Puck Soup - Rocky Sucks

Episode Date: April 2, 2020

The boys dive into The Athletic's Top 100 sports movies of all-time and rerank a bit of it. Plus, the wacky answers in the NHLPA poll, Tuukka Rask's flatulence, where to get a hair cut, the future of... the NHL Draft, players on Zoom and a quiz that asks "which team did this guy play for?" Sponsored by Raycon! 

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:00 Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute. We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes. It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense. Bootsu. I'm Greg Wischinski of the Worldwide Leader in Marble Racing and WrestleMania reruns ESPN. Ryan Lambert, again, no big thing to say.
Starting point is 00:00:38 Just I live at my house. That's it now. I'm Sean McNeer from The Athletic, home of content about movies and video games. And if anybody out there wants to come over and cut my hair, please let me know. Oh, tell me about it, dude. Jesus. You're in Puck Soup. I completely agree. I am
Starting point is 00:00:59 I'm somebody who has fast-growing hair to begin with, and I was already in sort of preparatory mode of having it grow out until right before the playoffs, then getting it cut. So I am, I'm in the weeds, as they say, in my hair right now. And it's going to be, I'm going to be like in a Ben Schwartz on Parks and Rec level of hair height within probably a week. As a bald man,
Starting point is 00:01:28 Um, I, I, I like to get, I like to get my haircut pretty frequently because I don't like the way it looks when it's even a little bit long. I often get my hair cut once a week. Um, whoa. Yeah. Wow. Because I don't like it when it's long. And also, uh, it's just like a nice thing. Like, it's nice to just go and sit and for an hour or whatever and relax. But if you feel like you get pampered a little bit. A little bit. Yeah. And, uh, yeah. So now I haven't had to, um, yeah. So now I haven't had to, um, yeah. So now I haven't had to, um, um, so now I haven't had to. And, so now. So now I haven't had to, um, so now. So now, so now, so now, so now, yeah. So now, I my haircut in like a month and I look and feel insane. I saw you the other day on webcam. You look like Danny DeVito now with your hair. It's on taxi. Sean, you, your hair doesn't strike me as one that I don't think I've ever seen you with like any kind of semblance of long hair. So how's that working out? Not great. I'm a short hair guy. And I'm like, part of the reason I'm a short hair guy is like my hair can only be short as soon as it gets a little bit long. it just goes completely out of control and in weird directions and it's not, it's not good. So my daughter for Christmas got me a Baltimore Ravens cap because I'm a 49ers fan and she's a Ravens fan.
Starting point is 00:02:43 So this was like her trash talk. She got your ass. And I'm currently wearing a Baltimore Ravens cap because it turns out that my desire to not have to look at my horrible haircut when I walk by a mirror is, supersedes my lifelong fandom for the 49ers. So sorry. That is sacrifice. Yeah. That is sacrifice for their.
Starting point is 00:03:07 I've switched Harbaugh brothers. I am on team Lamar going forward until I can find some clippers or a floby or anything. That's right. Fuck off, Jimmy G. My hair is more important, he says, to the Niners. Around the table real quick, where do you get your haircut, Lambert? Uh, there's just a barber, uh, near my old apartment. So now I have to like drive for 25 minutes to get or take the train for 25 minutes to get there. Um, it sucks because it is basically the same amount of time taking the train or driving. So, you know, I'll do either one. But yeah, it's, it's just like a small barbershop. That reminds me, that reminds me though. Like when I lived, what, those are the best ones. When I lived in, uh, uh, uh, Maryland, I found a, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, a dentist that I really liked, like, really liked.
Starting point is 00:04:01 Like, the first dentist that made me really think that they understood my mouth. And for years, no matter where I lived around the D.C. area and then into my time while living in Manhattan, I would still go to that dentist. Like, that's how dedicated I was that dentist. So I understand the idea of, like, no matter where life takes you for your domicile, you may go back to an essential part of your existence, even though you don't live there anymore. Sean, where do you get your haircut? I go to a place not far from my house, and it's like this, it's a barbershop.
Starting point is 00:04:36 It's this rotating cast of dudes who do. Oh, like Magic Mike. Not quite. Not really not quite with this group. And they all speak a language that I do not speak, and they always seem surprised to see me when I walk in. Like somebody has come in, but they. They just wave me over to a chair and one of them randomly gets up and cuts my hair and they always do a really good job. So, yeah, and it's ideal because it's everything I want for my haircut, which is it's quick, it's quality, and nobody talks.
Starting point is 00:05:16 So it's, yeah, it's awesome. Oh, that's, that's solid. When I was in Manhattan, I used to go to the New York shaving company a lot in Soho. and it was great because it was one, as we've all talked about, one large Russian man who, you know, spoke limited English. And I would tell him every time I'd go back, he would never remember who I am. So I would tell him the, I covered the Olympics and Sochi story over and over again. And then that's how we would make conversation. But the place was interesting because they used to sneak you plastic cups of Jack Daniels and other whistle.
Starting point is 00:05:57 skiskees. Nice. While you're getting a hair cut. Yeah, they kept a bottle behind the counter. So, sorry I'm from blowing up their spot. The fucking feds are going to break down their door when they reopen. It's fucking Elliot Ness is going to show up at the barbershop. So then when I moved out here to the Bay Area, like, I don't, I didn't want to go to, like, a supercuts or a salon or some shit.
Starting point is 00:06:22 So I went on Yelp, and I yelped whiskey bar. barber, right? To find out there was somebody on Yelp that may have also blown up a spot to say, hey, they sneak your booze while you're getting a haircut, which sounds alcoholic, but to speak to Lambert's point is actually part of the pampering. So I found a place in Los Gatos, and I went there and I'm getting my haircut and, uh, and, and, and, you know, kind of waiting for the whiskey. Get the haircut. It's all done. Guys like, sad you find us. I'm like, well, you know, I went on Yelp and, uh, you know, putting barber and whiskey, and you guys came up. And I don't know.
Starting point is 00:07:00 I thought you were one of these places that gives people whiskey. And he's like, there's only one person we ever gave whiskey to here. I'm like, who? He said the head coach of the 49ers. I'm like, really? Wow. So I don't know how this legend escaped the barbershop, but Yelp knows. Apparently the head coach of 49ers is out there doing Yelp reviews.
Starting point is 00:07:21 I don't like this store. They sell Ravens hats. Yeah, that was the thing. Fucking head coach of the Niners got whiskey at the barbers shop. Do we know which head coach it was? Because Mike Singletary strikes me as a Yelp guy. Yeah. Yeah, I don't think Bill Walsh back in the day was figuring out his Yelp reviews.
Starting point is 00:07:44 But no, I don't remember who which, I mean, I assume it was the current one. But yeah, that was the situation. But yeah, any barbershop that offers you booze is top of the pops in my book. All right. what's happening in the NHL during this pause? Well, nothing. They extended the quarantine longer, as expected. A few more folks on the senators had a positive test as expected.
Starting point is 00:08:10 I don't know. Anything else going on? We talked about the draft, I guess. Did we talk about the draft last time? I don't remember. It had been canceled at that point. They canceled the draft. Or they postponed the draft.
Starting point is 00:08:22 I guess Montreal is going to get it in like two years because they're probably going to give it to Seattle next year. so they can do the whole Sure, why not? Draft expansion draft shabang. Oh, I think we briefly talked about it because we talked about doing it in a hotel. Like they did it for the Crosby one.
Starting point is 00:08:38 And then in the early 70s, they did it over the phone, which is how we got the Tarosuzumoto thing. Which is what the NFL is doing because their draft is in April. And as of right now, they have not delayed it. They're going to go ahead, but they're going to do, I think the way they phrased it was a virtual draft.
Starting point is 00:08:56 So I don't know, that seems to suggest some sort of online component. But, yeah, I mean, you can, you do it in a conference call. You really don't need everybody there for any reason. Other than it's just kind of a cool, cool way to get everybody in front of a bunch of fans and do a good TV show. But you don't need to. Yeah. Yeah. Right.
Starting point is 00:09:20 They're going to have to have the GMs do it. It won't be as fun. It won't be as fun at all. I mean, do you think there's a way the NHL could do a virtual draft and still put it on television? Or is it going to be like, we find out what happened via press release the next day? Oh, you could definitely do it on TV. They'll find it. Yeah, you just don't, like you can, you know, have everybody set up a webcam or something.
Starting point is 00:09:42 And then, you know, Kyle Dubus can go, hey, wave at the camera and say, oh, we're taking this kid from Erie or whatever. And, you know, it's a. And then you can get the kid on Skype. go, okay, now you say what it's like to be drag. Oh, I love it, because that opens the door for a lot of Patrick Linae-esque interviews like they had at the draft lottery. Yeah. It's on the floor at like 2 a.m. in Finland and the webcam is too close to his face.
Starting point is 00:10:11 That's a very exciting prospect. I will miss the great mystery of who will the pimply faced teen kiss first, his sister, his girlfriend, or his mom. We won't get that by not having an actual draft. We also won't get the drama of who the team will send up to announce the pick. That's another draft thing I love. We won't get to hear them. Which executive's 14-year-old kid is going to have to hold him, and he's like wearing his own jersey, and he's holding his kid's jersey.
