Puck Soup - Tom Cavanagh
Episode Date: May 19, 2016Greg and Dave talk hockey with actor Tom Cavanagh (The Flash, Ed, Mike and Tom Eat Snacks podcast) including Olympic memories, the Canadiens and his epic tale about almost starring in Mystery, Alaska.... Plus Stanley Cup Playoffs talk, trashing NBC's studio show, the Top 6 Worst Playoff Losses Ever and reader mail that leads into a ridiculous movie title game.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Have you ever been frustrated trying to buy tickets online?
Most sites make it complicated.
That's why you need to try Seat Geek.
They've made it easier than ever to buy and sell sports and concert tickets.
Wow, I have been frustrated.
Tell me more about this Seat Geek.
Well, I'll tell you exactly about this Seat Geek.
It's the only place I go to to look for tickets for games or concerts.
I've used it to buy some complicated Mets tickets, late independent chase,
and then bought some NLCS tickets against the Cubby Cubs as well on Seat Geek.
It's a great app in my phone
I use it all the time
Look for tickets for all sorts of things
But Greg, are there hidden fees?
Dave, best of all,
Seagique is always honest and upfront
About the price.
Unlike Stubhub,
Seat Geek shows you the full ticket price
and start to finish
and never surprises you
with huge fees at checkout.
This is what you need to do,
Puck Soup listeners.
You get a $20 rebate
off your first Seat Geek purchase
if you download the free
Seatgeek app,
You go to the settings tab, you click add a promo code.
You enter the code S-O-U-P, soup, and then Seek-Eak will send you a $20 rebate after you've made your first ticket purchase.
Download the app, promo code, write in soup, $20 in your pocket.
Download the free Seekek app and enter the promo code soup today.
Enjoy the show.
Now entering nerdist.com.
and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows, it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of Hagi and Nancet.
Puck Soup.
I'm Greg Wischinski of Yahoo Sports.
And I'm Dave Lozo of various internet publications.
And you're in Puck Soup.
Thank you so much.
This is not the Morning Zoo.
Come on.
You've made it Morning Zoo now.
Come on.
a phone soundboard be part of the dumb podcast we do.
I hear a girl really likes you.
Yeah, the internet's a great place sometimes.
But wait a second.
Did I mention to you, Dave Loso, that I'm pregnant with your baby?
Oh, I thought you were going to do the other one.
That I'm pregnant with your baby?
Jesus Christ.
That I'm pregnant with your baby?
Oh, this one.
Actually, here's me trying to find the right button.
That's right, folks.
We got a soundboard now.
We're a top-notch podcast.
Do you know where the soundboard app would really come in handy?
Sex.
No.
Well, yes.
But also on the subway, when someone tries to panhandle,
and they give you their spiel about,
and that's when I knew that the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ
told me I need to come on this train,
and someone buys a Snickers bar for $5,
and anything you could do to help and be fine.
I would just be like,
I would just be like, oh.
Yeah.
All right.
Well, the playoffs are in full swing.
as we do the podcast today,
Penguins and Lightning are tied,
and then the sharks and blues are tied as well.
But here's the thing about the Western Conference series
that I think we've learned pretty quickly,
which is that the sharks are a great hockey team
and the blues have not played like a great hockey team as of yet,
and now the sharkies get the split they need,
and I'm feeling more confident than ever
in my pick of the sharks to win this series.
Eh.
Eh.
What eh?
I don't know.
I think the whole blues haven't played that great thing's a little overblown.
They were bad in game two.
They probably weren't great in game one.
But, I mean, I don't feel any sort of less...
Did I pick anybody to win this series now that I'm sitting there talking about?
Did we ever make picks for the conference final?
I don't know.
I picked the sharks in six in real...
In IRL outside of Buck Soup.
I mean, I picked the sharks to lose in round one,
so I probably do think the blues are going to win going into the series.
So I'm not...
I'm not entirely defeated on the Blues just yet.
I don't think they're in bad shape.
The Sharks were terrible at home.
They won five straight in the playoffs now.
They're due for a loss.
Now that we do have the Western Conference final of perpetual losers,
which one do you want to see play for the Cup?
I assume it's the Sharks.
I want to see San Jose win.
I think Joe Thornton winning the Cup would be awesome.
And, you know, David Backus winning it would be whatever.
But I do think that whoever gets to the finals
is probably going to have a really hard time with Pittsburgh's speed.
that's probably going to be a real issue.
Tampa Speed.
Tampa's a fast team.
I think Tampa and San Jose are kind of on the same level of speed.
Like Tampa's not slow.
San Jose is not slow.
But I feel like St. Louis, that plotting slow ass, like David Bacchus lumbering up, Troy Brower.
Lumbering up and down the ice is going to be a problem at that point.
There is something beliefly old school about St. Louis in that regard.
Like they've got those big, like twin towers and guys who bang and, you know.
Guys who bang.
Guys are bang.
Who's the hashtag hockey board?
Troy Brower's a real banger out there.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, he's shoving it right into the zone.
Just hammering the crease as hard as he can.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
That's right.
Big presence in the slot.
Yeah, just coming hard right down the middle, that Troy Brower.
Oh, yeah, and as you've heard on Puck Soup, if you're not, if you don't come, then you're never going to come.
Yeah, if you don't come, you're probably going to have to rest.
Right, exactly.
You're probably going to have to rest.
Yep.
So that's the Western Conference final analysis.
No, here's how I feel about it.
From a player's perspective.
I want the sharks to win
because I genuinely want to see
Joe Thornton at least play for
a cup. Like as I've been saying
like, I think about legacy
is a lot and I think about his legacy
as being the best
pastor of his generation. In the
pantheon of Gretzky,
Adam Oates,
and other guys that don't come to mind right now.
Like, he's
in that pantheon as far as guys who set up
plays. Oh, that passed the Pavelski
in the Predator series where he just kind of
fishes it off the boards on his back end and just drops it right to him.
Yeah. It's majestic.
Oh, it's so nice.
Yeah, it's like watching that big dog fly around and never-ending story.
Like, it just, something that large shouldn't be that damn majestic, but it just is.
And, like, he's got the Game of Thrones, like Torman's beard going on, and he's right.
He looks like, he does not look like he should be as graceful as he is, and yet, here he is.
And I have a real problem.
Like, Jen Neal and Puck Daddy wrote our beard watch this week.
Oh, hi, Pam.
Hi Pam, yes, Jen's mom's a big fan of the podcast.
Pam.
Pam.
Pam.
Hi, Pam.
What a beautiful name.
Pam.
But she referred to Thornton's beard as having a skunk stripe, and I don't know if I like that
necessarily.
There's something in there in terms of the coloring.
It looks like a blondeie.
Like if you're going to eat a blondeie, like it has like that little dark part of it,
but it's blonde?
It looks like two brownies and then the blondie in the middle, almost like you have a little
Neapolitan kind of deal there.
Like, there are, like, hipster dudes in Brooklyn that would totally want to, like, dye their beard to get it that way.
And Joe Thornton's, like, natural, bro.
Is it, though, because it reminds me of when my dad was a heavy smoker and the middle of his mustache would turn yellow.
It kind of reminds me of that.
Like, Joe Thornton's in the locker in between periods with this, like, an ashtray, just like...
Yeah.
But to achieve that, he'd probably have to smoke a pipe upside down, I imagine.
Joe Thornton doesn't strike me as the dude that's, like, I want to make my beard look as cool as possible.
No.
I think that's pure, natural Joe Thornton.
And like I said on Twitter, that first game
You got the puck stuck in his pants
I think the reason why they couldn't find the puck
Is because he's letting everything grow
You can't find it in there
Because it's just like, it's like you need like a machete
To hack through the jungle
To find the puck in there
And it's like oh, there it is
Probably has the blonde dark thing going on there too
Why don't we see more beard variation
Or more manscaping?
Like Yager might be the only guy
Who has done that where he had the little caterpillar
Like we don't see a lot of things
or like guys are, you know, cutting designs into it
or using selectively placed bleach
to make it spotty like a leopard or something?
Well, that answer is easy.
We're dudes and dudes want to not groom anything
and we're completely lazy schlubs
and this is the perfect time to tell your wife for like two months.
It's part for the team.
It's good luck.
I can't.
I would love to make myself more presentable
for this wedding we're going to, but I know.
The gist of it is that like nothing else in life matters.
as much as the chase for the cup.
And I'm just going to, I can't even,
I can't even bring myself to shave.
That's how focused I am.
I would, but, I mean, it's just, it's for the guys.
You don't want the guys to hate me in the locker room, do you, honey?
And then, like, he just sits on the couch
and just starts picking corn chips out of the beard and in his mouth.
Which, of course, is ironic because when you consider, like,
when non-hockey people grow out beards,
it's usually because they've lost focus and hope in life.
Oh, God.
Right.
Like, honestly, like, I don't have to go to a rink for me,
personally until September or October.
And you have a beard right now.
And like, honestly, like, I think the last time, I think I've shaved my face once
in the last, like, three weeks.
But it was, like, right in the middle, so it's not that bad.
But, like, once we stopped doing the podcast probably later in the summer to take a break,
buddy, I'm going to be like the Joe Thornton of my town just stumbling around in a
hoodie in shorts.
It's just like, does anybody got any change?
Because it's just, but that's the backfire part of it, too, is like in July, you
don't want to have facial hair because it's so damn hot out.
So it's a battle between my uncomfortableness in terms of the heat and my laziness in terms of everything else in my life.
Yeah, precisely.
And, you know, the thing I've noticed about these playoffs, beard-wise, and we're not going to make this, you know, beard soup.
Although that would be disgusting.
That's whenever Brent Burns eats soup.
Beard soup.
Sidney Crosby's beard looks fuller and more majestic than usual.
Yeah.
And I've heard it's because he started earlier.
but it may also be, as I think we've mentioned before,
some sort of performance enhancement.
I think it is.
Yeah, because I'm a dude who really can't grow thick facial hair.
Like, if I start growing my beard weeks and advance,
it just looks stragglier.
I think his is performance enhanced.
I think his is, like, he's been taking some testosterone injections,
and, you know, I'm just saying.
Yeah.
His work ethic in terms of his beard is outstanding
compared to Jonathan Druen's baby face, is all I'm saying.
I had a really good beard for a while,
but then Katie Holmes decided I was boring.
What?
Forget it.
It's a beard.
Wait.
Another kind of beard.
A beard, you know, when you're gay.
Oh.
Oh.
Because Tom Cruise is gay.
She was called a beer.
Oh.
See, I thought you were making a reference to, like, a movie you were in with a guy who looks
like you had a beard.
Holy shit.
That's a long way to go for a joke.
Right.
Because I was sitting there.
I was scrolling through, like, all right, does Christian Bail have a beard in Batman?
I like how you think that my jokes are so complicated that we need to put up a fucking
homeland pictures and string thing on the wall.
figure out where it all goes.
It's like the Pepe-Sylvia thing, and it's always sunny.
Well, it's like, okay, he's got a beard, right?
He's wearing a beard.
Who has a beard in a Katie?
Is it Dawson?
Are we talking about Dawson here?
No, it can't be.
They were kids.
They didn't have beards in high school, Dave.
What else was Katie Holmes in?
I'm like, what else was she in?
She was in that movie that thank you for smoking.
In the gift, in the gift where she showed her goods.
Do you remember in Harold and Kumar when they're watching the movie in the beginning of the flick?
Oh, God.
When David Kromholtz and the other guy are watching the Katie Holmes movie,
they're only watching it for the nudity.
that was the gift. It was a Sam Ramey movie.
And there was, like, involving some psychics. I think Kate Blanchett might have been at it,
and she gets new in the movie. It's very famous for that.
Does Kate Blanchett happen to?
Disrobe?
No, I don't believe so.
Then I'm not going to see it. I don't believe so.
I'm probably not going to check that out then.
So I'm rooting for the Sharks players, because I want a lot of those guys.
Like, I would love to see Brent Burns win a cup. I would love to see Joe Thornton win a cup.
Pete the Borricks.
Pete DeBoar would be great to see what to win a cup.
I don't really care about Coutor.
You care about Zuber's.
I feel like Coutor would win a cup and then go to practice the next morning because he's such a little rink rat.
And I don't mean that because he has rodent features.
Wow.
But doesn't he, though?
Yeah, I always see Pete Blackburn tweet that he looks like a horse.
I think it's more rodent than horse.
And what does Blackburn know?
He's a Bruins fan.
It's like a menagerie of animals in that team.
Well, to be fair, like he doesn't get to watch the Bruins in the playoffs anymore.
So he has to sit around and come up with, like, cool Twitter bits.
He's got a rodent and marshan.
There's a Dano Charo looks like some sort of.
of a, like a giraffe baboon.
I was going to say giraffe. Yeah.
He's just, well, I mean, he's just seven foot nine, so he's going to automatically
do that. A burrath or a jaboon.
I just want the sharks to win just because I feel so bad for all the shit that Joe Thor and
Patrick Marlow of taking over the years. Oh, Marlowe too, would be great to see you.
Right. Like, I just, I mean, you know, yeah, Logan Gattur or whatever.
Logan Gattor fucked his team in 2014 for his set the tone fight at the end of game six
and broke his stupid hand on the head of useless Mike Richards.
I mean, everybody else on that team, like Joel Ward, I feel like Joel Ward, you know,
lot of shit with the caps. So I like to see Joel Ward, because Sarah Kwok from
S.I continues to propagate this lie that I made Joel Ward cry at the end of the
conference finals last year. When I so did not, I annoyed Joel Ward with my question because
it was stupid and repetitive, and it was one he already answered. He did not cry,
internet. Stop listening to Sarah Kwok. I once, I don't know if you know this, but I'm
responsible for ending a Roberto Luongo interview once. I was there. Yeah, you were there for that,
right? For those who don't know, I, it was the greatest cup final of all time between
Boston in Vancouver, which entered in a game 7 in which
Vancouver tried to burn down its own city. It was in Boston,
like that a little archway where he was standing there. We were in Boston.
