Puck Soup - Nice, Rubie Edmondson
Episode Date: November 16, 2017Greg and Dave celebrate a milestone episode with Rubie Edmondson of TheRinger.com, talking about her love of the Chicago Blackhawks, loathing of Jeff Goldblum and answering for all of those millennia...l-based movie rankings. Plus, a rather spirited debate about the Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2018, Carey Price and the Canadiens, the Coyotes suck, Taylor Swift, the Sports Illustrated subscription service, "Justice League" and knowing too much about movies, Twitter's 280 characters of hell and which NHL fan bases you'd never want to call your own.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Join host John Stewart on Saturday, November 18th at 8 p.m. Eastern, 5 p.m. Pacific for Night of Too Many Stars,
a live comedy benefit with some of the biggest names in entertainment, including Adam Sandler, John Oliver, Robert De Niro, Chris Rock, Stephen Colbert, Abby Jacobson, and many more to support Nex for Autism.
Night of Too Many Stars, live from the theater at Madison Square Garden on HBO, Saturday, November 18th at 8 p.m. Eastern, 5 p.m. Pacific.
goals and saves and slap shots and goons we've got spoiledly commentary to what if you commute but we also
cover movies TV shows it's in tunes it's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense
my name is keelan kepiner and i play bass in a punk rock band called the story so far you might
remember me from the puck soup episode released on november 16th the 20th
You probably don't, but I do, and I just want to talk about how nice my experience was.
First of all, Dave and Greg, what a couple of nice guys.
We had a nice conversation about my favorite team, the San Jose Sharks, and my least favorite team, the Los Angeles Kings.
The guys were nice enough to make me feel a welcomed guest on their show, and were especially
nice in that they didn't burn me on my knowledge of hockey back in their day.
I am younger than them, okay?
Well, they didn't punish me for it, and after we wrapped up the show,
Greg was nice enough to help me navigate the New York subway so I could return to Starland Ballroom in New Jersey in time to play a show.
That sure was nice of him.
Anyways, happy 69th episode, Dave and Greg.
Make it a nice one.
Our thanks to Kellan for that lovely message here.
Great man.
Great man.
Great musician for this special edition of Puck Soup.
Oh, you're in a special edition of Puck Soup.
What is the story so far in the NHL season?
The story so far of the NHL season is if you have young players that are super fast, you're scoring a bunch of goals.
But you're also probably giving up a lot of them, too, if your goaltending isn't 9.30 or above.
That's the story so far.
But the coyotes have a lot of young fast guys.
They do.
They haven't won a game in regulation yet.
No, but they've been giving up a lot of goals.
And their goaltending is garbage.
Whose goaltending is worse?
Vegas or Arizona?
Arizona by far.
How do you?
Because Ranta's like, well, I mean, what are you talking about?
You're talking about all things being equal?
Their backup goalie is Malcolm Suban, who had no NHL experience before he stepped on it.
Not no, but.
Who then beat the Bruins in its first game.
They're down to their fifth goalie, and they're still in a playoffs.
Yeah.
Arizona lost Auntie Ranta for three weeks, and the season became derailed.
Not a win in regulation.
You mainstream media types love to back up your John Shaker.
There it is.
Love to go to bat from.
There it is.
You, Custin.
I talk to Cheka about this.
I said to Cheka, I'm like, I'm like, so John, John, can you put down that hatchamble, please?
Could you get off the hoverboard and focus for one second?
Here, take this fidget spinner and listen to my questions.
What is up with your team?
Listen to me.
Rick Tocke.
Why did you hire him?
I'm like, John, in reality.
He mean like augmented reality?
Like Pokemon Go?
I'm like, no, I mean like in reality.
You mean like the upside down?
I said to him.
I said, you know, you know, they know.
that you're the canary in the coal mine for analytics,
despite the fact that you shouldn't be.
Despite the fact that every other team does the same shit you do,
but you and Kyle Dubus are young,
and guys that are young who are also into analytics.
So, like, now, if you fail, you know,
then it's like, oh, don't hire A, the young guy or B, the math nerd.
When you say if.
In your mind, he hasn't yet.
Here's the thing with him, though.
We talked about this before, man.
I don't know what the leash is on this guy.
Like, they're the coyotes.
I think he's got a long leash.
The sucking now will be great for later.
They'll get Dahlia in the draft.
They'll be happy with that.
They'll have, you know, year two of Keller and Domi,
and they'll still have Beckman Larson,
doesn't ever trade him despite...
Max Domi has one goal this season.
Yeah.
Who cares with this?
Yeah, that one goal, build the wall.
Whoa, whoa, whoa.
I'm not...
When I say keep all foreigners out,
I'm just trying to open up a conversational diet.
log on Twitter.
Okay, now I'm logging off Twitter for the rest of the year.
So that conversation, sir, if you wanted to finish it, we would love to discuss.
I'm sorry, Max isn't available.
He's got to practice today.
Oh, I'm sorry.
Max is actually doing it.
Can I talk to Max about the conversation he wants to?
Nope, sorry.
He's watching Fox News right now.
The old Max Domey isn't available.
Why?
Because he's dead.
What's that?
Look what you made me do.
Oh, my God.
What you mean me do?
Oh.
What you mimit me do?
I saw the best tweet ever from that pixelated boat Twitter account that said, I
can't wait to go home and listen to the new Taylor Swift album,
which is simply what a computer in Sweden thinks what teens like.
That was great.
My favorite pixelated boat Twitter recently was the one where he was screencapping
shots from Mario Odyssey, and it was all other characters in the game talking to Mario
about how his ultimate goal in the game is to cuckle them and have sex with their wives.
It's like Mario talking to like a Gumba mushroom, and it's like,
Mario, now that you hear of the desert board,
would you like to have sex with my wife?
She's been looking for a strapping Italian plumber for many years.
That sounds very funny.
But, no, it's...
Well, first of all, did you...
Do you have any love in your heart for Taylor Swift?
As a songwriter, as a musician?
I like 1989.
That's a great album.
The new songs are kind of bad.
These songs aren't good.
This is a classic trope, actually, in pop culture.
Which is that?
She gave that guy writing credit, I think, on the song.
Well, yeah, he did.
He basically invented...
the song 25 years ago. You know who made the world say for that? Tom Petty going after
Sam Smith for stay with me. But that one was way less obvious. Like Sam Smith at least, like,
I've heard that song a dozen times and I was like, what do you mean he's stealing from Tom Petty?
You see that YouTube video where the guy plays both things and you're like, oh my God, the second
I heard Taylor Swift, I was like, I know this. Tom Betty driving around in his horse and buggy or
whatever he had at some point in his life. Stay with me. Won't Beck. Hey, wait a second.
You think like when the University of Florida played the Tom Petty song won't back down during the third quarter intermission.
Like Sam Smith was like singing along to his own version of the song.
He's like, I can sue them.
Stay with me.
They stole this song from me.
Yeah.
I've still a song from him.
I got a lot of love for Taylor Swift, but she fell into a classic pop culture trope, which is that she overreacted to criticism.
Really?
1989 is pretty much an overreaction than criticism.
No, but this is an overreaction to a specific kind of criticism, which is celeb on celebrity.
crime. This was an overreaction to getting
trolled by Kim
Kardashian and Kanye and
Katie Perry. That was so long ago.
Yeah, but it's like the
think about being like the richest
young person in the world who has made
billions of dollars marketing
herself and making music that has been well
received and yet these
three fuckers are
always on your ass and there's nothing
you can do or say to get back at them.
I always imagine myself like what would I do if someone
just gave me $50 million dollars tomorrow?
I would never care what anyone ever said about me ever
I would just be like
alright here's here's something I wrote
all right see ya
like if Kanye and Kim Kardashian were like
oh man they stole he stole this shit for me
I'd be like no I didn't
I'd see you in two years but you're all
I don't think you're as vindictive as most
no you don't you don't lie in the weeds
waiting for your chance to dump the blood on carry
you know you're not that person
there's still one person I'm waiting to do that
who's that you can't say on this
I can't say it. Is it someone in the industry or is it someone in your life?
I'm going to say neither.
Oh.
It's not even really a good one. It's not even really like a reason.
It's someone you don't know?
Is this like the movie where you get the button delivered to your house by Frank
Langella and he's got half a face?
Benjamin Button?
If you push the button, someone in the world dies, but they won't tell you who it is.
Oh, I thought Benjamin Button was about.
No, no, no.
Benjamin Button is about it. This is the box, I believe.
Where Benjamin Presses the button.
Yeah.
It's not...
So who is it?
Is it someone that you don't know?
It's someone that I kind of know, but I don't know.
Interesting.
And the revenge will be so subtle that no one will notice it happen but me.
It'll be so minor.
Like the clapback, as the kids say, will be so...
Like, no one will notice it when it happens.
I've had a chance that make it happen yet.
I may never have that chance.
I only have one person in my life.
that I could say I want to do that too.
And it's someone in the industry.
If you've heard me talk about other people
that have been dicks me before,
you probably know who it is.
And it's not Larry Brooks.
It's another one.
It's not Steve Simmons.
I don't know if Steve Simmons just likes me on that level.
Larry Brooks.
I just told me it wasn't Larry Brooks.
It's Larry Brooks, isn't it?
Stop trying to guess.
I'm not going to tell you.
But this is a person that really made me feel like shit
early in my run at Puck Daddy
on a very specific kind of like,
you're nothing and I'm a guy who writes books level.
Okay, so it's a guy.
You know, it's a guy.
Well, I said someone in the industry, so of course it's a guy.
So it's a white guy.
Yeah, it's a white guy.
50 year older.
50 year older.
So Ken Campbell.
And I've long thought that like the only vindictive bone I have my body is for this guy
where if God forbid I was ever in a position to deny him employment, I would relish it.
I would say, sorry I don't have anything for you.
And here's why.
I would totally employ this person in a job.
It's more like a comeback zinger situation.
Oh, like a Costanza jerk store kind of deal.
Where, like, I have the comeback immediately.
I just need a reason to use the comeback.
So it is a Kastanza jerk store deal.
That's what you're trying to say.
Well, no, no, no.
It's not like, it's not like someone zing me to my face.
And I was like, I got the comeback.
And then I was on the flight home.
And I was like, oh, jerk store would have that guy.
I immediately have the thing.
I just need the thing to, to, but like, I wouldn't destroy anyone's career or, you know, it's just, it's just a thing.
Yeah.
So the bottom line is that neither of us are a Taylor Swift type.
Well, what?
I don't know. I'm tired of hearing people, you know, make fun of me when I, when I date movie stars.
Yeah. And then I break up with them. Like, hey, that's my life. Do you think that she dates just for the songs, just for the experiences?
I think it's... Like, Hittleston, to me, was that. Like, there's no way she actually wanted to be with Loki.
Why not? He's Loki. He's got a British accent. British accents can do things for some women sometimes. Sure. Okay, let's count it down. He's like, hello? He's Loki. So he's not Thor. And also he's he...
he never got to be bond because they're like, come on, Loki.
Yeah, he wouldn't have been a good one.
And he wore a T-shirt that said, like, Taylor Swift's biggest fan or some shit while they were in the ocean together.
Like, I was told, I felt that was being with a guy for the publicity stunt and then writing a song about it at some point.
It's just annoying how, like, she does date people and, like, it doesn't really go anywhere.
And then she gets, she writes songs about how it doesn't go anywhere.
So I think in a way you're right where, like, she's more interested in breaking up publicly so if she can write a song about it that does well,
as opposed to putting in any effort to having the relationship last.
She has the song basically written,
and she's like at dinner with Loki,
and she's like, he's like, you know,
I find you to be so fascinating.
I'm so happy to be with you.
And she's like,
oh, I'm really happy to be with you too,
second verse.
What do you say?
Did you just call me second verse?
I'm writing a song.
What rhymes with trickster?
Why would you ask me that?
Oh, no,
I'm just writing a song about a trickster.
You're funny.
I like you.
Yeah, people do say I'm a bit.
do they?
I just want to say that,
well, I may be Loki.
I high key, love you.
And she's like, oh, that's a good.
Hold on.
Can I raise that down?
Next thing, you know, boom,
she's got a song on Spotify
with 45 million listens.
I respect that.
She's more about the brand
than personal.
If you step out on me one more time
with Calvin Harris,
I swear, lady,
you better wear yourself an Asgard
before the kicking I'm going to give you.
Did you say Asgard?
Asgard, askard.
By the way, speaking of superhero movies.
What? Stephen Wolfe.
How about that ringer list?
Oh, well, you know, we're going to get to that with our guest today.
But before we get back to hockey, I should mention that.
I want to mention something about the Justice League thing.
I haven't seen it yet.
But I want to say this.
I feel like we can't trust reviews anymore.
Oh, because.
That's right.
This is not a fake news thing.
Whoa.
This is not like.
The mainstream media.
is not telling you what you need to hear about superhero
failing New York Times gives one star
to Justice League sad
failing Batman no one loves him
he's old and fat and gray
now I'm merely saying that
I feel like
I feel like because we know too much
about how movies are made
that they they seep their way into reviews
and this happened this has been going on for years
this has happened with Titanic this happened with Waterworld
like the more you know about a movie
the more I think tainted
your view of that film is when you see it
So when I read the reviews of Justice League today as we taped the show,
like two of the things that were common themes in the movie were this.
You know, Ben Affleck really doesn't look like he wants to be there.
And that's because for a year, Ben Affleck's been like,
I don't know if I really want to be here.
And so every reviewer that goes to movie's like, look at that guy.
He doesn't want to be here.
And the other thing was, boy, this movie feels really stitched together by different people.
And it's because we know that Zach Snyder tragically had to leave the film.
And Joss Whedon took over.
And the film was like three quarters done.
But now we're all looking at it like it's a patchwork of different things.
So I think now it's impossible for us to trust reviews because the film reviewer is not hermetically sealed before he or she sees the movie anymore.
They are exposed to everything we know about the suicide squad, which was a piece of shit, I think got more credit than it deserved because people were like, oh, they re-edited the entire movie in like 10 minutes.
And look, it's not a giant pile of shit.
It's only a pile of shit.
Like, we know too much about movies to trust reviewers now because they take too much.
much baggage into the theater with them.
Okay.
So you think that because they knew it was stitched together and they knew Ben Affleck was disinterested.
They're looking for it.
When he's obviously disinterested and it's obviously stitched together, it's the movie reviewers' fault for pointing that out.
Yeah, I think that they're looking for things to point out.
See, my thing I would say without having seen that movie and never will see it is if Ben Affleck is openly talking about how disinterested he is.
if Ben Affleck is openly talking about how disinterested he is in a role he's currently playing,
he is not a good enough actor to hide the disinterest while he's playing that role on screen.
So I feel like it's probably very easy to see.
And the Zach Snyder, Josh Whedon difference, I feel like I would think is probably easy to see.
I'll only say this about this disinterested thing.
Like, I would wager he's been disinterested at least 60% of the movies he's been in.
You can't tell me he wanted to be in forces of nature with, who is it?
That was before the Aflac ennaissance.
Was it Aniston or Bullock enforces of nature?
I forget.
That was Sandra Bullock was the crazy zan lady.
He met at the airport.
The free spirit and...
Manic pixie dream girl, as it were.
And he was the closed-off white guy who didn't know how to love.
And then all of a sudden she opened his world to things.
And no, everybody who sees these movies are never like, I just want to be here.
