Tapeworm: A Movie Podcast - Twin Peaks, Kingdom Hearts & Trash Reality TV | Catch-Up Mini Episode
Episode Date: March 24, 2026In this Tapeworm Podcast catch-up mini episode, DJ and Raz check in on what they've been watching, playing, and obsessing over this week.DJ finally dives back into Twin Peaks, David Lynch’s legendar...y surreal mystery series, and quickly becomes obsessed enough to ditch streaming and buy the entire Blu-ray box set just to avoid ads and see the restored transfer. From FBI agents chasing supernatural leads to the increasingly weird tone of the show, the conversation breaks down why Twin Peaks still holds up decades later.Meanwhile, Raz has fallen back into the rabbit hole of Kingdom Hearts, revisiting the classic action RPG series after modding his PS Vita. The two talk about the bizarre Kingdom Hearts timeline, the confusing collection names (1.5? 2.5? 2.8?), and how the franchise somehow turned Disney characters, Final Fantasy-style storytelling, and time travel clones into one of the most complicated game plots ever.Along the way they also get into:Revisiting handheld gaming with the PS VitaModding consoles and emulating PSP gamesEarly access games and abandoned projects like Kerbal Space Program 2The chaos of 90 Day Fiancé: Before the 90 DaysThe wild ride that is 1000-lb SistersWhy watching trash reality TV can somehow make your week betterThe idea of possibly streaming Kingdom Hearts in the futureIt’s a laid-back episode full of TV talk, gaming nostalgia, and the usual Tapeworm Podcast chaos.If you enjoy weird movies, cult media, gaming nostalgia, and off-the-rails conversations, you’re in the right place.Topics CoveredTwin Peaks (David Lynch series)Kingdom Hearts series discussionPS Vita and modded consolesKerbal Space Program & early access games90 Day Fiancé: Before the 90 Days1000-lb SistersReality TV dramaGaming nostalgiaListen & FollowIf you like the show, rate and follow the podcast wherever you're listening.Follow Tapeworm Podcast for more episodes covering bad movies, cult classics, horror, and chaotic weekly catch-ups.Next episode: The Toxic Avenger
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Welcome to the tapeboard podcast. My name is DJ.
And I'm Raz.
And this is another one of our catch-up episodes, the episodes where we kind of tell each other what we've been up to this past week, what's been going on in our very boring lives.
Most of the time, we only really do anything for this podcast.
Yeah, that pretty much sums up my life.
Work, sleep, and this.
Yep.
So I got a couple TV shows in there.
I'm excited to talk about a few of these.
Which one do I go with first?
Do I go with the exciting one first?
Or do I go with the...
Yeah, go for the exciting one.
Got to hook them in.
Exciting one?
Okay.
So I'll give you a little bit of background before we even...
I talk to you about it.
So years ago, we tried watching this TV show.
There's a TV show from the 90s.
I enjoyed it.
She thought it was a little boring.
The first episode is a little boring.
But we finally said, fuck it.
We're going to give it another try.
But the only place that we could find it that was streaming was a place with ads,
which it's not a huge deal.
But every 15 minutes or so, it would play five ads.
And the first episode was an hour, no, two hours long.
and then each episode after that was an hour long.
So finally, by the third episode, I was like, fuck this.
I drove over to Walmart and I bought the whole box set after the third episode.
Because like it was, it was enjoyable.
I liked it.
And the box set, I think, was like $50 or something like that.
It's a Blu-ray, Blu-ray box set, both the original seasons, the reboot season, and the movie.
I think it's I think it's worth it
Yeah it sounds like a lot for
50 bucks
Yeah and a ton of extra features
We put it on and not only
Are there no ads
But it looks so much better
Whoever did the transfer and restore of it
It looks amazing
Like
The main character
His hair is jet black
And in the streaming service
It looked, you know, a little washed out, maybe like real shiny in the in the Blu-ray.
It looks like jet, jet black.
It is, it is crazy to the point where we're like, he must dye his hair, that color.
There's no way that that black of hair is natural.
But have you ever watched Twin Peaks?
No, I haven't.
No, it starts out slow, but it is.
Awesome. Do you know the basis of it at all?
No. No, I don't actually.