We were in a little archway near the
Vancouver locker room, and that was the
night when Luongo, well,
the night when Luongo got replaced by Snyder.
I mean, it happened a few times. One of the nights
where Luongo got replaced by Corey Schneider, and back
in Vancouver at their viewing party
was game six, wasn't it? Yeah, they gave a
cheer. They gave like a sort of
a cheer when they made the goalie change.
Super-doo-happy. And I found that
to be an interesting thing that occurred.
Roberto Luongo felt differently about that.
Robert Luongo did.
I asked Luongo about the fans back in Vancouver cheering when he was yanked from the game
in some level of, you know, in divinity, and then Corey Schneider was put in, and Loongo
just basically turned around and ended up the industry.
Peace out, that's it.
And if Vancouver fans this day are like, like, I'll write something about Vancouver,
and then some kind of fans like, yeah, that's the guy who asked that question about
Luongo and then they'll tweet it's on YouTube like you can see it it's like like asshole
reporter asks question of legendary goalie or something and like
well to be fair that is an actual description of what happened right an asshole
asshole reporter I mean by the letter of the law yes but like but overall like I felt
it to be a valid question I was I'm sure you felt your Joel Ward question to be a
valid question right I don't remember my question it was just it was it was stupid it
wasn't a good question it was something along the lines of just like because they had
lost to the rangers so many times before and this was one where they weren't
the obviously worst team like
The other times they lost, it was like, yeah, the Rangers were better.
But this time it was, you're up 3-1, you're a minute 40 away, and you lose the next three games.
Like, does that make it worse?
Right.
And I think he was just more, like, of course it's worse.
It was one of those.
He didn't, he didn't, like, I made Ryan Kessler cry during that same playoff run.
Did you really?
Because nobody came out for the Canucks in Game 7 in their locker room, and we were all waiting for Luongo.
And Luongo's locker was right next to Kessler.
So, like, I was on the outside of, like, the horseshoe waiting for Lawango.
And then Kessler came out.
And so it turned out I was right at the front of Kessler.
And he got a couple of questions.
Hi.
Yeah.
And he looked,
he didn't look good coming out.
He looked,
he looked kind of like John Snow as he was getting stabbed by Ali.
Like,
he definitely had this, like,
not a good look on his face.
And you could tell.
Like the first couple of questions,
he talked about how we all needed to be better and blah, blah, blah.
And he had a bad series.
I think he had one point in seven games.
And I was like,
does that mean,
you know,
to you more personally,
you know,
do you feel like you could have been better?
And, like,
he took a second.
He swallowed.
There was a little bit of a chin tremble.
And I was like, don't answer.
You don't have to answer.
Don't talk.
Don't talk.
I'll walk away right now.
And Loza's like in the sense that your parents are probably so disappointed.
I know.
Do you feel like you let down your family?
More than the fans?
Or is it to fans and the family that you feel like you really let down?
I mean, your parents probably are fans too.
It's sort of a double whammy, isn't it?
You let them down as fans, but also as your parents.
Currently, it's 1130 local time.
how many consecutive hours do you feel like you will cry before you fall asleep tonight
can you give us an estimated time as to when that will happen
I'm rooting for the sharks players but I'm rooting for the St. Louis fans that's the thing
I feel like St. Louis is such a shit upon sports town at this point
Rams leave you're not Chicago all of the other things I mean they have the Cardinals
it's great you don't have an NBA team like I feel like St. Louis as a sports town
has been waiting so even exponentially
longer than San Jose fans have to see this team win a damn thing.
And I would be happier for the fans of St. Louis, but happier for the players of San Jose, if that makes sense.
I think whoever comes out of the West, I'm going to want them to win.
But, like, Tampa has, like, all, like, those old Ranger dudes who I got to know, like,
Strawman and Boyle and Callahan, who just comes so close so many years in a row where, like,
I'd feel really bad if, like, they lost in the fight, because it would be Boyle and Stralman's third street.
Yeah.
Right?
And Callahan, well, Callahan got traded and didn't get there.
He got traded and lost in that Limbaugh series, but still, like, Boyle and Strachman,
I'd feel really bad if those guys lost.
Yeah.
Three consecutive gut-wrenching Stanley Cup finals to, you know, St. Louis or San Jose.
The Penguins can feel pretty good about life, beating the Capitals, losing a conference final.
Like, I think that's a pretty good season for them.
Considering what they went through early on, considering what they've kind of discovered about themselves.
Like, I feel like they can feel okay losing.
I feel Tampa Bay, with Stralman back,
if they got Stamco's back, let's say, I feel like they would be, you know, kicking themselves.
Because now, after this season, all kinds of shit's going to change because the Stamcoast situation.
Either you're going to bring them back and blow up your salary structure, you're going to lose them,
and then you've lost even Stamcoast.
But you've got to feel good if you're Tampa that.
You can win without Stamcoast at this point, right?
I mean, you've won nine playoff games and lost three without him.
So I feel like Tampa and Pittsburgh, they feel kind of like the same-ish team to me because there's injuries on both sides.
You've got Matt Murray playing goal over there, and this was a team midway.
through the season where you're just like, boy,
they are fucked.
Yeah, right?
They are not going.
And now here they are in the conference.
To me, I still think they're going to,
I still think Pittsburgh, Washington was for the Stanley Cup,
but who knows, I've been wrong.
I've been wrong a lot at this point.
Dude, two years ago, I was 13 and O
through the first 13 series.
I don't think I picked 13 series right the last two years.
Yeah, don't go, but don't listen to any of the old podcasts.
I mean, seriously.
I just assume all the picks are right.
Like, Jesus, Anaheim, Washington.
Even the last round, I picked the caps.
Who else did I pick last round?
I had Tampa.
No, I picked the Islanders last round.
Jesus, like, why am I even on this thing?
I'm just here, I'm just here to do British accents and talk about Lichester City.
And then Little Footie, who's got the best kit in all of Lichester?
What the hell were you just talking about?
Pittsburgh and Tampa.
Yeah, like, I, like, Crosby's already got a cup, so it's not, like, really important that he gets one.
Yeah.
Tampa, yeah, if it's like Tampa San Jose.
All I know is, Tampa San Jose would be kind of a fun series.
All of them would be fun.
Here's what I know about the Penguins.
What do you know?
I'm really happy that Sidney Crosby scored that overtime will there a night
because it showed that he learned a thing or two from Jonathan Drewann
and his work ethic and his moxie.
I hate...
Here's what I hate about NBC sports.
It's the only thing there is for hockey fans, like in the United States.
If you're in Canada, you can put on any sports talk radio show
and get like four hours about Nazim Cadre's contract
and you're happy and you're listening in your car.
Here, there's nothing.
It's only NBC.
And it's the least fun, entertaining sports program on TV.
Like, it's just there's no off-night stuff on NBC where it, not that you want it with this crew.
Okay, so, like, let's go through the list.
You got, like, Catherine Tappin and Lee and McKeer were both really good.
Both fine.
They both do their jobs well.
They both kind of facilitate things.
I think both of them do the James Duffy thing pretty well of being the ringmaster for other people.
And you can tell like Catherine Tappan and Lee and McKear are just,
fucking sick of everybody they got to talk to you every day.
They haven't told me this off the record,
and I'm not like speaking for them or anything,
but like,
yeah,
it's like when Eddie and Pierre are like in the booth together.
You can just tell Eddie Olcchek would give half of his salary
to punch Pierre in the face.
Like Pierre talks for 25 minutes about a guy
he went to Shaddock,
and then he's like, right, Eddie?
Like, don't set up Eddie.
Eddie will talk about what Eddie wants to talk about.
I think of thought balloons coming from Eddie Olchek
in which Pierre is tied to the dirt on a racetrack
and Eddie's riding Nyquist over him.
Oh, God.
God, he's just, he's, he's like, he's like George on Seinfeld when he's, he meets Dan Cortez, the cool guy who's dating the lane.
Like, he's just like, oh, I'm down.
I'm so down with this, Eddie.
Oh, bang on, Eddie.
Shut up.
But here's the thing.
Like, they're broadcast teams.
I have actually less issues outside of Pierre than I do their intermission teams.
I'm sweating now.
What we saw this week was the Roanick stuff where he's, he's talking about how Sidney Crosby could take a hint about work ethic from Jonathan Duran.
The problem with that is that you can criticize Sidney Crowsby.
Crosby for a multitude of things is whining.
It's so dumb.
You know, everything that was on the table.
No, it's literally the first time in the history of hockey that someone has questioned
Cindy Crosby's work ethic.
And you compared it to a guy who requested a trade in the middle of the season.
Right. Of all, like, I'm, I've defended Jonathan Joanne since he asked for the trade.
If you're going to compare anyone's work ethic, I mean, and like, why is that sure that
show, okay, so you got Mike Milbury,
who, like, there's, sports are supposed
to be entertained. Like, we were talking about this,
because we talked to Tom Cavanaugh, star, the
Flash. Oh, yeah, Tom Cavanaugh coming up with the podcast
today. And many, he's a Canadian,
and he lived in the States. Like, he was on, and
like, he was the most, probably the most fun guy
to talk to about hockey, I think we've had on so far.
Because, like, he's smart, he likes to talk
hockey, he's funny, and, like, it seemed like
not that were the answer, but it just
seems like people are just dying for
an outlet to talk about hockey, and it just
doesn't exist here. And you look, look at, I mean, Mike
Millbury is dying to tell you how smart he is all the time.
Me, I'm dying to tell you how dumb I am.
I just pick the Islanders to be the Penguins or the lightning last year.
I'm a moron.
And like, okay, and you've got Keith Jones.
There's too much crossover with, like, Keith Jones and Eddie Olcheck, who are flyers and Blackhawks employees.
It fucks with what they say sometimes.
That's bad.
Jeremy Roanick, I don't know how much work he puts into the job, it seems like he doesn't
put any into it.
I don't know what he's doing during the actual game.
Like, is there like a lounge at NBC?
because I guarantee you, like, he's probably watching, like, Outlander or something,
and it's like, hey, we got to talk about Sid next period.
Well, his work ethic isn't that good.
Like, what?
Do you watching this?
Like, why is that show not fun?
Where Ronick, first of all, Ronick has always been, I think, for a lot of us, like, we all
thought he was going to be Barclay.
And he's not Barclay.
Oh, right.
Well, totally, when he came in, I thought.
We all thought he was going to be this mouth that roared, and he wasn't.
But the real issue I have with him now is that, you know, in the times that I've listened to
his podcast, including a few times where all of a sudden.
started feuding with the Ronic Life people.
At one point, he actually said that he
doesn't criticize his friends. Like, there's
guys in the league that he's friends with, and he pulls
punches on him. Like, he thinks about, am I going to
really call this guy out right now because he's a friend
of mine? And, like, are you out of your
that's the coverage we get?
That's so bad. But that's what he admits to it.
But even if you're like that, you can still,
again, I always point to this show, because I think
it's so great. Like, TNT, the Barclay and, you know,
all those guys, Ernie, Knie Smith, Schack.
It's fun. I'm not an NBA guy at all.
And, like, people are like, oh, you got to put on TNT, and I put it
on and they make me laugh.
College game day on ESPN.
I'm a passive college football guy.
Like, I'll watch the Rutgers game.
There's a big game that week.
I'll watch it.
They're three-hour morning show with Desmond Howard, Kirk Herb Street,
Corso, whoever the white guy with the dark hair is who's hosting the show now.
It's some guy named Chris probably.
I don't know.
Or Dan.
Dan.
One of those Bristol clones.
Yeah, some white guy with, like, really good teeth and a nice smile.
It's so entertaining because it seems like everybody on the set likes each other.
And there's none of that with anything.
NBC does, whether it's a game broadcast, whether it's a studio thing.
And it sucks you if you live in America because you put on any sports talk radio show
pretty much in any city in the country.
You're not getting anything.
So what do you get?
You get Mike Milbury.
You know what?
If you're going to hit a guy, you might as well give him brain damage.
Jeremy Roanick, hey, you know what?
Sidney Crosby should work harder like that.
Good old Jonathan Dreweno.
And it's just you're watching it and you want to throw your goddamn TV into the ceiling.
This is what happens.
They do an intermission show and they ask a guy like Ronick, they're like,
What do you think the St. Louis Blues need to do next year?
What's being said in their locker room right now?
And he literally said, I'm paraphrasing here, but he literally said,
they're saying if you get a chance, you've got to finish your chances.
I'm like, that would portend that there are times in locker room in which the coach says,
you know what, if you get a chance, pass it up.
Just give the fans a little bit of a tease, a little bit of a tickle before you score a goal.
And I don't know if this is for sure, because I watched the game,
the San Jose St. Louis game two thing, where Joe Thornton was grooving and dancing
with the little girls behind the glass and stuff, and he squirts him with water.
I don't think NBC ever showed that.
I think it was on Sportsnet up in Canada, right?
And, like, again, it just seems like NBC doesn't know what they're doing 90% of the time.
And it makes for just such a frustratingly bad, like, again, like, if you're not an NBA fan and you're like, NBA games are over, I got to watch the post game.
Like, that's what you want from the NHL.
And, like, there's no off-night, like, NHL-T type show, highlight shows on NBC.
Like, the NHL Network has some stuff going for it.
but that's like an extra tear on my cable
that I'm not going to pay it for.
