Puck Soup - Roy, Vesey and Bad Rio Hangover
Episode Date: August 25, 2016Greg is back from Rio and Dave is back from uncomfortable conversations about Penn State at children's birthday parties! On this episode of PUCK SOUP, we cover Patrick Roy leaving the Avs and their ne...w coach; Jimmy Vesey picking the Rangers; the World Cup of Hockey; Greg's Olympic tales and Dave's Olympic-sized apathy; the new Las Vegas team's name; and your listener mail!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to whatever you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Fuck Daddy Blog.
You know who I am.
And that's Dave Loso, Vice Sports and the Uprocks and the thing and the hat he's wearing and you're in Puck Soup.
Welcome back, ladies and gentlemen.
Summer vacation is officially over now that we're back at this tiny desk with two microphones on our face.
I know we're thrilled about the idea that it's almost time to talk about in aane exhibition tournament that the NHL invented to fill its coffers with money.
What about you, Dave?
I'm just so happy that the hockey town that is Columbus gets to experience.
that hockey firsthand. They deserve it.
They do. Yeah, I saw that they had some, some extraordinarily great items in their gift
shop for the World Cup of, I'll say this about the World Cup of Hockey.
There was a Pyong Chang press conference in Rio when I was in Rio to talk about the
Winter Olympics. And they did get asked, what about the National Hockey League? And they're like,
well, we're meeting with some people at some point about it. The sense you get is this
about the NHL and the Olympics. All the players want to go.
none of the owners want to go
and this is a big problem
and especially a big problem now that
they're basically back at square one because the
IOC leadership changed over
and it's like now they got
now they got to renegotiate all the shit they already
had to go along with all the shit they want to get
and listen if you want to know
what they want out of the Olympics
please do go to your local gear shop
in Columbus or the National Hockey League store
here in Manhattan powered by Reebok
is it still powered by Reebok or is it powered by Adidas
now I don't know
go to any of these places and take a look at all of the World Cup of Hockey swag that they sell
and how much money they're planning on making from selling that swag to you.
That's what they want out of the Olympics.
They want the chance to be able to sell an Ovechkin, Russia, Shurzy, or Jersey in their store
and have you buy it every four years.
That's what they want.
And that's what they're not going to get.
That's what they're doing the World Cup of hockey.
And we're so fucked.
We're so fucked when it comes to the NHL in the Olympics.
I'm not going to lie, yeah.
I stopped listening when you said hockey because I'm still kind of enjoying the summer.
I heard IOC in there too somewhere.
Here's something funny.
I didn't know this.
I thought Shurzy was a jersey for a girl or a shirt for a girl for the longest time.
I know what it is now.
Yeah.
But the whole time someone's like check out this Shurzy and it was like a, you know, like a Yankee T-shirt jersey.
Like a female cut jersey like in the NFL where they have.
Right.
They assume that women don't have love handles like I do.
I have.
They cut it real like slender on the sides.
I had never seen.
the word and the shirt together that they were talking about at the same time. So in my mind,
there's like the sure sound and the her sound. And I thought it was like, you know,
memorabilia designed for women that they all hate. But no. Yeah, like, you know, the Lus
Milano stuff where it's like, oh, what do I really need in my life? Oh, I know. Edmonton
Euler's nighty. Right. Yeah. Because if it's not Connor McDavid in that thing, I don't really
care. The order's doing anything for me. It's time for me to slide something off too.
Um, no, shirzy, I only know shirzies because of, of one of the few things we do well on Puck Daddy, which is Jersey Fowls.
I, like, we, we have, so stupid.
Yeah.
I never put it together.
Wouldn't it be a herzy, not a shirzy?
It would, literally, of course it would.
Right.
There's, there's nothing unclear about the name.
It's completely, it's completely explains the object perfectly.
That's right.
And I'm just stupid.
I'm dumb.
Uh-huh.
I'm an idiot.
Yeah.
But I got animal crackers.
The best Shersie in Hirstry.
The Shersies.
I just.
I just don't know why.
I just put that, like, everyone's like, oh, man, I hate jerseys.
And I'm just like, yeah, me too.
It's not fair that they have to wear a pants.
They should wear whatever you want.
You're like, and they're, okay, sure.
What?
What are you talking about?
I remember when I was at journalism school at Maryland,
and there was a discussion about gender inequity and coverage.
And I remember, and it's like using, like, it was a conversation about, like,
using the word spokesman instead of spokesman, you know, because it's, or, you know,
using spokeswoman instead of spokes, you know, all that stuff.
And I remember the topic of manhole came up.
Oh, boy.
Go on.
You know, should we use that?
Should that be a thing that we use?
And somebody in my class, you know, as expected, raised their hand and said, are you saying that in certain contexts we should use woman hole?
But like, how would you, like, all right.
How would, like, how would you decide?
Like, should it just be person hole?
Sewer cover, Dave.
You use sewer cover.
But, well, that's the cover.
The hole itself, though.
we're not describing. We're describing the lid on the hole. Sewer hole. Or sue him hole. Again,
he's trying to be as equitable as we can. Sur hole actually kind of describes my butt on most
days. So that's actually, that's actually more accurate. He was actually the most popular
member of the round table, Sir hole. I remember college classes like that that made you think about
stuff. Like, I remember taking a race class in college. I discussed how, like, minorities were
discussed, Rutgers, State University, New Jersey. And they were talking about sports. And there
There are so many things in sports you take for granted that you don't think about.
And it was like in football, they refer to like a running back who gets the ball all the time as a workhorse.
And they were like, you know, most running backs are black and you're referring to him as an animal.
Like you shouldn't do that.
And I was just like, fuck, I never thought about it like that.
Right.
Yeah.
Like holy shit.
Broadens your irrespective.
And there was like so much more.
I mean, this was like 20 years ago when I took the class.
But I remember thinking like there was like all these other adjectives that were just like animal based.
And I was like, oh man, yeah, we got to stop doing that.
but like it's 2016.
It's all still the same lingo.
Well, it's like when I used to call New York Jets coach Rich Cotight a piece of shit.
And I said to myself, you know.
That's unfair to shit.
Yeah, I mean, a lot of my shits are more slender than dumpy and, you know, round like Rich Coteight was.
So I thought to myself, how unfair is that to shit?
Poops don't need glasses.
Come on.
That's not fair.
Speaking of poop, how is Rio?
I'm going to, okay, here's how it's going to work.
I have so much to say about Rio, but this is a hockey podcast.
I know we have to get to Patrick Wao.
We have to get to Jim.
Jimmy Visi.
We miss nothing.
There's lots of talk about it.
We miss three news items in six weeks.
I'm going to restrict you to three questions about Rio.
You can ask me any three questions about Rio that you like.
Pretend I have Wonder Woman Gal Godot's lasso of truth wrapped around me right now,
and she's tugging on me like I was Doomsday.
Is that the person who plays Wonder Woman?
That's right.
Gall Godot.
That's right.
So pretend that I have the lasso of truth wrapped around me,
and you can ask me any three questions about the Rio experience.
Hmm.
Mm-hmm.
You're assuming I care enough about the Olympics to think of three questions.
Before we came to the podcast today, we were talking about the Olympics and how much helpful apathy Lozo has towards the event that I just spent a month covering, sweating every day, and working 18 hours days.
It's not so much the event. It's everything around it.
It's just, it's like no one thinks about Ryan Locti for four years.
No one thinks about gymnastics for four years.
And then for three weeks, everyone's an expert on everything for three years.
or for three weeks.
Three weeks.
It's the most painfully boring stuff.
Like, oh, man,
we should make handball a sport in this country.
No, no, we shouldn't.
No, no one, you haven't thought about handball in four years.
I will say this about, I will say that about that.
I agree with you on handball.
It's stupid.
Every sport there's.
No.
Rugby sevens wasn't stupid.
Did you know about rugby sevens?
Oh, God.
Is that like seven on sevens in football where it's not like?
Seven on sevens in football, but the halves are seven minutes long.
And like, it's like a 20.
minute game. Is it sponsored by a slot machine? Like, why are these all sevens? What is this about? It's like a 20 minute game and then your team plays four of them in the span of a day. So think of it this way. You go to see your team at like 10 in the morning. They play for 20 minutes. Then you get to just fuck off and drink or do whatever. Oh, I'm in. Right. And then you come back when they play again and then they get done and then you can go and do whatever. It's like being in a music festival and only giving a shit about four bands. That sounds about right. And then you get to go off and do whatever. And like,
And it's like a more offensive scoring-centric version of rugby.
So it's not like a bunch of guys from New Zealand with big thighs all digging each other's buttholes while trying to get a ball, right?
Like it's a much more offensive, high-scoring version of it.
And they set it up where you get to have it be like four different games in the span of a day while you get drunk.
It was the most amazing.
One of the most amazing things I covered in Rio.
Okay.
So if you're selling me on events where I can get drunk during or before or after in between, I'm on board.
There you go.
But it just seems like every single, like, crazy thing that people were going.
That's about about the Olympics were like the fart water.
An actress, an actress yelling at her goddamn TV.
It was a three-day event on Twitter.
Yes, Queen!
First of all.
By the way, if you're somebody who supported the hacking of Leslie Jones' Twitter and putting her personal information and nude photos on her website,
then you should just fall off the face of the earth and drift towards the sun.
Right.
But you really shouldn't have found what she was doing during Olympics that funny.
because it was funny
it was not
okay
but you know what you know what you know what was though
yelling at your TV is not that funny
no you know what it was though it was the
it was here's what it was
you know how sometimes really popular
bands take the sound of like a garage
band or an indie band and then co-opped
it for themselves and then they
and everybody's like well like okay
sounds like stealing to me give you the best example
the black eyed peas used to go to clubs
to hear like what
like low level DJ
were doing and then they would take that sound and you would hear it in like this is the plot to bring it on
actually so so they're the toros and they're going to the inner city schools stealing and then they
went and they heard the music for boom boom pow and then they told it they took it for themselves
leslie jones was basically doing tony x's bit true or false from the from the stanley cup playoffs
but here's here's okay that that's kind of fair but i think tony x unless again he was an n hl
plant. No one has confirmed or denied that he's a plant for the NHL. But here's the thing is
like, oh, it's Leslie Jones yelling at her TV. It's so funny. And I'm like, no, that's not
what she's doing. You're like, yes, it is. I'm like, no, here's what she's doing. She's watching the
Olympics. She sees a thing. She pauses her TV. She rewinds her TV. She pauses her TV again.
She takes out her phone. Yeah. She unlocks her phone. Right. She turns to the camera and puts it on video,
holds it to her TV, presses play at her TV, and then yells some shit she thought of in the meantime in that 30-second
window and then puts it on Twitter.
The reason you know this.
That's how bad the Olympics are.
The reason you know this so well is because it's the same shit that you and I do.
Sure.
And you know how to make those videos.
Sure.
But like, no one's like, oh, lozo, what a genius for putting that comment on that vine.
Like, it's not that funny.
The genius thing that she did, though, was she voiced the thing that people were thinking.
Like, when they're watching handball.
The Olympics are dumb.
No, when you're watching handball, like you're thinking, you're thinking, wow, this is
insane.
I can't believe this is actual sport.
