Rahimi, Harris & Grote Show - 5 On It & Brian Geltzeiler talks Bulls' outlook as trade deadline looms (Hour 3)
Episode Date: January 30, 2026In the third hour, Marshall Harris and Mark Grote discussed a variety of topics in the 5 On It segment. After that, SiriusXM NBA Radio host Brian Geltzeiler joined the show to discuss what the Bulls s...hould do as the trade deadline looms next week. Later, Harris and Grote debated whether the Bulls or Blackhawks will make the playoffs first.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
The hour is brought to you by Jewel Osco.
Five on.
Naylorah, Rahimi and Marshall Harris with Mark Grody.
Bring you five topics of their minds today.
On Chicago Sports Radio 670, the score.
Number one.
Coming in at number one on five on it with Mark Grody and Marshall Harris
here on Rahimi Harris and Grody, ESPN's Bill Barnwell published his ranking of every head coach
higher since 2021, and Ben Johnson was ranked at number eight.
Do you guys agree with where Barnwell has been?
ranked Johnson on this list. All right, we've got the list in front of us in a scrolling sort of way
here. So I'm going to go through like the guys that are before Ben Johnson. And I will just give you
my yes or no if they're worthy of being ahead of, does that sound like a good way to do it here?
I like that. Since we're living in a scroll lifestyle right now, just so we're having some printer
problems here right now. But Dan Campbell appears as number one on that list. Yep, yep. That's pretty
good. Like I understand. Ben Johnson is not number one. Nick Siriani.
number two. Yeah, you won a Super Bowl.
Like, you get a lot of opinions
in Philly, as you know, about Nick
Siriani, including those who think he should be
fired right now.
Mike McDonald is number three.
I mean,
he's going to the Super Bowl.
Mike Rable with the New England
Patriots. Also going to the Super Bowl.
Come on. I mean, okay. Yes, I agree
with that so far. We're good so far. We're really good.
D'Amico Ryan's, yeah.
Yeah, still. Like,
Ben Johnson's got a little way to go to catch up
with him. He's been a bit of a revelation as disappointing as the sort of thud to the end of their
season was. They've got some attitude. A playoff win in every season he's coached. That is great
texture and their defense is just fun to watch. Sean Payton of the Denver Broncos, interesting. He's
in three seasons. He's 32 and 19, a 628 winning percentage. Yeah, I think that's probably a pretty
good place for him, some tender moments with the Russell.
Russell Wilson.
I don't know why I hit Russell Wilson out of my brain.
Russell Wilson, but he got through it.
He's there.
So right before, so this is the interesting one, Marshall, right before Ben Johnson, we have
the following, Kevin O'Connell.
And I have to ask myself, is Kevin O'Connell right now a better hire than Ben Johnson
was in terms of what he has accomplished?
Four seasons, 43 and 25 overall.
Yeah, he edges them out.
Just barely.
I don't think it's barely.
First of all, he outlasted his GM.
We just found that out.
That's a great point.
That's a talent.
That's a trick.
Not everybody does that.
You can withstand regimes you are to be reckoned with.
13 and 14 win seasons, man.
Like, it's hard to argue against 13 and 4 and 14 and 3.
I was trying to, I was pandering a little bit.
Yeah.
And then it's Ben Johnson.
And my question would be, is he a better hire than Jim Harbaugh?
Who is number nine on the list?
Yes.
Yeah.
Is that, do you think he is a better?
It's a very close comparison, right?
That really is because who didn't want, I wanted them to take a look at Jim Harbaugh.
I would have loved it if Jim Harbaugh came here for multiple reasons.
Number one is because he's a terrific head coach.
Wow.
I mean, Jim Harbaugh probably should be ahead.
But maybe it's because he's like been hired previously.
Like he knew what you were getting with him.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Maybe that's the typical not giving enough credit to the incumbent guys like we were
talking about with Coach of the Year, like where Bill Belichick can't get a Coach of the Year award
because it wasn't a revelation.
I would say Harbaugh would go ahead of Ben Johnson too on the overall.
What's interesting about this is Dan Quinn is the next coach at number 10.
Yeah.
And I'm like, I think, yeah, I can.
say Ben Johnson is a better hire just because Ben Johnson maybe had more to clean up.
But I am surprised at number 11.
I'd rather have Ben Johnson than Dan Quinn.
Okay, that's fine.
What I'm saying is I think Liam Cohen should be higher on this list.
Okay.
And where is he?
He's number 11.
Okay.
I think he should be above.
And I understand why he's not.
He's not above Dan Quinn because Dan Quinn played an NFC championship game.
Right.
But at the same time, 13 and 4 in year one.
Yeah, let me just fire through a few more of these
because there's another name that people will want to hear here.
Let me go from 17 on.
Brian Daiball, number 17, New York Giants.
Tave Canellis.
Don't go too far down on this.
Because you can remember what question number two is on this?
Oh, okay, okay.
All right, then I'll just stop.
Let's get to the question number two.
I forgot.
So I think he is appropriately there.
