Puck Soup - Sydney Esiason
Episode Date: May 12, 2016Greg and Dave talk hockey with Sydney Esiason of SI.com, including her relationship with the Islanders' Matt Martin and how her Rangers fan father Boomer Esiason feels about it. Plus, ranking the Marv...el Cinematic Universe movies and matching each one with a hockey thing; the Capitals are eliminated, and we love Phil Kessel; Bruce Boudreau and Guy Boucher get jobs; and Dave gets confused by a joke regarding the Minions and 1970s pornography.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Seat Geek.
Have you ever been frustrated trying to buy tickets online?
Most sites make it complicated.
And then they try to sneak in huge fees at checkout.
That's why you need to try Seat Geek.
They made it easier than ever to buy and sell sports and concert tickets.
Dave, we're in New York City.
Everybody buys freaking tickets so quickly you can't get the good seats.
What do you go to get good seats?
I go to Seat Geek because that's where you get seats if you're a geek and I'm a geek.
And you need seats?
I need seats.
Indeed.
If you listen to Puck Soup, you can get a $20 rebate off your first Seat Geek purchase.
Here's how you do it.
You download the free Seat Geek app.
Go to Settings.
You click add a promo code.
You enter the promo code S-O-U-P for the spelling challenge.
Soup.
Soup.
Seat Geek will send you $20 after you've made your first ticket purchase.
Download the free Seat Geek app.
Enter the promo code Soup today for your rebate.
And enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons
We've got sportly commentary to what if you'll commute
But we also cover movies, TV shows, eats and tunes
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense
Pog too
I'm Greg Wyshinsky of Yahoo Sports Fuck Daddy blog
And I'm Dave Lozo of Vice.
of the comeback of Uprocks, and this is Puck Soup.
Oh, wait, you want to do your urine there?
You're in, you're in Puck Soup.
Yeah, you're in Puck Soup where Captain America is a piece of garbage
and should be shot at the end of Civil War.
Oh, stay tuned for hot, hot, H-A-W-T, hot Marvel takes later in the podcast.
My take of Captain America should die is a very medium, smart.
God, it's so mad.
Your take of Captain America Should Die makes the Colin Cowherd,
Jason Whitlock show on Fox
sound like PBS by comparison
That's how hot your take is
Me and Colin are both fearless
We provide fearless commentary
On sports and comic book movies
Oh yeah
That's a very welcome welcome show
I won't do any
There won't be any spoilers in this episode by the way
I'm not going to sit here and tell you what happens
But yeah
God Captain America
All right listen
Here's the deal
As we do this podcast
The Western Conference Finals
Aren't done yet
two game sevens.
I was frankly surprised that the
blues didn't close out the
Dallas Stars. I was
not that surprised that
were going seven with the Sharkies and the
Preds, because everybody's held
serve on home ice in that series, so I'm not surprised
by that. Pesky Preds.
That pesky Preds.
What is the...
We'll just get this out of the way because we obviously
aren't our soothsayers. They don't know how it's all
going to work out. What are you talking about? Caps
and Ducks in the Cup final, baby.
That's going to happen?
what's the Western Conference Final
you hope to see?
I still want to see
San Jose St. Louis.
I want to see the two
quote-unquote losery teams
from the past four or five years,
just have one of them for sure
go to the Stanley Cup final.
But I don't really care one way or the other.
I just want to see Joe Thornton
take the cup
and just shove it down the throats
of all the people that were like
he's a loser, he's never going to win
and shove it down Doug Wilson's throat
for trying to trade him.
I'm really invested in Joe Thornton
giving people the middle finger.
Essentially, you want him to unzip and put his junk in the cup.
I mean, if he wants to, I'm not going to pressure anyone to do anything with their genitals that they don't want to do, but please do that.
That would be so awesome.
Oh, I'd love to see that.
I want St. Louis and San Jose for the same reason you said, but I've come around to being okay with St. Louis and Nashville, only because I've heard that rivalry is legit.
I think that a conference final playoff series between those two teams would make it even legitter.
and I kind of like the predators and their fans.
Listen, let me rephrase that.
The predators have some absolute scumbag human garbage on their team,
but enough about Shea Weber.
No, please, he's a great guy.
No, but I like, I love the little comeback kid, cardiac kid thing they had going on.
I'd be all right with St. Louis and the Predators,
but basically what we're saying is not your time, Dallas, wait your turn.
Like, no matter what it is.
Back in the line, Dallas.
Dallas, Nashville, San Jose, St.
San Jose, St. Louis, Louis,
St. Louis, Nashville, like, the Western Final is going to be awesome.
Yeah, it is.
I'm going to really enjoy the Western Final.
But, like, Dallas, you know, look, there's a lot of time for you to get back there.
Yeah.
You know, Joe Thornton's, like, 44 years old.
David Baggis is, like, 52.
I mean, let's give those guys one last kick at the can before it all falls apart for them.
And the other thing I'd like to see if the sharks do win the cup is to see Brent,
Brent Burns make it disappear in his beard.
Just like, and it's just gone.
But that's the thing, like, you can't drink from it until the end because, like,
all those little beard pieces are going to be.
be used. There's going to be like a piece of like bacon that's going to be floating around
in the champagne after the game.
What would be the grossest thing for Brent Burns to eat with his current beard status?
I'm thinking alphabets.
It's a corn on the cop.
That would just be a horror show.
If Brent Burns ate corn of the cob, it would look like like a mousse's diaper afterwards.
It would look like someone took a bunch of little yellow poops into his, like, a bunch of
like hamster poops, but like little yellow niblets and seeds in his beard and just, oh.
It would look like the minions marched into a 1970s porno film.
Oh, Jesus.
Wait, so who's doing what to the minions?
What's going on here?
So I was in Pittsburgh for game six of the Capitals Penguin series.
Put his mouth right on the, all right, no, I go ahead.
And once again, for the seventh time of the eight times, Alex Ovechkin has been eliminated from the playoffs,
I got to stand around with a tape recorder and hear him mutter some platitudes for his team
and mutters some uncertainty of why things had to go the way they go
and then watch him quickly grab his bag in a plane ticket and fly off to the World Championships.
Oh, so you're going to be one of those World Championship shrews?
No, no, no, no.
I said this to Patrick O'Sullivan today on Twitter about OV leaving for the World Championships.
Why, was he contending that that's what he was?
He was kind of like one of these people like, I don't know if it's the best look, but like, there's a thing.
You know, we give these hockey players so much credit for compartmentalizing grief, depression, sadness,
you push your emotions to the side, you play the game, get on the ice, it all disappears when you're on the ice.
Your players say it all the time.
Alex Ovechkin has had his spirit crushed by the thing that makes the cars until little tiny cubes in the junkyard every year in the playoffs.
Like, he's just, he's got to be the saddest man inside because you just can't get over the hump and go to the conference championship.
So if he's going to, if the only way he can deal is by fleeing off and playing a world championship with his Russian boys, peace me with you, brother.
Disagree.
I think this shows he's heartless and gutless and only cares about Russia and himself.
I mean, clearly, I mean, if he actually had cared, if he was Canadian, he would have won four Stanley Cups by now, but he's just a Russian loser who doesn't know how to win.
That's just, I mean, that's just the fact at this point, Greg.
The way I see it is this.
The Stanley Cup
the Olympics is difficulty
setting high.
Stanley Cup playoffs,
difficulty setting medium.
Double IHF World Championships
from Russia,
difficulty setting easy.
Right.
Like I don't think he cares one way.
Difficulty setting easy and off sides are off.
Right.
Like I never pay attention to it.
And there was like a thing,
it was like Canada beats the U.S. 6-1.
And I'm like, oh wow,
when he was playing.
And I saw like the photo caption,
it was like,
I forget who the player was like,
Brad Marchan.
I was like, Brad Marchan,
he was like, Brad Marchan scores against Keith Kincaid.
And I'm like,
Keith Kincaid.
Come on, this isn't a real tournament.
Canada had all their big guns,
and one of the players on the U.S.,
I'm pretty sure, was the stick boy for
B.C. college this season.
BC College, thanks, idiot.
Before Christ's college.
Like, when a goal gets hurt,
and they bring in the guy off the street to play,
like, that's the guy who plays a goal for the world.
That was one of my favorite things during the 05
lockout was the idea that they floated
the idea of there maybe being replacement players,
and, like, the idea of, like,
there being an open casting call in Toronto to become a leaf.
Like, oh, my God, that is, like,
the plumbers like
no showing their job because they're
going to go try to be a leaf. I would watch
the hell out of that hockey league for a year.
The SCAB hockey league? Oh, the SCAB.
Like, I feel like SCAB football was always
bad because if you watch football now, there's like
five dudes who can like complete a pass on a regular
basis, but like when there's none, it's bad
but like hockey, when hockey's bad
and like shit breaks down all the time,
like it's not good hockey, but it's fun.
So imagine 82 games, six months
of like Billy, the tax account
from Ontario.
Oh, yeah.
With like 72 gold.
Oh, I'd watch this shit out of that.
I would watch the shit out of it too.
And I love the idea of, like, you know, in Toronto,
they would not suffer for people that want to play.
But, like, Tampa, probably not that situation.
So how many guys would be packing up their, you know, VW vans in Canada?
Well, state your business going to the States.
Driving down a fucking Tampa plays an hockey for the lightning.
They got Jimmy Buffett on the third line.
I can out play that guy and make that team.
Ovi looks sadder than usual
I noticed he and I are both going gray
He was really very soft-spoken
Like mouse fart levels of volume
In his speaking
And like at this point
What do you even say about the Capitals?
Like this is clearly the best team he's played on
This is clearly the best coach he's played for
This is clearly the best goalie he's ever had
They upgraded their talent from Shlub and Shlub to Justin Williams
And J.O.S.
because Netsoff was great in the regular season
pulled an Alex Semen in the playoffs
So many of those guys disappeared in the playoffs
The only thing that I can say about the caps
Is that the depth on their blue line was exposed
Orpick
You know
What a perfect cherry on the shit Sunday
That was his playoff
To take the double minor in game six
And the Penguin score on both ends of it
But like it's clear that they need to upgrade the blue line
And get quicker
Like there was a speed deficit in the season
series. And full marks to the penguins for getting some super fast guys in that lineup.
But there was definitely a speed deficit in the series. And I think, the other thing, too, is that, like,
you know, playoff series are tough to win. And, like, you can't dig yourself a hole like they
did. You can't lose a game four when Latang and Maher are both out. You can't do it.
And you sure, shit, can't get down three-nothing into game six, expect to come all the way back
and win it. Brain and Hope he got outplayed by Matt Murray, too. A little bit. I don't know if that's a
thing in D.C., but, like, in game six, he was, he was visibly shaken, I thought, by the Kessel
goal.
I think the Kessel goal threw him off for a while.
Like, he made a save on Brian Russ in the first period when it was won nothing, where
it was a total accident.
He was behind, like, he didn't know where the puck was, it just hit him.
And for long stretches of that game, even the winning goal.
On the winning goal, Hagelin takes the puck, basically dead center, like 15 feet out,
and he's, like, pushing off to the far post.
That's why the first save he makes, he's, like, sprawled out with his right leg.
That wasn't a difficult save, but, like, he just, he just, like, Matt Murray, like, Matt, I didn't think
Matt Murray was that great, but he was, if Braden Holby was better than Matt Murray in that series,
which I kind of thought was going to be the case when I picked it, I thought that they were
going to win, but, like, that, like, watching the post game stuff last night from the couch,
like, I was in the room last year, and they lost in seven to the Rangers, that was pretty bad,
but, like, they, they seemed like, they were, they were, like, just, like, I don't know,
what do we do?
