Puck Soup - Year Of The Streak
Episode Date: November 29, 2022Sean and Ryan talk about all the streaks in the league this year, Seattle's hot start, the Rangers' struggles, the Roope Hintz contract, and more. Sponsored by Uncommon Goods (uncommongoods.c...om/puck) and Betterhelp (betterhelp.com/puck)
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slap shots and goons.
We've got sportly commentary to what if you commute.
We also cover movies, TV shows, it's in tunes.
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense.
I'm Ryan Lambert from Elite Prospects.
I'm Sean McAdoo from The Athletic.
And, hey, did you see yesterday, Sean, that there's a new Metallica album
coming out early next year?
I did see that.
Now, they're doing a big tour, okay?
And it's in the summer,
so they're doing like stadiums and stuff like that.
But they're doing a gimmick of,
if you come see us
two nights in a row at every venue,
we will play two completely different sets.
You won't see one songs
from the night before.
And this to me is like a bold
gambit, you know?
Because, like, if you're a certain kind of Metallica fan, you're like, hey, I only want to hear, I guess the me kind of Metallica fan.
You're like, I only want to hear this stuff from like 1988 and earlier, please.
And I was, but this got me wondering, because like, I'm going to go to at least one of these shows, probably not to.
Are they, are they like, do they give you the set list in advance or am I?
I don't think, I can't imagine.
Okay.
I can't.
Because I got, like, I'm, like you.
I like, I'm not a.
Metallica fan, but I like Metallica. Fine. I've just not, you know, it's not a band that I follow.
But if I went to a Metallica concert for two hours and they didn't play Enter Sandman, I'd be like,
I'd still be there at the end. Like, they'd be like, after the encore, I'd still be sitting there.
Like, no, they're coming back out and doing Sandman and they'd be like.
They turn on all the lights in the stadium. They're like sweeping. The guy pushes a broom in front of you.
Exactly. Exactly. And I'm like, nah, no, you're not going to get me. I know. All right. So,
So you take your, yeah, this feels like a way to make you buy two tickets.
I got to be honest.
Right.
I like, I appreciate the framing as like a service for the fans, but yeah.
Yeah.
The problem with Metallica's discography for me is that there's a lot of bullshit mixed in there that I don't want to get involved with.
You know, if I have to sit through, I don't know, unforgiven tour or whatever, I'm going to, I'll leave.
That's it.
Bye.
You know.
But, yeah, I guess what I was wondering with you is, like, is there a band where they could get you to go to two nights in a row if they played in your city?
Yeah, I would, uh, nice nails for sure, and I would probably do the Guns and Roses reunion.
Yeah, G&R, I figured, I figured on GnR.
Well, I mean, the thing with Guns and Roses is like, they're, they, they don't have.
that much like they only made really three real albums so to stretch out you know i'm assuming
the concerts are like you know two plus hours like yeah i would think i don't know like i mean
they're getting pretty close to like having to do all the material and they're good when they do
covers and stuff like that but um and nine inch nails is no problem there's like a huge amount of
it see that's the thing i have like almost no familiarity with nine inch nails yeah yeah so
Like, it, Ninth Nails is...
How many records do they have?
I really don't know.
And they're, you know, still putting out new music.
Yeah.
So, oh, there you go.
You'd be okay.
What about?
I figure you've got to have a pretty decent list.
There's a hundred bands that I would be like, yeah, I'm happy to see them.
Metallica is not one of them.
Well, so Metallica would be if they could ensure me that the set list, like, this would be a thing where I was like looking up set lists from other nights.
Yeah.
Because I love their first four albums.
I know those things front to back, you know, every song is as familiar to me as like the back of my hand, you know?
And then obviously I know songs out the Black album and every once in a while, like a song off Death Magnetic or whatever came out in like the early 2010s, maybe late 2000s, Death Magnetic, I think.
It's got some good songs on there.
But for the most part, there is so much.
garbage in their discography that I just I can't like I can't I couldn't I couldn't take the risk that
I would get like 40% off songs off load reload and like sane anger you know what I'm saying
I just because it's I'm assuming the tickets are going to be like 90 bucks a pocket well yeah that's
that's the thing right it's these these aren't going to be cheap shows now it pardon my ignorance
but like they're putting out a new album is this have they been putting out new music is this
in a while?
It's been a few years, I would say, maybe five or six since the last one, which was like a perfectly okay record.
But I'm just, you know, the whole time I'm just sitting here going.
Yeah, Hardwired to Self-Destruct was 2016.
The Death Magnetic was 2008.
So, you know, they put out an album every seven or eight years at this point, it looks like.
Okay.
Which is, that's not,
they're still very much active.
Like you could have told me they broke up and reunited and everything,
and I wouldn't, I would not know.
Yeah, they're big, like,
they tour kind of a lot.
They played Boston last summer.
Okay.
And, yeah, I don't know.
Like, this new one, like I listen to the single,
which I very rarely do for a record that's coming out
that I have an interest in.
And it's like, oh, they're kind of doing like a Metallica take on a motor
head song, which, you know, that's going to get me in the building.
But that's also the single.
So who knows?
Now, let me just ask you this.
If I go to one of these concerts and they don't play a song that I like, is there any service
where like when I get home, I could just download an MP3 for free that would, that I could
then have of that song?
I mean, you can't, I don't think, well, I guess you can't download on like Spotify,
can't you?
Okay.
And it's basically free.
Like Lars Ulrich will get, you know.
0.0001
cents.
As long as he's,
okay,
as long as he's
getting something,
I feel all right.
Yeah.
Okay.
Yeah.
It's tough.
They're a,
they're a band that,
um,
they've monetized everything.
They're,
they're doing the,
the,
uh,
uh,
space balls thing.
Metallica,
the fucking whiskey.
They have,
they have,
they literally have a whiskey.
I,
I wish I was joking.
That is.
Thank you.
Uh,
yeah,
they literally have a whiskey where every,
like,
cask of it or whatever.
or whatever, they have put it on top of like a subwifor or something like that and played a
unique Metallica playlist into it.
Oh, wow.
And so like every, every bottle of blackened whiskey you have, they're going to go, oh, you,
this is the one with like, ain't my bitch was the first track on it.
Are you excited about that?
And I'm like, that is no.
Okay.
First of all, that is fantastic.
And second of all, when you were, when you were starting to tell me that, like, I cut you off twice as you were saying whiskey.
So I honestly thought you were telling me they had a whisk, like a kitchen implement that was like metallic branded.
And I was like, yeah, it wouldn't surprise me at all.
There's probably one out there.
Yeah.
But, you know, hey, if they if they were just like on this show, we're going to play a lot of songs off Master of Puppets.
I'd be like, well, I got to go to the Master of Puppets nights.
It's don't I, you know?
What am I going to say?
It's one of the great albums of all time.
But anyway, yeah, let's talk about hockey.
I like Metallica, I guess is my point.
But the number one news story of the week, I think, in hockey is we have some goaltending controversies and not the kind we're used to in like Minnesota or whatever.
This is the kind of goaltending controversy where goalies are just like throwing the net off the pegs at 100 miles an hour.
Won't somebody think of the goaltenders, Ryan?
So the Matt Murray thing, obviously, he knocked the net off three times in one game.
He, yeah.
So what happened is, first of all, he did it once in the New Jersey game, which was just this course was the game where the Leafs beat the Devils and snapped the streak, but the Devils had three goals a waived off.
And Devils fans are very displeased with how that whole game was.
played out. And as part of that, there also was a play where Matt Murray went across the crease
so hard that he knocked the net off and they then had to spend five minutes fixing the net.
Now, some people say Matt Murray broke the net. Other people say, no, no, the fact that they
had to fix it is proof that the peg was not functioning properly and that's why it went off
and, you know, et cetera, et cetera. But then the very next game, Matt Murray knocks the net off three
different times against Minnesota.
Yeah.
And including at least one that I would say was a very obvious.
I think it was the second one was like,
the second one.
Not subtle.
And by the way, these are all happening in like cases where either the other team has
a scoring chance or it's the leaves are pinned in on a long shift or something like that.
And he's not the only one,
but the fact that it happened that many times in a short period,
the fact that it's the Maple Leafs,
it got people talking about it,
and now people are noticing other goals.
I think Spencer Knight had one last night and stuff like that.
So we are having a conversation about goalies knocking the net off,
and it's become this whole thing.
I'm describing all of that, like from my perspective,
as just somebody who's watched hockey my whole life
and seems to think that I can recognize
when a goalie is doing something on purpose.
But I have to say that there's also this other side of it,
which is the goaltending brigade immediately showed up
to defend the honor of the noble goaltender.
He's actually never meant to knock the net off in his entire career,
and in fact, never done anything wrong.
Yeah, so I'm getting lots of experts.
Like Mike McKenna was very vocal.
on Twitter coming after people.
He, at one point, I believe, unironically, although I could be wrong there,
used the term goalie shaming for what people were doing.
No way.
Come on.
That rocks.
That's so cool.
Yeah.
And look, a lot of people are explaining that, you know, hey, some of these, and I would
agree with this.
Like, sometimes the net just comes off in the course of a goaltender doing regular goal.
things. And now that we're talking about it, people are seeing it everywhere. And maybe there's,
like, like in the, in the Minnesota game, I would argue the third time that it happened with
Murray, that one looked maybe accidental. Partly because he hits one post and like the other one
pops off. And there's also a middle ground, right? There's like times where it's completely
unintentional. There's times where it seems very intentional. And then there are times where
goalies are just like becoming increasingly aggressive with how hard they go up against the post.
They're sealing it off.
They're using the post sometimes to push off to the other side.
And maybe it's one of these like accidentally off-purpose things.
Like I'm going to hit the post really hard.
I'm going to that way I'll know that I've got that side sealed.
And whatever happens.
Also, yeah, if I happen to knock the net off, then oops, I guess my team just gets a stoppage.
But that that literally happened last night in the Oilers.
Panthers game. Spencer Knight.
Yes, that was the one.
Same thing. They're pinned,
they're pinned it down in their own zone.
