Rahimi, Harris & Grote Show - 5 On It: Tuesday was Arturas Karnisovas’ best day since when?

Episode Date: February 4, 2026

Leila Rahimi and Marshall Harris discussed a variety of sports topics in the 5 On It segment....

Transcript
Discussion (0)
Starting point is 00:00:01 I got five. It's time for five on it. Rahini Harrison Rooney. Bring you five topics on their minds today. On 104, three, the score. I got five on it. Number one. Yesterday was Bulls executive VP of Basketball Operations,
Starting point is 00:00:16 our tourist karnashovist, best day since when. The day that they traded for Vooch on the midday show. Okay, so like he wasn't on the midday show, but Dan and I were interviewing Casey. Johnson, you know, because everybody's like, oh, Leila, won't be good for the show. What does she know?
Starting point is 00:00:37 Well, what you forget is that I worked here every day for over a year previous to that. And in that time, Kevin, Casey Johnson was on our show. And it was, I believe it was the day of the trade deadline. And it was in 2021. And we had found out that Arturus Carter Chavez had traded. for Nikola Vujovitchvich. And Dan and I went crazy. And I believe we were both wearing black turtlenecks at the time,
Starting point is 00:01:07 which was a strange thing because we always tended to match. And we were like, whoa! And everybody talked about it and they laughed. But that's how I felt. So I think me that this was his best day and his most effective day since then. And that's an easy one for me to say. But for the midday show listeners, if you know, you know. Very specific of you.
Starting point is 00:01:31 I'm going to be a little bit more specific. To the hour? To the minute? For the career? Immediately following the Bulls 125-118 win over the Kings on February 17th, 2022. With that win, the Bulls guaranteed they would go into the All-Star break in first place. You in first place. That was the peak.
Starting point is 00:02:01 of the Arturish Karnasovas era. He is fighting so hard to get back to that. Don't know if he will. Clearly, he's been given an opportunity to do so, but that to me was the best day of the era because that was the day his whole realized vision came to fruition. Unfortunately, that team did not remain 17 games over 500. They had won five straight at that point.
Starting point is 00:02:28 That was when DeMar de Rosen became the first place. in the 75-year history of the NBA to score 35 plus in seven consecutive games while shooting over 50% from the field? Wasn't there also? That was the stretch where that January, the game winners had happened, the late December, early January. Yeah, he had some game winners in there as well. So, like, that was it.
Starting point is 00:02:50 That was the prime Bulls in the Carnishovist era, AK. And ever since then, it's been quite downhill. Whoa! There it is. Number two. Hold on, but it went like this. So Casey was talking and then suddenly he paused. And then Dan and I were like, wait, did we lose you to the Sylons?
Starting point is 00:03:13 And then he's like, no. Arturis Karas Charnasovas just traded. The Bulls just traded for Nikola Vucovich. And we were like, oh my God, it's at her. And then that's when we heard the woe. Whoa. That's what happened. Number two.
Starting point is 00:03:27 What was your favorite moment of the Nikola Vucovitchevich era, a.k.a. The Vucci Maine era. Shout out to Stacey King. I mean, I was going to say it was that stretch that Marshall talked about where the Bulls at one point were in first place and I'm pretty sure Chief Moosher, Danny, Danny Parkins.
Starting point is 00:03:45 I'm pretty sure, and I'll ask him this in an hour, I think he made a bet on the Bulls to win the East at the time. Don't you guys remember that? Like Danny, Danny, because the Bulls were not quite in first place when he made the bet. I want to say this,
Starting point is 00:04:00 was about late November, early December, ish. And he was like, I'm going to put a bat on the Bulls to win the East. And then we're like, wow, that's a bold choice, Danny. But that was it. They were absolutely at that time where they were winning games. DeMarre was hitting game winners. They were incredible. They were the cardiac bulls.
