The Athletic Hockey Show - Andrei Kuzmenko signs extension with Canucks, Ryan O'Reilly wants to stay in St. Louis, diving into stats for Sabres and Bruins
Episode Date: January 27, 2023Hailey and Sean are joined by Dom Luszczyszyn to analyze the two-year extension Andrei Kuzmenko signed with Vancouver. Also, Ryan O' Reilly's wish to stay in St. Louis, and if David Pastrnak could bec...ome the NHL's highest-paid player this year. Next, they dive into Dom's 16 Stats this week, including the Sabres' playoff chances, and if the Bruins' chance at the all-time season wins record. To wrap up, the crew draft their favorite HBO shows.Save on a subscription to The Athletic: theathletic.com/hockeyshowSubscribe to The Athletic Hockey Show’s Youtube channel: http://youtube.com/@theathletichockeyshowGo to https://www.chime.com/nhlshow to sign up for a Chime Credit Builder Visa Credit Card today! Thanks to Chime for supporting the show.Sign up today at stitchfix.com/hockey to get $20 off your first purchase! Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This is the Athletic Hockey Show.
Hello, everybody.
Welcome back to another edition of the Athletic Hockey Show.
It's Friday.
It's Healy Salvian and Sean Gentile here with you.
And we're actually coming to you with the Besties edition of the show.
That's right.
Don Lus Chishin's here.
Everybody say hello.
Did we vote on that name?
like why are we
Friday wasn't really
I didn't have much input there
I didn't have much input on the bestie edition
because it's not your show
I don't know
naming things is hard
it's an old it's like an old adage
for old internet people
who've had to do a couple generations
of naming blogs and
whatever shows it sucks
it's horrible so I'm happy to not
I'm honestly happy to not be involved with it
You're just going to complain about it.
Yeah.
That's my job, yes.
Okay.
Not every show name.
Not every show name can be as great as the Tuesday Boys.
Yeah, with 3-Zs or whatever.
You didn't even name that yourself.
Sure.
Yeah, what are you talking about?
Yeah, I did.
Wasn't that people in the comments?
You think Craig does work on that?
No.
Craig hasn't done shit.
Can barely even bother to show up for that thing at this point.
It cares.
A lot of muscles to call yourself a Tuesday boys, eh?
Hashtag Tuesday boys.
was three these
It's clever.
Tons of brain power.
Well,
you're a huge buzzkill.
I was feeling better today.
I don't have the black and white
settings on my video.
We don't need any
sad songs.
I forgot about that,
honestly.
How could I forget?
It was hilarious.
Danielle,
it was a huge W from Danielle.
But Dom,
say hello.
I was trying to introduce Dom
and then Sean just dumped
on our entire production.
Gives a shit.
Danielle calls it the bestie edition
It is the bestie edition
Just the three best friends
That's why I brought it up
I knew it was Dom
I was trying to shit on Dom
Have you tried not being a hater
Isn't that you
That's coming from you?
I love everything
I don't know what you're talking about
I'm famously
A love for of all things
You love power plate points
Yeah
Special teams, special teams play.
Jonathan Huberto, the entire Uberdo business family, big fans of.
Big fan of Heberdow.
I'm not what you're talking about.
I love everything about his game.
I just want to give him a word for it.
Got to pivot from the Huberdo talk.
Haley, what was the first thing on the run down here?
Let's get it on the rails.
Yeah, yeah.
This is Friday.
Welcome everybody.
Everyone's feeling chipper.
Everyone's feeling great.
As you can tell.
Great intro.
Great start.
This is really dumb.
I put in our rundown segment number one.
I called it News You Can Use.
And that's good.
Like this is the 10 o'clock news or something.
And it's like, yeah.
It's Friday headlines.
Here's your news you can use.
There's been a recall on lettuce affecting 45 giant eagles in the Allegheny County
in Washington County area.
Lettuce is so expensive right now.
I tried to buy some romaine and it was like $9 and I said, I don't need this.
Kind of political here, folks.
I don't need lettuce.
Anyways, the real news you can use, Andre Kuzmanko signs a two-year, $5.5 million deal in Vancouver.
And I guess the question.
And we can start with Dom.
The question is like why, ultimately?
because I think we can all agree
based on what we've seen from Kuzmanco.
I don't have a problem with that contract.
Two years, 5.5, he's a good player, he's a fun player.
I don't inherently have an issue
with the deal he's been signed to or the player himself.
My problem is that the Vancouver Canucks did it
when they could have traded him.
Dom?
That is the exact problem because it's a,
pretty fantastic deal for what he's been and what you can expect him to be while leaving a bit of money out to, I guess, like the risk of what he's been, his shooting percentage, the fact that he's only played 47 NHL games. That's why it's nice that it's only five and a half and it's only two years. But it's not nice because it's the Vancouver conducts who signed the deal and it just makes no sense given their current direction. It makes
no sense given their future direction and given what they need where they need to be,
it would have made so much more sense to trade him and reap the rewards of what is probably
a bit of an inflated shooting percentage if for a player they don't need him.
And they could have got a good little haul for futures that could have greatly helped
their future trajectory.
It's the Jim Rutherford classic.
It's the move.
We saw it at the end in Pittsburgh.
As soon as he stumbles across cap space,
this is a guy who, in Pittsburgh in particular,
was always, you know, in Vancouver,
always talking about things he can't do,
things he doesn't have the space to pull off.
He was reminding people, well, we don't have money,
we don't have money,
as if he is not the one who continually,
maybe didn't create the initial problem,
but compounds it and drags it on
and, you know,
kind of furthers the whole deal.
He did that in Pittsburgh many times over.
The funniest was the Patrick Hornquist deal, by the way.
That was like their big, not like get out of jail free a card,
but he was the big, obvious trade to make in 2019,
in the 2019 and 2020 season.
Rutherford moved him,
ended up taking on more salary in return in the form of Mike Matheson,
and the end result is a net cap ad.
in Rutherford, at the time of doing the deal,
basically cop to say, cop to like,
oh, I didn't realize I added more than I gave up in that.
The salary cap is not a consideration for him.
He doesn't value cap space as an asset,
and he doesn't think about it whenever he negotiates trades like this.
So if I had a dollar,
if I could bet money on this, on something like this,
like negotiation conversations
with Kuzmenko would have ramped up
right after they knew they couldn't sign Bo Horvat
because this dude he gets money in his pocket
and it burns a hole and then he gets rid of it.
It's infuriated to watch as someone
who cares about team building
let alone a fan of whatever the team is in question.
So dollars to donuts this dude was like
all right, I don't have Bo Horvatt to worry about long term.
That means I'm going to have about five and a half, six and a half, seven and a half million dollars to play with.
What do I do with it?
He turns around and gives it to Kuzmenko, who like, again, nice player, good deal.
It's just the wrong team.
