Puck Soup - Seann William Scott
Episode Date: March 9, 2017Seann William Scott, the titular goon of "GOON: LAST OF THE ENFORCERS" joins us to talk about making a hockey cult classic, his career, the live experience of hockey vs. other sports and whether Eugen...e Levy is the Nick Fury of AMERICAN PIE movies. Plus, Greg and Dave address vital hockey issues like the NHL offside review, the expansion draft, the future of the Arizona Coyotes, bye weeks, Josh Ho-Sang wearing Mario's number and much more. They sing a song about Kristers Gudlevskis. Then they air their love and gripes about LOGAN and read your listener mail. Brought to you by Seat Geek and Blue Apron!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seekkeek, the smartest way to find hockey tickets this and any season.
Folks, it's almost the playoffs.
You know what that means?
A lot of bandwagoners finding their way to tickets.
A lot of scalpers scalping up the tickets before you can buy them.
So you need to depend on a place like Seatkeek.
It's never been easier to get the guaranteed seeds you want for a great value.
I've got the Seekek app on my phone.
By far, it's the easiest way I've found to buy hockey tickets, concert tickets.
baseball tickets when the Metropolitan's come back.
I can be anywhere, and just with a few taps, I can instantly find seats for the games that I want to see.
And they always get you the best deal on every ticket, because Seekek price compares for you by searching multiple ticket sites.
And they can vary depending on where you shop, but Seekek will always find you the lowest available price.
Plus, every ticket you buy on Seekek is backed by their 100% guarantee.
So you can shop for tickets on Seekek with confidence.
Not so much that guy in that beaten up shedding.
outside the arena, calling you over to his window, like a creep at the park.
You seek-keek instead.
Best of all, Puck Soup listeners can get a $20 rebate off their first Seek
purchase.
Here's what you need to do.
Download the Seekek app.
Go to the Settings tab.
Click Add a promo code.
Enter the promo code, S-O-U-P.
That spells soup.
And Seek-E-E-C-E-G will send you $20 as you'd made your first purchase.
Download the Seek-Gap, Settings tab.
Add a promo code.
S-O-U-P.
Soup.
and seek equal sending you $20 after you made your first ticket purchase.
We love it when people use this product and get the rebate and send us photos of them at the game.
It warms our hearts and it also tells us that CKeekeek's doing something right.
Download the CKKKK app today.
Enter the promo code soup and enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got.
The commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Pucketty blog.
I'm Dave Lozo.
Where are you from, Dave?
People need to know.
I grew up in Harrison, New Jersey, which is a Hudson County town nestled between Norfolk and Jersey City.
If you listen close
So you can hear the Ken Burns
String Quartet
Playing underneath it for this documentary
Moved to Carnie at some point
Attended Rutgers University
Circus people
Cornies
Brunswick and Piscataway
From there
I lived in Linhurst for a little bit
West Patterson as well
Now I currently live in Hoboken
And I commute to and from here for work
In West Patterson
Born and raised on the Playground
is where I spend most of my days
True story
Up until the Arby's commercial
I thought the lyrics of that song were
It was Philadelphia.
I thought he was setting the scene of where he was.
It was Philadelphia, born and raised.
It makes sense, though.
It was Philadelphia.
On thy playground is where I spent most of mine days.
And I'm sitting there, I'm like, Ving Rames.
What an idiot this guy is.
He doesn't even know the words to the song and the commercial.
And then I like Google Fresh Prince lyrics, and I'm like,
Oh!
It was...
My favorite misheard lyric of all time was my friend
my friend Andy Stanger
he met at
Andrew W. Stanger
Yeah at various functions
He the
The Brothole
The ACDC song Dirty Deeds
Legit
Legit
Thought it was
Dirty Deeds
Thunder Sheep
Because I guess
Australia maybe
I mean
Thunder Sheep
Are actually what Thor
Tends to
In the off
Off times.
Right, because he's an Aussie.
Right.
Thunder sheep.
No, because he's Thunder.
He's a god of...
Well, he's also Australian.
I mean, like Chris Emsworth is.
Well, they're two different people.
No, I don't think so.
I'm sorry.
Honestly, do you ever look at Chris Evans and not think that he's actually just Captain America, like IRL?
No, of course not.
He's the guy from not another teen movie.
He's who wants to make Janie breaks pretty.
Oh, and you're going to tell me that Robert Downey Jr. is what, Sherlock Holmes to you and not Tony Stark?
No, he's the best friend in back to school.
Oh, that's right. He told he is that guy from that movie where not Ray.
What was the one that he did where the guy was homeless and it was a lot of...
What was it called the soloist?
Where Jamie Fox is the homeless guy with the stuff and he plays the thing.
And then, right, and then he becomes warm machine.
Wait, oh, I'm confusing. Oh, that was really racist.
That's Don Cheadle. Don Cheadle. No, that's, that's, that's, that's Boogie Nights where he becomes, he's actually sex machine.
Oh, no, he doesn't. Actually, he sells electronic machines.
Right. He does.
the THX 1138s.
Yeah.
Right.
I love those scenes.
The NHL GMs are meeting in Boka,
which, by the way, is still a soprano's reference that makes me giggle.
And the thing that has really gotten the goat of my friend Dave Lozo is something that I thought was well established, but he's sad about it.
The NHL discussed with the general managers whether or not they would reveal their protected lists ahead of the expansion draft.
and the general manager said they won't.
Now, I don't think that was known.
The internet was way too mad about it today
for it to have been a secret up until now.
It was known that the, first of all,
the NHL wasn't going to,
there are factions within the NHL
that would like them to make a bigger deal
out of the expansion draft than they are.
They wanted to be an event,
put it on pay-per-view, like that whole thing.
Like, divergent?
There's like the divergent people,
and then there's the whatever other people.
I think it's more like,
the Hunger Games where certain people get called to go to Vegas.
And so, like, you know, the Rangers are like, like, fucking, fucking who, like, Kevin, like,
who would be sweating it out of the Rangers?
Yeah, that's a good question.
Yeah.
Who would be sweating it out on the Rangers?
Not J.T. Miller.
Let's say Kevin Klein.
I think he's a free agent, but we'll just use him?
No, he's not a free agent.
He's signed for like two more years.
So Kevin Klein is sweating it out, and then Tanner last steps up and says, I nominate myself as
I just wanted to get to the end of the joke.
There you go. Now, I think the basis...
So I thought everybody knew that this wasn't going to be a situation
where they were going to, like, put in a press release all of the protected lists.
Why wouldn't they? Why?
Because the GMs don't want it to be public knowledge.
Why?
Who they protected and who they didn't because they're managing egos.
But the players know, right?
You tell the players in advance.
You don't make it a surprise when they get drafted on the 21st.
You tell them on the 17th, like, hey, Bobby, I'm...
you're going to be out there, you're exposed.
Yeah, but there's a...
So who cares if anybody else does?
Because there's a billion things that happen within the confines of a locker room or the confines of a conference room that aren't privy to the media or privy to fans making memes.
Joe Pobelski's dick is not the same thing as whether or not Yonik Hansen's protected.
Come on.
I mean, Mike Fisher's a good Christian boy.
We don't need a thousand fucking crying Mike Fisher memes, you know, when he gets drafted.
But they're still going to be.
Like, if you get plucked and you go,
Like, you're still going to...
Like, what other sports league puts so much thought into their decisions based on what will make players sad?
Like, man, everybody loves the fantasy draft at the All-Star game.
But it makes them sad when they're the...
All right, we'll get rid of it.
What about the breakaway challenge?
Let's get rid of that, too.
Okay, but those are two things that came from the players, so you wonder whether this is the same thing.
Either way.
The players are the ones that don't like to feel sad.
The players are the ones that don't like to have to be out of their comfort zones.
It's entirely possible.
The players in the NHLPA...
Go do something.
for a living.
Lean down the GMs and said,
we don't want this information to be public.
Now, here's the thing.
Go fucking dig a ditch in Manitoba if you don't want to be on an expose list for three days.
Christ.
Here's the thing.
It's all going to be out there.
All the lists are going to be out there.
I don't know.
Like,
I feel like this is one of those things where, like, guys won't want to,
because, like, think about it,
like, player agents won't want to expose,
let people know their guys out there.
Like, guys who make their living on information
aren't going to want to betray the trust of the NHL
and players and teams all at once with this.
I don't know how much is going to leak out.
between like the 17th and the 21st.
I hope it all does.
If we're talking 30 teams,
I think 22 lists will be leaked.
But even still,
like, that's still not the same thing.
Like, for three days,
like fans in Vegas should be able to, like,
do mock drafts and, like,
imagine who they can get.
Like, should we get this guy?
What happens if we take?
Like, you should be able to have that experience
as a new fan to a new team.
Just for that alone.
I can, listen, I agree.
And I would like to make content in June.
That's easy.
We're in complete agreement
that the information should be public.
Because the expansion draft is a really fun thing.
It's a way to get people sised and hype for Vegas.
It's a thing that should be an event.
Like, you know, do it the day before the draft.
Have everybody show up at the draft,
and then before we actually have the NHL draft,
do the fantasy draft the day before.
Have all the GMs there, but you're going to be there.
You have the room, assuming that they actually could get the room the day before they have to,
because it's set up everything.
So, like, just do it then.
But even then, I don't even care if.
like that's an event where like Bill Foley goes up to the stage and it's like with the first
pick, we select Jimmy Howard.
Like I just want the, I want the fun three days in the middle of June where you can
speculate on who's going to go to that team.
That's the fun part.
That's the part that like people love.
And it's not like, I mean, they can send a press release out on the 21st for all I care.
It's the three days before, which should be fun for everybody.
Like if you're a fan in Vegas, like you don't want to find out who your team is via like
some stupid like NHL memo that like, you know, Chris Johnson's going to script.
screenshot and tweet like one in the afternoon in the middle of your summer.
You want to get jacked up for that for those three days.
It's like mock drafts right now for the NFL.
I'm pumped for the Giants.
Like, who are they going to take?
You know who legitimately is the guy that doesn't want those lists to come out?
Don Fear?
George McPhee.
Why?
Because he's going to get shit for taking guys.
Because he's going to get shit for not picking the right guy from each roster.
That's the bottom line.
Again, boo fucking who.
Go do a different job for them.
I'm tired of hearing about how fucking RGM's jobs are.
But again, all those lists will probably come out after the fact, too.
Like it's gonna be known
But then it's like
But that's even worse to like put it out
Like to me that's almost like putting him out after
It's like second guessing George McFew
Like look at this guy in Tampa he didn't take
Oh
Just like you put it out in advance
Like you start building teams
And also you can probably like
Soften the blow for how bad the team's gonna be in Vegas
If you know two days in advance
Like you're looking at this team
And you're just like
How many third line guys are we gonna have on this team?
Oh my God
And this way and this way
You get less heat as a GM
Because you can see the pool he's picking from
isn't as good as maybe you think it is because you don't know what it is for sure.
Boom, checkmate.
I win this.
Yes, you win this argument against the-
the NHL straw man you've built because we're sort of an agreement.
Take that, Greg.
Yeah, whatever.
No, it's...
Yeah.
There's no argument for hiding it.
There's none.
The feelings of the players...
It's very Trumpian.
It's not Trumpian.
Controlling the information is what they want to do.
Yeah.
Any list that comes out will be fake news.
Yep.
Gary Betman will be out there like Sean Spicer mumbling players' names that he gets wrong.
Yeah, there you go.
