Puck Soup - NHL Over/Under Predictions!

Episode Date: September 15, 2021

The boys predict point totals for all 32 NHL teams based on the preseason over/unders and preview the 2021-22 season along the way. Plus, remembering Norm MacDonald, ranking Weezer songs, killing pla...nts, TNT hockey coverage, vaccinations in hockey and the oddity of Terminator models. Sponsored by Draft Kings, Brooklinen and Mack Weldon!

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute. We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes. It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense. I'm Greg Wichenski of ESPN, and I know I'm from ESPN because I'm in Chicago where we all met each other, the ESPN hockey people. And it was great. So that's me. I'm Greg, and I'm from ESPN.
Starting point is 00:00:37 I'm Ryan Lambert from Elite Prospects. I'm at my apartment. I know I'm at my apartment because all my stuff is here. And that's why you never leave as a free agent because all your stuff is there. Yeah. There's my PlayStation. There's my plant. So I know for sure that I'm here.
Starting point is 00:00:55 You have a large collection of plants. Pretty sizable, yeah. I love looking at them, tending to them. Some of them not doing so well of late. Where are you going to do, I guess? That's kind of the way it is with plants. I read something sometime that was like when you become a person who has a lot of plants, you're like signing yourself up to kill a bunch of plants by accidentally overwatering,
Starting point is 00:01:24 underwatering, letting a fly near them. Sometimes that's all it takes, it seems like. For a very long time, Ruby, was hesitant to get plants because she kept killing them. But she's on a real good streak now, but we're going to move soon. And I think she's a little bit concerned because our current apartment gets a lot of light. And our new house is a cave. Yes.
Starting point is 00:01:48 I finally achieved my dream of living in a wine cellar. No, it's a garden apartment. It doesn't get as much light as being high on the floors. But we have a yard. So I just said, pull your fucking plants in the yard. You know? But then they could get over watered if it rains and stuff. Yeah, and then you're going to bring them all inside for winter.
Starting point is 00:02:10 I don't want to get involved in all that. Look, I, here's my gardening experience. I tried to grow a jalapeno plant when we lived in California, and I couldn't even fucking do it. So that's why I don't dabble with gardening or green thumbing. Yeah, like the simple, the thing that can grow in California, I couldn't get to grow. I have always had trouble with, like, vegetables and herbs and things.
Starting point is 00:02:33 things like that. I don't know why, but yeah, I don't mess around with that kind of stuff. Now, I just have plants that are, like, nice to look at or whatever. My dad had a problem with the herb. It became very forgetful. You're in Puck Soup. Sean's not here. Yeah, that's right. He's on vacation. He wouldn't let us talk about plants for 10 minutes. Yeah. He would have yelled at us. Well, I mean, him not being here obviously ruins my chance to ask if they have plants in Canada. They do. What would have been, what his response have been?
Starting point is 00:03:07 It would have been, I don't know, like plants, like somebody who was a plant at the NHL Awards or something like that. Or it would have been like, no, because of all the beavers or something. You know, like he would, he usually turns it into another Canadian reference to really kind of double down to the joke, make it a Canadian joke parfe. Speaking of jokes, Norm MacDonald died, and I'm sure that you and I are both very broken up about this. You know, Greg, when a famous person dies and someone says, this one hurts, this one hurts.
Starting point is 00:03:38 This one hurts. It hurts. Well, first of all, as someone said, Norm MacDonald keeping that he had cancer for like a decade of secret is very Norm MacDonald, but also famously made a joke once about dying from cancer. Yeah. The question is when? Like, did he know already? Right. Did he know?
Starting point is 00:04:02 Right. For those who don't know, he once said that you never lose a battle with cancer because once you die, cancer dies too, so it's a tie, which is brilliant. Yep. Good joke. What was your favorite norm? Occasionally you get these moments on social media and Twitter in particular where somebody who is beloved for their talent and what they've left behind dies and your feed becomes
Starting point is 00:04:29 flooded with YouTube rabbit holes and great little clips and stuff. And that was definitely what was happening this week. What was your favorite norm moment that maybe got dug up for you yesterday? You know, I had seen him do stand up live twice. And, you know, I texted a bunch of the people that I went to the first time with, which was in a, like, Chinese restaurant in Western Massachusetts. and he destroyed for like two hours or whatever. He went on for a long time, I seem to recall.
Starting point is 00:05:05 But like he had a lengthy bit that I don't know that I ever like saw it on TV about, you know, these serial killers. They're all, they're all made out to be so clever. And then at the end, you know, the last thing they do is they dig a shallow grave. And that's all was their undoing. So if I were a serial killer, one of my primary concerns would be depth of grave in just the way, you know, that's like a very Norm MacDonald turn of phrase. And I just remember being like, I think that's the funniest thing I've ever heard in my life. Something about a Taco Bell parking lot and what have you. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:05:45 Exactly. My favorite norm moment that I had forgotten about was the 1998 SPs. Oh, sure, yeah. I mean, I guess I had just remembered him from so many talk show appearances and stuff that I forgot about. And obviously the SNL OJ jokes that I forgot about at the time that he said that Charles Woodson, I just won the Heism trophy as a, I think it was a cornerback. Yeah. And he said that, hey, congratulations, Charles, this is something that no one can ever take away from you. Unless he kills your wife's a beat.
Starting point is 00:06:23 And he goes, unless you kill your wife's a waiter. He goes, unless you kill your wife and a waiter, in which case all bets are off. Jesus. So fucking funny. So, oh, my God. He had, like, didn't he try to do a Comedy Central, like, sports show at one point? Well, he succeeded in that they let him do it and everything. Well, I mean, yeah, but, like, I remember Comedy Central for a long time was trying to do sort of a sports-centric version of the Daily Show.
Starting point is 00:06:50 And I can't remember if Norm was a part of that. Yeah, well, it, yes, the sports show with Norm MacDonald was very much, but it was weekly. It wasn't daily or, you know, four times a week or whatever. Right. And it was incredible, I think, is the word I would use. You know, like Kyle Mooney or Moody, I can never remember. The guy from SNL. Mooney.
Starting point is 00:07:16 Yeah, Mooney. He, he, he, that was the first time I saw him. Like his shy interviewer character, he did. it on Norm and he would like go to you know UFC events and and do it and that kind of thing. But the thing I remember most from that is when there was like a surprising or bewildering sports story, there was a segment called What the H? And they would delve into What the H about whatever topic. Yes.
Starting point is 00:07:46 I said it on Twitter yesterday, but there was a stretch of like, I would say multiple years where just about every Monday my friends and I would go to trivia and then we would go back to my friend's apartment and watch dirty work every week for... The only Lange Classic, yeah. For years. And never got sick of it once.
Starting point is 00:08:12 It's still one of the funniest movies ever made as far as I'm concerned, so... He was the kind of comedian that you just... You were willing to go on the journey. with him. The moth joke on Conan, the Bob Saget Roast bit. I was watching that yesterday.
Starting point is 00:08:29 And you know who wasn't willing to go on that journey with him? Conan O'Brien. Yes, I know. Like there is so, you know, Letterman let him go. Like, Letterman would just be like, oh, is that right, Nor, you know, that kind of thing. Whereas Conan would just be like, well, please get to the point. And that kind of stuff. And it's like, hey, Conan, try shutting up.
Starting point is 00:08:48 How's that sound? And that was always my favorite thing. about Norm, like, going back to the first joke, I know I've referenced this on the show before. The, uh, the chopped up my family and put him in a duffel bag joke that he told and stand up, like, early in his career. Yeah. Uh, and takes it to the devil. The devil pulls off his mask and it's like, it's me, Bob.
Starting point is 00:09:06 And they're like, oh, Bobby, you got me. That was a, that was a, you know, there's, there's formative comedy experiences in my life. You know, I, I make mystery science theater 3,000 my avatar because that's the basis for a lot of my comedy and reference, referential comedy. And that norm joke, I remember. watching it on like short attention span theater or something, which was a show that was on Comedy Central or one of those comedy networks that just showed basically stand-up jokes. And it was basically the place where you saw stand-up when you were a kid.
Starting point is 00:09:35 I don't know. Either that or HBO specials. And I just remember watching that joke and realizing that the joy wasn't in the punchline. the joy was a norm doing his norm thing to set it up and get you there and lull you into the rhythm of the joke. And the moth joke's a great example of that where he is fucking rolling. And it almost has an aristocrats kind of quality to it where he's piling on more and more detail and then you get to the punchline. But man, that delivery was so fucking unique and I used to love it. I absolutely adored it.
Starting point is 00:10:15 what a funny comedian. He rocked. He was the, like honestly, you know, I, I kind of don't think of him as a, like, obviously, even though he is, I kind of don't think of him as a stand-up because he was just, like, so ubiquitous on TV, you know? And, yeah, like, but, you know, like I said, I saw him do stand-up a couple of times, and, you know, he had the whole audience, like, going along with him, even if they groaning at some of the, like, where he'd just be like, you know, the more I read about Hitler,
Starting point is 00:10:49 the less I like about him, that kind of stuff. It's like, just tossed off that kind of stuff. And it was just so, it seemed so easy for him to get a laugh on like just a, whether, you know, to your point, it's a meandering joke that takes 45 minutes and Conan interrupts him three times, or a joke that's a single sentence, you know. And that was, and they had that letterman-esque quality of, of revisit. certain topics that he found extraordinarily funny and then refashioning the jokes. Like the Hitler stuff he would do a lot of,
Starting point is 00:11:21 and I was reminded he was on Letterman when he did the joke about how everybody's worried about North Korea or Iraq or all these places. Here's what's keeping me up at night. Germany. And then the biggest laugh in the entire bit is, and I don't know if you all are students of history,
Starting point is 00:11:40 but then he goes into the World War stuff. It's fucking tremendous. RIP, Norm MacDonald, a real one. All right, so it's a hockey podcast, allegedly. And that means it's time as the season approaches for us to bring back a puck soup classic. That's right, ladies and gentlemen. It's NHL Ova Undas for the 2021-22 season. I don't think there's any other hockey news we've got to talk about, is there?
Starting point is 00:12:12 I guess Connor McDavid is saying, call all the penalties and, you know, that's what you'd expect Conner McDavid to say. I mean, is there anything else going on in hockey? I think it's mostly just like restricted free agents still haven't signed, and there's more of them than usual. They're saying Brady Kachuk around the start of training camp, I believe, and, you know, they're saying, oh, it'll get done in Vancouver with Peterson and Hughes. but last I saw about Robert Thomas, for example,
Starting point is 00:12:47 the blues signed Tyler Bozac yesterday. I guess that's kind of news. But it also pushed them within like 800 grand of the cap, and they're like, oh yeah, we got to sign this guy who was like, you know, an integral part of our winning a Stanley Cup, and he's like 22 years old. And he, there's no end in sight to this negotiation, apparently. Yeah, and obviously Caprisoff and the Wild,
Starting point is 00:13:13 the talks are slow. That's fooled, yep. They don't want to apparently hit the number that he wants to hit. And I'm fairly certain that might be coming down from ownership in that situation. And then you still have the lingering threads of Eichl and Teresenko. Still out there too. Yeah, well, the Teresenko thing, if that happens, that solves the Robert Thomas problem real quick. Right. You know, unless they bring back an exactly equal amount of money, which I don't think they would do.
Starting point is 00:13:43 obviously. And so, yeah, I mean, it's just, do you remember this many good RFAs being unsigned this close to the start of camp? I do. I do. Yeah. It happened a few years ago, I think, as well. But it's fine. I mean, camp is always a pressure point for these teams.
