Rahimi, Harris & Grote Show - 5 On It & Mavericks trade Anthony Davis to Wizards (Hour 3)
Episode Date: February 4, 2026In the third hour, Leila Rahimi and Marshall Harris discussed a variety of sports topics in the 5 On It segment. After that, they discussed All-Pro left guard Joe Thuney’s huge impact on the Bears i...n 2025. Later, they reacted to the breaking news that the Mavericks have traded big man Anthony Davis to the Wizards in a surprising deal.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
I got five.
It's time for five on it.
Rahini Harrison Rooney.
Bring you five topics on their minds today.
On 104-3, the score.
I got five on it.
Number one.
Yesterday was Bulls executive VP of Basketball Operations,
our tourist karnashovist,
best day since when?
The day that they traded for Vooch on the midday show.
Okay, so like he wasn't on the midday show,
but Dan and I were interviewing Casey.
Johnson, you know, because everybody's like,
oh, Leila, won't be good for the show.
What does she know?
Well, what you forget is that I worked here every day for over a year previous to that.
And in that time, Kevin, Casey Johnson was on our show.
And it was, I believe it was the day of the trade deadline.
And it was in 2021.
And we had found out that Arturus Carter Chavez had traded.
for Nikola Vujovitchvich.
And Dan and I went crazy.
And I believe we were both wearing black turtlenecks at the time,
which was a strange thing because we always tended to match.
And we were like, whoa!
And everybody talked about it and they laughed.
But that's how I felt.
So I think me that this was his best day and his most effective day since then.
And that's an easy one for me to say.
But for the midday show listeners, if you know, you know.
Very specific of you.
I'm going to be a little bit more specific.
To the hour?
To the minute?
For the career?
Immediately following the Bulls 125, 1-18 win over the Kings on February 17th, 2022.
With that win, the Bulls guaranteed they would go into the All-Star break in first place.
You in first place.
That was the peak.
of the Arturish Karnas Chavez era.
He is fighting so hard to get back to that.
Don't know if he will.
Clearly, he's been given an opportunity to do so,
but that to me was the best day of the era
because that was the day his whole realized vision came to fruition.
Unfortunately, that team did not remain 17 games over 500.
They had won five straight at that point.
That was when DeMar de Rosen became the first place.
in the 75-year history of the NBA to score 35 plus in seven consecutive games
while shooting over 50% from the field?
Wasn't there also?
That was the stretch where that January, the game winners had happened,
the late December, early January.
Yeah, he had some game winners in there as well.
So, like, that was it.
That was the prime Bulls in the Carnishovist era, AK.
And ever since then, it's been quite downhill.
Whoa!
There it is.
Number two.
Hold on, but it went like this.
So Casey was talking and then suddenly he paused.
And then Dan and I were like, wait, did we lose you to the Sylons?
And then he's like, no.
Arturis Karas Charnasovas just traded.
The Bulls just traded for Nikola Vucovich.
And we were like, oh my God, it's at her.
And then that's when we heard the woe.
Whoa.
That's what happened.
Number two.
What was your favorite moment of the Nikola Vucovitchvich era,
aka the Vucci main era.
Shout out to Stacey King.
I mean, I was going to say it was that stretch
that Marshall talked about
where the Bulls at one point were in first place
and I'm pretty sure Chief Moosher Danny, Danny Parkins,
I'm pretty sure,
and I'll ask him this in an hour,
I think he made a bet on the Bulls to win the East at the time.
Don't you guys remember that?
Like Danny, Danny,
because the Bulls were not quite in first place
when he made the bet.
I want to say this was about late November, early December, ish.
And he was like, I'm going to put a bat on the Bulls to win the East.
And then we're like, wow, that's a bold choice, Danny.
But that was it.
They were absolutely at that time where they were winning games.
Demar was hitting game winners.
They were incredible.
They were the cardiac bulls.
And the concept was fully realized.
They had had the center they wanted.
Center was more offensively minded than defense.
we know that.
They had Lonzo Ball healthy.
He was making everything go.
He made it all make sense.
DeMarre was shooting well.
Zach Levine was shooting well.
Everything was great.
And yes, they were a legit contender at that time of the East.
It was at December 2021, January 2020-ish time.
So that was my favorite time of the Vouchera.
That's when I feel like he got there and immediately,
you understood the picture that the bulls wanted to paint.
I like that answer.
I just like my little bit more.
Was it 2222, 23?
Is that what I'm thinking of?
21-22 is the stretch.
It was 21-22? Okay.
Yeah.
They finished 10 games over 500 that year.
Yeah, they made the actual playoffs that year.
They tied the series 1-1
and stole home court advantage from the Milwaukee Bucks,
and then they lost the next three games in a row.