I love it.
And then during the press conference leading up the expansion draft, they'll Skype in people that are really happy the lists aren't.
Jim McGoo from NHLPA.net.
Hey, this is John Anderson from the players.
Tribune. I just want to say
we really support the idea of not making
the players feel horrible about themselves by
being expansion draft.
Hey, John Anderson, Players
Tribune, I wrote a letter to my younger self
telling him what a great idea it was to not
reveal this.
Can you talk about that, please?
This league is so dumb.
It's the dumbest league ever.
John Anderson from the Players
Tribune, I once had rickets
and I'm going to write a five
Okay, I'm going to tell a writer of 5,000-word story about my battle with Ricketts.
And he's going to boil it down to like 2000.
And you're going to wonder why it was even that long.
John Anderson for the latest tribune, don't get me wrong, because as you know,
don't get me wrong is a line in every story we've ever written as a transitional phrase.
But I'm really happy the expansion draft list aren't at Park made public.
Hey, Mikey Smith here from Bartbright.com.
I want to tell you what a great job you're doing by not revealing.
any information ever to the fans that they want to know.
Can you talk about this Vladislav Namestan Gavre guy that's going to be available?
Sean Spicer chewing all that gum.
You know what?
What's your favorite dipping dot, Gary?
Got something else you could chew on.
What do you got?
It's from our friends from Blue Apron.
Now here's the thing about Blue Apron.
Incredible home cooking has never been more attainable thanks to our friends Blue Apron.
If you've not done the Blue Apron thing, it's really the best because, as you know, Lozo and I are very busy individuals.
Just absolutely. It's very important to be a thing.
Getting to the supermarket could be a hassle.
And then once you get to the supermarket, guess what you end up doing?
Overpurchasing things on the chance that you may cook something.
But mostly, you're just going to eat pizza at 2 in the morning because you're covering Rangers blue jackets on a Tuesday night and you don't have time to cook.
Don't live like this.
Get a job at the different end.
I'm telling you.
But for less than $10 a meal, Blue Apron delivers easy to follow seasonal recipes along with
pre-portioned ingredients right to your door.
That's the key.
They give you what you need to cook and then you cook it.
And guess what?
It's delicious and it's super healthy.
No more overspending at high-end grocery stores or restaurants of Blue Apron.
You can prepare delicious memorable meals for yourself in under 40 minutes.
Some of the meals available in March.
This is your favorite part of the pitch, buddy.
I love it.
What are we cooking this week?
Salmon Piccada with Orzo and broccoli.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
Pork chops with miso butter with bok choy, one of my favorite ingredients and marinated apple.
Vegetable chili and baked sweet potatoes with crispy tortilla strips.
Ooh.
And this is fantastic.
This is something I would order a millisecond in a restaurant.
Spicy shrimp coconut curry with cabbage and rice.
Ooh, coconut's a little dicey for me, but I would probably still eat it because I'm a garage.
You could probably leave the coconut out and just have a spicy shrimp curry.
That's the best part about it.
I'm cooking for myself.
I can put in whatever I want.
Yeah, you can see the steps.
If things you like, put it in.
I like the part where they tell you about the spiciness and the meal, and they're like,
if you don't want to be super spicy, you only put in half of this hot stuff.
But then I put in, like, all the hot stuff and then some of my own hot stuff.
Check out this week's menu and get your first three meals free with free shipping by going to
blue apron.com slash puck soup.
Again, blue apron.
com slash puck soup.
You will love how good it feels, tastes to create incredible home-cooked meals of Blue Apron.
That's blue apron.com slash puck soup.
Three meals free with free shipping.
Do check it out.
I fully endorse this whole thing of getting portion food to cook at home.
Blue Apron, a better way to cook.
Now, you encouraged our listeners to purchase Blue Apron,
and what was the wager that you made with them?
So some devag on Twitter was yelling at me and you
because we have sponsors and we read ads.
And so for like two minutes out of two hours,
you have to kind of, you know,
part of any sort of really entertainment product in the world today.
There's going to be commercials.
Yeah, but I mean, you take those commercials
on top of the subscription fees that we charge for this podcast,
and it's really asking a lot.
We're burning a hole in the listener's pockets.
So I just said, all right, look,
anybody that wants to sign up for Blue Apron,
show me that you signed up,
and give me a player's name,
and much like with Ryan Johansson and Joey,
we will come up with a song for whatever player you want.
And so the person on Twitter, her name is Aunt Shalupa.
I don't know what her actual handle is.
Like, Antalupa is like her name.
And she's a Tampere lightning fan.
Narnia Lumpia.
Oh, my God.
Actually, I probably could have just picked that song.
Yeah, you should have.
That's an easy one.
But she picked Krister's Gulevskis.
Latvian Goli.
Latvian backup goalie.
She wants a song about him.
So, as a man of my word, she signed up.
And I spent the morning today trying to figure out a really good song that would go with his name.
It's a tough name.
She made it a challenge
Yeah, she did
It's like having a player named Banana
What rhymes with Banana?
Right, right
Orange You Glad I didn't say Banana
Wow
Now I'm doing a podcast
With my seven-year-old daughter
Ladies Gentlemen
I want chicken fingers
That's what kids eat right
Say too
So if you want to join in on this
You're more than welcome to participate
I mean I didn't promise you
But you're you're happy to grab three
There's three
Three verses here from the song we picked
And once we start playing the song
you're going to know the song we pick for Christers.
So you want me to pick up a verse?
Yeah, you want to pick up the second verse?
I'll pick up the second verse because it doesn't require me to actually say any of the guy's name.
All right, here we go.
For Christers.
To the tune of Famous for the NHL Pat Moynihan?
Stan Boyle is his name.
He's Dan Boyle.
Hay Soul Sister by Train.
You're not doing the hay haze?
Kind of bullshit karaoke?
is this.
Hey, hazer for him.
Ben Bishop strains
on the right side of his
groin membranes.
I knew they
wouldn't forget you, and so
they went and let you
back up Vasi.
Uh-huh.
You beat one team.
It was
Columbus in 2014.
I knew
When Ben was
Traded
You're the one who would be
Aided by Ben's
Goodbye
Jesus Christ
Hey, soul
Christers
Ain't that Christers
Christers on the bench
Backing up the way you move
Ain't fair, you know
Hey soul Christers
I don't want to miss a
single thing you do
Oh nice
My favorite thing about you singing
Is that there's a good thing? Yeah, it feels like maybe
When you sing it sounds like you swallowed a full potato
And you're trying to use your voice to like force it out of your windpipe
It's hard to really pinpoint what my inspiration or influence is when it comes to my singing voice
But I think it's like someone being maimed by Jack the Ripper in an hour
In Hollywood in England.
Time after time.
If you fall, I will catch you.
That's a great movie.
I hope that TV shows as good as the movie.
The movie is fantastic.
Other things GMs talked about.
No offside review changes in season.
I applaud that too.
I don't like them changing that rule in season just because some shit happened like three times
that they're like, oh, if his skate was hovering over that, you know, who gives
this shit?
Just change it in the off season.
Or just get rid of either get rid of offside, which I believe is the proper thing to do
at this point.
Just fucking.
And why? Why? What's all these rules, bro?
First of all, there shouldn't be any offside in three on three. Let's agree on that. Let's start at that starting point. That there shouldn't be any offside in three on three. Yeah, because, like, guys, like, there's one thing I noticed this year is, like teams way off and now recoil. Like, what sort of is own?
Yeah, this is stupid. We're going to go back out to you. It's idiot. But the idea of there not be any offside has been, we've talked about it a little bit on this podcast. I kind of get excited by the idea. And by that I mean, I'm actually turgid.
that you could have a player who is sort of like cherry picking back at the red line.
Right.
And I'm excited to see what that does to defensive systems.
Like how do you go about, you know, is that going to create?
Would teams create a disadvantage for themselves in the defensive zone just to have that guy?
Yeah.
If you have a Carl Hagelin on your team or a Michael Grabner on your team and you can hit him and he's gone, right?
Or not even like, you don't even need a fast guy if you do that.
If he's parked at the other blue line, you could have just like some, you could have like T.J. O'Shee.
And she'd be like, go score on a breakaway. We win.
Oh, so you're saying you'd have a shootout specialist.
Yeah.
That's a bad.
Yeah, great point.
Like, Taves or whoever.
I'm excited to see, like, you know, if you're the best penalty-killing team in the league,
like, wouldn't you just put your guy, your best shootout guy out there at the red line and that's your configuration?
Just, like, play three on two.
Like, stack your two guys covering the three guys, like, on a line and then, like, flesh out a little bit to the sides.
I'm all about opening up the game in a weird way right now.
Like, if I'm much more interested in that than the subtle painting around the corners of, like, let's put yoga pants on Henrik Lindquist and see the outline of his God.
I'm sorry, I said too much.
Well, I mean, to be fair, that is going to bring in more viewers to the score.
And that is the bottom line.
So that's okay if they want to do that.
No, but I like that they, I like that, like the offside review.
Everyone gets mad about it.
And I saw the average time on them is two minutes.
I hate it.
I just, it's, you have to have it.
Why?
because you can't
do you like when they call offside
when a guy's offside?
I think that offside
for many, many moons
was much like
every other call
that gets fucked up by these guys
and I know that you're going to say
that something like high sticking or tripping
is subjective at the end of the day
and then this one's a little bit more black and white
but I know when hockey
they just they fuck up things sometimes
and that's just how it is
and I was okay with this being
on the fucked up list.
So you don't want like robot robot?
No.
No, I like human error.
Human error.
That's insane.
That's an insane statement.
No, it's not insane because human error.
So when you go to have surgery, like you don't want to have computers in there.
Just have a doctor just like guessing where everything is.
Now, okay, when you program the 10 P.O.5,000, will it be programmed to call?
You don't have the program interference?
You have other stuff around that can, first of all, well, I mean, you can't review for that.
No, but I'm saying that like, a blown off side call can sometimes lead to a score.
opportunity and I don't like the idea
that in a league this offensively challenged
taking goals off the board. Who gives a shit
if it was outside? Then why don't we get rid of all the rules so we have more
scoring? Just get rid of everything. No, it doesn't
have to, listen. Veyfer Vendetta. Take off the mask for a second
and understand that I'm not asking
for anarchy. I'm simply just saying that
you don't want upside to exist anymore.
Which is fine. If you want to
get rid of it, that's fine.
I don't care of it. That's fine. I'm saying
that if we have it, having it
the pantheon of
shit they sometimes don't get right is okay
with me. Goalie interference is different.
Goalie interference is horse shit.
What do you mean? And because of...
Like calling it or the actual act of it?
No, the act of it.
And I like the idea that you can review it
because there's a lot going on around the crease
and sometimes you don't see everything.
Like, I get that.
But a blown off side call to me is okay.
I'm never going to...
I would rather have the blown off side call
and all of us being like,
I can't believe that dude who stole the puck from the bull
Blackhawks also got this offside call wrong in the cup final.
I would rather have that than what we're going to eventually have, which is,
The Penguins win the Stanley Cup!
The Penguins win the Stanley Cup!
Hold on a second.
You sound like Patrick O'Sullivan right now.
Hold on a second.
This dude's skating over into the thing, and he's looking on his Nintendo DS, and it may not be a thing.
So if Patrick Kane was offside against the Flyers, you would have been like too bad.
He already scored.
It doesn't matter.
Yes.
You're insane.
I would say that's a blown call, much like a missed interference.