I could slide him down a spot, but not up any spots.
Right, yeah.
Yep, agree.
Turn your mic on.
Wrong button.
There it is.
There we go.
Question number two, we scroll down Bill Barnwell's list of the head coach rankings of every higher since 2021.
In that same piece by Bill Barnwell, former Bears head coach Matt Eberfluse came in at number 25.
How do we feel about where Matt Eberfluse ranks on this list?
Mars, you get the first crack at this one, buddy.
I looked at this. 25 felt high just when you say it's 25 and how many coaching hires have there been since that year? Well, there's been a total of 37. Just to give you some, a frame of reference. Number 37, you probably forgot about this because I did. Urban Meyer with the Jacksonville Jaguars. One of the worst coaching 10 years in the NFL ever. Yeah. And the worst since 2021 because he finished 2 and 11 and didn't even make it through season number one. Same thing for number 36, Frank Reich.
one season didn't make it to the end of the first season one in ten and so we keep going up and
some of these names are very familiar i think matt eberflus is pretty well placed because he's
above guys like jonathan gannon who didn't have any success in arizona jare meo who was
one and done in new england and brian callahan because well when you coach the titans these days
you know you're not in it for the long haul aaron glen which obviously was a disaster for his first
year. Three and fourteen for
Aaron Glenn. Talk about two coaches from
Detroit going in separate directions
in their first years. And directly above him
is Dennis Allen at number 23 and
Rahim Morris and number 24. Alan of course,
the defensive coordinator now. He was
18 and 25 before
getting fired in his third season with the
Saints. And Rahim Morris is the person directly
above him. I think
I like where this is. I think
Mattie Bufus is also
placed correctly at 14 and 32.
Before seeing the names and you heard, how many is it 37?
Is that the list goes to here?
Yeah.
When you first heard, Fluse is 25 out of 30s.
I'm like, ooh, we're sure that's not further down, but then you look at the name.
By the way, there's one other former Bears coach who is on this list, even though it feels like this man has been gone forever.
It just does.
It's weird.
Lovie Smith shows up with the Houston Texans at number 33 in season one.
he was 3 and 13.
That did not get him off to a particular,
not a particularly good start for
Lovey Smith. That's not what the Bears
said. They're just happy he got that third win.
The Bears are just happy that he got that third win.
F-O-B, friend of the bears.
Number three.
This is five out and I'm the score with Mark Grody
and Marshall Harris, and we're dusting off
an award that we've kept in the closet
since baseball season. Here it is
for question number three. Does anyone on the
Bulls roster qualify for the
Mark Grody? He does
deserved better award following Chicago's 116, 113 lost to Miami yesterday.
I guess it's the guy that we were talking about a little bit earlier.
The one that Marshall Harris is desirous of potentially if it makes sense,
signing and keeping here for as long as possible,
and that would be Iodosumu, very strong at the end of a game,
where the Bulls in general were strong because they had to be strong
because they sucked for a lot of the game down between 7 and 10 points for the majority
of that game last night, but he made some key baskets at the end, 23 points,
and played an I.O. Dusumu type game, unlike Kobe White,
who was 2 of 11 from the field and 2 of 8 from 3 and misses an open 3 at the end.
So I do believe, Io, I absolve you, of the happenings and ongoings of that basketball game
at the United Center last night.
I'm going to be more specific while agreeing with you about Iyo Dosum.
We can agree.
One specific play.
He deserved best.
and the Bulls, frankly, deserve better.
With 10.1 seconds left in the fourth quarter, the Bulls, down by three,
and Iyo Dosumu picks Norman Powell's pocket and is immediately held by Norman Powell
on what would have been a breakaway.
So by definition, it should have been a transition take foul.
What that means is you go to the free throw line, shoot one free throw, and retain possession
of the ball.
If that foul is called and I.
makes the free throw, then the Bulls have the ball, down two with 10 seconds left.
That's a very different situation than what they actually face.
One, they didn't give IEO credit for a steal in the box score on that.
And he stole the ball.
That's how he got fouled.
He did make the two free throws.
Didn't they talk about that that should be changed?
Did they talk about that play?
I think I heard Stacey saying.
They said wait till today's two-minute report and see what the NBA officials say about it.
So we'll be standing.
But do you also feel, and it was pointed out during the broadcast, did you
feel the fatigue in that game.
Everybody was fatigued. Remember, the Bulls played the night before, but so did the Miami Heat.
They didn't get in until after 4 o'clock in the morning.
Yeah.
And they played sloppily and just kind of slow motion like they were playing in Quicksay.
It was almost comical because it was like nobody was necessarily trying to hide it.
It was like, we're tired.
And that's why no one could take over the game per se.
Exactly.
It was a slog, a true slog.
Yeah, I think it was Adam Amin who kept pointing out correctly.
The Bulls were down between seven and nine points.
It felt like the entire game until they made it a close game.
And by the way, just putting a cap here on this question,
the Bulls will be at.
They've got this three-game series going on.
They are at now they get to go to Miami.