Starting point is 00:14:06 One of the reasons why these things linger so long, I'm sure. Right. And that's the other thing is Thomas is apparently already in St. Louis, like, working out with his blues teammates. So the idea that, you know, he's not going to sign is... Yeah. You know, he's going to. But, like, I don't know.
Starting point is 00:14:26 My thing is why bust his balls about... Like, he was like, I want Jordan Kairu money, and they're like, you're no Jordan Kair... He's not? He very much is. Yeah. Like, I think they're both good players. But, like, why are the blues busting his balls about? it. I don't understand.
Starting point is 00:14:45 Oh, one more thing before, overrunner. Shout out to our sweet boy Liam McHugh, who is now the host of the NHL and TNT. Yep. Basically, they ported over a lot of NBC talent, Eddie Olcheck. Almost exclusively. They got there just like, hey, remember how much you liked the NBC broadcast? I'm going, no, I don't. Anson Carter, Eddie Olcheck, and Keith Jones.
Starting point is 00:15:11 Keith Jones is labeled as ice level, which I guess would tell me that he's going to be between the benches. Yep. All right. Learn from the best. Kenny Albert, friend of the podcast, Brendan Burke, play by play. And shout out to Tarrick El Bashir, who I have known since my days as a high school reporter. Not a reporter in high school, but a reporter who covered high school sports. A real encyclopedia.
Starting point is 00:15:39 Not that he was a reporter, I guess. No, he was a detective. This is falling apart. Never mind. Right. Could a go. And he wrote for the Washington Post, and I wrote for the connection newspapers, and we would sit together and rickety, treacherously built press boxes at high school football stadiums and cover games.
Starting point is 00:15:59 And look at us now. He's not going to be on the TV on TNT as a contributing reporter. I was wondering this. Does he have TV experience? He does. Okay. He did a ton of. of it in Washington for their Comcast network.
Starting point is 00:16:13 That makes sense. So he is, he is raring to go. And then Paul Bissonette, I guess to be what, your Charles Barkley on the studio show. And I was quite busy yesterday, but did see that that had the received the expected response. Yeah, I mean, you get why, of course, TNT would do it, and you get why people would be mad about it. and these are irresolvable differences. The irresistible force meets the immovable object, as Gorilla Monsoon would say. Oh, speaking of wrestling, NXT debuted a wrestler called Tony DiAngelo last night.
Starting point is 00:16:54 Did you see that? But D, like the sub chain for those in the Northeast, the submarine sandwich chain and not the... Our beloved Hurricanes defense. Do you think that Tony Dia, the Hurricanes trademark? his name and that's why NXT had to go with the apostrophe. That's, look, that's taking a page out of the Vince playbook if it is, you know. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:17:18 That's smart. That's just good business. Do you think Vince will hot shot an angle in which Tony DeAngelo is assaulted by a goaltender? They'd have to come up with someone whose gimmick is that they're a goaltender. I don't know if they're going to do that. That's
Starting point is 00:17:36 five-all Jones's music. All right How do you want to do Overrunners? Do you want to do it by division? Probably because then we can do ad breaks in between each division. You know what, Greg?
Starting point is 00:17:47 That's why you're the business side on this one. That's why I'm... What was the line for the Simpsons, the Lionel Hutz line? Oh, right, that's why you're the judge and I'm the law talking guy. You mean lawyer? Atlantic Division.
Starting point is 00:18:06 Buffalo Sabres, ladies and gentlemen, a highly anticipated season for your Sabres. These are all over-under point totals from our friends at, oh boy, it used to be Boveda. What is it now? It is betonline.ag.org. What is the AG? Agriculture.
Starting point is 00:18:27 I don't know. Oh, of course. Buffalo Sabres, 69.5 points. Nice. Plus. 0.05. over under Buffalo Sabres' 16 and a half points. Seems like you've got to go under, right?
Starting point is 00:18:44 I mean, they're going to really suck this year. Obviously, this is pending a Jack Eichel trade. Maybe they get someone who's actually good, but probably not. Yeah, I got to go under. I'm torn on this one a little bit because of the Eichol situation. Yeah. like I feel that there's a chance that he might have to play a little bit for them this season to prove that he's healthy or whatever.
Starting point is 00:19:19 I also think that there's a chance that, you know... Well, let's put it this way, Greg. You didn't fucking help him last year. No. So... There's a chance they could get some pretty, you know, decent help on the, on the current roster in a trade for him that they'll then, like, pump and dump at the trade deadline. but at the end of the day
Starting point is 00:19:37 I really can't put my full faith in a team that is trotting out what has to be the worst goal- extending tandem in the National Hockey League maybe in recent memory in Arndell and Craig Anderson Well I mean
Starting point is 00:19:58 Martin Jones and Arndel were very recently tandem so there is that I would take Martin Jones over Craig Anderson. I know that's saying a lot. Poor Craig Anderson. Jesus Christ. There's always a chance that Ouka Peka Lokenan could be their goalie.
Starting point is 00:20:15 And then Devin Levi's in the system too. But I think this is what they're rolling with because they want to be as bad as they possibly can be the season. Very reasonably so. And you have to take that motivation under consideration. So I would say under 69.5 points. By the way, I will say this is a season where I feel like many of the. the over-unders are coin flips to me, whereas usually, or the majority, I guess I should say, whereas usually I'm pretty confident in a lot of them where I'd go, ooh, that's an easy over or
Starting point is 00:20:47 easy under. You know what I mean? This year, it's like, yeah. Yeah, okay. Well, I mean, Ryan, that's why they're the bookmakers. Oh, I understand. But like I say, usually. It's going to be like within a half point of where they're going to be.
Starting point is 00:21:00 Right. No, I understand how it works. I'm saying usually I'm way more confident in a team blowing past or falling short of than I am this year. You place a wager, you see, and if the wager works out in your favor, you collect winnings. Now, what is a wager? The Ottawa Senators, 73 and a half points for this season, Oval anda. I think I'm going to go very slightly over. I agree.
Starting point is 00:21:41 I agree. Well, you know, relative to that. They're not good. No, they're bad. They're definitely bad. They're definitely bad, but I think that they'll be, like you said, maybe like 74 points. Yeah. They were so fucking awful at the start of last season, you know, that I think it kind of
Starting point is 00:22:03 of skews per cent. Like, I'm not going to get into the whole thing of like, you know, after the February 19th, they played exclusively the Calgary Flames and the Vancouver Canucks, and they have the 19th best record in the league, you know, whatever the fuck, that whole argument is. Like, I'm not going to get into all that, but with that having been said, let's put it this way. They weren't as bad as they were to start last season, and they also weren't as good as they were to end it. So, I think we're both ignoring the biggest piece of evidence that they're going to go over, which is that the rebuild is over. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:22:36 That's what these are the years of unparalleled success, baby. That's right. Here we go. Over 73 and a half, slightly. The Detroit Red Wings, it's very odd. Under, whatever the number is. I'm taking the under. I have the numbers in front of me, folks.
Starting point is 00:22:52 It's a joke. It's very odd to see that the Red Wings ranked ahead of other teams in their division. But it's 77.5 points, and I don't. think they're quite there yet. No, yeah, like they definitively improved this offseason with that having been said. They're awful. They're going to be really bad. So I'm taking the under on, like this is easy. I think Ottawa finishes comfortably ahead of them. Wow, that could happen. I also think that again, you have to sort of base your understanding of this point total based on your understanding of the team's motivations. And I think
Starting point is 00:23:33 they want to really suck ass for one more year. Well, they're going to accomplish it, I feel like. Yeah. The Montreal Canadiens, 89 and a half points in a division where we have just mentioned three rather terrible teams, Montreal 89 and a half points over under. I'm going to take slight under on that one. I don't buy it with the goal tending. I'm going to slam the under on that one.
Starting point is 00:24:03 Okay. No Shea Weber. team in transition, punched well above its weight in the playoffs, but not a very good regular season team. Tyler DeFoli comes back to Earth. Yeah, I mean, I think the argument would be like they're getting Drew N back and who knows what Drew N's going to do.
Starting point is 00:24:21 And, you know, I have a guess, but. I'll take the under on that one. By more than a point. The Florida Panthers, 101.5 points. That is a lot of points. For the Florida Panthers. Over under.
Starting point is 00:24:41 I got to go under just because I feel like they're definitely going to give Bobrovsky a bunch of starts because they can't, like, this is the NHL. They can't just hand the reins to a child, you know? A child. This boy is 14 years old. what they're saying. Because his name is Spencer. They just assume that he's younger than he is.
Starting point is 00:25:10 Yeah. It sounds like a young boy's name. Was that the name of the boy in Problem Child? No, Junior, right? Junior is the boy in Problemer guy. Yeah, he was Junior. You mean the little redhead troublemaker? Yeah.
Starting point is 00:25:22 The Dennis De Menace for a new generation. That's right. You know, isn't it interesting that back then, the Problem Child was a a super intelligent little troublemaker who wore like a bowtie and you were supposed to hate him as the villain of the movie, but move ahead a few decades and everybody's watching young Sheldon, which to me is the same kind of thing. I don't think, I think Michael Richards playing a serial killer who kidnaps his adopt, the boy's adoptive mother would have been the villain of that movie. I mean, technically.
Starting point is 00:26:01 I think we were supposed to look upon Junior and say to ourselves, now, while I wouldn't want this to be my child, if you had to break up a kidnapping, it'd be good to have a problem with child on your side. Yes, he is a means to an end, I think you would say. That was post-home alone, right? That's a great question. It had to be, right?
Starting point is 00:26:30 That seems like a reaction to home alone. Like, everybody liked Kevin McAllister. this little fuck. Problem Child came out in 1990. I think that's about the same time as Home Alone, right? I think was Home Alone 88? Home Alone also 90. And I'll go further.
Starting point is 00:26:49 I'll go further and say, Home Alone, I think that was a Christmas movie. Yeah. And Problem Child, I feel like, was definitely released during the summer. So this is very interesting because this never gets mentioned in the Pantheon. of Deep Impact Armageddon, Tombstone, Wyatt Earp, Dante's Inferno Volcano. It could be that Problem Child and Home Alone were developed concurrently and came out around the same time. And the Problem Child people were like, oh my God, this is a John Hughes movie, fucking Chris Columbus.
Starting point is 00:27:22 This is Joe Pesci. They got Joe Pesci. We got to get Problem Child in the theaters as quickly as we can to usurp the momentum that Home Alone will have. Yeah. Little Stinkers were in the zeitgeist. at that time, I think, is what you were they? Mm-hmm. The Florida Panthers, I'll go over.
Starting point is 00:27:43 I like them a lot this year. I think they're good. I don't know that, I don't trust Bobrovsky to get them over 100 points. Let me put it that way. And the other thing to say is, so if we're saying the Florida Panthers finished fourth in this division by the odds here, the over-unders or whatever you want to say, four teams in this division have 100 plus points and none are in the 90s do they
Starting point is 00:28:12 I mean this is what the this is what the overrunners say that's what the overrunners say but we don't have to necessarily agree with the overunders I understand but what I'm saying is they have a 12 point gap between Montreal and Florida I think it's the rest of the division's dog shit you don't have to tell me I know
Starting point is 00:28:30 I say over, over because you're going to get Ekblad and Weger back together. I think the goaltending will be fine. And the rest of the lineup is like Sasha Barkoff and a bunch of guys named Sam. That's right. And everything, they'll do fine and they'll be good and they'll get over 100 points. They'll take the over there. Okay. The Boston Bruins, 103 and a half points over under for a team that is entering the post-Rask phase of its existence.
