Puck Soup - Scott Hartnell, Trade Deadline Bets
Episode Date: February 22, 2019Greg, Ryan and Sean make their NHL trade deadline wagers on players and teams; discuss John Tortorella's fecal comments on Artemi Panarin and insulting comments on Anthony Duclair; talk Don Cherry vs.... "a bunch of jerks"; break down the playoff chances for the Blues and Blackhawks; and take the "Golden Naked Men vs. Pretty Rings" quiz for the Oscars. Also, Scott Hartnell comes on to discuss his new NHL Network gig, Sidney Crosby and Gritty. Sponsored by Leesa and Seat Geek!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Lisa Mattresses.
They offer two awesome mattresses, the all-foam one and the Sapira hybrid one.
I kind of dig the all-foam one because if you're like a tosser and turner in bed, the person next
you ain't going to toss and turn with you.
Plus accessories and bases for a better, deeper rest.
Plus, Lisa is also on a mission to provide a better night's sleep for everybody.
They've donated more than 32,000 mattresses to date.
Don't miss Lisa's ongoing President's Day.
Get 15% off any mattress for a limited time at Lisa.com slash soup.
Then use the promo code soup.
That's Lisa.
L-E-E-E-S-A.com slash soup, S-O-U-P, promo code soup, to get 15% off any mattress for a limited time.
It's a great deal, ladies and gentlemen.
Enjoy the show.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly commentations.
to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows,
eats and tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hoggy and nonsense.
Puck Soup.
I'm Greg Wischinski of ESPN.
I'm Ryan Lambert from Yahoo.
Hello, I'm Sean McIndoo of The Athletic.
It's true.
We're all here.
And you're in Puck Soup,
where we're not talking about urine today, boys.
We're talking about poop.
as in the poop coming out of our Temi Panarin's intestinal system through his anus and into his pants,
according to Jack Adams Award winning head coach John Tortorella and PR communication legend John Tortorella.
Yeah. Remember, this is a team that's trying to resign this player.
So for those of you who may have missed it, and I don't know how.
There was
impossible.
There was speculation about why Artemey Panarin missed the Blue Jackets game earlier this week.
It was at a time when people start getting scratched for all various and sundry reasons,
mostly because their teams are trying to protect the assets ahead of the trade deal or whatever.
So someone asked if Panarin was being scratched because of this protecting the assets thing.
And maybe Tortorillo just heard the word ass in ass.
assets and decided to go in this direction.
He said,
he's sick.
He shit his pants.
He was puking.
He was doing everything.
So enough.
Now, according to NHL standards and practices,
this should have been called a lower body injury.
But, you know, he is giving a lot more information to the wagerers.
I don't know if that's fair.
But your thoughts on John Totorella revealing to the world that Artemi Panarin
had shit his pants.
I think this is the kind of clarity we want from all injury reports, right?
Like, we want to know.
Like, I don't want to hear lower body injury ever again.
I don't want to hear upper body injury.
Like, this sets the standard for we need to know exactly what's going on.
Like, we need the full doctors.
Like, we need the NHL violating HIPAA laws to give us the information we need.
this you know what this could be our way to get rid of that like we if we just assume that everyone
described as having a lower body injury has crap their pants and we just report it that way
we're just like yeah they say lower body injury so we're all here assuming that he crapped
his pants unless we hear otherwise yeah we will hear otherwise so it's like the concussion
thing whenever we hear upper body injury we assume concussion we just assume they should it
should they shit their pants it's one of those two things
I just think that, you know, there needed to be follow-up questions.
Torch, are we talking about a full flood of shit?
We're talking about a bit of a Hershey squirt.
It's just a large skid mark of some kind.
Yeah, he shit his pants.
Now, it's funny because, like, there have been other instances of guys having, like, the stomach flu and shit themselves.
Wasn't it Luongo at one point?
Well, he had to leave the game.
He had to leave the game because he had to shit.
Yeah.
Right.
To me, if there's that level of urgency, chances are he had already shit his pants, by the way.
I think that's a cover-up story.
Like, he's so responsible that he made it back to the dressing room, though.
There was an alarm going off.
He thought he had a puff of bad gas, but it turned out to be the damn breaking, is my opinion on that story.
That's an urban legend that he caught it in time.
That absolutely could be the case.
And don't forget, there's also, do you remember the game where the entire senator's
bench was like going off one at a time.
The infamous, I call it the infamous flu game.
It's infamous like in Ontario.
I don't know if that jumped the track to the rest of the league,
but this was like before the lockout where everyone on the senators had the flu,
and there was like three of them left by the end because they were all too busy back there doing their business.
Right. And then Robert Hayes had to fly the plane with the autopilot. Yeah, we know. We've seen airplane.
We know how it works.
Listen, it's a pretty amazing thing. And by the way,
you make a good point, which is that usually it's just flu.
Like, oh, he had a bad stomach flu, and that's the most information we get.
Not that he actually shit his pants.
Now, if you're Artemi Panarin, you're thinking what, when you hear your coach basically put it out there, that you shit your pants?
Not great.
I think I'd rather he didn't tell everyone that.
I mean, you know, we all want our coach to have our back.
And certainly if we're being accused of either faking or.
embellishing an injury or illness, it's nice to know the organization will cover you,
but that's maybe a little too covered.
It was maybe a little bit of an overshare.
If this was the Washington Capitals, do you think Torts would have just said that
Panarin got sent down to Hershey?
Come on.
Come on.
I'm just trying to think now, there's a famous story of like various basketball players
playing like not having wiped their asses
because then they're less comfortable to guard.
And I'm trying to remember...
Hold on, hold on.
You're saying that they don't wipe enough.
And that makes them more jumpy and limber?
No, no, no.
It's that you don't...
Like, if you're...
Usually it's a guy who would get under the basket
like a center or somebody like that.
And then...
Okay.
Because you're pushing up against them the whole game,
that kind of thing.
You don't want to do that if he's got shitty,
shitty ass.
Right?
So,
so, like, there are stories about, like,
I can't remember who.
I feel like Carl Malone might be one,
but I could be wrong about that.
But of guys who just, like,
don't wipe their ass day of a game,
so they smell bad,
so nobody wants to guard them.
That's real.
Well, if the Blue Jackets go on a massive winning streak,
we'll know.
Panarin just goes off for like nine points in his next three games.
Yeah.
And let's also not lose sight of the fact that he was puking too.
Like, I mean, that's, you know, that's.
So, I mean, when you're a superstar player and you can produce at both ends,
that's really what teams are looking for it.
Fuck off.
At the trade deadline.
I'm just sad that we watched about a decade-long career, and this never happened to Darren Pupa.
The thing also about Panarin that I find interesting here is that it wasn't just Panarin that Tortorillo called out this week, although he clearly called out this other guy in a much more depressing way.
Anthony Duclair is a member of the Blue Jackets.
I think at this point in his career, we could probably call him a Journeyman.
and Anthony D. Clair was called out for, quote, having bad listening skills by John Totorella.
So the Columbus media once again doing God's work and asking Totorella, what did you mean by bad listening skills?
To which Torch responded, I don't know. Right now, I don't know. If you had asked me that a few weeks ago, I don't think he knows how to play. I don't.
It seems to me that he's a player who feels he can get the puck because he's tremendously skilled.
He can skate.
He has done all those things that you guys know.
I just think he does.
I just think he can go do whatever.
He thinks he can go do whatever the hell he wants to do on the ice.
You can't do that in the National Hockey League.
We have spent a lot of time trying to teach him, trying to teach him situational play away from the puck.
All the stuff we do with players.
Sometimes it looks like he's understanding.
So to answer your question, I don't know.
I don't know if he can't comprehend it or if he's just stubborn.
But he's running out of time.
John Totorella said at one point in the last week that one of his players shit his pants
and then basically called another player on his roster a fucking moron in the same week.
Here's my question.
It's pretty great.
Which one of those would you least like to hear from your coach in the NHL?
Because, I mean, that's like an all-time burial job on a guy who's still on the roster.
And yet I still feel like I'd rather hear that than have my coach tell everyone I poop my pants.
I think you're probably right.
But at the same time, like, listen, it's kind of hard for me to ignore the implications of this one where he's kind of singling out one of the two dozen black players in the league as saying you're too dumb to play hockey.
That was my immediate takeaway, too.
Weird.
Yeah.
But at least, from what I understand, he does stand.
for the anthem. So he's probably got Torts'
respect there.
But not so much on the hockey front.
How much, like, is John Tortorella
this good of a coach that he can be
also this much of an asshole all the time?
You know what I mean? And, like,
get away with it. Like, how is,
how do, how do the players put up
with it? Like, Columbus
isn't kicking the shit out of everybody in the league
this year. Apologies to
Artemy Panarin. But,
like, they're really
not. They're really
not like great or anything.
And this is a coach who, you know,
they had to bring in a guy to tell
the team that, remember,
Torts two years ago
or three years ago, figured out the
power play. They were going to run at 30%
for the rest of time because Torts figured
out the power play. And now they had to bring
in a power play around Sam Gagne.
Yeah. And now they had to bring in
Marty San Luis to be like, oh, you guys
should stand over there. And
that kind of thing.
It's, it like,
How many chances does this guy get?
I thought they probably should have fired him last year
because the team wasn't as good as it probably should have been.
And then this year, you know, not only are they not as good as they probably should be,
but the two best players on the team are fucking leaving,
and everybody's known it all season.
Well, it's pretty obvious.
I mean, multiple deep playoff runs in Columbus.
I mean, coming with the wins of the cup.
Obviously, he's safe there.
Also, a great quote.
So the media is not going to call for this guy's head.
And if they do, then he'd just start calling them a bunch of fucking assholes and showing them up at press conferences and bullying them like he bullied everybody else he's ever fucking dealt with that gave him criticism.
And then, of course, he also likes dogs.
And you can never criticize a man who loves dogs as much as John Totorella loves dogs.
Yes.
I'll tell you what, I think that I'd be willing to say if this.
They don't trade the two big UFAs and they miss the playoffs.
Do you think he gets fired?
Like, doesn't somebody have to be sacrificed if that happens?
Yeah, he for sure gets fired if they.
They turn around and say it was the coach's fault,
which is probably not especially fair, but, yeah.
Yeah.
It doesn't seem like there's a lot of scenarios in which he doesn't lose his job eventually.
Like, you know, another first round exit should he stay?
you know, if they keep him and they go out in one, of course he's gone.
If they lose them and they fail to make the playoffs or grow out in one,
I mean, maybe you have a little bit of cover there.
But fuck, man, like, it's fucking, it's fucking insane to me that this guy's been there for as long as he has.
And they have, you know, you can count their playoff wins on one fucking hand right now.