And it's funny, because, like, Barry Trots did a really good job kind of,
of like subverting the narrative for most of these playoffs being like hey listen that's in the
past new team new players that's in the past but then last night you could hear it in his voice it's
like you know they had a chance to kind of rewrite this or or dump this label and like you could tell
that the weight if the weight of that history of the capitals never getting to the conference final
was weighing on their coach's mind you know it was in the room too and that's got to play into it
as well. Like, it seemed odd to me that, like, they were just, you know, foot on the gas when they were down 3-0 to get a tied, and then Crystal Tang gifts them a two-minute power play with 250 to go or whatever, and they just had the crappiest tightest power play. I mean, there's something to be said for just, you just can't. Like, I'm never going to be a guy that's like blame Wavichkin, but if, no, I'm not going to blame him here. However. But, like, people are always getting mad when people are like, maybe you should trade Ovechkin, oh, yeah, blame him. I'm not blaming him, but if they.
This core is never, ever, ever, if they're always going to happen to run into a team that's better than them.
Like, Pahopey last night was like, maybe we played this team too soon.
Well, then you would have lost to the next round anyway.
But at least they get to the conference final.
Right.
And they could raise, we played in the conference final banner at Verizon Center.
No, but I mentioned this last night because Ian Mendez tweeted it.
Eiserman didn't win a cup until his 14th year in the league.
Like, there is something to be said for patience.
The Blues showed patience with their team.
They made one big trade.
That's it.
Some kids came up.
Like, I believe in this team.
And they came back in that game six.
One bouncer here or there.
We're talking about a game seven.
They were so bad to start games.
They were, atrocious.
For the first 30 minutes of the game.
I don't know, man.
Like, I would sit on this egg and see if it hatches for another year.
Oh, yeah.
I mean, you can't do the San Jose thing where you'd panic because you lost four or seven
to, like, a really, really, really good team at the time because you are a really good team.
But if you do it again, like, my thing is if this happens again next year,
no matter what form it takes, whether it's you ran into a hot goalie,
you were a good team, but happened to catch a team that was playing well,
if you just weren't good enough.
You have to, like, you have to do something.
Yeah.
I don't know, like, because the thing is, like, let's say you trade Ovechkin.
You're going to lose that trade.
You're not going to win that trade because you're trading Alex Ovechkin.
But I don't, like, I don't know what you do because, like, if you just keep bringing,
because they brought in Justin Williams, T.J. Oshie was really good.
Yeah.
And, I mean, like, Burakowski and Kuznet.
Mike Richard.
It was terrible.
They had so many.
Again, look at the penguins, like Hornquist, Matt Cullen,
Paglin, Shiri, all these guys did stuff for them.
Enough about the sad sacks.
Let's talk about the potential champs.
The Penguins won a series with a rookie goalie,
with Malkin going four games without a point,
with Sid not scoring a goal since the Rangers series.
She was just the whole series for Rosby.
And then the Kessel line carried him in game six.
And here's where we are with the Penguins right now.
We're watching Matt Murray, Ken Dryden,
and Cam Ward this bitch, and we're watching
the Kesselmania
running wild. I am so happy
for Phil right now. You're leading
score for the penguins in the playoffs.
And here's the beautiful thing, right? I wrote about
to stay on Puck Daddy. He
didn't work at... They bought him in to be
Sid's winger. They had no chemistry.
Then he played with Malkin.
They had some chemistry. Then they put
him on the third line with
two other schmows that weren't
Sid or Malkin, and it's
like, he's the happiest man.
alive. He just doesn't want to have
that pressure. He just wants to
play hockey. It's all he wants to do.
Just want to go out there and just play some hockey.
Right. So they let him play some hockey.
And again, like, how
great is it when a plan
comes together? I was the first guy to make
fun of Jim Rutherford. Has, oh,
if the phones ringing, mother,
I'm going to go see if that
penguins, general manager. Well, let
me take this word of those original out of my
mouth and see if I...
But, like, dude made the change.
Trevor Daly worked out
Carl Hagelin worked out
Benino last summer worked out
Kessels worked out now
Like that line that one game six
Was put together by one guy
And it was Jim Rutherford
Yeah
That's a great feeling
For anybody out there
Who's watched their general manager
Flibe and flobby
And trade the wrong guys
And fuck up the team
But it just shows you like how being a GM
Like everyone's like John Shaka
What's he ever done?
What's his analytical back?
I haven't vetted him
Like if you just know hockey
and you can spot talent, like, and you're a GM.
Like, that's how, that's how, like, thin the line is.
Like, you can just be, like, seriously, he, I mean, Jim Rutherford, I mean,
holy Christ, he was bad for him.
Like, he found three good guys to come in.
He's 75 years older than John Chaco than the GM with the Arizona Coyotes.
By the way, I love the fact that the coyotes named the 26-year-old as their general manager,
because I think, I think if you want to get a trade done, you need to put a deadline on things,
and sending trade offers via Snapchat,
Yeah.
Totally puts a deadline on things.
And he's really going to pressure other teams to make a decision.
So it was like, hey, John, can you send over some film of this Bodker guy?
And he just sends over like a 45-second snap story of like Michael Bodker highlights that dissolves at the end.
Guys, guys, guys, what is it, John?
Did you make a trade for Austin Matthews?
No, I found my box with all my own Pokemon cards.
He's so young.
He doesn't remember when they were playing in Winnipeg.
He's like, wait, wait, the Winnipeg Jets used to be us?
No, Shane Dome was a Winnipeg get out of here.
No, come on, man.
Somebody's demented uncles in the locker room.
He won't get out.
John, it's Shane Done.
He's played here for quite a long time.
John Jake is so young.
How young is he?
How young is he?
Daddy doesn't have any pubic hair yet.
I don't know.
Oh, that's vivid.
And coincidentally, the second pubicare joke man on the podcast today.
Is it?
The 1970s porno.
Do I have to explain?
Shut up.
Oh, no, I thought you were saying,
oh, I thought you were saying his beard was going to have the stuff in it,
because his beard...
Right, but his beard was the, in the 1970s porno,
because they didn't...
Oh, I thought you had him going down on a minion.
You thought it was going down on a minion?
Because you said there was, like, minion stuff in his beard,
so I thought maybe, like, little pieces...
The corn in his beard.
Right, I thought, like, maybe the minions were, like...
The corn in his beard looked like a 1970s vagina with minions in it.
I thought, like, he was actually doing sex stuff to the minions and that.
And, oh, yeah, what you said makes more sense now that you say it that way.
Yeah, because, I mean, otherwise it would be weird.
Yeah, it'd be really weird.
Oh, no, it looks like the minions are...
Is that a grue voice? I don't even know.
It's my wife.
Is she a minion?
This minion is number one prostitute in Ben Burns' beard.
Yeah, that's why in my mind I was picturing that all around.
Fine. I'm glad we cleared that up.
Big elephant in the...
corner of the podcast studio here, the 1970s minions.
His beard was a pubic hair joke that I made before.
All right.
So Sydney Science is coming up in a second.
We need to get to two coaching things that happened as well.
By the way, the Tampa Bay Lightning are great,
and they're going to fight against the penguins,
but they're going to lose in six.
What's your prediction?
Oh, dude.
Penguins and six.
Penguins and six.
Me and you both say it.
Penguins and seven.
Seven.
All right.
I say six, you say seven.
Bruce Boudreau, hired by the Minnesota Wild.
Here's what I've come to realize about Bruce Boudreau.
what are you laughing?
I don't know.
I don't know why he's doing this one necessarily.
I know why he's doing it.
They're paying him a lot of money.
I think for what he does, Ottawa would have been an interesting choice.
I also think the Eastern Conference is a hell of a lot easier to win in than the West.
I would thought that maybe Calgary would be a good fit,
but I've heard that Great Find that Brian Burke,
not exactly the fondest of Bruce Boudreau is the thing I heard.
And so Minnesota is the choice.
four-year contract, lots and lots of dough.
Everybody that's important on that team is in their early 30s.
And to me, the window to win is, like, two years.
I don't even think there is a window to win.
I don't know why he picked that team besides the money.
I think he picked that team because they were so bad offensively
that all he has to do is sprinkle his pork-scented fairy dust on that roster,
and they'll just shoot the puck more and score more goals, and he'll look like a genius.
I thought it was funny that he got hired the day of the Islanders got eliminated.
I was like, you just wait a day.
Maybe the high owners would be like, hey, Bruce Brue Joe's available.
We got a lot of talent.
Yeah.
You know, I just, Minnesota just feels like they're on the wrong.
Like, you know how it seems like Chicago right now?
It kind of feels like they're kind of starting to go down the other side of the hill.
Like, Minnesota didn't even get up that high.
And they're like going down like a small tiny, like mole hill.
Yeah, they're like me trying to climb an icy, an icy sidewalk on an incline.
Like, and they're already like stumbling and falling into the slush puddle.
And then Bruce Brojury.
Like, I just, yeah.
But, I mean, what other?
options where there is Ottawa, which
I mean, first of all, that was, Giebusha was their first
choice. Don't you dare ever.
Boudreau. Boudreau did say they never made a formal
contract offer to him, which could just mean that
like he picked Minnesota before they could.
But like, so as
the Gie Boucher, Mark Crawford
duo in Ottawa is going to be fascinating.
And I'm happy they did it because I've said for years,
one of the biggest problems I have with Ottawa is that
no one gives a shit about him. And now
I give a shit about him because you've got
you've got Gie Boucher there who I think is
like, I don't even
know how that's going to work because his his one three one system everybody figured it out by the time
he left and he was a complete asshole yeah so those two things combined don't make him the sexiest
candidate my mind but lo and behold there he is in ottawa yeah i don't know if i care any more about
ottawa than i did before if he makes eric crossin somehow like less good i'm gonna be mad at him
like you know what i mean like if they're playing some sort of like safe system where it's like
i want eric crossin to be better in his own zone and not take as many like oh no no no don't do it
No, Guth.
Because, I mean, think about how much better, like, Victor Hedman has gotten since he left.
I mean, Victor Hedman was younger then, and, you know, he's sort of hitting his prime anyway.
But, like, would Victor Hedman be as good now with Gie Bousher there instead of John Cooper?
Well, we'll see.
I think we're all waiting to see if maybe he's found some humility in his overseas sabbatical, because I can't underscore this enough.
He was a giant asshole in Tampa Bay, and they all hated him.
I'll never forget how I was, this was back when the Rangers were moving the press moks around, the different parts of the,
the arena when they were sort of remodeling it.
And I was, it was Steve Eisenman was sitting next to somebody and like the,
the lightning were just getting waxed.
And he was fucking screaming about Guy Boucher.
He's like, does this guy know what he's fucking dick?
He was just really, really dressed?
Yeah, it was probably like, God, I forgot how long it was before he got fired, but it was,
I think it might have been like a year before, but like, I don't, I don't think.
30 seconds later.
Yeah, I don't think Steve, like the whole system that he was playing there.
I can see that.
So, so, it would be interesting.
I mean, it's the East, it's Ottawa.
They got some stuff. They might work out okay, but
it could have liked to have seen Brucey there.
Could have been Randy Carlyle.
Yeah, what's, I mean, what's Calgary going to do at this point?
Oh, who the hell knows?
Listen, who cares?
Sidney Asyerson, we care about.
She is a on-screen personality for SI now.
She does some golf.com.
You may have remembered her from NHL.com as well.
She is the daughter of Boomer, Osyerson, and she is the bay.
of Matt Martin.
The Bay.
Of Matt Martin and the New York Islanders.
And we get into some really cool conversations
about what it's like
to be in a relationship with an NHL player,
not only as a member of the media,
but also when you're watching the games
and your long-haired Thor-like boyfriend
is thrown around his body
and then getting punched in the face
and his nose is by his ear.
Yes.
It's probably like watching your kid get hurt,
only it's like he's an adult
and he's being severely hurt.
He's not like falling off of a bike
or tripping and falling in Little League.
He's getting his feet.
face rearranged by another large man.
And you love that man.
So it's stressful and sad and all that stuff.
Sydney Assayson's awesome.
Enjoy the interview when we come back.
Marvel Talk.
Sydney Assyacin, you are here with Dave and I on Puck Soup.
Hi, Sydney.
I am here.
Hi.
