Scuffed | USMNT, World Cup, Yanks Abroad, futbol in America - #211: Office Hours, Vol. 4 — Songs and chants, Pepi, chess, nicknames, etc.
Episode Date: October 20, 2021A highly-focused investigation of several a baker's dozen soccer-adjacent topics, including a philosophy of songs and chants, the paucity of USMNT nicknames, a rough power ranking of chess ability amo...ng USMNT players, and what sort of crime could get Berhalter fired. New Pepi song at the end.contact: scuffedpod@gmail.comdrop us a question at this link and we’ll try to answer it: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdJdevo3myfLQuaH5LwZRmahNTSimCwP3VQLLXu5I_yxZWfvg/viewform?usp=sf_linksupport Scuffed on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/scuffedjoin the Discord: https://discord.gg/X6tfzkM8XUbuy our merch: https://my-store-11446477.creator-spring.com/ Skip the ads! Subscribe to Scuffed on Patreon and get all episodes ad-free, plus any bonus episodes. Patrons at $5 a month or more also get access to Clip Notes, a video of key moments on the field we discuss on the show, plus all patrons get access to our private Discord server, live call-in shows, and the full catalog of historic recaps we've made: https://www.patreon.com/scuffedAlso, check out Boots on the Ground, our USWNT-focused spinoff podcast headed up by Tara and Vince. They are cooking over there, you can listen here: https://boots-on-the-ground.simplecast.comAnd check out our MERCH, baby. We have better stuff than you might think: https://www.scuffedhq.com/store Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the scuffed podcast. I'm Adam Bells in Georgia. With me is Greg Velasquez in Iowa. We talk about U.S. men's soccer.
Welcome to office hours. Waki, how are you? Doing very well, Adam. How are you doing?
I'm pretty good. I'm pretty good. Got a new Ricardo Pepey song. That's the thing I'm most excited about right now.
I'm excited about it too. It's very good. Thank you. Very strong second song.
Oh yeah. I appreciate that. What I hope turns into an album.
We're going to play it at the end of the episode to avoid the sort of,
analysis segment that we did on the other
when I released the Bousio song.
I think we both want to avoid that segment, right?
Yeah, I want people to be able to form their own opinion on.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Okay.
So let's jump right into questions and start,
try to start with the broader ones
and then move into sort of player-specific stuff.
First, we should, I think,
revisit Jesse Howe's question about the U.S. youth national teams.
He wants an update.
So here's an update.
The Fed has hired a U-17 coach.
is Gonzalo Seigades, and he is a former Costa Rican international coach in the Chicago Fire
Academy after his playing career with that team, and it has been the U-15 Boys National Team
coach since January 2020.
Now, from what I understand, he'll be taking on the 2006 and younger age group, because
since there is no 2021 U-17 World Cup, the 2004s and 2005s, they're just going to have to
make their way to the 2020, I mean, the U-20 World Cup or the U-20 age group.
and I'm hearing that there will be a camp for these 2006s,
aka the U-17s for the 20-23 cycle,
that camp will be the first week of November.
So a little bit of progress on the...
Yeah, that sounds like good news.
There's been a bit of mystery surrounding the team.
For instance, is Anthony Hudson the coach of the U-20 team?
Because I thought he was, but it's not on the Wikipedia.
He's been moved from U-20 coach to national team coach.
I enjoy the mystery around it.
Yeah, he's now the successor to the throne as the, as Greg Burhalter's assistant.
No, I don't think he is.
But it is a mystery.
He's probably not the U-20 coach, but it's not definitely not him either, I guess.
That's how I'd put it.
Well, it'll be exciting to find out who you 20 coaches.
Although I guess there's no tournament for them either.
No, not until 20.
Or I don't know when it is.
Not until 2023.
I mean, they got to get to work.
So it will be nice for the youth national teams to actually get going again.
Yes.
Speaking of World Cups, FIFA wants to have one every two years.
What do you think of that idea?
Well, I tweeted and I got some negative feedback on it.
I was thinking that eventually I'll probably be completely fine with that.
I was just plotting out 10 years from now when that's happening.
I think I'll have adjusted and I'll be fine with it.
But it's an issue that is a pretty tense issue I've found.
Almost as tense is when I mispronounced Rubona.
So I'm kind of on a streak of mispronouncing a word
and then having an opinion about the World Cup that people don't like.
So I'm really reevaluating some of my stances.
You mean, you don't usually get a lot of negative feedback either, right?
Well, that's because I scrupulously avoid it.
But then once you start mispronouncing words that apparently everyone else knows how to pronounce.
You really come under some fire there.
Yeah.
What do you think about this World Cup situation?
I think we may have talked about it before.
Have we?
I hate it.
I hate the idea of World Cup every two years.
I don't have a great reason for that,
except that I just like how it is right now, very much.
It is pretty good right now.
I understand your position.
I understand your position too, though, by the way,
which is basically that you can, you know,
grow accustomed to anything.
We can.
Yeah, but the part of the, it was so great.
having it, it makes it so intense, you know, that's the part that would be a, be a disappointment.
Yeah.
That it's every four years.
Lose that intense.
So that would change it, but capitalism, you know?
Well, I guess, yeah.
It's special.
The World Cup is special and it'll be, it would be less special.
I'm like, you know, the 100 millionth person to probably say something like that.
Questions from Joe Campbell.
He was hoping, he said, I'll just read it verbatim.
is a very well-written question.