Like, it's crazy to me that that's, and he's ensconceding that job.
And I guess it has to do with, like, if you're Columbus, the bar for that franchise,
sadly is set at are we in the playoffs check box yes or no it doesn't matter what you do if you get
there as long as you have a guy that can get you there like that's the fucking bar for that franchise
and that's that's kind of a sad state of affairs yeah i think a lot of it depends on if if they go
out in the first round i mean obviously if they win around they're in uncharted territory and he's
you know extend them for five more years but if they go out in the if they go in as a wild card
if it like if they give the lightning a tough series and go out in six or seven then i
think he's probably okay. If they lost to the Islanders, a team that was worse than them last year
and then switched coaches and became amazing, I think that's going to be kind of a tough sell.
I think if you're heavily invested in John Tortorella futures, I think that's your
worst case scenario is for them to lose to the Islanders in the first round.
Right. But the argument for keeping Panarin and Vobrovsky is that the Metro's not unwinnable.
Like, it's, it's there, of all the divisions that you'd want to be in, I would argue it's the
metro, right?
I mean, maybe the Pacific, you'd make the argument to, but it's the, it's the metro, right?
Yeah, 100%.
Yeah.
So they've got an opportunity if this motherfucker can win a playoff round, but, and by that, I mean,
But, uh, but, uh, but, you know, I, I, I think at the end of the day, like,
when we, we reconvene the podcast next week, I expect at least Panera not to be there.
I think the only question about Bovrovsky is the trade protection he has or else maybe he's gone too.
But, you know, logic dictates they should keep them both.
I'm in camp, keep them both and make a run out of it this year and add something.
I think you've got to trade one of them, honestly.
Like, it can be a bit of a hockey trade where, you know, if you can get, I don't, like,
you're not going to get a comparable player for Panarin, but like.
No.
But if you can get a guy who's like a top six winger and a future and a prospect,
or a pick and a prospect, I should say, like, I think you have to do it just because you can't lose both of them for nothing.
You can't.
Because they're going to lose the first round regardless, I think.
Well, we don't know that.
It could be a miraculous run.
For God's sakes, Ryan, fucking Vegas made it last year.
Now, I've heard this juggling act theory put forth by people like Elliot.
Friedman and Pierre Lebrun, the idea that Yarmoukek, who, by the way, at no point has
really proven himself to be really good at this fucking job, is going to somehow trade Panarin,
get assets, then turn those assets into something to replace Panarin.
But even if you do a thing where you trade Panarin, let's say you trade to the Islanders,
get a bunch of shit from the Islanders, and then cycle that shit over to the Rangers to get Zuccarello,
you're still talking about a country fucking mile in talent and effectiveness between Artemi Panarin
and Zucrello.
There's nothing you can do.
you know, there's nothing you can do to flip the assets for something that'll help you,
quote, help you now.
There is.
That's going to be better than keeping Panarin.
There's one other way to do it.
And this is, and I hope they don't do this because I don't think it would be the smart thing.
But you can, you trade Panarin for futures, and then you flip those futures to Ottawa for Matt Dushan.
And then you trade Sergey Barovsky for futures and you flip those futures or some of those futures to Detroit and bring in Jimmy Howard.
And then you say, there you go.
we didn't lose those guys for nothing.
And then at the end of the year,
Douchain and Howard both walk as free agents,
but just psychologically,
you don't feel now like you lost something for nothing.
You change the thing into a different thing
and you have a few second round picks
still kick around in your back pocket.
I mean, to me,
that's the sort of move you make,
if you're more worried about the psychology here
than actually trying to win a Stanley Cup
either now or in the future.
That's the sort of comfortable move you make
to keep the,
Fans quiet.
Do Shane and Stone are the only guys that you could bring in that would ease the pain of trading Panarin?
And then why bother?
Because you're going to lose them in the off season.
So if you're going to lose a guy in the off season anyways, you might as well just keep Panarin.
Exactly.
Yeah, you might as well just keep Panarin.
So, I mean, it all tracks back to the idea that you acquired Panarin to do what, to try to win a cup.
That that's the reason you did it.
And it sucks that he's going to leave.
And it sucks that Bob's going to leave.
It didn't fucking work out the way you thought it would as far.
assigning these guys to long-term deals.
But if the impetus of acquiring him was,
we're going to challenge for a cup with this guy,
then fucking challenge for a cup with this guy.
Add to the team that you have.
Go all in.
See if you could do it.
And then if he walks away after the season,
well, you fucked it up a little bit.
But at least you shot your shot.
I just think at some point you have to be realistic, right?
Like, again, they are in the very good division to be in.
if you're a slightly above average team, which I think Columbus is, where, you know, the Islanders are the quote-unquote best team in that division.
And if you aren't a big buyer of the Islanders like Washington is, but even they're not that great, right?
So you can definitely make the, well, I mean, they added Carl Hagelin, so.
Right.
Yeah.
I was just going to note, you know, lots of buyers of the Islanders in this podcast, by the way.
We might as well just rename it.
Puck Buyers of the Islanders.
That's right.
But it's just one of those things where it's like, okay, you get out of the metro.
If you get out of the metro, you make it to a cup final.
How bad does this team get run out of the building by Tampa or Toronto or Boston?
Right?
Like there's such a clear stratification with those three.
teams at the top of the east and then everybody else, that it's really hard for me to go, well, look, then you're only one series away from a Stanley Cup. It's like, well, you're two coin flip series away from a Stanley Cup or from a conference final. And then you're, you know, like you need four guys to get hit by a bus on the way to the rank. Yeah. But okay, but the flip side of that then is, okay, so when, so you, so you, you know, so you, you need four guys to get hit by a bus on the way to the rank.
Yeah, but okay, but the flip side of that then is, okay, so when, so you kick the can down the road to what?
I mean, when is this, this season going to happen where you're a clear cut obvious Stanley Cup favor?
Where is this season going to happen where you've got like a 60 or 70% chance of winning the Stanley Cup?
Like, it's a 31, soon-to-be-32 team league.
It's always going to be a long shot.
You know, if the field is at least a little bit open, you've got good.
players on the roster right now. To me, I think the argument is you take a swing now versus saying,
well, we can't let them go for nothing. We got to get a first round pick that's going to end up
being 27th overall, has about a 40% percent chance of being a significant player. You're not getting
a lottery pick. Three years from now. And who knows who's to say three years from now,
the Leafs or the Lightning or some other team we're not even thinking about is the unbeatable force
that's in your way. And you go, well, now, we can't, we can't win now. And it's just like, I get,
I get the thinking and it's tempting, but at some point, if everybody thinks like this, it turns into Major League Baseball where 80% of the teams are rebuilding it at any given time.
And there's only a few teams that are actually trying to win because the rest of them have decided that if there's not an open and obvious path to a championship, you don't even try.
And by the way, we should say this is all about to be moot because Caroline is going to beat them for the eighth seed.
So that too.
Yeah.
Yeah, real quick on the East, and by the way, we preface this entire podcast by saying that by the time you listen to it, 80% of it would be null and void because of the trouble have happened.
The East right now, the wild card right now, Columbus has got 69 nice points and Carolina's got 68.
There's a fucking six point separation now between Columbus and Buffalo and Philly, and there's a nine point separation between Columbus and Florida.
So we are back to where we were about a month ago of being like, wow.
the East Wild Card race fucking blows.
Like, for a while it was getting
kind of interesting, but now with
Buffalo having fallen off and with nobody really
having faith that Philadelphia is going to be able to keep
up a fucking 7-2 and one clip
every 10 games, it's
kind of gotten to be Carolina, Columbus, Montreal, or nothing.
It's kind of fascinating. If you look,
I don't know if you guys,
how much stock you put in these sorts of models, but if you look
at the Moneypuck.com
prediction set, they've got right now
Buffalo at 8%
chance to make the playoffs, Philly, it's
6% Florida at 4%, basically all single digits, which means the result is you have nine teams,
all of whom are at 67% or better to make the playoffs in a conference where eight teams are going
to make the playoffs.
So it's kind of this fascinating thing where there's all these teams locked in, there's all
these teams that are long shots, and then there's like three or four teams that are all
prohibitive favorites, but there isn't room for all of them to make it, which is going to be
fascinating because it's going to, it's going to hurt for one of these teams to miss the playoffs,
because they're going to feel like they should have made it, and they should have.
Yeah.
I am, I'm in the mind set right now that I will be extremely depressed if Tampa doesn't win the East.
Like, I want a juggernaut.
We've got a juggernaut.
We haven't had one of these teams in a really long time that just fucking rolls people.
Yeah.
Like, this is vintage Red Wings pre-salary cap, assemblage of talent, destroying teams left and right,
outclassing teams.
Like nobody belongs to the same ice with them kind of fucking teams.
I want them to just go through.
Five goals or more in 40% of their games.
That's fucking insane.
I know.
Here's what I would say.
I want Tampa.
I want one of two things.
Either I'm with you and have them roll and let's have the juggernaut or have them
be the juggernaut that runs into, like you compare them to the Red Wings.
Let them be the one that runs it.
Let them find their Colorado Avalanche.
and not let them find their like Anaheim Ducks or Edmonton Oilers or whatever other team
just bumped them out in the first or second round where you're just like, oh, they just played
crappy for a few weeks and the better team didn't win.
Like I want to see that let's have somebody, you know, let's either have these guys roll
or let's have them go out on their shield in seven games to somebody who steps up and actually
punches them in the mouth right back and you come out of it going,
that was a great series.
and that team really earned beating those guys.
And not just some hot goalie.
What is your sexy, yeah, like an Arturis Urbei situation.
What is your sexiest cup final right now?
And is it Tampa and San Jose?
Besides that.
That'd be a good one.
Because that would be it, right?
That's the hottest cup.
Yeah.
I mean, I think Nashville could be up there too.
And obviously, I mean, having a Canadian team in the final kind of brings its own thing.
But, you know, Nashville.
God, six.
I mean, you got, Nashville went to the final two years ago, won the president's trophy
the year after that.
You know, for them to make it back in, I think they'd be, I think they would have some right
to play this kind of, why is nobody talking about us?
Why are we the underdogs when we're the team that's been there for the last few years?
I think that could be fun.
I agree with you, San Jose's a one.
Nashville has to make an ad, though.
Nashville has to make an ad up front.
I, my goal, my dream is that they get to shame.
Dushane. Like, absolutely, they need to get Dushan. That would kick ass.
Oh, how great would that be? But, I...
But, no, for the sheer... Hold on. For the sheer... Hold on. For the sheer...
For the sheer... Come on.
Yeah. Come on. That's what I mean.
Yeah.
But I think that they... that, you know, Calgary would be good right up until Peters goes,
you know what, Mike Smith starts game one.