And you are an Islander's loyalist.
Yes, I'm actually more of like a number 17 loyalist.
That's how I would have to put it.
So this is an interesting fact.
Let's just cut to the chase.
Matt Martin is your boy.
Yep.
For every sense of the word.
I don't like labels, Dave.
Oh, but boys.
He's a man, Craig.
So he was your entry point to the islander's,
because before that, you were raised...
A Rangers fan.
I was like a hardcore New York Rangers fan.
You dabbled in the dark arts of Rangers' fandom.
Yes, I was.
We started dating three years ago,
our first date.
I was, obviously, a huge Rangers fan.
I had no idea who he was when he tweeted at me.
I was in college still, so I was like, who the heck is Matt Martin?
How do you end up on Matt Martin's radar screen then?
I was at a concert at the Coliseum, and I met one of the prospects at the time who I had a casual conversation with him, and he told Matt about me.
And then Matt found me on Twitter.
It's actually worse than saying you met on Tinder, so I don't even like telling the story.
So it was a concert at the Nassau Coliseum?
Yeah.
So I assumed it was Stained.
I know.
It was Katie Perry.
Oh, it's Katie Perry.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah, hockey players love Katie Perry.
But so he tweeted at me.
I was like, who the heck is Matt Martin?
I looked at his Twitter bio said, you know, forward for the New York Islanders.
And I was like, oh, no, like, I'm a huge Rangers fan.
This is not going to work.
What was his opening line?
What did he throw out?
It was like, hey, at dinner with the prospect at the time and thought we'd say hi.
And I was like, okay, how do I tweet back?
I don't really know why.
I said hi, and then we started messaging, and yeah.
Now, I forget if at the time, he still had his sick flow.
He had his hockey salad, right?
Yeah, he had really long hair when we met, and then when we started dating, he cut it all off.
So he had, like, longer hair?
He had, no, like, he had, like, a boy, like, a little boy cut when we first started dating.
Oh.
Yeah, like, he had short hair for, like, a little bit of time there.
And then he started growing it out again.
So he didn't have his full hockey flow, like Norse God kind of locks.
Like Thor looking.
Not for nothing. I don't know why the Sindergarde is Thor and he's not.
You know what?
He's better flow.
He's stronger and bigger and can hurt people.
Yeah.
It makes more sense for him to be Thor.
Well, more people watch baseball, I think, than hockey.
So I think New Yorkers wanted to give the Thor to Noah's Indigard.
I don't trust the Nielsen's per se, but I guess in totality there might be a few more baseball fans than hockey fans.
So what are you going to do you?
do because your loyalty relies on him being an islander and he's a UFA.
So what are you going to do if hypothetically he winds up in Edmonton?
Are you going to start being an Edmonton fan?
You know what?
You know what?
You know what?
Anywhere he goes, I'll be passionate because the thing that happened was I changed from
being, you know, a ranger loyalist to an Islander loyalist because I met all the guys
and their families.
So obviously, like, I couldn't sit there and root for their biggest rival across town
and know all these guys and know how great they are and, you know, be friends with their
wives and girlfriends.
So that's where, you know, the passion came from.
I think it would be funny if, like, he leaves and then, like, one day, like,
Josh Bailey's girlfriend or wife calls, and you're just like, don't call me anymore.
I'm like, don't talk to me.
Actually, Josh Bailey's wife is actually one of my best friends of the team, so funny that you say that.
But, yeah, that would be weird.
But, no, I think everybody kind of stays in touch.
Wives and girlfriends, like, especially the Canadian ones, they all know each other from all teams
because they all went to, like, high school together.
And, like, I'm just, like, this New Yorker, like,
I'm like, I don't know anybody.
So you're saying that you're, Dave, you envision a sort of a high school drama playing out where like Taylor Hall's girlfriend would be like, why are you talking to Josh Bailey's wife?
You can't talk to them anymore.
Maddie's an oiler now.
It's like a hardcore sorority.
Right.
Like, not for nothing, but you have like a lot of boring.
You have to choose your friends.
So.
Yeah, you should have to rush.
You're like, you're our sister now, so you can't talk to the other sorority.
One of us.
One of us.
No, I don't think it works like that.
I mean, you know, obviously.
yeah, wherever he goes, I'll support him, but he might not go, you know, so Islander fans are
currently freaking out about that.
The cool thing about Matt Martin is that, like, they, he definitely is now ingrained on
being that, on that checking line.
Yeah.
And, like, the checking line for the Islanders this season was arguably the best thing not
named John DeVaris about the Islanders this season, like fan favorites and thrown out there
in all situations and throwing the body around and people love them.
So I feel like there's a certain amount of, like, public goodwill that, you
They've built up to maybe bring him back.
I think it would be very hard to break up that line.
I don't think you'd want to.
I mean, if I'm...
Here's my devil's advocate, though.
Please.
He only made a million bucks last year.
Yeah.
Only a million bucks.
It's like nothing at all.
Of course, you had 10 goals.
He's a good penalty killer.
He's a good skater.
You're saying he's going to swoop in and...
I'm saying he's probably do a pretty decent size or a raise.
And if there's one thing I know about the a island,
they love spending money.
So, I don't know why he...
Okay, well, there's a new owner now.
So, no, he, yeah, obviously he reached that career high and goals, and that was obviously a big milestone for him and obviously a big year to do it.
So, I mean, you know, the future is like a little unclear right now, but I think, you know, in the next couple of weeks we'll know.
When you, because you mentioned you watch and play, I've seen you mention on Twitter.
By the way, Twitter will come up more than a few times this conversation.
I mean, I'm pretty open on Twitter.
So you go to watch the games, you grab a little glass of wine.
When I covered the Capitals, I was blown away by the family room that they had for the players.
Because, you know, it's typically call it the wives and girlfriends room, but like that's completely not cool.
I mean, there's always friends and parents there too.
So it's not just the wife's and then eventually when someone's boyfriend, let's say, because God willing, that'll ever happen comes in.
We won't call it the wives and girlfriends anymore.
So that room was so pimp.
It was like a sweet at Caesars in Vegas.
It was so swank.
Is the room in Brooklyn like that?
Yeah, it's really nice.
They have actually like a little room for the kids, like a little playroom.
You can shove them in there and drink your wine and enjoy the game.
They're like just go in there.
No, I mean, I don't have kids.
So I don't even, I'm not even anywhere near that.
Billy, go get mommy some more wine.
They have wine and stacked beer and they always have hot dogs and popcorn for us,
but they have like gourmet meals when you walk in.
Like they have usually tacos on Tuesday and yeah, it's pretty sweet.
What they do for the media typically is they give you popcorn,
then you give you a little sieve to sieve out the rat droppings,
and then we can eat the rest of the popcorn once that process is done.
But enjoy your gourmet meals.
That sounds pretty fun.
Well, the Coliseum was a little different.
I mean, boy, wasn't it?
It's just a tad different.
But obviously everybody at the Coliseum was we knew all the people that worked there.
So like it was the same faces every time.
time. So that kind of, you know, when we moved to Barclays, it was obviously a lot different because
it was new people. But no, everybody's really nice. Dave and I have no concept of what it's like to be
with an athlete. Okay. You guys don't? I mean, every time you look in the mirror.
No, I mean, like, I don't like to talk about this, but like me and Amanda Kessel have been,
yeah. It's not right. We don't like to talk about it publicly. Yeah. Yeah. It's more, it's more only
happening in my mind. Yeah. But I mean, it's like screech of these Eternal. It's one of those situations.
But whatever, I just don't want to be ashamed here.
Shoot for the stars.
So what is it like?
Because not only are you with a professional hockey player,
but you're the professional hockey player who is one of the more physical players on his team.
So what's that experience like watching him play the way he plays?
You know, at first I was used to it because I grew up watching hockey
and obviously, you know, my dad played football.
Oh, yeah.
Spoiler alert, her dad's remember of a season, by the way.
So obviously, like, the injuries and everything, you know, it comes with that.
And I understood, you know, what goes into the sport.
So I was never really nervous when he fought, like the first year we were dating.
Until last year I was at NHL and my coworkers can attest to this.
He got in a fight with, I think it was, you're playing the Flyers.
I think it was white.
Okay.
And he just caught him.
And his note, Matt's nose literally went from the right side of his face to the left side of his face.
to the left side of his face.
And he went to the penalty box.
Do you not remember this?
His, like, face, his nose was all the way on the other side of his face.
And I was sitting in the control room watching the game.
I was supposed to be watching another game because I didn't do it.
He could smell what he was hearing for a little bit.
And he was just sitting in the penalty box and blood was just dripping down his face.
And I turned white.
And my producer was like, yeah, do you need to like take a lap?
Do you need to make some calls?
I'm like, yeah, I got to call the PR guy.
Like, freaking out.
I'm trying to not freak out because I'm trying to be professional.
But after that, then I kind of sort of.
or started to get nervous.
But, I mean, I know usually he wins.
That's true.
And as his stats will attest, he's usually the hit her rather than the hit he.
Yes.
Speaking of hits.
Yeah.
Oh, wait, hold on.
Oh, here we go.
I'm a devils fan.
I grew up with Devils fan.
I make no bones about being a devil's fan.
Dave used to be a Devils fan, then he renounced it for some fucking reason.
You bring up the fact that you're a devils fan the way Captain America brings up, he's from Brooklyn.
That's right.
That's right.
That's right.
me and me and Spider-Man's bite.
I'm like, who are you a fan?
He's like, oh, I'm a Devils.
Actually, I'm a Devils fan.
So. I'm very sorry, by the way.
About what?
About all of it?
Yeah, no shit.
Things were going really well for about a decade or so.
So like, but like in my writing,
I use that as sort of an entry point for people.
I'm like, hey, I'm a fan, you're a fan, you know,
I'm writing this, you know where my loyalties lie.
I'm usually harder on the devils than anybody else.
But when you're, as a member of the media, you know,
especially when you're working with the NHL.
Yeah.
I mean, you've got some loyalties, too.
So what was that like?
I actually didn't do Islander games.
Me and my boss agreed on that.
Oh, is that right?
Yeah, I never did Islander games.
And I wasn't really comfortable doing that.
Like, I would have preferred to, you know, watch other games.
You weren't comfortable doing Islander games?
I wasn't comfortable, you know, being like, oh, and Matt Martin with the first goal of the night.
Like, that just didn't sound right coming out of my mouth.
And Martin's checked by that son of a bitch, Carcillo.
You should be throwing out of the league.
There's Bay.
There's Bay taking the slap shot.
No.
Yeah.
So I was like, obviously, we made that agreement.
And I ended up just doing like a lot of blue jackets and Dallas Stars.
I did a lot of West Coast games.
Yeah.
Which was, you know, those long nights.
But, yeah, obviously, I think everybody in the media has, you grow up a fan of sports.
If obviously you're, you know.
It's interesting.
A lot.
I want to believe that.
But I also believe.
A lot of people hide.
I think they're.
Well, three categories.
They're bad at it. They're
really bad at it.
The newbies like me who can be
straightforward about being a fan
and it's okay because it's
kind of like allowed within
the genre that I've chosen. Like if you're
a blogger and your fan, it's like synonymous.
Like mom's basement.
Then you've got the people who I think repressed
their fan feelings.
But you can kind of still tell.
You can kind of still tell that like when the Leafs win
the lottery, they're like
ooh-ho!
More trout! Fuck you're six.
Did you see the bar in Toronto, by the way?
It exploded like it was New Year's or like on the Super Bowl.
There's no question that there are some people up there that are like that.
Then the third category, though, are people who have somehow deleted fandom from the memory banks.
And those are the people who you see in the press box and they hate life.
Life has been sucked from them like a vampire.
How are you not a fan?
I just don't understand.
My theory has always been that by repressing your fandom, you then make it a job.
So longer a passion.
Now, every time you're on the road, you're like, my life sucks.
Every time you're the press block, you're like, please don't go to overtime, my life sucks.