And so the puck's within,
what, like eight feet of the net.
McDavid's lurking right there.
Spencer Knight goes up hard against the right post with
first his arm, then his skate,
and he pushes across and the,
the net comes flying off and McDavid turns to the
ref. Like he, you know, he had like
a Rube Goldberg
system rigged up, you know?
Yep.
So, like, again, it's just, and then you got to talk about it on the broadcast and the guy who's the ex-goly's like, oh, it could go either way.
And the other guy's like, come on, you know.
Yeah.
You know, it's the classic thing.
We're going to do, we're just going to have this argument forever.
Anytime a goal he knocks a net off, every goal he's going to be like, he's actually never meant to do that.
Exactly.
And everybody else is like, obviously this is what happened.
So as, as.
rulebook guy, this is the part where I say that that is a penalty.
Knocking the net off intentionally is a delay a game penalty.
But it is a judgment call by the official.
So anytime either the goalie or anyone on the defensive team knocks the net off,
the referee has the ability to say you did that on purpose.
It's a two-minute penalty.
It's rarely called.
but the league here could certainly take this opportunity without rewriting the rulebook
or making new rules or anything.
Just send out essentially a memo to the official saying, hey, as a reminder, you have the
ability to call this.
If it's intentional, go ahead.
We will have your back, et cetera, et cetera.
Just make it clear that this is how it's expected to handle it.
Right.
The other way this could go based on how some people are.
sort of framing it is this could turn into a thing where people go, hey, we should treat this
the same way we treat the puck going over the glass, just make it an automatic penalty.
The neck comes off and the defense was the last team to touch it.
It's an automatic two-minute penalty.
And that would be awful.
Like that would be, again, we're right back to the puck over glass stupidity.
But that's the part that worries me here because it's clearly being done on purpose sometimes.
and it's clearly being done accidentally on purpose other times.
It should be a penalty.
It should be we don't want this to catch on and become even more of a thing than it already is.
But again, like our classic NHL, do nothing, do nothing, do nothing,
and then swat the fly with a sledgehammer.
And you could just see them doing that and turning this into a real mess.
I really hope they don't do it.
Just call it the way it is in the rule book, which is if it's intentional,
then feel free to call it a penalty.
If that means that a couple of times a year,
we get a penalty called on a play that actually turns out not to have been intentional,
oh,
well, that's life in hockey.
Yeah,
I think all the time we kind of accept that,
you know,
a ref's going to maybe get a tripping penalty wrong or a high stick or whatever.
But in situations like this,
it feels like you literally can only have it go one way.
You know,
like if it's not 100%,
certainty, how dare you ever make that call?
And look, I mean, imagine if we did it as an automatic penalty.
And now you've got to have all the officials huddle up and go like, well, I saw the forwards
forearm touched the crossbar.
So maybe he pushed it off.
But also he was being pushed from behind.
So is it, it would just be, it would be such a mess.
And the other thing that would happen is, you know, you could see it being a case where they
would have to write in an exception that, like, if the peg malfunctions, then it's not
penalty. So now get right, we already have these video coaches who have become like the stars of
the game looking for off sides. Now we get each team has their maintenance guy ready to go so
that if the goalie pushes it off, no, no, you get out there with your little drill and your turkey
baster and act like you're fixing the peg for, it's going to be such a mess. I got to say,
ever since I was a little kid, the fact that they're, that they have to have like a turkey baster,
I thought that was so funny.
very funny, yeah.
You're going to get all that water out of there.
How else are you going to do it?
You need a turkey baser.
It makes perfect sense.
But like who's the first guy that came up with that?
He's a genius.
I mean, it was probably the very first guy.
And he was like, I'm just going to do this temporarily until we come up with something way better.
And no.
Yeah.
That's like how the first ice resurfacing machine was like horse drawn.
Yeah.
Or whatever.
You ever see this?
We should still be doing that.
Very cool.
Yeah.
100% agree, especially.
Just so we can see the Leafs lose to a horse-drawn Zamboni rider.
I was going to say, the horse beats them.
Yeah.
Hey.
Just a Clydesdale out there and pat.
There's nothing in the rulebook that says a horse can't play goalie for the Carolina hurricane.
That's what I'm saying.
Can't beat the Leafs, certainly.
But yeah, all of this has reminded me, whatever, the last week it's been,
has reminded me of when I was a little kid.
there was a goalie for B.U.
I can't remember this guy's name for the life of me.
But his thing was like if he was facing a two-on-one,
he would act like he was backing up into his net
and then like go to stand up and make a say,
but oh, I didn't realize I was under the crossbar
and I threw the net off.
Whoops! And it happened all the time.
Never a penalty and ever happened.
Love it.
Awesome. Cool shit.
Yeah.
The other goaltending controversy, of course,
is that Connor Hallibuck gets his mask knocked off.
I can't remember who they were playing,
but he gets his mask knocked off.
And then the rest are like,
well, obviously you can pass it around for another 20, 30 seconds.
That's no problem.
Oh, they did it.
Stop it.
Stop it.
It was three seconds.
And the other team had the puck the entire time.
He's lying face down on the ice after he gets his helmet knocked off.
Yes.
Right.
Because, yeah, so the.
other team has an open net and we're supposed to blow the play dead now let's let's say this um
if the puck was behind the net for part of this sequence it was it was three seconds you go go and
watch it's it's it's a very quick thing and also he is lying off to the side of the net so it's
not like he's in the middle of the net he was i'm i'm all for player safety i'm not for
exaggeration and silliness and connor helibick was not placed in some sort of
life and death situation here. He's lying off to the side of the net. And it's important to point
out his mask was knocked off by basically his own player. It was a situation where the Dallas guy
gets shoved into him. His mask pops off. Dallas has the puck. Carter Hellebuck is laying at the side
of the net with his head in his hands, either because he's selling an injury or maybe because he's
protecting himself because he doesn't have his mask. The net is wide open. Dallas has the puck. They
pass it out in front and shoot the puck in the
the net and Winnipeg complained saying why didn't you blow the whistle we've we've seen this
situation before in fact we saw it again there was another game over the weekend where it happened
yeah um and it always comes up why do we not immediately blow the play dead when a goalie's mask
comes off under any circumstances and that's a fair point i get that that that's not how the rule
works right now right now the rule says if the goalie loses his mask we blow it dead immediately
unless there is an imminent scoring chance and imminent is not well defined.
But I would argue a wide open net where a team has possession of the puck and passes it in front.
Like that's pretty imminent.
So the Jets Dallas thing was called correctly based on the rule book, but maybe we should change the rule.
Maybe we should make it safer for goalies.
Maybe we should just say goalie mask off, automatic whistle.
Doesn't matter if the puck is right, is going in the net.
it's immediately a stoppage.
And then Matt Murray is in the lab
putting together like a
again like a Rube Goldberg machine
that pulls his mask off the second there's a
two on one.
Which goalies already do.
We have seen goalies
a hundred percent.
Flip their own masks off to get stoppages.
Now usually it's because
they're not just doing it just to stop the play.
It's because they've popped a strap or something
and this is their way of letting the ref know, hey, like, I need a stoppage.
But goalies do it.
And we just finished saying with Matt Murray, everyone agrees that him and other goalies
are intentionally delaying the game.
So I'm just saying if we say automatic stoppage every time a mask comes off,
get ready to see a lot of masks coming on.
And maybe you're fine with that.
Maybe you say, you know what, if we get, if we have a hundred annoying stoppages,
but it saves one goalie from taking a puck in the face, it's worth.
it. You know what? I'm
very open to that argument. I'm
I don't want to be sitting here saying don't do
it and then at some
point the worst happens and
somebody takes a slap shot in the forehead
or worse
and we've got a catastrophe
on our hands. Maybe we do it that
way. But
let's also not
be
you know, silly here.
Like anytime I bring this up,
people are like, are you suggesting a goaltender
would take his own mask?
Yes, I'm 100% suggesting that.
Yeah, 100%.
That absolutely would happen.
But maybe we do it anyways.
Maybe this is just one of those things where I'm just saying if we do it, you know, I'm always talking about the unintended, unanticipated consequences.
Like this shouldn't be unanticipated.
Mass will be coming off often if you give it an automatic stoppage.
And maybe one of the things we need to look at is say, okay, you know what?
If a goaltender's mask comes off, either through a result,
own actions or a teammate or, you know, like the Connor Hellibook situation, it's an automatic
stoppage, but it's also a penalty on the defending team. Because if we're, if we're just talking
about player safety, if we're just talking about not making sure the goalie doesn't have his life
put in danger, then, hey, what's a two-minute penalty? So what? But if we're talking about,
hey, I want a quick, easy stoppage, then, you know, I mean, I don't think anyone should object to a
penalty if it's really about safety and not just about giving goalies another way to
prevent fun stuff from mapping.
Right.
Yeah.
And, you know, the thing that would happen if you kind of put any kind of qualifier on
it's an automatic stoppage, but is, again, like the goalie club or alliance or whatever
you want to call them, they would all act like, remember when the slap,
happened on the Oscars.
And Judd Apatatat was like, he could have killed him.
Yep.
Do you remember this?
Yeah.
That's what it would be like.
It would be people just being like...
Well, they're already saying that now, right?
Like, Connor Hellebuck, like, literally, if you haven't seen the play, you...
It makes it sound like he was unconscious, strapped to a chair in the middle of the net,
and the officials like, put the puck down 10 feet in front and let Jamie Ben or whoever take a slap shot at him.
By the way, one other point on Connor Hellebuk.
And again, like I'm being, I'm being a bit of a wise ass on some of this.
But I do support the idea that, hey, player safety, first and foremost, let's look at it.
I thought that he and, you know, Connor Halbuck himself, frankly, was, seemed a little overdramatic about the whole thing and, and certainly some of the fans and everything.
I'll just say this.
If we're really so worried about player safety and that's what this is about.
and it's not just about, hey, we, we wanted a goal taken off the board based on a technicality,
but it's really about player safety.
We're really concerned about the safety of these players.
Here's an idea.
How about if a guy lies on the ice with his head in his hands, we take him out of the game.