Because he fucking does it every other week.
it's like yeah we're just going to give Mike
Mike Smith like three starts in a row
we're going to give up four goals
He's been there before. Veteran presence
Oh yeah, savvy veteran. You need a savvy
veteran in these belts. He moves the puck so well
Oh yeah. Oh yeah. He's like having another
defenseman back there. Oh, that's exactly
right. And also
how good he is it stopping the puck as a goalie.
It's like having another defenseman back there.
The sad part is that like if they're playing San Jose
and they play Mike Smith, San Jose is going to look over
the ass and be like, we got to get one of those.
Like their goaltending has got a dog shit
too.
Oh, yeah.
Which is why the Jimmy,
Mike Smith would be an upgrade for them.
Hey,
yeah,
speaking to which,
what happened to that fucking
Ryan Miller rumor from last night?
So,
uh,
John Hoven,
the mayor's manner guy from the L.A.
Kings tweeted out a rumor that said that,
uh,
Ryan Miller would wave to be traded to the sharks.
And you don't often see both,
uh,
the L.A.
King's beat writer for the,
I think it's the O.C.
register,
or the L.A.
Times are one of the two.
And Elliot Friedman both swing the thund
fucking hammer at the same time, be like, no,
and say that that rumor was bullshit.
No, they need to go like the Jimmy Howard route or somebody like that.
I think that'd be a pretty, they need to add something to that mix.
Even if it's like a three-headed fucking monster, King Godor, if you will, in the playoffs
with three goalies, they need to add something.
That's the one part of the, every other part of that fucking Sharks team is money,
except for what's happening in the crisis here.
I'm tired of Pete to.
If they had league average goaltending, they would have four more wins.
wins. They'd have eight fucking more points in the standings.
Yeah.
And they're the best team in the West.
Who do you add that makes you feel much more confident than Martin Jones having a bad season?
Because I think Martin Jones is a good goalie having a bad year.
Me too.
Who do you bring in that makes it significantly better and doesn't just give you this three-headed monster where now not only are you not any better, but you're having to deal with second-guessing and, you know, who's going to start every single night?
Well, the problem is is the guy that they should.
should acquire, unfortunately has a contract they can't necessarily take on and also plays for
the L.A. Kings, because that'd be the perfect guy for this team. Yeah. All right, so here's,
here's what we do. Jonathan Quick, you can't take a quick contract though. Jonathan Quicks goes to San Jose,
Martin Jones goes back to L.A., Matt Duchenne goes to Nashville, Kyle Turus goes back to Ottawa.
We just basically reset the league to 2015.
Edmondton would really like that trade because it would get Milan Luchich off their books, too.
That's true.
That's true.
But then they'd have to go out and require him because he's an oiler for life.
Oh, that's true.
Oh, yeah.
And Connor needs protection.
Exactly.
And then every time Luchich's mood, Mark Spector writes an article putting over how incredible he is.
That's how to work.
Real quick in the West, before we get to some deadline stuff, what the fuck do we make of the blues?
11 wins in a row as we do this podcast.
They'll probably lose tonight.
So when you hear this, they'll be off that streak.
But, like, they're pretty fucking, like, they've figured out a lot of their shit under
Barubi.
Oh, yeah, for sure.
They're in.
But, like, do you actually think that this is real?
Like, do you think that they're, they can keep this up?
So I got, I got a little bit of pushback on this because, like, since Barubi took over,
I think the number is they're the best expected goals team in the league, percentage-wise.
Wow.
So, like, they're playing fucking great hockey, right?
But if you say, oh, they're playing great hockey, and also this career AHL goalie, it seems like he's 940 all of a sudden and isn't that weird.
Like, people get mad at you for saying that.
And I think there's, I think that you can say both.
They've been fucking great.
And I wrote a column about it, I think, last week saying, wow, these guys are unbelievable all of a sudden.
And it's more in line, frankly, with what we all thought they would be at the beginning of the year.
Mm-hmm.
But Jake Allen doesn't get to play anymore, which is what we all said they should do the whole time.
Right.
And then also they have this kid who, again, like, no overwhelming numbers in the AHAL in his career, really.
Yep.
And yet, he's, he's, he's, he looks like fucking Dominic hashik out there.
So is that going to last?
No, I don't think, I don't think it's, I don't think it's crazy to say Jordan Bennington hasn't become the best goalie in the world.
But yeah, no, they're awesome.
They've been great under Buri.
I did a piece on him today for ESPN, and like the two things that really stand out for me are one,
one of the biggest problems they had earlier this season was Odd Man Rush's.
And in Jake Allen's defense, like they hung him out to dry a lot, but they fixed that partially because their four checks better.
And then the other thing, too, is they're now, I think, under Barrube during his stretch as coach, second in the NHL in shots oppression.
They average 28 a game against, which is fucking.
almost three shots per game less than they average under Yo.
And so that tells you they're doing something right as well.
So are you saying Mike Yo isn't a good coach?
Is that what you're trying to say?
I'm saying, I said this the other day.
Like, if you ranked in the last 10 years the NHL, the five worst fucking decisions made by
franchises, like the Mike Yo apprenticeship under Ken Hitchcock Gambit has to be what,
three? I mean, it is
fucking atrocious to think, not
only that the plan itself was fucking dumb
of, oh yeah, the players
will totally be cool with the idea
of the next head coach being an
assistant to this other guy,
but then you go and you pick fucking
Mike Yo, like he's
a fucking, you know,
child prodigy or something
that you need to onboard quickly
to get him the requisite
experience to be the head coach. He was
a fucking bad coach in Minnesota,
And then you picked him to learn how to be a bad coach in St. Louis.
It was fucking stupid.
It was never going to work.
Yeah.
This is, like, he's like the big loser and all this.
Like, I don't, I don't really, I know we recycle coaches in this league a lot.
But, yeah, there's got to be.
Because it's not like Craig Baroube was, it's not like they went and grabbed Joel Quenville.
That's exactly right.
It wasn't like, it wasn't like, oh, crap, they got Barubei.
Okay, nah, you know, here we go.
This is a guy been kicking around.
waiting for another shot for a while.
But you know what?
I'm with Ryan.
This is a good team.
And when you have a good team and you get one of those insane goalie hot streaks,
like Andrew Hammond style, this is what you get.
And like no team wins 11 games in a row and is as good as they look during that streak.
But this is a legit team.
And it's kind of forcing me to, I've spent most of the year looking at Winnipeg and Nashville going,
this is a two-team race.
you get a nice warm up in the first round,
and then we're going to have the real main event in round two.
And suddenly, like, you know, winning the Central starts to look pretty important right now
because that wild card in theory is going to be a bit of a cupcake.
But the consolation prize of having to play the blues,
I don't, like, this is starting to get a bit of that Pacific Division feel
where coming in first feels like pretty crucial.
Yeah, I guess we should also talk about,
Oh, go ahead. Sorry.
Oh, I was going to say, like, again, this is before a bunch of games get played tonight,
but they're six points back of Nashville with three games in hand.
Like, if they keep up the winning streak or, you know, continue playing at a high pace the rest of the way,
they're 100% going to pass Nashville, unless Nashville makes an ad.
Catching Winnipeg is going to be tough.
Oh, I don't think they can catch up Winnipeg.
There's seven points back with the game in hand.
Win another 11 in a row, and we're sure.
But yeah, you're right.
They could be having home ice.
It's kind of crazy.
The other thing we should probably mention is the Chicago Blackhawks
and once in future Hart Trophy winner Patrick Kane.
I am astounded that they're back in the playoff race.
Oh, yeah.
Right now tied for a playoffs.
It's fucking inexplicable.
Well, it's very explicable.
Have you seen who they played in this stretch?
Okay, but also I know it's explicable because you look at the rest of the wild card
and it's just a flaming pile of fucking negative.
goal differential dog shit. I understand that too. But I really thought that we were writing
the, as much as we were writing the obituaries for the blues really this year, I really thought
we were writing them for the Blackhawks earlier this year.
Well, like, I remember three years ago when Chicago was really starting to show a little
bit of wear and tear as the season went along and then they went in to the playoffs and got
beat by the blues. I basically said, like, how much rope do you think the hockey community, like,
and especially the hockey media,
is going to give these guys in terms of, you know,
they just need to make one or two ads
and they're right back to be as good as they used to be.
And the scenario I laid out was make the playoffs and lose,
miss the playoffs, get back into the playoffs,
miss the playoffs two more years,
and then everybody would be like,
okay, that's it for them.
And they're going to fucking do it now.
I'm so mad.
Yeah.
You know, it's a,
amazing, by the way. I know the Dylan Strom thing has gotten a lot of recognition, but you really have to put it into context. He played 48 games in Arizona. In 37 games in Chicago, he has nearly tripled his assists as far as his career totals. He's almost doubled his goals. And he's 20 points better than he was in his career in 37 games, having played 48,
in Arizona. It is a fucking joke. And I know,
I listen, I am, I'm a John Chaka defender. I know he's very important to, to things that we all hold near and dear.
Go that far, but okay.
But I mean, he probably should lose his job at some point, right?
Well, he, like, it's the classic shit of so many teams go out of their way to help Chicago be good.
Like, it really is. They get him Dylan Strome for fucking,
basically nothing, right?
Well, and fucking, fucking,
Jake has done it so many times.
I have a feeling he might be tangentially related to Stan Bowman.
Right.
Like,
it's a,
it's a real fucking Dave Donus,
Darren Drager type situation there.
It's got to be.
There's no way else to describe it.
You know,
I think about how fucking good Alex DeBrinit is,
and every team in the league passed on him at least once,
a bunch of them twice.
How?
Yeah.
How does that happen?
Granted, like, I know he's five, six or whatever.
He's short.
Look at this kid's O HL numbers.
No.
But hold on.
But Sean's right.
The fucking world has changed a major way in the last like three years.
Like where did Mitch Marner go in the draft?
And his numbers weren't as good as Alex to break it.
I've seen other people say it.
He's Canadian.
If somebody just, some NHL GM just did nothing but draft small guys who score a lot in junior,
they would probably be considered some sort of draft.
savant because of how many of these guys they would find. Just pick guys five, nine, and under
who score a lot of points in junior and aren't big enough. And yeah, it's fine. All right,
Sean, did you have some NHL trade deadline odds? You want to lay on me in Lambert? All right.
Yeah, I don't know if you guys are in a gambling mood, but I've, uh...
We are. Oh, man, I got to tell you, I was in Jersey recently visiting my parents. I went on the
old William Hill app. And I laid some money down. And I was looking pretty good on the parlay
until the Pittsburgh Penguins, I think they, who do they lose to? I want to say they lost the
flyers or somebody like that. And it screwed up my whole thing. So I laid my money down and it made
me sad. And then I realized, well, this is money that could be better well spent elsewhere,
which is why I've decided to take the remaining money that I have and put it into concert tickets or perhaps hockey tickets with our friends at Sea Geek.
