Puck Soup - Salty Anthem Singers
Episode Date: May 18, 2017Greg and Dave talk about babies named after Phil Kessel, John Tortorella in "Multiplicity," a terrible Stanley Cup commercial, the GM of the Year Award, the evils of Ryan Kesler, the sad saga of a sal...ty national anthem singer in Nashville, "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2," a special expansion draft quiz for Lozo and your reader mail, including whether you should use the phone while pooping. Presented by Seat Geek.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to whatever you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, eats and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nonsense.
Pogsu.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy Blog.
You know who I am.
You know that name.
He's the name.
Who is the name?
The name that's...
It's right on the podcast you listen to.
You just click on info and it's right there.
Damn right.
You know, they say that cat, Lozo was one bad mother.
And this is Kylo Ren.
My parents name me Kylo Ren because my parents are idiots.
Let's start with this.
As you know, Phil Kessel is a Stanley Cup champion.
You got to do your thing.
Oh, you're in Puck's Who.
There you go.
As you know, Phil Kessel is a Stanley Cup champion.
He is one of our favorite players in all of the land
to see him angry and vibrating on the penguin's bench,
like a hedgehog on a massage chair at the mall, was wonderful.
People laughing at him is even better.
Yeah, Chris Coon is actually like...
Just openly laughing at his anger.
It's like the Seinfeld episode when Jerry's trying to learn how to get angry
and everyone's laughing at him, he's like, it's still kind of funny.
Well, it's like when you're at like the DMV,
if you're at like the Department of Motor Vehicles
and you just see someone losing their shit at the window,
like you can relate.
Like you can relate to Phil Kessel,
getting a pass and being really angry about it but at the same time it's hilarious
it's Phil Kessel do it's Phil Kessel like and you can just picture his voice getting all
high and whiny and I can't do the voice I won't even try shit don't make a pass
right yeah shit right yeah yeah the hand gestures uh at one point it looked like he was playing
rock paper scissors with with Chris Koonitz and it was the greatest thing I've ever seen
Sean Gentilly the the arbiter of all of all Phil Kessel impressions
He made a good point.
He said if the Ottawa Senators would have won that game won nothing,
Phil Kessel would have been demonized.
Selfish, wants the puck.
Not thinking about the team, but he scores because Craig Anderson falls down.
And it's like, oh, he just has that fire in his belly, Greg.
Just wants the puck.
He wants to win.
He just cares too much.
I love the fact that Mike Sullivan had to answer questions the next day,
because we literally had nothing to talk about in the series
as we'll get to Ottawa's cripplingly boring.
Oh, my God.
But the fact is he had to answer like seven questions about Phil.
What do you have to do at the bench?
coach to make sure these guys don't get out of hand.
I mean, a lot of emotion there, but of what?
How much emotion is too much emotion?
I got to give Mike Sullivan credit because, like, when he first got hired last year,
he came across as, like, John Tortorella's, like, not a clone, but, like, one of those
Michael Keaton multiplicity clones were, like, he's got a lot of him in there, but not totally.
Like, he's not rubbing the, he's not the rubbing the pizza on the face clone.
He's, like, the second clone.
You're just like, but, like, the way he handles those questions, like, on the bench,
but with Pierre and like post game
he's pretty good
gonna eat the castle
Mike what's your plan for getting around
that one three one trap
I just peed myself
yeah
multiplicity starring Mike Sullivan
Mike Sullivan that's right
I don't have time for all this stuff
I need to make clones of myself
and there's like a Mike Sullivan
that's like 15 degrees
so there's John Totorella is the main clone
he's Michael Keaton
Mike Sullivan is the smarter
John Totorella
He's not like the super sensitive one
That likes to cook and stuff
Right
Like who would that be
No he's the super sensitive one who likes to cook
Then there's the then there's the
Old John Totorella
He's the third clone
From like his New York days
So you have reborn John Totorella
Who's nicer
Then you have Mike Sullivan
Who's smart and wears the sweaters
And then you have
Old Torts
Who's like
Just the dumbest
Yeah the
dumbest blockhead.
Possible.
Waring a leather jacket.
Human being you could possibly want to
get a great hat behind your bench.
Those whining babies
over there in Pittsburgh, that guy.
And then I don't know, I get,
who would be the pizza version
of John Totorella?
The one who wants to fight coaches
between periods of Vancouver.
Oh no, he's the,
he's the John Torrella clone
who shows up in the Team USA win breaker.
He's the one.
I didn't want to do the lines, coach.
Toughness.
What?
Grit, great, great determination.
Jam, jam.
John like jam.
What?
John, is that you?
Gonna eat the jam.
And he just rubs jam all over his face.
John, are you okay?
Gonna eat the jam.
John Tudorilla's multiplicity.
I thought the jam was metaphorical, John.
What's a forical?
Gonna eat the jam.
Before I get into this Phil Kessel thing,
I wanted to mention
like grape.
Something that came across
the Twitter
of Phil Kessel's mortal enemy.
Society?
Steve Simmons.
Oh, no.
He's got me blocked.
Steve Simmons,
the Toronto Sun does not help me block
for some reason,
even though I've incessantly mocked him
for the better part of three years.
Steve Simmons last night,
this is during game three
of the Anaheim Ducks National Predator series.
Okay.
Every playoff season,
you discover players.
You didn't realize were this great.
Oh, wait, wait, wait, wait.
Let me try and guess who is.
Go ahead.
This is a Ducks Predators game that he's watching.
That he didn't realize was good.
Roman Yossi.
Watching Nashville didn't know Victor Arvetson could do this.
He's been doing it all here.
He's like one of the leading scorers in the team.
He scored 30?
He had like, I think he had like...
Through way.
Yeah, like...
Okay, like once you get to the All-Star break, you have to know who Victor Arvetson is.
You kind of do.
He led the team in scoring.
For me, for me, I really wasn't.
I wasn't aware of Andre Kasha until maybe a week ago.
Victor Arbitts is a top line player on the best line in the playoffs, arguably.
I mean, not arguably.
They're the best line in the playoffs.
Like Forsberg, Arvinson, Johan's and best line of the playoffs.
Didn't realize they were great.
He was great.
First of all, like, what kind of asshole...
Listen, we're all assholes.
We're hockey writers.
But, like, what kind of asshole admits that they were late to the show?
Like, are they...
In the back of his mind, is he like, oh, man, you know, everyone's going to be on this bandwagon with me.
We all didn't realize how great one of their leading scorers and their top line was.
Do you know that Philip Forsberg is actually a pretty good player?
He may not be Peter, but he's pretty good.
That's what I call the Peter principle.
God damn.
I'm Dave Lozo.
ESPN.
Phil Castle is a Stanley Cup champion, and now he's the inspiration for the name of one of hockey's newest,
Pittsburgh Penguins fans
Kessel Ryan Hillman was born on Mother's Day
at Butler Memorial Hospital in Pennsylvania
his parents, Nicole and Adam,
told W-T-A-E
that they didn't know the baby's sex beforehand
but had already decided
that if they were having a boy
they would name him after the Penguins forward
Why wouldn't you name isn't Kessel?
I was going to say, yeah, that works either way.
It's a weird first name.
It's not a gender-specific name.
No.
No, Kessel is, that's not that.
A short fame of like Kess for a girl is probably pretty cool.
Kessel, yeah.
It's not like these weirdos that name their kid, Kylo Red.
So you're hung up on that.
He's the bad guy!
It was reported that the name Kylo had skyrocketed in the baby names category.
It's not even a good name.
It's like the third name that George Lucas would throw out there for the bad guy.
that's like, fine, we'll just go with that.
Originally it would have been like, let's call him, let's call him Mysterio.
No, no, George, no.
How about Battington?
George, we need something a little less on the nose, buddy.
How about Kylo?
Evil.
No, evil.
We'll get into this later, but everyone was talking about the twist and Guardians of the Galaxy
Volume 2 and they were like mad about it.
If you didn't figure out who the bad guy was based on the character's name
four seconds after you heard the character's name, you're an idiot.
It's like Sinistro in fucking Greenlander.
Sinister, Destructo, and he lives on the planet Dungeon Area.
Oh, sure, it's just a little again.
But he wears white, and he's good looking, so you're just like, oh, he must be awesome.
Yeah, we'll talk about Guardians too a bit later, but.
But Kessel is a name.
Kessel's actually a nice...
Kessel's a really cool name.
Even, like, Malkin.
If you named your kid Malkin Jones or something, that's...
Koonitz, no.
Yeah, that's kind of a weird.
No.
Any z-s-s-s-sound, though.
Crosby is a pretty good, like, name for either a boy or girl as well.
Crosby.
Flurry Wyshinsky.
Pornquist Lozo.
Yeah.
It just doesn't work.
I got a weird last name, so, like, you need to have a biblical first name to balance it out.
So, like, Haglin Lozo, no.
Hagglin Hillman would have been, Hagelin sounds like a, like a, like a, a, like a, a, a, like a, a, a, a, a, a, a, a dickens character.
More porridge, Mr. Haglin.
Mr. Haglin Hillman.
All right.
We're obviously talking about Phil Kessel and Baby Names because, as Dave Loso pointed out this week,
the Ottawa Senator's Pittsburgh Penguin series has left something to be desired.
Oh, as I pointed out.
In the entertainment category.
Yeah, as only you pointed out.
You apparently are the only person.
Everyone else thinks it's super exciting to watch the Ottawa Senators get no shots on goal for 16 minutes in a tie game in the third period.
I mentioned this before, but I'll do it again.
I find it palpably insulting.
Palpably insulting.
They're the same team.
That people, they're not the same team.
People are comparing the Ottawa Senators of 2017.
You're blind to it.
The 1995 New Jersey Devils,
and I'll give you two reasons why they're not the same.
One, they're not your favorite team.
Three reasons why they're not the same.
One, they're not my favorite team.
Two, the Devils,
okay, the Devils had players that actually you cared about.
Like Scott Stevens.
What is that mean?
No one gives a shit about Dionne Finoff.
Not even Cufford gives a shit about Deonfinoff.
Do you think people outside of New Jersey?
Jersey cared about Scott's team.
Absolutely.
You're wrong.
You're absolutely wrong.
Claude Lemieux.
No.
Scott Niedemeyer.
You see, this is the problem with Ottawa people who come to my mentions to yell at me
because I don't watch the games or whatever.
Again, when I was in 1995, the devils were the funnest, most interesting team ever
because they won all the time.
They won in the most boring fashion.
Stefan Riesh.
You don't care because your favorite team is winning.
Anyone else watching, and I was the same way too back then.
I was like, oh, what's the matter?
You don't want to see a great team win or a great, great,
goalie and the same thing now.
Someone's like, it's funny.
Like I tweeted, I like posted it to Facebook and someone's like, oh, this team's boring.
I guess you don't like 120 foot passes from Carlson the Hoffton.
And I guess you didn't see that 6-5 overtime game.
Okay.
So, out of 14 games, you're pointing out one game and one pass?
Yeah, here.
Here's my counterpoint.
This Penguin series.
Right.
I guess you didn't watch the first two rounds.
Just because your game goes overtime doesn't mean it was a fun game to watch.
Before I continue with my devil's thing, a caveat.
We know that since this podcast comes out on Thursday, and it's game three at tonight.
Oh, 8-7 final tonight.
We fully acknowledge the fact that this rant will be immaterial by the time he listens to this.
Kibusha opened it up.
He said, you know what, we can't win this way.
Let's run them down.
And the thing is, too, is like...
Peg Anderson's pants keep falling down, and he gives up 17 goals.
Yeah.
He said he lost an edge.
I feel like he just...
I don't think that's losing an edge what he did.
I think he just lost his balance.
He lost the balance.
Now, the other reason I don't think that they're the devils is because the devils did this
thing called
evoking an emotional response
from the people that watch the team.
There was actual hatred of the devils.
You could look at Claude DeMew
and say, fuck that guy, I don't like that guy,
I don't want that guy to win.
So they were worse than Ottawa, because Ottawa is at least
likable.
No, they're like Ben Stein on win Ben Stein's money.
They're boring, but they're fun.
There's one person that's likable on that team.
Oh, that's not true.
Who else besides Carlson?
Craig Anderson?
Clark McArthur's likable.
Just because you and Craig Anderson
lookalike doesn't mean you...
Buddy.
I am pulling for the Craig Anderson,
Ryan Getslaw, Stanley Cup final,
so bald Americans everywhere
I can finally be represented properly in the media.
Have you seen that new
Geico commercial where like the couple's pulled over
and like there's a kid in the back with like a cello
and like the wife is pissed,
the dad's driving and the dad's an idiot.
Bald guy.
Oh, he's a bald guy.
Oh yeah, we talked about how you guys are either idiots
or bad step dads.
We're idiots, bad step dads.
We're the murderers in every Law and Order episode.
You're someone in management.
trying to pinch pennies.
No Christmas party this year.
Oh, come on, Stanley Tucci.
That's not fair.
Right. Stanley Tucci and the terminals a dick.
Stanley Tucci's a dick in most movies.
And when he's a good guy, he's wearing a piece.
I'm telling you, go through every movie where there's a ball guy.