So just giving it.
update. And also, by the way, by the way,
did the Miami Heat game not annoy me more because it was the same heat team
that also just sent the Bulls packing in the play end game last year?
Is that way the loss bothered me even more that they were down by as many of 54 points?
And I was like, stupid heat again.
Really?
They weren't even at full strength.
I know.
But neither were the Bulls, but still.
Okay. I just wanted to get that out there.
All right. So my Boots moment.
very distinct. Again, it's a post-game moment.
You may remember back on November the 22nd, I believe.
The Bulls beat the Wizards who were 1 and 15 at the time.
121, 120, and Booch hit a bunch of big threes down the stretch
to help secure the one-point win.
It was Ring of Honor Legends Night.
And there was a post-game interview with the aforementioned Casey Johnson from
CHSN.
And Jalen Smith ran up on him,
trying to celebrate.
But Vooch was clearly annoyed
because Vooch is like,
why is it taking this to beat a team that is 1 in 15
as the Bulls improved to 9 and 7 on the season
after starting the year 5 and 0?
That's that veteran's sensibility for you.
His sensibility was my sensibility,
and I think all Bulls fans were on board
with how Vooch felt in that moment.
Yes, we won the game,
but this is embarrassing in the way
that we had to win this game.
And so,
the Bulls
having come back
from a 16 point deficit
to the 1 in 15 wizards
that's when I realized
Ovoch gets it now
he understands they're not good enough
as currently constructed to do the types of things
he would like to do in the postseason
and I think he's fell that way for a while
because they were supposed to have played through him
for a long time and even in like the season opener
last year was an issue
and I'm not saying last year's in 2025
I'm saying last year isn't like 2024.
So the game high 28 points from Booch, including eight in the fourth quarter,
taking a backseat to the side eye that he gave Jalen Smith and company,
because there were other Bulls trying to celebrate too.
Like, this ain't it, fellas, this ain't it.
And guess what?
It's not Booch's problem anymore because now he's in Boston.
Number three.
This is 500 on 104.3, the score with Lailorahaheimie and Marshall Harris.
here's question number three.
According to ESPN's Adam Schaefter,
the Jets are hiring former Panthers and Colts head coach,
Frank Reich, to be their offensive coordinator.
It's yet another offensive coordinator job
that didn't go to former commander's OC, Cliff Kingsbury.
Is this the biggest surprise of this year's hiring cycle?
The fact that Cliff Kingsbury does not have a job.
I think it is.
When you consider how hot Cliff Kingsbury's name got
with Jane Daniels's
rookie year and the
arc that he and the
Washington commanders were on at
the time and we know
Jane Daniels got hurt. We know that
the league was
observers of the league were concerned about the simplicity
of the offense and that it would be found out
but there were a couple of factors that went into
what happened to the commanders
this last season. Injuries
being part of it as well.
So all of that
said, I didn't think that Cliff King's
would be a mutually parting ways with the commanders at the end of this year.
And then I also flash back to what was the discussion we had at the time surrounding Kingsbury
here? The scuttle butt was that Iber Fluse didn't want to hire Kingsbury because of some
sort of concern about like over, you know, like insecurity or that he would override his decisions
or things of that nature. And that's why Waldron was the dude. I was not as high. I was not as
hot on the trail of that.
I thought it probably had more to do with fit than anything else.
Like, working with Dan Quinn may have seemed like a more, a better fit for Cliff
Kingsbury at the time than being part of Mattie Berflusa staff as an assistant.
Clearly that fit wore off, though, huh?
Well, that's the thing here is that I did not think it would result in Kingsbury not having
a job this season as a coordinator.
So the reason why this is not the biggest surprise of this year's NFL hiring cycle,
because I'm going to go back to yesterday.
I'm sorry, but Matt Nagy getting a real job calling plays for a guy of the level of Harbaugh in New York with the Giants and an actual quarterback who has legs.
I don't mean that like he can run because, yes, Jackson Dart can run, but legs of like a possible flourishing career.
Although if I look back at Matt Nagy's track record with young quarterbacks, it doesn't look that great.
Also, how much stock do you take into the reports about like Todd?
Monkin and Harbaugh not wanting to fire him as OC unless he say got a job.
You know, he was going to move on if he got a head coaching job.
But that was part of the reason he was no longer with the Ravens.
Because that makes me wonder about how he views the OC position.
Like Monkin and then Negi.
That's interesting.
I hadn't thought about that.
I have.
Clearly.
Yeah.
It's just been rattling around in my brain for reasons that I can't tell you.
I think that kind of makes sense.
And Harbaugh might have just been like, I need something different.
If it comes about fine.
If it doesn't, I can work with it.