You know, they're never like, oh, look how disengaged he is with this bullshit that
a guy who went an Oscar for screenwriting has to slum in because he's got a good chin.
You know what? I remember hearing that about Russell Crow in Mystery Alaska.
Yeah.
They were like, oh, man, when you watch this, you can just see Russell Crow doesn't want to be here.
And like, I never got that vibe when I watched that movie.
I think Russell Crow gives 150% in every movie he's in.
Yeah, he's good at that.
He didn't have to give 150% in Les Miserab.
We didn't have to hear that.
Yeah.
That was a movie I could not make it through.
All right.
I tried.
Here's a friend of the show, Charlotte Wilder.
Hey, Dave and Greg.
It's Charlotte Wilder.
the nicest guess you've ever had on your podcast, not to brag.
I just wanted to call and congratulate you on your nicest episode yet, number 69.
This is huge.
I'd send you a nice edible arrangement or something, but fuck fruit, you know.
Anyway, someone the other day was like, how would you rate Puck Sue?
Like, on a scale of six to nine.
And I was like, oh, it's like a nice, solid 69.
Like, this podcast rules.
It's unratedable.
And in all seriousness, it's been.
so cool to see it all come full circle, you know. You guys both do a lot at once at the same time,
what with your jobs and writing and all the other nice things you do. So it's so nice that this thing
is still so nice and solid that Puck Soup is just absolutely killing it. Anyway, congrats. Let's get
some nice cold beers again sometime soon, have a nice little celebration. You guys are the nicest
pot around. Two nice guys. I'm so proud of you. Glad to call you friends. Thank you, Charlotte,
for those kind words.
That was very nice of you to say.
Very nice.
A nice message.
How nice you are for doing that.
Hall of Fame induction was this week.
The class of 2017 entered the...
That's what we have to talk about.
Why?
What did you want to say?
Your anti-Surgeyzeubov stance is the stance of the crazy person.
The class of 2018 then.
We both agree that Martan Brodor will be a stone cold lock to get in.
Yeah, we'll see.
I don't know.
You kind of faded there at the end.
Yeah, winds are overrated.
that's the issue.
Yeah, like how many wins would he have had, if not for the shootout?
Yeah.
579.
Yeah, that's true.
Yeah.
I don't know.
No, I mean, he obviously is part of a laundry list of players for whom the NHL had to
invent a rule because he was so good at something.
Yeah.
You know, and take something away from him.
Like Patrick Sharp wasn't allowed to kiss anymore because he's so hot.
Right.
He wasn't allowed to kiss anything.
Exactly.
It's basically like if the trapezoid rule was basically if, like, Gary Betman went to Connor McDavid
and was like, you know what, Connor?
Only three-four speed.
from now on. If you go full speed,
it's going to be a two minute minor for going too
fast. People forget this, but Zadano
Chara kind of had the same thing as Sharp, where like Sharp was
so good looking that they wanted to repress his good looks.
Right. Zano Chari used to eat people on the ice.
And in 2002,
Gary Bettman was like, all right, look,
no more eating people
on the ice, okay, Zadano. Was he even
playing in 2002? I think he was.
Zadano, have you seen David Cochee?
No.
Yeah, I know why. He's in your belly.
We found his skates on the ice, and he
was gone in and there was blood on your mouth.
There's a skate lace hanging from your mouth right now.
I can see it.
It's his.
It says property of David Couching.
We have something in the NHL called life certainty.
The certainty that our players will be alive after they skate near you.
Ownership does not want to have a wild crazy thing where people could be eaten on the ice.
So we're very sorry.
Very sorry.
So Marty's in with probably what will be a large plaque.
Is that because he's fat?
Is that a fat joke?
Of course.
Alfredson's in because I think they made him wait a year because they wanted Korea and
Slani to go in together.
And so I think Alfredson's probably in.
Because you need to have someone from, that played in Ontario, like almost every year.
Right.
He's basically an honorary Canadian.
Yeah.
Andrew Chuck was a leaf.
He gets in this year, you know.
It's amazing how many Hall of Famers the Leaves have for not having really done anything.
Well, yeah, that's what I'm saying.
It's amazing that the Hockey Hall of Fame is in Toronto.
I know.
And that all of these people that played in Ontario or are from Ontario keep getting into the Hall of Fame each year.
It's almost as if it's a business and you want to cater to the local audience.
But I digress.
Wow.
Also, when Cicerelli got and he played in Detroit, and that's a scant, you know, quick drive from.
That's a three hour.
It's a three hour.
Very quick trip for the Detroit fans.
Think about it.
So Doug Gilmore, Dave Andrewshock.
People want Curtis Joseph in.
Matt Sundeen got in.
Matt Sundeen.
Like, like you.
First ballot.
If you saw those plaques in the years.
they played, you'd be like, wow, the least
supposed to won like four Stanley Cups.
Who can we put in the Hall of Fame this year?
Let's see, who's eligible?
Matt Sundin, we're in the money.
He's the first ballot.
Let's start charging people for tickets right now.
When Lil Clark's going to be the Rogie Vichon of like 2046 when he gets in?
People are going to be like, why wasn't this guy in before?
I don't understand.
A class of 2025 of 2025.
Eric Carlson.
Oh, wait, no, not Eric Carlson.
Who'd be older.
Ryan Getslap.
Dave Ellett
Bryant Marchman
And Darcy Tucker
What? He set the tone for that team
I think Alphords is in
I think well he's one to listen his numbers
Are not Hall of Fame worthy
In my opinion
But I think he is beloved
And say what you will about the dude
Had consistency throughout his career
The Hall of Fame is not
I don't want to say it's not what it used to be
But I feel like it's not what it used to be
It's not
Because it's just every year
we put in these guys that are like, they're, like, seriously, like, Paul Korea should be in the Hall of Very Good.
Team Mussolani should be in the Hall of Fame.
Hall of Fame.
Hall of Fame.
Yeah.
And this year, Martin Ambrador should be in the Hall of Fame.
Daniel Affiritson, Marty St. Louis.
Right.
Well, Alfordson's in, I think, this next year.
Will San Luis be a first ballot guy.
That's what I mean.
Heart Trophy and Two Art Rosses would sort of indicate it, but his, the thing about of it is this, like, how much do we really look at eras?
You know, like,
era.
Era.
Era, if it were up to me, it would all be devils.
Well, I say that, Ken Danica's a Hall of Fame.
Yeah.
Like, San Luis' career point total is very underwhelming.
It's very overwhelming.
It's very overwhelming.
But he did play a good chunk of his early years in the Dead Puck era,
won a cup in the Dead Puck era at the tail end of it.
It wasn't a guy who played throughout the 90s,
like some of these other dudes that we've seen.
But like, you know, there probably needs to be some caveat about that,
some caveat about him being an undrafted player who got into the lead in his early 20s.
Your Hall of Fame career is your career.
It's not, who cares if you were the first overall picker, you were an undrafted free agent?
Like, that shouldn't matter if you were undrafted.
Oh, everybody likes bootstraps.
So Dan Gerardy over Brent Seerrück because Dan Gerardy was undrafted and Brent Seabrook was a drafted player?
Hold on.
Do you honestly think that, hold on, hold on.
Do you honestly think that when it's time to vote,
on Anj Kopatar
that the boy who made
the NHL from Slovenia
isn't going to be a thing that's discussed.
That's a weird cartoon. The boy who made
the NHL from Slovenia
by Anjay Kopitar
Jr. It's one of the lesser
Miyazaki films. It's like
Howl's Moving Castle, my neighbor
Totero, the boy who played hockey
from Slovenia. Starring Jake Gyllenhaal
as Anjik Copatar.
No, who gives
a shit? Who gives a shit how you got there?
It's a Hall of Fame career.
It's not, it's like when you win an Oscar.
Like, you know what?
Were you in a big budget movie?
Were you in like a little independent movie?
Who cares?
It's about your performance.
It completely matters.
It does not.
Sure it does.
In the NHL you think of Moonlight had a $150 million budget that it would have been as
lauded as it was?
No, it was, it was lauded because it was made for peanuts.
No one thinks like that.
And the performances were like, wow, you know what, for being a small film with
few resources, we feel that this is a great act.
It's always about the context when it comes to that.
that shit. Oh, there's no way.
Totally.
There's no way that the budget and who released it and where it was wide matters for Oscars.
I'll give you the fucking example right now.
Saving Private Ryan versus Shakespeare in Love.
Shakespeare and Love was this smaller movie.
It was a movie about fucking Will Shakespeare.
That movie had actually.
That movie had British accents.
British accents always take precedence over other movies.
Over what movies of German accents?
No, like if it's about, I once went through all this, man.
There's a reason why DiCaprio never stars in a movie that.
takes place in present day because those movies never win Oscars.
Yeah.
The movie's got to take place in the past.
And when two movies take place in the past, the movie that's in the farthest past, Shakespeare.
So this is your theory is that if it's two movies that are vying for the Oscar and they both take place in the past, it's the film that takes place farther in the past.
And if it has accents that are British for sure.
Think about it.
Think about all the movies.
It's not a bad theory.
But like, but again, there's no way that when the Hall of Fame gets together, they're not saying, all right, well,
San Luis and this guy had the same career.
You don't think that would be like he's a tiny little wee man who was never drafted?
That's different.
If Marty San Luis was six foot two, he would not be in contention for the Hall of Fame this year.
It's all because he's undersized.
That's the bullshit part of it.
And I think that's what fuels the Theo Flurry thing too, right, is the size.
It's a little pinball that was being knocked around the ice and somehow managed to put together an amazing career.
It's a bunch of men and their 50s and their 60s and possibly their 70s.
just dicks don't work anymore.
Right.
Who want to get out in front of a camera and be like,
it doesn't matter how big you are.
It doesn't matter how long your body is.
It's just a matter of what you do with it.
One fatal flaw.
One fatal flaw.
You expect the selection committee to talk about why they select people.
I literally, I listen to,
Custin says a good podcast now at The Athletic,
that he does like an hour long sit down with somebody.
And he sat down with Eric Duhatchik.
And I was like, oh, man, this is fucking fascinating.
like Craig and Eric talking about the Hall of Fame selection process.
And in the first two minutes of the podcast, Craig's like, you know, there's a disclosure form that they have to sign where they can't really talk about anything.
But we managed to talk about a few things.
And it's like, well, what do they talk about?
Do they say anything?
No.
No.
He's got to, he's got a form he signs.
He doesn't want me to get kicked out of the room.
Like he's fucking Russell Crow and the insider getting laid off by big tobacco.
Like I can't talk about why I voted for Rogie Vichon.
That's right.
The nicotine levels of Dave Andrew Chon.
We're extraordinarily high.
Extraordinarily high and manipulated by big lightning.
I need you on the record.
We've got big hockey Hall of Fame on the ropes.
Sorry, uh, sorry, Mike.
We're not running this.
No one calls me, Mike.
My name is Mr. Wallace.
Are you trying to lawyer me?
Yeah.
You're going to lawyer me?
Six people that's why the insider are really loving this segment.
There's a movie that won Oscars that...
It didn't win the best picture.
Right, because it took place in essentially present.
That's another great Russell.
My name was Jeffrey Wygant.
Jeffrey Wygian.
No, I think San Luis, I tend to believe he's not going to be a first ballot guy.
I was looking through the first ballot guys, and you were talking about, you're talking about what you referred to before as the Hall of Fame players.
You know, your Madanos and your Sackics and your Foresburgs and your Lydstroms and people of that nature get on the first ballot, along with Matt Sundy and.
because they needed to sell tickets.
But I feel like in San Luis's case,
like he's a Hall of Famer for sure.
There's never been a guy
who won two scoring titles
that has not been in the Hall of Fame.
That's insane, really?
Yeah, it's true.
So, like, he'll get in,
but I just don't think he's not...
I have a feeling he's not going to be
a first ballot guy.
That's just me.
I'm probably wrong.
No, I think you're right about that.
I don't think he's going to get in next year.
But I...
It's a real feel.
He's a good dude, feel good story.
Giant thighs.
Amazing thighs.
Massive thighs.
Thighs like a crack wall.
nuts.
Thighs that go on for days.
Thighs that could choke out a man in four seconds.
That would have been an amazing M.M.A.
fighter.
First of all, so tiny.
So, so tough to get him.
So slippery.
But then massive thighs that could crush your skull
to the minute you get in the vice grip.
I want to see Mark Wahlberg play Marty San Luis in the Marty
San Luis story because they're both the same height.
Mark Wahlberg's kind of built.
And then, like, you just have Mark Wahlberg
work on his thighs for six months before the filming.
And then Marty San Luis is a crime fighter in New York.
He's like the Punisher, but with thighs.
Ah, fatal flaw.
ever played for the Bruins.
Well, in the movie, we can just trade into Boston.
That's right.
Well, it's true.
He did want to be traded to the Rangers because his house is in Connecticut.
So that's kind of New England-y.
Yeah.
I mean, like, not for nothing.
He was in the Boston bombing movie and they made up a completely fake character for him to play.
So why can't they make a fake character from the play in the Marty San Luis story?
Who cares?
All right.
So, like, all right.
So the other, but you, okay, let's just get to the thing you wanted to talk about.
I think that because we've had two straight years of they're not being a defenseman in the Hall of Fame, we're going to get one now.
And I think it's going to be one of four guys.
The four guys being the aforementioned Sergey Zuboff will get in for it in a second.
Sergei Ganshaw, who's in his first year of eligibility.
Kevin Lowe, who's been, I think eligible for like 13 years and is not, that wasn't a joke.
I think it's true.
And obviously would be like the fifth or probably the sixth guy, I think.
Let's see here.
At least baseball takes the guy off after 10 years.
Gretz, Gretzky, Messier, Anderson, Curry, coffee, Fure.
So it'd be like the seventh guy from those Euler teams to make it if I'm probably missing somebody.
I'm pretty sure your argument against Suboff was the Starz had Hull and Madonna, two guys.
But okay, keep going.
Well, I'm not putting in Kevin Lowe for his inflated point total on the power play.
And then also...
Inflated.
Doug Wilson.
As if the power play is garbage time in hockey,
and you're not supposed to put points up during the power phone.
The well-tailored Doug Wilson.
Who...
Again, another fucking guy who hasn't gotten in in a million years,
and now we're going to force him in ahead of Zuboff.
He has been eligible for more than 20 years.
Christ.
Almost double what Mark Howe's eligibility time was before he got in.
And everybody was like, Mark Howell how the fuck did he...
What are we doing?
But Doug Wilson's got an amazing case.
Like, he...
His points for game is top 10 all time for defensemen.
He's got a Norris trophy.
He was a finalist a bunch of times.
He's got the case.
I just feel like it's like if you've not gotten in now, then what's the deal?
Like, what are we doing?
Like, he needs to catch a disease, pretty much.
So I'm trying to tell you.
And it has to be like Doug Wilson's disease.
Like a disease no one's ever had but him.
And it's like, wow.
Oh, my God.
That's just, what are the odds?
And then we're finally finally put him in.
I bet Doug Wilson's disease would probably involve choking.
Wow.
What?
I'm just saying that this is a shirt closes.
His stroke closes up in June, so he has to...
It's right.
The weather turns warmer.
Well, here's the thing, too, is like, let's say Doug Wilson
doesn't contract a terminal disease.
The Hall of Fame won't put him in until a year after he dies
because they're going to sit around like assholes.