Oh, Miami.
They will be at Miami on Saturday and Sunday.
They get to spend the rest of the week in Miami.
So hopefully they get themselves rejuvenated out there in South Florida.
Number four.
A whole lot of heat has been coming Bill Pollian's way this week.
According to an ESPN piece that surfaced earlier in the week,
the former Colts general manager and current Hall of Fame voter,
was reported to have told voters that legendary Patriots' Cultures,
Bill Belichick should have to, quote, wait a year, unquote, due to SpyGate,
the videotaping scandal back in 2007.
Pollian later denied that saying that he told ESPN,
that he told other voters that he heard other voters float the outside.
idea. So that's Polian saying, hey, it wasn't me. It was other people I heard say Bill Belichick
should have to wait, not be a first ballot hall of fame. There were questions as to whether or not
Polian voted for Belichick. Polian has claimed that he did vote for Belichick. Yesterday,
Polian's son, Brian, tweeted the following statement, quote, my father is a public figure
and polarizing. I understand and accept that. However, what has happened over the last couple
days is not right. The facts and the truth are important, unquote. The statement included a
retweet of this clip from Bill Pollyan's interview with Sirius XM NFL earlier this week.
Here it is. I wrote this out, so I'm reading from the statement. I voted for Coach Belichick
in the Hall of Fame selection meeting. The Pro Football Hall of Fame has confirmed that fact
through the auditors of the selection process.
Again, I'll state that I never said that I believe that Coach Belichick should, quote,
wait a year, close quote, for enshrinement.
This has been confirmed by the Pro Football Hall of Fame, numerous selectors who are in the room,
and my vote for Coach Belichick.
As a Hall of Fame member and selector, I realize the import of what we do.
I've always tried as a selector to make these difficult choices with the utmost of it objectivity.
I've sent on Sirius XM radio and numerous other media outlets that I believe Coach Belichick to be a first ballot Hall of Famer.
My vote confirms that.
That is Bill Pollian on Sirius XM NFL radio.
Earlier this week, on a scale of 1 to 10 on the BS meter, where do you rank Bill Pollian's prepared statement
about the Bill Belichick Hall of Fame debacle.
I'm going to do Bill polling in a solid
and put it out of 11 and limit it there.
You're doing them a solid.
I'm doing him a solid.
As I said before,
when it comes to Bill Polian
in his anything really related football
at this current stage of his life,
he is either senile
or just an absolute clown.
Here's why.
Because your son can go run
and try to run this sound out there
for people off of a prepared statement that you had to write down to make sure you didn't forget
what you were supposed to say.
But when you were asked whether or not you voted for Bill Belichick, you had to say, what,
you're 95% sure?
I'm sorry.
If your responsibility is that great in which we're depending on you to cast your vote
on three out of five individuals and you can't 100% remember who you actually voted for
without having an audit done by the Pro Football Hall of.
fame.
Sir, this is a Wendy's.
You don't need to be voting anymore.
Go sit down, take a nap.
We'll tell you when dinner is, probably about 4.30 for people of your condition.
Boomer.
I mean, I didn't see that.
He saw boomer.
Look, this was emergency public relations that what we just heard.
That's what's going on right now.
When you bring in the emergency call, when it's 911, when it's stop,
Stop drop and roll time.
That's what's going on here.
It's desperation.
That's fine.
If you want to save face and like we could all smile and say,
okay, Bill, that's cool.
That's great.
Big hugs.
You're great.
Still got to get out.
11.
11.
I will join you in that 11 category.
Yes, you've done great things.
You've done wonderful.
I hope you feel better.
I do.
I hope he feels better.
I hope his son feels better.
I hope all the Polians feel better about this.
Now you do this respect.
man, you must do the right thing and save him from himself is what we all do with the folks
that we love the most.
I'm more disappointed in Bill's son than I am Bill at this point because at some point, as we all know,
the kids become the parents to their parents.
And apparently he doesn't understand that this is that stage.
He is there.
Be the parent to your parent.
Right.
Do your job.
Number five.
Microphone.
Thank you.
I got you, Ray.
I got two buttons here.
Yeah, no, I know.
Five on it on the score.
Mark Grody, Marshall Harris.
And this is our final question appropriately placed after the Bill Bullion question.
And appropriate for the week we've had, what's your favorite Boomer take?
Boomers.
So many takes.
You want to go first?
You seem like you're ready, man.
Go ahead.
Go ahead.
I'm not yelling at an angry.
I'm not angry and yelling at a cloud right now, but I will say this.
You're yelling at an angry cloud.
I'm probably yelling at an angry cloud.
I am angry yelling at an angry cloud.
Here's my most boomer take, and it's the truth.
And everybody should agree with me.
Stop telling me you don't take cash.
If I have money and I'm willing to pay you for the thing that you are offering, take my freaking money.
I shouldn't have to pay with a car.
or freaking Apple Pay or whatever.
Cash should mean something in a society.
And if I have physical cold hard cash,
you should take my cash and give me what I'm paying for.