Harbaugh seems like a guy because of his background.
Remember, both those guys coming from the Andy Reed tree.
Harbao's a special team's card, you know.
Yeah, so I think he might be more open-minded than most
who are either offensive or defensive-minded more so,
where it's got to be my type of thing.
Listen, I wish Matt Nagy all the luck in the world.
I would love to see a redemption story out of him.
I just don't have any faith that he can develop a young quarterback after knowing what we know now about his time with Mitchell Trubisky and others, by the way, Justin Fields.
I do.
And those others.
Number four.
Friend of the show and pro football talk creator and editor-in-chief Mike Florio.
He's going to join us on Friday, by the way, at 11, from the Super Bowl.
Floreo recently answered this question in an interview with front office sports.
Are Pro Bowl games dead?
Well, they should be. Nobody cares.
Next level take is this.
They moved it from Sunday to Tuesday night,
so the ratings will crater so they can get rid of it.
When you're having Joe Flacco make the Pro Bowl,
when you're having Justin Fields say no thank you to the Pro Bowl,
like it's not an honor anymore.
It doesn't feel like an honor.
No disrespect to those players.
They deserve credit to be NFL players,
but the Pro Bowl is supposed to be something special.
So just name the teams.
We don't need to have a flag football game.
We don't need to do any of the other stuff.
I predict the ratings are going to be bad,
and that's going to be enough to get the NFL to say,
let's just be done with it.
It's Pro Football Talks, Mike Florio with front office sports.
Are you buying Floreo's theory on what the NFL is doing with the Pro Bowl games?
He's basically saying that the NFL is going to tank the Pro Bowl.
Like he's saying the NFL is sinking or tanking or however you want to put it,
that they are setting the Pro Bowl up to.
to fail by putting it on Tuesday night.
And since I watched it last year
on a Sunday and I did not watch it last night,
I tend to agree.
So I think it could be
they could just, it matters
for people's money and I think that that is
valid. So if that's the case,
maybe you just announce the teams at the
NFL honors like you do
other aspects. You know, like it used
to mean a free trip to Hawaii.
Guys weren't paid as much. Like it was more of like a
vacation and something fun if you didn't make the Super Bowl.
Well, earned vacation by the way.
Yeah, and before everybody's contracts got to the point where you're afraid to play at all,
if you get injured, that that would be a concern.
Like, the money became different, and so therefore everything else did.
So I think he's right in that the event itself, like moving it to a Tuesday was a bold choice.
And then moving it to the same destination as Super Bowl was also a choice.
They look like they were playing in a warehouse, Leila.
They looked like they were playing in a giant warehouse.
So I think he might be on to something, although it is crazy to say like the NFL would be
taking its own event.
But I think you should still name pro bowlers, just put them in the NFL honors awards
show that they're doing.
Because people love award shows, right?
Like that's become a big deal.
I'll say this.
This used to mean something because of the spectacle of it all.
You're going to the freaking Pro Bowl and you're in Hawaii.
And these guys look like they're having a time of their lives.
They're relaxing.
Almost felt like a good old boys club, like convention setting, if you will.
And this is.
company retreat.
It looks great.
Obviously, expenses were not spared in the way they are now.
Like, we're just going to fold you into the city we happen to be in to celebrate the
Pro Bowl.
It feels like in a time where the NFL is making more money than it's ever made before
as a league, it feels very secondhandish.
And while they may not be tanking it, I will say this.
The little bit I did watch at the Pro Bowl last night.
They did look like they were having fun.
the guys who were participating in it.
But he makes a good point with the Justin Field saying, I'm good.
And Chador Sanders is out here starting the Pro Bowl.
It's become more rec league than honorary type deal.
I quickly have a suggestion for the NFL.
Give it to me.
Make it a late night talk show event.
Make it like, okay, you have so many players that have their own podcast, current players.
Amon Raus Saint-Brown is great on his podcast.
Make him the host.
Have these guys come on.
have them tell compelling stories and joke around with each other on the stage,
and they can honor everybody and do something that way,
instead of these games that are not very interesting.
And someone could get hurt.
Absolutely.
That's my suggestion.
Number five.
Japanese slugger Munataka Morakami recently told White Sox Management
that he wants a modification made to the club's locker room.
Here's what general manager Chris gets told MLB.com.
Scott Merkin, quote, one thing he did notice is we didn't have a biday in the locker room.
That's new to him.
It was like, okay, that's new.
We can do that, unquote.
So that's Chris gets to MLV.com's Scott Merkin.
So here's the question.
Hey, White Sox, can you give us more details about this, please?
