Puck Soup - Live From Brooklyn
Episode Date: June 29, 2017It's the first Puck Soup live show, taped on June 26 at Brooklyn's Union Hall. Barry Petchesky of Deadspin joins us to talk growing the NHL, Pierre McGuire and state of the sports media. Greg and Da...ve talk Hockey Hall of Fame, the NHL Awards, the Blackhawks' big moves, the Derek Stepan trade and free agency, plus we play live versions of "Does Sidney Crosby like …?" and The Roster Game: Tournament Edition. Sponsored by Seat Geek!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seekek, because buying tickets to sports and concerts can be complicated.
But there is a better, simpler way to buy with Seek.
It's the smartest, easiest way to get tickets to live events.
They have a seamless mobile experience that you can buy and sell tickets with in just two taps on your mobile device.
They help you find the best seats at the best prices, and it's fully guaranteed.
It is baseball season now for your boy.
I like going to the game and grabbing a beer, grabbing a hot dog, grabbing some crackers,
Jack, putting the hot dog and crackerjack in the beer so I can eat it more quickly like a competitive eater.
And I'm going to use Seekek to buy those tickets. I'm a Mets fan. It's going to be really easy to find available seats at Mets games this summer, I think, based on the quality of the team. But I want to make sure the seats I get are the right deal for me. And that's why I have the Seek app on my phone. They save you time. They save you money by searching multiple ticket sites, compare prices, and find amazing deals. You get the most bang for your buck because Seekieke creates every ticket based on value.
to help you immediately identify the best seats to fit your budget and every purchase is fully
guaranteed.
So what you're going to do?
Here's what you're going to do for any concert or game ticket you want to buy this summer.
Download the Seekek app and then enter the promo code soup because the Puck Soup listenership
gets $20 off their first Seek purchase with that promo code.
That's promo code soup for $20 off your first Seekek purchase.
So get the app today.
And we thank them again for being a sponsor of this very podcast.
This podcast this week, as you know, is the Union Hall live show taped Monday, June 28th in Brooklyn.
It's sold out in about a day and a half, and Dave and I are completely blown away and thrilled that all of you decided to come and see the nonsense that we do in person.
Thanks to all who came out, we are definitely going to do this again in New York, maybe at a larger venue.
Maybe at a venue that isn't hotter than Satan's Taint next time.
And we do thank all of you who buried the heat in that room.
and stood around many of you to watch the show.
Barry Pachesky from Deadspin is our guest.
We get into some really cool stuff about hockey and also about the media.
And then we play another round of the Sidney Crosby like.
We play the roster game, our favorite live game to play in podcasts performed on stage.
And I think you're going to really dig it.
It was a really fun show.
And again, thank you so much, everybody who came out.
You made the show great.
Your enthusiasm, your interest in the show, everything that's going on.
We're going to take it on the road next season.
definitely noodling through a show in Toronto in September.
And then according to Katie Levine, our producer from Nerdist,
who, by the way, deserves all of the accolades for putting this Union Hall show together
and then putting this very podcast together for you.
According to her, we have a pretty large listenership in L.A., D.C. and Philly.
So Dave and I are going to try to figure out ways to go there.
And if you want us to come to your town, man,
just hit us on Twitter at Puck Soup Podcast or hit the Reddit and just let us know.
maybe some venues to start looking at and maybe what the interest might be in us bringing a show
on the road to your place next season.
But anyways, Union Hall Live show is a really, really fun time.
You get most of it.
The Q&A portion was just for the folks who paid the monies to get in and see us.
And we'll do this again.
It was super fun.
Next week we'll have another edition wrapping up all the free agency stuff.
And there you go.
So thanks everybody for supporting the podcast.
You guys are the best.
And enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to whatever you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nonsense.
Book to...
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports.
Oh, we're not doing that again.
My God.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports. Huck Daddy Blah.
Never heard of it.
The guy who wrote and performed that song was supposed to be here tonight,
and then he bailed the last second because he fucking sucks.
Real quick show of hands or applause.
How many people believe they know the words to the theme song?
Literally two people have raised their hand.
Three people.
Three people.
I noticed you haven't raised your hand.
No, I helped write it.
Yeah, we'll work on that for next season, getting the thing in English.
Yeah, it's confusing.
But round of applause.
Who wrote it?
Jeff Sampson.
Round of applause for Jeff Sampson.
No.
Fuck him.
No, no, no, no.
I also want to shout out my lovely wife, Ruby Edmondson, who's backstage right now.
She designed the logo for Puck Soup.
Yeah, make all your toilet jokes now, motherfuckers.
Beautiful, talented artist.
It's not a toilet.
It's not a toilet.
It looks like a toilet because,
nerdist,
thanks nerdist for doing this.
Oh, we're going to blame nerdist for this?
Well, nerdist, she had to incorporate
the nerdist asterisk as part
of the design. So it looks like
a giant shit in a toilet
versus a bowl of soup, which
was the original intent. Really? What does your
poop look like when it looks like an asterisk?
Apparently, I eat a lot
of sea urchin.
So all you people that make jokes on Twitter about the
toilet, let's see how tough you are now
with her in the room. Yeah, you dicks.
No, put the knife
I doubt anybody who actually paid to be here tonight is or the people who have harassed us on
Twitter but.
Oh, hey.
Well, here you are.
Make sure you stick around for the Q&A to be like, why the fuck is your logo a toilet?
And then Ruby buries her.
She just drops the right cross.
Drops the people's elbow on her.
All right.
So anyway, what are we doing?
What are we doing?
So tonight's going to be fun.
We've got some guests.
We got a lot of the talk about.
We got a game show coming up later.
And then, of course, a Q&A portion is.
well, so thank you for all coming out.
We should probably begin with the biggest talking news of the day, as we often do.
A UFC fighter shot in the ring last night.
That's pretty much the only thing I really care about right now.
She literally took a shit in the ring during the match.
The stress of the hold was so immense that your bowels fucking exploded.
And there was just a shh, like a fucking shit slug crawled across the ring.
You were the most immature person I've ever met in my life.
Dave told me that he saw...
It's UFC.
That's what I said. Dave told me that he...
There are no rules.
Dave told me he saw that link and he didn't click on it
because he was afraid of what he was going to see.
That and the Don Cherry thing are the two things I don't want to see on the internet.
Shit and shit.
For those of you who don't know, Don Cherry went off on another typical Don Cherry rant
after the NHL draft talking about,
oh, no, get out of your boys, get drafted by the beep, blah.
And so we were like, you know, come on.
And then he put over Mike Babcock and saying, you know,
Mike Babcock tells him the good Ontario boys
are the ones who play crap. I'm like,
Mike, fucking, no one would give a fucking shit about Mike Babcock
or not for Swedes and a Russian guy.
Like, no one gives a shit. He would never have gotten that job.
It'd be fucking Dan Balsma coaching up there at this point.
What's wrong with Dan Balsma?
No, well, I don't know. Is he here tonight?
He's fucking got some time in his hands, apparently.
That's some anti-American bullshit I'm not going to stand for in my presence.
So, no, the biggest hockey news today, obviously,
is the fact that we have a new Hall of Fame class.
the four NHL players worth mentioning are Mark Recki,
Timoslone, Dave Andruchuk, and Paul Correa.
Do you have any issue with any of those, Dave Lozo?
I'm supposed to have like a hot take here.
I think they're all fine.
I think they all deserve to be in.
They all have different resume types.
Paul Correa was great and injuries cost him.
Dave Andruch, Mark Recky, compiled a little bit.
And then Tammu was awesome.
So next topic.
I'm a real easy lay for nostalgia.
So like the minute they said Korea and Solani made him just like, oh my God.
Started like clutching my starting lineup figures and being like, remember when it was fun?
He's not doing a bit.
He really does.
He might have done it.
I think this is an interesting class only because like Dave Andrew Chuck and Mark Recky are in because they literally never stopped playing until they compiled the necessary statistics.
Yeah, but they were good too at their peak.
They weren't just guys that's had like 60 points a year for 20 years.
Yeah, but it was pointed out to me that like in the 1980s when they didn't,
when hockey was at its best.
I was young.
I assume they didn't have goalies from the stats that I've seen.
I also had sports channel growing up so we didn't see the West Coast games too often.
I assume they didn't have goalies out there because of what the Oilers did.
That's true of the 90s.
You ever like go back and watch like a 1995 Devils Flyers playoff highlight when Claude the Muse scores from like just inside the blue line?
Yeah.
Like there was no goaltending until.
like 10 years ago, really.
It's unbelievable.
Or maybe Ron Hextall was a little leaky.
But, no, I, you know, Andrew Chuck never had, if the argument is that Andrew Chuck was
never one of the top 10 players of his era in any year, I would probably agree with that.
Maybe a couple of those years in the 80s when he was scoring a bunch of goals, but, like,
he's not typically known as a legendary player.
However, I've come to the idea that longevity should be a virtue that we celebrate in this
horrific game of ours. And you look at Korea.
Like, Korea makes the Hall of Fame,
plays less than a thousand games, point per game player,
but couldn't fucking make the finish line because he got concussed so often.
And, like, to have Recki and Andrew Chuck play as long as they did
and compile the stats they did and everything else,
I think should be lauded and not bemoved.
So you just want to put everybody in the Hall of Fame.
Well, no, listen.
Claude Lemieux, Stefan Riesh, Martin Berger,
Kandano, Scott Stevens.
Yeah. Bobby Carpenter gets his own wing.
No, I, my...
My Hall of Fame thing is that, like, if I had my druthers, like, two people would get in every generation.
Your what?
My druthers.
My druthers.
Hello, good says.
If I had my druthers, oh.
I do declare that Bobby Carpenter's backchecking in 1996 was enough to get the Devils a Stanley Cup playoff berth.
I would definitely invite Dave Andrewschuk to the Cotelian.
Yeah.
All right, we can check the box to the part of the podcast.
where we have to mention you're a devil's fan.
We don't do that the rest of the podcast.
That's right.
So anyways, I'm very much like Hall of Fame Nazi.
Like I would not have, I would purge the roles of like 75% of the people in the Hall of Fame
and just make it for the true immortals.
Timu would be in my Hall of Fame.
But like, none of the people else that got in this year would be my Hall of Fame with all due respect to.
Not even Korea?
No.
Why not?
You were just making the case for Andrew Chuck over Zuboff before everybody got here.
I think you need a combination.
Well, yeah.