What happened to the quiet room?
What happened to concussion spot?
There you go.
I think, I think you cracked it.
I think that's the, you know, if you're going to act like you're, again, in imminent
danger or whatever.
Yeah.
Because you got hit in the head and your,
and your mask came off.
Fair enough.
I'm not saying he wasn't hurt.
I'm saying he really, really, really looked hurt.
So either he's hurt and get him out of the game or he's not hurt and he's selling it
to try to get a stoppage, in which case, let's dial down the, oh my God, he almost
died dramatic.
Like, it's to say, we had this debate in a slightly different way a couple years ago.
Remember there was that play and was a St. Louis where the goal he got hurt?
Was it St.
Lewis, Dallas, goalie gets hurt, takes a slap shot off the cross off the collarbone,
stays down and the other team gets the puck and scores.
And people are like, oh my God, why didn't we stop?
Yeah, if you want to stop the play every time a goalie looks hurt, go ahead.
Get ready for a epidemic of goalies being injured all the time.
And like I feel like this is one of those things.
We have to be able to keep two thoughts in our head at the same time.
Player safety is important.
and we should protect everyone, including goaltenders.
And also, Connor Hallibuck was very obviously selling an injury to try to get a stoppage late in a game with this team up by a goal.
And it didn't work.
The refs didn't go for it.
And the team scored, it was the right call, even as it opens the door to discussion that maybe we need to have about, is there a way to make the game safer?
Yeah, I think that's right.
I think that you can have a situation where you're saying,
in this particular case,
maybe it wasn't the craziest situation that ever happened,
but in a similar situation where there's maybe a little more obvious danger or whatever,
um,
like our ref's going to feel empowered or whatever you want to say to like whistle it dead,
even if the puck is kind of around the net.
And, you know, and what is him in it and all that shit.
Yeah.
And also, if we are really, if this is really about player safety,
let's also coach goalies that, hey, man, if your mask comes off, get out of there.
Don't worry.
Because, you know, the scenario everyone envisions is like, you know, the mask comes off.
The other team has possession.
They send it back to the point.
And there's Shea Weber or Al McKinnis or someone winding up for a slap shot.
Teach the goal.
Get out of there, man.
Like don't, we're worried about player safety.
Okay, if we give up a goal, we give up a goal.
If this is not about preventing goals, it's about safety,
then coach the goal is to get out of there.
I know that goes against all their instincts and everything.
And in that sense, Helibuck maybe did the right thing by just laying there,
or this head covered.
But I don't know.
I just, this whole, like his, they put me in danger.
I don't know, man.
That, that, I know that the goalie weirdos are going to not like that.
And I certainly wouldn't stand in there in front of 100 miles an hour slap shots and let alone without a mask.
But at some point, like, we can either acknowledge that goalies are super competitive people who have spent their entire lives trying to figure out ways to not have goals count against them.
Or we can pretend that we don't know that.
So I'll say this to close it out, I guess.
I think in that particular instance, if I'm a referee, I probably blow it dead.
Like, because I don't, you know, you can, you can look at a million replays and go,
oh, this is where, you know, his own guy collided, whatever.
I'm just saying I see it only.
How furious would you be if you're the stars if that happens?
Remember, this was a one goal game dying seconds of the game.
I understand.
Yeah.
They would absolutely go insane.
And they would have every, they would be just.
justified.
If you lose an imminent scoring chance because the other team knocked its own goalie out of the way.
Well, again, I don't think it was, like I said, I don't think it was like a two on O and the goalies met.
Like, you know, it's a scramble around the net.
The puck, again, goes around behind the net.
I think once the puck is behind the net, it is no longer an imminent, imminent scoring chance.
Yeah.
So that I would argue that once the referee sees, has time to see and assess and the,
The mask is off, the goalie's down.
The puck is already back out in front.
But I would encourage people to watch, like, go find the clip, watch the replay.
See how fast it happens.
In real time.
Watch it in real time.
Yes, definitely.
Yeah.
But yeah, like I say, I kind of, you know, I'm that Calvin and Hobbs comic strip about being able to see both sides of it, you know, where it's like I feel paralyzed by my, my, you know,
Like what you're saying is right, but also like if I see a guy down on the ice with his helmet off and like I blow the whistle dead.
Like that's it.
So it's tough.
All right.
I guess we got to talk about the Seattle Cracken who are now, they're winners of five straight.
They've won, I think, 10 of the last 11 or 12 maybe.
Like they're just winning like crazy.
They're only scoring teams by a wide margin.
It's crazy.
Yeah.
As I always said,
Dave Haxville,
best coach in the league.
One of the greats.
One of the greats.
Ron Francis played this all exactly right.
Yeah.
The Cracken,
they won three of their first
nine games,
including losses to the Canucks,
the Blackhawks,
and the ducks.
Yeah,
and since three of the
absolute worst teams in the league.
Yeah, and since then they have won, yeah, you're right, 10 of 12.
They are 10, 1 and 1 in the last 12 games.
And I think they've only given up like, yeah, 27 goals in the last 12 games.
Yeah.
Now, they have been outshot over this period, like out courseied out everything to basically.
So, you know, there is that to consider.
And the schedule has not been super challenging between like not, they,
They've played some not great teams and also some teams that are just struggling.
But that's, you don't go 10 one and one just because of schedule.
Like, that's, they're good.
I'll say this for them.
You're right that a lot of the teams they played are struggling or whatever.
But like, you know, they played the penguins twice.
They played Calgary.
They played Minnesota twice.
The Rangers, Vegas.
Like these are teams where, yeah.
was impressive.
That was, yeah.
Yeah, for sure.
I actually think they like completely outplayed Vegas in that game.
But it's so like on paper you would say why and I think kind of by the end of the season you'll go, wow, they had a really good stretch against like some really good teams.
One of the teams they lost to is the Winnipeg Jets who were pretty high up in the standings themselves.
So I don't know.
I guess, like, what are you seeing with Seattle other than they're shooting like 14% over the last?
It's, it's, I mean, that's the thing.
Like, how often do, you know, I'm always saying like, oh, if you would, if opening night, you came back from the future and you said, yeah, Seattle's like fifth overall in the leagues and points percentage, I would have gone, oh, well, there you go, Philip Grubauer figured it out, right?
He's good again.
knew it.
You know what?
Even good goalies have a bad year.
He figured it.
No, he still stinks.
But Martin Jones is the starter.
And Martin Jones is playing fine.
But it's, this isn't, this is the crazy thing.
This isn't like a goalie based hot streak.
It's, uh, so in, in his last 10 games, he's 926, Martin Jones, which is like,
which is great, obviously.
But it's not.
Yeah.
940 runs. Usually when you pick
like a 10 game hot streak, it's
more than, but that is better than I would have thought.
So, okay, maybe that's part of it.
Yeah. No, it's just it's. He started out really
badly and then has been very, not, again, not like
world beating or anything, but like good enough to win
you most games, right? And here they are.
But what's, what I'm kind of noticing here
is if you go to their like team
leaders, they have
five guys with at least six goals.
I can't imagine there are too many teams that have that scenario.
It's balanced.
There's nobody right now.
That's, I guess, a better way to put it.
Yeah.
Nobody's scoring more than the point of game.
Nobody has double-digit goals, but they've got two good lines and then the depth
doesn't hurt them.
Maddie Baneers has been great.
That's obviously a part of it when you have a kid that can step in and immediately
be top six if not top three. Boy, he's good. There's your, there's your Calder leader in the
clubhouse right now. I can't, you know, him, him or Logan's Hopkins as good as like, yeah.
Yeah, and Owen Power, I guess, would be your third one, right? Like, I don't know if you saw,
he had, he had the single best, like, uh, expected goals wild on ice, uh, for last night.
Mm-hmm. Yeah, the single best game in that statistic, uh, since,
2007-08, like since they started doing that stat.
Nobody was, you know, that territorially dominant ever.
We're talking Nick Liddstrom, Pavl Tattoo, Patrice Bergeron, you know, like Carmen
McDavid, Sidney Crosby, Austin, Matt.
Nobody's ever had a game that good.
That's fucking crazy.
And he's like a 19-year-old, 20-year-old defenseman.
That's wild.
Wild.
So, I mean, the thing with Seattle is, I mean, yeah, they're shooting like 12 or 13 percent.
that's not going to continue for any team, let alone a second year expansion team.
A team with what you would say is not a particularly large amount of skill.
No, certainly not a team that you look at and you're like, you know what,
this is the team that's going to outshute Colorado and Toronto and Toronto and Tampa and everyone all year long.
That's not it.
But they're banking a lot of points.
They're banking wins.
There's a path to the playoffs pretty clearly in the West with some of the teams.
Oh, for sure, yeah.
And I think that, like, that's success.
If they make the playoffs this year, that's a win.
That's like, you know, that's mission accomplished on the season.
Oh, yeah, they should be aiming higher.
But that's, that's fantastic.
And they're on the way there.
And it's great because I didn't, I didn't see a lot of optimism for this team coming
into the season.
And they're, they're surprising me, definitely.
Yeah, Money Puck says currently at 98% to make the playoffs.
that's even higher than Vegas.
Wow.
I would not have thought that.
Yeah.
Boston and New Jersey are the only two teams with a higher odds to make the playoffs right now.
And it's both by like, you know, 0.5.7% whatever.
So yeah.
Yikes.
Like respect.
Like again, do we, I don't expect this to last.
I expect Martin Jones to turn back into like what we think Martin Jones is.
but if you can if you can make it a quarter of the way through the season or whatever with with 29 points in your account you're you're gonna at least hang around the playoff bubble and you know it's interesting because I saw or like even before the season started there was like articles in in the Seattle Times or whatever that was like yeah this team kind of like needs to do something before like or else everybody is at risk of just going like I guess I don't care about these fucking losers.
Yep.
You know, like that was the general thrust of the article I was paraphrasing, obviously.
But like, I think if they're saying that in a new, that might be like their local crank,
that might be their like the Seattle equivalent of Steve Simmons saying that.
But I don't know, maybe it isn't.
