The Ariel Helwani Show - UFC 326 Post-Fight Show: Death of the BMF title? Charles Oliveira blanks Max Holloway, White House card reaction
Episode Date: March 8, 2026Ariel Helwani, Petesy Carroll and Chuck Mindenhall, a.k.a. 3PAC, give their immediate thoughts on UFC 326, starting with Charles Oliveira's one-sided victory over Max Holloway to become BMF champion (...03:57). After debating whether Oliveira's performance was worthy of the BMF moniker (15:04), they recap the rest of the card (20:25). Then, the trio reacts to the White House card announcement (24:45), with Ariel giving additional insights into how it all came together. After checking in on the post-fight press conference (47:04), they close the show with Chuck's final thoughts (54:35).
Transcript
Discussion (0)
Hello and welcome to this UFC 326 post-fight show. I'm Ariel Hawani. It is 1223 a.m. Eastern time. There is a new BMF champion. His name is Charles Dubronk-Solivara. He just beat Max Holloway in very, very dominant fashion. Holy smokes. Over 20 minutes of control time. A lot of the action was on the ground. The crowd was quite restless. They were booing a lot. It was not your typical BMF.
title fight. If you want to say that, you know, the history of the BMF belt is not a very long one.
It was introduced in 2019, but I will say this. For everything that I say about the belt, it usually,
it usually produces a fun fight. This wasn't a crowd-pleasing fight. It was a very dominant,
one-sided fight. The least amount of significant strikes that we've seen from Max Holloway in a
fight since December of 2015, that was his win over Jeremy Stevens. And that was a three-round fight.
this was a five-round fight.
Right now, the unofficial tallies just 73 strikes from a guy who throws a lot,
but you didn't have a lot of opportunities to throw.
None of the judges gave a 10-8.
I thought maybe the second round could have been a 10-8,
but in the end it was 50 to 45 times three for all the judges.
So Charles Olvera is the new UFC BMF champion.
What does this all mean?
What does this mean for Connor McGregor, who clearly, as he said yesterday,
with Ian Parker and
Chil Sunnan being talked about
for a BMF title fight. We're going to get into
all of that and more. The biggest
news of the day, is it anything that
happened at UFC 326? It's that
the UFC finally announced the
White House card, which is going down June
14th, of course, in Washington,
D.C., the main event, Ilya,
versus Justin Gae, co-main event,
Alex Perev versus Surreal Gun for the
interim, not vacant, interim
heavyweight title. No John Jones
on the card, but you are getting the likes of
Sean O'Malley, Bo Nickel, and others. There's the card. There's the cool logo, UFC Freedom 250.
I have a feeling the vast majority of you would rather hear us talk about that. We will talk about that on this year post show. We'll talk about it on Monday as well. But we have to give 326. And in particular, the main event, it's due credit. So let's get into it. I, of course, am not alone on this late Saturday night. I am being joined by the mayor of
The Nutmeg State, the man in the hat, the one and only.
Chuck Minna.
Chuck, how are you?
I'm doing okay, Ariel.
I'm a little surprised at what just went down, but I'm all right.
I was trying to like time this so that we could start at maybe like 1239 because the number 39 is in my brain.
That of course is the amount of points.
I was hoping we get to the end of the show before we talked about that.
That's New York Knicks beat the Denver.
Look, I owed you one.
I owed you one from January.
That was a nice little victory on Friday night,
but I'm not going to be that petty chuck.
I'm not going to be...
Is that a Yukon hat you're wearing there?
Is that a Yukon?
Yeah, that's Yukon.
Yeah.
Shout out to Dan Hurley, my guy.
Also, of course, we are being joined by the patron saint of the Emerald Dial,
the host of the critically acclaimed podcast, The Crack.
There he is.
Mr. Peecey Carroll, how are you?
What is the crack?
Crack is pretty underwhelmed.
I'm not going to lie to you.
A bit of a weird one for the BMF,
a fight that didn't really lend itself to what we imagined the BMF.
to be, but a great performance
and nonetheless from Charles Oliver, and underwhelmed
on another front as well, which I'm sure
we'll get onto later on. But
glad to be talking to you and Chuck, of course.
Well, let's talk about the biggest news, gents,
off the bat. I mean, Gregory
Rodriguez, the ageless wonder
with a fantastic wind, Robo Cup,
just doing it again. No, guys,
let's talk about the main event. Can you imagine?
Out of all of that,
but that's what we start with. Charles
Olivera is the new BMF champion.
And Chuck, look,
I have been very vocal and very transparent about how I feel about this belt.
It is a JV title.
It is a fictitious belt.
It is a fictitious belt.
It is a toy belt.
It is a WWF hardcore title.
It's just a thing that they use to headline shows and to get people excited about.
And I'm sorry if that comes across as disrespectful.
That is not my intention.
But Chuck, in June of last year, we saw Iliot Tuporia viciously knock out Charles
Valvera. How could we call this man the BMF when Ilya is the champion still in that same
way class? If you want to give it some sort of wrinkle and have no rounds, no weight classes,
and find out who is the toughest SOB in this business, I get it. But this is all nonsense. And so,
like, to me, people get so hung up on that title. I say, forget about the damn title. Look at the
fight. If you want to say the fight didn't live up to what we thought Charles Olverer versus
Max Hallway should be, I get that. Just like Chomsad versus DDP was an interest.
just like Islam versus JDM wasn't interesting.
You could say that.
But to add like some sort of weird expectations
because this nonsense JV belt is involved
is such a waste of our time and energy.
How do you feel about what just transpired?
So let me ask you this.
Like at the end of that fight,
like a minute to go, DC asked Joe Rogan
and those guys like, hey guys,
I don't mean to be that guy.
But should Olivera have put his chin out there a little more?
Should he have stood and traded?
You know what I mean?
Like, that was a, it was a good question because of what you're pointing out.
There's, there's been a consensus, I think.
I don't know if it's a consensus, but there's been a lot of people, I think,
that thought the belt was almost defined in the moment when, you know,
Holloway threw down the gauntlet against Justin Gaetje.
Okay, suddenly he's winning easily on the scorecards for that fight.
Now you've put a definition to it.
But let's be honest.
that's that's that's max holloway right like max holloway is going to fight that way that doesn't mean that
charles olivero is that and when he as soon as i saw that first round what was it a minute in
and the fight goes to the ground and you saw that he was in survival mode max holloway for the rest of
that round you kind of knew at that point you're like okay he's treating this like i just need
to win this fight i want to submit him like he was trying to he had him in trouble a lot but
his whole goal was not to stand in trade man it was like to do the exact opposite to nullify
the very things that people are, you know, hanging their hat on to say that, um, I guess what,
you know, this abstract idea what the BMF is. If anything, man, I think that this,
this proves your point, right? Like this, if it's, if you're not going to add some dimension to
the BMF, like they're not going to give it some kind of, um, distinction from just a regular
fight, then I'm not sure what we're doing because, you know, we're watching that fight,
Charles Olivera did exactly what he was supposed to do, but that's what he would do.
in any fight if he wants to remain in contention.