Don't tell me you don't take cash.
I will counter that with stop using cash, Marshall.
Stop it.
We got a boomer.
There's a penny shortage going on in this world.
Let me tell you something, Grotie.
And here's why I say this.
Because if I stop having cash,
I'm going to stop tipping, and I'd rather give the people I'm tipping straight up cash.
That is funny you say that.
That's the only thing I have cash in my wallet for is those extraordinary circumstances of tipping.
And every once in a while, every once in a while, it's easier to have a $20 bill on you.
But not often.
But that's a great boomer take.
Listen, I think I'm in the right.
That's a boomer take right there.
What about you?
I debated with myself about whether or not this is actually a boomer take, but,
I think it is.
It has become it.
As one who has, and you do too, and Layla as well,
we all walk a lot.
We all walk a ton.
And I have been walking this city, you know,
since I was living here and working here full time 20 years ago.
20, 25.
Like, I just walk everywhere, walk on the lake, walk silly.
You know, 10,000 to 20,000 steps a day easily with the walking that goes on.
All right, my boomer take is, and it's become this because I can't
overcome it. You have to walk on the right side of the sidewalk.
Am I wrong about this? Because I'm starting to feel wrong about it.
No, you're right. Look at me right in the eyes.
Walking on the wrong side of the road.
Right at you. Come at you. Right at you.
Just walking. There I am. Heeled toe going right down State Street today.
There's a light across and I'm waiting for the go sign.
And I'm looking, I'm staring down my counterparts. They're in my lane. I'm like, are they going to adjust?
They're not going to adjust. They're not adjusting. They want to just take over the right.
Walking on the right side of the sidewalk is my boomer take.
Please do it.
Please do it.
I should end the show with that every single day.
It bothers me to no end.
And remember, kids, walk on the right side of the sidewalk, just like driving.
Just like driving.
And you know what's crazy is like that's a close second to that?
What you just said is like when people are walking in a group and they don't even like veer to the right?
Right.
Do you want me to walk through you?
Is that the goal here?
Right.
And I make it real obvious that I had to just.
go around them. Like I make a big production
about it. If I have to go around like a
State Street tree or something
to get in front of those people, I make
I cut them off real close like.
That's an excellent boomer take. Yeah, yeah, there it is. Okay, good.
I'm glad you confirmed that as a boomer take.
That felt good.
It did, but that's right. That's why you asked
the question. Maybe I am a boomer.
It's a fun Friday like that. Coming up
next, I love the way
this guy talks about the NBA.
He is Brian Geltzai.
from Sirius XM NBA radio.
He knows the league inside out.
He knows the Bulls inside out.
We will talk to Brian next here on Rahimi Harrison Grotie on the score.
Rahimi Harrison Grotty.
Midday's 10 a.m. to 2 on Chicago Sports Radio 670.
Wiggins with a spin.
Wiggins threw it away.
Intercepted by Kobe.
Comey on the runway.
Kobe to Vooch.
Boots gives it up.
Hurt her right quarter aisle, four, three, yes!
Yes, but no, yes but no, as we welcome it back to Rejami
Harrison, Grody, the Bulls lost the game last night to the Miami Heat 116 to
113. The Bulls go down. They have lost three straight games,
highlights courtesy of the Chicago Bulls Radio Network.
Heard right here on 670, the score, Chuck Swirsky with a great call as well,
along with Bill Whentington. Yeah, the Bulls trailed by 13.
the fourth quarter, they made a nice comeback, but they fall short in the end.
Let's keep the Bulls talk hot.
The NBA talk hot as well.
Nobody better to do it.
Really, I just like listening to this guy.
He is Brian Geltziler.
He is of Sirius XM NBA Radio.
He is a host there, and we are lucky that he is joining us right now.
On the Circus Sports Illinois Hotline, download the Circus Sports app today.
Brian, real pleasure to have you on today.
How are you doing?
and what do you think about those Chicago Bulls?
Well, I'm doing
great, first of all. I hope you guys are good.
The Chicago Bulls,
I feel for Bulls fans.
I kind of feel like this has,
it's been a lot of years of just
straddling this playing
line and no real
move in either direction.
And I kind of feel like,
like the Bulls fans are great fans.
And I truly believe that they would be
incredibly supportive of
a rebuild, a rebuild done
in earnest with the right kinds of pieces.
And I think there's a fear of this ownership group about breaking it down too much and maybe
taking a financial hit over it and a little bit of the fear of the front office and breaking
it down too much and not being able to keep their jobs.
So I think you have kind of a bunch of different things factoring in that has left the Bulls
with permanent residence in NBA purgatory, which you're not bad enough to get a high
draft pick and you're not good enough to be able to have a chance to win a playoff series.
And that's where the Bulls have been stuck for a while now.
I feel like this is the perfect time because of what you just said for the Bulls to make a flurry of moves to at least get draft capital.
Because what I've seen from them so far is they just don't value draft capital the same way that everybody else in the association values draft capital.