A mis-pick play, a missed holding call, a mistripping call.
All of it leads to offensive opportunities.
It all happens, and I don't care if offside is part of that.
So you're so desperate for goals that you're like a dirty cop where you're going to turn a blind eye to crime.
Yes.
In order for the bottom line to be better.
King Kong ain't got nothing on me.
So like I'm Ethan Hawk of the car.
You're trying to get me all high so you can go do crimes and then blame them on me.
I would prefer to think of myself as Andy Sippe.
A guy who skirts the law to ultimately find justice.
Here's the middle ground.
And you're David Caruso.
You're someone who will leave this podcast for green your pastures one day and never be heard from again until you're on CSIMA.
Yeah, no.
I'm a failed movie career and I'll come back and do 10 seasons to CSI Miami.
Hey, I'm Dave Lozo of the Jade Minute.
It looks like this goal was off-size.
Yeah!
No, here's the middle ground.
I like how my T.J. Miller is screaming.
is also my CSI Miami.
In Toronto, they review all the goals.
They certainly do.
All they got to do is just say, hey, why you're reviewing that goal?
Hey, Sol Cryster.
Why don't you just check for offside as well?
Like, don't leave it on, don't let a coach challenge for it.
Like, if you're watching that game and the goal gets scored, wide it back, make sure the zone entry was clean, and then move forward.
If it wasn't, and then...
Can we explore your robot thing a little bit?
bit. So you want robots
to rule off side
on side, green light, red light on the blue
line. Is that what you want?
What do you mean? No, for like for
reviews then they have the camera there.
No, but when you say you want a robot to make sure
that we always get the call right? Do you mean that like...
No, I didn't say I want a robot to always get the call right.
Where did the fuck the robot? When did robots come
into this? Because you said you like human error.
Right. No one likes human error.
No, everybody gets mad at error. No.
Yeah, but that's part of sports.
What was, wasn't there a mess game?
Hold on.
There was a Mets game with a fair foul ball
down the left field line once that screwed something up
for the Mets.
Like a no-hitter.
Yeah, it happens.
Come on.
It shouldn't.
You don't have to.
It's 2017.
Do you want a robot ump to judge the strike zone?
Yes.
See, that's insane.
You like tennis.
They do the robot thing for the in and out there.
That's great.
But that's to me like goalie interference.
No, it's not.
Yeah.
It's a line call.
I'm sorry.
That's a goal review.
It's a goal review is great.
Reviewing some shit that happened
fucking 40 seconds before the goal?
Oh.
It's stupid.
Okay, so in football,
guy drops back to throw, three-step drop, throws to his left.
Yeah, defensive player breathes on him, gets a 15-yard penalty.
Oh, sorry, I thought we were talking about some else.
Misses the guy completely.
Just a quick throw, throws a throw in complete.
But over on the other side of the field,
the DB grabs the other receiver by the face mask real quickly.
Yeah.
They call five-yard penalty, automatic first down,
even though that had nothing to do with the play,
it was an illegal thing that they wanted to fix and change.
I don't understand what your point is.
The point is that even, it's an illegal thing.
thing that led to it led to something happening.
Just because it happened somewhere else beforehand
and wasn't related to the goal that happened 20 seconds
later. That goal that happened 20 seconds later
should not have happened because of the offside
that happened. So when do we review interference?
What do you mean?
I mean
the offside calls that
lead to goals are dwarfed
by the pick plays
and other things that lead to goals.
So if the ultimate, if the ultimate
goal is to
make sure, but they're not.
because there's a rulebook that specifically states what the penalty is, and it's not subjective.
The only subjective is, what time is it in the game, and is this team down a goal?
Because if the fucking rulebook tells you exactly what a penalty is.
Right.
Well, then you are on board with my robot referee thing.
But I think that's horrible.
I think it's horrible.
A, it's horrible because it'll be a five-hour game, and B, it's horrible because...
Oh, the length of a game.
It's like the 80s with NFL replay here.
And then the other thing, like two hours and nine minutes to two hours and four minutes.
The other thing that's horrible about it.
The other thing is horrible about it
is that it leads to fun things.
You wanted to pry fun.
You wanted to pride people of joy
by your bullshit strict construction
of the rulebook.
On the contrary, let's say
it's a Caps Rangers game.
Caps enter the zone illegally.
Cycle the puck around for two minutes.
Goal.
They review it.
He's offside.
You know what the fans get?
Two extra free minutes of hockey
when they rewind the clock back.
Right.
No further questions, Your Honor.
That's right.
That's extra.
time.
Doing the blackjack hand clap.
That's right.
No, that's what people love.
People love extra time.
People love the little counter on the screen on a soccer match,
knowing that nothing will fucking happen in those two minutes.
Oh, my God.
You are such an 80s kid, man.
We're like, you don't want, like, awful, like, bad calls in sports reverse because of human error.
I look forward to that BuzzFeed article where they're like, you know you're an 80s kid,
and then question one is this debate.
So, like, if James White was down on that play in overtime before he got in the end zone,
and they brought out the trophy and everything, and they reviewed it, and they were like,
oh, he's down.
You'd be like, well, too bad.
human error touchdown Patriots win
But that's
But that's not offside though
They review
They review scoring plays
This is just
This is a nut
This is like
This is like fucking step seven
Of a scoring play you want reviewed
Not step step one
Which is the goal
It's not always like that
Like sometimes it's like a 45 second cycle
It leads to a goal
Sometimes it's just
It's bang bang
It's an illegal entry
And four seconds later you got a goal
Why would you not want that overturned?
That goal should not happen
It's like, I legitimately hate you right now.
That's fair.
You know who I don't hate?
Who don't you hate?
Our guest, Sean William Scott, who of course, you remember as the titular goon in the movie Goon.
And then he's also the titular goon in the movie Goon last of the enforcers, which actually debuts in Canada on St. Patrick's Day, but isn't coming here for a bit in the States.
I think it's going to be here.
I don't know if it's going to be a VOD thing or if it's going to be a theater's thing or whatever.
Better get here, Jay.
But I saw, I interviewed Stifler in Canada.
and saw the flick, and I'll say this about the flick.
It's a good sequel, and if you like the characters from Goon,
and you're really going to like this movie.
Because the whole point of it is Jay Barashel told me,
a future Puck's Soup guest, Jay Baruchel told me.
Yeah, so it says.
The whole point is that, like,
they felt like the stories of these characters weren't done yet in one movie.
They feel like they found their stride just as they were, like, done filming.
A Goon.
And I agree.
Like, there's a lot more for these characters to do and say, and once you get back in that locker room and you see the two weirdo Russians and you see the French goalie getting the two questions, the guy who's like, do you have any percassette and don't touch my burqa set?
That guy.
Like, when you see those guys again, you're like, oh, this is great.
I love this stuff.
How much is Liam Shriver in it?
He's in it a bit.
He plays, he's not simply just...
Like, I was worried he would just show up and train box.
I felt that way, too, but it doesn't end up being that way.
And the other great thing about both Goon movies, and this one, you know, Jay wrote both,
and then Jay also directed this one, and he did a really good sequel.
He didn't direct the first one?
No.
Did he direct the first one?
I thought he might have.
All right, if he directed both, then he's fantastic.
But he, the great thing about it is that it does reward you as a hockey fan.
Like, they're not only just funny movies, but, like, they reward you as a hockey fan.
So in the first one, Xavier LaFlem, the main, like, scorer on the team,
you're like, oh, so how much, what percentage of this, of this amazingly talented offensive guy who's a fuck up off the ice is Mike Robero?
And how much of it is Jose Theodore, knowing that Jay wrote it and he's a Habs fan.
Like, you're playing Spot the Reference.
And then this one...
And also, why is he still in the A.HL at this point?
I thought he was good.
And this one, you get TSN humor, you get lockout humor, you get a knock on the Quebec Goon League,
and you also have, much to my joy,
an Ilya Brigoloff proxy.
And I'm going to spoil this movie for everybody,
but the pivotal scene at the end,
the team wins on an offside review.
Oh, Jesus Christ.
When LaFlemm is initially scored,
or the other team scores the tie in gold,
and they hold up for like seven minutes.
You sit in the theater and you just watch replays.
And all the fans, they stand up in unison,
and they just start doing the slow clap,
because they're like, thank God,
the offside review saved hockey,
or else we would have had immediate joy
rather than
the worst part of the upside review is the arena
at MSG at least never shows the right fucking
replay. They never know
they're always showing the wrong thing all the time
that's why fans hate it because no one knows
Well I mean it's tough at MSG because instead of the
Offside Review they have to let you know
that the 14th most famous person for the
Sopranos is watching the game that night
Ansel Albert is here again
You know that guy
You know the guy from that thing
We just showed that clip from that movie your teenage son loves to...
The greatest thing ever about being an MSG with Lozo is that while they're doing all that shit,
like, everybody's just like, oh, why are they showing this kind of the Jumbotron?
And me and him were like, future guest, future guests.
Google that person's name and publicist and see what comes up.
Nothing again.
Come on Margot, we need an infomercial on, like, New York One.
Say, are you a New York-based hockey fan?
Do you have a modicum of fame?
Well, boy, do we have a podcast for you?
I thought you said nymphomershal
I was like
I don't think that's gonna get any
well maybe
we can probably look into that
if you want
Call 100 need to fuck
because as an info
Have you seen the we are 18 commercials
that come on at like two in the morning
During like the old party line ads
That are loud
These things
It seems like the worst ever idea
For like a porn line
Like who wants to talk to an 18 year old girl
It's like hey what's going on
What are you doing?
Oh my god you will not believe
How awful my classes were today
Like wait what?
Huh?
Oh my God.
This girl in my class will not shut up.
I'm trying to study and, like, talk to Kevin.
What are you wearing?
Oh, my God.
So, okay, I went to the mall today.
I got to go.
I can't do this.
This isn't worth it.
What are you up to, baby?
Watching teen mom, too.
I'm having a TV yard.
Oh, that sounds sexy.
Speaking of sexy, here's big sexy himself, Sean William Scott.
So you get done with Goon, it becomes the head.
I mean, it's a cult hit.
It's really well received.
Do you come out of that thinking, yeah, we're going to do another one?
Or you think that's the one-time thing?
Oh, no.
You know, for me, it was a completely different experience because, you know, when American Pie came out, that was, I mean, it was incredible.
You know, having people come up to you and tell you they liked this film that you did.
This was different.
When Goon came out, you know, I live in New York, and I'd have people come up to me.
And you could tell that they're the kind of people.
people that wouldn't go up to an actor say anything to them.
Right.
And they even said, hey, man, I really loved Goon.
And I hear it all the time.
And then when the reviews came out,
I thought, holy shit, man, like, people really,
like, I've never been in a movie that got good reviews.
Like, not even close.
So it never occurred to me to do a sequel.
And Jay, I think after a couple years, he had said he had an idea
for one. I thought, oh, God, guys, I don't know, man.
This seems like a one-off.
Like, we don't want to taint, you know,
everybody's
positive, you know,
not everybody, the positive reaction, the first one.
Right. He told me the storyline, I thought,
well, that could be interesting. And then
when he sent me the script,
it was honestly like
one of the best comedy scripts
that I've ever read.
Oh, yeah? Because
it's not just comedy. There's actually a little bit of drama
in this one.
and I felt like the story was really relatable,
is really relatable to what happens with, you know,
athletes when they're kind of nearing the end of their career.
