The Athletic Hockey Show - Panthers win first Stanley Cup in franchise history
Episode Date: June 25, 2024Ian, Laz, and The Athletic’s own Jesse Granger give their instant analysis following Game 7 of the Stanley Cup Final and discuss the Florida Panthers winning their first championship in franchise hi...story, Connor McDavid taking home the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP in a losing effort, what the future holds for both teams as the offseason officially begins, and much more. Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.
Transcript
Discussion (0)
This is the Athletic Hockey Show.
We are back with a super duper late edition of your Monday Athletic Hockey Show.
It is, as always, Ian Medes and Mark Lazarus with you.
And we got Jesse Granger in the Pacific Time Zone, riding shotgun with us.
It's good for him.
It's closing in on midnight for me.
It's closing in probably whatever.
It's just after 10 o'clock for Laz.
Jesse Granger, you got a full night ahead of you here after watching this day.
Sure do.
Yeah.
Sure do.
West Coast is.
the best coast.
So, guys, I mean,
listen, don't ruin the game.
I PVR it.
So we're not going to get into the,
no, you're going to watch it in the morning, right?
Yeah, exactly.
I got to tell you, the last,
the last five or six minutes,
I was thinking, oh boy, they're pushing,
the oilies are pushing, we're going to get a tie game,
we're going to get overtime.
And the last minute, can I just say that I felt like the last minute
was the, like a huge dud?
Like, did you guys feel that way?
Like, especially the last 15 seconds,
but even the last minute, like there wasn't even
one grade A scoring chance.
It's because the Oilers were dead.
They were absolutely out of guess.
Chris Knoblock played Connor McDavid
like two out of every three shifts
for like the entirety of the third period.
And he had nothing left.
Nobody had anything left.
And I can't really blame him.
Because how do you not have the best player in the world
on the ice in the dying moments
down a goal in the game seven of the Stanley Cup final?
But this is the price you pay.
As you don't score it earlier,
the oilers had nothing.
Their legs were absolute jelly,
and that's why the Florida Panthers.
The Florida Panthers are Stanley Cup champions.
Is that a sentence you ever thought you'd hear in your life?
No.
It's true.
I totally agree with Mark,
and the broadcast nailed it,
like just how gassed McDavid and Drysidal were.
There was one part in, I don't know,
maybe a minute and a half left,
where McDavid did his big wind up
through the neutral zone,
he got to the blue line and his legs just gave out. He just collapsed as the Panthers kind of checked him.
And it just had nothing left. Like you said, those last like 10 seconds, Florida's decided we're just holding this against the wall.
And Edmonton had no energy left to try to scrape it out of there and try to get a chance.
But I will say, I think Florida was playing with fire. They stopped playing hockey way too early in that game and decided to just sit back and park the bus.
It just felt, it felt like you said, Ian, it felt like the game was going to get tied.
Eventually one of these is going to find the back of the net.
But, but I agree.
They probably, I mean, they overplayed McDavid and Dryside Lid in the last six minutes.
But if they didn't, wouldn't we all be saying, you got to let them go and like, you know what I mean?
Like, it just, it is what it is.
But, hey, like the Panthers, full credit to them because I felt like there was like going into this game,
I thought it was inevitable.
Edmonton was winning.
It just felt like all of the momentum was on the o'other's side.
History kind of almost kind of weirdly felt like it was on their side.
Everything, every stat you were pulling,
everything traced you right back to 1942 with the league.
Guys, how do the Panthers, honestly,
and where was this Panthers team the last three games?
Because they actually, early in the game, they carried it.
What happened here?
Well, it's amazing.
You go back to just in game six, just a couple days ago,
and Florida looked just lost.
They looked puddled out there.
They were like, I can't believe this is happening to us.
I can't believe we're blowing a 3-0 lead.
But man, this is hockey.
And we talked about it all playoffs long in every series,
and momentum truly does not carry game to game.
It doesn't.
The Panthers won the first three games.
The Oilers won the next three games.
It wasn't because of what happened in the previous game.
It's just two really good teams winning games in random order
and it just happened to be three and three.
So the Panthers came out,
and right from the start,
oh, they looked like the Panthers again.
They were on the forecheck again.
They were aggressive and confident again.
And Edmonton looked good too,
and that's why we got such spectacular two periods to start this game.
The third period was, yeah, low event, holding on for dear life.
Please God, don't let them score on us hockey,
but it was so tense and the stakes were so high that it didn't really matter.
Like, when Bobroski loses his stick and he's flat on the ice and they're shooting the puck
and Loster Ryan and just jumps in front of a puck, I squealed.
I squealed like a guinea pig.
Like when Gustav Forzling gets his stick on Connor McDavid right in front of Bob Rossi,
when all the greatest player we've ever seen has to do is nudge the puck in the net.
Forsling makes the save.
And then a second later, Brandon Montor gets his stick on Zach Hyman.
Like, I squealed.
Like, it was so tense.
It didn't matter that those were like the only scoring chances in the entire period.
It was such a great game.
And it was such a great way to end such a ridiculously fun series that, you know, I think the better
team won. I really do. Florida was the better team overall in the playoffs. They were the better team
overall in the series. Let's not forget how those first three went. The Florida Panthers won the Stanley
Cup. They didn't just avoid becoming the Buffalo Bills of hockey. They went out there and they earned it
in the toughest situation in manageable with half their own building wearing Oilers Orange. Yeah,
you touched on it a little bit before check. To me, that was what that was the difference in this game.
That's what they do. Between this game and the last three games was they just, and, and, and, and,
And it's, people are so weird, man.
Like, we forget that these aren't computers out there.
They're human beings.
And they just had no energy the last three games.
And you get that beautiful tip early on.
It goes in.
And suddenly this team that looked lost had no energy.
Suddenly, they're skating faster than they had,
than we've seen them skate in a week and a half.
They were all over Edmonton.
And like,
there was a lot of talk about how McDavid and Drysider were kind of invisible for the first two periods.
Well, if you,
if you go back and watch every puck touch McDavid had,
there,
guys on him immediately. There's nothing he can do. There's no space to
work. There's no time for him to think about where to pass it to. The forecheck
from the Panthers and just the energy and the physicality they brought from the very
beginning was so good. And that was the difference in the game, I thought. And, you know,
Sam Reinhart gets the game seven winner. And, oh, game seven goals
tend to be game winners tend to be iconic. They tend to live forever. People
remember the goal scores. Mike Rupp even, I always think of Mike Ropp or Fedet Tenko,
Some of these guys that score Max Talbot, they score big goals they live on forever.
Let me ask you this, Jesse Granger, because you're our goalie expert.
That's going to be played for years and years.
How Stuart Skinner going to feel about seeing that goal go in, Reinhardt,
and that's your series winner.
That's your cup winning goal right through him.