An excellent point, but he'd still get in posthumously.
All right, whatever.
All right, let's get into the Zeebuff bullshit.
Tell me how producing on the power play is a bad thing in your mind.
I'm telling you this.
Like, I think he's probably going to get into this Hall of Fame,
but I have a real fucking problem with the idea
that retroactively we're going to apply elite status
on a player that was not elite when he played.
Why was any elite when we played?
Was he ever one of the top three defensemen in the league?
Yes.
When?
Every year he played.
Every year he played?
Yes.
Well, what metrics can we use to study this?
What do you mean what metrics?
I mean, when we apply, say, like,
when you say, like, a goalie is one of the top three goalies in the league,
typically we can look at something like the Vezina Trophy and say to ourselves, well.
You want to base it on hockey writer voting.
You could say to yourself, well, this goal is,
tender was in, let's even put it out to the top five in the Vesna voting once in his career.
And we can say maybe at that point he was near the top three in the league.
If he does it twice, you're like, well, this goal is quite good then.
He's probably in the mix for being top three in the league.
It happens three times.
You're like, wow, this guy is clearly one of the best goaltenders of his era.
Sirke Zubov, I believe was top five for the Norris once and never got in.
anywhere close to it?
So because people, because people
stupidly voted for the Norris 20 years
ago, you don't think he was good. You're going to base your
opinion on Sergei Zuboff on the
opinions other people had of Sergey Zubov. I'm just trying
to figure out exactly how he was top three.
Points per game. Points per game. Okay, let's talk about
points for game. Is Sergey Zubov better than Scott
Stevens? No.
No. Okay. Well, Scott Stevens'
points for game was nowhere near where Sergey Zubov's
is. That's because it was a dead puck era
and he scored less than 100
points on the power play in
and a time period from 1993 to 2003,
which is being used to Zubov's prime time.
So Zubov's points came on the power play
playing with Brett Hull and Mike Madano and Joe Nguendike.
I give him credit.
It's not easy to score on the power play did quite well there.
But if we're using points per game as some sort of metric
to say that he was better than either Scott Stevens
or Scott Niedermeyer during this run, it's horseshit.
Why does he have to be better than them?
Because I'm trying to make the argument on Zuboff
that he'll probably get into this Hall of Fame
because I feel like there's
a retroactive
application of greatness to him.
I feel like the Hall of Fame
selection committee
is very juiced up
to give Russians
a lot of love these days.
What?
I feel, yeah,
Federoff, fucking Makarov.
Like, there's going to be
another Red Army guy
that, you know,
pissed in five o'clock cheerios
in the Summit series
that'll get into.
So Sergey Federoff isn't a
Hall of Famer in your mind?
He's only a lawperer in because he's a Russian.
McCaroff might not been.
Bore?
Bore was not a slam dunk.
Borei was a lot of,
Bore was a guy that didn't have enough games, but he got in.
I'm just saying it's a safer time for a Russian player.
I'm simply saying that, like, if you're asking me who the top three defensemen were during
Sergei Zubov's era, okay, Lidstrom's going to be one of them, McKinness is going to be one
of them over Zuboff, Stevens and Niedermeier will be over Zuboff.
Leach will be over Zuboff.
I mean, there's a number of guys that are better than Zuboff, and all of a sudden now the
argument is, oh yeah, he was top three for his
his horse shit. Why are they better? They're
just better. They passed every test.
The Norris Trophy
hunt. Again, you keep
coming back to these things where people... Because how...
There were years where Sergey Zuboff was
getting fewer votes than Mark Hunter for the
Morris. So what's the metric that he played
for a really good possession team on
with Ken Hitchcock, that he played with really
amazing power play performers like Mike
Badano on the power play? Like, what is
the metric by which we say that he was a top three
defensemen? Because you know what? The
Dallas Stars were not fucking anonymous while he was there.
They were winning cups and playing for cups.
Yuri Letton, a goddamn Finnish winger, won the Selky three times on the Dallas Stars.
So unless we're going to do this bullshit that Dallas fans always do, which is to say, well, no one knew.
We were a sole anonymous while Burry was nominated for a heart playing in Florida.
But he was a Russian.
Well, Burry was nominated for a heart playing in Florida.
Like, it's all this horseshit that comes up about why he wasn't appreciated in his time and how he should retro-
I interactively say that he is a top three defenseman.
It's just bullshit.
He wasn't.
He wasn't.
He was.
Your argument that he's not a top three defenseman because Scott Stevens was shitty on the power play is a weird argument.
Because the devils were shitty on the power play.
Because they didn't have certain of Zuboff.
Hold on.
If your entire case is points per game, and I'm trying to tell you that another defenseman like
Niedermeyer didn't have fucking Madano, Neuendike, and Hull on his power play,
and that's why Zuboff has the points per game he has?
That's a bullshit argument?
Well, Scott Nutermeiermer, I never even.
came close to Zuboff's total
even when he was in Anaheim,
and he actually had skill players there.
The only time
Niedemeyer hit 60 points
was in Anaheim.
The rest of the time
he was holding this dick in a defensive zone
waiting playing one four-check
trap hockey with the devils.
Here's the thing about your argument.
It's hard to argue against you
when all your arguments are
this could have been,
but it wasn't.
Scott Stevens could have had points,
but he wasn't playing with great players.
Neutermier could have,
but he was forced to sit inside his own zone.
That's my argument against what was,
which was a very good defenseman,
who I believe probably will be a hall of
Famer because there's a retroactive appreciation of what he did, who was at no point considered
elite, at no point considered top three.
It's all revisiting it.
So, so Sergei Zuboff was a passenger on all the Stanley Cup teams.
That's what you were saying.
He just happened to be there.
He wasn't driving these teams.
Rangers didn't want a Stanley Cup for 50 years until Zubov got there.
Very important to the Rangers, very important on Dallas Stars.
I completely agree.
I just think that, you know, when you're judging a Hall of Famer, you judge him by the
era.
And in his era, there's no way he was in their top.
But you're judging his era by people who vote.
So you're telling me, Drew Doughtie.
some point was a better defenseman than Eric Carlson because of the voting for the Norris
Troves. No, I think Eric Carlson's one of the best defenseman of all time. Right. But like if you
look back in 15 years, you can be like, well, Drew Doughty one year was better than Eric Carlson. No,
he wasn't. The PHWA was fucking stupid and they voted for the wrong guy. You're telling me
they weren't doing that 20 years ago when it was harder to watch hockey? Give me your top three.
From 93 to 03 to 03 and where does Sergey Zuboff fit into that. He's behind Nick
Lichstrom and that's. He's better than Al-Mackinus. Al-Michin is not that era. Al-Michinness
played in the early in the mid-80s.
Al McKiniscan,
check his point totals, bud.
Yeah, but that's very much his era.
He played, Sergey Zuboff.
Chellio, is better than Chellio?
Chellio's played in the 80s.
You're listing guys that don't put the criteria.
Between 93 and 2003.
Better than Stevens?
I'd rather have Sergey Zubov.
Better than Niedermeier.
Better than Leach?
Yes.
Sergey Zuboff over Brian Leach.
Why?
Why is Brian Leach so much better than Sergey Zuboff?
Because he's better.
Because he's a better player.
That's a great argument.
I can always argue with you.
and get the foundation for why you think someone's better than somebody.
Why do you think, why? I mean, like, I didn't, I never, I never realized this about you that you had such, you put such value on power play points. It's a really great. I had no idea that you didn't think power play goals kind of the same as regular goals. No, that's why I consider Paul Coff to be the best offensement of all time. Because he gobbled up power play points when the fucking messier and Curry the entire time.
So, okay, so again, you again, all these guys also played with the guy you're talking about. Like, Madonna and Hull also played with Zuvov. Gratzky also played with coffee.
See, here's the thing.
This is where your devil'sness comes out.
Make more with less.
That's my model of life.
Because you spent your teen and early 20s watching a boring-ass team in your mind,
you were like, Scott and Eutemeyer, I'd have 10,000 points by now if you played anywhere else.
And then whenever somebody has a bunch of points playing somewhere else, you're like,
oh, well, Eatermire could have done that if you wanted to.
Oh, there's no question about it.
You put Scott Neidermeyer and Dallas Stars, they win three cups.
Because you always go Stevens and Neutermier when the Zuboff argument comes out.
Yeah, because they're like two and three behind Lidstrom in that era.
Yeah, that's fine.
He'll get in.
Everybody out there, he'll get in.
It'll be great.
We could all have a huge...
Who's better?
Zubov or Ganshar?
Zubov.
Okay.
Okay.
All right.
Just checking.
Barely.
I mean, it's not like Gonshar played with a great...
If Zubov played today, he would be Chris LaTang.
And I don't know anyone who's like, oh, man, Chris LaTang is just, you know, he plays with Crosby and Malkin and Kessel.
I'm like, no, like, Chris LaTang is fucking awesome.
Yeah, it's great.
The same way Sergey's you bought for us.
You're saying that essentially the Dallas Stars could win without him.
I walked into that one.
Extra peace, nobody needs.
Chris LaTang.
Listen, Chris LaTang is great.
Eric Carlson's great.
There's a lot of great defensemen in this league.
And if you want to check out some of these great defensemen,
there's a little place to go, my friend.
Seat Geek.
Our favorite sponsor when it comes to sports and concert tickets here on the podcast.
There's nothing quite like seeing your favorite team or musician in person.
buying tickets to these sporting events in concerts
can be very, very complicated. Thankfully, there is a
better, simpler way to buy with Seatgeek.
There's seamless mobile experience that you
buy on sell tickets in just two taps.
Better yet by searching multiple ticket sites to compare prices
and grading each ticket based on value.
Seekheek helps you find the best seats for the best
price. Fully guaranteed.
I've got the app my phone.
It's the easiest way I found to shop for tickets.
I plan on using it for some Brooklyn
Nets tickets at some point this season.
Probably not against the Celtics ever again
because it makes me feel bad on
several levels like A, they have all of our draft picks
and B, they're demonstrally better than Nets are.
That's good? They're a
frisky pecky team this year.
But I'm going to use the CKKK app because I can
look at all the little green circles
and then the orange ones and
then know not to go to the ones that are
small and not green
and go to the green ones because that's the way I know
It's like picking out bananas basically. It's like picking out
the bananas, exactly. It's a
thing that I enjoy
going to CKKK and figuring out.
You follow the scores, you do the whole thing,
and you can find the best tickets.
I could be anywhere in just a few taps.
I can instantly find seats.
Best of all, Puck Soup listeners, as you all know,
you get $20 off your first Seekkeek purchase.
Download the app today, enter the promo code Soup, S-O-U-P,
and get $20 off your first Seekkeek purchase.
Again, we value and love everybody who tweets at us
the pictures of the sporting events that you go to on the Sweet Geek deal.
It makes us feel good and better yet makes us look good.
and that's always a good thing.
Seekkeek, ladies and gentlemen,
S-O-U-P, that's spelled soup, is the promo code.
So, see-keek, yeah.
That's what I'm talking about.
He played with Madonna and Hall.
Two guys.
So, all right, so let's put a cherry on top of this.
Nonsense.
So you're saying Bredor, San Luis, Alfredson, and Zuboff?
I think, like, if I was doing it,
it would just be Brodor and Zuboff,
but based on the criteria, yeah, I think it's,
I think it should be those four guys based on it.
I wanted to put a cherry on top of it, but you just farted and knocked the cherry off and put it stink all over the debate again.
You're saying to me that you believe, so are you saying that you believe that Zuboff is a Hall of Famer or a Hall of Very Gooder?
He's a Hall of Famer.
On the level of a Marty Bredor.
By the way, no, he's not Marty Breder.
Marty Breder is like the Mount Rush more of goaltenders.
On the level of an Al-McKinnis.
Yes.
Okay.
This is the other thing, too, I wanted to bring up with the Zubov thing.
when is the NHL going to scrape and put its fancy stats from like the 90s, 80s, 70s, and so on on its website?
Like, it's still not there.
I thought like they were finding all the old game sheets.
Do they have, are the game sheets as detailed?
Does that, though?
Like the play-by-play stuff, did that occur?
I thought so.
Everywhere were you going to be able to, you know, scrape out the shots on goal and the shot attempts?
That was the impression I had.
I thought you were going to be able to go back and look at, like, Larry Robinson's coursey in, like, 77.
Like, I really wanted to go back and see, like, how, like, Canadians' crush teams when, like, there was no salary cap.
I thought for sure that was maybe it's not though
I don't know
Can you imagine that?
Nothing would be better in life than going back
and seeing that Ray Bork was actually a 33%
Corsi player
Like he was just really good at joining the rush once in a while
and potting some goals
Or better yet like Cammily would be the better example
Like everybody who's already like Camilley shouldn't be a Hall of Fame
But then you find out he's like a 30% coursey player in his career
Like you probably can't do like wowies
Like let's say they had like the 2000 Dau stars there
You probably couldn't figure out like what Hall and Madonna's
You know on ice stuff
was with and without Zuboff, but like I'd like to just know the general raw numbers, but I guess
I guess it's not going to be, I could have sworn it was going to be a thing, but I guess it's
not.
All right.
Well, I'm going to say Bredor, Alfredson, and one of the defensemen, not Gonshar, either Zubov.
I don't think Zubov is going to get in, to be honest.
I don't think there's really any support for him.
Why not?
Because he's Russian.
But it's, you know, it's like one of these deals where if you make a loud enough noise,
sometimes it matters.
Like, I think Andrew Chuck got in, because people were like.
This is a fucking disgrace that you lit in, like, Cicerelli, based on the numbers, but you don't let any guy who's got that number of goals.
Well, maybe they have to let in Gonshire first.
Then everyone's going to be like, Gonshar, but not Zuboff.
And then I'll be like, all right, fine.
Like, eventually, like, anyone that's ever played hockey will be in the Hall of Fame.
You can just go there and just be like, Tommy Chorsky, oh, the Tom Chorsky wing of the Hall of Fame.
This is great.
Oh, man, he won a cup.
He should be in the Hall of Fame.
Well, the good news for Zuboff is that Alpherson serves the Ontario mandate, having played in Ottawa.
So Zubovov is free and clear to get in if he wants to.
There is no way that 17 dudes who have no like accountability for what they do give a shit about appealing.
No, it's great.
Anybody.
They don't get paid for that job, do they?
Right?
They just do it.
I don't know.
I don't think so.
I think they just like the prestige and like to be in the room with the coat and just be like, hey, hey, Bobby McKenzie.
And it's like, hey, Gila Fleur or whoever.
I don't even know who's on the guy.
Gila Fleur.
I don't think Gila Fleur is in the selection committee.
I do remember seeing the photo of all the guys and they were all old guys with white hair.
Right.
All of them.
All right, so
We're gonna get together and vote on
Sergei Zubov
Geh? Okay, Guy's on another
smoke break.
Yet another
Five minutes, yeah, it was five minutes ago
that he took one, but I mean,
Gila Fleur, folks.
Bobby Clark, what do you have to say?
Here's what I have to say about Russians.
Oh, God, not again.
No, no, Bobby, we get it.
Just sit down.
We got to get out of here.
The room's only rented until four.
We got to get out.
Brian, what's your opinion
on Zubov, Mr. Burke.
The problem is you guys in the media are always talking about how no one ever appreciates grit.
No one ever appreciates truck hellens.
Brian, no one here is in the...
That guy is in the media.