So then I was like, yeah, you know, it was a no-brainer
because I actually thought we had a chance to make a sequel
that might be better than the first one.
So when you get the script, like what is the thing that you're looking for
as far as like that spark of, yeah, we need to revisit this?
And what, like, what did you see in it?
well he'd already told me the his idea you know of seeing
um
Doug at the end of his career and having you know
being married and and about to be a father and I thought that's really interesting to see
this character you know I have the responsibility or being a dad having
responsibility yeah
the possibility beyond being enforcer for this team right and I and so I I
think it was when that to me was appealing and then when I started to read
it was a no-brainer I mean I liked it so much that I actually cried at the end of reading it
had a little tear because I thought it hits you know it's funny it was you know that was one thing
obviously it's supposed to be funny right better being yeah and then but it also had like
really big movie moments yeah for something like this right you know it's obviously it is what
it is but I thought it was really smart really clever so it was better than what I hoped I mean
It was immediately, you know, usually it takes time for, you know, once you read a script and you get everybody on board.
But I was like, listen, let's make this thing.
And we ended up shooting it like four months later.
The first time we talked, you talked about not being a hockey guy.
Like you grew up and you saw hockey guys.
You knew hockey guys.
They were funny weirdos.
But the hockey shit in the first movie was so spot on and perfect.
Yeah.
Like, did you appreciate that when you were making the first one?
Like the voice that Jay blocked this thing and the fact that when you go in that locker room, like the stuff we heard was the stuff.
that you hear.
Not as much until after, you know, like I think in the
we're making, I was just trying to make sure I didn't ruin
him.
That was my main objective.
But like, I remember my friends who played hockey,
and they had a lot of really weird stories.
And this seemed really consistent with, you know,
there was a humor and the stuff they told me about
that they did in the locker room.
Yes.
I believe the last time we talked to talk about Master
masturbation contests would.
Yeah.
I told you that, yeah.
I'm sure my friends appreciated that one.
I didn't name their names.
Yeah, that's exactly right.
I mean, it's like, oh, yeah.
And you'll see even more tonight.
Oh, perfect.
Tonight there's a scene in the second movie where I was like,
yep, that is exactly the kind of stuff my friends told me about.
There you go.
So Jay nailed it.
The trailer, so it's not only domestic stuff in this flick,
You also have, like, the, kind of the parallel of the first film where, like, you're, like,
now King's Shed Enforcer, and now there's someone rising up the ranks.
Right.
To kind of be that guy.
Right.
So, like, what is it?
So what is this, Rocky 3 or Rocky 4 now?
What's the, what's the parent?
Is he the Russian super machine or is he Mr. T?
You'd be more the Russian guy.
But, you know, what's cool is, even with that character, which Wyatt Russell plays,
it's much more of a real human being
than the one-dimensional antagonist,
which is important, you know.
But there are some parallels to that Rocky movie.
But I think what's cool is,
and one of the reasons why,
you know, it's not like the first movie made $100 million,
and we had to turn around and make a sequel right away.
It actually did the same thing.
Pretty sure I made 100 million Canadian,
which I think is, you know, 15 million Americans.
Well, that's good.
So we had the freedom to kind of make the movie we wanted to make.
Right.
You know, we didn't have any pressure.
And so I felt like what was really interesting is that you see my character towards him.
He's not invincible.
He's beat up.
He's, you know, he's obviously probably suffering from some head injuries.
He's taking some big punches over the years.
And it's like a lot, I think a lot of athletes, especially in hockey and NFL, like,
where you have these gladiators that are like now having to face the fact that they're no longer going to be doing this
and they have to go do something else.
And I can have people cheering for them.
Yeah,
and have that sense of being part of a team.
And the health shit that comes with it too.
Does that you guys get into that a little bit?
It's kind of a,
it's a thing you can't really separate from hockey fighting anymore,
the hockey enforcing anymore is the sort of the effects,
after effects to the brain injuries and that kind of thing.
Yeah, Jay, you know, he does it in just the right amount.
you know like without making the whole movie about that
it definitely touches on that you know
because when we made the first movie
it we finished filming it before
I think there are like three tragic deaths
right after that right yeah
and some people had asked like you know
comment to them like actually we made the movie before
and we weren't thinking of making a movie about that
but now that we've had some time
we do we do speak to that a little bit
so like when after this comes out
I remember you talked to, I think, George LaRocque before the flick kind of figure out the ins and outs.
Did you hear from other enforcers since the flick came out?
Did you talk to anybody else or talked to anybody in hockey as far as like what this meant to them?
After the first movie?
Yeah.
No, I haven't.
But, you know, I had a lot of people that love hockey.
Right.
That they just, I mean, we were just earlier up in the hallway and there's a guy at the hotel area who's working and he saw me and Wyatt.
And he had to come up and he was like, man, I take it.
my team. We watch that.
We're promoting the second one. He's like, I know.
He's like, we're going to go see it. So I really
I think hockey people like it.
It's trippy being in, like, I'm, I live in New York.
And like, that's a pretty decent hockey town, right?
But you come here and it's like, like, I was wearing a hat from the World
Cup of hockey last September at a pizza pizza and one in the morning last night after I got
in. And dude strikes up conversation based on the hat.
Can you believe the World Cup? What it was. And I'm just like,
That's never fucking happening in New York.
Yeah.
It's religion.
It's so different.
Like, it is hockey.
I don't even know if there's, maybe being a crimson tide fan in Alabama.
You go someplace of your Crimson Tide had on me.
I'm talking Alabama football for like an hour.
But like here, it's just, it is insane.
It's insane how interesting they are in hockey.
That's why I think tonight's going to be like a rock concert.
And that's the beauty of doing a sequel, too, is that you know that people,
you're only doing it because people respond to positively to the first.
movie. When you're doing in any other movie, you're like, I don't know if this is going to work.
I don't know if anybody's going to care. So I have a feeling tonight's going to be a good experience.
So, all right. How has hockey, you said after the first movie was done, you became kind of a hockey fan.
Have you nurtured that flame? Have you stoked it at all? Or has it at your feed?
No, you know what? I still have a huge appreciation for it.
No, I didn't go to many games afterwards. I mean, I think maybe because we're on skates
so much more than I had ever been
on that first movie.
I was like, fuck, you need a break.
But, but, um, but no, you know
and there's a scene
in the second film
where you're going to see some, I think you see
in the trailer, you know, a couple of guys
Peros. And so
there's all of these
enforcers. We got like four
or five guys and it was really
cool to
see them all hang out
because we had this whole scene that we were going to have together.
And they're so friendly.
And then, you know, Jay, Bearishow was like, you know, those two guys, like, beat the shit
with each other.
Like, wow, you would think that they would hate each other, but they're just, like, paling
they put it aside after it's done.
It's amazing.
It's the most amazing thing in hockey is, like, when you see two guys that you figure
have palpable hate for each other, because they used to be fight each other, they just
used to hit each other in the fucking head with sticks all the time.
Then they become teammates.
And, like, there's usually, like, a conversation to hash it out.
And then after that, it's fine.
You're all playing for the, this, yeah.
It's crazy.
Crest on the front of the jersey or whatever.
They're just beating the shit out of the shit out of the show.
And they're like, I think that's one of the things that they did really well with the first movie, too, is like, you okay?
Good?
Good.
Yeah.
You want to go?
Sure.
Yeah.
Warrior Code.
Yeah.
How's escaping, though?
It's better.
It couldn't get any worse.
I love this fact that in the first movie, it's like a plot point.
It's like a plot point that it wasn't meant to be, I don't think.
I think, I don't think.
The character wasn't supposed to be a good hockey player, and I don't think you're supposed to
his skate well. I don't think he was supposed to be as bad as it was, but they're like,
well, we have to figure this out. This is as good as he's going to be. So that's the one thing
in Yorkshire is like, no way could a guy that skates that poorly be, you know, able to actually
play. But this time around, I can, I'll tell you this, I'm able to stop without having to skate
ran into the boards. That's awesome. I mean, that's huge. That's huge. You know, if acting doesn't
work out for me, who knows. Right. Maybe some minor league play. I mean, they do, I mean,
trying to figure out what pickup shots they need if you were clutching the boards at all time,
stay on stage.
Yeah, exactly.
That'd be, that'd be, maybe some CGI involved there.
Yeah.
Speaking of that, by the way, so the last time we talked, you talked about how, like,
you've never been in a superhero movie, but Goon was the closest thing to it, is what
he said.
Yeah.
What does that mean?
Well, I keep referring to this new one, but I, yeah, I think, like, you know, the
character, he's got this skill, right?
Like, he's so good at it.
Yeah.
And, and, um, almost to the point where,
it's like a superpower, you know what I mean?
And he does it for something good.
So this is the one thing that he's good at.
And it's like he's saving his team.
You know what I mean?
He's a good guy and he's kind of a hero.
That's as close as I'm ever going to get to a Marvel film.
That's it.
But they keep making them.
Yeah.
Yeah, but they're still never going to call me.
Trust me, dude.
You're in a movie with Wyatt Russell.
How many times did you bug him about his dad?
you know not once
are you serious only because
that's my biggest fear about being on a movie set
one day is that like the idea that I'm going to be
sitting next to somebody and I'm just going to be like
someone like Leah for example like yeah
fucking tears an ear off about
the shit he's done I did with him
because I just okay because he did the shit
yeah I just thought like why probably gets asked
all the time and with this time
around two with Leah because we work together
I'm still in awe of him like he's
one of my favorite actors yeah and I just and also
also as a human being, he's just a great guy.
And this time around I thought it's a little bit more comfortable,
so I started asking some Ray Donovan questions.
And then asking him about the next season and stuff.
He's just awesome.
Yeah, and that scene you guys had in the first movie stands the test of time.
The diner scene?
Oh, yeah.
Like, you know, the comparison I've made with Jay before of the people was that it was
like Pacino and De Niro and heat.
It was like this moment where everybody lays down their arms and you have this discussion,
you both know what's coming after it.
It's such a great fucking scene.
And it's like a scene that you don't necessarily see in any sports movie where, you know, there's the antagonist and the protagonist.
And then there are two on Russian trains until the end?
Yeah.
It's not like fucking Stalin ever sat down with the Russian over...
Right.
Yeah, exactly.
It's like, hey, I don't know about this.
You know, it's such a great scene.
That's awesome.
Well, Leav, like, he's really what makes it.
Because his performance and just, he's just such a great actor.
I literally was just like...
Was it doing much other than...
just watching how awesome
it actually was.
And just,
it was last time,
I'm going to let you the fuck out.
Yeah,
he's just crushed it.
What,
this is,
it's interesting to see
the reception to goon.
And like you said,
I mean,
almost immediately
gets thrust into
the cult status
for hockey fans.
I mean,
you have a generation
of hockey fans
are going to see this
like people saw slap shot.
This is their flick.
This is the one they relate to.
This is one showing
the side of the game
that they don't get to see
and stuff.
You've been in a few.
You've been in hits.
And you've been in stuff that kind of
wormed its way into
a certain fandom.
Like role models, for example, to me.
It's like a movie that...
Well, that's a movie that...
That movie actually did well, though.
I think it made like $75 million.
That's good.
Because here's the thing.
In the discussions of
funniest movies of the last 15, 20 years,
role models will come up.
That's awesome.
And it's good to see
because it was such a...
fun, different
flick. I had a very different
tone to it than a lot of the companies
that are coming out at the same time.
You're right. I mean, I've been lucky
from my whole career just getting one job,
you know, and that first job is American Pie.