He should have been found money, a $900,000 super productive player who's like attractive for a bunch of reasons that may or may not bear out and hold up in the future.
They should have flipped him.
They should have flipped him at the deadline.
or whatever. Instead, he's going to be there as one of their $110 million in winger contracts.
Rothavert signed over the last couple of years. It's amazing.
I think, like, the big problem, when we at least look at the Vancouver Canucks and what we think
should be the most valuable for them where they're at in their life cycle right now, like,
the two most important things for this team should be cap space and future assets, whether
that's young NHL players or draft picks. This guy's,
a young NHL player, but he's 26.
And believing that he's a solution is believing that Jim Rutherford can turn this team around
in two years.
And I don't know how many people are believing that.
I think Jim Rutherford believes that, which is why he's doing this move, because he fits
the 24 to 27-year-old window of player, age bracket of player he's trying to put into his
corks.
We heard it in the almost hour-long press conference.
So, you know, I think it was Drans.
who asked him, like, about the timeline.
And, you know, he, uh, Rutherford was like, well, what, what timeline are you looking at?
And he was like, oh, yeah.
That, yeah.
Oh, yeah.
Three years, yeah.
Like, I think they genuinely believe that they can turn this around in two years and that
Kuzmanko can be a part of, of that.
But for me, like when we're kind of thinking realistically or objectively,
when we're zooming out and looking at this roster, like you could have got, he's making
under a million dollars.
He's got 21 goals at the 47 game mark as we're recording this.
I think the amount of teams that could have lined up for a guy like that would have driven
the price up.
And so yeah, they could have had that found money and they could have had a decent draft
pick, but instead they have Kuzmanko signed for two years.
He's a UFA after that.
And what?
Is that your window of contention?
I don't know.
You're trying to apply logic to a situation where there isn't any.
And it's been true for years.
Where's the logic in doing what they did,
like the overall across-the-board logic
to what they did to Bruce Boudreau?
Where's the, like, go back.
Go back in Jim Rutherford's recent history.
Like, where's the logic in the Hornquist trade?
Where's the logic in signing Jack Johnson
for four years or whatever it was?
Five.
Five.
He's not bound to the constraints of conventional wisdom.
Or logic.
Or sanity.
It's, it's, it's, it's, it's, it's,
Ford, man, that's it.
So, like, yeah, it's like you're trying to, you know, suss out the, the reasonable parts here,
and they're just, there aren't, there aren't any.
And part of it comes back.
That guy always thinks that, that his teams are a couple trades away, whether that, whether that's true or not.
Well, because he has action over those traits.
And if he thinks he's somewhat who could turn a team around, then there are a couple
trades away and he'll be the savior.
I just, it's just unfathomical because how often is there an asset like Kuzmanko available
at the deadline where you have like a 35 goal 70 point forward for under a million dollars,
especially in this salary cap hell.
He was like not getting power play time either.
Like if you put it if you put him on a team, he seems like a guy who would be a,
who would be a weapon there.
It's insane.
Brandon Hagle got two first last year.
Exactly.
I was saying, I think I said this on our show.
I said it on the radio.
I was like, I just keep envisioning a world where Julia.
and Breezebois has this amazing trade and deal in his pocket that involves Kuzmanko.
He's going to trade, you know, the 2025 or 2026 first round pick plus some guy, you know,
that we've probably never heard of and then have a great deal in the cupboard and bring
Kuzmiko in for the Tampa Lightning and they're going to go to the Cup final again.
It just, it just looked like a Hagel type situation.
And I just think, I think that he would have been.
more valuable to the Vancouver Canucks as a trade chip and, you know, in the cap space conversation,
then he will be over the next two years. And that's not a shot at how good of a player he is
and how good he might be in the next two years. I just think that this was a missed opportunity
for the Vancouver Canucks. Could he be, this is funny, I got this question from somebody
as I was talking about this deal. Could he be traded as like a non-renton?
player. Like, does his value go up now that he's making $5.5 million and he's in team control?
Could he still be on the table for a team? Like, Dom, do you see that as a deal that could still be
on the table and more value? Because it is a good deal. So maybe a team will look at this and say,
you know what, that's a pretty good contract for a player we like and now it's not a rental.
So maybe we'll still do it. I mean, maybe. It's just, I don't think Vancouver is thinking like that.
I think they think this is a guy for their future plans and they just sign them to a nice deal that will align with when they'll be ready in two years.
And that is obviously not the case.
Again, he was, it's like, well, we have a Beau Horvatt-sized hole on our, on our cap ledger for the next year.
So how can we, this is whenever you see it, and it's a longstanding kind of experiment, but I know everyone will always, you see it kind of redone and put.
on YouTube or put on TikTok or whatever,
whenever you put a marshmallow in front of a little kid
and you say like,
you can have this marshmallow now,
or I'm going to go and come back in 15 minutes,
and then you get two marshmallows,
but you have to leave the first one alone.
You can't eat it.
And then they leave the room and you watch little kid,
you know,
you watch like a kid sit there and just like go crazy
and stare at the marshmallow
and try to like muscle up the willpower to not eat it.
Like that's what it's like for Jim Rutherford
in five and a half million dollars
like in his salary cap
on the books.
Like he can't help himself.
At some point he's going to lose the benefit
of saying he inherited these problems.
He should have lost it already.
He should not have had it coming out this summer.
He doesn't make that many moves that add to the cap though, Sean.
He's been completely unhate because it's a lack of,
because again, it comes back to him not valuing salary cap space
in any capacity, right?
He wants to play.
He wants to create it.
He wants players.
So obviously he values it.
He just doesn't know how to make the moves necessary without, like he, I don't, I don't
really know.
Like you want to, what, you want to dump Brock Besser?
Maybe that's the answer.
Bo Horvett leaves.
You dump Brock Besser at the deadline.
You trade Luke Schen.
Now you got some money.
Maybe.
This is his team now.
It has been for however many months, there's no more excuses.
And the fact that he's continued to kick the can down the road and somehow,
be like, well, you know, this isn't, this wasn't our build.
Like, buddy, you just signed someone for five and a half.
Like, look at all the, look at all the contracts he signed people to.
It's insane.
It's his fault.
Okay.
Tell us how you really feel.
It's just, it's aggravating.
And I think a lot of it honestly is looped up in, a lot of it is tied up in the way things
have gone for them in general in the last, in the last, like, month or two, right?
we've seen them like treat a good man terribly over the course of the last however many months so who gives his shit he doesn't get he shouldn't have been getting the benefit of the doubt in the first place so every it should be open season on that dude as far as criticism is concerned right like oh like no this is this is his roster it's his doing and he's on his third he's on his he's on his second coach i'm in a terrible mood there it is um
Well, sweet, sweet Jeremy Rutherford, whom we all love, has an exclusive on the athletic.
He talked to Ryan O'Reilly about the trade talk, a potential contract extension in St. Louis.