Leave Eric Duhacic alone.
Bob McKenzie's like, yeah, I haven't talked to you in like four years.
What do you mean?
I haven't asked you about grit or anything.
Leave me alone.
Eric, that was the great Burke quote this week,
was Burke's always on like the radio during the Hall of Fame time,
because he's in town.
So, like, he goes on the Toronto radio station and he's like, it's like,
my line is that Toronto media loves it.
They root for the leaves to fail.
They don't want the leaves to succeed.
They root for them to fail.
I'm like, all I've heard for the last year and a half is they're literally,
they're building a statue of Austin Matthews out of mashed potatoes right now.
Oh, the Brendan Shanahan gold statue is like 45% under a kiddeme?
I've never seen a, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, uh, a, a, a, uh,
Like, it is in a 180 turn on a dime from the dire,
we need to get Phil Kissel out of town for hot dog reasons.
Yeah, I know.
We need to make sure Austin Matthews is safe.
Ban all contact.
Put his head in bubble wrap.
Is Brian Burke remember that his teams never went to the goddamn playoffs while he was there?
The one time they did it was in a 48 game season and they had the worst collapse ever in a game seven.
Like, why would anybody write anything good about that?
Hey, hey, that man's a genius.
He built a thing one time.
Yeah, you're telling you, if you just find the guy who wants to play with his brother,
really bad who's a generational defenseman
and another guy who forces his way out of town for
reasons that may not really entirely clear
and he happens to want to go there. You get the one good season
out of Andy McDonald's. You get that one guy?
Then when everyone
in the NHL still hasn't figured out the new rules yet,
you are a genius GM. You're a great
builder. Yeah. Fuck.
How'd you do it, Brian?
We got lucky and then
beat the shit out of people.
And then it got real fast and then
we started being bad.
Well, how did it work at Toronto? Well, I
I thought that trading
trading way picks
that would become
Ricky Raquel
and all these guys
would be good for us.
How is I supposed to know
the Colton Orr
and the third line experiment
wasn't going to work?
All right.
Coming up a special guest
but first here
is a friend of the podcast,
Sean Leahy.
The nicest part of puck soup
is definitely
the level of interest.
Lozo shows a nearly
anything that isn't related to the only TV show he's ever loved, friends.
From live ad reads to pretty much anything else, Lozo's excitement level is clearly contagious.
Anyway, congrats boys on reaching show number 69.
You've made us all so, so very proud.
I'm Sean Leahy and they say.
Ruby Edmondson is the social media and engagement
What is it?
Manager.
Manager at the ringer and the ringer.com.
My wife.
Well, it's not your wife.
Your wife.
My wife.
She joins us now.
And you told us that the only time you'd ever come on this idiot podcast was if it was the nicest episode that we did.
Well, it's really nice to be here today.
Exactly.
It's been going pretty nice so far, so let's keep it going with some more niceness.
Exactly.
Ruby, you are a, you wanted to come on partially because you've been maligned by the Puck Soup listenership for one particular opinion that I shared on the show, which was that you are not fond of the actor Jeff Goldblum.
And while I appreciate everybody interacting with myself and Dave, when I put up an Instagram celebrating my own.
and Ruby is an anniversary.
I had to hold back, because I was going to write, I was going to write, um, wow, um, wow.
You tweeted me.
You tweeted me.
You tweeted me. I don't know if you were drunk.
No, no, no, no.
I was going to do the Goldblum impression on the, one of the listeners on our, like, photo of us at
our wedding was like, you know, be happy he married you even though you don't like Jeff Goldblum.
Like, Jesus Christ.
I have not gotten any kind of response like that to anything you've done on the show ever.
I know.
But I've gotten like at least like 15 to 20 people up in my mentions talking about Jeff Goldblum.
Explain your Jeff Goldblum opinion.
Because when I said that I was going to...
It's so boring.
I said I saw Ragnarok and then I was like, I think you'd really like it.
And you're like, I don't know if I will.
And you're like, I'm like, why?
And you're like, because I don't really like Jeff Goldblum.
He's like, I don't, I don't hate him.
I don't think about him a lot.
Um, it stems from...
It stems from, honestly, from like a childhood experience where my dad sat me down.
He punched your father in the face or something.
Like what?
My dad sat me down and we watched the floor.
together and I was just really not into it and I'm like that's the guy from the fly.
How old were you when you watched this?
South of six.
So you're like scarred?
Yes.
Because you think he's a fly man.
Yeah.
Yeah.
And like I.
You think he's got falling apart skin and they're like, you're like, you're getting worse.
Uh-uh.
I'm getting better.
And then he eats a fly.
He wouldn't eat himself, would he?
He was the fly guy.
And then I was banned.
This is ironic given the fly.
story, but I was not allowed to watch Jurassic Park in any of its incarnations as a kid.
What?
Yeah.
Ruby was, was...
So I didn't have the good Goldboom experience until a couple of years ago, and we went
to go see it.
Ruby was blocked from watching certain forms of pop culture of the Simpsons being one of
them as well.
Were your parents anti-dinosaur?
Do they not believe in dinosaurs?
I honestly don't know about the Jurassic Park thing.
The Simpsons was because they thought the Simpsons had poor family values.
But yeah.
That is true.
Like none of it lines up, though.
like they sent me down to watch the fly.
The Green Mile, also an early standout of that scarred me as a child.
So bad family values, pro-death penalty.
It's a pretty, I mean, yeah, it's kind of, actually kind of shakes out in that.
Yeah, it does.
So, like, when you see the commercial for Thor Ragnarock, you're like, this looks good.
And then all of a sudden, like, Jeff Goldblum's there with his space things.
And you're just like, I don't want to go see that.
It's just kind of like shrug.
Like, it's not a really deep-seated hate or anything like that.
But you didn't go see it because of Goldblum, correct?
I didn't go.
I had plans.
I don't know.
I just like, I don't go see it because of him.
The anti-Jep Holblum fan club you had to go to do.
Yeah, right.
You'd be a meeting that.
I told you it's not that interesting.
I just, I'm like, I haven't seen any of the other Thor movies.
That's the real reason I didn't go see it.
Yeah.
But I'm told now that I don't need to, so I'll probably go see it on, like, a second viewing.
I don't, I mean, I don't blame you.
Like, like, the Thor movies to me are the least inviting of the Marvel films,
as far as, like, people that might not be into it.
Like, you know, I don't, like, you know,
Chris Pratt in space, easy cell.
Chris Evans is Captain America and he's holding on the things and his arms are bulging out.
Easy Cell.
Chris Pat and Baby Groot in space.
And Baby Groot in Space, right.
You know, do Robert Danny Jr. being funny.
And then they're all in the same movie together.
Like, these are very easy cells.
Harder still is a quasi-drama involving familial tension and Anthony Hopkins is an eye patch.
Whoa.
Wow.
That's an age.
Ocular bias I've ever
Agedist ocular bias
I don't want to go see a movie with an old man with one eye
Yeah wow okay Greg
Yeah that's why I've never seen a movie about
Pirates
I feel like they don't play up the Hemsworth enough
I just need all hemisworth all the time
Well that's why this one was better right
Because like he's front and center and he's funny
He's pointlessly shirtless like for like a good five minutes in the movie
Oh yeah he's just walking around on a towel for no reason
Yeah, he just got out of the shower
All right would you like to go see it again?
I also didn't tell you that they
The Hulk's nude in it too, by the way.
Wait, like, as the Hulk?
As the Hulk.
Yeah, not like Rufflebutt.
Like, as the Hulk, you see the Hulk's...
Like, full frontal?
Well, they reference full funnel,
full frontal, but you don't see it.
It is after all a Disney film.
Okay.
Chris Hemdworth sees it.
Do I want to see it?
Is the Hulk's dick?
The Hulk?
No, just the Hulk.
I mean, that's for you to decide.
I'd see the Hulk's dick just for the sheer novelty of it, you know?
Well, I mean, he did just get out of the shower,
so, like, maybe it was just freshly washed,
and it was probably fun.
Do you think the gamma rays made his balls,
bigger than his dick is the question. Or do you think everything's proportioned? I think it's proportioned.
Well, actually, you know what? Technically, he may not have a big dick because he's always walking around
on those super tight shorts. Right. And you don't really see a bulge through it. You figure if his dick was
like the size of a giant space dragon, for example. That's why he's so angry. Oh my God. I'm figuring
this all out. He's angry because the rest of him got huge and his dick saved the same size.
I mean, how else do you explain him being able to fit into those pants with no noticeable
bulge? And that's his Hulk, that's his rage. That's his rage. Like he's just like,
ugh. Hulk, no penis.
And that's why Black Widow is the only one who can calm him down.
He's like, she, she understand.
She, she don't judge.
It's like the micro penis episode of New Girl.
Did you ever see that episode?
No.
Didn't watch New Girl.
New Girl was pretty good.
I mean, despite, you know, big fans of Zoe Dashnell singing.
New Girl.
We got a new girl over here.
It's Christmas.
So the Ringers Superhero movie list.
Yeah, that's a good segue.
Come at me.
Why is it so bad?
I have one really large problem with it, and I've expressed my complaints to my coworkers.
Before you go on, which one are we talking about, the movies or the actual groupings of heroes?
Oh, that was a fantasy superhero draft that we did yesterday.
On Monday, we released the 50 best superhero movies of all time, a ranked list.
Superheroes.com.
I'm going to plug it.
Oh, my God.
Oh, yeah, I'm a pro.
Yeah. She actually has now plugged more shit on the show than you have, which is impressive.
Yeah, that's good. One thing.
My biggest problem with the list is the inclusion of Captain America Winter Soldier at number 17.
And I think it exemplifies like...
Too high or too low.
Too low.
Yeah, he's not a Winter Soldier fan.
I didn't listen to your MCU ranking.
You don't...
I'm not a big Captain America movie guy.
Oh.
I'm not a big fan of the...
You know like Chris Evans?
I just don't like the cap on America's story.
He doesn't like America.
Every movie he gets dorkier and more annoying.
It's just, you know.
Oh, every movie for me, he gets dorkier and, like, less annoying.
So we differ.
I didn't like the fact that Unbreakable didn't make the list.
I don't understand how that gets overlooked.
So the Winter Soldier thing, I registered my complaints.
And it turns out that really the thing that kind of tanked Winter Soldier is the box office score, which was 25% of
the score on this ranking.
The adjusted box office of Winter Soldier
was nowhere near the adjusted box office,
well, not adjusted box office of Civil War.
See, but that's fucking bonkers because that means
like suicide squad gets more credit than it would ever deserve.
It was like number 49.
Like it made the list at all.
Because it made money at the box office.
Right. I mean, so it's just like a funnel metal
flaw, I think more than like
us having bad opinions about movies.
See, that's what I said when I was talking about it.
Like if your criteria for the list shakes
it out where that's the case, you should readjust
the criteria or something. Like, take, like,
let the box off weigh it less. So you should
make the criteria based on what you want the list
to be? Oh, that's every list we do on this show.
Yeah, you kidding. There's no science.
You guys feel like less mathematical than
than we might lean.
Well, you know why? Because... I'd rather just have
like, Shea Serrano. Just be like, here's the 50 movies
I like the best. Yeah. And then write pretty
things about it and have that guy animate him like he
with his book. You like to include everyone
on her... I mean, I think it's a good way to like
explain the things.
things that don't hold up as well. Right. Like, because we did it this way, like, this is why this is.
You're dancing around it, but basically you have too many millennials voting on this shit.
There it is. I have a question for you. Please. When you complain about the lists at the ringer,
you often reference millennials. Right. As the problem. The same people that put the, what was the
number one thing on the fast food list? Gattaca. No, it's fucking, like, no, it was like fra, was it was
Waffle fries. It was Chiquel Frize. It was Waffle fries at Chick-Fillay. That has nothing to do with
millennials.
It totally does.
No one writing the right mind.
When you're in your head, like, thinking about the millennials that wrote these lists.
Yeah.
Like, how old are you imagining this person is?
Between the ages of 17 and 23.
Isn't that, like, 75% of your staff?
That's rude and false.
The kind of person that would say, you know what's better than a burger at in and out?
Waffle fries?
Like, the way we voted on it, again, like, this is the failing of the list.
The way we voted on it, it was just the crowd favorite.
and because of the way that we scored the list, it ended up number one.
Do you ever feel guilty putting out these lists knowing that you're going to take?
You as the social media person take the most flag.
You're like a pawn in chess when it comes to this shit.
You're relish in it.
You're like Captain America's Shield.
You just throw it up and you're like hit me with it.
No, you're like one of his bullshit army friends that has to go out first before he runs out and saves the day.
Lists are great.
No, I completely agree.
We wrote a book of a list.
Remember when Dave and I wrote that book for like a week?
Available on Amazon.com.
well done
there you go
good job
now you're tied
we're tied one one one
one
um all right
the list on the ring are
our
hell boy too
ahead of hellboy
what's going on there
I can't defend any of that stuff
but like the top of the list
is fine
Wonder Woman is the fifth best
superhero movie
I haven't seen it
but like everyone who
everyone who tweets about it
is like
because it's DC
I don't want to
I didn't know
you saw it up playing
because it's DC
I know
I didn't see it at all
I was I had a chance
to watch it on a plan
that I didn't want to.
I saw Guardians like two weeks earlier
and I was just super...
I need like a month break in between Super...
Guardians too or Guardians' two?
The thing that bothered me the most
is fucking Dark Night Rises
over the 89 Batman.
Oh yeah, where was Dark Night Rises?
It was like in the teens
and it was like two ahead of the Keaton Batman
and I'm just like, come on man.
So another component of the score
was rotten tomatoes
and like I think that's just harder
to really count that
as a compelling thing for a movie
that's from the 80s.
How do you, you and I
in full disclosure, are folks that will use Yelp. Sometimes we'll use Yelp as we're sitting in a restaurant to see what to eat, but not necessarily all the time using Yelp to say, we're not to go. How do you feel as a consumer of film about Rotten Tomatoes? Do you like it? Do you like there being a way for you to get a sniff of something if it's got a rotten sniff? Or do you not like it? No, I don't like it because I've never once gone on Rotten Tomatoes.com and come out of it being like, oh, I need.
need to see this. It's always the opposite.
Like, it's always like, oh, man, this movie's like two and a half hours long.
I didn't know that.
Like, bye.
That has nothing to do with, like, the premise of Rotten Tomatoes.
But I appreciate you saying Rotten Tomatoes.com to differentiate between Rotten Tomatoes,
the brick and mortar store, rotten tomatoes, the food product.
Like, there needs to be a website that tells you, for instance, like, if you're going
to go see Logan Lucky, how much Seth McFarland do I have to endure?
Like, there should be, like, screen time like that.
Like, he's in it for six minutes.
Like, honestly, I have the outlets I know and trust and, like, the writers.
I know and trust if I want to read a review.
And, like, I don't always want to read a review.
But if I do, I don't, like, base my opinion on Rotten Tomatoes.
And it's never positive.
You'd have Rotten McFarlane to tell you how much Seth McFarland's in a movie.
Right.
Rotten Goldblum, so she knows what Goldblum movies doesn't see and not see.
I'd like Rotten montage to let me know exactly how long the montage in the movie is.
I see you go to the bathroom during the montage.
Rotten music cue.
Right.