Starting point is 00:04:20 And the concept was fully realized. They had had the center they wanted. Center was more offensively minded than defense. We know that. They had Lonzo Ball healthy. He was making everything go. He made it all make sense. Tamar was shooting well. Zach Levine was shooting well. Everything was great. And yes, they were a legit contender at that time of the East. It was at December 2021, January 2020-ish time. So that was my favorite time of the Vouchera. That's when I feel like he got there and immediately you understood the picture that the Bulls wanted to paint.
Starting point is 00:05:00 I like that answer. I just like my little bit more. Was it 22-23? Is that what I'm thinking of? 21-22 is the stretch. It was 21-22? Okay. Yeah.
Starting point is 00:05:12 They finished 10 games over 500 that year. Yeah, they made the actual playoffs that year. They tied the series 1-1 and stole home court advantage from the Milwaukee Bucks, and then they lost the next three games in a row. So just giving an update. And also, by the way, by the way, Did the Miami Heat game not annoy me more because it was the same heat team that also just sent the Bulls packing in the play end game last year? Is that way the loss bothered me even more that they were down by as many of his 54 points?
Starting point is 00:05:44 And I was like, stupid heat again. Really? They weren't even in full strength. I know. But neither were the Bulls, but still. Okay. I just wanted to get that out there. All right.
Starting point is 00:05:56 So my Vooch moment, very distinct. Again, it's a post-game moment. you may remember back on November the 22nd I believe the Bulls beat the Wizards who were 1 and 15 at the time 121, 120 and Booch hit a bunch of big threes down the stretch to help secure the one point win it was Ring of Honor Legends night and there was a postgame interview with the aforementioned
Starting point is 00:06:23 Casey Johnson from CHSN and Jalen Smith ran up on him trying to celebrate but Vouch was clearly annoyed because Vooch is like, why is it taking this to beat a team that is 1 in 15 as the Bulls improved to 9 and 7 on the season after starting the year 5 and 0? That's that veteran's sensibility for you. His sensibility was my sensibility.
Starting point is 00:06:46 And I think all Bulls fans were on board with how Vooch felt in that moment. Yes, we won the game, but this is embarrassing in the way that we had to win this game. And so the Bulls having come back from a sense, 16 point deficit to the 1 in 15 wizards. That's when I realized, oh, Vooch gets it now. He understands they're not good enough as currently constructed to do the types of things he would like to do in the postseason. And I think he's fell that way for a while because they were supposed to have played
Starting point is 00:07:21 through him for a long time. And even in like the season opener last year was an issue. And I'm not saying last year is in 2025. I'm saying last year isn't like 2024. So the game high 28 points from Booch, including 8 in the fourth quarter, taking a backseat to the side eye that he gave Jalen Smith and company, because there were other Bulls trying to celebrate too. Like, this ain't it, fellas, this ain't it.
Starting point is 00:07:47 And guess what? It's not Booch's problem anymore because now he's in Boston. Number three. This is five on it on 104. The score with Lailoraheimie and Marshall Harris. Here's question number three. According to ESPN's Adam Schaefter, the Jets are hiring former Panthers and Colts head coach, Frank Reich, to be their offensive coordinator. It's yet another offensive coordinator job that didn't go to former commander's OC, Cliff Kingsbury.
Starting point is 00:08:13 Is this the biggest surprise of this year's hiring cycle? The fact that Cliff Kingsbury does not have a job. I think it is. When you consider how hot Cliff Kingsbury's name got with Jane Daniels' rookie year, And the arc that he and the Washington commanders were on at the time. And we know Jane Daniels got hurt. We know that the league was observers of the league were concerned about the simplicity of the offense and that it would be found out.