I think he needed a combination of longevity and impact and immortality.
I think, I think, you know, like, guys, like, well, Lindrosse is a real tough case for me because he had the impact and he had a short duration.
I guess Korea is sort of in the same boat and Burry is in the same boat.
I don't know, man.
Like, I would take Lidstrom and then, like, that's it for, Lidstrom, Pronger and Niedemeyer, and then that would cut it off for that generation.
Right in Niedermeier.
What a weird coincidence is the spot where you're going on.
Here's my idea for the Hall of Fame, ready?
Oh, boy.
Here we go.
There's like 240 guys in the Hall of Fame, right?
Something like that?
People, I should say.
It's all men, women, and everything.
240.
What if we just took the 100 best hockey players,
kept them in the Hall of Fame,
and then the other 140,
we let me go to each person and be like,
yeah, I got bad news.
If only there was some way to whittle down
the best hockey players of all time,
down to a list of 100 people.
100 people, and then have them be the top 100 of
all the time.
Yeah.
Well, we should do one-on-one so we get Chino in there, right?
I mean.
But think about how great that would be, though.
Like, if I just go door to door and I, like, find, like, someone's, like, widow at home,
and I'm like, I got bad news about your dead husband.
Are you Bernie Ferdurko?
Yes.
I'll tell you.
Are you Cap Vanson's granddaughter?
I got bad news about Gramps.
He's out.
Paul Carey isn't.
Come on.
That'd be great.
The Hall of Fame fucks up.
often that I think they deserve to be lauded for like the fucking pat burns getting you know dicked
around for a few years like the way you did I think I think I think I think they deserve to get
lauded for what's a really good class like I think you know I went into I went today hoping and
praying that that that Korea was going to make it the same year Solani did for all the fields and
and they actually did it which is you had a lot of fields today I got a lot of fields today I got a lot of
feels today in case you haven't heard is like Paul Korea a guy that like fell off the face of
the earth because of concussions and whatnot is like no no headaches anymore
Like, he goes snowboarding and surfing and shit.
And so he is surfing, yeah.
I think snowboarding are standing out there.
So he's doing well.
And the other cool thing, in case you didn't see it today, is that he was out surfing.
He came back home.
And Timu Solani actually called him before the Hall of Fame did to let him know he got in.
Is that cool or did he just ruin?
No, I think it's amazing.
I think that's a little bit dickish.
Don't you want to see that Toronto area to come up on your phone and be like,
Yes. Instead, it's like a message from Timo like, hey, what's up? Trump rules. You're in the Hall of Fame.
No, I don't want that. Sorry.
But yeah. But the feels were great. The feels were great. I was very happy about that.
So is there anybody that's not in the hall that you want? Are you like a McGilney or a Curtis Joseph type kind of guy?
I'm a big Sergei Zubov guy.
Yeah. Because you look at his numbers. He was right behind the...
Nick Lidstrom and everything.
The quote, best defenseman maybe of all time.
And it's, there's one year where Sergey Zuboff had like 80 points in 76 games.
And he finished like 13th in Norris voting.
It was tied with Mark Tenority.
And for people in the room that don't know who Mark Tenority is, that's because you should
not know who Mark Tenority is.
Think of a less accomplished Brooks Orpick.
Right.
Like Brooks Orpick, but bad.
But bad.
And that guy got the same amount of Norris votes that year as Sergey Zuboff.
Can I say a quick Mark Tenorty's story?
We got two hours to fill, so you might as well go crazy.
We have two hours to fill.
That's literally shorter than our podcast most weeks.
So when I was at the University of Maryland, the Caps were moving from the Caps to
the Caps Center to Verizon Center.
And so as part of this, they put all of the tickets on sale for the last few games at the
Cap Center and included in that group was a Devils ticket.
So I was in college at the time, and I went and stood in line for the devil's caps tickets.
And, of course, because I'm an asshole, I wore my devil's jersey to a caps ticket line.
Shocker.
And so I'm standing there, and Mark Tenorty is greeting the crowd, as I guess Mark Tenority does.
Wait, he was just like a greeter at the front of the tickets?
Yeah.
He's wearing a blue Walmart smock.
And he was going up and down the crowd of people thanking them for coming out.
the caps at this time were pretty shitty.
And, you know, thank you for getting tickets.
So he's going up and down the line.
Literally walks past me in my devil's jersey,
goes to the person in front of him,
in front of me, and goes,
look at that fucking dick.
And then just keeps going and greeting the caps fans.
And I felt accomplished, I guess,
in some strange way.
I think you read you pretty well.
Yeah, I think so.
But yeah, no.
So do you think it's more of a Dallas thing
or a Russian thing with Sue Booth?
I mean, it's always a Russian thing to start.
Yeah, probably.
I mean, let's be real.
McGilney.
Like, McGilney's kind of in that same Paul Korea vein,
where he had a shorter career,
brighter, burned out, blah, blah, and all that.
Sergei Zubov should be in the hall.
I mean, next year, you look at the class,
it's going to be, what's that guy from the Devils?
Terrari.
No.
Oh, Brodor.
Yeah.
It's like Brodor, and then there's really nobody else.
I think that's a lock, but it should be Sergey Zubov.
If Phil Housley's in the Hall of Fame,
if Phil Housy's name was like Phil,
Felician House Lisky.
Yes.
I don't play defense, but my helmet is so big on my little pinhead.
I coach P.K. Suban this year, and he did much better.
No, he didn't. He was really awesome anyway, right?
Why is Phil Houselago getting all the credit for the Preds defense this year?
I will coach Buffalo until owner decides I do not coach Buffalo anymore.
Wait, what about that extra the coach from the Alberta of the college?
There's always that one person that gets in.
We've all never heard of.
Oh, player or something?
Yeah, I thought it was a woman.
Sorry.
Great research here on the podcast, as per usual.
Moving on.
The last thing I want to say with the Hall of Fame is that as long as next year's selection
is someone I call not Ronick, then I guess I'll be pretty happy.
Because motherfuckerger is not a Hall of Famer.
Very famous, but not a Hall of Famer.
Let's say Dave Andrewchuk once called you out on his podcast.
Would you still endorse him for the Hall of Fame?
I feel like Jeremy Roanick was better than that.
Dave Andrew check personally. I feel like he probably would have written a better
forward for my book as well. Oh man. I don't know.
Oh, Jesus Christ.
The fact that you all oohed means that you literally haven't read the book and the
15 minutes on a phone that Ronix spent writing the forward from a book.
Which we're giving away maybe tonight.
Yeah, yeah, enjoy it.
I just got back from Chicago from the draft.
I want to point out the obvious that as much as we could have
show a hands here for the people listening at home.
How many of you hate Gary
Betman?
That's a pretty healthy collection.
That's a pretty healthy collection.
You can't see it. You can take
the boy off at NHL.com, but you can't
take the NHL.com out of the boy, apparently.
Fucking government
news. But anyway, so
state-run media.
No, but like, you have to hand it to Batman, though.
Like, when he got up there at that Chicago thing
and they were booing the shit out of him.
And then the Chicago fans booed him so hard,
they got bored by it.
And then they sort of got, like, quiet booing,
and he goes, come on, you can do better than that.
Like a fucking wrestling heel.
Like, there's something to be said for that.
Oh, yeah, I know.
He's like the giant fear monster.
The best green lantern,
where he just feeds off the booze
and gets stronger by them.
That wasn't the green lantern?
It certainly was.
Ryan Reynolds before we made a good superhero move.
Did I ever tell you about it?
riding in the elevator at the NHL at Gary Batman?
Please do?
So he would always...
Unless that's a euphemism.
Then definitely do.
No, I was talking about us having sex.
Not like a literal elevator.
Go on.
No, but he was always like kept to himself
in the elevator. In the NHL, it was 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
where the NHL offices.
And you get in the elevator with them.
He's already got 15 press because he's on 15 with his big office.
And then I get on and he's,
doesn't know who I am. I'm just some dufus who works at the
NHL. Then I press 11 and he's like,
oh, you're at the NHL too, huh?
And then we have to have an 11 floor conversation
about my bagel and it's like, ah,
you don't have to do this, Gary.
And this happened like five times while I was there. Every time he's like,
hey, is that a bagel? What do you got on that? Peanut Butter?
You're worthy of my attention. I thought you were a ninth flora,
but it turns out you're an 11th flora,
so let's talk.
Like the thing he does in front of people is what he would do in the elevator.
We just put the face on like, hey.
Fucking.
All right.
So I was at the draft, and let's blow through some of these trades here.
What did you think overall...
Was it metaphorically or do you mean?
No, no, no.
What did you think overall are the Blackhawks moves, my friend?
I think they're worse than they were...
Wait, what was that a boo for the moves or the boo for the Blackhawks?
Or me?
Moves?
Fuck the Hawks.
Oh, fuck the Hawks.
Well, yeah.
Well, yeah.
Fuck the Blackhawks.
Apparently, we're doing the other.
the show in St. Louis.
Wait, hold on.
Are you from St. Louis?
Yes.
Well, there you go.
Smelled that fried ravioli on the room.
Time to play to the crowd.
I kind of like him, to be honest with you.
Like, I feel like...
Wrong.
No.
Wrong.
Listen, Yarmelsen, I agree, is...
Yarmulson for Murphy is a downgrade.
I think we can all agree on that.
But am I crazy to think that we have yet to see Artemey Panarin, Sands, Patrick Kane on his line,
plus John Totorella, and wonder if in two years when he goes, I make $6 million, now make $9 million, right?
And then they're like, we don't have that money.
Like now all of a sudden Brandon Sodge signed for four years.
And the Shack out, the Blackhawks have what our friend Gary Betman calls cost certainty now with the Sade contract versus the Paneran contract.
I like that.
I like that move.
And plus also, I'm a big Jonathan Taves fan
because I don't know if you know,
but he wants to save the environment.
And I think that's really admirable.
So I want to make him happy.
And Brandon Sod makes them happier
than like whatever fucking rookie they had on his line last year.
So far, what time is there right now?
Like 825?
819.
We're 19 minutes in.
He's already slagged Sergei Zuboff
and our time you Panarin.
Coincidence?
No.
You'd think it's not a
coincidence that Artemi Panarin shows up on Patrick Kane's line and suddenly Patrick
Kane's an MVP?
No, I think there's a reason why he's an MVP, which is Artem, Arteni Panarin and Anishimov.
That's fine.
I agree with you.
Was he really good before that?
Of course he was.
