Puck Soup - Once Again, Right In Our Predictions
Episode Date: May 25, 2018Greg and Dave look back at their predictions for the Vegas Golden Knights, and how they all came true. Plus a look back at Game 7 in the East, a full preview of the Stanley Cup Final, doxxing on the I...nternet, Lou Lamoriello, Evander Kane, "Dunkirk," Mia Khalifa, Miro Satan, Greg's late cat, the JFK hotel, David Quinn, Paul Fenton and your Stanley Cup picks. Sponsored by Seat Geek.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Hotels.com.
With the Hotels.com Memorial Day Sale, you can save up to 40% on hotels, or cabins, or lakehouses, or bed and breakfasts, or beach resorts, or ranch getaways.
Or, well, you get the picture.
Plus, you can get an additional 10% off with the coupon code, America, when you book by May 25th and travel by July 31st.
So that's 10% off Hotels.com.
with the coupon code, Dave Lozo?
America.
Well, thanks for checking in, everybody.
When you book by May 25th and travel by July 31st.
Hotels.com, you do you, and you get rewarded.
Enjoy the show.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and now.
It's
Oh,
Oh,
Oh, too.
Hey, everybody.
It's your old pal, Dave.
That's it.
That's what I'm doing today.
And I'm Greg Wysinski of ESPN,
and you're in Puck Soup,
and I'm in New York for a scant 48 hours
after returning from the city of rain, Tampa,
where it rained way too much.
Oh, it sucks.
It sucks.
It's always like that.
It rains for an hour a day every day in the summer down there.
I went there in January and it was beautiful and there were pirates.
I went there now and it was rainy and U.S. Special Forces had taken over the city and there were no hotel rooms.
Pirates, humidity, rain, flooding.
January? June.
Conference finals.
Next.
There's a giant crowd of people that were blocking my way to get to my favorite restaurant by the waterfront, which is a restaurant that serves sushi that has mayonnaise all over it.
And the crowd of people are there to look at the river because on the river, this is a river.
There was like a super wombo attack boat that was going to fire a thing at a thing.
It's a wombo.
I don't know.
It's a word that I used to accentuate how large something is.
But it was a U.S.
Special Forces conference that was being held in Tampa.
And they took up all the hotel rooms.
And then, you know, there was a bunch of people that looked like guys the A team would sneak around.
And then like, like, like, Frangor.
Like, when, like, commando when Arnold Schwarzenegger is, like, sneaking around and, like, snap the necks in the jungle.
Like, those are the guys he would, like, like,
Freedom Fighters.
You know, Commando was part of the original Schwarzenegger action trilogy of Commando,
Red Dawn, and I'm probably missing one.
It's like kind of the pre-Preditor Schwartz.
Post-Terminator pre-Preditor Schwarzenegger films.
He wasn't in Red Dawn.
Oh, wait, Red Dawn.
Oh, wait, not Red Dawn.
Red Heat?
Red something.
He was the Russian partner.
Oh, of Jim Belushi.
Of Jim Belushi.
Not Red Dawn, obviously.
What was it?
Red, what?
Is it red heat?
It's red something because he's Russian, so it's like red.
Get it?
Patrick Swaycey and Charlie.
Yeah, I'm sitting there.
I'm going through that movie.
I'm like, meet wayward Russian soldier, Arnold Schwarzenegger in the mountains.
Who is your comrade and what does he do?
We're Wolverines, man.
That is a wolverine.
Wolverines.
Where is your vodka in this town?
I am Russian.
Get it?
He's staring over at Jennifer Gray.
The Viemann.
How much water we?
women.
I'll be
Bach.
I mean block.
I mean communist block.
Red Heat.
Was the one I was thinking of.
He was Jim Belushi's
Russian partner.
Let me guess
it takes place in Chicago
so we can explain
Jim Balushi's accent,
right?
Like every Jim Malucci movie?
Jim Belushi is a Chicago cop.
Yeah,
I like how this is slowly
morphing into the
Orange Schwarzenegger IMDB podcast
because we went through
the other trilogy left.
All right.
So Terminator,
Red Sonia and Conan
movies was one. And then
he did, oh, you know what I was thinking of?
Raw deal.
I don't even know. Raw. Raw deal,
Commando, and, and Red...
Actually, Red Heat was after the Running Man and Predator.
See, he did sci-fi shit. Then he went
back to Red Heat, which was a bit
of a comedic turn, and then he went full
comedy with twins. It's like
looking into a mirror. What's raw
deal? Is that the story of the Qaeda Kutja House contract?
Oh, what does that even
mean? Because he got screwed, because
he was an RFA, and they didn't pay him what he was worth.
He's like the second best player.
Let's talk about the lightning.
Stephen Samcoast is the new Alex Ovechkin, go.
I hate this fucking sport.
I hate everybody who writes for it.
I hate everybody who fucking covers everything.
Even the good people,
I hate you all,
because you're only a minute away from writing
about how Stephen Stamcoast is the reason why the...
He's not the reason why...
Not the coach that was playing fucking Ryan Callahan,
Cedrice Pockeet, and Chris Coutis 12 and 13 minutes a game.
He was a bit of...
Cooper, who I love, was a bit inside of his own head in the series.
It's kind of a weird...
Listen, everything about the final between the capitals and Golden Knights is weird.
The whole season's fucking weird.
Weird still is the fact that Barry Trots is out-coached with Mike Sullivan and John Cooper in consecutive rounds.
Like, I can't even imagine the massive erection that Barry Trots must have gotten when he saw John Cooper take the Braden Point line off of the Kovachan line in game two.
He probably was just like, oh, my God.
How does Cooper not reunite the triplets, by the way, in that series?
Like, just for a few shifts to see he got something there.
put move point up with Stamcos and Coulorne
and Poccherroff back with the trip
He did try stuff at least
Like he moved Coulorne
He moved Miller, he moved Palloyne
The moves he made in game three were great
They worked
Yeah there was a good correction
But then there wasn't any other course corrections after that
The worst thing that happened
I said this before
The worst thing that happened was in game five
Was when Callahan and Pockette scored
Like that put into his head
Like great those guys
That was the first time those guys scored
In the fucking playoffs
Callahan had an empty netter
But the first real goals against goalies
And that was the worst thing that could have happened
Because he was like, I can keep playing these guys a lot
No
He's staring before two roads
One road leads down
The Stamcoast Kuthoroff will win with skill
The other road is
Jam Grit Avenue
I know
And like it's not totally his fault
Because he's not the one that signed Ryan Callahan
For 100 years at 6 million a year
Whatever the fuck it was
But like man
You don't have to play those guys
All those minutes against Ovechkin's line
It's insane
Here's the thing though
I love the lightning
I was rooting for the lightning, mainly because I wanted to get that full weekend in Vegas
instead of starting there on Memorial Day.
Oh, when are you going?
Are you not going until you're not going for Media Day?
I'm going from Media Day. I'm leaving Saturday night.
Oh, I figured you leave like Saturday morning.
The way it was going to stack up was like we went to, we would go to Vegas on like a Thursday
and then we're like there for the entire weekend unbroken time, you know, like.
It's got to be really fucking sweet.
Like Company Dime, by the way, we're all staying at the Blasio.
I'll narc.
We're all staying at the Belagio.
That's the NHL Hotel is of Blasio.
You know, on a regular season night, the Belagio has about $7 million in its faults.
Playoff game, 90 million.
Stanley Cup final game, $120 million.
It kind of reminds me of how Bumdae was when the draft was in, like, Jersey.
Because, like, I'm literally, like, I mostly stay at the Bellagio when I'm there,
and, like, I'm going there in August with Ruby.
And so, like, when the NHL's, like, I'm like, oh, where are we going to stay?
I hope it's not the win.
and they're like, we're staying at the Vlaggio.
I'm like, oh, that's great, except I always go there.
Well, what's wrong with that?
It's good then.
You get more...
More points.
Right.
Or whatever.
Yeah, there's Blasio points.
But I like, I wish they were paying my way to stay at like the fucking MGM Grand or the
Cosmo or something, a place I don't normally say.
Well, I mean, or when we went to the, what was it, the Camelot?
What was it called?
The Excalibur.
The Excalibur.
The Camelot.
The John F. Kennedy Hotel or he's...
Era.
Well, all I say.
America is a Camelot where we will talk like this and GMs.
Oh yeah, we got to talk about Lou Lamarillo.
Hey, I'm staying.
I'm staying in the Cape Cod room.
Where are you staying?
Oh, the Dallas Library Room.
Oh, Jesus.
Jeez.
Sorry about that, man.
Yeah, his last one available.
You know, you know, there's only room for one person in there.
It's really far from the casino floor.
I don't think you can actually see the casino floor.
I don't know.
I believe there was, it's room for more than one person in the Dallas Library.
No, no, no, no.
That's it.
Just the one.
one guy. That's the only one you get fit in there. It's a single room with a single bed.
There's not even a table there where you can do work.
Hello?
Yeah, room service. Is this Jack Ruby?
No, it's room service. Why would it be Jack Ruby?
What's your name then, sir?
Jack Ruby. John Diamond.
Sounds a lot like Jack Ruby to me. I mean, Jimmy Jules.
Well, it's good to see this podcast hasn't gone to completely dark places all of a sudden.
I mean, to be fair, it's been a while since you've done your Jackie Kennedy,
Natalie Portman impression, so we might as well just segue into that and then move on to the hockey.
Go ahead, do it.
Welcome to the Camelot.
I would like to welcome you.
Oh, are all the people who work here, Jackie Kennedy cosplayers?
Do you want to stay in the Cape Canary?
Or do you want to stay in the Dennis Library?
That's what Jack would not want to be.
Jack would not want to stay there.
Thank you.
There it is.
Stephen Stamco's has played in six game sevens, and he has no points.
So I know that you and everybody want to Galaxy Brain, Dave Feshuk, mainly because he is not a very good columnist to chase Phil Kessel out of town.
Oh, he's one of the Phil Kessel guys.
Oh, he was like the band leader of the Phil Kessel movement.
Yeah, sure.
That makes sense.
But like, but honestly, come on.
If the premise is Stephen Samko's got to step up, then I disagree with it.
if the premise is the Russian guy
was fucked in the head
by the entirety of the media
because he didn't perform in the playoffs
when the stat showed he did
and Stephen Stamcoast,
good Ontario boy, never gets it
because he's a good Ontario boy
then I'm with, I'm down with that.
Like where is the fucking criticism of Stamcoast
not getting a point in six game sevens?
Well, I mean,
that's like such a tricky stat because...
How? Yeah, it's easy. It's a big goose egg
in six games for a guy
who should be, and is demonstrably one of the best scores in the league.
Yeah, but, like, you can just go through and pick a game from, like, every year and just be
like, he has no points in these six games.
You know, like, you look at his overall numbers.
They're very good.
Alex Ovechkin scored a goal a minute two in a game seven.
Yeah, a fucking 60-foot blast that Vasselowski should have stopped.
Like, so because Ovechkin got a shitty goal, that makes him a better player than Stanclos.
He scored. Wait.
What?
What?
That was a good goal?
My circuit's overload.
He scored a goal a minute two into the game, and you're like, yeah, but it's a shitty goal.
Stamcoast doesn't have a point in six games, and you're like, well, you got to really take the context into the considerate.
What the fuck?
The one guy does the thing.
The other guy doesn't do the thing, and you're like, well, you know, you've got to look into the details.
No, yeah, because you're saying, because Stamcoast hasn't scored a goal from 70 feet out, that a goal he should have stopped, he's bad in game seven.
But, but Ovechkin has put up numbers in game sevens.
Okay.
I agree. Listen, I don't want to, we're not going to litigate Oveschkin because we're both on the same side here.
But the idea that there should be no criticism of Stamco's in a game seven when he's not gotten a point in six of them.
What about other guys on his teams in game sevens?
Yeah, they probably don't have any points either because he doesn't create any goals for them because he doesn't any points in game seven.
So you should create the goals for all the other, all the other eight players.
Nobody had a point in this game of seven because Raydon Holtie decided he's just going to not allow a goal for the rest of the playoffs.
But I think if it's a if it's a if it's a pure sort of like Stancoast is the reason why they're not winning cups like fucking that fuck fuck head in Pittsburgh who's like Kessel's the reason the penguins didn't win a cup this year.
Who's Sean Gentilly?
No.
He said that?
Maybe Ron Cook who wrote that this week.
Ron Cook.
Yeah, Ron Cook.
Sounds like he's a, he should be like the Pittsburgh basketball coach.
Ron Cook.
Yeah, he's cooking up some hot takes is what he's cooking.
Hey, I'm in the kitchen right now.
Yeah, it's big.
Again, Phil Kessel, he's the problem.
Stephen in Stamcoe, he's the problem.
kitchen wrist twisting.
It's not the three and fourth line guys playing one fifth of the minutes.
But if the conversation is more along the lines of like where is the mountains of criticism for
Stephen Stamco's for actually not having any palpable success in game sevens versus...
He's three in game sevens.
But he doesn't do anything on him.
Ah.
So it's him when they lose, but it's a team game to get the three wins.
Is that what you're saying?
How many games...
Give me the Dave Lozo sample size before some criticism could befall Stephen Stamco's.
Like 20 game sevens if you didn't have a point?
But it's one game.
Like, I, like, zero points in game sevens.
How many, how many points does he have at all of his playoff games?
Probably a lot.
Yes.
But not in the most critical point of the series.
How many, how many points the regular season is Rick Nash have?
Probably a lot.
What does he have in the playoffs?
Oh, now he's Rick Nash.
Oh.
Oh, my God.
That's all right.
Yep.
How many points are you having six and seven in the series?
It's not, it's not, it's not, Dan Girardi dropped in the puck and at the feet of
Audrey Burakowski.
It's not Bradenholpey getting into his own.
for six and seven. It's Stephen Stamos. But you
do agree that he's protected.
