's the stuff that to me holds up better than anything else.
And also, Emma Stone.
I agree.
I mean, the movie presented, gave Emma Stone to the world.
No, Emistone was famous before that.
Oh, boy, here we go again.
You know who gave Emma Stone to the world?
What's his name?
Louis C.K.
She, her first thing was, she was on his old HBO show.
She was on Lucky Louie?
Yeah, she played like some shitty teen or something in that movie.
Emma Stone was in Lucky Louie, then she was in some show
called Drive and then she was in Superbad.
So that's her third thing?
Yeah. Well, I mean, she was also like a guest on some other TV shows, but her, Superbad was
the big, the movie that broke her.
And she was like the approachable girl that everybody wanted to be friends with.
So I guess I agree with you. I think Superbad's a really funny comedy.
I, I, I, I, parts are funny for sure.
I feel like it also, I feel like, I feel like it's the kind of movie that you look back on
and say, it gave the world Emma Stone, it gave the world for better or worse, Jonah Hill.
And it gave the world, because up until the world, because up until the
that point.
Jonah Hill, no.
The only thing
John Hill was in was in the
40-year-old
Virgin where he goes
into the eBay store
and he wants the
shoes with the goldfish
in the bottoms of them.
I feel like maybe
mentally I've compartment
like I've put this movie
in a place where
it's not as
yeah, what the hell?
Yeah.
Again,
and it did not give the world
Michael Sarah.
And it gave the world
Mcloven.
Yeah, you're right.
That's what I'm talking about.
Like it's one of those
movies where you look back
and you're like,
I can't believe
how many people
were sprung from this comedy.
you know, it's kind of like
the same deal as that show
Freaks and Geeks. Like, you look back at Freaks and Geeks.
I don't think Freaks and Geeks was all that great of a show,
but you're in awe of the amount of people that were on it
and came from it.
Jonah Hill was 24 and super bad.
I mean, like, I understand that.
In movies where people play high school kids, they're always like 23 or whatever.
But, like, I mean, Joe Hill...
I like it better than you did, but I think it's...
I like it. I agree. I like all the McLeodin parts.
Yeah.
But, like, everything at the party sucks.
Like, Jonah Hill whining the whole fucking movie
because Michael Sarah won't go to the same colleges.
him like it was all these high school problems that I don't remember anybody ever having a high school
I feel like the person who wrote at Google like high school problems Wikipedia and like found
shit that like isn't a problem you know well or maybe went to the Yahoo answers page for high school
problems and found them there if they were that nonsensical I think it's I think it's a it's okay it's
fine I don't hate it I just it's weird it's being celebrated like it's all right um oh we were talking about
Shane Donne uh he retires after 1500 some odd games with
the Winnipeg Jets, the Phoenix Coyotes, and the Arizona Coyotes.
You know, it's weird.
Like, one of these players that I think, I assume his fans locally view as a legend.
Oh, sure.
One of these players, a lot of people outside of Arizona really hated for being dirty and maybe a little overrated.
But at the end of the day, like, my takeaway from all this is just, how do you fuck this up if you're the coyotes?
Like, you have so few things that you can rely on and say, this is a good thing from our franchise's history.
Like, this is an honorable thing.
Here's a dude that, you know, gave our organization more import and credence than maybe anybody should have.
And you just do them like that.
You have them kneel down and you put a pump shotgun to the back of his head and just end him in June.
Oh, I was picturing John Snow bending the knee to Danny when you said they made him take a
knee like oh yeah and then and then they have
by the way game of thrones
i assume has a really large budget
we're going to get into this later with j too
they couldn't have hired somebody who
directs the softcore movies on
showtime and cinemax to teach john snow
and danny how to have
reasonable softcore sex where it's not looking like
he's boinking her belly button
no that was a horrible sex scene their parts
were lined up there were not lined up at all
he wasn't up here soft cars
where the belly button thing happens if i was
if these would give them my some ikea
instructions so they know we're slot B
and tab A are because that was her belly
button. It was very awkward. It took me right out of the
scene. Okay, to be fair. That and that and the
fact that my ass will never look as good as
Kit Harrington's ass does. Oh yeah, that dude just fucking
squats all day. But
in terms of the realism of it,
how much fucking is John Snow
done up until that point? That's a really good point. He's
fucked like four times his whole life. Maybe he was
just, you know, maybe he was misfiring the first
couple of thrust. Maybe you're saying he was super nervous.
I just think maybe
his angles were off, you know what I mean? Like, maybe he's
Rusty.
You know, he's just like positionally.
It's probably years before the protractor
is invented too.
And to be fair, like dragons came out of there.
So, I mean, that's probably a weird sensation for a guy.
I don't know.
It's like burning sensation, one assumes.
And then that whole thing bothered me.
And then also Ruby pointed out that it must have been pain.
I didn't know this.
And this is something our ladies in the audience might know better than I.
She said, I can't, it must have been painful to have those braids,
she said, while she was lying down.
Apparently, like, oh, because of the pressure of the moving and it sticks.
Motion of the ocean.
You have to get the braids out from underneath your, yeah, they can't be under your back
because that would cause a, yeah, like a pulling, tugging thing.
Right.
I can see that.
Yeah.
See, this is, like, this is why, like, TV shows need women writers because there's no way a guy,
there's no way a guy writing that scene would ever think about that.
He would just be like, all, my ass thrusts into her vagina.
And, like, a woman has to be like, he's too high, first of all in that scene.
And the hair is a problem.
Like, you need someone in the room to point that stuff out.
Yeah, and, like, I lay down on her, and she immediately has, like, 15 orgasms because it's just amazing, right?
Or whatever.
Yeah, it doesn't really, um, you have to kind of know, no, man.
Listen, I don't know about who you had sex with, but that is like, every Tinder date I've ever been on.
That's exactly how it goes down.
She just explodes, bro.
Yeah, she just explodes.
A high five.
Right.
Yeah.
And then she, like, totally's like, hey, that was amazing.
here's money for dinner.
I'm like, I'm not going to take it
because I'm a gentleman,
and then I walk out.
I'm going to go up on the ship
and play some shuffleboard
when I meet me up there later.
See you,
see you, babe.
So what are your thoughts on Shane Doe?
Yeah, pretty much all that.
He's a really nice guy to talk to.
I don't have like a good Shane Don't story.
He was a real Jesus guy too.
He was like a real godly dude.
Oh, he was a Jesusy guy.
Yeah.
But I remember back at the NHL.com days,
the coyotes back when they had Brizz,
he got sick between the morning skate and the game
in MSG, so they had to do that.
It was a bit of a flu dog.
I was licking doornobes and trying to not make sure I did get sick by getting as many
sicknesses in my body as possible.
So around doorknob 35, I say, uh-oh, Breez got flu, Colin Shandone, make interviews now.
I blame hotel.
I blame hotel.
But they got the goalie off the street thing, and he was their backup goalie that night.
And so my editors were like, oh, you got to talk to that kid.
You got to talk to the players, blah, blah, blah.
It's awesome story.
And I was like, all right, whatever.
It's a fucking coyote's game.
And the coyotes, of course, lost because the coyotes suck.
There always always all the time anyway.
And Shane Done is one of those captains who's always there,
win or lose, but he was in that mode where it was like he was just there
because he had to be just, you know, pissed off.
And you're just like, oh, I got to ask this guy about the fucking goalie off the street.
I don't want to do this.
And I was just like, hey, you know, I know this is the last thing you want to talk about,
but, you know, what are your thoughts on the kid who came in, blah, blah, blah.
And it was great.
He went from like a 180 all the way.
over to like happy guy. He wasn't like gritting through his teeth to give me quotes. Like he knew
what I had to do and he was completely great about it. And I remember thinking like,
that doesn't happen. Like if you go up to Jonathan Taves after he loses the game and he's in a
pissy mood and he gives like four word answers and you're like, hey, what about the guy who backed
up Corey Crawford today. Got him off the street from Notre Dame. He's going to be like, yeah,
he was great. It's good to have him there. But Shane Don, like he was always like, I know like people
who hate Shane Don't hate hearing about what a great quote he was because he was throwing elbows and
going knee to knee. But yeah, he was a really good.
got to talk to
The one thing I'll say
about Shane Don is the same
thing I've always said
about like someone
like Matt Sundeen
for example
like say the word
and you probably
could have played
for a cup contending team
yeah that's the part
but like Shane Donne
hardly had like three years
at the end
where he could have done
some time
Shane Done made the decision
for his family
and that's great
to live in the valley
to play for the coyotes
to not necessarily
I mean to try to
make that team
into a contender obviously
but also to not
pull up roots
and go play
for another team
that probably would have had him if he was closer to his prime to try to win a cup.
But he wanted to go to Pittsburgh last year was the story.
Yeah, it didn't work.
Which at that point, you're just like...
Yeah, but you're 40 then, you know, it's like...
He wanted to have that Jerome McGinnla deal, you know, like of one last gasp.
And in his defense, he did pick the right team to go to.
He was like, I want to go to Pittsburgh. You want to go to like Nashville?
Nope, nope, Pittsburgh.
Pittsburgh or nothing.
But like, you know, when I read, like, you know, when he became a free agent and his
agent's like he's going to try to win a cup and obviously there's no market for his skills
anymore, but I mean, he made his choice.
I'm fine with it.
I think we all make choices professionally, you know, where maybe you don't grab the brass
ring, you're content to be in a certain situation.
And that's fine, but, like, I never shed in a tear about him not winning a cup
because I feel like he could have had opportunities to if he had left Arizona.
When you think about it, this offseason, I've really come to realize that in sports,
how, like, we all assume the guy who doesn't have the cup or the ring in any sport.
Like, Tony Romo is like, fuck you, I'm going to go do TV.
Like, Tony, you could play for like four more years.
Nope, going to go hang out and fucking Jim Nance for the rest of my life.
Really?
Joe Thornton, rather stay in San Jose.
Patrick Marlow, he gives him credit.
He goes to Toronto and steals their money.
That's an amazing fucking contract.
Jerome McGillet goes to Colorado instead of Tampa Bay.
Tampa at the time was a better chance to win a cup.
He chose to go to Denver.
Like, I just in all sports.
And Kevin Durant, he's like, I want to go win a championship.
People are like, fuck you, you're stealing a championship.
The NBA is clearly a different animal when it comes to that.
I mean, there are guys that are, you know, picking.
teams based on their ability to get to the final.
Maybe not win a championship, but at least get to the final.
The whole Cleveland Celtics
trade is weird to me. Everyone's all pumped about it.
I'm like, these two teams are just battling over who's
going to lose to the Warriors and Six? Like, what's
the big deal here? Who cares?
All right. Jay Barachal is one of our good friends.