Starting point is 00:29:03 And post-Krati, I got to go under. Yeah, me too. That seems very high for this team. Yeah, I totally agree. I think old mark's going to be a good option for them. Well, I think Swamond's going to be fine, too. Yes. Their goal-titting is going to be fine because structurally, they're a very good defensive team.
Starting point is 00:29:23 Yeah. But I just think that's a little bit high for the point total, considering what they lost. Yeah. Again, I think the bigger loss than Rask is crazy. Because if you're taking the goaltending in aggregate, you know, who's their backup? Polack was awful last year. Like, he was bad. And so in aggregate, I think it's probably a wash.
Starting point is 00:29:51 Or maybe even they improve a little bit, honestly. Yeah. But, yeah, I don't trust Charlie, I've said it a million times. Charlie Coil number two center is not is not something you would say about a hundred plus point team, I feel like. You're not on the Charlie Coil train. I think the bigger issue than Charlie Coil being your second line center is that
Starting point is 00:30:14 everybody has to then fill in behind them. So now your third line center is probably going to be like either No Sick or Huala and then you have like Lazar behind them. I think now you've got a depth problem. I guess they could put Felino at center too if they want to. it to, but... Oh, I definitely think that... It seems like the plan
Starting point is 00:30:33 for... Yeah. For Folino, again. But I don't love him as a center. No, yeah. I don't love him as a guy on that contract. I don't love him as a guy who's going to get the kind of runout he will. But I love him as a guy on Boston.
Starting point is 00:30:50 That guy looks like he was born to be a fucking brewing, don't he? Absolutely. Yeah. The Toronto Maple Leafs, 105.5.5 points. Ovaunda. Only intriguing because of maybe the change in goal, I think makes us a little bit intriguing with Moraziken and Anderson out. So this is the first one where I go, this is based entirely on they wailed on the Canadian teams last year. They fucking destroyed Canada last year, except for when they would occasionally suffer a loss that everybody was like, oh, that's a humiliating loss. Ottawa, yeah.
Starting point is 00:31:31 Every other game they had. All their wins, everybody was like, well, sure, they beat whoever. And then any time they lost, they were like, can you believe these fucking bums, the Toronto Maple Leafs lost to the Calgary Flames or whoever? I got to go a slight under on 105 and a half. I'll take the over. I think there's a chance they can win the division. I think Maracca and Campbell would be fine.
Starting point is 00:32:00 They got 105 points in 2017-18, and that was a Babcock team. I mean, obviously last year in Keith's first full season, like you said, they just beat the ever-loving shit out of the rest of the Canadian teams. But again, with what the bottom four teams in this division look like and with the Leafs usually being able to do this pretty well in the regular season, I'll take the over on this one. I think they win the division with over 105 points. Okay. That leads us to your two-time, two-time, two-time defending Stanley Cup champion, Tampa Bay Lightning. And the Ova Under for a team that, just as a reminder, lost its entire checking line. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:32:51 Is 108.5 points. Yeah, that's high. I got to go under with that one. Yeah. Yeah, that's just, there's too many points there for, like you say, a team that not only lost this entire checking line, lost Yanni Gord for nothing. They had a tough summer. I think they did a decent enough job of replacing the guys they needed to replace, and they're bringing people in-house who, because they're the Tampa Bay Lightning, I'm sure, our future 60-point every single. single season forever, guys.
Starting point is 00:33:32 With that having been said, 108 and a half seems real high. And you run the risk now. I mean, they played so much hockey in the last 15 months or whatever. The regular seasons have been shorter, but it's still that compact amount of time. And the off season was like fucking month. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:33:49 Right? Yep. So you do run the risk of maybe some guys getting hurt, which is fine. That means you just put them on long-term injured reserve. They come back for game one of the playoffs. And you sign. Like an all-star somehow.
Starting point is 00:34:01 Right, you trade for Eichol, and then, you know, you get Stamcoast back for game one. Just do the math. But that said, they're a very good team. Yep. With the best goal in the league. Well, we'll get into that, I guess, later. And, yeah. And, you know, it's hard to knock the king off the throne.
Starting point is 00:34:21 Speaking of the Kings, today's episode of Puck Sue is sponsored by Draft Kings. Okay, that'll work. You know what? week one of the NFL is in the books. And ladies and gentlemen, I'll watch week two of the Jets. That's how good Zach Wilson looked in the second half. Congratulations to the Jets. You didn't have me burn my jersey yet after one week. Also, that Monday Night Football game was fucking awesome between Baltimore and Vegas. Draft Kings is the official daily fantasy partner of the NFL, and they are putting you in the center of the action for week two. New
Starting point is 00:34:58 customers can get a free shot at millions of dollars in total prices with their first deposit by signing up using the code Puck soup, P-U-C-K-S-O-U-P, so get into the action now. It's simple. You just pick your lineup, stay under the salary cap, unless for Tampa, and see how your team stacks up against the competition. Feel the NFL action like never before with a free shot at millions of dollars in prizes. So download the Draft Kings app now, okay? Use the promo code PUCK-S-O-U-P, all one word.
Starting point is 00:35:32 This week, new customers can get a shot at a free shot at millions of dollars in total prizes with the promo code Puck Soup. That's promo code Puck Soup. Only at Draft Kings, the official daily fantasy partner of the NFL, minimum $5 deposit required, eligibility restrictions apply, and see DraftKings.com for all the details. Or details. The Columbus Blue Jackets. I guess we should mention that. We didn't talk about that off the top of the show. Sylvann LaFabe
Starting point is 00:36:03 fired by the Blue Jackets for refusing to get a vaccine after being hired in June as an assistant coach. Yeah, you would have thought that might come up during the interview process. Personally, I might have asked that. They were apparently aware of this for some time, but I guess maybe they were just waiting
Starting point is 00:36:28 and hoping that he'd change his mind or something? I don't know. But he's out and then he becomes a second NHL-level assistant coach to opt out of the season because of the vaccine thing. Seems like he opted out of a job. Well, yeah, I should say he got fired. He opted not to get the vaccine thing. He got fired.
Starting point is 00:36:46 Rocky Thompson stepped down because he's, I guess, medically unable to get the vaccine. It's going to be interesting to speaking to vaccines, what the capacity situation is at these arenas that have full vaccination policy. I don't necessarily think it's going to impact them. But, I mean, when you start, like, potentially losing season ticket holders because of the policy, it could have a minimal impact. I don't know. I think it's going to be hard to really gauge it because you still have people that are hesitant to be amongst big.
Starting point is 00:37:24 crowds in arenas where they're not socially distancing anymore, and then you're going to have people that just don't want to, you know, wear a mask or get the vaccine and go to a hockey game. I don't know. Yeah, you know, I think that because so many people or so many teams are just like, yeah, you got to have a vaccine at least one. I think Buffalo said like at least one.
Starting point is 00:37:48 And it's like, oh, so like unvaccinated people then, okay. But, yeah, I don't know. Like, I think that there's just going to be enough people who, like, I think maybe they're going to just have tickets or problems selling tickets in Buffalo anyway. But, like, what, can you, I've got to know an explanation for that one shot. Like, like, what is it? Just an act of good faith that you'll get the second shot eventually. Yeah, right. What is that?
Starting point is 00:38:17 Yeah, I don't know. Yeah, they got to sit there with you and, and, you. watch you book your second appointment. There you go. As you're coming in. It'll be interesting to see how these teams work it, too. I mean, I know that there are a couple that are working on their own apps to, you know, so you can show your vaccine status.
Starting point is 00:38:38 Did I talk about going to the U.S. Open on this podcast? I forget. Briefly, I believe. The vaccine situation in New York City is one where you have to show proof of vaccination. Yeah, but, oh, right, you did talk about that. And at photo ID, but then at the U.S. Open, you just kind of waved your phone. Yep. Which I'm sure is going to be the same thing for NXT when it's there, too.
Starting point is 00:38:56 So it'd be interesting to see what level of enforcement we're going to see at these arenas. Anyways, Blue Jackets are 76 and a half points over under. Under, I guess under. Some consternation there. Yeah, this is one of those ones where it's... What's your boggle in the words of Sandra Bullock and Demolition Man? Um, this is just one of those ones where I think it's, that's real close to being just about right. You know, um, I'll go, I'll take the under just because I think a lot of this division is
Starting point is 00:39:33 solid, if a bit mediocre. And they're all just going to kind of beat up on, uh, Columbus, but, um, I'll go under. Really good goaltending first year coach team that's, bit of is in flux at the forward position a little bit. I'll take me under there. And a topsy-turvy but competitive division, I think, too, as we'll see as we go on here. All right. The beloved New Jersey Devils adding Dougie to the mix, hopefully giving Jack someone to pass to in Tomash Tar. Yeah, they have a nice summer for themselves, I thought.
Starting point is 00:40:19 They did. Well, they better. They spent enough. Right. Over under 90 and a half points for the New Jersey Devils. Slight over. I also like that they actually have someone who's like a competent goaltender who's not McKenzie Blackwood. Because, like, I've said it on the podcast before. Not a big believer in McKenzie Blackwood. But the last couple of years, it seemed like the devils were like, well, you have to be because we don't have another.
Starting point is 00:40:49 Yeah. So, yeah, I think Bernier is like a nice, maybe not even safety net. Like, I think he should be starting over McKinsey Blackwood. But he may end up. You never know. And I mean, certainly the cap number kind of implies that four point, whatever. He seems like he should be the guy. And then they obviously like the other thing with the devils is that they have a lot of young guys
Starting point is 00:41:19 who should be improved. Like, again, just the fact that, like, Nico Hesher is only 22 or 23 or whatever is... That's a young guy, you know? He's still improving. Right. And he's good. So...
Starting point is 00:41:32 He's very good. Okay, so... John at the Athletic says the Devils have probably added four wins their lineup. Okay. Their point projection last season, if you go by their... by their points percentage for an 82 game season was only like 66 points.
Starting point is 00:41:54 Yeah. So you're still looking in theory in the neighborhood of like 74 points. Right. If you were to like do all the math. Right. I'll still take the under here because I am not convinced that there's enough goal scoring on that roster. But I will say that the improvement in goal and the potential Dougie Hamilton effect,
Starting point is 00:42:18 particularly on a Moribund power play could make me wrong. And obviously, as a Devils fan, I'd fucking love to be wrong on this one. I would love if they weren't dog shit this one. Yeah, I just remember they added Ryan Graves to kind of shore up the middle of that defense too, because that was their real.
Starting point is 00:42:35 Yeah. There's some good stuff. But I still think that they're going to be slightly under this for another season. I got four words for you, Greg. Pavel Zaka, breakout. season. He's, he's, he's, he's been breaking out.
Starting point is 00:42:52 It's been a, it's like, it's like, it's like, it's, it's like, it's, it's like, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's, he's, he's, he's, he's, he's, he's, certainly, but surely for the last couple of seasons. Um, all right. So, devils I say under, you say over. Uh, the flyers. 94 and a half points over under under. I think this is a huge, huge, huge diversion point for me and you. Because you say under, right?
Starting point is 00:43:18 Yeah, I don't trust that goal-tending as far as I can throw it. And those are some big boys, Greg. I can't throw them very far at all. Especially with all that the gear on. Yeah. I bet you could throw Darren Pang pretty far, though. Not a big guy at all, famously. Right.