With the number of players that they have, seven of them coming to the end of their current contracts, now is the time to go ahead, see what you can get for who.
and then understand that Billy Donovan's a great coach,
you're probably not going to ever be able to tank as long as he's your head coach.
No, and listen, I mean, this tanking is never a coaching strategy.
It's always a management strategy.
And so you could certainly break this thing down to the studs a little bit
with the thought of who my building blocks are going to be.
And if you want it to be Gideon Bezellis, it's Gideon Bezellis.
That's fine.
You know, you've got to make the biggest financial decision at the end of the season
is going to be on Colby White.
And what do you do there?
And that's really a financial decision that technically should be made between now and Thursday's 3 o'clock trade deadline.
Because if you are not going to resign him, you have to move him for value because at his current contract, he's relatively easy to trade.
And there's teams out there that he would be a tremendous help for.
So you could really fish something decent for him if you're willing to put him out there.
But if you want to make them a building block, well, that's fine.
But then maybe go the other way and look to add another veteran or two to be better next year.
Oh, no.
And again, would I do that?
The first option is much more viable to me than going that way.
But here's my point.
Pick a friggin direction.
Like, go do – and they're not picking any direction.
I agree on breaking down.
Listen, I love Nicole Vucevic and veteran leadership and all that,
and he's a very good player.
What's he still doing on this scene?
Why is that? Because whatever value at some point you can get for him, go get it.
Because, again, he's not going to be part of your long-term solution because he doesn't fit the age timeline.
And that's the whole thing.
Start to align this thing to get good in the future.
Stop worrying about winning just enough games to hang around and keep people interested.
I think it's cruel and it's unfair to Bulls fans that they kind of have to deal with this year over year.
Something that I've said we should watch the Bulls do, and I doubt that they do what I tell them to do, because that never happened.
But move Kobe White, move Vutrovich, move the other guys, but keep Ayodosumu because he's going to be cheaper to keep than Kobe White and re-sign him.
He's a Chicago guy.
He's a valuable piece.
Even after you resign him, you'd still be able to move him in maybe a future deal to get a superstar.
I think they've gone the way of not being flexible enough so that when a star, like Janus Ante Kumpo, becomes available.
they don't have what it takes to land a guy like that.
What do you think about getting rid of both Kobe, Vooch,
whoever else you can on the fringes,
and kind of what you're saying
in that you keep going forward with Giddy, Buzellas,
and maybe Iodosumu
and still have a whole lot more flexibility
than what they've had in years past.
I agree with your theory on Dissumu
because I think, listen, that's a player
that you're going to get signed to a relatively reasonable deal
and he's a guy that you could see
being a rotation player on a title contender.
Really? I mean, he's extremely versatile. He guards well. He plays with a whole lot of confidence. He's unselfish.
Like, I just, I like the player, and I would agree there. I think, you know, you do want to bring him back.
Kobe White's the big decision, because Kobe White's going to cost you, you know, in excess of $35 million a year.
And if you don't necessarily think that he's a, you know, a big part of your future, you don't pay him that money.
The other thing is this that they have to be conscious of. You know, we're coming out of.
of an era where if you didn't get what the value you thought you should get for a guy in a
trade that was teams are looking at as a rental, you would hold them, sign them, and then
flip them with the thought that, you know, now that he signed, he'll retain some value.
The problem is, is higher-priced players in this day and age, no matter how good they are,
are really hard to move.
Teams are very careful about the kinds of numbers they're taking on their books,
because once you get to that second apron,
your handcuffed from doing anything.
And everybody wants to stay out of it.
It's functioning as a hard cap.
And for the team, the one team in the league that's in it right now,
Cleveland, they probably need to do something here at this deadline.
They can't do because they're locked up.
So my point being is that you have to be careful with White.
If he's not a building block, you've got to decide this week
and get whatever you can from.
Listen, I know for a long time that at one point the Bulls wanted two first for Vooge,
and then they're holding out for one.
At this point, I think a young player in a couple of seconds.
I would just say, you know what, let's turn the page.
It's okay to get bad enough to get a good pick in this draft.
And this is an incredible draft to be bad for.
Because even if you don't get one of these top four picks,
you have six meaningful impact guys
that can be all NBA types of players in this draft.
In addition, it goes anywhere from 10 to 12 deep
with really, really good players.
Like it's a really good year to be in the lottery.
And for the Bulls, it may make the difference.
This may be the kind of year it makes a difference where you're going to be much better off at 8 than you are going to be at 12 or 13.
And I think that's something that this front office has to take a deep look at.
But again, if the guys that are running the front office are worried about losing their jobs, if the team gets too bad, you can't blame them either.
A lot of this falls at the feet of Bull's ownership.
Yeah, because what they obviously sold, that is Arturis Karnas Chavez and Mark Eversely, what they sold to their bosses was, yeah, we know we don't have a star, but we're going to try to develop our own.
If it's going to be modest, be zealous, if it's going to be Josh Giddy, or just have one of those teams that has a bunch of very good players, that's what they sold.