He just got a lot better when Panarin showed up.
So now the task is find him another really good winger, which I thought was going to be
TGioshi, and then the cast went fucking crazy and gave him an eight-year contract.
So, uh...
Everyone's clapping for the bad contract.
So, uh...
Yeah, fuck the Cubs, fuck the Black Cocks. What else?
Stan Bowman in his office being like, penciling in T.J. O'Shee.
And then he's like, the caps just gave him eight years.
And he's like, all right.
We're certainly not doing that.
Okay, but...
That's what got us in this pickle, these long-term contracts.
They're going to play Brandon Starr with Jonathan Taves.
Completely.
So why would you ruin your best line to make Jonathan Taves happy?
Because he's the...
So he goes in his happy.
Hikes with his happy Instagram environmental photos.
Exactly.
You're a real hockey guy.
He almost chopped down a tree.
I saw him on Instagram.
That's how upset he was.
He almost ruined a tree.
What other Russians you want to get to tonight?
Who else?
Againy Malkin, overrated or not good, Greg?
Yin's no, Sid's the guy who stirs a drink.
I'm not Tim.
Yin's know that.
She knows just a passenger.
Sid's the one who stirs a drink.
How about?
Sid is like the meat out of Permanis.
and she knows like the fries.
Like you can have it or not have it.
You still have the slaw.
But SIDS the meat.
It's not saying SIDS the meat.
You're dressing me out.
Who's Ryan Reeves?
Is he like the security guy at the front of the Fermanis that makes sure nobody fucks with the fries?
So there's so much to unpack on that Ryan Reeves trade.
Let's start with the obvious that the Pittsburgh Penguins won two consecutive Stanley Copes without an enforcer.
and then weazend old man says
we need to protect our boys
we're never going to win a third one
without a refian on the fourth line
here's a Werther's
even if they paid a Wurthers
that was too much
That's the problem
A first and a Wurthers
I'll throw in a full bag
if you give me a
I don't know the rates to Yacapov
Oh yeah Yacapov got released today
I want to shoot on Yaccapao
We'll do that later
I want to speak directly
to St. Louis here for a moment
I also like the fact that when I openly said that it was foolish to protect Ryan Reeves in the expansion draft or why would anyone select him?
Here we go.
All of the blues fans said, you don't understand.
He's extraordinary. Thank you.
He's extraordinarily important.
He's an very important facet of this team.
If you pull him, it is as if you are pulling the thread from a sweater.
The blues will unravel.
And then they traded him.
That is how important that he is.
They traded him for what's essentially a high second round pick
and some guy who may not even play.
That's how important he is.
So I'm all confused as to why this happened.
I don't like it.
It's because Matt Niskin is going cross-checked Cindy Crosby in face
after the most perfectly orchestrated attack
in the history of hockey.
Right.
That's why they did it.
Do you mean the one where Rob Rossi was in front of his keyboard and he said?
No, they had a player's only meeting.
Ian's know they were plotting against said.
Flower.
Yins know if Ryan Reeves was here,
none of this chicanery would have happened.
By the way, when that trade happened,
the first thing I did was I went and found the box score
from the David Prawn Joe Thornton hit.
I so wanted Ryan Reeves on the ice,
but he wasn't.
But that's just it.
Like, you know, listen, I am,
make no mistake, I'm more of a fan of fighting than you are.
I'm an outright fan of fighting.
He's a fan of fighting.
He's a fan of Russians.
That's you.
Right.
That's because when fights happen, we know where Russians are.
They're in the corner.
Away from the fight.
But there's nobody to fight anymore.
Why would you get Ryan Reeves to go fight someone who doesn't exist?
No, it's not to prevent fights.
It's to prevent carefully choreographed trip, cross-check helmet checks.
Right.
And then when P.K. Suban was bouncing his head off the ice,
like Ryan Reeves would have went in there and destroyed him.
That's what would have happened.
No, but that's just it.
Ryan Reeves wouldn't be playing in a playoff game.
That's the other thing, too.
He would have prevented the Niskenen thing
I'm like he would have been on the ice in a playoff game
against the Washington Capitals
I mean you think you know better than Jim Rutherford
I know that's the response that was the great response
and then like they're like do you think he know better than Jim Rutherford
I'm like yeah no I don't know anything he's a genius
that's why the Carolina Hurricanes have
17 Stanley Cup banners
oh wait no they made the playoffs fucking twice
with him as the GM
and Cam Ward got signed for 80 years
does this go back to Ray Sherer being your GM now and you're just pissed
that you got the bad Pittsburgh GM
and Pittsburgh now has the good Pittsburgh
GM? Good Pittsburgh, yeah.
So what's Botterill? Is he the just
right GM in your fucking Goldilocks scenario?
Not going to lie to you. I have not thought this one all the way through.
All right, what did you think of,
we got a bunch of Ranger fans of sharing here?
What did you think of Derek Stepan trade?
It's really weird because
they're so win now, right?
Yep. And they had Derek Brassard
and Derek Step on it.
Ranger fans in the room,
who would you prefer?
Zabinajad or Brassard?
Zabinna Bresad.
Yeah?
They're all wrong.
Because Ottawa would beat the Rangers in the playoffs this year,
so therefore, by rule,
Derek Brassar.
So Derek Broussard and Derek Stepan were two,
they're two best centers, right?
Yeah, and now you're down to Zabinajad.
Zabinajad and Hayes, I guess,
are going to be their one-two.
Most teams, when they're rebuilding and they want to shed money,
they get rid of the really old $7.8 million
dollar winger to free up some cap space.
Not the good center. That plays a good too-o-e-e.
I don't, I respect
a team that can realize they've made a mistake
going 6-5 with a guy who may not be worth 6-5.
And maybe you can address that giant
hunk-a-shit blue line that they have with that money
instead. Yeah, but I mean, if they get
Chatt and Kirk and drop Gerardy and they pick up somebody
for Kevin Klein, it's just, I don't know,
how many points they have last year? 102.
What are they going to have this year?
101? 101.
Right. I don't know. I just, I don't know. I think they could have been better off
just shedding different money.
Like they shed at Gerardi's, they bought Gerardi out.
Our Ranger fans sad about that, by the way?
I don't know.
I can't figure you guys out.
You love Zvinajad.
You don't love Brassard.
Here, hold this for a second.
Okay.
I guess I got to talk because it's a podcast, right?
How many hands do you think I have?
Yeah, put it in there.
Do it. Drop it. Drop it.
Oh, God. Yeah, right there.
It moved.
What were we talking about?
I'm real sleepy all of a sudden.
All right.
I'm sorry.
All right.
Now's the time in the podcast where we usually do an ad, but we're not doing one.
We might do one in post.
ZipRecruiter is one of the best places to zip for recruits.
You love doing the ads.
Tell them how much you love doing the ads.
I do.
As you know, if you've listened to the podcast, it's become a little bit of a game
where I try to knock lozo over with my ninja-like ability.
He's getting better.
He's getting better.
Like, it used to be like, I would.
would be talking and as I got to the end of my sentence
like his eyes would light up
and I'm like
here you go
the most amazing thing is speaking of Russians
you should be Russian to ziprecruiter
com
The most amazing thing is I have the ads
printed out so like I start
fucking shuffling papers around as he's talking
and like for some reason
you do it smooth like pick up on it
you're like let me just move this over here
all right
no it's time for a favorite
I said we'd do this again on this live show
because you were so nice to come out and see it.
We're going to do a round of
does Sidney Crosby like.
It feels like inside the actor's studio
all of a sudden.
Doesn't it?
And Dave Lozo, when you die
and you go to the pearly gates
and St. Peter looks at you
and he says,
what do you have to say for yourself?
What will you tell St. Peter?
It was really great having Markorabi on the show.
And St. Peter would be like,
yeah, I'm sure it was.
And I'll be like, no, no, I don't mean it like that.
I mean, she was a really good guest.
And he'll be like, yeah, okay, I know what you want her on the show.
I'm like, no, no, she plays hockey.
That's the, I will say, on second thought, the Nashville hot chicken at White Castle was in fact a mistake.
Can I go back?
No.
You're dead now.
Dave Lozo, does Sidney Crosby like penguins?
Like real penguins.
Like, you'd see at the zoo.
I think he's afraid of them.
hence the need for Ryan Reeves.
The answer, of course, is that Sidney Crosby does not like penguins because penguins cannot fly,
and he sees them as inferior to other birds that have flight.
But Jonathan Taves loves them because he loves all things in the environment.
Which makes Jonathan Taves better than Sidney Crosby.
Does Sidney Crosby like Las Vegas?
I don't mean the team.
I mean the city.
Yeah, nobody likes that team.
Jesus, that team is so bad.
I'm going to say yes.
It's hard to not like Vegas.
Even if you're a guy who probably tours around with ex-ambassadors during the off-season,
you probably get to have fun in Vegas if you're Sidney Crosby.
I'm going to say yes as well because I feel like Sid is the kind of guy who finds the most obscure licensed slot machine and just nurses a few nickels.
Like the sex in the city slot machine
That should be gone
It should be cycled out for something
Like girls or something
And they still have it there
And he just sits there pumping in nickels the whole time
Trying to get those water down gin and tonics
Here's what happens
He goes there with Phil Kessel and Marion Hosa
And like you can't win shit
And then he's like
I'll get Connor Shiri and Jake Denzel on my sides
And suddenly like
It's 21 21 21 21
So in that case, he likes Vegas.
Jake, Jake, can you blow on these dice?
Does Sidney Crosby like Pittsburgh?
No.
You're fucking kidding me?
Come on.
That's correct.
That needs no explanation.
Does Sidney Crosby like margaritas?
Ooh, that's a good question.
Because, like, they're sugary.
They're sugary.
Well, they're sugary and salt.
It's a bit of salty and sweet.
Yeah, like hockey players all like the vodka sodas because they want to keep the,
they want to maintain the, like we do.
Yeah.
Right.
What's so funny?
Why are they laughing at that references to our great potty?
I don't get that at all.
No, I'm going to say he does not like margaritas.
I feel like he likes a real bland sort of a drink.
I would agree.
I know for a fact that, you know what his drink is?
Inglang.
No.
Close, though.
That's funny.
Someone said yingling.
Is it rolling around?
And for real, it's,
IRL. His favorite drink is...
Iron City? Huh?
Iron City? I thought you said R.C. for a second.
He likes generic cola you get at Nets games.
