Puck Soup - Trash MVP Opinions
Episode Date: March 2, 2018Greg and Dave tie a bow around the NHL trade deadline; examine the media war between Vancouver and Elliotte Friedman; explain why some Hart Trophy opinions are trash, and match Oscar Best Picture nomi...nees to MVP candidates; give your best and worst of NHL owners; praise Seattle's ticket sales; talk about biometrics and millennials; and make their full Oscar picks and sing some nominated songs. Presented by Health IQ, Seat Geek and Blue Apron.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Today's episode of Puck Soup is sponsored by Health IQ.
Health IQ believes that the best way to improve the health of the world is to celebrate the health conscious through social and financial rewards.
So they use science and use data to secure lower rates on life insurance for health conscious people, including runners, cyclists, strength trainers, vegans, and more healthier people than myself or Dave.
To see if you qualify, get your free quote today at health IQ.com slash soup or mention the promo code soup when you talk to a health IQ agent.
That's health IQ.com soup to get your free quote and see if you get lower rates on life insurance because you are a healthy person.
Perhaps you eat the veg or you train your strength or you cycle and run and do all of those things.
Hello, David. How are you?
How are things over there on that side of the microphone?
Pretty good. Looking at some of these questions for the Patreon mailbag. We got some good ones.
Give me a sample question for the Patreon mailbag.
Um, fuck Mary Kill
Taylor Hall's lips
Nico Hesier's eyebrows
Tyler Sagan's abs
That's Patreon.com
slash puck soup
For that answer
That's where you get those answers
How was your trade deadline by the way
How did you said
I was in Bristol for it
I sat around with a table of like
A dozen people
And we had statisticians there
And people talking about trades
And giving us all sorts of information
What was your setup?
Um
Woke up
My watch your price is right
Got a bagel
went to the gym
came home
watched the TSN show on ESPN2
Thank you
Didn't watch ESPN 3 though
Didn't do that part of it
Well we had it on all day on ESPN 3
ESPN 3
It's just the internet
It's the trace
It's just ESPN 3
It's the trace
What I mean the trace
What's the trace?
ESPN 3 trace
So it's like ESPN 8 is the Ocho
Yeah
This is the trace
Yeah
The deuce the trace
It's just the internet
It's the internet
It's the internet
It's the internet
It's the internet
It's the trick
You're like, where's ESPND?
This one is ESPN3.
This one goes all away.
It's free.
It's one louder.
It's free.
ESPN free.
And then after that, I sat down and I wrote about how bad the Ottawa senators are.
And it was a pretty calm day.
My first trade deadline in a couple years were you and Sean Leahy, he weren't at some point sitting across from each other yelling.
Yeah, we missed each other.
He was complaining about not getting, I believe it was like coconut water at some point from the Yahoo commissary.
And I missed his musk.
Well, he was probably at some beautiful NBC.
You were at some beautiful Bristol commissary.
I really miss looking across the table at Leahy and being like, hey, can you write this, this, this, this, this vanic trade.
No.
It was the best.
Oh, he ran that place to me secretly.
He was a puppet master.
He didn't really want to.
Hey, uh, McDonat of the Lightning.
You got it.
That's yours.
He's the best.
I'm so very proud of the work.
He showed the setup that he had at NBC and it seemed like a real, a real brain mothership kind of
situation. Yeah, I got to get one of those again on
Trade deadline day. Yeah, I'll come up to Bristol next
year. Oh, God, I'm not going to Bristol. I can be get you on
campus. What was it, like a two hour drive from here?
Yeah, and then we'll go eat at the finest restaurant in all Bristol,
the 7-11. The Red Robin.
Come on, you've got to punch down a little bit further than that.
Come on, there's like all those chains around there, right? Isn't it?
And Hartford, not in Bristol, sir.
Oh, yeah. Well, why would they build up Bristol?
Because the ESPN cafeteria is that good.
I have eaten at the ESPN cafeteria. It's fantastic.
It's like when you're at a college and, like, nowhere
And they're like, why isn't there any restaurants around here?
Because, like, why would you leave this campus?
Right.
The best cheese steaks.
Yeah, plus you have to get in your car.
Oh, I know.
Today's episode of Pucksey was also sponsored by season one of the reimagined reboot of the iconic action adventure series, McGiver, which is now available on DVD.
Join Ungus MacMachyver and his extraordinary talent for unconventional problem solving and vast scientific knowledge as he saves lives one mission at a time.
McGiver, Season 1 is available on DVD now from Lionsgate.
Get yourself a toothpick, an aerosol, Canada lighter, and make yourself a television and watch season one of McGiver.
Those are also the three best things that Jim Benning acquired on Trade on Linde.
Cory DeLiate Freed?
No, I'm sorry, not according to Elliott-Fribun.
We'll talk about that in a second.
Enjoy the show.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
But we also cover movies, TV shows.
and tunes it's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense
I'm Dave Lozo and for the past two plus years I just assumed Groot was dead because he died and I just went on living my life only to find out recently that some people don't think he's dead and I also do stuff for like vice sports and the athletic and I'm Greg Wischinsky and ESPN and I thought Groot merely
became a different form of himself and regenerated as when an acorn falls from a tree.
How far does it fall, though?
Well, here's the thing.
There's two ways to look at this.
Okay.
Uh-huh.
An acorn falling from the tree and making a new tree would be a new tree, right?
Yes, that's how it works.
That's a seed of some sort.
That's arboreal science, I believe.
Holy shit.
I looked all this up because I was kind of blown away that people thought wasn't dead.
And you're in Buck's hoop.
But if you take a piece of a tree and plant it
Still not the tree
No
If it takes root
Like if you do you take like a like a branch of a tree of some sort
Fruit's dead
And then you put it in the ground and it takes root
Is that a new tree or is that
I don't know like a clone
No it's a new tree
Or a variation of the existing tree
No that's a new tree
Why is that a new tree though?
Because it's a piece of the old tree
Right
Okay hold on
Yeah
See for that there you go
I strike that, Your Honor.
It's a piece of the existing tree that is now existing with the tree.
Also, narratively, it would be kind of stupid of Groot is still alive because that's the point
of the movie where Groot sacrifices himself for his friends and is supposed to be touching.
And then if he's still alive, it kind of cuts into that a little bit.
Let me speak the language of film.
We're so close today, I just realized.
I know.
Very close.
It's like doing in the old Yahoo!
Oh, shout out, by the way, to Katie Kirk on the Karras-Wisher podcast this week,
who said that Yahoo never put her stuff on the front page.
as a little kind of little sympathetic
back check
inaccurate
but she did have a lot of really other good
lines about how Yahoo didn't have any content strategy
which I agree
yes
so no I'm saying that in speaking
the language of film
if you I thought it was a Star Trek
three variation
oh it was Spock
yeah so Spock dies
is regenerated by the Genesis planet
young Spock grows in
old Spock goes through the spiritual transference of personality, the mind meld with bones,
and then he becomes Spock again.
Well, if Groot had left his mind inside of the raccoon, I could see how that could be gruey.
Well, what if Grut left his mind inside of the sapling that then became baby Groot,
which then became teen Groot?
That's what I'm saying.
I feel like it's all a continuum of the same existence, but you see it as a rebirth.
And as does James God, New Guy, who wrote the damn movie.
What's great about everything you just said is somebody replied to me on Twitter with that and put before it, it's not a stretch to think.
And then it was like, the consciousness of the sentient tree was transferred onto the, I'm like, really, that's not a stretch?
I think a less of a stretch is Groot died.
And it's great that he died.
You don't see that in comic book movies.
So the big.
Also, that was the other thing, too, people said, in the comics, Groot doesn't die.
Yeah, but that doesn't matter.
Right.
This is a totally different situation.
I set a record for replies that had in the comics in it.
So you're, so James Gunn and you.
both are saying that this baby Groot is Groot's son.
Yeah, I mean, he's either Groot's son or like a Grut offspring.
Can I ask you a question within the canon of Guardians, the galaxy?
Why do we not hear any of the guardians?
Even Rocket Raccoon, his best friend, say, you know, your father was very brave.
Why don't we ever hear that in this movie, if this is in fact, Groot's son?
Or do the guardians not even know what to make of this thing?
Well, I mean, they're not aboricianists or abhorians.
Grude's a baby. You don't tell a baby that his dad is dead, right?
Yeah, wait until he grows up a little bit.
So, he's baby Groot and Guardians two.
Isn't Baby Groot his character's name? Like, he's a baby. Like, he's not greed on you.
So you're saying they don't have any, like when he's trying to hit the button, they're trying to teach him not to.
Right. Like, at no point does Rocket Raccoon go, hey, go Eagles. Also, your dad would never touch the button.
You never say that?
Before your dad died, oh. And then, like, baby Groot freaks out and can't press the button.
I am girls.
That'll be Guardians three when they have the conversation about like girl trees and and dead dead dads.
That's how it goes.
Hey, buddy.
Let me tell you about a real hero, Nick Foles.
Crazy.
Bradley, I know that we said we would allow you to drop in a little bit more of your own personality into the character.
But this is getting a little bit of a hand.
Bradley Cooper's not for Philly, is he?
He's like a huge Eagles fan.
Is he?
I thought that it was just a movie thing.
No.
It's for real.
He's living real life.
Oh, God.
We're going to make those guys dead of the Reggie White.
Come on.
Bradley, again, I got to say this is really not where we're going for here.
Boy, I didn't realize Bradley Cooper was an actual Philadelphia person.
That makes me...
Yeah, I was just thinking how...
Bradley, we're going to need a line here as you're about to wipe out the alien being.
Short thing.
WIP, first time, long time.
Bradley, this is really...
But he doesn't talk like that.
He just talks like a regular guy.
He doesn't have like an accent of any kind.
Who, Rocket Raccoon?
No, he talks like a caller from WIP.
No, he doesn't.
Think about it.
It's more like old-timey Brooklyn Bayonne than like he's, it's more like, like I say, forget about it than he is.
Rocket from Concoons.
Donovan.
Yeah, I'm saying if we had Randall instead of Donovan, we totally win this game.
I'll hang up and listen.
And now I've got to go back and rewatch the Guardians movies.
Speaking of football, Seattle, according to TSA, according to TSA,
then Seattle has sold 25,000 season ticket deposits on its first day of selling season ticket deposits and reached 10,000 deposits in 12 minutes.
Wow, that's like a reproduction of like a fish.
Like that's a lot of deposits that are going to, ugh, kind of reeks in 10 minutes.
Oh, listen, this is this podcast is strictly about trees reproducing and fish reproducing today.
Learn the science people.
It took Winnipeg 17 minutes to get to 13,000 season ticket deposit.
Bad market.
Yeah, I mean, if you go by the exchange rate, I think that means Seattle's a better hockey market.
This is really impressive, but I do wonder if you've got 25,000 season ticket deposits, don't you have to then play your game in an outdoor stadium?
You have to.
You got to play it at that really loud building where they make all the sounds.
You wonder if there's any variation on the name Blackhawks they could use, like seat.
Oh, it's already taken.
This is really impressive.
and obviously the news that the NHL wants to see.
They're getting a team anyway.
Like, Jerry Bruckheimer was running around
doing a bunch of press this week talking about
how he's going to own Seattle.
He was running around.
Wasn't he not walking away from explosions
in slow motion while he was doing the press?
Jerry, Jerry, Emily Cabell and ESPN.com.
Just curious, how will the...
Every time he talks, all of the local TV cameras
by contract have to swirl around him.
Spin around him.
Yeah, spin around him.
Like a hero shot.
For some reason, that shot,
I always think of bad boys because they spin around Martin Lawrence and Will Smith for like an hour in that one scene.
I feel like it's also like a lot of Michael Bayfix.
Like I feel like the Rock might have had that a few times.
Oh yeah.
Oh yeah.
When Nick Cage is holding up the flares at the end, that's when they do that.
Yeah.
They circle around Optimus Prime, probably, I'm guessing.
I don't remember anything.
Or like Mark Wahlberg is like staring up at the robots and it just spins and there's an explosion.
Yeah.
As he's saving, as he's stopping 9.
11 on his own. I was reminded of that this week for some reason. Oh, it was when the Trump saying it was running and I could stop the shooter by myself was Mark Wahlberg saying if he was there, he would have stopped 9-11 on his own. I believe Mark Wahlberg could at least run to the front of the plane. I don't think Donald Trump could run more than like 40 feet without like getting winded. But the thing is is that Mark Wahlberg's play then is what? Hey, everybody. I'm Mark Wahlberg. Why don't you put these, these box cut us down, buddy? Like, what is that even? I was watching the departed the other day. We should really try that movie over
again. Why is that? What was wrong with the departed?
Everything?
Hmm. Not everything, but everything.