You know, getting tickets online can be far too complicated with hundreds of sites and varying levels of reliability.
It's hard to know hubba, hubba, hubba, money, money, money, who do you trust?
That's why Seekek is the way to go.
Seekkeek puts millions of tickets into one place so you can easily find the seats you want for a price you're willing to pay.
plus every purchase is fully guaranteed so you can shop for tickets on Seekekek with confidence.
Make Seekekek your go-to source for everything from sports and concerts to comedy and theater.
I've used the Seek app for pretty much every ticket I purchased in the last year in New York City,
be it a devil's game, be it a theater experience.
I remember Ruby and I just used the Seek app to get tickets to waitress to see the delightful people in waitress.
And the best thing about it is that you can figure out which tickets are good and which tickets are crappy by the size of the green circle and the intensity of the color in the green circle.
So idiots like me who aren't very good with math can just look at something to be like, oh, that's much greener than that orange one.
I'm going to get that ticket.
Best of all, listeners to Puck Soup can get $10 off their first C-Kkeek purchase.
Just download the C-Kkeek app today.
Enter the promo code soup.
S-O-U-P, that spells soup.
That's promo code soup for $10 off your first C-KKKK purchase.
Seekkeek, life's an event.
We have the tickets.
And thank you everybody who continues to tweet their pictures of themselves at games that they
have used Seekkeek to purchase.
They really like it.
So keep doing it.
Now, back to NHL trade deadline odds.
C-minus on that same way, by the way.
Not great.
Mother, fuck, you know, fuck you.
You know, honestly, I had to vamp because I couldn't find the goddamn PDF on my desktop.
You knew something was going on.
I thought, you know what?
I think all things considered context-wise, it was a great, great transition, the best transition.
But I think that now you know the rest of the story.
A 30-for-30 on the Seekad in this episode of Puck Soup, en route from our friends at ESPN.
What are the odds by?
All right. I'm pretty disappointed.
I thought you were excited about these odds, and it turns out you were just stalling while you were looking for a PDF.
Yeah, that's a storymoth.
This is something I've done pretty much every year for the last few years on different sites,
and I did not end up writing a post this time around,
so you guys are getting it in podcast form instead.
I have set some odds for seven different wagers that you guys can make.
And I'm going to give you the wagers, and then you guys can make your bets,
and I will keep track.
And then next week, we will forget that we did this,
and we will never follow up on it.
But in theory, in theory, we could figure it out.
So I'm going to start off.
Let me start off with a nice, simple one.
This is, we are to peek behind the curtain.
It is what, 2 o'clock, 2 o'clock Eastern on Thursday as we're recording this.
So as of beginning now, what is the over under on the total trades that we will see between now and the deadline?
I've set the over under at 29.5 trades, Greg and Ryan, over or under?
I will take the over and I will wager 100 Legend of Zelda rupees.
I'm definitely going to go with the under.
And yeah, same bet.
Same bet.
All right.
100 fake dollars.
Oh my goodness.
You could buy armor with that, perhaps even a traveler sword with that.
There's so many things you could purchase at one of those shops.
I appreciate the confidence.
bet number two
total number of first round draft picks
that will be traded between now and the deadline
I've set the over under at 2.5
Are you saying like picks in the first round
or guys who used to or who were forwardly picked?
I'm talking first round draft picks
that will be traded and I am counting
anything is a first round pick
if it is announced as a first round pick
if they announce it as a conditional first we will count that
if it's a conditional third that can turn into a first,
if some unlikely event happens, that does not count.
I like that Lambert's over here being like,
well, if Dylan McElrath gets traded,
that's a first round pick getting traded.
I like the way he thinks.
That is how to get loophole on this shit, dog.
All right, you said 2.5?
I have set the over.
What was the over under?
Two and a half, yes.
I'll take the over.
Same.
Both taking the over.
I will wager one autographed hockey.
Greg Wyshinsky hockey card from that time that they made a hockey card of me,
and I didn't wear a jersey, and I wore a jacket and a hoodie, and it was really awkward.
I'll put up the Rob Blake 1995 starting lineup figure that I found at a thrift store in New Hampshire over the weekend.
Holy smokes.
Does that mean, like, if you guys get it right, I have to find one of these items in order to...
That's right.
I want two Rob Blake starting lineup.
It's going to be difficult.
Just as an FYI, this time last year, there were two first round picks traded.
So you guys have both gone over 2.5 if it fall in last year.
It's a high-stakes game, man.
It's going to be a lot of pressure on these GMs.
Bet number three, what is the over-under for the biggest trade for the rest of the week
in terms of total players and picks involved in the trade?
I have set the over-under at 5.5.
All right.
So that's like so one player, and then maybe another player.
on the picks and players on each team, like, combined.
I think we'll see a six-player, six-asset deal at some point.
I'll take the over on that, and I will wager a Tomash Hurtle,
holiday suit bobblehead doll, courtesy of the San Jose Sharks that's on my desk right now,
that my daughter broke, so it doesn't stand up anymore.
I think I have to take the over as well, and I'll wager.
I don't know
I'm looking at a bottle of polar
selzer so a bottle of polar
seltzer the best seltzer
now excuse me but what
what is the flavor of that seltzer sir
because this could really affect the value of it
maybe
Jesus Christ
now
in full disclosure
very much thought Sean would be the
unflavored seltzer guy
but you sir are the unflavored seltzer guy
I like to fix it up I
look we could do a whole bonus episode
about my polar seltzer
takes. I have a lot of them.
But, no, sometimes
the plane is the way to go. I didn't, I didn't want
a raspberry lime today.
Fair enough. Fair enough. Can that be one of the bonus episodes that I'm not
on? Yes. Do you like
Seltsor? Do you like Seltzer or does it give your tummies
too many fizzies? You know what? I am a Seltzer guy. I have recently
become a Seltzer guy, but I do not have strong feelings on the flavors other than
that people who get the flavorless are
psychopaths. I am oddly both a Kevin Siteser and a Brian Stelter guy, but not necessarily a Seltzer guy.
Very odd. What's the next odds, buddy? All right. So bet number four, which Canadian team
will make the most trades between now and the deadline? I'm going to run all seven teams quick
with the odds. Okay, I've established the Ottawa Senators as the runaway favorite at three to two
odds. I've got the Oilers at five to one. Canadians and flames both at seven to one, Canucks at eight to one,
Jets 18 to 1 and the Maple Leafs bringing up the rear at 25 to 1.
If you are looking for a long shot to cash in, who would you go with?
I would take Vancouver as a longer odds candidate, only because I could see them doing some tweaking.
And then if on the off chance that things go sideways with Edler, there's a chance they could move him too.
So I'll take Vancouver in a long shot.
All right.
I'm very tempted to go with the flames because I think they've been making a lot of noise about,
they want to add veterans, they want to add a little more toughness, which very smart move.
You've got to have more toughness out there.
Absolutely.
I think I've got to stick with the senators.
I think it's going to be three separate trades for those UFAs.
Yeah.
And don't forget Cody C.C. and various other guys.
I think they'll keep C.C.
And peer Dorian likes to make,
Pierre Dorian likes to make those little minor deals involved
than nobody you've ever heard of too.
So I think that's...
I honestly was half listening.
I forgot that Ottawa existed again.
So I really don't feel good about my bet.
So I'm going to bet all of the Canadian money
I have my change drawer on this one.
So, Jorge, Greg, are you switching your bet to Ottawa?
Or are you sticking with the Canucks?
I mean, I've been to a lot of casinos and I'm pretty sure once you make your bet, you can't then reach on the table and adjust your bet.
Typically.
So I'll just take, I'll take the loss here.
We're fine with, we're, we're very polite and kind.
Oh, oh, then.
Okay, well, then I'm sorry.
We're very polite and kind, but I will point out.
I'd like to change my bet.
I will point out that if you both bet the same things, this is, this entire thing has been a wasted time.
So I would, I would encourage one of you to maybe not.
Oh, then I'll take, I'll take, I'll take Winnipeg.
How's that?
Winnipeg.
I'll say that they make like two, two trades.
yeah.
All right.
Yeah, I'm going to stick with Ottawa.
All right.
Well, here we go.
Bet number five, which American team will make the most trades between now and the deadline?
Let's see if we can get a longer shot out of you here.
You don't have to...
You have odds for all the American teams?
No, I do not have odds for all them.
Here's what I've got.
I've got the Rangers at 5 to 1, Red Wings at 6 to 1.
Ducks at 9 to 1.
I have got both the Wild and the Bruins at 10 to 1, Knights Panthers, 12 to 1,
Devils Kings, 14 to 1, and everybody else.
i.e. the field at five to one.
And so this is like number of trades, right?
Not like number of players they acquire.
This is the number of trades.
I'll go with,
how many separate trades do they make?
I'll take some of that Minnesota wild action.
I think,
I think trader Paul is just getting warmed up.
Yep, that's solid bit.
Give me the Rangers.
Even though they've already traded Charlie Coil.
The New York Rangers.
Give me the Rangers.
Yeah.
Yeah, that's, that's, that's, that's Hayes and Zuccarello.
the very least.
Maybe Crieder.
Yep.
Definitely McQaeda to the
to the Leifes because they need toughness.
Exactly. Absolutely.
Hey, Calgary's in the market too.
Don't forget.
Could be a bit more.
He's a better and tough guy, so that's a classic combo.
I feel so fucking bad.
I feel so fucking bad for Leafs fans that have to be
exposed to this fucking garbage all the time about
like, you know, oh, are they going to win if they don't have
Adam McQaeda's toughness? Like, I'm not going to argue
that you might need to knuckle up against the Boston Bruins at some point.
But, like, why is Adam McQuaid the answer to your toughness problems?
Well, great, he's also a left shot.
I don't know if you heard this.
Left shot, and, oh, brings a ring to the room.
My favorite part of that whole thing is that the,
the Leafs need Adam McQuaid because the St. Louis Blues ran them over
during the first half of a game and they needed somebody to have a response.
And because they didn't have anyone to have a response, they ended up losing that game 7 to
no, wait, they actually came back on the road against the hottest team in the league,
tied the game in the third period and got a point that they probably didn't deserve.
And that's the emergency that now needs, now they have to go out and get a guy who would be
their seventh or eighth best defenseman and pay a premium to do it.
It is definitely an emergency, yeah.
Yes.
All right.
Two more bets real quick.
Bet number six,
how many goalies who have played at least one game in the NHL this year will be traded between now and the deadline?
I am setting the over under at 3.5.
Fuck.
Dog, I'm taking the under.