Like, I'm sure
there's more people bitching about Kucheroff than there
are Stamco. Yeah, because Stephen Stamco's been to the
third round three of the past four years. Ovechka
never got to the third round. That's where that shit always
stemmed from. It's not the Canadian Russian
thing. No, I think
it's because now they, I think now that
Canadian columnists don't have Phil Kessel, Toronto's
good, and Ovechkin's in the Stanley Cup
final. Now it's time. Hey, we've got to
find somebody else. Stephen Stamcoe. The guy who, the guy who
rebuked,
Toronto and said, I want to stay in Tampa.
Oh, yeah, well, type, type, type.
Yeah, that was the idiocy in that column was the notion that the Maple Leafs dodged a bullet by not
having Steven Samcoast on their roster.
That's what I'm talking about.
Like, he's fucking, like, I'm not saying you can't write a thing that's like, hey,
what's going on with Stephen Stamcoast in Game Sevens?
But it's like, oh, why isn't Tampa winning a cup?
And it's always, it's the same thing every fucking time.
It's always, oh, why are the others good this year?
It's Connor McDavid.
Really, the guy with 57 points in like 25 games?
That's the reason why it's not it's not Dan Girardi fucking playing 24 minutes and
Mikkel Sergichov playing 16 it's not the fourth line playing 13 minutes this one guy in one
game of the series it should have gone seven yeah should have been over in five fucking
John Cooper's throwing uh what why would you want Stephen Stanclose on a power play with
Mitch Mariner and Allison Matthews you wouldn't want that who needs that also it's kind of hard
to get points in the power play when you never get power plays when you can throw nine guys
on the ice once a game and not get called for it yeah I hate to
league so much. I fucking hate it. What do you think
happen in the lightning? I mean, besides the Cooper
misplay of
grind line players. Oh, well, they got
Holby won two games by himself,
and I think it was all that. I think it was just
how Jog Cooper was distributing minutes, man.
Like, he was playing, like, Stamcoast and Kutrov, like 17, maybe 18
minutes at most per game in the playoffs. Like, those
should be your 20 minute-night guys.
Like, no-brainers. Don't even think about it.
Just put those guys out there every third shift,
and then worry about your fourth line after that.
I also think that, like, I said this in the other podcast, too.
Like, it really disturbs me that, like, Ryan Callahan comes out and says, well, we played like we knew we had a game seven in our pocket to go back to.
Like, their game six performance was basically predicated on, we know we have another shot at this.
And I can't get that out of my head.
I can't get out of my head that a team, one team has been playing for this moment their entire careers.
The other team has been here a few times.
one team doesn't even know what the fuck's going to happen to them next season.
Even their coach doesn't even have a contract next season.
The other team kind of knows that everybody's back next year.
They can read Cat Friendly and see Ryan McDonough's there for another year.
Like they kind of, I feel like if you want to break it down to, and Callahan did,
the hunger of one franchise versus the relative comfortability of the other franchise.
I think that there's something we said for that.
Ryan Callahan could identify the hunger.
That's what it is.
Dude, he literally said we played like we know we had a game seven.
And they did.
Well, you know what?
No one should talk to Ryan Callahan after games because he has one fucking goal.
He has three goals and seven the games this year.
Maybe you don't talk to Ryan Callahan.
So he doesn't deserve to have a voice?
No, he doesn't.
Because he doesn't score goals.
Because he doesn't do anything because he sucks because he's a shitty fucking.
It's like talking to Ryan Reeves after games.
Like, great.
Like you scored a goal in game fucking five and everything.
But like you don't go to Ryan Reeves after every fucking game to talk to him and get his feeling about the pulse of the team.
He's not good.
Like Ryan Callahan should not be the fucking voice.
Another problem?
And maybe this is just me.
but I've noticed that the two teams in the Atlantic Division
that decided to build their playoff runs around Rangers
didn't even get out of their goddamn conference.
Like, maybe that was a problem, I don't know.
There you go.
But no, it's...
It's...
It's...
It's...
It's...
It's...
They played a better game six and they played in game seven,
so I don't even really...
I didn't think they were...
Oh, I thought they were much better in game seven.
Oh, what?
They carried play for ten minutes in the second period
before the Barracoskey goal.
And then they folded.
Eh.
They fucking had them on the road...
And you could see it was going to be one of two things.
Like, it was either going to be 1-1, and we had ourselves a game,
or the caps were going to add a goal, and then the lightning were just going to be like,
ugh, fuck it.
I just felt like after they got that first goal.
Like, they pushed after a American scored.
Yeah, they pushed for a period and a half.
That was that much.
The shots were like 9-7 after the first period.
It wasn't like they dominated after that goal.
They played fine.
Well, it's because they didn't get a power play in the first period.
It's amazing.
It's crazy.
Nobody on the caps took a penalty for 20 minutes.
It's amazing to me.
they didn't get hardly any powerplay time.
They got two power plays in game six, right?
And people were like, well, how can you get power plays if you don't earn your zone time?
And they get like all the zone time in game seven.
It's like, well, obviously the capitals were all a bunch of lady bings and on their best behavior.
Nobody touched anybody.
Nobody hooked or slashed.
I think there was at least three penalties in the first period of game seven that didn't get called.
There was too many men.
There was a clear hook on a shorthanded break that they didn't call.
For who?
When the caps were on the power play and somebody on Lightning was about to head back the other way.
Oh yeah, yeah, it would have been a two-on-one.
It would have been, right, yes, yes.
It was clear as fucking day.
There was that.
And there was a play in the Tampa defensive event where, like,
Surgichib or somebody, like, picked off a cap so a guy could break out of the zone.
That was a blatant fucking, like, Detroit Red Wings 2008 interference play.
But again, it's so annoying.
But what you're essentially saying, though, is like when you're shit five-on-five,
which the lightning basically were a lot of times in the series,
you're praying for a power play.
And you don't get them, and then you can't, then you're fucked.
I always thought that was an underrated part of why the caps didn't do anything in the playoffs.
was because they were such a dynamic power play team.
Right, and you don't get them.
You don't get power plays in the playoffs
because referees are fucking
fucking babies and fucking cowards that don't call penalties.
I mean, that's why the Bruins did so good
for all those years when they had the worst power play in history.
Yeah.
And you don't have to worry about it when no one calls penalties.
Wasn't that the thing in like 2011
when they won the Cup?
They had like two power play goals and three rounds.
Yeah, it's like the Bruins are now 0 for 56 on the powerplay,
but here's the Stanley Cup of Trisper.
I keep on thinking Burzron's the captain.
not the captain.
He's the captain in my heart.
I don't know.
All right.
So the Capitals win the conference title and hilarity ensues because Ovechkin grabs the Prince
of Wales trophy, much like the Golden Knights did the Campbell Cup.
Campbell?
Campbell.
Campbell.
Campbell, Clarence S. Campbell Bowl.
Something really appropriate about weed being legalized in Vegas and they're grabbing the bowl.
Grabbing the bowl, bra.
Pass the bowl, man.
So he picked, Ovechkin picks up the trophy, as is expected, because he's waited his entire life for this moment.
And the capitals, if nothing else, do celebrate everything is ever achieved.
He was, he was like throwing it up to the rafters, like trying to get at the stick.
But he's like, no, wait, I'm in Tampa.
This isn't working.
Like, one of those wall crawling spiders that you get when you're a kid and you throw out the wall and the little legs go.
So then he tries to skate the trophy.
Oh, I didn't see that.
He turns around with it and goes back to his team with the trophy.
is looking very much like he's going to skate the Prince of Wales trophy.
And you can literally see Brooks Orpick turn to him and say, put it back.
Don't do that.
Like, you can touch it.
It's great.
Pick it up.
Fine.
We're not taking a lap around the Amelie Arena with it.
There was a photograph from Ovechkin's wife, I guess.
Yeah, wife.
His wife.
Hello.
That showed the Prince of Wales trophy on their dining room table, like, as the centerpiece in their
house right now.
Oh, they brought it home?
Yeah.
I always thought that you just left it at the arena.
you take that with you I guess what's the percentage the percentage probability that
Avescun tried to fuck the trophy oh he rested his nuts and dicking it oh absolutely
he just like just just like he didn't like it like he just was just like let me see what
this feels like what does this feel like I put my balls on the Prince of Wales trophy right
you just want to just be like what's the what's the what's the cold steel feel like oh
this isn't too bad the guy from the hockey hall of fame's over in the corner being like oh god again
Christ Mario would do this every fucking time
I thought this was over
Oh Jesus these fucking players
He's like well at least it's not the Bruins this time
Putting his sweaty hockey smelling dick and balls
In the Prince of Wales
Chara turns around Buck naked and goes
Could you find a trophy
All of him guys like
Nah do we have to do this again
What's his dent in the Prince of Wales trophy
Oh Chara put his dick in there
He just dropped it
He turns around he's like
Which won his trophy
Hall thing guys
Oh God
I'm so tired of this
The day now
Isn't it
Isn't it more chance turn
Phil Pritchard
Can you please leave the room
For seven minutes please
I need special time
I'm going to get Prince Albert
For Prince of Wales
Don't tell wife
Surprise
So
So I was wrong on the caps
Like they're really
I've been saying
I didn't follow my own fucking advice
which is that
I've been saying for years
that as soon as somebody
cleared the road
of the penguins
they were going to win the cup
and then I'm like
oh but the lightning will beat them
but no
they're totally unburdened now
like they're flying around
the fucking ice
nobody's trying to do
anything they're not supposed to do
they're all kind of staying
in their lane
holpey's playing great
like they're not to get ahead of ourselves
because I guess we're going to do a preview
but it's not as if there's a fucking syllabus
on the show ever
but they're going to win the cup
yeah
it's going to be easy too
how easy
it's going to be like four
three it's going to be like four
Oh, four.
I just feel like it's over.
I say three, and they revoke the franchise charter from Vegas because of a trademark infringement from the team name.
Donald Trump steps in before game four, and he just, he like bans all the foreign players back to their countries, and then the series never ends.
Is he going to go to a game, you think?
It's a crowd with cameras, and it's something Obama never did.
So these are the things that did me add up to him going to a game.
But then again, he would have to get his fat ass out of bed at like 8.30.
It's only a few blocks away.
He would probably take a helicopter.
Yeah, he's not walking. Come on.
What's the longest?
Fire up Marine One. We're going six blocks.
What's the longest distance Donald Trump has walked without sitting down or stopping in the last two years?
Oh, that's easy.
From the plane down the stairs to the car.
But he sits down in the car, so it's like that's it.
But that's the distance.
It's down the stairs, you know, making Sherman.
Lonnie is several steps behind him.
Although I guess as a president, it's kind of hard to walk anywhere anyway.
Maybe that's a bad example of his laziness.
But, yeah, no, he's not going on the game.
I hope he doesn't go.
Please, I don't want to write about that.
Just don't go to a game.
He's going to a game.
He's going to go to a game.
I think if they have a, if they win in six, which is what I think they're going to do,
they're going on home ice, he's going to show up to game six.
He's going to show up to St. Game six.
It's going to take five hours for everybody to get through security because the president's there.
He's not going.
Uh-huh.
He's going to sit next.
to, who will he sit next to?
Putin.
There's Gary Bettman
and Vladimir Putin and Donald Trump
sitting there, rinkside.
It's nice to have some American politicians
here in the building.
We're so excited about
Carrot Top and Chris Angel showing up for a
Vegas game during the Cup final.
And the capital is going to have Putin
and Trump at Game 6.
What would you rather have at the game? Would you rather have
Lowell-Wain,
Carrot-top?
And who else is from
Vegas.
Bryce Harper or the three,
the three Russian.
I just hope that it's a,
it's a good mix of local celebrities and political power
where it's like Trump, Putin, and Biz Marquis sitting in the same box together.
Is he from D.C.?
Oh, yeah.
I was once at a Wizards game.
I think it was like a Wizards Nets game.
And like,
and like it's like in the fourth quarter.
And like all of a sudden they're playing, you know,
oh, baby you!
It's like like the MSG where they play the clip before they introduce the celebrity.
I'm like, oh, man, you never get to hear fucking Biz Marquis at a game.
And then all of a sudden it's like, ladies and gentlemen, DC's own Biz Marquis.
And he, like, stands up and he's like waving around in the lower bowl or whatever.
Oh, baby, you.
It's like, it's Trump, Putin, Wollay.
You got a Russian disease.
Trump, Putin, Waleigh, and Daryl Green are all in the same box together.
The robot?
What?
The robot?
What robot?
The Wally robot?
No, no, Waleigh, the rapper.
The D.C. rapper.
I forgot.
You're very street.
Walee?
Yeah.
He's a rapper who never really broke.
Oh, whale.
He's whale.
Oh, for God's sakes!
That's whale on Twitter.
Whenever I see those tweets, whale.
New Orleans quarterback Bobby Herbert.
That's Baleigh.
I never would have got...
I was picturing like wall and then like...
Yes.
It's Trump, Putin, and...
Rallel...
Well, you can't...
You can't do that because he'd be like,
you know, I'm thinking about building a wallay.
Trying to build the wallace.
Waleigh looks over his little robot.
eyes at Trump and says, I think so himself,
man, I predict the fucking future.
Look at this.
Look at that robot.
Talked to that robot couldn't talk.
He just said, wow, right?
I never actually saw it.
I never saw it.
Can I say that?
I never, so the only Pixar films I never saw
were Cars 3.
Was there a Cars 3?
I didn't see that.
I never saw Monsters University.
I never saw Brave.
And I never saw Wally.
And I never saw Wally for a very specific reason,
which is that my, I remember when it came out
I just didn't see it because it didn't really do anything for me.
Then everybody's like, oh, it's fucking fantastic.
And then my favorite cat died, Mr. Mittens.