Was hoping for some help slash guidance
on how to deal with the US fans' chance
being incredibly annoying to me.
My questions are, number one, can people change?
Number two, could I learn to like, appreciate the US fans' chance?
And number three, should I just tune it out?
Let me know your thoughts.
I am of the mind that people can change,
but also they tend not to.
Yeah.
You know, if you don't see someone for 15 years,
you see them again, they're basically the same person in my experience.
And so, what was the second part of the question?
I think it's instructed for that.
Could I learn to like, appreciate the U.S. fans' chance?
I think you cannot learn to like or appreciate if you don't already like some.
And specifically the one I'm thinking about is the slow clap USA.
It's kind of like the cilantro of chance.
You know, you either really like it or you're like, I don't, this isn't for me.
Does anybody really like it?
I don't know.
Presumably, some people do.
They're doing it.
It was poorly executed in Costa Rica, that's for sure.
And even when it's well executed, it's, you know, it's just an Iceland knockoff.
Justin in the chat is saying that he likes the, he likes the slow clap USA chant.
For me, when I'm so used to hearing USA chanted in one very particular way, really since Burr.
Earth, you know, USA, USA.
When there's that gap between that U and that S, I'm overcome with this angst just watching
on TV.
I can't imagine how intense that is in person.
Yeah, it was hard to even get, it was hard to synchronize it with the drummer in Columbus.
I think that's just because everyone's so used to that one USA chant.
Yeah, the muscle memory is there, I guess.
I don't have a big problem with the classic USA chant.
It just can't be the only thing we do.
you know.
So I guess that's why we do the slow clap USA chant.
Well, we have different opinions on the classic USA chant.
You don't like it.
I love it.
I love it.
I don't know why.
I like that they chant it at American players in Europe.
It's like a universal language.
Also, it's a little bit silly.
And you can really, even if you can do it a little bit ironically and it has the same effect at a sporting event.
That's true.
It's really versatile.
It is versatile.
That's true.
And it's simple and easy for people to remember.
But you're writing songs.
It's a part of you once these songs you're writing to eventually be sung by fans in the stadium, right?
Yeah.
Part of you.
I wrote the peppy song with the hope of it being singable by a collective.
I don't know that I succeeded at that.
But we'll see, I suppose.
You're just going to have to pump out enough songs and probably put
put some pressure on not pressure but get some american outlaw leadership on board get them
really liking your song maybe you're performing at them at a tailgate coming up in um in the mexico
game yeah i need a i need a i need three or four other singers to help me to to be able to really
perform it but um yeah i did email american outlaws about i to to let them know about the busio
song and they said yeah we saw it it's great but um
too hard to sing and it's too hard to teach people to sing.
Ryan in the chat points out that I guess some people haven't heard the peppy song yet,
but they will.
You have the word,
you say the word inevitability in like two syllables somehow or three,
but he points out that it's going to be really amusing to watch the stadium get in sync on.
Yeah,
I got to say,
that could trip them up.
Yeah, that's a fair point.
I do think that inevitability,
people like it's I mean Ryan and I disagree on this but I I'm wedded to it because I like the way
it's a little bit complicated to sing that word but I don't think impossible so people like to sing
I think people like to sing stuff that is a little bit tricky but not too tricky you know and it's
well if they're saying the busio song was too hard I think they're going to have the same
they're going to raise the same issues with the peppy song okay well we'll have to try again
next time.
Also, thinking of the Gianluca song, it's kind of, it's a little bit plaintive, you know?
Oh, Gianluco, I'm so sorry.
It's not really a stadium song, is it?
No, it's not rouse.
I wouldn't say it's rousing.
It's a great song.
Yeah, I mean, if anybody has ideas on how to, I mean, I'll, I'll stay in touch with
American Outlaws.
And I don't want to come down too hard on the chance as they are, because they're, you know,
people are working hard at that stuff.
No, they do a great job.
We don't have Rogers and Hammerstein yet helping us out.
So we're all in this together, folks.
You have any other ideas besides chance and songs?
I'd love to see, I haven't really fleshed out the full idea.
I'd love to see some flares, you know,
and just kind of like really get a little bit,
cross the line a little bit out there.
flares, smoke bombs.
Those would be the things I would add.
But otherwise I'd keep going as you're going.
Introduce some kind of controlled menace to the atmosphere.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I was going to say brawl, but don't do a brawl.
Definitely don't do a brawl with opponents.
If you do a brawl, have it just be an intra-supporter group brawl.
Yeah.
Just to kind of throw a little twist out there.
I hate brawls.
I mean, I could watch one as long as nobody gets hurt too badly,
but when people start really getting beat up,
I can't even watch that stuff.
Yeah, maybe don't do a full brawl then.
I don't even want to,
I definitely don't want to be in a brawl.
Alec Dreisinga asks,
what is our naming convention for our future front line?
We have the MMA midfield,
but CPR, Christian Pepey and Raina,
for saving us post-World cup miss,
PPG, Pooley, Pepe, and Gio for increasing our points per game.
Something else entirely?
I like both of those, I guess they're not called acronyms, but those initial abbreviations.
But the one issue I have is a part of me feels like you need to either go with all first initials or all last initials.
But I guess that puts us in a spot where the initial combination isn't as good.
So it would be like
CRG or
PPR.
So we have a decision to make
if we go with kind of
go the traditional
and use one of those
or just do one that sounds
a little bit better
like the CPR or the
the PPG.
Yeah.