Well, that's a thing.
Sorry.
The two things I want to say
about the NBC thing,
then we'll get to Tom.
The moment that I change over
from NBC to NHL Network
after the game
to watch post-game press conferences
and interviews and things like that
is the moment in which I understand
what it is I fucking saw.
Right.
Because you go from
bloody, bloody, bloody big narrative,
blah, blah, blah, blah.
Should have broken his wrist with his stick,
blah, blah, blubla,
to guys like Brian Lawton and Dave Reed,
and Scott Stevens and Kevin Weeks,
looking at the footage and saying,
here's what happened.
For example, game two of the series,
Alex Steen basically gives the sharks a goal,
breaks his stick on the penalty kill,
skates off the ice,
down the ice to get a new one.
And I'm thinking to myself,
boy, that's a dumb play by him.
But then you watch the NHL network coverage of it,
and they tell you,
it really, you know, it's either one of these,
it's either miscommunication
or a guy who thought he could make a play,
It should have been a play they made because the blues have the farther bench in that period.
And then look, all three defenders on the PK came over to the same side.
Like, they break it down for you in a way that it's like, oh, my God, this is actually the thing that I want to see on this other network.
But instead, they're just like, well, I'll tell you, Jonesy, they really got a try harder.
And yeah, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, Mike, he's family guy, basically, okay?
He's, he's like a 1920s bad guy.
Yeah, see, yeah, who lazy out there, see?
But, like, and then the other thing I wanted to say is that, that the, the, the, the, the,
Mike Milbury is a very interesting guy.
I'm sometimes entertained by him.
I'm not going to say he should be fired.
I'm not going to say he's not worth your time.
Like, he's entertainment.
But you have to pick a role, right?
Like, my problem with him now is, like, on the Blues Sharks game the other night,
when he's like, yeah, if you're going to slash a guy,
make sure you you can slash him real good to break a pound or maybe give him a slight concussion.
Just kidding about the concussion, pot, people.
Break his legs, Bugsie.
Yeah.
Like, that's fine if you're going to be that guy.
But then don't turn around and demonize someone like Brooks Orpick for being a, quote, predatory player trying to hurt others because he hurt one of your precious little bruins once.
Like, you cannot.
The one thing I will not suffer for when it comes to sports media is abject hypocrisy.
Like, pick a role.
Pick a theme.
Pick a thesis.
Don't come out of one side of your mouth of me like, slash to break bones.
say you mouth like, don't hurt, it's hurt people.
JK.
God, what a, what nonsense.
Anyway.
Like, I'm just, like, I just want to be entertained.
I don't even necessarily need to learn stuff.
Oh, by the way, apparently Ken Hitchcock has trained his players to go to the bench to get a stick whenever they break their stick.
And then the other three guys are supposed to form a diamond or a triangle.
That's what they were supposed.
I forget where I saw that.
I don't know.
Yeah, it was on NBC.
Yeah.
But, like, I just want to be entertained.
That's it.
I just want to, I want to have a really fun, you know, six minutes of TV time, go to commercial, come back.
come back, make me laugh.
I don't want to be, like, I don't want to be, like, Mike Milbury, so he takes himself
too seriously.
Keith Jones takes himself too seriously.
I just want, like, easygoing.
Indeed.
Like, Shaq, Shaq could not take himself less seriously if he tried when he's on TNT.
And it's fun.
That's what makes it fun.
And I just want that for, like, I feel like hockey's never going to become what anyone
wants it to be until you start to have it be entertaining and not have it be all these old
school jackasses that want to show you how hockey should.
This is what they should do.
And it's just make me laugh.
Like, do, for instance, a Backstreet Boy Band parody.
Make me laugh.
That's it.
I have only one micro-impression of Shaq O'Neal, and it's this.
Hey, Shaq.
Tell us about your relationship with Kobe Bryant.
Kobe Machimah, he not my friend.
Tom Cavanaugh, you know him from The Flash, you know him from Ed.
You know him from Love Monkey.
Not from Mystery Alaska.
Not for mystery Alaska.
Stay tuned for this interview, folks, because Lozo hits this question out of the point.
park. We find out the hidden truth of Tom Kavanaugh's role, such as it wasn't.
I wasn't expecting such a sad. I feel like I winded him for a second there. I thought it would
just be like, oh, I love that movie, but yeah, he gave a kind of a sadder, but good. It has a happy
ending. It has a happy ending. Coming back after that, we're going to do top three all-time
playoff disappointments we love and some of your listener mail. But here's Tom Kavanaugh. You're
going to love this. He's a great puckhead. Tom Kavanaugh, we were discussing just briefly before
your Canadian nationalism, your jingoism.
I didn't say jingoism, that's your word, I want to point out.
You're suddenly taking it to a negative platform
and hoping you sneak that by me. I'm not going to let you.
It's like, oh, he took a shot, but I blocked it.
Yeah, unlike Ryan Miller.
Wait, wait. We were talking about Vancouver,
and again, like, as a guy covering the Vancouver Olympics
as an American, I distinctly remember
believing wholeheartedly how important it was
for the U.S. to win that game.
Yes. It would be like when the Mets had a
shot to beat the Yankees in the subway series. Like the Yankees literally have like 28, 29 World
Series championships of whatever it is these days. I knew the Mets had one shot. They had one shot to
blow up the Death Star and they blew it. And I felt the same way about the Americans. The Americans
had beaten the Canadians in Vancouver. There's a few key plays in that in that series that kind of blew
it for them. I want to say like, you know, the unsung hero of the MET series, he bats 462. He
hits everything square on the nose, Todd Zeal. And no one ever, you know, like it's out
Roger Clemens threw a bat.
Yeah.
You're like, yeah, but he threw a bat.
I mean, ultimately that was like a guy on first base.
It wasn't a big deal, you know what I mean?
But there was like opportunities, you know.
But we blew it.
Yeah.
And the U.S. blew it in their one shot to get one over on Canada.
Well, blew it.
I don't know that.
I thought that the, here's the thing, on paper, look at those two teams.
The Canadian team is a better team.
And the American team was very, very good.
A real solid number two in those lineups.
Any hockey guy would probably agree with that.
And the American team playing on Canadian soil in Canada almost won that game.
And that's like they, you know, so in other words, I take issue with the blue apart.
I thought they played out of their minds.
I played really well.
They scored a tying goal, a huge momentum goal.
And Canada, instead of like folding, came back on a gindler to Crosby.
And it's like, you know, they won the game as opposed to losing it.
And I speak about it from America standpoint.
It's like, you know, they didn't lose that game.
The other team won.
but they played great.
It was a game for the age.
Clearly, I'm biased as a Canadian,
but at the same time,
it was a spectacular finish.
But wouldn't you consider the key play in that game,
the referee getting in the way
and disrupting the forecheck,
allowing again let it make that play
to cause me in cheating to win the gold medal?
I would not.
Because the other thing is,
look, when that play developed,
if you watch it in freeze frame,
which I did, by the way.
Of course.
Because I was...
How many times 100?
Well, what's interesting is,
here's a quick story about that thing,
and not to bore anybody
who might be listening this,
but I was filming a movie in New Zealand.
Oh, wow.
Yeah, we're in New Zealand.
I could not have been further away, in the woods.
Oh, okay.
Hours north of Auckland.
And I could not have been farther away.
And I went to the IT guys.
This was a very expensive movie, and they had a lot of money.
And I was like, here's the deal, boys.
You know, I need to see this game.
And it was at 11 o'clock in the morning on a Monday.
And it was just like, you guys don't understand.
He's like, oh, no, we get it.
It'd be like if Go Kouse had a test match.
And I was like, yeah, not exactly like that.
at all, you know?
And yet, I'm like, so, but the guy siphoned off.
They, like, brought down the signal from the entire, like, where, you know, from the center
from around and got it into these woods, which was very difficult to get a signal.
And I watched that game, but the game would freeze frame.
Yeah.
The game would literally pause and then resume.
It would pause and rebuff and resume.
It paused before Perreze's goal with, like, seconds after.
And I was a Canadian, I was like, we're out of here.
We're in the clear.
And then it paused in the goal and I'll scramble.
And then I'll play.
And I was like, no, no, no.
And it paused, as the puck went down the left boards, I could, and when it paused,
I was like, this is an opportunity.
I can see this opportunity to develop.
Because there was one defenseman back there and was like, Aginla is going to go in there
and get that.
And it's like, why is nobody?
You know what I mean?
You could see that.
It paused.
And I was like, it seemed like a ridiculous angle.
But then he feeds the puck and it pauses.
And like, still, you know, this feels like something, rebuff, go, score.
And you have to feel for Miller who stood on his head the entire.
The thing about...
I went for the poke check for no reason.
The thing is when you watch goals, even in today's playoffs,
you watch, like, there was a goal scored yesterday.
Whereas, like, if you hadn't moved,
if you hadn't dropped to your knees, I think it was Jones.
The Jones shot.
Yeah, you hadn't dropped to your knees,
that puck would have hit you, you know?
And there was a little bit of that element to that goal on Miller
where it's like, if you just stand there,
you know what I mean?
Because it's a tough angle.
You know Miller a little bit,
and the thing that broke my heart about the Olympics
was like he was the most amazing interview for two weeks.
Is that right?
Oh, God, he was, you get him talking about hockey.
He's professorial about it.
And not only proposorial about it, but also a guy who talks about the psychology, the emotions, the history.
Like, he was eloquent.
It was like reading a novel every time we talk to this guy.
That's great.
And then they lose their gold medal game.
And it's just like, puck went in.
He's done.
He's not getting anything eloquent of that guy anymore.
That's unfortunate for him.
But he's, you know, he, again, like I think, you know, as the San Diego, you know, as the San
the time shift, people will be like, he played great.
He played out of his mind in that whole
tournament. He was the MVP, wasn't he?
I think he was the MVP. Yeah, and then he won the
Vezna, based off that too, but...
Yeah. You're a... And that's another thing, like,
I mean, you know, that game
seven, you know,
you know, he just...
He's a kind of guy that, I feel like
you need to get him
in a game seven that he needs to
to win for him to have... Like, I feel like Miller is
deserving of a moment, I guess is what I'm trying to say.
Do what I mean? Like, and he hasn't really had it. Didn't get it about
flow exactly you know what I mean he's like you're the best team on a bad
best thing on a bad team and that you just feel like Miller needs to
that's so important in sports like get in a situation
where you can be allowed to have that moment you had those two
conference finals but now he's in Vancouver and nothing's gonna
nothing good's gonna happen out there in the next four years like it's
we filmed the flash out there and it's I have talked to
yeah it's just I mean it's tough for goalies at that moment
I mean even though they're the ones that affect play mostly yeah it's real
tough like it's a finite number of goalies that I've ever won
A cup.
And that's a tough gig.
But your Miller thing reminds me of what's happened with Ovechkin now.
Like Ovechkin, I think the worms turned a little bit where there's not this whole blame Ovi thing happening anymore when they lose.
But there are still some outliers.
Like Larry Brooks, the New York Post writes a piece over the weekend saying, you know, Ovechkin needs the blame for this.
And I'm just like, that's the guy that I want to have the moment, you know.
Brooks is an idiot for writing that.
I feel like that.
I'm going to take the contrarian position.
It's like, look, here's a guy who's like, he's the heaviest.
He's the strongest capital.
He's, if you watch OV Live, like it's shocking how quickly that momentum builds and how he puts people back on their heels.
He's so powerful.
I think that's the best word to describe him because clearly he has finesse and ability and all those things, but the thing that sets him apart to me is his power.
And how many guys do you know who are like the, you know, a 50 goal score who are destroying guys on checks?
And so in the playoffs.
And to like, you can, sometimes a puck will bounce away, sometimes it won't.
But he's always like pasting guys into the boards.
And to write that is disingenuous to go.
All he needs to take the blame.
He's like, look what he does.
You know, look what, imagine that team without him.
And he had a great series, you know.
He passed the puck at the right moment.
He hit one-timers that were like rocket shots that, you know, you know it's coming from that left point where he likes to line up.
And he still puts it in.
He won game five practically on his own.
And so how can you say, well, he sort of needs to blame?
Some people just like their narratives, Tom.
I don't know.
It's just, yeah, I guess some people like their narratives.
Tom, you have an incredible positive outlook about all of this stuff.
I'm more apocalyptic as a fan where I don't believe anything short of a championship is worthy of discussion.
But I believe it's probably because you're going to be filled with hatred for a long time.
Well, I'm a devil's fan, so I've seen some good time.
A lot of good time.
But you're a Canadians fan, and I have to imagine that's where it comes from,
is that when you have that much success and all those banners,
you could be like, you know what, we could lie dormant for 20 years and be okay with it.
Any time, you know, it gets, you know, the conversation escalates a little bit.
my closest circle of friends,
a group of seven guys that I hang out with,
it's always like rafters.
That's all I say, just like raptors.
And, you know, I have a lot of pals,
a lot of this group, like half the group are
Maple Leafs fans, and it's just like,
mm-hmm, yeah.
You know, and, you know, one's a Canucks fan.
Another guy's a San Jose Sharks fan
who's, like, feeling his own.
But even now when he starts popping off,
it's like, mm-rafters.
Right.
Because you've had a lot of play of exits, my friend.
That's an interesting thing about the Leafs,
because obviously, and you were saying,
before you were tight with Brandon Shanahan,
he's building something there.
And I know as a Devils fan,
when I lost 1940,
when the Rangers won the Cup of 94,
and I lost that over them,
it was maybe one of the saddest days of my life.
Right.
And I have to imagine, as a Habs fan,
if you ever lost 67,
if you ever lost that arrow in your quiver
for a Leafs fan,
it will be a sad day when they finally win.