Yeah, he's going to feel bad.
I mean, it was a bad goal.
He saw it the whole way.
It was a clear-sided goal.
And it beat him short side.
That's even worse.
like you should you should have the short side.
And you could tell that at first when I,
the first look, I thought, oh man,
maybe the flyby screen got him.
But then you watched the replay.
He saw it the whole way.
You can even see him reach his glove at it,
which incorrect technique.
You shouldn't be reaching there.
He should be leaning his.
If he had leaned his body towards it instead of reaching his glove,
it probably would have hit him.
Poor goal.
I thought he played really well the second half of this series.
I thought he played well tonight.
He made some big saves,
but that was a bad goal.
And one,
he'll probably never forget.
It's like in baseball, right?
If it hits your glove, you should have caught it.
Right.
And it hit him.
He should have stopped it.
And it's easy for the three of us slubs to sit here and say,
oh, his technique was poor and he should have leaned more and not reached out.
He's playing game seven of the Stanley Cup final on the biggest stage of his life.
But it's a terrible goal.
And it's going to eat him alive for a long time.
It's going to be a tough one to recover from mentally.
Goalies remember these things.
Everyone, we always talk about how they have short memories.
You're not going to forget that.
Like, that's going to be in his head the next time someone comes down the right wing on
him and fires a puck.
Like that's going to be something he needs to overcome.
That's going to be an image that Euler's fans are going to remember for a long time.
Stuart Skinner was great in these playoffs.
For a guy who got benched at one point, remember, he got benched and replaced by Calvin Pickard.
They called it a reset, but he got benched.
And he came back and he was great against Dallas and he was great against Florida.
But that, that shot's going to linger for him for a long time.
Yeah, I agree.
Like he wasn't the reason why they were with, like these last,
three games. He wasn't a reason why they were winning.
And what he had done a really
good job since the Vancouver series is he was
never the reason why they were losing.
Right? Like even when Dallas,
at the end of Vancouver series,
tonight though, it's tough to think
in a one goal game and it's one you should have had back.
It's hard not to think that, man,
if he stops that, are we having a different conversation?
Are we not recording this podcast
because the game's in overtime, right?
Hang on a second.
I feel like we're talking a lot about the Oilers here.
I feel like,
This is what this whole series felt like to me,
where it was all Oilers, all the Oilers are blown it,
McDavid's big chance and he's blowing it.
And then it was, all the Oilers are coming back
and it's a McDavid's big statement in his career.
The Panthers are almost like secondary characters
in their own story here.
Florida Panthers,
maybe the biggest joke of a franchise for a quarter of a century
in maybe all of sports,
up there with like the Islanders and the Clippers
and the early 2000s, Blackhawks and the pirates,
like some of the just laughing stock.
franchises, a franchise that, you know, was just pathetic, that didn't spend money, that didn't
know how to spend money, that, you know, everything about them was a joke.
They are, they've won seven playoff series in the last 14 months.
They went to the Stanley Cup final last year.
They won the Stanley Cup this year.
This is the new standard bearer for the NHL, the Florida Panthers.
Like when the Tampa Bay Lightning did this, it was like, okay, sure.
And when Vegas did it, the Sunbelt thing, this is, this goes beyond geography.
It's hard to overstate how terribly run the Florida Panthers were for so long.
They went a quarter of a century without winning a playoff round.
I think they went to the playoffs three or four times.
You know what Vinnie Viola has done to come in and kind of turn this team around and the people they've hired,
Bill Zito as GM, Paul Maurice as coach, Alexander Barkov as captain, Sergey Bobroski is the goal.
What they have done with this franchise is astonishing.
Hold on. We got a phone call here from Aaron Portsline,
who's wondering why you left the Columbus Blue Jackets off your list of dysfunctional franchises.
I have a spot for Columbus. I like Columbus.
Hey, you know what?
Like, has there been, I mean, Tampa Bay had a great three year, like three consecutive years.
Panthers went president's trophy, Stanley Cup final, Stanley Cup title.
Like, this is the best franchise in this?
Is this the best three year run of anybody like three consecutive years?
because I know Lazz is a big dynasty guy.
It's got to be consecutive.
It's got to be three straight years.
I mean, Jay, I mean, the cold nights, right?
Tampa won two in a row, right?
Tampa won two in a row and went back to the cup.
Yeah, Tampa has the modern day best run.
Yeah.
But I totally agree with everything Mark's saying in terms of like this,
from going from the worst run to the best run.
This isn't a miracle run that we see in hockey all the time
where a team that maybe didn't deserve it,
they just had a hot streak like, no,
This team has been built up from the ground up.
You know, I'm going to go to the goaltending.
They've got the Department of Goaltending Excellence with Roberto Luongo.
They poured more resources into that position than any team in the league.
They signed Bobrovsky to that huge contract.
It looks like a disaster.
They have great coaching from the goalie coaches there.
They stole ours, the backup, had an amazing season.
I mean, at one point, he was out playing Babrovsky at one point during the season,
and Bobrovsky is a Vezna finalist.
And they just, like I said, they built it from the ground up.
Most of these players are drafted.
Yeah, they traded for Kachuk.
That was a great trade.
But a lot of these guys have been on this team for a long time.
And it just, they are doing everything the right way.
And that's how you get three brilliant seasons like this in a row.
Yeah.
And it feels like just in this series alone, we got the full Sergei Babrovsky experience, right?
It's like his entire career was shrunk down into two weeks.
It's like you're going to be brilliant, you're going to be atrocious, and there's really
know in between. He was very good
tonight when he had to be and
ends up winning a game seven.
So if we look at his career, that's for
Barbarovsky, two Veznas
and a Stanley Cup. I think
after game three, we were like, that guy's
a Hall of Famer lock it in.
Then he had the speed wobble and he kind of
struggled for a bit and we're like, well, he was a lot
to win the Khan smite after game three
two, it felt like. He was. And then it
all sort of slipped away.
What do we feel about him now? Big, like,
I don't know, it's always early to write the
sort of is he a Hall of Famer. But like, how are we feeling about this guy in the
grander scheme of all-time goalies in this sport? Because he's got a pretty good
resume, though, right? Two Veznas and Stanley Cup history is pretty rare.
Pombaraso and Mike Werner are in the Hall of Fame. Of course, Sergey Bobowski's a Hall of Fame
now. By Hall of Fame standards, he's a lock now. He's a no-brainer. He deserves it. He does
deserve it. Like, you win two Veznas and a Stanley Cup and you're a borderline Kahn-Smith
winner that year? Absolutely. Had he actually won the Kahn-Smith instead of McDavid,
then, you know, that's a legacy award.
The Kahn Smy's a big one for Hall of Fame voters.
That would have really ensured him.
But there is a backlog of goalies.
There haven't been enough goalies in the Hockey Hall of Fame for a long time now.