So I could go either way on this.
I mean CPR gives off
the connotation of being almost dead
so I don't know
that I love that one.
MMA is great
because it sort of, you know, it is, it is a, maybe it's not intentional, but for me at least,
it's a reference to the cage match, you know, got a bunch of, yeah, I wonder if we even have to
have one, or you only use that three initial abbreviation in special cases where it just really
works really well. Also, who came up with that? It just sort of happened, and now it's what everyone says.
Yeah, I think Seuss is trying to take credit for it, but it seems, seems to have,
sort of cropped up and it's the etymology is not well understood.
It'd be interesting to do some research into.
I don't know if interesting is the right word.
It would be something to do some research into.
Timbo asks, has there been a better nickname than Antony Jedi Robinson in the recent USM&T pool?
The Captain America stuff is so blasé at this point.
American Dream is a bit better, especially considering it comes from Erling Holland.
But if you could give us some analysis on who needs a nickname and what the current power
rankings are for US M&T nicknames. That would be helpful. American Dream was never going to stick
because that already means something. And Holland's, you know, he's from Norway or forever, so he
wasn't to have a good to grasp on that. But we treated that like that was going to really be
Gio's nickname. And I don't think that was really ever in the cards. But I would say Jedi is the
strongest. But that has the advantage of it having, he's had it since a very young age, so it's
completely organic. And that's the challenge you always want to.
to do with nicknames. Other than that, what other ones do we have right now? Well, El Tren is a pretty
good nickname. Oh, that's really good. That's kind of the only other one I can think of, though.
One thing that occurred to me with nicknames, I think Gianluca Busio, he normally gets called
Luca. Oh, really? From what I've gathered, or at least not pretty often, it gets called Luca.
but when it was Luca de La Torre in there,
he can't be called that.
So that's another consideration with all these names.
But I think with most of our players,
you either just go with,
the art is in choosing their first name
or last name to call them,
and then shortening them when appropriate.
Yeah. Yeah, it feels...
For the most part.
It feels good to call West and McKinney, Wes.
I like that.
That's really strong.
Not that many people...
Maybe, I shouldn't say not that many people.
It's not as widespread as it might be.
it'll come around.
I bet.
In the past,
Deuce was a good nickname.
And I thought
Landy Cakes,
not great in terms of sports nicknames,
but maybe as a term of endearment,
it's okay?
I thought that was an insult.
Was it?
I thought that's what people called him
who didn't like him.
They thought it was soft or something.
Maybe I...
Somebody from the chat's going to have to...
Somebody from the chat's going to have to settle.
Yeah, someone could fill us in on that
as we carry on with the nickname.
I'm being told I'm right.
Okay.
Basilepti.
Okay.
Okay, so that, yeah.
What, on that name from other than that, I agree, Captain America, we probably can't use that.
That's more just used by the local press in Italy or England or wherever when a new American place comes there who's good.
Right.
Does anybody else have a shortened name in the pool right now that you can think of?
Besides West.
Pooley?
No one calls Tyler Ty.
I wonder...
Surg.
Moose's name is probably just too good on its own.
Yeah, Eunice is a fun name to say, I think.
They call Sergenio surge, which I'm not sure how I feel about it.
Okay.
I could consider getting into that.
I think Brendan Aronson is kind of just the name you have to say the whole name.
Brenda?
Brenda, I'm not comfortable at that.
I'm just always going to say Brendan Aronson.
Somebody says, I had to dip it on the chat here.
Somebody says, I'm really worried about when the fan base starts trying to find a moniker
for the way at Aronson Pepey front line.
Lap?
That's a good thing.
Yeah.
Maybe we don't do it in that case.
Or we just say whap.
Yeah, let's not.
Can we go to the next question?
Sure.
More buildings and food asks, which of our dual nationals would start for the other
countries they are eligible to represent.
Now, mostly he's asking about Kalin Acosta and the Japanese national team to settle an
offline argument with a friend.
I can take some of this, if you don't mind.
So would, I don't know enough about Japan to know if Acosta would start for that.
I know Kevin Perides would start for the Dominican Republic.
Okay.
Well, Acosta, no, would not likely start for the Japanese national team.
their six is Wataru Endo,
who is the starting six for Stuttgart
and the captain of that team.
So I don't think Acosta is starting over him.
Maybe he could get in as an eight.
I don't know.
He'd probably come off the bench like he does.
I guess he is now starting.
I had a dream he was starting against Mexico
and people were really mad.
I think it's gotten bad that I'm having dreams
about that type of thing.
That is bad.
Yeah.
I feel like I've had...
I should make some changes.
I've had some dreams along those lines.
I think Pulisic would sometimes start for Croatia.
If he was playing for them, Dest, maybe, but...
I think he could challenge Blind and Dumfries at fullback for the Netherlands,
but he wouldn't be a lock starter, I don't think.
Musa and Brooks would not.
way I would if he represented Liberia,
Raina probably would not start for Argentina,
though I suspect he'd get some call-ups.
So, you know, most of our dual-nats are going to get more playing time
with us than with the other country, which stands to reason.
Well, they're young.
You know, they'll get there.
Hopefully in the future we can say that all of our dual-nats would also be starting
on whatever other team they could play.
Yeah.
I guess it doesn't matter that much, but it would just be nice to be able to
say. Yeah, it would. I think we're always from that. Dylan from California asks, well,
is there anything going on in the chat that we should know about? They're still on abbreviations
and nicknames. Okay. For the most part. Some people are saying instead of WAP, we say P-A-W.