And then you hear someone be like,
yo this is fucking insane
why is this a sport
you're like oh my god
she's speaking exactly like my inner voice
my inner jimini cricket so there's that
there's the horse that didn't really dance
to smooth to Rob Thomas featuring
Santana's smooth
it was nine notes on a horn
there was that the fart water I admit
was hilarious and we should have focused more on fart water
while it was there in our lives I covered that beat
and just so people know if you missed the resolution
of that story why the water was green and smelled
like farts and stuff
The resolution was, much like we all have to deal with sometimes as homeowners,
although I haven't been one for quite a while living in New York City,
because I'm the son of a sultan.
Oh, sorry, Mr. I have a cleaning lady that I fired instantly.
If you pour, there's a chemical you use to make your water clean
that's sort of like an organic way to do it.
If you pour it into water that already has chlorine in it,
then you neutralize the chlorine.
And that's what some contractor did,
is he poured a buttload of this stuff into the water,
and then neutralized the chlorine, it wasn't enough stuff to actually work on its own.
And then that's why the water turned green and it smelled like farts.
See, like, that's a great story.
That's a great story.
I can get behind any story where athletes are like it smells like farts in here.
So you like the dark side of the Olympics.
You like the money-wasting corruption side.
Actually, here's the thing is like, I hate the Olympics.
And like that's just like an added thing that supports my hatred of it.
Like, I'm not like someone like, I mean, it is insane that we bull those poor people's homes so that like we can figure out which country has.
the best dancing horse. That seems a little ridiculous.
I mean, I would
do that. The dressage place was nowhere
near where they bulldozed homes.
The dressage place was
in a place where there was an old military
base located near
the slums, and that's why bullets hit it.
There was two bullets that landed where the horses are.
The first bullet was somebody
in the slums who was shooting at a blimp,
and the bullet landed near the horses.
As you do. Okay. And the second
bullet was a lot more. It was a lot more
I mean, it made a lot more sense.
It was a firefight between drug dealers
and military police and one of the bullets actually landed
near the horses. Like if Drissage
took place on like an old minefield, where
like in any time a horse could explode.
So you're saying like, if they had it in Fyeongchang, just have it in like the
militarized zone in between North and South Korea.
Right. It'd be like the movie Tropic Thunder,
but like you have like the Drissage horses
dancing out like in a field somewhere where at any
time like the director guy got blown up. It would be the horse
getting blown up. Oh God. So there's that.
And here's the thing too that'll
also drives me insane.
Every summer Olympics, pretty much, a 16-year-old does something amazing because that's
what happens.
And yet every Olympics, it's like, oh, my God, I can't believe.
When I was 16, I was selling Blanin on a brand.
She's winning gold.
When I was 17, you know what I was doing?
I was blah.
And the dude.
I hear that.
And I always think to myself, when I was 16.
I would look at the people like her
whose lives, whose childhoods
are being thrown away in the trash
in the hopes that they become something
and how there aren't more than one
Katie Ledeckies in this world
and the rest of them are now in therapy
because their parents push them
to try to be Katie Ladeki
but they weren't physically good enough
to be her.
And now they're 25
and they're like, and now they're infantilism.
Now they're wearing diapers and shit
because they're so psychologically damaged
by someone stealing their childhood, like a dance mom.
Now you're on my level.
Now you're getting there.
I like it.
But that said, they should be really proud to honor our country by competing at the Olympics.
I'm also tired of hearing about sacrifice with the Olympians, too.
Yeah.
You spend three and a half years not really working.
You're training super duper hard.
And like, yeah, I mean, some of these guys, like, I saw the Uber commercial.
That guy drives an Uber so he can go to the Olympics.
Like, sure.
But, like, you're not like, you're not going off to war.
You're not like.
spending your time helping like a sick child.
You're training to go do something awesome for three weeks that like only a few people can.
That's not sacrifice.
I understand what you're saying.
I thought you meant like sacrifice in the sense that the athletes from Tonga sacrifice,
ritualistically, virgins and others to keep their monsters at bay.
Has no one seen a mussely guy without his shirt on before?
No, come on.
I mean, I'm not saying he didn't have a ripped, chiseled body and he wasn't a super handsome dude.
But I mean, come on.
Here's the thing about the Olympics.
The bachelor's on the same time.
I say this as somebody who was in the Olympic bubble and not watching it on television.
I know that there's a lot of problems people have with NBC and rightfully so about the way they present the games.
And I don't buy for a second, by the way, that...
Oh, the millennials?
If it's the millennial problem, it's because of this.
It's because you are not...
If it's a millennial problem, it's a problem of NBC not responding to the millennials.
You now are able to get the news on Twitter, watch the events through streams either legal or illegal.
on their own time.
And then you have to come up with a way to present this information to them.
That's not simply just, well, we're going to show this race and we're not going to tell you
who won.
You'll have to watch to find out who won, even though you know who won.
That doesn't appeal to young people who, you know, over the last four to eight years have
grown accustomed to watching things on their own time.
And not having to pay for it.
Well, yeah.
I mean, we've all grown.
I mean, we're from the Kazah area.
We don't like paying for anything either.
That's not really unique.
We don't like paying for it, but also these millennials don't know the struggle of having
to piece together five different.
files to try to get one porn.
Oh, God, you know what I mean?
It's like, you get to the end and here it comes.
No, no, you got to find volume five.
So, and it's that guy in Malaysia who only, you know, upload speeds are terrible.
Right.
He's only awake at like two in the morning.
Yeah, exactly.
Some pain in the a house.
Yeah, it was here.
That was a rant for the 30-year-olds in the audience.
So, yeah.
No, I don't know.
It's just.
No, but what I was going to say is that the one thing I love about the Olympics is, and
it's the thing you actually hate about it, is that for those three weeks.
The patriotism?
No.
The jingoism?
No.
It's all bad.
It's all bad.
No, it's for those three weeks.
It's a national conversation.
And now there are very few national conversations that exist anymore.
We have a national conversation about politics, but half the country hates each other.
We have a national conversation about the Super Bowl, but that's the Super Bowl, whatever.
It's usually a conversation that's so scattershot because half of us are talking about the game.
The other half are talking about, you know, is Adele going to perform?
The Olympics are a very straightforward three-week national conversation, which we're all.
all talking about the same shit.
And this is very much me being, you know, a guy pushing 40 and nostalgic for the era of
there being five networks on television.
And everybody watched Cheers.
And you go in and the work or whatever school the next day.
And you're like, hey, you see Cheers last night?
You're like, fuck, yeah.
So cheers all things on.
They all said Norm. It was great.
Yeah, it was running on.
Gary's Old Town Tavre challenged him to a basketball game.
It was crazy.
And, like, today, I'm not saying that it's not.
a good thing that our pop culture consumption is so, so fractured and so varied.
It's a really good thing.
I'm really happy that, you know, as much as I love Stranger Things,
there's someone else watching the jump up or that Baz Luhrman thing is on Netflix,
and they like it better and whatever. That's cool.
But the idea for that for three weeks in August, every four years,
everybody's talking about the same shit is really kind of a fun thing to me.
Like, you can go into any place and talk to anybody and be,
Like, yes, Simone Biles, you'll know what the hell they're talking about.
So what you're saying is...
I'm saying that Hitler had a point.
You was organized.
You're saying a positive thing about this three-week endeavor that kills poor people in other countries that you're in favor of.
Also allows you to have conversations with strangers, and that's a good thing.
I don't want to talk to anybody when I go...
Man, if someone comes up to me as like, how about that Ledecki kid?
Can you just pour my coffee?
I really don't want to talk about this.
I don't care.
But the other part of what you're saying is true, too, though,
that, you know, it helps that we're good at shit.
Like, it's also a time when you have one of the major political candidates in this country
is saying we don't win anything anymore.
And then all we do is win, win, win, no matter what?
Like more golds than, like, what, every other country, but two had total medals?
Our women had the third highest count for a nation.
America, baby.
Yeah.
Now, granted, it's like, you know, it's like betting on roulette,
and you put a chip on every number, and then you celebrate,
Because you won.
Well, no shit.
You broke even.
Yeah, right, exactly.
Good job.
Like, we bring the U.S. delegation at the, I was at opening ceremonies, the U.S.
delegation for the Olympics, we filled the entire aisle and then made the turn to go where people sit, and there were still more of them coming out.
It was insane.
You know what the best event, though, is at the Summer Olympics?
Okay.
The closing ceremonies.
Well, especially this year, because they're over.
Yeah, the prime minister of Japan show up as Super Mario.
Did it?
So you didn't even watch it, did you?
Like, you know, like, see, like, you were away, and, like, you probably didn't watch the night of.
You have no idea what's going on in pop culture.
Meanwhile, like, there's 42 things that happen at the Olympics.
Everybody knows about that I don't.
The one moment when I realized the difference between covering the Olympics on site and consuming it elsewhere was this.
I was doing a radio hit from Rio, and I was telling the story.
And I'm like, and surely you guys heard about the member of the IOC who was arrested when he was naked for scalping tickets, right?
And they were like, do what now?
Did you hear any of that, by the way?
See, I thought you were setting me up to see if I was paying attention to the show.
Like, no, that's a thing that happened?
It was a huge, huge, lockty-level scandal.
It wasn't the Tonga guy, because otherwise it would have been a good thing, right?
It was a dude who was like a 72-year-old guy from Ireland, who was a member of the IOC board.
72?
Yeah.
And so, so he gets arrested for allegedly being part of a ticket-scolping scandal that affected 10,000 tickets.
Okay, like he was, it was like, they were giving the tickets, and then.
And then he sold them.
Oh, I thought I think he was out in front of the building with a scalp or naked.
Like, got your tickets here, Mike?
That's my Irish impression.
Yes.
Governor.
Governor.
They got your tickets here, love.
Oh, looks like someone needs a ticket for dressage.
Bond.
James Bond is not Irish.
It's my island.
But that's my tickets.
No, sorry, tell your naked Irish.
Septuagenarians, third.
Can I interest you in some fishing tickets?
There's always after many tickets.
Green clovers, purple horseshoes,
slightly off-colored tickets.
Oh, this one's wet, but it's not wet for the reasons, you think?
It's so close to.
You might as well to do it.
The barcode.
It's still fine.
Here's my impression of Saturdays Ronan in Brooklyn.
Mate.
This dude answered the door to him.
his hotel room naked.
Sure.
And in the doorway
were the police
and ESPN international cameras.
And so he was the door.
And he's like, oh, good board.
They're like, yeah, you're kind of
under arrest. And you could
see him turn. He's like,
he's like, you know, I got to put my night robe on
or whatever. You see him turn. He just see this big,
flabby, fat Irish senior citizen
ass in the mirror as he leaves.
But yeah, that was a huge story of Rio, but
It didn't have any impact here.
Literally didn't see or hear.
That, that, like, see, like, you talk about the whole national conversation thing.
Like, I don't care about the Oscars.
But for three hours on Twitter every year, it's great.
That's another thing.
Award shows are the only other thing.
And the Oscars might be the only other thing, because I don't think enough people watch the Emmys.
Yeah, like, the Oscars, like, the SB's in it.
But the Oscars are great.
But I can't imagine Oscar Twitter lasting three weeks.
I eventually, I'd be like, it's another thing, too, is, like, you see in Bolts the
fastest dude in the world and he just won a race
and then like one day later he's racing that same
the grass guy again and it's like what's gonna happen? I'm like
I don't know I'm guessing you same bolt still faster
than the guy he was faster than yesterday
that he wins again. That was the thing about the Olympics
like as fucked up
as Rio was in organizing it
and somehow they pulled it off with like spit
tape and prayers
it really was like from
I thought Dave's Iron who does edge of sports
he's like a real political sports harder dude
I think he said it best
which is like if you measure the Olympics
by storylines
and performances.