No, it's Crown Royal. It's actually his beverage of choice.
When he turned 21, they plied him with Crown Royal. That's his drink.
Yeah, very good Canadian boy.
God, Canadians are weird.
Respect the Crown.
They like Margaritas. Probably not. It seems too fun.
I don't know. If you likes Crown Royal, you probably likes margaritas.
I think when the boys go out for margaritas is probably leg.
day.
So he doesn't go out.
Does Sidney Crosby like the Marvel Cinematic Universe?
Who doesn't like the Marvel Cinematic Universe?
Sidney Crosby?
I was waiting for somebody to yell out, I do.
D.C. rules.
No one's saying that after Suicide Squad.
I don't know.
I'm going to say no, actually.
I feel like there's too much going on for Sid to kind of pay attention to all that.
Liked Iron Man.
Really liked Iron Man, too, because it involves beating up a Russian.
An iron,
Pittsburgh.
Did not like Iron Man 3
found a confusing
with the Mandarin.
Love Guardians of Galaxy
1 because he thinks
he's Peter Quill.
Loves Guardians of Galaxy 2
because he thinks he's Peter Quill.
Doesn't like Thor 1 or 2.
Right.
Because he doesn't like
the way he wields the hammer.
It feels like
if he had practiced with the hammer
shooting things into a washing machine
when he was a child,
he would respect to hammer more.
He didn't do that.
Doesn't obviously
hates all the Captain of Mer.
because he's a fucking Canadian.
Fuck Captain America.
That treetorious bastard game.
Loves the Avengers,
but doesn't understand
how they can put a team like that together
considering the salary cut.
That's why he likes Civil War
because they added that young Spider-Man.
He's like, oh, I can relate to this.
A young player
that costs nothing has been added to the team.
We're doing this now.
Let's do the Penguins as the Avengers.
Oh, Jesus Christ.
Wait for the Q&A to ask that question.
It gets merely to miss.
Yeah, someone throw that out there.
I got some of the team.
the Sydney Crosby
like the beards of
Brent Burns and Joe Thornton.
By the way, I would everybody think about that photo
that came out today of Joe Thornton and Brent Burns
all nude
with a facing off nude.
Not a lot of positive feedback from the crowd on that one.
Come on.
Because they were looking at porn.
I saw a lot of people not really realizing
how live Joe Thornton was.
I figured everybody knew this is sort of like
under that equipment.
He's, it's a fucking, you know,
for those nesting dolls.
He's very small compared to what he wears on the ice.
So you like Joe's body better than Brent's?
Well, no, Brent's body is more like a suicide girl
with all those tattoos, so, you know.
I really got to check your browser history at some point.
No, I'm just kidding.
No, they have awesome beards.
Of course he hates them.
There's no way he doesn't hate them.
I think he likes them because he's, I don't know if you've noticed, but his playoff beard has gotten better over time.
It used to look like, come on, man.
It used to.
I mean, if you set the bar low enough on anything, it's better.
As a rookie, the bar was pubic hair.
And then the bar got raised slightly higher.
And he has some coverage now and maybe spray on.
I don't know.
But like, he's gotten better.
So I think it's something to aspire to.
And if we all know about Sid, it's, he likes to set goals for himself.
So there's the goal.
All right.
Anybody want to yell out a couple?
Because these were all planned.
We could probably do better off the fly.
Do you have anybody in what?
Because we're experts
on Sidney Crosby and what he likes and dislikes.
Does Sidney Crosby like?
No, he's a fucking asshole.
That was the
environment was the query.
Sidney Crosby like children.
Oh my God.
Yes.
Yes.
I think he did.
Yes.
In the same way that grew from despicable me
like having orphans
that he could then try to mold in shape
in his supervillains.
Like I could see Sid adopting a child
after a very thorough genetic test
and try to make that child into another Sidney Crosby.
Yes.
He is back.
So Connor Sheary's Robin.
Or is Jake Gensel Robin?
Connor Sheary is Nightwing and Jake Gensel.
And Ron Hainesie's Alfred because he's old.
No, Jim Rutherford's Alfred.
And Evgeny Malkin is Clayface.
all the Batman fans like that one
Is that a bad guy?
Jesus Christ
I don't know
Every day I came home from school
To watch Batman the animated series
And some people were playing sports
I didn't mean it like that
I just meant that you were associating
And getting him with a bad guy
Why don't you bring out our guest
It's time
Barry come on out
This is Harry
Round of applause for Barry Pitchesky from Deadspin
There he is
Barry
Barry you can use the mic thing
not use the mic thing.
Do not use the mic thing? You can do whatever you want.
I'm using the mic thing.
We wanted to have Barry on, as you all know from Deadspin.
Do you all know?
All right.
Whenever you go to Deadspin or read a hockey thing, it's that guy.
Every time.
Pretty much.
You do a lot of coverage of hockey in sort of a general sense, and I like that.
I wanted to ask you specifically about some things, and I wanted you to comment on them.
I mean, kind of started as a default.
thing I'd say because if I weren't writing,
no one would be writing about it on Deadspin.
Well, thank you for that.
Yeah.
Do you like Pierre McGuire?
I appreciate Pierre for what Pierre is.
You know what?
Drew McGarry, one of Deadspin writers,
started watching hockey this year because the cats are good.
Novelist, chopped contestant.
He is the biggest bandwagoner around.
And, you know, after reading some stuff,
he was kind of shocked to hear that hockey people don't like Pierre.
He assumed that Pierre was universally beloved among all.
And he asked me, like, why don't people like Pierre?
And I was kind of at a loss.
I'm like, he knows a lot about where they grew up.
Is that a bad thing?
No, knowing about it's not bad.
Talking about it every single time your mic is on is bad.
We're not trying to, like, intelligence shame when we...
Yeah, like, it's great that he knows where Sidney Crosby took a dump in eighth grade.
That's fine.
Just keep that to yourself.
He has access to a thesaurus.
Is this a bad thing?
Are we intelligent shaming our announcers at this point?
Well, the the thesaurus part's fine.
I don't realize he used big words.
Not big words, but he just can't say past.
Saucers.
Oh, Doc.
Oh, you're talking about Doc.
Oh, no.
I know you're on Embrick.
No, so here to put a bow on it.
I think I've said this before on the podcast.
Like, I don't dislike.
Pierre per se
because I like turtles
but
I think he'd be so
exponentially better inside the studio than he would be
between the glass like I feel like
because I feel like in the studio he has a
time limit on what he has to say
it's about specific things
it's not about just like whatever comes to
fucking mind during the play
like I feel like in the studio as an analyst
he'd be actually palatable
but then you wouldn't have
of those photos of him kind of pumping himself over the boar.
This is true.
A whale trying to roll back into the ocean.
Or awkward conversations of the players in which he talks about their breath or says
go out fun out there or all those things.
He doesn't have the requisite social skills to be on TV, I don't think.
It's just that.
He doesn't know how to talk to people.
I think he just talks to, like, junior hockey people all the time and doesn't know
how to, like, talk to, like, Phil Kessel.
I mean, if he, like, wears on you, the obvious answer is to, like, watch a little less
hockey, so it just doesn't get...
No, that's not an option.
That's not the option.
It really really is. You're not helping.
Wait, Barry, all right. You're deadspin. You guys do a lot of media stuff.
How would you fix hockey media if you could just wave a wand?
What would you change? What would you improve? What would you get rid of?
The Canadians.
I think there's this really pernicious thing where people who are super into hockey want to keep that exclusivity.
And they're kind of wary about inviting like casual fans or new fans in.
it's this the whole like please like my sport thing
but then when something happens where people might
you know start to like their sport they say
you haven't been watching since 1992
you don't get this you don't get the nuances
fighting has a role in the game
I don't know what you're talking about it's not as if half the hockey
was like fuck you Nashville for liking
your team and visiting
where were you three years ago
no I mean you're right it's the worst
I wrote about like the one thing that got the most
angry emails this year was writing about
Nashville, good hockey town.
And 99% of letters that came in were Canadians saying, like, you know, you don't know anything.
You haven't suffered.
Go watch college football.
You haven't suffered.
Like, you want your sport to be bigger, but you don't want other people to join it.
Like, how do you think this is going to happen?
You think people are going to be born fully formed, rooting for hockey in the right way,
and not wearing pink hats and putting their own names on the back of jersey?
He's like, it's not going to happen.
That's not go crazy here, Barry.
Putting your own name in the back of Jersey is fucking...
I...
Oh.
But, like, is that a media issue?
Does anybody have a jersey foul?
Like, do you own one?
What do you have, sir?
That's not a jersey foul.
He says the devil's gave him a jersey.
That's not a foul.
The devil's gave you that.
You have one, though, what is it?
Does someone else raise your hand?
Yeah, go ahead.
You have your last name?
Why did you decide to get it, sir?
There's nothing wrong with that.
It was a present.
It was a present?
Yeah.
Really?
Yeah.
Oh.
Why do that?
All right, it's free.
That makes sense.
You have one as well?
What's your, what's your?
3D logo on the flyers,
what does it say on the back?
If it said,
it said sugar man 69?
Fancing 67.
Is your biggest fear to get like one of those jersey files
and it's like, you know,
69 sugar tits on the back or whatever?
And then like somebody emails you and is like,
that's a Latvian name.
No, but like,
No, no, no, but you get, like, an email from the guy, and it's like, actually,
my grandmother's name was sugar tits.
And she died before she gave this to me.
She died at 69.
Or before, died after.
She died before.
But, like, you know what I mean?
Like, it has, like, a special sentiment to that person.
And then they're just like, fuck you wish and your jersey fouls.
Yeah.
No, that's.
Like, this guy wants to do it right now, but he's, he's...
My greatest fear.
There it is.
My greatest fear is that I put one up, and I found out it's my own dad.
That's my fear.
What did you, where was Jersey value had?
See you in hell 666, devil's jersey?
How many people in this room have been Jersey filed by wish and want to fight him tonight?
There's one.
Oh, shit.
How many people follow me on Twitter?
Does this place have a bouncer?
This place has a back door?
I mean, you can't buy an active player's jersey because the odds are real good that something's going to happen.
They're going to get caught carrying oxy across the border.
With a high cap hit, right?
Or, like, they're going to turn out to be a huge Donald Trump fan
and then make the Hall of Fame.
Like, these are dangers.
Someone has to be dead before you can get a jersey with their name on it.
This seems like a good, hard and fast rule.
I had a Claude Lemieux devil's jersey.
