RHAP: We Know Survivor - Survivor 50 B&B Ep 4 Recap w/ The Drag Detective
Episode Date: March 22, 2026Survivor 50 B&B Ep 4 Recap w/ The Drag Detective With a new Survivor season upon us, it’s time for Mike Bloom and Liana Boraas to re-open the RHAP B&B! On the B&B, Mike and Liana are ins...pired by the lighter side of Survivor, featuring a series of segments and games based on what’s happening on Survivor that week. This week, This week, Mike and Liana are joined by RuPaul’s Drag Race YouTuber TheDragDetective for Episode 4! This week’s charity shoutout is the National Immigrant Justice Center, which provides legal consultations and representation for low-income immigrants seeking a wide range of immigration legal relief. Click here to make a donation. If you have any suggestions for games or feedback for the B&B, feel free to reach out to us on social media or email rhapbnb [at] gmail [dot] com. If you have any suggestions for games or feedback for the B&B, feel free to reach out to us on social media or email rhapbnb@gmail.com. Check out Peace Corps: https://peacecorps.gov/serve To pre-order Rob’s book, The Tribe and I Have Spoken, visit www.robhasabook.com Never miss a minute of RHAP’s extensive Survivor coverage! LISTEN: Subscribe to the Survivor podcast feed WATCH: Watch and subscribe to the podcast on YouTube SUPPORT: Become a RHAP Patron for bonus content, access to Facebook and Discord groups plus more great perks!
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Mike and the Anna gather playing some games.
You better pray to your mama that's cool.
If that all sounds cool, I can tell you the name.
HAP, B, and B, and B.
Mike and the honor, got to play in some games.
You better pray to your mama that they're not super lame.
And if that all sounds cool, I can tell you the name is the R-H-A-P.
Hi, everybody, and welcome to the RHAP B&B for week four of Survivor 50.
My name is Mike Bloom.
It's a very star-studded week for Survivor.
One celebrity enters, one leaves speared like a large fish at the bottom of the Pacific Ocean.
And we are here to talk all about the surprising departure of Mike White, checking out quite early from Survivor 50.
And the checking in of one of the titular fans.
who this game was apparently in the hands of,
or at least the fish were in the case of this week.
I'm so excited to welcome back,
Leona Boris, we really had to wrangle you,
but once you found out that we would get
a concentrated 15-minute segment of Zach Brown fishing,
you had to cancel all your plans.
That's what I voted for.
Like, that's what I've...
I was like, you know what I want?
The players that I've seen play for so many years
that I've such an affinity for...
No, no, no, no, no, no.
Less of them.
Less of them.
more of Zach Brown.
Thank you very much.
And they listened.
I feel so hurt.
That Leanna, this is all for you.
So thank you.
You're welcome for making this all happen.
But look, we are sort of talking about,
I suppose the reality TV equivalent would be in drag race untucked
when the guest judge shows up to just kind of derail all the drama that is happening.
And this man knows exactly the language.
I am speaking because he is one of the most preeminent YouTubers
out there covering RuPaul's
drag rights, but people may not know this.
He is a survivor fan
as well. So I am so ecstatic
to welcome to the main stage here,
the drag detective, also known as Derek.
Thank you, Mike. Thank you, Leanna.
I know I voted for Charlie XXX
on the island, but I guess my vote didn't go.
Could have been a brat spring.
That would have been a wild
of the Jeff is like,
one celebrity is going to the island.
Vote who it is.
Wait, we can all do,
Cain on the island, which is such a
fallback anyway.
Like, it just comes a full
circle. We are bumping it. Let's go,
Jeff. Who on
season 50 do you think is most likely to be
listening to Brat?
Oh.
Yeah. Oh, that's good.
I feel like Camilla
right has on the list.
She could be running out. Could be Tiffany.
Maybe Tiffany. See, I see
Angelina being
Oh, Angelina.
Very brat.
Very, very, very brat.
But Derek, I'm so excited to have you here because to fully pull back the curtain a little bit,
I, you know, randomly a couple of years ago find my way into like, I would have watched drag race
YouTubers. Of course, we have great coverage here on RHAP, but like I really love the show,
but I want to find more people that really dig into the minutiaa.
And I found your channel.
I found Jack Fed.
I found Runner Eye.
That's like my holy Trinity, a little bit of Belak boy on the side as well.
So I've been following you for a while.
So I am so happy to have you here.
But I would love for you to divulge about your history with Survivor.
Because again, obviously, that is not really your bread and butter in terms of what people know you for.
But you are a Died and the Wolf fan of the show.
My, let me, let me age myself.
And by age, I mean, like, I'm a little bit younger.
But my first memory is watching Survivor.
The first memory I can ever, like, go back to is watching Ethan Zon when Africa with with my mom.
so Survivor has been with me since I had a consciousness
That's a long time
Yeah I mean that's Jeff is internally combusting
Oh yeah without even knowing what's happening upon
The mere mention of this your first conceived memory
Is of Survivor that is unbelievable
So have you been watching ever since? Did you take a break at all?
No, it was like a ritual like when it used to be on Thursday nights
Me and my mom every single night would be watching
and then we moved to Wednesday nights
and I remember going to college
and like leaving home for the first time
but I would still talk about Survivor with my mom
and that was like the one thing we would like really get to talk about
I will say I did skip season 43
that is the one season
43? Why?
Were you like absolutely not?
I was just busy and I'm like oh there's too much TV on whatever
I'll watch it later and then I was like
okay I didn't miss much it's fine
but yeah I've seen every season
most of them at least
twice. So,
well, the good news for you is no 43 representation on 50.
So you do know everybody on the cast at least.
Exactly. Exactly.
Well, then let's get your thought on this group of players.
We're only four episodes through Survivor 50.
Though that still is like probably a little less than a third of the way through the season already.
What have your thoughts been so far?
What were your expectations going into such a milestone season?
Because listen, you certainly know your way around all-star seats of reality TV and the expectations
compared to the reality therein.
So what were your own expectations of the season?
Well, I think that I went in with really high expectations
because Jeff kept saying it's in the hands of the fans.
You're going to get to vote on stuff.
And the last time we got to vote on stuff was second chance,
which was like one of the best seasons.
It's probably in my top five.
So I was like, I hope we get to vote on the cast.
I hope we get to vote on all this stuff.
And I will say when the cast dropped,
I wasn't like the most excited.
But I was open.
to, you know, being surprised.
And I will say I have thus far been very happily surprised by this cast.
Yeah.
Yeah. I totally echo that sentiment.
I feel the exact same way.
It's actually weird to think that like, why was I completely?
Why was I upset?
It's like, you know, this is great.
And, you know, I think a lot of people, I think I've said this before about Colby,
but it was like, yeah, like, do we really want to see Colby again?
I'm loving it, right?
Like I'm really living for it.
And it does make the season more difficult because you're going to lose somebody each week that you're really excited to see.
But I would rather have that than, you know, a cast that you're maybe not so jonesed about.
Well, and especially because there's so many surprises that are baked therein.
Like, yes, when you have three people from the same season on a tribe, you think like maybe there's some some baggage that's being brought in here.
But that's going to be like a final seven problem, not a final 17 problem.
And we saw that come to fruition immediately with Christian turning on Mike.
And so there's various reasons why it happened.
Either, you know, his preconceived notion of like, I'm the narrative warrior now.
I'm the one that's picking up the pen or him dealing a little shock that Mike would Dane compare Emily Flippin to Gabby Pascuzzi.
But to have some of those like past, I don't even know if Demons is the right word, but between like that facet and then between this Charlie Carlton.
His mortal enemy because of these spare comments that Rizzo was making.
I think people, I was expecting people to bring their past into their present
just based on the fact that some of these people have played so many times,
but not in the ways that I certainly expected,
considering like who is having one foot essentially back in the year that they initially played.
Yeah.
Well, and it's interesting because Jeff, you know, famously said,
you know, I don't know who we want to cast villains,
but some of the most interesting storylines on this season,
in so far.
And some of the best editing is like painting Aubrey and not a great light,
painting Joe and not a great light.
And it's like that's what's really interesting about an all-star season is you don't know
who's going to become friends and who's going to become enemies.
And sometimes people who butt heads you weren't expecting like a Gen of even and
Aubrey to like mothers of the fandom.
It's so interesting.
And like I'm eating up these rivalries.
Yeah.
I think, yeah, rivalries.
I think that's a really great way to put it.
we're starting to build so many more.
We have coach and Ozzy, even from the very first get-go of their little rivalry.
I think conflict is just, well, first of all, it's a natural part of life.
If, you know, Survivor is some sort of human experiment, then you want to see the conflict.
And it's also really entertaining.
And whether it's one-sided, whether both parties know they're participating in a rivalry,
you know, regardless, it just, it makes for really entertaining TV.
And I think that we're seeing also consequences of what that looks like in the strategic
gameplay with, you know, what came from social relationships.
Yes. So all that being said, I think that this was probably the weakest of four episodes.
And listen, at the high bar, I think as you mentioned before, Derek, this has been a remarkably
strong streak of episodes, have just been so much fun. And for what it's worth, the beginning
and the end of the episode were so incredible. Like, I kind of feel bad that people kind of throw the
baby out with the bathwater that this is apparently the lowest rated episode on IMDB ever,
because like the last half hour is incredible television.
Just whenever we go to that Batu tribe,
it is fantastic TV from the moment they hit the beach to the moment that Mike White
walks out of tribal council and Ozzie basically tells Christian like,
nope, you're not going to do any damage control with me.
The damage is already done.
But unfortunately, I think the connotation around this episode,
both now and assumingly in the future, is going to be the
presence extended especially of one
Zach Brown. So Derek, I want to get your reaction
to this episode as it was airing. And especially in
retrospect, are you as down on this episode as seemingly a lot of
people are right now? Well, I'm coming, the way that I
come at Survivors with a very queer perspective, the people I
talk about Survivor with, you mentioned Jack Fed and Runner I, we
talk Survivor all the time. The people I'm talking with Survivor
about are gay, I'm gay. So I'm coming to this very queer.
and I feel like
Jeff loves to
do whatever for the fans
but I feel like a lot of the times
it's for the Facebook moms
we know there's like the Facebook mom
side of the fandom and then there's like the super reality
TV a lot of queer people
side of the fandom and I would say
a lot of the stuff that's happened in the last couple
years has been like to appease the Facebook mom
so I'm sure these Facebook moms that are listening
to their country music stations are loving
seeing Zach Brown on, but I think we're also hearing from a large portion of the fan of that
this is not what they want on their survivor. And that's kind of what I was just thinking the whole
time. I'm just like, why? Like, you know, a lot of people had to like, okay this decision. A lot of
people had to like, you know, make it happen. And I just, I don't know who it's for unless you
are a fan of Zach Brown, who, let's be honest, it's not like the number one country star right now.
Like there's plenty of, they wanted to find a country person. There's plenty of,
other people in country music that are popular right now.
No, one of them is a survivor alum in the form of...
She's the Rice. Come on.
I don't know who this is for.
I really don't know who it's for.
And clearly it's not for many of the people watching, as we've seen with the IMD ratings.