We were obsessed with knowing how many bidets were being installed in the clubhouse or if it was
just one or then what it was going to look like and then how to use it.
and then why that was a request
and I have had a bidet when I stayed in
I think yeah both Korea and China
definitely in Korea I had a bidet at my hotel there
for three weeks when I did the 2018 Olympics
and I didn't know how to use that thing
and had all these buttons on it
and I did the same thing that I think Tyler did
where you press it and then the water sprays out of you
and you're like ah yeah I had to turn it off manually
hit the wall yeah exactly exactly
it just resulted in chaos
To the windows.
To the wall.
Inappropriate, but so is bidet talk.
So we're here.
It's not inappropriate.
So the thing is, is that I didn't, I'm with him on this.
Like, number one, how many bidetes?
Number two, is it one of the ones with all the buttons and stuff?
Did you know they're heated?
Yes.
A lot of the seats in Japan are heated.
Yes.
Ray has extensive bidet experience.
Oh, yeah.
I've got some friends in Colorado.
They have a very nice house, and they have not one bidet, but two.
So when I'm in Colorado, that's where I stay and I use that bidet.
It's great.
Listen, it's not inappropriate.
It's cleanliness.
Personal hygiene talk is never inappropriate.
I appreciate the fact that Mooney is like, hey, y'all, I like to have clean body parts to ensure my cleanliness.
I do you.
I do it a lot less efficiently.
I understand the bidet can be a little overwhelming for a first-time user.
But trust me.
experiment a little bit
in a shiny,
heinie.
It's,
you're gonna,
yeah,
you're gonna feel
even more refreshed
than you normally would.
And see,
that's the issue here
is that clearly
some of you aren't using
enough toilet paper.
Women use the bathroom
differently as we know.
Like during breaks,
I'm like,
it takes me a longer break
to use the ladies
because the process is different
and all.
That's fair.
But like,
so that's,
I think that's it,
really is,
is, you know,
how much toilet paper
are you really comfortable
with using?
And that's where the bidet
comes in for some of you's.
Because I think
me talking about it versus you guys talking about it.
We might be on two different pages here.
I think we're definitely on two different pages.
Yeah.
Because I'm like,
I don't need this every time.
She sits every time she goes to the bathroom.
I do not.
I'm just going to stay.
And I didn't even really think about that until this moment.
I'm just going to stay for the record with the bidet,
without the bidet.
I am a very clean individual.
Yeah.
That's it.
Just like use enough toilet paper and, you know,
when you take showers,
make sure you get everything.
I'm telling you.
But no, it's culturally better.
I'm glad you said take a sour by the way.
Tyler and I looked at each other like Layla.
No, but you know what I'm saying.
Take a shower.
But you know what I'm saying?
I'm just like, this is, hey, how much, like, are you guys using like one square of toilet paper?
Like, what's happening here?
That's not enough.
That's my point.
That exists?
Like, why is, I don't know.
I don't do that.
These are people who have no home training.
That's what I've learned.
But that's it.
People you're describing.
But like, I, you know, we read those BuzzFeed compilations on our Apple news apps.
You and I talk about them all the time.
And how many times is it somebody saying that like somebody doesn't have
proper hygiene. Ever since I read the one
about people saying they don't wash their legs, they just let
the water run down. What is this? Noted
Bears fan, Ashton Coucher
is the one that really brought that
to the national conversation. I can't
I can't know. I'm washing
all of the parts every time. This is the
part where you yell. Jail!
That's when you were jail. Jail. Straight to
jail. That's like, that's the line
from community. Or no, Parks and Rec.
It's Parks and Rec with the guys
in the uniforms. They're like straight to jail.
Yeah. So,
that's my issue here is I'm like
what aren't you all doing
that you should have been doing with the bidet?
Bade talk on the score.
I mean, it's very compelling.
Hey, we're looking for bidet sponsorships
for five on a here.
I won't afford through the score. Bring them through.
FM.
Yeah, I just, I got questions as to what y'all are.
It's different for women.
I think it just is, and I just have to understand that.
Coming up next to Rahimi Harrison Grady,
is it appropriate that we're going to talk about
the protector of the year or one of the guys
who's nominated?
These texts are amazing, by the way, about the day talk.
These texts are amazing.
708 follows my rule.
Like, you wipe until the toilet paper's white, the end.
Like, what's the deal here?
I love this.
Oh, my goodness.
I can't even read some of these texts.
Well, here's one you can read.
That's really the best and most appropriate one.
From 630, it's water.
Wiggle your butt.
No, they say it's a water wiggle for your butt.
A water wiggle for your butt.
See, this is how we get kicked off the air.
Somebody said, we're just out.
out here talking, well, that word we thought
you were going to say, not shower, the other one.
We are. We are talking that.
Yeah, 847 is right. Don't be flushing
baby wipes. That's a whole other issue.