The crux of it, Ryan O'Reilly wants to be in St. Louis.
I think he believes if the team was doing better and if he was doing better, then these trade conversations might not be happening.
But that's not the reality of the situation.
the blues are having a tough, very streaky year.
Ryan O'Reilly's not having a great season,
and he's kind of on all these trade boards and trade bait lists.
And, you know, I think he's been linked to the Leafs.
I don't know how credible that's been.
I think LeBron said something about the Leafs when it comes to Ryan O'Reilly.
I mean, is this a guy who should be traded at the deadline?
Is he someone who the Blues should hang on to?
I mean, he doesn't have any trade protection.
Vladimir Tarasanko is the one that does.
And I mean, I don't believe he's ever rescinded his trade request.
Frank Saravali reported that in his DFO.
I think he had it in the flames blurb about Tera Sanko potentially being a fit for Calgary.
I mean, Ryan O'Reilly, though, like, would that make sense?
Like, if you're the Blues, do you re-sign O'Reilly or do you trade him at the deadline, regardless of how he's playing right now?
You got to trade him.
Trade him.
Yeah, again, this is not a team.
in position to go anywhere anytime soon, make the most of the assets you have. Obviously,
Ryan O'Reilly means a lot to the franchise, but I mean, he's probably going to be overpaid
on his next deal. Do you really want to be the team doing that, especially if you're the blues
and you're in no man's land kind of where you're not good enough to tank, not, sorry, not bad
enough to tank, not good enough to make the playoffs. So,
This is a player who's in pretty rapid decline,
and I don't think a lot of NHL teams are keen to that,
and they will probably overpay for him at the deadline,
so make the most of it because I don't see a point in signing O'Reilly
after this season if you're the Blues on the way down.
Do you guys know that Jordan Kairu and Robert Thomas' contracts
don't kick in until next season?
Yep.
Next season.
That's $11 million more dollars tacked onto their...
cap projection next year.
So I don't even know where the money would come from, honestly, at this point.
Their salary structure is bizarre.
Bad.
Well, they have some guys coming off the books, like Teresanko's a UFA,
Barbashav's a UFA, Nola Chari's UFA.
So, like, they have deals coming off the books.
You're right.
If they wanted to do it, if they wanted to do it, they could.
You're right.
But they shouldn't.
Right.
Even if it's like a discount, hometown discount, keep him in St. Louis kind of deal. You don't do it?
It depends on how steep the hometown discount ones. Like, people say this. Like players say this shit.
But then ultimately, if you're like, okay, Ryan O'Reilly, you want to stick around, you're making $4 million for four years or whatever.
Yeah, it's going to be tough. They've got 70. So right now they have, it looks like $70 million committed to 13 players next season.
So they have 12.7 million in projected cap space with a ton of work to do.
Mm-hmm.
That team.
And they only have one goalie.
That's Jordan Bittington.
So they need a backup goalie.
Zero goleys.
That's not true.
He's been better than his numbers look like this year.
So J.R. has told me.
I'm just kidding everybody.
God bless Jeter.
He's been better than his numbers would suggest.
I've seen, I've seen the data points.
What about the last two games?
Didn't watch those ones.
Honestly.
John Ham told me he was better than his stats have suggested.
So John Hamm and I are friends.
Oh, interesting.
He and I should chat.
John, if you're listening, I agree with you.
You can send you his email address.
I feel like it's just never the goalie's fault, you know?
I feel like they just can't keep committing a ton of money to 30-year-olds.
You want to bet?
Are you saying that's spending $25 million next year on a top four of,
of Justin Falk, Tori, Cooke, Coln Preco, and Nick Letty is good?
Nick Letty.
There's no way he's going to take less money than he's making right now.
So if the floor is $7.5 million, that's, you know, over half of your current projected cap space.
Goodbye, Ryan.
Thank you for everything.
St. Louis Legend, this man, without him, they don't, they're still operating on zero cups as a franchise.
God bless this dude.
Enjoy being overpaid by someone else.
It's crazy.
Crazy that they would move on from him too.
Because Doug Armstrong said it too.
He said it at the start of the season.
He was like champing at the bit for changes there.
It's champing.
That's what it is, by the way.
A lot of people screw up and say chomping.
Not me, though.
It's chomping.
Incorrect.
Champing at the bit?
Yep.
That can't be right.
That's the saying.
No.
I mean, you can look it up.
You're a freaking liar.
No, no.
No.
Never lied once in my life about anything.
It's champing.
What does that even mean?
Doesn't matter.
That can't be real.
What's a champ?
What's champing?
Blades of glory reference, by the way.
Slash Watch the Throne.
We've seen that.
Are we done?
Is there another bit here?
Get Ryan O'Reilly out of St. Louis.
We need trade deadline fodder.
We need a big name to move.
He's the guy.
Is this working?
Is this thing on?
Excuse me?
Ryan O'Reilly the Maple Leafs.
Dom, thoughts?
See, I hope that happens for Dom.
You'd be so conflicted, dude.
I wouldn't.
You wouldn't know what to do with yourself.
I wouldn't.
I would hope that it would work.
It has Nick Folino written all over it.
It has so many Nick Falino vibes.
And no disrespect to Ryan O'Reilly, sir.
Your foot's broken.
A better Nick Lino.
You're foot's broken right now.
It's giving Jason Allison taking a shoot out of
in 2005.
Ryan O'Reilly won something, at least.
Yeah, that's why I said, like, no disrespect.
No.
Nick Floyd over won.
Nick Flynn was the greatest.
I think that would be a little concerning.
Go back to Colorado.
Number six on the Athletics Big Board, Ryan O'Reilly.
Back to Colorado?
Calgary.
Calgary, yeah.
I think it'd be funny because they offer sheet to them.
That went so well.
Yeah.
Fulfills his destiny.
He didn't he sign the offer sheet?
Oh, yes.
Oh, yes.
Yeah.
It's worked out fine.
It was just the aves matched.
Didn't work out for the flames.
Anyways, let's go to break and we're going to come back
and we're going to go through some of Dom's 16 stats.
Talk about the Buffalo Sabers and ask Dom.
Do you hate Tage Thompson?
That's coming up next.
So Dom left.
He didn't appreciate.
Through a little trap door in his apartment floor.
He just descended straight down.
There's something weird going on in there.
He took his row.
robot dogs and went on the run, never to be seen again.
Dom's still here.
And I do believe that the day that Marat and I and Sean, you know,
we made accusations about Dom's apartment and Dom saw it on Twitter.
I was like, what did you say about my home?
What do people think that I do here?
I was concerned.
Sean's a wild card.
Who knows what comes out of the mouth sometimes?
he could have had a bad day, could have had a Jim Rutherford moment and be like, you know what,
screw dumb.
I'm just going to talk bear shit.
We're really yelling about Jim Rutherford, like really upset.
I'm just trying to get the energy up in one way or another.
