Puck Soup - Live from Dallas
Episode Date: June 22, 2018Greg and Dave are live from the Prophet Bar in Dallas with Stars defenseman Stephen Johns! We talk NHL Awards, Barry Trotz and the Islanders, Ilya Kovalchuk, drunken Notre Dame hijinks, the Mike Hoff...man trade, Sergei Zubov and the Hall of Fame, and Jamie Benn being down. Plus, two live game shows and much more!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Six and hits and goals and saves and slap shouts and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and dudes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hockey and Nansen.
Man, that song sucks, huh?
Should I take the mic out of the thing?
We were referencing before that this is.
how the guy from Stained always used to sing.
I've never heard of Stained. I'm too young.
It's ages.
Is that a 90s band man person? I've never heard of them before.
You have to do the intro.
The people have paid to who you do the intro.
And I'm Greg Wyszynski.
And you're in Poxone.
When you order with C geek, you order with confidence.
It feels good to be the one to say that once in a while.
Hey, hi Dallas. Thanks for coming out to the show.
Yes.
We're very, very happy to be here.
Thanks to everybody for buying all the tickets that you bought because we were able to move from a smaller room to a larger room.
I know some of you are on Twitter voicing concern about the number of people coming to the show and the comfortability of the room.
And once I got into Dallas and felt the moist heat of the sun,
On my body, I started to understand why you were so concerned about bodies being so close together in this fine state.
How do you people play hockey here in May and June? How do you do it?
Oh, yeah, that's right.
Hey, guys, Stephen Johns is upstairs, so maybe, like, be cool about the whole not playing hockey.
May and June thing.
All right, I dropped a beer already.
Shut up.
In fairness, I was trying to move the table from my own beer, so I didn't really care what happened to his beer.
You didn't drop a beer.
He dropped my beer.
When you order a beer at the profit bar, you order it with confidence.
All right.
My beer was more important.
So anyways, everybody watched the NHL Awards last night?
No.
No, they said with such a...
You missed the puppet guy.
Okay.
The two highlights of the awards, obviously, were the fact that there was...
I'm good.
Thanks, Tom.
Terry Fator, who is a renowned ventriloquist.
Define renown.
Renown, well, if Jeff Dunham and Peanut aren't available,
then Terry Fator will come to your child's party.
So he's like the R.C. Cola of ventriloquist.
If you're looking at your local supermarket,
you have Jeff Dunham and Peanut as Mountain Dew
and Terry Fator as Mountain Don't.
I don't know what the hell is.
So he was there with a puppet, and my biggest regret from the show, I was actually near the
red carpet was the fact that he was next to Mark Messier with a hand of a puppet's ass,
and there's Mark Messier, and then next to him is this guy like, Mur, look at me, I'm a
fucking puppet.
And I didn't get a picture.
What was he like?
And so I didn't get a picture.
That was my one regret.
But he was horrible on the show.
Wait, can I ask a question
The two guys that came out and said
Chelle 75 times?
Yeah.
Is that like the ground zero of the word chel?
Or were they making fun of the word chur?
No, that's the ground zero of the word chel.
Those are the off, on the bench, off the bench?
On the bench.
Because one guy's name was like Bob Bar-down,
if I'm correct, or something like that?
Like, get it, bar down.
That's a hockey scene.
I plead American in not understanding anything that he too.
But so the other horrific thing that happened
Iceland in case he missed it was that there was a magician and things started out well they did a
clever thing they had him make Gary Betman disappear yeah um unfortunately when he reappeared he wasn't
adam silver of the NBA he was actually a child um so then so then uh that was funny but then things
really went off the rails later in the show when he tried to do a card trick to reveal the winner of
the Selkie trophy and and instead of so the whole trick was like he was going to lay
the cards on the table to create
a mosaic picture of the
winner of the Selke trophy. And instead
it looked like someone spilled a jigsaw
puzzle on the floor. And
you saw what looked like Anj Kopatar's knee.
And you're like, oh, that looks like a king's jersey.
And so he knew who won. And then obviously, when Kopatar got up to get the award,
he snubbed him on the handshake because he's like,
fuck you. You didn't know. Did he do that?
I didn't notice he did that. The thing
I love was the card trick where
was Matt Barzell had to protect his janitor.
from a card.
Because when I think about award shows,
I want to see somebody
as uncomfortable as possible
protecting their genitals.
The good news, Matt,
is you're going to be involved in a skit.
The bad news, it's going to be Gambit
throwing explosive playing cards
at your genitals the entire time.
When I watch the Oscars,
I want to see Merrill Street
protecting her genitals
from a card trick guy
throwing his card as a weapon.
Like he's fucking,
who is the guy in the shitty magic movie?
The Franco brother?
Oh, do you mean like,
now you see me?
and the sequel, Now You See Me Too, instead of being Now You Don't.
Now You See Me.
I mean, for God's sakes, it was like, it was a layup.
I mean, you just call it now you don't.
I mean, that's the second part of the phrase.
But they went with Now You See Me Too.
And they didn't even make it T-O-O.
What the fuck?
Like, it was just, the simplest things.
Why does it have to be that?
It's not, look who's talking.
Look who's talking owns that, okay?
They own the two as the sequel gimmick.
Look who's talking also.
Get it.
But I feel like, you know, if you want to make your movie more endearing, you go to two, like Star Trek T-O-O.
Like, it would be just perfect.
You want to spend time with these people.
Speaking of bad ideas, what everybody think of the PHWA voting, how did you guys like seeing those?
So the professional...
Rodic Fox had got some love, right?
Like, he was...
He was on my Selky ballot.
So the three things that stood out from me were Dave Schultz, of the...
the Globe and Mail listed Taylor Hall as a center.
I mean, he was the center of the devil's surge to the playoffs.
Taylor Hall might have taken a face off once after all four other players in the ice were thrown out,
including a defenseman, maybe even the goalie.
So that was embarrassing.
No, but what I enjoyed about David Schultz was when he realized his mistake,
he was completely fucking petty about it when everybody pointed it out to him.
Oh, sorry.
I made a mistake with something so inconsequential as an, well, then don't fucking vote if it's not into
what are you doing? Like, let's say like that was my ballot and I had like Roberto Luongo
a defenseman and somebody was like, hey, moron.
Roberto Luongo plays goalie. I'd be like, ah, fuck, I was really drunk when I did my ballot.
I screwed up and that's on me. That's my bet. I wouldn't be like, I'm going to go live under an
underpass in Toronto and feel shame. Like, just own your mistakes. That's all. It's easy.
And then there was, of course, the moments when the people were trying to defend their peers by saying, well, you know what, you might all be really angry about the Hart Trophy voting, but think about those kids from humbled.
I'm just like, you know what?
We cover a damn kids game where they all skate around for 17 months trying to lift a giant silver thing.
Like, you could literally say that about every single thing that we do as professionals to them play that card.
But that card was played too.
And then the other thing was the person who put Vladimir Teresenko fifth for the Selki, I thought was pretty impressive.
Yeah.
They must have seen his back check.
Didn't somebody also put Jacob Slavin ahead of John Klingberg?
That was a thing too, right?
John Klingberg.
Are you cheering Jacob Slavin being ahead of John Klingberg?
Dallas people, you have found your enemies.
John Klingberg ended up, uh,
I think it was sixth in the voting behind Carlson and all those guys because, you know, one bad month.
He should have been top three?
Sure.
I mean, sure.
That's a guy of a Sabre's jersey.
So he knows nothing about what goes on with Aguze.
Ignore that.
It's fine.
Then there, of course, were the, what I thought would be the conclusion of the great Connor
McDavid Wars, but they rage on.
Apparently. So as you know, I didn't vote McDavid in my top five for the heart. It's how I defined value in the sense that if your team is 17 points out of the playoffs, your contributions aren't as important as other peoples were. Who was your top five? My top five were in maybe particular order. Your champion, Taylor Hall.
noted center Taylor Hall
then it was McKinnon
then it was
Copatar
Jeru and
Blake Wheeler was my fifth
Hey we got a Winnipeg person here
I was curious if we were going to get a cheer for Blake Wheeler
he did he was awesome man
and you talk to those Jets guys and they're a little like yeah what he did
this season was incredible
but so the thing
the thing that bothers me most
after having seen all the ballots is sort of like the pity votes that Connor McDavid got were like
he was fifth on like 30 ballots and it's just like if you're going to have him on the ballot you can't
have him fifth like he was if you're going to acknowledge that he's eligible to win the award like
he needs to be at least second or third right like putting him fifth is is sort of a waste of a thing
why do you hate Connor McDavid tell the people deep down that you interviewed him once
Did he, like, say something about Star Wars that made you mad?
That is so completely rude to claim...
He was like, Greg, the Last Jedi, was terrible, and I want to redo it.
I want to redo it.
It's so rude to claim that I hate Connor McDadegh, but when I hate the Oilers.
Now, listen, the people that want to remake The Last Jedi really upset me today.
Oh, no, we can't do this. We can't.
I don't know.
Did people, like, round of applause if you liked The Last Jedi?
Round of applause if you didn't like The Last Jedi.
And that friends is what art is.
It's divisive.
It challenges you.
It makes you think.
It's not some populism like the Force Awakens.
That's fucking candy for a child.
The Last Jedi is a piece of art.
This is my fault.
I apologize.
I should not have said Star Wars.
It's like walking into a gallery and being like,
that Picasso is not as I remembered it when I was eight.
I'm going to paint over it a kitten eating a cheeseburger.
because I fucking love kittens and I love cheeseburgers and that's what I want to see.
Now is a good time to go to the bar and get yourself something to drink.
Just come back in like an hour.
I did see, by the way, in the Star Wars front that they are pausing the Star Wars stories movies
because of the lack of success for Solo, which actually was pretty good.
So we're not going to get that Boba Fett movie you've been Jones and Forlozo.
Yeah, because I really needed a Han Solo origin story when in the first movie, Han Solo was like 26.
What was Han Solo like in high school?
I would only watch a Boba Fett movie if it started in the belly of the Sarlac,
and it's like record scratch.
You might be wondering how I ended up here.
Oh, my God.
The one thing that I really, like, there's all the PHWA votes that were kind of weird,
but who is the, we'll say six figures at least, right?
NHLGM, six figures?
I mean, as far as they make?
Perhaps seven figures?
I mean, it depends on the team.
So, like, all due respect to John Chaka,
I don't think he's making six figures
with the Arizona Coyotes.
John Chaka is getting like 80K a year
and it's all on Bitcoin.
We know that.
That's not works.
But who's the GM that was like Freddie Anderson?
Oh, yeah.
That's the best goalie in the NHL this year.
Freddie Anderson finished fourth in the design of voting.
The guy with the 2.87 goals against
and 918, say percentage.
He finished ahead of Flurry.
he finished ahead of John Gibson
and he finished like, but Brodsky
had like one, like, fifth place vote.
It was very odd. Like he's not even
Canadian. Usually I can be like, oh, well, he's
Canadian. His name, he's
from Ontario and once, you know,
was in Chico Resch's goalie camp when he was 12.
Oh, so that's why he's getting votes.
He's, what is he, Danish?
I just,
I just, everyone wants to say, you know,
never played the game people, they don't know the game.
Whatever general manager thinks
Freddie Anderson had the best season in the
NHL was a goaltender last year. Mark Bergevan, right? It was Mark Bergerna. It had to be.
So I forgot to mention before about the voting. I could really go for a beer right now.
I'm sorry, I knocked her over. The, so the voting for the All-Star teams postseason is where we ended up with Taylor Halls Center.