This is one of the
better Olympics we've had.
I mean, it's the last one for Phelps.
It's the last one for Bolt.
Ladeke doing what she did.
Big surprises all over the board.
You know, countries that don't do well,
doing well.
Like, all that shit was, like, amazing.
But if you measure it by, like,
human impact and corruption
and all the other metrics,
like, it was a terrible Olympics.
There was a huge divide
between the behind-the-scenes stuff
and the stuff that you saw
on television, I thought.
And I thought he nailed that.
From a competitive standpoint, it was pretty amazing, but everything else was just like a giant...
And I'm only saying that because I went to every IOC meeting that they had there.
And it was just the funniest shit you could possibly imagine.
Every press conference.
Twist their words.
Greg Wyshinsky, Yahoo Times.
Question for the man up on the stage there.
That's right.
My favorite thing was that they always got these questions about empty seats at the events,
because the one thing you saw on television here was like there was empty seats at every event.
And literally at one point, they came up with a number of excuses,
but my favorite one by far was,
well you see it's pretty easy
we ran out of food at some of the
events so people actually had to leave
and go into the city to get food
and then they would probably come back or maybe they wouldn't
yeah that's not really why that was empty
like if you go to a Giants game
and like halfway to the first quarter they're out of canishes
I don't leave and drive to like a local deli
and East brother for to come back
and it was like important shit like salad
like if you were a vegetarian like there was nothing for you to eat this arena
because they ran out of everything
the thing it's real quick on I don't I don't want to make
this Rio soup, but we pretty much
Yeah, Sue.
I ate more red meat in that three-week
span than I've probably eaten in the last five years,
and it was all amazing.
They make amazing burgers there.
I went to an American-style pub in Copacabana Beach,
and it was so cute to see what they think it is.
Like, they serve burgers, and they serve wings,
they serve beer on tap, and then they clearly went on eBay
and bought all of the beer signs they thought they should have
inside of the American Style Pub.
Oh, like a St. Polly Girl?
They have a St. Polly Girl on there?
They just put them on those aluminum signs.
They just put them on the walls and shit.
And they were playing like 90s alternative inside the place.
It was so cute.
Like fire house.
Oh, I was thinking of it.
Lifehouse.
Lifehouse.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, it's faithful changing.
So that was a thing.
And the other thing that they do food-wise that I find it really interesting is it is a culture of putting shit inside of dough.
Everything is inside of dough.
They get it.
time they do get it but the one time i didn't get it is they had a little coffee shop at the media center
and it was the only place that you can get espresso so i went up and got i got like two like two cappuccino
and then i poured it into a big mug so made up one actual cappuccino and i was kind of hungry so i'm like i'll get this
and i'll get a croissant and i bite into it and it's filled with chicken salad and just like gross
yeah it was really not the best feeling to bite it to something and it's like all this buttery breakfast
cassanta, mayonnaise and chicken.
I thought you're going to tell me it was like
filled with chorizo or like some sort of beef
product, like a Jamaican beef patty but a
croissar. And the last thing I'll say about it, by the way,
is that I know that
English is the one true language
and we should all speak it. Right.
However. No culture should
exist but ours. If I could change one word
in our language to the
Brazilian Portuguese proxy, it would
be chicken because they call chicken
frango. Frango.
Frango filet. Yeah?
Frango, frango salad.
Frango's a hell of a word compared to chicken.
I thought it was, I thought they used polo.
No, you mean pollo?
Poeo.
Polo.
Marco.
Marco Pollo.
That's right.
The chicken man who searched around the world and tilted windmills.
Pollo!
No, because I used to work in West Paterson, New Jersey, and there was a really good Brazilian place we used to order from, and it was called.
They call it frango.
I never.
It's Portuguese.
It's not Spanish.
Polo.
chicken polo
So I'm happy to be back
I didn't get Zika
I didn't get bit once
I can't speak to the water
which is probably filled with Zika
and definitely made me shit a lot
and what was the other concern
Oh crime was real
That's the other thing you needed to know too
Like I don't want to get into Lockheed gate
Those guys were assholes
And everything you heard
From like USA today
And trying to make these guys
Oh they're just
Our boys were robbed
And they were extorted
No
They got caught
A bunch of kids in the early
30s going around.
They pissed on a building.
They may or may not have vandalized a bathroom.
Lock de-vandalized their convenience store sign.
Imagine walking to the front of a 7-Eleven and tearing down the giant posters for the big bite pot dogs.
Like, they're not going to notice that shit.
And then they tried to pay the security guards to make it go away.
And then that's what happened.
The end.
They're ugly American assholes.
And they detracted from the last week of the Olympics.
So all due respect to.
to USA Today, who conveniently got a scoop about Ryan Lockty being on Dancing with the Stars after
writing a big blowjob piece defending him a couple days earlier. Wow, amazing how that works.
How does that happen? Who knows? Who knows how the machinations of media in this crazy mixed-up world of ours?
And all due respect to the big lead, which wrote a series of searing articles defending the U.S.
swimmers against the corruption of the Brazilian police, no, they were at fault. And they did a bad thing
and they had to pay for it, or at least one guy did,
locked you got the hell out of there.
You should twist the sides of this.
Yeah, I feel like my microphone is like, it's like a, it's like a, it's like shy.
You know what I mean?
Like it's not, it's not fully where it needs to be.
It keeps dropping down.
Your microphone is sort of like a first timer in a, in a brothel.
It's a little bit.
You twist the side, these two things here on the sides.
These little dealies.
Yeah, that's what you probably have to do, right?
Now watch it fall out.
Yeah, I feel like, oh, I got to go there.
Yes.
So while you were in Rio, I got to go to Vegas.
I got to go to Chicago.
I don't do any work, Wobbs. It's great. I got to eat as badly as you. I probably lost more money in Vegas than you did. Even if you were robbed in Rio?
That was not. And I didn't go to casino either.
Tell me how long is the Penn State story? How involved is it?
Should we do hockey before we do Penn State?
Yeah, we should do the Penn State story at the end.
All right. The Penn State story will be the icing on the kid. That's got to be the closer.
Cherry on the Sunday. That can't be the middle of the show.
Whilst I was in Rio, of course, one big huge honking story.
broke, which was, of course,
Patrick Waugh quitting.
Antoine Vermet was bought out.
Oh, oh yeah, Patrick Waugh.
Patrick Waugh quit in season.
I mean, I'm not in season. In August,
a month before, like, training camp.
What a dick. What was your, what were your thoughts
on Patrick Waugh, uh, quitting?
Like he's, like a quitter.
That's, that's what he does.
Like, he's, he's a fucking baby.
Like, when things don't go his way, he fucking quits.
Like, you know how like when you're a kid, your parents try to instill in you
that idea, like, don't quit, don't give up, push through stuff.
Never give up.
Like Patrick Gua is so good at everything he does that he has the luxury of quitting
whenever he feels like it because he's that good at being a goalie.
He can just be like, fuck it, I quit.
Yeah.
All right, fine, we'll send you to Colorado.
All right, thanks.
Yeah.
Now here, he's like, I quit.
I don't care.
I'm Patrick Gua.
Like, I've made tons of money.
I really apparently don't care that deeply about success here.
And I'm just going to quit in August because, fuck it.
We kept Tyson Barry.
So I'm going to quit in a huff three weeks later.
It was pretty clear from where I was sitting.
that this is another
situation where
a megalomaniac
and an egomaniac
Hey mega
Lomaniac
You're no Tibo
Not to go on a tangent
But I confirmed last night
With Ruby
Something I've always suspected
About Incubus
I'll just tell you what it is
The one gets it
The song or the band?
The band
I don't really have anything
Well here's the thing
Why do women love Incubis?
They love Incubis
because Brandon Boyd
the lead singer is always like he's like slender and he's got a shirt off and stuff he's got big
flowing locks it's pretty much every rock band yeah but them them in particular and and i said to her
an inkubis song came on at the bar last night i'm like let me ask you i have a theory about inkubes
so i'm going to ask you about it she's like okay i'm like when you hear this song in your mind
are you picturing brandon boyd singing it on a pier in like Santa monica and it's like sunset
and his shirts off and she looked at me and she goes
that literally is exactly what I think of every time I hear an incubus song
I'm like do you think a lot of women
maybe the women out there can can confirm this
I think that mentally that is exactly the
the reaction in the in the female mind when they hear an incubus song
and they think about Brandon Boyd I don't even know the name of the guy was Brandon Boyd
he sounds like a relief pitcher for like the mariner's
but not the closer
right he's totally like a seventh inning guy
Mop, yeah, seventh inning mop-up, not even the guy who holds it in the eighth.
Like a sidearm, right hander who comes in and gets like one out.
One out, right, lefty.
No, he's the guy who has a really good.
Yeah, Brandon Boyd.
Yeah, Brandon Boyd.
Number 14.
He has like a weird number, too.
He's like 52.
Yeah, he's a real Eric Plunk.
He's like Jeff Nelson.
He just comes in from the side and gets guys like, no, I didn't know that.
I just, I know that song's supposed to be about George Bush.
That one was the anger.
That's one that they made the turn away from, like, dreamy beach pop to, to angry political stuff.
Is Inchibus the band that has a song about the dad not being around?
Is that that song, that that band?
You think he's ever clear?
Is that ever clear?
I mean, all that shitty 90s.
At any point in the song is it go doon, doon, doon, do, do, do, do it's probably ever clear.
Father of mine.
Yep.
I will buy you.
I love how we can just like, see, this is why the show's an hour and 50 minutes every time.
We're like, Patrick, wow, what did he do this for?
And then like five minutes later, it's like my favorite ever clear song was.
When he first got into Colorado, he, I think,
he saw himself in Joe Sackick as equals
and then he quickly found out that that wasn't the
case. Why would he think that, though?
Because he believes
that it's like, oh, me and my friend, we're going
to do this.
Oh, shit, he was drinking.
I'm sorry. I don't know. I didn't even
know what that accent was. What was it?
It's like
three degrees off of Brig-Galoff.
It was like Borat, but it was like
Oh man.
Me and Joe Sackic would have gone to go.
hunting tigers in China, but you cannot do it in China, for they will arrest you and kill you
for killing a tiger.
It sounded like you were doing the guy in the movie Spy.
Now, they got the guy out plays Aldo.
Yeah.
I learned it from the Downton Abbey.
Like, you sounded like that for like a second.
That's why it caught me.
So I think he thought he was equals to Joe Sack and gradually found out that he wasn't.
And that his influence, like, like, clearly, if you look at his interviews before the
before the summer, it's like, hey, we need to get some veterans up in here and make this
He was shredding Matthew Shane was, right?
Wasn't he killing Matthew Shane after a game one time?
I think the veterans on the team love him.
Like Eric Johnson and that crew love him.
But he had some guys in the younger leadership corps
like Matthew Shane and Lennox probably didn't like him.
But the point is that I think he thought he was equals at Sackick.
He found it he wasn't.
And then he kind of saw the writing on the wall and said,
no, I'm not down with this anymore.
I'm not just a coach.
But he could have saw that.
I run this show.
You could have saw that writing like a month earlier, though.
I mean, fuck, he thought about it to the middle of August?
He needed a month to know it to really think about it.
Now, as we do this show, they have a few candidates.
They have Lane Lambert, they have Kevin Deneene, dude to coach the lock monsters.
Bob Boner.
Bob Boner is not going to be.
He didn't get a final interview.
I just like saying that.