We're thrilled to finally get him on the podcast. I think
we're launching the season with
a beautiful guest.
And
we talk about a lot of things, including
his teeth and including
a life-affirming moment about
Eddie Grite's Baby Driver for Dave Loza. Don't spoil it. Let the people find out for themselves.
Here's Jay.
Jay Barshell is an actor and director.
Writer.
Writer.
Thanks.
Bambivant.
Hey, thanks.
Does it all.
Your hair is...
I don't know what color.
As we speak, I would say it's sort of a pinkish red.
Yeah, I think that's it. It's in the hubba-bubba spectrum of colors.
Well, it's too bad. It's not a chules. I would go over and chew on your hair and have juice spurt out of it.
Hey, listen. It's my dream, buddy. Just let's get it going.
I'm your gusher.
Just bite in and suck all the juices out of my cerebral cortex.
I love that.
Yeah, yeah, let's just get into it.
And for those of you who can't see, I'm naked.
Why do, as we get older, do we chew more boring gum?
Like, I feel like the only gum I've chewed in the last five years is orbits.
And I feel like I should really, I have banded bubble yum, bubblishes.
Yeah, I'm just chewing a piece of tarp.
Just tarpulling.
man, I don't want, I want a bitter chew.
Because gum changes for you.
Gum becomes now an extension of your dental routine versus being something fun that you do.
My dental routine is a mess.
Why?
I have currently, as I sit here, 18 fillings.
Oh, yeah, me too.
I got that.
For real?
And this one of me, this is fake.
This one's fake.
No, this one's fake.
And two years ago, two years ago, I was on a flight, and I ate almonds and I chipped one of my teeth.
And I still haven't gotten it fixed.
And so there's just a gaping hole back there that I keep an eye on.
I tongue it a lot and make sure no food gets jammed up there.
But no, I have the teeth of an 18th century Englishman.
But you're Canadian.
You can get the, you get a fix for free.
No, not dental.
No, dental's private.
It's nonsense.
When you chipped your tooth in the almond, did you at least tweet at the airline to tell them that?
Because they would probably give you at least some paper you.
I was just so embarrassed that this was where I was at.
that the
yeah
my teeth were so shit
that it could
and then the worst one was
almond is to be
is somewhat understandable
you know what's really embarrassing
when you chip your teeth
eating fucking Quaker harvest crunch
and not even any of the kind
would dried fruit in it
the straight oatmeal clumps
and I dug into one of the
and I was like yeah
this is when I kill myself
I think because I'm halfway through my 30s
and I've chipped my fucking molar
on harvest crunch
suddenly realized you have
Sam Jackson from Unbreakable's teeth, apparently.
Do you, uh,
Mr. Glass.
Terrible.
How did you lose your tooth?
I'm wondering.
Did you, oh, this guy.
Yeah.
The least butch way possible.
Kissing?
What's that?
Kissing?
See, I wish.
At least that would involve something.
No, uh, drama game.
Uh, uh, you know,
short of like I chipped it on an erect penis.
This is like, I, I, no, we, we were.
We were, I was in this like, yeah, acting class.
We had to do this rhythm exercise.
And if you messed up, you had to go do a death scene in the middle of the circle.
And I messed up and being the class clown that I am, I was like, I'm going to do a good one.
And so the idiot, I fucking, I kicked with one foot, kicked the other foot out from under me and just went face first onto concrete.
And I split my lip open and enamel went flying out.
And this girl, Clarice, was like, I think this came out of your mouth.
And then it was on Saturday
And I couldn't go to the dentist until Monday
So that was a lot of fun
And you say you're face down in a pool of blood
And they're like this motherfucker's Daniel Day Lewis
Look at the amendment
That was not the reaction
Commits to it
Everyone was like we're just like trying to go home
I have a tooth
I will have a missing tooth one day
Because I have a baby tooth
Right here
That has not fallen out yet
What are you an X man?
Is that weird strange little character
It's a baby tooth with nothing
behind it. So with nothing behind it, nothing was there to push the baby tooth out. So it feels weird.
It feels a little wiggly, like at all times. Yeah. And eventually it's going to just yank it.
No, because I feel like it's like five bucks in your mouth, buddy.
Well, first of all, first of all, at this point, it's like, it's like Thelma Louise. I'm going to see how long this
tank of gas can last. Fair, fair. And then the other thing is, uh, I've always wondered.
Which one have you still? Of me? You and the tooth. Oh, me and the tooth? The tooth is probably
The tooth is the tank of gas.
The tooth is probably Susan Saran, and it's a lot sassier than me.
I'm kind of daft.
I keep on falling for that bad boy, Brad Pitt.
Because I always wondered if it fell out, would I keep it out?
Because as a hockey writer, I figure, I'm an American hockey writer.
I have no fucking credibility.
But I figure if I have a gap in my teeth, I might have credibility because they assume that it was from some hockey-related thing.
Yeah, it definitely does lend itself to that.
That's the icon you want.
And I've, it's alluring to me as well.
There's times where I want to just yank the thing out,
except for when I do, I'm like, oh, no, I see.
Yeah, I look sick and, sick and marginalized.
Yeah.
You could be a white walker.
Oh, yeah.
No, no, yeah.
And then some.
Like, I'm pale, skinny.
Like, I could definitely be a, I mean, you need, like, no CGI to get.
You're tall as shit as well.
Exactly.
You are.
I can, like, ugh, and then get killed.
They shamble.
And you shamble pretty well, I think.
Right. My knees are killing me. I could, it wouldn't take much.
My posture's garbage. I think this is perfect.
You, you, of course, Jay, are a Game of Thrones guy. You were on the ringers, talk the thrones.
Yes, I was.
Oh, really?
In over my head as well. Yeah, they're on a next level.
Well, just because for me, I've seen every episode. I love it. But every person is the big guy with the thing or she's the one with the missing thing.
I don't know the names. I don't know. Outside of the canonical starks, I don't know many of the names.
And so, like, I was fucking without a paddle on that show.
Which did you think of last night?
I hated it.
Yeah.
Yeah, I think that there was some cool stuff.
I think the sisters coming together was a neat bit of storytelling.
But really, the only bit of storytelling that felt like it was from Game of Thrones.
The rest of it, and I don't know, I'm still trying to process who John Snow actually.
is like like it's it's his
bit of an info dump it was a lot of an
info dump that they not they didn't
sew at all like we went zero to
he's something else and I was like
which Targary is so is he
DeNaris's brother or is he nephew
nephew nephew that's her brother in the in the
flashback yeah so it ends so it's fine
yeah that he's just fucking his aunt
at the end like yeah I love having that narration
while he's inside his aunt
you know
I know. I was like, guys, I'm sure the Greek chorus, you're throwing a lot of info at me here, and I'm trying to parse it out.
Yeah, and, and, um...
The wall coming down was, I mean, it was expected, but it was good.
It was neat, but it was, what, 30 seconds?
Yeah.
Yeah, you know, like, we spent 15 minutes in that open-air debate.
I know.
Right.
That yielded the outcome that was apparent from the beginning of it.
Like, they talked, they went to rooms, they came back, and were like, no, no,
Okay, we're good. And then there was 45 minutes into the episode.
You're probably the best guy to ask this, the Knight King.
How do you think he trained his dragon?
Good question. That's a very good guy.
He didn't need to. He didn't need to because he's like the Borg Queen.
He just thinks and is there. That's the gist of it I get.
They seem to be a group mind, sort of, although if you want to go into Borg logic, there's a lot to be.
Star Trek really steps on themselves constantly.
La Cudus couldn't happen.
The whole Jean-Luc Picard becoming a borg and then getting back to normal, that's just not a thing that could ever happen.
You take out the circuitry.
That was the gist of it, right?
Yeah, but that's insane.
It's like the gray scale.
You just slish the way.
Yeah, that was wicked.
It's so stupid.
And then, but they're also harvesting babies.
And then, oh, no, there's a queen at the top of it that's thinking all.
There's a sexy queen that is thinking all of it.
Your point's taken because the, you're not.
What they should, in theory, the way that you reformed Lecutus was that episode with Hugh the Borg.
Yeah.
Where once you get him away from the hive, he kind of can start thinking for himself and everything.
But you don't take it.
You can't unborg him.
No, you cannot.
You can make him a nice borg.
But in theory, Picard's dead.
And going forward is Captain Lecutus, the nice, palatable Lacutus is what it should have been.
A housebroken borg.
Yeah, that's the ceiling on it.
Right.
Like the end of Sean of the Dead when.
Right.
He's in the shed.
at the end. He stole a zombie.
Recker can still play PlayStation with
that's exactly right.
Hey, hockey fans, do you love this conversation?
It's the teeth and nitpicking TV shows.
Listen, podcast. I want to do one more
Game of Thrones question, because this is important.
As you know, fantasy
and sci-fi require a certain
suspension of disbelief, but Dave Lozo took issue
last night with the
Ice Dragon, I believe, is what we could
call it. You didn't believe it could
fly because it had so many holes in its wings.
The wings had a lot of holes in it.
The thing I took, the thing I
took exception with the most was how Little Finger died.
Because for seven years, that guy
is ahead of everything for seven steps.
He didn't see this one coming?
And like two teenage girls tricked him into dying, basically.
Like, I thought that was, I mean, it was great that he died,
but it was how he died.
Like, everything was moving super fast this season.
But in fairness, he had a fucking bag over Bain's head, too,
and didn't realize Bain was in front of them.
So, I mean, he's not the most perceptive guy.
And he also couldn't kill Owen Wilson and Jackie Chan in not the Old West movie.
That's right.
And don't even get me.
started on Baltimore politics.
Or queer as folk, really.
In the original, the British one,
he was Charlie Hunnam's way into that world.
So he's like the most like elegant
yet incompetent bad guy and everything.
Yeah, yeah, that's Aiden Gillen
in a nutshell. There you go. Somehow has
not ended up with the empire. I'll say
this though. The one thing
that was really cool that strangely
I didn't think it would feel earned
was his falling
on his knees. His bagel
and, you know, like, watching him unravel,
and having never seen him even really close to that.
And, like, it should have felt a slight bit.
It should have felt kind of out of nowhere,
because, like, everything's going so fast this year,
but it didn't, and he killed it, I thought.
And I, like, and it was, and I'm glad that he's fucking dead.
I'm glad you came perilously close to quoting Layla right there.
He was falling his knees, begging, darling, please.
Begging salsa, please.
George Harrison's girlfriend, right?
her wife, that's who that's about? Yeah, that's about, yeah. You are, of course, a Montreal
Canadian superfan, so I suppose we should ask you about the eight-year, $84 million
contract to carry price. How do you feel about signing a goalie to that sort of contract
that's going to blow up your cap for years to come? With this goalie, absolutely fine.