And, and, like, the robot for some reason reminded me of my cat.
And so I've never watched it since because I felt like a certain emotional connection to that character for some reason.
You had a cat named Mr. Mittens.
I had a cat named Mr. Mittens.
Did you say, Camere Mr. Mittens or like, Camer Mr. or like Camer Mr.
The name was Middy for God's sakes.
But he was, he was, he only lived like, I had a cat named.
four years.
What did you do to him?
He was fat as shit.
Yeah, and it wasn't for lack of trying to not be
having to be fat as shit.
But he was just a real fat cat.
And he lived his best life.
Like, he was one of the, it was like, it was like,
it was like watching John Candy go.
Like, you've given us so much joy.
It's like watching shot.
Yeah.
Your cat was in stripes.
Right.
Your cat brought me Uncle Buck.
You gave us Uncle Buck,
planes, trains, and automobiles and SCTV.
Thank you for your service.
I felt the same way about Mr. Mittens.
I live the life like John Candy.
That's your analogy.
Better to burn out than to fade away.
He was like Chris Farley.
Sure, he died young, but he gave me Tommy Boy.
Yeah.
Oh, no, he went way too young.
You can't end on Beverly Hills Ninja, for God's sakes.
Wait, how old was John Candy when he died?
He wasn't, I guess, yeah, he was older.
I mean, he was on SEC TV.
It was in the 90s.
Yeah, it was like in the 40s.
So the thing about mittens that I always mention is the fact that, like, I don't know if, you know, condolences if you've lost a pet recently.
but, you know, you always come to that moment when you're the owner of an animal where, like, if it's sick, you go to the vet and they're like, well, good news and bad news.
Bad news is that your cat's really sick. It's got, like, liver issues or whatever.
Good news that I think we can give them some extra time. Like, oh, that's really great to hear.
Like, so what's the deal? Well, you know, the treatment will be about $10,000.
and we think he might have another six months.
Oh.
Let's see.
A new cat for 10 years costs five bucks.
It's like,
you're like,
but,
you know,
six,
six?
Like 10 grand for six months?
I wouldn't keep myself alive for 10 grand for six months.
And then he's like,
he's going to be fucking diminished and shit.
He's not going to be the same cat.
Oh,
yeah.
I don't mean in like in a pet cemetery
where he's going to come back
and like fucking try to kill me.
But like,
what do you?
wake up and he's just like sitting on your cat.
But it's that moment where you,
it's the moment every pet owner has to kind of like contemplate.
Like when it's that decision.
Like in other decisions,
you can save that the animal's life and the animal's with you forever.
But like in other situations,
it's like we can put a band-aid on this gushing gaping wound that we can't fix.
And it'll be fine for maybe, maybe six months.
Here's what I'm picturing is.
Like, you're in there with the vet.
And the vet's like bad news.
liver's bad you know cat's not going to make it but here's the good news you're you're like
oh good good news what is it if you give me 10,000 dollars that this cat can live for six more
months and immediately in your head you know your cat's going to die right but you have to pretend
like you're thinking about hmm let me think I don't know I really I love the cat you're just in your head
you're just like 10 grand I turned to the vet and I said I'm familiar with John candy
yeah like boy I got to talk it over with with my wife I got to make see what we can do but like
already you've moved on from the cat already you're like in the pet store replacing the cat
there's no replacing mr mittens he was a sing he was outside of sneakers my favorite animal i've
ever had about enough had a few i only had cats until i had sneakers is that it's always sunny
nod the cat the cat name the kitten mittens no no no just mr mittens yeah because these
paws look like fucking mittens it's not very hard well kitten mittens right i just thought but i did i didn't
watch always sunny it wasn't an always sunny reference oh never watched always so how no i always
circled around that show but I never got into it.
Surprised. That's surprising. I like everybody on it.
You like everybody on it. You like jokes and yet somehow for 14 years
you have dodged, it's always sunny.
Maybe I'll go back and binge it.
Are you sad that Kevin Can Wait was canceled?
Kevin Can Wait!
Wait, what was the show that? Oh, they resurrected the Tim Allen show on Fox and everybody's
really upset about that. Oh, yeah, the one with um...
Yeah, the one where Ruby and I played that game once where we were like super bored
and probably a little baked.
and all of a sudden that show came on,
Last Man Standing.
Last Man Standing.
And I turned to her and I said, let's play a game.
I said, let's watch this show and see how long it takes for us to actually laugh at it.
And we got, I think it was 22 minutes into it.
And then somebody said something that probably wasn't meant to be a joke, but I found it funny.
And I go, and she goes, that's it.
You lost.
Now, at that point, she finally.
I just wants to change the channel.
But it's a funny.
If you hate a show and you find it to be painfully unfunny,
that's a good,
it's a good challenge to have.
Find out how long the show takes to make you at least chuckle.
22 minutes was Last Man's Dan.
I might have done that with that show Mom the other day.
That show with Anna Ferris and,
I'm sorry, Anaferris.
Ana Farias.
And what's her face?
And the mom, you know,
Alice and Jenny.
It's very much a CBS sitcom or like,
it's just laugh tracks and shit.
And like, at the end of the,
at the end of the episode,
I forget what even the plot was,
but there was this girl
and she was like a complete bitch
the whole episode, right?
And like Anna Farris was dating
like her ex or something.
I don't know.
I was barely watching it.
And he was a millionaire
and like Anna Farris is poor
and she dumped him
and like the bitch lady was like,
yeah, right, whatever.
And then like Anna Farris
doesn't react to it.
Like, you know,
like she's talking shit to Anna Farris.
Anna Farris just goes over to her
and hugs her and goes,
now I know why you're a bitch.
That made me laugh.
It's funny, right?
I caught me off guard.
I was like, oh, it was funny.
I have a different problem with sitcoms,
which is that since I was raised on Marry with Children,
because that's how my parents raised me.
Like, every Sunday we would sit around
and watch Marry with children as a fucking family.
That's a good show.
I have a real soft spot for horrible sitcoms
with really broad offensive comedy to them.
So, like, when two broke girls was on.
Oh, Jesus.
I gotta go.
And people hated that show.
I don't know.
And I would never watch it,
but then I'd flip it on occasionally.
and I'd be like, this is got funny.
Like, that show is so offensively unfunny
that, like, whenever Thor of the Dark World's on,
I can't watch it because of Cat Dannings.
I never realized what a bad actress she was
until, like, I would watch, like, two broke girls
for, like, five minutes, and I'm just like...
It made me laugh. That show makes me laugh.
I have a real soft spot for...
Maybe it's bad sitcoms I've got a soft spot for.
As do you, as a fan of friends.
That's not funny. That's not funny, Greg.
Because Friends is one of the funniest shows to ever exist,
and is still topical today.
Why are the caps going to win in four?
Did you say four?
Here's the thing.
Let me take you back to a magical year in time, known as 2003.
Oh, oh, a year that will live in infamy.
The Devils beat the Ducks.
John Sebastian Jaguerre was on the steroids, on the hockey juice for three rounds.
We need to fucking define that before we get sued.
Not literal steroids.
Yeah, he was on, he was living his best hockey life.
Hockey gods were injecting life into his veins.
Into his veins.
And he had like an insane sort of three rounds.
And then the fourth round, as what tends to happen in hockey is he wasn't great.
He wasn't terrible, but he wasn't great.
He was normally not as good as he was in the previous rounds.
And at the other end, I believe Brodor had three shoutouts in the cup final and the devil's one and seven.
I can kind of see that happen in here with Holpey versus Flurry because Holpey's the better goalie.
By the way, I still can't believe Holpey was not a Brador guy as a kid because I watch him play and he looks like Brodor all the time.
Like, he kind of stands up when he should drop down.
He's kind of calm and he moves.
But he loved Patrick Wah.
I don't get that.
But he's better than Flurry.
Flurry's due to regress a little bit.
And the whole Vegas flu playing at home and dominating thing, like the Caps have the road mojo, man.
Like, they go on the road and they play better and they win.
So I think that kind of defeats the whole Vegas home ice thing.
Yeah.
And they're just, like you said, the whole weight of the world's off their shoulders.
Does the nine days?
Nine days.
The nine days off.
I give you pause as far as...
I love that movie.
About what you call it, about Vegas?
Yeah, because they've been doing it now for three rounds.
I think they were the first team to advance in every round, right?
So they've had the longest rest going into the second third.
I don't think that's a big deal.
I don't think that's a problem.
I think it might be a bigger problem for the caps,
because they haven't really had that yet.
But I still think they're going to just roll in the series.
I really do.
I want Vegas to win.
I really want Vegas to win because that's the funniest possible outcome.
Like, there is endless amounts of comedy
in Vegas beating the caps.
Right.
But I just don't think they're going to do it.
You know, I'm glad you bought that up because, like, I've been thinking about this a lot.
There was definitely a part of me that didn't want the capitals to advance to the cup final
because there was a moment in which their misery to me was more amusing than than winning the cup.
And by that, I mean, losing the Pittsburgh would have been hilarious.
I don't know.
It would have been like the hangover part three where, like, I've seen this already.
It's worse.
It's worse than the first two.
whatever.
Heather Rams back.
You know, now something really wacky is happening and it helps face again.
Oh, Ken Jong is doing what?
L-O-L.
Ha-ha-ha.
I'm naked again.
So, whoa, whip that a Ken Jong impression on the show.
So that wasn't racist.
So I understand that.
Now, but I've come around to the notion that I really just want to, like, they're never going to get back here again.
Like, just win.
Like, this is your shot.
I think of all my friends back in D.C.
That are so happy right now that this is happening.
I think of Ovechkin, and this is our shot to finally get him the ring,
and he's going to raise the cup, and we never have to speak of this again.
Like, I really want him to win now.
I'm outwardly rooting for the Capitals to win, with the caveat that it would be hilarious of Vegas won.
It would be so funny.
It would.
It would be so funny.
It's like, it's a, the thing, too, is like, if Vegas wins, like, you know, idiots in Canada would fucking use that against Ovechkin, like, oh, blah.
But like, I wrote this, too.
If Ovecuddin wins, people will still do the whole,
oh yeah, I finally won a cup against the expansion team.
So, like, there's no real super positive.
You think they do that?
Oh, fucking, are you kidding?
But he had to get past fucking the Penguins and Lightning to get there, though.
Phil Kessel showed up in Pittsburgh, won two cups,
was their leading score for, like, 50, 60 games this year.
And people are trying to run him out of town already.
Like, that's just how people are.
Looking for their angles.
Get the clicks.
It drives me nuts.
It drives me nuts.
Has it bothered you that...
No.
About Vegas.
Nope.
That the usual advanced stats punditry has basically just given up trying to quantify it.
Like, I want there to be explanation.
Like, this is the time in which...
Like, this is like, Gotham is overrun by criminals and named Batman to show up.
Like, I need these fucking big brains to tell me why this is happening.
And the best I get is...
Flouries out of his mind.
And an unsustainable shooting
shooting percentage
Or some such
I mean it's not
Like if you look at their
Their raw numbers
For the whole season
Like they were at like 52%
Like they were
They weren't like
Like their luck is not like necessarily
Like a 104 PDO
Like their luck is like winning one goal games
Right
Luck is Mark Andre Fleury
Suddenly becoming the greatest goal in the history of hockey
And like their luck is also like circumstance too
Like they play in the shittiest division
So like they don't get two free like rounds or anything
But like you'd rather play the Kings
and the fucking sharks than like the
Predators and whoever or where...
Well, they played the Jets and they beat the Jets
fucking five games. But like in like a normal
playoff racket they would play they would have to play the
Preds and the Jets to get to the final. So like in a way
they kind of get like a easier road
because they happen to be in the shittiest division in hockey.
It's all, to me it's like a bunch of little
things. The sharks weren't a pushover.
Like I think that's the revisionist history
that they were a pushover. They weren't a pushover
but like you'd rather play San Jose in L.A.
Sure, but I mean it's not as if they had
a, you know, listen, L.A. was a
of a pushover, but the sharks are not.
I mean, like, those teams weren't pushovers.
Like, all the King's games were close.
The San Jose, the game six in San Jose, like, they scored fucking, or they hit, like,
they hit, like, nine posts and, like, put, like, four pucks through Flurry's legs that
went, why?
Like, I get it, but.
So there's no magic inherent in this.
It's just hot goalie in one good line.
Yeah, like, there's no, magic, Greg, magic is something in our hearts that we want
to believe is real.
Mm-hmm.
And there's no magic, man.
Like, it's, it's all.
I believe that's exactly what David Copperfield said when I saw him last year and he was so
bored about his job and his lot in life to have to do the same damn thing over and over again
where he just gets up to the microphone and he's just like magic's on all of us because magic is a
magical thing magic believes in us the way we believe in magic also would it pay having to play
seven against nashville before they play Vegas was a good thing for them too and it's kind of the same
thing not for Vegas where the caps kind of had to do a drag out seven game deal but I just like I just
the magic doesn't end I just think it like the worm has to turn at some point that's what
I think the thing that we can take
pride in though, no matter what happens with Vegas in the final, is that we called it.
Like, we called this happening.
People forget that.
I don't know why people are coming to my mentions and, like, adding me with my preseason thing where I said Vegas was going to be bad.
Like, that was a joke.
Like, we talked about it for real on here, like back in June, July, whatever it was.
Whatever we talk about on the show, it really, that's the pick.
Like, that's the thing.
It's sort of a situation where when you read what we when we write
That's sort of like
We're playing to the cheap seats a little bit
But this is like it's like satire
This is for the hardcores
Yeah
So this is for the hardcore fans
So
What
I hate to have to do this because like
I figure you guys already know it
But just just for
To cement the thing
Yeah we don't want to do best up shows
Right things like that
But there's been a lot of confusion about like the picks that you've made
the picks that I've made and what we've actually said on the show.
So this is a clip from a show in late July where Dave...