Like, ugh.
rotten
yeah
I was gonna say
rotten Gerard Butler movie
but that's just any
have you seen the ugly truth
excuse you
which one is that
is that the one with Jennifer Aniston
no that's the Catherine
one where he's like
she works for the news station
and his job is to be
like he gets he gets hired to be a guy
like a bro who tells it like it is
it holds up terribly
a real broie guy
she's you know
she's like
and now here's Jarred Butler
with the
row minute and he's like, you know what you do to get ladies?
Yep, yep.
Make them pay for dinner is what you do.
And everybody's like, that's so offensive.
And then they cut to some guy being like, you pay for dinner and then they have sex.
Like his advice works.
And let me guess.
Eventually at the end of the movie, he realizes how wrong he is and him and Catherine
Heigel end up together.
I don't know if he realizes how wrong he is.
No, it's crazy.
He roops off his shirt and goes to war with the Persians.
It's a prequel 300.
And so it's $2.99.
That's $2.99.
That sounds like a good movie
Jesus
299
Wait let's go to the space
movie list
Because that's the one
This list is a list
And it's actually all superhero movies
And that's fine
The space movie list
Featured a lot of movies
Not a lot but some movies
That did not take place in space
So it's like
Superhero movies
It's pretty clear what a superhero is
Even though Darkman
I don't know if that's a superhero
Gattaca's not a space movie
I have a theory about this
As you know many of the people
that work at the ringer.com
are between the ages of 17 and 23.
That's after the last shuttle mission.
They were born well after the last shuttle mission.
They don't even know about space.
Oh, so they think we've never been.
Right.
They don't think space exists.
When do you think the last shuttle mission was?
I'm going to say the last shuttle mission was.
When was it, do you know?
I want to say it's 2003.
Yeah.
All right.
So if you're 17-year-olds old in 2017, that means you were but three when the last shuttle left.
So when you picture the inside of the ring or obfirm.
is it like a summer camp with like kids and stuff like they're like learning how to like knit
and row boats and all that stuff and they occasionally do a list yep and simmons is running around
trying to get them to learn like guys over here we're going to read about space so you can do the
space list who are you i was on esPN dot com what's that man espn dot com is that before 2003 because i don't know
what you guys didn't know about page two are you going to come at me about the space list or what
yeah it sucked it's sucked it's sucked because of movies that didn't have space
in it.
Gattaca is one of my all-time favorite movies.
I love Gattaca.
Love Gattaca.
You have to draw the line somewhere.
The line must be drawn here.
And none of, so the line that was drawn in the sand is that if the movie does not take place
even for a moment in space, then it's not a space movie.
What takes place in space in Gattaca?
He's like an astronaut or something, isn't he?
Right.
Wait, so then why is it on the list?
Oh, it is on the list?
Wait, I thought it got left off the list.
No, Gattaca is totally on the list.
Antica and Predator, or the two that I remember.
No, what you're saying is true, though, because, like, I think
there's, like, he's an astronaut
in that movie. He wants to
be an astronaut. He wants to go into space.
And you're saying there's no moment in which he actually
goes to space. But the movie's about, like, class
and identity. But does he go to space?
Ruby's asking if he goes to space at some point.
Like, that's, that's the line that was drawn.
So if it's on the list, it takes
place of space. Like our bullshit predator
problem with that list, which is that there's a, the first
30 seconds in the movie
are the predator comes to Earth.
The rest of the movie takes place in the jungle.
It's a space movie.
But like I was saying like say if we did the best 50 hockey movies,
we have to squeeze in like the cutting edge and the tooth figure.
No, no, no.
There's only so many hockey movies.
There's a ton of space movies.
Hold on.
To your point, putting the predator on the space list would be like putting,
chasing Amy.
Yeah, because they go to the hockey game.
Right.
Or lethal weapon four where they're running around the, was two.
Was it two?
Wait, no.
Or three.
was it three
it had pesci in it
because he gets shot
and he's like I'm dying
I'm cold
that's the Renee Russo one
yeah
yeah
so the ET was excluded
okay
okay
no no no
the thing that pissing off
was close encounters
was excluded
oh yeah
and the entire end
of the fucking movie
I sat you down
and we watched it on YouTube
they're going into space
that's the end of the movie
yeah
like the space movie
list was weird
because like there were just
no space movies
or non-space movies
or non-space movies.
Like the superhero list is, you know, you can fall back and say,
oh, rotten tomatoes made at this or the box office made at that.
But, like, at least they're all superhero movies.
I could have sworn Gadica was left off because I remember being upset about it's placement at least.
Listen.
It's a hockey podcast.
Oh, yeah, we should talk about hockey.
We do need to talk to you about hockey.
Yeah, I thought this was the soup part.
You are from the Chicago area.
I am.
You tell by your accent.
How do you feel about about, about, I want to ask you.
I asked about the Blackhawks placement in the Chicago pecking order when you live there.
Okay.
Because you moved from New York in...
I've lived in New York over 10 years.
Over 10 years.
When you were in Chicago, what was it...
Because that was before the Kane and Taves revolution.
What was it like for a Blackhawks fan in Chicago at that point?
I mean, when I was a kid, you couldn't even watch the games on TV.
Because that dirty, no good owner.
Yeah.
So, I think it took a long time to bounce back from that.
And then also, this is less true of, like, when I left Chicago.
but like as a kid, like my parents wouldn't, again.
Sorry, Mom and Dad.
Dad, they would only show her the parts of the game with the penalty box.
Punitive damages to your actions, but not the other family stuff.
My dad and I went to Wrigley all the time, and I have very fond memories of that, but like, he wouldn't take me to the United Center.
Because of why?
Because the area was so bad at the time.
It is, but it's still bad.
It's still bad, but I think it was quite a bit worse.
Yeah, but that's what I'm talking about.
Have you ever tried to get like an Uber after a Black Hawk's game?
you're just standing out there by yourself.
It's not like going to a game...
Hashtag first word problems.
Oh, stop it.
The hardest to get an Uber in Chicago.
Oh, my God.
Hashtag, what's the same part of town called?
West Loop, I suppose.
Deathville, I don't know.
But, like, yeah, it's not a good place to hang out at night.
Passed the Westleap.
Yeah, so, like, when I was a kid, like, from what I can remember,
I've been told, it was much worse, although that might be my own familial bias on that.
But, yeah, so, like, I didn't grow up going to games, which is tough.
You couldn't watch him.
tougher. And when I left, like, it was firm forth.
When you were watching from afar, the bandwagon expand and they're having parades with,
like, two million people there. What was that? Were you like, were you casting side eye
because bandwagonism in Chicago, I think, is frowned upon, right? It's only frowned upon
in one specific instance. Raleighville. If you bandwagon from socks to Cubs or from Cubs
to Sox, it's not done. Oh, interesting. You can't. So everybody who doesn't. Like when the White
White Sox won the World Series.
I was like, fuck it.
Like, you can't switch.
So you're saying Cubby fans became White Sox fans for that run.
There are probably some.
Really?
And it's very shameful for those people.
But not a lot, honestly.
Is Blackhawks bandwagonism different because it was a lot of people coming to hockey maybe for the first time?
Yeah. Like, I, like, I supported 100%.
Like, why not jump on the bad wagon?
Like, my sport has more fans now.
That's awesome.
Yeah.
But, like, don't jump from team to team.
Sorry.
Is Patrick Kane your favorite player?
player?
When you were asking this, I thought that was going to mean the question.
He's forcing me to ask all the questions. I'm not forcing you to do anything.
Give me a list. I have a very open and honest relationship with Ruby. We can talk about anything at any time.
I just know that Patrick Kane is not her favorite player.
He's he anyone's favorite player. I know for a fact that Patrick Sharp is your favorite player.
Oh, yeah.
Like I said, he's so handsome that they had to come up with a rule that he couldn't kiss people.
So he would stop being. He's such a dog, though. Yeah. Oh, yeah.
Yeah, yeah.
Like, yeah, I don't know.
I've heard stories.
Yeah, we've all heard stories.
You've heard the stories.
Got to watch the pretty ones.
I've heard like the back channel stories from like people I know that still live there,
which is like kind of on a level.
It's like people aren't even reporting it and people know about it.
What are they?
Tell us.
The dogish things you would expect from a married, a rich ass hockey player.
I think you might have specific instances involving specific teammates that we could.
Oh, no, no, no, no.
Oh, you're talking about things that might get you traded?
Yeah.
But then he got traded back.
So I guess whoever left between that time, oh, was it Artemi Penar?
No, he wasn't there at the same time.
No.
Trying to think of who the players were there when he was there.
I remember the players still being there, but maybe that's why it wasn't true.
Why are you making up stuff, Ruby?
We went to a Devils game once, and it was Devils, Blackhawks, and Patrick King, or the Patrick Sharp scored a hat trick.
Yeah.
I think it was like the worst nine of your life.
It might have been.
It was, I think, the first time we ever went to a game together.
And, like, not only did my team lose, but the guy she wants to fuck,
got a hat trick at the same time.
Wait, was a cane or sharp?
No, sharp.
Oh, oh.
Oh, okay.
Yeah.
I was like, wait, I misspoke.
Oh, okay.
Yeah.
I was like, wait, hold on.
You threw me off.
That's part of the bandwagonism, though, was like they had beautiful people on the team,
or at least people that people, like, women in Chicago kind of followed.
But we can call Patrick Kane beautiful.
Maybe in a sort of early.
Who are the other beautiful people on team?
John of the Taves is beautiful.
man. He's got big puppy dog eyes.
We disagree on this.
Yeah. Where are you on tape as a beautiful man?
He's fine. Yeah, exactly.
I think there's a lot of players on that team who have built up a lot of goodwill in that
city. What woman wouldn't want to make out with Duncan Keith and slide her tongue
through those giant gaps in his mouth? I mean, that's a beautiful thing, right?
Sounds delightful.
Wait, so take me to this date. Like, what number in the relationship was this date? Like,
how early on? It wasn't the first, it wasn't the first hockey game we'd been to.
It was probably like the next year after that.
Oh, okay.
I'm picturing you having to pretend like you're happy about the hat trick and like not being trying to stay calm in front of her, not being all.
Why would he be happy?
It was against his team.
No, because he's happy that your team and your player did well.
So he asked.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Remember you telling me how you were like, oh, I'm going to root for the Cubs if the Mets lose to the Cubs.
So I thought maybe there was like a little.
Yeah, if they're playing each other.
If the Mets lose to the Cubs, we went to the NLCS.
that year and I took every bit of joy in it was not like when you know Sean Michaels kicked
Rick Flair in the face and before he did he did it he's like I'm sorry I love you I was very much
happy that the Mets stop the Cubs from advancing and trying to win the world series who's Sean Michaels
oh Jesus he was he was people that he can he was always referencing it here that I
yeah I understand two biggest wrestling fans in the world sit in this room with me and neither of them
will acknowledge it it's like it's like Coco beware with his parrot what
Talon, what way is that?
What was a parrot?
Cocoa beware out of parrots, didn't it?
It was like a, like a, what's an exotic bird?
Not a, not a toucan.
A macaw?
It might have been a macaw.
Either way, it was a, boy, the fact that you just know that is like, it's so, it's so bad.
Parrots are small, aren't they?
This was a larger bird.
Are you talking about, like, the big ass birds?
It was like, it was light blue and yellow.
It was a beautiful bird.
Yeah, blue, like a blue and gold macaw.
Yeah, it was probably a macaw, Dave.
Not a parrot.
So like cane and taves are like
You would not beware a parrot.
You would beware a macaw most likely.
Aren't you happy you came in?
Aren't you glad you were like,
I got to come here and talk about Jeff Coleman
and defend myself.
How many times have you listened?
And wrestling.
Ooh, my favorite.
How many times have you listened
to the podcast in your life?
This one.
All the way through or the interview part?
All right.
Category one, the interview part.
I've listened to quite a few of them.
I genuinely like the interview part.
I'll say seven times she's flipped through.
Well, seven, yeah, seven.
So you do the thing that I do with a lot of podcasts, which is it's very guest-centric.
Yeah.
Like, if we talk to somebody that you actually want to hear from, you listen to it.
Absolutely.
I do that with maybe 60% of my podcast.
Your podcast is really fucking long.
Well, we're overcompensating for some stuff, okay?
How many times, wait, but what about?
Like, a lot of podcasts I listen to are in, like, the 30 to 40-minute range.
Right.
And, like, that's about how long my commute is.
It's a very NPR length podcast.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Or, like, very ringer-level.
length podcast, one might say.
Is that how long they bring your podcast are?
They're only like 40 minutes.
I can't picture Bill Simmons doing a 40 minute podcast.
Oh, no, his are longer.
But a lot of the sports specific ones.
The ones about like fidget spinners and stuff, whatever the millennials are talking about
that week are all very short.
Coming up next, will James Hardin's contract be paid in Bitcoin?
Yeah.
We'll bring on Bitcoin expert, Joey Bitcoin.
He's a vine star.
Um.
So how many have you listened to all the way through?
How many?
Oh, my God.
More or less than you?
None? None ones?
No, if I have, it's because I wasn't making attention.
So we're like the show, we're like the show after the Super Bowl.
It's like the Super Bowl's on, and then you leave your TV on because everybody's in another room having dessert or whatever.
And then that show gets like a monster rating just because the TVs are still left on.
So like the shows that you listen to all the way through are just you forgot to shut it off.
I've listened to many halves of your show.
Okay, that's fine.
That's fine.
Get the hell out of here.
I never want to see you again.
She's the nicest guest that we've ever had.
Also realize that like keeping up with Ringer Podcast Network of which there are a lot is part of my job.
So my podcast listening time is already very limited.
And like you've been trained to listen to 40 minute podcast.
So like when we come with the two hours.
It's a lot.
Also, we used to work from home together.
Yeah.
And I always used to hear like half of MBSW.
Yeah, the other podcast.
Remember the other podcast that did?
It doesn't ring a bell.
So I think I've had my fill over the years of like your voice podcasting.
It used to be the greatest.
Like we would work at home and then, you know, she would be in the other room and she'd only hear one half of the conversation because Marrick is in, you know, Toronto or whatever.
So it's just like silence.
And then all of a sudden.
Yeah, well, that's why they can't play Morgan Riley that many minutes.
silence
the first time I ever came to your house
clear as day
this memory of you
in your basement
doing game show Friday
just I was like
what the fuck did I get myself
and one half of game show Friday
happy
happy anniversary by the way baby
by the way I have no idea
what game show Friday is
game show Friday was a bit that we did
in the other show where
we would have somebody come on
and it would be like 10 questions
and if they got like,
or maybe it was like five questions
and you get three of five right,
you want a prize.
That's it?
60%.
It was a lot of fun.
How often did you send the prize?
Oh,
I would never,
I mean,
like,
it would be on the producer to send the prize.
I don't even know if anybody won anything,
but like Merrick hated it.
That reminds me,
we still haven't sent the bowl out,
how we?
No,
I found that the other day.
I know.
I was like,
wow.
It's when Ruby finds checks I have in cash
that is really the problem
as far as my complete disorganization in life.
That's really the issue.
She's like, you know you could take a picture of it and send it into your bank now.
I'm like, what is this magic you speak of?
You can do that.
I get paid through Canada sometimes.
I can't do that.
I have to go to the tower.
It's the worst having to have a conversation with somebody about.
I hear like, you bring, you bring like six beaver pelts to the window and like,
how am I supposed to fit him through this fucking slot?
Do I just walk the antlers around behind the glass?