Yeah, that, do not
flush baby wipes. They make
these wipes. There's certain ones
that are, that are bad for your plumbing.
But there are some that are, yeah, you can use
that are okay with the plumbing. You got to read the labels.
I don't think any of them are okay
for the plumbing. Some of you aren't getting
enough fiber either.
Okay. Joe Tooney talk.
Joe, save us.
You're not even here to do it, but you'll do it next.
Rahimi Harrison Grody.
Midday's Tyndall 2 on Chicago Sports Radio, 1043, the score.
We talked to you about tuning when you guys got him in the summer.
You've had almost a full season.
How do you describe what he means, what his impact?
Yeah, I mean, he's just a winner.
You know, he knows what it looks like.
Gets his work done.
I think he does a, he's a positive influence.
throughout the week of preparation.
And we just went in a walkthrough.
And, you know, he's the same guy every single day.
The model of consistency in terms of his performance, but also in terms of how he goes
about his craft, you know.
And then in the game, he just, you know what you're going to get every single week.
He's been very durable.
He's very smart.
And I think he's been a huge part of our success up front.
I don't think there's any doubt.
You heard Ben Johnson talk about Joe Tuny.
We joke and sometimes on Rahimi Harrison Grody call him old Joe Tooney,
but that's because he takes a day for rest every week.
And it just doesn't matter.
He's been that consistent.
He had to move over to left tackle in that last postseason game,
the playoff game against the Rams.
He wasn't a problem.
That's what Joe Tooney does.
He can play guard.
He can play tackle.
He's here for you.
So I am not surprised that Joe Tuny is nominated for
the NFL's first ever
Protector of the Year award.
And while the name is a little giggly,
protector of the year can mean a lot of things,
what is very consistent
is how Joe Tuny has played
and how he has been a symbol
of success the entire
time he's played in the league.
So I'm happy to hear that he would
be part of the group nominated
for an award that I frankly think
should have happened a long time ago.
Yeah.
And if you go through trying to figure out
who should get this award,
it doesn't take long to figure out
exactly how he became the guy.
And the biggest competition here is within the division,
Penae Soule, let me break it down for you.
When you vote for all pro, there are 50 voters,
okay, and they do it by first place votes,
and then you get second, third place votes.
Understand this, amongst Lyman,
Penae Soule got the highest percentage of first place votes.
Fair enough.
he at the right tackle position got 45 of the first place votes.
You know what?
The other five votes went to all one player.
Darno right.
So that's good news for the Bears, first of all.
And then after that, the second highest percentage of first place votes for any lineman
was left guard and Joe Tunney at 31.
So he gets 62% of the first place votes.
So to me, that's who the main competition is.
The problem is Penae Soule's really good.
He is every bit of a generational talent on the offensive line for the lions.
We know that.
And people get put more into the tackle position as opposed to the guard position.
But as you said, the versatility, his ability to pop out at left tackle for a second straight season in the postseason.
It's got to say something.
It's also got to say something that he was on a winner.
You know what Penae Soule did not do this year?
Go to the playoffs.
Did not play in the postseason.
So I think that's one of the reasons.
And Tune, not to call this like lifetime achievement E,
but obviously you have to build a reputation first.
We all know that usually your first pro-Bull caliber year
or all-pro caliber year, you usually don't get recognized for that award.
It's usually backing it up with a second straight type of year
that gets you on everybody's map and then you get the votes.
I just think Tune is due here.
It's the inaugural, so I don't know what they'll do,
but Tuni has as strong a case as anyone.
The man didn't give up a sack all season.
The sixth finalist for the Most Outstanding Offensive Alignment Award,
which is what the Protector of the Year is,
is Garibull's left tackle from Denver,
Aaron Brewer, the center for the Miami Dolphins,
Creed Humphrey, the Kansas City Chiefs Center,
Quinn Miners, the right guard for the Denver Broncos,
Penaesoul, as we mentioned, and Joe Tunney.
We'll find out tomorrow who the protector of the year is.
But as much as we as a show and as a station talk about the offensive line,
and as much as the Bears commentators who we love to hear talk,
whether it's Tom Thayer, Olin Crutes, James Big Cat Williams,
we love talking offensive line.
But I'm glad to see that the league is finally acknowledging how crucial they are
to quarterback success.
And we talked about our Bears Awards last time we did our show yesterday.
Bearsies.
The Bearses are the much longer title, which doesn't deserve to be repeated.
But in that, we also discussed the meaning of a lot of,
of these players. And I said for me, like, MVP2 was Joe Tooney when it came to just what his
reliability level was and also the veteran presence he added to the team. This is just for the
Bears. But if he's on your line, you tend to win. AFC East and Super Bowl in 2016.