Yeah, I have to take the under, too, because the first thing that popped into my head was three.
Okay.
The thing with this is every year when I do this, everyone thinks I set the goalie odds too high.
the one thing you got to remember is whenever a goalie is traded in this league,
there is usually a goalie coming back.
And that's why I always kind of go a little bit higher.
If we get two goalies trade, like two good goaltenders traded,
there's probably going to be at least four goaltenders in those trades
because they'll send somebody back just like they with the Camtablet deal.
But you guys, I've got you both down for the under last.
I'm so confident I'm going to put up my Martan Brodor, Devil's jersey,
that used to be my sisters.
and then she got thinner and gave it to me,
and then now it's mine.
And I don't like it because it's the white one
and not the colorful red one or even the Christmas tree one.
So I'm going to put it up in this bet.
So confident you're putting up a thing you don't like.
I like it.
Last one.
And by the way, of course,
we are encouraging everyone at home to be betting along.
So you hopefully are shouting your bets out as you go.
I mean, do check local laws to make sure that this level of sports.
it's wagering is allowed in your municipality, but please play along. This is only for entertainment.
These are non-binding, unless I win, in which case, you all owe me money. Bet number seven,
between now and the deadline, how many trades will be made involving a player who has ever been an
all-star? So either played in the all-star game or been a all-star selection at the end of the season,
how many trades will involve at least one player who fits that description? I've set the over-under
at 3.5.
Point of clarification, what if they were selected for the All-Star game but had to beg out due to an injury?
Does that still count, Sean?
It depends on whether it says All-Star on their hockey reference page, because that's as much work as I'm willing to do to track down this information.
That is, I completely agree with that notion.
And what would you set the over-under as again?
I set the over-under three and a half, and let me shoot some names at you that would qualify, okay?
So Matt Dushane, Jimmy Howard, Sergey Bobrovsky, or Tammy Panarin, Wayne Simmons, as well as some of the veterans that you might not think all that highly of, but have been good in the past.
Guys like Thomas Vannock, Jeff Carter, Mike Green.
Lots of guys like that, but not Mark Stone, somewhat surprisingly, or Matt Zuccarello.
I would take the over on that one.
What about you?
I think I'm going to go the over.
Over in.
Greg, what did you go?
I missed. Did you go under?
Oh, I'm going to bet the over, and I am going to wager that bottle of Worcestershire sauce.
I have in my refrigerator that may be at least seven years old.
You just use it so sparingly, but it's always there.
Wonderful.
Everyone, hold on to your tickets, please, and we will check them this time next week.
Awesome.
All right.
Now it is time for our guest.
Joining us now on the line is Scott Hartnell,
former NHL standout with the Flyers and the Predators in briefly Columbus.
And he is now a big shot TV analyst on NHL Network.
What made you want to go and start doing some TV work now?
Go to the dark side, you mean?
No, I, well, a few things.
You know, I kind of wanted something to do something to do after, you know, just to kind of dabble in to see if I liked it.
I've done it a few times.
I've really enjoyed, you know, especially the last few times that I've been on.
And, you know, I think people said that, you know, yeah, you'd be awesome here.
You'd be awesome here.
And, well, I'm like, well, I've got to try it out first to see if I like it.
And, you know, it's been really fun, the first, you know, a bunch of times that I've been on.
Yeah, you know, you joke about the dark.
side, but it is the dark side. And when you were playing, were you someone who paid attention
to media criticism or someone who blocked it out?
Well, I think the last probably, you know, 10 years, you know, when the winner came on,
you know, every, you know, kind of article was, you know, you were tagged in it, so you kind of
got to read, you know, if you were doing good or you're bad, and obviously as a player, you kind of
do if you were doing good or bad, but, you know, it's something that I didn't follow too, too
much and and you know kind of more now in the last like couple years you know kind of check
up on former teenage you mean articles and get through things and you know it's kind of fun to
you know still follow that way yeah and with NHL network I'm always been a fan of it because it is
sort of your like no frills presentation of hockey in the states like it doesn't have you know
it's it doesn't have you know the milbury or anything on it it's just like guys like Rupp and
Mike Johnson and guys like that, Scott of Stevens, who, you know, smartly break down the game in a way that I don't think that fans in the U.S. necessarily get to see a lot of. You know what I mean?
Yeah, no, and I think that's kind of, you know, what kind of intrigued me about the initial
network and I think why they're like me, you know, obviously, you know, I've played a long time
and, you know, not the fastest guy or the flashest guy, but, you know, I think that I have thought
the game at a faster level than, you know, if I didn't think the game as fast I could, I probably
wouldn't have played that long. So, you know, I've, you know, just kind of been honored, I guess,
to the sort of the NHL Network to reach out to, you know, want me to come in, bring me in.
And, you know, it's the people that have worked there that have just been, like, unreal,
making me feel so comfortable.
And, you know, you be yourself and your personality comes out when you're relaxed, whatever.
And it's just been a real fun year so far.
Yeah, yeah.
Not the fastest or flashiest guy.
This is a shock to me when I watched you.
I'm like, is that Pavel Burray or is that Scott Hart?
Hartnall playing. It was a big confusing thing for me at times.
I know, right.
You know, to mention your personality. I always tell this story to people when they talk about the
NHL All-Star game and whether it should exist or whether it's run its course or do the players
give a shit about it. Because when I covered you in the All-Star game that year that you went,
I remember watching you, and like, I'd never seen somebody so happy to be in
involved in something and to put on a show for people and to interact with other players and
just be in that moment. And I always harken back to that and say, there's going to be a
Scott Hartnell type every year that's going to have this experience. And that's why the
All-Star game is cool. Yeah, no, I really obviously enjoyed being there, you know, to play
alongside of, you know, my line mates to start the game with the Sene brothers. And, you know,
just kind of out of the Sine triplet, I called it, because I was Mike Dup for one time. And, you know, I just,
I just really, you know, I probably knew that I wasn't going to be back there again,
so I wanted to enjoy it.
And, you know, my family was there as well, my brothers and sister and parents.
So it's a real good thing for me.
And I, you know, for me, a guy that doesn't go every year, you know, you kind of have a couple good years and you think you might go.
And, you know, I just wanted to kind of live it up and enjoy, you know, every second of it.
And I just want to enjoy it every year.
I was in the NHL, every, you know, road trip, every, you know, you know,
dinner with the guys before the game and all that kind of stuff.
So I kind of enjoyed my life to the fullest, I guess you could say.
And that was definitely a highlight for me in my career.
And remind me, was it Phenough that you almost went with at the All-Star game?
Yeah, I was actually right after we scored and we were going to the bench and Phenouf was on for that goal.
And I was going by him, I said, suck it's enough.
That's right.
All the people from Toronto loved it because he just got straight to Ottawa, I think,
or something like that anyway.
It was kind of the perfect timing, I guess.
You know, there's no profanities, which was good as well.
So it was kind of a fun little thing.
And I think the next game, and Funf kind of met at each other.
We went at it again.
So I think we had about five or six bites, and one was for sure that next game after that one.
Hey, you mentioned profanity.
That leads me obviously to the Penguins Flyers rivalry.
What was it like being in the middle of that thing?
I mean, like, we talk about rivalries now.
We only probably have like two or three that are actual rivalries in this league anymore,
and Philly's a part of at least one of them.
I think Pittsburgh, Washington, Pittsburgh, Philly,
maybe you can say ducks and kings or ducks and sharks really rank up in the rivalries.
But when you're in the middle of a Pittsburgh Flyers,
rivalry. What's the hate
quotient? What's the hate level in that rivalry
when it was really cooking?
Well, it's
right up there from scale one to ten.
It's probably a 12, right?
It's just, you kind of learn right from the
get-go. I was out in the west my first
seven years with Nashville, and then
coming to
Philadelphia, it was like, you know,
New York was there, but Pittsburgh was just
another level. And
you know, cross the guy and
the year before he came in
and probably even the first couple years we played
him, it was just point night for him, right?
So it was like you just had that
like boiling blood
inside you. Like, we got to stop this guy.
You don't want to hurt him, right?
But let's finish every check on him.
And then, you know, then you got everyone involved.
And it was just the more emotional
those games are, the better they are
for our team was and, you know,
for fans and, you know, across the league.
So it was intense. It was awesome.
And it was, you know,
brought out some of the best games in my career.
A lot of fun at the end of the day, right?
You know, on Crosby, it's interesting.
Like, when he came up, I think he was probably one of the most hated guys in the league,
not only for fans, but probably for a lot of players, too,
just because of being young and being awesome, but also being kind of a whiner.
But he grew out of it, and I always wondered about, you know,
as a guy who played against him so much, what your thoughts on his maturation as a
as a player was.
Well, I wouldn't say he's totally grown out of it.
That was a little bit of a dig.
No, but he asked.
At the beginning, it was all, you know,
ow, ow, you know, and then it was him whining the rest.
And obviously he was, you know, an up-and-coming superstar,
one of the best players to ever play the game.
And so the cameras were always on them.
And it was always what everyone was talking about.
And, you know, I think the last, you know,
probably eight, ten years, it's not about that.
It's about his play on the ice, his uncanny passes, his hand-eye coordination,
like the stuff that really matters.
So I think he's lost that tag that he was kind of a whiner,
and now he's been just an unreal player for, you know, obviously, for the pans and for everybody.
Yeah.
Now, a lot of people, you know, listen to this show of different ages.
They might not all remember all the way back 10 years ago.
can you tell the story of the fart smell jersey as part of the penguins flyers
rivalry the dude whose jersey you signed that one time yeah it was it was uh in the igloo
and so that's i don't even know how i can't remember how long ago the the igloo was still
there but um you know he was kind of hanging it over during warm up and i was like well that's
hilarious you know the boys already think my my fart smell bad you know and then so it was 19
bars fell the whole thing and I think I got
I don't know if I got kicked out of the game
or something like that towards the
end of the game and he was right by the
you know the little walkway to go to our dressing room
so I was fairly upset or mad
or something and so I was stormed off
the ice and I saw the guy at a corner my eye
so I kind of went in I kind of took my stuff off and I went back
I'm like hey you want me to sign that you know and he's like
oh that'd be awesome stuff
I think I said to my
my stinkiest fan you know
your friend Scott
got fart smell and he loved it
and it's all about the show
right you know it's I think it made
his uh you know his day for sure
and and you know it was kind of
something funny that I thought was
kind of crack joke you know what I mean
so it's it's the best
it's the greatest thing ever
the trade deadlines coming up Monday so I'd be remiss if I didn't
ask you something about that when you were
when you were playing
what was the atmosphere
what was the vibe like in those days
leading up to the deadline now you had some trade
protection in your career. So I think you were all right in most cases. But for the rest of the
boys in the room, was it always incredibly tense or was it sort of something that was unspoken?