Yeah. With a goalie in the sort of abstract, you know, like, no, you know, like the
whole Rick DiPietro, you know, thing for, is that, you know, that.
So, but...
He is kind of like D.P.H. He's got the grinds every couple years.
But he's got proof of concept in a way that D.P.A.R. did.
Yes, he does. And he plays no matter what, 60 games a year.
And the man, and, like, he's won at every level except for the NHL.
That's the only thing left. And I think that, like, for my money, and I've been saying it for the whole time.
I think he's the best goalie in the world. I think he's number one.
And I think he's being number one for a long time.
And...
You should have won the Ranger series.
What's that?
They should have won the Ranger series.
They were a better team.
I agree.
And I am really mad at Chris Kreider and will be forever.
Oh, are you a Chris Kreider, Truther?
Oh, God, damn.
Skates first.
You're telling me.
That's what happens when you, you watch a baseball slide.
He's played hockey his entire life.
He doesn't know what's on the bottom of his feet.
He's a deuce.
He knew exactly what he was doing.
He ran it.
He was like the juggernaut.
He just came in there, barreling in, trying to take out a goalie.
I think so.
I think so.
I'm a Chris Kreider, truth, or too.
I am.
And full disclosure.
But I also think that given what happened last summer or two summers ago, whenever the awful trade happened,
because my biggest, one of the biggest issues for me with the P.K. trade was if he can go, if he is movable, who isn't?
And if that's the true, then why am I watching?
Why am I buying in and investing my emotion and time and money into your five-year plan or whatever the fuck?
is if these guys can go.
Right.
Like the,
who should be untradable.
And so I thought, like, if P.K. can go, then that means carry can go fucking two.
Like, like, really.
No, everyone's, you know.
So that I was very, I could breathe a sigh of relief that he'll be in that sweater for
at least another couple of years.
Especially because he had a secret handshake with P.
Yeah.
Which means that he could have easily been out of the dog.
Which, by the way, every time people took issue with that handshake, notice that they
only took issue with P.
Yeah.
Well, yeah.
You forget that Carrie Price was part of that.
Yes.
What's it like for you as a Montreal fan?
You're a high-profile guy, and you've done stuff with the team.
You did those.
You took a shower with Brendan Gallagher?
I did, too.
Do you ever wonder if, like, hey, if I ripped the team too much on Twitter, I'm going to become persona non-grada?
I can rip any team I want.
They're going to be like, come on in the locker room.
Are you worried?
They're like, Jay, I thought you were our friend.
You can't say that about us.
So sometimes I think people in the head office take issue maybe.
And same with the NHL as well, because I have friendly relationships with people with the NHL,
but I also have very strong opinions about that league.
You also made two movies about hockey fighting and the glory of violence.
Exactly.
So I, but I don't, I think that, I don't know, but I feel like they wouldn't have it any other way.
Because I think that like, Jeff Moulson knows that the reason people boo, 21,273 people boo in the drop of a head is the same reason why he's wealthy and why the team is what it is.
right that this sort of die hard giving a shit like that that that if you own a sports team that's
the all you could possibly ask right and so I try to not keep I try to avoid personal digs as
much as I can Mark Bergerman's suits suck you know Michelle Tarion eventually just didn't I I stopped
I but I wasn't a fan before he showed up because I had season tickets on the during the fucking first go
so I thought that this is like a huge waste of time bringing him in because yeah fine
His wins are over losses, so you can't take issue with it.
But all of them in the most boring fashion possible.
And anyway.
So you brought up PK.
Did it got you watching him get to the final, or were you, were you happy?
Because it's sort of like in that sort of Bill Kessel place of like, oh, I'm so upset that things didn't work out.
But I'm going to root for this guy.
After game six, was it more relief from more like, oh, PK.
It was a hard one.
It was like, because we didn't deserve him.
And we, like, you know, that's how we feel.
Montreal. And what was amazing was
when he got traded,
I think it was TVA
sports, one of the biggest French language
broadcasters, got the French
language rights to every Nashville game.
No. Yeah, man.
I didn't know that. Wow. I didn't realize that either. And bars across
the city were showing every Nashville game.
And Montreal was in yellow jerseys.
And like, I get goosebumps thinking about that because
that tells me that
it's not nonsense. The connection between
him and us.
But, okay, so that's a French language
broadcast so how much of that speaks to that other thing we were talking about before, which is
sometimes anger and disliking something can drive your fandom too. I mean, he was not
necessarily the bell of the ball for the French language media. I agreed completely,
agreed completely, but I think what you saw was an entire sort of province, planted unto itself,
deal with the, you don't know what you've got till it's gone thing. And yeah, I want him to
win everything. I want him to dominate
and do everything because I think he's one of
the most entertaining, talented
athletes in the game. So Montreal National National
National National Cup Final. You're still Montreal, of course. Oh,
100%. But it
would be a heartbreaker. That would be a
fucking hard one to watch. You mentioned a couple
years ago, you moved from Montreal
partially because of local politics
and the language thing, being
a constant thing. And that's always something that
we've talked about on the show is vis-a-vis the
Canadians, which is the
slavish kind of
attention that they have to give the language issue, especially when it comes to the coaching
hiring process.
So how do you feel, do you feel like it's necessary when you are the Montreal Canadiens
to pay mind to this?
I think that there's a few teams in sports that transcend sort of sport.
And that sounds such a cliche, but like, you know, Barcelona needs a coach that doesn't
just speak Spanish, you know, because Barcelona means what it means to that population.
um celtic always keeps a spot open for an irish kid
celtics always keep a spot open for the white guy
and so the habs always have to keep
because it means a great deal to that culture
and so don't get me wrong it does my head in
like anybody else like the randy cunny worth debacle
i was like fuck let him coach one game guys holy smokes
i remember seeing him in msg when he was the interim guy and like i felt so bad for him
yeah yeah he was just like bags under his eyes
shell-shocked. No, he can't win. He's like, I'm taking French lessons and I'm trying to
coach 82 games and I've just got a prostate. Like, the guy was just fucking like they was, he
couldn't catch a break. And so, so like, yeah, it's, it's a headache, 100%. But the headache is a small
price to pay for the import of having a sweater and a team that means more than just,
it's, you know, not the Arizona Coyotes. No, it's not. I, I, the worst thing about the Coneyworth
situation was the French pronunciation of his name.
I could have listened to you for at least two decades.
Randy Cundee Wart.
Coney Wirt. Cunny Wirt.
Cundee Wirt.
Yeah, that's a good one.
Sounds like a venereal disease.
So, all right, so Goon Lasty Enforcers,
having seen it and I really enjoyed it,
we saw each other at the premiere in Toronto.
It was a great time.
I wanted to ask you, and I didn't get a chance to ask you there,
the fighting league that you have in this,
where was the inspiration for putting that in the film?
Oh, so the bruised and battered, yeah.
So that's based on a real fucking thing called, I think it was called the black and blue hockey enforcers competition or hockey fighting competition.
And it was this, the footage of the competition itself is incredibly depressing.
The documentary about the making of it is very interesting and fascinating.
And it's these two kind of quintessential promoter types going to all these different towns and cities across Canada trying to get permission from city council to put this.
on and they get
soundly kicked out
of every place except for fucking Prince George
BC
and
you see
the guys that are part of this
thing the fighters that they have are all guys
that sort of yeah
they all they're all Ross Ray
they all are having a hard time kind of letting go
were they ex-N-HL or they more
like X
HL
ECHL and
what are they playing for or fighting for like what's the prize
oh yeah like 2500
hundred bucks.
Like, there's like a small purse.
They each get paid like an honorary for showing up and then there's a small purse.
And when you watch the dock, you see behind the scenes at breakfast, you see like one
of the guys coming in, literally he still got his gear on.
It was the promoters of the check bounced.
Like, like they're not even, yeah, no, no.
It's low, low, low level.
And it's incredibly jaded and cynical.
And it's such a, when you take, when you take the emotional story, you,
game context away from a fight and it's just two guys doing it a hockey fight specifically not a boxy match when you take when you when you when you rob hockey fighting of the context of hockey it is distilled to its uh ugliest thing and you see like oh that's what adam proto hates right you know like that and you see it that's very very vivid and so we thought that this was like a pretty strong uh storytelling device for our characters because it's a real fucking thing and and we just
took it to like a slightly operatic extent like we added the battle royale there's no they never
had a 10 man melee but i mean you're right i mean like in order to kind of signify what would be
the last wrong on the ladder for someone like dug latin you don't want to be here yeah you don't
or god help you you do that's like that's the worst part is like like every single one of those
guys um wanted to be there because it was at least
a cousin to what they used to feel when they played hockey.
But they're all, none of it's lost on them.
They're all well aware of where they're at.
And it's this heartbreaking thing of like they haven't been able to say goodbye, but they're also, no, they should.
The Goon films, you know, in a time that they've come out, it's very interesting because your, your films come out at a time when there's this sort of steady decline.
Yeah, big time.
Big time.
Do you miss it?
I miss it.
I do.
Of course I do
You utter caveman
You utter caveman
We don't have many
This is we don't have many distinct
Well we have a lot of disagreement
It's a fucking idiot
But like
He thinks Baby Driver is a good movie
Baby Driver is a great movie
I'll keep my mouth
Oh Jesus Christ
All right
Thank you for not casting the deciding vote
You and also
You obviously want to work
With that a great at some point
I do not
That's a very very busy cinema
Very busy cinema
Jay's got things to do
Everything is
inserts and everything's a sound effect.
You open your wallet and it goes,
I suppose you're like performance and not simply a director jerking off all over the film stock.
So,
but I was going to say, you know, what the fuck was I talking about?
Oh, yeah, so fighting.
Yeah, he hates fighting.
But you and I miss fighting.
Yeah, indeed.
But it's not that I,
and I try to not imbue my opinion with a morality thing.
It's just I grew up watching that game.
And I grew up with a dad who,
played that part of the game and loved that part of the game.
Dad's two favorite players, the sort of player player would be Bob Ganey, but really dad's favorite guy was Nylon.
And I, but I also understand all the reasons why people want to get rid of it.
I still think we are in the majority, people that enjoy watching it, but history has decided that it's gone and it doesn't have a place in our game anymore.
And so that's, and we were aware of that.
That's not a coincidence.
The movie's called Last of the Enforcers.
Like, we saw Doug's retirement could dovetail perfectly with this role being retired completely.
But yes, I miss it.
I miss it.
Like, even as recently as Ryan White, man, like that's like Ryan White at the Bell Center.
So there's electric, absolutely electric.
He loved it.
We loved it.
Everyone was happy.
Does the NHL, when it comes to promoting the movie, are they like, uh, come to off a fight?