One thing I disagree with, this is Stan, who is my...
favorite account with USM&T and other than the other people I know who I like USMT only he's
great too I realize I shouldn't have picked out one I like the most also same he's saying this is
something I disagree with on him actually I don't know if he's saying we should go M-Rob and A-Rob
for Miles Robinson and Anthony Robinson I disagree with that I think we always just say Miles or
Anthony and I've tweeted about this so maybe he wasn't saying that he was just he was just saying
the nicknames. It's just something I wanted to break up. He's
corrected that. He's corrected that.
So we can go to the next question.
Yeah, I like Miles and Anthony too.
They're both cool names.
Yeah. Dylan from California says, is there a personality
type missing from the USMNT?
Do we need an existential depressive
or a wild card?
What do you think?
I would not go,
I don't think you actively need, you want to have an
existential depressive on your team.
you know yeah probably like it could be like
I'm sure there are existential depressives who are good players but you don't need to actively
seek one out based purely on that personality type
so I would go with more just like a confident person
who moves through life but also maybe is trying to prove
prove all their doubters wrong that seems to be the most successful
athlete personality type yeah people without self-doubt kind of or what you want I think
there was some study about swimmers that the ones who i don't know the study well enough to accurately say
what it was but the general idea was they did some test where the ones who thought they were
faster than they were from like you know a younger age they ended up being the most successful swimmers
just because they thought they were good enough so they just kept at it so we kind of want that
yeah i mean it can go it can get to really extreme proportions that that that
attitude, right? Like Steve Jobs was famously like that. He bent reality to his will kind of
by making things, you know, making things happen that people didn't think could happen.
Yeah, it's a huge advantage if you're trying to become a professional athlete, because it's
really hard to do. I mean, another person who does that, who is sort of believes much more
highly of himself than he ought is our former president, Donald Trump, you know?
he's very good at that
something of an outlier in that
in that area
which you know I guess to a certain extent
all politicians have to be like that
to some extent but
yeah but he lives it
yeah he was born in it
we have some Greg Burrhalter questions
sly Ellie
sly Eli asks what would it take for
Greg to get fired before the end of qualifying
I would I would think it either
five consecutive
of losses coming up here or a crime, a rather serious crime.
Yeah, embezzlement.
Probably a felony or a misdemeanor, but with some, like, other stuff going on around it.
Like, if he, you know, I guess we, I don't need to detail the exact hypothetical crime.
Give me the, the, the, the, the places in the code that you would have to violate.
Well, we have enough lawyers, attorneys in the chat.
Maybe they can give you some codes, but I'm thinking it would be the borderline case,
be a DUI, he would really need to do something in the aftermath of the DUI to ensure he was
fired and it would need to be on film or it's or just like a really severe DUI.
I get that all DUIs are bad, but you know, there's more severe DUIs than others, aren't there?
Yeah. You need to get a DUI for being in a parked car. It can happen.
Yeah, he needs to be only like 30 over, maybe more 35 over and blow like a point.
or point...
Try to run...
Go ahead.
Point what?
I can't remember exactly.
0.06 is normally the limit,
so at least 0.09,
but I don't remember the scale on that,
so I could be wrong.
Yeah, I think to be really drunk,
you're looking at 0.15 or something,
or 0.12.
Okay, let's get them up there, though.
Then, I was...
I was thinking, like, if he tried to run from the cops
and got one of his area stuck on one of those chain link fences
and that was caught on in film, that would be.
I would love to see him running from the cops.
He doesn't seem like he probably breaks a whole lot of laws.
No.
Maybe in his younger days.
So I think it is going to need to be just a bunch of losses in a row.
It would have to be a catastrophic succession of losses.
Also, then they'd have to pay another coach.
They'd be paying two coaches.
I don't think they want to do that,
because I don't think they have a bunch of money.
We're stuck with him, guys.
We are stuck with Greg.
And I'm rooting for him, like I said, a few days ago.
Totally rooting for the guy.
Matt Herm asks,
is Greg Berhalter the Michael Jordan of soccer coaches
when it comes to bounce passes
when the ball is out to touch?
Dude's bounce pass game is fire.
If you define it very, very narrowly,
that yes, he is the Michael Jordan soccer coaches,
but only in that he does bounce passes
and no other soccer coaches do bounce passes.
And Michael Jordan did do Pounce passes because he was a basketball player.
So narrowly, yes.
But that was how the questions asked.
So yes.
Yeah, good job answering that one.
Solo asks, has Greg asked you to stop making videos of,
he's talking about Greg with 1G, Velazquez,
the scuffed podcast co-creator.
Has Greg asked you to stop making videos of Burhalter's throw-ins
because of the tactical advantage that he says they give us?
how why would Greg
Greg Velasquez has not asked me to stop making videos
of Burrhalter's Thrones
are you sure they meant Greg Velasquez
yes because because Greg Velasquez
has talked about how he doesn't want to talk about it that much
the the bounce
no I think he doesn't want to talk about it because how dumb it is
no no no he he really thinks there's like
there's a there's a well-drilled thing
that the U.S. is doing where we do these
quick restarts and Burrhalter is like quickly passes it to the person.
Oh, I thought it was a joke question.
Well, it is.
I don't have a serious answer to that question.
I assumed it was a joke question about Greg Burhalter, who also has not talked to me.