What was the vibe like in the room?
Yeah, it was, there's always a sense of, you know, who we're going to get, who are we going to
get, you know, you're in the playoffs, you're kind of, you know, it's not just, you know,
the week before, it's a couple weeks, you know, some trades start a little bit earlier.
You hear rumors and, you know, I'm sure if you're in a fly,
on the wall in the GM's office, right?
Like there's probably, you know, 20 trades that they could make, right?
And, you know, this guy's name's thrown around, this guy's name's thrown around.
But, you know, as for the players, it's a little nerve-wracking, I guess.
And, you know, once there's something done, you know, usually it's not a blockbuster.
It's an ad.
You're not really subtracting from a good team's team at that moment, right?
So it's just, it's more kind of, you're just anxious to see what might happen.
At the end of the day, you know, you just got to go and do your job and play hard and do what's kind of got you at that point of the season.
So it's a little bit of anxiety, I guess you could say, but it's just you're looking for it to be done, I guess, at the end of the day.
Yeah.
What happens for you if a guy that you're playing with gets traded?
I mean, is it a weepy farewell?
Is it just a text message?
Like, what was the normal process then?
Well, I guess you had texting was just kind of starting out, but, you know, obviously, you'd call the guy, you know, if he was going at the rink that morning, you'd go in and obviously, you know, give him a hug, you know, you know, hey, we're playing you in three weeks, you know, we'll grab dinner that time, you know, that kind of stuff.
You know, one time, I think it was Glenn Metropolit. He got traded to the Canadians, and they were in town. We were playing that night.
So after morning skate, he took his flyers bag down the hallway and got dressed and played against us that night in a Canadian's jersey.
So there's just a few stories like that that are a little bit weird and kind of, you know, it's really weird to play a guy that you just had morning skate with.
But, you know, at the end of the day, you got to, you know, just deal with it.
Yeah.
Two more for you.
first off what did it mean to you
to be able to finish out in Nashville
I mean that that team and that city obviously was such a big part of your early
career to have it come full circle what was that like
well the city's changed so much in 10 years that I was gone
and you know the fans
fans were that much more like energized you know they went to the cup finals
the year before I came back there last year and just the
the energy in that whole city was absolutely ridiculous and it was really fun to, you know,
go back there.
I kind of knew it was going to be my last year.
You come full circle.
There's kind of coercive to it all.
And, you know, I was, you know, just kind of blessed, I guess, to have one more season there.
And, you know, unfortunately, we didn't get where we wanted to go.
There's, you know, 30 teams now that want to raise that standing cup.
And unfortunately, it wasn't us.
But, you know, the city and, you know, the people in that organization, it's just a well,
run a place to be, place to play. They treat you great. And, you know, I was just real lucky to play there
again. It's kind of crazy. Like, you're saying that when you play there the first time, it wasn't
all craft beer and, uh, and hipsters walking around Nashville. Uh, I think there was, yeah, there was
two, maybe two or three skyscrapers and now there, you know, now there's 15, right? And, you know,
it's crazy. New areas of town. And, you know, it's just, it's changed so much. But obviously, for
better and a real fun count to visit.
Finally, you were in the video with him, so we know that you're not actually him, which is
great news for those who were spinning that conspiracy theory.
Your thoughts on Philadelphia Flyers mascot Gritty, the googly-eyed Frankster that has danced
his way into not only our hearts, but that of the rest of the United States.
Well, I think he's absolutely fantastic.
like one of my best friends.
We keep in touch every now and again.
I think he's been awesome.
I think he's, obviously, I think he was the savior at the beginning of the year
when the Flyers were doing so poor.
Like, people wanted to go to the game to see him.
And, you know, now that the Flyers are playing well,
maybe he might be on the back burner a little bit.
But, you know, he's just, he's been so funny.
And, you know, when I had my night there in Philadelphia,
them honoring me with the puck drop and stuff, you know,
even I got so excited when he came to our suite afterwards and a picture with him and whatnot.
So it's been a pretty cool, I think, for the city and just kind of how he's taken not only, you know,
the Philadelphia kind of fan-based by storm.
I think it just made more awareness for every mascot that every team has in all the sports.
So it's really neat.
And you're not concerned at all for the well-being of Claude Drew with the fact that Gritty is so summarily obsessed with him.
Yeah, I don't want to say that, but I think he's been awesome.
I think he wants to be Drew's best friend, but Drew's kind of keeping his distance from him.
All right, Scottie.
Good luck on television, man.
You're going to kill it.
And thank you so much for your time.
Yep, no problem.
Thanks for having me.
Take care.
All right, we are resurrecting a favorite segment for listeners of Lambert's old podcast,
Stick to Sports with Lovely and Talented and Surly and cynical, Sean Jens.
Tilly. It is a segment called Dinosaur Corner.
That's right. And I believe there is a sense of urgency this week because of a new discovery in the world of dinosaurs.
That's right. So a paleontologist working in Utah discovered a new cousin of the Tyrannosaurus Rex called Moros.
And it's basically like, think of a Tauranosaurus.
Wait, wait, moreos?
Moros.
Moros.
Moros.
Not morose.
Like the Greek sense of impending doom.
Okay.
Cool name.
Yeah, very cool name.
And the reason, so the reason it is named that is that it kind of lived in an era before the T-Rex, like about 25, 30 million years before the T-Rex.
And at the time,
it was it looked more or less like a T-Rex but it was about the size of a man oh wow yeah pretty cool
and it's so wait hold on so so hold on if I may I do remember a whoopi a whoopi
Goldberg film called Theodore Rex in which her partner she was a cop her partner was a man-sized
T-Rex are you saying that that is what Meroa
was a bit of a Theodore Rex?
I would say that it's
not like that.
I don't think this
this particular animal
got into too many
hijinks with Whoopie
unless he was
a background extra in the film
Eddie.
Oh, yes. Obviously.
Maybe one of the nicks, perhaps.
Right. So often what
happens with dinosaurs is people think of them
as just being these giant creatures
but even in the Tyrannosaur family,
you had Tyrannosaurs the size of a horse,
Tyrannosaurus the size of like a bison.
And so this is just kind of filling in
a little bit of a missing link
in the evolution of Tyrannosaurs
that I am very excited about.
Now, this is interesting.
You mentioned missing link.
A man-sized T-Rex would seem to be
something that may have
eventually evolved into man. Am I incorrect on that?
I would say you are incorrect on that, yes.
These are from a family of dinosaurs that of course evolved into birds, but a man, not so much.
And by birds, you mean British women, you know, birds.
That's right, yeah.
Okay.
I don't know, to be fair, I don't know how many stone the morose way, mate.
All right.
dinosaur corner. Actually, I feel like we should extend dinosaur corner just for this episode to talk about Don Cherry.
So, Don Cherry, obviously, this is the story that you knew he had to cover this week. Don Cherry went on a rant on Hockey Night in Canada last weekend about the Carolina Hurricanes. I've likened Don Cherry and the Carolina Hurricanes post-game victory celebrations on home ice to when Sean Hannity talks about the war on Christmas.
Like, it's obviously not a big deal.
A very, very small group of people are upset about it, but it's such great business
for those on the side of obloviating that they just keep bringing it up.
There's only, like, three people in life that actually don't like the post-game victory
celebrations, and everybody else is kind of in that Justin Boren.
Right, and to the work for Rockinette and Canada.
The rest of them are sort of in that sort of Justin Bourne, Paul Bissinet area of being like,
I don't know if I'd want to do it.
but like only Don Cherry is like patently offended by it thinking that it mocks the other team.
Don Cherry said, all right.
Now listen, listen, listen.
This is the national hockey league.
Brent DeMore is a good coach.
These guys to me are jerks.
You have to do this.
They're still not drawing.
This is to me and I'll tell you one thing.
They better not do this in the playoffs.
What I don't understand is Brindamore is a straight shooter.
He always was.
This is a joke.
the rest of the guys, young men expressing themselves for the joy of winning.
You don't do this thing.
This professional hockey.
What are these guys, jerks or something?
And I'll tell you what thing.
They do this in the playoffs, making fun of the other team.
If you want to do it, do it before.
That's absolutely ridiculous.
This is absolutely ridiculous.
I know all the broadcasters, they're afraid to say something.
I know what they're talking about.
You never do anything like that.
They're still not drawing.
There's still a bunch of jerks as far as I'm concerned.
Now, part of the rant that I'd like to point out is the part in which Don Cherry says,
if you want to celebrate a victory, do it before.
Because we'd all be fine with that, right?
If they just play duck, duck goose before the game, we'd all be like, yeah.
No, sure.
Do it before.
Yeah, no, like, that was the thing that really confused me.
Like, obviously he's going through.
threw it in the way that an 85-year-old man.
And you're just like, okay, grandpa, we know.
Like, you can't be mad at him because it's like, what am I going to tell this guy that,
like, like, I can't, I can't tell him to be PC because, like, he's just not going to.
And it's the same thing, like, just, I don't, you know, get him off TV.
I don't care anymore.
And, like, nobody cares except the worst people in.
Canada, right? Like, just the dumbest people who get very mad if, you know, if a guy says,
oh, maybe we should like pay attention to concussions. And they go, oh, this game, it's changing so
much. Do you, Sean, do you think, as the Requisite Canadian on this podcast, do you think that
that's the sort of the formula for Cherry is that he is catering to a vocal minority in Canada,
but also exists to offend people like me.
He's, it's, it's, when this was all going on in the weekend, I had this like horrible nightmare feeling like that, because we talked about this a couple weeks ago and I had my take at the time, which was that the storm surge is fine.
It's okay not to think it's the greatest thing ever, but that if you're a Hurricanes fan, don't worry because 95% of the hockey world is on your side and they're all racing to tell you how wonderful you.
you are and nobody is really attacking you other than Brian Burke and Don Cherry. And I felt like
I had this nightmare that I had accidentally summoned that reality into existence and was now
being forced to live it. Because I'm pretty sure, even a couple weeks ago, I even made a joke
on this podcast about Carolina Hurricane fans and their over-reliance on the old man yelling at
clouds meme. And then this weekend, the Caroline Hurricane's actual team Twitter account,
tweeted out the old man yelling at clouds meme as a reaction to Don Cherry.
So I have no opinion on this other than to say, I told you so.
I apologize to listeners if I spoiled everything that was going to happen on this weekend
with my take two weeks ago because it basically ended up being exactly what I said.
And look, I get, I'm exaggerating a little bit for effect when I say that 95% of the
hockey world is on your side.
I know there are something like Sarah Sivian at the Athletic who covers the Hurricanes was like, dude, like look in my mentions if you think it's 95% positive because it's not.
I understand there are, there's more people than that who don't like this stuff.