Bob Boner's not in it.
I just like working that in there.
I don't know why he doesn't call himself that he should.
Not great, Bob Boner.
And again, my Pete Campbell sounds like my.
My Stimpy, which is also an impressive impression.
It's a good, Frances.
That's a name.
Bob Bono.
Bob Bono.
Who's that the coach?
Who's the coach of that team there?
Bob Bono.
I'll tell you, I, Red.
This man's an imposter.
Bob Bono is doing a good job out there in Colorado.
Took over for that Patrick Waugh.
Good coach.
Pierre McGuire is on the phone now.
His name's not done.
Draper at all, Red.
So anyways.
I'm so glad we got high before we did the show today.
Kevin Deneen, I think, would be a pretty solid choice, to be honest with you.
In the spot that they're in, in the spot that they're in where there are literally only five options available to them because it's either a retread like Bob Hartley or it's someone else's assistant that they're going to do a solid to because they are like, oh, you know, we can replace this guy.
Like Chicago can literally like just bring up anybody.
to replace Kevin De Nien off their staff.
See, here's what I would do.
If I'm Colorado, like, I'm not, like, you're fucked.
Patrick Gua has bench you over a barrel, and he's shown you to 50 states.
Like, that really should be a saying from the movie, horrible bosses.
It's a good saying.
Like, hire, like, an NHL guy.
Hire somebody that's never coached in the NHL, like, and if it sucks for a year, you can go find your new guy next year.
Like, don't like, like, Kevin DeNine.
He was the coach in Florida the year they went to the playoffs in, like, 20,
12?
That was the bore.
That was the board?
2012?
Wasn't it?
No, he was the coach of the devil was in 2012.
Oh, okay.
Oh, yeah, 2012.
Yeah, that was Denin, I guess.
Yeah, I think it was Danine.
Like, I don't remember him being all that great.
Like, just, I would go off the board.
Then he went off and coached the women's, remember he won a gold medal with the
women's team?
And he's been an assistant in Chicago.
Like, he's put in the time.
He's kind of like Mueller.
Like, Mueller flamed out in his first, like, head coaching gig, and he learned
some shit since then, and he probably could use another shot.
I just feel like if you really didn't want that guy.
I mean, not that they were looking for a coach or anything.
They probably had to know Patrick while I was thinking.
They didn't.
They had to.
Oh, dude, I was on that call with Sackick and shit.
Like, they didn't know anything.
They thought he was coming back.
Like, I would do the opposite.
Like, Vegas went out and hired the most experienced general manager around who traded Martin.
You're at for.
Yeah.
And then he went out and hired everybody he used to work with.
Right.
Fired Bruce Bruejoe because they had one bad.
They hired that guy.
Like, I would just, like, if you're starting from a, like, a completely scratch position,
Like go off the board.
Try something different.
Try something.
You can't pop.
Like, it's not like Colorado
was this 110 point team
the last two years.
They're a bad team.
So no matter who you bring in,
it's going to be either as bad or better.
I just,
I don't know.
I don't know who I'd hire,
but I wouldn't hire,
I don't know if I'd hire Kevin than he.
The thing about McPhee that no one talks about
vis-vis his new job in Vegas
is that he has a different owner.
And like,
when the Washington capitals
were doing crazy things,
a lot of the time it wasn't necessarily McPhee being like I'm Joe independent I'm doing so I'm a fucking Maverick here
there was somebody above him with some influence who owns the team yeah but saying do X Y Z and then
George had to do it I don't I feel like Ted Leonis wasn't in his office going get me Martin E Rat
no I don't think so either but I but I think that Ted Leonsis might have been Boudreux saying
saying Boudreau or saying you know I
I want you to make a,
uh,
I want,
I want you to make a better,
a better choice.
Yeah.
Or I want,
I want,
I want,
I want,
do the,
did the,
do you know,
did the,
do you know,
the avs,
name a coach
that I haven't refreshed.
Yeah.
I think it's possible
that they'd actually
named the coach
while we're doing the show.
Let's see.
Yeah.
Sold out of Ryan.
Yeah,
they hired the lock monsters guy.
They had hired a need,
they hired Jared Bedner during the show.
There you go.
I love the call.
I love the call.
I have no idea who that guy is.
And I love that hire.
You'd love Jared Bedner, why?
Because you can't do any worse?
No, because I just, I'm so tired of retreads and guys that have failed multiple times.
Not like Kevin Deniz's failed multiple times.
So he's an HL coach from the Lock Monsters.
I'm in.
He's the coach that ended Cleveland's drought as a city.
Don't forget that.
Wasn't LeBron.
Wasn't Mugsy?
Not Mugsy Bokes.
What's his name?
It's a Ron Lou.
Sorry.
I wrote a thing today about a kid who dunked on video, so I have all these short NBA guys on my head.
This guy could be great, right?
Sure.
Or we could literally be seeing someone scrape him off the road with a shovel
after he's run over by the people on that roster.
I think it's a great risk.
I mean, Dan Bowsma came for the HL.
Bruce Brewdrow came from the HL.
There's good coaches down there.
Bedner.
Bednar.
Best thing for Colorado is Patrick Watt quitting.
They could be a playoff team now as far as I'm concerned
now that Patrick Woss no longer dictating things there.
They have enough talent.
Steve Genesee wants to know.
Does the Bedner signing make Colorado's
outlook for this season better or worse than it wasn't a
wah. That's kind of what we're talking about.
Everyone's like preempting our stuff. Things are happening while we're talking.
Yeah. And I think I think that's, listen,
your point's a good one, which is that
the removal of Waugh from that job
automatically makes them a better team.
Like Hartley, same thing. Like, I mean,
Galitzen might not be better.
Or not Galitzin. I keep calling him Galitzin from Mission Impossible.
I keep thinking of that. I don't know. But like,
he's probably not that great, but he's probably better.
So I just, it's like Pittsburgh with Mark Andre Fleary.
you have something that's bad every year
just try something new and the one time they do
hey look at this we got a Stanley Cup
this is great they got some pieces there man
they got the goalie they got they got
a bevy of forwards
I would probably still trade one to be honest
they kept Tyson Barry they didn't do the stupid thing
we all thought they were going to do and trade Tyson Barry for some
tough forward it's I like it
so now forget well don't forget everything I said
because I think Danine would have been a fine coach
but yeah Jared Bedner
is your new head coach of the
Colorado Avalanche. Jared Bedner.
No idea. Literally, I could have
walked past Jared Bedner on the way into the studio
today, and I would not have known it was him.
But I love the hire. That's my
full-on endorsement, Jared Bedner.
You heard it here first, ladies gentlemen. Dave Loz
is a Jared Bedner, man.
He could be a 24-year-old male model or a
55-year-old bald guy who weighs 280 pounds.
Doesn't matter.
25-year-old male model was actually Bruce Cassidy
when the Capitals hired him.
That was actually Dallas Aiken's when the Oilers brought him in.
This guy's good-looking.
Let's get this guy.
Yeah, and all the oilers writers are like, this guy's great.
What the fuck are our donuts?
What is...
What the fuck is this?
Carrots?
Do you have any idea?
How many calories I need to get through the day?
You're giving me carrots?
Matt Doak writes in, how many angry texts did Jimmy Visi get from Tim Murray leading up to him signing with the Rangers?
Now, you, I'm higher on Jimmy Visi than you are as a player.
I don't know anything about him.
I'm basically going off of what elite college writer from Yahoo Sports, Ryan Labrott says about it.
And Labrits not high.
at all. I think Lambert thinks he's going to be dog shit.
Right. It's like a middling third liner.
Yeah, like he makes a lot of, he makes fair points
about his age, his production, all that's, I
just, you know, I've always said this.
Like, whenever people go nuts about dudes like
OHL numbers or, you know,
KHL numbers, it's like, well,
I'll get to know him when he plays in the NHL.
Yeah. And like Kevin Hayes two years ago
was like that guy. I was different, but
he was really good his first year. And then
last year he was fucking terrible. I think
Visi's going to be really good. But I, but I,
where we agree is I don't see.
why he picked the Rangers.
I don't see...
I don't see...
I don't see...
I think he's now in the mix
with other guys
competitively for that
top six,
that top six winger spot.
There's no spot for him
in the top six.
Right, that's what I'm saying.
I don't think...
I don't think it's a place
where he's necessarily
his star is going to shine
the same way it would have been,
say, in Jersey.
Like, I don't think that they're...
And granted, even there,
he'd have to be second line
left wing behind Taylor Hall.
Like, I just don't get it.
I get original six.
I get geography.
I get not wanting to play in Boston
because
of pressures or whatever.
I don't know why he didn't want to play in Buffalo.
I think that's a really good spot for him.
You know what the best spot was?
Nashville.
Nashville, yeah, obviously.
I feel like he just got in his head that he didn't want to play there,
and it just became a thing that he couldn't let go of.
And then I just, like, say the final four teams were Nashville, Rangers, Buffalo,
and what was the other one, Chicago?
Like, the Rangers are the last one that I pick for every possible reason,
like where the team is right now in terms of, like, quality.
the roster, it just doesn't.
Like, I get it, his buddy, Kevin Hayes is here,
and you get to live in New York, but I mean,
yeah, I mean, geez, like, he just...
That was the one piece of the puzzle.
We simply didn't, we didn't recognize...
His dad worked for the Leafs.
Yeah, I know.
And he was a Boston Bruins fan
and all this other shit.
You know, him and Ikel, whatever.
And then, like, oh, Kevin...
Of course, Kevin Hayes was the key to the whole thing.
We totally forgot about the guy he played beer pong with
for two years when he was 19 years old.
That's how you decide your future in the NHL.
Um,
No, it's a weird move for him.
And again, it's also a weird move because, like, you know, it's not, I mean, you had, you had a legit chance to play with Jonathan Taves.
Or playing along with Patrick Kane, like, potentially.
Right.
Or play on their power play with them at the very least.
Nashville was a game away from being a Final Four team last year.
And they're young, and their defense is not going to go anywhere for a couple years.
Yeah.
And Chicago, like, you have, Chicago is, like, maybe becoming that team that loses in a round one all the time, but maybe not.
Like, they still, like, it's still Chicago.
They still have, just a.
And now you're going to a team where you're hoping.
that they don't trade one of the centers.
Yeah.
You're also going to a team where they just signed Brandon Peary today too,
which to me that's 16 guys, essentially,
that could be on that forward group.
Any of those 16 guys, like Lindbergh's not going to start the season,
but I just don't get it.
I just don't get it from even the Rangers standpoint, too.
It's like, I mean, obviously, if you can't sign a defenseman,
it doesn't mean you don't sign a $925,000 guy
that can score 15 goals maybe,
but it's just, I don't know.
Because we have a hockey podcast,
I can talk about hockey things,
and I didn't really address this on Twitter
because, honestly, like, when you're in Rio,
your heads down, you're covering Rio,
you're not trying to dabble too much in hockey,
but just so everyone knows,
Mike Harrington and I have a little bit of history
as far as, like, sniping at each other on Twitter or whatever.
Oh, did he do something else to you?
No, we talked about it at the draft,
and he's fine.
Like, I get Mike.
I think Mike is a dude who really looks down upon
the online community
and it looks down upon digital writers.
You think?
Yeah, a little bit.
A little bit.
And is very disrespectful
to us, but at the same time,
it's not as if we aren't disrespectful
to the mainstream guys sometimes.
So let's put that on the side for a second.