My energy is fine.
I'm talking personally.
You guys are fine.
I'm dragging here.
Oh, okay.
So I made myself mad about Jim Rutherford.
Right.
Well, it definitely showed.
You know how I'm getting my energy?
With this olypop.
Have you guys tried these?
Hashtag ad.
Not sponsored.
It sounds like you're doing a spawn con for some.
What is that?
This little shit was three for $10.
It's like a healthy pop.
It's not healthy.
It has like prebiotics in it.
I think it's supposed to be for digestion.
I don't know the difference in prebiotics and probiotics.
I'm not going to find them out.
16 stats this week.
Wait.
I don't want to talk about OliPop anymore.
It's not fight in front of Dom.
This is supposed to be the best hour.
Okay.
So Dom, a big part of your 16 stats this week
looked at the Buffalo Sabres and their playoff push.
They are in the thick of the playoff race right now,
yet your model has them at a 10% chance to make the playoffs.
Why?
I'm going to use a word that Sean hates just to see his reaction, but it doesn't
it doesn't account for the vibes that the Sabres have.
Oh, look at his face.
That's beautiful.
That's exactly what I wanted.
The major reason is Buffalo's strength of schedule is really high.
Going forward, they on average are going to face teams that are expected to finish the season
with 95 points, which is the second hardest in the league.
A lot of their games are on the road, which they have been strong.
on the road this year, but generally it's not safe to expect that to continue.
And I think their main competition, Florida as a team that won the presence trophy last year,
they have strong priors.
20 of their final 32 games are at home, and they have a much easier schedule in terms of
opponents.
I love the sabers.
I want them to make it.
It's been too long.
I think they're one of the most fun teams in the league in the way that they are all
offense, no defense.
but I think they're playing a bit over their head right now.
I do think a lot of their offense is real based on the things they're doing in terms of
creating high danger passes and carrying the puck in the zone.
But to the extent that it's currently happening, I think it is not exactly wrong to expect
them to fall back down a little.
So you have the panthers over them and the projections.
I actually haven't checked those in a couple days.
Yeah, and it brings me no joy every day to have that because the Panthers are a bunch of losers right now.
And it's like, everyone's like, oh yeah, let's just keep saying the Panthers are a good team.
Like, I don't want to do that.
I knew they'd been, I knew they'd bumped themselves up.
Florida did.
I don't think I quite realize it was back up to that.
The gap between them and Buffalo was that large.
Yeah, it's because the Buffalo playoffs have always been.
low throughout the season. It's just the model being stubborn saying this team is probably
still bad. They're bad at defense and Craig Anderson is net, is a net? So is that something
you can really bank on? Is it safe to think Tage Thompson will continue scoring at a 60 goal pace
or whatever? Yes. I want it to be. You know what? It's not. It's not because he's going to start
scoring at a 70 goal pace. That's why. I hope because every goal, it's not just like a 60 goal pace.
it's like 60 goals with style points included
where every one of them rule
and we need that in the playoffs.
Everyone would rather have Buffalo in the playoffs over Florida
and I don't want to be the person saying
that might not happen because I...
You are.
You hate Tage Thompson.
I love him so much.
Okay, so this is my question.
If the Buffalo Sabers make the playoffs
and Tage Thompson continues this pace
and he continues to be one of the best players off the rush,
and he's on this scoring pace,
and he scores more than the next best guy
on the Buffalo Sabres, etc., etc.
Does he get your heart trophy vote
over Connor McDavid?
No.
If they make the playoffs,
and he scores 60 goals,
and the next best guy on the Sabres
is at, like, 45 or something.
I don't know that's that.
But Tage Thompson isn't doing this alone.
Like, Jeff Skinner has been good.
Alex Tuck has been good.
Rasmus Dahlene has been amazing.
It's not just the Tage Tom.
Thompson show. This is a strong offense and I love what he's doing, but I don't think his game
is complete enough to, I guess, take him over McDavid who has so many more points and his
5-1-5 game is, is routing into form over the last few weeks. I would love nothing more than
to vote for Tage Thompson over Connor McDavid. That would rule. If there was any justification for it,
I'd be like first in line, you know, Dan the torpedoes. Like whatever people,
want to say like I'll take it because it would feel great.
I don't, I'm not, I'm not sure if I can do it.
I mean, despite Tuck and Dahlene and Skinner, Tage Thompson still has 10 goals and 13 points
more than the next best guy on the Sabres.
Mm-hmm.
It just comes down to rewarding Connor McCabe for how terrible the rest of the,
how horrible the rest of that roster is.
I guess I'm trying to galaxy brain something.
It's the one spot where you,
benefits from the incompetence of his management
because Edmonton stinks,
which amps up Connor McDavid's value,
both real and perceived.
Yeah, like you can say,
oh, he has dry sidel,
and then you can't use the argument of Thompson
having 13 more points than the next best saber
because McDavid has 60 more points than dry sidel.
That doesn't, that doesn't work.
Guys, I'm just trying to have different conversations
because the Hart Trophy conversation is boring right now.
Yeah, truly, there's nothing, nothing would make me happier
than Tage Thompson being like a legitimate choice for MVP over McDavid.
That would be, like I said, I couldn't be happier.
What if the Oilers miss the playoffs?
Now you're cooking with gas.
Let's go.
What if McDavid just goes in the tank?
How about that?
What if McDavid actually sucks?
Is Connor McDavid good?
Jury's still out.
What if he has like an eight point February or something?
Gotta ask the question.
Who's to say?
No, this isn't me being a McDavid hater.
Like, he's the best player in the world.
This is me being a McDavid hater.
No, I just, I feel like, and that's on me as like the host then to try to reframe the
conversation in a different way instead of being like, should he, could he win the heart?
I think it's just so boring at times.
Like last year, around the deadline,
there was natural debate and conversation.
Even though most people believed it was Austin Matthews's heart to win,
people still discussed McDavid and Chasturkin and Johnny Goddrow.
Like, there was a conversation about who's going to win the heart.
And this year, it's just like, who's going to come second?
Like, who are the Hart trophy finalists?
With David's so good.
Boring.
That's just the way it's the way it is.
Like some years you just got to suck it up and make up, you know.
I don't want to.
So now making up scenarios.
David.
That's what always happens is that there's always someone who's like a frontrunner.
And then it's like, oh, what about this guy?
And then he starts getting like some like heart trophy buzz.
And we start galaxy braiding the whole deal when it's not really as close as some people are trying to galaxy brain it.
And right now it's not close.
It's McDavid.
We don't need a...
We can just take the year off and say,
just give to this guy.
Not overthinking too much.
Shaquille O'Neal won one MVP award in his career.
Yeah.
One.
That's not because he only deserved one.
It was because people try to convince themselves of insane shit
and try to...
It came into the discussion like, all right,
we can't give him another one.
This is unfair.
And that's what I'm doing.
