Scuffed | USMNT, World Cup, Yanks Abroad, futbol in America - #435: Yunus starts, Wes shines, Balo misses, Tillman slumbers
Episode Date: September 25, 2023The full Monday Review with Watke and Vince. Rundown of the weekend's action abroad, a detente reported between Gregg and Gio, plus much more.Subscribe to Scuffed on Patreon! Patrons get a private fee...d for the Monday Review, which is, among other things, a run-down of club action for national team players every week with Watke and Vince. We have recently added patron-only content that’s available every Friday. Patrons also get access to our private Discord server, live call-in shows, and the full catalog of historic recaps we've made: https://www.patreon.com/scuffed Skip the ads! Subscribe to Scuffed on Patreon and get all episodes ad-free, plus any bonus episodes. Patrons at $5 a month or more also get access to Clip Notes, a video of key moments on the field we discuss on the show, plus all patrons get access to our private Discord server, live call-in shows, and the full catalog of historic recaps we've made: https://www.patreon.com/scuffedAlso, check out Boots on the Ground, our USWNT-focused spinoff podcast headed up by Tara and Vince. They are cooking over there, you can listen here: https://boots-on-the-ground.simplecast.comAnd check out our MERCH, baby. We have better stuff than you might think: https://www.scuffedhq.com/store Hosted by Simplecast, an AdsWizz company. See pcm.adswizz.com for information about our collection and use of personal data for advertising.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
From the USSF approved territories of Georgia and Kentucky,
and also from the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia,
this is the Monday Review.
Hey, everybody, it's the Monday Review.
Usually, for patrons only, this week we're going to try to make it public.
Sign up for the Patreon, the links in the show notes,
to get the Monday Review delivered to your phone every week.
Let's start with some news from yesterday.
Greg and Gio have started to patch things up.
According to Matt Crocker,
as reported by Jeff Carlyle on Twitter.
I think both Greg and Gio are in a good place to move forward,
Crocker said.
Apparently he said they have met to move their relationship forward
with Rana set to be called into the next camp
for which he is healthy.
All right.
The way you put emphasis on, I think you added a level of uncertainty
that I did not read that as having.
Yeah, that was purely accidental, if so.
But, um, I mean, you have to put the blame on Mr. Crocker for saying, I think. You know what I'm saying? He's, he's an executive with a front-facing position where he has to talk to the masses, talk to the people. He has to be more clear in what he's declaring. We don't got no time for, for, for I think. Yeah. I thought that either. It's all, it's all, I was feeling awesome. And now, now I'm really in the dump. I think we're good. I just did it too, didn't I? Mm. I could have read it like this.
I think both Greg and Gio are in a good place to move forward.
Mm, okay, okay, hold on.
That's a totally different characterization.
If they have met, then that's good.
And he said they have met.
Did they need a third party there to referee the conversation?
Perhaps we'll never know.
So I was going to say, since he brought up the mediation part in Vanity Fair,
that, of course, he did it, but I guess he just mentioned that he talked to experts in mediation.
So maybe
Yeah, there just wasn't a third party
And Greg just took his
Newly acquired talents
And put him to good use
Either way, the end result is the end result
I'm choosing to imagine a team of lawyers
Involved
A giant boardroom
Yeah, just like
I don't know if y'all remember
When those charges were levied against Man City
And there was just like
It became a meme
Just a video of lawyers walking in briefcases
It couldn't have been
It wasn't that.
So, you know, I don't think any of this is a surprise.
Of course he's coming back.
Of course he's getting called in.
What's the next step?
What's the next step here?
Well, if you read the replies to the announcement,
John Brooks is the next step.
Okay.
Now do John Brooks.
Yeah, I mean, assuming they met in Germany,
things are too far away in Deutschland.
You know what I'm saying?
I guess maybe to answer your question,
the next step on the geofron.
would be for him to play and
soccer games
show up in a camp
show up in a camp you know what I'm saying
get out that car flash that smile
have a little gallery department hat on
you know what I'm saying
per usual
per usual some chrome heart something
little
drip for everybody and you know
we go again
we go again and beat Germany
in Hartford that that's the ultimate
grand finale you know I'm saying
confetti falling
Greg Burrhalter arms in the air
looking for somebody to hug
Who's that somebody happened to be
Who's he lock eyes with first?
Giovanni Raina
Give a nice little hug
Pat on the back
And then we move
And that's how we fully heal
We need some
You know
Some work from them
In terms of connected with each other
Yeah
It's really the last thing they did on the field together
Was him
Greg Berhalter doing that bounce pass
To Geo that he just be
didn't commit to at all.
I guess maybe that's something you guys didn't.
I didn't notice that.
It's been in my head for a long time.
That did happen.
It was a bounce pass that he refused to engage with, or did he just bat it away?
Yeah, it was an off, it was a poor bounce pass that he just made look as bad as possible.
Yeah, what says, what was that quote from Danielle, man, about, about the bounce passes?
Oh, yeah, I know the quote.
it's something to the effect of
I can make
we don't we don't need to get back into
I mean
I mean go on
let's do it a little bit
I can make
it's a beautiful quote
I can make one phone call
and all of his
cool sneakers and
and bounce passes will be gone
boom that's it
which I don't know if we ever talked about that
did she think people thought he was cool
there seemed to be some envy
resentment harboring
because no one thinks that
no one
yeah I don't know but
she was
may or may not have been delusional by other things too
so you know
we can keep moving but
her definition of cool may be different
than ours I mean
mine is different from yours right
we all have different definitions of course of course
of course.
But very few of ours include Greg Burrhalter's being cool.
I wouldn't think.
Correct.
Correct.
Now, now with the with the listenership of this pod and the particular demographic that this pod serves, you know what I'm saying?
Like, I think we might be able, we might get some different opinions, you know, you know, all my, all my brothers and sisters age is, you know, 40 to 60.
Yeah.
You know what I'm saying?
Like, I feel like Greg might hit that, might hit that sweet spot.
Yeah, and man, I've learned this over the past years.
Young people, they really don't like us very much.
I'm not.
Us?
Like, us three?
Well, I don't know.
Yeah.
Scoffed.
Yeah.
They like Vince.
They like Vince.
They like Vince.
I think it's mostly.
Me?
They don't know.
Like Greg?
I was, I was going to suggest me.
Maybe should we just kind of cynically become a little more anti-Berhalter just to get them on our side?
Hmm.
Like maybe start like a pretty anti-Berhalter YouTube presence where we can just prepare stuff for you to get on there every week.
And you just do it.
You go off.
Go to town.
Yeah.
And that could help get people to podcast.
I mean, we got to make some business decisions, you know?
Yeah.
It's business time.
Mm.
Anti-Berhalter, it's a viable business choice for sure.
Oh, okay.
So, Geo, the other thing, I mean, you mentioned it,
Waki by Geo still hasn't played for Dortmund.
He's been on the bench unused for the past two games, I believe.
Dortmund could, the way they're playing right now,
they could get some dead rubber Champions League games,
but that's not until closer to Christmas.
So if we want him to be here for this crowning victory over Germany
that sort of heals all the wounds of the national team,
You know, he's got to get on the field here pretty soon
Next couple weeks
But he's got to come either way
Unless he gets injured
Yeah, he'll come, that's true
But it would be nice to have him come in
With a head of steam
That is probably too much to ask
Let's talk about Weston
He was great
In a 4-2 loss for Juventus
At Sasuolo
But he was great
He's playing real calm, real tidy
He's awfully good
Yeah
He's just awfully good
So I think some people would say
That maybe
Just maybe he might be our best player
But you know what I'm saying
That's where I'm getting
That's kind of where I got to
This game's where I basically am right now
Yeah yeah
Yeah
I know it
Yeah
Pulisic's gonna come in some big game
And score like a goal that we absolutely need
In the future
Just as he has done in the past
And then it might
You know
Shift the hierarchy
I'm going to trick you around a little bit, but right now, if you're building the team, I think you'd, I would take West first.