We also ended up with Claude Giroux getting votes for all three forward positions.
And the thing you got to know about this, by the way, is the reason why it's such a,
fucking disgrace is twofold. One, because everybody remembered Alex Ovechkin getting on the All-Star
team as a left wing and a right wing right here, which is how we got in this mess. And then the other
thing is, there's an email sent to all the voters that actually says, hey, everybody, please note
what Claude Drew's position is this year. And people still put up a wrong position. Oh, yeah,
they clarified for you in the email. They say, hey, dummy, this guy plays this position. There's still
some guy who's like,
eh, center.
Why not make him be a center?
What bothers me, too, about the PHWA
is there's, what, 320 people?
I don't want your garbage
Shinerbach.
Holy shit.
Do you know where you are?
Whatever.
You're in the jungle, baby.
Wait, wait, is Shinerbach?
A Dallas beer?
Tableloves are just insulted Shiner in Dallas.
I mean, I'm going to drink it, obviously.
It's like doing a live show in Manhattan
and being like,
fuck bagels
is Shinerbach really a local beer? I had no idea.
It's a Texas classic.
Well, what I meant to say was
Oh, how do you guys
feel about Shiner's Ruby Redbird? Are you fans of the grapefruit beer?
That's a no.
Let me tell you how much I love Adrian Belchray.
Yeah.
And
Dirk Novitsky.
Yeah.
And Sergei Zubov!
We'll get to that later.
So, I don't know.
Did someone bring me a Zubov jersey to wear?
Did you bring one?
All right. Listen, when we get around
to talking about that fucking nonsense,
bring me the jersey and I'll wear it for the great debate.
Oh, yeah, I wanted to rent.
So the PHWA has 320 voters, right?
Sure.
And they only use half of them.
Half of them.
They just pick 160 people at random.
Well, they rotate the votes through the...
Why?
It makes no sense.
Why would everybody in the PHWA not have a vote?
Imagine a country where they use some like electoral college system.
And your vote didn't matter.
Like, how stupid would that be?
Why would you do that?
Why would not every single vote count?
no matter where you are in the group of people that you're part of.
So for those, I'm just saying.
For those scoring at home, Lozo in the first 10 minutes of the show has bought up
and is insulted Shinerbach and bought up electoral politics.
So we're off to a flying start.
What color is this state?
Is this a red state?
It's a red state, right?
So I love guns.
No, they rotate the votes so different people can vote.
Why do I think everybody vote?
I don't know.
Here's the thing.
Oh, I know why everybody can't vote.
Why?
It's because it's in balance.
So like there's a fuck tonne more voters in the East than they're on the West.
So they have to like repress the Eastern voters to make sure that it's not completely East Coast.
So that's like saying if you had a heavy, heavily populated state in a country.
And you minimize the impact those people could have.
So you're saying like it based on where they live.
Interesting.
For example, like New York.
should have as many voters as votes that count, let's say, as, say, like, Iowa.
I just think one person, one vote, Greg.
So, I don't know if you saw the press release from the PHWA,
but there were a number of people that messed up their ballots,
and I regret to inform you, one of them was our dear friend Mike Haika here from Dallas.
Who, his ballot was...
Wait, is he here?
His ballot was discounted because he forgot to, in his words,
cut and paste the name of a goalie on.
his all-star team.
Like, where was he cutting it and pasting it from?
I don't know.
Last year's ballot, maybe, I don't know.
But there was one guy who
sent it his ballot too late, and
these all... Listen, I knew
that we're doing the transparency thing as far as the voting
this year, and I was fine with it. I didn't realize
they were going to call out people that fucked up their ballots.
Like, I really didn't.
It's like, it's like, here are the people
that voted Vladimir Terra Sinko for the Silky,
and here are the motherfuckers who
didn't even fill their shit out right but but it was 12 ballots right so like what if those 12
ballots all had Nathan McKinnon at first in the heart vote and no no Taylor Halls an excellent point
they were all hanging chads if you will now you got me into it what's the deal of the um so
now the reason I bring this up is that it internally the discussions in the PHWA were that if you
didn't fill out your ballot right you might not get a chance to vote next year so I hope they don't
do that to HICA because he's really really good
Oh.
But some of the other people that fucked up their ballots,
yeah,
is he really good?
Because apparently he messed up his ballot.
Yeah, but it was a cutting and pasting error, you know?
Sure.
He hit control Z when he meant to hit control C.
It's the keyboard's fault, really.
Right.
So Taylor Hall wins the heart.
That's great.
Heaven wins the Norris.
I know everybody here is pissed off about that.
John Klingberg people, right?
Yeah.
See, I know what a pan.
The thing out of the Norris that sucks now is that, like,
it seems like the people that are, like,
There's like the Drew Dowdy thing.
It's like there are people that are mentioned
the beginning of the season
as being predestined to win their first Norris
and then they end up winning it.
You know, no matter what happens in the season,
that guy ends up winning it.
Wait, are you saying that's Victor Headman?
I'm saying it was Victor Headman's turn
at the beginning of the season
and lo and behold.
The fact that you would compare
Victor Headman's season
into the one that Drew Dowdy had
is offensive to me, sir.
Let it be known that P. K.K. Suban was at top my ballot.
I mean, P.K. Suban or Victor Hadman
probably should have won it.
I mean, John Klingberg should have
should have won it.
Matt Barzel won the Calder,
and four people didn't put him first,
and one person put him third.
Didn't some ESPN person,
like, leave Clayton Keller off her ballot altogether?
Emily Capon left Clayton off her off off.
Oh, that's right.
From some other podcast
that I don't know about, apparently.
Copatar won the Selky,
Galant won the Coach of the Year,
which is great.
This was such a beautiful night last night because Taylor Hall winning was just a big middle finger to Edmonton.
And then Galant winning, I mean, was like the latest in a series of middle fingers towards Florida based on what happened with the expansion draft.
But like how can you have a coach of the year and a GM of the year?
Like, you can't have one without the other.
Or you can't have one and then have the other because if we all thought the team was bad before the year, Gerard Galant deserves all the credit for making the team good, right?
Right.
So the team that he put together, being George McPhee, how is that the best?
How did he do a better job than Kevin Chevaldea off, is my point?
Players play the game, Dave.
Oh, my goodness.
I don't know, that seemed like a real smart thing to say at that point.
Boy, you have turned against me?
We're not even 20 minutes in yet.
William Carlson won the Lady Bing.
Oh, the fucking Lady Bing.
Go ahead.
People?
You know how I feel about the Lady Bing.
Who gives a shit who's gentlemanly in the way?
the NHI. I don't. I don't even know how
we judge that. It's like penalty minutes.
But like, what if a guy has eight penalty minutes, but
like he walks around saying like horrible shit
the people out of ice, but no one's looking? I don't know. I'm not out there.
I always assume that it was if you're
playing on the ice is bad
and then you lay your jacket down
so that the lady can walk over
the puddle, then
you are going to be a lady being candidate.
This guy always opens the bench door.
He's so nice.
But,
but, but as dumb as it is, there's one rule.
be a gentleman.
Yeah.
And Connor, motherfucking McDavid,
got an abuse of officials penalty during the season
and finished fourth in the voting?
Yeah.
Yeah.
The word abuse is in the penalty that he got during the year.
People were like, oh, I can't vote for this guy
because he got a fighting major.
This guy got an abuse of officials penalty.
Yeah, but he only had like 12 penalty minutes total.
Just, just get rid of the old.
It's like he didn't crawl in a hole and cry for the entire
season playing at Edmonton, so he's obviously
a bit of a gentleman. Or maybe he was...
Also give him the Masterton. He's survived so much.
Maybe he was gentlemanly, maybe he was
like, oh, oh, sir, oh, hello, Mr. Don Quaharsky, oh,
right, sir, go fuck yourself.
Cheerio.
As every Karaski should, yeah.
And then all the hockey readers are like, you know, when he told
Garsky to fuck off, I did not hear a please.
Not Lady Bing quality.
Yeah, I hate, I've long said the lady
Bing is a horrible award. The Lady Bing should be voted on by the officials.
The GM of the Year award shouldn't exist.
It's fucking stupid. It takes like at least five years for people to really, like for example,
people who are judging Jim Nill now, for example, who knows how good this team will be in
15 to 20 years.
Is that Auntie, any Emmy contract expired yet or no?
Boo.
Yes, boo that contract. Yes, absolutely.
Thank you.
Stephen John's is here to know.
nights. Oh, he's, he's going to be down here in like two seconds, isn't he?
He's like, really big and strong. I just wanted to remind my co-host until he's just like,
and fuck Jason Spatzel. Here's what I love about the Dallas stars. For God's sakes.
I'm picking the stars to win the cup next year, actually.
Hey, buddy.
I really, like, as I start to formulate ideas on who's going to win the cup next year, like,
if Tavares doesn't go to San Jose,
And it sounds like with this, we'll talk about trots later, but like, it sounds like he's going to stay in New York.
Like, I feel like if San Jose does one more, like if they get Carlson, like they might be my pick, but also the-
John or Eric, which Carlson?
Eric, for like maybe like a year.
There's like 50 Carlson's now in the NHL and they're all awesome.
Well, they have Melker, so we can cross him off.
No, if it was like Eric Carlson and then like you add him to the sharks, like, I mean they're the sharks, so never be something will go wrong.
but like I feel like maybe that be, but the other thing to myself, but like the West is really, really competitive.
So in theory, because an expansion team went to the Stanley Cup final out of the conference.
I'm just like, oh my God, is it a Vegas fan heckling me?
Let me rephrase that.
The Central Division is really competitive.
Yeah.
That's fair.
So I feel like it would be like a team from the East.
And then it would, you know, you come back to like Boston maybe being the team.
team that you think about.
You know what? I was thinking about that
division. Which division? The Atlantic.
Okay. Because you have
Boston, Tampa, and Toronto, right?
And everyone's like, wow, Boston came out of nowhere
this year. 100 plus points, really good
team and all this stuff. Did you ever look at
the other five teams in that division?
It's Ottawa, Florida.
Who am I forgetting?
Carolina. No, Carolina's in the metro.
Yeah.
Exactly.
Making it into the playoffs
and the Atlantic is like beating the first
screen on Donkey Kong.
It's like, wow, you made it. That's amazing.
There's no jumping from metal platform
and metal platform. There's no going over
those little divots. You know, that's all it is.
That's a joke from 1983,
by the way. It's the case you were
wondering. It's just like Atari.
It's just like those
fireside chats.
Do you know when you're playing asteroids
and there's a big asteroid?
This reminds me of an episode
of I Love Lucy.
Do you remember when fire was discovered?
Boy, what a weird day
that was, right? Where it was like dark and cold,
but then it was warm and light.
All right, listen.
Let's probably bring out our guest. He's been back there
for way too long. Stephen Johns is a
defenseman for the Dallas Stars
and he's
here on this very podcast.
Listen to that ovation.
My God.
Do you guys know that he's originally from Western Pennsylvania?
Come on, really?
Of course they know.
How would they not know?
Stephen Johns is from a town called Wampum in Western PA.
Stephen, do you know who the other...
Richie Allen.
Yeah.
So there are four notable people listed on the Wampum Wikipedia page.
Is this a chirp?
Are you...
What?
Are you chirping?
No, I'm just saying, I was going to say you're one of them.
All right.
I mean, there's probably only 800 people that ever lived there.
But like, do you know the other three names along with you on the Wikipedia page for notable people?
All them athletes, by the way.
Is it the Hennon brothers?
Dick Allen and Hank Allen, and there's one more.
No, I don't.
Huh?