I never voted for Shaquille O'Neal.
I did. I actually voted for him for Hart last year over McDavid.
Yeah, Sean actually voted Shaq for the MVP. Right in for Shaq. Who rounds out the finalist for the Hart Trophy?
Jack Hughes top three?
I would say so right now. At least around there, I think there's a lot of players who have a legitimate claim to be in that area. Thompson's obviously one of them with the way Buffalo's playing.
I love what Hughes has done in terms of his all-around game.
And I think I'll give a lot of credit to David Pasternak as well on the league's best team and a historic team.
And Jason Robertson, I think, is still in that convo as well.
So let's get into the Boston Bruins, actually, away from my fake news, hard trophy conversation.
So they could become the first team ever to hit 40.
wins before their 50th game.
And they already set, and they already hit 80 points faster than any team in the league ever has.
Like this team is just a wagon.
The injuries haven't seemed to matter.
The whole question's over, ooh, Berseron's kind of old.
Creachy hasn't played in the NHL for a while.
It doesn't matter.
None of it matters.
Like what is making this team so damn good right now?
And obviously, Lina Sont, Armour.
Obviously,
Leonis Allmark is a huge part of the conversation too.
I feel like you could just go down a list
of all the things that's working for the Bruins.
Definitely.
I mean, Dom, what's there,
where are they in strength of schedule for the rest of the season?
Do you like have that offhand at all?
You're in any idea?
They're in the top ten in terms of difficulty
and a lot of games on the road as well.
but left or already played
left so
43% of their games are at home
going forward
hmm
so at some point though we need to like
is it maybe it's now
it's tough to stuff to suss it out
I feel like just with the way
NHL standings are historically
but the 95-96 wings
are the
belt holder with 62 wins
and 82 games
I mean
which is a 799 points percentage
which is
it's a hot 52 points worse than the,
than the Bruins are playing out right now.
Right.
So we need to put them on all-time win mark watch.
Like it's time.
Yeah, I check that.
I don't know if I put it in 16 stats,
but I looked into it,
and their current chance of beating that point record is 14%.
And that seems super conservative,
but, I mean, it's hard.
to project any team to maintain 125 point pace, even though they've played at 140 point
pace for already like 47 games or whatever it's been. And they're definitely on the watch because
normally at this time, those chances would be like zero percent. Right. Right. But the fact that
it's even a possibility, I think, is a testament to how unbelievable they've been. They have to win
two of their next three games to hit that 40 wins in their first 50 games mark.
And their next three games are against Tampa, Florida, and Carolina.
So it'll get kind of interesting.
So Carolina is game number 50.
So if they can win tonight against Tampa and then Saturday against Florida, that's 40 wins.
Well, they'll win against Florida.
It's four.
Sorry?
Oh, yeah, Florida.
They're a bunch of losers.
And why is that?
That's a W.
Because what are the Panthers?
Huge losers.
That's right.
huge losers. So, Sean, maybe because you're a bigger basketball fan than Dom, like,
are the Bruins giving you Golden State Warriors' best regular season straight to the championship,
you know, open, close? There's no conversation of who's the best team in the league right now,
vibes. I mean, I think the better, the better comparison to the, to the, to the, to the, as far as the
warriors and the ruins are concerned or when you look at the 60s they're the 73 win team in 1516 right
because you're you're just that season turned into can they beat the bulls like can they win more
than 72 games and there were stretches where it seemed like yeah that they're going to get it by
you know two three four and then they ended up eating it out like at the at the end and just just
beating it beating it by one so it came down to the last came down to the last came
down to the last game. But like, you know what, you know what's funny, though, is like, I feel like
that's a, that's one of those things where going back to the NBA comparison, like, everybody
knew 72 and 9. That was, that was the Bulls record. That was the all-time win record.
You knew it come into the season. It's weird to see, like, how, and I don't know if this is because
of, you know, the way the, the, um, statistics have changed or the, the way, you know, three-point
games and whatever else.
I feel like there's just not the amount of reverence
that's paid to the NHL win record
versus Hoops, which is funny.
Because at this
comparable point in the NBA season
six or seven years ago, whenever that was,
that was like the dominant storyline
in Hoops. It was like, can the Warriors pull this off?
And I feel like with Boston for whatever
reason, it's just like kind of
it's B tier, it's C tier. It's not something that we're thinking
about. But it is wild.
And even though it's only a 14% chance, like, I'm ready to start paying attention to it.
I think part of it is that in the NBA, like that Bulls team won, one at all.
And that rating team record gained that reverence, I think not because of it, but like it helps that they didn't lose at the end.
The wings team didn't win.
And so I think that's a big part of it.
If the Bruins set the win record and then win the Stanley Cup, I think it'll be a much bigger deal in the few.
future, but I think because hockey is not like basketball where anything can happen to playoffs or whatever, it's just, it's, there's still that mindset of it doesn't matter if they don't win the cup.
Yeah.
And they lost in the finals that year.
That's what Sean was kind of getting to.
You know, they won the year previous.
Then they had the historic season.
So they're coming off of a championship, right?
And then they have the 73 and nine season, which is insane.
That is just off like a 900 win percent.
And then they lose in the NBA finals.
So like maybe maybe that's where the Boston Bruins are trending.
They're going to lose in heartbreaking fashion in the final to the Dallas stars in seven games.
Jake Otter just went crazy.
Let's go.
Yeah.
Okay.
Last thing on the Bruins before we go to our final segment.
Is David Pasternak going to be the highest paid player in the NHL next year?
Sean?
I hope so.
I hope so because I think we need a paradigm shift with how we look at players and player salaries
in whoever the highest paid per.
Like that needs to change.
We need to stop focusing on the best player is always the guy that makes the most money.
It's harmful to the players' cause.
It's harmful to the way we, to the level of analysis that goes into, you know,
in contract analysis, like whatever.
it's not good and it needs to change.
And it's something that has been internalized in other sports
over the last Howard, like, whatever.
Mike, you know, Mike Trout isn't the highest paid baseball player anymore.
You know, Aaron, like there's NFL quarterbacks,
whoever the highest NFL player is,
is whatever half decent quarterback came up in the previous offseason, right?
For whatever reason, there's that cap
with hockey players where it's like,
Nobody makes more than Ovescun, nobody makes more than Cid, nobody makes more than Connor.
You know, and I hope it changes.
I hope I hope Possernerk breaks the bank.
And that leads to a kind of the paradigm shift where it's like, and this is no knock on David.
David Posternack's fantastic.
And he'll deserve whatever money he makes.
Is he the best player in the league?
No.
But who cares?
That doesn't matter.
Yeah.
That's the part of the conversation that's so annoying.
It's like, well, he shouldn't make more than McDavid.
It's like, who, why?
Who made that a thing?
It's the only sport, I'm telling you,
it's the only pro sport that speaks in those terms at this point.
Who gives a shit?