He wrote a takeout piece about Jimmy Visi
that really was one of the dumbest fucking things
I've read in a calendar year.
And I mean that sincerely
in the sense that he actually
defined
what scouting is as a profession
and then said you can't do that.
And labeled it tampering.
He literally wrote
that coming to Jimmy Visi's games
and watching him play
was tied him out to tampering.
Like it was the dumbest fucking thing I've read
in months, maybe years.
There were scouts.
They were looking at the Sabres property.
The Sabres property.
Yeah.
Next time I'm at a game in D.C.
And I see Mark Howe scouting
in the press box,
I'm like, what are you looking at, man?
He's like, I'm just looking at the players here trying to figure.
I'm like, oh, so you're pretty much just tampering, right?
Get the fuck out of this press box, man.
Or I'm making a citizen's arrest.
Oh, you mean all these players that are under contract right now?
Under contract, sir.
I mean, it's just, it's almost like it's parody when you read it.
Like, it's just so insane.
It read it, it was like the parody of the local writer writes takeout piece
against guy who didn't choose local team for a thing.
Yeah.
And it was a really embarrassing.
I didn't want to chime on Twitter because there was already a pile on happening and, you know, Barstool wrote about it and other people wrote about it. I'm just like it was so dumb. Oh, it was that bad? Oh, no, it was one of those where like it blew up and people were like, you know, calling out that section in which he he labels scouting as tampering and saying, God, what is, what is this nonsense? And it is, it was nonsense. Listen, here's where I am a VC. I think what he did to the predators was shitty. Because like I said at the time, I really don't buy the idea.
that he didn't commit in some way verbally to playing there.
I don't think the Predators approach the trade deadline with the entire thing being built
around the idea that V.C. is going to join the team if they didn't think Visi was going to join the team.
So I think what he did was shitty.
But that doesn't mean he can't do it.
And it doesn't mean that everything he's done here somehow is putting himself before the NHL
or any of this nonsense.
It's the rights afforded to him within the CBA.
And anytime a player can use the CBA to their advantage, I applaud it because the CBA is so skewed towards the owners and so skewed towards the league.
Like the very – and it's hard sometimes because when we see guys wield their no trade and no move clauses in ways that we don't agree with, like sometimes you got to say, maybe this isn't the best thing.
I'm kind of pissed off of this guy for doing it.
But it's still well within their rights, and it's a right they negotiated, usually by giving them.
giving away money on salary to earn it.
And in Visi's case, the system is what it is.
He used it to his advantage.
He got to go where he wanted to go.
He didn't want to go to Nashville.
And that's his right.
And, you know, Buffalo trades an asset form.
He doesn't sign there.
And that's his right, too.
And I can't begrudge him that, man.
Like the very few rights that these guys have within the CBA,
if they want to exercise him, God bless him.
Go ahead.
Meanwhile, now that you were saying that, I remember this,
Ryan O'Reilly got off
for his
alleged
driving his
tricked out
truck into a
Tim Hortons
and running away
and that
was apparent
hey he's
let's not judge him
for that
let's give him
the Masterton
nod
but if a guy uses
his CBA
negotiated rights to do
something
what's up with that
why would he do that to us
that's wrong
horrible human being
he should probably be shot
in the head
yeah
I mean, I don't want to say for sure because I don't want to be liable as a Buffalo News sports writer.
So I'll just say probably.
I just think that always drives me crazy.
And it's easy for me probably as a guy is whenever like a woman has something happened in the world of sports.
Like, remember when Julie Stewart Banks got the Ronkowski.
And like there were certain like women sports writers that were like, you know what?
That looks bad on all of this because now everyone's going to think we all do that.
And I'm always just like there's no part of my brain that.
thinks Christine Brennan's getting lap dances from Des Bryant in the Cowboys locker room.
Like, I don't extrapolate that out.
But when it comes to, like, beat writers in sports, I kind of do feel like it has that effect
where, like, if this guy is around this team all the time and he's this, like, warped, the
word.
Like, yeah, like, he's too entrenched.
Like, he's too close to it.
And he has, like, these very obvious pro team takes all the time.
Like, not everybody has that.
But I feel like it's more, I feel like it casts unfair aspersions.
and probably more realistic ones on other writers, men, women, whatever, than the other thing.
You bring up an interesting point, which is that I think that women in the industry feel more comfortable or more in the right calling out women that they think are doing damage to all of them.
And whether it's right or wrong, I feel like there's a lot of that.
It's a lot of, well, she shouldn't have done that.
Or, you know, it's, you know, when someone does acts in this way, it makes us all look bad.
the problem that I run into
is a hockey writer
is that I feel like
I'm one of the only people
that will say that about other
male hockey writers
and you go to these meetings
and you get stink eye from people
because you are breaking the cone of silence
as far as the
you know when Spector writes something
fucking awful about Tyler Delo
or any of these guys write something
that just makes the industry as a whole
look ill-informed and bad
like saying that scouting is tampering
like it would probably help the industry
history of someone said, you know what, Harrington? That's kind of a dumb take.
Like, if someone that's not Greg Wischinski writing for a blog called fucking Puck Daddy says, you know,
is somebody writing under a banner that says, the blank news or the blank tribune says, you know what,
Mike, not your best work. Like, maybe that does some good. But no one will ever say it. Because
at the end of the day, it's like, it's a very, very, it's a very, very old boy society. And it drives me
that sometimes. Right. Like Julie Stewart Bing's gets a two-second lap dance. And then everyone's
like, you know what? Andrew.
Kramer's probably been doing that for like 30 years.
Like, no, that's not, that's not, that's not how it works.
That's not how any of this works.
By the way, Christine Brennan, who is clearly an icon in the industry,
writing a story about in Rio how she arrived there and saw military vehicles and guys
with guns all over the place and then being like, yeah, this is what the Olympics are.
Look around, guns everywhere, military everywhere.
I'm like.
Jim Rome.
I'm like, isn't this self-fulfilling prophecy, though?
Like you all we wrote about leading up the Olympics is how they're completely unsafe and how everybody's going to get robbed and shot and terrorism and all this shit and now you're surprised when you come down and it's a military, it's just guns everywhere.
It's like when you walk into the gift shop at the media center and they have a wall of bug spray like and you're like, oh my God, look at all this bug spray, Zika.
Like no shit.
All you did rating before the Olympics was write a fucking Zika story every day before you arrived here.
What did you think they were going to have for you?
Fucking rum cake?
Like what?
What did you think was going to?
would happen.
Rum cake.
Oh, dude, we should have gotten a rum cake for the show.
Yeah, I didn't know she wrote that.
So Jimmy V.C.
So now that we've shifted back on shopping.
All right, listen.
Was there anything else that we did with us?
There's one more thing I wanted to talk about hockey-wise, which is the World Cup of
Hockey.
Now, Jamie Ben out.
I'm going to go.
Surgery.
Oh, Jamie.
Oh, the injury.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
Dump and Keith, not playing due to surgery.
Last October, was it?
It was like 10 months ago.
All right.
Sure.
Probably not the last ones to piece out of the World Cup.
Oh, Nicholas Cronball, not playing.
Cronwall.
Ryan Callahan had a thing too.
A thing, too, yeah.
Now, this could just simply be a symptom of playing the tournament before the season.
Obviously, the off season is a time to heal and get surgery and fix yourself.
So I think if they do this World Cup of hockey going forward, you're always going to have a number of, you know, between, you know,
half dozen, dozen players that don't play because they're using the off season for what it's for,
which is to heal up for what really matters, which is the regular season.
Sure.
But at the same time, doesn't it just kind of speak to the notion of this?
Yeah.
Now, I said this on Twitter the other day, and I'm going to say again here,
I am really, really torn about the World Cup of hockey because I'm more of a fan of it than you are.
I think it's going to be a fun.
I'm a fan of it.
Yeah.
Okay.
So we're both fans of it.
I think it's going to be a fun tournament.
I'm excited about Teen North America.
You know I'm down with the TNA, TNA for life.
Right.
You're a big fan of the teens.
That's right.
Huge fan of the teens.
You should be the big fan of teens.
I mean, I'm surprised you haven't been in a chat with all the TNA players as you like to hang out with those teams.
I haven't been staying loyal in the summer.
I'm not going to lie you.
Oh, you are not lit A.F.
Not lit A.F.
Yeah, but no, like, I want it to be fun.
I think it will be fun.
But I have two issues with it.
all, I know at the end of the day, it's just, it doesn't matter. Like, it's a complete, I've long
mocked the double IHF world as the NIT of the hockey world. It's happening during the Stanley
Cup. No one gives a shit about it here. Other European countries care about it because, like,
it's the thing Russia wins. But, like, it's so, it's a exhibition tournament to me, and I don't
care about it. But yet, when compared to the World Cup of Hockey, it's pretty much the Stanley Cup.
Right. Like, it's the most important thing compared to this, this nonsensical, invented tournament.
The Scientology of hockey, if you will.
And so, like, and I was going to be a van on stop my place when I get home.
Spons by.
Featons.
Dianetics.
So, like, I'm struggling with the idea of going to cover this thing for a month.
And it's not, no one gives a shit.
Like, you win the World Cup, great.
Now, and then everybody has a big party, and then we go do the thing that matters.
And the other part I'm struggling with is I know the better the World Cup does,
the less of a chance
they're going to go to the Olympics
and I'm a huge fan of the NHL
and the Olympics not only because I get to go
but because it's really
incredibly fun to see these guys
playing on national teams
for something that matters versus playing on national
teams in an invented
ATM machine I just said ATM machine
don't hate tournament
that is just going to just
create profit for the
the NHL like I care about the Olympics
I don't care about the World Cup
and I know the better the world
World Cup does the worst is going to be for the Olympics. I'm struggling with that.
I like, I like, completely inversed when it comes to the World Cup in the Olympics where
like all the shit that goes on around the Olympics, like, it's bad, but like I don't so much
focus on that as to why I hate the Olympics. It's the actual Olympics I hate. And meanwhile, the World
Cup of hockey is going to be awesome hockey. It's going to be great hockey for two weeks.
In theory. But you're worried. But you're worried about all the stuff around it, like,
making money for the IOC and, like, how the players don't really care. But the product's going
be better. You're going to have way more fun watching, you know, Sweden versus Team North America
than you are going to be watching Finland play Uruguay and handball. I also wonder,
let's just park that for a second. Oh, boy, God. No, I, uh, I also wonder what, like, are we
going to hold it in Toronto every time? You know what? I was, I didn't realize that until I saw the
schedule come out for the exhibition. I thought it was going to be played in, like, other places.
I didn't realize the whole, no, but, like, I thought it was going to be like,
back in the day where it was like one game in Montreal, one game in MSG.
Oh, so you thought it was actually going to be the World Cup where like it's in one country,
but like they play it in different parts of the country, like in Brazil.
Like maybe not necessarily like, you know, like Russia plays in Russia and then they go to Sweden.
But like I thought like it would, I thought like North America would have every game at Eric Canada is here.
Yeah, in pool play like you'd have a game of Buffalo, you'd have in Chicago.
Yeah.
Yeah.
No.
Like isn't the ice going to be just like massacred by like halfway through the tournament?
Like I just, you can't play that much hockey.
No, they're gaming the system by having all the games in one spot because then people buy strips of tickets to guarantee that there's a seat taken in all the games.
And you're not going to have a story about an exhibition game being played in, like, well, I'm not going to pick on Detroit.
Say Detroit.
Say Detroit.
Commit to it.
They're too close to Toronto.