Okay.
Interesting.
Does it feel good to hear that from us, Vince?
Because, you know, the past, maybe we have not been, you've been very consistent.
I've, I've waffled.
I'm not proud of it.
Yeah, man, I'm just happy that he's like, back.
and like clearly,
clearly healthy,
clearly healthy, man.
He's just,
he's moving well.
He got that,
he got that spring in his step.
He's just,
he's Wes again.
I don't want to harp on the receipts,
but there were some,
yeah,
there were some,
um,
uh,
20,
26 World Cup lineups that he would just fell out of the team.
And this was like after the World Cup,
before it leads and all that.
Like,
it was,
it was real nasty.
It was real nasty.
And I remember each one of y'all's faces,
names and addresses too.
So be on a,
to watch. Be on a lookout for me. He's here and he's back and it's beautiful.
It is a little, well, one other thing is just how control, in control of his situation he looks
like on the field out there. Like he, he kind of toys with the person who comes out to mark him
and then he just, he finds a solution one way or another. And it's, it is really nice to watch.
It is discouraging, I think, that he and Wea have to share a spot in the team that you,
Yu-Vey? That was never the idea.
Who came up with this?
It's not how we would have drawn it up.
I will say it's pretty interesting when Wea comes on and just does add something different.
That's kind of cool.
He's a burst.
He's challenging that back line.
Yeah.
His last game he started, he was like, Yu-Ve's best attacker.
And then he just disappeared, which, you know,
Weston's been doing his thing, but it's like, man, if you can get them both on the field,
they might do something crazy, like combined for a goal against Real Madrid or something.
But, you know, I guess Mr. Allegory was asleep when that happened in the preseason.
Got to get all those minutes for Rabio and Fajoli.
Fajoli, Medetti.
Which in this match, Mr. Moretti was quite ass, quite ass.
and Fajoli came on and got an assist
Fajoli was better than Meredi, I thought.
Better, yeah.
Which came from a Tim way across.
Received a ball on the right, crossed it in.
You know, ball fell to Fasioly who passed it to whoever scored the goal.
I forgot who it was.
It was Kiesa.
Okay.
But hopefully that isn't the type of situation that really sticks in Allegri's.
I mean, you know, it seemed that Weston McKinney,
he got zero points for his assist to Tim Wea, so fair is fair.
Fasioly gets zero points as well.
But I'm already seeing from some YuVe fan blogs that Fagioli is set to take
Merti spot in this next match.
Do they play Leche?
I don't even know if that's how you pronounce it.
But, yeah.
Oh, and also in the midweek,
Uve had something, I guess, like an open practice or something.
Whole bunch of media was invited.
The Italian national team coach,
I think it's Spiletti now.
Anyway, he pulled up.
And in that open practice,
Wes came out injured.
Supposedly, they said like a brace with ice
was on his knee,
which I don't know if it's just like a rap,
you know, where you get, you know,
just some ice on your knee.
But anyway, he didn't.
He just Wolverine healed again.
Right, right.
And I was locked in.
I was locked in.
Like ever, like once I saw,
saw that news. I was on the
UVA fan blogs, everything.
And basically I got
good news like five hours later that
he was going to be all right. Because
Alexandra also got hurt in that match, I mean,
in that practice. And
he was rolled out for the match
like immediately. And so
Nassi and Weston
ruled out. Put my fears at ease.
Put my fears at ease.
I mean, a broken bone, he's basically going to be
back from about three weeks.
So whatever happened to this practice,
It was not a problem.
I do.
Torn ACL would be like a month, maybe.
Max?
A month, yeah.
Month, five weeks, I'm like that.
He is, I was trying to look up
who the greatest throw-in
throw-iners of all time in soccer are.
There's not really a clear list.
He's got to be up there because he's got a missile
of a long throw.
And he just threw a dime off, like,
two steps from the halfway line.
perfect ball in behind in the first half.
Doesn't it still seem like a phase of the game that isn't fully exploited yet in soccer?
Like, if people would just, if the team in possession just act with a little bit more alacrity, you know, they could get some stuff done.
I do think that the nerds are on to this, though.
So it's just going to be a couple years before everyone catches up.
And Liverpool did something.
There was a bunch of articles about that.
That's true.
Yeah, but having a throwing coach and all that.
But I don't think there's ever been a...
The thing about the nerds is...
He's probably the best throwing artist ever.
The nerds is...
The nerds...
People listen to them for a little bit,
but then it gets exhausting to listen to them, you know?
Because they talk too much.
They talk too much.
They have too many numbers.
You know?
Well, they're in a tough spot.
They're either just going to have to overlook,
show you their spreadsheets or talk,
and neither of them we have much interest in.
Right.
That's what I'm saying.
I mean, the devil and the deep blue sea there.
Well, Wea does add something different,
but I guess we just have to pray that he'll,
he and Wes can get on the field at the same time.
I don't know.
And Juventus, so, yeah, you said their game is tomorrow against Leche,
and they're obviously not in Champions League,
so there's some shortage of fixture congestion there.
Waki, what do you think about
young Christian's performance on Saturday?
I'm glad you've asked me this.
I thought people were way too sad about it.
Because I didn't watch it live.
I saw this big hole we were just wailing.
Everyone was really down in the dumps.
I watched the game.
He's having just pretty much a completely normal game,
kind of good even in spots.
It's not until the 70th minute even begins to make sense
while people are upset.
I lost the ball a couple times.
I guess people just kind of went off a cliff there.
We got to do something about this.
Just week to week.
I don't know how you guys feel about the game,
but I just...
I think we need to find spots
to feel a little better about things.
If we're going to be upset every time
he doesn't have an amazing game,
it's no way to go through life.
I can appreciate that, yeah.
I went back and watched his involvements
and it was not as bad as I thought it was initially.
I guess there is like this, you know, the synchronicity of humans.
There's like this collective, this collective feeling that grows when there's a bunch of people
talking about it with each other.
It also doesn't help.
I think Pulisic contributes to this himself by being sad, sad looking on the field when he's
not going exactly as well as he would want him to go.
And then we feel that.
We internalize that.
He does.
We can't just, he's putting that on us, which isn't fair, and then we put it out into the world.
I don't know, man.
I was, I was watching the game by myself, and I thought he was ass.
Okay.
I wasn't, I wasn't talking to anybody.
I wasn't reading anything.
It was some point in the second half, I popped in the Discord.
I was like, boy.
I mean, you, you know, it's not like ass ass, but like.
It's like ass.
So, you know, in the midweek, he didn't start, right?
Mr. Chuck Waze started, did, I don't know.
He did a little bit of something, a little bit of nothing.
Like, you know, not too much.
But if Rafah Leal just lays off a ball one time, he scores a goal and then, I don't know,
maybe we spiral even further.
But it's just that thing where it's like, bro, if you want to make sure you lock this spot down,
for sure, for sure.
Just going to need a little bit more from you.
Going to need a little bit more from you, in my opinion.
Need a little bit more is definitely fair.
A couple things.
