Puck Soup - Lou D'Angeli, Cirque Du Soleil
Episode Date: October 19, 2017Greg and Dave talk hockey with Lou D'Angeli of Cirque Du Soleil, a.k.a. Sign Guy Dudley from ECW, about his dual fandom of the Penguins and Golden Knights, his surreal journey through the wrestling ...industry, doing drugs at shows and Vegas life. Plus, the insane notion that Auston Matthews is under-appreciated, the wacky 'pick your own opponent' playoff format, remembering the movie "Parenthood," Greg's adventures in Bristol, the Vegas Golden Knights Twitter feed steps in it and asking the listeners for the first coach fired. Sponsored by Seat Geek and Blue Apron.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Cirque du Soleil.
Tickets are on sale now for Cirque du Soleil.
Crystal throughout North America, a breakthrough ice experience.
World-class ice skating and unexpected acrobatics fused to create the first on-ice experience
from the magnificent Cirque de Soleil.
Get your tickets now at cirque desolate.com slash crystal.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary.
To what if you commute, we also cover movies, TV shows, it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
Bork Su.
I'm Dave Lozo, a vice sports and many other internet websites.
And I'm Greg Wyshinsky.
ESPN.
And I guess I have to say that you're in Puck Suit.
I went to ESPN for the first part of my two-week orientation this week.
And you still haven't done the Mickey Mini sexual harassment video yet.
Uh-huh.
Don't touch that.
Oh, no.
Oh, yep, that's harassment.
You can't do that, Donald.
That's not allowed in the office.
I met everybody.
The most amazing thing about going to Bristol, besides the fact that you realize that Bristol is nowhere isville, Connecticut.
And the greatest thing about it is, like, I, I, I, I, I, you know.
I'm going to drop a name.
I had a little dinner with John Butchagross.
Catch up on old times.
Your buddy Bucci.
That sounds awful.
I did not get a college hockey hat, though.
Did he say what Greg Waschinsky is to puck daddy?
David Lee Roth was to Van Halel.
Eddie Better was to something.
So the most amazing thing is that, so there's a lot of famous people that work on ESPN, myself now included.
And Bristol is like, think of where you grew up.
up wherever you grew up, provided you didn't grow up in like New York City or Los Angeles.
And what kind of bias is that?
Think of like a little town that has a little Main Street.
And maybe over time that mainstream's, main streets transformed into the place that has like the quirky coffee shop, the Thai place in town, the place that sells Dream Catchers.
You mean like Thai food or like a Thai food?
No, I mean, like Thai food.
Oh, okay.
I imagine there's more than one place in a town to get a Thai and most likely you're getting at Target anyway.
But here's the point.
Those places are all around Bristol.
And so the most amazing thing is I'm out to dinner with Butchagrass at this Italian place is like the owner comes over and says,
What?
No, it wasn't the Olive Garden.
It was like a local place.
The owner comes over and says hi because the ESPN people always come here.
And like he's talking about, you know, how sad it is that they had these layoffs on the NFL side.
He's like, Merrill Hodge and Mike Ditka used to come here.
And he used to eat big old boas of my pasta.
the ain't all the past in the world.
And I'm like, how crazy is it that it's like that?
It's like, you know, once megastar sports center anchor gets done, you know, like when Mike
Torrico worked there or whatever, he'd like go to the Mexican place across the street.
There's probably only so many options of Bristol to go to.
That's what I'm saying.
There's very limited options.
And it's just the idea that it's like, you know, Mike Tariko walks into a Mexican place.
Sounds like a great set up to a joke.
Mike Tarrico walks into an olive garden and he says, hey, what's a bunch of breadstead?
Oh, I don't know why Mike Tarika talks like that now, but he's doing it, he's doing a bit within a bit.
Yon else is unlimited, my ball!
But it's just trippy to, the Bristol's like, I never, I never conceived what that experience was like for those people that worked there.
I also never conceived how, like when they make, they say, look how the sausage is made.
Imagine if.
Like at the Italian place?
Well, I mean, in life.
Are you still doing it?
Oh, okay.
In life.
imagine if the sausage was made by 3,000 people strategically placed in seven different buildings
and, you know, that's how, like, in-depth, like, when you watch ESPN or read the website,
like, the last thing I'm thinking is that, like, oh, you want to meet the stats guys?
Well, they're here in the basement.
And then you go to the basement and, of course, the stats guys are in the basement.
Are they literally in the basement?
Yeah, where the fuck else would they be?
There's, like, one sort of random inkling of a window sort of over on the other wall.
but it's like, that's exactly what you'd be expected to be.
Wait, so like now...
It's a bunch of Howie Schwab's down there.
Yeah, I was going to say, so like now, like, if you're writing a story, you can just kick open a door and scream in there and be like,
give me Wayne Gretzky's longest goal scoring streak between 1981 and 1985 and I want it now.
And they're like, yes, master.
I'm good, but you're not saying master.
That's very pejorative.
They say, you got it, sir.
No, but that's the thing.
Who else did you meet, though?
Like, did you meet your new coworkers from Barstle?
I did not meet my new co-workers.
co-os from Brostle, but I know exactly where they shot
that show. Let me tell you, let me speak on
pardon my van or whatever
the fuck. It doesn't really the name of the show?
I don't know. It was on last night. Did you see it last night?
Absolutely. I'm never going to watch that show.
I respect the plucky
spirit of trying to make
a lo-fi. Because what was
the best thing about NHL tonight?
The best thing about NHL tonight was that it looked like it was filmed in
somebody's garage, right?
And it was
it was like a faux cool thing.
That was mystery of science theater.
No, there was also NHL Tonight.
It was not a behind-the-desk thing.
It was not a behind-the-desk thing.
So I respect the scrappy-plucky nature, like seeing, you know, PFT Comptor and the other guy, the big cat, the guy who I'm jealous of because he was on Bar Rescue that one time, sitting in a van, talking to Scott Van Pelt and Ben Pelt's in its full suit.
Oh, Scott Van Pelt was on?
Yeah.
There's something to be said for that aesthetic.
It's kind of funny.
It's kind of funny and sort of a jackassy kind of way, which is my go-to reference for all things, bars to him anyways.
the one thing I did like about the show
it's not the writing
good that could be better
but the one thing I liked about the show was
they goofed on the early days of ESPN 2
because this show is at 1 o'clock in ESPN 2
and they're like should we be wearing leather jackets
and they show a picture of like Olderman
in a leather jacket like they it was that
all the jokes about the forced cool of ESPN
on a show that now is
the forced cool of ESPN
is I thought was was either
beautifully ironic or beautifully
ignorant. What a diplomatic answer.
It's not diplomatic. It's not my department. Like I said,
there's a big, it's a big, it's a big, it's a big, it is a big campus. It is a big, it's a big, it is a big, it is a big, it is a big, it is a
I've been there. By the way, the carpeting, the carpeting. The ESPN. So I treated
a picture of the carpet at ESPN, and it's just the word ESPN spelled out, like,
in different, like, a crossword puzzle that's been like shrunken. And, and
my reaction was the same of somebody else's reaction was on Twitter, which is
can you find the word penis? Because you know it how it has. It's, you know it
Some combination of letters and shapes.
And like a little line somewhere.
Yeah.
Spells out penis in that thing.
And like I'm sure if you work there long enough,
it's like getting the book on American Pie that the older brother has
stashed in the library and had a bedwomen.
It's like somebody's going to come by and be like,
okay, you've been here for a year.
There's the penis.
Here's the corner of the carpeting.
So is it clicky?
Like, do you have to hang out with Butcher Ross and Linda Cohen only?
Like, can you not hang out with the NBA people?
It's not.
And that's the other thing, too, is that like the big cafe they have there is like,
I like that place.
It's, yeah, but it's like, it's like a cat.
When Ruby would go to the ringer in L.A.,
she works on, like, the HBO lot or whatever.
And, like, the, the cafe there is, like, the place where you go see super famous people, just having lunch or whatever.
And ESPN is the several levels down of that where you're there and like, oh, Matthew Berry is here.
Yeah, like, when I was, when I was there, the person I remember seeing the most where I was like, oh, I think it was Herm Edwards.
He was, like, eating a sandwich.
I was like, oh, it's Herm Edwards, eating a sandwich.
But to answer your question, I did meet a major celebrity that I know you're a huge fan of.
Oh, see, this is either going to make me jealous or it's going to make me mad that you're telling me I'm a fan of.
Mr. Darren Ravelle.
Oh, a huge, huge fan of him.
Huge fan of everybody that quote tweets him, too, on Twitter, to be like, wow, check this out.
When he has me blocked, and all I see is H-T-T-P-Colon.com, Darren Reve.
And then that's all I see.
I think Ravell and I got on all right because I think game respects game.
Like, he knows that when I take runs at him, it's fun.
funny because he probably deserves it.
Well, because he's a coward, and he's never going to confront
anybody. Whoever says anything.
But, like, also,
you both think Playboy Playmates are uglier
today than they were. I did not say, that is
worse in my mouth. Is that where you get along? Just because
I work at ESPN now does not mean I endorse
everything said by ESPN personalities.
You both, you both just rewrite press releases and don't
add any value to anything you do. I don't like
that he does that. But here's the thing.
Whenever I've met someone that
I've probably tormented for years on Twitter,
I always do find that there is something about them that I like outside of Larry Brooks,
who I don't find there's anything to like about him.
Which is that, in Revelle's case, I told him straight out that I really think he does a good job tweeting out pictures of food.
Like, I get jealous that he gets sent.
They're not even his pictures.
He just takes other people's photos and just tweets them.
He gets sent the pictures of the minor league teams that put the fucking, you know,
oh, it's a crispy cream donut, and we cut it in half, and then we dip it in chocolate, we deep-fried.
And then we take a fucking suckling pig and we put it between the donuts and then you eat it from the asshole
Like, and he tweets a picture of it.
You had to ruin it there at the end with eating it from the, I don't want to eat a pig's ass.
Go to the class A South Carolina piglets tonight and get a...
It's because the class A piglets fucking email him the photo impressually.
And he's like, exclusive ESPN reports that there's a naked pig covered in chocolate sauce in South Carolina.
Check it out.
Retweets.
Like, ah, buddy.
By the way, first of all, that's no way to talk about Steve Spurrier.
Second of all.
Is he still a coach?
I have no idea.
I don't think he is.
All I know about that college is he got cool ass hats and say cocks.
By the way, that Dr. Pepper guy is totally based on Steve Sparrier, right?
The guy gives way, Dr. Pepper here, that guy, he's...
I thought that was based on...
Are you talking about...
That's Steve Sprier.
Are you talking about the KFC?
No, the guy, the guy walks around the Dr. Pepper over his shoulders, like the train from Steve
Smith's in the commercial now.
Oh, is it like a guy that's selling Dr. Pepper?
Yeah, the guy selling that.
He's like, Fresh Gold, Dr. Pepper.
That guy.
Is the Cox hat the precursor to the Make America Great Again hat, which I believe is the proper way to identify the people in the gene pool who should be removed?
When I used to see somebody in a cox hat, especially like a dirty, like the white cox hat, it's like dirty and it's turned backwards.
And part of the dirt you know is this guy was chugging Yeager and then he fell asleep on the side of the road.
Like the Cox hat to me was always an indication that this was, we can identify this deal.
DNA sequence and remove it from the gene pool and we'll all be better for it.
Okay, I agree on the Make America.
You're 8 again hats.
But as you just said earlier, when it comes to the Cox hats, game respect game.
They like to party.
I do appreciate a dirty hat that was worn while chugging PBR in a basement somewhere.
I can't get mad.
And it says Cox.
That's funny.
How old are you?
I turned 23.
Old enough?
Old enough for what?
It's a party.
But also, I guess the other thing, too, is that.
that, like, you know, they could be from South Carolina.
And then what do you do?
Like, you can't...
If you're a South Carolina student or alumni,
the fucking hat says Cox.
Right. What are you going to do?
You're the Cox.
It's like, you know, Scarlet Knights.
If you're a Republican, you don't have to get the MAGA hat.
You can get the one with the elephant on it or, you know...
Well, no, you'd have to get a shorter...
So it's game Cox, make America great again.
You'd have to just get great again on the hat?
Would that be the equivalent?
Because you would just know.
You'd see the red hat.
in the white letters.
Are you trying to see a mashup of the two hats?
No, like the, because like if game cocks, you're just taking the word cock and making a joke and putting it on a hat, like what you have to shorten the MAGA thing.
Do you say MAGA?
Is that how you say?
Yeah, MAGA.
That's the hashtag hashtag maga.
I never know.
Yeah, there's like, I never say them out loud.
I just see them on Twitter and I'm like, motherfuckers.
Speaking of making America great again, Austin Matthews.
So my new colleague, Emily Kaplan, who I think you should all follow if you don't know her.
great and she's going to be writing all the stories that are going to make you super happy.
And I've already informed her she's going to have to be a good cop.
Austin Matthews.
Have you already lost friends at ESPN?
No, no, no, no, no.
I just mean with the, like, there's no changing the nine years that I've covered the league.
Oh, did anybody like cold shoulder you?
Anybody just kind of like, oh, no, hey.
Oh, no, I didn't get any of so.
That was the other thing.
Not to make this ESPN podcast, but like, it got to the point.
So I met so many hockey fans there.
that listen to this podcast, that used to read Puck Daddy,
that have Islander's shit and Rangers shit and Flyers shit.
I saw a fucking Nashville rally towel on somebody's desk.
I would say two out of every three people I met there were hockey fans,
which I know is not the impression of the SPN,
because if they do run highlights during the end credits on SportsCenter,
and once they cancel all of our shows and put poker on instead.
Now here it is. Your moment is then.
Austin Matthews scorch.
Yeah, right.
That's it.
