Puck Soup - Sean Leahy, Puck Daddy Farewell
Episode Date: October 4, 2017Greg and Dave welcome Sean Leahy for some Puck Daddy memories and general hockey silliness. Plus discussions about Jaromir Jagr to the Calgary Flames, the Blackhawks' controversial decision on Marian ...Hossa, "Mike and The Mad Dog" give you the over/unders for the NHL 2017-18 season, some thoughts on Las Vegas, Martin Brodeur as Yoda, the return of "Curb Your Enthusiasm," Greg's surreal post-Breitbart announcement on leaving Yahoo and some thoughts on manhood. Sponsored by Seat Geek, Blue Apron and Draft Kings!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Overdrive from the writers of Too Fast, Too Furious, and the director of Taken comes an action-packed joyride.
Overdrive, available on demand in Digital HD on October 6th.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons. We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tunes. It's your weekly bowl of
Puggy and nonsense.
Puckoo.
I'm Greg Wysinski,
formerly of Puck Daddy's
Blah, blah, blah,
on Yahoo and Oath Company.
And I'm Dave Lozo,
the only employed person on this show today.
Hi, how you doing?
And I'm Sean Leahy disgraced Puck Daddy editor,
who is currently going to be somewhere soon.
And you're in Puck Soup.
This is like the most uncomfortable
show we might do.
No, it's actually great because I know where both of you were going.
Yeah. I hold to complete
power over this room. I don't think
Layhe and I like playing grab-ass with people as far
as like, you know,
withholding information. But like,
for those who don't know,
Leahy was clipped from Yahoo during the summer.
And then I left Puck Daddy
and Yahoo on Friday. It was my last
Friday, September,
29th, maybe. Yeah, 29th was my last day there.
Left on my own accord. I hate
to disappoint my new friends from Brightbart,
but I wasn't fired for writing
the PKCCVAN story.
How great is it? Like two weeks ago,
which was so happy that I got into with the ESPN
public editor. You couldn't wait to talk about that.
And now we roll on today.
Hey, how's the Brightbart mentions on Twitter going?
Well, I was showing Ruby
my number of mutes.
And I would say the first
at least 75
mutes that I have on my Twitter feed
have either
deplorable in the title
or a frog is the avatar.
But there's the thing.
You guys, I mean, everybody in this room knows that, like, this thing with me and Yahoo has
been in the works for quite some time.
And so that 24 hours leading up to it or 48 hours leading up to it was hilarious because
I'm like, oh, this is going to be so weird telling everybody I'm leaving Puck Daddy.
I've been there for nine years.
You know, it's been such a great ride, yada, yada, yada.
Tell the truth.
And then, and then like, tell the truth about what happens.
And then all of a sudden, Brightbart puts me on the front page of Breitbart on this story
with P. K. Subam, with this hack weirdo, right.
that I blasted P.K. Suban and trashed him for, you know, saying that he's going to stand for the anthem or whatever when it was literally the most straight news story I've written on any of these topics despite being a liberal propagandist, apparently. And then, and then I came to realize that this beautiful, poignant announcement I was going to make about leaving Yahoo on Friday was now tainted by the fact that there's going to be a small percentage, but a vocal percentage of people thinking I was fired because of my politics.
Here's the truth.
Okay, here's what happened.
So Greg wrote the thing about P.K. Suban.
Breitbart came after him.
And then Yahoo's public editor sided with Breitbart.
And Greg said, you know what?
I won't stand for that.
I'm quitting, but I'll make it seem like it's a mutual thing.
That's actually what happened.
Yahoo's public editor said, I love Breitbart.
You're wrong, Greg.
Get the hell out.
Well, what happened was Breitbart, I mean, Yahoo's public editor came after me in a column.
And I decided to call.
Breitbart's public editor.
I decided to call Yahoo's public editor, the dumbest person alive.
And it turned out he's also my landlord.
So now I'm jobless and homeless.
It's crazy.
Turns out it's actually Ruby's dad.
You're not getting divorced.
Well, I thought it was Evanston was very common name.
Yeah.
Everyone has that name, don't they?
No, I mean, we'll get into the puck daddy stuff later and we go nostalgia fest with Leahy.
But it was everybody was very sweet and I appreciate the things everybody said.
The two things that really stuff,
with me in all of the
interaction with readers in the last few days
are the people who say
they were inspired to come back to hockey
because of the things they wrote because they realized
it could be fun and not be
Canadian. And
then also the people
who started blogs and stuff
because of the things that we did and the
fact that we reached out and supported
blogs and the headlines and stuff. And then also
the people who said they grew up reading us
which is the weirdest fucking thing I've ever seen
in my life. We are all. And I'm like, yeah, I'm like,
I'm like someone said, you know what, I can't believe this.
I grew up reading him.
I'm like, you know, let me do the math here.
Is it nine?
Oh, shit.
2008 was a long time ago.
Twitter was not what it was now.
A 10-year-old is now a college sophomore.
Like, we are halfway, we are more than halfway through our lives.
We have lived more in this first half than we are going to, in the second half.
We're almost dead.
We are almost.
Speak for yourself.
But here's the thing, too, is I went to Yahoo and now Ryan Lambert's still there.
He's going to be there.
and the lead story was kind of weird.
It was a story about, I think it was North Dakota's Fenwick
and how that relates to socialism in America.
Is that the new puckdaddy rant?
The top story on the NHL page right now is
Stegasori, could they be Yager's left wing?
You talk about living forever.
I just want to make a note that my dad thought he was going to have surgery today.
We're taping this on Tuesday.
And he, for like a blocked artery or something.
And it turns out that he didn't need a stent.
I'm just giving this pertinent information to set up the next thing.
My aunt on Facebook...
That would have been the weirdest he'd bekeek transition.
No, no, no, no.
My aunt on Facebook wrote this, she wrote,
Happy to hear my brother-in-law came out of surgery okay.
It's a beautiful sentiment, right?
Like, I'm so happy that this beloved man, you know,
is okay is in good health.
My mother responds to it by writing,
actually.
Oh, that's always a good way to start a piece of comment.
He didn't have surgery.
It is called a procedure.
No.
No.
My mother is such a piece.
Is she on Twitter, too?
That's a great Twitter response.
She should be, man.
She'd be amazing.
She would well actually everything.
Wait, was she doing a bit or was she not really upset about the terminology?
This is the part in which I remind you, you've never met my mother.
No.
It was not a bit, my friend.
Let me put it this way.
All this you hear on this podcast, that's my dad's jeans.
Oh, by the way, speaking of old, I want to retract something from last week.
Okay.
Arizona Coyotes out of the playoffs, Calgary Flames, and Yarmier Yager, in the playoffs.
All right, let's get to Yager.
In the playoffs.
We got a lot to get to on this podcast.
We got Yager.
We left out so much stuff from last week.
Yeah, we got the host of thing later.
We got Overunders by Mike and the Mad Dog coming up, too.
Yager signs of one.
year one million dollar deal with the one million dollar bonus the calgary flames uh apparently uh because
glen gulotson was his coach in dallas he knew him from dallas um i've been saying this forever
and maybe i'm wrong on it but like i've long said that yager had more of a pick of the litter than he
was letting on and in the st louis made him an offer and after uh after fabry went down and berglin
and steen were already out and i that was a situation where they are they need help and they all
of a sudden come to Yager and say we have this want and need, do you want to play here?
I tend to believe that maybe there were some opportunity for Yager in places, but he just didn't
want to go there for his own comfort level. Certainly wasn't for the money. I mean, this is a
bargain basement deal for flames. So if he can go anywhere he wants, why would he go to Calgary?
No offense. Calgary was supposedly kicking the tires on a months ago, right? I mean, this
didn't just happen. For the comfort level of the coach. Because he played for the stars for like four
weeks. Yeah. He played for Glenn Golds for like two minutes. He's like, oh, I've heard of that guy. I've
him before five years ago, yeah, I can play with it.
It's also the, what is the pro-league factor as well?
I think he had his mind made up maybe that he was going to go to Calgary and there weren't
a ton of offers and he was just like, I'm not doing training camp.
He did the old Michael Strayan bet, right?
Yeah, you know, like that old veteran, like Levyon Bell this year and the Steelers was like, yeah, dude, I'm good.
I know how to play football.
I can play hockey.
I'll just show up in October and it would be fine.
Oh, we're not talking about games.
We're talking about practice.
I like Calgary now.
I thought they could use a forward.
Well, not only because they use a forward, but they, I mean, like, I think when you look at that team and you look at all of the young talent they have on that team and the burgeoning talent, the guys are, like, inching towards their prime, or in Johnny Goodrow's case, a few inches short of his prime.
Wait, is that about his height or what is?
Yeah, it's about, it's not about his dick.
I'd have no, I mean, he's Italian. He's from Jersey.
I assume that's all right.
Oh, he's packing.
Yeah, he's packing for sure.
Oh, absolutely.
And then, but I mean, he's a short man.
Right.
Yeah.
But when you're short, like the expectation level gets lowered.
So like...
Does it?
Or when you're short, everything seems disproportionate.
I think it's both.
I think if it's a short person, you're like, oh, what's that?
Like, like, let's say you're six foot three.
Yeah.
You know, there's expectations that maybe it's hard to live up to.
Maybe that, you know, it's fine, but maybe on a six foot three frame, it doesn't look
that great at first.
So maybe you need to like wait.
Oh, wait, hold on.
As the shortest person in those are room now, you're wrong.
I assume that is an Italian.
kid and a star athlete he's probably got charra down there wait because he's an athlete i don't think i don't think
being athletic has any sort of correlation to penis you got that confidence doesn't make your dick bigger
sure it does that's why that's why i only played jv baseball wait so wait so so so in your mind when you
look at like like a like a tweet when it has like all four lines everyone on the fourth line is a tiny dick
and everyone in the first line is a huge dick that's your that's your no the goons don't have
tiny dicks. They have big dicks because
they have to fight people. Although
maybe they fight because they are
overcompensating. So Sean
Thornton's pack and Vern Fiddler's kind of
I don't know. That's your
feeling? Vern.
You know what I'm saying?
All Verns now have big dick.
Boy, I was not expecting
to crawl up into your mind and figure
out what you're thinking when you meet somebody now.
What position or designation
in hockey do you think has the
on average the smallest penis?
Yeah, it's tough, right?
It's a good question.
I think it's obvious.
You think it's goalies?
No, I think it's, it's equipment guys.
That's why you want to be surrounded by all those sticks.
Oh, I think, oh, God.
What, no?
I think you meant players.
You mean, like, anyone in hockey, anyone who has a job in hockey?
Anybody, any, what job in hockey would be that, you think, like, agitators?
They're like a pest?
I'm going to say hockey podcaster.
Just, just guessing, just, you know, nothing, nothing I know from experience, dude.
I'd say press row.
Oh, yeah.
You know?
Oh, it's, it's a sad.
The peanuts, the giveaway free are not the only.
What are we talking about?
Yager.
All right, Yager.
I think Yager is going to play that role that he plays so well, which is he's going to be the sage, you know, Jedi example that they all look up to.
Like, that's the thing he did.
That's why he works so well in Philly.
That's why he works so well in Florida.
He was able to not only be an effective player, which he was.
she's going to be in Calgary.
It's a disgrace that this guy didn't have a job for as long as he did,
unless it's the reason that you gave before where he just didn't want to have a preseason.
I think that if you really do believe he had the pick of the litter, then I do.
I think that plays into it because I don't want to go to like some new town and skate around
for two weeks like an idiot.
Tav gets like Monaghan and Goodrow be able to look at this guy running stairs at 45 years old and stuff.
I think that's an invaluable thing to have.
I think that might be overrated.
I don't.
Because like I don't know.
Like everyone assumes every old dude in sports is like this great.
example for young people. I don't necessarily
know if that's really a thing. Like, I think
Yager just wants to go play hockey and get out of it. It doesn't really
care if, like, Sean Monaghan's like, wow, look at the
quads on that guy. But that was, but in
Philly, like, that's the role he played. And, like,
a guy like Claude Drew
has completely fallen off the table. Took his cue
from Yager and remains the best player in the world.