Right.
I mean, yeah, there's very clearly been a negative reaction, I think, from a lot of circles
to the episode.
I think for me, like, even outside of it being Zach Brown, which, by the way, I knew
him more because he is on this
Evichi song, Broken Arrows, is an uncredited
vocalist and like, that's how I knew who he was.
I actually didn't know him from his country.
That'd be so funny. If you were on that beach
as though you're like freaking out V-A-D, you're like, I love
when you were had that uncredited feature on that
Aviki song. Yeah, exactly.
He's like, that was me. Yeah, you're sitting in a section.
I don't remember that. Play the Evichie song.
Yeah, play Broken Arrows.
So, but anyway, outside of the
Zach Brown, like, as him
specifically as a person, right? Like, let's
say it was Billy Eilish. Okay,
let's say it's the Zach Brown boomerang idol and now Billy Elish is actually out
catching fish or something. I don't know what Billy Eilich would be doing. But regardless,
like I think independent of who it is on top, like it's already, it's absurd regardless, right?
Because it's like what, okay, so what and I really tried to pay attention despite watching
on 2X to the segment, which was like, okay, what am I is the audience supposed to take away
from this? And I think it is supposed to be, this is my interpretation, again, about like
celebrating Survivor and celebrating the fans, I guess.
I think that's what I was supposed to take away from it.
But honestly, I'm not 100% tour.
I mean, yeah, I think to a certain aspect, having Zach Brown on there is a bit of this
masturbatory facet of like, hey, we have famous fans.
Isn't that cool?
Is that cool that these people also watch the show?
Why?
But I think also, I mean, you also have to wonder in retrospect, like, did Zach Brown and his team
agree to do this in exchange for like, yeah, we're going to play a couple songs and like
your, can you feature said songs? That's really, I think, the issue that I had, that assuming
you both had that a lot of people had, was that if you are a Zach Brown devotee or not,
this was way too long. We spent a lot of time about Zach Brown talking about why he loves spearfishing,
and that is all well and good. I love how this serves as a source of therapy for him and escape a way
for him to feel, remember the sensation
that we are just living on a blue marble hurtling
through the universe and that what matters at the end of the day?
I won't worry about it to quote his new hit song
that everyone's singing along to at home.
But we don't necessarily need that at the expense of what is happening.
I think the reward probably was really cool.
Like I buy the emotional reactions from these players
because A, this is a really unique experience.
Yes, they've watched movies before, but they haven't had people come and fish for them and perform a concert in the way that Zach Brown did.
But it just seems so discrepant.
Let's reverse things here.
Let's put ourselves in Zach Brown's boots here.
Let's say you're a Zach Brown fan.
And you attended his concert.
And you were so excited for this, you get another sold out Fenway Park concert.
And so you sit down and Zach Brown plays a bunch of, you know, great songs.
new, classic, etc.
And then about a third of the way through,
he says, now y'all might know this,
not know this, but I'm a big fan of the show Survivor.
And so this is
Colby and Ozzie talking about why they love spearfishing.
And then it cuts to the screen
and they show for uninterrupted a half hour basically
of footage of them spearfishing
or them, actually you know what to be more so than being like,
you know who loves country music?
D. And so D is going to sit there and talk about
why specifically she loves country music
instead of watching Zach Brown
do the country music. And then
it transitions to an episode of Survivor.
They show 10 minutes of an episode.
And it's like, A, I don't know if the audience
came for this necessarily.
And B, what does this have to do with anything?
So I do think sometimes
we make a bit of a mountain out of a molehill of like,
yes, it was only 10 minutes out of a 90 minute episode.
But it did sort of feel
almost representative of something larger as to, as you mentioned, Liana, who is this for?
And why are we dedicating so much time to this?
Well, and like, you know, some of the other guests that they've teased, like, I understand why
Mr. Beasts is there.
Obviously, he's been very inspired by Survivor with his channel.
And they want to appeal to the younger demographic.
And he's, like, the number one for the younger demographic.
I get why Mr. Beasts here.
I get why like Jimmy Fallon, him and Jeff are friends.
But like, Zach Brown just feels like the most random draw a name out of a hat of like 500 celebrities and then just invite them.
Yeah, I mean, there was definitely some co like co-promotion stuff.
I think, of course, Mike, what you mentioned about the songs, but also I don't know if you guys noticed the slow zoom in on his wine at the sanctuary.
So I don't know if you guys know, Zach Brown's got some wine trying to sell a little bit of that.
Nobody commented about the wine.
I will say.
We'll say maybe a little bit of a hot take again,
as much pushback as there might be here.
I think if you are a brand,
being a person,
a company,
etc.
You should actually be jockeying to become a reward on Survivor.
Yes.
Because this is the ultimate captive audience.
You had a grown-ass woman
throw a shit fit about not getting Applebee's.
Do you know how many people were jonesing for Applebee's
in the immediate after-
of that moment and the weeks thereafter.
This is one of the best forms of free advertising.
Leanna, I'm surprised we did not get segments from Chrissy being like,
wow, this Zach Brown wine is quite scrumptious.
It's just they haven't drank anything in days.
They're going to love any wine that's put in front of them.
Oh, yeah.
When you're hungry, everything tastes great.
So it just makes total sense to put your food rewards on Survivor.
So yeah, I was actually, I was surprised by that.
Maybe it wasn't that good that even starving people don't like it.
But, you know, I don't know.
My thing is if I'm starving for days and days and days, I don't want wine.
I feel like that would just make me feel so gross.
No.
Yeah.
And beer, I'm like, I don't, I don't want all that fizz in my stomach when I haven't had anything in there for like two weeks.
I feel like I would fall asleep during Zach Brown's conference.
head and eating up wide in the air, which would feel probably incredibly rude to him.
Well, it was so calming and relaxing that you felt sweet, right?
Like a lullaby.
Yeah, like a lullaby, exactly, Mike.
Well, yeah, you got to sit in comfy chairs, like, you have Genevieve just sitting in the
hammock, like, I would have conked the F out.
He's singing, like, I don't worry about it.
And you're just hearing like,
you're like, you're going to like turn your mic off.
Exactly.
Well, let's, let's get around the meet of the middle of the,
episode, I should say, to again talk about the delicious bread that surrounded this sandwich.
Oh, wait, please go ahead.
Hold on.
Actually, one other thing I wrote down because what really made me laugh was before Jeff brought
out Zach Brown, Aubrey, he's like, we brought out somebody very special who loves it.
And Aubrey goes, oh, like it's a make a wish kid or something like that.
And then it was Zach Brown.
So anyway, I just thought that was so funny.
Like, I don't know, because Aubrey's reaction to, oh, Zach Brown, oh, Zach Brown,
oh, like that's not, no.
I mean, it is interesting.
We have had very, you know, select, but in the past, like, there was a make-a-wish kid who, like, designed the challenge that accidentally broke Missy's leg in Survivor San Juan Delsor.
So, like, there would be a non-zero chance.
It's, like, in the hands of the fans, like, here's this very special fan.
Yes.
Who's coming out to visit you all.
And dare I say, I'd prefer that.
I would prefer that.
Now, what if that kid played a concert at the sanctuary?
Would you approve of that?
I'm the recorder.
Like, it's third grade.
Oh, yeah.
I believe.
All right.
I hear the little ditty called Hot Cross Bonds.
There's a world of opportunity out there beyond the typical nine to five
where purpose and grit and the American spirit come together, the Peace Corps.
It's been called the toughest job you'll ever love.
Tough because it asks so much of you.
And the love part, it's knowing your hard work can transform lives
and build bridges across cultures.
After 65 years, the Peace Corps is still the tough.
job you'll ever love.
Explore opportunities in more than 60 countries
and apply at peacecore.gov
slash serve.
Well, let's talk about someone
who was feeling quite cross in his active press
here. Let's talk about the
downfall of Mike White.
Oh, this one hurt, guys.
This one hurt. Yeah, give me your thoughts on this,
Derek, because this came really
out of nowhere for Christian to just
sort of wake up in the middle of the day and choose violence
and be like, oh, all right, it's time.
to not only take out this guy,
but to leave half of the tribe blindsided as I do so.
This was such an interesting dynamic on this tribe
because so many people are coming in with different like motivations
and like,
I want this person gone.
I want this person gone.
And unlike on a regular season,
where this early you might just like,
it might be smarter to just,
you know,
okay,
I'll take a back seat.
You know,
it's fine.
These players are playing.
And so,
I mean,
I knew going in that Mike,
let's be,
bro,
was not going to win because who's going to,
you know,
give a million dollars to someone who already has a million dollars.
And I think he knew that.
So I just wanted him there for as long as possible because he's such a good
confessionalist.
He's so funny.
Now he's ripped.
It's like,
what more could you want from this man?
He's an icon.
So I was sad to see him go this early,
but he definitely was playing hard.
And maybe it's because he felt like he didn't have anything to lose.
You know what I mean?
Yeah.
Yeah, it was interesting because, you know,
we got so much a buildup over the David Gull
lieth three in that relationship.
And so to have it fall apart so quickly,
like I assumed they were going to turn on each other.
I did not assume that it would happen so quickly.
And I think to see the catalyzing event for that seemingly be,
or at least the way that the show was edited,
that conversation between Mike and Christian,
where Christian feels like, man,
this guy is so good at being emotionally manipulative,
how he, you know, sees it in convincing him and what to do,
saying the right things,
doing the right things. And then it certainly doesn't help, Mike, that at tribal council,
he's talking about how that's his skill that he's worked on for so many years.
I'm a con man.
Exactly. Yeah, basically.
I'm selling you nothing. I'm selling you an idea.
But you vote with me.
Yeah, exactly. Exactly. Not something you want to hear right before you vote.
So, yeah, I thought that that was, that was very interesting.
And, you know, I don't know if it was necessarily the right move from Christian from a strategic,
perspective, but I can certainly understand
the motivation of him wanting
to basically say, look, this man
is a threat, I want to think my own thoughts,
I don't want to think Mike's thoughts, let's get Mike
out of the game. Yeah, I wonder if
part of it is due to this
resignation that Ozzy had the beginning
of the episode being like, yeah, I'm on
the disaster tribe, R and I,
we're going to just keep going back to tribal
council. And so if everyone has kind of
resigned themselves to that fate, then it
becomes obviously voting less on strength
and more on loyalty. And I
wonder if Christian was seeing how well-connected Mike was, right?
As he espouses at the beginning of the episode where he has the Dave versus Goliath 3,
he has this connection with Ozzie.
And it's this idea of like he cannot get momentum in this game.
Because once he does, if he makes it to the merge and he makes it to the jury,
that's when he gets lethal.
That's when he wakes up.
That's when he took me out.
And so I think it's a lot of preemptive striking.
The question is, was this too preemptive?
But I also wonder if another interesting thing about Christian's game in general, and this is something he talked about a lot in David versus Glyde specifically, is that he wants to create entropy in the game. He specifically used that term. He wants to create a chaotic environment because he feels like he has ordered enough of a thinker that he can sort of emerge from the top and be able to put a bunch of pieces together into something somewhat legible. And so I also wonder if he wants to purposely destabilize the tribe.