And so, I mean, these are decisions made because they don't have
rights to the games, you know, they have streaming rights now, but they don't have the rights
of the games on television and because, you know, they can see what the metrics are.
And I've also, part of my job is to try to retrain people to go to ESPN to see hockey stuff
because at some point you just stop going when they don't have hockey shit.
Oh, dude, seeing you do the tweet thing where the tweet links to ESPN is so disorienting
for me. Like, I see that tweet. Yeah. I feel like you got hacked for a second. And I'm like,
oh, right, that's, that's what he does now. But at least I figured out how to actually structure
a tweet instead of sending out the first three sentences that are cut off of my, of my story.
which is what Pierre used to do.
No, the worst is when someone said...
No, no, that's fine.
I don't mind that at all when there's more there.
The worst is when somebody does that,
and it's like, the tweet is like 147 characters
and you see the first 139,
and you only get eight extra characters on their website.
That drives me insane.
So, like, 200 of every three people I met,
they were hockey fans,
and it got to the point where...
I was thinking about, like,
when Spock joined the Federation,
and maybe they're like...
Sure.
Hey, buddy, good to have you here in the Federation.
here, meet Tuvok.
He's a Vulcan.
He'll show you around.
We have many Vulcans here.
And like, Tuvok's the only fucking other Vulcan in the Federation, right?
So it's like, I felt that, like, are they intentionally leading me to all the hockey fans that they have here?
Oh, they probably were.
They're all plants.
It's just a giant hockey-centric place.
Dude, they brought in like a, they brought in like Wojj, like a month ago, and all those desks had NBA stuff on it.
And they brought you in and they were like, get rid of the Memphis Grizzly thing and put a National Predator thing there.
Do it.
He'll never know.
The only thing that made me think.
is like I already worked there. I don't have to recruit me or nothing. But like at the same time,
I'm like, this is an astounding number of hockey fans that I'm meeting here.
And either they see me as the leader of the resistance or they're trying to shine me
about how many hockey fans are actually at this company. So it's like when something gets messed up
on your story, you can't pinpoint one person. You're like, God, there's like 14 editors that
had hockey stuff on her desk. It could be anybody. Some poor, like, St. Louis Blues fans met at his desk
the whole time. And he's like, he's like, thank God you're here. I've had to be silent for so many
years. And he slowly like tax up a rally towel on his desk. Freedom. You bought us freedom.
He like stands up from his cubicle and looks around the office and goes, meet me in the
break room in six minutes. I have information you need to know. What is this? It's a, um, it's a
Bernie Ferdurco card. I figured that you'd understand. Wait, you don't have like any information
on like Linda Cohen, like, siphoning off money here. I've been holding on to it for seven years and I couldn't
give it to anybody else. It's up to you to pass it on
to someone else now.
And tell them I love them if you see them.
Spread the gospel, Bernie. Let others know of his
greatness. He's a Hall of Famer. Yeah, but you know, he didn't really
belong in the, shut up. Yes, he did.
Now it's on the time. The bar was lowered.
Austin Matthews.
TSN, which, uh, I don't know if you
realize this, but their parent company co-owns
the leaves. Um, and they're
kind of like your cousin now. They are my cousin.
Yeah. TSN, uh, asked a
a pertinent question via its social media feed
and it was covered by Craig Button
on the network.
Is Austin Matthews getting the credit he
deserves? Now
at first glance I could only assume
this means his annual APR.
You know what I mean? Yeah, like,
is he like not getting the miles on his credit card
when he flies? Like, what does that mean?
He did he get a T-shirt when he went to that tent outside the Mets game
and signed up for the thing?
Like, getting the credit he deserves,
I'm, when you are
one of two players that have been
identified as the next wave of NHL saviors.
When you've been identified as the guy who is going to lead the most more abundant losing
franchise in the history of the National Hockey League, say, for the Washington Capitals,
to the promised land for the first time since the 1960s,
like when you've been annoyed it as that guy, I feel like maybe you're getting the credit.
Like, how is he not getting credit?
Like, he's the first person you think of whenever the Leafs are doing well or winning.
He dominated Montreal the other day.
Yeah.
He got tons of love for that.
Yeah.
He was, where did he finish in the heart voting last year?
He got heart votes as a rookie.
He didn't get many.
He got like a couple of third place votes and a fourth place vote.
But he got heart votes despite, you know, other people being a little bit more worthy.
Like, for example, Conrad McDavid.
Here's a quick review of some of the things that have been said giving Austin Matthews credit.
He was a Calder trophy winner, wasn't he?
Bruce Arthur said that Austin Matthews will win multiple heart trophies during his career.
Jeremy Roanick has said that Austin Matthews.
will be the highest scoring American player ever.
Barry Trots, once favorably compared Austin Matthews to Mario Lemieux,
and Darren Drager says that he's destined for greatness, Darren Drigger of TSN.
Do you know what all four of those statements have in common?
Tell me.
They were made within the first two weeks of his career last season.
I see what you did there.
You made it seem like it was recent, when really it's been going on forever.
I'm saying that Austin Matthews has been getting credit in perpetuity,
But if you want to fast forward to this season,
let me give you this nugget of love
from TSN's Steve Simmons writing in whatever newspaper
still compensates him.
The Toronto Macrole.
The Toronto...
The Toronto...
I know.
Hot Dog Weekly!
He's the guy that did Hot Dogg.
Kestall Hot Dog!
There was some Ranger fan last night yelling that at the garden about Kessel.
No, Castle.
Oh, it's like a puck bounce over his stick.
Too bad it wasn't a hot dog.
And it got laughs from the people around.
I'm all for shaming Steve Simmons for that fucking nonsense and his bat-shit explanation about a friend of his kid.
I don't know who we've already done it.
But it is a little bit easy.
No, as a writer, I do feel sad for him sometimes when he can be like,
the eloquence of Gord Downey's music was the perfect spiritual experience for Canadian.
And the first tweet back is,
But what about the hot dogs?
Hot dog, man?
He's, it's like the Cincinnati Zoo.
I always go back to this on Twitter,
because people still reply to that account with, like, Harambe references.
Like, you know who else love Gordowney?
Harambe.
Like, that's what they do.
They still do that.
RIP, Gordon, D.
If you want, but again, here's Steve Simmons on Matthews this season.
Many said, this is comparisons to Austin Matthews.
Again, he doesn't get the credit he deserves,
except for when people say, quote,
many said Ange Copatar, the Los Angeles Center,
some of said Peter Forgesburg, the Hall of Famer,
the Odd Scout compared his tenacity
to the Islander star, Brian Trotier.
So he's been compared to Forsberg,
Copatar, and Trotier.
But here's where I believe the credit is given
to this besmirched,
Louis-Eriksen-like underrated pariah.
Says Simmons,
it's becoming clear just days into his second season,
whom Austin Matthews most resembles.
You want to take a guess?
Like as a player?
Uh-huh.
I think you're going to say it was like Jesus Christ
because he's been persecuted
and not given the credit he deserves for setting Toronto free.
But he has cured a leper, i.e. the leaves.
Yeah.
I mean, yeah, they were falling apart
and now like their one whole thing again.
I'm going to say, oh wait, I think I know those.
It's Mario Lemieux, right?
It is becoming clear just days in his second season
whom Austin Matthews most resembles.
Matthews himself.
He is an original, and greatness has a way of distinguishing that in hockey.
So I just want to note that within a couple of weeks of TSN asking the question if Austin Matthews is getting the credit he deserves,
Steve Simmons of TSN writes that the only player that's comparable to Austin Matthews is Austin Matthews because he's that great.
That's even more annoying than when the central scouting list comes out.
and every player who's in the top 50 is compared to a Hall of Famer.
Like, number 49, Jack LaPierre, he's comparable to Brett Hull.
Wait, he's comparable to Brett Hull, and he's 49th among North American skaters.
So he's a third-round pick and he's going to be a Brett Hull?
Yeah.
Yep, that's what the gang sees up here in Central Scouting.
I know.
That's more annoying.
Austin Matthews is Austin Matthews.
There's a more annoying comparison than that.
Oh, my God.
And that's why I want truth, truth in scouting.
That's my only concern about the draft going forward.
I want there to be a guy who is going to be drafted 23rd, and he plays a certain way.
And somebody might look at him and say, you know what, that guy could be the next Cam Neely.
But truthfully, someone should look at him and be like, you know what?
He's probably Andrew Burnett.
He's a poor man's Brendan Gallagher.
Right.
Like maybe.
Maybe he'll score 15 a year for a couple of years.
By the way, Austin Matthews and the MVP voting, the guy didn't get credit, finished 11th.
He finished ahead of Alex Ovechkin last year.
So let's calm down in Canada.
Is he getting the credit deserves, though?
I don't know.
He's going to finish like third.
He's going to be a heart finalist this year.
But, but.
He's going to probably, I think he wins the heart this year.
If the Leafs win the division, I think he wins the heart.
That's my, that's my prediction.
I mean, he's probably going to have the point totals.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And also, again, like, if they win the division, I think he'll win the heart.
I don't know if they're going to make shit.
And the only way he won't is if the oilers continue to be absolute dog shit.
And then Connor gets 120 points and leads them to the bubble.
To the wild card.
Yeah, the wild card.
But they're not going to finish ahead of Tampa.
Tampa's got it
Tampa's finally all there
They're not going to finish out of Tampa
They're going to finish out of it
I picked them to win the division
I'm all in on them man
Like I think at the very least
They are an exceptional regular season team
That can wheel four lines
Great coach a goalie who I think can play
65 strong games
Like I picked the least to win the division
Because I think they're legitimately
A great regular season team at this point
I just questioned that when push comes to show
How are they great?
They lost more games than they won last year
How are they already great
in the regular season?
added Marlowe, they've got depth,
they've learned a thing or two about a thing or two. Outside of
Marner, I don't think there's going to be a huge drop-off.
It's the same team plus Marlowe.
They're good, they're a playoff team. I don't know if
they're necessarily going to have 108 points.
But to me, like, the big question about the leaves is what they
do in the playoffs. Like, I think that's where you
really see... That back end, man.
Yeah, that's a thing. Like, the
template and blueprint for a championship team
requires you to have one
outstanding defenseman and they don't have it.
Yeah, they got a bunch of like threes and
fours. That's a thing. Like, in the regular
It's like the penguins have no bottom six anymore because of Benito leaving and all that stuff.
But they have enough stuff where they're going to get 105 points in their regular season.
And that's why for all of this nonsense about Tavaris and what he's going to do, the real intrigue for me is Dowdy.
Like, if Dowdy, now the kings have a little juices here.
So maybe this helps make the case for him to stay there.
And maybe he just loves L.A.
And he's one of these guys who, unlike Babcock, who, you know, was the anomaly who went to Ontario.
Maybe he just never wants to go play back at home or whatever.
But like, when does his contract up after this?
it's after next year right next year yeah so that's not gonna happen that's what that's a ways away
and you don't even know what he's gonna be like in two years or it could be a situation where
he's just like i'm not i'm not gonna resign and you work out of trade with toronto right right
right fucking now trade me right fucking now get me get me out of here yeah i can't i can't take
but to me the intrigue for the leaves is much more about you know era who will be my scott
stevens uh then then anything involving john tveras yeah they're not going to get they don't
have no place for John Tovirus.
Unless they trade one of their young forwards for a defenseman.
There was that bad shit theory that he'd go sign there for a year to win a cup because of Leifes.
Yeah.
Like Shatton Kirk was going to do that, the two-year $20 million deal.
Like, that's just not what dudes do.
Although I'm sure Shatton Kirk regrets his decision immediately.
That was almost the Keanu Reeves Parenthood reference right there.
Remember when Lee Phoenix is his mom catches him beating off or whatever?
Who's Leaf Phoenix?
Fucking, Jo, Jo, Joaquin Phoenix.
Leaf Phoenix. River Phoenix?
No, River Phoenix died. His brother
Leaf became Joaquin.
Wait, I didn't realize they were related.
Who? Wachine Phoenix and
River Phoenix? Yeah. Yes.
No. God damn.
They don't look alike at all.
So, in parenthood, he gets caught
beating off and Diane Weist
is like a flustered single mother about it
or maybe she was a single mother
in Lost Boys. Maybe she had, I don't know who the fuck knows.
I'm going to Google it. But like
but like, like, Kianna Reeves is dating
Martha Plimpton in the movie
and he has to go and be the
go between Lee Phoenix and Diane Vist and
Vist.
All of a sudden I turned into
View will nods masturbate in me house
And he
gives her the speech that's like
That's what little dudes do
It's the whole point of that
There you go, it's a good reference
Thank you
There's one thing we learned on hockey Twitter recently
it's that it's really important to have vague references to movies nobody remembers
and tweets.
We'll get to that later.
Fuck.
Um,
well,
I don't know about all of that,
but here's what I do know.
There's nothing quite like seeing your favorite team or musician in person.
But you know what,
Dave?
Buying tickets to sporting events and concerts can be very complicated.
Yeah.
That's why you need seat geek on your mobile device.
All right.
Don't yell at me.
It has a seamless mobile experience that you buy and sell tickets in just two taps.
better yet by searching multiple ticket sites to compare prices and grading each ticket based on value.
Seekek helps you find the best seats for the best price fully guaranteed.
Lozo and I were in Vegas, as you know, we highly recommend getting the Seek app using it to find
Vegas hockey tickets when you're out there to see the Golden Knights and your team play the
Golden Knights.
I think that's going to be the best way to go about it.
And it's super easy.
How easy is it, Craig?
Well, I've got it on my phone.
It's by far the easiest way I found a shop for tickets.
It could be anywhere.
And with just a few taps, I can instantly find it.
find seats.
So make it your go-to app
for finding the best deals
on every type of ticket.
The green circles.
They tell you how good
the price and the deal is
and which ones you might
want to avoid.
And best of all,
for Puck Soup listeners,
you get $20 off
your first Seekkeek purchase.