Real quick, because I don't want to make this a new movie podcast
and we talk about the Oscars later. Until later, yeah.
Matt Damon, unimpeachable.
Great in that movie. A loathsome empty suit of
a... It's a bad story. Police investigative
Internal Affairs guy. It's corny.
Like, all the Leonardo DiCaprio stuff,
like how he infiltrates Jack Nicholson's stupid.
Like, come on. He's never going to get in there.
See, to me, that's where you need
a gosling instead of a Decaperia.
Papua Gossling in there. You could see him as a ruffian from Southie.
Alec Baldwin, awesome. And Leo can't do a Boston accent.
No, he can't do a Boston accent. Martin Sheen, awesome.
Jack Nicholson? The whole story's stupid.
Not sure what he was doing there, but I was entertained.
Yeah. When Jack Nicholson dies at the end, when he's sitting on the bulldozer or whatever,
like that death scene is the cornyest death scene. I can't believe that movie is like a four-star
9.5 on IMDB movie. It's, it's, yeah. I like when you have an actor like Nicholson
in your movie and you just
he says he's like you know what I want to do here
I want to make my face into a rat
as I'm saying the word rat
I'm going to look like a rat
and Scorsese's like
uh all right he's like like I've I stopped trying like 15
years ago you do it do whatever the hell you want
he's like hey listen I'm doing this gangster movie for the sole
this whole this whole aim of trying to win an Oscar
finally so I couldn't get De Niro or Pacino for this role so you do
whatever the hell you want you and then you go back
you can get back to the Lakers game at least by
Galag.
You'll be fine.
You get your seats real early.
This is great news for Seattle.
They're getting a team.
It's great.
I don't know why our dear friends in the hockey media feel the need to constantly
report every time Gary Betman reiterates that they're going to have the same expansion
draft rules as Vegas.
That becomes a story again.
Like, Batman was in Vancouver saying they were getting the draft.
And he's like, yeah, they're going to have the same rules.
I mean, hey, rules for Vegas, rules for them.
They pay more money.
They get the same rules.
And then it's like, Batman tells media, same expansion rules.
for Seattle. And like he said the same thing, what, at least seven times this calendar year?
Has he? I know he said it at the All-Star game. He said it last year. He said it like a bunch of
times. It's not at this point of mystery that. But to be fair, you do need to keep up on Gary
Batman to make sure he still believes the thing he said two weeks ago. So I don't really
mind, I don't mind that. I don't mind that as much as the heart trophy stuff we got to do
every friggin two days on Twitter. Oh, we'll get to that. I'm a big fan of, as you know,
I'm a big fan of the idea of being in the foxhole with Gary Batman. I'm not a big fan
Gary Bettman. But I like, you know, if
Batman was on our side, the side of good and light,
I think we'd see him as, he's like Magneto.
You know, when you're fighting Magneto,
you don't want to do it. He can make spikes go on your body
because of metal. But he was on your side,
you're like, look at all the amazing things that Magneto can do.
Yeah, he's like Magneto if Magneto never
had the moments of good.
For 25 years, he's just trying to kill Charles
and the kids. And he never once
is like, hey, these kids aren't so bad. I'm saying
cost certainty, Charles.
Must have a salary cap, Charles.
So, Betman at the Sloan MIT conference that I know you were going to talk about in a second anyway.
I had one of those moments from like, I really hate this, but I really love it too, which is when the chairman of NBC, Mark Lazarus, took a run at the NHL saying, you know, their local ratings that kind of suck up against the Olympics, totally should have gotten an Olympics, these local ratings blow.
and Betman's response, besides, you know, doing copious amounts of research, like I do when I'm responding to a Twitter troll, where I spend, you know, 15 minutes of my life trying to research somebody coming at you just because you go to Windafoyt.
Betman then says, I don't know how he has so much time to look at local NHL ratings with all that's going on in South Korea.
Is that what he said?
That's what he said.
I thought he said something like, that's exactly what we thought would happen and so we're glad we didn't go.
No.
He might have said that in Vancouver, like, after the.
the fact, but on stage,
with Elliot Friedman at the MIT conference,
he's like, you know, I don't know why
this guy has so much time to look at our ratings.
There's so much going on. It's how to rate it. So much time.
That's my favorite thing. Boy, you have so much time to do
all this. Yeah, it takes four seconds to look at the ratings
for the coyotes. Let's tie
this all in a bow because I know I want to talk about
it even if you don't.
Elliot Friedman
is the dean of
I would say the hockey media right now.
Like, he is unimpeachable. Maybe
him and McKenzie, depending
out your flavor of whiskey is for that particular week.
I thought he missed the John Einstein thing as 31 thoughts this week.
What do you mean?
There's a wine in there that said the devils will probably extend them, but like two days
earlier, Tom Gallaudy said they had extended them.
Well, I mean, it's 31 thoughts, man.
Like, if you, if you, if you, if you, if you, if you, if you, if you missink one, you still
got 30.
I'm just saying.
And by the way, maybe that's the 31 first thought that he added because of Vegas.
Maybe all the 30 thoughts were going to be fine, but then he had to put that extra
one in because Vegas came into the league.
Now imagine in a few years when it goes to 32 thoughts, there might be two that
as wonky as that John Hines thing.
He's just going to start making up, like, thoughts of his own thoughts.
What's the deal with toilet seats?
Why are they always cold even when it's hot outside?
I only had 31 this week, so here's a limerick.
Anyways, so Elliot Friedman apparently went on Vancouver Radio
and defended the management in Vancouver.
Friedman said, for example, that
the media situation in Vancouver is toxic.
The media situation.
As far as what Trevor Leonard and Jim Benning are facing.
Oh, they're, oh.
Yeah.
He said that they look like they'd been attacked by wild dogs.
Have they?
He says, I see a situation where Lyndon and Benning think that they're totally under siege.
I think the players see it and the coaches see it.
Basically saying that the man.
management in Vancouver. He's harboring a hard time getting things done because of the toxic and
rabid nature of the media. Oh, now all of Jason Bruff's tweets yesterday made sense because he was
going off and I could tell he was doing like a sarcastic bit for like a couple hours. I didn't know
what it was based on. Yeah. I know what it's based on this. Yeah. Yeah. Like Toronto for instance where
the toxic media was preventing Toronto from winning and now that they're winning it's only because
the media stopped being toxic. Not that they just started doing their jobs. Not just like they started doing their
job. It's not as if the media helped drive
the best player on the team out of town at one
point by calling him fat and unmotivated.
So, and then this
guy who I never heard of, fire back.
Ed Willies, for those who don't know, is a guy
who wrote a book called the Rebel League. It's very good
about the WHA. It's about the Star Wars
Hockey League. I know.
Luke Skywalker won
the Alderan Cup.
And he turned to Wedge and said,
you can be my wingman anytime.
Left wing. He gave the
cup to Obi-Wan first because he had gone so long.
without winning.
Yeah, I remember that.
It was so embarrassing
at the end of the Rebel League
when everybody booed
Princess Leia
when she was getting out
those medals
as his tradition.
The Rebel League
was one of the best
leagues to play this year.
Come get the cup,
Han Solo.
Boo.
Leia snubs
Chubbka in Rebel League
controversy.
Gary Batman and Spillet.
Leia says
Chubacca's name wrong.
Gras the Chewbacca
on his beautiful.
win.
Chubaca Lindstrom.
Yeah.
So the
Lindstrom.
You'll never let that go.
The mispronunciation of Lindstrom.
If you're going to hire a guy to pay him six figures to host an NHL award show,
you should be able to pronounce the name of the best defenseman in the last 40 years.
30 years.
Yeah.
He got Stevens, right?
Ah.
Yes.
Ed Willys, for those who know, no, think of sort of like a guy who,
how to put this
looks like a guy
who would be giving you a loan at the bank
but also sound a little like Truman Capote's
tougher brother.
I'm picturing Gerald McCraney.
Am I close?
You're not.
No, okay.
But it's a good guess.
All right.
Made your dad.
So he went ham
in this province column
about Elliot Friedman
for which I imagine
my cohorts in
the Professional Hockey Writers Association sent him a series of strongly worded emails.
How dare you?
Mark Specter.
How dare you go after a member of the fraternity?
We're all in this together.
But Elliot went after him first.
Went after him?
Elliot said the media in Vancouver was toxic.
He didn't say Ed Willys by name, though.
He didn't say Ed Frickin' Willys.
Like Ed Willis said, so why would Elliot Frickin' Friedman care so passionately about
the Vancouver market?
And why would he launch such an impassioned defense of Lyndon
and Benning from the big smoke.
The big smoke is Toronto.
Yeah.
I have definitely smoked there.
Toronto has some of the corneous nicknames for its city.
The big smoke.
Tidot.
Tondon, town.
Ton, town.
Toro.
Trana.
That's up here.
The run says Toronto.
Toronto. Toronto.
Sorin's magic eye.
The giant magnet that draws all Ontario players to it, I believe.
there's probably an acronym for that one.
Not Ottawa.
Not Ottawa.
Not Ottawa.
Thank God we're not Ottawa.
Fair questions, yes.
As for the answers,
we'd suggest that they lie somewhere in the towering ag...
I'm sorry.
The towering arrogance of the Toronto's Media Titans
and the uncomfortable relationship that exists between quote unquote insiders and their sources.
Ready? Here comes.
Here comes the part.
You come at the king, best not miss.
Friedman is a made man in that world.
But his information sometimes comes at a cost.
Consider his radio diatribe a down payment on his next scoop.
He went there.
He said it is a compliment for scoop.
It is a quid pro quo.
Pay for play payola scheme on behalf of Elliot Friedman.
First of all, Elliot's like the least smug person I've ever met ever.
Like, he's the least, like, haughty-taughty, like a million person ever.
And yet you're in the same room as me.
And you say that.
I stand by it.
Okay.
Also, Elliot should change his Twitter handle to Elliot Frick and Friedman, if he hasn't done it already.
I don't know if he has or not.
You should sell T-shirts.
But, like, so I can kind of see it from the Vancouver side because, like, how on earth are you defending that management group at this point after their horrendous trade deadline, their bad, their bad?
I mean, to me, like, the popular opinion is probably that Benning and Lyndon are pretty bad.
having said all that, I mean,
insiders,
Elliot, Pierre, whoever they are,
Nick Kiprios, they very rarely
go public and say bad things about people
because that is kind of part of it.
You can't burn bridges if those bridges
have information. I'm not saying
that's why Elliot said it, but I mean
if that is why he said it, like, I don't care.
So the information's in the bridge.
The information is... I'm on the upper level
and then the information is taking the lower deck?
No, no, no. It's not the GWB. It's more like, it's more like the
Indiana Jones Bridge that can be lit on fire at any time if you want to.
Oh, yeah.
Oh, you mean so, like, the information is on that bridge, and then, like, someone's trying to get it,
like a Vancouver scooper is trying to get it.
And then I look at the scooper and I'm like, Mollaram, prepare to meet collie in hell.
And then there's that weird, like, ah, sound effect that's in every movie from the 80s.
And then the information and the scooper both fall into the mouths of the crocodiles.
Or maybe it's more like the bridge and Thor.
It's, like, shiny and bright and it's stiffer.
I want to say that's called Rainbow Bridge
But that's where dead pets go
So I don't know if that's necessarily what it was
No, that's Mario Card, isn't it?
And it's also Mario Card, the rainbow track
The rainbow track
What is the bridge and Thor called?
The Gateway, the Bridge
The Ice Soul
Forever Bridge, the Idris Elba Memorial Bridge
You have to pay the Idris Elbattoll to get by it's
Like a, it's like a what?
Fuck it.
Yeah, what is that bridge called?
But whatever.
Or bridge did you?
I don't know, I tend to think
Elliot really does believe everything he said.
I don't think he's saying it on the off chance he finds out the Siddines retire for...
You know, I mean, the point...
He actually hurts his own point there.
Elliot's already a made man.
He doesn't really need to do that.
It's called the bifrost.
The bifrost.
See, I always think the bifrost has something to do with the ice people that
Loki is or was, or I don't even know if he still is because he can transform into it.
Are you really putting a hat on right now after you complained about how hot it wasn't here?
It's like a fucking motherfucker in this room is why.
Well, yeah, putting on a winter hat's definitely going to...
No, that's going to make me pretty.
prevent the sweating.
My sweat is tissue.
I don't know.
What do you feel?
Do you feel like Elliot is doing a pay?
I don't think he is.
I don't believe he would.
I,
no.
I mean,
I think,
I think,
listen,
I think at the end of the day,
like there are some people
that probably play nice
to get information,
and I think those people
are usually local.
I think in Elliott's case,
I think he's probably saying
what he believes.
Yeah.
Do I think he's right?
No.
Oh,
he's not right.
Yeah.