Or do you just chop them up and put them through?
How much is that word?
What's the moose exchange rate today?
What's the moose?
exchange rate.
It's just having to go to the bank and talk to it.
The teller, it's the same teller every time.
We have the same conversation.
It's like, okay, the exchange rate is point, whatever it is, point seven five.
Is that okay?
Like, what am I getting?
No.
No.
I'd rather have no money than 0.75 of what this check says.
Dear Federal Reserve, I was recently at my bank and couldn't help but notice the exchange rate is all out of whack.
Don't you get 1.25 of what the check is?
No.
It goes the other way.
Oh, really?
Yeah, like, yeah, that's, if it's like a whatever, $500,
a lot of Czech-Canadian, it's like $4.25.
Oh, man.
But the benefit is that your monies get people playing hockey on it.
The boy is in the pun, on a beautiful blue note with the queen's sace on it.
And the worst, too, is like sometimes, like, when we got paid for the live show,
I go to the bank, I fill out the whole conversion thing.
I give it to the lady behind the glass, and she's like, oh, this is an American check.
And I'm like, really?
She's like, yeah, oh, you don't have to do any conversion for this.
So I'm like, okay, great.
And like, two months later, I get, like, I'm thinking,
the mail. We apologize. We had to
correct the deposit that day. It's actually not
as much as it was. And I'm like, I fucking knew it.
I told you with the... I know more about this than you do.
There really is nothing better now that
like we're doing live shows and shit. Like, we go to Canada
and, like, get the money for it and then like go to the...
I go to the exchange thing at the airport.
I'm like, wow, we really cleaned it up, really killed
it. And it's like... You get it back and
like, oh, well, I guess
maybe I'll get a coffee.
It's like, yeah. It's like $40 and a
large Tim Horton's coffee.
On the plus side, shopping in Canada is great.
right now. It is awesome.
All right. Ruby Edmondson is a social media and engagement manager.
Engineer?
Manager.
Manager. At the ringer and the ringer.com.
Do you have anything else you want to say on the podcast?
I have one thing that I've been wanting to ask on the record for a while.
Oh.
It's a question for Dave Lozo.
Well, it's not really a question. It's like an accusation, I guess.
Oh.
We need like a Mori audience noise to drop in a now.
How do I put this?
You've co-opted the ESPN bit.
Co-opted.
To a degree where now people have referenced it to me as a, wow, that Dave Lozo sure is funny with that ESPN bit.
And by co-opted, you mean co-opted like bar down co-op stories from Reddit, right?
Wow.
Yeah.
Like, that's my bit.
Really?
I have to call you out.
I have never heard you do.
That is our bit from like five years ago.
And you've made it.
thing and I just I wanted to just get that on the record are you calling me the Carlos
mensia of IMEESPN stealing bits because we did that we did the bit just kind of saying
no no no no it's not like that she's not like that or 20 she thinks you're really good at it
you're kind of like Dennis Leary and we'll we're Bill Hicks like it's that sort of thing really
because I've heard people talk about Bill Hicks I've never heard anybody reference the bit
when it comes to you to only us two I'm pointing at me and Greg now because it was always
it was always like an inside bit yeah and then he's
How can I know about our inside of it?
But then you started doing it and then you started doing it.
Now everyone thinks it's your bet.
We started doing it in L.A.
At one of the cup finals with L.A.
Yeah, me and Greg.
We invented it out there.
I'm just over here having coffee.
I'm going to let you two talk for a while.
It was probably 20, I think it was 2014.
Wow, that's like a full two years after we first did this bet.
Sam.
Yeah, but what you don't know, I have it right here.
Do you see this envelope?
Ruby wrote down ESPN.
in an envelope, mailed it to herself.
The bit is copyright and trademarked 2002.
See, this is like, this is like on Twitter where...
2012.
Like, like last year, last year I wrote something about fighting and everyone kept coming to me on
Twitter. You never played the game. And so I was like, actually, I played in Finland in
2002 for three years. I did this for like a week on Twitter. And then all of a sudden
Ryan Lambert was like, you're stealing my bit. I'm like, what, what bit? He's like, I was doing
this bit forever. I literally never seen him do the bit. And then he started
doing the bit himself for like a couple
months and then he stopped doing it again. To like to show that he still
had the muscle to flex. But like he
wasn't, but then he stopped. He hasn't done it like a year.
But for like a while he was mad at me for stealing
a bit that I didn't even know. I'm not mad at you. I just
wanted to say it on the record that it's my
bit. All right. Let me see some examples
of the bit before I started doing it.
You know it was like a very
specific bit too. Like it was
Oh, about a specific person on ESPN
that I can't mention now because I work there.
Yeah. Oh. Yeah.
So I guess it isn't entirely on the record then is
it's on the record, but also on background.
I want to give you my blessing publicly to use it.
Oh, thank you.
I'm not mad.
I just wanted to take some credit.
I'm not laughing.
This is your worst matter.
No, you're not mad.
You're laughing.
Yeah.
I think it's funny.
I love you.
I love you too.
Oh, that's really, wait, what?
Oh, yeah, we didn't, we don't want to say anything, but.
Yeah.
We have a mutual love for ESPN.
At the end of the day, I believe this guest's conduct has been very nice.
I'm Greg Wysinski.
Yes, but I just want to say that our guest, Ruby, has been a real gem.
I'm Dave Lozo.
I was going to say it's nice to be here, but...
Ruby, I love you, and thank you for being the best in allowing me to do this podcast.
Thanks for being so nice to have me on the pod today.
You're the nicest guest we've had today.
Dave?
Hey, it's David Ehrlich here.
calling in to congratulate you guys in 69 episodes.
How nice for you.
Say something nice about the Puck Soup podcast.
I will try.
As a New York Rangers podcast, this is fucking terrible.
It leaves a lot to be desired.
But as a podcast where I can hear people talk about how Eric Lindross is a whiny little bitch
and figuratively at least shit on Captain America, World Police,
my two favorite things. Oh, it's outworld police.
Sorry, to this day, I get that wrong.
What's it called? I should know this.
It's my job. Captain America,
Winter Soldier,
then there is no better place
to go. Then Puck Soup.
So congratulations on 69.
Very nice episodes.
I wish you 69 more
and let's go Rangers. May the streak never die.
Goodbye.
Thank you to David Ehrlich for his kind
message here. A nice message
indeed. One of the nicest movie critics.
you're ever going to find. A nice message from a nice critic.
Justice League, I didn't read his review, but his tweet about Justice
League was, Wonder Woman was my favorite. They should make a
Wonder Woman movie. Yeah, I guess does not bode very well for
the rest of Justice League. Doesn't look good, man.
I think it's going to be fine. It's going to be like,
they're trying to marvel it up. It'll just be a bunch of
goofy one-liners and stuff and trying to brighten
up, you know, characters that no one gives you shit about.
Oh, speaking of trailers.
So Black Panthers get in his own movie.
Oh, yeah.
Maybe I had misunderstood this from Civil War.
Oh, boy.
But I thought he was...
Can I just be racist, please?
Why would you think I was going to be racist?
You just tread lightly.
Go ahead.
I was going to say, I thought he was like a regular dude from Earth who just had a suit that made him like Iron Man.
He is.
But in the preview for the...
That's not in space.
Is not?
That's an advanced civilization called Wakanda in Africa.
So you weren't totally racist.
You just didn't believe that that could exist in Africa.
Wait, so it's like, is it like Star Trek with like the Genesis where there's like a special place where you can grow, you go in like your, you're stronger and faster and no, no, no.
I think if memory serves from the comic, that is the place where you get the animantium.
Great.
Yeah.
So like they have a shit ton of it or what, yeah, whatever the vibranium, sorry.
Anamantium is the, the Wolverine.
Oh, that's Wolverine.
The vibranium that the.
used in Calfield. Well, I never made the Adamantium
comes from
Macombiem. Because
it's the only place to get it, they've made
all their money selling
it. And then
they get all the money and have all this technology
there too. And they use the vibranium
and the technology as well. But who have they been selling it to?
Because for the longest time, they thought the shield was the only thing.
Apparently the fucking US military to keep finding
shield for the fuck. Fucking Trump, man.
God damn it.
No, but like you from the commercials, I was
confused. I thought maybe he wasn't. I thought he was like,
I just had a cool suit that made him do stuff.
Mr. President, we need to negotiate
with the Wakandans for more of iranium.
We don't need any more of vibranium.
We're going to get unobtainium from the moon of Pandora.
We're going to kill all the navi.
We're going to build a wall around the navvee and get the unobtainium.
You know, before we do anything else, I was thinking,
do you want to switch?
You want to swap where we're sitting?
So you're saying that I'm in this position.
Yeah, you want to change positions.
And then you're going to be now in this position?
Let's flip it.
Yeah, let's flip it.
Just flip the whole thing.
Let's do it.
Okay.
Hold on.
Yes. It's kind of a different feeling.
Wow.
Yeah. It's almost like...
It's a whole new perspective on what we usually do.
Yeah. I almost feel like my top is my bottom, but now my bottom is my top.
Yeah. This is actually... It's kind of nice.
It is nice.
I think we'd just focused on me, but I mean, this is pretty good, though, too.
Well, I think it's nice when you focus on both people.
I mean, you kind of divert your attention a little bit.
Right.
Yeah, yeah, this is good. I like it. I'm glad we did this.
Yeah, it's like a yin and a yang almost.
Yeah, let's just stay in this position for as long as we...
can until we finish.
Right.
Okay.
Or until my leg falls asleep.
So I wanted to ask you about a couple of things hockey related.
Carrie Price, who currently, as we do this podcast, is injured and there's been much
much consternation about his health and being rushed back from injury and what have you.
It's also, let me, let me say this about our friends in Montreal.
I have never seen a sport, maybe a sports city that has so many people, surrogates,
tangential people that have relationships with the organization
put out more bullshit on the radio in Montreal
What are they saying? Well, like, there was a guy on the radio this morning. He was like, I would
it would not surprise me if the Montreal Canadiens traded Carrie Price.
To who? His extension hasn't even started yet. Yeah, and well, and as part of his extension,
he now has a full no move clause this season. So it's like one of these deals where you're like,
A, not going to happen, B, not going to happen. C, can't happen. So it's like,
But again, it's no different than, like, fucking, you know, Pierre Shippa Pants that goes on the French language station up there.
Wait, the guy that Vegas Hole, the Knights sent back to Russia?
He's got a radio show now, which is all?
And he's just like, oh, like, galchia yuck to the devils or the other whole.
You know, it's just like, oh, more bullshit gets floated in that city than any other city in hockey, maybe in sports.
Oh, yeah.
But I'm just surprised that Carrie Price is hurt and underperforming.
It never happens.
Charlie Lindgren is the end.
is the NCAA free agent goalie that has now come in and saved the day.
He sounds like a character from like a movie that Jack Lemon would play where he would like hang out with a young Matt Damon and teach him things.
Charlie Lingren in theaters in 1994.
Hi, I'm Charlie Lingren.
Nice poll.
What was that?
That pole.
Best point of it?
So this is like a Mike Condon situation where a guy comes in and plays really well in Carrie Price is stead.
And then we all say to ourselves, well, if he can do it, anyone can.
And then we look, oh, but Carrie Price is.
signed until the sun explodes.
This is again why you don't pay your goaltenders' gigantic sums of money because they're
never worth that much.
Like even, like maybe Henrik Lunkwist was worth 8.5 before he started getting paid 8.5.
But again, you can throw in Camp Talb, you throw in Aunt Duranta.
The team in front of the goaltender matters more than the goaltender all the time, even
if it's carry price.
It's the most interesting position in that regard in sports because it's like it is the
single most important position in the National Hockey League.
And if you look at any other most vital position and any other.
their sport. They're all like sluggers,
quarterbacks. Like, they're all getting massive
long-term contracts. Oh, starting pitcher,
I would say, is the... Starting pitchers as well.
Yeah, they're important than like the hitter, I think.
Yeah, so like, goaltenders
get... They're important, but like...
Get those contracts, but at the same time,
it's also the single most fragile position
in hockey. I would say
goaltenders are like
running backs where like
the offensive line matters more than it does the running back.
Yeah, but I would say...
Ezekiel Elliott would not be running for 2,000 yards behind the Giants offensive line.
So you're kind of like going in the Chris Osgood mindset.
Like if you just have a kick-ass team in front of them,
it doesn't matter what goal you have.
Like Matt Murray's fine,
but I think a lot of it had to do with how good the penguins were in front of Matt Murray,
as opposed to like Matt Murray's stealing games.
I think it's a legit debate.
Lunkwist had to steal a ton of games for the Rangers
during his when his prime still exists.
I don't think there's so few goalies who are like that.
I don't know if Carrie Price is that.
I think that's an interesting debate to have because I think essentially it comes back to team building.
And I think it comes back to the idea of do you need a great goalie or a competent goalie?
And I feel like the league has definitely gone more in the vein of competent goalie,
which is why you don't see a lot of goalies taken in the first round anymore.
Yeah.
They want to just develop guys on their own and in their own systems and not waste top picks on goalies
and just come up with a guy that's not going to fuck up basically versus anything else.
You don't want to have, like, that was why on Twitter last night, I was like, Lungquist for Pecker Rene, be the perfect trade.
The perfect trade, because they both make kind of the same amount of money.
One makes seven, one makes eight point five.
Lunkwist is signed for two more years after this one.
Rene, one more year.
The Predators Windows Open for more than this one year.
And he's probably going to be the guy that fucks you up in the playoffs because he's going to be bad for a week and it's going to cost you.
Longquist.
Yeah, because he won't be the same guy it was last year.
Right.
He has been good this year, though, so far.
Better than I thought he'd be.
I mean, every year for René is the same thing.
He's awesome for stretch is bad, but then the playoffs for two months, you have to be good.
And Lunkwist, his contract will take you deep into the P.K. Suban window.
Well, if you lose René after next year, you know, you're in trouble.
Who are you going to sign?
Who are you going to pick up at that point?
And this way, the Rangers can get out from underneath that contract.
They still have a good goalie for another year.
But goalies, man.
I'd rather have the good team.
I'd rather have the L.A. King's 61% Roth Fenwick and John Quick in net than Lungwist.
But John Quick's more than competent.
John Quick can win you a playoff series.
Yeah.
Like, so is the perfect goalie than a guy who is competent, but can win you around?
I think that's the perfect guy.
Like, Matt Murray won them rounds in the last two years with his play.
He out, the cap series, man.
He outplayed Holby.
Like, he's won them rounds.
I mean, you could have put a garbage can in that and Holti outplayed this year.
Well, that's the Capitals thing, right?
Like, you know.
Pretty bad.
Yeah, I'll played
what's it, well, I mean, whoever at Tampa had a net at that point,
Bitts slash, Natelavski.
I'll play Marty Jones in the final.
That's what I mean.
Like, that Marty Jones is the, wait, why are we calling a Marty?
I don't know.
Because we're on a very casual basis with him.
Hey, Marty.
Marty, where's your sister?
Where's your dad?
Ah, gee, I don't know.
Hey.
I gotta get back to the sharks.
Sounds like you've been keeping up with the Joneses over there.
Oh, my God.
Yeah.
There's a bad movie.
That's a great movie.
Another bad movie for John Han to come here and talk about.
But, like, Marty Jones is, like, perfect.
Like, Marty Jones was the right salary, the right talent level to be behind.
Good.