I don't know the other.
The other one, well, besides you, is Don Hennon, who was a basketball player and surgeon.
They won four state titles in a row.
Who?
The Wampum Indians back in the 50s.
In what?
In basketball?
That must have been where Dr. H played.
Don Hennon.
But you're on the notable people.
What was Wampum like growing up?
Besides a currency, I imagine.
Sorry.
It was right there.
I'm sorry.
There was Main Street, K Street, and Beaver Street, and that was it.
There's not, no gas stations.
No gas stations.
No red lights.
That's kind of like our core.
Are there bars?
A couple.
Horse and buggy still.
I imagine.
So when you were drunk, you would Uber like for like a horse and buggy?
Like, hey?
No, I don't know.
We actually don't even like, I got an Uber from,
I tried to get an Uber from Pittsburgh back home one time.
And I got an Uber and the guy just told me to get out.
So that's how far out.
out of the sticks I live.
But you're also, I imagine you spent
some time in Pittsburgh, yeah?
Yeah.
Do you, how do you feel about putting fries
on everything as they do in Pittsburgh?
It's the only way to eat.
Oh, man. I don't, I mean,
have you ever heard of, like, French fries
in a, in a bad way?
Yeah, like, they put it on salad in Pittsburgh. It's a little bit
much. Well, it's, you know,
you get that little extra salt.
Carb up.
It is.
You got to get your carbs in a salad somehow.
It is a glorious, starchy mess.
Do you ask for fries, like, here in Dallas?
You're like, let me get a salad.
I respect everything about Dallas.
Zing.
We were talking about the Central Division before.
Does it piss you off having to play there?
Because it's so fucking hard to win?
No, I think it's sweet.
I actually, I think that, you know, you want to be a part of the hardest division
because if you come out of it, it just means you're that much better of a team.
And you want those games every night when you go from Chicago to Minnesota to Winnipeg to Nashville.
And I mean, you're playing and playoff games every night.
And, you know, that's what's fun about the game of hockey.
And it's obviously it's tough, but that's just an excuse to use to, you know, if you fail.
Let me offer an alternative.
You spend a quarter of your season in Florida and get to play the Sabres.
Let's say there's just say there's other.
options. Sabers guy in the front road did not laugh at that joke at all. Not even a smile
just for the people who can't see him. You're getting Rasmus the lean tomorrow. Don't worry about it.
You'll be fine. It's one more step ahead on the long road back to the playoff bubble.
You were in Chicago before you came here. Oh, Rockford, yeah. Oh, Rockford or whatever. It's
all the same. What was Rockford like?
A bunch of hicks, someone says.
Hey, that H-word doesn't roll cool with me.
Yeah, that's a prejorative or something.
Because I am a hick, and I absolutely embrace it.
I'm a hig.
Did you miss the whole Western PA, Wampum part of the interview?
They call it Pencil Tucky, I believe.
Taunt me. I'm not going to do anything about it.
You can talk me on stage.
Don't taunt the really big show.
Who did you play with in Rockford that went on to the Hawks?
I live with, I actually roomed with Ryan Hartman, who is in Nashville now.
Play with Phil Dono's in Montreal.
A couple other guys are there, too.
I'm kind of on a brainfire right now.
That's fine.
Did Hartman ever try to punch you, or was it cool?
No, I mean, he's kind of a guy like Ruse.
He's a guy that you love to have on your team, but he hate to play.
play against. And I mean, he's one of my best friends. And I know it hurts a lot of people for me to say
that. But, you know, he's a guy that would be standing up in my wedding. But, you know, when he's on
the ice, I, you know, I don't want anybody harder than him. So, I mean, he knows that. And that's what,
you know, that's what makes this game fun. Yeah. What's hockey in Dallas like? Because you've,
you've come from Brockford, you come here. Is it, is it a place where you can go outside and live your
life? Or people are like, oh my God, that's Stephen Johns? No, it's not like that. I mean,
I think I had like a I had a cool like Tyler Sagan moment last year in Whole Foods where someone recognized me and I was kind of you know I did like a I did like a double take and I was like thanks man
they thought they thought you were Tyler Sagan no no no no because I was going to say you should play that up for all it's worth like yeah I'm Tyler Sagan I got I'm gonna have to I'm gonna have to dye the beard it's like oh my God Tyler Sagan's buying and
incredibly overpriced trail mix.
So you can live your life somewhat anonymously.
Is that good or would you rather be in Toronto
where people are counting the number of times
you visit a hot dog stand outside of your condominium?
I mean, you already explained my small town
in a great way, by the way.
So, you know, I like it this way.
I went to a school with a big name,
which I didn't really like.
You know, I kind of felt like there was a lot of a big
spotlight on that and uh you know i like it here i love it here you went to notre dame yeah i heard
did you go there with golden tate uh yeah i did i've all i've been told that there are many golden
tate things that you'd like to share with us on the podcast there's only one there's only one
golden tate i mean that's only one story i was there i think i was a freshman he was a senior so and
that was when he was kind of i mean we all knew he's going to the nfl and we uh you know we had
beer Olympics that day
in college, you know?
As one does at a Catholic school.
Wait, explain beer Olympics to the people.
Like, what are the events?
Uh, who.
There's, uh, you hear you.
There's, uh, there's about 14 events.
14.
Yeah.
Uh, you know, it's college, man.
It's, uh, so like,
I mean, what do you, I mean, you play drinking games all day and, you know,
if you win, you move, I mean, it's just a tournament.
Okay.
Can we get, uh, beer pong?
Yeah.
Tricicle race?
Flip cup?
I don't even know if you flip cup was there.
We had, uh, the, the worst one was, uh, ice cube tray races where you fill, fill, uh,
beer up an ice cube tray, and you have to drink out of it with a straw as fast you can.
Oh, God.
And, uh, go try and do it.
I guarantee you you throw up.
Yeah.
How do you win?
How do you win?
Is it like the first, the last person who's not passed out?
You have teams of four.
So like, all year you're like, you know, getting, you got your team, you got your squad ready for the beer Olympics.
and and you know it's it's just you know it's i mean everyone does it it's uh it's like johnny get the
trays we got to do train you know but you come in as a freshman and you hear all the seniors and
junior talk oh man just wait till beer olympics it's best day of the year did you win
uh runner up all right that's a silver that was that was my best finish runner up
said gold tates a senior and you're a freshman yes the beer beer olympics well yeah beer olympics you know
once it kind of died down it kind of you know more people would come over and we would just you know
just keep drinking and keep partying we're in college and uh we're up on the on our balcony and someone's
throwing a football around i see golden tape you know out in the crowd and i he throws me the football
and i'm out there i'm you know i'm three or four beers deep a couple couple trays yeah he gets into it he gets
into this three-point stance.
And I'm like, holy shit, is this guy
are we going to run a route right now?
And like, no shit.
Like, I, like, act like I was on the center.
And this guy, like, looks at me.
And I'm like, holy, well, here we go.
Like, 100 people were staring at me.
A little nervous.
And I put it right on the money.
Nice.
Put it right on the money.
That's my golden tape story.
It's not that cool.
It's a great moment.
It's one that I'll cherish.
Do you ever think that maybe you could be an NFL player or a Cleveland Brown?
What?
An NFL player or Cleveland Brown?
Cleveland has a, they have an NFL team?
See, I'm a huge Steelers fan.
We were discussing the Cleveland Browns in the greener room before,
and we were told that the Brown's success is cyclical,
to which I said
much like the equator is cyclical
Time is a flat circle
and it's the biggest fucking circle
in the history of sports
I almost lost my crease
I did lose my crease
For the benefit of those at home
Loza walked out with a
well a
crease on his foot
his foot
has been in the crease
the entire time
I figured that like
If I could ever do this in some place where people would not acknowledge the fact that my foot was in the crease, it would be Dallas.
So, Buffalo, what's up?
He's got no idea.
Yeah, he is.
Just his reaction, just based off the reaction.
He's like, Dominic, who?
Hasick?
I don't know who that is.
The Buffalo fan in the crowd has taken so many L's.
It's like he's owned by Terry Bugula.
Do you know how many times have you met your owner a lot?
Yeah, we have, uh, every once a year, well, it's my first two years. We had, uh, he always has the boys out for, uh, big dinner at his house out in Vancouver. So, and he, he comes on a lot of trips with us, too, so he's around.
Is he approachable? Or is he like, super rich?
That's kind of like, yeah, it's kind of like opposite. That's not, that doesn't, this doesn't even correlate.
Well, obviously, I mean, the one answer to your question is yes.
What's he going to do?
That's exactly the answer I was looking for.
And the second one, I mean, yeah, he's approachable.
I mean, the hockey world, I feel like everyone's approachable in the hockey world.
We're all, you know, kind of...
Blue collar?
No.
No.
Down to Earth?
Oh, yeah, for sure.
Okay, got that.
Yeah, blue car has a whole different definition for me.
Logo on the front, not the name on the back.
Absolutely.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah, I mean, he's around and, uh, I mean, obviously it's, it's cool to be around them.
Uh, we're thankful for him because, you know, obviously he pays us.
So it's, it's, it's, it's, I mean, yeah, he's a great guy. He's a great owner and, um,
you know, hopefully, uh, I can be here for a long time.
Yes.
Was, was that a gotcha question where he was going to be like, here's what I hate about my owner.
Like, what was he going to say?
What am I supposed to say?
Well, I just want to.
I wanted to, um, like, we originally thought we were going to get Jamie Ben.
Oh, sorry.
So, like, I, I had a couple of Jamie Ben questions. I was going to ask him, and he's not here.
Is it all right if I just, like, throw him?
So you're going to, you're going to ask the Jamie Ben questions anyway, but no Jamie Ben.
Well, I mean, like, no. No, no. Like, they're, like, general questions, but, like, I don't know.
Don't, don't, don't, don't do my jokes before I do my jokes.
Stephen, if you want to answer as Jamie Ben
Whatever you want to do
I don't know if you want to be that
No, they're just regular hockey questions
You people have your minds in the gutter
Stephen was nice enough to come out here and do this
I mean, come on, let's screw up here
And also like Lozo put in so much time in research
I worked hard on these questions
It's only natural that he would share them.
This is just a regular hockey question, ready?
Back in training camp, was this how you envision the season going down?
It's a reasonable question.
No? All right.
Yeah, it's, you know, it's what we set out to do.
Come on.
Was that like, was that a legitimate question?
Yeah, this is why, you know, the season went down in a way that I thought a lot of people weren't
expecting. So I just, you know, I just, no, the second question is better. It's a more thoughtful
question. The stars scored the third fewest goals in the third period last year. Is it possible the
team had like a fitness issue or a nutrition issue? Do you think too many players eat out during the
season? I don't, I don't want to be Jamie Ben anymore.
So, all right, you don't want me to ask about how Brad Marchand use his tongue in the postseason then?
I won't, then I won't ask, I want to ask, it's over, that's it.
That's all I got.
Well, I'm sorry, I just, I just had the questions all written already and I just, you know,
Greg, Greg does a lot of interview work and I didn't want to have him carry the whole, carry the load and I know when I'm licked, I'm going to stop.
The incredible restraint and I'd ask that time in the box joke.
It's pretty impressive. I don't get it.
Is this how I should sit?
Is this what?
Is this how I should sit?
Oh, yeah.
We got this way?
All right.
We didn't even talk about fashion.
So I'm wearing a black t-shirt that says blog boys.
It's from the ringer.
It's Kevin Durant line.
Lozo is wearing a fucking boat rock shirt, I would say?
Like, it's got yachts on it?