And the Hall seems really intent on fixing that.
So Bobrowski is going to be an absolute no-brainer when it's his turn.
Yeah, I mean, yeah, definitely a Hall of Fameer.
I thought that he was a Hall of Famer.
I mean, he was borderline before winning a cup.
You win a cup now.
You mentioned the two Vezina's.
And to me, it's more important to note that some Hall of Fame goalies play on really good teams their
whole career and they rack up a bunch of wins and they rack up all these shutouts.
And it's like how much of that was the goalie and how much of it?
Because goalie stats, and I'll argue this in the positive or the negative, goalie stats,
more reflection of the team you play for than the actual goalie itself.
But Brovsky didn't just win two Vezanis.
He won two Vezanus on the Columbus Blue Jackets.
The team we just argued as one of the most dysfunctional franchises.
And by the way, the goalies with two Veznas and a Stanley Cup over the last 40 years,
Dominic Khashik, Patrick Waugh, Marty Brodur, Ed Belfour, Tim Thomas, and Sergey Babrovsky.
He's definitely a Hall of Famer.
And it's funny what you mentioned to Ian about, like, this series was kind of a like a culmination of his career,
very like similar to how his career is going.
I was saying the same thing the other day because so I wrote the story.
I was up in Breckenridge hanging out with Bobrovsky's goalie coach for the first,
or sorry, games two, and three.
And they win game two.
They win game three.
And all of a sudden the editors are like, man, we need this Bobrovsky story because
they're about to win it in four.
We got to get this story out there.
So I interview him, write this glowing piece about Bobrovsky.
And he, the Canaan Nyquist is the coach, a guy from Finland.
And he's like, I really think we should hold the story until after they win the Stanley Cup.
because you know how coaches are.
And I'm like, ah, don't worry about it.
We got to run it.
We got to run it.
And we run it.
And then they lose the next three.
And I'm like, this coach is never going to talk to me again.
Hanu's going to think I'm the biggest jinx ever.
But I was talking to somebody a couple days ago.
And they're like, ah, that story kind of blew up in your face, didn't it?
It's like, well, not really.
Because the story was about how Sergey is the most talented goalie we've seen in a long time.
But his career has been very up and down.
It's been a roller coaster.
When he's on, he's unbeatable.
but he's not always on.
And because of his aggressive style that makes him so fun to watch,
when he's not on, goals get through.
He doesn't play a safe style that allows you to maybe make some saves that you
shouldn't when you're not on.
Like, he's got to be on.
And he was for three games.
Well, he was for the entire playoffs up until game four of this series.
He had a bad stretch,
just like he has had seasons of bad stretches and years where he's injured.
And then he's locked in tonight.
The save he made on the Bouchard one time,
Oh my God.
And the thing is, it won't go on a highlight reel.
Like that save won't be remembered like the same as if it had been like a diving save
because it looked so easy.
But the reason it looked so easy is because he did everything right.
He's ahead of the play.
He reads the pass over there.
This is the hardest shooter in the NHL ripping a one-timer.
And Bobrovsky was like almost had to wait for the shot because he was there so early on the pass.
He makes that that save.
I'll never forget that one.
What a save.
Like I said,
you're such a goalie nerd, dude.
I love it.
But you mentioned it earlier.
When the Panthers went out and they tried to sign both
Bobrovsky and Artemi Panarin from Columbus.
And they only got Broboski and they gave him like $18 quadrillion dollars at his age.
We were all like,
no,
what are you doing?
And we looked,
we were right for a while there.
It was the worst contract.
Any of us had ever seen like,
this is going to be an albatross around this team's neck
for a decade almost.
And now it's like,
oh, man,
that was like the best money
Vidi Viola's ever spent,
isn't it?
Because look what just happened.
They just want to Stanley Cup.
Yeah.
It makes no sense.
You're all just making this stuff up.
I don't believe a word that comes out of your mouth.
It's all nonsense.
It's complete voodoo.
It is.
All of it.
Nobody knows what they're talking about.
You know,
last you brought up that Bobrovsky was the cons my favorite after game,
uh,
and then all of a sudden everything shifted to McDavid.
We're going to talk about McDavid in his second.
in here and winning the consmite, despite not getting a point in game six or seven.
Connor McDavid did not come out to accept the consmite trophy.
And I remember because I was in the building when J.S. Jaguer got it in 2003.
Jaguer came out.
He was on the ice.
Jagger went over and got it.
Wasn't happy.
You could tell whatever.
Do you guys care poor for bad sportsmanship?
The right call, emotional.
What do you guys think of McDavid?
You know, winning one of the most, as you say, Lazis, it's one of the most prestigious awards,
especially when you're talking about for Hall of Fame voters,
he doesn't come out to accept it.
I kind of feel like it's okay.
You just lost the biggest game of your life.
I think it's okay.
Is it bad sportsmanship?
Yeah, is it poor form?
Yeah, do I care?
Not really.
Because, you know, I understand the headspace he's in right there.
You know, if he doesn't want to come out and get an award
when he just went down fighting like that in his teammates,
and he knows he knows well that this was his best chance.
the Oilers are going to look a lot different in the near future.
Leon Dry Settles entering the last year of his contract.
He might want to go be the alpha somewhere else.
He might get traded at the trade deadline.
He might leave in the next summer.
There's a lot of contracts coming to bear.
The goaltending is still dicey.
There's a very real chance that this is the best chance
Connor McDavid has in his prime to win the Stanley Cup.
And he knows that.
And I don't begrudge a man who's, you saw him after the game.
You know, he goes and he shakes hands, but he is like hunched over.
the bench, over the boards, just devastated.
He just worked his ass off for that entire third period, played almost the entire period,
and had the game on his stick at one point and got it knocked away, and he came up short.
And it's got to kill him.
It's got to be gutting.
The amount of time and effort and sweat and tears, his whole life led up to this moment.
If he didn't want to come out and get an award after that, I got no problem with that.
Come on.
he he might have just been too exhausted to go back out there after knoblock played him
on an IV drip yeah now see for me I need to I would need for me to criticize him and say
bad poor like poor sportsmanship I would need to see what happened with him under the tunnel
like for all we know he was he went to the locker room not to thinking about it took his skates off
and then they're like hey you won the cons smith and it's like well I'm not going to put my skates
back on and go out there in his little adidas lights now now maybe if somebody grabbed him as he was
walking down the tunnel and said, hey, you're going to win the Con Smyth while he still got all
stuff on it. He said, I'm not accepting it. Okay, maybe that's a little bad. That's a little poor
sportsmanship, but we don't know what, because it's hockey and it's on ice and they're on skates,
I don't know how dressed or undressed Connor McDavid was when he found out he won Con Smyth. I'm not
going to rip him for not quite out. Anyone who's got a big problem with this and makes a big stink
of this is just being melodramatic. Like just looking for something. Yeah. Come on, man. Like,
that's not the issue here. The issue here is should Connor McDavid
even have won the cons might.