It's like the Kevin Klein mustache theorem, but with Stanley Tucci's hair.
Oh, what's that?
Well, Kevin Klein in movies in which he has a mustache is like...
It's a bad guy?
Or he's like serious.
or he's playing serious or he's a bad guy
when he doesn't have a mustache he's playing comedy
like in and out no mustache
oh yeah he doesn't
yeah and then a fish called Wanda mustache
A Mustache he's a January man mustache
yeah that was the theory about him
What's January man
It was a drama you obviously didn't see it
Is that like two movies removed from Pierce Brosson's November Man
Because I haven't seen November Man all the way through yet
Have you seen the new Jason Warren movie
Speaking of people who like have weird accents
No
Alicia Vikander is I say sir?
Oh yeah from
Dickander, ex machina.
Like, her accent in that movie, you haven't seen it?
No, but she was in...
It's unbelievably bad.
It's the most distracting.
But is it her own accent or is she trying to do an accent?
I don't know for sure.
Like, it was so funny.
So, like, I saw the movie once and I was just like, oh, whatever.
And then it was on again, like, the other day.
So I watched it again.
And I'm like, hold on.
Let me go to Twitter and search.
Born Vicander and accent.
And, like, there's like a hundred tweets where people are trying to figure out what her accent is.
Like, it feels like she's trying to do American, but she sounds a little bit like, she's doing a little bit of an Idersbrook.
But then she goes back to American again.
So I don't know if she's supposed to be like someone who came over from another country and she's losing the...
I saw her in that.
It's a terrible movie, but I keep watching it on Showtime.
Burnt, the Bradley Cooper is a celebrity chef.
She's in it.
There's people in that movie that are in it for like a roughly three minutes apiece of a piece.
Uma Thurman, Leach of Akander, Emma Thompson.
Like they're in this movie, but they're not really in the movie.
So she plays like a former love interest of his.
And when she speaks, you're right.
Like, she's in the movie and she talks and you're just like,
are you from Finn Dice, Ireland?
What is that?
She's Swedish, right?
I think so, yeah.
Like, she's really, she's good in Man from Uncle.
She's great, an ex Machina.
She was fantastic in that movie.
She should have won an Oscar for that movie.
Yeah, but like, I'm telling you, like, watch them.
So earlier today, we were, we were having breakfast,
and we were talking about accents.
That's why I said speaking of accents when we haven't talked about accents for two seconds.
for two seconds.
But what's the movie again with Tom Hardy
where he plays the Crave Brothers?
He plays the Crair Brothers.
Legend, yeah.
So, like, it's weird.
You're twins, but the one Tom Hardy's, like,
the regular good-looking, you want to fuck Tom Hardy,
and the other one's kind of like a big, burly, like, tough guy.
And the big, burly tough guy does an 82% bane the whole movie.
And once you figure that out,
the movie becomes either unwatchable or the most watchable movie of all time.
So check that out if you want to hear people do a weird bane impression
from the guy who does the bane.
What's the matter?
brother do you want a roughhouse?
I would love to wrestle you, brother.
Let's roughhouse
as brothers.
Oh, God.
The other reason...
Yeah, the devils evoke emotion.
And I care about Eric Carlson.
I think you were perceiving the emotion
that was being evoked.
You don't think people hated the devils?
Yeah, because they were so fucking boring.
Well, hold on.
And there was a red line, too, so that made them even more
fucking hard to watch.
When the devils played Detroit,
were we the party poopers, or were we the lovable
underdogs. Oh, we destroyed
hockey for 20 years. Are you
kidding? We took a Red Wings team
that had like six Hall of Famers and reduced
them to this chip and chase offside two-line
pass team that couldn't move the puck.
Like at least now you can make stretch passes and chip
pucks in. But
again, I understand
if you're an Ottawa Senators fan, you're
watching your team.
They haven't
had any success in the last couple years.
They're in the conference finals, so you're loving it.
They've won more games than they've lost.
Pah, p, pah, Giebusha is ruining it.
But you have to objectively agree that, like, this is...
Again, I'm not telling them to play a different style.
This is how they have to play to win.
I get it.
I get it.
But why are there so few Ottawa fans willing to admit this is boring?
As Gipu She has said, this is the way we have to play to win.
The other team.
They are the greatest team ever.
It's like all of the Hall of Famers in one place.
Like, feel the dreams, all the Coonites and the Honkris.
They walk through the Cornfield, and they're all of the Hall of Famers are here.
We have to play like this to win.
dead people walking through fucking cornfields move faster than Ottawa Senators' games.
And also, no, what you said was like, I do not watch the game, I coach it.
What the fuck does that mean?
What kind of a duck is that?
Like, I feel like, so I'm one of those people where I'm at press conferences sometimes,
and I never, there's times when I see quotes and, like, transcripts, and I'm always like,
why does nobody have a follow-up to that?
Yeah.
Like, when Nick Backstrom says, we lost a series in three games, like, I feel like I'm never
in that scrum when it happens.
So I can be like, what the fuck is that?
I mean, what do you mean you don't watch?
What do you mean?
Like, if he gave a long, eloquent answer, it was like, look, I understand it's not pleasing to look at, but, you know, what's pleasing is wins.
Like, I'd be like, okay, that's the rationale you should have.
But like, this idea where it's like, I guess you just don't appreciate the game the way I do.
Really?
Let me check your Twitter bio where you're from.
Oh, Ottawa, Ontario.
No kidding.
Same thing as the Devils.
Only, devil's had more star players.
I'll give you that.
Yeah, they were more interesting.
I mean, like, you know, where is your Neil Broughton on the Ottawa senators?
Is it Kyle Turris?
But, like, again, Neil Broughton.
Did you care at all about Neil Broughton until, like, came over?
Yeah, no.
No, I didn't.
Like, Ottawa has Mike Hoffman who can skate or Carlson who can skate.
They have Kyle Turris.
They have guys who can play.
So, like, when they, when Ottawa falls behind, it's great.
But so far in the series, they've, they've been protecting a lead and or been tied for 50 minutes.
It's been terrible.
But again, congratulations on Ottawa winning seven to six tonight.
The question you're looking for was,
Guy, a lot of conversation as that game was going along, sort of on Twitter and stuff.
This is actually a question after Game 2.
Sort of on Twitter.
In a post-game 2 press conference.
The second you say the word Twitter to the coach, he's done, he's not answering.
Was it an ugly game?
Did it look ugly to you?
And Guy Boucher says, I do not read Twitter.
I have never read that in my life.
I don't even know how to get on it.
I don't pay attention to it.
But is it pleasing to watch?
How did it look to you, I guess?
I am not watching it
I'm coaching it
By the way
Makes no sense
Little to no chance
He's never been on Twitter
Well that motherfucker's over in Switzerland
Or wherever he was for
An exile
I believe him
In exile
And he's like he's like
Let me see her
Let's see
Coach
NHL fired
Opening
Need defense
I mean come on
Why phrase the question
What do you think about
Your ugly team
Like why would you do it like that
Why would you ask about Twitter
I know
After a game, what do you think he is?
On his bench, just scrolling through the tweets?
Yeah, whenever someone looks down at, like, the screen that's on the bench,
they're checking my tweets to see my jokes about how boring Otto is.
Yeah, Coach, coach, do you need a saw on the ice?
Oh, I'm sorry, I was looking at this Jared Kushner meme.
Come on, look, what is that?
Apparently, the New York Times thinks Ivanka is the new poster girl for feminism.
What?
Yeah, it's pretty weird.
I don't know why.
Some of the replies were hilarious, though.
What?
Also, I ever cross and played a good game
Coach, should I be out for the PK?
Oh, I'm sorry.
I found a picture of a dog
curled up inside of a guitar case on an animal memes.
Here's the thing.
It's either this girl's legs are a hot dog
or the two hot dogs or hot dogs.
I can't tell the difference, guys.
Maybe that's why you lost seven nothing tonight, coach.
It's blue and gold.
What, Guy?
What was that, coach?
The dress, blue and gold, obviously.
Anyone can see it.
Someone explained to me why people
quote tweet and just put this.
Why can they just mash the retweet button like everybody
else? I do not understand.
Why do they need the retweets for themselves?
Coach, he shook off with the face of, hold on.
Hashtag not my prime minister.
Okay.
Hold on. I'm doing a nine tweet reply to one of Donald Trump's tweets.
I'm threading them all on using pie charts and graphs.
It is very good and people will change their minds about him.
He walks in a locker room between periods.
Okay, guys.
It's time for a little game theory.
Let me ask you a question.
What are the three parentheses around everyone's name?
That one I do not understand.
Should I do that to mine as a solidarity or what?
I do not get that one.
I Google it and nothing comes up.
What is up with Illishify Kenner's accent in Jason Warren?
I do not know what that is.
In the third period, I want you to all find your identity.
Like when I decided to make my avatar a puppy instead of an egg,
that is when I found my identity.
Don't be an egg.
Be a puppy.
What is up with avocado toast?
Is it toast made out of avocado?
Do you spread the avocado on the toast?
And why can I not buy a house because of this?
You, Mike Hoffman, you'll literally be able to buy a house if you keep buying the avocado toast.
But here's the thing.
If your money is being drained by constant purchases of avocado toast, you know what you should do?
How can you save money, Greg?
You need to not pay a lot for your sports and concert tickets.
And the only place to do that, my friends, is C-keek.
Our favorite sponsor.
Seekig is the smartest way to find hockey tickets this postseason.
There's absolutely nothing like being behind the glass of the biggest matches the year,
especially when you're down to four teams in the playoffs.
And with Seekek, it's never been easier to get the guaranteed seats you want for a great value.
We've got the Seekek app in our phones.
It's by far the easiest way to buy hockey tickets.
You can be anywhere with just a few taps.
You can instantly find seats for this weekend's games or any game in the season.
And with Seekek, you always get the best deal on every ticket because Seekek
price compares for you by searching multiple ticket sites.
Prices can vary depending on where you shop,
but C-Kkeek will always find you the lowest available price.
I, in fact, will be using C-Keekeek to find some C-Cubs' Mets tickets for June,
knowing full well that I'll be able to sit wherever I want for a Mets game come June.
Plus, every ticket you buy in C-Keekeek is backed by their 100% guarantee,
so you can shop for tickets with confidence.
Best of all, Puck Soup listeners, you get a $20 rebate off your first C-Geek purchase.
Here's what you do.
Download the C-Geek app.
Go to the Settings tab.
Click add a promo code.
Enter the promo code, S-O-U-P, that's spelled
Soup and Seekek will send you $20 after you made your first purchase.
Again, download the app.
Settings to that promo code,
Soup, and you'll get $20 back after you made your first purchase.
And obviously, it goes without saying that if you, you know, do this sort of thing and buy your tickets through Seekek, it also helps out your boys.
Download the Seek app today and the promo code soup and get going.
Use the Seekek, the geek of seat.
So I do a search for promo codes so I can get $20 off of senator tickets.
And, you know, the building don't sell out.
out for one game, but it's not the next game.
Speaking of ads,
I don't know if you have
seen this, Dave Lowe's. I imagine you have.
I mean, you've been watching the
playoffs on television.
I mean, obviously NBC being an amazing
job as per usual.
I'm sorry, I was trying to be
saying, okay.
Pierre McGuire actually said the other night
that Eric Carlson was
like a Rembrandt and his
stick was a paint, a paint brush?
Like he said something along those lines?
Um, sure.
Yeah.
I do, I do love how now, when they show highlights of Eric Carlson, it's like him doing
stuff in the defensive zone and it was just fine because, you know, he's, he's one of
those guys.
He's really good at getting to the puck first and like being quick in small areas, but he's
always been that guy.
And now it's like, look how great his defense has gotten, Doc and Eddie.
This is what he does.
on defense. He's always done this. Wait, he's always done this
because I feel like I've never heard this on TV until now. I did Philip Oves
just a podcast this week and we talked about...
You did his podcast this week? Dmitri.
He told me he was going to email me on Monday. That's because he's here in New York
and he's trying to get all those New York people on the podcast. Still waiting to hear back.
We mentioned the fact that like you don't have to go back all that far to find when
Eric Carlson was a defensive pariah. In fact,
October. One round ago.
Or, well, I was going to go October. Like when Austin Matthew was skated
passed him during that four-goal game
on opening night.
Like, everybody on television is like,
typical Eric Carlson,
basically a welcome mat for guys like
Austin Matthews, never win the Norris
this way, blah, blah, blah.
Was it this year when he, there was some play this year, I think it was,
where he was in his own end,
blocked the shot, controlled the puck,
chipped it out to neutral ice,
skated it down, jammed it into an empty net.
Like it was one of those plays where it was like everything
Eric Carlson does. And I
and I think that was this year. And that was one
of those plays, too, where it's like, wow, why can't he always, he always does that.
He always does that.
It's why he's won the Norris twice.
We were talking about advertisements and advertisers in which people spell, which, of course,
means we're talking about this Stanley Cup playoff ad that you may be familiar with because
it's on TV all the time.
Piano music, very powerful.
It's like the leftovers.
Just because you put a piano behind, doesn't mean it's good.