Well, you know, we were talking about this earlier.
Like, Shani, first of all,
this guy is a tremendous guy.
He's tremendous for hockey.
And he's, like, I don't know
that Leaf Nation knows how fortunate they are to have
but they will.
He's a hockey lifer who's been, has at various iterations,
and he knows, like, he, you know, the long run thing is the most important thing.
It's like sometimes with, as a guy who lives in New York,
and we look at the Knicks, we're like, clearly we don't seem to have any idea of what the long run thing is.
There's no plan.
Right.
You know, and Shanahan, Brendan knows, you know, that's what he's trying to do.
He's not looking to get competitive and make the playoffs, you know, which is you could see why
they would do that. He's looking to win the whole thing, you know, and so, and he knows how to do that,
and he has done that, and so I sort of feel there in good hands, but as a Canadian, just to get
back to the original thing, you know, the 67, they take a lot of, they take a lot of heat for it.
A little bit. But as a guy who lives in New York, who's a Canadian, you realize when you,
when you come here, when you're in the States, that, you know, hockey is just so important.
to a cultural identity, to Canadians, that we've absorbed it without realizing that it's important.
So you come down here and when you look in a mirror and you see that, oh, it's not as important.
It's a smaller market of people who love it as much as we do, but it gets diluted through the masses of other things.
But in Canada, you know, our population is so small versus the states, you know, it just, it isn't diluted at all.
And so when you come down here and you realize, oh, this is as a Canadian for the Canadian teams,
do well is good for Canada is good for me. And so I used to be a guy who's like, I wanted,
you know, I wanted the Leafs to lose every game, you know, because I'm a Habs fan. And now I'm
not that way anymore. And I know it seems crazy to say. And the Canadian fans will be like,
how is that possible? But it's like, no, it's good for Canada when the Leafs are good. And,
you know, the fact that Leafs aren't in the playoffs or haven't been in the playoffs for like the last
116 years is like, that's not good for hockey. You know, one of the permanent original six
franchises, I always, you know, I'm always, the
There's always a part of me going, I want the Red Wings to do well,
I want the Blackhawks to do well, I want, you know, as awful as it is to say,
I want Boston to do well.
Yeah.
Do you know what I mean?
But it's still like that, I think that furthers a league when the, you know,
the oldest teams do well and for hockey, the Canadian team.
So when Boston takes out Toronto the way they did, you're not, no, no, no, no,
no small parts like, ah, it's pretty funny the way they kind of like.
No, no.
Honestly, that was the thing, back in the day.
That was pretty shiny.
No, no, no, back in the day, I would have been like, oh,
that's unbelievable.
And I'm not above like,
buying a burden of time.
I'm not above like just like giggling at how they manage to just lose.
Like it's,
if you look at the litany,
like the line of failure there,
which is like,
how is it possible that this franchise doesn't make the playoffs again and again?
I'm not talking like win a playoff series.
I'm talking make the playoffs.
It's like they should always be in the playoffs.
You know, it's like you look at the Detroit record.
It's like, well, it's 22, six consecutive,
whatever the hell it is.
It's like, that should be Toronto.
You know, it's like when they, no, when they lost that thing just as a sports guy, it was like, oh, no, oh my God.
Oh, my God.
It's like, you know, it's like when somebody is like, you know, forgets their lines and they have to do a live speech.
And they're like, well, anyway, I'm a, no, but, you know, you're just like, oh, you start to cream.
Have you seen that?
Have you seen the, I think the guys in the Windsor area in Canada, lower Ontario, and they film themselves?
Have you seen that?
Yeah, the one where they had the cameras on the TV.
The cameras on them, and they're winning for one.
And it's on YouTube.
And you kind of have to watch it because as an actor, it's actually really cool because, you know, obvious acting is something that, you know, at least I try not to do.
And usually when the camera's on you and, you know, your team loses the goal, the obvious actor goes, oh, and punches the wall.
But watch these guys, because this is what acting really is.
This is true observation.
These guys, it's almost like, you know, a mouth.
getting swallowed by a snake and doesn't blink.
You know, it's just kind of like,
they're just sitting there and they're staring at the thing.
Like, some people are overacting,
but a lot of the people are just like blink, you know,
and it's excruciating.
It was like watching the rapture.
I mean, it was like their souls leaving their bodies all simultaneously.
That's a better description.
It was like, and those people are like,
and those people will never be the same.
Empty husks watching TV.
You bought up the Canada culture thing.
I've always said this about Canadians
and how they view the States.
I think there's a lot of Canadians who don't understand
that how,
blessed they are with the saturation of coverage of the National Hockey League in Canada.
Because they've never seen it.
You come down here and all of a sudden you realize that even in a city like New York,
you still have to find your niche.
You have to find the cult.
You have to find the pack of hockey fans that you can hang with and watch games with and talk to
because you can't go to every city in the United States and just be like,
hey, do you watch the blues game last night?
Like, what's the blues game?
You know?
And I think that's one of the dynamics I've always had trouble with Canadians relating to Canadians
because, like, they don't understand the blessing they have.
They don't.
And it's impossible to it because you have no basis of comparison.
Right.
You know, it's, it's religion up there.
And so we lead with it.
But it's funny if you, here's the opposite side of that.
Some gallant sports fans on this television show that I'm currently doing The Flash,
and we film it in Vancouver, Canada.
And those guys, you know, are like hardcore SportsCenter fans,
and it's still called SportsCenter in Canada.
RE SportsC SportsCorp.
Yeah, RE SportsCenter.
And those guys are like, I don't understand.
They're like, I don't get it.
Oh, what a parent.
It'll be like, you know, it's like the, it's the World Series.
Yeah.
And yet we're leading with hockey.
Right.
Not even just hockey.
We're leading with a half hour of hockey.
It's hockey.
And it's, I remember the first one of them up there.
It's, it's, it's, it's, oh, HL hockey, too.
Yeah.
Sure.
It's the football.
Yeah.
It's the best.
Yeah.
When he was playing back for Erie, it was just, like, literally, like, they would have, like, all the hockey.
And then his, you know, his, his, his, the coverage of him.
Like, it's like, it's, like, highlights from a Leif's game.
Highlights from a H.
Like, a couple of OHL games.
Can you imagine, Dave, a world in which we live in, where on the SportsCentry, they say,
and we'll get to National League highlights if we have the time.
It's unbelievable.
Canadian SportsCenter is the way SportsCenter was in the 90s, where it was all sports highlights.
Like, down here, it's just like, what's the latest with Tim Tebow?
Here's a roundtable.
Here's a round table with four people that I don't want to listen to.
They're vaguely angry, and I'm not sure why.
Boy, they're really mad about this Bryce Harper guy's haircut.
Yeah.
After this, we'll go back to talk about it.
What Bryce needs to do. I'm right here.
You don't have to yell.
What Bryce needs to do.
is grow up and you're yelling.
I'm not sure. Why are you yelling a brights?
Can I see the highlights of the hockey game?
That's the other glorious nuance of it, too.
No yelly, yelly, shouty, racist, horrible people on Canadian television.
Friendly.
When you go on set, do you experience the hockey, cold of hockey thing?
Do you have to find people that are there that you can chill with and talk hockey with?
Or I've been blessed to film in Canada a lot.
No, in Canada, there's always, but in the States, too, there's always, like, people who know their,
you know, you're always going to get people who know their stuff.
Like on the show that I currently do, Teddy Sears is a massive hockey van.
He's a Capps guy from there.
Oh, poor guy.
Yeah, so, I mean.
Did you create a little in your arms?
Well, no, I took shots.
Literally, my whole thing was, because it was like regular season,
first off, the ha-ha-ha-ha-first off, the haves are doing great, right?
And then I was like, I know they're not good enough to sustain it.
Then Kerry Price goes down.
It's like, okay, well, if you know what the secret of the haves is, it's not even a secret.
It's like, all right, so we're done.
in terms of like winning you know like we could make the playoffs and all that stuff but it doesn't
you know now the season's over but he was like you know not having been there before and bannerless
he's like ha ha the caps i hope you guys win the presidents i hope you win the presidents because
then it's going to be great when you have your round one exit and everyone starts pulling our shotguns
because that's exactly what's going to happen and then they didn't exit in round one and then it was
like you start to be like oh this is got you know because i like teddy but it was just like uh
he's like but the nice thing with him was like all right like day after he was like
excruciating and now I can go watch hockey.
I can now enjoy hockey.
You mentioned the original sixth thing before,
but it is pretty cool that we have in the blues and the sharks.
The two perpetual, disappointing, never going to make a team,
and one of them has to get through.
Yeah, yeah.
You look at the blues at the beginning of, even the beginning of,
even the beginning of this year, where it was like, you know,
you guys, like Ken Hitchcock won your contract, the death knell, you know,
we're going to trade TG OSHA, you're going to what?
You know, like, and now, like, the fact that they, and both these teams have been, you know, branded with fire.
Like, that's one of the great things about, no matter what, like, one of them is going to advance.
But the other guy's, like, you know, the other team, we've got game sevens in the back pocket.
You know, we have badges that we can walk out of here with our heads held high.
So that's kind of a good situation.
I think it's a great, like, it's great that it's those two people.
And I hope it's a seven gamer because I don't have a dog in the hunt.
Yeah.
You adopted anybody or no?
No, it's weird.
Yeah.
It's really, really weird.
It's funny because, you know, part of the Glenn Hallish kind of like, you know,
like, you know, part of me kind of pulls
to the blues and then you're like, half those guys probably don't
if I said Glenn Hall wouldn't know who he was.
You know, I have a good friend who's like a,
I'm a met, like, he's such a bit,
his name's David Smith, and he's,
his Twitter handle is like, go sharkies.
Like, that's his thing, you know, he's not related
to the team at all, but he goes and watches, like,
the skate, the skate practice
right, before, like, three weeks before
the regular practice.
Wow.
He's that devoted, you know what I mean?
And so I'm, I'm,
I'm kind of pulling for him.
And you've watched their embarrassment,
like Thornton getting stripped
and all this kind of stuff.
And I was like, well, now there they are.
Yeah.
You know, so.
But as a Canadian,
don't you have to root for the penguins?
Because, you know, Sid.
Sid's your guy.
No.
Cid's your guy.
Come on.
Face of a nation.
Gold medal.
Sid's had his success, though.
You know, that's the nice thing.
Here's the thing.
Unlike Ovi,
like, I was kind of like,
it'd be nice to see Ovi do well.
Because when the guy retires,
who's been like the best player
or the second best player
and doesn't have a ring.
It's rough.
Sid's done that.
Sin's got the, you know, he's got Olympic glory.
He's got a Stanley Cup.
He's got everything.
You know, and, you know, he's a tremendous player.
It's, yeah, I don't know.
That's a tough one for me.
Let me ask you about the Habs.
What volume of nude pictures does Michelle Taria have over Mark Bergevan
to continue to be the coach of this team?
I think he's got all of them.
Because, you know, I feel like he can.
could like find a way to deny one or two right right so i think he's got all the collection i think he's got
the whole flash drive yeah for sure flash drive plugs what bergivan bergian's a mystery right yeah seems like
too well-dressed and good looking to be in that job yeah yeah it's he looks like a well-tailored jeff goldblum
yeah he's yeah that's a great call yeah he looks like it kind of like you're like and for like older style
j crewman you know what i mean like there's there he is do what i mean it's like holding his conference and like you know
Would you have confidence in him?
Have he's had some hits and some misses, as the GM?
Yeah, I mean, here's what I'll say about that.
You know, if you're wise enough to protect the players that really are the motors of this team, then good, you know?
Like, P.K. and clearly, Kerry and Gallagher, like, there's a, I always feel like a team, like, that team overachieve when they won the presence.
And then, like, there's an iteration of that team that, like, you know, came this.
close to a Stanley Cup final and then, you know, it got creased. You know what I mean? But really,
that team is like that team has a, that team had a legitimate shot at a Stanley Cup. And one of
the reasons they did, one of the reasons I like that, that team so much is how hard they play.
Like, like not how hard you play in the playoffs, but there's something that, there's something
when a team, it's like the Brian Scruelan's and the Bob Ganey's of the world and that turns
a legacy. When you play that hard on Thursday night, you know, in November, it's like, okay,
that says something about a team, you know, and they have guys like that.
So I like this team.
They weren't as good as the 10-game streak, you know, at the time,
but they certainly weren't as bad as, you know, the missing the playoffs.
So next year's interesting.
Do you feel like P.K. doesn't get enough love?
I feel like he should be a lock for World Cup Olympics,
and he's always like the extra guy or the guy that might go.
I think that, because I have theories, but I think there is, you know,
I'm not going to even know.
There's something else to the story that we don't know.
That's my take on it.
There's something else because there are times when you,
and I watch all the games,
so you're biased because you see a guy play great all the time.
But there's times when he does things.
There's no one else in the league can do that.
Has the awareness to do that.
And so how can at least not be a spot for that guy?
Oh, he's unreliable.
He takes too many chances.
It's like he's also, yes, he's mercurial,
but he's incredibly talented.
You're not going to, like, he's in the Norris, you know,
conversation.
It's kind of like,
How is that guy?
Why does that?
And I think part of it is, you know, I think, I literally think part of it is if, and he, I like the fact that he doesn't keep his mouth shut.
I think if P.K. Subman kept his mouse shut, people would love him more.
And that's a weird thing because the NHL needs gregarious players and, you know, people like grabbing people and giving him hugs.
I love how he is.
He's a rarity for hockey.
Yeah, poke went in.
You know, he's a rarity for that.
You know, he's always got, he can talk and he's funny.
My TV is really hoping.