Starting point is 00:43:40 Chris Tereri, you could probably throw. Yep. Probably not Bobby Boolin. I mean, if your nickname's The Wall, chances are it would be tough to throw. I'm going to go super over here. I think they're going to be real good this season. And I think the Carter Heart thing was an aberration. And better damn well being.
Starting point is 00:44:05 Yeah, well, right. That's the thing. Because if it's even slightly not an aberration, again, Martin Jones is your fallback position. But I can't, again, like the thing about the flyers, provided that he's healthy, the acquisition of Ryan Ellis is such a, it's, it's, It's the thing that they needed. Like, I know that we tend to look at situations like losing Matt Niskinan and being like, what the fuck, it's Matt Niskenen. But honestly, with the way that team was built, it really was kind of the thread that
Starting point is 00:44:36 unraveled the sweater. And getting Ryan Ellis to fill that role, he's better than fucking Matt Niskenen. And if he's healthy, I think he's going to be something that really solidifies the defense in front of one gold or tender that I think is going to be quite good. And also Martin Jones. So I'll take the over here. or the OVA, as it were. Washington Capitals,
Starting point is 00:45:00 95 and a half points for the caps. Ova Under. This is another tough one. A very slight over. Very slight. I'll take the under. Wow. The more I think about the caps,
Starting point is 00:45:21 and I don't want to think about it, because I want only the best for Alex Ovechkin, and I think that the world is a more interesting place when the capitals are good and competitive and they very well might be I don't know I just I can kind of feel the It's getting a little creaky
Starting point is 00:45:42 Yeah it's getting a little creaky I mean it's getting a little creaky I'm not really super in love with their back end although I think Samsonoff and Vanichick will be fine I can't I can't in good faith say they're going to be a 96 point team or better. I think they're going to be under. And that's because I think that other teams are improving.
Starting point is 00:46:07 Which brings us to the New York Rangers. I've got to go on here. 95 and a half points. Over under, you say under? That's a little too high. They didn't improve this summer. They got worse, probably. What do you mean they got worse?
Starting point is 00:46:26 They just went out and got a bunch of punch guys. Yeah, they knuckled up. someone to protect their young stars. Okay, if you say so. Oh, what did I see? What was the headline? There was an incredible headline about Alexei Lafranier the other day. Shit.
Starting point is 00:46:50 Well, while you think about it, all their young guys are going to be a year better, including Lafranier and hopefully Kako. Yeah, here we go. Should LaFrenier get the McDavid treatment and be the next? captain of the New York Rangers. Wow. I would not want to be in the business of putting those two names in the same sentence, but... Hey. I think it's right there.
Starting point is 00:47:21 Like, they could be a 96-point team. That's probably my ceiling. But I think they're going to be better. Wow. Than the capitals. And I'll take the over on this one. Wow. I know.
Starting point is 00:47:35 What can I tell you? I'm a huge Barkley-Gadrow fan. That's right. Well, you fucking better be the one they signed up. Signed through the fucking... Through the end of the decade. Yeah. I don't think it was that.
Starting point is 00:47:49 I think it could be. Here's a real tough one. Yeah. Carolina Hurricanes, 96 and a half points. I think I'm going to go slight over. I'm going to go under. I don't like the downgrade on defense. Yeah, and they're really rolling the Dyson net.
Starting point is 00:48:15 They really are rolling the Dyson net. You know, blowing up your gold-thending battery and turning it over to Freddie Anderson and Auntie Ranta until his next injury is a little bit concerning. Listen, they could be very good, though. They are really good up front. So good up front. Oh, my God.
Starting point is 00:48:35 Great coach. What a group of forwards they have. I'll take a sleight under here, but I could be wrong. I mean, obviously, I could be wrong. I mean, I could say that, but every one of these fucking picks. That's right. You know what, Greg? That's true.
Starting point is 00:48:51 You know, I could be wrong, but the Pittsburgh Penguins, 98 and a half points over under. I mean, if you're coming out of the blocks without Sid and Gino. Well, again, like, I said this earlier this week, but like the whole without Sid thing, he's going to miss, what, like four or five games? It's not like they're playing the first quarter of the season. without Cindy Crosby. Right.
Starting point is 00:49:15 I don't, do we even know what the timeline is on Malkin? No. Cool. You got to love that. You just need one of them in the lineup, though. I mean, then they'll be fine. They know how to do this. Right.
Starting point is 00:49:30 I said it, I think, last week of, like, you were going to have to prove to me that this team is dead before, like, before I pronounce them dead, if that makes sense. Like, you'll have to be like, no, no, no, you don't understand. but then if you said it's because their goal-tending tandem is Kristen Jari and Casey to Smith, I'd be like, okay, you got it. Justin Jari is fine of the regular season. Is he? He was right around, he was right around average last year, but an adventure a lot of the time, I think you would say, right?
Starting point is 00:50:08 Like I, where you just didn't know, oh, this is this going to be one of the nights he gives up six goals or whatever? Yeah, I don't, I'm having a hard time seeing it. I'll take the under if I didn't already say that. I think Carolina finishes ahead of them. I'll take the over. The other thing, the other thing to say about this is, LaTang is also going to miss time at the start of the year. Am I right about this? Oh, I didn't know that.
Starting point is 00:50:46 Do I not know that? I feel like that's I feel like that's true. Let me look this up. I don't know. Maybe I'm wrong about that. But even if he's healthy and fully ready to go, the rest of that defense,
Starting point is 00:51:06 John Marino, good player, Brian Dumlin, pretty good, Marcus Patterson. Hey, he's solid. And then Mike Matheson, Chad Ruehiel, and Mark Friedman, and maybe Matt Bartkowski if they sign him off as PTO. Those are your defensemen for the Pittsburgh Penguins. Dicey.
Starting point is 00:51:25 Again, you're really... I just... Your point about not counting them out always resonates for me, and they'll probably end up with, like, 99 points. Also applies to the capitals, right? Because it's like, look, we're just going to get on the power play and score a goal and a half a game there. You figure it out.
Starting point is 00:51:44 Same deal. The New York Islanders, 99 and a half points over under. I got to go over because I took, I think, too many unders on all these other teams in the division. Very much the best team in that division, kind of by default, I feel like. I think so, too, and I also think that they're just a real solid group. They're solid. They've been a hundred-point team under Barry Trots previously and throw in the new arena and the whole thing. You keep saying this about the new arena
Starting point is 00:52:17 How many points is this worth to you? They're going to go undefeated at UVS. Wow. That's how many points. Fucking 82 points is how much it's worth. Wow. Watch out Tampa Bay Lightning regular season record. Here come the Islanders.
Starting point is 00:52:33 You know what? If they get 82 points at home this year, Greg, I'll buy you steak dinner, my friend. Well, all right. Well, then I'll start scoping out, Steakhouses between New York and Massachusetts. The best steakhouse in Connecticut. Can't wait.
Starting point is 00:52:52 Oh, the best steakhouse in Connecticut probably puts like fucking clams on their steak, just like they do with their fucking pizza. That's a pretty good pizza. You ever have one of those? Pretty solid. I think I have. I don't know. I once had a Connecticut pizza at some point. I don't even know if it had clams on it or not.
Starting point is 00:53:10 They're good. Look, like all this stuff about New Haven pizza? Pretty good. Well, you know what? You and I will eat some steak and then we'll go get some Connecticut pizza, and we'll end up with our pants being two sizes too small. And if you need to get some bigger clothes. Wow, that's a stretch.
Starting point is 00:53:32 Why that's a stretch? Black Weldon. Oh, boy, oh, boy. It is a stretch because we'll have eaten so much food that the clothes will be stretched out. We'll eat new ones. Right. look, we're all very busy. You might not have time to really kind of figure out what to buy as far as the clothing stuff,
Starting point is 00:53:52 but McWeldon makes it super easy with their daily wear system. The daily wear system is a selection of clothes rooted in smart design made with performance fabrics and built to work together. From breathable t-shirts and polos to stylish buttonups and shorts, underwear and beyond. MacWeldon makes it easy for you to dress for work, leisure, or play, or wherever. life takes you. I, in fact, right now I'm wearing my Mac Weldon underwear. It just seems to time out this way.
Starting point is 00:54:20 When we do the podcast, I want to be in something really comfy. And those are very comfy. And I've got a few pairs. And they are definitely ones that I wear. Do you have underwear that you pick out for certain days? If you know you're going to be doing something that you have, I'm going to wear these. Yeah, I pick out the clean underwear. Oh, okay.
Starting point is 00:54:43 I pick out the comfortable underwear when I know I'm going to be sitting around or lounging around or I know I want to be in a relaxed mindset and that's why I wear my Mac Weldon's while doing this dumb podcast. It could be a lazy Sunday. If you have a lazy Sunday,
Starting point is 00:54:58 their ace sweatshorts have modern tailoring and pair perfectly with their ultra-soft, ultra-upgraded primatees. All their stuff is super comfy and as the weather remains a little bit Toasty outside still, definitely recommend their light and breathable polos that look good and will make you feel good too. The Mac Weldon Daily Wear system is available if you go to macwellden.com.
Starting point is 00:55:30 And if you go to macwellden.com slash puck, P-U-C-K, and then enter the promo code P-U-C-K, you get 20% off your first order. That's macwelden.com, M-A-W-E-L-D-O-N.com slash puck. promo code Puck for 20% off. Mac Weldon radically efficient wardrobeing. Highly recommend their products. It's really good stuff. And thanks to Mac Weldon for being a sponsor of Puck Soup.
Starting point is 00:55:56 Central Division. Please keep in mind, folks, the big realignment news isn't just simply, hey, we moved all the teams back to where they belong after the big old jumble roo last year with the Al-Canadian division. West? Hold on a second. Oh, that steak, you know, you're going to make the Illich family angry. And then I'll never get my $5 hot and ready pizza. Yeah, that's right.
Starting point is 00:56:22 It'll be $6 for me. Outrageous. Lambert, colon, Detroit belongs in the West, and Domino's rules. Domino's does rule now. Ever since they changed the recipe in the, whatever, mid-2010s, unbelievable. Well, as you know, as you know. I'm a Died in the Wool leftist who continues to eat at Chick-fil-A and order Papa John's. Papa John's was a good option when they had a sponsorship.
Starting point is 00:56:55 Like every time the Red Sox won, you got five-topping pizza for $12 or whatever it was. That's a good deal. It was a really good deal. And I took full advantage. You know, my favorite sports food tie-in, I still remember this very distinctly. Tulane University. I was watching a Tulane men's basketball game once on ESPN. It was like a late-night game.
Starting point is 00:57:27 I just threw it on my bedroom TV. And I distinctly remember that they were blowing out somebody, or maybe they were losing by a lot. I don't remember. and the crowd was going fucking crazy. And the announcers had to acknowledge that the reason that the crowd was going crazy, despite the score being out of hand, was because if Tulane scored a certain amount of points, everybody in the crowd got free cheese fries. Yeah. And so late in the game, with the game decided, it sounded like the last minute of overtime because the entire crowd was chanting cheese fries. fries.
Starting point is 00:58:08 Right. It's fucking great. Yeah. The best is B.U, their hockey teams do is a very similar thing with, if you go to, there's a raisin canes right next to the arena there. And the way they do it, it's always so funny because it's like if a B.U. seniors scores a power play goal and the second be like just really
Starting point is 00:58:38 and yet they seem to do it 85% of the time they seem to nail it even though they do the you ever see that movie rookie of the year? Oh yeah. Where they're like you know playing a game day on a or a day game on a Tuesday in a
Starting point is 00:58:54 dome in the east of the continental divide. This guy's hitting 380 or whatever. Like they really try to slice it thin and yet Raisin Cain's always comes out a loser on that. Damn. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:59:10 By the way, Papa John's, uh, Papa John's pepperoni pie, they put the pepperoni under the cheese and their dipping sauce, I mean, it's hard, it's hard not to, as all I'm saying. I think it's fine.