AFC East and Super Bowl in 2017. AFC East and Super Bowl in 2018. Won the Super Bowl in 18
with the Patriots.
Won the AFC in 2019.
Missed the playoffs in 2020.
It's 2020.
Won the AFC West in 2021.
Won the AFC West, won the Super Bowl in 22.
When the AFC West and won the Super Bowl in 2023.
When the AFC West and made the Super Bowl in 2024, won the NFC North in 2025.
The dude helps his team, specifically the quarterback.
I hate that that just reaffirms your whole stance on 2020.
The fact that this man has been to the playoffs.
every single year of his career, except 2020.
And the Bears made the playoffs in 2020,
but if you know me well enough,
you know that I feel like it just doesn't really count,
except for Ced Gardner Johnson.
Let me throw something else at you in this discussion.
The Bears led the NFL in sacks allowed per game.
1.3.
That's the lowest mark of any team.
Detroit, anchored by Penaiseul,
18th, 2.3 sacks per game.
That's a whole sack.
more per contest.
Yeah, they had injuries on the line, though.
And it wasn't Sewell who allowed those.
He only allowed two all year.
I'm just saying the guy that was there, hey, bears had injuries at left tackle and right tackle.
Bears had whole position changes at left tackle.
Well, yeah, that too.
That too.
It'll be interesting to see how this plays out.
This is all going to be part of the NFL honors award.
Why do you think it took so long for them to come up an award, come up with an award like this?
This is something that should have been lock, stock and barrel years and years ago.
With the salary cap, I think a lot of times, you know, awards also indicate that a guy should get paid more.
And maybe it was something where, you know, the more awards they hand out, maybe they thought it diluted the importance of the others.
The Pro Bowl comes to mind.
Oh, my goodness.
But that's kind of the point here.
You know, certain accolades mean more or less now.
But to acknowledge offensive linemen, I think it's the right thing to do.
Also, we have better metrics now to measure their success.
That's certainly true, whether it's next-gen stats, pro football.
focus, basic watching film, the eye test.
Right. And I don't always agree with pro football focus as offensive linemen grades
specifically. Because I feel like there's a weight in their algorithm that's off. It's kind of
like how Zips values shortstop more than third base. So inherently you're going to have a
higher war projection at short than you would at third. You know, like there's certain,
they have to wait the algorithm a certain way to make it make sense. But sometimes
they're inefficiencies and that's where they come in. So,
All of that said, I feel like we now at least have an understanding of how to properly respect the people who play these positions.
And I think we are a good group to know that.
Like Bears fandom is a good group to understand.
So here's what Joe Tuny told our friends at the CHGO, Hogan Johns and football coverage podcasts,
about his appreciation for being recognized.
Super humbling, super thankful.
And you've got to shout out Dionne Dawkins for kind of being the engine, the driving force.
and, you know, Roger Goodell and the NFL for creating this award.
So it's really cool and, you know, very humbling to, you know, shine light on our position.
And it's just an honor to be mentioned along the current players that are, you know, also finalists.
And, you know, the panelists, the judges that made the decisions, just to be in that conversation is amazing and very thankful.
Is that an overdue award you think, or do you think Lyman are okay staying in the behind the scenes a little bit?
Well, it's kind of a double-edged sword because, you know, I don't think most of the line guys don't like recognition, but I still think it is, it's great to honor people that don't always get the limelight.
So it kind of goes both ways, but, you know, I think it's great to, yeah, to celebrate it, though.
Yay, Joe Tooney.
Listen.
Should we just celebrate him anyway if he doesn't get the award?
I was saying, is that going to stop him from, you know, going to the Hall of Fame?
No, well, I don't know.
they're going to do the voting process between now and the time he's eligible for the
voting for the pro football Hall of Fame.
So let me knock on wood on that one.
We can get him a cake or something.
Joe Tuny should be celebrated.
Again, he's my MVP of the Bears in 2025.
And I think he's going to come back with another strong 2026.
I just hope he doesn't have to play left tackle.
Yeah, we all hope that Joe Tuny does not have to play left tackle.
I would like to know what the plan is at left tackle.
stares in the direction of
Hallis Hall
coming up next year on
Rahimi Harrison Grotie
on 1043 the score
let's get into
an idea that has been floated
out several times by the owners
because inevitably it's going to happen
the players are not making a good enough argument against it
next
Rahimi Harris and Grotie
Midday's 10 to 2
on 1043 the score
this is Rahimi
Harris and Grotie on
4-3 the score and I'll just take you inside the conversation that Marshall and I were just having
because Marshall goes, oh man, that's crazy. It's like 1245 and there hadn't been any trades.