It was before that.
What?
No, it was like early.
Didn't we do it right after the draft?
I thought we did it like, the draft was the end of June.
I thought we did it like the end of June beginning.
It was the end of June is when it was?
I think so.
Okay.
I forget exactly when it was.
Yeah, the draft was like in the middle of June.
Yeah, we definitely did it before free agency for sure.
So, okay, so it's like maybe like the show you between the expansion draft and
and free agency?
Like we talked about it.
at length. We're not going to make you guys listen to the whole entire thing again because
I mean, nobody wants to hear about how right we are all the time even though we are,
but I mean, we were. Okay. Well, this is a clip from that late June show in which we talked about
exactly what we expected from the Golden Knights. And I think you'll see that, you know,
more often than not, our predictions were pretty good. So I'm thinking Dispicable May 3
is probably going to be the box office winner this week. I know, again, your baby
driver thing is whatever.
But I liked it. I think it's going to be
great. It's going to do well.
Maybe best picture. Maybe not.
I don't know. But I'm probably
guessing Despicable Me 3 is probably going to
be the box office champion here.
Here's what I'm thinking, though, about the Oscars this year,
I guess next year. But when
I talk to insiders
in Hollywood, and as
you know, I'm all connected in all
areas, politics, entertainment, sports.
I think this is the year for fish fucking
I think that this is the year
where there's going to be a movie
about a mute woman fucking a fish
A mute woman fucking a fish
And it's going to capture the hearts and minds
Of the academy
And you know I know people like to go for period pieces
You know maybe something about a real life struggle
But like I think this is the year for fish fucking
Now when you say a mute woman fucking a fish
Do you mean like a like a bass
Or like more of a like a humanoid
Like a human hybrid fish manpillar?
person.
Uh-huh.
And like, you know, it's, it's just going to be the kind of thing where maybe the fish
comes out of his magical tank and then like watches a movie with a mute woman.
Okay.
In between fuck sessions.
I don't know.
I don't know.
I just, I just think that Hollywood's craving something new and fish fucking is going to be
what it is.
Wow.
My money's on the house with Will Ferrell and Amy Poller, which to me looks hilarious.
I mean, when you put those two comedic geniuses with the people that wrote,
neighbors, how can that possibly be the worst, the most painful movie ever? There's no way it
could be, right? Let's talk about, so the Vegas Golden Knights roster is set. They drafted.
They drafted. They traded. We've got some players. We've got some knowledge now that, you know,
maybe we'll understand what's going to happen. I look at this roster and I say to myself,
you know what? Minimum playoff team. I mean, I think you're kind of underselling it. Yeah?
Like, I don't know what it is.
I, like, I'm, I'm looking over what they did,
especially with the trades.
And I'm thinking they're playing in a conference where, you know,
the Blackhawks are on the down swing.
You know, the Kings aren't a dynasty team anymore.
It's wide open.
And I just think a fresh start for a lot of these guys is going to mean,
I'm going to say, this is a little bold.
I mean, this is probably going to be wrong.
Uh-huh.
But I think they break 100 points this year.
You're going to break 100 points this year.
I mean, they probably need to make.
some moves during the season to get better, maybe get like a Ryan Reeves type of guy and have someone
like bolster their toughness, maybe like a Tatar, you know, maybe somebody like that in the deadline.
But if they do that, like I see no reason why they can't be at least a hundred point team.
A lot of people have been asking me about William Carlson from the Blue Jackets.
Oh, yeah, me too.
Who I think was a very shrewd acquisition.
You know, obviously that's a deal that they make to get the David Clarkson money off their cap.
And they have to give up a little bit of talent in order to do that.
I think he's a bit of an X factor.
He's a guy to me, to me, as an untrained scout that could maybe hit in a good year, especially if they, I don't know, like I feel like he might have a little bit of chemistry with Raleigh Smith and Jonathan Marsh as though.
I could see that working really well, yeah.
I feel like he might hit 43 goals this year.
Wow.
I know it's a very specific number, but that's the number I'm feeling.
Okay.
And I feel like when we make predictions in June for a season that starts in our.
October, we have to be bold in our choices. I'm going to just disagree a little bit.
Okay. I'm going to say he gets to 42. Maybe he gets to 43. 43, 42 for sure. I don't want to go
on on a limb like you, but I'm going to say he for sure scores 42. What do you expect from David Perron?
Because I think he's a real X factor too for this team. Well, you know what? I think David Perron is a player who
he needs to get those top six minutes. I don't think he's been getting them in other places. I think he could be the kind of
you could be a really, really effective, just, like, the kind of guy where you can just bank him for, like, 50 plus points.
Here's what I think for Perron. And, and again, tell me if you think this is too specific for a prediction in June.
From December 28th to January 7th.
December 20th, like two, three weeks, three weeks?
David Perron will have a point in each of those games.
How many games is that over?
That's like, let's see, one, two, three, four, five, six, seven games.
He'll have a seven-game point streak from December 27th through January 7th.
I can see that.
Yeah.
But to me, like, scoring's not going to be a problem.
I think they're, I mean, we can all see that they're going to be a fast four-line team.
Right.
To me, to me, it's about the goaltending depth.
Yes.
Because Mark Andre Flurry, you know what?
I think the best thing that's ever going to happen to him is to get out of a place like Pittsburgh where they're clearly on the down swing.
They have no chance at winning the cup this year.
I bet they probably even lose to the capitals if they play him again.
I think if they meet, I think this is the Caps year because without Flurry there to kind of, you know, guide and support Matt Murray, that's going to be a problem for them. But for me, like, I could see Mark Andre Flurry having just the greatest year of his career this year. But like if he gets hurt, you know, they've got such great guys depth-wise. They have Malcolm Suban. If he gets hurt, they have Oscar Dance. If he gets hurt, they have. Maxim Legacy. Yeah, and there's even probably some junior player. I've never heard of who could come in and play 20-nights. I have my eyes on Dylan Ferguson, who everybody knows was acquired around.
the expansion draft.
I feel like they could probably get at least a few minutes out of him too.
Maybe like, I don't know, around like nine minutes from him this year.
Like to me, like, even if Mark Andre Fleury goes down for like two months at the beginning
of the season, like I don't even think they'll miss a beat.
Like I think they're that deep, especially.
And the other thing too that we're kind of ignoring is how good the defense is.
Right.
Like I've always said that Nate Schmidt has Scott Neidermier potential.
And I think we're going to see that this year.
I think with his skating ability and his offensive gifts, I think you're
finally going to see him become an elite number one defenseman. So we both are completely guaranteeing
that the Golden Knights make the playoffs. Oh, God, yeah. And you, I think it sounds like you think
they're going to be over 100 points. I think if they're over 100 points, I think we can guarantee
they're going to win the Pacific. Oh, for sure. For sure. Oh, God, yeah. So we're looking for a
playoff journey in Pacific. Let's say, let's say the LA Kings get their act together. Let's say Dustin
Brown has like a career offensive year. They meet in the first round. What do you think happens?
You know what?
That's kind of a silly question because we're so far out.
There's, I mean, you want me to forecast that?
It's the end of June in 2017.
By the way, my, uh, my column on Yahoo on Friday is great.
You should definitely read it.
Yeah, absolutely.
Yeah.
And by the way, I feel like everything's cool.
Me and Leahy are going to really kick ass next year.
I mean, I mean, like, why would you ever leave?
I have no idea.
It's just such a great opportunity for you and you've really built that up.
I mean, the Puck Daddy brand is.
is an unstoppable locomotive of awesomeness.
And you really can't bring...
I mean, could you imagine if, like,
like, if I wasn't there and Leahy wasn't there
and the brand just withered and died on the vine
with a bunch of Canadian coverage and bad videos?
That'd be terrible.
You can't have that happen.
You can't have that happen at all.
But, like, where are you going to go?
Like, ESPN doesn't want your stick.
Like, there's no replace for you to go.
Oh, I don't know.
I'd probably...
I mean, like, listen, I think there's clearly going to be
a cap on how much money they spend on this thing.
Right.
But I am kind of looking at the athletic.
Oh, the athletic.
That's that new website, right?
Yeah, it's the new website.
Yeah.
You know what?
Like, I think that website needs to have people on Twitter promoting all the stories all
the time.
Yeah, I think that's, that would be huge for them.
That would help.
I guess I'm a little bit curious to see how quickly they transition to a national
coverage plan.
Like, you know, if they hire a bunch of people to cover a bunch of sports and get away from
their sort of local ties, I'd be kind of interested if that happened.
Interesting.
Like, think of this.
Think of this, right?
the athletic
NHL with Greg Wichinsky
I don't see that happening
I don't like you know what
like you know you're great
you can go anywhere you want
but I just I don't know
I just don't see you and the athletic
coming together
there's probably a better chance
of you go into ESPN
could you even imagine
I think they
I think they probably sweep the kings
oh right the kings in the nights
yeah I mean
that would probably mean
I'm gonna guess the sharks make it through
I look at that
series, you know, I worry about Joe Thornton's health. I don't imagine he's going to play a lot of
games in that series, being that he's of an advanced age. I mean, his knees aren't great. Yeah. So,
I'll say the Knights probably win that in six. I think it goes that deep, huh? Yeah. And then,
you know, whether it's Nashville or Winnipeg out of the other division, and let's just say for
shits and giggles, it's Winnipeg. I feel like that's pretty easy work for the Knights as well.
They win that one, maybe, give it five, I guess. Yeah, it's going to work out.
because I don't see the Blackhawks making the playoffs this year.
So that's probably going to be one of those teams that gets pushed the side.
And now they, like Winnipeg, for instance.
Let's say they play Winnipeg in the conference finals.
Like that Nashville series would probably take the life out of them.
Right.
And plus Winnipeg hasn't been to the playoffs since, what, 2015?
They don't have the experience.
So, like, the experience factors will match up for Vegas and Winnipeg.
And I just think, you know, if Flurry can get hot in the playoffs, that's, there's a few keys.
Yes.
Flurry has to get hot.
Uh-huh.
And you know what?
it's kind of a chemistry thing, I think, for this team.
Who's that Russian guy they got?
The Vadim Shibhib Shabashabab.
Like, for me, they need to get rid of him immediately.
Yeah.
Like, I don't think he's, I don't think he's Vegas material.
I feel like he might even go back to the KHL.
To me, like, that's what they have to do, because, you know, this is a team that's about, you know, chemistry and grinding.
And I don't know if he really fits the Vegas mold.
You know?
You don't think there's grinding in Vegas?
Well, I mean, these, listen, like we say,
said, you know, take these predictions to the bank.
Remember this episode when, you know, it's say like May 26th and you're wondering,
hey, who called it?
Well, your old friends Greg and Dave definitely called it back in the end of June.
Who told you that having Derek England, Lucas Spisa, and Brandon McNabb, playing your
one-two and third most minutes during the playoffs and regular season?
And I'm feeling kind of hot right now.
I feel like I'm at the craps table in Vegas where this.
team is going to play. I'm going to make
another prediction. At the end of
the last Jedi, Luke Skywalker
is going to show up to save the day,
but he's going to end up being a
force hologram.
And he's actually back on his own
planet projecting himself
across the galaxy to fool
Adam Driver.
Force holograms. Is that a thing?
I know it's a little bit outlandish.
I think everybody's expecting, you know, Luke to be
a bad guy or whatever. No, he's going to
be a good guy.
No kidding.
And he's going to show up.
He's going to look younger.
And like, uh, oh, his hologram is a young.
He's a younger version of himself.
And it, like, they're going to try to like blow him up, right?
With lasers.
But he's, he's, he's a force hologram projection from across the galaxy.
So he's literally going to just like brush the dirt off his shoulder.
He's just going to go, whoop.
Well, wait, what is, where is the dirt come from if he's not there?
He's on another plan.
Well, now you're overthinking.
Why is he have dirt on a shirt?
if he's standing somewhere not being harassed.
There's not, he's fate, he's, he's, it's projecting.
Oh, he's like, he's like, yeah, right, it's a bit. Like, he's a funny, like, he's funny.
Because everybody knows Luke Skywalker is really funny.
I mean, he's always had a great sense of humor in all the movies.
Well, technically, isn't he just doing what Loki does with the things where he projects?
So, like, Loki technically has force powers on this.
Also, since I'm feeling really hot with predictions,
Luke Skywalker, at one point in this next Star Wars movie, will drink the milk from the nipple of an alien cow.
I don't know about you, but I'm really turned on right now.
But, you know, it's June though, so, you know, whatever.
It's just hotter and, you know, we get all that sort of feelings inside of us.
Well, I don't know.
We'll see.
We'll see how these work out.
All right.
All right, and we're back.
As you can see, the predictions were concrete and solid.
It's just so frustrating because, like, a link is so much easier to share.
Right.
Like an audio file.
Right.
Yeah.
Yeah, it'd be easier for us to, I guess, to have just pulled that out and put it on sound
cloud from our that episode in June right i mean like we didn't even get to the part about
Alex tuck and Eric Halle right like it goes on it goes on for a while before yeah just don't
it's just it's just unfortunate i just i just can't i apologize i mean i i feel like i really
ruined the last jett i for a lot of people back in last june yeah because i'm pretty sure i haven't
seen it since then so it was it was just kind of yeah interesting well the last jedi was entertaining
you know what else is entertaining
Sports and concerts.
Are they?
Yeah, and if you want to go to them, you can use our friends at Seekek, our favorite sponsor here on Puck Soup.
Do you know that buying tickets to sports and concerts can be very complicated and confusing?
There is a better way to buy with Seekkeek.
Seek is the smartest, easiest way to get tickets to every type of live event,
whether you're searching for a last-minute deal, planning a night out, or need to find the perfect gift.
Seatheap Geek helps you find Seatheat.
Sweetmeat.
Sweetmeat.
I was going to find the best seats
and the best prices.