And I don't know what that, why there would.
be a bias against him for like, you know, selecting it for other things. And I feel there's
something that we don't know. A logo on the front culture, not the name on the back, right?
Like, he's not only is he a guy who can talk a little bit, but he's also a guy who definitely
puts his brand out there. They're very few, he's maybe the only guy in the league that has a
brand, you know, the charity stuff, everything else that comes with it. And I think, you know,
knowing hockey Canada, that probably, you know, gives them the willies a little bit.
You think? You think they resent it? You know, they resent having somebody? I think they do. I think they see,
I think they see it as not, I mean, if you listen to the criticism with the haves, they see it as not being part of the team.
Yeah, I don't know. See, that's, and that to me is ridiculous.
Yeah.
Because, you know, the world evolves and he's, he's good.
You know, Eddie Shaq is good for hockey.
He's good for hockey. He's good for them.
Yeah.
You know, it's like you, it's great to have that.
You'd think.
You'd think.
I did notice in your comments, though, that you mentioned Gallagher.
You mentioned Price.
Here we go.
You mentioned Pek.
So in this Montreal-Canian Civil War, I've,
Leave me your team PKK and not team patches.
No, no.
That's an insane, that's an insane argument.
And I watch that happen.
It's like, look, La Présse in Montreal has 23 pages of hockey coverage on an off day.
You know what I mean?
And so I guess they'll start running with something.
And this PK patches, and maybe there's truth.
But I don't see it.
I'm like, and listen, this team without him, forget it.
You know?
This guy is a bona fide.
sniper. He is a guy who can school
gores on a team where it's like we work hard
to, we work hard sometimes
to summon the goals. Having a guy
who's just like, whatever it is about him,
his nose is on the, it's like Kessel.
It's like Kessel got traded.
But Kessel, he's a guy who finds
the net. Yeah. You know, like him or hate him,
whatever the thing is, maybe not a team guy,
all that kind of stuff. But he finds
the back of the net. It's like, we cannot lose.
Losing patches would be devastating
to the haves, in my opinion.
It's interesting.
Hmm. Here's what I was thinking. Looking up your background. Hockey guy, Canada, you're an athlete.
How in the world were you not in Mystery Alaska? I feel like you should have been in that movie.
You're funny, you're talented, and you can skate.
It's true. Right?
So I'm going to tell a story that I've never told before because you're hockey guys.
Oh, don't tell me they screwed you. No, they didn't screw you. Oh, okay.
So, okay. So I was filming in Vancouver, Canada at the time. I think this is 1996 right around there, right?
where you're filming at the time um a television show of some sort i've done a wide breath you have a
i've been doing this since 1940 not to seem not to seem obnoxious because i can't remember but if i were
like somebody once said so i did a i did do press for the flash in london yesterday and uh somebody
threw a quote of mine out from a show i did and they're like right and i'm like and literally it turns out
was from a show called Trust Me, and I liked the quote, but okay. Do you know, if I were to
remember every line. Anyway, I'm going down a path that seems obnoxious, but anyway, so I was
filming in Vancouver at the time. So Jay Roach was the director of Ministry of Alaska, and we,
I went into read again and again and again. And the first thing they did before they even had
you read was go out and skate, see if you could play. And then they called like six of us back,
And he was like, oh, you can play.
So now you get to read, you know.
And so it's for one of the leads, opposite Russell.
Was it skank?
Honestly, I don't know.
I know it was like the lead kid, I think.
Okay.
One of the main guys.
Oh, like one of the kids that goes on to play for the Rangers.
Maybe, maybe not.
But you were there.
You were there.
You were in the mix.
I was, for the top 10 people who were going to be in that movie, like they were
going to cast out of America, I was 100% in the mix to the point where
and Jay can back this up. Jay wrote, the director was going on.
I was like, you're my guy.
I don't know if you're going to be like the studio or the producer's guy, but you're my guy.
And I was like, great.
And he's been a stand-up guy.
I talked to him throughout the process.
He couldn't have been more supportive.
And every day, they would call the agent and say, look, we just don't know yet, but we love Tom.
And they would call.
And that happened for 17 straight days.
And then on 17th day, they didn't call.
And they'd already started shooting.
and if you know about the film world
they have like the
they always put the regulars, the leads
pictures up on the wall for like the cast
for the casting and for the wardrobe
so they can see like, you know, all that kind of stuff
and they said and my guy's like
hey your face is on the wall here
and that's the thing where I think it
for in the insider shows certain legitimacy
like I clearly was
because even then you're kind of like are they shit in me
you know what I mean? And then it was like
face, no of the boys say hey buddy you're on the wall here
and I had a bunch of guys do that movie
and it turns out
forge like
incredible relationships with Russell, who's a guy's guy.
And they were up, like, shooting hockey movies,
and he's put them in movie after movie.
You know, like, he's been that guy.
He's been really, really great that way.
And on the 17th day, they didn't call.
And so then my agent called them,
and they're like, yeah, we went a different way.
But the nice part about this story is,
three hours later, this is also true.
I had my trunk pack, my car packed,
and I drove down to L.A. for a pilot season.
And, you know, I got a pilot.
Got a pilot.
And I wouldn't have left.
I don't think there's no any way I would have been.
and spurred to leave Vancouver in three hours and get on the highway.
I remember driving to Portland and it was nightfall.
I'm like, right, here we go.
What a kick in the ass in a lot of ways.
But I'm grateful for it.
Yeah.
Because, you know, if I'm known for, you know, if I have any kind of profile at all,
for a lot of the television stuff I've done.
Yeah, for mystery Alaska, you know what I mean?
Right.
You know what I have been known for Mystery Alaska.
And so I set wheels in motion that were, you know, great for me.
So I have, I bear no ill will.
As a matter of fact, I kind of think of mystery Alaska is to be in a bit of a godsend.
What was Breakfast with Scott, the only hockey movie you've done?
that's interesting
I've lived my entire life without being a hockey now
I'm literally trying to remember if
because that's
I mean that's technically a hockey movie
I would say
you know what's great about you do like these indies
and you just think
you know you just
it's very very hard for them to see the light of day
and we were driving Ben Shankman and I
who was one of the stars of that movie and I were
driving out we were shooting out in Hamilton
that day
and we had like sports radio
video on and there was this big
NHL station
kerfuffle about
the Toronto Maple Leafs
and Don Cherry talking about
wearing, well, what are they going to be wearing pink?
Because we were doing a gay hockey movie.
And we were like on the radio going,
driving out, you know, you operate in such a
bulb, you think no one ever knows about this.
And we're driving the thing, and then Sports Illustrator wrote about it.
And then that, you know, that controversy
that the Maple Leafs allowed us to use
their logo, which is like hats off to the Maple Leafs.
And suddenly people were like, I don't think it's right
the, you know, on the gay issue, and we were like,
and we were driving up, we're like, they're talking about us.
Yeah. We're like, that's crazy. That's
crazy. Yeah. And good on them, too,
because when I read it, it was the Maple Leafs, I thought,
as soon as we go to camera, it's going to be the Toronto Bulldogs
with some fake thing, you know, but that
was, that was tremendous, you know,
like, and the on-ice stuff for that was
spectacular. There was a bunch of
junior B guys that we were playing with, and
one of the best things about it is, there's
a one goal of score on a breakaway in that thing,
and it was one of the most
satisfying on-screen moments for me ever because we had the camera set up on a dolly behind
the net and I have to break away from this, break away from this guy in the defense and then
come in and score on the goalie. And so take one, you know, I pull a move and he stops me.
Take two, I pull a move and he stops me. So you have to really beat him on the breakaway
to work. Well, that cut and the director was like, what's he doing? And the goalie, I hear the goalie
say to his course, like, well, he's got to beat me, eh?
You know, and then I had the director come down and I say, I literally stop.
I'm like, I got it, I got it, I got it.
Because then it's now it's like, there's no camera now.
It's on, no, I'm on. It's like, because I was like expecting him to kind of let me,
you know, when I made a move, he, like, pat, you know, and he was like, well, he's
going to beat me.
So great.
So the one that's on camera is a legitimate, I go right, I go left, I go back, and I
roof it and I knock the water bottle on.
Nice.
And not, you know, and that's the one that, like, it couldn't, couldn't have been more
satisfying. I legitimately
top shelf. The water bottle goes off.
Yeah, and I was like, they're like,
you know, so
let's do it again and record it.
When they're editing it together, they're like,
you have anything that you like, and it should be about
like the story, and I think it's like, the only thing I ask
you.
The seven frames that I
need. And also it's a great story and blah, blah, blah,
but I told me. I need.
Well, it's interesting about that flick because it came out in
like 2007,
I want to say, I don't think 2007 there's a spend on Andrew Shaw for dropping a gay slur on the ice and in the penalty box.
I feel like we've made some progress, but not a lot of progress.
Yeah, it's weird.
I was, you know, like, not surprised slash surprise at the fact that there would even be backlash.
It's just kind of like, I don't know.
It's like, we're in the, it's a new millennium.
It's like, really, that's where you're going to put your efforts and your anger?
You know, it was, it's extremely strange.
But then I look at how we grew up and the things we said as like 11-year-olds without knowing what we were saying really.
You know what I mean?
And so if you grow up that way and then it's like you're, you know, I think the intention is not there, but that doesn't matter.
You've got to clear that out, you know, to take that off the playing service.
And they're doing a great job with it now.
I feel like now it's like, oh, okay.
But, you know, sometimes things change slowly.
We had Anthony Weiner on our podcast.
Did you really?
He's a big Islander's fan, and he plays.
He's a goalie, yeah.
I never do that.
He plays in a seat.
I wonder why.
What else we were talking about?
How did that miss the narrative?
We were talking about how he's treated on the ice and how he's treated on the team, right?
When he plays.
I'd love to know that.
He's protected.
He said there was a point where there was some guy in the league that kind of narked on him being a player
and wrote something for, like, New York Magazine about Anthony.
And then, like, he got this shit.
out of him.
Not like literally.
Yeah, but like by the other players in the league, like for breaking the cone of silence.
And I'm wondering when you play, how are you treated?
Do you get one of the boys, extra nasty?
How's it work?
No, it's got nothing to do.
Like that's a good thing you bring up.
There's a code and everybody respects the code.
And like profession has nothing to do with anything.
You're just another guy on the ice.
You're just another guy on the ice.
You're just playing.
In the league that I play in the B.HL.
my nickname is movies
and I've never had that nickname before
but these are a bunch of like
How did you get away from how was it not cavity?
I mean it's it is but there's
we have this guy Neil Hopkins who was like
you know
like these guys their their sphere is so far removed
from my sphere you know the fact
like the guy actually is like hey
hey movies
and he said it on the ice
like it wasn't like he thought it out
he's like movies and then it's stuck
and then the great thing
he had like the huge open-net whiff of a comment he himself and this is still like you know
B-H-L lore yelled out in praise of something he yells out I do something decent and he yells out
windows and everyone's like you mean movies like yeah I don't even know what that means but
like windows windows movies you know it sort of sounds the same there's an oh it's just
he means windows movie player
I don't know what the hell.
Yeah, I don't know.
It's great.
But everyone in our league, you know, it's great because it's a safe zone.
I can't, you know, it's like everyone's, everyone's first name.
It's like gold has brought in the ice first.
It's all like the tradition.
And it's all about the hockey.
I'm hard pressed to remember if there's ever been a conversation about Flash or any show that I've ever done.
It seems like the only guys who get run in like Beer League or like ex-player.
Like I remember Lindros.
talking about how when he, he played
Beard League in Toronto after he retired.
Talking about guys trying to step to him and take
liberties with him just to show that, you know,
I took, I checked Eric Lindraff's at the corner.
That was me.
There was a guy,
I can't remember his name.
He played in our league, and
he played in our league, and he...
Ex player?
Yeah, I'm blanking.
It's not Bukaboo, it's a guy like that.
Yeah.
And maybe like five years prior to that,
geez, I'm blanking.
But anyway, he had to stop playing,
because he's like to fire his he's like I'm you know my first instinct is to you know to drop the glove
and hit the guy and he did it in a game not in our league but in another one whoa and you know because
the guy was chirping I mean all this kind of stuff but you know the people are 40 and like there's
moms and stuff and kids in the thing and he dropped the gloves and he was hitting the guy and then he
took himself out he's like that's it never again it's like Pavlovian just not gonna play it was
but it's like this is how he you know he grew up it's like you do this to me then I'm gonna do this to you
you know but yeah it's uh that's not the way it is on our on ours like it's uh you know everyone
sort of realizes what stage they're at you know what you would think we sort of protect each other
a little bit that way because like if you fight someone and like really hurt them in a beer league game
you're gonna go to jail it's funny how emotions it's funny how emotions go like even like
the way we play like you know it is a fast board and the motions do happen but everyone's like
mature enough to like to reel it in and laugh about it right afterwards you know so you know
we watch out for each other and that's what that's what you're talking about you're
talking about we win. Like the hockey guys definitely do look out for each other.
What's the greatest hockey thing that you've been able to experience with the celebrity you've
gained in life? Is there some skeleton key that you've used to unlock a door that we can't get into?
No, I don't, yeah. I mean, I think some, I'm not, I don't trade in. You know what I mean?
Yeah. I sort of feel like there's something weird about that.
Or anybody you met that you didn't think, like as a hockey fan, just like, holy shit, this is
Well, what I find about, I find this a lot more about basketball, actually, because I, you know, I played basketball in college and I still, I still play.
And I find that actors invariably say, tell you how good they are at basketball.
And then they're not.
But it's amazing how often you run into, it's like, oh, oh, yeah, no, I play it up.
I'm really, you know, and then they're just not like, so why would you say that?