He's still
holding the torch. He's still holding
the torch. Like, Jake
Vorecheck fell back to, like, nine goals.
Like, I don't know. It's like Marty
Brador. Everyone assumes Marty Brador was like this great,
sort of
like teacher of other goalies.
Like, he wasn't.
What?
He'd be,
I mean,
he worked miracles
with Jake Allen last year.
No?
Yeah,
he made him like a 915 goalie or something?
Boy,
how did he do that?
What is it,
Yoda?
Oh.
Catch the buck you will.
Use the glove.
Oh,
fall apart in playoffs you want this year.
Oh.
Only with like a French Canadian accent.
Can we get something to do Yoda as French as from Quebec?
And who was the other coach that?
Was it?
I think it was the other coach they had last year working with with Marty.
Was it?
I think it was.
What he's saying to you, Jake, is that you don't have to shit your pants as soon as the first round begins.
There's no Brian Elliott here to catch your poo this time.
Rador is like speaking in French and he's got like a mouthful of like Putin and he just says stuff and then Manny Legacy translates for him.
actually here's what happened right so so martin brodor literally dressed up as Yoda
threw on a through on a blues jersey he's on his knees and then he raised jake all and say
percentage out of the swamp and he held it there for a little while but he wasn't strong enough
to hold it for the entire pose oh put me on your back you will runs through arena uh no i uh i can't
i got a bell oh put me on your back
I just
The dream sequence where Jake Allen
cuts off Ryan Miller's head was really weird
I thought
And the mask explodes and it's Jake Allen
The whole time
It's actually Jake Allen
It's pretty impressive
It was pretty amazing
But yeah it was a good learning tool
It helped
It helped
Yeah
What are we talking about again
All right
You can get
You know what
We're talking a lot of players
We're talking about
Yamir Yager
We're talking about Jake Allen
We're talking about
Yoda
We're talking about Johnny Grudeau
And his horsecock
We're talking about a lot of players, and you can get all these players on your Daily Fantasy
Team, courtesy of Draft Kings.
Puck Soup welcomes Draft Kings to the family of advertisers.
Lozo, you play a little Daily Fantasy, yeah?
Yeah, I got my ass kicked this Sunday.
Yeah?
I actually got my ass kicked two Sundays ago because that Matt Stafford, Golden Tate touchdown
at the end of the game didn't count.
Both of those dudes on my team.
If that would have counted, I might have won upwards of maybe $7.
I also want to give you props from making the greatest joke last night,
which is that the cheap.
Chiefs.
Oh, dude.
Backdoor cover of the spread was the greatest moment of franchise history against the Redskins
on Monday Night Football.
Because I do the athletic points spreads every week.
I knew what that spread was and I was like, oh, that's awesome.
And also in my fantasy league, the Jonah Carey League of League of Leagues, I have Chiefs D.
Oh, yeah?
And I, like, I was like, oh, it's over.
You should have seen me scramble for my phone to check that, but it didn't work.
Also, props to Sean McDonough, right, on ESPN, props to Sean McDonough for being a hell of a lot more shrewd about the Chiefs covering the spread than what
what Al Michaels used to do.
Like, McDonald's like, for some of you out there,
this late touchdown is quite interesting,
Al Michaels would have been,
oh my God,
they covered.
Good, he should.
They did.
Fab, fat, fat, fat, fat, fat.
Just, like, literally, they were kicking the extra point at the end.
Do you believe him?
And covering the seven?
Yes!
Sean McDonough was like,
they have to kick the extra point for gamblers because,
like, he actually admitted it.
So it's just,
but I wonder if anybody won a draft Kings contest
based on the fumble recovery touchdown.
draft kings is the leader in daily fantasy sports hockey seasons here and you can be a part of the action all season long with one day fantasy hockey at draft kings dot com there are many many ways to play you can choose between public contests with big cash prizes private contest we can face off with a group of your friends and kick their asses because you obviously listen to this podcast and are exponentially smarter than them about the ways of hockey i would imagine all you have to do is pick your team and start racking up the points for goals assists shots
Brent Burns and more.
Is Ovech can only a decent fantasy bet only because of shot totals now?
Or do you think he's completely falling off the...
Goals, baby, goals.
Well, it depends on your...
We had Dan Barbarisi in here, the Draft Kings expert.
Right.
I'm not an expert, but like whenever I pick my hockey team,
I like to pick dudes that have high shot volume
because you get a half a point for shots,
and the only way you get goals if you get shots.
Dan Barbariisi, also the kid who put that dick in his dick in his dick and his dick in...
All right, draft kings.
The best part is you get to...
draft the new team every day without any
commitment. So hurry over to draftkings.com now
and guess what that promo code
is, folks. Spoiler, it's
Soup, S-O-U-P, to
play free with your first deposit
for your share of $5,000
in total prizes.
That's promo code soup to play
for free with your first deposit only at
draftkings.com. The game
inside the game
minimum $5
deposit required eligibility
restriction supply. See draft
For more details.
That's called the
What?
The small type
The small print.
There it is.
Also, just for the record,
Dan Barborese,
he never fucked a pie.
He looks like Jason Biggs.
He looks like
Jason Biggs and fucked a pie.
I just feel like we need to explain that one
because I feel like most people don't know who Dan Barberie is.
Can I ask you a question?
Do you know for sure?
That is true.
Do you know for sure?
We can get Emily on the phone.
Hey,
do you ever walk in and maybe just see him like trying to relive that scene?
Does you ever see him foist a pie on dude?
By the way, Curbs back, we should probably mention that.
How good was that episode?
It was one of those deals where, you know, it's been how long since the last Curbs season?
It has been like six, six, six, seven years?
Something like that?
There was definitely times in the first third of that episode where I'm like, oh, I don't know.
Like the whole.
Oh, I was waiting for the thing.
The lesbian wedding thing.
The lesbian wedding thing.
Yeah, holding the door for her.
Yeah, the lesbian wedding thing where he's like, you're more of a groom than a bride.
Why is she being, she should be a bride?
Like, there's a whole part of that where you're like, man, if this was 2001, this is fantastic.
And then you're like, but it's not.
And it's going to be horrible.
But as the episode went on, maybe two things happened.
One, obviously in curb, you know, tradition, everything came around at the end and it was brilliant.
But there was also that moment where you're like, you forget that this is an island.
Like you forget that much like South Park is an island where this kind of comedy can exist.
exist and it's almost like
that giant Stephen King
dome is around this show to protect
it from think pieces. What the fuck is a
Stephen King? You know, like under the dome.
Do you know the show under
You're asking me as a pop culture, really?
How long have you know me? Remember in the
Simpsons movie where there was a giant dome around Springfield?
Okay. Is that based on a Stephen King think?
All right, so what about it?
So like, Pennywise the clown is protecting
curbing enthusiasm from Jezebel think
pieces. No, I'm saying
I'm saying that, like, this was the show that did a whole episode about a Holocaust survivor and a survivor from survivor.
And you're like, oh, that's right.
It gets away with everything.
So, so you almost like jettison that part of your brain that's worried about what the –
because now when you watch anything in pop culture, you're worried about what the reaction is going to be versus what you're actually watching, right?
Like, I'm watching Ryan Gosling not able to keep a straight face during any sketch during SNL.
And the entire time, I'm not – I'm not watching a sketch anymore.
I'm like, is this going to be chastised or are people going to be?
going to love it. Spoiler, they loved it because he's adorable. And as I'm watching Curb, I'm like,
I'm no longer concerned about what the reaction is going to be because this show can get away with
anything. It literally can get away with anything. I didn't realize how much I missed the comedy of
Kerb. Yeah. And because last November, people were like Donald Trump's president. But, boy,
the comedy that's going to come out of this is going to be great. And so far the comedy that's
come out of that is a shitty Alec Baldwin impression. Cofeffy and Drumpf. Right. That's it. And like here,
it's just like it's this whole other world where you know they can touch on things in society
and talk about it and it's funny and it's great and two i have watched leon answer the phone
as larry's assistant about a hundred times yes and it has not stopped being funny you've also
left that another part of comedy which is uh jimmy kimball slowly morphing into stoner keith olberman
i know like like like it's great what jimmy kimball does and i watch those videos but it's like man
it must be so draining on him where he like he wants to go out on stage and
do some jokes and it's just like the world's on fire you can't after and by the jesus i don't know
how we because we're selfish assholes like condolences to everybody in affected by the shooting in
las vegas this weekend for god's sakes it's it was horrific and uh that lozo and i are going
to Vegas soon i believe yeah i booked this morning yeah and so you know actually actually the
night of the shooting i actually fell asleep listening to the um the police banner yeah or not
scanner scanner scanner police banner yeah they they write what's going on on a
crime scene and then just unfurl it across Las Vegas Boulevard.
I was picturing David Banner as a cop.
I don't know why I said police men.
He'd be a Hulk cop?
But like I listened to the,
but like it was so crazy listening to the police scanner because like you don't realize
like the whole thing happened at Mandalay Bay.
Yeah.
And like during the course of that, you could hear them say active shooter at and they must
have said every single casino because that was a report, but it ended up all them
being bullshit.
But like you actually could hear the team, the SWAT team go into the room of the guy.
Right.
And I'll tell you this because this is how my brain.
works, like you can hear the SWAT team like they're whispering. They go, breach, breach, breach.
And what do you think is the first thing I thought of when they said that?
The Crescruper movie?
Ocean's 11. Oh.
Because they do a fake SWAT team to go into the, like that pops into my head immediately.
I'm like, why would you think of that at this point?
Yeah, I mean, I'm with Leahy. I thought you were going to say that Ryan
Philippi was trying to catch a spy. Oh, that movie. Yeah. That movie sucks.
No, I, condolences to all, everybody involved in that horrible fucking just, oh, Jesus Christ.
But we were talking about Kimmel.
And like, in his soliloquy about gun control, he does make mention of the fact that, you know, I don't want to be saying this.
I want to get back to comedy.
And it must be really hard for all these guys to not constantly say that.
Because you, you can't.
You're going to come off as the most unfeeling asshole.
It's like, you know, bodies upon bodies in Las Vegas.
And you're sad you can't make that Kardashian joke and have to deal with this shit instead.
And to be honest, it's probably, you're probably.
You're probably just better talking about that than making this the shitty, like, Bill Mar, Lindsay Lohan joke.
He's made in his monologue for nine fucking years straight that nobody wants to laugh at it anymore, you know?
Yeah.
And it's also, it's also the worst part, not the worst part, but like a real shitty part is like everything's the same.
Every shooting's the same.
Like everyone said, there's always the same thing.
It's always the dude that comes out and says, let's wait a day to talk about that.
And there's only so many ways to secure that.
Like after a while, you just become, like, there's no way to like be clever, satirical.
I have a commentary on it where you're like,
It's just every, it's just, why don't, you know what?
Automatic rifles are awesome.
Second Amendment's the third rail of American political life, though.
It used to be abortion, I think it's a Second Amendment now.
I read a good thing where they talked about how, like, cigarettes,
you could smoke cigarettes everywhere forever because the lobby was so strong.
Right.
And eventually they were, they just broke it.
Ironically, you can't smoke in the lobby, though.
But that was the one argument I read that was good was like, people are always like,
the lobby, the NRA, it's too strong, but, you know, it's breakable.
Everything is breakable.
So hopefully, hopefully this is the tipping point.
But I feel like we'll be doing this next week about something out.
There was a shooting, there was an active shooter at USC the next day.
No, that was this proven.
That was just proven?
Well, I'd say everything, too, is that now we're dealing with all this shit too, where the most,
one of the sickest things I read about this whole, the whole situation in Vegas was at one point when everybody was trying to figure out who did the crime,
a 4chan article was the top hit on Google.
news for the shooter.