So there was no distinguishing factor here.
P.T.
Yeah.
I feel like this belt was brought in,
you know, so they could put the two most exciting guys,
two fan favorites together essentially Nate Diaz and Jorge Mazvila.
And it's like, it's always been two people that aren't quite champions in this fight
because the people love them.
The people love the way they fight.
So I know it's not exactly stated.
and Chuck's made that point where
you know we expect these certain things but
I do think the UFC have kind of
given us this idea as well
this kind of stand
and bang kind of attitude towards it and
that removed if this is any other fight
this is all we're talking about
is what a brilliant performance it is from
Charles Olivera because it was utterly dominant
and I agree with Chuck as well
the first takedown the body lock
and he just slams him down to the canvas and we saw this a number
of times throughout the fight it's
it's absolutely brilliant but I do
feel as though those booze from the crowd
is because they bought tickets
to see something that didn't quite happen
in front of them. Yeah, but you
can't script this. Look, they got it
right. First of all, just for the record,
August of 2019,
when Nathan Diaz beats Anthony Pettis
and he's doing the post-fight interview,
he just says to Joe Rogan
and now I want to defend this title
against Jorge Mazvedal, no one knew what he was
talking about. I don't even know if he called it the
BMF on that night. If my memory serves me
correct, he didn't. He didn't talk to the
UFC about it, and then they liked the idea, and then they bastardized it and corporatized it,
and they got it right in November of 2019, because after that fight, they said it was won and done.
That was it. They only reintroduced it in July of 2014, excuse me, of 2024, a full five years later,
because they couldn't find anything else. They couldn't find anything else to headline that card in,
no, 2023, excuse me, in Utah. It was Justin Gachie versus Dustin Poyer.
So they reintroduced it in a different way class involving someone not named Jorge Masvedal.
Remember, he ended up fighting Kamar Uzman and all this stuff.
So they got it right in 2019 when they got rid of the belt.
They said it was a one and done.
And then they brought it back because they needed, you know, belts to headline shows.
They don't need that anymore in this new deal.
I feel like it's run its course.
And it just puts, to your point, Pee, unfair expectations on a fight.
Because, yes, if this was just a five-round main event involving two legends, I think we'd be talking right now about
how he neutralized Max Holloway, how he almost stopped him, it seemed in the first round.
He almost submitted him, how Max was smart enough to survive that, what happened in the second
round, et cetera, et cetera.
Is it my fight of the year?
No.
Was it a very exciting fight?
No.
Was I looking at the clock at times?
Absolutely.
But then you add, look, I'm looking at my Twitter right now, the two top trending things
and I don't know if that's catered towards me because of my activity are not a BMO and
worse BMF.
And so it just, it adds this insane level of expectation to a fight.
and I just don't think that it means anything anymore,
and it annoys me to no end.
We've always been told that the champion of a weight class is the baddest mofo,
and now 155 has three titles.
It has an actual champion, an interim champion, and a BMF champion.
It's silly.
It's the stuff that they always told us they didn't do.
It's the stuff that they always told us they weren't all about,
and I know they've changed their tune a million different ways over the past 10 years,
but I hate it.
And honestly, there is a conversation to be had here, Chuck.
look, I said a million times
Connor was not in the running for the White House.
They have to make money off of Connor McGregor.
They can't make money off of him fighting at the White House.
And so what they were looking at was Connor
fighting the winner of this fight on July 11th.
After that performance,
do you think that Charles O'Voeira
took himself out of the running for that fight
because it just wasn't fan-friendly?
I mean, he's 100% out of the running for that fight
because if he could do that to Max Holloway
and a sustained 25-minute effort like that,
it's just I can't imagine a guy coming back from five-year absence who actually you're dealing with his one vulnerability that was kind of a known vulnerability of going to the mat.
I just cannot imagine that you would do that.
In that case, too, like, you know, the BMF, you're right.
When you kind of break this down, you know, it's run its course when it hits something like this.
Because I just, I don't know why you would need.
Like you have a guy in Charles Alivara.
It was one thing a little bit with the hallway.
That's what I'm saying. Maybe he gave it some meaning with what he was able to do with Gaichi.
But with Charles Oliver, the dude has, like, a handful of UFC records, like all these
these significant records. He's already a Hall of Famer. He's still vital. You know what I mean?
It's not like, so you're not doing this kind of like this oldie schick where he's kind of done
in the relevant way. He's still relevant. So I don't know why. If they were going to take it
away, this would be the time, right? I feel like if you're going to retire that belt and
get rid of it, this would be the time. But
it certainly didn't seem like that was
their, you know what I mean?
Even in the promos and everything that they were doing,
it doesn't feel like that's what they're going to do.
Oh, no, it feels like they're propping it up
even more. Pizzi,
Connor McGregor has weighed in on the
fight, and he tweeted, DC
on Max on top, quote, he should
stall, L.O.L. He should have
elbowed all the open targets, payback.
Quote, quote, unquote, stall, LOL, fuck off.
Shockingly bad fight. I am shocked.
Charles is a little Charlie.
ha ha, ha, very bad, Charles, very bad.
Hang your head bad.
Good luck.
Don't crown that belt.
I think they wanted to put Connor in a title fight,
and this is why John Kavanaugh was talking about open-way classes,
and this is why Connor was talking about the BMV very recently.
I just don't know if they want to risk having him in there
against someone who's going to do that in a fight.
I know who I'm talking about.
It's Charles O'Overe, one of the most beloved fighters of all time,
one of the most gifted fighters of all time.
But, Pizzi, do you think that he has now taken himself out of the running
given that performance?
Yeah, absolutely. And I think the UFC more so, like, I think if they told McGregor fighting Charles Oliver Hill fight, I get a real appetite for fighting off Connor lately. And as I've said since the start of the year, I do think there is more of an incentive for him to fight than ever. But I just think the UFC, if we're going to do a McGregor fight, they wanted to be a McGregor fight. And I really don't know why they're looking around and thinking about maybe this guy, maybe that guy. Nate Diaz is the fight. Give us the trilogy fight. Give us the closure.
that is the fight. If it doesn't happen here, it's going to happen on misfits in five years time
when nobody really wants to see it anymore. I think that is the fight to make if McGregor's come on
back to Legends of the Sport and it's a trilogy fight. They've won each. I think that makes perfect
sense. You're 100% right. I mean, honestly, Michael Chandler was the fight. Michael Chandler should still
be fighting Connor McGregor. They are giving him the White House card, which we'll talk about in a moment,
but you're 100% right. I think they'll be way more interest in that. There is one
a small issue, they have to make a deal with Nate Diaz. They've got to sign him. They've got to get him
back. He is a free man. He could do whatever he wants right now. But yes, I think that there will be
more enthusiasm after this performance than a Charles will verify. But I do think that there is
some desire to put him in a title fight, although maybe he'll say, maybe he'll come to his
senses and say, I don't want to be in a title fight because he has two fights left on his deal. You fight for
the belt. And I don't know if the contract.
actual stipulations will be the same for him and for the BMF title, but then you end up tying
yourself up, right? If you want to truly hit the open market and see what's out there, especially
in this Netflix era that we're in, and especially in this $15 million for a co-main event
era that we're in, maybe he wants to be a free man. So overall, guys, I don't think that
Charles Olivera's like cue rating is going to take a big hit after tonight. I think people
will still love him. I just think they need to take a hard look at that title and see if
they still want to be in business with it. If it's not a Connor fight, I do kind of wonder, guys,
and Chuck will ask you, is it maybe the Armand fight? Because now we know that it's Justin versus
Ilya, and if they do go in a different direction with Connor, maybe it's the Armand versus Charles
rematch that we saw UFC 300. What do you think of that?
