Rahimi, Harris & Grote Show - Ricky O'Donnell: Bulls should trade Ayo Dosunmu, Coby White at deadline (Hour 2)
Episode Date: January 29, 2026In the second hour, Marshall Harris and Mark Grote discussed the angry reaction to legendary head coach Bill Belichick getting snubbed by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in his first year on the ballot.... After that, Ricky O’Donnell of SB Nation joined the show to discuss the Bulls’ aimless direction as the trade deadline looms in a week. Later, they held the Halftime segment.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This hour is brought to you by Menards. Save big money at Menards.
I don't understand it. I mean, I was with them every day.
If he's not a first-bought hallfamer, there's really no coach that should ever be a first-fout
hallfamer, which is completely ridiculous because people deserve it.
He's incredible. There's no coach I'd ever want to play.
I'd rather play for it. If I'm picking one coach to go out there to win a Super Bowl,
give me one season, I'm taking Bill's all check.
That is Tom Brady right there talking about Bill.
Belichick, who will not be a first ballot
Hall of Famer, that audio
comes to us from
a radio station called
Seattle Sports.
That is what they're called.
Maybe pretty smart. I mean, where can I
hear Seattle Sports? On a place called
Seattle Sports. It's very direct
and to the point. Yeah. You want Seattle
Sports? Come here. Seattle
Sports. Rahimi-Harrison
Grotie on the score. But do they have FM?
I don't think they have
the FM signal, which will be
coming soon to the score.
As a matter of fact, that will be happening on Monday.
104, 3, I want to say?
104 3, the score 8 a.m.
It's going to be a big ceremony and everything.
And everything.
A lot.
A lot.
There's going to be food, Grady.
A lot.
That's what got me hype.
Guests.
Yeah.
You did perk up today.
Yeah.
When we were told, yeah, and of course there'll be food.
What do you mean?
How is that the sidebar part of this?
If they leave with that, they'll make sure we never forget.
If you want us to comply with all of this, just tell us about the free food first for
crying out loud. Fine, I'll do it. You need me to jump around. Fine, whatever you need me to do.
I'm doing something tomorrow. I don't even know what I'm doing. You know what that is? That's our
low bar. It is our low bar. The pro-foot, this is Rahimi Harrison Grotie on the score.
The pro football Hall of Fame, Marshall, released a statement yesterday following the report that
the six-time Super Bowl winning head coach Bill Belichick was not voted in the class of
26 in his first year of eligibility.
Per the statement, if it is determined voting members, quote, violated the selection
process by laws, close quote, that, quote, action will be taken, close quote, including
removal as a member of the selection committee.
If you're not completely caught up on it, it was ESPN that reported yesterday, no, Tuesday,
that Belichick did not receive the necessary 40 vote from the 50 person.
panel, news that prompted swift and robust criticism throughout the sport.
The Hall of Fame statement did not mention Belichick by name, instead referring to, quote, media reports related to its class of 2026.
Here we go now.
The Pro Football Hall of Fame understands and respects the passionate reaction of many fans, media members, and enshrineas of the hall itself,
in light of published reports regarding the voting results of the class of 2026, the Hall said.
It's that very passion that propels the game.
The Hall also expects the members of the selection committee
when they follow the selection process bylaws.
They expect them to follow those.
It is an honor to serve as a selector.
Each year, the Hall reviews the selection process
and the composition of the 50-person selection committee.
If it is determined that any member or members violated the selection process bylaws,
they understand action will be taken.
They could include the possibility that such selectors would not remain a member of the committee.
Last graph right here.
The selection of a new class is the most important duty the Hall of Fame oversees each year.
And the integrity of that process cannot be in question.
So this came off to me as very passive, aggressive, because like if you got a problem, just say what the problem is.
don't be like bylaws and have it be general.
The hall believes.
We at the hall believe the following.
So let me give you this from Mike Sando.
Mike Sando
writes for the athletic.
He's a Hall of Fame selector.
He's one of the voters.
He's 28th NFL season covering.
He says, I don't speak for the Hall of Fame.
He quotes what you just read.
But bylaws forbid voters from sharing details of conversations
that took place in meeting.
This happened in the ESPN.
story, which quoted anonymous voters, not as source of Belichick news, but regarding what
might have been said in the meeting.
So that is my best guess, based on what Mike Sandoz saying, he would know, he's a Hall of
Fame voter, of what they are describing.
But come out and say that next time.
Don't make us out here having to speculate and guess what exactly went wrong.
That's my official stance on this.
As well as, I think it's to be noted, Grody, that we have more answers at this
and then we did yesterday because the Kansas City Star has a columnist.