Yeah, it is a joke question because, you know, the idea that Greg Velasquez discussing our throw-in strategy is going to alert other national teams to it and, like, help us lose our advantage.
is somewhat ridiculous.
You can do a quick restart without a bounce pass though.
Well, yeah, it doesn't have, but the bounce pass isn't,
maybe the bounce pass is like a signal or something.
I don't know.
Oh, is it communicating something?
I don't know.
I've seen some bounce passes.
He's just flinging some of these.
I don't know that they're communicating anything.
He doesn't do anything other than the bounce passes from what I can talk.
Okay.
What about he does behind the back bounce passes?
and yeah so like how is that good for a quick restart well it's the most efficient way to um see
Greg got into this other last podcast he said it's the most efficient way to convert the energy
coming towards you into energy going back to the person you're throwing the ball to as opposed to
catching it and then like you know balling up your energy and then pushing it forward he's just like
using the momentum of the ball to go around his back and you know what I'm saying did you guys talk
about this on a podcast I missed it
we did. I mean, I think, yeah, we did.
Huh. Okay. On that long Costa Rica one. So, Greg has not asked you to stop making videos.
No, he has not reached out to me. Secrecy is not airtight in this situation, I don't think.
I mean, listen, if he wants me to stop, you know, I will, but he did have to make a stronger case than just quick restarts.
Because I don't buy the bounce pass being essential to it yet.
Yeah.
but it's a conversation worth having.
Certainly.
Certainly is.
Jonathan Failer asks, well, first, what's going on in the chat?
I'm not allowed to look at it, so.
You are allowed to look at it.
It's, there's no questions right now.
I don't think there's, I'm not saying the chat's not doing a good enough job,
but there's not something that sticks out to me that I should bring up.
You know, that might sound like criticism of the chat, but.
Okay.
Stan, USM&T is saying that,
no, I'm not going to read that
because it was just saying something good
about my videos.
I didn't realize that's what it was.
That would be arrogant of me.
So we can go to the next question.
Okay. Jonathan Failer asks,
why doesn't Greg do what I want 100% of the time?
Now he's talking about Greg.
Jonathan is talking about Greg Berhalter.
Why doesn't he do what I want 100% of the time?
Sometimes he gets very close, like 98%.
But then one player is left off
the roster or that one guy I don't like gets the start and I get absolutely furious. So what's
his problem? It's a very good question. I don't know if it actually needs an answer. I just think
it's a really well-written question. It is. It contains the answer within itself. I just think he
loves to antagonize us like me personally. He will he did have that stretch and um I can't remember
what it was. It was earlier this year where he,
the lineups he was speaking were almost exactly
what we wanted for like three games in a row.
Or what the internet
wanted. It was amazing.
Yeah, yeah.
And there was, but then there was
in the last game,
it was Ariola and Stefan
who were the odd men
out in the lineup. And then Aureola got hurt
and Way of replaced him,
of course, which was
made it a nice
you know, basically.
And people got, they were kind of excited about it to have way in.
So they started responding excitement to the national team account who had to stop replies on the tweet.
I think I've got that correct.
That was a bit of drama before that game.
If you consider things that happen on Twitter to be dramatic, which I do.
They can be.
Okay, questions about players.
Bucky from Pittsburgh.
By the way, Bucky from Pittsburgh and somebody else, Dylan from California.
to this too. I love it when people put where they're from in the question. And I think I've made that
clear previously, but I just want to reiterate it. You can make a rule they have to have that to be
answered. Although I guess we don't want to put excessive restrictions. You're right. We shouldn't do
that. Well, now I'm thinking we should. So I just have to get into Google forms and do it.
So Bucky's question is, in this scenario, Poulosick remains healthy. Do you think keeping Adams as the captain
will help Pulisic from feeling the need to put everything on his own shoulders and dribble into 15 people.
My instinct is it actually will help a little bit, although he will be fighting his natural inclination there as well.
But that's just me being optimistic.
I do think, yeah, I think it'll help.
I was thinking about this yesterday.
I think actually playing in a World Cup will help too because it'll be so, you know, people be playing for their lives.
and everything has to be optimized.
I can't imagine Pulisic being super wasteful in a World Cup,
but maybe that's optimism too.
And I do think Adams should be the captain.
What's that?
One slight concern is I was reviewing,
or Justin, who's in the chat,
found Pulisic's chess handle,
and we've been going through the games together,
and we're going to do like a report on that.
But one thing we've noticed that we haven't seen enough games to say for sure this is true.
Pulcic does tend to get a piece out alone in attack, kind of operating on itself.
So we're worried if like, is that just kind of how he's wired?
Or, you know, was it just an off game, chess game?
I kind of regret even bringing it up now because there's so much more analysis to be done.
But definitely something to bear in mind.
Oh, man, I am really looking forward to that analysis.
Yeah, we found the accounts of an amazing number of players.
Joss Sargent's pretty good.
Is he?
Jirano has one.
Weston has one.
I think that's the key one.
Were you guys saying last week in secret office hours after the regular office hours,
were you guys saying that Pulisicic is actually really good at chess?
He is good.
He is probably the best chess player on the team.
but there's a weird situation
where Antid Robinson is also kind of good
he just doesn't play as much
Josh Sargent is also better than you would think
like he's better than Gio
I guess that's not that surprising
but I'm spoiling all the stuff that were research
I shouldn't I'm sorry Justin for
we can stop talking about it
I just think
I mean chess aside I think
Pulisic is just not a guy who can take
responsible who wants to take responsibility
for a team in the comprehensive way
Tyler Adams does
and
so I don't think it's controversial to say
that Tyler Adams should be the
should be the captain and not Pulisic
Agreed.