I mean, that was a good fight. You know what I mean? I would be, I'd be okay with that. But again,
this is such a relevant thing, right?
when the BMF, it almost felt like in the spirit of what it was designed to be,
it wouldn't run into any kind of actual title talk or it wasn't really supposed to.
It was like supposed to be its own thing.
And you're too close to the sun, right?
Like if you're talking about Armin, you know, or even Charles at this point.
So I don't know, man.
I'm kind of with you.
I tried to give into the novelty of it.
I really did, man.
I, you know, I go back and forth on it.
You tell me, because people are always.
always like, well, they make more money. They make more money if they're fighting for this belt.
Is it the same thing? Like, should ask you, because you would know this. Did they actually get sort
of like title pay when they're, when they're fighting for BMF? Okay. I mean, there are benefits to it in
that sense, but I just, I don't really like it if like you said, the biggest point to me is
the baddest mofo is the one who holds the actual title. And if you're starting to get too
close to that with the BMF title, it just, I don't understand. It's redundant, if anything else. If
nothing else. You know, it's just, um, it's very strange. But can I ask you guys something?
You heard the booze coming down. I know you pointed this out. And I was like, man,
that's, that's a bad look. But it's a recurring thing. And there's, there's almost a,
there's almost a point where I was like, man, when's the last time you remember when this many,
I mean, I know they're not pay-per-views, like the, the numbered cards going back into the
paper you, paper view era had main events that were just so one-sided that they seemed
determined in the, you know what I mean? Like, they just didn't have any drama.
I mean, you go back, I was thinking about this.
You know, obviously the Volk fight that just happened with Diego wasn't very competitive.
The Gaichi-Patti fight was kind of entertaining, but Patty just wasn't like it didn't seem like he had anything that was going to turn the tables.
And if you go backwards, I know there's an outlier here there, but the gone Aspinol then was completely anticlimactic the way it went down.
You know, Islam with Jackd-Lam.
Yeah.
And then, you know, Shama, like, we've had so many main events now where it just feels like it's either anti-climatic.
or it's so non-competitive that it loses interest to the whole audience all at once.
It's a very strange time that way.
I can't remember this ever happening before.
You're 100% right.
No, you are 100% right.
And that's kind of the lens in which I'm looking at the White House card.
I'm looking at the White House card as like, oh, this is actually like a really good six-fight
main card, if you will.
There's only six fights on the card.
And it's not, we're not getting this type of depth in the UFC these days.
And that's why I don't hate it.
But again, I think our expectations have been altered dramatically.
And it goes back to what we talked about at the beginning of the week.
Like, they're just not delivering the mega marquee events.
That's why I had no confidence in them getting a deal done with John Jones.
That's why I didn't believe them when they said that they were going to make, you know,
seven or eight title fights on this card.
That's just not who they are.
That's just not what the organization is anymore.
And so, yeah, the matchups are the matchups, but you're 100% right.
I'm looking at the last few pay-per-views.
or whatever you want to call them,
numbered events.
The last one, as you said, was Wokinovsky-Lopez.
Prior to that, it was the Gaichi-Patty fight.
Prior to that, it was the Marab-Yan fight,
which was great.
But it was one-sided.
It was one-sided, went the distance.
Prior to that, it was the JDM Islam fight.
Prior to that, it was Aspinall again.
Prior to that was Uncleaya Prayer,
which ended in emphatic fashion, no doubt about that.
And then you could go down the line.
And then you get to do DDP Shemayev and Holloway-Porye.
So, yeah, it's, it's an interesting, it's an interesting time in the sport.
No doubt about it.
It's certainly not interesting when you're watching the fights.
Well, yeah, especially in your fights.
A year hour, yeah.
There used to be fights on the prelims that you, like, not the prelims, sorry, like the start
of the main card, the sport and acting these main cards, where it was just felt like
the matchmakers understood the fan base so much, like, oh, these two together.
This is going to be absolutely magic.
They understand that there's stakes outside of just rankings and things like this.
Like they don't understand a fight that would just completely stimulate the fan base.
We just don't see them anymore.
It just feels like who's available, throw them on there.
Are they around the same area?
Let's go with that.
And, you know, there's a big name in the main event usually.
And it's all stacked towards that.
It is, it is the product.
The product is not what it was.
And they've made their money, a massive success.
No doubt about it.
Unbelievable.
Like you know, you talk about boxing kind of welcoming in this UFC model because of how brilliant it's been.
And obviously the amount they've sold to Paramount Plusfar is a testament to how brilliant the product is.
But for fight fans, it's just, it's not been a great run.
And, you know, I'm sure we'll get to it on the Hoy house card.
Like, you know, they built it up so much.
And it happened with UFC 300 and this is going to be absolutely amazing.
It's a great card.
Yeah.
If you hadn't said all that stuff.
You know, it's a brilliant...
Well, let me say this. Let me say this.
Sorry.
I feel like we're foaming at the mouth to talk about it.
So let me just tell you that Kyle Bajalio beat RDR v unanimous decision.
Raoul Roses Jr. beat Rob Font, the unanimous decision.
And that came right after the announcement.
So I feel like a lot of people weren't even paying attention,
but it was a very dominant win for the youngster,
who is certainly partying in Las Vegas for the first time as a 21-year-old.
Drew Dober knocked out Michael Johnson,
and there was all kinds of drama surrounding this fight,
not really in the fight,
but before the fight, it was taken off every sports book in America, essentially.
I know BetMGM, I know Fanduel, I know Draft Kings,
because there was a huge swing once again in the line.
Second time in a row, Michael Johnson fight is involved in something like this.
Michael has come back and obviously fought tonight.
Alex Hernandez, who was a part of that fight back in January, has not come back.
Second time in a row, but this time the fight did happen.
It was not canceled.
Drew Dober ended up knocking out Michael Johnson.
and Dober, by the way, ended up, I think, if my math is correct,
ended up going from favorite to dog, or was it the opposite?
I don't know.
I need Connor Birx for this.
But anyway, it was some weird extreme.
It was the opposite.
There you go.
Thank you for that, Josh.