L, E, M, C, R, C, R, K-E-O-M.
All right, let's stop it right there.
The next scene was him saying, actually, Hitler has an ancient and O in it too, guys.
Yeah.
What sort of sacrifice into a volcano do I have to make to not get Bobby Hall in NHL promotions anymore?
Or just put Bobby Hall and Patrick Kane in every ad.
Just commit to it.
Bobby Hall waddled out during the outdoor game for the blues.
Bobby Hall's on a Stanley Cup promo commercial.
Bobby Hole beat the shit out of his wife.
That too.
And it is a Hitler sympathizer.
And this is, what do we have to do to not, it's okay to not have this guy be part of it?
There's a lot of other old guys that scored a lot of goals.
Tons.
You literally had access to like, actually, not did I say this out loud, they probably shot this during the NH100 thing.
They shot it in Los Angeles.
Yeah.
They did.
Oh, in Los Angeles, they did it.
During the ceremony.
Oh, it was in Los Angeles, right, right, right.
So you have access to the 100 greatest place.
players and Bob Ganey.
So you could have done...
And Jonathan Taves and Patrick Caine.
So you could have grabbed anybody.
Anybody.
Like I understand where it's like Patrick Cain's the best American hockey players.
So like you trick yourself into thinking that's the way to go.
But like, yeah, there's a million old dudes who scored a shit ton of goals where you could put out there.
This is...
I don't get it.
They invited him to be on this commercial.
After he opted not.
not to go to the Winnipeg Jets Hall of Fame induction.
I think this was after it.
Because of all the heat that came down on him,
when a local paper wrote about his domestic violence history,
his sympathy for Hitler,
who had a lot of good ideas at the beginning.
Yeah.
They just went a little too far.
Went a little too far.
Actual quote from Bobby Hull.
A little too far.
A little too far.
Kind of crossed the line ever so slightly.
H-U-L.
L. And I know
that, I know, I talked to a lot
of old timers.
And they all say the same thing, which is that
well, you know, he used to
have a battle with the bottle back in the day.
Sure. That's great.
I completely agree. I hope he got his life
cleaned up. Don't ever want to see that sort of thing
happened. But you know what?
You don't have to have the guy who said Hitler
had a lot of good ideas in the beginning who went a little
too far. On the Stanley Cup commercial.
You don't have to have it. You can make that
choice. You can make the choice. You can make the
choice to not have this guy be a part
of your thing. And this is hockey, too,
where, like, everyone's related. You can find another
father-son. Get Jody Hall.
Nobody gives a shit. Get Scott
and Rob. It'd be like a 60-minute commercial where they spell
Niedermeyer each once a piece. Yeah, just
add Brent Gretzky, it had the Gretzky part of the
commercial. I'm both spell it. And it's also not
a good commercial. It's nowhere near as good as the
speechless one. It's nowhere near as good as the one where
they rewind everything. It's just guys
spelling their name. And, like,
and Lemieux seems like he's having a hard time with it.
Well, in fairness.
I can never remember the E before I or I after E.
And there's an X in there.
No, I agree.
And it's funny because if you look at the commercials they've had over the years,
when they started this whole sort of because it's the cup thing,
they started to go down a road that I thought was really good,
which was to try to make watching the playoffs,
this communal,
they had a commercial where everybody was running to get to the bar in time to watch face off.
Right.
and everybody who's wearing jerseys,
kind of making it feel like an NFL Sunday,
which I don't know if you've noticed,
is the single most favorite thing
of every sports fan in America.
Right, even if you're,
and that's a difference again
between hockey and football is
a hockey fan or a football fan
as a Giants fan,
I'll go to a bar on Sunday
and have all the games on in the Giants game,
and it's great.
You just watch all the other games.
You don't care about that.
But in hockey,
if you're an Ottawa fan,
you love the shit out of your team.
You're so happy how they're winning.
But if you're not, you're not running out to watch that game somewhere.
That's just not hockey.
That's why their commercials are good.
That's a hilarious point because David Staples, the Evanton Journal,
has been waging a one-man war against the NHL over since the Oilers have been eliminated
because the Ducks played nasty.
So he's like, you know, I refuse to watch another NHL game this postseason as long as Ryan Kessler's in it,
is what he tweeted the other day.
I'm like, oh, what a novelty.
An NHL fan saying he refuses to watch the rest of the playoffs after he.
his team is eliminated.
Boy, first one on that bandwagon.
Like, that's just what we do it.
It sucks.
No, you know what it is, is that when you haven't watched the playoffs in 11 years,
you're unaware that the ducks have players that jab people on the balls with their sticks every playoffs.
So the first time you see it in 2017, it's new to you and you take a stand against it.
That's all it is.
So you had that where you had, you know, the fans come in to watch the game at the bar.
then they did the whole
the cup winning the cup is this
super emotional thing
the cup raised thing
connected through history guys literally
weeping as they won the cup
but now that we're in the
fucking centennial
now we've abandoned any pretense of it being about
the playoffs 99th year though there's a lockout
where they didn't play a full season
thank you 99 years thank you thank you
truther
now we've gotten rid of any pretense that it's about the
playoffs and the grandeur
of the Stanley Cup playoffs.
And now we've boiled it down
to its very essence,
which is star players
who get their names in the cup.
Oh, let me rephrase.
Mostly Canadian star players
who get their names in the cup.
And the only two,
I think there's like a minute version
of that commercial.
I haven't watched the whole way through,
but it's just Crosby and Taves
in terms of like current guys, right?
Like there's no...
Yeah, and it's weird, right?
Like, I know why they did it because...
Because they're not going to relate
to the conference finals
and you want to be able
have guys still alive?
You want,
yeah,
you want a guy
still alive?
I get it.
Because I was thinking
to myself,
like,
why didn't they
have anybody
from the Kings
not only in that,
in that commercial,
but also they did that,
like,
roundtable show,
it was like Gretzky,
Lemieux.
Oh, I didn't watch that.
I think,
it was on,
this week,
at this week,
somebody,
Retsky Lemieux,
Crosby,
and someone.
Keith.
No,
no, no,
no, no.
Oh,
Bob,
Bob,
and I thought to myself,
well,
why wouldn't you just
get like one of the kids
or better yet, how about a goalie
who might be able to lend some
really interesting insight as to what it takes to win a
Stanley Cup? Nobody cares about a European.
How about Lidstrom? If they shot it in Los Angeles,
Lidsstrom was there for the top 100.
Why not a European? Wouldn't that be a novel
idea? Well, I can see how they might have done
kings and just cut it out of the ad.
They probably, no, seriously, they probably had like a bunch of guys
do it and then like once
the playoffs started, they were like, oh, we can't use
Drew Doughty anymore. Or, you know,
conversely, there's also a chance
the doubt he couldn't spell his name.
That is possible.
Or Justin Brown.
But would it be cooler if they unveiled this to start of the playoffs
as opposed to the conference finals?
They just use all current guys that haven't won the cup yet
who want to get their name on it.
So they're like, this is their thing.
Yeah.
And like, yeah, by round three when the caps are inevitably
no longer in the playoffs, it's very sad to see Nicholas Baxter
spelling his name during the conference finals.
But I just think that would have been a cooler thing
because, again, the NHL's biggest problem is they market
four frigging teams, five players.
And boy, thank God.
Thank God finally.
Jonathan Taves got on TV because he's just he's never there anymore he's never they're he's not there enough
they don't play enough outtour games you got to get jonathan taves into a commercial the centennial does
nothing to push the game forward let's be honest nope it's a giant naval gazing exhibition
the putting mary lew and a cup commercial is great for people that remember mary louis playing
for the people that joined the league in 2009 because patrick sharp is cute it means absolutely
dick nothing to them they're so not they're so not current they're so they're so entrenched
and shit that happened.
Like, seriously, like, we're talking about the Devils in 95.
Half of our listeners don't remember that team.
How are our listeners probably weren't even born in 1915?
Right, right.
Like, but take it for me.
Don't listen to Greg.
And when I...
Devil's team was boring as fuck.
And, of course, when I say I was in high school,
I meant I was in elementary school in 95, fellow millennials.
How about some avocado toast?
How would you like some avocado toast in my studio apartment that I rents because of said avocado
toast?
Honestly, I haven't even Google it yet.
I'm not even...
I'm not going to...
look up with avocado toastes until it actually comes across i never even seen it on a menu what are they
going to reboot futurama millennials by the way wasn't wasn't the ending to guardians of the galaxy very much
like that episode of future i never watched future i know we finally we finally come across something
in geekdom that i did not consume that you've consumed i think i knew that already though yeah i didn't
watch futureama um to set it up i didn't watch futureama i watched maybe two seasons of king of the hill
I watched The Simpsons
Really, really long
But I couldn't tell you when I stopped watching it
Because I don't even know how many seasons were up to now
Yeah, I used to watch it all the time
All the time, yeah
I can't quote it
I can't quote it
Until maybe like
Yeah
I don't know what season
But and then I didn't watch
Family Guy
Because I found it to be way too derivative
But I will tell you right now
The two funniest things
The Family Guy ever did
That I'm aware of
Kool-Aid Man in episode one
Never hit your comedic peak
In your first episode, bad idea
and then also the bed bath and beyond joke is a keeper.
What's the bed bath and beyond?
When he's walking through the door at bed bath and beyond
and all of a sudden he walks into like this weird Jack Kirby
Oh, Beyond.
And he walks in Beyond.
Very, very funny.
Good stuff.
I never watched that.
And then obviously I have no fucking time for American Dad who gives a shit.
American Dad, the Cleveland Show.
Or the Cleveland Show, yeah.
Good for him.
He's a multi-line-like-A.
Seth McFarlane I like as a real-life flesh-and-blood performer,
but not as the guy who makes cartoons.
Seth McFarlane reminds me of Kate McKinnon.
in a way.
Because they're both Irish or Scottish?
They're both super talented.
Uh-huh.
Unbelievable.
Maybe among the top 20 talented people creatively on the planet, who I don't give a shit
about.
You mean like you find them off-putting or you just don't?
Who's stuff I just don't care about?
Like, Kate McKinnon can play the piano.
Great.
Seth MacFarlane can sing.
Okay.
But like, there's stuff in terms of comedy.
Like, like, people think Kate McKinnon's one of like the five best SNL things of
all tough.
of like cast members of all time.
Give me some stuff she's done on that.
I think Kate McKinnon falls in between
Daryl Hammond and
Amy Poehler in the sense that
Kate McKinnon does some things that really make me laugh.
Like she, when she plays...
Like she did Hillary.
And that was funny, but like her
Angola Merkel is really funny
on update.
Like she's done some funny stuff, but like
a lot of it is in that Daryl Hammond category
of not really being that funny
but really appreciating the craft of it.
Because Darrell Hammond's me was never really that funny.
Oh, for sure.
But he, but you, the crap.
Like, when Phil Hartman would do an impression, it would be funny.
He's a natural gifted comedian.
When Hammond would do it, you were like, wow, that sounds exactly like Tom Brokaw, but it's not that funny.
And like, Kate McKinnon, I completely appreciate how unbelievably, like, smarting it.
But, like, I just don't get how, like, if someone's like, oh, Kristen Wigg is in a movie.
I used to hate Kristen Wig, but, like, I've come around.
She's funny.
I've come around on her too.
Mainly, see, she's someone who is awful on SNL, but really good in, like, other stuff.
Yeah, like, if I see a movie on, like, Kristen Wiggs in it, like, she's at, like, that sort of like that Will Ferrell level where I'm like, oh, that's probably going to be pretty good.
And there's a movie coming out with Scarlett Johansson and...
Oh, yeah, like...
What's her name?
Big Bad Knight or...
Rough Night, yeah.
And I'm watching the commercial for it, and I'm seeing all the people in it.
And I'm like, ooh, this looks like a pretty good premise.
It looks like a pretty funny movie.
And apparently, Kate McKinn's doing an Australian accent the whole movie.
Fuck.
But again, she was the best thing in that Ghostbusters reboot, which again is like saying Eric Carlson has the best possession numbers on the senators.
So she's Carlson.
Most of McCarthy's Mike Hoffman.
Yeah.
Go on.
I'm here for this.
Kristen Whig has got to be Kyle Taurus.
Kristen Wig is going to be either Kyle Taurus or Craig Anderson.
Who's Chris Hemsworth then?
Chris Hemsworth?
Is he Yibushay?
Yes.
Because he's one note and that's it.
One note, but a great addition.
Oh, that's good.
I like that a lot.
See, it's easier to...
People always do this in our mailbag.
It's like, if you can make one hockey team seven cereals, what would you do?
You can't force it.
It just kind of has to happen.
Who else is in that movie that I'm forgetting?
The 87 Flames as the cast of Parks and Rec, go.
That's a great mailbag question.
Give us five weeks to craft that together.
Like I'm on the stage at Friott's Citizens Brigade, like shouting out.
Somebody give me a hockey team from 40 years ago in a TV show I never watched.
Dynacologist.
I didn't ask for a profession, sir.
I believe someone said friends.
A TV show.
Okay, friends.
Sure, I can do about 20 minutes on that.