Fully guaranteed.
There's nothing quite like
seeing your favorite team or musician
in person and C-Geek
will get you closer to the action for a great value.
I've got the C-keek app on my phone.
It's by far the easiest way I found
to shop for tickets. It could be anywhere.
And just with a few taps,
I can instantly find seats.
If you're going to the game in Vegas,
you're going to need yourself something to do
so you can use the C-Geek to go
and find some shows
maybe around the game.
Can't find live podcasts on there though.
No.
There's like one place to go for that.
Right, exactly.
But we're going to definitely use a Seekek in this summer
to go to some baseball games, me and Lozo.
Seekek is designed to make your ticket buying experience easier and ever.
Seek to save you time and money by searching multiple ticket sites
to compare prices and find amazing deals.
And to get you the most bang for your buck,
Seek grades every ticket based on value
to help you immediately identify the best seats that fit your budget.
Plus every purchase is fully guaranteed.
so you can shop with confidence.
I notice you always say confidence like that when you do that.
I do.
Is that your confident voice?
That's my confident voice.
When I'm arguing like a parking ticket, I walk over and I'm like,
this is my vehicle.
I can't believe that you would be putting a ticket on it.
I am a good citizen.
I am exactly nine feet away from the fire hydrants.
Did we talk about that on the show once?
Did we?
Let me finish the ad.
Fire hydrants?
Best of all, our listeners, get $20 off your first Ciki purchase.
Just download the Ciki app today.
promo code soup s oup that spells soup that's promo code soup for $20 off your first
seek geek purchase our thanks to seekeek a dedicated sponsor of this very podcast when I
first started coming here to see Ruby uh I parked my car once near a hydrant and by near I
mean far far enough away from the hydrant to be legal there's like like not it needs to be like
nine feet I think it's like it's like six or seven feet away but usually like
like in front of the fire hydrant there's like a yellow paint job so like you know what
this is not in the city man like in the city it sneaks up on you so fuck this city so we
I parked far enough away from it like legally and then I went back to the car like after we ate
lunch or whatever and and there was a ticket on it for parking near a hydrant and we looked up
the like the city the city ordinance on how far away you need to be from a hydrant and it was like
I think seven feet or some such so I actually had her
her take a picture of me laying down on the ground from my car to the hydrant with my arms
outstretched on the ground. And we took a picture and we sent it in as evidence to the ticket
people when you have to send your ticket in with something like you have to send photo evidence
to kind of prove your case. Oh, you can send your ticket in without payment, but like have evidence.
Yeah, to fight it. Yeah. And I won. I took a picture of myself on the ground, stretching out
and showing out far away. I took a picture of myself on the ground. I took a picture of myself in the
round stretching and then a picture of my driver's license showing how tall I am.
Speaking of stretching, I forgot about this.
You see what Mia Khalifa did to me on Twitter yesterday?
No.
I still don't even understand what happened.
She tweets two screenshots of two headlines of two things I wrote about Alex Ovechkin.
And both of them were complementary of Ovechkin.
The thing I wrote yesterday where I was like, we're four wins away from never hearing
about Ovechka not being a winner again.
And before last season, I wrote about how good the capitals were.
and how Ovechkin is, like, as unimportant as he's ever been because he has really good players around him.
He's still awesome, but, like, now he actually has.
So, like, I wrote these two things, and she screenshots the headlines and puts this tweet on top of it that said, oh, this is a real glow-up.
Which, and then tags me at the end of it.
And I still don't understand what she was doing, because it seems like she's trying to make it seem like I said Ovechkin sucks 18 months ago, and now I was like Ovechkin's awesome.
Yeah.
But like I never said he sucked 18 months ago.
That's what she was trying to say.
Do you know what a glow up is?
No, but she claims she wasn't.
Do you know what a glow up is?
Yeah, it's like when you like increase, you make something better.
It's like when here's the best example I can give you.
When the fat kid from Perry Potter, Neville Longbottom, grew up and then got abs that was a glow up.
Right, right.
But like she was making it sound like I did that for Ovechkin when like he was at the same glowing spot in each
thing. So she's like she fucking screenshots it and like tags me in the fucking tweet. Does she have a lot
of followers? She has she has a few followers Greg and and like the thing that was great was like I
check my mentions. I see her tweet and I'm like what does this mean? And then like the first reply of
course is from someone who follows her and it like references Bukaki and I'm like I don't need this
all day like horny fucking Mia Khalifa dudes like referencing Bukaki all day. So I replied to her and I'm like
are you trying to own me or something because like this is that first headline is from this
story where by the way you go back and read that story it's genius no one reads past the headline no
apparently well at least she clicked i got a click out of it at least but like there's no link in the
tweet it was just screenshots and like i'm like what are you trying to do to me here and she's like if i was
trying to own you you would know like well apparently not whoa what are you doing so like all
fucking day i just had like and then like old takes exposed retweeted it and i'm like ah what the
fuck does anyone so i'm like adding i'm adding people like fucking 18 month old links to be like this is
not the headline is not indicative of what was in you never they were like oh my bad
Because, like, all these dudes come to her fucking timeline.
You're like, you get Amia.
Like, she's not going to fuck you, bro.
Like, stop.
So that was my fucking afternoon.
Did you see my fucking Twitter win, though, of the century?
What did you do?
You didn't see this?
So I tweeted the other day when the Kyle Duba stuff was happening with Mark Connor.
And by the way, I have all the time in the world for this Toronto Game of Thrones bullshit that's going up there.
My God.
Fucking, fucking water carriers just fucking spilling water over their dumb shoes.
carrying water for Mark Connor all over the place.
He's a genius.
He's a drag.
What the fuck is he done?
Like, he's found a couple players, but it's not as if it's like, you know, he's built a multiple
cup winner with his goddamn scouting.
He leans over and he goes, Austin Matthews.
Yeah.
Mitch Marner.
Oh, congratulations.
I know.
So, like, like, so all the Toronto media guys are just like, he's a good, he's a good source
for them.
They all like him because he's a, he's a good hockey man.
Good hockey man.
You know, talking to somebody at the final, the conference final down in Tampa and just like, he's like, what do you like about Kyle Duba?
I'm like, I like a lot about Kyle Duba.
It's like he's young and he's interesting and he's got different thoughts on how to build an organization from the infrastructure to the player assemblage.
He's not a traditional, you know, run-of-the-mill older hockey guy that they hire for the gig.
And he's just like, well, what has he ever done?
I'm like, well, nothing because he's waited for his fucking turn.
Who was Mark Hunter ever done?
Yeah.
So what is any, again, what is any assistant GM ever done?
And the whole, the whole fucking charade of like, Shanahan hired Dubus and now the whole thing fell apart.
I'm like, well, if you had promoted Hunter, you would have lost Dubus.
Yeah, you know what was coming.
But like, the thing is is that they all assume that Dubus is going to fail.
And they all assume that he's not worthy of this position.
So if you had named Hunter the GM and you lost Dubus, well, who gives a shit?
He's the kid.
Like, that's how they kind of feel.
about it. These are the people that write
Stephen Stamco's as a loser story. Just
FYI. So anyway, so I, when
the dubious thing was going down, I wrote,
I wrote a, and Lamarillo got hired by the Islanders,
I wrote a tweet that said,
Dear Satan, please
compel John Kvarez
to sign with the Leafs.
And when he does sign with the
leaves to say that he did so because he
believed in Kyle's plan, and I
signed it years in chaos, Greg.
And then that tweet
did really well, because
that's what idiots like me and Dave have to care about.
And then lo and behold,
good for the brand.
On the day of game seven,
I receive a reply
um,
from Miroslav Satan.
It's like keep like,
like maybe your prayers will be answered
to something along those lines.
Right.
But Miro Chatan
answered my letter to Satan.
You had an enjoyable interaction.
I, I, it's not just enjoyable.
The only other thing,
thing that ever compares to this is when
Giata de Laurentis
tweeted at me
What does she do?
Giata is the girl, the woman on the food network
The chef with the, yeah, yeah.
Like I used to watch her a lot
and in safer times,
perhaps comment on her appearance
on said food network shows.
She's an attractive lady.
Yeah, sure.
And one day I made some sort of reference
that was probably, that I think was
veiled sexual innuendo about the abit she was making.
boy she's really rubbing those chicken breasts
I think it was more bailed than that
boy look at her work those thighs
and oh maybe it was that
and she tweeted at me and she's like
you know
leave me alone like no she's like she's like she's like
she's like thanks for watching or something like that
like a little bit like a winky face or something
and it was it was one of those deals where like you're
it's like you literally
there's those moments on Twitter when you believe
you're only having a conversation with like 10 people
and then you're just like, you know, talking about something.
And all of a sudden, somebody comes in and you realize the world can hear it.
Yeah.
And it was one of those moments where, like, every day I would just take a screenshot of Giata Di Laurentius leaning over to mix a pie or some shit.
And then all of a sudden, I'm like, oh, wait, what?
And the amazing thing about that moment was that she tweeted out me at a time when I was offline for some reason.
So it was like you.
That must have been a good day.
It was like, I came back and I checked my mentions.
And just like, wish you must be coming.
It's like, I'm like, why?
What happened?
The first reply was about Bukaki.
I don't want to do this all day.
Oh, and then it was like all these dudes dunking on me, even though like there's, like, if you want to dunk on me, dunk on the Vegas Golden Knights thing that I wrote.
That's fine.
But like, I've been in team of Eshken forever.
And everyone's just like, oh, boy, now you think of it.
Ah, fuck, what a day.
What a long day.
Yeah.
But yeah, I don't know.
What a day.
What a glorious day.
What a day.
What a day!
What's that from?
What a day.
What a day.
You're doing a shoulder shimmy, so I'm assuming it's a Roddy Dangerfield movie.
My Blue Heaven.
Oh, shit.
Good point.
What a day.
It's a vegetable.
Let's talk about doxing.
Is that when Doc Emmerich says done the kid during broadcasts?
Is that when he says pitchfork when he doesn't seem to know what a pitchfork does or a skyhook?
It's actually when Doc Emric sings.
That's Dock sing.
hurried, hurried shots.
What shots aren't hurried?
They're all hurried.
No one's like, hmm.
Say nighty night and kiss me.
Just hold me tight and tell me you miss me.
And dreams will be whatever they'll be.
Dream a little dream of me.
Next.
Skyhook.
That's not what a fucking skyhook is.
So there's two things that I wanted to discuss today.
The first is hockey centric, so we'll do that one first.
My old buddy Jeff Merrick,
we talked about this on the show previously.
put a blind item on their podcast about some NHL prospect
being so addicted to video games
that it is believed that his career is over
and that he'll never, like he blew out,
he blew his career and he's not going to never make the NHL
because of his video game addiction.
Is he that guy that won't move out of his parents' house
who was on the news? Is that the same guy?
It might have been the same guy who had a tapeworm.
Oh!
But like, you know why that's like a, before you do the thing,
Like the guy who shit the tapeworm out
Yeah
Like like I don't know how everybody else shits
But like there are times when like
I will look in the bowl
And admire what I've done
Of course
Look at that wow
Especially if it's like S shape
Look at the height right
Like yeah
But sometimes like I will take a poop
And there's like a lot of wiping that goes on
So like when I look in the bowl
It's more like TP and stuff
Than actual poop
So like if he happened to have like
An unclean wipe that day
He would never have seen the tapeworm
In the bowl
You don't think you'd be able to differentiate
Between toilet paper
Your shit and a fucking worm
No no that's the poop
is underneath the toilet paper. The toilet paper is above the poop. It's the permafrost on top of
the ice cream, basically. It's not a six foot worm that's like splashing around the bowl.
Like it's, you got to like get a good angle on the on the poop to see the tapeworm.
Otherwise, he would have never known. He would have just felt good again and not known why.
You see, I thought it might, I thought it was like a vat of eels. Like the tapeworm just slashes
around in the bowl. It's in unmistakable that it's there. It's like, huh. Hey, honey, come in.
You want to look at what I did? No, no. This time it's different.
It's actually medical.
Funny, there's a
parasite in the toilet.
You're a parasite in the toilet.
I just, I never,
oh, I can never win.
Remember an alien when the thing comes out of his stomach?
Well, you want to come look at this?
So, the dude's addicted to video games.
And crazy, crazy thing happens
when you drop a blind item
about an NHL prospect who isn't addicted to alcohol
or drugs, but fucking video games.
Wait, fucking video games?
Yes, laser suit Larry from the PC back in the 1980s.
It was a pixelated game where a guy with a boner was running around the Old West,
fucking Native Americans, I believe.
Ah, to be young again.
Oh, yes.
So, look that one up on your Google machines, folks.
So people tried to find out who the kid was.
And to the point where, like, there was a prospect that actually went on Twitter and had his own Twitch channel.
He's just like, listen, I know I'm a video game guy, but it ain't me.
And so somebody, I forget who the guy's name was.
And I don't, I probably shouldn't bring it up anyway.
But like, somebody wrote yesterday on Twitter that he had multiple sources telling him that the video game addicted prospect was such and such on such and such team to where America then had to step in and be like, look, I said I wasn't going to comment on what city it was or any of that stuff.
But you got the name wrong.
But, like, Merrick gave out, like, a lot of information.
He did.
And he talked about that.
Someone that didn't want to, like, reveal something.
So, I, the, my question to you is, because I was getting into it this morning with somebody about this.
Like, should, is it bad to try to track down the story?
No.
In the sense that this is someone who's battling an addiction.
No.
I mean.
Because I think there's two ways to do it.
Like, I think if you, if you track down the story.
It's newsworthy.
In the sense that it's new.
Yeah.
Okay.