It was the opposite.
Some weird extreme line movement.
And that gave the sports books pause.
So they removed the fight, meaning you couldn't bet on it.
They didn't put it back.
But in the end, the fight actually happened.
the aforementioned Gregory Rodriguez
ended up knocking out Bruno Ferreira
in the first round.
That was the first fight of the main card,
but it wasn't the first fight on CBS.
For the first time ever, guys,
had the UFC on CBS.
It wasn't the first ever
MMA card on CBS or MMA fight.
You have to go back to May of 2008,
Newark, New Jersey,
Elite XC prime time for that.
The first fight on CBS ever,
and you could have dictated this,
was Dante Johnson v. Cody
brundage and it was a very
underwhelming fight.
Why did you start the CBS
UFC era with that fight?
A nothing fight.
That was not a good fight.
And then the second one was Cody Garbrand
versus Long Zhao,
which was just a sloppy,
weird fight in which Long Zhao had
two points removed for illegal
nutshots and would have won
had he not had those two points removed
and not fought like a crazy person.
In the end, Cody Garbrandt wins.
And that was also a weird fight.
Cody Garbrandt's throwing up.
into a bucket due to these nutshots.
Just so weird.
Just bizarre.
Alberto Montes beat Ricky Terseos via Anaconda Choke.
And there were a bunch of guys on the undercard who I'll maybe attempt to say their name.
I was watching these fights.
Go ahead, Chuck.
It's Tumann.
That's how I always remember it.
Timmerl.
Beat Cody Durden.
Sumergeri beat Jesus Aguilar.
Nergajet beat Tobias and Belito beat Fernandez.
I said to the guys in the group,
I was like, it just feels like a lot of inconsequential,
insignificant fights.
Like, what is this?
What is this product?
It's just a lot of inconsequential.
And like, the guys on the broadcast, like,
this is so crazy.
It's so amazing.
I'm like, guys, come on, man.
You've been there and all,
and you've all seen great fight cards.
Like, stop with the wolf tickets.
And they were so careful on the Fox era
when they were like, when they would book like,
okay, who are the TV people?
It was either going to be
very good-looking people,
you know what I mean?
Or it's going to be like
these guys that they thought
they should showcase
but there weren't going to be a pay-per-view.
Like they were careful,
at least in the booking.
What a strange day.
And then, you know,
for Garbrand to just be laying there
grabbing his junk for
huge portions of that fight, man.
I was like, this is insane.
It was so crazy.
Dry heaving.
I know.
It was just sloppy.
It didn't feel big.
It didn't feel historic.
It didn't feel important.
And I'm not trying to hate,
Listen, man, it's 1247 a.m.
It's 5.47 a.m. over in the UK.
By the way, our clocks are going to move very soon here, so we'll be four hours apart, Pt,
just for a few weeks.
But the point is, like, guys, I just want to tell the audience, like, we devote our lives to this.
We don't want to sit here and poo-poo things.
Like, we want to be excited about things, but we've got to keep it real.
Now, let's put that aside and let's talk about the big news of the night, PT.
I know you're foaming at the mouth.
UFC, Freedom 250.
June 14th on the White House lawn.
It has been officially announced six fights on this card.
8 p.m. Eastern, it will begin.
And they didn't announce Paramount Plus CBS.
It's definitely going to be on Paramount Plus.
Will any of it be on CBS?
I mean, after tonight, who the hell cares?
But these are the fights.
Ilya versus Justin Gaci for the undisputed lightweight title.
Of course, Justin just won the interim belt.
Although in the graphic, they didn't have him holding the belt for whatever reason.
Alex Prev versus Surreal Gun
at heavyweight for the interim heavyweight title
so Tom doesn't get stripped
Alex moves up
it's not against John Jones
it's against Surreal
another title fight for Surreal
Sean O'Malley versus Amin Zahaby
the closest I'll ever get to the White House
no doubt about it an important bantamweight fight
Mauricio Hoofee versus Michael Chandler
at lightweight so Michael Chandler
does get his White House fight
but not against Connor McGregor
Boe Nickel versus Kyle Dawkins
is the only America versus America
fight on the card that's at 185 and then Diego Lopez who seemingly gets on every single big
fight card that the UFC puts on from the sphere to UFC 300 to I mean two title fights to
to nocha UFC this past year to now this going up against Steve Garcia I can tell you guys
that I know they did talk to John Jones they couldn't settle on a number the the hope was
Alex Pereira versus John Jones I knew as of earlier this week Pereira excuse me
Toporia versus Gaichi wasn't being discussed,
but I think once they realized that it wasn't going to be Pereira versus John,
they needed that marquee fight at the top.
So they booked Toporia versus Gaichi.
They booked Pereira versus Gunn.
We knew that when Pereira vacated the title,
it would either be Jones or gone for the interim.
It ends up being gone for the interim.
Petey, take it away.
Your thoughts on the card.
Well, here's the thing.
This is all their best fighters, right?
Really, like the most exciting guys you want to see are here.
Like it's Toporia, Pereira, Omali.
you've also got nickel, Chandler,
obviously you mentioned Lopez there as well.
Look, on the face of this,
this is probably the best card they're going to put on this year.
I would not doubt that based on what we've seen so far.
And as I said, the biggest superstars are there.
But Dana White said on Pat McAfee last year
that this would be the best card anyone's ever seen.
Last year, was it last year?
Was it like two months ago?
Maybe it was last year.
Maybe it was November.
Maybe it was November.
He was saying this on Pat McAfee.
And it just isn't even...
Here's the problem for me.
These aren't even the best, these titles are on the line.
These aren't even the best fights in the division.
You know, like, Ilya Tupori v. Justin Gaichi,
and of course that makes sense because Gaichi's the interim champion.
But like, obviously, Armands will fight there.
Alex Pereira v. Cyril Gan.
We know this is happening because you couldn't get Jones.
And obviously Tom is out as well, who was the champion of the division.
It just feels as though when you set the bar that high,
and this happened with 300 and we got the media scumbag treatment
in the video from Dana or whatever.
you're kind of shooting yourself in the foot.
Because if you're telling us, people have been watching fights for decades now,
watching UFC, watching this product,
that this is going to be the best fight ever and it's going to be the biggest event ever,
that card, as I said, great superstars all over,
but it doesn't feel like it's knocking my socks off.
And I saw the reaction.
I saw your tweet you put out,
or I went to the UFC's official page,
and I'm seeing the backlash from people.
And I do feel it is because we set the bar so high,
with like not even Trump just Dana saying this as well
this would be the biggest card ever this was always going to be the reaction to this
unless you had McGregor on there Jones on there every fight to a title fight as
as Trump said at one stage I mean it will be the best card of the year for the
UFC but I think this looks like any card basically
2015 to 2018 or whatever I don't think it's it's crazy to say something like that
like this just feels like an old school pay-per-view to me what do you think Chuck
man, as a historic one-off, right?