I mean,
there's a difference between saying he's right and saying that he's doing it to,
like, you know, tap the rich
vein of information that is Jim Benning.
By the way, that's the
fallacy in this whole thing, is the idea that
you need to somehow butter up Jim Benning
to get information from him. This motherfucker was once
fine for tampering because he couldn't keep his mouth
shut about the things that he's talking about.
Yeah, you don't need to have like this clever ass
red, red, not red sparrow, black widow
interrogation where you reverse the interrogation
field onto, like he doesn't need to
do that. Getting information out of Jim Benning is like,
I got this really provocative quote
from Lena Dunham.
Like Elliot's standing over Jim Benning with the truth serum needle.
And Jim Benning is like, no, you're good.
I got you.
You don't need to do this.
Is it safe?
Coming up on 31 thoughts, is it safe?
He's like, I'm going to keep signing the Sidene until they die.
You don't need to inject me with that.
I'll tell you anyway.
All right.
Let's move on to other things.
In summary, Elliot's unimpeachable and Vancouver Media.
By the way, the best thing about Vancouver Media and the reaction to it is this.
I had somebody on Twitter today say, look, you just have to remember that the action
of one person of the media.
Are you doing a woman's voice right now?
No, I'm just doing a Vancouver fan's voice.
It wasn't a woman.
The actions of one person from the media do not indicate what all people in Vancouver think or feel.
And I'm like, this is really interesting.
I believe this is the 10-year anniversary of somebody saying the same shit about columnist Tony Gallagher
when he claimed that the NHL was rigging games.
Remember that?
There was a playoff series between L.A. and Vancouver.
And a columnist in Vancouver said the NHL was rigged games because Mike Murphy's,
of the NHL used to work for the Kings.
And everybody was like, don't paint us all
with this broad brush. It's just one guy in the media
10 years later, don't paint us all with this broad
brush? I don't know, man?
But wait, they want to be painting with the broad brush, don't they?
In this case, maybe. Yeah, because they all
think the opposite. I think a lot of people like
Elliot didn't want necessarily, like, be
caught up in this web of
intrigue that Ed Willies
has spun from his
anus, I suppose, is where the web
would come from in this situation. Is that where
Canadian spider webs come from the anus? Where do
Where does webbing come from on a spider?
That's why Spider-Man always lost by respect.
He shoots out of his wrist.
If he had shot the web out of his spindler on his anus,
then it would have made a lot more sense, wouldn't it?
Wow, that would be a completely different Spider-Man movie.
Yeah.
Like, Mary Jane, I'll save you.
Pulls down his pants and bends over and aims for the building.
And she's just like, no, I'm good.
I'm okay.
It really would have made the dynamics of that kissing scene a lot more complicated.
The trade deadline came and went.
If you listened to ESPN on Ice and Biscuit,
You've already heard both of us probably talk way too much about it.
So let's get right to it.
I'm going to read you a report card grade from my ESPN report card.
You tell me if I got it right.
We're talking for the...
Trade deadline.
The bulk of their trades, not just like ad trade.
I did not include the Finoff trade in the L.A. King's report card.
I felt like that was a little too early, but everything else is fair game.
Okay.
I gave the Blue Jackets in A.
Vanik, Letestu, Cole, did not really give up anything of consequence.
Didn't even give up as much of a second for those three.
Would you agree with that?
No, that's like a B.
Is that just because of the level of player that came back?
You got to get some guys to her to be an A.
Mark Lettestu is not going to move me to an A.
But like, you're right, they didn't give up anything.
So, yeah, that's a solid B.
It's an A for effort because nothing I want to see more for the next two months.
And, you know, I didn't feel like Vanek had the best game.
You know, I didn't like his level of jam grind or grime jam.
Johnny had four goals tonight.
Yeah, but he didn't back check hard, that one shift.
It was that one time when someone was trying to, you know,
make hay with Wenberg and Vanek
could even come over and throw a punch.
I wanted to see Duby go out there and fight.
Doesn't he have like two wrists that can shatter at any time like porcelain?
Well, hey, that's just how we got to play the game around here, okay?
Okay, okay, poor team.
Speaking of that, Torz, what happened to Duby that one time?
Why did he go home from Vegas?
Ah, too much jam.
Too much jam.
Yeah, a little bit more.
Jam and moderation in Vegas.
You have to moderate your jam.
You get to Vegas and you see the jam and you want to have the jam all day.
You need to moderate the jam.
You know, maybe you start the jam around like six o'clock.
paste yourself.
So it was like too much jam or just like a like a very sort of like specific amount of.
That was space jam.
Yeah, he took the, I mean, he didn't take.
I'm going to phrase that.
He got in with the space jam.
Space jam is available at essence on the, uh, on the, on the strip.
Dallas Stars D plus.
I don't understand how you look at the left side of that team.
Hmm. And, uh, and you look at the, the, the gym mill explanation for not doing anything at the trade deadline was, we did all our shit last summer.
And this is the team we have.
Now, by the way, Martin Hansel has a broken.
back, he's out for like four weeks.
I really felt like if you look around the Western Conference at the arms race that
happened and you have this much invested in your team, you could dabble, you could add something,
you could add fucking Pat Maroon to this team and be a better team, and they didn't do anything.
And I was really stunned by that.
I mean, devil's fourth liner, Pat Maroon.
I mean, really, is that going to make?
I give them the C.
I'm fine with the Dow stars inactivity.
To me, to me, the stars should have been all in on like Paul Stasney or nothing.
And I'm kind of fine with them mostly nothing.
Let's move on to C plus.
C plus.
B minus.
the team you just mentioned
okay the getting Corey
Schneider back perfectly positioned for a playoff
run New Jersey doubles who had Michael Grabner
and Pat Maroon and give up
a second, a third
Yigor Rykov and J.D.
Dutik. Yeah, whoever those guys are sure.
I was stunned by the ground
the thing was stunning only because
it's the first time in the history of the franchise
they ever made a trade with the Rangers. Like I know
I know necessity
modern times man. I love it. But holy shit
man. A trade with the Rangers.
The Braingers are never going to give the devils Rick Nash.
They'll give you Michael.
I mean, if you're going to pay a second rounder for Michael Grabner, you have to take the second round.
You get the sense that Gorton did that because now he knows where Grabner is.
He could just like say, all right, you take the Lincoln.
Or if it's too much traffic, you take the Holland and get him back after the season.
So is Michael Granmer coming from the city, or is he coming from, like, Westchester?
Oh, he's probably, he's going on the private jet that I'm sure the Sixers guys that own the Devils have.
Because, you know, you need that escort service for a guy who only scores empty neckles.
Yeah.
What was your grade?
I gave it an A minus.
C.
Why is C, though?
Now they added scoring behind the Taylor Hall line.
Michael Grabner's a really bad trade.
Michael Grabner is one of the most inexplicable players I've ever seen.
25 goals, six assists.
No power play time.
Seven into empty nets.
He's basically like a 24-point guy.
The devil's give up a second round or four.
Excuse me.
Seven into empty nets means that he's a closer.
That means he's fast.
There's value to that for sure.
But the last two years, he has like 11 empty net goals.
Like the next closest guy has like six.
I just don't understand how you can be that fast and get involved in the play that much.
That's every fast guy.
But like, what was it?
Six assists, was it?
Yeah.
Like, how is that possible?
Because I don't think he's that good.
I think he's good.
There are a stay-at-home defensemen that have more than six assists.
That's what I mean.
You can just accidentally find your way into like six assists over 60 games.
The puck hits your skate and you get a secondary assist.
Like, how many assists does Derek England have right now?
Is it more or less than six?
That's a great question.
I'm going to say more.
I'm going to say he has to have at least, or has Grabner gotten a point since he got to the Devils?
I guess he only played that one game, right?
Hang on.
Or two games.
I'm going to say England has more than six assists.
Derek England at this point.
He's a defenseman on a team that scores.
In his season, he's on the Vegas Golden Knights, 17 assists.
Oh my God.
Oh, I really short-changed Derek.
Okay, ready?
Sorry, Derek.
Here we go.
We'll play a quick game.
We always like game shows on this on this show, and here comes.
Does Michael Grabner have more assists than...
Mark Andre Flary.
Andy Green.
See, I want to say he can't possibly have more assist than Andy Green,
but I feel like you picked Andy Green because it's a tricky question.
So I'm going to say he has more.
Maybe you should like fucking focus on the question.
I don't trust you.
You know, it's like no one goes on jeopardy and you're like,
I don't know why Trebek would be asking this.
Did he have a bad day?
Did he have a bad...
I know he's Canadian, so I assume it.
might have something to do with mate no no one says that yeah see you're you're you're
protesting now makes me think i was correct and therefore michael gravenor has more assists
than andy green andy green has eight assists fuck damn damn does the indes damn does michael grabner
have more assist than adam henrique had before his trade with the delis yes and adam reaurek had 10
assists damn does michael grabner have more assists than steve stantini yes no steve santini has
A-assist, but you thought I was asking that to give you the...
I just, I feel like at some point we're going to have to have...
Like, this is my point.
Michael Gravier doesn't really do anything.
All right.
Does Michael Grabber have more assist than Brian Boyle?
I love it.
You're showing your head right now on this damn quiz.
It's amazing.
No.
That's correct.
Brian Boyle has seven.
I was going to say, I feel like he had seven.
That was going to be my guess.
Does Michael Grabner have more assist than Bed Lovejoy?
By the way, for those playing around at home, this is through Wednesday night's games.
No.
He has fewer, doesn't he?
the same.
Same.
It's bullshit.
33 games as a defense minute has the same number of versus Michael Grathner.
But like the devil's, the devil's issue was defense and goal tending.
They got Corey Schneider back as of the moment we talk here today.
So if they just get some 915, 916 goaltending, like I don't think the devils can beat the penguins in a seven game series.
I don't think so either.
But getting there is nice, though.
You're right.
And they're already in.
They're set.
Well, if they're the first wild card, though, they might not play the penguins.
I may play the capitals.
No, capitals are going to, they're going to fade.
What do you think of that that whole firing Barry Trots thing that Japer's rank was putting out?
I saw it.
I don't quite understand it.
I get it.
I think that would have been the move last year.
Now I don't think it matters.
You're just changing captains on the Titanic at this point.
I think the question is always like who are you bringing in to take over the team?
And I guess the person you'd bring in is Todd Reardon, the assistant coach, who's never coached a playoff game and all that jive.
I mean, I get it.
The idea that he's going to be gone anyway.
So you may as well just let Todd Reardon do it for this year's playoffs.
so maybe it's different, but that shock move, I think, would have been better last year.
But you couldn't do it last year.
You can't fire Barry Trots.
Yeah, in a year when you're all in and saying that you're, yeah.
I kind of get it, but at the same time, I feel like, like you said, that chip is sailed.
And I feel like it'd be easier if there was somebody out there.
If, like, you brought him Mike Keenan, you know, really made it go for it.
Was he like 80 years old at this point, Mike Keenan?
That's your go-to reference for your rental coach.
I'm saying he's good for one season.
He's good for two months.
He's good for two months.
Exactly. That's all you need. Hey, listen, if he could squeeze that many points that of Kuland Red Star and the KHL's Chinese, I don't really know if he did any well there. I just know he left. He won. Didn't he win the cup? The Gagarin Cup? The only cup named after a cosmonaut. Is that who it's named after a cosmonaut? Is that who it's named after? Is that who it's named after? You didn't know it was named after? I have no idea.
The New York Rangers, I gave an A-minus to, and I'm really interested to hear your thoughts here because I know I'm in the minority. I know the majority of people, oops, sorry. It's all the majority of we have for today. I know the majority of people are like, why didn't they get Braden points?
Yeah, they kind of got fleeced in that deal.
I don't think they got fleeced at all.
I gave them an eye amount.
I think for the totality of the day,
they did really well for themselves.
What do you say?
Totality B-plus.
Okay.
Mess around where I was.
But the Brian McDonough trade.
Like, they got good value for Holden.
They got good value for Grabner.
I mean, Ryan McDonough.
I mean, I don't know.
Nemesticoff and then futures.
Yeah, but like the Mestikov and J.T. Miller are awash.
They don't really need enough.
They have plenty of forwards.
Like, what's their blue line going to be next year?
They pulled three young D out of this.
Excuse me.
Jesus.
They acquired three rookie defensemen from the trade deadline.
So I think they're building up the blue line.
I don't know what's going to be there next year.
Pulled three Ds in their 20s.
They pulled three young Ds.
Yeah, good for them.
Yeah, I mean, Mestekop's numbers are inflated because he plays with the Kutrov
Stamcoast line.
I like the Nash trade.