These are nachos.
These are a little triangle nachos.
Wait, those aren't sailboats?
No, they're nachos.
It's a Taco Bell shirt.
I legit thought that those were sailboats.
It's a podcast.
No one can see the shirt, so I can lie about what's on the shirt.
Oh, okay.
They're just white corn nachos.
I love nachos.
It is something.
It is definitely something.
Stephen Johns, you fancy yourself as a gamer, I've heard.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
What do you play?
PubG right now.
That got a reaction from the crowd.
What do you like about the game?
Is it the murder?
Yeah.
I mean, yeah.
Now, are you like all the Finns in the league?
Do you have guys in the league that you play with?
Or is it a separate group of friends?
Or are you anonymous and just murdering 10-year-olds?
Because they're, I mean, when I play Fortnite,
I know that the sniper attack that I just unleashed on somebody,
it's a fucking 11-year-old who is like taking a break
from their math homework, and I just murdered them.
It's satisfying.
It's actually, it's actually pretty, I have, I have, I have my group of gamers.
We're in a big group chat and, uh, we text each other when we're all getting on.
And I play with a couple guys around the league.
Alexiak was, you know, obviously one of my good friends here when we played here.
And we still, uh, we still, you know, game together.
We were both pretty, pretty big gamers.
So, uh, I don't know, I think it's, I think it's, uh, you know, just a way better thing than watching TV.
I would tend to agree with that.
He's a Fortnite guy.
He talks about Fortnite nonstop.
I talk about it, nonstop.
But you told me that your game is like Fortnite, but not as cheesy.
Just like, yeah.
Like, your game is for, like, people that are like, you run around and instead of an axe, you have a lollipop.
This is fucking stupid.
Did you ever reach out to any?
Because the Finns seem like the guys that, like, Linae and all them all play Call of Duty together.
They'll have their little.
But there's a story.
Did we tell that story on the podcast about Linae?
Who told that story?
About how Linae and his teammate were staying in New York in a hotel.
And they actually went out and bought a second television for the hotel room.
Do you have that story?
Dude, you don't even know.
Right.
True.
Yeah.
First of all, I bring my Xbox everywhere.
Of course.
On road trips, yeah?
What's that?
On road trips, you can just bring in it?
Absolutely.
Put on a backpack.
I don't know.
I just thought like maybe there's like rules about like, you know,
curfews and not playing video games but like oh i mean well you i mean we're on road trips we have so much
downtime it's you know a walking around cities kind of gets old and you know you you got a you got to be
rested for every game and um i just play video games yeah man did we ever tell the story the lini
story on the podcast lie lie and his teammate i want to say it was eelers were in new york in
manhattan staying in like the western or whatever they went out to like a best buy they bought a
second television for the hotel room so they could play call of duty together and then they just
fucking left it in the hotel room after they checked out it was just there like the next guy who
walked in is just like oh fuck a fucking television this is much better than the king james bible
being rich must be awesome in so many ways we never even think about like that for example
jesus have you ever brought off tv for a hotel room you ever just like say like hey we got to get like a
crazy game going in the hotel room? I would, I brought my own monitor. You bought your own monitor.
That's different though. That's fair. Is it? Sure. I mean, we didn't go and buy a TV.
I got chirped so hard. I used to have, I used to have the briefcase with the screen in it. You threw
your Xbox? Oh yeah. Wait, who is chirping? What? And listen, listen, listen, listen,
You had a briefcase to your Xbox that had a TV monitor inside of it? I'm not the only guy in the league.
Like, that sounds like, that sounds like a bomb that Tom Cruise would have to diffuse in a mission of
It was sweet because I you know
First road trip I'm bringing it on I'm all I'm all juiced up about having it
And I just throw it out on the plane and everyone's like whoa, what are you doing? I'm like
Gaming boys
And they oh I got I got I got you know they gave me pretty much every road trip they just give me shit
Yeah, they're just they're just like we want to do it too, but we're afraid to ask Stephen how we set it up
That's what it is man
There's no other explanation.
He gets talked to.
He's like, someone's like, what a waste of time they say as they're binging the fourth season of Sons of Anarchy on the plane.
Yeah, no, I went from watching seven seasons of a TV show in a week to just gaming.
They're back in their room like Googling how to play video games in my hotel room.
They're just embarrassed to ask you because they've been giving you shit for so long.
Don't want that.
Who's giving you the most shit?
Who is it, is it Jamie Ben?
No, no, I mean, it's, well, because all the young guys, you know, we grew up with,
video games and, I mean, so are the older guys, but our video games, when we were growing up,
were a little bit more advanced. They're a little bit more advanced. So, I mean, they just don't
understand it. We have a couple more questions. We have a couple more questions for you. Do you want
to talk, you want to talk about how it was like playing for Hitch? I mean, the guy's a legend.
I mean, he wasn't a little, everything that happened last year, you know, it was on us,
his players, wasn't on him. Was it, he can talk that guy. Did he talk? Did he talk?
when you were in the room,
was he short with you?
Or would he just fucking drone on
when he would talk to you guys?
I mean,
it's like any coach, you know.
It all depends on the situation.
If we needed a lashing, he would give us a lashing?
Are you, like, trying to make a joke out of this?
I'm not trying to say, like, if it's between periods.
Did he not talk to you or did he ramble on constantly?
I'm like, what is he?
Is he giving you like 20 seconds of go get him boys?
Or is he like, you know, I organized a prison team in 1983.
Because the laugh tells me all I need to know, Stephen Johns.
I wasn't laughing.
What did you learn?
What did you pick up in the year with Hitch that you didn't maybe know before or think about before?
I mean, personally, I worked with Rick Wilson a lot this year.
and just having Hitch there is, you know, Hitch has been through everything, and he's seen every situation.
He, you know, obviously none of us saw what was going to happen at the end of the year last year.
And, you know, I think it was the hardest on him because he was so excited to be back in Dallas
and to have another opportunity.
And I think he even said in an interview halfway through the season, like he had another wind.
And he was, you know, it just, it was, I think it was the hardest thing to see him go out that
way because of how much he cared about our team and our situation and how much he loves the
city of Dallas and I think through that I mean he the guy's a legend I mean look at just look at
his track record he you know it was it was it was uh that was the hardest two months of my life
for sure and and uh and that's that's that's collectively and it wasn't uh it wasn't I mean
nothing changed in the locker and we know we had a tight group and it just um we just couldn't find a way to win a
game and it just went on for weeks and they killed us.
Should we talk about happy stuff now?
How about this? How about this? Yeah. What's your favorite Steelers win over the Browns
in the last 10 years?
In the last, how many years?
Pick a time frame.
Is it weird? Is it weird being a Steelers fan in Cowboys Country?
No, no. Because, first of all, I wasn't alive whenever the whole rivalry was there.
Oh, he wasn't alive when the Cowboys were good. That's what he's telling you.
and he's right
I didn't say it like that
I mean
I mean
I mean
how am I going to dig myself
out of this
my first memory of the Cowboys
is Barry Switzer
I told them how much
you like Jerry World
they probably
that'll probably
That place is freaking crazy
See look at that
It's amazing
I walked in that
I didn't know what to expect
I'd pretty much just
expect to go see a big TV
but
Like when you walk in there
In our seats
We had seats
where you couldn't really
see the field
until you got up to the seats.
So we're walking up all these goddamn stairs and finally get up and it's like, you look out
and it's like, holy shit.
Like if you're going to go eight and eight, that's the building to go eight and eight.
Do you want to talk about your golf thing?
When you got coming up with the golf thing?
Yeah, I do a charity golf event every summer.
First, this is the fourth year of it.
The first three years, I've done it for different cancers.
Just unfortunately, every year.
year I've had someone close to me die from cancer, so I've just done it for that type of cancer.
And this year I'm going to do it for an organization that you guys might know I've worked
with them in Dallas a little bit, the 22 kill guys. So I'm going to do it for that in this summer.
Yeah, so it's, I mean, it's when I say charity, charity event, I mean, we do raise a lot of money,
but it's, I mean, it's just a party, which is, which is, I mean, that's, in my estimation,
that's the best kind of golf outing is, I mean, I just have, you know, 160 people there that, you know, just like to have fun and don't really care about how they play golf and then everyone just gets together for a really good day for a really good cause. And, you know, it's just, it's so much fun. And I share with all my closest friends and families. So, and we do it for a great cause. So here's your tea time and also your six pack and your ice trays.
Oh, it's. So, so. So. So.
frighteningly accurate.
What you're saying too is that you do
this for charity and it's for fun, but maybe
somebody might show up and take it too seriously
and be competitive and ruin it for you if they
come there, right? If they come there.
Like maybe like a Cleveland Browns fan who's standing on some stairs
and might be way too
aggressive about it. I got a text from Tommy
the other day. I'm coming for blood.
Tom, this is for charity.
The only charity you're going to get is when I let you live at the end of
this golf tournament.
Tom?
The trophy. It's all about the trophy.
A Cleveland Browns fan is telling you it's all about the trophy.
The trophy being Baker Mayfield in this sense.
I absolutely love Cleveland.
All right. So you are the, correct me from wrong, lozo, but Stephen's the second active player we've ever had on the podcast other than Connor McDavid.
Well, some other guy, never heard of him.
Funny story. This is a funny story.
Oh.
Funny story about this guy.
Wow. So we're, my girlfriend and I, we went to London and Paris about three weeks ago. And we're sitting, having dinner one night in Paris. And McDavid and his girlfriend walked by. Whoa. I literally felt like a fan girl. I was like, oh my God, it's McDavid.
my girlfriend was like well why don't you go say hi i was like he doesn't know who i am i'm not gonna go
say hi he doesn't know who i am so the whole dinner i'm like contemplating like do i go say hi this guy
like i'm seven years older than him he there's no way there's no way
did you do it no no i mean what do you want me to say hey connor i'm step hey connor i'm step
in a play for Dallas.
Do you know me?
Do you remember the...
Put yourself an issue.
Do you remember that fourth guy you turned style
back in November when you were in Dallas?
It's incredible.
Yeah.
Probably the last person I would expect to see...
This is actually eye-opening for me
because I figured everybody knew each other.
No, no.
I mean, I probably know, like, one guy on every team.
Just...
I would have loved to have seen a picture of, like,
you and your girlfriend, like, awkwardly hugging him, like,
holding his arms.
that should be like the thing every NHL player does is like hey Connor can I get a picture
and you just do the awkward hug on your arms like what the guys did in Nashville with the with the guys
for asking for signatures outside when they disguise themselves oh I don't know that you don't know that
no Nick Benino they did for Halloween a couple years ago yeah you got to look at it it's pretty funny
it's pretty funny all right Nick Benino who can't button a shirt by the way I don't know if you guys
of that. How do you button a dress shirt? Do you button it like Nick Benino from from the bottom up or do you go top down?
He goes, oh. He goes, he goes bottom up. I go, I go middle first. I set the tone early.
And then I just. But wait, but wait. But after you go middle, then do you go up or down?
It's, it's literally like, legitimately it's probably whatever button I see. And I just want a button.
Like, first of all, I never.
never button the top button unless I absolutely have to. Like, wow. Interesting. There's no reason to.
Man. Are you, are you less mad at Nick Medino now? Because of this? No, no. That makes more sense than
like putting your shirt on and starting here. That makes no sense. That's what he said. Oh,
he once had a whole Twitter fight about it with people. He was like, yeah, you're crazy if you go from like
the second button down. Like, how do you put your shirt on and like, line it up to go? I don't. It just folds.
and like, listen, listen, you set the tone early.
You button that middle one.