You know what I mean?
Yeah.
Hockey's not that way.
No.
It's just like, I mean, because the hockey guys, like, you know, I talk about Teddy or Jason Priestley or guys that I know that played.
in these events and stuff
are always like
they're approaching it from humility.
So they're always better than
they say they are.
You know, it's always like,
I'm just trying to not pull a hammy.
It's always that.
It's always like just trying to get out there
and get some ice time.
I have a theory on that.
Go ahead.
My theory is that basketball
is a simpler game.
And everybody who play is basketball,
whether it's a kid on the school yard here
or a celebrity,
thinks they could have the skills
to take on Kevin Durant,
break them down,
score a basket.
Like Bill Hayter and,
and the Indian Schumer flick.
Sure, sure.
You know, with the LeBron.
I think in hockey, you know
whether you've got the goods.
You know that there is a clear point of the lineation here
of I played junior and got to this level
and everyone who's better than me
got here, unless you're one of these guys, it's like,
well, it's just because they didn't put me on the right line.
And I know if I was on the right line, I would have been, you know.
I think what it is is you run into,
in hockey you run into, you know,
the one player who has a shot.
And I've been in the position where it's like,
you're a good player
and there's other like good players around you
and then you're so then
what you think is that oh I have the shot
and then you run into that
that real player
you know there's like oh oh I see what it is
do you know what I mean like the way they skate
the way they move and they're just like oh okay I see
and that person probably doesn't even really have a shot
but they you know they're
yeah I think there's a
yeah there's so
just the skating alone
like the skill alone that's required there
you know like it's set
It sets it apart, I think.
So what are you at this point?
Are you a top line guy at the beer league, your third line grinder?
I've never been a top line guy.
Never.
And that's a nice thing about, like, that's why I can still play,
because I've always been, you know, a hustle guy, like a screwed and thing.
I'm, you know, I can put the pocket in that, you know, but I'm,
I'm the guy who's like, you know, it's like, here's the unsung hero,
or maybe, maybe, not to you guys, because you're knowledgeable, but Stasney, you know,
what he.
Oh, the loser?
Yeah.
Yeah.
What he did, you know, against Taze and then Ben, it's like, you are where you are because
of, you know, you have that defensive prowess, you know what I mean?
And the fact that that guy has all, you know, he can put the puck in the net, but he's
working so hard both ends, you know.
So you're pastastic, is what you're saying.
No, I'm saying.
They're saying he's Bob Ganey.
Come on.
I appreciate the guys that, like, you know, like, you got to work just as hard.
You get, you know.
And in Stasi's case, check the ability and work that hard.
That's why Taves is one of my favorite players.
Because that's a guy who could be a hundred point guy on another team and another system, but is willing to...
I think he could.
You're one of those guys.
But he's willing to bring it back and play that defensive role.
No, I agree with that because you'll see there'll be a highlight when you'll be like, that was 19?
Do you know what I mean?
There'll be a highlight.
In shootouts, he's amazing.
He's got great guys.
There's a few goals of season during games where he goes like, you know, he does a drive to the net and pulls some crazy move.
and you're like, he has that in the wheelhouse.
Do you know, and most guys, like, you know, like, well, he sacrifices.
It's like Ganey.
He says, Gany was a huge score for the Peterborough Pete's, you know?
And then Ganey is like, but now he sacrifices it.
It's like, I don't know.
You know what I mean?
But I think with Taze, I think there's an element of, I'm making my team better,
I'm working so hard on the defensive end.
I know that I'm the captain and I have to show and lead by example.
And that takes the idea.
I play with guys who are like, I might come over the blue.
You what I mean?
And we keep stats.
and stuff, and it's like, I've got 100 goals.
You know what I mean? It's like,
Taze is not that guy.
All right, let me ask you one flashy type question,
because it's a brilliant show,
and we're all kind of pissed off
that your flash isn't going to be
the movie flash. Oh, yeah.
But, I mean, the DC universe
is a weird place right now, because the movies are
going in one direction, the TV is going on it.
The TV is going to the direction of light.
The movies are going in the completely opposite direction,
it seems like, but... Yeah, I mean,
variety. Was it a variety or Vanity Fair
wrote an article, I think
someone sent me that said
they need to
watch what they're doing on TV because the TV's working.
Yeah, it is. You know, and some of the other
darker stuff isn't working.
Here's what I'll say about the fact that he's not in the flash.
Like, I think, I think,
okay,
so
there's a couple of things. The first
thing is that
for Snyder to say
that's not really the universe that we're building,
but you're talking about a specific guy,
it's like it's excruciating to an actor's like um and what about acting yeah right do you mean because
well he's clean cut and winning he's like yes because he's acting that yeah he's doing that right
you know he's created that he's not barry allen he's great gustin right and he created that thing and why don't
you you you want him to have long hair and kind of be a slacker believe me that kid can do that right
is phenomenal like he's he makes it look easy it makes everyone think that's who he is because he's a
He is an incredibly skilled talent.
It's why he has that job is why people like the show.
But if you were to say, if Snyder was to say, well, let me read you for that thing.
He would be shocked.
And it's like, so I think they're like, well, we don't want Grant Gusson because that's the TV flash and he does this.
He also does that.
So it's crazy for a big time Hollywood director to say that's not the universe.
Like that's a huge misstep on his part to say, well, it's like, if you're a director and you're worth your oats, then you should be able to.
given an actor with talent, mold them into what you want.
And believe me, Grant could do that.
So that's one thing.
The second thing is, look, the movies are tremendous because they're, like, building all of us up.
The difficult thing, though, for the movies is, like, we have, in this, in the case of the flash,
we've had two years to win you over, to tell a story, you know, and they have two hours.
And that's not easy to do.
And so that's why you see there's missteps nonstop, because it's very hard to get that right.
And I said to Grant, you know, when it was initially announced, it's like, look, that's years from now.
Do you want to just be the flash?
You have all this ability.
It's like, if you were the flash and then you move, that's like, 10 years from now, it's like tough for Cliff Clavin.
It's not easy, you know, because people want to see that.
It's like, and you have the ability to be in a Spielberg war movie next.
And everyone to go, holy cow, I didn't know he could do that.
And that will happen to him.
For him to his first big movie role, like huge thing to be.
to be that is, I don't think that's the wisest thing, because now you're relying on doing
everything that he's had years to do to do the exact same thing in two hours. And then,
you know, the stewardship of that is in other hands. And it's, it's tricky.
On top of the fact that that high-profile spinoff, Clavin, I think, only lasted for one
episode. It's a shame. You know, it's funny. They should have done Clavon.
No, or Clavon.
Which one do you think would have been the best? Like, if you had Woody,
or Diane or which or, you know, I mean, Fraser, Fraser did it.
But what other ones?
Here's how you do, Clavin.
You make it an anthology series, and it's him on his postal route each day.
And each day he finds himself in a different wacky situation.
I think if Clavin is not the star of Clavin, you know what I mean?
Like he was so winning and genius, but if it's all just...
Yeah.
I'm like he's delivering mail all of a sudden.
He opens his door.
He goes into somebody's house and it's like a set.
cult. Yeah, there's blood on the wall. Right, and that's just one episode. I think there's
something going on here. This comes from a satanic cult from back in there. Yeah, there you go.
But it's like a Colombo aspect to it where he has such a knowledge base he's able to figure
out any situation. You know what? Honestly, I think you're actually on something. Actually,
there was one. I think Zach Snyder just cast it somebody completely.
It lasted like 10 minutes and it was off. Dark Cliffy.
I had one other question about flashy stuff, which is, okay, so hockey fandom.
comic fandom
and you've gone to Comic Conns
What is there
Like I know there's crossover
Because I mean obviously we do this podcast
But like
As far as obsession
Anger expectations dashed
Who's crazier?
Who's crazier basically
Who's more fervent?
Well that's crazier
It's the comic work people
Fervant
You know that's that's a
That's a whole different
Because the hockey fan will suffer
you know, in Stoic
silence a lot, you know. I know, I can
remember, I can remember
doing the dishes
after Boston eliminated Montreal one year
in a tough loss and
like if I had a camera on that
like that guy, whatever he was doing,
he was not doing dishes, he was breaking dishes,
and drawing a little blood and doing some more dishes,
good, okay, right, now get all the
this is done! You know what I mean? Like, it's like
where's like the, you know,
the hockey
you know
here's the thing
the hockey
the majority of hockey fans
aren't going to put on like
an Eric Lindros wig or whatever and go
I'm you Eric I'm you Eric I'm you
Eric I'm you Eric I'm you Eric Eric I'm you Eric
Eric I'm you Eric
I've seen the travel Yager's they do that
do what I'm saying is there's point of it
but it's like our you know
our oldlandishness lies more
lives more in the in the slap shot domain do you know what i mean yeah that's our kind of thing is
like oh well you got a court we could call the pizza man i'm you that's our kind of that's our kind of thing
yeah well tom cabinall you're a gentleman and a scholar we thank you for being on puck soup
and we look forward to your alex galchenyuk cosplay at the next hockey con Alex i'm you
thanks to tom cavanaw for coming in awesome dude sad story about mystery alaska but so close yeah so
close. Oh, so close. I wish you remembered
who he was going to play in the movie.
Yeah, we probably could IMD-Bed that before we hopped on
the air, but honestly, you know, that's
a level of pre-that's a Roneckian level of preparation
that we don't have. No, no, no, he said he didn't
remember. I asked him if he was going to be skank, and he was
like, I don't remember. I feel like that's the role that would have
fit him best. He was like young, good-looking, you know?
Coming up on Puck Soup, by the way,
one day, we're going to do a live,
commentary on the Mystery Alaska trailer.
It was one of my ideas that we're going to definitely do one day. I don't think we should
do the whole movie. I think there's enough goofiness in that
that movie for us to make fun of?
Like the over-dramatic catching-glove saves?
When I think of Mystery Alaska, I don't think of goofy, personally.
It's a little, you know, when Tree knocks out the kid, it's, there's stuff.
Tom Kavanaugh, disappointed by not getting that role in Mystery Alaska.
Frequently, Playoff teams also disappointed.
There have been many a choke job, many a crushing loss, many a big defeat in the history
of the National Hockey League, Stanley Cup playoffs.
And Dave and I have picked our three favorite all-time playoff disappointments.
Do you want me to go first?
You can go first, sure.
Because I know, wait, hold on.
No, because you're saving the last one that I don't know yet.
You should go first.
Okay.
Because it bounces back.
Number three for me is a 2000 Philadelphia Flyers.
That, of course, is the Flyers team that lost the New Jersey Devils had a 3-1 lead on the Devils.
Devils crush them in game five.
And then here, look who comes back in game six.
The cavalry arrives in the form of a, he's 6-3 and 2-90, and you can't teach that.
It's Eric Lindross.
It's coming back for his first game since March.
And then they lose the game.
And then there's this game seven.
And oh, my God, they've got another chance.
Lindrosse, he's got some ice under his feet.
He's ready to go.
He's ready to rock and roll.
And here comes Scott Stevens, knocking him into a different timeline with his hit across the middle.
And again, you could say what you want about the way Stevens hit.
You can say what you want about.
Predatory hits.
Pick him the head.
I get all that.
I'm Scott Stevens fan, but I understand it was a different error.
I understand you want to demonize it now.
But Eric Lindros, every time he got hit, it's because that guy puts his head down.
do respect to him.
I just want to let all the listeners know that the idea behind this bit really wasn't just a way for Greg to relive the glory days of devil's hockey.
I think genuinely we wanted to find some funny things to talk about, but like he's wearing this devil's jersey right now.
I don't know why.
I'm a D painted on my chest.
Yeah, he's got the David putting face paint.
But not the letter.
Got to support the team.
So the second time in franchise history, the Flyers blew a 3-1 lead.
And then more importantly, a scant two years later, the Lindrosse trade was made.
Lindross era ended in Philadelphia.
This effectively shut the door on the Lindross, Bobby Clark era in Philadelphia,
and that's one of the reasons why I think it's in my top three,
not only because it was a glorious victory for arguably the best Devils team they've ever had in 2000.
Of the Tulsaid Rowson.
You are so enthusiastic right now.
But also it ended an era for Flyers hockey as well.
You are so unbelievably the adrenaline pumping through your body right now.
So you can get pumping.
That 2000 Devils team has really gotten me somewhere.
So, Dave, you take over now.
I'm going to be in the corner.
Okay.
All right, he's letting a cigarette right now.
His pants are on top.
He's, oh, my God.
Whoa, Greg.
All right, looking.
You look, just basking it if I.
That's fine.
All right, my first one, and this is completely unrelated to any fan of mine, is St. Louis, Detroit,
1996, second round, game seven.
The Blues, surprisingly, are in the second round.
They weren't a very good regular season team, but they loaded up.
They had Gretzky at the deadline, McTavish, young,
Pronger. They're up 3-2 in that series against Detroit. Lost game six. Got to go win game
seven in Detroit. Zero-zero game. Gretzky's on the ice against Izerman. Turnover in the
neutral zone. Eisenman inside the blue line. High blocker's side. Game over. Yeah. I mean,
you go into that postseason probably thinking, hey, we're playing 131 point team in Detroit,
so whatever, you know, but you get up 3-2. You can clinch at home. All right, we can clinch it
home, we're in overtime. One goal is all we need. We have, I think they still have Brett Hall at that point.
Brett Hull, Gretzky, McTavish, all these winners from the 94 Rangers were there. And then Steve
Eisenman from, how many feet is that from just inside the blue line? It was just, it was just very, very,
very sad. And you convince Gratsky to come to St. Louis. Like, you can't even convince
foreign tourists to come to St. Louis. You convince him to go there. So that's got to be
something, right? He comes there. He's got 21 points in like 18 regular season games. And then
Eiserman strips him of the puck.