You just got to burn the internet down, man.
We're going to start over again.
A fucking forum that exists like docs women and Gamergate and like other shit.
And then and then on Facebook that the top hits were Sputnik articles.
And it's just like for all this talk about from Silicon Valley about like trying to get.
And someone someone said, you know, when you talk about doing changing the news algorithms and stuff, you're talking about censorship.
It's not going to at all.
You know, if you're if you're going to put news on your site, you have a journalist.
responsibility to make sure that your information's accurate.
It's like journalism
001 to fucking know that the shit that you're putting on
in your publication or on your site is accurate.
So if your algorithm is going to pump up
a fucking forum post
trying to accuse the wrong guy of being the shooter
in Las Vegas. Or it's like, oh,
check out these crisis actors. Like
there are people, seriously, there are people who think
every shooting is a hoax. What was Alex Jones
saying? Yeah. Leftist, Democratic
Muslim or Islam or ISIS
Some kind of
Crisis Actors
Let's wait 24 hours
Like what kind of a fucking argument is that
Like that's what
Imagine any other situation
Where like
Like you're cheating on your girlfriend
With her sister
And your girlfriend catches you
Mid-Quitus
And she's like
What the fuck is this
And you're like
Let's wait 24 hours
Let's not
Let's focus on the victims
For a little while
Let's not politicize this
I'm not done yet
Yeah
No you get punched in the face
By your girlfriend
Feelings are feelings
have sex with sister
you can
like that's it
Leahy gets the callback
it's fine
yeah it was it was a shitty weekend
but then every weekend
Marty Bruder sister-in-law
I get it now
ladies and gentlemen
I think it's time for us to transition
to another part of the show
part that people were very upset about
us not getting to last week
as part of our season preview
we had a lot to get to
and good afternoon
everybody how are you today
Christmas
dog Russo here
Mikey Franceser there
dog
NHL 2017-18
over unders
enormously excited to do this
I simply don't have enough
liquid next to me to be able to maintain
this voice for the next
indecidable amount of time
dog will do it quick
Boston Bruins
over under
92 and a half points Mikey
under
I take the under two
there's simply no way
that a 40-year-old Zanitotara
is going to be able
to play defense for the bowens.
Under.
Bob of those sabres, Maggie.
88 points.
Over or under 88 points with the boon.
For the sabers.
I'm sorry, I simply don't know
alphabetical order like I used to, Maggie.
Dog, Eichel.
Over.
Maggie, 78 points last year.
88 points going to Vegas.
I'm going to take the over on that one, Maggie.
Over 88 points.
but not a playoff team for the buffalo buffalo the sabasabas the sabas bobbolo the sabas bobbolo
the carolina hurricanes mikey ninety two and a half points courtesy of our friends above veda
over under ninety two and a half points mikey over i gotta take the over too on that one mike
dog they got the cam award struggling goalie darling over Columbus blue jackets
96 and a half points, Maggie.
You got John Tortorella
from my New York Rangers head coach.
Gonna take the over.
I think I'm going to be over 96 and a half points, Mikey.
A healthy Sergey
a healthy goal tender
means over 96 and a half points, Mikey.
Dog, they got that goalie.
They got that forward.
They got that other forward.
That other forward.
Gonna go over.
Over.
Mikey.
The Detroit Red Wings.
The pride of.
of Middown
78 points
They've got
Alan Trammell
Lou
Sweet New Whitaker
Chet Lemon
Mickey Teddleton
Mickey Tedleton
Jack Morris
Frank Tanana
I'm taking
Detroit
78 points
I've taken the
under Mikey
Dog I think we did
the Alan Trammell bit
last year too
Enormously good joke
though
Enormous
Under
Florida Panthers
86 and a half
points
They've got, of course, the big superstar, Jonathan, Hugh.
Jonathan, who.
Aaron Eckblad.
Under 86 and a half points, Mikey, it's what my call is.
Dog, I didn't fall asleep.
Under, under.
What sport is this?
Mikey, 56 times standard cup champion, Montreal Canadiens, 99.5 points.
Give Kerry Price the money.
What are you doing?
Oh, they already did.
Did no?
below 99.5 points, Mikey.
Dog, they got Weber.
Enormous, enormous shot.
Over.
The New Jersey doubles.
74.5 points.
The only good things ever kind of have in New Jersey, Mikey.
Bruce Springsteen and John Minko.
I even know if that's true.
74.5 points. I say over.
Nico Hesha.
Ruggy to you in the NHL, Mikey.
Dog, who's this Nico?
Is he an Italian kid for?
Beyon, Nico.
I think he calls the show.
Enormously talented kid
over, over 74
and a half.
The New York Hockey Islanders
88 and a half points.
Mikey.
You got to sign John Tavaris.
You got to do it.
He's the franchise, Mickey. If you want
to get an arena
at Bella Park with a
ponies race, you got to sign
Johnny Tavaris.
A hundred.
The New York Hockey Rangers, 95 and a half points.
I'm going to say under.
I say the Rangers, Mikey, are the biggest disappointment since our 30 for 30.
Dog, who's that center they got there, that Mikey, Mikey guy?
Who's the dude?
His name's Mikey.
Mikey.
Mickey Zabana.
Mickey, Mickey, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy, Jimmy,
enormously talented the Jimmy VC kid
gonna go under 95 and a half
The Ottawa Senators, 91.5 points
Can I even fill the building, Mikey.
The fans don't show up, the points don't show up.
Under 91.5, Mikey.
Under.
The Philadelphia Flyers, 90.5 points.
Mike Schmidt.
Steve Jelts.
Tommy Herr.
Vaughn Hayes.
going to go Steve Carlton
gonna go
under nine and a half
Mikey I don't like
the flyers this year
I think it's gonna be a
gestation period
before they come back
and wait next year Mikey
dog they got that
Brenda Moore
brand more
brand more kids good
good player
you like him because
he's got the face
of a thoroughbred Mikey
dog
I don't know what that means
oh is that dog
is that a nose joke dog
I don't know what that means
under
Pittsburgh penguins
two times
the end of the cup champions, the only team I actually know on this list.
105 points, Mickey.
They're going to be tired.
This is a dead tired team, Mikey.
Oh, they play a lot of hockey, but they're great.
Outside of the bottom, bottom, what is it?
One, two, three, four, five.
Out of the bottom six, I'm going to say over 106 Atlantic Division champions, Mikey,
or Patrick Division, whatever it's called.
Dog, they still got that Benino, enormously talented center.
spoke to Bill
yesterday about this
Wait, wait, wait, wait,
Parcell's a Belichick
Up at Saratoga
Going to go over
Tampa Bay Lightning
The pride of South Florida
Outside of Christopher Maddog
Russo
Uh, 102 and a half points, Mikey
I like the
Oh, wait, no, the under here
I'm sorry, I thought my arrow was going the wrong way
I don't know, am I up from down, Mikey?
Under.
Under
The Toronto
Maple Leafs,
Austin Matthews,
Mitch Marner.
These are names
I read in a
copy of Sports
Illustrator
on the way here
on the subway, Mikey.
95 and a half points
over will be my total, Mikey.
Dog, they got
Nylander,
Marner.
A lot of guys
whose names
end the Nia.
Over.
Finally,
the Washington Capitals
Over under 104.
I'm going to tell you right now,
Mikey.
If Alex is up
Betzkin doesn't win a Stanley Cup this year.
Get out of town.
Get right out of town, Alexovetchkin, with that.
You had, let me single tease it.
Right, eight times trying to win a Stanley Cup can't do it.
Well, you know what?
This is it.
No Stanley Cup.
No Alex DeVoskin in Washington over 104.
Dog, it's 104?
104.
Is that Bryce Hopper going to play this year?
Bryce Harper.
I'd say, I say it's 310.
35 jacks
95 ribbyes
for Bryce
dog if hopper's healthy
over
if not under
I think the question is
will the capitals
have more
points
than Walter Johnson
had strikeouts
in 1923
can you look that up
Mikey real quick
enough
on the
we're going to spare you
the Western Conference
until later
because god damn
that's taxing
that was impressive
I'm happy
the Leahy's here
to enjoy that
Always right to have Mike and the Mad Dog drop by as special guests.
It's exhausting.
So exhausting that I wish we could take a break and cook a delightful meal with our friends at Blue Apron.
Blue Apron.
Blue Apron, a long time sponsor of Puck Soup.
Folks, there's nothing like a warm, home-cooked meal on a cool autumn night.
You know what I'm saying?
That's a really erotic read.
It's a snuggle up in bed with a big old plate of meat.
Go outside and maybe snuggle on the...
My food or sex.
Luckily, for $10 a meal, Blue Apron makes it easy to create delicious season.
recipes with step-by-step instructions and pre-portion ingredients delivered right at your door.
What that means, essentially, Leahy, is that when you're cooking and they're like, put in this
much cumin, there's a little dime bag of cumin they give you. Are you still talking about sex?
A dime bag of what? You don't even have to go to the grocery store? It's the best. Like,
I enjoy, I've come to realize that as a cook, I need to have everything explained to me.
and portion for me
because I can't necessarily
taste something
and be like
that could use cumin
because you know what I would do
I pour all the fucking cumin in
because I like cumin
that's a lot of cumin your mouth
that's why I like
great waffles every day
so I appreciate that
featured upcoming meals
Blue Apron
and so always Lowe's his favorite
part of the pitch
some of the meals of Elbl
October include
cheesy chicken
and black bean enchiladas
oh yeah
with salsa Verde
that's the best salsa
that's the green one
right
because Verde Verde
Verde is green
right
Green.
Salsa Roja would be red.
Red.
It would be made by Mel Rojas.
Salta Amarillo is salsa made with an armored mammal.
Oh, yeah, yeah, exactly.
Shrimp marinara with spaghetti, spinach, and parsley, maple gravy, smothered pork chops.
I love stuff that's smothered.
My high school nickname.
Smothered.
With stewed color greens.
Smothered pork chops, fishinsky.
Sweet potatoes.
Spice cauliflower and pepper with jasmine rice and cilantro yogurt sauce.
you will love how good it feels and taste
to create incredible home-cooked meals, Blue Apron.
And as you know, folks,
you can check out this week's menu
and get $30 off your first meal
with free shipping by going to
Blue Apron.com slash puck soup.
So you've got to put puck soup in your URL
and your little finder up there.
That's blue apron.com slash puck soup,
Blue Apron, a better way to cook.
I love hearing Greg, so you'll love how good it feels.
Just without context.
Thanks, Greg.
I guess a little confident, aren't we?
I guess stop clenching is the parenthetical phrase before I say that, right?
Well, you are 40 now, so.
That's true.
I don't turn my side.
We talked about it on the show.
We talked about it.
We turned on your side.
That's great episode.
Grinand Barrett.
We should probably talk a little about Puck Daddy and other stuff real quick.
I was trying to think, Leahy, what my favorite, like, five things that ever happened to Puck Daddy were.
Obviously, we had a hand in the John Scott thing.
Obviously me.
Well, that you.
We had a hand on the John Scott thing.
Who got there first. You were Lambert. You, right?
Leahy did.
Leahy was the first person we ever hired.
Right.
I recruited him because I liked his blog, and I got mad because I thought the stuff that he was writing was better than what I was writing.
So Lambert was like the younger brother.
He was a couple years later, like two years later.
No, it wasn't like two years later.
He wasn't like two years later?
Yeah, he was another guy that was like had his own personal blog.
I'm like, this is really great.
And then I said, why don't you write a Monday column where you have to have a news item for every team?
And he's like, this sounds like an enormous amount of work when I will do it.
that would have made the right bar thing even better it would have been like if you got
blame for something he wrote because you always get blamed for something he wrote that happened
what was the thing that happened um shit oh no it was like a it was like a it was a penguin's
thing about the white house he said they were all high school educated and had brain injuries yeah yeah
yeah he wrote that and then people started to say i wrote it but um no i think the john scott
thing was something beyond my imagination as far as like it you know obviously merrick brisers
Raczynski had a part in that and Dangle had a part in that and then we wrote about it too.