He, you know, his work rate helped lead to that first goal,
kind of had a got an interception and poked it away from a guy to Jeru
who played Liao into goal, you know, on goal.
That makes it 1-0.
That was all Milan needed to win the game and get the three points.
He nearly scored late in the second half with his left foot,
which was really, really good.
You know, he kind of tried to take the guy on from the right wing, kind of circled around him onto his left foot and then took a shot from a tight angle, but drew a good save.
Now, hold on, Bill.
Let me talk about this real quick.
Mm-hmm.
Because this, like, like, the main thing I was taking away from this match watching it, to me, was just, he's just so up and down physically, poorly is.
And it's possible that the ups are just playing against Mexico and them slow-ass boys.
and that, you know, when he, when he, on the field against Mexico, he just looks like
Luca Coliocho out there or something.
That play, Bells.
So for me, he tried to, he's at the standard, he's at a standard stop, right?
Stand a stop, a typical take-on situation, try to get to the end line, whatever.
He gets beat to the spot.
He gets beat to the spot.
And as a, and, and, so I don't know if you guys are real hoopers or not.
But for anybody's played basketball, so you know the opportunity to hit the
the perfect spin move.
The opportunity to hit the spin move is when you get beat to the spot.
Like,
like,
you know,
you would always prefer just a,
just a straight line drive.
That's what Pully tried.
He got beat.
Now,
the term was nice.
I'm not taking anything away from this play.
Like,
if,
you know,
the decline has been,
like,
if the decline is here,
you're just going to find different ways to do it.
Like, people do it all time.
It's not that big a deal.
But I'm just,
I'm just noting it.
I'm just noting it.
That's just a middle note for me.
And you know what?
I think that contributes to some of the, you know, yes, it contributes to some of the sadness
because he isn't as fast as he used to be. And it's a shame. It's everything. It's the whole
reason that I'm sad. He was very fast. He's not fast anymore. I've incorporated that
into how I view the games. Maybe I don't think that's what Vince is doing here. But
Some people are just upset that he's not fast anymore because it was pretty cool when he was really fast.
Yeah, I am.
I'm upset that he's not fast anymore because I don't know what kind of player he is at an elite level if he can't beat people 1 v1.
Yeah.
He can't stand somebody up and beat them 1B1 right now.
It doesn't look like unless it's one of those fullbacks for Mexico.
Yeah.
Hell is Verona.
You know what I'm saying?
I mean,
bro,
I will say,
though,
Eunice was having trouble
physically with some of these guys.
I mean,
these were some stout fellas.
Like, uh,
yeah,
yeah,
they,
they have quite an athletic team.
I ain't gonna lie.
I'm not going to sit and act like they just some,
yeah,
some mozzarella merchants.
They had some real tough guys out there,
too.
They're real,
real mugging it up in a few spots.
I,
I really didn't much care for it.
I'm used to seeing in Eunice just,
like,
absolutely dominate people physically.
And he was,
you know,
he was,
getting knocked off the ball some too.
Although he had a good game.
He did.
Oh, so also just we, on the, on the pulley, well, first of all, I forgot to mention that West
enforced an own goal, just to bring that, to bring that up real quick.
I forget to mention that, yeah.
It was almost a Weston McKinney goal, but we got too many cameras in the stadium, you know what I'm
saying?
When you take some advantage points out, because that would have been a Weston McKinney goal.
But, but anyway, you know, he did, he also, he needs to act like he scored it, but he just
didn't because he knows how many cameras there are.
So he didn't do anything.
Yeah, because I feel like Italians would appreciate the theater of it.
If he did act like he scored, they might have just gave it to him.
Just like, I respect it.
But never mind, he's black.
Anyway, so Milan played midweek, right?
Champions League.
Who they played against?
Newcastle.
Newcastle.
Yeah, Newcastle.
Zero, zero.
Busted them, really.
would they have like 2.75 XG or something it was incredible but anyway
Pully came on that week as see this is why it's been building right we had the
international window had the Inter Milan match had this midweek match had this
Hellas Verona match you know I'm saying the frustration has been building a little bit
with Pully like so that's why we're at this position now and yeah he wasn't he wasn't
that good against Newcast it wasn't influential at all for real but yeah
Yeah, Eunice, the reason why he got this start on the weekend is because he came into this match against Newcastle and looked great.
He was great against Newcastle.
He was.
We're doing this thing.
We'll step over action and which, you know, we got that slow mo of the step over and the, and I guess it would have been called a foul if Eunice didn't keep going.
But I need for that clip to include the pass that he played after, you know what I'm saying?
Yeah, zipped it right across the six
And I think it was it was Pulisic
Who was a step away from punching it in, right?
Yep
Just couldn't quite get there
But yeah man
This is a
It's a good science for Eunice
Good science for Eunice
He's fought his way on the field
So what I do need
Is for managers to quit playing this man
In attacking positions
You know what I'm saying
He played wing back this last match
and it's just like
I mean we saw
there were like a few situations
where like he had to do something like
incisive in the attacking third and
he almost like punted the ball
like it was almost like a
like you know what
I'm a show I'm a show coach that I don't even need to be here
right now like he tried to hit that cross
yeah so I'm sensing you've kind of seen enough from him
in the final third that you're not even really interested
in him trying to improve it
just let's nail down the
Eunice has a...
He's tried to do everything in his power to tell people.
They're like, yo, I'm not that guy.
Like, bro, even if you just look at Eunice,
like, you know what attackers look like, right?
Attackers, you know what I'm saying?
They usually got a nice trim.
They might, you know, bleach their hair,
something like that, you know what I'm saying?
They have a look to him.
Eunice, I mean, like, I'm looking at pictures of him from this match.
You know, no cut.
You know what I'm saying?
Just out here thugging it out.
You know what I'm saying?
It's just, he's a nice lad in it.
He's a nice lad.
We've heard him talk.
A nice Muslim boy, you know, that tries not to make a fuss.
Just goes about his business.
You could tell Eunice to do anything and he would do it for you.
Just heart of gold.
But he's trying to, he's giving us his subtle hints.
I didn't even think about that part of it.
Yeah, man.
But, you know.
He did nearly score.
He didn't nearly score.
I mean, like, he had a good shooting opportunity.
He had a good shot on frame.
It was kind of similar to Pulisix's left-footed shot
in that it was about head-high within the goalkeeper's reach.
He did.
But yeah, I don't know if Wes, Eunice,
either of those two is going to get much time in the midfield.
These Italian teams just want to play them at wingback.
You need to start asking why.
Well, I said it's fine.
You said that something different,
and I'm going to take a gift sign of this.
I think maybe it's racism.
But, you know, whatever.
Play everyone at Wingback.
We'll figure it out when they come to camp.
Yep.
Heartbreaking Catalonia.
You know what I'm talking about, right?
Thelta Vigo.
Almost a dream win for Luca.
He had a great game too.
They're up two nothing.
I like 80th minute.
Yeah, 80th minute.
80th minute, bro.
Barcelona scores one.
goal and then we all know
what's about to happen and it happens
they lose three two. I have my
rat tweets lined up man.
We were going to bear you,
Shavi.
You're so lucky.
But I was certain, because
that second goal came in, I mean, what, the 80th
minute, 78th, something like that,
whatever. Beautiful pass from
Eago Aspas, by the way.
But, but yeah,
I think this might have been Lucas' best match
of the season.
Yeah, to me.
I mean, got an assist off a, the assist was funny, right?
A pass comes into Luca that he tries to control on the half turn.
He does not.
It squirts out a little bit.