Download the Seek app
and enter the promo code
SOUP today.
That's promo code soup
for $20 off your first
Seek purchase.
And you know what,
folks, the people that tweet
at us,
they're pictures of them at games
and saying,
hey, I use the Puck Soup offer
to get
these seats and $20 off these seats.
It's great. It makes us feel like...
Warm is my heart. It warms my heart that you listen to the show, but it also, I think,
also tells Seek that maybe we're doing something good and don't give us some more money.
Yeah, take their money. Take their money and spend it. That's what I say.
Pay that man.
Pay that man his money. Pay that man his money.
All night the chick, chick, chick, chick, for tickets.
Would, would, uh, would, uh, would, uh, uh, what was Katie KGB?
Would Teddy KGB be...
We're going to call him Katie D.
would Teddy KGB
use a different flavor
of Oreo do you think
in the day and age? Would he get
like the birthday cake one or would it have to be the same
one? I think he would stick with the old school.
Like there's that new one now where you have to figure out
the flavor. He would not be into that, I don't think.
He's a guy of routine. It's like
that's the same reason I don't eat stinky jelly beans
that my kid gives me. I don't like mystery flavors. Just tell me what the
fuck's inside of it. Well, you look at the color. It's pink. It's probably
you know, strawberry. Watermelon.
Or could be ppped upizmal?
Oh, dude, I love Pepto Obismo.
I would drink that nonstop if it didn't make your poop ball chalky.
That's Seek.
Promo Code Super $20 off your first Seekykeek purchase.
Before we get to our guest today, I thought we would touch on another interesting hockey thing.
Actually, it was the first thing I wrote about Longform on ESPN, which was the...
Longform.
Ooh.
Well, there's, as you can see, there's like shorter things that I write that are like 200 words
that are just there as sort of comments, like little bloggy comments.
as the night goes on.
And then there are longer stories
that you should read.
You know what's funny?
I saw that story first.
But you should definitely read the longer stuff.
I saw that story first
via Sean Leahy of Pro Hockey Talk.
I did too.
Yeah.
And I saw it also on Yahoo
under Sean Leahy's byline
because there's a content sharing agreement
between NBC and Yahoo.
Look at that.
They fired me, but they couldn't get rid of me.
It's called the boomerang effect.
He's like a stanza at play now.
You can't, you can't
get rid of him. Can't get rid of him.
My baby takes the morning
dream. No, that's when Kramer works for, that's
when Kramer works for the, he doesn't
have the job there, but he goes in with the briefcase
and the crackers. I thought that was the, the George one
where he's, he's, he's fired but
still work. Okay, who knows? Tell Mr. Thomas Sulu.
I'm in my office.
Wow, that is Joaquin Phoenix. Look at that. Yeah.
Brother of River Phoenix. And he's related to River
Phoenix? Did you really think that there
was another strain of Phoenix
families in Hollywood?
Sure. He was a member of that?
Phoenix isn't like a, that's
They named the city after River Phoenix.
Why would there not be more of them?
Wait, they didn't name Phoenix.
You mean Riverdale?
No, Riverdale's name for Philip Rivers, quarterback of San Diego Chargers.
Oh, you mean Sam Worthington slash Sean Avery?
Those three people are all the same clone, by the way.
I just want to point that out.
Wow, I had no idea that was Joaquin Phoenix in that movie.
I thought like Joaquin Phoenix showed up one day for a gladiator and suddenly he was an actor.
He's like, I'm going to be in Gladiator.
He was kind of a blonde-haired kid in Parenthood.
And he also had a different fucking name, so I think you can be all right on that.
And his name was Leif, Phoenix?
Or Leif.
Wow.
I don't know.
Hollywood lesson of the day, brought to you by Greg and Dave.
River Leaf.
Naming convention.
The other brother was Branch.
That's right.
Bog, Phoenix.
Their cousin Lake Bell.
See, like, now I don't know what's real or not.
They can be true.
Their Uncle Danny Ocean.
Oh, God.
The Southern Professional Hockey League has a great playoff concept
that they stole from a league in Austria.
in which the top three finishers in the standings of this 10-team league
select the first-round playoff opponent for them.
Love it. Love it.
So the top-seeded team, your conference champion or what have you,
can then choose the 8-seed, the 7-whatever they want to play.
They can choose a second seed for Al-Oloido.
Second-seat could be banged up and injured,
and now's the time to play them as opposed to the third round.
I think it's the thing where they pick between 5 and 8 or whatever.
So they can't pick the second seed.
I lied.
So you love it.
Why do you love it?
Because it's fun.
Especially with the NHL's point system.
It's just so wacky where like last year, like Montreal and the Rangers played in the first round.
That's stupid.
Like you should force teams.
I'm all for making NHL teams uncomfortable where it's like, hey, congratulations, Washington Capitals.
You've won the president's trophy for the second year in a row.
Well, that's great.
Thanks.
We're going to play the worst team.
Well, hold on.
You can pick any.
you want and you have to pick a team.
You can't just say we're going to take the worst team
because you're still picking them if you do that.
So go ahead, pick your team.
I love the idea of, like, Barry Trots having to explain
to the media why he picked the Toronto Maple Leafs.
It's just all bulletin board material.
It would just be so, so, oh, just add so much to the series.
See, I disagree with you because I think the flaw in this thinking
is that any of these teams that finish first
would ever not take the lowest seed.
They're going to play it safe.
But they're still going to take them.
Right.
But they're going to take it and then to answer your question, how do you explain it?
Simple.
Ah, you know, in the other format, this would have been the team we played.
So, you know, based on the point totals and the standings and how things would have gone,
I figured it was the only thing to do was to take this team.
Okay, but you're saying the lowest team in the standings.
Like, what if it's like last year where Montreal got screwed and had to play a really good team from the Metro
because of how the standings broke.
And the worst team was Ottawa, I think last year was actually the eighth.
highest team. So like if they picked
Ottawa in the first round, that's
them picking the worst team as opposed to picking
the Rangers who had more points, I think, maybe, than
Montreal. I mean, I get what you're saying. I think
they'd have to go back to 1-8 and
then just do it by points and not do it by the
divisional wild card bullshit thing.
But like, I just feel like this is,
if it ever was going to be in the NHL,
I think two things. I think first
from a fan experience
point of view, you've just pulled your pants
and shat all over, do shats.
shat all over the
Shet Duceus, I always fuck up his nickname
You shat all over the
The playoff race at the bottom of the standings
Like it doesn't matter where
You're still to get in
You're just trying to get in
But like for the five and six teams
Like, for like the six and seven teams
Like who gives a shit?
Like it doesn't matter anymore
You're at you are at the will
And the beck and call of the higher seas
That's awesome
It's not
Why don't you like that?
Because it ruins the experience
For people late in the season
Oh, think about it though
Like think about how often
At the end of the regular season
It's like Saturday, Sunday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday.
And teams still don't know who they're playing at that point.
So what does it matter?
You're ruining the last day?
But now you're leaving it to a decision versus an on-ice performance thing
where a team that is in the six and seven spot might be looking up at the team that's in the third or three spot and be like,
I don't want to play that team.
Let's haul ass and make sure we don't get that matchup.
Like it doesn't matter anymore because they could just be picked.
Yeah, but you can still wind up in the matchup you don't want by accident.
You can play really well and wind up in the matchup you don't want because of,
the other team not playing well.
You know what I mean?
Like, it's still, it would be so much fun.
The bigger problem, though, is what I just said, though.
I don't, this is a conservative league
where GMs just do everything they can to not get fired.
To go to the White House.
Oh.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, that too.
Yeah.
I had so many good Trump hotel jokes last night if the Penguins started off the
Ranger game shitty.
Oh, because they stayed at Trump.
So, I was going to do a bit where like, you know, they were like, well,
I was going to be like, well, maybe they were a little bit tired because they,
they were at Trump Tower because they, they were at Trump Tower because they,
They want to respect the building of the president.
Yeah.
It's just a, but it didn't work out.
The only thing I wanted out of that whole thing in finding out the penguins are staying at Trump Soho is like someone asked Sid, why are you guys staying at Trump?
Wait, were they really staying?
Yeah.
Oh, I didn't know that.
Yeah, there was a David Ferenholt thing that listed teams that were still using the Trump hotels.
Oh, I think the penguins were one of them.
I've seen those tweets.
I saw them there.
I saw those tweets and like, I couldn't read the, but it was a weird, it was really written out.
Like, I love the idea of them being like, Sid, you know, after all that White House stuff, why did you guys stay at a Trump hotel?
I wanted to just be like,
yeah, you know, they've got towels,
the best towels,
the best towels you can possibly imagine,
towels that make hotels great again.
Does Sidney Crosby like the sheets tucked or untucked?
Does Sidney Crosby like tucked sheets or untucked?
Sidney Crosby likes them tucked.
I agree.
Sidney Crosby likes to be cocooned in a sleeping experience.
And what's a steady...
It makes them think about the rehabilitation chamber
that his father made for him that he goes into during the summer and then is cocooned in there.
Like hyperbolic sleep, like those things that they had an interstellar where they laid down and the
water goes over their faces and they just sleep for the summer.
I haven't seen it.
Interstellar is only on FX and like it's so daunting when you put on FX and it's like interstellar.
You're like, oh, sweet, it's 402.
It just started and you hit info and it says interstellar from 4 o'clock to 830.
I'm like, no, I'm not doing that.
I'm not sitting here for four and a half hours through commercials and two comedians telling me about
when Matthew McConaughey tried out to be the guy in interstellar.
Oh, God.
Like, I'm not doing that for four hours.
The DVD on TV thing.
We've talked about it before.
It is one of the greatest things ever.
It's everywhere now.
Like, they do it on other shows, too, where, like, there's just two people talking about what's
on the DVD.
Like, I get it because the DVD people pay to have it on, so it's probably cheaper
for production.
But, like, you're watching Spider-Man, too, and you got this big old Spider-Man
boner going on.
You're like, oh, my God, the fight between Doc Gok and Spidey on the side of the building,
where Doc Gawks holding Aunt May and Spider-Man's got to find a way to get it.
And it's just like, when we come back from commercial, we're going to have that.
And it's like, the FX sequence that you're about to see was built over the course of six months.
And then it's like, you know, some rando from fucking Lucasfilm or something like, we really had to render the arms.
And he's like, shut the fuck.
Get me to the scene.
Alfred Molina is like standing there in front of a green screen and it looks like so stupid because he doesn't have the Doc Ack arms.
And it's like, well, Aframmila is a highly trained actor.
In the ways of theater and Broadway, this was very new firm at the time.
And Alphra Mellin is like, yeah.
tub and his little harness being dangled from the ceiling.
And you're like, yeah, it's before the scene you're dying to see it.
And then it's like, it's like a magician being like, let me show you how lame this trick really is.
I know.
It's like reverse pen and teller.
You don't get to see the trick first.
Like the only, the only extra I want to see is when Ben Affleck's doing the video commentary over Armageddon,
where he's talking about Michael Bay is like, wait, so I don't understand.
Why wouldn't they train the astronauts to be drillers?
It doesn't seem to make sense to train the drillers to be astronauts.
It's pretty fucking stupid.
And he's like, Michael Bay yelled that.
That's the only extra I want to.
see when I'm watching Armigan.
Ben Affleck's like, yeah, you know,
originally my idea was to use a cheese it on Liv Tyler's time.
Yeah.
That's what they have.
Liv was complaining that the cheeseette was too sharp.
It was sort of leaving little cut marks on her because, as you know, they're square.
So we decided to go for the rounded edges of the Animal Cracker instead.
It was safer for everybody on set.
We just thought that was the best way to go.
And the rounded edges were just more romantic, I thought.
And Michael's like, you got to use the cheese that's man.
cheese she's during the script.
The first reaction was,
there's a script.
And my second reaction was,
look, Michael, I walked over to him,
man, I said, look, man,
if there's even a 1% chance,
those cheez-ups are going to cut her tummy.
We have to be absolutely certain
that we don't use them.
God, they're going to make ten more
of those Batman's.
I hate everything.
So, listen, I'm excited to see how
it plays out in the Slimb profession hockey league.
I agree with you.
Like, in theory, from a fan perspective,
a media perspective,
having somebody swagger up there
and be like, you know what?
The draft at all, yeah.
We understand the number eight seed had the lowest number of points,
but the number seven seed,
aka you motherfuckers,
knocked us out last year,
so come get some.
Like,
it'd be the greatest thing in the history of hockey,
but again,
I feel like at the end of the day,
it's going to be much like,
much like the fantasy draft,
the all-star game,
much like everything else.
It would be awesome and then they'd stop doing it.
Yeah,
that's what they would be awesome to stop doing,
but also it would be awesome in theory,
and aggregate,
but not in practicality,
because teams wouldn't do it.
You would have that, for sure,
you would have those years where, like,
clearly the eight seed is the worst team,
so you'd pick them,
but maybe, you know, the two seed's like,
yeah, give me the six.
The only scenario I could see it happening
from a strategic standpoint
is if a team had,
like the Leafs,
had, like, gigantic egos
in their front office and behind the bench
that could justify the decision
because they think they're super geniuses,
like Mark Madden.
And, uh,
and, uh,
the local radio?
The local radio host.
And,
uh,
and so I could see a scenario in which it's the end of the season.
The seven seed is playing.
out the string, like, let's just say it's Montreal, and, uh, and, and fucking, uh, three games to go
in this season, Carrie Price blows out his knee. They're in the playoffs. They're the seventh seed,
blows out his knee. Yeah. And then, and then you're obviously going to maybe, well, obviously
going to make that team over the eighth seed, knowing that they're now a wounded animal.
It's great. Like the year the penguins lost to Tampa, I mean, the penguins were a higher seat,
but they had no Malkin and Crosby. Like, you would, you would pick that penguins team every time.