I have no idea.
I don't, I don't read the Seattle.
Like, I don't go in depth on who's covering the, or who's writing about the cracking for
the local papers, you know.
No.
Yeah.
Good for them.
They're rock and roll.
Long-suffering Seattle Cracket fans.
Finally.
Yeah, finally it bounces their way.
Get to the playoffs.
Can't wait until they win around.
That's going to be.
That's going to be great.
Yeah.
I didn't have that written down, but like I guess the Pacific is kind of in a weird spot right now.
Like Edmonton won last night, but they needed a late Evan Bouchard, the engine that's
driving the Edmonton offense these days.
but like Calgary sucks kind of like they're kind of pretty bad in Edmonton I feel like
their last two games could be like turning point game I know it like that's stuff that we
I would hope for their sake like two big comebacks which is also I guess a way of saying it
could have easily been two losses but this is this is where you start right to think okay
maybe we've maybe we've planted a flag here Calgary cannot figure it out I don't know
Yeah, anyway, I don't want to go too deep on that.
But like, that's just watching that Edmonton game last night and just kind of going,
oh, Colin McDavid's back.
You know, like he had like a 3.4 point night, whatever it was.
And I don't know if you saw his pass on the Evan Bouchard goal.
Like he kind of, you know, gets tied up on a face off with eight seconds left or whatever it is.
And just no look, spin a ram a pass to nobody in particular in Evan Boucher.
Or it looks like it's to no one in particular.
particular and Evan Bouchard just walks into it and ties the game and then
dry sidel in overtime.
But yeah, they're a team that, you know, again, like if when those two guys are off
the ice, you know, I think I think someone I saw this morning, someone said like when
McDavid and Drysiddle are off the ice, they're like a 41% XG team.
It's unbelievable.
Yeah.
Well, I'd keep those two guys on the ice then.
Yeah, 30 minutes a night for both of them.
One of them is always on the ice.
What's not the like, yeah.
But yeah, speaking of a team, the Oilers beat with a big comeback the other day.
It feels like the Rangers are extremely in trouble.
Yeah.
It surprised me because this, and this is before they lost last night,
but I went to write about this on the weekend,
and I was like, oh, the Rangers are flatlining.
And then I looked and they'd lost, they'd won like four of their last 10, which is not good.
We'll get you in the playoffs.
No.
But it was also not like as bad as I thought it might be.
But they've now lost three in a row all in regulation.
So it is, including losing to Anaheim, which nobody should ever do.
They lost the Anaheim in regulation.
The first, I think Anaheim made it like 19 games without a regulation win.
And then they beat the rain.
Yeah.
So maybe they shouldn't have like if you actually watch that game like the Rangers
dominated them as you might expect but you know.
But the the other thing is they're go ahead.
Go ahead.
So in the month of November, they have four regulation wins from 13 games.
Yeah.
And like they have not played again, they're kind of the opposite of Seattle where it's like,
you know, they played the Red Wings.
And I know the Red Wings are like playing well, but on paper should not like, shouldn't the Rangers beat the Red Wings?
I think they should.
But like they played Nashville, Arizona, San Jose, Anaheim.
Like these are teams they should beat and they're just like, you know, doing okay against those teams and then like losing to the teams they should lose to.
And, you know, me and you took a lot of shit or at least I did when I said like, I wouldn't.
I think you,
I think you said I talked
you into it or whatever,
but like I said going into the year,
like I wouldn't be surprised if,
no,
I guess my point at the time was the way they're,
the way they're playing is like very different from last year where,
um,
you know,
obviously they were super dependent on the power play and,
and goal tending.
And if you want to say like just the problem is they're not getting goaltending and
the power play is like only okay.
That's true.
That's like kind of objection.
objectively true.
Igor Shisirkin said last night, like, I've played like shit and I'm ashamed of myself.
It was basically his quote.
Which is, that was strange, right?
Like, the, like, I, I'm used to hearing goalies be self-critical sometimes, but it's felt over the top with him,
which makes you worry a little bit because you don't want goalies going, you know, off the,
I don't want to say going like Jack Campbell on it.
us, but there are goalies who get into
crisis of confidence, and it's hard to
imagine someone as good as Shasturkin,
but, you know, maybe he's just
kind of overstating
the obvious, but I'm
kind of... Well, he's given up four goals in each of the
last two games, and
you know, like,
if you're him, you're like,
I'm the best goalie in the world.
I can't be giving up four goals
in consecutive games. Like, I get
why he would say that, even though,
you know, but what I guess I
I was going to say earlier was that
their underlying numbers are actually like good this year.
Last year they were bad.
Yeah, they've kind of flipped the script on.
And but they're still losing, in part because like, you know,
they're not getting like world beating goaltending.
They're not getting like, again, I thought he had a very legitimate claim to be the MVP last year.
Mm-hmm.
You know?
And now they're getting, you know, like a little,
below average goal tending from him.
And the whole world is like crumbling around them.
And like I, so I wrote, unlike you, I did write about it this weekend.
And usually when you write about things like this, you know, team, uh, fans come to you and
they go, oh, you know, you don't know what you're talking about, blah, blah, blah.
If you not watched every second of every game and pregame warmups and practice?
Whatever.
Like I don't, I don't not expect fans to act like that.
But my point is, uh, when I, when I posted the link to my story, like, like, you.
Like every Rangers fan who responded was like, it's actually worse than what you're saying it is.
Wow.
And I don't know if that's true either, but like I can see where it kind of gets into the doom and gloom of it.
Like, you know, if you told me tomorrow, Igor Shusurgan goes on a Martin Jones style run of like he's a 930 goalie for 15 games in a row.
I go, yeah, of course.
No problem there.
That makes sense to me.
And the Rangers have completely turned it around.
But like, I don't.
don't know.
Like every, it seems like everybody's like, you know, this is like the third week in a row,
basically, uh, Larry Brooks has written a thing like, something's got to change here.
I don't know what it is, but something has to ASAP.
And you, then you watch the games and you go, well, he's right, you know, like I watched that
Edmonton game.
They did not look that good.
Um, just like kind of not good defensively.
And, and look, what do you want to say?
Like Panarin's been good, but he hasn't been an MVP.
style guy and the young kids aren't coming along.
He's not having a great year.
No, and specifically he's not having a great year on the power play, right?
Like, that's the issue that you're kind of pointing to here is that last year they had one of the best power, I don't know, like the 20th best power play of the cap era basically.
Which like maybe that doesn't sound great, but think of how many times it like how many seasons have been played like hundreds, right?
And so if you're in the top 20, you're, you've had.
had a really good power play.
And then they had maybe like a top five goal tending performance.
And so the goaltending is not happening.
The power play is not happening.
And all of a sudden, you know, everybody who was like, well, Caco has figured it out.
LaFranier's figured it out.
They were really good in the playoffs.
And it's like, yeah, Kako has eight points.
You know, like, yeah.
Lafranier has three goals in 23 games.
Like maybe they didn't.
figure it out. And that, and again, is that not the story of the Rangers over the last like
10 years? Well, yeah. I mean, certainly with both those guys, like at some point, it's not
figure it out. It's just maybe they're just not as good as the Rangers thought they were getting.
But for sure. What's, what's really interesting to me is you look at their schedule.
Their next three games, Ottawa, Ottawa, Chicago. So if you were ever looking for a, a
of get-right games.
That's it right there.
Two of the worst teams in the League Auto has been a bit better lately,
but Chicago's cratering.
After that, St. Louis, Vegas, Colorado, New Jersey, Toronto,
is there five after that.
Yeah, they basically got to go three and oh in the games they should win, quote, unquote.
I mean, it's one of those things where it's like,
if they don't rack up some points in the next three games,
they could be in big, big trouble.
Flip side, they could get six easy points in the next three games
and then, you know, show well enough in those tough four or five games.
And we're all sitting there going, what were we worried about?
You know, they're back.
So you've got, if you want to, if you're like me and you're kind of trying to figure out
what side of the narrative to land on here, the next eight games should give us a lot of clarity.
Yeah, and I guess what you're worried about is that, you know, they're, what, fifth in the division right now.
And they're not catching New Jersey.
The way the Islanders are playing, they're probably not catching the Islanders.
And then you got a leapfrog one of Pittsburgh or Carolina to even really like get into the playoff conversation.
Well, I mean, conversation is maybe overstating it.
but like to feel good about your spot,
to not feel like you're going to be white knuckling it for the rest of the season.
And like Carolina hasn't even played well in there,
obviously better than the Rangers.
And the penguins had like a long losing streak.
And they're obviously sitting in a more comfortable position.
I don't know.
To me it's a, it's just like one of those, again,
like you're kind of watching it,
watching it slip through your hands a little bit, you know.
if you're the Rangers and you were again and this is what what was the premise of my article.
You were supposed to take a step this year.
Yeah.
Right?
Everybody was convinced.
You know, even even coming out of their first two games, all the Rangers look like
fucking world beaters.
And then ever since then, it's like, not so much.
I don't know.
I don't know what the,
I don't know what the fix is other than like you just hope it turns around in net.
Yeah, I mean, that that's part of the fix is you go, okay, we've got our
arguably the best goalie in the world.
Like, okay, he's not standing on his head every single game.
He's having a bit of a cold streak.
Okay.
And his cold streak is he's given up four holes a game, not seven.
Like, he's still, you know, he's still decent.
He'll figure it out.
Panarin's going to be okay.
You know, we'll be all right here.
And then you just kind of stay the course and sometimes that works.
And sometimes it's two weeks later and you're like, oh, we're now we're five points out of the
playoffs and maybe we should have done that.
Yep.
I don't know.
Like I said, I don't know, I don't know what you do if you're the Rangers because it seems like,
you know, absent firing the coach and bringing in Barry Trots, basically.
Is anybody going to be convinced that the big move is going to actually work out for you?
I don't know.
Anyway.
Why don't we take a break and we'll be right back and we'll talk about, hey, we may
mentioned some streaks earlier. We'll talk about even more in a minute. We're going streaking.