Wait, who is the fourth Ghostbusters?
Kristen Wigg, Miss McCarthy, Kate McKinnon.
What's your face?
From SNL.
Leslie Jones.
Leslie Jones.
Yeah, so Leslie Jones is Finoff.
Oh, she's the funnier.
See, I don't even think Kate McKinnon's the funniest person in that...
She was funniest in that movie.
I think Leslie Jones is the funniest in that movie.
And then I would say,
Chris Hemsworth is he's, like whenever he runs his fingers into his eyes to the glasses, that's pretty funny.
He's, he might, no, he's the funniest person of that movie.
Kate McKinnon's the funniest Ghostbuster.
Horrible movie.
Oh, Ghostbusters aren't people, Greg.
Is that what you're trying to tell our listeners?
Hashtag not all Ghostbusters.
Are you Ghostbusters shaming right now?
That's right.
Wait, what were we talking about?
Oh, man.
Oh, that dumb ad.
Oh, the commercial.
Oh, yeah.
And just about how like, yeah, no one.
gives a shit that Bobby and Brett Hall are together in a commercial, except for the people
like us who don't think that a guy who was a Hitler sympathizer should be part of an NHL ad campaign.
And even if it wasn't, even if there wasn't a dude that probably has like a fucking Nazi,
you know, soldier outfit in his closet, even if it was just like a regular dude, it's still
not a good commercial.
Yeah.
Like they've run out of ideas.
Remember the commercial?
There was one way back in like 08 or 09, and it was really cool.
It was like a picture of like a team by their bench after they just got eliminated from the playoffs and
they're all sad, like an actual picture.
like someone in the picture comes to life and is like, I don't want to feel this again.
Remember those?
Yeah.
Those were awesome.
There's a lot of really good commercials.
This was not one of them.
Yeah.
Like, this is the first time I remember seeing like an NHL ad and being like, boy, this was just slapped together real quick.
This was like one of those things where it's like, okay, we've got all these really famous guys together in the same place.
What should we do with them?
It's not really.
I know.
Have them spell their own names.
Seriously?
That's like, it's like, how about we have them perform at?
No, they're hockey players.
How about we have them?
No.
hockey players. I mean, they're going to be here for like a weekend, right?
But what if like one of them walks into the room? Now they're hockey players. Okay, we'll just have them
spell their own names. Like, that's the basic thing that we could have hockey players do.
We ask so little of our hockey players and like things like that. Like fucking Patrice
Pergeron and those guy co-ads. Like just just skate. Just skate around and shoot the puck.
But again, like, like, Backstrom is shoot the fuck. Doesn't it bother you that they don't reach out to any foreign born
players? Like almost at all. Like Solani, I think is in the commercial maybe.
I mean, I think I understand their their viewpoint of it because like they're marketing the game here.
so they want to do U.S.
Yeah, T-Mu's in the commercial.
He might be like one of the only foreign-born players in that commercial.
But yeah, like, it's weird.
The NHL is like, we're a global game.
It's like, all right, name one person who is like, you know, whatever, Slovenian or...
I think a better commercial would have been just to see the sparks flying off the cup as you engrave it.
Like, don't you think that's...
Like, if you want to do a commercial about getting your name on the cup,
have them just stand around watching names getting engraved on the cup.
Like, to me, that's even more and better than...
L-A...
I am.
Here's my idea.
Okay.
Okay.
Okay.
Pitch me.
It's the engraving place.
Okay.
The dudes there.
Interior slash engraving place.
I-N-T.
I-N-T.
Graving place.
Day.
And then we have, like, one of the dudes that's got their name on the cup like six times, right?
Nick Glistram.
Okay.
No, not, Peter Pocklinton's father.
Not Nick Lichdram.
Oh, wait.
No, the guy who had to come off the cup because he put it on there and he shouldn't have put it on there.
Again, this is hard to do way, way in advance.
You mean, like, a guy whose name's on the cup.
Glenn Anderson.
Glenn Anderson.
Yeah.
Great example.
Only in the Hall of Fame
because his name is on the cup
like six times.
Yeah, he's like Derek Jeter basically,
but whatever.
Glenn Anderson.
And he's like standing there
and like he's there at the engraver
and there's like a little open space
for the 2016-17-17 champs
and he sees his name.
And Connor McDavid's there.
No.
Who doesn't have his name on the cup.
All right.
And Glenn Anderson's like having fun with him like,
there's my name there.
There's my name there.
Has your name on here?
I don't see your name on here.
He's like, well, I'm probably going to win
the heart this year.
Hmm.
Let's see the heart.
Is that anywhere on the championship trophy?
And you do it with all players that have won cups for certain teams
and the guy who's there today who hasn't won the cup yet,
who wants his name on the cup.
And you can do like four different bits on that.
So you're talking about a time-tested Vince McMahon thing,
where you use the old talent to get the new talent over.
Undertaker, you're going to lose to Roman Reigns.
And Reigns is going to be the new darling.
the WWI.
Like it's hard,
it's,
I think it's hard to,
I'm just doing this on the fly,
but like,
the Cap's never won the Cup,
so it's hard to do one with Ovechkin.
The Penguins all have won the Cup already.
The Blackhawks have all won the Cup already.
Like,
who's left?
Nashville.
There's no Nashville championship teams.
There's no Ottawa championship teams.
I mean,
there is that,
that obstacle.
But like,
if you do it at the beginning,
then you have to,
like,
Mark Messier talking to.
Hanrick Leuch-Eye,
Matt Zucrello.
Yeah.
Yeah, there you can,
you can come up with four of those
and then run those during,
same three Discover ads for six
fucking years. And that would be funny because like
you can do. In all honestly, like if you had
Messier and Zuccarello and he's like
yeah, my name's on here because I guaranteed
it. Can you guarantee it, Matt?
It's like and do a little bit off of that.
You can come up with 30 seconds of material for a commercial
right. And doing that premise every time
as opposed to just let's just sit
these guys down in a room and put like a
green screen and then. I have in a green screen just like a dark
room and have them spell their names. Honestly though.
No. Was there a teleprompter
to help them spell? Come on. What do you think?
And it's disturbing to watch Sidney Crosby try to spell his name four days after he gets his head driven into the boards, too.
There's that part of it as well.
That makes me uncomfortable.
But like I wrote, that's probably just me, though.
That's just you.
Overthinking things.
GM of the Year Award came out.
That's very exciting, as per usual.
Peter Cherelli of the Edmonton Oilers, who of course made the Adam Larson trade.
Pierre Dorian of the Ottawa senators who hired Guy Boucher.
And David Poyle of the Nashville Predators who made the...
You win.
P.K. Suban for Shea Weber deal.
No Mark Bergevan amongst the finalist for making that trade.
That's kind of odd.
Would it be?
It would have been great if it was like Mark Bergevan, Steve Eisenman, and who had a bad year?
Dean Lombardi.
Now, here's the thing.
The BM of the year.
The award I least like in all of life, of course, is the Lady Bing.
Stupid as all.
Fuck it.
The award I at least like the second most of the GM of the Year award, because there is absolutely no way you can judge.
You can judge a general manager by one year.
By one year.
They should give this award retroactively every five years.
Like, see what's happened.
Or just don't have an award.
Like, everything doesn't need an award.
See, here's the thing.
These baby boomers just think they're entitled to trophies because they just do their jobs.
These old white men, of course, feel like they just have to have a trophy.
You know, why could be more like millennials and just like work hard and, you know, fight through everything and just have their avocado toast and not buy houses?
Excuse me, excuse me. Millennials all think they were born with a gold star.
They all think they already have a ribbon.
They were born with avocado toast in their mouth.
They were born with avocado toast to mouth.
They think they're just entitled to avocados.
Who would you, you would give it to Poyle?
Oh, for sure. Poil won.
She really won a lottery.
Cheirle won a lottery.
And Dorian hired the right coach.
It's the thing is like, think about everything he did.
He traded Taylor Hall for Adam Larson.
And I don't care what you Edmonton people say that was a bad trade.
Milan Lu Cheech, fucking dog shit in the playoffs, mediocre in their regular season.
He played with Connor McDavid constantly.
He's looking and do anything.
And Ottawa, like, whatever Ottawa does, he brought in Guy Boucher.
And Gie Boucher is the never one of the reason why they are where they are.
So I'm fine.
The Suban trade, like, obviously, I didn't realize this is like yesterday.
Custin's told me that they vote up until the second round.
After the second round of the playoffs is in, then they vote.
So you can't give it to boil because he's going to win the cup, possibly.
But, I mean, geez, Suban for Weber.
cup. Is that a guy your root for,
Poil? I go back and forth on it because I really have
a problem with the Ribeiro stuff and I have a problem
with some of his other sort of like
halfway home general managing
that has gone on. What else is there besides
Ribeiro? Refresh me.
Well, he had a couple of other guys come in that just had
some issues. I think McGratton was one of them
but like I don't remember that. There was the Ribeiro
one that he had. There was some other one that he had.
They kind of swept. But the Ribero one's the big one.
trying to think
I remember there was a year
a couple years back
where everybody was kind of like
all over David Poil
for being really good
and I just thought it was weird
but I can't remember why
I think he's always been
a pretty good
pretty good GM
the Ribeiro thing was just
like I think it was
Dimitri who tweeted something like
finally the 20 year plan
comes to fruition
yeah good for David Foil
you keep a guy
in a job long enough
I mean, he hired Peter Lavellette a couple years ago.
That's why, again, I think the GM of the year should be every three years if you're going to do it.
Like, take a GM's body of work over that time and see what he did.
But, yeah, it's kind of hard to.
What else did he do?
I mean, the Forsberg contract, was that in the last year?
No, right?
Traded Seth Jones.
I mean the old thing that was a few years ago.
Ryan Johansson was a while back.
Well, yeah, Seth Jones for Ryan Johansson and P.K. for Weber, were the two big things.
But that was, that was, that was, Seth Jones was in the middle of the last season.
could when John Tortorella ran Ryan Johansson out of town because he was lazy or something.
David Poil is the guy who comes to the poker table and plays four hands and four hours and just rakes big pots,
waiting for the dumb guy at the table to do something stupid.
He's great.
I love him.
I'm going to go all in on Seth Jones for Ryan.
I call.
Ryan Johansson.
Thank you.
Six foot 210-pound number one center for Seth Jones when I already have a million defenseman.
Thanks.
But that trade works out better than Suban for whoever.
I feel bad for Jonah.
Yeah, I think we should feel bad for all of our Canadian friends.
Jonah Carey's team is bad.
So slow.
Let's get to a quiz that I crafted for you.
We're going to get to the Ryan Kessler,
and we're going to get to the Predators' Anthem Singer, so hold tight.
But I have a quiz because, as you know, David Poyle was the general manager of an expansion team.
And I decided, I said to myself, it's probably about time we start celebrating expansion teams because we're going to have a new one in the Vegas Golden Knights.
Yeah, it's going to be bad.
They're going to make the playoffs.
Bad club.
So I've crafted a quiz for Dave Lozo called Subtraction by Expansion.
And what this is is I have taken one player from each of the expansion teams in the last 25 years.
So the senators, the sharks, the lightning, the Panthers, the predators, the blue jackets, the thrashers, the wild, the mighty ducks of Anaheim.
Taking one player from each of these teams.
I'm going to name a player, and you tell me which team they played for, which first year expansion team they were on, expansion roster they were on.
First year, not...
First year.
Okay.
This is when the team was born, like a newborn foal covered in its mom's vagina goo, and it spilled out on the floor, and it couldn't even find its feet.
Greg, technically, medically, it's vagina's slime.
All right.
I didn't go to veterinary school for 11 years to have you talk down about the way the slime is goo.
Listen, I'm from New Jersey.
I play it fast and loose with the scientific terminology sometimes.
We just use a lot of colloquial swang.
In Central Jersey, we call the goo.
Swang.
Swang.
We also called slang swang.
It's either goo or pork roll.
So here's the deal.
I'm only you can only use the expansion teams once so I'm going to give you a player from each of these teams
Jesus this is like one of these now bad questions once you use the team you don't have to worry about it again
it's not as if this is going to be all sharks okay we begin here we go this is subtraction by expansion
can you name which first year expansion roster this player appeared on okay number one
Darren rumble lightning
Ottawa Senator, 69 games, nice, in 1992.
And mentioned because I don't know if he is, Jeff Bukabum gets named,
Radic Bunk gets named, but in the greatest hockey names of all time,
Darren Rumble doesn't get nearly enough respect.
Darren Rumble too, I guess.
Darren Rumble.
Darren Rumble with me.
Anybody, anybody named after one of the Transformers that came out of Soundwaves' tummy.
Isn't that Bumble?
No, that was Rumble.
Bumble, I think of Bumble.
Are you think of a bumblebee?
Yeah, isn't that one of the Transformers?
Somebody was a Go-Bots boy.
Kelly Kissio.
Sharks.
That's correct.
48 games in 1991.
Kelly Kissio.
Former New York Ranger.
Former Islander great.
That was the Ranger too, wasn't it?
I think it was a Ranger.
One of them, too.
Maybe both.
Bob Beers.