They don't. They, they, they, they, they, remember in 2009. That was, wait, it was 2011.
Oh, 10, 11 somewhere on there? Like, before your movie came out, I think the tooth fairy came out.
Yeah. And that's kind of a hockey movie and the NHL was all over it. And then I'm like, yeah, they're off the house offending goon out. I'm like, we should put some clips on the, no, we can't do. No, no, they didn't want anything to do with our movie. And then they didn't have a choice. Because the movie and hockey fans force the issue.
right they they tried to sort of know that goes against our brand this goes against the new sort of
NHL that we're trying to put out there fine fine that's we didn't want you we didn't need you guys
anyway we'll do our thing but people like our fucking movie and people that like our movie are
NHL fans and so at a certain point as you know and so you flash forward and I'm at the
NHL awards this year with Ganey giving a you know giving a presenting award so so so
eventually we were there and
And they had to give us at least a begrudging kind of respect, you know, like, because they also know that if people like our movie, it's good for the sport.
I remember, too, at the time, having the conversation about it.
And I'm like, why are we not doing anything with this?
It's like, well, it's fighting.
And I'm like, oh, hold on.
Let me, let me click on this video on our website.
It's a two and a half minute Pierre Lucaternal LeBlond fight against some guy in the blues.
Like, why is that on the site?
Yeah, it's just fiction.
In their defense, and by no means, an NHL mark.
But, like.
Yeah, you are.
You love the NHL.
They, the lawsuit, the concussion lawsuit has really changed a lot.
Because inside the lawsuit, one of the things that the plaintiffs are arguing is that by the NHL participating in the Broad Street Bullies documentary that was on HBO, that's an endorsement of fighting.
Like, it's gotten to that level where anything that they do vis-a-vis promotion of fighting or promotion of violence or headshots or rock and sock-and-basket kind of thing is now evidence in this class action suit.
I get that. I just, I think if that were true, if that was, if, if, if, if.
If concussion shit was really
NHL's primary concern,
would they not make the rinks bigger?
Well, concussions,
it's not losing a lawsuit,
is they're concerned.
No,
100%,
but I guess what I mean is like,
and I say this in the Ice Guardians documentary,
but I was like,
the debate has always just been
some people like fighting in hockey
and some people don't like it.
And that's all it's ever been.
And why does it have to be anything more than that?
Now,
with sort of medical data,
the people that found
it unpalatable now have a sort of moral reason to find it unpalatable. Whereas I really do
think that the greatest ill, the greatest thing that fate like mental sort of head trauma issue
that faces a player out there right now is getting run from behind, is getting elbowed on the
side, is getting cheap shot at, oh, sure. You know, there's something infinitely, I don't want to say
purer, but when two men drop their gloves and elect to fight each other, they're sort of both
exerting agency. They're both electing to be there. When a kid gets run into the boards from behind,
when Matt Cuck does whatever he does to anybody, they don't have a choice in the matter.
That was always Brendan Shanahan's argument when he was the Department of Player of Safety Head,
which is that the difference between a fight and what we police is that there's sort of a,
you enter into a contract, it's mutual agreement. If it's a guy, you know, if it's Sean Thornton
on Brooks Orpick where he's getting jumped, it's different. But if it's two guys fighting,
it's it's but two guys fighting what is it what's it what's the point of it other than you just want to
see two guys fight well now we're going to get into the whole like no no what the boys in the rock
room say about fighting and intangibles and all this stuff and and firing up the boy no i i i i
don't think that that shit's nonsense and i think that like what's happened now is there's a
debate between old school and stats and it can only be one or the other and i think that's
insane and i think that they're expressing the same thing i i think that eventually there will be
stats to explain momentum and X factor and all these things that feel like intangibles, all that stuff that
every time an old fart said that some stats, and I was able, oh, that's horseshit, you know, no,
there's just, we haven't found the metric for it yet. I think they're, they're explaining the
same thing. But I have seen a very, my entire life, I have seen very, very direct examples of what
a fight can do to a game. Like, like, say you two fought right now. And like, I'm on team with
Shinsky. Yeah, because I would just fall on them. And you just bury Jay, right? Like,
like I'm not saying that I won't get fired up by that and then go out on my next interview and just like really crush it.
But my point is just why do I need that to happen to get fired up?
You know what?
Because it's an 82 game season.
That's it.
Yeah, but like, but like, how do baseball players get through 162 without having to get fired up?
They don't because they don't.
They don't.
They don't.
They don't.
They don't get off in the locker room until it's their time to hit.
But it's, you know, I just, I don't know.
Like, I totally believe there is a, a emotional game either, baseball.
Like, that's, that's, that.
There's something about a bunch of agro guys constantly bumping into each other 100 miles an hour, you know, for an hour, you know, three times a week.
I think it's going to happen.
And I think, by the way, I do, I don't think that that deterrent stuff is nonsense.
I just, I really, really don't.
That said, the Penguins won two cups without Ryan Reeves.
Red Wing has won three cups without any.
That's a thing.
I just, here's the way that because it can happen doesn't mean that it doesn't disprove the other side.
But the deterrent thing, it reminds me of like a mafia guy showing up to like a small business being like, hey, you don't pay me. I'm going to burn your business down.
So you're paying this guy to be a deterrent against the thing that he's going to be the one to do anyway.
He's not protecting you from some outside force.
No, I mean, the deterrents is fellow guys that do what he does.
Yeah, but that analogy doesn't apply to on a hockey team.
Sure.
No, because the enforcers never in, like, no, he's never in danger of threatening his own team.
Not his own team, but like, but all those guys are the guys that are going to be the ones that do the 30 hit. The enforcer is going to start the fight. So no, I think he's Sean Thornton's hitting Brooks Warpick. Yeah, because because he, because the catalyst for that is he felt that Orpick took liberties with his, with his teammate. I mean, it's nonsense in that example. That's an extreme example, but that's why it happened. That's a deterrent to it. I think if referees did their job, there'd be less reason for that. Here's the thing. Like, I'm, I'm, I'm a heathen. I am more than willing to be someone in the Coliseum rooting for the lion because the bottom line for me about fighting is that as fighting declines,
so do the intensity of rivalries and all the things that I love.
But to go back to your earlier point, it's really hard not only as a hockey fan, but also in pop culture as a whole, to not be like, I loved my thing and this thing's not my thing.
So I don't like this thing and fuck you for liking it.
Like I grapple with it every day.
I grapple with the music was better in the 90s.
And maybe there is a bit of just nostalgia to all of it.
I don't doubt that.
I don't doubt that.
But you ask me if I miss it and I do.
I do too.
Because I think
Can I run out of the washroom really?
Go ahead.
Go ahead.
This is a J. Break.
This J. Break is brought to you by
Jay's Blatter.
Jay's bladder.
J's bladder.
Folks.
Since 1983.
Do you like films such as How to Train Your Dragon?
And this is the end?
Well, this was the end of Jay's bladder holding.
How to Train Your Blatter.
How to Train Your Blatter!
I think he's got a third How to Train Your Dragon coming out.
I was like on his IMDB page.
I think he's got another one.
That was a great joke.
I saw it.
Told you.
I felt it. I felt it yesterday.
All right, get your button here. We got two minutes left here.
We got to close out.
No.
We've got to get you out of here.
You've got bigger audiences and bigger people to talk to it.
So we'll close off hockey fighting and move on to bigger and better things.
All right.
Real quick.
What comes back first, Major League Baseball to Montreal or the NHL to Quebec?
NHL to Quebec.
So you think the expos are done?
I don't know completely, but I...
It's just about appetite.
And I think it was much more appetite for hockey in Quebec than there is for baseball in Montreal.
You'd rather a Stanley Cup than a team come back to the Expos.
Yeah, I mean, I also just not a big baseball fan to begin with.
But I, Expos might come back, but I think the Nordic's come back sooner.
As was clear by your indication that it's the single most boring sport vis-a-vis fighting in other sports.
Are you making – are you ever going to make another hockey movie?
Oh, fuck.
There's tons I'd love to make.
Like what?
Like, like, like, sort of base something on something on –
that happened?
Yeah,
there's,
I think there's an amazing movie
to be made about Montreal and Quebec
in the late 70s,
early 80s,
uh,
that,
that rivalry that led to the Good Friday brawl.
I think that's like,
uh,
pretty,
pretty sexy,
interesting drama.
Um,
I think John Corkick is,
uh,
is somebody who needs a story,
his story told.
Um,
yeah,
I,
I,
there,
there's a bunch that I am very,
very interested in.
Um,
and,
and there's more in this world,
in our world that we,
we created that we like you know hope to get out of it at some point yeah is it hard to get a hockey
movie made because it's hockey yeah it's hard to get any more any small movie made yeah and you know and
even this at whatever it was we had 12 million 13 million dollars this is a small movie and um and small
movies take forever to happen and it's like a reason why it took five years from the first movie
for this to come out so on top of it to make it a small movie it takes place in Canada and is
about hockey it's just
It's not like a financier's wet dream.
So, yeah, it is.
And people sort of find it prohibitive because it's specific.
But then they watch the movie.
And it's just like when you make something specific, you make it universal.
When you endeavor to be universal, you make something that means nothing to anyone.
Well, your movie's great.
Thank you very much.
At the premiere, like I created a bunch of really compelling characters and you carried it through.
it's like a great hang with a bunch of people that you like to be around.
And as I told everybody, when they asked me how I liked the movie, I said,
watch it for Wyatt Russell.
He's so damn good in that movie.
He's so damn good in that movie.
Yeah.
And it's crazy, especially considering like he usually earns his wages as like funny stoner guy
and these things.
You know, and like, you know, and I was like, he's channeling something special.
And it was all real because he's a BCHL boy, right?
Like his parents moved to B.C. when he was 12.
so he could play hockey.
So he came up with Luchich and Price and Georges and all that and all those guys.
And,
and then played pro in Europe.
And so he constantly,
it's all real.
Everything can now,
it's,
it goes to an operatic arch thing many times,
but it's all real.
And he looks like his dad way too much.
Yes,
he fucking does.
Like throw an eye patch on that motherfucker.
There's an amazing moment anytime.
He looks like John,
like it's the thing because of the beard.
Yeah.
And so what's as amazing, my favorite moment is when I'm watching that with a show in my movie to a friend of mine.
And they haven't put two into it together.
And I'm like, do you know who that is?
He's like, no, I said, it's Kurt Russell's son.
And without fail, the moment is always like, oh, Jesus, yeah.
Holy shit.
Yes, clearly that's exactly who that is.
Well, Jay.
I got one more dumb question.
Yeah.
The original goon.
Yeah.
The guy who played the backup goalie, guy on the bench.
Yes.
Is he intentionally made to look like Goldberg from the Mighty X movies?