I thought they've really, they fleeced Boston, but then Steve Eisenman fleeced
them so that kind of cancels it out. But Boston also got, I mean, Boston also got a really good
player, though, for like what they need. Like, I think him and Kreichie are going to do some
damage, and they need it now the Bershorns out. Yeah, but they can also use a center now that
Bergeron's out. Yeah, it's true, too. Like that was weird. Like Ryan Spooner. Yeah. It was
five points in two games. Yeah, I didn't really understand why they were giving up on Ryan Spooners
so quickly, but he's like one of those guys. There's guys on that, like, on every team that always
bandied about as just being like, yeah. And maybe Ryan Spooner will be in the deal. And you're just
like, but why, though?
I don't get, like I get, want him around?
Like, like, I also don't get the Matt Boleski part of that deal because if you buy out Matt Boleski, like, yeah, the contract goes twice as long, but you're saving more money in the short term on not having Matt Boleski on your ass.
I don't know.
I really thought the Rangers poached Boston, but Steve Eiserman, he walks in the meetings with guns.
He's like, here's what you're going to give me.
Like, the fact that, like, imagine if they had gotten Carlson instead, and their top four became headman, strawman, Carlson, and then.
Surgachev or maybe Coburn.
Like now with McDone, they have all these lefties.
Like, what are they going to do with that?
I don't know. I don't know.
Let's talk about Carlson real quick because we are actually at O in the alphabet.
I don't care to talk about the senators, but we'll talk about Carlson.
We had to predict where he's going to be next year, like through the summer.
Like, where is he on opening night next year?
Yeah, okay.
I say Ottawa.
I don't know.
They have to, they have to bail, man.
I think they have to bail, too.
But I also think that the possibility is there that he wants to stay.
I don't think it is.
I think you have three things at play here.
Four things.
Four things.
That's a lot of play.
One, is the team better by trading him and Bobby Ryan's contract, of course.
Two.
Yeah, but you're assuming that they have to include Bobby Ryan's contract.
I don't think they do.
I don't think they do, but I think they can.
And there's no better time to get rid of it than now.
Yeah, but like if Vegas wasn't going to take it, who is?
The sharks were going to take it.
They don't have the room.
They were willing to take both.
But their offer wasn't there.
That's the real issue is that if you're going to include them in a deal,
then you got to do, you got to take less value.
Yeah, if you're going to include Bobby Ryan, you're screwing yourself.
I mean, great, chef's kiss contract that Bobby Ryan contract, wasn't it?
Right, but like also, like, if you're Ottawa, I get it, you're cheap and you don't want to spend money, but you have to spend money on somebody.
You have to pay certain guys on your team, so if it's Bobby Ryan, who freaking cares?
Um, I think that you could keep him in the hopes that you resign him.
Or you can keep them in the hopes that if you don't get to resign them, then you, uh, trade him at the deadline.
I have a feeling, though, that they're going to have a resolution on this in July.
I feel like he's either going to stay or he's not in July.
He'll make the call.
I don't get why anyone would think he's going to stay at this point.
Because his stuff's there.
His stuff's there. We've talked about this.
His stuff's there.
His wife is halfway through a pregnancy.
They just bought a house.
Like, there's a lot of reasons why you don't want to move your shit.
No better time to get out of there than now then.
And go somewhere where they can raise the kid in a happy environment or
Carlson's in the playoffs over here.
Well, think of it.
Wouldn't you rather have your husband around more?
Well, she's going to come with it.
Oh, you're saying while he's on the road for the place.
You get to have your husband back every April 13th around that time.
How great is that?
I think you were saying, like, he's going to move and leave her behind while he goes in the playoffs.
He's going to make $12 million a season and never have to play in May.
What a great existence.
She should be like, you totally have to sign with Ottawa.
It makes no sense financially for anybody, too.
If they give him $11 million and Bobby Ryan's making $7.5, that's $18 million tied up in two guys.
Like, you're not, if the 7.5 million guys, Phil Kessel, like, okay.
The bigger issue is that.
But if you're whatever you're doing, you're trying to read.
rebuild and trying to reload and get younger.
So whatever you do, trading him is the only option.
That's the best chip you have to play.
Like, what if they win the lottery and they get Dahlene?
Then they can absolutely trade him.
They have their new franchise defensemen for the next eight years.
Right.
So.
Yeah, much like how when the Edvinton O'Hillars won the lottery, they were able to trade
Nail Yakupov.
What's he doing this year?
He hasn't done anything.
He was in Colorado.
And for a while, he looked like he was doing all right.
And then, well, Nail Yakupov.
Yeah.
All right.
All right.
All right.
So I think he's in all the way you disagree.
Who do you think trade?
But here's the thing who trades from, though, because with Tampa off the table, Nashville.
You think it's like the Nashville Super Team idea?
They'll include Ryan Ellis and they'll throw in some picks.
Can they afford that amount of money, though?
Like, they're going to have to max them.
They're going to have to give him his money.
He's not taking a discount.
Trying to remember what their cap situation is for next year.
Yeah, like if they.
Oh, you're talking about for a one-year rental?
Well, obviously, he's not going to sound like a one-year deal post-post-
No, no, no, no.
I mean, if you're saying that you think he goes.
there for the room like okay
they don't win the cup
Winnipeg beats him in the semis
they go they make the Carlson trade
to get him for the for one season
I could I could buy that
I don't think he goes there long term
no yeah that's probably not the right place
for for a one year but I mean
he could go there for one year
fuck you could go to Tampa for one year who the hell knows
yeah but like to give up the stuff
you're going to give up to get Eric Carlson
you're going to give up like you're going to give up
you have to like with McDuna
I get why you wouldn't trade Surgichev and you wouldn't
trade point. But if you get Carlson, you have to give something off your roster, you're going to have to give
a forward, maybe. Moving on. But the auto is F after the day. Let's talk about the Evander Cain trade.
I understand in both cases, in Peter Shearrelli's case with Pat Maroon and in Jason Baderl's case,
the Van der Cain, both said they only received one offer for the player. Now, in Peter Shearrelli's
case, I don't believe it, because why wouldn't everybody in the league call Peter Shearrelli to be like,
I have a bag of magic beans? Can I have your player?
because Patrick Murom isn't really that good
like if Andrew Kane can do stuff
but that one's weird to me
it's like Andrew Kane's cap it's like what
4 million? No it's more than that
Peter Sierraelli
Hello this is Clay Miro
General Manager of the New Jersey
Levels
You sound familiar
No no no it's a different man
Haven't we talked before about
No no we've never talked about a Taylor Hall trade before
I didn't say the words Taylor click
But in fucking Botterl's case, like, I don't buy for a millisecond that he didn't have offers in the last calendar year for a VanderCain.
He just waited until the deadline and then maybe the market changed.
Or is it a case that we give him a little bit of slack and leeway because at the end of the day, Van der Kaine is a toxic player that can't, it doesn't have a trade value.
It's probably more of that second thing.
But also, like, if you're a Vander Kien.
So, like, whenever GMs come out and talk after the trade deadline, they're always full of shit.
Like, we never, we weren't actively shopping Eric Carlson.
Really?
You weren't?
We, we feel like we can re-sign him on July for, really?
Okay.
They bullshit you.
That's fine.
But here comes Jason Botterill, totally destroying Evander Cain's like summer.
Yeah, nobody wants this guy.
Yeah.
Like, why is that not like frowned upon if you're like in the NHLPA or they go, oh, nobody, nobody else wants you?
He's like, he's like, Mike Dexter and Can't Hardly wait.
Who's going to want you?
Wow.
Somebody.
Good reference.
Yeah, I like it.
Oh, sorry.
It was a Can't Harley right way for it.
No, that's not another teen movie.
The parody of Can't Harley Wade.
Slow clap.
Slow clap.
You just can't do a slow clap.
So the, of course, the worst part about this trade is like, nobody wants to Van der Kaine.
Hi, it's Doug Wilson.
What's up?
Oh, hey, it's Jason Botterill.
Do you want a Vander Kaine?
No.
Okay.
I'll give you a second rounder, though, and then if I decide I'd do one, it'll be a first.
Yeah, sure.
That sounds fine.
Yeah.
That's the best he could do.
But, like, that's pretty decent.
That's terrible.
A first, potentially.
Ryan Hartman moves for a first on a day where a Vanderkane.
Well, that's different.
One of the top, what, 25 goal scores in the league right now, maybe?
Yeah, but he makes $6 million for a minute.
But he's a rental that could help you win a cup and you couldn't get a first round around.
San Jose's not winning a cup.
Oh, I think you're right.
Like right now, I was talking about this to somebody else.
What would you rather have?
Would you rather have Pittsburgh, Nashville, Tampa, or the field?
Because I'm a Pittsburgh, Tampa, Nashville guy.
I'll take the field.
I don't believe in Winnipeg at all.
I'll take the field for two reasons.
I'll take the field because Winnipeg's in the field.
I'll take the field because the sweet golden nights are in the field.
You get Boston in Toronto?
And you got Boston in the field.
Yeah.
And then God forbid the devils take out the penguins, then Washington's in the field too.
Yeah.
You know, that's the thing.
I don't trust any of those teams to win four rounds.
Like Pittsburgh could, I mean, Matt Murray's got a concussion again because somebody hit him in a head.
If the devils take out the penguins.
Oh, here we go.
And the Capitals win their first round series is going to be like Mario grabbing the star.
You're just, the Capitals run to the Cup is going to be like, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do, do the capitals.
Oh, the capitals are going to go through people.
Oh, I thought you were going to go with the devil's angle of it.
Oh, the Devils are toast because the Capitals are going to beat the Penguins, why can't they beat the Capitals?
Because they could beat the Capitals.
Maybe they can.
I don't know.
But I'm saying that if the penguins are out of the way, might as well just give a betcha in the cup.
They're going to win out.
The curse is lifted.
I pick Nashville.
I win it all right now if I had to.
I would take the field.
Speaking of teams that won't win the Cup,
what did you think about the St. Louis Blues
raising the white flag on their season?
A plus.
I love it.
That's great, right?
I love these teams,
these teams that are hanging on
and try to, like, the Islanders, for instance,
like, what the fuck are they doing?
Yeah.
The Blues are like, yeah, we're done here.
Take Paul Stasney.
Love it.
Yeah.
They're honest.
They're honest assessment of your own team.
I love it.
I was blown away by it.
Should have traded more guys.
Yeah, I think that was the only reason I gave.
I gave them the B-minus because I felt like they should have gone deeper with the scalpel than
than they did.
If you're going to scratch Alex Dean for Chris Thorburn two days later,
just fucking trade Alex Dean.
I guess since we've gotten to this part, we should probably talk about John Tavares.
I found it to be fascinating that there was more talk about teams positioning themselves
to maybe get John Tavares and John Taviris's team doing fuck all anything at the trade deadline.
Yeah, but they started off with the Brandon Davidson trades.
So you're like, well, if they're going to have a third round pick for a guy on waivers in December,
they're probably going to do some more stuff.
And they did.
They traded Jason Chimer.
Right.
They made a horrible trade.
And then luckily, maybe it's best they didn't do anything.
But the Canucks, too, with the Cedines.
Like, I don't understand these teams that just can't let their franchise guys go.
The Cidines aren't going to go anywhere.
And out of respect to them, like, we already talked about Vancouver and like PR and whatever.
They can never move them.
A, they can't move them financially, but B, because they want to retire as Cinnocs.
I mean, like, that's the issue is they love Vancouver.
But, I mean, you could just retain 50% of the salary and give.
It's up to them and they're franchise legends.
You can't dictate terms of the Cidines.
I just, that's so annoying.
You can dictate terms to Henrik and then Daniel will feel.
the pain of it. But then you have to explain it to Daniels, then Henrik understands.
By the way, going back to Henrik, I love that the Rangers put out a statement that we're not
trading Henrik Lenquist at the deadline. He's our guy. He wants to be here, which is translated
to. He makes too much money for us to trade him at the deadline. We'll do it in the summer.
No, I say again. Why would he want to be there anyway? Trade protection and he loves where
his stuff is. Henrik. Henrik for Pecca. If the predators fall short in the playoffs again,
because Pecorane takes a dump for a week.
Where do you think Tavares ends up now?
Has the trade deadline changed your opinion on this at all?
Nashville.
Tavaris for Carlson.
There you go.
Solve everybody's problems.
This St. Louis thing is really intriguing.
I feel like there's got to be something there
where all of a sudden there's a lot of discussion about him
maybe going there.
And maybe it's because they have a good team.
Does he know anybody around there?
Is he friends with anybody around there?
Who are his people?
Who are his peeps?
Yeah.
It feels like it's going to be the Stamcoast thing
where he's going to get to test the waters and then...
Because that's the problem is like...
Like Toronto...
Toronto would be great if they needed him.
Nashville.
They don't.
They'd be great if they could need him,
slash a Fortnite.