Yeah, so, I mean,
it's been a dream. But yeah,
role models is one, we're really
proud of it because
it was really fun to make, and
when we were making it, we didn't really know
how it was going to turn out.
Right. And then when I watched, because we improvised a
hunt and then I watch I'm like wow it just all came together and but you're right I mean that's
the goal I think right is like if you're lucky enough to be in a film you hope that it's going to be
good and you hope that you do a good job in it and you hope that it's a movie that people think about
beyond the year it came out right you know I found it I found it interesting that um in both role
models and Goon's case like it's treating the subject with a lot of tenderness and a lot of
importance that maybe another film wouldn't.
And in role models, it was like
this subgenre of
cosplaying and, you know, there's so
ridiculousness to the whole Dungeons and Dragons
kind of thing. But at the same time, it treats
it with like, this is important to these people
and this is what they believe in. And we're going to dive into
that and do it. Right.
You're right, because I think,
I mean, there's a lot of
reasons why
a lot of things
that it takes for a film to work
and to all come
together, I think for comedies especially, is having heart.
You know, and there is a sweetness to roll on.
Yeah, Goon have a fuck ton of heart.
Yeah, and that's a huge part.
I mean, if you didn't care about the characters, if you didn't care about Doug, you know,
the fighting, all that stuff would almost be off-putting, you know.
But I feel, and even American fine, I feel like you just like these guys.
Yeah.
You know, it's not like there's anything, I mean, the movie is very similar to a bunch of different movies.
But I think because you care about them and they're so.
sweeps and they're good guys. I think it's
pretty important. We don't have a lot in hockey,
but we have likeability.
The guys who play the game are all
real decent dudes, and like they have helped me
for the most part. But I mean, like, the blue
color aesthetic, because this guy could have been my
next door neighbor kind of thing in hockey is something that
a lot of... Football has it too, I think,
in a sense, because, you know, that offensive
lineman from, you know,
boogie, Oklahoma, like, you could relate to that guy.
I always felt like hockey had that going for it,
the relatability. You're right. Probably more than
any other sport. Hopefully.
we don't got a lot going for us
I don't think it's pretty awesome
We have a playing surface that melts
Nobody
in warm places plays it
ESPN
You know
They shun it
We don't have a lot going for us
We've got the likeability thing
Yeah and you know
When you go to a game
And when you're like
You need get up close
The one thing that it doesn't have going for it
Is it's just not
The same experience watching on TV
No
Where, NFL, it's better to watch an NFL game on TV.
It really, in my opinion, the way they cover it, it's just an unbelievable experience.
With hockey, I learned this from shooting the films, is that when you get up close and you see these guys skating and you see how incredibly athletic and aggressive and all this.
It's a completely different game.
Yeah, it is.
And also, when you go see a live football game now, too many timeouts.
They have timeout after the kickoff.
Exactly.
It's very sort of choppy.
Right.
And to me, like, the only reason I'd go see an NFL game, well, actually, as a Jets fan,
I probably won't be seeing an NFL game for the next three years.
I understand we're tanking now.
But, like, the only reason I'd go is for the tailgating experience.
Right.
Like, actually sitting in the stadium watching an NFL game is shitty.
It sucks.
In an NBA game, I've always felt, you know, you could step in at the second half and feel
like you've, you're nourished.
Right.
And then a baseball game is a commitment.
Yeah.
Time commitment.
And that's a day where you're trying to just be outside and it's nice and
sneezing.
It's almost more of an experience.
It might be a little bit better at a baseball game because it's a hang.
It's a hang.
Yeah.
Yeah. Hockey, I think, requires just like on television when you're watching it live,
it requires a certain amount of commitment to figure out the fuck's going on.
Yeah.
In baseball, you can just leave for two innings.
I remember it was at a game in Pittsburgh with a bunch of friends last year.
And like, they all retreated to a bar inside where you couldn't even see a television.
I'm like, why are we doing this?
Why aren't we watching this earlier?
They're like, well, we'll go back up for the fourth inning.
But we're missing shit, aren't we?
Yeah.
But that's the baseball thing.
It's like you can just go and eat hot dogs.
And do it at your own face.
Right.
Hockey, you can't do it your own face.
You wonder if they had like the same kind of camera coverage for a hockey game, how different
that would be on TV.
You know, we have these, an NFL, the cameras are going back and forth and they're coming in
and getting tight.
I mean, that would be a very different experience watching.
Not to bring up another hockey movie in this conversation, but that was always the thing
with Miracle was.
you know, well, obviously a gigantic Titanic
Kurt Russell performance, but also like
they shot the hockey really well.
Right. They shot the hockey really well.
And it was very on ice and ice level
and you're following a puck.
Like if they were able to pull that off ever,
great. But I don't know if they ever could.
Right. You know what though?
It brings up this movie
is that I'm interested to see what you think
of the way they shot it because that was
Jay's thing. It was like I really want
the hockey to be more visceral.
I want it to feel more real.
The fighting was like that in the first one.
The fighting definitely.
Oh, God, the teeth is playing in here.
Yeah, right.
Wait until you see the fighting in this one.
It's even maybe a little bit more gnarly.
All right.
In the time I have remaining here, I have to ask you,
there's been eight American Pie movies.
How many have you seen?
There's been eight American Pie movies.
There's been eight.
I've been four.
You've been four more spin-offs.
There's four straight to DVD.
Yes.
I've seen, so I've seen the four that I did.
And I guess the other thing is,
in harkening back to superhero movies,
do you ever sit back in one,
and ponder the thought
that Eugene Levy
became the Sam Jackson
of the American Pie universe
appearing in every American Pie movie.
He's the Nick Fury of the American Pie universe.
He's Nick Fury.
He's right, he put the pie together.
That's right.
That's awesome.
He would be so great if he said back at home,
he's like, I am the Sam Jackson,
American Pie.
Look, we're going to need another Stifler for this one.
I'm just asking you if you want to be,
in an American pie movie, I mean, we do
have room for another stifler.
He's the greatest. He's the greatest. He is the greatest.
Do you met him? I've only
spoken to him once. It's just the coolest.
But he's got, I mean, he's got the SCTV lineage.
I mean, he's got, like, comedy DNA.
I mean, it's the show he's got up now.
It's a hero of Canada is supposed to be hilarious.
Yeah. What is called?
Shit's Creek.
Well, it's got to be funny with that title.
It's like one of these things.
And as an American, it makes me angry
because I know that if they put that,
They try to do that title in America.
They're like, nope.
In Canada, it's like, oh, that's cheeky.
Yeah, yeah, exactly.
You could do that.
As long as they make the yes, a dollar sign, we'll let you get away.
Exactly.
Real briefly,
favorite, favorite dude you worked with in these goon movies outside of Leo?
Because I'm sure Leo's probably the answer, but is there somebody that you...
In the Goon films?
Yeah, in the Goon films.
God, you know, and this sounds maybe cheesy, but it's true.
I would have to say all the guys.
That's not cheesy at all.
You know, because I, that's actually a very hockey-centric answer.
That's very, what is the true is these guys, you know, in the first movie, we became really, really close.
And the experience of filming the second one, we filmed it here in Toronto, it was one of maybe the most fun I've ever had.
And I've had a lot of fun in my life.
And a lot of that is because the guys are so cool.
They're just, they're the guys that I grew up, you know, in Minnesota with.
They're just, all of them are great guys.
there wasn't one asshole in the whole group.
And they were just,
so I have to say the gang.
That's why I'm so happy to be back here.
I can't wait to see.
I haven't seen a lot of the guys since we filmed this.
I'm to see them tonight.
Yeah, I've seen all of them.
Well, I'll look forward to it, Sean,
and William Scott, and thank you for joining us.
Dude to see you.
Thanks so much, man.
Thanks to Sean William Scott, star of Goon.
Last of the Enforcers, do check it out if you're in Canada.
And keep your eyes peeled here in the States.
We're hopefully going to try to hook up with Jay to do a screening of it here in New York at some point.
I talked to Jay about that.
at the Hollywood After Party after the premiere of Goon 2,
featuring such dignitaries as James Duthy of TSN
and Rear Admiral from Barstool Sports.
Glad you had fun.
Glad you had a good time.
You know who was actually at the after party, though,
that I didn't get a chance to talk to?
No, because I wasn't there.
How would I know?
Elijah Cuthbert.
That's nice.
That's good for her.
Yeah.
She's actually named after Giants quarterback Eli Manning,
whose name is Alicia.
I did not know that.
You know, Eli's full name is Alicia?
No. Is that true?
Yeah. Eli, S.H.A.
True story.
Also, that means two cast members from the comedy classic old school were in the same place.
Shel William Scott and Elijah Gutford.
Oh, yeah, that's right. He is in that.
He played the animal wrangler.
It's a fucking dart in your neck.
What?
Whoa.
It's a fucking great scene. I love that. That movie is so old, but still, it makes me laugh.
Holds up. Which one's going to have the longer shelf life, do you think?
Old school?
Wedding Crashers
Anchorman
Old school I think
Really? I would go old school
And then
Anchorman then Wedding Crashers
Like Wedding Crashers are ready
It doesn't kind of hold up
It's weird to watch Wedding Crashers now
Because
And this is kind of a funky way
To see it
But it's weird seeing Bradley Cooper
In that role in that movie
After he
Well before he became Bradley Cooper
I didn't even realize that was him
Until I rewatched it like years later
And like I searched like Bradley Cooper
Plastic Surgery
I thought, I was like, did he do something to himself?
Because, like, I can tell that's him, but is it him, though?
Yeah, it's really weird to, like, look back.
I mean, like, yeah, but I mean, like, after being, like, the guy you root for in, like, the hangover and stuff,
like, to have him be king asshole in that movie is sort of weird.
And also the dude who plays the gay brother that's, like, creeping on Vince Vaughn is also a spitting image for the penguin on Gotham.
Yeah, I remember people making that joke when the Gotham shows started.
Yeah, so that's also a little weird, too, now in hindsight.
I painted you a picture of Batman.
I think shelf life it's Anchorman, because Anchorman is a film about a specific time and place.
I feel like Anchorman is a specific type of comedy.
It's like a specific, like not like movie.
Like the jokes are a certain type of joke.
Right.
That like like Austin Powers is a certain kind of joke that like now when I watch that movie, I'm like, why did I laugh at that?
I think Anchorman will be that in like 10 years.
That's a very interesting point about.
about Austin Powers, but I'll hit it in another way.
Is the issue with both of those movies that they have become so quoted and so
memed and so referenced that they're both not as funny?
Because I remember that happening with, like, Ace Ventura, for example.
Like, Ace Ventura got progressively less funny over time when everybody and their mom was doing,
all righty then, you know?
Yeah, but, like, that's what I mean, though, is like, it's like, the comedy is, like,
a certain, it's just, like, Will Ferrell and Steve Carrell being dumb.
It's just everyone's being stupid.
Right.
Like, there's not, like, a bunch of different beats and notes in that movie.
And, like, Austin Power is the same thing.
It's just corny.
Like, I watched the beginning of the sequel where, like, Elizabeth Hurley becomes a fembot.
And I'm like, yeah.
What?
What?
Right.
Like, she's just shooting out her and with her boobs.
Right.
Or, like, when you watch, like, the third one and the interplay between Seth Green and Dr. Evil,
and it's just, like, the thing with the fingers.
And you're like, oh, at the time, that was the bit.
You were doing that to your friends.
Yeah, right.