Starting point is 00:10:41 Oh, yeah. Got to love that shit. We won't, like, we won't be able to congratulate the host city, because there won't be one, or congratulate the Stanley Cup winner because there may not be one. That's right. So I guess we'll still get like the shout out to the draft party back at like Gus's ribs and barbecue. Well, I mean, nobody will be in attendance, of course. Yeah, that's right.
Starting point is 00:11:07 So yeah, we're going to miss. A shout out to a virtual draft party. The one thing I'm going to miss the most is we, this is this is going to be tough because we won't have like the arena DJ playing completely inappropriate music on day two while all these kids are like watching their dreams be shattered. And like he's playing best day of my life when it's like round six. And then like guys are crying in the stands because they realize they're not going to be drafted.
Starting point is 00:11:34 The worst one ever was in the seventh round of, this was a few years ago. And he started playing a slide by the Google doll. Like, why don't you slide? Like, yeah, they're all sliding, buddy. Like, they know that's, uh, they're, they're aware. Angela Spacito's like, fuck off. Yeah. Now, my question is, if we do a virtual draft,
Starting point is 00:11:57 is there a way where Betman can kind of like break into the feed in a little like bubble and be like, we have a trade to announce, almost like the paperclip on Microsoft Word? Like, that's what I need. That's what I need. Is there to be a little bit of innovation? Moderating powers so he can just mute somebody else while they're in the middle of talking and announce a trade. How great would that be? Exactly.
Starting point is 00:12:20 Like, if the virtual draft was a Zoom meeting and it, like, Betman came on and immediately, like, you hear all these booze and then he just mutes them. Like, how funny would that be if he just... That's great. Mute. All right. Thanks. And just... Betman working out is around the horn fantasies.
Starting point is 00:12:36 Yeah, exactly. Who's the GM most likely to one? Okay, categories. GM most likely not know how to use Zoom. Rutherford? Oh, yeah. He's going to try to be pulling it up on his flip-pong. I mean, you go, he's calling in.
Starting point is 00:12:52 You go Rutherford or Poyle for the old guy, but don't sleep on Jim Benning. I could see Jim Benning gives off powerful, don't know how to mute my own microphone vibes. I could, I could see that. GM, most likely to forget his webcam on while he goes to take a piss. That might be Benning, that actually. No, I got, I got it. There's only one answer. Pierre Dorian.
Starting point is 00:13:17 Pierre Dorian, just go and. just go and take a big dump live and that'll be the first draft where everybody remembers number two okay there it is um some scuttle but an innuendo about the NHL trying to maybe mimic the NBA by holding neutral site playoffs in the sense of being in a controlled environment maybe in a place where there isn't the whole hell of a lot of coronavirus activity. The NBA going to a place that has a lot of it in Las Vegas, but, I mean, potentially. But this has been a thought of mine for a while because, you know, the simpler you make the logistics of a season restart, I think the more likely a restart is.
Starting point is 00:14:09 And if you're not going to have fans in the building, why the fuck do you have to be in different cities? So these guys can sleep in their own beds? It makes no sense at all. Plus, every time. Any player who's involved in the playoffs goes anywhere. They're at risk of getting infected, which means they're at risk of testing positive,
Starting point is 00:14:28 which means they're at risk of their entire team being quarantined, which wipes out your playoffs. So, I mean, I really think if we do see hockey come back, it's not only going to be a neutral site scenario, but it'll be like this Olympic Village idea where the players, like 16 teams,
Starting point is 00:14:48 will go in and they'll be basically quarantined and as your team's eliminated, okay, then you can go home. But until then, I just, I don't see how you do a two-month tournament taking the risk that six weeks in, somebody's going to test positive and you've got to put the whole thing on hold or scrap it again. Like I, I don't think people are, I've been maybe a little too pessimistic as far as saying that this isn't going to, they're not going to come back at all. But I think people are maybe not getting their heads around how weird and different it might have to be for them to get back. Yeah, it'll be a television product more than anything else, right? For a league that gets most of its revenue from the gate and not from TV,
Starting point is 00:15:32 which is why it is at least possible that I still think we could see a scenario where the NBA comes back and does its playoffs and the NHL doesn't. Oh, what are you going to say, Ryan? I was going to say, I think they should. shouldn't come back if that like even even under the idea of oh yeah we're all going to go to a big ranch with a hockey rink in Wyoming where there's nobody around for 300 miles all that shit and we're just going to set everybody up in hotels or whatever i you know like you said they they make most of the revenue in this league through the gate so the only way for them to
Starting point is 00:16:14 really make money on it on this is to, you know, get NBC to give them the money, right? And, you know. And NBC already did. Well, right. But like, you know, I don't know. Is NBC going to be like, we're kind of need some of that money back since you didn't have a last eighth of your season and, and, uh, oh, they're going to, they're going to, they're going to cheesecake factory them is what you're saying. You're just going to say, we're not, we're not going to pay your rent. Yeah. And so it, it really, you know, like, why put all the... Look, the San Jose Sharks already put everybody in... It's a crazy coincidence that the two teams that have tested positive for coronavirus
Starting point is 00:16:53 are also the ones that played back-to-back nights in San Jose after... But hold on, hold on. I completely agree with you that what they did was irresponsible, but I will... I said the same thing. I will put the caveat out there. They're also the two teams that use the visitor locker room at Staples Center after the jazz did. So, like, the possibility exists they could have gotten in L.A. Sure. Okay. But, you know, with that in mind. No, but I agree. I agree. It was irresponsible to play three games after the county was like,
Starting point is 00:17:21 don't play games. And so what, you know, like, there are more important things than getting these, whatever, $300 million that they might make otherwise back, right? And so the idea that they're going to do this for pennies on the dollar. and get everybody to, you know, maintain quarantine for weeks at a time and that kind of, I don't know. Just like at that point, I don't like to obviously say, hey, let's just not do hockey until fucking October. But I just can't imagine why you would do it. Is there a, is there a sort of a, a location you could use that you'd be a feel, you'd feel comfortable that could be isolated enough where they, they aren't being exposed and they could create sort of a hockey Olympic village type situation that also has a rink? I mean, where would that be?
Starting point is 00:18:22 I mean, I imagine it's somewhere in Canada, right? Like, like Saskatchewan or somewhere like that? There could be. I mean, I think it's not so much that you have to be in a location where, you know, where the infection rates are super low so much as it is, yeah, you've just got to keep everybody isolated. And that, yeah, I mean, my guess is there's probably, you could do it, I don't know, do we still have facilities in Salt Lake City, for example, like that, the, I'm assuming that isn't exactly like what was left behind from the Olympics, but usually with that sort of thing, something stays behind. Listen, what governor has this shit on lockdown? Cuomo, where do you go?
Starting point is 00:19:05 Fucking Lake Placid, baby. There it is. Yeah, New York seems like they're doing fantastic. So, uh, how about the hardy, the hard city where, how about the hard, the hearty, the heart center of the fucking virus? The Hardy compound in Carolina, Matt Hardy's compound in Carolina where they held wrestling matches. We could do that. That could be a possibility. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:19:24 It's an option. Yeah, no, New York City is a mess. That's the Blasio's fault. You know, Cuomo's on point. We all know that. Yeah, I'm just, you know, there's, there's, I, I think you would not, because, I mean, it's not like you need a great arena. Right. Right.
Starting point is 00:19:36 You need 200 by 85 decent facilities for the players and enough space to get cameras in there that'll make for a decent broadcast. That's it. I mean, you're not, it's not like you're looking at all the, you're nearing it down to all the rinks that hold 20,000 people. You don't need that. You don't need it, right. Yeah, I can't wait to hear every fucking, every shift about, you know, the ice quality because they've played 68 games on this, on this high school rink in the last two weeks. It's not great out there.
Starting point is 00:20:12 And also, it's the middle of August. Oh, okay. Sounds good. Yeah. Hey, to generate more revenue, make your fucking rink look like them European rinks and just put ads all over the ice. Who gives a shit? Just juice the revenue.
Starting point is 00:20:28 Sell a bunch of ads on the ice. On the players. Who cares? Do it one time. Make the players look like NASCAR drivers for one time. just to generate revenue. That's the thing I'm most concerned with here is fucking hockey-related revenue. Yep, for sure.
Starting point is 00:20:44 That's it. The sad part is that might be what a lot of the players are most concerned about because I think they're starting to realize how escrow is going to work this year. And it's going to be not good. And I think whenever you hear somebody say, yeah, we should finish the regular season, I don't think they're saying that because they're super concerned about the integrity of the draft lottery. like they understand that they need to bank as much as they can but it's uh i you know i'm at the point now where i obviously this year is is the big concern and and we all want to see the stanley
Starting point is 00:21:17 cup order we don't want to see another blank panel on the stanley cup but i'm i'm starting to worry about next year as far as not just whether they play or not but what that looks like and and i remember when this started i remember saying you know like you know this year's going to be chaos but My next year things will be back to normal, and I don't really think that anymore as far as just as far as the revenue. Like, how many corporate partners are you going to lose? How much is attendance going to go down? How many season ticket holders? Yeah.
Starting point is 00:21:47 A lot of season ticket holders, people aren't going to want to pay that. And a lot of people aren't going to want to go sit in a big, in a building, even if it's December. And it's all clear. And they've told us, you know, what, we're all good. There's going to be a lot of people who are going to be like, you know what? No, my idea of fun is not sitting around with 20,000 people anymore. I don't want to do that. So I'm, like, I'm at the point now where I'm starting to think, like, there's going to be long-term significant revenue impact.