Even McKinnon's contract was like so cowardly in the sense that it was like just 100K over McDavid.
So obviously like it was important for him to be the highest paid player or whatever,
but the way he went about, he still has like a discount to do it.
And a lot of it comes from player from player mindsets too where they accept it.
And they're like, well, you know.
Eight years ago.
I was like, can't,
can't make more
than Alex Ovechkin or whatever.
Secure the bag.
Also, especially now with,
with the,
with the contract structure
that teams and players are locked into
where we can't do,
you know,
we can't do long-tail deals.
We can only drop,
you know,
percentage-wise,
like a certain amount year-over-year.
Like, we're comparing apples to apples
at this point, right?
So just, yeah,
totally.
Secure the back.
Like, I want, I want that for the players.
It's not, it's not fair for anybody three years from now or four years from now to say, like, well, Nathan McKinnon signed that deal back in 2022.
You can't go over that.
That's, even as, even as revenues raise, it's a nice little okey doke that management and ownership have pulled on the players to kind of artificially cap salaries, especially when it's not in accordance with cap raises.
when it's five years for now
and we're talking about a $93 million cap
or whatever it is
and people are still going to be
you know
structuring deals so they don't make more
than Nathan McKinnon.
Man,
get out here with that.
No thank you.
So when McDavid signed his deal in 2018
I guess the signing date was 2017
but the first year was 2018-19
when he signed that deal
it was just under 17% of the cap.
Right.
Which is wild.
I think the only thing that would stop
Pasternak from making $12.8 million is if he indeed stays with the Bruins,
that's not the Bruins way.
So many guys have taken discounts because that's what Brad Marshawn does and that's what,
you know, Bergeron does.
Like maybe he does that too because he just wants a key in Boston.
He took one already when he was an RFA and Marchand, I think it's a bit overblank.
loan that he took one, he signed before he broke out and turned into a hundred point Brad
Marchand. He was a 60 point player, whatever, and he was obviously analytically strong and was
well worth that deal at the time, but he wasn't this incredible superstar. And I think McAvoy
getting nine and a half million, that was probably a bit of a discount as well, but I think that
sort of sets the bar for Pastor Nack in terms of securing the bag a bit here.
Yeah, it's a good point.
I feel like that's kind of the canned thing.
It's like, oh, well, the Bruins, Bruins take discounts.
Like, look at Marciaan.
But yeah, that's the first time someone's kind of been like, well, he wasn't the guy yet.
There's different considerations for every player or two.
Like maybe Pasernachis, he wants, he loves Boston.
I don't know.
Like, who knows?
Play where you want to play, right?
But the days of just artificially capping salaries based on who, you know, who's one of the one or two or three best players in the league.
is at the moment, like, I think that, I think that ultimately needs to go. And I hope it happens
in some form. Maybe Pasternak's the guy, maybe not. But time to figure it out. Yeah. I think
the Pasternak story, I mean, we talked about a lot in the summer. And it comes up here and there,
especially when he has a big game or a big moment. It's going to be fascinating to see how
this all goes down because obviously they have not come to turns on a new deal and they're not
going to trade David Pasternak at the deadline because of the best team in the league and they
want to win. Like, are we heading to Johnny Goddrow territory here? It's to a lesser extent.
The Bruins aren't as good as the flames were last. Shoot, I messed that out of. The flames weren't
as good last year as the ruins are right now. But I think that's going to be fascinating. I don't,
I don't know if he's going to, you know, pull a last minute. I'm going to test the waters. Maybe
they're going to figure something out. I just feel like this is probably one of the biggest stories.
lines in the league on the best team in the league right now.
And I don't know if, you know, I hate saying like, we're not talking about it enough,
but it's just going to be fascinating to see how all this turns out with Pasternak and the
Bruins.
I think I was, I think there is more reason to low ball Pasternak than there was Goudreau.
I feel like, for the Bruins versus the flames.
Kind of.
I mean, like, I think all things considered, it sounds like what Gadro wanted was fairly
reasonable and he occupies a different spot with a franchise than
than Posternak did. I don't know.
But they offered it 8 times 10.5. That's not a low ball.
Yeah. Look what he signed for. He left money on the table and he's on the last
place team in the league.
It's pretty funny.
What's important here is that these deals blow up in the team's faces.
Oh, yeah.
These lack of, you know, the lack of negotiations or whatever backfire terribly for
for whatever the original team is.
That's the goal.
I'm fine with that.
Yeah.
All right.
Well, let's take a break.
We're going to do a draft, I think, in the third segment.
Hmm.
Interesting.
A non-hockey draft.
All right.
So we mostly kept the first two segments on the rails.
And because the last time we had Dom on, the last time we had a bestie show, we did a candy draft that was very popular.
Everybody loved it.
Except you.
It was incredibly successful.
I cried.
Everybody loved it except people who had to eat the candies that you selected.
They were probably pretty upset because I stunk.
I like Laffy Taffy.
I like Skittles.
I like candies.
There are people who agree with me also.
Otherwise, those candies would no longer exist.
There are dozens of us.
We will rise up.
There's a reason you can still buy Laffy Taffy.
Anyways.
Suckerborn every minute.
This is Sean's way of trying to get me off my game.
He yells at me.
He belittles me.
He makes me feel uncomfortable.
I think those last two are a little harsh, I would say.
And then I forget about the Kit Kat.
That would be like me having the first overall pick, Sean's screaming at me.
And then I take, you know, true.
blood over the Sopranos with the first overall pick.
That's right, we're doing an HBO draft.
Sean won the first overall pick.
This is bullshit.
I wore my Bobby Bacala t-shirt.
That's true.
I don't even know what that's from.
For the occasion.
I'm so...
Yeah, Dom's been staring at me like, what?
Who's that man on her shirt?
It's Bobby Bacola.
From what show?
Sweet, sweet king.
He's never done anything wrong in his life.
Yeah, other than Block me on Twitter.
Yeah, that's true. Steve Shripa block Sean on Twitter. I think we talked about this before. Also, Danielle did do the side quest that I requested everyone to and she did in fact Twitter search, Sean Gentile, Bobby Flea. Just a reminder, if you need a laugh, if you're in a bad mood like I was last week, if you're angry like Sean this week, just look up Sean Gentile Bobby Fly. Okay, here we go.
And Danielle, start with the year.
Start with the date, please.
Okay, great.
December 11th of 2014.
LMAO at Bobby Flay's dumbass
talking about how good pairs are.
What does he know?
And Pete.
What does he know?
Nothing.
Beat Bobby Flay is rigged.
He adds intro chilies and
whatever, heat to everything, so the judges know.
Also, an update, because I've seen this in the comments before.
The day I did a dramatic reading of the cold brew that Sean bought that he believed was open,
and he threw it out, it wasn't open.
That's just the new seal from the cold brew companies shot through it.
Yeah, I forgot to update everybody on that.