And he did not vote for Bill Belichick.
He is a dissenter.
He wrote a column about it.
And I don't want to mess up his name, but it's either it's V-A-H-E, so it's either
they or Vahy Gregorian.
And he said he's one of the guys who didn't vote.
And I found his explanation to be quite telling.
It's somewhere along the lines of what we were thinking yesterday.
Gregorian says, despite only having three votes, remember there's five candidates.
All five men Gregorian stated were deserving of the hall in his eyes, and he had initially assumed he would be voting for Belichick on his first ballot.
But when it came time to vote, Gregorian said he felt duty bound to vote for the three, quote unquote, richly deserving senior candidates.
Anderson, Craig, and Greenwood,
who could be staring at one of their final chances
at the notoriously tough to get into Hall of Fame.
And you know what?
I respect it.
I understand it.
And this goes back to the game theory of it all.
You don't know what other people are doing.
He might have thought that by giving all three of those guys votes,
one, if not two or all three of those guys might get in,
whereas Bill Belichick is definitely going to have enough votes
because he's Bill Belichick's.
40 of the 50 guys are going to vote for him.
He'll get the 80% threshold.
But I think this goes back to the bigger problem.
The way the Hall of Fame puts people in is flawed.
Yes. Yes.
You got a backlog.
Mike Shanan is not in the Hall of Fame.
He should have been in the Hall of Fame.
And now this, with Bill Belichick not getting in this year,
guess what?
Creates an even bigger backlog because he's going to get in.
Yeah, he's good.
That is the bottom line about all of us.
That's what's different with this from, say,
your favorite baseball player that hasn't gotten in.
That player may not get in.
Bill Belichick is going to get in.
There's another interesting twist of this because we had surmised, of course, everybody had,
that perhaps some of the reason that folks didn't vote for Bill Belichick was because the Patriots cheated.
Maybe twice.
You know, there's one cheating and then there's inflategate, too.
So maybe they cheated.
Did just call it Inflategate?
Deflategate.
I did just call it inflate gate.
Yes.
Put too much air in the balls.
Well, so deflategate.
Like that part was all there.
But there was, I hadn't heard anybody actually say that that conversation was happening until today.
And maybe it had.
But today was the first time I heard it.
It was with Mully and Haw this morning.
Gary Myers is a former, a retired, I believe New York Times.
writer actually wrote a book about Bill Belichick and Tom Brady.
He is as close to both of them as anybody.
He is a voter who did vote for Bill Belichick, and he tried to shine some light on what was
going down, and he was on the score with Mullen Haw.
Here it is.
You can argue whether Don Schuil or Vince Lamarty or Bill Belichick is the greatest
coach in NFL history.
I happen to think it's Belichick.
It's almost one of those debates that.
And we've had these before.
the person who's doing the presentation
just stands up
says the guy's name
and sits down and then the Hall of Fame
says any comments?
And, you know, like with Jerry Rice and Emmett
Smith and players, you know, on
that level, that's what happens.
And Belichick was,
to me, you know,
on that elite level that we didn't really need to have
a conversation about it. But
it was a very,
I don't want to say it was volatile,
confrontational.
is probably the best way to say it.
There was some guys and gals in that meeting room that were very strong in feeling that,
you know, we shouldn't put it somebody in there who was punished for cheating.
If we're, if the Hall of Fame is going to stand for integrity and an honor and all that,
you know, how can we do that?
And, you know, just off the top of my head, I can say, you know,
after Paul Horning and Alex Harris were both suspended for gambling,
they each got into the Hall of Fame.
And O.J. Simpson was not thrown out of the Hall of Fame after, you know,
allegedly I think we still have to say he killed two people.
So what are we really doing here?
You know, and I don't understand, you know,
if they're moving the goalposts, people are so holier than now,
that, you know, they want them to make a stand here.
Again, I keep coming back to this, that it really just makes us look petty.
Gary Myers, very knowledgeable, very good today on Mully and Hawgan, the New York Times writer and Hall of Fame voter, a guy who clearly has been around a while and knows a lot.
I'll pick up right at the end there, though, of what he was saying, is a voter, should a voter really be accused of being holier than thou if they have a little bit of question in the back of their mind over whether or not they should vote for a person who cheated?
The voter's not on the ballot.
What's on the ballot is the player, the coach, or the contributor to football.
But they're not allowed to take that into consideration that the contributor to football, Bill Belichick, cheated.
I'm just pushing back a little bit on that.
Bill Belichick should be in the Hall of Fame.