Okay, so basically this little small town called Twin Peaks, there's a murder there, and it's a, I don't know if popular is the right word, but it's a girl that is well known in the community.
So they end up sending an FBI agent over to Twin Peaks to help out the local law enforcement.
And I guess we'll say some supernatural stuff starts happening in the town.
So in the very beginning, like the second episode or something, the sheriff tells the FBI agent like, hey, Twin Peaks isn't a normal place.
Weird things happen.
But it's the FBI agent that seems to believe in the supernatural way more than the sheriff does, which usually.
you would hear like the FBI agent is always the one that's more serious and more like fact-based, you know?
Yeah. So is this like a like a weird off-brand X-Files or like?
I would say this has more of a story than X, than X files.
Like this has a more, I'll say linear story.
X-Files is each episode they kind of go off and do their own case.
Yeah, like more of a serial versus like iconic.
This is a very episodic style.
Yeah, I don't really know.
It's so it starts out, not slow, but it starts out like easing you into it.
And then as the show goes on, it gets weirder and weirder or I guess harder to believe.
Like in the second episode or so, the FBI agent has a dream and he, uh,
He starts to follow that dream as a lead, which a little weird for an FBI agent, but as it progresses, you find out more and more.
And there's like, there's, I guess you would say realistic crime going on as well.
So it's not like it's all supernatural, but I don't know.
It's, it's really good.
I recommend you watch it.
Okay.
I may have to take a look at it.
I'm not a big, like, horror guy.
I'll say it's not.
horror. More of like a drama. Yeah. It's like a drama, dromody almost. It's by David Lynch.
Oh, okay. So it's more of a lynchian, you know, not so much horror, but some crazy weird shit happens.
And Kyle McLaughlin is the FBI agent. I'm sure you know who that is. You probably just don't know him by name.
sounds familiar but
okay this guy
yeah yeah he uh he was
paula trey he's
yeah in the david lynch dune
but yeah definitely definitely recommend it
it's uh it is a lot of fun
it's it starts out
definitely slow the first episode is very slow
but then by the second episode it's like what the fuck is happening
and then yeah it just keeps getting
and weirder and weirder and more and more fun.
Yeah, that is my first one.
What have you been up to this week?
Not a whole lot, truth be told.
I've been listening to my audiobooks more
and been playing my Vita again for the first time
in God how many years, but...
Yeah, I will say the Vita was probably...
It's a very underrated console.
Yeah.
With how little support it had from Sony,
there's not a whole lot
like
it's not a lot of games that really
grabbed me
that's fair
I um
for some reason I
I don't know why but I ended up getting into it
again just because
you know of course modded it
right we do nowadays and uh
I don't know I just got a
I got a hankering to play
Kingdom Hearts on it
yeah
okay
I
I would be okay with Kingdom Hearts
if those early
games weren't like your standard RPG style combat system.
What do you mean?
I'm trying to think.
Is it Kingdom Hearts where you come up to an enemy and you have the different options for combat?
Or is that Final Fantasy?
I think you're thinking of Final Fantasy because Kingdom Hearts is a real-time action game.
Is it?
Okay.
It doesn't play like Pokemon.
No, no, no, no.
It plays like any other, you know, RPG like Skyrim or whatever.
Okay.
Jack and Daxer.
Not in the first game, but like the others.
Okay.
For some, why did I think, I swore when you got the, uh, was it Kingdom Hearts that you got on the PS3 and it was the, uh, the whole story?
Was it like 2.5?
Yeah.
They came out?
Yeah.
And did that include the first, second, and the 2.5 game?
I don't remember, but I think it was 1.5, or maybe I never got 5 and I got 1.8, because they also made 2.5 and then 2.8, I think.
Okay.
They have really weird, like, collection names.
Yeah.
But, yeah, I mean, I definitely, I definitely do remember getting that for PlayStation.
In fact, actually, I might have it.
Hold on. Give me two seconds.
Yeah, no, I got it.
I had 1.5 and 2.5 remix.
That's what it was.
And it's a single disc, right?
Yeah.
Or single case, I should say.
I don't know if it's a single disc.
Well, I had 1.5 remix.
Maybe that's in my PlayStation right now.