Hopefully they would have the confidence to pivot, even swallow their pride in that regard as well, because Marshall's right.
And he brought up the name Janus.
The Bulls would be in no position to acquire Janus right now.
While the rest of the league is trying to do that, confirm that for us,
and then update us on where you think Janus is going to land or where he ends up in his career.
Let me say this about Artur's Carnivis and Mark Eversley first.
One of the reasons they don't go to Bulls ownership with the pivot move,
it's fear of losing their jobs.
Like, it's, at one point or another, like, you can put coaches on trial, right?
You're going to have a coach, you've got to win this year, you're gone.
You start to put executives on trial, and they're making decisions one year to the next instead of what's best for the overall future.
So looking at these guys and saying, you know what, it's okay to break this thing down,
and we're going to give you guys the rebuild, and here's three or four years, and let's see how it looks.
That's on ownership.
And if ownership isn't doing that, am I blaming this?
We all have bosses, guys.
Sometimes you tell your boss is what they want to hear, right?
and if this is what they want to hear,
that's what you're telling them to stay in the job.
So I can't pound those guys too badly on that.
It still falls at the feet of ownership.
As far as Yonis is concerned,
listen, I just think Milwaukee realized how desperate they were a little late.
If you're going to do in this marketplace
a meaningful auction of Yonis,
your meaningful auction has to start with having Houston and San Antonio engaged in that.
And one of the reasons I think the bucks
leak through Shams Sharani of ESPN earlier this week that we're willing to take
aggressive offers right now between now and the trade deadline is because I think they've
realized that if they could wait for the summer and you're not going to get Houston and San Antonio
in this summer either. They're not going to part with the players that you want on the
part with that. You can make the case maybe Houston should be willing to part with Alper and Shangoon
in a deal like that. They're not as of right now. So I think Milwaukee looked at this and said
geez, we, you know, Janus is going to come back. It's a calf injury. Next
year. He's got one more year left on his deal than a player option that he's absolutely opting out of.
What if he gets hurt when he comes back this year? Where are we then? Then he doesn't play next
year. He opts out and we get nothing for him. And they can't get nothing for him. They don't
have anything else. They have no draft capital. They have outside of Ryan Rollins, they have no good
young players. Anybody's interested in. They have nothing. So for them, this is everything, this deal.
And I think they've realized that there's risk of the packages getting worse. To throw
it out right now for teams like Miami and Golden State who can be desperate to want to compete right
now. Atlanta is, you know, is, you know, kind of on the margins here, but I don't want to give
Jalen Johnson, which probably disqualifies them. A team like Toronto, who's having a great season,
and if they could pull it off without having a sacrifice, Scotty Barnes, you know, in Miami,
clock's ticking on Pat Riley running this thing. If he can get Janus right now, we'll give whatever he has to
give to get Janus right now. So I think Milwaukee kind of looked at this.
in that way. I didn't look at the Golden State.
They're willing to give Butler, Kaminga,
Pajewski, and everything. Now, is that
enough? I don't know that that's going to be
enough for Milwaukee. We have to see.
I mean, but it seems on a draft capital.
Forget it. Seems like Minnesota and the
Knicks, I don't think they have a chance. In the end,
gun to my head, if I had to give you
a team that I think he's going to end up on,
I think it's probably going to be the Miami Heat.
Because in the end, the best
young asset type of player
that's going to be available
to Milwaukee to be able to put
Marquis going to be Khalil Ware, who's played really well this year and shown that he can be a
really good rim-protecting center and be a stretch five that shoots threes. And although he's had some
inconsistent moments this year, you could see the potential there. And I think for them and getting
a bunch of young, Miami's other young player assets, they have all their draft capital. I think you
could take a package like that and spin it to your fans to keep people coming. And I think
understand that for Milwaukee, that's a big goal here. That entire downtown area and that FISA
forum has been built around
Janus. They can't just
take draft picks. They have to get
a meaningful player back,
which is, again, why they want Dylan Harper
from San Antonio, why they'd want Shangoon
or M. Thompson from Houston, why they would
want Jalen Johnson from Atlanta.
They want that kind of lead piece.
And in the absence of one of those guys,
Khalil Ware is actually a pretty decent option.
No, I agree with you. We just saw him
last night. We'll see him tomorrow. We'll see him
Sunday. As you know, the Bulls and the Heat
playing in a three-game play-in.
series, at least that's what I'm calling it in season.
And before we let you go real quick, I just want to point something out.
The Bulls had a chance, according to Joe Dumars, to get that unprotected New Orleans
Pelicans pick, which would come in real handy.
If this does go past the trade deadline with Yonnas, do you think the Bulls could make
enough trades before this deadline to have enough capital and maybe a young player or two to be
in on the Yonah sweepstakes?
Because as you mentioned, the desperation.
Listen, I don't think so.
Enough, yes, the Bulls do have enough.
But keep this in mind about Yannis.
Wherever Yonis gets traded, there's got to be enough there.
It's contract expires.
Oh, man.
We missed your last sentence, Brian.
We missed you, but I think we have you back.