And so in a panic, Mr. Luca just gets a foot to it, stabs it.
And the person, I think the person that came out was, it was part of the backline.
I don't know if it was a left back or a centerback.
But basically, the striker came in.
just came into that space that the,
that the player that Luca B to the ball avoided and scored a goal.
Nice little assist for Luca Deloory.
We'll take it though.
We'll take it.
But because the thing is, he came back like five minutes later and could have had like a pre-assist.
Also, release somebody in the space who probably should have shot, in my opinion.
But the cutback, I mean, try to play a little ball across that was blocked out.
And on that assist, I really like him getting that ball first that he,
mishandle a little bit, a little bit of La Liga level athleticism there.
Yeah.
You know, not, you know.
He also, late in the game, carrying the ball past Barcelona defenders, getting in behind.
Yep.
You know, making a difference.
I don't think anything that happened at the end was really his fault.
It's just kind of how things are destined to be in the nation of Spain.
it seems.
People are asking if maybe we,
he just keeps wearing this mask forever that he has on.
Hey, he's looking good.
He's playing, he's playing well.
Yeah, he's doing this thing, man.
I mean,
seems like he's going to get something like
2,000 minutes,
2,000 minutes playing in the menfield for the Delta.
Great to see it.
Great to see it.
This would have been huge for relegation purposes.
Yeah.
win would have. I mean, they're still like outside of the relegation spots or whatever. But,
you know, as always, Seltaviga will be going down to the last six, uh, seven games,
the La Liga season and will be threatened with relegation, but then Mr. Ospas will come up
clutch, as he always does. I mean, just the coolest, one of the coolest stories of football, man,
just doing it, doing it for his hometown team. I mean, that has to be just cool as hell.
That past, like you said on the second goal from him was,
It was like the definition of a slide rule.
Pass, just the weight on it is perfect through that little window.
That would be a pass.
It would be good if Christian would do, learn to do.
That is another.
If we just want to keep critiquing him, that would be another area.
I know I said people were too sad, but.
Yeah.
There were some paths.
I'm not with my breath.
Pass was silly.
Oh, oh, and this came after Luca had the Football America's interview, right?
Oh, yeah.
You got the sound bells?
Yeah, you want it where he talks about grocery stores?
Yeah, yeah.
Okay.
When I was playing in Holland,
the fans of the club called me Frankie DeYoung from Aldi,
which is like Frankie DeYoung from a cheap, like, knockoff supermarket,
which I guess was a compliment.
I hadn't heard that last part, but I guess it was a compliment.
He was happy.
He's thrilled by it.
He liked it.
No, it's a good.
It's a good thing.
All these fine, right?
I haven't been there for a minute, but.
Bro, all these great.
I got an Audi, uh, five minutes from my house.
And, and let me tell you something.
These grocery prices are, like, getting crazy.
I'm not going, I mean, for, for me to get to the point where, where I'm saying this,
you know, a rich man full of just pockets of money, uh, myself, uh, like, yo, these groceries
I started to hit.
Like my wife went to the, went to Meyer the other day, which might have been part of the
problem.
She went to Meyer.
But she came back $300 of groceries and.
It didn't look like $300 of groceries.
Bro, I was looking at the hall.
I was looking at the hall and I said to her, she actually, I just looked at her and said,
babe, I'm not going to lie.
I'm kind of dubious of your strategy here at the grocery store.
She did not appreciate.
that but um yeah i mean you have couples going at each other that's when we know we
the price is it's a tearing america part that's the thing it wasn't her fault it wasn't her
fault but i'm just looking at the receipt i'm like bro i just paid three hundred dollars for what i
mean i'm not seeing too many meals in this yeah time for us to all just start eating crickets
man you know what i'm saying um and you can i mean you could you would have saved an aldi i don't
want to it is yeah man uh did you alldi's a great place
They got a great produce section, too.
Quality products as well.
So that's part of why, which Luca understands.
That's why he took a little man.
He's a sensible man.
So, so he explained it further, which lets me, like, like, I'm not sure if he knows that we have Aldi in the U.S. or not.
You know what I'm saying?
Like, like speaking to football America, as he felt the need to explain that Aldi was a cheap grocery store.
I wonder if they had them in San Diego.
He must know that.
I think he was talking to a British person.
Oh,
oh,
fair enough,
fair enough.
But also,
go ahead,
Bill.
Well,
just a little more on the corporate history of Aldi.
They,
they split into two companies in Germany.
Aldi Nord and Aldi sued.
And Aldi sued is the one that brought Aldi to the U.S.
Alde Nord,
their two separate companies started by the same family.
Aldi Nord is the,
parent company of Trader Joe's.
Right.
So Trader Joe's comes from the Nord version.
Which when you go in Trader Joe, like if you've been to a Trader Joe's and all these,
you can see the similarities a little bit.
But I don't understand what it is with German family starting companies and then,
you know, splitting.
And then what happened with like Adidas and Puma?
Yeah, they seem to be doing this over and over again.
That's a good point.
I don't know.
I don't know.
No.
Interesting.
But the whole reason why I wanted to bring this up was just because, you know, they called
them Aldi Frankie DeYoung, but, you know, Frankie had to come out this game injured because
Luca was putting that pressure on him.
That's all I'm saying.
That's all I'm saying.
Yeah, it's what's going to happen to Meyer as Aldi, you know, as more people come to their
senses, get their groceries at Aldi.
Fair enough.
Fuller and Balgan, did anything, you know, anything happened there this weekend?
No
He was
He was pretty good in the run of play
I would say
Yeah nothing really much worth talking about
He did miss two penalties
But
You know
Whatever
It's variance
It's variance
Forget about it
I say we forget about it
There were good penalties
Sure
They were
Let me just describe the penalties
real quick
Because both of them were on frame
but neither was far enough away from the keeper.
So he went hard and low to the left,
but not far enough.
Keeper gets down and plums it hard up into the air.
Ballot gets whistled for a foul
for grabbing the defender who's trying to head it away.
That was not a great penalty.
It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great.
And then the second one was almost the same
except closer to the goalkeeper and even harder.
And the keeper kind of gets low and knocks it away again.
That thing went in the orbit when it hit the keeper.
The ricochet was crazy.
Didn't that thing go out to touch?
It might have, yeah.
He hit it freaking hard.
And here's what he said on Twitter.
It is difficult to turn the page on last night's defeat.
I know how much this game meant to the fans and us a team.
I take responsibility but failed on this occasion.
Fans.
They don't have fans.
Well, I didn't know this, but apparently their matches versus Nice are like a big Derby,
which I guess they're fighting for like the nicest place to visit in France.
It's like Nice Monaco, you know what I'm saying, just fighting for supremacy.
And Nice took this round, so.
I think that's where most of the local or fans, they go to the Nice games because it's basically less expensive, is my understanding.
I appreciate that maybe he is just making sure we don't have a penalty taker controversy on the national team.
Okay.
Could have happened if he goes in there, slots them in.
Next time, let's say we're playing Germany.
We get a penalty.
He has that striker mentality, goes up and seizes it.
Polisick's coming for it.
What happens?
I think Pulisic would have to take it, but we'd have a scene.
We don't want to have that scene.
I mean, we still want flow.
I mean, we still want Bala to want the penalty, right?
I mean, we want him to hate Greg Burrhalter and always be at odds with him.
And we want him to get into fights with Christian Pulisic over who gets to take the penalty.
That's what we want, right?
It's a real striker in it.
I mean, you know, we beg, prayed for one.