But if somebody is saying, I'm giving you just a little slap on the wrist because you cheated,
then you'll be in next year, like there's part of me that I'm willing to hear that argument
and not have it be condescended to, like with the holder of the now comments.
No, going back to what Mike Sando talked about and the bylaws and trying to figure out,
like, what are these bylaws that the Pro Football Hall of Fame is referring to?
Like, I hope Gary Myers isn't going to get in trouble for sharing that with Mully and Haw.
Oh, boy.
Well, I have a feeling.
Don't you think that.
Yeah, you're right, because he did.
He prefaced it heavily.
He said, all right, I'm doing it.
I'm going to tell you guys, because you're Mollient Hall.
And also, it might be in relation to the fact that Bill Polly and Gras.
granted ESPN an interview in which he talked about.
And it may be like setting the stage for Bill Pollian to get his exit.
And he deserves an exit.
And in case you didn't hear yesterday, Bill Pollian is the one who literally came in,
had an interview and said he definitely wasn't one of the ones who didn't, you know,
stop Bill Belichick from getting in and then could not remember if he voted for Bill
Belichick or not.
He said he was 95% sure he voted for the coach and a policy.
player most likely
Elsie Greenwood. And I'm like, what?
You have this job as one of 50
electors to the Pro Football Hall fame?
And a few weeks later,
you can't tell me who you voted for?
That's a problem. Get all the way out of here.
Respectfully, sir. That's a problem.
Like, I don't even know if I should say respectfully.
It should just be like, it's a problem.
Go home. Yeah.
As we used to say when I was a child, go home, Roger.
And this is not Roger, but this
direct reference to Sister Sister is a sitcom after your time.
Um.
Carry on.
Ray, add this to the, if not today, five on it.
We got to do what's your favorite boomer take.
Like, what is your favorite boomer take?
Because I think we all have boomer takes.
Yeah, we do.
And we got to address those.
Maybe that's a question for tomorrow's.
Five on it.
Apparently, I'm just packed with them.
What I do understand, though, about, and I think it was, I believe it was Spiegel and
Weeder yesterday, sort of discussing this, which made sense that they, I think this was
them. I apologize right now if it wasn't
them, but I think it was because I listened to them
yesterday. But their take was it doesn't matter
if your first ballot, second ballot.
All the busts are in the same room.
You're all Hall of Famers.
I would say, that's wrong
because it means a lot,
I think, for players to say
how you doing. Or you don't
think they're going to put first ballot
Hall of Fame behind your name.
It's a lot more valuable to shake
somebody's hand and introduce yourself as a
first ballot Hall of Fame.
in this sports Hall of Fame world
in all of our sports
where especially baseball and football
where we make people wait
because they're not quite...
Yeah, you're pretty good,
but we're not sure.
We've got to let some more people in.
So it's a big deal to be referred to
as a First Ballot Hall of Famer.
If you're a Hall of Famer, you're a Hall of Famer.
Of course.
Of course.
And I understand the difference
in perception
between a First Ballot Hall of Famer
and say Harold Baines.
Like, there's a lot of gray
between those two levels, right?
We have an extra plaque.
Who are we going to give it to?
We got an extra one laying around.
We're going to throw it away.
If somebody does it, Harold Baines, Hall of Fame.
I think part of the issue is when you talk about this committee that got together and dealt
with the five finalists, you've got what they call the senior committee, the coach committee,
and the contributor committee, and they come up with the finalists.
And you got three votes for five people.
And I'm sorry, but the coach's thing.
It should be its own category.
Like, you shouldn't be in this backlog of coaches.
Coaches are way too important to football.
And I'm not knocking executives and contributors, like the senior committee.
But, like, let's be honest, the coaches are more important.
So they shouldn't be as backlogged to some of these other categories.
That's true.
I'm sorry, I was hung up on laughing at the text line.
What's the text line got?
What's the text line got?
Actively trying to change boomers Wikipedia page to a picture of groating.
Don't do me like that.
I don't want to be that guy.
I like 3-3-1.
Yeah, that Hall of Fame voter should be kicked out immediately.
Take 2 Previgin and never call me tomorrow.
Oh, do we have time?
We got Boomer time here?
Do we have time to play the boomer?
Did I screw that up?
Did I mess us all up with our timing?
If I did, you could tell me yes.
It sounds like I did.
All right.
No, we're good?
All right.
Let's listen to, because this is some pretty strong stuff right here.
from Jimmy Johnson on his buddy, apparently Bill Belichick not getting into the Hall fame.
We're talking to play-by-play man, Kevin Harlan.