Right? Because again, this was not an all-on-one vote.
This was three to two to one.
Ozzy was out of the loop, very angrily so.
Angelina, obviously out of the loop.
And I wouldn't even say that Christian and Stephanie and Emily are really locked in.
I don't think Stephanie really cares about working with the two of them.
She was just happy her name wasn't written down.
So I think that it might be a way for Christian to purposely create as messy of an environment as possible
because he feels like that's where he thrives the most.
I feel like what I was missing personally from this episode
was more of Stephanie's perspective.
Because I feel like her game keeps getting thrown in all these directions,
but we don't necessarily hear from her, like,
what she's doing to like bounce back or like why she decides to go with this person
versus this person.
Like I really just want to know her thoughts.
And I feel like we know everyone's thoughts on this tribe, but Stephanie.
Yeah, I mean, something that unfortunately sir does the nail in Mike's coffin
and the reason why also maybe Christian decided to get rid of Mike here,
because Stephanie had a very good reason to get rid of him,
considering that Mike White, if you recall, sat down last episode
and looked Stephanie in the eye and said,
yeah, I'm probably going to vote you out.
I'm sorry.
And granted, yes, he does vote out Q in the end,
but that's certainly not something Stephanie can forget
that you were so trivial with her new dynamic
that you would outright tell me that you're voting for me.
Mm-hmm.
I mean, yeah, obviously that would be,
beautiful reason to immediately get revenge and vote somebody out. And I think, you know, we didn't see
this in the episode. And I don't know if maybe she's just not saying these things, but from her,
if I'm looking at things from her perspective, I would also further welcome a Mike White vote because
an Angelina vote, I think, does keep a little bit more of the status quo. Even though you are
breaking up the David versus Goliath trio, even though they're turning on themselves, I suppose,
you know, you do create a little bit more chaos,
like knowing that Ozzy,
assuming he's vocalized it to somebody other than the confessionals,
he does want to be so close to Mike White.
So now you're preventing that connection from happening.
You're helping to keep that to yourself,
which I think for Stephanie,
chaos also probably helps her
in addition to whatever Christian is trying to manufacture.
Yeah.
It's almost like Angelina's becoming like a charisma.
We're like, we can always get rid of charisma.
Let's get rid of it.
Let's make a move now and then we'll always have charisma to get rid of.
And it's like, well, how long is Angelina going to stay now when there's always another move?
Yeah, though I do wonder, there's a couple things unfortunately working against Angelina here.
I think in the past, certainly the path of Survivor has been littered with half measures of like,
here's this powerful duo.
We took one out, but it's fine.
We don't need to deal with the other one.
But also they keep bringing up like how weak Angelina is in challenges, for example.
And so maybe there might be a contingency that's like, especially from Christian's perspective, right?
like yeah, Ozzy is pissed, but I think Angelina is probably more internally incensed.
And so he's like, let me just make sure that doesn't stick around to bite me in the ass,
as opposed to like I at least have a working relationship with Ozzy or I can try to.
And again, if this Vatu tribe wants to try to decide to try and challenges,
like then Angelina might be the person to snip.
Though I guess, you know, what this all comes down to is whether it should have been Mike or whether it should have been Emily.
And Derek, I need to get your thoughts on all things financial analyst Emily Plobbit because maybe again, Christian loves a mess and Emily is essentially pig pen from peanuts at this point.
I feel like we're, I mean, obviously love Emily so much.
But I think we're forgetting that like the start of her first season was rough.
Like she was not in a good position and it was because she put herself there.
So the same kind of faux pause that we saw on her first season, we're seeing her make those same mistakes again.
and I wonder if she will kind of fall back into me.
Obviously she had like Caleb on her first season that was able to kind of like nurture her
and like calm her down and maybe like get her into a better spot.
But like I don't think Christian is going to be as forgiving as like a Caleb on an all-star season.
So honestly I do think that keeping Emily makes sense because like people obviously don't trust her.
I don't think people think that she's a reliable ally.
But she's with Christian right now and it doesn't look like she has many other options.
So whereas Mike, I think is such more of like a wild card.
And he is so good at the game.
And he thinks things through so much that like he will work with Christian when it's
convenient.
And when it's not convenient, he will go to someone else.
Whereas like Emily, I feel like latches on to people.
We saw that on her first season and we're seeing it on this season as well.
Yeah, that's, that's interesting to describe Mike as a wild card.
Because that's how I was going to describe Emily.
Like I know that Mike described her as, what was it?
Hold on. I wrote it down.
A cougar in the shape of a Renfair girl, which is, oh, I'm so sad.
Mike White went home.
That's just so good at coming up with these random, just beautiful lines of dialogue.
Mm-hmm.
But, like, I wouldn't even necessarily consider her a cougar.
But to me, she's just impulsive.
And I think that there's logic.
Like, when you really look at the actions that she's taking, there's logic behind those decisions.
Like, it's not completely out of the blue.
For example, your closest ally,
whisper something in your year, hey, so and so has an idol, okay, bye. Like, yeah, of course,
you're going to feel a type of way about that. Of course, you're going to want to feel like
you need to find new allies. But I think she just acts so rashly and quickly that it doesn't
really have time for her to really actually consider like, oh, yeah, that it would make sense for me
to go look for new allies. Or because Christian is on my beach, I could go just clarify with him
what he meant by that, right? So she doesn't really kind of get to that second step. And I just,
I understand Mike White is dangerous. But man, for me,
personally and a Christian obviously has a higher tolerance for that entropy in Emily. Emily entropy,
maybe it should be her new nickname.
But I just- Oh yeah, that's a real roll-off.
Let's just say like Zach Brown's wine just spikes the taste buds.
Please.
Yeah, I mean, it's a very good point that I think also we need to remember the fact that Emily has
different intentions on this tribe and Christian.
She somehow wants to really work with Ozzy despite the fact that again, she targeted him
so massively the first two rounds, but it's a new tribe, new day.
And so she is making a lot of decisions in service of that relationship, right?
Christian goes to Emily and says, hey, Mike is targeting you.
If you me and Stephanie vote together and we don't tell Ozzy, I think we'll be okay.
Emily doesn't want to do that.
I don't think she wants to leave Ozzy out of the loop.
And so when Ozzy sits down, she immediately tells him.
I think, unfortunately, where the lack of connection comes from there is like,
letting Christian know, hey, can I tell Ozzy?
I have something good going with him.
And I think it's because she maybe has this idea in her head,
as she expressed last episode of like,
I'm not here to play Christian's game.
And so she feels she doesn't necessarily need to communicate that.
The result is we get for the second time in four episodes,
Christian doing his best Charlie Chaplin Marcel Marceau impression as he's just like,
I mean, he would kill it at charades.
He's incredibly expressive.
but that is also objectively a wild thing to do.
Was Ozzy not feeling a light breeze behind him?
It feels like when you kind of feel like someone giving you the middle finger behind your back.
Essentially, that's what Christian was kind of doing, I guess, to Emily instead of Ozzy.
Well, and I mean, I would love to hear your guys' opinion.
I feel like Emily threw away her relationship with Angelina way too easily because we haven't seen a ton of that dynamic,
but she brought Angelina information that she desperately needed to have that, you know,
her original tribe was going to vote her out.
And it seems to me like Angelina was so, like, appreciative of that.
And you know that Angelina is on the outs.
I mean, obviously she has her David versus Goliath people, but you're already working with
Christian anyway.
I'm like, why would you not nurture that relationship further?
And it feels like she just kind of like threw Angelina to the wolves a little bit this week.
Well, and that's really interesting too, because then it's like, I get it if you're going to vote her out to appease Ozzy.
why you wouldn't foster that relationship.
But if you do, if you're not,
and there's other options
and you want to maintain that relationship,
especially as the tribe gets smaller and smaller,
and they don't know if there's going to be another swap.
They don't know if there's going to be any other switchups.
So, you know, each of those relationships
really start to matter as the tribe numbers dwindle.
Absolutely.
Yeah.
It's something that I think needs to just be incorporated as well
to also relationships that exist outside of this tribe.
You know, I don't know if they assume there's another swap.
coming along. But again, I think one of the reasons why Christian targets Mike is because
he had these connections that were existing on the tribe. And so you also need to think about,
okay, who are people that are likely to get their hands into this game? Yeah, we're at like
16 or 17 players right now, but who knows when the hell we're merging? And so you also need to
sort of focus on that facet of the game because as Christian himself has experienced,
if you get your name on people's mouths in the beginning of the merch
is very tough to shake that for the entirety of the game.
And so, again, I really do feel like,
and part of the reason why Mike has, I think,
been responding the way he certainly has in his interviews
is because I think he felt like,
I don't know if he wanted to take Christian to the end,
but he certainly felt that would be like a final seven or six problem,
not a final 16 or 17 problem.
Well, I mean, Mike, do you want to comment a little bit about that?
Because I do think that Mike has had a very specific perspective about the move.
Oh, yeah, he's got sour grapes that you could stomp to make a wine that would rival Zach Browns.
Yeah, I mean, he has been feeling a certain way about Christian that has been expressed to both me and many other outlets over the course of this past week.
And it's really rooted in like a few pillars.
I mean, I think Mike does feel very betrayed
because he did feel Christian was a friend.
Angelina has acknowledged that like
of the Dave versus Goliath trio.
It's like George and Elaine in Seinfeld.
Her and Christian never really hung out together.
Mike was always the connector.
And Christian, you know, Mike felt like Christian was always
a nice friend of his.
Christian voted for him to win.
The two of them stayed friendly.
When Christian happened to be at Thailand
during the White Lotus season three,
he texted Mike being like,
hey, can I make a cameo appearance?
Mike said, yeah, sure.
come on come hang out for a day.
Glad that he cashed that opportunity in now
because that ain't happened anytime soon.
And it then led to
just this absolute dissolution, assumingly,
of their relationship.
Mike has said that the two of them have not spoken.
Basically since that moment,
since Mike was voted out,
basically the last words he heard Christian say
were through that hug as he
walked out absolutely aghast
at what had happened.
I also think something, though, that has gone
unremarked in a lot of discourse about this
is the fact that
Christian has this child.
I feel like Mike feels
I honestly feel that Mike White feels
very hurt that Christian did not tell him ahead of time.
Like I think it honestly is a thing of
yes, it was six weeks ago, but I do
think Mike has a certain perspective
of like, if I was really
your friend, you would have told me this. I don't know
why you didn't tell me about this.
Yeah. I'm wondering
if, because I mean, we're seeing Christian
played pretty hard in David versus Goliath,
But I feel like he's had to play even harder here because he's gone to tribal almost every single episode.
And he has every single episode.
Yeah.
So it's like, you know, you come up with a bag of tricks and he's having to use all of his tricks right off the bat.
And I feel like he might be overplaying.
But I also don't.
I also sympathize because like you kind of have to overplay if you're going to tribal every single episode.
Yeah.
Well, and I mean also if outside of just Mike White is a convincing human being,
you know, you start to look at the numbers
and then it's like, ooh, what if
Ozzy sides with,
you know, with Angelina
and with
the Mike Ozzie Angelina group, right?