Because he looks like gold.
I thought maybe that was.
like a little
Easter egg type.
That's a very good,
that's a funny point.
The first,
because the camera pans
across the bench
and I was like,
goal!
No,
it's not Goldberg.
No,
I think that that's a complete,
maybe.
I have to ask Dow's who directed it.
Maybe he cast that.
I'd be very surprised
of that specific.
I'll say this,
though.
Is that the guy's wearing his pads wrong?
Because like,
we got so,
we got so much shit
for him putting his pads on wrong
that we,
we, you know, a little,
sort of how the sausage just gets made.
We're like, oh, of course, it's a comedy.
We did that on purpose.
It's literally just none of us flagged it.
Well, there you go. There you go.
Jay, Jay,
Jay finally breaks the news that the Goon movies
take place in the Mighty Ducksiverse.
Josh Jackson, if you're listening,
get on the horn, call Jay Barashel for the Goon 3.
Jay, you're the best.
Not just doing.
Thank you for making amazing hockey things for hockey fans.
Thank you. Thanks for having me.
My gosh.
Thanks to Jay Barashal,
who is one of our favorite
people has long supported
me and
the things that I've done
do you get a lot of love from Jay?
Um,
I don't know, I guess.
Goon, Last of the Enforcers, uh, comes out in
U.S. theaters on September 1st.
I think it's also on demand and
Digital HD on September 1st as well.
And then it comes out on Divida on October 3rd.
Australia, September 1st.
I enjoy it.
You know, as I said to Jay when we talked in Toronto
after I saw the premiere, like I think it's
it becomes a pretty apparent in this flick
that this is much more about the characters
that you met in the first movie than it is
about hockey, like the first movie was.
So if you're someone who loved Goon
because of it being about hockey
and the completely transparent comparisons
between Xavier LaFlemm and Mike Robero
and that kind of thing,
like this isn't necessarily the same flick.
This is a flick that if you really like the characters
in the first movie,
then you want to spend more time with them,
then you're really going to like this.
And like I said,
Wyatt Russell is a keeper.
That guy is not a stoner in the movie.
He's a monster.
It's going to remind you of Kurt Russell.
And I mean that in the best way.
Jay didn't get me an advance copy,
so I can't really comment on the quality of the movie
because Jay just likes you more than me,
which is fair, I guess.
Thanks for coming on, Jay.
Leon Drysiddle got an eight-year,
$68 million contract with the Ebbetson Oilers,
an $8.5 million cap hit through the 2024-25 season.
It's the fourth highest second contract of the NHL salary cap era,
a list that includes Connor McDavid, Alex Ovech, and Sidney Crosby, and Yvgeny Malkin,
and now Leon Drysidl throwing his name in with a bunch of guys who have heart trophies.
That's weird. It's really weird.
To me, the gamble on this is whether he can anchor his own line
and not simply be the Yari Curia to Connor's Gratzky.
But they're basing it all on the playoffs.
Like, he really wasn't that guy in their regular season.
Well, he's not yet, but I think it's...
Not yet, yeah?
Listen, he could be for sure.
I think they need him to be, basically.
Like, they're clearly building the team around two players.
And I need him to be the Malkin to the Crosby or the Messiaater of the Gratsky to use an oiler's comparison.
I think he's got the ability.
I just don't know.
I think it's one of these deals that if everything works out the way it should, 8.5 is going to feel right.
But God forbid he doesn't achieve that level of greatness.
And he's back on McDavid's line at some point.
point in the next two years?
The logic makes sense because, like, let's say they do the thing the teams do and they hold
them hostage and make him take a shitty bridge deal.
And it's a two-year deal.
And let's say in those two years, he puts up 190 points.
Because he's still be on the power play with Connor McDavid.
Right.
But, like, let's say he's a monster those two years.
And it's like the P.K. Suban bridge deal where he makes himself more valuable because
of the bridge deal.
You're still going to have to pay him a ton of money because of that.
And now let's say it's the other way.
Let's say, like, he's just kind of, you know, whatever.
Either way, you're probably going to be stuck with him for the next seven, eight years on your team either way.
So you may as well just do the eight, eight, eight and eight and eight and eight and eight eight and eight eight and eight eight and eight eight and a half.
And then eight and eight years. And then eight and nine and a half the next eight years. So I understand it. It's just, it's, it's a lot of money being thrown around these days. And it, it makes you, it gives me the shrinking sphincter about what's going to happen at the next labor negotiation. Because I feel like we're getting very close to roll backville.
with some of these contracts.
I don't mind.
Oh, no.
I'd rather...
Oh, sorry, that's an auto play video on Yahoo.
Fucking website.
God.
Just take an oath to fix that.
Take an oath to fix that.
Thank you.
I don't mind.
I'd rather see Leon Drysadling it 8 and 1 half
as opposed to Carl Olsner get 5 and 25
or whatever the hell that was.
Those are the contracts that kill you.
The Jeff Finger contracts are the ones that fucking murder you.
Right.
There's not a fear of Leon Drysaddle.
buried in the
HL anytime soon.
Exactly.
You're not,
you're not giving
fucking weight
to money
to fucking Chris Russell
as bad as Chris Russell
is he given him
for you.
That's still a bad
contract too.
But yeah,
I just,
the next lockout
is going to have
the same sort of
anesty buyout
situations.
They're going to give
teams a chance to,
like that's the thing
is like,
like I don't love
Carrie Price's contract.
Mm-hmm.
I get it.
Mm-hmm.
But like, let's say
Carrie Price,
you know,
let's say Carrie Price's
growing pops again
and his knee goes again.
In three years,
if he's healthy
at the time of the lockout, I could see like Montreal thinking, well, we'll just get out from
under it then. That'd be fine.
See, ultimately your point, the point that you make is the one I think is the important one,
which is what, you know, don't dick around with a bridge contract if you're confident
you have what you have in him.
No.
You know, you're going to have the top two centers in the West.
I should say the top two, the best one-two punch of centers in the Western Conference and
McDavid and Dryside Lift things work out the way that you think they are, and you're going
to have them for the next, you know, decade.
It's a no-brainer contract that might not work out, but if it doesn't work out,
you just have to be like, well, they kind of had no choice.
Yeah, and it's not as if right now the Oilers are dealing with a modicum of young players
signed to big contracts that are slowly being parsed away to other teams, i.e. the devils,
the Islanders, and wherever riding near to Hopkins shows up.
Oh, speaking of really good young players, it's August 30th, it's 2.36 p.m.
27 p.m. It just changed. Yarmier-R. Miriaga remains unemployed.
What are we doing? What are we doing in this league where fucking guys are like Chris Russell are getting
contracts and your army of yager's hanging out after having a 48 point season last year.
Well, Yager's an interesting one because here's the thing about Yager.
There's no sense.
He's been very selective in the places that he's played in recent years, i.e., what's the
tax situation?
Tax situation, sure.
And where is it located geographically?
Because if you remember, he's played out West once, and it was Dallas, and it lasted
less than a season.
So I think that when we all get bitched, like, when we get sort of bitchy about Yager not
having a job.
Are you calling me bitchy?
Yes.
I think we have to take a step back and say, okay, but how many options are actually
on the table?
There should be, I mean...
Like, we hear Calgary's kicking the tires, but does Yager want to play in Calgary?
There should be at least a third of the league offering him between three and four
million for one year.
Easily.
And I understand if, like, the thing I wrote about that.
But where does he want to play?
That's what I'm telling you.
It's like, we're all like, there are 31 teams in this league.
How could 31 teams not need...
Yom or Yager? Well, how many of those 31 teams
does he actually want to play for?
Does he want to shot at the cup? Does he want to stay on the East Coast?
Does he want to go to Montreal and pay that much money in taxes?
Like, I feel like there's a lot more at play here than simply,
why doesn't Yager have a contract and, you know, Winger X does?
I do think the Patrick Marlow contract fucked everything up because they're the same guy,
but Yager's better. And Patrick Marlowe's getting 18 million for three years.
Marlowe's a little bit.
They had the same amount of points last year in the same amount of games.
And Patrick Marlowe's declined him way faster.
Joe Thornton, right.
Right.
So I can understand if someone comes to, like, say, you're like, hey, I just had, you know, I had a 40.
I think he had 46 or 47 points last year, whatever it was.
And someone comes to him and says, hey, we're going to give you one year, three million.
He's been like, three.
Three.
You see that guy in San Jose who's got three and 18?
I should get four or five.
I can see how that could be a stumbling block,
but like it's now, it's September basically.
Like, it should be done.
I think he's,
I think the plan for him,
and of course,
in Puck Soup logic,
he'll have signed by the time I get done with the sentence
because that's usually how news works here.
Oh, yeah.
He's a devil right now.
I think he goes,
plays in Cladno until someone needs him
halfway through the season,
and he comes back over.
This league is so stupid.
That's just probably what's going to happen.
It's just so fucking annoying.
Like guys like Andre Markoff can't get a job here.
You know,
like fucking Yarmriyager can't get a job here.
fucking he's the guy
We talked about Don earlier in the show
But that's the guy who needs a victory lap
Like I would be
Dispundant if he had to retire right now
And didn't get another shot in the NHL
Yeah like okay
Yarra Yager can't
Like all right if we're gonna
He can't go back to Pittsburgh obviously
That's not an opening there
Philly they probably wouldn't work
That's not a good thing
Jersey New York Rangers
You're gonna go through 31 teams now
All 31
Let's start with Vegas
Vegas
Vegas currently has
Fine,
Bucket.
No, George McPhee, go next.
Give me the one.
I've already gone through it.
Like there's, there's like between
eight and ten teams that have like the three to four million in cab space
and have those eight to ten teams, like half of them are like playoff contendery type teams.
And there just needs to be a fit there.
Can it be a place he's already played?
It could be anywhere.
Oh, we can go anywhere.
I mean, that's the thing is like, whatever, wherever he goes for the quote,
farewell tour, he just spent two years in Florida.
Like, I mean, he can go anywhere and have the farewell tour.
It doesn't matter.
Except Vegas.
Don't go to fucking Vegas.
Yoggs.
Don't do that.
You're not going to be happy.
Calgary is legit a great landing spot for him.
Ottawa would be an interesting landing spot for him.
I think Tampa has no cap room, right?
Do they have the three?
They have, they've got like three million in Cap Space.
Yeah, but like I don't think he would take three.
I think it would probably take four to sign him unless he really gets desperate.
But obviously I want Columbus just for the sheer joy of Torderella and Yager being reunited.
But also, he could just be like, hey, Montreal's a cool city.
Maybe they're not a playoff team.
They trade me in April for March.
I always get to ask, like, what are things in hockey that baffle you?
Here's one thing that baffles me.