You're the best way when it comes to play-by-play of life.
We're sending Marshall Harris to D.C. to run on the field.
Come on, Marshall.
We're at home, baby.
We're ready for you.
The Rahimi Harrison Grody Show.
Midday's 10 to 2 on 670 the score.
Murphy again at the Stripe.
It is up and it is good.
113, 110.
Bulls 904 feet away with 2.3 left.
Giddy and the past deflected stolen by Nemhart.
The ball game is over.
Oh no!
The Indiana Pacers win for only the 12th time this season.
Three of those coming at the expense of the Chicago Bulls.
Rahimi Harrison Grotie on the score.
That one hurt last night.
Did not feel good to see the Bulls go to 0 and 3
against what is now a 12 and 36 Pacers team.
Indiana beat the Bulls last night,
113 to 110.
Heard right here on the score.
Chuck and Bill, Chuck Swersky, Bill Weddington,
on the call.
I took in some Chuck and Bill yesterday
as I was, believe it or not,
walking around after dark,
not ordering Uber from the Jimmy Johns in my building,
walking about the town trying to feed myself.
The Bulls blew, the Bulls blue,
I just go place to, I graze.
That's crazy.
The Bulls blew a 14.4th quarter lead.
They had chances at the end, and the Bulls did not win.
That said, let's talk more Bulls now.
Let's talk more Bulls of the future.
And let's do it with Ricky O'Donnell, writer, editor, and associate director of programming at SB Nation.
He is on X at SBN underscore Ricky.
and he joins us right now on the Circa Resort and Casino Hotline,
Circa Las Vegas.com.
Ricky, hell of a game last night.
What did you think?
You know, it's just more of what we've seen from the Bulls this season,
which is that they cannot beat the worst teams in the league.
As you mentioned, now three losses to the Pacers.
They have 12 wins all year.
You know who else has 12 wins all year?
The New Orleans Pelicans and the Brooklyn Necks.
The Bulls have also lost to both of those teams twice.
the Bulls, if you take that 0-N-7 record in those games, you know, it's not unreasonable to think the Bulls could have gone six and one if they were actually a serious team.
And if that were to happen, they'd be sitting kind of pretty in the Eastern Conference standings.
Now, at least it wouldn't look like another 39-win disaster for Arturis-Carnashevus.
They have had some good wins this year, but, you know, this is what a 500 team does.
You blow it on games you should win, just no consistency with this roster.
So a pretty disappointing loss for the Bulls, but you can't be too surprised right now because as presently constructed, this is a 500 team.
We're a week away from the trade deadline.
Talk to me, Ricky.
Talk to me.
What should the Bulls do and what do you feel like they will do given how Archerich, Karnassovis, and Mark Eversley have treated previous trade deadlines and off-season?
The Bulls are not close to accomplishing anything this season.
and getting the eight seat in the east is nothing to be proud of.
Arturis constantly holds on to his guys too long, refuses to sell high on anyone,
and he has to learn from his mistakes, plain and simple.
I mean, what was the stat?
Like, four years in a row, the Bulls started the year 18 and 21.
That should be enough to get fired just with that stat alone.
So if the Bulls were smart, if Arturis knew what he was doing,
I think that you got to take a small step back this year to try to improve yourself for the future.
So I would make a couple moves.
The first one I would do, and it would be painful because he's been a great Chicago Bowl
and a great Chicagoan, but you got to trade I-O-Dissumu.
The guy is shooting 46% from three this year.
He's having the best season of his career.
He's probably in line to double his salary in free agency.
I would expect him to get around mid-level exception money, maybe $15 million a year,
four-for-60.
So I'd be looking to trade I.
The team I'm looking at is potentially the Portland Trailblazers,
who they owe the Bulls a lottery protected draft pick.
I would be trying to lower the protections on that pick.
Maybe make it top four protected instead of top 14 protected.
Take back Matisse Thibel, who's expiring salary,
lock in that you're getting, you know, two draft picks in the first round in the 2026 draft.
So I think, you know, the Bulls never sell high on anyone.
This is a big opportunity for them to sell high on I.O if they want to do it.
I like that deal.
other guy who's got to go Kobe White. Kobe, really good player, for sure. He's been a rare
Bull's developmental success story. But do you really want to pay him $24, $25 million a year when
you're just a 500 team every single season without much upside? So I'd be looking at the Houston
Rockets. And Houston is fascinating because they have a ton of future draft ammunition. The Rockets
have Phoenix's unprotected first-round pick in 2027. They have swap rights with the Brooklyn Nets in
27, who are one of the worst teams in the league. They have a bunch of second round picks.