Starting point is 00:22:14 And unfortunately, because we have a cap tied to revenue, revenue impact means roster impact. It means everything. So it's, it's going to, it's going to be rocky. They're going to, I mean, they didn't have to do this after 05, but they're going to have to figure out a way to get people back to the rink. on their dime, right? Like, season ticket holders, for the most part, a lot of them have put in their deposits. A lot of them are already, like, you know, dedicated for next year. Who knows how that's going to work?
Starting point is 00:22:46 I agree with you, though, on the distancing thing. And I've been thinking about a lot about this. Like, right now, the entire corporate world is trying to find ways to pitch their products to people that are scared, that want comfort, and that are stuck at home. And so that's why we talked about in the recent episode about all how all the commercials are like, during the troubles, we want to give you Burger King kind of bullshit. I think the next step after that, once we peak, once we start to come out of this, is how do we guarantee your safety? How do we make you feel safe coming back to our restaurant,
Starting point is 00:23:21 going back to our theme park, going back to the arena? And I wonder what that looks like. Like, is, I mean, does it get to the point where people's temperatures are being taken on the way into the game? Like, I don't know. But I don't think it's out of the realm of possibility that to ensure your business is still being patronized that they take some of those steps. Yeah. It's great. I mean, it's a possibility. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:23:44 And I don't know. It's a good question, but I don't know the answer to it. And it's, yeah, it's going to be, like I said, even a few weeks ago, I was thinking, you know what? Who knows what the summer looks like? But by the first week of October, things will be back to normal. and now for various reasons that that feels very optimistic. Yeah, potentially.
Starting point is 00:24:10 You asked what the players are most worried about, and we've obviously had a round of video conference interviews with NHL players, and I think the thing we can say with some certainty out of those interviews is the thing that they are most concerned about is Chukaraska's flatulence. which was the biggest news in hockey in the past week. No wonder this guy's looking to retire when his freaking contrast. We're all yelling at him about shit in his pants. To Zedano Chara blowing up Tukarask, blowing up, if you will,
Starting point is 00:24:47 Tukurask spot as a serial farder on the Bruins bus or plane. I guess it's probably a plane, not necessarily a bus. Too many chicken wings. Mm-hmm. It's nice to taras. to see the wings give somebody trouble in that division other than the HABs. It was good. I appreciated your dad joke.
Starting point is 00:25:11 I know that Tuka spoke about it and was whatever with it on a Boston radio show, but I was trying to put myself in his shoes and have the captain of your team tell the world that you have a flagellance problem. and I couldn't imagine what his phone looked like for the next five hours. I felt bad for him. And I also felt bad that at some point he's going to have to be on the ice with someone like Brendan Gallagher, who will now have this material at his fingertips for chirps. I think that's the other issue going forward for Tukkarask. These video interviews were pretty good. I mean, obviously the NHL is not.
Starting point is 00:26:00 not asking anything all that roundbreaking. Yeah. But I did appreciate the choice of background on some of these calls in the sense that some guys picked like the most bare wall in their house and other guys like Sidney Crosby did the interview in front of pictures of himself winning the Stanley Cup. Exactly what I would fucking do. Yeah. I don't know if he's ever been on the show before, but DJ Bean who works for,
Starting point is 00:26:30 Comcast Sportsnet here in Boston and used to cover the Bruins. He did like one of those things where, you know, same thing. Every reporter now, when they do a video hit from their house, they're like, oh, I'm in front of this big bookcase. Look how many books I read and stuff. And he just put up on his wall like a piece of cardboard he had written books on. He just wrote the word books. And I was like, yeah, that's the way to play it because everybody's just being. Yeah, we get it, guys.
Starting point is 00:27:01 You have a lot of books. What would you, what I was thinking about, like, what book would I put behind me if I had the bookcase thing? And if it didn't cost me my job, I figured it would be, like, just gobs and gobs of porno VHS tapes would be the thing that I would pop behind me. That's funny. But, like, no, if you're trying to look smart, you'd just be like, oh, I have Joyce's Ulysses behind me. I've been reading that. The freaking bell jar. And everybody's like, wow, this guy's really smart.
Starting point is 00:27:33 He gets it. Four bookcase shelves filled with mind comph. Would that be bad? Yeah, I feel like that would probably be not great. That might raise a couple of flags. Yeah. It might. Well, one in particular.
Starting point is 00:27:48 Okay. But I mean, yeah. I am interested in the curation of backgrounds and who's presenting what. I do think that most players at least put a little bit of thought into it, which I appreciate. Like, Brady Kachuk did it in front of like a Kachuk bookcase that had like a bunch of Keith's Winnipeg Jets shit on it, which is cool. I don't know. I appreciate the effort. Having been there, like, it's, I appreciate it.
Starting point is 00:28:20 Because I've been in that situation where like I'm going on like some online TV thing and the producers. like, hey, can you shift your camera like half an inch to the right? And I'm like, no, I cannot. Because then you will see what my house really looks like and not this very thin slice that I have cleaned and made look presentable. So no, this is what you got. My mom refuses to FaceTime her grandkids because she did it once and thought that she looked fat. And I'm like, do you understand how webcams work? Like, just angle that shit, man. I realize my mom's too old to remember MySpace. Like, just put that shit on the ceiling and look up at it.
Starting point is 00:29:02 Who gives a shit? Like, there are ways to get around this. You're telling your mom to do the duck lips thing. Yeah, okay. That's right. Mom, put a filter on. You'll look great. The other thing that I'm tired of, I mentioned this on Twitter last night, is the local news here in the Bay Area is doing this thing where there's one person inside the studio with incredible lighting and makeup, the best cameras, the telepromp.
Starting point is 00:29:26 the graphics, the whole thing. And then, like, her older male partner on the broadcast is in his rec room with old football helmets behind him, wearing a three-piece suit with horrible internet and terrible lighting, like reading script off his cell phone while he's on the webcam. We don't need to do this. Like, we could just have one person give the news. We don't have to have them both participate at all times to keep this fucking fantasy up. Just, it's okay.
Starting point is 00:29:55 We all understand If, you know, Jocko Johnson can't be on the fucking Channel 5 news for one night, it's okay. I'm with you. Yeah, exactly. They're doing that shit up there yet? Actually, every newscast looks like that in Canada all the time.
Starting point is 00:30:14 It's just one guy at his cottage. Yeah, it's just a blank background and like, yeah, that's, that's, that's the, that's Canadian television, man. Like, that's our primetime drama. It's just like two guys in front of a blank wall that has, like, a picture of a skyscraper window taped from that we printed off from the internet. That's what we got going. That makes sense. I do think that TSN's doing a pretty good job with their, like, webcam life.
Starting point is 00:30:44 Like, when you watch insider trading and Pierre and Frank and all them are in their little homes talking to, like, Gina Redder or whatever. Like, I think that actually looks pretty good. It's not too bad. So I do appreciate that. NHL player poll, NHLPA player poll came out. What struck you as odd. Anything? I mean, it was weird that they released the 2015 one because Carrie Price was rated as the best bulltender in the league.
Starting point is 00:31:16 Yeah. He wins in perpetuity because they all like him. They all feel bad for him because he's stuck in Montreal. all, and they remember him winning the gold medal. That's why he wins, right? Yes, because they don't know how to judge goaltending any better than much any of the rest of us do. That to me is the ultimate thing of like,
Starting point is 00:31:36 oh, I guess you know hockey better than this guy who played in the NHL. Fucking seems like I do. McDavid won best forward. He got the second year in a row. he got the largest percentage of any vote in winning his category. That's how many people think that he's the best forward. He is by far the best forward.
Starting point is 00:32:02 But if you need to win one game, he's not the guy that you want. Apparently win a face off either. Because he's not complete player. I read about that today, the fact that he's not a complete player. I don't really give a shit that he's not a complete player. Do your thing that you do best. It kind of reminds either of the Ovechkin argument. Like, oh, it doesn't play defense.
Starting point is 00:32:22 He's a fucking shit. Yeah. He's five goals a year, so I don't care. Complete player has always meant the player who is, whose ability in the offensive zone and the defensive zone are closest to each other. Right? Like, if you're, like, an A minus at both ends, then you're a complete player. If you're an A plus offensive player and, like, a B plus in the defensive zone, you're not a complete player, even though you are. It's, you've got to have that, like, Patrice Berger's.
Starting point is 00:32:52 on Seesaw perfection. You're not allowed to be a complete player until you're like 24, 25 years old. No, that's a fair point. In the piece I wrote, it actually took Crosby until 2015 to break into the top 10 for the Selke. So you're talking, or 2016, so you're talking like 11 years of his career before he got recognized for his defensive prowess. But I also think, and this is such an elementary measure of it, but I mean, I think faceoffs matter to a lot of guys. because Sid figured out how to do faceoffs after his first two years in the league, and he's been over 50% in 12 of those last 13 seasons. McDavid's never been above 50% yet as a face-off guy. So I'm sure that probably factors into it, too. But I don't know. Like, who gives his shit if he's not complete?