This show is sponsored by BetterHelp. Life does not come with a user manual. I don't have to tell you
that. I'm guessing we all know that very well, especially after the last couple years, we've been
through and all the different challenges that have been thrown our way on top of whatever just
regular, plain old life is thrown at you. When life is not working for you, it's normal to feel
stuck. Navigating those challenges can make you feel unsure, whether it's career change,
new relationship, becoming a parent, any number of things. It can be very difficult to figure
out what path you should be taking. And therapists are trained to help you figure out the cause
of challenging emotions and then learning productive coping skills for dealing with them.
And that makes therapy the closest thing to a guided tour of the complex engine called you.
Lots of us have tried therapy. It's been a success for many.
it's a chance to just sit down. Talk through situations, talk through challenges that you're
facing. Work on those skills, the coping, the self-empowerment, how to deal with difficult situations,
even trauma, and learn how to turn that into something that you can deal with, cope with,
and even benefit from. As the world's a large therapy service, BetterHelp has matched
three million people with professionally licensed and vetted therapists, available 100% online,
plus it's affordable.
You just fill out a brief questionnaire
to match with the therapist.
If things aren't clicking,
you can easily switch to a new therapist anytime.
It couldn't be simpler.
No waiting rooms, no traffic,
no endless searching
for the exact right therapist.
Learn more and save 10% off your first month
at betterhelp.com slash puck.
That's betterhelp,
h-elp.com slash puck.
All right.
I guess, yeah,
we're going to talk about streaks,
like I said.
It has been a year where there's been a lot of like noticeable streaks as far as I, you know, been paying attention to the various teams.
We mentioned before the break, Anaheim, for example, had a streak of 19 straight games without a regulation win.
That was like one short of the NHL record.
Yeah.
For example.
That one's impressive.
What we're going to do here in a bad way, but yes.
Go ahead.
Yeah, crazy.
It honestly feels like 19 should have been the impossible number.
The fact that a team had more than that,
and I looked it up yesterday and now I don't remember.
It was Arizona a few years ago, like 2017 or 18 or something.
Oh, that makes sense, yeah.
Okay.
Well, anyway, it doesn't feel like that should be possible.
Well, it's especially like today, right?
Like, I mean, you could see like the 74 capitals or the shards.
or the sharks or something,
but no,
that's insane today.
The golden seals.
Yes.
But yeah,
so again,
there's a lot of,
there's a lot of streaks going on.
What we're going to do is I'm going to,
I'm going to read a streak to Sean.
And I'm going to have Sean rate the streak
on a scale of one to ten in terms of how surprising it is.
Okay.
Now,
am I doing like,
so like with Anaheim,
is it how surprised am I that Anaheim is
terrible or is it like how impressive is the streak even given their
terribleness?
You know, you can interpret it however you want.
I like it.
All right.
Okay, great.
So, you know what?
Let's just do Anaheim since we already talked about it.
I'll go 19 straight games without a regulation.
I'll go 9 out of 10 on that one and I'm doing that figure skating thing where I'm leaving
room at the top in case I need to nudge somebody ahead.
But that one is.
Sure.
That's crazy.
in the parody era is to not be able to win in regulation.
I mean, I guess the fact that we encourage everyone to get to overtime,
maybe in some sense, should make it more likely,
but that's still like you play a quarter of your season
and you don't win a 60-minute game is nuts.
All right.
I'm going to give it an eight because I knew they were going to be bad.
And then, again, finding out that it happened.
whatever, three, four years ago.
That makes it less crazy to me.
Like you said, if you said like, oh, you know,
this is the first time a team started the season
with 19 straight regulation or without a regulation win
since the 1922 Vancouver.
The World War II.
Where they had to forfeit their first 18 games
because they didn't have any players.
Right.
Yeah.
But the fact that it just happened,
it's like, oh, I guess if you stink it is within the realm,
a possibility. Fair enough.
So let's go from a really bad streak to a really good one.
The Bruins have now set the NHL record for a home winning streak at 12, passing the 63-64 Chicago Black Hawks.
I give that one a 7 out of 10.
It's impressive to, you know, just that the Bruins are playing that well.
I don't put a lot of stock into like home and road win streaks because like I agree with
You lost in between there.
And the fact that, you know, my thing is always, my litmus test for whether I should be impressed by a record is whether I knew what the record was before you told me somebody broke it.
And in this case, I did not know.
I did not grow up talking about the 63 Hawks winning.
Now, is this the record for home win streak or is it home win streak to start a season?
you know now that you say that I'm in my head about it and I don't know okay if it's home win
if it's to start a season then I'm knocking it down to a six out of ten because now we're getting
it's still super impressive that they're this good but the streak itself is getting yeah it is
to start a season right yeah um but how about this uh the Bruins had a seven game win streak
and then they lost to Toronto and then they had to Toronto and then they had a seven game win streak and then they
had another seven-game win streak.
How's that sound?
I like the part about losing to Toronto.
I'm sure you do.
That was my favorite part.
That was a pretty cool part.
Yep.
But yeah, two, the Bruins are like basically.
They're so good.
Yeah, they really are.
I'm going to give all of them, I'm going to, you know, I'm going to say eight and a
half for both of those streak scenarios where they had two seven game streaks like basically
back to back as back to back as they can be without being a 14-game win streak, obviously.
And setting the home winning streak record, I'm going to say they're both like a seven and a half for me.
Okay.
But only because, again, like a big chunk of that was without Marshand and McAvoy.
Yes.
Yeah.
Good point.
There was a lot of reason to be concerned coming into the year that they would maybe be like a 500 team until those guys came back.
And instead they were like, we're the best team in the league actually.
And aren't you kind of disappointed, though, that they've continued to be good after those guys got back so that we didn't get a chance to do the stupid thing where we're like, maybe they're better without Charlie McAvoy or some nonsense.
Well, what's funny is, like, Marshand has been like actively bad.
I think he, like, I think it was in the, after they beat the hurricanes in overtime the other day.
Like, after the game, there were quotes from him being like, yeah, I suck right now.
I don't know what's going on.
Smart enough, buddy.
He's not even good and they're winning this much.
Like, it's crazy.
Yeah.
All right.
Let's go back to a bad one here.
Ottawa lost seven games.
Now, I know they've won two games in a row.
They've turned it all around after they lost seven straight.
Yeah, season saved.
But Ottawa losing seven games in a row.
I will go, I'll go six out of ten on that one.
They were playing better than the streak would say, but the fact that it was, and I believe
it was seven in regular.
too. Like it just so disastrous for what they need to be this year. And they're not a great team, but it was also a little bit of a, like they deserved a bit of a better fate than they were getting. Yeah, I'm going to be in the same ballpark as you. Again, like I said, you know, kind of going into the year, like I don't really buy it with these guys even maybe being competitive. It was, again, within the realm of possibility, but not the most likely outcome.
Seven in a row is a tough one, but like they definitely had the personnel where if they had an injury or two, and that's exactly what happened.
They could lose seven straight, and here we are.
So I'll go with you and say six.
Back to another good one here.
The New Jersey Devils have now, after last night's game, have won 10 straight on the road.
Again, don't care about the road street, but like they're, you know, they're, we're not.
going to rate that one separately.
Okay.
I will say the road streak again, I'll go, let's go six and a half out of ten.
Because it is more, I mean, it's, it's hard to win on the road.
It's, it, that's more impressive than a home streak, obviously.
Yeah, it's certainly correct.
Yeah, that's right.
And they, oh yeah, they lost, they lost like their opening, they lost their opening game of the season to Philadelphia on the road.
And then they were like, that sucked.
Let's not do that again.
rest of the year. And yeah. Yeah. So I'm, I'm going to go, I'm going to say this is like a nine for me.
Again, I thought the devils, if, you know, they got the goaltending, they could be around the
playoff bubble. They're one of the best teams in the league and they've kind of gotten the
goaltending. So like, I have to, you know, fully may occulp on this one and say like the
devils are just good. Yeah, I didn't see it coming. And the thing is, like, you could make an
argument. And I wrote a whole thing about the Leafs'
Devil's game and why most of the calls were right and it was just bad break. But I mean,
you could you could sit there and say like, hey, we lost a game two to one where we had three
goals waved off. We deserved a better fate that night. Yeah. That's their only loss since
the third week of October. And that was also the way that game played out,
like if you were someone who was looking at New Jersey going like, okay, yeah, they're good,
but this streak is a little bit fake.
It's everything's going right.
This team's going to come back to Earth.
That loss to the Leafs would be exactly the sort of game that would tip you back into reality.
And instead, they've rolled off three straight wins immediately after.
Like, they're just, they're phenomenal right now.
Yeah, you can't argue with it.
And I will give them winning 13 straight a 10 out of 10.
If you would say, there's going to be one team in the entire.
entire league that wins 13 games in a row this year.
Yep.
Who do you think it's going to be?
The New Jersey Devils do not cross my mind.
No.
No, you're, yeah, there's no way.
I'll go nine and a half out of ten.
Again, I'm leaving some space, but that's, yeah, that they've been so impressive this year.
Yep.
Buffalo loses eight in a row.
Who could have seen this coming?
It started what?
Was it seven and three?
they started something like that.
Started well.
Well, now, but that that feels right.
Yeah.
They started
seven and three.
Yeah, three regulation losses.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
And then eight, and again,
this is eight straight regulation.
Now,
the one thing I'll say on this is
man, like, as I'm looking at it,
man, they had a tough schedule.
They played.
They did.
Carolina, Tampa, Vegas, Boston, and Toronto in that stretch of eight.
Now, they also lost to Arizona, Vancouver, and Ottawa.
So, um, right.
And those early games, they played some good teams and some teams they should have absolutely
beaten on paper.
You can't, you can't lose to Arizona at all.
Like, not, not the, trust me.
I know from experience.
You can't lose to Arizona for one.
Yeah.
That's terrible.
Um, and then, yeah, then, uh, then, uh, then they have.
two games in a row after that streak
where they look good and then they're
back to, well, I mean, they lost to Tampa
and New Jersey. I think maybe you'd say those are
scheduled losses just based on
the quality, but like they blew it last night,
right? Yeah, they've got
Detroit next, Colorado
would be tough and that San Jose Club. So this is
sort of like mission critical, like
if we're going to have any sort of season,
we got to start getting some points in the
bank.