And so I think that the moment that you stop, you know, embracing that part of yourself, then you're doing it because you want to be impartial, but you end up doing it and ruining yourself because the thing you're covering is essentially entertainment.
And you're supposed to be doing what you love, too.
You know who I actually, I think Linda Cohn, she's a Rangers fan on ESPN, but she does a good job of, you know, kind of assessing.
She's totally an honor.
She's totally honest.
Well, I think she has a good job of kind of like criticizing them too, you know, like not, you know.
Yeah.
But I'd like to know.
I've always wanted to know about that, especially for like when I was growing up, like I read Larry Brooks in the New York Post and I was like, this guy is such a dick to my team.
I don't know why.
And then I come to find out years later, he used to work for the devils, you know, as a PR.
guy. Yeah, the Rangers.
Yeah, now he's the Rangers beat guy. So like, like, I always, I always felt like it'd be a, it'd be better to know where, where the people's loyalties lie, where they're coming from, what their viewpoint is. Why are you, like, if you're a Rangers guy, let me know you're a Rangers guy. That's fine.
I also thought when I worked at NHL, like, I was able to, like, know those teams better. So when the Islanders did play them, like, I knew what, like, when I watched the game, I could see both sides. You know, like, when you're a fan, you really only see your side. Yeah. So I think that kind of, like,
helped me in that way.
You never, I'll say that about fandom and, like, sports journalism.
Like, you never give the other team credit.
No.
When you see it through fans' eyes, it's always like, we fucked up.
Yeah, we did this.
They got lucky.
Like, not that, like, Kutrov is just, like, awesome.
Like, like, I covered game six at a Penguins and Capitals this week, and it's like,
I don't think I read one Capitals fan that was like, kudos to the Kessel line for playing
so well.
It's always just like, we messed up here.
Yeah, we didn't score on that power play in the third period.
So, okay, so defend hits now.
Good, tell us it's a great category.
It's a great stat.
And that Matt Martin actually always has five hundred more hits.
Well, hits are typically, the more hits a team has,
the more they don't have the puck.
And that's an indication of, it's the canary and the coal mine for puck positions.
Why doesn't Matt Martin have the puck more?
My God, the amount of times I see that on Twitter and whatever,
but those are stat guys talking, too.
Like, are you watching the game?
Like, are you watching how it's affecting the game,
how they're tiring down the other team?
obviously how some guys are afraid to take that hit and they lose the puck, you know?
So it creates, obviously, turnovers.
But, like, my thing is just it seems weird that, like, Matt Martin and Calcutterbuck have
800 more hits in the next closest guy.
It seems like the scorers at the Coliseum and in Brooklyn seem to really think everything
they do is a hit.
Is there a Matt Martin?
Is there a Matt Martin multiplier in the Islander's press box?
Actually, Matt used to say that in the rank in the Coliseum, they'd count for less hits
when he was at home than if he was away.
Oh, no.
But, I mean...
Interesting.
He always thought that way.
You're like, I don't agree, but...
Did you appreciate...
Because I think I read somewhere that you were kind of like a Lungwist fan when you were a Ranger fan.
I was. I had a Lunguist jersey.
Well, you bailed hard for Matt Martin.
Wow.
I didn't realize how...
I thought like you grew up and you were like...
I was...
My dad's a season ticket holder.
Did that come for your dad?
Like, your ranger's fandom?
Yeah.
Have you ever heard my dad talk about the Rangers?
Yeah, I have.
No, it's like...
No, it's like, it's, no, he's serious.
Like, people are like, oh, no, is he joking that he's like that, like, upset?
I'm like, no, like, he, I don't go near him when, like, after they lost in the playoffs in the first round, I was like, okay, like, I need, like, I need, like, a few days before I see him.
So you must have broke his heart that first time.
Oh, I broke his heart.
But him and Matt love each other.
Like, that's what people don't understand.
Like, just because he's an islander.
I mean, obviously my dad wants him on the Rangers.
I want to talk about your dad and your boy in a second.
Yeah.
in a second.
But did you have an appreciation for the kind of player Martin is before you started dating him?
That's a really good question.
I can't even...
Because when you're dating a guy like Matt Martin, right,
you do have to come correct with the defenses of what he is.
Like, hits matter.
Physicality matters.
No, he doesn't always show up in the box score, but this kind of player is important.
A fight can change momentum.
He's good, though.
She's not dating Dan Carson.
I'm not saying.
Of course, he's not even in the league anymore.
But, like, I'm just saying, like, it's not like she's dating, for instance, Ryan White.
Right.
Just, just punches guys.
Like, Matt Martin can be.
Well, I'm just like, maybe you see Matt Martin.
You're saying to yourself, oh, I see him as a certain kind of player.
And they're like, oh, but now I understand why he's vital.
I think he also, like, I mean, he came into the league, I think, with that role.
And then he's seriously progressed.
Right.
And he knows that, too.
Yeah.
He's on the ice during, like, empty net situations and things like that.
He's not on the PK, but, you know, he does his job.
No, he was on the P.
No, it's a key.
and clutter.
I thought Matt Martin was in one of those
groups. Why don't you watch the games, Dave?
I'm stupid.
All right. Now listen, the story of
the first time your dad, Boomer,
Osias, and met your boyfriend is fantastic.
Yeah. So, basically,
we started dating really
quickly, which that just happens
in hockey. Like, every story
you hear of how people met, like, they start dating, like,
two weeks later. And I was in college.
See, that's because their shifts only last, like, 45 seconds.
Like, everything's just accelerating.
That wasn't a euphemism, though, so.
I didn't say anything.
I'm just sitting here listening to the lovely story about how they met.
Sorry.
So, yeah, we started dating.
I didn't tell my parents, like, I just didn't have time.
And I texted my dad, and I was like, hey, also, Matt, like, didn't have a tooth at the time.
Like, he, like, got his tooth knocked out.
Like, in the front?
Yeah, his front tooth.
And so I was like, you know, dad, I'm dating this new guy.
I'm bringing him home, but there's like one thing he plays for the Islanders.
My dad just responds with, what's his name?
I'm like, oh, shit.
Sorry, excuse my language.
I was like, oh, my God.
I started freaking out.
Matt's sitting at my kitchen table talking to my mom, cool as a cucumber.
I'm like pacing around the kitchen, sweating because I'm freaking out.
My dad's pickup, pulls into the driveway.
I'm like, oh, my God.
Okay, I'm like shaking.
He goes into the garage roll.
He plays hockey, by the way.
He plays mensly hockey.
And he goes into the garage where all is,
jerseys are, puts on a
I think it was a Brad
Richards Rangers jersey and just
waltzes into the house
looks at Matt and's like, hey Matt,
how you doing? I'm Boomer.
Like that's what he wears every day.
Like that's totally normal. I'm Boomer.
Proud resident of Rangers Nation.
We also have a Rangers flag
outside my parents' house and a Rangers
welcome Matt that my dog has peed on.
This is the single greatest remake of Guess Who's
Coming to Dinner I've ever heard of by the way.
It's fantastic. I just realized, ideally,
three years, $6 million from the New York Rangers for Matt Martin,
and then the families are brought together.
It's like a game of throw.
Could you just think of how devastated like Islander fans would be, though?
Actually, I don't think I would like him on the Rangers.
I would delete my Twitter if I were you at that point.
No, everything would be deleted.
Social media completely gone.
And people think that's my fault.
People think that I'm swaying him.
I'm like, actually, I don't really want him to play for the Rangers
because do you realize how much pressure that is for my dad?
My dad would be texting me every day being like,
what was Matt doing last night?
What was that shift, you know?
Oh, it text from my dad.
Get your head in the game.
I'm like, Dad, no, I can't.
More like Borchak.
Tell him not to pass the puck in the slot anymore.
Or tell him to shoot the puck, because that's all my dad says.
Shoot the puck.
He's one of those guys that screams during the power place, huh?
I knew it.
That's funny.
That adds up.
That's a good point.
But he usually actually, like, if I watch with him, he sits there quiet.
My mom's the loud one.
My mom.
There was a chance the Rangers and Islanders were going to play in the playoffs this year.
I know.
Were you counting down the days?
Yeah.
And last year, too, remember?
Yeah.
Yeah, I was a...
Any game at MSG this year, like, I had won too many vodka sodas.
And then that's when, you know, I get on Twitter and start being a little crazy.
But, yeah, no, I have serious anxiety when they play.
By the way, did you know David Mine's favorite thing at MSG?
What?
Up in the upper deck, they have a food item, which is a giant...
wooden skewer, and they stick 12 cocktail weanies on the skewer.
It's his screw.
What?
They sell it.
They sell it.
Is it like $50?
They put it in a little cardboard boat, and it's just cocktail weanies on a stick.
I've never seen that.
It's the craziest thing.
You know what?
I always get stuck in the middle row.
You know how long the rows are there?
I know.
And I'm always like, I always have to pee every 10 minutes.
So I'm like, what is your arena food of choice, Vinoy, do you have one?
Hot dogs.
Hot dogs?
Hot dogs?
Yeah.
But not mini hot dogs on the skewer.
Well, Barclays has pretty good hot dogs.
Actually, MSG popcorn.
Have you ever had the popcorn there?
I could eat a whole box.
Actually, you're right.
I think I have killed the box of it.
They're huge, too.
They're huge.
They're super buttery and sauce.
We've talked about the food at Barclays on this podcast before, and it's on point.
It is really good.
It is pretty on point.
They know what they're doing about.
Yeah.
That's the place I told the story last time about how I had my dad had all you can
eat.
Greg is a disgusting human.
Do you test every, like, do you try to find, like, the best food at every arena?
My dad had all you can eat tickets to a Nets game, and I tried to test
every food item. And I was going to take a bite and then throw it away. And then I ended up
eating all of the things. But his plan was to waste about 18 different kinds of food.
They actually have a boomer and carton grill, like after my dad's radio show, like, sponsored
by my dad's show. And I've never had the food, but someone tweeted at me the other day
being like eating the boomer and carton food with this overtime going on. I think I'm going to
have a heart attack. I was like, Godspeed.
What is Twitter like for you? I feel like you're a woman on Twitter. You're in sports media.
I mean, I get some nasty things.
Actually, when I worked for NHL, I got some nasty things.
So you got, really?
Why?
Just because you were visible?
Well, you know what it was?
If I ever, like, mispronounced, like, a Russian name, like, I mean, I'm saying
those names fast and highlights.
Like, I know how to pronounce the names.
I obviously fact check, too.
But fans get so passionate.
And when I, I kept saying Pitt.
Passionate quotes.
Yeah.
As opposed to abusive.
I did a penguin's highlight.
And I remember I did a penguin's highlight.
And I kept saying pit, like, inside of Pittsburgh.
And this guy tweeted at me being like, it's effing Pittsburgh, you dumb bitch.
Oh, yeah.
Like, I get crazy stuff like that.
It's almost like people hold women up to a different standard than they do men in broadcasting.
Oh, do they?
I didn't know that.
It's crazy, right?
But, like, I mean, April Rimer, you know, famously was someone when her husband was with the Leafs,
kind of spoke out and said, you know, stop abusing him.
stop abusing me on Twitter. Like, did you, did you, did you, did the Matt Martin thing ever
blow back at you? And now that people know that you're together? Um, no, no, no, never really
do me crap about it at NHL, which is great. Yeah, that's great. Yeah. A lot of people, like, I mean,
a lot of fans probably don't want to listen to me, but, you know, they're probably a good amount
because they're probably like, well, she's dating an islander. So, you know, why should I be
listening to her do my penguin's capital's highlight? You know what I mean? This is amazing,
because, like, you're a woman in sports and you have a really good story about interacting with a
man on Twitter. Yeah. To the point where you're actually,
wound up dating him. This is like the greatest upset of all time.
I can't believe this is actually true. And he actually looked like the way he looked on
Twitter, too. That's pretty crazy. What was his avatar? Was it like an I-O-Older mug shot?
It was like an older guy in the team at the time like tying up his skate in the locker
room. And I didn't know if he was the older guy. Well, at first I was like, who was Matt Martin?