Then that's three against Stephanie and Christian
and now Christian all of a sudden is on the outs, right?
So, and yeah, you're pulling in a lot of that baggage.
You're pulling in a lot of that.
But I mean, to my understanding,
Mike didn't really tell, or Christian didn't really tell
anybody about his child, right?
No, he did not, but also Christian's not friend.
I mean, you know,
Christian is certainly clear.
close with Emily, but I do think, again, for Mike, this is a relationship that has spanned
seven, eight years. He certainly, I think, has had felt, I think he had made assumptions
about the way he and Christian would have interacted in this game of like, again, I don't
think he expected the two of them to be sitting in the final three, but I don't think he expected
for Christian to basically turn on him so soon. There's also, Mike has been on record,
and this is not even about Survivor 50. He told me this in the preseason that he
knows in returning player seasons that like it's not exactly as authentic.
You know, people are now more comfortable in front of the camera and they especially know
like what makes good TV. And so maybe things do feel like a little bit more, okay, you're
not exactly acting like your real self. You're acting like an exaggerated version. And so Mike
certainly has heard those accusations towards Christian. You know, he told me that one of the reasons
why he didn't really clock Christian doing anything that could be an ulterior motive is because
he's like, yeah, Christian's a little hammy.
So I thought like, oh, well, he trips over himself and he says these wild things.
So clearly he's just doing it to the cameras instead of actually taking me out,
which like it's kind of a brilliant smokescreen by Christian,
but I think maybe serves into Mike's larger theory about how, from his perspective, right,
ironically, the man who is an Emmy-winning scripted television superstar
wants to deal with the more unscripted versions of these characters,
instead of making it feel like more of a manufactured personality.
Well, and with these, you know, All-Star seasons,
obviously pre-gaming is a huge aspect.
And I'm sure that Mike and Christian had conversations.
Yeah, Mike had told me that basically the only people he pre-gamed with
were on that Vatu tribe.
It was him, Emily, him, Angelina, Christian, and Ozzie.
Those were the only people that Mike talked to before the season.
That's a rough.
Because a lot of people put so much weight into those pre-Gent.
pregame chats.
Yeah.
And, you know, some of them really matter.
Some of them don't.
But especially because he's already friends with Christian,
I'm sure that those pregame chats made him feel really, really secure in that
relationship.
And so for things to go sour as quickly as they did, I can understand why Mike is upset.
But I also think I understand why Christian made the move.
Yeah, exactly.
I mean, that's a thing.
And that's what's beautiful.
It's why I love Survivor so much.
It's like, even if I personally maybe didn't agree with a certain move,
I can still understand the logic behind somebody doing.
it from Mike's perspective the argument to Christian I mean maybe the Gabby stuff didn't exactly work but like emily is absolutely a wild card like that's a good enough argument and of itself like do you want to play with somebody who's sure yes I've stabbed you in the back but we have 24 people to get through or whatever like you know like I'm here with you we've got this group let's make this solid versus wildcard McGee over there who's like doing god knows what so like I get Mike's perspective um and I think that that's just always so interesting.
interesting. It's so tough because I don't want to lose Emily and I don't want to lose
Angelina. I don't want to lose Mike. So, you know, it's just, it's a way that the cards fall.
And I think having the opportunity to take a step back, look at it holistically, I think we can
appreciate it. Plus, we've got some offseason joy or after season joy. So I like that as
well. Yeah, I think two things can be true that, you know, Mike feels incredibly hurt in this moment.
And that this is also kind of what comes with the territory with returning player seasons,
especially if you are playing alongside somebody that you have built a friendship with
is sometimes the real life bonds that you make
and the real life aspects of the game
like two battering rams absolutely collide with one another
it's something we saw all the way back with Boston Robin Lex
in what I was thinking of Taylor's all this time exactly and so
it's unfortunate that Mike had to experience this and like it sucks that it does
feel like a year's long friendship is now
suddenly over, over one thing that happened in the game.
At the same time, this is what happens in these types of things.
These are the stakes that are involved.
And that's partially kind of what makes the game so invigorating is having your heart
torn between, well, Mike is a friend of mine, but it feels best for my game to take him out.
How do I personally reconcile that?
And how does Mike subsequently all these months later still try to reconcile that?
A perspective I was trying to think of is like, do you think that Christian was worried about sending Emily home because of what that might make Rick think if, you know, when they were to come back at like a swap or a merge?
Like, do you think that he was worried about that kind of relationship and like damaging two relationships with one move?
That's a good point.
Yeah, because, you know, when he left the tribe, the visual was, okay, there's a locked in four of Christian Emily.
I mean, sorry, Christian, Emily, Rick, and
Surrey. And now if you come to the bat and says,
Emily voted out the last tribal council,
Surrey and Rick are looking right at Christian. And they're also
not looking right at Christian. They're also looking at Christian,
Mike, and Angelina. And what message does that said?
Oh, he picked his previous tribe mates over the ones
he actually started the game with. Maybe that means I can't work with them
anymore. Yeah. Yeah. Well, and another thing, too,
like not to talk about too much out of the
the actual season, but like, Emily and Christian do play games together frequently.
So, you know, they're interacting and maybe a more regular basis, even though Mike White
and Christian have had a longer friendship and a longer relationship, it just, the nature of it
might look different.
So there's the, all of the relationships to consider plus all the optics, as you guys are mentioning.
It's just, it's a lot that factors into a decision.
Yeah.
I mean, the Aussie perspective is also something I'm really intrigued by.
I don't know why Christian felt like he couldn't.
Tell him, I guess maybe it's okay if Ozzy is told that he tips off Mike
and Mike plays his shot in the dark.
Because otherwise, I mean, listen, again, if you talk about emotional expense to the
credit of great TV, pissed off Ozzy, maybe a hot take is my favorite form of Ozzy.
I love whenever he is in sense.
It has unfortunately happened many times in Survivor history.
Look at the final tribal council in Micronesia.
Look at the final tribal council.
It's South Pacific.
Look at even when Elise is voted out in South Pacific,
and he openly declares to his tribe,
what you call now a free agent.
This man wears his heart on his lack of sleeves.
And I think that is going to continue.
As much as Ozzy feels like he is playing this brand new game
and being this brand new person,
what's fun about it is that it's a little like what happened with coach
at the fight for supplies where it's like,
no, there's this facet of Ozzie.
that he's never going to be able to tamp down.
Like, Oscar can come to the fray.
But this is 100% Ozzy.
And I cannot wait to see how he's going to react
to all this at the beginning of next episode.
I don't want to put words in your guys' mouth.
But I feel like for a lot of Survivor fans,
we saw Ozzy and we were like,
after game changes, we're like,
do we need another Ozzy run?
But the way he has completely changed my mind
from, you know, bringing out the Oscar persona
persona and the premiere to like,
now it feels like without Surrey.
as like a foil to him,
he's kind of falling back into his old ways
where it's like, keep the tribe strong.
And, you know, I just feel like he's such a main character this season.
And in a way that I was not expecting,
but I'm absolutely living for it.
Yeah.
It's certainly so interesting to watch.
And I think having such a long gap
between having seen him last as well,
I think certainly adds much more intrigued to the situation
as you see what's the same, what's different,
and how he's interacting in this new.
environment.
Yeah.
I mean,
again,
he also was
possessing a
little bit of
craftiness at
the beginning of
this episode.
The reason
why he wanted
to target
Angelina was
specifically to
get close to
Mike.
I think that
it does make sense
especially given
the fact
that Ozzie
and Mike
do have some sort
of a connection
there that he
would attempt
to do this.
I mean,
this also from his
perspective again
would be a
little bit like
having his cake
and eating it
too of like
he's not
really connected
with Angelina.
Yes,
they're not
actively trying to
win challenges,
but she may be
one of the
we get performers.
And also, it allows not only this David versus Goliath trio to be broken up to allow,
make sure that, like, Christian doesn't slip over the other side instead of him and
Emily, but allows him to get closer to Mike in the process.
Again, this all makes sense from Ozzy's perspective, which I think is what makes him so
angry.
It's like, no, I was doing everything so right.
And then this guy comes in and blows everything up.
And to think they could have just what it.
that Angelina. Like, that group of four still could have done that. Yeah. Yeah.
One plus one equals more of the greatest stories. Hulu on Disney Plus.
Stories about survivors.
The most dangerous planet. Family. Retribution. Murder.
Prophecy. Beer and propane.
Ballybillard.
Blake Panthai.
The ultimate soldier.
Chicago. All right.
The best of the best stories now with even more from Hulu.
Have it all with 3-1 Disney Plus.
I do, before we move on here,
want to talk about one of the segments that started off the episode.
Can we talk about Survivor 50s got talent here?
Because listen, I'd be remiss not to bring up the opportunity,
we are talking with somebody who not only has adjudicated a bunch of drag race talent shows,
but has hosted his own talent shows as well.
So, Derek, I need to get your thoughts.
Did you agree with the winner of this week's challenge?
Did you think that Rizzo should have won, given the competition around him?
So if we're talking about just raw talent, it was a great impression of Bicky Mouse.
But if we're talking about creativity, originality, you know, we've seen it.
And we've seen it done better.
But I think, you know, the reenacted, you know, like fight between Charlie and Jonathan, you know, that took creativity.
They had to like plot it out.
They had to choreograph it.
They had to make sure that they weren't actually hurting each other.
And by hurting each other, I mean Jonathan beating the crab out of Charlie.
So I would personally give the win for this challenge to Charlie and Jonathan.
I think we can all agree.
Devons came last.
Like juggling, it is, requires coordination.
It is absolutely a skill.
At least what they showed on television did not look like particularly impressed.
Do you think he got multiple chances or do you think like that was it?
That he chuggled for all of like three one seconds.
Dee ran that panel like the Navy.
She's like, you're gone.
You're out.
Next.
Next.
I loved Camilla.
Poor sweet Camilla having like zero confessionals except for the one about me.
They are like,
so we don't want to talk to you about the most random scene in the episode.
That doesn't really mean anything to the narrative.
That's what we want to talk to you about.
It was such a good confessional though.
Because it was like,
Yeah, I haven't heard Mickey Mouse since I was three,
but that was pretty good, except for Devons.
Devons was horrible.
Basically, the energy of the confessional is a blast.
I will say that I do think the win was a little bit unearned for Rizzo
because I would even question the character authenticity of Mickey Mouse
because I believe, and I've watched this multiple times,
I believe when Rizzo launches into the high panes,
hitched vernacular, he says, quote,
it's a me,
Mickey Mouse.
Sir.
Okay, we'll see.
Maybe there's the creativity because,
you know,
mixing two characters together,
you know,
I'm trying here.
I'm sorry, Rizzo.
It's not Mariochi Mouse.
It's Mickey Mouse, okay?
You know, he's wearing all red.
Maybe he was going to do Mario and then he got confused.
They're not eating.
That's interesting.
Could it be, as you mentioned,
Liana. Maybe he came in
wanting to do a Mario impression
and then he starts and immediately
bails and he immediately like it's
me Mickey Mouse!