Like just being the kind of novelty that it is,
and you even hear this price that they're thrown out there of $60 million,
and just kind of the slow unveiling of, you know,
the designs and everything that went into this,
and then with the hype that went around it,
they did effectively set the bar too high for themselves.
And that's why it was like one of those things.
Like this was even, this was way crazy than UFC 300
where we kept speculating maybe they have something up their sleeve.
this is why I thought
that even though John Jones
I knew the reluctance
and the difficulty of dealing
with John Jones even if he wants on this card
I knew that this would probably be a snag
but I was hookline and sinker
that he would be on this card. I just felt
that they had to kind of bring him into it
even if they couldn't get
some kind of idea
what his future beyond that
was like but I thought
they're going to have to get him for this card because
he represents like some kind
of, I don't know, like, you know, magnitude or something that would add that dimension that we're
talking about. So seeing it when it was unveiled, not seeing John Jones and just kind of seeing
the fights, I'm with you, like, I'm like, this is a great card, but it feels like settling
in comparison to like maybe what you could have, right? PT mentioned the word, like stimulating
the entire fan base, not just the, not casuals, but the diehards like everybody. And the only way
you can possibly do that is have some matchups that feel like you have two heaps of momentum
going at each other that are you cannot really imagine either guy losing and if you can get that
kind of fight that's really fun right like and i we've seen alice perrara lose but him going for the
history of a third belt against john jones in an inner i mean that would have been just like
that would have blown your mind but the problem is cyril gone has been kind of cast in the
same role like four or five times where it's just it's like okay we can't get exactly what we
want. Cyril Gron is going to step into that spot. And I feel like he's just kind of perpetually
in this. So therefore, now he's fought every big name of his era, you know, and now two divisions.
It's just, it's a crazy, it's a crazy development in that sense. It's still fascinating. And I,
Ariel, I think it was you who's like, you know, by the time it rolls around, we're going to be like,
this is incredible. This is going to be a lot of fun. We will. I guarantee that, you know, I'll talk
myself into, like, loving these. But on the initial reveal, you know, it felt like settling
on some level. It just felt a little anticlimatic. And I think that was inevitable, just the way
they set it up, man. Fifth title fight, by the way for Surreal Gunn, and you're 100% right the way in which
you broke that down. By the way, can I just ask you guys, if Alex wins, do you consider it history?
Like, do you consider him a triple champion? I was already thinking about this. It's a toughie,
isn't it? They will celebrate it, and I know that we will, because it will, we will have to talk
because it's like interim or not, he's now holding a title at heavyweight.
But I mean, man, you have to put a little asterisk on it, a little one, right?
Because it's like unless he beats Aspinall, if he had beat Jones, I mean, obviously,
because Jones being the original going back before Aspinall, you know, it's like, I would have no problem.
But with Cyril gone, I don't know, it just, I think you've got to have that asterisk to an extent.
We won't, though.
I mean, the UFC will roll with it and it to be history, but.
PT, I'd like to get your thoughts on this.
I'll just say, I have no problem if we want to celebrate it
because the heavyweight title, the lineage is so fragmented.
Like the lineal MMA heavyweight champion for all intents of purposes
is still Francis Inganu because he hasn't lost.
But, you know, it went from Francis to then John Jones
and John doesn't end up defending it.
And then there's the Tom stuff.
And then he becomes interim champion.
And I think because the Tom Sero fight,
ended so, you know, abruptly and unceremoniously. And because Surreal fought him, I think it will be
a little bit more digestible to say, oh, if Alex beats this guy who was doing well against Tom,
no doubt about it for that one round, okay, yeah, we're okay with celebrating. If it was two just
random dudes, if it was Patty versus Justin version in the heavyweight division, I think it would
have been a little bit weird. But I think, I think if he does it, it would be okay to celebrate it.
What do you think? Yeah, absolutely. And look, it's a great achievement,
and Pereira, I think, you know, deserves all the credit he gets.
He's an amazing for it.
It's a great achievement to win a third belt in a third way class in the UFC.
I just, the problem is there's just no through line in this division anymore.
No.
You know, you just, Gahn, as you said, has fought and lost the belt before on numerous occasions.
And, you know, it's, what will it be eight months since Tom and, and Gant when this happens?
Like, the need for this to be a title fight feels like it's because of the occasion,
than the need to move the division on.
They've done interim belts, you know, like just Ilya, Ilya won in June.
Seven months later, they did an interim title at 155.
So I'm not offended by it.
You know, I would have been pissed off if Tom would have been stripped,
but because his return is a little bit up in the air,
I'm not offended by the interim.
I'm not offended by the interim.
They've done it worse than this.
Can I just say, I think what, there's multiple reasons why I think the crowd, the fans feel so underwhelmed because of the seven, eight title fights, because Dana is saying like this is going to be the greatest, this is going to be the sphere. By the way, when he said this was going to be the sphere on steroids, I never took it as the card was going to be on steroids. I took it as like, it's just going to look, yes, and I think people kind of misinterpreted it. That's my opinion. But I think what makes it hard to digest is the fact that the top two fights.
fights feature two superstars, but it's not the fights that we want those superstars to be in.
Yes.
We want, we want Ilya versus Armin.
We want Alex versus John.
And we're getting like the wish version of that, right?
We're getting Alex versus surreal.
And we want Omani Bion as well.
Like, you know, this isn't, or like that isn't even the fight.
Or let's be on.
I mean, I love him.
San Hagan.
I think most people wanted San Hagan against So Malley.
So I, that's, that's what I'm seeing.
They wanted bone nickel against Colby or some nonsense.
By the way, imagine, imagine your whole gimmick is, is centered around the white
house and it all led to this moment and you're you're on the outside looking in i mean sorry man you're
the seventh fight and we're only going on with six sorry kid better luck next time huh those those seven
nine whatever was eight years that you devoted to this fucking gimmick sorry bud you can be the
back here's your hat here's your nice little hat and uh photo up i don't know that's that's what
i feel i just i just think that people need to take a step back and look at the landscape and be
Like who else?
Who else did you want?
They don't have that other person.
They don't have that guy.
They don't have that matchup.
They don't have that rivalry that you're looking for.
Can I ask you, man?
So John Jones isn't on this card.
This is the thing that spoke to him, right?
Like he was like, I'm retired.
Oh, no, wait.
There's a White House card.
I want to be on that.
Like, what happens here now?
Is he like, I mean, is he like, is he done?
I think this effectively just ended the career of John Jones.
It's an M.M.A.
fighter, which is wild. And it also moves so far off of him, his presence, right? Because now you're
introducing an interim title that is trying to get back to Aspinall. I mean, he's now so far removed
from the equation that it's like, I don't even know where you plug him back in at this point.