And I was like, I didn't know if he was the older guy or if he was the one with the really
long hair and the avatar. Because he said we in the tweet, right? He was like, we wanted to say hi.
Yeah, and I was like, who?
Oh, my God.
Oh, is he the older?
Did a 75-year-old equipment manager just hit me on Twitter?
I was like, he's verified, but what?
I'll tie your skates if you know what I was like, I'm only 18, so I'm a little scared.
Where do you, because here's the other thing about you too is like beyond who you're with, but like you're, you're famous, you have a famous name.
You think so?
I think so.
And the thing that like when I was looking up some stuff about you, like, oh God.
Listen, Dave and I are fairly attractive, right?
but not totally attractive and like we'd never make a list of any attractive people.
There's literally a thing on the internet that says you're one of the top 12, there's an arbitrary number.
Top 12 hottest daughters of former NFL players.
What?
Congratulations.
Thank you.
I'm so flattered.
But like are there a lot of us?
I'm assuming.
I don't know, but like you.
Like who does that research?
It's kind of an honor though.
Like who wrote that?
It's probably like a 34 year.
real professional woman who sat down and wanted to judge.
No, it's a 22-year-old theater to some
sports fog. But, like, you somehow figures it out.
I mean, you get, like, I remember
seeing, like, busted coverage in and sites
like that mentioned you when you come in and out of different jobs
and stuff. Like, how does that play with you?
Well, they used to follow me in college, too.
Like, I'd be, like, on spring break, and then
something would go up about, like, being, like,
sinnie in a bikini holding a beer, and I'm like,
oh, my God, let me live.
I just say, define follow, like, stalking
follow, it sounds like. But I would,
you know what, it was my fault, because I made my
Instagram public, which, you know, looking back, I probably should have done that in college, but, you know, like, it kind of helped me get some job. Not that, but like, you know, the exposure and, you know, having a presence on social media. Does it creep you out or are you like? I used to get really creeped out. But now I'm just, you know, I'm like, you know, my Twitter's public, my Instagram's public. Like, everything's fair game. Yeah. I've heard the same thing happen where it's like, I was on the beach with no shirt on, holding a beer and they were like, albino man comes out of sea holding Miller a light.
I think that did a lot of good for my career.
So, you know,
one of the aliens from cocoons cited in South Florida.
I was also, like, 18 at the time.
So I was like, wow, like, how old is this guy writing this about me?
Right, yeah.
You know?
Like, think about, like, if you have, I mean, you have a daughter, but like,
yeah.
Well, when we first started Puck Daddy, like, we used to do a lot of Pauline Grosky stuff.
Yeah.
And at first it was like, I was like, oh, this is, this is amazing.
Like, and then like, wait, no, this is.
is extraordinarily creepy.
But then she kind of started playing along with it.
Well, she's like, yeah, I feel like she put herself out there too, you know?
It's tough to be like, this is really creepy.
Oh, but she just posted a picture of her as a sexy lion tamer.
Yeah.
So, yeah, like, how...
Again, when I did that, it didn't quite get the same feedback, but whatever, you know, each their own, I guess.
Your Twitter is hilarious, though.
Like, you're running commentaries during games really funny.
You have a dog.
I have no filter.
Well, I have a filter, but, like, I really don't have a filter.
Oh, so you do you, do you almost and then delete?
Yes.
Like, I've got, you know, I stop myself a lot, which is kind of amazing to think about
because if you already look at my Twitter, you're like, she stops herself?
Like, you sure?
Like, she's pretty, you know, out there and outlandish.
But the thing that actually made me reach out to you about coming on the podcast
was a tweet that you wrote because I think it was one of the fucking funniest things
I've read in a long time.
And Tweet's own on humor.
You might not even think it's that funny.
But when the Islanders were eliminated,
You said it's the end of the Islander season.
It's the beginning of NHL wedding season.
I'm like, that is so perfect.
It's so true.
It's so true.
There's like four weddings.
We already got four invitations, and they all have to happen in July, too.
Because they can't get married in June and they can't get married in August.
There's only one of the weekend where they've happened in this All-Star weekend.
Exactly.
I remember like, I think Annie McDonald might have been the guy who got married over.
We were invited to that one, but...
But Matt was in the All-Star game.
Oh, wait.
No, we were like, let's just go to Turks and Gay Coast Bowl.
we had already been to the Bahamas.
He was in the hit skills competition.
There was a thing we just hit dummies against the boards and he won them.
Guys, John Scott, like, you know, dream's not, you know, it's not that far away.
But, yeah, but all, just, I thought that was so funny because it's so true because, like, everybody's probably like, already, you probably have a fridge covered in invitation.
I wish I, I wish I had the picture.
I took a picture two days ago of my fridge with all the wedding invitations.
Because Matt's not organized.
Like, I'm the one RSVPing, like, chicken or steak, you know what I mean?
So, I
Oh, God, how much steak do you think there is at a hockey wedding?
Like, they can't play in June because, obviously, you know, Stanley Cups goes till June and people go on vacation after that.
And then they can't do August because it's too close to the season.
Hockey fiancés are basically the people who book the arenas for concerts.
They're just like, what if they go in a playoff run?
You can't have fever in here.
And then, like, all, everybody on the same team is like, so when is your weekend?
Because this is, like, going to be our weekend.
And then it's, oh, yeah, there's going to be so much overlap.
Yeah, but I'm like a professional wedding guest.
I'm like awesome at being a wedding guest.
What is your favorite thing about weddings?
Open bar.
Well, I mean, open bar, obviously.
By the way.
Definitely the D floor.
Matt hates dancing.
Really?
Yeah.
He does not like to dance.
Are you someone who will go out on the D floor before?
I will go out by myself.
Yeah, I was going to say, before the crowd forms.
Yeah.
You'll try to be the bait on the hook.
Yes, like with the drunk aunt or like, you know, like that's.
Or the flowers are, like, just moving her little feet around.
Yeah.
Just doing the running man by yourself.
Yeah.
I need to learn how to do that.
All right, here let's go.
Okay, so open bar drink at a wedding is?
Usually just vodka soda of lemon.
Perfect, because if you spill it, no bar, no fuss, no must, exactly.
All hockey players drink vodka waters, which I think is disgusting.
Wait a second, like water.
That is like the hockey player drink of choice.
Well, at least from drinking with the New York Islanders, but they all drink vodka waters.
So what's the water for?
Got a hydrate.
What's a vodka for?
Got to get drunk.
Exactly.
Great.
I buy that.
Or like, why don't you just drink Pidiolite and vodka then?
Wait, why are you laughing?
That's a really good idea, actually.
Actually, my mix bottle.
Not for nothing.
It's kind of sweet.
It's got like a little flavor to it.
It might take the little, you know, the edge off.
There you go.
They don't wake up, like, feeling too crappy.
Probably chase away cholera, too, depending on what's in the head.
So, all right, wedding food, what's your favorite part of wedding food of the different segments?
I'm thinking specifically of, like, the four wedding food.
experience where they've got your pass-arounds, you've got your meal, you've got your dessert.
I don't know. I don't love cake. I like love ice cream, but I don't love cake. So the wedding
wedding. I'm with you on that, by the way. I'm not a dessert guy. And I never order fish. Don't
ever order fish at a wedding. Right. Same, you like, where... Same deal on cross-country flights.
Yeah. Never. Like, where's that fish coming from? It's like the same thing as sushi. Like,
you're in the middle of like, you're in like the Midwest. You're like, where is this fish coming from?
Where are they getting it?
Freaks me out so much. I'm so happy. You said that.
It's so weird.
Like, you'll be in the middle of the country and you'll see like a sushi joint.
Like, we went to, like, my fiancé took me to like a Japanese fusion joint.
She grew up in a town outside of Chicago.
I'm like, but where's it coming from?
I think, is it from the lake?
Like, guys, I don't want to spoil this, but there are these things called planes today.
But still, I know, but like, there's still that.
There's only like a certain amount of time you can eat sushi.
Like, you know what you're never supposed to get, you're never supposed to eat sushi on at the end of the week.
Right.
Because usually...
No, that's not a thing.
No, no, no.
It's Monday.
No, they get in their shipment on Sunday, so you can eat it on Monday.
But you should never eat it towards the end of the week.
Oh, really?
Come on.
Well, like, crappy sushi places.
You know what it is?
Lozo, it's the lobster roll rule, which is, you know, a lobster role in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
should be just as good as it is in Boston.
Yeah.
But it's always better in Boston.
Why?
Because it's closer to the lobster.
Yeah.
Because mentally, you just think that.
It's not.
It's a self-ful thing.
It's a self-ful prophecy where you're just, like, automatically going to think that's bad because
that's in Pennsylvania. The fact that there's a fish market
here in the city makes me hopeful that everything I eat
in the city is fresh. Yeah. My salmon roll
from Roy's rest stop in Scrant, Pennsylvania, was
delicious. Yeah, it was as good as any other place.
Like, if I'm in Omaha, there's not,
I doubt that there is, I'm going to get a
fucking eel that's fresh in Omaha.
There's nothing good about putting
like a sushi roll in your mouth, though, and it
tastes like actual, just
like, so fishy where you're like,
I'm just going to hurl this out of it.
Do you have genre
bias when it comes to sushi? Can you
eat at a, I can't eat Chinese food at a place that also does like cheese steaks.
Where you're like, is this dog or?
In particular, like when I was in college at Maryland, like, by the way, Maryland grad.
Oh, did you go to Maryland?
I did.
Okay.
TURP.
Yeah, go Terps.
Not so much for football, but whatever.
But like there would be places that did like Chinese food and sushi and like Philly
cheese steaks.
Yeah.
It's just, no, you got to pick one.
You got to pick one.
It's just got to be like your specialty.
That's not a real place.
Yeah, that doesn't it.
The cheese steaks?
You got it.
Yeah.
It's like a dining hall in college.
They just couldn't decide which was going to do better.
So like, let's just do all three.
All three, right.
And see which one.
Each audience.
Wait, I buried the lead.
So, uh, pass around, passarounds or dinner at a wedding?
Uh, pass arounds.
And what about you?
Yeah.
I like cocktail hour.
Yeah, like the cocktail hour is always like the crab cakes and they come around.
My single favorite innovation in wedding cuisine is the mashed potato bar.
Ever have this yet?
No.
Literally.
they give you a martini glass
and you fill it with mashed potatoes.
Oh my God, I need to tell the girls this.
And then you just slam cheese and it's like a baked potato
but in a martini glass but it's mashed potatoes.
That's unbelievable.
I've seen, I've seen like the baked potato,
not at a wedding, but like a baked potato like station.
Yeah.
Or you like customize your baked potato.
That's right.
That's heavy though at a wedding.
You don't want to like all that starchy potato.
Like you want to have like a little bit of that.
You don't want to like to me it's all about bacon wrapped scallops,
bacon wrapped chicken.
Bacon wrap.
Because then you're just going to not feel all the rest of the night.
Yeah.
But that's, it's all what you want to get out of it.
Like, you need to stay live.
You're the dancer.
Like, I could just be a big fat fuck and sit at the table the whole time.
It can't be like 9 o'clock and you've had like 42 vodka sodas and like nothing to eat.
Guys, I'm good at pacing myself.
That actually is like you're a better drinker than most people I know, which I pride myself on.
So you pride yourself on what?
Like being like good at drinking.
Like I'm never the girl.
I'm never the girl like huking at the end of the night.
Do you know what I mean?
I'm never that girl.
Like, I never go over the limit.
Good at drinking in that way.
Like, I don't drink a lot, but I never, like, let myself get past that one.
I made those mistakes in college.
Yeah.
The person that I see a lot, I moved to New York just over, like, about two years ago, and, like, the person that I see a lot is the...
The girl peaking on the side of the road.
At six.
In the morning.
No, in the evening.
Oh, like the happy hour.
Or, like, the Saturday day drink.
Yes.
Oh, well, brunch is a different animal.
together. Let's be honest.