Starting point is 00:08:44 But there were a couple of factors that went into what happened to the commanders this last season, injuries being part of it as well. So all of that said, I didn't think that Cliff Kingsbury would be a mutually party. ways with the commanders at the end of this year. And then I also flash back to what was the discussion we had at the time surrounding Kingsbury here? The scuttle butt was that Iber Fluse didn't want to hire Kingsbury because of some sort of concern about like over, you know, like insecurity or that he would override his decisions or things of that nature. And that's why Waldron was the dude. I was not as hot on the trail of that. I thought it probably had to
Starting point is 00:09:29 more to do with fit than anything else. Like working with Dan Quinn may have seemed like a more, a better fit for Cliff Kingsbury at the time than being part of Matt Iberfluse's staff as an assistant. Clearly that fit wore off though, huh? Well, that's the thing here is that I did not think it would result in Kingsbury not having a job this season as a coordinator. So the reason why this is not the biggest surprise of this year's NFL hiring cycle, because I'm going to go back to yesterday.
Starting point is 00:09:57 I'm sorry, but Matt Neggie getting a real. job calling plays for a guy of the level of Harbaugh in New York with the Giants and an actual quarterback who has legs. I don't mean that like he can run because yes, Jackson Dart can run, but legs of like a possible flourishing career. Although if I look back at Magnaggie's track record with young quarterbacks, it doesn't look that great. Also, how much stock do you take into the reports about like Todd Munkin and Harbaugh not wanting to fire him as OC unless he say got a job, you know, he was going to move on if he got a head coaching job. But that was part of the reason he was no longer with the Ravens.
Starting point is 00:10:40 Because it makes me wonder about how he views the OC position. Like Munkin and the Nogi. That's interesting. I hadn't thought about that. I have. Clearly. Yeah, it's just been rattling around in my brain. for reasons that I can't tell you. I think that kind of makes sense.
Starting point is 00:11:01 And Harbaugh might have just been like, I need something different. If it comes about fine. If it doesn't, I can work with it. Harbaugh seems like a guy because of his background. Remember, both those guys coming from the Andy Reed tree. Yeah, Harbao's a special teams coach, you know. Yeah, so I think he might be more open-minded than most
Starting point is 00:11:18 who are either offensive or defensive-minded more so where it's got to be my type of thing. Listen, I wish Matt Nagy, all the luck in the world. I would love to see a redemption story out of him. I just don't have any faith that he can develop a young quarterback after knowing what we know now about his time with Mitchell Drewisky and others, by the way,
Starting point is 00:11:36 Justin Fields. And those others. Number four. Friend of the show and pro football talk creator and editor in chief, Mike Florio. He's going to join us on Friday, by the way, at 11, from the Super Bowl. Floreo recently answered this question
Starting point is 00:11:54 in an interview with Front Ophold. Office Sports. Are Pro Bowl games dead? Well, they should be. Nobody cares. Next level take is this. They moved it from Sunday to Tuesday night, so the ratings will crater so they can get rid of it. When you're having Joe Flacco make the Pro Bowl, when you're having Justin Fields say no thank you to the Pro Bowl, like, it's not an honor anymore.
Starting point is 00:12:13 It doesn't feel like an honor. No disrespect to those players. They deserve credit to be NFL players, but the Pro Bowl is supposed to be something special. So just name the teams. We don't need to have a flag football game. We don't need to do any of the other stuff. I predict the ratings are going to be bad, and that's going to be enough to get the NFL to say,
Starting point is 00:12:29 let's just be done with it. It's Pro Football Talks, Mike Florio with Front Office Sports. Are you buying Floreo's theory on what the NFL is doing with the Pro Bowl games? He's basically saying that the NFL is going to tank the Pro Bowl. Like he's saying the NFL is sinking or tanking or however you want to put it, that they are setting the Pro Bowl up to 3. fail by putting it on Tuesday night. And since I watched it last year on a Sunday and I did not watch it last night, I tend
Starting point is 00:13:01 to agree. So I think it could be, they could just, it matters for people's money and I think that that is valid. So if that's the case, maybe you just announced the teams at the NFL honors, like you do other aspects, you know, like it used to mean a free trip to Hawaii. Guys weren't paid as much. Like it was more of like a vacation and something fun if you didn't make the Super Bowl. Well earned vacation, by the way.