Starting point is 00:59:23 It was good when it was $12. It's my, the coyotes are moving back to the central, are moving to the central division, was what I was going to say earlier with the realignment thing. Yeah. Uh, When you think of the middle of the country, you're like Phoenix, Arizona.
Starting point is 00:59:36 That's right. Well, I mean, you think of Houston, which, you know, may or may not be applicable here. The coyotes over under is 68 and a half points. Spoiler warning for the rest of these point projections. I think they picked the wrong year to go to the central. Or if you're the Phoenix coyote or the Arizona coyotes. You picked the right one. Because you're trying to be as horrible as possible, and you are going to succeed.
Starting point is 01:00:03 at that and I will take the under of 68 and a half points. I too will take the under of 68 and a half points. Free Phil Kessel. The National Predators over under of 84 and a half points for the UC Soros
Starting point is 01:00:25 still got Douchain and Johansson don't have Ryan Ellis National Predators. I'm going to take a slight under on this. I think they could be a pretty good team. But do I think they're going to be good enough? They sold this summer, Craig. That's the thing is, like, they don't have Ryan Ellis anymore, for example.
Starting point is 01:00:52 Right. They gave them away for almost nothing, I seem to recall. So. So they were a, let me just do the math here real quick. their point projection last year was 93 points Yeah And now we're saying that they're going to drop by like nine points Fuck
Starting point is 01:01:18 I got to still take the over I think I still I had under I'm going to switch to over I think they'll be slightly ahead of 84 points Let me read to you Their decor Please don't Roman Yose and Matissek at home Okay great
Starting point is 01:01:33 Those two guys on the left side that's solid Dante Fabro Yeah Okay A real up and comer Maybe Maybe Phil Myers from the Flyers
Starting point is 01:01:42 Then Mark Boravietchki Matt Benning or Ben Harper Those are your options Once you get out of the top The top four there Okay The other thing to say Is this is a team that's spending
Starting point is 01:01:58 It says here It's like $70 million Against the cap And that's with the aforementioned Duchenne and Johansen contracts. Right. So. Good to see Ben Harper getting work.
Starting point is 01:02:11 That's all I'll say. All right. Here comes the real, here comes the one everyone's been waiting for, considering who my podcasting partner is. Your Chicago Blackhawks, 91.5 points over under. This feels just about right. 91.5, I mean.
Starting point is 01:02:33 As in not in the playoffs. but I'm going to take a slight over on this. Very slight, but I think they're just good enough, we've talked about it a million times, to pretend like they're playoff competitive. Obviously, I'm going to go over. The playoff-bound Blackhawks will be well over 91.5 points with this lineup that they've put together.
Starting point is 01:03:04 I mean, let's be honest. here. I mean, we haven't even talked about the Hendrik Jorgstrom effect. So give me Flurry, give me some wins above average, and give me the Chicago Blackhawks over
Starting point is 01:03:22 91.5 points. The Wittipack Jets. I'm slamming the over on whatever the number is. It's 130 and a half. Well, you got me? I think there are 131.1. They're 92.5.
Starting point is 01:03:46 Seems a little low. Seems extremely low. Yeah. I'll take the over here too. And I bolded the over here in my write-up. They fucking paid attention to their back end for the first time in three years. Three years. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:04:02 Real long time. I don't love Josh Morrissey. But like by committee, there's no. there's basically no one on this defense that I go, ooh, he stinks. You know what I mean? Well, like, by no means, am I saying, like, Brendan Dillon and Nate Schmidt are going to vie for the Norris,
Starting point is 01:04:22 but they're like, they're like such sturdy performers. And Nate just needed to get the fuck out of Vancouver because he clearly didn't fit there culturally or on the ice. And he's good. They're both good. Yeah, that's what I'm saying. The problem with the Jeds defense the last several years is there were three guys every year where you'd be like, oh, he sucks. He's so bad.
Starting point is 01:04:49 One of them's on Vancouver now. Yeah. Fucking Tucker Pullman. Right. No, yeah. And so there's maybe, I don't even think Nathan Bulli is like that bad. but like if he's the kind of questionable guy on your on your blue line that's solid um they they also short up their depth this summer like i think they went out and got riley nash who's
Starting point is 01:05:15 a perfectly good like bottom of the lineup guy and i don't know and then like you know the idea of connor hellabuck behind a competent defense like fucking look out you know what i mean like that's this guy won uh avesna and rightly so behind one of the worst defense defense groups in the league now a bunch of guys who are at least decent
Starting point is 01:05:43 in front of him I think this is a team with a real strong upside here Nick Eilers founding his next level as the star all of it's good
Starting point is 01:05:53 oh I love Nick Eilers the other thing you've got to say though I guess is like when did the wheels fall off for Blake Wheeler huh look what you just did I didn't even mean to. And like, you know, Mark Schifley, he's going to miss a couple of games at the beginning
Starting point is 01:06:08 of the season. But also, you know, is he as good as the reputation? I would say no. But I don't know. Like I said, like just a pretty solid forward group. And, you know, hopefully they can be decent at five on five. Again, I don't really trust the coaching. But shout out to whoever on Twitter said this week when Mark Sheifley was ranked in the top 25 NHL players. Oh, can we never mention an NHL network list again, please?
Starting point is 01:06:40 Like, whoever represents Mark Shifley and gets them on these lists, it's pretty amazing. Yeah. I mean, it consistently cracks the top 25 on lists where he should not be in the top 30. Right. Top 40. Yeah, no, like that list had him ahead of Connor Hellebuck. And it's like, first of all, Connor Hellebuck,
Starting point is 01:06:58 you know, if we, if goalies were weighed properly in terms of their on-ice value or whatever, the top 20 would be nothing but goalies, basically, right? Like, it would be, it would be Connor McDavid, maybe Leon Dry Seidel, and a bunch of goalies. Like, that's what... Nathan McKinnon. Sure. But, you know, again, like 15 of the top 20 would be goalies, probably.
Starting point is 01:07:26 But the idea that Connor Hallibuck isn't comfortably a top 10 player. in the league is fucking psychotic. Right? Like, he's incredible. He's been the reason this to anybody thought this team was any good for however, what, three years running? Mm-hmm.
Starting point is 01:07:43 So. All right. Jordan Bennington and the St. Louis Blues, 94 and a half points. I got to go over. I think they had a great summer. I go over to Great summer.
Starting point is 01:07:53 Tori Krug will probably be better in year two there than he was in year one. A little concerned. I think. Isn't Preco out for a little bit for them? That's a good question. I think the only guy they, in reading about the whole Robert Thomas situation, the only person they're talking about in relation to He'll Miss Time is, I believe, Sunquist, and they don't think he's going to miss enough time to even be on the LTIR. So he's going to miss like four games or whatever.
Starting point is 01:08:23 Preco doesn't have a big red cross next to his name on Cap Friendly, so I assume he's fine. Yeah, I think Although they didn't bolster the backup goalie position behind Bennington, I'm not a Willie Husso fan I'm not a Jordan Bennington fan So, yeah, I have it, but The rest of the line is real good and we've yet to see
Starting point is 01:08:44 How the ball's going to bounce on the Tarasenko thing too If they trade him and get some stuff back great If he hangs around, great, it's all good Everything else in the lineup is solid I think the blues are going to be on the rebound this year year.
Starting point is 01:09:02 Dallas Stars, 95 and a half points. This one, much like the Winnipeg Jets, hard on the over. I got to go under on this team, right? Oh, okay, I thought you're going to say hard on the over. No, no. No, I go under as well. Yeah, like, that's, do people still think they're the team that accidentally went to a cup final in the bubble? Like, is that what happened here?
Starting point is 01:09:24 Because all their... They're an interesting team. because it really is kind of the last hurrah for this group, because to Pavelsky is a UFA, Radulovs of UFA, and Klingberg's a UFA. Yeah, right. And Sagan's coming off a year he didn't play. Ben Bishop is coming off a year. He didn't play and might not be able to play again this year.
Starting point is 01:09:49 He's not going to play like that's definitive. I don't know if it's definitive, but I think when you make a move for Holtby, like that's an acknowledgement that you don't expect. Well, Hope he doesn't cost, like, he's only cost him like two million bucks or whatever, right? So, but I just, you know, who was their big signing this summer? Was it fucking? Souter. Oh, that's right.
Starting point is 01:10:11 They did get Ryan Souter. That's the team. Like, I still, I think they go under, but I don't know how by how much. I mean, I still think this is very close to being a playoff team. I think the fact that it is kind of like one last shot with this group. You can't ignore that aspect of it? I think they're a playoff team by default, pretty much, because, you know, if we're saying Colorado locked in, Minnesota almost certainly locked in pending whatever happens with Caprizov, and then Winnipeg pretty much locked in, St. Louis is a wildcard team, it feels like. Oh, you're saying, you're saying my Blackhawks pick might not become the fruition.
Starting point is 01:10:55 No, I don't think so. I do like all those teams. They might have to finish ahead of Dallas to get in the playoffs. Well, they would have to finish ahead of Dallas because, you know, we'll talk about the Pacific in a second. But, like, that seems like it has, like, one and a half teams that are on the playoff bubble, right? Yeah. So. Right.
Starting point is 01:11:19 I'll take the under on Dallas. Yeah. 97.5 points for the Minnesota Wild. Oof. This is another one where it's like, yeah, they nailed this plus minus because they feel like a 97 or 98 point team to me. I'm going to go like half a point over, honestly. Like I think this is a 98 point team. Like right there, you know.
Starting point is 01:11:51 As long as this like CapriSoft stuff doesn't bleed over into the season. I'll take, I'll go the other way. I'll take him, I'll take a tick down. I'll say they're like a 97 point. Right. Yep, exactly. The thing, the other, the other big question is, does Camp Talbot still have it? Because he's getting up there and he was, he was good last year.
Starting point is 01:12:16 Like, I'm not saying he wasn't, but we've seen it a million times. Goleys just at this age, they just come back after a summer and they stink now, you know? I could easily see that. And then you're like, so do I trust Capocacanin to be legit? And I don't know if I do. There's still a donut. I still hate them up the middle, like outside of Ericksonac. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 01:12:46 Yep, that's about right. Here, let's see here. What's their goal? What's their center death? Victor Rask. No, thank you. Freddie Goddrow. And Nico Sturm, who I'm shocked is even in the NH
Starting point is 01:12:58 after, you know, he was like an okay college player, but like, you know, he's almost kind of by default in the NHL, right? Like, and then, you know, yeah, I don't trust it, certainly that don't know. Can't trust it, no. As Polic enemy once said. Finally, the Colorado Avalanche over under 110.5 points, baby. Greg? I'm taking the over on this one.
Starting point is 01:13:30 Wow. I think the bottom of the West sucks so bad that, like, Colorado, there are going to be a lot of free points for Colorado and anybody else at the top of the West. I guess this is kind of a spoiler alert for how I feel about Vegas and Edmonton as well. I think there are so many teams that are so bad in net and on the blue line. that teams with even like semi-competent offenses are going to go fucking wild this season. I got to take the under. It's a really high number.