Starting point is 00:33:42 He fucking scores 130 season. I also think the quality of the team around you makes you go, oh, yeah, that's a complete player. That's the guy I want to win one game for me. You know, if McDavid is on the fucking Bruins, everybody's like, no, there's a complete player. That guy can win you a hockey game. Oh, okay. Yeah. But there have been only two players who have ever won the Selke with more than 100 points.
Starting point is 00:34:09 And that kind of gives you the sit, like, we're looking for you to come in at like 70, 80. Maybe we can do 90s, but let's not go crazy beyond that. Did Wayne win a Selkie? No. Was he one of them? No, of course not. He's never, the only two are Fedorov did it twice, and the Gilmore holds the record in 93, which was basically that was him getting the Hart Trophy runner up back then, because everybody
Starting point is 00:34:34 was like, all the season, Dougie, that was great how you resurrected the leaves, but Meryl Lemieux had 160 points and beat cancer, so here's, please take this consolation prize. I feel like Ryan O'Reilly kind of got that, like, consolation MVP, award too last year with the Selke. Victor had been won best defenseman over John Carlson and Roman Yossi, who probably is going to beat Carlson for the Norris. Got 9% of the vote for third place. Do we think he's going to win the
Starting point is 00:35:02 Norse? Dude, you have you have like half the PHWA writing for the athletic and they put Yossi over here. Yeah, but it was like 53 to 45%. Like it was a very close, well I mean it was it was a reasonably close close vote. So if you assume that the old-timer branch that tends to look at points is on Carlson's side,
Starting point is 00:35:26 I think that's going to be closer than... I don't know, man. It's hard to shake the all points, no defense rap that defensemen get when it comes to the Norris. Like, I feel like he's going to be the next Mike Green that we look back at the season and we're like, wow, what a fucking historic offensive explosion this guy had. Yeah, but Mike Green wasn't bad defensively. John Carlson actually is. Like, look at any, look at any of the on-ice, you know, percentages and that kind of thing.
Starting point is 00:35:55 He's not good defensively. And, like, or, you know, he's not good enough defensively to cover for the fact that, you know, they're, he's playing behind some guys who are also not good defensively. So. Right. But I think his offensive year is that good where you could, you, it may supersede it. Yeah, you get to be wrong about that. That's fine. If you want to make the argument that Yossi's the better all-around events from this year, that's fine.
Starting point is 00:36:22 Brian Allison's been... But okay, sure. Well, Brian Ellis's was hurt for like half the fucking year, though, wasn't he? Can we just also point out that Mike Green was great for a couple years, but he lost the Norris in those years to Duncan Keith and Zadano-Cherra? Like, I feel like that is going to hold up okay. I don't think 20 years from now people are going to be looking back going, I can't believe Mike Green... Yeah, like he probably should have won at least one of them. To those two Hall of Famers.
Starting point is 00:36:46 And yeah, like, it's like... all the times is like the third guy's lost to bob yore and it's like well he's a great defenseman too and everybody's like yeah but it's bobby or like what are you supposed to like in 2010 the top five was duncan keith mike green drew dowdy nick lidsstrom and chris pronger like yeah i don't know man i feel like he and and one of those years believe me i'm a big mike green defender but one of those years green also only played like 65 67 games something like that so yeah yeah that that also heard in that one year he had 31 goals The year he won, he had 31 goals, he probably should have won.
Starting point is 00:37:20 But again, like, like you said, I mean, it's like, it's like people that are like, good lord. I know. It's like, it's like people to say, well, Kujo never won a Vezana. Well, like, no shit. Like, did you see him he's up against for the entirety of his career? Yeah. Yeah. Price went best goalie again.
Starting point is 00:37:37 Like, it just, whatever. It's like default setting. I mean, though, but the guy's in the top four. I would say maybe, maybe Vassel. Lovsky deserved it this year. He, like, he was great. But the rest of them, Brobowski had an awful season.
Starting point is 00:37:55 Flurry had an awful season. Price was fine. But, okay, sure. Yeah. But again, it's reputation. Like there's, like, Connor Hallibuck's going to have to earn it for a few years before, before. You know what?
Starting point is 00:38:10 I'm looking at it. Not to go back to it, but all this Mike Green talk, do you realize, yeah, he had 31 goals. Kevin Hatcher had 30. four goals one year and didn't get a single first place vote for the Norris. Wow. He finished right. I mean, it was like 93, so like that was in the numbers were crazy.
Starting point is 00:38:27 But he lost Achilles, Bork, and Larry Murphy. So that's three Hall of Famers. Yeah, what are you going to do? Right. But still, the fact that back then you could score 34 goals as a defenseman and like five voters were like, I'll throw you a second place. He showed up on seven ballots that year. Like, holy smokes.
Starting point is 00:38:46 That's fucked up I'm happy that it didn't put Jonathan quick Could be quite candid with you You know I just I'm happy we're past that Those days are gone Greg That's his ship is sailed If you have to one game Who's the one player you'd want on your team
Starting point is 00:39:06 At any position Crosby of course wins McDavid second McKinnon is third Which I found really interesting Because McKinnon really hasn't won anything yet you know and and everybody else is sort of like has their i mean mac david's just you know a freak but like crosbie and bergeron are the other two guys in the top four i found that to be kind of interesting any any position you've figured there'd be a defenseman that sneaks in somewhere yeah or or i guess a goalie
Starting point is 00:39:30 if there if there was one that stood out but i do i'd find this you're right i mean mckinan i love mckinin but it is weird to me that somebody would pick him over mcdivit or crosbie but he got four percent of the vote so that could literally just be like the avalanche players voting for the guy. You know, Crosby probably voted for McKinnon because he's the camp vote for himself. And yeah, that's really. But it is weird. Like, it's weird that McDavid is overwhelmingly the best forward.
Starting point is 00:39:57 But if you've got one game to win, Crosby pretty significantly beats him. Like, it would seem like those would be measuring kind of the same thing. But I guess, I guess, I guess not. McDavid's had one playoff appearance, like, as far as, like, a season in which he made the playoffs. And Crosby has two con smiths and a few gold medals and fucking all that other shit going on too. So it's just, I think it's more proof of concept than anything. Right.
Starting point is 00:40:25 But Connor McDavid won a playoff round with the Edmonton Oilers. Right. That's like winning three Stanley Cups. Yeah. That's like running three Stanley Cups. You're completely right. The two categories that probably got the most attention out of this player's poll. Brad Marchand wins best trash talker and worst trash talker.
Starting point is 00:40:42 And second place in both categories. Yep. It did. It's the second year to happen. And this year, Drew Dowdy was also second place where best trash talker and worst trash talker. Is this just players not understanding what worst trash talker is supposed to mean? Or is it like, Marchand deals in such volume that he gets to win both categories? You miss 100% of the shots you don't take, right?
Starting point is 00:41:06 You can't. Trash talk should not have like a really high success percentage. You're not opening yourself up enough and trying enough things. But it's also like, yeah, like if somebody chirps me in a way that really infuriates me, is that good trash talking or is that bad trash talking? Like if he's out there talking about my family or something, does that make him the best or the worst or is it the same thing? Right. Worse would be like they're trying to shit talk you and you don't care. Like that to me would be the worst trash talk.
Starting point is 00:41:37 Right. Exactly. Yeah. Worse would be like something like he's throwing like some lame joking. catch you from playing. You're like, dude, get it. But we should also point out. The worst trash talk, though,
Starting point is 00:41:47 Marciaan wins with 10%. The other votes was 70%. I would love to see that list because you know it's just a long list of guys getting one vote. It's 700 people. It's like half the fucking league. I want to know, like, that's the story I want to read. Is that list and like the story behind it of like,
Starting point is 00:42:04 what did he, what did this guy say to you one time that has stuck with you for years that like you always put his name down? is the worst trash talker. Exactly. I was surprised at the lack of Kachukes on this. I don't know if that's... I get trash talk is different than agitation. Yeah, being an asshole.
Starting point is 00:42:21 But I would have thought, yeah. But there's overlap, so I don't know. That's why I enjoyed the eight votes that Kachuk and Dowdy got for best bromance in the league. Yes, yeah. That's a perverse fucking vote right there. I do enjoy that. Yeah. There you go.
Starting point is 00:42:38 Just because you know that's going to annoy the crap out of those two guys. that there's like eight people out there who are like, ah, it's all K-fabe and... Yeah, you guys are forever linked together. Trash talk, man. Just fucking... It's a beautiful thing in hockey.
Starting point is 00:42:53 Had that shit ringing in your ears. Speaking of your ears, today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Ray Kahn. Pretty good. That was good. Yeah, that's solid. Look around you. It's a wireless world
Starting point is 00:43:05 and everyone needs a great pair of wireless earbuds before you go dropping hundreds of dollars because you ain't want to be doing that now. on a pair of earbuds, you want to check out the wireless earbuds from Raycon. You already know that Raycon earbuds started about half the price of other premium wireless earbuds in the market. The newest model, the everyday E25 earbuds, are their best ones yet with six hours of playtime, seamless Bluetooth pricing, more base and a more compact design that gives you a nice,
Starting point is 00:43:34 noise-isolating fit. Again, we've talked about these earbuds on this show before. I have a pair. I love them. I love them more than any other wireless headphones at earbuds I've ever had in my life. I've unfortunately had to go running a lot during this because they closed the gym in my apartment building, which I thought was going to stay open in a sneaky clandestine way, but not to be. I hate running.