Yes, you remember me?
Also, it also could have been
that, I don't know, maybe they
feel like Mickey it's skewing to the
later days demographic that exists
on this beach, which is by far the younger person.
So if he's making reference to modern
day Mario, they might be like, I don't understand
what that is. Give me something like
Mickey Mouse, the guy that's been around for a hundred
years. Everybody knows Bicky Mouse.
Yeah, that's right. You kids and your Nintendo's.
Also, I was dying because Charlie
absolutely graduated from Jeff Proops's College of Similes and
metaphors. Because when he said,
you know, Rizzo might have won this talent show,
but I'll never let him win the game after he didn't, you know,
vote for Sophie to win. I was like, you better, Charlie.
You better like pull this narrative together for yourself.
Oh, my God. I agree, though. I would have
given the win to Jonathan and Charlie.
Talent is a very loose term,
much like a lot of survivor themes that existed in the late 30s,
right?
Of like,
is it a talent to fake fight one another?
I guess this falls in like the realm of studs.
I do agree with you.
Derek,
I don't know if I was scripting this fight that I would have Jonathan win
because there is the image of this massive man,
like sitting over Charlie punching him in the face that like,
If one person turns one millimeter one way, someone could get medevaced and or someone could get removed from the game for physical violence.
Also, I want to see more of Surrey and Rizzo because I feel like it could be like taking her back to Big Brother like with Corey, where Corey is just like, tell me about this.
Tell me about Micronesia.
I feel like Rizzo would be giving the same energy and she would be so over it.
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah, that would be very funny.
I'm sure I'm sure he's doing that.
Like that is definitely Rizzo vibes for sure.
You know what's fun is that
Surrey, I believe she announces the winner
and she goes, the winner is Riz God.
I think there's a very legitimate chance
that she has only called him Riz God
since the two of them have shared the beach.
I mean, I think there's also a little bit
of like nefarious purposes there
of like, I want everyone to remember
that you call yourself the man, the myth,
the legend, R-I-Z-G-O-D-R-R-D-R-S-G-G-D-R-G-God.
You're not some sort of like cute kid
that does Mickey Mouse Club,
Hubhouse voices.
No, no, no, sir.
You pack a punch.
You're the Riz God.
Or it could be that Surregeus
does not want to do the courtesy
of remembering his name.
I only know you as the Riz God
when I came into this game.
You're going to be the Riz God for me.
That's so fair.
That's your name now.
All right.
Well, we shall turn to a different name here,
a notable one in the form of Mike White.
Mike White, quite the wild card
coming into this season.
I'm not talking about his athletic regiment.
because I think as the biggest name,
but someone who has not necessarily been a part of the community for years,
there were a lot of question marks as to both how he would play
and specifically how he would be perceived.
So, Leanna, how did you think Mike was going to do based on all that?
Okay, I did have Mike making the jury.
Okay.
I said that Mike, coming in hot off the success of White Lotus,
the other cast members can't help but suck up a bit to Mike,
maybe hoping for a cameo,
And then I put one of these emojis where it's going, hmm.
And then I wrote, this puts Mike in a good position on Kalo, although he struggles to make any strong strategic connections.
Come merge, Mike is missing his David versus Goliath, bestie and Angelina and must rekindle his relationship with Christian.
The two work together to orchestrate a cross tribal alliance for the first few merge boots.
But soon, the paranoia of David versus Goliath comes flooding back and Christian needs to get Mike before he.
he can get him.
Mike's closest ally was coach,
who hopes he put in enough work
for a White Lotus cameo,
and his enemy was Christian.
By the way,
I believe that Mike has gone on record
saying that a couple of survivors
will show up in season four,
but I don't believe even they know that yet.
It'll be a surprise for everyone.
Yeah, Mike will be like,
take a trip to France.
No particular reason.
Reason why?
Well, Leanna,
I guess you and I are reading a similar script
because we are quite on the same page here.
I also had Mike
making the jury.
I said,
Mike will be immediately
bombarded with questions
on his tribe about the White Lotus.
Despite him playing ball
and answering their queries,
some will be rankled by the idea
of having to live at the Mike White
meet and greet.
What if I'd make a drag race reference
with Derek was here, actually.
Making him an easy early call out
target until a winning streak
keeps him from tumbling off
the metaphoric boat.
Due to his extended tenure of safety,
Mike will serve as the main narrator
of the premurge.
He'll invoke so many pop culture references
and his confessionals
that Aubrey will surreptitiously get a bad vibe from him,
not particularly sure why.
At the swap, Mike and Angelina will finally get the chance to reconnect.
Unfortunately, they are seen as such a power couple
that much like Ethan and Harper in Italy,
they need to create trouble in paradise.
Hope it was worth paying the licensee fees
to get that one clip of Angelina's cameo on White Lotus, CBS.
At the merge, Mike White makes his old school dreams come true
by bringing together all of the older contestants,
a quote,
conology, not age,
Mike to get together
and rule the game, but
Christian is seeking his overall
preseason purpose of looking
to steal Mike White's pen
and power, picks up the pen,
writes down his name, and
enacts his deep-seated revenge.
Mike will also go out
in the episode in which Mr. Beast
appears on Survivor 50,
and due to his residual anger,
will write an influencer-type character,
on the White Lotus season four who died in the first five minutes.
Wait, I still want that, though.
It'll happen.
It'll happen.
His closest ally was Angelina and his enemy was in the end, Christian.
You guys are pretty close.
I like that you were close with the Aubrey thing,
just with the wrong person that she, you know, had the relationship with.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah, that's funny.
For no reason other than Aubrey being like,
I get the feeling someone else was making pop culture references and their confessions.
Which we got this week when she mentioned Ricola.
Aubrey is like the wildest person to be on the season.
I'm perplexed at Aubrey's gameplay right now.
Yeah, it shouldn't seem very like joyful to be out there, poor thing.
She's trying to get away from the old folks home.
She's like, I want a moment for myself and they're like, oh, Aubrey,
Hey, Eva, come back to Cam.
Yeah, that's, I mean, I am living for the rivalry between her and Genevieve.
It is so fun.
much fun that also because of the fact
that they haven't been to tribal council
it just keeps getting
worse and worse. The point where
like if they don't go
this episode
whenever we hit a merge I think it's
got to be one or the other is the first booted
because I think they are immediately just going to gun
for each other at the first opportunity
there's just been no opportunity
though I guess if the information is communicated
to them that hey Aubrey has an
idol maybe that would give them a little
bit of pause but I just think
it is so much fun that
there is like such open
hostility between the two of them stemming
back from Aubrey looking Genevieve in the eye on day
too and being like, yeah, I think you're
too scary to work with.
To when Genevieve is very
very consciously being like,
hey Aubrey, what's you doing?
We thought you got lost on the way back to
camp. Mind if I join you, go idle hunting.
There's just so many like little
petty shots at one another
both things, professionals and in person
that I've been having a great time.
And sort of like Charlie and Rizzo, this was one of the more unexpected rivalries to emerge from the season.
Yeah, they're having a diva off.
And whoever loses and whoever wins, the audience will win.
So I would love like a merge boot.
That's like very like Jeremy Collins versus Josh Wigler.
That'd be iconic.
Like who's on team Genevieve?
Who's on team Aubrey?
Yeah.
Derek, do you have any thoughts about the Billy Elish boomerang idol now that we've seen all three incarnations of it?
You know, I like the idea.
I think it's a really fun idea.
I just feel bad that
Genevieve has found two idols now
but has zero in her possession.
And I feel, I mean, I don't know what I would do.
Obviously, we can all judge from home
knowing the like the full rules of it and stuff.
But like if I were on the island,
I don't know what I would do.
But I feel like Genevieve is not playing this that correctly.
Like who's she sending it to?
Yeah.
Yeah.
I mean, so obviously she gives to finds one in this episode
gives it to Rizzo.
Yes.
Which I don't do.
What was her logic?
again behind giving it to Rizzo?
It was that he would feel
so honored and so ecstatic
by it that he would not
realize that she gave it to him for the express
reason of taking him out later on to get the idol back.
Which does make sense. As you mentioned,
Derek, I think now the second, like one for
you, one for me. Ozzie, great.
Let's build a bridge. You can have this
idol, but I want this one to come back
to me. Now, I'm not laying this opportunity
slip through my head. So let me give it to somebody
who would actually not play an idol and not
see my betrayal coming. I'll give it
to Rizzo. Which is actually wild
because Rizzo, the king of not playing idols.
If anybody's going to keep it until he gets
voted out, like it would be Rizzo.
That's wild, right? That she has
no idea. Rizzo saying like,
well, this is weird. This is deja vu
all over again. But it's
also interesting because like,
I feel like given the dynamics
of that swap tribe, like Rizzo
is actually not in a very
good spot from an external perspective.
So I feel like you would give it to him
if you want the idol to be used.
you want him to be saved.
There is, if you don't know his body of work,
besides the Mickey Mouse voice,
there's a non-zero chance that this guy immediately plays the idol,
and then it's gone for both of you, essentially.
Me, like, playing from my couch,
I'm like, I would give it to Stephanie
because she has such a good relationship with Stephanie
that they could share it.
But also, Stephanie's not in a great spot on her tribe.
Q just got sent home,
so you could then send it to her and save your ally,
who you obviously want to meet up back with at a swat.
or emerge.
It's like a win-win.
It's so,
the Billy Alice booing out.
Like,
the mechanic is so tough
to make an informed
logical decision
because there are just
so many different variables
at play.
Because of course,
you're thinking about
what you mentioned,
Derek,
which is like,
okay,
maybe actually I want to use
it to save an ally
and I shouldn't be
so concerned about it
coming back to me.
Maybe I want to give it to somebody,
if I'm going to give it to somebody
and I want it to bounce back to me,
I have to make sure
that they would be stupid enough
to not pick up on the fact
that they should play,
yet, you don't know what I mean? And then, or it's like, do you send it to somebody? Do you use it as social
capital more than the actual idol itself to be able to save someone? And I don't know. Does Genevieve know
that the people who receive it can't play it on other people? Yes, it was in the rules. Okay. Okay.
All right, good. So at least she knows that. So, I mean, because if you did it, then otherwise,
you're just, you're thinking like, oh, Stephanie don't play it for me. And then like, actually she can,
she can only play it for herself. It's just, it's a really, once I started thinking about it,
It's such a complicated, convoluted mechanic
that does make it a little bit difficult to act.
I guess dynamically is the right way to describe it
because you can't really be, you know, so logical.
Well, it is a dynamic advantage.
So there.
I know I voted for it.
That's what we voted for it.
I loved it.
Dynamic A.F.
I believe that's with the exact text.
I think also, though, you mentioned that technically speaking
if she gives the idol the step,
the Stephanie couldn't use it on her.
Doesn't necessarily stop Genevieve from holding on to it.
it and claiming that she has an idol
and therefore you can't vote for me.
Obviously that spends the risk of
ironically enough you getting voted out with a
Billy Ellis-Boobering idol in your pocket.