Thomas Placanick is there for another year, and you've yet to sign Yager to play with him.
And yet they had amazing chemistry on the national team.
It makes too much sense.
If you're going to have turtleneck there for another year,
you might as bring his buddy around so they can hang out and play.
Armour Yager had 47 points last year, and that was tied for, like,
like fucking
a hundred and third in the league
in scoring right for forwards
and that sounds bad
but I mean there's there's 30 teams
three guys on top lines
that's 90 human beings technically
90 human beings
I mean 89 human beings
and I'm so out of practice
I can't think of this
90 carbon based life farms
89 human beings
and who's a scumbag who scores a lot of points
so I could be like he's not a human being
claudgeru no he's fine
89 human beings and one
butt grabber.
The eagle butt grabber.
Oh, and Patrick Cain.
There's the joke.
Wow.
Like we said, episode zero of the season, folks.
He's out of practice.
I'm rusty.
Jesus, I couldn't.
It took way too long to get to.
But, like, he's a top six at worst, top nine forward still.
Yeah.
So, I don't know.
Before we get to letters in Q&A stuff,
a word about carry prices contract,
eight years, 10.5 million starting in 1819.
huge A.AV for him.
Arpin Bassoe, now of the athletic, who's not?
Everyone's got an athletic byline but you.
It says no team that's won the Stanley Cup in the salary cap era has a goaltender
eating up more than 10% of the cap, except for Tim Thomas in 2011.
How much was Tim Thomas getting at that point?
I don't remember him being super high.
Oh, yeah.
He was making, I mean, of that team's cap.
That was before all the players in the team got their Super Wombo contracts for having won that one cup.
Yeah.
Yeah, no, but he didn't go into the year as a starter.
Tuka Rass was supposed to be the starter that year.
No, it's 2011.
You're thinking of the other year, the Blackhawks, the one they lost the Blackhawks.
This is the one they won when they beat Vancouver.
I could have swung.
Let me get my ears mixed up.
You already get your ears mixed up.
But point being is that, just like we were talking about dry-siddle being sort of the exception of the rule,
because of the plans for the oilers
and what they think he could be,
you pay Carrie Price.
Don't you?
Do I look like a guy
who makes plans?
Eight years, he's going to be old as shit
at the end of it,
but he's the exception of the rule.
Like, he's the franchise.
But he's...
You talk about that Tavares shit
earlier in the show.
Like, how does Montreal
bounce back if they ever lost Carrie Price?
He's a goalie.
You can find goalies.
He's arguably the best goalie in the world,
as Jay Barishol said.
You can, it's definitely arguably.
I find him, I mean, I don't care, whatever.
Fucking come yell at me.
I don't care.
Carrie Price might be the most overrated athlete alive today.
Whoa.
Yeah.
Look at what he's, I mean, the last, he's, like, the last two or three years, like, he's finally become that guy.
But for the longest time, he was split in time with a lot.
He was injured all the time.
And it was just kind of like, I don't know.
And then, you know, he had the MVP year, I understand.
But, like, he's played like nine years, and he hasn't done much.
he's done stuff
don't get me wrong he's not like fucking incompetent but
that's the MVP award
that goalies don't usually win
yeah that's kind of doing stuff right
yeah Jose fucking theater won one of those too
I mean it's one year
you really count on this guy for eight years
beyond this one dogana Khashik also won one two
is I mean there's a wide swash of goalies
that win two yeah that win MVP
if Carrie Price wins a second MVP I'm like
all right fine sure
Hold on, here.
I'm going to look away from the Yankees, Indian's game.
I'm like, I'm like, I'm like, I'm like,
babe, you're telling me that we live in a world where Aaron Judge exists,
and you're saying Carrie Price is the most overrated athlete in sports.
Oh, come on.
What?
Come on.
Oh, come on.
It's great.
Every generation needs it's Cecilfielder.
There's probably a better example of the most overrated athlete.
But, okay.
So his rookie year, he finishes fourth in the calder, nine than Vezina.
Next year, nothing.
Next year, nothing.
Next year.
Yeah, he had to shake the halak off of him.
And the next year after that, it was fifth in the Vezina, seventh in heart.
Next year, nothing.
After that, 10th in the Vezina.
After that, fourth in the Vezina.
Then he has the heart, the Jennings of Pearson, the whole year.
Here after that, he's hurt, and then last year, third in the Vesina.
So, like, he is, of course, a number one, very good goaltender.
But the whole thing where he's arguably one of the, he's a 920 guy for his career.
Yeah.
It's good.
Very good.
That's good.
That's good.
But the best.
It's fourth amongst active goalies behind Tuka Rask who played in a system,
Corey Schneider,
Braden Holpey, and Carrie Price.
Tuka Rask played in Claude Julien's defensive system and had Zadano Chara in front of him.
Oh, so Carrie Price is not going to be a system goalies, you're telling me.
Well, I'm saying, well, he might be F8.
If he is, then it's going to be better than 920, you know, his career average.
I'm just saying that I think he's amongst the best.
He's a top 10 goalie.
Who's better than?
to carry price right now. Braid and Holtie?
I mean, I'm willing to listen to that argument, but I don't think that there, I mean, Lungwist, I think is taking a little step back.
But Brodsky's right there too. I think it's between Bavroski, Price and Hulpby as was. I think that doesn't of this year.
I just goalies in general. I don't, I'm uncomfortable banking on a goalie for any goalie for eight years.
Like Lundquist, obviously same thing, Tortorella system and all that sort of stuff when he put up his really good numbers.
But like to have a guy be like Brador or be like Lundquist and just year in year out bank on them.
But he hasn't been. He's been hurt a lot. He's been hurt a lot. And I mean, you know, he was
905 in 0809, 912 and 9-10, like 916 and 1112. Like he's had some, he's 905 in the
blockout year. Like he's, he's had some not great years for a guy that's getting 10.5 million
for eight years. I'm just saying, I just feel like his reputation far exceeds what he is.
Which is very good. He's a goalie from Montreal. If Brayden Holpey was in Montreal,
what would Braden Holpey's contract situation?
It would be like this because he's great.
And he probably will get this contract from the Capitals if they're smart.
I wonder if you asked 100 hockey fans who are non-CAPS fans, non-Habs fans.
Okay.
So that means that reduces the world to how many people, like 500?
Oh, yeah.
The huge Cavs fan base.
That's about the jump ship at the end of this season.
No, if you ask 100 people who don't have any sort of investment emotionally in those two goalies,
ask who do you think is better?
What would the answer?
Carrey Price.
It would be Carrie Price.
Yeah.
And that's wrong.
Well, Braynoope's better.
Okay.
I think you could make an argument either way.
I'm fine if you're a Holpey person and you think that he's better.
I think some of that is, is just like you say that it's reputation based for, for Carrie Price.
I think in Braden Holst, in Braden Holpe's case, it's sort of like, look how good he is on a team that's not considered to be that great.
Right.
Price has had some shittier teams than, like, Holpey has for sure, since Hopi became.
the number one. And so maybe like in the next three years, like when Holpey's got like the corpse
of Alex Ovechkin's floating around the ice not doing anything, maybe he becomes a nine, 14
goalie. Making over $10 million a season because that contract was so brilliant.
Such a great contract. You gotta pay him his money. He's earned it. Oh yeah. Look around the league
at all these contracts that were signed in its aftermath where guys are making, basically getting
paid like a guy cleaning the friar at Wendy's in an HL terms. And Ovechkin's going to be making
$10 million when he's 39 or whatever. Also, Kerry Price is 30 years old. He's a little
old. Hey, but like you said, he spent so much time not playing. He's just so
refreshed. He's got a lot in the tank. He's like Donald Trump where there's only a finite
amount of energy he has to give off. So he has it all. We went so long in this show without you
evoking that name. So long. Well, we mentioned Nazis earlier. Time for the Puck Soup mailbag,
as it were. Habs Laws wants to know. Habs laws. Is Joe Sackick the worst GM? Are there
better GMs in the Europe, the ECHL, or your beer league? Did beer league teams have general
managers?
I mean, somebody has to call you up and ask if you want to play, right?
Sort of the player coach?
Yeah.
It's like a player coach, GM.
It's like a player coach GM.
Someone's like, hey, dude, I heard you moving back here.
Yeah, what's up?
Want to come playing the beer league on Tuesday night?
You kind of, I guess you are kind of the GM in that sense, aren't you?
Yeah, you kind of have to put the team together.
Or you were the director of player personnel, because you really don't have to deal with all the, well, I guess you do have to deal with finances.
You have to figure out who gets the jerseys and how much they cost.
Yeah, you got to get money for like time.
Yeah.
They got to pay the referees at the end of the night sometimes.
So to answer your question, yeah, that guy that does the stuff for your beer league team is better than Joe Sackick.
The worst GM is...
Boy, that's tough, man.
Worst G.M.
Does Joe Sackick?
You think it's Joe Sackick?
Without question, it's Joe Sackick.
That's two words for you.
Jim Benning.
Okay, but here's the difference between Joe Sacking and Jim Benning.
Jim Benning, I believe, was hired because of his work as an executive.
Joe Sackick was hired because of his work as a player.
Oh, that's true.
It doesn't matter, though.
in the job that they actually have and how they've executed it.
So,
all right,
so Benning became the GM in 2014.
Sackick became the GM way before that.
Oh,
2014.
Same year.
Who's fucked up the situation more?
Like Colorado is,
so you had the Ginnla signing.
He had one good year.
You knew that was going to be bad at the...
It's like the Marlough contract.
Benning has fucked up the Sidene's.
He should have traded the Sidene's two years ago.
I think,
I think,
well,
no, I think the Siddins are sort of an untenable situation for any general manager.
But I think that...
Nick Bonino.
I think the Canucks are clearly, you know, they've torn it down and they're building it back up, whereas Colorado has already torn it down and built it back up and they suck.
Toronto?
No, I said Colorado.
Oh, Colorado.
Yeah.
This is a team with Landis Cod and McKinnon on it and they're dog shit.
Yeah, but they also kind of suck because Patrick Waugh fucked them.
I feel like Joe Sackett could not have prepared for that.
I read a book once that said they were saved by Waugh, so I don't know what the fuck you're talking about.
What if the coach was like a forward or a defenseman because you couldn't use saved by Watt?
because it's a play on goaltending.
So it would be like, back check by...
Backcheck.
Assisted by Oates.
Back check by Haydick.
Fackettuck.
Oh, man, whatever.
Ryan Taylor wants to know, fuck Mary Kill.
First one of the season.
Oceans 11, Logan Lucky, and the usual suspects.
Now, before we get into this,
Lozo and I both saw Logan Lucky this summer and both loved it.
Oh, yeah.