You're just like, don't ever tell anybody I did that.
What's interesting about those movies, like the ones that get overly referenced is I think that the people that really like them or want to appreciate them then dig deeper for things that haven't been overly referenced.
So like, like, you know, like who throws his shoe would be an Austin Powers joke that was sort of a second level reference and not the yeah baby level.
You know, and an anchor man, like you had your sex panther.
level of reference
and then you have your glass cage of emotion
level of reference
right but like I feel like it's just like it's just like
Will Ferrell riffing
right you know what I mean like so like as long as
like that's why my go to
Anchorman reference is I miss your
musk it's the conversation between him
and what and what's his face about
I miss I miss you man
we should get an apartment together
I miss I miss your musk
I miss your cent yeah that's like that's like a
that's like a third level reference to a movie that's been
overly referenced but I just think
silly movies don't last as long as like clever comedy movies, if that makes sense.
And I'm trying to think of an example of like a clever comedy.
Like, um, it's Blazing Saddles is an example of that where like I feel like if you watch that
today, it's still funny.
Blazing Saddles is a weird one because Blading Saddles is now one that feels completely out of time
because of the racial humor and also the fact that Dom Deloese shows up for like a bushel of
gay jokes at the end of the movie.
Actually, that's probably a bad example not because of that.
Young Frankenstein would be more clever.
I think that's one that isn't that doesn't traffic in the same kind of jokes.
Yeah.
I would have,
I,
next week we'll figure this out.
Dumb and Dumber.
But see,
I'll go,
I'll go different,
though,
because Dumb and Dumber is not a clever movie,
but it's definitely one that I think.
No,
but it is,
though.
But,
but it's clever how dumb it is.
Yeah,
like,
it's like,
the dumbness,
like the dumbness in that movie,
no one really ever acknowledges it.
Like,
Christina Applegate acknowledges the dumbness in every scene she's in with all those guys.
So,
like,
the vessel for the audience.
Where,
like,
and dumb and dumber. Right. And Elizabeth Hurley
becomes that proxy and Austin
Powers. Right. Like when they're like,
there's a town two miles that
way. You'll find some guys to rub the lotion on you or
whatever. Like there's no one in that scene that like
the girls kind of make a face, but like that's it.
I don't know. Right.
They don't cut back to the bar
after he looks at the newspaper
headline and he's like, man lands on the moon.
There's like an occasional like Lauren
Holly at no point ever says you're a moron.
Like anyone in real life, Lauren Holly would be like, you're a fucking
idiot.
Yeah, which is why the scene in that movie
that remains one of the top five funniest things I've ever seen in a
theater when they have the snowball fight.
Yeah, I laughed so hard. I laughed so hard at that. I fucking, I just
remember the, of the Jim Carrey run of movies,
the two moments that made me laugh the hardest were that
and the scene in Ace Ventura
when nature calls when he's fighting the crocodile
and then he uses the little crocodile's arms to beat up the crocodile
and he goes, why are you hitting yourself? Why are you hitting
yourself destroyed me. I barely
remember the secret. There you go. That's why you have to dig
through levels down to get the reference. Like what
like a sitcom, like Seinfeld
and Curb Your Enthusiasm, I think
stand at a test of time because they're about
like things in life that you encounter every day.
Observational humor, yeah. Right. While like say
Friends, for instance, is about an awful dude
or an awful woman. Will they fuck at some point
in 10 years? But that's also observational
for a certain segment of the population. Young
New Yorkers. Yeah, but recognize
that show. But like you can't
like if you did not live through that time, I
I don't know. Connor McDavid loves friends.
Maybe it is.
I don't know.
Connor McDavid loves friends?
How did you feel about finding out this week that a potential number one pick overall,
Nolan Patrick doesn't like pizza?
This is a problem.
It really is.
Pizza has been under attack this year.
When I hear about a rookie that doesn't like pizza,
I immediately think that this is Greg Jeffries swinging a wiffle bat under the water
and being a really bad sports kid growing up.
There's has to be a reason why Nolan Patrick doesn't like pizza.
Yeah, he's from Winnipeg.
But it makes me worry about his upbringing.
It makes you worry about his background.
It makes me think that he has been raised as like the Ivan Drago of Canadian prospects.
And it is no love or life.
He's just like, he's just like taking slap shots underwater.
Yeah, exactly.
That's what I mean.
Yeah.
I don't like it.
It makes me think that it makes me think he might be a weirdo.
2017, man.
Fucking pineapple on pizza.
Fucking peas and mayo on pizza.
Fucking dipping your pizza in milk.
I don't know what the hell's going on in society.
You know, it's funny.
Stop.
Someone mentioned the dipping your pizza and milk thing to me.
And it was the day after, when I was in Toronto, I got into Toronto on Sunday.
And I immediately went to the shittiest pizza joint in the history of pizza pizza because they have the best thing in the world, which is dipping sauces.
And so I got my horrible pizza and my three dipping sauces.
And a glass of milk.
Buffalo, blue cheese and creamy garlic.
But these two dudes that were there, one in the morning at pizza pizza, ordered like two slices, a couple of dipping sauces, and then chocolate milk.
and I didn't know about this shit until I got out of there
and then someone's like
someone actually said like
tipping your pizza and milk
boy that's a stupid trend story
I'm like no I've seen it
I thought like it was like you know how like weird Twitter will do bits
and you're just like oh they're just making fun of like a popular
meme like hey you peas and mayo
I did my pizza and milk and you're like oh
smash the retweet button
like at like at fart or like at one of those people
that's a good one I like nope nope there are
Dudes in Detroit.
Yep.
Well, I mean, to be fair,
Little Seasers Pizza is gross.
You got to put some flavor on that somehow.
I agree.
A couple more things in the GM meetings.
Betman says the coyotes should never, ever, ever go back to Glendale.
Never, ever, ever go back to Glendale.
I got...
I got Phoenix.
I got two-sad.
Which Perfect 3, starring Gary Betman.
What's that guy's name?
Who owned a guy?
Louis LeBlanc, Anthony LeBlanc?
Anthony LeBlanc.
So he says he wrote a letter to all of the council members.
Every politician in Arizona got a letter to Gary Betben.
Dear Senator, I hope this letter finds you well.
Maybe you want to give us more money.
I don't know.
He's right.
I mean, they need to get the fuck out of Glendale.
That's been the case forever.
And I don't just say that as a guy who wants the coyotes to succeed.
I'm also a guy that had to stay up really, really late watching Glendale.
Lendale City Council meetings at which are the worst episode of Parks and Rec you could possibly
imagine.
I still think about that one councilman that stood up and made the speech before he voted
in favor of the new ownership.
He's just like,
this is my chance to tell everybody that I'm going to do right.
I hope that guy didn't get reelected because I think his vote was the one that swung it.
And this has been a goddamn boondoggle.
Like, just get them the fuck out of there already.
Yeah.
How, how, when did the NHL first take over and start giving them money?
It had to be like 09.
I know 2010, so we're in there.
So, like, we're in, like, year eight of, like, like, it's, the characters are like a TV show that, like, certain people love.
They're dedicated to it.
They can't.
It's, like, it's like, it's not a big fan base, but they're super into it.
There's, like, fan clubs, and, like, they show up at Comic Con.
I'm dressed as, like, Shane Done.
I'm a huge shit.
I love me some Mike Smith.
Watch, touch my shoulder.
Then they fall down on the floor, and they laugh.
It's time to move on.
Kanyote.
That's what they would call it.
When Kanye
sings the national anthem
He's a Kanye
You know him
You love him
Cognote
Let's hear it
For Tepo Numinan
Hey everybody
There's like 22 people
Just going
Fucking nuts in the hall
Oh
I just put something else
In that time slot already
Man
I'm tired of hearing people talk about it
The coyotes have gotten
More seasons than 30 Rock
That's just not fair
More people like 30 Rock.
Oh, shit.
Just go to Quebec, go to Seattle, go fucking somewhere else.
I can't read more stories about ownership and arenas and funding and Gary Bettman.
I just can't do it anymore.
How many coyote, how many conyotes did you attend?
Well, I was at the first, the first, which one was the one that was out Redeemed Rabata?
Because I was at all of the Redeemed Rabata ones, but then the one time he wasn't here,
I wasn't at that one.
Why won't Dreamy Ronegiver show up to this?
Wait, was he a coyote or was he a shark?
He wasn't a coyote, was he?
It was Brett Hall was the coyote.
Yeah, the one year that we had conyote was terrible
because Gretzky got the rights in the settlement
and then it became Gretzcon
for that one year he was.
That was not a fine conyote.
He ran it right into the ground.
He didn't know what he was doing.
He never run a cony before.
Why do we give him the keys to the conyote that year?
I don't understand why.
Dave Tippets are boring, but they get the job done.
I was able once to stay in a nice conyote through my parents' time share.
When I played golf with Martin Hansel.
I'm really kind of pissed off at Colin Campbell again of the NHL.
I was going to sit back for this one.
All right, he had this quote that said about the buy week.
He's like, some players enjoyed it.
Some of the results were okay for teams, but by and large, the first game back wasn't good,
but maybe they're willing to accept that,
or maybe they'll go back to the old All-Star game.
That's why we changed it, you know.
We thought we would make it better for the fans.
I walked out of the last five-on-five All-Star game in Columbus,
and it was so disheartening it, and it's tough.
Hockey's good when it's competitive.
All-Star games aren't competitive.
I don't know what the league can do to make an All-Star game competitive.
We thought we would make it better for players and fans
and everyone else who was at the All-Star game
and your companies that cover it.
That's why we had to do in the exchange.
We thought we could work it out,
but it was tough for the teams to deal with the five days.
So basically what this idiot is saying,
is that they gave the by week to the NHLPA
because the players, to the surprise of no one,
didn't want to skate their asses off
in a three-on-three tournament in the All-Star game.
So they had to give something to the players.
They gave them this bi-week.
And now they're like, well, you don't like the buy-week.
Now, what are we going to do?
Go back to five-on-five all-star games.
Now, here's an idea.
This is just me thinking out loud.
Maybe you could give them something else.
because you took everything from them into lockouts.
So I don't know, like a fucking minute in the Olympics.
There, there's something you could bargain with.
Or maybe like a little bit off the top on escrow.
There's something you can fucking bargain with.
Like maybe you give them something else in exchange for a three on three all-star game
if the biweek wasn't working out.
That's just my thought, my crazy thought,
that you own everything from the fucking players after two lockouts
and you could pick and choose something else to give them.
You're like the house with the most Halloween candy
And then you're like
Well how about a fucking three musketeers?
And the players are like, I don't like it
And then you just slam the door
No more candy
And it's like the house is owned by a guy
Who shit over shit all over all the other houses
For not giving his kid good candy
When he felt like his kid deserved the candy
And now I was mad about how other people besides his kid
Are handling their candy
and wants to take away some more.
Yeah.
And they're like, you should love this shit
because when you gave us your candy,
it was the fun-sized butterfinger.
And now look at it.
It's a full-sized butterfinger.
You should be proud of us.
Oh, can I have the butterfinger?
Fuck, no, you can't have that butterfinger.
It's our butterfinger.
We're the stewards of the butterfinger.
The stewards of the butterfinger.
You guys don't know how good
that butterfingers were in the 80s.
Bigger, better, more respectful of the game
of Butterfingers.
Now, you also have a little bit of beef with the Josh Hosang shit that went down.