But it could be a way
to make a bluff happen. Though again,
the only idols we've seen so far
this season have been in the B-E-B-I's
and so
maybe people would just make that assumption.
But now that maybe they're all expended, now we'll go back
to like regular degular
idols. I have a
logistical question. If
let's say she, okay, she gives it to Rizzo.
Let's say Rizzo gives the idol to Sari.
And then Rizzo gets voted out.
Does it still go back to Genevieve?
Oh, that's wild.
Imagine like, Surrey wakes up, like, where'd the idol go?
Yeah.
Oh, yeah.
What if she gives it, what if she, what if, okay, she gives it to Rizzo.
Rizzo gives it to Sari.
Suri gets voted out.
Does it boomerang to Jenev?
No.
The boomerang back to the boomerang?
Yeah, no.
I think it's just out of the game.
It could be fun of it if it came back to Rizzo.
But I think specifically if the idol has to be voted out with the person it was gifted to.
Like it essentially is a non-transferable idol and that it can't be played on someone else.
It can certainly be used as like a prop.
I think that's, yeah, I think that sort of is the gray area.
But if someone's like, if Saree said, I want to use this idol on myself, they would say, no, you're not allowed to because Rizzo gave it to you.
But yeah, otherwise in the circumstance where Sariq,
gets voted out with it. God, that would be
the best and worst of all possible world,
right? That it just gets completely
neutralized, completely
defanged, and then they just sort of
throw their hands in the air and say, okay, I'll just put regular
idols in, okay? Fine. You got smarted out.
You asked for these dynamic advantages, but what
you did. You've done, fans.
That's so true.
Oki-dokey.
So,
we have prepared our
game slash activity for
today. Obviously, Derek, knowing you are going to be here. So we have prepared our buff or snuff for
Survivor 50. So we are talking about different looks that the castaways have brought. Now, obviously,
I would be remiss. We're not going to specifically talk about Camilla's look, but I could not get over,
as you had mentioned earlier, Christian, with his dynamic gesturing behind Ozzy. And I just love this
screenshot so much and I like the idea that
he's judging Camilla's little gnome.
But one thing I've also been
loving about Christian besides just
you know the pure essence of who he is is that
he's slowly turning into like a
crow magnon. Like look at
the hair, look at the beard and this picture
look at like the furrowed brow.
I feel like I saw this bust in my
anthropology class. The jutting
forward of the mouth
mandible region. Yep.
The right really changes you.
It really does. All right.
Well, speaking of the man of the hour,
let's talk about Christian
and his whole ensemble.
So obviously we got to talk about the binary shirt,
but I think you pair it also with his classic professor.
It's only missing the tweed patches on the elbows.
But Mike,
what do you think of Christians looks this season?
So what's interesting is that I,
when I went to go visit these camps
back when I was on set for Survivor 50,
I actually got to witness Christian giving an entire ass
TED from Survivor Tile
talk about the meaning of these shirts
that they are the binary symbols
for one, two, and three.
Yeah, and he talked to, and Ozzy's like,
I always wondered what that meant. And then Christian
proceeded to go off into an entire Shalingua
where he described what binary
was and how it worked.
I was obsessed
with Ceri's face where she was just smiling
and nodding, but had absolutely no
idea what was going on nor necessarily care to.
So that holds a special place in my
heart. I think it's very fun to,
obviously, robots play a huge
part in this man's life
who's behaving as an animatronic
in and of himself. And so
to be able to have that illustrated in so many
ways is great. But yeah, I love
the formal look too. I mean,
I would say formal look, but I believe this is
also the look he wore when he shit his pants
as well. So it really is a jacket for all occasions.
So I have no choice
but to buff it here.
Derek, what do you think?
You know, I don't know if he planned it or not, but
the buff just goes so
well with the shirt.
Like it ties the whole
ensemble together.
And then obviously the jacket like fits him
so well. I think Christian
gets island hot. I think he does.
Yeah. Yeah. Watching because when I was looking, I looked through
the past four episodes for looks and
looking at him comparing episode one to episode four, it's like the
beard comes in. Maybe it's yeah, the more rugged
look, certainly more attractive.
So yeah, I'm definitely going to buff this as well. I love it
so much. I was the little kid who also had like a nerdy binary shirt. It was like 10 types of people
are going to get this joke or whatever. It's like 10 types of people who understand this joke,
those who do and those who don't or something like that. Oh, that's funny. Yeah, because it's zero.
It's two. So anyway, whatever. I totally get it. I vibe with it. I think he looks great. I love this
still of him at tribal council. So yeah, I'm buffing it. It's a great look. I can see why he was on
White Lotus. Oh yeah. This is island chic. Yes, absolutely. Yeah. Yeah. Okay.
Okay, our next look, we're sticking with the same starting tribe.
We have to talk about Rick Devon.
So we're going, continuing in sort of this business casual pipeline, which I do see a lot of
people.
Like, there's always one person who's wearing like a suit jacket.
But I feel like Rick Devons has really leaned into this with his, you know, the sweater
with the button up shirt and the tie.
And now there was a look at tribal council where he's, he's loosening up a little bit, man.
Like, I feel like he's one step away from tying it around his head, um, tying the
high around his head.
He's here for a good time.
He's a party animal.
Yeah.
He's my survivor.
Hear me out.
I really,
you know,
I mean,
look at him at this.
He's getting the cake.
Exactly.
No,
we should do that.
I'll bring a cake next time.
We can put in a little,
I'll put in like chicken or something.
No,
he looks like he's in like a Jurassic Park movie.
We're like halfway through.
They just start like losing some layers and like,
you know,
they're dirty and it's like,
oh, wow,
like he's giving action movie star.
So I'm giving him a buff.
Mm-hmm.
Yeah.
And I feel like the dynamic that it presents,
it kind of reminds me of like those early episodes of Brooklyn Nine-Nine
when Andy Sandberg's character was forced to wear a tie.
And so he like would do anything but essentially follow the rules.
Like Rick's like, all right, I have to wear a tie to this thing.
Great.
But it's going to be nowhere near the nape of my neck whatsoever.
Try to show like, listen, I may dress up for the occasion,
but let it be known.
I'm a cool player.
I can definitely loosen up a little bit.
Look at this tie.
This knot is barely together, but my voting patterns are.
So this really implies what Rick is trying to get across in this game,
perhaps akin to his preseason perception.
It is trying, I think, a little too hard.
But it also kind of reminds me of like a look you would see on an Ashley Simpson album cover
in the year since it doesn't mind, you know, of like the loose tie with the button down shirt.
I kind of got to go for the throwback aesthetic here
and give it a buff as well.
That's an insane statement, Mike.
That was insane.
You're crazy for that.
Yeah, it's Rick Devons, nothing but a T-shirt on.
I'm a fan of the business casual look.
I think also because if they're not going to give them their swimsuits
and we're going to go for this like they were actually shipwrecked look.
Like there's nothing more drastic in the change of going from someone wearing a
sweater or a sweater vest to like being covered in dirt with your tie like half loose.
So I'm gonna I'm gonna buff this one as well.
I do I do think we should see better knots for the tie.
I want to see like a different,
give me a half windsor.
Should that be the signal actually?
Oh,
Hey Christian, if we're voting Emily tonight,
it'll be,
you know,
the square knot.
If we're voting for Ozzy,
it'll be the full Windsor.
But like you don't want to like show everyone that you're really great at knots because
like sometimes have to untie them and challenges.
So you don't want to like come off like a threat.
Oh, that's fun.
And that's going to be a great way to broker a relationship of like, Joe, can you time by tie for me?
Oh, you can see how good people are, though, at tying knots.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay.
Do you get hide an idol in that tie?
Oh, yeah.
Oh, a tiny one.
Yeah, in the kind of in the, and you know how like they've got the little like pockety thing?
Sometimes like in the back.
So yeah, I think there's an opportunity for that.
Tie it up in there.
Oh, or even in the collar of his shirt like up in the back.
I mean, that's not having a.
Kelly, Kelly Kim hit an idol infamously in her hair bun.
So I've got to try to like, yeah, it's my mic pack.
That's the big ass bulge on the back of my neck.
Don't worry about it.
Rupert walks by.
That ties look a little bit heavier than usual.
Got a rock in there.
Okay.
So I want to talk about this I noticed at the Zach Brown concert
where Tiffany was tapping her knockoff crux.
Unclear if these are real or not.
But she is, I went back and I did look at her cast,
She's wearing them there as well.
So this is supposed to be the featured item, I guess, in these photos is supposed to be her crocs.
Again, unclear if real or not, adorned with what are those things called the things that you put in?
Oh, gibbets.
Ghibits.
Anyway.
So the giblets, you put those in there and then it gives her like a little bit more flair.
I just think these are super good.
They're also very practical, pretty much the opposite of the Rick Devon's business casual look.
I kind of think so to a certain extent.
And listen, I'm not a crock guy personally.
So maybe I'm talking out of my behind, as I usually do.
But does it not feel like you're going to be wearing two grade A sponges on your feet?
Considering how much moisture exists out there on the island,
I feel like the first time it rains, these things are basically ruined.
And maybe it's like in for a penny, in for a pound.
I also feel like with especially all the holes involved,
and maybe she's trying to get the gibbets here to plug up as many as possible.
Like how much detritus is getting in there?
Obviously, the goal of wearing shoes is to not have your foot step on anything sharp or dangerous.
And so there's a chance that stuff can sneak in there.
And it's weird because I obviously cover Australian Survivor and they are crocked out the wazoo.
In fact, there was even a guy named crock on a few years ago.
That's how obsessed they are with the footwear.
So I don't know though.
And I'm sure people can tell me I'm wrong, especially former players,
but I just feel like from a practicality perspective,
I have to push back against this, Leon.
I have to snuff this.
It's a snuff.
Who was it that tried to vote someone out
because of their shoes, their water shoes?
Oh, no, it was
so it was the final travel council
of Survivor Fiji.
Oh, hey, yeah, yeah.
To Cassandra and said, show me your water shoes
as if to, like, demonstrate that, like,
Cassandra's never worked a day in her life
because her water shoes don't look that worn in.
And Lisi says those are the worst effing water shoes
I've ever seen in my life.
It was, you know, just really on the ayahuasca trip
that was Lise Lina
is on the Survivor Fiji experience.
But I think that was the line of logic she was trying to use.
See, I never understood that argument
until I saw these shoes. And I would
bring it. If Tiffany were to make, Final Tribal,
I would say, can you please show us your crocs, ma'am?
Because what was the thought process here?
Clearly, you weren't prepared for Survivor
if you brought these. So should we vote
for her to win? I would pull, I would pull
Lisi, unfortunately.
Yeah, can we trust the judgment
of a woman who...
Yeah. That's so funny. I think I'll
be the lone defender here. I'm going to buff
these. As someone who has owned this,
like, I've had my crocs and maybe this is
embarrassing and I should never say this out loud. I've had
crox since high school. And I have had this
same pair since high school. They have
lasted incredibly well.
They're just flat. You can just wash them.
Like they just, and then they just dry. Like, they're
not sponges. They're like, they don't really
hold on to water per se.