That's the issue here.
Absolutely. And we're going to tackle that.
Like for me on that topic, like,
you got to remember to,
like maybe if, to me, maybe if it was a home game
in Edmonton and they lose in Game 7,
I think maybe at that point, maybe you come out
and get your flowers from the fans, give them a chance.
But did you hear the crowd the minute, like,
Bettman, like we weren't sure who's doing the
ESPN, get dropping the audio. I didn't hear squat.
You guys got to live in Canada.
Free health care.
How's the Wi-Fi working?
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
But it's funny because Batman, there was a preface.
So we're not sure who's going to win the Consmite.
I think Gary Bettman takes the mic and says,
cons my trophy is an award for the playoff MVP,
the entire playoffs.
They're like, oh my God, that's,
and you can just hear the crowd booing.
Then they knew exactly, exactly what it was.
And, you know, so to me, if McDavid got the Consmite at home and they lost,
I think maybe you come out.
But the crowd was, they would have booed him.
And I just don't think that.
So I don't begrudge him for that.
But it is a healthy debate.
Would they, would they have booed him?
They were booing when they announced it.
There was a healthy amount of,
yeah, but would they have booed him?
I think so.
Maybe they chant Bobby or something like that.
Would they, they were chanting Bobby.
Like Connor McDavid is like,
he's like, nobody hates Connor McDavid.
I don't think anyone would really,
they'd be upset that their guy didn't win.
They maybe they, I don't think they would boo him.
I don't, plus, again, half that crowd was always,
Frillers fan. I mean, it was incredible how
many others came down into that game. I don't think they would have
booed him. Do you think they would have booed him? They weren't.
Well, they were booing the name.
Oh, man. I think they would have. I mean, based on
what he said. I couldn't hear anything because ESPN kept just
dropping the audio for no reason. Yeah, I thought they were
chanting curse words. Honestly, I was like,
I assumed they were chanting bull, you know, whatever, yeah.
They were chanting Bobby.
They had to hit the Bobby.
For Bobrovsky. But look,
like, McDavid,
no one's going to deny the stats.
42 points.
And his last time I talked about the other day,
it was like, okay, he's got, you know,
at the time, I think he had 34, 35 points.
Like, he's been really good.
We didn't feel like he had been, like,
grabbed his team by the scruff of the neck and put,
that's how we felt.
But how do you guys feel about,
like, do you guys almost feel like a bunch of people
just decided after game five or six,
game five probably?
Well, that's his award now.
Like, because he had eight points in two games.
Like, it felt like that narrative just happened overnight.
Like, you and,
night that morning. We have this discussion.
You guys, I remember.
We had this discussion on this podcast and we're like,
nah, probably not McDavid. And then I'm up goals. And, you know, it's clearly
Bobrowski or Barkov. And then like, by the end of the night, it was Connor
McDavid is a 900 to one, or what an one to 900 favorite to win the contest.
It's like, wait, what, what just happened here? And look, he had eight points in
games four and five. He had 42 points over the playoffs. It's incredible.
But it was eight goals, you know, Sasha Barkoff had seven goals.
And Sasha Barkov outplayed Connor McDavid head to head in game six and seven.
Connor McDavid did not get a point in game six and seven.
I know it's a playoff award.
But Barkov was a point to game guy all playoffs.
He's the best defensive forward in the game.
He shut down everybody that was thrown at him.
The Rangers couldn't do anything against him.
Nobody could do anything against him.
To me, it's not Bobrovsky.
It's Barkoff.
If I'm there voting, I'm voting for Barkov.
to be the playoff MVP.
He was the best all-around player,
and in the biggest games possible,
he outplayed the other best player possible.
I think Florida is a victim of how well-balanced of a team they are.
To me, that's why McDavid won the award,
because Florida-Roski and Markov split the vote on the-Rovski.
And not just the vote, like not so much splitting to vote,
but just like when people think of,
why are the Florida Panthers Stanley Cup champions,
you think of like eight different things.
You think of Bobrovsky was amazing.
As you mentioned everything with Barkoff, Kachuk.
He's like a horseling, yeah.
For Hegey, how many big goals is that in your score?
Every time they need a big goal, it's for Hegey, and he scored another one tonight.
I just think that it honestly, it was like Vegas last year against Florida.
When the Golden Knights won the cup, I thought there were like five guys that I could
legitimately give the cons might to.
I ended up voting for Marsha.
So he won, but it could have been Eichel.
it could have been Aden Hill.
It could have been Mark Stone.
And it was because they were such a balanced team.
I think Florida is the same way.
You've got one guy on the other team who's the best player on the planet
and he's breaking all these records.
Anytime you break Gretzky's record,
it's like all the old hockey media are like we have to do it.
We have to do it.
But it's one guy racking up all the points on one side.
And on the other side,
you could list off six different guys are the reason they won the Stanley Cup.
And it's not meant to be like throwing shade at McDavid.
What McDavid did was incredible.
He's the best player I've ever seen.
He, to me, is the greatest hockey player that's ever lived.
I mean, no disrespect to Connard McDavid.
But here, Chris Flannery, our producer just told us,
these were the BED-MGM odds for Consumite.
Going into game seven.
Vobrosky was plus 8,000.
In other words, no chance.
Barkov was plus 1,400.
Okay.
McDavid was minus 3,000.
Yeah, just for...
Everyone's mind has...
I want to see the voting.
I can't remember if Kahn Smythe voting is transparent.
It is.
It is.
Well, yeah, I believe so.
I believe they, they want to know if all 18 voters had McDavid, if everyone was in on the narrative,
or if it really was like McDavid got like nine votes and Barkov and Bobrovsky split votes that could have,
I want to see how it breaks down.
Because if McDavid got them all, then maybe I'm on an island here and I'm an idiot.
It wouldn't be the first time.
Can't, can't two things be true?
Yeah, that's what I'm saying.
It would, yeah, common occurrence around here.
But yeah, but I just, I don't know, he didn't win.
He didn't win.
And I think if you really ask the athletes that have won the Khan Smythe,
and I know we had a story on this earlier this week in the athletic,
but, and I think was it LeBron who chased those guys down?
I'm blanking that.
It was LeBron.
But like, if you ask J.S. Jager and Reggie Leach and all these guys,
like, would you really want the cons might, like, I don't know.
I don't know if I'd want playoff MVP in a year that I didn't win the cup.
I just played in a hockey tournament that meant absolutely nothing,
and it was 30 in over division,
a bunch of crappy hockey players.
And I won goalie of the tournament when we lost in the championship game.
And I was pissed about it.
See?
It's exactly the same.
That's what I'm saying.