So I think a fair deal would be Kobe White for Dorian Finney Smith. And let's say a top four,
top five protected 2028 first round pick from the Rockets themselves. That would give you,
you know, a few more bites at the apple. I still think this team could probably make the play in
tournaments starting Trey Jones, who's arguably been their best player. You still have Giddy.
So even if you lose two guards, you have decent depth in the back.
court if they do want to continue to try to compete.
So I would love to see the Bulls try to take a small step back and get some more future
assets.
What I would expect from Arturis Carnishovist, though, is that he does nothing because
the trade deadline every year he does nothing.
It's always one of the most disappointing days of the season for Bulls fans, which is saying
something because the season doesn't really have many high moments.
So my expectations are at the floor, and I dare Arturis to exceed them.
That was a flurry from Ricky O'Donnell, right?
And I like what Ricky's talking about.
I don't disagree with any of your suggestions simply because of this.
The Bulls, as Archeris and Mark Eversley have pointed out, because this is what happens every year,
all you got to do is be not one of the worst five teams in the Eastern Conference to make the play-in.
I think even after making those moves that you've talked about, they can be that.
You mentioned Trey Jones, but I'll go further and just say, look at who's behind them in the standings.
Now, I think the Hornets are definitely going to be a play-in team because they are showing
new life. But the bucks aren't going anywhere, the nets aren't going anywhere, the paces and
the Wizards aren't going anywhere. So you're still going to be the mix. Because Billy Donovan,
honestly, is just too good of a coach to have good players. I would love deals which brought
back more future-oriented players. So like trade guys who are having careers like Jalen Smith. Trade,
I'm trying to think who else is on this Ross. Oh, Vooch! Get whatever you can get for Vooch,
just get from Vooch. You're still going to have people out on the floor doing things. Are you
opposed to unloading, let's say, four to five of the players whose contracts expire at the end of the season?
No, that would be great. But I think, like, if you're going to trade Jalen Smith, who honestly is one of the
biggest advanced at stars in the NBA this year, he's got a plus 15 net rating, the Bulls are 0 and 7 when
Jalen Smith doesn't play, and they win like 60% of their games when he does play. So sure, I'll trade Jalen
Smith, but he's pretty good. He's under contract next season for $8 million. You've got to get a good
first round pickback for him. Same thing with Tray Jones, who's on one of the team-friendlyest deals in the
NBA. That's a rare Arturis success story right there, getting him at, you know, 8 million a year for
three years. So sure, I'll trade those guys, but you got to get, you know, legit assets back for
them. But, I mean, the reality of the matter is that the Bulls are basically the worst team in the
NBA that tries to win. And this has been the case for like five straight years. Going back to
the Jimmy Butler trade, this is now nine seasons since the Bulls traded Jimmy Butler. They're the
fifth worst team in the NBA since they traded Jimmy Butler. They've had one top five pick over that
time. So they haven't gotten any lottery luck. They also haven't really put themselves in position to
get lucky. Just an absolutely horrible job by Arturz Karnasovas. And you know, you guys asked me for my
plan if I was running the Bulls front office. I gave it to you. But, you know, from an ownership level,
the first move should be firing Arturis Karnasovos. He absolutely does not deserve to keep his job.
You do understand what the attendance looks like at the United Center,
and that's why Arturis Karassovers doesn't have to go anywhere.
I mean, is the attendance that great?
They're down to seven.
Yeah, I was going to say.
Honestly, God, I've been to a handful of games this year,
and I don't know if I listened to what the attendance was,
but didn't look like the full house that I saw at the United Center the other night
when it was Bulls and Lakers, that's for sure.
So I do think that the energy is not the same at the United Center.
Yeah, I was at that Bulls-Lakers game, too,
and seeing the United Center crowd,
cheer for LeBron after all of his dunks.
I'm like how far the place is falling.
Jokim Noah was in a skybox.
I kept staring up at Noah.
Noah looked disgusting that the United Center was cheering for LeBron.
He's a forever hater.
That brought some joy to me.
You know what he is, Ricky?
He's Hollywood as hell, I believe, was the original quote.
Wasn't that directed at, or I think it was just that team, right?
It was that Miami team that he referred to as Hollywood as hell.
So good.