I wanted to recap all the movies I saw this summer that were.
we go. Wait, I, I took, I jumped out some notes.
By the way, I didn't see Wonder Woman. I should
say that straight away. Ruby and I
tried to make plans to see it several times, and they
all fell through, and now it's on digital, so I'll just watch it
on iTunes. I jogged down some summer notes. Halo top.
It's fucking great. Have you tried Halo Top yet?
No, what is... It's like this low-fat ice cream.
It's not, it doesn't really necessarily have the
consistency of ice cream. Like, okay.
I know, I can see what... When you said Halo Top,
I assumed you were talking about a video game.
See, when I say Halo Top... A video game and a
about an aggressive gay master sergeant who halo top halo bottom see I was thinking jennameroon's
muffin top song from 30 year off you got to try a halo top uh I wrote down prostate and my prostate
actually I was told it's perfect oh nice although he never actually touched it so I'm confused
about how he knows I had to get that too by the way yeah and uh the thing I've been telling my friends
who are now around the same age is me that are going to have to start worrying about this thing too
I'm worrying about it actually because my dad had prostate cancer,
but he's, so sort of in the family kind of thing.
So everybody got checked out.
They didn't realize that you have to lay on your side.
I don't know what they thought the body positioning in this whole thing was.
See, the thing for me was, I made my appointment on Thursday for Tuesday.
So from Thursday to Tuesday, I was like really, the same thing.
I was like, how do we do this?
What room is he going to do?
I think a lot of people think that you're supposed to pose, like when you have a cat
and you scratch that area, right, where its tail,
meets its back and it kind of arches
its butt. Like, I think people think that
might be how it goes. I thought
for sure you would get on all fours. I swear
to God. I swear to God. I don't know.
You lay like Kate Winslet and Titanic
when she's being sketched.
Jesus. But my doctor,
so I go in for the thing on a Tuesday
and he does like, you know, blood pressure
and all that stuff and I'm like sitting there and he hasn't
done the prostate. I'm like
And he hasn't done the prostate.
So now I have to bring it up like I'm a weird
Like, I'm like, so, I made the appointment for the physical.
So when you're going to do the old, I'm like doing this signal with my fingers, like I'm 12.
Like, whoop?
And he's just like, oh, no, no, no, no, no.
You have to go get the blood work done first.
And if the blood work comes back and says you need it, then we do it.
Whoa.
So, like, I got my blood work back and he said, like, there's no reason to go in there.
You're fine.
So you didn't have to get it.
He said my prostate, based on the results of the blood test.
So, so.
See, it did mine, I think, because my dad, because of my family history.
Yeah, I guess I have no history.
And also, that's the only one.
way I can get off.
Quote tweets.
People got to fucking stop
with a quote tweet game.
You did it.
You did it like a couple days ago, you motherfucker.
I forgot to bring that up.
You were like, quote this with the favorite thing of the Star Wars or something.
Yeah, no, I did quote this with, oh, a comic that you find that you know is funny, but
you don't find funny.
And my impetus for that was I was watching Netflix one night.
Oh, right.
You said it was Bill Burr's latest comedy special.
and like I know Bill Burr is funny
I enjoy Bill Burr in almost every venue
his podcast his interviews
when he's on like Opin Anthony back in the day
a lot of stuff hilarious guy
just did not connect
I don't connect with a stand-up in the same way
and I actually shut it off to watch Norm
because I mean Norm's the best
these quotes they're out of control man
like they're just like somebody quoted
quoted a thing with like a picture of 15 different banana
ripenesses and they were like how do you eat your banana
who gives it shit no one cares how you eat your banana
I like my banana between 7 and 10
No fucking just reply to the person
I don't care
Retweet if you peel it
Fave if you stick it in your eye
Quote this with your favorite
Hockey Skate if you could
Only whatever and then follow Jeffler
And then is that oh did he do on this? I don't know
But um Logan Lucky
Outfucking Standing
Yeah it was great Jackie
Outstanding movie
Did I ever do my Jackie impression of the show?
No go ahead okay
Please everybody make sure that you
You watch Jackie and HBO.
Jackie is a movie about me, Natalie Portman, playing Jackie Linnonessis.
That's fucking Laca from Taxi, man.
I might use seven impressions.
And hell or high water.
An amazing flick.
Except I didn't like the end.
Oh, the meeting?
Love the meeting.
Love them sitting down and having a little tete-a-tete.
I don't fucking believe for a second there wasn't any evidence to connect him to all the shit.
I don't believe that for a fucking...
Oh, no, no spoilers.
You're saying that...
The character we're talking about
was completely
They couldn't find anything that can...
Okay, I agree with that.
That was annoying.
I seen as far as like forensic evidence and stuff like that.
Well, he did wear a hat.
He fucking bled.
I understand the truck blows up at the end,
but he bled in the back of the truck
in front of the truck.
His blood was everywhere.
His brother was part of it.
They were like, oh, you know, sell made that we can't find...
Ryan Lambert, friend of the show is a huge fan of that movie,
and I agree with him that.
I think it's a great movie.
I think it's going to be one of those deals
where, like, we look back on that movie,
you're like, how the fuck did that not win best picture?
Like, it's a classic.
What?
It was last year that came out, right?
Yeah.
So, well, it was Moonlight won, right?
Yeah, well.
Oh, right.
The Oscar, Moonlight eventually won.
The Oscars were like five months ago.
They feel like they were 20 years ago.
Yeah.
But yeah, that was...
That flick is going to be going to look back and like, oh, how did they miss that one?
It's a really entertaining movie.
And Logan Lucky is, to answer the guy's question, it's, it's like Ocean's 11.
It's the second best oceans movie is how I would describe it.
Ocean's 11 and then Logan Lucky.
It's so good.
And no one's going to see it.
I don't get it.
Yeah, it's a crime that no one's going to see it.
It's a movie that...
That's clever, good one.
Thank you.
It's a really...
It's a movie that surprises you.
And at the end of the day, I think it's a movie about, like, identity.
Like, all these characters kind of describe themselves as what they are.
And then because of what they are, they're almost able to pull off this crime.
without getting noticed.
And it's really good.
And it's got a killer ending.
By the way, the ending is the ending at Ocean's 11.
It's the whole movie's Ocean's 11.
It's great.
There's brothers.
There's two brothers they bring in.
I mean, it's ocean's 11.
And fucking, Daniel Craig is so good.
It's amazing.
Adam Driver.
And Adam Driver's a, that was a thing.
Like, sometimes the test when you see a flick in the theater is, you know,
what is my, how am I reacting to this movie versus everybody else in the
theater. Because I guarantee you that if you see a movie in a theater with 30 people, there's only
going to be about five other people that are on your wavelength and that are going to like the movie
in the way that you like it. So when I'm in that theater, every time Adam Driver spoke, I'm dying.
Yeah. Like, I'm dying in that movie. And I know you probably were too. I was laughing when he was
just standing there listening to people talk. And like, there's a few funny. There's a few other people in
theater that are doing that. I'm like, okay, we're all enjoying this on another, a different level than
everybody else in this theater is because he's doing some really brilliant things. Like the whole theater
was laughing during the Game of Thrones thing.
Which is, that's the most inexplicable thing of the summer,
is how the Game of Thrones joke in that movie didn't go viral.
And because Game of Thrones was the biggest thing in pop culture in the summer.
And the idea that that joke, which was probably the most perfect joke I've ever seen in a movie,
I mean, based on the unexpected nature of it and the venue and the characters involved,
didn't go viral as insane to me.
But that's probably because the movie didn't do it.
Because nobody wanted to see it.
Yeah, it was so good.
The exasperated warden.
I won't give away the joke, but...
Don't.
But it takes...
It actually takes some
ancillary knowledge of the creation of Game of Thrones
to pull off the joke, and it's so good.
But I would fuck usual suspects.
Mary Ocean's 11.
I'd still kill Logan Lucky.
It's still the third best movie in the group,
but it's still the third best movie.
I have three outstanding movies.
It depends.
This is after I've seen them all, I'm guessing, right?
Then I would marry Ocean's 11.
I would fuck Logan Lucky, and I would kill usual suspects,
because after I know the twist, I don't need that movie anymore.
Oh, you can't judge the movie based on what you feel about it after you know how it ends.
Alyssa Myers wants to know, what is the one really stupid thing that will definitely happen this season that no one has the power or will to stop?
Oh, I know what that is.
I never know how to answer those questions when it's like predict the thing that's going to happen that no one says will happen.
I don't know how to do that.
The answer is the Olympics are going to happen.
Everybody's going to be super excited about the hockey because it's going to be.
going to be like the USA does better than expected. It's going to be USA versus Canada at some
point. It's going to be a fun tournament with a new thing will happen because it's players
you've never met before. Oh, you're saying it's going to be fun.com during the entirety of that
tournament will not publish a single fucking word about the Olympics. Like it doesn't even exist.
And that is the really stupid thing that will definitely happen this season that no one has the
power will this up. I want to, I want that to happen, but no one's going to care about the
Olympics.
Though hockey, anyway.
Like, it'll be like a regular Olympics where people care about
figure skating and all that shit, but
people kind of barely care about hockey when all the good
players are there. No one's going to care when,
you know, Jean-Francois LaBouche.
The Bouch.
Got three goals for Canada against...
Finally, Will Luper wants to know, if a hockey arena
in Toronto was renamed in 2018 and
no one complains about it on Twitter, is it really August?
I thought... I saw people
complaining about it. The ACC
becoming the Scotia Bank Arena?
Place?
Why is Scotia Bank?
Every building in Canada is named the Scotia Bank.
Kids are being born named Scotia Bank.
Mom, I got to go.
Where are you going?
I got to go to the Scotia Bank Library, so I'm going to get into the Scotia Bank Cab,
and I'm going to swing by the Scotia Bank Grocery Store and pick up some Scotia Bank milk.
You know anything from the Scotia Bank Grocery Store?
I need some Scotia Bank tampons.
Han, you need anything?
I need some Scotia Bank cigarettes.
I'm now pronounced you Mr. and Mrs. Scotia Bank.
By the power vested in me, by Scotia Bank, LLC, and the Board of the Board of
directors and the CEO, I now pronounce you, joint bank account owners.
You may stamp the book.
Do people still do that?
It's the catchphrase in Canadian sitcoms.
I told you, I left that bag of money on the desk.
And the maid took it?
Scotia Bank.
Scotia.
Bank.
It's like a thing for saying like, cool, like, oh, dude, I met this girl.
She is totally Scotia Bank.
I'm convinced Scotia Bank is paying all this money,
so Scotia Bank just becomes like a common word that everybody uses.
Yeah, I'll take two crawlers, Canadian Maple, and three Scotia Banks.
It's like Smurf.
Oh, dude, man.