There's three ways to do it.
the first way is that you
tackle the story in the sense that it's a
cautionary tale and you're like
you know this is this is a
why guys play fucking video games like this is the thing
that you have to worry about
the other way would be to
write it as a hockey story which is that
you know GMs get fired all the time
when their draft picks don't work out
and so isn't it newsworthy that
if this is a first round pick that's never going to play
like this is the reason why
and talk to the team about it
and then there's a third way to look at it which is that
it's an addiction and and this guy
deserves privacy and the
idea that you would do a
sources tell me it's this guy without
any context or any I reached out
to him or any of this stuff.
Yeah, well that's bad. It was extraordinarily irresponsible.
Well, that's bad. Yeah. But like once Merrick puts it out there
like everybody's gonna track it down.
It's it's extraordinary.
I don't see it as simply
you know, a guy pissed away his career at the bottom
of a bottle. It's a fucking kid who's addicted to
video games. Like how do you not
try to figure out that puzzle.
Oh, yeah, I think it's fine.
You know what I mean?
Like, it's not...
Doxing part two.
Oh, yeah, still not doxing.
Deadspin writes a rebuttal
to a Washington Post feature
on PFT Commenter from Barstool Sports
in which they,
dun dun dun,
print his readily available real name.
I know. It readily available is the key.
Yeah.
Also, I'm not doxing.
What did you think about that?
First of all, what did you think about the Washington Post
during a feature story on a guy?
It's so annoying.
And playing along with the name without actually talking about who it is.
I thought Laura, Laura Wagner made a lot of good points in her thing
about what his anonymity means and like what allowing him to no comment stuff about
bar stool the whole.
Oh, like the other day, what was the fight in Game 7 who fought in Game 7?
who fought in Game 7?
Tom Wilson and
Braden Coburn.
Right.
So I saw like a lot of people
who came on Twitter
they were like,
you know what?
I hate fighting,
but that Tom Wilson
Braden Cobber fight was great.
Right.
Like that's what you sound like
when you're like,
oh,
you know what,
Barstall's the worst,
it's misogynistic,
it's terrible.
They weaponize their readers
to go after people like Laura.
But man,
PFT commenters great.
Like that's what you sound like
when you do that.
And again,
like make your living,
do whatever you want.
Hey,
if you can live with it,
that's great.
But like this idea that he was this.
So, okay, I get it.
PFT commenter is a character.
Right.
But like, he's not anonymous.
He's in front of cameras.
He's a podcast.
I thought a lot.
Yeah, you can see what he looks like.
And also, like, I was just, like,
up until like maybe like six months ago,
I don't know what his real name was either,
but like I never really went to go look
because I kind of didn't care.
But one day I tweeted it,
someone was like,
you can just Google that.
I googled it and found it in two seconds.
Yeah.
That's not,
that's not doxing.
Yeah.
And it's very bizarre for the,
Washington Post to like kind of avoid, you know, it's when I wrote about Eklund in, in 2007 or whatever it was, 2006, 2007, like nobody knew his name was Dwayne Klessel, right? Because he just didn't put it out there because then people would know that he's full of shit because he's a musician and not a hockey guy.
Well, you can be a musician and be a hockey guy, right? Well, the thing about his name back in the day was that it was several people that were writing under the same byline.
that were hockey people.
But like when you would go to the cup final
and he would be there,
like it doesn't say fucking Eklund on his
credential, it says his real name.
He used to flip it over so people couldn't
see his real name. Are you serious?
Yeah, oh, it was the whole thing. But like, I was thinking
a lot about old school blog days
because this notion
of someone revealing
the name of an internet character
was a very big deal when we
first kind of started in the digital space.
And it was a situation where
you know, when you would have people writing under a pseudonym, like Tyler Delo, for example,
for many, many years, you know, it was to separate what your real world gig was from your online persona.
And so maybe you didn't want your employer to know that you were spending all this time writing on a Washington Capitol's blog or,
or that you're the Penn's blog guys or whatever, you know, like there was a legitimate reason in some cases,
to ask for anonymity.
And it went beyond the hockey sphere.
Because in others forms of blogging,
it was I'm writing under a pseudonym
because I work for the government
and I don't want people to know it's me.
Or other stuff.
That's not even close to this.
That's what I'm saying.
Yeah.
Like the idea that a guy...
Nobody thought PFT commenter was him, was his name.
Everyone knew it was a character.
It's a fucking character.
Everyone knows that.
Everyone knows he's a real person.
And like finding out his name is Eric
doesn't change the bit or the gag at all.
Nor is like fucking.
Like, it's like, that's, that's, like, that's, like, discovering Sasha Baron Cohen was
L.E.G.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Like, it's, it's, it's not, like, like, that was, again, like, this is the whole thing with,
like, his bit is, like, like, like, Barry Petteschi, uh, Barry, Barry, Barry, Bichich.
Barry from the, Barry, Besson said, like, it's kind of funny now how, like, his character
is, that makes fun of all those people are now, like, the people that go on Twitter and
fucking yell shit at, like, Laura and Deadspin all the time now.
Like, that's, that's the thing.
but like that's like the thing he wrote in the wake of that by the way i also love how like like barstall
fans not like barstall employees like barstall fans are the first people to like come to your
mentions when you write how fighting is bad like why do you go sit down when you pee you're soft get
tough and you go to their timeline and like their last four replies are to like barstool joey or
whatever right it's always about being tough but like the second like anyone criticizes someone
that works at barstall they they fire back like a post like i've been docs like you
You haven't.
Like, people knew you were, like, that's, like, I don't understand.
Like, say if, like, you write something about Barstool and, like, you're like,
barstool is sexist and misogynistic and blah, blah, blah, and they respond to that.
Okay.
I can see how you're defending yourself.
But, like, if someone just writes, hey, PFT commenter's real name is Eric, like, okay.
Well, because they're, they're using a, a time-tested playbook, which is, I've always said,
they're a little bit of jackass in which a bunch of people,
that, you know,
allegedly aren't playing by any set of rules,
also work for Viacom.
You know, so it's like they're rebels and stuff,
but also they're completely corporate and fully formed and funded.
Yeah.
And then they're the Howard Stern show in the sense that they have their own little universe
and it's insular and, you know,
they all kind of go on each other's shows
and they're all wacky characters and stuff.
But at the heart of both things,
the only way you make it work
is if you can sell us against them
and at the beginning of Barstool
it was us against them because it was sort of like
they moved into that blog space
of we are the anti-establishment media
to these fuckers that are you know
bloviating about Tom Brady
you know so Portnoy
positions Barstool to go after the guys
at the fucking globe and shit
or Charlotte Wilder
when she was at the Globe
and then it's
kind of grown from there to be like
you know, the, you know, the media doesn't understand us and, and, you know, look at, you know, everybody coming after PFT or, you know, when they call us misogynistic, where we have, Fort, Fort, Fort, boy, puts his fucking phone on his desk and rants for 25 minutes about misogyny while being misogynistic. You know, like, it's, it's, it's, they, the, the yes against them thing is always the selling point. More so than anything else, the humor, the whatever. That's why, you know, people fly the fucking battle flag of that site.
is because they feel like they're part of a movement.
Yeah.
You know?
And it's brilliant.
I mean,
it sells.
And it's given a place for white males 16 to 32 to congregate and feel like they're part of something.
But at the end of the day,
I mean,
it's the same playbook that was used by many,
many other places to establish themselves in this manner.
I just,
but like I just don't get,
like,
like,
if you're going to,
so like,
I assume they knew the story was coming.
And.
And.
like just writing a thing that says like I've been docks by
deadspin and here's what happened
like you put that headline up yeah
and then you write a thing that's like you know here's my real name
blah blah blah blah and then you just can't put at the bottom
please don't attack Laura like don't write the thing in the beginning
yeah don't I mean anytime somebody says that
don't don't send a bunch of hate tweets their way people
right like those blah blah blah and the fact that you know you have to say
that should tell you something about the readership yeah but
yeah right like it needs to be said
Right. You need to be like, right, like when we get done doing this podcast, like no one's, like, we don't have to, we don't have to be like, nobody, I don't know, who do we rip? Who do we, who do we shit on today? Nobody go after the Stephen Stamcoast column this guy, please. They just don't do it. Nobody send Jonathan Marshisill and Rally Smith jerseys to the Florida Panthers front office, Caravdale Talon. Don't do that. Don't do that. But like, to me, the real genius part of it was, was like, Laura's thing on Deadspin was really about how they use PFT as like a shield against all these.
the other shit. Like, look, he's good. He's our good guy. Like, he's our guy. And, like, Barstall
really didn't address that. They addressed the whole revealing his name thing. Right.
That's, to me, that's genius the way they did that. Right. And, you know, and I think that,
like you said, it's, it has become that sort of like, but what about ism, you know, like,
you know, Barstool's a fucking blade on humanity. Well, pardon my take and spitlin chicklets are great.
You know, it's like, well, yeah. That's a great point. You know, but it doesn't,
excuse everything else that comes with it.
Yeah, it doesn't.
It's, I don't know.
Listen, different
structures for different folks, man.
I'm glad, I'm glad that the,
the site exists in some way, shape, or form.
Like, it's not my cup of tea necessarily.
A lot of people else like it.
I like a couple of the podcasts.
I like the people, I like the spit and chicklets guys a lot.
And I'm, I've always been super happy
for your admiral because I think that guy's put in the time
to get where he is.
But I think there's something to be said for, like,
you know, a couple.
couple of exceptions of the rule do not
rewrite the rule, right?
Yeah. And like, and like again, like, if
like people were like, like, like, let's say if
like everyone came to like Laura's
mentions and they just replied to her with like
PFT's real name, which by the way,
I don't even remember it's Eric something.
Like, like that's how unimportant it is. Like no one
no one heard his real name and they were like
Eric Solenberger. Solenberger.
Yeah. If they all went to her timeline just replied
Eric Solenberger to her for like 75 tweets like,
okay, like that's clever. That's funny. But like no, it's
Like, you need to get deep dicked.
And it's like that, I think, reflects.
Again, I get it.
It's not everybody, blah, blah, but, like, still.
We didn't talk about that.
Yeah, you talk about baiting the fucking trap.
Yeah.
I mean, a bunch of people with their email addresses, sending hate mail to her,
and then publishing it on Deadspin was, I mean, say what you will about the original article.
That's the shit.
That's some old school Deadspin shit right there as far as, like, coming at you with some heat.
I love it.
There's a guy with like a Columbia.
Columbia fucking email address
you know,
mailing her and me like,
you are a bitch
and bitches should be bitched
and bidda.
He's got like a fucking
edu email address.
You idiot.
Bitches should be bitch.
I don't think it was that.
It's probably not far from it.
All right.
A couple things before we get to the mail,
the,
the question of the week.
David Quinn,
new coach of the New York
Hockey Rangers,
seems like a very polished guy.
A real slickster.
A real Michael Cohen type
Ryan Lambert tells me he's bad so I'm not gonna
Yes
He's apparently he's a lot of talent at BU
Didn't really do anything with it so
I don't know
He's got his eyes on a bigger prize
The NHL my friend
I still like we were doing the math
Because like nobody really knows what he made at BU
But like say if it was like 800K
And he could have coach there for life
Get some incremental raises
Like if if what is it 2.1 he's getting from the Rangers
Two say it's two whatever it is
Two versus eight
Say he say he
does three years of coaching here and gets fired
get six million bucks whatever the buyout
is at the end say he gets seven million dollars for the
three years he's here like where does he go
from there like as you go back to college
yeah easily or goes
goes and coaches the Olympic team or some shit
right but like why not just stay at B you and like dominate
and be there forever as opposed to
because you have a chance to be the fucking coach of the New York Rangers
that really shouldn't be an enticement at this point
it's very much of enticement you you want to be an
NHL coach you don't have to go cut your teeth in fucking
Carolina you go to the range they're the Rangers
oh wow
Now you're taking shots at your boy in Carolina.
I'm taking shots at the fact that you somehow don't think the Rangers gig is one of the best jobs in sports.
Why is it one of the best jobs in sports?
Because you're coaching a team in New York City.
You're coaching an original six hockey team.
Here comes the New York elitist Greg Wischinsky.
Everything in New York is better.
Our pizza's better.
Our bagels are fucking great.
Our hockey team jobs are better than your hockey team jobs.
We're very multicultural.
We went after that racist lawyer when he wasn't.
You saw that.
He couldn't hide behind.
the umbrella.
That fucking guy.
Dumbasses.
There's somebody dumb asses.
Can you imagine seeing someone speak Spanish to someone else who speak in Spanish?
The line's moving fine, but you're just mad about the Spanish?
What the fuck is wrong with you?
Can you imagine doing that and then writing a letter to people that say, I'm not racist?
And in fact, one of my favorite things about New York is our multiculturalism after you threatened to call ice on a fucking salad store clerk.
Oh, did he do that?
Yeah, he did.
I didn't realize he wrote an apology letter that was basically like one of my favorite things about New York is the cacophony of
languages except for the
except for Spanish fuck Spanish
but yeah I just
I don't know it's the Rangers are in a
really bad place right now I don't know why you want
this job I like it because I think you can work
with the kids and I like it because it's not
Lindy rough
Paul Fenton becomes the GM of the
Minnesota Wilde something I learned pretty quickly
when I was in Tampa Bay is that
everybody's saying oh Barry Trots will leave
the capitals to go reunite with Paul Fent and Craig
Leopold may have been mistaken because of
Apparently, Paul Fenton and Barry Trots have heat.
Like, what, sexual chemistry?
No.
Like, like, like, uh, like, heat like you, like, like, they have beef.
Like, like Michael Douglas and Sharon Stone and basic instinct?
Like that kind of heat?
No, it's more like Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner and War of the Roses,
where one of them might cook the other one's dog.
Isn't that the one with Glenn Close?
No, that's fatal attraction.
What are they cooking that one?
Each other.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, no, they cook a bunny.
Oh, right, the bunny.
Oh, right, the bunny.
Ah, the 80s.