Well, I said the important thing here is that wherever he goes, he's got to want to stay there and sign the contract extension.
Yeah.
You can opt out after next year.
So if you, the thing for the Bulls to be able to get him, well, sure, you could send Giddy, Bezellis, and Kobe White, and all your draft capital.
and, you know what I mean?
Like, something like that.
But then who's Yonis actually going to come to Chicago and play with?
And that becomes a big problem.
So, I mean, if you make a Yonis trade and take him from the frying pan into the fire,
you get what you deserve.
And that's the thing.
And I think for the Bulls here, there's just not enough under the hood to make a Yonis
pursuit all that worthwhile.
Yeah.
Yeah.
At least not at this deadline.
I think they could probably recruit something and do something in the offseason if it comes to that,
but we'll see.
Brian, great stuff is all.
always. Thanks for taking the time. We appreciate you. Thank you, Brian.
Absolutely my pleasure. We'll talk to you guys soon. Take care.
I love that. That's Brian Geltziler, Sirius XM NBA radio host.
Brian and I are aligned. Yeah, well, and I was going to say Miami. Like, really?
It wouldn't be in that plane anymore. I could tell you that. That's true. But like it just gives me
flashbacks to
the LeBron year where a lot of us
around here thought maybe
that triumvirate would happen at the
United Center never, I bet.
It was probably about as close to happening as
the Olympics happening in Chicago.
Not close at all.
Around the same time as well.
And now I'm thinking, not that I actually thought
that it was in any way plausible for Janus
to come to the Bulls. Just the fact. He's
going to Miami. Not even a finalist.
I mean, and that's also, not even a
finalist. I'd sign it
extension in Miami, too, by the way.
Like he said, of course.
Of course, you have to sign the extension.
But yeah, go to Miami.
Work for a really good...
What is Pat Riley?
The president of basketball operations?
Is that what his title is these days?
I don't like his title's higher than that, but yes, he's in charge of basketball.
Much like Matt Ryan, he's in charge.
Yeah, and Spoe, man, Spow.
You don't hear as much about Spoe anymore.
Spowe's going to the Hall of Fame.
He's so good.
He's so good at his job.
We can take a trip to Springfield, Massachusetts whenever he gets in.
One of those guys, like our guests we just had, just like our guests we just
like listening to the man talk baseball.
Let's talk more basketball.
The last time, actually, the Bulls played in a real playoff series.
It was against the Milwaukee Bucks.
It's been a while for the Bulls.
It's been a while for the Blackhawks.
Let's talk about who's getting close, if at all.
Who gets back in quicker?
Who gets back in?
Because, yeah, there's a chance.
There's a chance for our United Center tenants.
We'll talk about that next.
Rahimi Harris & Grody on the score.
The Rahimi Harrison Grody Show, middays 10 to 2 on Chicago Sports Radio 670 the score.
Rahimi Harrison Grody, it is on the score.
And what is true about the Bulls and Blackhawks this year,
although it always just feels like a struggle,
even if it's not as bad as it literally looks right now.
The Bulls 23 and 25, your Chicago Black.
Blackhawks vastly improved record-wise from last year from at this time and now.
Blackhawks are 21, 24, and 9.
What we are wondering and throwing out there for discussion is who is more likely to make the playoffs,
the Bulls, or the Blackhawks?
A reminder that in the NBA, 16 of the 30 teams do make the actual playoffs.
That is true.
That is over half.
It's really, like I always say about the play in,
this was hilarious.
It's like, just don't be one of the worst five teams in your 15-team conference
and you get to play in postseason basketball.
Right.
It takes doing to not make the playoffs.
I'm not going to say like it's impossible, but it takes some doing.
Last time, as I said before the break, the last time the Bulls made the playoffs
was the 2021-2020 season in which,
the Bulls were beaten in five by the Milwaukee Bucks.
Oh, it was a fun series.
Do you remember when they won game two and people were like, oh,
it's a series now. We're coming back to United Center.
Felt that way.
Bulls can take a lead.
They stole home court advantage from the Bucks.
God, it was so nice.
I was there.
It fell all you were.
I was there.
It did feel that way.
I know I fell for it because I wanted to,
damn it, I wanted so badly to.
But the Bulls have not been in the playoffs
since the 21-22 season in a league.
league where 16 of the 30 teams make it. The Blackhawks, the last time they were in the playoffs was
NHL season 2019 slash 2020 when the Blackhawks were a 12 seed and were dismissed from the playoffs
in the first round by Las Vegas. And 16 of the 32 teams in the NHL make the postseason. And it's
been that long since the Blackhawks have made it. I honestly, to me, it would be very
really hard to think that either, neither of these teams would make it.
As in I think they both should, the great wild card in this one is, and I think my answer
will still stand even after I say what I'm going to say.
The great wild card is the Bulls and the trade deadline that they do start to dump off
players, but I think I'm pretty right to be skeptical that they're not going to unload players
and not going to take a slide to the end of the season, which has to have them exit from
the playoffs.