They don't.
Who else?
It's going to be San Jose, the Blues, or the Montreal.
Right.
It's going to be...
It's like none of the teams that can win cups next year.
Or like the Nashville, Pittsburgh, Tampa, like Vegas.
Imagine Vegas makes it run out of them?
Vegas is...
Is there is, pardon the pun, the wild card,
for, uh, for Carlson and Tavares.
I mean, in both cases, well, in Tavaris's case, they could just sign him out right,
but in Carl's case, man, like they were offering six pieces.
Yeah, I saw that.
But like, what, like, what, like, no one ever said what those pieces were.
You know what I mean?
Oh, uh, I'll say exactly the pieces.
Go ahead.
It was, uh, a night on Bill Foley's yacht.
Right.
Um, it was, it was the rights to Eric Huala.
Uh, it was, uh, it was, uh, it was, uh, it was, uh, it was, uh, it was, it was,
He was one of the 17 goalies in the roster, but not Sue Banner Fleury.
Yeah, like, I mean, six pieces.
If I give you, like, a whole bunch of crap for something that's awesome, that's
matter.
The quantity of the crap doesn't matter me.
I'm going to trade you six baseball cards.
They're all Joey Corr.
You have to give me Frank Thomas's rookie for Joey Corr's.
Yeah.
It's a very sort of let's make a deal thing.
I have got six pieces out of this box or one piece over here.
I'll take the six.
It's six onions and a basket on the back of a donkey.
It's six donkey poops.
Oh.
Oh, it's too bad.
That said, though, man, you could see them making a Carlson.
Like, Carlson to the Vegas makes sense as far as, like, what they're trying to build there.
I guess Tavares does, too.
Who the fuck knows?
Like, them being this good is really thrown a monkey in a ranch as far as what you think they're going to do for the next, like, two or three years.
To that, to that end.
Can they trade for Carlson N signed Tavaris?
Of course they can.
Is that, like, well, they might not be able to.
Rostry, financially.
They have a lot of money in that cap.
They have a lot of UFA.
It's like Peron and Neil.
They have less money now.
They had to take that.
money for the Derek Brasar trade and Ryan Rees.
They had the...
Ryan Rees had some...
Ryan Reeves had some...
That's just some quote that said like he didn't care about the fact that he cost
them the game.
It was not he didn't care.
It was that...
It was that that's just how he plays.
I know he cost him the game by taking these idiotic penalties, but that's the way I play.
That's just how I play.
Like, ah...
George McPhee. Good job there.
But like, what's Ryan Reeves doing on the ice against Sancho Kopitar anyway?
Why would you put him in that position to do that?
What did you think of finally the Toma...
The Tatar trade?
A first, a second and a third.
for Tomash Tatar.
That's the trade deadline thing that I thought was interesting,
was this new way of looking at how you spend your first round picks.
You don't spend them on rentals.
You spend them on guys who have cheap, controllable contracts.
So, like, if that was Vegas' only move that day, I'd be like, yeah, that's fine.
You know, Thomas Tatar helps.
They can keep him around.
He's not a rental.
Same thing with Ryan Hartman.
Even though Ryan Hartman's a weird trade.
I don't really know.
I think that's an okay trade.
I mean, it kind of fits that sort of like Scott Hartnell type player role that Poyle seems
the like on that team.
A little ruffian that can also put a couple goals on the board.
A rhapscalion.
He's a rapscallion.
Bopping people on the nose and scoring goals.
Like an old-timey.
The Queens very rules.
Vegas.
Am I including the Bresard in the grade thing?
C-plus.
I think, well, I gave them a...
They're on that C-plus B-minus border.
I thought the Tatar trade was good, but I felt like why...
I don't know.
I mean, I understand why you give up those assets because you have them.
You're loaded.
Yeah, but like, they're not like, it's not like you can't use them.
They're not goalies or defensemen.
Tatar's a 20 to 25 goal guy.
Does he move the needle?
Is he like a proven, like, going to elevate your team to some playoff greatness kind of guy?
I don't think so.
No, that's why.
Like, I get it, but I would rather.
But here's the other thing, too, though, like.
I rather have sold.
The other thing, too, is that sometimes a lot of these moves of the deadline comes down to the benefit of the doubt.
I feel like Vegas is a lot of least.
way right now as far as like their ability to acquire other team as players oh like they're spending
their capital now on guys like yeah and like like i feel like they put together such a great
fucking team that like i'm going to give them a little bit of rope that this tatar thing's going to
work out why not save those picks though for the carlson run in the summer yeah you know also mike
green how about that the red wings just kind of said ah forget it well listen forget it you know my
theory that i love what that time ran out no my my theory that i love is that uh somebody put this out
and I'm tall in on it.
Only team that really wanted him was Toronto.
Oh, and then he's like, I don't want to go there.
They're like, why?
And he's like, Mike Babcock left me out the 2010 Olympic team and fuck that guy.
I love that theory.
I covered the capitals when that was going down.
It crushed him to not be on the Olympic team.
See, I was going to not have you pay me the 20 bucks for the Mike Green bet because of the neck thing.
But if you're saying your theory is that he just vetoed the deal that he could have done and that was the only deal available.
What was the Mike Green bet again?
That he was going to fetch a first round pick.
And I bet him, I bet you that he would.
would. No, I don't remember that. No, because I feel like it's fair. I feel like that's a no bet based
on the next stuff. It's a total of no bet. Yeah, because of the injury, you're completely right.
I'll say what, though, if you want me to pay up on this bet, what I'll do for you is something special.
What would you do for those 20 bucks? You know, I'm not going to give you 20 bucks, but I'm going to give you what would be 20 bucks in a restaurant.
I'm going to cook you a delicious meal. I thought that we were doing, see-ke. With our friends from Blue Apron.
The leading meal kit delivery service in the U.S., you know, while many people know what Blue Apron does,
many don't know what types of meals you eat when you cook with Blue Apron,
like Quick Bucatini with broccoli and peccary cheese.
And Italian-style shrimp and sweet pepper.
With incredible ingredients and chef-designed recipes, Blue Apron,
lets you see what the power of food can do.
They deliver fresh, pre-portioned ingredients in step-by-step recipes
right to your door that could be cooked in under 45 minutes.
They offer 12 new recipes each week,
and customers can pick two, three, three,
or four recipes based on what best fits their schedule and the menu changes every week based on what's in season.
You get a big box.
It's got all the stuff in it.
They give you a big old piece of paper.
It tells you exactly how to cook the meal.
How big is the piece of paper?
It's large.
I mean, it's not like a banner.
It's like a regular set.
If I put it on a highway overpass, you probably couldn't read it.
Yeah.
But it is larger than I would say about the size of a placemat.
So you could cook the meal and then eat the meal.
on your instructions.
I'm still thinking about the power of food.
That's my favorite Celine Dion song.
The power of food.
You'll have to have food.
I am the greatest singer in the world.
Oh, wait, sorry, it's just them.
The apron's great.
And, like, it makes life so much easier.
Like, we've talked about in the show many times,
you don't go to the grocery store
and pick up a bunch of things and say,
like, I could probably use these fucking
blah blah seeds for something
and then you're like you never use them.
Maybe they're going to be in the box for you and that's what you love.
I use it.
Makes life a lot easier for me to cook food
because I kind of suck at it and they make it easy.
Blue Apron is treating Puck Soup listeners to $30 off your first offer
if you visit blueapron.com slash puck soup.
So check out this week's menu
and get your $30 off at blue apron.com
slash puck soup, all one word.
Blue Apron, it's a better way.
to cook. You know, you ever see the Montreal
Canadians writer for the athletic when it's really cold out?
It's a blue Arpon? It's blue Arpon. Because he's cold and his name's Arpon.
You referenced the Hart Trophy before. We're going to do a public service right now.
We're going to clean it up a little bit for you. I am so sick of you and Lambert having the same
argument every two days about Taylor Hall versus Nikita Kutra. I had to pull back the reins
when doing the impression because I really wanted to do it and not going to do it. Promise them I
wouldn't. Because it's also weird too because like RL
seems like the last person in the world who would just
gravitate towards the guy with the most points
and just have that guy be the MVP.
RL is also the guy that seems to be gravitating towards the guy
who currently has
what is it now?
What?
Total points?
48 games played this season.
Oh, Brad Marchand.
Yeah.
RL seems to be the guy who isn't
the stats guy doesn't really care about
sample size anymore because Brad
Brad Marchand's a beautiful boy to him.
And Nikita Kuthorov's is beautiful.
Russian prince. Like, it's, it's so, it's just so weird how, like, he's so dismissive out of hand
about Taylor Hall. Like, Taylor Hall has such a good case. Most valuable and most outstanding
are two different things. Let's, let's start with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with,
with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with, with,
two, three four. Oh, I'm sorry. Those are the numbers for Andre Vasaleski.
The real reason the lightning are doing so well this season. You're out of your
gourd with Andre Vasselaps. He's, he's, he's as important to the lightning as Nikita
kutroff is. I know Kuchero is. I know Kuch, those are. I know,
Kutcherov's great. I know him and Stamcoast are great. His all-world potential Hall of Fame
linemate that he plays with who's not Kyle Palmieri or Nico Hes, you're a rookie? You mean the
the guy that did nothing to help Nikita Kutroff last season when he had an MVP-type season
because he was out for four months? Come on, come on. He's still Steven Samcoes. He's carrying
Stamcoats. He's lugging. Oh, he's lugging Stamcoast's his bum-wheel all up down the
ice. He's lugging that cartilage-less knee around the ice. Tell me the same percentages of the
other goleys who have been in that this year for the Tampa Bay Lightning. Oh, I can do that.
Here, I'll vamp for you while you're doing it.
Kidukutrioff, got a fantastic case.
But that team is loaded.
It's about value to the team.
Here, I have to adjust it because no other goalie has played more than 22 games.
Yeah, they've, pretty, ready?
Peter Brutai, Peter Brutai, seven games started, 878, save percentage.
Louis Domingy.
Louis Domingue.
Domingo.
Domingue.
Six games played 907, say percentage.
That hurts my cost.
Your giant, grass, so pocket.
declaration of Vandre Vasaleski being a product of his team goes down the drain like so much
poo. If you're going to be an MVP, you need to have a three as your second number and your
say percentage. You got to, you got to crank it above 929 for me. Oh, I thought you meant like an
830. I mean, if it's like 1984. Ante Nemi or Hart Trophy candidate. I just I just think that
in this case, like, listen, I think Kucheroff is a runaway winner for player of the year.
but I don't think the Kutrov
is a runaway winner for the Hart Trophy quite yet.
Here's like, okay, so.
I mean, he's six points up on Malkin.
No, he's for sure got the case.
And he's a zero, he's a one,
is a zero point zero three goals,
points for game up on Malkin.
So Malkin basically is,
is six points away from catching this
runaway fucking standard bearer of
offensive excellence.
Run away,
because he's on the same team as Sidney Crosby.
Like, I don't believe that just because
your team has two other awesome guys that you should never win it.
I agree.
Well, Sid wins it all the fucking time.
Exactly.
But the, so the one, the one that really bugs me, I mean, a lot of them bug me.
Like, the whole fucking Patrice Bergeron's hurt.
Now it's given to Marchand thing.
Like, that's annoying.
It's like a political delegation where it's like, I declare my delegates are now
Brad Marchand's heart trophy delegates.
Thank you, Bergeron party.
Taylor Hall's missed, what, like seven games this year?
Marchand's missed like 15 or 20 plus suspend.
He's missed too many games.
I understand he's having a better year
Every way, Matt
Taylor Hall is 58
at this point.
Marchand's got 48,
so he's played 10 more.
Okay.
Connor McDavid should not win the MVP.
You shouldn't.
He's,
his fucking team sucks.
I'm so tired.
This is like a new thing now
in baseball too,
where like Mike Trout has to be
the MVP every year
because he's super awesome.
Didn't Arod start that one year
where he won MVP for the Rangers?
Yeah.
Yeah.
I was talking this to some of,
I was talking about this last night
with somebody about Ryan Howard
had one of those years too
where like the Phillies barely
made it or almost missed.
I call him Rih-Ho.
Yeah. I know Rih-ho.
We had some hoagies the other day
from Wawa. Like that's fine.
But if your team finishes 20 points out of the playoffs,
I don't care if you have 109 points.
Like I don't care.
Stand tall, Groot, like Ryan Howard.
Bradley, again,
just got to knock off the local references.
I agree.
My take on this losing team with an MVP bullshit
has always been that the objective
of any team that is as bad as the Ebbinton Oilers
is to be as bad as possible in order to improve yourself through the draft.
Everything Connor McDavid does is counteractive to that.
How can you be the most valuable player for your team when you're fucking what they're trying to do with your greatness?