I mean, you could plug him in rather quickly. I think anyone would love to see him fight Tom or
anything like that. But look, he retired. He pissed him off. They didn't call him for a very, very
long time and then as the dust started to clear and they were looking at okay we need to start
booking this card it became very apparent that he was the best option and they just couldn't come to terms
and i don't think they got down to like i don't think it got to i don't even think it got to the goal
line to be honest i really don't by the way i said this earlier with the guys but i do want to just say
as someone who used to very much be in the business of trying to break fight news and has very much
removed himself from that world
from my own sanity.
I was waiting a night.
I was waiting a night
to see if you might slip something in there.
Once he started to say
like, oh, Saturday,
I decided to poke around a little bit
just for old time's sake.
You know, see if I still got it.
I got to say,
they put the fear of God in these managers.
The fear, like, these people
who would talk to me all the time,
like they didn't want to say.
Oh my God, that's fascinating.
I think they thought that the phones were tapped.
They're like, man.
Throw all their phones at the window when they see Ariel's love you.
I was like,
you have a man on the bench
over there with the newspaper, go sit next to him.
He's got information.
Nothing.
Nothing.
Not even a hint.
Not even like a guessing game they wanted to play.
So kudos to Hunter Campbell and the guys because they told everyone basically like if this
gets out, what they told them was if this gets out, we're canceling your fight.
So like which manager would do that in good conscience?
And I told them, I don't even want to break this.
I'm just curious to like Kibitz with you over this right now.
Like I'm not even trying to break this news.
Can you just tell me?
What are you saying, right?
Ceremonious in, though, to John Jones.
Like, seriously, like, yeah.
I kept thinking, you know, even through,
even through this whole process where, you know,
he's kind of damaging his, uh, his twilight years and his legacy
just by ducking effectively.
Tom Aspinall, you still thought there'd be some closure, right?
Like, there'd be something that would happen.
And it seemed to be the perfect opportunity with a guy like Alex Pereira coming up, right?
Um, it seemed like he wanted him, White House, all this.
It's a not, ah, it's crazy to me that he,
that he that this is the way it's going in what was it like the announcement of his retirement
effectively stands from azure bison or whatever like whenever they just did that in the middle
of the night it's just uh it's crazy that that's how the great one of the great careers in the
oc basically comes to an end yeah these guys are in and over go ahead go ahead they're in well over
like a whatever like a billion for this deal we were saying before the aspirin will like he deserves
this money. You know, earlier you're
speaking about McGregor, you're talking about
they need to get a deal with night.
Are we convinced that this will happen? We saw McGregor
speaking to Ian Parker and Child's son
and talking, well, if
Connor Ben's worth 15 million, how much am I?
Like, this feels like it's going to be a reoccurant
problem for the UFC if we are waiting
for them to make these big fights. And every
time they have one of these big fighters that
everybody wants to see, we've all agreed that
if John Jones was on this White House card,
it would add to it astronomically.
Are we convinced that they're
in the business of making these big name fights happen anymore because that would say to me that
McGregor's going to have a frustrating time at the negotiating table himself. To a degree, yes. And
McGregor said over the weekend, like, I'm expecting something earlier in the week, early in the week,
meaning early next week. As I said when we were talking about John Jones, I don't have faith
in this regime that they are going, it was once a regime that was leading the way.
the UFC led by Lorenzo Fertita back in the day where they were like, we need to make the big
fights. Like we are going to lock ourselves in a room and make these big fights. This regime,
for whatever reason, the business is different, the landscape is different, the pay-per-view deal
is different, all that stuff, the broadcast deal is different. If they reach a point where they
just don't want to go anymore, they don't do it. They are more incentivized right now to make the
bigger fights in boxing than an MMA. Because in boxing, they're trying to disrupt, they're trying
to take away from others.
They're trying to build something.
Here, they're so far and ahead away from everyone.
They don't have to do it.
So if John Jones comes around and asks for X amount of million,
they'll just be like, nah, we're not going to do that.
I'm sorry.
And once they started talking about the 60 million and all this stuff,
I was like, oh, they're setting us up for some kind of letdown here.
And I knew Connor wouldn't be on because it's the same thing that happened during the pandemic.
They have to make money off of his fights.
So I think, again, as you said, Chuck,
well. I think come June 14th, everyone will be excited about this and watching it. They'll make a big
deal about it. But I just think people need to remember, like, this is the landscape. This is the
UFC. These are the players. This is the roster. Like, I don't know what you were. Look, they could have
had Ronda Rousey. They didn't want Ronda Rousey. I don't know if that helps you, but like she's a
superstar. People would have gone, I think, somewhat excited over that. They wanted Kayla Harrison,
Amanda Nunes on it. She, she wasn't healthy. So a little bit of bad luck.
involved there but
I know one thing
and maybe I mean
guess maybe we'll have news on this soon
but if I'm Netflix and I get Ingano
like you mentioned him being like the actual
heavyweight champion still
I mean this is a
this is a fine thing to be rolling out
in the vicinity of that date
you know
I'll tell you Angano versus Pereira at heavyweight
would have been tasty
oh my God man
that would be tasty
show we say all this Ariel
and you're saying like you know
I don't know what you expected
are we basically saying like
Like brace yourself to be underwhelmed a lot.
Like brace yourself for the feeling you had tonight for the BMF toilet
when we heard these people doing there,
even though we've all agreed that Charles Oliveras had a great performance.
Brace yourself for the feeling of you're waiting for the best card ever to appear.
And this is the card.
You're waiting for the Connor McGregor fight to be booked for a down to line.
Brace yourself for discipline.
Like is that essentially what we're saying here?
Like they just were going to keep being back here under this regime,
like being like, oh, I actually want to.
with a bit more.
I just think you have to be realistic.
Just look at the landscape.
You know, just look at the roster.
Who are the super duper superstars?
You know?
By the way, they've got one on their hands named Armand Sarukian and they're refusing
to book them.
I know.
By the way, that's crazy, man.
Nice shot of Carmen with the handcuffs there.
Do you guys see that when they showed him in the crowd?
No, I missed it.
Oh, when they were doing like this, oh, they were doing the celebrity stuff like, oh,
this guy's here.
and Armand sitting in the crowd wearing handcuffs,
which I thought was pretty cool.
Yeah, which I thought was, I guess,
ballsy on his part.
It's just a UFC, I don't know.
But people are pissed, man.
Holy shit, people are pissed.
I mean, a couple of these other fights, by the way,
are kind of out of left field.
I don't know if you guys anticipated,
like I would have never guessed that Chandler would be given
Hoofie in this fight, man.
I mean, that just feels extra.
cruel.
It's all right.
We're going to put you on the card.
Who's free?
You're on.
There was some talk of,
there was some talk of him versus BSD.
I don't know which one's worse for him.
I know.
Listen, I'm happy that he's on there
because I thought it was a pretty
raw deal that he's, that he was just taken
out of the Connor sweepstakes.
So this feels like a nice little, you know,
I don't know, a peace offering,
so to speak.
What about just like the lack of Americans
on the card?
That's, you know, like,
Stuck out to me too.
The main event could very well feature an American getting knocked out.
The co-main event doesn't have an American.