Spoiler.
I think it's, listen, that dude, that dude's been groomed for this gig for decades.
So one assumes that he's going to do a good job.
I'm a little bit concerned, though, that, like, the mandate and the edict from Craig Leopold is that we're close.
We need to tweak the roster and not overhaul it.
And maybe you kind of play around with that idea for a couple of years before you get your chance to overhaul it when, like, Kovu and Perise and Seder have all aged out.
Yeah.
But, like, right now, it's like, he's kind of, he's like, we make the playoffs every year.
need to add a piece or two. I'm like, oh, that's great. What?
John Carlson?
Or, well, more along lines of like a center, but I don't know what you do.
Like, Fenton probably gets the gig because he's like, he's like, well, I'll tell you what
we do. If we need a center, we trade Seth Jones for Ryan Johansson. And Leopold's like,
wow, that's a great idea. Do we have one of those?
Matt Dumbah? Another bad job.
That's the thing, like all these jobs were available because they're not great jobs at the
moment. Like, like, the Black Hawk's job didn't open up in, like, 2011.
Like, Joel Klemville wasn't like, ah, that's enough for me.
I'm going to leave this great job. Open jobs are open for a reason most times.
Yeah. No, I, I...
Like when Barry Trott is coaching Tampa next year, that's going to be because John Cooper
was like, oh, for his poor performance in the playoffs.
It is interesting that, like, it sounds like him and Boudreau are going to have to kind
work from shit through. And I've heard it's because Leopold likes Bruce, and it's
hard to argue with the fact that he's gotten him into the playoffs a bunch of times.
Like, Bruce is an interesting, is always an interesting guy because, like, he has so much success.
And you're always worried that, like, oh, if I get rid of this guy, will I be going back to the playoffs?
He doesn't win in the playoffs, but he gets you there.
And then you're thinking, well, maybe it's not him.
Maybe we just need to get our center or whatever.
So it's a plum gig for him all the time.
They can get themselves like an Alex Tucker, Eric Halleck type of forward combination.
They held on to Matt Dunba.
Devander Kane, seven over seven, buddy.
I just don't get it
I just don't get it
It's it's fucking crazy
It doesn't make any sense man
Like
Like I'm not saying like
I get it
It's easy
He's on the young side of like
The UFA
Spectrum
And he's about what's available
And all that sort of stuff
But seven and seven
Yeah guys
Guys scored 30 goals once
You're paying
No
He scored 30 at least once
Did he?
Yeah he was back in like the
Back in like I want to say 20
Oh yeah
Way back
Yeah
No he
He's like 22.
But like he's...
You're paying for potential.
You're paying for how good you think he's going to be with...
He's 27.
There's no more potential.
He is what he is.
No, you're paying for what you think he can accomplish with...
With 30 goals in 2012.
With Pavealski.
Like, you're basically saying...
Pavolski signed for one more year.
What?
Pavlsky's gone after next year.
He's not gone, but he's a UFA after next year.
Well, that's just it.
I mean, there's an all-in sense for next year, just like there should be.
How are all these teams all in?
All these teams...
Because their cap situations are fucked up.
Like Tampa's cap situation could be fucked after this year, after the next season.
Same thing with the Sharks.
Yeah, but Tampa's gone to the conference finals three times in four years.
Like I can see the argument there.
Like San Jose, like Joe Thornton's like hobbling around with like the fucking Batman knee thing that he put on in the Dark Night Rises.
Like maybe it's time to like figure out something else.
I don't know.
But seven million bucks for a 52 point guy.
Mr. Wayne, you claim you heard this base jumping?
Yes.
Base jumping.
Remember when he went into Gordon's room after that scene
And Gordon's like in the hospital
Because he got fucked up by by Bain
Yeah
He got thrown down the sewer
And like like fucking
It's fucking Bruce Wayne and like a ski mask
Doing the Batman voice
It's me
What do you think of my suit
It's Brooks brothers
Looks like looks like you're wearing a ski mask
Yeah
The cowls at the
Cal fixing guys, please.
Why wouldn't you wear the Batman costume?
Well, I figured I'd come to the hospital and make an appointment and then make it easier for you to figure out who I am based on the admissions list.
Why are you in a Brooks brother's suit?
I had to go inquire about a loan before I came to this hospital.
Talk to you.
It turns out that all the gas and the bat vehicles were really breaking me, so I needed money.
By the way, speaking of Christopher Nolan movies, Dunkirk fucking sucks.
I haven't actually seen it.
You haven't seen it yet?
I had the screener.
I didn't watch it because they re-released it in the theater.
I'm like, oh, go see it in the theater.
I didn't see it in the theater.
It is an insanely boring, needlessly confusing movie.
Like, they have weird time jumps.
It's just so, it's just, it's very much like a...
Yeah, if we got these soldiers to Dunkirk.
Yeah, like, he's wearing a mast to the whole movie.
It's kind of funny.
I'm flying a plane.
There's an Eddie Isard bit where he talks about the difference between like American movies and British films, like an American movie.
Oh, wait, I thought Eddie Isard was in Dunkirk.
I was like, I'm going to see this movie tomorrow.
Honestly, he might be.
I don't even know.
Like, it's just a bunch of British white guys.
Swishy guy on the fucking, the fucking part in the boat.
Come on, boys.
I got this magic egg.
No, but he talks about how an American movie is like, it's like, it's like action and guns and you're just like, oh, you're just eating popcorn the whole time.
Like, British movies are like about a guy, like, who's just like moving matchsticks around on the table the whole movie.
roll it, my matchstick.
Someone comes into a room, like, what?
Huh?
That's Dunkirk, but it's a war movie.
It's the most boring
fucking war movie.
You weren't overwhelmed by the sound of the guns
and the blowups and stuff.
Again, with the movies that come down
to the sound and the music.
Like, I just want to watch a good movie
for the good story.
Oh, that's right.
This is Baby Driver all over again.
Like we talked about in that episode
back in June that we cited earlier today.
It is, it's not Baby Driver,
but like, it's just, it's just,
I feel like Chris Nolan's trying too hard
in this movie.
is my thing, but whatever.
That's Dave, that's Dave's movie reviews from 2017.
Dave, at the movies.
Thumbs up or thumbs down, Dave.
Dave, laying in bed when he wakes up on Sunday morning at 10 o'clock watching HBO
reviewing a movie from last year.com.
Fuck.
I feel like, I feel like a really good sign that a movie is bad.
17 word e-mr-l.
Well, I mean, you know, it's capitalized the letters for each new word, so it's easier.
You're like my father looking for anything on the internet.
lawnmower repair parts for a broken lawnmower.com.
Ah, shit.
I'm pretty sure the last good movie Kenneth Brano was in was dead again.
Every time I see him in a movie, I'm like, it's either some like fucking Shakespearean shit or like fucking him and Dunker.
I kind of liked it was shitty, but I kind of liked that Jack Ryan reboot, the Pine did, where Browna was the Russian Big Bad in the movie.
It was Chris Pine doing Jack Ryan and Karen Knightley was his wife.
Oh, I don't even know that.
I don't even know what this is.
I don't even, I definitely see it.
It was like, remember when Affleck did Jack Ryan?
Yeah.
And then it didn't go anywhere.
Well, they rebooted it again with Chris Pine as Jack Ryan.
And it didn't go anywhere.
But Brana was the, was the, he was a Russian, like, heavy in that movie.
I can't even picture like a commercial for it.
He also directed the first Thor movie, Kenneth Brana.
Does that case it get credit for that?
Yeah, he got directing, sure.
Yeah, he can direct all he wants.
But like, whenever he's in a movie, it's just always like, there's, there was one part
where it was just so fucking corny, like,
because they're trapped on the beach, and he's looking out
for, like, help, and suddenly, like, they hear, like,
the sound of, like, whatever, planes or boats or some shit,
and he's looking out over the water, and some, like, other,
like, lieutenant guy is, like, what do you see?
And I'm like, he's going to say home.
He's going to say home.
Home.
It's like, fuck you, Chris Nolan.
Sorry, yeah.
Evander came. He's getting paid way too much money.
As I pointed out, he has Chris Kreider's stats.
Between his stats and his off-eye shit, it makes no
fucking sense to commit to him for that long and that much money.
Question of the week.
The end.
Oh, you don't want to talk about Lou Lamarillo coming back?
Era.
I will fix the Islanders.
Imagine you're John Tavares.
You're about to make the biggest decision of your life in the next like 30 days.
And the Islanders come to you and they go, look, we have a pitch to make you stay.
What is it?
You're going to get some new players?
No.
Change at the top of the front office.
Oh, interesting.
Who do you got?
Who's the young, fresh mind with a track record of recent success that you're going to bring in?
Okay, so young is all relative, John, to other things.
Well, I'm here to change your team.
Oh, God, no, no.
What if we told you?
We found a 75-year-old man who's been unable to build a champion since 2003 to take over our team.
What say you, John?
The best was, like, I was reading the Larry Brooks column about it, and he was like,
Lou Limer, it was great for the Islanders.
You know, he's the kind of guy that's not going to sit on his prospects.
He's willing to make trades to get guys in.
and like the next paragraph started the list all the trades and it was like in 1996
yeah right what yeah no no it's like Jason Smith yeah it's like it's like he traded Alan
McCauley once and it's like oh yeah he's he's got the bold vision you need in 2018 look I think
you bring in lieu for one reason which is to stabilize the organization I don't think it does and
at least give the the impression that this organization has been stabilized to try to bring
John Tavares back. He can't be that dumb.
He can't fall for that. Sure, of course
he could. You sit down with Lou and... Era, oh,
I have a plan. Three years. Capp.
You know?
Well, I say that you will shave your face
and we will win championships.
Tavares, like, how do we go about doing that?
Era, first, aggressive
cloning plan to get
Niedemeyer and Stevens back.
And if not that, we'll get
Matt Martin back from Toronto.
Love that guy. Error.
Sign Anthony Bruder.
What?
Like, I think the only reason
Lou is still working today
is because of that fluky cup run
The Devil's had in 2012.
Like, that's it.
Because you take that away,
like from 09 to whatever.
He's a hockey man.
He is a hockey man.
That is for sure.
And, you know, listen,
is it better than what was there?
Yeah.
It doesn't suck that he's friends
with Gart Snow and you can't fire Snow
or else you have to apparently
give him a billion dollars.
That's still sucks.
Seems like that story is now leaking out all over the place now.
Yeah, I was talking to say about that the other day.
Like, the first time that I ever heard that was from you.
And now, like, Elliot and, like, McKenzie and people are just kind of, like, citing it willy-nilly without ever kind of having written about it before.
Nope.
It's just, it's as if everyone kind of knew about it, but, like, no one's ever sort of credited anybody for that.
Yeah.
That was definitely a Puck Soup original.
Like, no one had ever given the voice to that before.
Nope.
But now, but now it seems like it's just common knowledge from the hockey insiders.
and maybe even Hockey Insider
Must credit Dave Lozo
As first reported by Dave Lozo of
Can confirm
Dave Lozo's original report on pucksive.com slash
Right
Dave Lozo of the incline reports
You're like, no, not the incline
That didn't
The whole thing went sideways
Dude, no, no shit
Like if I went to an arena right now
I guarantee you that if I got a credential
from somebody it would say
Bleacher report on it
I guarantee you that too
I still get it
Yeah
I don't know why I'm like
Because I remember like doing radio
with like Donnie Legreca and like Don Legreca
be like hey you want to come on and do a second intermission
like yeah sure and like you sit down you put
the headphones on you BS with Donnie and then he's like
all right three two one all right welcome back
folks we're here with Dave Lozo from Bleacher Report
and I can't say anything we've already started
I'm like ah Christ of the whole interview
That was my greatest fear I did it I did a radio show that I hadn't done
in a while the other day and like as I'm on hold
waiting to go on I'm just like
they're gonna say puck daddy
Yeah I know they don't know like they don't know
and they never do
I never do.
And you got to go, hey, guys, great to join you.
But I've been at ESPN for like a year.
Yes.
So, FYI.
All right.
So now, oh, by the way, so I don't hate the loom move for them.
I think, given the situation, it's not bad.
But, you know, the ideal scenario would be he comes aboard as the ruler of all he surveys,
and then they get a new GM.
Like, him not as a GM is a great move because he shouldn't be, but your GM is still
guard snow.
unless there's a situation where he can bring in somebody or promote his kid,
and then Garth becomes Greg Sherman in Colorado.
And it's just like,
Hey, did he keep him on my desk and Mrs. Tepler?
I think Dongos brought me that same joke yesterday on biscuits.
Did he?
I think he did.
Well, the Greg Sherman, as Milton in an office space meme, has been well established.
Okay.
Yeah, it's still good.
It's still good.
It's still good.
All right.
So who's going to win the Stanley.
Cup final was the question in the week or whatever.
Oh, did we do ours? I forget.
I said caps in six and you said caps in four.
Four. Which is really aggressive.
But again, the kind of aggressive prediction that you come to the show to hear, like our show
from the end of last June.
Yeah. You laughed at us then.
And now look, who's my favorite quote of all time from the movie Congo, Tim Curry in
the movie Congo.
Sure.
You know, they're making fun of him because he's sort of leading them to find the lost
city of Zinge, which is the city of
gold, and someone's laughing at him.
And Tim Curry goes,
Ha, y'all laughing him now, but I'll be
laughing later.
It's just stuck with me for all these years.
That and the monkey's name was Amy
and she talked by
sign language. Remember that? I don't remember anything
from that movie. Congo was a fucked up movie.
Laura Dern was in it, though, right? She was
a scientist. No, oh, shit.
It wasn't Lord? It wasn't Lord. It was Laura Linney.
Laura Linney. Yeah, Laura Linney.
And then a dude that was never in anything
Tim Curry was in it. Ernie,
Ernie Hudson affected almost like a British accent.