Yeah.
One last thing I want to say about
the savers here real quick
just while we're on the topic is like
Tage Thompson, you know, hey.
Yep.
We were skeptical of that contract.
And obviously, it hasn't even started yet,
so there's, you know, there's playing a room.
But boy, he looks fucking dynamic.
Doesn't it feel like he is,
or you tell me if I'm wrong,
but it feels like he's like,
just putting aside the numbers
because he had a very good season last year
and he's having a good season,
but doesn't it feel like he's teetering on like,
a new level of stardom where he kind of goes from being like, oh yeah, this guy's pretty good
on Buffalo to like, oh, did you see what Tage Thompson did tonight? And then it's, you're like,
oh, no, but I bet it was something. Like, it feels like he's, I'm not expressing it very well,
but like he's, he's getting ready to break through to like legitimate star in this league,
like guy that, you know, casual fans are like, what's, you know, because I mean, you go see
a Sabres game. You can't miss, you can't miss the guy. He's nine feet tall.
So, yeah, right.
There's an old, there's an old story in Boston, like, rock and roll history that a local radio station had like a festival kind of a thing at like a bunch of different venues.
And Nirvana played one, I think the rat, the, was the venue.
And Nirvana played the night before Nevermind came out.
So like, whatever.
mind comes out on a Tuesday. They play Monday night. And it's like this legendary thing of everybody in the building was like, who the fuck are these guys if they didn't know them already? And Nirvana themselves were like, we're about to be the most famous people in the world. And like, I don't want to say that Tate Thompson is going to like pass Connor McDavid or whatever. But like, it feels like this, this is the, this like start to the season is that like the night before.
Uh, never mind comes out with
Tage Thompson equals Nirvana.
Are you,
are you suggesting,
are you suggesting that his trophy case
might need a heart shaped box?
That was terrible.
You know,
I'm not gonna go that.
That was awful.
I apologize.
Katie, delete that.
Yeah.
Is that, is that on, uh, is that on Nevermind?
Oh, I don't know that.
Jesus, man.
I, do you,
you should be happy that I know something about,
a band that was popular
but I was a kid
that's that's as far as I go
it
now I'm looking this up
no it's on in utero
that don't fact check my stupid puns
please
no no no I'm just like that was just one of those things
that it was going to bug me if I didn't look it up
but what I want to say is
you know everybody's like
whoa where did this come from like boy
yeah he scored at like a 40 goal pace this year
now this season I think he's closer
to like 55, right?
And what happened was he's like shooting the puck 40% more
or getting 40% more shots on goal than he did last year.
And yeah, that'll get you a lot of goals.
He had 250 shots all the last year.
He's already up to 100, a quarter of the way through the season.
That's the difference.
You know?
And yeah, like if he can keep doing this,
if they can keep putting him in a position to,
to just like, you know,
Beovetschkin, basically.
Yeah, he's going to score a shitload of goals.
That's cool.
But yeah, it is crazy that, again,
like his career high in goals before last season was eight.
So if you got a guy in your roster
who's only got eight goals.
Just feed him the fucking puck.
Yeah.
He's just, you're all set.
You got the next stage, Thompson.
Yep, that's right.
Let's do another positive one here.
Vegas winning nine straight.
I mean, impressive to do that.
It's not that I'm surprised Vegas is good.
I'm surprised their goaltending is good.
So I'll go seven and a half on it.
And that's why it's surprising to, yeah.
I think I think I'm right there with you.
I'll say a seven.
Just because, again, like I had a little bit of confidence that Bruce Cassidy's systems make goalies good.
I wouldn't have said they make goalies this good.
is basically, you know, Logan Thompson, like you said, called her candidate guy now.
And I would have been like, oh, he'll be pretty good, I guess, you know, but now it's,
he's like been definitively just like pretty inarguably good, you know.
Yep.
So that's where I'm at with that.
Let's do the penguins losing seven in a row.
I mean, that to me is an eight because I was on board with Pittsburgh earlier in the year.
I thought like...
I would have gone even high.
I'm like eight and a half.
Yeah.
Like I was like, oh, you know, they started off well.
I'm thinking like, okay, these guys are set.
You know, they did the right thing.
They got the band back together.
One more run for Sid.
And then it just collapsed.
Yeah.
My question, I guess, would be, did Crosby and Malkin both get hurt?
Because then if you said, oh, the Penguins last seven in a row, I go, well, sure they did.
Why wouldn't they?
Yeah.
But no, I mean, Krosby's been great.
It was, I mean, Tristan Jari looked fantastic to start and then did not anymore.
But, yeah, yeah, that one's, that one, I did not understand as it was happening and still don't.
Yeah, again, like, I, you know, I fully expect them to kind of get it back on track or whatever, but nevertheless, you're, you got to be a little surprised that this is, this is how it shook out for them to start the year.
Hey, let's stay in the Keystone State here, and let's say the Philadelphia Flyers are in the middle of a 10-game losing streak.
Or in the midst, I guess the middle would imply that they're coming up on a 20-game losing.
Well, I mean, five out of ten, we all figured the Flyers would be bad, but they did.
They faked us out at the beginning if you took the bait that they looked.
Yeah, imagine, because remember when they won like three games in a row to start the year or whatever it was,
they were like, oh, we're doing a like a rush sale on tickets or whatever, buy tickets, buy tickets.
And everybody who bought a ticket has seen their, the flyers get their fucking heads smashed in.
Yep.
They're like, you got to buy tickets for October and November.
And people are now like, you know, just crying, leaving the building.
They've lost a Columbus twice, Ottawa, Montreal in that stretch, among other teams, including Pittsburgh.
Is that good?
It doesn't seem good.
I think it's, I think it might be bad.
But the good news is once they get the islanders out of the way tonight, then from there they go Tampa, Jersey, Colorado.
So they'll figure it out against them.
No problem.
Yeah.
Got them right where you want.
All right.
How about St. Louis wins seven in a row.
Right after losing eight in a row.
Well, so I was going to say.
Okay.
And right before that, they lost eight in a row, yeah.
So if we're doing it, yeah, chronological order.
Yeah, they lose eight in a row.
Oh, five out of ten, not surprising.
I knew the blues were bad.
And then they just, I, somebody, and this is, again, this is one of those records that nobody knew was a record.
But it was like they're the first team to ever go from a seven-game streak to a seven-game streak, which I'm not surprised.
But that's still pretty.
I have no idea, nine out of ten for both of them combined, because I have no idea what's going on in St. Louis.
No idea if this team's good or not.
I got nothing.
Yeah, I guess I would say combined like 10 out of 10.
Like how could you, how could you ever predict that for any team ever in the history of the NHL?
You know what?
Yes.
Really.
I'm with you.
I will bump up to a 10.
There's this.
This is what I was saving it for.
I'll go 10 on this.
The losing streak, I would have said like eight and a half.
Like I wouldn't have ever thought that was possible.
Like as much as I think they're kind of like just.
And.
And a middle tier playoff team.
So like, you know, like fourth or fifth in that conference, you know.
I wouldn't have said they could lose eight straight.
But also like seven on winning seven straight.
But then putting it together, it's obviously a 10.
Yeah.
Chicago has lost seven straight now.
I mean, two out of 10.
if you had said during the season,
will Chicago have a seven game losing streak
at any point during the season?
Like, what would have been?
Like, even money?
Not much worse.
I wouldn't say even money.
I'm going to go a three here.
Just because I think it's hard for, like,
well, I mean, I guess this exercise stands to the contrary.
But, like, to me, they've lost, like,
them losing seven straight.
Like, it's hard for anybody to lose seven straight.
Mm-hmm.
But if anybody was going to do it,
I would have said, oh, Chicago, Arizona, those are my two guesses.
You know, so.
Yeah.
Yeah, I mean, not.
And to be fair, they did have a shootout loss mixed in.
Right.
Yeah, you know, I know they did a decent start, but yeah, it's sort of, it's crumbling pretty quick in Chicago, which was the plan.
So.
Yeah.
It's all going great for them, actually.
The way this losing streak is going.
You know, I guess the only bad thing is it's like cratering various.
players that they wanted to trade, their trade value.
Well, I mean, that was always the risk you take, right?
I mean, I think, I mean, the guys they want to trade are Taves and Kane, and I don't see
either of them value dropping.
Well, they signed a bunch of guys over the summer to one years.
Yeah, Max Stomey, I guess it would be the guy.
Calgary lost seven straight.
Yeah, nine out of ten.
I do not get where, how.
the flames are this bad or were this bad for that stretch.
I didn't expect them to be top of the conference again this year necessarily,
but I did not see this coming.
Yeah, I'll go a little lower.
I'll say a seven just because, again, like,
I'm a bit of a Markstrom skeptic.
And so now if you had said, like, again,
This is at any point in the season, I would have said, oh, they lost like seven in a row after Markstrom played his 60th game.
Yeah, that wouldn't surprise me.
But for it to be, you know, October into November, that is a surprise.
So anyway, one last one here.
Vancouver lost seven straight to start the season.
Eight out of ten for the entertainment value.
Sure.
Although, I mean, you know, now we know that it was just them.
giving the rest of the league a head start before they, you know, made their playoff push.
They're amazing now.
World beaters all of a sudden.
Be Colorado and Vegas back to back, man.
On the road.
That's no joke.
But yeah, that was, for, that may have been the most entertaining streak of the year just as an outsider because the level of panic was significant.
Absolutely.
Yeah.
They're just a team where it seems like every time.
they're going to they're going to be teetering on the edge and while you got to fire the coach,
you've got to trade everybody.
They're going to win three in a row because they do have talent on that team in plenty of roster spots.
Yeah.
And it's interesting because, I mean, there was a lot of takes that I thought were very well
reasoned saying like it's time for the teardown.
And now they're playing better, which in theory gives you cover to not do it.
I still don't know what they need to be doing because they've got to, like you say, they've got the pieces.