I had a Marty Bredor devil's jersey.
And I had a Scott Stevens' Christmas Tree Devils jersey.
And I felt like those were three, those were three safe choices.
But even the Claude Lemieux one got fucked up because he requested a trade the year after he won the Khan's Mice.
So you're right.
Like one for three
Two for three
I've got a Lundquist jersey
And I'm just waiting
For the other shoe to drop
Like
I god
I don't even want to think about
What you're saying
I got caught with
I think I think even
I think Henrik Lunkwist
Even if they eventually like
Trade him
Has Jeter status in the city
Like I feel like
Right
Like I feel like he's
Unimpeachable
I think even when he's like
45 and still playing
And he has a save percentage of like
600 they're like
This fucking blue line in front of Lungwist
Really needs to get better
He just refuses to leave and retire
And they're just like, we need to upgrade in front of Henrik
We're almost like negative two years into like
Ray Bork status where Rangers fans were just kind of rooting for him
To be free and actually win it somewhere
Yeah, no, I think you're right
I still think the window is there for the Rangers
So like they're not there quite yet
But I think they're going to be there
I'm trying to be charitable
They've already paid to get in
You don't have to lie to him out of air
Also you have to remember the context here
I'm a devil's fan, and I'm looking up.
I'm like, oh, look at the fucking Rangers up there.
Doing so well.
Yeah, you should get used to that, buddy.
They have, like, more than a line.
No, I think we're getting there, though, with Henrik.
Like, the idea of...
Listen, I don't think that a Stanley Cup should be the thing that validates one's career,
but at the same time, it kind of validates one's career to win one.
We're all, like, enlightened hockey writers who are like,
oh, this doesn't actually mean anything for a career.
and then the first time they get that ring,
they're like, oh, his legacy is secure.
Right.
We completely go meat-ed.
It's not that you can just shut people up.
Right.
Like, I don't want to hear about fucking Joe Thornton not having a-
I just want him to win a cup, just want to have to hear about it anymore.
Like, Ovetkin is the greatest example.
Like, Ovechkin, I was going to find him today with this Hall of Fame stuff.
Like, Ovechkin's going to be in the Hall of Fame.
And it's just going to be a matter of whether or not he goes into the Hall of Fame
with a cup ring or not.
And then if it's not, then every question on the conference call is going to be from,
here's Lance Hornby from the Toronto Sun.
Remember that time you lost in the second round?
No, no, no, no, the other time.
Oh, there's a lot of guys in this here hall that have a lot of rings.
You don't have one.
Are you feeling bad?
Are you feeling incomplete?
You know, Chris Coon is retired with nine rings.
Do you feel like he's nine times better than you?
Alex, people are calling you a poor man's Glenn Anderson.
How does that feel?
You guys were talking Hall of Fame before.
You missed out one name.
Jeremy Jacobs, the worst man in hockey, the reason for three lockouts at this point?
Yeah, yeah, Betman's hatchet man.
Yeah, Batman gets booed wherever he goes.
The reason there was no season.
The reason we've had lockouts is Jeremy Jacobs, who had more money than God,
but decided he wanted more money than Super God.
Neil Gaiman's Super God.
Yeah, he's the effort, those that don't know, he's the owner of the Boston Bruins.
He is a Batman's right-hand man in the labor negotiations.
He's also the reason why your popcorn costs $12 at games as the head of some concessionary company.
But he, yeah, he's a Hall of Famer now, and you're right.
He belongs to the ages now.
Right, exactly.
And he said on the conference call today, it's like, this was such a surprise.
I'm like, come the fuck on.
Like, you've made everybody in that session committee so much money by virtue of your hatchet jobs in these labor negotiations.
That was only a matter of time.
I'm glad the game can celebrate the true pioneer.
of $16
beers.
But you bring up
an interesting point,
which is that the inevitable thing
that we've come to discover
this year, I think,
is that we're going to have
another lockout.
It's going to involve the Olympics,
and that's going to be an issue.
Well, who's fighting for the Olympics?
The players.
I don't think they care nearly as much
as another percentage.
No, they care big time.
They care big time.
And the issue that you're going to have
is that they also care about
the escrow thing, which, I mean,
I don't want to lose the room,
so we're not going to talk about escrow.
But it's like,
a big issue. And like that, that Olympics thing is now on the table. It's one of the reasons why
they're not going is because now it's a negotiating ploy. And, um, and on top of that,
like, you're starting to see these contracts that are clearly designed to either pay these guys
some lockout protected money or in the case of the aforementioned T.J. Yoshi contract,
they signed him for eight years. That crosses the threshold next labor negotiation.
Are you telling me that Ted Leonis, who is like one of Betman's chosen few, doesn't fucking
know there's going to be compliance buyouts so you can make that problem disappear?
Like, that's clearly what's going to be the case now when you see these long-term contracts.
It's like there's going to be a way to make them disappear after three or four years,
which is, I think, exactly why the OSHA contract happened.
This is why I'll be okay with the Rangers Shattonkirk contract.
Right.
That's a very good point.
Right.
They're going to be able to make all this to go away.
Yeah, right.
But make a go away NHL approved versus make it go away where the Blackhawks are getting a fucking paddle right now for having the Hosa contract.
Baron Hosa, actually sick or not?
He's sick.
but it's just...
It can be both.
Yeah.
No, I'll split the difference being that I'm sitting in the middle right now.
He's totally sick, but he totally chose to retire this year because his money dropped
from $4 million based on.
Like he would have retired last year if he was making a million dollars last year.
It's kind of weird how he like suffered through it for $4 million.
And, you know, people are like, oh, my God, he's been through so much.
You know, he can't wear his equipment.
It's like an allergy.
He's got gunk all over him.
He's got gunk everywhere.
I got gunk all over me.
I make no money.
Christ, I'll do it for a million.
And I'm just like, yeah, yeah, it's really tough.
You know, he played extra games in an exhibition tournament last September with equipment on?
Like, that's how much it was hurting.
For his country, right.
For his country.
Oh, right.
For some shit, made-up country.
That looked like a Russian national, natural oil company logo.
I forgot about that.
That team that I predicted would be the U.S. and did.
I'm trying to, like.
You know when I go back to?
We talked about this in a lot.
I'm not trying to bemoan the thing.
thing is real, but like, it's, like, the fucking, the fucking contract was structured so he retired
this year. And lo and behold, he retired this year. And there's a bunch of Blackhawf,
Buckhawk fans are like, fuck you for thinking, like, it's preordained he's going to leave this
year. Like, I don't know why Blackhawks fans are getting angry because we're on their side.
Like, Hosa got his money. Like, the Blackhawks got what they wanted. The NFL, the NHL got
and it's not even a deal until the season start. It's not like they can just fill in the blanks
now. Right. With that money, so. Unless they trade it somewhere. But now the coyotes all of a
sudden think they're cute and have a team and shit.
And they're like, not going to be, you know,
the NHL's cum dumpster anymore.
We're not going to do that anymore.
And so I don't know where they're going to trade them.
You are a wordsmith.
Like, I've never been able to have.
Now, cum dumpster, is that a fancy stats term?
Like, come dumpster 60?
Like, what's their cum dumpster 60 last season?
Well, as you know, Dave.
I mean, I'm surprised you don't know this as a native of New Jersey.
That's actually a diner in Kearney.
Carney.
Carnie.
Come on.
Fuck off.
Listen, I am from central New Jersey, which many people say doesn't exist.
And, yeah, exactly.
Can I just tell you how depressed I was the other day when I was at a rest stop in South Jersey.
I was up driving up the turnpike.
And I went to the rest stop and I went in a little gift shop to buy, I don't know, whatever the fuck.
Porn.
Probably.
Yeah.
You know, gift shops at the rest stops.
They're all in paper bags
You know the deal.
It was probably trail mix.
They had T-shirts that said,
and I think I tweeted this out maybe they didn't.
They had T-shirts that said New Jersey
and they had a big picture of meat
and then it said,
Home to Pork Roll.
And I'm like, oh.
I'm like, this is such a major setback
in the battle for a team Taylor Ham
to have officially licensed
merchandise and the jury.
Jersey rest stops that say pork roll.
How many did you buy? How many did you buy?
I bought them all.
It's like when there's a bad
newspaper story about somebody and you buy all the copies
so no one can see them. I bought all the paper, the
pork roll ones. It made me very sad.
Where the fuck were we talking about? All right, cum dumpsters.
Come dumpsters.
No. You brought up cum dumpsters
and your mind went to pork roll?
It went to New Jersey.
Come dumpsters restop pork roll.
What do you do in your free time?
Are you playing $25,000 pyramid?
Come dumpsters.
Things we enjoy.
Pork roll.
Things that are too expensive.
Things I can't get enough of.
New Jersey rest stops.
When I rolled up in here, like, sweat pouring off me.
When I rolled up in here, like, sweat pouring off me.
You know, this is lovely.
I'm sure you're all totally happy.
I wondered, like, which fan base in here is probably the most humid,
just giving off the most humidity.
And I had to go with devil's.
fans.
We're a humid sort.
Do you have another argument to that?
No, no. I think you hit the name.
The Islanders don't have fans anymore.
They might be there if they did.
No, that Belmont Park Arena is going to be real.
Totally.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, that's, I, no, I, listen, I don't know what to make of the Islanders, to be
honest.
How many Islanders fans we have here tonight?
How did that happen?
I mean, they were born into it, so we could just move on.
I don't know what's going to happen.
I feel like, look, we have a lot of venues now in the New York metropolitan area.
Do we need another one at Belmont?
Yeah.
Do we do?
No.
What, for that other night of raw?
That's not at the fucking Coliseum or Nork or MSG or Brooklyn.
Weatherproofed racing would not be the worst idea.
Product's kind of old.
That's true.
That's true.
Quebec.
Yeah, I know.
No, I think they're going to be.
I've often said this.
I don't know if you know this, but to go back to our conversation about Gary Betman before,
Gary Betman grew up an Islander's fan, and I've always felt like they've had protected status
because he's an Islander's fan.
Back in 95 is a Devils fan where the Devils were threatening to move in Nashville,
and Deppman's reaction was, bye!
Why?
They let them sell to a con artist.
Right, yeah, exactly.
I feel like the Islanders are always going to be safe because of that.
If you're a Puck Soup listener, you know that Dave Lozo is one of the only people to have reported
that Garth Snow has a 10-year contract?
Arthur Staples actually did real reporting,
and I think he confirmed that it's...