Hmm.
He's like, he's like,
we need to find these gorillas.
Was it like Matt Damon in the Great Wall or his accent?
Yeah.
Fuck is that a weird accent.
Congo is the kind of trash summer blockbuster.
They simply don't make anymore.
I miss those.
Yeah.
Like, skyscraper looks like that.
The Rock movie looks like it's going to be a big piece of shit.
Except it's the rock has to have some like sentimental streak
and all the pieces of shit that he does.
you know like in San Antonio San Antonio San Barbara
No what was the earthquake one
San Andreas San Andreas San Andreas yeah he's got a sick
Alexandria Diario is like he's got to save his daughter or whatever
So I'm sure in Skyscraper it's not him
Just redoing diehard it's probably he's going to save his kid or some bullshit
He's got to save his 31 year old daughters playing like a girl who just kind of
Yeah
His daughter's left less love entries
Glenn Russell writes in
I've been 0 and 3 on both teams in the
Playoffs, same. Well, no, that's right.
When June, I picked the...
So, whichever one I bet against will win, so
congrats Vegas. Colin McIntyre.
Oh, it's good, Colin McIntyre.
He said, I looked under my cute, and I found the
capsule winning seven.
No, the...
Capson game seven...
Let me finish me Haggis first.
Before I make me prediction.
Caps in game seven overtime.
Ovechkin scores the winner, hands the cup to Putin,
and then they escape to Russia and a helicopter.
Vegas just thinks it's a show.
Not a glad by bagpipes.
In game seven double
overtime, Sean writes, Vegas
wins on the cap's own goal.
Oh shit. Because
the capitals are nothing, if not world class innovators
in ripping their fans hearts out and crushing your spirit.
There's still a part of me that thinks that could
happen. I mean, still a part of me that thinks this
is a grand ruse. This is
when it would happen, right? Because like, we've
all bought in completely now. This is like if you
were fly fishing with the world's
longest fly fishing, like,
like wire.
And you cast your line and it goes
into the middle of the Atlantic Ocean
by like fucking Greenland.
And a fish gets on it.
And now you're reeling in this fish
for what seems like a year.
And you finally getting in front of you.
And then the fish slips off the hook.
Fish is like psych.
Like this, that's the level of long game.
This would be if the cabs actually find a fucking new way to blow it.
It's like the ultimate tease.
Like Nate Schmidt like carries a puck in this
known behind the net. He's got like a, he's got like a forward on his back, and he centers the puck
and it goes off of Brooks Orpick skating. Right. It's like, that'd be great. It's like, it's like,
everybody's like, you know, five years like, remember when we almost won the cup? And then
Wechkin, Baxter, Aeschreng, Oshy, Carlson, and Holtby all got food poisoning from that
Vegas buffet the night before. Quote food poisoning. Yeah. Did anybody ever find that what Nicolai
Ellers had before the game three? Oh, it was a crippling video game. A dick up. Um, um,
Clayton Anderson writes in after six games of great hockey and feel-good stories,
the series even, in game seven because Netsoff makes it won nothing early and does his stupid bird dance,
the caps lose 7-1 and everybody's happy.
Brandon Kelly's prediction for the final is that NBC interviews Tom Wilson every game
instead of players that are actually good at hockey.
Daniel Meyer, Cody Eakken undresses Alex Ovechkin.
Ooh-la-la, for the cup clincher, and McPhee announces he's played the long game by trading him to Dallas.
Yeah, how many McPhee guys are on the Caps roster?
Like 14.
Yeah, I was going to say, it's got to be like half a lot, right?
That's funny.
Theo Marine, OV in game seven with the game winning goal.
Jordan writes in Knights and Seven, and then it's revealed that this world is not real,
and just a computer simulation developed by a higher being to play out cruel impulses and nothing matters.
I'm down to your Black Mirror, Stanley Cup final take.
Rogue Run writes in
Knights win in six games
and Caps fans lose their minds over Flower
skating the cup around
on their home ice.
By the way, I saw your ESPN predictions.
Why? I get Vegas in the caps
but how is everybody not
just picking Flurry to be the cons might?
He's winning it. Like, no matter what happens.
I still think that if he,
because if you follow the Jaguer logic,
if he doesn't have a strong final
and Ovechkin continues to have
a strong playoff.
I think there's going to be just as many people
in that press room
that are going to want to give it to Ovi
as we'll want to give it to Flurry.
I would bet right now
no matter, no matter, if he gets up like five goals
and four. That's what I'm saying.
Jaguer won for two reasons. He won because his mom
died, right? I think during the
2003 run.
Was that a thing? His mom was sick or she died.
Something along those lines. He had some
personal tragedy
that created
sympathy for him. And then there was no
clear cut player on the devils.
Brunard had like seven or eight shutouts. But before
that he wasn't that great.
And like, so
that was the reason was
those two factors. If the capitals
win and Ovecun has a
hand in three of the games
winning goals like he did against
the penguins, he's going to win the cons might.
There's no way. I
think I would blind bet it right now
no matter what happens, Flurry's going to get the cons smite.
He's also, he's also Russian.
He's also not even leading his team in point.
I mean, I don't know.
I just, I know how these people, I know how these people, I know how you people in the media.
I know how these people in the media are as well.
And I think that there's a growing sort of, you know.
If Phil Kessel can't get the consmite, Alexoibchian can't get the consmite.
What was the situation with you get here?
I'm trying to find it now.
I don't remember. I mean, I'm sure there was.
Oh, MVP small constellation for,
there it is. Okay.
What do you got?
What do you got?
Vamp for me for a second.
So in Dunkirk, like half of the fucking scenes are just...
Oh, the main reason to win the Stanley Cup was for my mom tonight.
She's been watching...
She didn't die.
She's been watching every game at home.
She lives for that.
She's not doing too well right now.
I would really like to win that for her.
It was in the back of my mind.
His mother, he was playing for his ill mother.
His mom didn't die.
She was sick at the time.
So that was the thing.
I think it was cancer.
But there was that whole sort of subplot happening for Gigerre along with the way he played in the first three rounds.
Yeah, but I didn't think it was more of the first three rounds thing than the mom thing.
But I don't underestimate that, my friend.
His first three, I forget what numbers he had, but his first three rounds were insane.
It was just like Flurry.
But like you mentioned with Flurry, like Flurry, as of right now, has the highest say percentage in the history of the NHL.
through 15 games.
Yeah.
Like, even if he's like 9, 10,
like the caps
would probably have to sweep
and do it like emphatically.
I think the only,
I think the path is that he,
he blows up in two games
and Ovechkin has like a hand
in three game winning goals
and Ovechkin can win it.
I know what you're saying.
It feels inevitable right now
because of how much love he's gotten
and they're going to want to honor him in some way.
Like they love him.
Yeah.
Like it's hard to imagine
your guy like LeBron putting
fucking Ovechkin over Flurry.
Right, great.
So it's not going to happen.
I wanted to bet.
I remember Jimmy Shapiro put out his little email thing
with all the cons might as to the conference finals.
And I thought Vegas was going to lose
and Holpey was at like 10 to 1 going into
the conference finals and I was like, ooh.
Yeah. I like those. But now he's got no chance
because he's not flurries. He's on as good.
He pitches two more shutouts in the final.
He put, he'll get pro-dured.
But imagine he pitches two shutouts in games one and two
and they go onto a sweep and he's got like four consecutive
shutouts in the playoffs, which has got to be
a record unless Hachick said it.
It's got to be some kind of record.
All right, two more.
Caps win in Vegas.
TMZ photos of a vetchkin partying with a cup in Vegas
causes Canadian media to have collective angerism.
Jordan Wilson, caps in seven.
And as time expires in Washington and starts to celebrate,
Ovi finds Wayne Newton and rips that face built by plastic surgery right off
and parades around the rink wearing it out of electric style.
Oh, my God.
First of all, how dare you insult Wayne Newton star in Vegas vacation in my presence?
Oh, my God.
Everybody's like, wait, is that Wayne Newton's face?
And someone's like, that's Jim Pembery, god damn it?
he's a good cop
Can you imagine
how fucking insane
it's gonna be
if the cup
gets one in Vegas
like whoever wins it
like Jesus Christ
like I can't even imagine
The city that doesn't close
Where you can get in anywhere
With the cup
Yeah like you can get it
Like where could you go in Vegas
Without like say if you're a betch
Can you go anywhere you want in Vegas anyway
Yeah
Imagine if you have a cup
Like what could you do
Like what like man
Just like break
Breaking the fucking like Celine Dion's house
We're partying with Celine
If she live in Vegas
I don't know
It's gonna be one of those deals
where it's like they're going to take it to the club where Diplo is playing.
It's just like, it's going to be so lame.
And you're just going to see a bunch of fucking pictures of these guys with the champagne room with the cup and the thing.
And they're at the Diplo thing and whatever.
Nick Baxter's playing like $5 blackjack.
Yeah.
He's nuts off has his fucking shirt off and he's got a Stanley Cup champions.
I still don't get out whose shirt came off in Game 7.
Like, how the hell?
I've never seen a jersey come completely off in a fight before.
And I never make a plain about it.
Like the tie down rules during a fight.
It's not like when your jersey gets ripped off
Like during a scrum like that
That's when it's a penalty is during a fight
And then Tom Wilson got fucking just absolutely
Dragged around for 10 seconds
So Capsin 6, Captain 4
Thank you everybody for
Allowing us to play that clip from June
Sorry to do like a rerun thing at this time
Yeah I mean it's not even summer yet
So it's not time for clip shows
By the way we won't do clip shows either
Live show in Dallas will be that Thursday of draft week
we have a venue
it's all signed sealed and delivered
we just need to get the tickets online
so if you're going to be in Dallas
or you're going to be in Dallas
block out that Thursday night people
that's going to be the Puck Soup Live show
I think we're going to end up maybe
I think we're definitely going to do some
NHL awards
like our own awards that day
and then we'll do a bunch of other shit too
it's in Dallas I'm hoping to get
a couple of interesting guests
I think we're going to get like Michael Irvin
and
I don't know
I don't know.
We're going to get...
Juan Gonzalez?
The ghost of Larry Hagman,
J.R. Ewing.
Is he dead?
He's dead.
I'm killing everybody on this show.
Jagger's mom, Larry Hagman.
I remember when that movie
with John Travolta came out
when he played Bill Clinton or whatever.
I remember he was dying.
Oh, right.
He looked pretty,
yeah, he was in that scene
and he didn't look so good.
So Dallas Live Show
that Thursday of Draft Week,
it's going to be great.
And that's it.
So thanks for listening.
You can find me out with Shinski on Twitter.
You can find my writings at ESPN.com.
My column on
Friday, the weekly reader, was ranking the last 20 Stanley Cup losers.
Losers.
You think it was number one on that list.
Like teams or players?
Teams.
So like...
Last 20 years.
What are you ranking them by?
Like the loser, how good they were.
Oh, how good the losers were.
Yeah.
Last 20 years.
So we've got to go back to 98.
Mm-hmm.
I'll tell you, last place was the 06 Oilers.
Yeah.
Eight seed, Pronger prop them up.
Oh.
it's got to be the 09 Red Wings
close
who is it
they were second
I put the
the 2000
the 2000 Dallas Stars
that's a real good team
man
it's the same team
basically that won
the year prior
Bell four and goal
won
in quotes
top three I think
were the O1 Devils
2000
the Red Wings
2009
and then the
the Dallas Stars
the top three
yeah
I'm trying to think about something from like the late 90s, but like Buffalo Sabres.
That was a, you can read the story, but like the top two scorers in that Buffalo Sabres team that lost to Dallas.
Oh, let me guess.
Was McGilley only still on that team?
No.
It was, you're never going to get it.
Bradwick.
So this is just, this is to put over Hostick again as the best goalie in the history of fucking world.
They make it the cup final.
Their leading scores are Jason Woolley and Alex Schittnick.
Oh, yeah, Alex Chittnick.
It's insane.
Shitneck.
All right, everybody.
Thanks for it.
So where can they find your things?
No worry.
Let's just go.
Let's just do it.
Incline, Bleacher Report.
Yeah, incline, bleacher report.
NHL.com.
We got a big piece going up on NHL.com this week about Alexoveschkin and Sidney Crosby.
Oh, when you write something, it's a story that you wrote, but you don't actually take a viewpoint in the story.
It just kind of sits there.
Just kind of hedge.
Just don't really have an angle.
Right.
Just some quotes from some players.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah.
check out my stuff on the athletic um yeah if you know that at the at the athletic is where you
write um how surprised you are by something and then you write about how you get a text message
from one of your friends who's a player no that's the thing where i write it and then like
everyone who works at the athletic tweets it out for me that's that's that's how that works
yeah like awful announcing today it's just like fucking media hot takes left and right it's so
funny too like like like the athletic we've talked about this like because the athletic is a
subscription site so like they don't necessarily have like you know 80 retweets and 400
likes on stuff because like it's subscription base like that's kind of how it is for like our
our patreon stuff like people go to it and love it but like no one's really retweeting it
it because like they they they they're already it's it's a it's an insular insular
walled off community right right right yeah it's when you go and read the comments on the
athletic like they'll get a lot of comments but it's just like people talking to themselves
it's not like anybody coming in and being like trump 2020 you know like you have to deal
with on ESPN and yahoo
dudes with like fucking US flag avatars
and like the word deplorable in their name.
Yeah, that's right.
I love Twitter.
Yeah, you can, you can write an
NWA shell story on the athletic and not have
something coming in and be like, they should skate to the
kitchen.
Fucking idiots.
All right.
We'll talk to you guys next week.
We'll find a day to do it that makes sense with
regard to the final.
And yeah, thanks for listening to everybody.
Bye.
Bye.
Do do do do you.
and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to whatever you commute,
but we also cover movies, TV shows,
it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet.
Part 2.