They shouldn't be losing seven straight at all at any point.
But I don't know that they should be winning five or six either, but we'll see.
I'm going to say six.
Okay.
No, just a six, just a six, because how could you be surprised with the Vancouver Canucks lost seven straight?
They're the Vancouver Canucks, you know what I'm saying?
Mm-hmm.
So, yeah, that's it.
We're out of streaks to talk about, I guess.
For now.
I can't think of another one.
I'm shocked.
I remembered this many.
Yeah, that's like a crazy number of streaks in a league that is all about parody and all about,
you know, it's pretty wild.
The Islanders and Leafs are currently going to go four in a row.
And I couldn't tell you who's lost what,
because I'm looking at the NHL page and they break losing streaks because it's, they don't want the GMs to feel bad.
That's right.
Yeah, I guess I would give it like a 10 out of 10 for the number of crazy streaks that have happened in the league this year.
Yeah.
Yeah, no, it's like that's been, when you kind of pitch this idea to me and I was like, all right.
And then I saw the list.
I was like, oh, he smokes.
This is wild that it's gone this far.
And it's going to, it's potentially going to get worse with the losing streaks as, you know, teams start tapping out on this on the year and go into tank mode.
So we'll see.
Yeah.
And like, like you say, like there are multiple teams that are in the middle of kind of, uh, four, four or five game winning streaks or losing streaks right now that I, you know, I, I think I made the cutoff like six.
So, you know, if we just.
did five, which is a lot of games to win or lose in a row,
we would have been here all day, I feel. Yep. Yeah.
So, there you go. Why don't we take
another break and we'll be right back
with, oh, you know what? I just saw a contract, a
new contract got signed while we were doing the show. This never happens.
Ooh, fun. So here we go.
This week's episode of Puck Soup is brought to you by Uncommon Goods. And folks,
With the holidays right around the corner, you definitely doing your shopping out there, right?
I know it.
You know it.
And one thing you don't want to do when you're shopping this time of year, you don't want something basic, you don't want something boring, you don't want something bland.
Those are the three Bs you don't want to hear about.
Nobody wants that.
And that's where Uncommon Goods is your secret weapon.
That's because they are here to make your holiday shopping stress free by scouring the globe for the most remarkable and truly unique gifts for everyone on your list.
That's true whether you're buying for Secret Santa at work, buying, buying,
for, you know, distant relatives or your closest friends and family.
They got all kinds of stuff, and I'm looking at their website here.
There's a dipping spice kit.
It's one of their best sellers.
Himalayan salt tequila glasses.
A personal pizza maker?
That's crazy.
Seashore ornaments shaped like various states.
You can't go wrong with any of this stuff, depending on, you know, who you're buying for.
But that is the kind of.
range we're talking about. So, when you shop at Uncommon Goods, you're supporting artists and
small independent businesses. These fine products are often made in small batches, so shop now
before they sell out for the holiday season. Uncommon Goods looks for products that are of high
quality, unique, and often handmade, or made here in the United States of America. They have the
most meaningful, out-of-the-ordinary gifts anywhere. From art to jewelry, kitchen, home and bar,
and more. Uncommon Goods has something for everyone, and with every purchase you make, you make.
they give $1 to a nonprofit partner of your choice.
So far they've donated more than $2.5 million.
That's a lot of money.
So here's what you're going to want to do.
To get 15% off your next gift, go to uncommon goods.com slash puck.
That's uncommon goods.com slash puck for 15% off.
Don't miss out on this limited time offer.
Uncommon goods, we're all out of the ordinary.
All right, we're back.
And as we teased on the other side of the break here,
a contract just got announced as we were recording.
it. Robay hints,
eight years,
8.45 million to stay in Dallas.
Yeah, that's...
Makes sense to me.
It kind of does.
I'm trying to
decide whether
this should be one of those contracts
where I'm doing my usual
chick about why are guys signing
eight-year deals
in a flat cap world.
But this is not a guy,
this is not like a 21-year-old
on a second contract.
This is a guy who's, he's
26. He's, you know, I guess in year three of being a very good player, I guess we would count the short season. He was a point of game, kind of broke through then, was good last year.
And that was kind of a Tage Thompson thing where it felt to me like a little bit smoke and mirrors. And then like Jason Robertson and Joe Pavelsky came around and they were like, no, we're going to make sure it wasn't smoking mirrors.
Yeah. So I don't, this isn't, you know, to me, this isn't Jack Hughes or Tim Stutzler or someone like that, you know, signing away their prime.
This is a guy who's, yeah, I mean, a 26.
Was he not like a year away from UFA or something? Must have been close to that.
Well, I mean, if he's, yeah, if he's, if he's able to sign an extension, he must have been in the last year of his deal.
but no, he was RFA on expiration.
But yeah, would have been close to getting close to UFA status.
Yeah.
Yeah, I mean, this isn't like he's not, it's not like,
oh, you should have bet on yourself because you bet on yourself,
what, are you going to sign a two or three year deal and go into your late 20s?
No, I think, I think you, this feels appropriate.
This feels like in that sweet spot where it's appropriate for the player to get the max
length, but also the team isn't being insane here by handing out the eight years.
I mean, it'll take them to the wrong side of 30, but I don't.
It'll be 34 when it expired, 35 maybe even, yeah.
Well, yeah, something like that.
But also in a world where the cap's gone up, like, I don't hate this for Dallas either.
This doesn't feel like this is Dallas, you know, locking in a guy now, but they're going to
hate this contract in three or four years.
like we often say, I don't think that's the case here either.
I guess my only concern if I'm the stars with this contract is what happens when Joe Pavelsky retires.
Might be this summer, might be next summer, whatever, but like we got to feel like we're close, right?
And, you know, it's a situation where I don't look at their roster.
and see a ton of guys who are
like centers
ready to take that step
and move in between the two
of them.
You know?
I guess that's an issue.
Natural center.
But, you know.
Yeah. That's an issue, but I mean,
it doesn't mean that you don't hold on
to your guy.
That's, uh...
No, I know. But they have a,
they have a question that needs to be
answered and maybe and maybe the answer is Wyatt Johnston two years from now or whatever maybe maybe it's
that fucking simple yeah but um but yeah i i don't know like i what is there to argue with this like
he's been awesome for for two straight years and or well he's into his like third year i guess or
or whatever of like wow this guy is really fucking good actually so yeah so sorry apologies i know it's
like anytime something like this comes down,
we want to immediately go like, all right, who got screwed?
This one, to me, I think, makes a level of sense.
I think fair for all involved.
Yeah.
What I guess the other thing that you'd have to talk about
is, you know, when this contract starts,
they'll still have two years left of Jamie Ben on a full no move.
And, you know,
What do you do with that?
What do you do with...
Because you've got to pay Pavellski.
He's a UFA this summer.
Mm-hmm.
I don't know.
Sagan and Ben are the two of the worst contracts in the...
Is there a team with...
Sagan and Ben have been good this year, honestly.
Yeah, but he's not...
Unless the stars have some pretty good intel on where the cap's going,
and hey, they might, you know.
Like, because remember, Betman earlier,
this season was like, you know, it could go, you know, it's scheduled to go up to 83 and a half,
but it could be 86, it could be whatever, you know, it could go up five instead of one.
Now that the stars have to kind of be like, yeah, I fucking hope so.
Jesus Christ.
Yeah.
And again, I mean, like, needing the cap to go up because you had to give fair market contracts to all your good players is not the worst place to be.
And they did, you know, they, they're saving money on Jason Robertson right now.
holy smokes, eh?
Like, don't...
Yeah.
Well, it's funny because, like, he signed for four years.
And I keep forgetting, I always think that was like a two-year deal or something.
That really sets them up, like, very, very, or certainly sets him up very well to be, like, a $15 million player in four years, right?
Yeah.
But it also gives the stars, you know, again, this is like, they gave hints, maybe $2 million that could have,
gone to Robertson or whatever, you know.
I don't know.
I'm really,
I'm really interested
just because, like,
they have a lot of moving parts
that they have to figure out with this roster.
And I guess
the thing that is,
because they didn't want to do anything,
like make a big trade or anything like that,
to give Robertson eight years
at nine million or whatever.
And then,
in 26,
20,
27,
they're going to be going
like,
fuck,
we've got to give
this guy so much
money.
We're going to give this guy
again,
15 million bucks.
They must be
wishing already right now
that they had done that.
Oh,
well,
by the way,
Kevin Weeks has confirmed
the contract that the Dallas Stars
had already publicly announced.
So.
Okay,
thank you,
Kevin.
Was he in like a walk-in freezer?
He was like in a room in his house.
I guess that's the,
yeah,
that's,
less interesting,
that.
Kevin,
you're going to make the walk to like the local swatterhouse and just to be in front of a bunch of cows up, you know, anyway.
Yeah, so there you go.
There's some breaking news for you.
Again, shocked it didn't happen one second after we stopped recording.
But hey, sometimes you catch a break.
How about this one?
I didn't, this kind of didn't get a ton of fanfare.
And I, you know, I thought it was a pretty big milestone.
Lundy Ruff, the win over the Rangers or the one before that maybe was his 800th career win.
He's only the fifth coach in NHL history to get there.
Yeah.
It pretty.
That's crazy.
Not bad for a guy that I thought was going to be fired by now.
Oops.
Yeah, from like, how many jobs did he have where you're like, he has 100% overstayed is welcome.
They're going to, they're going to shake him any minute now.
And then it just doesn't happen.
Yep.
Sorry, Lindy
He's 48 behind
Ken Hitchcock for fourth all time
And I got to say, the way the devils are playing right now
That's happening this season
That's going 48 more
On their next to whatever six in a row
Yeah
Yeah, hey, why not?
But here's the other funny thing
Is now that I'm looking at the list of NHL
Head coaching wins records
Paul Maurice is only 15 behind, or I'm sorry, 16 behind Lindy Ruff.
Yeah.
Paul Maris has been doing this since, yeah, because he was doing this since he was a teenager.
Like, Paul Maurice was like the-
His first season is 95-96.
