Puck Soup - Jonah Keri
Episode Date: November 10, 2016Greg and Dave welcome renowned baseball writer and fellow Nerdist sports podcaster Jonah Keri to the podcast to talk about his beloved Montreal Canadiens, the P.K. Subban trade, the progress of advanc...ed stats in baseball vs. hockey, how different generations believe their sports were the best and much more. Plus the boys send in Seal Team 5 to rescue NHL players from bad situations, play F/M/K in hockey, debate which team has the biggest national fan base, touch on the Islanders' coach and Jacob Trouba's contract, and discuss your listener mail, including sports spoiler etiquette! Sponsored by Seat Geek!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of PuckSoup is sponsored by Seat Geek.
The only ticket service that we use here on the show to buy tickets for games and concerts,
I had the seat geek out of my phone.
You know why?
Because this is the best.
And you're laughing, why?
Because Jonah wore those the whole time and there was no sound coming through them.
Oh, shit, no, I had to start over again.
That's really funny.
Five, four, three, two, one.
today's episode of Puck's super
sponsored by Seat Geek
the only place we go
to buy tickets for games and concerts
I got the Seat Geek Act
by my phone, Dave Lozo
Seat Geek what?
Let's start again
5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored
by Seat Geek, Dave Lozo
I have the Seat Geek app
on my phone. I use it all the time
I love it. It is the only place I
go to for tickets to games
or concerts. I want to go see my beloved
New Jersey Devils play at the Rock, maybe get myself with deli sandwich beforehand, maybe
go to one of the wonderful Portuguese restaurants and the Ironbound.
You're giving away your location to a lot of people here.
Fair enough.
But the point is is that I want to make sure I get a good deal of them tickets so I can have some
scratch left over to get a giant pastrami sandwich or whatever Portuguese thing I want to buy.
There's a lot of scratch.
Are you buying all this in 1945?
Yeah, see?
I'm going to rustle up some shekels and get myself of a strami sandwich.
Boy.
But the point is that if I'm going to have some money left to.
over to spend it the game, why not use the
Seatgeek app to find a great deal on tickets? Makes
sense, right? It does. Exactly. And with
Seat Geek, it does all the
price comparison for you
by searching multiple ticket sites,
ensuring that you get the best possible
deal. Seekek does all the
work, you save time, and most importantly
you save money that you can
then filter into your pastrami sandwich fund
before the devil's game. Yeah, see?
Yeah, see? Here's what you've got to do.
You can get a $20
rebate on your first Seek
Purchase. If you download the
Seat Geek app, it's
free, you go to Settings,
you click add a promo code.
You enter the promo code
S-O-U-P, that spells soup.
Soup. As in like Mazzabal Soup, which you could probably
also buy with the money you're saving with Seek
along with the pastrami sandwich at the deli.
That's a good point.
S-O-P soup. Seekek will send you $20
after you made your first purchase.
So download the free Seekkekekeek app,
go to Settings tab,
Add a promo code, enter Soup, and then seek equal to send you 20 bucks after you've made your first purchase.
Enjoy the show.
Or don't, you know, whatever.
It's up to you.
We can't force you.
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you'll commute.
Movies, TV shows, it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Blog.
And I'm Dave Lozo, and I can't think of any celebrities that are pitching anything this week, so that's who I am.
And you're in Puck Soup, Dave.
Yes.
Today on the show, we have Jonah Carey, our good friend and our nerdist overlord to talk about.
Never heard of him.
Yeah, no, he's a pretty good.
famous guy. He has more jobs than you do, which is pretty impressive. It's probably close. We should
probably, we should have probably hash that out during the whole interview. But he, he, on top of
being the biggest Tim Raines fan in the world, he's the guy trying to get Tim Raines into the
Hall of Fame, probably is going to happen this year. He's also a huge Montreal Canadians fan
as well. A little kid, little baby Jonah pressing his face up against the glass and looking at Patrick
as he says fuck this team i have gone now i am tired of giving up nine goals i'm going off the ice
and never coming back bring in jocelyn tibov but the thing you'll you'll hear in the interview
and and i and i wonder how many people are like that with with jona like you can hear the palpable
sadness that pk suvann's no longer with montreal that's like a deep sigh and then he says his name like
you know it's suban it's just you know what i mean like with satarian it's like fucking terrian
Yeah, Sue Bennett just...
Yeah.
Like, because Jonah's a guy who was a Habs fan,
probably a lapsed Habs fan,
because, you know,
he succumbed to the siren song of baseball,
then he came back because of P.K.,
and then P.K.'s gone now.
And I don't think Shea Weber really does it for him.
I don't blame him.
It's like coming to baseball
because of Ricky Henderson,
and then all of a sudden you find out
that they traded Ricky Henderson
for Steve Balboni
to put it in the 1990s obscure baseball terms.
And the events, like...
Don't not disparage the guys.
good name of the centerpiece of one of the best outfields ever put together. Pre-steroids,
Barry Bonds, and left, Andy Van Gogh and Center. And the joy, the Bronx, Bobby Boney and
Wrightfield. Dale Murphy, straight up for Ricky Henderson's, basically what that trade was.
I know I've talked about it on something we've done before. And I want to see maybe it was on Jonas
podcast. But the fact that as a kid growing up, I used to think that Atlanta was in a different time
zone than the rest of the country because all the shows started at 735 and 705.
Oh yeah, yeah, yeah, because like TBS figured it out, like way before everybody else did.
Like if you watch Comedy Central now, shit starts at like 124, 156, and you're just like, oh,
it's because they want to get to jump on the show that just ended on the other network.
It's genius.
But they would be like, Andy Grimm at the show coming on at 505 Eastern Time.
I'm like, I'm like, okay, I understand that like LA, a game in L.A. at 1030 is a game at 730 here
in Jersey, which means.
that Atlanta is five minutes
ahead than the Eastern
time zone. I had no idea that was actually
like you said, the Turner plan
was to start all the shows a little
bit off so you could catch them. Right, so you wouldn't get
caught by a commercial. I remember not understanding
why Atlanta was on national TV every day.
That one I could never figure out. Yeah. Just some
random baseball team was constantly on
and then it's like, oh, the guy who owns the network owns
the team, he can do what he wants. But that's the amazing part,
right? I remember the St. Louis
Cardinals will always the big example of
the team that had the
The biggest radio signal in the Midwest amassed as an incredible fan base
because it was the only team back in the day before, you know, cable television deals
that everybody could watch.
So everybody became a cardinal stamp by default.
And just think, like, today, like, that was like the 80s.
And the Braves still aren't that team, right?
No, they're not even that team in their own city.
Right.
But like, think about it.
Like, in the 80s and 90s, the Braves were on TV pretty much all the time.
And, like, it's 2016.
and somehow like we still only show four NHL teams on national TV.
Right.
Like how, like how, like, would it be great if like the Oilers just came onto your TV on some random channel every night now?
It'd be great.
Who, who do you think has the largest national draw amongst?
Like in Canada, I'd probably say Leafs fans are everywhere.
Maybe, I don't know.
Who do you think has the larger fan base?
Toronto or Montreal?
I would say Toronto.
I think Toronto is just a bigger city.
I think, and also I think Toronto has a lot more of a bandwagon quotient.
than Montreal does.
Based on what I've seen
for the Blue Jays the past few years,
I would say that,
oh God, yeah, I know.
We the North.
Shut up.
We,
we, the guy who put his Vince Carter jersey
into Goodwill about 10 years ago.
We,
we the country that didn't realize
we had a basketball team.
Was it the year they lost to the Nets
the first time they went to the playoffs?
That was when it was,
I'm actually,
as a Nets fan,
I felt terrible because, like,
I felt great because
I essentially root against all things Toronto.
But like,
I felt terrible.
terrible because of the, like, I hated that Nets team so much because that was the team that we're
now paying for, where we mortgaged the future to get Pierce and all those guys.
Oh, that's right.
Like, I hated that team.
There was a bunch of mercenary assholes in that team that I'd actively rooted against us
a fan for years.
Now they were on the Nets.
On top of the Nets now being in Brooklyn, they're not even a Jersey team anymore.
It's like being a Ranger fan in the 90s when Bobby Holeek and Scotty Gomez show up.
Yeah.
They're done.
You're like, oh, I hate these guys.
They've already ruined your life.
Right.
So I felt bad that they beat, I mean, they were getting such enthusiasm.
A bunch of kids going out and watching.
the game in the middle of the street and shit in Toronto.
Like I felt so bad on one level that they beat that team,
but on another level, like, you know, come on.
They forgot about it and they woke up the next morning and didn't care.
Yeah, just like they forgot about Dre.
What was that I mean?
Oh, sorry, Whitey.
So, listen.
It's actually pronounced Drake.
Oh, sorry.
Yeah, he's a perfect example of why the Leafs have more fans.
Oh, my God.
Oh, that was the best joke ever during the World Series when some guy tweeted,
when like the game was tied again in game seven
like Drake furiously trying to figure out
how many Cubs jerseys and how many Indians jerseys
to buy just to be sure
and Jonathan Taves trying to decide
if he's a Cubs or a white socks fan again
so the Leaves probably have the larger Canadian fan base
who in the U.S. do you think has the largest reach?
Is the Rangers or the Bruins?
I mean the Blackhawks to me
have a huge bandwagon right now
because I think a lot of people have come home to him
And I think a lot of people that are Chicago-esque expats
are going to root for their team.
Fuck them.
No matter what.
Flyers are probably pretty high.
Like you're saying like what building has like the loudest cheers
when the road team sports.
I'm saying which NHL team is like the Steelers in the sense that wherever you go in the United States,
there are Steelers fans.
Because it's a combination of three things in my eyes.
Civic Pride generally being a fan of that team.
But also, you know, a cultural impact.
for a decade or so where, you know,
like the Steelers and the Cincinnati Reds
and those guys, like they amassed fans
for years. You know what?
You know what I think? It like, it might
be like Montreal or Toronto
because I feel like whenever I'm in a building
in Montreal or Toronto, like last night I was
at the Jets Rangers game. They travel well.
There was a good, not a ton, but there's
a, for the Jets, there was a pretty good amount of Jets
fans. And I feel like whenever I'm like at a Ranger
game, like there's a good
Montreal or Toronto contingent.
But like when the Rangers
playing DC when they play in Tampa
when they play in Florida and you're watching on TV
and the Rangers score it sounds like they're playing
at home. But like I don't know if that's really
true if you go like west of there.
Like if it's like Rangers National National
it's not like wow. I agree with you. I think our view
on this is a little
a little askew because we're in the Northeast
but then we also go to the
southeast and that's where all the people
in the Northeast. Right. That's where we'll go
to die. Yeah, if we go to St. Louis, how many
Ranger fans are in St. Louis? Yeah. I don't know.
I think it's a Canadian team if you're going to
If you're going to pick what team draws the best in the United States, that's not like a local.
I think it might be like Montreal, to be honest.
Yeah.
Hashtag at NHL Bandwagon.
And let us know if you're a Puck Soup listener, what you think.