Probably.
I hope so.
Well, the PS3 is modded as well.
Was it? I don't...
Sorry, obviously, you can probably hear my dog's going off.
Yeah. It's all good.
Uh, yes, I do know that your PS3 is modded because I modded it.
But yeah, I swore sitting and watching that game, watching you play that.
I swore it had like elements like that where the combat system was, you know, like attack, run,
cower, piss in the corner, that kind of shit.
No, maybe one of the games did, but not for the PlayStation, I don't think.
I don't think any of the King of March games had a, like, turn-based combat.
Hmm.
Some of the Final Fantasy did, but...
Hmm.
You say it's on Vita?
No.
So, they only made one game for the PlayStation portable, so I had to emulate it on my Vita.
Okay, so it's a PSP.
Correct, yes.
Okay.
Okay.
Yeah, they, um, they made the first game and the second game, and they made, no, the first and second game on PlayStation, um, two.
And then they made chain of memories on Game Boy.
And then every game after that were all on Nintendo DS.
Okay.
Oh, you know what?
And then the latest game they made on Xbox and PlayStation.
Really?
Oh, yeah, yeah, yeah.
That's right.
I do remember that.
And PC.
So I think I figured out why I'm confused.
So as you play it,
you have a little command thing in the corner
that changes your attack, magic, and items.
You know what I'm talking about?
Yeah.
I think I misunderstood that watching you play it.
And I think that was, to me,
that was a like turn based
no no it's all live
and then yeah you have magic but you also have
quick commands that you can do
okay I do recommend it
it's it's really good
yeah
looking at my PS4 right now
maybe I'll
maybe I'll take a look at
see what I can get on there
yeah you ship up to get the entire series
yeah
because if you get when you get the
one point
I forget what they call it nowadays, but like the 1.5, 2.5 remake, excuse me, it's every single game.
And then the ones that they couldn't make into games, they did like a movie cutscene.
So you just watch all the cutscenes and get the story.
Yeah, because I'll be honest, I don't even know.
I don't know what the story is at all for it.
It's so weird.
Is it?
Yeah, it's like everyone is the same character.
Oh, really?
Yeah, they're all like, I won't spoil it too much for you, but like basically they're all the same character, but then split into different personalities.
And then some are time traveling.
So it's the same person, but just from different timelines.
Okay.
It got really complicated.
But that does not include the Disney characters, though, right?
No.
Okay.
Unless you count a select few.
like I think you meet like an early version of Mickey.
Okay.
Like Steamboat Willie.
Yeah.
Time frame.
You meet him and he doesn't know you yet.
Okay.
Aside from that, they're all, it's all, all the Disney characters are continuous.
Okay.
Tiguous.
Whatever.
I get what you're saying.
All right.
It's when you are, if you end up playing it, like some of the bosses are just, they're, they cheat.
Like, yeah, I don't know what to tell you.
It's like playing Dark Souls on some of the bosses.
bosses. So you're bad at the game
is what I'm hearing. No, I'm saying
like a normal person. Actually,
I am probably bad at the game, but like
normal people cannot beat some of these bosses.
Yeah. I'll take a look. Why not?
Yeah, if you end up playing it, like
you gotta let me know because we can do like a little
watch party thing or whatever.
I will. Shit, I might even start streaming
it. I plan on starting to
stream again. Are you?
Yeah.
Hoping to, but. I mean, screw it.
I mean, even if you're not really engaging too much with the people to start out with,
just stream the game, see who hops on.
Yeah.
Yeah.
Make it a chill thing.
My main issue is I'm trying to do so much right now and don't have a lot of time.
Yeah.
If we had a team to like edit the podcast and make all the stuff, but we are so grassroots right now that I don't really have any time to do much else.
No, that's fair. That's fair.
I will say if you end up playing it on PC,
they have the entire collection, all three games,
all three like collection games on Seam for like half price right now.
Really?
Yeah, so you get you get 1.5 plus 2.5 remix all in one game, so to speak.
And then you get 2.8, which is like the games that take place in between 2 and 3.
And then you get 3 plus it's a DLC.
Okay. But I don't feel like that's authentic if you're not playing it on a PlayStation.
I mean, PlayStation controller, same thing.