Bob Robert W. Beers.
Bob Beers.
Boy, I have no idea.
Bob Beers.
I'll go Tampa again
Correct
All right
You played for the Lightning
In 1992 42 46 games
And again like
Another good name
I mean
If you were gonna get a jersey
If you were a fan of the first year
Lightning
And you were walking around
With a Brian Bradley jersey
Fuck off
Wasting
You wasted the best opportunity
In your life
And I believe he was number four
I believe it was four beers
Four beers
Yeah
The amount that gets me hung over
These days
Actually you know
You know who else?
I feel like, and see if you agree with me on this.
Bob Boogner, his last name is really Boner.
Come on, come on, Bob.
Your name is Bob Boner?
Brian Bradley.
That's a poor name for God sakes.
John Tucker, Chris Contos, Rob, Zaminer, Adam Creighton, Sean Chambers are your top six scorers, and then Bob Beers.
Who was the guy who had the hat trick in the first ever a red lightning game?
Remember that?
Oh, Jesus, Nick Tax-in.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, wait, and by the way, he was number number four.
He was two beers.
That also gets me hung over these days.
The only possible name that you could have gotten on the back of your jersey
where it would have been alright if you didn't get beers?
Pupa.
Now, he wasn't on the team yet.
Jablonsky.
Jablonsky.
It's like Gibroni, but it's like a Polish last name instead.
Look at this Jablonsky over here.
Come on, Jablonsky, we're waiting.
Rob Niedermeyer.
Rob Niedermeyer.
Not Scott.
Scott was already in the league and rocking and rolling at this point, I think.
Rob Niedermeyer.
The lesser Neidemeyer.
N-I-D-E-R.
Wow, two separate mentions of Rob Neidermeyer on this podcast today.
You want me to say the ducks, but that's not the answer, right?
No.
Come on.
Can I need to answer.
Columbus?
Florida Panthers.
I believe he was the Florida Panthers draft pick.
That's correct.
Rob Neidemeyer, of course, in year one with the Florida Panthers.
I should have that.
A real star performance.
65 games, 26 points, minus 11.
And he was drafted fifth overall, the 1993 entry draft.
Okay, let's continue another rabbit hole.
65 points.
Alexander Dague.
Ottawa.
Chris, this is the 93 draft that Robin Diedemeyer went fifth overall.
Jesus Christ.
Ready?
So this is also known as,
if only the Panthers had gotten into the top four
and didn't pick first.
Degg, bust, pronger.
He worked out.
Grattan, bust.
Bust?
Where do you fall on Chris Gratton?
I say bust.
568 points in 1092 games
basically just, hey, he's big.
We should get him.
There's like levels of bust.
There's like...
Degbust is... Yeah, like that's a bigger bust.
It's like, it's like, um...
who my blanket on
David Legwant
who was like a second overall pick
yeah I feel like he had an okay career
Grattan and Legwond in me are both like sort of like
they're kind of the same kind of the same
but Grattan was much more of a journeyman
the Legwant play was like one team as in our career
right but when you pick third overall
like when the devil's issue you pick
pick uh
Nico Hesher
Nico Hesher he turns out to be a third line
checking center who wins draws late in games
someone said today on Twitter that
that Nico Hesher
I think it's Hysher
is going to end
he said he has Pabell
Datsuk's defense and Hendrik Zetterberg's offense and all I could think of is
Pabble Datsuk with Henry Zetterberg's beard so he's a combination of Datsuk and Zetterberg
is what this guy said so he looks like Jared Letto and hates gay people is that is that
because of his religion Dave mm-hmm Paul Korea was drafted fourth overall than
Rob Nuttermeier so you lost that on Paul Korea by one point why one spot then Victor
Kozloff then Jason Arnott the others took Arna right you know the devil's took in that
draft 93 Dennis Peterson good old
Dennis Peterson.
Yeah.
D.P.
Back to the quitt.
Oh, sorry.
Double P,
A.
What movie is that from?
That's like a Kevin Smith movie
where he's describing
some sort of like sex act
and it's like double Pee,
double A.
Darren Tercott.
This is a tough one.
Former New York Ranger.
Okay, so Darren Turcote.
Darren Turgar in the early 90s.
So he obviously wasn't on
any of the early 90s expansion teams,
I wouldn't say.
unless it's a trick
he wasn't around long enough to
first year team
Darren Turcott
I feel like I need a list of teams in front of me
it's hard to think of all the teams
that have shown up since that time
alright well
Darren Turcott
any any guesses
we've done Ottawa we've done Tampa
we've done Florida we've done San Jose
that's right those are all off the board
now you're getting the spirit of the game
okay so that means that we have
five teams left
four of the five are from
1999 and up
and then one of them is not
Columbus
the Nashville Predators
40 games
I don't know if he was an expansion draft guy or not
but Darren Turcott
a 40 year old Darren Turcote at that point
I think I was going to say oh wait no he's 31
sorry I was wrong
it was 30 in 89
98 and 99
he previously played for
boy he went real journeyman after
Rangers 94 the
Hartford, Winnipeg, San Jose, St. Louis, Nashville,
then his career.
Career ended up 31.
He was in the Rangers Cup team, right?
He was.
Okay.
All right, I'm not doing good at this.
Ron Tugnut.
Ronnie Nuttug.
Columbus.
That's correct.
Interestingly enough, we would have also accepted Mighty Ducks.
Oh, why was he?
He was on both.
He was a double expansion draft goalie.
So I had a 25% chance of getting that right.
Ray Chicken Parm, Ferraro.
Oh, see, I thought that was Columbus, Ray Ferraro.
Chicken Parham.
So we have done the jackets, the predators, the Panthers, the lightning, the sharks, and the senators.
It means we have three teams left that are possible.
One of those teams is in the...
The thrashers?
That's correct.
81 games in 1999.
That means we are down to two names.
I was getting there.
Two teams left and two names.
Okay.
The two teams left obviously now by the process of elimination or the Minnesota Wild and the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim.
Do you want name A or name B to finish off this game?
Give me name B.
Name B is Gary Volk.
Ooh.
Ooh, I don't know the answer to this.
Ducks.
That's correct.
Yes.
Gary Volk was a 93, Mighty Duck, and that means the last name of the list.
Who else?
You should have given me both names at the same time.
Minnesota Wilde 2000.
Who do you think I picked from that expansion team?
Oh, God, I don't remember.
Mike Madonna.
Come on, man.
There's only one name to pick from that expansion team.
and that is
Peter Secora
Brick New Jersey's own
Jimmy Dow
was on that team
Jimmy Dowd
there you go
a brief
foray down
expansion draft
memory lane
just to go back
to the earlier point
Jim Dowd scored
one of the biggest goals
in Devil's history
only because of Detroit
Red Wing was on the ice
crippled
Crippled Paul Coffey
by Jim Dow
yeah it was Paul Coffey
It was that same play
that happened with
Zach Rineski
in the Penguin series
against Columbus
Same thing
Paul Coffee
getting hit in the
leg, Zach Moritz, you get in the face. And coffee's like, my leg, please help.
Like, if you get in the leg, you keep playing, you hit in the face, you stop play every time.
Coffee's on the ice being like, I think it needs to be amputated. And the devils are like,
we're scoring. The devils are moving. They were so boring. They were the best. Best team ever.
Like, at least I admit the devils were boring. Like, if you're an Ottawa fan, you're just like,
oh, the devils and the Greg's like, no, the devils were much more exciting and a less boring.
You should fight Greg in his mentions. And by the way, so the headline on the vice story that I wrote was,
that's Ottawa senators are worse than watching your parents have sex.
So everyone's like, not everyone, but like four or five people were like, oh, you watched your parents have sex?
No, the headline says it your parents.
Not my parents.
Your parents fucking a boring style is the head your is a different than mine.
Hold on.
Oh, so that was that was about your parents being boring when they have sex.
I thought it was just about like horrendous look.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It's about things you want to look away from immediately, which includes your parents having sex.
Right.
And I was getting a lot of parents sex shaming in the mentions, too.
Like, oh, my God, this guy thinks about his parents having sex.
And then it was weird, too, because, like, earlier in the day, I saw a Guardians of the Galaxy.
And there's a scene where Drax is talking about, yeah.
My day yesterday was really connected in really weird ways.
Yeah, I'm happy it wasn't a critique about the, like, excitement level of your parents' boning.
Yeah, I wasn't like, dude, my dad could not get hard.
Much the way that I can't get up for much, much like the way I can't get up for Senators games,
my dad could not get up for sex.
You know, the senators just play a real kind of missionary position style.
No dirty Sanchez is, no donkey punches.
They never come from behind.
Oh, oh, Jesus.
Boom!
Was that in the story or did you just make that up on spot?
I wish I thought of that.
Man, you are an improv comedian.
All right, somebody give me relatives you don't want to see fuck and sex positions.
Got a colleges!
Again, not professions.
Okay, I hear Ross and Rachel and Wheelbarrow.
Is Ryan Kessler a piece of shit?
That's our next topic.
Yeah.
But a great, like a satisfying s spiral of a shit.
Like I don't, I've read so many people who have emailed me after I wrote about Ryan Johansson and Ryan Kessler.
And they're just like, you're so wrong in this because Ryan Kessler is a piece of shit.
I'm just like, yeah, but like, think.
about the things that you need to win in the playoffs.
Like, he's that.
You don't need, you don't need that.
You totally do.
You need a guy who is going to go to the dirty places and do the dirty things.
You could win a face-off, you could score a goal.
Like, he's the, I would take that guy in my team a billion times.
Okay, how many cups, Corey Perry won?
One.
How many has he won since then, until now, during his yearly ball spears?
You don't need that to win in the playoffs.
Who is the Red Wings Ball-Spears' guy?
Who is the Penguins' ball-spear guy?
You don't need it.
Corey Perry would be on his fifth cup right now.
We're not for Bruce Boudreau.
Oh, boy.
You do have to, I mean, like, well,
don't you pull on.
The caps didn't do anything.
That's what I'm saying.
Don't you think that if you put,
I've been thinking a lot about the Capitals.
And like, don't you think that a Ryan Kessler or a Patrick Hornquist?
Like, no.
Guys like that are the guys that you need to do dirty goal bullshit plays in the playoffs.
And the Capitol had none of those guys to me.
I just think the West sucks this year.
And so that's why the ducks are.
where they are. I don't think it's anything to do with Ryan Kessler's magical nuttaps. By
way, in game three, I don't know, like, I understand that these referees put their whistles away.
Like, Ryan Kessler committed like four atrocities during the first 20 minutes, and they showed replays of it.
Like, he hit Johansen from behind, he interfered with him in the neutral zone, he speared him.
And there was like two high sticks. There was one play where a line's been stared down. He, I fucked a high stick and was just like, on side.
I hate playoff refereeing so much.
If you were Ryan Johansson earlier this week,
would you have said anything,
or would you have just done what he did in game three
and just been like scoreboard?
Well, being the mature, talented leader that I am,
I would have just been like, you know,
he's got to play his game,
and I just got to work through it.
And, you know, I respect what he does.
Pretty much.
You know, I wouldn't have been like,
how does anybody root for him?
His whole family.
I don't even know how they even watch a play.
Why does anybody even have,
sex with Ryan Kessler.
And I'm like,
he's such a gross person.
I'm like,
Rajo,
they watch him play
because they're related to him.
Like, my parents don't like the shit I write,
but they read it because they're supposed to.
They're my fucking parents.
Like, here,
let me solve that mystery for you.
Unsolved mysteries.
Do, do, do, do, do, do, do,
why does Ryan Kessler's parents
watch him play hockey?
But, like, not even that.
Like, the thing, like, how can anybody root for that guy?
Like, come on.
Ryan, come on.
people are rooting for the Ottawa senators
and they're trying to melt hockey with a blowtorch
people will root for whoever is in their
town and in their favorite jersey.
It's not complicated.
How can anyone root for that guy?
Said Ryan Johansson
to the ears of the Blue Jackets fans
that watched him underwhelm his way out of town.
Who held out for as long as
I guess he'd technically hold out.
Right?
People root for Magneto sometimes
in the X-Men movies.
People are going to root for fucking Ryan Kessler.
Give me a break.
How can anyone root for that?
guy said the dude who had a who Instagramed a picture of his Ohio State basketball court that he
had and lamented the fact that he had to leave Columbus for Nashville.
I remember that.
How can anybody root for the guy that did absolutely no checking around the net when what's his name scored that backdoor goal
when Pecker-Renay was screened on the past, whatever that was in game two?
How can anyone root for that guy said the guy literally being carried by his two linemates
throughout the entirety of the postseason?
Again, I understand it's the playoffs.
You're on the beat every day.
Like, just because Ryan Johansson made the conference finals doesn't mean he's now mature.
But the thing about Ryan Kessler that really, like, bought it home for me this week was,
it makes me think about how few compelling players are in this league right now.
Like, how, and I mean that in a Chris Pronger way.
Pronger, you fucking cared about.
Like, Pronger would be on the ice and you either boo or hiss that guy,
or you were in awe of the shit he was able to do and get away with, like, stepping on other players and shit like that.