CC the Toronto Raptors on the list.
Yeah, let us know.
Who do you think has the longest reach, the longest tentacles as a team?
It's actually Toby Endstrom.
His stick is really long.
That's right.
Yeah.
There it is.
Chara, too.
A couple NHL things to get to off the top of the show.
Jacob Truba signs two years, six million dollars, annual cap pit of three.
million by my math.
It's correct.
What a gigantic waste of time this was.
I mean, everybody knew this is how it's going to play out.
This is exactly how it played out with tourists, with the coyotes back when his agent did
the same thing a few years ago.
He's 22 years old.
He's a restricted free age, and he's obviously going to get traded probably this summer
around the time of the expansion draft.
But a gigantic waste of time, he had no leverage.
Yeah, I thought he could have gotten traded.
I mean, like he was offer sheet eligible, right?
Yeah, in a league where nobody off-resheets anybody because it's an old boy's network.
But, like, he, to me, like, he had everything working for him because he sat out.
He demanded a trade publicly.
He could have been offer sheeted.
He's really good.
Apparently, you only had to pay him $3 million a year for two years.
And still, nobody stepped up.
Like, I thought for sure, like, like, Kuturov, you need someone to, A, have the money to pay him.
B, you need to have Kuturov want to leave.
Like, Sott and Hamilton were both poached, basically, by the threat of an offer sheet.
Like, I thought Truba had enough working for him.
he was going to get out of there. But in Saad
in Hamilton's case, it was also, well, and listen,
I think in Hamilton's case, they didn't want him.
Honestly. In Saad's case, it was because it's what
Chicago has to do to maintain any semblance
of a roster. Yeah, Stan Bowman's a real genius.
I know. It's like, the all-star team that exists because
of guys that he's traded. I've, I wrote
a thing today where I just basically, I wrote a thing where I was
just super tired of the Blackhawks. So I realized
they won six in a row and they were in first place again, and I was just
basically like, fuck off with this. And I kind of
went through the last, like, two years of what Stan Bowman
done? Not for nothing.
I know I say not for nothing a lot, but
not for nothing. Dale Tallinn did most of the fucking lifting for
that goddamn dynasty. The El Talon assembled
the core that is still carrying that team.
Exactly. They have three fucking defensemen on that team
for the last two and a half years and they're still one of the best teams in the
league. Like what does Stan Bowman done? He got nothing
for Patrick Sharp and Stephen Johns basically.
He traded Trevor Daly for Rob Skidary.
Where else, Brian Bickle, he gave a shit ton of money because he had a good
postseason in a lockout year. Then he had the
trade Tevuterovian to get rid of Brian Bickle.
And it's just like, and he signed Brian Campbell,
I guess he's okay at this point.
But like they weren't using him until Van Riemsday.
Panarin was his, wasn't it?
Or was Panarin a pick from previous?
I don't know. I forget. I think Panarin might have been his.
Yeah. But like, Kane, Tave, Seabrook, all these guys.
I think Stan does a really good job coloring around the, the edges.
He's like Donald Trump. He's like Donald Trump.
He inherited his, he inherited his fortune.
He got $14 million from his dad, Dale Tallon, and built it into a thrift.
driving business.
I found the way to win a cup in 2015,
with Patrick Kane's collarbone
mysteriously healed right before game one of the
season. Occasionally you put out the apprentice and you put
out the Taj Mahal and occasionally
you put out Trump stakes. And Dale
Talon lost his job because he didn't put the qualifying
offers in on time, allegedly.
Oh wow. They almost lost
Christopher Steeg and Cam Barker. Oh my
God. Fire him.
Sorry. I think Stan
deserves credit for
a, listen.
They're not fucking it up, basically.
But also take him a listen.
He takes advantage of the opportunities given to him.
I mean, like, Brad Richards' signing was something he was able to do because Richard's got a buyout,
but he still got him there.
Like, I give Stan more credit.
But what made that situation attractive for Brad Richards, the situation that was built?
By Dale Tallon?
By Dale Tallon.
I still think Stan does a pretty good job.
I think he's okay.
I don't think it's his fault that their cap is fucked because they have a lot of good players that they're trying to keep.
But I also think that as the one thing about the Blackhawks that we learned so far,
this year is that Cory Crawford is
as much a part of that core as anybody else and also
if they win another cup I wonder how long those
coattails are for Crawford do you know what I mean
they're not going to win another cup but let's say they do like
right now Chris Osgood gets this weird
like Hall of Fame push because he happened to be
fucking the forest gump
of those teams you know
the forest gum of those teams
and like but Crawford I think is is
is more of an active reason why these Black Cross teams win.
Crawford's not.
I mean, I make fun of Crawford as much as anybody, but he's not Osgood.
He's more valuable than that.
But again, everybody gets there.
But that glove hand in that series against the Bruins.
Oh, boy.
Like, I got to shoot glove side, they said.
I'm still fucking mad at Cory Crawford because he shit his pants against the Kings
in Game 7 that year.
And, like, I was all set to go to Chicago.
Man, oh, games one and two of the cup final in Chicago instead of the fly across goddamn country.
Think of me, Cory Crawford, when you've got to fucking fight through his.
screen for once in your life. We're taping this one on
election day, so that's why you're not going to hear an election talk from
from us because I'm very superstitious. I hope everything worked out for
whoever you decided to vote for. Except unless you voted for Trump and then
I hope it didn't work out. Exactly. I'm not gonna hedge. But we will say this
about
stuff that's so I'm trying to say that there might be a couple topics that we're
hitting on that are like by the time you hear this on Thursday might not be like
top of mind. But whatever. We need to say it.
anyway, how great was our show last week
with player safety and how great was it that then
within days of our show
there was the biggest controversial hit of the season.
The blind side. But you know what's funny
it was like, Cadreys shouldn't have been suspended
for sure, but like materially, I don't
see what was different between Cadre and Pastry and Pastor.
I'm going to go back to that Pastor and I kit forever because they were
kind of the same hit. They both kind of went a long distance
to hit somebody who had the puck who wasn't
ready for it. They both kind of raised
up a little bit but didn't leave their feet
and I don't think the head
was the principal. For sure it wasn't on Sadine.
and I'm pretty sure it wasn't on Pasternak
and yet 2 and 0.
I think that, listen,
Kinnucks fans are out of their minds
angry about all this stuff.
A lot of Leaves fans thought it wasn't a good hit either.
And it wasn't a good hit.
It was a penalty for sure.
It was the same exact kind of hit where it was totally...
You know what, though?
It was more necessary for Cadreya than it was for Pasternak.
Pasternak was just trying to light up a punt returner
who was trying to catch a punt while like Sedeen was going to try to shoot.
Oh, that's right.
We should get Pasternak a pass because he was trying to be Terry Tate office linebacker.
I mean, again, if the league wants to be, like, you have to protect yourself.
Don't try and catch a puck at Center Rice that's been in the air for that's right.
He's reaching up there like he's in a money in the bank match in WWE with a fucking briefcase is above the ring and then Pashtenac just clubs him.
He's like calling for a flyball in Center Club while like a dude's bearing down on him.
But listen, but on Cadry like, listen, I don't think it was a suspension either.
But here's the two things that came out of this.
If we can find some common ground, it was this.
it was if you want there to be a thing in the rulebook about blindside hits
it's not on player safety to put it back
the GMs and the owners have to put it back
right yarmot wanted it yeah but then they took it out
the one good thing he's wanted in the last two years
so now you got to you got to lobby them to put it back
and the other thing is this what listen
the NHL suspended nasm cadre
twice in two years four games apiece
they clearly think he's a dirty player
They would suspend him again if they could,
but you could not give me an angle
that showed me that the head was a principal point of contact.
And there were angles where you could see
a good amount of shoulder contact before head contact.
And the thing that you want to go back to comparisons,
a lot of Canucks fans brought up the Vertan hit
where he was suspended.
I don't remember that.
And you could see clearly that he,
there were more angles that showed head contact there
than there were on the cadre hit.
It may have been a situation where if you could come up with an angle that showed a significant amount of contact on the head, he gets suspended.
But it's not because they're trying to protect him that he wasn't.
It's because they could not prove the thing that you wanted them to prove.
Right.
And plus, it's just physics where, like, if you hit someone from the side, you're going to catch their shoulder before you catch their head.
That's just how the body's shaped.
It was, it was bad.
But again, like, I thought it was more necessary than Pastor Nax was.
Pastor Nack was just kind of like, I'm going to light up this dude who's not going to see me coming.
And Padre was like, I want to prevent a goal.
So, yeah.
And then the other thing we should talk about is what's happening in Brooklyn.
The Allander's beat the Vancouver Canucks on Monday night.
I was at that game because that's what people do against Vancouver now is beat them.
They just win.
They just win, win, win, no matter what.
We can probably say 10 in a row.
The Rangers are probably going to beat.
I mean, can you imagine the Rangers, that's what's going to happen.
The Rangers are going to come in on a day of rest, the best team in hockey and just get smoked by the tired Canucks at home.
But now they have, they have.
started this season, and they've probably done it before,
but they're getting louder,
the fire Cappy chance to Let's Go Islanders
in the cheap seats in Brooklyn.
All of the cheap seats.
All the cheap seats in Brooklyn.
All the seats are cheap.
I've long said that Jack Capuano is the coach that you have
before you fire him and get the coach
that then turns your franchise around.
But I'm wondering if that time has passed.
Oh, for sure it has.
Because the thing that would bother me most
as an Islander fan is the fact that he made
a not at all oblique reference last week
to the loss of Ocposo
and the loss of Franz Nielsen
and the goals that left that team
and although Andrew Ladd now has at least a goal
he's on pace for what seven he's on pace
good for him um
they had they did not replace either of those players in a sufficient way
and he's frustrated and the team's frustrated
and the players are frustrated and I don't think he's long for this world
but in any other sane world he would be gone
he would have been gone already yeah you're right but the islanders don't want
to spend money. They fire him. They got to pay him for the rest of the year, hire somebody else,
pay that guy. They just don't. I mean, the reason why they hire Jack Capuan on in the first
place is because he was the lowest paid coach in the league. They could pay him, you know,
bare bones money and save money that way. That's a dirty secret in the NHL, by the way.
How many owners don't want to pay coaches? Right. That's why they all hate Mike Babcock.
Yeah. And why? And also, there's probably more reasons than you said. Let me put it this way.
If you're a fan of a team, sorry. That's okay. Lozo right now is
getting to the bottom of his frozen coffee.
I'm so goddamn tired. You have no idea how...
It's like 10.45 right now. I'm exhausted.
I've been up for like three hours.
All right, listen.
If you're a fan of a team, and you've often wondered why your team doesn't get the big
name coach, it may not be because the big name coach looks at the roster and says,
me, I don't want to bother with that.
It probably is because the big name coach looks at the offer on that piece of
paper slid to his side of the table by the ownership group of your team and says,
I don't really want to do anything with that.
Plus, here's the other thing, too.
He's mad about Nielsen leaving.
He's mad about Ackposo leaving.
He's mad about them not being replaced.