But certainly in terms of voices that matter and maybe even stretching that definition a little bit, it's still Don Cherry and Brian Burke and that's about it.
Everyone else seems to like it.
you know, you sold a bunch of shirts.
You, you know, you, you gut.
We didn't talk about that.
Like, to set the scene, if you haven't seen it, the Carolina Hurricanes through, by the way, Ryan, you might not know this.
A company called Breaking Tea that makes, like, quick response t-shirts for things that happen in sports,
which is partially run by our old friend, Jamie Matrum from Yahoo.
Oh, wow.
Runs that company now.
Right.
Yeah.
They reached out to them.
They made these T-shirts.
They say, bunch of jerks.
They sold close to 2,000 of them in the first 24 hours and then started selling them with the team store.
It is hilarious.
The players modeled them and shit.
They have their golden misfits rally and cry now, courtesy of Don Cherry.
So I guess some good came from it.
And God bless them, because that's exactly what they should do.
That was, like, there is no law that says that you have to be accurate when you play the, everyone is against us card.
Like, there is, you are totally allowed to take any, like, we're, we're.
We're a few weeks removed from a Super Bowl in which the New England Patriots were trying to play the nobody believes we can win the Super Bowl card.
The New England Patriots were walking around acting like everyone was counting them out in the Super Bowl.
That's one step below the Harlem Globetrotters walking around saying like nobody thinks we can win a basketball game.
So, you know, that is the level of stupid we're allowed to get to.
That's right.
I mean, this isn't even close.
Yeah.
Get the shirts, steer into it.
Just, you know, my only request to Hurricanes fans is,
is don't get so far down the rabbit hole that you forget that this is still like only two guys
and everyone else has got your back and you start getting like legitimately bitter and resentful about the hockey world attacking you
because that's for the most part not actually happening.
But enjoy your cool shirts.
I hope somebody sends me one.
Yeah. No, but like you said, like we talked about before, before when we talked about the storm search stuff, it's years and years and years of pent up angst about having been picked on by more than a small segment of the hockey world about their market, about their lack of success, about their attendance. You know, it's, it's, it's a constant thing. And I understand why they feel picked on, even though it's only a few guys, why it feels like it's, it's, it's more than.
that to them because it's always felt like more than that. Yeah. And it's also, so it's fun to
have the world against you and be able to, you know, circle the wagons and we're going to,
we're going to, it's us against the world. It's, that's, that's fun. As a sports fan, that's like,
you know, that that's about the best that it gets. So, uh, yeah, absolutely. Jump at the opportunity
to do it. Just, you know, understand that, uh, every time this happens, it's,
It still seems, at least among people who aren't like Twitter eggs with 14 followers,
it's, it's, the vast majority have got your back on this.
At least, at least until the playoffs, because I frankly don't understand.
Yeah.
I frankly don't understand the us against the world thing.
But if one more fucking team doesn't allow a blogger in their press box, let me tell you right now.
Anyways.
We're changing the world.
It is going to be fun in the playoffs.
Because it will feel a little bit different in the play, especially if they're like, if you're down three nothing in a series and you win game four and suddenly you're out there doing like wheelbarrow races or something, that is going to have a bit of a different vibe to it.
And that, yeah.
See, I desperately in the playoffs want to see who takes the Elias Lindholm thing of mocking it to the next level.
And you know it would be Marchand if they play Boston.
And you know that the Bruins would win.
If it happens.
They'd all clear off the ice.
Yeah.
If it happens, you don't get to be babies about it.
You got to be able to handle it.
If someone else throws it back in your face, you can't turn around and go all burke cherry on it.
You got to laugh with it.
Yeah.
And so the other thing to keep in mind is that their most likely playoff opponent, if they make it, is Tampa.
And they won't get to do it at all.
They maybe should.
Maybe they should do it before the.
Yeah, do it before the game in the playoffs because you're not going to get the chance once you play the lightning.
I think if they, like maybe do it after you've had a particularly good shift.
Like you, you, you hell of Coucher up to three shots on that shift.
Yeah.
Stop the game like it's a like it's a milestone, a statistical milestone and just do it at some point during the game.
I completely agree.
All right.
This is a fun-filled podcast.
We went through the trade deadline over-underers.
And now in the same episode, we are bestowing upon you a quiz that I've created for, Ryan and Sean.
It's a quiz that is entitled Golden Naked Men versus Pretty Rings, colon, the Oscars versus Stanley Cup's quiz.
The Oscars are on Sunday.
Hopefully, Bohemian Rhapsody doesn't win, Best Picture, but who's to say?
But that's neither here nor there.
This quiz I've created is a quiz in which I'm going to give you the name of a Hollywood
person, and I'm going to give you the name of a hockey person, and you're going to tell me
if the Hollywood person has won more Oscars than the hockey person has won Stanley Cubs.
So it is a Hollywood person's Oscars that they've won, and it could be like for legit
categories or even like honorary Oscars versus a players or hockey person, Stanley Cups.
And for the purposes of this quiz, I'm not just looking for cups they've won as a player or as a coach.
I'm looking for the total number of cups they've won as a player, as a coach, or as a general manager.
So it's the totality of their careers winning cups.
Oh, God.
Do we understand the ground rules?
Yes.
I'm with it.
I understand the ground rules, even though I will maybe not have heard of half of the Hollywood people you're going to mention.
You see, you keep on down playing.
this, but you are a person on this planet.
You know famous people.
You may not know all of their accomplishments,
but I think you are at least going to be in the ballpark on some of these, Sean.
You always poo-poo yourself on these pop-culture things.
We just want you to believe in your favor.
I poo-poo myself.
Thanks, Torts.
All right.
Sean, you go first.
Oh, there it is.
There it is.
Bring it all back to...
Go.
All right.
Question number one to Sean.
Denzel Washington versus Denny Potvan.
Does Denzel have more Oscars or does Potvan have more Stanley Cup rings?
Oh boy.
So Potvin's got four for sure.
I don't think Denzel has that many.
I'm going Denny Potvin.
Denny Potvin is correct.
Denzel only has two Oscars.
He won for Training Day and he won for Glory.
but that is it. Denny Potvan,
more pretty rings
than Denzel Washington has golden naked men.
Ryan Lambert.
Yeah.
Walt Disney versus Jean Belavow.
Who has more stuff?
Walt Disney has Oscars or Jean Belovow has Stanley Cup rings?
Well, they didn't really add
animated films,
as its own separate category until like very recently.
I have to go Belvo.
Jean Belavaux has 17 Stanley Cup rings,
10 as a player, and seven as an executive.
Walt Disney has 26 Oscars.
Damn, dude.
The answer is Walt Disney.
Question number three for Sean.
Amy Adams versus Adam McQuaid.
Who has more?
Is it Amy Adams with Audubes?
Or is it Adam McQuaid with Stanley Cup rings?
Oh, boy.
Hmm.
Both of whom I think would look great on the Leafs third pair, I think would be a strong addition.
I'm going to go.
I would also offer that Amy Adams was in the fighter and Adam McQuade is a fighter.
I would add that.
Wow, there you go.
The Leafs need a fighter.
We've got our candidate.
I give me
Amy Adams in this one.
Who are you taking?
I'm taking Amy Adams in this one.
All right.
The answer is
Adam McQuaid.
Adam McQuaid has won
Stanley Cup ring on the 2011
Boston Bruins.
Amy Adams nominated six times
but no Oscar wins
for Amy Adams.
All right.
Mm-hmm.
All right.
Ryan?
Yeah.
Steven Spielberg versus Kevin Stevens, who has more, does he have more Oscars or does Stevens have more Stanley Cup rings?
Spielberg.
That is correct.
Steven Spielberg has won the Oscar three times.
He is won for Schindler's List, saving Private Ryan, and then he won the Thalberg Award,
which is the big sort of like fancy prize they give out to directors when it becomes apparent that they haven't given them anything else yet.
And Kevin Stevens only has two Stanley Cup rings in those back-to-back penguins years.
So you are correct.
Stevens people are, so we are tied one to one in Golden Naked Men versus Pretty Rings.
Sean.
Yes.
Daniel Day Lewis versus Daniel Carcillo.
Who has more stuff?
Daniel Day Lewis, Oscars, Daniel Carcillo, Stanley Cup rings.
All right.
Did Carcillo ever win one outside of Chicago?
And if not, how many times did he win in Chicago?
I feel like he's a one or a two.
And Daniel Day Lewis has won at least two.
So I'm going to say, I got to go Daniel Day Lewis.
That is correct.
Daniel Day Lewis has won three times for Lincoln.
There will be blood in my left foot.
Daniel Carcillo has won the cup twice, technically twice.
In 2015, he had an injury exemption.
because he got hurt in the regular season,
but they still put his name on the cup.
Not Auntie Ronto, by the way.
He didn't get his name on the cup,
but Daniel Carcillo did.
So three to two, Daniel DeLuzeau over Daniel Carcillo,
and two to one now,
Sean over Ryan in this quiz.
Very interesting.
Lambert?
Your options are for this one.
Who has more stuff?
Jack Lemon
or Jacques Lemaire?
Jack Lemon, his Oscars versus Jacques Lamar, his Stanley Cups.
See, this is one of those things where it's like I can only think of maybe two or three movies
Jack Lemon would have even been nominated for, but of course there's probably a slew of movies
in like the late 60s and early 70s where he was just nominated every single year.
Whereas you're talking about a guy who was on the Canadian, you know, all.
that kind of stuff.
Went a lot of cups to play for Montreal.
So I guess I'm going to go with Jacques LaMere,
but I wouldn't be surprised if it was the other way.
Well, you didn't even need to qualify your answer.
You are correct.
Jacques Lemaire has nine cups, eight with the Canadians,
and then one as a coach with the Devils.
Jack Lemon has only won the Oscar twice for Save the Tiger in 1973.
And Mr. Roberts in 1955.
He wasn't even nominated for Glenn Garrier, Glenn Ross, for goodness sakes.
Yeah, that's fucking insane.
was incredible in that movie.
And we are, we are tied to two, too.
All right.
Sean, who has more stuff?
John Williams, famous composer, or Justin Williams, famous consmite playoff hero?
You know what?
I, just recently, my kids are watching the Star Wars movies for the first time.
And we wound up looking up John Williams on Wikipedia.
And I remember being surprised at how few Oscars he actually had.
But for some, in my, okay, in my head, I am remembering him having three Oscars.
And Justin Williams, I in my head has three Stanley Cups, Carolina, L.A., L.A., L.A.
So what am I missing one way or another?
Because I'm going to say, there's no ties, right?
this is, there is a, there is a correct answer for all of these.
I would say on this question, there is not a tie.
That's correct.
Oh, boy.
Justin Williams versus.