Now that we have one, we got to know what to do with it, you know what I'm saying?
Yeah.
So maybe you're right.
I should not want our striker to miss multiple penalties.
Yeah, but you're looking for the silver lining, which I, you know, which is good.
Well, Bells, so you were starting to read that last sentence that he put in the tweet, but I'll go ahead and do that real quick.
Please.
Mr. Faleran said, I will always believe in myself and my focus is to make it right and help us reach all our objectives, exclamation point.
You know what I'm saying?
So, hey, hey, you know, we go again, essentially.
We go again.
I like the turn of phrase, but failed on this occasion, you know, localizes the failure without minimizing it.
Yeah, yeah.
It's good.
You're going to fail on occasion.
Did we need an apology?
You know, did we, though, need one?
Yes, I needed one.
Okay.
No, I'm just kidding.
I didn't need one, but I like when a player takes responsibility for something that's not ideal.
well if you want to talk about somebody not taking responsibility for something that's not ideal
sir jean yo dust you know what i'm saying that's your man that's your man right there uh midweek
arsenal's first champions league match in a long time just to feel like this has been a long
time just to look like this has been a long time uh and arsenal is back in the champions
league uh and they and they dust at PSG 4 nil 4 nil
But what does Serge do?
What does Serge do?
He posts his highlights.
Yeah.
A highlight reel of him dribbling.
A high video.
This performance.
A little sizzle reel.
I love it.
Which, we want him doing this.
Absolutely we want him doing this.
We don't want anyone else doing this, but we want him doing this.
Yeah.
Was he like, I guess he was sort of at fault for maybe the first or second goal, but was he,
I mean, was he like, was he in hell during that game?
People have over-exaggerated the amount of hell that he was in or was not, but I will say this.
Like, I think we do need to accept the fact that he is currently bad at defense.
I'm not ready to accept that.
I mean, there was, he did put one highlight, one play in that highlight where he stole the ball from Saka,
which I've really liked that he did that.
He did a few things like, you know, once, twice, three times, but it's just, he's just not good
of defense, like the overall package of defense of defending.
You know what I'm saying?
We saw him get beat the backposts against Rangers.
We saw what happened against Netherlands.
His last match before he was put in hell by Javi, he actually started, and I forgot who
they were playing, but he gave up an early goal that led to a lot of Zeprudering.
But it's just in these moments where like other defenders would do better,
he just consistently does not do better.
Like all the off the ball stuff, he just doesn't have.
And on the first goal, if he watched that first goal back, okay.
Bacayo receives a ball.
Touchline.
Serge is like three yards away.
He's in the defendant posture, but like he's not doing anything.
And Saka just walks him down.
Serge keeps backing up, backing up, backing up.
Saka walks him down
So he's almost like at the box.
Serge has still not met his line of confrontation, I guess,
to go up and pressure Bacaio at all.
Bacaio plays it inside, shots taken,
and, you know, Serge misses his marco.
I mean, like, you know, loses track of Saka,
which, you know, the centerback next to him
also could have made a play on the ball.
Also, just don't spill, just don't spill the ball,
Benitez.
But, you know, it's just, the entire package
is just not there.
bro. He's not good to defend him right now.
We got to, we gotta.
He falls asleep. He falls asleep sometimes, but I don't know, man.
Maybe, I mean, yeah, whatever.
I think whether he's good at defending or not,
it is not socially acceptable to post a highlight video of yourself
after your team gets roasted for zero.
Hey, hey.
That's maybe the, it's just the social skills thing.
What place do we have to judge someone who's living in their own world?
you know
like we
like who are we
to even weigh in on this
keep doing
exactly what you're doing
don't change the things
Virginia
although it's really
you really shouldn't do that
so he was he was left back
left back midweek
and people
you know I saw some rumblings
that that may be
the posting of the video
would lead to him
getting benched
this weekend
against Almere City
but you know it seems like Mr. Pete Tobash had bigger discipline issues to worry about
which we'll get to
yeah let's get through it right now
well I just want to say he started it right back
Serge did end up starting but yeah let's go ahead and get to it
it seems like Serge is going to play a lot but yeah um Waki
go ahead I was just before we get to the um
the hot button issue
uh about our you'll play
that we care a lot about, so it's going to be a difficult conversation.
But Serge was playing in his hometown.
Oh, yeah.
His home club.
Wasn't a whole lot of pomp.
I don't know if they knew it was his hometown.
I don't know if he knew it was his hometown.
He probably didn't.
He didn't know.
I don't think he might not have cared.
I'm guessing he doesn't care.
It's like a suburb, but isn't it like across the river from Amsterdam?
It's like really close to Amsterdam.
It's like a city they invented in.
The 70s.
Okay.
Which is weird to think about in Europe.
They had to invent a lot of stuff post-World War II in...
That's true.
In the Netherlands.
Rotterdam, mostly post-war, post-war city.
Anyway.
I didn't know that.
Tillman, you didn't come off the bus.
Before Almera City.
And people were wondering, well, why didn't he come off the bus?
And then it turns out, oh, well, he...
overslept and he was
punished by being left out of the squad
I mean we knew he was languid but
very languid
this pretty languid
it's so easy to oversleep though
I don't want to
I think it doesn't this doesn't
in the long run
you never do it on purpose
it just happened sometimes
he was on the bus
is that we're saying
we don't know for sure if he was on the bus
we just know he didn't come off the bus
We don't know exactly
He never was on the bus
Yeah
Okay
He was probably late for the bus
And then Bosch was like
Screw it man
We're going without you
I'm guessing
Incredible that wasn't
Surge you did this
Yeah
Oh man
I was thinking about time
When I was in college
We were about to go play a game
And we were leaving
I don't know
I think it was Friday morning or something.
We had a decent distance to travel.
And we were supposed to be there at a certain time.
Because usually, like, if we're leaving in the morning, we'll get to the stadium
and, like, do our, like, Friday walk through and, like, get down with that,
then hop on the bus and dip.
And, like, it was somebody.
I just remember, like, leaving a dude in the parking lot.
Like, he pulled up.
He overslept, right?
The practice was, like, extremely early, like, five, six o'clock or whatever.
That man overslept, but pulled up, like, before the bus left.
and coach was just like leave his ass
just dipped out
so got to draw the line somewhere
right?
Yeah, it just is what it is
it just is what it is
but I'm assuming
that Malik feels shame
a little bit more than Serge does
so he'll respond appropriately
yeah it is not
I mean he is on loan from Byron Munich
at PSV Einhoven
So, you know, his situation with regard to the coach
Maybe a bit more tenuous than if he had been signed for $40 million like Balagan
Not ideal to
It's not ideal in any situation, but maybe it's a little less ideal in his
Than it would be if you were a permanent member of that team
But whatever, it's it's gonna be fine, I'm guessing
Uh-huh
Uh-huh
Also, Peppy scored in this game
Yep
Rico keeps scoring
and keep scoring
which there was also some angst
because he was the last
of the yanks to come on in the Champions League match
with the game being long gone
done and dusted for a while
and de yong didn't come off
and yeah
everybody got a little bit up in arms and that
but rico's fine man it's just you know
when de yon comes off peppy comes on
and so as long as he's in that position
I'm good with it and he keeps
scoring to. And and it was just, like I mean, I know Omere City is not good, but like the way
he received this pass and just the entire package of that goal that he scored, I'm just like,
it's a good player, man. It was a nice, it was a nice calm, calm finish after rounding the keeper,
but my, oh my, that poor centerback, what was he doing? Just flopping all,
laughing all over the place, dude.