Starting point is 01:14:12 Yeah, absolutely. Yeah, a 111 point team. I can't do it. I get it. Yeah. And they're going to outkick their coverage and they're going to maraud teams because, I mean, Nathan McKinnon looked like he was going to want a killing spree after the playoffs last year. And not just because of the Adrian Dator question.
Starting point is 01:14:28 they're going to be really good I just can't go above 100 111 points with this team I get it But somebody's good to be I guess Like somebody has to be You know The team that beats the shit out of everybody
Starting point is 01:14:43 Yeah I know Because I mean To circle back to the Eastern Conference These numbers have only four points over Or four teams over 100 points And it's Tampa who we don't think they're that good Toronto where it's like, yeah, 105 sounds about right. Boston, not really.
Starting point is 01:15:02 Florida, maybe. You know what I mean? Like, so somebody's going to have well over 100 points. That's just how the numbers break down. Yeah, like I picked. Okay. Pick the leaves. That's, you know, don't worry about anybody else.
Starting point is 01:15:19 Yeah, and nobody ever went wrong going all in on the Toronto Maple Leafs. What might say I did it last year? when I picked them to win the cup. Yeah. You know? And it worked out for you. Listen, we're already,
Starting point is 01:15:33 by the way, we're already seeing people being like, well, what does it matter if the Leafs do anything in the regular season? Like, the Leafs could win every game in the regular season.
Starting point is 01:15:41 It doesn't matter unless they get out of it. Like, okay, yeah. Ah, the old Washington Capital Syndrome. Right. And like, but it's like, yeah, how many years running have we been saying that? Like, four minimum?
Starting point is 01:15:53 I mean, Jesus. That means we're getting close to seeing the column that I believe my friend Dan Steinberg once wrote for the Washington Post, which was the column about the Washington Capitals and said, hey, you know what? Maybe we should just appreciate the regular season more. Look, I've been banging that drum for a long time. I think winning the president's trophy should be seen as pretty much just as, like,
Starting point is 01:16:17 impressive as winning a Stanley Cup. But I don't know. I do know. Look at all the bad teams that get within a game. of winning a Stanley Cup. It's, it's, uh... Well, all I know is that Sidney Crosby's not taking pictures
Starting point is 01:16:35 of himself sleeping in bed next to the president's trophy and speaking of beds. Wow. Today's episode of Puck Sluf. What's up? Fuck. Uh-oh. Sorry.
Starting point is 01:16:47 Puck Sloop John B, that song from the Beach Boys house. Sloop John B is one of the most influential pop songs of the last century, by the way. which is interesting because it's one of the worst songs on pet sounds, right? Oh, no, I really dig that song on pet sounds. That song on pet sounds. And I think that, like, A.A. Dowd of the A.V. Club did a ranking of all of Weezer's songs.
Starting point is 01:17:13 It's pronounced A.E.W. by the way. No, no, he's not the wrestling thing. They're a critic on A.V. Club. He did a ranking of all of Weezer's songs this week, and I was thinking a lot about the Beach Boys because of how much influenced Brian Wilson had on Rivers Cuomo. in songcraft. And Sleep John B is a fantastic song. You know what you're talking about.
Starting point is 01:17:34 By the way, the number one Weezer song of all time was, I think it's called In the Garage, in the Blue album. It's a good song. What are I going to say? Yeah. Yeah, I know. Not my number one, though. What's your number one?
Starting point is 01:17:48 Surf Wax, baby. Let's do it. It's on fucking rips. Do I think it's one of the four best songs? on the blue album in the garage. Only in Dreams is better. The world is turned is better.
Starting point is 01:18:08 My name is Jonas is better. Then we get into the singles. Your buddy Holly and the sweater song. Oh, and say it ain't so is better. So there you go. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:18:24 Say it ain't so is really good. It fucking rocks. So, okay, just that's it. Listen, my ad read was perfect. And Brooklyn and we're going to get to you in a second. With the top 10. Sweater song, The Good Life from Pinkerton. Good record.
Starting point is 01:18:42 Or sorry, rather. Surf Wax. Island in the sun. Come on. The green album. Come on. A blue album B-side that was on the mall rat soundtrack, Suzanne. Good fucking song.
Starting point is 01:18:57 My name is Jonas. Yep. Say it ain't so. And, uh, I said in the garage is number one. Do you want to guess the other two, the ones I haven't mentioned yet? I'll give you a hint, both from Pinkerton. Both from Pinkerton.
Starting point is 01:19:12 Tired of Sex? No. Really? Hmm. I'll just tell you. El Scorcho was number three, and Across the Sea was number two. Across the Sea? I completely agree.
Starting point is 01:19:28 I would swap out across the sea for Tired of Sex. And also the best song on Pinkerton is The Good Life. Oh, God, absolutely. That song's fucking unbelievable. I still think Allscor chose a better song, but I think that it became ubiquitous. But I think The Good Life is fantastic. I'll put it this way. It is the best song that references ECW star New Jack.
Starting point is 01:20:01 That's for sure. Through press table. I was happy to see A.A. Dow would completely shit on Make Believe. Song number 204, Beverly Hills. Oh, that song stinks. Oh, my God. Song number 2002, we are all on drugs, which might be even worse than Beverly Hills. Sorry, the song goes. And also, like, I have a very special place in my heart for the green album.
Starting point is 01:20:27 I love the green album. I think it's so good. Yeah, it's one of the best pop rock albums of all times. time. It's so quick. Yeah, it's like 28 minutes or something. The thing I always say about the green album is, if any band that wasn't Weezer released it for any album that wasn't, as the follow-up to any album that wasn't Pinkerton, people would be like, this album kicks ass. Again, like, Island in the Sun is not a great song, and like Hash Pipe is certainly not my favorite song on that album. But, like, there's just so much good shit on there. guitar tone. Oh my God, the guitar tone on that record.
Starting point is 01:21:06 Like, if you, if any, any band came out with that album and, like, opened the album with Don't Let It Go, you'd be like, this is the second, this is the second coming of the next great pop punk band, you know, like, it would be just like people go fucking ape shit for it. Yeah. I love it. It's, it's really good. Yeah. But Island in the Sun is fine. Yeah, it's a, it's a song. It's a good change up. It's a song for babies, but it's a good song for. babies. You know what? Babies. Babies need that when you lay your little baby's head down on the pillow. And speaking of pillows, today's episode of Puckson-Stubis by Brooklyn. We got there. Yes. Brooklinen, as we all know, is a product that I use every day when I'm home because Brooklyn and sheets are on my bed. Brooklyn and Comforter is on my bed. Brooklyn Pillar cases are on my pillows. And my God, it is the most comfortable, durable, and, uh, wonderful linen experience that we've ever had. We're never going back.
Starting point is 01:22:08 But they've got so much more than bedding stuff. They've got loungeware that has classic cuts and no zippers. Because if you're lounging around your couch and you're just wearing your comfies, you know what you don't want to do? Get all scratched up by a zipper. That's not what you want to do. Brooklyn has got fantastic stuff. We've mentioned the bedware.
Starting point is 01:22:29 We mentioned the lounge wear. And you can check out everything they've got. the tanks, the teas, the joggers, the sweats. We all want to be lounging around on their sweats on the weekend. That's for sure. You can check it all out at brooklinen.com. Get comfortable, especially in bed. If you're waking up in your bed, you're not like waking up in pure bliss,
Starting point is 01:22:51 and you're like, I don't want to leave this bed. You probably don't have brook-linen on it. So go to brook-l-L-L-I-N-E-N-com. And while you're there, you enter the promo code puck to get $20 off your order with a minimum purchase of $100. That's brooklinon.com promo code puck for $20 off with a minimum purchase of $100. That's brooklinen.com promo code puck. Highly recommend Brooklyn and products.
Starting point is 01:23:20 The Pacific Division. Wait, do we say what the best song on the Green album is? Do we say this? You mean in Dow's ranking or just like in our hearts? For me, it's in my heart. I'm curious to see where it ends up. up in Dowd's ranking. I think Crabb is a fucking unbelievable song.
Starting point is 01:23:39 Well, crab is 99. Not high enough. Get it up there. No, no. Oh, girlfriend? Simple Pages? Damn. Yeah, Simple Pages is my favorite song from the Green album.
Starting point is 01:23:53 Good song. It, it, I think photographs really good, too. But I think Simple Pages, the way it builds is really great. It's got a great crescendo, that song. So you go. Did you ever listen to the Van Weezer album? I don't think I ever listened to it.
Starting point is 01:24:15 Greg, I hate to say this. It's like a B-minus. All right, I'll have to check it out then. I think it's really solid, but like I'm also 100% in the tank for Weezer, like, of a certain era, and also that era of heavy metal. So, you know, I guess your mileage may vary. But, like, there are multiple songs where it's like, hey, this is the riff from Crazy Train, okay? And I'm like, yeah, that's great.
Starting point is 01:24:48 I'll check it out. I think the last Weezer album that I indulged back to front was the white album, done with the, with Ellie Girls on it, which... Big mistakes. It's fine. No, the album stinks. It was fine. Speaking of stinks, the Anaheim Ducks, 70 and a half point.
Starting point is 01:25:06 I got to go under. You know, pending a Jack Eichael trade, but even still, I mean, I think they would be quite bad. So I got to go under. Again, the motivation is to be as bad as possible. I harkened back to that year when I wanted the doubles to tank, but they were unable to because they had Corey Schneider playing pretty well in goal. And I think he ruined our chances in getting Austin Matthews potentially that year. I think the same thing here.
Starting point is 01:25:45 Like, hard to envision an Anaheim Ducks team being under 70 points with John Gibson and goal. Yeah. So I'm going to go over here. I will say, though, John Gibson, the last two seasons and granted, shortened, 904 and 903. That's fine. In the new NHL, that bets Fesno worthy. Those numbers are bad Now granted, again, it's only 86 games, folks
Starting point is 01:26:18 So, you know And the last, well, the last postseason And then this full season, fake, not real. Wow. Ooh, hot take. Yeah. So like I get it, but also So a worrying trend for a guy who's on the wrong
Starting point is 01:26:40 side of his aging curve at this point. Lambert just called the hockey news fake news, I think, is what essentially you just said. For the last season, it was, well, no, the NHL was fake. It was the NHL news. Oh, that would have been fake, but hockey in general remain real. Like the concept of hockey remained true and real. Fair enough. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:27:05 The San Jose Sharks, my goodness. San Jose Sharks I gotta take the under on Well you didn't say what I have that in front of me So I probably have jumped the gun Well I wanted to set the scene Obviously the sharks have made Remarkable improvements in goal
Starting point is 01:27:23 With James Reimer and Aiden Hill And still have all your Your old overpaid favorites And have Evander Cain For now Which makes this bit Which makes this bit a little uncomfortable in that I think about it. How would you bet the San Jose Sharks over under this year?
Starting point is 01:27:44 Again, I would take the under. It's 83 and a half points, you would take the under. I'll take the over. I think it's like 85 points. Yeah. Somewhere in the neighborhood. The goaltending thing is certainly makes this very interesting, right? Because Martin Jones and what's his name from the Leafs?
Starting point is 01:28:03 And we said that, Arindell, those guys are terrible, right? But the question is, were they terrible because they were behind an aging Brent Burns, Mark Edward Vlasic? Who else? Eric Carlson, of course. But I don't know. Maybe. Maybe. Certainly Vlasic, I can buy that.