And that was extraordinary.
I would say,
Dmitri's Alex Semi interview.
That was the first one that ever really hit.
For people who don't remember, because this is fucking nine years ago.
Dmitri Chesnikov was a guy who wrote for Puck Daddy who used to do translations of Russian interviews.
No one else at the time was doing this.
Sometimes he'd do it himself.
Yeah.
Dmitri would translate interviews that were done for Silvetsky Sport.
and then we would publish them,
translated,
which led into some really murky journalism territory
where a Canadian newspaper would be like,
you know,
according to Sovietsky's sport,
Ovechkin said,
I'm like,
no,
no, no, no.
If you had gotten this from Google,
translate,
where you probably would have gotten it
had we not had it on our site,
Ovechkin would have said,
is sexy, speed boat,
right?
But you got it from us,
and so you have to say,
it's,
the Dmitz translated it,
because give the man credit.
He did,
he did a,
as late he said,
they did he did face-to-face interviews with athletes too and one of them was Alex
Semin and Alex Semin called Sidney Crosby a piece of wood wood what's so special
what's so special about Crosby he's like a piece of driftwood or something like that what year was
2008 like this is this first year pretty much and it became this huge thing where like it was like
a capital insulting the penguin star and I still remember being in the locker room with
Dimitri where Sergei Federoff was on the capitals at that point and
We went over to talk to him.
And I guess Dimitri had known him a little bit.
And Fedroff fucking lit us up in the locker room.
He's just like, you know, there's a lot of people who, you know, do interviews with athletes,
and they just write complete lies and just make up stuff to get people in trouble and blah, blah, blah, blah.
I'm just like, shit.
But everything that Simmons said was true.
I mean, it's not true that Sidney Krazi is a piece of, right?
He has a personality as a piece of void, but he doesn't play like a piece of voice.
Like, hating Christensen is a piece of wood.
in all the Star Wars movies.
Right. He is.
Sidney Crosby, maybe he was like a translation thing.
Maybe he meant like Sidney Crosby was hard.
I killed the ball.
Who am it?
And the children.
I just realized my Hayden Christians in that scene is also my, my stimpy.
You're mad dog too.
All melts together.
Gee, Wren, why wouldn't you touch the red candy-like button?
You idiot.
Oh, wow.
It's Sean Lakey Chama.
A little Chihuahua impression.
Yeah.
Got my one impression out of the way.
So that was that
The John Scott thing that
I'm trying to think of what the other huge
moments for us were
Like the thing where I did the
Took a picture of the bathroom in Sochi
And then got on the front page of the Daily News
Was not Puck Daddy specific
But that was like
One of the greatest moments of my life
Despite then finding out later on
That many places in the world don't allow you to flush toilet paper
And think you put it in a trash can next to it
But it was in the media center
That was why it was crazy.
Two personal things that I always will cherish from my time of Puck Daddy.
The first is the What No Yager meme.
And for those who don't know what that is, we did a bit one year, a summer project where we had Mount Puckmore.
Spoiler, it was the Mount Rushmore for each team.
And we had people say, like, if you had to pick the four players that would best represent your franchise throughout its history, who would they be?
and most of them were very reasonable
certain points of
of controversy when you're someone like the Whalers
for example of several people that could be on the mountain
we got one about the Rangers
I forget who wrote it do you remember who wrote it
guy from Blue Shirt Bantor was it
I think that that blog and
Yamir Yager was on the New York Rangers
Mount Puckmore who I believe
at this point had been on the team for two years maybe
to be fair to the person who chose that
I mean the Rangers are the shittiest original six
franchise going so they really didn't maybe have
take you could take literally like
Brad Park and then three guys
from 94 and say that's your team
Any Giacoman or yeah you go to
you go McCorme you go Messier
Right leech so he put
He put Yager and even if it was a situation
I was hoping when he sent it in it was a situation
Where I thought he he didn't realize
What we were asking and it was like
Just pick the four best players that ever wore the uniform
In that case like if you're a devil's fan
You're gonna probably put like Peter Stasney on your in your Mount
Parker
Right or Yager
Right exactly
Why not
Maybe that's Yager's goal
is to get on every team's Mount Puckmore.
So, but it wasn't.
It was like literally him saying, no, he is
by far one of the best rangers of all time
and like deserves to be on there.
And then for the next,
however many years after that bit,
you'd still get what,
no Yager things in the comments.
And I always would smile and chuckle
when I saw that.
And the other thing I wanted to mention too,
I forget,
were you there for the Brian Campbell thing?
Were you at that All-Star game?
I was, that was, uh,
what was it, Carolina?
Yeah, it might have been Carolina, yeah.
Yeah, it was where...
I watched you speak to an angel representative
after that post went up.
Yeah.
And then all of a sudden, an hour later,
there was a Stanley C. Panther
had a little bigger in his crotch.
I think I mentioned this in the podcast before,
but it was a nude...
A picture of Brian Campbell's twig and berries.
It was...
It was...
It was like signing a jersey
and Brian Campbell standing behind him
with his twig and berries out.
It was on Getty images.
We ran it.
Did you run it covered at first?
It was covered.
Okay.
It was covered with like a...
little dot or something.
It was a Stanley C. Panther head.
Yeah, well, I mean, he's an offensive defenseman, and as you know, most of those guys have
small cranks.
That's right.
I forgot the ball of the show.
It allows them to go faster.
Right.
So.
By the way, I found them out in Puckmore.
Oh, yeah?
Who was on it for the Rangers?
Messier.
Uh-huh.
Leach and Frank Bouchet.
And then Yager.
And then Yager.
And then there's like a two-paragraph explanation for why I took Yager.
By the way, the guy who wrote his name is Jim Schmeidberg?
Schmidberg?
Yeah.
I think he was a blue shirt, Bantzerb.
Definitely blue shirt banner.
It was incredible.
But like, so the story Layhe's telling is that we had, we ran this picture of Brian Campbell
because it was funny.
And then we, uh, we then, uh, we were told by the NHL and the Panthers to make, no,
we, we, we didn't.
It was the Panthers mascot's head the whole time.
And, and I went and had several meetings with them throughout the night saying,
you have to make the Panthers head bigger on his junk.
Not take down the photo
Just make the head bigger
I would go back
I would adjust
Do Brian a favor
Make the head bigger
Wait why
We're like his dick and balls
Poked out from behind the
They found
They thought the panther's head
Was too small
I don't know
There was maybe some of the
The pubic area
Was still appearing above the panther's heads
I don't know
Maybe it was his agent calling
Being like my client's dick
Is much bigger than it's being shown
Can we at least just make the
Panther head a little bigger
So every time I go down
I talk to the NHL reps
that were there and they would be like
you gotta make the Panthers Head bigger. The Panthers Head
needs to be bigger on his junk and I'm like I'd go back upstairs
and make it bigger. They'd call me back downstairs.
The Panther said's still not big enough to cover
his junk and then finally they like
they were like they went to
Getty images and had the photo taken down
because my argument was always like if it's available to us
we're going to run it, it's on the wire.
And then I think we replaced it
with a picture of Franken Beans can
with an explanation of what happened.
That was also the All-Star game
where we were,
Wish and I were sitting in the media lounge.
I think we were getting food or whatever.
Yeah, we were getting food
waiting, I think, before the skills competition.
We were sitting by the giant
refrigerated full of water.
We're sitting there, and all of a sudden,
Harvey the Hound walks by
with, like, his handler,
opens up the fridge
and just starts chucking bottles of water
at a handler.
Had to be at least six, seven,
eight bottles to the guy.
Closes and just promptly walks away
if nothing happened.
Oh, speaking of mascots,
obviously I bury the lead.
like, I took
several pies to the face
at Center Ice during a fucking playoff game
because I picked the sharks to
upset the Kings
or the sharks to beat the Kings
and then the Kings came back from 3-0 down
and beat them. The year too early, right?
And then, yeah, I know. And then I got, I took
pies to the face from Bailey,
Bob Miller, Bob Miller, and
Will Wheaton. And they
they dressed me up in a Sharks t-shirt
and painters
coveralls and sat me
me a chair at center ice, in front of a sold-out building during the playoffs, and hit me in the
face with pies, and cut, it cut me open. Like, cut me, as they say in wrestling hard way, with one of
them pie tins. Oh, they had razor blades inside the crimp? That's hardcore. I had the razor blade
inside my shirt. He had the crimson mask going like he was Rick Flair. Yeah, and so I'm walking
off the ice, and it's like, my face is covered in cream, and there's like a trickle of blood down
the cream. It looked, it was just horrific. It looked like, it was just horrific. It looked like,
you know,
lifetime movie channels
the Ready Whip murders.
It's a weird thing
to say to somebody
that I once got my face cream
by Will Wheaton.
And Anthromo.
Yeah, and a mascot.
I know.
And a mascot.
And Bob Miller,
Hall of Famer.
That's pretty hot.
Yeah.
Good for you, buddy.
It was really great.
What was the favorite thing
you ever wrote on Buck Daddy?
One thing that I really enjoyed
was one night I was dicking around
on YouTube.
Shocker.
I came across this hockey trailer of this dude who was turning 40 and he beat
Hodgkin's disease, or Hodgkin's lymphoma, I think it's called.
You were going to be like Super Mario Brothers.
That took a turn in my mind.
I wasn't ready for it.
He had Hodgkins and lymphoma and he beat it with one life.
I mean, it was the most inspiring story ever.
His name was Eric Norton and he had a goal.
Once he beat cancer, he was turning 40, he went to learn out of ice skate and play hockey
and play in a men's league with the goal of making it to the,
The Penguin, Mariamu Fantasy Camp, that winter.
And I saw it.
I thought, that's as cool.
It was like in the middle of the summer.
Called them up, you know, real story about him.
I sent it to the Penguin.
Just, hey, just thinking, hey, this might be cool for you something you guys might want to write about.
It was like 2011.
And I got a call from Tom McMillan the next day and said, love your story, sending up.
Mario saw it.
And we're going to invite Eric to the camp for free.
We're going to bring him here.
So that September.
He actually was from Western Pennsylvania.
He lived in L.A., worked in Hollywood.
He went back to Pittsburgh that September.
They invited him for a tour of the console.
I think it was the first year console.
It was an open or second year.
Gets a tour from Dan Bosma, gets to the Penguins locker room.
Walks in straight ahead is Ray Shear with his jersey, with his name on it.
He finally tells him the news, hey, we're going to invite you to the fantasy camp.
And then that February, you know, he learned how to skate.
He was playing men's leagues in L.A.
And he participated in fantasy camp with Gary Roberts, Theo Fleury, Talkett, Mary Lemieux.
And made it happen.
All because of I couldn't sleep one night.
Layi was always sort of the, you know, the force of light and the Ian and Yang of the Puck Diety brain trust.
He would write these glorious, beautiful stories about people overcoming the odds or like just, you know, you know, the kind of shit that you'd see on like ESPN on like a Sunday morning.
And then I would write the shit that you'd see on ESPN at like Chris Connolly like in the afternoon.
He was like the good in the light
The soft focus feature
And I was like
Around the horn
Right
No no it's like
I'm picturing you like getting the budget
And it's like Sean Leahy wrote about
Chris Laetang's best friend
Who died
And how he's dedicating the season to him
And then by below it it's like
I didn't like that story
I know you did
And then below it's from Ryan Lambert
It's like here's where the Calgary flame suck ass
Well it's funny like you mentioned a budget
I mean that jokes on you
What budget
Yeah to pull the curtain back
Like
the reason it was so good, to be quite honest,
and this is just to me of them speaking to the editors out there,
is that we really had no budget.
We had no structure.
We clearly had no budget.
But I mean,
we had no written down budget during the week of the stories that we're going to do.
I had editors and people that worked above us that were always like,
hey,
you got to write down what you're going to do,
or hey,
you should participate in this conference call and let people know what you're up to.