I responded to USM&T only,
only's video of that with,
it's just, hey, man, I feel bad for that centerback.
And of course, somebody comes in,
future MLS defender.
Like what?
What are you talking about?
Put your agenda down for like three seconds.
Oh, oh.
Yo, if, so if I can return to surge real quick,
I've been thinking a lot about this this week.
And I do feel like he needs to find a way to feel shame.
Just a little bit.
Not a lot.
We still want surge to be surge.
But like shame and pride have a correlation.
You know what I'm saying?
Like you cannot take pride in defending if you can't feel shame.
You know what I'm saying?
If every time you get beat, you just, we've all seen it.
Surge does that little skip.
and it hits his size with his hands
and he's just like ah well darn it didn't get that one
and that's the end of it I never connected that
when the second his hands hit it's over
yeah and I'm just saying like
in order for him to be
but because for me if I'm coaching on the other side
we're going at Serge all match we're just going at surge all match man
we're seeing if we can get in behind them we're going at them
when he's there,
seeing if we can get him on the backposts,
all these types of things.
I mean,
I'm doing,
we're throwing him through the wringer,
through the washer.
Because you know,
if you throw him through enough times,
one of the times he's going to,
at least one of the times he's going to fall asleep.
And even when you're watching him,
like,
when he's in the back,
when he's on the back post in situations,
it's just like,
you're looking at him,
and you can see his,
you can see his concentration,
like laps and come back,
laps and come back.
And it was just like, yo, Serge, I just need you to have a little bit of shame, just have a little bit of fear that like, because I think he's only like, did I get megged?
No, I'm good.
You know, it's that type deal.
Did I get meg?
Did I fall?
Anything like that?
Which he did make Ben White fall.
And, well, I'll get to that.
But yeah, we need a little bit of shame.
A little bit of shame for my man.
Shame as a use feeling, the ability to feel shame as a useful human characteristic.
It's an interesting question because there's some evidence in our society that, you know, the incapacity to feel shame is actually quite an asset, you know, for some people.
I mean, yes.
But, you know, those people are usually called sociopaths for the most part.
And sometimes they can tend to use their powers for wrongdoing.
But, you know, when you play on a team and you're responsible to other people, then, then yeah, you might need a little bit of, just a little bit of shame.
But also, I do think the reason he's unbenchable is just like, like that Arsenal match.
PSV wasn't getting the ball at the field if it went for Serge.
Right.
Serge was just facing dudes up, like, was giving it to whoever, which is why he posted the highlights because he's like, hey, I did my thing.
which, hey, it is what it is, but yeah, it's just that side of the ball, man.
Got to figure it out.
Okay.
Tyler Adams may be back in the next two weeks.
I mean, it feels a little silly to say those words out loud,
but Andoni Irola said,
Tyler, last week he said Tyler Adams won't be available for the Brighton game,
but he has started training partially with the group.
There's a chance of having him in the next week or two weeks or so.
So, you know, keep an eye out for that.
beautiful, which, you know, maybe there was some,
there was some consternation about, who's he played for?
Bormouth, for Bormouth getting relegated.
Also, maybe Fulham getting relegated.
But these teams that we've brought up from the championship seem to be so bad
that maybe everybody's just chilling for this entire season.
Like all three of these teams, Shepley, United, Burnley, and Luton,
have one point through six games.
Yikes. By the way, Sheffieldy Nannock got beat 8-0 by Newcastle, which is crazy.
And also, maybe Austin Trustee gets a chance to play centerback for him now after they get eight dropped on them.
I mean, you would think there would be some rotation?
Has he not played yet?
He made like one cameo for like not a long time.
Yeah.
Well, he might not have an awesome time out there.
if he does get out there.
So it's, you know.
Yeah, it's kind of half a dozen one way, six the other.
Baker's dozen.
Yeah, he played four minutes against Tottenham.
And I'm pretty sure they scored in those four minutes that he was out there.
I don't think it had anything to do with him.
But, yeah.
I deliberately misused the term Baker's dozen there,
just for those of you paying attention.
It's an inside joke.
What about Hani Mukhtar?
He could perhaps play for the U.S. as early as 2025.
Sudanese dad, German mother, grew up in Germany, married a girl he met in Nashville, one of the best attackers in MLS.
The rules are too complicated for me, but my understanding is it could be 2025 when he can play.
And somebody asked him about it, and he said, I'm just waiting for the call.
So, I don't know.
I think he's, I kind of like to see him for the national team.
If he can play by 2025, let's get him in the mix.
he'd be 30 at that point
so not
not too old
yeah I mean
so we can see
we can see what I will
I will admit
that I haven't watched
too much of honey
but I mean I did see him
come to Louisville and score on my club
I did see that
but it's just
a lot of the times
you know
when I'm saying these highlights
he's nice
don't get me wrong
he's nice
but he's
you know
he's in a
he's in acres of
look man
I don't
hey this
we need more of this
keep going
keep going
we need more of this
the MLS defending
people are going to love this
yeah
let's take it
it's typical
typical MLS things man
he's he's running out
you know
we're running at a back line
with like 30 40 yards
of runway doing his thing
and he does something amazing
every time
You hear that people?
That's us disrespecting the MLS.
So just register that on your...
That's just what I'd be seeing in the highlights.
I'm sorry, y'all.
I'm sorry.
No, it's true, though.
There's no doubt about it.
People who argue otherwise are...
Well, it's true.
Honey, I noticed when he played in that open cup final
against Inter-Miamy,
like you know obviously messy was a difference maker in that game but hani was clearly a difference
maker in that game too like you could see like who are the who are the big players here it's
lino messy and hani muktar and uh so that that made an impression on me yeah yeah um i mean
regardless of what i said he is that dude he is that dude and he does pull off
incredible feats with the soccer ball so yeah i'm with it i'm with it man who else is in the
attacking, you know, depth chart.
Let's talk about the Aronson brothers.
Oh, all right.
Well, first let's do Brando.
Oh, okay. We're doing Brenda.
So, sub-appearance midweek against Real Madrid, in Madrid.
We made a mistake on the last pile.
We said, first of all, we were talking about the fact of just the Champions League
League bringing in the German forest.
they aren't playing at
Union Berlin's home grounds
they're playing in the Olympic Stadium
where her to plays
get more fans in the
in the in the park
which if
if Union has enough fans to make that place rock
I mean you know just a huge stadium
right
that would be cool as hell
that would be cool as hell
but yeah they were in Madrid
Brendo came on he did a few
he did a few Brendano things
he got the ball taken on
off him once and guess what he did
three minutes later took the ball off somebody else
it was great to see
you know that's Brendan for you though
yeah yeah
running around
started this weekend against Hoffenheim
I think he wasn't supposed to start but somebody got
injured in the pregame right
right he came in it was crawl or somebody
but which is a little
like this was his first start
post red card
right so after after he got that red card he hasn't started since and this was an accidental start this
weekend so well we'll see we'll see how it goes but um he didn't do too much and at half time
they were down two nil and he got pulled he got pulled uh okay um usually when you're losing
you know it's typically a situation where you want some more attacking power and so um
the manager pulled off bernan
there and put somebody else.
So I'm just,
it's,
it's kind of interesting
for the manager not to think that
Brendan would be part of the solution to get him goals.
So I'm hearing it's some continued
question marks from you on
the Brendan front.
We're just going to have to keep monitoring that.
So I'm just reporting what I'm seeing.
I'm just reporting what I'm seeing.