We're desperate for stuff at this point.
We are.
But that's just it.
Drinking the sand.
Kessler's a lightning rod.
And there's so few guys like that anymore.
Like when Johansen spoke up, on one hand I'm like, God, what an idiot.
On the end, I'm like, oh, thank God.
Thanks.
Thank you so much.
Thanks for the content.
Yeah, exactly.
Yeah.
Now I don't have to write that.
Is Hamphish Linholm, the new Drew Dowdy?
Oh, so again, I will bring this back to the Ottawa devil's discussion at every turn.
Ryan Kessler is basically your modern-day Claude Lemieux.
He's Claude Lemieux.
Yeah, completely.
So that's why you like him.
Well, I'm a Claude de Mew fan, yeah, but I also always like that guy.
I like a pest and a goon.
Fuck, I admit an affinity for Alex Burroughs.
I liked Brad Marshan before he became a scorer.
By the way, speaking of GM to the year, Pierre Dorian went out and traded for Alex Burroughs,
so I pretty sure still has no goals in the playoffs.
But he has a lot of heart.
But he has a lot of heart.
Victor Stalberg has been a scratch.
Yeah.
And who else did he get?
He got somebody else, too.
But they're all in.
Right.
Same thing with Pete Chi or Ellie.
Trades for fucking Adam Larson, and it's like, oh, like now they're in the playoffs, but
imagine if they had traded for somebody better than Alex Burroughs and Victor Stahberg, where they...
Better?
Again, that's why Giebush...
Is Givouche a finals for Coach of the Year?
I don't think he is.
No, he wasn't.
It was...
Hang on, Jack.
It was Babcock.
Tortorella Babcock and McColling?
Torterella Babcock and who?
McClellan, maybe?
Yeah, it was McClellan, I think.
Like, I don't.
Yeah, Babcock, McClellan, and Tortorola.
MacLan again, because McDavid was healthy for a season.
Right.
Meanwhile.
And Talbot played out of his mind.
Guy Boucher, Ezra, Carlson, dragging that team to the conference finals.
And, yeah, then...
It's funny.
Like, Ottawa's that hindsight team, where everyone's watching them for the first time in the playoffs
closer, they're like, oh, man, I should have cross and higher.
Higher on the ballot.
Yeah.
Boucher, again, his system is...
It's like watching a fucking Terence Malick movie.
You may think it's great if you're a Terrence Malick fan.
if you're not it's fucking painful to watch
he ran his hand through the leaves of the tree
that's supposed to signify the
circle of life and nature
what's that Brad Pitt movie that he did that's
Tree of Life oh yeah tree of life
everyone was like man you gotta see tree of life
nope you don't
you can appreciate that people like it
and it gets its quality
it's not
it's not it's not Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2
which a dumb person like me really likes
I'm gonna get to that in a second
I can't stop talking about it.
It was so good.
Dennis K. Morgan is a 53-year-old man who lives in Nashville.
Such a good segue.
He has performed about...
It sounds like we're doing a mid-ball ad for like a guy who sells insurance in Nashville.
If you need life insurance, Dennis K. Morgan is the guy you want to have on your side.
He has performed about 185 times...
Yeah, give me the numbers again.
As the National Anthem Singer since the year 2000.
Out of how many games that Predators have played at home?
The National Predators have played roughly 639 regular season home games since 2000.
Okay, so 185.
out of 639.
Plus a few dozen more in the playoffs.
But we're just going to count the regular season.
185, 639.
That's 29% of home games.
Less than a third.
Less than a third.
Of home games, he has been the anthem singer.
Okay.
Dennis K. Morgan.
The K is there because you requested
that the Predators refer to him as such
because there was another Dennis Morgan in Nashville,
and he wanted to make sure no one confused his anthem performances
with someone who did not sing them.
That made me immediately think of.
Aaron Gloria Ryan.
I remember listening
through her podcast once
and I always wonder why she went by her
and Gloria Ryan
it's because like she writes about
you know crazy weird stuff
and there's like regular
Aaron Ryan's out there
who don't want their name to show up
in Google searches
where it's like you know
well it's interesting Michael J. Fox
was Michael J. Fox
because there wasn't already
an actor named Michael Fox
oh yeah so he had to adopt
he had to hit the J.
So like was you think there was like a Tommy Jones
and then he became Tommy Lee Jones?
Probably.
That's probably what it was right?
Yeah.
But like that maybe like okay but there was already
a Matthew Conahey
and he had to go
Matt Conahey
There was already a Matt
Mon
so he became Matt Damon
Oh we can do like
100 more of this
We should probably get done
So Darren Kay
Dennis K. Morgan is a little salty
because
there's a
Apparently when the Nashville
Predators make the playoffs
All of country music
in Nashville
decided that they would like
to sing the national anthem
You're Carrie Underwood
who of course is married to Mike Fisher,
your Lady Antebellum,
your Luke Brian,
your Keith Urban last night.
I'm sure those are all real people.
I believe you.
Dennis Kay Morgan,
as you may have heard,
is a little salty about this.
He's disappointed because
he did not get to sing in the playoffs.
All the famous people did.
Everywhere I go,
obviously in my day job
as a healthcare IT recruiting manager
and at the arena,
as well as everywhere else I go
to church, grocery store,
on the street in meetings and in restaurants.
People want to know how I feel, said Dennis K. Morgan.
No, they don't.
The Predators came to me and said,
The Captain's wife asked to sing the anthem.
It was presented to me as a one night only...
Derek Cheater's wife?
Oh.
As a one night only thing and I agreed to it,
and they continued to bring in these other singers
and touted them as A-lister's, which kind of hurt me.
So, he refers to Carrie Underwood as the captain's wife.
The captain's wife will get you back.
I didn't know.
Which, of course, is like, you know, the cheerleader's dating the quarterback.
Yeah.
The captain's wife.
The quarterback's girlfriend gets to go to the party, but I don't.
Yeah, but, like, his girlfriend isn't, like, just a model who's trying to break into singing and they do her favor.
She's Carrie Underwood.
They continue to bring in these other singers and touted them as A-listers, which kind of hurt me.
They had the, they had the temerity to refer to an artist who has sold 65 million records.
Which is pretty much, that's about how many.
listeners we have, so I understand where he's coming from.
Like, they listed
her as an A-lister, and he's like,
what about me?
Touting her as an A-Lister. I've sung the anthem
185 times in the last
17 years. Here's how
I felt about it. When I first heard it, I was
like, yeah, it's fucking sucks for this guy.
Like, you know, he puts in his time, and now all of a sudden
they get to the conference finals for the first time, and they want to
bump him out for, like, first of all, if Faith
Hill were to sing it, but
like, not do the anthem, if she were to do the Sunday night
football anthem, like, wait,
all day for Predator
Night
Ryan Joe Hanson's
gonna get in a fight
Like then I would take that
But based on your math
The Stanley Cup is silver
And hockey is old
We got Zamponies
The ice is cold
Like I would
Dennis came with that
I think he'd be like
All right that's awesome
You should just do 20 minutes
That before the game
But he according to my calculator
On my phone
Has done 28.9%
Of all the games since 2000
He's not Renee Rancourt.
He's not what's her name in Philly.
There are three different kinds of anthem singers.
There are the legendary performers that are synonymous with the game-going experience.
That's your Renee Rancourt.
Jim Cornelius and whatever his name is.
Lauren Hart.
Lorne Hart.
Reni Rancourt.
Yep.
You cannot.
I talked to somebody in the NHL the other day who admitted that they made a mistake when they did not have Renee
Ray Rancourt sing the National Anthem before the Foxborough outdoor game.
Oh, who did it?
It was, I think it was like Stephen Tyler or something.
Oh, wasn't it?
The bald guy with the guitar.
What's his name?
Who?
Doughtry?
He has a high voice.
He's definitely a Boston guy.
James Taylor?
James Taylor.
Wasn't him?
I mean, I think he's done it.
Maybe that was before like a Red Sox World Series game or something, but yeah.
Point is it.
That's the category of like legendary performers.
Right.
And then you have the category of good luck charms.
I remember being a New Jersey Nets fan
before we traded away all of our top picks
and moved to Brooklyn.
But Paul Pierce was there for about a minute.
That was exciting.
Paul Pierce sang the anthem?
No.
There was a guy named Tuffy.
Tuffy Roads?
Tuffy Goosewich.
Who the fuck is that?
Wasn't Tuffy Roads or a wrestler?
Are you thinking of Dusty Roads?
Jesus Christ.
Tuffy Ghost Witch is American.
How dare you besmatched a good name
with a boogie-wug-man?
The Bucky Wogie Man.
So listen.
The American Dream!
Oh, yeah, the American Dream.
There was a guy named Tuffy, and I remember they used to, I think it was for him.
It might have been for a woman named Arlette, who did the...
Arlette.
I think Tuffy was there, and they used to put up a stat that said,
the Nets are like 21 and 1 when Tuffy sings the National Anthem.
Sure.
Which tells me that he would only sing the anthem before, like, Sacramento Kings game.
Right, yeah.
Whenever a team's playing a second game of a back-to-back, and the Nets are rested.
The expansion, whatever the fucks.
But, like, do you have your good luck charm anthem, people?
people, like the ones that you're like, okay, it's great to carry on to it wants to sing, but we're like 21 and one when this person sings.
Then you have the third category, your Dennis K. Morgan category of random dudes who sing the anthem and can be easily replaced if, like, Lady Antebellum wants to sing the anthem one night.
And the predator said as such, they said in their statement about this guy, we've always valued Dennis K. Morgan's, and by the way, kudos for putting the K in the press release.
Because I bet there was like a conversation in the front office there where they were like, do we, do we be dicks and take out of that?
the cave. Do we just call Mr. Morgan?
Just to really fuck with him.
A performance of the National Anthem of Predator's Home Games.
Our agreement with him has always allowed for nationally and internationally renowned music
artists to perform when available to further enhance our game experience while paying
respect to our country through their respect of awe-inspiring or indistence of the national
anthem. Bliggity, bligdy, blah.
So, like, yeah, I mean, it's kind of part of the gig that if you're there singing the anthem
and someone else decides they want to sing the anthem, fucking Adele shows up.
And she's like, I really like the preters.
And she's like, I want to sing the anthem.
Guess what?
Dennis K. Morgan, you're probably not singing the anthem that night.
America.
It's me.
The predators are down.
Two games to three.
Two games to three.
Well, I got to do it the British way.
I got to swing it around and do like the reverse.
It's not easy.
Playing hockey.
But you can't.
Hello, that's an eye.
Offside
I watched the replay a hundred times
No, no, you can actually keep her lyrics for that
Like when the play is off sides
He was on the other side
His skate was in the air a thousand times
Offside
For the no go
Oh, those Dave Loses singing fetishists
Are really gonna have one for the record books
People are enjoying that one
I can't believe, but RIP that cat I just strangled
to get that noise that's just produced an Adele impression.
But, all right, so like, imagine if, what else?
What else are like, towns?
Okay, let me put it in terms that you'll understand.
Imagine if you're the guy currently playing Hamilton.
Oh.
And Lynn Manuel Miranda shows up and says, hey, one night only, I decided I want to be Hamilton again.
And dude's like, read the fucking playbill kid, I'm Hamilton.
And he's like, but I invented the show.
And he's like, great.
Says here in the playbill,
Hamilton, this guy, understudy, you not fucking here.
David K. Lozo is doing Hamilton tonight.
My name's Lozo, and I'm here to say...
All right, better example.
School of Rock.
What school of Rock?
School of Rock.
The musical.
Yeah.
Jack Black shows up one night.
He's like, man, I got nothing else to do it.
I'm all coked up.
I want to do this roll on Broadway.
And School of Rock guy's like,
sorry, man.
I'm Dewey Finn.
I don't know who you are, man.
are you the guy from Tenacious D?
Like, are the producers going to be like,
sorry, Mr. Black, but
Dennis K. Morgan is
clearly Dewey Finn. No, here's
the perfect example of what it is.
Of what Dennis K., whatever his name is going through.
Morgan.
Morgan. Yeah, don't confuse him with the other
Dennis Morgan. It's like when you go to, like, the comedy
seller to see, like, five dudes you never heard of.
And then, like, Chris Rock shows up because he wants
to work out material for an hour.
And then you, like, imagine it's me there, and I'm like,
who the fuck does Chris Rock think he needs to come in here
and steal my 15 minutes to work on?
It's Chris Rock.
And that Kyle Mooney
struggling comedian character
gets bumped in the show.
Like that's what it is
and you have to just be like
oh well
this is pretty cool.
You're in your back
going over your note cards.
Food on airplanes.
We're in law.
Clinton impression.
What's the deal with Trump?
I mean, what's the deal?
Chris Rock walks in
Hey man, I'm taking 40 minutes.
And you just
and like you like call up
the daily news
and just be like
this is bullshit man.
A lot of people are asking me about where my set was that night.
Yeah.
Everywhere I go to church or a supermarket?
They're like, they handed me a no card and they said it was a Comedy Central showcase
and like, I fully expected that you were going to have your A material and get on Comedy Central.
And then like Chris Rock shows up.