If you get it wrong, you get it wrong.
You start over again.
Well, we're just going one button at a time.
We're not getting too far ahead of ourselves.
We just want to focus on the first button.
And then, you know, we'll see what happens after that.
Folks, you come to this podcast for such life lessons.
Take that with you.
Spread the good word of Stephen John.
And next time you're button in a shirt, I guarantee you remember it.
All right.
Ladies gentlemen, the great Stephen Johns, the Dallas Star.
A standing ovation, sir.
Giving him a standing ovation after you call them a hick is not going to change how he feels about you, sir.
So now it's time for a little trivia.
Listen, listen, Surgis, you bought.
The jock left.
So Doctor Who is season eight?
I'm just saying.
Who wants to play a little this side or the other thing?
Who are the Patreon people that said they were going to do it?
Because I don't want to look it up right now and I'm too lazy.
Don't lie.
Who are you if we said you were going to do it?
Okay, come on up.
Wait, how many do we need?
We need two people.
Two people that want to play a trivia game.
Who are they?
Winner gets beer.
Get out of here, Cleveland.
Well, come on up then.
Bring, come up.
Yeah, if you said you were coming in, come in, come up.
All right, that's one.
I'm going to go on my phone.
All right, we have our two.
This is...
I want to CID.
I want this confirmed.
As you know, I tend to write many of the trivia games.
This is a Dave Lozo original.
So batten down the hatches, folks.
Let's see.
I'm looking for Brian and Rich.
Are you Brian or Rich?
Brian?
Ladies and gentlemen, Brian.
Hello, Brian.
Brian is resplendent in Toronto Maple Leafs gear.
What's that?
Wait.
Wait, is Rich here because this guy is not rich.
If your name happens to be rich, it doesn't count, though.
You have to be the rich from the...
Are you the rich?
Get your ass up here.
It was a good try, though.
Pick any chair you want.
Any chair you want.
Sit down.
Welcome.
What's your name?
Brian, good to meet you.
Man, he tried to steal your spot.
Welcome.
Rich, come have a seat.
Oh, do you have a...
Fuck, sorry, here.
Take this mic.
All right, so here's what you're going to need.
You're going to need these three pieces of paper.
Greg's also going to need these three pieces of paper.
Greg's going to be the van of white for this.
He's going to be the person who reveals game show Thursday.
Who is correct and who is not correct.
You want to just pay attention to the thing there?
Usually, like, we have a clever name for it, like tacos, chakos, or narcos.
But, like, there's no real clever name for this.
I'm going to mix it up.
I'm going to go crazy.
So here's the game, because we wanted to be local.
I'm going to give you guys a name, and you have to tell me if this name is a Dallas
Stars draft pick.
Yeah, this is local, baby.
A Dallas Cowboys draft pick.
Or a character from Walker, Texas Ranger.
Whoever gets the most, whoever gets the most right, I'll buy you a beer.
Or maybe even two if you dominate.
We'll see how good.
You go 10 for 10, you get two beers.
So here's the first name.
Oh, yeah, give these guys mics.
Where are the mics?
Did Stephen Johns take the mic home with them?
It's a well-organized podcast we have here.
Okay, here we go.
First name. Boomer Knight.
Boomer Knight. Who do you think it is? A cowboy pick, a star pick, or a Walker, Texas Ranger.
If you're not on the stage, you're not playing the game, sir.
What do we do? Just hold it up?
Just hold up your answer?
That is correct. Walker, Texas Ranger.
Boomer Knight was played by Hulk Hogan in 2001.
Hollywood Hulk Hogan?
or?
That's, uh, what's that question?
Hollywood Hokogen or?
Yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
All right.
All right.
All right.
Number two.
Nick Bootland.
Nick Bootland.
Nick Bootland was a Dallas Stars draft pick.
I'm starting to think I should have had a tiebreaker set up when these guys go 10 for 10.
All right.
Number three.
Stars pick, Cowboys pick, Walker, Texas Ranger character.
Austin Smith.
The correct answer is Dallas Star's draft pick.
Three, two.
He was a 2007-fifth round pick, and I never heard of him before,
so I'm sure he was terrible.
He played in Europe, just like me,
where I starred for the Swedish League team, Fleurgen version.
All right, here we go, number four,
Deke Powell.
Deke Powell.
The correct answer is Walker, Texas Ranger character,
and we're tied again.
Deke Powell was played by Dean Norris, the sex gift guy,
who also did other stuff, I guess, right?
Yeah, he also wasn't breaking bad, but he was the guy who wanted to find some sex gifts.
So now it's 3-3 here through four names.
Number five, Al Cleveland.
Owl Cleveland.
Wow, you guys were both correct.
It was Dallas Cowboys pick.
Yeah, I forgot.
I just want to do it for the people here.
You can everyone else at home.
You should have come here.
You guys lives out.
So we're 4-4 through 5 picks.
Cody Conway.
Cody Conway.
Wow, you're both wrong.
Cody Conway was a Walker, Texas Ranger character played by.
Is anyone who played Cody Conway?
Oh, you people call yourselves Texans.
Rowdy, Roddy, Routy Piper.
He was a good actor.
I don't want to say anything bad about Roddy Piper.
Rest in peace.
B.J. Ronson.
B.J. Ronson.
B.J. Ronson. B.J. Ronson.
B.J. Ronson
was a Walker, Texas, Ranger, character.
And you know who played him?
Frank Stallone.
I've never seen a single episode,
but it seems like a great show
now that I went through all these people.
So what are? We were tied 4-4 here,
and we have three more, three more.
I forget which ones I did.
working this off as I go.
Justin Cox.
Justin Cox.
C-O-X
Justin Cox.
Dallas Stars' draft pick.
The lead.
So now it's 5-4.
Can we pause on the fact that he had to spell
Cox?
Just so you guys know, it's not, you know,
Cock. It could have been C-O-C-H-S.
It's the traditional spelling of Cox,
not like many cock.
So what do we have?
We have two more left here.
Two more.
Thank you for that.
That was good to clarify that.
So if you get this right, you get this wrong.
It's over.
You win.
You can clinch it right here.
Larry Savage.
Larry Savage.
Larry Savage.
It could be pronounced Savage.
I have no idea.
Folks, we are tied.
Dallas Cowboys draft pick.
Eighth round, 1977.
Oh, no, no, seventh round, 1980.
Yeah, there's one left.
I think I know which one it was.
I'll say it, and if I said it already, just tell me I said it already.
Oh, yeah.
Here we go.
Marco Rosa.
Marco Rosa.
Don't look over at him and try and play for the tie.
Come on.
We're tied.
He was a Dallas Stars draft pick.
So I really wanted to count up how many Dallas Stars draft picks there were since, like, 2001,
and have that beauty over under the tiebreaker.
All right, I'm thinking of a number between 1 and 10.
Four.
Eight.
Seven is the correct answer.
Both of these guys get a beer.
They both did really well.
Do you want to...
Do you want a copy...
Do you want a copy of my book or a Stanley Cup t-shirt?
You won't offend me if you say the T-shirt.
Or do you just want beer?
Then you want the T-shirt.
Because you already have my book for the fucking...
you know, just to let you guys know. He didn't reject the book. He wanted, okay.
I own your book as well, so.
That's great. I'm happy everybody has the book.
Thank you, gentlemen. Round of applause for these guys.
Free beers for those gentlemen.
Or the other thing. Or what did you call the game? What was the name of the game?
Something, whatever, and some other thing. It doesn't really matter.
That's one of two game shows we're going to play tonight. By the way, I don't think we mentioned
about what's happening here.
So after we get done with the show proper, there's going to be a Q&A just for the room.
Also, we've come to find out a fact about this room, which is that we have it until 2 a.m.
Eight hour podcast.
Finally, I can give you my feelings on season seven of Friends.
So if you were like, hey, why don't they ever ask multi-part questions at these Q&As?
Now is your chance.
The last Jedi.
I don't really understand why you
This is going to be for
I don't care, whatever, we're here forever
You can do whatever we want
We'll get there
25 minutes into their question
And then at the end, all the bank robbers
They stand in front of a fountain.
Now, what do you think of my script?
That was a joke about how whenever I went to Kevin,
I used to, I've been to a couple Kevin Smith
Q&A's, and I mean,
his stand-up evening with Kevin Smith shit
some of the greatest, like, entertainment that you can find.
If you've not seen, I don't know why anybody who's room hasn't seen it,
but if you've not seen the soliloquy he had about being hired to write a Superman movie
and John Peter is telling him that he has to have a giant spider
and also polar bears guarding the fortress of solitude, which Kevin Smith said,
but it's the fortress of solitude.
Why are there be polar bears guarding it?
It's really one of the funniest fucking things you'll receive.
But my point was that when he would do Q&A's,
There would inevitably, like there would be three good questions, probably about Marats.
And then there would be like one question where it's like, just want to say you're an inspiration, you know, what you've done for all of us.
It's so fantastic.
I have a script idea.
And then you just hear the crowd go, oh, no.
And Kevin, to his credit, would fucking humor it.
But boy, was it painful.
But if you have script ideas tonight, we're here in Phil fucking two.
So if you have script ideas, feel free to throw them out there.
All right.
I know you guys want to talk about Zubov, but we have to talk about a couple of things.
real quick before that.
Barry Trots got hired by the
Islanders. Yeah.
And it became quite
apparent that I see
a Capitol's shirt.
She's very sad.
She's very sad. Be very sad.
Yeah, you're very sad. I know, right?
Jesus.
Yeah.
That's fair. That's fair.
I accept that. I deserve that.
We're sorry. You're very
sad, said all the people in the
audience now on their almost 20th year without a cup.
So anyways, like the capitals really were going to hold them to that bullshit extension.
Like he kind of said on his conference call today that the, you know, that the whole bit of
it was if they won the cup based on the contract he signed in 2014, there was a two-year
extension that paid him roughly $300,000 more than what he was making.
And this was in 2014, before Babcock signed, before Quinville's
signed before called Julian sign. And they were going to really hold them to that extension. And he's
just kind of like, no. But I mean, them doing that basically is them saying, we don't want to
give you $5 million a year for five years. We want Todd Reardon to take over the team.
Yeah, but really? Todd Reardon's here tonight, folks. Todd Reardon. Tell us about Brooks Warpick.
Fan of the podcast. But don't you feel like that they decided this a year ago and they didn't
really adjust based on what happened in the last like year? Because, like, I understand, like,
we were all the same way. We were like the caps can't win the big game.
They can't get past the Penguins.
Barry Tross is a great regular season coach, blah, blah, blah.
But now you see what he's done.
And he's four straight years now.
He's the best coach in the league the last four years.
He's won the cup.
Why not pay him?
Do we have any Bruins fans in the audience tonight?
Probably not.
Oh, yeah?
Oh, okay.
Wow, a lot of Bruins fans here tonight.
Wow.
That was unexpected.
This poor gentleman in the star shirt
is just getting absolutely destroyed by Stephen Johns
and the Boston Ruins fans sitting next to him tonight.
Good for you.
There's a very famous bit of scuttlebutt and innuendo around the Bruins when they won their cup,
where basically Cam Neely was going to fire Claude Julian.
And then at one point, basically, you know, after they won the cup,
Claude Julian just basically walked into his office and said, you know, fuck you.
Like, I won the cup.
Go ahead and fire me now.
And they couldn't.
And so I thought this, I didn't think the same thing.
I can't picture Barry Trots walking into fucking, like, you know, Ted Leonce's his castle and being like, fuck you, Ted
Castle.
But I kind of agree with you.