Starting point is 00:43:59 It's my least favorite way to work out. But you know what? These earbuds have made it a lot more tolerable because they ain't falling out my ears. And I hate when earbuds fall out of my ears. They sent me some, and I can tell you that they are getting the thumbs up from my wife who immediately stole them and has been using them for weeks. They're tremendous, and they're super comfortable, perfect for on-to-go listening, perfect for taking phone calls. And you know what? Here's the thing you've got to know most of all.
Starting point is 00:44:28 The company was co-founded by Ray J. Hence Raycon. And celebrities like Cardi B and Snoop Dog are also obsessed with their racons. Here's the deal. You get the latest and greatest from Raycon and you get 15% off your odd order at buy Raycon.com slash puck. Buy Raycon, all one word, dot com slash puck for 15% off Raycon wireless earbuds. Look, we all know what's going on.
Starting point is 00:44:56 We're all stuck at home. If you have shitty headphones or shitty earbuds, this is a affordable, solid way to upgrade during all this mess. And again, if you're someone that's trying to figure out your way to work out and needs to find a good pair of earbuds,
Starting point is 00:45:13 they ain't going to fall out your head, very much, very much, very much, endorse the everyday E25 earbuds from Racon. Buy Racon.com slash puck for 15% off Racon wireless earbuds.
Starting point is 00:45:25 All right. So the Athletic gave us something to chew on this week, which was the top 100 sports movies of all time. a clicker, as they say in the business.
Starting point is 00:45:39 Is that what we say in the business? I mean, you know, I say fake news in the business, but other people say a clicker, I think. Now, is clicker, is that not to be confused with clickbait, which is when you write anything that anyone might be interested in. Or disagree with, and tweet it out. And people are like, yeah, this tweet is clickbait. It's a tweet, dude. I tweeted out a link to that McDavid. column that I was talking about earlier before he did the show.
Starting point is 00:46:08 And somebody responded with, quote, please, please click to my website, end quote. I'm like, how the fuck do you think links work? Like, what is, yeah, you know, that guy just correctly described a process that you were trying to encourage. Good job. It's like, does that happen every time he goes on Google? Oh, look at all these. Please click to my website. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:46:33 Well, at least, at least he got that. he wasn't one of the people who thinks that, like, when you tweet out, like, who are the 10 best players to ever that it's like an invitation for them to just guess? Yeah. It's like, no, dude, you're supposed to click the link. And then, you know, like Wayne Gretzky question mark. Yeah. Yeah, he's on there. You got it.
Starting point is 00:46:50 But you're supposed to. Now, Greg, does that make him, the fact that you're mad about it hours later, does that make him a good or bad trash talker? I think it makes him a good trash talker because willful ignorance. is a very easy path to infuriating me, and probably more than just me. So I'll put him down as... He's number two in good and number four in bad on my rankings. So the best sports movie of all time was Rocky. Did I remember that correctly?
Starting point is 00:47:25 You did, but they are wrong. Yes. I mean, it's not even... Is it even the second best boxing movie? To give you guys an idea, the athletic, we ranked 100 movies, and I think Ryan said he disagrees with like up to five or six of them. So it's going to be. Yeah, I would say a lot of the list was pretty good. But there were some really baffling ones.
Starting point is 00:47:52 And when you start off with Rocky number one over raging bull, one of maybe the 10 greatest American films of all time, it's odd if nothing else. The top The top ten movies of all time Rocky, number one, then in descending order, Raging Bull, Hoop Dreams, which is one of the better picks that they've made in the whole list.
Starting point is 00:48:18 Bull Durham, fine. No. And then we get to fucking miracle at number five. I, come on. Outrageous. Not even the best hockey movie. And the cinematography is great.
Starting point is 00:48:33 Like, no doubt. The hockey scenes in Miracle are probably the best presentation of hockey we've ever seen. And Kurt Russell should have gotten an Oscar nomination for playing Herb Brooks. But the problem with the movie is that it's basically like a one-man show. And it's not a single. It's very cookie cutter. Like the thing with that movie is it takes two things I really like, which is college hockey and the Soviet Union and puts them together. and I am dissatisfied with the result.
Starting point is 00:49:07 So, yeah, if they lost you with that point, that's what I'm saying, yeah. I just think that no other character in the movie is that fleshed out, like not Patricia Clarkson's, not like fucking Jim Craig. Again, Kurt Russell's brilliant, and the movie looks great, but I, I, one, I think Slaps, shot superior. I think you can make the argument that other hockey movies like the Mighty Ducks and Goon are actually something I would revisit before Miracle. The real thing, the real thing to say about Miracle is it is, because it's a Disney movie, it is very much in the vein of every other Disney, like, inspirational sports movie.
Starting point is 00:49:53 Underdogs overcoming the, yeah. It's very cookie cutter with, again, a phenomenal central performance that is, I think, probably the only reason it's really remembered even outside of the hockey world. Blasphemous as it is, you could make the argument that the movie about the Soviets, Red Army, is a better flick than Miracle. Oh, 100. It definitely is. That's one of the great sports documentaries of all time, let alone hockey.
Starting point is 00:50:21 Number six is the Big Lobowski, and I'll allow it. I think that's definitely a sports movie. Bowling plays such a central role in that movie. I don't think I've ever considered it to be a sports movie before. this list, so I give the athletic credit for opening my eyes to that fact. Would you agree with that? Bit of a stretch. There's bowling.
Starting point is 00:50:40 I mean, there's a fantasy sequence with bowling. A lot of the plot is driven by the being at the bowling alley. I'm not telling you. I'm telling the audience that may be skeptical about the idea of Big Lobowski being a sports movie. But I think it might be. I dig it. if so I mean why not put it in the top 10 because it's fucking tremendous breaking away number seven
Starting point is 00:51:09 number eight a TV show called OJ Made in America that won the Oscar for Best Documentary Feature in 2016 I think that's what makes it a film I would say the fact that it was like theatrically released and that kind of thing I realize I'm saying this as an ESPN employee and I know it's blasphemy because it is our Oscar and we should be very proud of that achievement. And if the Academy does deem it to be a film, it is a film. But I feel like a film should be something where you can sit in a theater in one sitting
Starting point is 00:51:44 and watch it. And this movie, air quotes, air quotes that are creating gusts of wind like the mighty Mothra has a runtime of seven hours and 47 minutes. Come on. I sit in in a theater for that. Six minutes longer than like every Marvel movie from the last few years. Yeah, no kidding. Like, it's, I said, I said, I said when this won the Oscar that the next season of Thrones should just be released in one theater for the entire day. Didn't, didn't they do that?
Starting point is 00:52:18 Like, it, when we say it came out in a theater, like it was like one theater in L.A. They showed it in a theater, I think, in December 31st or something. In New York and L.A., yeah, they played it like during one day to make it eligible. When we were Kings, number eight. That's fine. That's a great documentary. And then this begins our exercise for the rest of the list, which is too high, too low. I'm going to give you some movies that made the list.
Starting point is 00:52:46 You tell me, too high, too low, or just right? We'll throw just right in there, too. Number 10, 1989's Major League, Charlie Sheen baseball comedy. Too high or too low or just right? it's too hot i mean it's good it's good it's very funny and stuff like that but it's a little too high 10 you said 10 yeah 10 yeah see i i i'm not good for the too high too low because i haven't seen most of these movies i love major league and i think there is i think i'm i'm happy to see where it is because i i the genre of just like goofy comedy like comedy for the sake of
Starting point is 00:53:26 comedy, not even something where it's like, yeah, but it's also a good movie and it's funny. Like, it's just dumb and funny, and that's all it is, is a genre that doesn't get enough respect. So I was actually happy to see Major League up that high. I'm going to say it's just right. I agree. Like, it's ahead of Caddyshack, which it can't be. Because Caddyshack is a movie that, have you watched that recently? There are huge stretches of it that do not hold up at all.
Starting point is 00:53:54 They don't hold up, but they held up at the genre. the time, though. It's like saying Blazing Saddles can't be considered one of the best comedies of all time. Oh, I mean, because it doesn't hold up. Yeah, well. Of its time. It's up its time. Then you go, oh, how green was my valley?
Starting point is 00:54:10 It beat Citizen Kane, so it must be fucking awesome. It's like, no, it's not very good at all. Birth of a nation was of its time. Major League, I agree with Sean. Like, I think in reconsidering major league, it probably is the best sports comedy since Caddyshack. And like Caddyshack, one, gave us a plethora of things that are still shorthand for the movie in pop culture parlance. Like, very bad to drink Joe Boo's Rum, Willie Mays Hayes, all that shit. Playing Wild Thing when the reliefer comes out.
Starting point is 00:54:50 Like, like, there's a lot of stuff for that movie that I think is still. kind of circling pop culture. And then also like Caddyshack, horrendous sequels. It's fucking terrible. Don't even speak about them sequels. This is true of most sports movies. Yeah, like Slapshot as well. Yeah, I think about it.
Starting point is 00:55:06 Rocky. I think 10 is too high, but I would say that Major League is without question top 20. Yeah, I would agree with that. I would agree with that. Hoosier is at number 15, 1986 Gene Hackman. I feel like this is probably too high in the sense that I think when it came out, I remember it being lauded as this amazing sports movie, much like Miracle, amazing central performance.