Like, bring on Bill Guerin, buddy. I'll take down 38.
a bill garren any day they know ron francis backing up that that that that team i love it yeah so there
it's interesting it was a it's a cool concept that i and i wish him luck and i hope that it works and because hey
the last time they tried something real fucking goofy was three on three overtime and look what happened
there friend yeah it's still pretty stupid three on three overtime but uh oh yeah by the way uh this week
was my first completely deflated by the presence of the shootout moment yeah where i was watching
the devil's and lightning and it's a fucking great game and it's just back and forth and super fun scoring
and what have you.
And the overtime is kind of boring
because it's four on four.
It's the devil.
The devils are the most boring
three out of three overtime time since John Heinz got there.
He's found a way to just stop out.
If they don't score off the opening face off,
they chances are other devils are going to go to a shootout.
And then they go to the shootout,
and I just don't give a shit.
But one of the things about the shootout
that I forgot I hated was the fact
that there are some guys
that get to go in the shootout
simply because of their shootout numbers
or whatever.
So merit?
You don't like merit?
What's wrong with that?
Stampco's,
has
Oh, he's terrible at it.
It's terrible at it. And Pilat's pretty terrible at it.
And so because of
playing the percentages and whatever,
like, the final shooter
for the lightning with the game on the line is Ryan
Callahan.
I don't think he's really good.
He's got okay shootout numbers.
Yeah? Because remember for years, like, Tampa,
like, I think it was Gie Bouchet was still there.
He would never use Stamco's. He'd use, like, damn oil.
Ovechkin was the same way in D.C.
Like, he just sucked at the shootout for a long time.
Right. Like, there's just certain skills, like,
dudes don't have. And of course, like, what
is the reason the shootout exists?
To end games prematurely and to generate
star-centric highlights that can be shown
on the sports center or whatever. People get up on their feet
in the arenas, so I don't know. And
what is the antithesis of that?
Not using your star players because they're actually
pretty bad at the shootout and using some fucking fourth-nine
plug instead. Because he's got a, he's got a
move. He's got a, yeah.
So they're not fucking Matt Hendrix to kick up the
leg and go backhand every time. Oh, man.
I can't wait to see the game on the line
and Stephen Stamco's with the puck on his
but this guy here
Francois Blinbleblee
You know he's only played 59 games
Over the course of nine seasons
But he's got to move
Like what are the most memorable shootout things
Ever happen? There's Fetter Tooten going through the legs
Like the first year of it
American League
You see Yokin and doing the
Uh huh
The Osi move obviously
Right
What was the Oshin Nielsen move
Oh the Franz Nielsen move
Oh the Franz Nielsen move
I'm just saying in perpetuity those two
Yeah like there's no real like
Oh man the Austin Matthews move
You know like there's no
Oh man
The Paction
Patrick Kane and Jonathan Dave is pretty good out.
There you go.
There you go.
Our guest this week is another Vegas-centric one because we did a couple of interviews while we were out there for their first game.
And I feel like now the Golden Knights are a juggernaut.
Can't be stopped.
We could probably continue to talk about them.
They play Buffalo in Arizona 75 times this year.
Lou, do you think it's DeAngeli or Deangelli?
I forget.
Yeah, we probably should have figured to stop before we started talking.
I'm sure he says it at some point.
but he is a VP of marketing.
What?
No, I just like saying Lou.
He's a VP of marketing promotion for Cirque de Soleil in Vegas.
And he's awesome.
Not only because he's the Cirque de Soleil guy, but for his previous life, you might have seen his name on the episode.
You said yourself, who the fuck this guy?
Well, here who the fuck this guy is.
He's signed Guy Dudley from ECW.
he's a he's a fan who started showing up at ECW matches in Philly at the bingo hall
became ingrained in the bits they were doing got to know the wrestlers worked his way up
became a promoter then eventually started another character that mocked Paul Heyman called
louis dangerously where he ran around with a giant cell phone and hit people with it
he's he's a fascinating dude a huge penguins fan well he's he's he's now part penguins
Part VGK.
Even though I did spot on his cell phone, he has a big Penguins logo on it.
Lou is a great conversation.
I think you're going to really like this one, and we'll be back after this.
Lou, you are the marketing what for Cirque de Soleil?
Oh, I'm a jack of all trades for Cirque to Soleil.
I'm vice president of marketing for Las Vegas and the resident show division,
which is all the shows that don't tour.
That don't tour?
The don't tour.
So the one that was in, or I don't know if it's still there,
but wasn't Times Square.
It's not there anymore.
But that would be under your purview.
That was actually the theater division,
so now we're going to get really confused on.
Oh, my gosh.
So we have, let's take a massive step back.
Who manages the clowns?
Who makes the clowns?
Sometimes I do, and sometimes I am a clown.
No, there's seven shows in Las Vegas that we run out of this office,
and then we have recently acquired the Blue Man Group.
Oh, shit.
Yeah, so we have eight shows in Las Vegas now that we're responsible for,
and Blue Man's also in four other cities.
Right.
So we're responsible.
of those guys. Like, how do you negotiate?
It's all like this.
It's all like...
You know, we can see what I'm doing right now.
It's her moving my hands around.
You're like, is this enough money?
They just make it like a look at Twitch.
You know what it was cool?
They kissed my daughter.
They put their finger on their forehead.
And they got the paint off and then put it on her forehead.
And that's how they, I guess, kiss people.
Mark them?
It's like marking their territory.
Wow.
So now I'm imagining how they have sex.
I can't comment on that.
I can't comment on that.
I can tell them.
Yeah, having Blue Man in our portfolio is pretty awesome.
Yeah.
It was like I was always a big fan now to get to work with them directly is awesome.
It's like so humorous and the humor is so dry sometimes.
I'll be laughing in the theater for like a no one also.
I mean, a lot of people get it, but I find it extra hysterical.
To speak to your query, though, I think the word is messy.
I think it will probably be messy.
Well, no, he has to touch something and it touch something else.
I just feel like they put down plastic.
I don't know how much.
to God here. I was talking about how they kissed my daughter.
Who's eight, by the way?
Hey, I'm looking at this guy.
I'm looking at this guy over here.
I have a seven-year-old.
It's a wonderful thing.
They're in that perfect age of...
It's so cool.
I mean, I don't know about you, but mine is a nice kind of sassy, but not an eight, I hate
you.
I resent you kind of sassy.
So I have two.
I have an eight and 12-year-old.
Okay.
My 12-year-old is getting to the sassiness, but super still respectful.
My eight-year-old's like the rock-and-roll side of me.
And the 12-year-old's like the artistic side of me.
So I have a very good medley of girls.
That's awesome.
Yeah, it's pretty awesome.
I love having it around the business.
And they've been exposed to so many cool different things.
I mean, when we moved to Vegas seven years ago, like, had no idea what was going to happen.
And the fact that they get the play on our stages and, like, interact with the artists and the cast and the crew and the artistic guys and all this kind of stuff has been really, really awesome.
Do you realize if this was 100 years ago, she would be the girl who grew up with the car?
carnival. She'd be a carne. She'd be a carne. And they put the mark on the backs of some of the people in Carlin marks.
Her friend would be the dog face boy. And you know the whole thing. Yeah. It's pretty amazing.
Dog face boys in my office right now.
How did you get, how did you make the, how did you end up with Cirque this whole day?
You know, I was work, I've worked in live entertainment my whole life. It's always been my dream when I was a younger, younger.
What are you, 26?
44 but mentality of a 17 year old most of the time
no my whole life was about welcome to the podcast
I always wanted to be in live entertainment
I always found a fascinating about production and concerts initially
in sports obviously and so I was growing up
I either wanted to be a pro wrestler
I wanted to be Eddie Van Halen or I wanted to be a pro hockey player
wrestling worked out I got that dream and now I'm on the other side of entertainment
so I didn't get the any band handling of the pro hockey piece,
but I've touched all of it.
I worked for World Wrestling Entertainment for four years,
and prior to that I was promoting concerts and whatnot,
working the arena business.
But while I was at, WWE, I got a call from a recruiter,
which was recruiting for Cirque Disillay,
and that's how the path started.
So initially, I remember, like it was yesterday,
getting a call from a headhunter saying,
hey, we have this job opportunity.
Are you interested?
I was like, well, where's the job?
They're like, Las Vegas.
I was like, in what company?
They're like, we can't tell you.
I'm like, all right, so then you want me to what?
And I said Cirque de Soleil, and I was like, on board instantly.
We need someone to market the people who hand out the stripper business cards.
Yeah, seriously.
That could be anything.
Or it could be Cirque de Soleil, one of the two.
It was a bit.
So that's how I got here.
That was seven years ago.
You could still live the hockey dream.
You could be one of those like emergency backup goalie tickets.
Yeah, I don't know, man.
I don't know.
I mean, I was hoping to play like second or third line for the knights,
but that's not going to work out because they have a good team.
It turns out they're better than maybe we thought they were.
Yeah, I had full dibs on, like,
that. I was going to be
second or third line center.
I suppose we should probably talk about hockey and the
hockey podcast. So you are,
you grew up a penguins fan yet?
So yeah, I grew up outside Philadelphia.
I was a dual fan.
I was always a Flyers fan because I loved
Bobby Clark when I was growing up.
And when Mario Lemieux started in the league,
I mean, everyone has this story.
That's when penguins got good, you became penguins.
Yeah, they were bad this first few years. Remember that.
He was, of course you guys know that,
but I mean, I saw him do things I never thought.
like possible.
And the attraction to that, then to the team,
and then when they start getting really good,
was fun to be part of it.
They had some amazing teams.
And growing up in high school,
like I wore 66,
of course I got made fun of by everybody on the ice.
Oh, the fucking hubris.
Yeah, I mean, it's like, what do you,
like, what do you think you're Mario?
Like, yeah, I do.
I try to do his moves and make mistakes.
It was horrible.
I was horrible.
But it was so fun because, yeah,
watching him was amazing.
And Bobby Clark with the grit, too,
was really amazing, too.
So when he retired, Mario was there and eventually know where they're at now.
But, I mean, I've always had kind of a dual allegiance.
And then now it's really just the penguins and the Knights, not so much the Flyers.
Well, I wanted to ask, before we get to the back to the Lens, I wanted to ask you about the numbers.
Because, like, we were watching the Knights on their debut game.
We both found it interesting that it's like, and this sometimes happens with expansion teams.
A lot of really weird numbers.
It's kind of cool.
You know, like an 83 and a whole thing.
It was very odd to see it.
But I remember the Ottawa Senators and it came into the league.
Alex Deg and Yash and all had numbers in the 80s and 90s and they kept them.
You know, I saw it in Pittsburgh too and like Connor Sherry was coming in, right?
And they gave him that weird high number because they don't know if he's going to stay.
He just keeps the number.
And then that's kind of cool.
Yeah, a lot of guys traded in for like the normal number.
Yeah, like once you graduate.
But like the 43s and stuff like that.
Or once the guy who has your number gets your can't, then you can get his number.
You don't have to worry about paying him or anything.
It doesn't make sense though because if you're Vegas, there's no retired numbers.
You can be whatever you want.
You don't have to be 88.
You can be...
Well, we haven't 87, but he's in Chicago for some cases right now.
We talked about that on the show before.
Like, if I was ever good enough to play in the league,
I would completely look at my franchise as history
and say which number could I be the best number of?
You could own.
Yeah, like, if I was on, like, the Devils and I was like,
who was number four...
There's no good number 14s probably in Devils history.
There's probably, like, a really good number 14.
I'm missing.
There's a number four that was really good.
That was pretty good.
I would totally just pick that number and be,
Like, people will know, people will know
I was the best fucking 14th.
Wasn't Shanney 14?
No, man.
Shany was 14.
No, he is.
He was.
All right, let me look this thing.
You guys talk about it.
Actually, here's what I don't get.
Why is it?
Why is nobody ever number 69?
Why not?
I don't know, man.
It's hilarious.
I think there were some kids when I played in that high school team.
I was telling you about that might have been, but.
That's a price.
Other than that, no.
You grew up around Philly.
Were you in the building last night?
Oh, yeah, it was.
Yeah.
Yeah, it was unbelievable.
It was one of the more.
unique things I've ever... Look, I've been around, my first hockey game I went to was in 1980,
and last night was a lot. To me, it wasn't just, it wasn't a hockey game, it was about the
community, and I'm like super serious with that. Like, I know a lot of people say that, but we all
really mean it. Like, CERC was a part of it, but the Knights really did a great job driving that,
and what they did for their tribute to the community was unbelievable, like simply unmatched.
I don't know how you could show that kind of support and sympathy in any other way.
And they're a class acts. And you know what? Honestly, honestly,
in the last like two or three months as they've
coming in the community, their impact on the community right away
has been like really
genuine, well received. And last night
it was like, it's really hard to put
into words. A lot of people ask, I can.
It was super emotional. Were you a true believer
about hockey in Vegas
or did you have some reservations
about whether a team
would work here? Yeah, no, I was always a believer.
And again, not just, it's not just a line.
The reason I thought it would work is because
of the intensity and the speed of the sport
and how their marquee players now are just so cool
that like the Austin Matthews are the word of McDavid's,
all the guys, you know,
it's a good time for the league.
And I think from a marketing standpoint,
they have a lot of good things to go around
and you bring that into a city like this.
So now you have a local audience that's into the team here.
But then they're going to see all these other guys
that are just freaking unbelievable.
And they're going to become fans of the game.
And I always thought it had a chance.
For guys in marketing DC, in Vegas,
Yeah.
How do you view the idea that this is going to be a honeypot for tourists?
You're going to go to some of these games,
and maybe you're going to see, you know, 55, 60 percent brewing fans at one of these games.
Like, is that you think ultimately good for the atmosphere?
Is that sort of just coin to the realm when you have a team in Vegas?