Like, I feel like the die was cast earlier this year.
And they clearly didn't want Reardon to interview with anybody else.
Yeah, Trots didn't feel loved.
Now he's like, fuck you.
I won the cup.
He can't have me.
Yeah, I did it.
I think there was room to bring him back for like three years.
It may be like 12.
Okay, well, I don't know why I said that because the capital's never paid their coaches any money.
So, like, you know, he had earned enough money where they weren't going to pay him the formula he wanted.
But, like, the islanders are cheap because the islanders have no money.
Like, I get the islander side of it.
But, like, the caps, Ted Leonis is swimming around.
He's like Scrooge McDuck.
He's just, like, he's in the vault.
He's backstroking through gold coins.
Like, why can he throw some gold coins at his Stanley Cup winning coach?
I just think that they've always, like, as I've said before, like, you know, from 98 to Barry Trots, they never paid a coach any money.
They hired a bunch of coaches that never had any initial experience.
But, like, why would you pay the coaches that don't do something?
shit. Like the coach that does do something, right?
Right? Can I get some support over here? Barry Trotz did stuff.
Yeah?
Two president's trophies. A Stanley Cup?
I mean...
I was going to say, like, devil's advocate. He made it past the fucking second round once.
Now, granted, things went really good after that.
But that one time was pretty good, though, wasn't it?
But this ain't like Joel Quenville over here, you know, winning multiple cups for anything.
Well, if Barry Tross was coaching a team that had...
Taves, Kane on bargain deals, Brent Seabrook and Duncan Keith on bargain deals, and Marion Hosa on a cap store convention deal.
Stephen John's down in Rockford.
I mean, Stephen John's in Rockford was just invaluable to those teams, right?
Is he still here?
He left, right?
Yeah.
But still, like, Stephen Johns was, he was the support system that, you know, that Barry Tross never had.
Brent Seabrook was looking over his shoulder and he was like, uh-oh, I better watch it.
Oh, that's right.
I'm signed for fucking ever.
I don't have to worry about anything.
They can't trade me either.
Like, is Joel Quenville going to win another cup with the Blackhawks?
No.
Right.
Yeah.
Yeah.
But Barry Trots, I mean, the cap's probably caught lightning in a bottle this year,
and they're probably not going to do it again.
But it's just weird to be like, well, we liked Todd Reardon 12 months ago.
We may as well stick with Todd Reardon.
He's a better coach than the...
When was the last time the honors had a coach that good?
What was it?
Lobuette.
Yeah.
I mean, they went from being a guy who looked like an extra on the Sopranos to Doug Waite.
And now they went to Barry Trots.
How dare you call him an extra?
He was a hitman, man.
Jack Cabuano had, he had hitman qualities.
Yeah, exactly.
He had stains on his shirt.
He was the guy who was, like, eating a giant fucking sub sandwich,
and he gets that dressing on his shirt.
You can never get the dressing out.
It's just oil, and it's just terrible.
Oh, yeah.
Joel Quentville never had crumbs in his mustache.
What are we talking about here?
Come on.
They're like, buddy, you got to go talk to the media.
He's like, oh, shit, you know.
Let me see if I can put my fucking top.
it would a stain.
But the thing with Barry Trotz is,
okay, he's a really good coach,
he's better than Doug Wade,
he's better than Jack Capuano.
Let's say you're John Tavaris.
Leave.
Right, right, leave.
Like, how does having an 80-year-old GM
and a new coach who just showed up
like two minutes ago suddenly make you go,
I'm not going to test free agency?
How?
He's the best free agent to go to market in years.
Did some Dallas fans say come here to Tavares?
Right.
Dude, it's like super hot down here.
I don't know if you guys know that.
Didn't watch him go to Vegas.
No.
I just don't understand hockey players who, like, Artemi Panarin, right?
Like, he's not going to be a UFA for a full year.
And, like, Columbus is like, resign now.
And he's like, I don't know.
They're like, well, fuck off.
You're trading you.
Like, why is that a thing in hockey?
This doesn't happen.
No one tells LeBron, like, you got to sign right now or you're gone.
And he's like, fuck you.
And you're like, oh.
Okay. I'm sorry. We were only kidding. You can stay for one more year.
You guys know you're Cleveland, right?
I can't want this podcast. It's dragging Cleveland on stuff.
I don't know what's that about.
Lake Erie Monsters.
So, oh, so Mike Hoffman was traded twice.
And Pierre Dorian, the GM of the senators.
Is a fucking idiot. That's correct.
Couldn't get a second round pick for him.
but Doug Wilson, the GM of the Sharks, could get a second round pick for him.
And also he was traded within his own division technically, which was another fuck-up.
Yeah, and then they got, did he get Michael, Michael, Bocker?
Michael. Not Mike Botaker, the Orioles pitcher.
Mikel Bodker.
So one of the things that's been happening a lot lately on the social media's is
people, people read about, people heard Don Cherry.
words about Mike Hoffman
and they're like, you know what?
He's, grapes is right.
Innocent until proven guilty.
And I'm like,
their team just broke a fucking
land speed record to trade this guy.
Like, I'm not
saying there's smoke, but
there's some fucking smoke there as far as
what went down. Yeah, like if
from everything, as a lawyer,
I can speak to this.
Like,
I know Canadian law very well. And for the
Carlson is to do what they did to take out the order of protection, whatever it's called in Canada.
Or they sought it, they sought it out or whatever, yeah.
Like clearly there was enough evidence for the law, as I like to call it, to say yes, we will give you this order of protection
because there probably was enough evidence to show that she was saying.
I know, I know we've mentioned, I think we mentioned it last week, but again, the greatest thing about this scandal is the fact that the first story that they wrote in the Ottawa citizen about it had a picture of my, Mike Hoffman's fiancee as the villainous of a lifetime movie.
movie and then they do an interview with the
citizen that tell their side of the story and the photo is
them in the fucking forest holding puppies
it is the greatest. And the best part too is
like all the quotes were from Mike Hoffman. Like
I don't care what Mike Hoffman says. Oh no no that's not
true. There was the quote from his fiance
pretending she didn't know Daniel Winnic was in the league.
Oh my God. Like nothing
convinced me more that she did it than that. She was like
some guy named Daniel Weinick. I don't know who he is.
Apparently he plays hockey. I mean
they keep telling me there is the fourth line.
I don't even think there is a fourth line
on these teams, okay?
So that happens. He got traded
and Ottawa was a tire fire.
Are there any Ottawa fans here? No, right?
Oh, right.
Wait, what's on the back of your jersey?
Boom, he's brave.
Oh, shit. He's wearing a Ron tugged that jersey.
Aude boy.
That's good work.
Say what you will about the Ottawa franchise.
but they've had some names, man.
Ron Tugnutt, Ratic Bunk.
Radic Bunk.
Hold on. Hold on.
Was Chichua?
Yeah, he was a senator.
Matt Dushin is pretty good.
Oh, who's the fucking guy I'm thinking of?
That's a pretty good.
Craig Hannityson.
Zach Smith.
No, fuck, there's some other crazy
great name I can't draw.
Peter Sodorikovic?
No, no.
Yeah, Sodorikovitch was a really good one, too.
Hey, Sodorkevitz.
That sounds like a...
It'll come to me.
Probably not.
Where do you think
Elya Kovych's going to end up
as we do this show
before the draft weekend?
Dallas.
No, not Dallas.
I saw a report like Los Angeles
was in on him, but...
Yeah.
I don't think that's...
I mean...
I think he ends up...
Vancouver.
I think he ends up in San Jose
because DeBore is there.
and yeah but I mean they just signed
Cain so it doesn't make any sense but I think it'll end up there
how much how much space do they have how much how much space did they got the space
could they got they got Tavares space so they have enough for Colbuchar
but do they have enough for both as like a package deal no probably not then I could see it
otherwise like he should go to Vegas go to Vegas go to Vegas man Vegas has room he can be
the he can be a top line guy there bump marshes they have a knight who can cut a jet in
half. I don't know if you remember that.
For his first game, he'll cut the devil's contract in half so he can play for the Vegas
Colta Nights.
Just comes flying at him.
Do you like the draft? We're here for the draft this weekend. I'm sure I mentioned
what it's happening. I get so care less about the draft because it's like a foregone conclusion.
Like Ross Miss, Dahlene's going to Buffalo. And then it's a bunch of dudes who like,
I've seen like two highlights on YouTube, but that's,
I'm going to go, oh, yeah, that guy's going to be great.
Yeah, that is by far my favorite thing about the draft.
Like, you get to around the 11th pick, and it happens,
and everybody in the fucking world becomes a draft expert.
Oh, yeah.
There's only, like, four people that know anything about the draft.
One of them's Merrick, other one's Corey Prondman.
One of them's Chris Peters, who works for ESPN,
and then there's probably some other guy, probably Craig Buttons or whatever those name is.
Remember when the coyotes traded up to get, who do they trade up with the Red Wings to get?
Yeah.
And, like, for like, two days it was like, oh, my God.
John Jake is a genius.
Everybody becomes a draft genius.
It's like the, you know,
who would be the team?
Like the St. Louis Blues select
Juergen-Flehrgen-Bergen from Svetlana in the Swedish League.
And everybody's like, oh, Flurgen-Bergan-Nergan, great hands.
I mean, first of all, like the best hands.
Wouldn't Spetlana be from the Russian league?
He wears skates.
He knows what a puck is.
Just like an amazing pick.
Well, that one guy's,
name is Kachuk, so he must be awesome. I've heard that name before, so automatically that
guy is going to be like a top line player for 20 years. I don't know. I care more about all the
trade stuff, man, because this is the only time of year when NHL GMs actually do their jobs and
make trades and actually try to make their teams. I don't think I ever mentioned it in the podcast.
One of the things I always wanted to do, but I figured it would probably get me kicked out of
like being a credentialed to NHL guy, and I can't do that now that I work for Disney, is I wanted
to take one of those spy microphones. The only ones that have like a little dish.
and like the microphone sticking out that you'd find it like an NFL game or whatever,
to capture sound on the field.
I wanted to take that, stand at the fence at the draft,
and just monitor what the GMs are saying throughout the entire night.
So when you see like two GMs go over there and Darren Drager is like,
oh, two GMs are speaking.
Oh, God.
And I'll stick my microphone and point to that, then they're like,
yeah, they're just talking about dinner, you know.
They're talking about killing Eve.
Oh, I love killing Eve.
Good show, right? Yeah, great show.
Oh, is anyone watching The Staircase on Netflix, by the way?
For those who are watching it,
is it impossible not to see John Tortorella as the defense lawyer on the staircase?
He looks exactly like him.
And it's like, every time he objects, the judge is like,
so you're saying that this evidence shouldn't be admitted?
And I'm just expecting, that's what I'm saying, Bruxie.
You don't admit the fucking evidence is what I'm saying, Broxie.
Is anybody watching Friends on Netflix?
Yeah.
How about that one where Joey's like,
ooh, that was a good one, right?
Remember that one?
Oh, that's right, right.
And then Schwimmer's like,
I am not blah, blah, blah, blah.
I can't get divorced three times.
Classic swimmer.
Oh, so good.
All right, let's talk about Sergey Zubov.
Bring me the Zubov jersey
so you can properly have this discussion.
I think we're probably.
probably going to have to do this as a case, right? I'll go first because you have visual cues.
Are you literally taking the jersey off your back? Oh, it's a Betman sucks t-shirt underneath.
I was thinking about doing this where I'm a cop and you're like, you're under arrest for not respecting
Sergei Zuboff and I just question you about why you hate Sergei Zuboff and then I break you and then
you admit you like Sergei Zubov. Much respect for the fighting strap, by the way, on the jersey.