But, like, honestly,
being limber and being able to kind of roll what the story is
and be quick and be smart about them,
was the reason the blog worked.
It wasn't because we were rating down.
Today, we're going to have this feature or that feature.
And, yeah, we had some daily features that we did,
and you could usually know when headlines was going to publish
and usually know when Jersey Fowl was going to publish.
But for the most part, it was never really planned.
No.
That's the best part.
Why look like I have a plan?
Go find something.
No, it was a schemer.
CBS.
I on hockey is a schemer.
You don't know how I got these scars.
I'm just a guy chasing stories.
I wouldn't do if I got one.
but like the other thing that that lehi and i like i think really kind of were a hive mind on
was the standards of it like he and i would trade what there were there were standards we were
but yeah we were just talking about publishing guys dick and balls on this site we have standards
well i mean like there's always going to be the dick and balls story but like i want the
and usually he'd be the one writing it as we just went over standards it's like if you're going
to put a guy's dick and balls on the set you're
You don't want to blur it.
You want to have some standards and make a something memorable.
Put a panthers head on it.
I just mean, so for example, like the story that Leahy just told about finding that thing on YouTube.
Like other sites during our run would run that video and then offer no context.
They just run it.
It's an interesting thing.
Same thing with a lot of weird shit we found on YouTube.
People still do it.
Like fucking the Her Brooks kid.
Yes.
You know, which I think we were one of the first ones to run that.
You can end up on Alan.
We, yeah, we found it and ran it.
And most importantly, which is what we took pride
And we took that extra step, you called the guy's dad.
That's what I was getting at.
Like, the standards are that at a time in which digital sports journalism had descended
into the just laziest fucking steal shit from Twitter, post the video, speculate what it could be kind of nonsense that you'd see on
bar down on TSN.
Read it down, you mean.
Reddit down.
And I read it down on TSN.
We tried to do it the right.
way. And I think people appreciated it.
Like, I think people really appreciated it taking the extra step
to call the guy or to send an email
or to find out what, even something
as simple as like a crazy highlight
from some obscure Finnish league.
Find out what the league was and who the teams were.
Like, that's such a basic tenet
of what we should do. And yet other sites
wouldn't do it and would drive me and lay fucking
bonkers. The last white nights,
you said, right? The last white nights.
In an industry that has got a lot of
white. Not many nights.
Long nights. Long nights.
Long nights.
White Knights.
Knights of the round table.
A table between two teams.
The penguins.
The Capitals.
Oh, you left the Golden Knights out of that.
The Golden Knights.
That's because I've never heard of everyone do a Vegas game yet, obviously.
Scarlet Knights, Golden Knights.
Rutgers, Vegas.
Long nights fall into Golden Knights.
Vegas Golden Knights.
A flower grows on Las Vegas Boulevard.
Flurry.
Shiano.
So it's a game between the Vegas Golden Knights and Rutgers.
I mean, they're the only nights in sports that are Central Florida's.
That's actually their Golden Knights too, aren't they?
No, the thing I was going to ask was,
Scarlet Knights, Golden Knights, Big Ten, a big night for number 10, James Neal.
I don't know if you're number 10 or not.
Will this count as a Yahoo memory since it's going to happen now that you're not at Yahoo anymore?
When you go to Columbus and get the shit kicked out of you by Columbus Blue Jackets fans for making fun of the Fifth Line.
You know what's funny about that is that during all the conversations about the Patriots,
which we haven't talked about
what we probably should at some point
they'll figure it out
The we were like
Are you gonna go and do more live shows?
And I can't tell you the number of people
From Columbus that are clearly setting a trap
Oh yeah
We can't go there
Come to Columbus here we have this bar
It's called the kill floor
It has the strongest deadbolt from the inside
That no cops could ever break down
And once we were torturing you
Soundproof windows
It's like hostile
You guys are trapped
in these dark rooms.
I'm Greg Wischinski of Yahoo.
Hey, what's that green smoke?
Where is everybody?
Why have they left the room?
We wake up tied to a chair and they force us to watch
John Tortoella press conferences.
No, no, no! Let me out!
He walks into the room with all of his dogs.
You got to watch the USA World Cup games last year.
I had you were talking about me,
Brooksie.
Then I also call Brooksie.
Ah, Brooksie, a lightly story.
We'll see how loyal a hungry dog
really is.
He just starts taking
Slapshots
As being like
You gotta learn how to block him
If you want to be a blue jacket
We'll see how
Cut you up
And feed you to my pooches
No
John
Oh god
Yeah we can't go to Columbus
We could totally go to Columbus
I'm more than willing
To go to any
Hostel territory
Like hostile territory
Or hostile
Hostile territory
I'm from Jersey
He got that cool video game bar
That we got stranded
I remember
Oh remember when Greg stranded
We literally
Just talked about
This last week
I'm not going to allow us to go on this road again with these lies.
He abandoned you.
He abandoned you as me.
Fake news.
Fake news.
There was many, many planes flying out at all times.
Remember how we didn't get home until Wednesday?
And we hung out for two days.
I went to that cap's blue jacket scheme, which was terrible.
It was a long, goddamn.
The worst part was, like, what?
So the All-Star game was Sunday, right?
And, like, Monday, my flight was, like, at 11.30.
And you knew the night before you were in trouble.
And it wasn't until, like, 10 o'clock.
You got the text from the airline.
Sorry, you live in Columbus now.
It's canceled until Wednesday.
Until Wednesday.
I've never had a situation like that ever.
You couldn't go out of a town for two days unless, of course, you rented a car.
Yeah, if only we knew someone had a car and lived in our area.
Yeah.
It's okay.
I spent quality time with Dave.
We went to the 16-bit bar.
We went to the Blue Jackets game.
Oh, we had those burgers.
Yeah, we went to, oh, with Corey, right?
Went to that good bread fruit place.
And Frank from NHL.
Frank, yeah.
It had a good time.
We made the most of it, despite our predicament.
he went home and got drunk with Tim Peel and got Tim Peel.
Oh my God, how did I forget that?
I got drunk with the referee and then it got suspended.
That's probably another one of the fucking.
Oh, yeah, that's a good puckdadi memory.
We were just at Leigham and out of just the Foley the other day.
Yeah, and we saw his signed baseball on the wall at Foley's.
But yeah, I mean, that is, that might be it.
Do you think that that's got to be like the enduring legacy of the blog,
like the night I got drunk with, only because it was so blog specific in the sense that we were running all these stories throughout the years on Tim Peel,
the continuing adventures of Tim Peel.
It was a picture of him with his arms raised, flying to the universe.
It was the best thing ever.
And, like, at some point, I think, you know, through my conversations with some people in the game that I respect, they're like, you know, you're being a little hard on the guy.
Like, everybody makes mistakes.
And I would always say, well, not on this level.
And there's a reason why he never gets invited to fucking do anything in the postseason.
But, yeah, after a while, it became apparent that, like, maybe I should ease up.
And, you know, we were talking about going to Columbus before.
One of the things I always try to do at the blog was, if you had beef with me,
or if you had a criticism of me,
as long as you weren't being unreasonable,
like personal attacky,
or kind of like misrepresenting the shit that I wrote or whatever,
I'm more than willing to engage in a dialogue.
And I was more than willing to go meet Tim Peel
and talk things through
and at least get a sense of why he's so fucking terrible.
So I'll never forget it.
I got a text from him.
It was just that night.
I was in my apartment in the city.
And I got a text from him.
And it's like, hey, it's Tim Peel.
You know, wondering if you want to go out and have a chat.
How did he get your number?
From Merrick.
Merrick gave me his, he gave him my number.
And I had heard from some people that Peel wanted to talk to me.
And so like, he texts me and he's like, I'm at this bar.
You want to come meet there.
And I knew it was fully.
So I knew at the very least it was going to be neutral territory, right?
A public setting where he couldn't, you couldn't snipe you.
Right.
I mean, I remember getting the text and turned to Ruby and being like, are there going to be linesmen outside?
They're going to like shank me near the dumpster.
after this meeting
but I went there and he was seated
at the bar and
we had this long conversation
a lot of it off the record just about the way
that refereeing works and who's the good refs
in his eyes and his bad refs in his eyes
the bad refereing apparently
how refereeing works. Being indicative of not
having any mirrors in his house
wow but then like
you know I got a better understanding
of where he was coming from and I also got a better
understanding why a lot of
the of the horrible horrific calls that
made during his games, not necessarily
were all his fault. Like, he was a veteran
referee, often paired with younger
referees. They would make mistakes, and
then everybody would point to him because he'd be the one
announcing the fuck up. No, that's not how
it works. We see who puts their arm up. We know who
calls the penalty. This is not me saying that he didn't
fuck up. He fucked up all the time. That's why they won't
let him. He can't even watch the Stanley Cup final.
No, but in his mind, in his mind, when he calls a shitty penalty,
he feels like we're mad at him because, or
when the other guy calls a shitty penalty, he thinks we're mad
at him because he's the one that skates over and announces it?
The thing about Peele, though, but the thing about Peele was that, like, it was not a shitty penalty.
The thing about Peele was, for a very long time, it was a fundamental misunderstanding of the rules.
Like, he was calling fucking goalie interference shit or not calling goalie interference shit that was elementary.
And he would just, it was like watching an umpire with a strike, like two different umpires and different nights with a different strike zone.
But it was one guy. It was very bizarre.
And thank God for replay to, you know, extract the poison of Tim Peel from all of our lives when it comes to goalie interference.
You just gave me an idea.
So you basically
shat on Tim Peel
on Puck Daddy
for how many years
would you say?
I would say it was
at least two or three years
before we sat down
and that resulted in an interview
right
so that means for the next
two or three years
we have to basically
savage Margot Rhabi
on this podcast
and then eventually
like her agent
will be like
can you just talk about this
and then boom
we get her in here
what kind of accent is that
have you even been
to Long Island
Suicide Squad
more like suicide
what rhymes with squad
Claude
Suicide, Claude
Wolf of Wall Street
More like the wolf of
God, her movie titles are so hard
To fan
Tanya, more like
I don't want to watch you
More like I don't want to
Yeah
Please come on the podcast
Marker and we'll forgive you
I'm sorry about everything
You're really famous
He's very nice to you
He's very mean I'll be nice to you
I'll show up
Yeah, there's a shock
People are just standing outside the window here
Just like staring in
You gotta put newspapers up
Hey hello mate who are you
I am the producer
I'm not a wish one
It's good to meet you
Big fan of the wolf of Wall Street
Oh god
She plays hockey
She's in an ice skating movie
It makes sense
It does
You know
It's not like we're just picking
Like famous people out
We're just there's a
It makes too much sense
But just too bad
She's a horrible actress
And never whatever
It is again
Come on we have to
This is the plan
For the record by the way
Just to tie up
Bow around the Tim Peel thing
Because I'm sure
I'll over talk about it again
The tequila shot
The infamous tequila shot
that got him suspended was his idea.
He wanted to do a shot with me.
This was after several beers.
And he wanted me to put it on social media.
Remember when he had a Twitter account for like four hours?
Four hours, yeah.
He wanted me to put it on social.
To this day, the NHL thinks that's a lie, by the way.
They don't believe that they think that because of who I was or who I am,
that I somehow tricked an idiot into posing with a tequila shot.
You got him drunk.
Yeah, right.
But no, he wanted to take a picture with the shots as sort of a goof and had me tweet
it. And then the next morning
he got a night off. The next morning, I wrote
about it and
published it the next morning
on Puck Daddy because again, he wanted
me to because he wanted to clear
the air and clear his good name, the good name
of Tim Peel. And then I wrote it
and then like roughly 15 minutes later I get
like a phone, like a text
of him being like, hey
I don't know if the NHL really
found the whimsy and what we
did last night. There's a chance. Shocking.
there's a chance I might not get to referee
and I'm like, why?
And the post-post-script to this is...