I think it's part of it, honestly.
I mean, look, it's a lot of, I mean, the majority season tickets were sold locally,
so there's going to be that base.
But it's the same thing.
The way I look at it is like this.
for the last seven years before this team started,
I used to go to Anaheim,
and I probably still will,
to see the penguins play.
Part of that trip was Disneyland.
Part of that trip was Legoland.
So now it's Las Vegas,
so I'm in Montreal where I can't buy a ticket for a Habs game,
but I can fly to Vegas,
or I'm in Edmonton,
I can fly to Vegas,
and now I'm here for four days.
I see my hockey team,
I see a Cirque de Soleil show,
I see everything else to the city has to offer.
That's how I view this working.
What's your favorite Cirque to Salé version?
The only one I saw was the water one,
And, like, admittedly, I was a little, oh, wow.
It was, I was hypnotized.
Like, I was, like, I was hypnotized.
I was worried they were going to hit their heads on the sea.
I was like, I was, it was just the most amazing acrobatic thing I've ever seen.
Yeah, look, it's, it's the wow moments we create, right?
Every night there's something in one of the shows that you're just like, oh, my God, like, how does that happen?
And I've been here for seven years.
I've seen the shows probably hundreds of times now.
One by my job and one by choice.
I love the Beatles love.
I love Michael Jackson.
one. To me, they're living
music videos for 90 minutes.
And I'm a music guy. I just, I love music
to see that. But here's the thing.
All the shows have something in them that I
genuinely like, and obviously the city
likes because they do so well. But
it just depends on my mood. For me personally,
it's like, it depends on my kids ask me
what they want to do, and then what I want to do.
And sometimes it's like I'm really on a big
cock kick, or I'm on a stare kick,
or I'm on a humanity kick, and then I'm on
an O kick, and now it's like the Beatles and
MJ. But what I like about those two shows is
really shows Cirque's diversity in how you can work with a third party.
And, you know, the Beatles and Michael Jackson.
Yeah.
And there's a lot there.
And those aren't exactly the easiest third parties to work with sometimes, right?
You know what?
They've been great, though.
And, you know, yeah, it's always a challenge with anybody.
But because of Sirc dislay's reputation and because of what we've been able to put on stage,
they have a lot of trust in what we do, how we, you know, have the creative for the shows,
how we market the shows, and how we just do everything together.
It's actually been pretty cool.
I mean, to say I work with the guys and the Beatles is like, what?
So playing off of what he kind of hinted at before, was that scene and knocked up the greatest advertising for Cirque?
What's that?
The scene of knocked up where I wrote...
Oh, yeah, yeah, it was pre-made.
Was that an amazing advertiser for Cirque, or was it one of those things where you guys were like...
I wasn't here when it happened.
However, however...
The scene would have been much longer had you been here.
It would have been the movie.
I'm a big believer in those kind of partnerships and those kind of outreach and integration.
Look, we have to have fun here, honestly.
I mean, if we look at it too seriously,
and you can analyze that scene or anything else
that's ever been proposed to death,
but we're trying to do more of that stuff.
That's for one of the reasons we did the thing with the Knights.
It was such an obvious synergy
between the community and the NHL,
but we've also worked with, like,
just worked with the Imagine Dragons
on sharing a video at the O Theater at the Bellagio.
Last April, we worked with the killers
on opening T-Mobile Arena.
We did a performance with them.
It's things like that.
Now, Life is Beautiful as a festival they have here
once a year for five years. We always have a performance
on the stage.
And we do that to reach new audiences, but to integrate
with other cool artists and brands. I think
it's super important to do that stuff. But is there
more people doing drugs now at Cirque Dislake
because of the movie? Like, seriously.
I have no idea.
They have cups of urine samples
as they walk in. It goes wrong
and the cops got to come in and it's like Cirque Disillate
for, you know, acid
overdose or something because I saw it in a movie one.
Is it Bonarue?
What happens to these shows? I don't think it's
I don't think our audience is that's quite happening.
I'm not going to lie to you.
I don't know how drugs work.
Now, Popperfield.
No.
So the Knights being here is such a cool thing.
And we talked about this on a previous podcast.
I wanted to ask you as a Penguins fan.
How do you handle the fandom now?
Are you a Knights fan except for when they play the Penguins?
Are you a Penguins fan who dabbles in Nightdome?
How do you work that?
It's split.
Yeah?
So you're back in your own flyer penguin games.
It's going to be hair.
but the good thing is they're in separate comments.
Right, exactly.
But look, I'm a big believer in what the Knights are trying to do and will do.
And actually, it's a fun team to watch.
I mean, let's be honest.
And I think there's some really good players.
Obviously, you know, Flurry and James Neal and all those guys are former penguins.
Oh, right.
Yeah, exactly.
But as I told somebody last night, it's not like you're just going to drop allegiance
from a team that you've been rooting for for 30 years or something like that.
I think it all works together.
Here's the thing.
It may sound cliche.
I'm a hockey fan.
I know I watch other teams all the time.
You know, and I have no elites.
agency either. I might just like to watch cool hockey.
At the end of day, I think a Penguins' Knights Stanley Cup one day would be amazing.
It's going to be a little bit. What do you mean one day? We're 3 in O.
I know. That's me due to this podcast and nights are on the beat it.
They're playing the parade.
That's happening in Toronto. Let's be honest.
Toronto is playing a parade. But I think three years, they might have a parade.
I don't know how you guys. They might have a parade this year. They're a fantastic hockey team.
That's what I mean. I can watch that team any night of the week. And it's like, it's great.
As a Penguins fan, how did you, how did you, how did you, uh, how did you,
wrap your brain around the plight of Flurry
and Flurry ending up here
and having him be all of a sudden
go from being this guy
in one comes of the Penguins
to be the guy on the sign in front of the arena
for the nights.
He's the guy.
I think it's amazing for him.
It was something I was thinking about
while I was driving back here
to talk to you guys was like
I watched him last night
in a way that I've never watched him before
and what I mean by that is
when you're watching the Penguins
who are you watching Crosby,
you're watching Malcon, you're watching those guys.
And you know Flurie's there.
Right.
So last night was like the
flip, I watched Flurry.
Yeah.
He goes from being, don't fuck up,
to now being the guy who you have to rely on to win the game.
That's how I looked at it.
And to me, it was like, sad for the Penguins,
super thrilled that Vegas got a three-time Stanley Cup champion
and a legit goalie.
So let's be honest, though, next year it's Flurry versus Matt Murray in the cup final.
What are you doing?
In your mind right now, you just flashed on the U-Refere, what's the answer?
What am I doing right now?
I'm in Vegas.
I'm in Vegas.
Oh, there it is.
Unless I'm not at CERC anymore and I'm back in Philadelphia.
Oh, that is for.
No.
That'd be a tough one, man.
That's a tough one.
I don't think it's going to happen next year.
You touched on it before.
I'm an avowed wrestling fan.
I was an ECW fan.
It's cool to meet you.
Awesome.
How did you get mixed up with ECW and the Dudley's?
Wow.
Oh, my goodness.
That was a...
So remember my three dreams when I was growing up?
When I was in college,
I went to University of Hartford and Connecticut.
So I used to go to the Whalers games all the time.
the way.
We should pause and say that you were a sign guy Dudley.
Yes.
At the NCW.
Yeah, I was Sign Guy Dudley, and then I was Louis Dangerously for about a year and a half.
Right.
We'll get to that.
My bad.
My bad.
This is going to sound nuts.
But when I was in, I think it was in 1994, I was on like spring break or something,
Christmas break, something back in Philadelphia.
And I had not been watching wrestling since I was like 14 or 15.
Turned on the TV.
I remember very distinctly, Eddie Gilbert coming to the ring with a change.
to beat up Terry Funk.
If you guys are wrestling fans,
these guys are like staple guys
at the time Funk still is.
And he passed away many, many years ago,
but he was unbelievable.
I was like,
what is this?
These guys are being,
like this looks like the stuff
I watched in the 80s
when I was growing up.
So lo and behold,
that was being filmed in Philadelphia,
where I am.
At a bingo hall.
At a bingo hall.
And I'm like,
I got to go check this out.
So it turns out they had like a TV taping,
like a month later.
I drove back from college
just to go to the TV taping.
And it was like,
there was 100 people there.
There's nobody there.
And I picked up a program, and I just left and went on about my way.
Now, at the same time, while I was in college, I was writing for the school newspaper.
I was, like, the music editor.
So I was doing a lot of cool band interviews and, like, covering concerts and all that.
And I said, well, I can do this for wrestling.
So there was, like, a phone number to call.
So I called this guy, Gabe Sapolsky, who now is like he's done Ring of Honor.
He's worked for NXT.
He's doing this.
I think he's doing some stuff with WW.
He's done a lot of really good stuff behind the scenes, like, as a booker.
So anyway, I called him, and I said, I want to write for the program.
and he's like, well, I'm not, I can't, we don't pay anything or whatever.
I was like, I don't care, I just want to come right.
So sure enough, I start going on the shows and I start writing these really long, like show reviews
and like match by match or what happened.
And then I was like, man, you need like pictures.
I can take pictures at ringside.
He's like, are you a photographer?
I was like, I can be.
And so I brought this little camera to ringside and I start taking pictures.
I like how journalism hasn't changed a 25 years ago.
He's doing everything.
He's doing it for free.
Yeah, 100%.
I got it to watch the shows, which was fine.
I mean, they were nice literally.
we go out into the streets of Philadelphia
to offer people a hot dog and a Pepsi to come
into the building. Just to fill it up.
It's like that, you know,
working at a shitty comedy club hustle.
Exactly. That's what it was. But what happened
was, this is also the grunge error. Okay, so I had
the flannel shirt, really long hair.
The beer, the whole thing rocking.
And one night
someone, Raven,
do you remember Raven? Oh, you know who these guys are.
Who's legitimately dressed like you at that point?
Yes, yes. And he said,
are you like, you know, are you trained?
or you, I'm like, no.
He's like, well, congratulations, you're now
a sign guy Dudley.
And I was like, what is what that didn't even mean?
So you are, are you familiar with the Dudley boys?
He's not a wrestling guy.
Okay.
I remember the Dudley Boys.
Yeah, tag team.
A bizarre gimmick.
Like, it was the Hanson Brothers.
Yeah.
It was supposed to be the Hanson brothers.
Right, you're right.
Yeah, that's amazing.
Yeah.
And that's what it was.
I don't know.
The Ants brother's, yeah.
That's the tape between the glasses and everything.
That's what Ravens idea.
And they just go out and beat the shit of people.
Yeah.
And basically that.
And, and.
so I graduated to be signing guy
Deli said what is Sign Guy Dudley? He said you're going to sit
in the crowd and hold the sign. There was
a guy who used to come to the ECW arena that used
to make signs and they were what we call
like smart signs like he was an insider.
He had inside knowledge of the business so he
put things on the sign that would potentially like
ruin the show or ruin a surprise
or take a jab at like an inside
guy. Would he be guessing at the angles or would he
someone was tipping him off somewhere?
We eventually found that out later but so
I would go in the crowd of Signing Guy Deli to basically
like won up this guy.
And on my first night I was doing it, like I thought I was just holding the side.
Tommy Dreamer legitimately not planned, not called beforehand, pulled me over the guardrail, threw me in the ring, hit me with the chair, and gave me a DDT on the chair.
This is like legit.
There's no, on my kids, it was not planned out.
Did you know how to take the bump?
I did.
It was in college I used to play wrestling.
You know, you're messing around with your buddy.
You're like, DT in the middle of the field.
You know, it's like stuff like that.
I did take the bump.
Dreamer couldn't believe I took the bump.
He's like, wow.
You actually kick your legs, everything.
You're a prodigy.
No, so from there, he's just like,
Connor McDavid of getting...
Yeah, that's a good comparison.
I see this the salaries off a little bit.
Kind of of David of getting DGT on a steel chair.
That's not of your business car.
Dude, I love that.
Carter of David of being DBT on his steel chair.
So then, like, the next month at the arena,
I start showing up to now be a talent.
And they had some guy choke slamming.
His name was 9-1-1.
I almost broke my arm because I couldn't do that.
Yeah.
worst things you can do is reach back for the ground as you're going up because you'll break
your arm.
On slow-mo, it looks like I broke my arm, but I didn't.
And then they said, you have to come to the wrestling school.
ECW, I mean, I don't think you're wise to it, but it was, there are very few things in
pop culture or in entertainment that you can look at and say it's just this beautiful moment
of unpredictability and chaos.
And wrestling got to that point, too.
I mean, ECW obviously had an enormous amount of impact on what WWF did during that time.
I mean, the attitude error is clearly built off of that.
And that feeling, and this is the thing I miss most when I do dabble in wrestling is,
that feeling of tuning in and not knowing anything that's going to happen.
It's all lost now.
Yeah.
And it's tough.
I mean, I think the Internet's to blame for that.
I think so.
Honestly, like, people are.
And because they play it in the Internet now.
Well, that, right.
Before, when you didn't have it, we could still pull off those surprises.
Right.
And I always say, like, ECW was really the last group that did that.
But, like, so Paul Heyman's run in ECW, but I doubt this.
he is all that concerned with, I mean, he's concerned about what the crowd reactions would be,
but he's not concerned about servicing the fans the way that the bookers today seem to be.
No, no, no, no.
Paul did his own thing.
Yeah.
And that's why it was fun.
I mean, look, he was, he did everything on the fly for the most part.
But he also, what he did, which was amazing.
And look, he had a good team of guys around him, too, that helped support this was he'd run storylines for years that would just feed off of each other the whole way through.
That does not happen anywhere now.
The guys are, the shotgun storylines, everything kind of just pays off itself real fast.
Tommy Dreamer and Raven, I think, had three years together.
Three years of build, but intertwining, like, everybody else that was in ECW.