O'Malley, obviously, Americans, a hobby isn't.
Chandler American, two Americans on the Boe Nickel card.
So in the end, I think it's Garcia, Bo, Kyle, Chandler, and Gaichi.
Five Americans out of the 11 fighters on the card.
No, 12 fighters on the card, excuse me.
So not even...
The Diego Lopez thing is funny, too.
You're talking about Armand, you know, who's like wearing handcuffs.
But meanwhile, here's Diego out there, man.
He's appearing on any big card whenever he wants it.
Living his best...
Yeah, they love him.
Gosh, they love this guy.
That's unbelievable.
As Americans, how do you feel about the name?
Every event.
What's that, Pt?
As Americans, how do you feel about the name, U.S.
Freedom 250?
I'm fine with it.
I mean...
Freedom's just another word.
for nothing left to lose, Pizzi.
Yeah.
A little bit.
I'm sold on it now, too.
Thank you, sir.
If I'm Felicia Spencer and Amanda Nunes,
I'm pretty pissed off.
Yeah.
Do you get it?
Because the guy looking for you're going to push them in?
No, they headlined UFC 250,
and so it feels like their shine is getting taken away.
No, I did not connect that.
It's tough.
Man.
Yeah, that is hot.
Nate Diaz tweeting
boring mother effers.
It was right there, wasn't it?
Yeah, it was right there for you.
He corrected it too.
He had it like in the work case.
He was like, wait a minute.
For people understanding it needs to be like,
I need the capitals.
So good for him.
By the way, Perre is the dog going into that.
Oh, here's, these guys are all dorks fighting for my belt.
Prayer of the dog, surprised.
Yeah.
Man, I am a little surprised by that.
As am I.
What do you think?
What you think, Ptt?
That's like a...
That's the most favorable matchup, right?
I think that he could have got.
For Pereira.
Yeah, for Pereira. Yeah, I'm a little surprised by that.
I mean, gone, gone, I mean, gone look good in the little bit we saw against Aspinall,
but he's kind of folded in other big spots, so I don't know.
How freaked about is he going to be about hand position in this fight?
Like, after the last one, you know what I mean?
I know we talked about it with John Jones, but...
Oh, my God.
The fact that.
The, like, the so much discourse about gouges and pokes since then,
there is a referee sum with that uncrown film.
The Casey was out there filming it, Ben was there as well.
And a massive thrust of that was punishing people's just hands being out.
Not like, not even contact, hands being out at all should be costing points.
You can imagine that he will be under a lot of scrutiny when he's fighting again based on what happened with Aspel.
And that's not me saying, like, he went out there to try and mull his eyeballs out.
But that was his intention from the jump.
I just mean there's just been so much discourse and so much conversation about coaches ever since.
A couple of factoids for you guys.
So now they're giving out the 100K bonuses.
For performance of the night, Drew Dober, Gregory Rodriguez, Hidalfo Bellato, and Alberto Montez won those.
So shout out to them.
You get 25K if you get a stoppage.
This is interesting from Aaron Bronstetter.
Holloway Olvera is only the second BMF bout with a takedown.
landed. Masvedel landed a take down against Diaz in the first one. It's the first
BMF championship bout without a single knockdown registered, which is kind of interesting.
Gate 8.3 million, 19,000 people at T-Mobile Arena. By the way, speaking of the White
House card, I did mention that there was talk of Gable Stephson debuting on that card, but
that did not happen. Why didn't happen? Why didn't happen? I'm not. I'm not. I'm not
sure to be honest. I was told that he would fight in Mexico and that maybe he would fight in
March in Wow, but I don't know if that's going to happen. And then maybe it's just a lot.
Or maybe they decided after what happened. And by the way, a quick little tease for you,
we've got a fantastic uncrown film coming out this week called The Making of a Superstar, Gable
Steven, Casey went to Mexico with the team to follow him. Behind the scenes, it's a fantastic,
fantastic. It might be my favorite one. And as you know already, what happened in that fight,
he got, you know, hit with the spinning back kick and all that. Maybe they think he needs a little
bit more time. I don't know. Just three pro fights at this point. So, you know, it's not like
he's been doing this for 10 fights. Dana White is speaking to the media right now.
Looking at some notes from Aaron Bronstetter, White was surprised by how the main event played out
and didn't expect Levera to be able to dominate Holloway the way in which he did.
White said returning to network television was huge.
Although, you know, they used to do like ABC cards
and not really make a big deal about that.
So it's not like...
White says the matchmakers presented him
with choices for the White House fights
and he chose them.
White said there was no chance for Aspinall
to be on it, which is why Parangana
are fighting for interim.
White says there was never a possibility
of John Jones fighting in the White House card.
White says that John has hit problems
that John was never in negotiations.
I mean, I was told differently.
White says that it's fair that John Jones is retired,
that his fighting careers over.
Yeah, I don't know.
Maybe he doesn't want to talk about the negotiations,
but I mean, John Jones himself said it.
Yeah.
What was the thing at the way in then?
When the fight, everyone was like,
this is when the fight fell out.
And it's like,
Oh, I mean, he said,
he said on a stream, a power slap stream,
he said that a fight had just fallen out.
And then, I don't know, there was a clip of them talking,
and they're like, maybe this is what, who the fuck knows?
I don't know.
Everyone's so obsessed.
What was the fight?
What was the fight?
I know.
I saw a lot of people talking about that.
I bet you was good, though.
I bet you was.
Yeah.
That would have made it.
Actually, someone asked him about that.
And he said, he will not disclose which fight fell off.
It was John Jones.
Strange circumstances surrounding why.
Colby.
This is close, man.
Wow.
Weird stuff.
Well, some can'tapist, this white house.
already is. Can I return real quick to the main and ask you something? Like you mentioned like the
you know you mentioned this like a there's only been one takedown. It was Masfadol and it was there's
always been a knockdown whatever that stat was which which really does kind of feel like an old
boy's agreement right of like okay we're going to go in there we're going to do this. Is there any
possibility that Max Holloway never thought that this kind of game plan was coming at him like that he
was like, I think we're going to stand and trade more.
You know what I mean?
Like that he just thought he would be accommodated in the way he wanted to fight.
For Charles or for Max?
So Max, basically, he looked caught off guard to an extent.
Like he didn't anticipate that this was going to be the dominant, you know, pattern of the fight.
I just, I wonder if he, and hit in the back of his mind was like, Charles will fight me.
You know, Charles will come in and.
Yeah, maybe.
and we'll have this little handshake type thing
and you know like the other BMF things
it was yeah it may be it was surprising
it was really surprising to see it that
I mean Maxa Mac's a great fighter
well-rounded fighter he had not been dominated like that
in quite some time and it really wasn't the fire fight
I think most people were expecting but honestly like
and also the first minute he comes in there
and he kind of he starts to get that rhythm
rhythmic boxing and it's putting together
putting together his hands like very in flow
connecting on a couple shots in the first minute
and it was almost as if he never anticipated
that he was about to get wrapped up and dumb like he it was like it
didn't cross his mind that's why I was asking was like it seemed to catch him
completely off guard on the first one at least and then this
the subsequent ones just seemed like he was helpless to do anything about it
I've never seen anyone do that to him before you know so easily
that's why I was asking I'm like it's just pa I mean it'd be
interesting to see what he says about it but the weird
the weird thing is the weird thing is like
that's the fight that Charles should have fought.