That's true.
I mean, you're drinking vodka 11 a.
It's never going to really end that well for you.
No, like endless mimos.
Champagne, too.
It's just like, deadly.
Yeah, endless moose. I just had this discussion
with my fiance. Like, I can't do
endless mimosis. And I don't drink Bloody Mary.
So then I'm stuck drinking screwdrivers.
And I could do that in the cover of my own home.
Champagne is like, it's actually a silent killer.
Not that silent.
Like, wait on.
The worst hangover I ever had.
It's champagne.
Well, to be fair, I had about 72 ounces of vodka.
sodas before that, which may have contributed to. It was when the Giants beat the Patriots in the Super Bowl.
So I drank nervously out of this gigantic, like, stadium souvenir cup. That was all
heavy vodka, a little bit of soda. And they won, and it was like right after New Year's,
so my friends had tuffed over champagne. So I was like, we got to do that. And then, like, eight
hours later, I was throwing up at the NHL offices in the bathroom quietly because I was so hungover.
Oh. Oh, it was bad. I was there three weeks back. Also, those lights are bright there.
So, like, you probably really hurt.
of experience. No, I was so drunk that
I didn't get hung over until about 10 o'clock.
And at 8 a.m. I woke up. I'm like, wow, I feel great.
And at 10 a.m. I was like, I wish
I was dead. I went through a champagne phase
in college because I was a big fan of
Absolutely Fabulous.
What? The sitcom, you know? Oh, okay.
I thought there was a type of champagne. I thought it was a
black of flavor. Like, this is absolutely fabulous.
My favorite. Should I get the brew?
No, I will get the ab fab.
So I used to walk around as a freshman,
like holding a bottles of really terrible
cheap champagne and just like swiging out.
of it. Like, I was like, Mc Jagger's. Did you gain, like, 20 pounds? Well, no, I gained 20 pounds
because the dining hall would allow you to buy full pizzas at, like, one in the morning.
But no, but I would get wrecked. Like, the worst hangovers come from champagne. Worst hangovers.
Indeed. All right, listen. Drinking is off. I've kept you so long here. No. You work for sci.com.
Yes. You work for golf.com. Yeah, golf.com. I mean, it's a little bit separate, but, um...
Do you play golf?
Uh-oh.
No.
Wait.
Oh, wait.
Am I like...
Which is weird.
Am I, like, revealing, like, something of the food network doesn't actually cook.
Matt always gives me so much crap because he's like, how do you not play golf?
Your entire family plays golf.
I'm like, I picked up a golf club.
And if you ever do anything competitive sports with my dad, like, you'll actually just want to, like, crawl into a hole and die.
Like, it's, you know, especially if you're, like, on his team, like, if you're playing, like, street hockey, like, you never want to be on his team because you just yelled to you all the whole time.
Yeah.
So, we believe that.
Yeah.
So.
So he and I went out on the, like, on the range, and I just couldn't get it.
Like, I mean, I probably had just to work on it.
It was my first day, and I just gave up.
I was like, I'm never doing this again.
It's not fun if you're bad at a golf at all.
No.
There must be a lot of pressure to learn how to golf dating an Islander, though.
Yeah.
Wow.
Wow.
Okay, I didn't pick that up right away.
Because, because the island is.
I was just about to be like, they're actually all really good golfers.
I bet they are.
And it all clicks.
Like, yeah.
J.T.
shot at 74, the other.
now that I think about it.
So, s.i.com, what do you do?
You do some news stuff?
It's breaking sports news.
So I do about eight stories a shift with the producer.
We go back and forth writing the scripts.
And then, you know, I do a about like a minute video and usually goes up on Facebook.
Where do you want to take this?
Like, are you all in on sports media?
Tell us your dreams.
What are you seeing yourself in 10 years?
What are your hopes and dreams?
Yeah, I, you know, I would do entertainment.
I think the only thing I would not do is hard news.
But at this point, it's whatever job, you know, whatever I can get, wherever it takes me.
Word.
Yeah, I feel the same way.
Where do you land on the whole people getting annoyed if, like, a female reporter dates a player?
To me, to me, to me, I feel like, I feel like, I doesn't matter.
It's a question probably should ask about an hour.
I was talking about weddings.
That was way more important anyway.
I was talking about this with a girl that's also in sports.
and she was like, you know what, I feel like there's, if you're in sports, those are your interests.
So you share your interests with the people that you date.
That's how you meet people.
They're all the coworkers.
Yeah, that's how, you know, like, I could never be with a guy that doesn't know anything
about sports.
Like, think about it that way.
I do a podcast with one.
I would just feel more masculine.
You know what I mean?
Like, I would just, like, if I was in a relationship with a guy who had, who wore, like, skinny
jeans and had no idea what
icing was. I'd be like
suck it up, buttercup watching a fucking
Islanders tonight.
Sitting on the couch, eating wings,
drinking beer. No.
No, like, I would just feel more masculine in the relationship.
I would just not work. Right. I just
drives me nuts that like people get mad.
Because there was a Red Sox. Who were they supposed to?
Yeah. Jessica Moran.
Yeah. Who like lost her job. No one ever said for sure.
But like that was deep. Didn't even Jenny Dell.
She left the Red Sox because she was dating a guy.
in the Red Sox. Now she said CBS Sports.
I could be totally wrong about that, actually.
But either way, it's just like, I know male reporters who hang out with male flyers,
strictly for the purposes of at some point getting news from them.
And I think that's a little shadier than just like being attracted to somebody and dating somebody.
Well, if you're around those people, those are the people you're meeting.
Right.
You're in that world.
It just drives me nuts out like women get vilified.
They're like, oh, then she can't be objective.
And like, first of all, hey, she's covering fucking sports.
She's not, she's not dating the secretary of state and getting like front line war.
And I wasn't even doing Islander games.
Right.
You were in college at the time, so it was different.
But I just, it just drives me a mess.
I feel you on that because, like, the moment that really set in for me was when
Dan Patrick said that Jerome Bettis was like a best man at his wedding.
But you cover the NFL.
You cover the NFL when he was in the NFL.
And there's no way that you guys just became friends now.
Yeah.
Like, that's, you have the, your Notre Dame guys.
Like, it's the whole thing.
And it was just like.
Well, yeah, those guys go to school with those guys, too.
You know what I mean?
Like, you're always out to dinner.
I was at dinner with so-and-so last night.
Like, why?
He's my friend.
He's not really your friend.
I know what you're doing.
You're setting him up for later when he gets his new contract.
So that you can, like, you know, learn some things in the locker room.
Somehow that's okay.
But, like, if two people's, like genitals or mouths touch it, it's like, whoa, whoa, hold on.
That's a little, like, no, shut up.
I mean, it's always going to be, I think, an issue.
But, you know, like.
I guess finally on that, like, women in the hockey media is something that, like, is a constant topic in the sense that there seems to be a,
a ceiling.
You know, like Hillary Knight,
who, like I've talked to before
about stuff, like, there's no reason
why she shouldn't get a shot as a color analyst
or something like that. Why not? She knows the sport.
Yeah, and it's always, for me, it's always been like,
you know, like the Jessica Mendoza thing now, it's like
the moment that you have representation, the moment you see
someone breaking down plays and doing the thing,
you're like, oh, this is normal.
Yeah. Now more people can get involved
in it. And I feel like, but I feel like
in the hockey media, it's like, you never,
there's women who are working
for newspapers and work for websites.
Maybe they get to talk on the microphone
occasionally between the benches during a game
for a second. But there's not that
extra elevation to
analysis or
hosting. Like Catherine Tappin's feeling.
And she's married to a hockey player.
Right, right, yeah.
I love Catherine Tappin. I always use
I love Catherine Tappin. So I always
use her as an example.
Yeah, it's cool. Don't worry about it.
And she's good. She's objective. She's good at what she does.
Yeah. It's weird how Catherine Tappen. Don't worry about her
personal life.
are the two best things on NBC
and everybody else I just hate.
I wish it was just Liam and Catherine.
If anybody gave Catherine Tapp and Side Eye
for who she married, right?
I think she'd come right back.
But also in the next moment you're like,
but she also gives Mike Milliborice such shit.
She's all right by us.
She can be with everything.
That was crazy, by the way.
That was like, wow, girlfriend.
Thanks to Sidney Assize for joining us.
She's awesome.
Very landing conversation.
Last week we debuted a new segment
here on Puck Soup
called hockey porn
in which we
highlight some of the more
euphemistic
utterances from
National Hockey League announcers
Nothing to do with Brent Burns going down on
minions. That's different hockey porn.
And we found another example from our good friend
Pierre McIre and B.Saint.
There you go,
Junior hockey, blah, blah, blah.
This is a Pierre Eddie Olchek
double hockey porn, so
listen close, you'll give it to you twice.
Lots of time to rest if you don't come.
One more time.
They're coming, they're coming hard, and if they don't come,
they're going to have lots of time to rest.
I think either way, you're going to have time to rest
if you do or you don't at that point.
If you're coming and coming hard,
you're going to need a few minutes.
You're going to need a break.
This sport, man.
Just so much coming.
Joining us now on Puck Soup is Chris Wilson.
You may remember him from such episodes
as guy who walked into the studio
and we yelled at him when he stepped on our logo.
The logo's gone, by the way.
I'm really disappointed.
Well, you stepped on it.
We need to throw it away and get a new one.
That's true.
Chris is here because we're going to talk a little Marvel.
It's not going to be long, and we promise as soon as we get through the movie part of it,
there's going to be a hockey part of it.
So if you're one of these people are like, I don't like this pop culture on this pop culture hockey podcast.
Shut up and quit talking about.
No, no.
Just stick with us for a second.
Oh, sorry.
We've compiled hastily.
No spoilers, too, by the way.
We've compiled hastily our list, our rankings of the MCU movies.
MCU movies, by the way, for those who don't know are the ones that are produced by Marvel for either Marvel Studios in conjunction with Paramount or now with Disney.
not the X-Men films, not
Deadpool, not any iteration of the Fantastic Four,
just the ones that associated with the Avengers.
Oh, none of the Spider-Man's, Toby and or Andrew Garfield,
and especially not the Punisher with Thomas Jane and John Travolta.
Or the Punisher with Dolph Lundgren,
or the really shitty Captain America from the 1970s.
Or the first Hulk Angley?
Does that count?
That does not count.
No, that is not MC.
The Hulk with...
So basically everything from Iron Man on...
Ed Norton.
that mostly featured Samuel Jackson
in almost all of these.
Correct. That's the connected tissue.
All right. Here's my list.
I'll go first. I didn't see Ant Man.
It's not on my list because I didn't get a chance to see it.
It's a small oversight.
Number 12 for me, Thor the Dark World, number 11,
The Incredible Hulk, number 10, Iron Man 2.
Iron Man 2 would be number 12 for me or last for me,
were it not for the presence of Sam Rockwell,
who was amazing.
That's the only movie Sam Rockwell is in where he dances.
That sucks.
There's Charlie's Angels in that movie where he like helps the kid at the water park or whatever.
Like it's amazing what an upset it is at that movie blue.
Number nine for me is Avengers Age of Ultron.
Number eight, Thor.
Number seven, Iron Man.
Why, you have Thor at eight?
Number six, Captain America, the first Avenger.
I like that better than the original Iron Man.
I think it's aged better.
Wow.
Number five is Iron Man three, the best of the Iron Man films.
Number four, Captain America's Civil War.
Number three, Guardians of the Galaxy.
Number two, Avengers Prime.
first one. To me, it's the new Star Wars. It's the most rewatchable film, even the slow parts.
I love every minute of it, and I would watch it every time it's on the air. And number one
for me is Captain America, the Winter Soldier, which is the dark night of the MCU.
Wow. Where do you think Ant Man would go, having not seen it, but having seen Paul Rudd in Civil War?
I would probably put it, since I know it's a heist capery film, I'm going to guess it's
probably maybe like five or six, maybe above the original Captain America.
All right, here's the right list.