Shams is here to save your day. The Dallas Mavericks, according to Shams Sharadia,
are trading 10-time NBA All-Star Anthony Davis, Jane Hardy, DeAngelo, DeAngelo, Russell, and Dante
Exam to the Washington Wizards for Chris Middleton, A.J. Johnson,
Malachi Brannam, Marvin Bagley, the third, two first round picks and three second rounders.
So now the, so now we're seeing draft.
First round picks being exchanged more than one, you say, involving a trade with Anthony Davis and the Mavs?
You know what's funny about this?
More than one.
This means that the trade wasn't that bad that Anthony Davis.
Look what Anthony Davis is giving when Luca Donchich is not involved.
What did I just tell you about?
You can't just trade with the Kings anymore.
Who's the other team you would trade with if you can't trade with the Kings?
Probably the Mavericks at this stage.
Wizards.
Wizards?
No, Wizards?
I think the Wizards, this is a good deal for the Wizards.
At first glance, Chris Middleton, old.
But good.
Like, people like playing with him.
He's, like, falling off a cliff.
His production has fallen off a cliff.
But at least, like, as far as a teammate is concerned, you know that guys like playing with him on a team.
He's not that far behind Mike Conley in terms of production.
Now, yeah.
Yes.
But even a couple years ago, like...
Yeah.
A factor.
And then from the Luca draft class, someone drafted ahead of Luca,
Marvin Bagley the third on the move.
Secure the Bagley, as we used to say.
And then DeAngel Russell, I don't know what he's got left.
Dante X-M, I like him as a backup player.
I am shocked that they moved AD despite him being hurt.
That's when you take the run.
He's got that hand injury.
But when he's healthy, I'm sorry, sorry.
if and when he's healthy, that's a nice pairing.
Trey Young, Anthony Davis, in the east.
I mean, that's it. That's what this was about, was getting a complimentary player to Trey Young.
That team would sweep the Bulls.
Ligament damage in his left hand is what AD is dealing with.
And he's already out more than they thought he was going to be out, right?
Because wasn't it, it was like early January they thought six weeks?
Yeah, it's going to be more than that.
But let me ask you a question.
If you were the Bulls, would you have tried to put it together a package for Anthony Davis?
No.
Okay.
So you're good with this.
As an outsider, I'm saying.
Yeah.
Yeah, as an outsider.
Like, as an outsider, I'm surprised that the Mab's got to move Anthony Davis because
everybody thought that because he was injured that they weren't going to be able to move him.
As far as a referendum on the Luca Donchage trade, it makes it still bad.
It's interesting because I'm wondering.
if that pick is this year's pick because Washington,
do they have a pick this year?
That's what I'm trying to figure out because right now they have the fifth worst
or tied for fourth worst record in the NBA.
So Shams qualifies by saying Dallas is receiving a 2026 Thunder first round pick.
Oh.
And a 2030 protected Warriors first round pick in this deal from the Wizards.
So not the shit.
Yeah.
So along with second rounders in 2026 in Phoenix,
2027 in Chicago
and 2029
in Houston sources tell ESPN.
So they're able to make
this move and keep
what is going to be a lottery pick
this year. And that lottery pick
is going to keep them
with a chance, double digit percentage chance
of getting the number one overall pick
and an almost 50% chance of getting
a top four pick in a loaded
draft class. I wonder what
this trade would have fetched had AD
not had a hand injury.
I don't know that it would have been that different.
Or maybe there would have been more teams interested.
Also, the MAV's able to get this off the books.
That's the big part for them.
Because I don't know if you guys know, but Anthony Davis has owed a lot of money.
And that money is not going down anytime soon.
If you look at...
773 says Anthony Davis sentenced to Washington.
If you look at SpotRack, he is on a three-year,
$175 million.
contract. That's the L.A. Lakers money right there. That is a crazy. That's that Laker money.
That's a crazy deal. That's over the CBT money. It's a lot of money. And doing the shorthand
math on that, that's just under $60 million a year. SpotRack is doing the cool thing now where
if you look at the teams via salary, you can see how much room is left in aprons. So they're
at least trying to clarify it for you a little bit, which is nice. So for the bulls like
clarify the apron space.
So I appreciate that delineation.
It kind of helps you visualize it.
Getting back to our original topic,
which I know we don't have much time for,
I take it as this.
The NFL owners have wanted an 18 game season
for as long as I've had a professional career covering sports.
Basically 20 years.
Is that fair?
Almost that long, maybe 15 years.
They've been like,
we don't need all these preseason games.
let's expand to 18 and they've slow rolled it a little bit.
I feel like Jerry Jones started throwing this out there a long time ago.
Additionally, they've boiled the frog.