Maybe, just maybe, they left because of Jack Capuano,
knowing they weren't going to get anywhere with him.
And players talk to each other, and they know going there is not a good idea.
Plus, I mean, I don't know how many more people have got to come out and tell you that place,
That building sucks.
The ice sucks.
So I don't know.
I feel like it's all connected.
But yeah, Jack Capuant.
Like, it's one of those things too where I can't prove it.
But for years, it just seemed like the Islanders, like, not including last year, because
they kind of got it going last year, but it seemed for years, they were just this underachieving.
They seemed like they had so much.
They should have been better than a first round knockout.
Yeah.
Like, they got to the second round ones under Capuana, but they should have been better than that.
Like, I think about all the guys they've had there, like, that have come and got, like,
they traded net and it's not Capuana as well.
they trade Nino Nieder Rider for Cal fucking Clutterbuck.
Like Josh Bailey's a disappointment.
They have Brock Nelson.
They have all these guys that are supposed to be better than they are and they're not.
And at some point, it's like, are they just drafting the wrong guy for 12 years?
Or are they putting guys out there that like their coach doesn't know what to, like,
honestly God, I feel like if they got Todd McClellan last year and he was coaching the team now,
they would not be in a situation there.
I thought your Capuano thing was going to be for the longest time.
I suspect that Jack Capuano is actually Al Morganti from the 1990s.
Looks exactly like him, doesn't he?
He's got great.
Everyone makes fun of Jack Capu.
He has got great hair.
As a bald man, I sometimes...
Yeah.
I sometimes...
But that's where your bar is.
As a bald man.
Come on.
That's good hair.
He could put a little more product in it.
He could put a little more product in it.
It's naturally beautiful.
It's naturally thick and lustrous and he doesn't need it.
He doesn't need to have all the product in his hair.
You're right.
You doesn't need a comb.
It's a good wolfman.
It's like a good wolfman look.
You know?
Yeah.
Anytime you can say that he looks like a...
A mid-transformation wolfman.
That's good hair, though.
Wolfman hair's good hair.
Now, listen, the New York Islanders have one thing going for him, and it's John Tavaris, right?
You mean the Toronto Maple Leafs have a good thing?
Now, listen, there are certain guys in this league that we love, who I think we could all agree.
We kind of wish...
Oh, I guess we're picking the same guy, huh?
We kind of wish could be in a different situation.
Before we get to this, I want to share with you the show prep that, uh...
me and Lozo do
because it's pretty great
very professional
very thorough
it's very professional
and very thorough
and I can't really find it now
that's how much show prep we do
bottom line is that
wait what part you're trying to find
I got on my phone
the Sealty part
oh wait
got it
wait
wait
wait this is us talking shit about other podcasts
talking shit about other podcasts
oh here we go yeah
here we go
so this was our setup
I suggest
10 players named John Tavares
that won't be an Islander in two years
Then he suggested players
Not named Cedar McDavid that will win the heart
And then I said
How about 10 players we want to send
Seal Team 6 in and Rescue from their current
situations
And then Lozo said doesn't Seal Team 6 do murders
And then I said seal Team 5 then
So as we were saying
But, like, I thought Steel Team Six just goes in and, like, does, like, assassination.
I guess they do pull people out of stuff.
I'm sure they're, like, they can multitask.
They can kill and rescue.
Because, like, based on the movie, I feel like they could have gotten bin Laden if they really wanted to.
They weren't rescue.
I mean, that wasn't a murder, death kill mission.
But, like, if they're going there.
But, like, if they're going there for an MDK of everybody else, and they're pulling out intel from the computers and shit,
and they're grabbing every videotape they can, why not just take the guy?
He weighs, like, 84 pounds.
he's not going to resist you.
I don't know.
So I'm assuming they just do murders.
He was sort of the Simon Phoenix of Pakistan, if you ask me.
So the point is, is that if you could send SEAL Team 5 in to save John Tavares from the New York Islanders, you probably would.
So Lozo and I decided to come up with our list, an all-star team, if you will, three forwards, two defensemen and a goalie.
Who would you send SEAL Team 5 in to rescue from their current situations and maybe move them on to your team or move them into a better situation for the betterment of the plers?
player or perhaps even the betterment of the league.
For example, let's get out of the, I'll take it off the board first.
Yeah, I'll, I'll, I'll, I'll rework it while you're vamping about why you're going to take
John Tavares.
I'm not.
Oh, you're not.
John Tavirus is on my list.
So why don't you, so go ahead, do Tavares if you want.
Well, I kind of spoiled it.
You did?
So just, just finish it now.
John Tavaris, I, I want to, I want to send a helicopter full of highly trained soldiers
in with night vision goggles into Barclays.
in the middle of the game
have the power go out
because I mean everyone will assume
the power went out naturally
in that building
pluck him out of there
drop him in Toronto
boom
everyone's happy
that's that's
it's just
and like he's so underpaid too
like he took such a great deal
for the team
and like they're just
they're just
right think of it
think of this
a plucky 19 year old
okay wearing a
blue and orange sweatshirt
oh no
he's walking down
the hallway
and all of a sudden
he's told
that none other
than Wayne Gretzky himself is in the room
and would like to talk about him
potentially being the best player in the world.
He enters the room, the door closes,
the lights go off,
a potato sack is put over his head,
and he shoved into a Harrier jet
waiting outside of the arena.
Sure, it's just sitting there.
And it flies away,
and we have rescued Connor McDavid
from the Edmonton Oilers.
And we're bringing him right over the border,
oh, Christ.
Over the Trump wall,
it's in the United States,
and putting them in a place.
I mean, it's Thursday, so that wall's almost done.
He'll be on American television at least once every two weeks.
Oh, I see what you're doing here.
So you're like, I'm trying to rescue people in bad situations while you're trying to rescue people
for good situations for your own benefit.
It's also a terrible situation.
Come on.
He's going to be a god there, like Kretzky.
He's going to be.
Who's next for you?
You're so selfish.
Um, all right.
Seal Team 5.
This absolutely requires the SEAL team to go in there and get him because he won't
fucking leave.
Yes?
Everything about his situation for the last three years, four years maybe, has said you should leave and go somewhere else.
And he refuses to go.
Shane don't.
Oh, my God.
That is also on my list of SEAL Team 5 rescues.
He's got Matt Sundeen disease.
But he's also at a point, too, where, like, this has to be his last year.
Right.
And even last year, you probably thought that too.
The coyotes suck.
They probably don't want to pay him anymore.
Everybody kind of wants to see him go and, you know, throw an elbow into, like,
Connor McDavid's head in the playoffs, right? Everyone's dying to see you do that. Everyone wants
him to go to like the Kings and and B,
you know, A, join the enemy and B, be that player that he is with a team that obviously
likes that kind of player. Dean Lombardi is sitting around going, how do I get older and
slower with one move? How do I get an old slow cheap shot artist?
I mean, another old slow cheap shot artist on the team.
But like, I don't know. Like that's the thing is like he's kind of so old at this point that
anywhere he goes he's probably not going to help but like i don't know i just the all right so
i'll sayne don't also on my list for the same exact reason so who's your next one um i'm leaving
the siddeans off because it's so obvious all right i don't ever want to see him leave vancouver
to be honest with you i feel bad i feel like they've they've they've endured so much shit up there
that it's that's let them go they are they are so happy to be up there they are they are so
happy to not be in toronto or detroit but like they don't know better they've been they've been
captivity for so long that they've forgotten their their institutionalized like in like in shashank step
right up and see the glorious hockey twins like they're gonna like go to like toronto and ask
permission to go to the bathroom like like red did when he got out of shashank it's like you
don't have to ask me oh sorry uh er Eric can't go to the bathroom uh I'm Daniel uh sorry
you can go to the bathroom opportunity to pee in your pants 110 percent chance you're
not going to pee another American trapped on the
other side of the Trump wall that is, I think, almost done now.
Almost done. It's almost done. Yep. And Trudeau pay for it. Beautiful American,
super talented, super fun to watch. Never going to win anything where he is. The one and only
Johnny Godreau. Oh, that's a great one. I want him. I want him in America. Again, like,
we focus on like Patrick Linae and Connor McDavid and Austin Matthews as like the dudes on the other side
of the wall that we're never going to see. But Johnny Goodro, like he's, he's probably at this point,
I want to say better than all those guys
But like he's more established
He's more he's also super fun
He's super quick, he's super tiny
He's fast, he scores awesome goals
And he's never gonna be odd
Like Edmonton's gonna be good
Toronto's gonna be good in a couple years
Calgary's gonna be this dog shit team
Where Brian Burke's like
We gotta get more money to Derek England
Like we're never gonna see Johnny Goddrow over here
So I'm sending it in and he's
I don't think that's a bad choice
And I actually I mean I was
I still think at the end of this contract
He'll end up in Philly
Or like in around Jersey
Or in the North
Northeast somewhere. I think, I don't think we need, we just have to wait it out. I don't know if we
need to, you see, we have a very limited military budget in this country. We can't just be
sending SEAL Team 5 willy nilly into places to rescue people that, that will be, you know,
leaving on their own accord in five years. I don't know. Or six years, whatever the hell it was.
I'm worried. He's like, like, Truba's going to leave. But like, I don't know. Johnny
Goddrault, I feel like it's locked in. Oh, yeah, I guess I just fuck myself with that, because
one of my list is Jacob Truba. I think it's terrible that Jacob Trubah is stuck in Winnipeg.
A place he doesn't want to be.
He has voiced that he doesn't want to be there.
And he's obviously being held hostage
because of the surreal law
that is the NHL RFA restrictions.
So I would send SEAL Team 5
into save Jacob Truva and put him on the Bruins.
All right. My next one is Jacob Truba too.
Because we're doing three, four, it's 2D, and one defensemen.
There's only so many defensemen that I want to save.
Jacob Truba clearly, I mean,
Jacob Trub is basically, like,
when Kurt Overhart puts out the thing that says he wants to be traded
That's the equivalent of like doing the video when you're being held hostage where it's like, hello.
Yeah.
My name is Jacob Truba.
I'm from the United States of America.
I'm being held here in Winnipeg against my will.
I want to play on the right side.
They want to put me on the left side.
Please, someone come and get me out of here.
Thank you.
I want to get him out of there.
Let's get him out of there.
And less than anyone think this is all about taking players from Canadian teams and flying them over the Trump wall and putting them in the U.S.
We're going to pick the same defenseman again.
Who? I don't want to say you.
I'm going to say it right now.
Okay.
Carl Alsner.
Oh, God, no.
I want...
Gives a shit about Carl.
I'll tell you why I give a shit about Carl Alznor.
I think Carl Olsner,
oh boy.
Were he to hit the open market,
would get, like,
ridiculous dumb Dan Gerardy money.
Carl Alzner?
Yeah.
I think he is a rock solid defensive defenseman
that teams would covet,
and I think in Washington,
he's someone that is never thought of at all.
Just like your reaction right now.
Yeah.
I think he's a brilliant learned man
And I would like to rescue him from D.C.