Meanwhile, he's giving you a second story to write.
Yeah, I know, I know, right, yeah.
The post-posts to this is that, you know,
the only, I will say, for the record,
the only person at the NHL that I know
maybe outright despises me as Colin Campbell.
And to his credit, he'll still give me the time of day
if we're in a scrum about, like, rules and shit.
Like, he's not, he's not Danboiling me.
And I'm Larry Brooks.
Like, he talks to you, and that's fine.
But I know he doesn't like me.
And he once gave me the quote unquote, what for,
for what must have been 45 minutes at the outdoor game in Santa Clara,
where he just accosted me on this Tim Peel shit.
And I gave him the same rundown.
I'm like, you don't understand, man.
This guy was the instigator for all of it.
Like, you think I laid a fucking honey trap for this guy,
but none of it was accurate.
Like, he's the one who wanted to do this,
to clear his name, to have some fun.
Did he know what was going to lead to him?
getting suspended for a game because
he drank the night before or like
whatever the fuck it was? No, not at all
but like it was
completely his idea to do all that
and then to give me the green light to write about
it. They thought I just wrote about it
without his permission which is nonsense
too. Well, you could have done just asked him, right?
Yeah. I mean it's not like I sent him an email
to say hey, call more penalties
on behalf of my son like that'd be pretty
nefarious. A little choke artist.
Yeah, that might cost you your job in some places.
Yeah, probably not. Just go on TSN and explain
yourself.
You just go on TSN and you continue to make seven figures through your age.
And then get bumped upstairs.
Actually, the thing that probably made the NHL mad was the evidence that he's a bad decision
maker because he had three or four beers and then was like, give me a tequila.
That shows poor judgment in my mind.
He shouldn't be refereeing games.
Beer before liquor gets it quicker.
I mean, everybody knows.
That's refereeing 101.
So, Sean, tell us about what you've been up to.
I know you can't tell us specifically what you're going to.
I've had a lot of time in my hands
the last
two and a half months
so I've seen a lot of movies
I saw stronger yesterday
with Jake Gyllenha
What's stronger?
Jeff Baumam about the
Oh the Boston
The Boston bombing
The guy who with his legs
And it was very good
It'll destroy you in the beginning
But it manages to lift you up towards the end
Is it better than the Mark Wahlberg movie
Where he plays a superhero
I didn't see it
I heard it was terrible
When he takes the tarp off the boat
And he's like
Say hello to your mother for me
And he throws a bomb in there or whatever
I didn't see baby
driver yet. I know we discussed that off air
a couple months ago, and I was supposed to see the
deciding factor, but... Just wait.
Wait till it comes out on. Maybe we'll do a poll.
Showtime or something. Everything's fine. That's a great
movie. You're going to love it. You can absolutely
love it. But you have no...
Your taste in movies is slightly
better than his. I'll give you that.
But I'm not, you know, I'm not a pop culture person.
I like what I like. No.
What does that mean you're not a pop culture person? You want a TV,
don't you? Yeah, but I can't tell you
like the third lead actor and
you know, some sitcom from
five years ago or a movie.
It was probably Ted McGinley.
Did you read the Deadspin thing about how there's too much TV now?
Like I've never identified with a writing more than that.
I do. I completely agree with it.
But it's not just that there's too much TV, there's too much good TV.
Like because of the advent of Netflix and other streaming services.
Is it good?
But sure.
Like I heard this show because it's called prestige TV.
No, but it's all good.
It's just an hour long show.
Everybody's got an opportunity to make good TV now.
There's not this like focused thing on four networks.
and because of that there's some great TV being made.
Like, for example, there's a show on Fox called The Gifted.
It's like a, it's like an X-Men.
Are you serious?
Yeah.
It's called the X-Men.
It's like an X-Men adjacent show.
But like, I already love the show Legion, which is an X-Men adjacent show on FX or wherever it is.
And I don't care to watch another one of those.
Like, I feel like I've already seen the best version of it.
Right.
I mean, like, finally, a show or a movie about young people with superpowers that society will accept.
I've never, I've never heard of that concept for a show.
We need more superhero TV's and movies.
Oh, enough.
Jesus.
There's the one with what's his name, Ramsey Bolton from Game of Thrones.
Yeah, Inhumans.
Which is a spinoff of Agent's Shield.
And it was, and that's, that's, that's, Inhumans is an amazing thing, actually, in pop culture.
Because the, Marvel doesn't own outright the rights to the proper X-Men, like Wolverine and stuff.
That, that's at, those are, those are bad superheroes.
I hate these guys.
But, like, but they, they don't own it, right?
So now they, they pumped up the Inhumans as, like, their version of.
of the mutants.
Oh,
there's still
mutants and inhumans.
They're still
regular people.
There's a,
there's a,
it's a special gene
you have inside of you
a mist
that comes of,
and you inhale the mist
and then you become a mutant
and whatever.
But like,
that's heroin.
They're trying.
Originally it was going to be a movie
and they're like,
nah,
we'll put it on TV.
And it's just dog shit.
And like,
the thing that's happened
more off than anything
with this prestige TV thing
is like,
I am more hair triggered
than any point in my life
where if I read
bad review of something. I'm like, I don't have to pay attention to this. I never give anything
a chance anymore. I live for David or like negative reviews. Not for movies. For movies. Yeah.
Like it isn't the TV. But like, yeah, I love, I love when he's savage as something I know is bad.
What would be, like, I'm on the fence about Star Trek Discovery because I'm a huge Trek fan.
Yeah. Like, I feel like I want to watch it. But like, do I need to, should I pay for it? Should I wait for it?
What would be a thing that would get you to pay?
Wait, pay for? It's on, is it on, it's on CBS, a streaming service. Oh, it's not on CBS.
Is there a thing that would make you pay something extra to what you're paying now versus
Beyond this podcast?
For network television?
I need more Kevin can wait in my life.
Let's pause on that.
There's that John Larrakett show where it's like there's young Sheldon.
That's why Bobby Moyni and left Saturday Night to go to that show.
Can you believe it?
Kevin more drunk uncle.
Kevin can wait, bought on Leah Ramany last year as his like police partner.
Yeah.
And then everybody's like, holy shit, we love this because we loved that other show that they were on.
10 years ago.
It's the same show now.
Hold on.
Did you know what they did?
They killed his wife.
They killed his wife.
And everybody's like, oh my God, how are they going to kill his wife?
Like, is it going to be a really poignant episode where they honor the performance of this great actress that she gave for a season?
And unfortunately, she's being bumped off the show for Leah Remedy.
Wait, let me try and guess.
Layer Remini hits her with her car.
No.
Even worse.
He gets a call from a, like a gym, like a gym, saying, hey, do you?
it was a letter
It was a letter
asking if his
if his now dead wife
who died between seasons
wanted to join this gym
and this is the only thing said
about the death of his wife
on the show
it's then followed with
hey don't get rid of the letter
I might want to take those judo lessons
it's a line about her dying
and a joke about his being being fat
and then that's it
they don't talk about the dead wife anymore
and then like the theme song
kicks on and like lay around these
Kevin can wait
he can wait to me to know the woman
close his wife
everything is the same like seriously
like Star Trek let me guess they
they go to they go to new galaxies and planets
and they encounter aliens it's literally called
Star Trek Discovery asshole like what the fuck do you think
they do on it? They watch Shark Week
no but that's redundant all the start
every Star Trek mission is about discovery like Star Trek
Discovery that's like James Bond secret agent
like we know what James Bond does why is discovery
that's why people really like Deep Space 9 because it wasn't
about discovery it was like they're there and then
people discover their shit like that
the mall they lived in or whatever the fuck it was.
That was actually Patrick Stewart's
nickname for his penis on the show.
Well, he made his erotic gicks.
Engage.
Hockey podcast.
We're going to get to Marion Host in a second.
But now, of course, it is time
to do the next part
of our preview.
And
good.
Later in the afternoon, everybody.
How are you today?
Christopher Mad Dog Russo, Mike Frensessa,
Megan the Mad Dog, Western Conference picks.
Mikey, the Anaheim Ducks, 106 points.
Gonna take the over here, Mikey.
I like the Ducks to go to the Cup final, Mikey, with our defense.
Under.
The Arizona Coyotes, Mikey, 75 points.
Pleasure in the desert.
What?
I'm going to pick the over on that one.
Mikey, 75.
I will say that they would probably, probably, probably get over 75 points, Mikey.
Dog.
Max Dolmy doesn't like foreigners coming into his country, apparently.
Oh, God.
Don't like that guy.
Yeah.
But I got to go over.
You know, stick to sports, everybody.
Athletes tweeting about immigration policy, you know?
The best was like, he tweets it, and he's just like, let's have a conversation.
and then I went back to his Twitter account like two hours later
and he hasn't replied to anybody.
Yeah, he hasn't replied to anybody, right.
Because the conversation was literally
everybody throwing stats at him about how
most crimes are not done by immigrants
and immigrants. The inclusion of immigrants
in your community actually bring down the
crime rates. Yes.
And he's like, let's have a conversation.
You guys talk.
Let's continue with the bit and I will go
to his Twitter timeline and see if he's actually
invited. Mikey Calgary Flames,
as you know, signing Yamir Yager this week.
95 points
I'm going to take the under
I do not believe the Calgary Flames
Even with the great
Yanni Ardiagar
One of only five hockey players I know
Are gonna make the playoffs Mikey
Dogg they got the
They got the Goodrow kid from Jersey
He's like 5'4
144 pounds
Over
Mikey the Chicago Blackhawks
Over under
100 and a half points
Let me tell you that right now, Mikey.
You do not doubt the greatness of Jonathan Toes.
Jonathan Toes is the greatest captain that this world has seen since the great Derek, Derek Jeter.
It's twos.
Not Toes.
Jonathan Toos.
That said under a hundred and a half points, Mikey.
Like half of four is two.
They're not going to make up.
Two twos.
Dog, I'm going under.
The team's got some thoroughbreds for sure.
Kind of horses you'd see it's Saratoga.
Winning porces, but I still got to go under.
Maggie, Colorado Avalanche over under 70.5 points.
Let me tell you something right now, Maggie.
It is literally impossible to get 70 and a half points.
You cannot get a half point in the National Hockey League.
Last time I checked, it's going to be the end.
Dog, can we confirm that?
Can I produce or go out and check and make sure you can't get a half a point?
No.
No?
Okay.
Over.
The Dallas Stars.
97 points, the Olerunder.
Let me tell you that right now, Mikey.
It is great, absolutely great to see Captain Kangaroo getting work at his advanced age,
the best coach of National Hockey League for my money, and an amazing humanitarian at that.
Captain Kangaroo and the stars will go north of 97 points, Mikey.
Dog, the Seguin kid's pretty good.
I like the Ben kid.
Smart player.
tall, kind of thick in the middle, like me, over.
Edmondson Oilers over under 104 points, Mikey.
You put a talent like the 9-year-old Connor McDavid on the same line as a legend like Yari
Curry.
You're going to be better than 104 points, Mikey.
Dog, dog, I think Curry retired, or maybe he's a Ranger.
I don't know if he's a Ranger.
I think he's a Ranger.
Over.
Los Angeles, Mike.
Mikey, over under 8.9 points.
You've talking, Oral Hershey's,
Kirk Gibson,
Mike Sosha,
all of the greats.
They'll be better than 98 points
and a half, Mikey.
Dog, one time I was at dinner with Bill and Pedro Guerrero.
Bill...
I was trying to figure that the fuck Bill Guerrero was.
Dog, Bill was a winner.
Pedro was a winner.
The Kings are not winners.
Under.
The Minnesota Wild, one of my favorite teams that did not have an S at the end of their names, along with the Miami Heat, and also the Miami Heat.
Over under 96.5 points, I take the over, Mikey.
Over.
Mikey, the Nashville Predators, 97.5 points.
Last year, I understand they played for the NHL championship, which tells me their quality team.