I think Jerry Seifold did a whole entire bit on like electric cars.
And like I'm like, I had some stuff on that too, actually.
I wanted to do.
The only time I would ever be pissed off about that is I remember during the run up to funny people.
Like Seth Rogen was showing up a place of doing stuff.
stand-up. And he's an actor. He's not a stand-up. Like, if you were like a career stand-up,
and you were, and you were, you know, getting third billing at the comedy cellar one night,
finally. And then like, Seth Rogan shows up. He's like, hey, man, weed. And everybody's like,
woo! He's just like, what the fuck? That was my spot. That's so like, it's, it's, if you're
Dennis Kay, you need to be okay with Carrie Underwood, but I'm mad if it's like Catherine
Heigel shows up. Right. That's right. It just feels like doing the anthem that night.
If Heather Heigle shows up and, and does the anthem, or if,
Catherine Hegel shows up and does stand up.
Either way, you should really, really...
Hey, ladies, am I right?
Who takes off their bra during sex?
None of us?
Exactly.
I knew you guys were with me on this one.
And also, I don't like how Dennis K.
is all mad about the response to it,
where he's just kind of like,
he's like, oh, man, that's not how I sound.
But, like, no, no, everyone was saying that, like,
why did you call the paper?
And he was like, no, the paper called me.
Okay, I get that.
Yeah, but then you went to the...
Right.
A lot of people emailed me about that.
That they were like, you know, the Tennessean is making it sound like he went to them.
Well, they went to him.
Right.
And then he went to the Predators and said, hey, I'm going to tell the Tennessean about this.
And the predators are like, go ahead, crazy person.
That's fine.
Nothing you say will possibly make us feel any bad about having Carrie Underwoods sing the National Anthem.
But please do you refer to her as the captain's wife multiple times.
Captain's wife.
Here's his two tweets from yesterday.
It says, I know where the focus is, parentheses,
read entire article.
I get that.
People get mad at headlines.
They don't read the article.
It's fine.
Also, I didn't reach out.
They called me not trying to steal the spotlight.
If you're not trying to steal the spotlight, you say no comment, no thank you, and you hang up the phone.
I'm not in here with you.
You're in here with me.
Thanks, Forrestok.
Ask someone who knows me if that article sounds like me.
Then if you still want to attack, how about it?
I don't know what that means.
But again, the article itself, I love when people say, oh, this, if you're not you, you
you know me, clearly you know this isn't me.
80% of the article
is block quotes.
Right. Of him.
Just talking.
Like, if he was...
Telling Carrie on to what she's the captain's wife.
Like, if he was like, look, I was angry and I regret it and I apologize and I shouldn't
have said it.
Like, okay, that's fine.
But just to be like, that's just not who I am.
Well, that's just not what I...
You said it, though.
I can't think we just spent 10 minutes talking about the Predators fucking National Anthem.
Dennis K. Morgan.
Dennis K. K. Hayesbert.
That's right.
Obviously, if Dennis
Kay Haysbert had given Joe Boo's rum,
none of this would have happened.
You know that for a fact.
Here's yet another response.
Oh, wait, hold on.
Please.
I know this person's on my side.
I'm getting all these weird Ottawa responses still.
That are as boring as the team.
Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is not boring.
You finally saw it.
The more I think about it, the more I like the better than the first one.
The only drawback is that
I think that, I think this series,
and I'm hoping it is a series,
that it's best when all of them are together.
And there's a, like,
The scene where they have the crash land of that planet and they're all just shooting the shit.
Like that's like, wow, this is so much fun.
And there wasn't enough of them together in the second one as there was in comparison to the first ones.
That kind of bum me out.
But that's what you do.
Empire Strikes Back set the template.
You have to split up everybody and they all come together at the end.
That's how these things work.
I didn't mind that at all.
There were no lulls.
Like there was no like nitpicks.
There was no like they really without spoiling it kind of drew out.
the part where like she's like I have something to tell you and then like somebody interrupts them it was
very like three's company like friends where like that right that kind of device but oh uh mantis yeah
yeah dude every drachs mantis scene is fucking hysterical like I was in tears every interaction those two
it's so like I'm not sitting here telling you that Dave batista deserves an Oscar for best supporting
actor right but maybe maybe a nomination because it it's one of those things where like
he's a big giant dude and he plays dumb so it's just like it feels like a standard thing but
like that character how it's written how he delivers his lines is just exceptional that's why
he's guns a genius like the director writer because like he another guy would have handed the
movie over to rocket raccoon because like that's like a great character and a funny character
and a little cgine but he knows to use him in small doses and put most of the great lines
into Drax's mouth.
He's a funnier character
and a funnier performer
and a funnier
everything.
So to me the movie
the movie's great.
It's packed with so many visual references.
The one I keep going back to
is when the Sovereignor chasing
the Guardians in the beginning of the movie
and all the drone ships
are being controlled by people playing
in a giant coin-op arcade
and then it comes down to one ship
and then everybody's crowded around the one guy
like he's trying to beat Donkey Kong
in like 1980.
to
it's fantastic
and
I don't want to
spoil it
because I know
there are probably
people that
haven't seen it
yet
yeah it's too
sooner for
spoilers
the most
but
but
but Chris
Chris Pratt's dead
the whole time
the single
most vicious
uncaring
brutal
sick
villain plot
of any
superhero
movie
in this
run of
DC or
Marvel
it is
so
goddamn
twisted. I can't, I still can't believe that they went there. It's great. With it.
It's like, it's, it's like, the one thing people hate about superhero movies, and I get it, is like, there's never really any consequences. Yeah. For anybody. Right. Like, there's, in this one, there's, there's, there's consequences. There's actual, like, body count. Yeah. Like, it's, like, I'm, I'm very sad that at some point they're going to merge with, like, the other ones to kind of bring it all together. That's just for one movie, though. I don't like that. I don't want to have to the strands of the nebula and Gamora.
daughter's thing with
Thanos. How about this?
Mm-hmm. Fuck Mary Kill.
Okay.
Gimora.
Uh-huh. Nebula.
Mm-hmm. Mantis.
I would marry Mantis.
Hmm. I think. Wait. Her deal is that she can
feel what you're feeling.
Well, I think her big draw is that she can put you to sleep right away.
Okay. Like there's no tossing attorney.
I would definitely marry Mantis.
All right.
17 hour flight in New Zealand.
Right. Work your magic. Like, oh my god. Like, like, anytime you're stressed out and she can just like touch you and like, oh man, that would be, that would be fantastic.
I would fuck Nebula and kill Gamora for one reason.
Hmm. I feel like Nebula would be a kind of fucking run kind of deal.
What do you mean?
I feel like she would know the deal.
I feel like Gamora is still working through her feelings.
Oh.
I'm a feeling if I slept with Gamora that maybe things would get a little confused.
using and she's the most
lethal assassin in the galaxy.
Right.
And that could be bad news.
Like, oh, no, no, no.
I thought, see, I thought it was just like one
one night, but like, yeah.
Oh, so we want different.
Oh, I never, I never mentioned
kids. I don't know why you
think that I mentioned kids.
But I feel like Nebula would be like, thank you.
And just like, go
and do her thing.
See, like, for me, 100%
100% fuck Nebula.
Now, why is that?
Same reason?
She's just hot.
I just...
I would...
I would be like...
I would be like...
I know that you're...
She's bendy with the robot stuff.
Like that could be fun too, I think.
I'd be like, I know you're playing a character, but I'm really like Scottish.
I know.
Talk like that?
The problem is like, you know what sucks too?
It was like back in the day, like the Princess Leia fantasy was like the dude fantasy of like sci-fi.
And that was easy.
Buns, gold bikini.
Like, if you ever want to act one of these out with like your girlfriend, like, you gotta get like body paint.
There's a whole production, man.
You need a makeup crew to have that happen.
Basically, if you want to fuck Zoe Saldana
in fantasy world, you have to dress her up
like O'Hura. Because you can't do Avatar
and you can't do Gimora. Oh, right? She's an avatar
too. Yeah, exactly. Boy, Zoe
Salada might be like the greatest sci-fi actor
of all time. But then, like, all right, between
marrying Mantis or killing Mantis
and then, I don't know.
The sleep thing really does seem to come in handy.
The every Drak's
fucking Mantis scene. I have never seen
a movie in the theater twice. I may go back
and see this one again. It was that funny.
So wait, are you marrying Mantis or not?
There's no way you could kill her. You could not look in those big, those big eyes and
like kill that, kill that poor thing.
And there's also the gold lady, too, from a...
The sovereign?
Man from Uncle.
I like her a lot. I like her a lot.
Yeah, so that's what I mean. Every, like, fantasy girl in the movie is like, it's like nine
hours of makeup. You're never going to be able to.
I just like, I like that it's, that somehow they are allowed to be weird.
Like, this series.
is allowed to be weird.
Like, Thor should be,
Thor looks like it's getting to that place
in the next one that it's going to be
in weird territory.
That one looks good too.
But like, it's just cool.
I really liked it.
I, I didn't,
I was prepared for a letdown
and, uh,
and it didn't happen.
And everybody in the movie's great
and Kurt Russell's amazing.
And, uh,
like,
and Baby Groot was not annoying.
Baby Groot was really funny.
Baby Groot is way more annoying
in all the commercials.
In the movie,
Baby Groot's hilarious.
Yeah.
But all right,
I'll marry him at this kill Gamora.
Even though I don't want to kill Gamora.
that's what makes it so tough
I mean there is an option there
is there
you know
a little neck right
wait no
all right now
all right now's the time
on Pucksie from we open up the mailbag
Dougie Iceback wants to know
I love Guardians of the Galaxy
but whenever Rocket Raccoon talks
I hear George Costanza
am I crazy
do you think they're doing something
with Bradley Cooper's voice
or is Bradley Cooper potentially doing
George Costanza
Explain to me why Vin Diesel has to be the voice of Baby Groot.
I don't understand that at all.
I saw that in the opening credits and I'm like, wait, he's still doing the voice.
I do love that idea that, like, at some point, James Gunn had to go to Vin Diesel after
Vin Diesel read the script and he's like, I see this whole movie.
It's about being a family.
I don't know if you know, but there's another group of movies where they're trying to be a family.
I don't know if you've ever seen them.
And James Gunn's like, I don't know.
I'm not familiar with it.
I don't even drive a car.
But you feel, too, that there's no studio.
No, it's on this movie.
It's just like whatever James Gunn wanted to do.
Yeah, he earned Carpodge.
Do whatever you want.
Does he sound like George Costanza?
Yeah, a little bit.
Yeah, I can see that.
I can see that.
That does make sense.
Kevin Maloney, if avocado toast was a hockey player, who would it be?
Avocado toast.
So if avocado toast is taking a basic ingredient and spreading it on another basic ingredient
and then putting salt on it and then charging $18.
for it. So a basic
player who is completely
overrated
for doing basic things.
Milal Luchich?
That's possible. That's possible.
Oh, no. No, that's not good. That's not a good
answer.
To me, avocado toast is a real you're supposed to
take care of your kids kind of thing. It's like
avocado on toast and salt.
It's just the thing, of course
it's going to be good, but you shouldn't have to pay $18 for it.
Oh, Jonathan Thames. Thank you.
There's the answer.
All right. 10.5 for that. You kidding me?
Brett Boddner wants to know
Where will Colvichuk end up playing next year if he really does come back to the NHL?
I think he's coming back.
No idea.
I find it interesting that I think he fits really well with the Islanders, but I don't know if the devil's will do business with him or not.
And I also don't know what.
The hardest thing for me as far as like where Colbuchar is going to end up is, one, how much sway he has over his destination.
Because if you remember, when he left, the only two teams he was considering playing for were the Devils and the Kings.
Right.
Somebody told me that he was never, ever considering the king.
That was a total leverage move.
So just the devils.
I think, like, yeah, I think you wanted to stay over here because of his family.
So in this area, the islanders would be a good fit, in theory.
But I think the best fit, honestly, and I don't know if he wants to play in Canada, it would be Montreal.
Get him up there with Raduloff, assuming they get along, give them some goal scoring, sniper on the power play.
Do they have the room for him, though?
The cap room?
I don't know.
I don't think they do.
I mean, it's not as if they've got a defense.
I'm making...
Especially if they re-side rations.
Agiloff. I don't know how they're going to afford that. How about Florida?
With Yager?
You got some young kids there. I think they're not bringing Yager back, so that's money.
The greatest misconception about Kovilchuk is that he's bad in the room.
The devils loved him when he was there.
No, he's Russian. He's bad in the room.
No, he's...
That's how it works. He scores a lot of goals and he's Russian.
Bad in the room and kill coaches.
Bring back Nikolai Jaredev.
The thing about all of you is you see Ovechkin, you get hockey basketball.
boner and want to rub hockey boner all over
of Etkin. That's tweet seven
of a 95 tweet, right?
Is that what you do with boners? You rubbed them
on stuff? That's not when I thought
it was... Go ahead, Leon's kiss pretty
boy over his face.
Enjoy Redskins' minicamp, out.
I get tax-free money for four years.
I come here and play for free to win Stanley Cup.