Starting point is 00:55:34 I feel like there's been better sports movies since 86, though, that have kind of pushed this down the ladder a little bit. Yeah, I actually saw this, but I saw it like when it came out or maybe saw it on like video when I was a few years after and I've never gone back to it. So I remember really enjoying this movie and having it be like a personal favorite. But I wonder if I went back
Starting point is 00:55:59 if I still feel the same way. I think it's the same thing as Miracle where damn, Gene Hackman is so fucking good at this movie. He's unbelievable. And Dennis Hopper's awesome in it too. Yep, he definitely is. And so like there are good,
Starting point is 00:56:14 there are good central performances, but in the end it is like a pretty standard like underdog sports movie. And it's good. It's a good movie. I would say it's a scosh too high. I would probably have it in the top 30,
Starting point is 00:56:28 but maybe not 20th. Also, a bunch of white guys playing basketball for two hours. I mean, come on. Who needs that? Number 25, Moneyball, 2011. Way too low. Money ball upon rewatch might be top,
Starting point is 00:56:44 might be circling around top 10 for me, as far as sports. movies go. It's so fucking good. I'd say it feels about right. The thing that I would generally say is this list did not give enough love to sports documentaries.
Starting point is 00:57:00 There are a few in the top ten, but I think the problem with a lot of sports movies is, again, like, it's just like, oh, they're really overcoming some odds here. You believe this shit? You know, like, and you can manufacture all kinds of
Starting point is 00:57:15 storylines like that. But when, when you tell the actual stories of, of, you know, the thrill in Manila. Or no, that's not what when we were kings about. That's the Rumble in the Jungle. Rumble in the Jungle, yeah. Or the Red Army team. But are you saying that the drama in Moneyball was sort of manufactured a little bit
Starting point is 00:57:35 as far as like the A is going on that streak and stuff? Because I just love, I love the movie because it takes us into places in the sports world we haven't explored before. What I, And Pitts great. Like, Pitts should have won the Oscar that year. He is really good. He is really good in it. But what I would say is, I think this movie took the wrong lessons from the source material where they were like, oh, look at how great this big streak is that got us back into it.
Starting point is 00:58:02 And it's like, yeah, but like, they should have had a scene where Pitt's like, it doesn't fucking matter that we won 25 games in a row or whatever it is. It matters that, like, we. It's the friends you made along the way. Well, no, it's the process. It's all about the process. It's like, you know, if I don't know what the, what the baseball equivalent of this is. But like, it's like saying, oh, look how good the Islanders are because they're 40-game PDO. You know what I mean?
Starting point is 00:58:29 And the whole point of the book is it's about the process of finding these guys who can get you to a point where you're consistently winning 100 games. And then they're like, oh, we actually, this one season we needed to win 20 straight games to get there. Yeah. I just want to believe that every trade made is, is like in the movie where it's like him working two different phones and. That's right. And playing one guy off another guy. Like, I want to, I don't know if that's the case. I assume it is because it was in the book.
Starting point is 00:59:01 But like, I'd be fucking wonderful if that's how trades happen. I don't think it is anymore. Right? Like, I think it could work that way because Brad Pitt would be like, oh, here's a guy with a 420 OBP, but he's only hitting two. 60 or whatever. And he could say, ah, I don't know if I really want that guy. And the guy's like, oh, well, let me come back to you on, you know, that kind of thing. But everybody's that smart now.
Starting point is 00:59:25 So maybe it doesn't really work that way anymore. What are you going to say, Sean? I was just, I did see Moneyball. And I remember going in with like very modest expectations and being just blown away by how much I enjoy that. Yeah, that was just. And like, like really good and really funny in a lot of spots, even though it's not a comedy. Like that that was, that's, that's what really surprised me.
Starting point is 00:59:48 Number 28, Creed. I feel like that's about right for Creed. Definitely top 30 of all time. I have a, I have a, the thing about Creed is that it's entirely dependent on your feelings about Rocky for the most part. So it's sort of dependent on another movie to be as effective as it is. But I really loved it. Right. I think on some level, it's the, it's the empire argument.
Starting point is 01:00:14 right, where it's like you cannot have Empire Strikes Back without a new hope. And so to say, oh, this is the better Star Wars movie, which I think it is the better Star Wars movie, but I really do have time for the argument of there are like no real stakes established at the beginning of Empire that you couldn't, like you couldn't see Empire and have that be the first Star Wars movie and know what the fuck's going on. And it's kind of the same thing with Creed and Rocky. But I would disagree because I don't really like Rocky. And I think Creed is awesome. Yeah, Creed was fantastic. If you had told me before that movie about the scene where they're like riding down the street and the music comes up,
Starting point is 01:01:05 if you would describe that scene to me beforehand, my eyes would have rolled so far into the back of my head with like, give me a break. Like how cliche. When that scene happened in the movie, I was 100% all in. Like I was absolutely like, like, yeah, let's go. When that music hit, I was, yeah, that was another one. This is a theme with me is I get in trouble when I go into movies with super high expectations. And Creed I had heard was good. But I thought I didn't think it would be my sort of movie.
Starting point is 01:01:35 And it was phenomenal. Yeah, when he, in that last fight, when he comes out of the corner and the rocky theme starts, I was like, knock that motherfucker out, let's go. Yep. And to be quite candid, man, like, like, Stallone was great. He was really good, and it. He played his age.
Starting point is 01:01:52 He knew what he had to give to the film. I really thought that, as much as Michael B. Jordan owned the fucking room, like, I felt like Stallone was sort of the glue to that, that flick and did a really, really good job. That's why the original Rocky works and the other sevens. That's right. The original Rocky works because it's Stallone going, I'm a stupid idiot. I'm a dumb guy. I can only do this one thing.
Starting point is 01:02:20 And that's the whole movie hinges on like him talking to his turtles cuff and link for 45 minutes, right? And you go, oh, I get it. Like, I buy that this guy is this desperate and this, like, because he just has nothing else going on in his life. Like, this all checks out for me. Right. And then the rest of them. we're like, oh, Rocky actually, like, there's a scene where Rocky cures cancer and, you know, he has a robot butler and all this. And it's like, no, this isn't, this isn't what this movie franchise should be about, but it made Stallone a bunch of money.
Starting point is 01:02:53 So, of course, he, like, that way about it. And one of them in Oscar, so. He's training Tommy Morrison, like all these things. Number 38 is fighting with my family. Sean, did you see fighting with my family? I did not, no. Ryan, this clearly is way too high for fighting with my family. Oh, yeah.
Starting point is 01:03:10 A delightful film, no doubt. It's got a real spirit to it. Stephen Merchant, who you may know as a partner with Ricky Treveiz on extras and The Office and things like that, directed it. And it's really good. You also wrote it, I think. Yeah. It's an entertaining family film about Page's Journey in WWBE. But I think part of the problem with this list and other lists.
Starting point is 01:03:40 and other lists that deal in genre, is that if you're going to take a movie about, say, like professional wrestling, that's a family comedy, that's just kind of all right, and make that number 38, and then you put beyond the mat way down at like 96 or wherever the fuck it is, you can't be doing that. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:03:59 Like, that goes, that goes back to the, the list's bias against documentaries. Right. Um, where it, where they're saying like a narrative story is better than documentary,
Starting point is 01:04:09 99.9% of the time, basically. And I, thoroughly, like, I don't know that they've ever made a good narrative movie about professional wrestling. Not the wrestler? Oh, you're right. I completely forgot about the wrestler. Yeah.
Starting point is 01:04:23 The wrestler is the fucking gold standard. Where was that on the list? I think that was higher. It was right before Creed, I think, when I was looking at it. No, that checks out for me. That is a fucking masterpiece. And again, a phenomenal central point. performance. Darren Aronofsky, like, really clearly understood the wrestling business in a way that
Starting point is 01:04:45 a lot of these films kind of don't. And so, like, that, that movie's awesome. But, yeah, I mean, fighting with my family, like, beyond the mat, but also, like, hitman heart wrestling with shadows, not on the list. It's incredible. It's so good. Um, there are, there are a few. That, that holds up well, but when that movie first came out and, like, you'd never seen these sort of behind the scenes. Like, it was unbelievable. No, it's like a super important movie. Oh, it's the only reason we actually know what happened in Montreal.
Starting point is 01:05:17 Like, that's, if it wasn't for that, we would still be hearing, like, the Vince McMahon version. And the fact that the most controversial thing that's ever happened in wrestling history happened when the guy getting screwed over. Contractually had a documentary crew with him is, uh, is insane. Yeah. Amazing. I just realized no holds barred. make this list. Yeah, that's fine. But, by the way, this, this movie was obviously not one of the top 100 sports movies,
Starting point is 01:05:46 but I'll just throw it out, because you mentioned Stephen Merchant, and obviously fighting with my family was, was the rock producing it. We recently, just as a family, watched Tooth Fairy. Oh, yeah. Surprisingly good movie. I thought that was going to be awful. He's very charming in it. He's really charming in that movie. I thought that was going to be terrible, and it was actually, yeah, I've just, I'm throwing that out there if you're like, like me, you've got like the kids and you're looking for like a family-ish movie. Not, not bad. Are you going to visit The Tooth Fairy 2 with Larry the Cable Guy or do you think
Starting point is 01:06:17 it'll just keep it at the rest? Is that a real thing? Oh, is it? Oh, my God. Yeah, it's, I wonder if that will be as good. Slapsot too, the Tooth Fairy. A couple more. Jeremy, Jerry McGuire was number 42.