And put him on it
If Carl Alsner was in Edmondson right now
Like they'd be creaming their shorts about him
More than they'd cream their shorts about Larson
Actually creaming their shorts
Is I think Canadians do before they go out on
On fishing expeditions
Which keeps them worn
That's not like a sexual thing or anything like that
Almost got the ice hole open there, Gord
What's wrong over there?
I forgot to cream my shorts
Before I went off in this lake here
Oh you got to cream them
Oh yeah, I got to cream them good
dream them thoroughly.
Oh, yeah, for sure.
You know what this would be like if this was like Zero Dark 30,
if you were Jessica Chastain and I was the Friday Night Lights guy and you were like,
we got to get Carl Olsner out of there.
I'd be like, no.
We're not wasting assets on this.
All right, who's your defenseman?
Seth Jones.
Seth Jones? Why do you want to rescue Seth Jones where he's from a place where he's a number
one defenseman?
I want to rescue everybody from Columbus to get them out of there.
Any good player in Columbus, I want to get them out and like send them somewhere where
they can be successful.
He's already hurt.
I blame John Torto.
I don't know how he got hurt
and he broke his hand.
I'm assuming John Tortarilla put his hand on a table
and gave him like the Jack Nicholson,
Leonor DiCaprio thing from that shitty movie
that I don't remember the title of.
You mean from the departed?
The shitty fucking departed where he's just like wailing on his hand
and he's just like, all right, to make sure that you were cool or something
and like now he's out three weeks.
Like Seth Jones is going to be...
When I tell you to get rid of a body in the marshes...
I can't even remember...
You get rid of the body in the marshes.
I just remember Alec Baldwin had some fucking weird ass accent
where he would say shit, like, while they were doing the stake out.
It was all, like, really bad attempts at Boston accents.
That movie won a fucking Oscar for Best Picture.
Yeah, I won an Oscar for...
Wow, we have a lot of shitty directors in this world.
I can't believe we have an honored Scorsese more.
Right.
That was like the Drew Daddy.
I was like the Drew Daddy Norris of Oscars.
Yeah.
Oh, God.
All right, so you say, Seth Jones.
Now, finally, goaltenders here.
Who are we sending SEAL Team 5 into Save?
I am sending them straight down.
Flying over Georgia.
flying over the Florida State Line
flying over Tallahassee,
flying down to Tampa Bay
where I will
push John Cooper out of the way,
strong arm him
like I was Jonathan Duran's agent
and save Andre Vasselisky
and bring him to a place
where you can be a number one goalie
and stop being to Steve Young
to Joe Montana down there.
No, that's, that's, yeah, again,
we're not using assets.
We only have so much air time
and the ability to get these troppers up in there.
I agree with you that might not be for the full SEAL Team 5.
I may just have to send Chuck Norris.
You're not going to like my goalie.
Oh, come on.
He's the whole franchise.
You got to get him out of there.
Why?
This glorious red-headed son of a bitch is wasting his career.
Corey Schneider is like, it's amazing how like,
I don't know if it's because he was around Roberto Luongo for so long
that he's now trapped to become the new Roberto Luongo where he's this dude.
Like, remember Loongo that first run through Floreso?
Florida where he was like a 935 goalie every year, yet somehow the Panthers were always
missing the playoffs.
That's like his destiny now to be this 930 goal tender, lose games two to one.
Oh man, it looks like a, it looks like Beau Bennett hasn't scored a goal on 32 games.
Can't figure out why we're not winning.
And the weird thing is, is like for Longo to have a chance that a cup he had to go to
Vancouver, where Corey Schneider was, where Corey Schneider probably should have played game
seven against the Bruins, but he didn't because Longo was there.
So I want to pluck him out of there.
I'm going to say drop him in Dallas.
I feel like he'd be pretty good in Dallas.
I think he's the guy who would probably be the best fit there
because, like, shot volume, quality.
I don't think matters as much to him.
Put him there.
Get him in the playoffs.
Like, seriously, I have to look it up.
How many playoff games is Corey Schneider play at this point in his career?
Like three?
Yeah, probably in that range.
Because he came in for Luongo during that one series
and then he got hurt or he cramped up on that penalty shot.
So he played a couple games.
Like he's like he has the highest C percentage the last seven years.
Yeah, I know.
He's never been like a playoff guy.
He's never had a run?
The only way I'm agreeing with this dumb fucking idea of yours to ruin my team is that I want
my team to be ruined.
Like the only thing keeping us from having the top pick in the draft is Corey Schneider.
Well, now it's too late.
Once you get Taylor Hall, you're, you've basically abandoned the whole tank for Matthews type
of thing.
You can't do that anymore.
Like you're rolling for Nolan.
Right?
Nolan Patrick's the next one.
Noel.
Bolin for Nolan?
Well, no, that sounds like a bad trade
that Stan Bowman would make.
All right, good trade, I guess, actually.
Don't get hat tricks for Patrick.
Christopher Nolan.
Christopher Nolan.
No.
No.
Yeah, who gives a shit.
I don't know.
I think we should go on to the next.
All right.
Jonah Carey is one of our favorite people,
and it's not hyperbole to say
the reason we have a show on Nerdist
is because of Jonah.
And you're going to enjoy this.
He's a great dude, and we'll see you on the other side of the interview.
So Jonah Carey, my plan last night was we would all meet at Foley's and then do this podcast on my iPhone.
But then we settled in, and we all really got into a terrible football game.
Yes.
It's terrible.
It was an awesome football.
The puns were terrible.
The football game was like so, so.
It was so, I mean, but here's a, I mean, the bar is set so low for football.
about football.
It's, oh, why?
Because he's an Argos fan and I'm a Jets fan.
Well, whoa, whoa, first of all I'd be an Alouettes fan.
Let's be clear.
You thought Bill Seahawks was only an okay game?
That was a really good game.
Well, I was...
What happened? I don't know.
I laughed because I was so bored.
Maybe you should go look it up.
I'm not going to give you guys a end of the story.
That's fine.
You're the 12th man.
I get it.
Jonah, for those who don't...
People probably know you as this baseball guy
who's dedicated his life to getting one man into the Hall of Fame
and laments the day.
and lament the departure of his team in Montreal
but doesn't want to steal someone else's team
to get one back.
But he really does.
He's willing to steal the team.
He wants to steal the team.
Outwardly, he says, I don't want to steal a team.
Deep down inside, he knows he would take that team.
We'll get to that in a second.
But the thing that a lot of people probably don't know about you
is that you're a puckhead.
You're a bit of a...
He's Canadian.
But that's not...
Ryan Reynolds isn't a hockey fan,
even though he's Canadian.
That doesn't, by birth rate,
mean that you're automatically a hockey fan.
can reject the organ.
He's Canadian.
I think Loso's right, actually.
I think it's because I'm Canadian.
You can't help.
Like, I grew up with hockey.
It's probably my number four sport.
That would trump most Americans who had hockey as either they're one or certainly
their two.
Like, it just, it's ingrained.
And specifically being in Montreal, like, you can't get around it.
I'm not really old enough to remember the 70s dynasty, but like 86, I remember,
93.
I remember and they were good and, you know, had guys like Patrick.
Patrick Gua and not that many Hall of Famers, I guess, came through in the last 30 years,
but a lot of really, like a lot of Vincent Dampoos pretty good guys.
But is that Canadian birthright or is that civic pride?
Mm.
The civic pride thing for me was more the ex-po.
I don't know.
I just gravitated more toward the ex-po.
Well, the big thing with me with hockey, aside from the fact that I would watch it and it was just like my friends did so I had no choice.
Oddly, my family, it's true.
My family was, and I'm not denigating.
I really liked watching hockey.
No, I completely understand.
That's exactly the reason I was a Catholic.
We're both lapsed now.
I'd feel like guilt about it.
One of the weird things about my family,
we were very, like, the most middle class ever.
We lived in an upper duplex my whole life
and my parents split when I was young,
and so we didn't, we were not a wealthy family.
But oddly, we were, my mom and dad were very good friends
with the guy named Mark Moulson, like of the Moulson family,
who was just like, because,
they played bridge.
My parents were big bridge players.
And so...
Who was you, though?
Was he, like, the second cousin?
He was like the nephew or something like that.
But he was rich.
Yeah.
But it was more than he had access to any tickets that we wanted.
And so he specifically had first row behind the goalie.
And probably not drinking Labat at those bridge kids.
No, I would assume not.
Labat's delicious.
Sponsor us, LeBatt.
I'll drink that during the show.
Listen, I got Miller Corr's.
Who knows?
No, we don't want that.
Well.
But, yeah, so he would, you know, he'd come
over to the house, whatever, and I'd be 13, 14, and maybe two or three times a year.
I'd say, okay, I got an extra set of tickets, and he'd give them to me.
So I'd be sitting first row behind the net, and the old Montreal Forum was quite a place.
It's not like sports is now.
People would go in three-piece suits and, like, dress it, like, proper.
They look like they're going to the opera.
In the 90s? Come on.
This is like 80s.
Oh, no, definitely in Montreal.
It's a very classy joint up there.
I'm thinking more like late 80s.
By the time you get to like late 90s, no, but like, well, the most things, before they sold it to
Gillette, it was very much like that.
And you have to remember back in the 80s you were able to carry a larger roster.
Those were mostly players that were scratched in the stands that night in their suits.
They didn't go to the press box.
That's how they sold out the place.
So I would go and I'd walk in, again, I'm like 13 or 14 years old.
They'd bring some idiot friend.
And I'd walk, walk, walk, and you're walking down.
There's the reds, the whites, and the blues.
The reds are like the good ones.
And you're walking and the usher stop me and go,
Eh, what you do fe la?
And he'd start hassling me.
And I'd be like, look at this.
And then he goes, oh, Bel d'Anemois.
And then he take me down the stairs and he put me in the first row behind Patrick Cua.
So you can't, everybody has a story like that, whether it's that or something, you just cannot get around it in Canada.
I feel like it's an elective thing in the States.
Maybe not Minnesota.
But I'm not sure it's that way in Canada.
I think you sort of have to be that way.
So, like, okay, so it's number four when you're a kid.
Now that you're an adult and you've had Michelle Tarian coaching your team, is it like seven, eight?
Like, we're going to put the Canadians on your list.
But behind, definitely behind the alouettes at this point, right?
Sue ban brought me back.
I was such a big Suban fan
because I love the way he played.
I mean, it was just a very dynamic.
And I like to hold the way that the sport is progressing.
It's a Golden State Warriors kind of thing.
Everybody's moving the pocket or whatever,
and that's what I grew up with.
I remember hockey in the 80s.
And I don't know that I'll ever get to those Oilers teams.
I mean, that's a whole other story.
But I like that kind of hockey.
It's not to say I don't like goalies who play well or whatever.
And I understand the sport has changed.
And there's not, like, dude, those Alan Regget type of guys were crap.
Like, we're never going to go back to having bad goalies,
but at least it's more wide open.
Or Suban would help push it that way, plus he had a dynamic persona.
Carolina's gone back to the bad goalies theme.