This is the actual list of quality of movie and the proper order it should be.
Number 12 is the Hulk, but you had Norton Hulk, which just fucking God.
You can't be number 12 because you have Ant Man ranked, I'm guessing, right?
So it be number 13.
No, no, no, no.
I gave an honest objective.
Ant Man's not good.
Ant Man's 10.
I'm just saying there has to be 13 films.
I had 12.
I didn't count Ant Man.
I counted 12.
This is going to be such a cluster fuck.
Okay, we'll figure out of them now.
All right, yeah, we'll go through the list if you think I forgot one.
12 of the Hulk, 11 Iron Man 2, 10, Ant Man, 9, Age of Ultron,
which I still feel like that's a little too high for Age of Ultron,
which was just terrible.
8, Iron Man 3, 7, Thor, the Dark World.
Oh, my God.
Did we see the same film?
What?
Oh, because you're such a Game of Thrones fanboy,
and Alan Taylor directed a bunch of Game of Thrones episodes.
Is that what it is?
Like, Hemsworth and Hiddleston are good.
They're just good.
They make the movie fun.
It's not, you know, it's a little stupid at the end.
It sounds like a British habitashery.
And then I go, I go six Captain America, the first Avenger, and then I go winter soldier five.
What?
Bucky!
Fuck Bucky. Bucky sucks.
I don't give a shit if Bucky lives or dies.
I'm not going to punch you.
Well, you're stupid.
He's a mass murderer.
I don't care if he was your friend.
Sounds like somebody doesn't like America.
Four, Civil War.
I like Civil War a pretty decent amount, even though Captain America is human garbage in that movie.
Three Iron Man, two, the Avengers, and one, Guardians of the Galaxy.
Did you forget the Hulk?
Was that what you forgot?
It was in there, too?
No, that was the first one.
The Hulk was at the bottom.
All right, so maybe everything is fine.
Maybe I miscounted.
You miscounted the men.
What about you, Chris?
Well, I'm throwing this together.
I was doing my real job before I walked in here, so my list is going to be peace together.
I'll go Hulk and Iron Man 2 at the bottom.
Very good.
I did not enjoy Iron Man 3.
To be fair, I saw it on a plane.
But I guess my problem coming from Iron Man 3 and Ultron and Civil War is that Tony Stark makes all of his own problems.
then we have to pretend to feel super bad that he made all of these problems
because he drags other people in.
That's a good point.
I think I just enjoy them less other than the original than other people.
I would throw Thor and Thor 2 in there.
I enjoyed them, but I like Age of Ultron a little more.
I never think of it, but I didn't hate it walking out.
Then the original Captain America, an Ant Man, right next to one another.
Then I would go Winter Soldier in Civil War pretty much.
Like Civil War better than Winter Soldiers?
Yeah, I thought you get more Winter Soldier in Civil War than you do in Winter Soldier.
So I thought, I...
Yeah, not for nothing.
There are different movies.
Civil Warhead, I laughed a ton in Civil War.
There are a lot of great lines.
And Winter Soldier, you have, it's pretty much like a 70s DC spy thriller.
Okay.
And it's also, I rewatched it on last Sunday before seeing Civil War.
And they're both very, very good.
The middle portion of Civil War might be my favorite.
The airport.
And the recruiting session before that.
Yeah.
I don't want to spoil anything, but we get introduced to a few.
new characters. I think people know Spider-Man's
in the fucking movie, Chris. It's true. When Queens
flashes across, they're
doing these big city
uh, city names as they go to all of these
elaborate international sites and then Queens
flashes up and you realize what's coming.
Yeah, you get a giddy. You get excited. You get giddy. And then
Marissa Tomei delivers, Tom Holland delivers.
It's great. Uh, and then I
would go
Guardians and then Avengers. Okay.
But Guardians is... I think, I, that's fine.
I think, I think that's a good list. I,
here's my problem with Civil War briefly.
and my problem with Ultron.
I felt, I loved when the Marvel Cinematic Universe was allowing filmmakers to be filmmakers
and apply superhero tropes to different genres.
That's why I like the Winter Soldier so much.
It's a 1970s spy throw, like you said.
There was a lot of that.
Thor was fish out of water.
Ant Man's a heist movie.
All this stuff was happening.
It was a lot of fun.
Shane Black got to make an Iron Man movie.
It was a lot of fun.
I felt like Ultron and I felt like Civil War,
were the only two movies that felt like they were checking boxes.
Okay, now I've got to get it black,
we have to set up the Black Panther movie,
we've got to set up the Spider-Man movie,
we've got to do this and that,
and Ultron was the same way.
There was too much in Civil War
that reminded me of the scene of Thor thrashing around in the water shirtless
to set up another Thor movie in Ultron for no reason.
And I didn't like that about Civil War.
I also didn't like the fact that
when you have heroes fighting heroes
and everybody's kind of friends,
there's no stakes. There's no
concern about anybody getting killed.
There's nothing to that happen. I will give
civil war credit that the stakes were different from
different people. Hockey
and Black Widow were sort of less
invested in it than
Tony and
Steve Rogers were. So they sort of
the people who you wouldn't think were throwing their heart
and soul in it were in it to help their friends, but were less
enthusiastic. Also, I think I forgot original Iron Man on my list.
I think I put that sixth because it deserves
a lot of credit. If it had not gone
well, then we're not
having this conversation.
It's the same as if, you know, like imagine
Zach Snyder directed Ironman.
And that wouldn't be great.
Also, I don't want to spoil the movie, and I'm not
going to. But I will say that the end of Civil War
is every bit as convoluted
a villain plot as anything Lex Luthor did
in Batman v. Superman.
It involves
it involves convenient geography, it involves
convenient geography, it involves
convenient characters
being in the same place, and it involves
a fucking VCR
functioning. A Russian
VCR, no less. Winter Soldier
had that as well, or he made perhaps a film
projector. Yeah, not for nothing. Captain American movies
really lean on old Soviet technology
in bonkers to carry them
along. Yeah, like, what was convenient? I thought that was
I mean, as far as like elaborate bad
guy plots go, by the way, by the whole
movie I was like, that guy, is that guy just like Russian
Adam Scott? Like, is this, who is this guy?
He was brilliant in glorious
bastards. He was a Nazi that fell in love
with the girl and the actor.
Oh, yeah. A sniper in that movie.
The propaganda movie.
I know we look familiar.
But at the end of the movie, it's like, it's like, it's like,
so where's your friend?
I don't know.
He's not our friend anymore.
He needs to be here.
I have a VCR.
Well, also it's the problem where the bad guy lays his plot out and says, this is what
I want you to do.
And then the superhero said, all right, cool.
Yeah, that makes a lot of sense.
Even though you've elaborately put out what's going to happen.
And I also didn't like the fact, no spoilers, that it also ripped a plot device from
the original Avengers movie in so far as
make somebody who's
out of control and crazy, out of control and crazy
inside of the good guys base.
Yeah.
Same thing happens.
I mean, they've made 12 movies.
They're going to have some overlap in terms of, like,
what they're going to do.
I thought the plot was good.
I thought the first hour was kind of like
so much foundation laying.
I didn't really laugh until like the last 90 minutes,
but the last 90 minutes are totally worth the first hour.
Chris nailed it.
Movie comes alive twice for me.
It came alive when Spider-Man shows.
up came alive the first time Tony
and Captain America hashed
out in that conference room like oh
here we go now we're finally getting somewhere
and the rest of it was sort of just like
like you said a lot of set up again
I hate to be a DC mark here but like
Batman took a bunch of shit
because the beginning of the movie was like
disconnected scenes over
and over and over again and no one knew what the hell is happening
and at the end that was what happened in Civil War
and at the end of Civil War I don't even know
what the resolution was right
again no that's true like at the
Like at the end, again, we're not spoiling anything.
Like, I feel like in this movie you're supposed to have,
and I realize Chris feels the total opposite of me,
but I feel like at the end,
you're supposed to have some sort of like internal conflict
of like, wow, who am I on team Iron Man?
Am I on Team Captain America?
Like, I feel like if you're on Team Captain America,
you're wrong.
Like, it's not even like, it's not even like close.
It's not even like, well, I can see where he's coming from.
Like the first, whatever.
How long is the movie?
Like, two, 20?
Like the first two hours, you're like, yeah, you know,
kind of, oh, yeah, is this?
Then the last 20 minutes,
like Captain America should have his head chopped off
by his own stupid friggin shield.
Like, he's terrible.
I think that it begs my lack of sympathy for Tony Stark,
but he continually makes bad decisions
and then drags other people down.
Yeah, but essentially, Loso's right.
I mean, it essentially is team,
reasonable oversight over superpowered people versus team.
I'm going to stick up from my sex,
psychopath, programmed Russian assassin friend.
He was,
He was correct.
Perhaps his heart,
no, his heart wasn't the right place.
But what's his end game?
Like, he's just going to, like, keep hiding him forever
so he never actually faces any.
Like, if, like...
Well, spoiler alert, he probably could
with where he's hiding out right now.
And spoiler alert, he's just going to put earmuffs on him
so he can't hear the magic words
and make him go crazy psycho.
That's true.
Like, he's still a ticking freaking time bomb.
It's like, they're just like out of,
they're at a bar somewhere in, like,
like, Soho, and all of a sudden,
oh, are you, Bucky Barnes?
Clotuborata Niko.
And it's like, oh, no!
He's going crazy again.
It becomes like the lyrics
of some weird Russian techno song.
They're out of the club.
It's serenity style.
They just blast it over the airwaves.
There you go.
Until they find him, right?
Like it's just,
oh, remember that time in Brooklyn?
We went out that girl in Brooklyn
at that Brooklyn place
that we went to in Brooklyn.
Yeah, we get it.
You're from freaking Brooklyn.
We understand.
But listen, honestly, Spider-Man kicked out.
So it was my favorite part in the movie
and I can't wait to see a Spider-Man movie
with that kid in it.
And Black Panther?
It was all right.
Like, to me, it all depends on,
like, you can make a Spider-Man movie
with that kid
didn't have him fight any Spider-Man villain, and I'll be
all right. You can have them fight.
Yeah, it was good. Hobgoblin, I'll be fine.
But I need to see
where they're going with Black Panther. Like, is it
going to be, is it going to be Bucky?
I'm sorry. Is it going to be
involving someone who may or me not be kept
in Wakanda? Or is it going to
involve the vibranium stuff? I don't know
where they're going with it. Also, I like how for the entire
time this MCU has existed,
like, man, there's only so much vibranium
in the world. Now it's like, everybody's got vibranium.
It's like, you can just buy it at the corner store.
I will say with these movies, even when they're checking boxes, they do it well.
It's a nice pen they're using, and I don't think I've hated any of these.
I actively hated Iron Man 2, only because I was really disappointed.
At the time, I hated it, but it was on the other day, and I was watching it.
You get old Sam Rockwell's Charming.
It's hard not to watch it because they do have likable people in it.
Yeah, if you watch it, I mean, Tony Stark's in a race car, and then he fights.
I also like the evolution of the Iron Man suit to wear was a suit, and then it was in a briefcase,
And then at one point in Civil War, he puts his finger in a small hole, and the entire suit comes out.
Well, Pepper Potts wasn't in the...
Oh, you mean in the suit?
I understand.
Oh, God, Craig.
So Lozo and I decided, since we were going to do all this Marvel talk, that we needed to link it back to hockey.
So we've compiled a list of if the Marvel MCU films were hockey things, what would they be?
Right.
And, for example, Iron Man.
Iron Man, Iron Man would be Wayne Gretzky.
First of its kind, game-changing things, sets the standard.
Retire the number around the league. Never let it be worn again.
No one can wear an Iron Man suit ever again no matter what.
Except for a warm machine.
Right.
Yeah.
Who I guess would be like Messier in this comparison.
Yes, he would be. He's like he's a leader.
He's a military leader guy.
The Incredible Hulk is Radcoe Gudis on the Lightning.