Yeah, true.
But it's not authentic.
I mean, to be fair, most of them are on DS.
So if that's the case, you got to play on DS.
Have to go bust out the DS?
Yeah.
Do you have anything else for this week?
No, I mean, that's pretty much it.
Yeah.
A lot of V to play.
Yeah, a lot of you have play.
Slay the Spire 2 just came out, so I'm curious to hop into that.
I think it's early access right now, but...
Okay.
Some of those early access games are fun as hell.
Oh, yeah.
As always, the developers are passionate about it.
They take it seriously, and they improve a lot over that time period.
Yeah.
How, there's an early access game that I still play,
and it hasn't been updated in over five years, but I absolutely love it.
It's called Homebrew.
patent evolved, I believe?
Oh. It's definitely
a me game.
Okay, it's just a sandbox game.
Yep, but like you can
build like vehicles
and stuff. Like you have to
make sure the transmission is in, the battery
is in, the engine.
And then you have to make sure that the
engines connected to the transmission
is connected to the battery,
is connected to the, it's all just
like a line graph, but still you got to
make sure that everything is connected.
See, I feel like it's not quite the same,
but the sheer level of complexity,
you would probably like space engineers.
Probably.
I'll tell you what I didn't like was Curbel Space Program.
What, the first one or the second one?
The first one.
Curbel Space Program is so good.
I just, like, it's not what I wanted to do.
I wanted to just like build a rocket
and for some reason I don't remember why
but I just don't remember
I remember not liking it
okay
some of the mods are definitely changed things up
but it could have been that
Carmel space program basically
stopped being a game
and just became a
platform for you to play mods on
really
almost yeah like they were
it's still all the base core gameplay
of you know space agency exploring space
so on and so forth.
Yeah.
It just,
some of the mods,
you can do some pretty interesting things.
Okay.
My biggest thing is
Kerbal Space Program 2 ended up being such a flop.
Like,
they just completely abandoned the game.
Really?
Yeah.
Like, it was such a bad,
like,
money grab.
Like,
they just,
yeah,
it was terrible.
Yeah,
it really used to be bought
by another company and picked up development again.
Yeah.
Yeah,
because I,
I guess they released an update
back in April,
2024, but
that was it.
Who owns it now?
I think it's still owned by
I assume the publisher
Private Division.
Okay, so it's not a big company?
No, but
they made like outer worlds and like they had
like some good successes.
Huh. I feel like I
remember. Although they might
got bought out too actually. Yeah,
they're owned by Tick 2 it looks like.
So that explains why
it's been abandoned
yeah it's a shame because they used to be good
yeah
some of their later stuff not so much
yeah it's a shame because it was really fun
and they had a lot of promise
I have it maybe I'll
maybe I'll boot it up
sometime this week and
give it a try
yeah yeah definitely go online
look up some mods and
get an idea of like what people recommend
because there are there is like one
that's like super quality of life
and it's just so much better.
Yeah.
I'll check it out.
Why not?
No, but I mean, that's about it for me.
Yeah.
Although now I really want to get back into Kim of Harts.
Fuck it.
Might as well.
All right.
I'll be over here playing while we talk.
I'll be over here playing Major's Mass most of the time too.
So it's okay.
Are you into reality TV shows?
I used to have a few that I followed.
Not so much.
much anymore.
We have two.
Two that we've been watching, kind of religiously.
One of them actually this week just ended.
The season finale, not the series finale.
At least I hope not.
That one was called Thousand Pound Sisters.
Have you watched that at all?
No, I don't think I could.
Have you ever heard of it?
No, I don't think so.
Okay.
I got some clips that I want to show you.
later. So basically the whole point of the show was there were two sisters. One was like,
I think one was like 500 pounds and the other one was like 7, 800 pounds, something like that.
And the whole goal of the show was for them to go and get like a stomach sleeve surgery, like the weight loss surgery.
And then as time goes on, one sister gets it.
The other one doesn't.
And then the brother comes into it and he ends up getting the surgery too.
And then the other two sisters get it too.
And the really big girl ends up in the hospital.
And she almost dies.
And like, yeah.
So at this point, everybody's had the damn surgery.