They've got two goalies there with a combined like 845.
Yeah, but the thing is, is that you're right.
I mean, essentially, like, because of the increase in equipment size, the changes in equipment,
and the fact that goalies now actually try to learn their craft.
They don't smoke in between periods.
There were no goalie coaches.
No, no goalie coaches.
Yeah.
No, and I mean, I learn a lot about hockey by listening to you guys.
And then like I started
Oh shit.
Jesus Christ.
It's like when my dad taught me how to drive.
Okay, if you had a couple of pylons, it's fine.
But yeah, so when, you know, when we're sitting in the bar last night, it's the old time hockey.
Old time, not that old time.
Not that old time.
Not that old time.
I'm just like, oh, yeah, what about?
And I made like a boreas salming joke and you guys are laughing.
But that's my, whatever.
That's my upbringing.
Like, it's just, it was, you're immersed in it.
And not just like, you know, Stan Smeal references, whatever.
That's the thing I struggle with as a hockey fan now, honestly.
is that I am, the older I get, the older you get in every sport,
the more you believe that the thing you grew up with is the best,
or at least better than what is today.
It's the same thing as like SNL cast.
Like, when someone comes up to me and like,
oh, man, Will Ferrell, I'm like, yeah,
I grew up with Carvey, Lovitz, Hartman,
Blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah, blah.
And so my struggle as a fan now is that I know what I'm seeing now
wasn't as good as what I saw when I was younger.
Okay.
And that could be a product of my
predilection for fighting.
It could just be that I liked the players better
back then.
Yeah.
But my struggle as a hockey fan
is I don't want to shit on the people
that are now discovering the sport
and this group is their group.
Right.
The Sidovi generation is their group.
I feel like at the same,
on one hand, I should be like,
you know, they actually did hate each other at one point
and it was really fun.
Yeah.
And on the other hand, I should be like,
yeah, this is great too.
in a different way.
Well, we all get attached to whatever we liked as kids, too.
Like, it's just, you know, I'm 42 years old.
I just don't know that I could muster as much fandom for anything as I did when I was 13.
Like, that's how life goes, I think.
You know, baseball was better when you were a kid, right?
Was it?
I don't know about baseball.
I don't know that that's true.
Basketball definitely wasn't.
Basketball, for sure, this is the best basketball ever.
The fact that Russ Westbrook could take four dribbles at the court and dunk on you from the foul line is so awesome.
Yeah.
Like, that's clearly the...
It's just a show.
shame that it took over a hundred years for a team to figure out, oh, we'll just shoot threes.
Right. Well, there were no threes until the early 80s. But yeah, no, I mean, even that, yeah,
I mean, I mean, I'm talking about in the 1920s lobby for there to be three-pointers and that, no.
You know what I mean, though? I think they had to, like, use a broom to get the thing out of the peach basket.
I don't really know.
Wait, why do you like three-pointers, but not the age? A three-pointers is the way for special.
I'm pro-D-H big time, by the way.
Why?
We talked about this on the last episode. Why?
Because.
You're an national league guy, too. Don't you feel ashamed?
No.
I
Now that I really don't root for anybody strongly
In any of the four sport
Whatever in any sport
For pick your soccer, googly rugby 12s
Whatever the hell
I'm specifically trying to prompt Lozo
To do an accent by the way
This is obviously what's happening
It's too early in the morning
But
I'll do a New Zealand one
I like to play
Googly 12s
I literally can't remember
What I was saying
No you're going to talk about the DH
Oh yeah the D-H
Oh, yeah, the D.H. So the reason that I like the D.H is because I want a high quality of play. Like, now that I'm not, oh, I live and die with this baseball team, I just want good stuff. It's wonderful when Bartolo Colon hits a home run. He's been in the league for 20 years. He had one home run. So, I mean, I don't know. I don't like wait my whole life to see a solo. Oh, it's an eclipse. Wow, this is great. I would like to see, you know, a smaller eclipse every day. That'd be great. So, yeah. What about strategy? Oh, God.
it doesn't come into play that much.
Bunting is dumb.
You can get it.
Like, you did see in the playoffs.
So there was a thing where the Indians had Andrew Miller in in the World Series,
and they had to pull him because his turn was coming up.
He might have been able to go one more inning.
There was some strategy there, but I also like Andrew Miller,
and I would like to see him pitch more.
You were someone who in baseball straddled the eras between analytics
and then not having them before that.
I think hockey fans by and large are still transitioning.
For sure.
How did you transition?
Or were you in an early adopter?
I was an early adopter.
I read Bill James when I was eight.
I was a very nerdy kid.
My book reports on the brave little toaster.
My book reports on Bill James and saber metric history of baseball.
It's true.
I'm picturing Jonas sitting behind Patrick Waugh in like 1985, not watching the game.
like flipping through the book.
Guys, could you keep it down, please?
I'm learning about Sebel metrics.
You're not entirely wrong.
The only no-hitter that I ever saw was a Philly's pitcher named Tommy Green, who sucked.
But he got no hitter.
He struck, he walked seven guys that day.
And I was reading, but it wasn't Sabre Metrics.
I was doing a Romeo and Juliet journal for English class because I was such a slacker that it was due that next day.
And I wasn't not going to go to the game.
So, yes, there was that multitasking.
I also don't remember what the question was.
Oh, there's analytics era.
Yeah, it's early, folks.
It is early.
Listen, analytics, like, Branch Ricky brought analytics into the game.
Like, that was happening in the 40s.
By counting the whites.
Yes.
There is that.
No, actually, this is true.
He hired, of course, I'm going to stump from my hometown.
He hired a guy named Alan Roth to become a full-time statistician.
He stuck him in Montreal, which was the AAA affiliate of the
Dodgers and then he goes over to the Brooklyn Dodgers.
And in 47, as they're getting Jackie and whatever, they start, like, platoons, they start
doing stuff.
And so it was always there, but it just kind of wasn't acknowledged.
Casey Stengel was big into analytics.
Earl Weaver was big into analytics.
Casey Stengel was big into analytics.
Yeah, Casey Stangle used to shift.
He used to do all kinds of stuff.
Wow.
Yeah, yeah.
But Earl Weaver was really like the big guy.
But people didn't focus on that.
They focused on Earl Weaver kicking dirt and stuff.
I was going to say, like, he seems like the last guy in the world I would ever imagine
sitting there saying himself, actually, you know what, if we
bunt here, that only gives us a 40% chance
of scoring a run if we just swing away with nobody.
I just picture him more like getting to someone's face
and being like, you fucking idiot!
He was safe!
He was a red-ass stat head. Yeah, you're right.
You don't really see, you know, mild
manner Joe Madden or whatever.
It's like, actually, you know, with his own starts here,
his course he would be a lot better.
It's coarsie. It's caucy and it's fanwick.
Our Totorella is also on Mulberry.
Are you slavish to them? Should we be slavish to them?
No.
Because I feel like in hockey, I always come back to this.
I'm not trying to be a ludite here.
But like, I always feel like there's too many variables to be slaves.
It's effortless.
But no, it's just, yeah, thank you.
But no, I'm just saying, like, it's frozen puck on ice and people are skating on ginsu blades.
And, like, there's just a lot of variables.
No, but like, in hockey, I feel like analytics are just, like, counting up stuff.
You know what I mean?
Like in baseball, if someone's like, hey, Dave, you know, Mike,
Trout's war for the seasons, like 7.8, I'd be like, that's awesome. Like, how to get that number?
I don't know.
At course, I know how to get coursey.
As a guy who's not schools in baseball analytics, are they predictive, or are they just simply review-based?
It depends which one. War is more review-based, but when we talk about analytics, a lot of that is scouting.
Like, the whole idea of shifts and, like, this guy should stand here has to do with spray charts, which you can see.
and also just like, that's observation too.
So these things are connected.
The thing that I always say about analytics,
I work with a guy named Dane Perry.
Dane Perry was with me and baseball perspectives.
Now we both write for CBS Sports.
He says the tacos are delicious and beer is delicious.
Why do I have to choose?
Why can't I have both?
The scouting stats thing is a false construct.
Like nobody, there's no smart teams know what they're doing.
To your point about hockey specifically,
I root for the one team that probably defies analytics more than any other,
both in the way they try to build their roster
and specifically in their success.
Why? Because they have the best goalie, I don't know, ever,
or at least certainly one of the best ever,
and definitely the best now.
I don't think that's unreasonable to say.
They're playing extremely well.
I don't think Almond Toys like that.
Oh, you're best.
So you're, I mean, we talked about PKK before.
But when the PK trade goes down,
you're banging your head against the wall.
I was, for many reasons.
Number one, like here's the thing.
If it was an even trade, why are you making that trade?
That's because I really, really believe that,
I'm not going to say it's like being a Yankees fan.
Oh, you can't handle the pressure of being a Yankee.
It's not quite that.
But if you are embraced by the city of Montreal,
that's like being a freaking rock star.
Like Pika could just do whatever he wanted in that city
and he was beloved.
And the whole thing about the children's hospital,
that's real. We care about that shit for sure.
So, and, you know, maybe it wasn't even trailed.
Like, Shea Weber is a good player.
There's no question about that.
But he is three and a half years older
and there's questions about how it's going to go.
And it was just really,
It was the symbolic element of it.
It was we're declaring that we don't want to have an offense devoted defenseman.
We want to have, and Weber has a good shot, but he's a stay-at-home guy.
And, you know, it's that whole thing.
So I didn't, it just felt to me like you are specifically going backwards.
So it hit me in the fandom area because I was like, well, I love P.K.
Oh, boy.
It was like, my groin.
And it also affected me in the Sabermatrix sense because I was like, well, why are you,
is everybody going this way and you're going in that way?
And again, it looks smart because they have carry price.
Like last year, when they started the year, they were 9-0 or something, too.
I'm like, ah, they're amazing, whatever.
And then Carrie Price got hurt.
Oh, they suck.
They have no depth.
Their top six is like, okay.
Their bottom six sucks.
They just don't.
And every, how do you build a good team in the NHL?
I'm not that big an NHL expert, but I know you have three lines.
Like, your fourth line, there's no more like, I don't know.
Goons.
Noon Dragon Goons.
Yeah, knuckle dragon goons.
That's the thing people are talking about with the Rangers this year.
Wow, what a concept for lines that can play.
Skill.
And the penguins last year set the template for that.
Oh, that's really dark.
That's darker than usual.
The lights went out on Broadway.
As everybody knows, the lights sometimes go out in the studio.
We're doing it.
And sometimes there's lights that are just on.
I just touch Lozo's light.
But right now, the lights are completely gone.
Here, hang on.
Let me put up.
Woo.
There you go.
Spooky flashlight.
So spooky.
So anyways.
We've got like a couple more minutes.
Let me ask you this.
How far away are we from Robot on fires?
I watch the air current thing.
No, seriously.
I'm tired of strike zones that suck and affect the outcomes of huge games.
When are we going to have the robot umpires?
When will we have our robot overlords?
What you want to do is create a situation where you're not taking away jobs
because there's a robust umpires union that has vested interest in keeping their jobs.