Is he the best player? For sure.
Yeah.
Is he the most valuable player?
No.
Again, but what is valuable about being dog shit?
Mm-hmm.
Like, what is valuable about that?
Mm-hmm.
Like, oh, the MVP of the Arizona Coyotes is Auntie Ranta because he's played well on a complete shit team.
but who's going to ever buy that?
Like, it's true.
No, but like, you have to say to yourself, okay, they have Auntie Ranta and they're, what, 30th in the league?
So if they don't have him, they're 31st.
Yeah, exactly.
Who cares about that level of value?
Yeah.
So Connor has 18 points more than dry sidel, okay?
So that, that's that.
And Hall has, you're just going to die.
You're just going to straight up die when you hear this.
21 or 22, something like that.
Taylor Hall at this point,
I'm going to redo the stat.
I'm going to reload the stats pitch
because I can't even believe
that this is the case.
You're getting squeaky.
That's how excited you are.
This cannot be mathematically possible,
but maybe it is with this point streak he's on.
I'm going to try again.
Here we go.
Ready?
Go for it.
Taylor Hall,
according to national hockey league.com or
NHL.com.
Don't go to national hockey league.
com.
I think it's a.
It's probably a two girls,
one cup side or something.
Taylor Hall,
68 points
Nico Heeshire
41
It's a 27 point gap
And
You can be fucking kidding me
And Taylor Hall's missed
He's played five fewer games
And it's not as though the devils are winning games two to one
And like Corey Schneider or Keith Kincaid
Or whoever in that Eddie Wack is saving the day
Oh my God
Like to every Taylor Hall goal or point
Is the difference between winning and losing all these games
It's insane
And the Taylor Hall case
to me rules out the Claude Jureu case.
Like, Claude Jureu has, he's got a way better team around him.
He's got Jake Vorechek around him.
There's no Jake Vorechick on the dance.
Yeah, and he's not even on the same line as Vorechuk.
Like, Vorichick is playing on another line.
Right.
And so at this point, he is five points up points up on Vorechek as we speak.
Those are two really good players.
Listen, I think he's had a great season, but he's the MVP?
No.
Also, there's always this one guy every year where, like, I think last year it was Nick
Backstrom, where we got to have a guy quote in the conversation.
And this year, that guy is Johnny Goddrow.
Johnny Goddrow's having a really good year.
Listen, I was on.
He shouldn't be in the conversation.
I was in the Johnny Goodrow bandwagon early.
But then everybody in Calgary said to me, hey, listen, I know that you think Mike Smith
is a piece of shit who shouldn't be in the league anymore, but he's actually been really
good this year.
And I'm like, let me take a look at it.
And he's the team.
Also, right.
That's the thing, too.
With all these guys, there's always another guy.
Maybe not with Nathan McKinnon.
Nathan McKinnon has a really good argument for it.
McKinnon has an amazing argument.
McKinnon, as we speak, is 12 points up on Ratan.
He was his linemate.
But he hasn't played like he's missed seven more,
he's missed seven games compared to Raton, 55 games.
But they're not going to make the playoffs.
The guy that has the case.
Give me the guy.
The guy that has a Taylor Hall case that I find very interesting is Copatar.
Now, Copatar has 70 points.
Next highest in the team is Dustin Brown with 44.
That's a pretty fucking large.
spread.
Yeah.
And I think that's, that's the guy if you're a Taylor Hall accolite and you aren't a Devils fan
with complete East Coast bias, like some people in this room, Dave Lozo.
You know me.
I think Copatar is the guy that you look at and say that might be your MVP right there.
I'm fine with Copatar Hall Kutrov.
Anything beyond that.
McKinnon a little bit.
No, Ovechkin?
I don't want to hear about Ovechkin.
I don't want to hear about fucking Kessel and Malkin and Crosby and, and look, it's
tighter this year than it ever has been but
well give me give me
Copa tar what's what's John Quick put up this year
because the devils have the devils have
all right Michael Jonathan Quick
what's ending uh Jonathan quick
49 games
24 wins 23 losses
two overtime losses a 922
245 goals against
922 the devils don't have a guy above
913 in that
like it's bad it's really
Taylor Hall's done way more lugging of his team than I think
Copa tar has completely agree now let's
about some of the other contenders. We've talked about many of these contenders.
Eric Stahl. Eric Stahl has 33 goals.
No. No. Eric Stahl has 33 goals. Now, keep in mind, 33 goals gets you 64 points, which
gets you 11 points more than Michael Granlin, who's second on the team in points, and he is
seven goals better than Jason Zooker. Now, I think that Stahl's had an incredible season.
And like, and like I, I do believe that right now we're getting the Stahl, the Stahl Renaissance
in the media where you're seeing people be like, don't sleep on Eric Stahl as a heart candidate.
And everybody's like, too, too, too, too, too, too, too, right, too, oh my God, Eric Stahl.
And they put him on our shoulders, Eric Stahl, Eric's, and so fucking someone else says,
this guy on Boston should be a Hart trophy winner.
Charlie McAvoy.
Charlie McAvoy.
Oh, it's just like that guy, like that's the thing, too, that her kutcher office,
he's been the guy all year.
And then, like, the last quarter of the year, it's always some other new guy that we got to
in the conversation?
Might I say, to tie into a later conversation,
I think the kid of Kutcheroff was La La Land.
And I think that Sweet Taylor Hall is moonlight.
Rick Nash is, I said this on Twitter,
Rick Nash is Baby Driver.
Why is this is Newark Nage Baby Driver?
Because everyone tells me how great he is and I just don't see it.
I just don't.
He's got some qualities, but he's not an Oscar winner.
Ovechkin is Dunkirk.
He's like a big traditional war movie
That everybody was really high on early on
And everybody kind of forgot
Everyone's kind of like, yeah, I've seen this movie before
Which means that
Who would be Lady Bird?
Taylor Hall's got to be Lady Bird
I think Copatar is probably Lady Bird
Well, no, Copatar
Yeah, Copator is Lady Bird
You know, Greta Gerwig had some accolades beforehand
But maybe not at a heart trophy level
What did she have before this?
She was an accomplished indie actress
She was did Francis Ha
She'd miss Miss America?
I don't know any of those movies.
Yeah, these are indie movies for Snooty New Yorkers that like Noah Bombback.
Two Stanley Cups are not indie movies.
Taylor Hall was in the indie movies.
Taylor Hall is Malkin.
I mean, I'm sorry.
Gritter Girovig is Malk.
No, hey, now you're fucking confusing me.
Taylor Hall is, lady, the Malkin is.
Are you going to do a Bain voice?
No, I was considering that Nathan McKinnon might be the shape of water because
like an avalanche player out of the playoffs
winning the Hart trophy is like fish sex.
He just can't wrap your brain around it.
Well, like, I feel like anything that's evolving
fish fucking probably shouldn't win Oscars.
Unless it's like...
Right, he's not going to win the heart.
Yeah, he's not going to win the heart.
Taylor, like, Lady Bird...
Lady Bird should win the Oscar for Best Picture,
but it won't. That's why it's Taylor Hall.
Eric Stahl is the darkest hour.
Oh, I remember this guy, Winston Churchill.
Gary Oldman makes a lot of sense.
I appreciate the performance
There's pedigree there
We remember Eric Stahl
I don't necessarily think he should win
So what's Andre Vasselisky then in this
And you're
Oh he's a phantom thread
He's an accomplished
Virtua no
He wouldn't be a Phantom Threat
Maybe he's the red a Gerwig
Well no he would need to be like a movie
That's not nominated
That should be
Oh
He's ignored
Oh he's a Florida project
There you go
Oh he's a Florida project
It's in Tampa
Wow
Wow
Yes
Yes can you believe
We don't plan anything for
show so there's like 10 minutes to start.
All right.
So that means, all right, so out of these picks, which, which Boston Bruin is three billboards?
No, three billboards needs to be.
Drew.
No, it needs to be someone who's not having, yeah, three billboards.
I mean, that, in the, in your comparison.
But Marchand and Bergeron are good.
Drew, I mean, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh, uh,
Goddrow would be three billboards outside of Calgary, Alberta.
Yes, where.
you know he's he's he probably shouldn't be up there like hey this i mean there is the foreign press
here in the united states enjoys it but overall overall he don't want him to win the oscar overall
like johnny godreau it's yeah it hurts because johnny godreau's not bad either who's like the
worst possible candidate that's not really good like maybe rick nash again i suppose like the
heart trophy hold on let me here i'll i got the points right here you want them see i had
been called up and then I started looking around for
for metaphors.
Okay.
Kuthorov, Malkin, McDavid,
Drew, Blake Wheeler, not even in the
conversation. Blake Wheeler, I know.
Goodrow, Stamcoast, McKinnon, Ovechkin,
Castle, Kopitar, Voracek, Crosby,
Hall, Barzal, Tavares,
Stahl, Marsa So, Bailey,
Kuznetsoff, your top 20 scorers.
I don't know if there's really anybody that would fit the bill
perfectly. I will say, though, that upon further
review, Taylor Hall is get out.
because he deserves to win and he's not going to.
He deserves to win, but he's not going to.
Hmm.
A perfect genre film.
Hmm.
Wait, are we just doing our Oscars picks now?
Is that what this is morphed into?
Yeah, it's, we're getting there.
So what's the post?
Like, the post is probably Malkin, where, like, I've seen this a million times.
The most of you, that's a Getschkin.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Maybe Malkin's Dunkirk.
Yeah.
Because, like, I'm never going to go see the post.
Right.
Because I know, I can see that movie in my head already.
I know exactly how it goes and how it's shot and how it looks.
Yeah.
Like that's Ovechkin.
Well, Ovechkin hasn't been good the last few years.
Malkin's been consistently good and he's kind of the same as he was.
So Malkin is Christopher Nolan.
He's Dunkirk.
No, Malkins, Malkin's Spielberg.
So you're saying Malkin's the post?
I would say Malkin's the post.
Whoever is leading the penguins and scoring at the moment, whether it was Kessel two weeks ago or Malkin now,
is always going to be to me like that Stephen Spielberg movie that I just don't appreciate it anymore
because I've seen it a million times.
Does Sidney Cross be like Steven Spielberg?
I know, I really appreciate his more
whimsical sort of
childlike tendencies in
Jurassic Park or
E.T. the extraterrestrial
on his adventures on Earth.
So you didn't like, you didn't like
Munich?
I wasn't a fan of, you know,
I like, Munich was a
challenging film. I really
enjoyed the juxtaposition of
coitus and violence
at the end, but
didn't like War Horse,
you know, wasn't a fan of
Bridge of Spies.
Malkin
Gino
sometimes goes by the BFG
which I think is sort of interesting
The BFG
You know it's funny
This is random
But like in the Jonah Carey League
The leagues I'm in
Like we're setting our keepers today for the league
And somebody a couple days ago
Email me and said
Hey I'm interested in this player
And it was from somebody whose name
Whose email address
Was just like a random series of letters
And like at Hotmail or whatever
And it was from BFG
I don't know who it was
I'm like, did the big friendly giant
Just sent me an offer for Russell Wilson?
Well, you remember the BFG from Doom?
This was the big thing when the BFG came out
This film movie. The BFG was the big fucking gun in Doom.
Oh, is that what it was?
Yeah.
It might be a Doom reference.
Could be.
Yeah.
All right.
The Hart Trophy should go to Taylor Hall or Kouppatar.
Or Kutra.
I agree.
Let's just close the gate.
That's it.
I don't want to hear about Drew or the Penguins or Connor McDavid.
Make it those three.
Figure out your shit.
Probably give it to Kopatar.
That's what you pick from.
I say that as a Taylor Hall fan.
The spread between Copatar and Dustin Brown is ridiculous.
The only reason Dustin Brown has points is because of Copa.
How many more points does Copathar have than Taylor Hall at this point, two?
Okay.
Taylor Hall.
In six Fury games?
Has 68 points.
Copatar has 70.
Right.
Taylor Hall has 58 games played Copatar 64.
Dog, give me the points per game.
Points per game.
I bet Taylor 1-1-7.
Copatar 109.
Maggie?
Dog, that's 0.8 difference.
That's 0.4 times 2.
We're looking at the on-based percentage of Melot
versus the on-based percentage
at Duke Snyder right here.
You know, if I had to cast my vote today,
looking at it and seeing where the teams are,
I might, I'm going to give it to Taylor Hall.
But I would consider giving it to Kopitar,
but I'm not going to give it to Kutraoff
over either of those guys.
Copatar's on a better team.
Who's the devil's best defenseman?
The Kopitar is on a better team.
Sammy Vat.
There ain't no Drew Dowdy on the double's blue line.
Drew Dowdy.
Wait until that.