AJ Baby Boy. Captain America.
AJ Baby Boy says
with rumors now of multiple Premier Leagues
looking at Pepe, what are some teams
that you would like to see him go to?
I guess I don't actually want him to go to the Premier League
The only real team that I ever actively want someone to go to is Dortmund
Yeah
But that might just because our best players have gone there and it's gone well
It's a good place to go
The rest of the places I just kind of base it on what other people seem to think is a good place to go
I could go with IAX
I could go with Iax
Yeah, okay I could add that to the list with Dorman
but not England
tired of that place
tired of hearing about that place
no I don't even want to have to watch those games
tired of hearing about that league
tired of their literature and their music
enough is enough
go to the Bundesliga
yeah go to the continent
well you can watch a Bundesliga game
without feeling like you're doing
you kind of you're going out of your own
doing your own special little thing
by watching some weird Bundesliga game
at Saturday morning
you know
Yeah.
That's why I think he should go to the Bundesliga.
He's been tied to pretty much every club, though.
Right, he has.
Why is a Bundesliga Saturday morning game
weirder than a Premier League Saturday morning game?
Well, there's fewer people watching it.
It's not weirder.
It's just like you feel like you're,
it's kind of how I feel about travel.
If I'm going to travel to a place,
I'd rather go to a place that not a bunch of people are going.
And if I'm going to watch a soccer game,
I don't watch a game that not everyone's watching.
I see.
I don't know if other people feel like that.
I did feel that way about you watching USL games for about a year.
Like I was on some secret, you know,
had discovered something secret and useful.
It turns out to still be a secret, but not very useful.
Yeah, the trouble is there, it's not a great use of time.
Strange days those were.
BW.W. asks,
I'm just curious to hear Wacki's take on Ricardo Pepe as a persona.
We were all just so grateful that he picked the U.S.
and then that he immediately turned out to be helpful
that I think we haven't noticed much about him
besides the heartwarming family story.
Very important question for those of us deeply interested
in U.S.MNT personality adiosyncrasies.
What is this guy like?
Well, I don't think he's fully revealed himself yet.
That's maybe the big thing.
I'd say he has an aura, a clear aura,
and he manages that by saying very few words.
even like when in stories written about him
it will mostly be the writer talking
and then he'll come in to say something that
isn't that profound but it's just like a very simple thing
and then they'll have an anecdote about him taking out of the trash or something
and it's like impactful somehow
so I think it's just the aura and we'll have to wait and see beyond that
he's very careful with his words it seems like
and has a lot of self-possession
for an 18 year old
And the chat, Nate Wells asked, how important is the Camaro to Pepe's persona?
You've thought about this a lot because it's in your song.
Yeah.
I mean...
I think it's pretty important.
Yeah, if you want to punch...
If you want to write a song that punches up the quintessential Americanness of Ricardo Pepe,
then, you know, that picture of him with a Camaro was a gift straight from heaven.
So I made use of that for sure in my song.
But I agree with you.
I don't think he has revealed himself.
And maybe he won't.
Maybe he's just a,
he just wants to score goals and go fishing.
Kind of like.
Although one real thing that Buzz from third degree pointed out
when you were talking to him is that he just unusually,
he's extremely and genuinely confident.
Without being too,
without seeming all that cocky.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Yeah.
I don't.
That's the one thing we actually know about.
I don't have a bad word to say about him, you know, until at least he's 22.
Yeah, how many games are, if he has like two games where he doesn't score, then maybe we'll start saying some bad things about.
Yeah.
It's going to be hard.
He's built so much goodwill over the past two months.
It's hard to imagine it turning like he did for, like him being treated the way Jawsie's artist is or something by the fan base.
It just seems impossible.
Yeah.
probably impossible. Patrick Conway asks, with a Kel and Acosta's dip in form, which USM&T player is
most likely to pick up his ability for shithousery feels like a big skill someone needs?
I think shithousing is, I'm not convinced it can be learned, so it would have needed to
have been kind of latent within them and looking around, there's not obvious candidates for that.
I would be, if I were to make like a weird pick that I don't have evidence for, maybe
Brendan Aronson.
I don't even know why I think that.
And then maybe if Joe Scali breaks through.
Yeah.
But I can't, no one else I'm thinking of.
I can't, I mean, I think, I thought Adams was more of, like, was more of a shithouser than
he has turned out to be.
He kind of, he was on the wrong end of some shit housing against El Salvador, I believe, or maybe
it was
Honduras.
No, it was El Salvador.
Oh, Camus in the chat says Hoppy.
So yeah,
that's definitely one.
I was kind of already including him in that.
But yeah, if he can
get on the field more, if he can really
go through. Tempo points out
Raina. Raina is definitely
very solid there.
I would say those are some of our strongest guys
in the shit housing.
But in terms of new guys,
that's where I'm not sure.
Acosta does feel like a singular talent, though, in some ways.
Yeah.
Because he's right in the middle of it,
and it's all pretty controlled and purposeful,
whereas with Hoppe and Raina,
partly just because they're younger,
it might not always be.
And they're not in the center of everything.
Right.
But Acosta is, and he always looks profoundly innocent,
his eyes wide as a baby dears.
And, yeah, I don't know that.