And frankly, I don't know that anybody wants to specifically crack the union or diminish a number of employees.
So what would have to happen is you would have a bleep bloop and whatever,
but then umpires would kind of, there'd be a guy.
Right.
Maybe you move that extra umpire into the replay booth or whatever.
You wouldn't diminish the number of personnel on the field.
That's really what comes down to you.
You can keep them there for outs, safe, things like that.
Outs or like, calling for time.
So they tested this in a, what is that called?
It's like the Pacific League, something like that.
It's the one, Ben Lindberg and Sam Miller, they wrote this book on a team called the Sonoma Stompers.
It was for that league, this like independent league in California.
And they had a game where they put a bleep, blupe behind home plate.
and Steve Lyons, I think, was the one who was like, yes, I declared this is a strike.
Like, it would go bleep and he would go strike.
I think it was Eric Burns.
Was it an Eric Burns?
You're right.
You're right.
Somebody high strong, who's not me.
The last guy in the world you'd want behind home plate.
I do like him.
He's a nice guy.
But, yeah, so that kind of thing could happen.
But I don't know.
I just feel like the way that every sport works is, maybe you guys could correct me out of how it is in hockey.
but it's a bigger fish-to-fry issue.
It's like, okay, we're going to collect a bargaining agreement right now.
We have to make sure that we don't have a labor stoppage.
Umpires is not a high priority.
Plus, robot umps don't know how to manage a game to keep the drama raised,
which is what they usually do, right?
They make little calls here and there to keep the drama going.
You know it. You know that's true.
And any, at hockey fans, we know that to be true all the time.
They've admitted it.
They admit they don't make calls in order to keep the game close.
It's horrible.
Well, the strike zone specifically, if it's 3-0, they don't.
Right. If it's 3-0, they'll always go 3-1.
And if it's, yeah, it's just, they're rooting for the underdog.
You have to go, so, lightning round.
As a Canadian, as a Canadian stand, I'm going to name Canadian teams.
You give me a quick one-line impression.
What comes out of Jonah Carey's brain when you think of this team.
Okay.
Okay.
The Ottawa Senators.
Degla.
That's great.
Alexandria Dengla.
That's my impression of that team.
The Toronto Maple Leafs.
Kyle Dubus, they're moving in the right direction.
Ah, nice.
Calgary Flames.
Lanny McDonald, for sure.
Oh, for sure.
For sure. A big duster.
The Edmonton Oilers.
See, there's like a Gretzky, McDavid.
Like, it's happening.
McDavid, you know, again, you need depth and you need 20 guys or whatever.
But, like, I don't know, man.
I mean, could he be as skilled as Crosby?
Oh, for sure.
He's for sure.
He needs to figure out a thing or two about a thing or two, but he's almost there.
He's so big and fast.
He's so fast.
The only guy that I can think of that's that big.
Well, he's not too big.
How is he's big enough?
He's like 6, 3, 2, 10?
He's a pretty beefy kid.
He's a beefy kid.
He's only 19, too, so he was going to do.
Like, it reminds me Mario.
Yeah.
Yeah, and I mean, you know, Gretzky was, this is the whole debate.
And that's, and that's the parallel is, you know,
Greetsky was established like Sid is.
Yeah.
Then Mario came in and reinvented the wheel, and Gratsky then, you know, had to deal with that.
And Sid's, I think, dealing with it now, as far as, like, elevating his game to make sure he's not kicked off the throne.
Right. Is that a thing?
What?
Like being on the throne?
Best player in the world?
Well, you're trying to win. I know. I know we evaluate it, but like Sid is trying to win cups.
Is he like, I also want to make sure I'm number one?
Without question. That's interesting.
Yeah, those guys, they're best in the world.
I've never thought about sports that way before.
Oh, for sure, especially in hockey. I remember there was one year, Peter Lobulet, the coach of the flyer said that Claudeau was the best player in the world.
And it was like setting off an atom bomb in the penguin's locker room.
You may have been joking. We're not sure.
All right. Winnipeg Jets.
The sighting of a corporate sponsor during the National Anthem.
Nicely done.
You've gotten in my head now.
And finally, the Vancouver Canucks.
It's mostly Pavel Buray for me.
Pavel Buray, I told you guys last night, is literally one of my favorite athletes ever.
And I didn't have any particular reason to root for him.
But I just like guys who advanced the sport.
And there were definitely skilled players in that era, but there was a lot of your team,
Lutrazone traps.
things like that.
We could to stop assholes like him from the performance team.
Yeah, Pablo was just like, I don't give a fuck.
I'm just going to skate and do whatever, and he was great.
And his brother married Candace Cameron.
So that's interesting.
And before you go, you can only pick one.
One of these two options.
Yes.
You can only pick one.
You have to pick one.
Montreal gets a baseball team, expansion team, or Tim Rains gets in the Hall of Fame.
Wow.
You can only pick one.
if Montreal got an expansion team
I would become a minority owner
and very wealthy
and make so much money off of the huge profits
that I would build my own Hall of Fame
and tell Cooperstown to go fuck off
and then Tim Raines would be the first inductee
that's Jonah Carey
you're a gentleman and a scholar
where can people find your work
the Nerdness Network
yes familiar with that
yes my podcast lives along with your podcast
on the Nerdist Network and it is great
And CBS Sports is the main place where I'm writing
And there's like 10,000 other things
That are potentially happening
Including a meeting that I'm going to go to right now
Which we will see how that goes
But yeah
And on Twitter it's at Jonah Carey
Yeah, it's pretty much just me and Lozo
Making puns at each other
I think is essentially
If you're into that, check us out
We did it in real life last night
And they were very angry at me
I actually was, I did was worse than Lozo
Which was very exciting
It was a close shave
It was close
Thank you fellas
Thank you Jonah
Jonah Kerry was on our show
Jonah's on a vacation for
Oh my Jonah
Came to the park
As a talk it over
He's a good dude
So many votes for Tim Rains
Is there anybody that you're that passionate about
Seeing in the Hall of Fame
Tim Rains?
I don't give a shit about the Hall of Fame
There's certain guys like I think should be in there
But like I'm never going to be
Like Eli Manning is going to be a dude
That gets debated when he retires
like he shouldn't be in the Hall of Fame.
Right.
Like he's won two Super Bowl,
two Super Bowl MVP's
he shouldn't be in the Hall of Fame.
But that'll be a thing
when we're old
or like when he's retired.
Honestly, as we do the show
by the way,
Hall of Fame weekend is this weekend
in the NHL.
Oh yeah.
Lindrosh was that guy for me.
Like I think I was a very big
advocate for getting Lindrosse in the Hall of Fame.
Not because I was a fan necessarily.
I think he was a guy who sabotaged his own career
by playing the wrong way
and was kind of a,
by his own admission,
a gigantic throbbing asshole
during his playing career. When you say by playing
the wrong way, do you mean moving up and down the ice
with Scott Stevens predatorially
watching him? Yeah, but yeah
while counting his shoelaces like he did in Junior
but he was like fucking
three size, three times the size of everybody
else in Junior was able to just skate through people
and then he met a freight train
named Scott F. Stevens.
There's a freight train coming yore.
But like I think he was my guy for the longest
time just like, you know
worried about the criteria of the
of fame being so myopic and and such a being such you know longevity matters in some cases but
not another's and and it's so arbitrary that I was worried that he wasn't going to kiss the right
asses and get in but he's in now and I think that's fine like I'm they made the right call after
after after after Cam Neely got in you said okay Lindrosse has a shot and after Burray got
in you're like oh he definitely has a shot now based on like Modicam the the person
the percentage of fame.
The bar being lowered enough to where.
Well, I don't know if it's bar being lower, but just the acknowledgement that if you had a
cultural impact as a player, that's important, which of course now is going to be the
Roneck argument going forward.
Oh my God, what cultural impact?
Are you kidding me?
No, but like, the Hall of Fame never is a thing for me because it's like going back to
Eli, who shouldn't be in the Hall of Fame.
There are going to be people that think he should be in the Hall of Fame.
Whether he gets in or not does not change the enjoyment I got from watching him play.
Like if you as an athlete really want it, like that's cool.
Like you should totally stump for it, you know, politic for it, whatever.
But like when fans, like if you're a Flyers fan and you're super mad about Eric Lindross not getting in all those years, like it doesn't take away from all the games you watch, you know, watching him play and the fun and all the great times and memories you had watching him play.
Like he's going to be in a museum.
You're probably never going to go visit.
Like I don't, I just don't care.
You know what I mean?
Like Patrick Eliotch too is like a borderline guy who I can remember like.
Yeah, and that's a guy that I think there'll be a lot of, like, I'm sure I know a lot of people that are going to be really passionate about him getting in.
Yeah, I think he's clearly behind Hosa in that queue as far as guys getting in.
Yeah, like, I think he's close.
But again, like, you know, Patrick Eliot seems like a guy too who probably doesn't really care one way or the other.
You know what I mean?
Like, he seems like a guy who just like playing hockey and if they want to put me in the Hall Fame grade, if not.
Like, I get it, but I totally get the whole thing.
Wow.
Well, that's true, though.
Like, oh, what's this?
Oh, see, I don't know what that means.
Oh, but like, if, if you're dying again in as a place.
player like that's cool you know it's like i can totally get why as a player you want to be in the same
place as like gordy how and stuff but like i don't care if you are but i guess the other person i was
passionate about was pat burns like i felt like only because he got so dicked around that was and
like again that's another example of how fucking stupid hockey is where like he's alive right and he's eligible
and you're like no no and then he dies and you're like you know what maybe we should put that guy in the
hall of fame like what the fuck like you knew he was dying like it was why we know and like why why do it
And then, like, why not give him the...
See, now you've got me work done with the Hall of Fame.
Because that's just stupid.
The thing I hate most about the Hall of Fame, honestly, is the Veterans Committees.
Like, especially, like, in baseball where, like, you know, it's, like, a Hall of Fame class,
and you're, like, all debating about who gets in and who doesn't.
And then it's, like, two guys.
Right.
And then, like, a dude from, like, the 1921, you know, Cleveland Whitties or whatever.
You know, some fucking team you've never even heard of gets in.
That's weird that they would go from the...
Whitey's to the Indians.
That's a weird.
That's a weird switching for hands.
But like, it's like, it's, I, I hate veterans committee.
Because especially, that's like how, I don't think Mark Howe is a veterans committee thing.
I don't think there's one in hockey necessarily, is there?
Well, I mean, Rosie Vashon got in this year and he was eligible forever.
Is he, is that veterans committee or is that just like them reaching back and taking somebody
from the past?
I don't remember.
I thought he was just like a regular dude.
Yeah, I think he's a regular dude.
Same thing with Mark Howe.
But like, yeah, I, like, that's the thing I hate about it because essentially,
the question is what changes over time.
Right. Like what new evidence is your return?
Like it's not like when you can go down to the Titanic with those little swimming robots
and look around and come up with new technology to figure out how the iceberg hit.
Like, like Marquow has always been Marquhar. Rogi Vashon's always been Rogi Vashan.