Starting point is 01:06:32 Too high, too low, just right. Too high. I don't think that's a that's a late 90s movie that I don't think holds up and there's a lot of them But that that's one where it's like there are aspects of it that are good and Yeah, there's a lot it you know all the shit about like you complete me who's coming with me like Show me the money that all still lingers. So on some level like they tapped into something with all that But I don't I think that movie largely is forgettable I
Starting point is 01:07:04 Yeah I enjoyed it. it well enough, but like the Pat and Oswald bit about watching that with his brother in the movie theater is kind of like, kind of destroyed that movie for me. And it's, I gotta revisit that. Definitely. I don't know that either. Oh, yeah. You gotta seek it out.
Starting point is 01:07:22 I won't give it away. It's the South Park episode about family guy, I guess, is what you compare it to her. It's like, oh, yeah, I guess that is how every fucking joke on that show works. Okay. The manatees. Yeah, absolutely. I would say, I would say just not right. I agree with you.
Starting point is 01:07:36 I think that there are maybe like three or four scenes that are as good as anything in a sports movie. And then there's just kind of a lot of there in that movie. So I would agree with that. Yeah. And I also, I remember seeing it and I was one of those people where, and this could happen easier back of the day. But like, I went in thinking, like, I'm going to watch a movie about football. And it's like 10% about football and 90% romantic comedy. And I was like, oh, they got me.
Starting point is 01:08:02 They tricked me. That's right. Bait and Switch. Yep. Uh, kingpin at number 54, too high, too low, just right. That sounds about right. Maybe a little one or two spots in either direction. I wouldn't mind about it.
Starting point is 01:08:16 But yeah, it's perfectly funny. I think you could throw it into top 50 and I'd be all right. Like the Bill Murray shit in that movie with the comb over and the, every Bill Murray thing that happens in that movie is incredible. And, uh, and the entire sort of fleshing out of the competitive bowling scene was also really memorable in that flick. I like it. I don't like the part where his, uh, he has to go down in his landlady. Um, not a fan of that. I got to be honest. I do not remember any real parts of that movie apart from. Yeah, I'm not trying to, I'm not trying to Jamie Bennett here. I'm just saying
Starting point is 01:08:52 that that part is kind of gross, like intentionally gross, like Fairleigh Brothers gross. Um, and finally, number 73, another comedy. And this is, I feel like this is way low on this list. Taladega Nights at number 73, the Ballad of Ricky Bobby. Yeah, it's good. It's really good. Did not see it. I feel like that you never saw Talladega Nights? I did not.
Starting point is 01:09:15 That's a revisit for you. I mean, I would say of that era of Will Ferrell comedies, it's like maybe solidly in the middle of the pack with, you know, like Anker Man and Stepbrothers and that kind of thing. Like those are all definitively better movies, I think. But yeah, it's good. It's good. Yeah. Yeah. I mean, you saw Anchorman.
Starting point is 01:09:34 Yeah? I did, yes. Okay. There you go. So it's that vibe. I had to see Anchorman so that I could understand every conversation that happened on the internet for the 15 years and counting since. I literally there, I saw a tweet the other day that was like, we got to be thankful for memes because before memes came along, like, funny stuff was just 15 guys sitting in a circle and loudly quoting movies at each other. And that's true. That's 100% accurate. Yeah. Right.
Starting point is 01:10:09 All right. Well, there you go. Very good list. My two issues, first of all, young blood, not high enough. And I hate when people do this, when you do like put all this work in a big long list and then people are like, what, know this? And you're like, no, it's not on that. Like, look at the list, dummy. Like, if it's not on there, it's not on there.
Starting point is 01:10:27 But absolutely inexcusable to leave off any given Sunday from this list. Is that not on the list? Did not make the top 100? Wow. Did the replacements make it? Because that's... No. It did not.
Starting point is 01:10:44 Did Last Boy Scout make it? Which one? Last Boy Scout? The one with Damon Wayne? I'm going to assume no. No. Not only did Last Boy Scout not make it. It's not even mentioned anywhere in the 9,000 comments from people angry that we left
Starting point is 01:10:57 things off the list. The one that got left off, we were talking about just earlier before the show was bring it on, which I thought should be on the list. But they covered a lot of ground here. And they nailed a lot of stuff. That's fine. And also, they made the best decision of all, which was putting Space Jam at 89 because Space Jam fucking sucks. Save your memes. Wow. It's not a good movie.
Starting point is 01:11:21 All right. That was Greg, everyone. Talk to Greg. Yeah, thank you. The one that seems to have generated the most anger that I've seen is that we had Rudy in, like, the 70s. and I think it's the sort of movie where if you like Rudy, you think it's, yeah, exactly. You think it's one of the greatest movies of all time or you're like, whatever, but 70, 70 feels wrong to everybody. Oh, wait, who got the Greg Wyshinsky on the power and influence list number 100?
Starting point is 01:11:50 Let's see here. Greg Wischinski, actually. That was. Oh, there it is. Pride of the Yankees. Which, 1944, all right. That is a movie where I guarantee that. that got voted on because four people have seen it.
Starting point is 01:12:05 And the rest were like, I heard that's good. And it's about the sad thing that happened. Is that right? Yeah, okay, great. Also, it's okay to keep KFabe with these lists a little bit. Like, don't put an actual good movie at number 100. That's where, like, Air Bud should go. But this is, this was a, like, there was a whole process in voting and it was based on the
Starting point is 01:12:23 night. It wasn't like, somebody could sit down and be like, hey, let's finish with a good. And which also means it's not one of those top 100s that you see all the time where you can clearly tell where they made the list and then went in and intentionally moved a few things just to make people mad where they're like, yeah, okay, let's put, we'll put sweet child to mind 14th just so that people flip out. And it's like, oh, okay, yeah, we didn't, we didn't get a chance to do that. But I'm just looking to see, because they had the rotten tomato scores. I'm trying to find the worst score. It might be young blood out of all of them,
Starting point is 01:12:56 which is, which is, what, just to let, to give some praise to this list, I did really like the fact the big fan made the list. Oh, did it? At 67. Yeah. The Patton Oswald movie where he's a sports talk radio caller. It's, I mean, I don't know if it necessarily sticks the landing in a satisfactory way, but getting there is great. Like, he captures that mania of sports talk radio really, really well.
Starting point is 01:13:20 I thought that was very happy to see that make the list. You know a movie was too low on the list? What's that? There was a little film called Uncut Gems. Yeah. It was in the 50s. It was in the 50s. Am I right about that?
Starting point is 01:13:34 It was number 50. One spot ahead of rounders. Which brings me to my ultimate point about this list is that if a movie about poker is a sports movie, motherfucker, I am not arguing that poker is not. I am not arguing that poker is not a sport. poker can be a sport, that's fine. Lord knows they showed Texas Holden more than the NHL back in the two decades ago. Probably did better ratings too. But, well, where's that bar?
Starting point is 01:14:12 But video games right now are considered to be a sport, an e-sport as it were. King of Kong, one of the best documentaries ever made, in my opinion, should be on the list. Make that your number 100. King of Kong, man. I might revisit that during quarantine. I think that's a flick I haven't seen. Just for the record, it's great.
Starting point is 01:14:31 It's so good. I did scroll through. You want to know what the worst rated movie on Rotten Tomatoes of everything that was on this list? To bring it back to hockey. The Mighty Ducks, 23% fresh. Wow, really? Which is correct, by the way. That's not a good movie.
Starting point is 01:14:45 It's a movie for children. And you liked it because you saw it when you were a child. And that's it. I didn't see it until I watched it with Lozo. And I got to tell you, it's not a great movie. Not good. Tremendous central performance by Josh Jackson, but not a good movie. Basil McCrae was excellent.
Starting point is 01:15:03 Other than that. That's what McRae was excellent. That should be on the back of the VHS box. Yeah, it should be. The athletic dash. All right, Sean's got a quizeroo to close out this episode. I do. As I look for it.
Starting point is 01:15:23 All right. Oh, God. Here we go. It's a hockey quiz. Sorry to disappoint you. And it's a pretty simple concept. It's a new format I call, What team does he play for?
Starting point is 01:15:37 And the way this is going to work is I'm going to give you a season And I'm going to give you two teams that are playing a game during that season. And then I'm going to name a player and ask you which of those two teams that player plays for in that season. And with the one caveat that none of these players switch teams in the middle of the season. Like there's none of this. You don't have to know when during the season the game was played. It's just during this, what team did he play for? And as always, we'll start off with a few practice swings.
Starting point is 01:16:10 Who wants to go first? Five rounds. Five rounds. No, this counts, but we're going to let you guys kind of warm up, get the concept. Well, I haven't done a quiz in a while, so I assume that Ryan won the most recent one. So go ahead, buddy. You go first. Or wait, you could kick or receive.
Starting point is 01:16:29 I'll kick. Okay, so I'll go first. Go ahead, Sean. Hit me with who did this guy play for. Greg, the year is, or the season, I guess, is 2010, 2011, and the Bruins are playing the Maple Leafs. Greg, who does Phil Kessel play for? In 2010-11, he plays for the Bruins. That's incorrect.