I mean, Adams will go down to draw a whistle if he feels like he's in trouble or, you know, he'll grab an elbow and stuff.
But he can't get a yellow card for like an open field hit the way he did in that game in the first window.
That's just Kellyn Acosta would never.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Adams is not a dark artist.
he can
you know do some stuff but he's not
he's not on the level of a cop maybe he's a dark artist's apprentice
it's like he has a chance hopefully yeah
Calvin asks in a related question if Adams and or
Acosta pick up a knock before the next round of qualifiers who do you call in at
the number six oh do you have an answer for that
is it Boussio yeah that's that's it
it would be a terrifying but also fascinating
experiment to have Bouscio as the six in a, you know, really challenging.
I would prefer just a new player suddenly emerged who's really good at reading the game
in defensive passing.
We can play at the six.
Well, I guess it all comes down to like how far do you think Bousio is from being, having
the defensive chops to handle that job?
Because he's changing, you know, he's changing every week in Italy.
Yeah.
And he was awful good on the ball in that cameo.
against Costa Rica.
Like, delight.
It seems like maybe he could get to being perfectly good enough at it
in the next year or so, hopefully.
Maybe, yeah.
Or maybe we'll just be so good with the ball with him as the six.
It won't be as much of an issue.
I had, there's one thing in the chat.
Nate Wells asked that I just want to say,
I don't think we can answer it now,
but I definitely want to flag it because I want to research it
because I think it's a really important question.
Is Pepe, will he be able to keep his Camero
if he moves to Europe?
and do they have Cameras there?
Anyway, we can move on.
That's something I want to look into
the laws of bringing cars to Europe.
I think you can, but, yeah.
And then Scotty has a really good suggestion
that we should start keeping a spreadsheet
with data on the vehicles of all USMNT players.
That's a really good idea.
Okay. You're going to do that?
Yeah, I think it would be good to have
more things in the spreadsheet too.
cars is a big one.
And it would be just good to know,
like, what's their favorite food and favorite color?
I guess it's not that useful,
but it just would be nice to have all that information in one place.
Yeah.
Because it's out there.
The sort of the climax of that Desk video
when you say he doesn't even like the color red.
Yeah.
Desd is an interesting case because he wears that red basketball jersey everywhere.
I made a video about this.
But he told a quiz show that his favorite color is blue.
And then on Instagram, he has a bunch of these pictures where they're heavily green-themed.
So I don't know.
I think he might have just been under some time pressure looking back.
I've gone back and watched the quiz show he did.
I think he just blurted out of color.
Could be, yeah.
And he doesn't really have a great sense of what his favorite color is.
I don't either.
I mean, I think it's green.
I always say it's green, but is it really green?
I don't know.
What's your favorite color?
Blue.
but I don't, yeah, I'm the same kind of way.
I don't like orange.
I don't love red either.
It's either blue or green.
Do you guys have?
Go ahead, sorry.
A good information from the chat from Solifty,
new Chevy Camero and Corvette sales banned in Europe.
So Pepe will need to import the car if he wants to hold on to it.
Or find a used one, I guess.
Well, he doesn't have to buy a Camaro in Europe.
he just has to transport his
the Camaro he already owns
Yeah
I wonder how much that costs
No we'll look into that
We'll look into it
Why were Camaros and Corvette sales
banned in Europe
Just anti-Americanism
We'll need the chat to look into that
It's not included in the clip that's showing up there
Fuel efficiency says Tim
Okay
Do you have a chess stats spreadsheet already
Yes, Justin and USMNT on Twitter.
Justin is keeping that.
And he has the, he's still building it out.
It's got their ratings, their accuracy,
and some other stats that I'm not competent to explain.
But yeah, it's an ongoing project,
and we're thinking, Justin has suggested we put the Camara information in the chess one.
I might want to keep it separate.
just because that Camaro type spreadsheet is going to get pretty big.
What kind of, what's the end product of this project going to be?
Is it like going to be a PowerPoint presentation or a video?
I think we're going to,
Justin and I had a chat for a while.
I think I'm going to turn it.
It's the best way might be to start.
We're going to do an article where we have transcripts of what Justin was saying
and we show some breakdowns of where the big mistakes were in the,
in the game that we analyzed.
And then from there, we'll see how many people are interested in the chess matches of American
soccer players.
And then maybe we can figure out something from there.
But can you actually watch an animated version of the...
You can watch all of their games play out and click through and look at the stats of what
was the right move and what was the wrong move.
It's very exciting.
Oh, man.
Godspeed.
So we have some miscellaneous questions.
We're at 47 minutes now.
can, you know, no problem wrapping it up here shortly.
Vic from Austin asks, if Concaf announced today that it was merging with Comma Ball,
Kamabal is the South American Soccer Confederation, for all future competitions, not including
the current cycle, would it be a net positive or negative for American soccer?
This means the Gold Cup, Concaf Champions League, et cetera, would cease to exist and their
South American counterparts become Pan American.
I wonder how this World Cup thing changes that.
would think it would be kind of cool to be in Copa America every year. Beyond that, I think travel would be an issue.
Because South America is a lot further away than I realized. I was looking at a map of it.
Oh, and it's so long, too. It's so far from Colombia to, like, Argentina. So much farther.
Did you know the north, the north part of Brazil is closer to Canada than it is to the south part of Brazil?
Seriously?
Yeah, I saw, I saw, I was looking,
bunch of maps yesterday.