You don't really necessarily strip him of the puck, but as far as
like brutal losses go where
you're like, oh, whatever, we're not going to beat Detroit.
They had 50 more points than that's the regular season.
But, but, here we are.
And then John Casey just can't move his arm.
Yeah.
I think that one's pretty bad.
Yeah, St. Louis goaltending problems. Who knew?
I mean, who thought?
Who would have thought? Who thought that's why they lose?
Roman Turk.
Number two on my list, 2010. The Montreal Canadiens
upset the Washington Capitals.
This is one, I think, you would know it would have to be on either of our lists,
just because of the magnitude of this loss.
Yaroslav Halak, backstopping the Canadians, this upset.
Alexander Semin pumping at least 75,000 shots that all missed the net.
Semen pumping.
Pumping.
But more than anything else, the eight seed being the one seed
and one of the more shocking upsets, maybe in sports history,
based on where those two teams were at that point,
people saying it was going to be a sweep for the capitals.
But the magnitude of this loss was not simply in what happened in that postseason of the Capitals.
It is the repercussions from that loss for the next couple of seasons to the point where they questioned everything they knew to be true about themselves and the team and the way they played.
And then by the second or third month of the following season, Bruce Boudreau, the guy who had guided the Capitals to be the run and gun, rock the red, fill in the barn, fill in the net with Pucks, offensive juggernaut team,
walks into the room and says to the team, boys, we're playing the trap.
And at that point, his death certificate was signed,
the death certificate was signed for the way the capsule played,
for some of the personnel, Dale Hunter comes in to coach the team
and makes them the single most, like, Hazelovecgen blocking shots.
And then, you know, it takes a couple of years for that whole thing,
that toxic poison the cycle through their system and finally leave.
But, yeah, the loss to the Montreal Canadiens was one of those ones.
one of the rare ones in sports where it wasn't simply just eight beating one and embarrassing them.
It was eight being one and then like the building implodes.
That seven game series between the Rangers and Caps when they had Dale Hunter was the most excruciatingly bad, boring seven game series I've ever covered.
I wanted someone that just quit by game five.
Just like, here, you take the series.
Dale Hunter couldn't talk into a microphone after games.
It was the worst.
It was almost as if you felt you felt like he was walking into the lock room
and all the players were looking at him and this one says,
Coach, what do you think we should do for a third period?
And Hunter is just like, stop trying so hard.
Great.
I can't believe that you had an opportunity to reference Ashley Coucher's butterfly effect
based on the outcome of that game and what it did down the road.
Yeah, it's almost as if, like, Ruth Boudreau was swallowed a butterfly thinking it was a Girl Scout cookie.
And then that set in motion a series of events.
I just realized I should have gone first because now you're going to be done before me.
You really screwed it up.
If only you can go back in time and step on that butterfly.
If you want to leave the room for this one.
So picture it. It's May 1994.
Oh, shit.
Two really good teams in the Eastern Conference built to win a championship.
May 27th, 1994.
Devils are down a goal.
Time's running out.
Valerie Zellipooka on the doorstep.
Wax at home.
Mike Richter.
assaults a referee and somehow stays in the game for overtime.
I still don't know how that happened.
And then we go to one overtime, but that's not enough.
And then we go to two overtimes.
The devils are this close to beating the team that has tormented them for two decades.
Uh-oh, that puck didn't get out of the zone.
It's behind the net.
Hey, don't worry, the devils have one of the best young goalies in the world.
A solid group of defensemen.
What's this?
Oh, he's too tired to get the puck out in front of the...
Oh, wait, that's in.
Stefan Mattoe has scored on a wraparound, in quotes.
even though he was trying to center it.
And because Martin Bredor didn't know how to play the puck back then that well.
And then the Devils, despite that amazing run, couldn't beat the Rangers all season during the regular season.
Took them the seven, had a chance to just completely destroy the garden.
And then it's all over.
They never beat the Rangers in a season in which they won the Cup.
Every season they won the Cup, they had to go.
They went through other people?
They went through other people.
They beat the Rangers to get to the 2012 final.
Right.
Every year they won the cup.
They successfully avoided.
But the Rangers were terrible during that time.
Yeah, but still, it was mental at that point.
That was the night of my junior prom in high school, and I was still a super-duper devil's fan then.
Forever young.
I want to be for...
So, okay.
That's so funny, because it was prom season for, like, both of us, because I remember during that playoff run, before the Devils met the Rangers and the final, like, my date for prom was a rangers fan.
And we put a little transistor radio up against the door of the place for the prom was.
to get a radio signal and listen to those two,
those two games. Yeah, no, right.
So, well, like, now this is like, check your phone.
Right, right, you know, it's like...
You can see the most recent shot on goal?
Yeah, and we're like, we're like, oh, man,
WABC is killing everybody's signal, man.
It's like, we can't get anything.
We had a DJ at our wedding, and he was announcing, like,
updates, and of course, I think, like, Brian Leach scored, like,
a minute into the game, and then there was, like, nothing.
So, like, you know, all these, like, horny high school dudes,
like, hoping to have sex that night,
and we're just constantly, like, pestering the DJ,
hey, is anybody scored yet?
When someone else scores, I'll let you know, can you just let me, can you let me play C&C Music Factory over here, please?
Did he play Boyce the Men's End of the Road once, uh, no, so, so, so, like, he announces the Zellupukin tie-gall.
Like, all of us Devils fans are super pumped, and then it's, like, silencing in for like an hour, because it went double O T.
And then he goes, ladies and gentlemen, we have a final from New York, and he goes, Stefan, and I was like, Rishay.
No, other one.
That's hilarious.
I scored in whatever overtime to give the Rangers, and I, like, I remember having these, like, glow necklaces that we were all wearing, and I was just, like,
like beating it against the wall of like the matter in West Orange
because I was so goddamn pissed off.
But then they won the cup the next year and I was happy.
All right.
My number one is a little complicated.
Why do you got to go and make things so complicated?
Because I'm a skater boy.
I just said to see you later, boy.
Acting like you're somebody else.
It gets to be frustrated.
Hey, hey, you, you.
I don't like your girlfriend.
Cause he, cause he sucks a ping pong.
I've been to Kaylin on the office.
1928 was the year, according to the ESPN page two story.
I ripped this from.
Oh, my God.
The Montreal Maroons.
Now, this is the story, according to page two, and it wasn't a DJ Gallo bit, so I'm assuming
it's actually real.
Oh, no, this would be great if it's not.
It may not be, but go with me here.
I probably should have checked this before I did this.
So according to ESPN, page two, the Montreal Maroons had the best record in the
NHL in 1928, okay?
They're playing the New York Rangers.
The New York Rangers.
The Rangers can't play at MSG.
Why?
Because the building's booked.
Why wouldn't it be?
What's it booked with?
The circus.
I was going to say this trick.
So all five games of the series are in Montreal.
Could you imagine in today's NHL?
I think I remember reading about this one.
Okay, so it might be true.
Can you imagine in today's NHL of the lightning and the destruction playing?
And the lightning are like, sorry, we've got Avatar Cirque de Soleil at our arena.
We're going to have to play all of our games in San Jose.
Yeah, so instead, we've moved to a point now where there's three off days between series
because Justin Bieber's playing somewhere.
We've evolved so far.
Okay.
So game two of the series.
An elephant takes a dump in the garden.
Go ahead. Sorry.
That's actually a scene from a love guru, I think.
Lauren Shabbat gets hit in the eye.
It's a Rangers goalie.
He's hit in the eye. He's out.
Rangers don't have an alternative.
So they call on their 44-year-old coach, Lester Patrick.
Oh, good old Lester Patrick.
To play a goal.
Now, here's the thing about Lester Patrick.
Was never a goalie when he played.
So they call on a guy to basically play a goal who's never been a goalie, professionally.
He stops it.
He makes 18 saves.
and they win the game 2 to 1.
And then they sign the goalie, his name was Joe Miller from the New York Americans.
They actually signed a player from another team during the playoffs,
another amazing feat that can't be done today.
And they wind up winning the series in five games.
So goalie breaks his face, coach becomes the goalie, having never been a goalie.
They win the game, and then they win the series against the best team in the NHL,
playing all of the games on the road because the circus was at MSG.
So this would be like, all right, San Jose Tampa Final.
Martin Jones and James Reimer both, you know, blot their knees.
Pete DeBore comes in for a game and makes 18 saves to defeat the Lightning.
And then like the next game, the San Jose Sharks sign Carriamo.
And then he wins the Stanley Cup in Tampa.
Yeah, they all look to the back of the bench and,
Pete DeBore's like, hey, I can goalie.
So yours is better.
So yours was the capper we should have.
So I'm sorry.
What's yours?
Mine is just Toronto, Toronto, Boston.
It was 4 to 1 and they lost the game.
Everyone knows how that story goes.
I don't have to retell that one.
Yeah, we just talked about it with Tom Cabin.
Right.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
That's right.
You know, those are you guys watching the game.
Oh, yeah.
I remember that conversation we just had 15 minutes ago.
This was sort of a little underwhelming.
Remember that time James Reimer gave up those goals and then they lost and in overtime is off.
This is like having.
dessert and it's like the most elaborate cake you could possibly imagine. It's actually
like the icing is made from like bald eagle blood and then you eat it and it's amazing
and then like Lozo comes out with like, I made a sand a cupcake with sand. Do you like frozen
waffles? I do. I mean not for enough that like that's a more underrated. It's it's not
that bad. It's so bad. No, but if you use the thing, the the the basis that I used,
which is did the loss create a title wave of other stuff?
Oh.
Then it's right up there because it basically created it.
Good stuff, though.
Right, but right.
Right.
Oh, yeah.
I saw it down and goes around on Twitter today.
He's like, you know, when you think about it,
that really horrible crushing soul-destroying loss was great for us.
And it's like, I still think you're there at that point in the recovery.
Your soul is still crushed that point.
It's your arch rival.
Like, two empty fucking net goals.
Yeah.
Oh, I don't know if I've ever as a sports fan suffered a loss as,
crushing is that one. And just where it's there, the Giants have lost playoff games where
they've given up points and then like an onside kick and then more points. But like, oh.
Yeah, as a Jets fan, I'd prefer you not get into comparing the size of our losses.
I'll unzip on that one. Hey, boy, look at this. Look at this. This is the Ravens. What's yours?
It's time for listener, Mel. You guys love a puck soup and we love you. And we allow you this
moment to ask us anything you want. Don't put words in my mouth. I like you guys. I don't want to say love.
That's a strong commitment for me, and I'm not really somebody who's comfortable with my feelings that way.
So like, like you a lot.
Sam Browning, whose avatar on Twitter is a photo of himself taking a picture of the people looking at his avatar.
It's kind of creepy.
If the NHL doesn't send players to the Olympics, what would teams look like and would Euro teams be favorites?
Now, René Fassal said this week that he's not very optimistic that the NHL is going to have players in the...
in the South Korean Olympics.
And here's how I've always felt about this.
If the NHL doesn't go, that's fine.
You know who is going to go?
European NHL players.
They're going to just leave.
And then you're going to have a really interesting situation.
Oh, I don't know.
You don't think so.
You don't think some old ass guy, like three years away from retirement,
isn't going to go jump to play for his national team,
especially if his name has lots of Finnish vowels.
If he's not on their NHL control.
No, no.
He's in the, I'm saying to you that NHL players are going to Shanghai themselves over to the Olympics for a month.
Shanghai.
And then they're going to go come back in the NHL and go ahead, Gary Bettman or whomever, and tell, you know, all of the Swedes and all of the Finns and all of the Russians for whom this is important that they can't do it.
I'm trying to think of like a good, like, Swedish or Finnish guy who in two years will still be, A, good enough to play in the Olympics and be bad enough where he can,
just bail on his career for two weeks.
Who would do that, though?
Who would be the guy?
I'm saying it'll be guys of all ages.
Oh, like, Nick Baxter, we think, would be like, fuck this, I'm out.
I think his, I think Alex Ovechkin would.
Alex Ovechkin would in a mill...
Dude, think of it this way.
If the Americans and the Canadians aren't allowed to go,
and then you've cleared the horizon...
It's like how the blues are in the conference final
because the Blackhawks and the kings are off the board, right?
Right.
Like, if the Americans, the Canadians aren't there anymore,
and the Russians are like,
Comradeovichkin, time to come home for the gold medal run.
Like, he's not going to go.
I think he would go if it was in Russia.
I don't know if anyone's dying to go to South Korea.
I think that's the thing.
Like, I think, like, remember when Ovechkin was threatening that?
I don't think he's threatening that if it's in South Korea.
So I think it'll be like old school, where it'll just be like college dudes and, you know, KHL guys.
Not that KHL guys are old school.
But you know what I mean?
I don't think I don't think NHL guys are going to risk having their,
million dollar. Oh, hey now. You did before you were gassy. And now look what's happened. And you've
been drinking sparkling pollen spring water, the entire podcast. I'm drunk. Oh my God. It's like,
it's like doing the fucking podcast with a toddler. Shut up. Do I need to tap your back a little
little bit, honey? You turn you on your belly? I'm not going to lie. That didn't taste real good.
So maybe you don't want to, you don't want to force the third one. Jesus. This is a classy
podcast. Jay Cook writes in, I love all these idiots calling for the caps to trade Ovechkin,
but would the Leafs trade the number six, the 2016 number one pick for him?
Well, no.
No.
Why would any?
No, of course not.
Next question.
No.
I'm trying to think of my draft, like, lottery sequence here.
Would anybody in the lottery trade their pick for Rovetchen?