This is a real regulation jersey.
All right.
Did he ever, did he play here during the Mooderous years?
Now I'm really disappointed.
Because I've never, I've never felt the touch of a Muderist jersey on my skin.
What's it like?
What does it feel like to wear the jersey?
Oh, to wear a Starz jersey?
It feels fan-fuckintastic.
I feel as, I feel as underrated as Louis Erickson back in the day.
Your Honor.
Yes.
Tell us, tell us why you think.
perhaps the second best defenseman of his error shouldn't be in the hall of fame, Greg.
As you know, Dave, it's not the Hall of Good.
Right.
It's not the Hall of Very Good. It's the Hall of Fame,
which actually has no synonymous aspects with the word good.
But it does mean famous.
And how does one get famous, Dave Lozo?
Totally.
It's real easy.
You mentioned the actor Dean Norris before.
Has Dean Norris ever won an Oscar? No.
Has Daniel Day Lewis? Yes.
Do we know who Daniel Day Lewis is?
of course. Do we don't denour us
outside of the sex gifts tweet? No,
we don't. That's because awards,
my friend, awards.
Awards are the reason why players
have fame. So while I respect Sergei
Zuboff as a sudden
darling of the analytics community
and I respect that Sergey Zuboff
has two Stanley Cups, I will note
that Sergey Zuboff, despite
all of these accolades from
these fans telling me how important he is
and how Hall of Fameworthy he
is, was it a finalist for
Norris trophy but once.
Right.
In the top four for the Norris trophy, but once, or twice, I guess.
I'm fucking, but, but was never, never a winner of the Norris trophy, which to me
means that he is not a generational talent.
Okay.
Which to me means that he's in the dustbin of history.
I will say that when it comes, if you went up to a child and said, have you ever heard
of the name Sergei Zubov, they'd say no.
But have you ever heard of the name
Sergei Ganschar?
They would begin spouting
off statistics and
telling you about the grandeur
of Sergei Ganshar.
And before I could hear you
fucking people, all out
there being like, but he played in
Dallas. Yeah, so did Mike
Madonna, so did Brett Hall,
so did all these other people
that are very famous to won lots of awards.
So don't give me the
anonymity argument, the man
was on two fucking cup teams.
Okay.
What a Madonna win? Our hearts
in mind, sir. That's what Mike Madonna won.
And also the hand of Willa Ford
briefly.
So it sounds like to me
the basis of your Sergei Zuboff
hate is his lack of awards,
correct? That's right. Recognition
from hockey writers based on
the East Coast.
So Greg, who votes on
hockey awards?
well the writers mostly okay so you're telling me the same people that could not figure out the position of
Taylor hall are the people that you're going to use as the foundation for keeping sergey zuboff out of the
hall of fame is that correct that is correct
listen i i understand that it's very difficult for defensemen who played in a certain era
to which era is that great which era explain the the era in which which era in which
Sergey Zubovov played where he's looking up at Nick Lidstrom and Chris Pronger and Scott Meadermeyer and Scott Stevens and
Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg Greg what was what was Scott Stevens first year in the
NHL 1982 yeah what was Sergey Zubov's first year in the NHL 1994 that's the same era according to
Greg Wischinski 12 years apart he's not as good as Scott Stevens I mean in the I mean Scott Stevens
won three cups during the duration of
Sergei Zubovas career, including one,
I believe one in 2000.
Do you believe, do you believe
Rob Blake is a Hall of Famer, Greg?
What?
Do you believe that defenseman Rob Blake
is a Hall of Famer?
So, it's a good...
So, oh!
Nobody throws scallops, by the way.
No, I don't want to...
I find... I know where you're going
because I'm not visually impaired.
I can see you have a visual aid here.
Have you not used...
I used Rob Blake as an example.
Hays to be written out in long hand.
Yes or no?
Yes or no?
I do not.
Your Honor, instruct him to answer the question.
Rob Blake, you think Rob Blake's a Hall of Famer, correct?
I feel he's a borderline Hall of Fame.
I feel the Hall of Fame is littered with people that you could use as examples.
Cam Neely, Clark Gillies, Bernie Ferdico.
What?
What?
What are they were Russian?
Oh, don't give you that.
What if they were Russian nonsense?
Is it perhaps because Sergei Zuboff was a member of the 1993-94 Rangers
that defeated the 1993-94 Devils in the Eastern Conference Finals?
Do you hold ill will towards him because of that, sir?
Not at all. I feel as though, for example, Brian Leach,
a defenseman who has been honored throughout his career and is a demonstrably better player than Sergey Zuboff,
belongs in the Hall of Fame.
So you're saying that Brian Leach, whose career started 10 years before?
Sergei Zubov's career.
Is there a reason to keep Sergey Zubop out of the Hall of Fame?
What exactly is an era in your mind, Greg?
Is it 30 years?
Is it 40 years?
Yeah, that's what I thought.
Listen, as I typically mark time based on
Star Wars trilogies, so
I find this line of
questioning to be out
of line as it attacks my religion.
All right, my final question is
what does Rob Blake have that Sergey Zuboff doesn't?
A Canadian passport.
I saw that joke from the audience.
And I believe you're going to probably say a plaque in the Hall of Fame or whatever you would call that.
An etching.
I'm looking at their numbers here.
Before you ask, yes, I did this and yes, my handwriting sucks.
I want to, Your Honor, if I could address the court on
Exhibit A.
It appears as though
someone has attempted to write
out a chart but hastily scribbled
over one of the numbers
because he made a mistake.
Your Honor, I say to the
court, would you ever allow a piece of
evidence that did not have the benefit of whiteout, sir?
Just...
No, she has way better hand right.
My daughter knows that
Sergei Zubov's not a Hall of Fame.
Rob Blake.
Wow.
Holy shit.
They're booing your daughter.
That's where we've gotten to.
Maybe we should move on because it seems like it's going to get violent at some point.
Her first word was Arnett.
You realize, like, we're going to invite, like, more people up on stage to stand next to us.
Just bringing it full circle.
Your attack on Shinerbach, my attack on the devil's stars.
They forgot about that by now.
All right.
So Sergei Zuboff, Hall of Famer.
Sergei Zuboff, not Hall of Famer.
Shit.
Okay, well, there's that.
I rest my case.
Thank you, everybody.
I'm going to take off the Sergei Zubov jersey.
Yeah, you don't, you don't deserve to wear the Sergey Zubov jersey.
For the record, I think he'll probably get in.
I feel like there's a groundswell of people reconsidering his career.
But I also, you know, that a lot of my feelings,
a lot of my feelings on this are based on the fact that I would probably expunge two-thirds of the Hall of Fame as not being worthy.
I was just told that Zuboff and Bobby Orr are the only two places.
every lead a team in scoring in the regular season that won the cup.
Yeah, what's Bobby O'Rever done?
Any more caveats there?
That would eat cheeseburgers on a Tuesday.
He's no Scott Neutemeyer, who could have had a lot of points if he played on a different team.
Oh, I always love that.
Oh, but to re-currie your favor, as I wrote on ESPN this week,
the Yuri Lennon Award for Best Defensive Winger is my new cause.
There you go.
that the Selke is limited
a fucking standing ovation
from three or four people.
The Selke trophy being
exclusive to the centers is horseshit
and also, by the way,
I haven't even noticed, but none of the awards are named
for Europeans, and they're a European and two in the league
now, so I like all these things.
All right, God, what time is it?
Let me see here.
I think it might be time to... Yeah, it's probably
time for the game show, right?
It might be time to get Schlemcode.
All right.
It is time for everybody's favorite game shows.
Shlemcode.
We're going to need...
I was going to say three people, but now I realized I only have three...
There's one down there, too.
So I guess we could have three people, right?
We have people on here.
Oh, we do?
All right.
Bring them up, then.
Scott, Kevin, and Ryan.
I probably should have gotten last names
because those are, like, the three most common names that you could have.
Holy shit, there are two people in Atlanta.
Thrash Grikes who's coming to the stage.
Bring them back.
Oh, yeah.
We need a fourth mic, right?
Yeah, there's one.
down there. Here, how's it going? Oh, what is that? You have an Atlanta
Knights hat and you have a thrashers jersey. How's it going? And do you have a
knight's hat as well? Okay. What's up, Waz? Scotty Waus, ladies and gentlemen.
You want to pimp your podcast? Yeah, a face-off hockey show with me and Johnny Pee in the
back somewhere drunk. We'll sit with Sean Lane Laney too. It's weird. You got,
you guys stay up here. I'll go down there. I don't have a blog.
So Dallas is warm, isn't it? Jesus Christ.
Being from North Dakota, it's not the greatest thing.
Get out here, it's just humid. I don't like it.
Hey, so where are you guys from?
Albuquerque.
What's the deal with waffle boards?
So thrashers, huh?
Hello?
Are you holding out hope for a comeback?
You look a little like Danny Healy.
He looked a little like Danny Healy.
He should have in the jersey, though.
Oh, wait.
So the guy who looks like Danny Heatley is.
wearing the Anandley-Hitley jersey? Yeah, that's like throwing me off a little bit. Here, here you
go ahead. Do your thing. All right, so it's time for a slam code, aka the roster game. It's the game
in which we challenge you to all name players from certain rosters throughout NHL history.
And we go until you can't name them anymore. And since there's three of you, we'll play three
rounds. I don't know what one has to do with the other. But we're just going to do that anyway.
So, we're in Dallas.
I don't know if you guys noticed.
So, as you probably could guess, we're going to do Vancouver.
No, I'm kidding.
We're going to do Dallas.
We're going to do Dallas Stars' rosters.
So we'll begin with.
Now, I don't have this on paper like I normally do.
So I'm going to rely on the people in the audience to let me know if we have a repeat.
answer. I'm going to try to follow as long as I can, but it's been a Shiner Night. So we're going to do what we
can. We're going to begin with, of course, what other team, but the, wait, the 1998-99 Stanley Cup
champion Dallas Stars. Keep in mind, this is any player that appeared during the regular
season based on our friends at Hockeyreference.com. That's Hockey-Refference.com. That's Hockey-Refference.com.
So what do your name?
Say your names again so people at home can identify you.
My name is Kevin.
Ryan.
Scott.
Okay.
Kevin, you're closest to me.
In my heart.
Like what?
You can begin naming players from the Stanley Cup champion 98-99 Dallas Stars.
Mike Madonna.
Says here, that's correct.
Sir Gizob
Well, that's
A bit of a cheat, but sure
Scotty
Eddie Belpour
We are rocking and rolling
We went through the whole first round
And nobody said
Alan McCauley
Go ahead
Darrell Sador
Daryl Sador is correct
Yuri Lettin
Yury Lettin is also correct
Scottie is there any
player that I recently mentioned
that you'd like to say now
Darian Hatcher.
Darian Hatcher is very much correct.
He was, in fact, the captain, according to hockey reference.
Go ahead.
Mike Keene.
Mike Keene is very correct, and now I can't believe that we're getting this deep into the game this early.
Dave Reed.
Solid.
That's also correct.
I'm really kind of fucking stunned at one of the names that hasn't been said.
yet, I thought this would be a really...
Go ahead.
Craig Ludwig.
That's also correct.
This is a fun...
This is fun now.
Go ahead.
Guy Carbono.
Guy Carbino, correct.
Daryl Sador.
Daryl Sador...
Lozo, how do we work that if it was already said?
Is he out?
Oh, was it?
All right, the crowd says you're out.
Daryl Sador was said.