Found this Twitter
called Amazing Maps
and then they have a sister account
that's called Terrible Maps.
I was looking through all of those.
Cool.
I didn't realize that's,
that is a striking fact
that the northernmost part of Brazil
is closer to Canada than it is to the
southernmost part of Brazil.
Oh, Jordan has a good distance
fact here. The trip from Seattle to
Buenos Aires is longer than London to Tokyo.
How about that?
Yeah, man.
Crazy.
Yeah, we, my, I think I've said this before, my wife and I, and our six-month-old son at the time, almost moved to Columbia for a year.
It didn't quite work out, but we went there for like three weeks to scout it out.
And I wanted to go to some other parts of South America on that trip.
But then I started looking at flights and stuff, and it was like, it was like a nine-hour flight from Bogota to Buenos Aires.
I mean, don't, don't quote me on that, that it was nine hours.
but it was really long flight and expensive as well.
So we didn't.
We just stayed in Columbia.
Anyway, all that to say, I do think there's some logistical challenges,
but I agree with you.
It would be a net positive.
It'd be awesome to, to, um, and we-
I've never been to South America.
I'd like to go there.
Yeah.
Columbia is fascinating for me because it's,
the weather is determined by altitude,
not by any sort of north-south.
movement.
So it's like all about how high you are on the mountains.
That's what determines the temperature and the climate.
Maybe what would happen with the merger is there would end up being a lot more games played
in the U.S. because it's a lot closer to Europe, right?
And the infrastructure is all here for stuff like the Copa America.
Yeah.
I think just for they would make more money if they came from the U.S. too.
But there's probably some hesitancy from, if I were South America, I maybe wouldn't
not want to do this because Cop America, as it is pretty cool.
But as a fan of the U.S., I would definitely like it.
It would be cool to play qualifiers in Bolivia and stuff like that.
Yeah.
I think they'd have to do like qualifying tournaments and
one location or something.
Or just like, well,
we'll figure out the logistics on this later.
Maybe they, yeah, we will.
Maybe they have to do like all the away ties and like,
do all the ties in South America in one bunch and then all the ties in North America
in one bunch instead of having like home,
home away home windows and just be like home, home, home and then away, away, away.
They're going to have to completely change qualifying if this two-year thing is going to happen.
Yeah.
I haven't read about it.
Is it definitely, is it definitely happening?
I don't, I don't know about that.
No, I don't think it's definitely happening, but it kind of seems like this stuff gets
floated from Geneva and then this sort of, you know, Infantino just kind of sees how
things play and then decides whether to pull the string or not.
C.S.
Let's move to the next question.
C.S.
Is it impressive or ridiculous that Bell's mispronounces a name in multiple ways instead of
just sticking to one pronunciation in his match recaps?
Most recently, Navas.
and Borges.
It is ridiculous, and I am ashamed.
I apologize.
I will do better.
I won't be perfect,
but I'll do better than I did on Navas and Borges.
And I will point out that I did land
on the correct pronunciation of Borges
at the end of that episode.
You seem to do a decent job overall pronouncing things,
but I guess I don't know how to pronounce words,
so I'm not one to judge that.
If you're doing a good job or not.
Yeah, that was a firestorm over your pronunciation of Robona.
Man, that was intense.
It actually wasn't.
You can just not look at your Twitter notifications
and everything's fine, it turns out.
Yeah, Niceville says it's not happening.
Okay, the World Cup over two years.
Are we done?
Yeah, I, I, we'll just,
let's just listen to the Ricardo Pepey song on the way out.
People in the chat can listen to it if they want.
I put it in the office hours thread.
Jordan points out,
traveling for World Cup qualifiers would be tough but doable.
Copa,
Libertadores would be a no-go.
Can't play a home game in Seattle on Saturday,
and then a Copa-Lib game in Santiago on Wednesday.
And in a way, league game in Toronto on Sunday,
it's just not sustainable.
Yeah.
Although Chris Richards played against Costa Rica on Wednesday,
and then Friday played in the Bundesliga.
That was pretty impressive.
He started both games, too, didn't he?
He came in, like, the 36-minute because of an injury.
But he played a bunch.
I assume they weren't planning to...
But the weird thing.
thing was they were playing three center backs, and they could have just to not play them on a two, but they didn't.
Or maybe they'd never play with two. I don't know.
All right, let's open it up for everybody to talk.
Thanks everybody for listening.
Thank you, Chris. We'll see you.
Ricardo Pepe, oh, Ricardo Pepe, oh, Ricardo Pepe, oh, that's inevitability.
He's all.
He's all.
He comes from El Paso and he chose the USA
Ricardo Pepi is out
In San Pedro Sula he rose up and saved the day
Ricardo Pepi is ours
He scores goals all day
He scores them every way
He comes from the border and he chose a USA
Now he's coming and showing
He lays it off and we're flowing
Into the box he's going
And he's ours
Ricardo Pepi
Oh Ricardo Pepi
What's that sound I hear
Oh that's inevitability
He's ours
He's off
He went off to Dallas
He was only 13
Ricardo Pepi is out
Now he drives a red Camero
And he piss his gasoline
Ricardo Pepi is out
He scores goals all day
He scores him everywhere
He comes from the border
And he chose a USA
Now he's found your back shoulder
And you might as well keel over
Because he's going to score a goal here and ease us.
Ricardo Pepe, oh, Ricardo Pepe, what's that sound I hear?
Oh, that's inevitability.
He's on.
Ease on.
Ease on.