Yeah, I'm Marty.
So, so, Rodore, Marty San Luis, Marty, St. Louis, Marty Jones.
Jonesy, so Jonesy did a really good job in net.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
And, like, with the team in front of him, it was.
Oh, yeah.
You know, I give all credit to Pabs and Coots and Burnsy, jumbo, uh, pickles.
They still call them Cooch, which always throws me off.
Coots.
I've heard Cooch.
You've heard Cooch?
little CH at the end. He's been real good.
He has been really good. Yeah, he's got 10 goals
in the season, 10 goals being,
I did the numbers this morning
when I was doing an MVP thing on ESPN.
Almost a quarter of the goals
the sharks have scored as a team have come
off the stick, I've come directly
off the stick of Logan Guter. Not even like goals
created, just goals. Oh, just like, just
they have 41 and he has 10.
So 41 goals,
they played about 18 games, yeah, that's not a really good
total there. Yeah, it's crazy.
But, I don't know, I'm a, I'm a, I
so anti-paying
goaltenders
tons and tons of money
and that's because you wind up
because seriously
like Lungquist
he's still competent
and he's still healthy I guess
but so he's different
he's got all his facilities
he's not shitting his pants and gold
he doesn't wear diapers every game
he's still very alert
and sharp for his age
but he's not wearing diapers
because he's not trying to alert
the snowflakes about their safe spaces
did you hear about that controversy
no there was a thing where
you know, the typical people were wearing diapers at a university to protest.
Oh.
They're being safe spaces.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
I thought you were saying like Lundquist said something about like, no, no, no, no, no, no.
We don't get ourselves a.
I thought we had a, we had a, we had a, we had a, we had a, we had a, we had a, we
was wearing, like, a thong or something.
Let me say something right now about.
I'm not apologizing for being Swedish.
But if you, if you, if you pay your goal eight ten and a half and he gets hurt, your whole entire team,
Listen up, you gar snowflakes.
Yeah, so one other thing I wanted to say about Montreal,
the Jonathan Dr. Ruan watch, 12 points in 18 games.
That's fine.
That puts him right around what Sir Gerechiev has for the lightning on defense.
And the big question, of course, that we all had coming into the season,
it's another exciting edition of can Jonathan Dran play center?
Can John and Drew, Jonathan Juan?
Jonathan Juan.
33.3% on faceoffs having taken the third most for the team.
Yeah, face offs are an overrated stat, but that's pretty bad.
This has been another edition of,
Can't Jonathan do it?
No.
By the way, Canadians for all their bullshit going on 18 points on the season 2 out of the wild card as we do the show today.
Yeah, that whole division.
The bottom half of that conference is messed.
Oh, by the way, as I mentioned earlier today on Twitter,
I cannot wait.
And listen, I don't want this to happen because I've really,
enjoyed the ride, especially that Blackhawks game.
Already this tells me you want it to happen.
But I can't wait for the Devils to regress
exactly at the moment
that Travis Zajak gets healthy.
Oh, so we can blame Travis Zajad.
Yeah, so it's like, we are freewheeling, scoring goals
after right leading the division.
Zajax back in the lineup.
Devils go 06 and 1.
The devil's up seven goals in our last five games,
two of which were empty netters in one game.
You overpaid, brother!
Yeah, and you know what's going to happen.
By the way, like,
the Blackhawks at this point? What are they, 8,8 and 2? When you're 8, 8 and 2 and your goal is
at 939, that's a bad sign. Yeah, he's a really bad sign. He is, he has hung in there as long as he can
to try to keep them relevant. Yeah. I can't, it's, you know, you talk about, I love it.
You want to talk about flashes in the fan, man? Brandon Sade went from being a guy who scored like,
what, like seven goals in his first week back in Chicago to a guy that you've not heard of.
Well, he only had half of them against Antony Emmy. Yeah. And that, when that, like,
he was still a penguin at that point.
Yeah,
that was the funny thing
about that trade last night, too,
that the Camilleri,
uh,
UC Yoken intrigued,
because like all the Willers fans were like,
look at that goal,
Camillaris's game's got like seven points.
And you look at the numbers,
you're like,
they came basically in two games.
Yeah.
The rest of the time,
he's just been a non-factor.
Like you should, like if someone,
like, if I was,
um, if I was Pete Chiorelli and I got that offer,
I would be like,
like, it was like a fantasy league.
I'd be like,
what,
what don't I know?
What are you trying to do?
But honestly, like,
if you're Pete Shearrelli, how did you possibly not pull off that trade during the King's game to repeat history?
Because he was the GM of the Bruins the night that the Habs traded Camelary during the Bruins game.
40 minutes into that game between the Habs and the Bruins in 2012.
How do you not do that again just to fuck with the guy?
Yeah.
Just get off on a good friend.
Camelary walks into the GM's office after like a long flight to Edmonton and cheerily's like, ah?
I gotcha. Right? Happen again.
I'm sorry, but I'm just so excited by the possibility of when the Winter Classic happens.
and the Blackhawks are in it next year.
They're like 7, 22, and 6 at the time.
I'm really, really excited for that.
I wanted to talk to you about...
Oh, you did.
The Sports Illustrated subscription service.
Have you heard about this today?
Oh, it's like five bucks a month for something, rather.
$4.99 a month for SITV.
Are we doing an ad?
No.
Oh.
I was going to say, because if we are, I love it.
130 hours comprising licensed movies
documentary films
including the first five Rocky picks
so you get Rocky
five. Wait, what?
Bad news bears from
75 and 79's North Dallas 40
along with a few original
documentaries and talk shows
they're going to do a lot of like documentary
stuff fake 30 for 30 stuff
and
they can't do 30 for 30 it's ESPN's gig
oh I think they were doing like a comedy
parody thing. This is one of those deals that like
but it's all video
is what you get to five bucks a month?
But it's like five bucks a month for
SI and I was trying to think of myself like
Listen, I came from Yahoo
so I know from brands that had
a certain level of relevance.
They may not necessarily have a certain level of relevance now.
Like is SI?
When SI was being
shown on television incessantly
during the World Series for that predictive cover
might have been the first time anyone's mentioned
to SI in the last five years.
And I say that with due respect to
our friend there, Sarah and Pruitt and all those guys.
but like
Johnick Harry does stuff
there doesn't it
five buck a month
for SI TV
like what do you
what are they possibly
giving you that
they don't have any games
but you're getting
you see you're getting
sports movies
and like
SI
like documentary
yeah
and it sounds like
you're paying five bucks
a month for ESPN
classic
without the games
it does sound like that
doesn't it
yeah
so like
so like SI
right so like
SI won't show
like a 1984
game
between like
Georgia and South Carolina
right
no they're just
going to show you
the movie
that they have on
instead of that
game
on like a Thursday
night
Okay, why would I pay five bucks for that?
Like, let's say, oh, I guess...
Oh, there is going to be also a swimsuit issue content.
There we go.
Oh, you buried the league, Gregory.
Oh, did I know.
Because the thing I hate about Netflix is there's no, not no, but like the movies.
There's no swimsuit edition stuff.
No, no, I'm sure.
I mean, actually, I don't know.
Are there naked ladies on Netflix?
Of course they're naked ladies on Netflix.
I had it for a month.
That's where I saw Blue is the Warmest Color.
What is that?
That's the lesbian movie from, uh, we'll talk after the show.
Because the movie choices are just so bad.
Because I went there for the movies.
I don't want to watch Stranger Things.
Of course you do.
I don't want to binge watch stuff.
I hate binge watching.
Vice Principles is the way to watch TV.
I just had that debate the other night with somebody about binge watching.
I love it.
Like the first...
I think it's bad.
The first binge I ever did was the first season of Mad Men in one weekend, you know, just using on demand.
This is before like Netflix and shit.
That's how I got into it.
Binging is great for shows with atmosphere.
Mad Men, Stranger Things.
What does that mean?
Atmosphere.
Like, if you immerse yourself in that world, then you come away appreciating the work more.
So, like, if you're binging parks and wreck, like, it's funny, but I wouldn't necessarily binge it.
But if you're binging something that's a bit more atmospheric, that's a bit more of a vibe than it is necessarily, like, chunks of a show you watch, an ongoing story, let's say, like those Marvel shows are, it's perfect for that.
You want to, you want to, like, when I watch Stranger Things, I immediately want to watch.
What?
binges everything, though. There's no real, like, you know, different tastes. Like, oh, I'm not going to
binge this. Like, people binge Kimmy Schmidt, Stranger Things. Yeah, I wouldn't want to do that.
Like, to me, Kimmy Schmidt, give me an hour, Kimmy Schmidt a day, and then, and then I could do it. I
want to watch all the episodes. It's like the difference between... I like the difference between,
Binging, like, Westworld. Would you binge Curb? Would you binge Curb? And bing like...
You could? No. Yeah, I mean, either. I don't want to binge Curb. I don't want to binge
Curb. I don't want to binge Vice Principles. I don't want to binge Game of Thrones. Like, I love
watching the show. Vice Principals, by the way,
is that show that, you know, and I know you love that show,
but, like, that's the one I couldn't get into. I tried.
So good. I tried. But, like, I, I like
watching the show. I like thinking about it for a couple
days, and then, like, I like the anticipation. On, like,
Thursday, being like, oh, I can't wait for Sunday night,
you know, gonna watch Vice Principles, gonna watch Game of Thrones.
Like, I don't, the only thing I've ever been... Game of Thrones is
bingeable. That's a, that's other vibe show. That's too...
The only thing I've ever bingeed was the first season of True Detective,
like, the first seven episodes, because I missed them all.
Like, I remember, like, starting that day, and it was like,
10 a.m. or whatever, 11 a.m.
And I watched all 7. And by like 6 o'clock, I wanted to kill myself.
It was the most fucking miserable experience ever.
You're binging it. You're binging it because you googled around and couldn't figure out which
episode, Alexandria Diderio gets naked in. So you're like, that was like the second one on it.
Yeah, I was pretty good.
Like, but bing is over.
I was like, what? Actually, I do remember binging it in like episode four where she like
tells his wife or whatever and they break up. I was like, oh, man.
I was a little upset at that point that wasn't going to happen again.
But like, everything was just so dark and.
murderous and tortury and I'm like
every scene of Matthew McCona is like the
body the air comes out of your bot and I'm like
oh my god then I get up and go outside and get dinner and I'm like
I don't want to eat I'm gonna die anyway
but like binging comedies
like if you watch three straight episodes
of like friends on a plane I'm like that's enough
I don't need anymore anymore
but all right
but one if the fourth one has a monkey
with that
let's say hi to our friends Amanda Stein
Amanda Stein
Amanda Stein
Stein, Stein, Stein, everywhere, Stein.
And Sarah Baker.
Amanda Stein and Sarah Baker.
Hi, this is Sarah Baker.
And I'm Amanda.
You know what, Amanda?
What?
You're really nice.
You know what, Sarah?
What?
You're really nice.
Oh, man.
You know what else was nice?
Tell me what else was nice.
When you and I were guests on back-to-back weeks on the Puck Suit podcast with Dave Lozo and
Greg Wischinsky.
That was a really nice time.
I actually owe them some thanks because they were so nice to have me on, even after I quit my job as a Philly
sports pundit.
I got my verification back on Twitter, which was super nice and never would have happened without them.
Do you know what was nice about my opportunity with them?
Is that they actually reorganized their day so that they could fit me into their schedule.
And I thought, that's pretty nice of them.
Those guys are so nice.
So look, we just wanted to take this opportunity to wish you guys a happy 69th episode of Puck Soup.
69.
Nice.
Thanks a bunch to Amanda Stein and Sarah Baker of the New Jersey Devils.
I guess we have to say now
they both are there
Twitter.com slash
NJ Devils
Is that their thing?
That's right
It certainly is
It might not be
That might not be the official handle
Yeah
Why is it a wonder somewhere like
And like
St. Louis Blue
Like St. Louis Blues is fine
But then like
Other words like
NHL Preds or whatever
I think it's just because people
sat on them
I also hate too
Like when when a Twitter
team name
becomes like the hashtag
Like Go Kings Go
You can figure out what that is
But sometimes it's like
We are all stars
And it's like
Oh the Dallas
Starps, that's who this is. Okay, great. Here we go blues. All in blues or whatever the hell it is. Yeah. Stupid shit. You wanted to talk about Twitter, actually, the 280 characters on Twitter. Now that we've worked past the jockey phase of people doing their little Twitter jokes. People just do it now. Now it's a real thing and people are using functionally. You and I both have a couple of pet peeves about it and you wanted to get something off your chest. Like any 280 character tweet is bad. They're all bad. You can, whatever you're saying. And I don't mean anything between one.
141 and 280.
You can figure out a way to get it down to 1.4.
If you are doing a 50 tweet thread and now it's only 25, that's a good use of it.
No, it's not.
It's still, like, the worst, the worst thing, like, people who replied you and used all too much, apparently somebody was bothering Lambert, because, like, Lambert did his mailbag.
And then somebody replied to him using the 280 and answered every mailbag question he got using the full 280 and he was, like, block.
Like, that's what I mean.
Like, people who give you, like, super long replies.
He was getting questions on Twitter for his mailbag and then people were respond.
There's one guy answering all the questions.
No, no, no.
He did the mailbag.
It was on Yahoo when he posted it.
And then if he posted it, somebody replied to him like four or five times or whatever.
His own answers to Ryan's mailbag questions.
Like that's long replies are bad.
The worst part of the 280 is people that quote tweet, a 280 quote tweet with 280 more characters above the quote tweet.
Like you can't even see two tweets on your phone when people are doing that.
Live game tweets, you never need.
You need to use all 280.
That's one of mine.
I'll let me say that now.
It is...
Oh, it's so much.
There are certain beat writers.
I don't want to throw anybody
under the bus because everybody's a really hard worker
and they're always on the road than Mr. Kids.
But when there's a goal scored in a game
and now we're getting...
We're getting like entire paragraphs from the game story.
Oh, I know.
In the tweet.
Just write the game story.
About like, you know,
Connor McDavid hits Leon Dry-Suddle
with a pass in the right corner for a one-timer
or blah, blah, blah, blah the first period.
The Evanton Oilers got on the...
power play because of a penalty given to Nicoletti
of the New York Island. Like, we're getting
that shit during games and it's dropped me
fucking bonkers. And meanwhile, like
Eric, uh, what's his name? From
Tampa, Erlinson? Erlinson.
Yeah. Kuturoff won nothing.
Boom, he's out. He's the best. He's done.
That's it. Kucheroff scored. I know
the score of the game. I'm done.
He's not sitting there like Kuchar carried the fuck up the left side
and I was a dished across to the middle and like,
if I was a beat writer and I was going to
do that shit, I would do it like I was like
five years old and be like,
Connor Mcdaily chat the puck
And then
You can't dry side'll go out the rebound
And then
A girl stop a lack made a safe
And then
Another bad genre is people that just take quotes
From like a coach or a player
And tweet the entire quote
And the quote's never good
You don't need you
You can just put that in your notebook
Yeah
Stash that one away
It makes me very happy
For sites that do
You know
Use
Cocaine
No I was gonna say
Sites that do use
the quotes for like to build stories around
like the score and like like when they
embed the tweets yeah that way you get the whole thing instead of getting
one chunk you get a little more context yeah my
big uh my other big pet peeve and I'm gonna
I will throw in gold magazine under the buffs
great great publication but
shitty tweet this is what they tweeted
the other day goaltending is a series
of constant tradeoffs this
three frame breakdown examines
nilsson's stick position on a pass from
behind the net that's long as it is
and then they give you the the URL but here's my
pet peeve should you have done
differently question? What do you think? Now, here's the thing. By asking me a question,
you're asking me what I think. Yes. You don't have to then follow it with, what do you think? What do you
think is implied in should he have blah blah blah blah blah? Yes. So that is the sort of extra character
extra character abuse that is happening rampantly on Twitter now because of 280. That's why like the
165 tweet is worse than the 278 tweet most times because I can mentally break
down that 155 tweet to save you the 16 characters you need to get back under 140.