Scotia Bank out.
Dude, I fucking Scotia Bank the shit out of that fucking El-Sat.
I'm going to be the most Scotia Bank lawyer in all the fucking province, bitch.
Oh, man, look at that chick over there in that dress.
that is a Scotia bankable lady if I've ever seen one.
So I got his pants off and like...
Yeah, and?
He really didn't have much Scotia Bank.
Oh, man.
There is absolutely nothing worse than having somebody who's a complete
Scotia Bank teas.
Oh, God.
You know what I mean?
Like, he's 6'4.
I just thought he'd have you had some more Scotia Bank.
But really, it was more like TD Garden.
To answer your question, you're still going to call it the ACC.
Just like the people in D.C.
are still going to call out the phone booth,
even though it's a credit,
the Capital One arena of the hell it is now.
Here's my thing.
I think people should just stop calling arenas by their sponsored names.
Like we're not,
like you and I are not,
we're not getting paid to reference Scotia Bank.
Why we just call it the Leaf's home arena?
Well, yeah, I mean.
The Senator's Home Arena.
Like, I've lost track of it.
Actually, Otto is not that anymore, right?
It's Calgary.
That's also Scotia Bank.
You know what's funny about that?
Like, that happens when like,
shows or games get sponsored.
Like, people call it,
we'll just call it the Cotton Bowl.
I know.
And they're like, sir, that's the Cotton Bowl
presented by Tostito's
restaurant style light chips.
Somebody will walk up to you in the press box and be like,
yeah, I've noticed in your copy. You're not referencing
you're not referencing Bridgestone and the Winter Classic.
We do that shit all the... Yeah, that's a good winter
classic. The Bridgestone Winter Classic.
Outside of those poor drones
at NHL.com, no one's
fucking a call on at the Bridgestone Winter Classic. So why do we play these
randier games of the arenas? I agree.
Like, I just don't get it. Like, it's just
don't even reference it. Just like the
Los Angeles Kings scored two goals
the final 45 seconds to defeat the Canucks 4-3 in Los Angeles.
That all said, the Rock's a great nickname for the Prudential Center.
Yeah.
Call them by nickname.
Or if the arena is named after it, like, say like you name an arena after, like, you know, like, say like the Dodgers called their stadium, Jackie Robinson Stadium.
Like, that's fine.
I'm not saying you should ignore.
Jackie Robinson Stadium presented by Birchstone.
Yeah.
Brought to you by Dodger Dogs.
Come on out and get a Dodger dog.
All right. That's the show for this week. Thanks for allowing us to find our footing again with episode zero.
Someone on Twitter said this is actually the third season of the show. I guess it technically is because we did, we had sort of the season where you were on with me and Merrick.
And when Merrick couldn't be there, we did the show.
But technically that wasn't punk soup. That was just a Wednesday edition of Merrick.
Yeah, that was sort of like introducing a character on a show. And then the first season on Nerdist was the spin-off.
Right. Yeah. Like, I was like Frasier on Cheers.
Right.
And now you're my buddy on the Frazier shop.
And then, like, I'm Frazier on Cheers.
And then you're, you're David Hyde Pierce.
You're Ted Danson.
Marix Rea Perlman.
And I'm.
No, I'm saying that I was Kelsey Grammer.
And then you were like Lilith.
No, but like nobody from.
And then we both went to do Frazier.
Lilith wasn't on.
She was a guest star on Frasier.
She popped on once in a while.
My point is that you're David Hyde Pierce.
He wasn't on Cheers.
You never appeared on Cheers.
You're right.
We were both on Cheers, so we need to find two people on Cheers.
So we're both Chelsea Grammar.
All right.
And then Katie Nolan is David Hyde Pierce.
Oh, that's mean.
Oh, I hope she doesn't hear that.
She's never going to come on again.
I'll take season three.
That's fine.
That means we're closer to having a 10th anniversary.
Oh, you know what I do?
Oh, fuck.
You know what this means if we're technically going back to zero?
We've been building towards episode 69 for two years.
No, we're not going to do that.
We have all our episodes.
and all of our subscribers and shit.
So, okay, so it's,
it's episode zero of the
of this new season.
Episode zero of season two and or three,
but overall episode, whatever,
of our puck soup run.
But it doesn't count towards 69?
It does.
Okay, it will.
I'll make sure.
All right.
Thanks to everybody who's going to come
to the live show next week.
Thanks to Jay Baruchel for being on.
Your big reminder,
Gune, Last Deenforcers,
is out in theaters on September 1st
here in the States.
On Demand, also Digital HD,
September 1st, day and date.
and then DVD on October 3rd.
Do check it out.
I found it to be an entertaining flick.
I think you'll find some good things in it too.
And that's the show.
Thanks for everybody for listening.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports.
You can find my stuff at Wyshinsky on Twitter,
where sometimes I'm arguing with fascists.
And you can find my books.
Take your eye off the puck.
And our book, The 100 Greatest Players in NHL History and other stuff,
available on Amazon.com.
And, yeah, I don't write for it.
the athletic. I'm the only one. Dave?
You want to?
I don't get why you know people there.
I mean, I can get you in. Oh, sweet.
Yeah. Well, I already have a subscription
to it. Do you really?
No, I don't, and I realize the one thing I wrote,
I couldn't read it after it went up.
So I have no idea what they did to it. I hope it was good.
Well, I saw that picture
of their new college
sports vertical that they've created,
and as you know, I'm white.
So they just gave me a subscription.
Apparently, if you're white, you just get
everything on that site. I think
I think it's everybody.
Did you see that picture, by the way?
Oh, yeah, apparently.
It was all white dudes and then two women,
one of them, Nicole Barbarach, my good friend.
But, like, you're covering college football.
I know.
And you're doing it with a lily white staff.
Somebody gave me shit because somebody, like, quote, tweeted a thing
where I sent out the link to the thing I wrote out the athletic.
And they did the meme, you know, the meme with the girls walking.
The guy looks at her ass and the girlfriend's like,
what's up with that.
Someone did the text version of that.
And I forget what it was.
I didn't get it at first because she did it out of order, but she was, I think she was upset.
I don't know, but it was basically like, I'm the latest white guy to work there.
And she was not happy about that.
And I was just like, I'll give any idea how much little money I've made the last two months?
Give me a break, please.
I think that, listen, you're launching a new thing.
You're trying to get good people.
In some cases, I think with the athletic, they're trying to get people that already have followings.
And unfortunately, the way of the world is that the sports media is so fucked as far as giving other people opportunities,
that it's just going to be a bunch of white dudes and white women
that have established followings to get hired.
And it sucks.
And I think that hopefully it gets big enough
to the point where they're giving other people opportunities.
But the reality of the world,
and this isn't to defend discriminatory hiring practices,
I think they need to broaden the tent without question.
And you look at that college football site.
It's a fucking joke that it's that racial makeup of it.
But the reality of the world is that when you're launching a subscription model,
you need people that have followings
that are going to bring people to your,
to your site and that people are going to pay to want to read and unfortunately because of the inherent institutional racism of our industry a lot of those people are are Caucasian and male yeah it's not it's not like an actively intentional thing but like yeah it's part of the system it sucks and you need to be kind of vigilant about it and I'm sure I'm sure I'm I'm sure I'm sure I'm sure I'm sure I'm sure they'll well thanks everybody for listening we'll be back next week with a live show and we'll give you the you know a lot of
of news about the podcast coming at you in the next month.
I promise you that.
So stay tuned.
Cool.
Oh, here.
I want to tell a story.
I actually got a story for the end.
So let's talk about the week I found out I don't kind of work for Vice anymore, but I do.
Sure.
It was a bad week professionally.
Because first of all, on Monday of that week or Tuesday of that week, this is what I
thought was going to be the worst part of my week, was J.D. Martinez of the Detroit Tigers
was traded to the National League, which meant I lost him from my American League-only
baseball team.
And it was a sad day because he's really good at baseball.
It's a lot of home runs.
And I was like,
oh, that's,
that's probably going to be the worst part of my week.
Then Wednesday,
this is mid-July.
I just want to share this story.
I haven't told you this story yet.
Okay.
Back in May,
me and my buddy have written a pilot for a TV thing we want to do.
And we gave it to somebody who gave it to somebody who gave it to somebody who gave
it to somebody at a talent agency, like a named talent agency.
And this was in May.
And someone on her staff read it,
gave it to her.
and she's like the boss.
She read it.
She's like,
I want you guys to come in.
I want to meet with you.
So this is mid-May.
She reads it and says,
you guys got to come in.
We get there mid-June,
sit down with her,
and she's just,
praise,
glowing praise.
Glory to be.
Like,
we are waiting for, like,
negative stuff,
and she's just like,
characters are great,
stories are great.
The dialogue is epic.
Referring to it as epic.
Epic.
You know how the kids say that,
and it's ironic.
Like, she was like an adult,
and she meant this is great.
So she goes,
what I'm going to do is,
I'm going to send this out of some people that I think, you know, could be interested in it and see if they want to do something with it and maybe make it happen.
And I'll let you guys know what happens.
And we're like, wow, this is fantastic.
So this is mid-June.
So Wednesday of this week, I'm like, we haven't heard back from her.
I'm going to shoot her an email and just be like, hey, what's up?
You know, you get any feedback one way or the other, positive, negative.
Like, we'd love to hear some negative feedback because if we find out some stuff that doesn't work, we'd like to change and, you know, make it because we want it to happen.
Send her an email.
Thursday, Thursday morning.
She writes back right away.
and she says, I'm sorry, guys.
And right away, you're just like, fuck, nobody wants this.
She goes, sorry, guys.
I never sent it out to anybody.
I felt like I couldn't sell this, so I can't take anything to the marketplace.
I feel like I can't sell, so I never took it to the marketplace.
So for a month, we sat around waiting to hear back for something that was never happening.
Never happening.
Just we wasted 30 days of our lives on this thing we worked on that we never, she just,
and it was weird because it was like, if she told us in May,
sucks I'm not doing anything with this like fine June we met with her I'm not gonna do it
fine I understand sure we we sat around for a fucking and like so all day Thursday I mentally typed
and deleted emails back to her I was gonna flip out and be like why did you tell us we for a month
we were like refreshing our email waiting to hear back and then the next day you vice
stopped existing too so like in back-to-back days it was it was bad it was a bad career week
that week and um yeah I guess the point is
is just don't try.
Just don't ever put yourself out there.
Don't put yourself out there and just give up as soon as anything bad happens because life's the worst.
There you go.
More life lessons from your uncle Dave.
So yeah, we'll see you at the live show.
All right, lovely.
We'll see you soon.
Bye.
Bye.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got spoiled a commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows.
It's and tools.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet.
A little too