Plus, you can put them
in sport mode. You love a good
sport mode. Do you think when Tiffany
had to go to challenges that she just changed the strap to put it on the back of her foot.
I certainly hope so.
I love that she could personalize it, bling it out.
I love that it matches some of her other sort of pinks and purpley outfits.
So for me, personally, it's a buff, but I hear the arguments that I can see where you guys are coming from.
Who thought Tiffany foreshadowed her edit with her choice of footwear?
Oh, my God, poor thing.
Zach Brown is one.
I know.
And she was on that reward.
She was there too.
For confessionals in four episodes.
What do you make of the logic that people are throwing out there
that the reason why Tiffany was not shown much in this episode
is because she was like the lone person not to cry at Zach Brown serenating them.
They had to shame her.
You didn't give us the good TV we wanted.
So say goodbye to your edit.
Maybe that's why I did.
She did look the least enthused, I would say, at the reward.
So maybe there is some.
You, okay.
So if you never were like forced to go to this, that would you play,
would you play ball or do you think you'd pull like a Tiffany? Do you think you'd be like,
okay, whatever? Oh, I would, and then some. Like, I would be getting up and harmonizing
with him. I'd be trying to like start a slow dance. I'd be like, come here, Chris. I'll sweep you off
your feet. Like, I'll like, because that's the other thing too. That's what I love about coach
is that him saying, this is one of the best rewards from survivor history from the man that we
saw uproariously laugh at getting an exclusive screening of Jack
and Jill. He knows the game.
He knows what he has to do.
He has to sell the product. And so it's like,
we all know what we're here to do. Yeah,
it's fun to be the Sophie at that reward and like not react whatsoever.
But I found there like I might as well be there
to just have a good time.
And I don't know, maybe a noise Zach Brown a little bit of like,
hey man, stop doing that. Stop.
Let me jam. Okay. You don't need to get in here.
Yeah, you know, you got to find the joy,
even though in those absurd moments.
think, yeah, as coach said, it's another day in paradise.
As Phil Collins said, as coach said, we're getting into a Wayne Brady, Mike Scott
situation, Michael Scott situation. But anyway, yeah.
Do you think there's a non-zero chance that coach went up to Zach Brown as like,
you mind if I noodle a little bit on that thing?
Now I'd like to play for you, one of my songs.
Anyway, here's Wonderwall.
Like, how long were they there for?
Like could it was it extended because we don't see them again for the rest of the episode if they stayed all day
They're still there. They're still there to this day. Yeah they never are still out there
Zach Brown's still there. This turned into the fire fest real quick. Let's go straight out of fish.
That's right. Okay. Let's move no let's move on to so okay I was look I didn't realize how many solid red
items of clothing Rizzo owned until I was paying more attention.
So the first time I noticed it was during the challenge in this episode,
which is where this first still comes from.
He is wearing his red shorts,
his red socks,
and his red tennis shoes.
And then in the,
I believe it was the talent show when he's doing his Mickey Mouse impression,
not only he has a longsleeve red shirt as well.
This man is going for monochromatic realness.
Do you guys remember?
I mean, maybe not endurance.
The like,
oh yeah,
I mean,
we'll see a contested from it very soon.
I think if I was scrolling
through Leon a slideshow.
I,
this is good.
Like,
they used to have to wear like this same color,
everything.
This is giving.
And like he looks a little bit
on the younger side.
So this could be like an endurance still to me.
That's the thing for me is that it,
it's giving so much for me
late 90s,
early 2000s cartoon character where it costs
too much money to hire the Korean
animators to draw different outputs on them
every episode.
So it's like,
all right,
Rizzo's the red guy.
He's just wearing solid red for 163 episodes of Rizzo Velovick's fun house.
And so he's rocketed.
I mean,
what's also very fun about this is that I know that their cast photos and like
their marooning outfits.
Colby told me actually had to be like loosely inspired by what they wore on their season
and what they're known for.
Everyone else has largely ditched that concept,
except for Rizzo,
who I'm pretty sure only brought red stuff to the.
island. Listen, the man only
had 10 days in between seasons. He was a little
addled. Maybe he just only
remembered the word red and just grabbed as
much as he could and threw it
into a burlap sack and went back out to
Fiji. But I'm just intrigued to see
how many more red items he has because, yeah,
talk about from head to toe
this man is a walking red flag.
Not the red flag.
I honestly, I'm going to give him a buff because
I love a person that can commit
to a bit. And Rizzo
is the king of committing to a bit. So
I have to appreciate the hospital.
The other funny thing that Rizzo said in this episode was it was when he was going to,
he found his boomerang idol in his bag,
but he was like,
I was going for a wardrobe change.
And to me,
there's just something so,
I was like,
why did you call it a wardrobe change?
His other red shirt he had to put on.
I know.
Yeah,
I don't know why he had to like,
so it's really hot in Fiji.
So your boy got to change his top.
It's like,
I don't know if we needed that entire prologue,
But I think it's also a difference between saying it's like, oh, I need to go change my clothes versus I'm doing a wardrobe change.
Like, yes, I understand you're on TV, but like we're trying to have a semblance of like you're a normal human being just out there.
It's giving the same as the McDonald's CEO being like this product is the, call it a burger boy.
This background concert is the best thing I have ever.
No, if he's going to do the whole wardrobe change, he's going to do the whole wardrobe change.
need to he needed to commit like jaco cane i needed that type of commitment i needed that type of like performance
and we just got a little a little bit of nothing so you know what actually rizzo should fully commit
to the part where no sunscreen be entirely red the face the hands the legs just be sunburnt yes
pain is beauty and that would be a beautiful look if you were walking around looking like the survivor 50
lobster monochromatic realness i love it from head to toe uh okay so the next um
outfit that we're going to talk about is more a specific pair of pants, which by the way, the upper
corner, I did pull teenies pants for reference, the scarecrow pants for reference. In my head,
these looked much more similar. And of course, I'm talking about Jonathan's patchwork pants
from this season. Now, these, I think maybe is it the, I think it's the elastic at the
ankles that's also like not sitting right with me. There's just something off about these pants that I
don't like. I don't love maybe this is a bit of a hot take. I don't want you to walk into
Survivor with baggy clothing. I want let me see the difference. Oh, you know, that's a great
point. I think that's why I like the business casual so much because it's the biggest juxtaposition
between someone in business. I'm like, yeah, this man already lived out. He was, in fact,
Jonathan had been living out here for weeks before the marooning. Like that's the energy that this is
giving me. That's exactly it for me. As Teeny's pants were scarecrow, this to me is giving like,
Paul Bunyan's mom
couldn't buy him pants
so she took a quilt and fashioned
something into it. That's what it looks like
more so with these very deliberately
placed squares around his legs.
It was like, okay, I turn this
you know how you sometimes like, you know,
turn quilt into a blanket
by sewing them all around and stuffing them. This is more so
I'm going to turn them into like wearable fashion
here. But like
so from again, a perspective
of I want the pants to be
looking like this on day 20
not on day negative 26
I'm going to have to stop it
I am going to pull a reference
Tori from Survivor 42
did these pants better
Oh
I do remember
I think we did buffer stuff for 42 that I didn't
remember she wore like
sort of the MC Hammer
esque like
They were like ticker like blue
Yeah
Yes
Yeah she outsold
But like I understand
Like they want Jonathan to look like he
Has been in the woods for years
So, like, his clothes are just, like, falling off of him.
Like, you know, he's like Tarzan.
So I understand the branding.
But I am going to give it a snuff.
I just feel like it's not practical.
I'd be, like, wanting to, like, pull him up all the time.
They look so, like, baggy.
I think also when I combine it with the shirt,
I didn't realize how awful this neckline is.
So, yeah, this is an absolute snuff for me.
This is something you wear, like, at a slumber party.
What slumber party are you going to?
Yeah, it's like, oh, well,
Well, it's past 2 a.m.
Let me slip it to my overly large,
extra large shirt that my dad gave me from, you know,
the 96 NBA finals and sleep in that.
I also have a question.
How do you feel about non-buff bandanas on Survivor?
Like what Jonathan is wearing here.
Where does he usually wear his buff?
No, I'm talking about like, like he's wearing right now.
He's not wearing a buck.
Where did he get this?
Yeah, he's allowed to have this?
We've seen, like, I remember Savannah in 49.
Remember we should have the prison Mike look where she wore a bandana on her head.
So I think we have seen people wear bandanas that are not buffs.
But it kind of feels a little bit like cheating on your spouse, survival.
I don't like it.
I don't like it.
Like you have in-house bandanas that you are giving people to wear.
Why are you allowing them to bring in stuff from home?
I almost, I do, I do have an RHAP buff.
I almost wore, but I'm kind of glad I didn't now because I don't, like,
I would have to like slowly slide it off.
Well, I don't have like,
I, no, I don't have a problem with the bandana inherently,
but I do agree with you, Mike, that like, I'm looking for,
like, I actually didn't even notice.
Like, I am like, well, look, now looking for the logo.
I'm like, where is the logo?
Where, but where in this, like, where is his actual buff?
Is he wearing his buff?
It's around his left wrist, I think.
Oh, like over here somewhere.
Okay.
All right.
Maybe.
Hmm, confusing.
What try, how will we know what tribe is on?
The one that's winning.
Yeah.
him dragging Camilla through the water.
So good.
We were waiting for that to happen, right?
Especially when it was the two of them on a tribe together to start.
I was like, okay, I cannot wait for this pairing to exist at some point.
And listen, and leave it to Camilla as well.
Like, she doesn't give an F.
Like, she will absolutely be like, I don't care about my pride.
Drag me through the water, King.
Exactly.
Carrying me.
Speaking of Camilla, I put this on my social media,
but I am low-key becoming obsessed with Camilla the caller because she is like,
she has some very weird tics.
Have you all noticed this?
No.
No.
Okay, so last episode,
when, you know,
she's trying to figure out the pieces.
She's,
she like,
it's almost like her teeth are chattering,
which is so weird.
There's a certain sideby,
she was like,
put,
put,
put it here.
Put it here.
Where, like,
her brain is skipping a little bit,
like an MP3 player from 2002.
And so she just all of a sudden
start stuttering for whatever reason.
But this time,
I caught it.
It was even funnier where she,
gets the word, right? For some reason,
they put a caller in this challenge, despite them never
not doing it before, of like, okay, you have to guess
what the word is. And Camilla
figures it out, and she goes, come,
come, come, come, come, come, come, come, come, come. But it comes
out like this. Come,
come.
I'm like, what?
Isn't this me starting my car in the winter?
Like, what is the sound coming out of her mouth
right now? That's funny. I'll have to look out
for that if she's ever a caller again in a challenge.
Yeah, that and the Colby, yes.
Yeah. The backgrounds. Do you hear we got a little
of it from Zach Brown.
He's just leaning in.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Okay.
All right.
So now we had a fashion show in episode one.
It was tough to get some of the episodes of the looks because they were moving.
But there was, I noticed, a reoccurrence of the Q skirt showing up not only in Q's look,
but also in Angelina's look from this fashion show.