It's not like you're looking around the league now. You're like, oh, these goalies are
fucking dog shit. We should definitely put Rogi Vashon in.
Like Bill Paxton's looking around for the Rogi Bichon of the ocean.
Right. The old woman carries Rogi Vashon to the,
the bow of the boat and just like
throws them in the ocean
A goalie's heart is like a deep ocean
And then like someone just
Actually the old woman should throw Rosie Vashon back in the ocean
Because I don't understand what
I don't want to do that again
I can't we've done that show
There's realgi Vashan's the other side of the boat
They're letting women and children on
I have a child
I put the Roshi Vashan on the coat
I put the coat on the girl
The unsinkable Molly Brown of course
This is Marcel Dion in this comparison.
He's in the boat going, I don't think we should put Roshi Bichan in.
The guy's like, if you don't shut that hole in your face.
I hate that movie, but I've seen it a million times.
I try to build you a great, a great roguie.
I should have built you a better Hall of Fame, Rose.
Fucking sink the Hall of Fame already.
All right, boys.
Once more.
It's a great string version of the Hockey Night and Canada theme here.
Hello out there.
We're on the air.
It's hockey night tonight.
I hate that fucking movie
I hate movies based on real tragic things
that you clearly didn't fucking happen
like the perfect storm
I remember getting to the end of the perfect storm
and not knowing the real story
and it's like based on a true story
and they all fucking die
and I'm like
wait a second if they all die
how did any of this?
Wait they just made all this up
this is bullshit
they had to kind of do that right
that's the part of it
that makes me a little bit ugy too
Mark what could have been shooting his pants
the greatest example ever is United 93
like no one knows what the fuck happened
Oh as far as dude
if we're going to talk about like
conspiracy things that that's like the one
I believe in the most
is like that never happened.
What,
there wasn't a flight?
No,
like the passengers
never took over that flight.
I don't believe.
I don't want to alienate
even more of our audience.
No,
but like,
but I've always felt
that there was a chance
that was shot down.
I just,
yeah,
like,
I just feel like,
how many times,
like,
I understand, like,
they figured,
the idea is like they figured it out
based on everything else
that happened that day.
But like,
I don't get the part
where they take over the cockpit,
but like they don't get him
out of the seat in time
before he drives a plane
into the crown.
It is a one of the,
that in the,
Tillman thing are the two examples of American myth making that I think we've come to grips with in the last like 15 or 20 years is the Tillman thing was where we peeled away the layers and found out the truth of it. But United 93 is this one where it's like let's let's let that be. Right. Let's just let it be. I just now that we know you're a truth. No, but dude like think about how many times the plane's ever been taken hostage in the history of the world and how many times the people on the plane were like, let's do this. You know what I mean? But that was a different. But that was a different.
day than different for sure. I mean it was that people knew at least everything was going down.
Right. Right. And right wrong course of words. People knew that things were happening. That wasn't
intentional. I know. That wasn't really that really wasn't intentional. Good movie though. Paul Greengrass.
Faye from Wings. Yeah. I didn't watch Wings. You don't watch Wings? We talked about this. Wings was the show that I was on my list of the shows that people loved that I never
understood by people who love them
because I never watched it
like Blue Bloods. People are going to at me
all fucking week now with all these fucking
like fucking you know
like those shitty conspiracy YouTube videos
now. You're stepping in it now. Don't send me that.
You're basically the reverse Alex Jones.
You're like a
InfoP.com
All right.
In lighter fare
I'm getting married on Friday. Me and
Ruby are getting married. Lozo's going to be there.
He's getting married on my birthday by the way. It's going to be
pretty great. It's an awesome parties having for me on my birthday.
And in honor of that,
Lozo has decided to bestow a gift upon me on this very podcast.
And the gift is we're going to play a little game of fuck marry kill.
Or if you want like a PG version of it, sexual intercourse, wed, matrimony, homicide.
Homicide.
S-I-M-H.
And we're going to pose each other some scenario.
I don't have any for you, so you just give me yours.
You have none?
No, go ahead.
All right, I'm going to start you off with the weakest one I have,
just to kind of get you warmed up.
Yeah.
Gary Betman.
Uh-huh.
Ryan Fitzpatrick.
Uh-huh.
Hading Christensen.
Uh, I would,
I would kill,
I would kill Hayden Christian.
No, I'd kill Gary Bettman.
Wow.
Yeah, I would have sex with Hayden Christensen.
Sure.
and then I would marry Ryan Fitzpatrick
only because I feel like we could grow old together
and have insightful conversations about life
because I don't know if you knew this
but he went to Harvard.
I heard about that.
Yeah.
Yeah.
That's like that's an Ivy League school.
It certainly is.
I feel like wow.
I thought like Hating Christensen's non-Star Wars movies
would give him more.
That I would marry him.
Yeah.
Rachel Bilsen.
Come on.
That fucking movie sucked so bad.
Okay.
Number two.
Mark Messier.
Yeah.
Mike Richter
Stefan Mattoe
Kill Messier
Have sex with
Mato
Wow
Angry working out
Things sex
And marry
Congressman Mike Richter
Wow I am so off on these
I would love to be a congressman's husband
But see like
So yeah I thought you would
I thought you would
I thought you would kill
You thought I would kill Mato
I thought for sure you'd kill Mato
And what have sex with Mark Messier
Well I figure you're like
If you're basing it on
Tanger sex
but you should be angry with him
Take a number and have sex
Although we did have the two double
overtime goals out here
In case you forgot
Also I know
We don't know where that
You know
Where it's been
Number three
Okay
All Star Weekend
Oh yes
All right
Fighting
Uh huh
Three on three overtime
Wow that's a really good one
That's a really good one
I put some
I put like eight minutes of effort
I would
Obviously
Have sex with three on
three because it'll be quick.
It'll be over and hurry.
But Boyle will be explosive.
I would marry
Oh man. I would marry fighting
and kill All-Star Weekend. If it came down to
what I value more in my entertainment level of hockey,
it's going to come down to fighting over
a superfluous exhibition weekend.
Okay. That was a really good one, though. I give you credit
on that one. All right, here we go. All right, number
four. Star Wars
Star Wars movies. All of
them. All of them. The universe.
As includes Rogue One a Star Wars
story? Everything. Anything at all.
The Marvel
Universe movies. The MCU.
The MCU. Or
just Devil Wears Prada.
I don't tell me I didn't put any thought into this.
I would marry
the Star Wars movies.
I feel like we
already had a long and lasting relationship.
relationship that will continue to flourish.
You know it's good.
You know, you know, you get along.
You're compatible.
Yeah.
Even when it's bad, it's good.
I would kill devil wears Prada,
even though I thought it eminently watchable.
Wow, that's, yeah, I thought that, wow.
And then I would, I would, I would have sex with all the, all the Marvel.
Think about having sex with Benedict Cumberbatch, Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth.
That's a Cumberbatch.
I can get behind.
Line it up.
Wow.
Wow.
You continue to surprise me.
I would go through those Avengers like Thanos, if given the chance.
Boy.
Yeah.
I'll give you an infinity stone.
Yeah, there it is.
Oh, yeah.
Boom.
All right, this one's more basic.
This one's one everyone I think can sort of relate to.
Okay.
Beer food, sex.
I'd have sex with beer.
It's just great that you'd say.
marry sex and I'd kill food.
Kill food.
Yeah, that feels about right.
Yeah.
Okay.
Because if I kill food, I'm going to die,
but I'm going to die drunk and happy.
You're going to have like a good 24 hours.
Right.
Before like the body comes.
You can't marry food and have sex with sex because you'll just feel bloated all the time.
So that's the way I would go.
I probably, I, food over beer.
Stay in the clear.
Sex before food.
Food.
In the nude.
Yes.
A segment.
We should do this every week.
You should get married every week.
Yeah, just get married every week.
Well, you know.
Where are we here?
How many we got left here?
We got two more left.
Two more left.
The 1994 Rangers.
Killed?
The 2001 Al-Lich.
1994 Rangers.
Cancer or someone stabbing your dog in the head with a spear?
2001-Avalanche.
2012-Kings.
Oh, well, I kill the Rangers, obviously.
I mean, I mean, in a in a travel back in time and prevent that from ever happening, Hitler scenario, that's how I would kill them.
So you would kill baby Stefan, that's how I, well, yeah, I mean, after I have sex with him, apparently based on the previous questions.
This is like a really bad, really weird blooper sequel that nobody wants to see.
The weirdest season of Doctor Who ever.
Come back, come to the TARDIS.
We have to go back in time and have sex with the baby and then kill him.
Wait, in that order?
it's all-timey whimy whimy
wimely-pidly
Crostershire
Okay, so I'm going to have
I'm going to kill the Rangers
I'm going to have
I'm going to have sex with the avalanche and marry the Kings
Yeah because the Kings was that was the one that was
At least painful right?
Oh yeah I mean that was the one
We beat the Rangers and it's fine but the avalanche obviously I didn't have sex with
because what an honor it would be
to make love
to Raymond Bork. My God.
Think about how amazing
it would be after his
long career to finally see
Ray Bork get one.
Yeah. From me.
That would be 17 W.
That's right. That's what that would be.
That's right. The extra win.
All right. Last one. Last one.
Doug loves movies.
Puck suit. Merrick versus Wichinsky.
I would kill Puck suit
based on the available evidence
I would marry
Merrick
because I mean
he's been my life partner longer than you
but that's fine
because you have your own other podcast now too
you'll be fine
that's fine
and then I would have
I would have sex with Douglas movies
because
the best thing about having sex
is knowing that you're good at it
wait is it
because to me like sex is like karaoke
where like I'm not good at it
but I enjoy doing it.
I enjoy sex more when I know that things are going well,
and it's not like me trying to, like, change a tire.
It can be like that if you, you know, if you're...
No, listen.
Get the lug nuts in there and...
Twist it.
Sex is magic, sex is good.
Not everybody done it, but everybody should.
Sex is natural.
Sex is fun.
Sex is best when it's one on Doug, apparently.
Which is funny because, like,
I feel like George Michael and other songs may not have been all about,
monogamy. But in that song he's all is about monogamy. And also like Doug loves movies is like a two-hour
podcast. I think you're kind of overestimating how long you're going to be able to. Yeah, no, that's true.
But I think there's one aspect of it that you're missing, which is I'd be high as far.
We enjoy getting your feedback on this show. Let's go to the reader mail segment here. What do we
got? What do we got today? Dan Martin, Dan Martin 42 on Twitter wants to know. What is the best Will Smith
movie? That's a good question. That's a really good question. You can probably split
up into different genres.
I would say my
the best Will Smith movie
Oh, that's tough.
See, the most entertaining,
my favorite Will Smith movie is Independence Day.
But that's not the best Will Smith movie.
No, that's not the best Will Smith movie.
Like the best movie is probably Ali,
but I don't like it.
That much? Yeah.
I'm with you on that.
Hmm.
Pursuit of happiness sucks.
Hancock sucked.
No, Hancock's good.
I like Hancock.