The email that I sent, they basically told me to go eat shit because they were like, that's just how our sauce package now.
Yeah.
I just wanted a coupon or something.
Yeah, they just told you you were an idiot.
They were like, sorry, sorry moron.
That's what our East Coast packaging does.
It was it was a Caliphia.
That was the brand, by the way.
I'm fine.
I'm fine crapping on them now.
Yeah.
Caliphia?
Yeah, it was that Culper brand.
I think so.
Anyways, HBO draft.
Yeah, we're doing an HBO draft.
We're going three rounds, snake draft.
Sean won the first overall pick.
I'm second.
Dom is third.
Dom actually doesn't really watch many HBO shows.
That's why he said, please don't make me first.
He's still going to beat me, I'm sure, because everybody hates me.
Like, probably not.
This is what I get for decisively winning the candy draft is that I'm in a draft now that I'm out of my element in.
It's fine.
It's the way it goes.
First overall pick, I take it.
the Sopranos. It probably is a little bit close than you think because of how the affection I
have for a few other shows here. But if I'm being, if I'm being honest, it's the Sopranos. It's got to be
the Sopranos. I am certainly the only one of the three of us that drove across state lines.
And, well, Danielle, I'm not sure if maybe you drove, you drove to Tijuana or something to, perhaps
to see the, to see the traveling Steve Charippa and Michael Imperioly Road show. I went to, I went to
I went to watch those guys talk in Youngstown, Ohio last year.
Big time fan.
Nothing else to say about it.
I don't need to re-litigate the Sopranos.
I've enjoyed the cultural moment that it's had
over the last couple years, though.
One of the good things about the pandemic
was that everybody watched the Sopranos.
Everybody, except Dom.
Except for Dom.
It's a wonderful show.
So the Sopranos was very important in my childhood.
It's my dad's favorite show.
I have seen it many times.
But during the pandemic, I also was like,
I want to sit down and watch the Sopranos like by myself.
You know, not like watch it at home.
Like we have all the DVD box sets.
That's how you know,
we were not, we were not an HBO family growing up.
That was for rich people.
So I've had to like,
I accomplished a lot of these by,
by pirating them,
like in the, in the mid to late odds.
That was how I caught up on most of my,
most of my
the HBO stuff that I missed
from not being an HBO household
lots of a pirate pay
what have you
right so if I was a fraud
with the second overall pick
I would choose the wire
but I'm not
because I've never watched the wire
and I'm not going to do that
I'm just going to be honest
with the second overall pick
I am selecting
Game of Thrun
Jones, seasons one through seven.
No, you get sorry.
Sorry, you get season eight.
You know what? Season eight wasn't as horrific as I think sometimes people make it out to be.
There was some good cinematography.
The scene of DeNaris walking up with the dragon behind her was like one of the most insane shots in TV I've ever seen.
But no spoilers.
The way they did that, it was just like super rushed and super shit.
However, I have never just lost my mind on a weekly basis, the way that I did watching Game of Thrones for the first time.
It's a wonderful show.
It's very good.
I love John Snow very much.
Dom, is Game of Thrones on your list of four HBO?
Okay, good.
Nope.
And it looks like Sean's getting the wire at sixth overall.
I steal of the draft.
Wow.
Because I will also not be a fraud, and I also have not seen the wire.
At third overall, I am going to take Succession.
Great, great show.
Jeremy Strong is amazing.
I think it's probably the best show on TV right now.
And I feel like it's somewhat worthy of being selected somewhat this high.
Prisoner of the moment.
That's okay.
Yeah.
Actually, I haven't watched, dude, I haven't watched a second of Succession.
Really?
Not a one.
Nope.
I haven't seen it.
Could have saved it then.
Could have saved it.
All right.
Down to one of my five other HBO shows that I've watched.
You're at least going to get, you're going to get stuff you've seen.
A roster that you like.
I'm going to get, I'm.
Are you going to take euphoria?
No, I see, I want to hear, I want to hear you reach for entourage here, which is what it's.
I've never watched it.
Jesus Christ.
Dom.
What about true blood?
Nope.
I love that show very.
Oh my God.
Just give me euphoria.
Just for Zendaya.
No, no, I'm not going to do that to you.
Take your time.
That is my choice.
You watch some other shows.
It is euphoria?
That's, it's euphoria out of the, out of the six shows I've watched, I think that's number two.
I mean, that's like, it is a great show.
I mean, this is.
She's so good in that show.
She's phenomenal.
Really wanted to punch Sidney'sweeney in the face in the second season, though.
She was so good in the second season.
But so annoying.
Oh, yeah.
Okay. So my second round pick, fifth overall, I'm going to take curb your enthusiasm.
Yeah, I knew that was coming.
Because I really strongly identify to Larry David.
That's something assholes say.
That's right. It's okay to be a dick if I'm funny.
Yeah, as funny as Larry David.
Yeah, yeah. Larry David's an asshole, so it's okay if I am.
I also didn't watch that.
It's a dangerous, dangerous path.
If we're shocked, we're not shocked about that.
All right.
So I'm going with the wire.
Strong choice.
Wow.
I almost took it.
So the wire doesn't have the rewatchability that the Sopranos has.
That's a common kind of refrain because of the heaviness of the subject matter.
But I also think that that's turned into conventional wisdom in a lot of ways.
like it is it is worth watching it and it's probably easier to rewatch than people and people realize
um season five of the wire which is set predominantly at the baltimore sun was filmed while i was
interning at the baltimore sun in college and for a summer so i was so excited when that you know
to see that eventually come come out and it uh it sucked ass it was terrible so it was not good
seasons one through four are unbelievable season five not coincidentally uh david simon who's the creator
of the wire and also was a newspaper man before that and all that he kind of ditched all the
nuance and in different shadings of characters that he built up to make all the basically make
most of the newspaper folks like good and kind and you know all knowing and all seeing like
the only truly good character on the wire was a newspaper editor and
And it was because David Simon worked for a newspaper.
And there's all sorts of crazy shit that happens.
In the fifth season, it was terrible.
But that doesn't...
You know that Dom and I have no idea what you're talking about.
That's okay.
I mean, other people do.
The first four seasons are as good as any culture that I've consumed at all.
That goes for TVs, music, movies, books, whatever.
It's a remarkable achievement.
Cool.
So I'm taking that with a six.
overall pick, even though, again, season five was a big pile of poop. Sure. Next? Snake drop.
Yeah. And with my last pick, I select Eastbound and Down. I needed a, I want a true comedy to kind of,
it's like a flip side, I think, almost of Sopranos, where Supranos is a drama that has
legitimately funny moments. And East Bound and Down is a comedy that has some of the darkest shit that
you're ever going to see on TV.
Season one is
as funny as it gets
probably some decline in quality
as the years kind of went on there.