If you don't know it, he wears number 66 for the New York Islanders, which is a depraved, horrible thing to do in hockey because, as you know, Mary Lemieux was an islander and had his number retired by the Islanders, and you shouldn't be able to wear that number on the Islanders.
Right? Isn't that how it works?
This is the dumbest league in the world. It's just so dumb. Everyone in it is dumb.
So Josh Osang
grew up
Like I'm sure many kids grew up
In the 80s and 90s
Love in Mario Lemieux
How do you not love Mario Lemieux
Potentially one of the three best players of all time
According to a book
Whose name I don't
The greatest
The 100 greatest NHL players of all time
And other stuff written by Dave Lozo
Greg Wischinski and Sean McIndow
And so like in other sports
You have your idols
And you wear their numbers
Because it's a true story by the way
When I play Peewee football
I loved Eric Dickerson
and I was a running back
so to honor Eric Dickerson
I wore number 24
little did I realize
until it was time for my photo
Eric Dickerson wore 29
and so I was wearing the wrong number
all year because I'm a fucking idiot
he was an idiot dead and idiot now
but Josh Hossang got the question
66 what's the deal
first of all you should know the deal
he fucking loves Mario that's why he's wearing it
But you want him to justify why he's wearing the number of the guy who you loved and shit.
And he gives the best answer.
It was this long, thoughtful thing.
It was like it was from a lawyer because every single possible angle was covered.
Like he respects him.
He grew up loving him.
He knows he's not as good as him.
This is a tribute to him.
Just a tribute to him.
And like, you're just like, wow.
Case open, case closed.
He got the job done.
And that was like four days ago or four or five days ago.
And then like two or three days ago, he was in a,
Was it Edmonton?
Did you say it was where you got the follow-up question, which was, what's the deal with 66?
Now, for those of you that don't know about our industry, let's say a story happens in another city.
Like, let's say Zach Parise is in St. Paul, and he tells a story about how in between periods, he believes in washing his balls on the sink.
He feels like it makes him a better player to get in the locker room, dip his balls in a sink, and get him clean, and then go out and play the second period.
repeat during the second intermission. And he gives a long explanation why he just wants to feel
clean. He feels like it makes him a better player. When Zach Perise comes to New York, even though he's
exhausted that, and that story's been written, the first question he gets to the morning skate is,
what's up with the ball washing? And he has to answer it again, even though the person asking the
question has read the story where he has given the answer. So now Josh Hosang is dealing with this
everywhere he goes. And again, respectful, thoughtful answer. Right. If you're mad about this kid wearing
You're a fucking idiot.
You're a dummy.
You should not be allowed to vote.
It's drive.
It's a combination of two things.
It's a combination of people that have been on Hosang's ass since he was in junior.
That see this at some sort of level of disrespect.
And then the other one in the bigger faction,
delusional Mario Lemieux and Penguins fans that believe that 66 should be treated the same way 99 was.
And are super pissed off that 99 gets treated the way it does.
Now, granted, where I find common ground with them is the fact that,
that I don't think any number should be retired league-wide.
I would have 42 in circulation of baseball so people can do exactly as Joshua
sang did and say, I'm wearing 42 because of a gentleman named Jackie Robinson.
And I would have 99 not retired across the league in the NHL.
So if some guy comes up and wears 99, one, good fucking luck to you for picking that number
and setting that bar, sir.
And two, he could be like, Wayne Gretzky's the reason I'm playing hockey.
Right.
Yeah, that's great.
That should be, it's the oral history and the oral tradition of sports and the idea
that you're going to stick 90.
And 99 doesn't even
fucking hang in the arena like 42
does in these baseball
stadiums.
So it's just so stupid
to have these numbers retired.
That said, 66 is not 99.
99 is 99.
66 could have been 99
under different circumstances,
but he's not.
It's just insane to me.
It's just so bizarre.
And it's because the number's a high
number.
That's all it is.
It's because it's a number
you don't really see anywhere.
If you're a goalie and you were 33,
like no one's like,
hey, buddy, show Patrick Watson
some fucking respect to pick a different number.
How about 30?
Hey, show Marty Brodor some fucking respect.
What about, this 29, hashik?
31, what was he?
Whatever hashik was.
Like, oh, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa.
What number can I wear?
I play from the Montreal Canadiens.
There's already 40 numbers out of circulation.
What can I pick?
That was my favorite thing about the,
do you remember when the Ottawa senators?
Sanitors?
Remember when the Ottawa Senators were an expansion team?
Flower!
Do you remember when the Ottawa senators were an expansion team?
And they had all those Permani's fries in the locker room all the
sunflower um
they had all these crazy ass
numbers like dague was like 91
91 maybe and then
and then yashin was
erratic bonk was 91 like yashen
it was 79 like they had all
these guys come up like during the early
part of that franchise and they took all these high numbers
and you're like why
but it was kind of a badass thing to do like we're
well we're the fucking young guns we're gonna come up
here and pick all these crazy high numbers
like of all the things to get mad about picking numbers
like oh
Like, how bored are you?
And, like, again, I always come back to this.
I get it, man.
During, like, a six-month NHL season, you run out of shit to write about.
You're just sitting there staring at your computer and you're, what the hell am I?
What's this?
Josh Hose saying?
People are mad at that kid, right?
Because he's got a cocky attitude.
Oh, and he's wearing 60s.
Disrespectful.
Doesn't respect Mario, blah, blah.
I just, I can't figure out why people aren't more into the sport.
Can't figure it out.
Don't know why.
It's great.
It's a great argument to have.
And I can't wait in 25 years when I'm like, you know what?
Some of the greatest hockey I've ever seen in my life was when I'd see 66 coming out of that ice with that puck on a stick.
And you're like, Josh Hossang or Mario Lemieux?
I know.
And I'm like, oh, my God, that's right.
I forgot.
Josh Hossang and his 200 career points completely muddied the waters.
And I have to tell, I have to explain who 66 is.
Like, imagine, like, being in the NFL and you can't wear number 80 because Jerry Rice wore number 80 ever.
Like, whoa, number 80.
Who do you think you are?
Yeah.
Actually, I think I'm Andre Arisen.
Oh, if it's Andre Arisen's number, then that's okay.
He was good, but he wasn't great.
I've never seen better hockey than when number four would lay out somebody with a big hit.
Oh, I know you're talking about?
Yeah.
Kevin Lowe.
No, no, no, no, the other number four.
The other number four?
Yeah.
Adam Clendetting?
No.
You know, Bob.
Oh, no, Scott Stevens.
That's what I'm talking about.
Okay.
I knew what you're talking about.
All right.
It's time on the shit.
where we dip into the mailbag and do your questions for me and Lozo.
Oh, I thought we were going to review Logan next.
Oh, let's do Logan real quick.
I loved it.
You thought it was pretty good.
It was pretty good.
Yeah.
A little too long, but pretty good.
I liked it.
I really enjoyed it.
I thought I would say I enjoy The Dark Night better.
I think the Dark Night reached something beautiful and operatic.
I think Logan's great.
I think what it comes down to is this.
The best superhero movies are the ones where they wrap the superhero movie around a certain genre.
and I happen to like crime movies like heat
and and 1970s political thrillers
better than I do westerns
so I naturally will like the Winter Soldier
and the Dark Knight more than Logan
what do you put ahead of Logan because you asked me this earlier
The Winter Soldier, the Dark Knight
I didn't love the Winter Soldier I like Logan better than Winter Soldier
Maybe the first Avengers movie because it was so damn fun
I agree
And then and then
you know, if we're
doing the totality of comic book movies,
Spider-Man 2.
Which one was Spider-Man 2?
That was with Doc O'Coc.
That wasn't better than Logan.
And then also, if we're going all
superhero movies, Unbreakable's better than Logan.
Fucking stupid-ass movie.
Oh, man.
There was a run for like 10 years where
endings to movies traumatized me where I was like,
I threw an entire thing and I'd be like, really?
You didn't like, Pucci went back to his home planet
at the end of Unbreakable?
Oh, this guy's murdering people all across the fucking world to find his opposite.
No spoilers, but Logan's really great.
I think you guys all probably know what happens to the two main characters in this film.
And I got to say that, like, although I don't think that a film like this will be revisited at Academy Award time, although looking at the ratings, maybe it should be, I would seriously consider Han and Patrick Stort a nomination.
Like, he was so fucking good in this movie, and he's been so good in every movie.
And, like, times of wasting for this guy to ever get an Oscar.
And he was great in this, playing.
He's not going to win an Oscar.
The thing about this movie that I love, and, you know, at this point, it's few and far between to see shit in superhero movies you haven't seen before.
But the idea of seeing superheroes near the end of their lives and also seeing superheroes whose age has made them kind of betray themselves with their power.
Like Professor X has got dementia.
pretty much in this movie.
And like, we've never seen that before.
We've never seen a powerful superhero be defeated by age or, in this case, defeated by his own brain.
Apparently, you haven't seen Watchman.
Well, I actually.
What do you well actually in me?
What is the superhero?
The brainy smart guy beats up the guy from the zombie TV show in the beginning of the movie.
The Joker guy, whatever that guy.
Yeah, but that's not about...
He beats him up because he's older and slower.
Yeah, but they are a little older and slower.
They don't have dementia.
You don't know.
He could have had early onset.
Yeah, you're right.
He had CTE.
The comedian had CTE.
The comedian, that's his name.
Right.
And then he fell out the window and the pin is a CTE pen.
Thank you.
There you go.
Why did you think it was just okay?
Um, not just okay.
Pretty good.
Pretty good's better than just okay.
Yeah.
I liked it.
It was just the Eric LaSalle farm part was, I hate that movie trope so fucking much.
Here's the thing.
This isn't really a spoiler.
You know, this.
second you see Eric LaSalle and his family on screen, you know what's going to happen to them.
The second they meet the comic book superhero people.
Here is the thing.
Let's say you and I, like, witness a mob hit, and we got to go on the run.
Like, we're terrified.
We don't know where to go.
And, like, we come into a rest stop.
And a kindly family says, oh, Gregory, why don't you swing by our place for a hot meal and a nice warm bed?
You're going to be like, yeah, I got to get off the radar.
If you're a fucking ex-man who has been hiding from people for five to six decades at this point,
depending on when the movie is.
When a kindly family says, why do you come hang out at our place,
even though they don't know you're being chased by a lunatic who wants to murder you,
you say no!
You continue driving to your destination.
You don't get the people killed.
In fairness, Wolfsmen.
Wolverine was like, was like, I don't think we could do this.
You know, we got to get out of, we got to keep on the road.
And he listened to the guy with dementia.
And then Patrick Stewart goes, goes,
Well, Logan, I could really use some brisket.
I got to take a dump, Logan.
I won't do it in a rest up
He's like we got to go
We're being chased by all these maniacs with these weapons
And they've got drones and there's a guy with a robot arm
And Patchy source like
Or maybe we could have pie
We could maybe have some pie
I would love some pie
And they're like oh it seems like there's a problem out
Somewhere in a dark area in the middle of the night
Should I go check on it?
Yeah that's a good idea
We don't know these people
They could be bad news
They could be working in conspiring with the people that want to kill
us, pie, engage.
And like the rest of the movie, like, Logan's sleeping in a car, like, he's not scared
anymore about fucking pulling over and hanging out.
There's that, and there's also like a non-movie thing, but like, modern family,
the daughter of modern family of Cam and the other, is the worst child actor I've ever
seen in my life.
She's just not good.
Okay.
Like, how can they find the girl to play Wolverine's daughter?