Ricky, so my point of contention with this team is I agree with your front office evaluation just based on, you know, it's not unlike what we saw with the Bears, although the Bears are fortunate that Ben Johnson wanted to be the head coach of the Bears because Ryan Poles got a second chance, just like Arturis, Connor's Conner Chovic is getting another chance with another new contract. And the difference is they hired Ben Johnson and they have a quarterback. They have their star and Caleb Williams. And obviously, we saw how they were able to build on that. With Arturis, it's his aversion to draft capital, which really drives.
me insane because I've been, I was in Philadelphia during the process. I was, I've seen what the
rockets were able to do to stay nimble and be ready to go when James Harden became available
on the Oklahoma City Thunder. I think my biggest issue right now is learning what Joe Dumas
said on draft night about offering the unprotected pick to teams above where they gave it, the
Hawks and that the Bulls were one of those teams and did not jump on that. That is, like, is that going
to change? Can you see that changing? Because you mentioned learning from your
mistakes. Yeah, I actually love the Bears comparison here because while Ryan Poles have certainly
made a lot of mistakes in the draft and free agency or whatever, he did a really good job with the
teardown. And that is what Arturis has been totally unable to do. Like, he was in a pretty good
position to tear it down with DeRosen, Levine, Caruso, Lonzo. He got Vooch. He got no first round
picks for any of those guys. They required their own first round pick in the Levine deal. Honestly,
the Levine trade was pretty good.
Our Terrace has done a couple things that have been solid.
But like, you just look at the big picture and the guy starts every season, 18 and 21.
Like, what is this?
You should absolutely be fired for that alone.
So while the Bears did a really good job tearing it down and then lucked into the only
coach who could actually save that franchise in Ben Johnson, the Bulls can't even do the
tear down.
So they can't even do the easy part.
And, you know, it's very, very hard to build from the middle in all sports.
I mean, look at the Steelers in the NFL too.
When you're going 500 every year, it's tough to find a franchise quarterback.
It's tough to actually get blue-chip talent.
The bowls are that version in the NBA.
They refuse to tear it down.
And building from the middle, you know, you got to make some fantastic draft picks or some great trades.
And Arturis can't do it.
Instead, he's out here drafting Patrick Williams with the top five pick and then giving him $90 million.
That's no recipe for success.
Can they move Patrick Williams?
Can they attach him to one of these guys that they're trying to get something for?
think that would be just as valuable, maybe not just as valuable, but it would be
valuable to get rid of the Patrick Williams contract in this upcoming trade deadline.
Patrick Williams is truly one of the worst players in the NBA and easily one of the worst contracts.
He makes $18 million a year.
We have to watch three and a half more years of Patrick Williams.
You can't do.
We don't have to.
We don't have to.
Just get, move him.
I mean, no one's going to take him.
You'd have to take a worse salary back.
And honestly, I'm open to that.
I was trying to think of does anyone have a worse contract in the NBA than Patrick Williams?
The first name that popped up was Yacca Purdle, Center for the Toronto Raptors, who's, like, out indefinitely with a back injury.
I guess that could be a trade.
You could swap Pertil for Patrick Williams.
They'd have to basically do a bad money for bad money style trade to get rid of Pat.
He's just been so disappointing.
He has no athleticism at all.
Patrick Williams has five dunks this season.
He had 51 as a rookie.
Oh, my God.
He's just lost all his athleticism.
He's gotten so heavy.
That's so sad.
Yeah.
It's like, how is this guy such a good shooter
and he's still so bad?
It's like kind of shocking that someone
with his tools can be that good of a shooter
and it's still so awful.
Ricky.
Yeah, tried to ditch Pat, but it's going to be tough.
You're the goods, man.
This is why we had you on.
A lot of positive
reinforcement coming your way
on our text line, including this guy is the embodiment
of embodiment of how
Bulls fans should really feel about
the Bulls. So nice job, Ricky. We appreciate
you. Thanks, guys. Thanks,
Ricky. Ricky O'Donnell right there. Just
landed jab after jab.
The Bulls not close to
accomplishing anything. Boom.
Patrick Williams is the worst
player in the league. Boom.
The Bulls are the worst team in the NBA
that tries to win. Pop,
pop! Wow! Don't forget
about the Archerish Carnassova shouldn't have a job. Gotta be
gone! Yes. I didn't even get to
Billy Donovan. I didn't even get to
player... Well, we got to a little bit.
with the players. I don't have a problem with Billy Donovan in this scenario specifically.
Always the innocent bystander. No, I'm not. Okay. All right. All right. Let's see how the play-in series goes.
That's what I'm dubbing it. I actually think the Bulls are lucky to have an adult as a head coach in Billy Donne.
He's a whole favorite. Are you excited about the play-in series?
Best of three against the heat. Can't get enough of that. You get the first game at home and then you got to go to Miami and play too.