But you know you've got to be careful about, Mikey, the hot chicken.
You don't want to have too much of the hot chicken.
It will melt your brain, make your tongue flow out of your mouth.
That's why I say Nashville lower than 97.5 points, Mikey.
Dog, do they still got that pecker, pecker, pecker, pinner.
The pecker.
I like pecker.
He's good.
Solid goaltender.
Small player under.
San Jose Sharks, 96 points.
I see no way, no way, Mikey, that a team that has both Pat Falloon and Arturus Irbe could be less than 96 points, I'll take the over.
Dog, these Bay Area teams like your giants, your sharks, they're not good, under.
Maggie, St. Louis, over under 95 points, Jack Clark, John Tudor, Ty Borell.
Ozzie Smith, Vince called him.
Vince called my Cardinal, or was he red?
Dog, he was a Cardinal.
No.
Early McGee.
Over under 95 points.
I'll tell you something right now, Mikey, without the great Patrick Brugland.
What?
What was that?
Patrick Brut.
Patrick Brut.
Alex Steen.
The blues are going to be South of 95, much like Florida, my home state.
Dog Hull, Oats, Janie.
Over.
The Vancouver Canucks 73 points over under.
I'll tell you right now, Mikey.
Don't ever underestimate the power of Hendrick and Daniel Sedin, the Sadine twins.
Why gets hurt?
The other one feels pain, Mikey.
That's the way twins work.
Not twins like Kirby Bucket and Kent Herbeck and Gary Gotti.
These are different twins.
I say under 73 points, Mikey.
You dog, like the twins in Hellboy, too.
They were pale.
hair.
One got stabbed
and the other died.
Dog, I saw the movie with Bill.
Excellent performance
from Ron Perlman.
The Canucks.
Under.
Now it says here the next one
over under 68 points,
the Vegas Golden Knights.
Let me tell you some right now, Mikey.
There is absolutely no way
that a male strip review
is going to get 68 points
in the National Hockey League
it might be good for the ladies
Mikey and bachelor party's not good so good for
NHL hockey
but I'll take over 68 points
Dog and Hellboy 2
It's the golden army
Not the golden knights
Directed by Guillermo del
Grameau
Grimmel
Grimmel
Ron Pullman was in it Mikey
Dog Benicio del Toro
And he's the one who directed
Over Under 68
Gonna go over
Finally Mikey the Winnipeg Jets
the great Winnipeg Jets
from Winnipeg, Manitoba
Say it once
To say it again, Mikey
Never bet against
T-Buselotti!
The Finnish flash!
There's no way Chris Rousseau knows
The single of the greatest
Atlee from Finland
This side of Atley Hamaker
Of the San Francisco baseball giants
Over under 991 and a half points, Mikey
I say over
Dog the storyline in Hellboy 2
Not as good as the original
much the same way the
the sequel of the Jets
is not as strong as the original
under 91.5.
End seen.
I don't know why people ever want us to do that bit,
but people were like legit upset
we didn't do Mike and the Mad Dog Overrunners last week
and I had no idea why?
We totally forgot.
We totally got lost in politics.
And people were like, why didn't you do it?
I know.
Like this is a horrible bit.
Like what two replies were like,
yeah, what you guys said about,
you know, the flag and kneeling was really great.
And five replies were like,
Where the fuck is Mike and the Mad Dog?
You said at the top of the show you were going to do it.
I listened for two hours and there was nothing.
Nothing.
All right.
Sorry.
Before we get to the Marian Hosa thing,
should mention that this episode of Puck Soup,
this is a hat trick, ladies gentlemen.
In the history of the show, we've not had.
Well, this is four ads, basically.
Yeah, technically.
Ladies gentlemen, I'll leave it a goodie.
It's your friend, Seek.
Your boy is going to see Bruno Mars this week.
You know why?
Because it's Seekek.
Seekeek.
Why would Seek make me go do that?
No, C.K.
Seekek is helping me do that.
What the hell, Ckeek?
I want to watch sports.
I can watch sports at Ckeke.
You could also do the sports thing.
That's what's great about it.
There is nothing like seeing your favorite team or musician in person, and in this case, the great Bruno Mars.
Versace on the floor.
You guys are looking at me with the whitest eyes I've ever seen.
Buying tickets to sporting events and concerts can be complicated, but thankfully there's a better, a better, simpler way with Ckeek.
The seamless mobile experience of Cickeek allows you to buy and sell tickets in just two taps.
Better yet, by searching multiple ticket sites to compare price.
and grading each ticket based on value.
Seekek helps you find the best seats for the best price.
Nothing more satisfying to go on Seekek
and seeing the big green circles
that tell you that you've made a good deal.
That's what I'm talking about.
I got the Seekek app on my phone.
By far, the easiest way I found a shop for tickets.
It could be anywhere just with a few taps.
You can find seats instantly.
Here's what you've got to do, folks,
to get $20 off your first Seekek purchase.
Download the Seatkeek app to your phone.
Enter the promo code, S-O-U-P that spells soup
and get $20 off your first
Seek purchase.
That's promo code soup for $20
off your first Seeky purchase.
You're going to need it for hockey season
if you're in a city that really likes hockey.
You're going to have to find your ticket somehow.
And I'm going to tell you right now,
using the Seeky Gap and knowing the value
that you're getting
is slightly better than buying it off
some dude in a truck
in front of the arena.
Like I'm just saying,
like, as far as the user experience,
the user experience
from like an odor standpoint, it's better.
And then also, you know you're getting a good deal.
The only thing you should really buy off a truck at a sporting event or a concert is Whippets.
You shouldn't get tickets.
Whippets are fine.
Whippets not tickets.
Wippets not tickets.
There's our first T-shirt.
Tickets not Whippets.
Wippets not tickets.
So don't use drugs.
Oh, my God.
Don't use drugs.
That's a deep cut, right?
If you're only using a part of the time, something, something.
And take...
Buy it...
Oh, but was it a...
McGruff?
McGriff.
Yeah, McGriff.
McGriff.
McGriff was the baseball player.
He was a crime dog.
He was also a crime dog, though.
Yeah, a lot of baseball on this show.
It's because you're here.
Yeah, sorry.
Go Yankees.
We're transitioning from serious political and national news to baseball to hockey to...
Aaron Judge, flash in the pan or real deal.
Is he the next Kevin Moss or is he going to be the next big slugger?
No, he's the next big slugger.
Remember when, like, the world was falling apart after the All-Saur game and the Homer
and the Jervie?
I can't remember what time.
Well, the baseball world and he couldn't hit. Now, September came and he helped me win my fantasy league.
He's the MVP for the American League, right? Yeah. I agree. All right. Here's the big topic there. Everybody's talking about as you the show today. The Marion Hosa situation, the National Hockey League is allowing that Chicago Blackhawks to put Hosa on long-term injured reserve, clearing out $7.2, I'm sorry, $5.275 million in cap space.
for those who don't know, Hosa has a skin condition.
He's had it for several years.
He's been taking drugs to try to play through it or live with it in where he can't.
It's like the saddest fucking story you could possibly imagine.
Like he's one of the greatest hockey players of all time, yet his body rejects the very equipment he has to wear.
It's crazy.
So he's going on long-term injury reserve ostensibly to end his career.
I only see that because in these statements put out by the Blackhawks, Hosa and his doctor during the summer,
none of them contained the word working his way back to play.
None of them contained the word comeback.
None of them contained the phrase looking back to get Marion back on the ice.
None of it.
It was pretty clear by those statements that this is the end for him.
Where it gets a little dicey is that Marion Hose's base salary dropped from $4 million last year to $1 million this year
and will be $1 million for the next four years as part of the contract that he signed that was a clear cap circumventing backdiving contract.
but at the time was completely legal
and now the
conspiracy theory
one that I freely admit
I am the fucking Fox Mulder of
is salary drops to
a million conveniently Marion Hoseley's
leaves the national hockey league
at the time in which you would have expected
him to leave when he signed that contract
because he's not playing for a million dollars
what do you think Henry Zetterberg's thing is going to be next year
I think Henrik Zetterberg is going to play
two more he says he's going to play this year or next year
then his salary drops
Oh, I thought it dropped after this year.
It does drop, but not away to $1 million, I don't think.
I think he's freely talked about, as Alpherson talked about too, I think the notion of his contract being a sham.
And, like, the fact that, you know, when they signed it, it was a sham.
Well, he said that to the Swedish media, but when asked North American media, he kind of backtracked those comments a little bit.
That's the best part.
That's it always happens, right?
Like, Andre Pavlick's like, fuck America.
Then it comes back.
And he's like, no, I was saying, like, I think America is so hot.
I want to have sex with it.
That's just that got lost in translation.
Thomas Grice?
by the way
Wait were you thinking
to Grice or were you thinking about Pavlik?
No Pavlik
Pavlik said something
Or maybe oh no
Maybe he was Pavlik
Like he got arrested for something
In the office
DUI
Yeah
Remember we got to DUI a couple years ago?
Oh is that what it was?
This is great
It's not like he plays
In our city now or anything
We're gonna have to like walk into the locker
And be like oh hey
I just accused you of being
Anti-American and or drunk
On our podcast
Well on both of those things
So that's fine
But isn't it weird though
How all these teams
That won Stanley Cups
Between like oh not
and 15 have these clearly illegal contracts on them.
Boy, how are the Black Hawk so good?
I don't know, because they got Marion Hosa for a price that he shouldn't be at.
That's the one thing that really bothered me about the, listen.
I don't think there's anything.
My heart goes out to Hosa.
No, it doesn't.
It does.
Look at you.
My theory is that.
You're wearing a fuck Hosa t-shirt right now in this room.
I'm looking right at it.
Christ, Greg.
Be honest about it at least.
It's actually, it reads, it reads Huck Fosa.
It's really clever.
available at puck soup.com slash
merch
my heart goes out to the guy
because he has to live through this thing
it's extraordinarily painful apparently
but I just tend to believe that
isn't it only painful when he's playing though
is not painful when he's walking around
the drugs he takes to overcome it
also have really bad side effects
that's one of the reasons he's retired
well he's going on long term
whatever the fuck the point is that
his contract was structured in a way
that told you that he was not going to play this year
and he has said in his statement
that he's dealt with this ailment for several seasons.
So I don't think it's outlandish to, you know.
If he was making $4 million.
He's making $4 million.
Or in the previous year, $7 million that maybe you play through it
or have the desire to play through it more than now.
And I just, I find it to be convenient that it all happens now.
I also find it convenient that the Hawks get out of this contract.
And the thing that pissed me off about the Chicago fan reaction to this thing was this.
like they're like oh you know in no way shape or form are the blackhawks a better team without
marian hosa i'm like be that as it may they weren't a better team when they got rid of bufflin
lad browbrower campbell letty sod sharp yarmelson shaw tarra vinen they weren't a better team
when they got rid of all those people and all those people were very beloved players in one way
shape or form but they had to get rid of them because they were fucked in the salary cap so this is to me
yet another example of
yeah, they're probably not as good
without Marion Hosa, but
it's not as if this isn't Stanwoman's
fucking M.O. to when
you are under a cap crunch, to
make a beloved
player's contract disappear, even someone like
Marion Hosa. And they couldn't get rid of anybody else.
That's the other thing, too. Everybody else is a no move clause.
Well, they could have got rid of Brett Seabrook.
Brent Seabrook would have left if they would have
sounded the right place. You think so? I think so.
Maybe they tried. You didn't want to go.
point is he's still there.
Point is that you had to
figure out a way to get other guys
off the roster and this way you clear off the cap space.
And again, like, for sure,
they might not be as good without Marian Hosa,
but they sure is shit will be better
on the back end without Marion Hosa
because they can spend that money on defense
if they want to.
Yeah, but they can't spend it until next year.
It's not like they're going to be better now because...
No, they can spend it right now.
They have cap relief.
Well, yeah, but there's no one to get.
So says you.
So they're going to trade for a top four defenseman tomorrow?