Exactly.
They're just way better at this than we are,
but they feel the exact same way we do.
That's right.
I don't know.
I just like,
If Florida didn't have any viable candidates, okay.
But they had a couple of really good ones.
Really, really, really groovy candidates.
And they won.
How valuable were you when you didn't win?
Exactly.
How about this Bobrovsky stat in terms of trying to give him some love for the concept?
I'm already dreading, by the way, the quote card with the Twitter account,
then they're going to say, how valuable are you if you didn't win,
Mark Lazarus on the athletic hockey show?
Yeah, and I'm just going to get murdered.
Like literally people will show up at my house
and murder me tomorrow.
You're going to get these.
That social media gods.
Yeah.
Put it in context.
Little context.
There's no context on social media.
Sergei Barbarovsky guys is the fourth goalie in NHL history
that in his four series clinching wins in the postseason,
he allowed one goal or fewer in each of them.
The only other guys to do it?
Patrick Waugh, Martan Broder, Andre Vazolev.
This is some pretty good names.
He's finding.
I still on a list with.
Yeah, so,
I think, I tend to agree with you.
It's not like,
it's not like,
Boborovsky had a couple of bad games here
between games,
you know,
five,
four through six or whatever.
But boy,
they don't win this down the cup without.
Just think of that savey made a dumba
in the Tampa series.
Yeah.
Might be the greatest,
just purely athletic save I've ever seen.
Was that like 30 years ago?
Because it feels like that was a long,
long, long,
longed.
It's June 24th,
and we're talking about the state.
Family Cup, by the way. I know. It's June, we are a week away, how about this? We're a week away
from free agency. Sam Reinhardt, who scored the Series Cup clinching goal and scored 57 times
during the regular season, is set to be an unrestricted free agent in six days. Is Bill Zito
going to be able to go to the parade or does he have to be in Vegas for the draft? No, he's going to
miss the parade. The last time the first year I covered hockey was the Hawks went in the cup in 2013.
that was the lockout season.
So everything was pushed back.
That ended on June 24th.
There's just no excuse for this nonsense.
No, but like now you're into some serious business.
Like, I guess my question is on the pan-
Like the Panthers have some serious questions to answer in the next,
again, I'll call it less than seven days
because by the time people hear this is going to be Tuesday.
So in the next six days, they got UFAs like Sam Reinhart and Brandon Montour.
Like those guys are huge parts of their team.
team. Teresenko is part of it, right? Like, they got a bunch of guys. Oliver Ekman
Larson, I think Kulikov is up. Like, like, I guess by putting the Stanley Cup so late,
Bill Zito can't, like you said, like you said, not only kidding, not really true and enjoy it,
guys got to get to work, but I'm wondering if you're Reinhardt, does winning the cup,
now do you think about, I'll take a hometown discount, this was awesome, does that lead you
down the path of doing that? I think it makes it easier to leave.
Yeah, I agree.
That's what I'm wondering.
Yeah.
You always hear whenever you talk to anyone who's won the Stanley Cup,
they're like,
I have a special bond with those guys.
Like those,
that's my team.
That'll be always be my team.
But there's something about like the unfinished business aspect.
If you won the president's trophy and then lost in the final two straight years
after that,
you would want to get,
you want another crack at it.
But he got the cup.
He won.
It's time to go get paid.
Yep.
I totally agree.
I think,
I think if you haven't won the cup,
it's like,
maybe you take a little less money so I can play on a competitor.
I've got my cup. He's going to have his day with the cup this summer. I'll take the cash.
Florida might be able to give him the cash. And this is, I don't know if this is too off of this topic,
but we go right into the salary cap gymnastics of it. And you've got yet another team with no state
income tax winning the Stanley Cup. You mentioned Tampa. You mentioned Vegas. It happened again.
And it's, I'm sure everybody in Canada will be totally cool about that.
It is an undeniable trend that it is absolutely an advantage for these states that don't have income tax against the salary cap.
What's your solution to that? Is there a solution to that?
I think so to me, you could like if your state has however much tax, add that to the salary cap.
Like just make it, I'm not smart enough with numbers, but just make it an equation where you have equal cap space to spend so that the dollars being taken home by your players equal the dollars being taken home by whatever.
Do owners want to pay more money?
No, they absolutely do not.
That's what I'm saying.
Do they want to win a Stanley Cup?
Some of them, some of their priorities are not one, too, in that order.
Right.
You're 100% right.
But I think it's undeniable.
I don't think there's any way you can argue that it's not an advantage after what we've seen.
This is not a coincidence that all these teams in these states that have no state income tax are constantly,
and especially with the pandemic, flattening the cap.
and every team is pressed against the cap,
I think it's even magnified the advantage that they've had.
But yeah, okay, yes and no.
But I mean, the Oilers, guys,
they were a shot away here.
Like, you know what I mean?
Like, it was like the Habs got to a couple,
a couple years ago.
That was a joke.
Yeah, that was a bit of,
I mean, you know,
it wasn't long ago that Chicago won three and Pittsburgh one three,
L.A.
1, L.A.1,
correct me if I'm wrong,
because I wasn't covering hockey back then.
I wasn't analyzing the salaries the way that we do now.
And I don't know, were teams that pressed against the cap back then?
I feel like the pandemic.
Absolutely.
Every summer, the Blackhawks had to shed one of their favorite star players to get under the cap.
Right.
The top teams.
But I feel like now half the league is pressed against the cap.
It just feels like there's less room to work.
It seems like salaries keep rising and there was a flat cap for three or four years because of the pandemic.
You know, that's going to eventually maybe course correct over the next couple of years.
You know, if the cap goes up the way they anticipate it, and we've said that before,
famous last words, then the no tax advantage should at least abate a little bit, right?
It should get a little bit less.
But yeah, no, it's an advantage.
But it's not one that can really be addressed.
The difference between, you know, living in Ontario and living in Chicago, living in New York,
living in Florida, living in Tennessee, living in Dallas, it's just different.
And teams are going to be, you know, they're smart to take advantage of that.
Yeah, I just wonder what Reinhardt's going to do
because I think if he played in a more sort of, you know,
bigger hockey market, this would be one of the major talking points
across the sport.
Guy with 57 goals just scored the Stanley Cup winner and he's a free age.
People would be freaking out, right?
But that kind of leads me to believe that they've got an agreement,
not in the drawer, but this had a framework of guys,
we'll get this done.
Don't worry.
Doesn't it feel that way?
What else could you do?
I mean, how could you freak out?
You got, you're playing in the Stanley Cup final.
You can't really, there's no, there's no player in the world that's going to allow his agent to be negotiating his future during the Stanley Cup final.
Like this just, you know, now it's time to dive in.
I would have texted Bill Zito right when that puck went in past Skinner.
And I would have just texted him the money bag, money bag emoji.