Like, I mean, that can't be
that just can't be the best sign.
Maybe he was flagging a little bit, I don't know.
But that's what happened.
That's why I went Bredo.
What about Paxe, Bels?
Pax was also pulled at the half, midweek, in a European Conference League game, Europa Conference League.
He got on the end of one chance.
So there's a ball over the top.
He made a good little darting run behind, met it with this right in-step,
and drew a decent save from the keeper.
But that was the only thing he did.
otherwise somewhere between anonymous and outright bad and got a yellow card in the first half.
And so he came off at the half and then didn't appear this weekend in a zero zero draw.
I don't want to overreact or anything and I'm not going to, but I'm looking for signs of encouragement week by week.
That's what I'm doing.
And I can't draw too much encouragement from Young Paxton.
Yeah, it's been the case where he's been getting these starts.
He hasn't did anything too much with it yet, which, like I will say, it's just like,
they had him like playing on the forward line, you know, like occupying defenders and stuff for the most part.
And it's like I would like to see him more in the midfield getting stuff going because like that's where he typically finds itself when he's making these sub appearances for Frankfurt.
Just like a little bit more involved in the play.
where in this match he was mostly looking to
you know wait for on track to figure out everything else
in front of him before being a position to receive the ball
right and it's not yeah
Aberdeen was in a low block so his only thing he could do
was really hope to get the ball between a couple of centerbacks
at the edge of the box and you know it never really worked
never really worked out yeah
nice goal for Brian Gutierrez
over the weekend from Chicago.
I think it's his second goal of the season.
He has eight assists,
but he met a cutback with his left in-step on the stretch,
pinged it home, far post.
Very nice finish.
And then he and Kai Kamara
seemed to have a nice rapport too,
which is good to see.
They celebrated together vigorously.
I don't know,
Gutierrez is a, he would have been U-20 eligible
for the World Cup, not released.
and, you know, he's just somebody to keep an eye on.
We should, I know we don't respect Fulham here,
but Anthony had a good game this weekend.
Okay.
He's man of the match.
But he just always, you know,
he's just kind of consistent now.
He's just good.
Yeah.
You don't necessarily always have to watch,
and that's what happened this weekend with me.
I didn't see it
I checked it out a little bit
but yeah he's just
Jedi's doing Jedi things
and and you know
when you can catch him in a match
against another mid-table club
you know what I'm saying
like Fulham Crystal Palace
that's when he really comes alive
is when he's making attacking runs
he's doing a little one-two
you know what I'm saying
I'm like I'm like on what I'm seeing
like on what I'm seeing for Mr. Jedi
which you know I was
I'm going to bring this up with Serge
but when you're seeing Serge
being walked down by Saka
and you see Jeddah
when he's just on Saka
like right on rice
whenever they match up
you know what I'm saying
it's just he he provides
like you know really he's
he's the one that deserves
the Clamps title
you know he really does
put clamps on anybody he's going up against
I did check out Tim Riem in this match
just to see
how he's doing on the wash allegations
that I've been
that I've been somewhat levied by me on this pot
You beat the charges?
He's doing just enough
He's doing just enough to hold off on the wash allegations, man
That's what he knows
That's what he has to do
That's all he's going to do
He's just going to stay right
Where he needs to be
He's going to pace himself all the way through the World Cup
It's going to be incredible what he does
Well, we'll take it
Well, so what I really just want to see
Is him making one of those recovery runs
like he was doing last season, before the World Cup, which, you know, once again,
well, this is going public.
I'm not going to bring that up.
I'm not going to put no, put nothing bad on Tim's name.
But I would just like to see one of those.
I would just like to see one of those rooms.
Please.
Mr. Tim.
Credit to Tim, sort of credit to Tim for the Western interview,
which I did finally listen to.
It was a great, a great episode, a great podcast episode.
I think largely in spite of Schenger and Tim Riem, like...
Oh, exactly.
They just kind of there.
They have the access.
They got Weston on the pod.
Weston was fascinating.
And he does seem to have grown up a little bit in the last year.
Yeah, it's all about the, you know, the doors you can get into.
I guess.
But yeah, that was a disaster class from Slanger.
I don't know.
He might listen to this pie.
He's a good play-by-play guy.
You know, I was watching CBS Sports one time when I think an NWSL match went off,
and it was like Fordham against Iona or something.
Steve Flager doing play-by-play.
But college basketball.
But anyway, keep it moving.
I don't want to talk about this because really he's letting.
me down. But Joe
Joe Scally
Joe Scally man
Gladback has moved to
a three back situation
so Joe's playing wingback
and he's receiving the ball and better
he's just like like
okay these back passes that he's playing now
are like comical in nature
because he's further back
he's further up to field
receiving the ball in situation
that you would think would be advantageous
and he's like, nope.
Just pinging it to the goalkeeper.
Bro, he is turning his ass right back around
and passing that ball backwards.
Still, still, man.
And, you know, I'm kind of tuned in
to what you were talking about, Bell,
just to the fact that, like,
yo, if, like, if they know
you're just going to pass the ball back,
like, they're on them.
They're on them.
They're not taking any,
you know, the people that are pressing them
aren't throttling down
as they get to,
him in the fear of maybe being stepped past or whatever.
No, full speed ahead until you get to Joe Scali.
Even if you go through his back a little bit and get a foul, like it just is what it is.
But yeah, I think he had a total of maybe like three progressive passes in this match.
He hit like one.
He had a couple with his left foot to Jordan Pfeck actually coming back to receive the ball.
Piffok did well with him, actually, for the most part.
One was a little, Piffok had to do a little work.
to like draw a foul
because it was a little
it was a little errant
and I think he hit one with his right foot
to Pfog too but
that's that's all we got man
it is looking
it is looking kind of bleak for Joe right now
he needs to figure out what the hell's going on
or move to center back I don't know what the hell is with it
or like that
I like the moving to center back
he's he doesn't seem to be
an outstanding progressor with the ball
yeah
Which was a controversial thing to say about, well, maybe it's still controversial to say.
Bro, I, but certainly six months ago.
I was the one making it controversial.
Like, I mean, when he first broke out, he was doing so much more with the ball than he is doing now.
So he can maybe find his mojo again, then, like, it may not be a permanent thing.
I mean, we're going on two and a half years now.
I will say that thing about, like, if people don't fear that you might step,
buy them, they will come flying into you and make it even harder every time.
That's why ball mastery is so important.
That's why all the youth gurus say you got to get those kids on the ball, which brings me
to my favorite subject, which is Dallas, the white working class hero of East French
Tennessee.
An update on Dallas.
I saw him play last Monday, and he was even better.
He was even better than the first time.
Well, what on, Bill's.
If this is going public, you've got to explain to the people who Dallas is.
It's a kid that I've seen out playing at Camp Jordan on the east side of Chattanooga.
And notable because he's very good.
He's the best player in this rec league that I've seen.
And because his grandparents are hillbillies.
So this isn't like some rich kid from Lookout Mountain or Signal Mountain with.
his parents are paying $2,000 a year for him to play soccer.
He's just playing rec soccer, and he's really good.
And I love to see that.
So, yeah, my only update is he was excellent.
Again, on Monday, I think, totally dominant.
A little unfortunate that his coach kept him in,
even though they were up like 15-0, you know.
And then I saw.
I like that mentality, step on that mentality, though, from this coach.
I'm fortunate for the whole, for everybody, you know.
Yeah.
But then I saw another East Ridge team on Saturday.
They're really good too.
So I looked up like, are they doing something different at East Ridge?