And, like, she's, like, the greatest child actress of all times.
Right.
She's like Natalie Portman and the professional.
Like she is going to be a star
Super good
Like why can't modern family find
Couldn't find one
So your complaint is that
It made me think of that
There's a pool of child actors
That are good
And then once you've gotten
The big fish out of that pool
What's left is like
There has to be some other fish
Jake Lloyd from the Phantom Menace
Is that?
Oh the pot racer kid
He was okay
Sir, what are Maticlorians?
Like if you watch the first Harry Potter movies
Like the kids are kids
And they're not good actors
But they're good.
You can tell they're okay.
No, but like in the first one, you could tell like they've never acted before.
But like, as they move forward, they get better.
But like, that's fine.
I'm okay with that.
They, like, we're on season seven, a modern family.
And, like, this kid's still delivering wooden lines like Anna-Kids Cowan.
I don't know.
When I saw the first Harry Potter, I looked at Harry Potter, I'm like, that kid's going to show his dick an equis one day.
That's how good of an actor he is.
He's going to be a farting corpse one day.
Yeah, that's what he is, too.
Well, here's the thing is, like, when you're a child star, like, you go different ways to show you're an adult.
Like some people do sexy stuff
And some people become a farting corpse
Right, exactly
You have a farting corpse shot
Let's see
What could possibly
What could possibly put me
As far away from Harry Potter
As possible
How did we not talk to Aaron Dark
About that while she was here
We tried
Because we didn't remember when Aaron was here
We didn't know if we could talk about
No but like when she was like
Yeah yeah yeah
You know she was like you
You Google my name
And like that's the first
Yeah the minute
The minute she's like
Oh yeah
We could totally talk about Daniel
Farting Course
How did he play a farting corpse
Because like I'm sure like he was
Like she's there
They probably
spend time together.
How do you rehearse at home for that?
Like, all right, honey, push my stomach.
I'm going to make a part nice.
Honey, I got the most intriguing, intriguing script in the mail.
Well, what is it?
What are you going to play?
Like a hero or something?
Whoa.
It's not a hero, but also a bit of a farting corpse.
A bit of a Swiss army corpse where Paul Dano were rolling me around.
Well, I fought a lot.
Do you remember when I played a boy wizard?
It's the opposite.
All right, mailbag.
She's like, do what you are all your career?
Melvag time.
It's your choice.
Mega Antole wants to know.
Best NHL Hockey Autobiography.
This is my question that I wanted to understand.
Do you read hockey books or no?
No, absolutely not.
I do.
The last book I read was Moneyball, I think.
Sports book, anyway.
I'm a big fan of the Rebel League by Ed Willies.
That was a good book.
Oh, the story of the, the HAL.
The Pickup Basketball League, the Rebels.
No, not that one.
Star Wars played.
Jesus Christ.
Ponsolo was the point card.
Yes.
That was a good book.
That's right.
I enjoyed that.
That was good.
Pass me the ball, Chewy.
Stop, stop cherry picking layups, Chewy.
I see you in the low post, Jew.
Chewy.
If it's a two on one, just put your damn arms up.
Eight feet tall.
There's a lot of good hockey books, including the 100 greatest players in NHL history and other stuff.
Oh, I read a little of Bob McKenzie's most recent book, but that's he's not a hockey player.
That doesn't count.
Yeah, it's a hockey book. Duthie's book was pretty good, too. I read half of it.
And I said that to him at the premiere, and I realized it probably shouldn't tell some guy I only read half his book.
The second you see it, hey, I only read half your book.
We have two questions that are very similar.
Kurt Reynolds wants to know, jelly, grape or strawberry.
Dude, I just made this decision the other day in the grocery store. I bought grape.
No, I bought, yeah, I bought grape.
Grape for me is the only answer.
And I actually, as much as I don't like the squeeze bottle,
thing in a lot of other food genres.
Yeah, you got to.
Like mayonnaise, I don't,
manate squeeze bottles fucking stupid.
I do enjoy having a grape squeezy.
We got to make this a mayo free podcast.
And then a walking disaster wants to know
peanut butter chunky versus smooth.
Chunky.
I'm with you. Pound on that one, buddy.
Because I think there's a lot of smoothies out there.
But there is a, there is a brand of Skippy.
It's like a Skippy natural chunky.
And it's like one of the greatest fucking things that we can't keep it in the house.
Who asked this question?
Was this person behind me in the grocery store?
Two different people asked us basically the same question.
Crazy, right?
Wait, hold on.
I want to read the one in our DMs because this person,
people diem the Puck Suit podcast account, and I never check it.
I never check DMs anymore.
Hi, I'm an 18-year-old girl watching Teen Mom, too.
What's up?
You up?
I am 18.
Oh.
Is there anyone there?
It was like 32, maybe, I could talk to?
I don't know.
I'm going to get her name wrong, but it's B-A-S-I-E-S-I.
So Basia Dugan says, hey, I'm trying to get more into the NWHL and curious about your thoughts on the league as a whole, general ability to pay its players.
It's also my boyfriend's birthday tomorrow, who is actually in your fantasy league, cooking with Eichol.
Oh, okay.
There you go.
You have a connection.
And I thought it would be a cool gift if you guys gave him a shout-out.
Tweeting this would give away the surprise.
So where do we stand on the NWHL at this point?
I think it's going to last in some form forever.
I think it's cool to get into the league because I think that league obviously needs that support.
I think women's hockey needs that support.
But ultimately, these guys just have to stop fucking around and just merge.
Like, there's no reason why there should be two women's leagues.
Merge.
You got Canada teams established.
You got U.S. teams established.
You need to get over there bullshit.
Merge.
And in the process, figure out how to compensate the players.
Because that's really the thing.
I mean, the NBHL deserves all the platitudes against because they found a way to pay the players.
Did they find a way to continue to pay the players?
The money they wanted to?
No.
But at least they made the effort.
And it's more of the effort than the Canadian League made.
But at the end of the day, they have to merge.
Because the thing that sells women's hockey, it's one thing besides the fact that it's empowering to have women be professional athletes.
Canada versus the United States is the bread and butter of those leagues.
It's where we know all these players from those Olympic battles.
Yeah, but you can't do that for a...
No, but you have to get...
I'm saying you have to get all those players under the same umbrella.
You have to be able to get Poulan.
You have to get all the players on Canada that we know and all the players in the U.S. that we know have to be in the same league.
They have to interact.
They have to have
have to have rivalries
and play out
those scenarios
and also be teammates too
and that's always interesting.
They've got to be
in the same player pool.
I know what you want.
I know,
I know, in your heart
is going to sell
the NHL
fighting.
Absolutely.
You want to see,
you want to see women
just throw it out.
Those women's games
with Canada can be a little
dicey.
You're a goon.
You're a goon.
Real quick,
Dan Straight Edge,
a dedicated puck
listener wants to know
when did you first
realize, oh shit,
I'm old now.
That moment,
I think I mentioned
on the show
from a hockey
perspective
was when Ray Ferraro's kid, Landon, Farrow got drafted.
That was when I realized that I'm on a runaway train to prostateville.
Really?
Yeah, it's Prostateville, population, you?
I don't know.
Like, I feel like I've seen so many, like, sons of players at this point.
I don't know if there was really one.
Like, when I was, like, 30, my back started to hurt.
That was a bad day.
When I realized I had to start taking care of, like, my lower back and shit,
that was only 30 at that point.
Actually, here's the thing, two months ago, two or three months ago, I came to realize, I mean, like, I'm bald, so I have no hair.
But, like, I realize that, like, if my hair gets a little too scraggly on the face, like, you can see white now in my image, which is gross.
And two, I now have old person arms.
Do you know what old person arms are?
What do you mean, floppy things here?
Like, it's not like, it's not like floppy.
Right.
It's kind of floppy, but, like, it's just, like, I was washing my hands in the mirror, and I looked at, like, the under part of my arm.
And I was like, you know, you know, Madonna's arms?
She's super jacked.
Super in shape.
We're just like you.
Exactly.
Same thing.
Same thing.
But like she's older, so like her arms have a certain look to them.
And that's how people who get older's arms look.
And I caught a glimpse and I'm like, I'm fucking old.
There's your answer.
So, uh, on behalf of grandma arms over there, I'm, uh...
Shut up, don't get.
This is bullshit.
I reveal myself and now I'm gonna get me and fun of for it.
That's fine.
It's good.
I'll go work my tries when I get home.
All right, yeah.
And by that I mean,
eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.
Look, honey, grandma's got elephant ears.
Right, hair in the ears is next.
God, it's all falling apart.
You know, it's funny.
Elephant ears, hair in the ears.
I had someone...
Old balls.
Going back to the beginning of the episode with mishearing things,
I was speaking with somebody in Canada that I think was like working the desk at the Weston
that I was saying in.
And she looked at my idea and she's like, oh, New York City.
Yeah, that's pretty cool.
I'm like, yeah, the city that never sleeps.
And she goes, yeah, you know, it's gross up there.
You keep on kicking stuff over on the sidewalk.
And I realized that she thought I said the city that never sweeps.
True story.
Both apply.
Yeah, I'm a giant mumble mouth.
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yvesports Puck Daddy blog.
You can find my stuff at Woshensky on Twitter.
You can find my other podcast.
Merrick versus Wichinsky on Sportsnet.
It's on iTunes.
And pick up my book.
Take your eye off the puck.
how to watch hockey by nowhere to look.
And here is Lozo.
Yeah, I feel like I've done all my rants already.
I've done my child actor rants.
I've done my Logan rants.
Did you ever notice how you always get stuck with a shopping cart with the wiggly wheel?
I'll just start doing old Andy Rooney rants now, I suppose.
I mean, like Todd Bridges, Gary Coleman, Dana Plato, they're all good actors.
Like, I feel like there's good child actors out there.
How does Modern Family, this show that's supposed to be Emmy winning, not have...
No disrespect to the departed, but I'll push back on you on Dana Plato.
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, she knew what she was doing.
She had, she had emotion and stuff and charisma.
No, no, no, you're not happy that your hair turned green.
You're really upset your hair turned green.
What percentage of the audience gets different strokes references is the question?
Maybe it was just Conrad Bain's influence, the acting.
Like, you know, like you're studying.
Oh, Arnold!
As opposed to like Eric Stone Street, maybe he's just not a good teacher.
I don't know.
Should we bash Eric Stone Street?
He's a hockey guy.
No, he needs to come on the podcast.
Do you think Conrad Bain and the,
dad from Alf were the same model of Android.
How about the dad from Alf actually ran Central Perk during the first couple seasons before they brought in Gunther?
Gunther, is that right?
Mm-hmm.
And then I think the dad from that Alf show ended up being like a real sicko of some sort.
Right.
He was a real sicko.
I did enjoy that episode of Friends where Phoebe sings Smelly Cat while Alf eats cats.
Smelly cat, smelly cat.
Willie!
Whoa!
Get me some cat!
God damn!
All this time, I've been carrying the impression load on this show,
and all of a sudden you break out Alf like it's nobody's business.
I'm trying to save it for the award show.
Oh, God.
Coming to the stage.
Jim Roman Alf.
Jim!
Alf eats cats.
If there's a cat, Alf will eat it.
All you people out there are saying that Alf does not eat cats.
You're wrong.
Alf loves cats.
Dear Jim, give this guy a cat, signed.
Purina.
Coming to the stage, Willie Desjardin!
All right, whatever.
Thanks, everybody.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