Although it might be a nice time to go to Miami and play too. It might be a really nice time to get that.
The Bulls get a week in. Oh, Miami. Just make sure they don't get the Miami
flew while they down there.
I wouldn't blame them if they did.
Where are we in the season? We're not that far into it.
Now is the time, kids.
Coming up next, I see on our show documentation, it just says halftime, but there's
nothing else that is written in there. Do you have something that we're going to talk
about for halftime?
Because there's nothing. There's just nothing there.
I have something.
You got something?
I'm tired of these.
I'm not tired of this.
I'm a little frustrated with Hollywood right now.
Oh.
Because the lack of originality is
startling. And the latest example, I think as a sports fan even, you're going to be like,
roll your eyes with what's coming back. Okay. I'm looking forward to hearing this. It is coming up next.
On halftime, we'll also tell you all the cool things that we've been talking about.
Who knows what will run through my brain during the break that I will bring to the surface here at the score.
It's Rahimi Harrison Grotie on the score.
That's right.
Half time here on Rahimi Harris and Grotie.
We began the show by talking about Bears' legitimacy and that they have it,
and that they have what appears to be sustainability if you're looking closely enough.
We also talked to Ricky O'Donnell about the Bulls.
He terrorized the Bulls.
He was just on with us.
If you need a little bit of Bulls' anger coming at you, pulling no punches,
you should check that out.
I got what I needed.
I hope you did too, Marshall.
We also had updates on the Football Hall of Fame
and what's going on with Bill Belichick,
injecting a couple of new voices into it,
including Jimmy Johnson,
who was very much in favor of Bill Belichick.
We also talked about the Bears
and the latest on the stadium situation
going on in potentially Indiana.
So it's at this time where, you know,
I'm a big MCU fan, right?
And I've been made fun of countless times on the CUE.
Yeah, oh, I'm sorry.
Forget sometimes I'm talking to a boomer.
Marvel Cinematic Universe.
The Marvel Cinematic Universe.
Are you familiar with that?
I was outside playing basketball.
So, well, you're inside.
Marvel Cinematic Universe.
By the way, according to the parameters of Generation X, you are, there's no vague area.
You are Gen X, my friend.
Type in Exennial.
Just type it in.
I don't want to right now.
That's what I thought.
Yeah, exactly.
I have an answer for everything.
Not now.
Not now.
Not now.
Okay.
So sequels are a thing.
I remember watching the Empire Strikes Back.
That's probably the earliest sequel I remember watching.
Quintessential sequel.
Can you think of a sequel from your childhood?
That's pretty good.
I would maybe Rocky.
Okay.
Rocky two?
Yeah.
And all the Rockies were good.
Yes.
Never a bad Rocky.
There's ones that were better than others.
Never a bad Rocky?
Never a bad.
Oh, well.
Rocky Five?
Rocky five.
Okay.
Yeah, one through four.
Super.
Goted.
Super.
Goated.
Goated.
I love when we agree.
Okay.
So there's a new movie that's about to come out that they're going to film.
It's going to be, I think, next year.
Drago or Clubberlang?
As far as what?
What are you asking me?
An antagonist in a movie.
Which antagonist did you?
Which performance did you prefer better?
Learning more post the movies, I would say Clubberlang was the better antagonist.
He was badass.
He was.
So was Drago in his own little underspoken way.
Yeah.
I mean, Drago killed a man.
but yeah.
Yeah.
Carry on.
So this sequel that's coming up, there's been 14 movies in this franchise,
and you probably didn't know there were 14 movies in this franchise.
Go ahead.
An open casting call to find a relative unknown to star in this movie.
That's what's been announced.
The movie series, the name of the movie, Air Bud Returns.
No, I did not know.
I don't know if I knew there was one of those.
You never heard of Air Bud?
The Golden Retriever that plays sports?
Oh, okay.
Come on, man.
Vaguely familiar.
Wow, you're really disappointed me right now.
I try to keep those things out of my universe.
Airbud was released in 1997.
It had the sequel Airbud Golden Receiver.
Okay.
Adorable, by the way.
First one is about him being a basketball player, the Golden Retriever.
The second one, obviously, Golden Receiver football.
Okay.
Air Bud World Pupp.
AirBair.
Airbud seventh inning fetch
Airbud spikes back
I just want to go through the
Rumble out of hand here
is what I'm saying
But if you have a golden retriever
Purebred
You can send them out there
And see if you can be the next air bud
And I just thought
We're out of control
We're out of control with these movies
Just sequels in general
What about the Fast and the Furious
That's where I thought you were going with that
But that has like 20
It's got lusted air bud, actually
It does, okay
And maybe we're too far down the path
Like, you know, later this year
Later this year, they're calling it Dune's Day
Because Avengers Doomsday comes out
And then also Dune 3, I guess,
comes out on the same day.