Do you consider it taking a slide if they trade voot?
is that like, is that, is that, is that, well, would, I think the question is, what, would, you're asking me, do I think
the Bulls would take a slide? No, no, no, no. Well, yeah, that's the, that's the, right. Like, if the Bulls
don't have Vuchovich, would they slide out of the playoffs? Would they, they, they wouldn't hit
rock bottom without Nikola Voochovich in there. But I think he does probably even more than, we'd find out
the more that he was doing that maybe we didn't appreciate him for. Yeah, I think that you take a hit without
Vuch. I don't think you go rock bottom, though, at that point. I don't know that you even
fall out of the playoffs. I don't know when Zach Collins is coming back, but that's a factor here.
If you lose Vooch and you have Collins and Smith still, then you feel like you can still do some
things, especially defensively because Vooch is a liability on Devens, as you've seen, as you've watched
a lot of Bulls game of late. The problem with the Blackhawks is, first of all, they've lost four in a row.
Second of all, since Connor Bredard has come back, he gave him like a little quick jolt,
but they have not been good team-wise. It's been a lot of,
oh, they hung around or they had a lead and blew a lead.
And the fact that they are 21, 24, and not, and remember, they're 54 games in the season.
There's only 28 games left.
And as it stands right now, they've got 51 points.
The Ducks have the second wild card spot in the West.
They're eight points behind them.
They're going to have to start not just taking teams to overtime and losing in a shootout or losing an OT.
They've got to win games.
They've got to put together wins.
And I just don't know if they can get there.
I think the Bulls have a better chance of making the playoffs.
I really do. And that might be my stance a week from today after the Bulls have made their trade deadline deals as well.
Has Conor Badard actually even had a goal since he's returned? I know he had an empty netter. Does he had a non-empty net goal?
I believe so. I don't know if he has. I'm not really sure. I mean, he's going through it. Like just the classic early. Is he even 21 yet, too? That's another question for Conrad.
Yeah, he had a goal against the penguins.
Okay.
And I'm trying to know what day that was.
Okay.
I think the Blackhawks are in before the Bulls.
But we shall see because there's going to be some...
You just told me less teams make it in the age.
I know.
I did say that.
I didn't necessarily say that because of that, the Blackhawks wouldn't get in.
My answer is, as I said right at the beginning, and you can't do this.
But I think the, like my answer was I think they would both get in.
But if I had to choose one of them, I think it will be the Black Hawk.
I think you're highly optimistic.
I think the chances of them both not getting in is way hard than the chances of them both getting in.
Can't wait to find out.
Also can't wait for Monday.
Monday!
It's happening.
We are going FM.
It is the debut, the turning on of 104-3 the score.
We're going to be FM, Marshall.
That's right.
All the shows, Rahimi Harrison Grotie included in this.
All the score shows you could hear in FM.
Pat Hughes, he's all.
Already FM.
Does this mean you're going to break out your FM voice?
That's my first question.
I'm crafting it.
You're crafting?
I've been told I have the weekend to craft my FM personality.
Okay.
So I don't know.
Should I be working on my FM personalities?
Absolutely.
We all bring a different FM personality to the table.
We do.
But all the shows, the Bulls games, Chuck bouncing around on FM, okay, I'm in.
We'll also be heard on 670 a.m.
Still, that is not going away.
But starting on Monday, 8 a.m. during the Mully and Hawes show, it is the debut, folks, of 1043 FM.
The simulcast will be presented by the official sportsbook of the score, circus sports, sports betting the way it should be with no bet fees.
You know this Marshall.
People have been running all over the hallways the last few days trying to get things ready and prepared for Monday.
In our last break, they were putting up new signage, like out in the hall.
Oh, new signage is going up.
I'm looking in the studio kitchen or the kitchen studio or whatever that thing is.
What is that thing anyway?
It's the kitchen.
There's things in there.
I have been, I will be dispatched after this show to a very familiar and popular location where I'll be filming something.
I don't know if I can.
I actually have no idea if I'd be allowed to say.
I don't even know exactly what it is.
I know where I'm going.
I don't know exactly what I'm going to be doing.
Oh, okay.
I'm going to be finding out.
I'm going to blindfold you and surprise you with something.
I certainly hope that is not part of it.
Okay.
Because if it is...
You don't want to go on anyone's trunk.
I get it.
What's not a secret, though, is at 8 a.m. sharp on Monday.
104.3, the score.
It's happening.
So it's going to be like a big, fun, festive day at the score with great guests all day.
It's just going to be one of those score days.
You got some surprises lined up.
Surprises along the way.
Coming up next.
here on this show right here in the now, in the known, will be our guy, frequent contributor
to the Rahimi Harrison Grotie show.
He is Russell Dorsey.
Yahoo Sports National Baseball Insider, amongst other things.
We'll get to the full resume.
We'll get to Russell's full thoughts on baseball.
I bet he'll want to talk some bears, and we have a topic that we will share with him as
well that we're going to get into.
It's all next here on Rahimi Harrison Grotie on the score.