You know, we have at least a,
month and a half before we have to figure out hard trophy votes, wait until thought 31,
you know, there really should be a look at Drew Doughty for MVP.
Drew Douddy, Drew Doughty, Drew Doughty, Drew Doughty.
No, it's going to know, based on what we already said, Elliot's going to propose Alex
Edler.
Because that's why.
That's what he's doing.
He's building up the goodwill so he finds out something about Vancouver.
Well, listen, folks, if you want to go see Alex Edler or Brock Bessor or any of the amazing
Canucks players that are thriving through the toxic adversity of the Vancouver media,
there's only one way to do it.
It's to do it while they play the Rangers and lose somehow.
It's to see them generate 55 points against the New York Rangers and do it with Ziki.
55 points.
55 shots.
God damn it.
You know, when I was about like seven years old and my dad started to take me to Devil's Games,
I used to ask, I used to refer to the shot.
We would lose like 7-0 to the Rangers, right?
And my dad would be all, I hate this.
I wish I had more white cats.
And then my, and I would be like, but dad, we beat him in points.
And I would point to the shots on goal.
And he would go, those aren't point, you idiot.
Stop me in a dummy, you moron.
And he lights up another cigarette.
Whether you're searching for last minute deal or the perfect gift,
Seekek is the farthest easiest way to get tickets to every type of life event.
We both have Seekek on our phones.
By far the easiest way we've found to shop for tickets.
You could be anywhere with just a few taps.
You can instantly find seats.
We've used Seekkekeek.
before to buy a myriad of hockey tickets to New Jersey Devils games and concerts and other
such.
Obviously, you heard I use them to buy a little Bruno Mars action and I see he's going on tour again.
Maybe in Indiana Ruckers Big Ten basketball game tonight.
Wouldn't that be fun?
Well, you can't do it tonight because you're listening to this in the future.
But for the Rutgers next game when they play Purdue after they beat Indiana.
Best of all, our listeners, get $20 off your first Seekek purchase.
Download the Seek app today.
Enter the promo code Soup, S-O-U-P today to get $20 off.
That's promo code soup for $20 off your first Z-KKKKKK.
purchase, but guess what?
What?
There's more.
What?
Seekek has a special NHL offer running.
First-time purchasers can get $30 off any NHL ticket between now and March 15th.
What happens if you use the $30 off to get like a coyote ticket?
The Seekee give you like $24 cash to like use later because there's no way there's any coyotes tickets.
You're going to go ahead.
Yeah.
Like I wonder if you can use it as like a business.
Here's what you need.
Remember that of the promo code.
Keep that in your back pocket for the $20 off.
But for now.
$30 off any NHL ticket between now and March 15th.
Soup 30.
Soup 30.
S-O-U-P-30 for $30 off any NHL purchase.
Not just games between now and March 15th, any game.
So if you've been eyeing a late season matchup, act now and save $30 bucks, that's promo code soup 30.
S-O-P-30, the number 30, for $30 off NHL tickets.
Or just go ahead and use a regular old promo code.
soup for $20 off any first time purchase
to any event. And when you do, please do
send us the photographs of you at these events
because we love to send them on our Twitter
feeds to make Cickey proud of us for doing their bidding.
And then Cicke gives us more money and it's really
it's really just for us. We're just lining our pockets.
All right. It's time for a little Oscar talk.
It's time. We dabbled already. We're going to dive in
deep. Now, Oscars around Sunday. It's a beautiful
time for Oscar. Oscar, Oscar, who will win
in the words of the great Billy Crystal.
The Great Billy Crystal. Best
Original screenplay, Dave Lozo. Get out.
Three Billbirds outside of Ebbing, Missouri,
Lady Bird, the shape of water, and the big sick,
who takes it home?
The Big Sick?
The Big Sick is up for our best original screenplay, Kumail, Nanjiani, and Emily Gordon, yeah.
I was picturing the Steve Corral.
No, not.
A picture of the Big Short.
Yes, the Big Short.
I was like, they came out like two years ago.
It boomerang back around to see if it could get even more Oscars.
They were like to run that clip of Margot Rabe and the bubble bath again,
so we were going to nominate it.
Oh, man.
I forgot about that.
What say you?
Get Out, Three Billboards, Lady Bird, Shape of Water, Big Sick.
Have you seen Three Billboards yet?
No, I haven't yet.
I'm not going to see it before the Oscars, too.
But to me, the only question is, is it going to be a three billboards sweep?
Is it going to be a three billboards bust?
If it's a bust, I think Get Out wins here.
If it's a sweep, I think this wins here.
Like, part of me thinks that, like, Get Out has to get something, and it's not going to get best picture.
So, like, bringing Jordan Peel up on stage.
Like, this isn't how they think when they vote.
The votes just get voted and it happens.
but I'm just so worried that people really like three billboards.
Yeah, it's kind of frightening.
Like, I can't, I don't know if it's just the foreign press that liked it
because it seemed like a lot of people that aren't the foreign press hated it.
Wait, am I picking what I think is going to win or what I want to win?
What you think is going to win.
Okay.
I think Get Out wins.
I think Get Out wins here, too.
Best Adapted Screenplay, Call me by your name, Mudbound Molly's Game, the Disaster Artist, or Logan.
Oh, hi. Hi, Mark.
Hi, Oscar.
I didn't see any of those movies except for Logan.
Except for Logan.
Okay.
Go over them again?
Call me by your name.
This Oscar page is just terrible.
Mudbound.
Molly's game.
That's the Aaron Sorkin film
with Jessica Jastain
and Ronald Eagle poker games.
The disaster artist
Oh, hi Mark.
All right.
And Logan.
Rogan.
So we have such a disappointment to you, pop.
We have to get out of here.
They're chasing us.
What if we just sit at this little farmhouse
and watch the Oscars, Logan?
The Eric LaSalle family wants us to hang out
have mashed potatoes. What could go wrong?
At the very least, we should view Jimmy Kimmel's monologue, Logan.
We got to get out of here. There's murderous monsters
after it's trying to kill us. He made of me too, joke.
It didn't go over well, Logan.
I'll say, call me by your names. I think that's going to win
in a walk. That movie is going to get something. I think people are kind of
pissed off if didn't get more love, and it's a really good adaptation
of the book, so I'll dig that.
Here's one, best original song. I was wondering if
you and I could take an attempt at what each song sounds.
like, because I've never heard any of them.
Let's see.
Remember me from Coco.
Remember me, Coco.
When I go, go away.
Oh, because this is about death.
I didn't even know what the movie's about.
It's about the Land of the Dead.
You nailed it.
Oh, I thought Coco was about the parrot.
No, no.
It was about the history of the Cocoa Bean by Pixar.
It was about George Costanza when he became Coco in the office.
Coco, Coco, Coco, Coco.
I'm fast and I'm mean
And I'm full of caffeine
I'm Coco
Coco is also the sound they make
And the rest of the development
When they clap
Coco
Coco
Has anyone in this family
Have ever seen a chicken?
This is me
From the greatest showman
This is you
This is me
This is everybody
In the circus
Is that how it goes?
Feels right
Mystery of love
From Call Me By Her Name
I feel like that's
A Suconcinec
It's a mystery.
What?
Love.
Mystery.
What love?
Stand up for something from Marshall, which I believe is a Thurgood Marshall movie?
It's actually about the football team.
Oh, we are.
It's the sequel to.
Yeah.
Prequel.
Prequel.
It's like how aliens was to Alien.
Marshall is.
Do we are Marshall?
It's like, I'm a Marshall.
You're a Marshall.
We're all Marshall's.
They're great.
No.
Thir good.
Stand up or something.
And, of course, Mighty River from Mudbound.
Mighty River.
Yeah, that's a deep voice one.
More bound than the mud.
Go with the flow.
Get on the boat.
On the mighty river.
You're going upstream.
You're going downstream.
Mighty River, keep on.
On the mighty river.
I don't even know any of these movies.
I think Coco probably wins.
Yeah, sure, I'll go with that
Best actress in a supporting role
Alice and Janney I Tanya
Lori Metcalf, Lady Bird, Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
Leslie Manville from Phantom Thread
Leslie Mann?
Manville.
She's a Manville, baby, yeah.
Not Jet Apatow's wife.
And Octavia Spencer, the shape of water.
I'm gonna go with
Lori Metcalf.
I say Jenny wins Metcalf should.
Best actor in a supporting role,
Sam Rockwell,
Willem Defoe, Florida Project,
Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards.
Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water,
Christopher Plummer for all the money in the world,
replacing Kevin Space A.
I give you nothing.
And Woody Harrelson from Three Billboards.
You know, I say, I want to believe it's going to be,
if I was a betting man,
I'm looking at the betting odds here,
and Sam Rockwell's the favorite,
I would put some money down on Willam Defoe
to pull the upset here.
I think there are a lot of people
that dig that movie, and they,
and I think the best piece of acting I saw this here
was Willem Defoe in a movie
full of creepy adults that are drug addicted
and are prostitutes
and are living in abject poverty in Orlando
being the least creepiest person in a movie.
That's a great piece of acting to be able to accomplish
that if you're olden the foe.
It's going to be Sam Rockwell.
Like three billboards is going to win some shit.
It's not going to go 0 for nine or whatever.
And also if the Florida project
had more support in the other categories, I would imagine
Wolom DeFoe would have gotten more support in this one.
So I'm going to go with Sam Rockwell
against my better judgment. The best part of a Florida
project is when he's so upset about
the abject poverty in Orlando, he gets on his goblin glider and starts throwing pumpkin bombs at
Cinderella's Castle at the Magic Kingdom.
Well, see, here's what I don't get.
I haven't seen the Florida project, but I don't understand why he's around all these people
that are in such a bad way.
And all he keeps talking about is Andre Vasselowski winning the NBA.
Like, why is that his project?
That seems like a really weird tonal decision in the movie.
Yeah.
But, you know, well, him to folk and pull anything off.
Yeah, indeed.
He's a great actor.
Best actress in a leading role, Francis McImore.
Dorman is going to win.
I don't know why we're talking about anybody else.
Who else?
Who else is in that?
Sir Sir Shoron, Sally Hawkins for the Shape of Water, Margo Robby, and Merrill Street for The Malkin.
I mean the Post.
The Malkin.
See, she's going to win in a walk.
I've seen Lady Bird, and I have seen three billboards, and Sirceerona's way better in Lady Bird.
But Francis McDormon is going to win because everybody wants to just hear another bat-shit speech from her, where she's stalking the stage, like fucking Bill Hicks, you know, talking about the inequities.
She seems so miserable with the Golden Gloves, didn't she?
like she just
you want that
like that's the whole reason
no I want
Sirsheron's accent on stage
for a minute
where she says stuff
with it
anyone who has an
Irish or British accent
is what I want
I'm gonna pick
I'm gonna pick
Sirsha Rona
I'm gonna pick Francis de
Norman
well good news
on that British
accent
because Gary Oldman
minus
3,500 to win
best actor
in a leading role
for the darkest hour
Timothy
Chamal Salome
call me by your name
Daniel Day Lewis
Daniel Klua
from Get Out
and Denzel
Washington
for Roman
J Israel
Esquire, aka the film I will never remember that Denzel Washington made.
I don't understand why he just would have made the Equalizer Part 2 instead of that.
Olben's going to win in a walk.
The kid should win, but he's going to win.
Wait, that's the entire best actor?
Yeah.
I know, you're shocked.
Hugh Jackman for Logan.
Where is that?
How is he not going to win that in a landslide?
But the kid was really good in calling by your name, and I would love if he won, but I don't think he's going to win.
Yeah, it's got to be Gary Olman.
But Gary Olman's won Oscars.
No, he hasn't.
He's nominated, but he's nominated.
but he's not won.
Oh, right.
That's the joke from friends
that I'm going to do on Oscar night
when he was.
He was nominated three times
for playing Commissioner Gordon,
but he didn't win any of those times.
Or I might have that wrong.
This letter
says that you want to win an Oscar.
Impossible.
You gotta retract the bridges
and the narrows.
That's great acting.
Take this and then articulate yourself
and then make more for the city.
But how do I find you?
Remember when Batman would disappear
and he would have that look
of like,
why are your Batman?
man go. Like, that is acting.
That's acting.
Continuing our streak of fucking
dark night references on this goddamn
stupid podcast. We hit the Dark Night
and Friends in like about 2.4 seconds. That paid
out pretty well. Yeah, we fit our head of quota. Best
director, Guillermo del Toro, Christopher
Nolan, Greta Gerwig, Jordan Peel,
and Paul Thomas Anderson.
Now, Guillermo del Toro minus 2000
to win best director. Heavy favorite.
What's the Paul Thomas Anderson movie? A Phantom Thread.
All right. Yeah. It's the sequel of the Phantom
Menace.