And while you're doing that, you're making all the other guys better.
So that was genius.
At one point, Paul Heyman's your boss, and then you actually become a parody character of Paul Heyman.
What was that like?
So that's an interesting story, too.
So the Dudleys went to WWF or WWE, whatever it was at the time.
I did not go.
I was not offered a deal, that's fine.
But I, at that time, had also started to learn how to be a promoter
and how to do business on the business side.
I was convinced that once the Dudley's left, the performance side of my career was done.
How many years is this from the time you first hold the signs to the time you're...
This is 95 to 99, right?
So in four years, you're on this accelerated path from like...
Yeah.
Like, fighter, wrestler, promoter.
Now I'm learning to be a promoter.
That time in wrestling, though, was like...
It was like dog years.
Like, it was...
The things would happen when the spanisher...
of months that you would, your mind
was blown how quickly the business has changed.
Yeah, like, it's super fast.
It's like, imagining, like, a hockey player
going from, like, juniors to the NHL to, like,
retired in, like, three years.
He's the T.
T.m.
He was the Kahn of McDavid of promoters.
You're the kind of McDavid of wrestling
advancement.
Dude, that's, actually, I'm going to take this
and probably steal this.
Just write this T-shirt company.
A violent gentleman will do with something.
I just realized the penguins.
You have the Penguins logo on the phone.
Of course.
Oh, man.
So you become a promoter.
So I learned the business side of it.
But I still had long hair, and I still had a beard and all that kind of stuff.
And about three months after the Dudleys had left, everybody used to come up legitimately
from behind me if they didn't see my face and call me Paul.
So I looked like Paul Heyman.
The bill, the hair.
Everything was like Paul.
And Tommy Dreamer was like, you got to be like Louis Dangerously.
And they did it.
And now parody of my boss.
And my boss is basically booking the angles that I'm now running to.
against him on. And there's
a lot of fun we had with that character.
There's a lot more I think we could have done, but I was still
like, it was pretty awesome.
What a whirlwind, man.
No, you go from... What was his reaction to it?
You know, I think he liked it.
I don't think he loved it, to be honest.
But here's the thing. And I want to
qualify that statement a little bit.
Paul, without Paul, none of us
were anywhere. Right. And
a lot of people knock them, and I hear
it a lot. They didn't pay us, they didn't do this,
they didn't do that. You know what? We all
chose to stay there and without him
a lot of people didn't have careers and so
while I think Louis Dangerously could have gone further
Paul's a genius I trust what he
was doing and it is what it is and I
probably wouldn't be sitting here talking here right now
at Cirque to Saleh if I didn't start from
in the wrestling business the way I did because it just
went on as you said the Connor McDaniel
as a promoter as a guy who understands
how to get an entertainment
property over when you look at
the NHL as a whole
what are your thoughts what is
it that they don't do here in the States
that you think that they should do more of
to try to get the sport over more? I think it's just
marketing the guys more. Yeah. You know, I don't
think, I think the NHL as an identity is cool
but there's so much talent. I think they do a great
job with Sid. I mean, I'm a biased
to Sidney-Crosby, too, but look
the guys we were just talking about, we're making
Joseph McDavid and Matthews, but those guys are
legitimate like stars and there's lots of
other guys, and I think building the personalities
and profiles of those guys would be... It's tough
though, man. Some of them don't
have personality. Here's the thing. I had this
debate. I forget who we were. I was doing an interview with somebody
had the same debate. You don't have to make them talk.
You don't have to, it's not wrestling.
You don't have to create this storyline where Austin Matthews
wants to play more time so he takes that Patrick Marlowe
with a stick. That's not what we're saying.
But you've got to build their profile of who
they are and their moves and their skill sets
and like, I mean, some of those stuff
those guys, you know, McDavid on opening night blowing past
everybody, I'd show that freaking everywhere.
That'd be amazing because you get Matthews over
as a heel. Marlowe's one of the best,
Marlowe's one of the best faces in the lead.
I mean, he's got kind of, he's got kind of
eyebrows.
Yeah.
So, I mean, you know, he's going to be a face.
Patrick Marlowe is, you know, coming in, what, 18, 19 years?
Yeah.
And Matthews is at year two.
Right.
And Matthews doesn't want to lose playing time or the vet, so they get into it a little bit.
You guys are joking.
This is going to bring people.
I mean, I just saw an alert that said Patrick Marlowe was treated.
No, I do think Lozo makes a good point, though.
It's like, it is a situation.
I've heard the same thing about the league.
Like, you market the guys more.
And you can market skill.
and I think the game is a lot easier to market.
Now, like, back in the 90s when they were trying to put over Forsberg as being, like, the next great thing.
Like, you couldn't because he wasn't scoring, because there was no scoring.
Everybody was clutching to grab him.
So I think you can sell skill now.
But, again, the thing that's hard to do is hockey culture, and we see it time and time again as reporters.
Yeah, the guys can't beef themselves.
They just strangle these guys to not have personalities, be interesting, everything else.
And it's, it comes back to bring it back to us, and it comes back to the fact that,
You know, back in the day, when you needed to get somebody here, you put Bobby Heaton with him, because Bobby's the talker.
And they're just some guys that can't draw heat because they can't, they don't have the personality for it.
And I wish that Connor and Austin were a bit better at that.
Sid's gotten a lot better at it, too.
I think Sid's great.
I think the role model he is is amazing for everybody.
But I think in the case of all those guys, really, they can't talk.
It's not about that.
It's about creating content around these guys.
shows what they do on the ice.
I mean, some of those highlighted goals are like, I mean, it's pretty ridiculous stuff.
And anybody, at the game last night, all right, I was with one guy who's not really a hockey fan, right?
And the goals were, they were growing goals, right?
They were just shooting and scoring.
And Derek had a great slap shot.
Those are just, those are goals.
Yeah.
And they were blown away by that.
I'm like, if you're blown away by that, like, let me show you this thing that happened on opening night.
Let me show you OV.
Right.
Scoring four goals.
And hockey translates better in person, too.
Like a bad average goal when you're there is amazing compared to what you're watching.
Last night is as soon as a, that last night was unbelievable.
Last thing for me, and thank you for your time.
Yeah.
If you could create any Cirque de Soleil property, if you could book a Cirque de Soleil,
with any of things in your life, music, whatever, that you think would translate,
what would it be?
I would do, it's very clear to me, some kind of horror, acrobatic thing that's Rob Zombie.
Rob Zobbis.
That's absolutely the thing I was thinking in my memory.
He said that.
Marilyn Manson meets Cirque de Saleh.
Rob Zombie's Cirque to Salé.
Something there.
Because I just think, like, especially in Vegas, if you have that horror kind of like,
Eli Roth tried something, and it called the Goratorium, like, three or four years.
Oh, really?
It didn't work.
I think it was a bad financial model.
He probably also had cannibals and misogy.
But that's badass.
And I remember I met him on opening night, and I'm a big fan of his, and he's a huge Cirque fan.
Yeah.
Oh, is he really?
Yeah, and he said to me, I want the Goratorium to be to Las Vegas with Cirque.
circus. Okay, that didn't work out, but he has an idea there that something like that could.
So for me, that's where I would go.
Who is your most interesting, uh, Cirque-related, like, uh, celebrity meeting?
Like, I'm sure you've probably met some people that are Cirque fans and...
Yeah, oh, man, I got to think about that.
Because Eli Roth is a pretty good one to be honestly.
I mean, it's a very ready to, honestly, I'm tied to back to hockey. I mean, Wayne Gretzky.
Oh, really?
Gretzky was a pretty big one.
But you had to reveal yourself as a Mario Mark?
No.
You want to hear a funny story?
Yes.
I have time to tell one of the story.
All right.
It's a podcast.
This is great, though.
Three years ago, Michael Jackson won was a year in.
And every night that there's guests coming in, we get the company managers who run the overall.
So get a list of people that are coming.
And if you see a celebrity on there, like a VIP, you may flag your PR team and say, hey, X, YZ's person coming, you know, and we should have a photo, blah, blah, blah.
So the company manager and Michael Jackson won, is a huge hockey fan is from Toronto.
He calls me to this stupid.
Mario Lemieux is on the guest list.
And he calls me at 8 o'clock, and the show's over at 8.30.
He goes, I just saw it.
And I'm like, so I'm 20 minutes away from the strip.
I literally was like, I think I was laying down with my daughter or something.
I jumped out of bed.
I blitz down.
That he's got to go.
I need him.
It's like 829.
And he's like, we're set.
We're just going to wait.
You know, somebody went and saw him in his seats.
The whole thing, we're just going to wait in the lobby for him.
And we're going to stop him off from backstage tour.
the whole thing. It's freaking Mario, right?
So we wait, we wait, we wait. No one, like,
the whole theater empties. I'm like, we must have missed
them. Like, let's go look in the sports book.
So we're like, let's go look in the restaurant.
Finally, we just can't find the guy.
So then the same guy and I go out and have a drink
after the game or after the show. And I'm like,
man, that's so strange that, like, this guy's tall.
They said he was there.
And then just, I was like, I wonder if there's like,
we're mixing him up with somebody.
There's a Mario Lemieux that works for Cirque to Sala.
And that's who was there that night.
Oh my God.
So there's the rip on me.
That's amazing.
Blue are the past.
What do you want to let the people know about Cirque de Soleil?
Seven shows in Las Vegas.
19 to 20 worldwide, depending on what we're doing at the time in Blue Man Group.
Look, what I wanted to let them know is that the artists leave it on the stage every night.
They go out there, they crush it.
And the passion's there every night.
And they never call it in.
Some of these shows perform 477 times a year.
Yeah, that's one show.
So overall in Vegas, we're about 3,600 performances a year, and it's an amazing experience.
And I think the big thing with Cirque right now, and our CMO has done an amazing job.
This is diversification, bringing in a younger crowd, starting to make it a little generational like WWE,
because I believe that's our next step for, you know, what we have to get to is the kids have to tell.
Oh, I think of the story.
Like, they were going to, like, give us off.
That would be amazing.
I didn't think of that, but maybe that's an idea.
Write that down.
That's free.
Dance and steel chairs.
Yeah.
It's seriously.
Cirque's great, man.
Like, first time I went, I was like,
Cirque, I'm going to watch all these little dudes flip around.
And, like, 20 minutes in, I was just like,
yeah, your jaw's on the floor.
And you're like, okay.
How does he do you?
It's great, really.
But here's a good thing, too.
I mean, look, we have the Vegas shows.
We have an amazing tour and show division that does.
They just put a nice show out called Crystal Ed.
It is just opened.
That's our first show on ice.
So we're continually looking to innovate and then go.
So it's an exciting time for the company.
There you go.
Well, since it's on ice, I mean, now obviously the thing is to get Neal or Flurry.
Well, we've already had the conversation with the league about what we can do, so we're there.
All right.
Thanks, Lou.
Thanks, guys.
Breaking news to the Puck Soup Newsroom.
It's Lou DeAngeli.
We found out.
DeAngeli.
Yeah.
Obviously.
Obviously.
I mean, we can probably just edit that back in later.
The fact that he's from the Northeast or, you know, whatever, I thought it was definitely like,
the Angelli
He's not from that movie where Sylvester Stallone plays
Snaps Prove-Alone.
He's a human being.
Wait, was that?
That wasn't Oscar, was it?
Oscar.
It was Oscar.
Yeah.
I've watched that movie more times.
That's definitely a Roger Ebert one and a half star.
That's a bad movie.
That's a really, really bad movie.
Why did he ever try comedy?
You gotta do something.
Oscar?
Stop.
I try something different.
Stop!
I'm mad with you!
Listen, I will not have you bashing an Estellegetty movie in my presence.
Estel Getty is a goddamn legend
I think the funniest movie he was ever in
I think like the Rocky movies are funny in their own ways
but the funniest movie he was ever in was probably
Demolition Man you think right
Oh yeah that's a good one too you're right
That's a good funny buddy comedy
Funny buddy comedy funny buddy comedy funny buddy comedy
Devilion Man was a different kind of funny
I think it's more my humor more
Fish Out of War
Yeah that movie's funny for sure
The best part about that movie is they were like
we need comic relief
who do you want to get
how about Dennis Leary
people like him
all right what's his character
are going to be
he'll just be Dennis Leary
he'll just do rants a couple times
they actually give him room
to have like Dennis Leary
like you know
like light up a cigarette
and just like
yeah we're starving down here
okay people are starving
people like rap
people want to eat people are going to do stuff
they're going to get the food
they're going to eat it okay
and cut
great scene Dennis
they should have hired
Bill Hicks as a
as a rival gang leader.
This guy steals on my bits.
You mean Alex Jones?
That's my favorite conspiracy theory on the internet by far.
Fucking cam trails, man.
It's good stuff.
You know, in the future, Taco Bell was the most,
it's considered gourmet food.
Yeah, it won the Fast Food Wars, so they had everything.
Do you know what I consider to be gourmet food?
I think I do.
Blue Apron.
That's not I was going to say.
Celebrating its fifth anniversary by bringing back,
top 20 recipes from throughout the past five years as picked by you, the Blue Apron community.
Your favorite Blue Apron recipes are back on a menu for limit time only.
It's all about giving people fresh recipes to explore as they learn to cook new dish after new dish,
which is why they don't repeat recipes within a calendar year.
It's always a new and exciting cooking experience.
I know I enjoy cooking all the things they give me like I've mentioned on the show before.
Give me little spices and little packets and tell me exactly how to use them and I can be a pretty good cook.
I think this about Blue Apron, sir.
I think about the fact...
Just call me, sir?
Bring an ad-read?
Come on.
I think about the fact that I am a mediocre cook that has made a great cook by having...
Blue Apron.
Well, Blue Apron instructions in front of me.
Yeah.
Oh, you have to have the instructions.