Unlike Alex Semin, who is
Big Baby. Seven
the 42 tweets.
Dan Straitage wants
to know, if Ryan gets left,
Would Ryan Gets Laf get more love if he had a better hairline?
Good question.
No, he plays an an eye.
There you go.
Scott Flores wants to know coffee, cream or no cream?
No cream, a black coffee boy.
I'm a black coffee boy.
Starbucks, I go half and a half.
Dunkin' Donuts, I go regular whole milk.
I don't know why I do that, but that's what I do.
Like that coffee this morning, half and half.
Never red sugar.
Josh wants to know.
Thoughts on answering your phone in the bathroom.
A guy at the urinal answered and had a full conversation.
Urinal, no.
I don't like that.
I don't like the idea of standing next to a guy with his phone raised above the partition.
I used to work with the guy who talked to his wife while he was taking his shit at the office every day.
He timed it.
He timed it so he could do it that way.
And like there's times, I remember the first time I figured this out because like it had happened like a couple of times.
And then I realized it was always around the same time in the evening.
I'd be in there peeing.
And then I'd hear like, oh.
We can't afford to send her there.
It's too much tuition.
Like, we need to figure out a way to...
I'll make a confession here for me and you and everybody listening.
There have been times, and there may have been a time in the last couple of weeks.
As you know, I'm very pressed for time.
Very busy man.
You're just a man in demand.
Very busy man.
There may have been times when I forgot that I had to do a phoner on the radio.
and they called while I was on the can
and then they're like
all right you know just a bit of a bit of a bit of a bit of a minute.
They're going to be back in the air in about a minute and a half.
It's a slime, slime boy, that's goo.
And I
I finished the job in that minute and a half
and flushed with the phone muted
before I did the interview.
So I was on the can when they called and said
you know.
Johnny Truck and and the
goofball are going to be with you in about a minute of 30.
And then I finished the job and flushed, and then I did the interview.
I mean, laid on my feet, by the way, afterwards.
But that's definitely happened at least, maybe within the last two weeks.
Maybe it happened when I was in Pittsburgh.
Who picks second again this year?
Devils one.
Who's the two?
Flyers.
So, like, Greg, Greg Wischinski over there in Jersey.
You got, you pick first there.
What do you expect the flyers to do at number two?
And you're like, well, I know what I'm doing at number two.
And that's splattering the inside of the bowl.
Hey, hey, puck daddy, what do you think about this, Penguins Ottawa series?
I don't know about that, but here, listen, it's the Carolina Hurricanes logo.
Swirl, swirl, swirl, swirl, swirl.
It sucks that you can't trade Cory Schneider and Ilyaakovichuk for the two because it's Philly.
Devils will never do that.
Oh, my God.
You think there's a trade to be made with the Devils in Philly?
No, because that's a weird thing about sports.
Schneider for the two?
Teams never trade in their divisions.
And the Devils never trade with their rivals either.
I can't even remember the last Devil's Flyers trade there was.
There definitely was a Devils Rangers trade at some point, I think.
I want to say...
Maybe it's like one.
I want to say it involved Troy Millett back in the 90s.
Whoa.
Back in the day.
But, yeah, I don't answer my phone anywhere, really.
So if I'm taking a dump, it better be like something really...
Like, when you get a call, that's like not in your phone out of area.
Do you ever pick it up?
I never do.
I pick it up because I assume it's either a radio station, but then it ends up being like,
your car insurance is...
Right.
P S-E-N-G is
No, like, it's just, it's never anything
You're, or it's like,
like, dude, I had an online gambling account
like 15 fucking years ago.
They call me at the start of every,
every separate sports season to be like,
hey, we just want to know,
you got a 10% bonus.
Like, how do you still have my number?
Like, I haven't gambled in your site in 15 years.
So no, don't pick up your phone anywhere.
Just text.
Um, um,
what hell?
Oh, yeah.
No, I get, I get, uh,
I get those telemarketing calls.
And then occasionally,
I decided to fuck with them and they get done with their spiel.
And I'm like, you're a robot.
And sometimes they actually have something in their response mechanism that says,
I can assure you I'm not.
Is that true?
Yeah, that's true.
And Ruby dies when it starts, like, she'll look over to me on the phone and she'll just hear,
you're a robot.
And she's like, oh, boy, because you know what's going to happen.
Because like every response that comes back, I can assure you, I'm not.
No, I think you might be a robot.
I don't realize that's how telemarketing work now.
Yeah, it's all, it's all on, because you know what it is?
It's from what I gather, and I'm sure if somebody out there will correct us,
when they farm out these calls to call centers in other countries,
they have buttons they push for English language responses.
You know?
So like, you're actually talking to a human, but they're pushing a button that is answering you in English
because that's not their native tongue.
So that's how they got a, remember about 50s?
15 years ago, they would do actual call centers in like Pakistan.
Yeah.
And like, and everybody's like, I'm never working up, working with, I'm never buying this product because, you know, ain't American.
Well, they got around that by just having computers that sound American being operated by people in Bangladesh.
What's more American than computers calling you at home to sell you shit?
Brian Parsons wants to know who's the smartest person in the hockey media?
That's a really good question.
Like smartest person in the hockey media.
I feel like Delo's up there.
But he uses his powers for the powers of evil sometimes.
I don't consider, he is hockey media.
He's really, you don't consider him hockey.
He works at the athletic now, though.
But like, oh, Myrtle.
Fuck.
Yeah, Murtel's up there, too.
Murtel is like, John Tortorello is like, John Tortorella working at TSN.
Like, he's just in between things.
Which John Torderella now?
The one, the main one?
Or the clone with the sweater?
John, John, we're going to be out, you're going to be on Bob McKenzie in three, two.
And they point on him and he just goes,
fighting's good.
Hi, Steve.
Hi, Steve.
I would probably go Myrtle
would be my choice
for smartest in the hockey media.
I'm going to do this
because he always gets mad at us
whenever we do the impression.
I'm going to say Ryan Lambert.
Why do you do this?
The best is like he'll text me
after he's listening to the show
and he's just commenting about something
we talked about and then like 20 minutes later
I get to text and it's like,
I just got to the part where you guys do the impressions
of me.
Fuck you.
I mean, listen, he's a brilliant writer.
I read everything that he does.
He's legendary.
Like the Ploticus.
And many other dinosaurs.
Legends.
Lai giant lizard legends walking the earth.
You shouldn't definitely make him write the thing about why he should be a GM this summer.
Oh, I saw that tweet that you sent him.
I completely agree.
Yes, I do.
By the way, he's going to be, for those of you who don't know Ryan, like he's going to be on the show at some point.
We fucking love Lambert.
We just have to get him to New York on like a Wednesday to do the show.
Middle of the week where he has no dinosaur tours.
God damn. And that'll be one, that'll be in the whole show with a guest category. Like, he will sit in
for the whole show. We'll give him like 15 minutes to rebut anything we've ever said regarding
dinosaurs or him or anything. He can just go off. But just leave the room for a while.
It will be the best thing you've ever heard. She's the last Tedisandronicus album.
This is from Brian, Brian Neeson. How does Lozo feel about Jude Law not being in the young
Pope season two, aka the new Pope? Yes, that is a real thing. So mad. I'm so disappointed.
I don't get what they're doing.
Like, I thought the whole point was that, like, you watch the first season of the show that then see the next season of the young pope.
But they're making it, they're making it like a Fargo type thing where they're going to have, like, parts of that season still relevant to the second season, but different characters.
It sounds very much like the KFC commercials where they're having a different person play the Pope each time.
Okay.
If Jim Gaffigan is the new Pope, I'm all in.
Hey, it's me and I'm, New Pope.
White Smoke says that I'm the new Pope.
Everybody, get to Pope and get to praying.
I fire a Voyello.
Who did I hire?
You guessed it.
Frank Stallone.
Oh, I can't believe they're not bringing it back.
OJ murdered people.
Timor, Concerned Calgaryen wants to know,
do the empty seats in Anaheim in round three of the playoffs
tell us anything, reed viability of the NHL in the O.C?
I don't know how many empty seats there were in the third round.
I remember there being a thing in, like, game one, where the traffic was horrendous, and a lot of people didn't make the game in time.
Yeah, I don't know about that.
I think it's fine.
Playoff tickets are really expensive.
I don't know if people notice that.
Yeah, you know what?
When, like, nobody can afford anything because nobody has a job because the economy sucks, it's kind of hard to afford lower bowl, $400 tickets for a third-round series.
Mm-hmm.
But.
Lower bowl or smoke a bowl?
Sometimes life makes you make difficult choices.
If you could smoke a bowl and the lower bowl.
That lower bowl probably more filled, but...
I think actually that's the solution
for the avalanches attendance problems.
You imagine that?
It's like, hey, where are you going?
I'm going to go get a couple of beers.
What do you want?
Give me like an eighth of the cush?
Of the sack cush?
No, not the cotton candy.
No, the Maui.
Yeah, no, that's what we want.
Yeah.
The Rob Blake buds.
Give me some of those?
I'd watch a fucking avalanche.
I do. I'd watch it. I keep watching it. I'd just still be sitting there after it's done.
And like every time they score a goal instead of like the cannon, like somebody just lights up a gigantic
spliff in the corner of the arena.
Like, sir, you have to go. The game's been over for an hour.
Yeah, but you guys haven't showed off the Jumbotron and it's been great.
The way that like the TV flickers every few seconds.
Awesome.
Finally, Matt.
Oh, Jesus.
Poirier, P-O-I-R-I-E-R, Poirier.
Sure.
Right.
Matt Pee.
When the Preds win the cup.
Awfully, presumptuous.
Oh, yeah, I saw this question.
Who gets the first handoff from Mike Fisher, aka Mr. Carrie Underwood?
I don't know.
The singer's husband, as it were.
Peca René, Romani, Romani, or P.K. Suban, all have put the team on their back at some point.
The goalie.
Does the goalie ever get the cup second?
I feel like he's the answer, though.
I feel like he's the answer, too.
PK's there one year.
He's young and his first year there.
Fisher would be the guy who would get it if somebody else was captain.
Yosey's a good choice.
But I would imagine it have to be Pecca, right?
Like there's no...
Who's the oldest guy on that team who's not Mike Fisher?
Let's see, 96.80.
Oh, Vernon Fiddler would be an option.
I think that's an option.
Is there, when's the last time a guy who didn't dress for the clinching game got the cup?
No, that's a good point.
He plays a little bit, but I mean, he's not necessarily guaranteed to be in the lineup that night they win it.
He would be your oldest guy.
The next oldest guy is the guy who obviously would be responsible if they win the cup, Cody McLeod.
I was going to say, that was my other guess, but he just got there this year in a trade.
He's not like an old-time guy.
Vernon Fiddler and Mike Fisher are the same age, and if you had asked me that,
I would have said that Vernon Fiddler is litigit 17 years older than Mike Fischer.
See, I would have thought he was younger for some reason.
Who, Renna Fiddler?
I know, it's dumb, but that's what I was my missal thought.
He always strikes me as being like 45 years old and a guy who played in the fourth line for 17 different teams.
James Neal?
James Neal isn't really, James Neal's close, but yeah.
Yeah.
Pecker-Renay, I think, is the answer because, like, he's been there for how long now?
His whole career, so.
Yeah, precisely.
All right.
I think it's time to call this one.
I think it's over?
Yeah, I think it's over now.
Thanks to everybody for listening.
I think we gave you a longer one than the ones you anticipated.
Yeah, we went deeper.
Tried to.
We had breakfast with Jonah Carey this morning, and we were thinking about making him a guess, but then...
He's pressed.
He's pressed.
He's got to go see.
Who was he have to go see again?
A bunch of people.
But he was really nice.
He bought us breakfast by staying in a hotel and getting a free breakfast, and then we mooched off it.
Yeah.
Free bagel.
Free water.
Free water, yeah.
No waffle maker, they like to have it, like the double tree.
Yeah, get it together.
Free hotel.
Get it together, Casa Blanca Hotel.
in Times Square that...
Geez.
You know,
exactly.
All right,
I'm Greg Wushinsky
of Yahoo Sports Puck Daddy
Blog.
You can find my stuff
at Woshensky
on Twitter.
You can find my writing
at Puck Daddy.
I want to give a shout
out to Jen Neal
and Josh Cooper
who unfortunately
are not with Puck Daddy
anymore because of budget
crap.
I love them both
and it's not been
a very happy week.
But I hope
that they both find
other stuff and they will.
They're super talented.
And especially in Jen's case
who's been with us
for a really long time.
The economic realities of sports
writing, Dave Lozo, as we've talked about many times
in the show, come home to roost.
Every two weeks, we've got to talk about somebody getting laid off.
And it fucking sucks. And it fucking sucks to have it this time of year.
So best luck to Jen and Josh.
We love them both big time.
And unfortunately,
life is life. So anyways, you can find my book,
take your eye off the puck. You find our book.
100 greatest players in natural history and other stuff.
And here's Dave.
I got to pee, so we're going to be done right now.
Now, when you pee, are you going to talk to anybody on the phone?
No, but I'll talk to the guy next to me.
How's it going, bro?
See you.
Bye.