It fell apart at the end.
I mean, yeah.
It was a little stupid, you know, at the heart and the moon.
Hmm.
I like Hitch.
I'm kind of drawn.
That's like a good movie.
Yeah.
That's how I'm like, I think here's the thing.
Here's where I'm torn.
I'll tell you where I'm torn.
I think that men in black is a really good movie.
Oh, that's my answer.
There it is.
And I think it's, and not just on an entertainment level, but on like an emotional.
It's a cool.
It's a clever story.
It's a clever story.
It has some resonance as far as like master and apprentice shit going on with him and Tommy
Lee Jones.
And I think based on the sequels,
can say that it's an infinitely better movie, right?
People really like the third one.
I thought people liked it.
I didn't think that was...
Enemy Estate was pretty good, but I wouldn't say it's great.
He's been...
It's weird.
His filmography.
He's only in 37 movies.
Oh, Bad Boys.
Bad Boys is a good movie.
Calm down.
Seven pounds.
Hancock.
I Am Legends.
Suck.
Pursuit of Happiness sucked.
Hitch is good.
I Robot.
Man, he's been in some bad movies.
Yeah.
Bad Boys 2.
Ali.
Legend of Bagger Vance.
Wow.
Wild West.
Yeah.
I mean, he had a cameo in Jersey Girl, too.
I don't know if we're counting that.
Oh, yeah, that's right.
He does show up.
Yeah.
Wow.
By the way, I finally saw the document,
the Superman documentary.
Oh, with the Kevin Smith story.
It's pretty good.
Yeah, it's fantastic.
Actually, the whole thing is pretty...
If you haven't seen it,
it's a documentary called the death of Superman lives by this guy who chronicled the
Tim Burton Nicholas Cage version of Superman that was going to come out before the
Brian Singer movie did, and they couldn't pull it together.
And it's fascinating.
It's a fascinating.
glimpse into what could have been
but also how
movies fall apart behind the scenes all the time
it's a great it's a great flick it was like
you see like yeah like in your head right now
you're picturing Nicholas Cage of Superman you're like this
no but like you see him in them at the time
yeah like you're like oh I could have totally but the same
time though a Tim Burton movie
oh I bet there's no there's no everyone's like oh wow
wow West bid bad this movie did bad
who knows what could have happened no this movie would have done
fucking terribly it would have probably would have
it would have been he would have really played up the
the alien loaner part of it.
By the way, I'm a Tim Burton fan.
I was thinking about the other day,
like, when is the Tim Burton Renaissance going to happen
where there's going to be like a film festival of like
the great, like Mars attacks and like,
Beetlejuice and Edward Tissorhershands,
the first Batman movies, baller.
He hasn't made a good movie in 25 years.
Oh, that's not.
Fucking Ed Wood was in the last 25 years.
This is one of the best movies ever made.
Ed Wood came out like 91.
Oh, God, no.
That's an old movie.
Oh, yeah.
You had like the beetle juice
You might be right
Batman
Yeah that's a that's a
The only movie
Like like
Post Alice in Wonderland
Tim Burton
Like who gives a shit
The only movie I really have a real problem with
As a Tim Burton fan was
His Planet of the Apes remake was dog shit
That was dog shit
Charlie and the Chocolate factory is dog
That wasn't dog shit
Mark Wahlberg
Charlie in the chocolate factory?
I got all these monkeys around me
What's going on man
Mark Wahlberg was in that
In Planet of the Apes
Oh
I was like wait a second
I don't remember him
Charlie and the chocolate.
I'm Rook of Salt, dude.
I'm Rook of Salt, right?
No, I think he made me he produced it.
He did Nightmare Before Christmas.
Yeah, that was a bad movie. James and the Giant Peach.
He sucks.
Hunter Besner wants to know.
I was at a game this week and my mom asked,
why don't they put the teams in the same penalty box
to reconcile?
God, next question.
But his mom asked it, though.
That doesn't get any points from you?
I don't think his mom wanted it to be spoken publicly on a podcast
because they're on different teams
and they would fight each other
and they would not.
I think the box is too small
where they wouldn't fight each other
personally.
Like you would need to have
the timekeeper guy be like a counselor
and you have to sit between two minutes.
Tell me why do you think he's mad at you?
Tell me why do you think you're mad at him?
The box door opens and they don't leave
or crying and they're just like huddling in the corner.
That's funny.
In two minutes you're like
with 15 seconds left
Like, so when your puppy ran away, that's how you started feeling this way.
Don't you see Gord?
This is why he feels this way.
Don't you feel bad about getting mad at him now?
Oh, it looks like we're out of time.
No, no, I want to get deeper on the thing with my mom.
That'll be $150.
Sorry, that's your co-pay.
Anyway, here's what I want to do is what we talked about earlier.
Which is the most implausible friends plot line?
Mine is that Joey is a soap star and living in that dump.
Again, forever and ever, always and always, it will be that Monica Geller
walked in on her husband masturbating in a hotel room
and thought he was masturbating to sharks
she didn't she didn't make the intuitive leap
that he changed the channel as she walked in
she spent an entire episode thinking that Chandler Bing
pleasureed himself and she's known this man
for a very long time at this point in her life
to sharks and then instead of confronting him about it
tried to make him watch shark porn
I don't know who pitched that in the writer's room
that day, but you could just tell they were just like,
it's season nine, let's just, who cares?
So more so than
Schwermer getting stuck in leather pants
was masturbating the sharks. I could totally see someone
getting stuck in leather, leather pants, like anything
else, anything else was just sort of
like sitcomy, like, you know,
Chandler hiding, living in the box because he cheated on
or Joey cheated or whatever, but oh my God, masturbating the
fucking sharks. Finally, from John McDougal,
please discuss the scenario on sports spoilers. Is there an
etiquette. Here we go. I know
there's a spoiler etiquette for TV
shows and movies, but should a spoiler
etiquette for sports exist? Just a few
minutes before leaving the office last week, I asked
my co-worker, an avid baseball fan, who he
thought was going to win game seven tonight.
He got pissed because apparently
he had taped game six and
was going to watch it when he got home.
Oh, no. And I just ruined it for him.
That guy's a serial killer. He had gone all day
avoiding the radio in the internet until I spoke
to him at the end of the workday.
Was I in the wrong? He's an idiot
right. I feel sports are meant to be
watched live and live only. Spoilers
should not exist. Oh, oh, it was
the night of game six. Not the night of game seven.
No. It was a night of game seven and he had taped game six
no, seriously. I thought maybe he was walking out
after game six had ended and said, I can't wait to see game seven and he was like,
whoa. No. Then I can kind of, like, if you
that's the only scenario where it works is like if you're in an office and you don't
need to like use the internet, you can just tell your coworkers,
Hey guys, don't say anything to me about the game tonight.
Yeah.
But, like, people who go on Twitter and spend all day on Twitter and you're like, oh, my God, why did you tell me they won game?
Yeah.
Well, that's a rule of thumb for me on spoilers in any way or shape, or form.
Movies are a little tougher.
Like, movie spoilers, I think you have to wait at least a week.
Give everybody a week before they see the movie and then you can start openly discussing the movie.
I think that's fair.
If you really give a shit about not being spoiled for a movie, you can get your ass to the theater and see it within a week.
Fair?
Like the first weekend.
Yeah.
Remember, like, when, like, Deadspin had a thing,
the, when, uh, what was it?
Captain America Civil War came out and they were like,
somebody should have died during that movie.
And I was like, yeah.
Right.
Guys, it's fucking Monday.
Give us a week for the think pieces.
Then the other, but for TV shows, I think you need to, I think you need to get,
you get until dawn.
And I'm, I'm saying this as a night owl.
Like, if you're concerned about spoilers for Westworld or other shows,
I agree.
You have until dawn.
And it's also, like you said, your fault of you're on social media.
The night that the Walking Dead premiered, where we were going to find out who died,
who Negan was going to hit with his, according to Dave Loso.
Super scary bat.
Completely implausible bat.
It's plausible.
It's just stupid.
Like, if you're on, like, I was openly talking about what happened.
Because fuck the West Coast.
I was openly talking about what happened about two hours after the show was on.
and I had people being like, spoilers, dude.
And I'm like, you people just, you literally, you tweeted me to say spoilers.
I know.
Here are your Twitter messages.
Now, if you'll take your eyes and look to the left, you'll see a thing called trending topics.
Now, under the trending topics, which I can see and you can see, there's one that says hashtag RIP Glenn.
Oh, yeah.
This would indicate to me.
as a connoisseur of social media
that fucking Glenn is dead
and that Negan brained him
Could be could be
Astro's former first baseman Glenn Davis
Glenn Campbell
If he's still alive
Glenn Beck RIP
RIP is network after he came out
As a sole questioning conservative
The other day by the way
Terry Glenn
Tommy Lerman's gonna find a new place
to espouse I think pretty soon
Like I just think yeah
I agree with like sports
I don't know how
Especially in this day and age
when you can watch them on your
phone. You can check like scores on your, like I don't like I get it. Like sometimes you like for instance
Devil's Avalanche 2001 game seven. I had to work that night and I worked in sports and I couldn't like I wanted
to not watch the game but it was on like I don't know how you can avoid sports in 2016 like TV show like I haven't
seen the last two episodes of Westworld. Yeah. And it's because I'm kind of not super interested in it.
So like if you were to go on Twitter and spoil that for me, I'd be like well yeah, yeah, two weeks to watch.
All right. Well, that's that's the show. Thank you for your lovely.
wedding gift, Dave Lowe's. That was a fun round of
FMK. Thanks to Jonah Carey for coming on and
talking about many things.
He also picked up part of my beer tab
Matt last night when I did.
Oh yeah. I thought I was
looking for a 10 in my wallet
and it wasn't there and it wound up being in my pocket.
So I only put in like four bucks. We were short.
We gave, like you know how like you put in
everyone puts in their money into like the little bill thing
and you leave it for the waiter and he's like, you know, he changed?
And we're like, no buddy. It's all you. And he came back a minute later
and it was like, you guys are two bucks short.
Yeah.
Like, what?
So thanks to Jonah for all of it.
And thanks to everybody for listening.
By the way, if you love the podcast, do leave your feedback on iTunes.
Every review helps.
You can find my work on Puck Daddy.
You can listen to Merrick versus Rukinsky.
You can buy my book.
Take your eye off the pocket.
It's available on Amazon.
And Dave Loseel will take you home.
I don't really have anything.
Nobody got back to me about the Spotify thing.
I don't know if I explained it well enough or people didn't get it.
But I don't really have any stuff to sell, any sort of things to
rant about, but seriously, don't send me like,
don't send me like things about like controlled
explosions. I'm not Pete Carroll.
I'm not that guy.
I just, I just, I'm just, I just, I just, I'm just,
I just, I just, I just don't trust our government when it comes to that,
that, that particular situation.
But, um, yeah, that's all I got.
You know, you know, anything else?
I'm Greg Wyshinski of Yahoo Sports and this has been Dave Chemtrails Lozo.
See you next time on Poxu.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
Thank you.