Like, you know what I mean?
As, as unfanned friendly as it was, he fought a brilliant fight.
Like, he stood there with Ilya Taboria.
That wasn't the right thing to do.
This exactly was the right thing to do.
So good on him.
Like, maybe that Ilya fight changed him.
He was great against Mateus Gamerad.
He was great against Max Holloway.
Maybe he's got one more run in him.
I don't know.
But that's exactly what he should have done.
It just, you know, sometimes it's the same thing with Hamza and DDP.
sometimes people get excited about these fights and they tune in and they're like well that wasn't exactly
what i wanted or that wasn't exactly what i had hoped for or paid for but these days you don't have to
pay as much as you once did is there anything on this card that you guys want to point out that you're
excited about that you're you're passionate about or you know dover gets to win Gregory hadriguez
Cody we spoke about a little bit that was weird
Michael went down right at the moment he was supposed to that's all i'm going to say okay
I'm just kidding.
I don't know anything about that.
No, no, no.
It seemed like he was actually fighting a good fight, didn't it?
Like, he was actually...
He had the speed advantage.
He was landing those shots, man.
It was kind of...
But he was winning.
You know?
He was winning the fight, yeah.
By the way, shout out to Yuan Jacek and Zhang Wei.
They announced that they're going into the Hall of Fame UFC 248,
their legendary fight.
The second to last UFC fight that I've seen in person,
main event that night was Israel-Dicenia versus YOL.
Yeah, it was the last show before the pandemic.
March, actually, it was this weekend, 20, 20, 6 years ago this weekend.
It was like March 7th or 6th, something like that.
So shout out to them.
I suspect that that ceremony will take place in July.
The International Fight Week event hasn't been officially announced yet,
but last I heard it was July 11th, so minus 2 would be July 9th.
So I'll see you guys all out there.
for that extravaganza.
That was fun when we went a few years ago, right?
That was fun.
It was fun.
We went to the ceremony, remember?
Pizza is not social.
Yeah, I remember.
That was a great time.
You got shouted out.
Remember?
I got shouted it out.
Yes, it wasn't in the prompter because D.C.'s too big of a pus.
No, I'm kidding.
That was great.
Guys, any final thoughts?
Chuck?
You know what, man?
You mentioned the pandemic.
And the pandemic, I went and sat with Ben Ascran for a couple of days to get material to help him write his book, which obviously came out a few years ago.
And the biggest thing we discussed was Jorge Mazzvedal and just his contentious kind of relationship with him and him having to kind of take a long view on everything that was happening.
I know you pointed this out today, but how good was that, man?
So good.
That they today, was it today? Was it today?
I don't know when this actually took place.
So it was today and they got together.
They post a picture.
You've got Ben asked this guy who's found like rejuvenated life.
And he's saying like, you got to get rid of these grudges, man.
He's just happy to be making friends with the guy who altered his, you know, just altered so much in his life at that moment.
I thought that that was really cool.
There's sometimes I don't want to see arch rivals get, you know, get familiar with each other and become friends.
This happens occasionally.
But this is one of those ones where I'm like, given.
Ascrens everything he's been through.
I thought it was a really genuine moment, man.
Amazing.
Warm my heart.
I want to give a shout out to Roy Karpf.
Yes.
He told me, actually, that this was happening a little bit ago.
I think he helped orchestrate it.
Yeah.
I think he's working on some kind of documentary,
and I think he helped orchestrate it.
So shout out to him for making that happen,
a beautiful, beautiful scene.
Yeah, that was amazing.
I was going to make a joke about you not mentioning the Nix one,
but like, how can I make a joke after that?
You know, like, that's just,
in case you're wondering,
My Knicks beat his Nuggets by 39 points last night.
Dude, it was...
I thought he was going to wax poetic on that, but nothing.
You know what the worst part of this is I have the NBA package, right?
Which just gets worse and worse every year.
But this year, I could not watch that game because it's like so local that you have to get whatever it is the other network.
What is it like the MSG or something like that?
So I had to pay like 30 bucks to get this game.
And I'm like, I got to see it.
I got to get it because Aaron Gordon's coming back.
that finally the Nuggets
starting lineup
what's intended
is coming back
I put it on
and from that moment
from the money
they're up 10 to or something
like that when I finally got it on
from that moment on
it was just disaster
I mean Jamal Murray is getting carried out of there
and like the lead is going from like
five points to 12 points
and then the third show
it was like one of the most frustrating games
I've ever watched man
I don't know why you guys turn it to the Pelicans
when you play us as of late
because it's weird
I was saying that last night
I was like, if the Knicks make the finals,
which they have a great chance of doing that,
they should be praying to God it's the Nuggets
because they own the Nuggets.
I don't know what it is,
especially during the Yokic era.
Like, you know, everybody else is kind of not good against the Nuggets,
but the Nix seem to beat them regularly in Denver too.
Yeah, definitely the highlight of my weekend.
It's not good, man.
T.C.
You look fantastic.
I don't think you're a mess moving, aren't you?
No, no.
The eyes are getting small.
smaller and smaller.
The eyes are getting smaller and smaller,
so we're going to wrap this bad boy up.
Thank you to everyone.
Don't play me.
Don't play me.
I can do this all day, lads.
No, I know you can.
I would never doubt you.
I would never doubt you.
I'm tired because I keep thinking,
oh, it's actually 2.20 a.m.
And that's just not very fun.
Yeah, I know.
I know.
Thank you very much to everyone who tuned in today.
Great job by the whole team over at the HQ.
Boys in the Back.
Thank you to our good friends over at Arena Club.
Got a lot of cards,
a lot of offers.
people are offering me all kinds of things for my cards, but I'm not budging, at least for now,
I actually did do one deal. So shout out to them, marina club.com.
Shout out to the whole crew in the control room.
Shout out to the boys in the back, like I said.
Shout out to Charles Olavera, Cayo Baha'a.
Didn't talk a lot about Cayo, but a nice bounce-back win for him over RDR and today for another
edition of the program.
Then I'm off to Los Angeles for the big press conference on Tuesday.
That should be fun.
that should be the pros
I mean that's going to be
a must see TV
it's like Italy
MSG on Friday
he's always off somewhere
man
Mr.
International
stop it
but we've got a big
a big week coming up
a big week
we'll talk more about
the White House card
more about 326
of course
we'll help you preview
the big Josh Emmett
Kevin Vallejo's fight
coming up next weekend
at the apex
so stay tuned for that
but for now
it is time to go
we say
salute and good night
from New York City.
Bye-bye.