Three of them.
I hope he gets that bag, man.
That's the guy we made a long time for him to kind of reach his potential.
And he's there, man.
And so another lesson in patience in when it comes to young hockey players.
When you look at the Panthers, and we just said, look, they've had this great three-year run.
President's Trophy, Stanley Cup final, Stanley Cup championship.
But at some point, the attrition starts to take its toll.
And now you play a ton of game.
Like, as we start to look ahead the next season, are you guys bullish on the Panthers right now?
Does it depend on Reinhard and Montour and Ekman Larson and some of these guys that were obviously
big contributors this year. Does it matter to that?
Like to you guys, you say, okay,
Panthers, absolutely,
I see them just continuing this
little run that they have. They're going to be a good
shape for a while. I mean, they got, they have
like Foresling for $5.5 million
dollars.
A great deal. That's a great deal.
Yeah. Like that, like that,
they signed him right before he blew up, right?
So like, when you have a contract like that,
it kind of allows, like, that's like when the
Blackhawks had Duncan Keith on one of those pre-cap
era, backdiving, five,
million dollar 14 year contracts it just allows you to do so much more so that right there might allow
them to keep san ryanhart but they got you know kachuk is locked in uh the way they play you know
with barkov and kachuk leading the way and you know luster reinan they got all these role players
that are really good it's kind of a i don't want to say their assistant team but they are the kind
of team where if you get the right pieces they're going to succeed in that system it's kind of like
Dallas where pretty good players become very good players in that kind of a system.
I think that Florida is going to be fine.
Will they make it to the final again next year?
Unlikely, it's just really hard to do that.
Eventually, the miles catch up to you.
But it's not like they're going to be falling off the face of the earth anytime soon.
They're going to be in Eastern power for a while.
Yeah, I totally agree with everything Mark said.
I think they're going to be really good.
I'm looking at the, so they've already got the BetMGM already has the Stanley Cup odds for
next season up.
and the Panthers are alone at the top.
Nine to one.
They are plus 900 to win the cup next year.
That feels like lazy bookmaking to me.
Yeah, but you can bet them.
So if you think that they're wrong,
Mark, you can go down and put as much money as you.
I'm a hockey writer.
I don't gamble on hockey.
Whenever people criticize.
I put money bucks on the Mets to win the World Series every year.
That's it.
But the four teams behind them,
so they're nine to one.
And you've got, well, four teams that are basically 10 to 1.
one to right behind them.
And that is Colorado, Dallas, Edmonton, and Carolina.
So they're expected to be right in that.
What the interesting one, you've got the Golden Knights at 12 to 1 right behind that.
And then ahead of the Rangers, Maple Leafs, Kings, Lightning, Canucks, all teams that went
far in the playoffs, ahead of all those teams, the New Jersey Devils.
Really?
At 13 to 1.
Markstrom.
Markstrom.
They're basically in line with the Golden Knights in terms of their odds.
Now, help me out, Jesse.
Normally the odds are based on where the money's going, like what people are actually
betting.
It's why the Cubs are always like toward the top to win the World Series because Chicago fans
are everywhere and they like to bet on the Cubs.
When they're setting the odds like this close, like right after the season ended,
this is what Vegas thinks is going to happen, right?
So it's not what Vegas thinks is going to happen.
It's what Vegas thinks will draw the most even spread of,
money. Okay. So a team like the devils being only 13 to 1, that's the odds maker saying,
well, we had the devils at 26 to 1, whatever it was before they traded for Markstrom.
They just made this big trade for a goalie. Everyone that comes to Vegas is going to want to
put money on them because that's just the exciting team. Like the exciting team. They're basically
trying to predict where the money is going to go, not what's going to happen on the ice or on
the field or whatever. So when you see a big favorite like that, the odds change dramatically,
it's either one, everyone's putting money on that or two,
they're just anticipating and trying to get ahead of.
They don't want all these people to have these long shot tickets on a team that could be really good.
We all agree.
Devils could be one of the best teams in the league next year.
They don't want a bunch of long shot tickets on that.
Are you saying Vegas doesn't have my best interest in mind?
They're trying to make money off of me?
Right.
They have your worst interest.
Oh, my God.
My whole worldview just collapsed.
Like, you got to help Laz and I out here for a second,
too, Jesse, because we cover a couple of teams that have been at the bottom of the standings
last couple of years in Chicago and Ottawa. What are the Stanley Cup odds for 2024, 2025,
for your Chicago Blackhawks, your Ottawa senators? We need to know.
Scroll. Give them time to scroll. Yeah. We need some scrolling music. I did have to scroll
quite a way for Chicago. A couple of pop-up ads. Yeah. There are three teams tied at 300 to one for the
worst odds or longest odds to win.
San Jose is one of them.
Anaheim, Chicago.
Correct.
Bingo.
Usually it's 500 to 1. That's usually the bottom is 500 to 1.
So that's that's a sign of, that's a progress.
Or it could just be them trying to protect themselves from free agency.
Yeah, because the Hawks might go out and get Jake Gensel and Mitch Martin.
Who knows.
Right.
Let's see.
The senators should be interesting because they just traded for arguably a better goalie than the devils did.
Obviously the senators are a little.
further away than the New Jersey was.
Are they? I can't even find. Here we go.
40 to 1.
Ooh.
So they are kind of middle of the pack, a little bit below middle of the pack for
for Ottawa.
They're right there with the penguins,
Islanders, and Red Wings are all tied at 40 to 1 along with.
That's some respect for your Ottawa Senator.
Yeah. It's the, yeah, that's making that trick.
Now, the Oilers, what did you say the Oilers odds
were for next season, Jesse? They were near the top.
They were top five team. Yeah, they're
10 to 1 right behind the Panthers at 9 to 1.
So, guys, when the playoffs started,
okay, when the playoffs started,
Daniel Lugent Bowman, who covers
the Oilers for us at the athletic, he works
out of Edmonton, wrote a
huge piece
entitled Copper Bus.
This is it. This is it in Edmonton.
Yeah. And he laid out all the reasons
why. It's Leon Drys Idol's last season and it's kind of, this could be it. This is like the
kind of almost like the 98 Bulls last dance vibes. Like this is it. We got to get it done.
Whatever. So now they get to Game 7 and they lose by a goal. So now we put ourselves in Sam
Reinhardt's mind for a second. Let's put ourselves in Leon Drys idols for a second here.
Does this make you think, my God, I'm so close here. I'm so close. Like, I'm more interested in
what in being inside the head of the Oilers' front office.
Because what do you do in early March next year?
When you are probably going to be towards the top of the Western Conference,
you're going to be very good, you're going to think you have a real chance to win the Stanley Cup,
and there's a realistic chance you get John Tavarist here by Leon Drysaint,
that he might just leave for nothing in the summer.