I'm just surprised by so many people who I thought wouldn't want to use it.
But it's my,
it's just,
God,
it's abuse.
Brevity.
Brevity is the soul of tweets.
Brevity is the soul of wit,
or perhaps, as they say,
as the cookie crumbles,
or as they say also,
two in the hand is worth three in the bush.
Perhaps,
yes,
perhaps no,
but that definitely is the soul of wit.
I'm Greg Wyshinski
ESPN
Today's question of the day was
What is the last NHL team
You would ever want to be a fan of
And why
Oh, we got some good ones
And we got some real good ones today
I'm going to start off with
VA from RI saying
I can't reach my phone
From the positions we're in
But
Oh, all right, let me
I'm going to put my arm here
Okay
I'm going to reach around here
Just here
Hold your breath for a second
Okay, here it is
Oh
Oh yeah, that's nice, thanks
A. VA from R.I. writes in the Habs. I don't have a definite reason why, except that even before I started watching hockey, I knew I had to hate them. I think it's the water in New England. By the way, 280 also good for the mailbag. Let's just be honest. Better answers now for the mailbag.
In some cases. In some cases, I would say that's true. Overall better, for sure.
Yeah, for sure.
Rogue Run
Wren
Writes in
New York, Brooklyn, Quebec Islanders
Boring uniforms and logo
not on national TV
bad management
You never know where they will play
Year to year
Well at this point you could say that
But I mean I still think that
The Islanders to me again
As I've said for years
Give me a run to the conference final
And then you'll see the bandwagon explode
of people that still have a very
wonderful nostalgic appreciation
of that franchise and it's
it's dynasty. So that's it
just to run to the conference final. That's all to take.
It's all it takes. Just being one of the final four teams at the end of the year.
Hey, it's harder than you think, said the Capitals.
By the way, this is my favorite one. I won't let you read it
because it's a Devils thing. This guy
says, is there a single team in sports? Oh,
Devils in the Details, at
Devils Details 1.
Anything else?
I just noticed he CCed the Rangers
but with an underscore, so it's like some random
Rangers account? That's not the Rangers.
Is there a single team in sports that makes it seem
like they have a great history that truly doesn't exist?
Original 16 that never had a dynasty, and honestly, how many of their players
were great originating from their team?
Here's part two of the tweet.
Honestly, how many of these players played more than two seasons with the
Rangers that had most of their success while there?
Mark Bessier had three 30 goals seasons
in New York. He scored more than 30 goals
in all three seasons in Edmonton. Hashtag,
no history. Devil's fans do hate the fact that the Rangers
how are propped up.
I wouldn't want to be a
Ranger fan
I mean because of how
it was raised
but also because
like you know
living here in New York
for as long as I have
and living in the area
for as long as I have
like there's no
the only communal vibe
I ever got from Rangers fans
is how fucking miserable they are
like there's nothing to me
that ever says
it is inspiring to be a Ranger fan
like we are all Rangers
like Rangers town like it's all horseshit
like I don't feel like there's any
level of community
with that fan
base like there is. And part of it's probably because the arena is in the middle of the city.
So it's not like you can tailgate or anything like that. You know, I just feel like there's a,
it's not the same vibe that you get when you're an Islander fan or a double fan. Tell me if I'm
right or wrong. I think you're wrong. Okay. I don't think there's a, I mean, a communal family type
thing with the Devils and Islanders, I don't know. I guess you can sit in a parking lot at some point
during your fandom and drink beer with a bunch of people. But like, I just feel like when it comes
to like Rangers town, like it's not really a thing to the playoffs. Like any of my friends who are
Ranger fans are all Ranger fans for sure, but they don't start talking to me about the Rangers
until April. I guess maybe back in the day with the blue seats, like it was probably a bit more
that's what everybody says. It was nuts in the 90s. Yeah. So I think maybe, maybe they're a victim
of the of the changes. The corporate, the corporate vibe that now permeates through Madison Square
Garden versus anything else. I was just talking about somebody who's from Toronto and they said like going
a game in Toronto. It was just like going to a game in New York. It is like it's cool vibe, but like it's
not, it's very, very corporate and it's not the same as like going to a game in like Montreal.
But even then like I feel like the Leafs haven't like.
legions of fans outside the arena now
watching the game on television during the playoffs.
Like the Rangers had that once in the final.
And those two Caps fans who just go there to be done.
Right.
Like the Rangers had that once at Bryant Park
during the Cup final, I think, against the Kings.
But they don't necessarily have that same thing going on
here. I mean, you know.
Yeah, you're right. It's hard to do it when you're at 33rd
and 6. Like, you can't really go out at Penn Station and put
up a patio chair and start
drinking beer. Shut down that giant
ad that shows what Netflix movies are coming
next and put the Ranger game up there.
Paul Lang says the Leafs. This is a good
segue. Most annoying press and fans, their fans don't understand why other fan bases don't love them.
I've never met a Leafs fan who understood why I hate the Leafs. They just assumed they were my second
favorite team. So it's like, it's like, how could you possibly hit the Leafs? I hate the Leafs. No,
you don't. You just don't like them as much as your first favorite team. Yeah. I'm like hubris.
That is annoying. That would bother me a little bit. What else do we have here?
Oh, I'll do one.
Dave Britain writes in
or sorry Dane Britain sorry Dane
The Canucks
The rest of the fan base doesn't show up
Until they're above 500
And there's absolutely nothing to cheer for
Other than Bo Horvatt
Kind of sad that he's their absolute best player
I mean
It is sad
They let that shit fall apart
I'd feel like Vancouver is the
Ottawa gets a bunch of shit
For like nobody's showing up
And all that sort of stuff
But like Vancouver's attendance is down
They've let the infrastructure kind of crack there
I was at least trying.
But you know, I tend to believe that's like,
I feel like that's why you got to go all in on your rebuild
and not let your team die on the vine.
Yeah, you have to.
Because if you go all in on a rebuild
and you're like, this is it, we're just hitting the reset button.
Fans are going to be like, okay.
But if you're like a team that's like,
stay calm.
Everything's fine.
Henrik and Daniel will play until they're 47.
Yeah.
And everybody's like, all right, let's go.
And then it's like, all right, we fired our coach after one year.
he was kind of crazy
he wanted to fight everybody off the face off
Adam Haynes further
because once you've got your hands
you want to go further
just way do we get our hands further
says Arizona slash Florida
because one you're probably
consistently worried about losing your team
and two you probably get
a lot of people scoffing at you
for liking the team
So he doesn't want that abuse.
It's like I don't feel good as a fan
and that I don't like people making me feel bad as a fan.
There are a lot of people here who are saying the Caps
because of just how like Charlie Brownish it is,
kicking the field goal or every year you're like,
this is the time, they're going to do it.
They're going to split the uprights.
They're going to win the...
Ah, we're not getting out of the second round again, huh?
That's sad. That's Mike Koch says,
there's only one right answer to this.
The Caps, being continually on the cusp of glory,
but never getting there is even worse
than being consistently awful.
Interesting.
So you'd rather be a coyotes fan than a Caps fan in that scenario.
And Sarah Braun says the same thing.
The Caps,
it must be absolute torture to watch your team be so good every year
and then flame out so hard.
Like last year, I felt like was probably the worst year ever
because the entire regular season,
you should have been like, this is awesome.
We're scoring goals.
We're winning games.
And then you just know it's coming.
You can't get out of the way.
And it got to the point we're in the regular season.
Dan Steinberg wrote a column about how, you know,
it's okay to be happy with happiness.
then cast fans are like no that's some stockholm syndrome shit if i ever saw it where it's like
actually it's great that we can't get out of the second round you should appreciate all the
greatness of the first round of regular season yeah and and and i thought what you're going to say
about last season is also the truth which is that like when your GM basically comes out and it's
like you're like hey so what are the prospects for next year Stanley Cup and he's like ah this is
sorry we went all in we made the chat in kirk trade this was the year it was supposed to
happen i don't know i'll tell you yeah you know it's it was the
And yet they didn't tear it down completely and now.
J.W. Johnson Jr.
So what is J.W. Johnson Jr.?
J.W. Johnson Jr. is a hardware store.
J.W. Johnson Jr.
It's either like a craft beer brewery or it's like J.G. Wentworth's biggest rival for buying out settlements.
Yeah.
Called J.W. What's his name?
J.W. Johnson Jr. 877 Johnson.
no um he writes in the preads they were groomed to be fans of the team and not the game
oof that's rough jesus go fuck yourself j w j w johnson they're there for the chanting
they're there for the chanting he says wait where's where is j w johnson from j w johnson which
province in canada is he from tell me ontario he is from carnegie pennsylvania really yeah what kind of
attitude is that jane us one might say based on what i know about carnegie and melons may have some penguins fan
but the penguins are what okay let's answer the question for me what what fan base would you least
want to be a fan of oh arizona for sure i wouldn't want any part of that they don't throw them out
that doesn't count they're so bad we're so bad right now and then overall like yeah you can't
let's let's pick let's pick a fan base that knows where the fuck they're going to be in two years
How about that?
So of all the teams that exist right now,
who would I not want to be a fan of?
It's just so hard to push the coyotes from the front of the brain.
Yeah.
I thought you got your answer.
They're so bad.
Not Winnipeg.
Winnipeg's got a...
No, I would definitely be a Winnipeg fan.
Like, if I lived in Winnipeg and had a healthy salary
and had a very heavy coat...
and they're in my local team.
I would love to be a Winnipeg fan.
Buffalo is my answer.
I think Buffalo is a great answer.
I think Buffalo is just,
they're like the caps only like,
instead of the caps ever failing,
always failing to get out of this first round
or the second round.
Excuse me, there's a little gassy there.
There it is.
Oh, nice.
Buffalo's thing is just getting good.
Like every year it's like,
this is the year we're going to be good.
We're on the cuss.
We got Ico.
We made some trades.
As of right now.
We only have 55 points.
as of as of this week in november 2017
my answer would be the anaheim ducks
let's let me count the ways
you're not the kings
as a devil's fan i've already had to experience this throughout my entire life
being the second class citizen in a town
in a town that barely cares about hockey so now you're talking about being
way down the pecking order in the grand scheme of hockey things
they are devils west aren't they
i would have to wear that dumbass jersey
with the fucking web d on
it instead of wearing a cool ass
Mighty Ducks thing. And then
also I'd have to cheer for Corey Perry
and Ryan Gessler. Like there's
a lot of... Yeah. I mean,
I don't want to say that I won
this exercise
including all the reader responses.
But I did.
But... BXA is great. BXA gets
a pass for that video he made where he was the security
guard. Yeah, that was pretty funny. That was really funny.
He's on his back, like he's changing the oil
in a car and wandering Ryan
Getslov's penis. Yes, that was pretty good. It was great.
And it's amazing how like the players were so like just willing to pretty much let the guy do whatever.
Yeah.
Okay, it's fine.
But like in my scenario, I was imagining living in Buffalo.
Like I'd rather live in Anaheim than Buffalo.
Oh, so Winnipeg is part of the deal like you wouldn't want to live there.
Yeah, like I was imagining like if I had to be a fan of the team.
It would be because I lived there.
What if you're like a Winnipeg expat living in like Charleston, South Carolina?
Yes, that common thing.
We all know.
What if you were Chris Jericho and you were touring the world with your band Foszie, but also occasionally wrestling?
Who's Chris Jericho?
Thank you.
All right.
Lots of a show for this week.
That's it.
A nice edition of the show, as ever there was.
That was a pretty nice time.
Thank you to all the nice people that said nice things in their little audio clips.
That was very nice of you to do that.
Nice of you to do that.
Thank you to everyone who nicely contributed to the show over Twitter.
Thank you to our nice guest.
Nice tweets.
And thank you to all of you for being nice enough to subscribe to the Patreon.
This week, not only will it be a fresh, nice mailbag segment for you,
But since you nice people voted in our nice poll and told us to create an episode involving us drinking nice alcohol, there will also be that as well.
Having a 0.69 blood alcohol at 1.4.30.
You're blowing a 0.69.
Yeah, you blow a 0.69.
You're doing something right.
You're doing something really right.
So there you go.
Thanks, everybody.
We'll be back next week.
We are going to have a Thanksgiving edition of the podcast next week with a very special guest.
that I think you'll dig.
Maybe those of you who are like, Lozo and don't know who Chris Jericho is, probably won't
dig it, but the rest of you probably will.
A boxer.
He's a boxer.
Is he a buying star?
The show Jericho on CBS with Skeet Ulrich was actually about Chris Jericho.
Is he on Netflix?
Yes, he's on that.
He's nude on Netflix, which apparently you didn't realize was a thing.
Now I'm back.
Chris Jericho, I'm sure he's, well, he's a boxer.
You're like, you're like flip, I can just, you're flipping through Netflix and it's like,
Let's see.
Documentaries, indie films.
There's no nudity category.
So there must not be in nudity.
Just typing in like Friends episode nude.
There is one too, by the way, where you can see Courtney Cox's thing, which is weird.
What does that mean her thing?
Her vagina.
Really?
Yeah.
Which episode?
The one with the vagina.
It's the one with the unintentional vagina shot.
Yeah, it's true.
Like they, it's the episode where Rachel turns 30, so they have all the flashbacks to when they turn 30.
and Courtney Cox is drunk
and they're throwing a formal thing for her
and she's wearing like a short black skirt
and for some reason
yeah you have to...
Weird, I thought it would be the one with the meat trifle.
Anyway, thank you for joining us this week,
ladies and gentlemen.
And it was a nice time and talk to you soon.
And we have one more guest to talk to you
about how nice the episode is.
Yeah, we come to think of it,
we haven't thanked our guests for this for coming out.
I said, I said, I did.
Yeah, I just did.
All right, nice everybody.
Thanks, thanks for being nice.
Hi, everyone.
This is Ilya Bridgegallov,
NHL former goalie.
Want to tell you all on the Puck Soup
that you are very nice,
very good people,
very nice people.
It was nice being on the podcast.
And praising President Putin as I did.
I am Putin team.
Get inside Putin team.
I say he is a nice man with nice policies.
Ukraine finds him very nice.
Crimea, very nice man indeed.
as I mentioned on your nice podcast.
I also want to tell you that on the nice list,
nice things are tigers and China.
Very nice. Do not hunt the universe.
Very, very nice to be in the universe with so many stars,
in comets, in black holes, super novice,
and many other nice celestial things.
Not nice.
Vinipag.
No parks.
Not very nice to be there.
And the most not nicest thing in the whole of society would be,
drum roll, please, bears.
Not very nice to have bears around.
Take all the bears and shoot them into the sun,
or perhaps a supernova.
Nice. Good show. Bye.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you'll commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows.
tunes it's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense
Bork too