It would sell out.
A game played in...
Sunrise.
Tampa.
Sure.
And this is not to, you know, bemoan the Tampa market, but a hockey game played in September in Tampa may not sell out.
And so if you stick Team Europe and, you know, Team Finland in Tampa for a pool play game and it doesn't sell out, well, then it becomes really bad for the tournament.
Yeah, but do you think, like, the North American, like, band of misfit Europeans, not North American, the band of misfit Europeans versus Team North America is going to sell out?
Where in Toronto?
I think every game will sell it in Toronto.
Well, they're going to get, but that's just it.
Sell out.
Will the building be filled?
They can control the tickets there better than they can at off-site.
And they will guarantee every game is a sell-out.
It cuts down costs of having, you know, television crews at different arenas trying to cover these games.
It's a centralized thing, but that's the question I have about it going forward.
Is this going to be Toronto's tournament?
Is it going to go other places?
Is it going to go to Buffalo?
Because that'll be the next place you'd probably put it.
Well, is it going to go to Stockholm?
Is it going to go outside?
North America?
Right.
No.
I mean, well, I mean, then like...
Let me answer that question for you.
No.
They don't care about the rest of the world.
They care about North America.
No, they're always...
I mean, like, there's always that thing every year where it's like, should the NHL put a team in Europe?
Like, that would be like a nice catalyst towards it.
Let me rephrase that. They don't care about the rest of the world for the World Cup.
They care about the rest of the world for the writer cup that they're going to do in London.
Oh, that's stupid thing.
Which is the thing that they're going to do instead of go to the Olympics.
Like, they care about the rest of the world.
But when it comes to this tournament, I have a very hard time believing that they're going to
put this tournament outside the United States and outside of Canada where they can't control
tickets the same way, where there's no guarantees the same way, where these guys have to be overseas
and then all come back en masse to training camp.
Like, I don't buy that.
I think this is a North American tournament, and the question is whether it's going to be outside
of Toronto or it's going to be Toronto every like four years.
It's got to be in an NHL building probably too, right?
It's an NHL event.
Yeah.
So, yeah.
So, I mean, you could see it coming to Buffalo.
you could see you coming to Chicago.
I guess you could do it in New York.
It'll be like World Juniors only like awesome and cool for everybody because...
Yeah, because we care about it.
Right, because it's actually a thing we care about.
We've heard of the players before.
Yeah.
Here's Bryce, here's Bryce Balson out of Schlabberm, B.C.
He's got nine goals in the tournament.
Seven of them were scored against the underman Norwegian team.
My only regret about Rio was that I could not watch NBC while Pierre did water polo.
I saw a couple tweets about it where he like referenced, I think he compared the women to Chicago or something like that.
Ashley Jotsis, like Dominic Hasich back there.
She's cartwheeling out of the water there, Doc.
Oh, God.
So good.
God.
Yeah, that's just that though.
He did water polo in London, but he had Doc with him.
So at least you had Doc there, right?
Did Doc do anything this year?
No, Doc didn't do it this year.
So he was there with another announcer doing it.
So it's like, it had to have been oil and water.
It had to have been with somebody else that wasn't Doc.
Doc and Eddie, it's John Johnson over here out of the University of Wisconsin.
He was a water polo.
Fire, splash, save.
Another splash and a save.
Another splash and a save.
And play and stop.
Hit the water with a shot.
Oh, my.
And it's water-noodleed away.
Hit the goggles with a shot.
Oh, he's broken his goggles.
Oh, Doc and Eddie, when you break your goggles like that, you need to go over to the trainer.
Oh, wore goggles like the great Sid Bream.
Do you wear goggles?
War goggles like the great Kent Toculvey.
Michael Lavalier?
No, he didn't wear goggles.
He wore a mask.
I feel like everybody in the 80s who wore goggles.
There's a lot more goggles in sports the 80s.
He had Chris Sabo.
Chris Sabo, Kareem.
You had Kent to Colvey, I think.
You had Kurt Rambis.
He wore black rim glasses, right?
He was goggles.
He was goggles as well.
I remember him having goggles in a Nintendo NBA game.
What happened to goggles?
Why don't we wear goggles anymore?
I think they invented contact lenses in 1992,
and everybody was like,
what the hell are you doing with these stupid goggles on our face?
Why don't we put some contact lenses in our heads?
Yo, Chris, man, what are you wearing those for?
I need to protect my eyes.
And also, I know how about contact lenses, man?
It looks like you're about to dive in a pool.
Like, they should combine every single NBA facial thing,
like the Rip Hamilton, like Phantom of the Opera Mask, the Kareem goggles, the Ben Wallace headband,
and just like go out there and just see if anybody says anything.
Yeah, and then the NHL, I just broke my jaw face shield.
Yeah.
And then the Lawrence Moten high socks, because those are.
Oh, yeah.
High socks at every square.
Syracuse's own, Lawrence Moten.
There's a reference.
No, listen, I think the World Cup's going to be really fun.
The only thing that gives me pause about it is our injuries.
Because they'll happen.
I mean, it's September.
These guys have not been training.
This is the first time I've ever had to train for this.
There'll probably be an injury of some sort.
And hockey also being an injurious sport.
It's going to be quads and stuff like that.
Like, dudes always strain their quads.
Like a freak injury where, like, you know, like Jordan Stahl's leg gets caught
on the room that happens in exhibition games.
Like, you can't do anything about that.
It'll be like a bunch of groins and quads.
But being the cynical asshole that I am, like, the one thing I want is like Finland
and, like, Team Europe in the final.
Like I want a not
Canada, not US
final in the World Cup
just to see the World Burn. Just to have like
a really unappealing ESPN
championship game? Yes.
I can get behind my idea. Some men just want to wash
the World Burn.
Team North America.
How'd you defeat them?
Simple. We burn
down the Air Canada Center.
Alfred.
How did you beat the young guns?
Simple.
We gave them all Mountain Dew.
Greetings, ladies and gentlemen.
Welcome to the World Cup Final.
Oh, you're beautiful.
I'm like a dog chasing the World Cup trophy.
I wouldn't know what to do it.
I got it.
Oh, Sydney's main squeeze.
You love me.
Oh, the way you threw yourself at her.
It's hard we know about you and his main squeeze.
I'm pretty sure he doesn't call her a main squeeze twice in the movie, but I don't care.
That's just why I'm sorry about Team North America.
Right, Team North America.
Oh, right, right, right.
Do you want to know how I got these scars?
You know who has schemes?
Batman's got schemes.
I'm just Tom Sistito chasing cars.
I wouldn't know what to do if I caught one.
I don't know.
He was the dumbest guy.
So, Jimmy Visi.
Oh, yeah, so as I was saying, the relationship between gender and expectations is unfair.
It's time, it's time for some, a mailbag here on Puck's Soup.
Oh, yeah, we got some, I feel like you're, I didn't get CCed on many of the questions.
I see a Harambe one, so that's, of course, I'm on that one.
So, so let's go through some of them.
Why did you forsake us this summer?
All right, who said that?
Roger, who goes by the name
Ivani, Ivani
the Terrible. Okay. Well,
Ivani the Terrible, the answer is
I was in Rio.
Dave was not.
And although we managed to pull off
this thing remotely during the Cup final,
I was super tired.
And I was drinking capparinas
on the beach. Man's working. And like, I was
thinking to myself, do I really want to go back
to my shitty hotel room and fire up
Skype to do
a hockey podcast when I haven't really paid attention?
the hockey at all.
There's really, and I mean, we'd be forcing it.
I mean, like, the fact that we've, when was the last one we did?
Like the second week of July?
Maybe, yeah.
So it's been like five, six weeks.
And look, you have three words written down on the paper.
On my, on my notepad, it says,
three.
Three.
And then Waco, World Cup of hockey.
And then I have two, I actually have two lines drawn off at that both say Olympics,
which means that it's not even fucking like five things.
It's like four things.
It's like three and a half.
Yeah.
Like, we literally were sitting out in the area in the office here.
And we were like, this has been a jad for Brassar.
We don't care about that, right?
Like, yeah, no, we really don't.
Like, there's just, it's, it's like the way you want kids to play multiple sports.
Like, Greg went out and played Olympics.
Right.
I went out and played baseball in Chicago and gambling in Vegas.
And we're better off for it.
It makes us better.
Keynes fan 32, 34 writes in, what are your thoughts on the day of Boland trade?
Are the Panthers just saving money?
Or is another move coming?
Well, no.
Yeah, what are the coyotes doing?
So, yeah.
They're so weird.
No, what are the Panthers just traded Lawson Krause.
to open, along with Boland
to get rid of the Boland contract.
And the truth is that they've got,
they've got, it's very weird to trade
unless they see something in his game.
I mean, he was always a high risk
draft pick as far as
like whether or not he was going to develop the way you want him to.
But I think they had to trade him
to then get rid of the Bolin contract
because they still have to sign Huberto.
Like they've got other
housekeeping things to take care of.
And, you know, the chance to get rid of that contract now
and not have to worry about, you know,
the cap situation next summer or whatever,
I think is,
Krauss might come back to bite you in the ass,
but I think it's a smart move to do it.
And you get a second and a third out of the deal too, I think.
Florida really loves what they did already.
They love all the guys they have,
like Trocheck and Smith and everyone they were re-signed.
But the coyotes are just like,
what's the first thing they did this summer
after they brought Chekkin?
They gave a shit ton of money to Alex Goligowski.
They really, really overpaid for Alex Gologoski.
And it's like, oh, so two years ago,
they were fighting for, you know,
the last pick for Eichol or for me.
David. Last year, they kind of got
a little better. So you're like, okay,
they feel like they've got the young guys coming,
Domi, Duclair, all these guys. It's time to
sort of, let's get this
thing going. And now they've
traded for Pavel Dotsuk. They've traded
for Dave Boland, who I assume is done. I'm guessing
based on the... He still plays. No.
Oh, he's injured now. Because they couldn't buy him out.
So I'm assuming he must have some sort of like
debilitating situation because apparently
they didn't even reference Bolin and the press release.
They were just like really great to have Losson
Klaus here. It's like a Nathan Horton situation.
Yeah.
I think it might be that, but I mean, they still have to pay him, but between Pronger, Dotsuk, Boland,
Riberos buyout, Vermet's buyout, maybe one other guy, but they have like 20 million bucks
to guys that aren't playing hockey for their team this year.
But think about how wonderful it's going to be when they retire the number of dead cap space
next to all those Winnipeg Jets that they have in the rafters.
It's fantastic.
Like when you're doing the Stanley Cup video in four years, it's like, all right, we're sitting down here with
dead cap space.
Dead cap space.
Can you just talk about what it meant for you to come in here in 2016?
You know, it was really hard for me to stay in the press box all the time.
I looked down to see those boys out there.
I wanted to join him, but I realized I was just dead in cap space and meant to play.
Actually, you know, I'm just an idea.
I don't really exist.
Mr. P.W. wants to know, why are the sins getting no love?
Lots of actualizing talent and new coach with lots of success.
I mean, I think that Gie Bouchet is one of the better acquisitions by any team in the off season.
And I think he's a really good coach, and I think that he immediately makes that team better,
at least in the short term, before he, you know.
Until he loses the room in two months.
Right.
I mean, yeah.
Actually, it's a bit of a Pete DeBoer disease happening there.
But, you know, I think he makes that team better.
And I think they do have a lot of good talent there.
And what did they do this in a brother on?