Okay, was...
Go pliers.
Brett Hall.
Brett Hall.
was the name I was looking for.
Okay, go ahead.
Uh-oh.
Former Atlanta thrasher, Tony Herkis.
The Herkis Circus is correct.
Number 41 in your programs, number 41 in your hearts, Scotty was.
Roman Turrick.
That's correct.
Uh-oh.
There's a couple real big names still left on the plate here.
I'm sure there are.
I'm sure there are.
You could just probably say any name that was...
I can't remember if anybody said this yet, so I'm gambling.
Belfour.
It was said.
So that's Scotty Waz's round.
We were still looking for Joe Nguendike,
Jamie Langenbrenner,
the lowest rated player in the history of EA sports, John Chambers.
That's true, by the way.
I don't know if you guys know that.
Like his player rating was the lowest of all.
all time.
Brett Severin,
Brian Scredland,
fucking Pat Verbeek.
All right.
So,
Scotty Waz
wins round one
of a Shlemcode.
Now,
we're going to,
we're going to take it back.
We're going to take it back
old school.
We're going to take it
back to the year
93-94.
What happened
to 93-94?
That's right.
Dallas got fucking hockey.
Sergei Zubov won a cup.
Oh.
I'm not a fucking
man, dude.
The 93-94.
94
Dallas
Stars
and I'll have you know
that there are so many names on this list
I had to use my fingers
to shrink the screen on my phone
before taking the screen cap of it
so you've got a lot of names here
good luck
Waz will start with you
Brad Barry
Jesus Christ
I'm fucked
Atlanta boys
I don't know you might be trouble here
All right, go ahead.
Yeah, you, no, no.
Oh, you want to go reverse?
Yeah, we'll go reverse order.
Go ahead, Ryan.
Thank you, Kevin.
Neil Broughton.
Good, Tom.
Yeah, that's correct.
I'm out of my depth here.
Mike Vedano.
Correct.
All right.
Can't go wrong with that.
Can't go wrong with that.
Darien Hatcher.
That's correct.
You, mother.
Ryan, you're up?
Mm-hmm.
David Shlumko.
A worthy stab in the dark, but incorrect.
Kevin?
Mm-hmm.
I know.
Richard Matvichuk.
Correct.
Damn.
Was.
Andy Moog.
Correct.
Kevin.
You didn't realize that you were playing the embodiment of the Dallas Stars.
Brian Bellows.
What is that?
Oh, I think that was it.
Wait.
Wait, you said Brian Bellows?
I said Brian Belles.
Wait, what did you say?
I said Brian Bellas.
Well, that's wrong.
Scotty Was is our winner.
Shlem code.
Now, give us a thrasher roster.
I was just handed a note from Dave Lozo, who I assume had run off the stage to take a piss, but it turns out he was...
No, who's that too.
Okay, he ran off the stage, take a piss.
The bonus round tonight for Shlemcode will be the 2010-11 Atlanta Thrashers.
Coached by Craig Ramsey, played in Phillips Arena,
finished fourth in the southeast with 80 points.
But since we have two guys in Thrashers' jerseys on stage, only appropriate.
We play this one.
We'll begin with you, Scottie Waz, who is not in a Thrashers jersey.
Carri Lettnan.
He was already traded.
Carri Lennon.
Letton is incorrect.
The goalie, oh, wait, I can't tell you who the goalies were.
But trust me that I'd tell you, Akari Lettnam was not one of them.
All right, Thrashers, boys.
Let's go to Kevin next.
No, no, let's go to Ryan next.
I'm sorry.
Dustin Bufflin.
Dustin Bufflin.
Dustin Bufflin is correct.
Now, I don't know if you guys remember the Thrashers.
Half of the winning team.
There might be a run-on players here after the Dustin Bufflin mention.
Andrew Ladd.
That is correct.
Did I say he was the captain?
No, I didn't, right?
But he is the captain.
Okay.
Blake Wheeler.
What?
Blake Wheeler.
Blake Wheeler is correct.
Loza just said it's a pretty good team.
Tobias Enstrom.
Toby Enstrom is correct.
He prefers to go by Toby because...
Who fucking knows?
All right.
Chris Thorburn.
Chris Thorburn is correct.
Wow.
Evander Cain.
How dare you, sir?
Yeah, that's correct.
Andre Pavlik.
Andre Pavlik is correct.
Alexander Bermistrov.
Fuck you, dude.
Fuck you.
Alexander Bermistroff is correct, and also his name went over the dividing line on the screen
for how long names can be.
Ryan?
Eric Bolton
Eric, what, Bolton?
Bolton.
Yeah, that's correct.
Someone's got to throw the punches.
Mark Stewart.
That sounds made up.
It's correct, though.
You guys really know your
checks notes.
2010-11 Atlanta Thrashers.
Boris Volubic.
Oh!
Boris Volubic is
the
guy who you might remember got
punched in the balls
by Sidney Crosby from behind.
If you've not seen it, you should
really go on YouTube. Sidney Crosby
snuck behind him and punched
him in the balls.
But he wasn't on that team.
God damn it. Yeah, we need
one more name for the win.
Come on, Rime.
This is it. This is it.
This is it. Reach deep.
Reach deep into your thrashers' memory banks.
Wait, wait, he's doing this for the win?
Yep. This is just go with it.
Wait, why would you got it wrong?
Wait, did he get volleyball out wrong?
No, no, no.
Oh, fuck you.
Kevin, go for the win here.
Former Dallas star Richard Peverely.
Fuck, that's a good one.
No, he was trained about Boston by then.
That year. He played.
Oh, he played on that year.
Yeah, you're right.
Oh, that's correct, yeah.
Sorry, I was so infatuated with
With names like Ron Hainzee, Patrick Rissmiller, Rob Shremp.
Was Joey Krabb on that team?
What, who?
Joey Krabb.
He was not.
KRAB, right?
Yeah.
No, he was not.
But Nick Andropov was.
Brent Soaple was there.
And so was, of course, Zach Bogosian, which was the name you probably should have remembered as well.
And we should all remember on draft weekend because everybody said he was going to be better than Drew Doughty.
Oops.
Is there anything you boys want to plug
now that you're on stage?
I will...
A given.
I will plug Atlanta Thrashers fans.
You're still out there everywhere.
Bless you people.
There's three of you right there.
I'm actually a Flyers fan, so let's go Flyers.
And I already plugged my stuff, so.
There you go.
Are you technically...
You're a capital's...
sympathizer, but you're a flames fan, right? Is that how it works?
No, I'm a capital fan. You're a Capitals fan.
Scotty's a Capitals fan, and they finally won.
Pride like a little bitch. It was fantastic.
Did you ever think that you would live long enough to see this day?
No, not at all. I don't think my kid was going to live long enough.
That was a multi-layered question about Capitals fandom, nutrition.
Scotty and I know each other way back.
Scotty took me to a steakhouse in Calgary once.
that was so far away from the city, I really thought he was going to murder me.
Well, let's not forget the Glenn Anderson story in Ottawa.
Have ever told the Glenn Anderson story on the podcast?
So we were at the draft in Ottawa and we went to a casino.
No, it was in Montreal.
Oh, it was in the casino in Quebec?
We went to a casino in Quebec.
And he's, so I was sitting next to a dude at the blackjack table and he split on twos, right?
Threes.
He split on threes.
and I'm like
you know we were walking out
I of course lost a lot of money
because I fucking suck a gambling
but it never stops me
and so I was like
throwing a tantrum like who the fuck
splits on threes and Scotty's like you know who that was
right I'm like who he's like Glenn Anderson
you know potential
he wasn't a hall of fame
yeah he was going to be like
potential hall of fame or like I'm like
so this fucking guy got to
play with Gretzky
and he wins splitting on threes
in blackjack like that's a
modicum of luck i can't comprehend
in life all right boys thank you for
playing slum code all right
lozo what have we
before we move forward
splitting threes
why not
if you get two eights
do boo boo you have a six
you hit on six you get a ten then what
you got sixteen
you're ruined it for the table
I want to get two eights
double down twice get two twenty ones
boom I'm rich
when I was in
Vegas
way too
way too often this last couple ones.
I got an 11 once and then asked for a card to double down and she drew an ace.
And so I had a 12.
And then a few hands later, I had an 11.
And I said to the dealer, I'm like, I'll double down if you don't draw an ace.
And she drew an ace.
But then she busted.
And that was the greatest gambling moment of my life.
Right.
You did nothing wrong there.
shouldn't be afraid to double down on 11.
Split your threes. Split your twos.
Split your, well, not fours.
Split your twos and your threes.
Yeah.
That's a little tip from your bad gambling friend, Dave.
What did we learn tonight, Dave?
We learned that Sub-Off is a Hall of Fame.
I learned that that guy might follow you back to your hotel room and murder you.
Even money that happens.
We learned in random Dallas Whole Foods people think that Tyler Say-Gan is Stephen Jones.
Yeah, we did.
No, no, no, no, no, no, they knew he was Stephen Johns.
They didn't think he was Tyler saying it.
Actually, I learned that Stephen Johns will not punch me if I make fun of Jamie Ben to his face,
which is fucking great.
Thank God.
I had no idea how that was going to go.
Don't ever tell me I won't ask questions of people's faces because I gave him three reasons
to punch me in the face, and he didn't do it.
We learned that Rowdy-Roddy Piper and Frank Stallone were on Walker, Texas Ranger.
Yeah, so I went, I went so, like,
If you go to the IMDB page for Walker, Texas Ranger,
and you go down to, like, all these people who were only on one episode,
like, I think, like, Jake Gyllenhaal was on that show.
Like, it's an insane amount of, like, really good actors
and also, like, Frank Stallone.
That show was on the air for, like, 15 years.
Everyone from Texas watches that show, right?
Like, I wasn't wrong.
No, no, no, no.
Wait, so, hold on.
Uh-huh.
Do you guys hate Houston?
Is that a real thing, or?
Oh, yeah.
How about those Astros?
All right, let me understand,
let me understand Texas better, so you hate Houston.
Do you like Austin or do you do?
Everybody likes Austin.
What else is there here?
Where are the other cities here?
Do you like, oh, yeah, oh, fuck San Antonio.
You know, is there a more overrated
fucking thing in the world in the riverwalk?
Oh, my God.
It's a, it's a fucking, it's a fucking, it's a fucking, it's a fucking mall.
Oh, the Alamo's, but that's got history.
It's a fucking mall that they spread out over this smelly bullshit river.
And it's the, it's the worst.
Well, I guess we're never going to do a live show in San Antonio.
The river's smelly.
So, okay, wait, wait, do you like San Antonio?
I kind of cut you off.
No?
Really?
Houston, like Austin, kind of nonpluss about San Antonio.
But there's like an Astros, Rangers rivalry, right? That's a thing.
So if there was ever a hockey team in Houston, you guys would hate the shit out of that team, right?
There it is.
Come on, Ottawa. Ottawa's got to come to Houston. I want Ottawa and Houston.
All right. The natives and others are getting restless. We should probably go to the Q&A.
Thus ends the podcast for all you beautiful people at home. Thanks to Stephen Johns and
All-Stars.
Thank you, Stephen.
Thanks to all people who played our reindeer games.
And now, from 9 p.m. local time to 2 a.m.
The longest Q&A ever.
Every single one of your questions.
Everyone gets a question.
Everyone gets a question.
Although we kind of need someone to bring the microphone over to you.
Let's give the people at home what they crave, which is applause and FOMO.
Thank you, everybody, for listening.
for our live show in Dallas here on Puck SOOP.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, eats and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
Puck Sout.