You can't have...
I read a great tweet the other day.
It was like, people who post recipes, the recipe bloggers,
stop posting 900-word preambles before the recipe.
post the goddamn recipe.
Oh, I know.
Right.
Yeah, exactly.
Like when you're reading a food blog and it's just like, you know,
it brought me back to the time I made this cake and then they went back to the cake that
they made fucking five years ago because they've been a food blogger for five years.
There's no Blue Apron story.
No.
Here you go.
Here's the ingredients.
Here's what you do with it.
Exactly.
Then you eat.
Straightforward.
They deliver seasonal recipes along with pre-portion ingredients to make delicious home-cooked
meals.
Each meal comes with a step-by-step, easy-to-foil recipe card.
And pre-portion ingredients and can be prepared in 40 minutes or less.
thing too. Sometimes it might be longer,
but that's just because you have to like start
the oven early. And then if you do that
then like the rest of it's pretty easy. Yeah, that doesn't
count as time. Yeah. Yeah. That's like figuring your commute out. Like it's not
well and again, for our friends in New York City.
Like the winter's almost there. Winter is coming. So just
leave it up it on all day. And then just use it later on. It'll be preheated.
And your apartment will be nice and warm. And if you like have like a little
cinnamon in there, your apartment will smell beautiful.
A little touch of cinnamon. Hi, I'm Dave Lozo, the apartment
Gourmet. Turn on your oven all day
and put some lilac in there. That's right.
Absolutely. Your Ron Ackinson from Love Actually.
No, a little sprig
of holly.
We've made a whole movie where he doesn't talk.
Fuck. Check out this
week's menu and get $30
off to your first meal with free shipping by
going to blue apron.com slash
puck soup. You'll love how good it feels
and taste to create incredible home-cooked meals to Blue Apron
so don't wait. That's blue apron.com
slash puck soup. Blue Apron,
a better way to cook.
Is there a better way to tweet if you're the Vegas Golden Knights?
That's the question.
Oh, before we do that, I want to point out because I was thinking about this the other day,
when it comes to hockey fandom, people I think associate hockey fans with please like my sport, right?
And it's true.
Like compared to the other major sports, hockey fans are very pleased like my sporty.
Yeah.
I finally pinpointed the thing that separates hockey fans from everybody else.
What's that?
Hockey fans solely care about what players on a given,
and night are wearing the fucking letters.
No other sport gives a shit.
Like, I see people on Twitter, like,
say like Brett Seabrook can't play.
He's not wearing the A.
People tweet at all the beatwriters,
hey, so if Seabrook's not wearing the A, is it going to be Sharpie?
Who's going to, because Tramerson's gone,
you think they would give it to,
why does anybody care about that?
I've been a Giants fan forever.
I could not tell you who goes out.
I'm never like, um, who is it midfield for the coin toss?
Who are the captains for...
Why do hockey fans care about that?
The captain's see...
Because the captaincy is important.
The captaincy was always a measure of...
But every...
Of the importance or success of a player.
But the captaincy fine.
But that's just it.
But that's just it.
Like, there's trickle-down.
Like, you're the captain's helpers.
Like, the first year, Ryan Cloe was a devil.
Like, all day.
It's like, well, they're going to rotate the A.
Who is the A tonight?
Who cares?
Why do you care?
That it's important in the locker room.
Like, it reveals something about the locker room dynamic.
Hockey players all...
to a man every time you ask about like, oh, so Joe Thornton's a new captain or he's a new captain.
Well, it's a leadership group. Yeah. It's a group of veterans in here and everyone in here
could wear a letter and it wouldn't matter. And yet still usually hockey player or hockey fans
take their cues from that and still like they're like harassing Tracy Myers and Mark Lazarus on
Twitter whenever there's like a dunking Keith absence like, oh my God. It's so crazy to me.
To further your point like about the captain's season in other sports, like if you're a quarterback in the
NFL and you're a starter and you don't have
your little captain's thing? Like what the fuck are you doing?
But like football has a line, right? They have to
have them. Do they wear the sea in football? I don't even know. They do. They had that
little patch. And then they had little stars underneath the
sea member to say how long they've served as a captain. That's how many people they've killed.
Oh, yes. I'll do those for kills. It's how many receivers
Eli is killed by overthrowing them. Man, he fucking murdered the entire
race receiving corps in one game. And nobody really talked about it.
No, they didn't. Like he didn't send guys over the middle except for Beckham, but
like he threw shitty passes that caused guys to
lunge and get killed. Yeah, it's a fantastic interview
for Brandon Marshall when he's like negotiating with a giant
thing. The only question they ask is how high can you jump?
How bendy are your ankles?
Oh, speaking of that, you see Gordon Hayward last night?
Did you see the... I didn't actually see the... Oh, my God.
It was the most... Like, you saw the
dude, the Louisville kid was bone popped out.
We were debating this. I think this was worse.
I won't even describe it to you because I don't want to
not ruin it, but like, describing it is the...
It's the worst injury I have ever seen in sports.
Ever.
That one last one?
Ever.
Wow.
Oh, dude, go to Timothy Berks.
No, why is that, though, just because of how the, like, the nature of the injury?
It's, like, nothing you've ever seen.
You have never seen what his foot and leg did.
Wow.
It's just insane.
I'll check it out.
Oh, yeah.
But anyway, the biggest Golden Knights Twitter account.
Speaking of horror shows.
Now, you knew this was only a matter of time because they were, you could tell they were feeling their oats.
Drunk with power.
They were, like, I would love to read a story about what it's like to be a social media person who goes from like absolutely like a person with like 500 followers to suddenly having like 250,000.
All that kind of personal account.
Yeah.
And now it's like, because it's it's, it's limited power.
Oh yeah.
Like, it's got to be intoxicating where every mediocre tweet you send gets 2,000 likes.
Like I can't even imagine without what I would seriously, I would become the emperor.
I would just every tweet I would just be like, yes, I am the master of likes.
Yeah, dude who runs the Vegas Twitter feed was probably doing hockey haikus on his own feed for to like...
Yeah, well, that's pretty much anyone.
And then like all of a sudden he's got an audience for it.
Yeah, like, and some people handle it better than others.
But like, you could just tell, like, there were, there were so much shit talking that eventually it was going to go wrong.
So what they did for those who don't know is they, they, they ran a bit on when they played the Bruins where every tweet was in a Boston accent, which...
Which was worse than the actual bad tweet.
I can't believe they did two and a half hours of that.
And then so the bad tweet that got them called out was they did the bit from Ted, the movie Ted with the talking teddy bear.
Which nobody remembers.
That was a thing where they, it's a conversation between Mark Wahlberg and Ted.
And the teddy bear.
About a woman that, a woman's name he's trying to recall.
The teddy bear had sex with a woman who ran a cash register.
All the teddy bear could remember was about the woman's name was that it was white trash.
And so they go through all of, like, literally a laundry list of like 30 names.
Right.
And in context, it's, it's, you know, married with children level funny, but fun nonetheless, I think.
But when taken out of context...
And even if you've seen Ted and you see the line...
It's not a reference you're going to pull from that movie.
But yeah, like, you would see it...
Like, you would not pick it up in line combinations.
No.
Even if you've seen Ted.
And you have to understand, too...
They ran the bit to say, this is the Bruin starting lineup, and they just plucked the names from that bit.
But, like, you would never...
You'd have to be a huge Ted fan.
Like, I've seen Ted.
I don't...
I didn't know what the whole...
how that was at the time.
And, like, again, like, nobody should be fired for this.
Like, it's not like a fire offense or anything.
But, like, it's just such a bad joke.
But that's the thing is, like, when you have a Twitter account with that many followers,
all your bad jokes are going to get tons of retweets and likes.
So you just really don't have a concept of what's good and what's bad.
Like, like, when I get four retweets, I'm like, oh, okay, that didn't work.
But when you're the Golden Knights Twitter account, you do a bad tweet, you get 700 retweets.
So you have no concept of what works and what doesn't.
And so you wind up, like, you knew this was going to happen.
What it reminded me of is like when someone falls in love with a vine star and they're like, oh, this boy's so cute.
Like he keeps shirts off and he does goofy stunts and sings funny songs in his bedroom.
And then all of a sudden there's like a Snapchat.
Someone tweets of like him using like a racial slur.
Yeah.
And you're like, oh no, but that's not what Bryce is.
Well, no, Bryce is simply quoting a movie.
So it's okay.
Yeah, that's right.
He's, Bryce is just doing a Chappelle bit.
You know, and it's just like.
It's just...
So it's that moment of where the cute little new internet thing,
you have to decide whether or not this was a stumble in an anomaly
or whether maybe this is actually what the cute little internet thing is.
I think in the old night's case...
Totally a stumble.
It was a stumble, right?
Yeah, like...
But I will say this.
The hubris bit is cute if you...
I'm trying to figure out if the hubris bit, and by that I mean like the, hey, we were supposed to suck, right?
And then, like, jerk off a mose you where the fuck.
Like, I'm trying to figure out if...
If this is with the knowledge of, yeah, it's the waving hand on the eggplant.
It's the, I'm trying to figure out if this is.
You're so hip.
Them being, I just freelance that.
If it's them being cognizant that they're bad.
Or if maybe they're buying their own hype that they're good.
No, it's just, like, you can just tell, like, when the schedule came out, they had, like, a whole bunch of ideas for jokes.
And, like, if you're going to do that the Boston accent.
A Tommy, like for the line combinations, just do like line combinations.
Tommy, Sully, Shawnee, do do that as the bit.
That's the bit.
Like the bit, the bit in context from the movie, like here's the problem with the joke.
Like in the movie, it's just Marky Mark ripping off white trash names.
So like you remember the bit, but you don't remember all the names exactly from the bit.
So when you see the names exactly as they are from the bit in the line combinations,
you're not going to make that connection.
And on top of that, you have to realize that not everyone has seen Ted.
and that tweet's going to go in a lot of places
and they're going to see it
and all they're going to see is the women's names.
So even if you're being accidentally sexist,
you have to be aware of that as someone
who has a huge following.
So like let's say in the movie,
Ted goes to a Bruins game.
Ted's drunk and mad because the teddy bear bet on the Bruins.
Hey, I went to a Bruins game.
See?
Not Peter Griffin, I'm a teddy bear.
Fucking Peter Griffin is a teddy bear.
Seth McFarland's done more with fucking less
than any human being on the planet.
But let's say like Ted's mad.
Hey, who are you?
I'm a cowboy, see?
The main ways it die in the West, huh?
People were trying to convince me that was Stewie's voice
when that movie came out.
Like, it's fucking Peter Griffin is a teddy bear.
It's all it is.
But, like, imagine Ted is at the Bruins game.
He's mad, and he's yelling at all the Bruins players.
And he's like, hey, Clarissa, hey, Janet.
And, like, he calls them all girls' names.
Then at least maybe you could pull that in.
Like, it's still not great.
But, like, at least you still have...
And Ted is not the only Boston movie that's ever been made.
There's been, like, I don't know, a million Boston movies
that you could quote from that are more popular
that have more recognizable quotes so you can
is just,
is just bad.
You think he looked down the barrel of
Goodwill hunting references and he's like,
I'm just going to subvert their expectation.
Yeah,
like,
Ted.
And I do admit,
I give you credit for trying to do a different thing for Boston
because anyone can just do the town.
Right.
Just do the,
you think he picked Ted because the Bruins are a bear and Ted's a bear?
That might be it too.
I think he's just a young guy that saw Ted and likes the movie Ted.
Yeah.
Thinks it's funny that he fucks the cash,
Tedi bear fuck the cashier,
a human being.
I think he thinks that's funny.
Yeah.
That was also the premise of my unproduced Teddy Ruxman script.
Can you and I be fuck friends?
Bound, boucho, boucho, bo, bach-moop-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-bo-ww.
Yeah, I think they're fine.
But, but again, like I said the other day, like, there's always the moment in which the cute Twitter feed that we all dig steps over the line and then, and then, you know, morphs into something.
I'll tell you who handled it best.
The Kings handled it best.
There's still the gold standard for me.
Like the Kings started pissing people off with the stuff they tweeted and you're like,
I don't care.
Like the Kings made a suicide joke once.
Like that's...
Yeah.
And you're like, well, all right.
I love you guys, but I don't find it offensive.
But that's one where you're going to be like, you know, maybe not.
But yeah.
I also think that in the time since the King's Twitter feed, like Twitter has morphed and changed since then,
as far as like, not only are there Nazis now, but also I think people are a lot of
more kind of call-out culture than they were when the kings are doing their thing yeah like people
calling for the Vegas night's got to be fired that's insane that's insane it's just I'm we met him
he's a he's a good dude I think that just is trying to make funny jokes yeah the expansion
occasionally you occasionally when you're trying to make jokes you're good it's gonna go wrong
it's all about venue the same thing as always like you if you if you can say something in a comedy
club and get a laugh but don't say the same thing on the today show like it's it's pretty it's
pretty straightforward it's also too it's also like I feel like well I don't know this this
joke like but if someone else made it like like let's say bill burr made the joke nobody would get
mad at bill burr right but when you're a hockey team twitter account the rules are different you just
can't i mean i wouldn't make that joke anyway not because it's sexist because it's just not funny it's
it's just not funny yeah it doesn't pass the one simple test it should be applied to everything that that
that twitter feed puts out which is is this funny and then two hours of boston accents typed
out like that was that was the most that was the weirdest case of quote tweeting through it i've
ever seen where they just were like stick to the bit just finish the bit do the bit i did i did i did love though
on Tuesday night when, like, he tweeted out the,
I thought we were supposed to suck.
And then the fucking Sabres scored three goals and nine minutes against them.
Vegas has five wins.
They beat Arizona twice.
Yep.
They beat Buffalo once.
It's almost as if the NHL said, let's set you up to get people excited.