So I thought that that was very interesting that we.
got to see the Q skirt brought back because I hadn't really seen it outside of this.
I will always give the Q skirt a buff because Q is single-handedly out there ending toxic
masculinity saying, yeah, I will wear a skirt. And guess what? I'm still a badass. So it is a total
buff for me. Yeah, I would agree with that. I think the only thing I'm concerned about is it feels
like Angelina's is less practical than Q's, right? The entire point on the Q's skirt, I've watched that
infomercial so many times is that you don't need a fanny pack you don't need drawers according to
Q you just need the Q skirt where you can put all your stuff from what I'm seeing with
Angelina and maybe this is a little bit lurid I'm just seeing like a gaping open hole and so
it feels like if I'm putting stuff in there and I'm walking down this runway everything all my
unmentionables are just falling out well if you wanted to make it a performance you could put
like glitter or confetti in there and then when you walk it just like kind of
kind of like, what a reveal.
I love that.
Yeah, well, that's so interesting because I was actually going to comment how I liked Angelina.
She gave us the high-waisted version, which I think is a nice variation on the Q skirt.
But I do see the lack of practicality.
I think this is where the difference between if you're looking at what is high fashion, what is runway,
versus what is your everyday sort of practical attire.
And we have both of those demonstrated here.
What do you make of the Q jacket no shirt look?
I mean, always a fan.
I love this color purple, too.
It's so bright and vibrant.
I mean, Q looks iconic here.
He would be my top buff of the week here.
Wow.
Mm-hmm.
Top buff of the week.
I love it.
Okay.
Our final look that we're going to talk about,
which first I want to do a callback to buffer stuff from Survivor 47.
Now, I just want to remind everybody where we were in time during Survivor
47. Genevieve, Queen Mother Genevieve, had not had any screen time up until when we had done
Buffer snuff. So it was hilarious that all of her outfits resembled Wears Waldo because we were
trying to find Where's Genevieve with a red and white striped shirt. And she doing a perfect
callback this season to the Where's Waldo look. So the looks on her left are the two white and
red striped shirts that we saw from her in her original season.
now we have the elevated version, the more dynamic version of the shirt.
Look, I can't say that I particularly like it.
I think I would on its own give it a snuff,
but I like it in the context of where she has been
and the history of the where's Waldo shirt.
No, I'm obsessed with this.
I did not even notice this.
This is my top buff of the week.
Oh my God, this did completely buy a surprise.
Like not only the fact that this is a callback,
but doing so many variations of it,
where it seems like they just contacted the person
that made Jonathan's quilted pants
and said like, hey, I got a bunch of scraps of
white and like somewhat red striped fabric
and you turn it into something.
It is so asymmetric.
I love all the different colors.
I'm not even sure if the right side
is considered red whatsoever,
but it's like you said,
Leonit, it is like a perfect elevated take
on a tried and true classic
of the red and white striped shirt.
I think this is the platonic
ideal of like if you're going to do a call back to your original season what it should be of like hey
people know me for this and so I'm going to take it one step further and so I am just so
happy that you brought this to my eyes because unlike Waldo himself now I can't not see it from
here on.
Listen mother V will never not the slave because to me this is giving that she had these two looks
from her first season and looked like on Project runway where they have to like
take something already made and make it into something else.
She took these two shirts and morphed them into this like amalgamation of all of her former
selves from season 47.
So it's like she's moving forward with a new version of herself,
but she's still the same mother Vib that we like since day one or day four when she finally
got a confessional.
That said if someone did wear this out in public, I would have so many questions.
I judge them.
Yeah.
Oh, yeah, yeah.
That's what I'm saying is that like I hate this shirt.
Like in isolation.
Actually, there is a fantastical ulterior motive for this shirt.
If you really want to make people feel like they're going crazy,
they're like, Aubrey, no, my shirt is red and white.
What do you mean?
Yeah, because it's like, it's pink.
Do you want to sit down, Aubrey?
Are you like, don't hunt for idols?
I think you need to get your eyes checked out right now.
There's something going on.
Do you have an astigmatism?
You sure you're not colorblind?
Leanna, what's your top
buff?
Oh, my top buff.
Let me see.
I need to look through everything.
Oh, that's so difficult.
I think I would probably give my top buff
to Rick Devons.
I think ultimately, like, I just,
I really do love the contrast
in sort of the professional
that shows up and then they go through this
journey. It's such a good, like,
vibe. But in and of itself, like, the look is fine.
I think it's maybe more what it represents.
I'm just happy you didn't pick the crocs.
So, yeah. I couldn't.
I couldn't. That's a practical.
For me, that's a practical decision.
But anyway, so yes.
So that's what, um,
that's buff or snuff for this season so far,
but we'll keep an eye out for any more creative looks.
Yeah, exactly. I mean, I'm, I, I would
not be surprised if for Survivor 50 in particular,
it's like any all-star season, right? They're coming in.
They spend, but have a much of a higher bunch
for looks. And so we're going to be expecting much more high quality garments out of all of them.
But let us turn to our high quality guest for the final segment of each and every week here on
the B&B where we give our guests the opportunity to highlight a charity or cause that is
important to them. So Derek, the spotlight is on you to spotlight something for the listeners.
What would you like to plug? I would love to plug the National Immigrant Justice Center.
they're doing a lot of help of helping people and families who are being estranged because of ice and the illegal things that they've been doing.
So I think especially right now, it's very scary here in the U.S.
So helping each other and reaching out to your neighbors, making it to your neighbors are good, making sure that everyone around you is good is more important now than ever.
So yeah, that would be the cause that I would love the plug.
Yeah, incredibly well said.
as were your insights over the course of this podcast.
Is there anything else you want to say about this episode,
the season so far,
Survivor overall while we have you?
I would just like to say when it comes to Charlie versus Rizzo,
I am Team Charlie.
He is in my draft.
So, you know,
we're hoping for the best.
And when it comes to Genevieve versus Aubrey,
I am,
but gradually team Genevieveevee because I do love Aubrey,
but I do have to be Team Genevievee for this one.
So we'll have to see I loki am scared that Rizzo
and Aubrey are going to be the winners
of those rivalries,
but we'll have to wait and see.
Yeah, I mean, it seems like it's going to come to a head
for at least one of these pairs as soon
as that week, because finally,
we are getting a double
tribal council.
Imagine it's both of them next week.
That would be pretty, I mean, that would imply
that VATU-MATU-MAN-Challages.
Which might be a little bit of a tough call
considering how tough it was for them with
that boat this week. But, yeah,
I'm really excited to see what's to come because now we know as exciting as VATU has been,
not to say that we'd necessarily be getting a break,
but like it's nice to bring in more people going to tribal.
I think something like 11 people haven't been to tribal council yet this season.
And so it'd be nice to have at least a handful of them go.
I think as well to finally see the dynamics flesh themselves out one way or the other.
I know people felt like why haven't we like started bringing in the double boots already.
one, I think that they really wanted to like immerse,
especially people who have not played in a while back in the game,
by being like, all right, let's give you some time to get adjusted to things.
Then once you feel like you have your feet out from under you,
then we'll really pick up the pace.
The other thing is too, I could also see it from like a producer's perspective,
part of the reason why they put Edge of Extinction on Winters at War of like,
all right, would we rather have one episode of Q or three episodes of Q?
Those extra two episodes mean a world of difference.
Not to say that I think people would necessarily tune out
if their favorite wasn't on anymore,
but it's a good way to guarantee that they get more air time
by just being on the island a bit more.
That said, I would not be surprised that this is,
you know, one of a few rounds we'll get throughout the season
where there's a double boot.
Yeah.
Yeah, but I mean, that totally makes sense.
A lot of other reality TV shows do that as well,
especially when you have a star-studded cast
that like the beginning is a little bit lighter
and then you kind of crank up the eliminations as you go.
Exactly.
Derek, this was so much fun.
I still, again, as someone who's followed your work for a while now,
still incredibly surreal for me to have you on our show.
But this was an absolute delight exceeded even the best expectations I had.
So thank you.
Your music changed my life,
which I'm assuming is what Dee said to Zach Brown.
On the island and also in retrospect.
She was so sad that she couldn't.
I know.
Like you better.
better shed a tear then.
I'm trying. I'm tapping my crocs right now, so I'm
trimming and trinity fully.
Well, of course, if people are especially watching this on YouTube, they won't have to go
very far, especially if you are a drag race fan. I think what Derek does is absolute
must-watch content, but what would you like to tell people about what you're doing out there
on the internet? I talk about the production decisions, the behind the scenes, the
sometimes the ruggery of RuPaul's Drag Race on my channel of the Drag Detective. And I also
have a
spin-off little
channel called
Drag Duel
where we have
a drag
competition with
drag queens
drag things
drag kings
all around
the world
so we're
showing and telling
the stories of
queer artists
from Russia
to Croatia
to Canada
from everywhere
so
but also I just
want to say
Mike you are
an icon
Leanna
you're an icon
I love
watching you
both
I've been
watching
RHP
for so long
so to
finally be here
is like
so surreal
so thank you
both
well the
appreciation
is so mutual
I'm curious, which drag race
alum would you want to see on Survivor
the most?
Even if they don't want to necessarily be on it.
Are you asking who would do the best or who would make the best television
like as a survivor contestant?
4K No Los Dose.
I think Monet would be really fun.
We know she's a fan.
I think that she would actually do pretty well.
I would love to see Thorgy Thoron
because it would be absolutely insane.
Yes.
She would cause havoc.
She would cause mayhem.
She'd be amazing TV and she'd be out in episode two.
Yes.
Yes.
I mean, yeah, I think that's
Thorgy in a nutshell.
I think she would absolutely have Jeff Probes in a tizzy.
He would have no idea what to do with her.
She would find an idol and be like,
what do I do with this now?
And it's like hucking and Jeff when she wants to play.
Like, I'm not going over there.
No, literally.
You want to pick it up from my scene come to you?
Oh my God, right.
Putting that out there into the universe.
Yes.
Check out what Derek's doing.
it is so much fun.
So thank you so much for coming on,
sharing your thoughts about this season so far.
Of course, you can check out everything.
Leana and I are doing with the pal,
with Australian Survivor,
with jury duty over here on R-HAP.
But next week, we will be back at it,
as we will say goodbye to two more people here.
I'm very intrigued to see
what's going to happen with VATU in the wake of Mexico
partner, considering that, again,
half the tribe was left out of this decision.
I'm very excited to see at least one of the other two tribes
go to tribal council and see if this rivalry is going to come to the forefront
or if there's going to be someone else random
who will crush our hearts and dreams by being eliminated
no matter what the case,
we'll be back here bringing you all the fun and games
around what has been a very fun season so far.
That's going to do it for this week's episode of the B&B.
Special thanks to everyone behind the scenes in R&JP
for packaging this podcast for your eyes and ears.
And we'll from America who puts Zach Brown to shame,
with his incredible theme song.
I would sit and listen to Will Serename me at the sanctuary
and I would shed many tears for that man.
That is for sure.
Leon and I will be back next week covering episode five of Survivor 50.
Until then, everybody, we'll check you out at your next day.