Starting point is 01:28:26 But I don't know about the rest. I think this is the start. Did we talk on the show last week about the whole Tomash Hirtle thing? I don't know if we mentioned it. Yeah, it might not have developed. The mysterious future of Tomash Hurtle. He seems like he wants out because he doesn't think they're going to win. And they're going to keep him long enough to try to convince him, you know, like basically till Thanksgiving.
Starting point is 01:28:56 And then they'll be like, oh, yeah, we're not even close to the playoff picture. Bye, bye, bye, Tomash. Yeah, and then he's going to go someplace and someone's going to get a really good player. Yeah, that the L.A. Yeah, he's fucking. Rocks. Boy, we want to talk about a team. Anybody in the Jack Eichael sweepstakes should be targeting that guy. Throw him on the wild and you got something there. Throw him on the Bruins and they don't have to run Charlie Coyle as they're number two anymore.
Starting point is 01:29:25 The Los Angeles Kings at 85 and a half points. I got to go over. I think they improved a hell of a lot this summer. Yeah. I think they're going to, I think this is their turn in the corner season. The Vancouver conducts at 88 and a half points. Oof. Yeah, I know. This is one of those deals. It's like the capitals over in the other conference,
Starting point is 01:29:52 where my heart wants them to be so good. I really do. Like, I want them to be so good. And I think that they've made a real good addition in Connor Garland, and then they also had to bring Ekman Larson with him. And I don't like their back end at all. pour one out for Thatcher Demko
Starting point is 01:30:12 having to play behind that D I like the left side of their back end I think I would say and then the right side maybe not so much Tyler Myers Travis Hammannick
Starting point is 01:30:24 and Tucker Pullman Now to me that sucks but like I I really like the addition of Connor Garland up front I think Thatcher Demco is legit
Starting point is 01:30:38 They cleared out a lot of the Deadwood at the bottom of the lineup Yeah, and like I think it is inarguable that their forward group improved, right? Like we can all agree on that. Jason Dickinson was a savvy pickup as well. Not so much on the back end, but I like the idea of a bounce back season for Hughes and Patterson. I thought Patterson had like MVP kind of. potential going into last season and obviously he sucked instead. He was quite bad for a good chunk of the season.
Starting point is 01:31:17 Yeah, it wasn't very good. But like the idea that he can get back to that level, that really checks out for me. Can can two lines carry this team? Two lines and Thatcher Dempco carry this team. Two lines of the power play and Thatcher Demko, I think, is the better question. because, like, again, no reason to be optimistic about what happens on the back end just because every pairing is weighed down by a stiff. But, like, Oliver Recman-Larsen is your number two left defenseman. Okay, I can buy that.
Starting point is 01:31:54 Maybe not at the price point, obviously. But, like, I think he can be a solid number two defenseman, or second-payer defenseman, I should say. and you know you give Hughes the runout on that on that top power play unit I think I think I got to go
Starting point is 01:32:12 a very slight over because mostly because I believe in Thatcher Demco but the last time anybody said I believe in blank the guy turned into freaking two-face so I know yeah well don't wear that
Starting point is 01:32:26 I believe in Thatcher Demko button that's your show I'll take the over as well I think they'll be slightly over I just hope Thatcher Demko his wife doesn't turn into the holiday killer, remember that from the long hell. Oh, yes.
Starting point is 01:32:38 I mean, spoilers for anybody hadn't read it, but. Calgary Flames, your beloved Calgary Flames, 90 and a half points. Under, way under, they suck. They're fucking terrible. They're going to be so bad. Wow. They're going to be really bad. Why do you believe that?
Starting point is 01:32:59 Well, they lost their number one defenseman for nothing. They replaced him with Nikita Zedorov, Eric Goodbranson, and Michael Stone. Oh, that's a good point. Not the best blue line. No, I think, you know, they've been trying to trade Johnny Godreau for, or at least the local media, who are just mouthpieces for the organization, have been trying to trade Johnny Godro for quite some time. They're still paying Milan Lu Cheech. Like, who'd they add up front?
Starting point is 01:33:31 Blake Coleman, am I right about this? Yeah, Blake Coleman for that big, long contract. Like, he, listen. That's a classic case of a guy who's going to be pretty good for a while, and then the back end of that contract, everybody's going to be like, oh, this guy sucks and he's always sucked. And, you know. They're a pesky pain in the ass team, coached by Daryl Sutter.
Starting point is 01:33:50 And that's the other thing. They are, again, like, look what they did this summer. They went out and got a bunch of Daryl Sutter guys. And that, it's not that league anymore. 90 points is their ceiling. And this is 90 and a half, so I'll take the under as well. Yeah, I think they're going to be quite bad. Even if, like, there are plenty of players I like on this team individually.
Starting point is 01:34:10 Again, Goddrow, Kachuk Mangiapani, Lindholm, I like, Anderson on the back end I like. And here's what it hinges on, right, is Jacob Markstrom. If he's the player they signed to whatever, $6 million, then yeah, okay. Like, I can see it with this team. If he's the player he was last year, which is to say bad, no thanks. They're going to be one of the worst teams in the Western Conference, if that's the case. They were so fucking bad last year.
Starting point is 01:34:49 Holy shit. All right. Well, I mean, this is coming from the world's number one Calgary fan, so it's got to be indictment. The Seattle Cracken. So the odds makers have said that the overunder for the Cracken is 92 and a half points. That sounds about right, doesn't it? Like, that's another one where it's like, yeah, I guess I'll go slight under. I don't know who puts the puck in the net for them is the main point of concern.
Starting point is 01:35:23 Well, they have a new arena, so they're going to win at least 35 games at home. That's right, yep. So you factor that in. I think I'll safely take the over here for our beloved Seattle Cracken. Wow. Yeah. Good goaltending. In theory, not hard to look good behind the Colorado Avalanche, though.
Starting point is 01:35:48 What about the Florida Panthers? And they also have Chris Dreacher. Don't forget about him. This is Chris Dreacher erasure right here. Yeah. I do wonder how many games he's going to get behind Grubauer. I like that defense pretty good. I like maybe a line and a half of their forward group,
Starting point is 01:36:11 and then the rest is like, yeah, I guess he's an NHL player, for sure. I know we're good. I mean, the comparisons to Vegas are unavoidable, absolutely. But if we like the goaltending, which we do, if we like the back end which we do, and then you have the same situation we had in Vegas where you're just like, all right, who the fuck's going to score here? And they ended up scoring a bunch of goals.
Starting point is 01:36:32 Yeah, I don't know that I can count on a Bill Carlson. This guy's going to come out of, like Alexander Wenberg is going to come out and know. You know, they'll fucking Jared McCann's going to turn into the new Wild Bill Carlson. Well, he did it last year, right? Like, he had a high shooting percentage last season or the season before. I can't remember now. But, again, I think there's a lot of guys on this team to like, but to your point about the Minnesota Wild, I think they're all on the wings.
Starting point is 01:37:02 I don't know who... Again, like, Cap Friendly has their number one center being Alexander Winberg. Well, I mean, the number one center is probably Yanni Gord. He's just hurt. That's true, yeah. How long is he out for? I keep forgetting that he's hurt. I think we have to get updates on all these guys at the start of camp because, like, it's all a bit of a mystery.
Starting point is 01:37:27 But he's out for a few months. That's a problem to me. I don't know when that started, though, like when the clock on that started. Yeah, that's true. All right. Edmondson Oilers, 97.5 points. Kind of by default, I'm going to take the over. I think that goal tending is so bad.
Starting point is 01:37:45 It is, but who cares? Like, Leon and Connor have chosen. To my earlier point about Colorado, though, they're going to win a shitload of five, four games. That's fine. Yeah. They all count. That's two points. baby, and they'll be a hundred point team.
Starting point is 01:38:01 And then finally, Vegas. Whatever the number is. They said it's 200 points. You know what? Taking the over. I have to say it. It's 100 and a six. A hundred and a six.
Starting point is 01:38:16 And a one and a two. It's a hundred and six and a half points. And I'll take the over as well. That's an easy call, I feel like. I don't know that they're going to miss it. beat losing the Vesna winner. Losing the Vesna winner, I don't know that they're going to miss a beat in that
Starting point is 01:38:34 division. But that's the thing that does give me just the slightest bit of pause is we're turning our team over to Robin Lainer and Laurent Brousal is the Walswa.
Starting point is 01:38:48 Wausau is the backup and a very competent backup is that but not Mark Andre Fleury. But they're still so damn good. They're great. Yeah. Yep. Watch Nolan Patrick become a fucking star to season for them.
Starting point is 01:39:04 Bill Carlson treatment. He just goes out there, he puts the puck in the net every fourth shot. Everybody's loving it. There you go. Well, there you go. This was a marathon hockey talk episode of puck soup. My God.
Starting point is 01:39:19 So many things hockey-wise that we talked about, along with, you know, Weezer and plants and other things too. Did you see malignant, Greg? Not yet. Yeah, it was the movie you saw yesterday. I saw it yesterday, yeah. It's probably a bit over an hour and a half long. Takes an hour to get going, but that last half hour is as insane as any last half hour of a fast and furious movie.
Starting point is 01:39:44 I heard, I heard it really was one of those, like, who was the director? James Juan. Yeah, I heard that, like, James Wan has, like, Yeah, like, he's got stroke now because he also directed Aquaman. man. Yes. And now, like, he just, you know, I'm the king of the world. I could do anything.
Starting point is 01:40:03 And then he just went fucking bat shit in the end of that movie. Yeah, this movie, I think probably costs like a million dollars to make. Like, it cost them nothing, right? And, and yeah, he's, let's see here. What, his directing credits are Saw, Dead Silence, Death Sentence. These are two movies I never heard of. Insidious, Insidious 2, Furious 7, The Conjuring 2, Aquaman, Malignant. They're going to let this guy make movies forever.
Starting point is 01:40:42 Pretty good. No, I saw Shang Chi. I think we talked about that there last week. Did we? Yeah, we did with the dragon fight, I mentioned, I think. With the dragon fight, yeah. No, I enjoyed it. And then I didn't watch anything on the plane.
Starting point is 01:41:00 to Chicago. I slept. But I will say that I finished season two of the boys, which is this show I've been watching while working out on Amazon Prime. Did you catch up with the boys? Yeah, it's good. I've been done with it for a while now, yeah. Very, very, very, very, very, very much
Starting point is 01:41:18 better than the source material, which I didn't like. Oh, yeah. That was one of those things where someone was like, did you know that was a comic book? And I was like, I guess not. And that's fine. You could use something for inspiration and then make it better. But I thought the first season was better, obviously, like a tighter narrative. They kind of knew where they were going with the story a little bit more. But the second season certainly does expand the universe a little bit in interesting ways.
Starting point is 01:41:46 And I'm here for a show that is as unsentimental as a nasty show. It's a really nasty show. Yeah. Which is interesting because every other show now is about like, like, doing, it's okay to go to therapy tweets, you know? Like, that's every fucking show now. And this show. I actually just read an article about, like, that's what Hollywood wants. They want stuff that people are going to use as, like, reaction gifts or whatever.
Starting point is 01:42:21 This show is not that. No. And this show, and it does a really good job of finding. ways to make you feel like the people that you're supposed to root for are going to get one over on the bad people. And then they kind of do, but never really... It's a purely victory, as they say. Yes, there really is.