Come on.
They're not better now because of it.
sure
yeah
you don't think there's a chance
they trade for a defenseman
or get a defense at some point
who's out there right now
yeah teams don't make trades
in October
but at some point
the coyotes aren't selling off their team
just yeah give them a few weeks
yeah like look at Oliver
but Marston in like April or something
or March
at some point during the season
there's not going to be the opportunity
to make a trade for a defenseman
at some point yeah
but you don't know how the season
to play out
sure but now you can do it
you couldn't do it before
with hosts on the cap
my point is that
every way, shape, or form this benefits the player, because he never intended to play this year
based on what we know about the contract, and the team, which gets cap relief. I just find it to be
way too convenient. And again, the other thing that pissed me off, too, is that saying that
does not mean that Marion Hosa is fabricating a sickness. It just means that, according to everything
that we know in all the way the arrows are pointing, it pointed to this year not being a year in
which he played, and he's not playing at it. But we kind of expected that with all those deals, right?
All those backdiving deals where, hey, drop some.
off three, four million dollars and
until the NHL's sort of that bullshit cap or capture.
Oh, yeah.
The thing is, is like, what could the NHL do?
It reminds me of when there's like a call on the ice
and then they have to review it and they review it
and you're watching it and you're like, I don't know,
maybe it was, maybe it wasn't.
We've got to go with the call on the ice.
The call on the ice is Marion Hose can't play anymore
because he has a skin disease.
Like, the NHL wasn't going to step in and be like,
no, you're faking.
Like, how would they ever, like,
what was ever going to be the result of that investigation?
Right. So it is what it is.
So in lieu of doing the mailbag, which is on the Patreon now, we're doing a question of the day.
And the question of the day, question of the week pretty much.
What are your thoughts on the Marion Hoso long-term injured reserve situation?
Andrew Tammone, who's a devil's fan, writes in, as a devil's fan who dealt with the Kovilchuk contract penalties,
I think the league allows other teams to slide on contract cheating again.
Again, I don't buy that. Like, I think that had Hosa. They have to,
do this because if HOSAD retired, they get hit
with CAP recapture. And it's
not, again, that's, to me that
statement is sort of indicating that they're ginning up a
oh, he's got rickets.
You know, or some shit.
No, he's got this disease he's dealt with for years.
He's on the org on trial last weekend.
Ricketts? Is you go to that and say,
Ricketts?
Duger 66
rights would Hosea have signed that
contract if this wasn't an option.
I think, again,
like, everybody signed those contracts because at the
time they were legal and no one could see down the road
that capric capture was going to be a thing.
You're saying that, what, 09 or 10?
Wait, so, okay, how about this?
What if Capri Capture wasn't a thing?
Think Kosa still plays for the million bucks, or no?
Or he could just retire.
Pat Clark wants to know.
And it'd be clean from both sides, right?
The Blackhawks weren't to worry about anything.
Pat Clark wants to know, I don't doubt the medical condition,
but how could he play with it last year?
Did his body have three million more of something?
I mean, that's a bit of it, again,
like all these guys were willing to play through
the rickiness of old.
old age to then get to that season
where their salary drops to a million and then stop
playing. Well, how long has he been dealing with this?
He said for the last few years. Now, granted...
So it could get worse. It could get worse. The
medication could probably exacerbate the situation.
Zombies ate my name, writes in. I believe
he has a skin condition and I also believe he'd be
playing through it if he was getting paid more.
Which I think is... I mean, yeah,
I think he would have maybe come back this year
were it not for the drop
in salary. Sure.
Sean Hunter, Blackhawks took advantage of a medical condition.
Report state continuing mids is dangerous for Hosa.
Anything else out to dispute that?
No.
But I mean also, there's been a lot of that too about like, oh, did the black, how could you say the Blackhawks would force him to do this?
Like, why wouldn't the PA get involved?
I don't think anybody's saying that.
I think he's part and parcel of this because he signed a contract that indicated that when he gets to be 39, which he is in January, he's not going to play anymore.
Here's how they could have, how they could have gotten them, ready?
Scott Bacula leaps into Marion Hose's body
and reports on the pain he feels while playing hockey
or just doing everyday things leaps out of it
and then he's the arbitrator at the contract hearing
and then he decides how bad the pain is.
I mean, I don't know why they didn't do that.
Yeah, why didn't do that?
Isabel wants to know not sure which pile of bullshit is bigger.
The contract that was designed to not be finished
or the NHL making them pull shady shit
to avoid punishment for a contract
that was legal at the time was written.
And this is the big picture.
I say it's the second thing.
It's the second thing.
Yeah, I agree with people that say that in focusing on what the Blackhawks have done,
it almost takes your eye off the puck.
By the way, by the book, it's on Amazon.com.
In the sense that it's the NHL's decision in the last CBA to make these contracts illegal
and then retroactively punish the teams that dabbled to them that make...
Anytime somebody, anybody dabbles in the dark arts of the dark arts of the dark arts of cap circumvention
or getting around rules,
it's because the NHL has established
something that's stupid.
Which is often.
Right.
And that's why Lulamuro was Lulhu for all those years
because the NHL would say,
we can't do this,
and Lou will be like,
ira, yes, I can't do it differently.
And then they're like,
well, you can't do it either.
And he's like,
ira, well, then he has another thing.
And then they just go back and forth
for fucking forever.
And no one's heard from Dan McGillor of Vladimir Malikoff.
Right, exactly.
Vladimir Malikoff,
I believe we shot into the sun at one point.
But like, I think in this case,
the big picture is the right one.
which is that the cap-recapture penalty in the CBA was horseshit.
These were legal contracts just because your dumbass board of governors didn't have a foresight to make sure they couldn't do this.
Or, excuse me, let me reverse that.
Actually, we're a party to allowing these contracts to exist because then they could keep their rosters together for longer.
And then decided, oh, we didn't realize these five guys were going to go off and do it on their own.
No, the problem is that there's only so many guys who you would give that contract to.
There's not 30 guys who you would give a cap for capture eligible contract.
But it's not even that.
It's also there's like six teams that would do it.
So then when teams are looking at the Blackhawks and the Red Wings,
who were the two biggest purveyors of these contracts with Keith and Hosa and then, you know,
Zetterberg and I think was Franz and one two.
Yeah.
They looked at those teams and like, how are we supposed to compete with these teams that are fucking cheaters?
And the teams are like, but we all agreed that we could do this.
And they're like, fuck you.
We're going to get you guys in the next fucking CBA.
And look what happened.
They got him in the next CBA.
and then the Blackhawks have to do this fucking chicanery to get around the whole thing.
I like how the Blackhawks and Red Wings just did the cap recapture stuff or not the cat
or did they just, you know, did the backsliding contracts.
And Dean Lombardi was like, oh, I'll frame them for international crimes as they cross borders.
That's how I get out of it.
And Ted Leonis is like, what?
We'll just give Alex all the money.
What, you're going to be 55 at the end of the contract?
You'll still make $9 million.
Who gives his shit?
We're selling T-shirts.
We'll just say Kobe to Russia.
It'll be fine.
We'll work our way out of it.
All right.
That's the show for this week.
I want to, we should probably mention the fact that we started
to the Patreon and thank you everybody who
subscribed to it already.
We've had a multitude of people
chime in and that's great. So the way
it works now for those who didn't know, we hear the news
at the beginning of the week. The mailbag
segments are now on the
subscription site. The subscription site's
fucking cool. A dollar a month
if you just like the show and want to
give us a dollar a month to tell us
how much you love us. For five bucks a month
you get four mailbag
episodes. You get either a top
10 list or a full movie commentary.
We've already spoiled one of the movies we're doing.
It's sudden death. One of your favorite movies.
Yeah.
Absolutely.
Probably dropped that next month.
This month we can do it on next month.
Next month probably will be a sudden death, but it's fucking great.
And then we're going to do a listener's choice podcast each month, too, where Dave and I will
wax ripsotic about, is that a word ripsotic?
Is that a word ripsotic?
Wax poetic.
Yeah.
Waps raps rhaps rhapsodic.
Yes.
Wax poetic about any, any,
topic you'd like us to talk about. So you're going to get six things a month on the
subscription site for five bucks a month, along with a chance to buy tickets to our live shows early,
along with some other really cool shit down the line. Oh yeah. I thought of a thing today.
Yeah, it's great. I hope we can do it. Spoiler warning, it's going to be gear. And then so on
and so forth. I know we weren't supposed to say that. I'm going to say it anyway. So if you like
the show, it's not a situation where we wanted to make this show like that you had to pay for it. We
wanted to keep it free because we love doing it and we want you to be able to listen to you
without having to pay for it.
But for those of you who are like, oh my God, I wish there was more Puck's Soup each week.
Now there is.
And it's really cool.
And Dave and I are super happy to be able to make more of this for you and then give it to you for a nominal fee.
A beer in the city, I think, would be less than a subscriber.
Less than a beer in the city.
I'm a subscriber.
Yeah.
You join the Patreon?
I am a Patreon.
One dude, and I want to say that it was
Jamie Sobin, I want to say, who it was.
Actually, you can like set whatever money you want to give us,
and he set his at 569.
Oh, good friend.
Nice.
Somebody dropped 20 on us.
Yeah.
And like, I couldn't believe that.
I hope that person knows that's like a monthly thing.
Yeah.
I don't want someone to like check their bill in the room and be like, wait, wait, this is again?
Someone dropped 60 bucks and they're like, wait, what do you mean I have to pay next month?
I gave you a full year.
There's no such thing, sir.
Yeah, we should actually do a $69 level for something.
I don't know what we would give.
We'd do a lot of show from their house.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, God, that'd be beautiful.
We can do the Tignitaro thing where she went to, like, people's houses and did her stand-up in front of like 20 people.
Did you ever see the documentary where she does that?
We could do that only.
Bruce Pritchard from the wrestling podcast to listen to you, when he ever he sells a t-shirt on his site, he calls somebody and has a conversation with them.
I'm just like, I often hear that I'm like, what would be the least thing in life that Lozo would ever want to do for this gig?
Yeah, like I would rather go to their house and talk to them than actually talk on the phone.
Boy, I, like, build a fence for you or something rather than talk to you.
Look, I will, I will rotate your tires.
All right.
That's Puck's it for this week.
Thanks to Sean Leahy of a place that will be soon announced, but let's rest assured he's got a gig.
Thanks to me, Greg Wichinsky, of a place that will be soon announced, and it's been really fun to see all you guys guess where it is.
I especially like the person who said, I think it's going to be the ringer, but I don't
don't know, his wife works there, and I don't know what their rules on nepotism are,
because nepotism apparently means also marriage, I guess.
I don't know.
I mean, you can...
It could, I mean, it could be that.
It could be other places that have signed mini-hockey.
Bright bars.
You know, could be anything.
You mean, whatever you got to do to get...
Are you familiar with a person named Haley Baldwin?
Who's Haley Baldwin?
She's hosting a show where celebrities' rap battle.
Oh, yeah?
That sounds.
And guess who she's related to.
Who's that?
Alec
is it on NBC
She's Billy Baldwin's kid
Oh okay
I'm guessing she does other stuff
But like it was like her and method man
And I'm like I know method man
Who are you
That's how they lure you in
Thanks thanks everybody for supporting Puck Daddy
Through the nine years
And we really appreciate me and Sean
All the kind words you've said about us
In the last few months
You got anything else to add Lozo
We got a shit ton of questions
On the Patreon
So we're gonna have to like satisfy a lot of mailbag
Coming up on Patreon
Go check it out
Subscribe now
Patreon.com slash Puck Soup
and we'll talk to you next week.
We got some cool guests coming up, by the way.
Just spoiler warning on that.
After me.
Comic-Con and other things.
Vegas, baby.
Yeah, there you go.
All right, thanks to everybody.
We'll talk to you soon.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got spoiledly commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's and tools.
It's your weekly bowl of hoggy and nonsense.
Part two.