Daniel Day Lewis plays Darth Mall
He just dresses
Darth Mall
I hide a tiny stitch
In each
Sith robe
Did you see the onion thing
Where they were like
We're breaking down the Oscars
And today we're going to break down
How shitty Daniel Day Lewis is it acting
And it's like a minute and a half scene
Where he just acts
And like someone voices over and says
As you can see here
The other actors fucking hate his wooden performance
It's so great
No I did not see that
But it does give me a chance
To read my favorite click hole
headline of the week
But go ahead.
Del Toro.
It's got to be Guillermo del Toro, I guess.
I'm sure it is.
He seems like, oh, here's my favorite click hole headline of the week.
No way.
Before they worked together and call me by your name, Timothy Shalameh and Arnie Hammer both lived in fear of the same witch.
What?
It's so bizarre.
God, click hole soon.
I'll go with them.
I'm going to go, I'm going to go, me too movement.
Going to go off the board and go Greta.
Greta Gerwig.
The fact that, wait, I thought Greta Gerwig wasn't.
nominated.
She is nominated.
People were mad that Lady Bird wasn't nominated for something that it should have been.
Oh, no, I'm thinking of Martin McDonough.
You want, Martin McDonough was nominated for director, which is kind of a shock.
So that brings us the best picture.
Three billboards minus 177 by no means, a heavy favorite shape of water plus 180.
Then get out, Lady Bird, Dunkirk, the post, calling by her name Darkest Tower Phantom Thread.
All right.
I'm going to go back and change my Negreda Gerwig.
And I'm going to say best picture goes to, oh, God.
I'm going to go with the chalk.
I'm going to say three billboards.
I can't.
Where was Get Out?
In the,
in the bed of field?
It was third.
Plus 1389.
Plus 1389?
Yeah.
I'm going to go with three billboards because I'm going to go with the chalk.
I don't believe that there are enough academy members that are going to vote for a horror movie or a fish fucking movie.
But they'll vote for an Englishman or an Irishman taking a look at racism in America.
They'll cast their vote and be like, does this make me woke?
I feel like I'm woke now.
But wouldn't Get Out be the more woke vote if you're going to do that?
Yeah, but it's a horror movie, and they never vote for horror movies.
The last movie that you could say was a horror movie that won best picture was what?
Fucking Silence of the Lambs.
But Get Out, it explores those same themes, but also doesn't do it shittily.
Yeah, I know that, but it's a horror movie.
You're asking for them to vote for a genre movie, I don't think they will.
I hope they do.
Nothing would make me happier than if Get Out One, but I don't think it will.
There's a scene in three billboards.
I can't get out of my fucking head.
It was so badly written and so dumb.
Yeah.
I think Lady Bird should win, but three billboards is gonna win.
The answer is, of course, the Florida Project, the best movie of the year, but unfortunately, it's not nominated.
Not nominated, yeah.
And that was Greg and Dave do the Oscar.
Go buy popcorn, go buy soda.
I gotta go see Black Panther tomorrow, too.
Oh, I haven't seen it either.
And unfortunately, like, Ruby and I were both like, oh, we should go see some Oscar movies.
And we were like, except we both want to see Black Panther in annihilation more.
We haven't seen either than that.
I don't want to see Annihilation.
I do.
Come on, it's going to be great.
I understand why Natalie Portman's like
built on the whole Marvel universe thing,
but she wants to go to a movie
where she fights alien.
It's not aliens.
It's mutant creatures.
Have you seen annihilation?
No.
No.
It's like Pokemon.
She's fighting Pokemon.
It's like two animals mesh together.
So it's like a snake-alope.
If you could just work wrestling into that description,
that'd be the worst movie I'd ever have to sit through in my life.
I'm only going on the hopes that she does her character from Jackie.
throughout all the violation.
You have to get away from the snake elopes.
Check.
Check, the snake elopes are coming, Jack.
Aren't the snake elopes the thing that Batman's afraid of in Lego Batman?
Snake elopes.
Is that what this movie's about?
Oh, no, it's clown snakes.
Right, clown snakes?
Clown snakes.
Then I guess nothing.
Master Bruce, you should really hang up the cowl.
You've lived a good life.
You've avenged the parents.
But what about the snake elopes?
Impossible.
I was born among the snake elopes.
You really adopted them.
The question of the week was,
what's the best thing and the worst thing about your owners in the NFL?
Do you feel in charge?
Oh, God.
I was nothing before I wore the snake elope.
They should redo Mad Max and have him do the Bain Voice, the whole movie.
The entire movie as Bain.
In Bain Voice.
He has to.
a mask in the beginning that could just be like, oh, that altered his voice and then redo it and just
all the bullet fallers.
He doesn't have a lot of lines in that movie.
No, he should redo that movie with, I was in with Chris Pine and Reese Witherspoon, where
there are two like spies trying to vie for her heart.
Oh, yeah.
Yeah, that was a bad movie.
Reese Whitherspoon.
That movie should have been better.
You were wonderful.
In election.
He's like, there's that one scene where he's like in her apartment, like, doing stuff,
while she's cooking.
But imagine him doing that with the Bain mask on.
Just rolling around with the big coat on.
Pass me the oregano.
I need it for this dish.
What is the best thing and worst thing about your owners?
Yeah, there's some question of the week.
There's some people who are expressing this pleasure.
Terminally chill on James Dolan.
Best, he leaves hockey to the hockey people and the team can spend to the cap.
Worst, he also owns the Knicks.
Yeah.
has a lot of James Dolan ones that are like that
where he's rich but he happens to also own the team.
The O'Neill Factor says of Jeff Moulson,
someone with the same name, last name of the same,
was in charge when we won most of our 24 cups.
Worst, we're going to remain at 24 for as long
as Mark Bergevan as the GM.
What do you think happens first?
The Canadian franchise wins the cup
or the Capitals win the Cup.
Canadian franchise.
Yeah, probably.
Either Toronto or Winnipeg will.
You're really sold on Winnipeg.
I'm just like, that Stazney trade, man.
They shit their pants in that Predators game after the deadline.
Yeah, it wasn't their best look.
That wasn't good.
John Spur says, worst, he's Eugene Melnick.
Best, he's clearly not very healthy.
Oh, my God.
Oh, God.
Kyle Crabtree, Ron Burkle.
He only uses the negative, I believe,
which is just that he's a Patriots fan.
Some of these are just like, they just have, like, lists.
Like, I'm supposed to know which owner this is.
Like, TV says best.
I legitimately worked to bring NHL back to small market city.
Worst, unabashed military patriot boosters.
That could be like six different owners.
He really could.
By John L. Masek,
best thing he's not the old one is this a Hurricanes fan.
That cancels out any of the bad stuff.
That's a good point.
Best, he literally bought the Red Wings Force Stanley Cups.
Wurst. He died in 2017 and left Ken Holland in charge.
Jesus.
Nikki T. writes at the Sabreful Red Wings fans.
Nicky T. writes at the Sabre is best.
He's willing to spend worse.
He's willing to spend on dumb things and contracts.
There's a couple that said this.
Jackie B. Devil is best.
They have money and stay out of the way for the most part.
Worst the Sixers.
Like, why? Sixers are a fun little team.
A couple of people have mentioned the Allenders.
This was one of them from Failed to Clear.
Good. Getting our team a new building.
Bad.
Aloof to the fact that the team's management is a country club of buddies and old teammates,
thinking that Tavaris and Barzell are enough and being blind to the team,
not proactively taking steps to make this team better.
hashtag snow must go.
Wow.
Bitter Islander fans out there.
You think he goes in the summer?
Do you think that's...
It depends.
How many years does he have on that contract
you exclusively reported on the podcast?
I believe he's at like six or seven.
But again, if the average is
$2 million a year, that's a pittance
for those rich guys. Come on.
From Chris needs sleep.
King's owner, A.A.G.
Pro doesn't care about teams,
so he lets his management do what they want.
Kahn doesn't care about teams,
so he lets his management to what they want.
See, Eric Sondman says he is in hot legal trouble with Jared Kushner.
Now I've got to tap on Eric Sondman and see where he's from.
Oh, he's from Jersey.
So he is in hot legal trouble with Jared Kushner.
Who is that?
Who would that be?
Is that devil's ownership?
I don't know.
Rachel from about Vegas, he bought us a hockey team.
Worst.
You really can't pass the hole he bought us a hockey team thing, she says.
I don't know why people in Vegas are already, they're already, you know.
She says it's great.
She's very happy.
I believe she's saying that she's tired of hearing about it at this point.
Oh, okay.
I guess I can kind of see that.
Finally, we'll go with, oh, we'll go with Yo Kali about the Winnipeg Jets.
True North Sports and Entertainment.
Best, stable ownership that won't move us to Arizona, right?
Worst location.
By the way, that was the greatest part about Ryan McDonough's goodbye letter in the Player's Tribune.
He said the thing he's in a miss most is the wide.
FI in New York.
Damn.
Did you really say that?
No.
Oh, okay.
Because it's time one.
And honestly,
he'd be lying.
If he said that.
All right.
That's the show for this week.
We're done.
That's it.
We are done as it were.
Thanks to nobody for being a guest because no one was a guest.
Next week,
we may have one of our bigger guests.
Oh, yeah.
Who's not one of our bigger guests.
I mean, he's going to be a big guest in the sense that, like, he's going to be a, he's
proportionally a bigger guest.
Yes.
But it's not for sure.
Not for sure. We don't want to spoil it, but we are very excited about it.
And yeah, there it is. I'm Greg Wachinsky of ESPN. You read my stuff at Wichinsky on Twitter. You can read all of our trade deadline coverage from the week on ESPN.com. My Friday column, the weekly reader publishes on Friday. Spoiler alert. And we'll cover many great things, including some stuff from the Sloan MIT conference and about the Rangers rebuild. You had one last question about Sloan about millennials that we didn't cover.
Oh, no. It was just the whole biometrics thing.
Don Fear was talking about how...
It wasn't Don Fear. It was Chris Capuano who said that.
No, but like, Don Fear made the point that, like,
the, the, the, the medical stuff
was something that they didn't want to have...
Yeah, it was private. But, like, that whole thing is just posturing.
That's... They don't really care.
No, they care. Um, but they, but it is posturing.
Yeah, it's at the end, everything they say is posturing. Everything he says is
posturing. But like, the players, the players really do have an issue with, like,
like, their heart rate being on television one day.
But the whole argument was just like, you can use that information that twist
it to use against, but you can do anything you want with data.
You can use it to twist it to show good stuff too.
Yeah, you can.
So the whole thing is just, it's a whole negotiating tactic for 2020 or whatever the hell
we're going to do.
They clearly think that it's one one plank that they can stand on against the owners.
Yeah, like, it's going to happen.
Oh, but the thing was in your story.
I kept going back to your original tweet to see if anybody called you on it.
Because, like, there's one point in the story where you're like, you know, while,
while millennials love to give away all the minute details of their lives online,
some people don't.
And that was like the argument for going into why, like, Chris Capuano.
Chris Cappuano, his theory was that younger generations of players would be more adept to have their information be public because they put their lives online.
Right.
On the Instagram.
Like Leon Drysidal's like, hey, what's up?
Here's my heart rate.
Yeah, right.
Yeah.
Here's my Fitbit.
Like, I just cooked this ravioli meal.
By the way, this is my, you know, I don't have butt cancer.
And here's the cardiogram.
You know, yeah.
Here's how predisposed I am to the following diseases.
Like, okay.
Sure, Leon, thanks.
It's kind of fun.
Yeah, but it's just totally going to be a thing that makes the lockout last two weeks longer than it should.
And how?
That's great.
All right.
That's the show for this week.
And we'll see you next week.
And thanks for a list.
Oh, Patreon coming up, mailbag.
You want to be there for it.
And also our March episode, bonus episode on the Patreon as well.
Yeah, we can do that next week.
Yeah, we'll drop it next week.
We'll tell you about next week.
But it's really fun.
You're going to really like this one.
This was a good choice.
It was good.
And, yeah, we'll, uh, closing it out.
on my most valuable primate territory as well.
Getting there. Getting there.
Getting there. All right, everybody. Thanks for listening. Bye.
Today's episode of Puck Soup was sponsored by Health IQ.
Health IQ believes the best way to improve the health of the world is to celebrate the health
conscious through social and financial rewards.
So they use science and data to secure lower rates on life insurance for the health conscious
people, including runners, cyclists, strength trainers, vegans, and more.
To see if you qualify, get your free quote today at Health.
iq.com slash soup or mention the promo code soup when you talk to a health IQ agent.
That's health IQ.com slash soup to get your free quote.
So if you're one of those healthy types and you want to maybe get some lower rates on life insurance,
health IQ.com slash soup.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies.
his shoes, it's in tools.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
Bork too.