Maybe I want to just take a step back and see exactly how Eric Carlson exists in a Gi-Bouchet system
before I start trying to crown the senators as a playoff team.
I'm worried about that, like the quotes, the weird Gi-Bouche quotes,
So then somebody asked Carlson the other day, like, you know, what do you got to do?
What do you have to do?
Is there anything in your game you have to do to get better?
And he's like, no, I think I'm good.
I think I'm fine.
But like, what do they do besides that, though?
They traded Brassar, they got Brassard for Zabinjat, kind of a wash.
They gave Cody C.C.C. a bridge deal.
Yeah.
They let Patrick Wirkosh go.
What am I missing that suddenly makes them so good?
It's very possible I've forgotten because it's August.
You're better?
You're older?
You're older?
Oh, you think so?
I don't know.
You think another year of Dionne Finoff is what they're.
need?
Sure.
I don't think
they're going to
be very good.
Late
Fines wants to
know who's a
player that in
hindsight you
were wrong
about and how
about one you
were right about
all along?
Well, the last
one I don't care
about.
I'm right about
every player,
but like the one
player that
you in hindsight
were wrong
about,
I would say
I was maybe
wrong about
Sagan
that I didn't
think that he,
that all he
needed was to
get out of Boston.
I thought there
might have been
a little bit
more damage
there done
than
then I gave him credit for us
as far as like having your will crushed
as a young player by a team
I thought he would go to Dallas
and struggle a little bit more than he did
but I mean the minute he fucking stepped into Texas
all of a sudden he's like a hundred point center
he's like all right well I'm gonna be on the first line
and I'm gonna play 22 minutes a night
I think I definitely I underestimated how good
he was gonna be after getting out of that situation
um top of my head Sean Monaghan I'd say
oh yeah as far as like being a 30 goal score
I mean, like, I just thought, like, it was just insane that Calgary, like, put him in the NHL right away that year.
And I just didn't think he would turn out.
Although, yeah, and I read Puck Daddy's Ryan Lambert, who feels like Sean Monaghan might not actually be that good.
But even if whatever he is now, like, I did not think it would be that fast for sure.
Jackie wants to know.
Which players in the NHL do you think are Trump supporters?
Sustido.
Well, yeah, listen.
The thing you need to know about...
How does Sistito talk on this podcast there?
The thing you need to know about the politics of NHL players is that,
the vast majority of them are
fiscally conservative.
Yes.
Whether that translates to being Republican
or translates to being libertarian,
I don't know, but fiscally conservative is
the one norm amongst
NHL players. I would say
in my experiences with an HL players
though, that a group, also
a good number of them, though less so,
are socially liberal.
Or at least left-leaning
socially. So I don't think
that necessarily, like I can't imagine
imagine somebody who plays with a bunch of guys from other countries being like, yeah, build a
fucking wall.
Actually, yeah, those are the guys I can see saying that because of it's like, right.
Okay, that's a good point.
This fucking Swedish guy will not, Carl Higlin will not stop playing Swedish House Mafia in the locker room.
No, no, I was thinking more like, you know, if Carl Hagglin wasn't here, my boy from Owen Sound
would be in the NHL.
Right, like that too.
That's a good point.
Like the Don Cherry thing, we're like, we're inviting Russian, Neil Yakupov over here in the
CHLB.
That is a really, that's a really good point.
No, I do think, I don't know if there's Trump supporters.
I think like if like Mitt Romney was the guy running, I think there probably be more of those.
I don't think there's, I don't know, who, all right, well, the real, all right, let's, let's answer the real question.
Who are the five most racist hockey players in the one in the one of the top of the day?
Oh, that's a very's out?
Or does, can we still throw him into the, he's not, he's not under contract anymore, but that would have been, yeah, that happened too all we were away.
No, no, we were still here.
We were still here.
When he was doing the homeless.
The homeless video thing.
We talked about the last podcast.
Well, something we've never actually addressed on the podcast.
We might as well do it now.
You bought it before.
Producer Tori wants to know.
Does Dave Lozo regret driving the Cincinnati Zoo Twitter off the internet with his Harambe memes?
First of all, you've rendered him speechless.
You've stolen his tongue.
It's weird how, like, so like every once in a while, like, I'll tweet a Harambe.
I haven't tweeted a Harambe song parody in forever.
But, like, they'll CC, like, barstool people on it.
And when someone sees barstool on something, usually it's like some barstool person who's mad that you made a Tom Brady cheats joke and they want the barstool guy to yell at you.
But like it kept happening over and over again.
And then there was Arod's last game in Boston.
And somebody had a sign that said Aeroad shot Harambe.
And there was a stool on that.
And I couldn't figure it out.
But apparently I guess like bar stool and like PFT commenter have been doing Harambe jokes forever.
So it's like everybody does it.
It's a meme.
Right.
It's probably not at the level of the Santana smooth joke.
but everybody does it.
So I only found out about the Cincinnati Zoo thing
because Barry from Deadspin tweeted a thing that said,
go look at the Cincinnati Zoo and read every reply to every tweet.
And every tweet, it was like,
oh, here's a brand new baby zebra that was born in the zoo.
And the first reply had like 800 retweets was like,
you know who died in the zoo?
Harambe.
So like I don't even get, I was like,
I followed the Cincinnati Zoo that day just for the first opportunity to make a joke.
And they left already.
I was like, come on, man.
You don't feel when they write, like, respect our family.
We're still broken up about the death of this o'guerilla,
and you guys making a joke about it makes us all feel terrible.
You don't feel anything about that?
No, because if you're the Cincinnati Zoo, you're the ones that murdered Harambe.
You can't feel bad about Harambe being dead if you killed him.
That's like the Joker being like, man, feeling really bad about all these people I murdered.
I'm not showing some respect.
I have to admit there's a certain, I have a certain disconnect with the Harambe stuff
in the sense that like...
It's weird.
I know, I find it...
I find, like, the song parodies
that you do and others have attempted to do funny.
Like, yours are actually funny
and others are not, usually.
But, like, when Harambe
just becomes the go-to punchline
for anything is a part of...
Like, you know, like...
Like, you know, like...
Like, the Visi thing.
All you do is just put Harambe into that little, like...
Right, like, people love it.
VC snub sabers to sign with Rangers,
and then someone will tweet,
dicks out for Harambe.
Like, I'm not quite...
I don't...
I think I have a pretty nuanced comic mind,
but I don't get the...
I don't get it.
I don't get that one.
I'll freely admit.
Like,
dicks out for Harambe is at the level of like when,
um,
pick a celebrity.
Like Chris Evans tweets something like,
hey,
really excited to be on the set of the new Captain American movie.
And the first reply is like,
daddy.
Like that's what it is.
Like it's just like this instant thing people tweet now to get in there and have like a
harambe reference.
The only thing I can think of this is that like when,
when like,
when some,
when,
when,
you know,
like,
Warren Buffett tweets like,
or whatever the phone.
I'm just using that as example,
tweets like,
you know, I feel like the
the interest rates in this country
should definitely be maintained in the
perpetuity over the next six months. And then I'll
just tweet like Bay.
Yeah. Yeah. Like is that
ticks out for Harambe? That's basically what it is.
Okay. Like Harambe is like, it's like, it's
meaningless and meaningful all at the same time.
We're like, who's the guy
from Silicon Valley who said it was like...
Kumel Nanjami had said that it was racist.
He said it was racist because the only thing
funny about it was the name.
And he's like, if it had been
another name like Tom
like Jeff it wouldn't have been funny
but it would have been funny but it would no but then Cecil
the lion was funny and Cecil's not right
yeah Cecil's about now
where it does get into the level
of abject racism is the Leslie
Jones harassment with Harambe
memes I missed that I just the whole thing with like her nude photos
leaked this week and people were like here the nude
photos of her and they put a fucking picture of Harambe up
well now now do you feel terrible don't you
I don't know that was going on yeah exactly you're
trafficking there
You were part of the alt right now with the Moranbe.
No, but like if like if like Harambe's name was Jeff,
a Jeff the dead murdered ape would be a bit.
And then they would have just put Jeff in there.
Jeff's a funny name though.
I mean, Jeff is like a normal guy name on a gorilla would be hilarious.
Right.
That's what I mean.
Like here's why.
Here's why it's funny in a way too is because when it first happened, like insane left Twitter was like,
should have shot the mom.
I'm serious.
Like, I had some crazy-ass people on my, I follow on Twitter who were like, they shouldn't have shot the ape.
They should have shot the mom because she wasn't paying attention to her a kid.
Like, she's the first person to have a kid get away from her somewhere in a place where it's like a zoo or an amusement park.
Like, it just, that's a zoo.
But don't bump.
Thank you.
But, yeah, like, it's just, yeah, it's not.
All right.
I can't believe people are doing it.
Why are people harassing Leslie Jones?
Ghostbusters?
Ghostbusters.
Is it still that thing?
Yeah.
Anyways, I didn't see Ghostbusters.
I didn't see Suicides squad to answer your other questions.
I can recommend Midnight Special
The Jeff Nichols movie
That was really great
I mean it's very derivative of Star Man
And E.T.
But that's fine.
It was really solid, even the end.
And Keanu was middling.
Saw that on a plane.
I'd give it like a B.
And was there a thing I told you I saw?
Oh, Ten Cloverfield Lane was bang on great.
Really enjoyed it.
Bang on.
Yeah, bang on great.
Bang on, Don Eddie.
And Stranger Things was the best thing I've seen all summer.
but you guys know that except Dave Lozo doesn't want to see it because he's part of that he's part of that
you know who I'm talking about, Stranger Things fans.
The people who didn't, weren't part of the wave of binging in the first two weeks who now see a thing that is universally loved.
It's not universally loved.
They don't think they quite have the energy to take it down.
But they also know they don't want to join the cacophony of millions who enjoyed it.
So they're just sort of on the outskirts.
It just gets annoying where like everyone's like, oh, I got to see.
Like, what was the, what was the show that's also, like, it's either Netflix or Hulu with the girl from the office who came to New Pam?
Yeah, yeah.
Like, oh my God, this is so hilarious.
Like, it's a fucking sitcom on Netflix.
It can't be that funny.
It's pretty funny.
Like, it's just, I don't know.
Yeah.
I admit, that is a flaw in my brain where when, like, 89% of people are like, this is the greatest thing ever.
And I'm just like, eh.
How can I ruin it?
I don't have the energy to ruin it.
Like, it's not even that I want to ruin it.
It's just, it's like the wire.
The wire's like that, too, where people are just like,
oh, it's the greatest television show you've ever.
See, for me, though, like, I love the wire in a big way,
but, like, when people would say that, I'm like, listen,
you know, not to get back to the Batman memes, but, like,
you know, maybe it's New Jersey and me,
but the Sopranos is sitting over here saying,
what the fuck with your wire praise?
Like, you know.
Anyways
Stranger Things fans
No spoilers at all
Because you all know what happens
But like
Listen there is a monster
In season two
If they ever make it
And that monster is called
Fan service
And I swear to God
If they bring back Barb
From the dead
I'm gonna be so pissed off
Because all it is
Is fan service
This is a character named Barb
And her whole point in the show
Who you just told everybody
It was dead
She's dead
She dies in like the first couple episodes
The whole point
The whole point of it is that
Like she is the goody
Two Shoes that dies
So you
Basically there's a character
Trope in in horror
It's a character that you don't want to see die
That dies
To rate to set the stakes
To say look this shit is real right someone you like just fucking died
Like psycho when they when they kill the shower
Yeah right when they kill her right
So that's her purpose
To bring her back
Renders that
that pointless. So that's what her purpose was. And I'm sorry that she was a great little actress
and I think she was fantastic in the show. And I understand why people were treating her like,
you know, the frumpy boba fete of stranger things where you just wanted to have more screen time.