Can you afford to lose Leon Drysiddle for nothing,
knowing that whatever you get in a trade
is not going to equal
a Leon Dryside.
Do you just go for the cup?
You go for Broke, say,
screw it, we're in McDavid's Prime.
One last hurrah, let's go for it.
And if we lose him, well, hey, there's $8 million
of cap space we can spend.
Or do you trade him?
I go for it.
But, you know, I'm not general managing
for my job here, he'ser.
New column for Daniel Nugentbohmobin,
copper bust for real this time.
For real zies.
It's fascinating though.
I'm glad you brought that up because it did feel like cup or bust at the time.
And the reason is because every time they didn't win the cup,
it's always felt like such a failure, right?
Yes.
Every season for the Oilers has ended in failure.
This is the first time.
It doesn't really feel like failure.
Like, yeah, they didn't win it, but they just ran into a really good Panthers team.
They were one shot short.
That's it.
Like it doesn't feel like failure.
you don't have that same feeling that you've had after every other year.
I feel like it is different.
Can you keep living like this?
DnB wrote that story at the being of the playoffs.
He wrote it again.
I said game seven against Vancouver was the biggest game in the history of
Connor McDavid's life.
I wrote, I was covering the Western Conference Final.
I wrote that whatever game it was against Dallas was the biggest game in
Connor McDavid's life.
And this was within determine everything because of its future.
And then, you know, we entered game seven again today.
And it was the same story.
can we do this all over again
all season next year?
Can any city withstand this many think pieces?
The whole, and nobody loves a think piece
more than the Edmonton Oilers media.
My God, the stories that are going to be written next year,
like the military industrial journalism complex
in Edmonton next year is going to be catastrophic.
Boy, Daniel Noon-Dubomans going to be given copy and paste a good workout.
Just got to use the same column.
And the funny thing is, every time he wrote it or I wrote it, it was totally warranted.
It was correct.
Like, he didn't, he wasn't like cheating at all.
Like, it was every time it was like this, here we are again.
And now it's this again, just on a slightly bigger stage.
And it was correct every time.
Can we really survive this another playoff run?
Oh, I don't think you can avoid it though.
Like, even if they were to trade, I siddle this summer,
until Connor McDavid wins a Stanley Cup, every big playoff game he ever plays for the rest of his life is going to be.
the biggest game of his life. That's why he had to do it this year. This was his best chance during his prime.
Like he might win one at age 36 when he's like, you know, a lesser player who's like a role player now or something or like
Ray Bork. Ray Bork. Yeah, exactly. But like this was his, he is at the peak of his powers right now.
And he came so close. And that's why I don't give a shit that he didn't go out and there's except the cons might ward.
This has to be absolutely soul crushing to give it everything you have and to be so good.
And to know what the future, how uncertain it is, and to come up short like that,
it's, I can't imagine that kind of, you know, sports-related agony.
You know, if I'm, and you said you'd like to put yourself in, in Oilers Management head,
you know, Jeff Jackson and whoever, I guess Kenny Holland, I don't know who's going to be running.
For six more days, Kenny Holland.
Yeah, but whoever, anyway, I would look at this and say, I, I can't,
you're never going to get equal value for dry sidel, uh, in the summer.
you're not going to get equal value for him at the trade deadline.
Your best bet is to just one more run with him.
Hell yeah.
If it works, it works.
And if it doesn't work, okay.
So what?
People who say, oh, you got nothing for them.
Well, you got them for nothing because you drafted them.
It's not like you gave up a boatload of things.
You didn't give up five first round picks to get the guy in the first place, right?
Never thought of it that way, but that's fair, yeah.
Yeah, I've always thought that.
I'm like, why are people, you can't let him walk for nothing.
It's like, well, you got him for nothing.
I don't know.
It's the guys that you trade a ton for
that you can't just turn around
and let them walk away for nothing, right?
But this is going to be,
to be the Oilers are once again
going to be a fascinating team
going into the off season and into next year
because, but like, do you guys feel like,
okay, Skinner's good enough?
Is Stuart Skinner good enough
to win a Stanley Cup with the Oilers?
not i mean yes he was one shot away but i i think that going into a season i would feel a lot better
if there was a the second goalie was a lot better than calvin pickard or you want you want to have a
real time to run calvin pickard you take it it's more of a jack that might be the chicago blackhawks
back up goalie next season it's more of an indictment on jack campbell than it is on calvin picker
right yes the situation the reason they're in this situation is because
Jack Campbell was a total bust.
To me, I think Stuart Skinner is good enough.
He's a good NHL goalie, but I don't think you can go into a season saying cup or bust,
and that's our guy.
He's the only guy.
I think if I was the Oilers, I'd be looking at a really good second goalie,
whether that's one of the free agents.
We just talked about Stolars and how good he was for Florida.
He's been awesome for, I've said this stat.
There are five goalies with positive.
positive goals saved above expected the last five years.
And it's like Igor Shisterkin, Connor Hellebuck,
Linus Olmark, and Anthony Stolars.
He's like, he like does not belong on that list,
but he has been consistently very good.
He was great as a backup this year.
I think he needs a bigger role.
I don't know if a GM is going to give it to him,
but I think whether it's him, whether it's Laurent Brasua,
who that's who I was thinking was excellent,
has been excellent in Winnipeg and was excellent here in Vegas in a smaller role.
I think someone like that, like I don't think the Oilers need to go out and trade for UC Soros or something crazy like that.
But I do think they need another goalie that they trust in there.
So that in Skinner has a bad game, it's not Calvin Pickard or Jack Campbell as the other option.
You've got a legitimate NHL guy that you all trust back there.
That said, if they traded for UC Saros, that would be my cup pick next year.
They are.
Yeah, there are a couple options out there that would make them heavy cup favorites.
It is, if it really is cup or bust all in next year, if you're going to shove next year,
I'm just saying.
Well, we did get a goalie trade.
About 15 minutes before Game 7, Ottawa and Boston pulled one off.
Just for you.
Oh, my gosh.
Imagine pulling some like some burgers off the grill like I was getting all set for game
seven and then, oh, look at the phone.
Oh, man, it happened.
I thought there was no way they were going to allow that to happen before the cup.
but they did.
And it's a significant deal
because Linus Allmark is a guy
who's one year removed
from a Vesna trophy
and you don't often see somebody
a year removed from a Vesna trophy
who ought to a very good second season.
It's not like he dropped off dramatically
at a very solid season again for Boston.
But he gets traded to Ottawa for Eunice Corpusallo
and a first round pick
which is actually Boston's original
first round pick from a couple years ago
and Mark Castellick.
So Jesse, I'm curious what you think here
because there's a lot of people
who say that Liena's Lus
Elmark was a product of the system,
that Boston plays such an air-type defensive system
that you could insert anybody.