Warner Brothers versus Disney in that one.
And I was like, when is it too much, Mark?
What's your favorite?
What's the most recent sequel you've seen?
The most recent sequel I saw actually was the sequel to the movie called The Accountant with Ben Affleck.
Yeah, yeah.
Yeah.
Batman with a gun, as I call it.
Yeah, you did tell me that.
Yes, and that's such, that's perfect.
He was Batman with a gun.
And that really good sequel enjoyed the series.
It was good?
I haven't seen it yet.
Of course, not as good as the original.
Like, I think that's what always happens.
But, yeah, that was the most recent one that I've seen.
And it was good.
I'm glad you brought that to the forefront because I would recommend that.
whole series. Like, look, the accountant is really good. And it's interesting because you have,
like, the nine years between the first accountant and the accountant, too. That's a long time.
It is a long time. And so it reminds me of classic, coming to America. You know, they came
out with the sequel to that. Yes. 20-some-odd years later. Yes. Was it good? I didn't see it. I didn't see any of the
when Eddie Murphy did that whole, I'm still funny tour that he did by having Bedouin Beverly Hills
cop again. Did he do another 48 hours? Beverly Hills Cop, not another 48 hours. But he did it.
He did it because I watched his Netflix special basically indicating that it was to show people that he's still funny because there's a generation of people who think he's like kind of a, can be kind of serious and things like that, and that he's still the most hilarious man in the world.
And I didn't have a desire to see them.
And I love Eddie Murphy.
Isn't it sad?
It is sad.
We have so much content.
Never have we had this much content at our disposal, and that's part of the problem.
Is that what it is?
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I don't need another Beverly Hills cop.
That's it.
You're right.
I didn't need it.
And Gen Alpha kids now.
don't know pop culture because they don't have to know pop culture because they don't have a limited
options. They literally open up their phone and that's how they get their content. So they're not
seeing classic movies. They're not all watching the same sitcoms that the way we had to when we were
children. Man, and I'm not even like you can't even watch the office in order. You're right. You're
right. That's the world in which I live. That's just me though, really more than anything. That's my
problem. I deal with that on the daily. I'll deal with me. You don't have to worry about me. But your point
is so well taken. You're right. There's so many options. I don't, because I question myself. I love,
I love Eddie Murphy. He is, I can't, I have never to have been able to get enough Eddie Murphy in my
life. But when those movies came out, I was like, that's cool he's doing it. I'm enjoying the
nostalgia. I'm enjoying reading about Eddie Murphy. I'm enjoying that Eddie Murphy's doing
interviews, you know, interview circuit, so I get to learn more about him and hear him being
off the cuff funny. But guess what I didn't want to do? Watch the movies. You didn't want to watch it.
You didn't want to take the time out of your day. Yeah. You're like, this is going to cut
into me watching the rest of the other guys. I get it. Text her on the phone. This is great. This is
great. This is great right here. 630. We need a new Ernest Worrell movie. Remember Ernest?
Oh, yeah. Oh, man. Ernest goes to jail. I think we had enough of those.
I'm good with Ernest.
Hey, how about lethal weapon?
I was just thinking about, were you a lethal weapon franchise fan?
Who didn't watch lethal weapon?
Like, lethal weapon two was the goods, man.
You thought it was better than lethal weapon one?
I don't know.
I don't know.
Like, it's always hard to say, I don't know if there's ever, is there, well, I guess
the Empire strikes back for a lot of people was better than the original Star Wars,
at least the sequence in which they did it.
But that's the only one I could think of.
Godfather.
Ace Ventura.
Not better than the original was still the best, but yeah, I, I,
I was a sucker for all things Jim Carrey.
That's for sure.
That is for sure.
All right.
I'm glad you of you.
That was a revelation for me.
You're right.
I'd like to take you down a little nostalgic path sometimes.
And I learned.
I learned something about me and everybody else.
We don't need that stuff.
But it's there for us.
It is there.
And there's enough people that watch it that it's worthwhile.
And everybody makes lots of money.
When we come back, it is time for five on it.
We've got five questions that we will be debated.
and discussing and thrilled that we will have in studio with us for that
and for the hour, our guy Clay Harbor from CHSN.
We'll join us for five on it.
Then we'll go hardcore bears and NFL with Clay as well.
Coming up next on Rahimi Harrison Grotie on the score.