Starting point is 00:13:24 Yeah, and before everybody's contracts got to the point where you're afraid to play at all, if you get injured, that that would be a concern. Like, the money became different, and so therefore everything else did. So I think he's right in that the event itself, like moving it to a Tuesday was a bold choice, and then moving it to the same destination as Super Bowl was also a choice. They look like they were playing in a warehouse, Leila. They looked like they were playing in a giant warehouse. So I think he might be onto something, although it is crazy to say like the NFL would
Starting point is 00:13:54 be taking its own event. But I think you should still name pro bowlers, just put them in the NFL honors awards show that they're doing. Because people love award shows, right? Like, that's become a big deal. I'll say this. This used to mean something because of the spectacle of it all. You're going to the freaking Pro Bowl and you're in Hawaii.
Starting point is 00:14:15 And these guys look like they're having a time of their lives. They're relaxing. Almost felt like a good old boys club, like convention setting, if you will. and this is company retreat. It looks great. Obviously, expenses were not spared in the way they are now. Like, we're just going to fold you into the city we happen to be in to celebrate the Pro Bowl. It feels like in a time where the NFL is making more money than it's ever made before as a league.
Starting point is 00:14:43 It feels very secondhandish. And while they may not be tanking it, I will say this. The little bit I did watch at the Pro Bowl last night. They did look like they were having fun, the guys who were participating in it. But he makes a good point with the Justin Fields saying, I'm good. And Chador Sanders is out here starting the Pro Bowl. It's become more rec league than honorary type deal. I quickly have a suggestion for the NFL.
Starting point is 00:15:09 Give it to me. Make it a late night talk show event. Make it like, okay, you have so many players that have their own podcast, current players. Amman Rahsaim Brown is great on his podcast. Make him the host. Have these guys come on, have them tell compelling stories and joke around with each other on the stage, and they can honor everybody and do something that way instead of these games that are not very interesting. And someone could get hurt.
Starting point is 00:15:38 Absolutely. That's my suggestion. Number five. Japanese slugger Munataka Morakami recently told White Sox Management that he wants a modification made to the club's locker room. Here's what general manager Chris Gets told MLB.com, Scott Merkin, quote, one thing he did notice is we didn't have a bidet in the locker room. That's new to him. It was like, okay, that's new.
Starting point is 00:16:01 We can do that, unquote. So that's Chris Gets to MLB.com's Scott Merkin. So here's the question. Hey, White Sox, can you give us more details about this, please? We were obsessed with knowing how many bidets were being installed in the clubhouse or if it was just one or then what it was going to look like and then how to use it, and then why that was a request,
Starting point is 00:16:22 and I have had a bidet when I stayed in, I think, yeah, both Korea and China. Definitely in Korea. I had a bidet at my hotel there for three weeks when I did the 2018 Olympics. And I didn't know how to use that thing and had all these buttons on it. And I did the same thing that I think Tyler did
Starting point is 00:16:40 where you press it and then the water sprays out of you and you're like, ah. Yeah, I had to turn it off manually, hit the wall. Yeah, exactly, exactly. It just resulted in chaos To the windows To the wall It's inappropriate
Starting point is 00:16:53 But so is bidet talk So we're here It's not inappropriate So the thing is Is that I didn't I'm with him on this Like number one How many bidetes
Starting point is 00:17:03 Number two Is it one of the ones With all the buttons and stuff Did you know they're heated? A lot of the seats in Japan are heated Yes Ray has extensive bidet experience Oh yeah
Starting point is 00:17:14 I've got some friends in Colorado They have a very nice house and they have not one bidet but two. So when I'm in Colorado, that's where I stay, and I use that bidet. It's great. Listen, it's not inappropriate. Personal hygiene. Personal hygiene talk is never inappropriate.
Starting point is 00:17:31 I appreciate the fact that Mooney is like, hey, y'all, I like to have clean body parts to ensure my cleanliness, we bidet it up. I mean, I just do it a lot less efficiently. I understand the bidet can be a little overwhelming for a, first-time user. But trust me, experiment a little bit. You know, shiny-hiny.