He didn't confirm it was 10,
but it was lengthy,
and the actual number isn't known.
Right, so that's why he's basically locked in there.
He can't get fired because he has this, like,
Charles Wong gave him a lifetime contract,
and that's just baller.
I'm sorry, that's a baller to do that, too.
Oh, God, I would take that right now.
Yeah, somebody was about to fire me,
and they were like, like, change ownership,
and they said, you want 10 years of, yes, whatever it is.
Doesn't every coach get fired with ears still left?
on their deals? Why is he? Safe?
I would, man, I would just
put a hot tub in my office.
I just not care.
You have like the apartment and coming to America
with just the hot tub in there
and the screen TV.
In Queens. Yeah. Yeah, exactly.
Oh, wow. I know, right?
It all makes sense. Do you not have 10 years at Yahoo?
Oh, Barry.
Oh, wow.
That's why we brought Barry tonight.
Too soon?
That was a bit of a wooge bomb, Barry.
No, we don't have, no, 10 years.
We're not recording Greg Spinn.
I did write for Deadspin.
I wrote under Will Leach.
I wrote something called the NHL Closer.
J.E. Skeets from the Starters show on NBATV wrote there too.
It was a really fun time.
I mean, like I often tell people that, much like now this podcast, writing for people that were infinitely funnier than you were, really made you a better.
writer and like I would write shit
I write shitty articles every day and like the deadspin
commenters would be like exponentiallyally funner than I was
so it made me better. It was a pre
a pre-puck daddy gig and I really
enjoyed it so I can't complain.
I know yeah, it was a deadspin very sweet
you know before the Hulk
hold it out.
Are you going to watch that Netflix? Are you going to watch
that Netflix? There's a Netflix
documentary now about Hulk Hogan
bankrupting gawker. Are you going to watch
that or no? Part of me wants to watch
these two going back and forth at each other about
Their current workplaces.
How's Yahoo?
Barry, say something about VICE.
5.7 billion.
What's up?
That's not real.
It's so fake.
Part of me wants to see it.
Part of me lived it and has no urge to see
fucking Hulk Hogan's face.
Peter Teals.
Or Hulk Hogan's face fucking.
Do you think like when Hulk Hogan's having sex
and he's getting ready to come?
He's like,
right?
And then he drops the load.
Yeah.
Right.
He goes off the top, bro.
He drops the load.
Yeah.
Sorry for that.
Sorry.
It's terrible.
I just say what comes into the mind.
That's a problem.
I mean, you know.
No, we got sued on Friday again by Peter Thiel's lawyer.
Why?
You should look this up.
I should probably say anything about this before.
Well, hold on.
Let's just pause in this for a second.
What do you feel about the state of digital sports media here in 2012?
And we were talking actually talking backstage, side stage here.
Right there.
Behind a curtain.
You may have seen us.
That's the champagne.
We were talking about how everything, like Fox Sports made news today about firing their
like editorial stuff.
Layed off every writer.
They're just going to do video now.
Told them all the writers can apply for their to get jobs in video because video is the future.
Video is the biggest scam in online media.
Think about when you go online.
What video do you see?
It's autoplay video.
You immediately close out your window.
And then you scroll down if it's CBS,
another autoplay video pops up again.
Wait, so you're saying when you go to YouTube,
and there's like a 30-second ad,
and it says in five seconds you can click away?
You don't watch the full 30?
They click away.
They're not always hung up on.
I didn't realize you could do that.
Ad reads is this.
No, people want to fucking read,
but you can't get as much money on ads for text as you can for videos.
The way it's gone now is now, as you all have probably noticed,
that now it's videos of words on the videos,
so now you can watch the video and get the words too.
And that's great, except for, like,
what it's happened to me a few times at Yahoo,
and not to piss on my own cereal here,
but, like, I'll write a story,
and then they'll make a video of my story,
and then, like, they won't actually mention me in the video,
but I did all the work.
Like, those dudes in Nashville that ran up that huge bar tab
at the Predators game.
Like, I wrote a story about that and talked to the dudes
and everything, made a video about it,
and then they actually, like, mentioned,
where the information came from.
Greg, you're not shareable.
I'm not shareable, apparently.
I just want to say that I love what goes on at Vice,
and I'm happy with everything that I do.
Did we get that in the booth?
Do we get that?
Okay, we can continue.
Go ahead.
When you first told me that you were writing for Vice,
I got excited because I thought,
I know Vice from the HBO show.
I'm like, oh, this is amazing.
He's going to be sent to Afghanistan.
I'll never fucking have to see him again.
But you've never gone.
You keep coming back and doing it.
this shitty podcast.
Yeah.
Whenever I go over to the office in Brooklyn, I wear, like, the Bulletproof vest,
and you're like, you don't have to do that.
That's not required here.
It's just all coffee shops and delis.
What does it like to write hockey on ayahuasca?
That's the vice way.
I don't get that reference at all.
Because it's what vice does.
They're very extreme.
Yeah, very extreme.
It's what the teens like.
Yeah, exactly.
The millennials.
Do you have any millennials in here?
Woo.
Have you ever been in a group chat with Dave Loseau?
my DMs are still closed because of that.
Because the second I opened them up, it's like 40...
It's insane.
I don't know how they do it.
Who are these people?
It doesn't make any sense because it's like, they'll have like Ryan Reynolds, Robert Downey Jr.
Me.
Why am I in there?
So seriously, like, because when that teen thing first happened, the next four or five days,
because Edward Stoden was the thing that I made that a big deal.
What?
Like teens...
Can you tell it back for a second?
What was that?
Wait, you don't, you bust my chops about this?
Oh, that's right, because the Edwards one was part of that.
Yeah, right, yeah.
Edward Stoning came into the chats.
That made it a big deal.
So, like, once that story went viral, like, teens in France started screaming at me in French in my DMs,
then, like, Ireland, like, went all through Europe and I was like, I got to close this up.
It's just.
Ho-ha-ha-hong.
Yeah.
It's like, it's like all these French words, and it's like, de los-o.
Like, no, delete, delete.
You are lit a.
Yeah.
more amy
do you feel
sometimes that you're a man writing
I feel like
we've talked about it
I do feel I'm a man writing
I was gonna say
a man writing out of time
we've talked about in this podcast before
the march of technology
sometimes intimidates Dave and I
where you know all of a sudden
people are losing
glog and like they're using that
to fucking
once things arrive to Snapchat
I checked that
like I don't need to learn this
this is not me
like how many people
Ruby knows what you're doing
but
You may not need to learn it based on the financials of Snapchat.
You might not need to learn that at all.
Twitter was the last thing I was willing to learn.
I'm old.
I accept this.
And don't you regret every day that you learned it?
I mean, don't you love that pit of despair in your stomach every morning when you log on?
Yeah, I love waking up and then seeing all the Trump tweets and then seeing the same six jokes about the Trump tweets all day.
And then seeing all the idiots.
Although, we're not going political here, but I have to admit, I was telling Ruby before,
that my favorite thing on the web today was
have you seen the photos of Trump's wristwatch?
Find this.
It is clearly a man who fell in love with the watch many years ago
and then ate a lot of KFC.
And that watch is struggling.
That watch is, that watch wants to leave,
but it's being held against its will right now, I believe.
It's pretty great.
By that, I mean, it's disgusting.
Have you ever seen a tree sort of, like, grow around?
Of that?
I don't think he can take that watch off at this point.
It is basically a corset at this point, I believe, around his wrist.
I'm glad we got Barry up here to talk wrists and cum dumpsters and this is, this has been a really good interview.
His Deadspin memoir.
His Deadspin memoir.
What's your favorite?
Where do you think Deadspin is these days in the pantheon of stuff?
You think you're still kicking, kicking ass and taking names?
Yeah, I think our staff is bigger than it's ever.
been, which means we have
the actual bandwidth to send people
out on important stories. And rate long
form stuff? Yes, this is incredible.
This is not something that could have been done when I joined
and there were four people on staff
and I was pumping out 10 blogs a day.
And now I can, you know,
sit back and work and edit on
10,000 words and then get sued
by Holkogen's lawyer.
It's a new day.
Yeah. Certainly is, brother.
And
a year from now, I will be
sitting in a basement making videos for the web,
looking like a hostage video.
And all I ask is that I actually get my name mentioned in there.
That's all I care.
That's all I care about too.
Well, Barry, thank you for coming out tonight.
Thank you for having me.
Doing this nonsense.
Read Barry.
Hey, what's your Twitter handle, bud?
My Twitter handle is Barry.
Oh, yeah.
Just like some tech asshole who joined 10 years ago.
How did you swing that?
Did you like buy it from Obama?
Social media person swung something and I don't know.
Did you pay for it?
No, fuck no.
If I leave Twitter?
If you leave Deadspin, do you have to get Barry back?
No, it's mine. That's my name.
Yeah.
Thanks all.
See you, Barry.
That's one of my favorite things is I have my own name on Twitter.
So, like, if things ever went sideways with Yahoo,
it has for all my staff.
Nothing.
I'll keep it.
And I'll also always keep my avatar as Joel Hodgson from Mystery Science Year of 3000.
Because it's my favorite show.
And also, there's nothing greater in an argument about Ryan Reeves and having somebody like,
you're fucking bald and playing with your puppets or whatever.
That's my favorite show.
That's only half true, right, when you're home?
Yeah, I'm not bald yet.
All right.
Let's do the game show.
All right.
Wow, that's a pretty stout response for the game show.
You know, I do another podcast where the game show is not well received occasionally.
To be fair, we've been sitting here talking for an hour.
It's the time we brought some people up and had some more fun.
All right, so I want to do the Islanders first.
Brett Nicholas, you're here?
Come on up, Brett.
Peter, are you here?
Get her ass over here, bud.
All right, so the game show we're going to do today is.
a little piece of heaven called...
What happened?
What was funny?
Pete the retailer, folks.
Pete the retailer.
An actual
quasi-ce celebrity.
Pete the retailer from the Star Wars Minute.
You turn the audience against you immediately.
Yeah, I know.
Fucking...
Garth Snow jersey.
Jesus Christ.
Wait till you see how hot you're going to be up here in about five minutes.
That's incredible.
All right.
What are the backup goalie jerseys were you thinking about?
for you, but I'm in here.
All right, so tonight we're going to play
a game. Oh, here. Actually,
yeah, let's give you each a mic.