Maybe that's what their plan is with Corpus Allen.
It's like we can just insert anybody in there and he'll be good.
What do you make of this trade from an Ottawa and a Boston perspective?
So I do agree that Boston system makes things easy on the goalies.
I do think that.
But I don't think that that's the reason Olmark won the Vezan.
I think he's an awesome goalie.
I remember when he was in Buffalo, I thought this guy is awesome.
Look at these numbers he's putting up behind this crap.
defense. Like, this defense is terrible and he's putting up above average numbers. If you put him
behind a good defense, he's going to be really, really good. And sure enough, he was. Now, you go back to
I don't know if it's a crap defense in Ottawa, but it's certainly closer to what he had in
Buffalo than it was in Boston. I'll put it that way. It's going to be a good test for him. I'm
excited for the senators. I think that not only, I sent this tweet out, I think that not only is he
going to make more saves, I just think that you play differently when you have a stud back there that
everyone trusts in, especially a young team that hasn't learned how to win. They haven't,
they don't have that confidence that maybe some veteran teams do that they don't care
who the goalie is back there. I think having someone like an Allmark that is, to me, top 10,
top seven goalie in the NHL, he's going to give that team confidence and trust and they can play a
little faster. They can play more aggressively. They're not thinking so much. I think it's going to
be really good for him. And then on the other side, I think it's going to help Corpusallo. Now,
that contract is still a disaster. But I think that he,
He has played his best when he doesn't have to be the guy and he can kind of be in a rotation.
He's going to be in that with Swamen.
He, it's probably not going to be 50-50.
Swamen's probably going to get a little more games, but they are going to stick with.
They're not going to just abandon the rotation.
So I think Corpusalo being protected behind a good defense is going to look a lot better.
He's going to look a lot more like the goalie.
The senators thought they were getting when they gave him that big deal.
So I think it's going to be a win-win for both goalies.
And I'm excited to see what, what the senators can do with a really good goalie behind him.
I leave the goaltending analysis to Jesse.
I'm more concerned with the PR move here.
Like this was,
this,
I don't think people understand how good the city of Boston is at burying news.
So you trade Linus Allmark and you announced it 15 minutes before game seven of the Stanley Cup final, right?
All right, good.
The Bruins fired Peter Chiarelli as Aaron Hernandez was being convicted of murder.
They fired Claude Julian during the Patriots Super Bowl parade.
they released their Mitchell Miller review at Christmas.
And just for fun, the Red Sox rehired Alex Cora during the week where we didn't know
if Biden or Trump was going to be president.
I don't know what it is about the city of Boston.
They are gods at this.
Like we have the Dick Dillman Award that we give to like the PR team that's like most helpful
to the press.
We need to come up with an award for like the craftiest PR team and just rename it the Boston
award.
because this is, it never fails.
They are absolute masters.
They are artists at the height of their craft.
Oh, man.
Nothing like a good Friday 5 p.m. news dump.
They take that because they're doing Friday news dumps on steroids, man.
Like they are incredible.
Yeah, they found a way to do it on a Tuesday or a Monday, I guess.
It was a Monday that they pulled that off.
They knew Ian Mendez was grilling burgers at his house.
They're like, I used to swear the Blackhawks had like a little drone that followed
me on my commute to the city every day.
And they'd be like following him on the Dan Ryan traffic.
Quick, I'm out to trade.
Now, now.
He's in the tunnel.
He has no Wi-Fi.
He's got those signal.
He's a lower-wacker drive.
Do it.
Oh, my God.
Hey, guys, as we wrap this up,
we want to point out that the three of us,
we're going to actually see each other later this week in Vegas.
And again, we're going to pull back the curtain here.
And we're going to try to get out and play some golf, okay?
The three of us.
How many trades will happen while we're out there?
Two things, yeah.
First of all, how many trades are going to happen while we're golfing?
But more importantly, we've got to make a little friendly bet and a little friendly wager here.
And so here's my proposition here.
Okay, hear me up.
And I should have probably roped our producer Chris Flannery into it because I can see him saying,
you can't do that.
But here's my, here's what I'm going to propose.
July 1st is Canada Day.
And obviously it's a Monday and it's a big day here.
I think if we create some sort of fun game on the golf course,
and I emerge victorious,
that I should be allowed
to take Canada Day off the podcast.
And you two,
you too have to host.
You just skip free agency?
I think Chris Flannery just popped in.
Our producer just popped in and said,
you can't do that.
I told you.
But we got to have some fun with it,
though.
We have to have some fun.
So maybe we'll ask the listeners.
I'm a little worried because, you know,
I have kids,
so I hardly ever play golf anymore.
And Jesse lives in Vegas,
so I assume he golfs every day.
And Ian,
I know you have like a golf tournament.
I'm just assuming I'm going to get my ass handed to me here.
No, no, I think Granger's probably the...
I might need a few strokes at all I'm saying.
He's the ringer. He's the ringer in this...
For Las and I, the goal is we want to shoot lower than the temperature in Vegas.
My goal is to not pass out and die in 114 degree heat,
because when you play golf in Vegas, they irrigate the hell out of it to get grass.
So it's not only hot, it's also humid on the golf courses.
I'm taking you guys to a mountain course.
have some elevation. It's going to be nice
and cool. It's going to be, it's going to be
under 108 for sure.
Are you talking about our
score or the temperature? I'm doing
everything I can to ease it
on you guys. We've got early morning tea time.
We've got morning, we've got a mountain
course. It's going to be, it's going to be gorgeous. I can't
wait. I love that to Jesse and 8 a.m.
tea time is early morning.
That's as early. What are you talking about? You know,
I'm a pitch man. I'm up at 630 every day regardless.
That's not me.
That is not my life.
Oh, man.
All right, guys, listen, we'll leave it there.
And Lads and I will see you later this week, Jesse.
So we're looking forward to it.
It's going to be a ton of fun.
And listen, we're going to have a ton of stuff pumped out of Vegas.
Like, we're about to enter the silly season, right, guys?
A very short silly season, yeah.
Yeah.
This is going to be a crazy week.
But anyway, for the listeners out there, if you got any fun ideas,
maybe give us a fun little wager that the three of us should put on that golf game.
later this week.
Hit us up
The Athletic Hockey Show
at Gmail.com.
You can also tweet at us.
That does it
for this late,
late,
late Monday edition of
the Athletic Hockey Show.
Your next episode
of the athletic hockey show
coming away on Wednesday,
Sean Gentility,
Sean McAdoo
and Frankie Carrado
back in the mix.
So two Shons
and a Frankie for you.
On Wednesday,
that does it for the Monday show.
Leave us a five-star rating
and review.
If you are enjoying the show
and right now we got a terrific deal
for new subscribers,
get your first 12 month
for just a dollar a month.
at the iPhone.