They're like, oh, okay, you don't want 18 games?
Fine.
How about a Thursday game?
Oh, what about another Thursday game?
Oh, now we're going to flex a Thursday game or two.
Now we're going to flex a Sunday game or two.
Flexing Thursday games is crazy because that's your whole...
How do you feel about Saturday?
being flex. They've done all these things to not only keep that as a negotiation tool,
but get more in exchange from the players union. So like the last frontiers we've talked about
on this show with Mike Florio of Pro Football Talk, is that 18th game? Do you feel like the
reply no from the NFL Players Association was sufficient enough when they said they do not have
an appetite for it? Well, I don't have an appetite for a lot of things. Like raw kale. But you know what?
It's good for you and at some point it's going to happen.
The 18th game is not good for me, but I know it's probably going to happen.
Cale is delicious.
And just like, I would argue, kill.
No, like raw and dressed, like straight off the stock kale.
I eat it out of the bag.
Like off the Pizza Hut salad bar decoration.
Yes, I'm with that.
I eat that.
You know why?
Because I know it's good for me.
Just like the NFL is going to tell the NFLPA, it's good for you to have more money coming
your way because an extra game means everybody gets more money, including the players.
The projected salary cap is over three.
300 million.
That's all?
With 17 games.
So, like, they keep, they keep careening toward this, kind of like we're careening toward
the trade deadline.
This keeps being brought up.
And I just feel like it's only a matter of time before they get their way.
But here's the other issue.
They've used all these other things to get their way as well.
So now, where in here did the NFL players association actually get something they wanted
in exchange for giving all this up?
They got something.
remember what it was. The fact that you and I
can't think of it. Off the top
of my head, but they're going to get more
listen, I just don't see
how in good conscience the NFL
PA can go forward with this unless they get
a second buy. They need a second buy
if they go to 18 games. Given how the NFL
negotiation has gone so far, I don't
even know that they would get a second buy.
Or if they do, it's going to be
wrapped with something else the owners want, like an
international game for everybody every year.
Oh, well, that's part of the plan. Roger
Goodell said that not too long ago.
on the sports hub,
the plan is to have every single team
play one international game
every year.
So then therefore the owners
get something else they want?
Yeah, basically.
They're trying to grow the game.
I don't knock
the idea of you growing the game.
It's just at what cost.
Clearly the cost is not going to be high enough
for the owners not to do it.
Well, I think the fact of the matter
is the Players Association
can't dig in their heels enough
and fight back enough
with other counter
counter, I don't know, any sort of counter, actually.
It's the weakest union of the major pro four sports in North America.
Because guys can't afford to sit out a year.
Because if they can afford to sit out a year,
then some of this stuff would not have been executed the way it has been in years past.
Anthony Heron is taking offense at our conversation.
Which one?
Anthony Herod has texted you and I and he says,
I know you're both Southern, but did Layla seriously utter boiled the frog in casual
conversation with no reaction?
because he knows my euphemism, aunt.
Yeah, that's, what's wrong with boil the frog?
Well, Tyler and I reacted over here like, whoa, what, what?
I've never even heard that.
I've never heard that.
So the idea is you put a frog in a room temperature or pot of water on a burner.
I understand the concept of boiling.
Right.
But then the point is you, that's the process.
That's the idea.
Okay.
So you slowly raise the temperature to where the frog doesn't hop out because he doesn't realize
it's boiling.
Yes.
Devious.
See, like, hey, we want 18 games, frog and pot.
You all never heard that expression before?
Never heard that.
Never.
Okay, yeah, that's us.
Hey, hey, we want 18 games, frog and pot.
But then it's like, oh, you don't want 18?
Well, what about what about Thursday games?
They're slow rolling them.
There it is.
Then it's like, oh, well, what about a flex game?
Raise the temperature.
Then it's like, oh, well, what about everybody have an international game?
Raise the temperature.
Next thing you know, 18 games, boiling water.
Dead frog.
Thank you.
I needed that.
context and wow, that's even
that's crazy.
I'm sorry, I did not know that.
I've never eaten boiled frog.
It's just a euphemism.
I've had frog legs, so there's that.
You have?
Yeah.
It tastes like chicken.
That really is an appropriate comp.
Absolutely.
I'm sorry I didn't know that that was not widely understood.
No, that's a perfect comp for this whole NFPA situation.
Is it?
Yeah, that's the whole idea.
That's how they're negotiating.
next of you know they're going to be playing 20 games and the frog is crisp
we're all careening towards a pot with a boiling frog in it that's what's going on here
so sorry thank you anthony here and for adding in that much-needed subtext i love aunt i want to
argue with anne about something i know in the meantime let's argue with danny parkins about
something here we go next