Tonight we're going to play a game that you
may know from other live podcasts that I've done
in the past. It's called the
roster game, but we're going to play
a street fighter, colon,
roster game, colon, tournament edition.
So we're going to actually have two
Islanders fans. Wait, what are they going to do?
Hold on, shut up.
It involves a corn. It involves. One of them
is going to be Blanca. Like a colon and a
Now, the deal is that they're going to, the roster game in case you don't know is a game in which I'm going to provide them a team from their team's history.
And they literally just have to name players from that team until one of them can't name another player from that roster.
We're going to begin with the guy on this.
And then we're going to have a Rangers round.
One guy is smiling and one guy is not.
And then we're going to have a super wamba.
championship smackdown
to determine who runs
hockey in New York.
And the winner gets something, right?
The winner gets a hat in my book.
And by the way, the hat's an oiler's hat.
Reebok sends it to me because they don't make shit
anymore and they're like, here I have
this hat now. I can trade that, right?
Yeah.
Because it's an oil or island or thing.
Get it? He's doing it.
All right. There you go.
I thought it was a good joke.
So I was telling it to you.
Pete, take this mic and you just grab that mic.
Yeah, I guess we're going to talk into it.
Yeah, there you go.
All right, so here's the way it's going to work.
Dave's going to fall down on a stool.
As usual.
So we're going to, here, hold this.
Can you hold it for me?
Well, we have a fucking stand.
I have writing to do.
All right.
Oh, that's a good noise.
All right, here we go.
So the deal is that we're going to pick a team.
and the team we've selected is the
2015-16 New York Islanders
the last
the last Islanders team to win a
playoff round
and so what we're looking for
from you two cats
is you're just going to name
players until one of you can't
and we'll begin
I flipped the coin backstage
I didn't
and Brett goes first
Any player you want
If you haven't heard of him, John DeVarra's
There you go
According to my sheet, that's correct
Can you double check that?
I did
Peter Retailer
It's 15, 16
It's not next year
He's still on the roster
That's fair
Yeah
The next round is the
18-19 Leafs
So save that answer for that round too
Pete the retailer
And any Islander
Um
Say Jean-Fransois Berubei
This motherfucker
He's like
He's like
What name is Star Wars character
Your hubris is going to lose you this game
I know it
It totally is
The rancor handler
Go ahead Brett
I'll take the easy ones
Franz Nielsen
I think that's a pretty good choice
Against Pete the Retailer, my friend
go ahead Pete oh wait 15 16 wait yeah so so bank that Mike bossy one we gotta be off the stage by 10 so just don't milk
I'm backing up a love because I thought it was left you're all right so 15 16 Caliposo was still there
that is correct rep Hamnick that is correct oh now we're getting into it Matt Martin that's correct
spouse of Sydney
Asiason or boyfriend?
Boyfriend.
Boyfriend.
Once in future guests, Sydney Assison.
Go ahead.
Sezicus.
Sezicus is correct.
Calcutterbuck.
That is also correct and also alphabetical,
which really makes you worried about Brett.
Coolman.
Nicolai Coolman is correct, yes?
Then I'll go Grabowski.
Grubowski, his life partner, correct.
Dehan.
Calvin Dahan is also correct.
Unpredicted in the expansion draft, but number one in our hearts.
Uh-huh.
Uh-oh.
No, I got on.
Three, Nick Leady.
Two.
We do need to clock at some point.
Nick Letty is correct.
Nick Letty is correct.
Boychuk.
Boy, Chuck is correct?
That is correct.
Oh, here we go.
Here we go.
Getting into it now.
Now we're talking.
Uh-huh.
Uh-huh.
Brock Nelson.
Brock Nelson is correct as well.
As soon as I find him on the sheet.
There he is.
Go ahead, Brett.
Ryan Strom.
Ryan Strom.
Former Islander.
Being talking about that, Beverly.
I don't give a shit.
Go ahead.
I can.
Is it me?
Yeah.
All right.
Anders Lee.
Andersley.
Yeah, sure.
Ooh, we said on the others, though.
But...
Can you sit in a sentence?
All right, Brett, go ahead.
Josh Bailey.
Josh Bailey is correct.
This is going to...
I like it.
All right.
I think you underestimated.
Mm-hmm.
Or over?
Clearly, you have underestimated chances.
That was for you, Pete.
I'm a moff twerking for you.
Halak.
Halak is correct.
And Alan Walsh smiles somewhere that you know.
Where's client?
Grice.
Thomas Greis is correct.
That?
Hitler v. Clinton is Hitler.
You can see it's all on my Instagram.
Go ahead, Pete.
I think we had Shane Prince still that year.
That is correct.
Shane Prince.
That's right.
The Prince of Shains.
Josh Bailey.
Alan Coyne
Josh Bailey was already
said now you were talking up life lines
and shit do you want to give them a
All right
I have a backup I didn't know
All right Brett well thank you for coming up here
Pete the retailer is a formidable foe
Pete who did we miss
Pete go to the green room for a second
because we need to get the Ranger fans up here
now I'm looking for
Chris Periglia
and then who was our other Ranger fan
Come on up bud
Jason. Jason. Jason, Jason, right.
Fucking shit.
All right. Jason. Thank you for coming out, bud.
Come on up here.
Chris, it was Chris, right?
Yes. Thank you, Chris for coming out.
Chris came up with her with beer. He's already my
prohibitive favorite.
I want to bet on Jason. Anybody got five bucks?
You know about five bucks?
Five bucks.
I got...
I only have five bucks.
All right. So for this one,
we obviously are not going to
trifle with any current ranger teams we're going to go all the way back to 1994 the team the team that broke the jinks and ruined
ruined the fucking chant that we all love so much what about players that you know like left the team mid-year when they changed half the team
anybody on the roster that year yeah i know i know what you're saying is it names in the cup no because my therapist that told me that never happened
And so we're just going to go with any player that played for the Rangers in 1994, 1994, 1994.
1994, 93-94.
All right, here we go.
We will start as we did last time on the right.
Go ahead, Chris.
Mike Richter.
Mike Richter is correct.
Congressman Mike Richter.
Mark Messier.
Mark.
Oh, Jesus Christ.
Let me find fucking Richter first.
All right.
Richter, Messier.
Go ahead, bud.
Adam Graves.
Adam Graves is correct.
Brian Leach.
Brian Leach, also correct.
Your Khan Smyth winner that year
for memory series, right?
All right.
Now I'm going to the best color man
of business.
Alexei Koval.
Alexei Koblo.
An enigma, because he's Russian.
There's another one for you.
My toe, my toe, my toe, my toe.
Fuck off.
Also, also correct, yeah.
Soon to be Hall of Famer,
Sergei Zubov.
Oh, all right, yeah, okay.
Plan of the crowd.
Glenn Anderson.
Also correct, yeah, Hall of Famer.
What kind of peripheral risen do you think?
He's not, he's tilting his head all the way around.
That's why I'm trying this game is on.
I got money on him.
What is he, fucking Linda Blair?
Go ahead.
All right, I've moved the mic back.
Go ahead.
Tony Amante.
Tony Amante is correct.
Mm-mm.
The,
I'll get my wallet.
Give me a second
Hang on
You're fine
Deep breath
Think of that year
Of the rain
Oh no
Did he trade him in year?
Doug Waite was traded earlier for
About year
Nah
I'm looking on the roster my friend
Oh whoa don't look at the roster
Holy shit
Oh wait I'm putting it on this out
No he's not on the official roster
From hockey reference
We can mean if anybody can get internet
You can check it out
but Doug Wade is not on this roster.
And he would have been between
Darren Turcott and Jay Wells.
You just gave away money.
No, but you won anyway, so it doesn't matter.
Congratulations, Chris.
Thank you, Jason.
Which means it's time
for the super mega street fighter,
colon, tournament edition, colon,
roster game championship between Pete the retailer
and Chris,
I'm going to say your last.
name wrong.
Pariglia?
Paraglia.
Shh, fuck.
Can we just do a
Hadduki?
And get up here, Pete.
So...
What do you say, Doug?
Wait.
Islanders versus Rangers
and the World Series of Love.
Oh.
Yeah, by the way, for those who are listening at home,
Lozo lost five bucks on that.
Oh, right.
And honestly, when you hear how tough this team
is going to be to name,
there's no way to know.
Use your penmanship skill,
because I'm going to use...
Whoa, shit.
We almost had a little mic malfunction here.
Apparently he thinks on Bruno Mars
and can just like bounce this shit.
All right.
So the championship round
is actually between the Islanders and the Rangers.
Who else could it be?
But a round of
2016-17,
New Jersey Devils roster.
Good luck.
Just want to...
I'll put it out there because I don't want anybody
to get tripped up on something cheap.
Patrick Eliosh, not on the roster,
even though he did Skis.
that one time.
We'll begin with Chris.
Adam Henrique.
That's correct.
You want to write these down so I don't...
Okay, fine.
Adam Henrique.
Taylor Hall is correct.
Peteri and Taylor, obviously not a member of the Edmonton media.
I forgot that Taylor Hall is on the other...
Okay, go ahead.
So we have Henrique and Hall so far.
Corey Schneider.
Corey Schneider is correct.
just give a guess.
I mean, anybody you think might have been a devil this past year.
Literally anybody that you think could have been a devil.
Maybe just an alternative name for the devil.
Just yell out a name.
You never know.
You just yell out like a Canadian name.
Just a Canadian.
Is it a Canadian?
Is it a Canadian?
Giblarga.
Ghiblargan, unfortunately, didn't get above H.L.
Utica.
So that means Chris is our big winner.
Inexplicably.
Taking down the clearly myopic Islander fan.
Oh, thank you so much.
By the way, listen to the Star Wars Minute.
They just completed Attack of the Clones.
No, I just shake your hand.
It's one of my favorite podcasts.
If you don't know what it is,
they listen to every, they do a podcast for every minute
of every Star Wars movie.
And it's great, I know, but it's great.
It sounds bad, but it's great.
Is that actually the way you...
Can I endorse it because I've listened to it?
Oh, please do.
And what else do you have to say for yourself, Chris?
So this is a very big moment for you, I imagine.
Or not.
Top five, for sure.
Top five?
I could have kept going on the devil's roster, if you wanted to find out.
He's fucking dancing on your grave right in front of you.
All right, how about this?
How many more do you think he could name?
Oh, give us an overrun there.
That's a really good question.
How many do you think you can do?
half? You guys are
betting with yourselves. I already lost five bucks.