And now they're working on getting like skin removal surgery and stuff like that.
But it's a bunch of like backwards people.
from Kentucky
God, okay.
This whole time.
It's fucking great, man.
It is, it makes me feel so much better about my life.
It's fun to watch the drama and the just stupidity.
The other one that we've been really into is 90 day fiancee before the 90 days.
I'm assuming you're familiar with 90 day fiancee.
Yeah, I've heard of it.
Okay.
Do you, have you heard of the before the 90 days?
No.
Okay.
So the whole point of 90 day, fiancee, uh, you get, you get 90 days to get married on a K1 visa in order to get citizenship over here.
Well, before the 90 days is a show where they've been talking on the internet for a while,
but they've never met before the 90 days.
it's the first time they ever meet in person.
Jesus.
Did you look something up?
Are you saying Jesus to what I just said?
Both actually.
Yeah.
Well, this current batch of people,
we literally hate every single person except for one.
There is one person.
His name is Forrest.
He has autism.
And like he,
he's a big guy
but he's just so genuine
with everything that he says
and he's just so happy like you'll see him
they film like little
I don't want to say
stingers but it's
little things where
kind of like opening shots
where they switch from one couple
to the next couple
and you'll see him kind of like pan down
he's he's talking to
a girl from the Philippines so
you see like Philippine landscape
they zoom down and he's like standing in the street next to her and usually they film one that's like
you know oh i'm pissed off like grumpy face type deal like a happy one and stuff like that
with forest he's always just like dancing like he's just so happy like obviously people are
staring at him and he just doesn't give a fuck and it just makes me love him
but of course the girl is doing some weird you know shady shit so makes me hate her because
she's over here making for his cry that kind of shit but yeah it's just i don't know it's it's fun
to see how some people live their life you know what i mean yeah there's one girl that's
I don't know
I don't know how to describe her
but you know
she's
she's dating a man from Morocco
he keeps saying
you know
we can't have sex
that's not that's not how we do things
she insists like
no
like I have to have sex on the first date
that type of deal
yeah it definitely seems like one of those
played up drama situations
scenarios
it's so much drama
but for some reason it makes
my week watching it
I enjoy watching the drama
I feel like you need some better reality TV
like I don't know watch
like Survivors coming back or Amazing Race
if that's still around
that was one of my go-toes
I hate Survivor
Really? Yeah
it's so boring to me
I don't know why
Okay that's fair
Yeah Amazing Race is still going on
Why do you watch that
Because there's no drama
You're just a big gossip, aren't you?
Yep.
One of the girls from this season of
Before the 90 Days
Yeah.
She's relatively local.
Really?
Yeah, KOP.
Okay.
And she's an older woman.
She's seeing a man from Nigeria.
She is still technically married to a
woman, which is a big no-no.
Like being gay is a huge no-no in Nigeria.
The fact that she's still married and they've been sleeping together, that's a big no-no.
And she shit the bed with him in the bed.
Actually.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
She actually shit the bed.
I don't, I don't, I don't see the point.
See, you like all this drama.
I don't.
Yeah.
Like a little bit.
Okay, fine, whatever.
It keeps things, I guess, interesting.
but like generally speaking no like i don't especially because like i guess it's so played up
i will say i like watching the drama on tv i hate it in real life okay so that makes sense like
i get you i like watching it on these like reality tv shows but like i worked with yeah i
like i worked at a fast food restaurant where a lot of the people were like teenagers and stuff
I hated the drama then.
Yeah.
But watching it on TV, I'm fine with it.
I enjoyed it.
It kind of makes my, it makes me feel better about my life.
I think that's the big thing.
Yeah, I feel like that.
But speaking of reality TV shows,
we went to school with somebody who is on the current season of Hell's Kitchen.
Really?
Yeah.
I saw it the other day.
I can't think of what his name is.
He was a grade below us or something.
Well, a grade below you.
I think I had a couple classes with him.
I think he graduated with me.
If he is who I'm thinking he is.
Are you looking to see if you recognize him or should I tell you his name?
I don't know.
I mean, you can tell me the name.
I'm going to find out in a second.
Okay.
Okay, apparently he has not listed here.
I think it's the current season.
Yeah.