Starting point is 01:42:45 There's at least like four times in season two, or maybe even five times in season two, where it looks like they're going to finally get one over on the bad superheroes, and then right at the moment where it's going to happen, something happens to, kind of. completely flipped the narrative, and then smash cut to Carl Urban going, oh, fuck, not again. It's some bloody gooners, isn't it, mate? They're at sixes and sevens. In my reading of reactions to the boys' season two,
Starting point is 01:43:14 I just kept coming across people in like comment sections being like, I'm from that part of London, and his accent is fucking terrible. Sorry, brov. You know. But again, like, I don't care if his accent is terrible because his accent is what we think you sound like. And that's all that matters to me. That's right.
Starting point is 01:43:38 Yeah. I'm not like, any, unless it's like really bad, like, um, the reverse of McNulty's accent and the wire, you know, where like a guy's just like, hello, mate, cheerio, pip, it's me. Right. From Jolio, England or whatever. Here's my hot take. We're so much better at doing British accents than Brits and Aussies are doing American accents.
Starting point is 01:44:05 We're really good. That's an interesting question. I wonder, because I feel like when it's bad, it stands out way more for Americans doing it. Whereas, like,
Starting point is 01:44:22 when a British person is doing a bad American accent, it's only certain words you know, as opposed to like the whole style of speech, if that makes sense? 80% of British actors
Starting point is 01:44:37 trying to do American accents sound like Alan Rickman as Bill Clay and Guy Harder. Yeah, that's true. I will say though that like, for example, when I didn't know Tom Holland was British and I was just like, yeah, it's good. Like that's what an American teen sounds like or whatever.
Starting point is 01:44:53 And he's a British 32 year old or whatever he is now. That's why I have mad respect for Kevin Costner for punting on the accent in Robin Hood. So, hello, who are you then? Robin Alaxley. Yeah. It's fantastic. You know, I've never seen that movie, I don't think. Or at least not all of it.
Starting point is 01:45:12 It does not age well. I mean, the crux of the villain plot is Alan Rickman trying to sexually assault Mary Elizabeth Master Antonio. Yeah, that's going to... Never good. That's going to be a problem. But it's good. I mean, at the time, it was very good. And a throwback to the time when your big summer action movie could be carried on the wings of a hit pop song, the Brian Adams song from that movie.
Starting point is 01:45:37 I don't know this one. I don't think. What? Everything I do, I do it for you. Oh, that song. I didn't see. I didn't know. Again, I don't think I've ever seen the movie in full.
Starting point is 01:45:47 Yeah. You had the big pop song and then they'd show, it was like a sneaky trailer because the song would become a hit on MTV and then all the people would. request it, and then they show clips from the movie in the trailer. Or in the video. You could be mine video, Sean's favorite thing that's ever happened in pop culture. Two great cases that go great together. That's what I would do. They had the Terminator walking around while Axel was singing.
Starting point is 01:46:13 It's true. That's what happens in that video. There's no two ways about that. It's like, you know, you're listening to Guns and Roses, and then you hear they watch the Terminator walking through. That's right, Sean. That's exactly right. Slash is playing the guitar, and then you see the T-1000.
Starting point is 01:46:33 Yep. Completely true. It's funny that they went from T-1,000 to T-2000 or whatever, right? Was that what the girl was? I think so. Or might have been the T-3,000, because, you know, it's Terminator 3 or whatever. But who, and who was, did the, did the resistance name these? Or was SkyNet being like, I better differentiate the models so everybody knows that we've really upgraded to the iPhone 13?
Starting point is 01:47:03 It was the TX. I was wrong about this. Yeah. Or the T10 if it was made by Apple. But again, like, was Skynet differentiating between these models? Hmm. And for what purpose? Yeah. T2,000, I was right.
Starting point is 01:47:27 That is a thing. It is the main antagonist of Terminator Carnage. What the fuck is that? Oh, that's when a symbiote takes over the Terminator. This is insane. This is from the Terminator, like, fandom wiki. Oh, boy. And it says the T-2000 was created after Carl's Jr. succeeded in destroying Arby's apparent primary base of operation.
Starting point is 01:47:54 This can't be real. What? I don't think this is a real. thing that you've found. No, the first comment is what the fuck is this bullshit? The line, the language, it's, what was,
Starting point is 01:48:09 it was it, what was the, what was the original model? Oh, T-800? Whatever it was. Then they went to T-1,000, right? Yeah. Then they went TX, and then they went to Andre 300. Am I right? Was that the progression?
Starting point is 01:48:26 Terminator Genesis is, the T... I don't know. T3,000 is Jason Clark's character in Terminator Genesis. Maybe that's what I was thinking of. Because I just remember being like, they couldn't have come up with anything better than this?
Starting point is 01:48:46 Yeah. That it's just a different thousand number. But Jason Clark, who I believe plays John Connor in... He does, spoiler. Well, no, that's not a spoiler. The spoiler is that he's a real... robot. No, that's a spoiler.
Starting point is 01:49:01 All right. Goofy, doofy. That's fuck soup for this week. Thanks to all of the sponsors for this huge supersized episode. And thanks to all of you for listening and thanks for all of you supporting the Patreon. Call-in show coming up
Starting point is 01:49:16 very soon on the Patreon for the bonus episode for September. Unfortunately, it's Colin Jost, right? Oh, no. Well, hopefully, then we'll do a a joke exchange for him so he can be tolerable. And yeah, that's the show for this week.
Starting point is 01:49:35 You can read my stuff in ESPN.com. Everybody, listen, hockey season's almost here. I'm not one for doing, you know, the self-promotion advertisement thing, but let it be said that all your hockey games are going to be available on ESPN Plus, more than 1,000 NHL games this season, including 75 exclusive games.
Starting point is 01:49:58 games. ESPN Plus. That's crazy. Go get the bundle. Go get you the bundle, man. You can bundle the ASPN Plus and the Hulu and the Disney Plus. Get them all. I did already.
Starting point is 01:50:10 Greg didn't even send me a promo code or anything, so. They're getting full freight, baby. Disney bundle, $13.99 a month. That's if you get Hulu with the ads. But I think 1399 a month is well worth it for ESPN Plus and Disney Plus because it's less than you'd spend for fucking center ice for a full season. Yeah, that's right. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:50:35 That's the other thing to say is because I've seen people asking about this. Apparently, ESPN, like, there just isn't a center ice or NHL.TV anymore. It's just ESPN Plus. ESPN Plus is now NHL. TV, or rather the other way around. We'll take it. Since I'm already paying for the thing, I am in favor of that. Yep.
Starting point is 01:50:56 All right. And then sign up for EP Rinks. You know what, folks, you just don't subscribe to as many things as you could in your life. And eP.rinkside.com, all my takes are there now. No more newsletter on the Patreon or any of that kind of stuff. Although I might still do one on pop culture from time to time, but all my hockey stuff is... That would be lovely. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:51:19 All my hockey stuff is still on E.P. Rinkside now. And it's good. I just wrote this week about Robert Thomas and why are the blues fucking with him so much, where it's just giving the guy the money. Fantastic. Finally, last thing, can you
Starting point is 01:51:38 guess the number one song on Rolling Stones' top 500 list that just came out today? It's going to be an old song. There's no way they would put a song like from after 1980 is number one.
Starting point is 01:51:54 My gut says that it's going to be Bob Dylan related, but I feel like that's a little too straightforward because that's like exactly what you would expect them to do. And of course, the way they do these lists is you'd never expect what number one is. Give me a hint. Give me a brief hint. Is it an old song, Bob Dylan's Like a Rolling Stone is number four. This is a song by a female solo artist, number one.
Starting point is 01:52:25 Respect by Aretha Franklin That's correct Written by Otis Redding That's the number one song of all time Top 10 real quick Outcasts heyya at 10 You know what? Fair enough
Starting point is 01:52:39 I was just saying the other day That's like a 10 out of 10 song You can't write a better pop song than that Is it the 10th best pop song of all time Or the 10th best song of all time I think there's a really good argument for it man I think that song is a timeless classic for a reason And the reason is it's good.
Starting point is 01:52:57 Dreams by Fleetwood Mac. Not the best Fleetwood Mac song, but okay. Not even the best Fleetwood Back song on that album. Yeah, that's right. Missy Elliott's Get Your Freak on. I support. Sure, okay. Maybe I'm a little surprised to see it that high, but it's a good song, so what am I going to say?
Starting point is 01:53:17 Some band called The Beatles, Strawberry Fields Forever, which I guess is them saying that's the best Beatles song of all time. That's better than like a day in the last. life or I want to hold your hand or whatever? Really? Or, you know, yesterday? Yeah. Nope. The Beatles have some hits. I would not have said, no, this is wrong. This is incorrect. Marvin Gaze, what's going on? Nirvana smells like teen spirit. No, I mean, I totally get that. That's not the best Nirvana song, of course.
Starting point is 01:53:53 It's not the fifth best song of all time. I think what it represents is, you know. Yeah. Yeah. It might be the fifth best video of all time. That's a different thing that I don't really know. Bob Dylan, like Rolling Stone, Sam Cooke, A Change is going to come. And Public Enemies Fight the Power is the number two song of all time.
Starting point is 01:54:15 Is it? Okay. No. Okay. I'm not saying it's not a good song, but I'm shocked. It's that high. The greatest rat. hip-hop song of all time.
Starting point is 01:54:27 I want to hold your hand is number 15, by the way. The highest charting Rolling Stone song, because as you know, I'm a Stones guy, is give me shelter at number 13, which isn't even true. The best stone song of all time is let's spend the night together. It's the perfect song. You know, I've never sat down and thought about what do I think is the best Rolling Stone song. There's a lot of good ones. By the way, a song that should be in the top 10, because it really is, I think,
Starting point is 01:54:52 one of the greatest songs that are in me. I think it's probably top five is Bowie's Hero. is 23rd. Good song. Heroes and sustained. Oh, here's the thing they should have done. Kick out that fucking Hey-ah shit. All right.
Starting point is 01:55:04 And get yourself a Prince song in the top ten. Yeah, I could never take the place of your man is like... Oh, my God. This is why we're best friends. It's the best song. Oh, my God. I'm so happy you said that. That's my favorite print song by a lot.
Starting point is 01:55:20 I think that song's fucking amazing. I completely agree. I think we might... I think we might have both our favorite Prince song being that Prince song. Hard to line up against it. It's got that amazing thing where you go from the lyrics and then it has that like kind of fast part that carries you to the chorus. You know what I mean? Fuck, it's so good.
Starting point is 01:55:40 If you've not heard that song, shut off this podcast and go listen to that song. All right. But don't do it before you go listen to the mailbag. We're going to do that right now. And the mailbag will be exactly as good as princes, I will never take the place of your man. It'll be as good as Fleetwood Mac's dreams. Let's not get ahead of ourselves. You can listen to the mailbag while on a skateboard drinking a giant two-liter plastic bottle.
Starting point is 01:56:06 Do you think that's why it made it is because of that thing? Look, it's a good song. I'm saying it isn't. Come on, man. I love this list. I'm going to probably spend the rest of my day. This is the NHL Network list of the best song. Lord's Royals is number 30.
Starting point is 01:56:26 Again, what am I going to say? It's not a fucking great song. It definitely is. With that having been said. Is it better than all along the watchtower? Better than Dylan's version of all along the watchtower. No, there's a controversial opinion. Let's get out of here.
Starting point is 01:56:44 Oh, by the way, no Michael Jackson songs in the top 30. That's fine. I know. I get it. I do. You're not going to put Louis C.K. on the list for the top of the hundred comedians. I completely understand. I completely understand. But just saying. All right. Talk to you guys soon. Bye. See it.
Starting point is 01:57:09 Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute. We also cover movies, TV shows. It's and tunes. It's your weekly bowl of hoggy. nine cents um borks

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.