A big scary weirdo with rage issues who was pretty terrible.
not to be confused with Radico Gudis and the Flyers,
who, of course, is the Mark Ruffalo Hulk.
No, I think, yeah, yeah.
I didn't see that part when you sent that to me,
the Mark Ruffalo part.
It was too long.
It was like four lines.
I'm like, I can't get through all that.
What we have here?
Iron Man 2 is Alexander Dague.
The next great one,
who was just absolutely disappointing
in every way imaginable.
Exactly.
And Iron Man 3, of course,
would be Sidney Crosby,
the actual next great one,
who still managed to leave everybody feeling cold
and slightly cheated.
Yeah, Iron Man 3.
dives.
He's a diver.
Oh, my God.
And so Greg didn't see Ant Man, so I'd do the Ant Man one.
For me, Ant Man is the Mark Messier Leadership Award because no one knows why it exists.
It's just, why did anybody ever come up with this?
It doesn't fit in with anything else that goes on.
Was Ant Man presented by Bridgestone?
Yeah, the fact that his suit is made out of Bridgestone tires is kind of a weird sort of hook.
We decided the Avengers, the first Avengers movie, was the 2002 Detroit Red Wings
a collection of superstars, check their egos at the door,
come together to win the day,
and also in this scenario, Scotty Bowman is Nick Fury,
which is all kinds of awesome.
Right. I think that one comes together pretty well.
We put that one together good.
And then Age of Ultron is pretty much every Rangers team
between 1997 and 2004 that had a gigantic budget,
tons of big names,
and it was just unbelievably disappointing
for the entire time you were watching it.
Ultron, in this case is Bobby Holik.
Right.
And like, what's the, what's the Paul Betany guy's name again?
Vision.
That's Mark Messier.
The bald guy that just can't get anything done.
Mark Nessier is really active in the MC.
Also, I believe you wear stylish sweaters.
Yes.
Just like Division does.
Thor, the original Thor, is Yarmir Yager in Florida.
Heroic, legendary figure with flowing locks,
becomes an endearing fish-out-of-water story
in surprisingly high-quality projects.
And then Thor of the Dark World is Yager in Boston
when he was the cinematic equivalent of no goals in 22-5 years.
Captain America, the first,
Who else? John Tavares. A scrappy kid from Brooklyn proves that bland and boring can actually be quite captivating if given the proper platform.
He's a farm-to-table kid. He was grown locally. He was grown locally. He was grown locally sourced. Ontario's not that far away, right?
And then what we have for the winter soldier? I think you should do the winter soldier. Oh, yeah. Captain America is the winter soldier, obviously John Scott. A champion of the people discovers a massive conspiracy attempting to destroy him. This comparison exists solely to hear Gary Betman whisper,
hail hydra into Montreal Canadian GM
Mark Berger van's ear before the trade
and then Civil War is Patrick Kane
very good
super super fun to watch
you know he's on the screen
and you just can't get enough of him but the last 20 minutes
leave you feeling angry that you ever enjoyed anything that he
ever did ever and you hate it
and you hate him so much and finally to bring it back to the beginning of the show
Guardians of the Galaxy of course
Brent Burns the San Jose Sharks
a scruffy
oddity that defies labels and just
entertains the hell out of you, featuring
Joe Thornton is Groot and Logan Couture's
Rocket Raccoon.
And so Doug Wilson, he's
Thanos because he's trying to screw everything up.
He is definitely Thanos in this scenario.
Got any good ones, Chris? Anything come to mind?
Man, I think you guys nailed it.
I'm just going to just put Mark Messier down for all of that.
Mark Messier.
All right, this is the time of the show since we've gone
super long today, where we get
to your questions.
It's the listener mailbag.
Coming to us from
believe this would be,
I'm guessing Pittsburgh, it's Big Burger
and Burger is spelled like Pittsburgh.
I guess it could be Williamsburg or
anywhere else. Peter Berg, the director.
Which remaining team would have
the best Stanley Cup championship celebration
party? Now, there's two ways to interpret this question.
The first is
locker room celebration.
The second is parade.
And then the other one would be like the Boston Bruins when they drank all that beer.
And that one guy had a Corona or just Amstel Light or something, whatever the hell it was.
Pittsburgh would be boring.
Yeah.
I don't think Tampa would be all that exciting.
San Jose's the answer.
I think Nashville's the answer.
Nashville might be the answer, too.
Because they're so young.
I could see like Ryan Johansson getting arrested for like public intoxication.
Yeah, I could see James Neal breaking a bottle on a bar and standing a guy in a stomach.
Totally.
Like there would be some seriously, wait, that's not a fun party.
Pecorene would just be on his stomach
The entire time
Peck René would be doing snow angels
In the middle of the bar
People would be tossing in beers
They'd be constantly going over his glove hands
And hitting the wall behind him
Because he's not good at the glove
Kevin Cohen is a Calgary
Flames fan who wants to know
Is Johnny Goodro
The New Face of American Hockey
Well, wouldn't Austin Matthews be the new face
of American hockey when he gets drafted by a Canadian team?
As far as long as Phil Kessels is in the league
I won't even dignify that question
Phil Kessel will be the face of American hockey.
I want him to win the cup.
A slovenly, chubby, balding, bearded face of American hockey.
Here's my dream scenario.
Penguins win the cup.
Phil Kessel.
Where's he from?
Minnesota.
Somewhere in America.
Some awesome hockey city in America, right?
He's one of those guys that's good enough to get the cup for more than one day.
So he takes the cup, hometown, parade, you know, childhood friends, blah, blah, blah.
Then the next day, takes it to Toronto, finds a hot dog stand, fills the cup with hot dogs.
He just sits there.
and eats them right in front of Steve Simmons's face for two hours.
No, no, no, doesn't take any question, just sits there quietly shoving hot dogs into his mouth.
Then he gives everyone the finger, takes the, takes the cup back on the plane, goes back to America.
Make that happen for me, Phil.
That's all you want.
Either that or Joe Thornton to take out his weiner.
Well, that's always a great, June.
Either way there's wieners involved.
And finally today, Ben K.
Ben K.J.
Ben K.
writes in,
Would you rather live in the Harry Potter universe
or the Star Wars universe?
It's an interesting question
because what do we know?
The Harry Potter universe is a school, basically.
I mean, it's basically our universe.
Either way, there are people with powers
that can murder you
pretty much immediately
if you're not one of those people with powers.
But in the Star Wars universe,
there's like dozens of places
I could possibly live within that universe.
Like here, it's just like Earth with magic powers.
I feel like in the Star Wars universe, you can kind of be whatever you want to be, though.
And then in the Harry Potter universe, it's like, it's like almost like Hunger Games.
You're like, you're forced into one of those stupid houses.
No, it's not that's not that much.
You're either a Hufflepup or a giggle schnog or where the fuck it is.
Like, there are other schools as well.
But like in Star Wars, if I want to be a Jedi and some like old dude in a robe is like, you don't have the force.
Like, no, I want to be a Jedi.
You can't be a Jedi?
Like, meanwhile, with Harry Potter, is the, can you like, learn powers?
you know?
It's the same.
It's the same deal.
Like, if you do not have the force
or magical ability,
you're going to have a tough time
in either world,
but you want to have a tough time
on boring old earth
where a wizard might kill you
or flying around space.
But that's the thing.
There's a thing.
Like, you said a wizard might kill you,
but like, that's the thing.
Like, in Star Wars universe,
the empire is coming to
mess up your world
and steal your shit.
The first order is coming down.
They're going to blow up your whole planet
with their own fucking gun planet.
But in Harry Potter,
Power World, like, that seems like a very personal
beef. Like, would I even have to care about
death theaters and Voldemort and all that
shit? Like, it seems like that's very specific
to one kid. And if that's the case,
I'm pushing Harry Potter right into
Voldemort's chest and you're like, take this kid
and leave us alone.
The plan is eventually to enslave
humanity. It doesn't happen.
Oh, all right. That's not good. They don't
like people without magical abilities.
A muggle. A muggle or
a, yeah. So not... I would
pick Earth, because I could
check my fantasy football team here. I probably
can't do that on Alderon. You know?
You can't do a whole lot on Audoron.
Well, in the prequels, you can't, can't you?
Yeah. I would pick Star Wars
Universe, because as a heavy drinker,
I like that there's so many varieties. Just that
milk drink that they had on Tatooine.
A lot of the drinks have smoky things coming out of it.
I think that'd be a really fun place.
They had death sticks.
Yeah. According to the prequels, as well.
I go Star Wars, because worst case, you can maybe craft yourself
into a Han Solo type guy. He doesn't have any special
powers. Whereas it's Harry Potter.
He's a scounder.
If you go Harry Potter and you're not a wizard, congratulations.
You're just living in this world, but maybe a wizard could kill you.
Yeah.
It's all downside.
You're just some assal on the ground with a broom between your legs being like, Excelsior.
Would you rather live in the X-Men world or the Avengers world?
Wait, what?
It's the same world, isn't it?
No, they don't cross over.
Sorry.
Well, I would rather live in the Avengers world because the X-Men are just horrible.
Wait, no, I would rather live in the X-Men world because the Avengers just ruin everything.
there's a very good chance I could die by something falling from a building if they're in my town trying to save me.
Yeah, but I mean, like, the Avengers are trying to prevent other people from taking over the world while, like, members of this mutant area are constantly trying to enslave humanity.
Yeah, but it's also, but it's also like a real pain in the ass in both places because it's all politics.
It's like in X-Men world, everybody's like, oh, mutants are a threat.
We need to come up with a cure to get rid of the mutants.
And then, like, at Avengers world, it's like, we need the government.
By the way, the United Nations who can't do jacking shit in the world.
me again how Tony Stark's in the right to trust the organization.
Oh, whoa, we just saw the entire Civil War a bit.
Thanks, guys.
I'm glad you agree with me.
All right.
Well, that's Puck Soup for this week.
Thanks again to Sidney Assison for joining us.
Thanks again for everybody humoring our Marvel talk this week.
Obviously, it's a very hot topic.
Join us next week when we rank the X-Men films as X-Men Apocalypse comes out.
And thank you to everybody who saw the one-hour, 56-minute time on this current episode.
It was like, yeah, sure, I'll listen to this.
I got time.
Next week.
We got some big guests, hopefully, coming up soon for you.
And then obviously next week, getting into the conference finals and stuff.
And with that, Dave Lozo, oh, by the way, plugs and stuff.
Go to the Puck Soup Reddit.
Leave your feedback on each episode.
Go to the iTunes page.
Leave your feedback on the iTunes page.
Thank you everybody.
Only if it's good.
Everybody who's downloaded the episodes and supported the show.
I am Greg Wachinsky of Puck Daddy.
At Wichinsky on Twitter.
Take your eye off the puck as the book.
Merrick versus Woschinsky is the other podcast I do when I'm not talking to Lozo.
And here's Dave Lozo to take you home.
By the way, thanks to Chris for sitting in on the comic book stuff too.
Thanks, Chris.
All right.
So without getting into just all the reasons why Captain America should be put in prison forever.
Hey, you're just signing off.
Oh, wait, we don't have 40 minutes, right?
So I can't get into all that.
But, yeah, don't be like Chris.
Don't be wrong about which team to be on.
Come with me.
Come with me and Tony Stark to a world where we are right in.
chest. I don't really have anything to plug. Just give me money to do stuff and I'll do it for you.
I'm a total horror for the dollar. Come with me. Come with me if you want to live.
Come with me if you want to have Game of Thrones and do everything I write.
Oh, we didn't do that this week. We're not going to do it now. We're done, but I really wanted
to get your thoughts on episode three, but you didn't watch it. Did you? You don't watch it? Oh, no,
I saw when that one character woke up. All right, we're done.
with his deep gashes on his beautiful chest.
The dude got totally ripped while he was dead.
He really?
Like he shedded some fat.
I might get into that.
I mean, yeah.
Gotta get in that zombie crossfit, man.
It's shredded.
All right, everybody.
All right, bye.
Bye.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