But like in my defense of the defense, I can't believe Buffalo sucks.
I really thought Buffalo.
They're fucking terrible.
So here's the question.
In fact, one might say it's our question of the day.
Bump, Bum.
Sponsored by nobody
Sponsored by Puck Soup
Puck soup for all your fuck soup needs
Question of they
Should the Vegas nights, golden night, social media
gotta be fired? No, next question
Did we do your soup bit on the Patreon
Or did we do it in the last show, I forget
Your Chippolee suit
Oh that was that was the bonus episode
Yeah check out the bonus episode
People supported me
Because Loso has an entire idea
On a soup restaurant that I think is asinine
Chipotle
How you make soup for soup
Yep
Supulte.
Su Poltley.
Oh, there you go.
There it is.
Damn, we got to go back and put that in there.
I don't think we said that.
When I was driving in, I took a cab because I was running late.
Spoiler.
I had a cabby who I thought reminded me of Gary Betman.
Mainly because Gary Betman is the kind of guy that if you are working against him,
you probably think that he is a terrible, somewhat immoral person who does anything to put himself
or his business over.
But if you work for...
That's not true.
If you work for Gary Betman,
like if you're an owner,
you probably think,
I kind of love the fact
that this guy's so ruthless
and does everything
to get the job done
that I want done.
And that was my cabby.
My cabby was literally doing things
to get me here.
My cabby was doing things
to get me here
that were I a pedestrian
in this moment,
I would look at that cab
and be like,
fuck that.
Like, that guy should be,
they should drive that cab
into the Hudson.
It has no business.
is just being on the road, it's doing these legal, illicit things.
But as I'm in the cab, I'm like, way to go, Cabby Betman.
You're doing it. You're doing it. You're doing the thing. Swinging around the outside,
kind of looking at the pedestrians and inching up in front of them, and then they get flustery,
but like, hey, I got to get across 23rd Street.
Cabby Batman is my new friend.
By the way, speaking of Vegas, one quick thing we didn't talk about last week. Playing blackjack,
if you play blackjack, you know the, you know the situation at the table.
where like a dude will get dealt
16 or 15 against the picture and he won't
hit because he's scared he's going to break and then he fucks
up and doesn't take the card he should take.
And you're like, man, I hate that guy.
That guy is Greg Wischinski.
I found that out at the table.
You're a stayer on 15 or 16.
I am a stayer on 15 or 16.
Broke my heart.
And, you know, it usually works.
I didn't have a good run at the table that night.
You have to hit against the picture every time.
Why?
Because you're going to lose money over the long haul.
The odds tell you you're supposed to hit on a 15 and 16
against the 7, 8, 9, 10,
It's all about feeling out the dealer.
Oh, God, look at you.
Just much like in hockey, you care more about emotion than math.
Yeah.
You're consistent.
I'll give you that.
I have a very high coursey.
I hold.
I hold my cards.
You're going to give a low course.
You're not at shooting.
You're more about shot.
You're more about shot.
Yeah, that's true.
Not shot selection.
What's the...
Shots oppression.
No, no, no, no.
When it's a really good chance, like shot quality.
Oh, high quality chances.
Yeah, you're just like, oh, I got a 15.
I feel like this is going to be good.
That's right.
And every time it was like 19, 20, or if the dealer I was 14 and then it gets your six.
It's like, oh, well, it's just like, why aren't you hitting?
I'm like, whoop, you know, dealer's showing a queen.
A lot of cards in that deck.
Don't, uh, don't our picture cards, don't tens.
You got, uh, you know, sixes and fives, threes, twos.
Lots of cards.
What's the probability that could be a two?
Next card's a king.
Man.
What happens then?
Win.
Grit jam, win.
Plus, you know, the feeling of hitting on 16 and getting a five is intoxicating.
It's great.
You feel that you feel, you feel, you feel untouchable.
Yeah, that's because the feeling
on betting on 16 and getting a picture card is so
fucking common that it just doesn't even
affect you anymore. People, get after Greg and tell him, tell him about math.
We're the math people out there.
I want money at the table.
Where the math leet's at?
There's a math fleet place by my apartment where I stand
across the street from the bus and it has like all these goofy math
slogans on it. I always want to like
go in there and be like, nerds!
But then they'll be my boss in 15 years.
Be fruitful and multiply.
Wait, what's the next
thing we're going to talk about now?
Oh, the question of the day.
The question of the day end of the week is,
who's the first coach that's going to be canned this season?
Dude, the list of people that
people ripped off on Twitter, I feel like all of them
either just got hired or just got an extension.
I don't know how anyone's going to get fired.
For example, Jerry Hardin writes,
and Sabers will fire Housley.
Yeah, no, they won't.
Hire Eichel as player coach.
Well, that maybe.
They will finish last, lose lottery, pick fourth,
and claim that's what they wanted.
Boom!
Ryan Taylor says
Claude Juliane
Literally after Golcena gets traded
Literally just got there
scapegoat
He just got there
And I feel like I think he's going to
Do the same thing he did in Boston
Which is outlasts his general manager
Oh yeah for sure
He's got a five-year deal
He's not going anywhere
Alain Vigno
He just signed an extension
He could get fired though I think
I really think he can get fired
T-Duce 92 writes in
Well it seems like it should be Maurice
but that won't happen given his recent extension.
Yeah, I think it's pretty apparent that he's Teflon.
Like, that team should be better.
That team has demonstrably not been good
because Maurice's system does not lead to strong quality goaltending.
And he insists on putting in Steve Mason to keep him fresh.
Yeah, because if he's not consistent,
he's going to give up five goals instead of four and he goes in.
Yeah, that's smart.
That's smart coaching.
Yeah, Antalupa writes in,
Julianne once Montreal goes to 9 and 1 this month,
purely because I want to see what plant Birch of Anjouin.
tries to hide behind. But that's just it. Again, like, I feel like the GM gets fired is the solution.
Oh, he's going before Julianna is for sure. Same thing. I mean, Arizona's similar. Like,
Brick Tockett's, it's, but he just got there. Like, no one's, I mean, I mean, you could have a Barry Melrose where a guy gets fired 19 games in, but I doubt it.
Yeah. I doubt it. But that was more like, you know, tearing up the cocktail napkin that contract was written.
I love that ownership group so much.
Like who is, like, besides Barry Melrose, has a coach ever been fired like 10 games into it?
John McLean.
Oh, he was terrible.
Yeah.
John McLean was fired real quick.
And Rick Tockett looks like John McLean.
They're both kind of like older, bald, pale white guys.
Bill Doey.
It could be a thing.
That's another place where you're like, will, would the coach get fired before?
Oh, gee whiz.
Getting fired.
Oh, shucks.
You're not getting fired.
You're getting reassigned.
I saw the story on BuzzFeed.
It was 24 signs you've just been fired.
And, oh, M.G. This is terrible.
John, I just needed a word, please.
I'm playing uncharted.
I don't have time.
Text me.
Taka takes out his phone.
He's like, oh, I got a text from John.
What is it?
It's a GIF.
And it's Donald Trump saying you're fired.
Wait, did he just fire me via GIF?
Actually, it's a GIF.
John, we're going to have to let you go.
you've been a great service to the organization and we wish your luck okay but without money
I can't get avocado toast I might be able to buy avocados but not in toast form I'm so I need my
money to level up in my freemium games okay how am I how am I gonna build how am I gonna build
a wall here in my town if I don't have the money to do it Bitcoin is not taken here by
Rovio games sorry John why are you crying I just thought I was gonna get
the iPhone X.
And now I'm going to have to settle for the 8.
And it's not fair.
Has anyone, speaking of doing more with less of Seth MacFarlane, is John
Cheek had done fucking anything?
Like, name something he's done where you're like, wow, he's a gene.
The step-bat trade and the Garmelson trade were both good.
There's, just the team's bad.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's his team.
Alex Gardner writes it, it won't be Elaine Vigno because he has nudes of Jeff
Gorton or something.
it's the only explanation.
Some of that might have been addressed
that AV would give younger players actual minutes
before banishing them to the depths of hell, I mean, Hartford.
Let's just focus on Vigno here
because I think that's the one everybody's sort of focused on.
Do you think that there's a legit chance
that he gets fired?
So they have one win in seven games.
Yeah, they have one center as well.
Just want to point that out.
Probably shouldn't trade him.
Yeah, that's the thing.
I didn't pick the Rangers to make the playoffs
for this very reason.
They are not a well-constructed team at this point.
and Lundquist is getting older
and now your backup is just shittacular
So as much as people want to point to vigno
And be like, yeah, fire him
To what end?
What, fire him so you can clear out
Coach salary cap space to sign a center?
Like, what the fuck's the solution?
Well, they have three points in seven games.
That's like a Colorado avalanche last year of pace.
Yeah, that's bad.
Like, it's early, but it's bad.
Yeah.
And so you look at the, but like,
they're putting Adam Cracknell
on the lineup. Like, I mean,
yeah, what are you doing?
I think, but again, like,
to me, to me,
the, the, the classic debate is construction versus coaching.
And to me, this is,
this is construction all day.
Yeah.
They shouldn't be this bad.
No.
Like,
like,
it,
so Henry Lundquist is, what,
36, 35,
he's old.
He's old A.F.
He's an old,
as the teens say.
If you're,
bad this early in the season, you're going to have to ride him down the stretch. He hasn't played
like 65, 70 games in a season and forever, and he's going to fade down the stretch if you,
you have to do something right away. So they've got one win. They have four more games on this
homestand. Three of them are winnable. It's the Islanders. It's Arizona. It's San Jose and they play
Nashville. Like if they come out of the homestown with two total wins, I mean, there's Lindy
rough sitting there on the bench. He's like, hey, what's up? I'm Lindy Rough. I can coach in the
NHL. Like, they may just do something for the rest of the year just to do it.
I just realize I have no idea what you just said because I've been thinking about
riding Henrik Lundquist for the last two minutes.
Phenomenally handsome man still. He's going to be good luck until he's 80.
He's going to be down and he's smiling at you. He's just like, and you feel like,
this is it. He was so pissed off last night. Yeah, I'm sure.
Like, like, it was in the locker room last night after the game was so, it was like
after losing a playoff game and nobody, it was weird. Kevin Chattonkirk wasn't in the room.
But for those they don't know, a terrible,
turnover led to the Penguins game winning goal in overtime.
Yeah, so they tie the game when Kevin Chattonkirk, for some inexplicable reason,
touches the puck after Hornquist hand passes it.
And like the Lunkwist reaction...
Sidney Crosby being good at hockey waits to pop it in.
Waits for Chattonkirk to barely touch it, back hands it off Lunkwist,
who's so not ready for the puck because he just assumes no one's going to touch it.
Like they're screwed, it's a hand pass.
And then Ryan McDonough fucks up and whips a puck into Phil Kessel's gut,
and it leads to a little tap in front.
filled with hot dogs
boom
I guess maybe
McDonough should have had
some more
mustard on his pass
but after the game
Lunkwist
Nobody asked Lundquist
about Chattankirk
so I had to be the guy
I was like
Were you surprised
by that Crosby goal
because you know
you weren't thinking
Shatt and Kirk
was gonna touch the puck
with the handpass coming up
and like he gave me
this like
non-answer answer
for the first like
50 seconds
and then at the end
he was just like
yeah I was surprised
like yeah of course you were
why would your
why would your defenseman
touch the guy they don't puck there. I still think
we'll see a trade before we see A.V. Fire, but
I do agree that the Lindy Ruff lurking
on the bench is a
danger sign right there. Just sitting there
in the weeds, just waiting.
You're right. They're a poorly built
team because they're half
rebuilding and they're half still kind of
going for it because Longquist is still there.
So they're kind of, but like,
when they had, they had Stefan,
they had Broussar, they had Zabandad. And those guys
are all super duper
good, number two centers on good teams.
they're number one-ish for sure,
but when you have two of those guys,
you can do stuff.
You're right, you're better.
When you have Zabanajad and then Kevin Hayes in and out.
I just absolutely don't understand the concept of trading a player like Stepan,
which is fine.
It's economic,
whatever, I get it,
but you have to replace that player.
They just never did.
It doesn't make any sense.
Well, they thought Kevin Hayes could step up.
They're wrong.
They are mistaken.
Yeah, he's,
when he's on, he's on.
And Rick Nash, man, boy, Rick Nash,
I don't know what they,
you can't crack 40 points anymore.
Like last night was a,
consummate Rick Nash where he's just everywhere.
He's making plays. He's getting these great chances and nothing's going in.
Save, hit the post.
Story of his career here.
All right, well, there you go. A.V. Maybe fired. Maybe not.
Paul Maurice should be the guy to first go.
Yeah, absolutely, but he is coach for life.
That's a show for this week.
Thanks to Lou Deangelli.
Lou DeAngeli.
From Cirque Desai, Sign Guy.
Sign guy, Dudley, joining us.
Thanks to everybody for listening.
the mailbag portion of the show
will now commence
on the Patreon
oh and we decided that
for the Patreon subscribers
and thank you by the way
well fuck we didn't even mention
that we crossed the thousands of subscribers
than last week
careening towards 1100 people
yeah we wanted to thank you all for
for
subscribing and want to mention that our first
full-length movie commentary
will be on the Patreon in November
so it'll be fun
might have something else too
depending on how quickly
we get turned around
oh and also thank you
for all the kind words about the ESPN stuff as well
in the last week or so.
Promise I won't let you down.
It'll be a lot of fun.
We got a lot of cool ideas.
Thanks for all the kind words about me getting high
and hanging out in Vegas
and turning it into content.
There it is.
I write for Vice.
We'll talk to you next week.
Go ahead.
We'll do drugs.
Sticks and hits and goals
and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary
to what if you commute.
We also cover movies,
TV shows,
it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagey and Nansen.
Oh, one's
Oh, too