Yeah. Have you looked at his face?
Yeah, I don't recognize him.
You don't recognize him?
Not really.
I mean, maybe a little bit.
He didn't score good.
No, but he did get a black jacket, right?
No.
Eighth place, I don't think's black jacket.
Really?
Yeah, no.
Blackjacket's like the final four, five, six.
I mean, I guess eights isn't bad when you consider that.
Yeah, what is it, 18?
So he
I think it varies
But yeah
It's usually I think between 16 and 20
Yeah
Definitely a middle
Middle round
Just yeah
Wasn't horrible
But wasn't great
Yeah
To be fair
To even get on that show
You gotta be good
Yeah
Yeah yeah I agree
I could see them adding
Like one or two people
Just for like
They suck so bad
But like generally speaking
Just for like ratings
Yeah
But yeah, that's that's about all I got this week.
Sounds like a pretty productive week, actually, then?
Yeah, just a bunch of TV shows.
Yeah, hey, whatever, whatever works.
Yeah, yep, until we finish this giant box set of Twin Peaks.
Then my days get, or my weeks are going to be very much open.
Well, then that's when you start playing Kingdom Arts.
Fair, true, yeah.
Definitely.
Tell you what, when you start,
I'll start with you and we can compare notes as we go.
Start another podcast just on Kingdom Hearts.
Honestly, first time, I mean, it'll be your first time playing it.
Yeah.
And then I can go through as like returning.
It wouldn't be bad.
Yeah.
It wouldn't.
It just is there enough content in Kingdom Hearts to do that?
Dude, like I'm pretty sure people have degrees on Kingdom Hearts.
Jesus, okay.
It's not a simple game.
God.
And especially when you get to the later levels
and like the secret bosses,
yeah, no, dude, you're like,
and especially the first Kingdom Hearts game,
there are so many secrets,
like random chests and stuff that like,
the game is smart about how it hints
on how to find this stuff,
but,
I mean, I guess I'm just dumb,
or at least I was dumb as a kid,
probably still am.
I could never figure out some of these,
some of the stuff.
Yeah.
And I mean, hey, once you're,
I mean, I have no life.
You're going to have no life after Twin Peaks.
So that's our minisode episode right there.
Fuck it, yeah, pretty much.
So what have you been doing this week?
Kingdom Hearts.
What boss have you gotten up to this week?
Yeah, right?
It's like, I'm still almost the same boss, man.
Or, God damn it, Sephiroth.
I haven't slept in two weeks.
I've quit my job.
Just, this is my life now.
No, but we'll
I would love for us to do that actually
I think that'd be really funny.
Yeah, I think it would be fun to do too.
Honestly, I might do something really bad
and just buy the whole series again.
My PS4 is modded.
Oh, I was going to buy it on Steam.
Yeah, that's what I was like, I'll do it on the PS4.
Shit's modded.
Not going to waste my breath on anything like that.
I own, well, obviously I own it on PlayStation 3
already. I think I might have PlayStation 4 copies somewhere.
And I think I own most of it on Epic Game Store already.
But I just like Steam, man. I don't know.
No other platform's good.
Fair.
Well, I like GOG.
GOG is good.
I like GOG a lot.
But Steam is just, I don't know, that's what I go to.
I mean, some of their, I forget what they call it, but they like aggregate all your
different systems together.
all your different platforms together
and you can play games directly off G OG
from those systems.
Okay.
And for, I think Epic and Steam, it works pretty well.
Seam did actually, like, do a official,
unofficial, like,
I don't know what to call it, but like,
compatibility thing with them.
Yeah, integration is what I was thinking of.
Okay, yeah.
Yeah, official integrations are
Epic Game Store, Xbox Live,
Community integrations are our esteem.
It used to work well, but I don't see it's connected now, so maybe not so much anymore.
Yeah, that has been a minisode of the Tapeworm podcast.
Thank you for hanging out with us.
If you want to see more from us, go check out our socials at Tapeboard Movie Podcast, Tapeworm Podcast, something like that.
Don't forget to like, rate, and subscribe to the podcast.
wherever you get your podcast, wherever you're listening now.
And join us next episode when we talk about Toxic Avenger.
Have a good one.
See you.