And I realized the Red Wolves, Chattanooga Red Wolves, USL team provides U6 and U8 practice plans for all the coaches in the East Ridge rec.
And so shout out to them for that.
I don't know how many people are making use of that.
But I looked over those plans and they're good.
Yeah, good.
That's cool.
Yeah.
I mean, that's what, you know, that's what should be happening.
Yeah.
You know what I'm saying?
We have all these, as soccer's footprint,
continues to grow with, you know, all these different clubs, not just MLS.
You know what I'm saying?
This is what we should be doing.
Yeah.
Now, do we maybe, do we need to get Dallas off the rec team?
Is there a ladder he can step up?
Is he being challenged?
I think.
The scuff need to sponsor this, man.
Maybe so.
I think maybe he, yeah, his parents just don't want to pay for it, you know, so he's just,
there you go.
There's the problem right there.
That's pay for play in a nutshell, isn't it?
You know, it costs like a thousand bucks, you know, to get on the Red Wolves Academy team.
You know, so a lot of people can't, aren't about that, which I would, you know, I understand.
My goal is to just bring better competition to Camp Jordan in the upcoming years so that it's not so easy for Dallas to run the league.
so he gets pushed in the rec league
because there's always going to be kids who can't afford it, you know?
Shout out Dallas, man.
Shout out Dallas.
Oh, and he also, just to give people a sense,
he kind of looks like a young Kier and Trippier.
Trippier.
Trippier.
Is that how you say it?
That's what he looks like.
Yeah, he's English, so it's trippier, for sure.
Anything else, guys?
Oh, real quick, Coliocho.
Colio Show
We didn't talk about him last Monday
Because they played on Monday
They played Matt Turner
Nottingham Forest
Luca Colio show
Basically contributed to
Burnley's only goal
You know
Received the ball out
On the touch line
And got to running
And got to running as he does so well
Beat a man to the end line
And not only got to the end line
But you know
Beat him firmly enough to where he could turn
Once he reached the end line
You know what I'm saying
to really set up his cutback.
The cutback was scuffed
and popped to a man at the top of the box
who then scored the goal.
But yeah.
And they played this weekend against
somebody.
I'm drawing a blank.
But he was influential once again.
This is, I mean,
it's just a case where, you know,
we need to do everything we can do.
You know what I'm saying?
Pete, PJ to Burnley.
we need everybody we can getting off of it.
We need some of these people that are coming to the messy games.
If we can get a correspondent from U.S. soccer there,
hoping that we can talk to them and get them as part of the traveling party to go over there in court.
Luca Colio Show.
That would be great.
I also did some, I did a little research.
A little research on his family.
His dad played football.
Dad played college football at Oklahoma.
finished his career
Simo
South East Missouri
D1
was a running back
he is now
seems to be
some type of
big wig investment banker
for AIG
which I was
if you read the
article on the athletic
his dad
made the move
to England with him
so he's there
he's there with him
so that Luca has somebody
also
his father
his father was part
pardoned by Greg Abbott
here in the
in the past three years
for some petty crime that he did
when he was like 19 years old,
19, 20 years old.
Didn't seem to be a big deal, but it's just something
he had on his record. I don't know if he had to do with his job
as to why he needed to get it pardoned
or whatever, but yeah,
that happened.
That happened.
Mom's a PT in Connecticut,
which, oh,
how did I forget? Brits me to the
that like, you know, Bells, you and I are going to Hartford, right?
We're going to the Germany match in Connecticut, in Hartford.
I'm thinking this might be a galaxy brain play from Mr. J.T. Batson because...
Oh, yeah.
I don't know if y'all have looked into Hartford, Connecticut.
There's not a lot there, and it doesn't seem to be a lot to do.
And so we put a game in the Northeast, but for some reason we put it in Hartford.
Connecticut. And it could be, it could be that Mr. J.T. Batson is doing that as some kind of elaborate
recruitment point for Mr. Colio's show. What do you all think? I think that's definitely in play for
J.T. He works at that, operates at that level. He does. He does. I mean, at this point,
we can't really put anything past him after he pulled out all those stops for flow.
Everything rides on this game, doesn't it? The entire future of
soccer in America.
Yeah, Greg,
Gio's relationship.
Yeah, if we can get another
attacker to partner with Gio, you know what I'm saying,
Colio show, all that.
So.
It's a crucial tune-up
before the Copa America playing game.
Yes, yes.
Oh, also, they interviewed
Luca Colio's show after that
Nottinam Forrest match.
Like, that's how good he was.
That's how good he was in that match.
He got interviewed.
You know what I'm saying?
They drew Nottingham Forrest 1-1.
Yeah.
And go ahead.
Well, I just wanted to raise, I noticed his tattoo on his forearm.
It's his Roman numerals.
It says 15-9, which is, his birthday is 915.
So he is doing dates in the European format.
I guess the Roman numerals are also Italian.
So just something to be aware of because we're still trying to figure out exactly what he wants to do.
You're not worried by that, Adam?
Roman numerals are, you know, we have, we draw as much from Roman civilization as Italy does at this point, wouldn't you say?
Yeah.
But it was in the order of a European date format.
Yeah, but that's also a sensible way to do the date, you know.
Is it?
Well, I mean, well, on the opposite front, in this interview, okay, um,
number one when he said when he was talking about his involvement for the goal he basically said you know
he he summarized what happened and he was like where i was happy to be involved in the
in the play that that led to us going up one zero not one nil not one nil one zero okay and then
later in the interview um like like i don't know i think i think the question was something about
like, what was the thought, like, later in the match?
Or I think it was the halftime discussion.
It was like, what did company say at halftime?
And it was basically like, you know, that we need to come out there and keep playing our
game and try to get more points.
Points.
This guy's American.
Let's just stop this charade.
He sounds very American.
What are we doing?
Was he saying points in reference to, like, goals?
Yes.
Yes, bro.
in reference to
That's too American.
That's too American for me.
Hey, it's the college football playing father, I guess, man.
Yeah.
But yeah, so I'm feeling
I'm feeling pretty good on our
where we stand, where we stand right now, you know.
Italy, where they stand is outside of the World Cup.
So, you know, Luca, come over here.
His dad went to Southeast Missouri?
South Missouri, Southeast Missouri State.
Is that what it is?
Mm-hmm.
Mm-hmm.
Is Canada just completely out of the picture now?
Because it seemed like he had committed to them.
So he's, he, um, he's been a little fast and loose with, uh, it seems like
Is Canada still have a men's national team?
That's the thing.
I think that just really worked to our benefit.
Their, uh, insolvency.
All right.
Well, yeah, let's get out of here.
Thanks everybody for listening.
Check out the show notes for the link to the Patreon so you can get this conversation every week.
We'll see you.
Oh, Taylor Swift went to the Bears game.
We didn't mention that.
Why would we mention that Taylor Swift went to a Bears game?
It's kind of the big news this weekend.
Never mind.
Okay.
No, no, I mean.
Okay.
So the countdown is.
underway
24 hours
for Pooley to put her
on the IG
be like
it'd be nice
for her to show up
to a
U.S.
Minnesota team game
that's what we need
that's what we need
yeah
yeah
we need Polly to just
keep that going
Selena Gomez was at
another game
in Europe by the way
this weekend
was she
I think we need to stay
on that front as well
yeah she was at
a PSG
she was at the
part that proms
that they call it
anyhow
just wanted to
make sure we hit
that at the end there
good thank you crucial to include that all right thanks everybody for listening we'll see you