Like, how far down would you have to go?
With the Flyers?
Where do they pick?
I don't know.
They're in the lottery, though.
They would.
I think anybody else...
I think anybody out to the top four probably would.
All right.
Depending on, like, would Winnipeg?
Winnipeg's pick second.
Winnipeg, yeah, they're not going to trade that pick.
They're going to get Ovetting.
They're going to get Patrick Line.
It's great.
That kid, by the way, oh, man, please don't ruin that kid.
He's a knucklehead.
Well, Corey Perry's already tried to frig.
Well, I know, I know.
But, I mean, just, like, the media, like, or whatever.
But you remember, he was the guy who was, like, lying in his bed during the draft lottery
and doing an interview with his phone over FaceTime.
and it was uncomfortably close
and you know his dick is out.
What was the...
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa.
I was not in agreement until...
I'm not so sure his dick was out.
I mean, like, maybe he was, like,
had his hand on his pants.
Like, I don't think his...
I don't think, like, there's anything going on.
Like, he reminds me of the dude from a 22 Jump Street
who was, like, Channing Tatum's, like, college frat buddy.
Yeah.
With a long blonde era where he's like,
bro, we're going to break on through.
Like, he seems like when to...
Wow, now you've completely ruined him for me.
Sorry.
You know his dick's...
out. You just dropped it in there as if that was like,
I think all of us in your thinking, you know,
you know his dicks out. I figured
that on almost, like, every time I see
somebody on like CNN, I assume they're
decks out. Wait a second. It's all adding up now.
This is what you do
when you're Skyping in interviews, isn't it?
You're just flopping around. I'm not
saying that that's anything. I'm not saying
that at all. You're projecting your own
interview technique onto
this kid. That's
right. I mean, as long as, you know,
you're comfortable.
Yep. Yeah.
It's like, this is one of those, everybody pees the bed, don't they?
Moments.
Right, like you've been doing a thing your whole life and you find out something where it's just like,
it's like someone's like, yeah, you know, and so I went to the bathroom and I stood up and I wiped.
Wait, you stood up and you weren't?
Yeah, exactly.
You don't do that?
It's the moment what your mom's like, sure, you could take your dick out during interviews.
And you're like, oh, it must be normal because mom said it.
That's what we did in the Machinsky household.
So as far as I'm concerned, that's what I can do when I'm on TSN 690.
Scott Deneon says he'll continue to ask.
until I get an answer, which I guess means
that we can end this folly. Okay.
I don't even know that he asked this question more than once.
I saw this question. I don't know it either.
What's the best drunk food, and why is it
Putin? It's not Putin. It's not
Poutine. No, it's not. First of all, it's not
Poutine for these two knuckleheads, because we are proud
Americans who live in America, and guess what
our Poutine is. Pizza.
It's pizza. No, I mean, we can't
get good poot. Like, we've got cheese fries,
which I assume is, you know, our version of Poutine.
Have you seen that McDonald's, or Wendy's commercial?
That's the Ghost Chili's. Like, I, like, I, like,
Wendy's screwed up their fries by letting it have, like, the potato skin on it and those little,
but like the old fries with cheese and the goat, oh, I know it's going to be gross, too, but I want to eat it.
My drunk food is pizza.
Every time, yeah.
Almost every time.
And especially, like, because I live near a really good pizzeria that does, like, they do regular slices great when there are some nights.
And you ladies gentlemen know what I'm talking about.
Some nights you've tripped the light fantastic.
and you need to get something like the barbecue bacon chicken Sicilian slice.
Two of them because you're super hungry.
Right.
And you wake up the second one on your chest on the couch in the morning.
It's legitimately like opening your mouth and swallowing a barge full of garbage on the Delaware River.
The place by me does it all.
The only thing I haven't found, like I will put anything that's pizza in my mouth.
I tried the mac and cheese one at the one place in Hoboken, and that's pretty good.
Yeah.
It's bland.
It's like putting like...
It's bland!
The cheese has got no flavor.
It's rubbish.
Shut it down.
Shut it down now.
But I ate the whole thing.
And then I felt really sick.
I think I ate it on the way to the garden.
And like halfway through the first period, I was like, I'm either going to throw up or poop.
I need to get out of here right now.
I will say that my go-to drunk food in Toronto when I'm there is the Giro place that's right by the Weston Harbor Castle, which is near where the Yahoo offices are.
It's open until like three or four in the morning.
A nice Giro or a Schwarma, also my other favorite drunk food, I think.
If I don't go pizza, like back in the day,
it used to go to diners and get, like, breakfast.
Any breakfast food, like an omelet, pancakes.
But, like, if you're walking home drunk, it's just hard to...
Because, like, anything else takes time, and you're starving.
And it's like, sure, I like chicken fingers.
Oh, McDonald's.
You know what?
I'm drunk.
I'll pretty much eat anything.
I'll say this about Hangover Curis.
I'm sure that's going to be the next question, is a nice little...
McDonald's Cheeseburger in the morning will get you going, like 11 o'clock in the morning,
that'll undo some undoing. Or just go all in and get yourself a Juevos diabolos and a margarita
the next day. Just continue the assault on your belly, and you'll be fine afterwards.
I envy people. I have the worst hangovers. Like, when I have a hangover, I can't do anything
about it. It doesn't matter if I drink in the morning, coffee, water, Gatorade food, I have to be,
if I don't have my pizza and water and ask for before I go to bed, the next day I'm just, I'm
ruined. Because, like, I have friends
who don't get hung over, and when they do,
they're like, oh, I'm so hungover, and they crack
open a beer, and I start to gag because
like, I'm hungover, and I don't want to have beer.
I just smell a beer.
Yeah. If I don't...
Tweet us your hangover cures. I'm sure some of them will involve a raw
egg, which is always a weird thing for me, too.
Those are the people I can't stand, or the people
that are like, they're like, they're like, it's like
being proselytized by a Christian.
It's like, dude, listen,
all you got to do is take tomato
juice, raw egg,
And then you put it in a blender, and then you show it up your ass.
I was going to say, yeah, you take it in anally.
It's like a cleanse suppository situation.
You don't put it in your mouth, because that would be weird.
Oh, man.
All right, well, on that note, ladies gentlemen, not to believe it,
you're probably feeling hungover after this long-ass podcast today,
but that's Tom Kavanaugh's fought for being so damn cool.
Watch Tom on the Flash.
Go back and watch Ed, wherever you could probably find on Netflix or some shit like that.
He's a really good dude.
And I proudly can say, I think, a friend of the podcast.
We did brohugs after he left.
We brohugs.
Well, you brohugged first.
And then at that point,
like, I don't know if I was at a brohug state with Tom.
I was.
I had to get there.
I couldn't just shake his hand at that point.
Yeah, I felt the kinship.
I had to bring him in and give him the back tap and stuff.
Good, good, good, solid dude.
And also, a fun story about mystery Alaska.
Fun in the sense that fun for you, everybody else.
Because we didn't know it.
And then he told it, and it was.
But anyways.
Thanks, thanks to everybody who listens to the podcast.
Please, if you were listening for the first time,
I want to drop a little bit of love on the iTunes reviews.
Do that.
You can follow the podcast on Puck Suit Podcast on Twitter.
I am Greg Wichenski of Yahoo Sports.
I write the Puck Daddy blog.
I have a book called Take Your Eye Off the Puck.
You can get it on Amazon.
And I also do another podcast called Merrick v. Wichinsky,
which is a great podcast when the computer doesn't actually eat the podcast, which is what happened this week.
Yeah, it was sad?
Yeah, it was really sad.
Whose fault was it?
It was the computer's fault, apparently.
Blame Jeff.
It's not, do it.
It's not a man.
It's not this time.
It's not your fault.
And who are you, sir?
Not your fault.
It's not your fault.
It's not your fault.
Wait, James Bond wasn't in that movie?
It's what Ron Williams
when he pitches down and tries to be dramatic.
He's like,
It's not your fault.
It's not your fault.
It's not your fault.
It's in Jumanji, oh, you know.
There you go, there.
My Rondi's impression is in that voice.
It's like, yeah, it's like.
It's very flustered.
Yeah, it's like, oh, it's like, oh, it's like, oh,
when he's serious, it's different.
Like, he's on the Svalry you where he's killing everybody.
It's not your fault.
It's not your fault.
It's not your fault.
You can get these photos back on one.
hour.
That's not even a line from that movie, probably.
Oh, somebody asked that, too.
I forget who it was. I'm so sorry, but the last question will answer,
because we're already, like, too long.
Fuck it.
Do you like in the movies when they say
the name of the movie and the movie?
I'm assuming, like, at some point in Ghostbusters,
we're like real Ghostbusters now.
That's like a Family Guy bit.
Is it?
I think it's either a Family Guy bit or, yeah, it's a family guy bit.
I think he's watching Clear and Present Danger,
and then on the screen you hear, that's a situation that involves
clear and clear and
present danger and he's like, ah, said it.
Here's the thing that bugs me in movies.
This way fights happen
in movies. Happens all the time, like this. It's like two
dudes, like squaring off, like, bro, you had sex
with my wife. And he's like, bro, so what?
And the first guy will kind of like turn
away from him and then throw
the punch. Right. And then... No one does that.
And then turn around and Cole Cockham. Right. Right.
It's just every time, it's like one step backwards
and he's like, pf, and then he turns around
that that's not how people fight.
No. Ever. Right. Ever. Ever.
It's almost like the, it's the same trope
is when people get bad news on the phone in a movie,
and they look at the phone in that way that says,
my God,
what does this phone just tell me?
Or like how people,
whenever they're carrying coffee in movies,
there's never anything in the cup,
and it's pretty goddamn obvious
when you're, like, swinging it around.
Yeah, it's just...
Right, or when you're coming back from Dagestino
and you always have a giant baguette,
stick out of the bags,
so you know, the groceries are there.
Coming home and making myself a nice,
long Italian baguette...
I guess it's a baguette's not a time.
Well, it can be.
Baguette.
Yeah.
Baghetti.
Hey, so join us next time on movie tropes.
Yes.
Oh, by the way, to answer your question,
I like it sometimes, like, in Guardians of the Galaxy,
or that, like, the one dude says sarcastly,
these assholes call themselves the Guardians of the Galaxy.
Or it was a shit like that, right?
It's great.
So I'm fine with that.
It's like, oh, it looks like she's going to play the piano.
Actually, in those Marvel movies, they do it a lot.
Like, when he says, I am Iron Man, like, that's a reference Iron Man.
Yeah.
You know?
But, like, I'm trying to think of, like, movies, like, where they're, like,
hey, this is Schindler's list.
You know, like really serious movies
Really working there?
It's like, whose list is this?
This list.
Why is you just going to the hospital?
He's English, and he's my patient.
Oh, come now, Paul Dano.
There will be blood.
It seems like you are the Lord of the Rings.
How do I think about it?
There's only one ring in that movie.
Why is it Lurter the Rings?
Bison, you know me and you.
We're good, fellas.
So!
Look at you.
You're like some kind of raging bull.
You're so angry.
Luke, these are Star Wars.
No one's going to win them.
Every movie she has a Jedi, and then he came back.
He's the return of the Jedi.
How do you do with like the X-Men movies?
Because it's always X-Men, colon, it's like, hey, we're the X-Men, colon, apocalypse.
Looks like the X-Men are hopping the last stand.
Dark Phoenix, stand over here for an hour and do nothing while the other.
the nondescript shitty mutants get cars thrown at them.
My son is special.
He has more talent in my left foot than you have in your entire body.
Dad, it's like you're unbreakable.
Mom, it's like I have a sixth sense.
Hey, we live in the village.
If I'm going to die, I'm going to die hard.
Every movie should have to do that.
It turns out I like this.
Don't you know you're going to die, Mr. Potter?
Actually, yeah, I do.
And if I'm going to die, I'm going to die hard.
Err.
With a vengeance.
Wait, what's the one?
I'll try to think of the one movie.
What's that?
There's like a Liam Niece movie that has like a 90-word title.
No, it's taken.
That's easy.
It's taken the movie.
There's one movie that's like a walk amongst the tombstones, and it's like, I'll be right back.
I'm going to take a walk amongst the tombstones.
Really?
Why?
Oh, the scenes in a graveyard.
Okay, I get it.
Oh, God.
Hey, where are you going?
You didn't finish your work?
I've gone to my best friend's wedding.
Credits.
You know what?
Every episode of friends, they say, hey, we're really good friends.
And yet they never call them Seinfeld.
They just thought of Jerry.
Steinfeld?
I said Seinfeld.
Haley Steinfeld.
Oh, God.
Little girl, you can.
got true grit.
Bring it on.
Oh, it's been brought in.
It's been brought in.
Boy, that's not another teen movie.
That's not...
All right.
In the remaining moments of this cinematic length podcast, Dave Loza will take you home.
Okay.
What other movies would be funny?
I like this bit.
This is fun.
I'm trying to think the most serious possible movie.
Oh.
Oh, God.
What?
It looks like Jupiter is ascending.
Oh, there you go.
Well, that's probably...
I didn't see that flick, so I can't really see that.
It's really, really bad.
I can't think of any serious dramatic movies that I could do, but whatever.
Welcome, Neo.
You're in a digital space that exists.
You mean like...
No, we don't say that word here.
It's bad form to say the name of the film.
So I'm in sort of like a digital, like me.
No, don't say it.
Bad form to say it.
It's called it a digital space in which you can think of guns and guns will be there.
You know what I'm looking for?
I'm looking for things to do in Denver.
when I'm dead.
Looks like you're smoking, aces.
All right, goodbye.
All right, bye, everybody.
Now leaving nerdist.com.