How about this?
He started coaching before Lindy Ruff did as an NHL head coach.
Oh, wow.
That's wild.
By two years.
How old was he doing when he started?
Was he like literally in his 20s when he became a-
He must have been like 20s?
24, 25 maybe, yeah.
Yeah, I'm going to look this up.
Because he was like a crazy young coach.
And it just feels like, oh, he's 29, according to this.
So a little old than I thought, but when he coached Hartford.
And I love that on hockey reference.
I think it's still his photo from that year because he looks, you know,
to the point now where like when he gets hired in Florida,
people are like, ah, you know, a bright young mind.
And you're like, I'm pretty sure he's in his late 50s by now.
But Paul Marais will always be baby-faced.
He's not.
He's 55.
That's not your late 50s.
That's firmly your mid-50s.
And this is a guy who's been coaching
since I think like before Joe Thornton was in the NHL.
Yeah.
Fucking crazy.
Wow, good for him.
But yeah, I would have never guessed, you know, gun to your head.
Brains all over the wall, if you get this wrong.
Has Paul Moritz coached more NHL games than Lindy Ruff?
The answer is yes.
Yeah.
By like 50.
Yeah.
I'm shocked at that.
And that he started before is wild.
That's, uh, that's, yeah, again, hold up a, hold up a picture with these two guys.
Which guy started coaching in the NHL first.
It's going to be that old looking guy.
Yeah.
Ball-Marie's looking good for 55.
I got to say, I watched that game last night.
And they were talking about it a little bit.
Like he started way earlier than you thought.
This is on the Oilers Broadcaster.
Like he started way earlier than you thought.
And then, uh, there's only been like,
two seasons where he like fully sat out.
Yeah.
I mean, that's, that's, that's,
NHL coach, it's like,
like you age in president time, right?
Like, that's, uh,
except Paul Burris.
Yeah, he's,
I don't know.
Good for him.
Yeah, he coached Mettlerge Magnitogorsk
during the 1213 lockout.
And, uh, in 0506,
he went from, so he got fired after 0304.
by Carolina, or in the middle of 0304, I should say.
Doesn't have a job during the lockout, as you might imagine.
And then he's the head coach of the Toronto Marley's
for the 05-06 season coming out of the lockout,
and then is immediately promoted to the Maple Leafs.
Yeah.
Crazy.
Crazy.
Paul Maurice drop skin care routine win.
Yeah.
Drop how to stay around in the coaching world routine.
I guess it's the better, the better thing for him to sell to people.
Nobody ever wants to fire me.
And when they do, someone wants to hire me immediately.
Oh, have you like won a lot of Stanley Cops gone deep in the playoffs?
No, never.
Almost never.
It happened like one time.
Very rarely.
And, uh, okay.
Yeah.
But you're like a real standup guy and you never quit on a team.
Oh, no.
No, I, I've done that too.
I just, I'm just like, I'm sick of this and I just left.
And then they gave me the best team in the league that summer to coach.
And how'd that go for you?
Oh, it's going way worse than anybody would have thought.
Are they going to fire you?
No, absolutely not.
No chance.
Oh, great.
Seems like you've got to figure it out.
He does.
He absolutely does.
The one thing you can fairly say about Paul Maurice is that he has it figured out.
They were saying last night that like his kid is like the play-by-play guy
for an ECHL team in Florida.
Oh.
Now, too.
Very cool.
They're like, and his other son is a lawyer or is studying to be a lawyer or something like that.
Everything's going great for the, for the Maurice family.
You'll love to see this kind of thing.
I feel like things are, yeah.
Does he do life coaching when he's done with head coaching?
That's what I'm saying.
Like life and career coaching?
Like, Paul Maurice could probably make a hell of a lot more than he does in the NHL.
Probably good.
maybe that's the trick, right?
He's like, I'll work for minimum wage.
You're just going to make me an NHL coach.
I get to fly around on a private jet and stuff.
And they're like, yeah, great.
Works for me.
Yeah, anyway, one last bit of news here.
The passing of Borea Salming.
You know, anytime somebody comes out and says,
oh, I have ALS, you're really kind of looking at the watch and going not long now, right?
Yeah, and especially it's, it is a,
It's a condition where, you know,
that there could be different levels of prognosis
and his was very bad.
So, yeah.
All you can say is it was phenomenal.
I mean, we talked about him just two weeks ago,
I think it was when he was in,
when he got to Toronto,
got to have that send off from Leaf fans.
You know, I don't think anyone at the time thought that the end was
as close as it was,
but it was understood that this was probably the final,
time that we would be seeing board of salming and certainly in an NHL rink and um it it's great you know
it's how often do we say that you know you the world loses someone and and the tributes pour
in and you just say like why wouldn't it be it's too bad that people don't get to hear that you
know that's all the great things that people say um that you know they didn't get to hear it and
and he did he got to have that moment he got to hear all the tributes and the swedish players
and everyone else.
It's awful.
It's a tragedy that this happened to him
and to his family,
but not a bad way to go
as far as you're knowing your legacy
and how loved you were
and how respected and all that.
Yeah, and nice for everybody, too,
like, you know, former teammates, fans, whatever,
to, like, get to say,
hey, man, we thought you fucking kicked ass.
And we thought you were the fucking nicest guy
one of the greatest hockey players ever all this like everybody just got to say to his face how much
he meant to them and um i don't know like that to me that that that's like a really cool two-way
street because like you know how many you know i i i lost a family member in the last like couple
of years and it's it's hard to say uh you know like what what they meant to you or whatever
and and like to have that opportunity like you don't always get that.
And so, you know, I think, I think that's, like I said, I think that's a really great two-way street.
Excuse me.
So yeah, I don't know.
I guess I don't have anything else to say about that.
It's just, you know, you hate to obviously lose someone to ALS or whatever, but like.
Mm-hmm.
And this is as good as good of a.
of a way for it to happen as you can possibly.
Yeah.
And the fact that, you know,
that there's this whole new generation of fans who maybe knew the name but didn't
know the story.
And now they now they do.
That's,
that's cool as well.
And,
and hey,
the Leafs honoring them with that patch on their jersey.
That's like,
you want to talk about rating something out of 10.
That's like a 10 out of 10 patch.
Yep.
Has there ever been a better one?
Usually they just like,
you know,
put like a person's initials in like,
like a black circle or whatever.
And that's as nice attribute as you can normally do.
But the Leafs went all out for this one.
This thing looks fucking phenomenal.
Yep.
Yeah, the whole thing with, I said it two weeks ago,
like with the Leafs getting into Toronto and the way they handled,
it was phenomenally done.
And now feels obviously even more poignant than it did back then.
So good job by all.
Yep.
So yeah, that's it.
We're done for the, we're done for the week.
week. I got to go on a little mini vacation here. So that's why we're doing it a day early.
Sean, plugs, you know.
You can find me at the athletic. If you didn't jump on our Black Friday deal, I don't know what to tell you, man. It's gone. It's over now.
You blew it. I know what to tell you. You fucked up big time.
Yeah, definitely, you know, you should still subscribe, but just do it with the understanding that you should listen to me.
or I mean, really in hindsight, I think with the Black Friday deal, it would have been better if any of us had maybe tweeted it out once or twice.
Yeah, that was your big mistake.
I feel like people on Twitter weren't made aware. There was just no way for anybody to know about it.
Yeah. Like we should have had like a yellow graphic or something that could have been in your timeline 700 times a day.
But thank you to welcome to all the new people who did subscribe. I know there were a lot that reached out and said they jumped in.
You can find my stuff, my podcast with Ian Mendez on Thursday, my stuff including this week, I'm going to do something I do every few years.
It's one of the most difficult things I challenges that I undertake, but I'm going to try to come up with 10 players in the NHL active players that nobody hates.
Let's see if I can do it.
That'll be coming in the middle of the week at some point.
Wow.
There you go.
For me, it's E.P.Rinkside.com, as the, you know, as you all know, use the code, I love EP when you sign up for a one year subscription and they will tack three months on at the end.
And much like you, Sean, we had a, we had a like 50% off deal for Black Friday through Cyber Monday.
And a lot of people let me know they took advantage of it.
And to those people, I say, thank you so much.
And to those who didn't, I say, you miss the boat.
You blew it.
What am I going to tell you?
But yeah, all kinds of takes over there.
Again, I'm off for the next several days.
So, you know, no three stars or anything like that.
But we got a lot of stuff in the hopper.
I can look at the back end and see what we got coming up.
And we got some really good stuff coming up about, you know, your favorite team's prospects and, you know, draft rankings and all that kind of stuff.
And they're all very good.
Keep an eye out for all that.
Your favorite team's prospects are fantastic, man.
This is they have they did a lot of these guys are going to play.
I saw a lot of the I saw the latest organizational rankings and every team in the league is tied for first.
So it's going.
It should be.
And then and then patreon.com slash puck soup all kinds of bonus episodes here at the end of the month as is often the case.
And yeah, you know, just sign up.
You get bonus episodes from me and Sean.
you get bonus episodes from Greg Beninsky, I think his name is.
You get bonus episodes from me and Sean Gentilly.
You get bonus episodes from me and Adam Vingen.
So there's all kinds of stuff going on over there.
Most of it, me-centric.
So I guess your mileage may vary.
But yeah, we got it all going on over there.
Patreon.com slash Puck Soup.
Five, eight bucks a month.
You get to pick your level.
It's crazy.
We did.
We had a bonus yesterday.
and like Gary Bettman and Phil Esposito both showed up.
It was wild.
I can't believe we got them.
It was pretty crazy.
Yeah.
Yeah.
It felt like I was doing someone else's podcast when that happened.
But anyway, yeah, that's it.
Thanks so much for listening, folks.
Have a good week.
And we'll talk to you, I think, on the normal Wednesday next week.
We'll figure it out.
Okay.
Bye-bye.
Bye.
Sticks and hits and goals and saves and slapshots and goons
We've got sportly commentary
To whatever you commute
But we also cover movies, TV shows
It's in tunes
It's your weekly bowl of hockey and nonsense
Borgoo