Any wagering takes place out there.
It became like a cockfight.
The crowd has come alive with odds.
Am I little Jerry? Am I little Jerry right now?
That's a Seinfeld reference, but.
You're a few silly Jerry.
How many do you think you can name? Give me, give us a number.
I'll say you can name four more.
I can go ten.
This is like name that tune meets 8 Mile
Let's
Like
Someone
Someone asked if there were 10 NHL players in the devil's
A trick question
There's only two more
I mean
Again
As a strict constructionist
All right
Ten more beyond the ones we've already named
Because I want to put that
I don't want to
That's bullshit if you did that
There's no more prizes by the way
This is only about your prize
We'll buy you a beer.
We'll buy you a beer.
I've done way worse for free.
All right, we got Schlemko, Merrill.
Hang on.
You lost already.
Zero.
You got zero.
Dave.
Dave Schlemco, not a devil.
Last season.
Oh, that's fantastic.
I'm looking at Stephen Santini and Corey Schneider, and I'm not seeing a Schlem.
Lemko sandwich between them.
Sorry.
Go ahead.
Name nine more.
Get your prize back.
Parenthood, Kincade, Zajak.
Uh-huh.
Now I've lost all my friends.
Clemco.
I'll buy you a beer.
No, no, no.
That was better than a beer.
Well, congratulations to Chris for winning the actual game.
But then losing the hubristic other game.
He said Schlemko.
Travis Ajax's been a devil
for literally like a hundred years
And he was in fucking Dave Schlemko
Mike Camilleri literally sounds like every guy in Jersey
And he went with Dave Schlemko
Oh and he was so confident
He bluffed me
I thought he was in the name like six feet
Dave Schlemco
Yeah we got people coming in and after us here
We don't own the place
Yeah we have to be up by
10, I think.
What's next?
Oh, yeah.
So, free agency's coming up.
Where do you think Kevin Chattengirk's going to end up?
Do you think he's going to end up with the Rangers?
He's going to end up with the New York Islanders.
No, he's going to end up with the Rangers.
I actually think, like, the perfect place for him is Buffalo, to be honest with you.
I feel like you put that guy on that team.
They need a player of that ilk.
It puts him in the northeast where he wants to be.
I feel like that's a good spot.
But the one, sort of the wild card right now is the fact that Tampa might be interested in him.
Let me ask you this, because everyone knows Shattonkirk's going to the Rangers, right?
We're bracing your time to talk about that.
Who's the second best free agent on the market?
It might be Carl Alsner.
It's a very weak crop.
I mean, admittedly.
Yeah, it's unique.
That's the word.
I don't know.
There's nothing.
Jogger, journey.
I'm still, I've said it before in this podcast, man.
Oh, yeah.
Well, I'll get to call with Chuck in a second, but, like,
Olsner has become this guy where, like, listen, I agree that he's,
he's lost a step.
He's not the same guy he used to be.
Like, it was a really good lockdown defenseant, but, like,
he's become now, like, the cause de shit on for, like, analytics people as far as, like, his...
Is that French?
Yeah, it is French.
It's O de Toilette, cause the shit on.
Cause de chiton.
I think he's all right still.
Like, he's going to get killed because he's going to get killed because he's going to get
overpaid, but I think he's actually
all right. So in the right spot, like, if he
went to the Blackhawks
on like a short-term
deal, like he'd be fine there.
Like, he'd put him with Duncan Keith. He'd be fine there.
Duncan Keith's better than John Carlson.
Yeah.
You know what I mean? If you have to put him with Duncan Keith,
is it really worth paying all the money to get them?
You know what I mean? Like they have
Buc who's in decline. They got Connor Murphy
who may or may not be a real person.
I'm not going to lie to you guys.
I think he's real. I've seen his,
I've seen his cap-friendly page.
I saw his...
Have you seen Connor Murphy, like, he's a workout guy.
Have you seen these pictures of Connor Murphy?
The guy that Black Hawk's acquired?
He's got, like, an incredible bodybuilder's physique,
and it made me feel weird because the last guy I saw that stacked was Rick D. Pietro.
Have you guys seen the commercial around here where Rick D.P.H.
And Chris Cante are doing their radio show, and they're going over their injuries.
And Rick D.P.atro says he had eight concussions in that commercial.
That's a lot of fucking concussions.
Is that a real number?
Yeah.
Because he should be...
No, every time his groin would explode, he'd fall on the ice and hit his head.
I feel like he should be getting help if he had eight concussions in like six years.
It's a lot.
No, I think he's...
If you have eight concussions, the perfect place to end up is New York Sports Talk Radio.
There it is.
Oh, fuck you with fucking New York Sports Talk Radio protectionists.
Like, we all that didn't grow up listening to FAN and...
I love watching the room turn.
from Bayside.
But no, the guy who said Radulov is probably the right answer.
That's probably the second best guy available.
Well, he said Colvichuk.
Someone said Radulac.
Well, Radulov, I think, is still going to end up in Montreal.
But Colvichuk's an interesting one, only because, like, he's the next factor.
Like, no one really knows what you're going to end up with.
And if you end up with somebody who's just really good in the power play, that could be fine for some teams.
I find him be kind of a fascinating player, not only because, you know, I've seen the devils can get at least a one out of them, hopefully.
No.
But like, but it seems like teams.
The Panarin move was made because it's like, oh, he, you know, Colbuchar's Russian, he's Russian.
Like, Radulov's in Montreal.
Oh, well, he's a Russian.
Like, they're baiting the hook with Russians to try to get him there.
My favorite thing is whenever a guy is about to sign, and it's like Carl Hosner, it's like, oh, he might sign with, and they pick a team, whatever team.
That coach coached them for one season in junior in 1990.
Yeah.
So they have a connection.
Yeah.
Like, really?
What hockey really needs is more nepotism.
so it's great when they're all like, you know.
Get all the strums in the same team.
Let's get all the...
Duckin, Eddie.
Everybody knows that the coach's mother
was his power skating coach
back there in Colonna.
Shut the fuck. Oh, my.
Let's talk about horses.
Eddie, give me the super effect that at the trap.
Oh, okay. I like...
I like blistering slap shot in the fourth.
What a fucking hockey broadcast that is.
Eddie Olcheck managed to work a contract where he can cover hockey except when there's a stakes race.
I mean, that's amazing.
Imagine if my job was like, you have to write about hockey, except when there's the premiere of a Marvel movie.
And then you can go write about that instead.
That's a sweet-ass gig.
Are you kidding me?
I would take that job in a second.
That's a sweet-ass gig.
It is.
But the thing is, it's weird.
He doesn't leave, like, Game 42 in their regular season.
He leaves like conference final games.
To go do horse racing.
Sometimes the triple crowns
isn't even on the line anymore.
He's just there to be like,
bet on the three.
Thanks, Eddie.
This sport is just...
Nastrel in Pittsburgh think they have the horses.
And speaking of horses,
Eddie Olchuk.
Is that the Belmont Steaks?
Hampstead, Nail.
Crosby and Malkin are the exact
pick for the penguins.
Eddie, what's the exacta in the...
The aqueduct.
On Tuesday.
Pirates.
That's the only word that's good to say like that.
If Getty Malkin's thighs show me he's well-bred.
And speaking of bread, thoroughbreds.
Eddie?
Who do you like in the Preakness?
Waffle Bard.
Matt Murray, squatted down like Michael Vallier in 1992 behind the plate for the Pirates.
And meanwhile, like three goals get scored while this is going on.
Patrick Kane scores.
Much like the score of the Pirates game tonight, which is two to one through seven.
Happy birthday to A.HL.
Gourd Blaser.
I don't know how anybody watches hockey on TV.
Got to do one more.
And Yonik Weber got faked out of his jocks.
Speaking of jock, jockies.
John's small man riding animals.
Eddie?
Doc and Eddie?
I once rode a horse.
Just complete the trifectin,
do Chris Rousseau, so everyone goes on happy.
Dog, dog, who's your favorite?
I like, I like, I like,
Suevant's pride and a sixth.
All right.
Have we gone through all the...
You know who should race?
Oh, there it is.
You know who should race horses, bears?
Because all of the horses would get to about the quarter mile,
and then they would see the bears,
and the bears would grow at them, and they would be very mean.
And then the horses would go, I'm not racing anymore.
So the bears would then complete the race
and go around the circle and win the Belmont.
Who wins a fight?
Bears are pirates.
Oh my.
You know, this show's at 930.
All right.
We're going to have a Q&A segment now in the remaining time on this podcast.
Oh, we should say that this is the end of the actual podcast.
Yes, it's 930.
We need it.
For the people on the iTunes.
Yeah, suck it.
You don't get the whole show iTunes.
We decided.
We wanted to thank you for actually, like, paying money for this.
And so we decided we'll make the.
Q and a segment, like, exclusive to the room.
Yeah, we wanted to give you a microphone
to ask your questions. I don't know if that's pot.
You don't really need a microphone. Anyway, so... The rooms.
So iTunes listeners, thank you for listening to the live podcast.
If you want this...
If you want a live podcast to come to your town,
bang that monkey. Tell them
that you want the show. Call your local venue.
All right, real quick. What's he doing?
Oh, I was Jim Rohn. Oh, I was Jim Rohn.
You guys know about it.
We'll close the show proper. I'm Greg Wichenski,
the other sports pocket-day blog.
Buy my book.
that we just gave away as a prize.
Take your eye off the puck.
Actually, I'll have copies here.
If anybody wants to buy them, I'll like 20 bucks
and I'll just sign them, whatever.
If you want to spend more money tonight.
Yeah.
And, well, yeah, full day of free agency coverage on Yahoo on Saturday.
Because thanks to the NHL for putting shit on a Saturday in July,
no one wants to go to the beach.
It's the best run league in sports.
Yeah.
We all want to sit around and find out who's going to overrun.
repay Nick Benino.
That's the thing we want to do the most on a Saturday
of July. Joe Thornton to the penguins, right?
Thank you.
I remember I was literally at the pool
when Suter and Perise signed,
and I had to leave the pool to go blog about that.
I was on a train. I was on an NJ transit train.
I was unemployed at the time, so it was awesome.
I didn't give a shit what they were doing on July 4.
You looked at your phone and shrugged.
I was just like, oh, it sucks for everybody else.
All right, take goodbye to the podcast.
people, Dave. Goodbye podcast people.
We're now going to talk about you behind your...
Round of applause for the podcast people.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