But to stay dead. You served your purpose. Now stay dead.
Stay dead. Play dead.
Greg Wischinski. Yahoo Sports. Stay dead.
Tweet, tweet, tweet. Did you see what this hockey guy said about you? He said, you should die.
These guys said, you should die. And you get C.D.
In the remaining time in this episode of Puck Soup, don't have any idea how long it went, but who gives a shit?
The screen's black.
I can't tell how long it's been.
No, this has been recording.
Yeah, here's Dave Loso's Penn State Story.
Do you need me here for this?
I mean, you might want to stay in, because you may have questions as it goes.
I'm going to take a bite of this oat bar, but go ahead.
Okay, so summertime for my group of friends is, like, kids' birthday party time.
So I go out to the suburbs for this three-year-old's birthday party, and there's all kind of.
There's kids everywhere.
It's a kid's birthday party.
And it's at my friend's house and it's kind of a small gathering.
And for background, we all kind of went to Big Ten schools.
I went to Rutgers, which became a Big Ten school two years ago.
So it's me and my friend Harris and we're Rutgers people.
My two other friends, Stephen Jeff, went to Penn State.
My friend Jerry went to Indiana and he married a girl from Penn State and her parents are Penn State parents.
You know what I mean?
Oh, yeah.
Like they're Penn State people.
Nice people, great people, but they're Penn State people.
So we're at this party, and there's all kids running around,
and we're just standing around, talking, shooting the breeze.
And Rutgers joined the Big Ten two years ago,
and they played Penn State at Rutgers two years ago.
They played at Penn State last year.
So this year they're playing at Rutgers.
So I say to my friend Steve, whose dad has season tickets,
I'm like, are you going to be going to the game this year?
And he's like, absolutely.
So I turned to my friend Harris.
I'm like, are we going to go again?
And he's like, yeah, I think we're going to go.
And then my friend's mother-in-law, the Penn State mom comes over and she goes, you know what?
Ever since the abuse, I just can't go.
Oh.
And like, we're all standing at a semicircle and she kind of approaches the semicircle.
And she's like, the abuse was just so bad that, you know, I just can't see myself going.
And we're just kind of like, whoa, because if you've ever met somebody from Penn State since it happened, that's not what they say.
They say anything but that.
They defend Joe Paterno.
They go as far sometimes as to say that it was made up or, oh, it's so convenient that this stuff comes out now because he's dead.
Yeah, real nice.
But no, she comes over and says the abuse.
It was just, it was just so over the top that I just, I just can't.
It's just not fun anymore.
And she goes on to basically talk about this for two minutes with children running around at this birthday party.
She says the word abuse about 15.
to 20 times in about a two-minute window.
And when you're telling a story at a party where there's not that many people,
you hear the word abuse, 15 to 20, someone comes over and you're like,
what are you talking about?
What abuse?
And we all kind of cringe because, again, there's children everywhere.
Now is not the time to be having this conversation in the first place.
And now is definitely not the time to be describing the abuse that you're talking about
in vague terms when you keep saying abuse.
Yeah.
So we're just kind of like, oh, my God, what's going to happen here?
So she just goes into it.
She describes the abuse.
She goes, well, when I went to that Rutgers game two years ago, I was wearing a Penn State sweater and the fans there just kept abusing me about Jerry Sandusky.
That was the abuse.
And she just kept talking about the abuse.
She was like, yeah, I sat down and this for two hours.
They just kept abusing me.
And I just can't go back to that.
So she can't go back to a Rutgers game at Rutgers because of the abuse.
and like I'm telling you I sat there for like a minute after she revealed what the abuse was and I couldn't laugh because I thought I was I thought I was on like a show like I looked over at my friend Steve and like he's like covering his face and trying not to laugh and she gets done and I'm just like yeah it's probably nothing worse than going somewhere and being abused that's it's it's got to be bad that's got to make you not want to go anymore and for and like so the rest of the party like we don't talk about it because it's just there's no opportunity to laugh about it and then like I get in my car I text my
friends and I'm like did you guys all think she was talking about the sexual abuse at
Penn State the whole time and they're like yeah she said the word abuse like 40 times we all
thought that's what she was talking about and for two weeks now like I can't stop thinking
about that story it's crazy that's next time someone tells you that a certain topic can't be funny
there you go we found away one last thing before we go so Vegas
Bill Foley oh boy has registered the following domain names he's registered night
He's registered desert hawks.
What's he doing?
He's registered red hawks.
These were all registered previously.
The new one, most recently registered as to do the show.
Aces.
They can't do Aces because the NHL said no gambling.
Oh, I thought that was a Bill Foley's choice on his own.
The NHL legit said you can't do anything involving gambling.
The new name that has been registered that may in fact be the name of the Vegas franchise is the Las Vegas Desert Knights.
and at KN
not N
right like Scarlet Knights
yeah
Desert nights
like the place
where the abuse
happened for a woman
in a Penn State
Now there is
That's not really good
Only one
connection I can make
In thinking about
Desert Knights
Which is
one of the single
shittiest casinos on the strip
The Excalibur
Where they do like a medieval times
Dinner and Tournament thing
Inside of a
Do they?
Oh I never knew that
But it's a terrible casino
So that's what I will think
of if the name of the team is desert nights is that the desert nights also i will think about
how desert nights would be the single worst job for a night because it is fucking hot and you're in
armor you're walking around in that medal in like august and it's like 110 outside it's beating off
we all know what gregg's doing when the shows anyway back that penn stays to it so it is the desert
nights the les Vegas desert nights i just don't get like you're playing hockey in a gambling town like
naming your team the slots is not going to, you know, no one's going to be like, wait a second, gambling.
Yeah, I know.
Anyway, so that's all the hockey news we could possibly stuff into this edition of Puck Soup.
Obviously, we thank no one for being on the show because we had too much to talk about, couldn't have a guest.
Yeah.
We'll take your suggestions for guests, by the way, at PuckSoup podcast on Twitter, if you want to hear anybody.
And yeah, like, John Boyega.
John Boyega, Duda plays Green Arrow.
So, like, there's a lot on the wish list, but I don't know how many will get after the great Margot-Robby snub of 2016 happened.
That's going to hurt us.
I really knocked us down a peg, I think.
Like, we were getting some pretty decent guests in the first season of the show, and then, like, all of a sudden, Margarabi's like, I got no time for you to promote my shitty movie.
And it hurts.
It really hurts.
And then she was on that thing you sent me.
She was on some podcast in, like, Australia?
Is either Australia or England?
Wherever.
I don't give it a shit.
Either where the criminals live or where they're from.
And it was like a video podcast for like they were in front of a green screen.
It looked like it was like a Wayne's World style thing.
And like, oh, you don't want to come on here and talk about hockey?
But you go on this ridiculous show?
It was like 10 minutes.
And like, I think the theme of the podcast was like the woman who was hosting it like drinks.
Yeah.
She had like champagne or something.
Listen, I got a red bull.
You got a sparkling lemon water.
But no, but like I don't think Margo drank the whole time.
Margo.
Like I know her.
I don't think Margs drank the whole time on that podcast.
MR.
If you're out there.
If you want to promote your next film.
What up, Rob.
Suicide Squad 2.
suicide squatter.
That's right.
Suicide Squad 2,
the wrath of crocodile man.
By the way,
we're never going to end this.
So whenever I would mention
Margarabi as like a guess,
people would be like,
yeah,
bro.
You know what I mean?
Yeah,
bro.
That's not about it.
No,
but I always thought it was like
way too over the top.
Like,
why are people,
like,
I get it.
She's basically like
one of the most
attractive people in the world.
But like,
it was just always like,
there was always a tinge of like,
why is this so,
and then I finally saw
Wolf of Wall Street.
Oh, you didn't,
you never saw a Wolf of Wall Street?
I saw focus.
I saw, and she was in, she's in the big short.
And then I finally got around to seeing Wolf of Wall Street.
I get it now.
I understand why people were so over the top.
So all of this stuff about Marco Robbie was, was, you were saying this independent of ever having seen Wolf of Wall Street.
Never saw that scene where she opens up the doors and stands there.
Never saw it. Never. I swear to God, I had never seen it.
And then I saw it and I was like, and she's in the bedroom with the thing and the, and the touching and the, and he's apologizing.
and the kids' room and the cameras.
You know, I didn't really get all this Beatles hype
until I listened to the White album.
And then I get it now.
I get why people like them so much.
Like imagine if like I,
the only thing I knew about Denzel Washington was like two guns.
Two guns and unstoppable.
Right, right.
Then one day someone's like, here's.
Non-stop, sorry.
Someone's like, here's glory.
And I'm like, oh.
Or like Robert De Niro.
It's like, all I saw was like bad grandpa.
And then it's like,
oh, have you ever seen Goodfellas?
No, what's that about?
But that was basically me.
I swear on everything.
I had no idea.
Wait, Harrison Ford, the dude from what lies beneath?
Indiana, Indiana the what?
Raiders of the who?
Wait, Al Pacino?
The movie from the guy from insomnia?
He was in the god.
What's the godfather?
No, that's wild stuff.
No, I had no idea.
Because like, I understand that like, anytime you mention an attractive woman on Twitter,
people always like, oh, yeah, bro, it's great.
But there was always something too over the top about it.
And then like tumblers locked into place instantly.
Oh, everyone's seen her naked.
Okay.
Wait, are you saying the chick from Phantom Menace and Thor was in a movie about lesbians and ballet?
I don't know.
It doesn't sound like my cup of tea.
It's like, wait a second.
Hold on.
The girl from the episode of Friends, who Joey takes her brain from?
Wait, wait, she was in movies?
Besides that?
Susan Surwatton?
Hold up.
So you're telling me Booker from Roseanne.
Right?
I didn't know that one for a while either.
Was it a heist movie?
With Carl Reiner?
I had no idea.
I'm so dumb.
All right.
Thanks to everybody for listening to this gargantuan episode.
We hope that you all enjoyed it.
We'll be back with more regular.
We'll probably do one more before World Cup.
hockey and stuff like that, but wanted to put a
bow around the summer. Thanks to the
NHL news for all happening while we did the show.
It was really sweet of you. I mean, it wouldn't be
a show unless massive news broke
in the one hour in which we sit down every week to do a show.
After a summer of nothing. Like, literally started
the show by saying, nothing happened to the Olympics
and then loom behold, it says. Anyways, Dave Losa
will take you home. Thanks to everybody who listens.
You can find my work on Puck Daddy on the Ahoo Sports
and Matt Woshensky on Twitter.
And please hit us at PuckSoup
podcast on Twitter as well. Thanks to
Katie Levine, our producer, Sirodd Nair, for putting the show
together for nerdist.
And here is Dave Lozo.
I already told the Penn State story.
So I'm kind of out of stuff.
Leave Leslie Jones alone, you motherfuckers.
I think it just stopped.
All right.
Anyway, thanks for the show.
Thanks for stopping by.
And we'll see you when we see you.
You have to stay to cut fresh.
What is it again?
Stay classy and I'm so out of practice.
Oh, yeah, stay lit.
And, and, no, be lit.
I will just edit this later
Be lit and stay loyal
Yeah
We're gonna edit the end of the show
Yeah
Now leaving nerdist
com