Starting point is 00:17:52 It's, you're going to, yeah, you're going to feel even more refreshed than you normally would. And see, that's the issue here is that clearly some of you aren't using enough toilet paper. Women use the bathroom differently, as we know. Like, during breaks, I'm like, it takes me a longer break to use the ladies because the process is different and all. That's fair. But like, so that's, I think that's it, really.
Starting point is 00:18:12 Is, you know, how much toilet paper are you really comfortable with using? And that's where the. bidet comes in for some of you. Because I think me talking about it versus you guys talking about it, we might be on two different pages here. I think we're definitely on two different pages. Yeah. Because I'm like, well, I don't need this every time. She sits every time she goes to the bathroom. I do not. I'm just going to stay. And I didn't even really think about that until this moment. I'm just going to stay for the record with the bidet, without the bidet, I am a very clean individual. Yeah. That's it. Just like use enough toilet paper and, you know, when you take showers,
Starting point is 00:18:43 I'm telling you. I'm telling you. But no, it's culturally. I'm glad you said take a shower, by the way. Tyler and I looked at each other like, Layla. No, but you know what I'm saying. Take a shower. But you know what I'm saying? I'm just like, this is, hey, how much, like, are you guys using like one square of toilet paper? Like, what's happening here?
Starting point is 00:19:01 That's not enough. That's my point. That exists? Like, why is, I don't know. I don't do that. These are people who have no home training. That's what I've learned. Well, that's it.
Starting point is 00:19:09 The people you're describing. But like, I, you know, we read those buzzfeed compilations on our Apple news apps. You and I talk about them all the time. And how many times is it. Somebody's saying that like somebody doesn't have proper hygiene. Ever since I read the one about people saying they don't wash their legs, they just let the water run down. What is that?
Starting point is 00:19:24 Noted Bears fan, Ashton Coucher is the one that really brought that to the national conversation. I can't know. I'm washing all of the parts every time. This is the part where you yell. Jail! That's when you were jail. Jail. Straight to jail.
Starting point is 00:19:39 That's like that's the line from community. Or no, parks and wreck. It's parks and rec with the guys in the uniforms. They're like straight to jail. Yeah, so that's that's my issue here Is I'm like, what, what aren't you all doing that you should have been doing with the bidet? Bade talk on the score. I mean, it's very compelling.
Starting point is 00:19:57 Hey, we're looking for Biday sponsorships for five on a here on 104 through the score. Bring them through. FM. Yeah, I just, I got questions as to what y'all are. It's different for women. I think it just is and I just have to understand that. Coming up next to Rihamie Harrison Grady, is it appropriate that we're going to talk about the protector of the year? one of the guys who's nominated.
Starting point is 00:20:17 These texts are amazing, by the way, about the day talk. These texts are amazing. 708 follows my rule. Like, you wipe until the toilet paper's wait. The end. Like, what's the deal here? I love this. Oh, my goodness.
Starting point is 00:20:30 I can't even read some of these texts. Well, here's one you can read. That's really the best and most appropriate one. From 630. It's water. Wiggle your butt. No, they say it's a water wiggle for your butt. A water wiggle for your butt.
Starting point is 00:20:44 See, this is how we get kicked off. the air. Somebody said we're just out here talking, well, that word we thought you were going to say, not shower, the other one. We are. We are talking that. Yeah, 847 is right. Don't be flushing baby wipes. That's a whole other issue. Yeah, that do not flush baby wipes. That's not the, they make these wipes. There's certain ones that are, that are bad for your plumbing. But there are some that are you can use that are okay with the plumbing. You got to read the labels. I don't think any of them are okay for the plumbing. I just, some of you aren't getting enough fiber either, clearly. Okay. Joe Tooney talk. Joe save us. You're not even here to do it, but you'll do it next.

There aren't comments yet for this episode. Click on any sentence in the transcript to leave a comment.