Starting point is 01:16:57 Yeah, no, because he didn't win a cup. Yeah, he was traded to the Leafs in 2009. Oh, that's right. They won the Cup in 2011, right? He was in year two of his Maple Leaf experience. I was basing my answer around when Sagan joined the team, and then I just, I forgot when they won the Cup. In fairness to you, Greg, he was probably matched up against the Dano Chara,
Starting point is 01:17:18 so you probably didn't notice him in this game at all. Didn't see him very much. He was in his pocket the whole game, yeah. Okay. So Greg missing the easy one is kind of gives us a sense of where this is going to go. but Ryan. It's 2015-16, and the Oilers are playing the Devils. Who does Taylor Hall play for?
Starting point is 01:17:38 15-16. He plays for the... He plays for the Oilers still. Correct. He does. He plays. He was traded into... It was 2016 was the off-season was when we got those crazy games.
Starting point is 01:17:59 So 1-0 for Ryan. Greg, back to you. Might have to start cheating. Yeah. Okay. It's 2013-14, and the senators are playing the Dallas Stars. Who does Jason Spetsa play for? 2013-14, you said?
Starting point is 01:18:22 Spetsa... At that point, I think Spetsa... Spetsza plays for Dallas. That was his final year in Ottawa. Yeah, that's not it right. Oh, well, of course it sounded right to you. It was wrong. I'm three for three right now.
Starting point is 01:18:45 Here we go. Ryan, it's 2009, 2010. Okay. And the Wilder playing the Sharks. Who does Brent Burns play for? Wild. I believe that is correct. I think it was 2011 when that trade went down. It's a fucking layup.
Starting point is 01:19:05 It's like when did Kessel play for the Bruins? All right. You know, I put all this work into five rounds. We might be done after three. This is... How's it? Greg is facing elimination. And Greg, we're going to go way back on this one for your third question.
Starting point is 01:19:25 It's 1954-55. The Maple Leafs are playing the Red Wings. Who does Red Kelly play for? Fuck off. What were the teams again? The Maple Leafs and Red Wings. 54-55? The fact that you asked which teams it was makes me think that you're potentially not as locked in on Red Kelly's career as.
Starting point is 01:19:51 All right. Let's see. I was four. So, it's a 54-55, Red Kelly, Leafs, or Red Wings. I mean, I'll go with the Leaves. He played for the Red Wings. He didn't go to the Leifes until 1960. I gave you like a five-year cushion on that one.
Starting point is 01:20:14 This was the Red Wings. This was the Red Wings' mini-dynasty. I was a... I have to admit. I had no idea. I was making the classic pub tributia mistake of trying to play the questioner. Yes. Assuming that at some point you were going to be like, oh, he's a leaf and fucking he wasn't a leaf.
Starting point is 01:20:36 We have to keep going to see if I get at least one. Okay. Well, this could be the sweep, though. This is, this could be a three-nothing in three rounds. Ryan. Ryan, who did Nick Lidstrom play for in 2001? Could be anybody. Now, okay.
Starting point is 01:20:57 He was on the Maple Leafs, I think. I believe the answer was Motto. Ryan, it's 1976-77. I got a puncher's chance here. The Bruins are playing the Rangers. Who does Phil Esposito play for?
Starting point is 01:21:20 The freaking the Bruins, right? Yeah, it must be it. I play for The contract, no matter who gives it to me. Ryan is incorrect. So we didn't move on. He played it.
Starting point is 01:21:32 He had traded to the Rangers in 75. Yeah. Oh, okay. All right. USA. I put my rally cap on. Here we go, baby. It's on.
Starting point is 01:21:43 This could be an all-timer. Except it probably won't be. But here we go. Greg. Let's come back to somewhat more recent times. 2001, 2002, the penguins are playing the capitals. Who does Yarmory Yager play for? 2001, 2002, the Penguins are playing the capitals.
Starting point is 01:22:07 Yomir Yager is a member of the Capitals. That is correct. He had been traded that offseason. This was his first year in Washington. Do you see my body shaking right now and Ryan's trying to punch me in the head, but it's not working? He has not waved the finger yet. I'm about to wave the finger. I'm about to give him the two punches in the boot.
Starting point is 01:22:29 Here comes, baby. Well, Ryan's got a shot to finish us. Second shot to finish it. Ryan, it's 2002, 2003. The sharks are playing the avalanche. Who does Timu Salani play for? O-203. I'm pretty sure he was still on the sharks.
Starting point is 01:22:53 That is correct. He didn't. 304 hit him in Korea jumped, right? That is absolutely crushing. That is it. Absolutely crushing. And that, ladies and gentlemen is what we call the gentleman sweep. I like Greg think he had a shot there.
Starting point is 01:23:08 He, of course, did not. He no sold the Hulk up like he was the ultimate warrior. The sky all. I just took a lousy guy got blown up two minutes into the match. Splash. I'm down on my back. Greg still does the BS kickout at three and a half. just so that he can keep his heat, but it's, it's not enough.
Starting point is 01:23:29 All right. Give me, give me the last question. So I could at least pose to the crowd afterwards. The last one for you, Greg, 2006, 2007. Penguins are playing the Thrashers. Who does Mark Recky play for? 2006, 2007? The Penguins are playing the Thrashers?
Starting point is 01:23:47 He's a thrasher. He is not. He is a Pittsburgh Penguin. And I'll give, Ryan, I'll give you your last one. 2013, 14. Devils versus Bruins, who does Yarmory Jagger play for? 13, 14, he's on the Devils. That's correct.
Starting point is 01:24:06 Yeah, Yager was only on the Bruins. He started with the Stars and got traded to the Bruins for the cup run. So that is a decisive win for Ryan. But Greg, if it's good news, if you're looking for some good news, by my count, the final score or the score is 4 to 1. and not an insurmountable lead by any stretch. It's four to one. I feel like we have something to build on for next season. Absolutely.
Starting point is 01:24:39 Having avoided the sweep. There you go. I'm such a fucking goldfish. Like, I can't even remember who was on what team last season. It's bad look. I may not to be know a lot about hockey history, but from, I would say, the early 2000s on, I have a pretty good idea of who was on what team when.
Starting point is 01:25:06 I'm not a smart man, but I know who Brent Burns played for. That's right. Jesus. That's Puckoochoo. That's Puck Soup for this week. Thanks to Raycon. Buy the Mirbuds. They're really good.
Starting point is 01:25:24 You can find by writing on ESPN.com, my column, the wish list published on Thursday about Connor McDavid and a great many other things. Also doing Russellmania content. WrestleMania Lapsfans Guide is out. We have a special guest star making picks that I can't reveal quite yet that you'll enjoy. And then also I taped an episode of ESPN Daily with Mina Kimes talking about the WBE's decision to even have a WrestleMania this year. So did you check out my side hustle at ESPN as a wrestling writer? Uh, yeah, sign up for the Puck Soup newsletter. Um, it's right on our Patreon and, uh, yeah, a couple of times a week. I, I do a roundup of hockey news and because there's not a lot going on. Other stuff like, uh, music and movie, uh, streaming recommendations and video games and all that kind of stuff. So, so people like it.
Starting point is 01:26:21 Uh, you can find me on The Athletic, uh, as, as, as we continue to, uh, uh, uh, Try to get increasingly weird as we write about sports without sports. I had a piece this week in which a reader sent me a simple trivia question that turned out not to be very simple and almost drove me insane. And it, as of this writing, is the most popular thing that I've ever written for The Athletic. So if you missed it, check it out. If you do not subscribe to The Athletic, you can get three months free right now just by clicking on any article and go on and signing up for a 90-day trial. It's a good time to do that because there's a lot of good stuff coming.
Starting point is 01:27:02 You can read me, lose my mind while clicking through hockey reference pages. And we've got some cool stuff coming up. I don't want to give anything away, but we've got something coming probably next week where I'm working with a bunch of guys from different sports. And it's pretty neat. I think people are going to like it. So if you don't, if you're not an athletic customer, either sign up or at least grab that trial and come come check it out.
Starting point is 01:27:31 Yeah, and you made me mental this week because you brought up the Valerese-Alapucoing goal in 1994. Sorry about that. A few devil's fans. I thought you guys would be happy that I named a type of goal after one of your players, but apparently not so much. No, my therapist convinced me that none of that ever happened, and now it all came rushing back. Also, she mentioned, Valeris-O-Pugian. There it is. You see this?
Starting point is 01:27:56 Yeah, like Alexander Seymack. The, we should mention mailbag coming up on the Patreon. And the second episode of a new podcast in the Puck's Hoop family is on the Patreon as well. Misan Pod, the Top Chef podcast with me and Lambert and Ruby, my beautiful wife, is on the Patreon now. If you're not a Top Chef fan, highly recommend checking out this season. It's an all-star of season. It's been really good so far. Yeah, it's been good so far. It is the closest
Starting point is 01:28:29 to sports as you'll find in these troubled times. And thanks for all the positive feedback on the podcast so far. It's been fun to do. It's a good little diversionary thing that we've been doing. And yeah, meas and pod. Check it out. Thanks everybody for the writ listening. We will talk to you next week. Bye. Later.
Starting point is 01:28:44 Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute. We also cover movies, TV shows, it's in tunes. It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nonsense. Book two.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.