Now, is it possible Justin Williams once scored an Oscar-winning movie?
Right.
I mean, that would certainly shift the paradigm.
I'm going to say Justin Williams because, yeah, because of Washington then.
So I'm going to say Justin Williams four to three.
Well, he, would you say because of Washington?
Yeah, he was on the capitals last year, right?
That was the one I was missing.
He wasn't.
No, he's won the cup three times.
He won it, like you said, with Carolina, then twice with L.A.
John Williams has won five Oscars.
Schindler's List, E.T. Jaws, Star Wars, and Fiddler on the Roof, which is one I wouldn't have gotten.
Okay.
So, incorrect, sir.
John Williams has more stuff.
Still tied to two, two.
A nail bite or a barn burner, if you will.
Ryan?
Yeah.
Who has more?
stuff. Merrill Streep
or Chris Coonitz?
Merrill Streep and it's not even fucking close. Are you kidding me?
Merrill Streep has won the Oscar three times for the Iron Lady, Sophie's Choice, and Kramer
Chris Coonitz has won the Stanley Cup four times. Anaheim, Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh.
There's no way she only has three wins. That's bullshit. There's no way.
She has to have won supporting actress multiple times.
Well, I go to the next question.
Go ahead and look up Meryl Streep.
Tell me I'm wrong.
Chris Coonnett's with four.
Sean?
Yes.
Who has more stuff?
Jack Nicholson or Jack Adams?
Sorry, who is the first one?
Jack Nicholson.
You can't handle the truth.
I'm the devil.
Hubba, hubba, hubba, money, money, money.
Who do you trust?
Okay, Jack Nicholson or Jack Adams?
Hmm.
See, again, this feels like one of these where you're going to be like, oh, it's Jack Nicholson.
He's got to have a ton.
And then you're going to tell me that he's like one, like three.
And one of them was for some terrible movie.
But Jack Adams, holy smokes.
I know.
I mean, of the titular Jack Adams.
Yeah, I got to say Jack Adams.
I'm going to assume he got his name on the cup for all those wings, you know, mini dynasty in the, in the, in the,
the 50. So I'm going to say, I'm going to say Jack Adams. Final answer. That is, that is correct. Jack
Adams says nine cup rings, two as a player, three as a coach, four as a GM, Jack Nicholson has
only won the Oscar three times. I, I had to go back. I forget, I didn't write him down,
but I would imagine it's probably a few good men, cuckoo's nest, and maybe as good as it gets
would be the other one, maybe. Oh, see, there you go. That's, that's the crappy movie that, uh, yeah.
Yeah, okay.
Meryl Streep didn't win best supporting actress for the fucking deerhunter?
Did they see this movie?
Are you shitting me, dude?
She didn't win for Devil Wars Prada.
She didn't win for a lot of stuff, man.
She was nominated like every year.
She should have been nominated for Doubt as well.
Like, doubt, oh my God.
Holy shit.
She's legitimately the St. Louis Blues of the Oscars.
Like, she's in it every year.
but doesn't do anything when she gets there.
21 nominations only three wins.
That's an outrage.
Yeah.
It's crazy.
All right.
Sean has a three to two lead.
So we're either going to look for a tie here,
or we're going to have a victory for Sean.
I don't know anything about nothing over here.
Who has more stuff, Ryan?
Alfred Hitchcock or Ken Hitchcock?
Oh, shit.
Uh, boy.
Well, we know Ken Hitchcock didn't win as a player.
Uh.
It's got to be Alfred Hitchcock.
I don't think it is.
I tried to help you out.
I tried to help you out by saying,
we could be looking for a tie here.
Because the answer is a tie.
Alfred Hitchcock and Ken Hitchcock both have won once.
Oh, no, that's bullshit.
Fuck this.
I don't have it a different one.
That's it.
That's a big win for Sean right there.
Oh, boy, oh, boy.
Wow, tough, tough break, Ryan.
That's, that stings.
Huge, huge, huge, tough break.
What did Alfred Hitchcock win for?
Listen, motherfucker.
I thought, Vertigo would definitely be one of them, probably north by northwest.
He, this is, this is one of the greatest and weirdest things ever in, in, in, in, in, in, in, in, in, in, in, in, in, he actually never won.
He actually never won.
That's what I was going to say.
I thought he was considered one of the greats that never won, but then, so what, did he get like a career?
Yeah, they gave him the Irving Thalberg Award in 68.
He was nominated for Psycho, Rear Window, Spellbound Lifeboat, and Rebecca.
So he wasn't even fucking nominated for North by Northwest, which is considered to be his most classic film.
And wasn't nominated for Vertigo.
Right.
I think Vertigo is probably the, the,
the movie that is now considered his best one.
I rewatch that maybe two or three years ago.
Fuck, it is good.
But, yeah, I mean, that's insane.
Imagine directing Psycho and directing a film that is, like, the greatest of all time in the eyes of a lot of people
and a template for how to make that kind of movie.
He lost a Billy Wilder in the apartment, which I think is a great movie, but by no means is it Psycho.
In 55, when he had rear window, Hitchcock lost to, oh, boy, he lost to Ely Kizan for on the waterfront.
So that's understandable as well.
But never was fucking nominated for Vertigo, which is kind of crazy.
There you go.
A little bit of movie history and a little bit of hockey history on this pop culture and hockey podcast.
So I think it's very exciting.
All right.
We've gone on way too long today.
We're going to get right to the question of the week.
And the question of the week is, the year is 2020.
The earth burns in a post-climate change apocalypse.
We're looking back at the 2019 NHL trade deadline.
What was the biggest mistake made?
Antalupa says a drugstore in Columbus not buying a billboard offering Panarin free peptobismal for life if he stays.
It's all going to come back to poop pants.
Let's see here.
Jonathan Fox says Ottawa can't go wrong with this one.
I tend to believe that he's going to actually
Beardorian's going to make out okay.
Like he's going to get something for C.C., which is great,
because no one should give anything for C.C.
He's going to get a really good package back for Duchenne
because there's a bidding war.
And I think they're going to re-sign Stone.
That's my prediction.
And I think that he's going to make out okay all that.
What, no?
I'm not sure on Stone.
Like, I really...
Why would he fucking resign there?
Like, why would anybody?
If the rumors are true and he's being offered five years,
even at like 10 or 11 million, that's, I would be very surprised if you took that.
That doesn't make a lot of sense to me.
If you're 22, by all means, sign a five-year deal as your second deal.
If you're 27 or 28, get your eight years.
If the market will give you eight years, lock in for as long as you can at that point.
I completely agree with you that from the outside looking in, they're an inept franchise,
and why would you want to stay there?
But if they blow them out with some insane contract
because they're not going to pay Duchenne,
and at the end of the day, like I always say,
these guys don't like to move their stuff.
His stuff's in Ottawa.
Yeah.
So we'll say.
I think that's going to be the Ryan DeZingle.
I think my prediction earlier in the week,
and I'm standing by it, is that Stone and Dushain both leave
and then they throw crazy money at Ryan DeZingle
because they don't feel like they can lose all three.
And we're sitting there like literally.
literally like a year later going, what, Ryan does Ingle makes?
How much?
That's insane.
And then we'll be like, oh, right, they got, they lost two guys and Melnick told Dorian to just do whatever it took to get it done.
He's getting, he's getting like Bobby Ryan money because they had to keep somebody.
Exactly.
Let's see here.
Beer Money podcast says the Edmonton Oilers didn't trade for Sergei Bavrovsky.
That's an interesting landing point for him, but I don't think he'd go there.
He's certainly not signing there.
Why would anybody?
Well, that's a good point.
Well, to play with Connor, of course.
Yeah.
Sure.
Let's see here.
Jake Bisnoff says trading Kevin Hayes and the Rangers are surprisingly relevant and can totally use him.
I don't know.
I'm not really the biggest Kevin Hayes fan, to be honest with you.
I'm a big fan.
One of the few NHLers who used to follow me on Twitter.
Oh, absolutely not.
But, you know.
Oh, okay.
But I think he's awesome, and I think any team would be wise to trade for him.
Nathan says, whoever ends up with Matt Dushan because somehow every team he's part of becomes a last place garbage fire.
Not the worst take.
Oh, man.
Matt Chetone writes in TSN and Sportsnet for devoting 15 hours of coverage for 12 trades all happening between one and three.
And finally, Mitchell writes in, Connor McDavid to the L.A. Kings for five years' worth of number one picks.
Rinse watch and repeat, as Mark Spector probably says.
and there you go.
All right.
That's a show for this week.
Thanks to our guest.
Thanks to you, boys.
Thanks to all of you.
By the way, Patreon, my God,
we dropped a bonus episode this week,
me and Down Goes Brown,
about the greatest trades that never happened
based on his piece that he wrote for the Athletic,
and it was hilarious and great and awesome.
And then also, thank you, everybody.
We are back over, 600 people on the Patreon.
Thanks in no small part to Ryan Lambert's new newsletter that's available there.
A lot of people have signed up for that, and more people can.
And so if you haven't checked it out, do check it out.
A lot of awesome bonus content there, including the mailbag we're about to do at patreon.com slash puck soup.
You can find all my stuff on Twitter at Wichinsky and on ESPN.com.
Monday, B and Emily will be doing stuff all day, video coverage and writing and stuff.
And then also ESPN has the TSN feed on ESPN Plus and on ESPN to the deuce.
beating, I believe, at 2 o'clock.
What do you got going on?
Oh, geez.
Two-line pass on Twitter.
Sports. Yahoo.com slash author slash Ryan-dash Lambert for all my takes.
And, yeah, sign up for the newsletter.
It's four bucks or three bucks if you get the podcast bonus episodes two.
So eight bucks total if you want to do it that way.
I think that's a pretty good deal.
ask me six bonus episodes and a newsletter every week.
Other than that, nothing.
That's it.
Bye.
Beautiful.
You can find me at Twitter at Down Goes Brown on the athletic.
Actually, it was fun this week.
We did a piece, and we've been arguing about it all week,
about the best six-man starting lineup that you could make
from entirely from players that one single GM had acquired in trades over the course of his career.
So it was kind of a cool concept and it's gone in a lot of different directions down in the
comments section. So check it out. And if you did check it out, check it out again and head down,
wait into the comments because people are making their own rosters down there. And some of them
are pretty good. Yeah. You heard it here first from Sean, the athletic colon. Actually, we had fun
this week. All right, that's Puck Sue for this
week. Enjoy the trade
deadline and we'll talk to you next week.
Bye. Bye-bye.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves
and slapshots and goons. We've got
sportly commentary
to what if you commute.
We also cover movies,
TV shows, it's and tools.
It's your weekly
bowl of Hagi and Nonsense.
Puck Sue.