But if you just want to laugh
and enjoy yourself
and you haven't seen Eastbound and down,
the first season is short
and funny as hell
and completely
worth a time.
So that's other than Curb,
that's my favorite HBO comedy of all time.
And I'm happy to get it
with my,
with my third round pick in the seventh overall.
I also didn't see it.
Yeah, I know.
About to go over six here.
This is kind of a tough one for me
because I feel like it's off the board.
I know one of the shows that Domas watched
is Westworld.
First season ruled.
After that, don't like it anymore.
Second season was pretty good.
Third season was terrible.
I haven't watched the fourth season.
The reveal at the end of season one was like,
it was super fun.
It was great.
It was different.
I loved it.
I'm just trying to think of HBO shows that I've seen that I've enjoyed,
and I'm crossing them off.
Chernobyl, I was so well done.
You guys don't have, like, lists in the can here.
You're like, yeah.
I do.
I see that one?
I'm working through it.
Chernobyl, very good.
I stopped watching it.
I actually never saw the final episode because the one where all the dogs
die, I was like, I'm done.
I get it. I know what happens. I understand history.
I'm surprised you made it through that one, honestly.
Oh, no. I didn't make it through the dog episode. I did not.
I stopped watching once I understood what was about to happen. And I was like, you know what, I get it.
This show is well done. I know what happened in the world. I've seen enough.
I keep making jokes about True Blood. I did really enjoy that show. I really liked True Blood.
Yeah. This ends with you taking True Blood.
True blood. No. No. It ends with me taking sharp objects. Wow. I don't think, I legitimately
don't think people talk about that show enough. It was so well done, so unsettling. I watched
it in one sitting. I loved it. Amy Adams was so good in it. It's definitely messed up. It's very dark.
It's not really a rewatchable. But I'm going to take sharp objects because it was very good.
Good.
Also on the board for me was big little lies.
Sure.
I was thinking of that one.
I watch a lot of HBO.
And honestly, would it be crazy to pick the last of us?
Yes, because there's been two episodes of it.
But it's been great.
That's a generational prospect right there.
Totally, man.
This is like, this is, I don't know, it's not Pardard.
This isn't Padad at World Juniors, but.
Jordan Aberley?
It's like, sure.
What?
It's kind of downplaying it a bit.
Oh, my God.
Yeah, that's like...
He was really good at World Juniors.
We're talking about, like, he was already drafted.
Who's record did Connor Bedard break?
The last of us is currently one of those shows, one of the shows, it's the equivalent
of a player that people refer to as a generational guy, but you're like, is that, is that really truly...
It's, well, I was thinking...
It's Shane Wright tearing up the O.HL right now, and he should be in the American League.
I was going to say McKinnon
because McKinnon's a guy who is like,
is he generational?
I don't know.
I don't know.
It's been awesome.
Yeah.
That is one of the six shows on my list
because I'm currently watching it
and it's fantastic.
And I was considering going with the top prospect.
The other shows,
so I got Succession, Euphoria,
and then the other three,
I just finished watching White Lotus,
which was pretty good,
decent show.
I just thought,
like, I don't think I got it
as much as the high
I guess.
And then the other two are Westworld and Silicon Valley.
And I would really love to draft just Westworld season one, but it feels like that's illegal.
So I'm going to take Silicon Valley.
Guys, we love sex in the city off the board.
Never watched it.
That was next for me.
I'm disappointed.
No one picked Veep.
I haven't seen Veep.
I thought about, I thought about Veep.
I was thinking like huge, huge things off the, like nobody took.
Like nobody took Veep.
Nobody took sex in the city, like Watchman, six feet under, Barry?
Watchman, watchman was horrendous.
Deadwood's unbelievable.
Larry Sanders is unbelievable.
I really, really love the leftovers.
I like the flight attendant.
I thought about, that's HBO Max.
It doesn't count.
That's HBO.
I don't think so.
And I thought about Mr. Show just because of what it meant for comedy culture
in general.
But I had to go with these bounden down,
possibly because is it because of the scene
where it's Will Ferrell doing a Rick Flair impression
as a car dealership owner?
I can feel it in my plumes.
In my plums.
Blueish hue.
Gabriel.
I'll see what we've consecrated here.
Yeah, I thought about it.
Just give me the belt.
Yeah, I guess I was to say like between.
Yeah, we knew that.
We knew Sean won.
There was no contest.
Okay, did I at least beat Dom?
You had to have.
Westworld season one.
I'm picking episode 6 through 13 of Silicon Valley.
I thought those are pretty good.
I liked the season of Silicon Valley where they almost got in trouble, but then figured a way out.
Yeah, Sean,
Sean walks away with this one, for sure.
Easy, easy, easy, easy, easy.
All right.
This has been the besties edition of the Friday show.
I am wearing my Bobby Bacala t-shirt.
I am devastated that I didn't get the first overall pick.
If anybody can get word to Steve Sharpa.
Anybody has an in with Sharpa.
Steve Sharpa.
Unblocked Sean.
I was just making a joke.
He really loves you.
He listens.
to the, what is it, what's the Sopranos podcast called?
Talking Sopranos.
Oh.
It's really creative Steve Shrippa.
Don't, don't, don't ruin this.
I love you, I'm joking.
I'm wearing your face on my shirt.
Anyways, thanks, Dom.
Thanks for coming on.
Anytime, gang.
We won't talk to you about TV ever again, though.
You can, just not HBO.
What's your favorite show ever?
I don't know.
What's your most rewatchable TV show?
Probably Parks and Rec.
I watch that like once a year.
The episode of, like, the first,
what is it, the first or second episode where Andy just keeps falling in the hole, like it hits for me every time.
So it's great.
I'm like, oh, you're so dumb.
I think I've seen Gossip Girl 10 times.
Should try to draft that one.
Maybe you would have won.
That's a CW Network show, idiot.
So they should be a max now, right?
Yeah, but that's the stupid reboot.
Whatever.
Anyways, the Tuesday show, also known as the Tuesday Boys, they're going to be a bit.
be talking to Ryan Miller. He just had his jersey retired in Buffalo, his number 30 up into the
rafters. He got a saber. That's going to be the first question that I asked. Spoiler alert.
So if you want to know where he keeps his new sword. Where are you putting that sword, bro?
In the family home. Check it out on the Tuesday boys. It's the Tuesday edition of the Athletic Hockey
Show. Ryan Miller's going to be on there. And just a reminder, if you're not an athletic
subscriber, you can join us at theathletic.com slash hockey show to get an annual subscription.
for $2 a month for 12 months.
You can also now subscribe to the Athletic Hockey Show's YouTube channel.
You want to see my Bobby Backelat T-shirt.
You want to see Bono ripping around behind me while we're recording the show.
He's sleeping now, but he's very cute.
You can check that out and subscribe at YouTube.com slash at.
That is at sign the athletic hockey show.
We will see everybody next Friday.
Thanks, everybody.
Bye.
